
Rules and Official Notices Edition

Published every Monday (Tuesday when Monday is a holiday) by the

Department of Administration Ð Communications.Media Division

Monday 15 November 1999

Volume 24, Number 20
Pages 679-730

ELIOTEEL’
DU NORD

EHT STATEOF
M

IN
N

ESOTA

8 851

THEG
R

E
A

E
A

T
S

LOF



State Register

FOR LEGISLATIVE NEWS
Publications containing news and information from the Minnesota Senate and House of Representatives are available free to concerned citizens and the news media.  To
be placed on the mailing list, write or call the offices listed below:

Contact: Senate Public Information Office       (651) 296-0504
Room 231 State Capitol, St. Paul, MN  55155

Contact: House Information Office       (651) 296-2146
Room 175 State Office Building, St. Paul, MN 55155

Copyright © 1999 Communications.Media Division, Department of Administration, State of Minnesota.
Publication Number:  326630.  (ISSN 0146-7751)

SUBSCRIPTION SERVICES:  Copies are available at MinnesotaÕs Bookstore, 117 University Avenue, St. Paul,  MN  55155.  Order by
phone:  Metro area:  (651) 297-3000 Toll free 800-657-3757.  TTY relay service phone number:  1-800-627-3529.  NO REFUNDS.
Subscribers who do not receive a copy of an issue should notify the State Register Subscription Office immediately at (651) 297-8774.
Copies of back issues may not be available more than two weeks after publication. Both editions are delivered postpaid to points in the
United States, Periodicals Postage Paid for the State Register at St. Paul, MN, first class for the Contracts Supplement.  See the State
Register and the Contracts Supplement on our website:  http://www.comm.media.state.mn.us  Click on ÒMinnesotaÕs Bookstore.Ó

¥ State Register (published every Monday, or Tuesday if Monday is a holiday) One year, hard copy, paper subscription:  $160.00. 

¥ Contracts Supplement (published Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday) One year subscription:  $135.00 first class mail, $150.00 by FAX.

¥ 13-week trial subscription which includes both the State Register and Contracts Supplement.  $65.00

¥ Single issues are available for a limited time:  State Register $5.00, Contracts Supplement $1.00.  Shipping is $3.00 per order.
PUBLISHING NOTICES IN THE State Register: Submit TWO COPIES of your notice, typed double-spaced.  State agency submis-
sions must include a "State Register Printing Order" form, and a "Certification/Internal Contract Negotiation" form with contracts for
professional, technical and consulting services.  Non-State Agencies should submit TWO COPIES, with a letter on your letterhead sta-
tionery requesting publication and date to be published.  FAXED submissions to 651-297-8260 are received to meet deadline require-
ments, but must be followed by originals and applicable forms or letters to be accepted.  The charge is $115.00 per page, billed in tenths
of a page (columns are seven inches wide).  About 2-1/2 pages typed double-spaced on 8-1/2"x11" paper equal one typeset page in the
State Register. Contact the editor if you have questions.
An ÒAffidavit of PublicationÓ can be obtained at a cost of $10.00 for notices published in the State Register.  This service includes a
notarized ÒAffidavit of PublicationÓ and a copy of the issue of the State Register in which the notice appeared.
The State Register is published by Communications.Media Division, Department of Administration, State of Minnesota, pursuant to
Minnesota Statutes ¤ 14.46 and is available at the main branch of county libraries in Minnesota and all ÒState Depository LibrariesÓ:  State
University and Community College libraries; the University of Minnesota libraries; St. Paul, Minneapolis and Duluth Public Libraries; the
Legislative Reference Library; State Law Library; Minnesota Historical Society Library; and the Library Development Service at the State
Department of Children, Families and Learning.  

Judicial Notice Shall Be Taken of Material Published in the State Register
The State Register is the official publication of the State of Minnesota, published weekly to fulfill the legislative
mandate set forth in Minnesota Statutes ¤ 14.46.  The State Register contains: 

¥  proposed, adopted, exempt, expedited emergency and withdrawn rules  ¥  executive orders of the governor
¥  appointments  ¥  proclamations and commendations  ¥  commissionersÕ orders  ¥   revenue notices  
¥  official notices  ¥  state grants and loans  ¥  contracts for professional, technical and consulting services  
¥  non-state public bids, contracts and grants  ¥  certificates of assumed name, registration of insignia and marks

Printing Schedule and Submission Deadlines
Deadline for:  Emergency Rules, Executive and 

Vol. 24 Deadline for both CommissionerÕs Orders, Revenue and Official Notices, 
Issue PUBLISH Adopted and Proposed State Grants, Professional-Technical-Consulting 

Number DATE RULES Contracts, Non-State Bids and Public Contracts

#20 Monday 15 November Noon Wednesday   3 November 4:30 P.M. MONDAY 8 NOVEMBER
#21 Monday 22 November Noon Wednesday 10 November Noon Tuesday 16 November
#22 Monday 29 November Noon Wednesday 17 November 4:30 P.M. MONDAY 22 NOVEMBER
#23 Monday   6  December NOON TUESDAY 23 NOVEMBER Noon Tuesday 30 November

Jesse Ventura, Governor 651/296-3391
Mae Schunk, Lt. Governor 651/296-3391

Department of Administration:
David F. Fisher, Commissioner 651/296-1424
Kent Allin, Asst. Commissioner 651/297-4261

Mike Hatch, Attorney General 651/297-4272
Judi Dutcher, State Auditor 651/297-3670

Communications.Media Division:
Mary Mikes, Director 651/297-3979
Susan Baustian-Culligan, Manager 651/282-2974

Mary Kiffmeyer, Secretary of State 651/296-2079
Carol Johnson, State Treasurer 651/296-7091

Robin PanLener, Editor 651/297-7963
Jane E. Schmidley, Assistant Editor 651/296-4273
Jessie Rahmeyer, Subscriptions 651/297-8774



Contents

PAGE 681(CITE 24 S.R. 681) State Register, Monday 15 November 1999

Minnesota Rules: Amendments & Additions
Volume 24,  Issues #14-20

(issues #1-13 cumulative appeared in #13)......................... 682

Proposed Rules

Administration Department
Manufactured homes.............................................................. 684

Housing Finance Agency
Repeal of rules for disused single family housing

programs ............................................................................. 703
Single-family home loan aid grant programs......................... 705

Adopted Rules

Medical Practice Board
Obsolete rules......................................................................... 713

Expedited Emergency Rules

Natural Resources Department
Adopted expedited emergency game and fish rules; fisher and

pine marten limits; Mud-Bardwell Refuge goose hunt....... 714

Revenue Notices

Department of Revenue
Revenue Notice #99-12:  Sales and Use Tax - Food, candy

and soft drinks..................................................................... 715
Revenue Notice #99-13:  MinnesotaCare Tax - Examinations 

for utilization reviews, insurance, litigation and
employment......................................................................... 717

Official Notices

Minnesota Auto Theft Prevention Program
Meetings of the Board of Directors Thursday 14 December

1999 and Thursday 13 January 2000 .................................. 719

Minnesota Comprehensive Health Association
Meeting of the Finance Committee Friday 19 November

1999..................................................................................... 719

Environmental Quality Board 
Annual meeting of the board Saturday 4 December 1999..... 719

Labor and Industry Department
Correction to highway / heavy prevailing wate rates for 

heavy equipment in Regions 6 and 7 .................................. 720

Pollution Control Agency
Intent to approve the creation of the Duluth/North Shore

Sanitary District .................................................................. 720

Minnesota State Retirement System
Regular meeting of the Board of Directors

Thursday 18 November 1999.............................................. 722

Public Employees Retirement Association 
Meeting of the Board of Trustees Thursday 18 November

1999..................................................................................... 722

Public Safety Department
Comments sought on rules for wheelchair safety devices ..... 722

State Grants & Loans

Natural Resources Department
Proposals sought for a bear center grant ................................ 723

Public Safety Department
Funds available for expanding local capacity to combat

gangs ................................................................................... 723
Funds available to reimburse local law enforcement agencies

for the cost for purchasing tire deflators ............................. 723

Professional, Technical & Consulting
Contracts

Trade and Economic Development Department
Proposals sought for development of new production database

and business application for the Minnesota Office of
Tourism............................................................................... 724

Transportation Department
Time extention for Hiawatha Light Rail Transit Phase I request

for proposals........................................................................ 725

Non-State Public Bids, Contracts & Grants

Metropolitan Airports Commission
Proposals sought for food and beverage facilities and

retail shops for new concession opportunities at
Minneapolis / St. Paul International Airport....................... 725

Metropolitan Council
Reissue of request for bids for HVAC equipment for 

Chaska Lift Station ............................................................. 726
Proposals sought for Year 2000 aerial photography and 

digital orthophotography..................................................... 726
Metro Transit seeks proposals for low floor light rail

vehicles ............................................................................... 727

Southern Minnesota Health Initiative
Proposals sought for a demonstration project for 

persons with disabilities...................................................... 727

University of Minnesota
Bid Information Service (BIS) available for all potential

vendors................................................................................ 728

Minnesota Workers’ Compensation Assigned Risk Plan
Proposals sought for general administrative and managed care

services to be provided to the Minnesota WorkersÕ
Compensation Assigned Risk Plan ..................................... 728

Commodity, Service, and Construction contracts are published in
a bulletin, the State Register Contracts Supplement, published
Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday.  Award results are available
from the Materials Management Helpline (651) 296-2600.

Individual copies and subscriptions are available through
MinnesotaÕs Bookstore, (651) 297-3000, or 1-800-657-3757.



PAGE 682 (CITE 24 S.R. 682)State Register, Monday 15 November 1999

Minnesota Rules: Amendments and Additions

Volume 24, Issues #14-20
Administration Department 
1350.0100; .0200; .0300; .0400; .0500; .0600; .0700; .0800; .0900;

.1000; .1200; .1400; .1700; .2100; .2200; .2300; .2400; .2500; 

.2600; .2700; .2800; .2900; .3200; .3400; .3500; .3800; .4100;

.4500; .4600; .4900; .5300; .5500; .5800; .5900; .6300; .6400; 

.6500; .6600; .6700; .6800; .7000; .7100; .7200; .7205; .7300;

.7700; .7900; .8000; .8100; .8300; .8500; .8600; .8700; .8800;

.8900; .9000; .9100; .9200 (proposed)........................................... 684
1350.3600; .3700 (proposed repealer).................................................. 684

Agriculture Department 
1550.0020-.0060; .0080; .0160-.0190; .0290; .0380; .0420-.0510; 

.0550; .0560; .0850; .1610; .2160; .2270; .2290; .2300; 
1555.0020-.0140; .0160-.0210; .0230-.2130 (repealed)................ 547

1555.6730; .6800; .6840; .6845 (adopted)........................................ 547

Arts Board
1900.0310; .0410; .1010; .1620; .1710; .1810; .1910; .2010; .2110; 

.4010 (adopted) .............................................................................. 663

Barber Examiners Board
2100.9300 (adopted) ......................................................................... 581

Chiropractic Examiners Board
2500.2115; .2120; .2125; .2130; .2135 (proposed)............................ 603
Commerce Department
2747.0010; .0020; .0030; .0040; .0050; .0060 (proposed)................ 477

Children, Families and Learning Department 
3525.0200; .0750; .1310; .1325; .1327; .1331; .1335; .1337; 

.1341; .1343; .1345; .1350; .1354; .2335; .2340; .3800; 

.3900; .4000; .4100; .4200; .4300; .4600; .4700; .4750;

.4770; (proposed exempt).............................................................. 608
3525.0200 s.6a, 11a; .1150; .1325 s.2; .1354 s.2; .1356; 

.2405 s.2, 3; .2420; .2650; .3000; .3150; .3200; 

.3500 (proposed repealer exempt) ............................................... 608
Environmental Quality Board
4410.4300; .4600 (adopted)............................................................... 517

Health Department
4626.0010; .2000; .2005; .2010; .2015; .2020; .2025 (adopted) ...... 605

Health Department
4685.2800 (proposed) ....................................................................... 641

Higher Education Services Office
4830.0300 (adopted) ......................................................................... 518

Housing Finance Agency
4900.0010 (proposed) ....................................................................... 703
4900.0010 s.17; .0370; .0380; .0381; .0550; .0560; .0570; .0580; 

.0581; .0582; .0583; .0584; .0710; .0720; .0730; .0740; .1110; 

.1120; .1130; .1140; .1150; .1160; .1170; .1180; .1600; .1610;

.1620; .1630; .1640; .1650; .2200; .2210; .2220; .2230; .2240;

.2250; .2260; .2270; .2300; .2310; .2320; .2330; .2340
(proposed repealer)....................................................................... 703

4900.0010; .0510; .0592; .0620; .0630; .0640; .0650; .0770;
.0780; .1315; .1331; .1345; .1375; .3220; .3230; .3250;
.3300; .3310; .3320 (proposed)...................................................... 705

4900.3210 s.6, 10, 13, 14, 16; .3220 s.5, 6, 7, 8; .3270 s.1; .3290; 
.3310; s.4, 5, 7, 8, 10, 12; .3330; .3340; .3350; .3360
(proposed repealer)....................................................................... 705

Labor and Industry Department
5207.1000 (adopted exempt)............................................................ 519

Medical Practice Board
5600.0600; .0700 (adopted) .............................................................. 713
5600.0800; .0900; .1000 (repealed) .................................................. 713

Natural Resources Department
6133.0075; 6230.020; .0250; .0400; .0500; .0700; .1600; 6232.1250;  

.2200; .2800; .2900; .3300; .4100; .4700; 6234.0800; .1600; .1700; 

.1800; 6236.0810; .0900; 6240.0100; .0300; .0700; .1600; .1700;

.1850; .1900; .2300; 6284.0500 (adopted)..................................... 644
6234.1700; .1800; .1850 (adopted expedited emergency) .............. 714
6240.2100 s. 4; and emergency amendments: 

6230.0400 s.21 (22 SR 532, 09/29/97); 
6230.0500 (22 SR 532, 09/29/97); 
6230.0700 s.2, 3, 6 (22 SR 532, 09/29/97); 
6232.2800 s. 4 (22 SR 2013, 05/18/98); 
6232.4100 s. 20, 24a, 24b, 24c, 27, 28, 29c (22 SR 2303, 06/22/98); 
6232.4700 s. 62, 93, 94 (23 SR 529, 08/31/98); 
6236.0810 (23 SR 1484, 01/04/99) (repealed) .............................. 644

NOTICE:  How to Follow State Agency Rulemaking in the State Register

The State Register is the official source, and only complete listing, for all state agency rulemaking in its various stages.  State agencies are
required to publish notice of their rulemaking action in the State Register.  Published every Monday, the State Register makes it easy to follow and
participate in the important rulemaking process.  Approximately 80 state agencies have the authority to issue rules.  Each agency is assigned specific
Minnesota Rule chapter numbers.  Every odd-numbered year the Minnesota Rules are published.  The current 1997 set is a 13-volume bound col-
lection of all adopted rules in effect at the time.  Supplements are published to update this set of rules.  Generally speaking, proposed and adopted
exempt rules do not appear in this set because of their short-term nature, but are published in the State Register.

An agency must first solicit Comments on Planned Rules or Comments on Planned Rule Amendments from the public on the subject matter
of a possible rulemaking proposal under active consideration within the agency (Minnesota Statutes ¤¤ 14.101).  It does this by publishing a notice in
the State Register at least 60 days before publication of a notice to adopt or a notice of hearing, or within 60 days of the effective date of any new
statutory grant of required rulemaking.

When rules are first drafted, state agencies publish them as Proposed Rules, along with a notice of hearing, or a notice of intent to adopt rules
without a hearing in the case of noncontroversial rules.  This notice asks for comment on the rules as proposed.  Proposed emergency rules and with-
drawn proposed rules are also published in the State Register.  After proposed rules have gone through the comment period, and have been rewritten
into their final form, they again appear in the State Register as Adopted Rules.  These final adopted rules are not printed in their entirety in the State
Register, only the changes made since their publication as Proposed Rules.  To see the full rule, as adopted and in effect, a person simply needs two
issues of the State Register, the issue the rule appeared in as proposed, and later as adopted.  For a more detailed description of the rulemaking
process, see the most current edition of the Minnesota Guidebook to State Agency Services.

The State Register features partial and cumulative listings of rules in this section on the following schedule:  issues #1-13 inclusive; issues #14-25
inclusive; issue #26 cumulative for issues #1-26; issues #27-38 inclusive; issue #39, cumulative for issues #1-39; issues #40-51 inclusive; and issue 52
(or 53 in some years), cumulative for issues #1-52 (or 53).  An annual subject matter index for rules was separately printed usually in August, but start-
ing with Volume 19 now appears in the final issue of each volume.  For copies or subscriptions to the State Register, contact Minnesota's Bookstore,
117 University Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 297-3000, or toll-free 1-800-657-3757.
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Department of Administration 
Building Codes and Standards Division

Proposed Permanent Rules Relating to Manufactured Homes
DUAL NOTICE: Notice of Intent to Adopt Rules Without a Public Hearing Unless 25 or More Persons

Request a Hearing, and Notice of Hearing if 25 or More Requests For Hearing Are Received
Proposed Amendments to Rules Governing Manufactured Homes, Minnesota Rules, Chapter 1350

Introduction. The Department of Administration intends to adopt rules without a public hearing following the procedures set
forth in the Administrative Procedure Act, Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.22 to 14.28, and rules of the Office of Administrative
Hearings, Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.2300 to 1400.2310.  If, however, 25 or more persons submit a written request for a hearing
on the rules within 30 days or by 4:30 p.m. on December 15, 1999, a public hearing will be held in conference room B, 408 Metro
Square Building, 121 7th Place East, St. Paul, Minnesota, at 8:30 a.m. on Wednesday, January 5, 2000.  To determine whether these
rules will be adopted without a hearing or if the hearing will be held, you should contact the agency contact person after December
15, 1999, and before January 5, 2000.

Agency Contact Person. Comments or questions on the rules and written requests for a public hearing on the rules must be
submitted to the agency contact person.  The agency contact person is Scott Simmons at the Building Codes and Standards
Division, 408 Metro Square Building, 121 7th Place East, St. Paul, MN  55101, telephone 651-296-4329, FAX 651-297-1973, TTY
1-800-627-3529 (ask for 296-9929).

Subject of Rules and Statutory Authority. The proposed rule amendments address the regulation of Manufactured Homes.
These amendments modify the existing rules in Minnesota Rules, parts 1350.0100 to 1350.9200.  The amendments also propose to
repeal Minnesota Rules, parts 1350.3600; and 1350.3700.  The statutory authority to adopt these rules is Minnesota Statutes, sec-
tions 327B.01 to 327B.12.  A copy of the proposed rules is published in the State Register. The proposed rule amendments increase
fees for licenses, labels and other administrative parts of the program to cover the costs of providing agency services.  The amend-
ments contain grammatical and intent clarifying changes to bring the rules in line with federal requirements. This rule proposal also
creates a limited dealerÕs license for owners of manufactured home parks authorizing a licensee to sell up to five used homes each
year.  A copy of the rules is available without charge upon request from the agency contact person listed above.

Comments. You have until 4:30 p.m. on Wednesday, December 15, 1999, to submit written comments in support of or in oppo-
sition to the proposed rules or any part or subpart of the rules.  Your comments must be in writing and received by the agency
contact person no later than the due date.  Comment is encouraged.  Your comments should identify the portion of the proposed
rules addressed, the reason for the comment, and any change proposed.  You are encouraged to propose any change desired.  Any
comments that you would like to make on the legality of the proposed rules must also be made during this comment period.

Proposed Rules
Comments on Planned Rules or Rule Amendments
An agency must first solicit Comments on Planned Rules or Comments on Planned Rule Amendments from the public on the subject

matter of a possible rulemaking proposal under active consideration within the agency (Minnesota Statutes ¤¤ 14.101).  It does this by pub-
lishing a notice in the State Register at least 60 days before publication of a notice to adopt or a notice of hearing, and within 60 days of the
effective date of any new statutory grant of required rulemaking.

Rules to be Adopted After a Hearing
After receiving comments and deciding to hold a public hearing on the rule, an agency drafts its rule.  It then publishes its rules with a

notice of hearing. All persons wishing to make a statement must register at the hearing. Anyone who wishes to submit written comments may
do so at the hearing, or within five working days of the close of the hearing.  Administrative law judges may, during the hearing, extend the
period for receiving comments up to 20 calendar days. For five business days after the submission period the agency and interested persons
may respond to any new information submitted during the written submission period and the record then is closed.  The administrative law
judge prepares a report within 30 days, stating findings of fact, conclusions and recommendations.  After receiving the report, the agency
decides whether to adopt, withdraw or modify the proposed rule based on consideration of the comments made during the rule hearing proce-
dure and the report of the administrative law judge. The agency must wait five days after receiving the report before taking any action.

Rules to be Adopted Without a Hearing  
Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes ¤ 14.22, an agency may propose to adopt, amend, suspend or repeal rules without first holding a public hearing.

An agency must first solicit Comments on Planned Rules or Comments on Planned Rule Amendments from the public.  The agency then pub-
lishes a notice of intent to adopt rules without a public hearing, together with the proposed rules, in the State Register.  If, during the 30-day
comment period, 25 or more persons submit to the agency a written request for a hearing of the proposed rules, the agency must proceed under the
provisions of ¤¤ 14.14-14.20, which state that if an agency decides to hold a public hearing, it must publish a notice of intent in the State Register.
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KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION Ñ Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. Strike outs indicate
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated Òall new material.Ó ADOPTED
RULES SECTION Ñ Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike outs indicate deletions from
proposed rule language.

Request for a Hearing. In addition to submitting comments, you may also request that a hearing be held on the proposed rules.
Your request for a public hearing must be in writing and must be received by the agency contact person by 4:30 p.m. on December
15, 1999.  Your written request for a public hearing must include your name and address.  You must identify the portion of the pro-
posed rules to which you object or state that you oppose the entire set of rules.  Any request that does not comply with these require-
ments is not valid and cannot be counted by the agency to determine whether a public hearing must be held.  You are also encour-
aged to state the reason for the request and any changes you want made to the proposed rules.

Withdrawal of Requests. If 25 or more persons submit a written request for a hearing a public hearing will be held unless a suf-
ficient number withdraw their requests in writing.  If enough requests for hearing are withdrawn to reduce the number below 25, the
agency must give written notice of this to all persons who requested a hearing, explain the actions the agency took to effect the with-
drawal, and ask for written comments on this action.  If a public hearing is required, the agency will follow the procedures in
Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.131 to 14.20.

Alternative Format/Accommodation. Upon request, this Notice can be made available in an alternative format, such as large
print, Braille, or cassette tape.  To make such a request or if you need an accommodation to make the hearing accessible, please
contact the agency contact person at the address or telephone number listed above.

Modifications. The proposed rules may be modified, either as a result of public comment or as a result of the rule hearing
process.  Modifications must be supported by data and views submitted to the agency or presented at the hearing and the adopted
rules may not be substantially different than these proposed rules.  If the proposed rules affect you in any way, you are encouraged
to participate in the rulemaking process.

Cancellation of Hearing. The hearing scheduled for January 5, 2000, will be canceled if the agency does not receive requests
from 25 or more persons that a hearing be held on the rules. If you requested a public hearing, the agency will notify you before the
scheduled hearing whether or not the hearing will be held.  You may also call the agency contact person at 651-297-7081 after
December 15, 1999, to find out whether the hearing will be held.

Notice of Hearing. If 25 or more persons submit written requests for a public hearing on the rules, a hearing will be held follow-
ing the procedures in Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.131 to 14.20.  The hearing will be held on the date and at the time and place
listed above.  The hearing will continue until all interested persons have been heard.  The Minnesota Office of Administrative
Hearings has assigned Judge Steve M. Mihalchick to conduct the hearing.  Judge Mihalchick can be reached at the Office of
Administrative Hearings, 100 Washington Square, Suite 1700, Minneapolis, MN  55401-2138, telephone 612-349-2554, and FAX
612-349-2665.

Hearing Procedure. If a hearing is held, you and all interested or affected persons, including representatives of associations or
other interested groups, will have an opportunity to participate.  You may present your views either orally at the hearing or in
writing any time before the close of the hearing record.  All evidence presented should relate to the proposed rules.  You may also
submit written material to the Administrative Law Judge to be recorded in the hearing record for five working days after the public
hearing ends.  This five-day comment period may be extended for a longer period not to exceed 20 calendar days if ordered by the
Administrative Law Judge at the hearing.  Following the comment period, there is a five-working-day response period during which
the agency and any interested person may respond in writing to any new information submitted.  No additional evidence may be
submitted during the five-day response period.  All comments and responses submitted to the Administrative Law Judge must be
received at the Office of Administrative Hearings no later than 4:30 p.m. on the due date.  All comments or responses received will
be available for review at the Office of Administrative Hearings.  Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.2000 to 1400.2240, and Minnesota
Statutes, sections 14.131 to 14.20 govern the rule hearing procedure.  Questions about this procedure may be directed to the
Administrative Law Judge at the Office of Administrative Hearings.

The agency requests that any person submitting written views or data to the Administrative Law Judge prior to the hearing or
during the comment or response period also submit a copy of the written views or data to the agency contact person at the address
stated above.

Statement of Need and Reasonableness. A statement of need and reasonableness is now available from the agency contact
person.  This statement contains a summary of the justification for the proposed rules, including a description of who will be
affected by the proposed rules and an estimate of the probable cost of the proposed rules.  The statement may also be reviewed
without charge or copies obtained at the cost of reproduction from either the agency or the Office of Administrative Hearings.
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Proposed Rules
Lobbyist Registration. Minnesota Statutes, chapter 10A, requires lobbyists to register with the State Campaign Finance and

Public Disclosure Board.  Questions regarding this requirement may be directed to the Campaign Finance and Public Disclosure
Board, which is located at First Floor South, Centennial Building, 658 Cedar Street, St. Paul, MN  55155, telephone 651-296-5148
or 1-800-657-3889.

Adoption Procedure if No Hearing.  If no hearing is required, the agency may adopt the rules after the end of the comment
period.  The rules and supporting documents will then be submitted to the Office of Administrative Hearings for review of legality.
You may ask to be notified of the date the rules are submitted to the Office.  If you want to be so notified, or want to receive a copy
of the adopted rules, or want to register with the agency to receive notice of future rule proceedings, submit your request to the
agency contact person listed above.

Adoption Procedure After a Hearing.  If a hearing is held, after the close of the hearing record, the Administrative Law Judge
will issue a report on the proposed rules.  You may ask to be notified of the date when the Administrative Law JudgeÕs report will
become available, and can make this request at the hearing or in writing to the Administrative Law Judge.  You may also ask to be
notified of the date on which the agency adopts the rules and files them with the Secretary of State, and can make this request at the
hearing or in writing to the agency contact person stated above.

Dated: 2 November 1999

David F. Fisher, Commissioner
Department of Administration

1350.0100 DEFINITIONS.

Subpart 1.  Applicability. For the purposes of parts 1350.0100 to 1350.6900 1350.9200, the terms defined in this part have the
meanings given them.

Subp. 2.  Accessory structure. ÒAccessory structureÓ means manufactured home accessory structure. 

Subp. 3.  Act. ÒActÓ means the National Manufactured Housing Construction and Safety Standards Act of 1974, title VI of the
Housing and Community Development Act of 1974, United States Code, title 42, sections 5401 to 5426 (1976), as amended
through March 15, 1982 and all amendments to the act.

Subp. 4.  Anchor. ÒAnchorÓ means ground anchor.

Subp. 5.  Anchoring equipment. ÒAnchoring equipmentÓ means bolts, straps, cables, turnbuckles, and chains, including ten-
sioning devices, which are used with ties to secure a manufactured home to ground anchors or the foundation system. 

[For text of subps 6 to 8, see M.R.]

Subp. 9.  Authorized representative. ÒAuthorized representativeÓ means any person, firm, or corporation, or employee thereof,
approved or hired by the commissioner to perform inspection services. 

[For text of subp 10, see M.R.]

Subp. 10a. Climatic conditions. ÒClimatic conditionsÓ means meteorological circumstances that would prevent a complying
installation of a manufactured home, including, but not limited to, frost, extreme rains, or flooding.

Subp. 11.  Code. ÒCodeÓ means the manufactured home building code. 

Subp. 12.  Commissioner. ÒCommissionerÓ means the commissioner of administration or the commissionerÕs duly authorized
representative representatives. 

[For text of subps 13 and 14, see M.R.]

Subp. 15.  Dealer. ÒDealerÓ means any person engaged in the sale, leasing, or distribution of a manufactured home primarily to
persons who purchase or lease for purposes other than resale who engages in the business, either exclusively or in addition to any
other occupation, of selling or brokering manufactured homes, new or used, or who offers to sell, solicit, broker, or advertise the
sale of manufactured homes, new or used.

Subp. 16.  Defect. ÒDefectÓ means a failure to comply with an applicable federal mobile home construction and safety
standard, as set forth in Code of Federal Regulations, title 24, part 3280 (1981), that renders the manufactured home or any part or
component of it not fit for the ordinary use for which it was intended, but that does not result in an unreasonable risk of injury or
death to occupants of the manufactured home.

[For text of subps 17 to 19, see M.R.]
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Subp. 20.  Evaluation agency. ÒEvaluation agencyÓ means an organization approved by the commissioner secretary which is
qualified by reason of facilities, personnel, experience, and demonstrated reliability to investigate and evaluate manufactured
homes.

Subp. 21.  Failure to conform. ÒFailure to conformÓ includes noncompliance, having a defect or serious defect, and having an
imminent safety hazard related to failure to comply with an applicable federal mobile home construction and safety standard in
Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, part 3280 (1981). ÒFailure to conformÓ is used as a substitute for all of those terms. 

[For text of subps 22 and 23, see M.R.]

Subp. 24.  Ground anchor. ÒGround anchorÓ means any device at the manufactured home stand installation site designed to
transfer manufactured home anchoring loads to the ground. 

Subp. 25.  Imminent safety hazard. ÒImminent safety hazardÓ means a hazard that presents an imminent and unreasonable risk
of death or severe personal injury that may or may not be related to failure to comply with an applicable federal mobile home con-
struction and safety standard in Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, part 3280 (1981).

Subp. 26.  Independent inspection agency. ÒIndependent inspection agencyÓ means an organization approved by the commis-
sioner secretary qualified to review and approve plans and specifications for manufactured homes with respect to model, structural,
electrical, mechanical, and plumbing requirements and to evaluate quality control programs and make inspections.  

Subp. 27.  Installation. ÒInstallationÓ of a manufactured home means assembly, at the site of occupancy, of all portions of the
manufactured home, connection of the manufactured home to existing utility connections, and installation of support or anchoring
systems.

Subp. 28.  Installation alteration.  ÒInstallation alterationÓ means the replacement, addition, modification, or removal of any
components of the ground support or ground anchoring systems required under the provisions of parts 1350.0100 to 1350.6900.  

[For text of subps 29 to 31, see M.R.]

Subp. 32.  Installer. ÒInstallerÓ means a licensed manufactured home installer, according to Minnesota Statutes, sections 326.83
to 326.9.

[For text of subps 33 and 34, see M.R.] 

Subp. 34a. Limited dealer. ÒLimited dealerÓ means the owner, as principal only, of a licensed manufactured home park autho-
rized by license to sell, offer for sale, solicit, and advertise for sale five used manufactured homes annually within the ownerÕs
licensed manufactured home park, as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 327.14, subdivision 3.

[For text of subps 35 to 38, see M.R.] 

Subp. 39.  Manufactured home accessory structure. ÒManufactured home accessory structureÓ means a factory-built building
or structure which is an addition or supplement to a manufactured home and, when installed, becomes a part of the manufactured
home.  

Subp. 40.  Manufactured home building code. ÒManufactured home building codeÓ means for manufactured homes manufac-
tured after July 1, 1972, and prior to June 15, 1976, the standards code promulgated by the American National Standards Institute
and identified as ANSI A119.1, including all revisions thereof in effect on May 21, 1971, or the provisions of the National Fire
Protection Association identified as NFPA 501B, and further revisions adopted by the commissioner.  

ÒManufactured home building codeÓ means for manufactured homes constructed after June 14, 1976, the mobile Manufactured
Home Construction and Safety Standards promulgated by the United States Department of Housing and Urban Development which
are in effect at the time of the manufactured homeÕs manufacture.  

Subp. 41.  Manufactured home installer. ÒManufactured home installerÓ means any person, firm, or corporation which installs
manufactured homes for others at site of occupancy, except manufactured homes installed on a foundation system.

[For text of subp 42, see M.R.] 

Subp. 43.  Mobile home. ÒMobile homeÓ is synonymous with manufactured home whenever it appears in parts 1350.0100 to
1350.6900 1350.9200 and in other documents or on construction or installation seals. 

[For text of subp 44, see M.R.] 
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Subp. 45.  Noncompliance. ÒNoncomplianceÓ means a failure of a manufactured home to comply with a federal mobile manu-

factured home construction or safety standard that does not constitute a defect, serious defect, or imminent safety hazard.  

[For text of subps 46 to 48, see M.R.] 

Subp. 48a. Replacement construction seal. ÒReplacement construction sealÓ means a construction seal issued by the commis-
sioner to replace a construction seal or label that has been lost or removed from a manufactured home after application has been
made and verification has been received by the commissioner that the home complies with the manufactured home code.

Subp. 48b. Retailer. ÒRetailerÓ is synonymous with dealer wherever it appears in parts 1350.0100 to 1350.9200 and in federal
and state laws and rules relating to manufactured housing.

Subp. 49.  Seal.  ÒSealÓ means a device or insignia issued by the commissioner to be displayed on the manufactured home to evi-
dence compliance with the manufactured home building code. ÒSealÓ includes construction, accessory structure, and installation seals.

[For text of subp 50, see M.R.] 

Subp. 51.  Serious defect. ÒSerious defectÓ means any failure to comply with an applicable federal mobile home construction
and safety standard in Code of Federal Regulations, title 24, part 3280 (1981) that renders the manufactured home or any part of it
not fit for the ordinary use for which it was intended and which results in an unreasonable risk of injury or death to occupants of the
affected manufactured home.  

[For text of subps 52 and 53, see M.R.] 

Subp. 54.  State administrative agency. ÒState administrative agencyÓ means an agency of a state which has been approved or
conditionally approved to carry out the state plan for enforcement of the federal mobile manufactured home construction and safety
standards.  For manufactured homes manufactured after June 14, 1976, and located or manufactured in Minnesota, the commis-
sioner of administration is the state administrative agency.  

[For text of subps 55 to 60, see M.R.]

1350.0200 AUTHORIZATION.

Parts 1350.0100 to 1350.6900 are authorized by Minnesota Statutes, sections 327.31 to 327.36 and 327B.04, and established
through the rulemaking procedures set forth in Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.02, 14.04 to 14.36, 14.38, and 14.44 to 14.45, to
implement, interpret, and carry out the provisions of Minnesota Statutes, sections 327.31 to 327.36 and 327B.04 relating to manu-
factured homes.  If these parts 1350.0100 to 1350.6900 differ from the code promulgated by the American National Standards
Institute as ANSI A119.1, or the provisions of the National Fire Protection Association identified as NFPA 501B, these parts shall
1350.0100 to 1350.6900 govern in all cases. 

1350.0300 ENFORCEMENT.  

The commissioner shall administer and enforce all the provisions of parts 1350.0100 to 1350.6900 1350.9200 and the code.  Any
authorized representative of the Department of Administration may enter any premises where manufactured homes are manufac-
tured, sold, offered for sale, parked in any manufactured home park in the state, or installed in the state if the installation was made
after September 1, 1974.  The authorized representative may examine any records and may inspect any manufactured home, equip-
ment, or installations to ensure compliance with the provisions of parts 1350.0100 to 1350.6900 1350.9200 and the code.  The
authorized representative may require that a portion or portions of a manufactured home be removed or exposed in order that an
inspection may be made to determine compliance, or require that all portions of an installation be removed or exposed to make this
determination. 

1350.0400 REQUIREMENT FOR SEALS, CODE COMPLIANCE, CONSTRUCTION COMPLIANCE CERTIFICATES,
OR LABELS.

[For text of subps 1 and 2, see M.R.] 

Subp. 3.  Requirement for installation seals. No person shall install or connect to any manufactured home or manufactured
home accessory structure a ground support or anchoring system unless the system and installation comply with these rules parts
1350.0100 to 1350.6900.  The installer shall affix the correct installation seals to the manufactured home or the manufactured home
accessory structure installed in compliance with parts 1350.0100 to 1350.6900.  Evidence of compliance shall be supported by the
submission of a certificate to the commissioner and the manufactured home owner.  Installation seals are not required for manufac-
tured homes installed on a foundation system in a municipality enforcing the State Building Code.  A permit to install a manufac-
tured home in a municipality enforcing the State Building Code may be is required by the municipality.  



Proposed Rules

PAGE 689(CITE 24 S.R. 689) State Register, Monday 15 November 1999

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION Ñ Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. Strike outs indicate
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated Òall new material.Ó ADOPTED
RULES SECTION Ñ Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike outs indicate deletions from
proposed rule language.

Subp. 4.  Seals for incomplete installations. When climatic conditions interfere with the completion of installation, the dealer or
installer will assign an installation seal for the manufactured home incompletely installed and notify the commissioner stating the
condition prohibiting the completion of the installation using the form issued by the commissioner.  A copy of this notice shall be
provided to the owner.  When climatic conditions permit the completion of installation, the installation will be promptly completed
and the installation seal affixed to the manufactured home.  The installation compliance certificate shall be provided to the commis-
sioner and the owner.  A building official may approve, in writing, a permanent installation of a manufactured home between the
dates of November 15 and March 31 if the building official determines that climatic conditions would not prevent completion of a
permanent installation.

Subp. 5.  Requirement for manufactured home accessory structure seal. No person shall install or connect to any manufac-
tured home a subordinate structure manufactured after September 1, 1974, unless the accessory structure complies with parts
1350.0100 to 1350.6900 1350.9200 and the code and bears a manufactured home accessory structure seal and is accompanied by a
certificate by the manufacturer or dealer evidencing that it complies with the code. 

1350.0500 ACQUISITION OF LABELS AND SEALS; INSTALLER REGISTRATION LICENSING. 

Subpart 1.  Acquisition of labels. United States Department of Housing and Urban Development labels are acquired by the man-
ufacturer from the secretary pursuant to the act and with submission of the fee required in part 1350.6500.

Subp. 2.  Acquisition of construction seals or replacement construction seals. Any person may qualify for construction
replacement seals by furnishing proof on forms furnished by the commissioner that the manufactured home to which the seal is to
be or label was affixed and was manufactured in compliance with the State or Federal Manufactured Home Building Code and has
not been brought out of conformance because of damage, additions, or alterations. 

Subp. 3.  Acquisition of accessory structure seals.  Any manufacturer of accessory structures shall qualify for acquisition of a
construction seal by:

A.  obtaining plan approval pursuant to parts 1350.1300 to 1350.2000 and requesting an inspection of each manufactured
home constructed pursuant to part 1350.2100;

B.  an accessory structure seal by obtaining plan approval pursuant to parts 1350.1300 to 1350.2000 and quality control
approval pursuant to part 1350.3500; or

C.  obtaining certification by an independent agency approved by the commissioner pursuant to part 1350.1300.

Subp. 4.  Installer registration licensing.  Application for installer registration licensing shall be on the form issued by the com-
missioner Department of Commerce as required by Minnesota Statutes, section 326.89.  Installer license verification must be sub-
mitted as supporting evidence to the commissioner deems necessary of administration to establish that installation seals issued to an
installer will be affixed only to those manufactured homes where the support system and ground anchoring system installations
comply with parts 1350.0100 to 1350.6900 and the code. 

Subp. 5.  Acquisition of installation seals. Any registered licensing installer shall qualify for acquisition of an installation seal
by applying for registration as an installer to the commissioner on the form issued by the commissioner seals by providing proof of
licensure in good standing with the Department of Commerce.

1350.0600 APPLICATION FOR SEALS. 

Subpart 1.  Application for replacement construction seals. Any person who has met the applicable requirements of part
1350.0500 shall apply for replacement construction seals using the forms issued by the commissioner.  The application shall be
accompanied by the replacement construction seal fee set forth in part 1350.6500. 

Subp. 2.  Application for installation seals. Any registered installer who has met the applicable requirements of part 1350.0500
shall apply for installation seals.  The application shall be on forms issued by the commissioner, and the application shall be accom-
panied by the installation seal fee set forth in part 1350.6500. 

Subp. 3.  Application for accessory structure seals. Any manufacturer of manufactured home accessory structures who has met
the applicable requirements of part 1350.0500 shall apply for accessory structure seals.  The application shall be on the forms issued
by the commissioner, and the application shall be accompanied by the accessory structure seal fee set forth in part 1350.6500. 
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1350.0700 DENIAL AND REPOSSESSION OF SEALS. 

Subpart 1.  Installation seals. Should investigation or inspection reveal that a registered an installer has not installed a manufac-
tured home according to parts 1350.0100 to 1350.6900 and the code, the commissioner may deny the installerÕs application for new
installation seals, and any installation seals previously issued shall be confiscated.  Upon satisfactory proof of modification of such
installation bringing it into compliance, the installer may resubmit an application for installation seals. 

Subp. 2. Accessory seals.  Should investigation or inspection reveal that a manufacturer is not constructing manufactured home
accessory structures according to plans approved by the commissioner, and the manufacturer, after having been served with a notice
setting forth in what respect the provisions of parts 1350.0100 to 1350.6900 and the code have been violated, continues to manufac-
ture manufactured home accessory structures in violation of these parts 1350.0100 to 1350.6900 and the code, applications for new
accessory seals shall be denied, and the accessory seals previously issued shall be confiscated.  Upon satisfactory proof of compli-
ance the manufacturer may resubmit an application for accessory seals. 

1350.0800 SEAL OR LABEL REMOVAL. 

Subpart 1.  Construction seals or labels.  If any manufactured home bearing the construction seal or label or any manufactured
home once sold to a consumer is found to be in violation of the code, the commissioner may remove the construction seal or label
after furnishing the owner or the ownerÕs agent with a written statement of the violation.  The commissioner shall not issue a new
replacement construction seal or reissue a label until corrections have been made and the owner or agent has requested an inspection
pursuant to part 1350.2100. 

[For text of subps 2 and 3, see M.R.] 

1350.0900 PLACEMENT AND LOCATION OF SEALS. 

Subpart 1.  Replacement construction seals or construction seals. Each replacement construction seal or construction seal
shall be assigned and affixed to a specific manufactured home.  Assigned replacement construction seals or construction seals are
not transferable and are void when not affixed as assigned, and all voided construction seals or labels shall be returned to, or may be
confiscated by, the commissioner.  The construction seal shall remain the property of the commissioner and may be reappropriated
by the commissioner in the event of violation of the conditions of approval.  Multiple unit manufactured homes shall be assigned
and bear consecutively serial numbered construction seals.

The construction seal shall be securely affixed to the rear of the manufactured home on the lower left corner of the exterior wall
not less than six inches above the floor line. 

[For text of subps 2 and 3, see M.R.] 

1350.1000 LOST OR DAMAGED SEALS OR LABELS.  

Subpart 1.  Construction seals or labels. When a construction seal or label is lost or damaged, the commissioner shall be noti-
fied in writing by the owner.  The owner shall identify the manufacturer, the mobile manufactured home serial number, the date of
manufacture, and when possible, the construction seal or label serial number.  

All damaged construction seals or labels shall be promptly returned.  Damaged and lost construction seals or labels shall be
replaced by the commissioner with a new replacement construction seal bearing the date of issue of the original construction seal
upon payment of the replacement construction seal fee as provided in part 1350.6500, and proof of compliance of the manufactured
home to the manufactured home code.

Subp. 2. Installation seals. When an installation seal is lost or damaged, the commissioner shall be notified in writing.  The
notice shall identify the construction seal serial number, the mobile manufactured home manufacturer, the manufacturersÕ serial
number and the location of the installation, and where available, the original date of installation of the mobile manufactured home
including the installation seal serial number.  Damaged or lost installation seals shall be replaced by the commissioner upon
payment of the installation seal fee as provided in part 1350.6500.

Subp. 3.  Accessory structure seals. When an accessory structure accessory seal is lost or damaged, the commissioner shall be
notified in writing by the owner.  The owner shall identify the manufacturer, the mobile manufactured home accessory structure
serial number, the date of manufacture, and when possible, the accessory structure seal serial number.

All damaged accessory structure seals shall be promptly returned.  Damaged and lost accessory structure seals shall be replaced
by the commissioner with a new accessory structure seal bearing the date of issue of the original accessory structure seal upon
payment of the replacement accessory structure seal fee as provided in part 1350.6500. 

1350.1200 COMPLIANCE CERTIFICATE. 

Subpart 1.  Installation compliance certificate.  The installer shall provide the commissioner with an installation compliance
certificate in addition to the certificate required in part 1350.0400.  The installation compliance certificate shall be issued by the
commissioner. 
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[For text of subp 2, see M.R.] 

1350.1400 APPLICATION FOR MANUFACTURED HOME ACCESSORY STRUCTURE APPROVAL. 

[For text of subpart 1, see M.R.] 

Subp. 2.  Plans and specifications. Submissions of required plans and specifications shall be in duplicate and shall include, but
not be limited to, the following: 

A.  a dimensioned floor plan(s); 

B.  a dimensioned foundation support plan;

C. proposed use of rooms and method of light and ventilation; 

C. D. size, type, and location of windows and exterior doors; 

D. E. type and location of all appliances and fixtures; 

E. F. type, size, and location of plumbing, drain, water, gas, and electrical connections; 

F. G. type and location of all electrical outlets (receptacles and lights); 

G. H. number of outlets and appliances on each circuit and circuit rating; and 

H. I. installation details and instructions. 

1350.1700 NONCONFORMING PLANS, SPECIFICATIONS, AND SUPPORTING DATA.  

Should the plans, specifications, and supporting data not conform with these parts 1350.0100 to 1350.6900 and the code, the
applicant shall be so notified in writing by the commissioner.  Should the applicant fail to submit corrected information in accor-
dance with the commissionerÕs request, the application will be deemed abandoned and all fees due will be forfeited to the state.
Additional submissions shall be processed as new applications. 

1350.2100 INSPECTION REQUESTS.  

Any person manufacturing mobile manufactured homes or any person selling, offering for sale, or parking any mobile manufac-
tured home in any mobile home park in the state, or any dealer or installer of mobile manufactured homes, may request the com-
missioner to make an inspection of any mobile manufactured home manufactured after July 1, 1972, if said person holds title to the
house to be inspected.  Additionally, any person holding title to the mobile manufactured home may request inspection of the
ground support and anchoring system.  Inspection requests should be made on ÒApplication for InspectionÓ forms, available from
the commissioner.  In connection with requested inspections, the commissioner may require plans, specifications, calculations, and
test results. 

1350.2200 ACTION AFTER REQUESTED INSPECTION.  

If the manufactured home inspected meets the requirements of the code, if plan approval has been obtained, and if all applicable
fees have been remitted, the applicant may apply for a replacement construction seal.  If the requested inspection was to determine
compliance with respect to support and anchoring requirements and if all applicable fees have been remitted, the applicant may
apply for an installation seal. 

1350.2300 OTHER INSPECTIONS.  

In addition to making inspections on request, the commissioner shall make periodic inspections of the facilities of persons who
are subject to the code and parts 1350.0100 to 1350.6900 1350.9200.  The inspections shall include oversight inspections at the in-
state manufactured home manufacturing facilities to review the manufacturerÕs consumer complaint handling and notification and
correction as required by parts 1350.3900 to 1350.5700.  Oversight inspections shall be made annually.  The frequency of oversight
inspections may be increased when the need is indicated by the number of consumer complaints received by the commissioner. 

1350.2400 NOTICE OF VIOLATIONS.  

When an inspection reveals that a mobile manufactured home is in violation of the code, or these parts 1350.0100 to 1350.9200,
the commissioner shall serve upon the owner or the ownerÕs agent a notice specifying the violation.  An owner or agent so served
shall not move said mobile the manufactured home from the premises until such time as the commissioner determines that the
mobile manufactured home has been brought into compliance with the code and these parts 1350.0100 to 1350.9200.
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1350.2500 STABILIZING SYSTEMS FOR MANUFACTURED HOME INSTALLATION.

Stabilizing devices when installed at the site of occupancy shall comply with parts 1350.2500 to 1350.8200 1350.3200.

1350.2600 INSTRUCTIONS AND DESIGNS.

Subpart 1.  ManufacturerÕs installation instructions. Each manufactured home shall have its stabilizing system installed in
accordance with according to the manufactured home manufacturerÕs installation instructions.  The manufacturerÕs instructions
shall include a typical support system designed by a registered professional engineer or architect to support the anticipated loads
that the manufacturerÕs installation instructions specify for the design zone, including climate, of installation.  The instructions shall
also meet the requirements of parts 1350.3900 to 1350.5700.  These instructions shall be left with the manufactured home following
installation. 

Footings shall be sized to support the loads shown in these instructions. 

Stabilizing devices not provided with the manufactured home shall meet or exceed the design and capacity requirements of the
manufactured home manufacturer and these rules parts 1350.2500 to 1350.3200 and shall be installed in accordance with according
to the manufactured home manufacturerÕs installation instructions.  

Foundation systems shall be in compliance with the State Building Code.  

No portion of a manufactured home shall be removed during installation or when located on its home site unless it is designed to
be removable and is removed in accordance with according to the manufacturerÕs instructions.

Subp. 2.  Stabilizing system design. Mobile Manufactured homes manufactured prior to September 1974 not provided with
manufacturerÕs instructions for stabilizing devices and their installation shall be provided with anchoring and support systems
designed by a registered professional engineer or architect or shall comply with the following requirements:

A.  The minimum number of ties per side for various lengths of mobile manufactured homes shall be in accordance with
according to part 1350.3200.  

B.  Ties shall be as evenly spaced as practicable along the length of the mobile manufactured home with not more than eight
feet open-end spacing on each end.  

C.  When continuous straps are provided as vertical ties, such the ties shall be positioned at rafters and studs.  Where a vertical
tie and diagonal tie are located at the same place, both ties may be connected to a single ground anchor, provided that the anchor
used is capable of carrying both loadings.  

D.  Clerestory roofs and add-on sections of expandable mobile manufactured homes shall have provisions for vertical ties at
the exposed ends.  

E.  Protection shall be provided at sharp corners where the anchoring system requires the use of external cables or straps.
Protection shall also be provided to minimize damage to roofing or siding by the cable or strap.  

F.  If the alternate method incorporating baling straps specified in part 1350.3200 is used, the baling straps shall be wrapped
completely around the mobile manufactured home passing under the main steel frame, with both ends of each strap fastened
together under tension.  The straps shall be in accordance with according to part 1350.2800.  The method used to connect the ends
of the strap shall not reduce the allowable working load and overload. 

1350.2700 FOUNDATION AND SUPPORT SYSTEMS.  

Subpart 1.  General. Each manufactured home shall be installed on a foundation system or shall have a support system as speci-
fied herein in this part. A minimum clearance of 12 inches shall be maintained beneath the underside of the main frame (I-beam or
channel beam) in the area of utility connections when the manufactured home is not installed on a foundation system. 

Subp. 2.  Mobile Manufactured homes with installation instructions. Individual footings and load-bearing piers or listed sup-
ports shall be sized and located to support the loads specified in the manufacturerÕs installation instructions to assure ensure that the
manufacturerÕs warranty remains valid.  

Subp. 3.  Mobile Manufactured homes for which installation instructions are not available. Unless the entire support system
is designed by a registered professional engineer or architect, and approved by the authority having jurisdiction prior to installation,
supports shall be spaced not more than ten feet apart for mobile manufactured homes 12 feet wide or less, and not more than eight
feet apart for mobile manufactured homes over 12 feet wide, beginning from the front wall of the mobile manufactured home, with
not more than two feet open-end spacing at the area of the main frame.  Supports shall be installed directly under the main frame (or
chassis) of the mobile manufactured home.  Methods other than those specified herein shall be approved prior to installation by the
authority having jurisdiction.  Double wide mobile manufactured homes built with a conventional frame shall have additional sup-
ports placed under the center (mating) line at each end wall, and at the support columns located at the sides of center wall openings
eight feet in width or greater.  The supports shall be constructed to withstand the weight calculated by multiplying one-half the
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width of the opening (in feet) times one-half the width of the home (in feet) multiplied by 35 37-1/2 pounds per square foot.  (30-
pound snow load and five-pound 7-1/2 pound roof load.)

Subp. 4.  Footings. The required load-bearing capacity of individual load-bearing supports and their footings shall be calculated
at not less than a combined live and dead load of 65 85 pounds per square foot.  Footings shall be adequate in size to withstand the
tributary live and dead loads of the mobile manufactured home and any concentrated loads.  

Footings shall be at least 16-inch by 16-inch by four-inch solid concrete blocks or other product approved for the use intended.
As an alternate, two eight-inch by 16-inch by four-inch solid concrete blocks can be used as footings provided the joint between the
blocks is parallel to the steel I-beam frame.

Footings or pier foundations, when required, shall be placed level on firm undisturbed soil or on controlled fill which is free of
grass and organic materials, compacted to a minimum load-bearing capacity of 2,000 pounds per square foot (unless otherwise
approved by a registered professional engineer).  Where unusual soil conditions exist as determined by the authority having juris-
diction, footings shall be designed specifically for such conditions.  

Subp. 5.  Piers. Piers or load-bearing supports or devices shall be designed and constructed to evenly distribute the loads.  Piers
shall be securely attached to the frame of the mobile manufactured home or shall extend at least six inches from the centerline of the
frame member.  Load-bearing supports or devices shall be listed and labeled, or shall be designed by a registered professional engi-
neer or architect, and shall be approved for the use intended, prior to installation, or piers shall be constructed as follows:  

[For text of items A and B, see M.R.] 

C.  Subject to the limitations of subpart 6, piers over 80 inches in height shall be constructed as per subpart 5, in compliance
with item B, and they shall be laid in concrete mortar and steel reinforcing bars inserted in block cells filled with concrete.  (See part
1350.3300, subparts 3 and 4). 

Subp. 6.  Elevated mobile manufactured homes. When more than one-fourth of the area of a mobile manufactured home is
installed so that the bottom of the main frame members is more than three feet above ground level, the mobile manufactured home
stabilizing system shall be designed by a qualified registered professional engineer or architect and the installation shall be
approved prior to installation by the authority having jurisdiction.  

Subp. 7.  Plates and hardwood shims.  A cushion of wood plate not exceeding two inches in thickness and hardwood shims not
exceeding one inch in thickness may be used to fill any gap between the top of the pier and the main frame.  Two-inch or four-inch
solid concrete blocks may be used to fill the remainder of any gap.  Hardwood shims shall be at least four inches wide and six inches
long and shall be fitted and driven tight between the wood plate or pier and main frame.

Subp. 8. Vapor retarder. If the space under the house is to be enclosed with skirting or other material, a vapor retarder of a
minimum six mil polyethylene sheeting or its equivalent that keeps out ground moisture out of the home must be installed.

Subp. 9. Skirting material. Skirting materials, when used, must be of materials resistant to decay and must have a minimum of
one square foot of free area ventilation for every 150 square feet of floor area.  If skirting is used, a minimum of 24-inch by 18-inch
access area must be installed in the skirting.  Crawlspace foundation systems must meet the requirements of the State Building
Code.

1350.2800 ANCHORING EQUIPMENT.  

Subpart 1.  Load requirements. Anchoring equipment, when installed, shall be must be installed that is capable of resisting an
allowable working load equal to or exceeding 3,150 pounds and shall be capable of withstanding a 50 percent overload (4,725
pounds total) without failure of either the anchoring equipment or the attachment point on the mobile manufactured home.  When
the stabilizing system is designed by a qualified registered professional engineer or architect, alternative working load may be used
providing the anchoring equipment is capable of withstanding a 50 percent overload.  

Subp. 2.  Resistance to weather deterioration. Anchoring equipment exposed to weathering shall have a resistance to weather
deterioration at least equivalent to that provided by a coating of zinc on steel of not less than 0.625 ounces per square foot on each
side of the surface coated as determined by ASTM Standard Methods of Test for Weight of Coating on Zinc-coated (galvanized)
Iron or Steel Articles (ASTM A90-69 (1973)).  Note:  Slit or cut edges of zinc-coated steel strapping do not need to be zinc coated.  

[For text of subps 3 to 5, see M.R.] 
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Subp. 6.  Tie strength. Tie materials shall be capable of resisting an allowable working load of 3,150 pounds with no more than

two percent elongation and shall withstand a 50 percent overload (4,725 pounds total).  Ties shall comply with the weathering
requirements of subpart 2.  Note:  Type 1, Class B, Grade 1 steel strapping, 1-1/4 inches wide and 0.035 inch thick, conforming with
Federal Specification QQ-S-781G, is capable of meeting the working load and 50 percent overload specified herein in this part.  

Subp. 7.  Tie connections. Ties shall connect the ground anchor and the main structural steel frame (I-beam or other shape)
which runs lengthwise under the mobile manufactured home. Ties shall not connect to steel outrigger beams which fasten to and
intersect the main structural frame unless specifically stated in the manufacturerÕs installation instructions.  

Connection of the cable frame tie to the mobile manufactured home I-beam or equivalent main structural frame member shall be
by a 5/8-inch drop forged closed eye bolt through a hole drilled in the center of the I-beam web or other approved methods.  The
web shall be reinforced if necessary to maintain the I-beam strength. 

Cable ends shall be secured with at least three U-bolt type cable clamps with the U portion of the clamp installed on the short
(dead) end of the cable to assure ensure strength at least equal to that required by subpart 6. 

1350.2900 GROUND ANCHORS.  

Subpart 1.  Placement and purpose. Ground anchors, including means for attaching ties, shall be located to effectively match
the anchoring system instructions provided by the manufactured home manufacturer, or, if there are no instructions, in accordance
with the requirements of according to part 1350.2600, and shall be designed and installed to transfer the anchoring loads to the
ground

[For text of subps 2 and 3, see M.R.]

Subp. 4.  Information on ground anchor.  Each ground anchor shall have the manufacturerÕs identification and listed model
identification number marked thereon so that the number is visible after installation.  Instructions shall accompany each listed
ground anchor specifying the types of soil for which the anchor is suitable under the requirements of subpart 2.  

Subp. 5.  Table of soil types.  NOTE:  The following data gives information relative to soil types with blow counts and torque
values:  

Types of Soils Blow Count Test Probe1

(ASTM D1586) Torque Value2

Sound hard rock NA NA
Very dense and/or cemented more

sands, course gravel than
and cobbles, preloaded silts, 500
clays, and corals 40-up lbs. inch

Medium dense coarse sands, 350-549
sandy gravels, very stiff lbs.
silts and clays 24-39 inch

Loose to medium dense sands, 200-349
firm to stiff clays and silts, lbs.
aluvian alluvial fill 14-233 inch

1 The test probe is a device for measuring the torque value of soils to assist in evaluating the holding capability of the soils in
which the anchor is placed.  The test probe has a helix on it.  The overall length of the helical section is 10.75 inches; the major
diameter is 1.25 inches; the minor diameter is 0.81 inches; the pitch is 1.75 inches.  The shaft must be of suitable length for anchor
depth.  

2 A measure synonymous with moment of a force when distributed around the shaft of the test probe.
3 Below these values, a professional engineer should be consulted.  

Subp. 6.  Use of concrete slabs or continuous footings. If concrete slabs or continuous footings are used to transfer the anchor-
ing loads to the ground, the following shall be required:  

A.  Steel rods cast in concrete shall be capable of resisting loads as specified in subpart 2.  

B.  Dead-man concrete anchors may be used in place of listed anchors if they meet the requirements of subpart 2. 

C.  Concrete slabs may be used in place of ground anchors provided the slab is so constructed that it provides holding strength
equal to the requirements of subpart 2, and is designed by a registered engineer.
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[For text of subp 7, see M.R.]

1350.3200 NUMBER OF TIES REQUIRED. 

Number of Ties Required Per Side of Single Wide1 Mobile Manufactured Homes2. 

This table is based on a minimum working load per anchor of 3,150 pounds with a 50 percent overload (4,725 pounds total). 

1 2 3 4 5
Alternate Method4

Length of No. of No. of No. of No. of
Mobile Manu- Vertical Diagonal Baling Diagonal
factured Home3 Ties Ties5 Straps Ties6

(Feet)

up to 40 2 3 2 3
40-46 2 3 2 3
46-49 2 3 2 3
49-54 2 3 2 3
54-58 2 4 2 4
58-64 2 4 2 4
64-70 2 4 2 5
70-73 2 4 2 5
73-84 2 5 2 5

1 Double-wide mobile manufactured homes require only the diagonal ties specified in column 3, and these shall be placed along
the outer side walls. 

2 Except when the anchoring system is designed and approved by a registered professional engineer or architect.
3 Length of mobile manufactured home (as used in this table) means length excluding draw bar.
4 Alternate method.  When this method is used, an approved reinforcement means shall be provided.  If baling is used to accom-

plish this reinforcement, the provisions of part 1350.2600, subpart 2, item F shall apply, applies.
5 Diagonal ties in this method shall deviate at least 40 degrees from vertical.  
6 Diagonal ties in this method shall be 45 degrees + 5 degrees from vertical and shall be attached to the nearest main frame

member. 

1350.3400 UTILITY CONNECTIONS.  

Subpart 1.  Water connections. Water piping to manufactured homes shall be in compliance comply with the 1979 Minnesota
Plumbing Code, parts 4715.0200 to 4715.6000 of the Department of Health chapter 4715. Pipes shall be protected from freezing.
A Heat tape, when installed, shall be listed and installed in conformance with its listing and the manufacturerÕs instructions.  When
the manufactured home is installed on a support system subject to ground movement due to freezing and thawing, approved flexible
connectors or semirigid copper tubing shall be used to prevent pipe breakage.  

Subp. 2.  Sewer connections. Waste piping to manufactured homes shall be in compliance comply with the 1979 Minnesota
Plumbing Code, parts 4715.0200 to 4715.6000 of the Department of Health chapter 4715. When a manufactured home is installed
on a support system subject to ground movement due to freezing and thawing, offsets or approved flexible connectors, or both, shall
be used to prevent pipe breakage.

Subp. 3.  Gas piping. Gas piping to the manufactured home shall be of adequate capacity rating to supply the connected load.  It
shall be installed in compliance with the Minnesota Heating, Ventilating, Air Conditioning, and Refrigeration Code, chapter 1345
of the Department of Administration State Mechanical Code, chapter 1346. When the manufactured home is installed on a support
system subject to ground movement because of freezing and thawing, semirigid copper pipe or a listed manufactured home gas con-
nector for exterior use only shall be installed to prevent pipe breakage.  Gas piping shall be protected from physical damage.
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[For text of subps 4 and 5, see M.R.]

1350.3500 OBTAINING APPROVAL OF QUALITY CONTROL. 

Subpart 1.  Procedure. To obtain quality control approval for a an accessory structure manufacturing facility, a manufacturer
shall submit a quality control manual pursuant to subpart 2, item A, and consent to investigations and inspections at reasonable
hours by the commissioner for field verification of satisfactory quality control.  

Subp. 2.  Applications. Applications for approval of quality control manuals shall contain the following:

A.  an application in letter form to be accompanied by two copies of the quality control manual containing those items
required by item B; and 

B.  an outline of the procedure which will direct the manufacturer to construct mobile homes in accordance with accessory
structures according to the approved plans specifying: 

(1) scope and purpose; 

(2) receiving inspection procedure for basic materials; 

(3) material storage and stock rotation procedures; 

(4) types and frequency of product inspection; 

(5) sample of inspection control form used; 

(6) major pieces of production equipment; 

(7) assignments, experience, and qualifications of quality control personnel; 

(8) test equipment; 

(9) control of drawings and material specifications; 

(10) test procedures; and 

(11) recordkeeping procedures.  

[For text of subp 3, see M.R.]

1350.3800 CONSTRUCTION ALTERATIONS. 

Subpart 1.  Effect on seal or label. Any alteration of the construction, plumbing, heating, cooling, or fuel-burning system, elec-
trical equipment or installations or fire safety in a manufactured home which bears a seal or label shall void such the approval, and
the seal or label shall be returned to the commissioner. 

[For text of subps 2 to 6, see M.R.]

1350.4100 SCOPE.  

Parts 1350.3900 to 1350.5700 set out the procedures to be followed by manufacturers, production inspection primary inspection
agencies, and the commissioner to assure that manufacturers provide notification and correction with respect to their manufactured
homes as required by the act.  Parts 1350.3900 to 1350.5700 set out the rights of dealers under United States Code, title 42, section
5412 (1976), as amended through March 15, 1982 and its amendments, to obtain remedies from manufacturers in certain circum-
stances. 

1350.4500 NOTIFICATION PURSUANT TO MANUFACTURERÕS DETERMINATION. 

[For text of subpart 1, see M.R.]

Subp. 2.  Investigations and inspections.  Whenever the manufacturer receives from any source information that may indicate
the existence of a problem in a manufactured home for which the manufacturer is responsible for providing notification under
subpart 1, the manufacturer shall, as soon as possible, but not later than 20 days after receiving the information, carry out any nec-
essary investigations and inspections to determine and shall determine whether the manufacturer is responsible for providing notifi-
cation under subpart 1.  The manufacturer shall maintain complete records of all such information and determinations in a form that
will allow the commissioner to discern readily who made the determination with respect to a particular piece of information, what
the determination was, and the basis for the determination.  The records shall be kept for a minimum of five years from the date the
manufacturer received the information.  Consumer complaints or other information indicating the possible existence of noncompli-
ances or defects received before August 16, 1982, shall, for purposes of this paragraph subpart, be deemed to have been received
August 16, 1982.  

[For text of subps 3 to 5, see M.R.]
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Subp. 6.  Action before plan approval. The manufacturer may act before obtaining approval of the plan.  However, such action
is subject to review and disapproval by the commissioner except to the extent that agreement to the correction is obtained as
described in this subpart.  To be assured ensure that the corrective action will be accepted, the manufacturer may obtain the agree-
ment of the commissioner that the corrective action is adequate before the correction is made regardless of whether a plan has been
submitted under subpart 4.  If such an agreement is obtained, the correction shall be accepted as adequate by the commissioner if the
correction is made as agreed to and any imminent safety hazard or serious defect is eliminated.  

[For text of subps 7 and 8, see M.R.]

1350.4600 RESPONSIBILITIES OF COMMISSIONER.

Subpart 1.  Consumer complaints. The commissioner shall oversee the handling of consumer complaints by manufacturers
within this state.  As part of that responsibility, the commissioner shall monitor manufacturer compliance with parts 1350.3800
1350.3900 to 1350.5700, and particularly with part 1350.4500.  This monitoring will be done primarily by periodically checking the
records that manufacturers are required to keep under part 1350.4500, subpart 2. 

[For text of subps 2 and 3, see M.R.] 

1350.4900 REIMBURSEMENT FOR PRIOR CORRECTION BY OWNER.  

A manufacturer that is required to correct under part 1350.4700 or who decides to correct and obtain a waiver under part
1350.4500, subpart 7, or part 1350.4800, subpart 5, shall provide reimbursement for reasonable cost of correction to any owner of
an affected manufactured home who chooses to make the correction before the manufacturer does. 

1350.5300 COMPLETION OF REMEDIAL ACTIONS AND REPORT.  

Subpart 1.  Notification. Where a manufacturer is required to provide notification under part 1350.3800 1350.3900 to
1350.5700, the manufacturer shall maintain in its files for five years from the date the notification campaign is completed a copy of
the notice sent and a complete list of the names and addresses of those persons notified.  The files shall be organized so that each
notification and correction campaign can be readily identified and reviewed by the commissioner.  

[For text of subp 2, see M.R.]

Subp. 3.  Additional notifications or corrections. If any actions taken under parts 1350.3800 1350.3900 to 1350.5700 are not
adequate under the approved plan or an order of the commissioner, the manufacturer may be required to provide additional notifica-
tions or corrections to satisfy the plan or order.  

Subp. 4.  Report. The manufacturer shall, within 30 days after the deadline for completing any notifications and required correc-
tions, under an approved plan or under an order of the commissioner, or any corrections required to obtain a waiver under part
1350.4500, subpart 7, or part 1350.4800, subpart 5, provide a complete report of the action taken to the commissioner who
approved the plan under part 1350.4500, subpart 4, granted the waiver, or issued the order under part 1350.4800, subpart 3, and to
any other state administrative agency or the secretary that forwarded a relevant complaint or information to the manufacturer under
part 1350.4400. 

1350.5500 MANUFACTURED HOMES IN THE HANDS OF DEALERS AND DISTRIBUTORS.  

Subpart 1.  Responsibility of manufacturer. The manufacturer is responsible for correcting any failures to conform and immi-
nent safety hazards which exist in manufactured homes which have been sold or otherwise released to a distributor or dealer but
which have not yet been sold to a purchaser.  Generally this responsibility does not extend to failures to conform or imminent safety
hazards that result solely from transit damages that occur after the manufactured home leaves the control of the manufacturer when
the home is released by the manufacturer.  This part 1350.5500 sets out the procedures to be followed by dealers and distributors for
handling manufactured homes in these cases.  Regardless of whether the manufacturer is responsible for repairing a manufactured
home, no dealer or distributor may sell a manufactured home if it contains a failure to conform or an imminent safety hazard.  

Subp. 2.  Notification and record. Whenever a dealer or distributor finds a problem in a manufactured home which the manu-
facturer is responsible for correcting, the dealer or distributor shall contact the manufacturer, provide full information concerning
the problem, and request appropriate action by the manufacturer in accord with subpart 4.  Where the manufacturer agrees to
correct, the manufacturer shall maintain a complete record of its actions.  Where the manufacturer authorizes the dealer to make the
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necessary corrections on a reimbursable basis, the dealer or distributor shall maintain and submit a complete record of its actions to
the manufacturer.

[For text of subp 3, see M.R.] 

Subp. 4.  ManufacturerÕs option. Upon a final determination by the commissioner under part 1350.4800, or upon a determina-
tion by the secretary or a court of competent jurisdiction that a manufactured home fails to conform to the standard or contains an
imminent safety hazard after the manufactured home is sold or otherwise released by a manufacturer to a distributor or a dealer and
prior to the sale of the manufactured home by the distributor or dealer to a purchaser, the manufacturer shall have the option to
either: 

[For text of item A, see M.R.] 

B.  immediately repurchase, at the manufacturerÕs expense, the manufactured home from the distributor or dealer at the price
paid by the distributor or dealer, plus all transportation charges involved and a reasonable reimbursement of not less than one
percent per month of the price paid prorated from the date of receipt by certified mail of notice of the imminent safety hazard,
serious defect, defect, or noncompliance to the distributor.  The value of the reasonable reimbursements shall be fixed by mutual
agreement of the parties or by a court in an action brought under section 613(b) of the act.  

This part does not apply to any manufactured home purchased by a dealer or distributor which has been leased by the dealer or
distributor to a tenant for purposes other than resale.  In that instance the dealer or distributor has the remedies available to a pur-
chaser under parts 1350.3800 1350.3900 to 1350.5700. 

1350.5800 RECIPROCITY.

Upon a showing that another state provides for the sealing of mobile manufactured homes upon compliance with standards which
are at least equal to those provided in the code, the commissioner may provide that a construction seal affixed under the authority of
such the state shall have the same effect as a seal affixed under authority of this state, and thereafter any mobile manufactured home
which bears the seal of such state shall not be required to bear the seal of this state as provided in part 1350.0400.  The commis-
sioner may make such reciprocity contingent upon such other granting reciprocal effect to seals affixed under authority of this state.
Pursuant to the provisions of this part the commissioner has established reciprocity with the following states which have granted
reciprocity to the state of Minnesota: state of Indiana, state of Illinois, and state of Wisconsin.  This reciprocity applies to manufac-
tured homes manufactured after July 1, 1972, and prior to June 14, 1976.

1350.5900 APPEALS.  

Any person aggrieved by application of these parts 1350.3900 to 1350.5700 may, within 30 days of the time when the grievance
arose, appeal to the commissioner.  Upon receipt of a timely appeal and the submission of the appropriate fee pursuant to part
1350.6600 by appellant, the commissioner shall review the matter de novo and submit written findings to appellant. 

1350.6300 HEARINGS.  

Whenever the commissioner determines that a formal hearing is necessary in order to resolve the presentation of adversary views
on matters governed by these rules parts 1350.0100 to 1350.9200, such the hearing shall be conducted in accordance with the
applicable provisions of according to Minnesota Statutes, chapter 14, governing contested case hearings and applicable provisions
of the administrative rules of the Office of Administrative Hearings. 

1350.6400 FORM AND REMITTANCE OF FEES.  

All remittances shall be in the form of checks or money orders payable to ÒMinnesota State TreasurerÓ; and addressed to: State of
Minnesota Building Codes and Standards Division, 408 Metro Square Building, Seventh and Robert Streets 121 Seventh Place
East, Suite 408, Saint Paul, Minnesota 55101. 

1350.6500 FEES FOR ACCESSORY STRUCTURE SEALS, REPLACEMENT CONSTRUCTION COMPLIANCE
SEALS, CERTIFICATES, AND LABELS.  

Subpart 1.  Construction seal fees. Replacement manufactured home and or accessory structure construction seal fees are $5
$30 per seal.  Fees include certificates.

Subp. 2.  Installation seal fees. Manufactured home installation seal fees are $6 $8 for a support/utility seal and $4 $8 for an
anchoring system seal.  Fees include certificates.

Subp. 3.  Construction compliance Temporary installation certificate fee. The manufactured home and accessory structure
construction compliance certificate fee is $10. A temporary installation certificate fee is $2 per certificate.

Subp. 4.  Label fee. The United States Department of Housing and Urban Development monitoring (label) fee is $19 per label.
The United States Department of Housing and Urban Development monitoring (label) fee shall be paid by the manufacturer to the
secretary. 
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Subp. 5. Seal order shipping and handling fee. The shipping and handling fee for each order of seals is current postage rate
plus a $3 handling fee.

1350.6600 APPEAL FEE.  

The appeal fee is $20 fees are as stated in Minnesota Statutes, section 16B.67.

1350.6700 ANNUAL REGISTRATION FEES REQUIREMENT.

An installer shall pay a registration fee of $20 annually.  The fee is due January 1 of each year provide a copy (proof) of a manu-
factured home installerÕs annual license issued by the Department of Commerce prior to obtaining installation certificates and seals
under parts 1350.0600, subpart 2, and 1350.6500, subpart 2. 

1350.6800 OTHER FEES.  

For all other work performed by the Department of Administration such as including, but not limited to, the review of plans, spec-
ifications, and independent agency reports, and quality control evaluation, a fee of $25 per department employee-hour as specified
under part 1302.0600, subpart 1, item B, shall be charged. 

LICENSING OF MANUFACTURERS, DEALERS, LIMITED DEALERS, 

AND DEALERSÕ SUBAGENCIES

1350.7000 AUTHORITY.

Parts 1350.7000 to 1350.9200 are adopted by the commissioner pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 327B.10, to implement
and administer the provisions of Minnesota Statutes, sections 327B.01 to 327B.12, relating to the licensing of manufactured home
manufacturers, dealers, limited dealers, and dealersÕ subagencies. 

1350.7100 DEFINITIONS. 

Subpart 1.  Scope. The terms used in parts 1350.7000 to 1350.9200 have the meanings given them in this rule part and in
Minnesota Statutes, section 327B.01.  

Subp. 2.  Applicant. ÒApplicantÓ means a person who is applying for a manufactured home manufacturer or dealer license or
limited dealer license.

Subp. 3.  Commissioner. ÒCommissionerÓ means the commissioner of administration has the meaning given it in part
1350.0100, subpart 12.

Subp. 3a. Disclosure statement. ÒDisclosure statementÓ means a written report revealing information about the manufactured
home and its installations.  Disclosure statements include, but are not limited to, safety feature disclosure forms, installation state-
ments, and formaldehyde use disclosure statements.

Subp. 4.  Distributor. ÒDistributorÓ means a manufacturer has the meaning given it in part 1350.0100, subpart 19.

Subp. 5. Length of a manufactured home. ÒLength of a manufactured homeÓ means its largest overall length in the traveling
mode, including cabinets and other projections which contain interior space.  Length does not include bay windows, roof projec-
tions, overhangs, or eaves under which there is no interior space, or drawbars, couplings, or hitches has the meaning given it in part
1350.0100, subpart 34.

[For text of subps 6 and 7, see M.R.] 

Subp. 7a. Manufactured home park. ÒManufactured home parkÓ means a licensed manufactured home park as required in
Minnesota Statutes, section 327.15, and defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 327.14.

Subp. 8.  Width of a manufactured home. ÒWidth of a manufactured homeÓ means its largest overall width in the traveling
mode, including cabinets and other projections which contain interior space.  Width does not include bay windows, roof projec-
tions, overhangs, or eaves under which there is no interior space has the meaning given it in part 1350.0100, subpart 60.

1350.7200 LICENSE APPLICATION. 

Subpart 1. Forms; requirements. An applicant shall apply for a manufacturer, dealer, limited dealer, or dealer subagency
license on forms furnished by the commissioner and shall comply with the requirements in Minnesota Statutes, section 327B.04.
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[For text of subp 2, see M.R.] 

Subp. 3.  Fee. An applicant shall submit, with the application required in A., the required fee set established in part 1350.8300,
item A.

[For text of subp 4, see M.R.] 

1350.7205 LIMITED LICENSE APPLICATION. 

Subpart 1. Forms, requirements. An applicant shall apply for a limited dealer license on forms furnished by the commissioner
and shall comply with the applicable requirements of Minnesota Statutes, section 327B.04.

Subp. 2. Required information. The kinds of information listed in this subpart satisfy the related requirements in Minnesota
Statutes, section 327B.04, subdivision 8.  An application for a limited dealerÕs license must contain the information in items A to H. 

A.  A photocopy of the applicantÕs valid driverÕs license clearly showing the applicantÕs signature and photograph, or, if the
applicant has no current driverÕs license, some other form of identification showing a photograph and the signature of the applicant. 

B.  A photocopy of the manufactured home parkÕs valid license.

C.  The names, home and business addresses, and telephone numbers of the applicant, officers, limited and general partners,
controlling shareholders, and affiliates.

D.  The signature of the applicant verified under oath.

E.  The original copy of the surety bond required by Minnesota Statutes, section 327B.04, subdivision 8, on a form furnished
by the commissioner of administration.

F.  A statement stipulating the type of business in which the applicant has previously been involved, whether directly or indi-
rectly, for the past five years by company name, address, directors, officers, limited or general partners, controlling shareholders, or
affiliated and current business status.

G.  A statement indicating whether the applicant, or any of its directors, officers, limited or general partners, controlling share-
holders, or affiliates, has been convicted of a crime in the past ten years that related directly to the licensed manufactured home park
for which the limited license is sought, or involved fraud, misrepresentation, or misuse of funds, or has suffered a judgment in a
civil action involving fraud, misrepresentation, or coercion, or has had any government license or permit suspended or revoked as a
result of an action brought by a federal, state, or municipal agency in this or any other state in the past five years.

H.  The applicant for limited license shall submit a current photograph which accurately depicts the principal place of busi-
ness.

Subp. 3. Fees.  An applicant shall submit, with the application, the required fee established in part 1350.8300, item D.

Subp. 4. Copy of applicantÕs records.  An applicant shall copy the complete application, bond, and any revision as submitted to
the commissioner and shall keep the copies on file at all times at the applicantÕs licensed limited dealer manufactured home park
office.

1350.7300 ESTABLISHED PLACE OF BUSINESS. 

Subpart 1.  Proof required. The commissioner shall not grant a dealer license or limited dealer license until the applicant has
furnished the commissioner with proof that the applicant has an established place of business, as required by Minnesota Statutes,
section 327B.04, subdivision 4, and that the requirements in subparts 2 to 7 have been met. 

Subp. 2.  Building or office space. An applicant for a dealer license or limited dealer license must have a permanent enclosed
building, other than a residence, or a commercial office space for the principal place of business and for each subagency location.

A manufactured home, other than a residence, qualifies as an established place of business if it is set up in a permanent manner, it
is connected to sewer, water, and electricity, it is skirted, it is owned by the applicant, and it is not being offered for or subject to sale
while being used as an office. 

A commercial office space used as a place of business must be self-contained and must have its own entrance to a public corridor
or to the exterior of the building.  The commercial office space must be separated from other areas of the building by floor-to-
ceiling walls.

Subp. 3.  Unimproved sales lots. Unimproved lots and premises may be used for sale and display of manufactured homes if they
are in proximity to the applicantÕs a licensed dealerÕs principal place of business or subagency location so as to avoid confusion or
uncertainty as to their relationship to the business.  A photo or drawing must be submitted to the commissioner clearly indicating the
relationship of the unimproved lot or premises to the business location. 
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Subp. 4.  Unimproved storage lots.  Unimproved lots and premises may be used for storage of manufactured homes.  The appli-
cant licensed dealer shall notify the commissioner of the location of the unimproved lot or premises prior to storage of manufac-
tured homes there. 

Subp. 5.  Photograph. The applicant licensed dealer shall submit a current photograph which accurately depicts the principal
place of business, each subagency location, and unimproved lots to be used for sales and display for which the applicant is request-
ing a license. 

Subp. 6.  Deed, contract, or lease. The applicant licensed dealer shall submit a copy of a valid warranty deed, contract for deed,
or lease for a term of not less than one year for the premises housing the principal place of business and each subagency. 

Subp. 7.  Sole licensed occupant. Only one licensee, as licensed dealer or limited dealer, may own or lease and occupy an estab-
lished place of business or commercial office space.  Two or more licensees may occupy one established place of business if they
are related by means of ownership or are one legal entity. 

1350.7700 POSTING OF LICENSE.  

A current license must be posted at the principal place of business and at each subagency and at each manufactured home park
location in a conspicuous place and clearly visible to all consumer customers.  The posted license must be the license issued for the
specific location at which it is posted.  Only valid licenses may be posted. 

1350.7900 CLOSING OF PRINCIPAL PLACE OF BUSINESS OR SUBAGENCY.  

When a dealer or limited dealer closes a principal place of business or dealer subagency, the dealer or limited dealer must notify
the commissioner and return the appropriate license certificate within 14 days of the closing.

1350.8000 LICENSE RENEWAL.

Subpart 1.  Date of renewal. Licensees must renew their licenses pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 327B.04 and this rule
part. The commissioner shall send out renewal notices by November 15 of the year a license expires.  The renewal must be submit-
ted on forms furnished by the commissioner for principal places of business and subagencies, accompanied by the fee set fees in
part 1350.8300.  License renewal applications must be received by the commissioner no later than December 15 of the year a
license expires.  All licenses expire at midnight, December 31 of the year of expiration.  

Subp. 2. Limited dealer records submittal. At the date of renewal, the limited dealers shall submit photocopies of records for
all manufactured home sales during the licensed period.  Records submitted shall be a minimum of photocopies of title of homes
sold, purchase agreements, safety feature disclosures, finance agreements, contracts for title, option agreements, and other records,
instruments, or documents which are material to the transaction.

1350.8100 LIMITED DEALER AND DEALERÕS RECORDS.  

Subpart 1. Dealer records. A dealer shall retain copies of all records as required by Minnesota Statutes, section 327B.06, subdi-
vision 1.  All records must be retained in one centralized place designated by the dealer.  The dealer shall notify the commissioner
as to the location of the records either at the principal or subagency location.  All records shall be on file at the dealers designated
location within 14 days after the closing of the sales transaction. 

Subp. 2. Limited dealerÕs records. A limited dealer shall retain copies of all records as required by Minnesota Statutes, section
327B.06, subdivision 1.  All records must be retained at the limited dealerÕs licensed place of business.

1350.8300 FEES.  

Fees for licenses and services associated with parts 1350.7000 to 1350.9200 are as follows: 

A.  initial dealer license for principal location, (remainder of calendar year), $100 $200.  Fee is not refundable;

B.  initial dealer license for dealer subagency location, $25 $40.  Fee is not refundable;

C. dealer license biennial renewal, principal location, $200 $400; dealer subagency location, $50 $80.  Subagency license
renewal must coincide with the principal license date;

D.  limited dealer license, $100.  Fee is not refundable;

E.  limited dealer license annual renewal from date of issue, $100;
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D. F.  change of bonding company, $5 $10.  A corrected duplicate license or limited license is required;

E. G. reinstatement of bond after cancellation, $5 notice has been received, $10;

F. H. duplicate license, $5; and or limited license, $10;

G. I. checks returned without payment, $10 $15 and a corrected duplicate license or limited license is required; and

J.  change of address, $10.

1350.8500 NOTICE TO THE COMMISSIONER. 

[For text of subps 1 and 2, see M.R.] 

Subp. 3.  Civil judgment.  A licensee shall notify the commissioner in writing within ten days of any decision of a court regard-
ing a proceeding in which the dealer or limited dealer was named as a defendant, and in which fraud, misrepresentation, or the con-
version of funds was found to have been committed by the licensee. 

Subp. 4.  Disciplinary action in another state. A licensee shall notify the commissioner in writing within ten days of the sus-
pension or revocation of the licenseeÕs manufactured home dealer license or limited dealer or other occupational license issued in
another jurisdiction. 

Subp. 5.  Criminal offense. A dealer or limited dealer shall notify the commissioner in writing within ten days if the dealer or
limited dealer is found guilty of a felony, gross misdemeanor, misdemeanor, or any comparable offense related to manufactured
home sales, improper business practices, fraud, misrepresentation, misuse of funds, or violation of the consumer laws. 

1350.8600 REQUIRED DOCUMENTS.  

A dealer or limited dealer shall furnish to the parties to a transaction at the time the documents are signed or become available,
true and accurate copies of listing agreements, earnest money receipts, purchase agreements, contracts for title, option agreements,
disclosure statements, statement of sale, energy audits, the formaldehyde warning which is required by Minnesota Statutes, section
325F.18, and other records, instruments, or documents which are material to the transaction and which are in the dealerÕs posses-
sion. 

The format of the disclosure statement must conform to that contained in sample forms provided by the commissioner and the
statement must be signed by the dealer or the dealerÕs authorized salesperson, the buyer, and the seller.  A copy of the disclosure
must be kept on file by the dealer.

1350.8700 STANDARDS OF CONDUCT.  

The methods, acts, or practices set forth in part 1350.8800 are standards of conduct governing the activities of a dealer or limited
dealer.  Failure to comply with those standards is a ground for denial, suspension, or revocation of the dealerÕs license. 

1350.8800 RESPONSIBILITIES OF DEALERS AND LIMITED DEALERS. 

Subpart 1.  Supervision of personnel. Dealers or limited dealers shall closely supervise the activities of their salespersons and
employees which are related to the sale of manufactured homes.  Supervision includes the ongoing monitoring of listing agree-
ments, purchase agreements, and other manufactured home documents which are prepared or drafted by the dealerÕs or limited deal-
erÕs salespersons or employees or which are otherwise received by the dealerÕs or limited dealerÕs office, and the review of all deal-
erÕs trust account books and records. 

Subp. 2.  Preparation and safekeeping of documents. Dealers or limited dealers are responsible for the preparation, custody,
safety, and accuracy of all manufactured home contracts, documents, and records, even though another person may be assigned
these duties by the dealer or limited dealer.

Subp. 3.  Resolution of complaints. Dealers or limited dealers shall investigate and attempt to resolve complaints made regard-
ing the practices of individuals employed by them. 

Subp. 4.  Supervision of place of business. Each principal place of business and each subagency shall be under the direction and
supervision of a manager.  The dealer or limited dealer shall furnish the commissioner with the name of each manager responsible
for a licensed location.  Designation of a manager does not relieve the dealer or limited dealer of overall responsibility for the
actions of salespersons or the manager. 

1350.8900 DISCLOSURES BY SALESPERSON.  

All dealers or limited dealers shall require their salespersons to conduct business only under the licensed name of and on behalf of
the dealer or limited dealer by whom they are employed or to whom they are under contract and to disclose in every transaction the
name of the dealer or limited dealer by whom they are employed or to whom they are under contract. 
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1350.9000 LENGTH AND WIDTH.  

The length and width of a manufactured home when shown on sales contracts, documents, and records is the length and width to
the nearest foot as defined in part 1350.7100 1350.0100, except on an application or permit to transport a manufactured home if the
total length of the manufactured home is required to include drawbars, couplings, or hitches.  Room additions must be noted and
measured separately. 

1350.9100 DISCLOSURE.  

If a manufactured home being sold is located in a manufactured home park, the dealer or limited dealer, prior to the buyerÕs
signing of the purchase agreement, shall obtain a written statement signed by the buyer acknowledging the dealerÕs or limited deal-
erÕs disclosure of the contents of Minnesota Statutes, section 327C.07, subdivision 1, regarding in-park sales of manufactured
homes. 

1350.9200 ENFORCEMENT.  

The commissioner shall administer and enforce parts 1350.7000 to 1350.9200.  Any authorized representative of the commis-
sioner may at any reasonable time enter the premises where manufactured homes are manufactured, or where new or used manufac-
tured homes are sold, solicited, brokered, or advertised for sale, and may examine the manufacturerÕs or dealerÕs or limited dealerÕs
records to the extent necessary to enforce the provisions of parts 1350.7000 1350.0100 to 1350.9200.

REPEALER.  Minnesota Rules, parts 1350.3600; and 1350.3700, are repealed

Minnesota Housing Finance Agency 
Proposed Permanent Rules Relating to Repeal of Rules Governing Disused Single Family

Housing Programs
NOTICE OF INTENT TO  REPEAL  RULES WITHOUT A PUBLIC HEARING
Proposed Repeal of Rules Governing Disused Single Family Housing Programs, Minnesota Rules Chapter 4900,

Minnesota Housing Finance Agency

Introduction. The Minnesota Housing Finance Agency intends to repeal  rules without a public hearing following the proce-
dures set forth in the Administrative Procedure Act, Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.22 to 14.28, and rules of the Office of
Administrative Hearings, Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.2300 to 1400.2310.  You have 30 days to submit written comments on the
proposed repeal of rules and may also submit a written request that a hearing be held on the rules.

Agency Contact Person. Comments or questions on the rules and written requests for a public hearing on the rules must be sub-
mitted to the Agency contact person.  The Agency contact person is:  John Silvis, Minnesota Housing Finance Agency, 400 Sibley
Street, Suite 300, St. Paul, MN 55101, (651)  297-3127.  TTY users may call the Minnesota Housing Finance Agency at (651) 297-
2361.

Subject of Rules and Statutory Authority. The Agency is  repealing  rules governing disused Single Family Housing
Programs, Minnesota Rules Chapter 4900, Minnesota Housing Finance Agency.  Minnesota Statutes, Section 462A.06,
Subdivisions  4 and  11 authorizes the Agency to adopt rules to carry out its programs.  Minnesota Statutes, Section 14.05,  subdivi-
sion 5 authorizes the Agency to repeal obsolete, unnecessary or duplicative rules.   A copy of the proposed repeal of  rules is pub-
lished in the State Register and attached to this notice as mailed.

Comments. You have until 4:30 p.m. on December 15, 1999, to submit written comments in support of or in opposition to the
proposed rules and any part or subpart of the rules.  Your comment must be in writing and received by the Agency contact person by
the due date.  Comments are encouraged.  Your comments should identify the portion of the proposed rules addressed and the
reason for the comment.  You are encouraged to propose any change desired.  Any comments that you would like to make on the
legality of the proposed rules must also be made during this comment period.
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Request for a Hearing.  In addition to submitting comments, you may also request that a hearing be held on the rules.  Your

request for a public hearing must be in writing and must be received by the Agency contact person by 4:30 p.m. on December 15,
1999. Your written request for a public hearing must include your name and address.  You must identify the portion of the proposed
rules to which you object or state that you oppose the entire set of rules.  Any request that does not comply with these requirements
is not valid and cannot be counted by the Agency for determining whether a public hearing must be held.  You are also encouraged
to state the reason for the request and any changes you want made to the proposed rules.

Withdrawal of Requests. If 25 or more persons submit a written request for a hearing, a public hearing will be held unless a suf-
ficient number withdraw their requests in writing.  If enough requests for hearing are withdrawn to reduce the number below 25, the
Agency must give written notice of this to all persons who requested a hearing, explain the actions the Agency took to effect the
withdrawal, and ask for written comments on this action.  If a public hearing is required, the Agency will follow the procedures in
Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.131 to 14.20.

Alternative Format. Upon request, this Notice can be made available in an alternative format, such as large print, Braille, or
cassette tape.  To make such a request, please contact the Agency contact person at the address or telephone number listed above.

Modifications. The proposed rules may be modified as a result of public comment.  The modifications must be supported by
comments and information submitted to the Agency, and the adopted rules may not be substantially different than these proposed
rules.  If the proposed rules affect you in any way, you are encouraged to participate in the rulemaking process.

Statement of Need and Reasonableness. A statement of need and reasonableness is now available from the Agency contact
person.  This statement contains a summary of the justification for the proposed repeal of  rules, including a description of who will
be affected by the proposed rules and an estimate of the probable cost of the proposed rules.  Copies of the statement may be
obtained at the cost of reproduction from the Agency.

Adoption and Review of Rules. If no hearing is required, the Agency may repeal the rules after the  comment period ends.  The
rules and supporting documents will then be submitted to the Office of Administrative Hearings for  legal review.  You may request
to be notified of the date the rules are submitted to the office.  If you want to be so notified, or want to receive a copy of the pro-
posed  rules  to be repealed, or want to register with the Agency to receive notice of future rule proceedings, submit your request to
the Agency contact person listed above.

Dated: 28 October 1999

Katherine G. Hadley, Commissioner

4900.0010 DEFINITIONS.

[For text of subps 1 to 16, see M.R.] 

Subp. 17.  [See repealer.] 

[For text of subps 18 to 22, see M.R.] 

Subp. 23.  Persons and families of low and moderate income. ÒPersons and families of low and moderate incomeÓ means:

A.  With respect to limited-unit mortgage loans pursuant to parts 4900.0310 to 4900.0360 4900.0350, except for loans issued
under parts 4900.0370 and 4900.0380, development cost loans pursuant to parts 4900.0210 to 4900.0240, planning grants pursuant
to parts 4900.0410 and 4900.0420, and American Indian housing loans pursuant to parts 4900.0900 to 4900.1080, which loans and
grants are intended for a limited-unit development, or a dwelling unit in a planned unit development or a condominium, those
persons and families whose adjusted income does not exceed the amounts set forth in the following tables or such lower amount as
shall be required to assure that the interest on obligations of the agency will be exempt from federal income taxation.

[For text of subitems (1) and (2), see M.R.] 

B.  [Repealed, 10 SR 1557]

C.  With respect to multiunit mortgage loans pursuant to parts 4900.0310 to 4900.0360 4900.0350, development cost loans
pursuant to parts 4900.0210 to 4900.0240, planning grants pursuant to parts 4900.0410 and 4900.0420, and American Indian
housing loans pursuant to parts 4900.0900 to 4900.1080, which loans or grants are intended for a multiunit development, those
persons and families whose adjusted income does not exceed the greater of $16,000 or 550 percent of the gross rental for the
dwelling unit to be occupied; provided, however, that the gross rentals for at least 75 percent of the dwelling units in such develop-
ment shall not exceed 120 percent of the fair market rents for the geographical area in which such projects are located, as deter-
mined and adjusted from time to time by the United States Department of Housing and Urban Development; provided further, that
the members may allow higher gross rentals for units in any structure if the members determine that such higher gross rentals are
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necessary because of prevailing levels of construction costs, unusually high or low family incomes, or similar factors relating to
income available for housing or housing costs. 

[For text of items D and E, see M.R.]

F.  With respect to the Housing Preservation Program under parts 4900.2200 to 4900.2270, persons and families whose gross
annual income does not exceed 100 percent of the median family income for the county in which the target area is located, as deter-
mined from time to time by the United States Department of Housing and Urban Development.

G.  With respect to neighborhood preservation home improvement loans pursuant to parts 4900.2300 to 4900.2340, those
persons and families whose gross annual income does not exceed the income limits established by any agency of the federal gov-
ernment with respect to federally subsidized mortgages for low- and moderate-income families.

H. F. With respect to parts 4900.2900 to 4900.2907, those persons whose income is at or below 50 percent of the median
income adjusted for family size of the standard metropolitan statistical area.

REPEALER. Minnesota Rules, parts 4900.0010, subpart 17; 4900.0370; 4900.0380; 4900.0381; 4900.0550; 4900.0560;
4900.0570; 4900.0580; 4900.0581; 4900.0582; 4900.0583; 4900.0584; 4900.0710; 4900.0720; 4900.0730; 4900.0740; 4900.1110;
4900.1120; 4900.1130; 4900.1140; 4900.1150; 4900.1160; 4900.1170; 4900.1180; 4900.1600; 4900.1610; 4900.1620; 4900.1630;
4900.1640; 4900.1650; 4900.2200; 4900.2210; 4900.2220; 4900.2230; 4900.2240; 4900.2250; 4900.2260; 4900.2270; 4900.2300;
4900.2310; 4900.2320; 4900.2330; and 4900.2340, are repealed.

Minnesota Housing Finance Agency 
Proposed Permanent Rules Governing Single-Family Home Loan Aid Grant Programs 
NOTICE OF INTENT TO ADOPT RULES WITHOUT A PUBLIC HEARING
Planned Amendments to Rules Governing Single Family Home Loan and Grant Programs, Minnesota Rules

Chapter 4900, Minnesota Housing Finance Agency

Introduction. The Minnesota Housing Finance Agency intends to adopt rules without a public hearing following the procedures
set forth in the Administrative Procedure Act, Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.22 to 14.28, and rules of the Office of Administrative
Hearings, Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.2300 to 1400.2310.  You have 30 days to submit written comments on the proposed rules
and may also submit a written request that a hearing be held on the rules.

Agency Contact Person. Comments or questions on the rules and written requests for a public hearing on the rules must be submit-
ted to the Agency contact person.  The Agency contact person is:  John Silvis, Minnesota Housing Finance Agency, 400 Sibley Street,
Suite 300, St. Paul, MN 55101, (651) 297-3127.  TTY users may call the Minnesota Housing Finance Agency at (651) 297-2361.

Subject of Rules and Statutory Authority. The Agency is  amending rules that govern Single Family Home Loan and Grant
Programs, Minnesota Rules Chapter 4900.  The statutory authority to adopt  rules is Minnesota Statutes, Section 462A.06,
Subdivisions  4 and 11, which authorizes the Agency to adopt rules to carry out its programs. Minnesota Statutes, Section 14.05,
subdivision 5 authorizes the Agency to repeal obsolete, unnecessary or duplicative rules. A copy of the proposed  amendment to
rules is published in the State Register and attached to this notice as mailed.

Comments. You have until 4:30 p.m. on December 15, 1999, to submit written comments in support of or in opposition to the
proposed rules and any part or subpart of the rules.  Your comment must be in writing and received by the Agency contact person by
the due date.  Comments are encouraged.  Your comments should identify the portion of the proposed rules addressed and the
reason for the comment.  You are encouraged to propose any change desired.  Any comments that you would like to make on the
legality of the proposed rules must also be made during this comment period.

Request for a Hearing. In addition to submitting comments, you may also request that a hearing be held on the rules.  Your
request for a public hearing must be in writing and must be received by the Agency contact person by 4:30 p.m. on December 15,
1999. Your written request for a public hearing must include your name and address.  You must identify the portion of the proposed
rules to which you object or state that you oppose the entire set of rules.  Any request that does not comply with these requirements
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is not valid and cannot be counted by the Agency for determining whether a public hearing must be held.  You are also encouraged
to state the reason for the request and any changes you want made to the proposed rules.

Withdrawal of Requests. If 25 or more persons submit a written request for a hearing, a public hearing will be held unless a suf-
ficient number withdraw their requests in writing.  If enough requests for hearing are withdrawn to reduce the number below 25, the
Agency must give written notice of this to all persons who requested a hearing, explain the actions the Agency took to effect the
withdrawal, and ask for written comments on this action.  If a public hearing is required, the Agency will follow the procedures in
Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.131 to 14.20.

Alternative Format. Upon request, this Notice can be made available in an alternative format, such as large print, Braille, or
cassette tape.  To make such a request, please contact the Agency contact person at the address or telephone number listed above.

Modifications. The proposed rules may be modified as a result of public comment.  The modifications must be supported by
comments and information submitted to the Agency, and the adopted rules may not be substantially different than these proposed
rules.  If the proposed rules affect you in any way, you are encouraged to participate in the rulemaking process.

Statement of Need and Reasonableness. A statement of need and reasonableness is now available from the Agency contact
person.  This statement contains a summary of the justification for the proposed rules, including a description of who will be
affected by the proposed rules and an estimate of the probable cost of the proposed rules.  Copies of the statement may be obtained
at the cost of reproduction from the Agency.

Adoption and Review of Rules. If no hearing is required, the Agency may adopt the rules after the comment period ends.  The
rules and supporting documents will then be submitted to the Office of Administrative Hearings  for legal review.  You may request
to be notified of the date the rules are submitted to the office.  If you want to be so notified, or want to receive a copy of the adopted
rules, or want to register with the Agency to receive notice of future rule proceedings, submit your request to the Agency contact
person listed above.

Dated: 28 October 1999

Katherine G. Hadley, Commissioner

4900.0010 DEFINITIONS.

[For text of subps 1 to 22, see M.R.] 

Subp. 23.  Persons and families of low and moderate income. ÒPersons and families of low and moderate incomeÓ means:

[For text of item A, see M.R.]

B. [Repealed, 10 SR 1557] 

[For text of item C, see M.R.]

D.  With respect to home improvement grants and rehabilitation loans pursuant to parts 4900.0610 to 4900.0700 and accessi-
bility loans pursuant to parts 4900.0750 to 4900.0780 to be made by the agency, those persons and families whose assets do not
exceed $25,000, and 

(1) with respect to home improvement grants and rehabilitation loans defined in part 4900.0610 as deferred loans, those
persons and families whose adjusted income does not exceed $10,000; or

(2) with respect to rehabilitation loans defined in part 4900.0610 as revolving loans and accessibility loans defined in part
4900.0770 as deferred loans, those persons and families whose adjusted income does not exceed $18,000. 

[For text of items E to H, see M.R.] 

4900.0510 ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS FOR APPLICATIONS FOR HOME IMPROVEMENT LOANS. 

Subpart 1.  Interest in property. Each applicant must individually or in the aggregate possess at least a one-third interest in a
fee, or a contract for deed, or a life estate, or a long-term lease of public record in the property to be improved.  All persons who,
individually or collectively, possess the type of ownership upon which the application is based, or whose income is to be included
for the purpose of determining the adjusted income, and spouses of all such persons, except separated spouses who do not live in the
property to be improved, except that all spouses will be required to sign documents that convey an interest in real property, must
join in the application and must execute the loan documents.  However, occupancy of the property by the applicant shall not be
required. 

[For text of subps 2 and 3, see M.R.] 
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Subp. 4.  Structure. The structure to be improved must be at least 90 days old, except when loan proceeds will be used to make
a newly constructed property accessible to a resident with a disability if authorized by law. The structure to be improved must not
be in violation of applicable zoning ordinances or other applicable land use guides.  

Subp. 5.  Property. The property must be used primarily for residential purposes and must not contain more than six dwelling
units.  Mobile homes and Trailers shall not be eligible for home improvement loans. 

Subp. 6.  Use of proceeds. Home improvement loan proceeds must be used to finance only improvements upon or in connection
with existing structures, except when loan proceeds will be used to make a newly constructed property accessible to a resident with
a disability if authorized by law.

[For text of subps 7 to 9, see M.R.] 

4900.0592 ELIGIBLE PROPERTIES. 

The property to be improved by a home energy loan is restricted as follows: 

A.  The property to be improved may not contain more than one dwelling unit two dwelling units.

[For text of item B, see M.R.] 

C.  Not more than 15 percent of the total area of The property to be improved may must be used primarily in a trade or busi-
ness for residential purposes. 

[For text of item D, see M.R.]

4900.0620 RESERVATION OF FUNDS.

Subpart 1.  Request.  For a period of at least 30 days after the agency gives notice that the funds for making rehabilitation grants
or loans are available, the agency shall receive requests for reservation of funds from prospective administering entities.  Requests
for reservation of funds for rehabilitation grants or loans may be made by prospective administering entities to the agency, and shall
contain:  

[For text of items A and B, see M.R.]

C.  evidence satisfactory to the agency of the approval of the plan by the governing body of the political subdivision within
which the plan is to be administered;

D. the specific funding amount requested for a period of not more than 24 months and the administrative allowance, if any,
required by the administering entity to defray the expenses of administering the program; 

E. D. other funding sources available to the administering entity for administration and home improvement; and 

F. E. a description of the targeting plan, if any, whereby the administering entity will establish priorities for awarding grant
and loan funds based on an assessment of need within its jurisdiction, in the event that the number of applications exceeds the
number of grants and loans which can be awarded.  The targeting plan, if any, shall be subject to approval by the agency and may
not have the effect of excluding any otherwise eligible applicant from making an application and being considered eligible for a
grant or loan. 

Subp. 2.  Allocation of the funds.  The agency shall allocate the funds available at any time among the several regions, based
upon data assembled by the agency and accurately reflecting housing needs and related factors.  The agency shall submit its pro-
posed allocation of funds to the applicable regional development commission, including the Metropolitan Council, and shall con-
sider the comments and recommendations of the commissions with respect to the extent to which the proposed allocation assists in
satisfying the housing needs for the region.

4900.0630 ELIGIBLE RECIPIENTS OF REHABILITATION GRANTS AND LOANS.

[For text of subps 1 and 2, see M.R.] 

Subp. 3.  Person of low and moderate income. Each recipient must be a person or family of low and or moderate income as
defined in part 4900.0010, subpart 23, item D, subitem (2). ÒLow or moderate incomeÓ is defined as income not to exceed the
greater of state or area median income.
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Subp. 4.  Deferred loan assets. ÒAssetsÓ for purposes of deferred loans described in parts 4900.0610 to 4900.0700 is the sum of

the following, after deducting any outstanding indebtedness:  

[For text of items A and B, see M.R.] 

C.  market value of all interests in real estate, exclusive of the structure to be improved and a parcel of real property of not
more than two contiguous platted lots or 160 continuous acres on which such structure is located; 

D.  cash value of life insurance policies; and 

E.  all other property, exclusive of household furnishings, clothing, and one automobile, and real estate, equipment, supplies,
and inventory used in a business.

[For text of subps 5 to 7, see M.R.] 

4900.0640 AMOUNT OF GRANT OR LOAN. 

[For text of subpart 1, see M.R.] 

Subp. 2.  Amount of loan. The amount of the rehabilitation loan shall not exceed the lesser of $12,000 the amount allowed under
statute, the actual cost of the work performed, or that portion of the cost of rehabilitation that the agency determines cannot other-
wise be paid by the person or family without spending an unreasonable portion of the income of the person or family thereon. 

4900.0650 RESPONSIBILITIES OF ADMINISTERING ENTITY. 

The administering entity shall have the following responsibilities. 

The administering entity shall have full responsibility for program implementation including public information, reviewing and
screening applicants, choosing recipients, and certifying that the rehabilitation work is satisfactorily completed.

The administering entity shall make on-site inspections of the properties to be improved before such application is approved and
after work has been completed.  

The administering entity shall not charge an applicant or recipient any application, processing, or other fee.  

The administering entity may, with the prior written consent of the agency, allocate part of its total funding, to defray a portion of
the administrative costs of the program, to the extent that other sources are not available.  It shall be the responsibility of the admin-
istering entity to bear is responsible for all administrative costs, including, but not limited to, salaries and office rental, automobile
and telephone expenses, and the costs of counseling or technical assistance.  The administrative allowance, if any, shall be distrib-
uted by the agency according to a budget submitted by the administering entity and approved by the agency.  Disbursements of the
administrative allowance shall be contingent upon the agencyÕs review and approval of the satisfactory progress of the program.
The agency may allocate part of its total funding to defray a portion of the administrative allowance.

4900.0770 DISTRIBUTION OF ACCESSIBILITY DEFERRED LOANS. 

[For text of subps 1 and 2, see M.R.] 

Subp. 3.  Limit on aid. In no case shall the accessibility deferred loan for accessibility improvements, technical assistance, and
related repairs inclusively exceed $10,000 for a single structure the lesser of the amount allowed under statute, the actual cost of
work performed, or that portion of the cost of rehabilitation that the agency determines cannot otherwise be paid by the person or
family without spending an unreasonable portion of the income of the person or family thereon. 

Subp. 4.  Five-year Ten-year limitation. No property shall be eligible for an accessibility deferred loan if it has been improved
through such assistance within the five-year ten-year period next preceding the date on which the application for such assistance is
made, except in extraordinary circumstances relating to damage to the property as a result of events beyond the control of the recip-
ient, or a significant change in the handicapped personÕs physical condition which requires additional accessibility improvements to
enable the handicapped person to function in the property. 

4900.0780 REPAYMENT. 

The recipient of a deferred loan shall enter into an agreement with the agency for repayment of the loan.  The recipient shall repay
the entire amount of the deferred loan only in the event the property upon which the improvement is located is sold, transferred, or
otherwise conveyed, or ceases to be the recipientÕs principal place of residence, within five ten years after the date upon which the
application for an accessibility deferred loan was approved.  The agreement for the repayment of the loan shall be secured by a lien
for the benefit of the agency on the property improved. 

4900.1315 DEFINITIONS. 

[For text of subps 1 and 2, see M.R.] 
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Subp. 2a. At-risk homebuyer. ÒAt-risk homebuyerÓ means an individual or family who is homeless, receiving public assis-
tance, or would otherwise be unable to afford homeownership through sources other than the program pursuant to criteria or stan-
dards established by an eligible organization and accepted by the agency.

[For text of subps 3 to 9, see M.R.] 

4900.1331 HOMEOWNERSHIP ASSISTANCE FUND.

Subpart 1.  Purpose of program.  The homeownership assistance fund is established to assist persons and families of low and
moderate income as specified in part 4900.1345, subpart 2, in the purchase of affordable housing according to parts 4900.1300 to
4900.1390.  Toward this end, the agency may provide assistance directly to home buyers, may use funds to provide additional secu-
rity for eligible loans, may provide administrative fees to entities assisting at-risk home buyers in achieving homeownership
through the homeownership assistance fund, and may provide additional security for bonds issued by the agency. 

[For text of subp 2, see M.R.] 

Subp. 3.  Fund recapture. Homeownership assistance The agency must provide for a reasonable likelihood of recapturing the
homeownership assistance money for later use except fees as provided for under part 4900.1375, subpart 11. Homeownership
assistance fund money under part 4900.1375, subparts 2 to 9, must be secured by a lien on the property being purchased with an
appropriate repayment provision. 

Subp. 4.  Default.  A homeownership assistance fund loan under part 4900.1375, subparts 2 to 8 11, is in default if the recipient
defaults in the timely observance and performance of a condition or covenant of the first mortgage loan or of the homeownership
assistance fund loan, or sells, assigns, rents, or transfers the property, whether by deed, contract for deed, or otherwise.  A transfer
of the property to a surviving joint tenant, if any, by reason of the death of the recipient does not constitute a default. 

In the event of default, the homeownership assistance fund loan is immediately due and payable in its entirety, at the option of the
agency, and is subject to interest from the date of default until the date of payment at the same rate of interest as the first mortgage
loan on the property. 

4900.1345 RECIPIENTS HOMEOWNERSHIP ASSISTANCE FUND. 

Subp. 2.  Income limits. The adjusted total unadjusted household income of recipients of homeownership assistance fund money
must not exceed 115 percent of state or area median income as determined and adjusted from time to time by the United States
Department of Housing and Urban Development.  For purposes of this subpart, adjusted income is as defined in part 4900.0010,
subpart 3.

4900.1375 USE OF HOMEOWNERSHIP ASSISTANCE FUND. 

[For text of subps 1 to 7, see M.R.]

Subp. 8.  Emergency mortgage assistance. The agency may provide interest-free emergency mortgage assistance loans or mort-
gage reinstatement loans for recipients who own and occupy an eligible property and who have been unable to make mortgage pay-
ments due to unemployment, medical reasons, death of a mortgagor, or other valid, substantiated reasons; are at least 60 days
behind in monthly payments on a first or second residential mortgage; and have reasonable prospects for maintaining a first or
second mortgage after receiving such a loan.  Recipients must have established an acceptable credit rating before requesting assis-
tance under this subpart and be ineligible for mortgage assistance from any federal government program.  Loans may provide for
installment of principal, interest, real estate taxes, hazard or flood insurance, mortgage insurance premiums, and homeowners asso-
ciation dues.  A maximum of 24 months of assistance may be provided.

[For text of subps 9 and 10, see M.R.] 

Subp. 11. Administrative Fees. The agency may provide administrative fees to entities assisting homebuyers as part of a larger
program to help at-risk homebuyers achieve homeownership in conjunction with other types of homeownership assistance fund
assistance, as listed in this part.  The fee must not exceed $50,000 per year per administrative entity.

4900.3220 ELIGIBLE PROGRAMS. 

[For text of subpart 1, see M.R.]
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Subp. 2. Borrower income limits. The adjusted income of borrowers receiving mortgage loans under eligible programs may not

exceed the agencyÕs income limits as determined under applicable administrative rule except as provided in this subpart.  For pur-
poses of this subpart, adjusted income is as defined in part 4900.0010, subpart 3. In addition to the borrower income limits in
Minnesota Statutes, section 474A.061, subdivision 2a, paragraph (b), clause (2), the programÕs borrower income limits must not
exceed the maximum allowed for mortgage bonds under federal tax law, including section 143(e) of the Internal Revenue Code of
1986.

In the metropolitan area, adjusted incomes of borrowers receiving mortgage loans under eligible programs may not exceed the
greater of the agencyÕs income limits or 80 percent of the area median income as published by the United States Department of
Housing and Urban Development from time to time.

If the agencyÕs Minnesota Statutes provide for agency income limits and those limits are lowered during the origination period,
cities may use the income limits in effect at the time the bonds were issued for the duration of the origination period.  If the agencyÕs
income limits are raised during the origination period, cities may use the higher income limits for the duration of the origination
period. 

Subp. 3.  House price limits.  House price limits for homes that are security for mortgages under eligible programs may not
exceed: In addition to the house price limits in Minnesota Statutes, section 474A.061, subdivision 2a, paragraph (b), clause (3), the
programÕs house price limits must not exceed the maximum allowed for mortgage bonds under federal tax law, including section
143(e) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986.

A.  the greater of agency house price limits or the median house purchase price in the city for which the bonds are to be sold up
to a maximum of 80 percent of the safe harbor limits for existing housing provided under section 143(e) of the Internal Revenue
Code of 1986, as amended through December 31, 1990; or

B.  for a new construction affordability initiative as described in subpart 4, item D, the greater of 115 percent of the agency
house price limits or 90 percent of the median house purchase price in the city for which the bonds are to be sold up to a maximum
of 80 percent of the safe harbor limitation for existing housing provided under section 143(e) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986
as amended through December 31, 1990. If Minnesota Statutes provides for agency house price limits, house price limits may
exceed the agency house price limits only if a subsidy is used to reduce the effective purchase price of the property to the above
levels.

If the agencyÕs Minnesota Statutes provides for agency house price limits and those limits are lowered during the origination
period, cities may use the house price limits in effect at the time the bonds were issued for the duration of the origination period.  If
the agencyÕs house price limits are raised during the origination period, cities may use the higher house price limits for the duration
of the origination period. 

Cities requesting house price limits higher than the agencyÕs house price limits must include data establishing the median pur-
chase price in the city in the application.  The data may be provided in the form of an independent study conducted by the city which
reflects at least six months of real estate activity pertaining to closed house sales within the city during the previous 12-month
period.  Data may be accumulated from multiple listing services, appraisers or real estate agents, filings pertaining to closed real
estate sales, records from the county auditor pertaining to real estate sales, or other sources that are demonstrated to provide accu-
rate data pertaining to city real estate activity.

Subp. 4.  Limits on new construction in metropolitan area. During the first ten months of an origination period, the agency or
cities may not make mortgage loans for the purchase of newly constructed housing in the metropolitan area unless one of the fol-
lowing conditions is met: New construction is limited by Minnesota Statutes, section 462A.073, and any related rules.

A.  The newly constructed housing is located in a redevelopment area.

B.  The new housing is replacing a structurally substandard structure or structures.

C.  The new housing is located on a parcel purchased by the city or conveyed to the city under Minnesota Statutes, section
282.01, subdivision 1.

D.  The new housing is part of a housing affordability initiative, other than those financed with the proceeds from the sale of
mortgage revenue bonds, in which federal, state, or local assistance is used to substantially improve the terms of financing or to sub-
stantially write down the purchase price of the new housing.  A housing affordability initiative must meet one or more of the fol-
lowing criteria:

(1) The new construction program is accepted or designated under The United States Department of Housing and Urban
Development (HUD) Affordable Housing Program or any successor program sponsored by HUD to encourage affordable, newly
constructed housing.

(2) The program provides that financial resources other than those necessary to complete the mortgage revenue bond sale
are applied to reduce the cost of the housing or improve the terms of the mortgage loans provided through the sale.  A contribution
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greater than or equal to five percent of the purchase price of each newly constructed home to be financed with mortgage revenue
bond proceeds must be provided to meet this criterion.  The contributions may be provided either in whole or in part from federal,
state, or local government resources or programs, private foundations, or the Federal Housing Finance Board.

(3) The program provides that the applicable local government authority in the jurisdiction in which the houses are to be
constructed takes affirmative steps to relax regulation to result in greater housing affordability.  The steps must demonstrably
reduce the cost of the housing by at least five percent.

(4) The program supports the efforts of housing groups that support self-help or owner built housing initiatives in which at
least 15 percent of the labor or materials or both needed to complete the construction of each house is acquired or donated through
the efforts of such groups.

5) The program provides that the housing is constructed by a nonprofit entity as defined in part 4900.0010, subpart 21, that
has a primary purpose the provision or development of affordable housing to low and moderate income homebuyers.

Subp. 5.  [See repealer.] 

Subp. 6.  [See repealer.] 

Subp. 7.  [See repealer.] 

Subp. 8.  [See repealer.] 

4900.3230 APPLICATION FOR MORTGAGE REVENUE BOND AUTHORITY. 

Subpart 1. General. Cities may apply to the agency for mortgage revenue bond authority from the housing pool as provided in
subparts 2 and 3, except that no city in an entitlement county may apply for or be allocated authority to issue bonds from the
housing pool.  Upon application and selection for mortgage revenue bond authority, cities may elect to either issue mortgage
revenue bonds for eligible programs on their own behalf or through joint powers agreements, or have the agency issue bonds on
their behalf.

Subp. 2.  Application period.  In the event that bonding authority is available in the housing pool on the dates prescribed, cities
may submit applications to the agency for single-family mortgage revenue bond authority for eligible programs after April 1
through April 15, and after July 1 through July 15, of each year.

Subp. 3.  Application requirements.  Cities that wish to apply for single-family mortgage revenue bond authority may do so by
providing the information described in this subpart.  The agency may develop a form and format by which the information may be
provided, but also will accept submittals from cities that do not meet the agency developed form and format and meet the require-
ments of this subpart. must submit:

A.  The city may submit a housing plan as described in Minnesota Statutes, section 462C.03, subdivisions 1 and 1a, or may
submit an application on a form developed by the agency which describes the program and demonstrates that the program meets a
locally identified housing need and is economically viable.

B.  The city must provide information which clearly that establishes that the program to be funded with mortgage revenue
bonds meets the requirements of part 4900.3220, subparts 2 to 7. 4, and Minnesota Statutes, section 474A.061, subdivision 2a;

C.  The city must request a specific allocation from the housing pool which may not exceed the lesser of $4,000,000 or 20
percent of the total amount available for allocation on the first Tuesday after the first Monday in April.  The minimum allocation
that may be requested shall be $250,000.

D.  The city must describe, if applicable, the steps it will initiate in nonmetropolitan areas to encourage loans for existing
housing before new housing under the conditions in part 4900.3220, subpart 5.

E.  The city must submit B.  an application deposit by check payable to the Department of Finance equal to one percent of the
requested allocation from the housing pool; and

C.  an application fee as described in Minnesota Statutes, section 474A.03, subdivision 4. 

4900.3250 APPLICANT SELECTION. 

Subpart 1.  Negotiations of allocation Agency developed list. Within a reasonable period after the application periods specified
in part 4900.3230, subpart 2 Minnesota Statutes, section 474A.061, subdivision 2a, but in no circumstances later than 30 days after
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the end of an application period, the agency shall convene a meeting to allocate the available funds from the housing pool.  Before
the meeting, applicants shall designate their representatives to the meeting in writing to the agency.  At the meeting, the agency and
a representative for each applicant shall negotiate the terms of an agreement regarding the available bonding authority among the
applicants.  The agreement must allot available bonding authority among the applicants.  At the meeting, the agency and a represen-
tative for each applicant may discuss matters pertaining to the terms under which the agency would issue bonds on behalf of cities
develop a list specifying the amounts allotted to each application according to Minnesota Statutes, section 474A.061, subdivision
2a, paragraph (b), clause (4).

Subp. 2.  Notification to finance commissioner. Upon the establishment of an agreement with cities, The agency shall forward
a copy of the list to the commissioner of finance the amounts allotted to each applicant under the agreement.  The agency shall also
forward the application fee.  The agreement must specify the amount allotted to each applicant. A copy of the agreement list for-
warded to the commissioner of finance shall be sent to each applicant. 

Subp. 3.  Designation of issuance. Upon the establishment of the agreement list in subpart 1, the city must designate within 15
days of the date of the agreement list whether it plans to issue mortgage revenue bonds on its own behalf or through a joint powers
agreement, or whether it plans to ask the agency to issue mortgage revenue bonds on its behalf.  If the city does not choose to have
the agency issue bonds on its behalf, it shall proceed according to part 4900.3290.  If the city plans to have the agency issue bonds
on its behalf, it shall proceed according to part 4900.3270.

4900.3300 SCOPE. 

Parts 4900.3300 to 4900.3360 4900.3320 govern the financing of new housing under the agencyÕs mortgage revenue bond pro-
grams to finance the purchase of single-family housing as required by Minnesota Statutes, section 462A.073.

4900.3310 DEFINITIONS. 

Subpart 1.  Scope. For the purposes of parts 4900.3300 to 4900.3360 4900.3320, the following terms have the meanings given
them.  Except as defined otherwise in this part, terms defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 462A.073, subdivision 1, have the
meanings given them in Minnesota Statutes, section 462A.073. 

[For text of subps 2 and 3, see M.R.] 

Subp. 4.  [See repealer.] 

Subp. 5.  [See repealer.] 

[For text of subp 6, see M.R]. 

Subp. 7.  [See repealer.]

Subp. 8.  [See repealer.]

[For text of subp 9, see M.R.] 

Subp. 10. [See repealer.]

[For text of subp 11, see M.R.] 

Subp. 12.  [See repealer.] 

4900.3320 LIMITATIONS ON NEW CONSTRUCTION; METROPOLITAN AREA. 

During the first ten months of an origination period, the agency may not make mortgage loans for the purchase of new housing in
the metropolitan area unless one of the conditions in items A to D is met. Minnesota Statutes, section 462A.073, limits new con-
struction in the seven-county Twin Cities metropolitan area.  The statute allows new housing that is part of a housing affordability
initiative that meets one or more of the criteria in items A to F.

A.  The new housing is located in a redevelopment area.

B.  The new housing is replacing a structurally substandard structure or structures.

C.  The new housing is located on a parcel purchased by a city or conveyed to a city under Minnesota Statutes, section 282.01,
subdivision 1.

D.  The new housing is part of a housing affordability initiative, other than those financed with the proceeds from the sale of
mortgage revenue bonds, in which federal, state, or local assistance is used to substantially improve the terms of financing or to sub-
stantially write down the purchase price of the new housing.  A housing affordability initiative must meet one or more of the crite-
ria in subitems (1) to (5).

(1) A.  The program is accepted or designated under the United States Department of Housing and Urban Development
(HUD) Affordable Housing Program or any successor program sponsored by HUD to encourage affordable new housing. 
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(2) B. The program provides that financial resources other than those necessary to complete the mortgage revenue bond sale
are applied to reduce the cost of the housing or improve the terms of the mortgage loans provided through the sale.  A contribution
greater than or equal to five percent of the purchase price of each newly constructed home to be financed with mortgage revenue
bond proceeds must be provided to meet this criterion.  The contribution may be provided either in whole or in part from federal,
state, or local government resources or programs, private foundations, or the Federal Housing Finance Board. 

(3) C. The program provides that the applicable local government authority in the jurisdiction in which the new housing is to
be constructed takes affirmative steps to relax regulation to result in greater housing affordability.  The steps must demonstrably
reduce the cost of the housing by at least five percent. 

(4) D. The program supports the efforts of housing groups that support self-help or owner built housing initiatives in which at
least 15 percent of the labor or materials or both needed to complete the new housing is acquired or donated through the efforts of
such groups. 

(5) E. The program provides that the new housing is constructed by a nonprofit entity as defined in part 4900.0010, subpart
21, that has as a primary purpose the provision or development of affordable housing to low- and moderate-income homebuyers. 

F.  The new housing is located on a parcel purchased by the city or conveyed to the city under Minnesota Statutes, section
282.01, subdivision 1.

REPEALER. Minnesota Rules, parts 4900.3210, subparts 6, 10, 13, 14, and 16; 4900.3220, subparts 5, 6, 7, and 8; 4900.3270,
subpart 1; 4900.3290; 4900.3310, subparts 4, 5, 7, 8, 10, and 12; 4900.3330; 4900.3340; 4900.3350; and 4900.3360, are repealed.

Board of Medical Practice 
Adopted Permanent Rules Relating to Obsolete Rules

The rules proposed and published at State Register, Volume 23, Number 44, pages 2108-2110, May 3, 1999 (23 SR 2108), are
adopted as proposed.

Adopted Rules
A rule becomes effective after the requirements of Minnesota Statutes ¤¤14.05-14.28 have been met and five working days after the rule

is published in the State Register, unless a later date is required by statutes or specified in the rule.

If an adopted rule is identical to its proposed form as previously published, a notice of adoption and a citation to its previous State
Register publication will be printed.

If an adopted rule differs from its proposed form, language which has been deleted will be printed with strikeouts and new language will
be underlined. The ruleÕs previous State Register publication will be cited.

Exempt Rules
An exempt rule adopted under Minnesota Statutes ¤¤ 14.386 or 14.388 is effective upon its publication in the State Register.

Emergency Expedited Rules
Provisions for the Commissioner of Natural Resources to adopt emergency expedited Game and Fish Rules are specified in Minnesota

Statutes ¤¤ 84.027.  The commissioner may adopt emergency expedited rules when conditions exist that do not allow the Commissioner to
comply with the requirements for emergency rules.  The Commissioner must submit the rule to the attorney general for review and must
publish a notice of adoption that includes a copy of the rule and the emergency conditions.  Emergency expedited rules are effective upon
publication in the State Register, and may be effective up to seven days before publication under certain emergency conditions. Emergency
expedited rules are effective for the period stated or up to 18 months.
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Department of Natural Resources 
Adopted Expedited Emergency Game and Fish Rules; Fisher and Pine Marten Limits; Mud-

Bardwell Refuge Goose Hunt 
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the above entitled rule has been adopted through the process prescribed by Minnesota

Statutes, sections 84.027, subdivision 13 (b). The statutory authority for the contents of this rule is Minnesota Statutes, sections
97A.091, 97B.605, 97B.731, and 97B.803.

Dated: 5 November 1999

Allen Garber
Commissioner of Natural Resources

6234.1700 TAKING FISHER.

[For text of subpart 1, see M.R.]

Subp. 2.  Bag limits.  The combined limit for fisher and pine marten is four per season, in aggregate, of which not more than two
may be fisher.  A person may not take more than two fisher per season or possess more than two fisher and not more than four fisher
and marten in aggregate at a time, except that a person may possess additional fisher and marten pelts that the person lawfully took,
tagged, and registered during previous seasons. 

[For text of subps 3 and 4, see M.R.] 

6234.1800 TAKING PINE MARTEN.

[For text of subps 1 and 2, see M.R.] 

Subp. 3.  Bag limits.  The combined limit for fisher and pine marten is four per season, in aggregate, of which not more than two
may be fisher.  A person may not take more than two pine marten per season or possess more than two four pine marten and not
more than four fisher and marten in aggregate at a time, except that a person may possess additional fisher and marten pelts which
the person has lawfully taken, tagged, and registered during previous seasons. 

[For text of subp 4, see M.R.]

6240.1850 GAME REFUGES OPEN TO THE TAKING OF GEESE. 

The following refuges are open to the taking of geese, as specified: 

[For text of items A and B, see M.R.]

C.  The Harstad Slough waterfowl refuge in Stevens county is open to Canada goose hunting during the early September
goose season.  The Mud-Bardwell waterfowl refuge in Martin county is open to Canada goose hunting from November 1 the
Saturday on or nearest November 20 to the end of the regular goose season, except there is no goose hunting within 100 yards of
Mud and Bardwell lakes. 

EFFECTIVE PERIOD. The emergency amendments to Minnesota Rules, parts 6234.1700 and 6234.1800, expire December
31, 1999.  The emergency amendments to Minnesota Rules, part 6240.1850, expire 18 months after adoption.  After the emergency
amendments expire, the permanent rules as they read prior to those amendments again take effect, except as they may be amended
by permanent rule.

Emergency Expedited Rules
Provisions exist for the Commissioners of some state agencies to adopt emergency expedited rules when conditions exist that do not allow the

Commissioner to comply with the requirements for emergency rules.  The Commissioner must submit the rule to the attorney general for review
and must publish a notice of adoption that includes a copy of the rule and the emergency conditions.  Emergency expedited rules are effective upon
publication in the State Register, and may be effective up to seven days before publication under certain emergency conditions.  Emergency
expedited rules are effective for the period stated or up to 18 months.  Specific Minnesota Statutes citations accompanying these emergency
expedited rules detail the agencyÕs rulemaking authority.
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Department of Revenue
Revenue Notice # 99-12:  Sales and Use Tax - Food, Candy and Soft Drinks

This revenue notice revokes and supersedes Revenue Notice # 92-09, which was published on February 18, 1992. It provides
guidance for the application of the sales and use tax to food, candy and soft drinks. 

Food Prepared for Immediate Consumption
Minnesota Statutes, ¤ 297A.01, subdivision 3(c)(3)(ii), provides that food or drinks prepared by a retailer for immediate con-

sumption either on or off the retailerÕs premises are taxable. 

Ò... Ôfood or drinks prepared for immediate consumptionÕ includes any food product upon which an act of
preparation including, but not limited to, cooking, mixing, sandwich making, blending, heating, or pouring has
been performed by the retailer so the food product may be immediately consumed by the purchaser.Ó

Slicing is not considered to be preparation for immediate consumption.  For example, bulk sales of meat and cheese, sliced,
wrapped and sold by the pound, are not taxable.

Single or Individual Servings and Bulk Containers or Bulk Packaging
Minnesota Statutes, ¤ 297A.01, subdivision 3(c)(3)(iii), provides that single or individual servings of ice cream, ice milk, frozen

yogurt products, or frozen novelties are taxable. Minnesota Statutes, ¤ 297A.01, subdivision 3(c)(3)(xi), provides that single or indi-
vidual servings of bakery products sold from concession stands, vehicles, bars, and restaurants are taxable.  ÒSingle or individual
servingsÓ does not include products when sold in bulk containers or bulk packaging. 

ÒBulk containers or bulk packagingÓ means two or more servings that are pre-packaged together for sale.  Individual servings
selected by the customer and put in a bag or container by the seller are not considered bulk packaging.  Bulk containers of ice
cream, ice milk, or yogurt (pints, quarts, half gallons, etc.), or bulk packaging of frozen novelties, and ice cream cakes and pies are
not taxable.

Bakery Products
Regardless of whether sold as single servings or in bulk packaging, bakery products prepared by the retailer for consumption on

the retailerÕs premises, sold at a place that charges admission, or sold from a vending machine are taxable. 

Food Sold from Concession Stands and Vehicles
Minnesota Statutes, ¤ 297A.01, subdivision 3(c)(3)(viii), provides that all food sold for immediate consumption from concession

stands and vehicles is taxable.  Food sold in bulk from concession stands or vehicles would not be considered sold for immediate
consumption and consequently would not be taxable.

Sales of raw food products such as fresh fruit, vegetables and frozen seafood sold from roadside stands, farmersÕ markets and
vehicles are not taxable.

Candy
Minnesota Statutes, ¤297A.01, subdivision 3(c)(3)(v), provides that gum, candy, and candy products are taxable, except when

sold for fundraising purposes by a nonprofit organization that provides educational and social activities primarily for young people
18 years of age and under.

Products that are commonly packaged and sold as candy, including health and diet food products, are subject to sales tax.  Fruit,
nuts, or popcorn which are combined with chocolate, carob, sugar, honey, candy, or other natural or artificial sweeteners are also
considered candy and are subject to sales tax.  Individually wrapped items ordinarily considered to be candy, such as Twix bars, are
taxable whether sold individually or in quantity as candy, or as cookies.

The following are examples of candy subject to sales tax.  Brand names are specified only to illustrate types of items considered
to be candy.  They do not imply that these are the only taxable brands in any category.

¥ breath mints, including sugarless
¥ candy bars
¥ caramel apples
¥ caramel corn
¥ chocolate stars

Revenue Notices
The Department of Revenue began issuing revenue notices in July of 1991. Revenue notices are statements of policy made by the department

that provide interpretation, detail, or supplementary information concerning a particular statute, rule, or departmental practice. The authority to
issue revenue notices is found in Minnesota Statutes ¤ 270.0604.
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¥ chocolate- or carob-covered nuts, raisins, etc.
¥ chocolate-covered insects
¥ cough drops (taxable as health product)
¥ Cracker Jack
¥ Crunch and Munch
¥ Fiddle Faddle
¥ honey-covered nuts
¥ licorice
¥ nature snacks with 50% or more candy
¥ peanut brittle
¥ sugarless candy
¥ throat lozenges (taxable as health product)
¥ yogurt-covered raisins, nuts, etc.

Products that are commonly sold as ingredients for cooking or baking purposes or as a meal substitute, e.g., breakfast bars, are not
candy products and are exempt from tax.  The following are examples of exempt products.  Again, brand names are specified for
illustrative purposes only.

¥ baking chocolate
¥ breakfast bars
¥ cakes
¥ candied fruit for baking
¥ candy cake decorations
¥ cheese popcorn
¥ chocolate or carob chips
¥ chocolate-covered donuts
¥ confectioners bark
¥ cookies
¥ dried fruit snacks
¥ Frito LayÕs peanut butter bars
¥ fruit or pudding roll-ups, fruit pieces
¥ granola bars or clusters
¥ honey-roasted nuts
¥ marshmallows
¥ nature snacks with less than 50% candy
¥ peanuts
¥ pies
¥ Pop-tarts
¥ popcorn (except when prepared by the vendor)
¥ PowerBars
¥ sunflower seeds
¥ sweetened cereals

Food, Diet and Nutritional Products
Appetite suppressants and/or stimulants, or food supplements such as vitamins and minerals, are taxable whether sold in liquid,

capsule, tablet or powder form.

Food substitutes eaten in place of a meal, such as powdered drink mixes, diet bars and soup mixes, are exempt.

Soft Drinks
Minnesota Statutes, ¤ 297A.01, subdivision 3 (c)(3)(iv), provides that soft drinks and other beverages including all carbonated

and noncarbonated beverages or drinks sold in liquid form are taxable, except beverages or drinks which contain milk or milk prod-
ucts, beverages or drinks containing 15 or more percent fruit juice, and noncarbonated and noneffervescent bottled water sold in
individual containers of one-half gallon or more in size. Beverages that are labeled fruit juice when the percentage of fruit juice
content is not specified are exempt.

Soft drinks include all carbonated beverages and all nonalcoholic beverages which contain less than 15 percent fruit juice.  Diet
drinks that meet the definition of soft drinks are taxable.  Beverages that are labeled fruit drink, fruit ade, or fruit nectar, when the
percentage of fruit juice content is not specified, are taxable soft drinks.
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The following are examples of taxable soft drinks and beverages:

¥ carbonated beverages containing less than 15% fruit juice
¥ Gatorade containing less than 15% fruit juice
¥ Hawaiian Punch containing less than 15% fruit juice
¥ Hi-C containing less than 15% fruit juice
¥ near beer (nonalcoholic beer)
¥ sparkling catawba juices containing less than 15% fruit juice
¥ tea and coffee (bottled or canned)
¥ water (carbonated)
¥ water (noncarbonated) when the container size is less than 1/2 gallon

The following packaged items are not taxable unless they are prepared and sold in glasses or cups (eat-in or take-out), or from
vending machines:

¥ apple cider
¥ nonalcoholic cocktail mixes (powdered, liquid, and frozen) such as daiquiri or Manhattan mixes
¥ cocoa mix, cocoa, milk, chocolate flavored beverage containing milk
¥ coffee beans, ground coffee, coffee substitutes
¥ cranberry juice cocktail
¥ frozen juice concentrate
¥ Hawaiian Punch containing 15% or more fruit juice
¥ Kool-Aid (powdered)
¥ drinks made from milk derivatives, powders, and concentrates, either liquid or frozen
¥ fruit juice drinks containing 15% or more of fruit juices
¥ ReaLemon
¥ Roses Lime Juice
¥ Tang or other powdered fruit drinks
¥ tea bags and leaves
¥ vegetable juices
¥ water (noncarbonated) when the container size is 1/2 gallon or larger

The taxability of new products should be determined using the guidelines in this revenue notice.

Dated: 15 November 1999

Jennifer L. Engh
Assistant Commissioner for Tax Policy

Department of Revenue 
Revenue Notice # 99-13:  MinnesotaCare Tax - Examinations for Utilization Reviews,

Insurance, Litigation and Employment
This Revenue Notice addresses a new exemption from the MinnesotaCare tax for examinations for purposes of utilization

reviews, insurance claims or eligibility, litigation, and employment.  It also modifies Revenue Notices # 93-18 and # 94-20 with
regard to services provided for employment purposes. 

Minnesota Statutes, ¤ 295.53, subdivision 1(21), exempts from the MinnesotaCare tax the following payments received by a hos-
pital, surgical center, or health care provider (ÒproviderÓ):  Òpayments received for examinations for purposes of utilization reviews,
insurance claims or eligibility, litigation, and employment, including reviews of medical records for those purposes.Ó  This exemp-
tion is effective for services provided after December 31, 1998.

Following is an explanation of some of the terms used in the exemption:

Examinations: Examinations are procedures or tests that seek information about the existence, nature, or severity of an individu-
alÕs physical or mental impairment, or that seek information regarding an individualÕs physical or psychological health.
Examinations include physical as well as psychological examinations, independent medical exams, X-rays, lab work, and the
review of medical records.

Utilization Reviews: Utilization reviews as defined in Minnesota Statutes, ¤ 62M.02, subdivision 20, mean the evaluation of the
necessity, appropriateness, and efficacy of the use of health care services, procedures, and facilities, by a person or entity acting as a
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utilization review organization, other than the attending health care professional, for the purpose of determining the medical neces-
sity of the service or admission.

Examples of Exempt Services

¥ Review by a person, other than the attending physician, of medical records for utilization review;

¥ A second opinion examination for utilization review;

¥ Review of medical records for purpose of determining continuation of benefits;

¥ Confirmatory consultations required by a third party payor on the necessity or appropriateness of a previously recommended
medical treatment (including but not limited to procedures required to be coded under the following American Medical
Association Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) codes: 99456 and 99271 through 99275 (modifier Ô32Õ));

Insurance Claims Or Eligibility: Examinations for the purpose of obtaining insurance coverage and examinations for the
purpose of determining whether the insured is eligible for benefits are exempt. 

Examples of Exempt Services

¥ Review of medical records for purposes of insurance claims or eligibility;

¥ Life insurance or disability insurance eligibility examinations (including but not limited to the following CPT codes: 99450,
99455, and 99456);

¥ Second opinion examinations when they are required by a third party payor (including but not limited to procedures required
to be coded under the following CPT codes: 99271 through 99275 (modifier Ô32Õ));

¥ Examinations required for any authorizations of a medical procedure;

¥ An independent medical examination for purposes of an auto insurance claim; and

¥ An independent medical examination for purposes of a WorkersÕ Compensation claim. Therapeutic services that are paid for
by WorkersÕ Compensation are taxable.

Employment: Examinations for employment purposes include examinations for obtaining and retaining employment, and exami-
nations for purposes of employment promotions. 

Examples of Exempt Services or Payments

¥ Review of medical records for purposes of employment;

¥ Required school bus driver and truck driver physical examinations;

¥ Pre-employment, or continuing employment physical examinations (including but not limited to procedures required to be
coded under the following CPT codes: 99455, and 99456);

¥ Drug and psychological tests required for employment; and 

¥ Annual employment-related surveillance physicals.

Litigation: Litigation includes civil and criminal proceedings, administrative proceedings and civil commitment hearings.

Examples of Exempt Services

¥ Reviews of medical records for purposes of litigation;

¥ Expert witness preparation for depositions, depositions, testimony and affidavits (including but not limited to procedures
required to be coded under the following CPT codes: 99075);

¥ Examinations ordered by a court; and

¥ Medical record review and examinations conducted by a medical expert in preparation for litigation.

Dated: 15 November 1999

Jennifer L. Engh
Assistant Commissioner for Tax Policy
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Minnesota Auto Theft Prevention Program
Notice of Meeting of the Board of Directors

The Minnesota Auto Theft Prevention Program, will be holding its Board of Directors meeting on the following dates: Thursday,
December 14, 1999; and Thursday, January 13, 2000. Meetings will begin at 9:00 a.m. and will be held at the Minnesota Auto Theft
Prevention Program (MATPP) office located at 1110 Centre Pointe Curve, Suite 405, Mendota Heights, MN (Hwy. 110 and
Lexington Avenue, west of Hwy. 35W (South on the south side of the GNB Technologies Bldg.) Meetings are open to the public.
For more information you may contact the MATPP office at (651) 405-6155.

Minnesota Comprehensive Health Association
Notice of Meeting of the Finance Committee

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that a meeting of the Minnesota Comprehensive Health AssociationÕs (MCHA), Finance
Committee will be held at 1:00 p.m. on Friday, November 19, 1999. The meeting will be at the MCHA Executive Office, 5775
Wayzata Blvd., Suite 910, St. Louis Park.

For additional information, please call Lynn Gruber at (612) 593-9609.

Environmental Quality Board
Power Plant Siting and Transmission Line Routing Program

Notice of Annual Hearing
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Minnesota Environmental Quality Board will hold the annual public hearing on the

Power Plant Siting and Transmission Line Routing Program at 10:00 a.m., Saturday, December 4, 1999 in Conference Room 301 of
the Centennial Office Building, 658 Cedar Street, St. Paul, Minnesota.  Parking is available in the ramp east of the building and the
building may only be entered on the east side of the building.

The annual hearing is intended to afford interested persons an opportunity to be heard regarding any aspects of the Boards activi-
ties, duties, or policies pursuant to the Power Plant Siting Act, Minnesota Statutes 116C.51-.69, or its Power Plant and Transmission
Line Siting Rule, Minnesota Rules, Minnesota Rules part 4400. 

In particular, comments are requested on the possible modification of Minnesota Statutes ¤ 116C.57 Subd. 5a, Exemption of
Certain Sites.  This subdivision provides for an exemption from the Act, of the construction at a proposed site of an electric power
generating plant with a capacity between 50 and 80 megawatts.  There have been suggestions that the cap of 80 megawatts could be
removed from the statute or a provision for a partial exemption (a streamlined review and permitting process) could be added to the
statute, which would remove the need to consider multiple sites. Environmental review would still be carried out to determine if
there is a potential for significant human and environmental impact and if found the exemption would be denied.

All persons will be afforded an opportunity to be heard through the presentation of oral or written statements.  Written statements
marked for the annual hearing record may also be submitted for inclusion in the record by delivery to the BoardÕs office by the close
of business December 17, 1999.

Direct all inquiries regarding the annual hearing to: Suzanne Steinhauer, Power Plant Siting Program, Environmental Quality
Board, 3000 Centennial Building, 658 Cedar Street, St. Paul, MN 55155, Phone 651-296-2878.

Official Notices
Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes ¤¤ 14.101, an agency must first solicit comments from the public on the subject matter of a possible rulemaking

proposal under active consideration within the agency by publishing a notice in the State Register at least 60 days before publication of a notice to
adopt or a notice of hearing, and within 60 days of the effective date of any new statutory grant of required rulemaking.  The State Register also
publishes other official notices of state agencies and non-state agencies, including notices of meetings and matters of public interest. 
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Department of Labor and Industry
Labor Standards Unit

Notice of Correction to Highway/Heavy Prevailing Wage Rates
Corrections have been made to the Highway/Heavy Prevailing Wage Rates certified 10/25/99, for Group 4, Heavy Equipment

in Regions 6 and 7.

Copies of the corrected certifications may be obtained by writing the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry, Prevailing
Wage Section, 443 Lafayette Road, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155-4306, or by calling (651) 296-6452. Charges for the cost of copying
and mailing are $.65 for each page. Make check or money order payable to the State of Minnesota

Gretchen Maglich
Commissioner

Pollution Control Agency
Notice of Intent to Approve the Creation of the Duluth/North Shore Sanitary District in

Accordance with Minnesota Statutes §§ 115.18 to 115.20
The Township of Lakewood, the Township of Duluth, and the City of Duluth have petitioned the Minnesota Pollution Control

Agency (MPCA) to approve the creation of a sanitary district to be known as the Duluth/North Shore Sanitary District.  The purpose
of the sanitary district is to promote the public health and welfare by providing the residents within its boundaries an adequate and
efficient system and means of collecting, conveying, pumping, treating and disposing of domestic sewage.  The territory of the pro-
posed district consists of that part of Saint Louis County, Minnesota bounded on the West by the center line of the Lester River, as
it is depicted in the United States Government Survey on file in the Office of the County Recorder in Saint Louis County,
Minnesota; bounded on the Northwest by the Southeasterly right of way of Minnesota State Highway 61; bounded on the East by
the easterly border of Saint Louis County, Minnesota; and bounded on the Southeast by the Lake Superior shoreline.  The territory
of the proposed sanitary district is legally described as:

That part of Township 50 North, Range 13 West, Section 8, bounded on the West by the Center Line of the
Lester River, as depicted in the United States Government Survey on file in the Office of the County Recorder in
Saint Louis County, Minnesota, bounded on the Northwest by the Southeasterly right of way of Minnesota State
Highway 61, and bounded on the Southeast by the Lake Superior shoreline; and

that part of Township 50 North, Range 13 West, Section 9, bounded on the Northwest by the Southeasterly
right of way of Minnesota State Highway 61, and bounded on the Southeast by the Lake Superior shoreline; and

that part of Township 50 North, Range 13 West, Section 4, bounded on the Northwest by the Southeasterly
right of way of Minnesota State Highway 61, and bounded on the Southeast by the Lake Superior shoreline; and

that part of Township 50 North, Range 13 West, Section 3 bounded on the Southeast by the Lake Superior
shoreline; and

that part of Township 51 North, Range 13 West, Section 33 bounded on the Northwest by the Southeasterly
right of way of Minnesota State Highway 61; and

that part of Township 51 North, Range 13 West, Section 34 bounded on the Northwest by the Southeasterly
right of way of Minnesota State Highway 61, and bounded on the Southeast by the Lake Superior shoreline; and

that part of Township 51 North, Range 13 West, Section 35 bounded on the Southeast by the Lake Superior
shoreline; and

that part of Township 51 North, Range 13 West, Section 26 bounded on the Northwest by the Southeasterly
right of way of Minnesota State Highway 61, and bounded on the Southeast by the Lake Superior shoreline; and

that part of Township 51 North, Range 13 West, Section 25 bounded on the Northwest by the Southeasterly
right of way of Minnesota State Highway 61, and bounded on the Southeast by the Lake Superior shoreline; and

that part of Township 51 North, Range 13 West, Section 24 bounded on the Southeast by the Lake Superior
shoreline; and
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that part of Township 51 North, Range 12 West, Section 19 bounded on the Northwest by the Southeasterly
right of way of Minnesota State Highway 61, and bounded on the Southeast by the Lake Superior shoreline; and

that part of Township 51 North, Range 12 West, Section 18 bounded on the Northwest by the Southeasterly
right of way of Minnesota State Highway 61; and

that part of Township 51 North, Range 12 West, Section 20 bounded on the Southeast by the Lake Superior
shoreline; and

that part of Township 51 North, Range 12 West, Section 17 bounded on the Northwest by the Southeasterly
right of way of Minnesota State Highway 61, and bounded on the Southeast by the Lake Superior shoreline; and

that part of Township 51 North, Range 12 West, Section 16 bounded on the South by the Lake Superior
shoreline; and

that part of Township 51 North, Range 12 West, Section 8 bounded on the Northwest by the Southeasterly
right of way of Minnesota State Highway 61; and

that part of Township 51 North, Range 12 West, Section 9 bounded on the Northwest by the Southeasterly
right of way of Minnesota State Highway 61, and bounded on the Southeast by the Lake Superior shoreline; and

that part of Township 51 North, Range 12 West, Section 10 bounded on the Southeast by the Lake Superior
shoreline; and

that part of Township 51 North, Range 12 West, Section 4 bounded on the Northwest by the Southeasterly
right of way of Minnesota State Highway 61; and

that part of Township 51 North, Range 12 West, Section 3 bounded on the Northwest by the Southeasterly
right of way of Minnesota State Highway 61, and bounded on the Southeast by the Lake Superior shoreline; and

that part of Township 51 North, Range 12 West, Section 2 bounded on the Northwest by the Southeasterly
right of way of Minnesota State Highway 61, and bounded on the Southeast by the Lake Superior shoreline; and

that part of Township 51 North, Range 12 West, Section 1 bounded on the Northwest by the Southeasterly
right of way of Minnesota State Highway 61, and bounded on the Southeast by the Lake Superior shoreline; and

that part of Township 52 North, Range 12 West, Section 36 bounded on the Northwest by the Southeasterly
right of way of Minnesota State Highway 61, and bounded on the Southeast by the Lake Superior shoreline.

A map displaying the boundaries of the proposed district is available at the MPCA.

The public has 30 days to submit written comments on the petition.  If a person objects to the petition, that person may submit a
written request for a hearing that meets the requirements of Minnesota Rules. 7000.1800 and 7000.1900.  The written comments or
a written request for a hearing must be submitted to the MPCA by 4:30 p.m. on December 15, 1999.  If 25 or more timely requests
for hearing are received, the MPCA will schedule a hearing prior to making a determination on the petition.

Following the end of the comment period and, if held, the public hearing, the MPCA Commissioner will decide whether to
approve the petition for creation of the district unless, as provided by Minnesota Statutes ¤ 116.02, the MPCA CitizensÕ Board
makes this decision.  You have the right to submit a petition to the MPCA Commissioner requesting that the MPCA CitizensÕ Board
make the decision on approval of the petition for creation of the Duluth/North Shore Sanitary District.  Your petition must be in
writing and must be received by MPCA staff during the public comment period.  Your petition will be granted or denied on the sole
discretion of the MPCA Commissioner.  The MPCA CitizensÕ Board will only make the decision on approval of the petition for cre-
ation of the sanitary district if the MPCA Commissioner grants your petition or if an MPCA CitizensÕ Board member makes a
timely request to have the decision made by the MPCA CitizensÕ Board.

A copy of the petition, resolutions, map of the area within the proposed sanitary district with the legal description, and other doc-
uments relevant to the petition can be requested from the MPCA.  Comments, questions, and requests for a hearing regarding the
creation of the sanitary district and requests for information must be submitted in writing to:

Amy Lockheart Telephone: (651) 296-5426
Regular Facilities and Site Remediation Section Toll-free: 1-800-657-3864
Policy and Planning Division TTY: (651) 282-5332
Minnesota Pollution Control Agency Fax: (651) 297-8676
520 Lafayette Road North, Saint Paul, MN 55155-4194

This notice, the petition, and other documents relevant to the petition can be made available in other formats, including Braille,
large print, audio tape, and other languages upon request.

Lisa J. Thorvig
Deputy Commissioner
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Minnesota State Retirement System
Board of Directors, Regular Meeting

The Board of Directors of the Minnesota State Retirement System will be meeting on Thursday, November 18, 1999, at 9:00 p.m.
in the office of the System, 175 W. Lafayette Frontage Road, Suite 300, St. Paul, Minnesota 55107.

Public Employees Retirement Association
Notice of Meeting of the Board of Trustees

The regular meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Public Employees Retirement Association (PERA) will be held on Thursday,
November 18, 1999, at 9:30 a.m., in the PERA offices, 514 St. Peter Street, Suite 200 Ð Skyway Level, Saint Paul, Minnesota.

Minnesota Department of Public Safety
State Patrol Division

Request for Comments on Planned Amendments to Rules Governing Wheelchair Safety
Devices, Minnesota Rules, Chapter 7450 

Subject of Rules. The Minnesota Department of Public Safety requests comments on its planned amendments to rules governing
wheelchair safety devices.  The Department is considering rule amendments that would update the minimum standards for frame-
attached devices to coincide with accepted federal standards.  Any technical/housekeeping changes that are found to be necessary
will also be handled in this rulemaking. 

Persons Affected. These amendments would likely affect school bus drivers, commercial vehicle inspectors, school district offi-
cials, independently owned pupil transportation providers, school bus manufacturers and the Minnesota Department of
Transportation.

Statutory Authority. Minnesota Statutes, section 299A.12, subdivision 4 requires the Commissioner of Public Safety to adopt
rules as necessary to set standards for the operation, strength, and use of wheelchair securement devices.

Public Comment. Interested persons or groups may submit comments or information on these planned rules in writing until
further notice is published in the State Register that the Department intends to adopt or to withdraw the rules.  The Department does
not contemplate appointing a separate rulemaking advisory committee to comment on the planned rules. 

Rules Drafts. The Department is currently working on a draft of the planned rules amendments.  The Department anticipates
that a draft will be completed and available before the publication of the proposed rules.

Agency Contact Person. Written comments, questions, requests to receive a draft of the rules when it has been prepared, and
requests for more information on these planned rules should be addressed to: Major Dennis Lazenberry, Pupil Transportation Safety
Director, Minnesota Department of Public Safety, State Patrol Division, 444 Cedar Street, Suite 130, St. Paul, Minnesota 55101-
5130, phone 651-282-6875.  TTY users may call the Department at 651-282-6555.

Alternative Format. Upon request, this Request for Comments can be made available in an alternative format, such as large
print, Braille, or cassette tape.  To make such a request, please contact the agency contact person at the address or telephone number
listed above.

Note:  Comments received in response to this notice will not necessarily be included in the formal rulemaking record submitted
to the administrative law judge when a proceeding to adopt rules is started.  The agency is required to submit to the judge only those
written comments received in response to the rules after they are proposed.

Dated:1 November 1999

Charles Weaver, Jr.
Commissioner, Department of Public Safety
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Department of Natural Resources
Local Grants Unit, Office of Management and Budget Services

Notice of Request for Proposals for a Bear Center Grant 
The Local Grants Unit, Office of Management and Budget Services, Department of Natural Resources announces the availability

of a Request for Proposals (RFP) for a total of $20,000 in funds authorized by the 1999 Minnesota Legislature for a grant to a bear
center to develop a business plan, marketing study, facility predesign, and exhibit design.  (Laws of Minnesota 1999, Chap. 231,
Sec. 16, Subd. 11(d) Bear Center.)

Local governments or private organizations interested in establishment of a center to provide for information, education,
research, study and/or tourism related activities related to bears are encouraged to contact Wayne Sames, Local Grants Unit, at
(651) 296-1567 for a copy of the RFP and additional information about this grant.  Proposals must be received by the Local Grants
Unit no later than 4:30 p.m. on Wednesday, December 15, 1999, and must be addressed or delivered to:

Wayne M. Sames
Local Grants Unit
Minnesota Department of Natural Resources
Office of Management and Budget, Box 10
500 Lafayette Road
Saint Paul, MN  55155-4010

Department of Public Safety
Office of Drug Policy and Violence Prevention

Notice of Availability of Funds for Expanding Local Capacity to Combat Gangs
Notice of availability of funds.  The Minnesota Department of Public Safety announces the availability of funds to local law

enforcement agencies and city and county attorneysÕ offices to expand the capacity of the agency or office to successfully investi-
gate and prosecute crimes committed by criminal gangs.  A total of $2,000,000.00 is made available through the Minnesota
Omnibus Crime Act of 1999 and Minnesota 1997 Session Laws, Chapter 239.  Local law enforcement agencies, city and county
attorneysÕ offices may apply.  The deadline for grant submission is 4:00 P.M. October 15, 1999.  To receive an application contact:

Nancy Franke
Office of Drug Policy and Violence Prevention
Minnesota Department of Public Safety
444 Cedar Street
Suite 100 Town Square
St. Paul, MN  55101
Telephone:  651-284-3334
TTY:  651-282-6555

State Grants & Loans
In addition to requests by state agencies for technical/professional services (published in the State Contracts section), the State Register also

publishes notices about grants and loans available through any agency or branch of state government. Although some grant and loan programs
specifically require printing in a statewide publication such as the State Register, there is no requirement for publication in the State Register
itself.  Agencies are encouraged to publish grant and loan notices, and to provide financial estimates as well as sufficient time for interested
parties to respond.
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Department of Public Safety
Office of Drug Policy and Violence Prevention

Notice of Availability of Funds for Tire Deflators
The Minnesota Department of Public Safety announces the availability of funds to reimburse local law enforcement agencies for

the cost for purchasing tire deflators.  A total of $200,000.00 is made available through the Minnesota Session Laws, Chapter 216.
A fifty- percent match of non-state funds is required for this program.  Local and state law enforcement agencies may apply.  The
deadline for grant submission is 4:00 P.M. December 3, 1999.  To receive an application contact:

Nancy Franke
Office of Drug Policy and Violence Prevention
Minnesota Department of Public Safety
444 Cedar Street
Suite 100 Town Square
St. Paul, MN  55101
Telephone:  651-284-3334
TTY:  651-282-6555

Department of Trade and Economic Development
Notice of Request for Proposals for Development of New Production Database and

Business Application for the Minnesota Office of Tourism
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Department of Trade and Economic Development is requesting proposals for the devel-

opment of a new production database for the Minnesota Office of Tourism. Design of this database is being completed under a pre-
vious contract and will be completed by December 31, 1999.

A detailed Request for Proposals has been prepared by Department of Trade and Economic Development. It describes the
purpose, provides the background information on Tourism operations, as well status information on the design being currently com-
pleted, the current database application, objectives for the new database application, deliverables, project activities, deadlines and
desired proposal format.

The estimated cost for this project is between $38,000-$530,000. This proposal does not obligate the agency to spend the esti-
mated dollar amount.

Potential responders interested in submitting a proposal on this project should call or write for the full RFP which will be sent free
of charge to interested vendors. Proposals must be submitted to the department contact listed below. Other department personnel are
NOT allowed to discuss the Request for Proposal with anyone, including responders, before the proposal submission deadline.
Proposals must be received by DTED no later than 3:00 p.m. Wednesday, December 8, 1999.

Professional, Technical & Consulting Contracts
Department of Administration procedures require that notice of any consultant services contract or professional and technical services contract

which has an estimated cost of over $10,000 to printed in the State Register. These procedures also require that the following information be
included in the notice:  name of contact person, agency name and address, description of project and tasks, cost estimate, and final submission
date of completed contract proposal. Certain quasi-state agencies are exempted from some of the provisions of this statute.  In accordance with
Minnesota Rules Part 1230.1910, certified Targeted Group Businesses and individuals submitting proposals are prime contractors shall receive
the equivalent of a 6% preference in the evaluation of their proposal. For information regarding certification, call the Materials Management
Helpline (651) 296-2600 or [TTY (651) 297-5353 and ask for 296-2600].
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Contact Person: Dan Quillin
Department of Trade and Economic Development
500 Metro Square Building
121 East 7th Place
St. Paul, MN 55101-2146

Telephone: (651) 296-8282
FAX: (651) 296-8833
E-Mail: dan.quillin@state.mn.us

Department of Transportation
Notice of Time Extension for Hiawatha Light Rail Transit (LRT) Phase I Request for

Proposals (RFP)
The Minnesota Department of Transportation is announcing the extension of the clarification period and submission date for the

Phase I RFP for the Hiawatha LRT design-build contract.  The clarification period has been extended to November 17, 1999.  The
clarification procedure remains the same as was announced in the Phase I RFP, notice of which was published in the State Register
on October 11, 1999.

The Phase I proposal due date has been extended to 1:00 p.m. Central Standard Time, December 6, 1999.

Metropolitan Airports Commission
Request for Proposals for Food and Beverage Facilities and Retail Shops for New

Concession Opportunities at Minneapolis / St. Paul International Airport
Minneapolis / St. Paul International Airport (MSP) is creating additional concession opportunities. Upcoming expansion

presents new opportunities for experienced developers/operators of airport concessions. The Metropolitan Airports Commission
(MAC) will be issuing two separate Request for Proposals (RFP), one for food and beverage facilities and one for retail shops. The
retail RFP will offer at least fourteen new shops totaling approximately 24,000 sq. ft. The food & beverage RFP will offer at least 22
new food locations totaling approximately 35,000 sq. ft. There is a mandatory pre-proposal meeting at the Airport on November
30, 1999. This mandatory meeting has two purposes, first to answer any questions that the developer/operators have after reading
the RFPÕs. Secondly, to encourage networking between the developer/operators and interested individual concessionaries who
would be interested in negotiating with the successful developer/operator to operate one or more of the available facilities.
Developer/operators interested in receiving a copy of either RFP are to contact Joe D. Anderson at (612) 794-4199 at the
Metropolitan airports Commission.

Non-State Public Bids, Contracts & Grants
The State Register also serves as a central marketplace for contracts let out on bid by the public sector.  The State Register meets state and

federal guidelines for statewide circulation of public notices.  Any tax-supported institution or government jurisdiction may advertise contracts
and requests for proposals from the private sector.  It is recommended that contracts and RFPs include the following: 1)  name of contact person;
2)  institution name, address, and telephone number; 3)  brief description of project and tasks; 4)  cost estimate; and 5)  final submission date of
completed contract proposal. Allow at least three weeks from publication date (four weeks from date article is submitted for publication).
Surveys show that subscribers are interested in hearing about contracts for estimates as low as $1,000.  Contact the editor for further details.
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Metropolitan Council
Request for Bids for HVAC Equipment for Chaska Lift Station – REISSUE

Sealed bids will be received in the office of the Metropolitan Council, Environmental Services Division, (MCES), Mears Park
Centre, 230 East 5th Street, St. Paul, Minnesota 55101, for HVAC Equipment for Chaska Lift Station.

Bids will be received until TUESDAY, November 30, 1999 at 3:00 p.m., at which time and place the bids will be publicly opened
and read aloud.

Copies of the specifications and bid instructions may be obtained from the offices of the Metropolitan Council or by calling
651-602-1499 or via Fax request at 651-602-1083.

All bids to be considered must be submitted on Council approved bid forms.

The award will be based upon, but not necessarily limited to, factors of price, lead time, agreement to the terms and conditions
and past experience with the Metropolitan Council.

The Metropolitan Council shall consider all bids received and intends to award a contract to the responsive and responsible
bidder submitting the lowest total cost to the Council, by the due date and time, provided, however, that the Metropolitan Council
reserves the right to reject all bids, to investigate the qualifications and experience of any bidder, to reject any provisions of any bid,
to obtain new bids, or to proceed to do the work otherwise.

BY ORDER OF THE METROPOLITAN COUNCIL,
ENVIRONMENTAL SERVICES DIVISION,
Helen Boyer
Division Director

Metropolitan Council
Notice of Request for Proposals (RFP) for Year 2000 Aerial Photography and Digital

Orthophotography, Metropolitan Council Contract Number C-99-95
The Metropolitan Council is requesting proposals for Year 2000 Aerial Photography and Digital Orthophotography for the

7-County Twin Cities Metropolitan Area.

Receive letters of interest November 1999
Issue Request for Proposals November 1999
Receive Proposals December 1999
Evaluate and Rank Proposals December 1999
Contract negotiated, executed, NTP January 2000

All firms interested in being considered for this project and desiring to receive an RFP package are invited to submit a Letter of
Interest to:

Jan Bevins, Senior Administrative Assistant, Contracts and Procurement Unit
Metropolitan Council Environmental Services
Mears Park Centre
230 East Fifth Street
St. Paul, MN 55101

Inquiries regarding technical aspects of the project should be directed to Tanya Mayer at 651-602-1604.

Minnesota Statutes, Section 473.144 and 363.073, and Minnesota Rules, Parts 5000.3400 to 5000.3600 will be incorporated into
any contract based upon the Proposal or any modifications to it. If a contract for the project is awarded in excess of $100,000, the
requirements of Minnesota Rules 5000.3530 will be applicable.
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Metropolitan Council
Solicitations for Low Floor Light Rail Vehicles

The Metropolitan Council is soliciting proposals for 22 low floor light rail vehicles as part of the Hiawatha Corridor Light Rail
Transit Project, with options for up to 25 more vehicles over a three-year period. A pre-proposal meeting will be held at 9:00 a.m. on
December 1, 1999. Proposals are due by 4:00 p.m. on February 18, 2000.

Proposals must be submitted in accordance with the Solicitation Package document available from:

Metropolitan Council
Metro Transit Purchasing Department

515 N. Cleveland Avenue
St. Paul, MN 55114-1878

(612) 349-5060

Southern Minnesota Health Initiative
Notice of Request for Proposals from the Southern Minnesota Health Initiative for a

Demonstration Project for Persons With Disabilities
The Southern Minnesota Health Initiative (SMHI) is seeking proposals from qualified Service Delivery Organizations as defined

in Minnesota Statutes, Section 256B.77, subd. 2(y), to provide acute care services to persons who are eligible for Medical
Assistance, disabled, and under age 65. The covered populations include persons with developmental disabilities and related condi-
tions; adults with serious and persistent mental illness; children with severe emotional disturbance; and persons who are physically
disabled according to SSI eligibility criteria.

SMHI, a joint-powers authority consisting of Blue Earth, Freeborn, and Sibley counties, is a site for the Demonstration Project for
Persons with Disabilities (DPPD) pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, Section 256B.77, which is scheduled for implementation in mid-
2000.

SDOs qualified to respond to this Request for Proposals (RFP) must be able to provide all MA-covered acute-care services and
service coordination as provided in the RFP, and must also be able to accept financial risk. Risk-adjusted capitation rates have been
set by the Minnesota Department of Human Services in consultation with an independent actuary.

This solicitation is subject to the approval of a pending request by the State of Minnesota to the federal Health Care Financing
Administration to issue a waiver pursuant to Section 1115 of the Social Security Act to enable the State and SMHI to implement the
DPPD. If the waiver request is not granted, the demonstration project will not go forward, and SMHI will withdraw the RFP.

Contracts will be awarded based on: (1) Experience in providing services to the populations covered by the DPPD; (2) Experience
in working cooperatively with county and state governments to deliver services to Medicaid recipients; (3) Ability to deliver each of
the services described in the RFP; and (4) Ability to accept risk.

Interested parties may receive a copy of the RFP by contacting:

Kathleen Kading, Project Supervisor
Southern Minnesota Health Initiative
P.O. Box 3526
410 S. Fifth St.
Mankato, MN 56001-3526
FAX: (507) 389-8379
kathie.kading@co.blue-earth.mn.us

Prospective respondents with questions regarding this RFP may write, fax or e-mail Kathleen Kading at the above address. Ms
Kading is the only person at SMHI who is authorized to answer questions regarding the RFP. A biddersÕ conference for prospective
respondents is scheduled for November 30, 1999, from 1 to 3 p.m. at the following location:

Blue Earth County Government Center
Steamboat Center
410 S. Fifth St.
Mankato, MN 56001
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All responses to this RFP are due at SMHI, ATTN: Kathleen Kading, P.O. Box 3526, 410 S. Fifth St., Mankato, MN 56001-3526,

by 5 p.m., Central Time, Dec. 10, 1999. Please note: Prospective respondents are required to submit a written notice of the respon-
dentÕs intention to submit a proposal by 5 p.m., Central Time, Nov. 26, 1999, to the address above.

ORGANIZATIONS THAT DO NOT SUBMIT A NOTICE OF THEIR INTENTION TO SUBMIT A PROPOSAL BY
NOV. 26, 1999, WILL BE DISQUALIFIED FROM CONSIDERATION FOR THIS CONTRACT.

University of Minnesota
Notice of Bid Information Service (BIS) Available for All Potential Vendors

The University of Minnesota offers 24 hour/day, 7 day/week access to all Request for Bids/Proposals through its web based Bid
Information Services (BIS).  Subscriptions to BIS are $75/year.  Visit our web site at bidinfo.umn.edu or call the BIS Coordinator at
612-625-5534.

Requests for Bids/Proposals are available to the public at no charge each business day from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. in Purchasing
Services lobby, Suite 560, 1300 S. 2nd Street, Mpls., MN 55454.

Minnesota Workers’ Compensation Assigned Risk Plan
Notice of Request for Proposals (“RFP”) for General Administrative and Managed Care

Services to be Provided to the Minnesota Workers’ Compensation Assigned Risk Plan
(“Plan”)

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Plan is seeking joint proposals, submitted by two partnered entities, to provide general
administrative and managed care services.  Only proposals that provide both general administrative and managed care services will
be accepted.  An entity may participate in more than one proposal.  General administrative services include but are not limited to:
policy issuance and premium collection services; premium audit services; and loss control services.  Managed care services include
but are not limited to:  medical management and disability management.  Claims administration services may be provided by either
vendor (to the extent allowed by law) or a combination of both vendors.

An entity proposing to provide general administrative services must either be an insurance company licensed pursuant to
Minnesota Statutes Sect. 60A.06 subd. 1, clause (5), paragraph (b), or a self-insurance administrator licensed pursuant to Minnesota
Statutes Sect. 176.81, subd. 2, clause (2), paragraph (a).  An entity proposing to provide managed care services must be certified by
the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry.

Minnesota Statutes Sect. 79.251, subd. 1, clause (6) specifies that the Plan is not a state agency.  Accordingly, the RFP process is
not governed by the contracting procedures applicable to state agencies set forth in Minnesota Statutes and Rules.  Any entity that
responds to this RFP must expressly acknowledge in its proposal its understanding that the contracting procedure requirements that
apply to state agencies do not apply to the Plan.

Interested parties may obtain the RFP by written request to Mark R. Sheehan, Plan Administrator, Minnesota WorkersÕ
Compensation Assigned Risk Plan, 4500 Park Glen Road Suite 410, Minneapolis, MN  55416.  Written requests will also be
accepted by fax at (612) 922-5423.  Interested parties may request the RFP be available for pick up at the Plan AdministratorÕs
Office or that it be sent via email.  Written requests that do not specify personal pick up or email delivery will be sent via first class
mail.  Response to the RFP will be due by 4:00 p.m. on Monday, January 24, 2000.
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