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Minnesota Rules: Amendments and Additions
NOTICE:  How to Follow State Agency Rulemaking in the State Register

The State Registeris the official source, and only complete listing, for all state agency rulemaking in its various stages.  State agencies are
required to publish notice of their rulemaking action in the State Register.  Published every Monday, the State Registermakes it easy to follow and
participate in the important rulemaking process.  Approximately 80 state agencies have the authority to issue rules.  Each agency is assigned specif-
ic Minnesota Rulechapter numbers.  Every odd-numbered year the Minnesota Rulesare published.  The current 1995 set is a 13-volume bound
collection of all adopted rules in effect at the time.  Supplements are published to update this set of rules.  Generally speaking, proposed and adopt-
ed exempt rules do not appear in this set because of their short-term nature, but are published in the State Register.

An agency must first solicit Comments on Planned Rulesor Comments on Planned Rule Amendmentsfrom the public on the subject matter
of a possible rulemaking proposal under active consideration within the agency (Minnesota Statutes§§ 14.101).  It does this by publishing a notice
in the State Register at least 60 days before publication of a notice to adopt or a notice of hearing, or within 60 days of the effective date of any new
statutory grant of required rulemaking.  

When rules are first drafted, state agencies publish them as Proposed Rules,along with a notice of hearing, or a notice of intent to adopt rules
without a hearing in the case of noncontroversial rules.  This notice asks for comment on the rules as proposed.  Proposed emergency rules and
withdrawn proposed rules are also published in the State Register.  After proposed rules have gone through the comment period, and have been
rewritten into their final form, they again appear in the State Registeras Adopted Rules. These final adopted rules are not printed in their entirety
in the State Register, only the changes made since their publication as Proposed Rules.  To see the full rule, as adopted and in effect, a person sim-
ply needs two issues of the State Register, the issue the rule appeared in as proposed, and later as adopted.  For a more detailed description of the
rulemaking process, see the most current edition of the Minnesota Guidebook to State Agency Services.

The State Registerfeatures partial and cumulative listings of rules in this section on the following schedule:  isues #1-13 inclusive; issues #14-
25 inclusive; issue #26 cumulative for issues #1-26; issues #27-38 inclusive; issue #39, cumulative for issues #1-39; issues #40-51 inclusive; and
issues #1-52 (or 53 in some years), cumulative for issues #1-52 (or 53).  An annual subject matter index for rules was separately printed usually in
August, but starting with Volume 19 now appears in the final issue of each volume.  For copies or subscriptions to the State Register,contact
Minnesota's Bookstore, 117 University Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55155  (612) 297-3000, or toll-free 1-800-657-3757.

Volume 22, issue 45
(issues #1-39 cummulative appeared in issue #39)
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4690.0800; 4400; .7000; .8200; .8300 (adopted)............................... 1877
4690.0900 s.5; .8300 s.6 (repealed) ................................................... 1877

Natural Resources Department
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.9200; .9300; .9400; .9500; .9600 (proposed)................................. 1813
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7011.0010; .0105; .0510; .0510; .0610; .0710; .0805; .1305; 

.1405; .1410; 7017.2001; .2005; .2015; .2018; .2020; .2025; 
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KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION — Underliningindicates additions to existing rule language. Strikeoutsindicate
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated “all new material.” ADOPTED
RULES SECTION — Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strikeouts indicate deletions from
proposed rule language.

Pollution Control Agency 
Adopted Permanent Rules Relating to Municipal Waste Combustors 

The rules proposed and published at State Register, Volume 22, Number 20, pages 741-768, November 17, 1997 (22 SR 741), are
adopted with the following modifications: 

7007.0801 CONDITIONS FOR AIR EMISSION PERMITS FOR WASTE COMBUSTORS. 

Subp. 2.  Mixed municipal solid waste or refuse-derived fuel waste combustors.An air emissions permit for a waste combus-
tor combusting mixed municipal solid waste or refuse-derived fuel shall:  

G.  include operating conditions that ensure that the facility will continue to emit mercury emissions less than 50 percent of the
applicable standard if the waste combustor elects to conduct annualmercury emissions testing as allowed in part 7011.1270 and
Minnesota Statutes, section 116.85.  If the permit must be amended in order to include these conditions, the procedures of part
7007.1400 shall be used. 

7011.0551 RECORDKEEPING AND REPORTING FOR INDIRECT HEATING UNITS COMBUSTING SOLID
WASTE. 

Subpart 1.  Application. The owner or operator of indirect heating equipment combusting mixed municipal solid waste,or
refuse-derived fuel,or industrialsolid wastewhich makes up 30 percent or less by weight of total fuel input, as determined by
subpart 2, shall comply with the conditions of Minnesota Statutes, section 116.90, and the conditions of this part.  If the unit com-
busts more than 30 percent of mixed municipal solid waste,or refuse-derived fuel, orindustrialsolid waste,parts 7011.1201 to
7011.1290 apply. 

Subp. 2.  Calculation. The fuel feed stream composition calculation shall be the ratio of the weights of mixed municipal solid
waste,andrefuse-derived fuel,andindustrialsolidwasteto mixed municipal solid waste, refuse-derived fuel, industrialsolidwaste,
and all other fuels delivered to the combustion chamber.  The calculation shall be made for each 24-hour period that the equipment
is operated. 

Subp. 3.  Log. The owner or operator shall maintain an operating log where the date, weights of mixed municipal solid waste,
andrefuse-derived fuel,andindustrialsolidwastecombusted, weight of each other fuel combusted, and the result of the calculation
made in subpart 2 is recorded daily. 

Subp. 4.  Report. The owner or operator shall submit to the commissioner a quarterly report containing the date, weights of
mixed municipal solid waste,and refuse-derived fuel, andindustrial solid waste,and the weight of each other fuel combusted
during the quarter.  The reports shall be submitted within 30 days following December 30, March 30, June 30, and September 30 of
each year. 

Adopted Rules
A rule becomes effective after the requirements of Minnesota Statutes§§ 14.05-14.28 have been met and five working days after the rule

is published in the State Register, unless a later date is required by statutes or specified in the rule.

If an adopted rule is identical to its proposed form as previously published, a notice of adoption and a citation to its previous State
Registerpublication will be printed.

If an adopted rule differs from its proposed form, language which has been deleted will be printed with strikeouts and new language will
be underlined.  The rule's previous State Registerpublication will be cited.

Exempt Rules
An exempt rule adopted under Minnesota Statutes§§ 14.386 or 14.388 is effective upon its publication in the State Register.

Emergency Expedited Rules
Provisions for the Commissioner of Natural Resources to adopt emergency expedited Game and Fish Rules are specified in Minnesota

Statutes§§ 84.027.  The commissioner may adopt emergency expedited rules when conditions exist that do not allow the Commissioner to com-
ply with the requirements for emergency rules.  The Commissioner must submit the rule to the attorney general for review and must publish a
notice of adoption that includes a copy of the rule and the emergency conditions.  Emergency expedited rules are effective upon publication in
theState Register,and may be effective up to seven days before publication under certain emergency conditions.  Emergency expedited rules are
effective for the period stated or up to 18 months. 
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7011.0625 RECORDKEEPING AND REPORTING FOR DIRECT HEATING UNITS COMBUSTING SOLID
WASTE. 

Subpart 1.  Application. The owner or operator of direct heating equipment combusting mixed municipal solid waste,or refuse-
derived fuel,or industrial solid wastewhich makes up 30 percent or less by weight of total fuel weight input, as determined by
subpart 2, shall comply with the conditions of Minnesota Statutes, section 116.90, and subparts 3 and 4.  If the unit combusts more
than 30 percent of mixed municipal solid waste,or refuse-derived fuel, orindustrialsolidwaste,parts 7011.1201 to 7011.1290 apply. 

Subp. 2.  Calculation. The fuel feed stream composition calculation shall be the ratio of the weights of mixed municipal solid waste,
andrefuse-derived fuel,andindustrialsolid wasteto mixed municipal solid waste, refuse-derived fuel, industrialsolid waste,and all
other fuels delivered to the combustion chamber.  The calculation shall be made for each 24-hour period that the equipment is operated. 

Subp. 3.  Log. The owner or operator shall maintain an operating log where the date, weight of mixed municipal solid waste,and
refuse-derived fuel, andindustrialsolid wastecombusted,weight of each other fuel combusted, and the result of the calculation
made in subpart 2 is recorded daily. 

Subp. 4.  Reports. The owner or operator shall submit to the commissioner a quarterly report containing the date, weight of mixed
municipal solid waste,andrefuse-derived fuel, andindustrialsolidwaste,and weight of each other fuel combusted during the quarter.
The reports shall be submitted within 30 days following December 30, March 30, June 30, and September 30 of each year. 

7011.1201 DEFINITIONS.  

Subp. 9.  Class A waste combustor.“Class A waste combustor” means that the totalof thedesign capacitiescapacityfor all a
waste combustor unitsatastationarysourceunit is 93.75 x 106 Btu/hr or more, the waste combustor units combust primarily mixed
municipal solid waste or RDF, and construction of the waste combustor was commenced on or before September 20, 1994. 

Subp.36a. One-hour average. “One-houraverage”meansthearithmeticmeanof all the individual datapointscollectedby a
monitorin anhour. Eachhourlyaveragebeginsat thetopof thehourandendsat thetopof thesucceedinghour.

Subp. 46.  Waste combustor. “Waste combustor” means any emissions unit or emission facility where mixed municipal solid
waste, solid waste, or refuse-derived fuel is combusted, and includes incinerators, energy recovery facilities, or other combustion
devices.  A metals recovery incinerator is a waste combustor.  A combustion device combusting primarilywood, or at least 70
percent fossil fuel and wood in combination with up to 30 percent papermill wastewater treatment plant sludge,is not a waste com-
bustor.  A soil treatment facility, paint burn-off oven, wood heater, or residential fireplace is not a waste combustor.  

7011.1205 INCORPORATIONS BY REFERENCE.  

For the purpose of parts 7007.0501, 7007.0801, and 7011.1201 to 7011.1290, the documents in items A to C are incorporated by
reference.  These documents are subject to frequent change.  

[For text of items A toC andB, see M.R.] 

C.  The following material is available from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), 345 East 47th Street,
New York, New York 10017 or from the State Law Library, Judicial Center, 25 Constitution Avenue, Saint Paul, Minnesota 55155. 

(1) Standards for the Qualification and Certification of Resource Recovery Facility Operators, ASME QRO-1-1989,
March19901994,May 1994. 

7011.1215 APPLICABILITY OF STANDARDS OF PERFORMANCE FOR WASTE COMBUSTORS. 

Subp. 2b.  Units combusting industrial solid waste contaminatedwith usedoil. A wastecombustorburningup to 30 percent
industrialsolid wasteis not subjectto parts7011.1201to 7011.1290,andshall comply with the applicablerequirementsof parts
7011.0500to 7011.0551or 7011.0600to 7011.0625An ownerof a solid-fuel-firedindirector directheatingsourceburningfossil
fuel with only wastescontaminatedwith usedoil generatedby theowneris not subjectto parts7011.1201to 7011.1290. 

Subp. 4.  Standards. The standards of parts 7011.1227, 7011.1228, 7011.1229, 7011.1230,7011.1231,7011.1233, 7011.1240,
subpart 2, and 7011.1272, subpart 2, apply at all times when waste is being continuously burned, except during periods of start-up,
shutdown, or malfunction, provided that the duration of start-up, shutdown, or malfunction does not exceed three hours.  Fugitive
emissions standards applicable to ash conveying systems do not apply during maintenance and repair of ash conveying systems.
“Malfunction” means any sudden and unavoidable failure of air pollution control equipment or process equipment or of a process to
operate in a normal or usual manner.  Failures that are caused entirely or in part by poor maintenance, careless operation, or any
other preventable upset condition or preventable equipment breakdown are not considered malfunctions. 

The start-up period commences when the waste combustor begins the continuous burning of solid waste and does not include any
warm-up period when the waste combustor is combusting fossil fuel or other solid fuel. 
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KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION — Underliningindicates additions to existing rule language. Strikeoutsindicate
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated “all new material.” ADOPTED
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Continuous burning is the continuous, semicontinuous, or batch feeding of solid waste for purposes of waste disposal, energy
production, or providing heat to the combustion system in preparation for waste disposal or energy production.  The use of solid
waste solely to provide thermal protection of the grate or hearth during the start-up period when municipal solid waste is not being
fed to the grate is not considered to be continuous burning. 

7011.1228 NITROGEN OXIDES LIMITS FOR CLASS A WASTE COMBUSTORS. 

The nitrogen oxides emission limits in Table A apply to each waste combustor unit at a Class A waste combustor facility.  The owner
or operator shall use the procedures of part 7011.1260 for determining compliance with the nitrogen oxides emission limits of Table A. 

Alternatively, an owner or operator may average nitrogen oxide emissions across the waste combustor facility according to the
procedures in Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, section 60.33b(d)(1), as amended.  Waste combustor units for which emissions
averaging is used shall not exceed the nitrogen oxide emission limits in Table B. 

TABLE A

Municipal Waste Combustor Nitrogen Oxides Emission Limit
Technology (parts per million by volume)

Mass burn waterwall 205
Massburnrotarywaterwall 205
Refuse-derived fuel combustor 250
Fluidized bed combustor 180

TABLE B

Municipal Waste Combustor Nitrogen Oxides Emission Limit
Technology (parts per million by volume)

Mass burn waterwall 180
Refuse-derived fuel combustor 230
Fluidized bed combustor 220

Before a waste combustor owner or operator may implement emissions averaging, the owner or operator shall identify units that
are included in the nitrogen oxides emissions averaging plan in either the compliance report required by part 7017.2035 that con-
tains the results of the units’ initial performance tests required by part 7011.1270, item A, subitem (1), or in the annual report
required in part 7011.1285, as applicable prior to implementing the averaging plan.  The units being included in the averaging plan
may be redesignated every calendar year.  Partial year averaging is allowable upon written commissioner approval. 

7011.1240 OPERATING REQUIREMENTS. 

Subp. 1a.  Transition period for certifying operators. Notwithstanding subpart 1, operators shall be certified within the time
frames described in items A to C.  

A.  For Class A and C waste combustors: 

(1) on the effective date of this part or until the conditions of subitems (2) to (4) are met, chief facility operators,andshift
supervisors,andcontrolroomoperatorsshall hold a certificate as described in part 7011.1280; 

(2) within 12 months of the effective date of this part, all chief facility operators and shift supervisors employedon the
effectivedateof thispartshall have obtained full certification as described in part 7011.1281; 

(3) notwithstanding subitem (2), within six months of the initial start-up of a waste combustor unit or associated air pol-
lution control equipment, all chief facility operators and shift supervisors shall have obtained full certification as described in part
7011.1281; and

(4) notwithstanding subitem (2) or (3), individuals, if assuming the duties of chief facility operator or shift supervisor
after the effective date of this part, shall have obtained full certification as described in part 7011.1281 withinsix monthsof assum-
ing suchduties;and

(5) within 12 monthsof the effectivedateof this part,control room operatorsshall obtaincertificationasdescribedin
part7011.1280.After 12monthsfrom theeffectivedateof thispart,individuals,if assumingthedutiesof controlroomoperatorfor
thefirst time,shallobtaincertificationasdescribedin part7011.1280within six monthsof assumingsuchduties. 
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B.  For Class I and II waste combustors,:

(1) within six months of the initial start-up of a waste combustor unit, all chief facility operators and shift supervisors
shall have obtained full certification, or have scheduled the exam appropriate to the certification being sought as described in part
7011.1281;and

(2) notwithstandingsubitem(1), individuals,if assumingthedutiesof chief facility operatoror shift supervisoraftersix
monthsafter the initial start-upof a wastecombustorunit, shall obtainfull certificationasdescribedin part7011.1281within six
monthsof assumingsuchduties. 

Subp. 2.  Particulate matter control device operating temperature. The inlet gas stream to each particulate matter control
device on a waste combustor as measured by part 7011.1260, subpart 4, item A, shall have a temperature of no greater than 30
degrees Fahrenheit above the highest four-hour arithmetic mean temperature measured during four consecutive hours for this gas
stream during the most recent performance test for polychlorinated dibenzo-p-dioxins and polychlorinated dibenzofurans that
demonstrated compliance atall timeswhensolidwasteis beingcombusted, except as allowed in items A and B.  

7011.1260 CONTINUOUS MONITORING. 

Subp. 3.  Continuous monitors. The owner or operator of a waste combustor shall install,calibrate,maintain,and operate a con-
tinuous monitoring system when burning solid waste.  Monitoring systems that continuously read and record the following outputs
shall be installed: 

Subp. 4.  Averaging periods. Except as provided in this subpart and subpartsubparts4a and 5, the requirements of part
7017.1000 apply to continuous monitoring data collection, reduction, and averaging periods. 

A.  For particulate matter control device inlet temperature monitoring, four-hour arithmetic block averages calculated from
four continuousconsecutiveone-hour arithmetic averages.  

C.  At waste combustors other than mass burn rotary waterwall combustors or RDF waste combustors for carbon monoxide, a
four-hour block average.  For mass burn rotary waterwall combustors or RDF stokers, the averaging period for carbon monoxide
shall be a daily 24-hour arithmetic average measured between 12 midnight and the following midnight.  The four-hour and 24-hour
average shall be calculated from one-hour arithmetic averages.  At least four points equally spaced in time shall be used to calculate
each one-hour average.  Duringperiodsof calibration,quality assuranceaudits,and routine maintenance,only two datapoints
duringthehour,at least15 minutesapart,arerequiredto calculateanhourly average.Each one-hour average shall be corrected to
seven percent oxygen on an hourly basis using the one-hour arithmetic average of the oxygen or carbon dioxide continuous emis-
sions monitoring system. 

D.  For sulfur dioxide, the geometric average of the one-hour arithmetic average emission concentration during each 24-hour
daily period measured from midnight to midnight.  At least four data points equally spaced in time shall be used to calculate each
one-hour arithmetic average.  Duringperiodsof calibration,qualityassuranceaudits,androutinemaintenance,only two datapoints
duringthehour,at least15 minutesapart,arerequiredto calculateanhourly average.Each one-hour average shall be corrected to
seven percent oxygen on an hourly basis using the one-hour arithmetic average of the oxygen or carbon dioxide continuous emis-
sions monitoring system. 

E.  For nitrogen oxides, the arithmetic average of the one-hour arithmetic average emission concentration during each 24-hour
daily period measured from midnight to midnight.  At least four data points equally spaced in time shall be used to calculate each
one-hour arithmetic average.  Duringperiodsof calibration,qualityassuranceaudits,androutinemaintenance,only two datapoints
duringthehour,at least15 minutesapart,arerequiredto calculateanhourly average.Each one-hour average shall be corrected to
seven percent oxygen on an hourly basis using the one-hour arithmetic average of the oxygen or carbon dioxide continuous emis-
sions monitoring system. 

Subp.4a. Calculation of sulfur dioxide and nitrogen oxide emissions.

A. Compliancewith thesulfur dioxideemissionlimit andpercentreductionshallbedeterminedby usinga continuousemis-
sionmonitorto measuresulfurdioxideandcalculatinga24-hourdaily geometricmeanemissionconcentrationanddaily geometric
meanpercentreductionusingCodeof FederalRegulations,title 40, part60, AppendixA, Method19, section5.4,asamended,to
determinethedaily geometricaveragepercentreductionin thepotentialsulfur dioxideemissionconcentration.For wastecombus-
torswhich do not operatecontinuously,complianceshallbedeterminedusinga daily geometricmeanof all hourly averagevalues
for thehoursduringthedaythatthefacility is operated.

B. Compliancewith thenitrogenoxidesemissionstandardsshallbedeterminedby usinga continuousemissionmonitor for
measuringnitrogenoxidesand calculatinga 24-hourdaily arithmeticaverageemissionconcentrationusing Codeof Federal
Regulations,title 40, part60, AppendixA, Method19, section4.1,asamended.For wastecombustorswhich do not operatecon-
tinuously,complianceshallbedeterminedusinganarithmeticmeanof all hourly averagevaluesfor thehoursduring theday that
thefacility is operated.
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Subp. 5.  Installation and operation of continuous monitors.The owner or operator of a waste combustor with continuous mon-
itors shall comply with the requirements of part 7017.1000, except as provided in items A to HI. 

D.  When continuous emissions data for sulfur dioxide removal efficiency, sulfur dioxide or nitrogen oxide emission rates, or
carbon monoxide are not obtained because of monitor breakdowns, repairs, calibration checks, and zero and span adjustments,
emission data calculations to determine compliance shall be made using the following methods: 

(1) for sulfur dioxide removal efficiency or sulfur dioxide or nitrogen oxide emission rates,othermonitoringsystemsor
otherdatacollectionmethodsasapprovedby the commissioneror concentrations,Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, part 60,
Appendix A, Method 19, as amended, to provide valid emission data in order to meet the requirements of item B.For wastecom-
bustorsotherthanClassA, othermonitoringsystemsor otherdatacollectionmethodsmay be usedasapprovedby the commis-
sioner; and 

(2) for carbon monoxide, othermonitoringsystemsor otherdatacollectionmethodsasapprovedby thecommissioneror
Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, part 60, Appendix A, Method 10, as amended, to provide valid emission data in order to meet
the requirements of item B.  ForwastecombustorsotherthanClassA, othermonitoringsystemsor otherdatacollectionmethods
maybeusedasapprovedby thecommissioner.

F.  Span values for continuous monitors shall be as described in subitems (1) to (4).  Dualscalemonitorsmay be usedto
monitoremissionsbeyondtherangesspecifiedin subitems(1) to (4).

Subp. 6.  Recording data from continuous monitoring. The owner or operator of a waste combustor shall maintain a record of
the information contained in this subpart.  Waste combustors shall maintain a permanent record of continuously measured parame-
ters.  The record of monitoring shall contain: 

C.  the following averageconcentrationsandparameters: 

7011.1265 REQUIRED PERFORMANCE TESTS, METHODS, AND PROCEDURES. 

Subp. 2.  Performance test methods for criteria pollutants. An owner or operator of a waste combustor required to conduct
performance tests for particulate matter, sulfur dioxide, or nitrogen oxides shall use test methods as described in items A to F D. 

A.  Part 7011.0725 shall apply to tests for particulate matter, except that for Class I, II, A, and C waste combustors, the
minimum sample volume shall be 1.7 dscm,and the probeand filter holderheatingsystemsin the sampletrain shall be set to
providea gastemperatureno greaterthan160degreesCelsius,plusor minus14 degrees.  For Class III, IV, and D waste combus-
tors, the minimum sample volume shall be 0.85 dscm.  Smaller sampling times or sample volumes shall be approved by the com-
missioner, when the commissioner determines that they are necessitated by process variables or other factors.  An oxygen or carbon
dioxide measurement shall be obtained simultaneously with each Method 5 test run for particulate matter.  Particulate matter emis-
sions, expressed in gr/dscf, shall be corrected to seven percent oxygen by using the following formula: 

c7 = 14c
——————

(21-%O2)

where:  c7 is the concentration of particulate matter corrected to seven percent oxygen; 

c is the concentration of particulate matter as measured by Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, part 60, Appendix A, Method 5,
as amended, or in part 7011.0725; and 

%O2 is the percentage of oxygen as measured by Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, part 60, Appendix A, Method 3, as
amended. 

B. For sulfur dioxide emissions,Codeof FederalRegulations,title 40, part 60, Appendix A, Method 19, section5.4, as
amended,shallbeusedto determinethedaily geometricaveragepercentreductionin thepotentialsulfur dioxideemissionconcen-
tration. Method19, section4.3,asamended,shallbeusedto determinethedaily geometricaveragesulfur dioxideemissioncon-
centration. Compliancewith the sulfur dioxide emissionlimit andpercentreductionshall be determinedby usinga continuous
emissionmonitorto measuresulfur dioxideandcalculatinga 24-hourdaily geometricmeanemissionconcentrationanddaily geo-
metricmeanpercentreductionusingMethod19,sections4.3and5.4,asamended,asapplicable.For wastecombustorswhich do
not operatecontinuously,complianceshallbedeterminedusinga daily geometricmeanof all hourly averagevaluesfor thehours
duringthedaythatthefacility is operated.
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C. For nitrogenoxidesemissions,Codeof FederalRegulations,title 40, part 60, AppendixA, Method19, section4.1, as

amended,shallbeusedfor determiningthedaily arithmeticaveragenitrogenoxidesemissionconcentration.Compliancewith the
nitrogenoxidesemissionstandardsshallbedeterminedby usinga continuousemissionmonitorfor measuringnitrogenoxidesand
calculatinga 24-hourdaily arithmeticaverageemissionconcentrationusingMethod19, section4.1,asamended.For wastecom-
bustorswhich do not operatecontinuously,complianceshallbedeterminedusinganarithmeticmeanof all hourly averagevalues
for thehoursduringthedaythatthefacility is operated.

[Reletter items D and E as items B and C.] 

F. D. For fugitive ash emissions, Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, part 60, Appendix A, Method 22, as amended, shall be
used.  The minimum observation time shall be a series of three one-hour observations.  The observation period shall include times
when the facility is transferring ash from the waste combustor unit to the area where ash is stored or loaded into containers or trucks.
The average duration of visible emissions per hour shall be calculated from the three one-hour observations.  The average shall be
used to determine compliance with the emission limit. 

Subp. 3.  Performance test methods for other air contaminants.If not specified in this subpart, the owner or operator shall use
test methods in Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, part 60, Appendix A, or part 61, Appendix B, as amended, or other methods
determined by the commissioner in writing to be equivalent.  ForClassA wastecombustors,othermethodsusedfor performance
testingmustbeapprovedby theEnvironmentalProtectionAgency.

A.  For hydrogen chloride, the percentage reduction in the potential hydrogen chloride emissions (%P HCl) is computed using
the following formula: 

%P HCl = (Ei - Eo)
—————-

Ei

where Ei is the potential hydrogen chloride emission rate measured at the control device inlet, corrected to seven percent O2; and Eo

is the hydrogen chloride emission rate measured at the outlet of the acid gas control device, corrected to seven percent O2.  

Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, part 60, Appendix A, Method 26 or 26A, as amended, shall be used for determining the
hydrogen chloride emission rate.  The minimum sampling time shall be one hour.  An oxygen or carbon dioxide measurement shall
be obtained simultaneously with each Method 26 test run for hydrogen chloride.  The average of the hydrogen chloride emission
concentration or percent reduction is used to determine compliance. 

D.  To determine the mercury concentration, the arithmetic average of three or more samples at the outlet of the air pollution
control device shall be used.  The minimum sample volume shall be 1.7 dscm.  The maximum sample run time shall be two hours.
An oxygen or carbon dioxide measurement shall be obtained simultaneously with each Method 29 test run for mercury.

To determine the percent reduction of mercury, concurrent sampling for mercury at the inlet and outlet of the air pollution
control system shall be performed at each occurrence of mercury emissions performance testing. 

Owners and operators of RDF combustors may choose to conduct mercury emissions testing either every 90 days or every 12
months.  If the owner or operator of an RDF combustor chooses to conduct testing every 90 days, the requirements of subitems (1)
and (2) apply.  If the RDF combustor chooses to test every 12 months, the requirements of subitem (3) apply. 

(3) Owners or operators of waste combustors combusting RDF who choose to conduct mercury emission testing every 15
12months shall use the procedures in this subitem to determine compliance with mercury emission limits. 

Subp. 4b.  Procedures for correlating carbon dioxide and oxygen concentrations.If carbon dioxide is selected for use in
diluent corrections, the relationship between oxygen and carbon dioxide levels shall be established during the initial performance
test according to the procedures and methods specified as described in items A to E.  

A.  Theemissionratecorrectionfactorandtheintegratedbagsamplingandanalysisprocedureof Thefuel factorequationin
Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, part 60, Appendix A, Method 3B, asamended,shall be usedto determinethe relationship
betweenoxygenandcarbondioxideat a samplinglocation. Method3, 3A, or 3B shall be used to determine the oxygen concentra-
tion at the same location as the carbon dioxide monitor. 

7011.1280 OPERATOR CERTIFICATION. 

Subpart 1.  Scope.The commissioner shall certify a person provided the person can demonstrate the completion of: 

A.  ASME provisional certification as described in Standard for the Qualification and Certification of Resource Recovery
Facility Operators, American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) QRO-1-19891994, incorporated by reference in part
7011.1205, for chief facility operators and, shift supervisors,andcontrolroomoperatorsof municipal waste combustors; or 

Subp.11. Recordkeeping. A wastecombustorowneror operatorshallmaintaina recordof personnelwho completeeitherthe
EnvironmentalProtectionAgencymunicipalwastecombustoroperatortraining course,or an equivalentcourseapprovedby the
MinnesotaPollutionControlAgencyundersubpart8. Therecordshall includedocumentationof trainingcompletion.
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7011.1281 FULL OPERATOR CERTIFICATION. 

Subpart 1.  Fully certified operator defined. A “fully certified operator” means: 

B.  a person who has obtained both “provisional certification” and “operator certification” according to ASME QRO-1-
19891994, incorporated by reference in part 7011.1205; or 

7011.1284 FULLY CERTIFIED OPERATOR. 

Subp.3a. Record of ASME certified operators. Thewastecombustorowneror operatorshallmaintainat thewastecombustor
facility for five yearsa recordof thenamesof all personnelwhohaveobtainedprovisionaland/orfull certificationby ASME.

7011.1285 OPERATING RECORDS AND REPORTS. 

Subp. 2.  Daily operating record. The owner or operator shall maintain a daily record of the operation of the waste combustor.
The record shall contain: 

L.  the date of the calibration of all signal conversion elements associated with steam flow monitoring as required in part
7011.1265, subpart 4; and

M.  for waste combustors using an additive to comply with mercury or PCDD/PCDF emission limits, reasons for not main-
taining the additive system operating parameter as determined in part 7011.1272, subpart 2, and descriptions of corrective actions
taken;and

N. for wastecombustorsusinganadditiveto complywith mercuryor PCDD/PCDFemissionlimits, reasonsfor notmaintain-
ing theadditivemassfeedratesasdeterminedin part7011.1272,subpart1, anddescriptionsof correctiveactionstaken. 

Subp. 3.  Quarterly reports. The owner or operator of a Class I, II, III, A, C, or D waste combustor shall submit quarterly
reports to the commissioner within 30 days after the quarter ending December 30, March 30, June 30, and September 30 of each
year.  Thequarterlyreportmaybesubmittedasabound,papercopyor in analternativeformatsuchascomputerdiskor CD-ROM.
Thecommissionershallacceptthesubmittalin thealternativeformatprovidedthat thecommissionerhasgivenprior approvalfor
theuseof thealternativeformatin orderthatcompatibilitybetweenthesoftwareandhardwareconfigurationsof theagencyandthe
owneror operatorof thewastecombustorcanbeassured.The report shall contain the following items: 

B.  sulfur dioxide, nitrogen oxide, and carbon monoxide emissions, the maximum orminimum waste combustor unit load
level,and particulate matter control device temperatures as recorded by part 7011.1260, subpart 6, item C, and the daily maximum
opacity readingsreadingas recorded by part 7011.1260, subpart 6, item B, subitem (1).  The facility may choose to provide this
information in tabular or graphic form.  The graphs shall be prepared as follows:
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Department of Agriculture
Agronomy and Plant Protection Division

Request for Comments on Planned Rules Governing Bulk Fertilizer
Subject of the Rule. The Minnesota Department of Agriculture requests comments on its planned rules governing liquid bulk

fertilizer.  The department is considering rules that regulate storage and distribution of liquid bulk fertilizer.

Persons Affected. The rules would likely affect anyone storing liquid bulk fertilizer.  The department does not contemplate
appointing an advisory committee to comment on the planned rules.

Statutory Authority. Minnesota Statutes, section 18C.121 allows the commissioner to adopt rules necessary to implement and
enforce Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 18C.

Public Comment. Interested persons or groups may submit comments or information on the planned rules in writing or orally
until 4:30 p.m. on July 10, 1998.  The department has prepared a draft of the planned rules.  Written or oral comments, questions,
requests to receive a draft proposed rules, and requests for more information on the planned rules should be addressed to:  Gregg
Regimbal Minnesota Department of Agriculture, 90 W. Plato Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55107:  Phone 612/297-4871, Fax 612/297-2271.
TTY users may contact the Department of Agriculture through Minnesota Relay Service at 1-800/627-3529.

Comments submitted in response to this notice will not be included in the formal rulemaking record when a proceeding to
adopt a rule is started.

Dated:  24 April 1998

Sharon Clark
Deputy Commissioner

Board of Animal Health
Notice of Quarterly Meeting of the Board of Animal Health

The Board of Animal Health quarterly meeting will be Friday, June 19, 1998.  The meeting will convene at 9:30 a.m. in confer-
ence room 1 in the Minnesota Department of Agriculture Building, 90 W. Plato Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55107.

Department of Health
Notice of Solicitation of Outside Information or Opinions and of Participants for a Technical Advisory

Group Regarding Ambulatory Payment Classifications (APC�s) and Ambulatory Patient Groups
(APG�s)

Introduction: Notice is hereby given that the Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) and the Data Definitions Technical
Advisory Group (DD TAG), a sub division of the Administrative Uniformity Committee (AUC) are seeking information or opin-
ions from outside sources regarding the implications of APC’s and APG’s on the Health Care market.  The persons or groups likely
to be affected by this are health care providers and payers.

Summary of Issues:Adoption of APG/APC is scheduled for 1/1/99.  The recommendation from the AUC was to discuss
APGs/APCs at Data Definitions or at a separate meeting.  Data Definitions will review and approve any  recommendations/data for-
mulated from the APG/APC TAG before it would be presented to the AUC.

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes§§ 14.101, an agency must first solicit comments from the public on the subject matter of a possible
rulemaking proposal under active consideration within the agency by publishing a notice in the State Registerat least 60 days before pub-
lication of a notice to adopt or a notice of hearing, and within 60 days of the effective date of any new statutory grant of required rulemak-
ing.  

The State Registeralso publishes other official notices of state agencies and non-state agencies, including notices of meetings and mat-

Official Notices
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Technical Advisory Group to be Convened:A sub TAG to Data Definitions will be formed to address the APG/APC issue.
Persons interested in contributing to the APC/APG TAG may contact Amy Camp of the Minnesota Department of Health at the
address or number below:

Amy Camp
Minnesota Department of Health
Health Policy and Systems Compliance Division
P.O. Box 64975
St. Paul, MN 55164-0975
Phone:  612-282-3818
Internet: amy.camp@health.state.mn.us

The APC/APG TAG will meet on Thursday, May 28 from 9:00 - 11:00 at the MDH Service Center.  The schedule for future
meetings will be determined by the timeline for assessment and recommendations to be reported to the DD TAG.  Interested parties
will be notified of meeting times and locations by MDH.

State Board of Investment
Notice of Meeting of the State Board of Investment Administrative Committee

The State Board of Investment Administrative Committee will meet on Monday, May 18, 1998 in the SBI Conference Room,
MEA Building, Room 105, 55 Sherburne Avenue, St. Paul, MN from 11:00 A.M. to 12:00 Noon.

Pollution Control Agency
Hazardous Waste Division

Request for Comments on Planned Rule Governing the Training and Certification of Aboveground Storage
Tank Contractors, Minnesota Rules ch. 7106

Subject of Rule. The Minnesota Pollution Control Agency (MPCA) requests comments on its planned rule governing the
Training and Certification of Aboveground Storage Tank Contractors.  The MPCA is considering a rule that would establish training
and certification programs for individuals interested in becoming authorized to perform aboveground storage tank service projects.

Persons Affected. The rule would likely affect individuals who currently perform aboveground tank service projects such as
tank owners and operators, contractors, inspectors, testers and consultants.  The MPCA does contemplate appointing an advisory
committee to comment on the planned rule.

Statutory Authority. Minnesota Statutes, section 116.491 requires the MPCA to adopt rules containing standards of compe-
tence for installers, and to implement the aboveground storage tank installers training and certification program  

Public Comment. Interested persons or groups may submit comments or information on this planned rule in writing or orally
until 4:30 p.m. on June 12, 1998.  The MPCA has not yet prepared a draft of the planned rule.  Written or oral comments, questions
and requests for more information on this planned rule should be addressed to:  

Thomas Honebrink
Hazardous Waste Division
Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
520 Lafayette Road North
St. Paul, Minnesota  55155-4194
(612) 297-8659

Comments submitted in response to this notice will not be included in the formal rulemaking record when a proceeding to
adopt a rule is started.  

Dated:  28 April 1998

Peder A. Larson
Commissioner

mailto:amy.camp@health.state.mn.us
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Pollution Control Agency
Water Quality Division

Notice to Solicit Outside Information and Opinion In the Matter of Proposed Rule Amendments to
Minnesota Rules ch. 7050, Regarding State Water Quality Standards; and Notice of Agency Plans to
Reconvene a Water Quality Standards Advisory Committee on June 16, 1998

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency (MPCA) is seeking opinions, information and
comments from sources outside the MPCA to assist in the preparation of proposed amendments to state water quality standards
found in Minnesota Rulesch. 7050.  The amendment of the water quality rule is authorized by Minnesota StatutesSection 115.03,
subd. 1.  In addition, the MPCA plans to reconvene a Water Quality Standards Advisory Committee on June 16, 1998, specifically
to discuss potential changes to Minnesota’s ammonia water quality standard.

Chapter 7050 includes general standards applicable to all waters of the state, numerical water quality standards for the protection
of specific beneficial uses such as swimming and fishing, effluent limitations for dischargers, and a use classification system for all
waters of the state. 

The Water Quality Standards Advisory Committee 

Some municipalities in Minnesota raised issues about specific water quality standards and the methods the MPCA uses to set efflu-
ent limits to meet these standards.  The MPCA formed a Water Quality Standards Advisory Committee (WQSAC) in September
1996 to provide a broad-based forum for the discussion and resolution, if possible, of these issues.  The committee last met in
December, 1997.  The committee made recommendations to the MPCA on a number of issues which are contained in a report, avail-
able from the MPCA upon request.  The committee delayed addressing the ammonia standard because the U.S.  Environmental
Protection Agency (EPA) was in the midst of reviewing the national ammonia criterion.  That review is nearly complete and the
MPCA plans to reconvene the WQSAC on Tuesday, June 16, 1998, starting at 10:00 AM at the MPCA office, to begin discussions on
the ammonia standard.  The public is encouraged to attend and participate in the WQSAC meetings in a non-voting capacity.

Potential Scope of Amendments to Minnesota Rules ch. 7050.

The MPCA requests information and opinion from the public on any subject matter contained in Minnesota Rulesch. 7050, but is
particularly interested in the public’s opinions on the items listed below.  The MPCA has not decided on the scope of proposed
amendments to ch. 7050, but we are considering changes or modifications to the following water quality standards:

A.  Class 2, Aquatic Life and Recreation Standards

1. Ammonia; update based on EPA review of national ammonia criterion.

2. Dissolved oxygen; allow site-specific modifications to the standard.

3. Chlorine; update to match EPA criterion.

4. Silver; update to reflect new data.

5. Convert standards for certain trace metals from  “total” to “dissolved”; to bring ch. 7050 metal standards into agreement
with EPA guidance and recently adopted metal standards in Minnesota Rulesch. 7052 (the Great Lakes Initiative rule). 

6. Fecal coliform; shorten the period during which the standard applies to April through October from March through
October.

7. Tier II standards; recalculate eight existing “Tier II” standards using the updated method recently adopted in ch. 7052,
and replace existing Tier II method in ch. 7050 with the new method.  (The new Tier II method is a statistically-based
procedure used to calculate water quality standards when toxicity data are limited.) 

8. Label all Class 2 standards as to whether they are based on, 1) direct toxicity to aquatic life, 2) human health, or 3)
wildlife effects data and information, to bring ch. 7050 into agreement with the recently adopted standards in ch. 7052.

B.  Other Changes Being Considered

1. Update the list of Class 2A (trout) waters listed in Minnesota Rulespt. 7050.0470 to reflect the most recent list of waters
designated as trout streams or trout lakes by the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources.  
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2. Review of requests to reclassify specific water bodies as Class 7, Limited Resource Value Waters.  Requests received to
date include:

a) Branch No. 3, Lateral No. 2, Co. Ditch 67 and 13, at East Bethel, Anoka County.

b) Trout Brook, at St. Paul, Ramsey County

c) Silver Creek, at Aurora, St. Louis County

d) Unnamed Ditch, near Owatonna, Steele County

e) Unnamed Ditch, Co. Ditch No. 37 , and West Fork Beaver Creek, near Renville, Renville County

f) Unnamed Ditches, Buffalo Creek, and High Island Ditch, near Arlington, Sibley County.

g) County Ditch No. 17, at Bel Clare Estates, Inc. near St. Cloud, Sterns County.

h) Unnamed Creek, at Laketown Township, Carver County.

i) Unnamed Stream, near Magnolia, Rock County.

j) Lateral 5 of Judicial Ditch No. 3, at Green Isle, Sibley County.

k) County Ditch No. 28, near Ham Lake, Anoka County.

Any interested person or group may submit ideas, comments or opinions on the proposal outlined above, or any other part of
Minnesota Rulesch. 7050.  Comments can be submitted in writing or orally.  Oral statements will be received during regular busi-
ness hours.  Written or oral comments, or requests for more information should be directed to:

David E. Maschwitz
Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
WQ/MAS
520 Lafayette Road
St. Paul, MN  55155-4194
Telephone:  (612) 296-7255
Fax:  (612) 297-2343
MN Toll Free:  1-800-657-3864
E-mail:  david.maschwitz@pca.state.mn.us 

Comments and suggestions should be received by the MPCA no later than June 30, 1998.  All written comments received will
become part of the rulemaking record.

Minnesota Property Insurance Placement Facility
Meeting Notice of the Governing Board

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Governing Board meeting of the Minnesota Property Insurance Placement Facility will
be held at 9:30 a.m. on Wednesday, May 13, 1998.  The meetings will be held at Minnesota Property Insurance Placement Facility
located at 1201 Marquette Avenue, Suite 310; Minneapolis, Minnesota.  For additional information please call 338-7584.

Department of Public Safety
Minnesota Auto Theft Prevention Program

Notice of Meeting of the Board of Directors
The Department of Public Safety, Minnesota Auto Theft Prevention Program, will be holding its Board of Directors meeting on

May 14, 1998.  The meeting will begin at 9:00 a.m. and will be held at the Minnesota Auto Theft Prevention Program (MATPP)
office located at 1110 Centre Pointe Curve, Suite 405, Mendota Heights, MN. (Hwy 110 and Lexington Ave., west of Hwy 35W
(South) on the south side of the GNB Technologies Bldg.)  Meetings are open to the public.  For more information you may contact
the MATPP office at (612/405-6155).

mailto:david.maschwitz@pca.state.mn.us
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Sentencing Guidelines Commission
Notice of Public Hearing to Consider Modifications to the Sentencing Guidelines

The Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission will hold a public hearing on Thursday, June 11, 1998, at 4:00 PM in Room
15, Ground Floor, State Capitol, St. Paul, Minnesota.  The public hearing is to consider proposed modifications to the sentencing
guidelines and commentary regarding the ranking for new and amended crimes, other action to address legislation passed during the
1998 legislative session, and other technical modifications.

Additional copies of the proposed modifications are available, free of charge, by contacting the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines
Commission at University National Bank Building, 200 University Avenue West, Suite 205, St. Paul, MN 55103, or by calling
Voice:  (612) 296-0144.  Deaf/Hard of Hearing/Speech Impaired Only TTY users may call this agency through the MN Relay
Service:  1 (800) 627-3529; ask for (612) 296-0144.  If you need special accommodations to attend, please contact the Minnesota
Sentencing Guidelines Commission as soon as possible.  This notice is available in alternative formats upon request.

All interested persons are encouraged to attend the hearing and offer comments.  Persons wishing to speak may register in
advance by contacting the Commission staff at the above address/telephone number.

The Commission will hold the record open for five days after the public hearing to accept additional written comment on the pro-
posed modifications.  On June 18, 1998, the Commission will meet at 3:00 PM at the Minnesota Department of Corrections, Orville
Pung Conference Room, 1450 Energy Park Drive, Suite 200, St. Paul, MN 55108 to formally adopt or reject the proposed modifi-
cations.  If adopted, the modifications will become effective as noted in each of the sections.  

I.  PROPOSED MODIFICATIONS TO RANK THE SEVERITY OF NEW OR AMENDED CRIMES PASSED BY THE 1998 LEGISLATURE
- EFFECTIVE AUGUST 1, 1998 UNLESS OTHERWISE NOTED

� The Commission proposes to rank the following crimes in Section V. OFFENSESEVERITY REFERENCE
TABLE as follows: 

Severity Level X

Murder 2 (intentional murder; unintentionaldrive-by shootings) - 609.19, subd. 1

Severity Level VIII

Receiving Profit Derived from Prostitution - 609.323, subd. 1

Solicits,Promotes,or ReceivesProfit Derivedfrom Prostitution;Indiv. Under16Solicitation of Prostitution- 609.322, subd. 1

Severity Level VII

Solicitation of Prostitution (force) - 609.322, subd. 1a (2) & (4)(b)

Drive-By Shooting(towardapersonor occupiedmotorvehicleor building) - 609.66,subd.1e(b) (effective for crimes commit-
ted on or after January 1, 1999)

Severity Level VI

CertainPersonsNot to Have Firearms- 624.713,subd.1 (b); 609.165,subd.1b (effective for crimes committed on or after
January 1, 1999)

Drive-By Shooting (toward a person or occupied motor vehicle or building) - 609.66, subd.  1e (a) (effective for crimes commit-
ted on or after January 1, 1999)

Severity Level V

Receiving Profit Derived from Prostitution - 609.323, subd. 1a

Solicitation of Prostitution - 609.322, subd. 1a(1), (3), & (4)(a)&(c)

Solicits,Promotes,or ReceivesProfit Derivedfrom Prostitution- 609.322,subd.1a

Severity Level IV

Certain Persons Not to Have Firearms - 624.713, subd. 1 (b); 609.165, subd. 1b (effective for crimes committed on or after
January 1, 1999)

Indecent Exposure in Presence of Minor- 617.23, (c)subd.3

Severity Level III

Receiving Profit Derived From Prostitution - 609.323, subd. 2

Solicitation of Prostitution - 609.322, subd. 2



Official Notices

PAGE 1987(CITE 22 S.R. 1987) State Register, Monday 11 May 1998

Severity Level I

Failureto Appearin JuvenileCourt-; 609.49,subd.1a;588.20,subd.1

ProstitutionCrimes(grossmisdemeanorlevel)Committedin Schoolor ParkZones- 609.3242,subd.2 (2)

Solicitation of Prostitution - 609.322, subd. 3

The Commission considered the changes made by the 1998 Legislature to the following crimes and proposes to
continue the existing severity level rankings in Section V. OFFENSESEVERITY REFERENCE TABLE, unless
otherwise noted above: 

Burglary Crimes; Controlled Substance Crimes; Criminal Sexual Conduct Crimes; Harassment/Stalking; Importing Controlled
Substances Across State Borders; Obstructing Legal Process, Arrest, or Firefighting; Prostitution (Patron); Tampering with Witness,
Aggravated First Degree; Tampering with Witness in the First Degree; Theft Crimes; and Violation of an Order for Protection

The Commission proposes to continue to place the following crimes on the UnrankedOffenseList in Section
II.A.03. of the Commentary after considering the changes made by the 1998 Legislature:

Registration of predatory offenders - 243.166, subd. 5

II.  OTHER PROPOSED MODIFICATIONS - EFFECTIVE AUGUST 1, 1998

The Commission proposes to amend the language in Section II.G.  Convictionsfor Attempts, Conspiracies,and
Other SentenceModifiers regarding convictions for Crimes Committed for Benefit of a Gang to address the new
mandatory minimum passed by the 1998 Legislature and to clarify how to add on the additional time to the pre-
sumptive duration: 

II.G.  Convictions for Attempts, Conspiracies,and Other SentenceModifiers . . .

For persons sentenced under Minnesota Statutes§ 609.229, subd. 3 (a) where there is a sentence for an offense committed for the
benefit of a gang, the presumptive dispositionis alwayscommitmentto the Commissionerof Correctionsdueto the mandatory
minimumunderMinnesotaStatutes§ 609.229,subd.4. Thepresumptivedurationsentence is determined by thedurationcontained
in locatingthe Sentencing Guidelines Grid cell defined by the offender’s criminal history score and the severity level of the under-
lying crime with the highest severity level, and the duration contained therein or themandatoryminimum,whicheveris greater,plus
an additional 12 months.  If the underlying crime carries a mandatory minimum prison sentence, the 12 months is added to the
mandatory minimum or the duration in the appropriate cell, whichever is greater.  If the underlying crime is an attempt, thepre-
sumptivedurationincludesanadditional6 monthsratherthan12 the 12 months is added to the respective duration first and then
divided by two, but the duration shall not be less than one year and one day.

The Commission proposes to amend and relocate language in several sections of Section II of the Sentencing
Guidelines and Commentary to eliminate some of the confusion regarding monetary thresholds used to determine
offense classification for the purpose of calculating the criminal history score:

The Commission proposes to move the following language up in the section on “out-of-state” convictions as part of a more
general paragraph.

II.B.502.  The Commission concluded that convictions from other jurisdictions must, in fairness, be considered in the computation of
an offender’s criminal history index score.  It was recognized, however, that criminal conduct may be characterized differently by the
various state and federal criminal jurisdictions.  There is no uniform nationwide characterization of the terms “felony,” “gross misde-
meanor,” and “misdemeanor.”  Generally,the classificationof prior offensesaspetty misdemeanors,misdemeanors,grossmisde-
meanors,or feloniesshouldbedeterminedon thebasisof currentMinnesotaoffensedefinitionsandsentencingpolicies. Exceptionsto
thisareoffensesin whichamonetarythresholddeterminestheoffenseclassification.In thesesituations,themonetarythresholdin effect
at thetimetheoffensewascommitteddeterminestheoffenseclassificationfor criminalhistorypurposes,not thecurrentthreshold.

II.B.504.  Generally, the classification of prior offenses as petty misdemeanors, misdemeanors, gross misdemeanors, or felonies
should be determined on the basis of current offense definitions.  An exception to this are offenses in which a monetary threshold
determines the offense classification.  The monetary threshold at the time the offense was committed determines the offense classi-
fication for criminal history purposes, not the current threshold.

The Commission also proposes to repeat the language in II.B.504. at the beginning of the criminal history section to
clarify that this policy applies to all prior offenses and not just out-of-state crimes.

B. Criminal History : . . . 

II.B.04. Generally,theclassificationof prior offensesaspettymisdemeanors,misdemeanors,grossmisdemeanors,or felonies
shouldbedeterminedon thebasisof currentMinnesotaoffensedefinitionsandsentencingpolicies. Exceptionsto this areoffenses
in whichamonetarythresholddeterminestheoffenseclassification.In thesesituations,themonetarythresholdin effectat thetime
theoffensewascommitteddeterminestheoffenseclassificationfor criminalhistorypurposes,not thecurrentthreshold.
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The Commission also proposes to delete the very specific language found in section II.B.107.(section describing criminal

history policies for felonies) and summarize it in a new comment II.B.04.  at the beginning of the criminal history section.  It
is more appropriate in the general section because it applies to all prior offenses and not just felonies.  It will be more prac-
tical to remove the very specific detail currently found in the commentary and present it instead in training materials.

II.B.107.  If the offender’s prior record involves convictions of offenses that were committed prior to August 1, 1983, for which
fines were the only sanction given, use the following schedule to determine whether the offense should be characterized as a misde-
meanor, gross misdemeanor, or felony for purposes of computing criminal history scores:

If fine imposedis between: Classifyoffenseas:

$101 - $500 Misdemeanor

$501 - $1,000 Gross Misdemeanor

more than $1,000 Felony

If the offender’s prior record involves convictions of offenses that were committed on or after August 1, 1983, for which fines
were the only sanctions given, use the following schedule to determine whether the offense should be characterized as a misde-
meanor, gross misdemeanor, or felony for purposes of computing criminal history scores:

If fine imposedis between: Classifyoffenseas:

$101 - $700 Misdemeanor

$701 - $3,000 Gross Misdemeanor

more than $3,000 Felony

If the offender’s prior record involves convictions of offenses that were committed on or after August 1, 1987, for which fines of $201
- $700 were the only sanction given, the conviction would count as a misdemeanor for purposes of computing criminal history scores.

If a fine is the only penalty provided by statute for the offense of conviction, and the fine imposed was in excess of $500, or in
excess of $700 if the offense occurred on or after August 1, 1983, then the offense would be counted as a gross misdemeanor.

If a fine was given that was less than the misdemeanor level of fine as classified above, and that was the only sanction imposed, the
conviction would be deemed a petty misdemeanor under Minnesota Rules of Criminal Procedure 23.02, and would not be used to
compute the criminal history score.  Convictions which are petty misdemeanors by statutory definition, or which have been certified
as petty misdemeanors under Minnesota Rules of Criminal Procedure 23.04, will not be used to compute the criminal history score.

II.B.04. . . . 

If a fine wasgiven thatwaslessthanthemisdemeanorlevel of fine classifiedby the laws in effectat the time theoffensewas
committed,andthatwastheonly sanctionimposed,theconvictionwould bedeemeda pettymisdemeanorunderMinnesotaRules
of Criminal Procedure23.02,andwould not be usedto computethe criminal history score. Convictionswhich arepetty misde-
meanorsby statutorydefinition,or whichhavebeencertifiedaspettymisdemeanorsunderMinnesotaRulesof Criminal Procedure
23.04,will notbeusedto computethecriminalhistoryscore.

The Commission proposes to clarify an example in comment II.E.02, regarding mandatory minimum sentences
and the severity level ranking for Assault in the Second Degree:

II.E.02. . . .  For example, accordingto MinnesotaStatutes§ 609.11,the mandatory minimum  prison sentence for Assault in the
Second Degree involving a knife is one year and one day.  However,accordingto theguidelines,thepresumptivedurationis the
mandatoryminimum sentenceor the durationprovidedin the appropriatecell of the grid, whicheveris longer.Therefore,Ffor
someone convictedof Assaultin theSecondDegreewith no criminal history score, the guidelines recommend presumea 21 month
prison sentence durationbased on the appropriatecell of thegrid foundatseverity level VI ranking.  The Commission believes this
sentence durationis more appropriate than the 48 month prison sentence durationthat would be recommended if this crime were
ranked at severity level VII which is the first severity level ranked completely above the dispositional line.

The Commission proposes to amend the comment in II.E.03. to clarify that in addition to Assault in the Second
Degree, there are other examples of mandatory minimum provisions that always apply upon conviction: 

II.E.03. . . .

Assault in the Second Degree Therearesomeoffensesthatby statutory definition involves the use of a dangerous weapon and,
therefore, the mandatory minimum provision dealing with dangerous weapons always applies;for example,when someone has
been convicted of Assault in the Second Degree,Drive-By Shootings,andCertainPersonsNot to HaveFirearms.The presumptive
disposition forthesetypesof offensesis imprisonment and the presumptive duration is the mandatory minimum sentence pre-
scribed for the conviction offense or the cell time, whichever is greater.
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The Commission proposes to amend Section II.C.  PresumptiveSentenceto clarify the current policy on burglary
of an occupied dwelling by changing the term “adjudication of guilt” to “conviction”:

C.  PresumptiveSentence:The offense of conviction determines the appropriate severity level on the vertical axis.  The offend-
er’s criminal history score, computed according to section B above, determines the appropriate location on the horizontal axis....

When the current conviction offense is burglary of an occupied dwelling (Minnesota Statutes§ 609.582, subd.1 (a)) and there
was a previous adjudication of guilt convictionfor a felony burglary before the current offense occurred, the presumptive disposi-
tion is Commitment to the Commissioner of Corrections.  The presumptive duration of sentence is the fixed duration indicated in
the appropriate cell of the Sentencing Guidelines Grid. 

The Commission proposes the following technical changes to various sections of the Sentencing Guidelines and
Commentary to account for the statutes recodified by the 1998 Legislature relating to increased sentences for 
certain dangerous or repeat offenders:

II.D.  Departures from the Guidelines:. . .

(7) Offender is a “patterned sex offender” (See Minnesota Statutes§ 609.1352 609.108).

II.D.204.  A special sentencing provision was established by the legislature under Minnesota Statutes§ 609.1352  609.108that is avail-
able to judges when sentencing certain sex offenders.  The use of this sentencing provision would constitute a departure under the sentenc-
ing guidelines and a judge must provide written reasons which specify the substantial and compelling nature of the circumstances.

II. E. Mandatory Sentences:. . .

First degree murder, and certain sex offenders convicted under Minnesota Statutes§ 609.346, subd. 2a 609.109,subd.3, which
have a mandatory life imprisonment sentence, are excluded from offenses covered by the sentencing guidelines. . . .

When an offender is sentenced according to Minnesota Statutes§ 609.196 609.107, Mandatory Penalty for Certain Murderers,
the statutory provision determines the presumptive sentence. . . .

When an offender is sentenced according to Minnesota Statutes§ 609.152, subd. 2a 609.1095,subd.3, the presumptive disposi-
tion is commitment to the commissioner and the court must impose and execute the presumptive duration unless a longer mandatory
minimum sentence is otherwise required by law or the court imposes a longer aggravated durational departure.

II.E.04.  In Statev. Feinstein,338 N.W.2d 244 (Minn. 1983), the Supreme Court held that judges had the authority to stay execu-
tion of mandatory three year prison sentences for second or subsequent sex offenses established by Minnesota Statutes § 609.346. . . .

II.E.05.  Minnesota Statutes§ 609.346 609.109requires that when a court sentences a person to prison for a violation of section
609.342, 609.343, 609.344, or 609.345, the court shall provide that after the person has completed the sentence imposed, the com-
missioner of corrections shall place the person on conditional release for five years, minus the time the person served on supervised
release.  If the person was convicted for a violation of one of those sections a second or subsequent time, or sentenced to a manda-
tory departure pursuant to section 609.346, subd. 4 609.109,subd.6, the person shall be placed on conditional release for ten years,
minus the time served on supervised release.

The Commission proposes the following technical changes to comment III.A.102. of the Sentencing Guidelines and
Commentary to in order for the language to be consistent with previous changes to the severity level rankings for
theft crimes:

III.A.102.  When a judge grants a stayed sentence, the duration of the stayed sentence may exceed the presumptive sentence
length indicated in the appropriate cell of the Sentencing Guidelines Grid, and may be as long as the statutory maximum for the
offense of conviction.  Thus, for an offender convicted of Theft, over$2,500 or less (severity level III), with a criminal history score
of 1, the duration of the stay could be up to five years. . . 

The Commission proposes the following technical changes to the Theft Offense List to correct statutory cite
changes that became effective August 1, 1997:

Theft by Check
609.52, subd. 2(3) (ai)

Theft by False Representation
609.52, subd. 2 (3), (bii ), (ciii ), (div), & (ev)

III.  PROPOSED MODIFICATIONS - EFFECTIVE AUGUST 1, 1999, AFTER THE 1999 LEGISLATURE HAS REVIEWED THE
ADOPTED MODIFICATIONS

None at this time.



PAGE 1990 (CITE 22 S.R. 1990)State Register, Monday 11 May 1998

Department of Public Safety
Minnesota Auto Theft Prevention Program

Notice of Grant Availability for Businesses, Government Units, and Community Organizations for Auto
Theft Prevention

The Minnesota Auto Theft Prevention Program Board announces the availability of over $350,000.00 in grant funds still accessi-
ble for the July 1, 1998 through June 30, 1999 grant period.  Applications will be accepted from State, County, Local Police
Departments, Governmental Agencies, Prosecutors, Judiciary, Businesses, Community and Neighborhood Organizations.  This
reimbursement grant program must be for projects dedicated to the area of auto theft.  Grant application packets may be obtained by
contacting Dennis Roske at the Auto Theft Prevention Office at (612/405-6153 or 405-6155).  To be considered, applications must
be received in the MATPP office in Mendota Heights by 4:30 p.m. on June 1, 1998.

Administration Department
Communications.Media Division

State Register Available Free on the Internet Beginning July 6, 1998
The State Registerwill be available free on the Internet beginning with the first issue of volume 23 on July 6, 1998.  The website

address is:  www.comm.media.state.mn.us

Paper copies will continue to be available at current prices, $5.00 per individual copy, $10.00 per copy with an “affidavit of pub-
lication,” and $160 for a full year’s subscription, including cumulative indices.

In addition, the “State RegisterContracts Supplement” will appear free of charge on the Internet website listed above, beginning
July 1, 1998 with issue # 775, as will the text of the Minnesota Guidebook to State Agency Services 1996-1999.  Paper copies will
continue to be sold for both items. 

The “State RegisterContracts Supplement” will be available for an annual paper subscription at $135 per year (156 issues), and
by FAX for $150 per year.  Individual paper copies cost $1.00.

The Minnesota Guidebook to State Agency Services 1996-1999 has been reduced to half-price for paper copies ($14.98 for either
spiral-bound or looseleaf [binder sold separately at $7.95]).  Compact disks of the Guidebook have also been marked half-price:
$29.98 for single user, $117.98 for small network CD (2-10 users), and $499.98 for large network CD (11-unlimited use).

For more information, call Minnesota’s Bookstore at (612) 297-3000, or toll-free:  1-800-657-3757, FAX:  (612) 297-8260.

In addition to requests by state agencies for technical/professional services (published in the State Contracts section), the State Register
also publishes notices about grants and loans available through any agency or branch of state government.  Although some grant and loan
programs specifically require printing in a statewide publication such as the State Register, there is no requirement for publication in the
State Registeritself.

Agencies are encouraged to publish grant and loan notices, and to provide financial estimates as well as sufficient time for interested
parties to respond.

State Grants & Loans

Department of Administration procedures require that notice of any consultant services contract or professional and technical services con-
tract which has an estimated cost of over $10,000 be printed in the State Register.These procedures also require that the following information
be included in the notice:  name of contact person, agency name and address, description of project and tasks, and final submission date of com-
pleted contract proposal.

In accordance with Minnesota RulesPart 1230.1910, certified Targeted Group Businesses and individuals submitting proposals as prime con-
tractors shall receive the equivalent of up to 6% preference in the evaluation of their proposal.  For information regarding certification, call the
Materials Management Helpline (612) 296-2600 or [TTY (612) 297-5353 and ask for 296-2600].

Professional, Technical & Consulting Contracts
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Department of Children, Families and Learning
Notice of Request for Proposal to Develop a School-to-Work Materials Clearinghouse

The Department of Children, Families and Learning is soliciting proposals from qualified vendors to develop a School-to-Work
materials clearinghouse.  The purpose of the clearinghouse shall be to provide information and resource materials to a wide variety
of customers/clients who have an interest in the development of a Minnesota School-to-Work system.  The contractor will establish
and operate a clearinghouse in the seven county Twin City Metropolitan area which is both physically and electronically accessible.
The computer software for operating the clearinghouse is currently in development, and descriptive materials and diagrams describ-
ing these functions are available.  Subtasks include:  1) work with state agency representatives to establish and maintain a suitable
collection of materials, 2) input data/list items for sale or loan, 3) process sales orders and maintain accounts, 4) process loans and
requests, and 5) assist clients/customers visiting physical location.

The Department has estimated the cost of this project should not exceed $100,000.00 annually. 

The anticipated project period is July 1, 1998 through June 30, 2001.

For a complete copy of the Request for Proposal, please contact:

Tom Ryerson
Department of Children, Families and Learning
Office of Lifework Development, Room 107
550 Cedar Street
St. Paul, MN 55101
Phone: 612/296-1106
Fax:  612/296-3348
Tom.ryerson@state.mn.us

Proposals are due no later than 4:00 PM on June 1, 1998.  Late proposals will not be accepted.

Department of Children, Families and Learning
Office of Community Services

Notice of Request for Proposal to Provide a Household Child Care Survey
The Department of Children, Families & Learning is soliciting proposals from qualified organizations to gather, analyze and

evaluate data on statewide child care usage patterns of Minnesota families with young children.  The data will be used for research
and planning efforts to ensure the well-being of children in Minnesota.

The Department of Children, Families & Learning has received federal funding for the purposes of this household survey and
evaluation.  The Department will award one contract to a representative of a collaboration of partners with expertise in designing
surveys, analyzing and evaluating data, conducting research, publishing reports, and extensive knowledge of child care at a state
and national level.

The goal of this project is to conduct a comprehensive statewide survey based on a statistically valid, random sample of
Minnesota families.  The survey will be used to gather information on the range of child care options that Minnesota families use for
their children from infancy up to age 14, including licensed formal care and informal care by relatives and neighbors.  Once data has
been gathered, an extensive analysis and evaluation of the data will be done to determine the child care usage patterns of Minnesota
families with young children.  A report based on this data collection, analysis and evaluation will be presented to the Department of
Children, Families & Learning.  

The Department has estimated that the cost of this project should not exceed $195,000.  The project period will be August 1998
through September 2000.

For a complete copy of the Request for Proposal, please contact the Department of Children, Families & Learning, 550 Cedar
Street, 391 Capitol Square Building, St. Paul, Minnesota 55101-2273, telephone (612) 297-5979, fax (612) 296-5890.

Completed proposals are due by 4:00 p.m. on June 15, 1998.

In compliance with Minnesota Statutes16B.167, the availability of this contracting opportunity is being offered to state employ-
ees.  We will evaluate the responses of any state employee along with other responses to this Request for Proposal.

mailto:Tom.ryerson@state.mn.us


PAGE 1992 (CITE 22 S.R. 1992)State Register, Monday 11 May 1998

Professional, Technical & Consulting Contracts

Department of Children, Families and Learning
Office of Community Services

Notice of Request for Proposal to Provide an Evaluation of the Child Care Resource and Referral
Programs

The Department of Children, Families & Learning is soliciting proposals from qualified parties to provide an evaluation of the
child care resource and referral programs and their work to build the capacity of the child care system to handle the estimated
increases in need due to welfare reform.

The Department of Children, Families & Learning has received funding from the McKnight Foundation for the purposes of this
evaluation.  This project will provide a third-party evaluation of the capacity-building funds allocated through the Minnesota
Legislature and the funds granted through the McKnight Foundation.

The goal of this project is to carry out an evaluation of the capacity-building efforts of the regional child care resource and refer-
ral programs, as well as the statewide Minnesota Child Care Resource and Referral Network office, including three components:

A. Evaluate the outcomes of the work of the capacity-building specialists at the state and regional level;

B. Evaluate the outcomes of the work with the informal child care system; and

C. Study data on the Child Care Service Development Grant Program at the regional and statewide level and evaluate
progress in capacity building.

The Department has estimated that the cost of this project should not exceed $50,000.  The project period will be August 1998
through June 1999.

For a complete copy of the Request for Proposal, please contact the Department of Children, Families & Learning, 550 Cedar
Street, 391 Capitol Square Building, St. Paul, Minnesota 55101-2273, telephone (612) 297-5979, fax (612) 296-5890.

Completed proposals are due by 4:00 p.m. on June 15, 1998.

In compliance with Minnesota Statutes16B.167, the availability of this contracting opportunity is being offered to state employ-
ees.  We will evaluate the responses of any state employee along with other responses to this Request for Proposal.

Colleges and Universities, Minnesota State (MnSCU)
Winona State University

Notice of Request for Bid for Seminar Tables
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that Winona State University will receive sealed bids for seminar tables with power up modules.

Bid specifications will be available May 11, 1998 from Sandra Schmitt, Purchasing Director, PO Box 5838, 205 Somsen Hall,
Winona State University, Winona, MN 55987 or by calling 507/457-5067.

Sealed bids must be received by Sandra Schmitt, PO Box 5838 or Somsen 205C, Business Office, Winona State University,
Winona, MN 55987 by 12 Noon on May 22, 1998.

Winona State University reserves the right to reject any or all bids or portions thereof, or to waive any irregularities or informali-
ties in proposals received.
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Department of Human Services
Social Services Information System (SSIS)

Notice of Request for Proposal (RFP) for Database Server Installation Services
The Department of Human Services is seeking proposals from vendors to assist with the installation of database servers in

Minnesota county social services offices in the following counties:  

Aitkin, Anoka, Beltrami, Benton, Big Stone, Carlton, Chisago, Clearwater, Cook, Cottonwood, Crow Wing,
Dodge, Fillmore, Freeborn, Goodhue, Grant, Houston, Hubbard, Isanti, Itasca, Jackson, Kanabec, Kandiyohi,
Kittson, Koochiching, Lac Qui Parle, Lake, Lake of the Woods, Le Sueur, Mcleod, Mahnomen, Marshall,
Faribault-Martin, Meeker, Morrison, Mower, Nobles, Norman, Olmsted, Otter Tail, Pennington, Pine, Pipestone,
Polk, Pope, Red Lake, Redwood, Renville, Rice, Rock, Roseau, Sibley, Steele, Stevens, Swift, Todd, Traverse,
Wabasha, Waseca, Washington, Watonwan, Wilkin, Winona, Wright, Yellow Medicine

Proposals must be submitted no later than 3:00 p.m. on June 5, 1998.

This is a multiple award Request For Proposals (RFP).  Executing a master contract does not guarantee any vendor that it will be
retained to perform any services or earn any compensation pursuant to this RFP.  DHS will be free to select any approved vendor to
perform the services described at any county.

This RFP does not obligate DHS or any state or county agency to complete any work referenced herein, and DHS reserves the
right to cancel this solicitation if it is considered to be in its best interest.

The total cost of all services purchased through this RFP from all vendors awarded master contracts is unknown, but is not
expected to exceed $200,000.

Copies of the complete RFP are available from:

Kim Baldwin
SSIS Division
Department of Human Services
444 Lafayette Road
St. Paul, MN 55155-3862
612/772-3750

Department of Human Services
Information and Technology Strategies Division

Request for Proposal for Data Warehousing Services
The Department of Human Services (DHS) is interested in acquiring professional technical services under a master contract

including system development and system integrator services and under another contract with the same vendor to acquire data
warehouse operations services.  The overall purpose is to assist state agencies and other governmental business partners develop
integrated data warehouses that run on or will be supported by the existing DHS data warehouse machine.  The business problem
this RFP addresses is that many state agencies DHS partners with do not have the resources to do the kind of full scale data ware-
house development that is required to effectively bring their data into the DHS data warehouse.  This RFP is intended to create a
structure for smaller state agencies to buy incremental data warehouse development and support services.  DHS wants to be assured
that new data brought in to its data warehouse is done to meet DHS and partner agency business needs. The vendor will provide
core operations and database administration services on the DHS data warehouse.  Beyond those service the vendor will provide
those professional technical services required to meet individual agency project needs.  The vendor would be expected to provide a
range of professional technical services on a project by project basis under a master contract.

This request for proposal does not obligate the state to complete the project, and the State reserves the right to cancel the solicita-
tion if it is considered to be in its best interest.  All proposals must be submitted no later than 3:00 p.m. on June 8, 1998.
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For a copy of the complete Request for Proposal, please contact:

Bill Batcher
Department of Human Services
444 Lafayette Road
St. Paul, MN 55155-3847
(612)296-6837
(612)297-4698 (fax)
bill.batcher@state.mn.us

Pollution Control Agency
Notice of Request for Proposals for Consultant Services for a Scoping Study for a Cost-Benefit Model

The Minnesota Pollution Control Agency (MPCA) requests proposals for a scoping study pursuant to Minnesota Laws 1998
Chapter 401, sections 2 and 59, for a cost-benefit model to analyze water-quality standards.  The scoping study will include:  a
watershed-based approach that evaluates both point and non-point pollution sources and is transferable to other watersheds and
standards, the extent of the costs and benefits to be evaluated, the necessary elements of the model, and the characteristics of the
watershed(s) and standard(s) to be evaluated.

Contract Period:  approximately June 15, 1998 - October 15, 1998

Proposals must be received not later than 2:00 p.m. CDT on June 1, 1998.

To obtain a copy of the complete Request for Proposals, contact:

Susan Schmidt
MPCA, Water Quality Division
520 Lafayette Road
St. Paul, MN 55155
(612) 297-7573
(612) 282-6247
susan.k.schmidt@pca.state.mn.us

In compliance with Minnesota Statutes16B.167, the availability of this contracting opportunity is being offered to state employ-
ees.  We will evaluate the response of any state employee along with other responses to this Request for Proposals.

Department of Transportation
Engineering Services Division

Notice of Request for Statements of Qualifications and Interests from Contractors Interested in Performing
Computer Visualization

The Minnesota Department of Transportation (Mn/DOT) is seeking Qualification and Interest (Q&I) statements from contractors
interested in performing Computer Visualization.

This service may include visualization ranging from three dimensional (3D) wireframe computer model building, two dimen-
sional (2D) photo montage, photo matched texture surface models, or animation videos.

It is anticipated that a Mn/DOT T-Contract program will be set up to include several companies with master agreements, under
which specific projects would be assigned as a need is identified.  This program is estimated at about 600,000.00 dollars for a dura-
tion of three years.

Requests for Qualification and Interest Statements will be available by mail from the address indicated below through May 26,
1998.  A written request (direct mail or FAX) is required to receive the Request for Qualifications and Interest Statements.  After
May, 26, 1998, the Requests for Qualification and Interest Statements must be picked up in person from our offices.

Requests for Qualification and Interest Statements can be obtained from:

mailto:bill.batcher@state.mn.us
mailto:susan.k.schmidt@pca.state.mn.us
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Joseph D. Pignato, P.E.
Agreements Administrator
Minnesota Department of Transportation
395 John Ireland Boulevard, Mail Stop 680
St. Paul, Mn 55155-1899
Phone:  (612) 297-1172, Fax:  (612) 282-5127  

The Qualification & Interest Statement must be received no later than two o’clock in the afternoon (2:00 PM) on June 1, 1998.
Late Submittals will not be accepted.  No Time extensions will be granted.

Firms will be selected and placed on the T-Contract program list from this solicitation.  Selected firms may be requested to
demonstrate their visualization skills prior to receiving a master contract.

The successful responders will be required to submit acceptable evidence of compliance with worker’s compensation insurance
coverage requirements prior to execution of the contract.

In accordance with Minnesota RulesPart 1230.1910, certified Targeted Group Businesses and individuals submitting as prime
contractors will receive the equivalent of a 6% preference in the evaluation, and certified Economically Disadvantaged Businesses
submitting as prime contractors will receive the equivalent of 4% preference in evaluation.

This request does not obligate the Minnesota Department of Transportation to complete the work contemplated in this notice, and
the Department reserves the right to cancel this solicitation at any time.  All expenses incurred by submitting contractors responding
to this notice will be borne by the responder.

Department of Transportation
Notice of Availability of a Contract for Technical Writer Services

The Department of Transportation (Mn/DOT) is requesting proposals for a qualified consultant to provide technical writer ser-
vices to edit, write, and prepare technical material for publication and other methods of dissemination to Mn/DOT, local govern-
ment and other state agencies, transportation contractors and consultants, other state departments of transportation, federal agencies
and others in a manner that facilitates understanding and encourages implementation of research results.

For further information or to obtain a copy of the completed Request for Proposal, contact:

Micky Ruiz, Technology Transfer Manager
Minnesota Department of Transportation
Office of Research Services
Mailstop 330
395 John Ireland Boulevard
St. Paul, MN 55155

Phone:  (612) 282-2269
FAX:  (612) 215-0443

Proposals must be received at the above address no later than 3:00 P.M., May 29, 1998.

This request does not obligate the State of Minnesota, Department of Transportation, to complete the work contemplated in this
notice, and the department reserves the right to cancel this solicitation.  All expenses incurred in responding to this notice shall be
borne by the responder. 
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Anoka-Hennepin Independent School District ISD #11
Notice of Request for Proposals for Group Dental Coverage RFP P98085

This communication is to announce a forthcoming request for proposal (RFP) process for Group Dental Coverage in the Anoka-
Hennepin ISD #11.  The District seeks competitive proposals for Group Dental Coverage.

If you are interested in receiving the RFP to issue proposals for Group Dental Coverage, contact Lisa Faul, Deloitte & Touche
LLP, 400 One Financial Plaza, 120 South Sixth Street, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1844.  Ph:  612 397-4643 Fx:  612 397-4550.

Activity or Point of Action Date

RFP release date to Proposers April 30, 1998

Deadline for questions May 12, 1998

RFP addendum issued May 19, 1998

Deadline for submission of Proposals 10:00 a.m. May 29, 1998

Recommendation of Vendor to School Board June 22, 1998

University of Minnesota
Notice of Bid Information Service (BIS) Available for All Potential Vendors

The University of Minnesota offers 24 hour/day, 7 day/week access to all Requests for Bids/Proposals through its fax back Bid
Information Service (BIS).  Subscriptions to BIS are $75/per fiscal year (not prorated).  Call 612-625-5534 for information or visit
our web site at http://purchserv.finop.umn.edu.  Choose BID Information Service.

Requests for Bids/Proposals are available to the public at no charge each business day from 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. in Purchasing
Services lobby, Suite 560, 1300 S. 2nd Street, Mpls, MN 55454.

The State Registeralso serves as a central marketplace for contracts let out on bid by the public sector.  The Registermeets state and
federal guidelines for statewide circulation of public notices.  Any tax-supported institution or government jurisdiction may advertise con-
tracts and requests for proposals from the private sector.

It is recommended that contracts and RFPs include the following:  1)  name of contact person; 2)  institution name, address, and tele-
phone number; 3)  brief description of project and tasks; 4)  cost estimate; and 5)  final submission date of completed contract proposal.
Allow at least three weeks from publication date (four weeks from date article is submitted for publication).  Surveys show that sub-
scribers are interested in hearing about contracts for estimates as low as $1,000.  Contact the editor for further details.

Non-State Public Bids, Contracts & Grants

http://purchserv.finop.umn.edu
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