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Minnesota Rules: Amendments and Additions
NOTICE: How to Follow State Agency Rulemaking in the State Register

The State Register is the official source, and only complete listing, for all state agency rulemaking in its various stages. State agencies are
required to publish notice of their rulemaking action in the State Register. Published every Monday, the State Register makes it easy to follow and
participate in the important rulemaking process. Approximately 80 state agencies have the authority to issue rules. Each agency is assigned specif-
ic Minnesota Rule chapter numbers. Every odd-numbered year the Minnesota Rules are published. The current 1999 set is a 13-volume bound
collection of all adopted rules in effect at the time. Supplements are published to update this set of rules. Generally speaking, proposed and adopt-
ed exempt rules do not appear in this set because of their short-term nature, but are published in the State Register.

An agency must first solicit Comments on Planned Rules or Comments on Planned Rule Amendments from the public on the subject matter
of a possible rulemaking proposal under active consideration within the agency (Minnesota Statutes §§ 14.101). It does this by publishing a notice
in the State Register at least 60 days before publication of a notice to adopt or a notice of hearing, or within 60 days of the effective date of any new
statutory grant of required rulemaking.

When rules are first drafted, state agencies publish them as Proposed Rules, along with a notice of hearing, or a notice of intent to adopt rules
without a hearing in the case of noncontroversial rules. This notice asks for comment on the rules as proposed. Proposed emergency rules and
withdrawn proposed rules are also published in the State Register. After proposed rules have gone through the comment period, and have been
rewritten into their final form, they again appear in the State Register as Adopted Rules. These final adopted rules are not printed in their entirety
in the State Register, only the changes made since their publication as Proposed Rules. To see the full rule, as adopted and in effect, a person sim-
ply needs two issues of the State Register, the issue the rule appeared in as proposed, and later as adopted. For a more detailed description of the
rulemaking process, see the most current edition of the Minnesota Guidebook to State Agency Services.

The State Register features partial and cumulative listings of rules in this section on the following schedule: issues #1-13 inclusive; issues #14-
25 inclusive; issue #26 cumulative for issues #1-26; issues #27-38 inclusive; issue #39, cumulative for issues #1-39; issues #40-51 inclusive; and
issues #1-52 (or 53 in some years), cumulative for issues #1-52 (or 53). An annual subject matter index for rules was separately printed usually in
August, but starting with Volume 19 now appears in the final issue of each volume. For copies or subscriptions to the State Register, contact
Minnesota's Bookstore, 117 University Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55155 (612) 297-3000, or toll-free 1-800-657-3757.

Volume 28, Issues #1-8
Arts Board
1900.1510; .1710; .3210; .4110 (proposed) ...................................... 117

Administration Department
4715.0420; .0520; .0820; .1380; .2820 (adopted) .............................. 147

Health Department
4727.0100; .0400; .0910; .0920; .0950; .0980; .1250 (adopted) ...... 146

Labor and Industry Department
5205.0010 (proposed exempt)............................................................ 171

Natural Resources Department
6230.0400; 6232.0200; .0300; .0500; .0600; .0700;  .0800; .1250; 

.1300; .1400; .1600; .1750; .1800; .1900; .1950; .2000; .2050; 

.2100; .2500; .4700; 6234.1700; .2000
(adopted expedited emergency)...................................................... 175

6232.0900; 6232.1100s.5 (repealed expedited emergency) ............ 33
6240.0610; .1200; .1850; .2100 (adopted expedited emergency).... 173
6264.0300; .0400 (adopted exempt) .................................................. 32
6264.0300s. 12, 19, 20, 28, 29, 30 (repealed exempt) ...................... 32

Public Safety Department
7501.0900; 7502.0420 (proposed)...................................................... 97
7502.0420 s. 1  (proposed repealer).................................................. 97

Racing Commission 
7877.0120; .0150 (proposed).............................................................. 143

The running heads did not include the correct volume number
of 28, but listed the previous volume number instead. this
includes pages 1-52. Please be aware of this volume change.
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Department of Labor and Industry
Proposed Exempt Permanent Rules Relating to Occupational Safety and Health; Adoption of
Federal Standards by Reference Occupational Safety and Health Division

Proposed Revisions to the Occupational Safety and Health Standards and Request for Comments
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Department of Labor and Industry, Occupational Safety and Health Division (Minnesota

OSHA) proposes to adopt the following revisions to the Department of Labor and Industry, Occupational Safety and Health Rules,
as authorized under Minnesota Statutes § 182.655 (2002).  This notice proposes the adoption by reference of corrections and
amendments to Occupational Safety and Health Standards that have already been proposed and adopted by the Federal
Occupational Safety and Health Administration (Federal OSHA).

All interested or affected persons have 30 days from the date this notice is published in the State Register to submit, in writing,
data and views on the proposed amendments to the rule.  Comments in support of or in opposition to the proposed amendments are
encouraged.  Each comment should identify the portion of the proposed amendment addressed, the reason for the comment, and
any proposed change.

Any person may file with the Commissioner written objections to the proposed amendments stating the grounds for those 
objections and may request a public hearing.  A public hearing will be held if 25 or more persons submit written requests for a 
public hearing on the proposed amendments within the 30-day comment period.  Requests for hearing must include the name and
address of the person submitting the request, define the reasons for the request, and discuss any proposed changes.  If a public 
hearing is required, the Department will proceed according to the provisions of Minnesota Statutes § 182.655 and Minnesota Rules
5210.0010 to 5210.0100.

Written comments or requests for a public hearing should be sent to: Occupational Safety and Health Division, Department of
Labor and Industry, 443 Lafayette Road, St. Paul, Minnesota  55155-4307. 

Scott Brener
Commissioner

SUMMARY OF CHANGES
The following is a brief summary of the proposed amendments.  Persons interested in reviewing the complete Federal Register

notices referenced below may find them at www.osha.gov.

(A) “Occupational Injury and Illness Recording and Reporting Requirements; Final Rule.”

On December 17, 2002, federal OSHA published in the Federal Register a final rule which delayed the effective date of three pro-

Exempt Rules
Exempt rules are excluded from the normal rulemaking procedures (Minnesota Statutes § 14.386 and 14.388). They are most often of two kinds.

One kind is specifically exempted by the Legislature from rulemaking procedures, but approved for form by the Revisor of Statutes, reviewed
for legality by the Office of Administrative Hearings, and then published in the State Register. These exempt rules are effective for two years
only.

The second kind of exempt rule is one adopted where an agency for good cause finds that the rulemaking provisions of Minnesota Statutes,
Chapter 14 are unnecessary, impracticable, or contrary to the public interest. This exemption can only be used where the rules:

(1) address a serious and immediate threat to the public health, safety, or welfare, or

(2) comply with a court order or a requirement in federal law in a manner that does not allow for compliance with Minnesota Statutes
14.14-14.28, or

(3) incorporate specific changes set forth in applicable statutes when no interpretation of law is required, or

(4) make changes that do not alter the sense, meaning or effect the rules.

These exempt rules are also reviewed for form by the Revisor or Statutes, for legality by the Office of Administrative Hearings and then pub-
lished in the State Register. In addition, the Office of Administrative Hearings must determine whether the agency has provided adequate justifi-
cation for the use of this exemption. Rules adopted under clauses (1) or (2) above are effective for two years from the date of publication of the
rule in the State Register. Rules adopted, amended or repealed under clause (3) or (4) are effective upon publication in the State Register.

The Legislature may also exempt an agency from the normal rulemaking procedures and establish other procedural and substantive require-
ments unique to that exemption.

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION _ Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. Strike outs indicate deletions from existing rule
language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated “all new material.” ADOPTED RULES SECTION _ Underlining indicates additions to
proposed rule language. Strike outs indicates deletions from proposed rule language.



Page 172 State Register, Monday 25 August 2003 (Cite 28 SR 172)

Exempt Rules
visions of the Occupational Injury and Illness Recording and Reporting Requirements rules published January 19, 2001.  The effec-
tive date of these provisions on ergonomics and recordkeeping forms was delayed from January 1, 2003 until January 1, 2004.  

By this notice, Minnesota OSHA proposes to adopt the final rule as published in the Federal Register on December 17, 2002. 
See Item (B), below, for subsequent amendments to this rule.

(B) “Occupational Injury and Illness Recording and Reporting Requirements; Final Rule.”

On June 30, 2003, federal OSHA published in the Federal Register a final rule amending their occupational safety and 
health recordkeeping requirements.  The notice deletes two provisions of the rule published January 19, 2001.  These provisions
required 1) employers to check the MSD column on the OSHA 300 Log if an employee experienced a work-related musculoskele-
tal disorder (MSD) [Part 1904.12]; and 2) stated that MSDs are not considered privacy concern cases [1904.29(b)(7)(vi), 
sentence 2].  The effective date of these provisions was delayed since publication of the Recordkeeping rule in January 2001; 
consequently, the requirements deleted by this final rule have never been in effect.  The amendments in this rule will become effec-
tive on January 1, 2004.

By this notice, Minnesota OSHA proposes to adopt the final rule as published in the Federal Register on June 30, 2003.

NOTE:  The delay of effective date for Part 1904(10)(b)(7), which requires employers to enter a check mark in the hearing loss
column on the 300 Log for cases involving occupational hearing loss, still remains January 1, 2004, as stated in the December 17,
2002 and June 30, 2003 Federal Register notices published by Federal OSHA.  

Rules as Proposed (See Revisor’s Copy - Attached)

5205.0010 ADOPTION OF FEDERAL OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH STANDARDS BY REFERENCE.  

[For text of subpart 1, see M.R.]

Subp. 1a.  Part 1904. Part 1904:  Occupational Safety and Health Standards as published in Volume 66, No. 13 of the Federal
Register on January 19, 2001, and amended in Volume 66, No. 128 on July 3, 2001, which incorporates changes, additions, dele-
tions, and corrections made up to July 3, 2001, with the exception of part 1904.2.  Parts 1904.10, with the exception of (b)(7), will
become effective on January 1, 2003.  Parts 1904.10(b)(7), 1904.12, and the second sentence of Part 1904.29(b)(7)(vi) will be
adopted following a final decision by federal OSHA; the effective dates will be identical to those of federal OSHA.; and subsequent
changes as follows:

A.  Federal Register, Volume 67:

(1) Federal Register, Volume 67, No. 126, pages 44037-44048, dated July 1, 2002:; “Occupational Injury and Illness
Recording and Reporting Requirements; Final Rule.” 

(2) Federal Register, Volume 67, No. 242, pages 77165-77170, dated December 17, 2002; “Occupational Injury and
Illness Recording and Reporting Requirements; Final Rule.”

B.  Federal Register, Volume 68, No. 125, pages 38601-38607, dated June 30, 2003; “Occupational Injury and Illness
Recording and Reporting Requirements; Final Rule.”

[For text of subps 2 to 7, see M.R.]
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Expedited Emergency Rules
Provisions exist for the Commissioners of some state agencies to adopt emergency expedited rules when conditions exist that do not allow the

Commissioner to comply with the requirements for emergency rules. The Commissioner must submit the rule to the attorney general for review
and must publish a notice of adoption that includes a copy of the rule and the emergency conditions. Emergency expedited rules are effective
upon publication in the State Register, and may be effective up to seven days before publication under certain emergency conditions. Emergency
expedited rules are effective for the period stated or up to 18 months. Specific Minnesota Statutes citations accompanying these emergency 
expedited rules detail the agency’s rulemaking authority.

Department of Natural Resources
Adopted Expedited Emergency Game and Fish Rules; Youth Waterfowl Hunting Day; Early
Goose Hunting; Migratory Waterfowl Feeding and Resting Areas
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the above entitled rule has been adopted through the process prescribed by Minnesota

Statutes, section 84.027, subdivision 13 (b).  The statutory authority for the contents of the rule is Minnesota Statutes, sections
97A.091; 97A.095, subdivision 2; 97B.731, subdivision 1; and 97B.803.

The emergency conditions that do not allow compliance with Minnesota Statutes, sections 97A.0451 to 97A.0459, are that duck
and goose breeding population data are not available until June and federal frameworks for early season migratory birds are not
finalized until July.

Dated: August 11, 2003 Brad Moore for Gene Merriam 
Commissioner of Natural Resources

6240.0610 YOUTH WATERFOWL HUNTING DAY. 

Subpart 1. Dates, eligibility, and license requirements. Ducks, mergansers, coots, moorhens, and Canada geese may be taken
statewide on September 20, 2003, by hunters 15 years of age or younger who are accompanied by an adult 18 years of age or older.
The accompanying adult may not hunt.  No hunting license or waterfowl stamps are required.

Subp. 2. Shooting hours. Shooting hours are one-half hour before sunrise to 4:00 p.m.

Subp. 3. Bag limits.

A.  The daily bag limit for ducks is six and may not include more than four mallards, of which not more than two may be female
mallards; three greater or lesser scaup combined; one pintail; two wood ducks; two redheads; and one black duck.  The limit for
canvasback is as allowed by federal rule.

B.  The daily bag limit for mergansers is five, of which no more than one may be a hooded merganser.

C.  The daily bag limit for coots and moorhens is 15 in combination.

D.  The daily bag limit for geese is five Canada geese, except in those areas where taking Canada geese near water is restricted
under part 6240.1200, subpart 1, item A, where the daily bag limit is one Canada goose.

6240.1200 SPECIAL PROVISIONS ON TAKING GEESE DURING EARLY SEASONS. 

Subpart 1.  Taking near water.

A. Taking Canada geese during the early seasons is prohibited on or within 100 yards of all surface waters, except on those
described or shown on a map provided by the commissioner. in the following areas:

(1) the Northwest, Southeast, and Twin Cities Metro Goose Zones;

(2) all of the Carlos Avery Wildlife Management Area, including that portion outside the Twin Cities Metro Goose Zone;
and

(3) the Swan Lake area in Nicollet County, within the boundary described as follows:

Beginning at the junction of State Trunk Highway (STH) 14 and County State-Aid Highway (CSAH) 12 north along CSAH
12 to CSAH 5; thence east along CSAH 5 to CSAH 13; thence south along CSAH 13 to STH 99; thence west along STH
99 to CSAH 17; thence south along CSAH 17 to STH 14; thence northwest and west along STH 14 to CSAH 12.

B.  Taking Canada geese on or within 100 yards of surface waters during the early Canada goose seasons is allowed on specif-
ic bodies of water in closed zones as described or shown on maps provided by the commissioner and for youth hunters participat-
ing in the youth waterfowl hunting day.

[For text of subp 2, see M.R.]

6240.1850 GAME REFUGES OPEN TO THE TAKING OF GEESE. 

The following refuges are open to the taking of geese, as specified:
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Expedited Emergency Rules
A. Subpart 1. Goose refuges. Those portions of the Douglas County Goose Refuge in Douglas County, the Otter Tail County

Goose Refuge in Otter Tail County, and the Sauk Rapids-Rice Goose Refuge in Benton County, in the respective zone or zones in
which they are located, are open to goose hunting during the early, regular, and late goose seasons for those zones.  All other goose
hunting regulations apply in these refuges.  Taking waterfowl from public roads and their rights-of-way is prohibited.  The Ashby
Goose Refuge in Grant County is open to Canada goose hunting during the early September goose season.

B. Subp. 2. Game refuges. The Fox Lake Game Refuge in Martin County and the Saint James Game Refuge in Watonwan
County are open to goose hunting during the first three days of the regular goose season in the respective zones in which they are
located.  The Fox Lake Game Refuge is also open to goose hunting from the Saturday on or nearest November 20 26 to the end of
the goose season in the zone in which it is located, except there is no goose hunting within 100 yards of Fox and Temperence Lakes. 

C. Subp. 3. Waterfowl refuges. The Harstad Slough Waterfowl Refuge in Stevens County is open to Canada goose hunting dur-
ing the early September goose season.  The Mud-Bardwell Waterfowl Refuge in Martin County is open to Canada goose hunting
from November 1 the Saturday on or nearest October 30 to the end of the regular goose season in the zone in which it is located,
except there is no goose hunting within 100 yards of Mud and Bardwell Lakes.  The Rickert Lake Waterfowl Refuge in Steele
County is open to Canada goose hunting during the early September goose season.  The waterfowl sanctuary within this refuge is
closed to hunting and trespassing, as posted.

6240.2100 DESIGNATED MIGRATORY WATERFOWL FEEDING AND RESTING AREAS. 

Subpart 1.  Designation of entire lakes. The following lakes are designated as migratory waterfowl feeding and resting areas: 

Name  Location  County

A.  Bakers Lake            T.114N; R.29W McLeod
B.  Bear Lake              T.101N; R.22W Freeborn
C.  Big Rice Lake          T.140, 141N; R.26W Cass
D.  Cottonwood Lake        T.106N; R.25W Blue Earth
E.  Diamond Lake           T.110N; R.23W Le Sueur
F.  Dora Lake              T.110N; R.23W Le Sueur
G.  Lake Johanna           T.123N; R.36W Pope
H.  Lake Lillian           T.117N; R.33, 34W Kandiyohi
I.  Little Puposky Lake    T.149N; R.33, 34W Beltrami
J.  Mud Lake               T.131N; R.43W Otter Tail
K.  Mud Lake               T.114N; R.26W Sibley
L.  Nelson Lake            T.124N; R.38W Pope
M.  Oakleaf Lake           T.110N; R.26W Nicollet
N.  Pleasant Lake          T.113N; R.23W Scott
O.  Puposky Lake           T.149N; R.33, 34W Beltrami
P.  Rice Lake              T.148, 149N; R.27W Itasca
Q.  Rice Lake T.111N; R.23W Le Sueur
R. Sanborn Lake           T.112N; R.23W Le Sueur
R.
S. Scotch Lake            T.110N; R.25W Le Sueur
S.
T. Squaw Lake             T.148, 149N; R.27W Itasca
T.
U. Tiger Lake             T.115N; R.26W Carver
U.
V. Turtle Lake            T.148N; R.39W Polk
V.
W. Unnamed Lake           T.114N; R.29W; S.28     McLeod
W.
X. Upper Rice Lake        T.145N; R.36, 37W Clearwater
X.
Y. Wagonga Lake           T.118, 119N; R.34, 35W Kandiyohi
Y.
Z. Washington Lake        T.114N; R.26W Sibley
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Expedited Emergency Rules
[For text of subps 2 to 8, see M.R.]

EFFECTIVE PERIOD. The emergency amendments to Minnesota Rules, parts 6240.1200, 6240.1850, and 6240.2100, expire
December 31, 2003.  After the emergency amendments expire, the permanent rules as they read prior to those amendments again
take effect, except as they may be amended by permanent rule.  Minnesota Rules, part 6240.0610, expires December 31, 2003.

Department of Natural Resources
Adopted Expedited Emergency Game and Fish Rules:  Special Provisions for State Game
Refuges; Deer Season; Furbearers
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the above entitled rules have been adopted through the process prescribed by Minnesota

Statutes, section 84.027, subdivision 13 (b).  The statutory authority for the contents of the rules is Minnesota Statutes, sections
97A.091, 97A.092, 97A.401, subd. 4, 97A.441, 97A.465, 97A.485, 97B.111, 97B.112, 97B.301, 97B.305, 97B.311, 97B.605,
97B.901, and 97B.926.

The emergency conditions that do not allow compliance with Minnesota Statutes, sections 97A.0451 to 97A.0459, are that: 

1) Refuges.  Population data needed for opening or closing refuges to hunting are not available until June.  Public input and coor-
dination with local government on opening a portion of the Bemidji Game Refuge to firearms deer hunting was not complet-
ed until June.

2) Deer.  Population data needed to establish quotas and classify permit areas are not available until June.  Deer populations con-
tinued to increase in 2003, despite record antlerless permit quotas in 2002, prompting the need to redesign the deer permit area
system to facilitate higher harvest and to reduce unnecessary paperwork for hunters.  Data needed to classify the permit areas
by type were not available until deer population modeling was completed in June.  Special hunt areas open or closed to hunt-
ing are not established until harvest and population data are evaluated in May and June.  Changes in zone and registration
block boundaries are to improve deer harvest and population management; many of them were in effect on a trial basis ini-
tially and the department wants to continue them, but the permanent rule to do so will not take effect before the deer season.
Some other permit and zone boundary changes are new adjustments to facilitate harvest by land ownership and use, or are to
accommodate changes in local road numbering systems.

3) Furbearers.  Changes to furbearer tagging requirements are to continue the repeal of site-tagging of fisher, pine marten and
otter that was done legislatively for 2001 and 2002, but that expired on March 1, 2003 (Laws of Minnesota for 2001, Chapter
206, Sec. 2 and 3).  Following the sunset of this law, an evaluation of the effects of discontinuance of site-tagging revealed no
biological need to continue site-tagging to regulate total harvests of these species.  Annual bag limits are established based on
population modeling completed in May of each year.

Dated:  August 11, 2003 Brad Moore for Gene Merriam 
Commissioner of Natural Resources

6230.0400 SPECIAL PROVISIONS FOR STATE GAME REFUGES. 

[For text of subpart 1, see M.R.]

Subp. 2.  Bemidji Game Refuge, Beltrami county. The Bemidji Game Refuge in Beltrami county is open to: 

A.  small game hunting, except waterfowl, through October 31; 
B.  Canada goose hunting during the early goose season;
C. trapping for beaver, mink, otter, and muskrat only; and
C. D. deer and bear hunting by archery through the first Sunday in December.; and
E.  deer and bear hunting by firearms, only in that portion of the refuge within the area described below:

Beginning at the intersection of State Trunk Highway (STH) 197 and U.S. Highway 2; thence east to County State-Aid
Highway (CSAH) 50, Beltrami county; thence along CSAH 50 northwesterly to County Road 404 (Carr Lake Road
Southeast), Beltrami county; thence along County Road 404 due east to Tyler Avenue Southeast; thence due north on
Tyler Avenue to CSAH 8, Beltrami county; thence along CSAH 8 due east to County Road 403 (Van Buren Avenue
Southeast), Beltrami county; thence due south to County Road 4 (North Grace Lake Road), Beltrami county; thence
along County Road 4 due west to U.S. Highway 2; thence along U.S. Highway 2 northwesterly to County Road 45,
Beltrami county; thence southwesterly to the intersection with CSAH 2 (North Plantagenet Road Southwest), Beltrami
county; thence along CSAH 2 due west to U.S. Highway 71; thence north along U.S. Highway 71 to the junction with
U.S. Highway 2 and STH 197, the point of beginning.
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[For text of subp 3, see M.R.]

Subp. 4.  Claremont Game Refuge, Dodge county. The Claremont Game Refuge in Dodge county is open to: 

A.  small game hunting, except ducks and mergansers; 

B.  trapping; and

C.  deer hunting by muzzleloader during the muzzleloader season; and

D. deer and bear hunting by archery. 

Subp. 5.  Clay County Game Refuge, Clay county. The Clay County Game Refuge in Clay county is open to:

A.  deer and bear hunting by firearms; and

B.  deer and bear hunting by archery prairie chicken hunting. 

[For text of subps 6 and 7, see M.R.]

[For text of subp 8, see 27 SR 290]

[For text of subps 9 and 10, see M.R.]

[For text of subp 11, see 27 SR 290]

[For text of subps 12 to 20, see M.R.]

[For text of subps 21 and 22, see 27 SR 290]

[For text of subps 23 to 53, see M.R.]

[For text of subps 54 to 58, see 27 SR 290]

6232.0200 DEFINITIONS. 

[For text of subps 1 and 2, see M.R.]

Subp. 3. [See repealer.] 

[For text of subp 3a, see 27 SR 348]

[For text of subp 4, see M.R.]

Subp. 4a. Deer permit area. “Deer permit area” means an area of the state consisting of one or more deer registration blocks.
Deer permit areas open for taking legal bucks and antlerless deer during the regular firearms deer season are defined as follows:

A.  “intensive deer permit area” means a deer permit area where taking deer of either sex is authorized by a regular firearms
license and where intensive harvest permits are authorized;

B.  “managed deer permit area” means a deer permit area where taking deer of either sex is authorized by a regular firearms
license and where firearms management permits are authorized; and

C.  “lottery deer permit area” means a deer permit area where taking legal bucks is authorized by a regular firearms license and
taking antlerless deer is authorized by an either-sex permit.

Subp. 5.  Deer management permit. “Deer management permit” means a firearms license to take and tag a second deer.  It is 
available for one-half the cost of a regular resident or nonresident license, except that the license is free to qualifying owners and
tenants of ten acres or more of agricultural land and is valid immediately upon issuance, as long as the purchaser has a valid regu-
lar license.  Deer taken and tagged with a management permit must be antlerless unless otherwise prescribed by the commission-
er. 

Subp. 5a.  Intensive harvest permit. “Intensive harvest permit” means a license to take and tag deer by archery or firearms, in
addition to deer authorized to be taken under regular archery or firearms licenses and deer management permits.  It is available for
one-half the cost of a regular resident or nonresident license and is valid immediately upon issuance, as long as the purchaser has
a valid regular license.  Deer taken and tagged with an intensive harvest permit must be antlerless unless otherwise prescribed by
the commissioner. 

[For text of subps 6 to 8, see M.R.]

6232.0300 GENERAL RESTRICTIONS FOR TAKING DEER. 

[For text of subps 1 and 2, see M.R.]

Subp. 3.  Party hunting. A party is a group of two or more licensed deer hunters who are afield hunting together and are all using
firearms or all using archery equipment.  A member of a party may kill a deer for another member of the party who has an unused
tag valid for that deer, except as provided by Minnesota Statutes, section 97B.301.  A mixed-weapons group is considered two sep-
arate parties.  Multizone buck licensees may party hunt with regular firearms licensees.  Persons issued permits under Minnesota
Statutes, section 97B.055, subdivision 3, who are hunting in a lottery deer permit area and do not have an antlerless either-sex per-
mit may not tag antlerless deer for another member of the party. 
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[For text of subps 4 to 7, see M.R.]

Subp. 8.  Bag limit. A person may not tag more than one deer during a license year by any method, except as authorized in items
A to D E. 

A.  Archery and Firearms deer management permits may be used to tag a second deer as provided in this chapter. 

B.  In Marshall, Kittson, Roseau, Lake of the Woods, and Pennington counties, a person may tag one deer with a regular archery
license and another with a regular firearms license, including the muzzleloader option or multizone buck license.  Both deer must
be taken and registered in this five-county area.  

C.  A person may tag a third, fourth, or fifth second deer by archery or, firearms, or muzzleloader with an intensive harvest per-
mit in specified areas as prescribed in this chapter. 

D.  Asperson may tag a third, fourth, or fifth deer by archery, firearms, or muzzleloader with an intensive harvest permit in spec-
ified areas as prescribed in this chapter.

E. In no case may a person tag more than five deer per year by firearms, archery, or both methods combined, except a sixth deer
may be tagged if the person takes a deer with a free landowner permit. 

[For text of subp 9, see M.R.]

6232.0500 DEER LICENSES FOR MILITARY PERSONNEL. 

Military personnel and disabled veterans may obtain a license to hunt deer as authorized by Minnesota Statutes, sections 97A.441
and 97A.465, under the conditions in this part. 

[For text of items A and B, see M.R.]

C.  The license entitles the holder to take a deer of either sex in the zone and during the date option selected.  Antlerless deer
may be taken in that portion of the zone where quotas are prescribed as provided by part 6232.1800, but taking antlerless deer must
be confined to the dates when antlerless deer permits are valid within the zone selected. A license is not valid in the special areas
provided in this chapter.  Military or disabled veteran licensees are not eligible for deer management permits, all-season deer licens-
es, or multizone buck licenses. 

[For text of items D to G, see M.R.]

6232.0600 SEASONS AND ZONES FOR TAKING DEER BY ARCHERY. 

[For text of subpart 1, see M.R.]

Subp. 2.  Northeast Border Zone. The following provisions apply to the taking of deer by archery in the Northeast Border Zone: 

A.  The open area consists of:  Deer Registration Blocks 115, 116, 117, 118, and 127, 130, and 194.  

[For text of item B, see M.R.]

6232.0700 LEGAL DEER BY ARCHERY. 

Antlerless deer and legal bucks may be taken by archery, except that archery hunters may not take antlerless deer in lottery deer
permit areas that have no either-sex permit quota or in lottery deer permit areas that have a quota of youth antlerless permits for
firearms deer hunters. 

6232.0800 ARCHERY SPECIAL HUNT AREAS AND PROCEDURES. 

[For text of subp 1, see M.R.]

Subp. 2.  Areas. Special bow and arrow permits are valid in areas designated by the commissioner and published in the annual
hunting regulations booklet.  The following archery special hunt areas are established for the 2003 season:

A.  Crow-Hassan park reserve in Hennepin county is open November 14 to November 16 for taking antlerless deer and legal
bucks.  No more than 130 permits shall be issued.  Up to four intensive harvest permits may be used by permittees to take deer.
Applications must be sent to Three Rivers Parks Bow Hunt, 3800 County Road 24, Maple Plain, MN 55359;

B.  Murphy-Hanrehan park reserve in Hennepin county is open November 14 to November 16 for taking antlerless deer and
legal bucks.  No more than 185 permits shall be issued.  Up to four intensive harvest permits may be used by permittees to take
deer.  Applications must be sent to Three Rivers Parks Bow Hunt, 3800 County Road 24, Maple Plain, MN 55359;

C.  Cleary Lake regional park in Scott county is open November 14 to November 16 for taking antlerless deer and legal bucks.
No more than 55 permits shall be issued.  Up to four intensive harvest permits may be used by permittees to take deer.  Applications
must be sent to Three Rivers Parks Bow Hunt, 3800 County Road 24, Maple Plain, MN 55359;

D.  portions of the city of Red Wing as shown on maps available from the city are open September 13 to December 31 for tak-
ing antlerless deer.  Asproficiency test is required and hunters must wear back tags during the hunt.  Asvalid archery or all-season
deer license must be purchased to qualify for the hunt.  Up to four intensive harvest permits may be used by permittees to take deer.
Applications must be submitted to City of Red Wing Deer Hunt, Red Wing Public Works, 229 Tyler Road S., Red Wing, MN 55066;
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E.  portions of the city of Sandstone are open September 13 to December 31 by special permit from the city.  Hunters must have

a valid archery or all-season deer license to participate.  Hunting is allowed on private land within these areas with written landown-
er permission and on certain city-owned lands under special hunting rules.  Intensive harvest permits are available and strongly
encouraged for participants in the city hunt.  For more information on the city hunt and regulations contact:  City of Sandstone, 119
Fourth Street, PO Box 641, Sandstone, MN 55072 (320) 245-5241; and

F.  portions of the city of New Ulm are open October 11 to December 31 for taking antlerless deer and legal bucks.  No more
than 50 permits shall be issued by the city of New Ulm.  A regular archery or all-season deer license must be purchased to qualify
for the hunt.  A proficiency test is required.  One intensive harvest permit may also be used by permittees to take deer.  Applications
must be sent to New Ulm City Deer Hunt, City Manager’s Office, 100 N. Broadway, New Ulm, MN 56073.  Applications must be
postmarked by September 1.

6232.1250 TAKING DEER BY ARCHERY UNDER INTENSIVE HARVEST PERMITS.

[For text of subpart 1, see M.R.]

Subp. 2.  Restrictions. Intensive harvest permits may be used to take antlerless deer only or antlerless deer and adult bucks in
antlerless permit in managed and intensive deer permit areas and in special hunt areas prescribed by the commissioner.  In man-
aged deer permit areas, one intensive harvest permit may be used to take an antlerless deer.  In intensive deer permit areas and spe-
cial hunt areas, use of additional intensive harvest permits may be authorized by the commissioner.

Subp. 3. 2003 archery intensive permit areas.

A.  Intensive harvest permits may be used to take one additional antlerless deer by archery during the archery season in man-
aged deer permit areas open for either the early or the late season as prescribed in part 6232.1750, item B, and during the New Ulm
special archery hunt as prescribed in part 6232.0800, subpart 2, item F.

B.  Intensive harvest permits may be used to take up to four antlerless deer by archery during the archery season in intensive
deer permit areas open for either the early or late season as prescribed in part 6232.1750, item C, and during archery special hunts
as prescribed in part 6232.0800, subpart 2, items Asto E.

6232.1300 SEASONS FOR TAKING DEER BY FIREARMS. 

Subpart 1.  Zone 1. Legal bucks may be taken in Zone 1 for a 16-day period beginning the Saturday nearest November 6.  In
managed or intensive deer permit areas, antlerless deer may be taken only by permit throughout this season and only within the deer
permit area specified on each hunter’s permit license, except as specifically authorized by statute.  In lottery deer permit areas and
in special hunt areas, antlerless deer may be taken only by permit throughout this season and only within the deer permit or special
hunt area specified on each hunter’s permit, except as specifically authorized by statute. A person who is authorized by statute to
take a deer of either sex without an antlerless either-sex permit and who is licensed for Zone 1 may take an antlerless deer without
a permit in any Zone 1 antlerless deer permit area, except in those lottery deer permit areas where no either-sex permits are offered. 

Subp. 2.  Zone 2. Legal bucks may be taken in Zone 2 for a nine-day period beginning the Saturday nearest November 6.  In man-
aged or intensive deer permit areas, antlerless deer may be taken only by permit throughout this season and only within the deer
permit area specified on each hunter’s permit license, except as specifically authorized by statute.  In lottery deer permit areas and
in special hunt areas, antlerless deer may be taken only by permit throughout this season and only within the deer permit or special
hunt area specified on each hunter’s permit, except as specifically authorized by statute. A person who is authorized by statute to
take a deer of either sex without an antlerless either-sex permit and who is licensed for Zone 2 may take an antlerless deer without
a permit in any Zone 2 antlerless deer permit area, except in those lottery deer permit areas where no either-sex permits are offered. 

Subp. 3.  Zone 3. This subpart applies to season dates in Zone 3. 

A.  Legal bucks may be taken in the early Zone 3A season in Zone 3 for a nine-day seven-day period beginning the Saturday
nearest November 6.  In managed or intensive deer permit areas, antlerless deer may be taken throughout this season only within
the deer permit area specified on each hunter’s license, except as specifically authorized by statute.  In lottery deer permit areas and
in special hunt areas, antlerless deer may be taken only by permit throughout this season and only within the deer permit or special
hunt area specified on each hunter’s permit, except as specifically authorized by statute.  Asperson who is authorized by statute to
take a deer of either sex without an either-sex permit and who is licensed for Zone 3Asmay take an antlerless deer without a per-
mit in any Zone 3Asdeer permit area, except in those lottery deer permit areas where no either-sex permits are offered.

B.  Legal bucks and antlerless deer may be taken during the late Zone 3B season in Zone 3 for a seven-day nine-day period
beginning the Saturday nearest November 20.  In managed or intensive deer permit areas, antlerless deer may be taken throughout
this season only by permit and only within the deer permit area specified on each hunter’s permit license, except as specifically
authorized by statute.  In lottery deer permit areas and in special hunt areas, antlerless deer may be taken only by permit through-
out this season and only within the deer permit or special hunt area specified on each hunter’s permit, except as specifically author-
ized by statute. A person who is authorized by statute to take a deer of either sex without an antlerless either-sex permit and who
is licensed for Zone 3B may take an antlerless deer without a permit in any Zone 3B antlerless deer permit area , except in those
lottery deer permit areas where no either-sex permits are offered. 
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Subp. 4.  Zone 4. This subpart applies to season dates in Zone 4. 

A.  Legal bucks and antlerless deer may be taken in the early Zone 4A season in Zone 4 for a two-day period beginning the
Saturday nearest November 6.  In managed or intensive deer permit areas, antlerless deer may be taken throughout the season only
by permit and only within the deer permit area specified on each hunter’s permit license, except as specifically authorized by statute.
In lottery deer permit areas and in special hunt areas, antlerless deer may be taken only by permit throughout this season and only
within the deer permit or special hunt area specified on each hunter’s permit, except as specifically authorized by statute. A per-
son who is authorized by statute to take a deer of either sex without an antlerless either-sex permit and who is licensed for Zone 4A
may take an antlerless deer without a permit in any Zone 4A antlerless deer permit area, except in those lottery deer permit areas 
where no either-sex permits are offered. 

B.  Legal bucks and antlerless deer may be taken in the late Zone 4B season in Zone 4 for a four-day period beginning the
Saturday nearest November 13.  In managed or intensive deer permit areas, antlerless deer may be taken throughout the season only
by permit and only within the deer permit area specified on each hunter’s permit license, except as specifically authorized by statute.
In lottery deer permit areas and in special hunt areas, antlerless deer may be taken only by permit throughout this season and only
within the deer permit or special hunt area specified on each hunter’s permit, except as specifically authorized by statute. A per-
son who is authorized by statute to take a deer of either sex without an antlerless either-sex permit and who is licensed for Zone 4B
may take an antlerless deer without a permit in any Zone 4B antlerless deer permit area, except in those lottery deer permit areas
where no either-sex permits are offered. 

6232.1400 ZONE DESCRIPTIONS. 

Subpart 1.  Zone 1. Zone 1 is that portion of the state lying within the following described boundary: 

Beginning on State Trunk Highway (STH) 72 at the northern boundary of the state; thence along STH 72 to the Tamarac
River, Beltrami County; thence along the southerly shore of the Tamarac River to Upper Red Lake; thence along the
easterly and southerly shores of Upper Red Lake to the easterly boundary of the Red Lake Indian Reservation; thence
along the easterly boundary of said Reservation to STH 1; thence along STH 1 to STH 72; thence along STH 72 to U.S.
Highway 71; thence along U.S. Highway 71 to County State Aid Highway (CSAH) 39, Beltrami County; thence along
CSAH 39 to CSAH 20, Beltrami County; thence along CSAH 20 to the junction with CSAH 53 27, Beltrami County;
thence along CSAH 53 27 to CSAH 12, Beltrami County; thence along CSAH 12 to CSAH 51 27, Beltrami County;
thence along CSAH 51 27 to CSAH 8, Beltrami County; thence along CSAH 8 to CSAH 25, Beltrami County; thence
along CSAH 25 to CSAH 4, Beltrami County; thence along CSAH 4 to CSAH 46, Hubbard County; thence along CSAH
46 to U.S. Highway 2; thence along U.S Highway 2 to CSAH 45, Hubbard County; thence along CSAH 45 to CSAH
9, Hubbard County; thence along CSAH 9 to CSAH 69, Cass County; thence along CSAH 69 to CSAH 5, Hubbard
County; thence along CSAH 5 to CSAH 39, Hubbard County; thence along CSAH 39 to County Road (CR) 94, Hubbard
County; thence along CR 94 to CSAH 31, Hubbard County; thence along CSAH 31 to STH 200; thence along STH 200
to STH 371; thence along STH 371 to STH 84; thence along STH 84 to CSAH 2, Cass County; thence along CSAH 2
to CSAH 1, Crow Wing County; thence along CSAH 1 to STH 6; thence along STH 6 to STH 18; thence along STH 18
to U.S. Highway 169; thence due east from said junction to the west shore of Mille Lacs Lake; thence along the west-
erly and southerly shores of said lake to a point due north of the junction of U.S. Highway 169 and STH 27; thence due
south to said junction; thence along U.S. Highway 169 to STH 23; thence along STH 23 to STH 65; thence along STH
65 to STH 70; thence along STH 70 to the east boundary of the state; thence along the easterly and northerly boundaries
of the state to the point of beginning. 

Subp. 2.  Zone 2. Zone 2 is that portion of the state lying within the following described boundary: 

Beginning on State Trunk Highway (STH) 72 at the northern boundary of the state; thence along STH 72 to the Tamarac
River, Beltrami County; thence along the southerly shore of the Tamarac River to Upper Red Lake; thence along the
easterly and southerly shores of Upper Red Lake to the easterly boundary of the Red Lake Indian Reservation; thence
along the easterly boundary of said Reservation to STH 1; thence along STH 1 to STH 72; thence along STH 72 to U.S.
Highway 71; thence along U.S. Highway 71 to County State Aid Highway (CSAH) 39, Beltrami County; thence along
CSAH 39 to CSAH 20, Beltrami County; thence along CSAH 20 to CSAH 53 27, Beltrami County; thence along CSAH
53 27 to CSAH 12, Beltrami County; thence along CSAH 12 to CSAH 51 27, Beltrami County; thence along CSAH 51
27 to CSAH 8, Beltrami County; thence along CSAH 8 to CSAH 25, Beltrami County; thence along CSAH 25 to CSAH
4, Beltrami County; thence along CSAH 4 to CSAH 46, Hubbard County; thence along CSAH 46 to U.S. Highway 2;
thence along U.S. Highway 2 to CSAH 45, Hubbard County; thence along CSAH 45 to CSAH 9, Hubbard County;
thence along CSAH 9 to CSAH 69, Cass County; thence along CSAH 69 to the junction of CSAH 5, Hubbard County;
thence along CSAH 5 to CSAH 39, Hubbard County; thence along CSAH 39 to County Road (CR) 94, Hubbard County;
thence along CR 94 to CSAH 31, Hubbard County; thence along CSAH 31 to STH 200; thence along STH 200 to STH
371; thence along STH 371 to STH 84; thence along STH 84 to CSAH 2, Cass County; thence along CSAH 2 to CSAH
1, Crow Wing County; thence along CSAH 1 to STH 6; thence along STH 6 to STH 18; thence along STH 18 to U.S.
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Highway 169; thence due east from said junction to the west shore of Mille Lacs Lake; thence along the westerly and
southerly shores of said lake to a point due north of the junction of U.S. Highway 169 and STH 27; thence due south to
said junction; thence along U.S. Highway 169 to STH 23; thence along STH 23 to STH 65; thence along STH 65 to
STH 70; thence along STH 70 to the eastern boundary of the state; thence along the easterly boundary of the state to the
junction of the St. Croix and Mississippi Rivers; thence along the easterly bank of the Mississippi River to U.S. Highway
10; thence along U.S. Highway 10 to U.S. Highway 71; thence along U.S. Highway 71 to STH 87; thence along STH
87 to U.S. Highway 59; thence along U.S. Highway 59 to the southern boundary of the White Earth Indian Reservation;
thence along the southern, western, and northern boundaries of said Reservation to STH 59; thence along STH 59 to the
northern boundary of the state to the point of beginning. 

[For text of subps 3 and 4, see M.R.]

6232.1600 SPECIAL HUNT PROCEDURES. 

[For text of subps 1 to 5, see M.R.]

Subp. 6.  2003 firearms special hunt areas. The following firearms special hunt areas are authorized for the 2003 season:

A.  Rice Lake national wildlife refuge in Aitkin county is open November 15 to November 23 for taking antlerless deer and legal
bucks.  No more than 40 permits shall be issued to Zone 1 licensees only.  This is special hunt area 901;

B.  St. Croix state park in Pine county is open November 15 and November 16 for taking antlerless deer and legal bucks.  No
more than 550 permits shall be issued to Zone 1 licensees only.  Up to four intensive harvest permits may be used to take a second,
third, fourth, and fifth deer.  This is special hunt area 902;

C.  Savanna Portage state park in Aitkin county is open November 15 to November 21 for taking antlerless deer only.  No more
than 25 permits shall be issued to Zone 1 licensees only.  Up to four intensive harvest permits may be used to take a second, third,
fourth, and fifth deer.  This is special hunt area 903;

D.  Gooseberry Falls state park in Lake county is open November 8 to November 23 for taking antlerless deer and legal bucks.
No more than 25 permits shall be issued to Zone 1 licensees only.  Up to four intensive harvest permits may be used to take a sec-
ond, third, fourth, and fifth deer.  This is special hunt area 904;

E.  Split Rock Lighthouse state park in Lake county is open November 8 to November 23 for taking antlerless deer and legal
bucks.  No more than 25 permits shall be issued to Zone 1 licensees only.  Up to four intensive harvest permits may be used to take
a second, third, fourth, and fifth deer.  This is special hunt area 905;

F.  Tettegouche state park in Lake county is open November 8 to November 23 for taking antlerless deer and legal bucks.  No
more than 125 permits shall be issued to Zone 1 licensees only.  Up to four intensive harvest permits may be used to take a second,
third, fourth, and fifth deer.  This is special hunt area 906;

G.  Lake Bronson state park in Kittson county is open November 8 to November 10 for taking antlerless deer only.  No more
than 30 permits shall be issued to Zone 2 licensees only.  Up to four intensive harvest permits may be used to take a second, third,
fourth, and fifth deer.  This is special hunt area 907;

H.  William O’Brien state park in Washington county is open November 8 and November 9 for taking antlerless deer and legal
bucks.  No more than 65 permits shall be issued to Zone 2 licensees only.  Up to four intensive harvest permits may be used to take
a second, third, fourth, and fifth deer.  This is special hunt area 908;

I.  Zippel Bay state park in Lake of the Woods county is open November 8 to November 16 for taking antlerless deer only.  No
more than 55 permits shall be issued to Zone 2 licensees only.  Up to four intensive harvest permits may be used to take a second,
third, fourth, and fifth deer.  This is special hunt area 909;

J.  Wild River state park in Chisago county is open November 8 and November 9 for taking antlerless deer and legal bucks.  No
more than 110 permits shall be issued to Zone 2 licensees only.  Up to four intensive harvest permits may be used to take a second,
third, fourth, and fifth deer.  This is special hunt area 910;

K.  Lake Bemidji state park in Beltrami county is open November 8 to November 11 for taking antlerless deer only.  Only shot-
guns and muzzleloading rifles may be used.  No more than 35 permits shall be issued to Zone 2 licensees only.  Up to four inten-
sive harvest permits may be used to take a second, third, fourth, and fifth deer.  This is special hunt area 911;

L.  Carver park reserve in Hennepin county is open November 22 and November 23 for taking antlerless deer and legal bucks.
No more than 105 permits shall be issued to Zone 3B licensees only.  Up to four intensive harvest permits may be used to take a
second, third, fourth, and fifth deer.  This is special hunt area 914;

M.  Forestville/Mystery Cave state park in Fillmore county is open November 22 to November 24 for taking antlerless deer only.
No more than 110 permits shall be issued to Zone 3B licensees only.  Up to four intensive harvest permits may be used to take a
second, third, fourth, and fifth deer.  This is special hunt area 916;

N.  Zumbro Falls Woods scientific and natural area in Wabasha county is open November 22 to November 30 for taking antler-
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less deer only.  No more than 12 permits shall be issued to Zone 3B licensees only.  Up to four intensive harvest permits may be
used to take a second, third, fourth, and fifth deer.  This is special hunt area 917;

O.  Whitewater state game refuge in Winona county is open November 22, 23, 29, and 30 for taking antlerless deer only.  No
more than 50 permits shall be issued to Zone 3B licensees only.  This is special hunt area 918; and

P.  Maplewood state park in Otter Tail county is open November 15 to November 18 for taking antlerless deer and legal bucks.
No more than 100 permits shall be issued to Zone 3B licensees only.  Up to four intensive harvest permits may be used to take a
second, third, fourth, and fifth deer.  This is special hunt area 919.

Subp. 7. Firearms special hunt area quota adjustments. The commissioner may reduce the permit quota for the St. Croix and
Wild River state parks firearms special hunts at the time the computerized drawing is conducted to accommodate tribal declarations
for antlerless deer harvest in the 1837 ceded territory in compliance with Mille Lacs Band of Chippewa v. Minnesota, 119 S. Ct.
1187 (1999).

6232.1750 DEER PERMIT AREA DESIGNATION. 

The commissioner shall annually designate all deer permit areas as intensive, managed, or lottery and shall establish permit quo-
tas for taking deer of either sex in lottery deer permit areas.  Permit area numbers followed by “A” represent the respective early
season deer permit areas for Zones 3 and 4, as defined in part 6232.1300, subparts 3, item A, and 4, item A.  Permit area numbers
followed by “B” represent the respective late season deer permit areas for Zones 3 and 4, as defined in part 6232.1300, subparts 3,
item B, and 4, item B.  For 2003, deer permit areas are designated as follows:

A.  lottery:  deer permit areas 116, 122, 126, 127, 152, 167, 168, 197, 199, 297, 338A, 339A, 341A, 342A, 343A, 344A, 345A,
346A, 347A, 348A, 349A, 424A, 424B, 425A, 425B, 426A, 427A, 427B, 428A, 428B, 431A, 431B, 433A, 433B, 435A, 435B,
440A, 440B, 442A, 442B, 443A, 443B, 446A, 446B, 447A, 447B, 448A, 448B, 449A, 449B, 450A, 450B, 451A, 451B, 453A,
453B, 454A, 454B, 455A, 455B, 456A, 456B, 457A, 457B, 458A, 458B, 459A, 459B, 461A, 462A, 463A, 463B, 464A, 465A,
466A;

B.  managed:  deer permit areas 104, 107, 110, 115, 154, 156, 170, 172, 174, 175, 178, 180, 181, 183, 201, 203, 211, 214, 221,
224, 235, 247, 249, 251, 298, 338B, 339B, 341B, 342B, 343B, 344B, 345B, 347B, 348B, 412A, 412B, 415A, 415B, 416A, 416B,
417A, 417B, 418A, 418B, 419A, 419B, 420A, 420B, 421A, 421B, 422A, 422B, 423A, 423B, 426B, 452A, 452B, 461B, 462B,
464B, 465B, 466B, 467A, 467B; and

C.  intensive:  deer permit areas 157, 159, 202, 204, 205, 206, 207, 208, 209, 210, 222, 223, 225, 227, 228, 236, 242, 243, 244,
245, 246, 248, 283, 284, 285, 287, 337A, 337B, 346B, 349B, 401A, 401B, 402A, 402B, 403A, 403B, 404A, 404B, 405A, 405B,
406A, 406B, 407A, 407B, 408A, 408B, 409A, 409B, 410A, 410B, 411A, 411B, 413A, 413B, 414A, 414B, 429A, 429B.

6232.1800 ANTLERLESS EITHER-SEX PERMITS AND PREFERENCE DRAWINGS. 

Subpart 1.  Procedures for applying for an antlerless either-sex permit. Residents and nonresidents are eligible for antlerless
either-sex permits.  A person may not apply for an antlerless either-sex deer permit without first purchasing a firearms or all-sea-
son deer license and obtaining a permit application issued with the license.  The application may be made for only one of the deer
permit areas described in this part, and must be for the zone and dates on the applicant’s deer license.  A person may not submit
more than one application for an antlerless either-sex permit.  A person may apply for an antlerless either-sex permit or a special
hunt permit, but not both. 

After the application has been completed, it must be either mailed or delivered to the license bureau. The application deadline is
the first Thursday following Labor Day. 

Subp. 2.  Preference drawings for antlerless either-sex permits in lottery deer permit areas and special hunt area permits.
If the number of applications for either-sex permits in an antlerless permit a lottery deer permit area or for permits in a special hunt
area exceeds the quota set forth in the annual hunting regulations, a preference drawing will be used to select permit holders.
Persons 12 years of age or older may enter the preference drawing by supplying their driver’s license number, official state of
Minnesota Identification Number, or 13-digit Firearms Safety Identification Number on the application, except that resident hunters
under age 16 on the Saturday nearest November 6 may not apply for antlerless either-sex permits.  All applicants who have reached
their 18th birthday by the first Thursday following Labor Day must provide one of these three numbers to qualify.  Applicants under
18 years of age who do not submit one of these numbers will be assigned a number and will be entered into the preference draw-
ing.  Applicants establish a preference rating based upon the number of times they have applied in previous years and have not
obtained an antlerless either-sex or special hunt area permit.  The preference rating will increase each year the applicant applies
unsuccessfully for either an antlerless either-sex or special hunt area permit.  Persons applying for the first time have no preference.
Applicants receiving either antlerless either-sex or special hunt area permits lose their accrued preference. 

Subp. 3.  Antlerless Deer permit areas. Deer permit areas are comprised of partial, single, or grouped registration blocks
described as follows: of the same number.
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A.  Antlerless permit areas in Zone 1:

(1) permit area 110 consists of registration block 110;

(2) permit area 104-105-106 consists of registration blocks 104 to 106;

(3) permit area 107-108-109-195 consists of registration blocks 107 to 109, and 195;

(4) permit area 115 consists of registration block 115;

(5) permit area 116 consists of registration block 116;

(6) permit area 117 consists of registration block 117;

(7) permit area 118 consists of registration block 118;

(8) permit area 119-120-121 consists of registration blocks 119 to 121;

(9) permit area 122-123-124-125 consists of registration blocks 122 to 125;

(10) permit area 126-128-129 consists of registration blocks 126, 128, and 129;

(11) permit area 130 consists of registration block 130;

(12) permit area 152 consists of registration block 152;

(13) permit area 154-155-156 consists of registration blocks 154 to 156;

(14) permit area 157-158 consists of registration blocks 157 and 158;

(15) permit area 159 consists of registration block 159;

(16) permit area 167-168-169 consists of registration blocks 167 to 169;

(17) permit area 170-171 consists of registration blocks 170 and 171;

(18) permit area 172 consists of registration block 172;

(19) permit area 173-174 consists of registration blocks 173 and 174;

(20) permit area 175-176-177-178-179 consists of registration blocks 175 to 179;

(21) permit area 180-181-182-183-184-199 consists of registration blocks 180 to 184 and 199;

(22) permit area 194 consists of registration block 194; and

(23) permit area 197-198 consists of registration blocks 197 and 198.

B.  Antlerless permit areas in Zone 2:

(1) permit areas 201 to 210 consist of the registration blocks 201 to 210;

(2) permit area 211-212-213 consists of registration blocks 211 to 213;

(3) permit area 214 consists of registration block 214;

(4) permit areas 221 to 228 and 235 and 236 consist of registration blocks 221 to 228 and 235 and 236;

(5) permit area 244 consists of registration block 244;

(6) permit area 245 consists of registration block 245;

(7) permit areas 246 to 249 consist of registration blocks 246 to 249;

(8) permit area 251 consists of registration block 251;

(9) permit area 284-285-286 consists of registration blocks 284 to 286;

(10) permit area 287 consists of registration block 287; and

(11) permit area 297-298 consists of registration blocks 297 and 298.

C.  Antlerless permit areas in Zone 3:  permit areas 337 to 339 and 341 to 349 consist of registration blocks 337 to 339 and 341
to 349.

D.  Antlerless permit areas in Zone 4:

(1) permit areas 401 to 429 consist of registration blocks 401 to 429;

(2) permit area 431 consists of registration block 431;

(3) permit area 433 consists of registration block 433;

(4) permit area 435 consists of registration block 435;

(5) permit area 440 consists of registration block 440;

(6) permit area 442 consists of registration block 442;

(7) permit area 443 consists of registration block 443; and

(8) permit areas 446 to 459 and 461 to 467 consist of registration blocks 446 to 459 and 461 to 467.
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Subp. 4. 2003 either-sex permit quotas - Zone 1. Up to the following quotas of either-sex permits are available in permit areas

in Zone 1 for the 2003 season:

A.  permit area 116:  50;

B.  permit area 122:  900;

C.  permit area 126:  400;

D.  permit area 127:  125;

E.  permit area 152:  250;

F.  permit area 167:  1,700;

G.  permit area 168:  5,000;

H.  permit area 197:  1,600; and

I.  permit area 199:  150.

Subp. 5. 2003 either-sex permit quotas - Zone 2. Up to 250 either-sex permits are available in permit area 297 in Zone 2 for
the 2003 season.

Subp. 6. 2003 either-sex permit quotas - Zone 3A. Up to the following quotas of either-sex permits are available in permit areas
in Zone 3Asfor the 2003 season:

A.  permit area 338:  100;

B.  permit area 339:  100;

C.  permit area 341:  400;

D.  permit area 342:  300;

E.  permit area 343:  500;

F.  permit area 344:  250;

G.  permit area 345:  300;

H.  permit area 346:  600;

I.  permit area 347:  400;

J.  permit area 348:  400; and

K.  permit area 349:  700.

Subp. 7. 2003 either-sex permit quotas - Zone 4A. Up to the following quotas of either-sex permits are available in permit areas
in Zone 4Asfor the 2003 season:

A.  permit area 424:  400;

B.  permit area 425:  150;

C.  permit area 426:  400;

D.  permit area 427:  100;

E.  permit area 428:  450;

F.  permit area 431:  150;

G.  permit area 433:  350;

H.  permit area 435:  550;

I.  permit area 440:  450;

J.  permit area 442:  375;

K.  permit area 443:  200;

L.  permit area 446:  200;

M.  permit area 447:  200;

N.  permit area 448:  500;

O.  permit area 449:  575;

P.  permit area 450:  225;

Q.  permit area 451:  150;

R.  permit area 453:  200;

S.  permit area 454:  500;
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T.  permit area 455:  50;

U.  permit area 456:  500;

V.  permit area 457:  250;

W.  permit area 458:  250;

X.  permit area 459:  500;

Y.  permit area 461:  800;

Z.  permit area 462:  900;

AA.  permit area 463:  300;

BB.  permit area 464:  300;

CC.  permit area 465:  300; and

DD.  permit area 466:  700.

Subp. 8. 2003 either-sex permit quotas - Zone 4B. Up to the following quotas of either-sex permits are available in permit areas
in Zone 4B for the 2003 season:

A.  permit area 424:  400;

B.  permit area 425:  150;

C.  permit area 427:  100;

D.  permit area 428:  450;

E.  permit area 431:  100;

F.  permit area 433:  350;

G.  permit area 435:  350;

H.  permit area 440:  250;

I.  permit area 442:  375;

J.  permit area 443:  200;

K.  permit area 446:  200;

L.  permit area 447:  200;

M.  permit area 448:  300;

N.  permit area 449:  325;

O.  permit area 450:  175;

P.  permit area 451:  150;

Q.  permit area 453:  200;

R.  permit area 454:  400;

S.  permit area 455:  50;

T.  permit area 456:  300;

U.  permit area 457:  150;

V.  permit area 458:  200;

W.  permit area 459:  500; and

X.  permit area 463:  300.

Subp. 9. Either-sex permit quota adjustments. The commissioner may reduce the either-sex permit quotas specified for deer
permit area 152 at the time the computerized drawing is conducted to accommodate tribal declarations for antlerless deer harvest
in the 1837 ceded territory in compliance with Mille Lacs Band of Chippewa v. Minnesota, 119 S. Ct. 1187 (1999).

6232.1900 FIREARMS DEER MANAGEMENT PERMITS. 

Subpart 1.  Undersubscribed antlerless permit Managed deerspermit areas. Firearms deer management permits are author-
ized in antlerless managed deer permit areas where the number of applications is less than the number of permits available.  The
number of deer management permits authorized is up to 1-1/2 times the difference between the number of available permits and the
number of antlerless permits issued as prescribed in part 6232.1750, item B.  A deer management permit for an undersubscribed
antlerless permit area is valid only within the area designated on the management permit.  Asperson with a regular firearms license
validated for the appropriate zone and time option, except muzzleloader, or an all-season deer license valid for a managed deer per-
mit area may purchase one deer management permit from an electronic license system agent or the Department of Natural
Resources license center.  Deer management permits may be purchased throughout the regular firearms season. The following pro-
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cedures are used to select antlerless permit applicants for management permits:

A.  A landowner-tenant drawing will be held in those antlerless permit areas where firearms deer management permits are avail-
able subject to the following restrictions:

(1) Owners and tenants who live on at least ten acres of agricultural land will be given preference for firearms management
permits in those antlerless permit areas where management permits are available.

(2) Agricultural land includes land that is plowed or tilled, that has standing crops or crop residues, that is within a main-
tained fence for enclosing domestic livestock, or that is enrolled in the federal Conservation Reserve Program (CRP) or the state
RIM Reserve Program in the antlerless permit area or subpermit area applied for.

(3) An applicant must be a landowner or tenant living on the qualifying property or a family member of a qualifying
landowner or tenant who lives on the qualifying property and is part of the farming operation.

(4) Eligible landowner-tenants or qualifying family members must fill out an application available from county auditors,
the license bureau, and other authorized agents and submit the application in an envelope with their antlerless permit application
by the first Thursday following Labor Day.

(5) A random drawing will be held among eligible landowner-tenant applications for available firearms deer management
permits in each antlerless permit area.

(6) Landowner-tenants selected in the preference drawing will receive certification on their antlerless permit authorizing
acquisition of a management permit.  They may obtain a firearms deer management permit at no cost by submitting the certificate
to any county auditor’s office or the license bureau before or during the regular firearms season.  Eligible landowner-tenants who
apply for the orchard subpermit area may also obtain free management permits under this provision.  Before receiving the man-
agement permit, the landowner-tenant must verify that they still qualify as a landowner-tenant for purposes of firearms deer man-
agement permits, and will allow public firearms deer hunting on their lands during the firearms deer season.

B.  If there are firearms deer management permits available after the landowner-tenant drawing, hunters randomly drawn from
permittees in each undersubscribed area who have checked the bonus option on their antlerless permit application will be author-
ized to purchase a management permit.  A deer management permit may be purchased by submitting the certificate and fee to the
license bureau, a Minnesota county auditors’ office, or other authorized agents.  Deer management permits may be purchased
throughout the regular firearms season.

Subp. 2.  [See repealer.] 

6232.1950 TAKING DEER BY FIREARMS UNDER INTENSIVE HARVEST PERMITS. 

Subpart 1.  Purchase. The purchase of an intensive harvest permit is authorized for any person who has purchased and presents
a regular firearms deer license, multizone buck license, all-season deer license, or muzzleloader license for the current year.
Intensive harvest permits may be purchased for one-half the cost of a regular license from license vendors in Anoka, Washington,
Ramsey, Hennepin, Scott, Carver, and Dakota counties, county auditor offices electronic license system agents, the Department of
Natural Resources license bureau center, and other authorized agents. 

Subp. 2.  Restrictions. Intensive harvest permits may be used to take antlerless deer only in antlerless permit areas and special
hunt areas prescribed by the commissioner. by firearms during the regular firearms and muzzleloader seasons as follows:

A.  for the regular firearms season, hunters must have a regular firearms license validated for the appropriate zone and time
option, including except the muzzleloader option, or a multizone buck license, or an all-season deer license to take deer under an
intensive harvest permit in that the respective zone and time period for which the license is valid.  Intensive harvest permits may
be used to take antlerless deer only in intensive deer permit areas as prescribed in part 6232.1750, item C, and in special hunt areas
as prescribed in part 6232.1600, subpart 6, items B to N and P; and

B.  for the muzzleloader season, intensive harvest permits may be used to take antlerless deer in intensive deer permit areas open
for either the early or the late firearms season, as prescribed in part 6232.1750, item C, and special hunt areas prescribed by the
commissioner.  Hunters licensed for the muzzleloader season may also use one intensive harvest permit to take an antlerless deer
in managed deer permit areas open for either the early or the late firearms season, as prescribed in part 6232.1750, item B, except
permit area 224.

6232.2000 MULTIZONE BUCK LICENSE. 

[For text of subpart 1, see M.R.]

Subp. 2.  Antlerless deer and special hunts. Multizone buck license holders may not apply for antlerless lottery either-sex per-
mits or special permit areas hunt area permits or purchase firearms management permits.  Multizone buck licensees may purchase
and use intensive harvest permits to take antlerless deer in antlerless permit intensive deer permit areas or special hunt areas pre-
scribed by the commissioner.  Intensive harvest permits for multizone buck hunters are valid during any open firearms zone or time
period, except the late Zone 3B and the muzzleloader seasons.  Multizone buck licensees may not take antlerless deer under
Minnesota Statutes, section 97B.055, subdivision 3, or 97B.301, subdivision 6. 



Page 186 State Register, Monday 25 August 2003 (Cite 28 SR 186)

Expedited Emergency Rules
6232.2050 ALL-SEASON DEER LICENSE. 

Subpart 1. Season and open area.

A.  An all-season deer license allows a hunter to take and tag one legal buck and one antlerless deer per year.  All-season deer
license holders may hunt deer in any of the following seasons, according to all rules and laws for methods of taking in each respec-
tive season and zone:

(1) the archery deer season;

(2) the muzzleloader deer season; and

(3) the regular firearms season during any open firearms zone and time period, except the Zone 3B season.

B.  All-season deer license holders must declare the deer permit area they intend to hunt for antlerless deer during the regular
firearms season at the time of license purchase. 

C.  In lottery deer permit areas, all-season deer hunters must apply for and receive authorization to take and tag an antlerless
deer by firearms.

D.  In managed or intensive deer permit areas, all-season deer hunters may take and tag an antlerless deer with the antlerless tag
accompanying the license.

E.  Asperson who is authorized by statute to take an antlerless deer without an either-sex permit and who purchases an all-sea-
son deer license may take antlerless deer during the firearms season as authorized in part 6232.1300.

Subp. 2. Management and intensive harvest permits. All-season deer license holders may purchase one deer management per-
mit, if they select a managed deer permit area for the regular season at the time of license purchase, and may also purchase inten-
sive harvest permits.

6232.2100 MUZZLELOADER SEASON AND AREAS. 

[For text of subpart 1, see M.R.]

Subp. 2.  Open zone. The muzzleloader season is open statewide, except that the following antlerless deer permit areas are closed:
permit areas 115-118, 122-130, and 194 116, 126, 127, 203, 224, and 287. 

[For text of subp 3, see M.R.]

Subp. 4. 2003 muzzleloader special permit areas. The following areas are open for muzzleloader hunting by permit during the
2003 season:

A.  Jay Cooke state park in Carlton county is open November 29 for the taking of antlerless deer and legal bucks and is open
November 30 to December 3 for the taking of antlerless deer only.  No more than 90 permits shall be issued to muzzleloader
licensees only.  Up to four intensive harvest permits may be used to take a second, third, fourth, and fifth deer.  This is special per-
mit area 931;

B.  Crow Wing state park in Crow Wing county is open December 5 to December 7 for taking antlerless deer and legal bucks.
No more than 40 permits shall be issued to muzzleloader licensees only.  Up to four intensive harvest permits may be used to take
a second, third, fourth, and fifth deer.  This is special permit area 932;

C.  Afton state park in Washington county is open December 3 and December 4 for taking antlerless deer and legal bucks.  No
more than 40 permits shall be issued to muzzleloader licensees only.  Up to four intensive harvest permits may be used to take a
second, third, fourth, and fifth deer.  This is special permit area 933;

D.  Lake Shetek state park in Murray county is open December 6 to December 9 for taking antlerless deer only.  No more than
15 permits shall be issued to muzzleloader licensees only.  This is special permit area 934;

E.  Nerstrand Woods state park and adjacent Prairie Creek Woods scientific and natural area in Rice county are open November
29 to December 1 and December 5 to December 7 for taking antlerless deer and legal bucks.  No more than 50 permits shall be
issued to muzzleloader licensees only.  One intensive harvest permit may be used to take a second deer.  This is special permit area
935;

F.  Rice Lake state park in Dodge and Steele counties is open November 29 to December 1 and December 5 to December 7 for
the taking of antlerless deer only.  No more than 15 permits shall be issued to muzzleloader licensees only.  One intensive harvest
permit may be used to take a second deer.  This is special permit area 936; and

G.  Myre-Big Island state park in Freeborn county is open November 29 to December 1, December 13, and December 14 for
the taking of antlerless deer only.  No more than 40 permits shall be issued to muzzleloader licensees only.  This is special permit
area 937.
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6232.2500 DISABLED HUNT. 

[For text of subpart 1, see M.R.]

Subp. 2.  Open areas. Disability permittees may hunt in open areas and seasons as designated by the commissioner and published
in the annual hunting regulations booklet.  In 2003, the following areas are open for hunting by disabled hunters:

A.  Carlos Avery wildlife management area sanctuary in Anoka county is open for taking antlerless deer and legal bucks using
legal firearms or bow and arrow October 18 to October 26.  The Minnesota Deer Hunters Association and Capable Partners are the
sponsoring nonprofit organizations;

B.  the Camp Ripley military reservation in Morrison county is open for taking antlerless deer and legal bucks using legal firearms
or bow and arrow October 8 and October 9.  The St. Cloud Veterans Affairs Medical Center is the sponsoring organization;

C.  Rosemoen Island in the Lac qui Parle wildlife management area sanctuary in Chippewa county is open for taking antlerless
deer and legal bucks using legal firearms or bow and arrow September 13 to September 21.  One intensive harvest permit may be
used to take a second deer.  Capable Partners is the sponsoring nonprofit organization;

D.  Rydell national wildlife refuge in Polk county is open for taking antlerless deer only using legal firearms or bow and arrow
October 17 to October 19.  The Options Resource Center for Independent Living is the sponsoring nonprofit organization;

E.  deer permit areas 244 and 245 are open for taking antlerless deer and legal bucks using legal bow and arrow October 2 to
October 5.  The United Federation for Disabled Archers is the sponsoring nonprofit organization; and

F.  Lake Bemidji state park in Beltrami county is open for taking antlerless deer only, using shotguns or muzzleloaders only,
November 10 and November 11.  The Bemidji chapter of the Minnesota Deer Hunters Association is the sponsoring nonprofit
organization.

6232.2550 YOUTH ARCHERY HUNTS. 

[For text of subps 1 and 2, see 28 SR 34]

Subp. 3. Additional open areas. Youth hunt permittees may hunt in open areas and seasons as designated by the commission-
er.Participants must obtain a valid license and a firearms safety certificate prior to the respective hunt date.  The following addi-
tional areas are open for youth hunters by permit during the 2003 season:

A.  Arden Hills Army training site in Ramsey county is open for the taking of antlerless deer and legal bucks using bow and
arrow.  No more than 40 permits shall be issued to youth hunters for two hunts on October 16 and October 17 and October 18 and
October 19.  The Minnesota Deer Hunters Association is the sponsoring nonprofit organization.  Group applications and party hunt-
ing are not allowed.  One intensive harvest permit may be used, but a hunter may not take more than one deer;

B.  Whitewater state game refuge in Winona county is open October 16 to October 19 for the taking of antlerless deer and legal
bucks by legal firearms for the zone in which it is located.  No more than 50 permits shall be issued to youth hunters.  The Blufflands
Whitetails Association and Minnesota Deer Hunters Association are the sponsoring nonprofit organizations.  Group applications
and party hunting are not allowed; and

C.  Rydell national wildlife refuge in Polk county is open November 8 and November 9 for the taking of antlerless deer and legal
bucks by legal firearms for the zone in which it is located.  No more than 20 permits shall be issued to youth hunters.  Group appli-
cations and party hunting are not allowed.

6232.4700 DEER AND BEAR REGISTRATION BLOCKS. 

[For text of subpart 1, see M.R.]

Subp. 2.  Registration Block 104. Deer And Bear Registration Block 104 consists of that portion of the state lying within the fol-
lowing described boundary: 

Beginning on the north boundary of the state at State Trunk Highway (STH) 72; thence along the north boundary of the
state to a point due north of the intersection of STH 11 and County State-Aid Highway (CSAH) 32, Koochiching
County; thence due south to CSAH 32; thence along CSAH 32 to the Hay Creek-Indian Pine Forest Road; thence along
the Hay Creek-Indian Pine Forest Road to CSAH 82, Lake of the Woods County; thence along CSAH 82 1, Koochiching
county; thence along CSAH 1 to CSAH 13, Koochiching county; thence along CSAH 13 to STH 6; thence along STH
6 to CSAH 14, Itasca county; thence along CSAH 14 to CSAH 29, Itasca county; thence along CSAH 29 to CSAH 26,
Itasca county; thence along CSAH 26 to CSAH 31, Itasca county; thence along CSAH 31 to CSAH 26, Itasca county;
thence along CSAH 26 to CSAH 26, Koochiching county; thence along CSAH 26 to STH 1; thence along STH 1 to
CSAH 6, Koochiching county; thence along CSAH 6 to CSAH 25, Koochiching county; thence along CSAH 25 to U.S.
Highway 71; thence along U.S. Highway 71 to CSAH 36, Koochiching county; thence along CSAH 36 to CSAH 36,
Beltrami county; thence along CSAH 36 to CSAH 34, Beltrami county; thence along CSAH 34 to Beltrami county road
(CR) 104; thence along CR 104 to the east boundary of Red Lake Indian Reservation; thence along said boundary to the
south shore of Upper Red lake; thence along the south and east shores of said lake to the mouth of the Tamarac river;
thence along the south shore of said river to STH 72; thence along STH 72 to the point of beginning. 
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Subp. 3.  [See repealer.]

Subp. 4.  [See repealer.]

Subp. 5.  Registration Block 107. Deer And Bear Registration Block 107 consists of that portion of the state lying within the fol-
lowing described boundary: 

Beginning on the north boundary of the state at a point due north of the junction of State Trunk Highway (STH) 11 and
County State-Aid Highway (CSAH) 1, Koochiching county; thence along the north boundary of the state to the west
boundary of Voyageurs National Park; thence along the west boundary of the park to the public access to Lake
Kabetogama at Gappa’s Landing; thence along County Highway 523, St. Louis county, to CSAH 123, St. Louis coun-
ty; thence along CSAH 123 to CSAH 122, St. Louis county; thence along CSAH 122 to U.S. Highway 53; thence along
U.S. Highway 53 to the Lost River; thence along the Lost River to the east boundary of the Nett Lake Indian
Reservation; thence along the east, north, and west boundaries of the reservation to STH 65; thence along STH 65 to
CSAH 31, Koochiching County; thence along CSAH 31 to U.S. Highway 71; thence along U.S. Highway 71 STH 1;
thence along STH 1 to STH 6; thence along STH 6 to CSAH 13, Koochiching county; thence along CSAH 13 to CSAH
l, Koochiching county; thence along CSAH 1 to the point of beginning. 

Subp. 6. [See repealer.] 

Subp. 7.  [See repealer.] 

Subp. 8.  Registration Block 110. Deer And Bear Registration Block 110 consists of that portion of the state lying within the fol-
lowing described boundary: 

Beginning at the junction of State Trunk Highway (STH) 1 and STH 72; thence along STH 1 to the east boundary of the
Red Lake Indian Reservation; thence along said boundary to the south shore of Upper Red Lake; thence along the south
and east shores of said lake to the mouth of the Tamarac River; thence along the south shore of said river to STH 72;
thence along STH 72 Beltrami County Road (CR) 104; thence along CR 104 to County State-Aid Highway (CSAH) 34,
Beltrami county; thence along CSAH 34 to CSAH 36, Koochiching county; thence along CSAH 36 to CSAH 36,
Beltrami county; thence along CSAH 36 to U.S. Highway 71; thence along U.S. Highway 71 to CSAH 25, Koochiching
county; thence along CSAH 25 to CSAH 6, Koochiching county; thence along CSAH 6 to STH 1; thence along STH 1
to U.S. Highway 71; thence along U.S. Highway 71 to STH 72; thence along STH 72 to the point of beginning. 

Subp. 9.  Registration Block 115. Deer And Bear Registration Block 115 consists of that portion of the state within the bound-
aries of Voyageurs National Park. lying within the following described boundary:

Beginning at the intersection of Voyageurs National Park and the northern boundary of the state; thence along the west
boundary of the park to the public access to Lake Kabetogama at Gappa’s Landing; thence along County Highway 523,
St. Louis county, to County State-Aid Highway (CSAH) 123, St. Louis county; thence along CSAH 123 to CSAH 122,
St. Louis county; thence along CSAH 122 to U.S. Highway 53; thence along U.S. Highway 53 to State Trunk Highway
(STH) 1; thence easterly along STH 1 to CSAH 128, St. Louis county; thence along CSAH 128 to the north boundary
of Bear Head Lake State Park; thence along the north, east, and south sides of said park to St. Louis County Road (CR)
360; thence along CR 360 to CSAH 21, St. Louis county; thence along CSAH 21 to CSAH 70, St. Louis county; thence
along CSAH 70 to CSAH 112, St. Louis county; thence along CSAH 112 to St. Louis CR 623; thence along CR 623 to
Forest Road (FR) 424; thence along FR 424 to STH 1; thence along STH 1 to CSAH 88, St. Louis county; thence along
CSAH 88 to CSAH 116, St. Louis county; thence along CSAH 116 to the Bass lake portage; thence along said portage
to Bass lake; thence through Bass lake and along the flowage to Low lake; thence follow the Range river through Range
lake to Sandpit lake; thence across the portage to Horse lake, through Horse lake; thence along the Horse river to the
Basswood river on the Canadian border to the point of beginning.

Subp. 10.  Registration Block 116. Deer And Bear Registration Block 116 consists of that portion of the state lying within the
following described boundary: 

Beginning at the intersection of the boundary of the Boundary Waters Canoe Area (BWCA) and Horse and Basswood
rivers on the north boundary of the state at Little Vermillion Lake, St. Louis County; thence along the west and south
boundaries of the BWCA to Moose Lake, Lake County; thence along the east shores of Moose, Newfound, and Sucker
Lakes; thence along the Horse river to Horse lake; thence through Horse lake; thence across the portage to Sandpit lake;
thence to Range lake; thence follow the Range river to Low lake; thence along all flowages to Bass lake; thence across
Bass lake to the portage to County State-Aid Highway (CSAH) 116, St. Louis county; thence along CSAH 116 to CSAH
88, St. Louis county; thence along CSAH 88 to State Trunk Highway (STH) 1; thence along STH 1 to Forest Road (FR)
377; thence along FR 377 to the boundary of the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness (BWCAW); thence along the
BWCAWlboundary to the North Brule river; thence easterly along the North Brule river to CSAH 12 (Gunflint Trail),
Cook county; thence northerly along CSAH 12 (Gunflint Trail) to Trap creek; thence northeasterly along Trap creek to
the BWCAWlboundary; thence southeasterly along the BWCAWlboundary to the north boundary of the state; thence
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along the north boundary of the state to the point of beginning. 

Subp. 11.  [See repealer.] 

Subp. 12.  [See repealer.] 

Subp. 13.  [See repealer.] 

Subp. 14. [See repealer.] 

Subp. 15. [See repealer.] 

Subp. 16.  Registration Block 122. Deer And Bear Registration Block 122 consists of that portion of the state lying within the
following described boundary: 

Beginning at the intersection of State Trunk Highway (STH) 1 and STH 135; thence along STH 1 to County State Aid
Highway (CSAH) 120, St. Louis County; thence along CSAH 120 to CSAH 21, St. Louis County; thence along CSAH
21 to CSAH 70, St. Louis County; thence along CSAH 70 to National Forest Route (NFR) 112; thence along NFR 112
to Erie Mining Company Railroad in Section 9, Township 60 North, Range 12 West; thence south and west along said
railroad to its junction with the Duluth, Missabe and Iron Range Railroad (DM&IR); thence north along said railroad to
CSAH 21, St. Louis County; thence along CSAH 21 to STH 135; thence along STH 135 County State-Aid Highway
(CSAH) 2, Lake county; thence southerly along CSAH 2 to the Duluth, Missabe and Iron Range Railroad (DM&IR);
thence southerly and westerly along the DM&IR to St. Louis County Road (CR) 547 at Brimson; thence westerly along
CR 547 to CSAH 4, St. Louis county; thence northerly along CSAH 4 to CSAH 16, St. Louis county; thence easterly
along CSAH 16 to Forest Road (FR) 130 (Moose Line Road); thence along FR 130 (Moose Line Road) to CSAH 110;
thence northerly and easterly to the DM&IR; thence along the DM&IR to the LTV/Erie Railroad; thence along the
LTV/Erie Railroad to FR 424; thence along FR 424 to STH 1; thence along STH 1 southerly to the point of beginning. 

Subp. 17.  [See repealer.] 

Subp. 18.  [See repealer.] 

Subp. 19.  [See repealer.] 

Subp. 20.  Registration Block 126. Deer And Bear Registration Block 126 consists of that portion of the state lying within the
following described boundary: 

Beginning at the intersection of the Reserve Erie Mining Company Railroad and State Trunk Highway (STH) 2; thence
along STH 2 to the Erie Mining Company Railroad; thence along the Erie Mining Company Railroad County State-Aid
Highway (CSAH) 7, Lake county; thence along CSAH 7 to Forest Road (FR) 170; thence along FR 170 to CSAH 2,
Cook county; thence along CSAH 2 to the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness (BWCAW) boundary; thence along
the BWCAWlboundary to the North Brule river; thence easterly along the North Brule river to CSAH 12 (Gunflint
Trail), Cook county; thence northerly along CSAH 12 (Gunflint Trail) to Trap creek; thence northeasterly along Trap
creek to the BWCAWlboundary; thence southeasterly along the BWCAWlboundary to the northern boundary of the
state; thence along the northern boundary of the state to the shore of Lake Superior; thence along the shore of Lake
Superior to Silver Bay; thence along the Reserve the east shore of the Manitou river; thence along the east shore of the
Manitou river to the Erie Mining Company Railroad; thence along the Erie Mining Company Railroad to the point of
beginning. 

Subp. 21.  Registration Block 127. Deer And Bear Registration Block 127 consists of that portion of the state lying within the
following described boundary: 

Beginning at the intersection of State Trunk Highway (STH) 1 and National Forest Route (NFR) 173, Lake County;
thence along NFR 173 to the Snake River; thence along the Snake River to the south boundary of the Boundary Waters
Canoe Area (BWCA); thence along the south boundary of the BWCA to Alton Lake; thence along the east shore of Alton
Lake to the portage to Sawbill Lake; thence across the portage to Sawbill Lake; thence along the west and south shores
of Sawbill Lake to the Sawbill Lake public access; thence south along the Sawbill Trail (Lake County Road 2) to Forest
Road (FR) 170; thence along FR 170 to FR 346; thence along FR 346 to FR 357; thence along FR 357 to County State
Aid Highway (CSAH) 7, Lake County; thence along CSAH 7 to the Erie Mining Company Railroad; thence along the
Erie Mining Company Railroad to STH 2; thence along STH 2 County State-Aid Highway (CSAH) 2, Lake county;
thence along CSAH 2 to Lake County Road (CR) 15; thence along CR 15 to the Stony River Forest Road (FR); thence
along the Stony River FR to FR 104; thence along FR 104 to the Erie Mining Company Railroad; thence along the Erie
Mining Company Railroad to CSAH 7, Lake county; thence along CSAH 7 to FR 170; thence along FR 170 to CSAH
2, Cook county; thence along CSAH 2 to the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness (BWCAW) boundary; thence
along said boundary to FR 377; thence along FR 377 to STH 1; thence along STH 1 to the point of beginning. 

Subp. 22.  [See repealer.] 

Subp. 23.  [See repealer.] 
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Subp. 24.  [See repealer.].

Subp. 25.  Registration Block 152. Deer And Bear Registration Block 152 consists of public lands within that portion of the state
known posted as the Mille Lacs Wildlife Area. 

Subp. 26.  Registration Block 154. Deer And Bear Registration Block 154 consists of that portion of the state lying within the
following described boundary: 

Beginning at the intersection of State Trunk Highway (STH) 210 and STH 6 at Deerwood; thence along STH 210 to
STH 47; thence along STH 47 to STH 18 at Malmo; thence due west to the shore of Mille Lacs Lake; thence to the cen-
ter of Mille Lacs Lake; thence STH 6 to County State-Aid Highway (CSAH) 1, Crow Wing county; thence along CSAH
1 to CSAH 3, Aitkin county; thence along CSAH 3 to U.S. Highway 169; thence along U.S. Highway 169 to STH 210;
thence along STH 210 to STH 65; thence along STH 65 to STH 18; thence along STH 18 to STH 47; thence due west
to the east shore of Mille Lacs lake; thence along the east shore of Mille Lacs lake to a point on the shore of Mille Lacs
Lake due east of the junction of U.S. Highway 169 and STH 18 at Garrison; thence due west to the junction of U.S.
Highway 169 and STH 18; thence along STH 18 to STH 6; thence along STH 6 to the point of beginning. 

Subp. 27.  [See repealer.] 

Subp. 28.  Registration Block 156. Deer And Bear Registration Block 156 consists of that portion of the state lying within the
following described boundary: 

Beginning at the intersection of State Trunk Highway (STH) 210 and STH 65; thence along STH 210 to STH 73; thence
along STH 73 to Interstate Highway 35 (I-35); thence along I-35 to STH 23; thence along STH 23 to STH 18; thence
along STH 18 to STH 65; thence along STH 65 to the point of beginning. 

Subp. 29.  Registration Block 157. Deer And Bear Registration Block 157 consists of that portion of the state lying within the
following described boundary, except that part comprising Block 152: 

Beginning on the east shore of Mille Lacs Lake at a point due west of the intersection of State Trunk Highway (STH)
47 and STH 18; thence due east to said intersection; thence along STH 18 to STH 65; thence along STH 65 Interstate
Highway 35 (I-35); thence along I-35 to STH 70; thence along STH 70 to STH 65; thence along STH 65 to STH 23;
thence along STH 23 to U.S. Highway 169; thence along U.S. Highway 169 to a junction with County State-Aid
Highway (CSAH) 35, Mille Lacs county; thence from said junction due north to the shore of Mille Lacs Lake; thence
to the center along the east shore of Mille Lacs Lake; thence to the point of beginning. 

Subp. 30.  [See repealer.] 

[For text of subp 31, see M.R.]

Subp. 32.  Registration Block 167. Deer And Bear Registration Block 167 consists of that portion of the state lying within the
following described boundary: 

Beginning at the intersection of State Trunk Highway (STH) 1 and STH 72; thence along STH 1 to STH 46; thence along
STH 46 to the north boundary of the Leech Lake Indian Reservation; thence along the north and west boundaries of said
reservation to County State Aid Highway (CSAH) 39, Beltrami County; thence along CSAH 39 to U.S. Highway 71;
thence along U.S. Highway 71 to STH 72; thence along STH 72 U.S. Highway 71; thence along U.S. Highway 71 to
County State-Aid Highway (CSAH) 39, Beltrami county; thence along CSAH 39 to the north boundary of the Leech
Lake Indian Reservation; thence along the north boundary of said reservation to CSAH 133, Itasca county; thence along
CSAH 133 to STH 6; thence along STH 6 to CSAH 14, Itasca county; thence along CSAH 14 to CSAH 29, Itasca coun-
ty; thence along CSAH 29 to CSAH 26, Itasca county; thence along CSAH 26 to CSAH 31, Itasca county; thence along
CSAH 31 to CSAH 26, Itasca county; thence along CSAH 26 to CSAH 26, Koochiching county; thence along CSAH
26 to STH 1; thence along STH 1 to the point of beginning. 

Subp. 33.  Registration Block 168. Deer And Bear Registration Block 168 consists of that portion of the state lying within the
following described boundary: 

Beginning at the intersection of State Trunk Highway (STH) 1 and STH 46; thence along STH 1 to 65; thence along STH 65 to
County State-Aid Highway (CSAH) 56, Itasca county; thence along CSAH 56 to CSAH 8, Itasca county; thence along CSAH 8 to
CSAH 7, Itasca county; thence along CSAH 7 to CSAH 59, Itasca county; thence along CSAH 59 to CSAH 49, Itasca county;
thence along CSAH 49 to CSAH 60, Itasca county; thence along CSAH 60 to STH 38; thence along STH 38 to County State Aid
Highway (CSAH) 19, Itasca county; thence along CSAH 19 to the east boundary of the Leech Lake Indian Reservation; thence
along the east and north boundaries boundary of said reservation to CSAH 133, Itasca county; thence along CSAH 133 to STH 6;
thence along STH 6 to STH 46; thence along STH 46 1; thence along STH 1 to the point of beginning. 

[For text of subp 33a, see 27 SR 348]

Subp. 34.  [See repealer.] 
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Subp. 35.  Registration Block 170. Deer And Bear Registration Block 170 consists of that portion of the state lying within the

following described boundary: 

Beginning at the intersection of U.S. Highway 2 and State Trunk Highway (STH) 6 at Deer River; thence along STH 6 to
County State-Aid Highway (CSAH) 19, Itasca county; thence along CSAH 19 to STH 38; thence along STH 38 to CSAH
60, Itasca County; thence along CSAH 60 to CSAH 49, Itasca County; thence along CSAH 49 to CSAH 59, Itasca County;
thence along CSAH 59 to CSAH 7, Itasca County; thence along CSAH 7 to CSAH 57, Itasca County; thence along CSAH
57 to CSAH 8, Itasca County; thence along CSAH 8 CSAH 60, Itasca county; thence along CSAH 60 to CSAH 49, Itasca
county; thence along CSAH 49 to CSAH 59, Itasca county; thence along CSAH 59 to CSAH 7, Itasca county; thence along
CSAH 7 to CSAH 8, Itasca county; thence along CSAH 8 to CSAH 56, Itasca county; thence along CSAH 56 to STH 65;
thence along STH 65 to STH 200; thence along STH 200 to U.S. Highway 169; thence along U.S. Highway 169 to CSAH
3, Aitkin county; thence along CSAH 3 to CSAH 1, Crow Wing county; thence along CSAH 1 to STH 6; thence along STH
6 to STH 200; thence along STH 200 to the east boundary of the Leech Lake Indian Reservation; thence along said bound-
ary to U.S. Highway 2; thence along U.S. Highway 2 to the point of beginning. 

Subp. 36.  [See repealer.] 

[For text of subp 37, see M.R.]

Subp. 38.  [See repealer.] 

Subp. 39.  Registration Block 174. Deer And Bear Registration Block 174 consists of that portion of the state lying within the
following described boundary: 

Beginning at the intersection of U.S. Highway 169 and State Trunk Highway (STH) 200; thence along STH 200 to STH
65; thence along STH 65 to U.S. Highway 2; thence along U.S. Highway 2 to STH 73; thence along STH 73 to STH
210; thence along STH 210 to U.S. Highway 169; thence along U.S. Highway 169 to the point of beginning. 

Subp. 40.  Registration Block 175. Deer And Bear Registration Block 175 consists of that portion of the state lying within the
following described boundary: 

Beginning at the intersection of State Trunk Highway (STH) 1 and STH 65; thence easterly along STH 1 to U.S.
Highway County State-Aid Highway (CSAH) 128, St. Louis county; thence along CSAH 128 to the north boundary of
Bear Head Lake State Park; thence along the north, east, and south sides of said park to St. Louis County Road (CR)
360; thence along CR 360 to CSAH 21, St. Louis county; thence along CSAH 21 to CSAH 70, St. Louis county; thence
along CSAH 70 to CSAH 112, St. Louis county; thence along CSAH 112 to St. Louis CR 623; thence along CR 623 to
the LTV/Erie Railroad; thence along the LTV/Erie Railroad to the Duluth, Missabe and Iron Range Railroad (DM&IR);
thence along the DM&IR to CSAH 110, St. Louis county; thence along CSAH 110 to CSAH 100, St. Louis county;
thence along CSAH 100 to CSAH 135, St. Louis county; thence westerly along CSAH 135 to STH 53; thence along
U.S. Highway STH 53 to U.S. Highway STH 169; thence westerly along U.S. Highway STH 169 to STH 65; thence
northerly along STH 65 to the point of beginning. 

Subp. 41.  [See repealer.] 

Subp. 42.  [See repealer.] 

Subp. 43.  Registration Block 178. Deer And Bear Registration Block 178 consists of that portion of the state lying within the
following described boundary: 

Beginning at the intersection of U.S. State Trunk Highway (STH) 169 and U.S. Highway STH 53 at Virginia; thence
along U.S. Highway STH 53 to County State-Aid Highway (CSAH) 133, St. Louis County; thence along CSAH 133 to
CSAH 5, St. Louis County; thence along CSAH 5 135, St. Louis county; thence easterly along CSAH 135 to CSAH
100, St. Louis county; thence along CSAH 100 to CSAH 110, St. Louis county; thence along CSAH 110 to Forest Road
(FR) 130 (Moose Line Road); thence along FR 130 (Moose Line Road) to CSAH 16, St. Louis county; thence wester-
ly along CSAH 16 to CSAH 4, St. Louis county; thence southerly along CSAH 4 to CSAH 49, St. Louis county; thence
westerly along CSAH 49 to STH 53; thence southerly along STH 53 to CSAH 133, St. Louis county; thence along
CSAH 133 to CSAH 25, Itasca county; thence along CSAH 25 to STH 2; thence along STH 2 to STH 65; thence norther-
ly along STH 65 to U.S. Highway STH 169; thence along U.S. Highway STH 169 to the point of beginning. 

Subp. 44.  [See repealer.] 

Subp. 45.  Registration Block 180. Deer And Bear Registration Block 180 consists of that portion of the state 

lying within the following described boundary: 

Beginning at the intersection of U.S. Interstate Highway 53 535 (I-535) and the east boundary of the state at Duluth;
thence along U.S. Highway 53 I-535 to County State Aid Highway (CSAH) 49; thence along CSAH 49 to CSAH 4, St.
Louis County; thence along CSAH 4 to CSAH 547, St. Louis County; thence along CSAH 547 to the Duluth, Missabe
and Iron Range Railroad (DM&IR); thence along the DM&IR Interstate Highway 35 (I-35); thence along I-35 to
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Mesaba Avenue; thence along Mesaba Avenue to County State-Aid Highway (CSAH) 194, St. Louis county; thence
along CSAH 194 to CSAH 4, St. Louis county; thence along CSAH 4 to St. Louis County Road (CR) 547; thence along
CR 547 to the Duluth, Missabe and Iron Range Railroad (DM&IR); thence along the DM&IR to CSAH 2, Lake coun-
ty; thence along CSAH 2 to Lake CR 15; thence along CR 15 to the Stony River Forest Road (FR); thence along the
Stony River FR to FR 104; thence along FR 104 to the Erie Mining Company Railroad; thence along the Erie Mining
Company Railroad to the east bank of the Manitou river; thence along the east bank of the Manitou river to the shore of
Lake Superior; thence due south to the east boundary of the state; thence along the east boundary of the state to the point
of beginning. 

Subp. 46.  Registration Block 181. Deer And Bear Registration Block 181 consists of that portion of the state lying within the
following described boundary, except that portion known as the Fond du Lac Indian Reservation: 

Beginning at the intersection of State Trunk Highway (STH) 73 and STH 210; thence along STH 73 to U.S. Highway 2;
thence along U.S. Highway 2 to County State-Aid Highway (CSAH) 25, Itasca county; thence along CSAH 25 to CSAH
133, St. Louis county; thence along CSAH 133 to U.S. Highway 53; thence along U.S. Highway 53 to U.S. Highway 61;
thence along U.S. Highway 61 CSAH 49, St. Louis county; thence along CSAH 49 to CSAH 4, St. Louis county; thence
along CSAH 4 to CSAH 194, St. Louis county; thence along CSAH 194 to Mesaba Avenue; thence along Mesaba Avenue
to Interstate Highway 35 (I-35); thence along I-35 to STH 210; thence along STH 210 to the point of beginning. 

Subp. 47.  [See repealer.] 

Subp. 48.  Registration Block 183. Deer And Bear Registration Block 183 consists of that portion of the state lying within the
following described boundary: 

Beginning at the intersection of State Trunk Highway (STH) 210 and STH 73; thence along STH 210 to U.S. Highway
61; thence along U.S. Highway 61 to U.S. Highway 53; thence along U.S. Highway 53 Interstate Highway 35 (I-35) and
Interstate Highway 535 (I-535); thence along I-535 to the east boundary of the state; thence along the east boundary of
the state to County State-Aid Highway (CSAH) 8, Carlton County; thence along CSAH 8 to STH 23; thence along STH
23 to CSAH 22, Pine County; thence along CSAH 22 to CSAH 32, Pine county; thence along CSAH 32 to STH State
Trunk Highway (STH) 23; thence along STH 23 to U.S. Highway 61; thence along U.S. Highway 61 to STH 27; thence
along STH 27 to STH 73; thence along STH 73 I-35; thence along I-35 to the point of beginning. 

Subp. 49.  [See repealer.] 

Subp. 50.  [See repealer.] 

Subp. 51.  [See repealer.] 

Subp. 52.  Registration Block 197. Deer And Bear Registration Block 197 consists of that portion of the state lying within the
following described boundary: 

Beginning at the intersection of the north boundary of the Leech Lake Indian Reservation and County State-Aid Highway (CSAH)
39, Beltrami county; thence along CSAH 39 to CSAH 20, Beltrami county; thence along CSAH 20 to CSAH 53 27, Beltrami coun-
ty; thence along CSAH 53 27 to CSAH 12, Beltrami county; thence along CSAH 12 to CSAH 51 27, Beltrami county; thence along
CSAH 51 27 to CSAH 8, Beltrami county; thence along CSAH 8 to CSAH 25, Beltrami county; thence along CSAH 25 to CSAH
4, Beltrami county; thence along CSAH 4 to CSAH 46, Hubbard county; thence along CSAH 46 to U.S. Highway 2; thence along
U.S. Highway 2 to CSAH 45, Hubbard county; thence along CSAH 45 to CSAH 9, Hubbard county; thence along CSAH 9 to
CSAH 69, Cass county; thence along CSAH 69 to CSAH 5, Hubbard county; thence along CSAH 5 to CSAH 39, Hubbard coun-
ty; thence along CSAH 39 to County Road (CR) 94, Hubbard county; thence along CR 94 to CSAH 31, Hubbard county; thence
along CSAH 31 to State Trunk Highway (STH) 200; thence along STH 200 to U.S. Highway 371; thence along U.S. Highway 371
to the south boundary of the Leech Lake Indian Reservation; thence along the south and east boundaries of the reservation to the
intersection with U.S. Highway 2; thence east along U.S. Highway 2 to the east boundary of the Leech Lake Indian Reservation;
thence along the east and north boundaries of the reservation to the point of beginning. 

Subp. 53.  [See repealer.] 

[For text of subps 54 to 58, see M.R.]

Subp. 59.  Registration Block 205. Deer And Bear Registration Block 205 consists of that portion of the state lying within the
following described boundary: 

Beginning at the intersection of State Trunk Highway (STH) 310 with the north boundary of the state 49th parallel of
North Latitude; thence east along the north boundary of the state (49th parallel of North Latitude) to the east boundary
of the state Ontario border (on Lake of the Woods); thence southeasterly along the east north boundary of the state to
STH 72; thence along STH 72 to STH 11 the point due north of the junction of STH 72 and STH 11; thence due south
to said junction; thence along STH 11 to County State-Aid Highway (CSAH) 1, Lake of the Woods county; thence along
CSAH 1 to CSAH 3, Lake of the Woods county; thence along CSAH 3 to CSAH 2, Lake of the Woods county; thence
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along CSAH 2 to STH 11; thence along STH 11 to the southeast corner of Section 36, Township 162 North, Range 35
West; thence due west 670 Avenue, Roseau county; thence along 670 Avenue to the Tangnes Forest Road; thence along
the Tangnes Forest Road to CSAH 5, Roseau county; thence along CSAH 5 to the Thompson Forest Road, Roseau coun-
ty; thence along the Thompson Forest Road to the boundary of Hayes Lake State Park; thence along the boundary of
Hayes Lake State Park to CSAH 18, Roseau county; thence along CSAH 18 to CSAH 9, Roseau county; thence along
CSAH 9 to CSAH 2, Roseau county; thence along CSAH 2 to STH 89; thence along STH 89 to STH 310; thence along
STH 310 to the point of beginning. 

[For text of subps 60 to 64, see M.R.]

Subp. 65.  Registration Block 211. Deer And Bear Registration Block 211 consists of that portion of the state lying within the
following described boundary: 

Beginning at the intersection of State Trunk Highway (STH) 72 and STH 11; thence along STH 72 to County State Aid
Highway (CSAH) 77, Lake of the Woods county; thence along CSAH 77 to the Rapid River Forest Road; thence along
the Rapid River Forest Road to the south branch of the Rapid river; thence along the north shore of the river to the
Faunce Butterfield Forest Road; thence along the Faunce Butterfield Forest Road to Dick’s Parkway Forest Road; thence
along Dick’s Parkway Forest Road to the Winner Forest Road; thence along the Winner Forest Road to CSAH 18,
Roseau county; thence along CSAH 18 to CSAH 9, Roseau county; the Tamarac river; thence along the south shore of
the Tamarac river to Upper Red lake; thence along the north shore of Upper Red lake to the boundary of the Red Lake
Indian Reservation; thence along the north boundary of the reservation to the west boundary of Beltrami county; thence
due west to County State-Aid Highway (CSAH) 54, Marshall county; thence north along CSAH 54 to CSAH 9, Roseau
county; thence along CSAH 9 to CSAH 2 18, Roseau county; thence along CSAH 2 18 to the southeast corner of Section
36, Township 162 North, Range 36 West; thence due east to an intersection with boundary of Hayes Lake State Park;
thence along the boundary of Hayes Lake State Park to the Thompson Forest Road; thence along the Thompson Forest
Road to CSAH 5, Roseau county; thence along CSAH 5 to the Tangnes Forest Road; thence along the Tangnes Forest
Road to 670 Avenue; thence along 670 Avenue to STH 11; thence along STH 11 to CSAH 2, Lake of the Woods coun-
ty; thence along CSAH 2 to CSAH 3, Lake of the Woods county; thence along CSAH 3 to CSAH 1, Lake of the Woods
county; thence along CSAH 1 to STH 11; thence along STH 11 to the point of beginning. 

Subp. 66.  [See repealer.]

[For text of subps 67 and 68, see M.R.]

Subp. 69.  Registration Block 221. Deer And Bear Registration Block 221 consists of that portion of the state lying within the
following described boundary: 

Beginning at the intersection of State Trunk Highway (STH) 27 and County State-Aid Highway (CSAH) 40 8, Morrison
county; thence along CSAH 40 8 to CSAH 39, Morrison county; thence along CSAH 39 to CSAH 33, Morrison coun-
ty; thence along CSAH 33 to CSAH 26, Morrison county; thence along CSAH 26 to CSAH 30, Morrison county; thence
along CSAH 30 to CSAH 3, Benton county; thence along CSAH 3 to STH 25; thence along STH 25 to STH 95; thence
along STH 95 to STH 23; thence along STH 23 to the Mississippi River; thence along the east shore of the Mississippi
River to a point due west of the junction of CSAH 48, Morrison county, and STH 371; thence due east to said junction;
thence along CSAH 48 to STH 25; thence along STH 25 to STH 27; thence along STH 27 to the point of beginning. 

Subp. 70.  Registration Block 222. Deer And Bear Registration Block 222 consists of that portion of the state lying within the
following described boundary: 

Beginning at the intersection of State Trunk Highway (STH) 27 and U.S. Highway 169; thence along U.S. Highway 169
to STH 95; thence along STH 95 to STH 25; thence along STH 25 to County State-Aid Highway (CSAH) 3, Benton
county; thence along CSAH 3 to CSAH 30, Morrison county; thence along CSAH 30 to CSAH 26, Morrison county;
thence along CSAH 26 to CSAH 33, Morrison county; thence along CSAH 33 to CSAH 39, Morrison county; thence
along CSAH 39 to CSAH 40 8, Morrison county; thence along CSAH 40 8 to STH 27; thence along STH 27 to the point
of beginning. 

[For text of subps 71 and 72, see M.R.]

Subp. 73.  Registration Block 225. Deer And Bear Registration Block 225 consists of that portion of the state lying within the
following described boundary: 

Beginning at the intersection of State Trunk Highway (STH) 23 and U.S. Highway 169; thence along STH 23 to STH
65; thence along STH 65 to STH 70; thence along STH 70 to STH 107; thence along STH 107 to STH 65; thence along
STH 65 the east boundary of the state; thence along the east boundary of the state to STH 95; thence along STH 95 to
U.S. Highway 169; thence along U.S. Highway 169 to the point of beginning. 

Subp. 74.  [See repealer.].
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Subp. 75.  Registration Block 227. Deer And Bear Registration Block 227 consists of that portion of the state lying within the

following described boundary: 

Beginning at the intersection of U.S. Highway 169 and State Trunk Highway (STH) 95; thence along STH 95 to
Interstate Highway 35 (I-35); thence along I-35 to the north border of the Carlos Avery Wildlife Management Area;
thence along the north and west border of the Carlos Avery Wildlife Management Area to County State-Aid Highway
(CSAH) 17 18, Anoka County; thence along CSAH 17 to CSAH 18, Anoka County; thence along CSAH 18 to CSAH
58, Anoka County; thence along CSAH 58 to CSAH 9, Anoka County; thence along CSAH 9 to CSAH 22, Anoka
County; thence along CSAH 22 to CSAH 12, Sherburne County; thence along CSAH 12 to U.S. Highway 169; thence
along U.S. Highway 169 to the point of beginning. 

[For text of subps 75a to 77, see M.R.]

Subp. 77a. Registration Block 242. Deer and Bear Registration Block 242 consists of that portion of the state lying within the
following described boundary:

Beginning at the intersection of State Trunk Highway (STH) 371 and STH 84; thence along STH 371 to County
State-Aid Highway (CSAH) 29, Crow Wing county; thence along CSAH 29 to the city limits of Lakeshore, Cass coun-
ty; thence along the north, west, and south city limits of Lakeshore to County Road 107, Cass county; thence along
County Road 107 to CSAH 15, Cass county; thence along CSAH 15 to CSAH 77, Cass county; thence along CSAH 77
to CSAH 18, Cass county; thence along CSAH 18 to STH 210; thence west along STH 210 to CSAH 36, Cass county;
thence along CSAH 36 to the Crow Wing river; thence along the north shore of the Crow Wing river to its confluence
with the Mississippi river; thence along the west shore of the Mississippi river to STH 210; thence along STH 210 to
CSAH 3, Crow Wing county; thence along CSAH 3 to CSAH 1, Crow Wing county; thence along CSAH 1 to CSAH 2,
Cass county; thence along CSAH 2 to STH 84; thence along STH 84 to the point of beginning.

Subp. 77b. Registration Block 243. Deer and Bear Registration Block 243 consists of that portion of the state lying within the
following described boundary:

Beginning at the intersection of U.S. Highway 10 and U.S. Highway 71; thence along U.S. Highway 71 to County
State-Aid Highway (CSAH) 17, Wadena county; thence along CSAH 17 to CSAH 23, Wadena county; thence along
CSAH 23 to CSAH 15, Wadena county; thence along CSAH 15 to the west bank of the Crow Wing river; thence along
the west bank of the Crow Wing river to CSAH 34, Wadena county; thence along CSAH 34 to CSAH 83, Todd county;
thence along CSAH 83 to U.S. Highway 10; thence along U.S. Highway 10 to the point of beginning.

[For text of subps 78 and 79, see M.R.]

Subp. 80.  Registration Block 246. Deer And Bear Registration Block 246 consists of that portion of the state lying within the
following described boundary: 

Beginning at the intersection of U.S. Highway 71 and State Trunk Highway (STH) 87; thence along STH 87 to STH
371; thence along STH 371 to County State-Aid Highway (CSAH) 11 29, Crow Wing county; thence along CSAH 11
29 to the city limits of Lakeshore, Cass county; thence along the north, west, and south city limits of Lakeshore to
County Road 107, Cass county; thence along County Road 107 to CSAH 17 15, Cass county; thence along CSAH 17
15 to CSAH 1 77, Cass county; thence along CSAH 1 77 to CSAH 18, Cass county; thence along CSAH 18 to STH
210; thence along STH 210 to U.S. Highway 10; thence along U.S. Highway 10 to CSAH 83, Todd county; thence along
CSAH 83 to CSAH 34, Wadena county; thence along CSAH 34 to the west bank of the Crow Wing river; thence along
the west bank of the Crow Wing river to CSAH 15, Wadena county; thence along CSAH 15 to CSAH 23, Wadena coun-
ty; thence along CSAH 23 to CSAH 17, Wadena county; thence along CSAH 17 to U.S. Highway 71; thence along U.S.
Highway 71 to the point of beginning. 

Subp. 81.  Registration Block 247. Deer And Bear Registration Block 247 consists of that portion of the state lying within the
following described boundary: 

Beginning at the intersection of State Trunk Highway (STH) 371 and STH 84; thence along STH 371 to County State
Aid Highway (CSAH) 11, Crow Wing County; thence along CSAH 11 to CSAH 17, Cass County; thence along CSAH
17 to CSAH 1, Cass County; thence along CSAH 1 to the Crow Wing River; thence along the north shore of the Crow
Wing River to its confluence with the Mississippi River; thence along the west shore of the Mississippi River to STH
210; thence along STH 210 to STH 25; thence along STH 25 to STH 18; thence along STH 18 to STH 6; thence along
STH 6 to CSAH 1, Crow Wing County; thence along CSAH 1 to CSAH 2, Cass County; thence along CSAH 2 to STH
84; thence along STH 84 County State-Aid Highway (CSAH) 1 and CSAH 3, Crow Wing county; thence along CSAH
3 to STH 25; thence along STH 25 to STH 18; thence along STH 18 to STH 6; thence along STH 6 to CSAH 1, Crow
Wing county; thence along CSAH 1 to the point of beginning. 

[For text of subp 82, see M.R.]
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Subp. 83.  Registration Block 249. Deer And Bear Registration Block 249 consists of that portion of the state lying within the

following described boundary: 

Beginning at the intersection of the Mississippi River and State Trunk Highway (STH) 210 in Brainerd; thence along
STH 210 to STH 25; thence along STH 25 to STH 18; thence along STH 18 to its junction with U.S. Highway 169;
thence due east from said junction to the shore of Mille Lacs Lake; thence to the center of Mille Lacs Lake; thence to
the along the west, north, east, and south shore of Mille Lacs Lake to a point due north of the junction of U.S. Highway
169 and County State-Aid Highway (CSAH) 35, Mille Lacs county; thence due south to said junction; thence along U.S.
Highway 169 to STH 27; thence along STH 27 to STH 25; thence along STH 25 to CSAH 48, Morrison county; thence
along CSAH 48 to a junction with STH 371; thence due west to the Mississippi River; thence along the west bank of
the river to the point of beginning. 

[For text of subp 84, see M.R.]

Subp. 84a. Registration Block 283. Deer and Bear Registration Block 283 consists of that portion of the state lying within the
following described boundary:

Beginning at the intersection of State Trunk Highway (STH) 1 and the east boundary of the Red Lake Indian Reservation;
thence along STH 1 to STH 72; thence along STH 72 to County State-Aid Highway (CSAH) 32, Beltrami county; thence
along CSAH 32 to CSAH 15, Beltrami county; thence along CSAH 15 to the south boundary of the Red Lake Indian
Reservation; thence along the south and east sides of the Red Lake Indian Reservation to the point of beginning.

Subp. 85.  Registration Block 284. Deer And Bear Registration Block 284 consists of that portion of the state lying within the
following described boundary: 

Beginning at the intersection of State Trunk Highway (STH) 89 and U.S. Highway 2; thence along STH 89 to the south
boundary of the Red Lake Indian Reservation; thence along the south and east boundaries of said reservation to the south-
east corner of Section 21, Township 151 North, Range 32 West; thence due east to STH l; thence along STH 1 to STH 72;
thence along STH 72 to U. S. Highway 71; thence along U.S. Highway 71 to County State Aid Highway (CSAH) 39,
Beltrami County; thence along CSAH 39 to CSAH 20, Beltrami County; thence along CSAH 20 to CSAH 53, Beltrami
County; thence along CSAH 53 to CSAH 12, Beltrami County; thence along CSAH 12 to CSAH 51, Beltrami County;
thence along CSAH 51 to CSAH 8, Beltrami County; thence along CSAH 8 to CSAH 25, Beltrami County; thence along
CSAH 25 to CSAH 4, Beltrami County; thence along CSAH 4 to CSAH 46, Hubbard County; thence along CSAH 46 and
the line between Range 37 West and Range 38 West; thence south along said range line to State Trunk Highway (STH) 113;
thence along STH 113 to the west boundary of Itasca State Park; thence along the west, north, and east boundaries of said
park to STH 200; thence along STH 200 to County State-Aid Highway (CSAH) 31, Hubbard county; thence along CSAH
31 to Hubbard County Road (CR) 94; thence along CR 94 to CSAH 39, Hubbard county; thence along CSAH 39 to CSAH
5, Hubbard county; thence along CSAH 5 to CSAH 69, Cass county; thence along CSAH 69 to CSAH 9, Hubbard coun-
ty; thence along CSAH 9 to CSAH 45, Hubbard county; thence along CSAH 45 to CSAH 46, Hubbard county; thence
along CSAH 46 to CSAH 4, Beltrami county; thence along CSAH 4 to CSAH 25, Beltrami county; thence along CSAH
25 to CSAH 8, Beltrami county; thence along CSAH 8 to CSAH 27, Beltrami county; thence along CSAH 27 to CSAH
12, Beltrami county; thence along CSAH 12 to CSAH 27, Beltrami county; thence along CSAH 27 to CSAH 20, Beltrami
county; thence along CSAH 20 to CSAH 39, Beltrami county; thence along CSAH 39 to STH 72; thence along STH 72 to
CSAH 32, Beltrami county; thence along CSAH 32 to CSAH 15, Beltrami county; thence along CSAH 15 to the south
boundary of the Red Lake Indian Reservation; thence along said reservation boundary to the Sandy river; thence along the
Sandy river to CSAH 32, Beltrami county; thence west to CSAH 4, Clearwater county; thence along CSAH 4 to CSAH
14, Clearwater county; thence along CSAH 14 to CSAH 23, Clearwater county; thence along CSAH 23 to U.S. Highway
2; thence along U.S. Highway 2 to the point of beginning. 

Subp. 86.  Registration Block 285. Deer And Bear Registration Block 285 consists of that portion of the state lying within the
following described boundary: 

Beginning at the intersection of State Trunk Highway (STH) 92 and U.S. Highway 2; thence along STH 92 to County
State-Aid Highway (CSAH) 5, Clearwater county; thence along CSAH 5 to the south boundary of the Red Lake Indian
Reservation; thence along the south boundary of said reservation to STH 89; thence along STH 89 the Sandy river;
thence along the Sandy river to CSAH 32, Beltrami county; thence west to CSAH 4, Clearwater county; thence along
CSAH 4 to CSAH 14, Clearwater county; thence along CSAH 14 to CSAH 23, Clearwater county; thence along CSAH
23 to U.S. Highway 2; thence along U.S. Highway 2 to the point of beginning. 

Subp. 87.  [See repealer.] 

[For text of subp 88, see M.R.]
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Subp. 89.  Registration Block 297. Deer And Bear Registration Block 297 consists of that portion of the state lying within the

following described boundary: 

Beginning on County State-Aid Highway (CSAH) 3, Mahnomen county, at the north boundary of Mahnomen county;
thence along CSAH 3 to State Trunk Highway (STH) 113; thence along STH 113 to CSAH 13, Mahnomen county;
thence along CSAH 13 to CSAH 34 21, Becker county; thence along CSAH 34 21 to STH 224; thence along STH 224
to CSAH 23 21, Becker county; thence along CSAH 23 21 to the south boundary of the White Earth Indian Reservation;
thence along the south, west, and north boundaries of said reservation to the point of beginning. 

Subp. 90.  Registration Block 298. Deer And Bear Registration Block 298 consists of that portion of the state lying within the
following described boundary: 

Beginning on County State-Aid Highway (CSAH) 3, Mahnomen county, at the north boundary of Mahnomen county;
thence along CSAH 3 to State Trunk Highway (STH) 113; thence along STH 113 to CSAH 13, Mahnomen county;
thence along CSAH 13 to CSAH 34 21, Becker county; thence along CSAH 34 21 to STH 224; thence along STH 224
to CSAH 23, Becker county; thence along CSAH 23 to the south boundary of the White Earth Indian Reservation; thence
along said boundary to the west boundary of the Tamarac National Wildlife Refuge; thence along the west, north, and
east boundaries of said refuge to the south boundary of the White Earth Indian Reservation; thence along the south and
east boundaries of said reservation to STH 113; thence along STH 113 to the boundary line between Range 37 West and
Range 38 West; thence along said range line to the north boundary of the White Earth Indian Reservation; thence along
the north boundary of said reservation to the point of beginning. 

[For text of subps 91 to 157, see M.R.]

6234.1700 TAKING FISHER AND PINE MARTEN. 

Subpart 1.  Open season. Fisher and pine marten may be taken by trapping from the Saturday nearest December 1 November 27 
to the Sunday nearest December 16 12. 

Subp. 2.  Bag limits. The combined limit for fisher and pine marten is four five per season, in aggregate.  A person may not take
more than two five fisher and pine marten, combined, per season or possess more than two five fisher and pine marten, combined,
at a time, except that a person may possess additional pelts that the person lawfully took, tagged, and registered during previous
seasons. 

Subp. 3.  Tagging. Each fisher pelt must be tagged by the person taking it at the time and place where taken with a locking pos-
session tag issued by the state.  These tags must be obtained prior to the season according to the procedure provided by part
6234.2600.  Tags will not be issued to persons under five years of age.  Tags must be fastened to fisher pelts in the manner pro-
vided by part 6234.2600. Pelts and skinned carcasses of fisher and pine marten are subject to the provisions of part 6234.2600. 

Subp. 4.  Open area. Fisher and pine marten may be taken only in that area of the state lying north of Interstate Highway 94
(I-94) beginning at the west boundary of the state; thence along I-94 to U.S. Highway 10; and thence along U.S. Highway 10 to the
east boundary of the state. 

6234.2000 TAKING OTTER. 

[For text of subps 1 to 3, see M.R.]

Subp. 4.  Tagging otter. Each otter or pelt must be tagged by the person taking it at the time and place where taken with a lock-
ing possession tag issued by the state.  These tags must be obtained according to the procedure provided by part 6234.2600.  Tags
will not be issued to a person under five years of age.  Tags must be fastened to otter or their pelts in the manner provided by part
6234.2600. Pelts are subject to the provisions of part 6234.2600. 

REPEALER. Minnesota Rules, parts 6232.0200, subpart 3; 6232.1200; 6232.1900, subpart 2; 6232.2450; 6232.4700, subparts 3,
4, 6, 7, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17, 18, 19, 22, 23, 24, 27, 30, 34, 36, 38, 41, 42, 44, 47, 49, 50, 51, 53, 66, 74, and 87; and 6234.1800,
are repealed.  The expedited emergency amendments to Minnesota Rules, parts 6230.0400, subpart 2, published in the State
Register, volume 27, page 290, August 26, 2002; 6232.0300, subpart 8; 6232.2050; and 6232.4700, subparts 33, 34, 40, 41, 75, 77a,
77b, 80, and 81, published in the State Register, volume 27, page 348, September 9, 2002; 6232.4700, subparts 69, 73, and 83, pub-
lished in the State Register, volume 27, page 1378, March 3, 2003; and 6230.0400, subpart 5, published in the State Register, vol-
ume 27, page 1866, June 30, 2003, are repealed.

EFFECTIVE PERIOD. The emergency amendments to Minnesota Rules, parts 6230.0400, 6232.0200, 6232.0300, 6232.0500,
6232.0600, 6232.0700, 6232.0800, 6232.1250, 6232.1300, 6232.1400, 6232.1600, 6232.1800, 6232.1900, 6232.1950, 6232.2000,
6232.2100, 6232.2500, 6232.2550, and 6232.4700, expire December 31, 2003.  The emergency amendments to Minnesota Rules,
parts 6234.1700 and 6234.2000, expire January 31, 2004.  Minnesota Rules, parts 6232.1750 and 6232.2050, expire December 31,
2003.
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Office of Justice Programs 
Services for Victims of Crime

Notice of Opportunity to Participate in a Planning Process for Distribution of Grant Funds
The Minnesota Office of Justice Programs distributes funds for the provision of services to victims of crime. These funds include

those the state receives through the U.S. Department of Justice from the Victims of Crime Act and the Violence Against Women
Act, from the Minnesota Department of Health for sexual assault prevention, and funds appropriated by the Minnesota Legislature
for grants to serve victims of crime. These funds are currently awarded to approximately 145 organizations in Minnesota that offer
services to victims of child abuse, domestic violence, general crime and sexual assault.  

Because of recent reductions in available funding, the Office of Justice Programs is utilizing a new planning process for distribu-
tion of grant funds. The amount of funds available for each judicial district is determined based on a formula that compares the dis-
trict to the state as a whole in total population, total geographic area (density of population), the diversity of the population that
resides within the district, and reported crime. The formula also takes into account the amount of grant and corporation funding that
has historically been provided within regions of the state.  Judicial district planning groups, with facilitation provided through the
Office of Justice Programs will meet to plan for the distribution of funds within each district. The new funding distribution would
begin in fiscal year 2005, (July 1, 2004).

This notice seeks interested volunteers who wish to serve on judicial district planning groups. Membership is open to individuals
from agencies currently receiving grant funds to serve crime victims, those interested in but not currently receiving funding to serve
crime victims, law enforcement representatives, judges, county and city attorneys, members of the medical profession and others
with a stake in ensuring the availability of comprehensive services to victims of crime. The goal is to put together planning groups
that represent as wide an array as possible of the individuals and institutions that provide services to crime victims. To ensure a fair
process, membership will be limited to one person per agency. The state also retains the right to limit membership if the number of
volunteers is too great to allow for a manageable planning process. Planning meetings will begin early October, 2003. 

Those interested in participating in a planning group must complete the Participant Registration Form available on the website:
www.ojp.state.mn.us, and fax to: (651) 205-4808 by Sept. 5, 2003.

State Board of Investment
Meeting Notice for the State Board of Investment Executive Council,
Land Exchange Board and the Investment Advisory Council
The Executive Council, State Board of Investment and the Land Exchange Board will meet on Wednesday, September 3, 2003 at

9:00 A.M. in Room 125, State Capitol, St. Paul, MN.

The Investment Advisory Council will meet on Tuesday, September 2, 2003 at 2:00 P.M. in the Board Room (Main Floor), 60
Empire Drive, St. Paul, MN.

Office of the Ombudsman for Mental Health and Mental Retardation
Notice of Committee Meeting
The Ombudsman for MH/MR Advisory Committee will hold a meeting from 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. on Thursday, August 28, 2003.

The meeting will be held in Suite 420 of the Metro Square Building on 7th and Robert St., St. Paul. Please RSVP to Paula 
at (651) 296-3848 or 800-657-3506. Thank you!

Official Notices
Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes § § 14.101, an agency must first solicit comments from the public on the subject matter of a possible rulemaking

proposal under active consideration within the agency by publishing a notice in the State Register at least 60 days before publication of a notice to
adopt or a notice of hearing, and within 60 days of the effective date of any new statutory grant of required rulemaking. The State Register also 
publishes other official notices of state agencies and non-state agencies, including notices of meetings and matters of public interest.
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Metropolitan Airports Commission
Notice of Adopted Ordinance # 98 - Taxicabs
Please take notice that on the 18th day of August 2003, at a regular meeting, the Metropolitan Airports Commission adopted

Ordinance # 98.

Ordinance # 98:

An Ordinance of the Metropolitan Airports Commission relating to the management and operation of taxicabs at the
Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport (“Airport”), to provide temporary economic relief to Taxicab Permit Holders
in extending the age of vehicles and providing for semi-annual payments of the Taxicab Permit Fee for a processing fee,
by amending specific provisions of Ordinance 81 of the Metropolitan Airports Commission as it relates to Taxicabs.

Copies of Ordinance # 98 as adopted will be on file with the Secretary of State and may be obtained from the Metropolitan Airports
Commission offices.

Official Notices

Minnesota Pollution Control Agency 
Applications Accepted for Nonpoint Source Water Pollution Project Grants and Loans
Through the State Clean Water Partnership and the Federal Clean Water Act Section 319
Grant Programs
The Minnesota Pollution Control Agency (MPCA) hereby announces that it will accept applications for project implementation

(phase II) grants and loans through the state Clean Water Act Section 319 Nonpoint Source grant program (Section 319 program).
Typically, Clean Water Partnership (CWP) Program grant funds are available, however, this year they were used to fund continua-
tion projects.  CWP loan funds will be available this funding round.

In 1987, the Minnesota Legislature established the CWP Program (Minnesota Statutes §§ 103F.70 through 103F.761) to protect
and improve surface and ground water in Minnesota through financial and technical assistance to local units of government.
Section 319 provides federal grant money for nonpoint pollution abatement and water resource restoration.

Changes to Application Process:
There are several significant changes to the application process this round that should be noted:

· This funding round will have no CWP grant funding available for this competitive process;

· There will be no funds offered for CWP resource investigation (phase I) diagnostic study projects this year;

· A portion of Section 319 funds available in this funding round will be dedicated to projects implementing Total Maximum
Daily Load (TMDLs) that have been approved by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency;

· First priority will go to demonstration projects located in watersheds with impairments listed on the 2002 list 
for the pollutants of concern, even if the study has not been completed.  This list can be found at 
http://www.pca.state.mn.us/water/tmdl.htm/.

· The cap on loan requests in place for the last two rounds has been lifted, and the cap on grant funds requested is 
now $300,000 per project; and

· Applications must be sent in electronic and paper form.

Eligible Applicants 
Applications will be accepted from local units of government interested in leading a nonpoint source water pollution control proj-

ect.  Applications will also be accepted from other entities besides local units of government, but such applications would only be
eligible for Section 319 program funding.

Ineligible Section 319 costs include activities addressing National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System permit requirements
such as feedlot of storm water permits, any type of point source-related activities, and activities addressing enforcement actions.
Any non-permitted feedlots addressed with Section 319 money must have a Comprehensive Nutrient Management Plan.

Types of Projects
Project funding will be awarded for two types of projects this round:

1) Education projects with statewide or regional applicability demonstrating new or innovative technology or best 
management practices or for developing educational programs related to nonpoint source pollution.
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2) Projects implementing the activities identified during a CWP phase I investigation, projects in a watershed 
with impairments listed on the 2002 list for the pollutants of concern, and projects implementing approved TMDLs.

Note that applications for CWP diagnostic studies are not being accepted this funding round.

Request Limits
This year there will be a per-project grant cap of $300,000 (total project grant request regardless of duration, not per year).  There

will be no cap on loan request this year for qualifying projects.

Criteria for Project Selection
Minnesota Rules 7076.0100 through 7076.0290 and U.S. EPA Section 319 program guidance provide the criteria and procedural

condition under which the MPCA may award assistance.  In addition, there will be three criteria that will be emphasized to evalu-
ate projects.  The first criterion is whether a watershed partnership sponsoring a project is self-sustaining or has plans in place to
become self-sustaining within three years of time.  The MPCA is attempting to encourage watershed districts or organization, con-
servation districts, or other entities to become prepared to carry on the necessary work beyond the life of the financial assistance
award.  This criterion is not applicable to short-term projects with a stated end date.  The second criterion the evaluation teams will
be using is whether the projects applying for implementation money have done a comprehensive assessment and planning process
in the watershed or around the water body of concern.  Such assessments might consist of a CWP phase I or equivalent, a TMDL,
completed basin or watershed plan specific to the project, wellhead protection plan, or other recent comprehensive studies specif-
ic to the project.  The third criterion is whether the watershed project has impairments that are listed on the 2002 list for the pollu-
tants of concern. 

Submission Deadline and Requirements:
All completed applications must be received both electronically and in hard copy by 4:30 p.m. on Monday, October 20, 2003, in

order to be eligible.  All applications must be submitted in electronic form (preferred computer file format is Microsoft Word) to
the MPCA by email: CWP-319.grant.program@pca.state.mn.us

Applicants must also send two hard copies of their application, including the portions of the application that do not transfer read-
ily electronically (signatures, maps, other attachments, etc.), to Markell Lanpher at the address listed below.

Incomplete applications will not be considered for funding.  Faxed copies will not be accepted.  Any project that is implementing
a TMDL should include “TMDL” in the project title to help ensure the project is considered for funding with TMDL dedicated
funds.

An information package is available for all interested parties.  The package includes: 1) the CWP/319 application; 2) a copy of
Minnesota Rules 7076.0100 through 7076.0290; and, 3) other guidance documents.  The application, rules, and guidance documents
are also available for downloading on the MPCA website at: http://www.pca.state.mn.us/water/cwpartner.html

Request additional information and the CWP/319 application information package from:

Markell Lanpher
Nonpoint Source 319 Coordinator
Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
Regional Environmental Management Division
520 Lafayette Road North
St. Paul, Minnesota  55155-4194
Phone: (651) 297-2810
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Informal Solicitations: Informal solicitations for professional/technical (consultant) contracts valued at over $5,000 through $50,000, may either 
be published in the State Register or posted on the Department of Administration, Materials Management Division’s (MMD) website. Interested 
vendors are encouraged to monitor the P/T Contract Section of the MMD website at www.mmd.admin.state.mn.us for informal solicitation 
announcements.

Formal Solicitations: Department of Administration procedures require that formal solicitations (announcements for contracts with an estimated
value over $50,000) for professional/technical contracts must be published in the State Register. Certain quasi-state agency and Minnesota State
College and University institutions are exempt from these requirements.

Department of Administration
Real Estate Management Division

Single-Family Residential Lot for Sale
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Department of Administration is offering for sale by sealed bid a single-family residential

lot consisting of 31,206 sq.ft.  The residential lot is located at 1225 - 81st Avenue North in Brooklyn Park.  Additional information,
including legal description, geotechnical report, boundary survey, bid terms and conditions, bid form and purchase agreement, is avail-
able on the Department of Administration web site at www.admin.state.mn.us.  Send an email to wayne.waslaski@state.mn.us or call
Wayne at (651) 296-2278 if you have questions.

Bids must be received no later than 2:30 p.m., on Wednesday, October 1, 2003.

State Grants & Loans
In addition to requests by state agencies for technical/professional services (published in the State Contracts Section), the State Register also 

publishes notices about grants and loans available through any agency or branch of state government. Although some grant and loan programs 
specifically require printing in a statewide publication such as the State Register, there is no requirement for publication in the State Register itself.
Agencies are encouraged to publish grant and loan notices, and to provide financial estimates as well as sufficient time for interested 
parties to respond.

Minnesota Office of Environmental Assistance
Notice of Requests for Grant Proposals to Solicit Grant Projects for the “Open Grant Round”
Grant Program in the Fiscal Year 2004
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Minnesota Office of Environmental Assistance (OEA) is issuing this Request for

Proposals (RFP) to solicit grant projects for the “Open Grant Round” (Open) grant program in the Fiscal Year 2004. A total of two
hundred thousand ($200,000) dollars is available to award.

Maximum Open Grant awards are listed on a project by project basis in the RFP, up to $75,000. A minimum one-to-one match is
required. The priority projects that the OEA seeks to fund are listed in the RFP.

For information or a RFP/application, contact:

Linda Countryman, OEA
Phone: (651) 215-0269 or 1-800-657-3843
Email: linda.countryman@moea.state.mn.us. 

The RFP, with application forms attached, is also downloadable and available on the OEA's web site at
http://www.moea.state.mn.us

Deadline for Open Grant proposals is 2:30 p.m. Central Standard Time on Tuesday, October 31, 2003. No late proposals will
be considered. 

This notice is issued by the Director of the OEA under authority provided in Minnesota Statutes Chapter 115A.0716 which allows
the director to administer its Environmental Assistance Grant Program.
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Capitol Area Architectural and Planning Board
Notice of Request for Qualifications from Design Professionals to Design the New Minnesota
World War II Veterans Memorial
The Capitol Area Architectural and Planning Board (CAAPB) is seeking design professionals (architects, landscape architects, or

artists) or teams of individuals, including at least one Minnesota licensed design professional, to design the new Minnesota World
War II Veterans Memorial on the State Capitol Mall.

Once all responses to the RFQ have been reviewed, the CAAPB and their advisory group for the project, including representa-
tives from the veterans group, will select between five to ten parties who will then be invited to submit design proposals.

Selection of the final design is scheduled to occur on or around Pearl Harbor Day, December 7, 2003.  Design fees will be deter-
mined based on a percentage of final construction budget.  The construction budget for the memorial is $800,000, and is scheduled
to start in spring of 2004, dependent upon private fundraising efforts.

Interested parties must submit:

· a letter of interest

· identification and background of all team members

· a collection of no more than twelve slides representing past work

· a list of three professional references

All responses must be received by 3:00pm (CDT), Thursday, September 11, 2003

Contact person: Paul Mandell, Project Manager
Capitol Area Architectural and Planning Board
204 Administration Building
50 Sherburne Avenue
Saint Paul, MN  55155
Phone: (651) 296-6719
Fax: (651) 296-6718

Dated: 13 August 2003 Nancy Stark, Executive Secretary
Capitol Area Architectural and Planning Board

Department of Revenue
Request for Proposals for Grants to Provide Taxpayer Assistance Services to Low Income and
Disadvantaged Minnesota Residents

Program Background
The Minnesota Department of Revenue is soliciting proposals from one or more non-profit organizations, qualifying under

§501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, to receive grants to coordinate, facilitate, encourage, and aid in the provision of
taxpayer assistance services.

Pursuant to Laws of Minnesota 2003, First Special Session, Chapter 21, Article 11, Section 36, the Commissioner of Revenue has
authority to issue grants totaling $200,000 for the 2004-2005 biennium. The Department of Revenue will issue grants totaling
$100,000 each fiscal year (July 1 through June 30). A separate RFP will be issued next year for organizations interested in receiv-
ing grant money in fiscal year 2005. The department intends to award the full $100,000 this year, but any portion that is not award-
ed in fiscal year 2004 will be added to the amount available in fiscal year 2005.

Funded Activities
1. Recruitment of volunteers to provide taxpayer-assistance services

2. Training of volunteers to provide taxpayer-assistance services

3. Provision of free taxpayer-assistance services to low-income or disadvantaged people 

4. Materials that directly aids in tax preparation 

Organizations awarded grant funding will be notified on or about October 15, 2003.

All proposals must be received no later than 2:00 p.m., September 25, 2003, in the manner specified in the Request for Proposals
document. Late proposals will not be accepted. 
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A complete paper copy of the Request for Proposals may be obtained from:

Larry Collette
Minnesota Department of Revenue
600 North Robert Street
Mail Station 1400
St. Paul, MN 55146-1400
Email: dor.rfp@state.mn.us
Fax: (651) 282-2423

Please refer to this notice in your written request.  In your request include your complete street mailing address, email address,
phone number and fax number.

Copies of the Request for Proposals are available on paper only.

Minnesota Historical Society
Request for Bids for Hillside Restoration James J. Hill House, Historic Site Saint Paul,
Minnesota
Bids are requested for the restoration and reconstruction of the upper stone retaining wall and staircase on the hillside in back of

the James J. Hill House. This work also includes improvements to site drainage.  All work will be completed to historically accu-
rate specifications and will include resetting existing stone, cutting on-site stone, rebuilding damaged portions of the upper retain-
ing wall, resetting and infilling brick pavers, installing new catch basins and storm sewer, a floor drain and outlet in the cistern, and
drainage improvements behind the upper retaining wall. This work also includes clearing and grubbing existing vegetation as noted
on the plans and re-grading and sodding disturbed areas. All bidders must have demonstrated experience in the treatment, restora-
tion and reconstruction of stone structures.  References for previous historic projects involving stonework are required. This proj-
ect is governed by the Secretary of the Interior's Standards for Historic Preservation and knowledge of and familiarity with the
implementation of these standards is required.

Submission of Bids
All bids must be received by Chris M. Bonnell, Contracting Officer for the Minnesota Historical Society, 345 Kellogg Boulevard

West, St. Paul, MN  55102 or an authorized agent no later than 2:00 P. M. Central Time, Friday, September 12, 2003.  A bid open-
ing will be conducted at that time.  Bids must be submitted in a sealed envelope with the project name clearly written on the enve-
lope.  A Bid Bond must be included in the amount of 5% of the total base bid if the total base bid is over $50,000.  Late bids will
not be considered. 

Authorized agents for receipt of bids are the following:  Mary Green-Toussaint, Contract/Procurement Assistant, or any Work
Service Center staff member located in the Finance and Administration Division on the 4th floor of the History Center.

Submit one copy of the bid using the form provided, sealed in an envelope or package with the bidder's name, address, and the
name of the project for which the bid is being submitted clearly written on the outside.  Bids must be signed in ink by the bidder
or an authorized agent of the bidder firm.  The Society reserves the right to request supplemental information from bidders. 

There will be a MANDATORY pre-bid meeting for all interested parties on Thursday, September 4th, 2 PM, at the site.
The site is located at 240 Summit Avenue, St. Paul, Minnesota.

Society Contacts
Questions regarding this request for bids should be directed to Chris M. Bonnell, Contracting Officer, at (651) 297-5863

(chris.bonnell@mnhs.org).

Questions specific to project scope should be referred to Deb Bartels at Close Landscape Architecture, at (651) 222-5754 
or dbartels@closelandarch.com.

To receive bid documents, please contact Close Landscape Architecture, 275 E. 4th St. Ste. 610, St. Paul, MN 55101. 
Phone (651) 222-5754, FAX (651) 222-1017.  A refundable plan deposit of $25.00 will be required for one set.  Make plan deposit
checks out to Close Landscape Architecture.  Deposits will be returned to all parties returning plans and specifications in good con-
dition. 

Conditions of Receipt of Bids
This Request for Bids does not obligate the Society to award any specific project.  The Society reserves the right to cancel this

solicitation or to change its scope if it is considered in the best interest of the Society. 
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The Society reserves the right to waive irregularities in proposal content or to request supplemental information from bidders.

This provision will be liberally interpreted to permit consideration of all proposals received by the stated deadline for submission.

This entire presentation, including the Technical Specifications, Instructions to Bidders, Supplementary Conditions, General
Conditions, and the Request for Bids does not constitute a legal offer.  A legal binding contract will not be formed until all parties
involved have fully executed a written contract which incorporates all mutually agreed instructions, specifications, conditions, and
bids. 

August 25, 2003

Department of Transportation
Program Support Group

Notice of Potential Availability of Contracting Opportunities for a Variety of Highway Related
Technical Activities (the “Consultant Pre-Qualification Program”)
This document is available in alternative formats for persons with disabilities by calling Robin Valento at (651) 284-3622 for per-

sons who are hearing or speech impaired by calling the Minnesota Relay Service at (800) 627-3529.

Mn/DOT, working in conjunction with the Consultant Reform Committee, the Minnesota Consulting Engineers Council, and the
Department of Administration, has developed the Consultant Pre-qualification Program as a new method of consultant selection.
The ultimate goal of the Pre-Qualification Program is to streamline the process of contracting for highway related professional/tech-
nical services.  Mn/DOT anticipates that most consultant contracts for highway-related technical activities will be awarded using
this method, however, Mn/DOT also reserves the right to use RFP or other selection processes for particular projects.  Nothing in
this solicitation requires Mn/DOT to complete or use the Consultant Pre-qualification Program.

Mn/DOT is currently requesting applications from consultants.  Refer to Mn/DOT's Consultant Services web site, indicated below,
to see which highway related professional/technical services are available at this time.  Following the advertisement of a particular
category of services, applications will be accepted on a continual basis.

All expenses incurred in responding to this notice will be borne by the responder. Response to this notice becomes public infor-
mation under the Minnesota Government Data Practices. 

Consultant Pre-Qualification Program information, application requirements and application forms are available on Mn/DOT's
web site at http://www.dot.state.mn.us/consult

Send completed application material to:
Robin Valento
Pre-Qualification Administrator
Minnesota Department of Transportation 
Consultant Services
395 John Ireland Boulevard, Seventh Floor North, Mail Stop 680
St. Paul, MN 55155

Note: DUE DATE:  APPLICATION MATERIAL WILL BE ACCEPTED ON A CONTINUAL BASIS. 

Department of Transportation
Engineering Services Division

Notice Concerning Professional/Technical Contract Opportunities
NOTICE TO ALL: The Minnesota Department of Transportation (Mn/DOT) is now placing additional public notices for pro-

fessional/technical contract opportunities on Mn/DOT’s Consultant Services website at: www.dot.state.mn.us/consult.

New public notices may be added to the website on a daily basis and be available for the time period as indicated within the public notice.   
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Metropolitan Council
Notice of Invitation for Bids (IFB) for Courier Services for the Metro Plant Lab
Contract Number 03P053
The Metropolitan Council is requesting bids for the purpose of establishing a contract for courier services for the Metro Plant

Laboratory. Services will be required on a scheduled basis for delivery of samples from the Council’s outlying wastewater treat-
ment plants to the Lab, and for the return of empty sample coolers and bottle racks to the plants. The term of the contract will be
three years.

The anticipated schedule for this procurement is:

Issue Invitation for Bids August 25, 2003
Bids Due September 12, 2003
Award Contract September 2003

All firms interested in receiving an IFB package are invited to submit an e-mail or written request to:

Sunny Jo Emerson, Administrative Assistant
Contract and Procurement Unit
Metropolitan Council
230 East Fifth Street 
St. Paul, Minnesota 55101
Phone: (651) 602-1499
Fax: (651) 602-1083
E-mail: sunnyjo.emerson@metc.state.mn.us

NOTE: The IFB is NOT available in electronic form.

Metropolitan Council
Notice of Invitation for Bids (IFB) for the Procurement of Janitorial Services for MCES
Facilities
The Metropolitan Council is requesting bids for the Procurement of Janitorial Services for various MCES Facilities.

Issue Invitation for Bids August 25, 2003
Site Visit September 9, 2003
Bids Due September 16, 2003
Award Contract October 2003

All firms interested in submitting bids for this contract and desiring to receive an IFB package are invited to make a written request
either by e-mail, fax or mail or phone request to:

Sunny Jo Emerson, Administrative Assistant
Contract and Procurement Unit
Metropolitan Council
230 East Fifth Street 
St. Paul, Minnesota 55101
Phone: (651) 602-1499
Fax: (651) 602-1083
E-mail: sunnyjo.emerson@metc.state.mn.us

Minnesota Statutes, Sections 473.144 and 363.073, and Minnesota Rules, Parts 5000.3400 to 5000.3600 will be incorporated into
any contract based upon the Proposal or any modifications to it. If a contract for the project is awarded in excess of $100,000, the
requirements of Minnesota Rules 5000.3530 will be applicable.

Non-State Contracts & Grants
The State Register also serves as a central marketplace for contracts let out on bid by the public sector. The State Register meets state and federal

guidelines for statewide circulation of public notices. Any tax-supported institution or government jurisdiction may advertise contracts and requests
for proposals from the private sector. It is recommended that contracts and RFPs include the following: 1) name of contact person; 2) institution name,
address,and telephone number; 3) brief description of project and tasks; 4) cost estimate; and 5) final submission date of completed contract 
proposal. Allow at least three weeks from publication date (four weeks from date article is submitted for publication). Surveys show that subscribers
are interested in hearing about contracts for estimates as low as $1,000. Contact editor for further details.
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University of Minnesota
Notice of Bid Information Service (BIS) Available for All Potential Vendors
The University of Minnesota offers 24 hour/day, 7 day/week access to all Request for Bids/Proposals through its web based Bid

Information Services (BIS). Subscriptions to BIS are $75/year. Visit our web site at bidinfo.umn.edu or call BIS Coordinator at
(612) 625-5534.

Requests for Bids/Proposals are available to the public at no charge each business day from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. in the
Purchasing Services lobby, Suite 560, 1300 S. 2nd Street, Mpls., MN  55454.
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