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Minnesota Rules: Amendments and Additions 	

NOTICE: How to Follow State Agency Rulemaking in the State Register 
The State Register is the official source, and only complete listing, for all state agency rulemaking in its various stages. State agencies are 

required to publish notice of their rulemaking action in the State Register. Published every Monday, the State Register makes it easy to follow and 
participate in the important rulemaking process. Approximately 80 state agencies have the authority to issue rules. Each agency is assigned specif-
ic Minnesota Rule chapter numbers. Every odd-numbered year the Minnesota Rules are published. The current 1995 set is a 13-volume bound 
collection of all adopted rules in effect at the time. Supplements are published to update this set of rules. Generally speaking, proposed and adopt-
ed exempt rules do not appear in this set because of their short-term nature, but are published in the State Register. 

An agency must first solicit Comments on Planned Rules or Comments on Planned Rule Amendments from the public on the subject matter 
of a possible rulemaking proposal under active consideration within the agency (Minnesota Statutes § 14.101). It does this by publishing a notice 
in the State Register at least 60 days before publication of a notice to adopt or a notice of hearing, or within 60 days of the effective date of any new 
statutory grant of required rulemaking. 

When rules are first drafted, state agencies publish them as Proposed Rules, along with a notice of hearing, or a notice of intent to adopt rules 
without a hearing in the case of noncontroversial rules. This notice asks for comment on the rules as proposed. Proposed emergency rules and 
withdrawn proposed rules are also published in the State Register. After proposed rules have gone through the comment period, and have been 
rewritten into their final form, they again appear in the State Register as Adopted Rules. These final adopted rules are not printed in their entirety 
in the State Register, only the changes made since their publication as Proposed Rules. To see the full rule, as adopted and in effect, a person sim-
ply needs two issues of the State Register, the issue the rule appeared in as proposed, and later as adopted. For a more detailed description of the 
rulemaking process, see the most current edition of the Minnesota Guidebook to State Agency Services. 

The State Register features partial and cumulative listings of rules in this section on the following schedule: isues #1-13 inclusive; issues #14-
25 inclusive; issue #26 cumulative for issues #1-26; issues #27-38 inclusive; issue #39, cumulative for issues #1-39; issues #40-51 inclusive; and 
issues #1-52 (or 53 in some years), cumulative for issues #1-52 (or 53). An annual subject matter index for rules was separately printed usually in 
August, but starting with Volume 19 now appears in the final issue of each volume. For copies or subscriptions to the State Register, contact 
Minnesota's Bookstore, 117 University Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55155 (612) 297-3000, or toll-free 1-800-657-3757. 

Volume 21, issues #15-18 
Agriculture Department 

1555.6730; .6740; .6800; .6845; .6950 (adopted) 	482 

1555.68 10; .6820; .6830; .6850; .6851; .6852; .6860; .6870; .6880; 
.6890; .6900 (repealed) 	482 

Pollution Control Agency 

7048.0500; .1000; 9400.0100; .0200; .0350; .0400; .0500; .0600; 
.0700; .0800; .0900; .1000; .1100; .1200; .1300; .1350; .1500 
(proposed) 	  543 

7077.0100; .0105; .0115; .0277; .0278; .0280; .0287; .0288; .0290 
(adopted) 	  482 

7077.0500; .0505; .0510; .0515; .0520; .0525; .0530; .0535; .0540; 
.0545; .0550; .0555; .0560; .0600; .0610; .0615; .0620; .0625; 
.0640; .0650 (repealed) 	482  

Psychology Board 
7200.6100; .6170 (adopted) 	559 
7200.6150; .6160 (repealed) 	559 
Public Safety Department 
7414.0200; .0300; .0400; .1100; .1200; .1250; .1400; .2100; .2100 

(proposed) 	  477 
7414.0400 s.2,3,4 (proposed repealer) 	477 
7408.0100; .0200; .0300; 7503.2 100 s.2 (proposed repealer) 	554 
7503.0100; .0800; .1300; .1600; .1700; .2100; .2200 (proposed) 	554 
Health Department and the Pollution Control Agency 
9400.0100; .0200; .0350; .0400; .0500; .0600; .0700; .0800; 

.0900; .1000; .1100; .1200; .1300; .1350; .1500; 7048.0500; 

.1000 (proposed) 	543 
9400.0100 s.5,6; .0300; .0700 s.l; .1000 s.3,4; .1200 s.2; 

.1400 (proposed repealer) 	543 
Human Services Department 
9505.0175; .0395 (adopted) 	525 
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Proposed Rules 
Comments on Planned Rules or Rule Amendments 

An agency must first solicit Comments on Planned Rules or Comments on Planned Rule Amendments from the public on the subject 
matter of a possible rulemaking proposal under active consideration within the agency (Minnesota Statutes § 14.101). It does this by pub-
lishing a notice in the State Register at least 60 days before publication of a notice to adopt or a notice of hearing, and within 60 days of the 
effective date of any new statutory grant of required rulemaking. 
Rules to be Adopted After a Hearing 

After receiving comments and deciding to hold a public hearing on the rule, an agency drafts its rule. It then publishes its rules with a 
notice of hearing. All persons wishing to make a statement must register at the hearing. Anyone who wishes to submit written comments may 
do so at the hearing, or within five working days of the close of the hearing. Administrative law judges may, during the hearing, extend the 
period for receiving comments up to 20 calendar days. For five business days after the submission period the agency and interested persons 
may respond to any new information submitted during the written submission period and the record then is closed. The administrative law 
judge prepares a report within 30 days, stating findings of fact, conclusions and recommendations. After receiving the report, the agency 
decides whether to adopt, withdraw or modify the proposed rule based on consideration of the comments made during the rule hearing proce-
dure and the report of the administrative law judge. The agency must wait five days after receiving the report before taking any action. 
Rules to be Adopted Without a Hearing 

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes § 14.22, an agency may propose to adopt, amend, suspend or repeal rules without first holding a public hearing. 
An agency must first solicit Comments on Planned Rules or Comments on Planned Rule Amendments from the public. The agency then pub-
lishes a notice of intent to adopt rules without a public hearing, together with the proposed rules, in the State Register. If, during the 30-day com-
ment period, 25 or more persons submit to the agency a written request for a hearing of the proposed rules, the agency must proceed under the pro-
visions of § 14.14-14.20, which state that if an agency decides to hold a public hearing, it must publish a notice of intent in the State Register. 

Department of Health 
Minnesota Pollution Control Agency 
Proposed Joint Permanent Rules Relating to Certification of Water and Wastewater Operations 

and Classification of Facilities and Systems 

Notice of Intent to Adopt a Rule Without a Public Hearing In the Matter of the Proposed 
Adoption of Joint Rules of the Minnesota Department of Health and the Minnesota 
Pollution Control Agency Relating to Water Supply Systems and Wastewater Treatment 
Facilities, Minnesota Rules, parts 9400.0100 to 9400.1500 

The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) and the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency (MPCA) jointly intend to adopt revised 
permanent rules without a public hearing following the procedures set forth in the Administrative Procedures Act, Minnesota Statutes, 
sections 14.22 to 14.28 and rules of the Office of Administrative Hearings, Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.2300 to 1400.2310. You have 
30 days to submit written comment on the proposed rules and may also submit a written request that a hearing be held on the rules. 

Agency contact person. Comment or questions on the rules and written requests for a public hearing must be submitted to the 
agency contact person. The agency contact person is: 

Karla Peterson 
Division of Environmental Health 
Minnesota Department of Health 
121 East 7th Place, P.O. Box 64975 
St. Paul, Minnesota 55164-0975 
(612) 215-0761 FAX (612) 215-0979 

Ms. Peterson will be accepting comment on behalf of both the Minnesota Department of Health and the Minnesota Pollution 
Control Agency. Comment received by Ms. Peterson will be shared and reviewed also by the MPCA. 

Statutory authority. The statutory authority for MDII and the MPCA to jointly adopt and revise the rules is contained in 
Minnesota Statutes, section 115.72. 

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining  indicates additions to existing rule language. Stsike eut9 indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining  indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strikc eut indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 

(CITE 21 S.R. 543) 
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Proposed Rules 	
Subject of rules. The proposed rules amend and repeal portions of adopted rule parts 9400.0100 to 9400.1500 that establish 

standards for the certification of water supply system and wastewater treatment facility operators and classify water supply systems 
and wastewater treatment facilities. A copy of the proposed rules is published in the State Register and attached to this notice as 
mailed. Additional copies of the proposed rules are available from the agency contact person. 

Comment. You have until 4:30 p.m. on November 27, 1996 to submit written comment in support of or in opposition to the pro-
posed rules or any part or subpart of the rules. Comment must be in writing and received by the agency contact person by the due 
date. Comment is encouraged. Your comment should identify the portion of the proposed rules addressed and the reason for the 
comment. You are encouraged to propose any change desired. Any comments that you would like to make on the legality of the 
proposed rules must also be made during this comment period. 

Request for hearing. In addition to submitting comments, you may also request that a hearing be held on the rules. Your 
request for a public hearing must be in writing and must be received by the agency contact person by 4:30 p.m. on November 27, 
1996. Your written request for a public hearing must include your name and address. You must identify the portion of the proposed 
rules to which you object or state that you oppose the entire set of rules. Any request that does not comply with these requirements 
is not valid and cannot be counted by the agency for determining whether a public hearing must be held. You are also encouraged 
to state the reason for the request and any changes you want made to the proposed rules. 

Withdrawal of requests. If 25 or more persons submit a written request for a public hearing, a public hearing will be held unless 
a sufficient number withdraw their requests in writing. If enough requests for hearing are withdrawn to reduce the number below 
25, the agencies must give written notice of this to all persons who requested a hearing, explain the actions the agencies took to 
effect the withdrawal, and ask for written comments on this action. If a public hearing is required, the agencies will follow the pro-
cedures in Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.131 to 14.20. 

Alternative format. On request, this notice can be made available in an alternative format, such as large print, Braille, or cas-
sette tape. To make such a request, please contact the agency contact person at the address or telephone number listed above. 

Modifications. The proposed rules may be modified as a result of public comment. The modifications must be supported by 
comments and information submitted to the agencies and the adopted rules may not be substantially different than these proposed 
rules. If the proposed rules affect you in any way, you are encouraged to participate in the rulemaking process. 

Statement of need and reasonableness. A statement of need and reasonableness is now available from the agency contact 
person. This statement contains a summary of the justification for the proposed rules, including a description of who will be 
affected by the proposed rules and an estimate of the probable cost of the proposed rules. Copies of the statement may be obtained 
from the agency contact person. 

Impact on agricultural lands. The proposed rules will have no direct or substantial adverse impact on agricultural land. 
Adoption and review of rule. If no hearing is required, the agencies may adopt the rules after the end of the comment period. 

The rules and supporting documents will then be submitted to the Office of Administrative Hearings for review for legality. You 
may ask to be notified of the date the rules are submitted to the Office of Administrative Hearings. If you want to be so notified, or 
want to receive a copy of the adopted rules, or want to register with either agency to receive notice of future rule proceedings, 
submit your request to the agency contact person listed above. 

Anne M. Barry 	 Peder A. Larson 
Commissioner of Health 
	 Acting Commissioner of the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency 

Dated: 2 October 1996 
	

Dated: 8 October 1996 
7048.0500 INDIVIDUALS REQUIRED TO BE CERTiFIED. 

[For text of subps I and 2, see M.R.] 
Subp. 3. Waiver. Operators of Type V facilities that are certified under parts 9400.0200 to 9400.1100 9400.1500  are not 

required to be certified under this chapter unless they also operate a land application facility for solids or semisolids. Operators of 
Type V facilities shall have the option to be certified under parts 9400.0200 to 9100.14009400.1500 or this chapter. 
7048.1000 CERTIFICATES. 

[For text of subps 1 and 2, see M.R.] 
Subp. 3. Renewal. A certified individual shall apply for certificate renewal within 30 days of certificate expiration. Renewal cer-

tificates shall be issued by the agency commissioner when the agency commissioner receives the application, renewal fee, and evi-
dence that the person has, during the preceding three years, obtained credit for attending training courses offered through the agency or 
other waste disposal facility training courses approved by the agency commissioner for the number of contact hours specified in 
subpart 4 for the appropriate type of facility. Individuals who are certified under both this chapter and parts 9400.0200 to 9400.1400 
9400.1500  shall be allowed to renew their Type IV certificate by submitting the renewal application, fee and information required by 
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	 Proposed Rules 
parts 9400.0200 to 9400.14009400.1500 and evidence of completion of the training hours specified in subpart 4. After confirming that 
the individual meets the requirements for certificate renewal, the agency commissioner shall issue one certificate which evidences 
renewal of both the certificate issued under this chapter and the certificate issued under parts 9400.0200 to 9400.14009400.1500. 

[For text of subps 4 to 8, see M.R.] 
9400.0100 DEFINITIONS. 

Subpart 1. Scope. Terms and abbrcviations used in these mles shall have the meanings spcciflcd in this pact7 Tcrm 	 and abbrc 
viutonS used herein which ace net specifically defined shall be construed ta coilformance with this chapter  that are defined  in 
Minnesota Statutes, chapters 115 and 116, the contcxt, and professional usage ha th meanings given  in statute.  For purposes  of 
this chapter,  th  terms defined  in this  pi1  Jiave  th meanings given them. 

Subp. 2. Agency. "Agency" means the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency. 
Subp.  2  Contact hour. "Contact Jour" means a yninimuni Qf Q minutes Qf lecture, demonstration, workshop,  Qt  continuing 

education or training, excluding coffee breaks, registration, meals, and social activities.  
Subp. 3. Department. "Department" means the Minnesota Department of Health. 
Subp.  3. Direct responsibifity. "Direct responsibility" means  th water wastewater operator having full an active responsi-

bility  f. 	operation of a portion  . 	 ll f. a system, facility, or wastewater collection system.  
Subp. 4. Facility. "Facility" means wastewater treatment facility as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 115.71. 
Subp.  4g..  Management. "Management" means persons who direct or supervise the operation of a system or facility. Management  

also refers shift operators 	make, operationat decisions operate systems facilities without supervision  frQJn a supervisor.  
Subp. 4k. Operation. "Operation" means, th routine performance  Qf  duties a system t facility achieve results that meet 

existing 	jg gj4 	pertaining to water and wastewater.  
Subp. 5. [See repealer.] 
Subp. 6. [See repealer.] 
Subp. 7. System. "System" means g  community public water supply system as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 115.71  

144.382. 
9400.0200 APPLICATION SCOPE.  

Pacts 9400.0100 and 9400.0300 state the purpose fec and the definitions which ace to apply in the interpretation ef pacts 
9400.0100 to 9400.1500. This chapter establishes the requirements  f 

individuals 	certified g water wastewater treatment operators;,  an 
the classificatiog  f systems and facilities. 

400.03SO CERTIFICATION. 
water operator certificate operate a community public water supply system must issued 	commissioner f health.  

A wastewater operator certificate operate, a wastewater treatment facility must be issued  kx th commissioner  ^^f th p^L 
lution contro[ agency.  

A city manager, superintendent of public works, or other administrative official is not eligible to be certified as an operator 
unless that person's 	js include the operation of the system or facility.  
9400.0400 CLASSIFICATION OF WATER SUPPLY SYSTEMS. 

Subpart 1. Basis. The commissioner hereby establishes the basis fec classification of all public watec supply systems rn 	based 
on the degree of hazard to the public health, together with the type and loading capacity of plant th system and the population affected. 

Subp. 2. Rating values. Water supply Ih  classification  Qf  g system item classifications shall 	be based on the following 
rating values: 

A. water supply source: 
(1) groundwater, three jy points; 
(2) surface water, 15 points; 

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. S4ke euls indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike eats indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 
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	 State Register, Monday 28 October 1996 	 PAGE 545 



	

Proposed Rules 	
B. quality ef water supply: 

4-) less +hei' 4-4 coliform per 4-90 millilitcrs, twe points; 
f2) 4-9 to 4-00 coliform per 4-00 milliliters, fetir points; 
f3 4-00 to 4-000 coliform per 400 milliliters, si* points; 
4) 4-000 to 900 coliform per 4-00 milliliters, eight points; 

000 to 20,000 coliform per 400 milliliters, teo points; 
fé) mere than 20,000 coliform per 409 milliliters, 4-2 points; 

tiei+ treatment processes: 
(1) groundwater source: 

(a) aeration, two points; 
(b) chemical precipitation (softening incIudin  filtration), 16 points; 
(c) filtration other than after softening process, ten points; 
(d) ion exchange, five points; 
(e) disinfection chlorination, five points; 
(f) chemical oxidation, two points; 
(g) stabilization, two points; 
(h) stripping, five points;. 

carbon contactors, five Ooints ;. 

fj fluoridation, five points; 
fi3 ammoniation 1S1 ammonia addition, five points; 

3 fl taste and odor control, two points; 
j ozonation, eight points;. 

th reverse osmosis (membrane filtration), five Doints;. 
chlorine dioxide, eight points. 

fp unlisted new technologies, three to ten points (based on relative complexity);. 
(2) surface water source: 

(a) aeration, two ozonation, eight points; 
(b) coagulation, ten points; 
(c) sedimentation, five points; 
(d) filtration, ten points; 
(e) disinfection chlorination, five points; 
(f) ion exchange, five points; 
(g) chemical oxidation, two points; 
(h) carbon contactors, five points;. 
1i stabilization, two points; 
(4) Q reverse osmosis (membrane filtration), five points;. 

fluoridation, five points; 

j3 arnmoniation ff ammonia addition, five points; 
(k) gfl  taste and odor control, two points; 

) chlorine dioxide, eight points;. 
unlisted new technologies, three to ten points (based on relative complexity); 

[For text of items D to F, see M.R.] 
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	 Proposed Rules 
Subp. 3. Accumulated value. The accumulated point values for water uppIy systems are as follows: 

A. Class A, 76 or more points; 
B. Class B, 56 to 75 points; 
C. Class C, 31 to 55 points; and 
D. Class D, 30 or less points. 

• 9400.0500 CLASSIFICATION OF WASTE WATER TREATMENT FACILITIES. 
Subpart 1. Basis. The director hereby ctablihc3 the basis fer classification of all wastewater treatment facilities actually used or 

intended for use by the public er by any contidcrablc numbcr of peron and required have permits under p 7080.0030. subpart L 
item  f  individual sewage treatment systems or chapter 7001.  flB11  based on the degree of hazard to the public health, together 
with the type and loading of the facilities and the population served or the average population equivalent of the wastewater handled. 

Subp. 2. Rating values. Wastcwatcr trcatmcnt Facility classification shall must be based on the following rating values: 
A. size: 

(1) maximum population equivalent (P.E.) served, one point per 10,000 P.E. or part thereof; 
(2) average 	weather design flow, average ey or peel€ month3 f4ew average d.ay whichever is greater, one point per 

million gallons p 	pj of a million gallons p 
B. permit 	effluent dichargc limitations: 

(1) receiving stream 3casitivity based en general atandard applicable to all intra- and inter 3tatc waters, as prc3cribcd in 
parts 7050.0220 and 7055.01 20 (as adopted in 1973); surface water discharge:  

(a) domctic coasumption carbonaceous biochemical oxygen demand (CBOD  jimit. The loading must be based on 
th piost restrictive f the effluent concentration loading jnass loading.  Th mass joading equivalent concentration must be cal- 

• culated using 	facility average wet weather design  fl. CBOD loading of: 
i. Gaas B. 14 milligrams p jjr less,  sin fjy points; 
ii. Glass G more than  j.4  milligrams p ]iir 24 milligrams p jjr, &'e four points; 

. 	 iii. Class D jj 	24 milligrams p jjr 	milligrams 	ijr, four 	points; 
L n:ir 	milligrams p liter, 	points  

(b) fi3hcric3 and recreation nutrient  Jjjj: 
i. Class A nitrogen  iijjt,  fie 	points; 
ii. Class B phosphorus limit, three eight points; 
tu Gass€twe points; 

(2) dechlorination, five points; 
(33 land diaporal - evaporation discharge, two points; 
(4 £3.  subsurface dipoal discharge, four points; 

C. variation in raw wastes based upon maximum month design values: 
(1) ene to five percent i  industrial flow or carbonaceous biochemical oxv.gen demand (CBOD) joading, whichever 

j. creater, contributed to facility, one point; 
(2)sin 	 percent to ten percent industrial flow CBOD loading, whichever is greater, contributed to facil- 

ity, two points; 
(3) .14 	thaq  n  percent to 25 percent industrial flow CBOD loading, whichever  j  greater, contributed to facility, 

three points; 
(4) 26 	ihii 25 percent to 50 percent industrial flow or CBOD loading, whichever is greater, contributed to facility, 

four points; 
• (5) 4 rnr ihn percent or mere industrial flow CBOD loading, whichever is greater, contributed to facility, five 

points; 
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(63 for Gpccial trcatmcnt of indutria1 wastc3 at the wastcwatcr treatment facility, one peint* 

D. pretreatment liquids handling: 
(1) screening, comminution, three points; 
(2) grit removal, three points; 
(3) plant pumping of nain raw wastewater flow, three points; 
(4) preaeration oostaeration. both, with less than two hours' detention time, three points; 
(5) hydfe steve influent 	jc or rotating screen, fear Lbi  points; 

& primary treatment: 
(43 	fj 	equalization basin, primary clarificre clarifier, or both, five points; 
(2)f2 septic tank, 	points;, 

combined sedimentation and digestion, five points; 
(33 chemical addition, cxccpt chlorine end cnzyme3, fear points; 

ccondaiy trcatmcnt: 
(43 	trickling filter, fi.ve yg points; 
(23 	activated sludges  including pure oxygen activated sludge 	sequencing batch reactor, ten points; 
(33(1 l  trickling filter solids contact (TFSC) and activated biofilter. ten points;, 
(12) stabilization pends 	designed for more than 180 days' detention time, five points; 
(43 (13) aerated ponds p4 designed for more than two hours' detention time, eight fly points; 
(3U4) anaerobic contactor process, ten points:  

Ui1 anaerobic pond,  fQ points. 
fl. rotating biological surface including submerged biological surface, fle seven points; 
(6) any number of (17) secondary clurificre clarifier, five points; 

(23J. on-site generation of oxygen, five points; 
advanced waste trcatmcnt: 

(43 (19) aerated polishing ponds pn  designed for less than 180 days' detention time, five points; 

(2) (20) polishing ponds pond without aeration, two points; 
(3) chemical and phyrical, 4-5 points; 
(4) biological treatment for nitrogen removal, eight points; 

(5) jfl chemical addition for pho3phoru3 and/or solids removal pj adjustment, eight two points; 
(63 multimedia filters and/or activated carbon beds 7  eight (22) subsurface soil treatment system constructed in accordance 

YJth chapter 7080. three points; 

(23(23) rapid infiltration basin, three points;, 
(24) biological sand filter without backwash, three points;, 
(251 effluent irrigation, 'ive points;, 
(261 effluent Dolishing filter with backwash, eight points;, 
(27) ion exchange, ten points; 
(83 (28) reverse osmosis, electrodialysis, 15 points; 
(9) (29) chemical recovery, carbon regeneration, four points; 
(4.0) micro trainer3 (30) effluent icroscreening, fear three points; 
(31) disinfection:  

chlorination with or without dechlorination, five points;, 
ultraviolet light,  fj  points;, 
ozonation. five points;, 
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unlisted new technologies, three to ten points (based on relative complexityl, 

.. solids handling: 
(1) gravity thickening including iih  or without chemical treatment, five points; 
(2) anaerobic digestion, ten points; 
(3) aerobic digestion, six points; 
(4) evaporative sludge drying bed, two points; 
(5) mechanical thickening or dewatering, eight points; 
(6) solids reduction, such as incineration, wet oxidation, 12 points; 
(7) on-land disposal, five points; 
j jj 	stabilization of sludge,  fjy points:, 

sludge or septage storage, if the facility 	neither anaerobic 	aerobic digestion, three points:, 
(10 composting, five points:, 
(1 is)  unlisted new technologies, three to ten points (based on relative complexitys):, 

J disinfcction: 
(-li chlorination or comparable, ñ'e points; 
(23 on site gcncration of disinfcctnnt, fi'e points; 

J E. laboratory monitoring: 
(1) minimum required tests (pH, Cl2, residual D dissolved oxygen, settleable solids, B.O.D. carbonaceous biochemical  

oxygen demand, and T.S.S. total suspended solids), two points; 
(2) bacteriology (fecal coliform, total coliform, fecal streptococcal, etc.), three points; 
(3) activatcd sludgc process control,thcee points; 
f4) nutrients, one point; 

141 groundwater monitoring, one point. 
[For text of subp 3, see M.R.] 

Subp. 4. Type S facility. A type S treatment facility shall mean means a system of collection, pumping, and conveyance facili-
ties which ace distinctly separate in operation or maintcnancc from a wastewater treatmcnt facility which treats, stabilizes, or dis-
poses of the wastewater collected, pumped, or conveyed therein. 

& Where saeh a conveyance type facility is not so distinctly separate, it is considered to be part of the treatment facility for 
which the designated operator is responsible. 

instance shall  gj facility which j given points 	processes  in subpart  2 i1m 	ubitem f.2).. (lOs). (Ii s),21 (16), k 

	

classified  g j 	a Class facility.  

	

.. A type S treatment facility shall 	be subclassified as follows: 
A LU Class S-A, serving a population of 50,000 or more; 

	

& 	Class S-B, serving a population of 15,000 or more but less than 50,000; 
€ LU Class S-C, serving a population of 1,500 or more but less than 15,000; 

4) Class S-D, serving a population of less than 1,500. 
9400.0600 RECLASSIFYING SYSTEMS OR FACILITIES. 

Subpart  L  Reclassification. When the accumulated point value necessitates a change in the classification of a system or facility, 
or when unusual factors may effort the degree of hazard to the public health, the type end loading of the system or facility, or the 
average population served or population equivalent of the wastcwatcr handled, the commissioner or director may of health shall 
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modify the classification of a system or the commissioner of the pollution control agency shall modify the classification of a facility 
according parts 9400.0400 	9400.0500. 

Subp.  2  Implementation. Reclassification after  th.  effective date  f this chapter must  b  jnade:  

A. after completion  f ysteni sanitary survey 	commissioner  f health.  r 
th time jssuance reissuance  f facility permit b Ji commissioner  f th pollution control agency.  

9400.0700 CERTIFICATION OF WATER SYSTEM AND TREATMENT FACILITY OPERATORS. 
Subpart 1 [See repealer.] 
Subp. 2. Certification in particular dass. a addition, bcforc applying to take en cxumination, a person ii  applicant who seeks 

certification in a particular ekes must 
A. meetthe qualifications forthatela sasQflQfthclasses specified bclow: nthi.piiir 

meet the requirements for reciprocitY under p 9400.1350.  
Subp. 3. Class A certificate. An applicant shal4 take and pass an oral examination, and f.t  a  Ci A certificate must: 
A. have been certified as a Class B operator for Jeast two years;  and 
fl... have a: 

(1) g high school diploma equivalent with at least eight years experience in the operation, including at least two years  
as a pgt f the management, of a Class A or B system or facility, or a similar industrial facility; or 

g bachelor's degree from an accredited institution in an appropriate branch ef chemical, gjyjl environmental, 
mechanical, sanitary engineering or in a physical or biological science, and submit satisfactory evidence of at least four years of 
rcsponsible experience in the operation and including at least two years g g iI Qf management s  of a Class A or B system or 
facility or a similar industrial facility; or 

f high school diploma with at least eight years of rcponsib1c cxpericncc in the operation and managcmcnt of a Class A 
or B- system or facility, or a similar industrial facility. 

C. pg a writteg exam.  
B. Subp.  4. Class B certificatee An applicant shall fir Class B certificate ynust: 

A. have  b 	certified 	Class  C operator for at least 	yn 
Jave:  

(1) possess high school, diploma equivalent with Jeast 	years experience in th  operation  if  a Class A. 	i C 
system or facility, or a similar industrial, facility; or 

a bachelor's degree from an accredited institution in an appropriate branch of chemical, jyjl environmental, 
mechanical, or sanitary engineering or in a physical or biological science, and submit satisfactory evidence of at least two years of 
experience in the operation of a Class A, B, or C system or facility, or similar industrial facility; or gnu, 

f he a high school graduate with at least sin years of cxpericncc in the operation of a Class A B orG system or facility, 
or a similar industrial facility. 

C. tis nn pgng a written  exam. 
€ Subp. 5. Class C cerliflcate, An applicant shall be f.ç  g  ign  C certificate must: 

A. have: 
fl a high school graduate diploma or equivalent, with a minimum efg 	three years of experience in the operation of 

a water supply ]ggg A. C. 	system wastewater treatment facility, or similar industrial facility 
g bachelor's degree from gn accredited institution in chemical, civil, environmental, mechanical, or sanitary engineer -

jg g physical biological science, and submit satisfactory evidence  ^^f gj Jeast one  ygj experience  in th operation  Qf  a Class  
A. C. fl system or facility, similar industrial facility; and 

fl... ik an pgng a written exam. 
Subp. 6. Class D certificate. An applicant shall be for a Class D certificate must:  

A. gy a high school graduate diploma or equivalent; and 
B. have: 

(1) whe has a minimum of g jgnt one year of experience in 	operation of a water supply Ci A. .. C. 	system;  
wastcwatcr treatment facility, or in a related field; or 
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(2) who has satisfactorily completed an approvcd, postsecondary program of courses in water and wastewater tech-

nology approved  th respective agency department at an accredited institution 
take 	pg a written grn. 

& Subp.  2  Type S certificate. An applicant for a type S wastewater treatment certificate shal4 must possess the same cduca 
tienal education and expcnential guahification3 as ace experience required of one who applica for a regular wastewater certificate in 
the same class, with the following cxceptiona: 

(4-) except experience shell i]]  have been gained in a regular wastewater facility or type S facility ;  and 
(2)when one applica A. an applicant for an S-A type certificate;  he ec she shell n 	have been certified as an S-B 	facil- 

ii operator for g least two years 
B. an applicant  f. g 	S-B certificate must have been certified g an S-C  C  facility operator  f. at Jeast  one 

9400.0800 SUBSTITUTIONS FOR QUALIFICATIONS. 
Subpart 1. Experience 	system or type facility substituted  f experience  n a facility. When a person applies for eecti- 

fication a certificate to operate 
A a waatcwatcr treatment facility, at 'east percent of the experience gained in a watef aupply ayatcm ec a type & waatc 

watec treatment facility may be given up to 0 percent ecedit towarda meeting the experience requirement fec that elass of facility 
fec whieli the applicant seeks the certificate; ec 

& a wetec aupply ayatcm, experience gained tea wa3tcwater treatment facility may be gi-ven up to O percent ecedit towarda 
meeting the experience requirement fec that clasa of ayatcm fec which the applicant seeks the certificate (experience gained *a a type 
& watcwatcr treatment facility may net be aubatitutcd when one applica fec a watec cupply ayatem certificate) g facility, at Jeast  Q 
percent of the experience required  in pgr 9400.0700  f.c^r the class of certificate requested must have been obtained  n a facility.  Ih 

percent may be obtained in a 	S facility or a system. The classification of the yp S facility or system the aoplieant 
operated must not be more than one class below the class of certificate reauested. 

Subp.  JL  Experience in a facifity substituted for experience in a system. 3?i]  a person applies for a certificate to operate a 
system, at least 	percent  f the experience required in pgil  9400.0700  f. 	class  ^f certificate requested must have,  lin 
obtained  jj  a system.  I other 50 percent 	be obtained in a facility, but not in a type S facility.  I classification of j facil- 
j the applicant operated must not be more than one class below the class of certificate requested. 

Subp. 2. Certificate Education substituted  for daascs A S-A B S-Br G or S-€ experience.  Persona A person who apply 
applies for a Class A, S-A, B, S-B, C, or S-C certificate may substitute education for experience according to the following formu 
4ae formula in this subpart.  

A. Except as noted below jn jij , the council may reduce the experience required in part 9400.0700, aubpart subparts 2 to 
will be reduced by epte sin montha one month for the successful completion of 

(4-) each academic year beyond high achool in which the applicant took 4  contact hours of correspondence courses or 
other courses relating to water supply and i  wastewater treatment;  ec from  gj  accredited institution in an appropriate branch of 
chemical, civil, environmental, mechanical, sanitary engineering ;  or in the chemical physical or biological sciences ec 

(2 one hundred contact heucs of couraea relating to watef aupply ec wa.atewater treatment. 
B. In no event shall such education be substituted for experience so as to reduce the experience requirement to less than one 

year. 
C An applicant may be gi-eo credit fec taking the same course more than enee if there is a subatantial difference in course 

content end only open approval of the council. 
Subp. 3. Experience substituted for education. One year of experience in the operation of a water supply system or wastcwatcr 

treatment facility may be considered as equivalent to one year of high school. Experience which is substituted for education cannot 
also be used to satisfy the experience requirements. 
9400.0900 APPLICATION FOR EXAMINATION. 

Subpart 1. Form and time. Application for examination shell j] 	be made in writing to the commissioner ec director of health 
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for certification to operate a system or to the commissioner of the pollution control agency for certification to operate a facility on a 
prescribed formT ead shall issued, b th department  Q1 agency administering  th examination. The application  f. examination  
must be submitted at least 15 days prief to before the date on which the examination will be given. 

Subp. 2. Proof of attendance. The applicant may be required to submit a copy of the school or college diploma, equivalency 
certificate, or other proof of school or college attendance and/or graduation f applicant is substituting educational experience  
f operating experience. 

Subp. 3. Jlxamination fee. The A  nonrefundable examination fee shall must accompany the application. 
Subp. 4. Rcvicw Applicatioi 	examination.  The appropriate rcvicwing authority shall rcvicw all information aed deeo- 

meats needed to dctcrminc the eligibility for cxamination and notify the applicant of his or her status. Au  applicant who applies for 
examination but fails to satisfy  ull 	conditions prescribed in puI  9400.0100 to 9400.1500 	reapply for examination as 
described  in subparts  I i 	knn Jj conditions 	satisfied.  
9400.1000 EXAMINATIONS. 

Subpart 1. Preparation. The council respective commissioner shall authorize prepare the preparation of written and oral exam-
inations to be used in determining the knowledge, ability, and judgmcnt skills of operators. 

Subp. 2. Written examination. Separate written examinations shell uxi  be prepared for each designated water supply system 
and wastcwatcr treatment facility class to cover basic differences in the duties and responsibilities of operators, types of water and 
wastewater treatment, variations in water and wastewater characteristics, water distribution systems, and wastewater collection 
systems. The written examination sh llrnp test the applicant's knowledge in any one or more of the following areas, as they relate 
to either water or wastewater treatment: basic science, mathematics, operating procedures, treatment processes, equipment and i4s 
equipment maintenance, management, and applicable state, law and rules relating wastewater. The applicant  j  prohib-
j from using g resource materials during an examination. 

Subp. 3. [See repealer.] 
Subp. 4. [See repealer.] 
Subp. 5. Passing. For the written examination, A grade of 70 percent shall be considered a passing grade. Per the end exam 

ination, the grade shall be either "pass" or "fail". 
Subp. 6. Results; review. The applicant respective commissioner shall be notified notify 	applicant of the 	results. 

Papers shall jfl not be returned to the applicant, but upon request within 60 days' notification of the results, the applicant may be 
allowed to review the written examination. 

Subp. 7. Reexamination. An applicant who fails to pass the examination may not retake the same examination for a period of 
three months. 

Subp. 8. Certificate fee. Ii applicant must submit the certification fee within 9 days 	written notification  Qf  positive 
results f 	examination.  If  applicant fgj 	submit the certification fee within  9  days,  Qi  applicant must apply for seexami- 
nation as in p 9400.0900.  
9400.1100 ISSUANCE OF CERTIFICATES. 

Certificates shall be issued by the commissioner or director of health  fcr water operator certificates, the commissioner  f thu 
pollution control aency  f wastewater operator certificates, when all the conditions prescribed in these rules pgfl 9400.0100 to 
9400.1500 have been satisfied. 
9400.1200 RENEWAL OF CERTIFICATES. 

Subpart 1. Minimum requirements. A certificate in any given classification must be renewed within 30 days of after its expira-
tion date. Except as provided ra subpart A renewal certificate will be issued upon receipt of the application, renewal fee, and evi-
dence of the fact that the operator has, during the preceding three years, obtained credit for attending approved water and waste 
water training courses, or participated +n substantially similar educational activities g described in subpart 4 £ for the number of 
hours specified in the following schedule: 

A. Class A and S-A, 32 contact hours; 
B. Class B and S-B, 24 contact hours; 
C. Class C and S-C, 16 contact hours; 
D. Class D and S-D, 8 contact hours. 

Subp. 2. [See repealer.] 
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Subp. 3. Accredited courses and activities. The council respective commissioner shall annually prepare and make available to 

operators and the public a list of accredited training courses and approved educational activities for which credit may be obtained. 
Subp.  4.. Water operator certificate renewal. When  a person applies renew  a 	operator certificate, at Jeas  Q percent  QI 

the contact hours required f.ci renewal subpart  I  must  frm water-related courses approved 	commissioner  f th depart- 
Il iJ 	Q percent may  n frrn wastewater or other related courses approved the commissioner of the department, p 

vided 	th course  portion Qf thn course  haa been approved  b ibm commissioner  21 bealth.  
Subp.  .. Wastewater operator certificate renewal. When a person applies to renew a wastewater operator certificate, at Jeast 
percent Qf the contact  hQ!  required for renewal in subpart  I must be from wastewater-related courses approved the commis-

sioner of aeency. The Qibr  percent may  bm from related courses approved the commissioner of the agency, 
provided thai ibm course  r portion  21 ibm course  ha been approved  by  the commissioner  21 ibm pollution control agency.  
9400.1300 REINSTATEMENT AND RECER'IIJiICATION.  

Subpart 1. Application. A person whose certificate has expired may apply to the commissioner es dircctor 21 Jealth, for rein-
statement of the a operator certificate in the same cIamification or to the commissioner of the pollution control agency fQ 
reinstatement of a wastewater operator certificate. An applicant's certificate may only  bm reinstated to the class of the certificate 
which had expired. Before a certificate will be issued, such person must submit the following: the application for reinstatement; 
the nonrefundable fee for a reinstatement certificate which fee is nonrcfundablc; and evidence of the fact that he or she person  
has complied with the continuing education requirements imposed in part 9400.1200, subpart 1 during the entire time since the 
expired certificate was last issued or renewed. 

Subp. 2. Denial. A person who is denied reinstatement will be required to follow the proecdurc impo3cd who wants  km recer-
tified must follow procedures for a new applicant specified in p 9400.0900 to 9400.1000. In sush ease The nonrefundable 
reinstatement fee already paid shall be credited towarth considered the fees fee for application of examination and a new ccrtiflcatc. 

Subp. 3. Time. A person may apply for reinstatement  p  to three 	after expiration of the previous, certificate. If more  than 
three  yma 1I elapsed  frm ibm expiration  f Ibm certificate,  a nerson must appy 	th  certificate specified  iii  parts 9400.0900 
and 9400.1000.  

Subp. 4. Reinstatement after suspension; The commissioner of health or the commissioner of the pollution control agency  
respectively will reinstate a suspended certificate if the individual whose certificate has been suspended fulfills bm terms  f Ibm aii 
pension order  an meets all applicable requirements  211km rules f.c^i obtaining a certificate.  

Subp.  j  Revocation.  An individual whose certificate  hn been, revoked according i Minnesota Statutes.  section 144.99, subdi-
visions 8 to j..Q may avply  f. certification before the expiration date 21 m revocation order or for at least one y following 
the written notice 21 revocation. 
9400.1350 RECIPROCITY. 

According to Minnesota Statutes. section 115.76, jjj a person  hQ iia a certificate in another  Ia applies for certification as 
a water wastewater operator, a determination  ill m made  by th respective commissioner whether  ibm applicant  j eligible  
for certification  and for what class of facility or system. The certification requirements of the other state must not be in conflict with 
Minnesota Statutes. sections 115.71 to 115.77, and inai km 21 a standard not jr than thm in chapter.  

A. If the certification requirements of the other state are not in conflict with Minnesota Statutes. sections  J 15.71 	115.77. 
arm 21 a standard 	Jower than those  in Ibia chapter,  Ibm  applicant must  m granted a certificate.  

ffJ certification requirements of ibm  other state are in conflict with  Minnesota Statutes.  sections 115.71 	115.77, and 
arm 21 a standard 	jjQm in iij chapter, the applicant must be notified in writing by the respective commissioner of those 
areas which 	not equivalent and what, additionally, the applicant must do to meet the standards  in ibia chapter.  

C. Ibm nonrefundable reciprocity fee shall be considered the fee for application of examination if the applicant is denied a cer-
tificate through reciprocity.  
9400.1500 RESTRICTED CONDITIONAL CERTIFICATE. 

Subpart 1. Restriction Conditions  and renewal. The operator of a system or facility which is reclassified to a higher class pur-
suant to part 9400.0600 is eligible fec may be issued a retrictcd conditional certificate in the higher class ;  except as noted in part 
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9100.0600. A restnctcd conditional certificate shall 	be issued upon receipt of the certificate fee and shall be effective for three 
years from the date of issue. A rc3trictcd conditional certificate may be renewed in the same manner as an unrc3trictcd uncondi-
tional certificate. A rctrictcd conditional certificate shall must specify that the operator named therein is certified to operate only 
the reclassified system or facility for which the rc3trictcd conditional certificate is issued. 

Subp. 2. Certification limits. No rc3tricted conditional certificate will be granted if reclassification was the result of a majer n 
alteration to the system or facility ;  the operation ef which would rcquirc con3idcrably mere training, knowlcdgc, or expericnco than 
that required by the ytem or facility as it was formerly claified. 

Subp. 3. Nonmunicipal systems. A conditional certificate must be issued the commissioner of health upon application the 
nonmunicipal system operator and without examination to the person designated the owner of a nonmunicipal system to have 
direcl responsibility  Qfth system January  j..  3997.  

£ A conditional certificate f.c^ ponmunicipal system operator  ia valid only f.Q that person at that particular system f.cli the 
duration of the initial certificate.  

Renewal of the certificate is as specified in pii  9400.1200.  

.. Er nonmunicipal systems with creater than 	service connections, when th operator  iiih th conditional certificate  
issued jr 	subpart, or an operator with a certificate issued as specified in 	9400.0700 to 9400.1100, ceases employment 
with the specified system, th system  jj 

fl employ contract  .idth  a person who  hp  obtained certification 	pecified in parts 9400.0700 9400.1100:.  r 
employ a person 	jhJ apply take  ih  examination and eligible to obtain certification  in  parts 9400.0700 to 

9400.0900 within 12 months of being  hir 
. For nonmunicipal systems with 50 or fewer service connections, when the operator with the conditional certificate issued 

under this subpart ceases employment with the specified system, the ii  person designated y 	owner to have direct responsibil- 
jix Qf th system must apply  f. 	conditional certificate yjjh shall 	valid only  f. thai person at that particular system.  
REPEALER. Minnesota Rules,  parts 9400.0100, subparts 5 and j  9400.0300:. 9400.0700. subpart  ii  9400.1000, subparts and 4.; 
9400.1200, subpart  Zi  and 9400.1400, are repealed.  

Department of Public Safety 
Driver and Vehicle Services Division 

Proposed Permanent Rules Relating to License Revocation for Alcohol- and Controlled-
Substance-Related Incidents 

Dual Notice: Notice of Intent to Adopt Rules Without a Public Hearing Unless 25 or More Persons Request a 
Hearing and Notice of Hearing if 25 or More Requests for Hearing are Received 

Introduction. The Minnesota Department of Public Safety intends to adopt rules without a public hearing following the proce-
dures set forth in the Administrative Procedure Act, Minnesota Statutes, § 14.22 to 14.28 and the rules of the Office of 
Administrative Hearings, Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.2300 to 1400.23 10. If, however, 25 or more persons submit a written request 
for a hearing on the rule within 30 days or by 4:30 p.m. on November 27, a public hearing will be in the 5th Floor Conference Room 
of the Veteran's Service Building, 20 West 12th Street, St. Paul, Minnesota, 55155, starting at 9:00 a.m. on January 16, 1997. To 
find out whether the rules will be adopted without a hearing or if the hearing will be held, you should contact the agency contact 
person after November 27, 1996 and before January 16, 1997. 

Agency Contact Person. Comments or questions on the rule and written requests for a public hearing must be submitted to: 
Catherine Ann Moore, Department of Public Safety, Room 120, Transportation Building, 395 John Ireland Boulevard, St. Paul, 
Minnesota, 55155, by telephone at (612) 296-2608, or by fax at (612) 296-3141. 

Subject of Rule and Statutory Authority. The Department of Public Safety has proposed amendments to Minnesota Rules, 
parts 7503.0100-7503.2800, governing incidents for license revocation, and Chapter 7408, governing alcohol assessment reim-
bursement. The rules address primary and relapse treatment, the special review process, rehabilitation requirements, abstinence 
requirements, and alcohol assessment reimbursement. 

The statutory authority to adopt these rules is found in Minnesota Statutes § 14.06, 299A.01, 169.121, 169.123, 171.165 and 169.124. 
A copy of the proposed rule is published in the State Register. The subject matter of the rules is described above. A free copy of 

the rule is available upon request from the agency contact person. 
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Comments. You have until 4:30 p.m. on November 27, 1996, to submit written comments in support of or in opposition to the 

proposed rule or any part or subpart of the rule. Your comment must be in writing and received by the agency contact person by the 
due date. Comments are encouraged. Your comments should identify the portion of the proposed rule addressed, the reason for 
your comments, and any changes proposed. You are encouraged to propose any change desired. Any comments that you would 
like to make on the legality of the proposed rule must also be made during this comment period. 

Request for a Hearing. In addition to submitting comments, you may also request that a hearing be held on the rule. Your 
request for a public hearing must be in writing and must be received by the agency contact person by 4:30 p.m. on November 27, 
1996. Your written request for a public hearing must include your name and address. This information should be legible. You 
must identify the portion of the proposed rule to which you object or state that you oppose the entire rule. Any request that does not 
comply with these requirements is not valid and cannot be counted by the agency for determining whether a public hearing must be 
held. You are also encouraged to state the reason for the request and any changes you want made to the proposed rule. 

Withdrawal of Requests. If 25 or more persons submit a written request for a hearing, a public hearing will be held unless a sufficient 
number withdraw their requests in writing. If enough requests are withdrawn to reduce the number below 25, the agency must give written 
notice of this to all persons who requested a hearing, explain the actions the agency took to effect the withdrawal, and ask for written com-
ments on this action. If a public hearing is required, the agency will follow the procedures in Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.131 to 14.20. 

Accommodations. If you need an accommodation to make this hearing accessible, please contact the agency contact person at 
the number listed above. 

Modifications. The proposed rule may be modified, either as a result of public comment or as a result of the rule hearing 
process. Modifications must not result in a substantial change in the proposed rule as printed in the State Register and must be sup-
ported by data and views submitted to the department or presented at the hearing. If the proposed rule affects you in any way, you 
are encouraged to participate in the rulemaking process. 

Cancellation of Hearing. The hearing scheduled for Januaiy 16, 1997 will be canceled if the department does not receive 25 or more 
requests that a hearing be held on the rules. If you request a public hearing and one is held, the department will notify you before the 
scheduled hearing. You may also call the agency contact person after November 27, 1996 to fmd out whether the hearing will be held. 

Notice of Hearing. If 25 or more persons submit written requests for a public hearing on the rules, a hearing will be held follow-
ing the procedures in Minnesota Statutes §14.131 to 14.20. The hearing will be held on January 16, 1997, in Conference Room D, 
5th Floor Veterans Service Building, 20 West 12th Street, Saint Paul, Minnesota 55155, beginning at 9:00 a.m. and will continue 
until all interested persons have been heard. The hearing will continue, if necessary, at additional times and places as determined 
during the hearing by the Administrative Law Judge. The Administrative Law Judge assigned to conduct the hearing is Judge 
George A. Beck. Judge Beck can be reached at the Office of Administrative Hearings, 100 Washington Square, Suite 1700, 100 
Washington Avenue South, Minneapolis, Minnesota, 55401-2138, or by telephone at 612-341-7601. 

Hearing Procedure. If a hearing is held, you and all interested or affected persons, including representatives of associations or 
other interested groups, will have an opportunity to participate. You may present your views either orally at the hearing or in 
writing at any time prior to the close of the hearing record. All evidence presented should relate to the proposed rule. You may also 
mail written material to the Administrative Law Judge to be recorded in the hearing record for five working days after the public 
hearing ends. This five-day comment period may be extended for a longer period not to exceed 20 calendar days if ordered by the 
Administrative Law Judge at the hearing. Comments received during this period will be available for review at the Office of 
Administrative Hearings. You and the department may respond in writing with rebuttal arguments or material within five business 
days after the submission period ends to any new information submitted after the hearing. All written materials and responses sub-
mitted to the Administrative Law Judge during the period must be received at the Office of Administrative Hearings no later than 
4:30 p.m. on the due date. No additional evidence may be submitted during the five day rebuttal period. This rule hearing proce-
dure is governed by Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.2000 to 1400.2240, and Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.131 to 14.20. Questions 
about the procedure may be directed to the administrative law judge. 

The agency requests that any person submitting written views or data to the Administrative Law Judge prior to the hearing or during 
the comment and response period also submit a copy of written views or data to the agency contact person at the address above. 

Statement of Need and Reasonableness. A statement of need and reasonableness is now available from the agency contact 
person. This statement contains a summary of the justification for the proposed rule, including a description of who will be affected 

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. ike euts indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strikc outs indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 
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by the proposed rule and an estimate of the probable cost of the proposed rule. The statement may also be reviewed and copies 
obtained at the cost of reproduction from the Office of Administrative Hearings. 

Lobbyist Registration. Minnesota Statutes, Chapter bA, requires each lobbyist to register with the Ethical Practices Board. 
Questions regarding this requirement should be directed to the Ethical Practices Board at First Floor South, Centennial Building, 
658 Cedar Street, Saint Paul, Minnesota, 55155, telephone (612) 296-5148 or 1-800-657-3889. 

Adoption Procedure if No Hearing. If no hearing is required, after the end of the comment period, the department of public 
safety may adopt the rule. The rule and supporting documents will be submitted to the Office of Administrative Hearings for 
review as to legality. You may request to be notified of the date the rule is submitted to the office. If you want to be so notified, or 
wish to receive a copy of the adopted rule, or want to register with the agency to receive notice of future rule proceedings, submit 
your request to the agency contact person at the address listed above. 

Adoption Procedure After a Hearing. If a hearing is held, after the close of the hearing record, the Administrative Law Judge 
will issue a report on the proposed rule. You may request to be notified of the date on which the Administrative Law Judge's report 
will be available, and can make this request at the hearing or in writing to the Administrative Law Judge. You may also ask to be 
notified of the date on which the agency adopts the rule and files it with the Secretary of State, and can make this request at the 
hearing or in writing to the agency contact person stated above. 

Order. I order that the rulemaking hearing be held at the date, time, and location listed above. 
Donald E. Davis, Acting Commissioner 
Department of Public Safety 

Rules as Proposed 
7503.0100 DEFINITIONS. 

[For text of subps I to 4, see M.R.] 
Subp. 5. Chemical dependency treatment. "Chemical dependency treatment" is treatment for chemical dependency in a 

program licensed or approved by the state of Minnesota, treatment in a comparable program licensed or approved by another state, 
treatment in a hospital-based treatment program, or alternative treatment program approvcd preapproved by the commissioner of 
public safety. All programs must include a requirement of abstinence. Primary treatment programs  flB  provide a minimum of 4 
hours f individual groun. family counseling. Relapse treatment programs ynust provide a minimum f hours f individual. 
aroup, family counseling and will acceptable  jy thn primary treatment has previously been successfully completed. Any  
exceptions to these requirements must be anproved on an individual patient basis. 

[For text of subps 5a to 9, see M.R.] 
Subp. 10. Special review. A "special review" is a pereonal confcrcnce with and examination of th  process of notifying a driver 

fec the purpoc of evaluating the peron'3 driving ability and pomiblc chemical abuse following an Jjg gj alcohol- or controlled-
substance-related incident not currently on the driver's Minnesota driving record may jt in cancellation and total denial of 
all driving privileges in Minnesota. 

[For text of subps 11 and 12, see M.R.] 
7503.0800 REVOCATION PERIODS. 

[For text of subps ito 6, see M.R.] 
Subp. 7. Terminating revocation after assessment action completed. The commissioner shall terminate a revocation period in 

accordance with Minnesota Statutes, section 169.123, subdivision 10. The amount of the termination must be 30 days or the length of 
time remaining in the revocation period, whichever is shorter. Termination of the revocation period under Minnesota Statutes, section 
169.123, subdivision 10, does not apply to persons with more than one alcohol- or controlled-substance-related incident on record or to 
persons who have outstanding licensure requirements:  sash as completion of a 3pecial review or conditions of liccn3urc impo3cd by the 
commimioner following a cpecial review. Termination of the revocation period applies only in the following circumstances. 

[For text of items A and B, see M.R.] 
7503.1300 LICENSE CANCELLATION AND DENIAL. 

Subpart 1. Failure to complete special review action f.rn. The commissioner shall cancel and deny the driver's license and 
driving privilege of any person who fails to complete a return th special review or who fails to complete a driver improvement 
couree, alcohol awarene program, or chemical dependency treatment as prccribcd in a 3pccial review, before the tune fec eem-
pletion of the review or action has expired form. 

[For text of subps 2 and 3, see M.R.1 
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7503.1600 REINSTATEMENT FOLLOWING CANCELLATION. 

The commissioner shall deny the application for a driver's license, including the application for a limited license, to a person 
whose license has been canceled, unless: 

A. no revocation or suspension of the person's driver's license or driving privilege is outstanding; 
B. the person has complctcd a signed  n^i returned  xh  special review aed any spccial rcvicw action rcguircd f.rn; and 
C. if the incident is the third alcohol- or controlled-substance-related incident within a five-year period, or the third incident 

on record and a special review was conducted within ten years of the third incident, or if the person has four or more of these inci-
dents on record, the person has completed rehabilitation. 

Reinstatements following rehabilitation must be conditioned upon continued abstinence from the use of alcohol and controlled 
substances. 
7503.1700 REHABILITATION. 

Subpart 1. When applicable. A person must complete rehabilitation when (4-) whenever:  
.. the person's driver's license or driving privileges have been canceled and denied following involvement in three or more 

alcohol- or controlled-substance-related incidents within five years (2) a spccial review has been conductcd within ten years of the 
third incident and there are three alcohol or controlled substance related incidents on record, or (2) 

a third alcohol- 	controlled-substance-related incident occurs within  n  years from  fl  date, 	person completed gil 
required special review actions  

there are four or more incidents on record. 
Subp. 2. Rehabilitation requirements. To complete rehabilitation, a person must: 

[For text of item A, see M.R.] 
B. participate in a generally recognized, ongoing abstinence-based support group and submit evidence of attendance to the 

commissioner showing regular participation fera minimum of three months immediately before submission g ]g once a ic fQi 
12 consecutive weeks immediately pn^ i submitting  th commissioner evidence showing compliance with, all rehabilitation  
requirements; 

[For text of items C and D, see M.R.] 
Subp. 3. Evidence of chemical dependency treatment. Evidence of chemical dependency treatment submitted to the commis-

sioner shall consist of written material supplied by the treating program showing.. It  jjgJj include:  
intake evaluation that shows th 	reported date f use  Qf  alcohol or a controlled substance; 

.. the starting and ending dates of primary. aftercare, or relapse treatment an& 
th number of program 	fr primary or relapse treatment: 
verification f successful completion of primary and postprimary all treatment, including primary relapse treatment  

aftercare and 
. a discharge summary with a prognosis and any recommended aftercare program. If the prognosis is net favorable or if the 

person fails to complete an aftcrcarc program recommended by the treating program, the commissioner shall reinstate the person's 
driver's license and driving privilege only following completion of an abstinence period of one year in addition to the abstinence 
periods prescribed in pact 7503.1700, subpart . 

[For text of subp 4, see M.R.J 
Subp. 4a. Removing restriction following rehabilitation. A person who is licensed after the successful completion of a first 

rehabilitation may request that the restriction be removed from the driver's license and from the computer records that are disclosed 
to gn persons or agencies outside the driver and vehicle services division, Department of Public Safety, exception of law 
enforcement personnel, after the following requirements are met: 

A. a minimum of five years has elapsed since the completion of rehabilitation; 

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. Steihe ettts indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike outs indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 
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B. the person appears personally at the department's driver evaluation office in Saint Paul or schedules an appearance at other 

offices throughout the state to make the request; and 
C. the person completes an application and pays a duplicate fee as required by Minnesota Statutes, section 171.06. 

The removal of the restriction does not in any way affect the abstinence requirement of license reinstatement. 
Subp. 5. Abstinence periods. Evidence of abstinence furnished by the person must substantiate a period of abstinence as pro-

vided in this chapter. Rehabilitation is not complete if the commissioner has sufficient cause to believe that the person has not 
abstained from the use of alcohol or a controlled substance for the period claimed. 

The required period of documented abstinence is: 

A. for a person who has not previously undergone rehabilitation, one year two years; 
B. for a person who has once completed rehabilitation, three f  years; 
C. for a person who has twine completed rehabilitation two 	times, six yearst or 

fec a person who has complctcd rchabilitation mere than twice, double the period requircd fec the latest rehabilitation. 
If the person is incarcerated or lives in a controlled environment, such as a halfway house, the length of time the person is under 

these conditions counts as half-time towards completion of the abstinence periods required in items A to 	. minimum Qf iz 
months must be spent in an uncontrolled environment immediately p 	to submitting evidence to the commissioner showing com- 
pliance with all rehabilitation requirements. 

[For text of subps 6 and 7, see M.R.] 
Subp. 	Fraudulent documentation. g person submits fraudulent documentation of rehabilitation, the commissioner shall 

reinstate 	person's driver's license  gn  driving privilege only following completion f all rehabilitation requirements 	an 
abstinence period  f one 	jj addition to the abstinence periods prescribed in subpart  .. Fraudulent documentation of rehabilita- 
1Q11 includes, but is not limited 	falsified attendance or treatment records, falsified records showing incorrect abstinence periods, 

other altered  n^i  incorrect records documents.  
Subp.  9 Additional offense. if  g person hQ j required complete rehabilitation under subpart I commits g additional 

alcohol or controlled-substance offenses  gjjQj:  to beninning or comDleting rehabilitation, the commissioner shall reinstate the p 
driver's license gp driving privilege only following completion of all rehabilitation requirements and an abstinence period of 
xi in addition  1h  abstinence periods prescribed j subpart 

Subp.  J.  Treatment medically unnecessary. jf  g person  jj n comnieted treatmerfl since th Jj documented use Qf alcohol 
g controlled substance and has a current assessment from a licensed chemical dependency treatment facility  

n 	for treatment, the commissioner shall reinstate the person's driver's license and driving privilege only following completion f 
gfl other rehabilitation requirements.  
7503.2100 SPECIAL REVIEW. 

Subpart 1. When required. When a person incurs two alcohol- or controlled-substance-related incidents within five years or has 
three or more incidents on record, the commissioner shall require a person to undergo 	a special review of the person' driving and 
chemical dependency problem3 	The commimioncr will netify the person by encIoing a netiee to undergo a special review with 
the netiee of revocation er by 3cnding form jfl 	by first class mail a separate neee to undergo a pccial review. Fhe review will 
be held at a dt4ver evaluation efflee of the Department of Public Safety er at other localiom throughout the state A personal appearance 
is net required if the person reideG out of ctnte and a personal appearance in Minncota would impose an nedue hard3hip. 

Subp. 2. [See repealer.] 
7503.2200 CHEMICAL ABUSE REVIEW PANEL. 

[For text of subpart 1, see M.R.] 
Subp. 2. Procedure. Applications for review by the chemical abuse reviezw panel are governed by the following procedures: 

[For text of items A and B, see M.R.] 
C. The commissioner may submit written materials in addition to the record of the pccial review or alcohol problem ase 

meat for consideration by the chemical abuse review panel. These materials will be supplied to the applicant ;  if the person 
requested copic3 of the eommimioner' matcrial when requcting a special review. 

[For text of items D to I, see MR.] 
REPEALER. Minnesota Rules. pg 7408.0100: 7408.0200: 7408.0300; and 7503.2100, suboart are repealed.  
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Adopted Rules 
A rule becomes effective after the requirements of Minnesota Statutes § 14.05-14.28 have been met and five working days after the rule 

is published in the State Register, unless a later date is required by statutes or specified in the rule. 
If an adopted rule is identical to its proposed form as previously published, a notice of adoption and a citation to its previous State 

Register publication will be printed. 
If an adopted rule differs from its proposed form, language which has been deleted will be printed with strikeouts and new language will 

be underlined. The rule's previous State Register publication will be cited. 
Exempt Rules 

An exempt rule adopted under Minnesota Statutes § 14.386 or 14.388 is effective upon its publication in the State Register. 
Emergency Expedited Rules 

Provisions for the Commissioner of Natural Resources to adopt emergency expedited Game and Fish Rules are specified in Minnesota 
Statutes § 84.027. The commissioner may adopt emergency expedited rules when conditions exist that do not allow the Commissioner to com-
ply with the requirements for emergency rules. The Commissioner must submit the rule to the attorney general for review and must publish a 
notice of adoption that includes a copy of the rule and the emergency conditions. Emergency expedited rules are effective upon publication in 
the State Register, and may be effective up to seven days before publication under certain emergency conditions. Emergency expedited rules are 
effective for the period stated or up to 18 months. 

Board of Psychology 
Adopted Permanent Rules Relating to Licensure lees 

The rules proposed and published at State Register, Volume 21, Number 3, pages 86-87, July 15, 1996 (21 SR 86), are adopted 
with the following modifications: 

7200.6170 SPECIAL FEE. 

Each licensee licensed before September 20, 1996, shall be assessed a one-time fee in the amount of $90 to be remitted to the 
board on or before March 31, 1997, for the purpose of recovering revenue that had been projected but did not materialize from the 
licensure of psychological practitioners and for the purpose of covering the board's expenses. A late fee of 90 shall be assessed 
if the one-time fee is not received in the board office on or before March 31, 1997. The board shall withhold the license or renewal 
certificate of any licensee who fails to remit the one-time fee by March 31, 1997, until the one-time fee and the late fee are paid. 

	 Official Notices 
Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes § 14.101, an agency must first solicit comments from the public on the subject matter of a possible rule- 

making proposal under active consideration within the agency by publishing a notice in the State Register at least 60 days before publica-
tion of a notice to adopt or a notice of hearing, and within 60 days of the effective date of any new statutory grant of required rulemaking. 

The State Register also publishes other official notices of state agencies and non-state agencies, including notices of meetings and matters 
of public interest 

Minnesota Department of Agriculture 
Agricultural Certification Division 

Request for Comments for Planned Amendments to Rules Governing Grain Licensing Fees, 
Minnesota Rules, part 1562.0800 

Subject of the Rule. The Minnesota Department of Agriculture request comments on its planned amendments to rules governing 
grain licensing fees. The department is considering a rule amendment that will increase licensing and second examinations fees for 
grain storage elevators and licensing fees for gain bank operators. 

Persons Affected. The amendments to the rule would likely affect operators of grain elevators and grain banks. The department 
does not contemplate appointing an advisory committee to comment on the planned amendments. 
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Statutory Authority. Minnesota Statutes, section 232.22, subd. 3, requires the commissioner to set fees for inspections, certifi-

cations and licenses under Minnesota Statutes, sections 232.20 to 232.25. 
Public Comment. Interested persons or groups may submit comments or information on the planned rule amendments in writing 

or orally until 4:30 p.m. on December 27, 1996. The department has prepared a draft of the planned rule amendments. Written or 
oral comments, questions, requests to receive a draft of the proposed amendments, and requests for more information on the 
planned rule amendments should be addressed to: Jim Gryniewski, Minnesota Department of Agriculture, 90 W. Plato Blvd., St. 
Paul, MN 55107: Phone 612/297-2157, Fax 612/297-2504. 

Comments submitted in response to this notice will not be included in the formal rulemaking record when a proceeding to 
adopt a rule is started. 

Dated: 4 October 1996 
Gene Hugoson 
Commissioner 

Department of Health 
Health Policy and Service Compliance Division 

Notice of Publication of the "HCFA 1500 Manual" as Defined by the Commissioner of Health; 
Per Minnesota Statutes, sedion 62J.52 

Introduction. Notice is hereby given that the "HCFA 1500 Manual" as defined by Commissioner of Health is available for use 
for paper claims submitted on the HCFA 1500 form. The manual will be available in Minnesota's Bookstore at (612) 297-3000. 

Description and Statutory Reference. The manual is a description of the conventions of use for the HCFA 1500 paper form 
published by the Health Care Financing Administration (HCFA). The manual has been developed per Minnesota Statutes, section 
62J.52. The statute reads in relevant part: "(a) On and after January 1, 1996, all noninstitutional health care services rendered by 
providers in Minnesota except dental or pharmacy providers, that are not currently being billed using an equivalent electronic 
billing format, must be billed using the health insurance claim form HCFA 1500, except as provided in subdivision 5. (b) The 
instructions and definitions for the use of the uniform billing form HCFA 1500 shall be in accordance with the manual developed by 
the administrative uniformity committee entitled standards for the use of the HCFA 1500 form, dated February 1994, as further 
defined by the commissioner." The updated edition of this manual, in this announcement, is the further definition mentioned. 

Development. The Administrative Uniformity Committee (AUC) and its subcommittees developed and revised the manual. 
Both editions of the manual have been submitted for public comment; the most recent (second) edition was announced in the State 
Register on June 17, 1996. The comment period for the second edition was from June 17 to August 16, 1996. In addition, a mailing 
of the public comment notice was sent to provider organizations including allied health organizations, approximately 200 medical 
clinics, all Minnesota hospitals, and approximately 550 payers known to do business in Minnesota. 

The Minnesota Department of Health at (612) 282-3822 collected the public comments. Thirteen comments were received. There was 
general agreement on most issues, but some remain to be discussed in future editions; a format for bringing issues to the attention of the AUC 
for future editions is provided in the "HCFA 1500 Manual". The AUC subcommittee on Data Definitions reviewed the comments and 
brought the results to the AUC. The AUC was able to resolve the issues as presented; no commentor requested a meeting to resolve issues. 

Intent: The intent of this manual, and indeed the entire ASA, is to promote uniformity among payers and providers in completing billing 
formats. That is, one payer must not require field "A" to be completed while another payer refuses to accept claims in which field "A" has 
been completed. The AUC anticipates that Minnesota payers and providers will want to standardize themselves against the Minnesota 
norms, and to the extent that they can, promote this uniformity elsewhere as well. This manual provides those Minnesota norms. 

(Please note that this manual is not intended to be used for government programs such as Medicare and Medicaid (Medical 
Assistance). These programs must conform to federal and state regulations which sometimes require variations from usual practice. 
Each of these programs publishes their billing requirements.) 

Date of Implementation. The "HCFA 1500 Manual" is to be used by providers and non-government payers in Minnesota as of 
January 1, 1997. 

Effective Date: January 1, 1997 
Anne M. Barry 
Commissioner of Health 
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Department of Health 
Health Policy and Systems Compliance Division 

Notices Related to Essential Community Provider Designation 
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that applications for Essential Community Provider designation have been received from the 

applicants listed below. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes section 62Q. 19, subdivision 1, the public has 30 days from the date of this 
publication to submit written comments regarding these applications. Written comments should be submitted to: Tom Johnson, 
Minnesota Department of Health, Health Policy and Systems Compliance Division, 121 East Seventh Place, P.O. Box 64975, St. 
Paul, Minnesota 55164-0975. Telephone inquiries may be directed to Mr. Johnson at (612) 282-6333. 

Willmar Regional Treatment Center 
1550 Highway 71 Northeast, Box 1128 
Willmar, Minnesota 56201 
Date application was received: October 3, 1996 
Littlefork Medical Center 
912 Main Street 
Littlefork, Minnesota 56653 
Date application was received: October 14, 1996 
Range Mental Health Center 
624 South 13th Street 
Virginia, Minnesota 55792 
Date application was received: October 14, 1996 

The following applications for designation as Essential Community Providers have been denied, since the applicants do not meet 
the eligibility requirements of Minnesota Statutes § 62Q.1 9, Subd. 1.: 

Clarissa Medical Clinic 	Prairie Family Practice 	 Roseau Medical Clinic 
Clarissa, Minnesota 	 Olivia, Minnesota 	 Roseau, Minnesota 

Dated: 15 October 1996 
Anne M. Barsy, Commissioner 
Minnesota Department of Health 

CONSOLIDATED NOTICE 
Housing Finance Agency 
Department of Economic Security 
Department of Trade and Economic Development 
Notice of Public Comment Period on the Draft 1997 Minnesota Consolidated Housing and 

Community Development Plan and the 1996 Consolidated Plan Annual Performance Report 
The Minnesota Housing Finance Agency (MHFA), the Department of Economic Security (DES) and the Department of Trade 

and Economic Development (DTED) announce the availability of the 1997 Minnesota Consolidated Housing and Community 
Development Plan, and 1996 Consolidated Plan Annual Performance Report for review and public comment from November 14, 
1996, through December 13, 1996, at 4PM. 

The Consolidated Plan is a condition of funding under several programs administered by the Department of Housing and Urban 
Development (HUD). 

The following formula grant programs are covered by the Consolidated Plan: 
• The Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) programs; 
• The Emergency Shelter Grants (ESG) program; and 
• The HOME Investment Partnership (HOME) program. 
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The 1997 Consolidated Plan is the annual Action Plan, which identifies resources that will be available to help the State address 
its housing and community development needs and describes how the State will administer the three HUD grants. 

The Consolidated Plan Annual Performance Report provides information on housing and community development assistance 
activity in Minnesota that occurred in the 1996 program year (10/1/95 through 9/30/96). Information is provided on funds (state 
and federal) that were disbursed through state agencies during that time. 

A limited number of the draft documents are available through MHFA, which may be requested by calling 612/296-7608, 
1/800/657-3769, or Telephone Device for the Deaf (TDD): 612/297-2361. 

Copies of the Consolidated Plan or the Consolidated Plan Annual Performance Report may also be found at the following locations: 
LIBRARIES 
Arrowhead Library System 	 Minnesota Valley Regional Library 
701 11th Street North 	 100 E. Main Street 
Virginia 55792-2298 	 Mankato 56002 
Bemidji Public Library 	 Nobles County Library 
6th & Beltrami 	 Post Office Box 99 
Bemidji 56601 	 Worthington 56187 
Duluth Public Library 	 Northwest Regional Library 
520 West Superior Street 	 101 East First Street 
Duluth 55802 	 Thief River Falls 56701-2041 
East Central Regional Library 	 Owatonna/Steele County Library 
244 South Birch 	 105 North Elm Street, Box 387 
Cambridge 55008-1588 	 Owatonna 55060-7488 
Grand Marais Public Library 	 Pioneerland Public Library System 
First Street & West Second Avenue 	 410W. 5th Street 
P.O. Box 280 	 Willmar 56201 
Grand Marais 55604-0280 
Great River Regional Library 	 Red Wing Public Library 
405 St. Germain 	 225 East Avenue 
St. Cloud 56301 	 Red Wing 55066-2298 
Lake Agassiz Regional Library 	 Rochester Public Library 
115 S. 6th Street, Box 699 	 11 First Street SE 
Moorhead 56560 	 Rochester 55901 
Marshall-Lyon County Library 	 St. Paul Public Library 
301 West Lyon Street 	 90 West 4th Street 
Marshall 56258 	 St. Paul 55102 
Minneapolis Public Library 	 Winona Public Library 
300 Nicollet Mall 	 151 West 5th Street 
Minneapolis 55401 	 Winona 55987 
REGIONAL DEVELOPMENT COMMISSION OFFICES 
Northwest RDC 	 East Central RDC 
525 Brooks Avenue South 	 100 South Park Street 
Thief River Falls 5670 1-2734 	 Mora 55051-1431 
Headwaters RDC 
	

South West RDC 
P.O. Box 906 
	

P.O. Box 265 
Bemidji 5660 1-0906 
	

Slayton 56172-0265 
Arrowhead RDC 
	

Region Nine RDC 
330 Canal Park Drive 	 P.O. Box 3367 
Duluth 55802-2316 
	

Mankato 56002-3367 
Mid-Minnesota RDC 
	

Metro Council 
333 West Sixth Street 	 230 East Fifth Street 
Willmar 56201-9999 
	

St. Paul 55101-1634 

PAGE 562 	 State Register, Monday 28 October 1996 	 (CITE 21 S.R. 562) 



	 Official Notices o 
OFFICES 

Upper Minnesota Valley RDC 
323 West Schlieman 
Appleton 56208-1299 
HOUSING PARTNERSHIP NETWORK 
Tn-Valley Opportunity Council 
P0 Box 607 
Crookston 56716 
Northeast MN Housing Partnership 
Box 818 
Tower 55790 

Southwestern MN Housing Partnership 
2524 Broadway Avenue, Box 265 
Slayton 56172 

Region Five RDC 
611 Iowa Ave. 
Mankato 56479 

Central Minnesota Housing Partnership 
P0 Box 642 
St. Cloud 56302 
West Central Minnesota Housing Partnership 
Norwest Bank Building, Suite B-3 
220 West Washington Ave. 
Fergus Falls 56537 
Southeast MN Housing Network Project 
Three Rivers CAP 
1414 North Star Drive 
Zumbrota 55992 

MINNESOTA INITIATIVE FUND REGIONAL OFFICES 
Northwest MN Initiative Fund 
722 Paul Bunyan Drive 
Bemidji 56601 
West Central MN Initiative Fund 
220 W. Washington, Ste 205 
Fergus Falls 56537 
Southwest MN Foundation 
P0 Box 130 
Granite Falls 56241 
COUNCILS AND ASSOCIATIONS 
Spanish Speaking Affairs Council 
506 Rice St. 
St. Paul 55103 

Council on Black Minnesotans 
426 Wright Bldg. 
2233 University Ave. 
St. Paul 55114 
Centro Cultural Chicano 
2201 Nicollet Avenue South 
Minneapolis 55404 
Upper Midwest American Indian Center 
1113 West Broadway 
Minneapolis 55411 

Northland Foundation 
332 W. Superior St., Ste 600 
Duluth 55802 
Central MN Initiative Fund 
58 East Broadway, Box 59 
Little Falls 56345 
Southeastern MN Initiative Fund 
510 West Hills Circle 
Owatonna 55060 

Asain Pacific Minnesotans 
100 Meridian Bank 
205 Aurora Ave. 
St. Paul 55103 
MHFA 
400 Sibley Street, Suite 300 
St. Paul 55101 

CLUES (Chicanos Latinos Unidos En Servicio) 
220 South Robert Street, Suite 103 
St. Paul 55107 
American Indian Housing Corporation 
1305 East 24th Street 
Minneapolis 55404 

Written or oral comments on the proposed Consolidated Plan and the Consolidated Plan Annual Performance Report will be 
taken by MHPA from November 14, 1996, through December 13, 1996, at 4 PM. Comments should be directed to: C.J. Eisenbarth 
Hager, MHFA, 400 Sibley Street, Suite 300, St. Paul, MN 55101, phone: 612/296-8147, FAX: 612/296-8139, or Telephone 
Device for the Deaf (TDD): 612/297-2361. 

If an alternative format is necessary for persons with special needs, please contact Denise Rogers at 612/296-8206, 1/800/657-
3769, orTDD 612/297-2361. 

(CITE 21 S.R. 563) 
	 State Register, Monday 28 October 1996 	 PAGE 563 



Official Notices 	

Department of Labor and Industry 
Labor Standards Division 

Notice of Prevailing Wage Certifications for Commercial Construdion Projeds 
Effective October 28, 1996 prevailing wage rates were determined and certified for commercial construction projects in the fol-

lowing counties: 
Beltrami: High School Addition & Remodeling-Red Lake. 
Canton: High School Addition and Renovation-Esko; Removal of Thermal System - School Bldg. 1933-Esko. 
Crow Wing: Accessibility Renovation - Regional Human Services Center-Brainerd. 
Dakota: Improvements to 201 Exchange Building-South St. Paul. 
Hennepin: HCMC Emergency Department Expansion and Renovation-Minneapolis; Renovations at Lonng School, Shingle 

Creek School & Victory Ice Arena-Minneapolis; Wayzata High School Bid Package 6-Plymouth. 
Kandiyohi: Remodel Adolescent Treatment Unit - Regional Treatment Center-Willmar. 
Olmsted: Friedell Middle School Addition-Rochester. 
Ramsey: MAC - Wings Hangar Demolition-St. Paul. 
Copies of the certified wage rate for these projects may be obtained by writing the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry, 

Prevailing Wage Section, 443 Lafayette Road, St. Paul, Minnesota 55 155-4306. The charge for the cost of copying and mailing are 
$1.36 per project. Make check or money order payable to the State of Minnesota. 

Gary W. Bastian, Commissioner 

Pollution Control Agency 
Ground Water and Solid Waste Division 

Notice of Proposed Update of the Permanent List of Priorities Among Releases or Threatened 
Releases of Hazardous Substances or Pollutants or Contaminants 

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency (MPCA) is publishing for public comment a pro-
posed addition to and deletions from the Permanent List of Priorities (PLP) which lists releases or threatened releases of hazardous 
substances, pollutants, or contaminants for which the MPCA may take removal or remedial actions under the Minnesota 
Environmental Response and Liability Act (MERLA), Minnesota Statutes ch. I 15B. 

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes § I 15B.17 (1994 and Supp. 1995) and Minnesota Rules ch. 7044(1995), the MPCA is proposing 
the following changes to the PLP. 

The MPCA is proposing the addition of the Pilgrim Cleaners Site in Brooklyn Center to the PLP. The Pilgrim Cleaners Site has 
a Hazard Ranking System score of 12 (see Minnesota Rules pt. 7044.0350), and has been assigned to Response Action Classes C 
and D (see Minnesota Rules Pt 7044.0450). The four response action classes are defined as follows: Class A - Declared 
Emergency; Class B - Response Actions Completed and Operation and Maintenance/Long-Term Monitoring Ongoing; Class C - 
Response Actions Necessary or in Progress or First Year Operation and Maintenance at a Site; and Class D - Remedial 
Investigations and Feasibility Studies (R1/FS) Necessary or in Progress. 

The MPCA is proposing to delete the following seven landfills from the PLP: Becker County Sanitary Landfill; Grand Rapids 
Area Sanitary Landfill, Itasca County; Hanson and Mankato Sanitary Landfills, Blue Earth County; Hopkins Sanitary Landfill, 
Hennepin County; Karistad Sanitary Landfill, Kittson County; Redwood County Sanitary Landfill; Wadena Sanitary Landfill, 
Wadena County. 

These landfills are all "qualified facilities" under the Landfill Cleanup Act of 1994 (Act) and have been issued a Notice of 
Compliance by the Commissioner of the MPCA. Under authority of the Act, the State of Minnesota, through the MPCA, has now 
assumed responsibility for any necessary response actions at each of these sites and will be responsible for long-term maintenance 
of each facility. Therefore, MERLA funded response actions will no longer be necessary at each site and deletion of these sites 
from the PLP is appropriate. 
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In addition, it is anticipated that the following ten "qualified facilities" under the Act will receive a Notice of Compliance prior to 

December 20, 1996, the date that the MPCA Commissioner anticipates making a decision in this matter. Therefore, the MPCA is 
also proposing to delete the following landfills from the PLP: Dakhue Sanitary Landfill, Dakota County; Red Rock Sanitary 
Landfill, Mower County; Bueckers Sanitary Landfill #1, Steams County; Korf Bros. Sanitaiy Landfill, Pine County; Meeker 
County Sanitary Landfill; Leech Lake Sanitary Landfill, Hubbard County; Ironwood Sanitary Landfill, Fillmore County; Anoka 
Municipal Sanitary Landfill, Anoka County; Flying Cloud Sanitary Landfill, Hennepin County and Houston County Sanitary 
Landfill. Should a Notice of Compliance not be issued to any of these facilities prior to December 20, 1996, the deletion of that 
facility from the PLP will be postponed until after issuance of a Notice of Compliance. 

The MPCA invites members of the public to submit written comments on these proposed changes to the PLP. All written com-
ments with regard to these proposed addition and deletions must be received no later than 4:30 p.m., December 2, 1996. 

Written comments regarding the proposed MPCA Site addition and deletions should be submitted to: Gary L. Krueger, Site 
Response Section, Ground Water and Solid Waste Division, Minnesota Pollution Control Agency, 520 Lafayette Road, St. Paul, 
Minnesota 55155-4194. 

An interested person may submit a petition to the Commissioner of the MPCA requesting that the MPCA Board make the deci-
sion on whether to adopt the proposed addition and/or deletions to the PLP. To be considered timely, the petition must be received 
by the MPCA contact person, Gary Krueger, by 4:30 p.m. on December 2, 1996. The decision whether to adopt the proposed addi-
tion and/or deletions to the PLP will be made by the MPCA Board if: (1) the Commissioner grants the petition requesting the 
matter to be presented to the MPCA Board; or (2) an MPCA Board member request to hear the matter prior to the time the 
Commissioner makes a final decision on the proposed addition and/or deletions to the PLP. 

Requests for a complete updated PLP or information on a specific site currently listed on the PLP can be directed to the MPCA' s 
Public Information Office at the above address, or by telephoning 612/296-6300 or toll free at 800/657-3864. 

All written comments received by the above deadline will be considered by the MPCA in establishing the updated PLP. 
Peder A. Larson 
Acting Commissioner-MPCA 

Department of Public Safety 
Driver and Vehicle Services Division 

CERTIFICATE OF ADVISORY COMMITFEE MEMBERSHIP 
1996 Advisory Committee Membership 

Pursuant to Minnesota Statute § 14.101, Subd. 2, I certify that the following persons were appointed to committees to comment, 
prior to the publication of a notice of intent to adopt or a notice of hearing, on the subject matter of rules under active consideration 
by the Department of Public Safety Driver and Vehicle Services Division, during 1996. 

Dated: 8 October 1996 
Catherine A. Moore 
Administrative Law Analyst 

DRIVER EDUCATION ADVISORY COMMITFEE 
Duane Mettler, President 
Minnesota Driver and Traffic Safety Education Association 
P0 Box 393, RR 1 
Madison Lake, MN 56063 
Motorcycle representative 
Fred Schreiber 
Minnesota Driver and Traffic Safety Education Association 
1932 E. Nevada Ave. 
St. Paul, MN 55119 
Automobile representative 
Robert Seman 
Easy Driving School West 
14140 23rd Ave. N. 
Plymouth, MN 55447 
Automotive representative 
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Jim Baymler 
Northland Professional Driving Center, Inc. 
193 Parkview Ave. 
Wadena, MN 56482 
Trucking representative 
Karen Kader 
Comprehensive Safety Sys., Inc. 
100 - 83rd Ave. NE., Suite 107 
Fridley, MN 55432 
Motorcycle representative 
Maaty Rossini 
5701 Stillwater Blvd. N. 
Stillwater, MN 55082 
Frank Thissen 
MDTSEA Past President 
16641 Illinbis Ave. 
Lakeville, MN 55044 
Kathy Wagner 
729 Capitol Square 
St. Paul, MN 55155 
Carol Bruggerman 
Minnesota Correctional Facility 
Box C 
Sauk Centre, MN 56378 
Wendy Bensen 
Minnesota Congress of Parents, Teachers, and Students 
8 Red Pine Lane 
North Oaks, MN 55127 
Parent representative 
Mike Cashman 
Deputy Director 
Minnesota Counsel Serving Deaf and Hard of Hearing People 
444 Lafayette Rd. 
St. Paul, MN 55155-3814 
Bill Wodarski 
1006 W. Lake Street, Room 108 
Minneapolis, MN 55408-2895 
Motorcycle representative 

DEPUTY REGISTRAR ADVISORY COMMITTEE 

Jean Ewald 
Deputy Registrar Office 
7800 Golden Valley Road 
Golden Valley, MN 
Terry Heiser 
Deputy Registrar Office 
2660 Civic Center Drive 
Roseville, MN 55113 
Jeff Snyder 
Deputy Registrar Office 
14125 Commerce Avenue 
Prior Lake, MN 55372 
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Sheila Tatone 
Deputy Registrar Office 
7109 Cahill Avenue East 
Inver Grove Heights, MN 55076 
David Konshok 
Deputy Registrar Office 
312 South Park 
Park Rapids, MN 56470 
Myrna Schoeb 
Deputy Registrar Office 
POBox 180 
St. Peter, MN 56082 
Charles A. Braa 
County Auditor 
P.O. Box 100, Courthouse 
Luveme, MN 56156 

	 State Grants and Loans 
In addition to requests by state agencies for technicallprofessional services (published in the State Contracts section), the State Register 

also publishes notices about grants and loans available through any agency or branch of state government. Although some grant and loan 
programs specifically require printing in a statewide publication such as the State Register, there is no requirement for publication in the 
State Register itself. 

Agencies are encouraged to publish grant and loan notices, and to provide fmancial estimates as well as sufficient time for interested 
parties to respond. 

Department of Economic Security 
Office of Youth Development 

Notice of Availability of Title II Juvenile Justice Funds 
The Juvenile Justice Advisory Committee (JJAC) and the Office of Youth Development is pleased to announce the availability of 

$500,000 in Title II Juvenile Justice Funds. The Request for Proposals (RFP identifies three areas for funding: Pre-Petition 
Diversion, Post Adjudication, and Aftercare Programs with an Employment and Training Component. Funding is authorized under 
the Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention Act, 42 United States Code 5601 et seq. 

Eligible Applicants include local private agencies, community-based organizations, townships, cities, counties, school districts, law 
enforcement agencies, state agencies or combinations. Special consideration will be given to those projects that reduce the over represen-
tation of young people of color, promote cultural sensitivity in the juvenile justice system, and/or address issues of adolescent females. 
Program Goals and Target Population 

• Pre-Petition Diversion: prevent or divert involvement of youth (ages 5 to 18) in the juvenile justice system. 
• Post-Adjudication: improve post-adjudication services for youth (ages 10 to 18) by providing a continuum of services to 

assure that the least restrictive alternative is used. 
• Aftercare Programs Including an Employment and Training Component: integrate youth (ages 14 to 18) into the commu-

nity after release from incarceration by enabling them to become productive members of society through an aftercare pro-
gram that includes an employment and training component. Participating youth must have been incarcerated for a delin-
quent act and participation may be a condition of release or may be voluntary. 

Applications in the form of Request for Proposals (RFPs) are available from: Jerry Ascher, Juvenile Justice Specialist, or Lizz 
Sheridan, Office of Youth Development, 390 North Robert Street, St. Paul, MN 55101. Phone (612) 297-4335, (612) 296-8601, or 
toll-free 1-800-456-8519. 

Applications must be received by 4:30 on Friday, December 12, 1996. Faxed applications will not be accepted!! Contracts will 
begin March 1, 1997 and programs may operate for up to 18 months. 
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Department of Administration procedures require that notice of any consultant services contract or professional and technical services con-

tract which has an estimated cost of over $10,000 be printed in the Stale Register. These procedures also require that the following information 
be included in the notice: name of contact person, agency name and address, description of project and tasks, cost estimate, and fmal submission 
date of completed contract proposal. Certain quasi-state agencies are exempted from some of the provisions of this statute. 

In accordance with Minnesota Rules Part 1230.1910, certified Targeted Group Businesses and individuals submitting proposals as prime con-
tractors shall receive the equivalent of a 6% preference in the evaluation of their proposal. For information regarding certification, call the 
Materials Management Helpline (612)296-2600 or [TDD (612)297-5353 and ask for 296-2600]. 

Department of Administration 
Risk Management Division 

Notice of Availability of a Request for Proposal for Administrative and Brokerage Services for 
an Owner Controlled Insurance Program 

The Department of Administration herein gives notice of the availability of a Request for Proposal for an Owner Controlled 
Insurance Program (OCIP) with respect to the Close Custody Correctional Facility to be located in Rush City, Minnesota. 

A pre-proposal conference for all potential proposers will be held on Friday, November 8, 1996, 9:00 - 10:30 a.m. (central stan-
dard time) in the State Administration Building, 50 Sherburne Avenue, St. Paul, Minnesota, Room 11 6A. This will be an opportu-
nity for proposers to ask questions regarding the Request for Proposal. Attending the pre-proposal conference is not mandatory for 
participation in the Request for Proposal process. 

A copy of the Request for Proposal can be obtained through the mail by calling the Department at (612) 296-6022 or by writing 
to Marlys Lockman, Department of Administration, Risk Management Division, 309 Administration Building, 50 Sherbume 
Avenue, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155. 

The deadline for receipt of proposals is 4:00 p.m. (central standard time), Friday, November 22, 1996. 

Minnesota Center for Arts Education 
Notice of Request for Proposal for Arts and Education Partnership Evaluator/Researcher 

The Minnesota Center for Arts Education is seeking proposals from qualified research and evaluation consultants, or teams of 
consultants who can combine expertise, to evaluate and document the programs of the Center - long-term art/school partnerships, 
interdisciplinary and multicultural arts initiatives, grant programs, and professional development workshops. The purpose is to 
evaluate the overall effectiveness of Center programs, provide evaluation of 1-2 selected programs, and serve in a technical assis-
tance capacity to the Center and to long-term partner programs. The specific services to be provided under this contract are outlined 
in detail in the Minnesota Center for Arts Education Request for Proposal (RFP) Statement of Project Scope and Tasks. 

The formal RFP may be requested from: 
Pamela N. Paulson, Director, Resource Programs 
Minnesota Center for Arts Education 
6125 Olson Memorial Highway 
Golden Valley, Minnesota 55422 
(612) 591-4700 or 1-800-657-3515 (toll free) 

It is anticipated that the cost of the contracted service, as described in the Request For Proposals, will not exceed a total of 
$25,000.00 and is to be provided during the contract period from January 1, 1997 through December 30, 1997. 

The deadline for submission of proposals is 4:00 p.m., Friday, November 15, 1996. Proposals should be submitted to Pamela N. 
Paulson, Director, Resource Programs. 

PAGE 568 	 State Register, Monday 28 October 1996 	 (CITE 21 S.R. 568) 



   Professional, Technical & Consulting Contracts 
Higher Education Services Office 

Request for Proposals for Development of Curriculum on Financing Post-Secondary 
Education 	 DEADLINE EXTENDED 

The Higher Education Services Office (HESO) is requesting proposals from qualified professionals for the development of a cur-
riculum on financing and saving for future educational expenses. The curriculum should be geared for students and parents of 
color, low income, or those with no previous post-secondary experience. Proposals must be submitted no later than November 15, 
1996. 

The Request for Proposal (RFP) does not obligate the HESO to complete this project, and the HESO reserves the right to cancel 
the solicitation if it is considered to be in its best interest. 

The total cost of this proposal is not to exceed $15,000. 
Copies of the RFP are available from: 

Communications 
Minnesota Higher Education Services Office 
400 Capitol Square Building 
550 Cedar Street 
St. Paul, MN 55101 
612/296-9684 

Higher Education Services Office 
Request for Proposals (RFP) for Library Automated Systems Planning and Design Services 

The Higher Education Services Office (HESO) is requesting proposals from qualified library systems experts for consulting ser-
vices to provide assistance for Fiscal Year 1997. This project focuses on the preparation of a request for proposal for a statewide 
online library information system. This request for proposal (RFP) does not obligate the HESO to complete this project and it 
reserves the right to cancel the solicitation if it is considered to be in its best interest. 

The total cost of this proposal will not exceed $40,000. 
The deadline for receipt of proposals is 4:00 p.m., November 19, 1996. 
Copies of the RFP are available from: 

Library Planning Task Force/DAP 
Higher Education Services Office 
400 Capitol Square Building 
550 Cedar Street 
St. Paul, MN 55101 
612/296-3974 ext. 3418 
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Department of Human Services 
Child Support Enforcement Division 

Request for Proposals to Conduct Genetic Testing for Title IV-D Paternity Cases 
The State of Minnesota, Department of Human Services, Child Support Enforcement Division ("the State") is soliciting propos-

als from qualified testing laboratories for the purpose of providing genetic testing and other associated services for Title IV-D pater-
nity cases. The primary emphasis of this Request for Proposal ("REP") is to seek contractors who can provide accurate, reliable, 
legally admissible parentage blood and genetic tests, and when necessary, expert testimony in Title IV-D paternity cases at compet-
itive prices. In Minnesota, the Title IV-D child support program is supervised by the State and administered by 84 county child 
support offices ("the Counties"). A list of successful contractors, upon execution of contracts, will be made available to the 
Counties. Any contract awards pursuant to this REP will not guarantee any amount of work or business from the State or the 
Counties. The Counties will have sole discretion to select which of the approved contractors they will use for paternity blood and 
genetic testing. 

In conjunction with the public notice of this contract, notice of this project will be provided to the Human Resources offices of all 
Minnesota Statutes 15.091 agencies and the Higher Education Board. In compliance with Minnesota Statutes 1 6B. 167, the avail-
ability of this contracting opportunity is being offered to state employees. Responses of any state employee along with other 
responses to this REP shall be evaluated. This Notice or the REP does not obligate the State to complete the project, and the State 
reserves the right to cancel the solicitation if it is considered to be in its best interest. 

A copy of the REP can be obtained by contacting the State at: (612) 282-3964; fax: (612) 297-4450, or by writing to: 
Wayland Campbell, Business Unit Manager 
Minnesota Department of Human Services 
Child Support Enforcement Division 
444 Lafayette Road 
St. Paul, Minnesota 55 155-3846 

All proposals must be received no later than 4:00 p.m. Monday, December 9, 1996. No faxed or other electronically transmitted 
proposals will be accepted. 

Department of Transportation 
Notice of Availability of Contract for Decision Support System for Operations 

Management/Business Planning 
In compliance with Minnesota Statutes Section 16B.167, the availability of this contracting opportunity is being offered to state 
employees. We will evaluate the responses of any state employee along with other responses to this Request for Proposal. 

The Minnesota Department of Transportation is requesting proposals for the development of an operations decision support 
system that will be used to support Maintenance Function business planning and quality efforts presently underway. Specifically, 
MnIDOT is seeking information tools that integrate resource, output, outcome, environment and customer data such that the effi-
ciency and effectiveness of products and services, as defined by the customer, can be evaluated. 

Scope of Project: Two previously customer-defined products will be the focus of this learning project. They are CLEAR 
ROADS and ATRAC11VE ROADSIDES. These two products are chosen so that the major activities of roadway maintenance, in 
both winter and summer, are represented. The performance outcomes of these products are exclusively the responsibility and under 
the control of the maintenance organization in Mn/DOT. The term of the contract is for approximately one year. 

This project is a pilot for learning how to define, collect, analyze and apply internal quality and external product performance 
measures to efficiently provide customer with quality maintenance products that fit their needs. Mn/DOT also expects to use the 
system developed in this RFP project to allocate resources and assess our in-house competitiveness. Several models will need to be 
developed relating internal and external performance measures to resources consumed at the work unit level. The models must 
contain indexing factors to account for varying conditions of the environment in which each work unit operates. This is necessary 
to create valid performance benchmarks. 
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The Contractor shall complete the following tasks: 
Task 1 - Meet with Mn/DOT Information Resource Professionals to coordinate project with Strategic Plan for JR and to deter-

mine department standards for data, applications, and technologies. 
Task 2 - Meet with maintenance managers to verify entities from the conceptual data model and identify their pertinate attributes 

that need to be measured and to recommend methods of measurement. 
Task 3 - Define performance measurement attributes of the two products identified above and facilitate agreement with the defi-

nitions among maintenance managers. Some examples might be; 
a) customer outcome controlled measures 
b) managerial controlled resource measurements 
c) measurements of uncontrollable environmental factors that impact delivery of roadway maintenance 
d) weighing factors of entities of a, b, and c above 

Task 4 - Organize data, develop computer software models, create appropriate algorithms and determine the value, importance 
and satisfaction the customer places on the two products identified. 

Task 5 - Install and debug software models on each participating maintenance manager's PC. 
Task 6 - Provide initial training for each participating maintenance manager in the use of the models. 
Task 7 - Make presentations about the models and their use to upper Mn/DOT staff. 
Task 8- Provide continuing operating support and data oversight to the installed system, making changes in the models and algo-

rithms as learning takes place. 
Task 9 - Prepare a final report containing documentation of tasks performed and their outcomes, documentation of any software 

created in the performance of this project and recommendations for future use of the models prepared, including but not limited to, 
internal bench marking of Mn/DOT work units and deployment of resources based on customer preferences. 

The Contractor shall provide: 
I) must furnish and install on PCs or on networks, software that displays complete data in formats useful to evaluate the 

overall performance of the two products, dear roads and attractive roadsides, at up to fourteen locations as desired by 
Mn/DOT; 

2) must furnish and install, as in 1 above, software that displays data in formats useful for, including but not limited to, com-
paring work units' performance, evaluating work processes, evaluating efficiency and effectiveness in meeting customer 
needs, for deploying resources, and predicting the likely results of various resource deployment scenarios; 

3) must furnish a final report of all activities and their outcomes, documentation of any software developed in the project 
and recommendations for continuing use of the models for future use or extension to other products and services; 

4) must present progress reports once at the midpoint of the project and at the close of the project to maintenance mangers, 
Mn/DOT top staff and to other interested Mn/DOT managers and personnel. 

Responder may propose additional tasks or activities if they will substantially improve the results of the project. 
Mn/DOT will provide support based on the responders proposal. 
It is anticipated that the contract period will begin December15, 1996 and continue through January 15, 1998. 
Targeted Group Business and/or Economically Disadvantaged Business participation in this contract has been determined to be at 4%. 

NOTE: No more than 90% of the full amount due under the contract may be paid until the final deliverables of the contract 
have been reviewed by the agency and the agency has determined that the contractor has satisfactorily fulfilled the terms of 
the contract. 

Prospective responders who have any questions regarding this request for proposal may call or write: 
NOTE: Other Mn/DOT personnel are not allowed to discuss the project with responders before the submittal of proposed 
deadline. 

Name: 	Marvin G. Bates 
Title: 	Business Systems Engineering Director 
Address: 	395 John Ireland Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155 
Phone: 	612/282-6982 

Proposals must be received by 12:01 p.m. November 15, 1996. LATE PROPOSALS WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED. 
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Submit 9 copies of the proposal. Proposals are to be sealed in a mailing envelope or package with the responder's name and 

address clearly written on the outside. Each copy of the proposal must be signed, in ink, by an authorized representative of the 
company. Prices and terms of the proposal as stated must be valid for the length of the project. 

The following will be considered minimum contents of the proposal: 
1. A restatement of the objectives, goals, and tasks to show or demonstrate the responder's view of the nature of the project. 
2. Identify and describe the deliverables to be provided by the responder. 
3. Outline the responder's background and experience with particular emphasis on local, state, and federal government 

work including all subcontractors. Identify personnel to conduct the project and detail their training and work experi-
ence. No change in personnel assigned to the project will be permitted without the prior approval of Mn/DOT' s Contract 
Administrator. 

4. Responder will prepare a detailed cost and work plan which will identify the major tasks to be accomplished and be used 
as a schedule and managing tool, as well as the basis for invoicing. 

5. Identify the level of the MnJDOT's participation in the project as well as any other services to be provided by the 
Mn/DOT. 

6. Indicate if your firm is Targeted Group Business, Economically Disadvantage Business. 
All proposals received by the deadline will be evaluated by representatives of Mn/DOT. In some instances, an interview will be 

part of the evaluation process. 
Factors upon which proposals will be judged the following: 

1. Expressed understanding of project objectives. 
2. Project work plan. 
3. Project cost detail. 
4. Qualifications of both company and personnel. Experience of project personnel will be given greater weight than that of 

the company. 
Workers' Compensation: The successful responder will be required to submit acceptable evidence of compliance with workers' 

compensation insurance coverage requirements prior to execution of the contract. 
This request for proposal does not obligate MD/DOT to complete the project, and Mn/DOT reserves the right to cancel the 

solicitation if it is considered to be in its best interest. 
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For tile first time, available in 3 formats 

Looseleaf 	Spiralbound 

3-ring/8-1/2" x 11" 
Stock No. 1-3L $29.95 
Binder sold separately. 

CDROM 
1.  

ç4 
Compact disk (single/multiple user) 
Single user 	Stock No. 1-3 $59.95 
Small network Stock No. 1-3 $235.95 (2-10 users) 
Large network Stock No. 1-3 $999.95*(11.unlimited use) 

*price includes I spiralbound edition 

Spiralbound/8-1/2" x 11" 
Stock No. 1-3S $29.95 

Coining Soontoalookease 
orComputefSeteenNeaf You. . 

Minnesota Guidebook 
to State Agency Services 
1996-99 

Due for release the week of June 17* 

Your "One-Stop" service center & personal guide to 
the State of Minnesota. 
An indispensable desk reference, 
the Guidebook will open the doors to State 

• access and link-up with government services and 
service-delivery systems 

• obtain maps, videos, reports, statistics, publications, 
guides, brochures and information resources 

• learn license requirements, permits and fees, renewal 
information and continuing education programs 

• discover state parks, trails, canoe routes and campgrounds, 
hunting, fishing, boating, snowmobiing, RV touring 

of Minnesota services--- 

The Guidebook directs you to videos, publications, audio 
tapes, maps, guides, reports, grants, scholarships, low- 
interest loans, housing and family assistance, business and 
community development programs, museums, historical 
sites, libraries, health care activities, animal care, agricul-
tural services, arts information, schools and education 
programs, travel and tourism services, plus: 
• key contact people, phones, e-mail, addresses and 

Internet numbers for each agency 
• applying for grants, bidding on state contracts, making 

solid business connections 
• citizen participation in state policy-making and 

appointment on boards, councils and task forces 
Have at your fingertips the most complete listing of 

licenses and permits required in Minnesota, for professions 
and occupations, as well as for recreation and enjoyment 
of the state's natural resources. 

cciCOPV and 
ca9e  

tteSe pa ad 
' WE '' and '' 	One spiralbound OR looseleaf copy 

& one single user CD 
Stock No. 1-3 $74.95 

One spiralbound OR looseleaf copy 
& one small network CD 
Stock No. $249.95 Binder sold separately. 

* Please Note: The CDROM edition of the Guidebook is currently in production. Anticipated delivery Sept. 16.  
Checks/credit card orders for CDROM purchases will NOT be processed until CDROM available. 



Shipping Charges 
Subtotal Add: 
Up to $25.00 $3.00 
$25.01 - $50.00 $5.00 
Over $50.00 $7.00 

TO ORDER: 
Complete attached order blank. Include 

either your VISA/MasterCard, American 
Express or Discover credit card number with 
the expiration date, or a check/money order 
made out to the State of Minnesota. Orders 
by phone are accepted when purchasing with 
your credit card. Please include a phone 
number where you can be reached during 
the day in case we have questions about 
your order. 

Please include sales tax and $3.00 postage 
and handling. 

PREPAYMENT REQUIRED. 
Merchandise may be returned if it is in 

resalable condition. 

NOTE: 
STATE REGISTER and other 
subscriptions do not require sales 
tax or postage and handling fees. 

{IIRICAN EXPRESS 1: 

 

Prices subject to change without notice. 
Please allow about 6 weeks for delivery. 
In a hurry? Stop by our Bookstore. 
Bookstore hours: 8:00-5:00 Monday-Friday 

  

Department of Administration 
Communications.Media 

Periodicals 
U.S. Postage 

Paid 
Permit No. 

326630 
St. Paul, MN 

117 University Avenue • St. Paul, Minnesota 55155 
Metro Area 612-297-3000 
Toll Free 1-800-657-3757 
FAX 612-297-8260 
TDD Metro Area 612-282-5077 Greater MN 1-800-657-3706 

  

Please notify us of any address changes so 
that we an continue to give you our best 
service. Include your old mailing label to 
speed your service. 

Legislative Reference Library  7850-S 
Printed on recycled paper 	 Kim Hanson 
20% post-consumer waste 	 645 State Office Bldg 

INTEROFFICE 

For Your Convenience, photocopy this order blank 
Code 
No. Quantity Description 

Item 
Price Total 

Name or Company Subtotal 
Attention 

6V % tax 
MN residents 

7% St. Paul residents 
Address 

City State Zip Add Shipping Charges 
from chart at left. 

American Express/VISA/MasterCardlDiscover No. TOTAL 
Signature Expiration Date Telephone (During Day) 

If tax exempt, please provide ES number or send completed exemption form. 	SR-21 
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