GENERAL STATUTES

OF THE

STATE OF MINNESOTA

IN FORCE

JANUARY 1. 1889.

COMPLETE IN TWO VOLUMES.

- VOLUME 1, the General Statutes of 1878, prepared by GEORGE B. YOUNG, edited and published under the authority of chapter 67 of the Laws of 1878, and chapter 67 of the Laws of 1879.
- VOLUME 2, Supplement.—Changes effected in the General Statutes of 1878 by the General Laws of 1879, 1881, 1881 Extra, 1883, 1885, and 1887, arranged by H. J. HORN, Esq., with Annotations by STUART RAPALJE, Esq., and others, and a General Index by the Editorial Staff of the NATIONAL REPORTER SYSTEM.

VOL. 2.

SUPPLEMENT, 1879-1888, with ANNOTATIONS AND GENERAL INDEX TO BOTH VOLUMES.

> ST. PAUL: WEST PUBLISHING CO. 1888.

54

CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS.

[Chap.

RIGHT OF WOMEN TO VOTE FOR COUNTY SUPERINTENDENTS OF SCHOOLS.

*§ 107. Women—Qualification to vote for county superintendent of schools.

That any woman of the age of twenty-one years and upwards, belonging to either of the classes mentioned in section one of article seven of the constitution of the state of Minnesota, who shall have resided in the United States one year, and in this state for four months next preceding any election at which a county superintendent of schools is elected, shall be entitled to vote for county superintendent of schools at such election, in the election district of which she shall at the time have been for ten days a resident. (1885, c. 204, § 1.)

*§ 108. Required to register.

Any woman entitled to vote under this act shall be required to register as now provided by law for male voters. $(Id. \S 2.)$

*§ 109. Ballots-How prepared-Depositing-Canvass.

The ballot offered by any woman entitled to vote under this act shall not contain the name of any person to be voted for at such election, except such county superintendent of schools; and all such ballots shall be deposited in a separate ballot-box, but canvassed with the other ballots cast for county superintendent of schools at such election. (*Id.* § 3.)

*§ 110. Separate boxes to be provided.

The supervisors of the several townships, and the city council of the several cities, shall procure, at the expense of the said townships and cities respectively, a separate ballot-box for each election district destitute of the same, in which the ballots of women entitled to vote under this act shall be deposited. (Id. § 4.)

CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENTS-QUESTIONS SUBMITTED TO PEOPLE.

*§ 111. Questions submitted to people—Canvass of votes. The result of elections upon constitutional amendments and all questions submitted to the people of the state shall be ascertained, and returns made and canvassed in the same manner, at the same time, and by the same officers as is provided by law for the canvassing of votes cast at elections for state officers. (1881, *Ex. Sess. c.* 64.)

CHAPTER 2.

CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS.

*§ 1. Five districts.

The state of Minnesota is hereby divided into five congressional districts, each of which is entitled to elect one representative to the congress of the United States. (1881, $Ex. Sess. c. 70, \S 1.$)

*§ 2. First district.

The counties of Houston, Fillmore, Mower, Freeborn, Steele, Dodge, Olmsted, Winona, and Wabasha shall constitute the first congressional district. (Id. § 2.)

THE LEGISLATURE.

*§ 3. Second district.

The counties of Faribault, Blue Earth, Waseca, Watonwan, Martin, Cottonwood, Jackson, Murray, Nobles, Rock, Pipe Stone, Lincoln, Lyon, Redwood, Brown, Nicollet, Yellow Medicine, Lac qui Parle, Sibley, and Le Sueur shall constitute the second congressional district. (Id. § 3.)

*§ 4. Third district.

The counties of Goodhue, Rice, Dakota, Scott, Carver, McLeod, Meeker, Kandiyohi, Renville, Swift, and Chippewa shall constitute the third congressional district. (Id. § 4.)

*§ 5. Fourth district.

The counties of Washington, Ramsey, Hennepin, Wright, Pine, Kanabec, Anoka, Chisago, Isanti, and Sherburne shall constitute the fourth congressional district. $(Id. \S 5.)$

*§ 6. Fifth district.

The counties of Mille Lacs, Benton, Morrison, Stearns, Pope, Douglas, Stevens, Big Stone, Traverse, Grant, Todd, Crow Wing, Aitkin, Carlton, Wadena, Otter Tail, Wilkin, Cass, Becker, Clay, Polk, Beltrami, Marshall, Kittson, Itasca, St. Louis, Lake, and Cook shall constitute the fifth congressional district. (*Id.* § 6.)

CHAPTER 3.

THE LEGISLATURE.

APPORTIONMENT.

*§ 1. Number of members of each house.

That for the next legislature, and thereafter, until a new apportionment shall have been made, the senate of this state shall be composed of forty-seven members, and the house of representatives shall be composed of one hundred and three members. $(1881, c. 128, \S 1.)$

*§ 2. Senatorial and representative districts.

That the representation in the senate and house of representatives be apportioned throughout the state in forty-seven senatorial and representative districts, to-wit:

1. The first district shall be composed of the county of Houston, and shall be entitled to elect one senator and two representatives.

2. The second district shall be composed of the county of Fillmore, and shall be entitled to elect one senator and five representatives.

3. The third district shall be composed of the county of Mower, and shall be entitled to elect one senator and two representatives. Representative districts divided as follows: The towns of Le Roy, Lodi, Adams, Nevada, Lyle, Austin, and Windom shall be entitled to elect one representative. The towns of Racine, Pleasant Valley, Sargent, Waltham, Udolphi, Lansing, Red Rock, Dexter, Grand Meadow, Frankfort, Bennington, Clayton, and Marshall shall be entitled to elect one representative.

4. The fourth district shall be composed of the county of Freeborn, and shall be entitled to elect one senator and two representatives.

5. The fifth district shall be composed of the county of Faribault, and shall be entitled to elect one senator and one representative.