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NOTICE
How to Follow State Agency Rulemaking Action in the State Register

State agencies must publish notice of their rulemaking action in the State Register. If an agency seeks outside opinion before
promulgating new rules or rule amendments, it must publish a NOTICE OF INTENT TO SOLICIT OUTSIDE OPINION. Such
notices are published in the OFFICIAL NOTICES section. Proposed rules and adopted rules are published in separate sections of the
magazine. .

The PROPOSED RULES section contains:
e Calendar of Public Hearings on Proposed Rules.
e Proposed new rules (including Notice of Hearing and/or Notice of Intent to Adopt Rules without A Hearing).
¢ Proposed amendments to rules already in existence in the Minnesota Code of Agency Rules (MCAR).
® Proposed temporary rules.
The ADOPTED RULES section contains:
e Notice of adoption of new rules and rule amendments (those which were adopted without change from the proposed version
previously published). '
* Adopted amendments to new rules or rule amendments (changes made since the proposed version was published).
* Notice of adoption of temporary rules.
o. Adopted amendments to temporary rules (changes made since the proposed version was published).

All ADOPTED RULES and ADOPTED AMENDMENTS TO EXISTING RULES published in the State Register will be published
in the Minnesota Code of Agency Rules (MCAR). Proposed and adopted TEMPORARY RULES appear in the State Register but are not
published in the MCAR due to the short-term nature of their legal effectiveness.

The State Register publishes partial and cumulative lisitngs of rule action in the MCAR AMENDMENTS AND ADDITIONS list on
the following schedule:

Issues 1-13, inclusive Issue 39, cumulative for 1-39
Issues 14-25, inclusive Issues 40-51, inclusive
Issue 26, cumulative for 1-26 Issue 52, cumulative for 1-52

Issue 27-38, inclusive
The listings are arranged in the same order as the table of contents of the MCAR.

MCAR AMENDMENTS AND ADDITIONS

TITLE 3 AGRICULTURE
Part 1 Agriculture Department

3 MCAR §§ 1.0325-1.0326 (proposed). ..........ccvvvvnnn. 573
3 MCAR §§ 1.0127-1.0135 (adopted). .. ...t vien i 599
Agr 121-126 (repealed) . ............ i 599

TITLE 4 COMMERCE

Part 1 Commerce Department
SDiv 2030 (proposed) . . ..ot 576

TITLE 5 EDUCATION
Part 1 Education Department

SMCAR § 1.0533 (adopted) .. ...coooveiii e 601
TITLE 9 LAW

Administrative Hearings Office

9 MCAR §§ 2.301-2.326 (proposed). .. .. ........ciivnin.. 553

TITLE 13 TAXATION
Part 1 Revenue Department

IncTax 2052(4) (proposed repeal) ...............covvvvnin.. 578
13 MCAR §§ 1.0001-1.0006 (proposed). ...........ovvvuvnnn. 582
13 MCAR §§ 1.0007 (proposed repeal)................c...... 582
13 MCAR § 1.6101 (proposed) ..........ccovvviiv ... 578
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PROPOSED RULES

Pursuant to Minn. Laws of 1980, § 15.0412, subd. 4h, an agency may propose to adopt, amend, suspend or repeal rules without first holding a
public hearing, as long as the agency determines that the rules will be noncontroversial in nature. The agency must first publish a notice of intent to
adopt rules without a public hearing, together with the proposed rules, in the State Register. The notice must advise the public:

1. that they have 30 days in which to submit comment on the proposed rules;
2. that no public hearing will be held unless seven or more persons make a written request for a hearing within the 30-day comment period;
3. of the manner in which persons shall request a hearing on the proposed rules;
and
4. that the rule may be modified if modifications are supported by the data and views submitted.

If, during the 30-day comment period, seven or more persons submit to the agency a written request for a hearing of the proposed rules, the agency
must proceed under the provisions of § 15.0412, subds. 4 through 4g, which state that if an agency decides to hold a public hearing, it must publish in
the State Register a notice of its intent to do so. This notice must appear at least 30 days prior to the date set for the hearing, along with the full text of
the proposed rules. (If the agency has followed the provisions of subd. 4h and has already published the proposed rules, a citation to the prior
publication may be substituted for republication.)

Pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 15.0412, subd. 5, when a statute, federal law or court order to adopt, suspend or repeal a rule does not allow time for the
usual rulemaking process, temporary rules may be proposed. Proposed temporary rules are published in the State Register, and for at least 20 days
thereafter, interested persons may submit data and views in writing to the proposing agency.

Office of Administrative Hearings
Proposed Permanent Rules Relating to Workers’ Compensation

Notice of Hearing

Notice is hereby given that a public hearing will be held pursuant to the provisions of Minn. Stat. § 15.0412, subd. 4, in the
above-entitled matter commencing at 9:00 a.m. on Thursday, November 5, 1981, at Room 83 of the State Office Building, 435
Park Street, St. Paul, Minnesota. The hearing will continue until all interested persons have an opportunity to be heard. The
proposed rules may be modified as a result of the hearing process. Therefore, if you are affected in any manner by the proposed
rules, you are urged to participate in the rule hearing process.

Following the agency’s presentation at the hearing, all interested or affected persons will have an opportunity to ask
questions and make comments. Statements may be made orally and written material may be submitted. In addition, whether or
not an appearance is made at the hearing, written statements or material may be submitted to Peter C. Erickson, Hearing
Examiner, Office of Administrative Hearings, Room 300, 1745 University Avenue, St. Paul, Minnesota 55104, (612/296-8118),
either before the hearing or within five (5) working days after the public hearing ends. The hearing examiner may, at the hearing,
order that the record be kept open for a longer period not to exceed twenty (20) calendar days. The rule hearing procedure is
governed by Minn. Stat. §§ 15.0411-15.0417 and 15.052, and by 9 MCAR §§ 2.101-2.112 (Minnesota Code of Agency Rules). If
you have any questions about the procedure, call or write the hearing examiner.

Notice is hereby given that twenty-five (25) days prior to the hearing a statement of need and reasonableness will be available
for review at the Office of Administrative Hearings. Copies of this statement of need and reasonableness may also be purchased
at a cost of twenty cents per page. The statement of need and reasonableness will include the evidence and argument which the
agency anticipates presenting at the hearing justifying both the need for and the reasonableness of the proposed rules.

The agency’s authority to adopt the proposed rules is contained in Minn. Laws of 1981, chapter 346, § 5 (amending Minn.
Stat. 1980, § 15.052, subd. 4).

The purpose of the proposed rules is to establish procedures for the conduct of the hearing process relating to contested
workers’ compensation hearings. The rules contain sections relating to: general authority and definitions; joinder of parties;
pleadings including content of petitions and responsibilities of attorneys in initiating contested matters; settlement judge review
and settlement conferences; expedited procedures for hearings where employees have been given notice of the employer’s
intent to discontinue benefits; answers to the petitions; service of documents; definitions of the various types of hearings; notice
of hearings; continuances; intervention; consolidation; disqualification of compensation judges; prehearing procedures;
discovery; petitions for contribution or reimbursement; subpoenas; the hearing itself; production of medical evidence; rights of
parties; witnesses; rules of evidence; contents of the record; provisions relating to transcripts of hearings; disruptions of

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION — Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. Strike euts indicate
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated *‘all new material.”” ADOPTED
RULES SECTION — Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike euts indicate deletions from
proposed rule language.
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PROPOSED RULES

hearings; compensation judge decisions; rehearing; settlements; attorney fees; taxation of costs and disbursements; second
injury law; expedited procedures for other hearings; temporary orders; removal and return of exhibits; and the permanent
partial disability panel.

The office estimates that the cost to local bodies of implementing this rule for the two years immediately following its

adoption will not exceed $100,000 within the meaning of Minn. Stat. § 15.0412, subd. 7.
The permanent rules will supercede the agency’s temporary rules which were effective on August 19, 1981.

Copies of the proposed rules are now available and at least one free copy may be obtained by writing to: Duane R. Harves,
Chief Hearing Examiner, Minnesota Office of Administrative Hearings, Room 300, 1745 University Avenue, St. Paul,
Minnesota 55104. Additional copies will be available at the hearing. If you have any questions on the content of the proposed
rules, you should contact Duane R. Harves at (612) 296-8100.

Any person may request notification of the date on which the hearing examiner’s report will be available, after which date the
office may not take any final action on the rules for a period of five (5) working days. Any person may request notification of the
date on which the hearing record has been submitted or resubmitted to the Attorney General by the office. If you desire to be so
notified, you may so indicate at the hearing. After the hearing, you may request notification by sending a written request to the
hearing examiner, in the case of the hearing examiner’s report, or to the agency, in the case of the agency’s submission or
resubmission to the Attorney General. '

Minn. Stat. ch. 10A requires each lobbyist to register with the State Ethical Practices Board within five (5) days after he/she
commences lobbying. A lobbyist is defined in Minn. Stat. § 10A.01, subd. 11, as any individual:

a. Engaged for pay or other consideration, or authorized by another individual or association to spend money, who spends
more than five hours in any month or more than $250, not including his own travel expenses and membership dues, in any year,
for the purpose of attempting to influence legislative or administrative action by communicating or urging others to
communicate with public officials; or

b. Who spends more than $250 not including his own traveling expenses and membership dues, in any year, for the purpose
of attempting to influence legislative or administrative action by communicating or urging others to communicate with public
officials. ‘

The statute provides certain exceptions. Questions should be directed to the Ethical Practices Board, 41 State Office
Building, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155 (telephone: 612/296-5615).

September 21, 1981.

Duane R. Harves
Chief Hearing Examiner

Rules as Proposed (all new material)

9 MCAR § 2.301 Scope and purpose. The procedures contained in 9 MCAR §§ 2.301-2.326 shall govern all hearings required to
be conducted pursuant to the provisions of the Minnesotd workers’ compensation laws, Minn. Stat. ch. 82 and the Minnesota
Administrative Procedure Act, Minn. Stat. §§ 15.0411-15.052, as those provisions might apply.

9 MCAR § 2:302 General authority and definitions.

A. Assignment or transfer of cases. The chief hearing examiner has full responsibility for the assignment of cases for trial to
the compensation judges. The chief hearing examiner may transfer to another compensation judge the proceedings on any case
in the event of the death, extended absence, or disqualification of the compensation judge to whom it has been assigned, and
may otherwise reassign such cases if necessary to expedite the proceedings if no oral testimony has been received in the cases.

B. Authority of compensation judges. In any case which has been regularly assigned to him or her for trial, a compensation
judge shall have full power, jurisdiction and authority to hear and determine all issues of fact and law presented to him or her
and to issue such interlocutory and final orders, findings, decisions and awards as may be necessary to the full adjudication of
the case.

C. Definitions. For the purposes of 9 MCAR §§ 2.301-2.326, the following terms have meanings given them.
1. “‘Calendar judge’’ means a workers’ compensation judge from the Office of Administrative Hearings.
2. “‘Chief hearing examiner’” means the Chief Hearing Examiner of the Office of Administrative Hearings.
3. ““‘Commissioner’’ means the Commissioner of the Department of Labor and Industry.

4, “‘Compensation judge'’ means a workers’ compensation judge from the Office of Administrative Hearings.
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PROPOSED RULES

5. “‘Division” means the Workers’ Compensation Division of the Department of Labor and Industry.

6. ‘‘Petition’” means a claim filed by or on behalf of an injured or deceased employee, employer or insurer which initiates
a contested workers’ compensation case requiring assignment for hearing.

7. “Petitioner’’ means the injured employee, an heir or dependent of a deceased employee or a party filing on their
behalf or an employer or insurer.

8. “‘Settlement judge'’ means a workers’ compensation judge from the Department of Labor and Industry.

9 MCAR § 2.303 Joinder of parties.

A. Request. Upon a motion of any party or upon his or her own motion, a settlement or calendar judge may order the joinder
of additional parties necessary for the full adjudication of the case. A party not present or represented at the time of joinder shall
forthwith be served by the party requesting joinder with copies of the order of joinder and all pleadings in the case.

B. Service. Any party requesting joinder of additional parties shall serve a copy of the request on all existing parties, and the
party to be joined, and file the original with proof of service with the settlement or calendar judge no later than ten days prior to
the pretrial or settlement conference, unless the judge allows a shorter time when the moving party has shown that the party is a
necessary party, that the moving party was unable, through due diligence, to previously ascertain the name of or necessity of
joining the party, and that the joinder is necessary to a full and final determination of the rights or liabilities of all persons. When
this request is served on the party to be joined, it shall be accompanied by copies of all pleadings and the notice of the date, time
and place set for a settlement conference or prehearing conference.

C. Affidavit. When a party requests joinder less than ten days prior to the pretrial or settlement conference date, the request
shall include an affidavit of the requesting party stating the facts necessary to show cause why the lesser time should be allowed.

D. Delay. In cases where the settlement or calendar judge has denied the joinder because of the requesting party’s failure to
meet the ten-day time requirement, the case shall not be stricken, continued or otherwise delayed for the purposes of joinder,
unless the attorney for the employee or dependent consents to it.

E. Contents of motion. All motions for joinder shall contain at least the following:
1. The party to be joined and its insurer, if any;
2. The date and nature of the claimed personal injury or impairment;
3. The detailed circumstances, in affidavit form, showing that the party to be joined is a necessary party;
4. The supporting medical opinions relied upon, if applicable;

5. If the party to be joined is the special compensation fund, the detailed circumstances, in affidavit form, showing the
specific basis claimed for joinder, including the date of registration of prior impairment or injury where applicable.

F. Objection. A party contesting joinder under 9 MCAR § 2.303 may do so by objection filed with the settlement or calendar
judge within ten days of service, requesting a hearing thereon; otherwise, an ex parte order may be issued granting or denying
this joinder.

9 MCAR § 2.304 Commencement of proceedings; petitions; responsibilities of attorneys; notice to third parties.

A. Commencement of proceedings. Original proceedings for the adjudication of compensation rights and liabilities are
commenced by the service of a petition as provided by Minn. Stat. § 176.305. Any petition filed on behalf of an employee or his
or her dependents shall certify that prior notice of intention to initiate proceedings has been sent to the adverse party, pursuant
to Minn. Stat. § 176.271, subd. 2, and the date of that notice. Supporting medical reports shall be attached to the petition.

B. Consolidation of claims. Claims by several employees arising out of the same accident may be consolidated in one
proceeding only by consent of all parties or by order on appropriate motion.

C. Contents of petitions. A petition shall contain the following information which shall be in the sequence listed in 1.-21.

1. Title. The title of the case shall include the petitioner’s name, the employer’s name and address, the insurer’s name
and address, the division’s record number and the employee’s social security number;

2. The petitioner’s address;

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION — Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. Strtke otts indicate
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated ‘‘all new material.”” ADOPTED
RULES SECTION — Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike euts indicate deletions from
proposed rule language.
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. The date of the alleged personal injury or onset of occupational disease;

W

. The place of employment on the date of the alleged injury or disease;
5. The employee’s weekly wage at the time of the alleged injury or disease;
6. A statement that the injury or disease arose out of and in the course of the employment;

7. A statement which specifies the nature and extent of the alleged injury or disease, including the percentage of
disability, if known, attaching a copy of all medical reports;

8. The date on which the employer was first given notice of the alleged injury or disease and the manner in which the
notice was given,

9. The name and address of the employer’s insurer on the date of the alleged injury.or disease or if the employer was
self-insured, a statement to that effect;

10. A detailed listing of the dates of the alleged disability, stating whether each date was for temporary total, temporary
partial, permanent total, or permanent partial disability;

11. A detailed list of the medical benefits alleged to be owing, giving the names, addresses, dates of treatment or purchase
of drugs, or other compensable items;

12. The names and addresses of any third parties who have paid disability, medical or other benefits to the employee as a
result of the alleged injury or disease, listing the dates and amounts of the payments, and the relevant claim number or policy
number;

13..A statement that attorney’s fees are or are not requested;

14. A statement that the employer and insurer were notified, as required by Minn. Stat. § 176.271, subd. 2, that a
proceeding would be instituted and stating the relief sought, giving the date of the notice and attaching a copy of the notice;

15. A signature and attestation by the employee;

16. The name, address and telephone number of the employee’s attorney unless the employee is representing himself or
herself;,

17. A statement that a settlement or prehearing conference is or is not requested and, if so, the requested location for the
conference;

18. A statement indicating the number of lay and medical witnesses expected to be called as witnesses and the anticipated
length of their testimony;

19. A statement specifying the principal issues to be resolved at hearing;

20. A statement that the employee is or is not presently receiving workers’ compensation benefits and, if the employee is,
the amounts and the name and address of the paying party; and

21. The requested location for the regular hearing.

D. Heading of petition. Unless otherwise provided by law, all requests for action by the commissioner, a settlement,
calendar or compensation judge after the filing of a petition shall contain the title and appropriate identification number of the
case and shall indicate the type of action requested.

E. Responsibilities of attorneys; notice to third parties. All attorneys representing employees, employers, or any other
parties to a workers’ compensation proceeding shall inquire of their clients at the time the proceeding is commenced, and again
within five days of receipt of a notice of prehearing conference, as to whether any third party, other than the workers’
compensation insurer, has paid wage loss benefits or treatment expense to the employee or in the employee’s behalf.

If inquiry discloses that any third party, such as an insurer or a welfare department, has made any such payments, the
attorney discovering that fact shall then have the duty to place the third party on written notice, within five days, of its right to
petition for intervention and reimbursement. The written notice shall have attached to it a copy of 9 MCAR § 2.310 and also a
copy of all pleadings in the case and a copy of all notices and all orders of the workers’ compensation division of the department
of labor and industry and of the office of administrative hearings served in the case to date, and shall specifically advise that:

1. The employee has commenced a proceeding to recover workers’ compensation benefits, and that under Minn. Stat.
§ 176.361 and 9 MCAR § 2.310 the third party hasthe right to petition for intervention and reimbursement of payments made for
treatment and wage loss;

2. The name and address of all parties to the proceeding and the names and addresses of their attorneys;

3. The name of the third party’s insured, the nature of the payments made; and any identifying claim and policy number;
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~

4. Any failure of the third party to comply with any provisions of 9 MCAR § 2.310 shall result in a denial of the claim for
reimbursement unless the compensation judge determines that the error or omission is merely technical.

Failure of an employee’s attorney to comply in a timely manner with this rule shall be taken into consideration as an
additional significant factor in determining the attorney’s fee under Minn. Stat. § 176.081.

Failure of an attorney representing an employer and insurer to comply in a timely manner with this rule shall be taken into
consideration for purposes of determining whether a penalty shall be assessed against the employer and insurer under Minn.
Stat. § 176.225 for unreasonable or vexatious delay.

Where inquiry by the attorney for the injured employee at the time a proceeding is commenced discloses information that a
third party has made payments, the employee’s claim petition shall not be accepted for filing and the proceeding shall not be
considered commenced unless the claim petition is accompanied by a proof of service of written notice upon the third party,
unless the time for commencing an action under the statute of limitations in Minn. Stat. § 176.151 has run. The written notice
shall be in the form prescribed by 1.-4.

9 MCAR § 2.305 Settlement judge review and settlement conferences.

A. Referral. Upon the filing of a petition, the commissioner, within ten days, shall refer the matter to a settlement judge who
shall review the filing to determine whether a settlement conference is appropriate.

B. Disposition. If a settlement conference has been requested or is deemed appropriate by the settlement judge, he or she
shall notify all parties of the date, time and place where the settlement conference will be conducted. The settlement conference
shall be completed within 60 days of the date of referral of the petition by the commissioner. If a settlement conference has not
been requested or is deemed to be inappropriate, the settlement judge shall certify the matter to the chief hearing examiner.

C. Retention of jurisdiction. If the settlement conference cannot be concluded within 60 days, the settlement judge shall
certify the matter to the chief hearing examiner; provided, however, that with the consent of the petitioner or his or her
representative, the settlement judge may retain jurisdiction for an additional 60 days for purposes of receiving a full settlement
of all issues. y

D. Settlement alternatives not precluded. Nothing contained in this rule shall preclude any party from requesting that a
settlement conference be scheduled at any time prior to a hearing by a compensation judge, nor shall it prohibit the chief hearing
examiner or calendar judge from setting a settlement conference on his or her own motion once the matter has been received
from the commissioner.

E. Attendance. At any settlement conference conducted before a settlement, calendar or compensation judge, all parties
shall attend and shall, if they are a representative of a party, be authorized to reach a full sett!ement on all or any issues in the
case.

F. Matters agreed upon. If, following a settlement conference, a settlement has not been reached but the parties have
reached agreement on any facts, legal or medical issues, or levels of benefits, the settlement, calendar or compensation judge
presiding over the settlement conference shall, if he or she approves of those matters agreed upon, issue an order confirming
and approving those matters agreed upon. The order shall be binding on any compensation judge who may subsequently be
assigned to hear the case. Issues once agreed upon and approved may be reopened by the compensation judge only upon motion
of any party on the basis of newly discovered evidence which was not reasonably discoverable at the earlier time.

9 MCAR § 2.306 Notice of intention to discontinue compensation payments.

A. Contents. A notice of intention to discontinue compensation filed pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 176.241, shall contain the
following information: .

1. The name and home address of the person whose compensation would be discontinued;
2. The file number previously assigned by the division and the office of administrative hearings;
3. The name and address of the attorney, if any, who represented the employee during previous proceedings;

4. A description of the prior order, if any, under which compensation was being paid and the name of the person issuing
the order;

5. The date the compensation is proposed to be discontinued;
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6. A complete list of facts supporting the discontinuance which shall be prepared with sufficient specificity to allow the
employee to prepare an objection without the necessity of requesting additional information;

7. If the proposed discontinuance is based on medical evidence, copies of all medical reports bearing on the employee’s
physical condition at the time of the proposed discontinuance;

8. A statement which shall read as foliows:

NOTICE

You have the right to object to this proposed discontinuance. If you intend to object, you must prepare a written
objection and file it with the Commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry, Fifth Floor, Space
Center Building, 444 Lafayette Road, St. Paul, Minnesota 55101. You may contact (employer) or (insurer) regarding the
discontinuance and the procedures related to the filing of an objection. If you file an exemption, it may be mailed or
personally delivered to the Department of Labor and Industry at the address listed above. An objection must contain
your full name, address and telephone number, the name of the employer and insurer, the date of this notice and the file
number listed on this notice.

9. The name and address of the employer and insurer;
10. The name, address and telephone number of the attorney representing the employer or insurer; and
11. The name, address and telephone number of the person filing the notice.

B. Objections.

1. Any objection to the proposed discontinuance shall be in writing, shall be filed with the commissioner, and shall
contain the following information:

a. The name, address and telephone number of the employee;

b. The name, address and telephone number of the person filing the objection, if it is not the employee;
¢. The name of the employer and insurer;

d. The date of the notice of discontinuance; and

e. The file numbers which were listed on the notice of discontinuance.

2. When an objection has been filed or where it appears to the commissioner that the right to compensation may not have .
terminated, the matter shall be referred to the chief hearing examiner who shall set the matter for hearing on a priority basis not
less than 30 nor more than 75 days from the date of the receipt of the matter from the commissioner.

3. Any objection filed more than 120 days after service of a notice to discontinue shall be treated as a claim petition and
shall not be heard on a priority basis.

C. Petitions for discontinuance. When an employer or insurer petitions the commissioner for an order allowing
discontinuance of benefits but has chosen not to discontinue payments until after a final determination, the petitioner shall be
entitled to a hearing on the same priority basis as set forth in B.2. Petitions filed under this provision shall contain the same
information as required for a notice of discontinuance.

9 MCAR § 2.307 Answers.

A. Service and filing. An answer to each petition shall be served and filed within 20 days after service of the application
unless a waiver has been obtained pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 176.321, subd. 3.

B. Proof of service. The answer shall be accompanied by proof of service upon the opposing parties.
C. Contents. The answer shall contain the following:

1. Specific responses to allegations regarding the date and nature of the injury, the employment status, notice, wage,
relationship of the injury to employment, insurance, benefits paid, matters in dispute, affirmative defenses and additional
matters as deemed necessary by the answering party;

2. Any medical report upon which the answer is based, if available;

3. If a medical examination by a doctor chosen by the employer or insurer has not already been completed, the date,
time and place for the exam which shall be scheduled to take place within 75 days from the date of service of the notice of
intention to initiate proceedings. Any request for an extension of time for scheduling the examination shall be subject to the
approval of the calendar or settlement judge, whichever has jurisdiction of the matter at the time the request is made. .
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9 MCAR § 2.308 Service.

A. Service by state. The commissioner, the chief hearing examiner, and settlement, calendar or compensation judges shall
serve all notices, findings, orders, decisions or awards upon the parties or their attorneys or agents of record by first class mail
at their addresses of record or by personal service.

B. Service by parties. A party may accomplish service of any document either by first class mail or by personal service.
Service of any document required to be served by a party may be served by the party’s attorney or authorized agent. Upon filing
of the document served, it shall be accompanied by an affidavit or proof of service which shall be in the form acceptable to the
district courts.

C. Service by mail. Service of all documents and pleadings may be made by first class United States mail upon all parties to a
proceeding whether residents of the same city, town or otherwise. Computation of time in such instances shall be in accordance
with the provisions of Minn. Stat. § 645.15.

9 MCAR § 2.309 Hearings.

A. Definition of hearing. For the purposes of 9 MCAR §§ 2.301-2.326, a hearing may be called a settlement conference, a
prehearing conference, or a regular hearing. Nothing contained herein is intended to change the statutory requirement that
hearings, as defined by statute, be conducted by compensation judges from the office of administrative hearings.

1. A settlement conference is a hearing conducted by a settlement judge. It is for the primary purpose of providing
assistance to the parties in resolving disputes and securing a settlement of all issues and for the secondary purpose of assisting
the parties in narrowing the issues and of expediting preparation and trial of the matter. The conference may be conducted by
telephone and in the cases where the location of the settlement conference would require any party to travel more than 50 miles
to attend, it shall be conducted by telephone unless all parties agree otherwise. Written notice of this hearing shall be given at
least 20 days prior to the date of the hearing.

2. A prehearing conference may be required whether or not a settlement conference has been held and may be
conducted by telephone. The purposes of a prehearing conference are to ascertain if there are genuine disputes requiring
resolution by a calendar or compensation judge, to provide assistance to the parties in resolving disputes, to narrow the issues,
and to expedite preparation and trial if a regular hearing is necessary. A prehearing conference is conducted by a calendar or
compensation judge. It shall be conducted by telephone if the location set for the prehearing conference would require any party
to travel more than 50 miles to attend. Written notice of this hearing shall be given at least 20 days prior to the date of the
hearing.

3. A regular hearing is a hearing set for the purpose of receiving evidence and is conducted by a compensation judge.

B. Notice of hearing. Notice of the time and place for hearing shall be provided to all parties to a case as required by 9 MCAR
§ 2.308 A., except that oral or written notification of the date, time and place for a regular hearing which is given to the parties
by a settlement, calendar or compensation judge at the time of a settlement or prehearing conference shall be sufficient notice.
Each attorney receiving notice of the hearing date at a settlement or prehearing conference shall be responsible for notifying
each party the attorney represents of the hearing date. When a written notice is required, it shall be given at least five days prior
to the date of hearing, except: ,
1. When notice is waived by all parties;
2. When a different time is expressly agreed to by all parties; or

3. When the notice is governed by contrary law or rule.

C. Continuances.

1. Requests for continuances are inconsistent with the requirement that workers’ compensation proceedings be
expeditious and are, therefore, not favored and will be granted only upon a clear showing of good cause. The parties are
expected to submit for decision all matters in controversy at a single hearing and to produce at the hearing all necessary
evidence, including witnesses, documents, medical reports, payroll statements and all other matters considered essential in the
proof of a party’s claim or defense.

2. When a continuance is to be requested prior to the hearing date, the party requesting the continuance shall have first
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contacted all other parties to determine whether mutual agreement to the continuance can be reached and, if the continuance be
granted, the availability of all parties for hearing at future specific dates. When all parties are in agreement with the request for
continuance and have agreed to a date for a future hearing, which date has been approved by the compensation, calendar or
settlement judge before whom the matter is pending, and when the continuance request is made no less than ten working days
prior to the hearing date,the continuance shall be granted.

3. If all parties have not agreed to a continuance, requests for continuances shall be made to the compensation, calendar
or settlement judge before whom the matter is pending. When made more than ten working days prior to the hearing date, the
request shall be in writing in the form of a motion for continuance and shall be served on all parties. If less than ten working days
remain prior to the hearing date, notice of the motion may be made orally. A hearing on the motion shall be conducted only if
ordered by the settlement, compensation or calendar judge to whom the motion is made.

4. Good cause shall not include:

a. When an insurer retains more than one counsel on its own payroll who practice in the field of workers’
compensation law, unavailability of the counsel assigned to the case because of engagement in another court or otherwise
unless all such counsel are committed elsewhere;

b. When a law firm consists of more than one member who practice in the field of workers’ compensation law,
unavailability of the counsel assigned to the case because of engagement in another court or otherwise unless all such counsel
are committed elsewhere;

c. Unavailability of an individual law practitioner because of engagement in another court, if he has failed to notify
the judge in charge of the trial court calendar of that court that he has been assigned to a date and time certain in a workers’
compensation case;

d. Unavailability of a medical or other witness if the witness’ deposition could have been taken between the time
of receipt of the notice of the hearing date and the date of the hearing.

9 MCAR § 2.310 Intervention.

A. Motion. Any person desiring to intervene in a workers’ compensation case as a party shall submit a timely motion to
intervene to the settlement judge unless the matter has been referred to the chief hearing examiner for assignment, in which case
the motion shall be submitted to the compensation judge to whom the case has been assigned or to the calendar judge if the case
has not yet been assigned. The motion shall be served on all parties either personally or by first class mail. Timeliness will be
determined by the settlement, calendar or compensation judge in each case based on circumstances at the time of filing. The
motion shall show how the moving party’s legal rights, duties or privileges may be determined or affected by the case, shall set
forth the grounds and purposes for which intervention is sought and shall indicate the moving party’s statutory right to intervene
if one should exist. The motion shall be accompanied by the following, if applicable:

1. An itemization of disability payments showing the period during which the payments were or are being made, the
weekly or monthly rate of the payments and the amount of reimbursement claimed;

2. A summary of the medical or treatment payments, broken down by medical or treatment creditor, showing the total
bill submitted, the period of treatment covered by that bill, the amount of payment on that bill, and to whom the payment was
made;

3. Copies of all medical or treatment bills on which some payment was made;

4. Copies of the worksheets or other information setting forth how the payments on medical or treatment bills were
calculated;

5. A copy of the relevant policy or contract provisions upon which the claim for reimbursement is based;

6. A proposed order allowing intervention with sufficient copies to serve on all parties; .

7. A proof of service;

8. At the option of the intervenor, a proposed stipulation which states that all of the payments for which reimbursement
is claimed are related to the injury or condition in dispute in the case and that, if the petitioner is successful in proving the
compensability of the claim, it is agreed that the sum be reimbursed to the intervenor.

B. Stipulation. When the person serving the motion for intervention has included a proposed stipulation, all parties shall
either execute and return the signed stipulation to the intervenor or serve upon the intervenor and all other parties specific and
detailed objections to any payments made by the intervenor which are not conceded to be correct and related to the injury or
condition the employee has asserted is compensable. If a party has not returned the signed stipulation or filed objections within
20 days of service of the motion, the intervenor’s right to reimbursement for the amount sought shall be deemed to have been
established without the necessity of the intervenor participating further in the proceedings.
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C. Attendance by intervenor. Unless a stipulation has been signed and filed or the intervenor’s right to reimbursement has
otherwise been established, the intervenor shall attend all settlement or prehearing conferences and shall attend the regular
hearing if ordered to do so by the compensation judge.

D. Order. If an objection to intervention remains following settlement and prehearing conferences, the calendar judge shall
enter an order ruling on the intervention which order shall be binding on the compensation judge to whom the case is assigned
for a regular hearing.

E. Presentation of evidence by intervenor. Unless a stipulation has been signed and filed or the intervenor’s right to
reimbursement has otherwise been established, at the regular hearing on the claim petition where intervention has been granted,
the intervenor shall present evidence in support of his or her claim after the petitioner has rested, unless otherwise ordered by
the compensation judge, in order that the issue of intervention may be promptly determined with no undue delay that may
prejudice the rights of the original parties.

F. Effects of noncompliance with rule. Failure to comply with any provision of this rule shall result in a denial of the claim for
reimbursement unless the compensation judge determines that the error or mistake is merely technical.

G. Failure of attorney to respond. Failure by the employee’s attorney to submit a timely response which also complies
otherwise with this rule shall be a significant additional factor to be taken into consideration under Minn. Stat. § 176.081 in
determining the amount of the attorney’s fees. Failure by an attorney representing an employer or insurer to submit a timely
response which also complies otherwise with the requirements of this rule shall be taken into consideration for purposes of
determining whether a penalty shall be assessed against the employer or insurer under Minn. Stat. § 176.225 for unreasonable or
vexatious delay.

9 MCAR § 2.311 Consolidation.

A. Authorization. Consolidation of two or more related cases may be ordered for the purpose of receiving evidence.
Consolidation may be ordered upon motion by any party to the calendar or compensatlon judge or upon the calendar or
compensatlon judge’s own motion if the calendar or compensation judge determines:

. That separate cases present substantially the same issues of fact and law;
2. That a holding in one case would affect the rights of the parties in the other case; and
3. That the consolidation would not substantially prejudice any party.
Notwithstanding the requirements of this rule, the parties may stipulate and agree to such consolidation.

B. Receipt of evidence. Under consolidation, all documentary evidence previously received in an individual case shall be
reintroduced in the consolidated proceedings under a master file if the compensation judge assigned to try the case designates
one file as a master file. When so adduced, the evidence shall be deemed part of the record of each of the several consolidated
cases. Evidence received subsequent to the order of consolidation shall be similarly received with like force and effect.

C. Notice of order. Following the granting of an order for consolidation, the calendar or compensation judge shall forthwith
serve on all parties and the commissioner a copy of the order for consolidation. The order shall contain, among other things:

1. A description of the cases for consolidation;

2. The reasons for consolidation;

3. Notification of a consolidated prehearing conference if one has been requested.
D. Objection to consolidation.

1. Motion for severance. Any party may object to consolidation by filing with the appropriate judge, and serving upon all
parties at least seven days prior to the regular hearing in the case, a motion for severance from consolidation, setting forth the
petitioner’s name and address, the title of his case prior to consolidation, and the reasons for his petition.

2. Determination. If the appropriate judge finds that consolidation would prejudice the party moving for severance, the
judge shall order such severance or other relief as he or she deems necessary.

E. Service of pleadings and decisions. Separate pleadings shall be filed and separate findings, orders, decisions and awards
will be made and filed in each case consolidated for hearing.
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9 MCAR § 2.312 Disqualification.

A. Procedures. A compensation judge shall withdraw from participation in a case at any time if the judge deems himself or
herself disqualified, prejudiced or biased for any reason. Proceedings to disqualify a compensation judge shall be initiated by the
filing of a motion for disqualification supported by affidavit or declaration under penalty of perjury stating in detail facts
establishing grounds for disqualification of the compensation judge to whom a case or proceeding has been assigned. If the
compensation judge assigned to hear the matter and the grounds for disqualification are known, the motion for disqualification
shall be filed with the chief hearing examiner not more than ten days after the moving party has received notice of the
assignment of the judge to the hearing. In no event shall any such motion be entertained after the swearing of the first witness.
The motion shall be determined by the chief hearing examiner or his designee. The fact that a compensation judge has
previously determined a similar case contrary to the interests of the moving party in the pending case shall not be grounds for
disqualification.

B. Affidavit for reassignment. The petitioner and parties responding a petition shall be entitled to reassignment of a regular
hearing to another compensation judge in accordance with the provisions of this section. Proceedings for a reassignment shall
be instituted by the filing of an affidavit under penalty of perjury in substantially the following form:

State of Minnesota -
County of

- being duly sworn, deposes and says: That (s)heis (a party) (attorney fora party) tothe above entitled case; that
affiiant believes that (s)he cannot have a (fair) (expeditious) (inexpensive) (unencumbered) (impartial) trial before the workers’
compensation judge (before whom the case is pending) (to whom the case is assigned).

Subscribed and sworn to before me
this.— day of 19

Notary Public
My commission expires

If the compensation judge assigned to hear the case is known, the affidavit shall be filed not more than five working days after
receipt of the notice of regular hearing and be directed to the attention of the chief hearing examiner. A copy of the affidavit shall
be served on all other parties or their attorneys at the same time the affidavit is filed. In no event shall any such affidavit be
entertained after the swearing of the first witness at a regular hearing.

Upon the filing of an affidavit for reassignment in accordance with the provisions of this section, without any further act or
proof, the chief hearing examiner shall assign the case or proceeding to another compensation judge. Upon reassignment a new
notice of regular hearing shall be served. Under no circumstances shall more than one such reassignment be made in any one
case or proceeding pursuant to the affidavit of any one party; provided, however, that one additional reassignment may be made
upon petition of a party on the other side. The petition by the other party shall be filed in the manner and time hereinbefore
provided.

Unless required because of the unavailability of a compensation judge to hear the case, no continuance shall be granted by
reason of an affidavit filed under this section. If a continuance is necessary, another regular hearing will be scheduled as early as
possible.

Consolidated cases are to be considered as one case within the meaning of this section. This section is not applicable to
settlement or pretrial conferences.

9 MCAR § 2.313 Prehearing procedures.

A. Requirement. All cases shall be subject to a settlement conference or a prehearing conference whenever possible, at
which all parties shall attend or be represented, unless a settlement judge or calendar judge orders otherwise. If parties are
represented by attorneys, the attorneys shall bring with them their appointment calendars. If a party is not represented by an
attorney, the party shall appear personally and shall be prepared to arrange agreeable dates for the regular hearing. Parties or
their attorneys attending a settlement or prehearing conference must have authority to settle their respective claims.

B. Settlement discussions. Prior to any settlement or prehearing conference, the parties shall discuss the possibility of
settlement if they deem that a reasonable basis for settlement exists. Parties or attorneys appearing at settlement or prehearing
conference shall be prepared to participate in settlement discussions. ’

C. Conference procedures. At the settlement or prehearing conference:
1. All parties shall be prepared to state the issues;
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2. All parties shall state the names, and addresses if known, of all witnesses they intend to call;
3. All parties shall give notice of any amendments to pleadings that may still be necessary;

4. All parties shall file copies of all medical reports not already on file. Reports of medical examinations completed after
any settlement conference or prehearing conference shall be filed as soon as available prior to the regular hearing;

5. Each party shall state what exhibits, including photographs, motion picture films, video tapes and documentary
evidence, are intended to be used at the hearing, and copies of these exhibits shall be made available to opposing counsel no
later than ten days prior to the date of the regular hearing; provided, however, that if any party requests showing of motion
picture films or video tapes prior to the regular hearing, it shall pay the expense for the showing and may tax this expense in the
same manner as other disbursements;

6. If the employee plans to introduce hospital records into evidence, the employee or his attorney shall bring to the
settlement or prehearing conference written authorizations for opposing counsel to examine those records if the authorizations
have not previously been provided;

7. If the employee is claiming medical or other treatment expenses, the employee or the attorney shall state those
expenses at the time of the settlement or prehearing conference, and shall furnish opposing counsel with copies of itemized bills
for such expenses at least ten days prior to the settlement or prehearing conference;

8. If the employee is claiming temporary total disability, the employee or attorney shall state at the settlement or
prehearing conference the dates of time lost from work;

9. If the employee is claiming temporary partial disability, the employee or attorney shall state the dates of the claim, the
approximate amount of the claim, and the names and addresses of the employers for whom the employee worked during the
period of the claim; authorizations to permit opposing counsel to confirm wages earned in those employments shall have been
furnished at least ten days prior to the scheduled settlement or prehearing conference; and, an itemized breakdown of the claim
for temporary partial disability shall be submitted to the compensation judge and opposing counsel at least ten days prior to the
time of the regular hearing;

10. The parties or their attorneys shall state whether payment for disability benefits, on medical or treatment expenses, or
on funeral expenses has been made by any party other than the workers’ compensation carrier. If payment has been made, the
name and address of the party making payment shall be furnished to the settlement or calendar judge, together with any
identifying policy or claim numbers;

11. If a dispute exists on the wage rate at the time of the injury, the attorney for the employer and insurer shall furnish to
opposing counsel at least ten days prior to the settlement or prehearing conference, copies of the relevant wage records of the
employee;

12. The attorney for the employee or dependents shall furnish to the settlement or calendar judge a copy of his retainer
agreement with the employee or dependents and shall state the amount of retainer fee paid. He shall be prepared at the time of
hearing or settlement to show the reasonableness of any attorney’s fees or costs, in accordance with Minn. Stat. § 176.081.

D. Prehearing statement. At the time a case is first set for a settlement or prehearing conference, if the information is not
already on file, the settlement judge or calendar judge may order the parties to complete, serve on each other and file a
prehearing statement which shall contain any of the items in C. which the settlement or calendar judge deems appropriate. In
making a determination on the requirement of the preparation of prehearing statements, the settlement or calendar judge shall
take into consideration the number of parties involved in the case, the nature and extent of the medical issues, and the nature,
extent and type of disability claimed. :

E. Evidence not disclosed at conference. Evidence, or other matters listed in C. which have not been disclosed at the
prehearing conference shall not be allowed to be presented at the regular hearing unless it can be shown to the compensation
judge that the evidence or other matters offered were discovered subsequent to the prehearing conference, were not
discoverable through the exercise of due diligence prior to that time, and that the other parties have been advised of the
evidence or other matters prior to the trial and have had an opportunity for review.

F. Temporary orders. Any insurer or self-insurer voluntarily agreeing to pay benefits pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 176.91, subd.
1, shall file a formal petition for temporary order.
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1. The petition shall contain the following:

a. Name of the employer and its insurer or self-insured consenting to payment of compensation benefits and medical
expenses;

b. The dispute involved, including the name and address of other employer and its workers’ compensation insurer, if
known, that may be liable for workers’ compensation benefits and the date of the alleged injury while working for the employer;

c. The beginning date of the employee’s present disability, and the compensation rate that the insurer or self-insurer
will voluntarily pay;

2. The original petition for temporary order, with proof of service on all necessary parties, shall be filed with the
division, the office, or the court of appeals, depending upon where the matter is pending;

3. The petition for temporary order shall be accompanied by a prepared formal order that should be substantially in the
following form:

The undersigned having examined the foregoing petition for temporary order and the compensation files and records
herein, and it appearing that a temporary order for payment of compensation benefits should be issued pending a final
determination, as provided by Minn. Stat. § 176.191, subd. I;

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED, that (name of insurer or self-insured) having consented to payment
of compensation benefits pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 176.191 shall pay to (name), employee, compensation at the weekly
rate of $(amount), during the period of employee’s disability, beginning (date), and shall also pay reasonable medical
expenses related to employee’s said disability.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that following a final determination of liability and if it has been determined that some
other employer or insurer is liable for all or part of the compensation paid pursuant to this temporary order, then the
division, the compensation judge, or Court of Appeals shall order the parties held liable to reimburse (name of paying
party) for all or part of the compensation paid pursuant to this temporary order, for which the other parties are held
liable, including interest at the rate of five percent per annum.

Dated at ..ottt , Minnesota

this ...... ..o dayof...........ooiiit.
(WORKERS’ COMPENSATION DIVISION)
(COMPENSATION JUDGE)
(COURT OF APPEALYS)

The original and sufficient copies of the order to make service upon all neccessary parties, and any attorneys representing
them, shall be filed.

G. Payment of benefits by special compensation fund. An employee seeking payment of benefits by the special compensation
fund pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 176.191, subd. 2, shall file a formal petition for temporary order.

1. The petition shall contain the following:

a. A statement that written demand for payment pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 176.191, subd. 1, has been made against all
employers and insurers party to the claim and that the payment demanded has been refused:

b. The names and addresses of all employers and insurers or se!f-insurers who are parties to the claim;
c. A statement as to the dispute involved and the dates of all alleged injuries while working for each employer;

d. The beginning date of the employee’s present disability, the compensation rate applicable for each injury date, the
proposed compensation rate to be paid by the special compensation fund, and an itemization of all medical expenses requested
to be paid pursuant to the temporary order;

2. The original of the petition for temporary order, with proof of service on all necessary parties, shall be filed with the
division, the office, or the court of appeals, depending upon where the matter is pending;

3. The petition for temporary order shall be accompanied by a prepared formal order that should be substantially in the
following form:

The undersigned having examined the foregoing petition for temporary order and the compensation files and records
herein, and it appearing that a temporary order for payment of compensation benefits should be issued pending a final
determination, as provided by Minn. Stat. § 176.191, subd. 2;
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NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the State Treasurer, as custodian of the special compensation
fund, shall, pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 176.191, subd. 2, pay to (name), employee, compensation at the weekly rate of
$(amount), during the period of employee's disability, beginning (date), and shall also pay reasonable medical expenses
related to the employee’s said disability.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that following a final determination of liability and if it has been determined that one or
more employers or insurers are liable for all or part of the compensation paid pursuant to this temporary order, then the
division, the compensation judge or Court of Appeals shall order the parties held liable to reimburse the State Treasurer,
as custodian of the special compensation fund, for all or part of the compensation paid pursuant to this temporary order,
for which the other parties are held liable, including interest at the rate of 12 percent per annum.

Datedat .........ccoiiiiii i , Minnesota

this ..., dayof ........... ..ol
(WORKERS’S COMPENSATION DIVISION)
(COMPENSATION JUDGE)
(COURT OF APPEALS)

The original and sufficient copies of the order to make service upon all necessary parties, and any attorneys representing
them, shall be filed.

H. Necessary parties. For the purpose of this rule, the following shall be deemed necessary parties:
1. The employee or dependents;
2. All insurers or self-insured named in the petition for temporary order;
3. Any employer who is uninsured or whose insurer for the date of the alleged injury in that employment is unknown;

4. The state treasurer, as custodian of the special compensation fund, if the petition is made pursuant to Minn. Stat. §
176.191, subd. 2. ’

1. Answer. Within ten days after being served with a copy of the petition for temporary order and order, employers or their
insurers, other than paying party, or the state treasurer, as custodian of the special compensation fund, may file a verified
answer to the petition in accordance with the provisions of Minn. Stat. § 176.321.

J. Circumstances of nonapproval of temporary orders. Temporary orders, as a general rule, shall not be approved if made
contingent upon the waiver by the employee of his rights to claim an additional award pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 176.225, or to
have fees for his attorney assessed against the employer and insurer in addition to compensation pursuant to Minn. Stat. §
176.191 or 176.081, subd. 8.

K. Effect of filing. The filing of a petition for temporary order shall not cause the matter to be placed on the trial calendar,
unless accompanied by a petition for contribution or reimbursement.

9 MCAR § 2.314 Discovery.
A. Demand. Each party shall, within 30 days of a demand by another party, disclose or furnish the following:

1. The names and addresses of all witnesses that a party intends to call at the regular hearing. All witnesses unknown at
the time of the disclosure shall be disclosed as soon as they become known if a prior demand has been made.

2. Any relevant written or recorded statements made by witnesses on behalf of a party. The demanding party shall be
permitted to inspect and reproduce any such statements which reproduction shall be at the expense of the party requesting
reproduction. Any party unreasonably failing upon demand to make the disclosure required by this rule, upon proper motion
made to the compensation judge at the time of trial, may be foreclosed from presenting any evidence at the hearing through
witnesses not disclosed or through witnesses whose statements are not disclosed.

3. Medical privilege shall be deemed waived as to the injuries or conditions alleged in the petition by the filing of the
petition alleging injury or occupational disease. Medical authorizations shall be furnished, upon demand, to adverse parties.
Likewise, any and all medical reports shall be provided, upon demand, to all adverse parties. Upon demand, the petitioner shall
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disclose the names and addresses of all persons who have treated the petitioner in the past for injuries or conditions identical or
similar to those alleged in the petition, the dates of the treatment, and shall provide medical authorization for each.

B. Depositions. Pursuant to the provisions of Minn. Stat. § 176.411, subd. 2, depositions may be taken in the manner which
the law provides for depositions in civil actions in the district courts for the state, except where a compensatibn judge orders
otherwise. When a party has objected to the taking of a deposition, the party requesting the deposition shall bring a motion
before the settlement, compensation or calendar judge, before whom the case is pending at the time of the motion, who shall
determine whether the deposition should go forward. The settlement, compensation or calendar judge shall order the deposition
to proceed if the judge finds that the request for the taking of the deposition has been shown to be needed for the proper
presentation of a party’s case, is not for purposes of delay, that unusual or extraordinary circumstances exist which compel
extensive discovery, or that the issues or amounts in controversy are significant enough to warrant extensive discovery.

Depositions for the purpose of preserving testimony or for presenting medical testimony due to the unavailability of the
doctor shall be allowed. Unless, for good cause shown, the party taking the deposition has obtained the permission of the
calendar judge, or compensation judge if the case has been assigned for hearing, to take the deposition subsequent to the
hearing, it shall be taken sufficiently in advance of the hearing so that the deposition is filed prior to the regular hearing or, at the
latest, on the day of the regular hearing.

The original copy of any deposition taken for purposes of presenting testimony in the case shall be filed with the settlement
judge if the case is still pending before the settlement judge or with the office of administrative hearings if the matter has been
referred to the chief hearing examiner for assignment. The original copy of any deposition taken solely for purposes of
discovery shall be sealed and filed as in the case of evidentiary depositions but shall not be reviewed or utilized in any fashion by
the compensation judge unless the deposition shall be formally entered as evidence in the case.

C. Motions for additional discovery. Upon the motion of any party, the settlement, compensation or calendar judge having
jurisdiction at the time of the motion may order discovery of any other relevant material or information, recognizing all
privileges recognized at law. The judge may order any means of discovery available pursuant to the rules of civil procedure for
the district courts of the state of Minnesota provided that the request for such discovery can be shown to be needed for the
proper presentation of a party’s case, is not for purposes of delay, and that the issues or amounts in controversy are significant
enough to warrant extensive discovery.

D. Penalties. Upon the failure of a party to reasonably comply with 9 MCAR §§ 2.301-2.326 relating to discovery or with an
order of a settlement, compensation or calendar judge made pursuant to this rule, upon a motion properly made at the time of
the hearing, the compensation judge assigned to the regular hearing may make a further order as follows:

1. An order that the subject matter of the order for discovery or any other relevant facts shall be taken as established for
the purposes of the case in accordance with the claim of the party requesting the order; or

2. An order refusing to allow the party failing to comply to support or oppose designated claims or defenses, or
prohibiting that party from introducing designated matters in evidence.

E. Proprietary information. When a party is asked to reveal material which that party considers to be proprietary information
or trade secrets, he or she shall bring the mattér to the attention of the appropriate judge, who shall make such protective orders
as are reasonable and necessary or as otherwise provided by law.

9 MCAR § 2.315 Petitions for contribution or reimbursement.

A. Contents. Petitions for contribution or reimbursement shall set forth in detail the allegations showing the basis of the claim
for contribution or reimbursement against the additional employer or insurer named,therein, or of the claim for reimbursement
against the state treasurer, custodian of the special compensation fund. The petition shall be supported by medical evidence,
and shall be signed and verified.-The original petition shall be filed with the settlement judge if the matter is pending before the
division or with the chief hearing examiner if the matter has been referred for assignment, together with proof of service upon
the employee or his attorney and all additional parties named in it.

B. Filing. In all cases where a claim petition or other form of action is pending, a petition for contribution or reimbursement
shall be filed no later than ten days prior to a settlement or prehearing conference, and copies of all pleadings, including any
notice of settlement or prehearing conference shall be served upon the additional employers or insurers by the party bringing the
petition. In cases where no action is pending, the filing of the petition for contribution or reimbursement with the division shall
initiate proceedings.

C. Answer. Within 20 days after being served with a copy of a petition for contribution or reimbursement,‘employers or their
insurers, other than the petitioning party, may file a verified answer to the petition in accordance with the provisions of Minn.
Stat. § 176.321 and, if not already set for settlement or prehearing conference, the matter shall be set for a settlement or
prehearing conference in accordance with these rules.
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D. Notice to employee. The employee shail be notified of all of the proceedings and should be represented by an attorney of

his or her choice. A copy of all motions or answers shall be duly served upon the employee, the employee’s attorney, or both in
accordance with Minn. Stat. § 176.321.
9 MCAR § 2.316 Subpoenas. Subpoenas may be obtained without charge from the workers’ compensation division or the office
of administrative hearings. The name and address and telephone number of the party or attorney requesting service of the
subpoena shall be included on the subpoena before service is made. When service is made, service and witness fees shall be
tendered in accordance with Minn. Stat. § 357.22.

Upon motion promptly made, and in any event at or before the time specified in the subpoena for compliance with it, the
calendar judge or compensation judge, if the case has been assigned for regular hearing, may quash or modify the subpoena if
the judge finds that it is unreasonable or oppressive.

9 MCAR § 2.317 The hearing.

A. Notice. A place, date and time certain will be assigned to each case. Notice of the hearing’ will be given as soon as the
assigned date is known, but shall be given at least five days in advance of the hearing. The notice will include the place of
hearing and the amount of time allowed for the hearing. Cases will be set for one location only, which shall be that most
convenient for the petitioner, and adequate time will be allowed so that the case may be completely heard in one setting. In the
event that an additional hearing date is required, it shall be set by agreement of all parties and the compensation judge. If the
parties cannot agree, the compensation judge shall set the hearing as provided herein.

B. Availability of medical witnesses. As soon as the parties are apprised of the date scheduled for hearing, they shall
immediately notify all medical witnesses in writing and arrange for their presence or for the taking of their deposition pursuant
to 9 MCAR § 2.314 B.

C. Medical reports. The production of medical evidence in the form of written reports by stipulation of the parties, is
encouraged. These reports should include:

1. The date of the examination;

2. The history of the injury;

3. The patient’s complaints;

4. The source of all facts set forth in the history and complaints;

5. Findings on examination;

6. Opinion as to the extent of disability and work limitations, if any;

7. The cause of the disability and, if applicable, whether the work injury was a substantial contributing factor toward the
disability;

8. The medical treatment indicated;

9. Opinion as to whether or not permanent disability has resulted from the injury and whether or not the condition has
stabilized. If stabilized, a description of the disability with a complete evaluation; and

10. The reason or reasons for the opinion or opinions.

D. Rights of parties. All parties shall have the right to present evidence, to cross-examine witnesses, and to present rebuttal
testimony.

E. Witnesses. Any party may be a witness or may present witnesses on his behalf at the hearing. All oral testimony at the
hearing shall be under oath or affirmation. At the request of a party or upon his own motion for good cause, the compensation
judge may exclude witnesses from the hearing room so that they cannot hear the testimony of other witnesses.

F. Rules of evidence.

1. Pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 176.411, subd. 1, the compensation judge is bound neither by the common law or statutory
rules of evidence nor by technical or formal rules of pleading or procedure.

2. Evidence must be offered to be considered. All evidence to be considered in the case, including all records and
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documents in the possession of any party, or a true and correct photocopy thereof, shall be offered and made a part of the
record in the case.’ No other factual information or evidence shall be considered in the determination of the case. Any
independent investigation by the compensation judge pursuant to the provisions of Minn. Stat. § 176.391, subd. 1, shall be part
of the record provided all parties are aware of the investigation and have had an opportunity to participate in it.

3. Documentary evidence. Documentary evidence in the form of copies of excerpts may be received or incorporated by
reference upon agreement of the parties or if ordered by the compensation judge.

4. Notice of facts. The compensation judge may take notice of judicially cognizable facts but shall do so on the record
and with the opportunity for any party to contest the facts so noticed.

5. Examination of adverse party. A party may call an adverse party or his managing agent or employees or an officer,
director, managing agent or an employee of the state or any political subdivision thereof or of a public or private corporation or
of a partnership or association or body politic which is an adverse party, and interrogate them by leading questions and
contradict and impeach them on material matters in all respects as if they had been called by the adverse party. The adverse
party may be examined by his counsel upon the subject matter of his or her examination in chief under the rules applicable to
direct examination, and may be cross-examined, contradicted, and impeached by any other party adversely affected by the
testimony. .

G. The record. )

1. The compensation judge shall maintain the official record, other than the stenographic notes of a hearing reporter if
one was used, in each case until the issuance of the judge’s final order.

2. The record in a compensation case shall contain:

a. All pleadings, motions and orders, including the judgment roll and the entire record from any previous hearing
which is relevant to the issues under consideration;

b. Evidence received or considered unless, through agreement of the parties or by order of the compensation judge,
custody of an exhibit is given to one of the parties;

c. Those parts of the official file on the matter at the division which the compensation judge incorporates;

e

Offers of proof, objections and rulings thereon;

e. The compensation judge’s order;

f. All memoranda or data submitted by any parfy in connection with the case;

g. A transcript of the hearing, if one was prepared; and

h. The audio-magnetic recording tapes, if that device was used to record the hearing.
3. The transcript.

a. The chief hearing examiner shall direct that the verbatim record of a hearing shall be transcribed if requested by
any person. If a transcription is made, except as provided in c., the chief hearing examiner shall require the requesting person
and other persons who request copies of the transcript to pay a reasonable charge for them if transcribed by the office. If
transcribed by someone other than the office, the person requesting the transcription or a copy shall be liable to the person
preparing the transcript for the charge.

b. Charges for transcripts prepared by the office shall be set by the chief hearing examiner, with the approval of the
Department of Finance, and all moneys received for transcripts prepared by the office shall be payable to the State Treasurer,
Office of Administrative Hearings Account.

¢. Pursuant to the provisions of Minn. Stat. § 176.421, subd. 4, clause (3), a party may petition the chief hearing
examiner for an order directing that a transcript be prepared, for purposes of appeal to the Court of Appeals, at no cost to the
appellant. A petition filed under this provision shall include the following:

(1) Title of the case;

(2) Case identification numbers;

(3) Name, address and telephone number of the attorney representing the appellant;
(4) A sworn affidavit from the appellant which shall include:

(a) Appellant’s monthly personal income from all sources including income from trusts, bonds, and savings
certificates; .
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(b) A list, at market value, of all stocks, bonds, savings certificates or other certificates of indebtedness held by
the appellant and the appellant’s spouse if residing in the same household;

(c) If residing in the same household, the monthly personal income from all sources for appellant’s spouse;
(d) A statement of the monthly expenses for the appellant’s household;

(e) If the appellant owns any rental property, a statement showing the appellant’s equity in the property and
the monthly income and expense for the property;

(f) If the appellant owns outright or is purchasing the property in which he or she resides, a statement showing
the market value of the property, the appellant’s equity in the property, and the present monthly payments, if any.

H. Continuances during the hearing. If it appears in the interests of justice that further testimony should be received, the
compensation judge, in his or her discretion, may continue the hearing to a future date and oral notice on the record shall be
sufficient if given at the time of the original hearing. Otherwise, the notice of the date for the continued hearing shall be in
writing and served on all parties.

I. Hearing procedure.

1. Compensation judge conduct. The compensation judge shall not communicate, directly or indirectly, in connection
with any issue of fact or law with any party concerning any pending case, except upon notice and opportunity for all parties to
participate.

2. Unless the compensation judge determines that the substantial rights of the parties will be ascertained better in some
other manner, the hearing shall be conducted substantially in the following manner:

a. After opening the hearing, the compensation judge shall, unless all parties are represented by counsel, state the
procedural rules for the hearing;

b. Any stipulations, settlement agreements or consent orders entered into by any of the parties prior to the hearing
shall be entered into the record;

¢. If the compensation judge requests opening statements, the party with the burden ef proof shall proceed first. All
other parties shall make such statements in a sequence determined by the compensation judge;

d. After any opening statements, the party with the burden of proof shail begin the presentation of evidence. That
party shall be followed by the other parties in a sequence determined by the compensation judge;

e. Cross-examination of witnesses shall be conducted in a sequence determined by the compensation judge;

f. When all parties and witnesses have been heard, if the compensation judge believes that legal issues remain
unresolved, opportunity may be afforded to present final argument, in a sequence determined by the compensation judge. Final
argument may, in the discretion of the compensation judge, be in the form of written memoranda or oral argument, or both. Oral
final argument shall not be recorded, unless requested by a party or upon the order of the compensation judge. Written
memoranda shall, when allowed, be submitted simultaneously or sequentially and within such time periods as the compensation
judge shall prescribe. Final arguments shall be limited to legal issues only;

g. After final argument, if any, the hearing shall be closed or continued if ordered by the compensation judge. If
continued, it shall be either continued to a certain time and day, which shall be announced at the time of the hearing and made a
part of the record, or continued to a date to be determined later, which must be upon not less than 15 days written notice to the
parties;

h. The record of the case shall be closed upon receipt of the final written memorandum, transcript, if any, or late-filed
exhibits which the parties and the compensation judge have agreed should be received into the record, whichever occurs last.

J. Disruption of hearing.

1. Cameras. No television, newsreel, motion picture, still or other camera, and no mechanical recording devices, other
than those provided by the office of administrative hearings, shall be operated in the hearing room during the course of the
hearing unless permission is obtained from the compensation judge and then subject to such conditions as the compensation
judge may impose to avoid disruption of the hearing.
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2. Other conduct. Pursuant to and in accordance with the provisions of Minn. Stat. § 624.72, no person shall interfere
with the free, proper and lawful access to or egress from the hearing room. No person shall interfere with the conduct of, disrupt
or threaten interference with or disruption of the hearing. In the event of interference or disruption or threat thereof, the
compensation judge shall read this rule to those persons causing the interference or disruption and thereafter proceed as the
judge deems appropriate.

9 MCAR § 2.318 The compensation judge’s decision.
A. Basis for the decision.

1. The record. No factual information or evidence which is not a part of the record shall be considered by the
compensation judge in the determination of the case.

2. Administrative notice. The compensation judge may take administrative notice of general, technical or scientific facts
within the judge’s specialized knowledge in conformance with the requirements of Minn. Stat. § 15.0419, subd. 4 provided that
notice of the taking of such administrative notice is given and opportunity has been provided to all parties to rebut the facts
sought to be noticed.

B. Compensation judge decisions. !

1. Following the close of the record, the compensation judge shall prepare his or her decision and, upon completion,
shall immediately file it with the commissioner who shall serve it on all parties as required by Minn. Stat. § 176.281.

2. The compensation judge’s decision shall contain the following:
a. The date and location of the hearing and the compensation judge's name;

b. Appearances by parties, if pro se, or their attorneys, giving the full name and mailing address, including zip code,
of each;
c. The date on which the record of the hearing closed;

d. A notice of the right of parties to appeal and how the appeal can be perfected;

e. Findings of fact, conclusions and a determination on each issue raised. In cases involving a multiplicity of issues,
the compensation judge may organize the decision by major subissues if the judge determines that organizing the decision in that
manner will aid the reader in understanding the contents of it.

C. Readability. Compensation judge decisions shall be clear and concise and shall be written in a prose style which can be
read and understood by persons of average intelligence. English rather than Latin terms shall be used unless it is necessary to
utilize the Latin terminology.

D. Proposed decision filed by party. Any party may file a proposed decision with the compensation judge before the record is
closed. Any proposed decision submitted shall conform to the provisions of these rules, shall be served on all other parties and
shall be in a form which would allow the compensation judge to sign and issue the decision if it is acceptable.

9 MCAR § 2.319 Rehearing. When a compensation judge has issued his or her findings, conclusions and decision, the judge's
Jjurisdiction over the case shall end, except for taxation of disbursements or awarding of attorney’s fees, unless the matter is
rereferred to the compensation judge by the court of appeals and the chief hearing examiner for supplemental findings, taking of
additional testimony, rehearing, or other action; provided that compensation judges may correct clerical errors in decisions at
any time prior to appeal.

9 MCAR § 2.320 Settlements.

A. Stipulations. Stipulations for settlement are allowed pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 176.521 and shall conform to that section
and to the requirements of this rule.

B. Filing. All stipulations for settlement shall be filed within 30 days of the date the settleﬁlent was negotiated.

C. Approval. Stipulations for settlement shall be filed with and approved by the commissioner or the commissioner’s
designee if the case has not been referred to the chief hearing examiner.

Stipulations for settlement reached and agreed upon subsequent to the referral of the case to the chief hearing examiner
shall be filed with and subject to approval by the compensation judge assigned to hear the case or the calendar judge if the matter
has not yet been assigned.

D. Contents. Stipulations for settlement shall ¢ontain the following information;
1. A brief statement of all of the admitted material facts;

2. A detailed statement of the matters in dispute, setting forth the contentions of the parties, supported by all medical
reports or other documents in the possession of each party pertaining to each issue;
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3. The weekly wage and compensation rate of the employee;
4. An itemization of the sums, if any, previously paid by the employer and insurer;

5. A statement that all medical or treatment expenses have been paid by the employer and insurer, or an itemization of
the expenses which have not been paid by the employer and insurer, indicating which payments, if any, have been made by the
employee. The stipulation shall specifically state whether any third party has paid any of the expenses and, if payments have
been made, shall include the name and address of the third party together with any identifying claim or policy number;

6. The number of weeks and rate of compensation and, in cases of permanent partial disability, the percentage loss or
loss of use upon which the compromise agreement is based;

7. Where applicable, the amount payable by the employer and insurer to the workers' compensation division for the
benefit of the special compensation fund;

8. Where applicable, a statement that the employee has been fully advised of the provisions of Minn. Stat. §§ 176.132
and 176.645, and the effect of the settlement upon any future claims for supplementary benefits or adjustment of benefits;

9. Where applicable, a statement that the employee is claiming or waiving his or her right to make application for an
award of attorney’s fees against the employer or insurer pursuant to Minn. Stat. §§ 176.081, subd. 7 or 8, 176.135 or 176.191.

E. Attorney’'s fees detailed. Stipulations for settlement of cases in which the employee or dependents have engaged the
services of an attorney shall be accompanied by a statement of the amount of attorney’s fees requested and an itemization of the
costs incurred, specifying who will be responsible for payment of each cost, and shall provide sufficient information to show the
reasonableness of the requested fees and costs in accordance with Minn. Stat. § 176.081. If no fees are requested, the
stipulation shall so state.

F. Medical reports. Stipulations for settlement shall be accompanied by copies of all medical reports in the possession of the
parties which have not previously been filed.

G. Award. The parties involved in the settlement shall submit an award on stipualtion prepared for signature by the
applicable judge and sufficient copies thereof for all parties to be served if the settlement is approved.

H. Copy to client. The attorney representing the employee or dependents shall furnish a copy of the stipulation for settiement
to his or her client at the time the client signs the stipulation.

1. Signatures. Stipulations for settlement shall be signed by all parties as required by Minn. Stat. § 176.521.

J. Payment. The employer and insurer shall make payments pursuant to an award on stipualtion within 14 days from the date
the award on stipulation is served.

9 MCAR § 2.321 Attorney fees.

A. Authorization. Whenever an employer or insurer receives notice that an attorney is representing an employee or
dependent, 25 percent of the compensation, not including medical expense, shall be withheld pending an order determining the
reasonable value of any claim for legal services or disbursements pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 176.081. Written notice that the
compensation is being withheld shall immediately be mailed to the employee or dependents, the attorney and the division at its
Saint Paul office. .

B. Application. In applicable cases, the filing of a claim petition or an objection to discontinuance of compensation shall
constitute an application for the award of attorney fees against the employer and insurer pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 176.081,
subd. 7.

Application for determination and approval of any claim for legal services or disbursements may be filed by the employer or
insurer, the employee or dependents or the attorney. Application for attorney fees shall be by written petition. Any application
shall disclose the amount of compensation withheld, the total fees or disbursements previously paid to said attorney or his
associates and, if filed by the attorney for the employee or dependents, the amount of any retainer fee paid. Applications filed by
attorneys shall contain sufficient information to show the reasonableness of the requested fees in accordance with Minn. Stat.
§ 176.081, subd. 5.

A separate application is not necessary if filed as part of a stipulation for settlement as provided in these rules.
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C. Filing. Applications under this rule shall be filed with the commissioner unless the case has been referred to the chief ‘
hearing examiner for assignment, in which case it shall be filed with the compensation judge assigned to hear the case or the
calendar judge if no assignment has been made.

9 MCAR § 2.322 Taxation of costs and disbursements.

A. Service of request. Service of the request for taxation of costs and disbursements shall be made upon the other parties, or
their attorneys, by the taxing party.

B. Service of objection. An opposing party has five working days from the date of service upon him in which to serve and file
a formal objection to taxation or allowance, with admission or proof of service upon the other parties.

C. Hearing. If requested, a time for hearing before the compensation judge who heard the case shall be fixed. A notice
thereof shall be given to the parties by the compensation judge.

9 MCAR § 2.323 Second injury law.

A. Application. Application for registration of physically impaired employees shall be in a format prescribed by the division
and submitted pursuant to rules of the commissioner.

B. Hearing. Should the commissioner deem the application unacceptable prior to the subsequent injury, the applicant may,
within 60 days following receipt of notice of rejection, petition to the division, in writing, for hearing upon the application. A
copy of the petition shall be served by the applicant upon the state treasurer, custodian of the special compensation fund, and
upon the attorney general. Upon receipt of the petition, the commissioner shall refer the matter to the chief hearing examiner for
hearing which hearing shall be conducted by a compensation judge as provided by Minn. Stat. § 176.411, with right of appeal.

C. Referral. If a dispute arises following the notice of intention to claim reimbursement under Minn. Stat. § 176.131, subd. 6,.
the commissioner shall refer the matter to the chief hearing examiner who shall assign the matter to a compensation judge for
hearing which hearing shall be conducted as provided by Minn. Stat. § 176.411, with right of appeal.

9 MCAR § 2.324 Other hearings. Pursuant to the provisions of Minn. Stat. § 15.052, subd. 3, all hearings not discussed herein but
required to be conducted by a compensation judge of the office of administrative hearings shall be conducted in substantial
compliance with these rules provided, however, that in any dispute wherein an immediate hearing is necessary in order to carry
out the purpose and intent of the Minnesota workers’ compensation law, the notice of hearing shall be given not less than five
working days prior to the hearing date. The chief hearing examiner shall provide expedited assignment of compensation judges
to these hearings and shall assign compensation judges to the hearings in a manner which will allow the compensation judge’s
decision to be issued immediately upon conclusion of the hearing or as soon thereafter as may be reasonable and practical.

9 MCAR § 2.325 Permanent partial disability panel.

A. Notification to administrator. Upon receipt of a file from the commissioner, if the chief hearing examiner, or a calendar or
compensation judge if the case has been assigned to them, determines from a review of the file that permanent partial disability
is a significant issue to be determined in the case, the chief hearing examiner shall immediately notify the administrator of the
workers’ compensation court of appeals if the employee resides in a county selected by the court of appeals pursuant to the
provisions of Minn. Stat. § 176.152, subd. 7.

B. Questions to panel. When the administrator of the workers’ compensation court of appeals notifies the chief hearing
examiner of the names and addresses of the members of the permanent partial disability panel, the compensation judge, or the
chief hearing examiner in cases in which a compensation judge has not yet been assigned, shall submit written questions to the
panel. A copy of the questions shall be served on all parties at the same time.

Hearing. When the chief hearing examiner or compensation judge receives the report of the panel, the case shall be set for a
regular hearing as soon as practicable.

D. Disputes relating to payment of panel members. Disputes relating to the payment of the fees of panel members arising
pursuant to the provisions of Minn. Stat. § 176.152, subd. 6, shall be brought to the attention of the compensation judge
assigned to hear the case no later than 20 days prior to the date of the hearing. The parties disputing the fee shall notify the
compensation judge, in writing, of the intent to dispute the fee, stating therein the specific facts relied upon in disputing the fee.
A copy of this notification shall be served on all other parties and the members of the panel at the same time as it is filed with the
compensation judge. At the hearing, the dispute shall be determined as other issues in the case.

9 MCAR § 2.326 Exhibits: removal and return.

A. Requests for removal. All requests for permission to remove any exhibit or document from the official file must be made
to the compensation judge to whom the file has been assigned or to the supervisor of the docket section of the office.

B. Return without consent or notice. Upon the expiration of the time in which to appeal, all exhibits or other documentary
evidence may be returned to their source of origin without the consent of the parties or notice thereto, upon order of the
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compensation judge. A copy of the letter of transmittal of the exhibits or documents shall remain in the file as part of the record
of the case.

C. Request for return. Upon expiration of the time in which to appeal, exhibits or other documentary evidence shall be
returned to their source upon the request of the party which introduced the evidence into the record. A request for return of
exhibits or documents shall be made in writing to the compensation judge, shall contain the title and appropriate identification
number of the case in which they were entered into evidence, and shall identify the exhibits or documents requested. A
telephone number of the person making the request shall be included with the request.

Department of Agriculture
Agronomy Services Division

Proposed Rules Governing Storage and Handling of Liquid and Dry Commercial Fertilizer
Notice of Intent to Adopt Rules without a Public Hearing

Notice is hereby given that the Minnesota Department of Agriculture proposes to adopt the above-entitled rules without a
public hearing. The Commissioner of Agriculture has determined that the proposed adoption of these rules will be
noncontroversial in nature and has elected to follow the procedures set forth in Minnesota Statutes, § 15.0412, subdivision 4h
(1980).

Persons interested in these rules shall have 30 days to submit comment on the proposed rules. The proposed rules may be
modified if the modifications are supported by the data and views submitted to the agency and do not result in a substantial
change in the proposed language.

Unless seven or more persons submit written requests for a public hearing on the proposed rules within the 30-day comment
period, a public hearing will not be held. In the event a public hearing is required, the agency will proceed according to the
provisions of Minnesota Statutes section 15.0412, subdivisions 4-4f (1980).

Persons who wish to submit comments or a written request for a public hearing should submit such comments or request to:
Gerald Heil, Minnesota Department of Agriculture, 90 West Plato Boulevard, St. Paul, MN 55107, (612) 296-1486. If a public
hearing is requested, identification of the particular objection, the suggested modifications to the proposed language, and the
reasons or data relied on to support the suggested modification is desired.

Authority for the adoption of these rules is contained in the Minnesota Fertilizer, Soil Amendment and Plant Amendment
Law, Minn. Stat. §§ 17.711 to 17.729, as amended by Laws of 1981, ch. 214. Additionally, a statement of need and
reasonableness that describes the need for and reasonableness of each provision of the proposed rules and identifies the data
and information relied upon to support the proposed rules has been prepared and is available upon request from: Gerald Heil,
Minnesota Department of Agriculture, 90 West Plato Boulevard, St. Paul, MN 55107, (612) 296-1486.

Upon adoption of the final rules without a public hearing, the proposed rules, this notice, the statement of need and
reasonableness, all written comments received, and the final rules as adopted will be delivered to the Attorney General for a
review as to form and legality, including the issue of substantial change. Persons who wish to be advised of the submission of
this material to the Attorney General, or who wish to receive a copy of the final rules as proposed for adoption, should submit a
written statement of such request to Gerald Heil, Minnesota Department of Agriculture, 90 West Plato Boulevard, St. Paul, MN
55107, (612) 296-1486.

The purpose of the Minnesota Fertilizer, Soil Amendment and Plant Amendment Law is to regulate the sale and handling of
fertilizers and soil conditioners within the State of Minnesota. Presently, no rules exist which govern the storage and handling of
liquid and dry commercial fertilizers. Proper storage and handling of liquid and dry commercial fertilizers benefits public health
and safety by helping to reduce the number and severity of fertilizer spills which could adversely affect ground and surface
water quality.

Please be advised that Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 10A, requires each lobbyist to register with the Ethical Practices Board
within five days after he/she becomes a lobbyist. Lobbying includes attempting to influence rulemaking by communicating or
using others to communicate with public officials. A lobbyist is generally any individual who spends more than $250 per year for
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lobbying or any individual who is engaged for pay or authorized to spend money by another individual or association and who
spends more than $250 per year or five hours per month at lobbying. The statute provides certain exceptions. Questions should
be directed to the Ethical Practices Board, 41 State Office Building, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155, (612) 296-5615.

Copies of this notice and the proposed rules are available and may be obtained by contacting Gerald Heil, Minnesota
Department of Agriculture, 90 West Plato Boulevard, St. Paul, Minnesota 55107, (612) 296-1486.

September 17, 1981

Mark W. Seetin
Commissioner of Agriculture

Rules as Proposed (all new material)
3 MCAR § 1.0325 Liquid fertilizers.

A. Authority and purpose. This rule is adopted by the Commissioner of Agriculture pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 17.725, to
govern the storage and handling of liquid commercial fertilizer used for agricultural purposes.

B. Definitions. For the purpose of this rule, the terms defined in this rule, and the terms defined in Minn. Stat. § 17.713,
have the meanings given them.

1. “‘Appurtenances’’ means valves, pumps, fittings and metering or dispensing devices.
2. “‘Department’’ means the Department of Agriculture.

3. “‘Incident’’ means a flood, fire, tornado, transportation accident, storage container rupture or leak or other release of
liquid fertilizer, whether accidental or not, which is likely to cause adverse effects on the environment.

4. “Liquid commercial fertilizer’” means mixed fertilizer or fertilizer materials distributed in a nonpackage form.
5. ‘“‘Responsible party’’ means the person who has direct custody or control of liquid fertilizer at the time of an incident.

6. ‘‘Safeguard” means a facility, device or system or a combination of any of them designed to prevent the escape or
movement of a substance or solution from the place it is stored or kept under conditions which might result in the pollution of
any state waters. '

7. “‘Storage container’’ means a tank in which commercial fertilizer is stored. This does not include delivery equnpment
unless the delivery equipment is used for storage.

C. Approval of facility and equipment. A person beginning construction of a new liquid fertilizer storage facility or modifying
an existing liquid fertilizer storage facility shall first obtain the approval of the Commissioner of Agriculture or his designee. The
application shall be made on forms provided by the commissioner. The application shall be approved when inspection of the
facility and review of the application demonstrates that the proposed facility satisfies the requirements of this rule and provides
safeguards to prevent hazards to people’s lives, adjoining property or the environment.

At any time, the commissioner may review approved facilities where it appears that existing safeguards are not sufficient to
prevent hazards to people’s lives, adjoining property or the environment. Upon determination by the commissioner that
hazards to people’s lives, adjoining property or the environment do exist, the commissioner may withdraw approval or require
additional mitigation measures to be taken.

D. Exceptions. Parts F.1. and G.3. shall not apply to facilities and equipment governed by this rule which were established
prior to the date of adoption of this rule unless the existing facility, without modification, would result in a hazard to people’s
lives, adjoining property or the environment.

E. Variances. Upon réceipt of a written request, the department may grant a variance from a provision of this rule. A
variance will be granted iwhen the request shows that compliance with this rule would cause unnecessary hardship to the
requester and that the requested use would not constitute a hazard to people’s lives, adjoining property or the environment. The
department shall set forth in writing its reasons for granting or denying a requested variance.

F. Equipment.

1. Adequate provisions shall be made to protect all exposed piping from physical damage that might result from moving
machinery, equipment and vehicles.

2. Main valves shall be located as near to the storage container as possible and shall be either closed and made
inoperative when the facility is unattended or protected against tampering by adequate fencing.

3. Appurtenances shall be inspected, properly maintained, protected against rust and painted to prevent corrosion or
failure.
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G. Storage containers.

1. Storage containers shall be inspected, properly maintained, protected against rust and painted to prevent corrosion or
failure.

2. Storage container areas shall be kept free of clutter and ignitible materials including weeds and long dry grass.

3. Persons storing liquid fertilizers in storage containers of a rated capacity of 500 gallons or more shall provide
safeguards for containment equal to the amount of the largest single storage container.

H. Markings.

1. Each storage container shall be labeled in a clearly legible and conspicuous manner with the appropriate grade or
guaranteed analysis of the contents of the storage container.

2. An identification sign shall be displayed in a clearly legible and conspicuous manner stating the name, address and
telephone number of the nearest agent, representative or owner of the storage facility.

1. Incidents. A person involved in or responsible for an incident shall report the incident to the department. The department
shall immediately notify other appropriate state agencies. The responsible party shall take appropriate action to contain or clean
up the incident. The department shall be the lead state agency for making decisions involving the clean-up or containment
operations and may initiate those operations if it appears necessary. By initiating clean-up or containment operations, the
department shall not be deemed to assume any liability for costs in addition to that prescribed or imposed by law.

3 MCAR § 1.0326 Dry fertilizers.

A. Authority and purpose. This rule is adopted by the Commissioner 6f Agriculture pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 17.725 to
regulate the storage and handling of dry commercial fertilizer used for agricultural purposes.

B. Definitions. For the purpose of this rule, the terms defined in this part, and the words defined in Minn. Stat. § 17.713, have
the meanings given them.

1. “‘Department’’ means the Department of Agriculture.
2. “Dry commercial fertilizer’’ means both mixed fertilizer and fertilizer materials distributed in a nonpackage form.

3. “Incident” means a flood, fire, tornado, transportation accident or other event causing a release of dry fertilizer,
whether accidental or not, which is likely to cause adverse effects on the environment.

4, “‘Responsible party’” means the person who has direct custody or control of the dry fertilizer at the time of an
incident.

5. *‘Storage container’’ means a tank or bin in which commercial fertilizer is stored. This does not include delivery
equipment unless the delivery equipment is used for storage.

C. Approval of facility and equipment. A person beginning construction of a new dry fertilizer storage facility or modifying
an existing dry fertilizer storage facility shall first obtain the approval of the Commissioner of Agriculture or his designee. The
application shall be made on forms provided by the commissioner. The application shall be approved when inspection of the
facility and review of the application demonstrates that the proposed facility satisfies the requirements of this rule and provides
safeguards to prevent hazards to people’s lives, adjoining property or the environment.

At any time, the commissioner may review approved facilities where it appears that existing safeguards are not sufficient to
prevent hazards to people’s lives, adjoining property or the environment. Upon determination by the commissioner that
hazards to people’s lives, adjoining property or the environment do exist, the commissioner may withdraw approval or require
additional mitigation measures to be taken.

D. Exceptions. Part G. shall not apply to facilities and equipment governed by this rule which were established prior to the
date of adoption of this rule unless the existing facility, without modification, would result in a hazard to people’s lives,
adjoining property or the environment.

E. Variances. Upon receipt of a written request, the department may grant a variance from a provision of this rule. A
variance will be granted when the request shows that compliance with this rule would cause unnecessary hardship to the
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requester and that the requested use would not constitute a hazard to people’s lives, adjoining property or the environment. The
department shall set forth in writing its reasons for granting or denying a requested variance.

F. Equipment. Equipment shall be maintained in good operating order.

G. Operations. Dry commercial fertilizer facilities shall be operated to allow the unloading, storage, mixing and loading of the
bulk materials in a manner which will prevent avoidable amounts of particulate matter from leaving the premises.

H. Storage containers. Storage containers shall be maintained to prevent major cross contamination of various dry
commercial fertilizer ingredients and materials. Storage container areas shall be kept free of clutter and ignitible materials
including weeds and long dry grass.

I. Markings. Each storage container shall be labeled in a clearly legible and conspicuous manner with the appropriate grade
or guaranteed analysis of its contents.

J. Outside fertilizer storage. Outside fertilizer storage piles shall not be located in areas subject to floods or where surface
water runoff could enter storm sewers, sanitary sewers or other state waters.

K. Incidents. A person involved in or responsible for an incident shall report the incident to the department. The department
shall immediately notify other appropriate state agencies. The responsible party shall take appropriate action to contain or clean
up the incident. The department shall be the lead state agency for making decisions involving clean-up or containment
operations and may initiate those operations if it appears necessary. By initiating clean-up or containment operations, the
department shall not be deemed to assume any liability for costs in addition to that prescribed or imposed by law.

Department of Commerce
Securities and Real Estate Division

Proposed Rule SDiv 2030 (Cheap Stock), Relating to the Minnesota Securities Act
Notice of Intent to Amend Rule without a Hearing

Notice is hereby given that, pursuant to her authority under Minn. Stat. § 80A.25 (1980), the Commissioner of Securities and
Real Estate intends to amend Rule SDiv 2030 (Cheap Stock), relating to the Minnesota Securities Act (Minn. Stat. ch. 80A). The
commissioner desires that the proposed rule be amended without a public hearing in accordance with Minn. Stat. § 15.0412,
subd. 4h (1980).

A free copy of the proposed rule may be obtained from the commissioner’s office. Those interested in submitting comment
pertaining to the proposed rule may do so within 30 days of publication of this notice in the State Register. Additionally, if during
the 30-day comment period, seven or more persons make a written request for a hearing on the proposed rule, the commissioner
will hold a public hearing in accordance with Minn. Stat. § 15.0412, subdivisions 4 to 4g (1980). A request for a copy of the
proposed rule, all comments, any requests for a hearing and all questions regarding the proposed rule should be directed to:

Mr. Daniel W. Hardy

Assistant to the Commissioner
Securities and Real Estate Division
Department of Commerce

500 Metro Square Building

Saint Paul, Minnesota 55101
Telephone: (612) 296-5689

The proposed rule may be modified by the commissioner if the modifications are supported by the data and views submitted
during the 30-day comment period, provided the modifications do not result in substantial change.

The commissioner has prepared a statement of need and reasonableness which contains a summary of the evidence justifying
both the need for, and the reasonableness of, the proposed rule. The statement of need and reasonableness is available for
inspection by the public, during regular business hours, at the above address.

If no hearing is required, the commissioner will submit to the Attorney General the proposed rule and notice as published in
the State Register, the rule as proposed for adoption, any written comments received by the commissioner during the 30-day
comment period, and the statement of need and reasonableness for the rule. On the same day these materials are submitted to
the Attorney General the commissioner will notify any person who has requested that the commissioner inform him or her of
when these materials have been submitted to the Attorney General. Any person wishing to be so notified should contact Mr.
Hardy at the address listed above. .
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A copy of the existing rule and proposed changes follows this notice.

Finally, Minn. Stat. ch. 10A.03 (1980) requires each lobbyist to register with the State Ethical Practices Board within five
days after he or she commences lobbying. A lobbyist is defined in Minn. Stat. § 10A.01, subd. 11 (1980) as any individual:

(a) Engaged for pay or other consideration, or authorized by another individual or association to spend money, who spends
more than five hours in any month or more than $250, not including his own travel expenses and membership dues, in any year,
for the purpose of attempting to influence legislative or administrative action by communicating or urging others to
communicate with public officials; or

(b) Who spends more than $250, not including his own traveling expenses and membership dues, in any year for the purpose
of attempting to influence legislative or administrative action by communicating or urging others to communicate with public
officials.

The statute provides certain exceptions. Questions should be directed to the Ethical Practices Board, 41 State Office
Building, Saint Paul, Minnesota 55155, telephone: (612) 296-5615.

August 26, 1981

Mary Alice Brophy
Commissioner of Securities and Real Estate

Rule as Proposed
SDiv 2030 Cheap stock.

@) The amount of “‘cheap stock™ alowable; based upon the “fair value of the equity investment™ as defined in SBiv
2029(b); shall net exceed three times the first 10 percent of equity investinent and tweo timnes any further equity investent to @
meximum nummber of shares of cheap stock allowable of 50 percent of the total number of shares to be eutstanding after the
propesed offering-

A. Quantity. The quantity of cheap stock, expressed as a percentage of the total number of shares to be outstanding after the
proposed offering, shall not exceed the percentages in Exhibit SDiv 2030 A.-1., depending on the *“‘fair value of the equity
investment’’ as defined in SDiv 2029 (b).

Exhibit SDiv 2030 A.-1.
Maximum Amount of Cheap Stock Outstanding

Minimum Investment Cheap Stock
5% 15%
10% 30%
15% 40%
20% 50%
30% 70%

¢y B. Definition. Cheap stock means securities:

€8 1. Issued in consideration of property tangible or intangible, or services, the value of which has not been reasonably
established, or

€2) 2. Issued at a price substantially less than the public offering price of the securities and which cannot be justified with
reference to the existence of an active public market for such securities. Securities issued at a price substantially less than the
public offering price of the securities means:

as) a. Securities issued for less thafi 66%:% percent of the public offering price if the securities were issued less than

one year prior to registration:;
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by b. Securities issued for less than 509% percent of the public offering price if the securities were issued more than
one year but less than two years prior to registration;

ee} c. Securities issued for less than 3344 percent of the public offering price if the securities were issued more than
two years but less than three years prior to registration.

In the case of unexercised options, or other securities convertible into the same class of security as that proposed to be
offered, the aggregate of the cash amount paid and the.cash amount required to be paid pursuant to the conversion or exercise
privilege shall be divided by the number of shares issuable upon conversion or exercise to determine whether the securities
were ‘‘issued at a price substantially less than the public offering price.”’

€& C. Exclusions. Cheap stock does not include:

€h 1. Securities which have been outstanding more than three years at the time of the proposed registration, provided
that the issuer of or its predecessors have been in active, continuous business operation for more than three years immediately
prior to the proposed registration;

€5 2. Securities of an issuer which ) had earnings during the final year prior to registration or ¢b3 had earnings during
two of the three fiscal years prior to registration, as determined in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles,
after taxes and excluding extraordinary income, if such earnings are in an amount equal to 4 four percent of the proposed public
offering price on all outstanding shares of the same class at the date of application for registration; or

€33 3. Securities previously issued pursuant to a registration under Minn. Stat. ch. 80A.

Department of Revenue
Income Tax Division .

Proposed Rule Governing Practice of Attorneys, Accountants, Agents and Preparers
before the Department of Revenue (13 MCAR § 1.6101); and Proposed Repeal of
Income Tax Rule 2052(4)

Notice of Intent to Adopt Rules without a Public Hearing

Notice is hereby given that the Department of Revenue proposed to adopt the above-entitled rule and repeal the existing rule
without a public hearing. The commissioner has determined that the proposed adoption of this rule and repeal of this rule will be
noncontroversial in nature and has elected to follow the procedures set forth in Minnesota Statutes, § 15.0412, subdivision 4h
(1980).

Persons interested in these rules shall have 30 days to submit comments on the proposed rules. The proposed rules may be
modified if the modifications are supported by the data and views submitted to the agency and do not result in a substantial
change in the proposed language.

Unless seven or more persons submit written requests for a public hearing on the proposed rules within the 30-day comment
period, a public hearing will not be held. In the event a public hearing is required, the agency will proceed according to the
provisions of Minnesota Statutes, § 15.0412, subdivisions 4-4f.

Persons who wish to submit comments or a written request for a public hearing should submit such comments or request to:

Mr. Dale H. Busacker

Attorney, Income Tax Division
Minnesota Department of Revenue
Centennial Office Building

St. Paul, Minnesota 55145

(612) 296-3439

Authority for the adoption of these rules is contained in Minnesota Statutes, § 290.52. Additionally, a statement of need and
reasonableness that describes the need for and reasonableness of each provision of the proposed rules and identifies the data
and information relied upon to support the proposed rules has been prepared and is available from Mr. Busacker upon request.

Upon adoption of the final rules without a public hearing, the proposed rules, this notice, the statement of need and
reasonableness, all written comments received, and the final rules as adopted will be delivered to the Attorney General for
review as to form and legality, including the issue of substantial change. Persons who wish to be advised of the submission of
this material to the Attorney General, or who wish to receive a copy of the final rules as proposed for adoption, should submit a
written statement of such request to Mr. Busacker.
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The general purpose of this rule is to regulate the practice of attorneys, accountants, agents and preparers (hereinafter
referred to as ‘‘tax practitioners’’) before the Department of Revenue. Specifically, the rule is needed (1) to implement the
authority which is granted to the Commissioner of Revenue to suspend or disbar tax practitioners, by providing a uniform
procedure for such suspension or disbarment; (2) to provide ethical standards of behavior governing practice before the
department; (3) to set minimum standards of competency for those who practice; (4) to define what is disreputable conduct; and
(5) to define the nature and scope of practice before the Department of Revenue.

The existing Income Tax Rule 2052(4) is repealed because this new rule will supersede it and make it unnecessary.
Copies of this notice and the proposed rules are available and may be obtained by contacting Mr. Busacker.

September 17, 1981

Clyde E. Allen, Jr.
Commissioner of Revenue

Rule as Proposed (all new material)
13 MCAR § 1.6101 Practice of attorneys, accountants, agents, and preparers before the Department of Revenue.

A. Practice defined. The term ‘‘practice’” comprehends all matters connected with the presentation by an attorney,
accountant, agent, or preparer to the Department of Revenue or any of its employees, upon filing an executed power of
attorney, of a client’s rights, privileges, or liabilities under Minn. Stat. ch. 290 or 290A, and the rules thereunder. Practice
includes the preparation and filing of necessary documents, correspondence with and communication to the Department of
Revenue, and the representation of a client at conferences, hearings, and meetings. However, the preparation and signing of a
tax return, the appearance of an individual as a witness for a taxpayer, and the furnishing of information at the request of the
Department of Revenue or any of its employees do not, of and by themselves, constitute practice before the department, unless
these acts are coupled with the presentation of a client’s case at conferences, hearings, or meetings. For purposes of this rule,
the term ‘‘practice’’ is synonymous with ‘‘representation.”’

B. Scope of representation pursuant to power of attorney.

1. When authorized by the taxpayer through a written power of attorney, an attorney, accountant, agent, or preparer
may appear as the taxpayer’s representative, with or without the taxpayer, before an employee of the Department of Revenue
with respect to the tax liability of the taxpayer for the type of tax and taxable year or period authorized in the power of attorney.

2. For purposes of this rule, a power of attorney grants authority to deal with any of the following: original or amended
individual income tax returns; property tax refund returns; fiduciary income tax returns; partnership returns of income;
corporation income tax returns, including returns of small business corporations, life insurance companies, banks, and savings
and loan associations; employers income tax withholding returns or deposits; claims for refund; and estimated tax declarations.

3. A taxpayer representative may inspect only those state records, files, or documents which are either specifically
listed, or directly or indirectly connected with matters specifically listed in a power of attorney.

4. If the taxpayer is not present, a person presenting a power of attorney shall present identification satisfactory to the
department employee.

C. Persons ineligible to practice. Any person who is:
1. Under disbarment or suspension from practice before the Department of Revenue;
2. An employee of the Department of Revenue;

3. Under disbarment or suspension from practice as an attorney, certified public accountant, or licensed public
accountant in the State of Minnesota; or

4. Under disbarment or suspension from practice before the Internal Revenue Service shall be ineligible to appear as a
taxpayer representative under this rule. However, with regard to 3. and 4., a granting of reinstatement to practice as an
attorney, certified public accountant, or licensed public accountant, or a granting of reinstatement to practice before the
Internal Revenue Service shall automatically reinstate a person’s eligibility to practice before the Department of Revenue.
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D. Standards of ethics and conduct.

1. No attorney, accountant, agent, or preparer acting as a taxpayer representative shall neglect or refuse to submit
records or information in any matter before the Department of Revenue, upon proper and lawful request by a duly authorized
employee of the Department of Revenue, unless the taxpayer representative has a good faith belief that the information or
testimony is privileged. No taxpayer representative shall interfere, or attempt to interfere, with any proper and lawful efforts by
the Department of Revenue or its employees to obtain information relative to any matter before the Department of Revenue.
Insisting upon a subpoena shall not be a violation of this paragraph.

2. Each taxpayer representative shall exercise due diligence in regard to all of the following:

a. Preparing, assisting in the preparation of, approving, and filing returns, documents, affidavits, and any other
papers relating to Department of Revenue matters;

b. Determining the correctness of representations made by him to the Department of Revenue; and

c. Determining the correctness of representations made by him to clients with reference to any matter administered
by the Department of Revenue.

3. Each taxpayer representative shall exercise good faith in determining the correctness of representations made by
clients to him with reference to any matter administered by the Department of Revenue when the preparer or agent has
reasonable grounds to believe the client’s representations are false or inaccurate.

4. No taxpayer representative shall unreasonably delay the prompt disposition of any matter before the Department of
Revenue.

E. Incompetent conduct. Incompetent conduct, for which any attorney, accountant, agent, or preparer shall be subject to
disbarment or suspension from practice before the Department of Revenue, means the failure by an attorney, accountant,
agent, or preparer, after due warning has been given by the Commissioner of Revenue pursuant to G.3., to:

1. Demonstrate the familiarity with the income tax statutes, rules, and forms necessary to enable the practitioner to
properly apply, discuss, or complete them, and thus to render adequate services in connection with a taxpayer’s case before the
Department of Revenue; or

2. Exercise due diligence as required in D.2. The standard used for determining failure to exercise due diligence shall be
the common law standard of reasonableness used in determining negligence.

F. Disreputable conduct. Disreputable conduct, for which any attorney, accountant, agent, or preparer shall be subject to
disbarment or suspension from practice before the Department of Revenue, includes any conduct violative of D. In addition, the
following acts or events constitute disreputable conduct:

1. Conviction of any criminal offense under a state or federal tax statute, or conviction of any crime involving dishonesty
or breach of trust; i

2. Preparing or filing for himself or another a false or fraudulent Minnesota income tax return or other statement on
which Minnesota income taxes or a refund thereof may be based, knowing it is false or fraudulent;

3. Willful failure to prepare or file a Minnesota income tax return for himself or another in violation of the applicable
income tax statutes or rules; ‘

4. Willful failure to prepare or file an amended Minnesota income tax return for himself or another, knowing that a
material error or omission was made on the original return;

5. Suggesting to a client or a prospective client an illegal plan for evading Minnesota income taxes or the payment
thereof, knowing the plan is illegal;

6. Giving false testimony or information in any proceeding before the Department of Revenue, or before any tribunal
authorized to pass upon Minnesota income tax matters, knowing it is false:

7. Filing any false or fraudulently altered document, affidavit, or power of attorney in any case or other proceeding
before the Department of Revenue, or procuring the filing thereof, knowing it is false or fraudulently altered;

8. Using, with intent to deceive, false representations to procure employment in any case or proceeding before the
Department of Revenue, including, but not limited to:

a. Misrepresentations regarding eligibility to practice before the Department of Revenue;

b. Specific material misrepresentations regarding experience or education, whether general or specialized, as an
income tax return preparer;
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¢. Guaranteeing the payment of any tax refund or the allowance of any tax credit; or

d. Representing to a client that the attorney, accountant, agent, or preparer can improperly obtain special
consideration or action from the Department of Revenue or an employee thereof, or that he has improper access to sources of
information within the Department of Revenue which are otherwise private, confidential, or nonpublic;

9. Approving for filing, or advising or aiding in the preparation of, a false or fraudulent Minnesota income tax return
prepared by some other person, knowing the return is false or fraudulent;

10. Misappropriation of, or failure to properly and promptly remit, funds received from a client for the purpose of paying
taxes or other obligations due the State of Minnesota;

11. Endorsement or negotiation of a client’s check in payment of a refund of any tax, credit, penalty, or interest
administered by the Commissioner of Revenue, without the client’s prior endorsement. The preceding sentence shall not apply
when the full amount of the check is deposited in the taxpayer’s bank account for the benefit of the taxpayer;

12. Charging a client a fee based upon a percentage of the refund that the client is eligible to receive from the State of
Minnesota, unless representation of the client reaches the contested stage, either in a formal administrative hearing or a court
proceeding; '

13. Attempting to influence, or offering or agreeing to attempt to influence, the official action of any employee of the
Department of Revenue by the use of threats, false accusations, duress, or coercion, by the offer of any special inducement or
promise of advantage, or by the bestowing of any gift, favor, or thing of value;

14. In connection with practice before the Department of Revenue, making false accusations or statements knowing them
to be false, or circulating or publishing slanderous or libelous matter concerning the Department of Revenue or any of its
employees;

15. Knowingly aiding and abetting another person to practice before the Department of Revenue during a period of
disbarment or suspension of the other person;

16. For purposes of 1. through 15., the phrases “‘income tax’’ and ‘‘income tax return’’ include all matters referred to in
B.2.

G. Disbarment and suspension procedures.

1. Authority to disbar or suspend. Pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 290.52, the Commissioner of Revenue, after due notice and
opportunity for hearing, may suspend or disbar from further practice before the Department of Revenue any attorney,
accountant, agent, or preparer who: is shown to be incompetent or disreputable; refuses to comply with the provisions of this
rule; or in any manner willfully and knowingly defrauds, deceives, or misleads any taxpayer with respect to a claim or
prospective claim involving the Department of Revenue.

2. Violation of rule. Any attorney, accountant, agent, or preparer shall be subject to disbarment or suspension from
practice before the Department of Revenue for violation of any of the provisions contained in this rule.

3. Notification of violation of rule and issuance of warning. Whenever the Commissioner of Revenue has sufficient
grounds to believe that any attorney, accountant, agent, or preparer has violated a provision of this rule, he shall notify the
practitioner in writing of the specific violation which has been committed. The notification shall contain a warning to the
practitioner that if the violation continues, or if any other violations are committed, the commissioner shall commence a
proceeding for disbarment or suspension of the practitioner.

4. Commencement of disciplinary proceeding. Whenever the Commissioner of Revenue has sufficient grounds to
believe that any attorney, accountant, agent, or preparer has failed to comply with a warning by continuing to violate any
provision of this rule, he shall commence a proceeding for disbarment or suspension of the attorney, accountant, agent, or
preparer. The commissioner’s Notice of and Order for Hearing shall set forth the specific violations which the practitioner has
committed, both prior and subsequent to the commissioner’s warning, and shall make a recommendation as to the specific
disciplinary action to be taken against the practitioner. The entire proceeding shall be governed by the procedure for contested
case proceedings as provided in Minn. Stat. §§ 15.0411-15.0426 and in 9 MCAR §§ 2.201-2.299.

5. Voluntary suspension. An attorney, accountant, agent, or preparer, in order to avoid the commencement or
conclusion of a disciplinary proceeding, may, by agreement with the Commissioner of Revenue, consent to suspension from
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practicé before the Department of Revenue. The Commissioner of Revenue shall then suspend the practitioner in accordance
with the disciplinary guideline set forth in 6.

6. Disciplinary guideline for violation of rule. Upon completion of the hearing in a contested case proceeding for
disciplinary action brought by the Commissioner of Revenue against an attorney, accountant, agent, or preparer, if the hearing
examiner finds that the practitioner has committed the violations specified in the commissioner’s Notice of and Order for
Hearing, and that disciplinary action is appropriate, the commissioner shall:

a. Suspend the practitioner from practicing before the Department of Revenue for a period of up to one year, if the
proceeding brought against the practitioner is the first proceeding in which disciplinable misconduct has been found;

b. Suspend the practitioner for a period of up to five years if the proceeding brought against the practitioner is the
second proceeding in which the disciplinable misconduct has been found; or

c. Disbar the practitioner from practicing before the Department of Revenue if the proceeding brought against the
practitioner is at least the third proceeding in which disciplinable misconduct has been found.

For purposes of a., b., and c., a voluntary suspension pursuant to 5. is a proceeding in which disciplinable
misconduct has been found. The commissioner shall base his decision as to disciplinary action on all the facts before him, along
with any extenuating circumstances he deems relevant.

7. Effect of disbarment or suspension. If the commissioner’s order against an attorney, accountant, agent, or preparer is
for disbarment, the practitioner shall not thereafter be permitted to practice before the Department of Revenue, except to
represent himself. Similarly, if the'commissioner’s order against an attorney, accountant, agent, or preparer is for suspension,
the practitioner shall not thereafter be permitted to practice before the Department of Revenue during the period of suspension,
except to represent himself. The disbarment or suspension of an individual, where the individual was employed by a firm or
organization at the time his violation of this rule occurred, shall not affect the right of other members of the firm or organization
to practice before the department.

8. Petition for reinstatement. If there has been a material change in circumstances after suspension or disbarment, a
suspended or disbarred attorney, accountant, agent, or preparer may petition, in writing, the Commissioner of Revenue for
reinstatement to practice before the Department of Revenue. The petition must be supported with documentation or testimony
from a responsible third party as to the fitness, character and ability of the practitioner to resume practice. The commissioner
shall review the petition and make his determination within 30 days as to whether the practitioner shall be reinstated. If the
petition is granted by the commissioner, the practitioner may resume practice. If the petition is denied by the commissioner, no
further petitions may be brought by the practitioner during the remainder of the suspension period, or for a period of five years if
the practitioner has been disbarred.

Repealer. Income Tax rule 2052(4) is repealed.

Department of Revenue

Proposed Rules Governing Valuation and Assessment of Electric, Gas Distribution, and
Pipeline Companies (Utility Companies)

Notice of Hearing

Notice is hereby given that a public hearing will be held pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, § 15.0412, subdivision 4, in the
above-entitled matter in the Conference Room, 500 Rice Street, St. Paul, Minnesota on November 4, 1981, commencing at 10
a.m. and continuing until all persons or representatives of associations or other interested groups have had an opportunity to be
heard.

All interested or affected persons will have an opportunity to participate. Statements may be made orally and written
materials may be submitted at the hearing. In addition, written materials may be submitted by mail to Jon Lunde, Office of
Administrative Hearings, Room 300, 1745 University Avenue, Saint Paul, Minnesota, 55104, telephone (612) 296-5938, either
before the hearing or within five working days after the close of the hearing. The hearing examiner may extend this time limit for
a longer period; however, the extension cannot exceed 20 calendar days.

The rule hearing procedure is governed by Minnesota Statutes, §§ 15.0411 to 15.0417 and 15.052, and by 9 MCAR §§ 2.101 to
2.113 (Minnesota Code of Agency Rules). Any questions about procedure may be directed to the hearing examiner, Jon Lunde.

The proposed rules if adopted will effectively amend the current rules of the Department of Revenue relating to ad valorem
(property) taxes imposed on utilities. The present rules deal generally with the valuation, allocation and apportionment of
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property of electric, gas distribution, pipeline and cooperative electric companies. The proposed rules if adopted would: define
certain terms; require utilities to report the cost of leased property; modify the cost approach to value by allowing electric
companies an additional 1% depreciation, and gas distribution and pipeline companies an additional 22% depreciation.on the
original cost of the companies’ assets; increase the study period to be used when computing the ‘‘average cost per kilowatt of
installed capacity’” for steam and gas turbine generating plants; permit an allowance for pollution control equipment and an
allowance for obsolescence to be conducted from the value added to the cost approach to value due to the computation of the
“average cost per kilowatt of installed capacity’’ factor; detail the computation of these two allowances; modify the income
approach to value by increasing the capitalization rate by 0.5%; specify the types of utilities that are to be valued on a **cost
only’” method; provide for the utilization of ‘‘obsolescence allowances’ if a utility meets certain standards and detail the
methods to be used to calculate these allowances; specify certain standards to be met by utilities in the retirement of property;
require a utility to report certain information on property costs whenever a new taxing district is established; modify the base to
be used for the apportionment of utility property to the various taxing districts; and eliminate the example section of the rules
while incorporating the examples into the body of the rules.

One free copy of this notice and the proposed rules may be obtained by writing to G. D. Garski, Manager of State Assessed
Property, Property Equalization Division, Second Floor, Centennial Office Building, Saint Paul, Minnesota, 55145, telephone
(612) 296-5131. Additional copies will be available at the door on the date of the hearing.

The agency’s authority to promulgate the proposed rules is contained in Minnesota Statutes, §§ 270.06 and 270.11,
subdivisions | and 6.

Notice is hereby given that 25 days prior to the hearing, a statement of need and reasonableness will be available for review at
the agency and at the Office of Hearing Examiners. This statement of need and reasonableness will include a summary of all of
the evidence which will be presented by the agency at the hearing justifying both the need for and the reasonableness of the
proposed rules. Copies of the statement of need and reasonableness may be obtained from the Office of Hearing Examiners at a
minimal charge. '

Notice: The proposed rule is subject to change as a result of the rule hearing process. The agency therefore strongly urges
those who are potentially affected in any manner by the substance of the proposed rule to participate in the rule hearing process.

Please be advised that Minnesota Statutes, chapter 10A requires each lobbyist to register with the State Ethical Practices
Board within five days after he or she commences lobbying. A lobbyist is defined in Minnesota Statutes, § 10A.01, subdivision
11 (Supp. 1979) as any individual: ’

(a) Engaged for pay or other consideration, or authorized by another individual or association to spend money, who spends
more than five hours in any month or more than $250, not including his own travel expenses and membership dues, in any year,
for the purpose of attempting to influence legislative or administrative action by communicating or urging others to
communicate with public officials, or

(b) Who spends more than $250, not including his own traveling expenses and membership dues, in any year for the purpose
of attempting to influence legislative or administrative action by communicating or urging others to communicate with public
officials.

The statute provides certain exceptions. Questions should be directed to the Ethical Practices Board, 40 State Office
Building, Saint Paul, Minnesota, 55155, telephone (612) 296-5615.

Notice: Any person may request notification of the date on which the hearing examiner’s report will be available, after which
date the agency may not take any final action on the rules for a period of five working days. Any person may request notification
of the date on which the hearing record has been submitted (or resubmitted) to the Attorney General by the agency. If you
desire to be so notified, you may so indicate at the hearing. After the hearing, you may request notification by sending a written
request to the hearing examiner (in the case of the hearing examiner’s report), or to the agency (in the case of the agency’s
submission or resubmission to the Attorney General).

Clyde E. Allen, Jr.
Commissioner of Revenue

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION — Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. Strtke owts indicate
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated ‘*all new material.”” ADOPTED
RULES SECTION — Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike euts indicate deletions from
proposed rule language.
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Rules as Proposed
Chapter One: Valuation and Assessment of Electric, Gas Distribution, and Pipeline Companies (Utility Companies)

13 MCAR § 1.0001 Introduction. On October 19, 1973, the Minnesota Supreme Court in Independent School District No. 99, et
al. v. Commissioner of Taxation, 297 Minn. 378, ruled that in estimating the market value of utility properties for ad valorem tax
purposes, the assessing authorities must consider every element and factor affecting market value. The assessment formula
used to value operating utility property since 1962, based solely on the original cost less limited depreciation and commonly
known as the ‘*Hatfield Formula,”” was thus invalidated as a rule of general application.

These regutations rules are promulgated to fill that void and reflect the manner in which the value of utility property will be
estimated by utilizing data relating to the cost of the property and the earnings of the company owning or utilizing the property.

Since the Commissioner of Revenue is by statute the assessor of some of the utility property in the State of Minnesota and has
supervisory powers of over all assessments of property, and may raise or lower values pursuant to Minn. Stat.; § 270.11, he will
estimate the valuation of the entire system of a utility company operating within the state. The entire system will be valued as a
unit instead of valuing the component parts, and the resulting valuation will be *‘allocated’” or assigned to each state in which
the utility company operates. Finally, by the process of apportionment, the portion allocated to Minnesota will be distributed to
the various taxing districts within the state. AH Most of the data used in the valuation, allocation, and apportionment process
will be drawn from reports submitted to the Department of Revenue by the utility companies. These reports will include
Minnesota Department of Revenue Annual Utility Reports (UTL Forms), Annual Reports to the Federal Energy Regulatory
Commission and Annual Reports to the Interstate Commerce Commission. Periodic examinations of the supporting data for
these reports will be made by the Department of Revenue.

The methods, procedures, indicators of value, capitalization rates, weighting percents, and allocation factors will be used as
describedin 13 MCAR §§ 1.0003-4-0007 1.0006 for 979 1982 and subsequent years, or until, in the opinion of the Commissioner of
Revenue, different conditions justify a change.

As in all property valuations the Commissioner of Revenue reserves the right to exercise his judgment whenever the
circumstances of a valuation estimate dictate the need for it.

13 MCAR § 1.0002 Definitions. As used in this chapter, the following words, terms and phrases shall have the meanings given to
them by this regutatien rule, except where the context clearly indicates a different meaning.

A. Allocation. “*Allocation’ means the process of dividing the unit value of a utility company among the states in which the
utility operates. :

B. Apportionment. ‘‘Apportionment’’ means the process of distributing that portion of the utility company’s unit value
which has been allocated to Minnesota to the various taxing districts in which the utility company operates.

C. Book depreciation. ‘‘Book depreciation’’ means the depreciation shown by a utility company on its corporate books, and
allowed the company by various regulatory agencies.

D. Capitalization rate. ‘‘Capitalization rate’’ means the relationship of income to capital investment or value, expressed as a
percentage.

E. Electric company. ‘‘Electric company’’ means any company engaged in the generation, transmission, or distribution of
electric power, excluding cooperatives and municipal corporations.

F. Gas distribution company. ‘‘Gas distribution company’’ means any company engaged in the distribution of natural or
synthetic gas, excluding the cooperatives and municipal corporations.

G. Installed capacity. ‘‘Installed capacity’’ means the number of kilowatts a power plant is capable of producing as shown by
the nameplates affixed to the generators by the manufacturer.

H. Integrated company. ‘‘Integrated company’” means any company engaged in two or more utility operations within
Minnesota, such as electric distribution and gas distribution, within the framework of one corporate structure.

1. Major generating plant. ‘“Major generating plant’’ means any steam-electric power plant capable of generating 25,000 KW
(Kilowatts) or more; or any hydro-electric, internal combustion, or gas turbine power plar plant capable of generating 10,000
KW or more.

J. Net operating earnings. ‘‘Net operating earnings’’ means earnings from the system plant of the utility after the deduction
of operating expenses, depreciation, and taxes, but before any deduction for interest.

K. Non-formula assessed property. ‘‘Non-formula assessed property’’ means property of a utility which is valued by the
local or county assessor rather than by the Commissioner of Revenue.

L. Operating property. ‘*‘Operating property’’ means any property, owned or leased, except land that is directly associated
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with the generation, transmission, or distribution of electricity, natural gas, gasoline, petroleum products, or crude oil.
Examples of operating property include, but are not limited to, substations, transmission and distribution lines, generating
plants, and pipelines. Land, garages, warehouses, office buildings, pole yards, radio communication towers, and parking lots
are examples of non-operating property.

M. Pipeline company. ‘‘Pipeline company’’ means any company engaged in the transmission of natural gas, gasoline,
petroleum products, or crude oil via a fixed line of pipes.

N. Standard factor. ‘‘Standard factor’’ means the number used as the basis of comparison when measuring the degree or
amount of obsolescence inherent in the property (generating plant) being valued.

0. System plant. ‘‘System plant’” means the total tangible property, real and personal, of a company which is used in its
utility operations in all states in which it operates.

P. Throughput. “Throughput means the amount of product measured in barrels, gallons, or cubic feet which passes through
a pipeline.

©- Q. Unit value. ‘*Unit value’’ means the value of the system plant of a utility company taken as a whole without any regard
to the value of its component parts.

B- R. Weighted pipe line miles. ‘“Weighted pipe line miles’’ means the product obtained by multiplying the number of miles
of each size of a pipeline by the diameter in inches of each size. Example: a 6 mile pipeline haviag 3 miles with e of which is 10
ineh inches in diameter and 3 miles with & of which is 30 i#aek inches in diameter would have a weighted miles product of 120.

13 MCAR § 1.0003 Valuation.

A. General. Because of the unique character of public utiltiy companies, such as being subject to stringent government
regulations over operations and earnings, the traditional approaches to valuation estimates of property (cost, capitalized income
and market) must be modified when utility property is valued. Consequently, for the 4979 1982 and subsequent assessment
years, until economic and technological factors dictate a change, the value of utility companyﬁper(y will be estimated in the
manner provided in this chapter.

B. Market approach. Market value implies a price for which an entire public utility enterprise might reasonably change hands
between willing and informed buyers and sellers. The term presupposes a market of normal activity, no urgency to buy or sell
on the part of either the buyer or seller, and continued operation of the utility as a single entity. Public utility property is seldom
transferred as a whole unit under these circumstances. Consequently, after consideration of this approach, it has been decided
that valuation of utility properties by this approach is speculative and unreliable and will not be employed as a method of
valuation for utility property at this time.

C. Cost approach. The cost factor that will be considered in the utility valuation formula is the original cost less depreciation
of the system plant, and improvements, plus the original cost of construction work in progress on the assessment date. The
original cost of any leased operating property used by the utility must be reported to the commissioner in conjunction with the
annual utility report. If the original cost of the leased operating property is not available, the commissioner shall make an
estimate of the cost by capitalizing the lease payments. Depreciation will not be allowed on construction work in progress.
Depreciation will be allowed as a deduction from cost in the amount allowed on the accounting records of the utility company,
as such records are required to be maintained by the appropriate regulatory agency.

Depreciation, however, shall not exceed the prescribed percentage of cost: for electric companies, 48 19 percent; for gas
distribution companies, 45 47.5 percent; pipeline companies, 45 47.5 percent.

When valuing eleetric company property the “average eost per kilowatt of instaled capaeity” will alse be considered- Any
exeess of average eost per kilowatt of installed eapacity ever the aetual cost of production plan (except land) multiplied by the
kilowatts of installed eapaeity will be added to the original cost of the plant; and reduced by the same rate of depreeiation
applieable to the eriginal eost- The average eost per kilowait of installed eapacity is computed by averaging the eonstruction
eosts of produetion plant (exeept land) for mejor generating plants in the Continental U-S- by type of plant; as shown in the
latest issues of the United States Department of Enersy publieations; Hydro-Eleetrie Plant Construetion Cost and Annual
Plant Construction Cost and Annual Production Expenses- Average eost per kilowatt of installed eapaeity will be determined
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after exeluding; federally eonstructed; multi-purpose projects; and nuelear eleetric generating plants: The periods to be used
10 years- .

The following examples iltustrate this procedure- In both examples assume that the study of the most recent eonstruetion
data available from Federal Rower Commission publications indicates that the average cost per kilowatt of installed capaeity in
& fossit fuel steam plent is $150 per kilowatt: Each of the twe plants is of this type-

+- Pleft--cssrs7srsrs T T oo T eI e T T T T T T #+ #2
2- Instaled WTTTTTT??TTTTTT?TTTT‘.‘TTT‘.‘TT‘TTTTT 1005000 KW 505000 KW
3. Yeor it SepHee c-rrrTTTTTITITITIIIIIIIITIIOCCIIIT 1960 4940
6- ‘A‘VéfﬂgeeOSGpefK—wTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT?T?TTTT $50 $50
+ Exeess(-l-'me6—5—)r7:7777777777777777777777777777 $20
& Additional vatue $4-006-600

. A modification to the cost approach to value will be considered by the commissioner when valuing electric utility property.
The original cost of an electric utility’s major generating plants will be increased if the cost of the plant falls below a certain
standard. The standard to be used will be a national average of the cost per kilowatt of installed capacity. The cost per kilowatt
of installed capacity is the total construction cost of the generating plant divided by the number of kilowatts the plant is capable
of producing. The national average to be used will be computed by totaling the construction costs, excluding the cost of land, for
major generating plants within the 48 contiguous United States. The total cost of the plants will be divided by the total
generating capacity of the same plants to arrive at an average cost per kilowatt of installed capacity. A separate average will be
computed for each of the following types of plants: gas turbine, hydro-electric, and steam-electric. The plants used in the
calculation will exclude federally constructed, multi-purpose projects, and nuclear electric generating plants. The information
used to compute the average will be drawn from the latest issues of the following United States Department of Energy
publications: Hydro-Electric Plant Construction Cost and Annual Production Expenses, Steam-Electric Plant Construction
Cost and Annual Production Expenses, and Gas Turbine Electric Plant Construction Cost and Annual Production Expenses.

The plants which will be used in the computation of the national average will be those plants built during the most recent 15
years included in the above named publications.

An example of this computation of the national average cost per kilowatt of installed capacity is as follows:

Steam-Electric Generating Plants

Plant Cost
Plant Excluding Land Plant Capacity
A $ 14,000,000 100,000 kw
B 13,000,000 90,000 kw .
C 17,000,000 110,000 kw
D 14,500,000 80,000 kw
E 18,000,000 120,000 kw
F 10,000,000 70,000 kw
G 19,000,000 130,000 kw
H 9,000,000 60,000 kw
1 20,000,000 140,000 kw
I 8,000,000 50,000 kw
$142,500,000 950,000 kw

Total plant cost ($142,500,000) divided by total plant capacity (950,000 kw) equals $150 average cost per kilowatt of installed
capacity. '
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The national average cost per kilowatt of installed capacity will be compared to the specific cost per kilowatt of installed
capacity for each of the major generating plants owned by the utility being valued. If the national average cost per kilowatt is
greater than the subject plant cost, the subject plant will have additional dollars incorporated into its cost in order to raise its
cost per kilowatt to the national average. If the subject plant’s cost per kilowatt equals or exceeds the national average, no cost
will be added.

The following example illustrates this procedure:

XYZ Utility
Steam-Electric Generating Plants

1. Plant #1 #2
2. Installed Capacity 100,000 kw 50,000 kw
3. Year in Service 1970 1950
4. Cost of Plant

(Exclusive of Land) $15,200,000 $5,000,000
5. Specific Plant

Cost per kw $152 $100
6. National Average

Cost per kw $150 $150
7. Deficiency none $ 50
8. Additional Cost

(Line 7 X Line 2) none $2,500,000

This additional cost to be added to the original cost of the specific plant will be reduced by two factors: an allowance for
pollution control equipment and an allowance for obsolescence.

The allowance for pollution control equipment will be computed annually by totaling the construction costs, exclusive of
land, of all major generating plants within Minnesota by type of plant. A total will also be made of the cost of the equipment in
these plants which has been approved for tax exempt status in accordance with Minn. Stat. § 272.02, subd. 1, clause (15). This
total will also be computed by type of plant. The total of the approved pollution control equipment will be divided by the total
construction cost, exclusive of land, of the plants in order to calculate a percentage. This percentage will be the ratio of dollars
spent for pollution control equipment to total dollars spent to construct a specific type of power plant. This percentage will then
be used to reduce the gross additional cost to be added to the cost of the specific generating plant, as computed above. An
example of this process is as follows:

Steam-Electric Plants Within Minnesota

Plant Cost Cost of Approved
Plant Excluding Land Pollution Control Equipment
A $15,200,000 $1,500,000
B 10,000,000 1,000,000
C 5,000,000 700,000
D 20,000,000 2,000,000
E 16,500,000 - 1,470,000
$66,700,000 $6,670,000

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION — Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. Strike euts indicate
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Total cost of approved pollution control equipment ($6,670,000) divided by total plant cost ($66,700,000) equals 10% ratio of .
pollution control equipment expenditures to total expenditures for generating plant construction.

XYZ Utility
Steam-Electric Plant #2

1._Additional Cost Due to Computation of Average Cost per kw of Installed Capacity : $2,500,000
2. 10% Allowance for Pollution Control Equipment ' 250,000
3. Additional Cost to be Added after Adjustment for Pollution Control Equipment $2,250,000

The allowance for obsolescence which will be applied to the additional plant construction cost will be computed annually for
hydro-electric and steam-electric generating plants. The information needed to compute the obsolescence factors will be drawn
from the same publications that are used to compute the national average cost per kilowatt of installed capacity figure. Gas
turbine plants will not have any obsolescence allowance applied to the additional cost added to the plants.

The obsolescence allowance for hydro-electric plants will be calculated through the use of a **plant factor.”” The plant factor
is computed by dividing the number of kilowatt hours a generating plant actually produced in a year by the number of kilowatt
hours the plant was capable of producing. The plant factor is normally expressed as a percentage. The mathematical expression
of this factor is: net generation (kwh) divided by annual installed capacity (hours in a year X installed capacity (kw)). A standard
plant factor will be computed for hydro-electric plants by averaging the ten plants within the 15 year study period used to
compute the average cost per kilowatt of installed capacity with the highest plant factor. This standard will then be compared to
an average of the most recent three years’ plant factor of the subject plant. The amount the subject plant deviates from the
standard is the amount of obsolescence which will be applied to the added cost.

An example of this obsolescence allowance computation is shown below.

Hydro-Electric Plants

Net Generation " Plant Capability Plant

Plant kwh (000) kwh (000) Factor
A 400,150 755,000 53 %
B 300,040 577,000 2%
C 250,000 480,000 2%
D 600,000 1,250,000 8 %
E 896,000 1,600,000 36 %
F 700,000 1,400,000 .30 %
G . 507,000 975,000 52 %
H 450,000 1,000,000 45 %
1_ 376,000 800,000 . 47 %
I 810,000 ' 1,800,000 45 %
Average 0%

XYZ Utility
Hydro-Electric Plant #4

Net Generation Plant Capability Plant

Year kwh (000) kwh (000) Factor
19XX 400,000 1,000,000 40 %
19XX 500,000 1,000,000 50 %
19XX 450,000 1,000,000 45 %
Average 45 %

Hydro-electric plant #4 plant factor (45%) divided by standard plant factor (50%) equals 90%. Therefore, hydro-electric plant
#4 deviates from the standard by 10%, or is 10% obsolete.

The obsolescence allowance for steam-electric generating plants will be computed annually using two indicators. The first .
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indicator will be the plant factor. The plant factor for steam-electric plants will be computed and applied in the same manner as
the computation specified for hydro-electric plants above. The only difference will be that the information used for the
computation will be drawn from the latest Steam-Electric Plant Construction Cost and Annual Production Expenses publication
rather than the Hydro-Electric Plant publication. Plant factors of the ten best steam-electric generating plants within the 15 year
study period will be averaged. This average will be compared to the most recent three year average plant factor for the subject
plant. The subject plant’s deviation from the standard plant factor is the amount of indicated obsolescence.

The second indicator which will be used to compute an obsolescence allowance for steam-electric generating plants will be a
thermal efficiency factor. The source of information for this computation will also be the latest issue of the United States
Department of Energy’s publication, Steam-Electric Plant Construction Cost and Annual Production Expenses. Thermal
efficiency for a generating plant is measured by the number of British thermal units (B.T.U.) required to produce one kilowatt
hour. This efficiency rating can be obtained by dividing the number of kilowatt hours produced by a generating plant by the
number of B.T.U.’s needed to produce this power. The number of B.T.U.’s used can be obtained by multiplying the units of
fuel burned by the generating plant—tons of coal, gallons.of oil, or cubic feet of gas—by the average B.T.U. content of the fuel
unit. The standard thermal efficiency factor will be computed by averaging the thermal efficiency factor of the ten most efficient
steam-electric generating plants within the 15 year study period used to compute the average cost per kilowatt of installed
capacity. This standard thermal efficiency factor will then be compared to the thermal efficiency factor of the subject plant. The
amount the subject plant deviates from the standard is the amount of obsolescence indicated by this factor..

The two obsolescence figures for the subject plant as indicated by both the plant and thermal efficiency factors will then be
averaged. This resulting average is the obsolescence allowance which will be applied to the cost added to the subject plant as a
result of the average cost per kilowatt of installed capacity computation. In no instance shall the original cost of a generating
plant be reduced by an allowance for obsolescence unless its cost is increased through the use of the average cost per kilowatt of
installed capacity computation.

The following examples illustrate the computation of: the standard thermal efficiency factor; obsolescence indicated by the
application of this factor to the subject plant; average obsolescence for steam-electric generating plants; and obsolescence
allowance adjustment of the added cost due to the use of the average cost per kilowatt of installed capacity for the subject plant.

Steam-Electric Generating Plants

Net Generation kwh BTU’s Used
Plant (Millions) (Millions) BTU’s per kwh
A 2,000 18,400,000 9,200
B 6,000 53,400,000 8,900
C 8,000 72,000,000 9,000
D 5,000 45,500,000 9,100
E 3,000 26,400,000 8,800
F 1,000 9,000,000 9.000
G 4,000 36,600,000 9,150
H 9,000 80,550,000 8,950
I 7,000 61,950,000 8,850
I 5,000 45,250,000 5,050
Average 9,000

XYZ Utility Company
Steam-Electric Plant #2

Net Generations kwh ‘ BTU’s Used BTU'’s
(Millions) (Millions) per kwh
2,000 21,600,000 10,800

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION — Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. Strike euts indicate
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Steam-electric plant #2 thermal efficiency factor (10,800 BTU’s per kwh) divided by standard thermal efficiency factor (9,000
BTU'’s per kwh) equals 120%. Therefore, steam-electric plant #2 deviates from the standard by 20% or is 20% obsolete.

XYZ Utility Company
Steam-Electric Plant #2

1. Obsolescence Indicated by Plant Factor 10%
2. Obsolescence Indicated by Thermal Efficiency Factor 20%
3. Obsolescence Allowance (Average of 1 and 2) , 15%
4. Additional Cost due to Computation of Average Cost per kw of Installed Capacity $2,500,000
5. 15% Obsolescence Allowance 375,000
6. Additional Cost to be Added after Adjustment for Obsolescence $2,125,000

The cost indicator of value computed in accordance with this regitation rule will be weighted for each eless type of utility
company as follows: electric companies, 85 percent; gas distribution companies, 75 percent; and pipeline companies, 75
percent.

The following example illustrates how the cost indicator of value would be computed for an electric company:

Lo UTHLIY PIant (COSt) . ..ottt ittt e e e e e e e e $200,000,000
2. CONStIUCHION 1N PrOgIeSS. . . ittt ettt e 5,500,000
3. Additional Value From Average Cost per K.W. Computation.................c.0uuiuuieiiineneninnn.. 2,000,000
4. Total Plant . ... e 207,500,000
5. Non-Depreciable Plant (Land, Intangibles, C.W.LP.) .......... it \. 17,500,000
6. Depreciable Plant. ... ... i 190,000,000
7. Depreciation (Maximum 1990) . .. ... ittt et 36,100,000
8. Total Cost Indicator Of Valle ... ... ... ittt e 171,400,000

D. Income approach to valuation. The income indicator of value will be estimated by weighting the net operating earnings of
the utility company for the most recent three years as follows: most recent year, 40 percent; previous year, 35 percent; and final
year, 25 percent. After considering, as far as possible, all conditions that may exist in the future that' may affect the present
annual return, including risk, life expectancy of the property, and cost of money, the capitalization rates used to compute value
for the assessment will be: electric companies, 800 8.5 percent; gas distribution companies, 825 8.75 percent; and pipeline
companies 858 9 percent. The income indicator of value computed in accordance with this regulatien rule will be weighted for
each class of utility company as follows: electric companies, 15 percent; gas distribution companies, 25 percent; and pipeline
companies, 25 percent. .

The following example illustrates how the income indicator of value would be computed for a pipeline company:

1980 1981 1982
1. Net Operating Income ' $ 468,000 $ 385,700 $ 450,000
2. Capitalized Income @ 9% 5,200,000 4,285,600 5,000,000
3. Weighting Factor 25% 35% 40%
4. Weighted Capitalized Income : 1,300,000 1,500,000 2,000,000
5. Total Income Indicator of Value 4,800,000

E. Unit value computation. The unit value of the utility company will be the total of the weighted indieator indicators of
value. ’

The following is an example of the computation of the unit value for a pipeline company:

1. Cost Indicator of Value.............. $5,000,000 x 75% = $3,750,000
2. Income Indicator of Value ........... $4,800,000 x 25% = $1,200,000
3. Unit Value of Pipeline Company 100%  $4,950,000
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F. Maluatien of utility property of cooperatives- Cooperative assoctations shall have their utility property valued on the
basis of historieal eost only since they do net operate on the tradition profit making basis: Depreciation will be aowed as @
deduetion from ecost at inerements of 2-5 percent per year but the maximum shall not exeeed 25 pereent of property used in the
generation; transmission of distribution of eleetrie power- Valuation of utility property of cooperatives and other non-common
carrier or non-regulated utilities. Cooperative associations and other types of utilities which do not operate in the traditional
profit making mode, are not common carriers, or are non-regulated, will have their utility property valued on the basis of
historical cost only. Depreciation will be allowed as a deduction from the historical cost in increments of 2.5 percent per year,
but the maximum depreciation allowed shall not exceed 25 percent of the cost of the utility operating property. Additions to
existing utility property will be depreciated 2.5 percent per year until they reach the 25 percent maximum. Retirements of utility
property will be deducted from the cost basis at the appropriate depreciation level of the retired property.

The following example illustrates this process for an electric cooperative association:

1. Cost of Substation $1,000,000
2. Value Ist year @ 97.5% 975,000
3. Value 2nd year @ 95% 950,000
4. Value 3rd year @ 92.5% 925,000
5. Value 4th year @ 90% 900,000
6. Value 5th year @ 87.5% 875,000
7. Value 6th year @ 85% 850,000
8. Value 7th year @ 82.5% 825,000
9. Value 8th year @ 80% 800,000
10. Value 9th year @ 77.5% 775,000
11. Value 10th year @ 75% 750,000
12. Value 11th and succeeding years at 75% 750,000

G. Obsolescence allowances. The commissioner may adjust the value calculated pursuant to this rule through the use of an
obsolescence allowance. This allowance is intended to be used in order to recognize the effect the curtailment or termination of
a pipeline’s source of supply may have on its value. In order for a pipeline or a gas distribution company to be eligible for such
an allowance they must meet certain criteria or standards. These standards are listed below. It is mandatory that standards 1, 2
and 3 be met by the utility. It is highly desirable that standards 4 and 5 also be met.

1. The utility must adequately demonstrate, to the satisfaction of the commissioner, that its source of supply for gas or
oil will be terminated within the next ten years.

2. The utility must be at, or above, the maximum depreciation allowance as specified by C.

3. The utility must have made application to the appropriéte regulatory agency for increased depreciation allowances,
and the application must not have been denied or rejected.

4. The utility must not have made any major capital expenditures within the last three years.

5. The utility must not have sold any long term bonds or signed any long term notes within the last three years.

If the utility has made major capital expenditures or entered into long term debt obligations within the last three years, a
satisfactory explanation of the rationale for these actions must be made to the commissioner before an allowance for
obsolescence will be granted.

The obsolescence allowances which may be applied to the utility’s value will be calculated in the following manner:

Method 1. A S year average of the utility’s annual throughput will be calculated. The throughput for the assessment year will
be compared to this average and a percentage calculated. This percentage will be applied to the cost indicator of value
calculated pursuant to C. in order to adjust the indicator for obsolescence. The adjusted cost indicator of value will be used in
the calculation of the unit value pursuant to E. The following is an example of this procedure:

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION — Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. Strtke ewts indicate
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated **all new material.”” ADOPTED
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Year Throughput in Barrels
1977 1,200,000
1978 1,300,000
1979 1,150,000
1980 1,100,000
1981 1,050,000

5,800,000 Total
1,160,000 Average Throughput

1. 1982 Throughput 1,000,000 Barrels
2. Percent of 1982 Throughput to 5 Year Average Throughput 86%
3. Cost Indicator of Value $6,300,000
4. Cost Indicator Adjusted for Obsolescence $5,418,000

Method 2: The book depreciation shown on the books and accounts of the utility will be compared to the depreciation allowed
by C. If the book depreciation exceeds the maximum depreciation allowance, 50% of the excess depreciation will be used in the
calculation of the cost indicator of value. An example of this calculation is as follows:

1. Book Depreciation $6,000,000
2. Maximum Allowable Depreciation 4,750,000
3. Excess Depreciation 1,250,000
4. 50% of Excess Depreciation $ 625,000
5. Utility Plant $11,000,000
6. Construction Work in Progress 50,000
7. Total Plant ) 11,050,000
8. Non-Depreéiable Plant (Land, CWIP) 1,050,000
9. Depreciable Plant 10,000,000
10. Depreciation (Maximum 47.5%) 4,750,000
11. Obsolescence Allowance ‘ 625,000
12. Cost Indicator of Value 5,675,000

Method 3. The income indicator of value computed in accordance with D. will be calculated by capitalizing the utility’s
3-year weighted net operating earnings for a specific term of years rather than into perpetuity. The term of years to be used will
be the number of years remaining until the expected expiration of the utility’s source of supply for product (oil, gas), or the
number of years remaining until the utility’s major assets (pipeline, pump stations, storage tanks, and similar assets) are fully
depreciated, whichever is greater. An example of this capitalization process is as follows:

1979 1980 1981
1. Net Operating Earnings $1,320,000 $1,000,000 $800,000
2. Weighting 25% 35% 40%
3. Weighted Net Operating Earnings $330,000 $350,000 $320,000
4. Total Weighted Net Operating Earnings $1,000,000
S. Terms of years until major assets are fully depreciated 8
6. Capitalization rate pursuant to 13 MCAR § 1.0003 D. %
7. Capitalization rate converted to term of 8 years 18.0674%
8. Capitalized Income/Income Indicator of Value $5,534,831

The commissioner shall apply to the valuation process whichever of the three obsolescence methods is most appropriate in
order to equitably recognize the effect of obsolescence on the utility’s value. |

H. Retirements. Utility operating property may be retired from the utility system while still in place if certain criteria are met:

1. The property must be physically disconnected from the utility system. In the case of electrical plants, the
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_disconnection or dismantling of wires, cables, connectors, or transformers would constitute physical disconnection. In the case
of pipelines, the disconnection of pipes, valves, or fittings would be evidence of physical disconnections.

2. An affidavit of retirement should be filed by the utility with the commissioner at least 30 days prior to the assessment
date. This affidavit should indicate the facility being retired and the date it was taken out of service.

The utility should make every effort to inform the commissioner of pending major retirements. The commissioner in turn shall
notify the county assessor of impending major retirements as soon as this information becomes available to the department.

Utility property which is retired in place shall continue to be taxed for ad valorem purposes; however, its market value shall
not be determined on the basis of its value as utility operating property.

If a utility should choose to temporarily retire a facility pending the development of an alternate fuel, greater demand,
increased source of supply or some other valid reason, the cost of this facility must be transferred to the appropriate regulatory
agency'’s account entitled **‘Held for Future Use.’’ Standby facilities will not be considered to be temporarily retired unless their
costs are carried in this account. Temporarily retired utility facilities will be valued taking into account a number of factors
including: age of the facility, type of facility, amount of maintenance and additional costs needed to restore the facility to
operational status, length of retirement, and earning potential of the facility. In no instance shall a temporarily retired facility be
valued lower than if the facility were considered non-operating utility property.

13 MCAR § 1.0004 Allocation.

A. General. After the unit value of the utility property has been estimated, the portion of value which is attributable to
Minnesota must be determined. This process of dividing the unit value of a utility company among the states in which the utility
operates is called allocation. Each of the factors in the allocation formula is assigned a weighted percentage to denote the
relative importance assigned to that factor. The resulting sum of the weighted factors multiplied by the unit value yields the
valuation of the utility property which will, after the adjustments described in 13 MCAR § 1.0005, be subject to ad valorem tax
in the State of Minnesota.

The factors to be considered in making allocations of unit value to Minnesota for the utility companies and the weight
assigned to each factor for each class are specified in this regulation rule.

B. Electric companies. The original cost of the utility property located in Minnesota divided by the total original cost of the
property in all states of operation is weighted at 90 percent. Gross revenue derived from operations in Minnesota divided by
gross operations revenue from all states is weighted at ten percent.

The following example illustrates this formula, assuming a unit value of $20,000,000.

1. Minnesota Plant Cost ...... ..ottt £$115,000,000) x 90 = 50.49%
2. System Plant COSt ... . ..vvuviiii e £$205,000,0003
3. Minnesota Gross REVENUE . ..o vttt e e e et ¢ 40,000,000% x .10 = 3.8%
4. System Gross Revenue ............oooiiiiiiiiiiiiiii €$105,000,000)
5. Total Percentage
ALOCADIE 10 MIMMESOLA . . oot o et e et ettt te ittt ae et ettt ta ettt ia i iaaaaeaeaaeaeeenenresons 54.29%
6. Unit Value of System Plant ....... ... ..o $20,000,000
7. Amount of Value Allocable to MINNESOA ... ..ttt trn et in et e n it iinsiaeaanaasenaeaeacnenns $10,858,000

C. Gas distribution companies. The allocation of value of gas distribution companies shall be made considering the same
factors as are used to determine the allocation of value of electric companies. The weight given to the original cost factor will be
75 percent, and gross revenue shall be weighted 25 percent.

D. Pipeline companies. In addition to the cost factor and the gross revenue factor, the factor of weighted pipeline miles shall
be considered in allocating the value of pipeline companies. Weighted pipeline miles means the number of miles of pipeline
multiplied by the diameter of the pipe, measured in inches. To illustrate, a pipeline 6 miles long has 3 miles of pipe with a
diameter of 10 inches and 3 miles of pipe with a diameter of 30 inches. The weighted pipeline miles is 120.

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION — Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. Strike euts indicate
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated *‘all new material.”” ADOPTED
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3 miles x 10" diameter = 30
3 miles x 30" diameter = 90
Weighted pipeline miles = 120

The following example iHustrate illustrates the allocation of value of property of a pipeline company and the weights given to
each factor=:

L. Minnesota Plant Cost ............. ... i £€313,500,0000 « 75 = 25.76%

2. System Plant Cost ....... ..ottt e £$39,300,0009

3. Minnesota Gross Revenue .................ooiiiiiiiiiiiiiina. €5 2,980,000 « 05 = 1.60%

4. System Gross Revenue ............ e e e e e e e €% 9,300,000%

5. Minnesota Weighted Pipeline Miles.............................. I €9.500 x 20 = 7.01%

6. System Weighted Pipeline Miles ......................... ... ..., £27,1003

7. Total Percentage Allocable t0 Minnesota. .. .....outint ittt e e et 34.37%

13 MCAR § 1.0005 Adjustments for non-formula assessed or exempt property.

A. After the Minnesota portion of the unit value of the utility company is determined, any property which is non-formula
assessed or which is exempt from ad valorem tax, will be deducted from the Minnesota portion of the unit value. Only that
qualifying property located within the State of Minnesota may be excluded.

B. The following properties will be valued by the local or county assessor and, therefore, the formula provided herein for the
valuation of utility property will not be applicable for such property=:

1. Land;
2. Non-operating property;
3. Rights of way.

C. The Minnesota portion of the unit value will be reduced by the original cost of these items exeept that land and rights of
way. In the case of non-operating property, the deduction shall be original cost, less the rate of depreciation applicable in the
valuation process pursuant to 13 MCAR § 1.0003. :

D. A deduction from the Minnesota portion of the unit value shall also be made for property, real or personal, which is
exempt from ad valorem tax. For instance, pollution control equipment for which an exemption has been granted is exempt. A
deduction from the Minnesota portion of the unit value shall be made at original cost, less the applicable rate of depreciation
used in the valuation process pursuant to 13 MCAR § 1.0003. The value of personal property, such as office machinery and
vehicles, which is not taxed, shall also be excluded from the Minnesota portion of the unit value. The deduction shall be at
original cost less the applicable rate of depreciation utilized in the valuation process.

The following example illustrates how these items are deducted from the Minnesota portion of the unit value.

1. Minnesota Portion of Unit Value ........................ $5,000,000
2. Excludable Items—Nondepreciable |

a. Land Assessed Locally............................. 3,000

b. Land Rights......................... ... ......... 1,000
3. Excludable Items—Depreciable

a. General Plant Items................................ $10,000

b. Pollution Control Equipment........................ 10,000

c. Gross Depreciable Items ........................... 20,000

d. Depreciated at 25% .............. ... i, 5,000

¢. Net Depreciable Exlucable Items.................... ' 15,000
4. Total Excludable Items................................. 20,000
5. Minnesota Apportionable Value ......................... 4,980,000

E. The utility company shall have the burden of proof to establish that the value of any property should be excluded from the
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Minnesota portion of the unit value. Accordingly, the utility company shall have the responsibility to submit, in the form
required by the Commissioner of Revenue, such schedules of exempt or non-formula assessed property as he may require.

13 MCAR § 1.0006 Apportionment.

A. After the unit valuation of the utility company has been allocated to the State of Minnesota and has been adjusted
pursuant to 13 MCAR § 1.0005, the determined amount shall be apportioned or distributed to the taxing districts in Minnesota in
which the company operates. This apportionment will be made by the Commissioner of Revenue on the basis of information
submitted by the utility companies in annual reports filed with the commissioner.

B. The following information must be submitted for each taxing district:

1. The market value of the company's operating property by classification, as reflected in the last assessment, including
the cost of leased taxable property.

2. The original cost of the company’s operating property by classification, including the cost of leased taxable property.
3. The original cost of any new additions since the last assessment, including work in progress on the assessment date.
4. The market value of any retirements made after the last assessment, as reflected in that assessment.

5. The original cost of any retirements made after the last assessment.

6. Whenever a new taxing district is established, the information submitted by the utility companies for the taxing
district must be submitted in the same form as enumerated in 1.-5. If the utility, because of administrative difficulty, is forced to

make estimates of values and costs for property within new taxing districts, these estimates must be approved by the
commissioner.

C. The total market value of each company’s operating utility property in Minnesota shall be divided by the larger greater of:

1. The last market value of eaeh the company’s operating utility property in each taxing district, plus original cost of new
construction, reduced by the last market value of property retired since the last assessment.

2. The original cost % 75 pereent together with any additional cost computed in accordance with 13 MCAR § 1.0003 C.
of eaeh the company’s operating utility property in each taxing district plus original cost of new construction reduced by the
original cost of property retired since the last assessment multiplied by the percentage as specified below.

For the 1982 assessment year the original costs shall be multiplied by 77.5%.

For the 1983 assessment year the original costs shall be multiplied by 80%.

For the 1984 assessment year the original costs shall be multiplied by 82.5%.

For the 1985 assessment year the original costs shall be multiplied by 85%.

For the 1986 assessment year the original costs shall be multiplied by 87.5%.

For the 1987 assessment year the original costs shall be multiplied by 90%.

For the 1988 assessment year the original costs shall be multiplied by 92.5%.

For the 1989 assessment year the original costs shall be multiplied by 95%.

For the 1990 assessment year the original costs shall be multiplied by 97%.

For the 1991 assessment year the original costs shall be multiplied by 100%.

D. For this purpose, the last market value and the last assessment shall mean the latest assessment immediately prior to the
current assessment. The portion of unit value to be assigned to each taxing district will be the resulting percentage multiplied by
the Minnesota portion of the unit value, as adjusted pursuant to 43 MEAR § 4-0006 this rule.

E- H the market value of any parcel of property assessed pursuant to this chapter is inereased; the inerease entered on the
assessment books shall be subjeet to the limitation provided in Minn- Stat- § 273-H Subd- 2- The amount of deerease in
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pereent of the value in the preceding assessment:

Repealer. Rule 13 MCAR § 1.0007 is repealed.

Department of Natural Resources
Migratory Waterfowl Sanctuary Order No. 29

Regulations Designating Certain Waters as Migratory Waterfowl Feeding and Resting Areas during the
Open Season for the Year 1981

Petitions having been filed with the Commissioner of Natural Resources of the State of Minnesota by the number of
petitioners required by law, who assert that they are licensed resident Minnesota hunters, and that certain designated waters
constitute substantial feeding and resting grounds for migratory waterfowl, I, Joseph N. Alexander, Commissioner of Natural
Resources, pursuant to authority vested in me by law, having duly investigated and considered said matter and having found
said assertions as to said waters hereinafter described to be correct, and that it is in the best interests of proper game
management to have the same set aside as migratory waterfowl feeding and resting areas, prescribe the following regulations
relating thereto:

Section 1. All waters on Upper Rice Lake in Clearwater County, Bear Lake in Freeborn County, Squaw Lake in Itasca
County, South Heron Lake in Jackson County, and Lake Johanna in Pope County are hereby designated as migratory
waterfowl feeding and resting areas and shall be duly posted as such.

Sec. 2. All of Lake Christina in Grant and Douglas Counties except that part lying southerly of a straight line described as
follows: Beginning at the easterly terminus of the north line of Government Lot 3, Section 12, Township 130 North, Range 41
West, at the water’s edge of Lake Christina; thence easterly to the water’s edge at the northwesterly point of the Peninsula of
Government Lot 1, Section 8, Township 130 North, Range 40 West, that projects into said lake, is hereby designated as a
migratory waterfow] feeding and resting area and shall be duly posted as such.

Sec. 3. All that portion of Marsh Lake in Big Stone, Lac qui Parle and Swift Counties lying easterly and southeasterly of a line
beginning at that point where the west section line of Section 10, Township 120 North, Range 44 West, meets the lake water
line; thence southeasterly approximately 370 rods to the southwest corner of Egret Island located in Section 15, Township 120
North, Range 44 West; thence southeasterly approximately 340 rods to a point where the east section line of Section 22,
Township 120 North, Range 44 West, intersects the water line of south shore of the lake, is hereby designated as a migratory
waterfowl feeding and resting area and shall be posted as such.

Sec. 4. All that portion of Lake Lizzie in Ottertail County lying in Sections 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 and 9, Township 136 North, Range
42 West, is hereby designated as a migratory waterfow!l feeding and resting area and shall be posted as such.

Sec. 5. When so posted, it shall be unlawful for any person, other than uniformed Natural Resources officers and other agents
of the Commissioner in the performance of their official duties, or disabled or handicapped persons who, under permit of the
Commissioner, may use electric motors of not over 24 pounds of thrust, to use upon said Upper Rice, Bear, Squaw, South
Heron, Johanna, or upon such parts of Christina, Marsh, and Lizzie Lakes designated as feeding and resting areas, any kind of
motor-propelled boat, raft, watercraft °or aircraft during the open migratory waterfowl season.

Dated at Saint Paul, Minnesota, this 16th day of September, 1981.

Joseph N. Alexander, Commissioner
Department of Natural Resources

Department of Natural Resources

Game Refuge Order No. 410

Order Establishing the Glendalough Statutory Waterfowl Refuge, Douglas County
TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN: 0

WHEREAS, a petition having the required number of signatures has been presented to the Director of the Division of Fish
and Wildlife, State of Minnesota, requesting that the following described lands in Ottertail County Minnesota be established as a
state waterfowl refuge.

Southwest Y4 of Northwest Y4, Government Lots 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and 7 (except that part of said Government Lot 5 lying east of .
the private road as presently located on said Government Lot 5) of Section 13, Township 133, Range 40;
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Government Lots 1 and 2 of Section 14, Township 133, Range 40;

Government Lots 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 and 7 (including that part of said Government Lot 4 platted as Highland Park Beach) of
Section 18, Township 133, Range 39.

WHEREAS, all of the owners, lessees or persons in possession of the above described lands have joined in said petition; and
WHEREAS, it has been found that public interest would be best served by the establishment of this waterfowl refuge;

NOW, THEREFORE, UNDER AUTHORITY OF MINNESOTA STATUTES 1981, SECTION 99.25,
SUBDIVISIONS 3 AND 6A, IT IS ORDERED THAT THE ABOVE DESCRIBED AREA BE AND IS ESTABLISHED
AS A STATUTORY WATERFOWL REFUGE TO BE KNOWN AS THE GLENDALOUGH STATUTORY
WATERFOWL REFUGE, OTTERTAIL COUNTY, MINNESOTA. THIS ORDER BECOMES EFFECTIVE UPON
DUE PUBLICATION THEREOF AND COMPLETION OF POSTING IN ACCORDANCE WITH LAW.

Dated at Saint Paul, Minnesota

this 9th day of September, 1981. Joseph N. Alexander, Commissioner

Department of Natural Resources
By: Jerome Kuehn, Acting Director
Division of Fish and Wildlife

Department of Natural Resources

Commissioner’s Order No. 2105
Amending Commissioner’s Order No. 2100 Regulating the Taking of Certain Furbearers

Pursuant to authority vested in me by law, I, Joseph N. Alexander, Commissioner of Natural Resources, hereby prescribe the
following amendments to Commissioner’s Order No. 2100 regulating the taking of certain furbearers.

Section 1. Sec. 3, paragraph b., of Commissioner’s Order No. 2100 is amended to read as follows:

b. Bag Limits. Residents may possess raccoon without limit. Any person who is not a resident of Minnesota may not
take or possess more than eight raccoon per season.

Sec. 2. Sec. 6, paragraph e., Sec. 7, paragraph d., and Sec. 8, paragraph b.3., are all deleted.
Sec. 3. Sec. 9 of Commissioner’s Order No. 2100 is amended to read as follows:

No person shall place, set, or operate a trap unless his or her name and either address or driver’s license number is
etched legibly onto the trap or onto a metal tag no less than 30 gauge in thickness which is welded, brazed or soldered to the
trap or affixed to the trap with a tightly twisted wire or solid metal ring.

Sec. 4. Sec. 14 of Commissioner’s Order No. 2100 is amended to read as follows:

Each lynx, bobcat, fisher and otter mut be presented, by the person taking it, to a conservation officer for registration
before the pelt is sold, but in no event more than 48 hours after the season closes. The pelt shall have been removed from
the carcass and the carcass shall be surrendered to the conservation officer. Each fisher shall be skinned so that one front
foot remains intact and attached to the pelt.

Sec. 5. Sec. 20 of Commissioner’s Order No. 2100 is amended to read as follows:

No person shall be accompanied by a dog or dogs while engaged in tending or setting traps for protected wild animals,
unless such dog or dogs are harnessed and attached to a sled or securely tethered to a tree or other permanent device with a
leash of no more than 15 feet in length.

Except as provided herein, all provisions of Commissioner’s Order No. 2100 shall remain in full force and effect.
Dated at Saint Paul, Minnesota, this 16th day of September, 1981.

Joseph N. Alexander
Commissioner of Natural Resources

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION — Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. Strike outs indicate
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated *‘all new material.”” ADOPTED
RULES SECTION — Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike outs indicate deletions from
proposed rule language.
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Department of Natural Resources

Commissioner’s Order No. 2107

Amending Commissioner’s Order No. 2102 Regulating Hunting and Trapping in State Game Refuges, Public
Hunting Grounds, Wildlife Management Areas, National Wildlife Refuges and State Parks

Pursuant to authority vested in me by law, I, Joseph N. Alexander, Commissioner of Natural Resources, hereby prescribe the
following amendments to Commissioner’s Order No. 2102 regulating hunting and trapping in State Game Refuges, Public
Hunting Grounds, Wildlife Management Areas, National Wildlife Refuges and State Parks.

Section 1. Sec. 1. Subd. 2 of Commissioner’s Order No. ‘2102 is amended to read as follows:

Trapping is authorized by permit only, issued by the Area Manager, on the following public hunting grounds: Carlos
Avery in Anoka and Chisago Counties; Hubbel Pond in Becker County; Red Lake in Beltrami and Lake of the Woods
Counties: Talcot Lake in Cottonwood and Murray Counties; Mille Lacs in Mille Lacs and Kanabec Counties; Lac qui
Parle in Big Stone, Lac qui Parle, Swift and Chippewa Counties; Orwell in Ottertail County; Roseau River in Roseau
County; Thief Lake in Marshall County; Rothsay in Wilkin County; and Whitewater in Olmsted, Wabasha and Winona
Counties. If the Area Manager determines that the number of trapping permits issued must be limited in order to avoid undo
depletion of the furbearer resource or to prevent excessive crowding of trappers, he may establish any practicable method,
including a drawing, for impartially determining the persons who may trap. The Area Manager may reject the application
for a trapping permit from any trapper who has-failed to submit a trapping report for the previous trapping season.

Sec. 2. Sec. 1. Subd. 7 of Commissioner’s Order No. 2102 is amended to read as follows:

Hunting on certain portions of Lac qui Parle, Thief Lake, Elm Lake, Roseau River and Talcot Lake Wildlife
Management Areas is controlled as specified in Section 3.

Sec. 3. Sec. 2. Subd. 5 of Commissioner’s Order No. 2102 is amended to read as follows:

The hunting of migratory waterfowl adjacent to certain segments of the Rochester, Roseau River, Lac qun Parle, and Talcot
Lake Game Refuges is controlled as specified in Section. 3. -

Sec. 4. Sec. 2 of Commissioner’s Order No. 2102 is amended by adding a new Subd. cailed Subd. 6 to read as follows:

The Fox Lake Game Refuge, in Martin County, is open to the taking of Canada geese from October 3 to October 7, 1981,
both dates inclusive, within the established goose regulations for the zone in which it is located.

Sec. 5. Sec. 3. Subd. 1 of Commissioner’s Order No. 2102 is amended by adding a new paragraph called j. to read as follows:

On the Talcot Lake Game Refuge and Sanctuary in Cottonwood County, the controlled hunting zone shall include the
area 200 yards out from the following described boundary:

Beginning along County State Aid Highway (CSAH) 7, Cottonwood County at the center of Sec. 17, Township 105
North, Range 38 West; thence south along CSAH 7 to State Trunk Highway (STH) 62; thence west along STH 62 to
the intersection with the Township Road at the northwest corner of Section 32, Township 105 North, Range 38 West.

Sec. 6. Sec. 3 of Commissioner’s Order No. 2102 is amended by adding a new Subdivision, called Subd. 7, to read as follows:

Within the Talcot Lake controlled hunting zone the following regulations shall apply to waterfowl hunters during the
open goose season.

a. Hunting station occupancy is limited to no more than three persons.

b. The resident wildlife manager or the area wildlife manager may limit all persons hunting at all hunting stations
within a controlled hunting zone or at any hunting station within a zone to one day of hunting in every eight if he
determines that such is necessary to provide for the equitable allocation of hunting opportunities. After making such a
determination, the manager shall daily stamp the small game hunting license or firearms safety certificate of every
person at each restricted hunting station with the date of such person’s hunt. Persons with licenses stamped pursuant
to this paragraph may hunt at any restricted station on the day stamped but shall not occupy any such station for the
next seven days. Stations subject to the restrictions imposed by this paragraph shall be so posted. The manager shall
remove any such restriction when he determines that it is no longer necessary for the purpose specified above.

c. No persons shall occupy a shooting station within the controlled hunting zone except when their vehicles are
occupying numbered parking stalls in a designated parking lot in the controlled hunting zone.

d. Hunters shall hunt only at the designated hunting stations having numbers corresponding to their parking stall
number.
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e. No person shall park in or otherwise occupy any parking stall in the designated parking lot or occupy any
designated hunting station during any two consecutive days.

f. No person shall occupy a designated hunting station or park in or otherwise occupy the designated parking lot in
the controlled hunting zone during the period from 10:00 P.M. until 5:00 A.M. the following day.

g. No trailers of any kind shall be allowed in the designated parking lot.
h. All guns must be unloaded and cased except within 10 feet of a hunting station.

i. A hunting party shall vacate its shooting station and leave the controlled hunting zone after the daily limit of
Canada geese has been taken.

Except as provided herein, all provisions of Commissioner's Order No. 2102 shall remain in full force and effect.
Dated at Saint Paul, Minnesota, this 16th day of September, 1981.

Joseph N. Alexander, Commissioner
Department of Natural Resources

ADOPTED RULES

The adoption of a rule becomes effective after the requirements of Minn. Stat. § 15.0412, subd. 4, have been met and five working days after the
rule is published in the State Register, unless a later date is required by statutes or specified in the rule.

If an adopted rule is identical to its proposed form as previously published, a notice of adoption and a citation to its previous State Register
publication will be printed.

If an adopted rule differs from its proposed form, language which has been deleted will be printed with strike outs and new language will be
underlined, and the rule’s previous State Register publication will be cited.

A temporary rule becomes effective upon the approval of the Attorney General as specified in Minn. Stat. § 15.0412, subd. 5. Notice of his decision
will be published as soon as practicable, and the adopted temporary rule will be published in the manner provided for adopted rules under subd. 4.

Department of Agriculture
Plant Industry Division

Adopted Rules Governing Seed Potato Certification (3 MCAR §§ 1.0127-1.01 35) and
Repeal of Agr 121-126
The rules published and proposed at State Register, Volume 5, Number 48, pp. 1913-1922, June 1, 1981 (5 S.R. 1913) are now
adopted, with the following modifications:
Rules as Adopted

3 MCAR § 1.0127 Purpose and authority. Rules 3 MCAR §§ 1.0127-1.0135 provide standards for the inspection, certification,
production, and marketing of certified seed potatoes in the State of Minnesota. The authority to adopt these rules is contained in
Minn. Stat. § 21.118 &988).

3 MCAR § 1.0128 Definitions. As used in 3 MCAR §§ 1.0127-1.0135, the following defintions apply unless the context clearly
indicates otherwise.

D. “‘Inspected’ has the meaning given it in Minn. Stat. § 21.111, subd. 2 4986.

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION — Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. Strike euts indicate
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated ‘‘all new material.”” ADOPTED
RULES SECTION — Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike euts indicate deletions from

proposed rule language.
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E. “*Seed potatoes’” has the meaning given it in Minn. Stat. § 21.111, subd. 5 (4986;.
F. “‘Certified’’ has the meaning given it in Minn. Stat. § 21.111, subd. 3 HH989).

3 MCAR § 1.0129 General guidance. The provisions of this section govern the production of potatoes for use as certified seed
potatoes.

A. Seed potato certification. In order to produce certified seed potatoes, a grower must comply w1th the following
procedures

. Potatoes entered for certification shall be inspected while growing in the field and again after harvest at the time of
shipment. Certification shall be based upon visual inspection by the commissioner of sample plants and tubers from each field
and lot. Certificates shall be issued to show the varietal purity, freedom from disease, anétor and physical defects of the
potatoes at the time of inspection. T

D. Certified seed potato grades. Grades of certified seed potatotes are established according to the physical defects of the
tubers. There are three grades used for shipping Minnesota certified seed potatoes.

2. The red tag certified seed potato grade is the second grade. This grade allows more physical defects of the tubers than
the blue tag certified seed potato grade. It may be used by growers of Foundation certified, Approved certified, and Certified
seed petate growers potatoes. The red tag grade may also be used for intrastate and interstate shipments of certified seed
potatoes.

3 MCAR § 1.0130 Application and eligibility for inspection and certification. The following procedures shall govern:
A. Application for inspection.
1. All potatoes planted on a farm shall be eligible and shall be entered for certification.

2. Application for inspection shall be made before June 16 each year on forms furnished by the commissioner or a seed
potato certification inspector. Applications postmarked after June 15 but before July 1 shall be charged a fifty cents per acre late
registration fee. No applications shall be accepted that are postmarked later than June 30. The commissioner may extend the
deadline due to special circumstances affeeting, such as natural disasters, which make it impractical or impossible for planting
to be completed by the deadline and which affect an area or large number of growers.

5. No application for inspection shall be accepted from a grower in any community or county in which there is not
sufficient acreage te warrant the expense of an inspeetion for the total inspection fee charges to cover the cost of wages and
expenses of the inspectors providing the inspection service. Determination of sufficient acreage shall be made by the
commissioner.

B. Seed potatoes eligible for Minnesota certification planting. A field shall not be inspected for certification unless both the
seed potato variety and the particular lot planted have the authorization of the commissioner. Any well established; named;
eommereiat variety shall be considered for certification if the variety has been deseribed as to vine and tuber eharacteristies in
& journal recognized by the commissioner and in aceordance with the recommendations of the Ratote Asseciation of Ammeriea
In considering seed potato varieties for authorization for certification planting, the commissioner shall consider scientific
evidence and expert opinion. To be eligible for certification planting, seed potatoes shall be one of the following:

1. From Minnesota growers:
a. Foundation certified seed potatoes;
b. Approved certified seed potatoes; or

c. Certified seed potatoes. A grower may replant his own certified seed potatoes. The commissioner may authorize
the planting of purchased certified seed potatoes if there is no source of Foundation certified or Approved certified seed
potatoes available to the grower.

3 MCAR § 1.0135 Minnesota certified seed potato grades and tolerances.

A. Minnesota certified seed potato grades. Before becoming eligible for grading as certified seed potatoes, the requirements
of 3 MCAR §§ 1.0130 and 1.0131 shall be met. In addition, Foundation certified seed potatoes shall meet the requirements of 3
MCAR § 1.0132. Approved certified seed potatoes shall meet the requirements of 3 MCAR § 1.0133. Grading and tagging or
issuance of a bulk certificate are the final steps in the certification process.

1. Minnesota blue tag certified seed potato grade. To be graded as Minnesota blue tag certified seed potatoes, the
potatoes shall meet the following requirements:

a. The potatoes shall be, at time of final inspection, one variety; fairly well-shaped; free from bacterial ring rot,
powdery scab, freezing, black heart, and soft rot or wet breakdown; and free from injury by surface or pitted scab, and from
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damage caused by dirt or other foreign matter, second growth, growth cracks, air cracks, cuts, shriveling, sprouts, pitted scab,
surface scab, russet scab, dry rot, other diseases, insects or worms, external discoloration caused from loss of skin, mechanical
or other means, and from serious damage caused by sunburn, hollow heart, or internal discoloration (other than hollow heart).

b. Size. For round or intermediate shaped varieties, the maximum size shall be not more than 12 ounces and, unless
otherwise specified, the minimum size shall be not less than 17 inches in diameter. For long varieties, the maximum size shall
be not more than 14 ounces and, unless otherwise specified, the minimum size shall be not less than 1% inches in diameter. For
all varieties, size ‘*B’’, the minimum diameter shall be not less than 1Yz inches and the maximum size shall be not more than 2%
inches in diameter.

c. Lot tolerances. In order to allow for variations incident to proper grading and handling, the following tolerances,
by weight, are provided:

(1) For defects: -
(a) 10% for potatoes seriously damaged by hollow heart; ’
(b) 10% for potatoes seriously damaged by sunburn;
(¢) 5% for potatoes seriously damaged by internal discoloration (other than hollow heart);
(d) 8% for potatoes injured by (slight) scab;
(e) 10% for potatoes damaged by dirt or other foreign matter;
(f) 10% for potatoes damaged by sprouts; and

(g) 6% for potatoes which fail to meet the remaining requirements of the grade provided, that included in this
amount not more than the following percentages shall be allowed for the following defects:

(i) Soft rot, frozen, or wet breakdown 0.5%
(i) Damage by surface or pitted scab 2.0%
(iii) Damage by dry fets rot 2.0%
(iv) Late blight tuber rot 2.0%
(v) Bacterial ring rot 0.0%
(vi) Powdery scab 0.0%

State Board of Education
Department of Education
Special Services Division

Adopted Rules Governing Licensure Requirements for Head Varsity Coaches of
Interscholastic Sports in Senior High Schools (5 MCAR § 1.0533)
The rules proposed and published at State Register, Volume 5, Number 34, pp. 1293-1295, February 23, 1981 (5 S.R. 1293)
are now adopted with the following modifications:
Rules as Adopted
Chapter Twenty-Seven A: Licensure of Supervisory and Support; Issuance, Suspension, and Revocation

5 MCAR § 1.0533 D. Qualifications for licensure. All candidates recommended for licensure as a head varsity coach of
interscholastic sports shall have satisfactorily completed a program approved by the Minnesota Board of Education consisting
of & maximum of 12 querter of 9 semester to 18 quarter hours or the equivalent containing components designed to provide
candidates recommended for licensure with knowledge, skills, and understandings in ali of the following areas:

5 MCAR § 1.0533 H. School district hardship situations. In cases where a local school district is unable to employ a licensed
head varsity coach of interscholastic sports, the superintendent of such school district may request the Commissioner of
Education to grant a provisional license for one school year, and renewable for & maximum of one additional Seheel year upon

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION — Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. Strike euts indicate
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated *‘all new material.”" ADOPTED
RULES SECTION — Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike euts indicate deletions from
proposed rule language.
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application on a year to year basis to a teacher or a baccalaureate degreed person to serve as a head varsity coach of an
interscholastic sport upon evidence submitted by the superintendent of schools that the following conditions have been met:

1. Evidence that the school district is unable to employ a licensed head varsity coach of interscholastic sports for the current
school year, and

2. The person to be employed under such authorization holds a current, valid Minnesota teaching license; and or a
baccalaureate degree, and

3. The person to be employed under such authorization is eusrently enroled in & program approved by the Minnesota Board
of Edueation leading to the licensure of head varsity eoaches of interscholastie sports- has experience in the sport and can
demonstrate to the superintendent of schools that he/she has the fundamental knowledge and skills necessary for coaching the
sport, and

4. Verification of completion of six quarter hours or 60 clock hours of instruction in first aid and the care and prevention of
athletic injuries. :

SUPREME COURT

Decisions Filed Friday, September 25, 1981

Compiled by John McCarthy, Clerk
810266/Sp. Mary Louise Wolk, et al., Appellants, v. James De Cowski, et al., Hennepin County.

Statute authorizing warranted interception of oral or wire communications must be interpreted strictly, with any doubt as to its
scope being resolved against the state.

Reversed and remanded. Sheran, C. J.

51640/Sp. State of Minnesota v. Stanley Lloyd, Appellant. Hennepin County.

Trial court did not commit prejudicial error in its evidentiary rulings or instructions.
Affirmed. Otis, J.

51339 Bruce B. Bedeau v. John Mart, et al., Lehigh Valley Railroad Co., et al., Defendants and Lehigh Valley Railroad Company,
defendant and third party plaintiff, Appellant, v. Mannix Construction, Inc., Maintenance of Way Division, third party defendant.
Hennepin County.

Instructions relating to the contract provision, not objected to prior to their submission to the jury, become the law of the case.

Plaintiff may voluntarily dismiss his claims against certain defendants, with the trial court’s approval, and the remaining
defendant may not object unless such dismissal also has the effect of dismissing his claims against the codefendants.

In the absence of detailed findings explaining the basis of the trial court’s decision to remit the verdict, this court is unable to
determine the trial court’s rationale, and a new trial is appropriate on the question of damages alone.

Affirmed in part, and reversed and remanded in part. Todd, J.
51795/Sp. In re the Marriage of: Pamela Nice-Peterson, petitioner, v. Perry W. Nice-Peterson, Appellant. Hennepin County.

A trial court is accorded broad discretion in its consideration and disposition of a motion to modify an award of child custody
made incident to a judgment and decree of marital dissolution. Upon its consideration of affidavits submitted in support of the
motion, Minn. Stat. § 518.185 (1980), the trial court shall review the documents and schedule an evidentiary hearing thereon if
that review indicates a likelihood that the movant might establish the requisite change of circumstances upon which a
modification may be based. Peterson v. Peterson, 308 Minn. 297, 308, 242 N.W.2d 88, 95 (1976).

Affirmed. Yetka, J.
51946/Sp. Donald C. Krupenny, Jr., Appellant, v. West Bend Mutual Insurance Company. Ramsey County.

A person who is injured in the course of loading or unloading a motor vehicle is not entitled to no-fault benefits unless the injury
occurs while the person is occupying, entering or alighting from a motor vehicle. Minn. Stat. § 65B.43, subd. 3 (1980).

Affirmed. Yetka, J.
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81-220/Sp. Randy A. Schultz, et al., v. Thomas Stanton, et al., etc., Appellants, Dennis V. Elwell, James E. Tatro, et al. Dakota
County.

Reversed and remanded for trial on both the main action and claim for contribution. Yetka, J.
51272/Sp. Tamarac Inn, Incorporated, petitioner, v. The City of Long Lake, ef al., Appellants.

Denial of renewal of existing liquor licenses based on failure to complete a restaurant facility and complaints of liquor ordinance
violations was arbitrary and capricious, where the restaurant was within days of completion and the ordinance violations were
no more serious than those at a similarly situated establishment which was not denied renewal.

Affirmed. Scott, Dissenting, Otis, J.
51471/Sp. State of Minnesota v. Michael A. Morrison, Appellant. Hennepin County.

Evidence was sufficient to support the convictions, trial court did not err in evidentiary rulings or instructions, and defendant is
not entitled to a reduction in sentence.

Affirmed. Scott, J.
52071/Sp. State of Minnesota v. Douglas Allen Dahms, Appellant. Faribault County.

Police officers executing a search warrant did not, as defendant contends, exceed the scope of the warrant, and therefore the
trial court properly denied defendant’s motion to suppress.

Police reports that certain items of property were stolen were not admissible under Minn. R. Evid. 803(6) and, without this
evidence, the other evidence was insufficient to sustain four of defendant’s convictions.

Evidence was sufficient to sustain all the other convictions except one, which is reduced.
Reversed in part, remanded for resentencing. Scott, J.

50556/Sp. Minnesota Federation of Teachers, Local 331, Petitioner, Appellant, v. Independent School District No. 361.
Koochiching County.

Because it is reasonably debatable whether the controversy sought to be arbitrated is within the scope of the arbitration clause,
the district court erred in dismissing a motion to compel arbitration made pursuant to Minn. Stat. 572.09 (1980).

Reversed and remanded. Scott, J. Conc. spec. Simonett, J.

81-272/Sp. The City of Minneapolis v. State of Minnesota, by William L. Wilson, Commissioner, Department of Human Rights.
Hennepin County.

Anti-discrimination statute prohibits, among other things, discrimination against a white person because of his association
with black people.

Evidence supports the hearing examiner’s finding that police officer assaulted citizen.
Reversed. Scott, J.

50957/367 Reserve Mining Company v. State of Minnesota and Arthur C. Roemer, Commissioner of Revenue, Appellants. Lake
County.

The taconite tailings tax statute, Minn. Stat. § 298.24, subd. 2 (1980), is not unconstitutional as a bill of attainder, as a violation
of the separation of powers doctrine, or as an impairment of contract.

The taconite tailings tax is an excise tax subject to the limitations on taxation in the taconite amendment, Minn. Const. art. X,
§ 6.

Affirmed in part and reversed in part. Wahl, J. Took no part, Sheran, C. J.

51164/Sp. State of Minnesota, by Warren Spannaus, its Attorney General, petitioner, Appellant, v. Lutsen Resorts, Incorporated,
et al., Melvin LeRoy Lingwall, et al., Horace A. Lamb, et al. Cook County.

Under these circumstances condemnation of an advertising device by the State pursuant to statute neither denies equal
protection nor violation principles of equity.

Reversed and remanded. Wahl, J.

51639/Sp. The Minnesota Chemical Dependency Association, petitioner, Appellant, v. Minneapolis Commission on Civil Rights,
Timothy Campbell, complainant. Hennepin County.

The determination by the Minneapolis Commission on Civil Rights that complainant was discriminated against on the basis of
affectional preference in employment was unsupported by substantial evidence.

Reversed. Amdabhl, J. Took no part, Wahl, J.
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51894/Sp. Dorothy Matson v. Charles D. Matson, Appellant. Washington County.

The Wisconsin judgment for support and maintenance arrearages is definite and certain and for a specific amount. Therefore,
plaintiff was entitled to proceed under the Uniform Enforcement of Foreign Judgments Act, Minn. Stat. §§ 548.26-.33 (1980).

There is no merit to defendant’s contention that the Wisconsin court lacked subject matter jurisdiction over the proceeding
resulting in the judgment for arrearages.

The Wisconsin court retained continuing personal jurisdiction over defendant to enforce the support and maintenance
provisions of the original divorce decree. Due process was satisfied by notice to defendant of the enforcement proceeding
through personal service in Minnesota.

Affirmed and remanded for further proceedings. Amdahl, J.

51923 Joseph Lamb, petitioner, Appellant, v. Village of Bagley, State of Minnesota, by Marilyn McClure, Commissioner,
Department of Human Rights. Clearwater County.

On this record the use of abusive racial epithets coupled with other disparate treatment constitutes, as a matter of law,
impermissible discrimination on the basis of race by the respondent village against complainant, an American Indian employed
as one of its police officers. ’

Reversed and remanded. Simonett, J.

Decision Filed Tuesday, September 22, 1981

81-766/Sp. State of Minnesota, Appellant, v. Michael James Wright. Ramsey County.

Trial court’s sentencing departure in placing defendant on probation was based on substantial and compelling circumstances
where the trial court reasonably concluded, on the basis of recommendations of a psychiatrist and the agent who prepared the
presentence investigation report, that defendant was particularly unamenable to incarceration and particularly amenable to
individualized treatment in a probationary setting consistent with the public safety.

Affirmed. Sheran, C. J.

STATE CONTRACTS

Pursuant to the provisions of Minn. Stat. § 16.098, subd. 3, an agency must make reasonable effort to publicize the availability of any consultant
services tontract or professional and technical services contract which has an estimated cost of over $2,000.

Department of Administration procedures require that notice of any consultant services contract or professional and technical services contract
which has an estimated cost of over $10,000 be printed in the State Register. These procedures also require that the following information be included
in the notice: name of contact person, agency name and address, description of project and tasks, cost estimate, and final submission date of
completed contract proposal.

Department of Administration
Bureau of Real Estate and Transportation

Notice of Request for Proposals for a Building Management Contract

The Department of Administration is requesting proposals for a five-year building management contract, provided funds are
appropriated by the Legislature, for the Minnesota Government Services Center located at Fourth Avenue West and Second
Street, Duluth, Minnesota.

Responders are to project the total costs of their management services and to detail each service category as requested in the
Request for Proposals.
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A Request for Proposals is to be obtained by calling or writing:

James L. Ware

Department of Administration
Plant Management Division G-28
50 Sherburne Avenue

Saint Paul, Minnesota 55155
Telephone: (612) 296-9901

Proposals must be submitted no later than 2:30 p.m., on November 30, 1981.

Department of Economic Security
Notice of Request for Proposals for Computer Consulting Services

Notice is hereby given that the Department of Economic Security is soliciting proposals from qualified consultants to certify
the performance of computer software used by the Minnesota Community Action Data System. The system is a distributive
computer system containing Fund Accounting and Client Components. The system uses the IBM S/34 and IBM 5285 terminals.
The consultant is expected to perform the following tasks:

1. Assemble and review design and operating information.

2. Test and document the status of current system software.

3. Assess and certify the performance of the system.

4. Report findings and recommendations for solutions to problems—short and long term.

The estimated cost is $20,000. Due date for proposals is October 26, 1981. Expected date for completion of evaluation of
proposals is November 21, 1981. Expected completion date of the project is December 31, 1981. This RFP does not obligate
DES to complete the project and DES reserves the right to cancel the solicitation. Direct all inquiries to:

Tracy Page ]
Department of Economic Security
690 American Center Building

150 East Kellogg Boulevard

St. Paul, MN 55101

(612) 296-8062

Department of Education
Council on Quality Education

Notice of Request for Proposals to Study Small School Districts’ Use of Low Power
Television and Secure FCC Licenses

The Council on Quality Education is soliciting proposals related to a state study of the use of low power television (LPTV) in
small rural school districts. It is anticipated that contracts will be let to survey the need for this technology, to determine needs
for personnel and training in small school districts which set up LPTV transmission facilities, to develop cost estimates for
equipment at these facilities, to prepare license applications for the Federal Communications Commission, and to manage and
coordinate the above activities or contracts. Contracts for these efforts may be awarded separately or to a single qualified firm,
agency, or individual. Spending for the overall study effort will not exceed $90,000. Contracts may be let as early as October 27,
1981.

The RFP’s may be requested from and inquiries should be directed to:

Eugene Kairies, Coordinator
Council on Quality Education
Minnesota Department of Education
Division of Special Services

722 Capitol Square

550 Cedar Street

St. Paul, Minnesota 55101

(612) 296-5072
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Water Planning Board

Notice of Request for Proposals for Assistance in Preparation of Local Planning
Handbook for Use by County Officials in Local Water and Related Land Resources
Planning '

The “‘Special Study on Local Water Management’’ was approved by the Minnesota Water Planning Board in January 1981.
The study was prepared pursuant to Laws of 1980, ch. 548. In this study, the board has recommended that counties be assigned
the responsibility for coordinating local water management activities and for developing comprehensive water and related land
resources plans. The purpose of this Request for Proposals is to assist the Water Planning Board by:

1. Determining the scope and detail of county plans which could be developed with existing information and resources.
2. Estimating county financial, technical, administrative, and information requirements for plan development.

This Request for Proposals does not obligate the state to complete the project and the state reserves the right to cancel the
solicitation if it is considered to be in its best interest.

1. Scope of Project. This project will examine water and related land resources information, policies, plans, programs,
and resources available within selected counties in order to assess the detail and scope which might be required in
comprehensive water and related land resources plans prepared by counties. This background information is necessary for the
preparation of the Local Planning Handbook (to be completed by board staff).

The assessment will determine the adequacy of existing information and resources for evaluating immediate and
long-range needs and guiding solutions to problems relating to flood management; stormwater management; provision and
conservation of water supplies; protection and enhancement of water quality and quantity; control or alleviation of soil erosion
and siltation; and preservation of the natural and economic value of shorelands, public waters and wetlands, and water surfaces.
The project should recognize the prevailing fiscal status constraints; the necessity of scaling plan requirements to need; and
should assess the adequacy of existing information and resources in this light.

11. Project Tasks. An assessment of the adequacy of water and related land resources information, policies, plans,
programs, and resources available within five to eight selected counties (including at least one county in the metropolitan area)
will be made to determine the scope and detail possible in county plans. Determination of county financial, technical,
administrative, and informational needs to complete county plans of the scope and detail possible will be made. This project will

" involve:

1. Selection of the counties in which assessments will be made, assuring an array of water management problems.

2. An inventory of existing information, policies, plans, programs, and resources relevant to comprehensive water
and related land resources plan development.

3. An assessment of the adequacy of existing information and resources for development of comprehensive county
water and related land resources plans. ’

4. Determination of the scope and detail possible using obtainable information and resources and design for a format
for a hypothetical county plan.

5. Determination of county financial, technical, administrative, and informational needs for development of a county
comprehensive water and related land resources plan of the scope and detail suggested to be possible in (4) above.

111. Department Contact. Prospective responders who have any questions regarding this Request for Proposals may call
or write John Wells, Minnesota Water Planning Board, 600 American Center Building, 150 E. Kellogg Boulevard, St. Paul,
Minnesota, 55101, (612) 297-2377. Please note: Other board personnel are not permitted to discuss the project with responders
before the proposal submittal deadline.

1V. Submission of Proposals. All proposals must be sent to and received by John Wells at the above address no later
than 4:30 p.m., October 28, 1981. Late proposals will not be accepted. There must be three copies of each proposal and they are
to be sealed in a mailing envelope or package with the responder’s name and address clearly written on the outside. Prices and
terms of the proposal as stated must be valid for the length of the project.

V. Project Costs. The board has estimated that the cost of this project should not exceed $10,000 for professional
services and expenses.

VI. Project Completion Date. The project shall be completed by March 31, 1982.

VII. Proposal Contents. The following will be considered minimum contents of the proposal:
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1. A statement and discussion of the project objectives to demonstrate the responder’s view of the nature of the
project.

2. ldentification and description of the deliverables related to each project task to be provided by the responder.

3. A description of the responder’s background and experience, with particular emphasis on work with local and state
government.

4. A detailed cost and work plan which identifies major tasks to be accomplished.

5. A description of the extent of the Water Planning Board’s participation in the effort, as well as any other services
to be provided by the board.

The description of the background and experience of the responder shall include identification of personnel who
will conduct the project and an explanation of their training and work experience. No changes in the primary personnel assigned
to the project will be permitted without specific written approval of the state project manager.

The detailed cost and work plan will be considered a scheduling and managing tool, as well as a basis for invoicing.

VII1. Evaluation. All proposals received by the deadline will be evaluated by representatives of the Water Planning
Board. If deemed necessary, an interview may be included in the evaluation process. Factors upon which proposals will be
judged include, but are not limited to the following:

1. Expressed understanding of project objectives.
2. Project work plan.
3. Project cost detail.
4. Qualifications of both company and personnel.

Experience of project personnel will be given greater weight than that of the firm. Evaluation and selection will be
completed by November 6, 1981. Results will be sent immediately by mail to all responders.

OFFICIAL NOTICES

Pursuant to the provisions of Minn. Stat. § 15.0412, subd. 6, an agency, in preparing proposed rules, may seek information or opinion from sources
outside the agency. Notices of intent to solicit outside opinion must be published in the State Register and all interested persons afforded the
opportunity to submit data or views on the subject, either orally or in writing.

The State Register also publishes other official notices of state agencies, notices of meetings, and matters of public interest.

Minnesota Environmental Quality Board
Proposed Rules Governing the Environmental Review Program

Notice of Postponement of Public Hearing

Notice is hereby given that the public hearing on the proposed rules as noticed in the September 7, 1981 issue of the State
Register at 6 S.R. 354 has been postponed. The agency will reschedule the hearing for a later date. The proposed rules as
noticed, in the same issue of the State Register at 6 S.R. 355 through 6 S.R. 393 are not affected by this postponement. The

" proposed rules as noticed will be the rules that are the subject of the public hearing.

Questions regarding this matter should be directed to Tom Rulland, (612) 296-2319 at the Environmental Quality Board,
Room 100, Capitol Square Building, 550 Cedar Street, St. Paul, MN 55101.

Office of the Governor
Notice of Appointment of Department Head

In accordance with Minnesota Stat. § 15.06, notice is hereby given of the appointment of Valdis Vikmanis as Acting
Commissioner of the Department of Finance on August 26, 1981.
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Pollution Control Agency
Solid and Hazardous Waste Division

Notice of Intent to Solicit Outside Opinion Regarding Amendments to Rules Governing
the Minnesota Waste Reduction and Source Separation Demonstration Grant
Program

Notice is hereby given that the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency is seeking information or opinions from sources outside
the agency in preparing to promulgate amendments to 6 MCAR § 4.6086 governing the administration of the Minnesota Source
Separation and Waste Reduction Program. The promulgation of these rule amendments is authorized by Minn. Stat. §§ 115A.49
to 115A.54 which requires the agency to administer a solid waste management demonstration program. The rule amendments
relate to incorporation of additional criteria to prioritize categories of eligible source separation and waste reduction
demonstration project applications and to the incorporation of selection criteria to allow ranking of similar project applications
in the same project category. Comments are especially sought concerning views on the types of projects which should have a
high priority for funding.

The Minnesota Pollution Control Agency requests information and comments concerning the subject matter of these rule
amendments. Interested or affected persons or groups may submit statements of information or comment orally or in writing.
Written statements should be addressed to:

Donald J. Kyser

Waste Management Assistance Section
Solid and Hazardous Waste Division
Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
1935 West County Road B-2
Roseville, Minnesota 55113

Oral statements will be received during regular business hours over the telephone at (612) 297-2727 and in person at the above
address.

All statements of information and comment shall be accepted until October 22, 1981. Any written material received by the
Minnesota Pollution Control Agency shall become part of the record in the event that the rule amendments are promulgated.

Office of the Secretary of State

Notice of Vacancies in Multi-member State Agencies

Notice is hereby given to the public that vacancies have occurred in multi-member state agencies, pursuant to Minn. Stat. §
15.0597, subd. 4. Application forms may be obtained at the Office of the Secretary of State, 180 State Office Building, St. Paul
55155-1299; (612) 296-7876. Application deadline is October 27, 1981.

PHYSICAL THERAPY COUNCIL has 1 vacancy for a licensed physician pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 148.67. The council advises
the Board of Medical Examiners on all matters relating to physical therapy; registers physical therapists; and takes action
against them. Members are appointed by the Board of Medical Examiners and receive $35 per diem plus expenses. For specific
information contact the Physical Therapy Council, #352, 717 Delaware St. S.E., Minneapolis 55440; (612) 296-5534.

REHABILITATION REVIEW PANEL has | vacancy for a representative for employers pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 176.102,
subd. 3. The panel reviews rehabilitation plans and rules; advises Commissioner of Labor and Industry. Members are appointed
by the Governor. Compensation for members is governed by § 15.0575. For specific information contact Rehabilitation Review
Panel, Space Center, 444 Lafayette Road, St. Paul 55101; (612) 297-2684.

OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH ADVISORY COUNCIL has 1 vacancy for a management representative. The
council advises the Department of Labor and Industry on administration of the state Occupational Safety and Health Act.
Members are appointed by the Governor. Meetings are at the call of the chairperson and held at the Space Center Building.
Members receive $35 per diem. For specific information contact Occupational Safety and Health Advisory Council, Space
Center Building, 444 Lafayette Road, St. Paul 55101; (612) 296-6529.

POWER PLANT SITING ADVISORY COMMITTEE has 20 to 30 vacancies open for members to serve until June 30, 1982. The
committee will consider the effectiveness of the Environmental Quality Board in carrying out the policies of the Power Plant
Siting Act. This includes a consideration of a methodology and criteria to be used by the board in evaluating the Power Plant
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Siting Program and an evaluation of the program. Six day-long (Saturday) meetings and some evening meetings will be held;
members are compensated for expenses. Members are appointed by the board. (According to state law, no officer, agent or
employee of a utility may serve on this committee). For specific information contact Sheldon Mains, Room 101, Capitol Square
Building, 550 Cedar, St. Paul 55101; (612) 296-2757.

STATE EMPLOYEES SUGGESTION BOARD has | vacancy for a state officer or employee. The board manages a state
employee suggestion system for approximately 30,000 classified and unclassified state employees in order to provide tangible
and intangible savings to the state, increase employee morale, and increase the safety of the employees and public. Members
are appointed by the Governor. Monthly meetings are held at the Administration Building. Members receive no compensation.
For specific information contact the State Employees Suggestion Board, 203 Administration Building, St. Paul 55155; (612)
296-6798.

Department of Transportation
Petition of the City of Cloquet for a Variance from State Aid Standards for Street Width

Notice is hereby given that the City Council of the City of Cloquet has made a written request to the Commissioner of
Transportation for a variance from minimum design standards for street width along Doddridge Avenue between 7th Street and
14th Street.

The request is for a variance from 14 MCAR § 1.5032 H.1.C. Rules for State Aid Operations under Minnesota Statute,
Chapters 162 and 163 (1978) as amended, so as to permit a minimum roadway width of 44 feet with parking permitted instead of
a roadway width of 46 feet.

Any person may file a written objection to the variance request with the Commissioner of Transportation, Transportation
Building, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155.

If a written objection is received within 20 days from the date of this notice in the State Register, the variance can be granted
only after a contested case hearing has been held on the request.

Dated this 16th day of September, 1981.

Richard P. Braun
Commissioner of Transportation

Department of Transportation

Amended Order and Notice of Street and Highway Routes Designated and Permitted to
Carry the Gross Weights Allowed under Minn. Stat. § 169.832

Order No. 66058

Whereas, the Commissioner of Transportation has made his Order No. 65851, which has been amended by Orders 65929,
65932, and 65963, designating and permitting certain street and highway routes, or segments of routes, to carry the gross
weights allowed under Minnesota Statutes § 169.832, and

Whereas, the commissioner has determined that the additional following routes, or segment of routes, should be designated to
carry the gross weights allowed under Minnesota Statutes § 169.832, and

Whereas, amended order No. 65929 was in error describing the T. H. 63 route, and
Whereas, the State Register dated Monday, July 27, 1981 was also in error in describing the T.H. 63 route.

It is hereby ordered that Commissioner of Transportation Order No. 65851 is amended this date by adding the following
designated streets and highway routes, or segments of routes as follows:

Trunk Highways

T. H. 63 — From Olmstead County State Aid Highway 6 to Junction 1-90.

(Correction to Order No. 65929 and State Register of Monday, July 27, 1981).
T. H. 220 — From North Dakota border at Breckenridge to Junction 1-94
T. H. 28 — From Cyrus to Glenwood, MN
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City Streets ‘

*Rosemount — Pine Bend Trail from Junction TH 55 to 1.5 miles East.
Hutchinson — Michigan St. between T.H. 7 and Arch St. (temporary)
Arch St. between Michigan St. and the Farmers Elevator (temporary)

*This segment of Pine Bend Trail was previously designated as a temporary route as per amended Order No. 65929, and Srare
Register dated Monday, July 27, 1981, and is now being changed by this order to permanent seasonally posted status.

Dated this 25th day of September, 1981

Richard P. Braun
Commissioner of Transportation
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STATE OF MINNESOTA

State Register and Public Documents Division
117 University Avenue
St. Paul, Minnesota 55155

ORDER FORM

State Register. Minnesota's official weekly publication for agency
rules and notices. executive orders of the Governor, state contracts,
Supreme Court and Tax Court decisions.

Annual subscription $130.00

Single copies $3.00 each

The 1979-80 Audio Visual Catalog. A 275-page catalog of state
agency films, slides and tapes available to the public.

Single copy $4.50 + $.23 (sales tax) = $4.73*cach

Session Laws of Minnesota—1981. Two volumes. Laws
enacted during the 1981 legislative session. Inquire about
back volumes. $25 + $1.25 (sales tax) = $26.2S each.

State Register Binder. Durable 3% inch, forest green binders
imprinted with the State Register logo.

State Register Binder $6.00 + $.30 (sales tax) =
$6.30* each

Finding Aids Annual. Contains cumulative findings aids to Vol-
ume 4 of the State Register, including MCAR Amendments and
Additions, Executive Orders List, Exccutive Orders Index. Agency
Index. Subject Matter Index.

Single copy $5.00

Minnesota Statutes Supplement—1979. One volume. $40 +
$2.00 (sales tax) = $42.00 each.

Worker’s Compensation Decisions. Volume 33. Selected
landmark decisions of the Worker’s Compensation Court
of Appeals. Available by annual subscription. with quarterly
update service.

Annual subscription $50.00

Documents Center Catalog—1981-82. Complete listing of all
items available through the Documents Center. Agency
rules, brochures, studies, catalogs, maps, prints,
commemorative items and much more.

FREE COPY

*To avoid Minnesota sales tax, please include your Certificate of Exempt Status issued by the Minnesota Department of Revenue.

Please enclose full amount for items ordered. Make check or money order payable to **State of Minnesota.™

Name

Attention of:

Street

City  State

Telephone.

FOR LEGISLATIVE NEWS

Publications containing news and information from the Minnesota Senate and House of Representatives are available frce to
concerned citizens and the news media. To be placed on the mailing list, write or call the offices listed below:

Briefly/Preview—Senate news and committee calendar; published weekly during legislative sessions. Contact Senate Public Information
Office, Room B29 State Capitol, St. Paul MN 55155, (612) 296-0504.

Perspectives—Publication about the Senate. Contact Senate Information Office.

Weekly Wrap-Up—House committees. committee assignments of individual representatives. news on committce meetings and action.
House action and bill introductions. Contact House Information Office, Room 8 Statc Capitol. St. Paul, MN, (612)

296-2146.

This Week—weekly interim bulletin of the House. Contact House Information Office.
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