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EXECUTIVE ORDERS

Executive Order No. 80-5
Amending Executive Order No. 79-1

I, ALBERT H. QUIE, GOVERNOR OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA, by virtue of the authority
vested in me by the Constitution of the State of Minnesota and applicable statutes, do hereby issue this
Executive Order amending Executive Order 79-1:

WHEREAS, Executive Order No. 79-1, providing for the establishment of the Governor’s Committee
on Appointments was issued on February 20, 1979; and

WHEREAS, it is desirable to have the chairperson or co-chairpersons who serve as coordinators of the
committee be voting members of the Committee and receive reimbursement for expenses reasonably
incurred;

NOW, THEREFORE, I Order:

That Section 2 of the Executive Order No. 79-1 be amended to read as follows:

‘2. That there be a chairperson or co-chairpersons selected by the Governor from among the members
of the Committee who shall serve as coordinators of the Committee.”’

Pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 4.035 (1978), this Order shall be effective fifteen (15) days after filing with the
Secretary of State and its publication in the State Register and shall remain in effect until it is rescinded by
proper authority or expires in accordance with Minn. Stat. §§ 4.034 or 15.0593.

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand this 30th day of April, 1980.

(D24e? H Do
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PROPOSED RULES

Pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 15.0412, subd. 4, agencies must hold public
hearings on proposed new rules and/or proposed amendment of existing
rules. Notice of intent to hold a hearing must be published in the State
Register at least 30 days prior to the date set for the hearing, along with
the full text of the proposed new rule or amendment. The agency shall
make at least one free copy of a proposed rule available to any person
requesting it.

Pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 15.0412, subd. 5, when a statute, federal
law or court order to adopt, suspend or repeal a rule does not allow time
for the usual rulemaking process, temporary rules may be proposed.
Proposed temporary rules are published in the State Register, and for at
least 20 days thereafter, interested persons may submit data and views
in writing to the proposing agency.

Public Hearings on Proposed
Agency Rules
May 26-31, 1980

Agency and Time &
Date Rule Matter Place
May 29 Transportation Department 10:00 a.m.,
Amendment of Rules on Public Transit Rm. 81,

Subsidy, Paratransit Grant Program, State Office
Regular Route Transit Improvement Bldg.,
Program, Financial Application for 435 Park Street
Subsidy & Grant Assistance; and New  St. Paul, MN
Rules on Uniform Performance
Standards, Metro Transit Taxing
District, & Public Transit Capital
Grant Assistance Program

Hearing Examiner: Richard DeLong

Board of Dentistry

Proposed Amendments to Rules
Relating to Applications for
Licensure, Fees, Licensure by
Credentials, Auxiliary Personnel
Services, Advertising and
Classification, and Reorganization
of Existing Rules

Notice Of Hearing

A public hearing concerning the proposed amendments to the
rules captioned-above will be held in Room 105, Minnesota
Department of Health Building, 717 Delaware Street Southeast,
Minneapolis, Minnesota 55414, on June 26, 1980, commencing
at 9:30 a.m. The proposed rules may be modified as a result of
the hearing process. Therefore, if you are affected in any man-
ner by the proposed rules you are urged to participate in the rule
hearing process.

Following the agency’s presentation at the hearing, all inter-
ested or affected persons will have an opportunity to ask ques-
tions and make comments. Statements may be made orally and
written material may be submitted. In addition, whether or not
an appearance is made at the hearing, written statements or
material may be submitted to Jon Lunde, Hearing Examiner,
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Room 300, 1745 University Avenue, St. Paul, Minnesota
55104, Telephone number: (612) 296-5938, either before the
hearing or within five working days after the close of the
hearing. The hearing examiner may, at the hearing, order that
the record be kept open for a longer period not to exceed 20
calendar days. All such statements will be entered into and
become part of the record. For those wishing to submit written
statements or exhibits, it is requested that at least two (2) copies
be furnished. In addition, it is suggested, to save time and avoid
duplication, that those persons, organizations, or associations
having a common viewpoint or interest in these proceedings join
together where possible and present a single statement in behalf
of such interests. The rule hearing procedure is governed by
Minn. Stat. §§ 15.0411, 15.0417, and 15.052, and by 9 MCAR
§82.010-2.112 (Minnesota Code of Agency Rules). If you have
any questions about the procedure, call or write the Hearing
Examiner.

If adopted, the proposed amendments would make the fol-
lowing changes:

I. An amendment to 7 MCAR § 3.005 would permit the
board to set licensure fees below, but not above, the fees already
established by rule.

2. Anamendmentto7 MCAR § 3.011 E. would carry out the
provisions of Minn. Stat. § 150A.06, subd. 1 (1978) by requir-
ing graduates of nonaccredited dental schools who are seeking
licensure to pass a clinical examination prior to taking the
National Board examination.

3. Amendments to 7 MCAR § 3.014 would carry out the
provisions of Minn. Stat. § 150A.06, subd. 4 (1978) which
authorizes the board to grant licensure to dentists and dental
hygienists who are already licensed in other states or Canada.
The proposed rule specifies the procedures and requirements for
licensure.

4. An amendment to 7 MCAR § 3.015 would update the
present rule and would carry out the provisions of Minn. Stat. §
150A.09, subd. 1 (1978) which requires annual registration of
all registered dental assistants.

5. Amendments to 7 MCAR §§ 3.031, 3.032 A. and 3.034
would carry out the provisions of Minn. Stat. § 150A.10, subd.
2 (1978) which authorized the board to specify what functions
dentists may delegate to registered and nonregistered assistants.
The proposed rule would allow an assistant to monitor a patient
who has been given nitrous oxide anesthesia by a dentist. It
would allow registered dental assistants to remove rubber dams
and place peridontal packs. The proposed rule would also allow
dental hygienists to place any sealants, not just cement, for the
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PROPOSED RULES

temporary replacement of restorations and to administer local
anesthesia under the direct supervision of a dentist.

6. An amendment to 7 MCAR § 3.032 B. would clarify the
intent of the Board at the time the rule was adopted to allow
qualified persons in allied health fields, such as X ray techni-
cians, to take dental radiographs.

7. An amendment to 7 MCAR § 3.044 would permit the use
of the words clinic or institute, except when used with the name
of a state, city, or political subdivision. It would prohibit the use
of specific adjectives which would create false expectations of
favorable results.

8. Amendments to 7 MCAR § 3.045 would carry out the
provisions of Minn. Stat. § 150A.11, subd. 2 (1978) permitting
the board to establish rules for professional advertising and
would conform to the US Supreme Court decision allowing
professional advertising. The proposed rule establishes limita-
tions on advertising, services that can be advertised, the criteria
that will be used to define these services, and what types of
advertising would violate this rule.

9. Anamendment to 7 MCAR § 3.0451 would identify all of
the recognized specialty areas in dentistry and the specialty
credentialling bodies. The rule would prohibit any dentist from
using the term specialist unless the dentist has met the education
and experience criteria provided by the amendment.

10. An amendment to 7 MCAR § 3.063 would remove the
restrictions on the use of such words as ‘‘chartered’’ and would
instead require that the use of these terms conform to the provi-
sions of Minn. Stat. § 319A.07 (1978), the Professional Corpo-
rations Act.

Copies of the proposed amendments are now available and at
least one free copy may be obtained by writing to Dale Forseth,
Minnesota Board of Dentistry, 717 Delaware Street Southeast,
Minneapolis, Minnesota 55414. Additional copies will be avail-
able at the door on the date of the hearing.

Twenty-five (25) days prior to the hearing, a Statement of
Need and Reasonableness will be available for review at the
agency and at the Office of Hearing Examiners. This Statement
of Need and Reasonableness will include all of the evidence
which the agency intends to present at the hearing to justify both
the need for and the reasonableness of the proposed rule. How-
ever, additional evidence may be submitted in response to
questions raised by interested persons. You are therefore urged
to both review the Statement of Need and Reasonableness be-
fore the hearing and to attend the hearing. Copies of the State-
ment of Need and Reasonableness may be obtained from the
Office of Hearing Examiners at a minimal charge.

The statutory authority of the Board of Dentistry to adopt
these rules is contained in Minn. Stat. §§ 150A.04 subd. 5
(1978).

Any person may request notification of the date on which the
hearing examiner’s report will be available, after which date the
agency may not take any final action on the rules for a period of
five working days. Any person may request notification of the
date on which the hearing record has been submitted or resub-
mitted to the Attorney General by the agency. If you desire to be
so notified, you may so indicate at the hearing. After the hear-
ing, you may request notification by sending a written request to
the hearing examiner, in the case of the hearing examiner’s
report, or to the agency, in the case of the agency’s submission
or resubmission to the Attorney General.

Minn. Stat. ch. 10A requires each lobbyist to register with the
State Ethical Practices Board within five days after he or she
commences lobbying. A lobbyist is defined in Minn. Stat. §
10A.01, subd. 11 (Supp. 1979) as any individual:

(a) Engaged for pay or other consideration, or authorized by
another individual or association to spend money, who spends
more than five hours in any month or more than $250, not
including his own travel expenses and membership dues, in any
year, for the purpose of attempting to influence legislative or
administrative action by communicating or urging others to
communicate with public officials; or

(b) Who spends more than $250, not including his own
traveling expenses and membership dues, in any year for the
purpose of attempting to influence legislative or administrative
action by communicating or urging others to communicate with
public officials.

The statute provides certain exceptions. Questions should
be directed to the Ethical Practices Board, 41 State Office
Building, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155, Telephone Number:
(612) 296-5615.

May 5, 1980

Dale J. Forseth
Executive Secretary

Amendments as Proposed

7 MCAR § 3.002 Definitions.

D. ‘‘Auxiliary’’ means a dental hygienist, registered dental
assistant, and assistant, and dental technician.

0. “‘Person’’ includes an individual, corporation, partner-
ship, association or any other legal entity.

P.O- ‘‘Registered dental assistant’’ means an assistant regis-
tered by the board pursuant to § +58A-+6 150A.06, subd. 2a of
the Act.

Q.P- ‘‘Registrant’ means a registered dental assistant.

R.Q: ‘‘Registry’’ means the centralized recordkeeping serv-
ice of the, American Dental Association, Continuing Education
Registry.

KEY: RULES SECTION — Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike—euts indicate deletions from
proposed rule language. PROPOSED RULES SECTION — Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. Strike

euts indicate deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated *‘all new material.”

(CITE 4 S.R. 1799)
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PROPOSED RULES

SR *‘Sponsor’’ means an organization approved by the
board pursuant to § 3.052 to offer CDE courses.

T.S- “*Supervision’’ shall be defined in one of the following
classifications:

7 MCAR § 3.004 Officers. The officers of the board shall
consist of a President, a Vice-President, and a Secretary-
Treasurer, as provided in § 150A.03, subd. 1, of the Act.
Election of officers may be held at any regular or special
meeting.

7 MCAR § 3.005 Fees.

B. Annual license or registration fees. Each dentist, dental
hygienist and registered dental assistant shall submit with his
annual license or registration renewal application a fee as estab-
lished by the Board not to exceed i the following amounts:

1. Dentist—$38.00
2. Dental hygienist—$15.00.
3. Registered dental assistant—$10.00.
7 MCAR § 3.011 Applications to practice dentistry.

C. The applicant must furnish certification of having passed
all parts of the a national board examination as defined in Rule 7
MCAR § 3.002 N.

E. 3. Aftersuccessful completion of steps 1 and 2, the beard

examination- applicant must complete such pre-clinical and
clinical testing procedures at the School of Dentistry, University
of Minnesota, or its equivalent, as the board may approve, to
determine whether the applicant has the clinical proficiency in
dentistry comparable to that of a student who has graduated from
the University of Minnesota, School of Dentistry.

4. Only after successful compietion of steps 1, 2, and 3

however, the board may in its discretion and for good cause
waive the certification of good meral professional character by
an authorized representative of the dental school.

7 MCAR § 3.012 Application to practice dental hygiene.

B. Applicants must furnish certification that they have
passed the National Board Examination as defined in 7 MCAR §
3.002N.

F. The applicant shall furnish evidence of good merat profes-
sional character satisfactory to the Board and certification from
the Board Of Dental Examiners in the state or Canadian Prov-
ince in which he is already licensed.

7 MCAR § 3.013 Application for registration as a regis-
tered dental assistant.

B. The applicant shall furnish a certified copy or its equiva-
lent of a diploma or certificate of satisfactory completion of a
training program approved by the Commission on Accreditation
or other program which, in the judgment of the board, is equiva-
lent. If the curriculum of the training program does not include
training in the expanded duties specified in BE-34-and 32-A- 7
MCAR § 3.032 A., applicant must successfully complete a

course in these functions which has been approved by the board.

7MCAR § 3.014 Application for licensure by credentials.

Any person, who is already a licensed dentist or dental

hygienist in another state or Canadian Province desiring to be
licensed to practice dentistry or dental hygiene in Minnesota,
must present to the board an application and credentials, as
prescribed by the Act. The applicant shall conform to the

will the board certify the applicant’s eligibility to take a national
board examination as defined in 7 MCAR § 3.002 N.

5. Only Bupon completion of the first four steps may
the applicant say make application to the board to take the
examination for licensure.

G. The applicant shall furnish a testimonial of good mesal
professional character from an authorized representative of the
dental school from which the applicant graduated—he-is—a

tety; and a certifica-
tion by the secretary of the Board of Dental Examiners of the
state or Canadian Province in which he is licensed. Provided,
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following rules of the board:

A. The applicant shall complete an application and credential
verification questionnaire on forms furnished by the board.

B. The applicant shall furnish satisfactory evidence of hav-
ing graduated from a school of dentistry, or dental hygiene,
whichever the case may be, which has been accredited by the
Commission on Accreditation.

C. An applicant for licensure as a dentists must have been in
active practice in another state or Canadian Province for at least
three years immediately preceding application, United States
Governmental service may be included, and submit at least three
references from other dentists. The application must include a
physician’s statement attesting to the applicant’s physical and
mental condition.

D. An applicant for licensure as a dental hygienist must have
been in active practice in another state or Canadian Province for
at least one year immediately preceding application, and must
submit at least two character references from dentists and two
references from practicing hygienists.

E. Each applicant must submit with the application a fee as
prescribed in 7 MCAR § 3.005 C.

F. For identification purposes, the applicant shall furnish one
notarized unmounted passport-type photograph, 3" x 3", taken
not more than six (6) months before the date of application.

(CITE 4 S.R. 1800)




PROPOSED RULES

G. An applicant must appear before the board for a personal
interview to determine the applicant’s fitness to practice dentis-

7 MCAR § 3.022 Scope of clinical examinations: dentists,
dental hygienists, and registered dental assistants appli-

try or dental hygiene in Minnesota.

H. An applicant shall successfully complete an examination
designed to test knowledge of Minnesota laws relating to the
practice of dentistry and the rules of the board.

FT-MCAR-§3:014 7 MCAR § 3.015 Requirements for all

Applications applicants.

A. Every applicant shall provide evidence of having fulfilled
all the requirements of the Act.

C.A- Incomplete applications shall be returned to the appli-
cant with the tendered fee, together with a statement setting
forth the reason for such rejection.

D+ Nothing contained in these rules shall be construed to
limit the board’s authority to seek from an applicant such other
information pertinent to the character, education, and experi-
ence of the applicant insofar as it relates to the applicant’s ability
to practice as a licensee or registrant as the board may deem
necessary in order to pass on the applicant’s qualification.

FMCAR-§-3:0157 MCAR § 3.016 Expiration (;f license
and registration and renewal thereof. Any-person-already

8-605B- Each dentist, dental hygienist and each registered den-
tal assnstant—-e*eept—as—med&ed—by—&heqmmedm&y-p;eeemg
sentences-shall submit an application for renewal of his license
or registration together with the necessary fee no later than
January—4- December 31, of the year preceding that for which
the license or registration renewal is requested. The application
form shall provide a place for the renewal applicant’s signature
and shiall solicit information to include but not be limited to the
applicant’s office address or addresses, the number of his li-
cense or registration certificate whether such licensee or regis-
trant has been engaged during the year preceding the year for
which renewed licensure or registration is sought in the active
practice of dentistry or dental hygiene or has worked as a
registered dental assistant, and if so, whether within or without
the state, and such other information which may be reasonably
requested by the Board.

FMCAR$§3-016 7T MCAR §§ 3.017-3.020 Reserved for

future use.

7 MCAR § 3.021 Written examination procedures: den-
tists, dental hygienists, and registered dental assistants.

F. Notes, testboeeks: textbooks or other informative data
shall not be brought to the examination rooms.

cants.

7 MCAR § 3.025 Scope of written examination, dental
hygienists.

B. At the discretion of the board, any dental hygienist duly
licensed to practice as such in another state which has and
maintains laws regulating the practice of dental hygiene by
dental hygienists, equivalent to this state’s, who is of good
moral professional character and is desirous of mevingto-this
licensure in this state and presents a certificate from the examin-
ing board of the state in which the applicant is licensed so
certifying, may be exempted from taking a National Board
examination provided the applicant has been licensed for five or
more years.

7 MCAR § 3.031 Assistants. Assistants may:

A. Retract a patient’s cheek, tongue or other parts of tissue
during a dental operation; assist with the placement or removal
of a rubber dam and accessories used for its placement and
retention, as directed by an operating dentist during the course
of a dental operation; remove such debris as is normally created
or accumulated during the course of treatment being rendered by
a licensed dentist during or after operative procedures by the
dentist by the use of vacuum devices, compressed air, mouth-
wash and water; monitor a patient who has been inducted by a

- dentist into nitrous oxide-oxygen relative analgesia; provide any

assistance, including the placement of articles and topical medi-
cation in a patient’s oral cavity in response to a specific direction
to do so by a licensed dentist who is then and there actually
engaged in performing a dental operation as defined in the Act
and who is then actually in a position to give personal supervi-
sion to the rendition of such assistance. In addition, assistants
may aid dental hygienists and registered assistants in the perfor-
mance of their duties as defined in 7 MCAR § 3.032 B., and 7
MCAR § 3.034.

7 MCAR § 3.032 Registered dental assistants.
A. 4. Place and remove rubber dam.

9. Place and Rremove periodontal packs.

_ Moni . ho-hast ind ' enti

B. A dental assistant, who by virtue of academic achieve-
ment which is equal to or greater than that of a registered
assistant; and is currently registered—orticensed qualified in
Minnesota in related health profession may, at the Board’s
discretion, be permitted to take dental radiographs after success-'
ful completion of an approved course. Such permission shall not
be granted until such dental assistant shall have filed with the
Board an application for permission, along with proof of suc-

KEY: RULES SECTION — Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike—outs indicate deletions from
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cessful completion of such course.-and-proef-of-current Minne-

assistant- [This deleted material is moved to 7 MCAR § 3.046
B.]

7 MCAR § 3.034 Dental hygienists. Dental hygienists may
perform:

B. Complete prophylaxis to include scaling, root planning,
soft tissue currettage, polishing of fillings, and placement-of
temporary eement-material replacement of fest restorations.

C. Preliminary examinatien charting of the oral cavity and
surrounding structures to include case histories, and periodontal

examination—and- charting recording—ofclinicalfindings; this

does not infer the making of a diagnosis.

G. Administer local anesthesia after successful completion
of a course approved by the Board.

H:G- Procedures A., B., C.,and-D., and F. may be carried
out under the general supervnsnon of a dentlst -whet-her—er—net—a

Examination and diagnosis must be accomplished only by a
dentist.

7 MCAR § 3.044 Practice-of-dentistry-under-any-name
except—the—hcensee—s—own—pmper—name. Names.

A (X3 7Y G6: 99
. y ] ’

1S0A_LL subd—lof 4 | shalld 16 for-discioli
under§$450A-08;subd— Any name which incorporates the use
of the name of a state, city, or other political subdivision in
whole or in part or which connotes unusual or superior dental
ability, orwhich is likely to create a false or unjustified expecta-
tion of favorable results shall be in violation of § 150A.11, subd.
1 of the Act and Minn. Stat. § 319A.07.

B Thetitl buildi . tenti
practice-shall-be-used-as—an-address-only-
7 MCAR § 3.045 Professional advertising. There-shall-be
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A. A person shall not, on behalf of himself, a partner, associ-
ate or any other dentist affiliated with him through a corporation
or association, use or participate in the use of any form of public
communication containing a false, fraudulent, misleading or
deceptive statement or claim.
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1. A false, fraudulent, misleading or deceptive state-
ment or claim is one which:

a. Contains a misrepresentation of fact;

b. Is likely to mislead or deceive because in context
it makes only a partial disclosure of relevant facts;

c. Is self-laudatory or is intended or is likely to create
false or unjustified expectations of favorable results;

d. Implies unusual or superior dental ability;

e. Contains other representations or implications
that in reasonable probability will cause an ordinary, prudent
person to misunderstand or be deceived.

B. A person shall not compensate or give anything of value to
a representative of the press, radio, television, or other commu-
nicative medium in anticipation of or in return for professional
publicity unless the fact of compensation is made known in such
publicity.

(CITE 4 S.R. 1802)
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C. A person shall not directly or indirectly offer, give, re-

ceive, or agree to receive any fee or other consideration to or

3. Related services which may be required in conjunc-

tion with the advertised services, and for which additional fees

from a third party for the referral of a patient in connection with

will be charged, must be identified as such in the advertisement.

the performance of professional services.

D. Fees may be advertised for routine services only.

1. A routine service is defined as one which is per-

E. Advertising a range of fees for a given service is prohib-
ited.

F. Advertised fees must be honored for those seeking the

formed frequently in the dentist’s practice; is usually provided at

advertised services during the entire time period stated in the

a set fee; is provided with little or no variance in technique; and

advertisement, whether or not the services are actually rendered

includes all professionally recognized components within gen-

in that time. If no time period is stated, the advertised fees shall

erally accepted standards. If the following routine dental

be so honored for 30 days or until the next scheduled publica-

services are advertised, they must adhere to these minimum

tion, whichever is later.

standards (which are examples of the comprehensiveness re-
quired to satisfy the above definition):

a. Examination—a study by the dentists of all of the

structures of the oral cavity, including the recording of the
condition of all such structures and appropriate history thereof,
including as a minimum the charting of caries, identification of
periodontal disease and occlusal discrepancies, and the detec-
tion of oral abnormalities. If an examination fee is advertised,
the same advertisement must include the following additional

G. Any advertising must include the corporation, partner-
ship, or individual dentist’s (dentists’) name and address.

H. Advertisements shall not:

1. Include descriptive words or phrases which are quali-

tative representations or comparative claims such as, but not
limited to: painless, high quality, low prices and reasonable;

2. Include testimonials and endorsements, including
but not limited to character references, statements of benefits

diagnostic procedures and their fees:

(1) Radiographs (X-rays)—X-rays of the oral
structures to be used for purposes of diagnosis and which in-
cluded either: 1) a panograph and four bitewings, or 2) an intra-
oral full mouth review utilizing a minimum of fourteen periapi-
cal and four bitewing films. Any films must be adequate to
provide a complete radiographic study.

(2) Diagnosis—a written opinion of items found

in an examination.

(3) Treatment planning—A written itemized

treatment recommendation and written itemized fee estimate
provided to the patient.

b. Denture—either a full upper or full lower replace-

ment of the natural dentition with artificial teeth. If the service
advertised is for a denture which is partially prefabricated or is
intended to be used as an emergency or temporary denture, such
fact shall be fully set forth in the text of the advertisement. The
fee shall include a reasonable period for readjustment.

c. Prophylaxis—the removal of calculus (tartar) and

stains from the exposed and unexposed surfaces of the teeth by
scaling and polishing.

d. Extractions—this service is for the removal of

from dental services received, or expressions of appreciation for
dental services;

3. Include the use of celebrities;

4. Use dramatization or graphic illustrations to imply

patient satisfaction;

5. Reveal a patient’s identity or personally identifiable

facts, data, or information obtained in a professional capacity;

6. After one year, include the name of any dentists
formerly practicing at or associated with any advertised
location;

7. Indicate or imply affiliation with any organization

other than the dental practice being advertised.

L. Advertising of practice in a dental specialty:

1. The following special arcas of dentistry are recog-

nized as suitable for the announcement of specialty dental
practices:
Endodontics (Endodontist);

Oral and Maxillofacial surgery (Oral Surgeon/Oral and
Makxillofacial Surgeon);

non-impacted teeth and includes necessary x-rays, anesthesia,
preoperative and post-operative care.

2. At the request of the board, the licensee, office or

professional corporation shall bear the burden of proving that
any advertised services, are in fact *‘routine dental services’’ as
defined.

Oral Pathology (Oral Pathologist);
Orthodontics (Orthodontist);
Pedodontics (Pedodontist);
Periodontics (Peroidontist),
Prosthodontics (Prosthodontist);
Public Health

a. Only licensed dentists who have successfully

completed a post-doctoral course approved by the Commission

KEY: RULES SECTION — Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike—outs indicate deletions from
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on Accreditation in one of the specialty areas, or who announced
a limitation of practice prior to 1967, or who have been ap-
proved by one of the following specialty examining boards, may
announce specialty practice and may advertise as a specialist:
American Board of Dental Public Health, American Board of
Endodontics, American Board of Oral Surgery, American
Board of Oral Pathology, American Board of Orthodontics,
American Board of Pedodontics, American Board of periodon-
tology, and American Board of Prosthodontics.

b. 7 MCAR § 3.0451. a. does not prohibit a dentist

who does not meet the above education or experience criteria
from restricting his practice to one or more specific areas of
dentistry. Such individuals may not use the terms specialist,
specialty, specializing, or limited to. The advertising must state
that the services are being provided by a general dentist.

J. Failing to respond within 30 days to written communica-
tions from the Board of Dentistry or failure to make available to
the board any relevant records with respect to an inquiry or
complaint about the licensee’s advertising practices shall consti-
tute a violation of § 150A.08, subd. 1 (5) of the Act and 7
MCAR § 3.045. The period of 30 days shall commence on the
date when such communication was sent from the Board by
certified mail with return receipt requested to the address ap-
pearing in the last registration.

7 MCAR § 3.046 Display of name and certificates.

B. Every licensed dentist, upon changing his place of busi-
ness, and every dental hygienist and registered dental assistant
upon changing his address, shall within tes 30 days thereafter,
furnish the secretary-treasurer—of-the Board with his the new
address. A practicing dentist shall inform the Board of his-the
office address(es).

7 MCAR § 3.063 Corporation Nnames. The-use-of-any

3

MEAR-§-3-044- The names of professional corporations shall
be governed by Minn. Stat § 319A.07 and 7 MCAR § 3.044,

Department of Health

Proposed Amendments to Rules
Governing the Minnesota Hospital
Rate Review System

Notice of Hearing

A public hearing concerning the proposed amendments to the
rules captioned above will be held in Room 105, Minnesota
Department of Health Building, 717 Delaware Street Southeast,
Minneapolis, Minnesota, on June 27, 1980, commencing at
9:30 a.m. The proposed rules may be modified as a result of the
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hearing process. Therefore, if you are affected in any manner by
the proposed rules, you are urged to participate in the rule
hearing process.

Following the agency’s presentation at the hearing, all inter-
ested or affected persons will have an opportunity to ask ques-
tions and make comments. Statements may be made orally and
written material may be submitted. In addition, whether or not
an appearance is made at the hearing, written statements or
material may be submitted to Peter Erickson, Hearing Exam-
iner, Room 300, 1745 University Avenue, Saint Paul, Minne-
sota 55104, telephone (612) 296-8108, either before the hearing
or within five (5) working days after the close of the hearing.
The hearing examiner may, at the hearing, order that the record
be kept open for a longer period not to exceed 20 calendar days.
All such statements will be entered into and become part of the
record. For those wishing to submit written statements or exhib-
its, it is requested that at least two (2) copies be furnished. In
addition, it is suggested, to save time and avoid duplication, that
those persons, organizations, or associations having a common
viewpoint or interest in these proceedings join together where
possible and present a single statement in behalf of such inter-
ests. The rule hearing procedure is governed by Minn. Stat. §§
15.0411, 15.0417, and 15.052, and by 9 MCAR §§ 2.010-
2.112 (Minnesota Code of Agency Rules). If you have
any questions about the procedure, call or write the Hearing
Examiner.

Twenty-five (25) days prior to the hearing, a Statement of
Need and Reasonableness will be available for review at the
agency and at the Office of Hearing Examiners. This Statement
of Need and Reasonableness will include all of the evidence
which the agency intends to present at the hearing to justify both
the need for and the reasonableness of the proposed rule. How-
ever, additional evidence may be submitted in response to
questions raised by interested persons. You are therefore urged
to both review the Statement of Need and Reasonableness be-
fore the hearing and to attend the hearing. Copies of the State-
ment of Need and Reasonableness may be obtained from the
Office of Hearing Examiners at a minimal charge.

A copy of the proposed rules is attached hereto and made a
part hereof. The statutory authority of the Commissioner of
Health to adopt these rules is contained in Minn. Stat. § 144.703
(1978) and Minn. Stat. § 144.7021 (Supp. 1979).

Any person may request notification of the date on which the
Hearing Examiner’s report will be available, after which date
the agency may not take any final action on the rules for a period
of five working days. Any person may request notification of the
date on which the hearing record has been submitted or resub-
mitted to the Attorney General by the agency. If you desire to be
so notified, you may so indicate at the hearing. After the hear-
ing, you may request notification by sending a written request to
the hearing examiner, in the case of the hearing examiner’s
report, or to the agency, in the case of the agency’s submission
or resubmission to the Attorney General.

Minn. Stat. ch. 10A requires each lobbyist to register with the
State Ethical Practices Board within five (5) days after he or she
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commences lobbying. A lobbyist is defined in Minn. Stat §
10A.01, subd. 11 (Supp. 1979) as any individual:

(a) Engaged for pay or other consideration or authorized by
another individual or association to spend money, who spends
more than five hours in any month or more than $250, not
including his own travel expenses and membership dues, in any
year, for the purpose of attempting to influence legislative or
administrative action by communicating or urging others to
communicate with public officials; or

(b) Who spends more than $250, not including his own
traveling expenses and membership dues, in any year for the
purpose of attempting to influence legislative or administrative
action by communicating or urging others to communicate with
public officials.

The statute provides certain exceptions. Questions should be
directed to the Ethical Practices Board, 41 State Office Build-
ing, Saint Paul, Minnesota 55155, telephone: (612) 296-5615.

April 29, 1980

George R. Pettersen, M.D.
Commissioner of Health

Amendments as Proposed

7 MCAR § 1.472 G. *‘Charges’’ means the regular amounts
charged less expected bad debts, contracted allowances and
discounts to patients and/or insurers, prepayment plans and self-
insured groups on the patient’s behalf. The terms ‘‘charges’’
and ‘‘rates’’ are synonymous for the purposes of these rules.
‘‘Gross charges’’ means ‘‘charges’’ irrespective of any dis-
counts, deductions, or other reductions which by contract or
other agreement may be applicable. The terms ‘‘gross
charges,’” ‘‘gross acute care charges,”’ and ‘‘gross rate’’ are
synonymous for the purpose of these rules.

7 MCAR § 1.474 A.9. Each hospital claiming exempt status
pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 144.7021 and 7 MCAR § 1.505 shall
include or append a clearly identifiable statement(s) of annual
gross acute care charges.

L]

7 MCAR § 1.505 Acceptable increases in hospital gross
acute care charges: Exemptions from hospital rate re-
view.

A. Each hospital that anticipates an increase in budget year

gross acute care charges which is less than the acceptable in-
crease determined by the Commissioner of Health may claim
and shall be granted, and an exemption from the filing of a rate
revenue and expense report as required by 7 MCAR § 1.481 C.
and as described in 7 MCAR § 1.481 C. and the review and
comment provisions of 7 MCAR § 1.487 C.2., upon filing an
abbreviated projected operating statement as described in
TMCAR § 1.505 E.2.

B. Commissioner of Health establishment.

1. The Commissioner of Health shall establish at the
beginning of each quarter of the fiscal year (July 1, October 1,
January 1, April 1), a percentage figure for each set of hospitals
described in 7 MCAR § 1.505 B.3., representing an acceptable
increase in gross acute care charges for the succeeding six
quarters (eighteen months).

a. Each hospital being reviewed by the Cominis-
sioner of Health pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 144.701 shall be
notified of each quarterly established acceptable increase in and
adjustments to the acceptable increase in gross acute care
charges pursuant to 7 MCAR § 1.505 D.

b. Each voluntary non-profit rate review organiza-
tion approved pursuant to 7 MCAR § 1.496 shall be notified of
each quarterly established acceptable increase in and adjust-
ments to the acceptable increase in gross acute care charges and
shall in turn notify each of the hospitals electing to be reviewed
by said organization.

2. Basis. The single percentage figure established by
the Commissioner of Health shall be the algebraic sum of the
following percentages:

a. An estimate of the forthcoming annual rate of
change in the average total cost of all goods and services to
hospitals. This estimate shall be determined by summing the
weighted change in price of each of the natural expense classifi-
cations described in 7 MCAR § 1.474 A.2.f. The weights shall
be the proportionate contributions of each of these natural ex-
pense classifications to hospitals’ total cost. The estimate shall
explicitly recognize the expected overall level of price change in
the state’s economy and shall be derived from expected annual
changes in the Consumer and/or Producer Price Indices, and/or
relevant components of the Consumer and/or Producer Price
and/or other similar economic indices published by the Bureau
of Labor Statistics, United States Department of Commerce.

b. An estimate of the dollar value of the forthcoming
annual statewide rate of change in:

(1) the average mix of patients utilizing hospi-

tals, and

(2) the average intensity of services received by
patients during hospital stays or visits as is consistent with the
delivery of medical care which is of generally accepted quality
and efficiency. The estimate shall not be less than zero nor more
than .036.

For the purposes of this section:

(1) ““Mix’’ means the types of illnesses, injuries,
and conditions treated in hospitals.

(2) ‘‘Intensity of services’’ means the styles and

KEY: RULES SECTION — Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike-euts indicate deletions from
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methods of treating illness, injuries, and conditions in hospitals.

acute care charges under which exemption was claimed pursu-

C. An estimate of the forthcoming annual rate of
change in the statewide number of hospital adjusted admissions
per 1,000 population as is consistent with the delivery of medi-
cal care which is of generally accepted quality and efficiency.

3. For purposes of 7 MCAR § 1.505, hospitals shall be

ant to the 7 MCAR § 1.505 A, as adjusted pursuant to 7 MCAR
§ 1.505 D., then that hospital shall file a rate revenue and
expense report pursuant to 7 MCAR § 1.481 C. no later than 150
days after the close of the fiscal year in question.

divided into two sets, as of the effective date of these rules and
every 5 years thereafter, as follows:

a. Set I shall be composed of hospitals whose com-

bined total gross acute care charges (inpatient plus outpatient)
comprise 15% of total gross acute care charges (inpatient plus
outpatient) for all non-state, non-federal acute care hospitals.
Determination of the hospitals to be included in this set shall be
made as follows:

(1) The total gross acute care charges used shall

be for each hospital’s 1977 fiscal year, pursuant to 7 MCAR §
1.474 B.1.a.

(2) The hospital with the lowest total gross acute

care charges shall be selected first. The hospital with the second
lowest total gross acute care charges shall be selected second
and its gross acute care charges shall be added to the charges of
the first selected hospital. The hospital with the third lowest
gross acute care charges shall be selected third and its total gross
acute care charges shall be added to the sum of the gross acute
care charges of the hospitals selected first and second. The
procedure shall continue in direct ascending order so as to
maximize the number of hospitals included, but the sum of gross
patient acute care charges included shall not exceed 15% of the
total gross acute care charges for all non-state and non-federal
acute care hospitals subject to the provisions of Minn. Stat. §§
144.695-144.703.

b. Set II shall be composed of all non-state, non-

federal acute care hospitals subject to the provisions of Minn.
Stat. §8 144.695-144.703 and not included in Set I as described
in 7 MCAR § 1.505 B.3.a.

C. Conformity.
1. Each exempted hospital, by the close of the third

quarter of its fiscal year, shall assess its likely conformity with
its most recently filed abbreviated projected operating state-
ment. If the anticipated actual increase in gross acute care
charges, to be reported pursuant to 7 MCAR § 1.474 A.9., for
an exempt hospital is in excess of the acceptable increase in
gross acute care charges under which exemption was claimed
pursuant to 7 MCAR § 1.505 A., as adjusted pursuant to 7
MCAR § 1.505 D., then that hospital shall file a rate revenue
and expense report for the coming budget year pursuant to 7
MCAR § 1.474 B. and 7 MCAR § 1.481 C.

2. If an exempt hospital estimates that it is likely to

conform with its most recently filed abbreviated projected oper-
ating statement and does not file a rate revenue and expense
report pursuant to 7 MCAR § 1.505 C.1. and it is subsequently
found that the actual increase in gross acute care charges was
more than .00125 in excess of the acceptable increase in gross
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D. Adjustments to the acceptable change. Each figure in 7
MCAR § 1.505 B. shall be adjusted and updated at the close of
the third quarter after its establishment according to the criteria
specified in 7 MCAR § 1.505 B.2.a. and shall reflect actual
changes in the overall price change level throughout the state’s
economy. The updated figure shall be used when judging con-
formity to 7 MCAR § 1.505 C.1.

E. Abbreviated projected operating statement.

1. Each hospital claiming exempt status shall file an
abbreviated projected operating statement no later than the com-
mencement of its fiscal year or up to sixty days prior to the
commencement of its fiscal year. Pursuant to Minn. Stat. §
144.701, subd. 5. no change in rates may be made until sixty
days have elapsed from the date of filing.

2. An abbreviated projected operating statement for
hospitals in Set II, as described in 7 MCAR § 1.505 B.3.b.1.
shall include the following data for the prior, current and budget
years: :

a. A natural expense summary consisting of total
institutional expenses for:

(1) Salaries and wages,

(2) Employee benefits,
(3) Medical fees,

(4) Raw food,

(5) Drugs,

(6) Medical supplies,

(7) Other supplies,
(8) Utilities,

(9) Repairs and maintenance,

(10) Rental expense,

(11) Insurance,
(12) Interest,
(13) Depreciation—buildings and fixed equip-

ment,

(14) Depreciation—movable equipment,

(15) Other expense.

i

Total acute care hospital operating expense.

Total institutional patient charges.

& |°

Total acute care hospital patient charges.

[¢]

Total acute care hospital inpatient charges.

]

Total acute care hospital outpatient charges.

g. An expense analysis consisting of acute care:
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(1) Direct costs for:

(a) Daily hospital services,
(b) Ancillary service,

(c) Non-revenue producing centers.

(2) Costs after allocation of non-revenue produc-

ing centers costs to:

(a) Daily hospital services,

(b) Ancillary service.

h. An acute care hospital statistical summary con-

sisting of:

(1) Number of patient days (excluding nursery),

(2) Number of nursery days,

(3) Number of total patient days,

(4) Number of admissions,

(5) Average length of stay,

(6) Occupancy—licensed beds,

(7) Occupancy—staffed and set-up beds,

(8) Number of outpatient and emergency room

visits.

i. An acute care hospital full time equivalent sum-

mary consisting of salary and numbers of full-time equivalent

personnel for:

(1) Daily hospital services,

(2) Ancillary services,

(3) Non-revenue producing centers,

(4) Total hospital,
(5) Total institution.

j. An acute care bed summary consisting of:
(1) Number of licensed beds,
(2) Number of physically present beds,
(3) Number of staffed and set-up beds.
k. Depreciation fund.

(1) Beginning balance,
(2) Ending balance.
3. An abbreviated projected operating statement for

hospitals in Set 1, as described in 7 MCAR § 1.505 B. 1.a., shall
include all data elements found in 7 MCAR § 1.505B.2.b., c.,
d,e,f,g. h, i, j, k

4. The information provided on the abbreviated pro-

jected operating statement shall support the hospital’s claim that
it will achieve an increase in gross acute care charges less than
that established by the Commissioner of Health pursuant to 7
MCAR § 1.505 B.

Office of Hearing Examiners

Proposed Amendments to Rules
Relating to the Procedural
Conduct of Rulemaking and
Contested Case Hearings

Notice of Hearing

A public hearing concerning the proposed rule amendments
will be held at the William Mitchell College of Law, Room 111,
875 Summit Avenue, Saint Paul, Minnesota, on Tuesday, June
24, 1980, commencing at 9:30 a.m. The proposed rule
amendments may be modified as a result of the hearing process.
Therefore, if you are affected in any manner by the proposed
amendments, you are urged to participate in the rule hearing
process.

Following the agency’s presentation at the hearing, all inter-
ested (or affected persons will have an opportunity to ask ques-
tions and make comments. Statements may be made orally and
written material may be submitted. In addition, whether or not
an appearance is made at the hearing, written statements or
material may be submitted to Melvin B. Goldberg, Hearing
Examiner, Room 326, William Mitchell College of Law, 875
Summit Avenue, Saint Paul, Minnesota 55105, telephone (612)
227-9171, either before the hearing or within five working days
after the close of the hearing. The hearing examiner may, at the
hearing, order that the record be kept open for a longer period
not to exceed 20 calendar days. The rule hearing procedure is
governed by Minn. Stat. §§ 15.0411-15.0417 and 15.052, and
by 9 MCAR §§ 2.101-2.112 (Minnesota Code of Agency
Rules). If you have any questions about the procedure, call or
write the hearing examiner.

Twenty-five days prior to the hearing, a Statement of Need
and Reasonableness will be available for review at Hearing
Examiner Goldberg’s office and at the Office of Hearing Exam-
iners. This Statement of Need and Reasonableness will include a
summary of all of the evidence which will be presented by
the agency at the hearing justifying both the need for and the
reasonableness of the proposed rule amendments. Copies of
the Statement of Need and Reasonableness may be obtained
from the Office of Hearing Examiners at a minimal charge.

The proposed rule amendments regarding rulemaking would
modify and add to the content of the Notice of Hearing, would
clarify the use of the Statement of Need and Reasonableness at
the hearing, would clarify the agency’s burden in regard to
existing rules when amendments are proposed, would modify’
and add to the documents to be filed 25 days prior to hearing,
would provide a disqualification procedure for hearing examin-
ers, would modify registration at the hearing, would delete the

KEY: RULES SECTION — Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike—euts indicate deletions from
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incorporation by reference rule effective July 1, 1981, would
clarify the meaning of the phrase ‘‘recommended by the Hearing
Examiner’” in Minn. Laws 1980, ch. 615, § 6, subd. 4e, would
outline a revised procedure for submission of a rule to the Chief
Hearing Examiner, would clarify what rules are compared in
determining a substantial change, and would make other house-
keeping changes.

The proposed amendments regarding contested cases would
authorize a summary disposition of cases, would allow prefiled
testimony, would simplify Chief Hearing Examiner approval of
shortened notice periods, would require a Notice of Appearance
to be served upon all parties and in all hearings, would clarify
when a default occurs, would permit consideration of the Rules
of Civil Procedure, would conform the evidence rules to statu-
tory changes, would clarify the burden of proof, would require
hearing examiner orders and continuance requests to be served
on a non-party agency, would clarify the meaning of ‘‘late filed
- exhibits,”” would permit a Notice of and Order for Rehearing to
be served less than 30 days before the Rehearing, and would
make other housekeeping changes.

The agency’s authority to adopt the proposed rule
amendments is contained in Minn. Stat. § 15.052, subd. 4
(1978). Several of the proposed amendments are required by the
passage of Minn. Laws 1980, ch. 615.

The agency estimates that there will be no cost to local public
bodies in the State to implement the amendments for the two
years immediately following its adoption, within the meaning of
Minn. Stat. § 15.0412, subd. 7 (1978).

Copies of the proposed rule amendments are now available
and at least one free copy may be obtained by writing to Duane
R. Harves, Chief Hearing Examiner, Room 300, 1745 Univer-
sity Avenue, Saint Paul, Minnesota 55104, telephone (612)
296-8100. Additional copies will be available at the hearing. If
you have any questions on the content of the proposed rule
amendments, contact Chief Hearing Examiner Harves.

Any person may request notification of the date on which the
hearing examiner’s report will be available, after which date the
agency may not take any final action on the rules for a period of
five working days. Any person may request notification of the
date on which the hearing record has been submitted or resub-
mitted to the Attorney General by the agency. If you desire to be
so notified, you may so indicate at the hearing. After the hear-
ing, you may request notification by sending a written request to
the hearing examiner, in the case of the hearing examiner’s
report, or to the agency, in the case of the agency’s submission
or resubmission to the Attorney General.

Minn. Stat. ch. 10A requires each lobbyist to register with the
State Ethical Practices Board within five days after he or she
commences lobbying. A lobbyist is defined in Minn. Stat. §
10A.01, subd. 11 (1979 Supp.) as any individual:

(a) Engaged for pay or other consideration, or authorized by
another individual or association to spend money, who spends
more than five hours in any month or more than $250, not
including his own travel expenses and membership dues, in any
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year, for the purpose of attempting to influence legislative or
administrative action by communicating or urging others to
communicate with public officials; or

(b) Who spends more than $250, not including his own
traveling expenses and membership dues, in any year for the
purpose of attempting to influence legislative or administrative
action by communicating or urging others to communicate with
public officials.

The statute provides certain exceptions. Questions should be
directed to the Ethical Practices Board, 41 State Office Build-
ing, Saint Paul, Minnesota 55155, telephone (612) 296-5615.

May 1, 1980.

Duane R. Harves
Chief Hearing Examier
by George A. Beck
Hearing Examiner

Amendments as Propgsed

9MCAR § 2.102 Initiation of Hearing. Any agency desiring

to initiate a rule hearing pursuant to Minn. Stat. §§ 15.0411
through 45-05+ 15.0417 and § 15.052 shall first file with
the Chief Hearing Examiner or his designee the following
documents:

A. A copy of the proposed rule or rules.

B. Fhe An Order for Hearing propesed-to-be-issued—Fhe
Ofder—fGFHeefmg-whlch must contain the following:
. A proposed time, date and place for the hearing to be
held.

2. A statement that the Notice of Hearing shall be given
to all persons who have registered with the Seeretary-of-State
agency for that purpose and a statement that the Notice of
Hearing shall be published in the State Register.

3. The signature of the person authorized to order a
hearing. If a board is ordering the hearing, the person signing the
Order must be so authorized and a document of authority must
be attached to the Order for Hearing.

C. The Notice of Hearing proposed to be issued which must
contain the following:

1. A proposed time, date and place for the hearing to be
held.

2. A statement that all interested or affected persons will
have an opportunity to participate.

3. Astatement or a description of the subjects and issues
involved. If the proposed rules themselves are not included with
the Notice of Hearing, then the Notice must clearly indicate the
nature and extent of the proposed rules and a statement shall be
included announcing the availability and the means of obtaining
upon request at least one free copy of the proposed rules.

4. A citation of the agency’s statutory authority to
promulgate the proposed rules.

5. A statement describing the manner in which inter-
ested persons may present their views and advising persons that
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the proposed rule may be modlfled as a result of the hearing

process.

6. A statement advising interested persons that lobby-
ists must register with the State Ethical Practices Board, which
statement shall contain a summary of the statutory definition of a
lobbyist and indicate that questions should be directed to the
board, giving the address and telephone number thereof.

7. A statement that written material may be submitted
and recorded in the hearing record for five working days after
the public hearing ends, orfer and a statement that the comment
period may be extended for a longer period not to exceed 20
calendar days if ordered by the Hearing Examiner at the hearing.

8. A separate paragraph which shall read as follows:

Notice: Any person may request notification of the date on
which the Hearing Examiner’s Report will be available, after
which date the agency may not take any final action on the rules
for a period of five working days. Any person may request
notification of the date on which the hearing record has been
submitted (or resubmitted) to the Attorney General by the
agency. If you desire to be so notified, you may so indicate at the
hearing. After the hearing, you may request notification by
sending a written request to the Hearing Examiner (in the case of
the Hearing Examiner’s Report), or to the agency (in the case
of the agency’s submission or resubmission to the Attorney
General).

9. A separate paragraph which will read as follows:

Notice is hereby given that 25 days prior to the hearing, a
Statement of Need and Reasonableness will be available for
review at the agency and at the Office of HearingExaminers
Administrative Hearings. This Statement of Need and
Reasonableness will include a summary of all of the evidence
and argument which is anticipated to wil be presented by
the agency at the hearing justifying both the need for and the
reasonableness of the proposed rule/rules. Copies of the State-
ment of Need and Reasonableness may be obtained from
the Office of Hearing-Examiners- Administrative Hearings at a
minimal charge.

10. If required by Minn. Stat. § 15.0412, subd. 7, a
statement relating to the expenditure of public monies by local
public bodies.

11. A statement that the rule hearing procedure is gov-
erned by Minn. Stat. §§ 15.0411-15.0417 and 15.052 and by 9
MCAR §8§ 2.101-2.113 (Minnesota Code of Agency Rules) and
a statement that questions about procedure may be directed to
the hearing examiner.

D. A statement by the agency of the number of persons
expected to attend the hearing and the estimated length of time
that will be necessary for the agency to present its evidence at the
hearing.

Within ten days of receipt of the aforementioned documents,
the Chief Hearing Examiner shall appoint a hearing examiner to
preside at the hearing and the hearing examiner shall advise the
agency as to the location at which and time during which a
hearing should be held so as to allow for participation by all
affected interests and shall advise the agency as to whether or
not the proposed Notice of Hearing is proper as required by
Minn. Stat. § 15.052, subd. 3.

9 MCAR § 2.104 Statement of Need and Reasonableness.
Each agency desiring to adopt rules shall prepare a Statement of
Need and Reasonableness which shall be prefiled pursuant to 9
MCAR § 2.105. The Statement of Need and Reasonableness
shall be a document containing, at the minimum, a summary of
all of the evidence and argument which is anticipated to be
presented by the agency at the hearing justifying both the need
for and the reasonableness of the proposed rule/rules, including
citations to any statutes or case law to be relied upon, citations to
any economic, scientific or other manuals or treatises to be
utilized at the hearing, and a list of any expert witnesses to be
called to testify on behalf of the agency, together with a brief
summary of the expert opinion to be elicited. The Statement
need not contain evidence and argument in rebuttal of evidence
and argument presented by the public. To the extent that an
agency is proposing amendments to existing rules, the agency
need not demonstrate the need for and reasonableness of the
existing rules not affected by the proposed amendments.

The Statement shall be prepared with sufficient specificity so
that interested persons will be able to fully prepare any testi-
mony or evidence in favor of or in opposition to the rule/rules as
proposed. Presentation of evidence or testimony (other than
bona fide rebuttal) not summarized in the Statement of Need and
Reasonableness may result in the hearing examiner, upon
proper motion made at the hearing by any interested person,
recessing the hearing to a future date in order to allow all
interested persons an opportunity to prepare testimony or evi-
dence in opposition to such newly presented evidence or testi-
mony, which recessing shall be for a period not to exceed 25
calendar days, unless the 25th day is a Saturday, Sunday or legal
holiday, in which case, the next succeeding working day shall
be the maximum date for the resumed hearing.

If the agency so desires, the Statement of Need and Reason-
ableness may contain the verbatim affirmative presentation by

the agency wh&eh—may—&aen—b&eﬁheﬁeﬂd-a{—ﬁae-heafmg-er—ff—aﬂ

rev-tew—t-heStatemem- and, prov1ded that copies are avallable for
review at the hearing, may be introduced as an exhibit into the
record as though read. In such instance, agency personnel ot
other persons thoroughly familiar with the rules and the agen-
cy’s Statement shall be available at the hearing for questioning
by the hearing examiner and other interested persons or to
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briefly summarize all or a portion of the Statement of Need and
Reasonableness if requested by the Hearing Examiner.

9 MCAR § 2.105 Documents to be filed before hearing. At
least 25 days prior to the date and time of the hearing, the agency
shall file with the Chief hearing examiner or-his-designee as-
signed to the hearing copies of the following documents:

A. B- The Notice of Hearing as mailed.
The agency’s certification that the mailing list required by

Minn. Stat. § 15.0412, subd. 4, which was used for this hearing,
was accurate and complete.

C. B- An Affidavit of Mallmg of the Notice to all persons on
the Secretary—of State’s agency’s s list.
D. An Affidavit of Additional Notice if such discretionary

notice was given pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 15.0412, subd. 4.

E. The Statement of Need and Reasonableness.

F. The petition requesting a rule hearing, if one has been filed
pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 15.0415.

G. All materials received following a notice made pursuant to
Minn. Stat. § 15.0412, subd. 6, together with a citation to said
notice.

H. The names of agency personnel who will represent the
agency at the hearing together with the names of any other
witness solicited by the agency to appear on its behalf.

1. A copy of the State Register in which the notice and rules or
rule amendments were published.

9 MCAR § 2.106 Disqualification. The hearing examiner
shall withdraw from participation in a rulemaking proceeding to
which he has been assigned if, at any time, he deems himself
disqualified for any reason. Upon the filing in good faith by an
affected person of an affidavit of prejudice against the hearing
examiner, the Chief Hearing Examiner shall determine the mat-
ter as a part of the record provided that the affidavit shall be filed
no later than five days prior to the date set for hearing.

9 MCAR § 2486 2.107 Conduct of hearings. All hearings
held pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 15.0412 shall proceed substan-
tially in the following manner:

A. All persons intending—to-present-evidence-or—questions;
other-than-agency personnel-previously disclosed-to-the Hearing
Examinerunder 9-MCAR$-2105; attending shall register with

the hearing examiner prior to the presentation of evidence or
questions by writing their names, addresses, telephone numbers
and the names of any individuals or associations that the persons
represent in connection with the hearing, on a register to be
provided by the hearing examiner. The Hearing-Examinershall
keep—a—second register whieh shall include a section where
persons may indicate their desire to be informed of the date on
which the hearing examiner’s report will be available and the
date on which the agency submits the record to the Attorney
General.
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B. The hearing examiner shall convene the hearing at the
proper time and shall explain to all persons present the purpose
of the hearing and the procedure to be followed at the hearing.
The hearing examiner shall notify all persons present that the
record will remain open for five working days following the
hearing, or for a longer period not to exceed 20 calendar days if
ordered by the hearing examiner, for the receipt of written
statements concerning the proposed rule or rules.

C. The hearing examiner shall advise the persons present of
the requirements of Minn. Stat. ch. 10A concerning the registra-
tion of lobbyists.

D. The agency representatives and any others who will be
presenting the agency position at the hearing shall identify
themselves for the record.

E. The agency shall make available copies of the proposed
rule at the hearing.

F. The agency shall introduce its exhibits relevant to the
proposed rule including written material received prior to the
hearing.

G. The agency shall make its affirmative presentation of facts
showing the need for and the reasonableness of the proposed
rule and shall present any other evidence it deems necessary to
fulfill ail relevant, substantive and procedural, statutory or regu-
latory requirements.

H. Interested persons shall be given an opportunity to address
questions to the agency representatives or witnesses.

I. Interested persons shall be given an opportunity to be heard
on the proposed rule and/or to present written evidence. All
interested persons submitting oral statements are subject to
questioning by representatives of the agency.

J. The hearing examiner may question all persons, including
the agency representatives.

K. The agency may present any further evidence that it deems
appropriate in response to statements made by interested per-
sons. Upon such presentation by the agency, interested persons
may respond thereto.

L. Consistent with law, the hearing examiner shall be autho-
rized to do all things necessary and proper to the performance of
the foregoing and to promote justice, fairness and economy,
including but not limited to, the power to:

1. Preside at the hearing;

2. Administer oaths or affirmations when he deems it
appropriate;

3. Hear and rule on objections and motions;

4. Question witnesses where he deems it necessary to
make a complete record;

5. Rule on the admissibility of evidence and strike from
the record objectionable evidence.

9 MCAR § 2:167 2.108 The record. The record shall be
closed upon the last date for receipt of written statements. The
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record in each hearing shall include all of the documents enu-
merated in 9 MCAR § 2.105, all written comments or other
evidence received prior to, during or subsequent to the hearing
but prior to the close of the record, and a tape recording of the

hearmg itself, unless +he—Gh+ef—Heafmg—E*mmﬂer—has—deter—

a court

reporter has taken the proceedings. In the event a transcript of
the proceedings has been prepared, it shall be part of the record,
and copies will be available to persons requesting them at a
reasonable charge. The charge for transcripts shall be set by the
Chief Hearing Examiner, and all monies received for transcripts
shall be payable to the State Treasury and shall be deposited in

the Office of Hearing—Examiners- Administrative Hearings’

option is needed and reasonable and that adoption of the option
would not constitute a substantial change.

9 MCAR § 2-116-2.111 Submission of rule to Chief Hear-
ing Examiner.

A. If the Chief Hearing Examiner’s approval of the hearing
examiner’s report is required pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 15.0412,
subd. 4d, the hearing examiner shall submit the report and the
record to the Chief Hearing Examiner prior to filing with the
agency as required by 9 MCAR § 2.110.

B. Pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 15.0412, subd. 4e, Fthe agency
shall, if it proposes to adopt the rules with changes other than as
recommended by the hearing examiner as-originally-propesed-or

account in the State Treasury. The agency and any other persons
so requesting of the hearing examiner shall be notified of the
date of the completion of the transcript.

9 MCAR § 2,108 2.109 Incerporation—by—reference.

(Repealed effective 7-1-81 provided that Minn. Laws 1980,

ch. 615 § 43 is not repealed or substantially amended prior to
that time.

9 MCAR § 2-109-2.110 Report of the hearing examiner.

Subsequent to the close of the record end-the-completion-of-the
transcript-of-the-heariag, the hearing examiner shall make his

report pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 15.052, subd. 3, and unless the
approval of the Chief Hearing Examiner is required pursuant to
Minn. Stat. § 15.0412, subd. 4d, shall file the original of said
report, together with the complete record of the proceedings,
with the agency. Both the agency, if authorized by statute, and
the Office of Hearing Examiners Administrative Hearings shall
make a copy of said report available to any interested person
upon request at a reasonable charge. The phrase ‘‘recommended
by the Hearing Examiner’’ as used in Minn. Stat. § 15.0412,
subd. 4e, shall mean those changes in the rule, if any, and based
upon the record, which the hearing examiner concludes are
required in order to make the rule needed and/or reasonable and
which would not constitute a substantial change. Where the
hearing examiner identifies more than one option from which
the agency may choose, then each of the options is deemed to be
“recommended by the Hearing Examiner’’ provided that the
hearing examiner has found, based upon the record, that the

amended— submltaeeweﬁ&he-gyder—mmpmwes—a-eepy-ef

proepesed; the complete hearmg record and a copy of the rules as
proposed to be adopted, showing the changes, to the Chief
Hearing Examlner—feﬁewewpufsuam—te-Mqﬂn—SGa{.—é—léngQT

C. The Chief Hearing Examiner shall complete his review and
submit his report, along with the complete record, to the agency

with-Mina—Stat—§-15-0412,-subd—4; within ten calendar days.
T 1) ble_for filine_tl | ”
Attorney-General-

9 MCAR § 2-111 2.112 Substantial change. Reconvened

- In determining whether the
proposed final rule is substantially different, the hearing exam-
iner and the Chief Hearing Examiner shall consider the degree to
which it:

A. Affects classes of persons not represented at the previous
hearing; or

B. Goes to a new subject matter of significant substantive
effect; or

C. Makes a major substantive change that was not raised by
the original Notice of Hearing in such a way as to invite reaction
at the hearing; or

D. Results in a rule fundamentally different from that con-
tained in the Notice of Hearing.
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In making his substantial change determination pursuant to
Minn. Stat. § 15.0412, subd. 4d, the hearing examiner shall

11. Recommend a summary disposition of the case where
there is no genuine issue as to any material fact or recommend

compare the proposed rule or rule amendment as published in

dismissal where the case has become moot or for other reasons.

the State Register with the rule or rule amendment as last
proposed by the agency prior to the close of the record. In
making his substantial change determination pursuant to Minn.
Stat. § 15.0412, subd. 4e, the Chief Hearing Examiner shall
compare the rule or rule amendment as published in the State
Register with the final rule or rule amendment as adopted by the

agency.

9 MCAR § 2-112 2.113 Effective date. These rules shall be
effective for all rule proceedings initiated five working days
after publication of these rules in the State Register.

9 MCAR §§ 2-313-2.114-2.199 Reserved for future use.

9 MCAR § 2.201 Scope and purpose. The procedures con-
tained herein shall govern all contested cases held-by-any-ageney

2Z-required to be conducted by the Office o‘f Administrative

Hearings.
9 MCAR § 2.203 Hearing examiners.

A. Request for assignment. Any agency desiring to order a
contested case hearing shall first file with the Chief Hearing
Examiner a request for assignment of a hearing examiner to-
gether with the Notice of and Order for hearing proposed to be
issued which shall include a proposed time, date and place for
the hearing.

B. Assignment. Within ter 10 days of the receipt of a request
pursuant to 9 MCAR § 2.203 A., the Chief Hearing Examiner
shall assign a hearing examiner to hear the case, and the hearing
examiner shall advise the agency as to the location at which and
time during which a hearing should be held so as to allow for
participation by all affected persons.

C. Duties. Consistent with law, the hearing examiner shall
perform the following duties:

1. Grant or deny a demand for a more definite statement
of charges.

2. Grant or deny requests for discovery-esfer including
the taking of depositions.

3. Receive and act upon requests for subpoenas where
appropriate.

4. Hear and rule on motions.
. Preside at the contested case hearing.

5
6. Administer oaths and affirmations.
7. Grant or deny continuances.

8

. Examine witnesses where he deems it necessary to
make a complete record.

9. Prepare findings of fact, conclusions and recommen-
dations.

10. Make preliminary, interlocutory or other orders as he
deems appropriate.
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12. Require that testimony be prefiled in while or in part.

13. H= Do all things necessary and proper to the perfor-
mance of the foregoing.

14. 42- In his discretion, perform such other duties as
may be delegated to him by the agency ordering the hearing.

9 MCAR § 2.204 Commencement of a contested case. A

contested case is commenced, subsequent to the assignment of a
hearing examiner, by the service of a Notice of and Order for
Hearing by the agency.

A. The Notice and Order. Unless otherwise provided by law,
a Notice of and Order for Hearing, which shall be a single
document, shall be served upon all parties and shall contain,
among other things, the following:

1. The time, date and place for the hearing.

2. Name and address and telephone number of the hear-
ing examiner.

3. A citation to the agency’s statutory authority to hold
the hearing and to take the action proposed.

4. A statement of the allegations or issues to be deter-
mined together with a citation to the relevant statutes or rules.

5. Notification of the right of the parties to be repre-
sented by legal counsel, by a person of their choice, or by
themselves if not otherwise prohibited as the unauthorized prac-
tice of law.

6. A citation to these rules,-and to any applicable proce-
dural rules of the agency, and to the contested case provisions of
Minn. Stat. ch. 15.

7. A statement advising the parties of the name of the
agency official or member of the Attorney General’s staff to be
contacted to discuss informal disposition pursuant to 9 MCAR §
2.207 or discovery pursuant to 9 MCAR § 2.214.

8. In-cases-wherein-the-ageney-is-a-party;a A statement

advising the parties that a Notice of Appearance must be filed
with the Hearing Examiner within 20 days of the date of service
of the Notice of and Order for Hearing if a party intends to
appear at the hearing unless the hearing date is less than 20 days
from the issuance of the Notice of and Order for Hearing.

9. A statement advising existing parties that failure to
appear at the hearing may result in the allegations of the Notice
of and Order for Hearing being taken as true, or the issues set out
being deemed proved, and a statement which explains the possi-
ble results of the allegations being taken as true or the issues
proved.

B. Service. Unless otherwise provided by law, the Notice of
and Order for Hearing shall be served not less than 30 days prior
to the hearing. Provided, however, that a shorter time may be
allowed, where it can be shown to the Chief Hearing Examiner
that a shorter time is required in the public interest and that ae-
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interested person—will-be—adversely—affeeted persons are not
likely to be prejudiced.

C. Publication. Where the agency participates in the hearing
in a neutral or quasi-judicial capacity, the Notice of and Order
for Hearing shall be published as required by law or as ordered
by the agency, and copies of the Notice of and Order for Hearing
may be mailed by the agency to persons known to have a direct
interest.

D. Amendments. At any time prior to the close of the hearing,
the agency may file and serve an amended Notice of and Order
for Hearing, provided that, should the amended Notice and
Order raise new issues or allegations, the parties shall have a
reasonable time to prepare to meet the new issues or allegations
if requested.

E. Alternative. With the prior written concurrence of the
Chief Hearing Examiner, an agency may substitute other docu-
ments and procedures for the Notice of and Order for Hearing
provided that the documents and procedures inform actual and
potential parties of the information contained in 9 MCAR §
2.204 A.1.-9. above.

9 MCAR § 2.205 Notice of Appearance. Each party intend-
ing to appear at a contested case hearing wherein-the-ageney-is-a
party shall file with the hearing examiner and serve upon all
other known parties a Notice of Appearance which shall advise
the hearing examiner of the party’s intent to appear and shall
indicate the title of the case, the agency ordering the hearing, the
party’s current address and telephone number, and the name,
office address, and telephone number of the party’s attorney or
other representative. The Notice of Appearance shall be filed
with the hearing examiner within 20 days of the date of service
of the Notice of and Order for Hearing, except that, where the
hearing date is less than 20 days from the commencement of the
contested case, the Notice of Appearance shall not be necessary.
The failure to file a Notice may, in the discretion of the hearing
examiner, result in a continuance of the hearing if the party
failing to file appears at the hearing. Fhe A Notice of Appear-

of the agency’s order if necessary, to obtain stipulations in
regard to foundation for testimony or exhibits, to consider the
proposed witnesses for each party, to consider such other mat-
ters that may be necessary or advisable and, if possible, to reach
a settlement without the necessity for further hearing. Any final
settlement shall be set forth in a settlement agreement or consent
order and made a part of the record.

2. Procedure. Upon the request of any party or upon his
own motion, the hearing examiner may, in his discretion, hold a
prehearing conference prior to each contested case hearing. The
hearing examiner may require the parties to file a prehearing
statement prior to the prehearing conference which shall contain
such items as the hearing examiner deems necessary to promote
a useful prehearing conference. A prehearing conference shall
be an informal proceeding conducted expeditiously by the hear-
ing examiner. Agreements on the simplification of issues,
amendments, stipulations, or other matters may be entered on
the record or may be made the subject of an order by the hearing
examiner.

B. Motions. Any application to the hearing examiner for an
order shall be by motion which, unless made during a hearing,
shall be made in writing, shall state with particularity the
grounds therefor, and shall set forth the relief or order sought.
Motions provided for in these rules require a written notice, to
all parties and to the agency, to be served five days prior totheir
the submission of the motion to the hearing examiner, except
where impractical. The hearing examiner may, at his desere-
tien; discretion, require a hearing before an order on the motion
will be issued. All orders on such motions, other than those
made during the course of the hearing, shall be in writing and
shall be served upon all parties of record and the agency if it is
not a party. In ruling on motions where these rules are silent, the
hearing examiner may consider the Rules of Civil Procedure
for the District Courts of the State of Minnesota to the extent that
it is appropriate to do so.

9 MCAR § 2.217 The hearing.

ance form shall be included with the Notice of and Order for
Hearing in-all-applicable-eases for use by the party served.

9 MCAR § 2.208 Default. The agency may dispose of a
contested case adverse to a party which defaults. Upon default,
the allegations of or the issues set out in the Notice of and Order
for Hearing or other pleading may be taken as true or deemed
proved without further preefevidence. A default occurs when a
party fails to appear at a hearing or fails to comply with any
interlocutory orders of the hearing examiner.

9 MCAR § 2.213 Preharing procedures.
A. Prehearing conference.

1. Purpose. The purpose of the prehearing conference is
to simplify the issues to be determined, to consider amendment

A. Rights of parties. All parties shall have the right to present
evidence, rebuttal testimony and argument with respect to the
issues and to cross-examine witnesses.

B. Witnesses. Any party may be a witness or may present
witnesses on his behalf at the hearing. All oral testimony at the
hearing shall be under oath or affirmation. At the request of a
party or upon his own motion, the hearing examiner may
exclude witnesses from the hearing room so that they cannot
hear the testimony of other witnesses.

C. Rules of evidence.

1. General rules. The hearing examiner may admit all
evidence which possesses probative value, including hearsay, if
it is the type of evidence on which reasonable prudent persons

KEY: RULES SECTION — Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike-euts indicate deletions from
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are accustomed to rely in the conduct of their serious affairs. The
hearing examiner shall give effect to the rules of privilege
recognized by law. Evidence which is incompetent, irrelevant,
immaterial or unduly repetitious may be excluded.

2. Evidence must be offered to be considered. All evi-
dence to be considered in the case, including all records and
documents {except-tax-returns-and-tax-reperts) in the possession
of the agency or a true and accurate photocopy thereof, shall be
offered and made a part of the record in the case. No other

factual information or evidence (exeept—tax—returns—and—tax

reperts) shall be considered in the determination of the case.

3. Documentary evidence. Documentary evidence in
the form of copies or excerpts may be received or incorporated
by reference in the discretion of the hearing examiner or upon
agreement of the parties.

4. Notice of facts. The hearing examiner may take no-
tice of judicially cognizable facts but shall do so on the record
and with the opportunity for any party to rebut contest the facts
so noticed.

5. The burden of and standard of proof. The party initi-
ating-the-contested-case proposing that certain action be taken
must prove the facts at issue by a preponderance of the evidence,
unless the substantive law provides a different burden or stan-
dard.

6. Examination of adverse party. A party may call an
adverse party or his managing agent or employees or an officer,
director, managing agent or employee of the state or any politi-
cal subdivision thereof or of a public or private corporation or of
a partnership or association or body politic which is an adverse
party, and interrogate him by leading questions and contradict
and impeach him on material matters in all respects as if he had
been called by the adverse party. The adverse party may be
examined by his counsel upon the subject matter of his examina-
tion in chief under the rules applicable to direct examination,
and may be cross-examined, contradicted, and impeached by
any other party adversely affected by his testimony.

D. The record.

I. The hearing examiner shall prepare-and maintain the
official record in each contested case until the issuance of his
final report, at which time the record shall be sent to the agency.

2. What the record shall contain. The record in a con-
tested case shall contain:

a. All pleadings, motions and orders;
b. Evidence received or considered;
c. Offers of proof, objections and rulings thereon;

d. The hearing examiner’s findings of fact, conclu-
sions and recommendations;

€. All memoranda or data submitted by any party in
connection with the case;

f. The transcript of the hearing, if one was prepared.

3. The transcript. The verbatim record shall be tran-
scribed if requested by any-person the agency, a party or in the
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discretion of the Chief Hearing Examiner. If a transcription is
made, the Chief Hearing Examiner shall require the requesting
person and other persons who request copies of the transcript
from him to pay a reasonable charge therefor. The charge shall
be set by the Chief Hearing Examiner and all monies received
for transcripts shall be payable to the State Treasurer and shall be

deposited in the State Office of Hearing-Examiners- Administra-
tive Hearings’ Account in the State Treasury.

E. Continuances. A request for continuance shall be made in
writing to the hearing examiner and shall be served upon all
parties of record and the agency if it is not a party.

1. Arequest for continuance filed not less than five days
prior to the hearing may, in the discretion of the hearing exam-
iner, be granted upon a showing of good cause. Due regard shall
be given to the ability of the party requesting a continuance to
effectively proceed without a continuance.

2. A request for a continuance filed within five days of
the hearing shall be denied unless good cause exists and the
reason for the request could not have been earlier ascertained.

3. During a hearing, if it appears in the interest of justice
that further testimony should be received, the hearing examiner,
in his discretion, may continue the hearing to a future date and
such oral notice on the record shall be sufficient.

F. Motions to the agency. No motions shall be made directly
to or be decided by the agency subsequent to the assignment of a
hearing examiner and prior to the completion and filing of the
hearing examiner’s report unless the motion is certified to the
agency by the hearing examiner. Uncertified motions shall be
made to the hearing examiner and considered by the agency in
its consideration of the record as a whole subsequent to the filing
of the hearing examiner’s report.

Any party may request that a pending motion or a motion
decided adversely to that party by the hearing examiner before
or during the course of the hearing be certified by the hearing
examiner to the agency. In deciding what motions should be
certified, the examiner shall consider the following:

1. Whether the motion involves a controlling question
of law as to which there is substantial ground for a difference of
opinion; or

2. Whether a final determination by the agency on the
motion would materially advance the ultimate termination of the
hearing; or

3. Whether or not the delay between the ruling and the
motion to certify would adversely affect the prevailing party; or

4. Whether to wait until after the hearing would render
the matter moot and impossible for the agency to reverse or for a
reversal to have any meaning; or

5. Whether it is necessary to promote the development
of the full record and avoid remanding.

G. Hearing procedure.

I. Hearing examiner conduct. The hearing examiner
shall not communicate, directly or indirectly, in connection with
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any issue of fact or law with any person or party including the
agency concerning any pending case, except upon notice and
opportunity for all parties to participate.

2. Conduct of the hearing. Unless the hearing examiner
determines that the public interest will be equally served other-
wise, the hearing shall be conducted substantially in the follow-
ing manner:

a. After opening the hearing, the hearing examiner
shall adieate-ensure that the parties are aware of the procedural
rules for the hearing including the following:

(1) All parties may present evidence and argu-
ment with respect to the issues and cross-examine witnesses. At
the request of the party or the attorney for the party whose
witness is being cross-examined, the hearing examiner may
make such rulings as are necessary to prevent repetitive or
irrelevant questioning and to expedite the cross-examination to
the extent consistent with disclosure of all relevant testimony
and information.

(2) All parties have a right to be represented by an
attorney at the hearing.

(3) The rules of evidence as set forth in 9 MCAR
§2.217C.1.

b. Any stipulations, settlement agreements or con-
sent orders entered into by any of the parties prior to the hearing
shall be entered into the record.

c. The party with the burden of proof may make an
opening statement. All other parties may make such statements
in a sequence determined by the hearing examiner.

d. After any opening statement, the party with the
burden of proof shall begin the presentation of evidence. He
shall be followed by the other parties in a sequence determmed
by the hearing examiner.

e. Cross-examination of witnesses shall be con-
ducted in a sequence determined by the hearing examiner.

f. When all parties and witnesses have been heard,
opportunity shall be offered to present final argument, in a
sequence determined by the hearing examiner. Such final argu-
ment may, in the discretion of the hearing examiner, be in the
form of written memoranda or oral argument, or both. Final
argument need not be recorded, in the discretion of the hearing
examiner. Written memoranda may, in the discretion of the
hearing examiner, be submitted simultaneously or sequentially
and within such time periods as the hearing examiner may
prescribe.

g. After final argument, the hearing shall be closed
or continued at the discretion of the hearing examiner. If contin-
ued, it shall be either (a) continued to a certain time and day,
announced at the time of the hearing and made a part of the

record, or (b) continued to a date to be determined later, which
must be upon not less than five days’ written notice to the
parties.

h. The record of the hearing contested case proceed-
ing shall be closed upon receipt of the final written memoran-
dum, transcript, if any, or late filed exhibits {Hrequested-by-the
examinesy which the parties and the hearing examiner have
agreed should be received into the record, whichever occurs
latest.

3. Participation by agency head. An agency which is a
party to a contested case may only participate in the hearing by
the-giving-of-testimony-and through its designated representa-
tive or counsel. Where the agency is not a party and participates
in the hearing in a neutral or quasi-judicial capacity, the agency
head or a member of the governing body of the agency or his
delegate may engage in such examination of witnesses as the
hearing examiner deems appropriate.

H. Disruption of hearing.

. Cameras. No television, newsreel, motion picture,
still or other camera, and no mechanical recording devices,
other than those provided by the Office of Hearing-Examiners
Administrative Hearings or at its discretion, shall be operated in
the hearing room during the course of the hearing unless permis-
sion is obtained from the hearing examiner prior to the opening
of the hearing and then subject to such conditions as the hearing
examiner may impose to avoid disruption of the hearing.

2. Other conduct. Pursuant to and in accordance with
the provisions of Minn. Stat. § 624.72, no person shall interfere
with the free, proper and lawful access to or egress from the
hearing room. No person shall interfere with the conduct of,
disrupt or threaten interference with or disruption of the hearing.
In the event of such interference or disruption or threat thereof,
the hearing examiner shall read this rule to those persons causing
such interference or disruption and thereafter proceed as he
deems appropriate.

9 MCAR § 2.218 The hearing examiner report and the
agency agency decision.

A. Basis for the report and the decision.
1. The record. No factual information or evidence;ex-

eepttax-returns-and-tax-reports; which is not a part of the record

shall be considered by the hearing examiner or the agency in the
determination of a contested case.

2. Administrative notice. The hearing examiner and
agency may take administrative notice of general, technical or
scientific facts within their specialized knowledge in conform-
ance with the requirements of Minn. Stat. § 15.0419, subd. 4.

B. Hearing examiner’s report. Following the close of the
record, the hearing examiner shall make his report pursuant to
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Minn. Stat. §§ 15.0412, subd. 4d, and 15.052, subd. 3, and,
upon completion, a copy of said report shall be served upon all
parties by personal service, by First Class mail or by depositing
it with the Central Mailing Section, Publications Division, De-
partment of Administration.

C. Agency decision. Following receipt of the hearing examin-
er’s report, the agency shall proceed to make it final decision in
accordance with Minn. Stat. §§ 15.0421 and 15.0422, and shall

send serve a copy of sueh its final order to-the-Office of- Hearing

Examiners upon the hearing examiner by First Class mail.

9 MCAR § 2.219 Rehearing. An agency Notice of and Order
for Rehearing shall be served on all parties in the same manner
prescribed for the Notice of and eOrder for-kHearing provided
that the hearing examiner may permit service of the Notice and
Order for Rehearing less than 30 days prior to rehearing. The
rehearing shall be conducted in the same manner prescribed for a
hearing.

ADOPTED RULES

The adoption of a rule becomes effective after the requirements of
Minn. Stat. § 15.0412, subd. 4, have been met and five working days
after the rule is published in the State Register, unless a later date is
required by statutes or specified in the rule.

If an adopted rule is identical to its proposed form as previously
published, a notice of adoption and a citation to its previous State
Register publication will be printed.

If an adopted rule differs from its proposed form, language which has

been deleted will be printed with strike outs and new language will be
underlined, and the rule’s previous State Register publication will
be cited.

A temporary rule becomes effective upon the approval of the Attor-
ney General as specified in Minn. Stat. § 15.0412, subd. 5. Notice
of his decision will be published as soon as practicable, and the
adopted temporary rule will be published in the manner provided for
adopted rules under subd. 4.

Department of Labor and
Industry

Occupational Safety and
Health Division

Adoption by Reference of Federal
OSHA Standards

Pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 182.655 (1978), notice was duly
published at State Register, Volume 4, Number 38, page 1530
(4 S.R. 1530), dated March 24, 1980, specifying the establish-
ment and modification of certain Occupational Safety and
Health Standards. No written comments or requests for hearing
on objections have been received concerning the adoption of
said standards.

Therefore, those occupational safety and health standards are
hereby adopted and are identical in every respect to their pro-
posed form.

Harry D. Peterson
Commissioner
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Department of Labor and
Industry
Prevailing Wage Division

Adopted Rules Governing Prevailing
Wage Determinations as
Amended

The rules proposed and published at State Register, Volume

4, Number 24, pp. 977-990, December 17, 1979 (4 S.R. 977)
are now adopted with the following amendments.
Please note: 8 MCAR § 1.8016, although published at the
proposed stage, was not amended, nor was it amended when this
set of rules was adopted. It is reprinted here for clarity, and is
designated ‘‘no change.”

Rules As Amended
8 MCAR § 1.8001 Authority, scope and purpose.

A These rules are promulgated pursuant to the authority
provided to the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry by
the provisions of Minn. Stat. § 175.171,subd. 2 €574 and the

requisites of Minn. Stat. § 15.0412, subd. 3 (Supp—9%5). Their
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purpose is to provide procedures for prevailing wage

determinations.

8 MCAR § 1.8002 Definitions. For purposes of all wage rate
determinations, the following definitions shall apply;

A. Highway and heavy construction. All construction proj-
ects which are similar in nature to those projects based upon bids
as provided under Minn. Stat § 161.32 for the construction or
maintenance of highways or other public works and includes
roads, highways, streets, airport runways, bridges, power
plants, dams and utilities.

B. Commercial construction. All building construction proj-
ects exclusive of residential construction.

C. Residential construction/agricultural construction. All
construction, remodeling or repairing of single or two family
homes and structures appurtenant thereto including agricultural
or farming buildings appurtenant to private farm residences
when utilized to carry on primary farming operations.

D. As utilized in these rules the term *‘project”’ means the
erection, construction, remodeling or repairing of commercial,
residential or public buildings or any highway and heavy con-
struction.

E. State project. Those projects which are subject to the
requirements of Minn. Stat. § 177.41-44.

KEY: RULES SECTION — Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike—outs indicate deletions from
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. tod-totimi L ' ‘el .. .
8 MCAR § 1.8003 Prevailing wage determinations.
A. The department shall, at least once each calendar year,

determine and certify prevailing wage rates applicable to state
projects which are similar in nature to highway and heavy
construction projects.

B. The department shall, upon the request of any state agency

that is contemplating the advertisement for bids on a state
project which is similar in nature to commercial construction
projects, determine and certify prevailing wage rates applicable
to said state project if a certification has not been made within
the twelve-month period prior to the request.

C. Prevailing wage rates applicable to state projects which are

similar in nature to residential construction projects will be
made upon request of a governmental official involved in the
bidding process for a state project who desires such rates for
insertion in a specific contract proposal.

D. Each wage survey shall be based upon work performed in

the preceding calendar year and the resulting wage deter-
minations will be certified following the close of the survey.

E. Except as provided in subpart F. herein, all prevailing wage

determinations shall be based upon the survey procedures con-
tained in these rules.

F. The department shall, pursuant to Minn. Stat. §§ 177.43,

subd. 4, and 177.44, subd. 3, conduct public hearings when
necessary to determine county wage rate determinations. Such
hearings shall be conducted within the county for which wage
rates are being determined and shall be conducted as contested
cases by a hearing examiner from the State Office of Hearing

Examiners.
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8 MCAR § 1.8004 Basis for each determination.

A. Individual prevailing wage rates shall be made on a county
by county basis and each prevailing wage rate shall be based
upon work performed solely within the applicable class of labor.

B. For each county survey, the department shall issue wage
determinations for all classes of labor commonly or customarily
used in similar construction projects. ’

1. Where work has been performed in a class of labor in
the county during the time period of the survey, the wage
determination for that class of labor shall be based solely upon
that work.

2. Where work was performed in any other classes of
labor in two or more of the Minnesota counties physically
adjacent to the county being surveyed, the department shall
consider those classes of labor as ones which are customarily or
commonly used in construction projects and determine wage
rates for those classes in accordance with paragraphs 4. and 5.
herein.

3. Where no work was performed in a class of labor
either in the county being surveyed or in two or more of the
adjacent Minnesota counties, no wage rate will be determined
for that class of labor.

4. In looking to adjacent counties for determining addi-
tional classes of labor for which prevailing wage rates should be
made, only those adjacent Minnesota counties for which sur-
veys are either in progress or for which wage rates have been
determined by survey within the preceding 12 months shall be
utilized.

5. In determining a wage rate for a class of labor based
upon work performed in adjacent counties, all workers in the
class of labor in all the adjacent counties shall be totaled and the
wage rate shall be based upon the wage rate paid to the largest
number as determined in accordance with these rules.

C. Following certification of wage rates for a county, no wage
rates for additional classifications of labor shall be made for that
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county until such time that a subsequent survey of the county
demonstrates utilization of those additional classes of labor.

9. Workers employed within a class of labor as appren-
tices or trainees at reduced wage rates will not be included or

8 MCAR § 1.8005 Classes of labor. Each class of labor shall

be based upon the particular nature of the work performed with
consideration given to those trades, occupations, skills or work
generally considered within the construction industry as consti-
tuting distinct classes of labor. Wage determinations will be
issued for those separate classes of labor which fall under the
following general classes.

1. Laborers.

2. Power equipment operators.

3. Truck drivers.
4. Special crafts. The following crafts shall constitute

counted within that class of labor.

separate classes of labor: bricklayers, carpenters, cement ma-
sions, linemen, electricians, iron workers, painters, pipefitters,
plumbers, plasterers, roofers, and sheet metal workers, and
other labor or work which is customarily considered as an
individual trade or craft based upon its character and skills
required. Workers reported as helpers shall be considered to be
skilled laborers when making determinations.

5. In determining particular classes of labor, the depart-

ment shall consider work classifications contained in collective
bargaining agreements, apprenticeship agreements on file with
the department and customs and usage applicable to the con-
struction industry.

6. Primary responsibility for classifying individual

workers shall be upon the contractor.

7. Where a worker performs work in more than one

class of labor, he shall be counted only once and placed in the
class in which he worked the greatest number of hours.

8. The contractor reporting shall have the responsibility

to determine the class in which the worker has worked the
greatest number of hours on each project reported.

KEY: RULES SECTION — Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike—outs indicate deletions from
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8 MCAR §1.8006 Survey procedures. The purpose of each

county survey is to develop a data base upon which to determine
prevailing wage rates which are reasonably comparable to those
wage rates paid on similar projects in the area. The following
procedural steps shall be taken in each wage survey:

1. For each survey, the department shall identify con-

the survey time period. Such forms shall be completed and

tractors who performed projects during the previous calendar
ear.

2. For the purpose of identifying contractors who per-

formed work on projects in each county, the department shall
keep and maintain a mailing list of governmental officials,
district, county and city engineers, city clerks, administrators
and zoning officials and those contractor associations and labor
organizations who have requested to be on the mailing list.

3. The department shall also keep and maintain lists of

contractors for each county which lists shall be kept updated
through applicable telephone directories, trade publications and
through previous wage survey contacts. Any contractor may
request that its name be added to any county list.

4. Upon initiation of a wage survey the department will
issue a form request for project identification to those entities
referred to in paragraph 2. above. The request shall indicate the
nature of the projects and the time period for which information
is requested, and shall request the government official to iden-
tify contractors and their addresses who performed work during
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returned to the department within 33 days.

5. The department shall send to all those contractors

identified as having performed work in the county through the
forms returned from those entities referred to in paragraph 2,
above, and to all those contractors whose names appear on the
applicable county lists compiled under paragraph 3, above, a
request for project information and a request for the identifica-
tion of sub-contractors who worked on those projects. Enclosed
with the request shall be copies of the department’s Contractor

Reporting Form.
a. For each project upon which the contractor per-

formed work within the county during the time period of the
survey, the contractor shall complete a separate Contractor
Reporting Form and provide the following information:

(1) description of project;

(2) dollar cost of the project;

(3) list of the employees who worked on the proj-

ect;

(4) class of labor for each employee;

(5) wage rate paid each employee on the project
and the hourly cost of fringe benefit for H & W, Pension,
Vacation, Training for each employee.

b. All Contractor Reporting Forms and forms identi-
fying sub-contractors who worked on the projects shall be
signed and dated by the contractor or its representative attesting
that the information provided is a true and correct summary of
the information contained in the contractor’s payroll and busi-
ness records.

c¢. The Contractor Reporting Forms and forms iden-

tifying sub-contractors shall be returned to the department
within 30 days following the receipt of the request for informa-
tion.

d. Information which is not received by the depart-

ment within 33 days following the date upon which the request
was mailed by the department shall not be used in making
determinations.

e. Contractor Reporting Forms which do not report
the names of workers, classes of labor, wage rates paid, descrip-
tion of project, type of construction and location of project will
not be utilized in making wage determinations. Any unsigned or
incomplete forms which are received within the 33-day time
period shall be returned to the contractor with a request that the
form be properly completed. If that form is not returned to the
department within 15 days from the date of mailing, it shall be
excluded from the survey. In no event shall information on
unsigned Contractor Reporting Forms be utilized in_making
determinations.

6. Upon learning the identification of sub-contractors

who performed work on projects within the county, the depart-
ment shall proceed with the procedures provided in paragraph 5,
above, and the sub-contractors so contacted shall be subject to
the same requirements provided under paragraph 5.

STATE REGISTER, MONDAY, MAY 19, 1980
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7. In addition to the mail procedures described in para-

ers, each worker within a class of labor and his total hourly rate

graph 5, above, the department shall make on-site visits to the

paid shall be tabulated.

offices of contractors or governmental representatives for the
purposes of collecting project data and for auditing payrolls
when necessary for the determination of prevailing wage rates.

a. Information so collected, either through a review

of the contractor’s payrolls or copies of payrolls provided by
contractors to government offices, will be utilized in making
determinations provided that such information is compiled on an
Investigator’s Project Worksheet and is signed by the investiga-
tor who compiled the information.

8. The number of workers in each class of labor and

their respective wage rates shall be determined and reflected on
a ‘‘County Abstract.”

1. Total hourly rate includes the hourly rate plus the

hourly contribution for all wage and fringe benefits.

2. The largest number of workers with identical rates of

pay within each classification shall determine the specific pre-

3. When determining the prevailing wage rate and there
is an equal number of workers (which represent the greatest
number of workers) with differing hourly wage rates, the pre-
vailing wage rate shall be the highest wage rate paid to those
workers.

Example:
4 workers @ $7.00 per hour

4 workers @ $8.00 per hour
2 workers @ $8.50 per hour

The prevailing wage rate will be determined as $8.00 per hour.

4. Where a worker performs work on more than one

project within the county, he shall be counted only once in the
class of labor and at the wage rate paid on the most recent project
within the time period of the survey.

8 MCAR § 1.8007 Determining the largest number of

workers and Prevailing Wage Rate.

A. Each wage rate determination shall be based upon the

actual wage rates paid to the largest number of workers within
each labor classification reported in the survey.

B. For purposes of determining the largest number of work-
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8 MCAR § 1.8008 Apprentices.

A. Apprentices working on state projects are not subject to the
prevailing wage rate determinations, except as they may be
affected by registered apprenticeship agreements. The hourly
rates of pay for such workers are established by the particular
program to which the apprentice or trainee is subject.

B. The term apprentice means (a) a person employed and

registered in a bona fide apprenticeship program registered with
the U.S. Department of Labor or with a state apprenticeship
agency and (b) a person in his first 90 days of probationary
employment as an apprentice who is not registered in the
program but who has been certified by the U.S. Bureau of
Apprenticeship and Training or a State Apprenticeship agency
or council to be eligible for probationary employment as an

apprentice.

C. Any employee listed on a payroll for a state project who

does not fall within the term ‘‘apprentice’’ contained in subpart
(B) shall be paid the prevailing wage rate for the classification of

work performed.

8 MCAR § 1.8009 Reserved for future use.
8 MCAR § 1.8010 Notice of wage determinations.

A. Upon certification of wage rates for a given county, the
department shall publish notice of such certification in the State
Register but need not publish the individual rates so certified.
The certification date shall coincide with the date published in
the State Register.

B. The notice published in the State Register shall indicate
where copies of the determined rates may be obtained upon
request.

C. The department shall maintain a list of all persons who
request that copies of wage rate determinations be sent to them.

D. Copies of wage rate determinations shall be mailed within
5 days of their certification to those persons who have requested
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such notice and whose names appear on the list maintained by
the department. The department may charge a reasonable fee for
the copying and mailing of these notices as allowed under Minn.
Stat. § 15.17, subd. 4 (1974).

in-addii heing . L by thed
Provailing Wase-Division . 'I' . '
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8 MCAR §§ 1.8011-1.8012 Reserved for future use.

8 MCAR § 1.8013 Petition for reconsideration of prevail-
ing wage rates.

A. Any person including contractor associations or labor
organizations aggrieved by a final determination of a prevailing
wage rate may petition the Commissioner for reconsideration of
that wage rate within 30 days following its certification. The
petitioner shall indicate the county and class(es) of labor con-
tested, the reason the petitioner believes the rate to be inaccu-
rate, and the rates the petitioner believes to be correct.

B. Within 10 days following receipt of a Petition for Recon-
sideration, the Department shall informally meet with the Peti-
tioner and any other interested person, associations or labor
organizations to review the contested wage determination(s).

1. The petitioner shall be prepared to support his con-
tentions with any documents or data he deems necesssary.

2 .The department shall be prepared to produce and
review the data, summary sheets and other documents upon
which its determinations were based, and shall produce for the
petitioner’s inspection, all such documents.

C. Following the informal conference, the Department shall,
within 10 days, notify the petitioner of any decision modifying,
changing, or reaffirming the contested wage rate or indicate to
the petitioner that a survey will be necessary to resolve the
contested wage rate(s).

1. Where the department determines that a new survey
is necessary, such survey shall be conducted within 30 days.
Thereafter, the department shall inform the petitioner by certi-
fied mail of its final decision based on that survey.

D. No prevailing wage rate will be deemed to be vacated or
suspended pending the resolution of a Petition for Reconsidera-
tion nor will the department request any state agency contem-
plating a state project to suspend, delay or otherwise change its
contract and bidding schedules due to any pending procedures
resulting from a Petition for Reconsideration.

E. Any person aggrieved by a final decision following recon-
sideration of a prevailing wage rate may, within 20 days after the
decision, petition the Commissioner for a public hearing in the
manner of a contested case under the administrative procedures
act, Minn. Stat. §§15.0418 to 15.0421.

1. Upon receipt of a petition for a public hearing the
commissioner shall order the initiation of a contested case in
accordance with Minn. Stat. § 15.052.

2. All contested case hearings initiated herein shall be
conducted in accordance with the rules of Operation of the
Office of Hearing Examiners.

T 1L anol " i I oo
8 MCAR § 1.8014 Reserved for future use.
For-purpeses-of theseriles;the folowingcode-numbers-shalt
l Hized to_deseribetl licablecl  labor

Highway Laborers
€OBENS: = POSIHON-TFHLEE

b OBEEEREERE EREERE

KEY: RULES SECTION — Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike—outs indicate deletions from
proposed rule language. PROPOSED RULES SECTION — Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. Strike

euts indicate deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated ‘‘all new material.”’
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KEY: RULES SECTION — Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike—euts indicate deletions from
proposed rule language. PROPOSED RULES SECTION — Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. Strike
. outs indicate deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated ‘‘all new material.”’

(CITE 4 S.R. 1825) STATE REGISTER, MONDAY, MAY 19, 1980 PAGE 1825



ADOPTED RULES

FruekDrivers- COPE-NO- POSITION-FHTLE
{Statewidey 748  Lineman

601  Bituminous-Distributor-Driver 751 lronworkers—ornamental
602  BituminousDistributor-Spray-Operator 223 Ironweorkers—reinforcing

| L oil Ironworkers—structural
605 CoA s -;7Léé+§ kenweﬂeeps—(é—mesﬂmewals}
62 Meadfl Mi.* Driver-{mixer-capacity-over4-cu—yds 373 Plumbers

up-to-and-including 6-cu—yds)-
626  Selfi-propeHedPackerOperator- 79+ Sheet-metal-workers-

633  Tractor Operator (wheel type-used for any-purpese) 8 MCAR § 1.8015 Master job classifications. For purposes
64+  TruckDriver(upto-andincluding 6 cu—yds-—bexwater of these rules, contractors must use the following codes and

fevehr classifications in documenting classes of labor.
642  TruckDriver{over6cu—yds—uptoandincluding8cu- Laborers
yds—bex-water-level) =anore®
643 Truek Driver(overScu—yds—uptoandincludingtz ~ CODENO. POSITION TITLE
cu—yds—box-water Ien-el) ’ 101 Laborer, common (general labor work)
644 :F-Fl.lE]E D.Fi”EF(E“EF 12 cu-yds-uptoandinchiding 16 102 Laborer, skilled (assisting skilled craft journeyman)
cu—yds— box-water leuel-) ’ 103 Laborer, Landscaping (gardener, sod layer and
645 I’I.IEIE Drives (over 16-cu—yds—box-water Jevel) nurseryman)
643 Truck Driver(hauling machinery forcontractorsown 104 Flagperson
use-includingoperation-of hand-or-pewer-operated 105  Watchperson
winches) 106  Powderman
650  TruckMechanic (ncaseswhereanoperaingenginees 107 Pipelayer (water, sewer & gas)
smechanic-isnot employed)- 108  Tunnel miner
65+  Truek-Welder 109  Underground and open ditch laborer (8 feet
Truck Driver: below starting grade level)
662 Single-axle-orZ-axeunit Power Equipment Operators
Tandem-axle-or 3axle-unit
O pondem e CODE NO. POSITION TITLE
Ei lo-uhi 201 Air compressor operator
665 E hadditional-axle—10 ditionalvert 202 Asphalt, bituminous stabilizer plant operator
. ’ 203 Dragline and/or other similar equipment with shovel
g Si lt ) " type controls
204  Bituminous spreader and finishing operator
Speeinl-Crafts 205  Bituminous spreader and bituminous finishing
{Statewidey machine operator (helper)
H+  Brieklayers 206  Conveyor operator
H2  BricklayersApprentice(6-meos—interval) 207  Concrete distributor and spreader operator, finishing
F24  Carpenters- machine, longitudinal float operator, joint
722  Carpenters-apprentice-(1000-hr—interval) machine or spray operator
B+ CementMasens 208  Concrete saw operator (multiple blade) (power
132  Cement-Masons—(6-mos—intervab operated)
733 Cement-Masons-—yearintervals); 209 Crushing plant operator (gravel and stone) or gravel
740 Cable-Splicer washing, crushing and screening plant operators
74 Electricians 210 Curb machine
742  EleetriciansApprentice 211 Frontend loader operator up to and including 1 cu. yd.
743 Eleetrictans—{or—work—up-to-$4-000) 212 Fine grade operator
744  Eleetricians-on-work-over$4-000 213 Fork lift operator
745 Electricians-Apprentice—(3-mos—ntervab 214  Front end loader operator
46  Eleetricians-Apprentice{6-mos—intervab- 215 Helicopter pilot
747  Eleetricians-Apprentice-(years—intervalsy 216  Fireman or tank car heater operator
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CODE NO.

217
218

CODE NO.

301
302

CODE NO.

201
a0

POSITION TITLE
Grader or motor patrol, finishing, earthwork and
bituminous
Grader operator (motor patrol)
Greaser (truck and tractor)
Hoist engineer
Self propelled chip spreader
Mechanic or welder
Oilers (power shovel, crane, dragline)

Pick up sweeper
Pugmill operator

Roller operator, self propelled roller for compaction
Roller operator, up to and including 6 tons for
bituminous finishing and/or wearing courses
Roller operator, over 6 tons for bituminous finishing
and/or wearing courses

Scraper, 32 cu. yds. and over

Self propelled vibrating packing operator (pad type)
Rubber tired tractor, back hoe attachment
Shouldering machine operator (power) (apsco or
similar type)

Slip form (power-driven) (paving)

Turnapull operator (or similar type)

Tractor operator, D2, TD6 or similar h.p. with power
take-off

Tractor operator, over D2, TD6 or similar h.p. with

ower take-off
Power actuated augers and boring machine

Truck crane oiler

Truck Drivers

POSITION TITLE
Bituminous Distributor driver
Dumpman
Greaser and truck serviceman
Self propelled packer operator
Truck driver (hauling machinery for contractors own
use including operation of hand or power operator
winches)
Single axle or 2 axle unit
Tandem axle or 3 axle unit
Four axle unit
Five axle unit

Special Crafts
POSITION TITLE
Asbestos workers
Boilermakers

CODE NO. POSITION TITLE

403  Bricklayers

404  Carpenters

405  Carpet Layers (linoleum)
406  Cement Masons

407 Electricians

408  Elevator Constructors
409  Glaziers

410  Lathers

411 Groundman

41 Ironworkers
413  Lineman
414  Millwright
415  Painters
416  Piledriverman
417  Pipefitters—steamfitters
418  Plasterers
19 Plumbers
420  Roofer

421 Sheet metal workers

422 Sprinkler fitters

423 Terrazzo workers
424  Tile setters

Wage determinations may be made for other classifications not
listed if such other classifications are in general use in the area

being surveyed.
8 MCAR § 1.8016 Posting of wage rates. [No change.]

Each contractor and subcontractor performing work on a
public project shall post on the project the applicable prevailing
wage rates and hourly basic rates of pay for the county or area
within which the project is being performed, including the
effective date of any changes thereof, in at least one conspicuous
place for the information of the employees working on the
project. (Minn. Stat. § 177.43, subd. 4 and Minn. Stat. §
177.44, subd. 5 (1974)). The information so posted shall in-
clude a breakdown of contributions for health and welfare bene-
fits, vacation benefits, pension benefits and any othe economic
benefit required to be paid.

8 MCAR § 1.8017 Wage rate determinations previously
certified by the department shall, subject to the review proce-
dures contained in § 1.8013, remain in effect until such time
that new wage rates are determined in accordance with the

provisions of these rules as amended.

KEY: RULES SECTION — Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike—euts indicate deletions from
proposed rule language. PROPOSED RULES SECTION — Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. Strike
euts indicate deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated ‘‘all new material.”’
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SUPREME COURT

Decisions Filed Friday, May 9, 1980
Compiled by John McCarthy, Clerk

49466, 49761/496 Carlyle Pederson, Respondent (49466), Appellant (49761), vs. All Nation Insurance Company, defendant and
third party plaintiff, Appellant (49466), Respondent (49761), vs. State Automobile and Casualty Underwriters, third party defend-
ant. Olmsted County.

In this action to recover basic economic loss benefits pursuant to the Minnesota No-Fault Automobile Insurance Act, whether plaintiff was
insured under Minn. Stat. § 65B.43, subd. 5 (1978) as a relative residing in the same household with the named insured was a question of fact.
The finding that he was not has sufficient evidentiary support.

The finding of the trial court relative to the extent of plaintiff’s wage loss has sufficient evidentiary support.

Plaintiff is entitled to interest on the award of basic economic loss benefits pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 65B.54, subds. | and 2 (1978).
Affirmed in part, reversed in part, and remanded. Kelly, J. Took no part, Otis, J.

50294/150 Margaret Krug, Appellant, vs. Independent School District No. 16, Spring Lake Park, Minnesota. Anoka County.

Where a strict application of the rule concerning appeals from amended orders would bar an appeal, the appeal may be entertained if the
interests of justice are served by doing so.

Since a public health nurse in the school system is required to hold a professional license from the State Board of Education, a public health
nurse is a teacher for the purposes of Minn. Stat. § 125.12, subd. 1 (1978).

Teachers, as defined by Minn. Stat. § 125.12, subd. 1 (1978), acquire tenure and seniority rights if the services they render in their position as
teacher are full-time professional activities.

Under the regulations contained in 5 MCAR § 3.106, the position of school nurse consists of three levels, one of which is public health nurse. A
public health nurse is not a separate position from that of school nurse.

The decision of the trial court is reversed, the writ of certiorari is reinstated, and the matter is remanded to the district court for further
proceedings consistent with this opinion. Todd, J.

50597/160 In the Matter of the Welfare of S. R. J. vs. State of Minnesota, Appellant. Ramsey County.

Police reports evidencing the alleged offenses and their underlying circumstances are relevant to and admissible in a reference hearing for the
purpose of determining whether the juvenile is amenable to treatment or is a threat to the public safety.

A juvenile court has the discretionary power, pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 260.151, subd. 1 (1978), to order a psychiatric or psychological
examination of a juvenile by a court-appointed expert in the context of a reference hearing. The report of such an examination shall be
considered by the court and, at the reference hearing, either party may examine the court-appointed expert regarding the report.

On remand, the state has the right to request that the matter be assigned to a juvenile judge other than the one who originally heard this matter.
The order of dismissal is vacated and the matter is remanded for further proceedings consistent with this opinion. Todd, J.
50199/245 State of Minnesota vs. Rodney Allen Neville, Appellant. Ramsey County.

Mere observation by police of defendant entering and leaving residence which police had probable cause to believe was at that moment being
used as a wholesale LSD outlet did not give the police probable cause to arrest defendant; however, officers also had reliable information,
which they obtained from a fellow officer, that an undercover LSD “‘buy’’ had been made at defendant’s own residence within the previous 2
weeks, and under all these circumstances the officers had probable cause to arrest defendant after he left the supplier’s residence.

Affirmed. Todd, J.

49389/45 Allen Leskey vs. Heath Engineering Company, defendant and third party plaintiff, Appellant, vs. Zalk-Josephs Com-
pany. St. Louis County.

Jury findings that a product was not defective when manufactured but that the manufacturer was negligent are not inconsistent where the
manufacturer could have been found negligent for failure to wam of potential hazards from the use of the product.

Affirmed in part, reversed and remanded in part. Yetka, J.
49907/139 Patrick J. Murphy, et al., vs. City of Minneapolis, et al., Appellants. Hennepin County.

The trial court did not err in instructing the jury that the Minneapolis Police Department order governing the use of firearms was evidence of
what constituted reasonable care under the circumstances.

The trial court did not err in instructing the jury on the statutory privilege of a police officer to use deadly force as a defense to a battery charge
but not to negligence.
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The trial court erred in preventing the testimony of two witnesses for failure to disclose a note where the note was not a statement of the
witnesses.

Reversed and remanded for a new trial. Yetka, J.
49763/96 Emil Olson, Inc., Relator, vs. The Commissioner of Revenue. Tax Court.

Where the relator excavated virgin rock, crushed, screened, sized and stockpiled the resulting gravel, and then transferred the gravel for money
consideration to roadbuilding contractors who used it for a roadbed in the construction of an interstate highway, there was a *‘sale’” within the
meaning of Minn. Stat. Ch. 297A (1978).

The exemption provided for in Minn. Stat. § 297A.25, subd. 1(h), is not applicable to such sales because the gravel is not used or consumed in
the *‘industrial production of personal property intended to be sold ultimately at retail.”" Further, since the contractors used the gravel for the
purpose of constructing an interstate highway, Minn. Stat. § 297A.25, subd. 4, precludes the utilization of an exemption which might
otherwise be available under § 297A.25, subd. 1.

Affirmed. Scott, J.

Decisions Filed Friday, May 2, 1980

50755/311 State of Minnesota, Appellant, vs. Patricia Mae Hall. Washington County.

Prison officers had probable cause to believe that defendant, who was a visitor, was guilty of introducing contraband into prison and therefore
were justified in arresting her and conducting a custodial search of her person as an incident thereto; district court erred in holding that arrest
was illegal and we therefore reverse order which suppressed evidence on this ground and dismissed prosecution.

Reversed and remanded. Sheran, C. J.
50906/314 State of Minnesota vs. Scott Nils Nystrom, Appellant. Ramsey County.

Juvenile court did not clearly err in its findings or abuse its discretion in determining that public safety would be endangered by keeping
Juvenile in the juvenile court system, and therefore juvenile court’s decision to grant reference motion pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 260.125 (1978)
is affirmed.

Affirmed. Sheran, C. J.

STATE CONTRACTS

Pursuant to the provisions of Minn. Stat. § 16.098, subd. 3, an agency
must make reasonable effort to publicize the availability of any consul-
tant services contract or professional and technical services contract
which has an estimated cost of over $2,000.

Department of Administration procedures require that notice of any

consultant services contract or professional and technical services con-
tract which has an estimated cost of over $10,000 be printed in the State
Register. These procedures also require that the following information
be included in the notice: name of contact person, agency name and
address, description of project and tasks, cost estimate, and final
submission date of completed contract proposal.

Department of
Administration

Notice of Request for Proposals to
Provide Diagnostic and Referral
Services for the State Employee
Assistance Program

Notice is hereby given that the Department of Administration
intends to engage the services of a contractor in each of the
following areas to provide diagnostic and referral services for
state employees: Winona, Owatonna, Cambridge, Rochester,

(CITE 4 S.R. 1829)
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Mankato, Marshall, Willmar, Fergus Falls, Crookston, Be-
midji, Brainerd, St. Cloud, Virginia and Duluth.

The estimated amount of the contract in each of these areas
will not exceed $4,000. Responses must be received by June 16,
1980.

Direct inquiries to:

Warren Gahlon

Director

State Employee Assistance Program
Suite 101

2301 Woodbridge Avenue
Roseville, Minnesota 55113

(612) 296-0765
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Department of Economic
Security

Program and Management
Support Division

Office of Statewide CETA
Coordination

Notice of Request for Proposals for
Professional and Technical
Auditing Services for CETA Title
V Older Americans Act Programs

1. Agency name and address: MN Department of Economic
Security, Office of Statewide CETA Coordination, 690 Ameri-
can Building, 160 E. Kellogg Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55101.

2. Contact person: Persons or Certified Public Accounting
firms wishing to receive this request for proposals package, or
who would like additional information may call the Contracting
Officers, Marv McNeff, (612) 296-6069, or Jim Markoe, (612)
296-4983, or write them at the following address: Office of
Audit Coordination, MN Department of Economic Security,
Room 200, 390 North Robert Street, St. Paul, MN 55101.

3. Description: An RFP will be issued on or about May 12,
1980, calling for the performance of Financial and Compliance
audits at 12 CETA Title V (formerly Title IX) Older Americans
Act subgrantees, located in the Twin Cities Metropolitan area
and throughout the State of Minnesota.

4. Cost: One or more audit contract awards will be made at an
estimated $8,400.00 in total costs.

5. Final proposal submission date: Proposals must be re-
ceived by 4 p.m., Tuesday, May 27, 1980.

6. Bidder’s Conference: A Bidder’s Conference to answer
questions from interested CPA firms is scheduled for 10 a.m.,
on May 16, 1980.

7. Ending date for completion of audit work: The audit
reports resulting from the audit work should be completed
within sixty (60) days of June 30, 1980.

Department of Economic
Security
Office of Weatherization

Notice of Request for Proposals for
Training of Residential Energy
Auditors and Community Action
Agency Weatherization Outreach
Personnel

The Minnesota Department of Economic Security, Office of
Weatherization, is requesting proposals from qualified bidders
to conduct a series of training sessions for residential energy
auditors and Community Action Agency Weatherization Out-
reach personnel. Training sessions are to be conducted for the
period of July 1, 1980 through August 1, 1980.

Estimate fee range: $18,000-$21,000.

Firms/individuals desiring consideration should send their
response to:

Donald Foley

Training Coordinator

Department of Economic Security
Office of Weatherization

690 American Center Building
St. Paul, MN 55101

(612) 296-4658

Request for Proposal is available upon request.

All responses should be sent in no later than 5:00 p.m., June
2, 1980. Late responses will not be accepted.

Department of Education
Special Services Division

Notice of Requests for Proposals for
the Narration of Master Tapes
Utilized in Assessment Test
Administration

A contractor is needed by the Department of Education to
narrate and produce approximately 20 reel-to-reel masters
which can be duplicated.

The anticipated contract in this regard will be approximately
$3,000 and all responses to RFPs should be received no later
than June 27, 1980.

Interested persons are invited to seek further information
from the department by contacting:

Dr. William B. McMillan, Director of Assessment Section
Division of Special Services

State Department of Education

Capitol Square Building

550 Cedar Street

St. Paul, Minnesota 55101
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Notice of Requests for Proposals for
Receipt Control, Scanning, and
Computer Reporting of
Assessment Results

A contractor is needed by the Department of Education to
essentially provide scoring, reporting and related services in
conjunction with Department assessment functions. Services
are required for: 1) an Arts test at grades 4, 8,and 11, and 2) a
Reading Literacy test at grades 7 through 12.

In addition, similar services are required in conjunction with
the “‘piggyback’’ option portion of the Assessment Program.

The estimated contract will be approximately $35,000 and
responses to RFP’s should be received no later than June 27,
1980.

Interested persons are invited to seek further information
from the department by contacting:

Dr. William B. McMillan, Director of Assessment Section
Division of Special Services

State Department of Education

Capitol Square Building

550 Cedar Street

St. Paul, Minnesota 55101

OFFICIAL NOTICES

Pursuant to the provisions of Minn. Stat. § 15.0412, subd. 6, an
agency, in preparing proposed rules, may seek information or opinion
from sources outside the agency. Notices of intent to solicit
outside opinion must be published in the State Register and all interested
persons afforded the opportunity to submit data or views on the subject,

either orally or in writing.

The State Register also publishes other official notices of state agen-
cies, notices of meetings, and matters of public interest.

Department of Commerce
Banking Division
Bulletin No. 2237: Maximum Lawful

Rate of Interest for Mortgages for
May 1980

Notice is hereby given that pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 47.20,
subd. 4a, the maximum lawful rate of interest for conventional
home mortgages for the month of May, 1980, is fifteen and
three-quarters (15.75) percentage points.

April 29, 1980

Michael J. Pint
Commissioner of Banks

Maximum Lawful Rate of Interest for
Contracts for Deed for May 1980

Pursuant to Senate File No. 273, Chapter 373, 1980 Session
Laws, as it amended Minn. Stat. § 47.20, effective May 1,
1980, the maximum lawful rate of interest for contracts for deed
is based on the Federal National Mortgage Association conven-
tional loan auction yield for April 29, 1980. The 15.665 percent
average yield results, when rounded up to the next highest one-
quarter percent, produces a 15.75 percent maximum interest
rate for the month of May, 1980.

May 1, 1980

Michael J. Pint
Commissioner of Banks

(CITE 4 S.R. 1831)
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Department of Education
Instruction Division

Notice of Availability of Basic Skills
Improvement Grants

Under Section 222 of Public Law 95-561, the state of Minne-
sota is pleased to invite competitive applications for the $48,900
of federal funds which it has available for Basic Skills in School
Projects and Basic Skills Parent Involvement Projects.

Applications will be approved in amounts ranging from
$1,000 to $15,000, with the lower end of that range being
emphasized. It is anticipated that 10-20 proposals will be
funded.

School Projects must:
1. Identify the population to be served.
2. Identify needs of the population.

3. Address either development of goals and objectives, in-
service training, getting support of parents, evaluation proce-
dures or dissemination activities.

Parent Involvement Projects may do one, some or all of the
following:

1. Develop and disseminate materials for home use.

2. Coordinate between learning experiences in the home and
those in the schools.
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3. Plan for, develop and improve centers accessible to
parents to private information to help them work with their
children.

4. Demonstrate training programs for parents who desire
new skills to complement the instruction their children receive
in schools. :

Because of the relatively small sums of money available,
proposal forms will be quite brief, a maximum of three pages.

For further information and/or application packet, contact
Patricia Moran, Supervisor of the Basic Skills Unit (telephone
(612)297-2657) or Alton Greenfield, Supervisor of the Reading
Unit (telephone (612) 296-6998).

Department of Education
Special and Compensatory
Education Division

Notice of Public Hearing on the
Minnesota State Plan for Fiscal
Years 1981 through 1983 for
Meeting the Requirements of
Public Law 94-142, the Education
of All Handicapped Children Act
(45 C.F.R. 121a.)

Three public hearings on the proposed Minnesota State Plan
for Fiscal Years 1981 through 1983 will be conducted on Friday,
June 13, 1980. Each hearing will begin at 9:00 a.m. The hear-
ings will be held in the following three locations: (1) Metro: St.
Paul Schools Administration Building, 300 Colborne, Audito-
rium A, St. Paul, MN; (2) Mankato: Mankato State University,
Centennial Student Union, Rooms 101 & 102, Mankato, MN
(Parking in yellow lots and Ramp Lot #4); and (3) Bemidji: J.
W. Smith Elementary School, J. W. Smith Auditorium, 17th-
18th St. and Minnesota Avenue, Bemidji, MN.

The State Plan may be modified as a result of the hearing
process. Therefore, if you are affected by the activities included
in the proposed State Plan, you are urged to participate in the
hearing process. An interpreter for the hearing impaired will be
present at the Metro hearing and upon request in Bemidji and
Mankato.

Following the agency’s brief overview of the plan, all inter-
ested persons will have an opportunity to ask questions and
make comments. Statements may be made orally and written
material may be submitted. In addition, whether or not an
appearance is made at the hearing written comments may be
submitted to Dr. Jeanne E. Dorle, State Department of Educa-
tion, Division of Special and Compensatory Education, Special
Education Section, 550 Cedar Street, St. Paul, MN 55101,
before June 18, 1980.
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Copies of the plan will be available upon request from the
Special Education Section by June 2, 1980. Additional copies
will be available at the hearings. If you have any questions on
the content of the plan contact Jeanne Dorle, Ph.D. (296-1793).

Department of Employee
Relations
Notice of Meeting

The Department of Employee Relations wishes to meet with
home office representatives of insurance companies interested
in presenting a proposal to provide basic hospital and medical
benefits to state employees. This information meeting will be
held on Friday, May 30, 1980 at 9:00 a.m. in the offices of the
Department of Employee Relations, 3rd floor, Space Center
Building, 444 Lafayette Road, St. Paul, Minnesota 55101.

Chapter 617, Laws of 1980 directs that where feasible an
insurance company licensed under Section 62A of the Minne-
sota Statutes shall be selected as one of the carriers providing the
above benefit to state employees. Coverage would be effective
October 1, 1980. However, proposals will be required on Au-
gust 1, 1980 so that the contract can be awarded prior to an open
enrollment period which begins on August 15, 1980. Specifica-
tions based on the present health insurance coverage provided in
labor agreements and state law will be available at the meeting.

Please notify the Employee Benefits Division, Department of
Employee Relations (telephone 296-2457, area code 612) on or
before May 28, 1980 if you plan to attend.

Environmental Quality
Board

Notice of Intent to Solicit Outside
Opinions or Information
Concerning Revision of Rules
Relating to Power Plant Siting

Program

Pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 15.0412, subd. 6, notice is hereby
given that the Minnesota Environmental Quality Board is solic-
iting information and opinions from sources outside the agency
for the purpose of developing rules for determining an Inventory
of Power Plant Study Areas and revising the exiting rules on
Siting Large Electric Power Generating Plants, 6 MCAR §
3.071. Such rules are required by Minn. Stat. § 116C.55.

Any persons desiring to submit information or comments on
the subject may do so either orally or in writing. All statements
of information and comment must be received by June 9, 1980.
Any written material received by this date will become part of
the record of any rules hearing held on this subject. Public
hearings on these rules will be held at a date yet to be deter-
mined.
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Written or oral information and comment should be addressed
to:

Sheldon Mains

Power Plant Siting Program
Environmental Quality Board

Room 15

550 Cedar Street

St. Paul, Minnesota 55101

(612) 296-2757 (collect calls accepted)

May 9, 1980

Arthur E. Sidner, Chairman
Environmental Quality Board

Ethical Practices Board

Meeting Notice

The Ethical Practices Board will meet Friday, May 30, 1980
in Room 51, State Office Building, at 9:30 a.m.

Preliminary Agenda

1. Minutes (April 21, 1980)
2. Chairman’s Report
3. Legal Counsel Report
4. Advisory Opinion #63—Americans For Democratic
Action—(Independent Expenditures)
5. Advisory Opinion #64—Senator Wayne Olhoft—(Pur-
chase of Capital Equipment)
6. Advisory Opinion #65—Representative Jerry Knicker-
bocker—(Candidate Spending on Behalf of Ballot Questions)
7. Executive Director’s Report
a) Financial Report
b) Late Filing Waiver Requests
8. Other Business
9. Executive Session pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 10A.02,
subd. 11.

Department of Health
Community Development
Office

Notice of Availability of Home Care
Demonstration Grants

Amount, Purpose and Eligibility

$500,000 of state funds are available for special grants to
develop programs to assist the elderly and physically disabled to
reside in a family setting or home community. The range of
services and programs established by these special grants shall
be designed to:

A. Avoid premature or inappropriate admission to an institu-
tional care setting;

(CITE 4 S.R. 1833)
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B. Provide respite for families and responsible caretakers
from continuous care, and assist them in providing appropriate
services;

C. Maintain or restore elderly and adult physicaily impaired
persons to optimal functional potential and retard physical/emo-
tional deterioration;

D. Provide support and follow-up services to persons resid-
ing in their own or a family members home; and

E. Facilitate appropriate release of elderly and adult physi-
cally impatred persons from acute and long-term care facilities
to family care or to other community based programs.

Special grant funds may not be used to replace or substitute
for services or programs otherwise funded from other local,
state or federal sources, but shall be used to expand health and
health related supportive social service programs existing as of
July 1, 1980, or to add programs.

Effect of Grant Rules

These grants are subject to the provisions of 7 MCAR §§
1.451-1.455.

How to Apply for Funds

Letter of Intent—Letters of intent to apply for special grant
funds must be submitted to the Commissioner of Health, Minne-
sota Department of Health, 717 Delaware Street S.E., Minneap-
olis, Minnesota 55440, by May 26, 1980, and must identify the
amount of funds to be requested and the general programmatic
focus of the application.

Application Process

A. Applications for special grant funds may be made by
Boards of Health as a revision to the approved 1980/81 CHS
Plan, according to CHS Policy #4. The revision should include
a project description and budget for the activity as stated in Parts
I, IV and V of the Instructions and Forms for CHS Plans for
Calendar Years 1980 and 1981.

B. County Commissioners not organized under Minn. Stat.
§§ 145.911 to 145.922 shall submit a Letter of Intent to Apply
for Funds and appropriate application materials will be for-
warded to them.

C. Five copies of the completed applications for these special
grants must be submitted to the Commissioner of Health, Min-
nesota Department of Health, 717 Delaware Street S .E., Minne-
apolis, Minnesota 55440, by June 6, 1980. Regional review
requirements apply as stated in 7 MCAR § 1.453. The commis-
sioner will act on these applications by June 30, 1980.

Funding Criteria and Duration

Funds for these purposes are available from July 1, 1980 to
June 30, 1981. To ensure adequate geographic representation an
effort will be made to fund at least one project from each of the
eight MDH geographic Districts.

As with the CHS Plan review process, special attention will
be given to both demonstrated and planned local coordination of
services to enhance home care system development.
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Minnesota Teachers
Retirement Association
Meeting Notice

The Board of Trustees, Minnesota Teachers Retirement As-
sociation, will hold a meeting on Wednesday, June 18, 1980, at
9 a.m. in the office of the association, 302 Capitol Square
Building, 550 Cedar Street, St. Paul, Minnesota, to consider
matters which may properly come before the board.

Pollution Control Agency
Solid Waste Division

Notice of Intent to Solicit Outside
Opinion in the Development of a
State Solid Waste Management
Plan Pursuant to the Federal
Resource Conservation and
Recovery Act

The Minnesota Pollution Control Agency is presently prepar-
ing a draft plan for managing and regulating all major forms of
solid wastes including mixed municipal solid wastes, hazardous
wastes, residual wastes from pollution control devices, indus-
trial wastes, agricultural wastes (animal wastes), mining
wastes, and automobile-related wastes (tires, oil, and car bod-
ies). The plan is directed primarily at solid waste management in
geographical areas outside of the Twin Cities metropolitan area
and outside of the Western Lake Superior Sanitary District.

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency has issued guidelines
under authority of Subtitle D of the federal Resource Conserva-
tion and Recovery Act of 1976 (RCRA) which require all states
to prepare a plan by January 31, 1981. The guidelines were
published on July 31, 1979, in the Federal Register. Copies of
the guidelines are available for inspection at the Minnesota
Pollution Control Agency and at many public libraries. The plan
must discuss provisions for systematic management and regula-
tion of solid wastes in order to protect the public health and the
environment and to conserve valuable material and energy
Tresources.

At this time Minnesota Pollution Control Agency is soliciting
opinions concerning matters which should be addressed in the
plan. Minnesota Pollution Control Agency is particularly inter-
ested in obtaining views about objectives, policies, issues, or
problems, recommendations, and immediate and long-term
goals which relate to the following:

1. Measures to reduce amounts of wastes generated;

2. Measures to encourage the separation of reusable ma-
terials;

3. Measures to promote the construction of facilities to re-
cover energy and usable materials from wastes; and
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4. Measures to assure safe siting, design, and operation of
disposal facilities.

Any interested person may submit views or information in
writing or orally to:

Gregg Downing

Resource Planning Section

Division of Solid Waste

Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
1935 West County Road B-2
Roseville, Minnesota 55113

Phone: 612-297-2702

Comments should be submitted on or before June 18, 1980, to
be considered in preparation of the draft plan. Written state-
ments will become part of the public comment record.

Upon completion of a draft plan, Minnesota Pollution Control
Agency will provide notice of its availability for review and of
public meetings at which time the plan will be discussed. Inter-
ested persons who desire to examine a copy of the draft plan
when available or notice of any scheduled meetings may contact
Mr. Downing at the above address or phone number.

Department of Public
Welfare

Bureau of Income
Maintenance

Notice of Intent to Solicit Outside
Opinion Concerning Medical
Transportation Covered by Title
XIX (Medical Assistance)

Notice is hereby given that the Minnesota Department of
Public Welfare is considering amending a permanent rule, 12
MCAR §2.047, paragraphs D.11. and E.2.r.(1) (DPW Rule 47,
Medical Transportation sections). This notice is to request com-
ments and opinions which will be considered when determining
definitions and rates for Medical Transportation to be included
in rule 47.

All interested or affected persons or groups are requested to
participate. Statements of information and comment may be
made orally or in writing. Written statements of information and
comment may be addressed to:

Bradley J. Stoneking
P.O. Box 43170
St. Paul, Minnesota 55155

Oral statements of information and comment will be received
during regular business hours over the telephone at (612) 296-
2846. All statements and comments must be received by August
1, 1980. Any written material received by the Department shall
become part of the hearing record.
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Notice of Intent to Solicit Outside
Opinion Concerning Pre-
admission Screening for Nursing
Home Care

Notice is hereby given that the Minnesota Department of
Public Welfare is drafting a temporary rule, 12 MCAR § 2.065
(DPW Rule 65), and, subsequently, a permanent rule, 12
MCAR § 2.065, governing pre-admission screening for nursing
home care. This notice is to request comments and opinions for
the permanent rule. A separate notice will be published in the
State Register requesting comments when the proposed tempo-
rary rule is published.

Authority for the rule is contained in Laws of Minnesota, ch.
575 (1980), codified as Minn. Stat. § 256B.091.

The rule will govern the establishment of local nursing home
pre-admission screening teams, prescribe the duties of the teams
and the Commissioner of Public Welfare, and provide for a
sliding fee scale for interested persons desiring screening who
are not Medical Assistance recipients or who would be eligible
for Medical Assistance within 90 days of admission. This rule
will affect admission of Medical Assistance recipients, those
who would be eligible for Medical Assistance within 90 days, or
those desiring the screening service only if the admission is not
from an acute care facility or a transfer from another nursing
home.

All interested or affected persons or groups are requested to
participate. Statements of information and comment may be
made orally or in writing. Written statements of information and
comment may be addressed to:

Charlene Seavey, Supervisor
Utilization Control Unit

444 Lafayette Road, Box 43208
St. Paul, Minnesota 55101

Oral statements of information and comment will be received
during regular business hours over the telephone at (612) 296-
6963.

All statements and comment must be received by June 20,
1980. Any written material received by the department shall
become part of the hearing record.
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Department of Public
Welfare
Mental Health Bureau

Notice of Intent to Solicit Outside
Opinion Concerning Rule
Relating to the Licensure and
Operation of Residential
Programs for Adult Mentally lli
Persons

Notice is hereby given that the Minnesota Department of
Public Welfare is considering draft amendments to 12 MCAR §
2.036 (DPW 36). This rule governs licensure and operation of
all residential programs for adult mentally ill persons.

The proposed changes are to 1.) refine the levels of care so that
each level accurately describes the standard of care and treatment
needed by each client category. 2.) develop a funding proposal
for each level according to the services needed to adequately
provide the appropriate standard of care and treatment.

All interested or affected persons or groups are requested to
participate. Statements of information and comment may be
made orally or in writing. Written statements of information and
comment may be addressed to: Jay Bambery, Minnesota De-
partment of Public Welfare, Mental Health Program Division,
4th Floor Centennial Building, St. Paul, MN 55155.

Oral statements of information and comment will be received
during regular business hours over the telephone at (612) 296-
3923. All statements of information and comment must be
received by July 1, 1980.

Any written material received by the department shall be-
come part of the hearing record.

Secretary of State

Notice of Vacancies in Multi-Member
State Agencies

Notice is hereby given to the public that vacancies have
occurred in multi-member state agencies, pursuant to Minn.
Stat. § 15.0597, subd. 4. Application forms may be obtained at
the Office of Secretary of State, 180 State Office Building, St.
Paul 55155; (612) 296-2805. Application deadline is Tues-
day, June 10, 1980.

Council on the Economic Status of Women has 11 vacan-
cies open June 30, 1980. Council studies the economic status of
women and makes recommendations to the governor and the
legislature; monthly meetings; members are appointed by the
governor and receive $35 per diem plus expenses. For specific
information, call or write Council on the Economic Status of
Women, 400 S.W. State Office Building, St. Paul, MN 55155;
(612) 296-8590.
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Employment Agency Advisory Council has a vacancy open
immediately for a public member. Council advises the Depart-
ment of Labor and Industry on the licensing and supervising of
employment agencies; members are appointed by the Commis-
sioner of Labor and Industry and receive $35 per diem plus
expenses. For specific information, call or write Employment
Agency Advisory Council, 444 Lafayette Road, St. Paul, MN
55101; (612) 296-2125.

Ethical Practices Board has 2 vacancies open immediately.
Board administers campaign financing for state candidates; eco-
nomic interest disclosure for state and metropolitan public offi-
cials; lobbyist registration and reporting; monthly meetings;
members are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the
House and Senate, and receive $35 per diem plus expenses. For
specific information, write or call Ethical Practices Board, 41
State Office Bldg., St. Paul, MN 55155; (612) 296-5148.

Soil and Water Conservation Board has one vacancy open
immediately for a soil and water conservation district supervisor
from natural resources administrative district 3 (includes Ben-
ton, Cass, Chisago, Crow Wing, Isanti, Kanabec, Mille Lacs,
Morrison, Pine, Sherburne, Stearns, Todd, Wadena and Wright
counties). Board coordinates programs of the 92 soil and water
conservation districts; monthly meetings; members are ap-
pointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate, and
receive $35 per diem plus expenses. For specific information,
call or write Soil and Water Conservation Board, 2nd Floor,
Space Center Building, 444 Lafayette Road, St. Paul, MN
55101; (612) 296-3767.

Advisory Council on Workers’ Compensation has one
vacancy open immediately for an employer representative.
Council studies workers compensation law and recommends
changes; monthly meetings; members are appointed by the
Commissioner of Labor and Industry, and receive $35 per diem
plus expenses. For specific information, call or write Advisory
Council on Workers’ Compensation, 444 Lafayette Road, St.
Paul, MN 55101; (612) 296-6490.

Minnesota Conference on Small Business has 3 positions
open immediately. Conference will establish procedures for
regional meetings of small business owners, and report propos-
als for small business development aids to the Governor and the
Legislature; members are appointed by the Governor and re-
ceive $35 per diem. For specific information, call or write
Patricia Jensen, Governor’s Special Assistant for Appointments
to Boards and Committees, 130 State Capitol, St. Paul, MN
55155; (612) 296-6614.

Council on Black Minnesotans has 7 positions open imme-
diately, to include at least 3 men and at least 3 women, broadly
representative of the Black community. Council advises the
Governor and the Legislature and recommends steps to improve
the economic and social condition of Blacks in the state; mem-
bers are appointed by the Governor and receive $35 per diem.
For specific information, call or write Patricia Jensen, Gover-
nor’s Special Assistant for Appointments to Boards and
Committees, 130 State Capitol, St. Paul, MN 55155; (612) 296-
6614.
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Governor’s Task Force on Ridesharing has 15 positions
open immediately, to be filled by: 1 state department commis-
sioner, 2 elected officials from outside the 7 county metro area,
2 elected officials from within the metro area, up to 5 chief
executive officers (or their designees) from outside of the metro
area, and up to 10 chief executive officers (or designees) from
within the metro area. Task force will make recommendations to
encourage wider use of car and van pools in the private and
public sector; members are appointed by the Governor, and are
compensated for expenses. For specific information, call or
write Robert Benke, B-26A Transportation Building, St. Paul
55155; (612) 297-2069.

Governor’s Task Force on Juvenile Justice has 15 posi-
tions open immediately, to be filled by: 4 elected officials,
1 juvenile court judge, 1 county attorney, 1 public defender, 1
juvenile officer, 1 law enforcement official, 1 educator, | mem-
ber of court services, | senior citizen, 1 school administrator,
and 2 public members. Task force will provide the Governor and
the Legislature with an objective analysis of the state juvenile
justice system from a statewide and system-wide perspective;
members are appointed by the Governor, and compensated
for expenses. For specific information, call or write Robert
Griesgraber, 444 Lafayette Road, St. Paul, MN 55101; (612)
296-3052.

State Ceremonial Building Council has 7 positions open
immediately, to be filled by: | member in the field of higher
education, 1 member of the American Society of Interior De-
signers, 1 member of the American Institute of Architects, |
member of the American Society of Landscape Architects, one
member of the family that donated the building to the state, and
4 public members. The council develops an overall restoration
plan for the Governor’s mansion; members are appointed by the
Governor, and receive no compensation. For specific informa-
tion, call or write Patricia Jensen, Governor’s Special Assistant
for Appointments to Boards and Committees, |30 State Capitol,
St. Paul, MN 55155; (612) 296-6614.

Elementary-Secondary-Vocational (ESV) Computer
Council has 11 positions open immediately, to be filled by: 4
representatives of school districts, 2 representatives of regional
management information center governing boards, 4 manage-
ment representatives (2 private sector and 2 public sector) in-
cluding 2 data processing managers, and 1 public member.
Council advises the Commissioner of Education regarding
ESV-IS (Elementary, secondary and vocational education man-
agement information systems) and SDE-IS (State Department of
Education information system); members are appointed by the
Governor and receive $35 per diem. For specific information,
call or write Ron Lalibergter, Board of Education, Capitol
Square Building, St. Paul, MN 55101; (612) 296-8420.

Governor’s Task Force on Highways for Economic Vital-
ity has 15 positions open immediately, to be filled by: 2 labor
representatives, 2 business representatives, 2 persons involved
in agricultural production, 2 persons involved in recreational
enterprise, 3 public members, and 4 legislators (2 DFL, 2 IR).
Task force will determine long range (6-10 year) highway needs
and make recommendations to the governor and the Legislature;
members are appointed by the Governor. For specific informa-
tion, call or write Kent Eklund, Department of Economic Devel-
opment, 480 Cedar St., St. Paul, MN 55101; (612) 296-3924.
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STATE OF MINNESOTA
OFFICE OF THE STATE REGISTER

Suite 415, Hamm Building
408 St. Peter Street
St. Paul, Minnesota 55102
(612) 296-8239

ORDER FORM
State Register. Minnesota’s official weekly pubhcatlon for agency Minnesota Guidebook to State Agency Services. Detailed listing
rules and notices, executive orders of the Governor, state contracts, ~ of grants, information, materials and services available from each
Supreme Court and Tax Court decisions. . LT  state agency, with over 2,000 individual offices listed.

Annual subscription $118.00 Single copy $6.25 + $.25 (sales tax) = $6.50* each

Single copies $2.25 each

The 1979-80 Audio Visual Catalog. A 275-page catalog of _Stat"e
agency films, slides and tapes available to the public.
Single copy $4.50 + $.18 (sales tax) = $4. 68*each

*To avoid Minnesota sales tax, please include your Certificate of Exempt Status issued by the Minnesota Department of Revenue.

Please enclose full amount for items ordered. Make check or money order payable to ‘‘Office of the State Register.”

Name.

Attention of:

Street

City State Zip

Telephone

FOR LEGISLATIVE NEWS

Publications containing news and information from the Minnesota Senate and House of Representatives are available free to
concerned citizens and the news media. To be placed on the mailing list, write or call the offices listed below:

Briefly/Preview—Senate news and committee calendar; published weekly during legislative sessions. Contact Senate Public Information
Office, Room B29 State Capitol, St. Paul MN 55155, (612) 296-0504.
Perspectives—Publication about the Senate. Contact Senate Information Office.

Weekly Wrap-Up—House committees, committee assignments of individual representatives, news on committee meetings and action,
House action and bill introductions. Contact House Information Office, Room 8 State Capitol, St. Paul, MN, (612)

296-2146.
This Week—weekly interim bulletin of the House. Contact House Information Office.
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