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NOTICE:  How to Follow State Agency Rulemaking in the State Register

The State Registeris the official source, and only complete listing, for all state agency rulemaking in its various stages.  State agencies are
required to publish notice of their rulemaking action in the State Register.  Published every Monday, the State Register makes it easy to follow and
participate in the important rulemaking process.  Approximately 80 state agencies have the authority to issue rules.  Each agency is assigned specific
Minnesota Rule chapter numbers.  Every odd-numbered year the Minnesota Rules are published.  The current 1997 set is a 13-volume bound col-
lection of all adopted rules in effect at the time.  Supplements are published to update this set of rules.  Generally speaking, proposed and adopted
exempt rules do not appear in this set because of their short-term nature, but are published in the State Register.

An agency must first solicit Comments on Planned Rules or Comments on Planned Rule Amendments from the public on the subject matter
of a possible rulemaking proposal under active consideration within the agency (Minnesota Statutes§§ 14.101).  It does this by publishing a notice in
the State Register at least 60 days before publication of a notice to adopt or a notice of hearing, or within 60 days of the effective date of any new
statutory grant of required rulemaking.

When rules are first drafted, state agencies publish them as Proposed Rules, along with a notice of hearing, or a notice of intent to adopt rules
without a hearing in the case of noncontroversial rules.  This notice asks for comment on the rules as proposed.  Proposed emergency rules and with-
drawn proposed rules are also published in the State Register.  After proposed rules have gone through the comment period, and have been rewritten
into their final form, they again appear in the State Registeras Adopted Rules.  These final adopted rules are not printed in their entirety in the State
Register, only the changes made since their publication as Proposed Rules.  To see the full rule, as adopted and in effect, a person simply needs two
issues of the State Register, the issue the rule appeared in as proposed, and later as adopted.  For a more detailed description of the rulemaking
process, see the most current edition of the Minnesota Guidebook to State Agency Services.

The State Registerfeatures partial and cumulative listings of rules in this section on the following schedule:  issues #1-13 inclusive; issues #14-25
inclusive; issue #26 cumulative for issues #1-26; issues #27-38 inclusive; issue #39, cumulative for issues #1-39; issues #40-51 inclusive; and issues
#1-52 (or 53 in some years), cumulative for issues #1-52 (or 53).  An annual subject matter index for rules was separately printed usually in August, but
starting with Volume 19 now appears in the final issue of each volume.  For copies or subscriptions to the State Register, contact Minnesota's
Bookstore, 117 University Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 297-3000, or toll-free 1-800-657-3757.
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KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION — Underliningindicates additions to existing rule language. Strikeoutsindicate
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated “all new material.” ADOPTED
RULES SECTION — Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strikeouts indicate deletions from
proposed rule language.

Pollution Control Agency 
Policy and Planning Division

Proposed Permanent Rules Relating to Miscellaneous Air Quality Amendments 

NOTICE OF INTENT TO ADOPT A RULE WITHOUT A PUBLIC HEARING 
Proposed Miscellaneous Amendments to Air Quality Rules, Chapters 7005 (Definitions), 7007 (Permits), 7009
(Ambient Air Quality Standards), 7011 (Standards of Performance for Stationary Sources), 7019 (Reporting) and
7025 (Lead Paint Removal)

Introduction.  The Minnesota Pollution Control Agency (MPCA) intends to adopt miscellaneous amendments to Minnesota
Ruleschs. 7005, 7007, 7009, 7011, 7019 and 7025 without a public hearing following the procedures set forth in the Administrative
Procedure Act, Minnesota Statutes§ 14.22 to 14.28 and rules of the Office of Administrative Hearings, Minnesota Rules, parts
1400.2300 to 1400.2310.  You have 45 days to submit written comments on the proposed rule and may also submit a written request
that a hearing be held on the rule.

Attention:  On February 9, 1998, the MPCA published in the State Registerat (22 S.R. 1373) a Request for Comments on
Planned Miscellaneous Amendments to Air Quality Rules.  In the text of the notice the MPCA stated it was considering rule amend-
ments that would incorporate into state rules federal requirements that sources are already subject to.  The MPCA would like to
clarify that in the title and text of the notice, the chapter identifying where these rules are located, which is Chapter 7009, was inad-
vertently left out and to bring attention that the MPCA is proposing in this rule to amend the state ambient air quality standards
found in Chapter 7009 by incorporating changes made to the National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS) for ozone and par-
ticulate matter less than or equal to 2.5 micrometers in size (PM2.5).

Proposed Rules
Comments on Planned Rules or Rule Amendments
An agency must first solicit Comments on Planned Rules or Comments on Planned Rule Amendments from the public on the subject

matter of a possible rulemaking proposal under active consideration within the agency (Minnesota Statutes§§ 14.101).  It does this by pub-
lishing a notice in the State Registerat least 60 days before publication of a notice to adopt or a notice of hearing, and within 60 days of the
effective date of any new statutory grant of required rulemaking.

Rules to be Adopted After a Hearing
After receiving comments and deciding to hold a public hearing on the rule, an agency drafts its rule.  It then publishes its rules with a

notice of hearing. All persons wishing to make a statement must register at the hearing. Anyone who wishes to submit written comments may
do so at the hearing, or within five working days of the close of the hearing.  Administrative law judges may, during the hearing, extend the
period for receiving comments up to 20 calendar days. For five business days after the submission period the agency and interested persons
may respond to any new information submitted during the written submission period and the record then is closed.  The administrative law
judge prepares a report within 30 days, stating findings of fact, conclusions and recommendations.  After receiving the report, the agency
decides whether to adopt, withdraw or modify the proposed rule based on consideration of the comments made during the rule hearing proce-
dure and the report of the administrative law judge. The agency must wait five days after receiving the report before taking any action.

Rules to be Adopted Without a Hearing  
Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes§ 14.22, an agency may propose to adopt, amend, suspend or repeal rules without first holding a public hearing.

An agency must first solicit Comments on Planned Rules or Comments on Planned Rule Amendments from the public.  The agency then pub-
lishes a notice of intent to adopt rules without a public hearing, together with the proposed rules, in the State Register.  If, during the 30-day
comment period, 25 or more persons submit to the agency a written request for a hearing of the proposed rules, the agency must proceed under the
provisions of §§ 14.14-14.20, which state that if an agency decides to hold a public hearing, it must publish a notice of intent in the State Register.
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MPCA Contact Person.  Comments or questions on the rule and written requests for a public hearing on the rule must be sub-

mitted to:

Mary Jean Fenske
Policy and Planning Division
Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
520 Lafayette Road North
St. Paul, Minnesota 55155-4194
Phone:  (651) 297-5472
1-800-657-3843 (MN Toll Free)
FAX:  (651) 297-8676 
Internet:  maryjean.fenske@pca.state.mn.us

Subject of Rule and Statutory Authority.  The MPCA has been identifying rule changes that would improve its rules through
an internal rules work group since 1994.  The majority of the rule change suggestions received were not significant enough to
warrant an individual rulemaking for each.  The MPCA decided to group these rule change suggestions into this proposed miscella-
neous rulemaking.  The changes help to correct and improve the rules so that they are more understandable, up-to-date, and stream-
lined.  In addition to suggestions for rule changes from MPCA staff, the MPCA has received rule change suggestions from external
parties which are included in the proposed amendments.  This is the second in a series of similar rulemakings the MPCA plans to do
periodically to keep its rules clear, up-to-date, and to efficiently respond to suggestions made by interested and affected parties.

Specifically, the MPCA is proposing miscellaneous amendments that clarify rule intent, change format to simplify interpretation,
correct typographical errors, eliminate redundant or outdated requirements, correct conflicting requirements, incorporate into state
rules federal requirements that sources are already subject to, account for new technology, eliminate overly burdensome require-
ments, streamline administrative procedures, and/or simplify implementation.

The proposed revisions to the state standards in part 7009.0080 include changing the existing standards for ozone, and adding
new standards for PM2.5.  These changes reflect the Environmental Protection Agency’s (EPA) revisions to the NAAQS for these
pollutants, which became effective September 16, 1997.  By incorporating the newly revised federal NAAQS into state rules, the
proposed amendments do not impose any additional requirements in Minnesota that are not already imposed as a matter of federal
law to attain the NAAQS.  Although EPA also revised the NAAQS for particulate matter less than 10 micrometers in size (PM10),
that change will not be reflected in these proposed amendments to the state standards. 

The statutory authority to adopt the rule is Minnesota Statutes§ 116.07, subd. 4.  A copy of the proposed rule is published imme-
diately after this notice.

Comments.  You have until 4:30 p.m. on February 25, 1999, to submit written comment in support of or in opposition to the pro-
posed rules and any part or subpart of the rule.  Your comment must be in writing and received by the MPCA contact person by the
due date.  Comment is encouraged.  Your comment should identify the portion of the proposed rule addressed and the reason for the
comment.  You are encouraged to propose any change desired.  Any comments that you would like to make on the legality of the
proposed rule must also be made during this comment period.  

Request for Rule Hearing.  In addition to submitting comments, you may also request that a hearing be held on the rule.  Your
request for a public hearing must be in writing and must be received by the agency contact person by 4:30 p.m. on February 25,
1999.  Your written request for a public hearing must include your name and address.  You must identify the portion of the proposed
rule to which you object or state that you oppose the entire rule.  Any request that does not comply with these requirements is not
valid and cannot be counted by the MPCA for determining whether a public hearing must be held.  You are also encouraged to state
the reason for the request and any changes you want made to the proposed rule.

Request to Have MPCA Board Make Decision on Rule.  You have the right to submit a request to the MPCA Commissioner or
an MPCA Board member to have the MPCA Board make the decision on whether to adopt the proposed rule.  Your request must be
in writing, must state to whom it is directed, and must be received by the MPCA contact person by 4:30 p.m. on February 25, 1999.
Under Minnesota Statute § 116.02, the MPCA Board will only make the decision on the rule if the MPCA Commissioner grants
your request or if an MPCA Board member makes a timely request that the decision be made by the MPCA Board.

Withdrawal of Requests for Rule Hearing.  If 25 or more persons submit a written request for a hearing, a public hearing will
be held unless a sufficient number withdraw their requests in writing.  If enough requests for a hearing are withdrawn to reduce the
number below 25, the MPCA must give written notice of this to all persons who requested a hearing, explain the actions the MPCA
took to effect the withdrawal, and ask for written comments on this action.  If a public hearing is required, the MPCA will follow the
procedures in Minnesota Statutes§§ 14.131 to 14.20.

Rule Modifications.  The proposed rule may be modified as a result of public comment.  The modifications must be supported
by comments and information submitted to the MPCA, and the adopted rule may not be substantially different than this proposed
rule.  If the proposed rule affects you in any way, you are encouraged to participate in the rulemaking process.  
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KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION — Underliningindicates additions to existing rule language. Strikeoutsindicate
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RULES SECTION — Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strikeouts indicate deletions from
proposed rule language.

Statement of Need and Reasonableness.  A statement of need and reasonableness (SONAR) is now available from the MPCA
contact person. The MPCA encourages individuals to review the SONAR in conjunction with the rule. The SONAR contains a
summary of the justification for the proposed rule, including a description of who will be affected by the proposed rule and an esti-
mate of the probable cost of the proposed rule.  Copies of the SONAR may be obtained at no cost from the MPCA.  In addition, a
copy of the SONAR is available on the MPCA web site at: (www.pca.state.mn.us, click on the menu selection “News/Notices” then
click on the “Public Notices” selection). 

Consideration of Economic Factors.  Minnesota Statutes§ 116.07, subd. 6 requires the MPCA to give due consideration to eco-
nomic factors in exercising its powers.  The MPCA has given due consideration to available information as to any economic
impacts that the proposed rules would have.  Because the MPCA is simply clarifying, streamlining, and correcting errors, the state
rules proposed in this rulemaking do not impose any additional costs on Minnesota businesses with only a few exceptions.

Additional information regarding the MPCA’s consideration of economic factors and projected costs are discussed in greater
detail in Sections V and VI , Items B, C and E in the SONAR.

Impact on Farming Operations.  Minnesota Statutes§ 14.111 requires that if an agency adopts or repeals rules that affect
farming operations, the agency must provide a copy of the proposed rule change to the Commissioner of Agriculture, no later than
30 days prior to publication of the proposed rule in the State Register.  The MPCA believes the proposed rule revisions will have no
effect on steel structures on farms or on storage tank facilities, but may affect a small number of grain storage bins.  Additional
information regarding the MPCA’s consideration of the impact on farming operations is discussed in greater detail in Section VIII
in the SONAR.

Review by the Commissioner of Transportation.  Minnesota Statutes§ 174.05 requires the MPCA to inform the
Commissioner of Transportation of all rulemakings that concern transportation, and requires the Commissioner of Transportation to
prepare a written review of the rules.  The adoption of the miscellaneous rule changes to air quality rules do not concern transporta-
tion.  The requirements of Minnesota Statutes§ 174.05 are not applicable. 

Departmental Charges Imposed by the Rule.  Minnesota Statutes§ 16A.1285 are inapplicable because the proposed rules do
not impose any departmental charges or fees.

Adoption and Review of Rule.  If no hearing is required and if the decision is not required to be made by the MPCA Board, the
MPCA Commissioner may adopt the rule after the end of the comment period.  The rule and supporting documents will then be sub-
mitted to the Office of Administrative Hearings for review for legality.  You may ask to be notified of the date the rule is submitted
to the office.  If you want to be so notified, or want to receive a copy of the adopted rule, or want to register with the MPCA to
receive notice of future rule proceedings, submit your request to the MPCA contact person listed above.

Peder A. Larson
Commissioner

7005.0100 DEFINITIONS.  

[For text of subps 1 to 3, see M.R.] 

Subp. 3a.  Begin actual construction. “Begin actual construction” means, in general, initiation of physical,on-site construction,
reconstruction,or modificationactivities on an emissions unit which are of a permanent nature.  Such activities include, but are not
limited to, installation of building supports and foundations, laying of underground pipework, and construction of permanent
storage structures.  Suchactivitiesdonot includesiteclearingandgradingor enteringinto bindingagreementsor contractualoblig-
ations. With respect to a change in method of operating, this term refers to those on-site activities, other than preparatory activities,
which mark the initiation of the change.  Ownersor operatorsthatundertaketheseactivitiesprior to obtaininganyrequiredpermits
dosoat their own risk; apermitmaynotbeissuedor maynotcontainthetermstheapplicantdesires.

[For text of subp 4, see M.R.] 

Subp. 4a.  [See repealer.] 

[For text of subp 4b, see M.R.] 



PAGE 1510 (CITE 23 S.R. 1510)State Register, Monday 11 January 1999

Proposed Rules
Subp. 5.  Construction. “Construction” means fabrication, erection, or installation of an emission facility, emissions unit, or sta-

tionary source.  Constructionalsoincludesexcavation,blasting,removingrock andsoil, and/orbackfilling unlesstheadministrator
deemstheseactivitiesto beof minimal cost,do not significantlyalter thesite,andarenot permanentin nature. Constructiondoes
not includesiteclearingor grading.

[For text of subps 6 to 10, see M.R.] 

Subp. 10a.  Emission factor. “Emission factor” means the most accurate and representative emission data available from one of
the following sources: 

[For text of items A and B, see M.R.] 

C.  (1) Where no emission factor is available in one of the documents described in item A or B, or where theagencyhasdeter-
minedthata more representative emission factor is available under this item, emission factor means an emission factor developed or
approved by the commissioner and derived from the following sources: 

[For text of units (a) to (g), see M.R.] 

[For text of subitem (2), see M.R.] 

[For text of subps 10b to 30, see M.R.] 

Subp.30a. PM-2.5. “PM-2.5” meansfinely dividedsolid or liquid material,with anaerodynamicdiameterlessthanor equalto
anominal2.5micrometersasmeasuredby anapplicablereferencemethod,or anequivalentor alternativemethod.

Subp. 30a.30b. PM-10. “PM-10” means finely divided solid or liquid material, with an aerodynamic diameter less than or equal
to a nominal ten micrometers emittedto theambientair as measured by an applicable reference method, or an equivalent or alterna-
tive method.  

Subp. 31.  Particulate matter. “Particulate matter” means material, except water, which exists at standard conditions in a finely
divided form as a liquid or solid asmeasuredby anapplicablereferencemethod,or anequivalentor alternativemethod. 

[For text of subps 31a to 42a, see M.R.] 

Subp. 42b.  State air pollution control rules. “State air pollution control rules” means chapters 7005, 7007, 7009, 7011, 7017,
7019, and70287025,7027,and7030, and parts 7023.0100 to 7023.0120.  

[For text of subps 42c and 45, see M.R.] 

7007.0100 DEFINITIONS. 

Subpart 1.  Scope. Thedefinitionsin this partapply to thetermsusedin parts7007.0050to 7007.1850.The definitions in parts
7000.0100 and 7005.0100 apply to the terms used in parts 7007.0050 to 7007.1800 unless the terms are otherwisedefined in this part. 

[For text of subps 2 to 7, see M.R.] 

Subp.7a. Block average. As usedin air emissionpermitsissuedunderthischapter,a “block average”is anaveragedetermined
aftertheendof a specifictime block,suchasthreehours,eighthours,or 24 hours,for that time block. Theaverageis determined
by summingall datapointsfor thetimeperiod,anddividing thesumby thenumberof datapoints. Forexample,adaily-calculated,
24-hourblock averageis calculatedby summingall one-hourdatapointsfrom theprevious24-hourperiod,from midnightto mid-
night, anddividing the total by thenumberof datapoints. A newblock averageis recalculatedfor eachdiscrete,nonoverlapping
timeblock,unlessspecifiedotherwisein anapplicablerequirementor compliancedocument.

[For text of subps 8 to 12, see M.R.] 

Subp. 12a.  Hazardous air pollutant or HAP. “Hazardous air pollutant” or“HAP” means any air pollutant listed in section
112(b) of the act. 

[For text of subps 12b to 21, see M.R.] 

Subp.21a. Rolling average. As usedin air emissionpermitsissuedunderthis chapter,a “rolling average”is anaveragedeter-
minedonceeachspecifiedtime frequency,suchasdaily or monthly,for a specifictime period,suchas30 days,12 months,or 365
days. Theaverageis calculatedby summingall datapointsfor thetime periodanddividing thetotal by thenumberof datapoints.
Forexample,adaily-calculated,365-dayrolling averageis calculatedonceeachdayby summingall daily datapointsfrom thepre-
vious365days,anddividing by thenumberof datapoints. A newrolling averageis recalculatedfor eachtime frequency,unless
specifiedotherwisein anapplicablerequirementor compliancedocument.

Subp.21b. Rolling sum. As usedin this chapterandin air emissionpermitsissuedunderthis chapter,a “rolling sum” is a sum
determinedonceeachspecifiedtime frequency,suchasdaily or monthly,for aspecifictime period,suchas30days,12 months,or
365 days. The sum is determinedby addingall time-frequencydatapoints determinedat the specifiedfrequencyfor the time
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period. Forexample,a12-monthrolling sumis calculatedonceeachmonthby summingthemonthlyemissiondatafrom theprevi-
ous12months.A newrolling sumis recalculatedfor eachtimefrequency,unlessspecifieddifferently in anapplicablerequirement
or compliancedocument.

[For text of subps 22 to 27, see M.R.] 

Subp. 28.  [See repealer.] 

7007.0300 SOURCES NOT REQUIRED TO OBTAIN A PERMIT.  

Subpart 1.  No permit required. The following stationary sources are not required to obtain a permit under parts 7007.0100 to
7007.1850: 

[For text of items A to D, see M.R.] 

E.  any stationary source that would be required to obtain a permit solely because its VOC potential to emit is equal to or
greater than 100.0 tons per year, that uses less than 200 gallons of VOC (including hazardous air pollutant-containing VOC) com-
bined in any consecutive12-monthperiodcalendaryear, and whose only other emissions are from insignificant activities under part
7007.1300, subparts 2 and 3.  The owner or operator shall: 

(1) recordmaintainrecordsfor each monthcalendaryearof the number of gallons of VOC-containing materials pur-
chased or used and the maximum VOC content; 

(2) maintain a record of the material datasafety datasheet (MSDS), or a signed statement from the supplier stating the
maximum VOC content, for each VOC-containing material used; 

(3) recalculateif requestedby thecommissioner,calculateand record eachmonthfor anyof thepreviousfive calendar
yearsthe 12-monthrolling sum of theactual number of gallons of VOCs purchased or used, andthe calculation itself,and a list of
the associated emissions units in which it was used; 

(4) maintain at the stationary source ora centraloffice the records aslong astheemissionsunit is locatedat thestation-
arysourcerequiredby subitems(1) to (3) for aperiodof five yearsfrom thedatetherecordwasmade; and 

(5) make the records available for examination and copying by the commissioner or a representative of the commis-
sioner.  

Under this item, gallons of VOC equals volume percentage of VOC multiplied by the gallons of VOC-containing material, except
that if the owner or operator ships VOC off-site for recycling, the amount recycled may be subtracted from the amount of VOC used.
“Recycling” means the reclamation or reuse, as defined in part 7045.0020, of a VOC.  If the owner or operator ships VOC off-site for
recycling, the owner or operator shall keep records of the amount of material shipped off-site for recycling and the calculations done
to determine the amount to subtract.  Records may be MSDS, invoices, shipping papers, or hazardous waste manifests; and 

[For text of item F, see M.R.] 

7007.0400 PERMIT REISSUANCE APPLICATIONS AFTER TRANSITION; NEW SOURCE AND PERMIT
AMENDMENT APPLICATIONS; APPLICATIONS FOR SOURCES NEWLY SUBJECT TO A PART 70 OR
STATE PERMIT REQUIREMENT. 

[For text of subps 1 and 2, see M.R.] 

Subp. 3.  New permits and amendments to existing permits.Owners or operators seeking to obtain a new permit for a new sta-
tionary source or a permit amendment to an existing permit may submit the application at any time.  It is recommended that the
permit application for a new stationary source or an amendment be submitted at least 180 days before the planned date ofcom-
mencementof for beginningactualconstruction of the new stationary source or commencementbeginningactualconstructionof
the modification of the existing stationary source, although the agency may take up to 18 months to take final action on the permit
or major amendment under part 7007.0750, subpart 2.  If the reason for the application for an amendment is the adoption of a new
or amended federal applicable requirement, and the remaining life of the permit is three years or longer, the permittee shall file an
application for an amendment within nine months of promulgation of the applicable requirement.  The preceding sentence does not
apply if the effective date of the requirement is later than the date on which the permit is due to expire. 

[For text of subp 4, see M.R.] 



PAGE 1512 (CITE 23 S.R. 1512)State Register, Monday 11 January 1999

Proposed Rules
7007.0700 COMPLETENESS REVIEW. 

[For text of items A to C, see M.R.] 

D.  If, during processing of a permit application that has been deemed complete, a minor permit amendment application, or a
written request for an administrative amendment, the agency determines that additional information is necessary to evaluate or take
final action on that application or request, it may request such information in writing, and, after consultation with the applicant, set
a deadline for a response.  In the request for additional information, the agency shall briefly explain why the additional information
is needed.  If an applicant fails to respond to requests for additional information within the time period requested, the application or
request shall be deemed incomplete.  Applicants who have already made a change or commencedbegunactualconstructionof a
modification at a permitted facility under part 7007.1450, shall provide the additional information within the time period specified
by the agency. 

[For text of item E, see M.R.] 

7007.0750 APPLICATION PRIORITY AND ISSUANCE TIMELINES.  

[For text of subpart 1, see M.R.] 

Subp. 2.  Application processing and issuance deadlines.

[For text of items A and B, see M.R.] 

C.  The agency shall take final action on applications for permits or permit amendments not governed by items A and B within
the period specified in this item.  The agency shall take final action on such an application for a permit, permit reissuance, or major
permit amendment within 18 months of receiving a complete application.  The agency shall take final action on such an application
for a minor permitamendmentwithin 90 daysof receivinga completeapplicationor for a moderate permit amendment within six
months of receiving a complete application, but not before the end of the administrator’s 45-day review period in the case of part 70
permits.  The agency shall take final action on a written request for an administrative amendment within 60 days of receiving the
complete request. 

[For text of items D to F, see M.R.] 

[For text of subps 3 to 8, see M.R.] 

7007.1050 DURATION OF PERMITS. 

[For text of subps 1 to 4, see M.R.] 

Subp. 5.  Expiring state and general permits. The agency may elect to make state permits and general permits (except general
permits that apply to stationary sources otherwise required to have a part 70 permit) expire five years ormoreafter issuance ifthe
permitteerequestsanexpiringpermitor if the agency determines that an expiring permit would significantly improve the likelihood
of continuing compliance with applicable requirements and the terms of the permit.  Grounds for such a determination include, but
are not limited to, the following: 

[For text of items A to C, see M.R.] 

[For text of subps 6 and 7, see M.R.] 

7007.1100 GENERAL PERMITS. 

[For text of subps 1 to 7, see M.R.] 

Subp.8. Change of ownership or control of stationary source issued a general permit.Prior to achangein theownershipor
controlof astationarysourceissuedageneralpermitunderthispart,thenewowneror operatormustsubmitachangeof ownership
requestform providedby thecommissioner.If thecommissionerdeterminesthat thenewowneror operatormeetstheeligibility
requirementsof the generalpermit for generalpermit issuance,thenthe commissionershall issuethe generalpermit to the new
owneror operator. Issuanceof a generalpermitto thenewowneror operatorof aneligible stationarysourcevoidsandsupersedes
thegeneralpermitof thepreviousowneror operator.If thecommissionerdeterminesthenewowneror operatordoesnot meetthe
eligibility requirements,the new owner or operatorshall submit a permit applicationfor a registration,state,or part 70 permit
within 120daysof thecommissioner’swritten requestfor theapplication.

7007.1110 REGISTRATION PERMIT GENERAL REQUIREMENTS. 

[For text of subps 1 to 6, see M.R.] 

Subp. 7.  Registration permit compliance requirements.The owner and operator of the stationary source issued a registration
permit, shall: 

[For text of items A to C, see M.R.] 
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D.  if a stationary source qualifies for a registration permit, but has less than 12 months of emissions data, determinecompli-
ancecalculatetheemissionlimit eachmonthduring normal operation for the first 12 months under registration permit option B,C,
or D on a form provided by the commissioner which uses oneof the following formulaformulas: 

(1) N = .950.95(annual limit in option B,C, or D) + .00450.0045(annual limit in option B,C, or D)(n-1) 

Where:  n = number of months in operation.;

N = emissionlimit for monthn; or

(2) P= L/12

WhereL = annuallimit in optionC or D.

P = theemissionlimit for eachmonth.

Theactualemissionsfor eachmonthmustbebelowthecalculatedemissionlimit, N or P, for eachpollutant.

[For text of subps 8 to 11, see M.R.] 

Subp. 12.  Modification rendering stationary source ineligible for its current registration permit option. Items A to C apply
to the owner or operator of a stationary source that has been issued a registration permit and that wants to make a modification
which results in the stationary source no longer being able to meet the requirements for the registration permit option for which it
was issued a registration permit, but which will result in the stationary source being eligible for another registration permit option. 

[For text of item A, see M.R.] 

B.  The owner or operator may begin actual construction on and commenceoperationof start-upof the modification proposed
in the permit application seven working days after the permit application is received by the commissioner. 

[For text of item C, see M.R.] 

[For text of subps 13 and 14, see M.R.] 

Subp. 15.  Change of ownership or control of stationary source issued a registration permit.Prior to a change in the owner-
ship or control of a stationary source issued a registration permit under parts 7007.1110 to 7007.1130, the new owner or operator
must submit a change of ownership requestform provided by the commissioner.  If the commissioner determines that the new
owner or operator meets the requirements of parts 7007.1110 to 7007.1130 for registration permit issuance, then the commissioner
shall issue the registration permit to the new owner or operator.  Issuanceof a registrationpermitto thenewowneror operatorof an
eligiblestationarysourcevoidsandsupersedestheregistrationpermitof thepreviousowneror operator.

[For text of subps 16 to 22, see M.R.] 

7007.1120 REGISTRATION PERMIT OPTION B. 

Subpart 1.  Eligibility. The owner or operator of a stationary source may apply for a registration permit under this part if: 

A.  the stationary source purchases or uses less than 2,000 gallons of VOC-containing materials on a 12-monthrolling sum
calendaryearbasis; 

[For text of item B, see M.R.] 

C.  the owner or operator does not anticipate making changes in the next 12 months which will cause the stationary source to
purchase or use 2,000 gallons or more of VOC-containing materials on a 12-monthrolling sumcalendaryearbasis. 

Subp. 2.  Application content. An application for a registration permit under this part must contain the following: 

[For text of items A to D, see M.R.] 

E.  for stationarysourcesin operationon August12, 1996,the gallons of VOC-containing materials purchased or used on a
12-monthrolling sumcalendaryearbasis.  If the stationary source has not been operated, the owner or operator shall estimate the
gallons of VOC-containing materials that will be purchased or used on a 12-monthrolling sumcalendaryearbasis during normal
operation using a worksheet provided by the commissioner.  If the stationary source has been operated less than 12 months orhas
not beenoperateda full calendaryearon the date of application under this part, the owner or operator shall calculate gallons of
VOC-containing materials purchased or used by multiplying 12 months by the larger of the two following monthly averages: 
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(1) the average monthly gallons purchased or used; or 

(2) the estimated average monthly gallons purchased or used for normal operation. 

Insignificant activities at the stationary source listed in part 7007.1300, subparts 2 and 3, are not required to be included in the
application. 

Subp. 3.  Compliance requirements. The owner or operator of a stationary source issued a registration permit under this part
shall: 

A.  calculateandrecord byApril 1 of each monthcalendaryearthe totalamount of VOC-containing materials purchased or
used (whichever was stated in the permit application) during thatthepreviouscalendar monthyear; 

B.  recalculateandrecordeachmonththe12-monthrolling summaintainthecalculationitself andanyreceipts,invoices,or
similar documentsusedto determinethetotal amountof VOC-containing materials purchased or used (whicheverwasstatedin the
permitapplication),thedatethecalculationwasmade,andthecalculationitself in itemA; 

C.  purchase or use (whichever was stated in the permit application) a12-monthrolling sumof less than 2,000 gallons of
VOC-containing materials eachcalendaryear; 

D.  have emissions from the stationary source only from VOC-containing materials or from insignificant activities under part
7007.1300, subparts 2 and 3; 

E.  comply with part 7007.11007007.1110; and 

F.  comply with all applicable requirements, including new source performance standards. 

[For text of subp 4, see M.R.] 

7007.1125 REGISTRATION PERMIT OPTION C. 

Subpart 1.  Eligibility. The owner or operator of a stationary source may apply for a registration permit under this part if the sta-
tionary source consists of only indirect heating units (boilers), reciprocating internal combustion engines, and/or emissions from use
of VOC-containing materials, and meets the following criteria: 

[For text of items A to C, see M.R.] 

D.  thestationarysourcedoesnotburnbituminousor subbituminouscoalin hand-fedboilers;

E. the 12-month rolling sum of calculations determined under calculations 1, 2A, 2B, and 3 in subpart 4 is less than 100; and 

E. F. the owner or operator does not anticipate making changes in the next 12 months which will cause the stationary source
to be ineligible for this type of registration permit as set forth under items A to DE. 

[For text of subp 2, see M.R.] 

Subp. 3.  Compliance requirements forOption C sources. Unlessastationarysourceis eligibleundersubpart3a,the owner or
operator of a stationary source issued a registration permit under this part shall comply with all of the requirements in items A to J. 

A.  If the stationary source qualifieddeterminedeligibility in the permit application, in whole or in part, by calculating VOC
actual emissions from VOC-containing materials purchased or used (whichever was stated in the permit application) in calculation
3 in subpart 4, the owner or operator must: 

(1) record bythelastdayof each month, the amount of each VOC-containing material purchased or used (whichever was
stated in the permit application) forthepreviousmonth; 

(2) maintain a record of the material datasafety datasheet (MSDS), or a signed statement from the supplier stating the
maximum VOC content, for each VOC-containing material purchased or used (whichever was stated in the permit application); and 

(3) using calculation 3 in subpart 4, recalculate and record bythelastdayof each month the 12-month rolling sum of the
actual VOC emissions from all VOC-containing materials purchased or used (whichever was stated in the permit application) for
theprevious12months, the date the calculation was made, and the calculation itself. 

B.  If the stationary source qualifieddeterminedeligibility in the permit application, in whole or in part, by using fuel burned
in calculation 1 or 2A in subpart 4, the owner or operator must: 

(1) for each unit type, record bythe last day of each month the 12-month rolling sum of the amount of each fuel pur-
chased or used (whichever was stated in the permit application) fortheprevious12months; 

[For text of subitem (2), see M.R.] 

(3) using calculations 1 and 2A in subpart 4, for each unit type, recalculate and record bythelastdayof each month the
12-month rolling sum of emissions fortheprevious12months, the date the calculation was made, and the calculation itself.  
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C.  If the stationary source qualifieddeterminedeligibility in the permit application, in whole or in part, by using hours of
operation in calculation 2B in subpart 4, the owner or operator must, for each emissions unit included in calculation 2B:  

(1) record each bythelastdayof eachmonth the hours operated, rounded to the nearest hour forthepreviousmonth; and 

(2) using calculation 2B in subpart 4, recalculate and record bythe lastdayof each month the 12-month rolling sum of
emissions for each emissions unit fortheprevious12months, the date the calculation was made, and the calculation itself.  

D.  The owner or operator must add together and record bythelastdayof each month the 12-month rolling sum of the calcu-
lations made in items A to C fortheprevious12months.Thissumis theeligibility number. 

E.  The owner or operator must not burn any fuels at the stationary source that are not listed in Table 1 or Table 2 of subpart 4,
or that exceed the sulfur content limits listed in Table 1 or Table 2,andmustnot burn bituminousor subbituminouscoal in any
hand-fedindirectheatingunit (boiler). 

F.  The 12-month rolling sum determined by the calculation in item D,theeligibility number,shall not exceed 100. 

G.  The owner or operator must have emissions from the stationary source only from indirect heating units (boilers,except
hand-fedboilersburningbituminousor subbituminouscoal), from reciprocating internal combustion engines, from insignificant
activities under part 7007.1300, subparts 2 and 3, and/or from use of VOC-containing materials. 

[For text of items H to J, see M.R.] 

Subp.3a. Compliance requirements for low-emitting Option C sources.If theeligibility numberdeterminedby thecalcula-
tion in itemD is lessthan50 for thepreviouscalendaryear,theowneror operatorof astationarysourceissuedaregistrationpermit
underthispartshallcomplywith all of therequirementsin itemsA to E.

A. If the stationarysourcedeterminedeligibility in the permit application,in whole or in part, by calculatingVOC actual
emissionsfrom VOC-containingmaterialspurchasedor used(whicheverwasstatedin the permit application)in calculation3 in
subpart4, theowneror operatormust:

(1) maintainrecordsof the amountof eachVOC-containingmaterialpurchasedor used(whicheverwasstatedin the
permitapplication)eachcalendaryear;

(2) maintaina recordof the materialsafetydatasheet(MSDS), or a signedstatementfrom the supplierstatingthe
maximumVOC content,for eachVOC-containingmaterialpurchasedor used(whicheverwasstatedin thepermitapplication);and

(3) usingcalculation3 in subpart4, recalculateandrecordby April 1 of eachcalendaryearthesumof theactualVOC
emissionsfrom all VOC-containingmaterialspurchasedor used(whicheverwasstatedin thepermitapplication),andthecalcula-
tion itself for thepreviouscalendaryear.

B. If thestationarysourcedeterminedeligibility in thepermitapplication,in wholeor in part,by usingfuel burnedin calcula-
tion 1 or 2A in subpart4, theowneror operatormust:

(1) for eachunit type, recordby April 1 of eachcalendaryear the sumof the amountof eachfuel purchasedor used
(whicheverwasstatedin thepermitapplication)for thepreviouscalendaryear;

(2) recordthesulfur contentof eachfuel purchasedor used(whicheverwasstatedin thepermitapplication),andmain-
tain for eachbatchof fuel a recordof thevendorcertificationsof sulfur contentor testresultsby an independentlaboratoryusing
theASTM methodlisted for the fuel in Table1 or Table2 in subpart4 (whicheverapplies),if a sulfur thresholdis statedfor that
fuel in Table1 or Table2 in subpart4; and

(3) usingcalculations1 and2A in subpart4, for eachunit type,recalculateandrecordby April 1 of eachcalendaryear
thesumof emissionsandthecalculationitself for thepreviouscalendaryear.

C. If thestationarysourcequalifiedin thepermitapplication,in wholeor in part,by usinghoursof operationin calculation2B
in subpart4, theowneror operatormust,for eachemissionsunit includedin calculation2B:

(1) recordby April 1 of eachcalendaryearthehoursoperated,roundedto thenearesthourfor thepreviouscalendaryear;and

(2) usingcalculation2B in subpart4, recalculateandrecordby April 1 of eachcalendaryearthesumof emissionsfor
eachemissionsunit andthecalculationitself for thepreviouscalendaryear.
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D. Theowneror operatormustaddtogetherandrecordby April 1 of eachcalendaryearthesumof thecalculationsmadein

itemsA to C. This sum,the eligibility number,shall not exceed50 to be eligible underthis subpart. If the eligibility number
exceeds50, thentheowneror operatormustcomplywith subpart3 andhaveaneligibility numberof lessthan50 for two consecu-
tive calendaryearsbeforeeligibility for this subpartis reinstated.

E. Theowneror operatormustcomplywith subpart3, itemsE andG to J.

Subp. 4.  Tables and calculations.The tables and calculations in this subpart shall be used to determine whether a stationary
source is eligible for a registration permit under this part.  For the purposes for fuel specifications listed in calculations 1 and 2A, the
Annual Book of American Society for Testing and Materials Standards (ASTM), 100 Barr Harbor Drive, West Conshohocken, PA
19428-2959, volumes 4.05, 5.01, 5.03, and 5.05 (1993) are incorporated by reference.  ASTM is the author and publisher.  These
publications are available through the Minitex interlibrary loan system (University of Minnesota Library).  These documents are
subject to frequent change.  

Calculation 1.  Indirect Heating Emissions Units.For stationary sources with indirect heating emissions units, multiply the 12-
month rolling sum of each fuel used by the multiplication factor (MF) listed in Table 1.  Add the results of all the calculations to
arrive at the calculation 1 total.  The following formula determines the calculation 1 total:  

STEP 1:  fuel type used (in units specified) x MF = fuel type total 

STEP 2:  fuel type 1 total + fuel type 2 total + ... fuel type n total = Calculation 1 total 

TABLE 1

FUEL USED (units burned/year)-[specification] SULFUR MULTIPLI-
LIMIT CATION

FACTOR (MF)

anthracite coal (tons)-[ASTM D 388(Vol 05.05)] 2.38% 4.64E-02

bituminous coal (tons)-[ASTM D 388(Vol 05.05)] 2.10% 4.10E-02

sub bituminous coal (tons)-[ASTM D 388 1.66% 2.91E-02
(Vol 05.05)]

lignite A coal (tons)-[ASTM D 388(Vol 05.05)] 1.26% 1.89E-02

petroleum coke (tons)-[ASTM C 1160(Vol 04.05)] 2.33% 4.55E-02

untreated domestic wood and bark (tons)- n/a 8.40E-03
[ASTM D 1165(Vol 04.09)]

kerosene (gallons)-[ASTM D 3699(Vol 05.03)] 0.50% 3.59E-05

No. 1 and No. 2 distillate (gallons)- 0.50% 3.59E-05
[ASTM D 396(Vol 05.01)]

No. 4 distillate (gallons)- 1.80% 1.35E-04
[ASTM D 396(Vol 05.01)] 1.40E-04

No. 5 and No. 6 residual (gallons)- 1.80% 1.43E-04
[ASTM D 396(Vol 05.01)] 1.46E-04

liquefied petroleum gas (LPG) n/a 6.60E-06
(gallons)-[ASTM D 1835(Vol 05.01 1.05E-05
and 05.05)]

dry or commercial pipeline natural gas n/a 7.00E-08
(cubic feet)-this must be a mixture of 1.40E-07
ethane, methane, not more than five
percent propane and not more than
one percent butane
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Calculation 2.  Reciprocating Internal Combustion Engine Emission Units.A stationary source with one or more reciprocat-
ing internal combustion (RIC) engines shall, for each RIC engine, use either calculation 2A or 2B.  Stationary sources with RIC
engine emission units burning fuels not listed in Table 2, however, must use calculation 2B. 

Calculation 2A.  RIC Engine Fuel Usage Calculation.For stationary sources with one or more RIC engines, multiply the 12-
month rolling sum of each fuel used by the multiplication factor (MF) from Table 2.  Add the results of each calculation to deter-
mine the total for that RIC engine.  The following formula determines the calculation 2A total:  

STEP 1:  fuel type used (in specified units) x MF = fuel type total 

STEP 2:  fuel type 1 total + fuel type 2 total + ... fuel type n total = Calculation 2A total 

TABLE 2

FUEL USED (units burned/year)-[specification] SULFUR MULTIPLI-
LIMIT CATION

FACTOR (MF)

No. 1 and No. 2 diesel, and kerosene 0.5% 2.35E-04
(gallons)-[ASTM 975(Vol 05.01)] 3.09E-04

liquefied petroleum gas (LPG) n/a 6.95E-05
(gallons)-[ASTM D 1835(Vol 05.01 and 05.05)]

dry or commercial pipeline natural gas n/a 1.70E-06
(cubic feet)-[as defined in Table 1]

Calculation 2B.  RIC Engine Operating Hours Calculation. For stationary sources with one or more RIC engines, multiply
the design capacity of the engine in horsepower by the 12-month rolling sum of hours operated and by the multiplication factor
1.22E-05.  The owner or operator shall perform this calculation for each RIC engine, then add the results of all the calculations to
arrive at the calculation 2B total.  The following formula determines the calculation 2B total:  

STEP 1:  engine horsepower design capacity x hours operated x 1.22E-05 = RIC engine total 

STEP 2:  RIC engine 1 total + RIC engine 2 total + ... RIC engine n total = Calculation 2B total 

Calculation 3.  VOC Emissions Units.An owner or operator of a stationary source which purchases or uses VOC-containing
materials shall, for each material purchased or used which contains VOC, multiply a factor of ten by the weight factor (WF) of the
VOC in the material (weight of VOC per weight of VOC-containing material) by the density of the material (in pounds per gallon)
by the 12-month rolling sum of gallons of that material purchased or used.  The owner or operator shall perform this calculation for
each material purchased or used which contains VOC (including VOC purchased or used for cleaning) and add the results of the
calculations to arrive at the calculation 3 total.  In determining the WF and the density, the owner or operator shall use the maximum
listed in the material safety data sheets (MSDS) or a signed statement from the supplier for each VOC-containing material.  The fol-
lowing formula determines the calculation 3 total:  

STEP 1:  10 [WF x density of the material (lb/gal) x (1 ton/2,000 lb) x the 12-month rolling sum of material purchased or used
(gallons)] = material total 

STEP 2:  material 1 + material 2 + ... material n total = Calculation 3 total 

7007.1130 REGISTRATION PERMIT OPTION D.  

Subpart 1.  Eligibility. The owner or operator of a stationary source may apply for a registration permit under this part if the sta-
tionary source meets the following criteria:  

A.  all emissions units at the stationary source are either included in calculations in subpart 4, or are insignificant activities
under part 7007.1300, subparts 2 and 3; 

B.  the 12-month rolling sum of actual emissions at the stationary source for each pollutant are less than orequalto the thresh-
olds in subpart 5; and 
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C.  the owner or operator does not anticipate making changes in the next year which will cause the stationary source’s 12-

month rolling sum of actual emissions to exceed any threshold in tons per year listed in subpart 5.  

Subp. 2.  Application content. An application for a registration permit under this part must contain all of the following requirements:  

[For text of items A to D, see M.R.] 

E.  the calculations required by subpart 4, and the total actual emissions per pollutant that result from those calculations.  A
stationary source in which the only hazardous air pollutant (HAP) emissions are VOC emissions and that has actual VOC emissions
less than five tons per year areis not required to calculate emissions of HAPs.  If the stationary source has not been operated, the
owner or operator shall estimate actual emissions during normal operation in performing the calculations required by subpart 4.  If
the stationary source has been operated less than 12 months on the date of application under this part, the owner or operator shall
estimate actual emissions by multiplying by 12 the larger of the following:  

(1) the average monthly actual emissions; or 

(2) the estimated average monthly actual emissions during normal operation; 

[For text of items F and G, see M.R.] 

Subp. 3.  Compliance requirements forOption D sources. Unlessastationarysourceis eligibleundersubpart3a,the owner or
operator of a stationary source issued a permit under this part shall comply with all of the requirements in items A to J. 

A.  If the stationary source qualifieddeterminedeligibility in the permit application, in whole or in part, by calculating VOC
and hazardous air pollutant actual emissions from VOC-containing or hazardous air pollutant-containing materials, purchased or
used (whichever was stated in the permit application), the owner or operator must: 

(1) record bythelastdayof each month, the amount of each VOC-containing or hazardous air pollutant-containing mate-
rial purchased or used (whichever was stated in the permit application), and the VOC and hazardous air pollutant content forthe
previouscalendarmonth; 

(2) maintain a record of the material datasafety datasheet (MSDS), or a signed statement from the supplier stating the
maximum VOC or hazardous air pollutant content, for each VOC-containing or hazardous air pollutant-containing material pur-
chased or used (whichever was stated in the permit application); and 

(3) recalculate and record bythelastdayof each month the 12-month rolling sum of actual VOC and hazardous air pol-
lutant emissions from VOC-containing and hazardous air pollutant-containing materials purchased or used (whichever was stated in
the permit application) fortheprevious12months, the date the calculation was made, and the calculation itself. 

A stationarysourcein which the only hazardousair pollutant (HAP) emissionsareVOC emissionsand that hasactualVOC
emissionslessthanfive tonsper year is not requiredto maintainrecordsandperformthe calculationsof HAPs emissionsunder
subitems(1) to (3).

B.  If the stationary source qualifieddeterminedeligibility in the permit application, in whole or in part, by using fuel burned
in the calculations in subpart 4, the owner or operator must:  

(1) record bythelastdayof each month the amount of each fuel purchased or used (whichever was stated in the permit
application) forthepreviousmonth; and 

(2) recalculate and record bythe last day of each month the 12-month rolling sum of emissions forthe previous12
months, the date the calculation was made, and the calculation itself.  

C.  If the stationary source qualified in the permit application, in whole or in part, by using hours of operation in the calcula-
tions in subpart 4, the owner or operator must: 

(1) record bythe lastdayof each month the hours operated for each emissions unit, rounded to the nearest hour forthe
previousmonth; and 

(2) recalculate and record bythe last day of each month the 12-month rolling sum of emissions forthe previous12
months, the date the calculation was made, and the calculations itself. 

D.  If the stationary source qualifieddeterminedeligibility in the permit application, in whole or in part, by calculating actual
emissions under subpart 4 based on the quantity of material handled or throughput, or product produced, the owner or operator must:  

(1) record bythe last day of each month for each material handled or throughput and for each product produced, the
amount of the material handled or throughput and the amount of product produced forthepreviousmonth; and 

(2) recalculate and record bythelastdayof each month for each material handled or throughput and for each product pro-
duced, the 12-month rolling sum of emissions fortheprevious12months, the date the calculation was made, and the calculation itself.  

E.  The owner or operator must recalculate and record bythe last day of each month, pursuant to subpart 4, the 12-month
rolling sum of actual emissions from the stationary source fortheprevious12 months, the date the calculation was made, and the
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calculation itself.  This calculation must include all emissions units at the stationary source, except for insignificant activities under
part 7007.1300, subparts 2 and 3, and the information required by subpart 4, item B, subitem (3), if continuous emissions monitor
(CEM) data is used in the calculation. 

[For text of items F to J, see M.R.] 

Subp.3a. Compliance requirements for low-emitting Option D sources.If theactualemissionsfor thepreviouscalendaryear
of eachpollutantarelessthantheemissioneligibility limits for eachpollutantlisted in Table3A, thentheowneror operatorshall
complywith all of therequirementsin itemsA to F.

A. If thestationarysourcedeterminedeligibility in thepermitapplication,in wholeor in part,by calculatingVOC andHAP
actualemissionsfrom VOC-containingor HAP-containingmaterials,purchasedor used(whicheverwasstatedin thepermitappli-
cation),theowneror operatormust:

(1) maintainrecordsof theamountof eachVOC-containingor HAP-containingmaterialpurchasedor used(whichever
wasstatedin thepermitapplication),andtheVOC contenteachcalendaryear;

(2) maintaina recordof the materialsafetydatasheet(MSDS), or a signedstatementfrom the supplierstatingthe
maximumVOC or HAP content,for eachVOC-containingor HAP-containingmaterialpurchasedor used(whicheverwasstatedin
thepermitapplication);and

(3) calculateandrecordby April 1 of eachcalendaryearthesumof actualVOC emissionsandhazardousair emissions
from VOC-containingandHAP-containingmaterialspurchasedor used(whicheverwasstatedin thepermitapplication),andthe
calculationitself for thepreviouscalendaryear.

A stationarysourcein which theonly HAP emissionsareVOC emissionsandthathasactualVOC emissionslessthanfive tons
peryearis not requiredto maintainrecordsandperformthecalculationsof HAP emissionsundersubitems(1) to (3).

B. If thestationarysourcedeterminedeligibility in thepermitapplication,in wholeor in part,by usingfuel burnedin thecal-
culationsin subpart4, theowneror operatormust:

(1) maintainrecordsof theamountof eachfuel purchasedor usedeachcalendaryear(whicheverwasstatedin thepermit
application);and

(2) calculateandrecordby April 1 of eachcalendaryearthesumof theemissions,andthecalculationitself for theprevi-
ouscalendaryear.

C. If thestationarysourcedeterminedeligibility in thepermitapplication,in wholeor in part,by usinghoursof operationin
thecalculationsin subpart4, theowneror operatormust:

(1) maintainrecordsof thehoursoperatedfor eachemissionsunit for eachcalendaryear,roundedto thenearesthour;and

(2) calculateandrecordby April 1 eachcalendaryearthesumof theemissions,andthecalculationsitself for theprevi-
ouscalendaryear.

D. If thestationarysourcedeterminedeligibility in thepermitapplication,in wholeor in part,by calculatingactualemissions
undersubpart4 basedon thequantityof materialhandledor throughput,or productproduced,theowneror operatormust:

(1) maintainrecordseachcalendaryearof theamountof eachmaterialhandledor throughputandfor eachproductpro-
duced,theamountof thematerialhandledor throughput,andtheamountof productproduced;and

(2) calculateandrecordby April 1 of eachcalendaryearfor eachmaterialhandledor throughputandfor eachproduct
produced,thesumof theemissionsandthecalculationitself for thepreviouscalendaryear.

E. By April 1 of eachcalendaryear,theowneror operatormustcalculateandrecord,pursuantto subpart4, thesumof actual
emissionsfrom the stationarysource,andthe calculationitself for the previouscalendaryear. This calculationmust includeall
emissionsunitsat thestationarysource,exceptfor insignificantactivitiesunderpart7007.1300,subparts2 and3, andtheinforma-
tion requiredby subpart4, item B, subitem(3), if continuousemissionsmonitor(CEM) datais usedin thecalculation. Thesumof
actualemissionsfor eachpollutantfrom thestationarysourcemustnot exceedtheemissioneligibility limits in Table3A for any
pollutant. If theemissioneligibility limit in Table3A is exceededfor anypollutant,thenthestationarysourceis no longereligible
underthissubpartandmustcomplywith subpart3 andhaveactualemissionsfor eachpollutantbelowtheeligibility limits in Table
3A for two consecutivecalendaryearsbeforeeligibility for this subpartis reinstated.
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F. Theowneror operatormustcomplywith subpart3, itemsF andH to J.

TABLE 3A
OPTIOND EMISSIONELIGIBILITY LIMITS FOR REDUCEDRECORDKEEPING

POLLUTANT ELIGIBILITY LIMIT FORREDUCEDRECORDKEEPING

HAP 2.5tons/yearfor asingleHAP
6.25tons/yeartotal for all HAPs

PM 25 tons/year
PM-10 25 tons/yearfor anAttainmentArea

0 tons/yearfor aNonattainmentArea
VOC 25 tons/year
SO2 25 tons/year
NOx 25 tons/year
CO 25 tons/year
Pb 0.05tons/year

[For text of subp 4, see M.R.] 

Subp. 5.  Emissions thresholds.The owner or operator must calculate actual emissions for the stationary source using the calcu-
lations under subpart 4 and the calculated 12-month rolling sum of actual emissions must be belowlessthanor equalto the thresh-
olds listed in Table 3.  

TABLE 3 
OPTION D EMISSIONS THRESHOLDS 

POLLUTANT THRESHOLD (ton/year)

HAP 5 tons/year for a single HAP
12.5 tons/year total for all HAPs

PM 50 tons/year
PM-10 50 tons/year for an Attainment Area

25 tons/year for a Nonattainment Area
VOC 50 tons/year
SO2 50 tons/year
NOx 50 tons/year
CO 50 tons/year
Pb 0.5 tons/year

[For text of subp 6, see M.R.] 

7007.1150 WHEN A PERMIT AMENDMENT IS REQUIRED. 

[For text of item A, see M.R.] 

B.  No modification, as defined in part 7007.0100, subpart 14, may be made to a stationary source that is required to have a
permit under parts 7007.0100 to 7007.1850 unless the modification is allowed under part 7007.1250 or 7007.1350, or an amend-
ment is obtained under part 7007.1450 or 7007.1500.  Administrative changes to a permit issued under parts 7007.0100 to
7007.1850 shall be made under part 7007.1400.  If a change at a facility does not constitute a modification, no permit amendment is
required unlessthechangeis describedunderpart7007.1500,subpart1. If achangedoesnotconstituteamodification,notification
maystill berequiredunderitemC. 

[For text of items C to F, see M.R.] 

7007.1200 CALCULATING EMISSION CHANGES FOR PERMIT AMENDMENTS. 

[For text of subpart 1, see M.R.] 

Subp. 2.  Calculation methods to determine if the proposed change is a title I modification.To determine if a modification is
a title I modification, the applicable federal calculation method must be used.  To determine the applicable methods to calculate
emission changes for a title I modification, the permittee must refer to the federal regulations listed in part 7007.0100, subpart 26.
Parts 7011.0060 to 7011.0080 may be used in this calculation if the stationary source is in compliance with parts 7011.0060 to
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7011.0080,exceptthatcontrolefficienciesfor controlequipmentwith hoodsunderpart7011.0070cannotbeused.  A change that
would not be considered to increase emissions using the calculation method in subpart 3 may nonetheless be considered a title I
modification, particularly under the calculation method required by part C (prevention of significant deterioration of air quality),
part D (plan requirements in nonattainment areas), and section 112(g)(2)(B) (construction or reconstruction of a major source of
hazardous air pollutants) of the act. 

Subp. 3.  Calculation method for modifications that are not title I modifications. Emissions changes for a modification must
be calculated by comparing the hourly emission rate of the stationary source, at maximum physical capacity, before and after the
proposed physical or operational change.  The emission rate shall be expressed as pounds per hour of any regulated air pollutant.
Items A to C shall be used to determine emission changes for modifications that are not title I modifications.  

A.  When calculating emissions before and after the physical and operational change, physical and operational limitations and
emission decreases will be considered only if they: 

(1) are or will be automatically required by an applicable requirement including parts 7011.0060 to 7011.0080,exceptthat
controlefficienciesfor controlequipmentwith hoodsunderpart7011.0070cannotbeusedto calculateemissionsunderthispart; 

(2) are or will be automatically required by an existing permit; 

(3) are integral to the process; 

(4) are proposed as a permit term and condition in the application for a minor, moderate, or major modification under part
7007.1450 or 7007.1500; or 

(5) are calculated in records kept at the stationary source where reductions rendered the modification insignificant under
part 7007.1250.  

B.  In cases where use of emission factors or related calculation methods clearly demonstrates whether or not the change will
increase the emission level, the followingemissionfactorsor methodsshallbeused:

(1) emission factors as defined in part 7005.0100, subpart 10a;or, shallbeused.

(2) if no EPA emissionfactorsarespecified,factorsor relatedemissionscalculationmethodspublishedby EPA or pro-
videdby theagencyuponrequestof thepermitteewhich relateto thespecificsourcetype. Thepermitteeshall identify thesource
of theemissionfactoror calculationmethodin theapplication.

[For text of item C, see M.R.] 

7007.1250 INSIGNIFICANT MODIFICATIONS. 

Subpart 1.  When an insignificant modification can be made.The permittee may make a modification described in either item
A or B at a permitted stationary source without getting a permit amendment, unless the modification is prohibited by subpart 2.
However,if themodificationtriggersnewmonitoring,recordkeeping,or reportingrequirementsunderapplicablerequirementsor
parts7007.0100to 7007.1850,the permitteeshall initiate an administrativeamendmentunderpart 7007.1400to includethe new
requirementsnomorethan30daysaftermakingthemodification.

A.  Construction or operation of any emissions unit, or undertaking any activity, on the insignificant activities list in part
7007.1300, subparts 2 and 3. 

B.  Any modification that will: 

(1) result in an increase of a regulated air pollutant which is not listed in table 1 andis notahazardousair pollutant; or 

(2) result in an increase of an air pollutant which is listed in table 1, but in an amount less than the corresponding threshold. 
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Table 1 

Pollutant Threshold

NOX 2.28 pounds per hour
SO2 2.28 pounds per hour
VOCs 2.28 pounds per hour

PM-10 .8550.855 pounds per hour

CO 5.70 pounds per hour

Lead .0250.025 pounds per hour

For purposes of this subpart, whether or not the modification will cause an increase in emissions shall be calculated as described in
part 7007.1200.  An owner or operator may not use control equipment efficiencies for listed control equipment determined by part
7011.0070 to qualify for an insignificant modification, unless the specifications for the control equipment are from a control equip-
ment manufacturer, as defined in part 7011.0060, subpart 3.  Modifications which would otherwise be insignificant under this part
may be title I modifications, for which a major amendment is required, using the methods of calculation required under title I of the
act.  Permittees are reminded to review the definition of title I modifications and the requirements of title I of the act. 

Subp. 2.  Insignificant modification exclusions. A modification may not be made under this part if the modification:

A.  is a title I modification; 

B.  would result in the violation of a permit emissions limit or any other permit term; 

C.  is required to be authorized by a permit amendment under title IV of the act or Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, part
72, as amended; or

D.  is part of a single project, as described in subpart 5, which taken as a whole, would not be authorized under this part;or

E. is describedunderpart7007.1500,subpart1 (Major permitamendmentrequired). 

Subp. 3.  Recordkeeping requirements.Except as described in subpart 4, modifications authorized under this part may be made
without providing notice to the agency.  However, the permittee shall keep a contemporaneous record of the modification forall
changesauthorizedundersubpart1, itemsA andB, exceptfor thoseactivitiesdescribedin part7007.1300,subpart2.  For changes
authorized under subpart 1, item B, andpart7007.1300,subpart3, itemI, the permittee shall also keep calculations of the emissions
increase as required by part 7007.1200, and a statement of the purpose for making the modification. 

Subp. 4.  Agency notification required. If a modification authorized under subpart 1, item B, together with other modifications
made under subpart 1, item B, during the course of the permit term (or within a five-year period for a nonexpiring permit), have
resulted in total increases of a pollutant in excess of four times the amount listed in subpart 1, item B, subitem (2), for that pollutant,
the permittee shall notify the agency by seven working days after beginning actual construction of the last modification.  The notice
shall provide the information required to be kept in subpart 3 for each modification made under subpart 1, itemitemsA andB,
exceptfor thoseactivitiesdescribedin part7007.1300,subpart2, during the period in question.  The notice shall also include a cer-
tification by a responsible official, consistent with part 7007.0500, subpart 3, that the modifications listed were not part of a single
project, as described in subpart 5, which taken as a whole, would not be authorized under subpart 1, item B.  After any such notice
has been sent, the permittee shall continue to keep track of modifications made under subpart 1, item B, and the permittee shall
notify the agency again if emissions increases from these additional modifications total more than four times the amount listed in
subpart 1, item B, subitem (2).  

[For text of subps 5 and 6, see M.R.] 

7007.1300 INSIGNIFICANT ACTIVITIES LIST. 

[For text of subps 1 to 3, see M.R.] 

Subp. 4.  Insignificant activities required to be listed in a part 70 application. If a facility is applying for a part 70 permit,
emissions units with emissions less than all the following limits but not included in subpart 2 must be listed in a part 70 permit
application:  

A.  potentialemissionsof 5.7 pounds per hour oractualemissionsof two tonsperyearof carbon monoxide; 

[For text of items B and C, see M.R.] 

[For text of subp 5, see M.R.] 
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7007.1450 MINOR AND MODERATE PERMIT AMENDMENTS.  

Subpart 1.  Minor and moderate amendment exclusions.The agency may amend a permit using the minor and moderate
permit amendment processes described in this part if the amendments are described in subparts 2 and 3, and if the amendments do
not: arenotdescribedin part7007.1500,subpart1 (Major permitamendmentrequired).

A. amendexistingpermittermsrelatedto monitoring(includingtestmethods),recordkeeping,reporting,or compliancecerti-
fication requirementswhicharemajoramendmentsunderpart7007.1500,subpart1, itemA;

B. seekto establishor amenda permitconditionthat is requiredto bebasedon a case-by-casedeterminationof anemission
limitation or otherstandard,onasource-specificdeterminationof ambientimpacts,or onavisibility or incrementanalysis;

C. seekto establishor amenda permitconditionfor which thereis no correspondingunderlyingapplicablerequirementand
that thestationarysourcehasassumedto avoidanapplicablerequirementdescribedin part7007.0100,subpart7, itemsA to K, to
which thestationarysourcewouldotherwisebesubject.Suchtermsandconditionsinclude:

(1) a federallyenforceableemissionscapassumedto avoidclassificationasa title I modification;and

(2) an alternativeemissionslimit approvedpursuantto regulationspromulgatedundersection112(i)(5) of the act
(HazardousAir Pollutants;Schedulefor Compliance;EarlyReduction);

D. seekto allow a title I modification;and

E. violatea requirementof anyagencyrule thatsuchchangebemadeunderthemajorpermitamendmentprocedures.

[For text of subps 2 to 6, see M.R.] 

Subp. 7.  When permittee may make the proposed modification.

[For text of item A, see M.R.] 

B.  The permittee may begin actual construction on a modification proposed in a moderate permit amendment application
upon receipt of a letter of approval from the agency authorizing such construction.  However, the permittee may not commence
operationof conductstart-upof the modification until the amended permit has been issued. 

Subp. 8.  Permittee’s risk in commencing construction. If the stationary source makes the modification allowed by subpart 7,
item A, or commencesbeginsactualconstruction upon receipt of a letter of approval as allowed by subpart 7, item B, and until the
agency acts on the minor or moderate permit amendment application, the stationary source must comply with both the applicable
requirements governing the modification and the proposed permit terms and conditions.  During this time period, the stationary
source need not comply with the existing permit terms and conditions it seeks to modify.  However, if the stationary source fails to
comply with its proposed permit terms and conditions during this time period, the existing permit terms and conditions it seeks to
modify may be enforced against it.  The permittee assumes the risk of losing any investment it makes toward implementing a mod-
ification prior to receiving a permit amendment authorizing the modification.  The agency will not consider the possibility of the
permittee suffering financial loss due to such investment when deciding whether to approve, deny, or approve in modified form a
minor or moderate permit amendment. 

[For text of subp 9, see M.R.] 

7007.1500 MAJOR PERMIT AMENDMENTS. 

Subpart 1.  Major permit amendment required. A “major permit amendment” is required for anychangeto permitconditions
or any modification at a permitted stationary source that is not allowed under parts 7007.1250 and 7007.1350 and for which an
amendment cannot be obtained under the administrative permit amendment provisions of part 7007.1400, or the minor or moderate
permit amendment provisions of part 7007.1450.  The following always require major permit amendments: 

[For text of items A to E, see M.R.] 

[For text of subps 2 to 4, see M.R.] 
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7007.4020 CONDITIONS FOR PERMIT.  

Subpart 1.  In general. Unless the requirements of Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, chapter I, part 51, appendix S, (1991),
as incorporated in subpart 2a, are first satisfied, no person shall commence construction,asdefinedin appendixS,part(II), section
(A), of a major stationary source or major modification in: 

A.  a nonattainment area; or 

B.  in an attainment area or unclassifiable area if that major stationary source or major modification would cause or contribute
to a violation of a national ambient air quality standard in a nonattainment area as determined by the significance levels established
in Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, chapter I, part 51, appendix S, part III, (1991). 

[For text of subp 2a, see M.R.] 

7009.0050 INTERPRETATIONAND MEASUREMENT METHODOLOGY, EXCEPT FOR HYDROGEN SULFIDE.  

For all ambient air quality standards except hydrogen sulfide, interpretationof the standardsandmeasurements made to deter-
mine compliance with the standards shall be performed as set forth in:  

A.  Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, part 50, National Primary and Secondary Ambient Air Quality Standards, as
amended; or 

B.  Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, part 53-Ambient Air Monitoring Reference and Equivalent Methods, as amended; and 

C.  Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, part 58, Ambient Air Quality Surveillance, as amended. 

7009.0080 STATE AMBIENT AIR QUALITY STANDARDS. 

The following table contains the state ambient air quality standards.  

Pollutant/ Primary Secondary
Air Standard Standard Remarks
Contaminant

Hydrogen 0.05 ppm by 1/2 hour average not
Sulfide volume (70.0 to be exceeded over

micrograms per 2 times per year
cubic meter)

0.03 ppm by 1/2 hour average not
volume (42.0 to be exceeded over
micrograms per 2 times in any 5
cubic meter) consecutive days

Ozone 0.120.08ppm 0.12ppmby daily maximum
by volume volume(235 8 houraverage;the standard is
(235 micrograms attained when the expected
micrograms percubic numberof days
per cubic meter) percalendar yearwith
meter) sameas maximumhourly average

primary concentrations abovethe
standard standardis equalto or less

thanone,as determinedby Code
of Federal Regulations,
title 40,part50, appendixH,
Interpretation oftheNational
AmbientAir Quality 
Standardsfor Ozone,
asamended averageof the
annualfourth-highest
daily maximum8-hour
averageozoneconcentration
is lessthanor equalto thestandard
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Carbon 9 ppm by 9ppmby maximum 8 hour
Monoxide volume (10 volume(10 concentration not

milligrams milligrams to be exceeded more
per cubic percubic than once per year
meter) meter)

sameas
primary
standard

30 ppm by 30ppmby maximum 1 hour
volume (35 volume(35 concentration not to
milligrams milligrams to be exceeded more
per cubic percubic than once per year
meter) meter)

sameas
primary
standard

Sulfur 80 60 maximum annual
Dioxides micrograms micrograms arithmetic mean
Dioxide per cubic per cubic

meter (0.03 meter (0.02
ppm by ppm by
volume) volume)

365 365 maximum 24 hour
micrograms micrograms concentration not
per cubic percubic to be exceeded more
meter (0.14 meter(0.14 than once per year
ppm by ppmby
volume) volume)

sameas
primary
standard

915 maximum 3 hour
micrograms concentration not
per cubic to be exceeded more
meter (0.35 than once per year
ppm by in Air Quality
volume) Control Regions

127, 129, 130, and
132

1300 maximum 3 hour
micrograms concentration not to
per cubic be exceeded more than
meter (0.5 once per year
ppm by in Air Quality Control
volume) Regions 128, 131, and 133
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1300 maximum 3 hour
micrograms concentration not to
per cubic be exceeded more than
meter (0.5 once per year
ppm by
volume)

1300 maximum 1 hour
micrograms concentration not to
per cubic be exceeded more than
meter (0.5 once per year
ppm by
volume)

Particulate 75 60 maximum annual
Matter micrograms micrograms geometric mean

per cubic per cubic
meter meter

260 150 maximum 24 hour
micrograms micrograms concentration not
per cubic per cubic to be exceeded more
meter meter than once per year

Nitrogen 0.05 ppm 0.05ppm maximum annual
Dioxides by volume byvolume arithmetic mean
Dioxide (100 (100

micrograms micrograms
per cubic percubic
meter) meter)

sameas
primary
standard

Lead 1.5 same as maximum arithmetic
micrograms primary mean averaged over
per cubic standard a calendar quarter
meter

PM-10 150 same as maximum 24-hour
micrograms primary average concentration;
per cubic standard the standard is
meter attained when the

expected number of
days per calendar
year exceeding the
value of the standard
is equal to or less than one

50 same as annual arithmetic
micrograms primary mean; the standard
per cubic standard is attained when
meter the expected annual

arithmetic mean
concentration is less
than or equal to the
value of the standard
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PM-2.5 65 sameas 24-houraverage
micrograms primary concentration;the
percubic standard standardis
meter attainedwhenthe

98thpercentile
24-hour
concentrationis
lessthanor equal
to thestandard

15.0 sameas annual
micrograms primary arithmeticmean;
percubic standard thestandardis
meter attainedwhenthe

annualarithmetic
meanconcentration
is lessthanor
equalto the
standard

7011.0010 APPLICABILITY OF STANDARDS OF PERFORMANCE. 

[For text of subpart 1, see M.R.] 

Subp. 2.  New facility. An owner or operator who constructs, modifies, or reconstructs an emission facility shall comply with the
New Source Performance Standards, if applicable, orandthe standards of performance for a new emission facility set forth in the
state air pollution control rules.  However,if the administratorhasdetermineda statestandardof performanceto be of equalor
superiorenvironmentalprotectioncomparedto the New SourcePerformanceStandards,then the owner or operatorneedonly
complywith thestatestandardof performance.“Administrator” hasthemeaninggivenin part7007.0100,subpart3.

[For text of subps 3 to 5, see M.R.] 

CONTROL EQUIPMENT

7011.0060 DEFINITIONS. 

[For text of subpart 1, see M.R.] 

Subp. 2.  Hood Capture efficiency. “Hood” meansa shapedinlet to a pollution control systemthat doesnot totally surround
emissionsfrom an emissionsunit, that is designedto captureanddischargethe air emissionsthroughductworkto control equip-
ment, and that conformsto the designand operatingpracticesrecommendedin “Industrial Ventilation - A Manual of
RecommendedPractice,AmericanConferenceof GovernmentalIndustrial Hygienists.” This documentis subjectto frequent
change.A sprayboothcanbea hoodif it meetsthedefinition in this subpart. “Captureefficiency” meansthepercentageof emis-
sionsproducedby aprocessthatarecapturedby anenclosureand/orductworkandtransportedto air pollutioncontrolequipment.

Subp. 3.  Collection efficiency. “Collection efficiency” meansthe percentageof emissionsenteringthe air pollution control
equipmentthatarecollectedby theair pollution controlequipmentandthusremovedfrom theexhauststream. “Collection” per-
tainsto pollutantsthatarecollectedbutmolecularcompositionmayor maynotbechanged.

Subp.3a. Control efficiency. “Control efficiency” hasthemeaninggivento controlequipmentefficiencyin subpart3b.

Subp.3b. Control equipment efficiency. “Control equipmentefficiency” meansthe percentageof emissionsproducedby a
processthatarenot emittedto theatmosphere.Controlequipmentefficiency is equalto theproductof thecaptureefficiencyand
collectionefficiencyor theproductof captureefficiencyanddestructionefficiency.

Subp.3c. Control equipment manufacturer. “Control equipment manufacturer” means a person that manufactures and sells
control equipment, if at least 50 percent of the dollar value of the annual control equipment sales are made to persons who are not a
subsidiary, division, or subdivision of the control equipment manufacturer. 
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Subp.3d. Destruction efficiency. “Destructionefficiency”meansthepercentageof emissionsenteringtheair pollution control

equipmentthataredestroyedby theair pollution controlequipmentandthusremovedfrom theexhauststream.“Destruction”per-
tainsto pollutantsthataredestroyedwherebymolecularcompositionis changed.

Subp.3e. Hood. “Hood” meansa shapedinlet to a pollution control systemthat doesnot totally surroundemissionsfrom an
emissionsunit, that is designedto captureanddischargethe air emissionsthroughductworkto control equipment,andthat con-
forms to the designand operatingpracticesrecommendedin “Industrial Ventilation - A Manual of RecommendedPractice,
AmericanConferenceof GovernmentalIndustrialHygienists.” Thisdocumentis subjectto frequentchange.A sprayboothcanbe
ahoodif it meetsthedefinition in this subpart.

Subp. 4.  Listed control equipment. “Listed control equipment” means the control equipment at a stationary source listed in part
7011.0070, subpart 1, Table A.  

Subp.4a. Testing company. “Testingcompany”meansacorporation,partnership,limited liability company,or soleproprietor-
shipthatconductsevaluationsof hooddesignparametersasanormalpartof its businessactivitiesandthatis not theowneror oper-
atorof theemissionfacility or asubsidiary,division,or subdivisionof theowneror operatorof theemissionfacility.

[For text of subp 5, see M.R.] 

7011.0065 APPLICABILITY. 

Subpart 1.  Applicability. The owner or operator of a stationary source shall comply with parts 7011.0060 to 7011.0080 if the
owner or operator used the control equipment efficiencies for listed control equipment established pursuant to part 7011.0070 to
calculate potential to emit, from emissions units that discharge through the listed control equipment, to: 

A.  determine what type of permit is required, pursuant to part 7007.0150, subpart 4, item B; 

B.  determine what type of amendment to a part 70 or state permit is required, pursuant to part 7007.1200,exceptthatcontrol
efficienciesfor controlequipmentwith hoodsunderpart7011.0070cannotbeused; 

C.  qualify for an insignificant modification under part 7007.1250; or 

D.  qualify for registration permit option D under part 7007.1130. 

[For text of subp 2, see M.R.] 

7011.0070 LISTED CONTROL EQUIPMENT AND CONTROL EQUIPMENT EFFICIENCIES. 

Subpart 1.  Listed control equipment efficiencies. Unless a part 70, state, or general permit specifies a different control effi-
ciency, the owner or operator of a stationary source must at all times attain at least the control efficiency listed in Table A for each
piece of listed control equipment at the stationary source.  The applicable control efficiency for a type of listed control equipment and
a given pollutant is determined by whether air emissions are discharged to the control equipment through a hood or through a total
enclosure.  The control equipment efficiencies in Table A do not apply to any hazardous air pollutant.  The owner or operator of a sta-
tionary source that is subject to the control efficiencies given for hoods in Table A must havea testingcompanyevaluate, on a form
provided by the commissioner, whether the hood conforms to the design and operating practices recommended in “Industrial
Ventilation - A Manual of Recommended Practice, American Conference of Governmental Industrial Hygienists,” and must include
with the permit application the certification required in subpart 3,if thehoodexistsat thetime of application.  If thehooddoesnot
existat the time of application,thenthecertificationrequiredin subpart3 shallbesentto theagencywithin 30 daysafterstart-up.
The form usedto evaluatewhetherthe hood conformsto the designand operatingpracticesshall containthe elementslisted in
subpart4. If the hooddesigndoesnot conformto the recommendationsof the manual,the owneror operatorshall submita plan
within 60daysof start-updescribingeitherchangeof thehooddesignsothatit doesconformor howthehoodcaptureefficiencyshall
bedetermined.Nothingin this partshallbeconstruedto allow theowneror operatorof anemissionfacility to violateanapplicable
requirementor compliancedocument.Hoodsevaluatedprior to theeffectivedateof thispartusingaform whosecontentsdiffer from
that in subpart4 arenot requiredto reevaluatetheir hoods,unlessrequestedby thecommissionerto demonstratecontinuedconfor-
mity with thedesignandoperatingpracticesdescribedin themanual.A copyof thehoodevaluationform shallbekeptonsite.
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CONTROL EQUIPMENT EFFICIENCY-TABLE A 

ID# CONTROL EQUIPMENT DESCRIPTION POLLUTANT CONTROL
EFFICIENCY

TOTAL HOOD
ENCLO-
SURE

PM CONTROL CATEGORY-CYCLONES
means a device where airflow
is forced to spin in a vortex
through a tube

007 Centrifugal Collector PM,PM-10 80% 64%
(cyclone)-high efficiency
means:  a cyclonic device
with parameters stated in
drawing 1 and table 1

008 Centrifugal Collector PM,PM-10 50% 40%
(cyclone)-medium efficiency
means:  a cyclonic device
with parameters stated in
drawing 1 and table 1

009 Centrifugal Collector PM,PM-10 10% 8%
(cyclone)-low efficiency
means:  a cyclonic device
with parameters stated in
drawing 1 and table 1

076 Multiple Cyclone without PM,PM-10 80% NA
Fly Ash Reinjection means:
a cyclonic device with more
than one tube where fly ash
is not reinjected

077 Multiple Cyclone with Fly PM,PM-10 50% NA
Ash Reinjection means:  a
cyclonic device with more
than one tube where fly ash
is reinjected

085 Wet Cyclone Separator or PM,PM-10 50% 40%
Cyclonic Scrubbers means:
a cyclonic device that sprays
water into a cyclone
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012 PM CONTROL CATEGORY-

ELECTROSTATIC PRECIPITATORS
means:  a control device in
which the incoming particulate
matter receives an electrical
charge and is then collected
on a surface with the opposite
electrical charge

-assumed efficiency for boiler PM-10 40% NA
fly ash control

-assumed efficiency for other PM-10 70% 56%
applications

PM CONTROL CATEGORY-OTHER CONTROLS

016, Fabric Filter means:  a PM,PM-10 99% 79%
017, control device in which the
018 incoming gas stream passes

through a porous fabric filter
forming a dust cake

052 Spray Tower means:  a control PM,PM-10 20% 16%
device in which the incoming gas
stream passes through a chamber
in which it contacts a liquid
spray

053 Venturi Scrubber means:  a PM,PM-10 90% 72%
control device in which the
incoming gas stream passes through
a venturi into which a low
pressure liquid is introduced

055 Impingement Plate Scrubber PM,PM-10 25% 20%
means:  a control device in
which the incoming gas stream
passes a liquid spray and is
then directed at high velocity
into a plate

058A HEPA and Wall PM,PM-10 92% 74%
058B Filter means:  a

control device in which the
exiting gas stream passes
through a panel of coarse fibers.
Other Wall Filters
means removable panels for
cleaning and replacement,
or liquid curtains for
particulate removal that
provide little
resistance to air flow
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VOC CONTROL CATEGORY

019 Afterburners (thermal or VOC 95% 57%
catalytic oxidation) means:
a device used to reduce VOCs
to the products of combustion
through thermal (high temperature)
oxidation or catalytic (use of
a catalyst) oxidation in a
combustion chamber

023 Flaring or Direct Combustor VOC 98% 59%
means:  a device in which air,
combustible organic waste gases,
and supplementary fuel (if needed)
react in the flame zone (e.g.,
at the flare tip) to destroy the VOCs

Drawing 1

Table 1
Cyclone Type

Ratio High Medium Low
Dimensions Efficiency Efficiency Efficiency

Height of
inlet, H/D £0.44 >0.44 and <0.8 ³0.8

Width of
inlet, W/D £0.2 >0.2 and <0.375 ³0.375

Diameter of
gas exit, De/D £0.4 >0.4 and <0.75 ³0.75

Length of
vortex
finder, S/D £0.5 >0.5 and <0.875 ³0.875

If one or more of the “ratio dimensions,” as listed in table 1, are in a different efficiency category (high, medium, low), then the
lowest efficiency category shall be applied. 

[For text of subps 2 and 3, see M.R.] 

Subp.4. Contents of hood evaluation form.Thehoodevaluationform requiredin subpart1 shall include:
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A. hooddimensionsrecommendedby themanual;

B. designcapturevelocityandjustificationfor useof this velocityanda list of themanualpagesreliedon;

C. minimumrecommendedair flow into hood;

D. recommendedhoodfacevelocityor slot velocity,and,if applicable,plenumandductvelocity;

E. capturevelocity testplan;and

F. actualvaluesof designparameterslisted in itemsA to D, aswell a fan rotationspeedor fan powerdraw asdetermined
throughtesting.

7011.0075 LISTEDCONTROL EQUIPMENT GENERAL REQUIREMENTS. 

Subpart 1.  Operation of control equipment. The owner or operator of a stationary source shall operate all listed control equip-
ment located at the stationary source whenever operating the emission units controlled by the listed control equipment in compli-
ance with parts 7011.0060 to 7011.0080.  Unless specifically allowed by a part 70, state, or general permit, each piece of listed
control equipment,with theexceptionof low-temperaturefabric filters (ID #018)usingvisibleemissionsasthemonitoringparame-
ter underpart7011.0080,shall at all times be operated in the range established by the control equipment manufacturer’s specifica-
tions for each monitoring parameter listed in part 7011.0080, or within the operating parameters set by the commissioner as the
result of the most recent performance test conducted to determine control efficiency under parts 7017.2001 to 7017.2060 if those
are more restrictive. 

The owner or operatorwith fabric filters (ID #016,#017,#018) using pressuredrop as the monitoring parameterunderpart
7011.0080andapplyingfor a registrationpermit,mayrequestanalternativerangeto thecontrolequipmentmanufacturer’sspecifi-
cations,if theproposedrangeis basedon two yearsof compliantmonitoringdatasuppliedwith therequest.Theproposedoperat-
ing rangeshallbedeemedacceptableunlesstheowneror operatoris notified otherwisein writing within 30 daysof receiptby the
commissioner.Thecommissionershalldenyarequestfor analternativemonitoringparameterrangeif thecommissionerfinds that:

A. anowneror operatorhasfailedto disclosefully all factsrelevantto theproposedmonitoringparameterrangeof thecontrol
deviceor theowneror operatorhasknowinglysubmittedfalseor misleadinginformationto theagency;

B. operationof thecontroldevicein themonitoringparameterrangeproposedby theowneror operatorwould resultin non-
compliancewith applicablerequirements,endangerhumanhealthor theenvironment,or subjectthestationarysourceto different
applicablerequirementsor requirementsunderchapter7007;or

C. theproposedrangeis not supportedby thedatasuppliedwith therequest.

[For text of subps 2 to 4, see M.R.] 

Subp. 5.  Deviation of listed control equipment from operating specifications.The owner or operator of a stationary source
shall report to the commissioner in accordance with the deadlines in part 7007.0800, subpart 6, item A, subitem (2), any recorded
reading outside the specification or range of specification allowed by subpart 1 of any monitored operating parameter required by
part 7011.0080, except that owners or operators with a registration permit option D to which parts 7011.0060 to 7011.0080 apply
shall make this report only if a deviation occurred in the reporting period.  Ownersor operatorsof low-temperaturefabric control
equipment(ID #018)usingvisible emissionsasthemonitoringparameterunderpart7011.0080shall reportanyvisible emissions
observedfrom thecontrolequipmentasadeviation.

[For text of subps 6 and 7, see M.R.] 

7011.0080 MONITORING AND RECORDKEEPING FOR LISTED CONTROL EQUIPMENT.  

The owner and operator of a stationary source shall comply with the monitoring and recordkeeping required for listed control
equipment by the table in this part.  The owner or operator shall maintain the records required by this part for a minimum of five
years from the date the record was made.  For hoods, the owner shall maintain at the stationary source the evaluation of each hood
required in part 7011.0070, as well as a monthlyyearly record of the fan rotation speed, fan power draw, or face velocity of each
hood, or other comparable air flow indication method. 
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EPA Pollution Control Monitoring Recordkeeping
Identifi- Equipment Type Parameter(s) Requirement
cation
Number(s)

007, 008, Centrifugal Pressure drop Record pressure
009, 076, collector drop every 24
077 (cyclone) hours if in

operation

011A, 011B, Electrostatic Primaryand Recordeach
012A, 012B precipitator secondary parameterevery

voltage; 24hoursif in
primaryand operation
secondary Recordthe
current; minimumnumber
sparkingrate; of fieldson
andNumber linefor every
of fields 24-hourtime
on-line block,if in

operation

016,017 Fabric filter Pressure drop Record pressure
(bag house),high drop every 24
temperature hours if in
(T>250°F), operation
medium
temperature
(180°F>
T>250°F)

018 Fabricfilter Pressuredrop Recordpressure
(baghouse), or visible dropevery24
low temperature emissions hoursif in
(T>180°F) observation operation;or

from filter Recordwhether
outletduring anyvisible
anentire emissionsare
cleaning observedandthe
cycle;unless timeperiodof
the observation
commissioner every24hours
specifies if in
pressuredrop operation;or
and/orvisible recordbothif
emissionsas thecommissioner
theindicator(s) requires
of fabric monitoringof
filter bothparameters
performance
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052 Spray tower Liquid flow Record each

rate and parameter every
pressure drop 24 hours if

in operation

053, 055 Venturi scrubber, Pressure drop Record each
impingement plate and liquid parameter every
scrubber flow rate 24 hours if

in operation

058A, 058B HEPA and other Condition of Record of
wall filters the filters, filter(s)

including, but condition every
not limited 24 hours if
to, alignment, in operation
saturation,
and tears
and holes

085 Wet cyclone Pressure drop; Record each
separator and water parameter every

pressure 24 hours if
in operation

019 Thermal Combustion Continuous hard
incinerator temperature or copy readout of

inlet and temperatures or
outlet manual readings
temperatures every 15 minutes

019 Catalytic Inlet and Continuous hard
incinerator outlet copy readout

temperatures; of temperatures
and catalyst or manual
bed reactivity readings every
as per 15 minutes; and
manufacturer’s results of
specifications catalyst bed

reactivity

023 Flaring Temperature Continuous hard
indicating copy readout
presence of of temperatures
a flame or manual

readings
every 15
minutes

7011.0120 OPACITY STANDARD ADJUSTMENT.  

Subpart 1.  Application for permit modification. An owner or operator of an emission facility may file an application for a
permit modification under parts7005.0200to 7005.0280chapter7007for adjustment of the opacity standard applicable to an emis-
sions unit.  In addition to the items required under parts7005.0200to 7005.0280chapter7007, the application must contain data
that demonstrates that:  

[For text of items A to C, see M.R.] 

[For text of subps 2 and 3, see M.R.] 
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7011.0900 DEFINITIONS.  

[For text of subps 1 to 4, see M.R.] 

Subp. 5.  New hot mix asphalt plant. “New hot mix asphalt plant” means a hot mix asphalt plant that commences construction,
modification, or reconstruction,asdefinedin Codeof FederalRegulations, title 40,section60.2,after June 11, 1973, and includes
all hot mix asphalt plants subject to the new source performance standards incorporated by reference in part 7011.0909. 

7011.1005 STANDARDS OF PERFORMANCE FOR DRY BULK AGRICULTURAL COMMODITY FACILITIES. 

[For text of subpart 1, see M.R.] 

Subp. 2.  Federal requirements. The owner, operator, or other person who conducts activities at a grain terminal elevator or
grain storage elevator, of which construction, modification, or reconstruction commenced,as defined in Codeof Federal
Regulations, title 40, section60.2,after August 3, 1978, shall meet the requirements of Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, part
60, subpart DD, as amended, entitled “Standards of Performance for Grain Elevators,” which is adopted and incorporated by refer-
ence, except that decisions made by the administrator under Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, section 60.302(d)(3), are not del-
egated to the commissioner and must be made by the administrator. 

Subp. 3.  Prohibited discharges. A commodity facility that is not required to be controlled under subpart 2 must be controlled if
the facility meets one of the descriptions listed in part 7011.1015 where the table indicates “control required.”  For a facility where
control is required under this section, no owner, operator, or other person who conducts activities at the facility may allow: 

A.  a discharge of fugitive emissions that exhibit greater than five percent opacity from a truck unloading station, railcar
unloading station, railcar loading station, or handling operation; 

B.  a discharge of fugitive emissions that exhibit greater than ten percent opacity from a truck loading station; 

C.  a discharge of fugitive emissions that exhibit greater than 20 percent opacity from a ship or barge loading or unloading
station, except that during trimming or topping-off, when normal loading procedures cannot be used, no opacity standard applies; and

D.  a discharge of particulate matter from control equipment thatexceedsthelimits setforth in part7011.0735or that exhibits
greater than ten percent opacity,exceptthatfacilitiesconstructedprior to January1, 1984,with anannualcommoditythroughputof
more than 180,000tons and locatedin an unincorporatedareaor in a city with a populationof lessthan 7,500,outsidethe
Minneapolis-SaintPaulAir QualityControlRegion,is in complianceif thecontrolequipmenthasacollectionefficiencyof not less
than85percentby weight.; and

E. adischargeof particulatematterfrom controlequipmentthathasacollectionefficiencyof lessthan80percentby weight.

Subp. 4.  Capture systems and control equipment.The owner or operator of a commodity facility not required to control emis-
sions under subpart 2 or 3 is not required to install capture systems and control equipment but shall unload, handle, clean, dry, and
load commodities to minimize fugitive emissions to a level consistent with RACT.  If a capture system is used, the particulate
matter must be conveyed through control equipment that has a collection efficiency of not less than 8580percent by weight. 

[For text of subp 5, see M.R.] 

7011.1500 DEFINITIONS. 

Subpart 1.  Scope.As used in parts 7011.1500 to 7011.1515 the following words shall have the meanings defined herein.  

Subp.1a. Commenced. “Commenced”hasthemeaninggivenin Codeof FederalRegulations, title 40,section60.2.

[For text of subps 2 to 14, see M.R.] 

7011.3500 DEFINITIONS. 

[For text of subps 1 and 2, see M.R.] 

Subp. 3.  Existing landfill. “Existing landfill” means a landfill that has accepted waste for disposal at any time since November
8, 1987, or has additional solid waste capacity available for future waste disposal, and for which construction, reconstruction, or
modification was commenced,asdefinedin Codeof FederalRegulations, title 40,section60.2,before May 30, 1991. 

[For text of subp 4, see M.R.] 
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Subp. 5.  [See repealer.] 

[For text of subp 6, see M.R.] 

7011.3505 STANDARDS OF PERFORMANCE FOR EXISTING MUNICIPAL SOLID WASTE LANDFILLS. 

[For text of subps 1 to 3, see M.R.] 

Subp. 4.  Reporting requirements. The owner or operator of a landfill shall submit the reports required by Code of Federal
Regulations, title 40, sections 60.752(a), 60.757(a)(1), 60.757(a)(3), and 60.757(b)(1)(i), on the following schedule. 

A.  The owner or operator of an active landfill, and the owner or operator of a closed existing landfill with a solid waste capac-
ity greater than or equal to 2.5 million megagrams, orand2.5 million cubic meters, shall submit an initial solid waste capacity
report no later than the submittal of the next annual report required by part 7035.2585. 

B.  The owner or operator of an active landfill that proposes to increase the total solid waste capacity to greater than or equal
to 2.5 million megagrams, orand2.5 million cubic meters, shall submit an amended solid waste capacity report no later than the
submittal of the solid waste management facility permit application that proposes an increase in permitted capacity. 

C.  The owner or operator of a landfill that must submit an NMOC emission rate report to comply with Code of Federal
Regulations, title 40, section 60.757(b), shall submit the initial NMOC emission rate report no later than the submittal of the next
annual report required by part 7035.2585 or the submittal of the solid waste management facility permit application that proposes an
increase in permitted capacity, whichever occurs earlier. 

Subp. 5.  Compliance times for equipment installation. Each owner or operator of an existing landfill with a design capacity
greater than or equal to 2.5 million megagrams, orand2.5 million cubic meters, and with an NMOC emission rate of 50 megagrams
per year or more, shall complete installation of gas collection and control equipment capable of meeting the conditions provided in
Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, section 60.752(b)(2)(ii), within 30 months after January 28, 1997.  The owner or operator of
an existing landfill with a design capacity greater than or equal to 2.5 million megagrams, orand2.5 million cubic meters, and an
NMOC emission rate less than 50 megagrams per year on January 28, 1997, shall comply with this part within 30 months of the
date of the first NMOC emission rate that equals or exceeds 50 megagrams per year. 

[For text of subps 6 and 7, see M.R.] 

7019.1000 NOTIFICATIONS OF DEVIATIONS WHICH ENDANGER HUMAN HEALTH OR THE ENVIRON-
MENT; SHUTDOWNS AND BREAKDOWNS.  

Subpart 1.  Notification of deviations which endanger human health or the environment.The owner or operator of an emission
facility, in the event of any deviation, as defined in part 7007.0100, subpart 8a, which could endanger human health or the environment,
shall notify, orally or inwriting by facsimile, the commissioner or the state duty officer assoonaspossibleimmediatelyafter discovery
of the deviation orimmediatelyafterwhenthedeviationreasonablyshouldhavebeendiscoveredby theowneror operator.  Within two
working days of the discovery, the owner or operator shall submit to the commissioner a written description of the deviation stating:  

A.  the cause of the deviation; 

B.  the exact dates of the period of the deviation, if the deviation has been corrected; 

C.  whether or not the deviation has been corrected; 

D.  the anticipated time by which the deviation is expected to be corrected, if not yet corrected; and 

E.  steps taken or planned to reduce, eliminate, and prevent reoccurrence of the deviation.  

[For text of subps 2 to 5, see M.R.] 

Subp. 6.  Definitions. “Applicable requirement” has the meaning given in part 7007.0100, subpart 7.  “Compliance document” has
the meaning given in part 7017.2005, subpart 2.  “Immediately”meansassoonaspossibleconsideringplantandpersonnelsafety.

[For text of subp 7, see M.R.] 

7025.0210 DEFINITIONS. 

[For text of subps 1 to 11, see M.R.] 

Subp. 12.  Owner. “Owner” means a person, organization, corporation, or governmental or political entity, and its employees, to
whom a steel structure belongs and who performs paint removal from the structure or who contracts for its removal,or the repre-
sentativeof theownerwhoperformsidentificationof leadin paintor notification. 

[For text of subps 13 to 16, see M.R.] 

Subp.16a. Representative of the owner.“Representativeof theowner” meansanyperson,organization,corporation,contrac-
tor, or otherentity andits employees,who performsor exercisescontroloveranyportionof a projectsubjectto theprovisionsof
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parts7025.0200to 7025.0380.This includes,but is not limited to, projectdesignandspecifications,identificationandtestingof
paint,projectnotifications,andprojectoversightor supervision.

[For text of subps 17 to 20, see M.R.] 

Subp.20a. Water body. “Water body” meansany river, stream,lake,pond,marsh,watercourse,waterway,spring,reservoir,
drainageditch,andanyotherbodyof surfacewaterthatis containedwithin, flows through,or borderson thestate.

[For text of subps 21 to 24, see M.R.] 

7025.0230 IDENTIFICATION OF LEAD IN PAINT. 

Subpart 1.  Testing required. An owner,or representativeof theowner,shall test a coating for total lead concentration, using the
methods required by this part, before the owner or contractor removes the coating from the exterior of a steel structure, except as
provided in subpart 2, items A and C, unless removal is to be conducted inside a building.  Theownerof asteelstructureshallretain
painttestrecordsfor aminimumof threeyears.

[For text of subp 2, see M.R.] 

Subp. 3.  Calculation of lead concentration. Where samples are analyzed from different parts of one structure, the calculation
of lead concentration for the structure is the sum of the following product for each of the samples: 

surface area of part represented Pb concentration of
by sample as a percent of total x sample (% or mg/cm2)
surface area of structure 

such that: 

(areaA x PbA) + (areaB x PbB) +...+ 

(areaN x PbN) = lead concentration (% or mg/cm2) 

where “A,” “B,” “N” are sample areas; “area” is the surface area of the part of the structure expressed in whole percent of total
surface area, so that the sum of all surface areas is equal to 100 percent; and “Pb” is the concentration of total lead expressed in
percent asadecimalor the weight of lead per surface area expressed in mg/cm2 dividedby 100. 

7025.0240 NOTIFICATION. 

Subpart 1.  Notice required. The owner,or representativeof theowner,of a steel structure or the owner,or representativeof the
owner,of a painting facility shall provide notice as described in items A and B at least ten working days before the start of removal
of lead paint from a total exterior surface area greater than 500 square feet on one steel structure or on more than one steel structure
at one location during one calendar year.  Stationarypaintingfacilities that have applied for an MPCAair quality permit as required
by chapter 7007, permits and offsets rules, becauseof whoseonly emissions onlyaredue to paint removal and repainting opera-
tions, are exempt from notification. 

A.  The owner,or representativeof theowner,must give written notice as required in subpart 2 to the adult residents of buildings,
and to the owner or administrator of any child care or school buildings, within a distance to a single steel structure of 50 feet or twice
the height of the structure, whichever is greater, but notto exceed500feet. Notification is requiredwithin 200 feet of a bridge portion.
For multiple storage structures at one location, this distance is equal to the sum of the heights of individual structures from which lead
paint is removed during one year, not to exceed 200 feet.  The owner,or representativeof theowner,must mail or deliver the notice to
the owner or administrator of a child care or school building.  The owner,or representativeof theowner,must mail, deliver, or put on
or under the door of each residence one notice for each single-family building and one notice for each unit of a multiunit building. 

If theowner,or representativeof theowner,postponesthebeginningof paintremovalmorethanfive workingdaysfrom thedate
statedin thewrittennoticesrequiredby thissubpart,theowner,or representativeof theowner,shallredistributeeachof thenotices
with therevisedschedulefor paintremovalwithin five workingdaysof theoriginal startingdate.

B.  The owner,or representativeof theowner,must mail, facsimile, or deliver written notice to the commissioner as required
in subpart 3.  Anycorrectionsto theinformationprovidedin thenoticeshallbemadein writing andreceivedby thecommissioner
no later than the datethe changeis initiated. However,a changeof the projectstartingdateto an earlierstartingdaterequires
advancenotificationof tenworkingdays.
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If the owner,or contractorrepresentativeof theowner,postpones the beginning of paint removal morethanfive working days

from the date stated in the originalwritten noticesrequiredby thissubpart,theownershall,within thosefive days,redistributeeach
of thenoticeswith therevisedschedulefor paint removal.notice,the commissioner must be renotified before the original starting
date of paint removal by a supplemental notice withthe revisedschedule.Theowner,or representativeof theowner,shallmail,
facsimile,or deliveramendednotificationsto thecommissioner. 

[For text of subp 2, see M.R.] 

Subp. 3.  Contents of notice to commissioner.The notice required in subpart 1, item B, shall include: 

[For text of items A to F, see M.R.] 

G.  a copy of the notice given to the adult residents and to the owner or administrator in subparts 1 and 2, with a list of
addresses,within thedistancerequiredby subpart1, that received notification; 

H.  the paint removal methods and the containment methods the owner or contractor intendsto will use to comply with parts
7025.0260 to 7025.0300, 7025.0320 to 7025.0350, and 7025.0360 to 7025.0370; 

[For text of items I and J, see M.R.] 

Any correctionsto theinformationprovidedin thenoticeshallbemadein writing by a supplementalnoticethat theownershall
mail, facsimile,or deliverto thecommissioner.

7025.0310 CLASSIFICATION OF STORAGE STRUCTURES. 

[For text of subpart 1, see M.R.] 

Subp. 2.  Class of pollution control. The class of pollution control necessary for lead paint removal from the storage structure is
provided by the table in subpart 3.  The class of pollution control is determined by the designated use of receptor properties, the dis-
tance to receptor properties, and a factor of potential risk for paint removal from the structure, where: 

[For text of items A and B, see M.R.] 

C.  “Risk factor (RF)” is the calculation of potential risk for the steel structure and the values in the table in subpart 3 are the
standards of risk factor for the designated properties. 

Risk factor (RF) is the product of three variables: 

(1) concentration of total lead in the exterior coatings of the steel structure, expressed in wholepercent (%) asa decimal
or the weight of lead per surface area expressed in mg/cm2 dividedby 100;:

(a) for structureslessthan15 feetin height,theconcentrationor weightis dividedby one;

(b) for structures15 feetor more,but lessthan50 feetin height,theconcentrationor weightis dividedby ten;and

(c) for structures50 feetor morein height,theconcentrationor weightis dividedby 100;

[For text of subitems (2) and (3), see M.R.] 

[For text of item D, see M.R.] 
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Subp. 3.  Table of required class of pollution control.

Receptor Property

Residential, Child Care, Playground, or School
Property (A)

Risk Factor (RF) £ < 100 ³ 100 ³ 100

and or and

Distance (ft) ³ > 300 £ 300 £ 300
__________________________________________________________________________

Class I II III

Protected Natural Area, or Public Use Area, 
or Commercial Property (B)

Risk Factor (RF) £ < 200 ³ 200 ³ 200

and or and

Distance (ft) ³ > 200 £ 200 £ 200
__________________________________________________________________________

Class I II III

Industrial or Agricultural Property (C)

Risk Factor (RF) £ < 300 ³ 300 ³ 300

and or and

Distance (ft) ³ > 100 £ 100 £ 100
__________________________________________________________________________

Class I II III

7025.0340 CLASS II STORAGE STRUCTURE. 

[For text of subpart 1, see M.R.] 

Subp. 2.  Wet abrasive blasting. If wet abrasive blasting is used to remove lead paint, the owner or contractor shall use the
methods required in part 7025.0330, subparts 2 to 6,exceptcurtainsusedmustbe ratedby the manufacturerat not lessthan85
percentimpermeable.  The owner or contractor shall use an amount of water such that dispersal of particulate matter is suppressed
without loss of waste material from the ground cover by runoff. 

[For text of subp 3, see M.R.] 

Subp. 4.  Dry abrasive blasting within total enclosure. If dry abrasive blasting within a total enclosure is used to remove lead
paint, the owner or contractor shall use the methods required in part 7025.0330, subparts 2 to 6, except that the owner or contractor
shall totally enclose the structure with materialratedby themanufactureratnot lessthan100percentimpermeable materialsduring
lead paint removal from all parts of the steel structure, including the top surfaces. 

REPEALER. MinnesotaRules, parts7005.0100,subpart4a; 7007.0100,subpart28; 7011.0800;7011.0805;7011.0815;
7011.0820;7011.0825;and7011.3500,subpart5, arerepealed.
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Board of Marriage and Family Therapy 
Adopted Permanent Rules Relating to Licensing Requirements 

The rules proposed and published at State Register, Volume 23, Number 4, pages 234-244, July 27, 1998 (23 SR 234), are
adopted with the following modifications: 

5300.0100 DEFINITIONS.  

Subp. 13.  Sexual contact. “Sexual contact” means any of the following, whether or not occurring with the consent of a person
with whom such conduct is prohibited by law or rule specificallybecausethepersonis a licenseeor applicantfor licensure: 

5300.0250 RECIPROCITY.  

Subpart 1.  Other states or countries recognized.The board shall issue a marriage and family therapist license to an individual
who holds a current license as a marriage and family therapist from another state or country if the board determines that the stan-
dards for licensure in effect when the individual was licensed in the other state or country are at least equivalent to or exceed the
current requirements for licensure in Minnesota.  If an applicant for licensure by reciprocity was licensed in another state or country
without passing the written examination specified in part 5300.0240, subpart 3, but meets all other Minnesota requirements, the
applicant may submit an application for licensure by reciprocity after passing the examination according to part 5300.0240, subpart
6.  All applicants for licensure by reciprocity must pass the oralstateexamination specified in part 5300.0240, subpart 4.  

5300.0360 FEES. 

The following fees in items A to K are nonrefundable and must be paid by cash or in the form of check, bank draft, or money
order, made payable to the Board of Marriage and Family Therapy, University Park Plaza Building, 2829 University Avenue SE,
Suite 330, Minneapolis, MN 55414-3222:  

B.  written examination fee, determinedby theexaminationsuppliernot to exceed$250; 
F.  annual renewal of license fee notto exceed$150with thefeedeterminedannuallyby theboardat its regularJunemeeting, $115; 
J.  penalty fee, $75; and
K.  duplicate license fee, $25;and
L. annualemerituslicensefee,$30.  

The written examination fee in item B will be determined by the professional examination service approved by the Association
for Marriage and Family Therapy Regulatory Boards administering the examination. 

The initial license fee in item D will be prorated accordingly, depending on the month in which the applicant is approved for
licensure.

Minnesota Racing Commission 
Adopted Permanent Rules Governing Pari-mutuel Betting on Horse Racing

The rules proposed and published at State Register, Volume 23, Number 17, pages 877-882, October 26, 1998 (23 SR 877), are
adopted as proposed.

Adopted Rules
A rule becomes effective after the requirements of Minnesota Statutes §§ 14.05-14.28 have been met and five working days after the rule

is published in the State Register, unless a later date is required by statutes or specified in the rule.

If an adopted rule is identical to its proposed form as previously published, a notice of adoption and a citation to its previous State
Register publication will be printed.

If an adopted rule differs from its proposed form, language which has been deleted will be printed with strikeouts and new language will
be underlined.  The rule's previous State Register publication will be cited.

Exempt Rules
An exempt rule adopted under Minnesota Statutes §§ 14.386 or 14.388 is effective upon its publication in the State Register.

Emergency Expedited Rules
Provisions for the Commissioner of Natural Resources to adopt emergency expedited Game and Fish Rules are specified in Minnesota

Statutes §§ 84.027.  The commissioner may adopt emergency expedited rules when conditions exist that do not allow the Commissioner to com-
ply with the requirements for emergency rules.  The Commissioner must submit the rule to the attorney general for review and must publish a
notice of adoption that includes a copy of the rule and the emergency conditions.  Emergency expedited rules are effective upon publication in
the State Register, and may be effective up to seven days before publication under certain emergency conditions.  Emergency expedited rules are
effective for the period stated or up to 18 months.
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Department of Labor and Industry 
Adopted Exempt Permanent Rules Relating to Occupational Safety and Health; Adoption of

Federal Standards by Reference 
The rules proposed and published at State Register, Volume 23, Number 19, pages 1188-1189, November 9, 1998 (23 SR 1188),

are adopted as proposed.

Department of Labor and Industry
Occupational Safety and Health Division

Correction to Proposed Exempt Permanent Rules Relating to Occupational Safety and Health;
Adoption of Federal Standards by Reference

The Monday, November 9 issue of the State Register, Vol. 23, Number 19, pg. 1188, contained a typographical error in the
Proposal Notice for the Department of Labor and Industry, Proposed Exempt Permanent Rules Relating to Occupational Safety and
Health; Adoption of Federal Standards by Reference.  In paragraph (A) under Summary of Changes, the reference to 1926.1001
should have read 1926.1101.

Exempt Rules
Exempt rules are excluded from the normal rulemaking procedures (Minnesota Statutes§§ 14.386 and 14.388).  They are most often of

two kinds.  One kind is specifically exempted by the Legislature from rulemaking procedures, but approved for form by the Revisor of
Statutes, reviewed for legality by the Office of Administrative Hearings, and then published in the State Register.  These exempt rules are
effective for two years only.

The second kind of exempt rule is one adopted where an agency for good cause finds that the rulemaking provisions of Minnesota
Statutes, Chapter 14 are unnecessary, impracticable, or contrary to the public interest.  This exemption can be used only where the rules:

(1) address a serious and immediate threat to the public health, safety, or welfare, or
(2) comply with a court order or a requirement in federal law in a manner that does not allow for compliance with 

Minnesota Statutes§§ 14.14-14.28, or
(3) incorporate specific changes set forth in applicable statutes when no interpretation of law is required, or
(4) make changes that do not alter the sense, meaning, or effect of the rules.
These exempt rules are also reviewed for form by the Revisor of Statutes, for legality by the Office of Administrative Hearings and then

published in the State Register.  In addition, the Office of Administrative Hearings must determine whether the agency has provided adequate
justification for the use of this exemption.  Rules adopted under clauses (1) or (2) above are effective for two years only.

The Legislature may also exempt an agency from the normal rulemaking procedures and establish other procedural and substantive
requirements unique to that exemption.
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Minnesota State Agricultural Society
Minnesota State Fair

Meeting Notice
The 140th annual meeting of the Minnesota State Agricultural Society, governing body of the State Fair, will be held January 15,

16 and 17 at the Radisson South Hotel in Bloomington.  The society’s general business session is scheduled for 8 a.m. Sunday
January 17 at the Radisson South, followed by a meeting of the society’s board of managers.

Complete programs of all scheduled events will be available at the hotel.

Department of Agriculture 
Agronomy & Plant Protection Services Division

Notice of Date Change of Minnesota Agricultural Response Compensation Board Meeting
Notice of date change for the Minnesota Agricultural Chemical Response Compensation Board (ACRRA Board) meeting scheduled

for January 20, 1999.  The re-scheduled ACRRA Board meeting will convene on January 25, 1997, at 9:00 a.m.  This meeting will
be held at Minnesota Department of Agriculture, 90 West Plato Boulevard, St. Paul, Minnesota (Conference Room - 1).

Should you require additional information, please call the ACRRA Program at (651) 297-3490.

Department of Finance
Cash and Debt Management Division

Notice of Available Tax Exempt Bonding Authority
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN pursuant to Minnesota Statute 474A.14 that on January 1, 1999 the total sum of $236,270,000 of

tax exempt bonding authority was available for calendar year 1999.  Of this amount, $64,193,000 was available for the Small Issue
Pool; $60,117,000 was available for the Housing Pool; $10,699,000 was available for the Public Facilities Pool; and $101,261,000
was available for entitlement issuers.

Available tax exempt bonding authority for entitlement issuers in 1999 consists of $16,048,000 for the City of Saint Paul;
$21,398,000 for the City of Minneapolis; $53,116,000 for the Minnesota Housing Finance Agency; and $10,699,000 for Dakota
County.  For further information please contact Mr. Lee Mehrkens at (651) 296-1700.

Wayne Simoneau
Commissioner

Official Notices
Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes §§ 14.101, an agency must first solicit comments from the public on the subject matter of a possible rule-

making proposal under active consideration within the agency by publishing a notice in the State Register at least 60 days before publication
of a notice to adopt or a notice of hearing, and within 60 days of the effective date of any new statutory grant of required rulemaking.

The State Register also publishes other official notices of state agencies and non-state agencies, including notices of meetings and matters
of public interest.
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Department of Health
Family and Provider Compliance

Interagency Long Term Care Planning Committee

Request for Nominations for Advisory Review Panel
The Interagency Long Term Care Planning Committee (INTERCOM) is requesting nominations to the Advisory Review Panel

for reviewing proposals for exceptions to the Nursing Home Moratorium Law (Minnesota Statutes, section 144A.071).  
The Advisory Review Panel consists of five members:  two representatives from organizations that represent consumers of nursing
home services; two representatives from organizations representing providers of nursing home services; and one who has a 
background in long-term care and either accounting, engineering, building construction, or design.  An advisory review panel
member may serve two consecutive terms.  A term on the advisory review panel begins the first working day after the vote of the
INTERCOM appointing a person to the panel.

Three of the positions on the panel are for three-year terms - one represents consumers of nursing home services, one represents
providers of nursing home services, and one position is that with a background in long term care and either accounting, engineering,
building construction, or design.  These terms expired in December 1998.

A member of the advisory review panel must be nominated.  Anyone can nominate an advisory review panel member.  A nomi-
nation must be written, must state the name and address of the nominee, must include a description of the nominee’s professional
experience and training, and must state the position for which the person is being nominated.  Questions may be directed to Maggie
Friend, (651) 215-8726, or Mary Cahill, (651) 215-8725, at Minnesota Department of Health, Facility and Provider Compliance
Division, P.O. Box 64900, St. Paul, Minnesota 55164-0900.

Nominations must be received no later than 4:00 p.m., Friday, January 29, 1999 by:

Linda Sutherland
INTERCOM
85 East Seventh Place
P.O. Box 64900
St. Paul, MN 55164-0900

Pollution Control Agency
Policy and Planning Division

Public Notice and Opportunity to Comment on Proposed Revisions to Minnesota’s State Plan
Governing Landfill Gas Emissions from Existing Municipal Solid Waste Landfills

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN, that the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency (MPCA) intends to revise its State Plan to control
landfill gas emissions from existing landfills by incorporating new rule amendments governing landfill gas emissions from existing
municipal solid waste landfills.  The rule amendments are proposed for adoption in this State Registeras part of the notice entitled
“NOTICE OF INTENT TO ADOPT A RULE WITHOUT A PUBLIC HEARING:  Proposed Miscellaneous Amendments to Air
Quality Rules, chapters 7005 (Definitions), 7007 (Permits), 7009 (Ambient Air Quality Standards), 7011 (Standards of Performance
for Stationary Sources), 7019 (Reporting) and 7025 (Lead Paint Removal)”.  The landfill gas emissions rules are in Chapter 7011
(Standards of Performance for Stationary Sources).

The MPCA intends to submit the revised State Plan to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), in accordance with the
Code of Federal Regulationsat 40 CFR pt. 60, subp. B.  The revised State Plan contains the rule amendments, upon adoption, and
proof of public participation.

You have 30 days to submit written comments on the amended State Plan.  Comments should be restricted to the amended State
Plan.  Opportunity to comment on the rule amendments governing municipal solid waste landfills is provided in the State Register
notice mentioned above.
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MPCA Contact Person:  Written comments on the amended State Plan must be received by the MPCA by 4:30 p.m.,

Wednesday, February 10, 1999, and should be submitted to the MPCA contact person as follows:  If interested persons wish to
receive a copy of the amended State Plan or have comments or questions on the amended State Plan contact: 

Margaret McCourtney
Modeling & Standards
Environmental Outcomes Division
Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
520 Lafayette Road North
St. Paul, Minnesota 55155-4194
1-800-657-3843 (MN Toll Free)
Telephone:  (651) 297-7894   FAX:  (651) 297-7709
E-mail:  margaret.mccourtney@pca.state.mn.us

Request for Meeting on State Plan:  During the 30-day public comment period, you may submit a written request that a public
meeting be held on the revised State Plan to control landfill gas emissions from existing municipal solid waste landfills.  Your request
for a public meeting must be received by the MPCA contact person identified above by 4:30 p.m. Wednesday, February 10, 1999.  
A public meeting on the State Plan submittal will be held if anyone requests a meeting during the public comment period.

Submittal of State Plan to EPA:  If no public meeting is requested on the amended State Plan to control landfill gas emissions
from existing municipal solid waste landfills in Minnesota, the State Plan will be submitted to the EPA upon adoption of the rule
amendments governing landfill gas emissions from existing municipal solid waste landfills.

Peder A. Larson
Commissioner

Public Employees Retirement Association (PERA)
Notice of Meeting of the Board of Trustees

The regular meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Public Employees Retirement Association (PERA) will be held on Thursday,
January 14, 1999, at 9:30 a.m., in the PERA offices, 514 St. Peter Street, Suite 200 - Skyway Level, Saint Paul, Minnesota.

Public Utilities Commission
Request for Comments on Planned Repeal of Rules Governing Contracts or Agreements

Between a Public Energy Utility and an Affiliated Interest, Minnesota Rules, Part 7825.2100
Subject of Rules.  The Minnesota Public Utilities Commission requests comments on its planned repeal of rules governing 

contracts or agreements between a public energy utility and an affiliated interest, Minnesota Rules, Part 7825.2100, in Docket 
No. E,G-999/R-98-1307.  The Commission is considering repealing its rule that requires public energy utilities to receive a
Commission order before entering into contracts or agreements with an affiliated interest, as follows:

7825.2100 COMMISSION APPROVAL OF CONTRACT MODIFICATIONS. 

A public utility, prior to entering into a contract or agreement, or making any modifications or revisions to existing contracts or agree-
ments with an affiliated interest, where the total consideration for such contract agreement is in excess of $10,000 or five percent of the
capital equity of the utility, whichever is less, shall petition for and receive approval from the commission by formal written order. 

Contracts or agreements requiring commission approval which are entered into after January 1, 1975, without commission
approval shall be null and void.  Upon determining a contract or agreement null and void, the commission may require any consid-
eration received by the affiliated interest for such contract or agreement to be remitted to the public utility. 

Information presented to the department shall be verified under oath by the president, a vice-president, or secretary of the reporting
public utility, and is effective as of the date of verification. 

Public energy utilities would remain subject to Minnesota Statutes, section 216B.48, which generally invalidates contracts or
agreements between public energy utilities and affiliate interests unless the Commission approves the contract or arrangement.  The
Commission addressed the procedures for an energy utility to obtain Commission approval of a contract or agreement with an affil-
iate interest in In the Matter of a Commission Investigation into Procedures for Reviewing Public Utility Affiliated Interest
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Contracts and Arrangements,Docket No. E,G-999/CI-98-651, ORDER INITIATING REPEAL OF RULE, GRANTING
GENERIC VARIANCE, AND CLARIFYING INTERNAL OPERATING PROCEDURES (September 14, 1998).  

Persons Affected.  The repeal of this rules would likely affect public energy utilities and their affiliates, as well as their cus-
tomers and competitors.  The Commission will establish a list of persons who wish to receive notices pertaining to this rulemaking.

Statutory Authority.  Minnesota Statutes, section 216A.05, grants the Commission the authority to prescribe rules with respect
to the control and conduct of the businesses coming within its jurisdiction.  Section 216B.08 grants the Commission the authority to
make rules in furtherance of the purposes of its authorizing statutes.  Section 216B.09 grants the Commission the authority to fix
rules with respect to a public energy utility’s services.  Section 216B.48 gives the Commission jurisdiction over the relationship
between a public energy utility and its affiliate interests.  

Public Comment.  The Commission invites interested persons or groups to submit comments or information on these planned
rules in writing or orally until 4:30 p.m. on February 11, 1999.  Interested persons or groups may also request to be included on the
Commission’s list of persons who wish to receive notices pertaining to this rulemaking. 

Agency Contact Person.  Written or oral comments, requests for copies of the Commission’s September 14, 1998 Order, or
questions and requests for more information on this planned rulemaking should be addressed to Eric Witte, Public Utilities
Commission, 121 Seventh Place East, Suite 350, St. Paul, Minnesota 55101-2147, (voice) (651) 296-7814, (FAX) (651) 297-7073.
All communications in this matter should include a reference to Docket No. E,G-999/R-98-1307. 

Burl W. Haar
Executive Secretary

This Request for Comments can be made available in alternative formats (i.e., large print or audio tape) by calling (651) 297-
4596 (voice), (651) 297-1200 (TTY), or (800) 627-3529 (TTY relay service).

Office of the Secretary of State
Secretary of State Certifies Chapter 325K - Minnesota Electronic Authentication Act - Effective

The secretary of state certifies that rules have been adopted that permit the use of the provisions of the Minnesota Electronic
Authentication Act, Minnesota Statutes, chapter 325K.  The secretary of state will be ready to begin licensing certification authori-
ties after January 15, 1999.
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Department of Commerce
Enforcement and Licensing Division

Notice of Request of Proposals for Notary Public Commission Renewal Processing
The Department of Commerce, Enforcement and Licensing Division is soliciting proposals from individuals and organizations

qualified to process the renewal of approximately 100,000 Notary Public commissions pursuant to Minnesota StatutesChapter 359.
Services to be performed include mailing post cards to all Notaries Public in Minnesota, receiving completed commission renewals
from Notaries Public, receiving and accounting for accompanying renewal fees, and mailing renewed commissions.  The term of
the contract is May 1, 1999 through February 1, 2000.

This request does not obligate the STATE to complete the work contemplated in this request and the STATE reserves the right to
cancel this solicitation if it is considered in its best interest.

To request a complete copy of this Request for Proposal, please mail or fax your request to

Julie Kosmolski
Licensing Director
Minnesota Department of Commerce
133 East Seventh Street
St. Paul, Minnesota 55101
FAX (651) 296-2866

Proposals must be received at the Minnesota Department of Commerce by 4:00 p.m. Central Time on February 16, 1999.  Late
proposals will not be considered.

Department of Employee Relations
Request for Proposals (RFP) for Managed Behavioral Health Services

The Minnesota Department of Employee Relations (DOER) administers the State Employee Group Insurance Program (SEGIP),
which arranges health care benefits on behalf of State and University of Minnesota eligibles — a total of more than 150,000 covered
lives.  We are currently exploring possible modifications in our current health plan-based managed competition health care 
purchasing model, as well as an alternative model of health care delivery through primary care-centered health systems known as
care systems. 

This RFP is seeking proposals from qualified organizations to provide managed behavioral health services in the event that the
SEGIP changes its purchasing model to one which utilizes care systems rather than healthplans. 

The vendor will make available comprehensive managed behavioral health services to all State employees and other eligibles.
The services will be at least equivalent to those required under State law and rule for HMOs, including State benefit mandates, and
may be further modified as a result of collective bargaining agreements between the state and the bargaining units representing
State workers.  The vendor should have capabilities for administering behavioral health services on a carve-out basis, including
claims adjudication, member materials and member services, data reporting, and other administrative responsibilities.  The vendor
should have the capability to work effectively with a broad range of care systems, one or more administrators responsible for care
system claims adjudication and other services, and other potential carve-out vendors, including a Pharmacy Benefits Manager, a
data warehouse, and a vendor for managed chiropractic services. 

A responders’ conference is scheduled for 1:30-3:30 p.m. on Wednesday, January 27, 1999, at the following address:

Room 302 
Centennial Office Building
658 Cedar Street
St. Paul, MN 55155.  

Professional, Technical & Consulting Contracts
Department of Administration procedures require that notice of any consultant services contract or professional and technical services contract

which has an estimated cost of over $10,000 be printed in the State Register.These procedures also require that the following information be included
in the notice:  name of contact person, agency name and address, description of project and tasks, cost estimate, and final submission date of completed
contract proposal.  Certain quasi-state agencies are exempted from some of the provisions of this statute.

In accordance with Minnesota RulesPart 1230.1910, certified Targeted Group Businesses and individuals submitting proposals as prime contrac-
tors shall receive the equivalent of a 6% preference in the evaluation of their proposal.  For information regarding certification, call the Materials
Management Helpline (651) 296-2600 or [TTY (651) 297-5353 and ask for 296-2600].
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The purpose of the conference will be to address questions regarding this RFP.  Answers to questions and any additional infor-
mation from the conference will also be mailed to any party that requests a copy of the RFP.  Attendance at the responders’ confer-
ence is not required in order to submit a response to the RFP.

Copies of the complete RFP may be obtained by contacting Joan Pirri-Rechtzigel at:

Minnesota Department of Employee Relations
200 Centennial Office Building
658 Cedar Street 
St. Paul, MN 55155
Tel.  (651) 296-2705
FAX:  (651) 296-5445
E-mail:  joan.pirri-rechtzigel@state.mn.us

Please also contact Ms. Pirri-Rechtzigel for reservations and directions to the responders’ conference.  Reservations are not
mandatory but will aid us in planning the conference. 

Further questions should be directed only to David K. Haugen at the address below.  Contacts with individuals involved in this
project other than Mr. Haugen or Ms. Pirri-Rechtzigel are strictly prohibited. 

David K. Haugen
Minnesota Department of Employee Relations
200 Centennial Office Building
658 Cedar Street 
St. Paul, MN 55155
Tel.  (651) 296-3159
FAX:  (651) 296-5445
E-mail:  David.Haugen@state.mn.us

Information regarding this RFP will also be posted to the Minnesota Department of Employee Relations (DOER) internet home-
page at:  http://www.doer.state.mn.us.

Responses to the RFP are due to Mr. Haugen at the above address by 4:00 p.m. Monday, March 15, 1999.

Higher Education Services Office
Deadline Extension for Request for Proposals for Developing Curriculum on Higher Education

Options
The Higher Education Services Office (HESO) is requesting proposals from qualified professionals for the development of a cur-

riculum on higher education options for elementary and middle school students. A key audience is students of color, low income, 
or no previous post-secondary education. The curriculum must include interactive features and be tailored for use on the Service
Office web page.

Proposals must be submitted by January 25, 1999.

The Request for Proposals (RFP) does not obligate the Services Office to complete this project, and the Services Office reserves
the right to cancel the solicitation if it is considered to be in its best interest.

The total cost of this proposal is not to exceed $30,000.

Copies of the complete RFP are available from:

Communications
Minnesota Higher Education Services Office
1450 Energy Park Drive, Suite 350
St. Paul, MN 55108-5227
(651) 642-0554
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Department of Human Services
Notice of Request for Proposals for the Acquisition and Implementation of a Collection System

for the Collection of Multiple Debts
Purpose

The purpose of this Request for Proposal (RFP) is to acquire and implement a Collection System for use by the Reimbursement
Division in the collection of multiple debt types owed to the Department of Human Services (DHS), for the State of Minnesota.

Background

The DHS Reimbursement Division bills and collects for an array of services and support provided to certain individuals with
mental illness, chemical dependency, traumatic brain injuries, developmental disabilities, or in need of nursing facility level of care.
The Reimbursement Division is also responsible for the collection of debts owed by businesses such as banks, counties, and other
governmental agencies.  Many of the collections are based on an “ability to pay” formula, and balances must be adjusted when there
is a change in a client’s income.

The Reimbursement Division is currently collecting receivables without a collection system.  All accounts are worked from
billing systems that include no collection functionality, other than aging and minimal tracking.

Collection cases currently exceed 12,000.  These cases are managed by seven collection officers and one supervisor.  These users
are centrally located.  The number of users must be expandable to fifty, with some staff requiring view-only capabilities.  Some of
these users may be located at remote sites.  The collection case load volume could double with acquisition of an automated collec-
tion system that interfaces with MAPS ARS and other billing systems.  

Objective

DHS plans to enhance its collection practices by centralizing all work from multiple billing systems into one integrated collection
system.  The Project DHS intends to implement will lead to the consolidation of its collection efforts, and will be similar to collec-
tion systems used by most private sector collection agencies. 

DHS is interested in software programs that can be merged with existing infrastructure to enhance receivable management and
reportability, and that can better position the department for future trends.

Inquiries

The complete Reimbursement Division Collection System RFP may be obtained by contacting Jennifer Hyser at the address or
telephone number below.  Questions regarding this proposal may be addressed solely and only to:

Ms. Jennifer Hyser
Department of Human Services
Reimbursement Division
444 Lafayette Road
St. Paul, MN 55155-3824
Voice:  (651) 296-4568
FAX:  (651) 297-3030

Questions are due in writing or by fax on Wednesday, 01/13/99, at 4:00 P.M.  

Proposals 

All proposals must be received by:

Ms. Buffy Lindell 
Department of Human Services
Reimbursement Division 
c/o Information Desk - First Floor
444 Lafayette Road
St. Paul, MN 55155-3824

No later than 4:00 P.M. on Monday, February 1, 1999.  Late proposals and faxed proposals will not be considered.  Late pro-
posals received by mail will be returned unopened.
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Department of Human Services
Notice of Request for Proposals to Acquire and Implement Integrated Pharmacy and Dietary

Systems
NOTICE OF THIS RFP WAS PUBLISHED INCORRECTLY ON DECEMBER 28, 1998

Purpose

The purpose of this Request for Proposal (RFP) is to acquire and implement integrated Pharmacy and Dietary systems (hereafter
“Project”) for all state operated health care services for the State of Minnesota, Department of Human Services (DHS).

Background

DHS provides an array of services and support to certain individuals with mental illness, chemical dependency, traumatic brain
injuries, developmental disabilities, and in need of nursing facility level of care.  These individuals are served through State owned
and operated campuses, and through a network of community based facilities.  A total of eight inpatient campus facilities with over
160 physicians and 2,000 utilized beds serve over 5,000 admissions annually.  The dollar volume generated is currently in excess of
$145 million per year.  In addition, another 5,000 clients receive outpatient, group home, day training and habilitation (DT&H),
crisis, and other services provided by the network annually.  Group homes, DT&H, and crisis services produce additional revenue
in excess of $34 million. 

Objective

DHS plans to enhance its billing practices by moving from an all inclusive per diem rate to an itemized fee for service billing
system.  To support this move, DHS intends to implement new Dietary and Pharmacy systems.  DHS also intents to implement a
new clinical system to support this move, and the new Dietary and Pharmacy systems need to interface with this new system.

DHS is interested in obtaining systems that best meet the service requirements and that are most competitively priced.  DHS
prefers to acquire operationally integrated Dietary and Pharmacy systems from a single vendor, which eliminates the need to
develop an interface between these two systems.  DHS will entertain responses from vendors who submit proposals solely for a
Dietary or Pharmacy system that include a plan for integration.

This request for proposal does not obligate the state to complete the proposed project, and the state reserves the right to cancel
this solicitation if it is considered to be in its best interest. 

Inquiries

Questions regarding this proposal may be addressed solely and only to:

Ms. Terry Gailliot 
Department of Human Services
State Operated Services
444 Lafayette Road
St. Paul, MN 55155-3826
Voice:  (651) 282-6203
FAX:  (651) 297-1539

Questions are due in writing or by fax on Friday, 02/05/99 at 3:00 P.M. CST. 

Proposals 

All proposals must be received by:

Ms. Terry Gailliot
Department of Human Services
State Operated Services Support
c/o Information Desk - First Floor
444 Lafayette Road
St. Paul, MN 55155-3826

no later than 3:00 P.M. CST ON MONDAY, FEBRUARY 22, 1999.  Late proposals and any faxed proposals will not be con-
sidered.  Late proposals received by mail will be returned unopened to the submitter.
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Department of Trade and Economic Development
Minnesota Agricultural and Economic Development Board

Request for Proposals for Pricing Agent
Request for Proposal

The Minnesota Agricultural and Economic Development Board (the “Board”) is requesting proposals for the assistance of a
Pricing Agent to assist the Board in establishing and negotiating interest rates with associates and underwriting firms.  The Board
anticipates issuing additional obligations in the form of taxable and tax-exempt bond issues.  Loans and guarantees.  The scope of
the work to be performed would include, but may not be limited to:

1. Research of recent comparable bond issues.

2. Preparing of pricing negotiation strategies.

Background

The Minnesota Agricultural and Economic Development Board (the “Board”) was created in 1987 under Minnesota Statutes,
Chapter 41A, and is the legal successor to the Minnesota Energy and Economic Development Authority.  The State of Minnesota
Department of Trade and Economic Development provides administrative staff support to the Board.  The Board was created to
provide financial assistance to qualified businesses in the form of loans, guarantees and other financial obligations including the
issuance of tax-exempt or taxable revenue bonds.

Program

The Board operates the Minnesota Small Business Development Loan Program (the “Loan Program”) which are secured loans to
businesses to finance capital expenditures, including land, buildings and other capital improvements.  Businesses that qualify for
loans are generally small businesses as defined by the United State Small Business Administration (13 Code of the Federal
Regulations Part 121) and must meet certain qualifications established by rules adopted by the Board.  Businesses applying for
assistance under the Loan Program are reviewed and evaluated to determine feasibility and financial condition to determine repay-
ment ability of the loans.

Since 1984 the Board has issued over $70,000,000 in loans and guarantees in connection with the Loan Program for 42 
businesses.  The Board currently has 21 loans outstanding totaling $38,885,000.  The Board has the capacity to issue an additional
$20,000,000 in loans.

General Guarantee Fund

In connection with the Loan Program, a guarantee fund has been created pursuant to the Loan Program requirements.  Bonds issued
in connection with the Loan Program are entitled to the benefits of the guarantee fund.  As of December 1, 1998 the guarantee fund
has a balance of approximately $14,000,000.

Additional Information

Copies of the following documents are available upon request:

1. Minnesota Statutes41A.

2. General Bond Resolution.

3. Official Statement dated July 7, 1998.

4. List of Loan Program borrowers.

Submission of Proposals

All proposals must be sent to and received by the Contracting Party, who is:

Paul Moe, Executive Director
Minnesota Agricultural and Economic Development Board
500 Metro Square
121 7th Place East
Saint Paul, MN 55101
(651) 297-1391

no later than 4:00 p.m. January 29, 1999.  Late proposals will not be considered.  Submit five (5) copies of the proposal.  Proposals
are to be sealed in mailing envelopes or packages with Responder’s name and address clearly written on the outside.  To facilitate
proper handling, proposals should be marked with the words “PRICING AGENT” prominently displayed on the outside of the
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envelope.  This Request for Proposal does not obligate the State to complete the project, and the State reserves the right to cancel
the solicitation if it is not considered to be in the State’s best interest.

Proposal Content:

Proposal should contain the following information:

1. Description of the firm’s experience with taxable and tax-exempt transactions.

2. Responder’s access to market data.

3. Similar or related engagements.

4. Public Agency or other references.

5. Description of key individuals that will provide services.

6. Proposed fees.  Fee proposals should be based on an hourly rate and on a transaction basis.  Assume a bond issue 
of $2,000,000.

7. Provide the name, address, phone number, and fax number of the contact person for Responder.

Evaluation and Award

The Board reserves the right to accept or reject any and all proposals, in whole or in part, or to permit cure of minor irregularities
and to conduct discussions with all qualified responders in any manner necessary to serve the best interest of the Board.  All 
proposals received will be evaluated for the purpose of selecting the proposal that most closely meets the requirements of the Board.
The following areas of consideration will be used in making the selection.

1. Contractor qualifications - This criterion includes the ability of the contractor to meet the terms of the request especially
experience in the area of a Pricing Agent or similar function.

2. Professional Personnel - This refers to the competence of professional personnel who would be assigned to the job by 
the Contractor.  Qualification will be measured by education and experience, with particular reference to experience on 
projects similar to that described in the request.

3. Cost - While this is weighed heavily, it will not normally be the deciding factor in the selection process.

Public Status

Pursuant to Minnesota Law, all proposals submitted in response to the request become property of the State of Minnesota.  Such
proposals shall also constitute public records and shall be available for viewing and reproduction by any person.

Project Costs

The Board has estimated that the cost of this project should not exceed $10,000 per year.

Project Completion Date

The contract is expected to be for two years with an option of extending for an additional two years.

Workers’ Compensation

The successful responder will be required to submit acceptable evidence of compliance with workers’ compensation insurance
coverage requirements prior to execution of the contract.
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Dakota County, Minnesota
Notice of Intent to Qualify Firms for Transportation Planning, Engineering, and Construction

Services
Dakota County intends to qualify firms for professional engineering, construction administration, plan design, traffic engineering,

and transportation planning services in 1999 for the following projects:

1. Northern Dakota County Sub Area Transportation Study

2. County State Aid Highway 33 Design

3. County State Aid Highway 50 Design

4. County State Aid Highway 56 Design

5. County State Aid Highway 23 Construction Administration

6. County State Aid Highway 31 Construction Administration

Statement of Qualifications (SOQ) submittal information can be obtained by contacting:

Pat Vinje, Office Specialist at 891-7100.

Deadline for delivery of the SOQ is January 25, 1999 at 4:00 p.m. CST.

University of Minnesota
Notice of Bid Information Service (BIS) Available for All Potential Vendors

The University of Minnesota offers 24 hour/day, 7 day/week access to all Requests for Bids/Proposals through its fax back Bid
Information Service (BIS).  Subscriptions to BIS are $75/per fiscal year (not prorated).  Call 612-625-5534 for information or visit
our web site at http://purchserv.finop.umn.edu.  Choose BID Information Service.

Requests for Bids/Proposals are available to the public at no charge each business day from 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. in Purchasing
Services lobby, Suite 560, 1300 S. 2nd Street, Mpls, MN 55454.

Non-State Public Bids, Contracts & Grants
The State Registeralso serves as a central marketplace for contracts let out on bid by the public sector.  The Registermeets state and federal

guidelines for statewide circulation of public notices.  Any tax-supported institution or government jurisdiction may advertise contracts and
requests for proposals from the private sector.

It is recommended that contracts and RFPs include the following:  1)  name of contact person; 2)  institution name, address, and telephone
number; 3)  brief description of project and tasks; 4)  cost estimate; and 5)  final submission date of completed contract proposal.  Allow at least
three weeks from publication date (four weeks from date article is submitted for publication).  Surveys show that subscribers are interested in
hearing about contracts for estimates as low as $1,000.  Contact the editor for further details.
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