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Minnesota Rules: Amendments and Additions
NOTICE:  How to Follow State Agency Rulemaking in the State Register

The State Registeris the official source, and only complete listing, for all state agency rulemaking in its various stages.  State agencies are
required to publish notice of their rulemaking action in the State Register.  Published every Monday, the State Registermakes it easy to follow and
participate in the important rulemaking process.  Approximately 80 state agencies have the authority to issue rules.  Each agency is assigned specif-
ic Minnesota Rulechapter numbers.  Every odd-numbered year the Minnesota Rulesare published.  The current 1999 set is a 13-volume bound
collection of all adopted rules in effect at the time.  Supplements are published to update this set of rules.  Generally speaking, proposed and adopt-
ed exempt rules do not appear in this set because of their short-term nature, but are published in the State Register.

An agency must first solicit Comments on Planned Rulesor Comments on Planned Rule Amendmentsfrom the public on the subject matter
of a possible rulemaking proposal under active consideration within the agency (Minnesota Statutes§§ 14.101).  It does this by publishing a notice
in the State Register at least 60 days before publication of a notice to adopt or a notice of hearing, or within 60 days of the effective date of any new
statutory grant of required rulemaking.  

When rules are first drafted, state agencies publish them as Proposed Rules,along with a notice of hearing, or a notice of intent to adopt rules
without a hearing in the case of noncontroversial rules.  This notice asks for comment on the rules as proposed.  Proposed emergency rules and
withdrawn proposed rules are also published in the State Register.  After proposed rules have gone through the comment period, and have been
rewritten into their final form, they again appear in the State Registeras Adopted Rules. These final adopted rules are not printed in their entirety
in the State Register, only the changes made since their publication as Proposed Rules.  To see the full rule, as adopted and in effect, a person sim-
ply needs two issues of the State Register, the issue the rule appeared in as proposed, and later as adopted.  For a more detailed description of the
rulemaking process, see the most current edition of the Minnesota Guidebook to State Agency Services.

The State Registerfeatures partial and cumulative listings of rules in this section on the following schedule:  issues #1-13 inclusive; issues #14-
25 inclusive; issue #26 cumulative for issues #1-26; issues #27-38 inclusive; issue #39, cumulative for issues #1-39; issues #40-51 inclusive; and
issues #1-52 (or 53 in some years), cumulative for issues #1-52 (or 53).  An annual subject matter index for rules was separately printed usually in
August, but starting with Volume 19 now appears in the final issue of each volume.  For copies or subscriptions to the State Register,contact
Minnesota's Bookstore, 117 University Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55155  (612) 297-3000, or toll-free 1-800-657-3757.

Volume 26, Issues # 29-32
Agriculture Department
1540.0590; .2030; .2470; .2870; .3030; .3530; .4455; .4460; .4480; 

.4490; 1545.0200; .0300; .0310; 1555.6660 (proposed)................ 919
1540.0580; .1390; .2460; .3140 -.3410; .3510; .3580; .3590; 

.3650 -.3690; .3710 -.3750; .3770; .3790 -.3940; .4130; .4160 -

.4180; .4230 -.4260; .4280; .4310; .4380 -.4440; 1545.0010 -.0140;

.0240; .0330 -.0350; .0420 -.1480; .1730; .1800 -.1850; .2080 -

.2720; .2740 -.2830; 1550.0050; .0070; .0210 -.0270; .0300; .0310; 

.0340; .0590; .0610; .0620; .0860; .0990; .1640; .2110; 1555.6330 - 

.6650; .6670 -.6710 (proposed repealer) ...................................... 919

Abstractors Board – Revenue Department
1950.1000; .1010; .1020; .1030; .1040; .1050; .1060; .1070; .1080; 

.1090 (proposed) ............................................................................ 993
1950.1000, s.2, 14, 16 (proposed repealer) ..................................... 993

Pharmacy Board
6800.0700; .0910; .1300; .2150; .3110; .3350; .4210; .4220; .4230;

.4240; .5100; .5300; .5400; .7520 (proposed)................................ 922
6800.3110 s.2a (proposed repealer)................................................. 922

Pollution Control Agency
7077.0175; .0185; .0195 (adopted exempt) ..................................... 931

Racing Commission
7871.0050; .0150; 7873.0110; .0195; .0199; .0210; 7877.0170;

7883.0100; 7890.0100; .0140 (proposed)...................................... 969
7871.0150 s.3,4,4a; 7873.0186; .0192; .0198 (proposed repealer) ..... 969

Minnesota State Retirement System
7900.0200; .0400 (adopted) .............................................................. 977

Human Services Department
9500.1090; .1100; .1105; .1110; .1115; .1116; .1120; .1121; .1122; 

.1123; .1124; .1127; .1128; .1129; .1140 (adopted)....................... 976
9500.1100 s. 36; .1150; .1155 (repealed) ......................................... 976
9500.1090; .1100; .1105; .1110; .1115; .1116; .1120; .1121; .1122; 

.1123; .1124; .1127; .1128; .1129; .1140 (errata adopted)........... 1000
9500.1100 s. 36; .1150; .1155 (errata repealed).............................. 1000
9505.0045; .0065; .0075; .0110; .0115 (adopted)............................. 977 
9505.0015, s.2,7,10,15,26,29,30,35,43; .0016; .0020; .0030, s. 2,3;

.0040; .0044; .0055, s. 1,2,3,4; .0058; .0059; .0060; .0061;  .0062;

.0063; .0064; .0065, s. 2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12; .0070, s.9; .0071,
s.3,4; .0075, s.1,2,3,5,6,7,8,9,10; .0090, s.1; .0110, s.2; .0115,
s.3,5; .0120; .0130, s.3; .0135, s.5,6; .0145; .0150 (repealed) ....... 977

9505.0323; .0324; .0326; .0327 (federal approval) ......................... 931

Death of the Dream: Farmhouses in the Heartland
Death of  the Dream tells the story of America's rural past and a
forgotten lifestyle-- the vanishing farmhouse of the Midwest and
the rich lives that were lived in them.  Trace the evolution of the
classic farmhouse --from its humble origins through the high tech
present-- and learn about the impact that changing economies
have had on lives of midwestern farm families.  87 illustrations,
including 72 tritone photo plates.  Softcover, 128pp.
Stock No. 19-19  $24.95 + shipping & sales tax

Small Town Minnesota: A to Z
Author and photographer Tony Andersen toured Minnesota fo-
cusing on 26 communities - one for each letter in the alphabet -
that are home to less than 1,000 residents.  Follow along with
Tony as he writes of the generosity and friendly curiosity of the
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KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION — Underliningindicates additions to existing rule language. Strikeoutsindicate
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated “all new material.” ADOPTED
RULES SECTION — Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strikeouts indicate deletions from
proposed rule language.

Department of Revenue
Proposed Permanent Rules Governing Licensure, Education, and Conduct of Assessors
NOTICE OF INTENT TO ADOPT RULES WITHOUT A PUBLIC HEARING
Proposed Amendment to Rules Governing Licensure, Education and Conduct of Assessors, Minnesota Rules,

Chapter 1950

Introduction. The State Board of Assessors intends to adopt rule amendments without a public hearing following the procedures
set forth in the Administrative Procedure Act, Minnesota Statutes,sections 14.22 to 14.28, and rules of the Office of Administrative
Hearings, Minnesota Rules,parts 1400.2300 to 1400.2310.  You may submit written comments on the proposed rule changes and
may also submit a written request that a hearing be held on the rules until February 27, 2002

Agency Contact Person.Comments or questions on the rules and written requests for a public hearing on the rule amendments
must be submitted to the agency contact person.  The agency contact person is: Lance Staricha at the Minnesota Department of
Revenue, Mail Station 2220, St. Paul, Minnesota 55146-2220, phone: (651) 215-5941, fax: (651) 296-8229, and email:
lance.staricha@state.mn.us.TTY users may call the Department of Revenue at (651) 297-2196.

Subject of Rules and Statutory Authority. The proposed rule amendments are about Licensure, Education and Conduct of
Minnesota Assessors, Minnesota Rules,Chapter 1950.  The statutory authority for the Board to adopt rules is Minnesota Statutes,
section  270.47.  A copy of the proposed rule amendments is published in the State Register. These amendments deal with the fol-
lowing topics: the time period during which an assessor’s license will be effective; the differing educational requirements for differ-
ent levels of licensure; employment activities that constitute a conflict of interest for county assessors; and, the use of the Board’s
license-level designations by persons who are no longer licensed.  A free copy of the rule amendments is available upon request
from the agency contact person listed above.

Comments. You have until 4:30 p.m. on Wednesday, February 27, 2002, to submit written comment in support of or in opposi-
tion to the proposed rules and any part or subpart of the rules.  Your comment must be in writing and received by the agency contact
person by the due date.  Comment is encouraged.  Your comment should identify the portion of the proposed rules addressed and the
reason for the comment.  You are encouraged to propose any change desired.  Any comments that you would like to make on the
legality of the proposed rules must also be made during this comment period.

Request for a Hearing. In addition to submitting comments, you may also request that a hearing be held on the rules.  Your
request for a public hearing must be in writing and must be received by the agency contact person by 4:30 p.m. on February 27,

Proposed Rules
Comments on Planned Rules or Rule Amendments

An agency must first solicit Comments on Planned Rules or Comments on Planned Rule Amendments from the public on the subject
matter of a possible rulemaking proposal under active consideration within the agency (Minnesota Statutes§§ 14.101).  It does this by pub-
lishing a notice in the State Registerat least 60 days before publication of a notice to adopt or a notice of hearing, and within 60 days of the
effective date of any new statutory grant of required rulemaking.

Rules to be Adopted After a Hearing
After receiving comments and deciding to hold a public hearing on the rule, an agency drafts its rule.  It then publishes its rules with a

notice of hearing. All persons wishing to make a statement must register at the hearing. Anyone who wishes to submit written comments may
do so at the hearing, or within five working days of the close of the hearing.  Administrative law judges may, during the hearing, extend the
period for receiving comments up to 20 calendar days. For five business days after the submission period the agency and interested persons
may respond to any new information submitted during the written submission period and the record then is closed.  The administrative law
judge prepares a report within 30 days, stating findings of fact, conclusions and recommendations.  After receiving the report, the agency
decides whether to adopt, withdraw or modify the proposed rule based on consideration of the comments made during the rule hearing proce-
dure and the report of the administrative law judge. The agency must wait five days after receiving the report before taking any action.

Rules to be Adopted Without a Hearing  
Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes§ 14.22, an agency may propose to adopt, amend, suspend or repeal rules without first holding a public hearing.

An agency must first solicit Comments on Planned Rules or Comments on Planned Rule Amendments from the public.  The agency then pub-
lishes a notice of intent to adopt rules without a public hearing, together with the proposed rules, in the State Register.  If, during the 30-day
comment period, 25 or more persons submit to the agency a written request for a hearing of the proposed rules, the agency must proceed under the
provisions of §§ 14.14-14.20, which state that if an agency decides to hold a public hearing, it must publish a notice of intent in the State Register.
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2002.  Your written request for a public hearing must include your name and address.  You must identify the portion of the proposed
rules to which you object or state that you oppose the entire set of rules.  Any request that does not comply with these requirements
is not valid and cannot be counted by the agency when determining whether a public hearing must be held.  You are also encour-
aged to state the reason for the request and any changes you want made to the proposed rules.

Withdrawal of Requests. If 25 or more persons submit a valid written request for a hearing, a public hearing will be held unless
a sufficient number withdraw their requests in writing.  If enough requests for hearing are withdrawn to reduce the number below
25, the agency must give written notice of this to all persons who requested a hearing, explain the actions the agency took to effect
the withdrawal, and ask for written comments on this action.  If a public hearing is required, the agency will follow the procedures
in Minnesota Statutes,sections 14.131 to 14.20.

Alternative Format. Upon request, this Notice can be made available in an alternative format, such as large print, Braille, or
cassette tape.  To make such a request, please contact the agency contact person at the address or telephone number listed above.

Modifications. The proposed rules may be modified as a result of public comment.  The modifications must be supported by
comments and information submitted to the agency, and the adopted rules may not be substantially different than these proposed
rules.  If the proposed rules affect you in any way, you are encouraged to participate in the rulemaking process.

Statement of Need and Reasonableness.A statement of need and reasonableness is now available from the agency contact
person.  This statement contains a summary of the justification for the proposed rules, including a description of who will be
affected by the proposed rules and an estimate of the probable cost of the proposed rules.  Copies of the statement may be obtained
at the cost of reproduction from the agency.

Adoption and Review of Rules.If no hearing is required, the agency may adopt the rules after the end of the comment period.
The rules and supporting documents will then be submitted to the Office of Administrative Hearings for review for legality.  You
may ask to be notified of the date the rules are submitted to the office.  If you want to be so notified, or want to receive a copy of the
adopted rules, or want to register with the agency to receive notice of future rule proceedings, submit your request to the agency
contact person listed above.

Dated:  15 January 2002

Deborah Volkert, Secretary Treasurer
State Board of Assessors

1950.1000 DEFINITIONS.

[For text of subpart 1, see M.R.]

Subp. 2.  [See repealer.]

[For text of subps 3 and 4, see M.R.]

Subp. 5.  City assessor. “City assessor” means atheperson employed as an assessor by a statutory city or municipalityunder
Minnesota Statutes,section 270.49, 270.493, or 270.494, andchapters 270 and 273 asthe assessor of a city of the first class.

[For text of subp 6, see M.R.]

Subp. 7.  County assessor. “County assessor” means athe person employed as anthe countyassessor by a county under
Minnesota Statutes,section 273.061chapters 270 and 273.

[For text of subps 8 and 9, see M.R.]

Subp. 10.  Local assessor.“Local assessor” means athe person employed as anthe assessor by townships or cities notfor a
township or city, under Minnesota Statutes, chapters 270 and 273, excluding city assessors for citiesof the first class under
Minnesota Statutes, section 270.49, 270.493, or 270.494.

[For text of subps 11 to 13a, see M.R.]

Subp. 14.  [See repealer.]

[For text of subp 15, see M.R.]

Subp. 16.  [See repealer.]

1950.1010 PURPOSE AND APPLICATION.

This chapter is intended to clarify and implement Minnesota Statutes,sections 270.41 to 270.53, so the provisions of these laws
may be best effectuated and the public interest most effectively served.

Except as provided in part 1950.1090, subpart 7,this chapter applies to persons holding an assessor’s license in Minnesota under
Minnesota Statutes,sections 270.41 to 270.53, and to persons applying to the board for an assessor’s license.
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KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION — Underliningindicates additions to existing rule language. Strikeoutsindicate
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated “all new material.” ADOPTED
RULES SECTION — Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strikeouts indicate deletions from
proposed rule language.

1950.1020 LICENSURE.

Subpart 1.  Basic requirement for licensure.

A. No assessor may be employed by a taxing authorityExcept as provided in subpart 4, no person shall be employed as a city,
county, or local assessorwithout being licensed as qualified by the board.

B. A Except as provided in subpart 4, noperson shall beemployed byto work under the supervision ofa licensed assessor to
assist in making assessment decisions must become licensed within three years from the date of employment.  A local, city, or
county assessor must be licensed as provided for in this part upon employmentexemption, classification, or valuation decisions
without being licensed as qualified by the board.

[For text of subp 2, see M.R.]

Subp. 3.  Criteria for licensing levels. There are four established levels of licensure for Minnesota assessors.  In establishing the
four levels of licensure, and requiring a specified level of licensure fordesignated assessing positions,. The board shall consider the
following criteria:

[For text of items A to C, see M.R.]

D.  recommendation of the appropriate county assessor.

A complete listing of the specific level of licensure needed for each city and township in Minnesota has been prepared.  The latest
edition ofthis listing, entitled “List of Assessor License Levels for Minnesota Taxing Jurisdictions,” 1989 edition,Minnesota Board
of Assessors, existing as of December 1 each year,is annuallyincorporated by reference into this rule.  The list is available at no
cost from the board.  The list is also available at the State Law Library.  The list is subject to frequent change.

[For text of subp 3a, see M.R.]

Subp. 4.  New hires; deadline for obtaining andupgrading license. County and city assessors must be licensed as of the date
of employment, and must obtain licensure at the level required for the position within two years from the date of employment.  The
commissioner of revenue shall not approve the appointment of a county or city assessor to the remainder of a four-year term if that
person has not obtained licensure at the required level within two years of the person’s probationary appointment as county or city
assessor.

A taxing jurisdictionlocal assessor must be licensed at the date of employment, except that a city, other than a city of the first
class, or townshiprequiring an assessor with a designationlicense levelgreater than that of acertified Minnesota assessor may hire
a person with a designationlicenseone level lower than the required designation.This level, and thisperson has one year from the
date of hire, except for county assessors who have two years from the date of first hire,to attain the required levellicense.  An
A local assessor who fails to obtain the required designationlicense within the one-year periodmust be dismissed.

Every person employed by an assessor to assist in making exemption, classification, or valuation decisions must become licensed
at the level required for that position within three years from the date of employment.  A person employed to assist an assessor in
making exemption, classification, or valuation decisions who does not obtain the required license within the time allowed must be
dismissed.

Subp. 5.  Reinstatement. An assessorBefore a license will be issued to a personwho has not been licensed for a period of five
years or more, that personmust:

A. successfully complete course A, assessment laws, history and procedure, and;

B. pay botha reinstatement fee;and

C.  paythe appropriate license fee before a license will be issued; and

D.  supply documentation of having completed all required continuing education requirements for the most recent four-year
period.

1950.1030 CERTIFIED MINNESOTA ASSESSOR (CMA).

A person assisting the assessor of a taxing jurisdiction in making assessmentexemption, classification, or valuationdecisions
must obtain the designation oflicensure as acertified Minnesota assessor within three years of employment.  A local assessor
employed by a township or city not requiring a higher level of licensure as shown in the “List of Assessor License Levels for
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Minnesota Taxing Jurisdictions” must be certified before employmentobtain licensure as a certified Minnesota assessor.
Requirements forto initially obtain licensure as acertified Minnesota assessor are given in items A to F.

[For text of item A, see M.R.]

B.  A passing grade in course B, residential appraisal or one of these alternate coursesa board-approved alternative course
such as:

(1) IAAO 1, fundamentals of real property appraisal; or

(2) SREA 101, introduction to appraising real property;

(3) AIREA, basic valuation procedures; or

(4) AIREA, residential valuationAppraisal Institute, appraisal principles.

[For text of item C, see M.R.]

D.  Or, in lieu of items A, B, and C, successful completion of course A and four self-directed programmed instruction courses,
or correspondence courses, offered by the IAAO.  A listing of approved self-directed and correspondence courses is shown in the
educational bulletin available from the board.

[For text of items E and F, see M.R.]

1950.1040 CERTIFIED MINNESOTA ASSESSOR SPECIALIST (CMAS).

A local assessor employed by a township or city shown on the “List of License Levels for Minnesota Taxing Jurisdictions” under
the heading “Certified Specialist” must have the designation ofobtain licensure as acertified Minnesota assessor specialist.  A
township or city requiring this level of assessor may hire a certified Minnesota assessor if the assessor obtains the required designa-
tion within one year of hire.  An assessor who fails to obtain the required designation must be dismissed.Requirements forto
initially obtain licensure as acertified Minnesota assessor specialist are given in items A to E.

A.  The designationA certified Minnesota assessor licenseor meeting of all requirements for acertified Minnesota assessor
license.

B.  A passing grade on two elective courses.  The list of approved elective courses is available from the board at no cost.
These courses must not have been used to meet the educational requirements of the certified Minnesota assessor designation
license.  Four days of seminars may also be substituted for one elective course if the seminars receive prior approval of the board.
The seminars may only be approved if the content is appropriate to the enhancement of the assessor’s professional skills.

[For text of items C to E, see M.R.]

1950.1050 ACCREDITED MINNESOTA ASSESSOR (AMA).

An A local assessor employed by a township or city shown on the “List of Assessor License Levels for Minnesota Taxing
Jurisdictions” under the heading “Accredited” must obtain thelicensure as anaccredited Minnesota assessor designation. A juris-
diction requiring this level of assessor may hire a certified Minnesota assessor specialist if the assessor obtains the required desig-
nation within one year of hire.  An assessor who fails to obtain the required designation must be dismissed.Requirements forto
initially obtain licensure as anaccredited Minnesota assessor are given in items A to E.

[For text of item A, see M.R.]

B.  A passing grade on one demonstration narrative appraisal.  In lieu of this narrative appraisal, the applicant may substitute:

(1) obtaining the designation of senior residential appraiserSRA from the Society of Real Estate AppraisersAppraisal
Instituteor its successor organization,;

(2) obtaining the designation ofresidential evaluation specialist (RES)from the International Association of Assessing
Officers,; or residential member from the American Institute of Real Estate Appraisers or its successor organization

(3) a four-year degree from an accredited college or university with a major in real estate.

[For text of items C to E, see M.R.]

1950.1060 SENIOR ACCREDITED MINNESOTA ASSESSOR (SAMA).

Subpart 1.  Basic requirement. A county assessor or a city assessor employed by a city shown on the “List of Assessors License
Levels for Minnesota Taxing Jurisdictions” under the heading “Senior Accredited” must obtain the designation oflicensure as a
senior accredited Minnesota assessor.  A county or city requiring this level of assessor may hire an accredited Minnesota assessor if
the assessor obtains the required designation within one year of hire.  An assessor who fails to obtain the required designation must
be dismissed.
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Subp. 2.  Specific requirements for SAMA. Requirements forto initially obtain licensure as asenior accredited Minnesota
assessor are given in items A to FE.

A.  The designation ofAn accredited Minnesota assessor licenseor meeting of all requirements for anaccredited Minnesota
assessor license.

B.  A passing grade on a demonstration narrative appraisal.  This narrative appraisal must have been completed no more than
five years prior to the date of the application on which it is listed, andis in addition to the one that must be written to fulfill the
requirements for the accredited Minnesota assessor designationlicense.  At least one of these narratives must be of an income-pro-
ducing property.  In lieu of this narrative appraisal, the applicant may substitute obtainingone of the following designations:

(1) Member, Appraisal Instituteobtaining the designation of MAIfrom the American Institute of Real Estate Appraisers
Appraisal Instituteor its successor organization;

(2) obtaining the designation ofcertified assessment evaluator (CAE)from the International Association of Assessing
Officers;

(3) senior real estate analyst from the Society of Real Estate Appraisers or its successor organization;

(4) senior real property appraiser from the Society of Real Estate Appraisers or its successor organization; or

(5) obtaining the designation ofassessment administrative specialist (AAS)from the International Association of
Assessing Officers.;

C.  As an alternative to obtaining a passing grade on a narrative appraisal, the applicant may substitute one of the following:

(1) successful completion of the IAAO computer assisted mass appraisal track for the certified assessment evaluation des-
ignation; or

(2) (4) successful completion of both an IAAO 300 series course relating tothe mass appraisal of income producing
property, and theIAAO case studies examination.  The board may substitute another comprehensive written examination as an
alternative to the IAAO case studies examination; or

(5) a narrative appraisal of income-producing property developed for use in Minnesota tax court, or higher Minnesota
court, that is introduced as evidence of value and is the subject of testimony by the preparer, if upon review the board determines
that preparation of this appraisal required substantially the same expertise, or more, as would preparation of the demonstration nar-
rative appraisal described in item B.  This appraisal must have been introduced as evidence no more than five years prior to the date
of the application on which it is listed.

D. C. Five years of assessment experience or four years of experience and a master’s degree in a related field.

E. D. Application to the board, and the appropriate fee.

F. E. A passing grade on one educational course dealing with the appraisal of income producing property.  This course must
be in addition to the income appraisal course needed to meet the requirements of the accredited Minnesota assessor designation
license.  Approved educational courses for this requirement are:  course J, basic income approach to valuation; IAAO 2, appraisal of
income producing property; and an IAAO 300 series course relating to the mass appraisal of income producing property or
approved alternative.

Subp. 6.  Change inAlternate method for meeting SAMA designationlicenserequirements. As an alternative to the require-
ments shown in subpart 2, items A to F, an assessor may meet the requirement for theaccredited Minnesota assessor demonstration
narrative appraisal requirement, a person initially applying for asenior accredited Minnesota assessor designation by:license

A.  completing the requirements shown in subpart 2, items A, D, E, and F;

B.  showing may substituteproof of having been awarded a bachelor’s, master’s, or doctor’s degree from an accredited uni-
versity or college; and

C.  achieving a passing grade on a demonstrative narrative appraisal of an income producing property.  An appraisal of a non-
income producing property is not sufficient to meet the requirement of this part.  In lieu of this narrative appraisal of an income pro-
ducing property the applicant may substitute obtaining one of the designations shown in subpart 2, item B.  This subpart is limited
to initial applications for a senior accredited Minnesota assessor license that are submitted on or before June 30, 2004.
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1950.1070 FEES.

The board shall charge the following fees:

[For text of items A to D, see M.R.]

E.  $15 for a certified Minnesota assessor designation application;

F.  $25 for a certified Minnesota assessor specialist, accredited Minnesota assessor, and senior accredited Minnesota assessor
designation application;

G. $40 for a course challenge examination;

H. F. $20 for grading a form appraisal;

I. G. $50 for grading a narrative appraisal;

J.H. $20 for a reinstatement fee;

K. I. $15 for a record retention fee;

L. J. $10 for an educational transcript;

M. K. $20 for all retests of board sponsored educational courses; and

N. L. in addition to the fees listed in items A to MK, the board may impose an investigatory surcharge on all license holders.
This surcharge will be imposed in an amount sufficient to cover the cost of all investigations and subsequent appeals incurred by the
board pursuant to its responsibilities under Minnesota Statutes,chapters 14 and 214.

Fees are reviewed annually by the board and set in accordance with Minnesota Statutes,sections 16A.12816A.1283, 16A.1285,
and 214.06, which require boards to be self-sufficient.

1950.1080 CONTINUING EDUCATION.

[For text of subps 1 and 2, see M.R.]

Subp. 3.  Repetition of courses, seminars, and conferences.Educational credit is not given for repeatingany course or seminar
that is repeated more than oncewithin a four-year period.  An exception to this rule is the property valuation short course.
Assessors licensed as certified Minnesota assessors or certified Minnesota assessor specialists may attend this course each year and
receive continued education units.  Assessors licensed as accredited Minnesota assessors or senior accredited Minnesota assessors
may only receive credit for attending two property valuation short courses within a four-year educational period.  Approved confer-
ences may also be attended for credit more than twice within an educational period.  Instructors of board-approved courses or sem-
inars receive credit for each course or seminar taught, without limitation based on repetitions within a particular time period.

Subp. 3a.Exams and challenging exams.A person who fails two consecutively taken exams for a board-sponsored course
must retake the course before taking the exam again.  A person may challenge the exam for a board-sponsored class, in order to
received credit for mastering the subject without attending the class.  The exams will not be offered within 30 days of the beginning,
nor within 30 days of the conclusion of any scheduled offering for the course.  If the person fails the challenged exam, they must
take the course before retaking the exam.

Subp. 4. Licensing at a lower level. An accredited Minnesota assessor or senior accredited Minnesota assessor who does not
obtain the necessary five continuing education units or board education units within an educational period may be licensed at the
level of certified Minnesota assessor specialist if the assessor has obtained at least four continuing education units or board educa-
tion units.  If the assessor has not obtained at least four continued education units or board education units, no license will be issued.
The issuance of a certified Minnesota assessor specialist license to an assessor does not entitle the assessor to work in a taxing juris-
diction that requires an accredited Minnesota assessor or senior accredited Minnesota assessor designationlicense.

Subp. 4a.  Record retention. An assessor who does not have the required continuing education units for issuance of a license, or
for any other reason does not wish to obtain a license, may pay an annual record retention fee.  The payment of this fee will keep the
individual’s files in a current status and enable the assessor to receive all mailings sent from the board.  If neither a licensing fee or
a record retention fee is paid, the assessor’s files will be purged from the system after a period of one year from the date the asses-
sor’s license expired.  An assessorIf an individualwhose files have been purged wishes to be relicensed, that personmust:

A. submit a reinstatement fee,;

B.  submitthe required license fee,; and

C. supply documentation of having completedall requiredcontinuingeducation if the individual wishes to be relicensed
requirements for the preceding four-year period.
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[For text of subp 5, see M.R.]

Subp. 6. Standards of practice requirement for senior accredited Minnesota assessors.The continuing education require-
ments under this part for a senior accredited Minnesota assessor include the requirement that a senior accredited Minnesota assessor
attend, within each four-year period, at least one four-hour uniform standards of professional appraisal practice (USPAP) seminar or
one standards of professional conduct and ethics seminar.

1950.1090 CONDUCT AND DISCIPLINE.

[For text of subpart 1, see M.R.]

Subp. 2.  Refusal to grant license.The board may refuse to grant or issue an assessor’s license for the following causes:

[For text of items A to E, see M.R.]

F.  conviction of a felony; andor

G.  performing fee appraisals within the assessor’s specific assessing jurisdiction.

As used in this part, “performing fee appraisals” includes (1) being engaged as a real estate sales or purchase agent for a seller or
purchaser of real estate or (2) owning a real estate sales or purchasing agency.

Subp. 3.  Suspension of license. The board may suspend an assessor’s license for the following offenses:

[For text of items A and B, see M.R.]

C.  preparing or writing an appraisal narrative for another person’s signature, or contracting with another person to prepare or
write a narrative appraisal that will be submitted to the board under the license requirements in part 1950.1020; andor

[For text of item D, see M.R.]

Subp. 4.  Revocation of license.The board may revoke an assessor’s license for the following offenses:

[For text of items A and B, see M.R.]

C.  unprofessional conduct caused by knowingly and willingly failing to comply with the duties of assessors in Minnesota
Statutes,chapters 272, 273, and 274, the result of which is an adverse or injurious impact on the taxpayer of the assessor’s jurisdic-
tion; and

D.  performing fee appraisals within the assessor’s specific taxing jurisdiction; or

E.  beginning at the later of the 2004 assessment, or in situations where a contract is in effect on March 1, 2002, at the expira-
tion of that contract without giving effect to renewals or extensions that require the agreement of both contracting parties, perform-
ing under contract the duties of local assessor for a specific assessing jurisdiction within the county for which the person is the
county assessor.

The board may specify that the revocation is permanent, or it may specify a period of time after which the assessor may reapply
for a license.  If an assessor’s license has been revoked, all assessor education credits and designations authorized by the board are
also revoked and the assessor must meet all educational requirements of the level of license being applied for anew.  The board shall
consider the same factors in license revocation proceedings as are considered in matters of license suspension.

[For text of subps 5 and 6, see M.R.]

Subp. 7. Use of board designations by unlicensed persons.In order to prevent confusion for consumers of appraisal or real
estate services in this state, no person in this state may use the designations “certified Minnesota assessor,” “certified Minnesota
assessor specialist,” “accredited Minnesota assessor,” or senior accredited Minnesota assessor;” or the initials “CMA,” “CMAS,”
“AMA,” or “SAMA” on the person’s official or professional correspondence, on the person’s business cards, on other advertising
materials, or in any other manner that implies the person has the associated board issued assessor’s license, unless that person holds
a currently valid board issued license at that level.  The board may refuse to grant a subsequent annual license to such person, or
may suspend a currently valid license issued by the board for that person.  The length of time that the board refuses to grant or sus-
pends a license for this reason is at the board’s discretion.  The board shall give due consideration to evidence that shows the behav-
ior was intentional and was likely to cause confusion for consumers of appraisal or real estate services or the public generally.

REPEALER. Minnesota Rules, part 1950.1000, subparts 2, 14, and 16, are repealed.
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Department of Labor and Industry
Labor Standards Unit

Notice of Correction to Commercial Prevailing Wage Rates
A correction has been made to the Commercial Prevailing Wage Rates certified 12/17/01, for Labor Code 422, Sprinkler

Fitters, in Anoka County.

Copies of the certified wage rates for these Counties may be obtained by writing the Minnesota Department of Labor and
Industry, Prevailing Wage Section, 443 Lafayette Road North, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155-4306, or by calling (651) 284-5091.
Charges for the cost of copying and mailing are $.65 per page.  Make check or money order payable to the State of Minnesota.

Shirley I. Chase
Commissioner

Teachers Retirement Association
Notice of Meeting

The Board of Trustees, Minnesota Teachers Retirement Association will hold a meeting on Thursday, February 14, 2002 at 9:30
a.m., in Suite 400, 60 Empire Drive, St. Paul, MN to consider matters which may properly come before the Board.

Official Notices
Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes§§ 14.101, an agency must first solicit comments from the public on the subject matter of a possible rulemaking

proposal under active consideration within the agency by publishing a notice in the State Registerat least 60 days before publication of a notice to
adopt or a notice of hearing, and within 60 days of the effective date of any new statutory grant of required rulemaking.  The State Registeralso
publishes other official notices of state agencies and non-state agencies, including notices of meetings and matters of public interest. 

Department of Human Services
Errata: Adopted Permanent Rules Relating to Hospital Medical Assistance Payment

The Notice of Adoption relating to rules governing payment of inpatient hospital services provided under the Medical Assistance
(MA) and General Assistance Medical Care Programs (GAMC) as published in the State Register,Volume 26, Number 31, Pages
976 to 977, (26 SR 976) is hereby corrected to read as follows:

“EFFECTIVE DATE. The amendments to Minnesota Rules, parts 9500.1090 to 9500.1110; 9500.1115, subparts 1 to 3 and 6;
9500.1116, subparts 1, item A, and 2, item A; 9500.1120; 9500.1121; 9500.1122, subparts 1 and 2; 9500.1123; 9500.1124, subpart
1; and 9500.1127 to 9500.1140 are effective five working days after publication of the notice of adoption in the State Register
according to Minnesota Statutes,section 14.27.

The amendments to Minnesota Rules,parts 9500.1115, subparts 4, 5 and 5a; 9500.1116, subparts 1, item B, and 2, item B;
9500.1122, subparts 3, 4, and 5; and 9500.1124, subpart 2, items A and B, are effective January 1, 2003.”

ERRATA
Corrections to agency errors in rules or in following the rulemaking processes, as well as incomplete notices, mislabeled rules, incorrect

notices and citations will appear in this section.  Whenever an error is corrected in this section, it’s corresponding rule number(s) will also
appear in the State Register’sindex to rulemaking activity, Minnesota Rules: Amendments and Additions.
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Minnesota State Colleges & Universities
Notice of Request for Proposal for Individual Audits of Six Colleges and Universities,

Fiscal Years 2002 - 2004
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities is seeking to acquire individual audits of six

colleges and universities from an independent accounting firm duly licensed to practice in the State of Minnesota, pursuant to
Minnesota StatutesSection 326.192, or a similarly qualified government agency.

Proposals are being sought from parties interested in providing financial statement audits for one or more of the following six col-
leges and universities on an annual basis for the three-year period from July 1, 2001 to June 30, 2004.  The six colleges and univer-
sities are:

• St. Cloud State University

• Minnesota State University, Mankato 

• Winona State University

• Minnesota State University Moorhead

• Bemidji State University

• Northwest Technical College 

This request for proposal does not obligate MnSCU to complete the proposed project, and MnSCU reserves the right to cancel the
solicitation if it is considered to be in its best interest.

Responders may propose additional tasks or activities if they will substantially improve the results of the project.

All proposals must be sent to and received by:

John Asmussen, Executive Director
Office of Internal Auditing
Minnesota State Colleges and Universities
500 World Trade Center
30 E. 7th Street
St. Paul, Minnesota 55101-4946

Not later than 4 p.m., on Friday, March 1, 2002,as indicated by the date and time indicated on each response package by the
MnSCU mail room, if packages are delivered by U.S. Mail, or the MnSCU reception desk (5th Floor, World Trade Center), if pack-
ages are hand-delivered or delivered by courier.

Late proposals will not be considered.

All costs incurred in responding to this RFP will be borne by the responder.

Submit five copies of the proposal.  Proposals are to be sealed in mailing envelopes or packages with the responder’s name and
address clearly written on the outside.  Each copy of the proposal must be signed, in ink, by an authorized member of the firm.
Prices and terms of the proposal as stated must be valid for the length of any resulting contract.

Contacts
An information meeting for bidders interested in Bemidji State University, Minnesota State University Moorhead, or Northwest

Technical College will be held on Wednesday, February 6, 2002 at 1 p.m., at the Administrative Office of Northwest Technical
College, 150 Second Street Southwest in Perham, Minnesota.  An informational meeting for bidders interested in Minnesota State
University, Mankato, St. Cloud State University, or Winona State University will be held on Monday, February 11, 2002 at 9 a.m.,
on the 4th floor of the World Trade Center (30 E. 7th Street) in St. Paul, Minnesota.  Persons interested in attending either informa-

State Contracts
Informal Solicitations

Effective December 1, 2001, informal solicitations for all contracting opportunities for professional/technical (consultant) contracts with
values estimated to be over $5,000 and under $50,000 must be posted on the Department of Administration’s, Materials Management Division’s
web page (www.mmd.admin.state.mn.us).

Formal Requests for Proposals
Department of Administration procedures require that formal notice of any professional/technical (consultant service) contract which has an

estimated value over $50,000 must be printed in the State Register.Certain quasi-state agencies and Minnesota State Colleges and Universities
institutions are by law exempt from these requirements.
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tional meeting should notify Jeannette Nelson by phoneat: (651) 296-3471 or email: jeannette.nelson@so.mnscu.eduby 4 p.m.,
on Monday, February 4, 2002.

To request a full Request for Proposal, please contact Jeannette Nelson by phone at: (651) 296-3471 or email:
jeannette.nelson@so.mnscu.edu

Other questions should be directed to any of the following persons:

John Asmussen, Executive Director of Internal Auditing
Phone: (651) 296-2430
Email: john.asmussen@so.mnscu.edu

Rosalie Greeman, Associate Vice Chancellor for Financial Reporting
Phone: (651) 297-1309
Email: rosalie.greeman@so.mnscu.edu

Margaret Jenniges, System Director for Financial Reporting
Phone: (651) 297-5759
Email: margaret.jenniges@so.mnscu.edu

No one other than the persons listed above may answer questions or provide information regarding this proposal.

Minnesota State Colleges and Universities
Ridgewater College
Veterinary Technology Program

Notice of Request for Bids for Construction of Dog Kennel
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that Ridgewater College is soliciting bids for the construction of a dog kennel at their Willmar

MN campus.

The project consists of the construction of a one-story addition to the existing College Agricultural Facility including spaces for
reception, animal labs, isolation and food storage. The building addition will contain approximately 1,140 gross square feet and will
be located adjacent to and connected to the existing Veterinary Kennel area, which is attached to the Agriculture Shop. The addition
will have load bearing masonry cavity walls, steel joists, metal deck and a built-up roof membrane. The mechanical and electrical
systems include plumbing, warm air heating, ventilating, air conditioning, power and lightning systems. Demolition, site grading
and excavating is also included.

For more information contact:

Beth Hepola
Ridgewater College
Two Century Avenue
Hutchinson, MN 55350
Phone: (320) 234-0255

This is the only person designated to answer questions regarding this request for interested vendors.

Minnesota Department of Employee Relations
Request For Information (RFI) for a State Employee Newsletter

The Minnesota Department of Employee Relations is seeking information from vendors (and other interested parties) to help the
Department create and run a state employee newsletter. As the largest employer in the state of Minnesota, it is important to communicate
with our employees. Currently, the agency communicates to the workforce through a variety of specifically targeted newsletters and
communications.  There is a need to collapse these communications into one overall communication strategy and publication. 
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Proposed Format & Project Summary
This proposed newsletter would be a bi-monthly electronic publication produced by the Department of Employee Relations and a

potential vendor. 

Possible elements of the newsletter:

• Article or column from the Governor

• Articles from agencies on Big Plan and other work that has state-wide importance/Legislative updates

• Opportunities to respond and provide feedback

• Items of interest to employees regarding their total compensation 

• Calendar of events

• Classified job section/Statewide announcements

• Employee Wellness articles/Health Insurance Issues 

• Training Opportunities

Although the Department intends to use the information it obtains from this RFI to develop an RFP for this Project, the
Department of Employee Relations does not guarantee that any RFP or procurement will be forthcoming, or that and vendor
responding to this RFI will be awarded a contract to perform work on the project. The Department reserves the right to waive minor
irregularities in vendor responses to this RFI at its sole discretion.

All informational proposals must be received no later than February 15, 2002. Please direct all correspondence related to this RFI to:

Michael Shaw, Communications Director
Department of Employee Relations
Centennial Office Building, Suite 200
658 Cedar St. 
St. Paul MN 55155

Office of the Revisor of Statutes
Notice of Request for Computer Pilot Program Services

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Office of the Revisor of Statutes intends to enter into several contracts for a six-month
pilot program to determine if XML technology may be suitable for use in replacing or supplementing existing Revisor’s office com-
puter systems. Initially, the Revisor’s office seeks contracts in two areas:

1) Pilot Program Management.The Revisor’s office seeks proposals for a part-time consultant to manage the XML pilot
program. The consultant must meet the following requirements.

a) demonstrated familiarity with legislative computer systems, either here in Minnesota or another state, and

b) demonstrated expertise in XML technology, and

c) demonstrated, successful implementation of an XML-based system for use by a state legislature.

The consultant will work with Revisor’s office staff to conduct the pilot program, make recommendations for additional
resources necessary to conduct the pilot, and prepare a report with recommendations about the potential use of XML technology for
the Revisor’s office and the Minnesota Legislature.

2) XML and Java training. In order for Revisor’s office staff to participate effectively in the pilot program, proposals for
the following training and consulting are sought:

a) Intermediate and Advanced XML training with a focus on legislative document analysis

b) Introductory Java training for the creation of applications to manipulate XML documents

c) Intermediate Java and XML Integration training

d) Possible pilot program consultation in areas such as the development of schemata, document analysis and automation
of processes

e) Possible pilot program assistance in the area of documentation of processes
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f) Possible provision of ancillary services that may develop as the pilot progresses, such as publication requirements

analysis.

For training proposals, assume up to six students. Trainers must have demonstrated expertise in XML and Java to qualify.

Proposals are due no later than 4:30 p.m., on Tuesday, February 19, 2002. The Revisor’s office reserves the right to award all,
a part, or none of the above-described contracts. Inquiries and responses may be directed to:

Michele Timmons
Revisor of Statutes
Office of the Revisor of Statutes
700 State Office Building
100 Constitution Avenue
St. Paul, MN 55155-1297
Phone: (651) 296-2868
TTY use State Relay Services 1-800-627-3529

Office of the Revisor of Statutes
Notice of Request for Systems and Programming Services

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Office of the Revisor of Statutes is seeking the following systems and programming ser-
vices for the period from January 1, 2002 up to June 30, 2002.

Programming and maintenance on limited functions of an in-house text editing and composition system. This is essentially a
maintenance contract based on work that is already in progress. The contract may be modified, however, for consistency with an
XML pilot program.

Programming experience in C on Hewlett Packard UNIX operating system is a prerequisite to performing the services. Where
experienced contractors have at least equal qualifications, they will be given preference in order to maintain program consistency
and stability. Responses must be received by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes by 4:30 p.m., on Friday, February 1, 2002.

Direct inquiries and responses to:

Michele Timmons
Revisor of Statutes
Office of the Revisor of Statutes
700 State Office Building
100 Constitution Avenue
St. Paul, MN 55155-1297
Phone: (651) 296-2868
TTY use State Relay Services 1-800-627-3529
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Metropolitan Council
Notice of Invitation for Bids (IFB) for Compaq EVO W4000 Workstations
Contract Number 02P002

The Metropolitan Council is requesting bids for 60 Compaq EVO W4000 Workstations.

Issue Invitation for Bids January 28, 2002
Bids Due February 12, 2002
Award Contract February 22, 2002

All firms interested in submitting bids for this contract and desiring to receive an IFB package are invited to make a written
request either by email, fax or mail or phone request to:

Sunny Jo Emerson
Administrative Assistant, Contracts and Procurement Unit
Metropolitan Council
230 East Fifth Street
St. Paul, MN 55101
Phone: (651) 602-1499
Fax: (651) 602-1083
Email: sunnyjo.emerson@metc.state.mn.us

Minnesota Statutes,Sections 473.144 and 363.073, and Minnesota Rules,Parts 5000.3400 to 5000.3600 will be incorporated into
any contract based upon the Proposal or any modifications to it. If a contract for the project is awarded in excess of $100,000, the
requirements of Minnesota Rules5000.3530 will be applicable.

Metropolitan Council
Notice of Invitation for Bids (IFB) for RS/6000 pSeries 660 Systems
Contract Number 01P140

The Metropolitan Council is requesting bids for 1 possibly 2, IBM RS/6000 7026-6H1 pSeries 660 systems with RS64 IV 600 MHZ
Processors, each system will be configured differently (Configurations can be reviewed in the Technical Specifications of the IFB).

Issue Invitation for Bids January 28, 2002
Bids Due February 19, 2002
Award Contract February 28, 2002

All firms interested in submitting bids for this contract and desiring to receive an IFB package are invited to make a written
request either by email, fax or mail or phone request to:

Sunny Jo Emerson
Administrative Assistant, Contracts and Procurement Unit
Metropolitan Council
230 East Fifth Street
St. Paul, MN 55101
Phone: (651) 602-1499
Fax: (651) 602-1083
Email: sunnyjo.emerson@metc.state.mn.us

Minnesota Statutes,Sections 473.144 and 363.073, and Minnesota Rules,Parts 5000.3400 to 5000.3600 will be incorporated into
any contract based upon the Proposal or any modifications to it. If a contract for the project is awarded in excess of $100,000, the
requirements of Minnesota Rules5000.3530 will be applicable.

Non-State Contracts & Grants
The State Register also serves as a central marketplace for contracts let out on bid by the public sector.  The State Registermeets state and

federal guidelines for statewide circulation of public notices.  Any tax-supported institution or government jurisdiction may advertise contracts
and requests for proposals from the private sector.  It is recommended that contracts and RFPs include the following: 1)  name of contact person;
2)  institution name, address, and telephone number; 3)  brief description of project and tasks; 4)  cost estimate; and 5)  final submission date of
completed contract proposal. Allow at least three weeks from publication date (four weeks from date article is submitted for publication).
Surveys show that subscribers are interested in hearing about contracts for estimates as low as $1,000.  Contact the editor for further details.
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Non-State Contracts & Grants

University of Minnesota
Notice of Bid Information Service (BIS) Available for All Potential Vendors

The University of Minnesota offers 24 hour/day, 7 day/week access to all Request for Bids/Proposals through its web based Bid
Information Services (BIS).  Subscriptions to BIS are $75/year.  Visit our web site at bidinfo.umn.edu or call the BIS Coordinator at
(612) 625-5534.

Requests for Bids/Proposals are available to the public at no charge each business day from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. in Purchasing
Services lobby, Suite 560, 1300 S. 2nd Street, Mpls., MN 55454.

Death of the Dream: Farmhouses in the Heartland
Death of  the Dream tells the story of America's rural past and a
forgotten lifestyle-- the vanishing farmhouse of the Midwest and
the rich lives that were lived in them.  Trace the evolution of the
classic farmhouse --from its humble origins through the high tech
present-- and learn about the impact that changing economies
have had on lives of midwestern farm families.  87 illustrations,
including 72 tritone photo plates.  Softcover, 128pp.
Stock No. 19-19  $24.95  + shipping & sales tax

Small Town Minnesota: A to Z
Author and photographer Tony Andersen toured Minnesota fo-
cusing on 26 communities - one for each letter in the alphabet -
that are home to less than 1,000 residents.  Follow along with
Tony as he writes of the generosity and friendly curiosity of the
people on the rural landscape and be reminded of the beauty a
small town offers through 160 color photographs.
Stock No. 19-2  $24.95 + shipping & sales tax

The Witness of Combines
Author Kent Meyers speaks of human kindness, family forgive-
ness, neighborly helpfulness, insightfulness in fixing a huge and
crucial peice of equipment and more.  Follow him as he tells the
story of growing up on the farm, from the joys of playing in the
hayloft as a boy to the obstacles and the steady pattern of chores
standard to all farm families.  Softcover, 229pp.
Stock No. 19-80  $16.95  + shipping & sales tax

Letters from the Country
Award-winning author, Carol Bly, welcomes readers to life in the
small town of Madison, MN through 30 essays about cultural
and daily life in the countryside.  Critics have said “No one in this
country writes of rural life with more understanding, love, and an-
ger...  “Fierce and funny... she’s the best thing to come out of
rural Minnesota since Sinclair Lewis left Sauk Centre”. Softcover,
184pp.  Stock No. 19-42  $14.95 + shpg & sales tax

 Visit our web site:
 www.minnesotasbookstore.com

Celebrating our Rural Heritage

Available at Minnesota Bookstore
Order form on back page
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It’s Hunting
Season!

The Pheasant in Minnesota
A fascinating “magazine” devoted to the ring-neck pheasasnt.  Included is the history of the
bird, its origin, development and introduction to this region.  Color photos, softcover, 48pp.
Stock No. 9-13  $5.95  + shpg. & sales tax

Dressing & Cooking Wild Game
Now that you’ve “bagged your catch”, what do you do with it?  This book offers clear
instructions along with color photos to walk you step-by-step from field dressing and trans-
port to hanging, skinning, butchering, dressing, “clean-up” and freezing.  With the hard
work out of the way, then cook up one of the mouth-watering recipes for cooking big and
small game, upland game birds, and waterfowl.  Hardcover, 160pp.
Stock No. 19-38  $19.95  + shpg. & sales tax

651.297.3000   *   800.657.3757
Mon-Fri  8am-5pm

www.minnesotasbookstore.com

Hunter’s Field Guide
This popular Outdoor Life field guide offers practical advice on how to be a safe, successful
and responsible hunter.  Through easy-to-read illustrations and text, learn tips on: treating
common injuries, reloading shot gun shells, the basics of bow hunting, how to hold and carry
a muzzle-loader, recommended shot and target range for vaious game, and much more.
Great tool for the beginner as well as the experienced hunter.  Softcover, 194pp.
Stock No. 19-31  $5.99  + shpg. & sales tax

Hunter Education Training Course
Great tool for teaching the beginner the key to safe, successful hunting.  This course includes
the Hunter’s Field Guide (described above), a Workbook and a Safety video.  Excellent
refresher for the experienced hunter, too!   Stock No. 19-111  ONLY $14.99 + shpg. & sales
tax

Animal Tracks of Minnesota & Wisconsin
Great drawings and quick reference captions provide a solid picture of  more than 60 different
mammals, birds and reptiles of our area.  Truly pocket-sized, this field guide identifies animal
tracks charting the size of fore prints and hind prints, stride and strattle patterns, and descrip-
tive information about the creature’s behavior.  Softcover, 160pp.
Stock No. 9-72  $6.95  + shpg. & sales tax

Hunting and
Wildlife

Guides

Death of the Dream: Farmhouses in the Heartland
Death of  the Dream tells the story of America's rural past and a
forgotten lifestyle-- the vanishing farmhouse of the Midwest and
the rich lives that were lived in them.  Trace the evolution of the
classic farmhouse --from its humble origins through the high
tech present-- and learn about the impact that changing econo-
mies have had on lives of midwestern farm families.  87 illustra-
tions, including 72 tritone photo plates.  Softcover, 128pp.
Stock No. 19-19  $24.95 + shipping & sales tax

Small Town Minnesota: A to Z
Author and photographer Tony Andersen toured Minnesota fo-
cusing on 26 communities - one for each letter in the alphabet
- that are home to less than 1,000 residents.  Follow along with
Tony as he writes of the generosity and friendly curiosity of the
people on the rural landscape and be reminded of the beauty a
small town offers through 160 color photographs.
Stock No. 19-2  $24.95 + shipping & sales tax

Celebrating our Rural Heritage

 Visit our web site:

 www.minnesotasbookstore.com

Available at Minnesota Bookstore
Order form on back page
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Name or Company
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Attention
61/2 % tax

MN residents
7% St. Paul residents
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City State Zip Add Shipping Charges
from chart at left.

American Express/VISA/MasterCard/Discover No.

Signature Expiration Date Telephone (During Day)

Please notify us of any address changes
so that we can continue to give you our
best service. Include your old mailing
label to speed your service.
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Source Code SR002

For Your Convenience, photocopy this order blank
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U.S. Postage
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