ENERAL STATU

OF THE

STATE OF MINNESOTA:

REVISED BY COMMISSIONERS APPOINTED UNDER AN ACT APPROVED FEBRUARY 17, 1863, AND ACTS SUBSEQUENT THERETO, AMENDED BY THE LEGISLATURE, AND PASSED AT THE SESSION OF 1866.

TO WHICH

THE CONSTITUTION OF THE UNITED STATES, THE ORGANIC ACT, THE ACT AUTHORIZING A STATE GOVERNMENT, AND THE CONSTITUTION OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA,

ARE PREFIXED;

AND A LIST OF ACTS PREVIOUSLY REPEALED,

A GLOSSARY, AND INDEX, ARE ADDED.

Edited and Published under the authority of Chapters 15 and 16 of the Laws of 1866.

ST. PAUL.

PUBLISHED BY DAVIDSON & HALL, STATE PRINTERS, 170 THIRD STREET.

1872.

of willful and corrupt false swearing or affirming in taking any oath prescribed by this chapter, he shall be deemed to have committed willful and corrupt perjury, and upon conviction thereof, shall suffer the punishment attached by the laws of this state to the crime of perjury.

SEC. 72. All fines incurred under this chapter shall be paid into the Fines go to councounty treasury of the county where the offense was committed, for the schools. use of the common schools of such county.

SEC. 73. The provisions of this chapter apply to all elections here- Provisions of this after to be held for all or any state, district, county, town, city, or town- to all elections. ship officers; and for electors of president and vice-president of the United States, and to any vote hereafter to be taken on amendments to the constitution, laws changing county lines, removing county seats, or on any subject which may by law be submitted to a vote of the people: provided, that the registration of the names of the electors previously to the time of voting at the town meeting of any organized township shall not be required; but the said town meeting and the manner of conducting the same shall be as provided in the general act for the organization of towns.

CHAPTERII.

CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS.

SECTION

State divided into two districts.
First district, what counties compose.

SECTION 3. Second district, what composes.

The state is divided into two congressional districts, each state divided into SECTION 1. of which is entitled to elect one representative to the congress of the two districts. United States.

SEC. 2. The counties of Houston, Winona, Fillmore, Olmsted, Mower, What counties Dodge, Freeborn, Steele, Waseca, Rice, Scott, Le Sueur, Faribault, Blue compose first dis-Earth, Nicollet, Sibley, Martin, Watonwan, Brown, Renville, Jackson, Cottonwood, Noble, Murray, Pipestone, Redwood and Rock, constitute the first congressional district, and are entitled to elect one representative.

SEC. 3. All the residue of the state compose the second district, and second district, what composes. are entitled to elect one representative.

1872-74