Minnesota State Register

Published every Monday (Tuesday when Monday is a holiday)



Proposed, Adopted, Emergency, Expedited, Withdrawn, Vetoed Rules; Executive Orders; Appointments; Commissioners' Orders; Revenue Notices; Official Notices; State Grants & Loans; State Contracts; Non-State Public Bids, Contracts and Grants

Monday 28 March 2016

Volume 40, Number 39

Pages 1247 - 1322

Minnesota State Register =

Judicial Notice Shall Be Taken of Material Published in the Minnesota State Register

The Minnesota State Register is the official publication of the State of Minnesota's Executive Branch of government, published weekly to fulfill the legislative mandate set forth in *Minnesota Statutes*, Chapter 14, and *Minnesota Rules*, Chapter 1400. It contains:

- Proposed Rules
- Adopted Rules
- Exempt Rules
- Expedited Rules
- · Withdrawn Rules
- · Executive Orders of the
- Governor
- Appointments
- Proclamations
- Vetoed Rules
- Commissioners'
- **Orders**
- Revenue Notices
- Official Notices
- State Grants and Loans
- Contracts for

Professional, Technical and Consulting Services

• Non-State Public Bids,

Contracts and Grants

Printing Schedule and Submission Deadlines

Vol. 40 Issue Number	PUBLISH DATE (BOLDFACE shows altered publish date)	Deadline for: all Short Rules, Executive and Commissioner's Orders, Revenue and Official Notices, State Grants, Professional-Technical- Consulting Contracts, Non-State Bids and Public Contracts	Deadline for LONG, Complicated Rules (contact the editor to negotiate a deadline)
# 40	Monday 4 April	Noon Tuesday 29 March	Noon Thursday 10 March
# 41	Monday 11 April	Noon Tuesday 5 March	Noon Thursday 17 March
# 42	Monday 18 April	Noon Tuesday 12 April	Noon Thursday 24 March
# 43	Monday 25 April	Noon Tuesday 19 April	Noon Thursday 31 March

PUBLISHING NOTICES: We need to receive your submission ELECTRONICALLY in Microsoft WORD format. Submit ONE COPY of your notice via e-mail to: sean.plemmons@state.mn.us. State agency submissions must include a "State Register Printing Order" form, and, with contracts, a "Contract Certification" form. Non-State Agencies should submit ELECTRONICALLY in Microsoft WORD, with a letter on your letterhead stationery requesting publication and date to be published. Costs are \$10.20 per tenth of a page (columns are seven inches wide). One typewritten, double-spaced page = 4/10s of a page in the State Register, or \$40.80. About 2-1/2 pages typed, double-spaced, on 8-1/2"x11" paper = one typeset page in the State Register. Contact editor with questions (651) 297-7963, or e-mail: sean.plemmons@state.mn.us.

SUBSCRIPTION SERVICES: Copies are available at Minnesota's Bookstore, 660 Olive Street, St. Paul, MN 55155. Order by phone: Metro area: (651) 297-3000 Toll free (800) 657-3757. TTY relay service phone number: 711. NO REFUNDS. E-mail subscriptions are available by contacting (651) 297-8777. Send address changes to Minnesota's Bookstore, 660 Olive Street, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155.

SEE THE Minnesota State Register free at website: http://www.minnesotasbookstore.com

- Minnesota State Register: On-line subscription \$180, includes links, index, special section "CONTRACTS & GRANTS," with Sidebar Table of Contents, Early View after 4:30 pm Friday (instead of waiting for early Monday), and it's sent to you via *E-mail*.
- Single issues are available for a limited time: Minnesota State Register \$5.00.
- "Affidavit of Publication" includes a notarized "Affidavit" and a copy of the issue: \$15.00.
- Research Services will look up, photocopy, and fax or send copies from past issues at \$1.00 per page.

Governor: Mark Dayton (651) 296-3391 Administration **Commissioner:** Matthew J. Massman (651) 201-2555

Lieutenant Governor: Tina Smith (651) 296-339 **Plant Management Division:** Christopher A. Guevin (651) 201-2350

Attorney General:

Lori Swanson (651) 296-6196

Minnesota's Bookstore: Mary Mikes (651) 297-3979 Auditor: Rebecca Otto

(651) 296-2551 Secretary of State: Steve Simon (651) 296-2803

Subscriptions Manager: Loretta J. Diaz (651) 297-8777 loretta.diaz@state.mn.us

Editor: Sean Plemmons (651) 297-7963 sean.plemmons@state.mn.us

Copyright © 2016 Plant Management Division, Department of Administration, State of Minnesota.

USPS Publication Number: 326-630 (ISSN: 0146-7751)

THE MINNESOTA STATE REGISTER IS PUBLISHED by Plant Management Division, Department of Administration, State of Minnesota, pursuant to Minnesota Statutes § 14.46 and is available on-line at: http://www.comm.media.state.mn.us/bookstore/mnbookstore

Minnesota Legislative Information

Senate Public Information Office

(651) 296-0504

State Capitol, Room 231, St. Paul, MN 55155

http://www.senate.mn

Minnesota State Court System

Court Information Office (651) 296-6043

MN Judicial Center, Rm. 135.

25 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155

http://www.mncourts.gov

House Public Information Services

(651) 296-2146

State Office Building, Room 175

100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155

https://www.house.leg.state.mn.us/hinfo/hinfo.asp

Federal Register

Office of the Federal Register (202) 512-1530; or (888) 293-6498 U.S. Government Printing Office - Fax: (202) 512-1262

http://www.access.gpo.gov/su_docs/aces/aces140.html

Minnesota Rules : Amendments & Additions Vol. 40 #39 Monday 28 March 2016	1250	State Grants & Loans Minnesota Judicial Branch Request for Services to Provide Method for Claiming Direct Personnel Costs for Court	
Proposed Rules Minnesota Board of Cosmetologist Examiners Proposed Amendments to Permanent Rules Governing the Licensure and Practice of		Administration Processing Tasks Associated with IV-D Child Support Cases	
Proposed Amendments to Permanent Rules Governing the Licensure and Practice of Cosmetologists, Estheticians, Nail Technicians, Instructors and School Managers, an Licensure and Operation of Salons and Schools	d the	State Contracts Minnesota State Colleges and Universities (MnSCU)	
Expedited Emergency Rules Department of Natural Resources		South Central College Request for Bids for Hydraulic Shear Bemidji State University	315
Adopted Expedited Game and Fish Rules: Special turkey hunts	1305	Notice of Request for Proposals for Student Retention and Completion Services	316
Official Notices		St. Cloud State University Request for Bids for Holes Hall Demolition	316
Minnesota Department of Agriculture		Minnesota State University Moorhead Notice of Request for Proposals for Cable Television and Internet Services	317
Request for Participation in the Minnesota Industrial Hemp Development Act Pilot Program	1307	Campus Service Cooperative Notice of Request for Proposals for Bookstore Point-of-Sale/ECommerce/Inventory/	
Minnesota Pollution Control Agency Notice of Availability and Request for Comment of the Draft Mustinka River Watershed Total Maximum Daily Load and Watershed Restoration and Protection Strategy Minnesota Teachers Retirement Association	1310	State of Minnesota Department of Administration Notice of Availability of Request for Proposal (RFP) for Designer Selection for: Academic Health Center – Health Sciences Education & Learning Center – University of Minnesota, Twin Cities (State Designer Selection Board Project No. 16-03)	of
Notice of Meeting		Minnesota Teachers Retirement Association	317
Notice of Meeting Minnesota State Retirement System, Public Employees Retirement	1312	Board of Trustees Request for Proposal Actuarial Consulting Services	318
Association and Minnesota Teachers Retirement Association Notice of Meeting	1312	Minnesota State Lottery Request for Proposals for Sponsorship Agreements	319
Minnesota Department of Human Services MNsure		Minnesota Department of Transportation (Mn/DOT) Notice of Potential Availability of Contracting Opportunities for a Variety of Highway	
Request for Proposals: Outreach and Education Grants	1313	Related Technical Activities ("Consultant Pre-Qualification Program")	
Regional Quality Councils	1313	Non-State Public Bids, Contracts & Grants	320
		Metropolitan Airports Commission (MAC) Call for Bids for Terminal 1-Lindbergh PBB Replacement 13 Call for Bids for Terminal 1-Lindbergh Tram System Upgrades 13	

Get the Earliest Delivery of the State Register

A subscription to the **STATE REGISTER** gets you the **EARLIEST DELIVERY.** Instead of waiting until Monday at 8:00 a.m. when the magazine is posted on our website, we'll SEND you the magazine on Friday at close of business with the State, 4:30 pm: 2-1/2 days early.

Yes, that's right -- 2-1/2 days ahead of normal publication schedule -- to get to know what's coming in the next week; to prepare your plans for your submissions to grant and loan programs and RFPs, RFIs and other contracts and bids.

Subscriptions for an entire year cost \$180. The magazine is <u>SENT TO YOU</u>, as well as ONE OTHER PERSON YOU DESIGNATE, in case of vacations, or illnesses, or other absences in your office and you won't have to access our website or click, click, click to find us.

Subscriptions include the most up-to-date information, including a growing index to issues in each volume, issue by issue, including the current volume, which others do not have access to until the end of the volume year.

And a subscription gets you our Current Listing of All OPEN bids, contracts, grants, loans, and RFPs that are still open for bid, so you don't have to hunt through each back issue to find something.

Minnesota Rules: Amendments and Additions

NOTICE: How to Follow State Agency Rulemaking in the State Register

The State Register is the official source, and only complete listing, for all state agency rulemaking in its various stages. State agencies are required to publish notice of their rulemaking action in the State Register. Published every Monday, the State Register makes it easy to follow and participate in the important rulemaking process. Approximately 80 state agencies have the authority to issue rules. Each agency is assigned specific Minnesota Rule chapter numbers. Every odd-numbered year the Minnesota Rules are published. Supplements are published to update this set of rules. Generally speaking, proposed and adopted exempt rules do not appear in this set because of their short-term nature, but are published in the State Register.

An agency must first solicit Comments on Planned Rules or Comments on Planned Rule Amendments from the public on the subject matter of a possible rulemaking proposal under active consideration within the agency (Minnesota Statutes §§ 14.101). It does this by publishing a notice in the State Register at least 60 days before publication of a notice to adopt or a notice of hearing, or within 60 days of the effective date of any new statutory grant of required rulemaking.

When rules are first drafted, state agencies publish them as Proposed Rules, along with a notice of hearing, or a notice of intent to adopt rules without a hearing in the case of noncontroversial rules. This notice asks for comment on the rules as proposed. Proposed emergency rules, and withdrawn proposed rules, are also published in the State Register. After proposed rules have gone through the comment period, and have been rewritten into their final form, they again appear in the State Register as Adopted Rules. These final adopted rules are not printed in their entirety, but only the changes made since their publication as Proposed Rules. To see the full rule, as adopted and in effect, a person simply needs two issues of the State Register, the issue the rule appeared in as proposed, and later as adopted.

The State Register features partial and cumulative listings of rules in this section on the following schedule: issues #1-13 inclusive; issues #14-25 inclusive (issue #26 cumulative for issues #1-26); issues #27-38 inclusive (issue #39, cumulative for issues #1-39); issues #40-52 inclusive, with final index (#1-52, or 53 in some years). An annual subject matter index for rules was separately printed usually in August, but starting with Volume 19 now appears in the final issue of each volume. For copies or subscriptions to the State Register, contact Minnesota's Bookstore, 660 Olive Street (one block east of I-35E and one block north of University Ave), St. Paul, MN 55155, phone: (612) 297-3000, or toll-free 1-800-657-3757. TTY relay service phone number: (800) 627-3529.

6230.0200; .0400; 6236.0300; .0600; .0810; .1000; .1060; 6240.2300 **Volume 40 - Minnesota Rules** (adopted expedited emergency)..... (Rules Appearing in Issues #1-26 are 6236.0810 s. 2 (published in the State Register, Volume 39, page 1427, in Vol 40, #26 - Monday 28 December 2015) April 6, 2015) repealed..... Volume 40, #27 - 39 6240.0600 (adopted expedited emergency)..... 6262.0575; 6264.0400 (adopted exempt)..... 826 Monday 4 January - Monday 28 March 2016 6264.0300 (adopted exempt).... 6264.0300 s. 47, 66, 70, 71 (repealed exempt)..... 6230.0200; 6236.1060, s. 2; .1075 (adopted expedited emergency)... 1305 **Accountancy Board Labor and Industry Department (DLI)** 1105.4000 (adopted expedited)..... 953 7511.0090; .0102; .0104; .0105; .0109; .0202; .0304; .0307; .0308; .0315; .0316; .0318; .0319; .0401; .0503; .0506; .0507; .0508; .0510; .0603; .0604; **Board of Cosmetologist Examiners** .0605; .0611; .0806; .0807; .0901; .0903; .0904; .0905; .0906; .0907; .0908; 2105; 2110 (proposed)0909; .0910; .1001; .1008; .1009; .1013; .1014; .1015; .1017; .1018; .1022; 2105.0010, s. 5, 8, 9, 12; 2105.0100; 2105.0120; 2105.0130; 2105.0140; .1023; .1025; .1028; .1029; .1030; .1101; .1103; .1104; .1106; .1408; .2206; 2105.0150; 2105.0160; 2105.0180; 2105.0185;2105.0190, s. 5; 2105.0200, s. .2210; .2306; .2307; .2310; .2402; .2701; .2703; .3006; .3201; .3206; .3301; 4; 2105.0210; 2105.0300; 2105.0320; 2105.0340; 2105.0350; 2105.0360, s. 2; .3308; .3404; .3406; .4600; .5001; .5003; .5306; .5501; .5601; .5608; .5609; 2105.0380; 2015.0400; 2105.0450; 2105.0600; 2105.0610; 2110.0010, s. 3, 5, .5704; .5706; .6101; .7900; .8000; .8010; .8020; .8030; .8040; .8100; .8400; 6, 10, 11, 13, 19; 2110.0120; 2110.0130; 2110.0140; 2110.0150; 2110.0300; .8410; .8420; .8430; .8440 (proposed)..... 2110.0340; 2110.0370; 2105.0410, s. 4; 2110.0420; 2110.0540; 2110.0560; 7511.0090 s. 2; .0106; .0607; .0610; .0704; .0705; .0903 s. 8; .0907 s. 1, 12, 14, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24; .0909 s. 1; .1002; .1019; .1026; .1027; .2703 s. 1; .3401; .3402; .3405; .3800; .4500; .7900 s. 1, 3, 4 747 Health Department (MDH) (proposed repealer)..... Division of Health Policy: Pollution Control Agency (MPCA) 7001.0050; 7050.0218; .0250; .0255; .0260; .0265; .0270; .0275; .0280; .0285; .0290; .0295; .0305; .0315; .0325; .0335; 7052.0300 (pro-**Environmental Health Division:** 4717.1750 (proposed)..... 7002.0019; 7005.0100; 7007.0100; .0250; .0300; .0350; .0500; .0502; .0600; .0650; .0700; .0750; .0800; .0801; .0950; .1000; .1100; .1142; .1150; **Labor and Industry Department** .1250; .1300; .1350; .1400; .1500; .1600; 7008.0100; .4100; .4110; 7009.0010; Occupational Safety and Health Division: .0020; .0080; .0090; .1060; 7011.0065; .0070; .0080; .0510; .0515; 0530; .0535; .0610; .0615; .0620; .0710; .0715; .0720; .0905; .1105; .1115; .1130; .1135; .1227; .1229; .1231; 1233; .1265; .1280; .1282; .1305; .1310; .1320; Marriage and Family Therapy Board .1400; .1405; .1410; .1425; .1905; .1910; .2005; .2010; .2300; .2375; .2450; 5300.0100; .0110; .0120; .0130; .0135; .0140; .0145; .0150; .0155; .0160; .7185; .7630; 7017.1002; .1080; .1110; .1120; .1170; .1215; .2015; .2017; .0170; .0175; .0180; .0190; .0200; .0230; .0240; .0250; .0260; .0270; .0280; .2025; .2035; .2050; .2060; 7019.3020; 7030.0010; .0290; .0300; .0310; .0315; .0320; .0330; .0340; .0350; .0050 (proposed)..... 1058 7007.0325; 7009.0070; 7011.0725; .1280 s. 8; .1400 s. 12; .1415; 7017.1080 s. 3; .1120 s. 2; .1170 s. 1, 4, 5; .1210; .2001 s. 2; .2018 (proposed repealer).... **Natural Resources Department (DNR)**

6266.0100; (proposed expedited).....

Comments on Planned Rules or Rule Amendments. An agency must first solicit Comments on Planned Rules or Comments on Planned Rule Amendments from the public on the subject matter of a possible rulemaking proposal under active consideration within the agency (*Minnesota Statutes* §§ 14.101). It does this by publishing a notice in the *State Register* at least 60 days before publication of a notice to adopt or a notice of hearing, and within 60 days of the effective date of any new statutory grant of required rulemaking.

Rules to be Adopted After a Hearing. After receiving comments and deciding to hold a public hearing on the rule, an agency drafts its rule. It then publishes its rules with a notice of hearing. All persons wishing to make a statement must register at the hearing. Anyone who wishes to submit written comments may do so at the hearing, or within five working days of the close of the hearing. Administrative law judges may, during the hearing, extend the period for receiving comments up to 20 calendar days. For five business days after the submission period the agency and interested persons may respond to any new information submitted during the written submission period and the record then is closed. The administrative law judge prepares a report within 30 days, stating findings of fact, conclusions and recommendations. After receiving the report, the agency decides whether to adopt, withdraw or modify the proposed rule based on consideration of the comments made during the rule hearing procedure and the report of the administrative law judge. The agency must wait five days after receiving the report before taking any action.

Rules to be Adopted Without a Hearing. Pursuant to *Minnesota Statutes* § 14.22, an agency may propose to adopt, amend, suspend or repeal rules without first holding a public hearing. An agency must first solicit Comments on Planned Rules or Comments on Planned Rule Amendments from the public. The agency then publishes a notice of intent to adopt rules without a public hearing, together with the proposed rules, in the *State Register*. If, during the 30-day comment period, 25 or more persons submit to the agency a written request for a hearing of the proposed rules, the agency must proceed under the provisions of §§ 14.1414.20, which state that if an agency decides to hold a public hearing, it must publish a notice of intent in the *State Register*.

KEY: Proposed Rules - <u>Underlining</u> indicates additions to existing rule language. <u>Strikeouts</u> indicate deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." **Adopted Rules** - <u>Underlining</u> indicates additions to proposed rule language. <u>Strikeout</u> indicates deletions from proposed rule language.

Minnesota Board of Cosmetologist Examiners

Proposed Amendments to Permanent Rules Governing the Licensure and Practice of Cosmetologists, Estheticians, Nail Technicians, Instructors and School Managers, and the Licensure and Operation of Salons and Schools

DUAL NOTICE: Notice of Intent to Adopt Rules Without a Public Hearing Unless 25 or More Persons Request a Hearing, and Notice of Hearing if 25 or More Requests for Hearing Are Received; OAH Docket No. 60-9013-31884; Revisor R-4258

Proposed Amendments to Rules Governing the Licensure and Practice of Cosmetologists, Estheticians, Nail Technicians, Instructors and School Managers, and the Licensure and Operation of Salons and Schools, *Minnesota Rules*, chapters 2105 and 2110; including the proposed repeal of parts 2105.0010, subparts 5, 8, 9, and 12; 2105.0100; 2105.0120; 2105.0130; 2105.0140; 2105.0150; 2105.0160; 2105.0180; 2105.0185;2105.0190, subpart 5; 2105.0200, subpart 4; 2105.0210; 2105.0300; 2105.0320; 2105.0340; 2105.0350; 2105.0360, subpart 2; 2105.0380; 2015.0400; 2105.0450; 2105.0600; 2105.0610; 2110.0010, subparts 3, 5, 6, 10, 11, 13, and 19; 2110.0120; 2110.0130; 2110.0140; 2110.0150; 2110.0300; 2110.0340; 2110.0370; 2105.0410, subpart 4; 2110.0420; 2110.0540; 2110.0560; 2110.0570; 2110.0620; and 2110.0700.

Introduction. The Board of Cosmetologist Examiners intends to adopt rules without a public hearing following the procedures in the rules of the Office of Administrative Hearings, *Minnesota Rules*, parts 1400.2300 to 1400.2310, and the Administrative Procedure Act, *Minnesota Statutes*, sections 14.22 to 14.28. If, however, 25 or more persons submit a written request for a hearing on the rules by 4:30 p.m. on April 27, 2016, the Board will hold a public hearing in Room 200, State Office Building, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155 starting at 9 a.m. on Monday, June 6, 2016 and if necessary, continuing at 9 a.m. on Tuesday, June 7, 2016. To find out whether the Board will adopt the rules without a hearing or if it will hold the hearing, you should contact the agency contact person after April 27, 2016 and before June 6, 2016.

Agency Contact Person. Submit any comments or questions on the rules or written requests for a public hearing to Rebecca Gaspard at *rebecca.gaspard@state.mn.us*, phone 651-201-2751, or BCE, 2829 University Avenue Southeast, Suite 710, Minneapolis, Minnesota, 55414, or faxed to 612-617-2601. TTY users may call 1-800-627-3529.

Subject of Rules. The proposed new rules, rules amendments, and repeals of rules are about the licensure and practice of cosmetologists, estheticians, nail technicians, instructors, and school managers; and the licensure and operation of salons and schools. The proposed changes will affect all cosmetologists, estheticians, nail technicians, salon managers, school managers, instructors, salons and schools, and all applicants for licensure, because the topics of proposed rule changes include definitions; applying for

licensure, maintaining a license, applying to renew a license, and applying to renew an expired license; expiration dates of testing results; changing terminology and reactivation of retired licenses; becoming re-licensed after license revocation; advertising by individuals, salons and schools; unregulated services; license cycles; scope of practice for cosmetologists, estheticians, and nail technicians; licensees who lease space in a salon and salons that lease space to licensees; inspections of salons, permit holders, and schools; inspection requirements, results and penalties; license posting requirements; salon prohibitions; military temporary licenses; continuing education requirements and continuing education providers; designated licensed salon managers and designated licensed school managers; physical and operational requirements for salons and schools, supervision requirements for salons and schools; infection control and safety: salons in suite-style salon facilities; salons in home residences; salons in nursing homes; special event permits and homebound service permits; salon and practice prohibitions; school curriculum, field trips, refund policies, furniture, fixtures, supplies, guest presenters, transfer students, school reporting requirements, substitute instructors and other school related rules; refresher courses and skills courses; housekeeping changes; other changes to update the rules; changes to make the rules easier to understand and administer; and other topics related to the practice of cosmetology, esthetics, nail technology, and salons and schools.

Statutory Authority. The Board's statutory authority to adopt rules is stated in Minnesota Statutes, section 155A as follows: §155A.23 Subd. 9, which states: "Salon" does not include the home of a customer but the board may adopt health and sanitation rules governing practice in the homes of customers.

§155A.26, which states: The Board may develop and adopt rules according to chapter 14 that the board considers necessary to carry out sections 155A.21 to 155A.36.

§155A.27 Subd. 2., which states: Qualifications for licensing in each classification shall be determined by the board and established by rule, and shall include educational and experiential prerequisites. The rules shall require a demonstrated knowledge of procedures necessary to protect the health of the practitioner and the consumer of cosmetology services, including but not limited to chemical applications

§155A.27 Subd. 7., which states: Renewal of license shall be for a period of three years under conditions and process established by rule.

§155A.29 Subd. 2., which states: The conditions and process by which a salon is licensed shall be established by the board by rule.

§155A.29 Subd. 3., which states: Minimum infection control standards for the operation of a salon shall be established by rule.

§155A.29 Subd. 4., which states; Licenses shall be renewed every three years by a process established by rule.

§155A.30 Subd. 2., which states: The board shall by rule establish minimum standards of course content and length specific to the educational preparation prerequisite to testing and licensing as cosmetologist, esthetician, and manicurist.

§155A.30 Subd. 8., which states: Other financial guarantees which would assure protection of the public as determined by rule:

§155A.30 Subd. 6(c), which states: Application for renewal of license shall be made as provided in rules adopted by the board and on forms supplied by the board.

Copies of rule drafts. The rules drafts are available on the board's website at *www.bceboard.state.us.mn* and at the Board's offices. Links to the rules drafts are included in the email notification of licensees and parties on the Board's rulemaking email list. A free copy may be requested by emailing *bce.board@state.mn.us*; or by calling the agency contact person listed above. A copy of the proposed rules is published in the *State Register* on March 28, 2016.

Comments. You have until 4:30 p.m. on Wednesday, April 27, 2016 to submit written comment in support of or in opposition to the proposed rules or any part or subpart of the rules.

Your comment must be in writing and received by the agency contact person by the due date. Comment is encouraged. Your comments should identify the portion of the proposed rules addressed, the reason for the comment, and any change proposed. You are encouraged to propose any change that you desire. Any comments that you have about the legality of the proposed rules must also be made during this comment period.

Request for a Hearing. In addition to submitting comments, you may also request that the Board hold a hearing on the rules. You must make your request for a public hearing in writing, which the agency contact person must receive by 4:30 p.m. on Wednesday, April 27, 2016. You must include your name and address in your written request. In addition, you must identify the portion of the proposed rules that you object to or state that you oppose the entire set of rules. Any request that does not comply with these requirements is not valid and the agency cannot count it when determining whether it must hold a public hearing. You are also encouraged to state the reason for the request and any changes you want made to the proposed rules.

Withdrawal of Requests. If 25 or more persons submit a valid written request for a hearing, the Board will hold a public hearing unless a sufficient number of persons withdraw their requests in writing. If enough requests for hearing are withdrawn to reduce the number below 25, the agency must give written notice of this to all persons who requested a hearing, explain the actions the agency took to effect the withdrawal, and ask for written comments on this action. If a public hearing is required, the agency will follow the procedures in *Minnesota Statutes*, sections 14.131 to 14.20.

Alternative Format/Accommodation. Upon request, this information can be made available in an alternative format, such as large print, braille, or audio. To make such a request or if you need an accommodation to make this hearing accessible, please contact the agency contact person at the address or telephone number listed above.

Modifications. The Board might modify the proposed rules, either as a result of public comment or as a result of the rule hearing process. It must support modifications by data and views submitted to the agency or presented at the hearing. The adopted rules may not be substantially different than these proposed rules unless the Board follows the procedure under *Minnesota Rules*, part 1400.2110. If the proposed rules affect you in any way, the Board encourages you to participate in the rulemaking process.

Cancellation of Hearing. The Board will cancel the hearing scheduled for 9 am on Monday, June 6, 2016 and if necessary, continued at 9 am on Tuesday, June 7, 2016, if the agency does not receive requests for a hearing from 25 or more persons. If you requested a public hearing, the agency will notify you before the scheduled hearing whether the hearing will be held. You may also check the Board's website at www.bceboard@state.mn.us or call the agency contact person at 651-201-2751 after Wednesday, April 27, 2016 to find out whether the hearing will be held. On the scheduled day, you may check for whether the hearing will be held by going on-line at www.bceboard@state.mn.us

Notice of Hearing. If 25 or more persons submit valid written requests for a public hearing on the rules, the Board will hold a hearing following the procedures in *Minnesota Statutes*, sections 14.131 to 14.20. The Board will hold the hearing on the dates and at the time and place listed above. The hearing will continue until all interested persons have been heard. Administrative Law Judge James E. LaFave is assigned to conduct the hearing. Judge LaFave's Legal Assistant Denise Collins can be reached at the Office of Administrative Hearings, 600 North Robert Street, P.O. Box 64620, Saint Paul, Minnesota 55164-0620, telephone (651) 361-7900, and fax (651) 539-0310 or *denise.collins@state.mn.us*.

Hearing Procedure. If the Board holds a hearing, you and all interested or affected persons, including representatives of associations or other interested groups, will have an opportunity to participate. You may present your views either orally at the hearing or in writing at any time before the hearing record closes. All evidence presented should relate to the proposed rules. You may also submit written material to the Administrative Law Judge to be recorded in the hearing record for five working days after the public hearing ends. At the hearing the Administrative Law Judge may order that this five-day comment period is extended for a longer period but not more than 20 calendar days. Following the comment period, there is a five-working-day rebuttal period when the agency and any interested person may respond in writing to any new information submitted. No one may submit additional evidence during the five-day rebuttal period. The Office of Administrative Hearings must receive all comments and responses submitted to the Administrative Law Judge no later than 4:30 p.m. on the due date. All comments or responses received will be available for review at the Office of Administrative Hearings. This rule hearing procedure is governed by *Minnesota Rules*, parts 1400.2000 to 1400.2240, and *Minnesota Statutes*, sections 14.131 to 14.20. You may direct questions about the procedure to the Administrative Law Judge.

The agency requests that any person submitting written views or data to the Administrative Law Judge before the hearing or during the comment or rebuttal period also submit a copy of the written views or data to the agency contact person at the address stated above.

Statement of Need and Reasonableness. The statement of need and reasonableness summarizes the justification for the proposed rules, including a description of who will be affected by the proposed rules and an estimate of the probable cost of the proposed rules. It explains the Board's reasoning behind each of the proposed changes. It is now available on the Board's website at www.bceboard@state.mn.us_ at the Board's offices, and can be requested by emailing bce.board@state.mn.us or from the agency contact person. You may review or obtain copies for the cost of reproduction by contacting the agency contact person

Lobbyist Registration. *Minnesota Statutes*, chapter 10A, requires each lobbyist to register with the State Campaign Finance and Public Disclosure Board. Ask any questions about this requirement of the Campaign Finance and Public Disclosure Board at: Suite #190, Centennial Building, 658 Cedar Street, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155, telephone (651) 539-1180 or 1-800-657-3889.

Adoption Procedure if No Hearing. If no hearing is required, the agency may adopt the rules after the end of the comment

period. The Board will submit the rules and supporting

documents to the Office of Administrative Hearings for a legal review. You may ask to be notified of the date the rules are submitted to the office. If you want either to receive notice of this, to receive a copy of the adopted rules, or to register with the agency to receive notice of future rule proceedings, submit your request to the agency contact person listed above.

Adoption Procedure after a Hearing. If a hearing is held, after the close of the hearing record, the Administrative Law Judge will issue a report on the proposed rules. You may ask to be notified of the date that the Administrative Law Judge's report will become available, and can make this request at the hearing or in writing to the Administrative Law Judge. You may also ask to be notified of the date that the agency adopts the rules and the rules are filed with the Secretary of State by requesting this at the hearing or by writing to the agency contact person stated above.

Order. I order that the rulemaking hearing be held at the date, time, and location listed above.

Signed by Executive Director, Gina Stauss, on March 1, 2016

Board of Cosmetologist Examiners

Proposed Permanent Rules Regulating Cosmetologists, Estheticians, Nail Technicians, Salons, and Cosmetology Schools

2105.0010 **DEFINITIONS.**

[For text of subp 1, see M.R.]

Subp. 2. Advertising. "Advertising" means any written or graphic representation designed to elicit enrollment or the sale of goods or services and includes signs, displays, circulars, business cards, brochures, and recruitment materials in print, on air, or

[For text of subp 3, see M.R.]

- Subp. 4. Clean. "Clean" means free from all soil and, dirt, and debris, and washed with soap or detergent and hot water, or a cleaning agent, and rinsed.
- Subp. 4a. Disinfect. "Disinfect" means the use of an antimicrobial pesticide that eliminates harmful bacteria, fungi, and viruses on nonporous surfaces.
- Subp. 4b. **Disinfectant.** "Disinfectant" means an antimicrobial pesticide that is registered with the Environmental Protection Agency for use in a hospital setting and is a bactericide, virucide, and fungicide.

```
Subp. 5. [See repealer.]
[For text of subp 6, see M.R.]
```

Subp. 7. **Dispensary.** "Dispensary" means a physical location or area in a salon that is primarily or school where eosmetologysupplies, products, or chemicals, and disinfectants are prepared, measured, mixed, portioned, or disposed of, and where tools and implements are cleaned and disinfected.

```
Subp. 8. [See repealer.]
Subp. 9. [See repealer.]
[For text of subps 10 to 10c, see M.R.]
```

- Subp. 10d. **Hazardous.** "Hazardous" means a hazardous substance or harmful physical agent as defined under part 5206.1500, subpart 6, or any substance defined as hazardous in Code of Federal Regulations, title 29, part 1910.1200.
- Subp. 10e. Homebound. "Homebound" means an individual lacks the physical or intellectual capacity for independent transportation and is unable to travel independently to a licensed salon.

- Subp. 11. **Licensed services.** "Licensed services" means those services defined as the practice of cosmetology under Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.23, subdivision 3_and includes the fitting of wigs and hair pieces on the head and the dressing of wigs and hair pieces while on the head services provided by cosmetologists, estheticians, and nail technicians. The definition of "cosmetology" in Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.23, subdivision 3, must be construed to not prohibit or regulate hair braiding, hair braiding services, and hair braiders, as defined in subparts 10a to 10c.
- Subp. 11a. Nonmedical chemical peel. "Nonmedical chemical peel" means a chemical exfoliation achieved by applying skin exfoliation acids, limited to alpha hydroxy acids of 30 percent or less, with a pH of not less than 3.0; and salicylic acid of 15 percent or less.
- Subp. 11b. Nonmedical microdermabrasion. "Nonmedical microdermabrasion" means a cosmetic procedure in which all or part of the stratum corneum is removed by light abrasion using mechanical or manual means.
- Subp. 11c. Nursing home. "Nursing home" means a facility that is licensed under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 144A, and does not include any attached or adjacent facilities that are not licensed as a nursing home under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 144A.
- Subp. 11d. Operator. "Operator" means a standard license for a cosmetologist, esthetician, or nail technician and not an advanced practice license or manager license.
- Subp. 11e. Physical location. "Physical location" means the contiguous space representing each salon that can be accessed by customers without exiting the salon.
 - Subp. 11f. Porous material. "Porous material" means a material that absorbs liquid or allows liquid to penetrate.
- Subp. <u>Ha_11g</u>. **Simple braiding devices.** "Simple braiding devices" include clips, combs, curlers, curling irons, hairpins, rollers, scissors, needles, and thread.
- Subp. 11h. Special event. "Special event" means an event held for any purpose other than the provision of licensed services, where a participant in the event may receive the limited cosmetology services described in part 2105.0410, subpart 2, at a location not in a licensed salon.
 - Subp. 12. [See repealer.]
- Subp. 12a. Suite-style salon. "Suite-style salon" means a business under part 2105.0397 specializing in leasing or renting individual rooms or suites to licensees, where the salon license may be carried by the business or where each suite has its own salon license.
- Subp. 13. **Unregulated service.** "Unregulated service" means those services not defined as the practice of cosmetology under Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.23, subdivision 3, and which are exempt from regulation by the board, and includes. <u>Unregulated services are ear piercing</u>; body wrapping, body art; body painting; henna tattoos and permanent tattoos; eyebrow embroidery; eyebrow microblading; permanent depilitation, tattooing, artificial tanning of the skin; personal hair removal; permanent makeup; tanning by UV radiation and spray tanning units; botox and other injectables; services incidental to performance in for theatrical, television, film, fashion, photography, or media productions or musical productions or media appearances; any personal mortuary services performed incidental to mortuary practice; massage services; body wraps when performed by a massage therapist; and hair braiding, hair braiding services, and hair braiders, as defined in subparts 10a to 10c; and threading as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.23, subdivision 13. Ordinances by local units of government that prohibit hair braiding, hair braiding services, or hair braiders, as defined in subparts 10a to 10c, or regulate any matter relating to licensing, testing, or training of hair braiding, hair braiding services, or hair braiders are preempted by this part.
- Subp. 14. Work area. "Work area" means a space where cosmetology, esthetician, or nail services are provided. A separate work area is created when the service area is partitioned from other salon spaces or work areas by walls at least six feet high and doorways of less than five feet in width.

2105.0105 SCOPE.

Subpart 1. Cosmetology. The practice of cosmetology includes the services defined under Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.23, subdivision 3, and includes all esthetic services in subpart 2 and all nail services in subpart 3. Cosmetology practice includes:

- A. shampooing, conditioning, cutting, clipping, coloring, dressing, processing, shaping, straightening, bleaching, tinting, styling, blow-drying, or waving a person's hair, eyebrows, or eyelashes;
 - B. styling, cutting, and coloring wigs when on a person's head;
 - C. cleansing, massaging, and stimulating the scalp;
 - D. using a razor to remove hair from the head, face, and neck; and
 - E. other personal services for the cosmetic care of the hair, head, and scalp.
- Subp. 2. Esthetics. The practice of esthiology is the cosmetic treatment of the stratum corneum of the epidermal layer of the skin surface. Esthetic practice includes:
- A. cleansing, stimulating, exfoliating, or massaging a person's scalp, face, neck, arms, legs, or trunk by hand or by using a device, apparatus, or appliance, with or without the use of any cosmetic preparation, antiseptic, tonic, lotion, or cream;
- B. cosmetic care of a person's face, eyelashes, eyebrows, lips, nose, neck, arms, legs, or trunk using a cosmetic preparation, antiseptic, tonic, lotion, powder, oil, gels, paraffin, clay, cream, makeup, or appliance;
 - C. removing hair from a person's body using depilatories, waxes, preparations, sugaring, or tweezing;
- <u>D.</u> application of makeup or airbrush makeup, extractions, nonmedical microdermabrasion, nonmedical chemical peels, eyelash and eyebrow tinting, eyebrow shaping and trimming, eyelash and eyebrow enhancements, waxing, sugaring, facials, and body wraps; and
 - E. other personal services for the cosmetic care of the skin.
- Subp. 3. Nail technician services. The practice of nail technology is the cosmetic care of the hands, feet, and nails. Nail technology includes:
 - A. cleansing, removing polish, cutting, trimming, polishing, tinting, coloring, or manicuring the fingernails or toenails;
 - B. attaching and removing acrylic, other artificial nails, or nail enhancements;
 - C. cleansing, massaging, and cosmetic care of the skin of the hands and feet including paraffin treatments;
 - D. callus removal by the use of callus removal products, sanding, buffing, or filing;
 - E. massaging the hands, feet, and lower arms and legs in conjunction with any practice described in items A to F; and
- F. other personal services for the cosmetic care of the hands, feet, and nails. Nail technician services do not include waxing, eyelash or eyebrow enhancements, or any other esthetician service.

2105.0110 ADVERTISING.

The following provisions govern all advertising relating to the education, licensing, or practice of cosmetology:

- A. It is a violation of this chapter to advertise in any manner that is misleading or inaccurate with respect to or offer any board-regulated services or policies offered by the licensee from an unlicensed salon or an unlicensed practitioner.
- B. No advertisement shall state or imply favorable consideration by the Board of Cosmetologist Examiners other than to state that the salon is licensed by the board.
- C. B. Any salon advertisement shall <u>must</u> list the licensed name of the <u>establishment and the type of license held salon as shown on the salon license</u>. Salons that reference staff names in any advertisement must list at least the first name of the licensee as shown on the individual's license.

- D. No salon advertisement stating licensure by the state of Minnesota shall include reference to any unregulated services.
- C. An individual practitioner advertising the practitioner's licensed services must list the full name as shown on the individual's license.
- D. A practitioner leasing space in a licensed salon or leasing a suite in a licensed suite-style salon may advertise under a business name. Each time the business name appears, it must be immediately followed by "at (insert legible name of salon as it appears on the salon license)."

2105.0115 INSPECTIONS.

- Subpart 1. **Protocol.** Each salon and each permit holder under part 2105.0410 is subject to inspection at any time the board deems it necessary to affirm compliance.
- A. All licensees, including salons open by appointment only and salons with irregular hours, must allow a board inspector, in the exercise of official duties, to inspect the salon on the inspector's arrival at the salon.
- B. A salon owner and designated licensed salon manager (DLSM) must cooperate if asked by board inspectors to arrange inspection appointments.
- C. A salon owner and DLSM must have access to all salon space, including leased space within the salon, and must provide access to all salon spaces to a board inspector.
- D. All salon staff, including the owner, DLSM, other licensees, and unlicensed support staff, must cooperate with the inspection.
 - E. Board inspectors must carry board-issued photo identification and produce it upon request.

Subp. 2. Violations and orders to comply.

- A. The board must notify salons and permit holders under part 2105.0410 with a written inspection report when any violation is found during a board inspection. The salon licensee and DLSM, or the permit holder under part 2105.0410, must take immediate action to address each violation and, within ten business days, bring the salon and all licensees practicing under the salon license, or the permit holder, into compliance with this chapter, chapter 2140, and Minnesota Statutes, chapter 155A.
- B. If an order to comply is issued by the board inspector, the salon and DLSM, or the permit holder under part 2105.0410, must report to the board via mail or e-mail, within ten business days of the order's issuance, using a form provided by the board. The report must:
 - (1) explain how each violation was corrected and the date of correction; and
- (2) for each violation that was not immediately corrected or not corrected within ten days, provide a written explanation of the reason for the delay, the specific steps the licensee will take to correct the violation, and the projected date the outstanding violation will be corrected. The board must grant an extension if requested in writing when the health and safety of the public is not at immediate risk, and when the delay is warranted based on the information provided by the salon or permit holder.
- Subp. 3. **Posting inspection results.** The board must provide each salon with the inspection results and a detailed inspection report on the inspection findings. Within ten business days of the issuance date on the results and report, the salon must conspicuously post the inspection results in the entryway or at the reception desk of the salon, and place the detailed inspection report in the reception area so that the public may review the results. The inspection results must remain posted and the detailed inspection report must remain available in the reception area or entryway until replaced by new inspection results and a new detailed inspection report. Permit holders under part 2105.0410 are not subject to the posting requirements in this subdivision.

Subp. 4. Inspection penalties and discipline.

A. Violations of this chapter, chapter 2110, and Minnesota Statutes, chapter 155A, cited on a board inspection, are subject to:

- (1) application of penalties prescribed in Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25; and
- (2) disciplinary action as identified in Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.33.
- B. Board staff must issue penalties prescribed in Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25, for violations in subitems (1) to (4) cited during a board inspection of a salon or permit holder except as provided for in subpart 5. Licensees must pay penalties in full before any license is renewed or issued.
 - (1) A salon is subject to penalty for violations cited during a salon inspection for:
 - (a) each expired practitioner's license;
 - (b) each expired salon license;
 - (c) each current license of a practitioner or salon not conspicuously displayed;
 - (d) esthetician or cosmetology services performed or offered in a nail salon;
 - (e) cosmetology or nail services performed or offered in an esthetician salon;
 - (f) reuse of or failure to dispose of single-use items immediately after use;
 - (g) the presence of prohibited callus shavers, graters, or rasps; and
 - (h) refusal or failure to cooperate with an inspection.
 - (2) A DLSM is subject to penalty for violations cited during inspection for:
 - (a) each expired practitioner's license, including the DLSM;
 - (b) each expired salon license;
 - (c) each current license of a practitioner or salon not conspicuously displayed;
 - (d) esthetician or cosmetology services performed or offered in a nail salon;
 - (e) cosmetology or nail services performed or offered in an esthetician salon;
 - (f) reuse of or failure to dispose of single-use items immediately after use;
 - (g) the presence of prohibited callus shavers, graters, or rasps; and
 - (h) the DLSM's refusal or failure to cooperate with an inspection.
 - (3) An individual practitioner is subject to penalty for violations cited during a salon inspection for:
 - (a) the practitioner's expired license;
 - (b) the practitioner's current license not conspicuously displayed, if a current license is held;
 - (c) esthetician or cosmetology services performed or offered in a nail salon;
 - (d) cosmetology or nail services performed or offered in an esthetician salon;
 - (e) reuse of or failure to dispose of single-use items immediately after use;
 - (f) the presence of prohibited callus shavers, graters, or rasps; and

- (g) the practitioner's refusal or failure to cooperate with an inspection.
- (4) A permit holder under part 2105.0410 is subject to violations cited during a permit inspection for:
 - (a) the practitioner's expired license;
 - (b) the practitioner's refusal or failure to cooperate with an inspection; and
 - (c) reuse of or failure to dispose of single-use items immediately after use.
- Subp. 5. Application of inspection penalties. The maximum total penalties for all violations cited per license per inspection must not exceed:
 - A. \$3,000 for each salon license;
 - B. \$2,000 for the DLSM per salon license; and
 - C. \$1,000 for each individual practitioner per license or permit.

2105.0145 APPLICANTS FOR INDIVIDUAL LICENSES.

- Subpart 1. Cosmetologists, nail technicians, and estheticians. Applicants for a cosmetologist, nail technician, or esthetician license who have not been licensed in other states must provide the items required in items A to E:
 - A. a completed application form;
- B. a high school diploma, a high school transcript showing graduation, a general educational development certificate, or a recognized equivalent of a high school diploma (RED) as identified in Code of Federal Regulations, title 34, section 600.2;
 - C. original passing test results no more than one year old of the following board-approved tests for the license sought:
 - (1) general theory test;
 - (2) practical test; and
 - (3) test on Minnesota laws and rules;
 - D. proof of completion of training as follows:
- (1) graduates of a Minnesota-licensed cosmetology school must submit the original course certificate with the notarized signatures of the school manager or owner documenting the successful completion of the curriculum and the required number of hours of training: 1,550 hours for a cosmetologist; 600 hours for an esthetician; and 350 hours for a nail technician, including any hours transferred from another school within the past three years. If the completed training is more than five years old, a skills course certificate no more than one year old must also be submitted;
 - (2) a graduate of a training program licensed by another state that is:
- (a) equal to the curriculum and minimum hour requirements required of Minnesota-licensed cosmetology schools for a cosmetologist, esthetician, or nail technician program must submit an original notarized transcript or document from a licensed cosmetology school that establishes the completion of the curriculum and required number of hours of training: 1,550 hours for a cosmetologist; 600 hours for an esthetician; and 350 hours for a nail technician, including any hours transferred from another school within the past five years. If the completed training is more than five years old, a skills course certificate from a Minnesota-licensed cosmetology school no more than one year old must also be submitted; and
- (b) not equal to the curriculum and minimum hour requirements required of Minnesota-licensed cosmetology schools for a cosmetologist, esthetician, or nail technician program must obtain a course certificate by applying to a Minnesota-licensed cosmetology school as a transfer student under part 2110.0700 and must meet and complete the school's requirements. The applicant must then submit the original course certificate with the notarized signatures of the school manager or owner, document-

ing successful completion of the required curriculum and number of hours of training: 1,550 hours for a cosmetologist; 600 hours for an esthetician; and 350 hours for a nail technician. If the completed training is more than five years old, a skills course certificate from a Minnesota-licensed cosmetology school no more than one year old must also be submitted;

- (3) an applicant who partially completed a training program licensed by another state, or who completed an unlicensed training program in another state, must obtain a course certificate by applying to a Minnesota-licensed cosmetology school as a transfer student under part 2110.0700 and must meet and complete the school's requirements. The applicant must then submit the original course certificate with the notarized signatures of the school manager or owner, documenting successful completion of the required curriculum and number of hours of training: 1,550 hours for a cosmetologist; 600 hours for an esthetician; and 350 hours for a nail technician. If the completed training is more than five years old, a skills course certificate from a Minnesota-licensed cosmetology school no more than one year old must also be submitted; or
 - (4) applicants whose training occurred in other countries must apply under part 2105.0183, subpart 3; and
 - E. payment of the fees required by Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25.
 - Subp. 2. Salon managers. An applicant for a salon manager license must:
 - A. submit a completed application form;
 - B. hold a current Minnesota cosmetologist, esthetician, or nail technician license;
- C. document at least 2,700 work hours of licensed experience in a licensed salon within the three years prior to application;
 - D. submit original passing test results of the salon manager test no more than one year old; and
 - E. pay the fees required in Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25.
 - Subp. 3. **School managers.** An applicant for a school manager license must:
 - A. submit a completed application form;
 - B. hold a current Minnesota cosmetology salon manager license;
- C. submit original passing results no more than one year old of the school manager test covering Minnesota laws and rules related to schools; and
 - D. pay the fees identified in Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25.
 - Subp. 4. **Instructors.** An applicant for an instructor license must:
 - A. submit a completed application form;
 - B. hold a current Minnesota cosmetologist, nail technician, or esthetician license as an operator or manager;
- C. document at least 2,700 hours of licensed practice as a cosmetologist, nail technician, or esthetician within the three years prior to application;
- D. submit the original course certificate of a board-approved instructor course on teaching methodology not more than one year old;
- E. submit original passing instructor test results not more than one year old for the instructor general theory, practical, and laws and rules tests; and
 - F. pay the fees required in Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25.

2105.0183 TRANSFER OF LICENSES FROM OTHER STATES OR COUNTRIES.

Subpart 1. Applicants with required training who are licensed in another state. Applicants for a cosmetologist, nail technician, or esthetician operator license who have completed the required number of hours of training: 1,550 hours for a cosmetologist; 600 hours for an esthetician; and 350 hours for a nail technician, and are licensed in another state must provide the following:

- A. a completed application form;
- B. certification of licensure no more than 90 days old sent to the board directly from each state where the applicant has been licensed. A license certification must verify the current status and history of licensure, discipline history, hours of training, and whether or not the licensee has passed a general theory and practical test. If a state does not issue certification of licensure, the applicant must submit a copy of the most recent license and a completed supplemental verification form;
- <u>C.</u> if the out-of-state license is not current and active, an original board-approved skills course certificate no more than one year old;
- <u>D.</u> a high school diploma or transcript showing graduation, a general education development (GED) certificate, or a recognized equivalent of a high school diploma (RED) as identified in Code of Federal Regulations, title 34, section 600.2;
- E. original passing test results no more than one year old of a board-approved general theory test. If a certification of licensure from a state in which the applicant has been licensed attests that the applicant has passed such a test, this requirement is met and the general theory does not have to be retaken;
- F. original passing test results no more than one year old of a board-approved practical test. If a certification of licensure from a state in which the applicant has been licensed attests that the applicant has passed such a test, this requirement is met and the practical test does not have to be retaken;
 - G. original passing test results of the Minnesota state laws and rules test no more than one year old; and
 - H. payment of the fees required by Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25.
- Subp. 2. Applicants with less than the required training who are licensed in another state. Applicants for a cosmetologist, nail technician, or esthetician operator license who have not completed the required number of hours of training: 1,550 hours for a cosmetologist; 600 hours for an esthetician; and 350 hours for a nail technician, and who are licensed in another state must provide the following:
 - A. a completed application form;
- B. evidence of a current active license for at least three years in another state, or an original course certificate from a Minnesota-licensed cosmetology school no more than one year old with notarized signatures of the school manager or owner documenting the completion as a transfer student under part 2110.0705 of additional training hours and the practical skills test;
- C. certification of licensure no more than 90 days old sent directly to the board from each state where the applicant has been licensed. The license certification must verify the current status and history of licensure, discipline history, hours of training, and whether or not the licensee has passed a general theory and practical test. If a state does not issue license certifications, the applicant must submit a copy of the most recent license and a completed supplemental verification form;
- D. if the out-of-state license is not current and active, the applicant must provide an original board-approved skills course certificate no more than one year old;
- E. a high school diploma or transcript showing graduation, general education development (GED) certificate, or a recognized equivalent of a high school diploma (RED) as identified in Code of Federal Regulations, title 34, section 600.2;
- F. original passing test results no more than one year old of a board-approved general theory test. If a certification of licensure from a state in which the applicant has been licensed attests that the applicant has passed such a test, this requirement is met and the general theory does not have to be retaken;

- G. original passing test results no more than one year old of a board-approved practical test. If a certification of licensure from a state in which the applicant has been licensed attests that the applicant has passed such a test, this requirement is met and the practical test does not have to be retaken;
 - H. original passing test results no more than one year old of the Minnesota state laws and rules test; and
 - I. payment of the fees required by Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25.
- Subp. 3. Applicants with training and experience in another country who have not been licensed in another state.

 Applicants for a cosmetologist, nail technician, or esthetician operator license whose training was outside the United States and have not been licensed by another state must:
- A. apply to a board-licensed school as a transfer student for an evaluation of training, school records, and work experience under part 2110.0705, rectify any deficiencies noted in the evaluation results, and provide the original course completion certificate; and
 - B. complete an application and submit the following items:
- (1) a high school diploma or transcript showing graduation, general education development (GED) certificate, or a recognized equivalent of a high school diploma (RED) as identified in Code of Federal Regulations, title 34, section 600.2;
 - (2) <u>original passing test results of a board-approved general theory test no more than one year old;</u>
 - (3) original passing test results of a board-approved practical test no more than one year old;
 - (4) original passing test results of the Minnesota state laws and rules test no more than one year old; and
 - (5) payment of the fees required by Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25.
- Subp. 4. Applicants with an instructor license from another state. Applicants who hold a current instructor license issued from another state may apply for an instructor license. Applicants must provide the following:
 - A. a completed application form;
 - B. a current Minnesota cosmetologist, esthetician, nail technician, or salon manager license;
- C. documentation of at least 2,700 hours of licensed practice as a cosmetologist, esthetician, nail technician, or instructor within the three years prior to the application;
- D. certification of licensure no more than 90 days old sent to the board directly from each state where the applicant has held an instructor license. An instructor license certification must verify the current status and history of license, discipline history, hours of training, and whether or not the instructor has passed an instructor general theory test and an instructor practical test. If a state does not issue certification of licensure, the applicant must submit a copy of the most recent license and a completed supplemental verification form;
- E. an original course certificate of a board-approved instructor course not more than one year old. If a certification of licensure from a state where the applicant holds a current instructor license attests that the applicant successfully completed comparable instructor training, this requirement is met and the instructor course does not have to be retaken;
- <u>F.</u> original passing test results no more than one year old of a board-approved instructor general theory test. If a certification of licensure from a state where the applicant holds a current instructor license attests that the applicant passed a comparable instructor theory test, this requirement is met and the instructor theory test does not have to be retaken;
- G. original passing test results no more than one year old of a board-approved instructor practical test. If a certification of licensure from a state where the applicant holds a current instructor license attests that the applicant has passed such a test, this requirement is met and the instructor practical test does not have to be retaken;
 - H. original passing test results of the Minnesota instructor laws and rules test no more than one year old; and

- I. payment of the fees required by Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25.
- Subp. 5. Foreign language documents. All foreign language documents must be translated into English and evaluated by a board-approved credentialing agency at the applicant's expense.

2105.0184 MILITARY TEMPORARY LICENSE.

- Subpart 1. Application and issuance. In compliance with Minnesota Statutes, section 197.4552, the board shall issue military temporary (MT) licenses for cosmetologists, estheticians, nail technicians, salon managers, instructors, and school managers valid for a 12-month license cycle. An applicant for an MT license must submit:
 - A. a completed application for an MT license;
 - B. credentials establishing the applicant's identity as:
 - (1) an active duty military member;
 - (2) the spouse of an active duty military member; or
 - (3) a veteran with an honorable or general discharge who left service in the two years preceding the application date;
- C. a copy of a current valid license without a history of discipline for a cosmetologist, esthetician, nail technician, salon manager, school manager, or instructor from another state; and
 - D. payment of the fees required by Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25.
- Subp. 2. Ineligible for renewal. MT licenses are not eligible for renewal. Individuals issued an MT license must apply for a full practitioner's license under this chapter. If the individual has not been issued a regular license before the MT license expires, the individual must cease practicing until a license is issued.

2105.0186 CONTINUING EDUCATION (CE) PROVIDERS.

Subpart 1. Providers of core CE courses for practitioners.

- A. A core CE course required by Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.271, subdivision 1, consists of a four-hour course, including one hour on state cosmetology laws and rules, and three hours on health, safety, and infection control.
- B. A core CE course requires board approval, and must be offered only by a board-licensed cosmetology school, postsecondary school licensed by the Office of Higher Education under Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.103, paragraph (a), or a professional association recognized by the board under item C.
- C. A professional association must apply for board recognition to offer core CE courses in writing on forms supplied by the board. Board recognition is valid for a maximum of one calendar year and expires on December 31 of the year authorization was granted.
- D. A cosmetology school, a postsecondary school, or a board-authorized professional association must apply for approval of the core CE curriculum on a form supplied by the board, and submit the lesson plan and learning objectives, qualifications of the presenters and course developers, and payment of the fees required by Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25, if the provider approval fee has not been paid in the current calendar year.
- E. Board approval of a core CE course under this subpart is valid for a maximum of one calendar year and expires on December 31 of the year approval was granted.
 - F. The board shall maintain a list of approved core CE courses on the board's Web site.
 - Subp. 2. Providers of professional practice CE courses for practitioners.

- A. A professional practice CE course as required by Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.271, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), must consist of a four-hour course based on any or all of the following:
 - (1) product chemistry and chemistry interaction;
 - (2) proper use of machines and instruments;
 - (3) business management and human relations; or
 - (4) techniques relevant to the type of license held.
- B. A professional practice CE course requires board approval and may be offered only by licensed salons, licensed cosmetology schools, and board-recognized professional associations.
- (1) A salon must offer the professional practice CEs as approved in-person classes. A salon must apply for approval of the professional practice curriculum in writing on forms supplied by the board, and must submit the lesson plan and course objectives; qualifications of the presenters and course developers; and payment of the fees required by Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25, if the salon has not paid the provider approval fee in the current calendar year.
- (2) A cosmetology school and a board-recognized professional association may offer the professional practice CEs in person, online, or by independent study, and must apply for approval of the professional practice curriculum in writing on forms supplied by the board and submit the lesson plan and course objectives, qualifications of the presenters and course developers, and payment of the fees required by Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25, if the provider approval fee has not been paid in the current calendar year.
- (3) A professional association must apply for board recognition in writing on forms supplied by the board. Board recognition is valid for one calendar year and expires on December 31 of the year recognition was granted.
- C. Board approval of a professional practice CE course is valid for a maximum of one calendar year and expires on December 31 of the year approval was granted.
 - D. The board shall maintain a list of approved professional practice CE courses on the board's Web site.
- Subp. 3. Providers of instructor CE courses. Instructor license renewal requires 30 CE hours of board-approved courses on teaching methodology and 15 CE hours on clinical practice in the instructor's licensed field.
- A. Cosmetology schools, postsecondary schools, professional associations, subject matter experts, or salons may offer instructor CEs in person or as online classes.
- B. A course provider under item A must apply for course approval for each CE course on a form supplied by the board, and submit the lesson plan or syllabus, course objectives, qualifications of the presenters and course developers, and payment of the fees required by Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25, if the provider has not paid the provider approval fee in the current calendar year.
- C. Board approval of an instructor CE course is valid for one calendar year and expires on December 31 of the year approval was granted.
 - D. The board shall maintain a list of approved instructor CE courses on the board's Web site.
- E. Courses on teaching methodology or clinical practice provided by a Minnesota State Colleges and Universities (MnS-CU) community college, state university, or technical college, or any postsecondary school licensed by the Office of Higher Education, are not subject to preapproval by the board. This provision does not apply to board-licensed cosmetology schools. All board-licensed cosmetology schools are subject to the provisions of items A to C.
- Subp. 4. Providers of school manager CE courses. A school manager license renewal requires four hours of CE courses or seminars on business practices or school management. Providers of school manager CE courses are not subject to board approval or the requirements of subpart 6. No approval fee is required.

- Subp. 5. **CE course hours.** For the purposes of this part, a CE credit hour must consist of 55 minutes of continuous instructional activity, excluding breaks, registration, meals, and other noneducational activity. The number of credit hours assigned to an online course must be computed by the course developer based on the average time to complete the course. The board must accept or approve CE courses in full-hour increments.
- Subp. 6. Records requirements for CE course providers. A course provider must retain records of each attendee, including the attendee's full name and license number, the date of the course, the course title or course number, and the instructor's name for five years. Course providers must respond within 15 business days of the board's request for verification of whether an individual attended and completed a CE course. This subpart does not apply to CE courses offered by MnSCU, the University of Minnesota, or any postsecondary school licensed by the Office of Higher Education and not licensed by the board.
- Subp. 7. Audit provisions for CE courses and providers. The board is authorized to audit a CE course at any time. A course provider must allow board staff to attend a CE course at any time and without cost for the purposes of auditing the course. Board approval of a CE course and board authorization of a provider is subject to revocation if a provider is not in compliance with this part or Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.271, or if the board determines a CE class offered by the provider does not reflect current professional standards or practices, or if the board finds just cause. The disciplinary provisions of Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.33, apply. This subpart does not apply to CE courses offered by MnSCU, the University of Minnesota, or any postsecondary school licensed by the Office of Higher Education and not licensed by the board.

2105.0187 SKILLS COURSES.

- A. A cosmetologist skills course, esthetician skills course, or nail technician skills course must be offered in person, taught by an instructor licensed in the course subject, and:
 - (1) if offered by a licensed cosmetology school, does not require board approval; or
 - (2) if offered by a provider who is not a licensed cosmetology school, requires approval under item D.
- B. Each skills course must begin with an initial board-approved skills test. The provider must use board-approved scoring of the skills test and a board skills test form.
- (1) Attendees who pass the skills test have completed the skills course. The provider must issue a signed and dated skills course certificate to the attendee.
- (2) Attendees who do not pass the initial skills test must complete the provider's skills course curriculum for each skill test area not passed. The attendee has completed the skills course when the attendee passes the skills test.
- C. Cosmetologists must attend a cosmetologist skills course taught by a cosmetology instructor. Estheticians must attend an esthetician skills course taught by an esthetician or cosmetologist instructor. Nail technicians must attend a skills course taught by a cosmetologist or nail technician instructor.
- <u>D.</u> A skills course not offered by a licensed cosmetology school requires board approval and must be taught by board-licensed instructors. A provider must apply for skills course approval, and for each type of license, the provider must:
 - (1) provide the skills course curriculum for each skills practical test exercise;
 - (2) provide copies of any course study materials, handouts, and instructions to participants;
- (3) list the name, license type, license expiration date, and license number of each instructor, and the date the instructor completed the required training on administering the skills test; and
- (4) identify the proposed skills course location and demonstrate the availability of the equipment available at that location for the course and for each skills practical test exercise.
- E. Course approval for the skills course must be renewed. Skills course approval for board-licensed cosmetology schools is valid for the remainder of the current license cycle. Skills course approval for all other providers is valid for a maximum of one calendar year and expires on December 31 of the year approval was granted.

- F. A provider of skills courses must provide attendees with a skills course certificate showing successful completion of the skills test, and must retain records of attendees for five years.
- G. The board is authorized to audit a skills course and skills test at any time, and board staff or a representative may take a skills class at any time at no cost for the purposes of auditing the course. Board approval of a skills course is subject to revocation if the board determines a skills course or skills test does not reflect current professional standards or practices, or if the board finds just cause. The disciplinary provisions of Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.33, apply.

2105.0190 MAINTAINING INDIVIDUAL LICENSES.

- Subpart 1. **Compliance with applicable law.** The licensee shall is responsible for verifying that the salon or school in which the licensee is practicing has a current license, and the licensee must continuously comply with all applicable provisions of Minnesota Statutes and rules.
- Subp. 2. Change of name or address. The licensee shall advise the board of a change of name or address in writing, including both new and old name and address, within 30 days of the change, and pay the duplicate license fee. Within 30 days of any legal name change, licensees must provide legal documentation of the name change and pay any fee required by Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25. The license in the former name is invalid on the 31st day of the new legal name.
- Subp. 2a. Address change. The licensee must maintain a current mail address on file with the board, and must update the address within 30 days of any address change. Licensees may also provide an e-mail address to receive general e-mail notifications from the board.
 - Subp. 3. **Renewal.** The licensee shall must renew the license as required by part 2105.0200 prior to its expiration date.
- Subp. 4. **Display of license.** The licensee shall practitioner must conspicuously post the a current license as required by part 2105.0380, item BB at each salon where the practitioner practices. The conditions in items A to D must be met at all times.
- A. Either the license or the full name of the licensee as shown on the license must be posted at each workstation in the salon used by the licensee. Name tags worn by the licensee or business cards prominently displayed at a workstation meet this requirement if the full name shown on the license is used.
- B. Whenever the license is not posted at the workstation, the practitioner must post a license at the reception area of the salon.
- C. Copies of licenses do not meet the requirements of license posting. Licensees must obtain duplicate licenses from the board in order to post licenses at multiple workstations or multiple salons. After a license is issued by the board, a printout of the online license status from the board Web site showing a current license may be used to meet the posting requirements for a maximum of 30 days beginning on the license issuance date.
 - D. Names or licenses posted must provide the public with a full, unobstructed view of the license or name.
 - Subp. 5. [See repealer.]

2105.0200 LICENSE RENEWAL FOR INDIVIDUALS.

- Subpart 1. **Application <u>for renewal of license</u>**. All licenses expire on the last day of the individual's birth month of the year due and each licensee is responsible for <u>renewing applying to renew</u> the <u>licensee's license without notice from the board</u>. An individual who does not renew the licensee's license by the last day of the birth month of the year in which it is due is considered unlicensed as of the first day of the following month. Failure to receive a notice of renewal from the board does not constitute a valid excuse for not renewing the license. If more than one year has passed since the expiration date of the license, the license is not eligible for renewal under this section, and the requirements of part 2105.0215 apply.
 - A. The board must return incomplete renewal applications to the applicant with notice of the items that are incomplete.
- B. The applicant must pay late fees required by Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25, if a license renewal application or a resubmitted application is received after the expiration date of the license.

- C. A licensee whose renewed license has not been issued by the board by the end of the business day on the licensee's expiration date is not authorized to practice after the expiration date until a license is issued, and any unlicensed practice after the expiration date is subject to the inspection penalties in part 2105.0115 and disciplinary provisions as described in Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.33.
- Subp. 2. <u>Practical and educational Continuing education (CE)</u> requirements <u>for practitioners</u>. The licensee <u>shall establish</u> that the licensee's <u>knowledge and skills are up to date</u>, <u>by meeting must complete</u> the following <u>CE</u> requirements <u>no later than the expiration of the licensee's current</u> before applying to renew a license:
 - A. A cosmetologist, nail technician, esthetician, or salon manager shall provide documentation of:
- (1) having practiced in a licensed salon for at least 1,800 hours at any time within the three years prior to the license expiration, or 400 hours acquired through approximately regular weekly experience within each of the last three years, or successfully completed an approved refresher course, of at least 40 hours, within the three years prior to the license expiration or reactivation; and
- (2) four credit hours of continuing education credits from a board-licensed cosmetology school, a Minnesota-licensed postsecondary school, or a board-recognized professional association of cosmetology, including one credit pertaining to state cosmetology laws and rules, and three credit hours related to health, safety, and infection control matters. The four credit hours must be completed within the three years prior to the license expiration and are valid for only one license renewal period. Licensees must retain proof of the continuing education credits for one year after the license renewal. Continuing education credits are required of licensees renewing a license on or after August 1, 2014. An individual holding more than one operator or salon manager license may use the same four credit hours to renew both licenses if the credit hours were completed within the three years prior to the license renewal.
- B. An instructor shall provide evidence of having successfully completed 45 hours of continuing education approved by the board, within three years before the license expiration or reactivation, including at least 15 hours of teaching-related material and 15 hours related to analysis and use of professional clinical products. To renew the instructor's license, the instructor must have an active operator or salon manager license in the area in which the instructor holds an instructor's license. No later than June 30, 2014, the board must grant an active operator license to instructors who had an expired operator license on August 1, 2013, and grant an active salon manager license to instructors who had an expired salon manager license on August 1, 2013.
- C. a school manager must maintain an active salon manager's license, and provide documentation of having practiced in a licensed school as a school manager for at least 1,800 hours at any time within the three years prior to the license expiration, or 400 hours acquired through approximately regular weekly experience within each of the last three years, or successfully completed an approved refresher course, of at least 40 hours, within the three years prior to the license expiration or reactivation. No later than June 30, 2014, the board must grant an active salon manager license to school managers who did not hold an active salon manager license on August 1, 2013.
- A. A cosmetologist, nail technician, esthetician, or salon manager renewing a license before August 1, 2017, must complete a total of four hours of core CE credits consisting of one hour of state cosmetology laws and rules, and three hours of health, safety, and infection control matters from board-approved providers within the three years prior to the date of the license renewal. Licensees must maintain proof of completion of the CE credits as required in subpart 5.
- B. A cosmetologist, nail technician, esthetician, advanced practice esthetician, or salon manager renewing a license on or after August 1, 2017, must complete a total of eight hours of CE credits from board-approved providers within the three years prior to the date of the license renewal. Licensees must maintain proof of completion of the CE credits as required in subpart 5. The eight hours must consist of:
- (1) four hours of core CEs, consisting of one hour pertaining to state cosmetology laws and rules, and three hours related to health, safety, and infection control matters; and
 - (2) four hours of professional practice CEs, consisting of one or more of the following topics:
 - (a) product chemistry and chemistry interaction;
 - (b) proper use of machines and instruments;

- (c) business management and human relations; and
- (d) techniques relevant to the type of license held by the practitioner.
- C. The CE credits are valid for only one license renewal period, but may be applied to multiple licenses held by the same practitioner if the CEs were completed within three years prior to the license renewal date.

Subp. 2a. CE and other renewal requirements for instructors.

- A. An instructor must complete 45 hours of board-approved CEs within three years before the license renewal, including at least 30 hours in teaching methodology, and 15 hours on clinical practice in the field of licensure. Licensees must retain proof of the CE credits as required in subpart 5. Prior to August 1, 2017, to renew a license, an instructor must complete any combination of teaching methodology and clinical practice CEs totaling 45 CE hours.
- B. In addition to any board-approved instructor CE course, an instructor may use qualifying credits from completed classes on teaching methods or clinical practice from the MnSCU system schools, the University of Minnesota, or other postsecondary schools licensed by the Office of Higher Education but not licensed by the board. Preapproval of such courses is not required. The instructor must retain an official transcript and the class syllabus or catalog course description, which must establish the class hours and establish that the content of the course is based on teaching methodology or clinical practice. Postsecondary courses are equivalent to 16 CE hours per credit and lab courses are equivalent to 32 CE hours per credit. CEUs earned are accepted as one CE hour per CEU credit.
- C. Instructors teaching approved instructor CE courses may apply CE hours from the courses to the instructor's license renewal if the CE hours are claimed only once per course, and are not used again on future renewals.
- <u>D.</u> Instructors teaching approved core and professional practice CEs may apply the CE hours from the courses on the instructor's operator or salon manager license renewal if the CE hours are claimed only once per course, and are not used again on future renewals.
- E. The instructor may apply a maximum of 15 CE hours from instructor CE classes taught by the instructor each renewal period.
 - F. Instructor CEs are valid for only one license renewal.
- G. To renew an instructor's license, the instructor must hold an active operator or salon manager license in the area in which the instructor holds an instructor's license.
- H. When a course has been approved by the board as both a professional practice CE course and as an instructor clinical practice CE course, licensees may apply the CEs earned from the course to the renewal of both the instructor license and the practitioner license.

Subp. 2b. CE and other renewal requirements for school managers.

- A. A school manager renewing a license on or after August 1, 2017, must complete a CE class or seminar in business practices of at least four hours, no more than three years prior to the renewal application, and retain proof of completion as required in subpart 5.
 - B. To renew the school manager's license, a school manager must hold an active cosmetology salon manager's license.
 - C. School manager CEs are valid for only one license renewal.
- D. A school manager may apply four CEs from an approved professional practice CE course on business management to the renewal of both the underlying salon manager license and the school manager license.
- Subp. 3. Fee. The licensee shall <u>must</u> pay the fees as required by Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25, before the expiration of the current license.

Subp. 4. [See repealer.]

Subp. 5. Audit of renewal.

- A. Fraudulent reporting of qualifications or CE credits is subject to penalties and discipline, including revocation of the license, as provided in Minnesota Statutes, sections 155A.271 and 155A.33.
- B. A licensee must maintain proof of CE credits for four years after the date of the class. If the renewal is audited by the board, the licensee must provide proof of requested items within 30 days of the board's request.
- C. If the renewal is audited by the board, the licensee must provide proof of requested items within 30 days of the board's request. When a licensee fails to respond or does not provide proof as requested in an audit, and the board cannot verify the licensee's CEs through the provider identified by the licensee, the board must rescind the renewal that was based on the unverified credits. The licensee is subject to discipline as identified in item A, and the licensee may not practice until a new license is issued. To renew the license, in addition to any disciplinary requirements and penalties, the licensee must complete and provide verification from the CE providers that the licensee completed the CE requirements.

2105.0205 RETIRED LICENSE.

A licensee with a current or expired Minnesota practitioner license who has ceased all practice of cosmetology may apply for a retired license that does not allow any practice of cosmetology as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.23, subdivision 3. The board must void any current license when a retired license is issued for the remainder of the license cycle. If the practitioner's license is expired, the applicant must pay the renewal and late fees required by Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25.

- A. Retired licenses expire on the three-year license cycle and may be renewed by paying the fees required by Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25.
- B. A person with a retired license who wishes to obtain a current practitioner license must apply to renew the original expired practitioner license under the terms of this chapter as if no retired license was issued.
 - C. The board must issue a retired license to all current inactive licensees no later than July 1, 2018.

2105.0215 PROCEDURE FOR RENEWING AN EXPIRED LICENSE.

- Subpart 1. Practitioner licenses expired less than three years. If an operator's, salon manager's, instructor's, or school manager's license has been expired less than one year, a license must be issued for the remainder of the license cycle. To renew the license, the individual must:
 - A. comply with the requirements of part 2105.0200 for the appropriate license; and
 - B. pay the renewal and late fees required by Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25.
- Subp. 2. Operator and salon manager licenses expired three years or more. If an operator's or salon manager's license has been expired three years or more, a license with a new license cycle shall be issued by the board when the expired licensee submits a renewal application and submit:
 - A. proof of completion of the CE requirement as described in part 2105.0200, subpart 2;
- B. original passing test results no more than one year old of the laws and rules test for an operator. Managers must submit original passing test results no more than one year old of the manager laws and rules test;
 - C. original passing test results no more than one year old of a board-approved practical exam; and
 - D. payment of the initial license fees required by Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25.
- Subp. 3. Instructor licenses expired three years or more. If an instructor's license has been expired three years or more, the board shall issue a license with a new license cycle when the expired licensee submits a renewal application and meets these

requirements:

- A. holds a current operator's or salon manager's license;
- B. submits original passing test results of a board-approved instructor general theory test, instructor practical test, and instructor laws and rules test no more than one year old; and
 - C. pays the instructor application fees required by Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25.
- Subp. 4. School manager licenses expired three years or more. If a school manager's license has been expired three years or more, a license with a new license cycle shall be issued by the board when the expired licensee submits a renewal application and:
 - A. holds a current cosmetology salon manager's license;
 - B. completes the CE requirements in part 2105.0200, subpart 2b, completed within three years of the renewal application;
 - C. submits original passing test results no more than one year old of the school manager test; and
 - D. pays the initial license fees required by Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25.

2105.0220 REINSTATEMENT AFTER REVOCATION OR SUSPENSION.

An applicant may apply for relicensure after revocation by meeting the following requirements:

- A. the applicant shall provide documentation of the correction or elimination of the grounds for the revocation; A licensee whose license was suspended or revoked by the board under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 155A, must reapply for licensure as follows:
 - (1) apply for relicensure on forms provided by the board;
- (2) meet the requirements for reinstatement identified in the order revoking or suspending the license, and meet any requirements for renewing a license under this chapter as if the license had not been revoked or suspended but had expired from the date of revocation or suspension; and
 - B: the applicant shall make application for relicensure, in writing and on forms provided by the board;

C.

- (3) the applicant shall pay paying the fees identified required of a new applicant in Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25;
 - D. the salon applicant shall meet the requirements for initial licensure;
- E. the individual applicant shall meet the requirements of part 2105.0140 and the requirements of part 2105.0200, subpart 2, or 2105.0210, subpart 3; and
 - F. at least two years have expired from the effective date of the revocation.
- B. Licensees whose license was suspended or revoked under a Minnesota Statute other than chapter 155A, for reasons of child support, tax liabilities, or other law must be cleared by the state or county agency that initiated the license action. The agency initiating the suspension or revocation must notify the board in writing of any action clearing the license. If the license cycle expired during the suspension or revocation, the licensee must meet the requirements for renewing a license under this chapter as if the license had not been revoked or suspended but had expired at the end of the license cycle.

2105.0230 TRANSFER OF LICENSE PROHIBITED.

Licenses shall are not be transferable to another person and shall must be used only by the named licensee.

2105.0305 DESIGNATED LICENSED SALON MANAGER.

- A. The salon owner must appoint a designated licensed salon manager (DLSM) and register the DLSM with the board using forms supplied by the board.
- B. A DLSM must acknowledge the responsibility of the position on forms provided by the board, and is responsible for salon and practitioner compliance as noted in part 2105.0390.
- C. A DLSM must not be responsible for more than one salon unless the salons are not open concurrently and the salons or DLSM attest in writing to the board of the business hours of both salons.
- D. A DLSM who is no longer serving as the DLSM must notify the board in writing via e-mail or mail, and is liable under Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.33, for the compliance of the salon and licensees in the absence of any written notice of the change to the board.
- E. The DLSM is not required to be present at all times during the salon's operation but remains responsible for compliance under this chapter and Minnesota Statutes, chapter 155A, even when away from the salon.

2105.0310 SALON LICENSURE APPLICATION.

- Subpart 1. **All salon licenses.** The requirements of parts 2105.0300, 2105.0310, 2105.0360, 2105.0370, and 2105.0400 shall 2105.0410 must be met by all applicants proposing to establish a salon. A salon license is required for each physical location. A licensed salon business may not share any physical space with another licensed salon business except for restrooms, and may not be located inside the perimeter of another licensed salon.
- Subp. 1a. Types of salon licenses. The services a salon may offer are determined by the type of salon license held. Cosmetology salons may offer cosmetology services, esthetic services, and nail services. Nail salons must offer only nail services. Esthetician salons must offer only esthetician services. A single salon may hold both a nail salon license and an esthetician salon license.
- Subp. 2. **Application.** The person, association, firm, or corporation proposing to establish An applicant for a cosmetology, esthetician, or nail salon shall <u>must</u> apply in writing to the board, on forms supplied by the board, giving the following information:
- A. the <u>salon name and the legal name</u> of the salon, <u>and</u> its <u>owners</u>; the <u>physical address</u>, <u>and</u>, if the <u>post office refuses to deliver mail to the salon</u>, an <u>alternate mailing address</u>; telephone number; and e-mail address;
- <u>B.</u> and the names, <u>postal</u> addresses, <u>e-mail addresses</u>, and telephone numbers of all owners of sole proprietorships or partnerships and controlling officers of corporations;
- <u>B.C.</u> notarized signatures of the owners of sole proprietorships or <u>notarized signatures of partners in general partnerships and limited liability partnerships, and the controlling officers of corporations or authorized signatory of corporations attesting to the truth and accuracy of the application for licensure;</u>
 - C. the days of the week and the hours which the salon will be open;
- D. evidence of the salon's compliance with local zoning requirements, local building codes and ordinances, and the rules of the Minnesota Department of Health and the state fire marshal if no local fire codes exist; and
- <u>D.</u> an active Certificate of Assumed Name from the secretary of state if the salon is doing business under a name different than the full legal name of the salon owner;
- E. an active Certificate of Organization from the secretary of state, except for sole proprietorships and general partnerships;
 - F. a Social Security number for a sole proprietor, and a state tax identification number for all other businesses;
- G. current Certificate of Insurance of professional liability insurance as required by Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.29, subdivision 2;

- H. current Certificate of Workers' Compensation Insurance, unless the salon is not required to provide insurance coverage under the Minnesota Workers' Compensation Act;
- I. a statement attesting to the salon's compliance with applicable building codes, the Minnesota State Fire Code, and applicable OSHA requirements;
- <u>E.J.</u> a <u>legible</u> floor plan of the salon, drawn to scale on 8-1/2 inches x 11 inches or 8-1/2 inches x 14 inches paper, providing the dimensions of the salon as a whole and designating the size and location of all entrances and exits, and indicating the location and dimensions of all required areas, facilities, and equipment required in part 2105.0360; and
 - K. the name, license number, and notarized signature of the DLSM accepting the responsibilities of the DLSM.

2105.0322 MAINTAINING SALON LICENSE.

- Subpart 1. **Scope.** The requirements in this part apply to all salon licensees.
- Subp. 2. Unlicensed persons. Salons must not employ or allow unlicensed persons to perform any board-regulated service in a salon, or allow an unlicensed person to provide regulated services without compensation.
 - Subp. 3. Compliance. The licensee must comply with all applicable provisions of Minnesota Statutes and Rules.
- Subp. 4. Maintain insurance. The salon must maintain any required workers' compensation insurance and professional liability coverage as required by Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.29, subpart 2, for the salon and salon employees. If the salon leases space to any licensee, or contracts for services with a licensee, the salon must ensure that the licensee is covered under the salon's professional liability insurance or that the licensee maintains current professional liability coverage meeting the salon requirements.
- Subp. 5. Salon premises. Cosmetology, esthetician, and nail services must not be provided in a place other than a licensed cosmetology salon, esthetician salon, nail salon, cosmetology school, or as otherwise provided by this chapter.
- Subp. 6. Change of location. A salon license must not be transferred when the salon moves to a new location. The salon must apply for a new salon license and has 60 days after a move to become licensed according to part 2105.0310. If a new license has not been issued by day 61, the salon must cease operations until a license is issued.
- Subp. 7. Change of name. This part applies only to salon name changes and does not apply to changes of ownership. The board must reissue the salon license in the new name under the same license cycle after the salon owner has met the requirements of this subpart. Within 60 days of the name change, the salon owner must:
 - A. submit a salon name change form to the board;
- B. provide legal documentation of the name change and any other documents the business is required to file with the secretary of state under state law because of the name change;
 - C. provide a certificate of insurance showing the salon's new name for professional liability insurance;
 - D. provide a certificate of insurance in the new salon name for workers' compensation insurance if applicable; and
 - E. pay the fees required in Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25.
- Subp. 8. Change of owner. A salon license must not be transferred when the salon is sold, or when a corporation owning a salon is sold. The salon must apply for a new salon license and has 60 days after change of ownership to become licensed according to part 2105.0310. If a new license has not been issued by day 61, the salon must cease operations until a license is issued.
- Subp. 9. Change of business structure. A salon license must not be transferred when the business structure of the owner is changed. The salon must apply for a new salon license and has 60 days after the change of business structure to become licensed

according to part 2105.0310. If a new license has not been issued by day 61, the salon must cease operations until a license is issued.

Subp. 10. Change of DLSM. The salon owner must inform the board in writing within ten business days of the departure or resignation of the DLSM. The salon has 60 days from the date of the change to register a new DLSM with the board.

2105.0330 SALON LICENSE RENEWAL.

- Subpart 1. **Requirements.** The requirements of subparts 2 to 4 shall 3 to 6 must be met by a salon licensee in order to renew a license.
- Subp. 2. Request for renewal Salon license expiration. All licenses expire on the last day of the month of initial licensure of the year due and each licensee is the salon owner and designated licensed salon manager (DLSM) are responsible for renewing the licensee's salon's license. A salon license that is not renewed by the last day of the month of initial licensure of the year due is considered unlicensed as of the first day of the following month. Not receiving a notice of renewal from the board does not constitute a valid excuse for not renewing the license.
- Subp. 3. Fee. The licensee shall salon must pay the fees identified required in Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25, before the expiration of the current license.
- Subp. 4. **Identity of owner.** The licensee shall state <u>salon must provide</u> the name, <u>current</u> address, and telephone number of the salon owner on the renewal application.
- Subp. 5. **DLSM.** The salon renewal application must identify the current DLSM by name, license number, and license expiration date.
- Subp. 6. Professional liability and workers' compensation insurance. The salon must verify that professional liability insurance and workers' compensation insurance policies as required under part 2105.0310 are current and active, including liability policies for practitioners leasing space in the salon.

Subp. 7. Failure to renew before salon license expiration date.

- A. The board must return incomplete renewal applications to the applicant with notice of the items that are incomplete. Late fees required by Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25, apply if the resubmitted application is received after the expiration date of the license.
- B. When a renewed salon license has not been issued by the expiration date, the salon is considered delinquent and is subject to inspection penalties in part 2105.0120 and disciplinary action in Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.33, and must cease operations and not resume operations until a salon license has been issued.
- C. If a completed renewal application is not received by the board within six months of the license expiration date, the salon is not eligible to renew the license. The salon must apply for a new salon license, meeting all current requirements for salon licensure under part 2105.0310. The salon may not operate until a new license has been issued.
- D. Late fees in Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25, apply when a complete renewal application is received after the license expiration date.

2105.0360 SALON PHYSICAL REQUIREMENTS.

Subpart 1. **Display of salon name.** Salons located in commercial spaces must prominently display the licensed name of the salon at the primary entrance. Salons located in a private residence must prominently display the licensed name of the salon at the driveway entrance of the home. When local ordinances or real covenants prohibit the signage, the salon must maintain written confirmation at the salon no more than three years old from the official responsible for enforcing the prohibition in an ordinance or documentation of the covenant prohibiting the signage.

Subpart 1. Subp. 1a. Space. Space:

- A. There shall be at least 120 square feet of work space exclusive of any restroom, reception, or supply area for a one-practitioner cosmetology salon, 110 square feet of work space for a one-practitioner esthetician salon, and 100 square feet of work space for a one-practitioner nail salon.
- B. There shall be at least 50 additional square feet of work space for each additional licensee simultaneously on duty in a cosmetology salon or an esthetician salon, and at least 35 additional square feet of work space of each additional licensee simultaneously on duty in a nail salon.
 - C. The supply area shall not be accessible to the public.

The salon must meet applicable building codes, fire codes, and zoning codes as determined by local zoning and building officials and the state fire marshal.

- Subp. 2. [See repealer.]
- Subp. 3. Walls and ceilings. All walls and, ceilings shall, ceiling fans, light fixtures, vents, and other fixtures must be kept elean free from dust and dirt and in good repair at all times, free from crevices, cracks, or holes which could collect dirt.
- Subp. 4. **Floors.** All floors shall must be kept clean and free from hair, nails, skin, wax, liquids, and other debris at all times and shall be in good repair, free from crevices, cracks, holes, or tears which could collect dirt or hair debris.

Carpet shall is not be an acceptable floor covering unless it is commercial grade earpet in work areas where services are provided unless the salon's most recent application for licensure was prior to January 1, 2017.

Subp. 5. Lighting and Electricity. Each salon shall provide direct lighting to all work areas. Light fixtures shall be clean and dust-free.

There shall be at least one electrical outlet in each work station. The salon's electrical use must comply with the State Fire Code.

- A. Outlets must not have more than two appliances or items plugged into them unless a UL-listed power strip is used.
- B. Power strips must be plugged into an outlet and not into another power strip.
- C. Extension cords must be plugged into an outlet and not into another cord, and may be used only for portable appliances according to the appliance's directions.
- Subp. 5a. Dispensary. Each salon must have a dispensary area used to mix chemicals, mix disinfecting solutions, disinfect tools and implements, and store hazardous supplies. Each dispensary must have a clean waste receptacle emptied daily. A dispensary must not be located in a restroom.
- A. The dispensary must be equipped with a sink, single-service paper or cloth towels, liquid or foam hand soap, and a work surface area sufficient to disinfect the salon's tools and implements. A shampoo bowl is not an acceptable sink for this purpose unless there is only one practitioner and one hair station in the salon.
- B. The salon must ensure that all hazardous substances are inaccessible to the public by prohibiting public access to the dispensary or through the use of closed cabinets, and must ensure that a salon employee or a licensee is present whenever hazardous substances are temporarily accessible to the public.
- Subp. 6. Plumbing; water supply Sinks in work areas. There shall be clean, hot, and sanitary running water provided in the work area, dispensary area, and toilet facilities.

Each salon shall provide toilet facilities, on its premises or in an adjacent common area, which are not used for any unrelated purpose such as storage or as a dispensary. The toilet facilities shall be clean and sanitary and shall contain, at a minimum, a commode, lavatory, soap dispenser, single-service sanitary towels, and a waste basket. The door shall be kept closed at all times.

- A. Each work area must have at least one hand-washing sink.
- B. Each hand-washing sink must have hot and cold running potable water plumbed in; be equipped with liquid or foam soap and single-service paper or cloth towels; and have a waste receptacle or hamper for soiled towels.

C. A shampoo bowl may not serve as a hand-washing sink unless liquid hand soap, single-service towels, and a waste receptacle or closed hamper are located at the shampoo bowl. A pedicure tub must not serve as a hand-washing sink.

Subp. 6a. Restrooms.

- A. Each salon must have a restroom available in the salon, or in an adjacent common area.
- B. Restrooms must have a sink with hot and cold running potable water plumbed in, toilet, liquid or foam soap, single-service paper or cloth towels or a hot air hand dryer, and a clean waste receptacle emptied daily.
- C. Any hazardous cleaning agents, chemicals, or substances, and any medications located in the restroom, must be kept in locked cabinets not accessible to the public.
 - D. Restrooms must be maintained in a clean condition.
- Subp. 7. **Ventilation.** Salon ventilation shall <u>must</u> comply with <u>local applicable</u> building codes <u>and, local</u> ordinances:, <u>and state and federal OSHA requirements</u>. If a salon does not have an exhaust system, the heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) thermostat fan switch must always be on during business hours.

Subp. 8. Furniture and fixtures.

- A. All furniture and fixtures in a work area must have a washable covering or finish and be clean and in good repair.
- B. Each work area must have a clean waste receptacle, emptied daily.
- Code requirements. All practitioners in the salon must be instructed in the location and use of the fire extinguisher.

2105.0370 FIXTURES, FURNITURE, AND EQUIPMENT SALON OPERATIONAL REQUIREMENTS.

A salon shall must continuously meet the following minimum operational requirements:

- A. There shall be a separate work station with chair, storage space, and mirror for each licensee on duty.
- B. All shampoos must be given in a shampoo bowl that has plumbing that includes hot and cold water.
- C. All furniture in the service area shall have a washable covering or finish and shall at all times be kept clean and in good repair.
- D. There shall be a waste receptacle at each work station. This receptacle shall be emptied at least daily. It shall be lined with a disposable plastic bag or liner, or washed daily.

There shall be at least one container which shall be used exclusively as a receptacle for soiled towels and linen. It shall be kept closed at all times. It must comply with local fire codes. If there are no applicable local fire codes, the State Fire Code applies.

There shall be at least one large covered container for disposal of garbage. This container shall be emptied at intervals necessary to maintain cleanliness. The container shall be lined with a disposable plastic bag or liner, or be washed daily. It must comply with local fire codes and must be kept closed at all times. If there are no applicable local fire codes, the State Fire Code applies.

- E. There shall be storage eabinets or containers for all clean linen and towels. They shall be equipped with tight fitting closable doors or covers, which shall be kept closed.
- F. There shall be storage space for all supplies. Supplies which contain any caustic or other harmful material shall be conspicuously labeled and kept inaccessible to clients.
- <u>GA</u>. Each salon <u>shall must</u> maintain <u>a</u> readily accessible first aid <u>supplies kit meeting National Standard ANSI Z308.1-2015 or the most recent version of the standard.</u>

- B. Each salon must comply with federal hazard communication standards, Code of Federal Regulations, title 29, section 1910.1200, and must:
- (1) make paper or electronic safety data sheets for each product used in the salon containing hazardous chemicals as identified in Code of Federal Regulations, title 29, section 1910.1200, available to all salon personnel and all licensees in the salon at all times;
- (2) inform all licensees practicing in the salon of the potential health effects of the hazardous products and chemicals; and
- (3) inform all licensees practicing in the salon of the measures licensees must take to protect themselves from these hazards, including specific procedures the salon has implemented to protect practitioners from exposure to hazardous products. The procedures must include best work practices, spill cleanup, emergency procedures, and personal protective equipment to be used.
- H. Each salon shall have at least one readily accessible fire extinguisher that complies with State Fire Code requirements. All employees shall be instructed in the location and use of the fire extinguisher.
- I. A current copy of Minnesota Statutes and Rules pertaining to the regulation of the practice of cosmetology shall be centrally located and made available to all salon personnel.
- C. The current salon license showing the current DLSM must be conspicuously posted facing the public side of the reception area providing the public a full, unobstructed view of the license.
 - D. Each salon must ensure that each licensee meets the license display requirements in part 2105.0190, subpart 4.
- E. All licensees must have a valid picture state identification in their possession when working in the salon and must produce this identification for inspection when requested by board staff.
 - F. The salon must post inspection results and provide the detailed inspection report as noted in part 2105.0115, subpart 2.

2105.0375 INFECTION CONTROL REQUIREMENTS.

- Subpart 1. **Duties.** It is the responsibility of all licensees, including the salon owner and the designated licensed salon manager (DLSM) to ensure that all infection control requirements are followed. Items, tools, and equipment for regulated services in or on salon premises are subject to the requirements of this part even if not intended for use in services.
- Subp. 2. **Hand washing.** All licensees must thoroughly wash their hands with soap and water and dry them with a single-service paper or cloth towel or air dryer before providing any service to a client. An alcohol-based hand rub with a minimum of 60 percent alcohol may be used in lieu of hand washing only when the hands are free of lotions, ointments, product, or visible soil. Gloves and hand wipes are not an acceptable substitute for hand washing.
- Subp. 3. Cleaning. Before disinfecting any surface or item, any visible debris and disposable parts must be removed and the surface or item must be washed with soap and water or a cleaning agent, rinsed thoroughly, and dried before being disinfected. Surfaces may be wiped with a cleaning agent before being disinfected. Any cleaning agent not in the original container must have a legible label with the name of the agent and use instructions. If the original container with instructions is available, use instructions are not required to be repeated on the new container label.

Subp. 4. Disinfecting.

- A. Only hospital-level, EPA-registered disinfectants that are labeled as bactericidal, virucidal, and fungicidal may be used.

 Alcohol is not an acceptable disinfecting agent. Bleach products must have an EPA registration for hospital-level disinfection.
 - B. Items to be disinfected must first be cleaned according to subpart 3.
 - C. Disinfectants must be used according to the manufacturer's directions, including contact time, safety precautions,

dilution requirements if any, and proper disposal. Disinfectant sprays or wipes must not be used except where noted in this part.

- D. Disinfectant solutions must be legibly labeled with the disinfectant name and any dilution requirements. Disinfectant solutions must be made daily and disposed of at the end of the day or immediately if visible debris is present. If concentrated disinfectants must be diluted with water, measuring devices must be readily available and used to ensure an effective solution is made.
- E. All surfaces of a tool or implement, including handles, must be disinfected by fully submerging the item in disinfectant in a covered container for the full contact time listed in the manufacturer's directions. Following disinfection, items must be rinsed to prevent exposure of clients and licensees to unsafe pesticides and chemicals. Items must be dried before being stored.
- F. Each salon must have disinfectant containers with covers. The containers must be large enough to totally submerge the implements and tools in disinfectant. The number of covered containers and size of containers must be sufficient to hold all the implements and tools that need to be disinfected.
- G. Licensees must protect themselves by wearing gloves or using tongs to avoid direct skin contact with the disinfectant and observe all safety precautions in the manufacturer's directions.
- Subp. 5. Blood and body fluid exposure. Licensees must stop a service whenever an unexpected cut, abrasion, or other injury occurs during a service resulting in exposure to blood or other body fluids, or when blood or other body fluids appear as a result of a service, and follow the steps in items A to G.
 - A. The licensee must put on gloves.
 - B. If possible, rinse the wound with running water.
 - C. Clean the wound with an antiseptic solution and cover with a sterile bandage.
- D. If the wound is on the licensee's hand, the licensee must wear a glove or finger cover covering the wound. If the wound is on the client, the licensee must wear gloves on both hands to complete the service.
- E. <u>Blood-stained tissue or cotton or other blood or body fluid contaminated material must be placed in a plastic bag, sealed, and discarded.</u>
- F. Before resuming service, the licensee must first remove from service any equipment, tools, and implements that came into contact with blood or other body fluids, clean and disinfect any contaminated surfaces, and then clean and wash hands with soap and water.
 - G. Contaminated tools, implements, and equipment must be cleaned and disinfected according to subparts 3 and 4.

Subp. 6. Storage of items.

- A. Disinfected items must be stored in clean, closed containers, cupboards or drawers, or on a clean towel and covered with a clean cloth towel or clean drape, and must not come into contact with contaminated items or nondisinfected items. Storage containers must have solid sides and lids and must be cleaned and disinfected with disinfectant wipes or spray weekly and before use if visibly soiled.
- B. Plastic or paper bags or sealed wrapping must not be used to store disinfected items unless the item has been sterilized by an autoclave used under the requirements of part 2105.0377, item E.
 - C. Items pulled out for service must not come into contact with contaminated surfaces that have not been disinfected.
- D. Tools, implements, linens, and other nonelectrical items that have been removed from clean storage must be placed in covered and closed containers labeled "used" immediately after the service is completed, or immediately cleaned and disinfected. Storage containers for used items must have solid sides and lids and must be cleaned and disinfected weekly or whenever visibly soiled. Disinfectant wipes or sprays may be used when the container is too large to be submerged in disinfectant.

- Subp. 7. Safety and infection-control practices.
 - A. Only cleaned, disinfected, and properly stored tools and implements must be used on a client.
- B. A supply of disinfected tools, disinfected implements, single-use supplies, and disinfectant must be present and available for use by practitioners. The supply must be sufficient, based on the practitioner and salon service volume, to ensure each client is serviced with properly cleaned and disinfected tools and implements each day.
- C. All fluids, semifluids, creams, waxes, and powders must be kept in clean, covered containers with a solid cover and must be dispensed in a manner which prevents contamination of the unused supply.
- (1) <u>Disposable or disinfected spatulas or applicators must be used to remove products from containers, and fingers must never be used.</u> Spatulas, applicators, or scoops must not be stored in the container.
 - (2) Products removed from containers must not be returned to the containers and must be used or discarded.
 - (3) Containers must be wiped clean and the exterior disinfected with a disinfectant wipe at the end of the day.
 - D. All products must be legibly labeled if not in the original container.
 - E. Each pencil cosmetic must be sharpened before each use with a disinfected pencil sharpener.
- F. <u>Licensees must comply with all manufacturer's directions for product use.</u> When product directions require a patch test, the licensee must (1) offer a patch test, and (2) provide information to the client regarding the risk of potential adverse reactions to the product.
 - G. Licensees must not perform services on clients with open wounds or sores in the area of the body to be serviced.
- H. Animals are not allowed in salons. This prohibition does not apply to service animals as defined by the Minnesota Human Rights Act, the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), and related regulations, as amended.
 - I. Live fish, leeches, snails, and other living creatures may not be used in any cosmetic service.
- J. <u>Uncovered food or beverages are not allowed in the presence of uncovered disinfectant solutions</u>, or when disinfectant solutions are made or disposed of, or when disinfectant sprays are used.
- K. Licensees must not eat or smoke, including electronic cigarettes, while performing any services. Any beverage for a licensee must be covered with a lid during any service.
- L. Tools and implements must not be placed in or on clothes, aprons, pockets, bags, or holsters, or worn by the licensee, and must not come into contact with nondisinfected surfaces.
- M. Tools or implements dropped on the floor or otherwise contaminated during a service must be removed from the work station, cleaned and disinfected, or placed in a covered container labeled "used" until cleaned and disinfected.
- N. Wig blocks must have a nonabsorbent covering. Each nonabsorbent covering must be removed after each servicing of a wig, cleaned and disinfected, and must be stored in a properly labeled covered container. Wigs accepted for service must be stored in individual clean and disinfected containers, or in a new disposable container such as a plastic bag. New plastic wrap or other suitable clean and disinfected covering material must be placed over a customer's hair while trying on wigs for purchase, and the wig must not be allowed to come into contact with the skin, hair, or wigs of the customer.
- Subp. 8. **Laundered items.** Each towel, robe, and linen used to cover or protect customers must be used only once and then be laundered with detergent and hot water in a washing machine, dried on hot, and immediately stored in a clean, covered container. Plastic or nylon capes and aprons may be washed in a machine and dried on any setting in a dryer or may be disinfected with a spray disinfectant. Used or soiled towels, linens, and capes must be stored in closed containers labeled "used." Steamed towels and cloths must meet the requirements of subpart 15, item G.

- Subp. 9. Shears and razors. Shears and razors are not required to be washed, but must be wiped to remove hair, product residue, and skin debris, and then disinfected with an EPA-registered, hospital-level disinfectant spray or wipe after each use. The surfaces must remain wet with the spray or wipe disinfectant for the contact time listed on the disinfectant label.
- Subp. 10. Brushes. Licensees must follow the procedures in subparts 3 and 4 for all hair or color brushes, brushes used in nail or skin services, makeup brushes, and neck brushes. Brushes used in solvent-based nail polishes that do not support microbial life are exempt from the disinfection requirement.
- Subp. 11. Electrical and electronic tools. Electric clippers, nail drills, flat irons, blow dryers, glass or metal electrodes, high frequency wands, esthetic machines, steamers, diffusers, or other electric or electronic tools must be cleaned and disinfected after each use, including the body, handle, and attached cord.
- A. Plastic guards and any nonmetal removable parts must be removed, cleaned, and disinfected as required in subparts 3 and 4.
- B. Metal guards, clipper blades, drill bits, and other removable parts must be removed. All product residue, hair, skin debris, nail dust, and other visible debris must be brushed or wiped off, and the removable part must be disinfected with an EPA-registered, hospital-level disinfectant spray or wipe after each use. The surfaces must remain wet with the spray or wipe disinfectant for the contact time listed on the disinfectant label and the manufacturer's directions must be followed.
- C. Clipper blades that are not detachable must have the hair removed using a disinfected brush or a blade wash, and the clipper blade must be disinfected with a hospital-level disinfectant spray. The surfaces must remain wet with the spray disinfectant for the contact time listed on the disinfectant label and the manufacturer's directions must be followed.
- D. The surface of the tool's body, handles, and attached cord must be brushed or wiped clean of all product residue, hair, skin debris, nail dust, and other visible debris, and then disinfected with an EPA-registered, hospital-grade disinfectant spray or wipe after each use. The surfaces must remain wet with the spray or wipe disinfectant for the contact time listed on the disinfectant label and the manufacturer's directions must be followed.
- E. <u>Disinfected electrical and electronic tools must be stored on a clean surface, on stands or hooks, or in a clean, closed container, cupboard, or drawer when not in use.</u>
- Subp. 12. **Pedicure stations.** Pedicure tubs, including basins, and piped and pipeless tubs must be cleaned and disinfected according to items A to C.
 - A. Immediately after each service:
 - (1) dirty water must be drained and any visible debris removed;
- (2) all removable filter screens, inlet jets, footplates, impeller assemblies, and other parts must be removed and debris eliminated before scrubbing with a disinfected brush and detergent and water;
 - (3) the tub basin must be scrubbed with detergent and water, and rinsed with water and drained;
 - (4) removable parts must be replaced;
- (5) the basin or tub must be filled with clean water and an EPA-registered, hospital-level disinfectant must be added following the manufacturer's directions. If the pedicure tub is electrical, the fan or pump must be turned on and the unit operated for the entire contact time; and
 - (6) after the contact time is complete, the disinfectant must be drained and the tub rinsed with clean water.
- B. Pedicure tub liners are single-use items under subpart 13 and must be disposed of immediately after use. When disposable tub liners are used, item A does not apply. When tub liners are used, the pedicure tubs must remain in clean and disinfected condition.
 - C. Pedicure tubs of all kinds must always be maintained in a clean and disinfected condition, even if the tub is broken or

not in service. If the circulating mechanism isn't working, the screens must be cleaned and the tub surface disinfected.

- Subp. 13. **Single-use items.** Foam toe separators, foam buffer blocks, pedicure tub liners, pumice bars or stones; chamois, paper, or foam flip-flops or slippers; nail files unless governed by item B; sanding bands or sleeves; paper sandpaper drill bits; wooden applicators; cotton balls, cotton pads, or swabs; gauze pads; neck strips; wax strips; and other items made with paper, wood, foam, or other porous materials, are single-use items, may be used one time only, and must be immediately disposed of in a trash can after each service. Lancets and extraction needles are single-use items and must be disposed of in a sharps container. Brushes are not single-use items when the provisions of subpart 10 are met. Linens are not single-use items when the provisions of subpart 8 are met.
- A. New, single-use items must be stored in clean covered containers with solid sides and lids containing only new or disinfected items. New items in the original sealed packaging may be stored out in the open.
- B. All nail files are single-use items unless made of metal, glass, or crystal. Ceramic nail files are single-use items unless completely sealed by a glaze.
- C. For the purpose of scoring the edges of sharp single-use files, one file may be repeatedly used to file down the edge of a supply of new files, provided that the practitioner wears gloves while preparing the new files and that the file used by the practitioner is kept in the dispensary in a disinfected container labeled "score file." Each salon may have only one score file.
 - Subp. 14. Wax and paraffin services. Wax pots and paraffin warmers must be kept covered and the exterior cleaned daily.
- A. If debris is found in the wax pot or paraffin warmer, or if the wax or paraffin has been contaminated by contact with skin, unclean applicators, or double-dipping, the wax pot or paraffin warmer must be emptied, the wax must be discarded, and the pot or warmer must be disinfected.
- B. <u>Disposable spatulas and wooden sticks must be dipped into the wax only once and then discarded without using the other end.</u>
- C. Applicators must be dipped only once into the wax unless the wax is a single-service item and unused wax is discarded after each service.
 - D. Any surface touched by a used wax stick must be cleaned and disinfected immediately after the service.
- E. Paraffin wax must be portioned out for each client in a bag or other container, or dispensed in a manner that prevents contamination of the unused supply.

Subp. 15. Salon fixtures.

- A. Counters, tables, reception-area chairs, and desks must be cleaned daily with soap and water or a cleaning agent.
- B. Work surfaces where services are performed, such as shampoo bowls, nail tables, facial chairs or beds, or waxing beds, must be protected from skin contact by a clean cloth or paper towel or sheet. The work surface must be cleaned and disinfected daily, using EPA-registered, hospital-level disinfectant wipes or sprays with the surface wet for the contact time in the product directions. If a customer's skin comes into contact with the surface, the surface must be cleaned and disinfected immediately after the service.
- C. Stylist chairs at hair stations, chairs at shampoo stations, manicure chairs, and pedicure throne chairs must be cleaned and disinfected at the end of each day. EPA-registered hospital-level disinfectant wipes or sprays must be used and the surface must be wet with the disinfectant for the contact time in the product directions.
- <u>D.</u> Sinks and shampoo bowls must be cleaned and disinfected daily with a disinfected spray or wipe, including faucet handles, spray handles, inside bowls, and outside surfaces. Hair must be removed from shampoo bowls immediately after each shampoo service.
- E. Rolling carts, work trays, or other containers used to hold tools and implements during a hair, skin, waxing, nail, pedicure, or other service must be cleaned and disinfected daily with a disinfectant spray or wipe.

- F. Hair and debris must be removed from the floor immediately after each service.
- G. Towel warmers must be disinfected daily with a disinfectant wipe or spray. Salons using hot steamed towels in services must meet these requirements:
 - (1) towels must be washed with detergent and bleach and dried using a hot dryer setting;
 - (2) practitioners preparing towels for the warmers must first wash their hands or wear gloves; and
- (3) wet towels used in services must be prepared fresh each day. At the end of the day, unused steamed towels must be removed and laundered.

2105.0377 SALON PROHIBITIONS.

- A. Prohibited substances in salons are methyl methacrylate (MMA) liquid monomers, formalin tablets, formalin liquids, and other fumigants.
- B. Skin cutting equipment, including razor-type callus shavers, credo blades, rasps, or graters and other implements that are used to remove corns or calluses by cutting below the skin surface are prohibited and must not be present in a salon.
 - C. Roll-on wax is prohibited.
- D. UV sterilizers or light boxes are not an acceptable infection control device and must not be present in a salon. This does not apply to UV dryers or ultraviolet lamps used to dry or cure nail products.
- E. Autoclaves and autoclave packaging of tools are prohibited unless regular spore tests are performed by a contracted laboratory at least once per month but not more than 30 days between tests. If a positive spore test is received, the autoclave must not be used until a negative spore result is received. The salon must maintain a log of each use, all testing samples and results, and a maintenance log of all maintenance performed according to the manufacturer's directions. The salon must retain the most recent 12 months of the log at the salon for review by the board.
 - F. Electric or battery-operated files or drills not specifically manufactured for use on humans are prohibited.
- G. Practitioners must not use tools or implements provided by customers unless the practitioner first cleans and disinfects the tool or implement. Customer-supplied prohibited tools must not be used and must be immediately removed from the salon premises. Customer-supplied single-use items must be new.
 - H. Salons must not store a customer's tools or implements.
- I. Nail salons must not offer esthetician services without an esthetician salon license, and esthetician salons must not offer nail services without a nail salon license. Nail and esthetician salons must not offer services which require a cosmetology salon license.

2105.0390 SALON SUPERVISION.

- A. The owner and the <u>designated manager appointed in writing by the owner designated licensed salon manager (DLSM) registered with the board are responsible for the salon at all times, even when not present at the salon. The owner and the DLSM must ensure that:</u>
- (1) all practitioners, including nonemployees, who perform licensed services in the salon are in compliance with all provisions of this chapter and Minnesota Statutes, chapter 155A; and
- (2) each practitioner in the salon is currently licensed in Minnesota for the services provided by that practitioner to customers.
- B. <u>The salon must designate and register only one person shall be designated</u> as a <u>manager the DLSM</u> for each salon. No manager may be concurrently responsible for more than one salon unless the salons are under the same ownership and all located of the same ownership and all located or the same of the same of

in the same complex which is designated as an assisted-living care facility. When the manager is not on duty, the manager may specify a responsible person in the manager's absence. The responsible person shall be licensed as a manager, and licensed as a cosmetologist in a cosmetology salon, esthetician salon, or nail salon; a licensed esthetician in an esthetician salon; or a licensed nail technician in a nail salon. This does not preclude a salon from having a business manager or other managers who are not licensed as operators or managers. Salons holding both a nail salon and an esthetician salon license may have a designated licensed salon manager for each license, or a cosmetologist salon manager may serve as the designated licensed salon manager for both licenses.

- C. The manager, owner, and responsible person shall ensure that all licensees under their supervision comply with all provisions of this chapter and Minnesota Statutes, chapter 155A.
- D: The manager, owner, and responsible person shall ensure that no unlicensed individual provides any cosmetology service in the salon.
- <u>E.C.</u> The <u>manager_DLSM</u> and <u>the owner shall must</u> maintain, on the salon premises, the work time records of each <u>licensed</u> employee, as required by Minnesota Statutes, section 177.30. Time records <u>shall must</u> be provided upon written request to the licensee or to the board.
- F. The manager, owner, and responsible person shall ensure that all equipment is operational and maintained in proper-working condition, that adequate supplies are in stock at all times, and that infection control and safety requirements are met.
- <u>D.</u> Any salon that leases space to one or more licensed practitioners must maintain a mechanical or electronic time clock for their use, and retain work time records for a period of four years for each lessee. Time records must be provided upon written request to the licensee or to the board.

2105.0393 SALONS LOCATED IN PRIVATE RESIDENCES.

Salons may be established in private residences if the conditions in items A to F are met.

- A. The salon must meet the requirements of this chapter.
- B. The salon space must not be used for any residential purposes at any time.
- C. The salon must be completely separated from the residential areas. There must be a permanent, solid partition from floor to ceiling between the salon and the residential areas, and any door in between them must be kept closed at all times.
 - D. All cosmetology services must be provided in the salon space.
 - E. Laundry tubs must not be used as shampoo bowls.
- F. If the salon owner or DLSM is at the home when a board inspector visits, the board inspector must be allowed access to the salon space for the purposes of an inspection, even if the salon is not open for business at the time of the inspection visit.

2105.0397 SUITE-STYLE SALONS.

- Subpart 1. Suite-style salons. Suite-style salons must have one salon license under which every suite located on the premises operates, or each suite must carry its own salon license as an individual salon. A suite-style salon where each suite carries its own salon license must meet the salon licensing requirements of this chapter. When the salon license is held by the business leasing the suites, the requirements of subparts 2 to 7 apply and must be met.
- Subp. 2. Compliance in suite-style salons. The salon license holder and the DLSM must ensure that all cosmetology services and all practitioners are in compliance with the requirements of this chapter.
- Subp. 3. Salon license posting requirements in suite-style salon. Instead of posting the salon license at the building's reception area as required in part 2105.0370, item D, a salon license must be conspicuously posted inside each suite, or at each suite's entrance. The license must not be a photocopy, but must be a duplicate license purchased from the board.
- Subp. 4. Practitioner license posting requirements in suite-style salon. The posting requirements of part 2105.0190, subpart 4, apply, except that the practitioner licenses must be conspicuously posted at the entrance to or inside the suite instead of in the Page 1282 Minnesota State Register, Monday 28 March 2016 (Cite 40 SR 1282)

reception area or foyer of the building.

- Subp. 5. Inspection result posting requirements in suite-style salon. The requirement of part 2105.0115, subpart 3, to post inspection results and a report must be met by posting the inspection results at the entrance to the suite, and providing the inspection report in a conspicuous location in the suite.
- Subp. 6. Safety data sheets in suite-style salon. The requirements of part 2105.0370, item B, must be met. The safety data sheets for each product used in each suite must be located in the suite itself.
- Subp. 7. Suite signage and advertising. A practitioner who does not hold a salon license, and is renting salon space in a licensed salon or is leasing a suite at a suite-style salon must comply with the requirements of part 2105.0110. The practitioner must include the words "at (name of salon as it appears on the salon license)" on any advertising, including any suite signs at a suite-style salon. This does not apply to a suite directory at a suite-style salon business.

2105.0410 LICENSED SERVICES NOT OFFERED IN A LICENSED SALON.

- Subpart 1. Nursing homes licensed under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 144A. This part does not provide any exemption for assisted living residences, senior apartments, or any part of a senior citizen housing facility that is not licensed as a nursing home under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 144A.
 - A. A salon in a nursing home is required to be licensed if:
 - (1) any cosmetology services are offered to nonresidents of the nursing home; or
 - (2) any licensee without a homebound service permit is providing services for compensation.
 - B. A salon in a nursing home is not required to be licensed if:
 - (1) licensees with homebound service permits provide services only for residents of the nursing home; and
- (2) staff employed by the nursing home provide services to residents of the nursing home, and services are limited to washing hair, setting hair, trimming hair, filing nails, applying and removing nail polish, and makeup applications and services do not include permanents or hair coloring.

Subp. 2. Special events permits.

- A. <u>Licensees with a current manager's license may apply online for a special events permit. Applicants must carry professional liability coverage of at least \$25,000 for each claim and \$50,000 total coverage for each policy year, and must pay the fees required by Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.33.</u>
 - B. The permit holder may only provide the following services:
 - (1) cosmetologists may style, reinforce, or extend hair;
 - (2) cosmetologists and nail technicians may remove and apply nail polish; and
 - (3) cosmetologists and estheticians may remove and apply makeup.
 - <u>C.</u> Permits have the following restrictions:
- (1) Permits expire on December 31 of the year in which the permit is issued, but are valid only with a current manager's license held by the permit holder.
 - (2) One permit covers all events registered by the permit holder with the board for the calendar year.
 - (3) Each event must be registered online with the board at least 48 hours prior to the start of the event.

- (4) The permit holder must print the special events permit from the online license record and have the printed permit in the permit holder's possession during each event.
- (5) The permit holder must comply with all infection control requirements and safety requirements in parts 2105.0375 and 2105.0377, and must carry a first aid kit that meets the requirements of part 2105.0370, item A.
- (6) At each special event, the permit holder must provide a sufficient number of brushes, combs, makeup brushes, and other implements equal to the number of persons receiving cosmetology services at the event, so that only disinfected tools and implements are used on each client.
- Subp. 3. Homebound permit. A homebound service permit authorizes a licensee to provide services in a licensed nursing home to residents or in the residence of an individual who is homebound.
 - A. To obtain a homebound service permit, an applicant must apply and:
 - (1) hold a current Minnesota cosmetologist, nail technician, esthetician, or salon manager license;
 - (2) provide a current Certificate of Insurance of professional liability insurance as required under part 2105.0310;
- (3) attest that services will be provided only to individuals residing in a licensed nursing home, or in the residence of a homebound individual, and that the licensee will carry the homebound service permit at all times when providing services for homebound individuals; and
 - (4) pay the fees required by Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25.
 - B. Homebound service permits are issued by the board for a three-year cycle.
- C. A homebound service permit is not valid unless the permit holder's practitioner license is current. If the practitioner's license has expired, a permit must not be used until the practitioner has renewed the practitioner license.
 - D. The permit holder must maintain the professional liability insurance as required in item A for the duration of the permit.
- E. The licensee must comply with all infection control requirements and safety requirements in parts 2105.0375 and 2105.0377, and must carry a first aid kit meeting the requirements in part 2105.0370, item A, when not in a licensed nursing home.
- F. The hours spent working under a homebound service permit do not count toward the work experience hours required to obtain other licenses under this chapter.

2105.0510 INTOXICANTS AND CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES.

No licensee shall <u>Licensees must not</u> perform cosmetology services while consuming or under the influence of an intoxicant or controlled substance.

2105.0520 LICENSE CYCLE.

- A. The board must issue individual licenses on a three-year license cycle. The first year of the license cycle may consist of less than 12 months, and begins on the issuance date and ends on the last day of the individual's birth month. The second and third year of the license cycle consists of 12 months each, ending on the last day of the individual's birth month.
- B. The board must issue salon licenses on a three-year license cycle. A salon license begins on the issuance date and ends three years later on the last day of the month.

2105.0650 PENALTIES.

The board may take action as authorized under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 45 155A, against any licensee entity who has violated any law, rule, or order entrusted to the board.

2110.0010 DEFINITIONS.

[For text of subp 1, see M.R.]

- Subp. 2. **Accommodate or to be accommodated.** "Accommodate" or "to be accommodated" means the maximum number of students present on the school premises at any one time and for which the school has the required physical and program resources. In most cases this will be the maximum number of day student enrollees students.
 - Subp. 3. [See repealer.]
- Subp. 4. **Advertising.** "Advertising" means any written or graphic representation designed to elicit enrollment or the sale of goods or services and includes signs, displays, circulars, <u>business cards</u>, brochures, and recruitment materials: in <u>print</u>, on <u>air</u>, or online.
 - Subp. 5. [See repealer.]
 - Subp. 6. [See repealer.]
 - Subp. 7. Board. "Board" means the Board of Cosmetologist Examiners.
- Subp. 8. Clean. "Clean" means free from all soil and, dirt, and debris, and washed with soap or detergent and hot water or a cleaning agent, and then rinsed.
- Subp. 9. **Clinic.** "Clinic" means the portion of a cosmetology school where cosmetology services <u>performed by students</u> are offered to the public and which are performed by students and for which compensation is given for compensation.
 - Subp. 10. [See repealer.]
 - Subp. 11. [See repealer.]
 - Subp. 12. Compensation. "Compensation" means a monetary or nonmonetary remuneration for services.
 - Subp. 13. [See repealer.]
- Subp. 13a. Disinfect. "Disinfect" means the use of an antimicrobial pesticide that eliminates harmful bacteria, fungi, and viruses on nonporous surfaces.
- Subp. 13b. **Disinfectant.** "Disinfectant" means an antimicrobial pesticide that is registered with the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) for use in a hospital setting and is a bactericide, virucide, and fungicide.
- Subp. 14. **Dispensary.** "Dispensary" means a physical location or area in a salon that is primarily or school where cosmetology supplies, products, or chemicals, and disinfectants are prepared, measured, mixed, portioned, or disposed of, and where tools and implements are cleaned and disinfected.

[For text of subps 15 to 17c, see M.R.]

- Subp. 17d. Hazardous. "Hazardous" means a hazardous substance or harmful physical agent as defined under part 5206.1500, subpart 6, or any substance defined as hazardous in Code of Federal Regulations, title 29, part 1910.1200.
- Subp. 17e. **Homebound.** "Homebound" means an individual lacks the physical or intellectual capacity for independent transportation, and is unable to travel independently to a licensed salon.
- Subp. 18. **Licensed services.** "Licensed services" means those services defined as the practice of cosmetology under Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.23, subdivision 3, and includes the fitting of wigs and hair pieces on the head and the dressing of wigs and hair pieces while on the head services provided by cosmetologists, estheticians, and nail technicians. The definition of "cosmetology" in Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.23, subdivision 3, must be construed to not prohibit or regulate hair braiding, hair braiding services, and hair braiders, as defined in subparts 17a to 17c.
- Subp. 18a. Operator. "Operator" means a standard license for a cosmetologist, esthetician, or nail technician license and not an advanced practice or manager license.

Subp. 18b. Porous material. "Porous material" means a material that absorbs liquid or allows liquid to penetrate.

Subp. 18a. 18c. Simple braiding devices. "Simple braiding devices" include clips, combs, curlers, curling irons, hairpins, rollers, scissors, needles, and thread.

Subp. 19. [See repealer.]

Subp. 20. **Unregulated service.** "Unregulated service" means those services not defined as the practice of cosmetology under Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.23, subdivision 3, and which are exempt from regulation by the board, and includes. <u>Unregulated services are</u> ear piercing, body wrapping, permanent depilitation, tattooing, artificial tanning of the skin; personal services incidental to performance in body art, body painting, henna tattoos and permanent tattoos, eyebrow embroidery, eyebrow microblading, permanent hair removal, permanent makeup; tanning by UV radiation and spray tanning units; botox and other injectables, services for theatrical, television, film, fashion, photography, or media productions; or musical productions or media appearances; any personal mortuary services performed incidental to mortuary practice; massage services; body wraps when performed by a massage therapist; and hair braiding, hair braiding services, and hair braiders, as defined in subparts 17a to 17c; and threading as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.23, subdivision 13. Ordinances by local units of government that prohibit hair braiding, hair braiding, hair braiding, hair braiding services, or hair braiders are preempted by this part.

2110.0110 ADVERTISING.

The following provisions govern all advertising relating to the education, licensing, or practice of cosmetology:

- A. It is a violation of this chapter to advertise in any manner that is misleading or inaccurate with respect to any services or policies offered by the licensee. All advertising and business signage must state the school name as shown on the school license.
- B. No advertisement shall Advertisements must not state or imply favorable consideration by the Board of Cosmetologist Examiners other than to state that the school is licensed by the board.
 - C. Any school advertisement shall list the licensed name of the establishment and the type of license held.
 - D. No school advertisement stating licensure by the state of Minnesota shall include reference to any unregulated services.
- E. C. A school advertisement of cosmetology services shall must clearly and conspicuously state that all services are performed by students, in boldface type of the same size as the most-used type size in the ad.
- F. D. No school may advertise that its students will earn a commission, salary, or pay of any kind, other than gratuities, on cosmetology services performed in the school clinic. Each school must maintain copies of all advertisements for clinic services for three years, available to the board at its request.

2110.0125 INSPECTIONS.

Subpart 1. Protocol.

- A. Each school is subject to inspection at any time the board deems it necessary to affirm compliance. All school staff, including the owner, designated school manager (DSM), instructors, and unlicensed support staff must cooperate with the inspection. The school must allow a board inspector to inspect the school on the inspector's arrival at the school.
 - B. Board inspectors must carry board-issued photo identification.

Subp. 2. Violations and orders to comply.

- A. The board must notify schools with a written inspection report when any violation is found during a board inspection.

 The school licensee and the DSM must take immediate action to address each violation and within ten business days bring the school and all licensees into compliance with this chapter, chapter 2105, and Minnesota Statutes, chapter 155A.
- B. If an order to comply is issued by the board inspector, the school and the DSM must report to the board via mail or e-mail within ten business days of the order's issuance using a form provided by the board. The report must:

- (1) explain how each violation was corrected and the date of correction; and
- (2) for each violation that was not immediately corrected or not corrected within ten days, provide a written explanation of the reasons for the delay, the specific steps the licensee will take to correct the violation, and the projected date the outstanding violation will be corrected. The board shall grant extensions requested in writing when the health and safety of the students and the public is not at immediate risk, and when the delay is warranted based on the information provided by the school.
- Subp. 3. **Posting inspection results.** The board must provide each school with the inspection results and a detailed inspection report on the inspection findings. Within ten business days of the issuance date on the results and report, the school and DSM must conspicuously post the inspection results in the entryway to the school clinic or at the reception desk and place the detailed inspection report in the reception area. The inspection results and inspection report must be visibly available in the reception area of the school for the public's review. The inspection results must remain posted and the inspection results must remain available in the reception area until replaced by new inspection results and a new detailed inspection report.

Subp. 4. Inspection penalties and discipline.

- A. <u>Violations of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 155A, and violations of this chapter and chapter 2105, including those listed in item B, cited on a board inspection are subject to:</u>
 - (1) application of penalties prescribed in Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25; and
 - (2) disciplinary action as identified in Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.33.
- B. Board staff must issue penalties prescribed in Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25, for violations in subitems (1) to (3) cited during a board inspection of a school except as provided for in subpart 5. Licensees must pay penalties in full before any license is renewed or issued.
 - (1) A school is subject to penalty for violations cited during an inspection for:
 - (a) each expired instructor license;
 - (b) an expired DSM license;
 - (c) an expired school license;
 - (d) each current license of an instructor, designated school manager, or school not conspicuously displayed;
 - (e) reuse of or failure to dispose of single-use items immediately after use;
 - (f) the presence of prohibited razor-type callus shavers, graters, or rasps; or
 - (g) refusal or failure to cooperate with an inspection.
 - (2) A DSM is subject to penalty for violations cited during a school inspection for:
 - (a) each instructor with an expired license;
 - (b) an expired DSM license
 - (c) an expired school license;
 - (d) each current license of an instructor, designated school manager, or school not conspicuously displayed;
 - (e) reuse of or failure to dispose of single-use items immediately after use;
 - (f) the presence of prohibited razor-type callus shavers, graters, or rasps; or

- (g) the DSM's refusal or failure to cooperate with an inspection.
- (3) An instructor is subject to penalty for violations cited during a school inspection for:
 - (a) an expired instructor's license;
 - (b) the instructor's current license not conspicuously displayed;
 - (c) reuse of or failure to dispose of single-use items immediately after use;
 - (d) the presence of prohibited razor-type callus shavers, graters, or rasps; or
 - (e) the instructor's refusal or failure to cooperate with an inspection.

Subp. 5. Application of inspection penalties.

- A. The board must consider the factors identified in Minnesota Statutes, section 14.045, subdivision 3, when applying penalties for cited violations.
 - B. The maximum total inspection penalties per license per inspection must not exceed:
 - (1) \$3,000 for the school license;
 - (2) \$2,000 for the designated school manager; and
 - (3) \$1,000 for each instructor.

2110.0190 REINSTATEMENT AFTER SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION.

A school applicant may with a license that was suspended or revoked by the board under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 155A, must apply for relicensure after revocation by meeting the following requirements as follows:

- A: the applicant shall provide documentation of the correction or elimination of the grounds for the revocation;
- B. the applicant shall make application for relicensure, in writing and on forms provided by the board;
- C. the applicant shall pay the reinstatement fee and the license fee;
- D. the applicant shall meet the requirements for initial licensure;
- E. the applicant shall meet all of the requirements of parts 2110.0300 to 2110.0820; and
- F. at least two years have expired from the effective date of the revocation.
- A. apply for relicensure on forms provided by the board;
- B. meet the requirements for reinstatement identified in the order revoking or suspending the license, and meet any requirements for renewing a license under this chapter as if the license had not been revoked or suspended but had expired from the date of revocation or suspension; and
 - C. pay the fees required of a new applicant in Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25.

2110.0200 TRANSFER OF LICENSE PROHIBITED.

<u>School</u> licenses <u>shall are</u> not <u>be</u> transferable <u>to another school</u> and <u>shall must</u> be used only by the named licensee <u>at the</u> location listed on the license.

2110.0310 SCHOOL LICENSURE.

Subpart 1. Application contents. The person, association, firm, or corporation proposing to establish An applicant for a

cosmetology school shall make written application to the board, must apply on forms supplied by the board, giving the following information:

- A. the <u>school name and the legal name</u> of the school, <u>and</u> its <u>owners, the physical address</u>, <u>and telephone number, e-mail address</u>, and <u>Web site</u>;
- <u>B.</u> the names and, postal addresses and e-mail addresses, and telephone numbers of all owners of sole proprietorships or partnerships and controlling officers of corporations;
- B. C. notarized signatures of the owners of sole proprietorships or partnerships, controlling officers of corporations, and the designated school manager;
- <u>D.</u> an active Certificate of Assumed Name from the secretary of state if the school is doing business under a name different than the full legal name of the owner;
- E. an active Certificate of Organization from the secretary of state, except for sole proprietorships and general partnerships;
 - F. a Social Security number for a sole proprietor, and a state tax identification number for all other businesses;
- G. current Certificate of Insurance of professional liability insurance of at least \$150,000 for each policy year for the school, its employees, and students;
 - H. current Certificate of Workers' Compensation Insurance;
 - I. documentation of a continuous corporate surety bond as required in Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.30, subdivision 5;
 - C. J. the days of the week and the hours which the school will be open and the school's projected opening date;
- D. evidence of the school's compliance with local zoning requirements and the rules of the Minnesota Department of Health, local building codes, fire codes, and ordinances;
- K. a statement attesting to the school's compliance with applicable building codes, the Minnesota State Fire Code, and applicable OSHA requirements;
- E. L. the name, license number, and notarized signature of the licensed manager who will be employed by the school, including that individual's license number and expiration date DSM accepting the responsibilities of the DSM;
- F. M. a roster of all instructors, including license number, type of license, designation of employment status (full-time or part-time) and days of the week and hours scheduled for instruction;
- G. N. a diagram of the school drawn to scale on 8-1/2 inches x 11 inches or 8-1/2 inches x 14 inches paper, providing the dimensions of the school as a whole and designating the size and location of all entrances and exits, and the location and dimensions of all required areas and facilities;
- H.O. a complete inventory of facilities and equipment supportive of instructional and clinical operations, as required by these rules this chapter;
- F. P. a designation of the licenses for which instruction will be offered; proposed schedule of all courses to be offered in the first year, including start dates and completion dates for each course. If concurrent courses are to be offered, the school must demonstrate it has available classroom and clinical space as well as instructors for each course;
 - Q. the maximum number of students the school will be able to accommodate for each course scheduled the first year;
 - J. <u>R.</u> for each course offered:
 - (1) the course name and anticipated first offering date;

- (2) a detailed outline of the courses of training to be offered, course, including a daily lesson plan, designating the preclinical and clinical curriculum, text-and including:
 - (a) topics of the units of instruction;
- (b) for each unit, identifying the hours devoted to the unit and designating the hours as theory, preclinic, or clinic hours:
- (c) for each unit, identifying the unit prerequisites necessary for a student to have completed prior to beginning the unit;
 - (d) for each unit, identifying the textbook and supplementary instructional resources; and
- (e) an indication of whether or not the school's instructors will use the instructor's manual associated with the textbook curriculum;
 - (3) textbook and supportive materials, and the clinical plan designed for each license category; and
 - (4) classroom and clinical space to be used;
 - K. the maximum possible number of enrollees the school will be able to accommodate;
 - E. S. copies of all financial aid and refund policies;
 - M. T. copies of all student rules and, disciplinary policies, and student handbook;
 - N. U. a copy of the standard enrollment contract;
- O: V. copies of all written material used to solicit prospective students, including but not limited to tuition, refund, and fee schedules, catalogs, brochures, and all recruitment advertisements; and
- P. W. a current balance sheet, income statement, or evidence of and pro forma income and cash flow projections for the first three years of operation. The applicant must establish sufficient financial worth to conduct a school and to meet its financial obligations.
 - Subp. 2. Payment of fee. The applicant shall must pay the fees identified required in Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25.
- Subp. 3. License cycle. School licenses are issued for three years, and begin on the issuance date and end three years later on the last day of the issuance month.

2110.0320 MAINTAINING A SCHOOL LICENSE.

- Subpart 1. Display of documents Scope. Each school license and all personnel licenses shall be conspicuously displayed in the school or school clinic reception area at approximately eye level. The requirements of this part apply to all cosmetology schools.
 - Subp. 2. [See repealer.]
 - Subp. 3. [See repealer.]
- Subp. 4. Change of name. The school owner or school manager must inform the board, in writing, of a name change within 60 days of the effective date of the change, provide legal documentation of the name change, and pay the fees required in Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25. A license must be issued in the new name for the remaining term of the old license, which must be returned to the board upon receipt of the license in the new name.
- Subp. 5. Change of location. A school license must not be transferred when the school moves to a new location. The school owner has 30 days after a move to apply for and receive a new school license in accordance with part 2110.0310. If a new license

has not been issued by day 31, the school must cease operations until a license is issued.

- Subp. 6. Change of owner. A school license must not be transferred when the school is sold, including when a corporation owning the school is sold. The new school owner must apply for a school license at least 30 days before the effective date of the change. If a new license has not been issued by day 31, the school must cease operations until a license is issued.
- Subp. 7. Change of business structure. A school license must not be transferred when the business structure of the owner is changed. The school owner has 60 days after a change in business structure to apply for and receive a new school license according to part 2110.0310. If a new license has not been issued by day 61, the school must cease operations until a license is issued.
- Subp. 8. Change of designated school manager. Within ten days of the departure or resignation of the designated school manger (DSM), the school owner must:
 - A. appoint a licensed instructor or licensed school manager as acting DSM; and
- B. notify the board by e-mail of the last day of the DSM's employment, and the name and license number of a licensed instructor appointed as the acting school manager. The school has 30 days from the departure to register a new DSM with the board by submitting a DSM change form.
- Subp. 9. Change of instructors. The DSM must notify the board by e-mail within ten days of the employment start or end date of a change in instructors, citing the instructor's name, license number, and effective date of the hiring or termination of employment. The school must be in compliance with the requirements of part 2110.0630.

Subp. 10. Change or addition of courses and curriculum.

- A. A school planning to discontinue any course offering must notify the board via e-mail.
- B. A school planning to add a new course offering or a change to the curriculum for a currently approved course must apply for and receive board approval prior to offering the new or changed course. Application must include:
 - (1) the course name and anticipated first offering date; and
 - (2) a detailed outline of the course or lesson plan, including:
 - (a) topics of the units of instruction;
- (b) for each unit, identifying the hours devoted to the unit and designating the hours as theory, preclinic, or clinic hours;
- (c) for each unit, identifying the unit prerequisites necessary for a student to have completed prior to beginning the unit;
 - (d) for each unit, identifying the textbook and supplementary instructional resources; and
- (e) an indication of whether or not the school's instructors will use the instructor's manual associated with the textbook curriculum.
- Subp. 11. Change or addition of textbooks. A school planning to change the textbooks for a course must apply for approval on a form provided by the board prior to implementing a new textbook.
- Subp. 12. Change or remodeling of school physical plant. The school must report to the board via e-mail any planned changes to the layout or physical structure of the school which require a building permit at least 30 days prior to the change. In the event of emergency repairs to the physical plant, the school must notify the board of any resulting changes within 30 days.

Subp. 13. Location of training.

A. Instruction must take place within a licensed school building except as provided in item B and part 2110.0500.

- B. Schools may offer online board-approved theory-based classes. Practice-based classes must not be offered online.
- Subp. 14. License. A cosmetology school must not operate without a current and conspicuously displayed school license.
- Subp. 15. Insurance. A school must maintain current professional liability insurance of at least \$150,000 for each policy year, must maintain a current Certificate of Workers' Compensation Insurance, and must maintain a corporate surety bond of \$10,000 running to the state.
- Subp. 16. Separation of school from any salon. Any cosmetology, esthetician, or nail salon must be operated as a separate and distinct business and the salon must be completely separated physically from the school.

2110.0330 SCHOOL LICENSE RENEWAL.

- <u>Subpart 1.</u> <u>Requirements.</u> All of The following requirements shall of subparts 3 to 6 must be met in order to renew a school license:
- A. The licensee shall be responsible for requesting renewal of the licensee's school license, in writing, before that license expires. This may be accomplished on the license renewal notice form provided by the board. However, if this renewal notice is not received, it is still the licensee's responsibility to properly renew the school license.
 - B. The licensee shall provide evidence of continued professional liability insurance coverage in the required amount.
 - C. The licensee shall provide evidence of continued compliance with Minnesota Statutes, section 176.182.
- D. The licensee shall provide a current and complete roster of manager and instructional staff, including license number and expiration date, employment status, and days and hours scheduled to work.
- E. The licensee shall pay the fees identified in Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25, before the expiration of the current license.
- F. The postmark date on the transmittal envelope of the renewal request and fee shall be determinative in ascertaining whether receipt was prior to the current license expiration date.

Subp. 2. School license expiration and renewal.

- A. School licenses expire on the last day of the month of initial licensure of the year due and each school owner and designated school manager (DSM) is responsible for renewing the school's license.
- B. The school must submit a complete renewal application at least 30 days prior to the expiration date to ensure that a renewed license is issued before the expiration date. Not receiving a notice of renewal from the board does not constitute a valid excuse for not renewing the license.
- Subp. 3. School continuation of insurance and surety bond. The school licensee must provide evidence of continued professional liability insurance coverage of at least \$150,000 as required by part 2110.0310, subpart 1, item G, and evidence of continued workers' compensation insurance in compliance with Minnesota Statutes, section 176.182, by providing Certificates of Insurance for both policies, and a current corporate surety bond as specified under part 2110.0310, item I.
- Subp. 4. School licensee roster. The school licensee must provide a current and complete roster of the DSM and instructional staff, including license numbers and expiration dates, employment status, and days and hours scheduled to work.
- Subp. 5. Course offerings. The school licensee must provide a list of courses offered and an anticipated course schedule for the next 12 months with the current and projected enrollment listed for each course scheduled. The school licensee must submit a copy of the board's approval letter for the curriculum with a statement attesting that the curriculum has not changed since the approval date, or submit the items required for new or changed curriculums in part 2110.0320, subpart 10, item B. If concurrent courses are to be offered, the school must demonstrate it has available instructors and classroom and clinical space for each course.

- Subp. 6. Fees. The school licensee must pay the fees required in Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25.
- Subp. 7. Failure to renew before license expiration date.
- A. Late fees required by Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25, apply if the complete renewal application is received after the expiration date of the license.
- B. If a renewed school license has not been issued by the expiration date, the school is considered delinquent. The school licensee and DSM are subject to inspection fines detailed in part 2110.0125, and penalties as described in Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.22.
- C. If a complete renewal application is not received by the board within 30 days after the license expiration date, the school license is not eligible for renewal, and the school must reapply for a school license as a new applicant.
 - D. The board must not accept or recognize student hours earned on or after the 31st day of the school's license expiration.

2110.0380 FACILITIES REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE.

In addition to the requirements of parts part 2110.0310 and 2110.0370, the requirements contained in parts 2105.0510, 2105.0600, 2105.0610, and 2110.0390 to 2110.0600 shall must be met by the school before a license will be issued. Compliance with these requirements shall must be confirmed by an inspection by the board. The license shall must be issued after a satisfactory initial inspection.

2110.0390 PHYSICAL REQUIREMENTS.

Subpart 1. Space. Space:

- A. There shall be The school must have a combined clinic and classroom size of at least 25 square feet for each enrollee student to be accommodated. This space shall exclude all Office space, storage areas, lounge facilities break rooms, and restrooms are not clinic or classroom space.
 - B. All supplies and materials shall be stored in a space not accessible to the public.
 - C. The dispensary shall be a specified area inaccessible to the public.
- B. The school classrooms must have chairs and table work space for the maximum number of students scheduled for class at any one time.
 - D. C. There shall be The school must have a furnished student lounge break room of at least 120 contiguous square feet.
- <u>D.</u> The school must meet applicable building codes, fire codes, and zoning codes as determined by local zoning and building officials and the state fire marshal.
 - E. The school, or any part of the school, must not be used for any residential purpose.
- Subp. 2. Entrances and exits Walls and ceilings. Entrances and exits must comply with the requirements of applicable local building codes and ordinances. All walls, ceilings, ceiling fans, light fixtures, vents, and other fixtures must be kept clean and free from dust and dirt, and in good repair at all times.
- Subp. 2a. Floors. All floors must be kept clean and free from hair, nails, skin, wax, liquids, and other debris at all times and be in good repair, free from crevices, cracks, holes, or tears which could collect dirt or debris. Carpet is not an acceptable floor covering in clinic areas where services are provided, unless the school's most recent application for licensure was prior to January 2017.
- Subp. 3. **Electrical requirements.** The school's electrical use must comply with the State Fire Code adopted according to Minnesota Statutes, chapter 299F.
 - A. Outlets must not have more than two appliances or items plugged in unless a UL listed power strip is used.

- B. Power strips must be plugged into an outlet and not into another power strip.
- <u>C.</u> Extension cords must be plugged into an outlet and not into another cord, and may be used only for portable appliances according to the appliance's directions.
- <u>D.</u> Each classroom shall must be clearly lit and shall have at least two electrical outlets. Use of extension cords shall not be an acceptable means of meeting this requirement.
- Subp. 3a. **Dispensary.** Each school must have a dispensary area used to mix chemicals, mix disinfecting solutions, disinfect tools and implements, and to store hazardous supplies. The dispensary must have a clean waste receptacle emptied daily.
- A. The dispensary must be equipped with a sink, single-use towels, liquid or foam hand soap, and a work surface area sufficient to disinfect the school's tools and implements. A shampoo bowl is not an acceptable sink for this purpose.
- B. The school must ensure that all hazardous substances are inaccessible to the public by prohibiting public access to the dispensary or through the use of closed cabinets, and must ensure that a school employee is present whenever hazardous substances are temporarily available to the public.
- Subp. 4. Toilet facilities Restrooms. Each school shall provide adequate toilet facilities on its premises or in an adjacent common area for the use of students, staff, and customers. Separate restroom facilities must be provided for women and men.
 - A. Each school must have restrooms available in the school, or in an adjacent common area.
- B. Restrooms must have a sink, toilet, liquid or foam soap, single-service towels, and a clean waste receptacle emptied daily.
- C. Any hazardous cleaning agents, chemicals, or substances located in the restroom must be kept in locked cabinets not accessible to the public.
- Subp. 5. Additional Ventilation. In addition, each school shall meet the physical requirements for salons contained in parts 2105.0360, subparts 3 to 7. School ventilation must comply with applicable building codes, local ordinances, the State Fire Code, and state and federal OSHA requirements. If a school does not have an exhaust system, the heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) thermostat fan switch must always be on during school hours.

Subp. 6. Safety items.

- A. Each school clinic must have at least one readily accessible fire extinguisher that complies with and is maintained annually according to the State Fire Code requirements. All employees must be instructed in the location and use of the fire extinguisher.
- B. Each school clinic must maintain a readily accessible first aid kit meeting National Standard ANSI Z308.1-2015, or the most recent version of the standard.
- C. Each school clinic must have readily accessible safety data sheets (SDS) for each product used in the clinic containing hazardous substances as identified in Code of Federal Regulations, title 29, section 1910.1200, available to all school personnel at all times.
- D. The school must inform all employees and students of the potential health effects of the hazardous products and chemicals used in the school clinic and the location of the SDS data.
- E. The school must inform all employees and students of the measures each must take to protect themselves from the hazardous products and chemicals, including specific procedures the school has implemented to protect employees and students from exposure. The procedures must include best clinic practices, emergency procedures, and personal protective equipment to be used.

2110.0400 FIXTURES, FURNITURE, EQUIPMENT.

A school shall must meet the following minimum requirements:

- A. There shall be one work station with chair, storage, and mirror for each student assigned to the clinic floor.
- B. There shall be at least one standard or hand-held blow hair dryer, clean, in good repair, and operational, for each six work stations:
- C. There shall be at least one facial chair, clean and in good repair, for each ten enrollees students. This may be a work station chair with a reclining back and attachable headrest.
 - D. There shall be at least one manicure table, clean and in good repair, for each ten enrollees, students;
 - E. There shall be at least one heat cap.
- F. E. There shall be at least one skin care machines machine or models or diagrams sufficiently detailed to allow instruction in their use and operation.
 - G. There shall be at least one adult-size desk/table and chair in the classroom area for each enrollee to be accommodated.
- H. F. There shall be at least one a time clock or other reliable method of recording time to be used by the students when checking in and out of school- and in and out of lunch;
- <u>H. G.</u> There shall be at least one shampoo bowl in good repair and operational for each six work hair stations. All shampoos must be given in a shampoo bowl that has plumbing that includes hot and cold water.
- J. in addition, each school shall meet the fixture, furniture, and supply requirements for salons as designated in part 2105.0370, items B to G.
 - K. H. there shall be locker space available for students requesting it.; and
 - I. all furniture and fixtures in the school clinic must have washable finishes or coverings, be clean, and be in good repair.

2110.0410 SUPPLIES AND MATERIALS.

- Subpart 1. Basic supplies. Basic supplies The school must provide the following:
- A. The school shall supply each student with a beginning professional kit for each student, containing the implements and the majority of equipment required for the course of training for which the student has enrolled. The cost shall be clearly indicated to the student prior to enrollment, even if it is included in the basic tuition fee:
- B. The school shall provide the student with all supplies and materials necessary to perform all clinical services and class-room exercises-, at no additional cost to the student; and
- C. The school shall supply at least one mannequin with hair for each cosmetology enrollee student, and one mannequin without hair for each esthetician enrollee student.
- Subp. 2. **Towels and linens.** There shall be A minimum of one dozen clean towels per enrollee student on the clinic floor must be maintained in good repair and available to students.
- Subp. 3. **Instructional materials.** The school shall supply each enrollee with A copy of all textbooks to be used in the course of training; a copy of this chapter and chapter 2105; a copy of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 155A; and copies of all other necessary instructional materials, including a copy of this chapter and Minnesota Statutes, chapter 154 must be provided to each student. The laws and rules, workbooks associated with the, and textbooks shall become the property of the student. The cost of these materials shall be clearly indicated to the student prior to in the enrollment contract, unless it the cost is included in the tuition fee.
 - Subp. 4. [See repealer.]
- Subp. 5. **Reference materials.** Reference materials shall must be centrally located and made available to all students, including:

- A. an American language dictionary;
- B. charts for basic anatomy (of hair, skin, and nails);
- C. trade magazines and publications;
- D. a current copy of <u>this chapter, chapter 2105, and Minnesota Statutes and Rules, chapter 155A, pertaining to the regulation of the practice of cosmetology; and</u>
 - E. copies of other related statutes and rules.

2110.0430 INTOXICANTS AND CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES.

No licensee or student shall perform cosmetology services <u>Students and licensees are prohibited from school premises</u> while consuming or under the influence of an intoxicant or controlled substance.

2110.0500 CURRICULUM APPROVAL AND CONTENT.

- <u>Subpart 1.</u> <u>Curriculum approval.</u> <u>Each cosmetology school shall Cosmetology schools must</u> have a <u>board-approved</u> curriculum <u>approved by the department to provide instruction</u>, divided into daily lesson plans. The curriculum <u>shall must</u> include theory and practical application of skills, including the instruction set forth in parts <u>2105.0600 and 2110.0510</u> to <u>2110.0540 2110.0530</u>. No more than one percent of the total curriculum time may be dedicated to the teaching of unregulated services.
- Subp. 2. Field trips and extracurricular activities. Schools may offer field trips and extracurricular activities related to the course curriculum for industry educational purposes when students are accompanied by instructors, for a maximum of one percent of the total training hours required for cosmetologists, estheticians, or nail technicians.
- Subp. 3. Guest presenters. Guest presenters may be used by a school when accompanied by the regular course instructor as long as the guest presenters are limited to one percent of the total curriculum time. If the regular course instructor is not in attendance when a guest presenter is present, the limitations of part 2110.0630 apply unless the guest presenter holds a current instructor license.
- Subp. 4. Unregulated services. No more than one percent of the total curriculum time may be dedicated to teaching unregulated services.

2110.0510 COSMETOLOGIST TRAINING.

- A. Cosmetologist training eonsists <u>must consist</u> of a course of training of at least 1,550 hours. This course shall consist of <u>coursework and include</u> the full nail technician course content, the full esthetician course content, and the balance in hairdressing, including the breakdown of hours specified in item D and the clinical exercises in provision of cosmetology services specified in item D hair services.
- B. The cosmetology course must include instruction in applied science and skills in shampooing, scalp and hair conditioning, hair design and shaping, chemical hair control, hair coloring, hair styling, skin care and facials, makeup, waxing, and manicuring and nail care of 1,130 hours and instruction in related theory and sciences of 420 hours.
- B. C. The first 240 hours shall be of the cosmetology course must consist of preclinical instruction in the theory of sciences of anatomy, dermatology, trichology, manicuring, and chemistry as related to cosmetology; electricity and light; infection control; safety procedures related to the practice of cosmetology; and Minnesota Statutes and rules which pertain to the regulation of the practice of cosmetology; student orientation; and elementary service skills. Elementary service skills must be limited to the observation of an instructor demonstration or student-to-student application of basic services related to cosmetology.
- C. There shall be instruction in applied science and skills in shampooing, scalp and hair conditioning, hair design and shaping, chemical hair control, hair coloring, hair styling, facials, and makeup, and manieuring and nail care of 1,130 hours and instruction in related theory and sciences of 420 hours.
 - D. There shall be The cosmetology course must also include planned clinical instruction and experience in the applied

sciences. Each student shall be is required to complete the following minimum number of clinical exercises in column II. Clinical exercises may be performed upon customers in the school clinic, fellow students, models, or mannequins in the classroom.

		Column I Hours	Column II Service Exercises
1	shampooing	50	300
2	scalp and hair conditioning	80	150
3	hair design shaping	150	75
4	chemical hair control (including 6 chemical relaxing exercises)	200	60
5	hair coloring	100	50
6	hair styling	200	300
7	facials and, makeup, and waxes (including 60 facials, 40 makeup applications, 20 facial waxes, and 20 body waxes with one-half of all waxes being soft and one-half of all waxes being hard)	200	60 <u>140</u>
8	manicures (including 10 applications of artificial nails, of which 3 are sculptured on the nail)	150	50
	skill hours	1130	
	related theory and lecture	420	
	total	1550	

- E. Documentation of the student's completion of the required quotas in each category in item D shall must be sent to the board with the documentation of successful completion of the entire course of training.
- F. There shall must be instruction in business practices and in the Minnesota laws regulating those practices and labor relations.

2110.0520 ESTHETICIAN TRAINING.

- A. Esthetician training consists must consist of a course of training of at least 600 hours.
- B. The first 120 hours shall <u>must</u> be preclinical instruction in the <u>theory of</u> sciences of anatomy, dermatology, and chemistry as related to skin care; electricity and light; infection control; safety procedures related to the practice of skin care; and Minnesota Statutes and rules which pertain to the regulation of the practice of skin care; <u>student orientation</u>; and elementary service skills. <u>Elementary service skills must be limited to the observation of an instructor demonstration</u>, or <u>student-to-student application</u> of basic services related to esthetics.
- C. There shall <u>must</u> be instruction in applied science and skills in the cleaning, conditioning, shaping, reinforcing, coloring, and enhancing of the skin quality through the use procedures of cosmetic care of the skin, applications of facials and makeup, and in waxing.
 - D. There shall must be planned clinical instruction and experience of 200 hours in the applied sciences.
- (1) Each student shall be required to <u>must</u> complete at least 60 facials or, 40 makeup applications, and 20 face waxes and 20 body waxes with one-half of all waxes being hard waxes, and one-half of all waxes being soft waxes.
- (2) Documentation of the student's completion of the required facials or, makeup applications shall, and waxing applications must be sent to the board with the documentation of successful completion of the entire course of training.
- E. The requirements of part 2110.0510, item F shall be complied with. There must be instruction in business practices and (Cite 40 SR 1297)

 Minnesota State Register, Monday 28 March 2016

 Page 1297

in the Minnesota laws regulating those practices and labor relations.

2110.0530 NAIL TECHNICIAN TRAINING.

- A. Nail technician training consists of a course of training of at least 350 hours.
- B. The first 50 hours shall must be preclinical instruction in the theory of sciences of anatomy, dermatology, and chemistry as related to manicuring; electricity and lights; infection control; safety procedures related to the practice of manicuring; and Minnesota Statutes and rules which pertain to the practice of manicuring; and elementary service skills. Elementary service skills must be limited to the observation of an instructor demonstration, or student-to-student application of basic services related to nail services.
- C. There shall must be instruction on applied science and skills in the cleaning, conditioning, shaping, reinforcing, coloring, and enhancing of nails and in the application and repair of artificial nails.
 - D. There shall must be planned clinical instruction and experience of 150 hours in applied sciences and skills.
- (1) Each student shall be is required to complete at least 50 manicures, including at least ten applications of artificial nails, of which three are sculptured applications on the nail.
- (2) The documentation of the student's completion of the required manicures shall must be sent to the board with documentation of successful completion of the course of training.
- E. The requirements of part 2110.0510, item F shall be complied with. There must be instruction in business practices and in the Minnesota laws regulating those practices and labor relations.

2110.0545 SKILLS COURSES.

- A. A board-approved cosmetologist skills course, esthetician skills course, and nail technician skills course must be offered in person.
- B. Each skills course must begin with an initial board-approved skills test. The provider must use board-approved scoring of the skills test, and a board skills test form.
- (1) Attendees who pass the skills test have completed the skills course. The provider must issue a signed and dated skills course certificate to the attendee.
- (2) Attendees who do not pass the initial skills test must complete the provider's skills course curriculum for each skills test area not passed. The attendee has completed the skills course when the attendee passes the skills test.
- C. Cosmetologists must attend a cosmetologist skills course taught by a cosmetology instructor, estheticians must attend an esthetician skills course taught by an esthetician or cosmetology instructor, and nail technicians must attend a skills course taught by a nail technician or cosmetology instructor.
- <u>D.</u> Board approval is not required for a licensed cosmetology school to offer skills courses, but the cosmetology school may notify the board if offering the course. Providers who are not cosmetology schools must meet the requirements of part 2105.0187.
- E. A provider of a skills course must provide attendees who have successfully completed the course with a skills course certificate showing successful completion of the skills test, and must retain records of attendees for five years from the date of the skill certificate.

2110.0550 CREDIT TOWARDS ANOTHER LICENSE.

A licensed esthetician or nail technician who received completed licensure training within the last five years may receive the following credit for that training toward another license:

[For text of items A to D, see M.R.]

2110.0600 RESPONSIBILITY.

It shall be the responsibility of the school owner and manager to ensure compliance with the requirements of parts 2110.0610 to 2110.0730. The owner and designated school manager (DSM) are responsible for the school at all times, even when not present at the school. The owner and DSM must ensure that the school, instructors, and students in the school are in compliance with all provisions of this chapter, chapter 2105, and Minnesota Statutes, chapter 155A.

2110.0610 SCHOOL IDENTIFICATION.

Each school shall <u>must</u> be identified as <u>either</u> a school of cosmetology; <u>or</u> beauty school, beauty academy, beauty training <u>eenter</u>, or any other <u>designation</u> whereby to ensure that the public may be able to distinguish it from a salon. Identification <u>shall</u> <u>must</u> consist of signs conspicuously placed on the front of the school and in the reception area of the school clinic. Each school <u>shall must</u> also have a sign conspicuously posted in its clinic reception area stating, "<u>Beauty Cosmetology School</u>. All work performed by students." in letters at least two and one-half inches in height.

2110.0625 DESIGNATED SCHOOL MANAGER.

- A. The school owner must appoint a designated school manager (DSM) and register with the board using forms supplied by the board. The DSM and the school owner are responsible for ensuring that the school, instructors, and students attending courses are in compliance with this chapter and Minnesota Statutes, chapter 155A.
 - B. A DSM must acknowledge the responsibility of the position in writing to the board.
 - C. A DSM must not be responsible for more than one school.
- <u>D.</u> A school manager who is no longer serving as the DSM must notify the board in writing via e-mail or mail, and is liable under Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.33, for the compliance of the salon and licensees until the written notice is received by the board.
- E. The DSM is not required to be present at all times during the school's operation, but remains responsible for compliance under this chapter and Minnesota Statutes, chapter 155A, even when not present at the school.

2110.0630 INSTRUCTORS.

- A. There shall <u>must</u> be at least two licensed instructors on the school premises during the time <u>whenever</u> students are present; and <u>each the</u> school shall have <u>must maintain</u> a minimum ratio of one instructor for each 1 to 20 students to be accommodated; and <u>present each day.</u> All students shall <u>must</u> be under the supervision of an instructor at all times when in a classroom; or clinic, or other area in which they are and whenever the student is performing cosmetology services on the school's premises.
- (1) A school may operate for 30 days per year with an unlicensed substitute for one of the licensed instructors, if the school manager is on the school premises and available to supervise the substitute, and if there is at least one licensed instructor, available and responsible for the direct supervision of the unlicensed substitute. use unlicensed instructors who hold a salon manager license as substitutes for licensed instructors for no more than 30 full or partial calendar days in 12 consecutive months. Whenever an unlicensed substitute instructor is present, at least one licensed instructor must be on the school premises. When these conditions are met, the substitute instructor is considered an instructor for the instructor quota.
- (2) The DSM must notify the board each day that an unlicensed substitute instructor is present by e-mailing the board with "substitute instructor" in the subject line. The e-mail must contain the substitute's name, the name of the absent instructor, the dates the substitute will be working, and the name and license number of the supervising instructor, and the number of days in the past 12 months that a substitute has been used.
- (2) (3) The school shall notify DSM must e-mail the board in writing within ten days of each occurrence of failure by the end of the day each day the school fails to meet the required instructor quota-, with "instructor quota failure" and the school name in the subject line. The e-mail must contain the names and license numbers of the absent instructors, and the names and license numbers of the instructors present.
- B. If a school is not in compliance with item A, students will be notified by the board <u>must notify the school</u> that it will not accept hours accrued <u>by students</u> during the period of noncompliance. <u>The school must notify the students in writing of the board's decision and provide the board a copy of the required notification to each student that the hours accumulated during the</u>

period of noncompliance will not be accepted by the board.

- C. Instructors shall <u>must</u> devote the entire <u>instructional</u> time scheduled to training and shall have no <u>must not have any</u> additional noninstructional duties or responsibilities during class or clinical time.
- D. Schools must maintain instructor payroll and time records showing hours worked each day for each pay period for three consecutive calendar years.
- E. Esthetician instructors and nail instructors are restricted to instruction in the area of their practitioner license and may not instruct in other disciplines.
- <u>P.F.</u> All instructors <u>shall must</u> wear identification badges at all times <u>while providing training</u>, stating their name and "Instructor." These badges <u>shall must</u> be at least two inches by one inch <u>and shall be color-coded white or gold</u>.

2110.0640 ENROLLMENT CONTRACTS.

The student or the student's parent or guardian shall <u>must</u> receive a fully executed copy of the contract at the time he or she signs the contract is signed.

- A. The contract shall must state the starting date of schooling and anticipated completion date. A notice stating that the licensing examination is given only in English shall accompany the contract copy provided to the student, parent, or guardian.
 - B. The contract must include the class schedule of days and hours for the course.

The school and a student who has enrolled for <u>additional</u> training <u>because he or she failed after failing</u> the <u>required state examination licensing tests</u>, and <u>reciprocity transfer applicants shall must</u> enter into a contract which specifies the precise nature of theory and clinical experience to be covered during the training course.

C. The contract must identify all conditions that must be met by the student before the school will issue a transcript of the curriculum and hours completed by the student.

2110.0650 REFUND POLICY.

Subpart 1. Written policy. Each school shall must have a definite, written policy relating to on the refund of tuition and fees when students terminate training. The policy shall at minimum provide for the must include the following:

- A. a complete refund of all <u>moneys money</u> paid if the school rejects the applicant, or if the applicant cancels the enrollment contract, in writing or in person, within three business days of the date upon which the contract was signed by both the student and agent of the school and prior to entering classes. The enrollment contract shall must include a provision headed by the title in boldface ten-point type "Notice of Cancellation", which instructs the student as to what steps he or she must take that explains how to cancel the contract;
- B. a refund of all <u>moneys money</u> paid except a registration or enrollment processing fee up to 15 percent of the contract price if the applicant cancels the enrollment contract more than three business days after conclusion of the contract but prior to entering classes;

C. if a student has entered started classes, the following minimum tuition refunds shall must be made:

Percentage of Total Program Represented by the Hours of Training Completed	Maximum Amount of Total Tuition School Shall_ Must Receive or Retain
0 to 4.9 percent	20 percent
5 to 9.9 percent	30 percent
10 to 14.9 percent	40 percent
15 to 24.9 percent	45 percent
25 to 49.9 percent	70 percent
Over 50 percent	100 percent

- D. This part does not apply to schools governed by the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities (MnSCU).
- Subp. 2. Formula Refund deductions. Fees for the student kit, textbooks, and workbook may be deducted before application of the percentages in refund computations, if these fees are included in the tuition and if these items become the property of the student. This deduction must be clearly stated in the refund policy contained in the enrollment contract.

2110.0660 STUDENT REGULATIONS.

Student regulations shall must be in writing and a copy shall be given to all students. A copy and any changes shall be posted on the bulletin board must be readily available in the student lounge. The rules may include a reasonable dress code. All rule changes shall must be discussed with the student body at least ten days prior to the effective date and each student shall must be given a copy of any changes.

2110.0670 STUDENT RECORDS.

Student records shall must be maintained as follows:

- A. All records relating to students shall <u>must</u> be maintained and up-to-date, in a secure and orderly fashion and shall <u>must</u> be kept on the school premises. All student records shall <u>must</u> be legible and shall be available for inspection by a representative of the board during normal business hours of the school or by mail upon the written request of the board provided to the board at the board's request.
- B. The school shall <u>must</u> maintain complete, accurate, and detailed records of all payments from and financial transactions with students, showing the date, amount, and source of income or disbursement.
- C. The school shall must maintain daily and monthly records of student hours, work progress, examination assessments, and daily clinical experience records for each student enrolled.
- D. All student records shall <u>must</u> be maintained by the school, or a custodian if the school ceases operation, for at least five years from the date of the student's termination or completion of training; or <u>In addition</u>, a transcript of the course work of each student <u>may must</u> be kept, the transcript to <u>which must</u> contain the student's name, the date student enrolled, the date of termination of enrollment and the circumstances of termination, the total number of hours completed, and the school <u>owner owner's</u> or <u>designated school</u> manager's (<u>DSM's</u>) notarized signature verifying the contents of the transcript. When requested by a student or former student, copies <u>of the student records</u> must be provided at the cost of duplication, <u>unless the student has not met school requirements identified in the enrollment contract regarding tuition payments and transcripts</u>.
 - E. The school shall must maintain the following reports for each student:
- (1) a student registration form containing the student's full and correct <u>legal</u> name, course of training for which enrolled, and start date. The status of the student shall-must be stated as full-time or part-time, day or night classes;
- (2) certification of completion of preclinical courses. Documentation signed by the school owner or manager shall_ <u>DSM must</u> indicate that the student has successfully completed the required hours of preclinical work. A student shall must not be allowed to perform any portion of a service or portion thereof in the school clinic on a client until this certification has been

completed;

- (3) a progress evaluation report. Upon completion of After a student has completed at least one-third of the total required hours and before one-half of the total required hours, the school shall must give the student a written progress evaluation assessing the student's progress towards successful fulfillment of the license requirements;
- (4) certification of readiness to take the written examination. Documentation signed by <u>the</u> school owner or <u>manager</u>, <u>shall DSM must</u> indicate that the student has successfully completed 1,350, 500, and 315 hours, for cosmetologist, esthetician, and nail technician respectively, of preclinical and clinical training, and is prepared to take the written state licensing examinations;
- (5) documentation signed by <u>the school owner or manager, shall DSM must indicate</u> that the student has successfully completed the course of training <u>for which he or she enrolled</u>, including documentation of the student's completion of the practical exercises, as required by parts 2110.0510, item D, 2110.0520, item D, subitem (1), and 2110.0530, item D, subitem (1), and documentation of the student's successful completion of the skills certification review, on a form acceptable to the board; and
- (6) a certification shall must be written and maintained by the school if a student withdraws, is suspended, or expelled from the student's course of training. The certification shall must be signed by the school owner or manager DSM, shall must indicate the last day on which the student was enrolled, the total number of hours the student has successfully completed as of that date, a transcript detailing the nature of those hours, and the reason for the withdrawal, suspension, or revocation. A copy of a student's termination certification and/or completion of course of training certification must be provided to the student within ten days of the termination from or completion of the cosmetology training, unless the student has not met school requirements identified in the enrollment contract regarding tuition payments and transcripts.

2110,0680 CERTIFICATION OF STUDENT HOURS.

Certification of student hours shall be as follows:

- A. All student hours shall must be recorded, on a daily and a monthly basis, and accurately identify the actual attendance hours and lunch breaks.
- B. Accrued student hours are valid for a maximum of five years. A school may establish an earlier expiration date if included in the school enrollment agreement.
- <u>B.C.</u> The daily record of hours <u>shall must</u> list the number of hours earned by each student and the nature of training received, designating all clinical experiences; <u>shall must</u> be signed <u>or confirmed</u> by the instructor who provided or supervised the training; <u>shall must</u> be signed <u>or confirmed</u> by the student; <u>and shall be based on the hours actually recorded on the student's timecard</u>

Each student shall register on the timeclock at the beginning and end of each school day and at the beginning and end of lunch breaks. Timecards which are improperly punched or inadvertently altered, or contain any error may be corrected and that correction initialed by the student, the school manager, and the appropriate instructor.

Original timecards shall be deemed to be the property of the school. A student, within ten days of a request, is entitled to receive copies of the student's timecards from the school. The school may not withhold copies of the student's timecards after a proper request has been made.

- <u>C.D.</u> <u>Each The</u> school <u>shall must</u> complete and maintain a monthly report for each student, summarizing the hours completed for that month, and signed by the school owner or <u>designated school</u> manager <u>(DSM)</u>. A copy of the report <u>shall must</u> be given to the student within five days of the end of each month. <u>Corrections of any errors must be signed by the DSM and student.</u>
- D. No school or student shall alter the content or the number of hours completed by a student unless because of error and signed by both parties.
- E. Except as provided in parts 2110.0100, subpart 2, and part 2110.0500, students shall must receive credit only for hours spent in training for licensed cosmetology services.
 - F. No student shall Students must not receive credit for more than ten hours of training per calendar day.

- G. Each student must be given a morning and afternoon break and at least one-half hour for lunch, or one hour for lunch and no breaks.
- H. It shall be made clear to the students in materials designed to clicit their enrollment and at the time of enrollment, the circumstances under which Saturday and evening training will be held.

2110.0690 STUDENTS TO SUCCESSFULLY COMPLETE EXAMINATION WITHIN REQUIRED TIME STUDENT DEADLINE TO BECOME LICENSED.

A license applicant must pass the examination and be student must be licensed within a period of not more than three <u>five</u> years from the date of successful completion of the required training. A student who does not meet this requirement <u>will be is</u> required to complete a <u>reactivation skills</u> course or complete the required training in addition to the skills certification, whichever is greater, before making application for examination and meet all other requirements for licensure.

2110.0705 TRANSFER STUDENTS.

- Subpart 1. Transfers from another school or state. Students who have completed a portion of required training at another school or in another state or country may apply as a transfer student to a cosmetology school to complete the required training. The school must include in the student's records documentation of any transfer of credits, and copies of student transcripts and records from the original school. Any records from another country, including records in English, must be evaluated by a board-approved credentialing agency at the student's or school's expense.
- Subp. 2. Practitioners from other countries applying as a transfer student for an evaluation. Individuals who have practiced cosmetology in other countries and who are seeking licensure must obtain a course completion certificate by a licensed cosmetology school as a requirement to become licensed. The applicant may apply as a transfer student and request an evaluation to identify any further training necessary to obtain the course completion certificate.
- A. The method of evaluation must include a review of the student's records, training, and work experience, and must include a skills test. Foreign language documents must be translated by a board-approved translator at the applicant's expense.
- B. The evaluation results must identify any specific additional training necessary for the issuance of the course completion certificate, based on the training requirements identified in this chapter for cosmetologists, estheticians, and nail technicians and the school's assessment of the student's training and experience.
- C. The school must maintain in the student's record the evidence and documentation of the school's evaluation, including the method of evaluation, the dates and location of the student's original training, any testing results, copies of any transcripts or diplomas used in the evaluation, and an explanation of the typical training or apprenticeship required in the country where the student previously practiced.

2110.0720 DISPLAY OF LICENSES.

Current licenses of all school personnel shall instructors, the designated school manager, and the school must be conspicuously posted in the reception area.

The school's current license shall be conspicuously posted.

2110.0730 PREENROLLMENT DISCLOSURES.

The following information shall must be given to prospective students along with any materials designed to solicit their enrollment: minimum requirements for licensing in the fields in which the school offers instruction, tuition and all fees, the enrollment contract, refund policy, and student regulations. Prior to enrollment, written materials regarding refund policies must be discussed with and acknowledged as being understood by anyone enrolling in a cosmetology school. All written materials used to solicit prospective students shall must comply with part 2110.0110. Copies of all solicitation materials shall must be retained by the school for a period of five years from the last date of use.

2110.0740 SCHOOL CLINICS.

All instruction in school clinics and all work performed by students in school clinics shall comply with the operational requirements for a cosmetology salon in part 2105.0380, items A to P, and V, W, and Z. In addition:

A. Students and instructors must comply with all infection control requirements in part 2105.0375 and with salon prohibi-

tions in part 2105.0377. Instructors are responsible for ensuring that all students comply with the infection control requirements in part 2105.0375.

- A. B. No A new school shall must not offer clinical services until the minimum preclinical hours required for students has been met.
 - B: C. No A school shall be allowed to must not operate a student clinic at any location other than the school.
- C. D. There shall be conspicuously displayed in the reception area of the school and its clinic A sign stating, "All services performed by students," in type at least 2-1/2 inches in height must be conspicuously displayed in each reception area of the school and in each clinic.
- D. <u>E.</u> Instructors shall <u>must not</u> perform no cosmetology services on any client in the school clinic except to the extent necessary to demonstrate or instruct students. The student shall <u>must</u> be physically present, observing the instruction or demonstration and shall <u>must</u> participate in the learning experience by actual performance of the complete service.
- E. F. No student shall Students must not perform clinic services until he or she has successfully completed the required hours of preclinical training have been completed.
- F. G. All services performed by students shall must be supervised by instructors and shall be checked before, during, and after performance.
- G. H. All students shall be are required to wear an identification badge at all times. The badges shall must be at least two inches by one inch; state the student's name; and state that the student is either a "Cosmetologist Trainee Student," "Esthetician Trainee Student," or "Nail Technician Trainee Student." Badges shall must be furnished by the school as part of tuition costs.
- H. I. Each student shall and each instructor must wash his or her hands with soap and hot water before providing or demonstrating any service, and each instructor shall similarly wash his or her hands before demonstrating any service or portion thereof on a client: on a student, mannequin, or client. An alcohol-based hand rub with a minimum of 60 percent alcohol may be used in lieu of hand washing only when the hands are free of lotions, ointments, product, and visible soil. Gloves and hand wipes are not an acceptable substitute for hand washing.
- I. Instructors shall ensure that students and instructors maintain the clinic work area in the same manner and degree as is required for salon cleanliness under part 2105.0380, item R.
- J. Instructors shall ensure that all students working in the school clinic and all instructors observe the same personal hygiene and safety requirements as those imposed on salon practitioners in part 2105.0380, item S.
- K. Cosmetology services shall not knowingly be performed in a school clinic on any person who has a communicable disease or parasite.
- <u>L. J.</u> It shall be permissible for the A school to may charge clients for services performed by students to the extent necessary to cover the cost of supplies and materials used, and expenses incurred in and for the operation of the school. These prices shall must be conspicuously posted in the clinic reception area.

2110.0750 PENALTIES.

The board may take action as authorized under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 45 155A, against any licensee who has violated any law, rule, or order entrusted to the board.

REPEALER.Minnesota Rules, parts 2105.0010, subparts 5, 8, 9, and 12; 2105.0100; 2105.0120; 2105.0130; 2105.0140; 2105.0150; 2105.0160; 2105.0180; 2105.0185; 2105.0190, subpart 5; 2105.0200, subpart 4; 2105.0210; 2105.0300; 2105.0320; 2105.0340; 2105.0350; 2105.0360, subpart 2; 2105.0380; 2105.0400; 2105.0450; 2105.0600; 2105.0610; 2110.0010, subparts 3, 5, 6, 10, 11, 13, and 19; 2110.0120; 2110.0130; 2110.0140; 2110.0150; 2110.0300; 2110.0340; 2110.0370; 2110.0410, subpart 4; 2110.0420; 2110.0540; 2110.0560; 2110.0570; 2110.0620; and 2110.0700, are repealed.

Expedited Emergency Rules

Provisions exist for the Commissioners of some state agencies to adopt expedited emergency rules when conditions exist that do not allow the Commissioner to comply with the requirements for emergency rules. The Commissioner must submit the rule to the attorney general for review and must publish a notice of adoption that includes a copy of the rule and the emergency conditions. Expedited emergency rules are effective upon publication in the *State Register*, and may be effective up to seven days before publication under certain emergency conditions.

Expedited emergency rules are effective for the period stated or up to 18 months. Specific *Minnesota Statute* citations accompanying these expedited emergency rules detail the agency's rulemaking authority.

KEY: Proposed Rules - <u>Underlining</u> indicates additions to existing rule language. <u>Strikeouts</u> indicate deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." **Adopted Rules** - <u>Underlining</u> indicates additions to proposed rule language. <u>Strikeout</u> indicates deletions from proposed rule language.

Department of Natural Resources

Adopted Expedited Game and Fish Rules: Special turkey hunts

Notice is hereby given that the above entitled rules have been adopted through the process prescribed by *Minnesota Statutes*, section 84.027, subdivision 13 (b). The statutory authority for the contents of the rules is *Minnesota Statutes*, sections 97A.435, 97A.465, 97A.137, 97B.111, and 97B.723.

The conditions that do not allow compliance with *Minnesota Statutes*, sections 97A.0451 to 97A.0459, are that annual participant information needed for setting quotas and areas for special turkey hunts are not finalized by hunt organizers until late December. Changes to hunting access in the sanctuary at Carlos Avery Wildlife Management Area are being made to better accommodate increasing use by persons with disabilities while continuing to maintain the area's value as a wildlife sanctuary.

Dated: February 18, 2016

/s/ TOM LANDWEHR

Tom Landwehr, Commissioner of Natural Resources

6230.0200 SPECIAL PROVISIONS FOR WILDLIFE MANAGEMENT AREAS.

[For text of subps 1 to 10, see M.R.]

[For text of subp 11, see 39 SR 652, 40 SR 105, and 40 SR 1019]

Subp. 12. **Sanctuary areas open.** The following sanctuary areas of wildlife management areas posted with "Wildlife Sanctuary Do Not Trespass" signs are open as specified:

[For text of item A, see M.R.]

- B. The portion of the Carlos Avery Wildlife Management Area sanctuaries <u>lying either east of the Old Game Farm Road or north of Anoka County Ditch 12</u> are open for:
- (1) <u>turkey, deer, or waterfowl</u> hunting by persons with disabilities at designated stands, <u>by permit or blinds during a special hunt coordinated through an approved and permitted nonprofit organization</u>; and
- (2) taking wild turkeys during the spring wild turkey season in those portions of the sanctuaries that lie within an open spring wild turkey hunting zone. The remainder of the sanctuary is closed to all hunting and trespassing without a permit.

[For text of items C and D, see 40 SR 105]

[For text of subp 13, see M.R.]

6236.1060 TURKEY HUNT QUOTAS.

<u>Subpart 1.</u> **2016 open areas.** The following wild turkey permit areas are open for the 2016 spring wild turkey season. An unlimited number of licenses are available for time periods C to F. Time periods A and B have the following quotas on numbers of permits:

Expedited Emergency Rules =

2016 Spring Wild Turkey Permit Area Quotas				
Permit Area	Time Period	Time Period		
	A	В		
	April 13-19	April 20-26		
501	1,835	1,835		
502	125	125		
503	900	900		
504	200	200		
505	650	650		
506	350	350		
507	1,600	1,600		
508	750	750		
509	40	40		
510	500	500		
511	20	20		
512	5	5		

- Subp. 2. Permits for disability hunts. For the spring wild turkey season, the following permits are available for disability hunts:
- A. For wild turkey permit area 507, one additional permit per time periods A and B is available for individuals with disabilities participating in a special hunt on the Sand Prairie Wildlife Management Area. Capable Partners is the sponsoring non-profit organization.
- B. For wild turkey permit area 510, four additional permits per time periods A and B are available for individuals with disabilities participating in a special hunt on the Becklin Homestead Park Wildlife Management Area. Capable Partners and the Isanti County Sportsman's Club are the sponsoring nonprofit organizations.
- C. Camp Ripley Military Reservation, within wild turkey permit area 507, is open for spring turkey hunting for individuals with disabilities participating in a special hunt. One nonhunting mentor must accompany each disabled hunter. The St. Cloud Veterans Administration is the sponsoring organization.
- D. For wild turkey permit area 505, two additional permits per time periods A and B are available for individuals with disabilities participating in a special hunt on the Minnesota Valley National Wildlife Refuge. Capable Partners is the sponsoring nonprofit organization.
- E. For wild turkey permit area 507, eight additional permits per time periods A and B are available for individuals with disabilities participating in a special hunt. Midwest Outdoors Unlimited is the sponsoring nonprofit organization.

6236.1075 SPECIAL HUNTS FOR MILITARY PERSONNEL.

For the spring wild turkey season, the following permits are available for special hunts for military personnel:

- A. Camp Ripley Military Reservation is open to spring turkey hunting with an unlimited number of permits.
- B. For Arden Hills Army Training Site, within wild turkey permit area 510, up to an additional 20 permits shall be issued for each of time periods A and B. The Department of Military Affairs is the sponsoring organization.

EXPIRATION. The expedited emergency amendments to Minnesota Rules, part 6230.0200, expire December 31, 2016. Minnesota Rules, parts 6236.1060, subpart 2, and 6236.1075, expire July 1, 2016.

Official Notices

Pursuant to *Minnesota Statutes* §§ 14.101, an agency must first solicit comments from the public on the subject matter of a possible rulemaking proposal under active consideration within the agency by publishing a notice in the *State Register* at least 60 days before publication of a notice to adopt or a notice of hearing, and within 60 days of the effective date of any new statutory grant of required rulemaking.

The *State Register* also publishes other official notices of state agencies and non-state agencies, including notices of meetings and matters of public interest.

Minnesota Department of Agriculture

Plant Protection Division

Request for Participation in the Minnesota Industrial Hemp Development Act Pilot Program

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Minnesota Department of Agriculture (MDA) is requesting proposals for participation in a pilot program administered by the commissioner that will study the growth, cultivation or marketing of industrial hemp in the state. Industrial hemp is defined by *Minnesota Statutes, section* 18K.02, subdivision 3, as the plant *Cannabis sativa* L., and any part of the plant, whether growing or not, with a delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol concentration ("THC") of not more than 0.3 percent on a dry weight basis. Industrial hemp is not marijuana as defined in *Minnesota Statutes, section* 152.01, subdivision 9. From here on out, this document will be referred to as a "request for participation" (RFP) and responders will be referred to as "applicants".

Goal

It is the goal of this project that the governor, commissioner of agriculture, agricultural and manufacturing constituents, and Minnesota residents will learn more about the viability of a potential commercial industrial hemp industry in the state from research data collected through this pilot program.

Currently, there is no funding for this pilot program. Applicants will be responsible for all costs associated with participation. All applicants will be required to register their fields, storage locations, processing sites, etc. with the MDA and pay all registration and certification fees associated with the program. Applicants will also be required to adhere to all state and federal laws, pay for required testing, background checks or other regulatory processes governing the growth of industrial hemp, and provide sufficient security means to avoid diversion.

The pilot program is dependent on MDA's ability to maintain a Drug Enforcement Agency ("DEA") Schedule 1 Research Permit for Importation of *Cannabis sativa* L. Applicants should be aware of the federal regulations of *Cannabis sativa* prior to submitting a proposal. For more information regarding the federal Controlled Substances Act, please contact the Department of Justice at http://www.justice.gov/contact-us or the DEA's Chicago Division which oversees the State of Minnesota at http://www.dea.gov/divisions/contact.shtml. Applicants are also encouraged to consult with an attorney regarding any potential liabilities that could result from participation in this pilot program.

Project Terms

To successfully participate with the MDA Industrial Hemp Pilot Program, applicants must submit a proposal following the guidelines outlined in this RFP. Proposals will be accepted for research projects conducted in Minnesota only. Accepted research proposals under this pilot will be authorized for one year from the approval date. MDA will consider longer-term proposals; however, all applicants should be prepared to complete work described and provide the indicated deliverables to the MDA within a one-year period. Longer-term proposals, if approved, will be evaluated at the end of each year. If the applicant fails to meet proposed goals and deliverables during that period, MDA reserves the right to cancel any agreements with the applicant and terminate the research project.

This RFP does not obligate the state to approve or complete the proposed project, and the state reserves the right to cancel the solicitation if it is considered to be in its best interest. Applicants who have any questions regarding this request for participation may contact the MDA via email: **MDA.Hemp@state.mn.us**. Other personnel are not authorized to discuss this RFP with applicants. Contact regarding this RFP with any personnel not listed above could result in disqualification.

Proposal Content

Applicants must submit the following information:

1. A detailed outline of the proposed objectives, goals, and individual tasks that will be undertaken as part of the proposed research program. If the applicant intends to describe activities that will continue for more than a one-year period, a specific time-frame to complete objectives and tasks should be indicated.

Official Notices:

- 2. A description of the deliverables to be provided to the MDA by the applicant along with a detailed work plan that identifies the major tasks to be accomplished and be used as a scheduling and managing tool.
- 3. An outline of the applicant's background, qualifications and experience with examples of similar work done by the applicant and a list of personnel who will participate with the project, detailing their training, and work experience. Resumes or other information about project personnel should not, if possible, contain personal telephone numbers, home addresses or home email addresses. If it is necessary to include personal contact information, please clearly indicate in the proposal that personal contact information is being provided.
- 4. A recent criminal background check for all employees or participants assisting with the project, paid for by the applicant, administered through the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension "(MN BCA"). This is an ongoing responsibility for the applicant during the term of the proposal. Please visit the MN BCA website for more information on how to request a background check: https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/bca/pages/background-checks.aspx. You can also call the MN BCA at 651-793-2400. Applicants are expected to be truthful in fully disclosing any criminal background information to MDA. Any attempt by the applicant to hide, ignore, or deceive the MDA regarding criminal background information may result in MDA terminating the proposal and reporting to the proper state and federal authorities.
- 5. A statement and/or supporting documents that show strong financial support to ensure that the objectives and deliverables outlined in the proposal can be met. MDA is only seeking proposals from applicants who have the resources to realistically complete the proposed study. Applicants that cannot document their financial stability with regards to the proposed work may not be accepted.
- 6. A detailed description of seed varieties, their source country, and their compliance with the Association of Official Seed Certifying Agencies (AOSCA) standards.
 - 7. A full list of pesticides (insecticides, herbicides, fungicides, etc.) and fertilizers to be used in the project.
- 8. A detailed account of security measures for all aspects of the proposed research project. This should include, but not be limited to:
 - A. Seed accountability what chain of custody records will be kept for seed from importation to planting?
 - B. Field security how will the growing crop be protected so that outside parties are not able to divert *Cannabis?*
 - C. Storage security how will stored seed or plant parts be securely stored so that no diversion takes place?
- D. Destruction of seed or plant parts how will *Cannabis* be destroyed or processed so that THC is no longer expressed in any usable way?
- E. Diversion plan how will participants or outsiders that may engage in illegal activities during the course of the research project be dealt with?
- 9. Detailed maps of all study sites, storage locations, processing buildings, or any other property where work will be conducted, including the legal description for each property.
- 10. Letters of support from local law enforcement officials, in all of the regions you plan to conduct research (including the county sheriff and appropriate municipal law enforcement), stating that they are aware of the lands and facilities described in the proposal and are also in support of the proposed work. Applicants must also allow access at any reasonable time for MDA personnel and federal, state, county and municipal law enforcement officials to inspect any lands or facility where the proposed work will be performed.

Proposal Instructions

In order to be accepted for review, proposals should:

- 1) Include and address all of the requested content information;
- 2) Indicate who the primary contact person is (project leader) and include complete address; email and phone contact information;
 - 3) Be created in Microsoft Word, or as a PDF, and written in Times New Roman font, no smaller than 11 font size; and
 - 4) Be attached to an email as a Microsoft Word document or as a PDF (preferred) and sent to MDA.Hemp@state.mn.us.

Official Notices

Although it is preferred that proposals be sent to the MDA via an email attachment, if it is necessary to send a paper copy, please mail one copy of the proposal to the following address:

Plant Protection Division C/O Hemp Project RFP 625 Robert Street North. St. Paul, MN 55155

This RFP will be posted on the MDA website and available throughout the year. Submitted proposals will be reviewed and evaluated as received. All costs incurred in responding to this RFP will be borne by the applicant. Faxed responses will not be accepted or considered.

Proposal Evaluation

All responses received by the deadline will be evaluated by representatives of the MDA. Proposals will first be reviewed for responsiveness to determine if the mandatory requirements have been met. Proposals that fail to meet all of these requirements will not be accepted. The State reserves the right, based on the content of the proposals, to create a short-listing of applicants to interview with the MDA, or conduct further demonstrations/presentations. The state also reserves the right to seek the most qualified and experienced applicants from all proposal submissions.

Mandatory Requirements

The following will be considered on a pass/fail basis:

- 1. Proposals must be received on or before the due date and time specified in this solicitation.
- 2. Successful applicants will address all ten of the requested "Proposal Content" items completely. Any proposal that does not clearly address any of the ten items and provide sufficient detail and supporting data as required (either within the proposal or as an attachment) may be denied or the applicant may be contacted by the MDA to request more information. However, the MDA reserves the right to deny incomplete or unsatisfactory proposals.
 - 3. Proposals must provide clear objectives, goals and/or deliverables.
 - 4. Proposals must directly address the goal of the pilot project.
 - 5. Proposed activities are designed to be performed exclusively within the borders of Minnesota.
- 6. Proposals must provide sufficient evidence of having completed a Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension background check for the project leader and all other individuals working on the proposal.
 - 7. Proposal content must adhere to all state, federal or local laws pertaining to controlled substances.
 - 8. Law enforcement must support the proposed activities planned within their jurisdictions.

Applicants must agree to allow MDA officials access to their growing sites for random testing of plants throughout the growing season to ensure that Cannabis sativa growing at their study sites meets the legal definition of industrial hemp having <0.3% THC content. Field samples will be collected by MDA officials and sent to an approved laboratory for analysis. Successful applicants will be required to pay the costs involved with the collection of samples (MDA staff hourly rate and mileage) and laboratory analysis as part of the registration and certification fee to be determined by the commissioner as required by *Minnesota Statute* 18K.09. The specifics of plant sampling will be discussed and agreed upon between MDA and successful RFP applicants prior to the initiation of any project. Registration and certification fees will also be required to be paid up-front prior to beginning research work under the Pilot Program. Applicants will be required to submit to testing at any time when requested by local, state, or federal law enforcement officials. Refusal to submit to plant sampling will result in disqualification in the pilot program.

General Requirements

Proposal Contents: by submission of a proposal, the applicant warrants that the information provided is true, correct and reliable for purposes of evaluation for potential contract award. The submission of inaccurate or misleading information may be grounds for disqualification from consideration under the pilot program as well as subject the applicant to suspension or debarment proceedings as well as other remedies available by law.

Official Notices =

Disposition of Responses: all materials submitted in response to this RFP will become property of the State and will become public record in accordance with *Minnesota Statutes*, section 13.591, after the evaluation process is completed, unless made non-public or private by other law. Pursuant to the statute, completion of the evaluation process occurs when the government entity has completed a memorandum of understanding (MOU) with successful applicants. If the applicant submits information in response to this RFP that it believes to be trade secret materials, as defined by the Minnesota Government Data Practices Act, *Minnesota Statutes*, section 13.37, the applicant must:

- clearly mark all trade secret materials in its response at the time the response is submitted,
- include a statement with its response justifying the trade secret designation for each item, and
- defend any action seeking release of the materials it believes to be trade secret, and indemnify and hold harmless the State, its agents and employees, from any judgments or damages awarded against the State in favor of the party requesting the materials, and any and all costs connected with that defense. This indemnification survives the State's award of a contract. In submitting a response to this RFP, the applicant agrees that this indemnification survives as long as the trade secret materials are in possession of the State.

Minnesota Pollution Control Agency

Watershed Division

Notice of Availability and Request for Comment of the Draft Mustinka River Watershed Total Maximum Daily Load and Watershed Restoration and Protection Strategy

Notice of Availability and Request for Comment on the draft Mustinka River Watershed Restoration and Protection Strategy Report and Total Maximum Daily Load Study.

Public Comment Period Begins: March 28, 2016 Public Comment Period Ends: April 27, 2016

The Minnesota Pollution Control Agency (MPCA) is requesting comments on the draft Mustinka River Watershed Restoration and Protection Strategy (WRAPS) Report and Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDL) Study. The draft WRAPS report and TMDL study are available for review at: https://www.pca.state.mn.us/water/watersheds/mustinka-river.

Written comments, to the draft WRAPS report and TMDL study, must be sent to the MPCA contact person, listed below, by **4:30 PM on April 27, 2016**. The comments should indicate as to whether they are about the draft WRAPS report or the draft TMDL study, and identify the specific TMDL(s). The MPCA will prepare responses to comments received and revise the document(s) as necessary. Subsequent to the revisions, the draft TMDL study will be submitted to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) for final approval; the draft WRAPS report will be forwarded to the MPCA Commissioner for final approval.

Required by the state Clean Water Legacy Act, a WRAPS report is a document summarizing scientific studies of a major watershed. The WRAPS report includes the physical, chemical, and biological assessment of the water quality in the watershed; identification of impairments and water bodies needing protection; and identification of biotic stressors and sources of point and nonpoint pollution. The science, analysis, and strategy development described in this WRAPS report began before accountability provisions were added to the Clean Water Legacy Act in 2013 (MS114D); thus, this WRAPS report does not address all of those provisions. When this watershed is revisited (according to the 10-year assessment cycle), the information will be updated according to the statutorily required elements of a WRAPS report. The TMDL study explains the watershed's impairments and includes an implementation table with strategies to achieve and maintain water quality standards and goals.

The TMDL study addresses lake eutrophication (phosphorus), stream turbidity (total suspended solids), stream dissolved oxygen, stream fish/macroinvertebrate assessments, and stream bacteria. The TMDL study is a scientific study that calculates the maximum amount of a pollutant that a water body can receive (known as the "loading capacity") without exceeding water quality standards.

The Mustinka River Watershed is located in central western Minnesota and discharges into Traverse Lake, the headwater of the Bois de Sioux River and a tributary of the Red River of the North. The Mustinka River Watershed covers 2,275 km² (562,098 acres) in areas of Otter Tail, Grant, Stevens, Big Stone, and Traverse counties. The watershed has two distinct regions, the headwater region in the northeast characterized by steeper topography and many small lakes and wetlands, and the downstream agricultural region characterized by flat topography and cultivated cropland.

Official Notices

The Mustinka River Watershed Restoration and Protection Strategy Report and TMDL Study are being developed through a collaboration of state agencies and local watershed stakeholders.

Agency Contact Person: Written comments and requests for more information should be directed to:

Cary Hernandez
MPCA – Northwest Region
714 Lake Avenue
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota 56501
Telephone: 218-846-8124; 1-800-657-3864
Fax: 218-846-0719

Email: cary.hernandez@state.mn.us

Website: https://www.pca.state.mn.us/water/watersheds/mustinka-river TTY users may call the MPCA teletypewriter at 651-282-5332 or 1-800-657-3864.

Preliminary Determination on the draft WRAPS report and TMDL study: The MPCA Commissioner has made a preliminary determination to approve this WRAPS report and submit this TMDL study to the EPA for final approval. Suggested changes, to the draft report and study, will be considered before the documents are finalized and the TMDL study is sent to the EPA for final approval.

Written Comments: You may submit written comments on the draft WRAPS report and TMDL study findings or on the Commissioner's preliminary determination. Written comments must include the following:

- 1. A statement of your interest in the draft WRAPS report and/or TMDL study;
- 2. A statement of the action you wish the MPCA to take, including specific references to sections of the draft documents that you believe should be changed; and
- 3. The reasons supporting your position, stated with sufficient specificity as to allow the Commissioner to investigate the merits of your position.

Petition for Public Informational Meeting: You also may request that the MPCA Commissioner hold a public informational meeting. A public informational meeting is an informal meeting that may be held to solicit public comment and statements on matters before the MPCA, and help clarify parts of the document and resolve issues. A petition requesting a public informational meeting must include the following information:

- 1. A statement identifying the matter of concern;
- 2. The information required under items 1 through 3 of "Written Comments," identified above;
- 3. A statement of the reasons for holding a public informational meeting; and
- 4. The issues that you would like addressed at the public informational meeting.

Petition for Contested Case Hearing: You also may submit a petition for a contested case hearing. A contested case hearing is a formal hearing before an administrative law judge that provides evidence on issues requested to be change. In accordance with Minn. R. 7000.1900, the MPCA will grant a petition to hold a contested case hearing if it finds that: (1) there is a material issue of fact in dispute concerning the application or draft WRAPS report and/or TMDL study; (2) the MPCA has the jurisdiction to make a determination on the disputed material issue of fact; and (3) there is a reasonable basis underlying the disputed material issue of fact or facts such that the holding of the contested case hearing would allow the introduction of information that would aid the MPCA in resolving the disputed facts in making a final decision on the draft WRAPS report and/or TMDL study. A material issue of fact means a fact question, as distinguished from a policy question, whose resolution could have a direct bearing on a final MPCA decision. A petition for a contested case hearing must include the following information:

1. A statement of reasons or proposed findings supporting the MPCA decision to hold a contested case hearing according to the criteria in Minn. R. 7000.1900, as discussed above; and

Official Notices =

2. A statement of the issues proposed to be addressed by a contested case hearing and the specific relief requested or resolution of the matter.

In addition and to the extent known, a petition for a contested case hearing should also include the following information:

- 1. A proposed list of prospective witnesses to be called, including experts, with a brief description of proposed testimony or summary of evidence to be presented at a contested case hearing;
 - 2. A proposed list of publications, references, or studies to be introduced and relied upon at a contested case hearing; and
 - 3. An estimate of time required for you to present the matter at a contested case hearing.

MPCA Decision: The written comments, requests, and petitions submitted on or before the last day of the public comment period will be considered in the final decision on the draft WRAPS report and/or TMDL study. If the MPCA does not receive written comments, requests, or petitions during the public comment period, MPCA staff as authorized by the Commissioner, will make the final decisions on the draft WRAPS report and TMDL study.

Minnesota Teachers Retirement Association TRA Audit Committee Notice of Meeting

The Minnesota Teachers Retirement Association Audit Committee will hold a meeting on **Tuesday, April 12, 2016 at 1:00 p.m**. in Room 414, 60 Empire Drive, St. Paul, MN to consider matters which may properly come before the committee. Committee members may participate by telephone.

Minnesota Teachers Retirement Association Board of Trustees Notice of Meeting

The Board of Trustees, Minnesota Teachers Retirement Association will hold a meeting on **Wednesday, April 13, 2016 at 9:30 a.m.** in Suite 400, 60 Empire Drive, St. Paul, MN to consider matters which may properly come before the Board. Board members may participate by telephone.

Minnesota State Retirement System, Public Employees Retirement Association and Minnesota Teachers Retirement Association Facilities Management Committee Notice of Meeting

The Facilities Management Committee of the boards of the Minnesota State Retirement System, Public Employees Retirement Association and Minnesota Teachers Retirement Association will hold a meeting on **Thursday, April 14, 2016 at 1:00 p.m**. in Suite 400, 60 Empire Drive, St. Paul, MN to consider matters which may properly come before the Facilities Management Committee.

State Grants & Loans

In addition to requests by state agencies for technical/professional services (published in the State Contracts Section), the *State Register* also publishes notices about grants and loans available through any agency or branch of state government. Although some grant and loan programs specifically require printing in a statewide publication such as the State Register, there is no requirement for publication in the *State Register* itself. Agencies are encouraged to publish grant and loan notices, and to provide financial estimates as well as sufficient time for interested parties to respond.

SEE ALSO: Office of Grants Management (OGM) at: http://www.grants.state.mn.us/public/

Minnesota Department of Human Services

MNsure (Minnesota's Health Insurance Marketplace) Request for Proposals: Outreach and Education Grants

MNsure is requesting proposals from eligible entities to: find, connect with and educate uninsured Minnesotans about the importance of having health insurance and their options for obtaining coverage through MNsure; support specific outreach strategies for reaching the remaining uninsured and those who could benefit from the financial help only available through MNsure, with an emphasis on outreach activities during the open enrollment period; support the development of consumer education and assister training materials for population(s) of focus; connect consumers to enrollment assistance without requiring grantees to have enrollment capacity themselves; and elevate MNsure media and messaging within populations of focus through applicant-driven strategies and through implementation of MNsure's marketing and communications initiatives. A complete copy of the Request for Proposals will be available by **4:00 p.m. on March 28, 2016** on MNsure's website at:

https://www.mnsure.org/about-us/rfp-contract/

Proposals are due May 26, 2016 by 1:00 p.m. Applications must be completed using the online submission process described in the RFP and on the Outreach and Education Grant webpage. Questions regarding the RFP may be emailed to *outreach@mnsure.org*. Please see MNsure's website for more information.

Minnesota Department of Human Services

Disability Services Division on behalf of the State Quality Council Notice of Request for Proposals for Qualified Grantees to Establish and Operate Regional Quality Councils

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Minnesota Department of Human Services is requesting proposals from qualified responders to establish regional quality councils to provide technical assistance, monitor and improve the quality of services for people with disabilities, and monitor and improve person-centered outcomes and quality of life indicators for people with disabilities.

Work is proposed to start July 2016. For more information, or to obtain a copy of the Request for Proposal, contact:

Jennifer M. Strei

Department of Human Services
Disability Services Division
P.O. Box 64967

444 Lafayette Road North, St. Paul, MN 55155-0967
Phone: (651) 431-2400, Fax: (651) 431-7412

jennifer.m.strei@state.mn.us

This is the only person designated to answer questions by potential responders regarding this request.

Proposals submitted in response to this Request for Proposals must be received at the address above no later than **4:00 p.m.**, **Central Time**, **May 2, 2016**. **Late proposals will not be considered**. Faxed or e-mailed proposals will **not** be considered.

The RFP can be viewed by visiting the Minnesota Department of Human Services RFP web site: http://www.dhs.state.mn.us/id_000102

This request does not obligate the State to complete the work contemplated in this notice. The State reserves the right to cancel this solicitation. All expenses incurred in responding to this notice are solely the responsibility of the responder.

Informal Solicitations: Informal solicitations for professional/technical (consultant) contracts valued at over \$5,000 through \$50,000, may either be published in the *State Register* or posted on the Department of Administration, Materials Management Division's (MMD) Web site. Interested vendors are encouraged to monitor the P/T Contract Section of the MMD Website at *www.mmd.admin.state.mn.us* for informal solicitation announcements.

Formal Solicitations: Department of Administration procedures require that formal solicitations (announcements for contracts with an estimated value over \$50,000) for professional/technical contracts must be published in the *State Register*. Certain quasi-state agency and Minnesota State College and University institutions are exempt from these requirements.

Requirements: There are no statutes or rules requiring contracts to be advertised for any specific length of time, but the Materials Management Division strongly recommends meeting the following requirements: \$0 - \$5000 does not need to be advertised. Contact the Materials Management Division: (651) 296-2600 \$5,000 - \$25,000 should be advertised in the *State Register* for a period of at least seven calendar days; \$25,000 - \$50,000 should be advertised in the *State Register* for a period of at least 14 calendar days; and anything above \$50,000 should be advertised in the *State Register* for a minimum of at least 21 calendar days.

Minnesota Judicial Branch

State Court Administrator's Office

Request for Services to Provide Method for Claiming Direct Personnel Costs for Court Administration Processing Tasks Associated with IV-D Child Support Cases

The State of Minnesota, State Court Administrator's Office, Court Services Division is using a competitive selection process to select a vendor to provide a streamlined method for claiming direct personnel costs for court administration case processing tasks associated with IV-D child support cases for ten judicial districts and indirect costs for one central office. This methodology and calculation will result in a statewide IV-D reimbursement report(s) that identifies the reimbursement amount in compliance with Title IV-D of the Social Security Act (including 2 CFR Part 225 (OMB Circular A-87)) and all other applicable federal and state law. This is not a bid but a request for proposals that could become the basis for negotiations leading to a contract with a vendor. The State of Minnesota Judicial Branch has been completing and submitting a IV-D Cost Allocation Plan annually since 2009.

The request for proposals does not obligate the Minnesota Judicial Branch to award a contract or complete the project and the Minnesota Judicial Branch reserves the right to cancel the solicitation if it is considered to be in its best interest.

Interested vendors should visit the Judicial Branch website/Get Connected/

Public Notices at http://www.mncourts.gov/About-The-Courts/NewsAndAnnouncements.aspx?t=notice for detailed information.

Minnesota Judicial Branch

State Court Administrator's Office

Request for Court Interpreter Services and Psychiatric Psychological Examiner Services Work Order System

The State Court Administrator's Office of the Minnesota Judicial Branch (MJB), is using a competitive selection process to obtain a list of vendors capable of supplying, configuring and maintaining a work order system to be used for the management of court interpreter and psychiatric psychological examiner work.

The request for proposal does not obligate the MJB to award a contract or complete the project, and the MJB reserves the right to cancel the solicitation if it is considered to be in its best interest.

Interested party's submissions must be in writing and received by the MJB no later than **4:00 CST**, **April 25**th, **2016**. The sealed proposal must include three (3) paper copies and three (3) copies of a CD-ROM or flash drive containing the entire contents of the Response Package. Sent to the following address; no electronic submissions will be accepted:

Jessie Carlson
Program and Ancillary Services Manager
State Court Administrator's Office
25 Dr. Rev Martin Luther King Jr Blvd
St. Paul, MN 55115

A complete copy of the Request for Proposal may be found on the Minnesota Judicial Branch website (in the News and Announcements/Public Notices section) at www.mncourts.gov.

Minnesota State Colleges and Universities (MnSCU) South Central College Request for Bids for Hydraulic Shear

Notice is hereby given that sealed bids will be received by South Central College until **10:00 AM on Tuesday, April 12, 2016.** The bid opening will be held in Donna Sampson's office on the South Central College North Mankato campus.

Bids are to be for a quantity of 1, 2' - .375 hydraulic shear and must include the following standard and optional equipment. South Central College reserves the right to reject bids without the requested specifications.

Standard Equipment

- 36" Power Backgauge w/LED Readout
- 4' Squaring Arm w/Inlaid scale
- Power Adjust Variable Rake
- Hydraulic Self-Compensating Hold down Bar
- All Steel Construction
- Knives
- 208V electric motor 10 15 HP
- NEMA Electrics
- Disconnect Switch
- Hour Meter
- Light Beam Gauge
- All Hydraulic Fluids
- Manual Swing Backgauge

Optional Equipment

- NC Control 5 Station "Go To" Positioner
- One Shot Lube
- Neoprene Hold down Caps

Bid should include warranty, freight and shipping charges. Bid must be valid for 90 days after the bid opening date. Deliver of the shear and billing needs to be done before June 10, 2016.

Rids

Please address any questions to Donna Sampson, 1920 Lee Blvd, North Mankato, MN 56003; (507) 389-7287; or at *donna.sampson@southcentral.edu*. Securely seal the bid & endorse upon the outside of the envelope "Bid for Hydraulic Shear."

Mail sealed bids to:
Donna Sampson
South Central College
1920 Lee Blvd
North Mankato, MN 56003

Colleges and Universities, Minnesota State (MnSCU)

Bemidji State University

Notice of Request for Proposals for Student Retention and Completion Services

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that Bemidji State University will receive sealed proposals for Student Retention and Completion Services. Specifications will be available March 28, 2016, at the following website: http://www.bemidjistate.edu/offices/procurement logistics/rfps bids/

Instructions for delivering proposals, as well as all other requirements and contact information, will be contained in the RFP to be posted at the above website.

Sealed proposals must be received by Rebecca Wilkinson, Procurement and Contracts Officer, Bemidji State University, Deputy 204, Box 8, 1500 Birchmont Drive NE, Bemidji, MN 56601, by 2:00 PM Central Time, Wednesday, April 13, 2016. Late proposals will not be considered.

Bemidji State University reserves the right to reject any or all proposals and to waive any irregularities or informalities in proposals received. This Request for Proposal does not obligate the University to complete a proposed contract, and the University reserves the right to cancel the solicitation if it is considered to be in its best interest.

Colleges and Universities, Minnesota State (MnSCU)

St. Cloud State University

Request for Bids for Holes Hall Demolition

Sealed Bids for: **Holes Hall Demolition**

St. Cloud State University

St. Cloud, MN

Will be received by: Lisa Sparks

> St. Cloud State University **Purchasing Department** 720 4th Avenue South, AS 123

St. Cloud, MN 56301

Until 3:00 PM, local time, April 20, 2016 at which time the bids will be opened and publicly read aloud.

Project Scope: Work includes disconnecting services and utilities to Holes Hall and the demolition of Holes Hall and removal of debris from the site. The utility tunnel to this building is to be capped and waterproofed. The excavation from the building is to be filled in for green space on campus. Work will include Mechanical and Electrical work.

A Mandatory Pre-Bid Meeting will be held at 2:00 pm April 12, 2016, in Lobby of Holes Hall, St. Cloud State University. The Architect and University Representatives will review the bidding procedures, Bidding Documents and other conditions with interested Bidders and answer questions.

Bidding Documents are as prepared by the Project Architect/Engineer of Record; Widseth Smith Nolting and Associates 3777 40th Avenue NW, Suite 200 Rochester, MN 55901.

Interested parties may view the Bidding Documents at no cost on the website:

http://www.finance.mnscu.edu/facilities/design-construction/announcements/index.html and then click on "Advertisement for Bids (E-Plan Room)". Bidding Documents can be downloaded for a non-refundable charge of \$10.00. Planholders are parties that have downloaded the Drawings and specifications. Planholders will be notified via email as addenda are issued. Parties that download the Drawings and specifications and need to have them printed elsewhere are solely responsible for those printing costs. The sales of paper copies for projects listed on this site are not available. Contact QuestCDN.com at 952-233-1632 or *info@questcdn.com* for assistance in viewing or downloading with this digital project information.

Colleges and Universities, Minnesota State (MnSCU)

Minnesota State University Moorhead

Notice of Request for Proposals for Cable Television and Internet Services

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the State of Minnesota, acting through its Board of Trustees of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities, on behalf of Minnesota State University Moorhead (MSUM), is soliciting statements of qualifications from interested, qualified cable television and internet service providers, and intends to retain a firm to provide such services in campus residence halls and other designated campus locations.

A full Request for Proposals is available on the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities website, http://www.finance.mnscu.edu/facilties/design-construction/announcements/index.html. A site visit is scheduled for 9:00am CST on April 1, 2016 in 203 Livingston Lord Library, located on the Minnesota State University Moorhead campus, 1104 7th Avenue South, Moorhead, MN 56563. To sign up, or to ask project questions, contact Heather Phillips, Director of Housing and Residential Life, at phillipshe@mnstate.edu.

Proposals must be delivered to Heather Phillips, Housing and Residential Life, 120 Ballard Hall, 1104 7th Avenue South, Minnesota State University Moorhead, Moorhead, MN 56563, not later than **3:00pm CST April 15, 2016**. Late responses will not be considered.

Minnesota State Colleges and Universities is not obligated to complete the proposed project and reserves the right to cancel the solicitation if it is considered to be in its best interest.

Minnesota State Colleges and Universities (MnSCU)

Campus Service Cooperative

Notice of Request for Proposals for Bookstore Point-of-Sale/ECommerce/Inventory/Accounting System

Notice is hereby given that the State of Minnesota, acting through its Board of Trustees of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities, on behalf of its member institutions, is soliciting proposals from qualified vendors for a system to manage point-of-sale, eCommerce, inventory and accounting processes in our institution bookstores.

The Request for Proposal will be available at the following URL: http://www.csc.mnscu.edu/sourcing/RFP.html

Contact for all questions and information is *michael.noble-olson@so.mnscu.edu*. Submit all questions in writing by Monday March 28, 2016 at 3:00 p.m. CDT.

All proposals must be received **no later than Tuesday, April 12, 2016 at 3:00 p.m. CDT** at MnSCU System Office, 30 7th St. East, Suite 350, St. Paul, MN 55101 (Attn: Michael Noble-Olson).

Minnesota State Colleges and Universities reserves the right to reject any or all proposals, to waive any irregularities or informalities in proposals received, and to cancel the solicitation if it is considered to be in its own best interest. This Request for Proposal does not obligate the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities to award a contract.

State of Minnesota Department of Administration

Notice of Availability of Request for Proposal (RFP) for Designer Selection for: Academic Health Center – Health Sciences Education & Learning Center – University of Minnesota, Twin Cities (State Designer Selection Board Project No. 16-03)

The State of Minnesota, Department of Administration is soliciting proposals from interested, qualified consultants for architectural and engineering design services for the above referenced project.

A full Request for Proposals is available on the Minnesota Department of Administration's website at *http://mn.gov/admin/government/construction-projects/sdsb/sdsb-projects.jsp* (click 16-03).

A <u>mandatory</u> informational meeting will be held on <u>Monday, April 4, 2016</u> at <u>10:00 AM</u> CT at the <u>Moos Tower (515 Delaware Street SE, Minneapolis, MN 55455) Room 5-125</u>. The meeting will include a tour of the proposed project areas and a review of the scope of work.

Any questions should be directed to <u>Amanda Aspenson</u> at *aspenson@umn.edu*. Project questions will be taken by this individual only. Questions regarding this RFP must be received by **Thursday, April 7, 2016 by 12:00 noon** Central Time.

Proposals must be delivered to Charlye McMillan, Executive Secretary, State Designer Selection Board, Real Estate and Construction Services, Room 309, Administration Building, 50 Sherburne Ave., St. Paul, MN 55155 not later than **12:00 noon on Monday, April 18, 2016**. Late responses will not be considered.

The University of Minnesota is not obligated to complete the proposed project and reserves the right to cancel the solicitation if it is considered to be in its best interest.

Minnesota Teachers Retirement Association

Board of Trustees

Request for Proposal Actuarial Consulting Services

Minnesota Statutes, Section 354.06, subd. 2a, clause (6) provides for the Teachers Retirement Association (TRA) Board of Trustees to contract with an approved actuary to provide actuarial consulting services. The actuarial contract is for the period July 1, 2016 through June 30, 2019. The contract may be extended beyond the three-year period with one, two-year extension, at a price and terms mutually agreed upon by both parties.

All work performed under this contract must conform to the provisions of Minnesota Statutes 2015, Chapter 356, as amended, and Standards of Actuarial Work, adopted by the Minnesota Legislative Commission on Pensions and Retirement. Special note should be made of Minnesota Statutes, Section 356.215, subd. 1, clause (2) which defines the qualification requirements of an "approved actuary."

The primary deliverable under the contract is to review, analyze, and prepare the actuarial valuations and experience study reports required by Minnesota Statutes Chapter 356. The actuarial consultant must also perform an actuarial valuation report in accordance with Governmental Accounting Standards Board (GASB) Statements 67-68. Additional duties include providing consulting and advisory services to the TRA Board of Trustees on technical and actuarial issues and providing actuarial cost estimates for potential plan provision changes.

Detailed requirements for responding to this Request for Proposal (RFP) are posted on the TRA web site (*www.minnesotatra.org*) or may be requested by calling, emailing or writing:

John Wicklund, Assistant Executive Director-Administration Minnesota Teachers Retirement Association 60 Empire Drive, Suite 400 Saint Paul, MN 55103-4000 Phone: (651) 296-8051

Email: jwicklund@minnesotatra.org

The cost of the preparation and presentation associated with the response to this "Request for Proposal" is the responsibility of the responding firm. Finalists may be asked to appear at an interview in St. Paul, Minnesota before the Actuarial RFP Subcommittee on Wed. May 25, 2016. The Board of Trustees will reimburse none of the costs associated with this presentation.

All proposals must be received by Friday April 29, 2016 by 2:30 p.m. Central Daylight Time by:

Carol Diedrich, Executive Assistant Minnesota Teachers Retirement Association 60 Empire Drive, Suite 400 Saint Paul, MN 55103-4000

The Actuarial RFP Subcommittee of the Minnesota Teachers Retirement Association will evaluate all proposals received by the deadline. Action on this RFP is expected to be completed by June 15, 2016.

Minnesota State Lottery

Request for Proposals for Sponsorship Agreements

Description of Opportunity

The Minnesota State Lottery develops sponsorship agreements throughout the year with organizations, events, and sports teams to create excitement for lottery players, to interest new players and increase the visibility of lottery games. The Lottery encourages and continually seeks new sponsorship agreements to help achieve current Lottery marketing goals.

Proposal Content

A sponsorship proposal presented to the Lottery should meet the following three criteria:

- 1. Maximize Lottery Visibility the event, sports or tie-in proposal should draw a large number of desired participants (typically 50,000 or more) whose demographics match the Lottery player profile. The Lottery is interested in effectively delivering its message of fun and entertainment to Minnesota adults whose demographics skew primarily towards those aged 25-64, with a household income of \$35,000-\$75,000, and having an educational background of some college or higher. The Lottery does not market to those under the age of 18, and family events with high levels of children present are generally not accepted. Attendance, on-site signage visibility and paid media exposure will be critical components that will be evaluated.
- **2. Enhance Lottery Image** the event, sports or tie-in proposal should inherently project the attitude that the Lottery is a fun and socially acceptable part of the community. The Lottery's presence should fit well within the lineup of other sponsors. The Lottery is interested in creating opportunities whereby the sponsorship can translate into sales revenue, either via on-site sales from a Lottery booth, from sales-generating promotions with Lottery retailers or from joint programs with the sponsor's media partners.
- **3. Provide Promotional Extensions** the event, sports or tie-in proposal should offer exciting, value-added ways to interact with our players and have opportunities to motivate attendees, listeners and viewers to participate in and purchase Lottery games. The proposal must include proper staffing availability or other considerations to help the Lottery implement any appropriate promotional extension ideas.

Proposals should address all pertinent elements of the sponsorship and how the Lottery criteria as stated above and on the Evaluation Form are to be met. To view or print copies of the Request for Proposal go to http://www.mnlottery.com/vendorops.html

This Solicitation does not obligate the state to award a contract or pursue a proposed sponsorship opportunity, and the state reserves the right to cancel the solicitation if it is considered to be in its best interest.

Questions

Questions concerning this Solicitation should be directed to:

Jason LaFrenz, Marketing Director Minnesota State Lottery 2645 Long Lake Road Roseville, MN 55113 **Telephone:** (651) 635-8230

Toll-free: 1-888-568-8379 ext. 230 **Fax:** (651) 297-7496 **TTY:** (651) 635-8268

E-mail: jasonla@mnlottery.com

Other personnel are not authorized to answer questions regarding this Solicitation.

Response Delivery

All responses must be in writing and delivered to the contact noted above. Proposals will be accepted on an ongoing basis.

Minnesota Department of Transportation (Mn/DOT)

Engineering Services Division

Notice of Potential Availability of Contracting Opportunities for a Variety of Highway Related Technical Activities ("Consultant Pre-Qualification Program")

This document is available in alternative formats for persons with disabilities by calling Kelly Arneson at (651) 366-4774; for persons who are hearing or speech impaired by calling Minnesota Relay Service at (800) 627-3529.

Mn/DOT, worked in conjunction with the Consultant Reform Committee, the American Council of Engineering Companies of Minnesota (ACEC/MN), and the Department of Administration, to develop the Consultant Pre-Qualification Program as a new method of consultant selection. The ultimate goal of the Pre-Qualification Program is to streamline the process of contracting for highway related professional/technical services. Mn/DOT awards most of its consultant contracts for highway-related technical activities using this method, however, Mn/DOT also reserves the right to use Request for Proposal (RFP) or other selection processes for particular projects.

Nothing in this solicitation requires Mn/DOT to use the Consultant Pre-Qualification Program.

Mn/DOT is currently requesting applications from consultants. Refer to Mn/DOT's Consultant Services web site, indicated below, to expenses are incurred in responding to this notice will be borne by the responder. Response to this notice becomes public information under the Minnesota Government Data Practices.

Consultant Pre-Qualification Program information, application requirements and applications forms are available on Mn/DOT's Consultant Services web site at: http://www.dot.state.mn.us/consult.

Send completed application material to:

Kelly Arneson Consultant Services Office of Technical Support Minnesota Department of Transportation 395 John Ireland Blvd. - Mail Stop 680 St. Paul, MN 55155

Minnesota Department of Transportation (Mn/DOT)

Engineering Services Division

Notice Concerning Professional/Technical Contract Opportunities and Taxpayers' Transportation Accountability Act Notices

NOTICE TO ALL: The Minnesota Department of Transportation (Mn/DOT) is now placing additional public notices for professional/technical contract opportunities on Mn/DOT's Consultant Services **website** at: **www.dot.state.mn.us/consult**

New Public notices may be added to the website on a daily basis and be available for the time period as indicated within the public notice. Mn/DOT is also posting notices as required by the Taxpayers' Transportation Accountability Act on the above referenced website.

Non-State Public Bids, Contracts & Grants

The State Register also serves as a central marketplace for contracts let out on bid by the public sector. The *State Register* meets state and federal guidelines for statewide circulation of public notices. Any tax-supported institution or government jurisdiction may advertise contracts and requests for proposals from the private sector. It is recommended that contracts and RFPs include the following: 1) name of contact person; 2) institution name, address, and telephone number; 3) brief description of commodity, project or tasks; 4) cost estimate; and 5) final submission date of completed contract proposal. Allow at least three weeks from publication date (four weeks from the date article is submitted for publication). Surveys show that subscribers are interested in hearing about contracts for estimates as low as \$1,000. Contact editor for further details.

Besides the following listing, readers are advised to check: http://www.mmd.admin.state.mn.us/solicitations.htm as well as the Office of Grants Management (OGM) at: http://www.grants.state.mn.us/public/.

Metropolitan Airports Commission (MAC)

Call for Bids for Terminal 1-Lindbergh PBB Replacement

Project Location: Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport

Project Name: 2016 Terminal 1-Lindbergh PBB Replacement - Phase 2

MAC Contract No. 106-2-808

Bids Close At: 2:00 PM on April 12, 2016

Notice to Contractors: Sealed Bid Proposals for the project listed above will be received by the MAC, a public corporation, at the office thereof located at 6040 28th Avenue South, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55450, until the date and hour indicated. This project provides for the replacement of three (3) passenger boarding bridges, new boarding bridge fixed walkways, and all associated controls, equipment, accessories, and foundations. Building architectural and structural modifications are also included in the project, as well as mechanical and electrical improvements. Security cameras and boarding door card readers to conform with the current MAC design standards are also included in this project. Site work includes concrete removal and restoration, pavement marking, and fuel pit relocation.

Note: You can sign up on our Web site (www.metroairports.org) to receive email notifications of new business opportunities or go directly to *https://public.govdelivery.com/accounts/MNORGMAC/subscriber/topics?qsp=CODE_RED* and choose this and other topics about which you are interested.

Targeted Group Businesses (TGBs): The goal of the MAC for the utilization of TGBs on this project is 5%.

Bid Security: Each bid shall be accompanied by a "Bid-Security" in the form of a certified check made payable to the MAC in the amount of not less than five percent (5%) of the total bid, or a surety bond in the same amount, running to the MAC, with the surety company thereon duly authorized to do business in the State of Minnesota.

Availability of Bidding Documents

Bidding documents are on file for inspection at the office of TKDA, the Minnesota Builders Exchange, Dodge Data and Analytics, and NAMC-UM Plan Room. Bidders desiring bidding documents may secure a complete set from: TKDA; 444 Cedar Street, Suite 1500; St. Paul, MN 55101; PH: (651) 292-4400; FX: (651) 292-0083. Make checks payable to: TKDA.. Deposit per set (refundable): \$100.00. Requests for mailing sets will be invoiced for mailing charges. Deposit will be refunded upon return of bidding documents in good condition within 10 days of opening of bids.

MAC Internet Access of Additional Information: A comprehensive Notice of Call for Bids for this project will be available on March 28, 2016, at MAC's web address of

http://www.metroairports.org/Airport-Authority/Business-Opportunities/Solicitations.aspx (construction bids).

Non-State Public Bids, Contracts & Grants =

Metropolitan Airports Commission (MAC)

Call for Bids for Terminal 1-Lindbergh Tram System Upgrades

Airport Location: Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport

Project Name: 2016 Terminal 1-Lindbergh Tram System Upgrades (P2)

MAC Contract No.: 106-2-784

Bids Close At: 2:00 p.m. Tuesday, April 12, 2016

Notice to Contractors: Sealed Bid Proposals for the project listed above will be received by the MAC, a public corporation, at the office thereof located at 6040-28th Avenue South, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55450, until the date and hour indicated. This project is located at the hub core tram and concourse tram locations at Terminal 1-Lindbergh of the Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport. The scope of the work includes installing electrical distribution gear that will serve the existing hub core tram system. Work also includes substructure cleaning and sealing, as well as superstructure scraping and painting at the concourse tram structure.

Note: You can sign up on our Web site (www.metroairports.org) to receive email notifications of new business opportunities or go directly to https://public.govdelivery.com/accounts/MNORGMAC/subscriber/topics?gsp-CODE_RED and choose this and other topics about which you are interested.

Targeted Group Businesses (TGBs): The goal of the MAC for the utilization of TGBs on this project is 5%.

Bid Security: Each bid shall be accompanied by a "Bid Security" in the form of a certified check made payable to the MAC in the amount of not less than five percent (5%) of the total bid, or a surety bond in the same amount, running to the MAC, with the surety company thereon duly authorized to do business in the State of Minnesota.

Availability of Bidding Documents: Bidding documents are on file for inspection at the office of Michaud Cooley Erickson; at the Minnesota Builders Exchange; Dodge Data and Analytics; and NAMC-UM Plan Room. Bidders desiring bidding documents may secure a complete set from: Franz Reprographics; 2781 Freeway Boulevard, Suite 100; Brooklyn Center, MN 55430; PH: 763.503.3401; FX: 763.503.3409. Make checks payable to: Michaud Cooley Erickson. Deposit per set (refundable): \$100. Requests for mailing sets will be invoiced for mailing charges. Deposit will be refunded upon return of bidding documents in good condition within 10 days of opening of bids.

MAC Internet Access of Additional Information: A comprehensive Notice of Call for Bids for this project will be available on March 28, 2016, at MAC's web address of

http://www.metroairports.org/Airport-Authority/Business-Opportunities/Solicitations.aspx (construction bids).