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Minnesota Rules: Amendments and Additions
NOTICE:  How to Follow State Agency Rulemaking in the State Register

The State Register is the official source, and only complete listing, for all state agency rulemaking in its various stages.  State agencies are
required to publish notice of their rulemaking action in the State Register.  Published every Monday, the State Register makes it easy to follow and
participate in the important rulemaking process.  Approximately 80 state agencies have the authority to issue rules.  Each agency is assigned specif-
ic Minnesota Rule chapter numbers.  Every odd-numbered year the Minnesota Rules are published.  The current 1999 set is a 13-volume bound
collection of all adopted rules in effect at the time.  Supplements are published to update this set of rules.  Generally speaking, proposed and adopt-
ed exempt rules do not appear in this set because of their short-term nature, but are published in the State Register.

An agency must first solicit Comments on Planned Rules or Comments on Planned Rule Amendments from the public on the subject matter
of a possible rulemaking proposal under active consideration within the agency (Minnesota Statutes §§ 14.101).  It does this by publishing a notice
in the State Register at least 60 days before publication of a notice to adopt or a notice of hearing, or within 60 days of the effective date of any new
statutory grant of required rulemaking.  

When rules are first drafted, state agencies publish them as Proposed Rules, along with a notice of hearing, or a notice of intent to adopt rules
without a hearing in the case of noncontroversial rules.  This notice asks for comment on the rules as proposed.  Proposed emergency rules and
withdrawn proposed rules are also published in the State Register.  After proposed rules have gone through the comment period, and have been
rewritten into their final form, they again appear in the State Register as Adopted Rules. These final adopted rules are not printed in their entirety
in the State Register, only the changes made since their publication as Proposed Rules.  To see the full rule, as adopted and in effect, a person sim-
ply needs two issues of the State Register, the issue the rule appeared in as proposed, and later as adopted.  For a more detailed description of the
rulemaking process, see the most current edition of the Minnesota Guidebook to State Agency Services.

The State Register features partial and cumulative listings of rules in this section on the following schedule:  isues #1-13 inclusive; issues #14-
25 inclusive; issue #26 cumulative for issues #1-26; issues #27-38 inclusive; issue #39, cumulative for issues #1-39; issues #40-51 inclusive; and
issues #1-52 (or 53 in some years), cumulative for issues #1-52 (or 53).  An annual subject matter index for rules was separately printed usually in
August, but starting with Volume 19 now appears in the final issue of each volume.  For copies or subscriptions to the State Register, contact
Minnesota's Bookstore, 117 University Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55155  (612) 297-3000, or toll-free 1-800-657-3757.

Volume 25, Issue # 1
Agriculture Department
1562.0800 (adopted) ......................................................................... 30

Children, Families and Learning Department
3501.0320; .0330; .0370; .0400; .0420 (proposed)........................... 5
3501.0360; .0370 s.1, 2, 4; .0420 s.4; .0430 (proposed repealer) ... 5

Labor and Industry Department
5208.1500 (adopted exempt)............................................................ 31

Teaching Board
8700.1100; .1300; .1400; .1600; .1700; .1800; .1900; .1910; .2100; 

.2200; .2300; 8710.7000; .7100; .7200 (proposed)........................ 8
8700.0900; .1000; .1200; .2000; 8750.7000; .7100; .7200; .7300; 

.8000; .8100; .8200; .8300; .8400 (proposed repealer) ................ 8
8710.0300; .0400; .0500; .0550; .0600; .0700; .0800; .0850; .0900; 

.1000; .1050; .1250; .1400; .3300; .6000; .6100; .6200; .6300; 

.6400  (proposed) ........................................................................... 16
8710.0300 s.4; .0350; .1100; .1200; .1300; .6000 s.3; .6100 s.3; 

.6200 s. 3; .6300 s. 3; .6400 s. 4 (proposed repealer) ................... 16
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KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION — Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. Strike outs indicate
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated “all new material.” ADOPTED
RULES SECTION — Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike outs indicate deletions from
proposed rule language.

Department of Children, Families, and Learning
Proposed Expedited Permanent Rules Relating to Profiles of Learning
NOTICE OF INTENT TO ADOPT RULES
Proposed Exempt Expedited Permanent Rules Relating to the Profile of Learning, Minnesota Rules, chapter 3501

Introduction. The Department of Children, Families and Learning intends to adopt rules following the expedited rulemaking pro-
cedures set forth in the Administrative Procedure Act, Minnesota Statutes, section 14.389. You have 30 days to submit written com-
ments on the proposed rules.

Agency Contact Person. Comments or questions on the rules must be submitted to the agency contact person. The agency
contact person is: Kristin Asche at the Department of Children, Families and Learning, 1500 Highway 36 West, Roseville,
Minnesota 55113-4266, Phone: 651-582-8248, Fax: 651-582-8725, E-mail: kristin.asche@state.mn.us. TTY users may call the
department at 651-582-8201.

Subject of Rules and Statutory Authority. The statutory authority to adopt the rules in 2000 Minnesota Laws, Ch. 500, § 20,
which provides: “Beginning no later than July 1, 2000, the commissioner shall amend Minnesota Rules, chapter 3501, for state grad-
uation requirements according to this section using the expedited process under Minnesota Statutes, section 14.389.” Section 20 then
lists specific mandates by the legislature which direct the commissioner to amend and repeal specific rule parts in chapter 3501.

Based upon the legislative mandate, the agency is now proposing amendments or repeals to the following rule parts in chapter
3501; definitions; grading criteria; and all references to state and local developed performance packages. A copy of the proposed
rules is published in the State Register and attached to this notice as mailed.

Comments. You have until 4:30 p.m. on Wednesday, August 2, 2000, to submit written comments in support of or in opposition
to the proposed rules or any part of subpart of the rules. Your comments must be in writing and received by the agency contact
person by the due date. Comments are encouraged. Your comments should identify the portion of the proposed rules addressed, the
reason for the comments, and any change proposed. You are encouraged to propose any change desired. Any comments that you
would like to make on the legality of the proposed rules should also be made during this comment period.

Alternative Format/Accommodation. Upon request, this Notice can be made available in an alternative format, such as large
print, Braille, or cassette tape. To make such a request, please contact the agency contact person at the address or telephone number
listed above.

Proposed Rules
Comments on Planned Rules or Rule Amendments
An agency must first solicit Comments on Planned Rules or Comments on Planned Rule Amendments from the public on the subject

matter of a possible rulemaking proposal under active consideration within the agency (Minnesota Statutes §§ 14.101).  It does this by pub-
lishing a notice in the State Register at least 60 days before publication of a notice to adopt or a notice of hearing, and within 60 days of the
effective date of any new statutory grant of required rulemaking.

Rules to be Adopted After a Hearing
After receiving comments and deciding to hold a public hearing on the rule, an agency drafts its rule.  It then publishes its rules with a

notice of hearing. All persons wishing to make a statement must register at the hearing. Anyone who wishes to submit written comments may
do so at the hearing, or within five working days of the close of the hearing.  Administrative law judges may, during the hearing, extend the
period for receiving comments up to 20 calendar days. For five business days after the submission period the agency and interested persons
may respond to any new information submitted during the written submission period and the record then is closed.  The administrative law
judge prepares a report within 30 days, stating findings of fact, conclusions and recommendations.  After receiving the report, the agency
decides whether to adopt, withdraw or modify the proposed rule based on consideration of the comments made during the rule hearing proce-
dure and the report of the administrative law judge. The agency must wait five days after receiving the report before taking any action.

Rules to be Adopted Without a Hearing  
Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes § 14.22, an agency may propose to adopt, amend, suspend or repeal rules without first holding a public hearing.

An agency must first solicit Comments on Planned Rules or Comments on Planned Rule Amendments from the public.  The agency then pub-
lishes a notice of intent to adopt rules without a public hearing, together with the proposed rules, in the State Register.  If, during the 30-day
comment period, 25 or more persons submit to the agency a written request for a hearing of the proposed rules, the agency must proceed under the
provisions of §§ 14.14-14.20, which state that if an agency decides to hold a public hearing, it must publish a notice of intent in the State Register.
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Proposed Rules
Modifications. The department may modify a proposed rule if the modifications do not result in a substantially different rule, as

defined in section 14.05, subdivision 2, paragraphs (b) and (c). If the final rule is identical to the rule originally published in the
State Register, the department will publish a notice of adoption in the State Register. If the final rule is different from the rule orig-
inally published in the State Register, the agency must publish a copy of the changes in the State Register. If the proposed rules
affect you in any way, you are encouraged to participate in the rulemaking process.

Adoption and Review of Rules. The agency may adopt the rules after the end of the comment period. The rules and supporting
documents will then be submitted to the Office of Administrative Hearings for review for legality. You may ask to be notified of the
date the rules are submitted to the office. If you want to be so notified, or want to receive a copy of the adopted rules, or want to reg-
ister with the agency to receive notice of future rule proceedings, submit your request to the agency contact person listed above.

Dated: 19 June 2000

Christine Jax, Commissioner

3501.0320 DEFINITIONS.

[For text of subpart 1, see M.R.]

Subp. 2.  Definitions for the profile of learning. For the purposes of parts 3501.0300 to 3501.0469, the terms in items A to J
have the meanings given them.

[For text of items A to D, see M.R.]

E.  “Performance package assessment” means a group of assignments and application activities that a student shall perform to
demonstrate completion any assessment method that will measure demonstrated student performance of the specifications of a
content standard.

(1) “State model performance package” means a state-developed performance package that is an example of assignments
and application activities.

(2) “Local performance package” means a performance package other than a state model performance package adopted by
a district to show that a student has completed all specifications of a content standard at a level that equals or exceeds the difficulty
and complexity of the state model performance package.

F.  “Rubric” means the criteria set by the commissioner to that must be used by a district to assign a score to student work on
a performance package measure student work that meets the specifications of a content standard.

G.  “Exemplar” means an actual example of student work on a performance package assessment determined by the commis-
sioner to represent student performance that earns a score of “3” or “4.” in accordance with the rubric as defined in item F.

[For text of items H to J, see M.R.]

3501.0330 GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS.

[For text of subpart 1, see M.R.]

Subp. 2.  Districts and students.

A.  A district shall provide learning opportunities for all students in all preparatory content standards in learning areas one to
nine, and learning opportunities sufficient to meet graduation requirements in high school content standards in all ten learning areas.
A district shall offer at least one foreign language in learning area ten.

B. There are 48 high school content standards that are in ten learning areas.  A student is required to complete 21 of the 47
content standards in learning areas one to nine under subpart 3 for graduation.  A student may select electives from 28 of the 47
content standards in learning areas one to nine under subpart 3.  A student may select the content standard in learning area ten as one
or more electives.

C. B. This part shall be implemented according to Laws 1998 2000, chapter 398 500, article 5, section 9 sections 3 to 14, to be
coded as Minnesota Statutes, section 120B.03 120B.031.

[For text of subps 3 to 7, see M.R.

3501.0370 ASSESSMENT AND SCORING STUDENT ACHIEVEMENT.

Subpart 1.  [See repealer.]

Subp. 2.  [See repealer.]

Subp. 3.  Scoring criteria.

A. Scoring criteria for a performance package assessment includes:
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(1) a score of “4,” that signifies student work that meets or exceeds the rubric for the state exemplar score of “4”;

(2) a score of “3,” that signifies student work that meets the rubric for the state exemplar score of “3”;

(3) a score of “2,” that signifies student completion of work defined on the checklist under subpart 1, item C, but that does
not meet that meets the rubric for the state exemplars score of “2”; and

(4) a score of “1,” that signifies student completion of work defined on the checklist under subpart 1, item C, with perfor-
mance significantly below the rubric for the state exemplars that meets the rubric for the score of “1”; and

(5) a score of “0,” that signifies incomplete student work.

B.  Incomplete student work on a performance package shall not receive a score and does not complete a content standard.

Subp. 4.  [See repealer.]

Subp. 5.  Individualized scores.

A.  When a student completes an adjusted performance package, the district shall record the score as “pass.”

B. When a student, under provisions in an IEP or Section 504 Accommodation Plan completes the specifications of a modi-
fied content standard as determined in the student’s plan, the district shall record the score as “pass-individual.”  When a student’s
IEP or Section 504 Accommodation Plan exempts the student from a content standard, the district shall record “exempt” for that
content standard. 

C. B. When an LEP student, under provisions of an LEP individual graduation plan completes the specifications of a modified
content standard, the district shall record the score as “pass-LEP.”  When an LEP student under the provisions of an individual grad-
uation plan completes all specifications of a content standard solely in a language other than English, except for work in learning
area ten, the district shall record the score as “pass-LEP.”

[For text of subp 6, see M.R.]

3501.0400 HIGH SCHOOL STUDENT TRANSCRIPT DATA.

Subpart 1.  Transcript information. A district shall include on the transcript for a high school student the following informa-
tion:

A.  high school content standards completed by the student;

B.  the score achieved on each high school content standard, or a notation that the content standard has been certified as com-
pleted through the district’s process for transferring credit under part 3501.0370, subpart 1, item B pursuant to Minnesota Statutes,
section 120B.031, subdivision 6; and

C.  date of completion of each high school content standard.

[For text of subp 2, see M.R.]

3501.0420 IMPLEMENTATION REPORTING.

Subpart 1.  Report to commissioner. A district shall, by July 31, 1998, submit for approval by the commissioner, in a format
prescribed by the commissioner, its district profile of learning implementation manual, including the following:

[For text of items A to C, see M.R.]

D.  policies and procedures for assessment of student demonstration of the content standards, including criteria for local adop-
tion of performance packages and identification of the teaching staff and processes established for scoring student work;

E. policies and processes for staff development for continuous improvement of curriculum, instruction, and assessment;

F. E. policies and procedures by which a student may meet a graduation requirement for a content standard, whether the dis-
trict offers the content standard in its school curriculum or the student accomplishes the work in another learning environment,
including process for transfer of standards completed in another Minnesota school district, recognition of work completed in other
schools and postsecondary institutions, and credit for standards achieved in extracurricular activities, activities outside of the
school, previous learning, and community and work experiences;
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Proposed Rules
G. F. policies and procedures for periodic advising of students, the student’s parents or guardians, or both, of the student’s

progress and achievement and of the choices and opportunities available for achieving learning, graduation, and the student’s post-
secondary educational and career goals;

H. G. policies and procedures for recordkeeping and reporting of student achievement; and

I. H. procedures for student and parent or guardian appeal of policies and procedures in the district’s profile of learning imple-
mentation manual. 

[For text of subps 2 and 3, see M.R.]

Subp. 4.  [See repealer.]

REPEALER.  Minnesota Rules, parts 3501.0360; 3501.0370, subparts 1, 2, and 4; 3501.0420, subpart 4; and 3501.0430, are
repealed.

Board of Teaching
Proposed Permanent Rules Relating to Continuing or Professional Teacher License Issuance

and Renewal
DUAL NOTICE:  Notice of Intent to Adopt Rules Without a Public Hearing Unless 25 or More Persons

Request a Hearing, and Notice of Hearing if 25 or More Requests for Hearing are Received
Proposed Rules Relating to Continuing Professional Teacher License Issuance and Renewal:  Minnesota Rules,

Parts 8700.0900 to 8700.2300 and 8710.7000 to 8710.2300 with the repeal of Parts 8700.0900, 8700.1000,
8700.1200, 8700.2000, 8750.7000, 8750.7100, 8750.7200, 8750.7300, 8750.8000, 8750.8100, 8750.8200,
8750.8300, and 8750.8400

Introduction. The Board of Teaching intends to adopt rules without a public hearing following the procedures set forth in the
Administrative Procedure Act, Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.22 to 14.28, and rules of the Office of Administrative Hearings,
Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.2300 to 1400.2310.  If, however, 25 or more persons submit a written request for a hearing on the rules
within 30 days or by 4:00 p.m. on August 3, 2000, a public hearing will be held in Conference Center Room 13/14, Department of
Children, Families, and Learning Building, 1500 Highway 36 West, Roseville, Minnesota 55113, starting at 9:30 a.m., on
Wednesday, August 23, 2000.  To find out whether the rules will be adopted without a hearing or if the hearing will be held, you
should contact the agency contact person after August 3, 2000, and before August 23, 2000.

Agency Contact Person. Comments or questions on the rules and written requests for a public hearing on the rules must be sub-
mitted to the agency contact person.  The agency contact person is: Michael Tillmann at The Minnesota Board of Teaching, 1500
Highway 36 West, Roseville, Minnesota  55113.  His phone number is 651-582-8835.  TTY users may call the Board of Teaching
at 651-582-8201.

Subject of Rules and Statutory Authority. The proposed rules are about renewal of teacher licensure. The statutory authority
to adopt the rules is Minnesota Statutes, 122A.09 and 122A.18.  A copy of the proposed rules is published in the State Register and
attached to this notice as mailed. 

Comments. You have until 4:00 p.m. on Thursday, August 3, 2000, to submit written comment in support of or in opposition to
the proposed rules or any part or subpart of the rules.  Your comment must be in writing and received by the agency contact person
by the due date.  Comment is encouraged.  Your comments should identify the portion of the proposed rules addressed, the reason
for the comment, and any change proposed.  You are encouraged to propose any change desired.  Any comments that you would
like to make on the legality of the proposed rules must also be made during this comment period.

Request for a Hearing. In addition to submitting comments, you may also request that a hearing be held on the rules.  Your
request for a public hearing must be in writing and must be received by the agency contact person by 4:00 p.m. on August 3, 2000.
Your written request for a public hearing must include your name and address.  You must identify the portion of the proposed rules
to which you object or state that you oppose the entire set of rules.  Any request that does not comply with these requirements is not
valid and cannot be counted by the agency for determining whether a public hearing must be held.  You are also encouraged to state
the reason for the request and any changes you want made to the proposed rules.

Withdrawal of Requests. If 25 or more persons submit a written request for a hearing, a public hearing will be held unless a suf-
ficient number withdraw their requests in writing.  If enough requests for hearing are withdrawn to reduce the number below 25, the
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agency must give written notice of this to all persons who requested a hearing, explain the actions the agency took to effect the with-
drawal, and ask for written comments on this action.  If a public hearing is required, the agency will follow the procedures in
Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.131 to 14.20.

Alternative Format/Accommodation. Upon request, this Notice can be made available in an alternative format, such as large
print, Braille, or cassette tape.  To make such a request or if you need an accommodation to make this hearing accessible, please
contact the agency contact person at the address or telephone number listed above.

Modifications. The proposed rules may be modified, either as a result of public comment or as a result of the rule hearing
process.  Modifications must be supported by data and views submitted to the agency or presented at the hearing and the adopted
rules may not be substantially different than these proposed rules.  If the proposed rules affect you in any way, you are encouraged
to participate in the rulemaking process.

Cancellation of Hearing. The hearing scheduled for August 23, 2000, will be canceled if the agency does not receive requests
from 25 or more persons that a hearing be held on the rules.  If you requested a public hearing, the agency will notify you before the
scheduled hearing whether or not the hearing will be held.  You may also call the agency contact person at [651] 582-8835 after
August 3, 2000, to find out whether the hearing will be held.

Notice of Hearing. If 25 or more persons submit written requests for a public hearing on the rules, a hearing will be held follow-
ing the procedures in Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.131 to 14.20.  The hearing will be held on the date and at the time and place
listed above.  The hearing will continue until all interested persons have been heard.  Administrative Law Judge Allan W. Klein is
assigned to conduct the hearing.  Judge Klein can be reached at the Office of Administrative Hearings, 100 Washington Square,
Suite 1700, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55401-2138, telephone 612-341-7609, and fax 612-349-2665.

Hearing Procedure. If a hearing is held, you and all interested or affected persons, including representatives of associations or
other interested groups, will have an opportunity to participate.  You may present your views either orally at the hearing or in
writing at any time before the close of the hearing record.  All evidence presented should relate to the proposed rules.  You may also
submit written material to the Administrative Law Judge to be recorded in the hearing record for five working days after the public
hearing ends.  This five-day comment period may be extended for a longer period not to exceed 20 calendar days if ordered by the
Administrative Law Judge at the hearing.  Following the comment period, there is a five-working-day response period during which
the agency and any interested person may respond in writing to any new information submitted.  No additional evidence may be
submitted during the five-day response period.  All comments and responses submitted to the Administrative Law Judge must be
received at the Office of Administrative Hearings no later than 4:30 p.m. on the due date.  All comments or responses received will
be available for review at the Office of Administrative Hearings.  This rule hearing procedure is governed by Minnesota Rules, parts
1400.2000 to 1400.2240, and Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.131 to 14.20.  Questions about procedure may be directed to the
Administrative Law Judge.

The agency requests that any person submitting written views or data to the Administrative Law Judge prior to the hearing or
during the comment or response period also submit a copy of the written views or data to the agency contact person at the address
stated above.

Statement of Need and Reasonableness. A statement of need and reasonableness is now available from the agency contact
person.  This statement contains a summary of the justification for the proposed rules, including a description of who will be
affected by the proposed rules and an estimate of the probable cost of the proposed rules.  The statement may also be reviewed and
copies obtained at the cost of reproduction from either the agency or the Office of Administrative Hearings.

Lobbyist Registration. Minnesota Statutes, chapter 10A, requires each lobbyist to register with the State Campaign Finance and
Public Disclosure Board.  Questions regarding this requirement may be directed to the State Campaign Finance and Public
Disclosure Board at: First Floor South, Centennial Building, 658 Cedar Street, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155, telephone 651-296-5148
or 1-800-657-3889.

Adoption Procedure if No Hearing. If no hearing is required, the agency may adopt the rules after the end of the comment
period.  The rules and supporting documents will then be submitted to the Office of Administrative Hearings for review for legality.
You may ask to be notified of the date the rules are submitted to the office.  If you want to be so notified, or want to receive a copy
of the adopted rules, or want to register with the agency to receive notice of future rule proceedings, submit your request to the
agency contact person listed above.
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Adoption Procedure After a Hearing. If a hearing is held, after the close of the hearing record, the Administrative Law Judge

will issue a report on the proposed rules.  You may ask to be notified of the date when the Administrative Law Judge’s report will
become available, and can make this request at the hearing or in writing to the Administrative Law Judge.  You may also ask to be
notified of the date on which the agency adopts the rules and files them with the Secretary of State, and can make this request at the
hearing or in writing to the agency contact person stated above.

Order. I order that the rulemaking hearing be held at the date, time, and location listed above.

Dated: 17 June 2000

Michael L. Tillmann
Executive Director
Minnesota Board of Teaching

8700.1100 LOCAL COMMITTEES FOR CONTINUING EDUCATION AND RELICENSURE.

Subpart 1.  Membership. A local committee as authorized by Minnesota Statutes, section 122A.09, subdivision 4 shall be is
established in each Minnesota public school district with membership as follows:

[For text of items A to C, see M.R.]

[For text of subps 2 to 4, see M.R. ]

Subp. 5. School district assistance. Up to three days per month Release time or a per diem stipend may be provided by the local
school district to each local committee member to attend local committee meetings.

Clerical assistance and supplies as requested by the local committee may be provided by the local school district in sufficient
amount to enable the local committee to comply with the recordkeeping and reporting required by parts 8700.0900 to 8700.2300.

[For text of subp 6, see M.R.]

Subp. 7.  Duties. The duties of the local committee are as follows:

A.  Set procedures for its own operation:

(1) establish written guidelines which set include time, place, and procedures for local committee meetings; set and proce-
dures for local committee operations, including a procedure for emergency approval during periods when the committee is not reg-
ularly meeting; and determine clock hours to be allocated for each category enumerated in part 8700.1000, subpart 3 in accordance
with the maximum clock hour allocations stipulated in part 8700.1100, subpart 4;

(2) make the guidelines available to persons interested in or affected by decisions of the local committee, together with a
list of the current local committee membership; and

(3) hold a hearing annually to allow the teachers in the district to review proposed or revised guidelines established by the
local committee.  It is recommended that this hearing be held in the fall.

A working draft of local guidelines and proposed revisions shall be made available prior to the local hearing.

The local committee shall schedule the hearing at a time and place which is convenient for those interested in or affected by the
guidelines to be able to attend.

Adequate and proper notice shall be given to all such persons within the district.

All local committee members should be present at the hearing.

The hearing shall continue until all persons who wish to speak have had an opportunity to do so.

Although input received at the hearing is not binding, the local committee is encouraged to modify its guidelines, insofar as mod-
ifications are consistent with parts 8700.0900 to 8700.2300 chapters 8700 and 8710, if the information received during the hearing
indicates that changes are necessary or desirable.

B.  Provide recommendations to the Board of Teaching for the renewal of teaching licenses as provided in Minnesota Statutes,
section 122A.09, subdivision 4:

(1) Make recommendations regarding the issuance of the first continuing license by verifying one year of successful teach-
ing experience for individuals on an entrance license.  Successful teaching shall be determined by satisfying one or more of the fol-
lowing three criteria:  a teacher receives an offer of a contract for the ensuing year; a teacher gains tenure or acquires a continuing
contract; or supportive evidence is presented from supervisory personnel, professional colleagues, and/or administrators.
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This experience shall be verified by the local committee chair or designee, whose name shall be on file with the manager of
licensing Board of Teaching.

(2) Act, within a reasonable time, upon requests for recommendation for renewal of the continuing license by determining
whether the applicant has met the requirements of parts 8700.0900 to 8700.2300 for renewal in part 8710.7100.

(3) Endorse the application for first issuance or renewal of the continuing license of each qualified applicant.  The applicant
shall assume the responsibility for forwarding the endorsed application to the manager of licensing department of children, families,
and learning.

(4) Provide supporting evidence to the Board of Teaching when an appeal is taken from a decision of the local committee is
appealed.

C.  Forward to the Board of Teaching the following information in accordance with according to the due dates set forth in this
rule:

(1) Prior to November 1 of each year, verification of the current membership of the local committee.

(2) Prior to November 1, 1980, and every five years thereafter receiving approval from the Board of Teaching to operate as
a local committee, a copy of the published local committee guidelines.  At such the time that substantial changes are made in local
guidelines, a revised copy of these guidelines shall be forwarded to the Board of Teaching.

(3) During February of each year, any recommendations for modifications in parts 8700.0900 to 8700.2300 of state contin-
uing licensure renewal requirements, based upon an evaluation of procedures and criteria or granting clock hours.

D.  Provide those services and reports that may be required from time to time by the Board of Teaching.

E.  Provide recommendations to appropriate personnel concerning the in-service needs of the district.

8700.1300 TRANSFER OF CLOCK HOURS.

If a licensed person employed by one school district becomes employed by under the jurisdiction of one local committee moves
to the jurisdiction of a different district local committee during a renewal period, clock hours already earned and granted during that
renewal period shall forthwith be are transferred to the new local committee for the new district.  Such Clock hours shall be
accepted by that committee.

8700.1400 GRANTOR OF CLOCK HOURS.

Clock hours shall be granted by the committee of the district where the applicant was employed at the time that the experience
was completed.

Persons who have not been or are not currently employed by a school district for a period of time will be granted clock hours in
either of the following ways:

A. by the local committee of the district where the applicant was last employed,; or

B.  by the local committee of the district where the applicant currently resides, if accepted by the local committee.

8700.1600 RENEWAL FOR OUT-OF-STATE RESIDENTS.

Persons A person residing out of the state of Minnesota who wish wishes to maintain continuing Minnesota licensure may make
application for renewal to the Board of Teaching in accordance with provisions of parts 8700.0900 to 8700.2300 according to parts
8700.1100 and 8710.7100.

8700.1700 RULE INFORMATION.

The board of teaching shall provide each local committee shall be provided with current information regarding changes in Board
of Teaching rules which pertain to licensure in education by the director of licensing.

8700.1800 OPTION FOR FORMATION OF JOINT LOCAL COMMITTEES.

Two or more districts situated in close proximity to each other shall have the option of joining together to establish a joint local
committee.
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A plan for two or more districts to formulate a joint local committee shall be drawn up by a committee consisting of two teachers,

one administrator, and one school board member or a designee, from each participating district, and be ratified by at least 70 percent
of the licensed personnel employed by each participating district.  The plan shall provide for fair representation of all licensed per-
sonnel and insofar as possible, shall be consistent with part 8700.1100, subpart 1 and other provisions of parts 8700.0900 to
8700.2300.

The ratified plan shall be submitted by the superintendent of the district employing the largest number of licensed personnel to
the Board of Teaching.

The joint local committee shall be treated as any local committee and shall comply with all provisions of parts 8700.0900 to
8700.2300.

8700.1900 LOCAL COMMITTEES IN NONPUBLIC SCHOOLS.

Subpart 1.  Nonpublic school only. Licensed personnel in a nonpublic school may establish a local committee for the same
purpose as local committees established by public school districts.  Licensed personnel in two or more nonpublic schools may
combine to form a local committee upon the agreement of 70 percent of the licensed personnel in each school.  The chair of the
committee shall submit to the director of licensing the Board of Teaching, on an annual basis no later than November 1 of each year,
verification of the membership of the committee and verification of the school or schools whose personnel have established the
committee.

[For text of subp 2, see M.R.]

Subp. 3. Committee conduct. Insofar as possible, the committees authorized in subparts 1 and 2 shall be established and shall
function in the same manner as provided in parts 8700.0900 to 8700.2300 for committees of public school districts and in such way
as to provide fair representation for all licensed personnel and objective evaluation of requests for renewal of licenses.  Duties of the
committee and criteria for granting clock hours shall be identical to those for committees of public school districts.

8700.1910 LOCAL COMMITTEES IN SCHOOL DISTRICT CONSORTIA AND DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN,
FAMILIES, AND LEARNING.

Subpart 1.  School district consortia only Consortia; Department of Children, Families, and Learning. Licensed personnel
employed by a Minnesota public school district consortium that is authorized by Minnesota Statutes or a consortium of charter
schools may establish a local committee for the same purpose as local committees established by public school districts.  The
Department of Children, Families, and Learning may establish a local committee to serve licensed teachers who work for state gov-
ernment.

Subp. 2.  Committee conduct. When possible, the committees authorized in subpart 1 shall be established according to part
8700.1100, subpart 1.  The committees shall function in the same manner as provided in parts 8700.0900 to 8700.2300 for commit-
tees of public school districts and in a way that provides fair representation for all licensed personnel and objective evaluation of
requests for renewal of licenses.  Duties of the committee and criteria for granting clock hours shall be identical to those for com-
mittees of public school districts.

8700.2100 LOCAL COMMITTEE OF COLLEGE OR UNIVERSITY.

A college or university which is approved to prepare teachers for licensure in education may form a local committee or combine
with other approved colleges or universities to form joint committees.  Licensed personnel in approved colleges or universities
may, in accordance with part 8700.1400, affiliate with a local committee established in a local school district or nonpublic school.
Duties of the committee and criteria for granting clock hours shall be identical to those for committees of public school districts.

8700.2200 RIGHT OF APPEAL.

[For text of subpart 1, see M.R.]

Subp. 2.  Appeal to Board of Teaching. Decisions by a local committee for continuing education/relicensure denying the appeal
may be appealed to the Board of Teaching by the applicant according to the provisions of part 8710.0900.

[For text of subp 3, see M.R.]

Subp. 4.  Appellant’s duty to inform manager of licensing loss Licensure extension during appeal. In the event that the
clock hours under appeal result in loss of licensure, it shall be the responsibility of the appellant to inform the manager of licensing
of such loss of licensure. The manager of licensing Board of Teaching shall extend the previous continuing license until all avenues
of administrative appeal have been exhausted.
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8700.2300 EVALUATION REVIEW OF LOCAL COMMITTEE FUNCTIONS.

The functions of the local committees shall be evaluated by The Board of Teaching during each shall review the compliance of
the local committees with parts 8710.7300, 8710.7400, and 8710.7500, as applicable, at least once in each five-year period begin-
ning in the 2000 calendar year which is divisible by five.

8710.7000 DUTY OF LICENSEE TO RENEW.

It shall be the responsibility of the person seeking the renewal of a continuing or professional teaching license to comply with
licensure renewal requirements in part 8710.7100 and to submit the application, appropriate verification, and other supporting mate-
rials to the local continuing education/relicensure committee, in accordance with procedures and due dates established by that com-
mittee under part 8710.7200.

8710.7100 ISSUANCE AND RENEWAL OF PROFESSIONAL TEACHING LICENSES.

Subpart 1. Scope. This part applies to persons who have held entrance licenses and are seeking to obtain first professional
licenses or to renew continuing or professional licenses issued by the Board of Teaching, except continuing licenses valid only for
substitute teaching.

Subp. 2. Professional licenses to substitute teach only.  An applicant who holds or has held a valid entrance, continuing, or pro-
fessional license to teach issued by the Board of Teaching shall be granted a five-year license for short-call substitute teaching.  This
subpart also applies to an applicant who holds or has held a license to teach issued by another state if that license was issued based
on completion of baccalaureate or postbaccalaureate teacher preparation programs.

Subp. 3. Renewal of professional license. A license renewal period begins on July 1 of the year of expiration.  An application
for renewal is accepted for processing by the Department of Children, Families, and Learning after January 1 of the year of expira-
tion.  A valid professional license shall be renewed for a subsequent period of five years when an applicant presents verification by
the local continuing education/relicensure committee that the applicant has, within the past five years, successfully completed at
least 125 clock hours of professional development as specified in part 8710.7200.

8710.7200 CLOCK HOURS; REQUIREMENTS FOR RENEWAL OF PROFESSIONAL LICENSES.

Subpart 1. Definition. “Clock hour” means an hour of actual instruction, or planned group or individual professional develop-
ment activity as approved by the local continuing education/relicensure committee.

Subp. 2. Renewal clock hours. Verification by the local continuing education/relicensure committee that the applicant has com-
pleted 125 approved clock hours is required for renewal.  Instruction and professional development activities meet requirements to
renew licenses only if they address one or more of the standards in part 8710.2000.  Effective for renewal of continuing licenses
which expire on June 30, 2001, and after, applicants must include in their 125 clock hours instruction or other professional develop-
ment activities which address positive behavioral intervention strategies and accommodation, modification, and adaptation of cur-
riculum, materials, and instruction to appropriately meet the needs of varied students in achieving graduation standards.

Subp. 3. Categories for clock hour allocation. Verification of completion of experiences must be submitted by the applicant to
the local committee.  Clock hours must be earned in two or more of the categories in items A to I:

A.  relevant coursework completed at accredited colleges and universities;

B.  educational workshops, conferences, institutes, seminars, or lectures in areas appropriate to licenses held;

C.  staff development activities, inservice meetings, and courses;

D.  site, district, regional, state, national, or international curriculum development;

E.  engagement in formal peer coaching or mentorship relationships with colleagues that addresses one or more of the stan-
dards in part 8710.2000;

F.  professional service in the following areas:

(1) supervision of clinical experiences of persons enrolled in teacher preparation programs;

(2) participation on national, state, and local committees involved with licensure, teacher education, or professional stan-
dards; or
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(3) participation in national, regional, or state accreditation;

G.  leadership experiences in the following areas:

(1) development of new or broader skills and sensitivities to the school, community, or profession;

(2) publication of professional articles in a professional journal in an appropriate field; or

(3) volunteer work in professional organizations related to the areas of licensure held;

H.  opportunities to enhance knowledge and understanding of diverse educational settings in the following areas:

(1) experiences with students of another age, ability, culture, or socioeconomic level; or

(2) systematic, purposeful observation during visits to schools and to related business and industry; and

I.  preapproved travel or work experience:

(1) travel for purposes of improving instructional capabilities related to the field of licensure; or

(2) work experience in business or industry appropriate to the field of licensure.

Subp. 4. Maximum allocation.  Effective for all experiences completed after June 30, 2000, the local continuing education/reli-
censure committee shall grant clock hours on the following basis:

A.  Relevant coursework under subpart 3, item A, must be granted 16 clock hours for each quarter credit earned, and 24 clock
hours for each semester credit earned.

B.  Successful completion of activities under subpart 3, items B to I, must be granted one clock hour for each hour of partici-
pation with the following exceptions:

(1) Supervision of clinical experiences of persons enrolled in teacher licensure programs for one quarter equals 16 clock
hours or one semester equals 24 clock hours.  No more than 30 clock hours may be granted in a five-year relicensure period for
supervision.

(2) One week of preapproved travel or work experience for purposes of improving instructional capabilities equals ten
clock hours.  No more than 30 clock hours may be granted in a five-year relicensure period for travel or work experience.  The limit
of 30 clock hours may be waived when the local committee determines that the preapproved travel or work experience is critical to
the teacher’s advanced or current skills for the teacher’s assignment; for example, travel to experience language or cultural immer-
sion by a teacher of world language.

Subp. 5. Exception for national board certification.  A local continuing education committee shall accept verification that a
teacher is actively engaged in and making progress toward National Board of Professional Standards Certification or other national
professional teaching certification approved by the Board of Teaching at the time of renewal as equivalent to fulfilling all clock
hour requirements for continuing license renewal.  A local continuing education committee shall accept verification that a teacher
has earned National Board or other approved certification as equivalent to all clock hour requirements during the life of the certifi-
cate.  If the certificate expires during the five-year renewal period, the local committee shall prorate hours completed under this
exception and require completion of a prorated number of clock hours for the years the certificate is not in effect.

Subp. 6. Exception for local option.  The Board of Teaching shall approve requests submitted by local committees that, through
their school district master contracts or other official agreements between the local school board and its teachers, wish to substitute
development and implementation of individualized professional development plans for some or all of the clock hour requirements
for renewal of continuing licenses, provided that each individualized professional development plan:

A.  is designed primarily to enhance the teacher’s ability to effect increased student learning;

B.  focuses on standards in part 8710.2000 and specific content knowledge required for the teacher’s assignment;

C.  includes management and monitoring of student learning, including positive behavioral interventions and adaptation and
modification of curriculum, instruction, and assessment to assist varied student learners in achieving graduation standards;

D.  includes a focus on research-based best practice;

E.  identifies the procedures and criteria by which successful development and implementation of the individualized profes-
sional development plan will be validated and communicated with the local continuing education committee; and

F.  requires that each teacher’s individualized professional development plan equal or exceed 125 hours of professional devel-
opment activities during the five-year period.

Subp. 7. Experience for clock hour credit.  Except for subpart 3, item H, subitem (1), teaching experiences for which licensure
is required shall not qualify for clock hour credit.
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Subp. 8. Period for earning clock hours.  An applicant requesting renewal of a license to teach must earn a minimum of 125
clock hours during each five-year period preceding application for licensure renewal.  An applicant may not bank clock hours for
purposes of relicensure, but clock hours earned after an application for renewal has been submitted may be applied to the next
renewal period.

Subp. 9. School staff development.  Instruction and professional development activities provided by a school may be included
among the clock hours in this part.

Subp. 10. Renewal of license for two or more areas.  An applicant who seeks renewal of a continuing license for two or more
areas should allocate at least 30 clock hours to each of the licensure areas for a total of no fewer than 125 clock hours, with priority
given to work in areas where the candidate is employed during the licensure period.  An applicant who holds an administrative
license or licenses may allocate clock hours for the renewal of teaching licensure under this subpart.

Subp. 11. Denial of clock hours.  A local committee shall not grant clock hours for experiences that are primarily for personal
rather than professional improvement or for experiences that duplicate other granted clock hour experiences without new or
enhanced professional development value.

REPEALER. Minnesota Rules, parts 8700.0900, 8700.1000, 8700.1200, 8700.2000, 8750.7000, 8750.7100, 8750.7200,
8750.7300, 8750.8000, 8750.8100, 8750.8200, 8750.8300, and 8750.8400, are repealed effective July 1, 2001.

INSTRUCTION TO REVISOR. In the next and subsequent editions of Minnesota Rules, the revisor shall renumber each rule
part in column A with the number listed in column B.  The revisor shall make necessary cross-reference changes consistent with
renumbering.

A B

8700.1100, subp. 1 8710.7300, subp. 1
8700.1100, subp. 2 8710.7300, subp. 2
8700.1100, subp. 3 8710.7300, subp. 3
8700.1100, subp. 4 8710.7300, subp. 4
8700.1100, subp. 5 8710.7300, subp. 5
8700.1100, subp. 6 8710.7300, subp. 6
8700.1100, subp. 7 8710.7300, subp. 7
8700.1300 8710.7300, subp. 8
8700.1400 8710.7300, subp. 9
8700.1500 8710.7300, subp. 10
8700.1600 8710.7300, subp. 11
8700.1700 8710.7300, subp. 12
8700.1800 8710.7300, subp. 13
8700.1910 8710.7300, subp. 14
8700.1900 8710.7400
8700.2100 8710.7500
8700.2200 8710.7600
8700.2300 8710.7700
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Board of Teaching
Proposed Permanent Rules Relating to Teacher Licensing
DUAL NOTICE: Notice of Intent to Adopt Rules Without a Public Hearing Unless 25 or More Persons

Request a Hearing, and Notice of Hearing if 25 or More Requests for Hearing Are Received
Proposed Rules Relating to Teacher Licensing, Minnesota Rules Chapter 8710 (Part 8710.0300 [subparts 1

through 11 and the repeal of subpart 4]; the repeal of Part 8710.0350; Part 8710.0400 [subparts 1, 2, 3C, 3E,
3F, and 3G, 3aB, 3aC, and 3aD, and 4 through 9]; Part 8710.0500, subpart 11; Part 8710.0550; Part
8710.0600, Part 8710.0700 [subparts 1, 2, 3C, and 4]; Part 8710.0800 [subparts 2 and 3]; Part 8710.0850;
Part 8710.0900; Part 8710.1000; Part 8710.1050; the repeal of Parts 8710.1100 and 8710.1200; Part
8710.1250; the repeal of Part 8710.1300; Part 8710.1400; Part 8710.3300; Part 8710.6000 [subparts 1, 2, 4,
and 6 and the repeal of subpart 3]; Part 8710.6100 [subparts 2 and 4, and the repeal of subpart 3]; Part
8710.6200 [subparts 2 and 4, and the repeal of subpart 3]; Part  8710.6300 [subparts 2 and 4, and the repeal
of subpart 3]; and Part  8710.6400 [subparts 2 and 5 and the repeal of subpart 4]). 

Introduction. The Board of Teaching intends to adopt rules without a public hearing following the procedures set forth in the
Administrative Procedure Act, Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.22 to 14.28, and rules of the Office of Administrative Hearings,
Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.2300 to 1400.2310.  If, however, 25 or more persons submit a written request for a hearing on the rules
within 30 days or by 4:00 p.m. on August 3, 2000, a public hearing will be held in Conference Center Room 13/14, Department of
Children, Families, and Learning Building, 1500 Highway 36 West, Roseville, Minnesota 55113, starting at 9:30 A.M. on Friday,
August 25, 2000.  To find out whether the rules will be adopted without a hearing or if the hearing will be held, you should contact
the agency contact person after August 3, 2000, and before August 25, 2000.

Agency Contact Person. Comments or questions on the rules and written requests for a public hearing on the rules must be sub-
mitted to the agency contact person.  The agency contact person is: Michael Tillmann at The Minnesota Board of Teaching, 1500
Highway 36 West, Roseville, Minnesota  55113.  His phone number is 651-582-8835.  TTY users may call the Board of Teaching
at 651-582-8201.

Subject of Rules and Statutory Authority. The proposed rules are about teacher licensure. The statutory authority to adopt the
rules is Minnesota Statutes, 122A.09 and 122A.18.  A copy of the proposed rules is published in the State Register and attached to
this notice as mailed. 

Comments. You have until 4:00 p.m. on Thursday, August 3, 2000, to submit written comment in support of or in opposition to
the proposed rules or any part or subpart of the rules.  Your comment must be in writing and received by the agency contact person
by the due date.  Comment is encouraged.  Your comments should identify the portion of the proposed rules addressed, the reason
for the comment, and any change proposed.  You are encouraged to propose any change desired.  Any comments that you would
like to make on the legality of the proposed rules must also be made during this comment period.

Request for a Hearing. In addition to submitting comments, you may also request that a hearing be held on the rules.  Your
request for a public hearing must be in writing and must be received by the agency contact person by 4:00 p.m. on August 3, 2000.
Your written request for a public hearing must include your name and address.  You must identify the portion of the proposed rules
to which you object or state that you oppose the entire set of rules.  Any request that does not comply with these requirements is not
valid and cannot be counted by the agency for determining whether a public hearing must be held.  You are also encouraged to state
the reason for the request and any changes you want made to the proposed rules.

Withdrawal of Requests. If 25 or more persons submit a written request for a hearing, a public hearing will be held unless a suf-
ficient number withdraw their requests in writing.  If enough requests for hearing are withdrawn to reduce the number below 25, the
agency must give written notice of this to all persons who requested a hearing, explain the actions the agency took to effect the with-
drawal, and ask for written comments on this action.  If a public hearing is required, the agency will follow the procedures in
Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.131 to 14.20.

Alternative Format/Accommodation. Upon request, this Notice can be made available in an alternative format, such as large
print, Braille, or cassette tape.  To make such a request or if you need an accommodation to make this hearing accessible, please
contact the agency contact person at the address or telephone number listed above.

Modifications. The proposed rules may be modified, either as a result of public comment or as a result of the rule hearing
process.  Modifications must be supported by data and views submitted to the agency or presented at the hearing and the adopted
rules may not be substantially different than these proposed rules.  If the proposed rules affect you in any way, you are encouraged
to participate in the rulemaking process.

Cancellation of Hearing. The hearing scheduled for August 25, 2000, will be canceled if the agency does not receive requests
from 25 or more persons that a hearing be held on the rules.  If you requested a public hearing, the agency will notify you before the
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scheduled hearing whether or not the hearing will be held.  You may also call the agency contact person at [651] 582-8835 after
August 3, 2000, to find out whether the hearing will be held.

Notice of Hearing. If 25 or more persons submit written requests for a public hearing on the rules, a hearing will be held follow-
ing the procedures in Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.131 to 14.20.  The hearing will be held on the date and at the time and place
listed above.  The hearing will continue until all interested persons have been heard.  Administrative Law Judge Richard C. Luis is
assigned to conduct the hearing.  Judge Luis can be reached at the Office of Administrative Hearings, 100 Washington Square, Suite
1700, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55401-2138, telephone 612-349-2542, and fax 612-349-2665.

Hearing Procedure. If a hearing is held, you and all interested or affected persons, including representatives of associations or
other interested groups, will have an opportunity to participate.  You may present your views either orally at the hearing or in
writing at any time before the close of the hearing record.  All evidence presented should relate to the proposed rules.  You may also
submit written material to the Administrative Law Judge to be recorded in the hearing record for five working days after the public
hearing ends.  This five-day comment period may be extended for a longer period not to exceed 20 calendar days if ordered by the
Administrative Law Judge at the hearing.  Following the comment period, there is a five-working-day response period during which
the agency and any interested person may respond in writing to any new information submitted.  No additional evidence may be
submitted during the five-day response period.  All comments and responses submitted to the Administrative Law Judge must be
received at the Office of Administrative Hearings no later than 4:30 p.m. on the due date.  All comments or responses received will
be available for review at the Office of Administrative Hearings.  This rule hearing procedure is governed by Minnesota Rules, parts
1400.2000 to 1400.2240, and Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.131 to 14.20.  Questions about procedure may be directed to the
Administrative Law Judge.

The agency requests that any person submitting written views or data to the Administrative Law Judge prior to the hearing or
during the comment or response period also submit a copy of the written views or data to the agency contact person at the address
stated above.

Statement of Need and Reasonableness.  A statement of need and reasonableness is now available from the agency contact
person.  This statement contains a summary of the justification for the proposed rules, including a description of who will be
affected by the proposed rules and an estimate of the probable cost of the proposed rules.  The statement may also be reviewed and
copies obtained at the cost of reproduction from either the agency or the Office of Administrative Hearings.

Lobbyist Registration. Minnesota Statutes, chapter 10A, requires each lobbyist to register with the State Campaign Finance and
Public Disclosure Board.  Questions regarding this requirement may be directed to the State Campaign Finance and Public
Disclosure Board at: First Floor South, Centennial Building, 658 Cedar Street, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155, telephone 651-296-5148
or 1-800-657-3889.

Adoption Procedure if No Hearing. If no hearing is required, the agency may adopt the rules after the end of the comment
period.  The rules and supporting documents will then be submitted to the Office of Administrative Hearings for review for legality.
You may ask to be notified of the date the rules are submitted to the office.  If you want to be so notified, or want to receive a copy
of the adopted rules, or want to register with the agency to receive notice of future rule proceedings, submit your request to the
agency contact person listed above.

Adoption Procedure After a Hearing. If a hearing is held, after the close of the hearing record, the Administrative Law Judge
will issue a report on the proposed rules.  You may ask to be notified of the date when the Administrative Law Judge’s report will
become available, and can make this request at the hearing or in writing to the Administrative Law Judge.  You may also ask to be
notified of the date on which the agency adopts the rules and files them with the Secretary of State, and can make this request at the
hearing or in writing to the agency contact person stated above.

Order. I order that the rulemaking hearing be held at the date, time, and location listed above.

Dated: 17 June 2000

Michael L. Tillmann
Executive Director
Minnesota Board of Teaching
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8710.0300  REQUIREMENTS FOR THE ISSUANCE AND, RENEWAL, AND VALIDITY OF ALL LICENSES.

Subpart 1.  In general. Licenses to teach in Minnesota shall be granted by the Board of Teaching to persons applicants who oth-
erwise meet all requirements of applicable statutes and rules and who complete approved programs leading to teacher licensure in
Minnesota institutions which are approved by the Board of Teaching to prepare persons for teacher licensure.

An applicant must qualify separately for each licensure area for which application is made and provide evidence of satisfactory
completion of a program in the licensure area which has been approved by the Board of Teaching.  A license becomes valid on the
date issued by the personnel licensing section.

Subp. 1a. Types of licenses. The Board of Teaching shall grant the following types of licenses which shall be valid for the
period of time specified in this subpart:

A.  professional license, which expires five years from the June 30 nearest the date the license is issued;

B.  entrance license, which expires two years from the June 30 nearest the date the license is issued;

C.  nonrenewable license, which expires no more than three years from the June 30 nearest the date the license is issued;

D.  temporary limited license, which expires on June 30 of the school year for which the license is issued, except for a tempo-
rary limited license issued under part 8710.0400, subpart 4, which expires one year from the June 30 nearest the date the license is
issued;

E.  limited intern license, which expires on June 30 of the school year for which the license is issued;

F.  five-year short call substitute teacher license, which expires five years from the June 30 nearest the date the license is
issued;

G.  temporary limited short call substitute teacher license, which expires two years from the June 30 nearest the date the
license is issued; and

H.  life license, which does not expire.

Effective with licenses issued on or after the effective date of this rule, no person may hold a license under item C or D, or any
combination of licenses under items C and D, for more than three years.

A license shall bear the date of issue and the date of expiration, and, if renewable, may be renewed on or after January 1 in the
year of expiration upon application and meeting renewal requirements.  A license shall expire if it is not renewed by July 1 in the
year of expiration.

Subp. 2.  Initial license; entrance First professional license. The initial first license which shall be issued in any licensure area
to an applicant who meets all requirements of subpart 1 and who completes an approved program leading to licensure in a
Minnesota institution which is approved by the Board of Teaching to prepare persons for licensure is an entrance a professional
license, that expires two years from the July 1 nearest the date the license was issued.

There are three exceptions to the requirement that the initial license which shall be issued in any licensure area must be an
entrance license:

A.  an applicant who holds a life or continuing license as a teacher who subsequently completes an approved program in an
additional licensure area must be issued a continuing license;

B.  an applicant who holds an entrance or continuing secondary vocational license based on a degree program in home eco-
nomics education, industrial education, agriculture education, business education, or marketing education, verifies one year of
teaching experience in the corresponding category of practice while holding a valid license, and completes an approved program in
a nonvocational licensure area must be issued a continuing license; and

C.  an applicant who does not meet requirements for an entrance license may be issued a limited license or a provisional
license according to criteria specified in Board of Teaching rules that authorize the issuance of limited licenses and provisional
licenses.

When one year of teaching experience is not completed prior to the expiration of an entrance license, another entrance license in
that licensure area shall be issued upon application.  If an entrance license in any licensure area is allowed to lapse, it shall be
renewed, upon application, until the applicant has had one year of teaching experience in that licensure area after which time an
applicant must qualify for a continuing license.

Subp. 2a. Addition of professional license. When a licensure area is added to a professional license in effect, the expiration
date is that previously established for the professional license in effect.

Subp. 2b. Multiple expiration dates. If the licensee has completed and verified the professional license renewal requirements,
a licensee may renew a year early for the purpose of correlating the expiration dates of professional licenses held.
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Subp. 3.  Continuing Renewal of professional license. A continuing license, that expires five years from the July 1 nearest the
date the license was issued, shall be issued to an applicant who has completed at least one year of teaching experience in a licensure
area while holding an entrance license, as verified by the local continuing education committee.  When a licensure area is added to
a continuing license already in force, the expiration date becomes that already established for the continuing license in force. A pro-
fessional license shall be renewed upon application according to this chapter and chapter 8700 governing continuing education.

Any person who applies for the renewal of a continuing license who has not at any time during the five-year period immediately
preceding been employed in the licensure area for which the license is valid shall furnish evidence of having earned and been
granted 125 clock hours as verified by the local continuing education committee.

If a continuing license in any area is allowed to lapse, one of the following shall be issued an applicant has not been employed in
a position requiring Minnesota licensure at any time during the school year immediately preceding the date of expiration, the appli-
cant’s professional license shall be renewed if one of the following is submitted:

A.  a continuing license based upon verification by a local continuing education committee that the applicant has earned and
been granted 125 clock hours, met renewal requirements for the professional license during the five-year period immediately pre-
ceding the application;

B.  a continuing license based upon evidence that the applicant earned at least 12 quarter or eight semester hours of credit, in
applicable to the licensure area where application is being made fields, during the five-year period immediately preceding the appli-
cation; or

C.  a one-year renewal of the lapsed continuing if neither item A nor B is submitted, a one-year extension of the expired pro-
fessional license may be granted based upon on evidence that the applicant has been offered a position contingent upon holding a
valid license.  This extension expires on June 30 of the school year for which the license is issued and is nonrenewable.  In order to
qualify for a continuing professional license at the end of one year after the one-year extension, the applicant shall provide evidence
that at least 12 quarter or eight semester hours of credit have been earned in the licensure area where application is being made or
that 125 clock hours have been earned and granted as verified by the local continuing education committee during the five-year
period immediately preceding the date of application for the continuing license renewal requirements for the professional license
have been met under item A.

Continuing licenses that expire five years from the July 1 nearest the date the license was issued shall be renewed upon applica-
tion according to the rules of the Board of Teaching governing continuing education.

Subp. 4.  [See repealer.]

[For text of subp 5, see M.R.]

Subp. 6. Renewal of previously issued entrance license. An applicant with a current or expired two-year entrance license who
has not completed one year of teaching experience while holding a valid license may renew the entrance license for one additional
two-year period only, after which time an applicant shall be granted a professional license.  The professional license shall be
renewed upon application according to the rules of the Board of Teaching governing continuing education.  First time entrance
licenses shall not be issued on or after the effective date of this rule.

Subp. 7. Licensure based on minor preparation. A teacher holding a license that was first issued prior to September 1, 2001,
and is valid for teaching in grades 7 through 12 based on Board of Teaching rules authorizing half-time teaching based on minor
preparation may teach half time or less during the school day in any secondary school those subjects or fields in which the teacher
holds licensure.  Notwithstanding subpart 1a, any teacher holding licensure valid for half-time teaching in grades 7 through 12 first
issued after September 1, 1966, shall, within seven years after first issuance, acquire the minimum established by the Board of
Teaching for major preparation based on rules authorizing the issuance of the original half-time license in order to continue to be
licensed to teach in that subject or field.

Subp. 8. Validity of licenses held. A teacher holding secondary school licensure valid for teaching in grades 7 through 12 may
teach in grades 7 and 8 of any school organizational pattern in those subjects or fields for which valid licensure is held.  A teacher
holding elementary school licensure valid for teaching in grades 1 through 6 may teach in grades 7 and 8 only if the teacher is pro-
viding instruction using self-contained classroom teaching model.  Any other license issued prior to September 1, 2001, is valid
only for the grade level, licensure field, and school organizational pattern for which the license was first issued.
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Subp. 9. Emergencies. If a person documents an emergency that prevents the person from completing rule requirements in order

to continue to be licensed in that field, or if a school district or charter school documents an emergency for which no additional tem-
porary limited licenses or personnel variances are permitted by rule, the Board of Teaching may take action to grant an emergency
extension of time.  Upon receiving an application for an extension of time, the Board of Teaching shall consider whether an exten-
sion of time shall be granted based on documentation of the emergency.

Subp. 10. Corrections. A license issued in error to a person who does not qualify for the license shall be corrected without
charge to the licensee and the corrections shall be made without a hearing under part 8710.0900 and Minnesota Statutes, chapter 14.
A license issued in error is not valid.

Subp. 11. Annual review. By September 1 of each year, the Board of Teaching shall issue an annual report summarizing the
previous fiscal year’s temporary limited licenses, personnel variances, waivers, and permissions to hire nonlicensed community
experts, organized by licensure field and by school district or charter school.

8710.0400 APPLICANTS PREPARED OUTSIDE MINNESOTA.

Subpart 1.  In general. A license to teach in Minnesota shall be granted to a person an applicant who otherwise meets applicable
statutory requirements and who completes programs leading to licensure in a teacher preparation institution located outside
Minnesota.  A license shall be granted only in licensure fields for which the Board of Teaching has established rules governing pro-
grams leading to licensure.  A license shall be issued according to either subpart 2 or 3.

Subp. 2.  Applicants prepared in states with contracts with Minnesota. A person An applicant who completes approved pro-
grams leading to licensure in teacher preparation institutions within states which have signed contracts with Minnesota according to
the interstate agreement on qualification of educational personnel shall be granted a first Minnesota entrance professional license.
No license shall be issued on the basis of teaching experience only.

Subp. 3.  Applicants prepared in states without contracts with Minnesota. A person An applicant who completes programs
leading to licensure in teacher preparation institutions within states which have not signed contracts with Minnesota according to
the interstate agreement on qualification of educational personnel shall be granted a first Minnesota entrance professional license
when the following criteria are met:

[For text of items A and B, see M.R.]

C.  the program leading to licensure completed by the applicant is essentially equivalent in content to approved programs
offered by Minnesota teacher preparation institutions according to Board of Teaching rules governing the licensure field and the
grade level range of preparation is the same as, greater than, or not more than one year less than the grade level range of the
Minnesota licensure field for which application is made;

[For text of item D, see M.R.]

E.  the applicant has completed a program leading to licensure as verified by the an official transcript issued by the institution
recommending the applicant for licensure; and

F.  the applicant has completed instruction in methods of teaching and student teaching in the licensure field and at the licen-
sure level of the program.  The student teaching requirement applies only to a person completing a program to be recommended for
entrance licensure; and

G.  the applicant has completed student teaching or essentially equivalent experience.

Subp. 3a.  Applicants prepared outside United States. A person An applicant who completes a licensure program from a
college or university outside the United States shall be granted a first Minnesota entrance professional license when the following
criteria are met:

[For text of item A, see M.R.]

B.  the licensure program completed by the applicant is essentially equivalent in content to approved programs offered by
Minnesota teacher preparation institutions according to Board of Teaching rules governing the licensure field and the grade level
range of preparation is the same as, greater than, or not more than one year less than the grade level range of the Minnesota licen-
sure field for which application is made; and

C.  an the applicant for teacher licensure has completed instruction in methods of teaching and student teaching in the licen-
sure field and at the licensure level of the program.  The student teaching requirement applies only to persons completing a program
to be recommended for entrance licensure; and

D.  the applicant has completed student teaching or essentially equivalent experience.

Subp. 4.  Exception for applicants who have not met part 8700.2700 or 8710.0500. A person An applicant who has completed
a teacher licensure program outside Minnesota, has met the criteria of subpart 3 or 3a, but has not completed the requirements of
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part 8700.2700 or 8710.0500, or both, shall be granted a Minnesota one-year nonrenewable provisional temporary limited license
based upon the provisions of this part.

An applicant who has completed a teacher licensure program outside Minnesota, has met the criteria of subpart 3 or 3a with the
exception of the grade level range of the Minnesota licensure field for which application is made, but has not completed the require-
ments of part 8700.2700 or 8710.0500, or both, shall be granted a Minnesota temporary limited license based upon the provisions of
this part.  The license shall be issued for the grade level range of preparation, not to exceed the grade level range of the Minnesota
licensure field for which application is made.

If part 8710.0500 has not been met upon expiration of the temporary limited license, a person may renew the temporary limited
license twice.  Each renewal of the temporary limited license requires the applicant to submit an official score report verifying
having taken the skills area examination during the period of each temporary limited license and evidence of participating in an
approved remedial assistance program provided by a school district or postsecondary institution that includes a formal diagnostic
component in the specific areas in which the licensee did not obtain qualifying scores during the period of each temporary limited
license.

Upon meeting this part and parts 8700.2700 and 8710.0500, an entrance including preparation for the grade level range of the
Minnesota licensure field, a first professional license shall be granted. 

Subp. 5. Exception for elementary education applicants who have not met specialty requirements. An applicant who has
completed a teacher licensure program outside Minnesota that meets this part, but has not met the specialty requirements of part
8710.3200, subpart 4, for the license, shall be granted one of the following:

A.  a nonrenewable license, valid for teaching elementary students in kindergarten through grade 6, if the applicant has met the
requirements of parts 8700.2700, 8710.0500, and 8710.3200 for teaching elementary students in kindergarten through grade 6, but
has not met the requirements of part 8710.3200, subpart 4; or

B.  a temporary limited license, valid for teaching elementary students in kindergarten through grade 6, if the applicant has met
the requirements of part 8710.3200 for teaching elementary students in kindergarten through grade 6, but has not met the require-
ments of part 8700.2700; 8710.0500; or 8710.3200, subpart 4.

A teacher issued a kindergarten through grade 6 nonrenewable license shall have two years from the expiration date of the first
Minnesota license to complete the requirements for a specialty license required by part 8710.3200, subpart 4.  A teacher issued a
kindergarten through grade 6 temporary limited license may renew the license under subpart 4 if part 8710.0500 has not been met.
No person may hold a nonrenewable license, a temporary limited license, or any combination of these licenses for more than three
years.  Upon meeting the requirements of this part and parts 8700.2700, 8710.0500, and 8710.3200, a first professional license shall
be granted.

Subp. 6. Exception for applicants who have not met licensure level requirements. An applicant who has completed a teacher
licensure program outside Minnesota that meets the requirements of this part, with the exception of the licensure level requirements
of subpart 3, item C, or 3a, item B, shall be granted one of the following:

A.  a nonrenewable license, in the licensure field at the grade level range of preparation, not to exceed the grade level range of
the Minnesota licensure field for which application is made, if the applicant has met parts 8700.2700 and 8710.0500; or

B.  a temporary limited license, in the licensure field at the grade level range of preparation, not to exceed the grade level
range of the Minnesota licensure field for which application is made, if the applicant has met the requirements of this part, but has
not met part 8700.2700 or 8710.0500.

A teacher issued a nonrenewable license shall have two years from the expiration date of the first Minnesota license to complete
the requirements for teaching at the grade level range of the Minnesota licensure field.  A teacher issued a temporary limited license
may renew the license under subpart 4 if part 8710.0500 has not been met.  No person may hold a nonrenewable license, a tempo-
rary limited license, or any combination of these licenses for more than three years.  Upon meeting the requirements of this part and
parts 8700.2700 and 8710.0500, and the licensure grade level range of the Minnesota licensure field, a first professional license
shall be granted.

Subp. 7. Exception for applicants who have not met licensure requirements in part 8710.4250, 8710.4300, 8710.4750, or
8710.4800. An applicant for licensure as a teacher of communication arts and literature, a teacher of dance and theatre arts, a
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teacher of science, or a teacher of social studies who has completed a teacher licensure program outside Minnesota, who meets the
requirements of this part with the exception of licensure level requirements of subpart 3, item C, or 3a, item B, shall be granted one
of the following:

A.  a nonrenewable license, in the licensure field, which shall be restricted for teaching only in the field of major preparation,
if the applicant has met the requirements of parts 8700.2700 and 8710.0500, but has not met the requirements of part 8710.4250,
8710.4300, 8710.4750, or 8710.4800; or

B.  a temporary limited license, in the licensure field, which shall be restricted for teaching only in the field of major prepara-
tion, if the applicant has not met the requirements of parts 8700.2700 and 8710.0500, and part 8710.4250, 8710.4300, 8710.4750, or
8710.4800.

A teacher issued a nonrenewable license shall have two years from the expiration date of the first Minnesota teaching license to
complete the licensure requirements of part 8710.4250, 8710.4300, 8710.4750, or 8710.4800.  A teacher issued a temporary limited
license may renew the limited temporary license under subpart 4 if part 8710.0500 has not been met.  No person may hold a nonre-
newable license a temporary limited license, or any combination of these licenses for more than three years.  Upon meeting the
requirements of this part, parts 8700.2700 and 8710.0500, and part 8710.4250, 8710.4300, 8710.4750, or 8710.4800, a first profes-
sional license in the licensure field shall be granted.

Subp. 8. Exception for applicants who have completed alternative preparation programs. An applicant who has completed
a teacher licensure program outside Minnesota that meets the requirements of this part, with the exception of having completed the
preparation program in a teacher preparation institution accredited by the regional association for the accreditation of colleges and
secondary schools, shall be granted a first professional license.  To meet the requirements of subpart 3, item D, if the applicant is
unable to secure a teacher preparation institution recommendation for licensure, the preparation program that offers the program
leading to licensure must verify that the applicant has completed the approved licensure program and must recommend the appli-
cant for a license in the licensure field and at the licensure level.  To meet the requirements of subpart 3, item E, if an official tran-
script verifying completion of the licensure program is not available, the preparation program must provide official documentation
of the program leading to licensure and must verify that the applicant has completed the approved licensure program.

If the applicant has not completed the requirements for a first professional license, a temporary limited license or a nonrenewable
license may be issued upon meeting the requirements of subpart 4, 5, 6, or 7.

Subp. 9. Exception for national board certified teachers. An applicant who provides evidence of current national board certi-
fication, but has not completed the requirements of part 8700.2700 or 8710.0500, shall be granted a temporary limited license.  If
the requirements of part 8710.0500 have not been met upon expiration, the temporary limited license may be renewed under subpart
4.  The Board of Teaching shall accept current national board certification in a licensure field for which the Board of Teaching has
established rules governing programs leading to licensure as evidence of having met the criteria of subpart 3, item C, or 3a, item B.
If the applicant also provides evidence of current licensure from another state in the same field as national board certification is
held, but at a different grade level designation, the Board of Teaching shall accept evidence of licensure and certification together as
having met the requirements of subpart 3, item C, or 3a, item B, provided this evidence includes all grade level designations of the
Board of Teaching licensure rule.  Upon meeting the requirements of parts 8700.2700 and 8710.0500, a first professional license
based on this subpart shall be granted.

8710.0500 EXAMINATIONS FOR TEACHER LICENSES.

[For text of subps 1 to 10, see M.R.]

Subp. 11.  Applicants prepared in other states outside Minnesota. Applicants for Minnesota licensure who are prepared in
other states outside Minnesota who otherwise meet the applicable statutes and rules shall be granted a one-year nonrenewable pro-
visional license temporary limited license, during which time the applicant must provide official evidence of successful completion
of the requirements of this part.  Applicants prepared in other states outside Minnesota who provide evidence of meeting require-
ments of this part for initial first Minnesota licensure shall be granted an entrance a professional license.

[For text of subp 12, see M.R.]

8710.0550 ADDITIONAL FIELDS OF LICENSURE.

Subpart 1. In general. A person who holds a life license; a current nonvocational entrance, professional, or nonrenewable
license; or a current entrance or continuing secondary vocational license based on a degree program in agriculture education, busi-
ness education, consumer homemaking and family life education, industrial education, or marketing education granted by the Board
of Teaching may apply for an additional field of licensure upon meeting the rule requirements for the licensure field and level.  A
person who holds only a Board of Teaching license as an educational speech-language pathologist, school nurse, school psycholo-
gist, school social worker, or school counselor, or a secondary vocational license other than one based on a degree program in agri-
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culture education, business education, consumer homemaking and family life education, industrial education, or marketing educa-
tion must meet the rule requirements for the licensure field and level and part 8710.2000.

Subp. 2. Middle level academic specialty. A person may apply for licensure in a middle level academic specialty upon meeting
the requirements of part 8710.3300 provided that the applicant holds one or more of the following classroom teaching licenses
issued by the Board of Teaching:  a life license; a current nonvocational entrance, professional, or nonrenewable license; or a
current entrance or continuing secondary vocational license based on a degree program in agriculture education, business education,
consumer homemaking and family life education, industrial education, or marketing education.

Subp. 3. Kindergarten. Until June 30, 2005, an applicant holding a current entrance or professional elementary teaching license
first granted by the Board of Teaching prior to September 1, 2001, shall be granted kindergarten licensure upon submitting evidence
of having completed requirements for methods of kindergarten education in a state-approved teacher preparation program at a
college or university that is accredited by the regional association for the accreditation of colleges and secondary schools and a rec-
ommendation for kindergarten licensure from that college or university.

Subp. 4. Exemption from teaching experience. On or before August 31, 2001, the Board of Teaching shall waive the teaching
experience requirement for all applicants for licensure as teachers of reading.

8710.0600 PROCEDURES FOR ISSUANCE OF LIFE LICENSES.

Any teacher currently holding a valid license to teach granted by the Board of Teaching having a minimum of five years teaching
experience in Minnesota, who was actually employed as a classroom teacher or other similar professional employee on a regular
contract in any one of three years immediately preceding July 1, 1969, may apply for and receive a life license for those grades, sub-
jects, and fields for which Minnesota licensure was held prior to July 1, 1969, upon payment of a processing fee set by the Board of
Teaching.  The application shall be in writing on a life license application form addressed to:  Minnesota Department of Children,
Families, and Learning, Personnel Licensing Section, Sixth Floor, Capitol Square Building, 550 Cedar Street, St. Paul, Minnesota
55101.

Life license application forms may be obtained from: Minnesota Department of Children, Families, and Learning, Personnel
Licensing Section, Sixth Floor, Capitol Square Building, 550 Cedar Street, St. Paul, Minnesota 55101, (612) 296-2046.

8710.0700 PROCEDURES FOR VOLUNTARY SURRENDER OF TEACHING LICENSES.

Subpart 1.  Materials required to surrender license. A person holding a teaching license granted by the Board of Teaching
may voluntarily surrender the license by submitting to the executive secretary director of the Board of Teaching the following:

A.  a written request to surrender which specifies the teaching license or licenses to be surrendered;

B.  the applicant copy of the teaching license;

C.  the school district copy of the license, together with a written statement that the designated administrator of the employing
school superintendent district or charter school has been notified that the school district employer’s copy of the license has been
removed from the school district or charter school files; and

D.  the required processing fee set forth in part 8710.0200.

Subp. 2.  Surrender date. When the executive secretary director receives the materials listed in subpart 1 by January 1, the date
of surrender is July 1 of that year.  When the materials are received after January 1, the date of surrender is July 1 of the following
calendar year.  An applicant may revoke the request.  The revocation must be made in writing to the executive secretary director no
later than December 31 of the year in which the request for voluntary surrender is received by the executive secretary director.

Subp. 3.  When surrender is prohibited. A person may not voluntarily surrender a license if any of the following exists:

[For text of items A and B, see M.R.]

C.  any educational agency or board has commenced proceedings which could result in alteration of the status of the teaching
license due to the person’s conduct.

Subp. 4.  Entrance First professional license after surrender. A person whose Minnesota teaching license has been voluntar-
ily surrendered may apply for entrance first professional licensure in the subject or field for which licensure was previously surren-
dered.  An entrance A first professional license shall be granted to the applicant if the following criteria are met:
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A.  a licensure rule exists in the subject or field for which licensure was previously surrendered;

B.  the applicant meets the entrance first professional licensure standards which are in effect in the subject or field at the time
of application and meets procedures set forth in Board of Teaching rules applicable to an entrance a first professional license; and

C.  the required processing fee set forth in part 8710.0200 accompanies the application for entrance first professional licen-
sure.

[For text of subp 5, see M.R.]

8710.0800 PROCEDURES FOR THE REVOCATION OR SUSPENSION OF ALL TEACHING LICENSES.

[For text of subpart 1, see M.R.]

Subp. 2.  Revocation. Revocation shall include the cancellation or repeal of a teaching license and/or or renewal privilege.
Revocation shall disqualify a person from teaching, or performing any other function, which is permitted on the basis of holding a
license issued pursuant to the rules of the Board of Teaching.  Revocation shall be final, except that a person whose license has been
revoked may petition the Board of Teaching for a license pursuant to part 8710.0850, subpart 1.

Subp. 3.  Suspension. Suspension shall include the temporary withdrawal of a teaching license and/or or renewal privilege.
Suspension shall disqualify a person from teaching or performing any other function which is permitted on the basis of holding a
license issued pursuant to the rules of the Board of Teaching.  The length of each suspension and any terms and conditions attached
thereto shall be determined by the Board of Teaching upon the consideration of the following factors:

A.  the activity of the individual which led to the license suspension; and

B.  any relevant mitigating factors which the individual may interpose on the individual’s behalf; and

C.  the prior teaching record of the individual; and

D.  other similar factors.

Unless otherwise provided by the Board of Teaching, a revocation or suspension applies to each license or renewal privilege held
by the individual at the time final action is taken by the Board of Teaching.  A person whose license or renewal privilege has been
suspended or revoked shall be ineligible to be issued any other license by the Board of Teaching during the pendency of the suspen-
sion or revocation.

8710.0850 ISSUANCE OR REINSTATEMENT OF A LICENSE AFTER A REVOCATION OR SUSPENSION.

Subpart 1.  After revocation. A person whose teaching license or renewal privilege has been revoked by the Board of Teaching
may apply for and shall be granted an entrance a first professional license upon presentation of competent evidence that all terms
and conditions which the board may have imposed have been fulfilled, and upon meeting current licensure standards.

Subp. 2.  After suspension. A person whose teaching license or renewal privilege has been suspended by the Board of Teaching
may apply for reinstatement of that license in one of the following manners:

A.  If the suspended license was an entrance a license which has lapsed expired during the suspension, that license will shall
be reinstated renewed upon proper application after the period of suspension has expired provided that this chapter permits renewal
of the license and that all renewal requirements have been met and upon presentation of competent evidence that all terms and con-
ditions which the board may have imposed have been fulfilled, provided that the applicant has had less than one year of teaching
experience while holding the entrance license.  If the applicant has gained a year or more of teaching experience on the entrance
license prior to the suspension and the license has lapsed during the suspension, a five-year continuing license shall be granted after
all other conditions stated in this provision have been met.

B.  If the suspended license was an entrance a license which has not lapsed expired during the suspension, the person may
resume teaching or performing any other function which is permitted on the basis of holding a license granted by the Board of
Teaching for whatever period of time remains on that license after the period of the suspension has expired and upon presentation of
competent evidence that all terms and conditions which the board may have imposed have been fulfilled.

C.  If the suspended license was a continuing license which has not lapsed during the period of the suspension, the person may
resume teaching for whatever period of time remains on the continuing license after the suspension has expired and upon presenta-
tion of competent evidence that all terms and conditions which the board may have imposed have been fulfilled.

D.  If the suspended license was a continuing license which lapsed during the period of the suspension, the person may apply
for another continuing license which shall be granted provided that the suspension has expired and upon presentation of competent
evidence that all terms and conditions which the board may have imposed have been fulfilled, and further provided that current con-
tinuing education requirements have been completed.
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E. If the suspended license was a life license, the person may resume teaching or performing any other function which is per-
mitted on the basis of holding a license granted by the Board of Teaching after the period of the suspension has expired and upon
presentation of competent evidence that all terms and conditions which the board may have imposed have been fulfilled.

8710.0900 APPEAL TO THE BOARD OF TEACHING.

All persons denied issuance or renewal of teaching licenses granted by the Board of Teaching, and all Minnesota teacher-prepar-
ing institutions denied program or college institutional approval, and all persons licensed by the Minnesota Board of Teaching
whose appeals are denied by the local committee for continuing education/relicensures, are hereby entitled to a hearing pursuant to
Minnesota Statutes, chapter 14, on such denial and to a final decision by the Board of Teaching.

A person or an institution entitled to a hearing under the provisions of this part shall file a written request for such hearing with
the executive secretary of the Board of Teaching within 30 days from the date of the denial.  Failure to file a written request for a
hearing within 30 days constitutes a waiver of the individual’s right to a hearing.

8710.1000 SUBSTITUTE TEACHERS.

Subpart 1.  Long call substitute teacher. A long call substitute teacher is one who replaces the same teacher for 15 or more con-
secutive days.  A long call substitute teacher shall hold an entrance or continuing a Minnesota license to teach for each licensure
area taught valid for the assignment.

Subp. 2.  Short call substitute teacher. A short call substitute teacher is one who teaches on a day-to-day basis not to exceed 15
consecutive days replacing the same teacher.  A short call substitute teacher shall hold a Minnesota license or short call substitute
license.  These licenses are valid for functioning as a short call substitute teacher at all grade levels in all fields.

A short call substitute teacher license expires five years from the July 1 nearest the date the license is issued and must be issued to
an applicant who has held a Minnesota license and has completed a teacher preparation program.

Subp. 3. Criteria for issuance of five-year short call substitute teacher license. The Board of Teaching shall grant a five-year
short call substitute teacher license to an applicant who has completed a teacher preparation program leading to full licensure in the
governmental jurisdiction in which the teacher preparation program was completed.

Subp. 4. Criteria for issuance of temporary limited short call substitute teacher license. The Board of Teaching shall grant
a temporary limited short call substitute teacher license to an applicant if it finds that the following conditions are met:

A.  the designated administrator of an employing school district or charter school requests a temporary limited short call sub-
stitute teacher license;

B.  the designated administrator of an employing school district or charter school verifies in writing that the school district or
charter school is experiencing hardship in securing a sufficient number of licensed teachers to meet the need for short call substitute
teachers; and

C.  the applicant holds a baccalaureate degree from a United States college or university, or the equivalent.

8710.1050 LIMITED INTERN LICENSES.

Subpart 1. Authority to issue limited intern licenses. The Board of Teaching authorizes the issuance of limited intern licenses
that permit a person to serve as an intern under the direct supervision of a licensed teacher or other education professional licensed
by the Board of Teaching for the equivalent of no more than one school year while completing a preparation program leading to
Board of Teaching licensure.  The limited intern license does not authorize the intern to serve as a teacher or other education pro-
fessional.

Subp. 2. Criteria for issuance. The Board of Teaching shall grant a limited intern license authorized under subpart 1 to an
applicant if it finds that the following conditions are met:

A.  the designated administrator of the employing school district or charter school requests a limited intern license according
to this part;

B.  the designated administrator of the employing school district or charter school verifies in writing that:

(1) the intern position is designed to serve as a learning experience for a college or university student who is completing a
preparation program leading to Board of Teaching licensure;
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(2) the intern will be assigned to assist a licensed teacher or other education professional licensed by the Board of Teaching

whose students are the responsibility of the licensed teacher or other licensed professional;

(3) the intern will serve under the direct, day-to-day supervision of a licensed teacher or other education professional
licensed by the Board of Teaching, and will not serve as the classroom teacher or other education professional for students; and

(4) the intern will not replace a licensed teacher or other licensed professional; and

C.  the applicant is recommended for limited intern licensure by a college or university approved by the Board of Teaching,
verifying in writing that:

(1) the applicant is currently enrolled in an approved preparation program leading to Board of Teaching licensure and has
completed at least three years of preparation required for licensure; and

(2) the college or university will assist in designing the learning experience and will provide supervision of the intern
during the learning experience.

Subp. 3.  Validity and duration of limited intern licenses.  A limited intern license is issued for one school year or a portion of
a school year from the date of issuance to the following June 30 and is valid for use in the requesting school district or charter
school only.  The license may be renewed once, upon application, if the intern must complete the equivalent of one school year of
internship experience during the following school year.  The license shall be revoked by the Board of Teaching when it has been
demonstrated that the intent and purpose of the licensure have not been fulfilled.

8710.1250 TEMPORARY LIMITED LICENSES.

Subpart 1. Authority to issue temporary limited licenses. The Board of Teaching authorizes the issuance of temporary limited
licenses that permit a person to teach in an area for which the person has not completed an approved preparation program that leads
to licensure by the Board of Teaching.

Subp. 2. Criteria for issuance. The Board of Teaching shall grant a temporary limited license authorized by subpart 1 to an
applicant if it finds that the following conditions are met:

A.  the designated administrator of the employing school district or charter school requests a temporary limited license accord-
ing to this part;

B.  the designated administrator of the employing school district or charter school verifies in writing that:

(1) no applicant holding a license in a subject or field for which a temporary limited license is requested can fulfill the
requirements of the position;

(2) the position has been advertised, and if the position is one-half time or more, the position has been advertised statewide;

(3) the school district or charter school will provide a mentor to give support and assistance in necessary skill development
for the person holding a temporary limited license;

(4) the applicant for whom the temporary limited license is requested holds a baccalaureate degree from a college or uni-
versity accredited by the regional association for the accreditation of colleges and secondary schools; and

(5) the applicant has completed a college or university degree with at least a minor in the area for which teacher licensure is
requested, or a degree directly related to the professional preparation for which educational speech/language pathology, school
nurse, school psychologist, school social worker, or school counselor licensure is requested.  An applicant for a temporary limited
license as a school nurse must also provide evidence of current registration to practice as a licensed registered nurse and current reg-
istration as a public health nurse under the Board of Nursing.  An applicant for a temporary limited license as a school social worker
must also provide evidence of current licensure to practice as a social worker under the Board of Social Work.

Subp. 3. Validity and duration of temporary limited licenses. An application for a temporary limited license must not be sub-
mitted prior to August 1 of the school year for which it is requested.  A temporary limited license is issued for one school year or a
portion of a school year from the date of issuance to the following June 30 and is valid for use in the requesting school district or
charter school only.  If the requesting school district or charter school offers summer school, a temporary limited license that
expires on June 30 is valid for teaching summer school in the year of expiration of the license.

Subp. 4. Number of temporary limited licenses allowed. Beginning with temporary limited licenses issued on or after the
effective date of this rule, no more than three temporary limited licenses shall be granted to an applicant.

Subp. 5. Exception for applicants prepared in Minnesota teacher preparation institutions. A graduate of a Minnesota
teacher preparation institution who has been granted a temporary limited license under subpart 2 but has not successfully completed
the skills area examination may renew the temporary limited license two times.  To renew a temporary limited license an applicant
must:
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A.  provide an official score report which verifies having taken the examination during the period of each temporary limited
license; and

B.  provide evidence of participating in an approved remedial assistance program provided by a school district or postsec-
ondary institution that includes a formal diagnostic component in the specific areas in which the applicant did not obtain qualifying
scoresduring the period of each temporary limited license.

Subp. 6. Exception for applicants prepared outside Minnesota. An applicant who has completed a licensure program outside
Minnesota may be granted a temporary limited license under part 8710.0400.

8710.1400 LETTERS OF APPROVAL PERSONNEL VARIANCES.

Subpart 1.  Authority to issue letters personnel variances. The Board of Teaching hereby authorizes the issuance of letters of
approval personnel variances which permit a teacher to teach in related subjects or fields for which such teacher is not currently
licensed.  The superintendent of schools designated administrator of a local school district or charter school may request the
manager of the personnel licensing section of the Department of Children, Families, and Learning Board of Teaching to issue a
letter of approval personnel variance which permits a teacher to teach subjects or fields for which that teacher is not currently
licensed.

Subp. 2.  Criteria for issuance. Letters of approval A personnel variance authorized by subpart 1 shall be issued to superinten-
dents of schools the designated administrator of a school district or charter school if the Board of Teaching finds that the following
conditions are met:

A.  the superintendent of schools designated administrator of the school district or charter school requests a letter of approval
in accordance with the provisions of personnel variance according to this part;

B.  the superintendent of schools designated administrator of the school district or charter school verifies in writing that a fully
licensed teacher is not available for the position, and no teacher holding a teaching license in the subject or field for which the letter
of approval is requested has been placed on unrequested leave by the school district who wishes to resume teaching in that subject
or field; and:

(1) reasonable efforts have been made to assign existing staff to fill the position with a fully licensed teacher;

(2) no applicant holding a teaching license in a subject or field for which a personnel variance is requested can fulfill the
requirements of the position; and

(3) the position has been advertised, and if the position is one-half time or more, the position has been advertised statewide;

C.  the teacher for whom the request is made holds a current valid Minnesota entrance, professional, or nonrenewable license
granted by the Board of Teaching; and

D.  the teacher for whom the request is made is aware of the assignment.

Subp. 2a. Exceptions. No personnel variances shall be granted based on holding a current valid Minnesota temporary limited
license unless the temporary limited license was granted based on having met all requirements except part 8710.0500.  No person-
nel variances shall be granted for educational speech/language pathologists, school counselors, school nurses, school psychologists,
or school social workers.

Subp. 3. Duration of letters of approval personnel variance. An application for a personnel variance must not be submitted
prior to August 1 of the school year for which it is requested. A letter of approval shall be personnel variance is valid for a period
not to exceed one school year or a portion of a school year from the date of state approval to the following June 30.  If the request-
ing school district or charter school offers summer school, the personnel variance that expires on June 30 is valid for teaching
summer school in the year of expiration of the personnel variance.

Letters of approval shall be renewed for a period not to exceed one school year provided that:

A.  the teacher for whom the request is made has completed at least six quarter hours of college credit since the last letter of
approval was granted in an approved licensure program in the subject or field for which the approval letter was issued; and

B.  the superintendent of schools requests a letter of approval in accordance with subpart 2.



PAGE 28 (CITE 25 SR 28)State Register, Monday 3 July 2000

Proposed Rules
Subp. 3a. Number of personnel variances allowed. Beginning with personnel variances issued on or after the effective date of

this rule, no more than three personnel variances shall be granted for any teacher to teach in subjects or fields for which the teacher
is not licensed.

Subp. 4.  Written reasons conditions for granting or denying letter personnel variance. The manager of the personnel licens-
ing section of the Department of Children, Families, and Learning Board of Teaching shall state in writing to the superintendent of
schools designated administrator of the school district or charter school the reasons conditions for granting or denying the letter of
approval personnel variance requested pursuant to the provisions of this part.

8710.3300 MIDDLE LEVEL LICENSURE IN ACADEMIC SPECIALTY.

Subpart 1. Scope of practice. A teacher with a middle level academic specialty is authorized to teach that academic specialty to
students in grades 5 through 8 in any school organizational pattern.

Subp. 2. Licensure requirements. A candidate for licensure in a middle level academic specialty shall:

A.  hold one or more of the following classroom teaching licenses granted by the Board of Teaching:  a life license; a current
nonvocational entrance, nonrenewable, or professional license; or a current entrance or continuing secondary vocational license
based on a degree program in agriculture education, business education, consumer homemaking and family life education, indus-
trial education, or marketing education; and

B.  show verification of completing a preparation program approved under part 8700.7600 leading to licensure in a middle
level academic specialty in subpart 3.  To be licensed to teach a middle level academic specialty in grades 5 through 8, an applicant
shall, in addition to meeting the requirements of this part, also meet the requirements for a licensure specialty in part 8710.3200,
subpart 4, item A, B, or C; 8710.4750, subpart 3; or 8710.4950, subpart 2, item A, except that an applicant holding a license valid
for teaching an academic specialty to students in grades 7 through 12 shall be licensed to teach that academic specialty in grades 5
and 6 upon meeting the requirements of this part.

Subp. 3. Subject matter standard. A candidate for licensure in a middle level academic specialty must complete a preparation
program under subpart 2, item B, that includes the candidate’s demonstration of the knowledge and skills in items A and B.

A.  A teacher of an academic specialty to middle level students understands the nature of early adolescence and the needs of
young adolescents.  The teacher must understand:

(1) the research base for and best practices of middle level education;

(2) the educational principles relevant to the physical, social, emotional, moral, and cognitive development of young ado-
lescents;

(3) the concepts of “belonging” and “family connectedness” as crucial to the development of young adolescents; and

(4) the process and necessity of collaboration with families and other adults in support of the learning of young adoles-
cents.

B.  A teacher of an academic specialty to middle level students understands the teaching of an academic specialty that inte-
grates understanding of the academic specialty with the teacher’s understanding of pedagogy, students, learning, classroom man-
agement, and professional development.  The teacher of an academic specialty to middle level students in grades 5 through 8 must:

(1) develop curriculum goals and purposes based on the central concepts of the academic specialty and know how to apply
instructional strategies and materials that are appropriate for middle level students and are specific to the academic specialty;

(2) understand how to integrate curriculum across subject areas in developmentally appropriate ways;

(3) understand the role and alignment of district, school, and department mission and goals in program planning;

(4) understand the need for and how to connect student’s schooling experiences with everyday life, the workplace, and
further educational opportunities;

(5) know how to involve representatives of business, industry, and community organizations as active partners in creating
educational opportunities;

(6) understand the role and purpose of cocurricular and extracurricular activities in the teaching and learning process;

(7) understand the impact of reading ability on student achievement in the academic specialty, recognize the varying
reading comprehension and fluency levels represented by students, and possess the strategies to assist students to read the academic
specialty content more effectively; and

(8) apply the standards of effective practice in teaching students through a variety of early and ongoing clinical experiences
with middle level students within a range of educational programming models.  Candidates for licensure who hold a license at the
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elementary level must complete these experiences with students in grades 7 and 8.  Candidates for licensure who hold a license at
the secondary level must complete these experiences with students in grades 5 and 6.

Subp. 4. Professional license.  A professional license shall be issued and renewed according to this chapter.

Subp. 5. Effective date.  The requirements of this part for licensure as a teacher of an academic specialty to middle level students
in grades 5 through 8 are effective on September 1, 2001, and thereafter.

8710.6000 EDUCATIONAL SPEECH-LANGUAGE SPEECH/LANGUAGE PATHOLOGIST.

Subpart 1. Scope of practice. An educational speech-language speech/language pathologist is authorized to provide specialized
speech/language services to prekindergarten through grade 12 students with identified communication disabilities including those
affecting language, articulation, fluency, and voice.

Subp. 2.  Requirements for entrance licensure first professional license. A first professional license as an educational
speech/language pathologist shall be granted to an applicant who provides evidence of having completed a master’s degree in
speech/language pathology from a program accredited by the Council on Academic Affairs of the American Speech-Language-
Hearing Association or to an applicant who provides evidence of holding a valid certificate of clinical competence from the
American-Speech-Language-Hearing Association.

Subp. 3.  [See repealer.]

Subp. 4.  Continuing Professional license. A continuing professional license shall be renewed according to the rules of the
Board of Teaching governing continuing professional licensure.

[For text of subp 5, see M.R.]

Subp. 6. Effective date. Requirements in this part for licensure as an educational speech-language speech/language pathologist
are effective on September 1, 2001, and thereafter. 

8710.6100 SCHOOL NURSE.

[For text of subpart 1, see M.R.]

Subp. 2. Requirements for entrance licensure first professional license. A candidate for licensure as a school nurse shall:

[For text of items A to C, see M.R.]

Subp. 3.  [See repealer.]

Subp. 4.  Continuing Professional license. A continuing professional license shall be renewed according to the rules of the
Board of Teaching governing continuing professional licensure.  Evidence of current Minnesota Board of Nursing registration as a
licensed registered nurse is also required.

[For text of subps 5 and 6, see M.R.]

8710.6200 SCHOOL PSYCHOLOGIST.

[For text of subpart 1, see M.R.]

Subp. 2.  Requirements for entrance licensure first professional license. A candidate for licensure as a school psychologist
shall provide evidence of having completed a preparation program in school psychology accredited by the National Association of
School Psychologists.

Subp. 3.  [See repealer.]

Subp. 4.  Continuing Professional license. A continuing professional license shall be renewed according to the rules of the
Board of Teaching governing continuing professional licensure.

[For text of subp 5, see M.R.]

8710.6300 SCHOOL SOCIAL WORKER.

[For text of subpart 1, see M.R.]
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Subp. 2.  Requirements for entrance licensure first professional license.  A candidate for licensure as a school social worker shall:

[For text of items A and B, see M.R.]

Subp. 3.  [See repealer.]

Subp. 4.  Continuing Professional license. A continuing professional license shall be renewed according to the rules of the
Board of Teaching governing continuing professional licensure.  Evidence of current Board of Social Work licensure is also
required.

[For text of subps 5 and 6, see M.R.]

8710.6400 SCHOOL COUNSELOR.]

[For text of subpart 1, see M.R.]

Subp. 2.  Requirements for entrance licensure first professional license. A candidate for school counselor licensure shall:

[For text of items A and B, see M.R.]

[For text of subp 3, see M.R.]

Subp. 4.  [See repealer.]

Subp. 5.  Renewal of a continuing professional license. A continuing professional license shall be renewed according to the
rules of the Board of Teaching governing continuing professional licensure.

[For text of subp 6, see M.R.]

REPEALER. Minnesota Rules, parts 8710.0300, subpart 4; 8710.0350; 8710.1100; 8710.1200; 8710.1300; 8710.6000, subpart
3; 8710.6100, subpart 3; 8710.6200, subpart 3; 8710.6300, subpart 3; and 8710.6400, subpart 4, are repealed.

Department of Agriculture
Adopted Permanent Rules Relating to Grain Storage License Fees

The rules proposed and published at State Register, Volume 24, Number 41, pages 1441-1442, April 10, 2000 (24 SR 1441), are
adopted as proposed.

Adopted Rules
A rule becomes effective after the requirements of Minnesota Statutes §§14.05-14.28 have been met and five working days after the rule

is published in the State Register, unless a later date is required by statutes or specified in the rule.

If an adopted rule is identical to its proposed form as previously published, a notice of adoption and a citation to its previous State
Register publication will be printed.

If an adopted rule differs from its proposed form, language which has been deleted will be printed with strikeouts and new language will
be underlined. The rule’s previous State Register publication will be cited.

Exempt Rules
An exempt rule adopted under Minnesota Statutes §§ 14.386 or 14.388 is effective upon its publication in the State Register.

Emergency Expedited Rules
Provisions for the Commissioner of Natural Resources to adopt emergency expedited Game and Fish Rules are specified in Minnesota

Statutes §§ 84.027.  The commissioner may adopt emergency expedited rules when conditions exist that do not allow the Commissioner to
comply with the requirements for emergency rules.  The Commissioner must submit the rule to the attorney general for review and must
publish a notice of adoption that includes a copy of the rule and the emergency conditions.  Emergency expedited rules are effective upon
publication in the State Register, and may be effective up to seven days before publication under certain emergency conditions. Emergency
expedited rules are effective for the period stated or up to 18 months.
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Department of Labor and Industry 
Adopted Exempt Permanent Rules Relating to Occupational Safety  and Health; Standard

Industrial Classification List for AWAIR
The rules proposed and published at State Register, Volume 24, Number 44, pages 1569-1578, May 1, 2000 (24 SR 1569), are

adopted as proposed.

Office of the Governor
Emergency Executive Order #00-03: Declaring a State of Emergency in the State of Minnesota

I, JESSE VENTURA, GOVERNOR OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA, by virtue of the authority vested in me by the
Constitution and the applicable statutes, do hereby issue this Emergency Executive Order:

WHEREAS, during the period from May 17, 2000, and continuing, severe thunderstorms accompanied by torrential rain, flash
flooding, straight-line winds, hail, and lightning devastated southeastern Minnesota;

WHEREAS, these events have inflicted widespread and considerable damage to the public infrastructure as well as to homes,
farms, and businesses; and
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Exempt Rules
Exempt rules are excluded from the normal rulemaking procedures (Minnesota Statutes  14.386 and 14.388).  They are most often of two

kinds.  One kind is specifically exempted by the Legislature from rulemaking procedures, but approved for form by the Revisor of Statutes,
reviewed for legality by the Office of Administrative Hearings, and then published in the State Register.  These exempt rules are effective for
two years only.

The second kind of exempt rule is one adopted where an agency for good cause finds that the rulemaking provisions of Minnesota
Statutes, Chapter 14 are unnecessary, impracticable, or contrary to the public interest.  This exemption can be used only where the rules:

(1) address a serious and immediate threat to the public health, safety, or welfare, or

(2) comply with a cour order or a requirement in federal law in a manner that does not allow for compliance with Minnesota Statutes
14.14-14.28, or

(3) incorporate specific changes set forth in applicable statutes when no interpretation of law is required, or

(4) make changes that do not alter the sense, meaning, or effect of the rules.

These exempt rules are also reviewed for form by the Revisor of Statutes, for legality by the Office of Administrative Hearings and then
published in the State Register.  In addition, the Office of Administrative Hearings must determine whether the agency has provided adequate
justification for the use of this exemption.  Rules adopted under clauses (1) or (2) above are effective for two years only.

The Legislature may also exempt an agency from the normal rulemaking procedures and establish other procedural and substantive
requirements unique to that exemption.

Executive Orders
The governor has the authority to issue written statements of orders, called Executive Orders, as well as Emergency Executive Orders. 

The governor’s authority is specified in the Constitution of the State of Minnesota, Article V, and in Minnesota Statutes 4.035. Emergency
Executive Orders, for protection from an imminent threat to health and safety, become effective immediately, are filed with the secretary of state,
and published in the State Register as soon as possible after they are issued. Other Executive Orders become effective 15 days after publication in
the State Register and filing with the secretary of state. Unless otherwise specified, an executive order expires 90 days after the date the governor
who issued the order vacates office. 



WHEREAS, as a result, there is a threat to public safety for citizens in the counties of Dodge, Faribault, Fillmore, Freeborn,
Houston, Mower, Olmsted and Winona, and

WHEREAS, the resources of local, county, state and tribal government and private relief agencies have been exhausted in
responding to the crisis; 

NOW, THEREFORE, I hereby order that:

A State of Emergency exists in the State of Minnesota and do:

• Direct the Division of Emergency Management to continue the activation of the State Emergency Operations Plan, and, in
conjunction with the Federal Emergency Management Agency and other state and federal agencies, determine the need for
supplementary disaster aid and coordinate the provision of any such assistance as necessary under existing state and federal
authority;

• Direct all state agencies to provide assistance that is necessary to help local units of government respond to and recover from
this emergency.

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes 1998, Section 4.035, subd. 2, this Order is effective immediately and shall remain in effect until
rescinded by proper authority or it expires in accordance with Minnesota Statutes 1998, Section 4.035, subd. 3.

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have set my hand this twenty-second day of June, 2000.

Filed According to Law:

Office of the Governor
Emergency Executive Order #00-04: Declaring a State of Emergency in the State of

Minnesota
I, JESSE VENTURA, GOVERNOR OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA, by virtue of the authority vested in me by the

Constitution and the applicable statutes, do hereby issue this Emergency Executive Order:

WHEREAS, torrential rain that occurred on June 19, 2000, the continued heavy rain, and the forecast for continued heavy rain
have created overland flooding which is closing roads, damaging crops and flooding homes and businesses; and

WHEREAS, these events have inflicted widespread and considerable damage to the public infrastructure as well as to homes,
farms, and businesses; and

WHEREAS, as a result, there is a threat to public safety for citizens in the counties of Becker, Beltrami, Clay, Clearwater,
Hubbard, Kittson, Lake of the Woods, Mahnomen, Marshall, Norman, Pennington, Polk, Red Lake and Roseau; and

WHEREAS, the resources of local and county government have been exhausted in responding to the crisis; 
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NOW, THEREFORE, I hereby order that:

A State of Emergency exists in the State of Minnesota and do:

• Direct the Division of Emergency Management to continue the activation of the State Emergency Operations Plan, coordinate
damage assessment, and determine the need for supplementary disaster aid;

• Direct all state agencies to provide assistance that is necessary to help local units of government respond to and recover from
this emergency.

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes 1998, Section 4.035, subd. 2, this Order is effective immediately and shall remain in effect until
rescinded by proper authority or it expires in accordance with Minnesota Statutes 1998, Section 4.035, subd. 3.

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have set my hand this twenty-sixth day of June, 2000.

File According to Law:

Minnesota Gambling Control Board
REQUEST FOR COMMENTS on Planned Amendment to Rules Governing: Minnesota Rules

7861.0010 - Definitions and Minnesota Rules 7861.0030 - Gambling Manager
Subject: The Minnesota Gambling Control Board requests comments on its planned amendment to rules governing Minnesota

Rules 7861.0010 (Definitions) and Minnesota Rules 7861.0030 (Gambling Manager).  The Board is considering amendments that
establish qualifications for Gambling Managers.

Persons Affected: The amendment to the rules would likely affect licensed organizations that conduct lawful gambling, and
applicants for gambling manager licenses.

Statutory Authority: Minnesota Statutes 349.151, subdivision 4(a)(5) authorizes the Board to make rules authorized by Chapter
349.  Minnesota Statutes 349.12, subdivision 19(2) (2000) authorizes the Board to prescribe qualifications for gambling managers
by rule.

Public Comment: Interested persons or groups may submit comments or information on these planned rules in writing or orally
until further notice is published in the State Register that the Board intends to adopt rules.  The Board does contemplate appointing
a Public Advisory Committee to comment on the planned rules.  Persons who will likely be affected by the proposed rules and/or
who wish to participate in the Public Advisory Committee are urged to contact the Agency Contact Person.

Executive Orders
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Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes §§ 14.101, an agency must first solicit comments from the public on the subject matter of a possible rulemaking

proposal under active consideration within the agency by publishing a notice in the State Register at least 60 days before publication of a notice to
adopt or a notice of hearing, and within 60 days of the effective date of any new statutory grant of required rulemaking.  The State Register also
publishes other official notices of state agencies and non-state agencies, including notices of meetings and matters of public interest. 

JESSE VENTURE
Governor

MARY KIFFMEYER
Secretary of State
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Rule Drafts: The Board has not yet prepared a draft of the planned rule amendments.  A draft of the proposed rules will be avail-

able before publication of the proposed rules in the State Register. Contact the Agency Contact Person to request that your name be
placed on the mailing list to receive copies of rule drafts specific to this rulemaking project.

Agency Contact Person: Written or oral comments, questions, requests to receive a draft of the rules, requests to participate in
the Public Advisory Committee, or requests for more information on these planned rules should be directed to:

Sharon Beighley
Minnesota Gambling Control Board
1711 W County Rd B #300S
Roseville  MN  55113
Telephone:  651-639-4035
Fax:  651-639-4032
E-mail:  sharon.beighley@gcb.state.mn.us

Alternative format: Upon request, this Request for Comments can be made available in an alternative format, such as large
print, Braille, or cassette tape.  To make such a request, please contact the Agency Contact Person at the address or telephone
number listed above.

NOTE: Comments received in response to this notice will not necessarily be included in the formal rulemaking record submitted
to the administrative law judge when a proceeding to adopt rules is started.  The Board is required to submit to the judge only those
written comments received in response to the rules after they are proposed.

Dated: 19 June 2000

Minnesota Higher Education Facilities Authority
Notice of Public Hearing on Revenue Obligations on Behalf of St. Olaf College

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that a public hearing will be held by the Minnesota Higher Education Facilities Authority (the
“Authority”) with respect to a proposal to issue revenue bonds or other obligations on behalf of St. Olaf College, a Minnesota non-
profit corporation and institution of higher education (the “College”), at the Authority’s offices at Suite 450 Galtier Plaza, 175 East
Fifth Street, St. Paul, Minnesota on July 19, 2000 at 2:00 p.m. Under the proposal, the Authority would issue its revenue bonds or
other obligations in an original aggregate principal amount of up to approximately $16,500,000 to finance a project generally
described as (a) renovating and equipping the St. Olaf Center to house the departments of art and dance, (b) acquiring and installing
furniture in Hoyme Hall, Kildahl Hall, Larson Hall, Mohn Hall and Rand Hall, (c) replacing bleachers in Skoglund Athletic Center
and Manitou Field, (d) acquiring, renovating and equipping four houses for administrative or student housing use, (e) renovating
and equipping the College’s Administration Building, and (f) constructing certain utility improvements (collectively, the “Project”),
owned or to be owned and operated by the College and located at 1520 St. Olaf Avenue, Northfield, Minnesota, 55057.

At said time and place the Authority shall give all parties who appear or have submitted written comments an opportunity to
express their view with respect to the proposal to undertake and finance the Project.

Dated: 27 June 2000

By Order Of The Minnesota Higher
Education Facilities Authority
Marianne Remedios
Executive Director
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Department of Human Services
Health Care Administration
Medical Assistance Program

Request for Comments on County-Based Purchasing Federal Waiver Amendment Request
The Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS) is announcing a 30-day comment period on the waiver amendment request

submitted to the federal Health Care Financing Administration (HCFA) to implement county-based purchasing in Ramsey County.
County-based purchasing is being developed in response to legislation passed in 1997 to allow counties to contract for or provide
services to eligible Medical Assistance and General Assistance Medical Care recipients. A waiver request submitted in September
1999 describes county-based purchasing and the waivers from Federal law and regulation that will be needed to implement the
program, and was amended from the request submitted to HCFA in January 1999.

The Ramsey County Office for Integrated Care Management has developed the Ramsey County Integrated Care Model.   The
waiver amendment request details how the plan will operate, including how enrollees will be able to access health care services and
how the plan will contract with health care plans or providers.

Copies of the waiver amendment request are available to any interested parties.  Comments must be received by 4:00 p.m. on
Wednesday, August 2, 2000. 

To request a copy of the waiver amendment request, please contact Chris Wasieleski at (651) 296-3882.  Please direct comments
or questions about the waiver amendment request to:

Kathleen Vanderwall
Department of Human Services
444 Lafayette Road
St. Paul, Minnesota 55155-3852
Telephone:  (651) 282-3720
FAX: (651) 215-9453
E-mail: kathleen.vanderwall@state.mn.us

Minnesota Department of Public Safety
Minnesota Center for Crime Victim Services Division

REQUEST FOR COMMENTS on Planned Amendments to Rules Governing the Crime
Victims Reparations Board, Minnesota Rules, parts 3050.2800, 3050.3200, 3050.3400,
3050.3700, and 3050.3900

Subject of Rules. The Minnesota Department of Public Safety requests comments on its planned amendments to rules governing
the Crime Victims Reparations Board.  The department is considering the following rules amendments to clarify existing rules relat-
ing to claims procedures and eligibility for reparations:

• Minnesota Rule, part 3050.2800 Board Determination of Reasonableness. The amendment would add another subpart to
this rule stating that a claimant who seeks reimbursement for accessibility remodeling must use a consultant and contractor
approved by the Board. 

• Minnesota Rule, part 3050.3200 subpart 7.  Loss of Income; Parent and Spouse of the Deceased. The amendment would
expand reparations coverage for lost wages to include up to one week of lost income for adult children or siblings of homicide
victims.   Currently, the rule only allows payment of lost wages to parents, spouse and minor children. 

• Minnesota Rule, part 3050.3400 Secondary Victims. This rule sets limits on the number of counseling sessions for secondary
victims.  The amendment would allow the Board to make exceptions to the rule in extraordinary circumstances where the
limit imposes undue hardship on the victim.
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• Minnesota Rule, part 3050.3400 Secondary Victims and Minnesota Rule part 3050.3500 Parents of Injured Victims.
Currently, the rules allow reimbursement for  lost wages, transportation and lodging, up to $2000, to a parent  who provides
care to a victim.  The amendment would add the same coverage for the spouse or children of an injured victim. 

• Minnesota Rule, part 3050.3700 Cost Ceiling on Hospital and Physician Expenses. The amendment would allow the Board
to compensate the victim in full if he or she has already paid hospital or physician expenses.

• Minnesota Rule, part 3050.3900 Maximum Payment for Sexual Assault Evidentiary Exam. The amendment would allow
the Board to adjust the maximum payment on an annual basis.  Currently, the rule contains a cap of $500. 

Persons Affected. The amendments would likely affect victims of crime seeking reparations benefits and providers of services.
The department does not contemplate appointing an advisory committee to comment on the planned rule amendments.

Statutory Authority. Minnesota Statutes, section 611A.56, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), requires the Board to adopt rules to
implement and administer sections 611A.51 to 611A.68.

Public Comment. Interested persons or groups may submit comments or information on this planned rule in writing or orally
until 4:30 p.m. on July 31, 2000.  The department has not yet prepared a draft of the planned rule amendments and does not antici-
pate that a draft of the rules will be available before the publication of the proposed rules.  Written or oral comments, questions,
requests to receive a draft of the rules when it has been prepared, and requests for more information on these planned rules should
be directed to:  Marie Bibus at the Minnesota Center for Crime Victim Services, 245 E. 6th St., #705, St. Paul, MN  55101,  phone:
651-215-1557,  FAX: 651-296-5787,  E-mail:  Marie.Bibus@state.mn.us.  TTY users may call the department at 651-205-4827.

Alternative Format. Upon request, this Request for Comments can be made available in an alternative format, such as large
print, Braille, or cassette tape.  To make such a request, please contact the agency contact person at the address or telephone number
listed above.

NOTE: Comments received in response to this notice will not necessarily be included in the formal rulemaking record submitted
to the administrative law judge when a proceeding to adopt rules is started.  The agency is required to submit to the judge only those
written comments received in response to the rules after they are proposed.

Rich Anderson
Executive Director, Crime Victims Reparations Board 

Minnesota Department of Trade and Economic Development
Governor’s Working Group on Minority Business Development

Notice of Public Meeting
The Governor’s Working Group on Minority Business Development will hold a deliberative meeting on July 10, 2000, from 2:00

PM to 4:00 PM at the Department of Trade and Economic Development, Conference Room A, 500 Metro Square, 121 7th Place
East, St. Paul, MN.

All meetings, whether to receive information or conduct deliberations, are open to the public.  A verbatim transcript of the
meeting will be prepared and all information or materials received by or produced by the Working Group will be public data under
the Minnesota Government Data Practices Act (Minnesota Statutes Chapter 13).
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Department of Human Services
Notice of Request for Proposals – Alternative Payment for Nursing Facility Services

1995 Laws of Minnesota, Chapter 207, Article 7, Section 32 (hereinafter Minnesota Statutes Section 256B.434) authorized the
Commissioner of the Department of Human Services to establish a contractual alternative payment system as an alternative way to
pay for nursing facility services under the Medical Assistance (MA) Program.  In order to implement this legislation, the
Department established the “Nursing Home Contract Project.”  The purpose of the Project is to explore a contract-based reimburse-
ment system as an alternative to the current cost-based system for reimbursement of nursing facility services under Minnesota
Statutes, Section 256B.431.

The 1997 Laws of Minnesota amended Minnesota Statutes Section 256B.434.  Effective July 1, 1997, the Commissioner is
required to issue a request for proposals (RFPs) from nursing homes to provide services on a contract basis at least twice annually.
The Commissioner may select the number of proposals that can be adequately supported with state resources and may contract with
all facilities submitting a proposal provided that the proposal meets eligibility requirements outlined in the RFP.  The nursing facil-
ity may be required to negotiate with the State any modifications to the proposal as required by the State to make the terms of the
proposal more favorable to the State.

The purpose of this RFP is to solicit proposals from eligible nursing facilities to enter into contracts with the Department to
provide nursing facility services to MA recipients.  Facilities selected to participate in this project will be eligible to contract with
the Department for one-year terms.

Requests for copies of the complete RFP, “Alternative Payment for Nursing Facility Services,” should be directed to Gary M.
Johnson at 651-296-2661.  The original and two (2) copies of the proposal in response to the RFP must be submitted to the Nursing
Home Contract Project, Department of Human Services, 444 Lafayette Road, St. Paul, Minnesota  55155-3836, no later than 4:00
p.m. on Monday, August 14, 2000.

The State of Minnesota reserves the right to reject any and all proposals submitted.

State Grants & Loans
In addition to requests by state agencies for technical/professional services (published in the State Contracts section), the State Register also

publishes notices about grants and loans available through any agency or branch of state government. Although some grant and loan programs
specifically require printing in a statewide publication such as the State Register, there is no requirement for publication in the State Register
itself.  Agencies are encouraged to publish grant and loan notices, and to provide financial estimates as well as sufficient time for interested
parties to respond.
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Department of Administration
State Designer Selection Board

To Minnesota Registered Design Professionals: Request for Proposals for the Department of
Veterans Affairs (Project 00-16) For the Further Development of the Minnesota State
Veterans Cemetery 

The State Designer Selection Board has been requested to select consultants for a project.  Design firms who wish to be consid-
ered for this project must deliver proposals on or before 12 p.m. (Noon), Monday, July 17, 2000, to:

Lisa Blue, Executive Secretary
State Designer Selection Board
Department of Administration
c/o Materials Management Division
50 Sherburne Avenue, Room 112
St. Paul, Minnesota 55155-3000
651-297-5526

PROPOSALS RECEIVED AFTER THE SUBMISSION DEADLINE WILL NOT BE CONSIDERED.
Questions concerning the Board’s procedures herein described, or the schedule in Item 8.h, should be referred to the Executive

Secretary at 651-297-5526.  Questions relating to the project must be referred to the project contact(s) in Item 8.i. 

NOTE TO RESPONDERS: Proposals That Do Not Conform to the Following Content, Order and Format
Requirements as Outlined in Items 1 Through 5 Below May Be Disqualified.
1. The front cover of the proposal should be clearly labeled with the project number and project title as shown at the top

of this request for proposal, together with the designer’s firm name, address, telephone number, fax number and the name
of the contact person.  The back cover should remain blank.

2. All data should be on 8-1/2” x 11” sheets, soft bound.  No more than 20 printed faces should be included (see the follow-
ing for clarification):

a. All letters directed to the Board should be bound into the proposal and all pages will be counted as printed face(s).  It
is not necessary to do a cover letter to the Executive Secretary.

b. Blank dividers (with printed tab headings only) will not be counted as faces.

c. Front and back covers of proposals will not be counted as faces.  

d. None of the statutory or mandatory information, except as requested in Item 3 below, should appear on the dividers or
covers.

e. All pages should be numbered.

Proposals that deviate from the above may be disqualified.

3. BRIEF PROPOSAL SUMMARY:

All proposals shall begin with a summary which includes only the following items:

a. Name of firm and its legal status;

b. Names of persons in leadership roles for project management, design and production of architecture; design of civil,
structural, mechanical and electrical engineering, landscape architecture, land surveying, fire protection and geo-
science for each and every discipline called for in Section 8.b.  The name of each person so mentioned must also
include their Minnesota registration number.  Fire protection engineering requires a licensed fire protection engineer,

Professional, Technical & Consulting Contracts
Department of Administration procedures require that notice of any consultant services contract or professional and technical services contract

which has an estimated cost of over $25,000 be printed in the State Register. These procedures also require that the following information be
included in the notice: agency name and address, name of agency contact person, description of project and tasks, cost estimate and final submis-
sion date and time of completed proposal. Certain quasi-state agencies and MnSCU institutions are exempted from these provisions. In accor-
dance with Minnesota Rules 1230.1910, certified Targeted Group Businesses and individuals submitting proposals as prime contractors shall
receive the equivalent of a 6% preference in the evaluation of their proposal. Certified Economically Disadvantaged Businesses and individuals
shall receive the equivalent of a 4% preference in the evaluation of their proposal. For information regarding certification, call the Materials
Management Helpline (651) 296-2600 or [TTY (651) 282-5799.]
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identified by their number OR the engineering registration number accompanied in Section 4.b by a listing of past
projects demonstrating competency in this field.

Consultants and assistants to the persons in leadership roles, as identified above, need not provide a Minnesota regis-
tration number.  These individuals should be listed separately from those above.

c. A statement indicating that the consultants listed have been contacted and have agreed to be a part of the design team;

d. A commitment to enter into the work promptly, if selected, by engaging the consultants and assigning the persons
named in Item 3.b above, along with adequate staff to meet the requirements of work;

e. At least one copy of the proposal must contain an original signature by an authorized member of the firm submitting
the proposal, in ink, on the bottom of the first page of the proposal.  

f. A list of all State and University of Minnesota current and past projects and studies awarded to the prime firm(s)
responding to this request for proposal during the four years immediately preceding the date of this request for pro-
posal.

Projects and studies shall mean those projects and studies (1) funded by the state legislature, by state/user agencies or
University of Minnesota operating funds, or by funding raised from the private sector or individuals by state/user
agencies or the University of Minnesota; (2) awarded as a result of the State Designer Selection Board process or
awarded directly by state/user agencies or the University of Minnesota without employing the State Designer
Selection Board process; or (3) related to design-bid-build or design/build project delivery systems.

The prime firm(s) shall list and total all gross fees associated with the above projects and studies, whether the fees
have been received or are anticipated.  In addition, the prime firm(s) shall indicate the amount of fees listed which
were paid, or are anticipated to be paid, to engineering or other specialty consultants employed, or anticipated to be
employed, on the projects and studies listed pursuant to the above.  The prime firm(s) shall subtract consultant fees
from gross fees to determine total net fees using the format below.

(The total shown in column (A) shall equal the sum of those shown in columns (B) and (C).

4. ADDITIONAL MANDATORY PROPOSAL CONTENTS:

a. A section containing graphic material (e.g., photos, plans, drawings, etc.) as evidence of the firm’s qualifications for
the work.  The graphic material shall be identified.  It shall be work in which the personnel listed in Item 3.b above
have had significant participation and their roles shall be clearly described.  It shall be noted if the personnel were, at
the time of the work, employed by other than their present firms.

b. Expanded resumes showing qualification of individuals, listed in Item 3.b above, administering or producing the
major elements of the work, including consultants.  Identify roles which such persons played in projects which are
relevant to the project at hand.

c. A discussion of the firm’s understanding of and approach to the project.

d. A listing of relevant past projects.

5. Eleven (11) copies of the proposal should be submitted.

6. Design firms wishing to have their proposals returned after the Board’s review shall follow one of the following proce-
dures:

a. Enclose a self-addressed, stamped postal card with the proposals.  Design firms will be notified when material is
ready to be picked up.  Design firms will have two weeks to pick up their proposals, after which time the proposals
will be discarded; or

b. Enclose a self-addressed, stamped mailing envelope with the proposals.  When the Board has completed its selection,
proposals will be returned using this envelope.

PROJECT (A) GROSS FEES (B) SUBDESIGNERS (C) NET TOTAL
PORTION PROJECT FEE

TOTAL



PAGE 40 (CITE 25 SR 40)State Register, Monday 3 July 2000

Professional, Technical & Consulting Contracts

7. BOARD SELECTION CRITERIA:

In making its selection of designers the Board shall consider the criteria listed below:

Credit for the following criteria will equal not less than sixty percent.

a. Qualifications and technical competence in the required field of design;

b. Ability to deal with aesthetic factors;

c. Project understanding and approach.

Credit for the following criteria will equal up to forty percent.

d. Capacity to accomplish the work and services within the required constraints;

e. Availability of appropriate personnel;

f. Geographic relationship of the designer’s base to the project site; and

g. Awards previously made to a designer by the state.  This is in the interest of equitable distribution of commissions.

The criteria do not necessarily have the same weight, nor are their relative weights necessarily constant from one
project to another.  The Board may issue statements regarding criteria as they relate to individual projects.

Evaluations of the proposals shall be made independently by the Board members.

8. PROJECT 00-16

Department of Veterans Affairs
15550 Highway 115
Little Falls, MN  56345

a. PROJECT DESCRIPTION:

This project is for the further development of the MN State Veterans Cemetery near Little Falls, MN.  This 36-acre
cemetery was opened in 1994 and has remained largely undeveloped since that time.  This is an active cemetery with
over 800 occupied gravesites.  The project consists of a new roadway system, grading of future burial sites, a storm
water management system, an underground irrigation system, and landscaping.  The project also includes construc-
tion of a new entrance gate and drives, columbarium gardens, a ceremonial assembly area, a memorial walkway, and
a facility complex.  The new facility complex will include a chapel, administration building, and public restrooms.
The project should provide improvements that are long lived.  The project will be funded through a grant from the
U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.

Designs shall comply with the following:

• The master concept plan that has been approved by the State Cemetery Grant Service, a department of the U.S.
Department of Veterans Affairs.

• State Cemetery Grant Service Program Guide (PG 40-1).

• Minnesota State Building Code.

The master concept plan for the cemetery will be made available to the shortlisted firms and may be obtained by
calling David P. Swantek at the Minnesota State Veterans Cemetery at 320-616-2527.

b. REQUIRED CONSULTANT SERVICES:

The scope of the project includes full design services for the project leading with landscape architecture and including
cost estimating, civil engineering, mechanical engineering, electrical engineering, building architecture, bidding and
construction administration services.

c. SERVICES PROVIDED BY OTHERS:

None

d. SPECIAL CONSIDERATIONS:

Experience in cemetery design/planning desired.

e. PROJECT BUDGET/FEES:

The current construction budget is estimated to be approximately $2,156,000.  The project costs, including fees and
permits, have been fixed at $2,780,000.  Design fees available for this project are approximately $220,000 reim-
bursable expenses included.
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f. PROJECT SCHEDULE:

The design process shall begin in August 2000 with construction to begin in June 2001 and project completion by
June 2002.

g. PROJECT INFORMATIONAL MEETING(S)/SITE VISIT(S):

An informational meeting will be held Wednesday, July 12, 2000, at 9:30 a.m. at the Minnesota State Veterans
Cemetery, 15550 Hwy 115, Little Falls, MN.  Additional information will be made available to the firms chosen for
the shortlist.

h. STATE DESIGNER SELECTION BOARD SCHEDULE:

Project Information Meeting and/or Site Visit: July 12, 2000

Project Proposals Due: July 17, 2000, by 12 p.m. (Noon)

Project Shortlist: August 1, 2000

Project Interviews and Award: August 8, 2000

i. PROJECT CONTACT(S):

Questions concerning the project should be referred to:

David P. Swantek, Cemetery Director
MN State Veterans Cemetery
15550 Hwy 115
Little Falls, MN 56345
Phone: 320-616-2527

Doug Kelley, Project Manager
State Division of Building Construction
Department of Administration
G-10 Administration
50 Sherburne Avenue
St. Paul, MN 55155
Phone: 651-297-3455
FAX: 651-296-7650

9. CONTRACT REQUIREMENTS:

a. The amended Minnesota Human Rights Act (Minnesota Statute 363.073) divides the contract compliance program
into two categories.  Both categories apply to any contracts for goods or services in excess of $100,000.  The first cat-
egory applies to businesses who have more than 40 full-time employees within Minnesota on a single working day
during the previous 12 months.  The businesses in this category must have submitted an affirmative action plan to the
Commissioner of the Department of Human Rights prior to the date and time set for the solicitation opening and must
have received a Certificate of Compliance prior to the execution of the contract or agreement.  The second category
applies to businesses who have more than 40 full-time employees on a single working day in the previous 12 months
in the State in which they have their primary place of business.  The business in this category must either have an
unexpired Certificate of Compliance previously issued by the Department of Human Rights, or certify to the con-
tracting State agency that they are in compliance with federal affirmative action requirements before execution of the
contract.  This Certificate is valid for two (2) years.  For further information, contact the Department of Human
Rights, 190 East Fifth Street, Suite 700, St. Paul, MN 55101, 651-296-5663 or 800-657-3704.

The Department of Administration is under no obligation to delay award or execution of this contract until a vendor
has completed the human rights certification process.  It is solely the responsibility of the vendor to apply for, and
obtain, a human rights certificate prior to contract award. 

b. Costs incurred in responding to this RFP shall be borne by the responder.  In accordance with existing statutes, the
Board shall retain one copy of each proposal submitted.  Responses to this RFP become public information under the
Freedom of Information Act after the final selection has been made.

c. Laws of Minnesota 1997, require the successful responder to submit acceptable evidence of compliance with
workers’ compensation insurance coverage requirements prior to execution of the contract.

d. Laws of Minnesota 1997, Chapter 202, Article 1, Section 12, Subdivision 2, require that during the biennium ending
June 30, 1999, for an executive agency contract that is subject to Minnesota Statutes, Section 363.073 (over $100,000
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and subject to Human Rights Certification requirements), before the agency enters into the contract, should to the
extent practical and to the extent consistent with the business needs of the State, ensure that the company to receive
the contract attempts to recruit Minnesota welfare recipients to fill vacancies in entry level positions if the company
has entry level employees in Minnesota.

e. This RFP does not obligate the State to complete the project, and the State reserves the right to cancel the solicitation
if it is considered to be in its best interest.

Certification Regarding Debarment, Suspension, Ineligibility and Voluntary Exclusion
Lower Tier Covered Transactions 

Instructions for Certification

1. By signing and submitting this proposal, the prospective lower tier participant is providing the certification set out below.

2. The certification in this clause is a material representation of fact upon which reliance was placed when this transaction
was entered into.  If it is later determined that the prospective lower tier participant knowingly rendered an erroneous cer-
tification, in addition to other remedies available to the Federal Government, the department or agency with which this
transaction originated may pursue available remedies, including suspension and/or debarment.

3. The prospective lower tier participant shall provide immediate written notice to the person to which this proposal is sub-
mitted if at any time the prospective lower tier participant learns that its certification was erroneous when submitted or had
become erroneous by reason of changed circumstances.

4. The terms covered transaction, debarred, suspended, ineligible, lower tier covered transaction, participant, person,
primary covered transaction, principal, proposal, and voluntarily excluded, as used in this clause, have the meaning set
out in the Definitions and Coverages sections of rules implementing Executive Order 12549.  You may contact the person
to which this proposal is submitted for assistance in obtaining a copy of those regulations.

5. The prospective lower tier participant agrees by submitting this response that, should the proposed covered transaction be
entered into, it shall not knowingly enter into any lower tier covered transaction with a person who is proposed for debar-
ment under 48 CFR part 9, subpart 9.4, debarred, suspended, declared ineligible, or voluntarily excluded from participa-
tion in this covered transaction, unless authorized by the department or agency with which this transaction originated.

6. The prospective lower tier participant further agrees by submitting this proposal that it will include this clause titled
“Certification Regarding Debarment, Suspension, Ineligibility and Voluntary Exclusion – Lower Tier Covered
Transaction,” without modification, in all lower tier covered transactions and in all solicitations for lower tier covered
transactions.

7. A participant in a covered transaction may rely upon a certification of a prospective participant in a lower tier covered
transaction that it is not proposed for debarment under 48 CFR part 9, subpart 9.4, debarred, suspended, ineligible, or vol-
untarily excluded from covered transactions, unless it knows that the certification is erroneous.  A participant may decide
the method and frequency by which it determines the eligibility of its principals.  Each participant may, but is not required
to, check the List of Parties Excluded from Federal Procurement and Nonprocurement Programs

8. Nothing contained in the foregoing shall be construed to require establishment of a system of records in order to render in
good faith the certification required by this clause.  The knowledge and information of a participant is not required to
exceed that which is normally possessed by a prudent person in the ordinary course of business dealings.

9. Except for transactions authorized under paragraph 5 of these instructions, if a participant in a covered transaction know-
ingly enters into a lower tier covered transaction with a person who is proposed for debarment under 48 CFR part 9,
subpart 9.4, suspended, debarred, ineligible, or voluntarily excluded from participation in this transaction, in addition to
other remedies available to the Federal Government, the department or agency with which this transaction originated may
pursue available remedies, including suspension and/or debarment.

Certification Regarding Debarment, Suspension, Ineligibility and Voluntary Exclusion 
Lower Tier Covered Transactions

(1) The prospective lower tier participant certifies, by submission of this proposal, that neither it nor its principals is
presently debarred, suspended, proposed for debarment, declared ineligible, or voluntarily excluded from participation in
this transaction by any Federal department or agency.

(2) Where the prospective lower tier participant is unable to certify to any of the statements in this certification, such
prospective participant shall attach an explanation to this proposal.
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Department of Administration
State Designer Selection Board

To Minnesota Registered Design Professionals: Request for Proposals for MnSCU/Bemidji
State University (Project 00-17) for the Design of the American Indian Resource Center

The State Designer Selection Board has been requested to select consultants for a project.  Design firms who wish to be consid-
ered for this project must deliver proposals on or before 12 p.m. (Noon), Monday, July 17, 2000, to:

Lisa Blue, Executive Secretary
State Designer Selection Board
Department of Administration
c/o Materials Management Division
50 Sherburne Avenue, Room 112
St. Paul, Minnesota 55155-3000
651-297-5526

PROPOSALS RECEIVED AFTER THE SUBMISSION DEADLINE WILL NOT BE CONSIDERED.
Questions concerning the Board’s procedures herein described, or the schedule in Item 8.h, should be referred to the Executive

Secretary at 651-297-5526.  Questions relating to the project must be referred to the project contact(s) in Item 8.i. 

NOTE TO RESPONDERS: Proposals That Do Not Conform to the Following Content, Order and Format
Requirements as Outlined in Items 1 Through 5 Below May be Disqualified.
1. The front cover of the proposal should be clearly labeled with the project number and project title as shown at the top

of this request for proposal, together with the designer’s firm name, address, telephone number, fax number and the name
of the contact person.  The back cover should remain blank.

2. All data should be on 8-1/2” x 11” sheets, soft bound.  No more than 20 printed faces should be included (see the follow-
ing for clarification):

a. All letters directed to the Board should be bound into the proposal and all pages will be counted as printed face(s).  It
is not necessary to do a cover letter to the Executive Secretary.

b. Blank dividers (with printed tab headings only) will not be counted as faces.

c. Front and back covers of proposals will not be counted as faces.  

d. None of the statutory or mandatory information, except as requested in Item 3 below, should appear on the dividers or
covers.

e. All pages should be numbered.

Proposals that deviate from the above may be disqualified.

3. BRIEF PROPOSAL SUMMARY:

All proposals shall begin with a summary which includes only the following items:

a. Name of firm and its legal status;

b. Names of persons in leadership roles for project management, design and production of architecture; design of civil,
structural, mechanical and electrical engineering, landscape architecture, land surveying, fire protection and geo-
science for each and every discipline called for in Section 8.b.  The name of each person so mentioned must also
include their Minnesota registration number.  Fire protection engineering requires a licensed fire protection engineer,
identified by their number OR the engineering registration number accompanied in Section 4.b by a listing of past
projects demonstrating competency in this field.

Consultants and assistants to the persons in leadership roles, as identified above, need not provide a Minnesota regis-
tration number.  These individuals should be listed separately from those above.

c. A statement indicating that the consultants listed have been contacted and have agreed to be a part of the design team;

d. A commitment to enter into the work promptly, if selected, by engaging the consultants and assigning the persons
named in Item 3.b above, along with adequate staff to meet the requirements of work;

e. At least one copy of the proposal must contain an original signature by an authorized member of the firm submitting
the proposal, in ink, on the bottom of the first page of the proposal.
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f. A list of all State and University of Minnesota current and past projects and studies awarded to the prime firm(s)
responding to this request for proposal during the four years immediately preceding the date of this request for pro-
posal.

Projects and studies shall mean those projects and studies (1) funded by the state legislature, by state/user agencies or
University of Minnesota operating funds, or by funding raised from the private sector or individuals by state/user
agencies or the University of Minnesota; (2) awarded as a result of the State Designer Selection Board process or
awarded directly by state/user agencies or the University of Minnesota without employing the State Designer
Selection Board process; or (3) related to design-bid-build or design/build project delivery systems.

The prime firm(s) shall list and total all gross fees associated with the above projects and studies, whether the fees
have been received or are anticipated.  In addition, the prime firm(s) shall indicate the amount of fees listed which
were paid, or are anticipated to be paid, to engineering or other specialty consultants employed, or anticipated to be
employed, on the projects and studies listed pursuant to the above.  The prime firm(s) shall subtract consultant fees
from gross fees to determine total net fees using the format below.

(The total shown in column (A) shall equal the sum of those shown in columns (B) and (C).

4. ADDITIONAL MANDATORY PROPOSAL CONTENTS:

a. A section containing graphic material (e.g., photos, plans, drawings, etc.) as evidence of the firm’s qualifications for
the work.  The graphic material shall be identified.  It shall be work in which the personnel listed in Item 3.b above
have had significant participation and their roles shall be clearly described.  It shall be noted if the personnel were, at
the time of the work, employed by other than their present firms.

b. Expanded resumes showing qualification of individuals, listed in Item 3.b above, administering or producing the
major elements of the work, including consultants.  Identify roles which such persons played in projects which are
relevant to the project at hand.

c. A discussion of the firm’s understanding of and approach to the project.

d. A listing of relevant past projects.

5. Fourteen (14) copies of the proposal should be submitted.

6. Design firms wishing to have their proposals returned after the Board’s review shall follow one of the following proce-
dures:

a. Enclose a self-addressed, stamped postal card with the proposals.  Design firms will be notified when material is
ready to be picked up.  Design firms will have two weeks to pick up their proposals, after which time the proposals
will be discarded; or

b. Enclose a self-addressed, stamped mailing envelope with the proposals.  When the Board has completed its selection,
proposals will be returned using this envelope.

7. BOARD SELECTION CRITERIA:

In making its selection of designers the Board shall consider the criteria listed below:

Credit for the following criteria will equal not less than sixty percent.

a. Qualifications and technical competence in the required field of design;

b. Ability to deal with aesthetic factors;

c. Project understanding and approach.

Credit for the following criteria will equal up to forty percent.

d. Capacity to accomplish the work and services within the required constraints;

e. Availability of appropriate personnel;

PROJECT (A) GROSS FEES (B) SUBDESIGNERS (C) NET TOTAL
PORTION PROJECT FEE

TOTAL
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f. Geographic relationship of the designer’s base to the project site; and

g. Awards previously made to a designer by the state.  This is in the interest of equitable distribution of commissions.

The criteria do not necessarily have the same weight, nor are their relative weights necessarily constant from one
project to another.  The Board may issue statements regarding criteria as they relate to individual projects.

Evaluations of the proposals shall be made independently by the Board members.

8. PROJECT 00-17

MnSCU/Bemidji State University
1500 Birchmont Drive
Bemidji, Minnesota 56601

a. PROJECT DESCRIPTION:

Minnesota State Colleges and Universities (MnSCU) and Bemidji State University intend to retain architectural and
engineering consulting services for the design of the American Indian Resource Center on the Bemidji State
University campus.

The building will be an octagon shaped building with two or three stories with brick exterior with approximately
12,000 gross square feet.  The building will include adaptable classrooms, a telecommunications seminar room,
research library, kitchen and dining areas, computer center, study area, lounge, exhibit and display area, and offices.
It will incorporate gathering areas for students, elders, faculty and support personnel into the structure.

b. REQUIRED CONSULTANT SERVICES:

The selected design team shall provide a comprehensive scope of services including Predesign, Schematic Design, Design
Development, and Construction Documents. All drawings and specifications must conform to MnSCU design standards.

The design team will provide all architectural services, including interior design, cost estimating, and project schedul-
ing, and all engineering services including civil, structural, mechanical, fire protection, electrical, electronic commu-
nication and audio/visual design.

Note: a roof design consultant designated by MnSCU will be assigned to and become an integral part of the consul-
tant’s design team. The consultant’s fee shall include the fee and reimbursables of the roof design consultant.

c. SERVICES PROVIDED BY OTHERS:

None

d. SPECIAL CONSIDERATIONS:

For decades, the Bemidji State University campus community, American Indian alumni, and tribal leaders have dis-
cussed the need to create a center to house the American Indian studies and student programs, in a culturally respon-
sive environment.  The selected design team must be sensitive and knowledgeable.

e. PROJECT BUDGET/FEES:

Estimated project cost is $2,000,000.  This cost includes reimbursables, professional fees, construction, furniture, fix-
tures, equipment, contingencies and inflation factors.  The State has appropriated funds from the 2000 legislative
session to fund this project.

f. PROJECT SCHEDULE:

Design complete: April 2001

g. PROJECT INFORMATIONAL MEETING(S)/SITE VISIT(S):

An informational meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, July 11 at 1:00 p.m. at Bemidji State University.  All firms inter-
ested in attending this meeting should contact Jean Lanners at 218-755-2012 or email at:
jmlanners@vax1.bemidji.msus.edu, mail address Bemidji State University, Deputy Hall 349, Bemidji, Minnesota
56601.

h. STATE DESIGNER SELECTION BOARD SCHEDULE:

Project Information Meeting and/or Site Visit: Tuesday, July 11, 2000

Project Proposals Due: July 17, 2000, by 12 p.m. (Noon)

Project Shortlist: August 1, 2000

Project Interviews and Award: August 8, 2000
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i. PROJECT CONTACT(S):

Questions concerning the project should be referred to:

Thomas A. Faecke
Vice President for Administrative Affairs
Bemidji State University
Phone:  218-755-2012
E-mail: tafaecke@vax1.bemidji.msus.edu

Jeff Sande
Director of Physical Plant
Bemidji State University
Phone:  218-755-3988
E-mail: jasande@vax1.bemidji.msus.edu

9. CONTRACT REQUIREMENTS:

a. The amended Minnesota Human Rights Act (Minnesota Statute 363.073) divides the contract compliance program
into two categories.  Both categories apply to any contracts for goods or services in excess of $100,000.  The first cat-
egory applies to businesses who have more than 40 full-time employees within Minnesota on a single working day
during the previous 12 months.  The businesses in this category must have submitted an affirmative action plan to the
Commissioner of the Department of Human Rights prior to the date and time set for the solicitation opening and must
have received a Certificate of Compliance prior to the execution of the contract or agreement.  The second category
applies to businesses who have more than 40 full-time employees on a single working day in the previous 12 months
in the State in which they have their primary place of business.  The business in this category must either have an
unexpired Certificate of Compliance previously issued by the Department of Human Rights, or certify to the con-
tracting State agency that they are in compliance with federal affirmative action requirements before execution of the
contract.  This Certificate is valid for two (2) years.  For further information, contact the Department of Human
Rights, 190 East Fifth Street, Suite 700, St. Paul, MN 55101, 651-296-5663 or 800-657-3704.

The Department of Administration is under no obligation to delay award or execution of this contract until a vendor
has completed the human rights certification process.  It is solely the responsibility of the vendor to apply for, and
obtain, a human rights certificate prior to contract award. 

b. Costs incurred in responding to this RFP shall be borne by the responder.  In accordance with existing statutes, the
Board shall retain one copy of each proposal submitted.  Responses to this RFP become public information under the
Freedom of Information Act after the final selection has been made.

c. Laws of Minnesota 1997, require the successful responder to submit acceptable evidence of compliance with
workers’ compensation insurance coverage requirements prior to execution of the contract.

d. Laws of Minnesota 1997, Chapter 202, Article 1, Section 12, Subdivision 2, require that during the biennium ending
June 30, 1999, for an executive agency contract that is subject to Minnesota Statutes, Section 363.073 (over $100,000
and subject to Human Rights Certification requirements), before the agency enters into the contract, should to the
extent practical and to the extent consistent with the business needs of the State, ensure that the company to receive
the contract attempts to recruit Minnesota welfare recipients to fill vacancies in entry level positions if the company
has entry level employees in Minnesota.

e. This RFP does not obligate the State to complete the project, and the State reserves the right to cancel the solicitation
if it is considered to be in its best interest.
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Minnesota Department of Agriculture
Laboratory Services Division

Notice of Request for Proposals for Laboratory Information Management Systems 
Description: The Minnesota Department of Agriculture (MDA) is seeking proposals and cost estimates from Laboratory

Information Management Systems (L.I.M.S.) vendors for the implementation and installation of a L.I.M.S. to manage the day-to-
day activities of the Laboratory Services Division. The lab performs tests for agronomic, food, environmental, microbiological,
seed and plant pathology samples. The LIMS application will allow for increased automation of current processes and improve data
entry, storage and management. The system must track information, assist in management of daily activities, billing information
and produce administrative and analysis-based reports related to samples and processes overseen by laboratory and related person-
nel. The selected vendor will provide software, training, implementation support services and post-implementation support services.

Eligible Applicants: Desired applicants are vendors of Laboratory Information Management Systems. Experience with a wide
range of laboratory disciplines in a governmental organization is desirable. The objective for the proposals is to evaluate product
functionality for the Laboratory Services Division. There is no contractual obligation on the part of the Laboratory Services
Division to any of the responding parties. 

For a copy of the Request for Proposal and system requirements, contact:

Neil Palosaari, Minnesota Department of Agriculture, Laboratory Services Division, 
90 West Plato Boulevard, Saint Paul, MN 55107
FAX: (651) 297-8787
E-mail: Neil.Palosaari@state.mn.us

This is the only person designated to answer questions regarding this request for proposal. Instructions for responding to the RFP
are included in the document. 

Final date for submitting proposals is 2:00 PM (CDT), on August 9, 2000. Proposals received after that time will not be consid-
ered. The term of the contract is one (1) year. The Minnesota Department of Agriculture will retain an option to extend the contract
for one (1) additional year. No actual work or payment is guaranteed pursuant to the contract. 

This Request for Proposal does not obligate the State to complete the proposed project and the State reserves the right to cancel
the solicitation if it is considered to be in the State’s best interest. All expenses incurred in responding to this notice will be borne by
the responder.

Minnesota State Colleges and Universities (MnSCU)
System Office

Request for Information (RFI) for Joint Venture Partnership(s)
The Minnesota State Colleges and Universities (MnSCU) is seeking letters of interest from potential business partners interested

in joint ventures aimed at enhancing the eLearning capacity of MnSCU colleges and universities.  

In particular, MnSCU is seeking innovative responses from organizations interested in combining assets strategically to take
advantage of the dynamic environment of eLearning.  In this context eLearning includes all areas of learning which are assisted by
technology, including Internet, intranet, CD-ROM, interactive television and satellite transmission - often allowing for learning to
take place anywhere and anytime.  MnSCU’s intention is to leverage its assets and in the process increase its agility in responding to
new opportunities in this fast-paced field by entering into key partnerships with like-minded organizations.

Further information is available at: http://Clearinghouse.mnscu.edu/RFI.html

Letters of interest should be sent to: Michael Murphy, Associate Vice Chancellor - Strategic Partnerships, Minnesota State
Colleges & Universities (MnSCU), 500 World Trade Center, 30 E. 7th Street, St. Paul, Minnesota 55101.

This is not a bid process.  This request for information does not obligate MnSCU to complete the work contemplated in this
notice, and MnSCU reserves the right to cancel this solicitation of interest if it is considered to be in its best interest to do so.  All
expenses incurred in responding to this notice shall be borne by the responder.



PAGE 48 (CITE 25 SR 48)State Register, Monday 3 July 2000

Professional, Technical & Consulting Contracts

Department of Health
Division of Family Health
Minnesota Children with Special Health Needs

Consultant Contracts Available for Medical and Related Services for Children with Special
Health Care Needs

Openings exist at clinics for:

1. Board certified or approved physicians to provide medical examinations;

2. Board certified dentists and dental specialists to provide dental examinations;

3. Registered/certified public health or pediatric nurses to provide nursing services and/or clinic facilitation;

4. Licensed psychologists to provide psychological assessments;

5. Licensed social workers to provide social work consultation and/or clinic facilitation;

6. Certified audiologists to provide audiological examinations;

7. Registered occupational therapists to provide occupational therapy assessments;

8. Certified speech pathologists to provide speech assessments;

9. Registered physical therapists to provide physical therapy assessments;

10. Registered dietitians to provide nutritional counseling;

11. Licensed educational consultants to provide educational assessments;

12. Technicians to provide examinations/assessments.

To obtain detailed specifications for this proposal, qualified, interested persons should contact Mary Wanninger, Minnesota
Children with Special Health Needs (MCSHN), 85 East Seventh Place, Suite 400, P.O. Box 64882, St. Paul, MN 55164-0882.
Phone 1-800-728-5420  or E-mail:  mcshn@kids.health.state.mn.us. Proposals must be sent to: Minnesota Department of Health

Minnesota Children with Special Health Needs (MCSHN)
Attn: Mary Wanninger
85 East Seventh Place, Suite 400
P.O. Box  64882
St. Paul, MN 55164-0882

All proposals must be signed in ink and received no later than 4:00 p.m. August 12, 2000. Late proposals will not be considered. 

A total of up to $268,000.00 for the FY year of 2001 has been budgeted to fund these positions.  Funding for individual positions
varies by category and position.

Dated: 12  June 2000

Minnesota Historical Society
Request for Bids for Design, Layout, Typeset Three Issues of Minnesota History Magazine

The Minnesota Historical Society seeks an independent contractor to design, lay out, and typeset three issues of its quarterly
journal, Minnesota History.  Responsibilities include: typesetting from electronic text in Microsoft Word or Rich Text File format;
design and layout on Macintosh computer of 3 to 4 illustrated articles plus book reviews and notes sections per issue; design and
layout of four-color covers.  Issues are typically 48 pages but may vary from 44 to 52 or more pages.

Requires demonstrated experience with desktop publishing: design, typesetting, and digital imaging skills. Must be able to
provide printer with all text in PostScript or application files and art on Syquest disk with marked-up laser proofs.  Demonstrated
familiarity with humanities journal style and with typesetting requirements for scholarly publication required; ability to work with
historic photographs and documents a must; experience with one, two, and four-color design also necessary.
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The Request for Bid is available by calling or writing Chris M. Bonnell, Contracting Officer, Minnesota Historical Society, 345
Kellogg Boulevard West, Saint Paul, MN  55102.  Telephone number (612) 297-5863 (chris.bonnell@mnhs.org).

All bids must be received by Chris M. Bonnell, Contracting Officer for the Minnesota Historical Society, 345 Kellogg Boulevard
West, Saint Paul, MN  55102 or an authorized agent no later than 2:00 pm Central Time, Monday, July 31, 2000.  A bid opening
will be conducted at that time.  Bids must be submitted in a sealed envelope with the project name clearly written on the envelope.
Late bids will not be considered.

Authorized agents for receipt of bids are the following:  Chris M. Bonnell, Contracting Officer, Mary Green Toussaint,
Contracting/Procurement Technician or any Work Service Center staff member in the Finance and Administration Division on the
4th floor of the History Center.  Bids may not be delivered to the information desk, to the guard or to any location or individual
other than as specified above.

Complete specifications and details concerning submission requirements are included in the Request for Bids.

Department of Human Services
Notice of Availability of Request for Proposal to Provide Consultation in Complex Adaptive

Systems to the Human Services Technology Group (HSTG)

SCOPE OF PROJECT

The Department of Human Services (DHS) is seeking professional and technical services to assist the Human Services
Technology Group (HSTG) to achieve its strategic goals. This work involves helping to plan, develop and implement short and long
term initiatives, and will include determining effective management approaches and offering recommendations, facilitating plan-
ning processes, organizing work of HSTG, and providing consultation within the framework of Complex Adaptive Systems (CAS).  

For Fiscal Year 2001 and 2002, the consultant will provide approximately 250 - 300 hours in the application of Complex
Adaptive Systems theory to the activities of HSTG, which include: providing advice, consultation, preparation, and facilitation for
each HSTG monthly meeting; developing written documentation; and providing Complex Adaptive Systems training. 

A complete copy of the RFP may be obtained by contacting:

Maureen Fuller 
Administrative Assistant, ITS
Department of Human Sevrices
444 Lafayette Road North
St. Paul, Minnesota 55155-3847
651-296-1691

Questions regarding this RFP may be addressed in writing only to 

Linda Randolph
Director of Policy and Special Projects
Department of Human Services
444 Lafayette Road North
St. Paul, MN 55155-3847
FAX: 651-297-4698

All proposals must be received no later than 2:00 PM (Central Time) on Monday, July 24, 2000.
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Metropolitan Airports Commission
Notice of Call for Bids For High Speed Airport Plow Truck with Plow

Sealed bids will be received by the Metropolitan Airports Commission at its office at 6040 28th Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN
55450-2799, until 2:00 p.m., Local Time, MONDAY, JULY 17, 2000, for the procurement of ONE (1) HIGH SPEED AIRPORT
PLOW TRUCK WITH PLOW.

At that time and place the bids will be publicly opened and the names and address of those responding read aloud. If mailed the
Commission’s mailing address is 6040 28th Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55450-2799, and bids to be considered must be
received by the Commission by the date and hour set for opening of bids.

A MANDATORY pre-bid conference and site visit will be conducted on WEDNESDAY, JULY 5, 2000, at 10:00 a.m. Failure to
attend this meeting will result in rejection of the bid. Prospective Bidders will meet at the following location:

MAC General Office
6040 28th Avenue South
Minneapolis, MN 55450-2799

Bids shall be according to the specifications. The Commission reserves the right to reject any or all bids or portions thereof, and
to waive any minor irregularities or informalities therein. Copies of the Specifications may be obtained at the office of the
Commission, 6040 28th Avenue South, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55450, Phone: 612-726-8146.

Dated: 19 June 2000

METROPOLITAN AIRPORTS COMMISSION
JoAnn Brown/Buyer-Administrator

Metropolitan Airports Commission
Notice of Call for Bids For Radio Controlled Bird Abatement System

Sealed bids will be received by the Metropolitan Airports Commission at its office at 6040 28th Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN
55450-2799, until 10:30 a.m., Local Time, MONDAY, JULY 10, 2000, for the procurement of A RADIO CONTROLLED BIRD
ABATEMENT SYSTEM.

At that time and place the bids will be publicly opened and the names and address of those responding read aloud. If mailed the
Commission’s mailing address is 6040 28th Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55450-2799, and bids to be considered must be
received by the Commission by the date and hour set for opening of bids.

Bids shall be according to the specifications. The Commission reserves the right to reject any or all bids or portions thereof, and
to waive any minor irregularities or informalities therein. Copies of the Specifications may be obtained at the office of the
Commission, 6040 28th Avenue South, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55450, Phone: 612-726-8146.

Dated: 21 June 2000

METROPOLITAN AIRPORTS COMMISSION
JoAnn Brown/Buyer-Administrator

Non-State Public Bids, Contracts & Grants
The State Register also serves as a central marketplace for contracts let out on bid by the public sector.  The State Register meets state and

federal guidelines for statewide circulation of public notices.  Any tax-supported institution or government jurisdiction may advertise contracts
and requests for proposals from the private sector.  It is recommended that contracts and RFPs include the following: 1)  name of contact person;
2)  institution name, address, and telephone number; 3)  brief description of project and tasks; 4)  cost estimate; and 5)  final submission date of
completed contract proposal. Allow at least three weeks from publication date (four weeks from date article is submitted for publication).
Surveys show that subscribers are interested in hearing about contracts for estimates as low as $1,000.  Contact the editor for further details.
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Metropolitan Council
Notice of Request for Proposals for Consultant Services for a Fuel Management System for

Metro Transit Project Number 65990, Contract Number 00P0023
The Metropolitan Council is requesting proposals for Consultant Services for a fuel management system including the design,

build, installation and training that will control and record the individual dispensing of fuel and other dispensed fluids.

Installation will be at five local bus service areas and into approximately 1,000 buses.

A tentative schedule for the project is as follows:

Issue Request for Proposals June 28, 2000
Receive Proposals August 15, 2000
Notice to Proceed September 15, 2000
Complete Project September 1, 2001

All firms interested in being considered for this project and desiring to receive a RFP package are invited to submit a Letter of
Interest to:

Jan Bevins, Contract Specialist, Contracts and Procurement Unit
Metropolitan Council Environmental Service
230 East Fifth Street
St. Paul, MN 55101

Inquiries should be directed to Gordon Backlund at 651-602-1801.

Minnesota Statutes, Section 473.144 and 363.073, and Minnesota Rules, Parts 5000.3400 to 5000.3600 will be incorporated into
any contract based upon the Proposal or any modifications to it. If a contract for the project is awarded in excess of $100,000, the
requirements of Minnesota Rules 5000.3530 will be applicable.

Metropolitan Council
Notice of Request for Proposals for Consultant Services for Geotechnical Investigation and

Engineering Services
Project Numbers 970110 & 970120 Contract Number 00P0045

The Metropolitan Council is requesting proposals for Consultant Services for Geotechnical Investigation and Engineering
Services for South Washington County Gravity Interceptor and Colby Lake Lift Station. The Contractor will: Conduct soil borings,
testing and sampling along the 10 mile long corridor of the proposed South Washington County Interceptor; Conduct continuous,
above-ground electronic profiling of bedrock; and Prepare a professional geotechnical engineering report including all field find-
ings and interpretation of factors influencing design and construction of the interceptor pipe, lift station, flow metering station and
appurtenant structures.

Issues Request for Proposals July 5, 2000

Receive Proposals July 24, 2000

Notice to Proceed August 16, 2000

Complete Project November 14, 2000

All firms interested in being considered for this project and desiring to receive a RFP package are invited to submit a Letter of
Interest to:

Jan Bevins, Contracts Specialist, Contracts and Procurement Unit
Metropolitan Council Environmental Service
320 East Fifth Street
Mears Park Centre
St. Paul, MN 55101

Inquiries should be directed to Gordon Backlund at 651-602-1801.
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Non-State Public Bids, Contracts & Grants
Minnesota Statutes, Sections 473.144 and 363.073, and Minnesota Rules, Parts 5000.3400 to 5000.3600 will be incorporated into

any contract based upon the Proposal or any modifications to it. If a contract for the project is awarded in excess of $100,000, the
requirements of Minnesota Rules 5000.3530 will be applicable.

University of Minnesota
Notice of Bid Information Service (BIS) Available for All Potential Vendors

The University of Minnesota offers 24 hour/day, 7 day/week access to all Request for Bids/Proposals through its web based Bid
Information Services (BIS).  Subscriptions to BIS are $75/year.  Visit our web site at bidinfo.umn.edu or call the BIS Coordinator at
612-625-5534.

Requests for Bids/Proposals are available to the public at no charge each business day from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. in Purchasing
Services lobby, Suite 560, 1300 S. 2nd Street, Mpls., MN 55454.
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     Subtotal
      Applicable sales tax
(6-1/2% MN residents
7% St. Paul residents)

      Shipping
     (based on Subtotal)

   TOTAL

○ ○ ○ ○ ○ ○ ○ ○ ○ ○

○ ○ ○ ○ ○ ○ ○ ○ ○ ○ ○

If tax exempt, please provide  ES #

             Stock No.     Title                                                                  Unit Cost    Quantity       TOTAL

State agencies please submit purchase order.

1-1      Handbook to MN State Government $  7.95
1-5      Handbook AND Guidebook to State      $20.95
             Agency Services '96-'99

Personalize your government, get involved . . .
meet the "Ventura Administration", through the NEW

Handbook to Minnesota State Government

Gov. Jesse Ventura says:
“Celebrate citizen involvement in public life.

Encourage public service.
Invite real people...to participate

in government.”

These are YOUR state agencies.  Now you can contact them all, and make full
use of the services paid for by your tax dollars.  Work smarter.  Save time and
cut through red tape.

This easy-to-use Handbook has 60-pages packed with information you can
put to use immediately: key points of contact in each state agency, and 34
photos of the top people in charge.

You also get hundreds of addresses, phone numbers, web sites, e-mail ad-
dresses, FAX numbers plus brief outlines of what each agency does for you.

Why wait to work smarter?  Let your state government, and your taxes, go to
work FOR YOU today.  “It's the people's money," says Gov. Ventura, and he
tells his state agencies "Do the right things and do them well."

Get your money's worth.  Now you can reach them all, and make full use of
your tax dollars.  Don't wait.  Put state government to work for you today.

Copies cost $ 7.95 each + tax.  Or,  get the BEST DEAL:  Order the NEW Handbook with the Minnesota Guidebook to State
Agency Services 1996-1999 in a special package for only $ 20.95.  Together, they are a combination that will go to work for
you immediately, and serve you well.

proudly presents ––

Credit card number:

Expiration date:      Signature:

������ Shipping Charges Shipping Charges Shipping Charges Shipping Charges Shipping Charges
If Subtotal Please
     is ---- Add:
Up to $25.00 $3.00
$25.01-$50.00 $5.00
$50.01-$100.00 $7.00
$100.01-$1,000.00      $10.00  (          )

Send my order to:

Company

Name

Street Address (Not deliverable to P.O. boxes)

City                                 State   Zip

Daytime phone (In case we have  a question about your order)

Handbook to
Minnesota

State
Government

PREPPREPPREPPREPPREPAAAAAYMENT REQUIRED. YMENT REQUIRED. YMENT REQUIRED. YMENT REQUIRED. YMENT REQUIRED.   Ordering is easy, delivery is fast when you
place your order via phone or fax!  (Credit card orders only, please).    Receive
delivery in 1-2 weeks!  Mail orders accepted with payment by check or credit
card. (Allow 4-6 weeks for delivery).  American Express, Discover, MasterCard,
and VISA accepted.  Make checks* payable to "Minnesota's Bookstore".
*A $20 fee will be charged for any returned check.

117 University Ave., Room 110A
St. Paul, MN  55155

Phone: 651/297-3000 metro area 1-800/657-3757 nationwide
TTY: 651/282-5077 metro area 1-800/657-3706 nationwide
FAX: 651/215-5733      www.comm.media.state.mn.us Price and availability subject to change.



Code
No. Quantity Description

Item
Price Total

Name or Company
Subtotal

TOTAL

Attention
61/2 % tax

MN residents
7% St. Paul residents

Address

City State Zip Add Shipping Charges
from chart at left.

American Express/VISA/MasterCard/Discover No.

Signature Expiration Date Telephone (During Day)

Please notify us of any address changes
so that we can continue to give you our
best service. Include your old mailing
label to speed your service.

If tax exempt, please provide ES number or send completed exemption form. SR-25

For Your Convenience, photocopy this order blank

Periodicals
U.S. Postage

Paid
Permit No.

326630
St. Paul, MN

Printed on recycled paper
20% post-consumer waste

Prices subject to change without notice.
Please allow about 6 weeks for delivery.
In a hurry? Stop by our Bookstore.
Bookstore hours:   8:00-5:00 Monday-Friday

117 University Avenue  •  St. Paul, Minnesota 55155
Metro Area  651-297-3000
Toll Free  1-800-657-3757
FAX  651-297-8260
TTY: Metro Area 651-282-5077    TTY: Greater MN 1-800-657-3706

TO ORDER:

Complete attached order blank.  Please
include sales tax.  Include either your
VISA/MasterCard, American Express or
Discover credit card number with the expira-
tion date, or a check/money order made out
to the State of Minnesota. Orders by phone
are accepted when purchasing with your
credit card. Please include a phone number
where you can be reached during the day in
case we have questions about your order.

PREPAYMENT REQUIRED.

Merchandise may be returned if it is in
resalable condition.

NOTE:

State Register and other
subscriptions do not require
sales tax or postage and han-
dling fees.

Shipping Charges
Subtotal Add:

Up to $25.00 $3.00
$25.01 - $50.00 $5.00
$50.01 - $100.00 $7.00
$100.01 - $1,000.00 $10.00

Communications.Media Division


