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State Register 	
Judicial Notice Shall Be Taken of Material Published in the State Register 
The State Register is the official publication of the State of Minnesota, containing executive and commissioners' orders, proposed and adopted 
rules, official and revenue notices, professional.technical.consulting contracts, non-state bids and public contracts and grants. 
A Contracts Supplement is published Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday and contains bids and proposals for commodities, including printing bids. 

Printing Schedule and Submission Deadlines 
Deadline for: Emergency Rules, Executive and 

Vol. 20 
	

Deadline for both 	 Commissioner's Orders, Revenue and Official Notices, 
Issue 
	

PUBLISH 
	

Adopted and Proposed 
	

State Grants, Professional-Technical-Consulting 
Number 
	

DATE 
	

RULES 
	

Contracts, Non-State Bids and Public Contracts 

#24 Monday 11 December Monday 27 November Monday 4 December 
#25 Monday 18 December Monday 4 December Monday 11 December 
#26 Tuesday 26 December Monday 11 December Monday 18 December 
#27 Tuesday 2 January Monday 18 December Friday 22 December 

An "Affidavit of Publication" can be obtained at a cost of $5.00 for notices published in the State Register. This service includes a notarized "Affidavit of Publication" 
and a copy of the issue of the State Register in which the notice appeared. 
To submit notices for publication in the State Register, contact the editor listed above. The charge is $80.00 per page, billed in tenths of a page (columns are seven inches 
wide). About 2-1/2 pages typed double spaced on 8-1t2'xl 1" paper equal one typeset page in the State Register. Submit two copies of your notice, typed double spaced, 
with a letter on your letterhead stationery requesting publication date. Send to the State Register at the address listed below. 
SUBSCRIPTION SERVICES: 
The State Register is published by the State of Minnesota, Department of Administration, Print Communications Division, pursuant to Minnesota Statutes § 14.46. The 
State Register is available at the main branch of county libraries in Minnesota and all "State Depository Libraries": State University and Community College libraries; the 
University of Minnesota libraries; St. Paul, Minneapolis and Duluth Public Libraries; State Law Library; Minnesota Historical Society Library; and the Library 
Development Service at the State Department of Education. Single copies cost $3.50 and are available at Minnesota's Bookstore, 117 University Avenue, St. Paul, MN 
55 155. Order by phone: Metro area: 297-3000 Toll free 800-657-3757. Ielecommunication flevice for the fleaf Metro area 282-5077 Toll free 800-657-3706. NO 
REFUNDS. Both editions are delivered postpaid to points in the United States, second class postage paid for the State Register at St Paul, MN, first class for the 
Contracts SupplemenL Publication Number 326630 (ISSN 0146-7751). Subscribers who do not receive a copy of an issue should notify the State Register circulation 
manager immediately at (612) 296-0931. Copies of back issues may not be available more than two weeks after publication. 
• State Register (published every Monday, or Tuesday if Monday is a holiday) One year subscription: $150.00 
• Contracts Supplement (published every Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday) One year subscription: $125.00 via first class mail, $140.00 via fax or through our On-Line 

Service via your computer modem. For a free sample demo of the On-Line Service call via your modem: 6121821-4096. Access item "S": State Register Modem 
parameters 8-N-1 1200/2400. By purchasing the On-Line access you are agreeing to not redistribute without authorization. 

• 13-week trial subscription which includes both the State Register and Contracts Supplement. $60.00 
• Single issues are available for a limited time: State Register $3.50, Contracts Supplement 5Ott. Add shipping charge of $3.00 per order. 
• "Commodity ContractAwards Reports,".- lists awards of contracts and bids published in the Tuesday-Wednesday-Friday "Contracts Supplement"- published every 

two weeks, $5.00 per individual report, plus $3.00 shipping if applicable. Order stock #99-42. Six-month subscriptions cost $75.00. 
Appears every two weeks. Order stock #90-14. Available in hard copy format only. 

• 'Professional-Technical-ConsidlingAward Reports,"- published each month listing the previous month's awards of contracts and RFPs that appeared in the Monday 
edition of the "State Register." individual copies are $15.00 per report, plus $3.00 shipping if applicable. Order stock #99-43. 
Six-month subscriptions cost $75.00. Appears monthly. Order stock number 90- 15. Available in hard copy format only. 

FOR LEGISLATIVE NEWS 
Publications containing news and information from the Minnesota Senate and House of Representatives are available free to concemed citizens and the news media. To 
be placed on the mailing list, write or call the offices listed below: 

SENATh 	 HOUSE 

Briefly-Preview—Senate news and committee calendar; published weekly during leg-
islative sessions. 

Session Weekly—House committees, committee assignments of individual represen-
tatives; news on committee meetings and action. House action and bill introductions. 

Perspectives—Publication about the Senate. 	 This Week—weekly interim bulletin of the House. 

Session Review—Summarizes actions of the Minnesota Senate. 	 Session Summaiy—Sumrnarizes all bills that both the Minnesota House of 

Contact: 	Senate Public Information Office 	(612)296-0504 
	 Representatives and Minnesota Senate passed during their regular and special sessions. 

Room 231 State Capitol, St. Paul, MN 55155 
	

Contact: 	House Information Office 	(612) 296-2146 
Room 175 State Office Building, St. Paul, MN 55155 
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Minnesota Rules: Amendments and Additions 	
NOTICE: How to Follow State Agency Rulemaking in the State Register 

The State Register is the official source, and only complete listing, for all state agency rulemaking in its various stages. State agencies are 
required to publish notice of their rulemaking action in the State Register. Published every Monday, the State Register makes it easy to follow and 
participate in the important rulemaking process. Approximately 75 state agencies have the authority to issue rules. Each agency is assigned specific 
Minnesota Rule chapter numbers. Every odd-numbered year the Minnesota Rules are published. This is a ten-volume bound collection of all 
adopted rules in effect at the time. Supplements are published to update this set of rules. Proposed and adopted emergency rules do not appear in this 
set because of their short-term nature, but are published in the State Register. 

If an agency seeks outside opinion before issuing new rules or rule amendments, it must publish a NOTICE OF INTENT TO SOLICIT 
OUTSIDE OPINION in the Official Notices section of the State Register. When rules are first drafted, state agencies publish them as Proposed 
Rules, along with a notice of hearing, or notice of intent to adopt rules without a hearing in the case of noncontroversial rules. This notice asks for 
comment on the rules as proposed. Proposed emergency rules and withdrawn proposed rules are also published in the State Register. After proposed 
rules have gone through the comment period, and have been rewritten into their final form, they again appear in the State Register as Adopted 
Rules. These final adopted rules are not printed in their entirety in the State Register, only the changes made since their publication as Proposed 
Rules. To see the full rule, as adopted and in effect, a person simply needs two issues of the State Register, the issue the rule appeared in as pro-
posed, and later as adopted. For a more detailed description of the rulemaking process, see the Minnesota Guidebook to State Agency Services. 

The State Register features partial and cumulative listings of rules in this section on the following schedule: issues 1-13 inclusive; issues 14-25 
inclusive; issue 26, cumulative for issues 1-26; issues 27-38 inclusive; issue 39, cumulative for 1-39; issues 40-51 inclusive; and issue 52, cumulative 
for 1-52. An annual subject matter index for rules appears in August. For copies of the State Register, a subscription, the annual index, the 
Minnesota Rules or the Minnesota Guidebook to State Agency Services, contact the Print Communications Division, 117 University Avenue, St. 
Paul, MN 55155 (612) 297-3000 or toll-free in Minnesota 1-800-657-3757. 

Vol. 20 issues 14-23 cumulative 
Accountancy Board 
1100.0100; .1300; .2500; .3550; .3600 (proposed) 
Administrative Hearings Office 
1400.0200; .0250; .0300; .0400; .0500; .0600; .0700; .0800; 

.0850; .0900; .0950; .1000; .1100; .1200;.1500; .0200; .0300; 

.0400; .0500; .0600; .0700; .0800; .0900; .1000; .1100; .1200; 

.1300; .1400; .9900; .9905; .9910; .9913; .9916; .9920; .9925; 

.9930; .9935; .9940; .9945; .9946; .9951; .9955; .9960 
(proposed repealer) 	  

1400.2000; .2010; .2020; .2030; .2040; .2050; .2060; .2070; 
.2080; .2090; .2100; .2110; .2200; .2210; .2220; .2230; .2240; 
.2300; .2310; .2400; .2450; .2500; .2510; .2520; .2530; .2540; 
.2550; .2560 (proposed) 	 

Agriculture Department 
1505.0980; .1100 (adopted) 	 
1558.0020; .0030; .0040; .0050; .0060; .0070; .0080 (adopted) 	 
Animal HealthBoard 
1719.0100; .0200; .0300; .0310; .0500; .0600; .0700; .0750; 

.0800; l00O; .1100; .1200; .1300; .1500; .1600; .1700; 

.1800; .1900; .2000; .2100; .2200; .2300; .2400; .2500; 

.2600; .2700; .2800; .2900; .3000; .3100; .3200; .4000; 

.4200; .4250 (proposed) 
1719.0100, s.8,9; .3250; .4300; .4400; .4500; .4600 

(proposed repealer) 	  
Chiropractic Examiners 
2500.0100; .0600 (adopted) 	  
2500.2500,s.2-6,9 (repealed) 	  
Commerce Department 
2820.3710; .4510; .4610; .4710; .4720; .4915; .6605; .6705; 

.6805; .6905; .7005; .7110; .7205; .7305; .7405; .9060; 

.9070; (adopted)  
2820.4730; .4740; .4910; .6600; .6701; .6801; .6900; .7000; 
.7 100; .7300; .7400 (repealed)  

Dentistry Board 
3100.2000 (adopted) 	  
3100.3600 (adopted) 	  

Dietetics and Nutrition Board 
3250.0010; .0020; .0030; .0040; .0050 (adopted) 	  1288 

855 	Children, Families, and Learning Department 
3501.0010; .0020; .0030; .0040; .0050; .0060; .0070; .0080; 

.0090; .0100; .0110; .0120; .0130; .0140; .0150; .0160; 

.0170; .0180 
	

961 
Health Department 
4605.7090 (adopted) 

	
858 

4652.0100; .0110; .0120; .0140 (proposed) 	  1030 
4666.0010; .0020; .0030; .0040; .0050; .0060; .0070; .0080; 

.0090; .0100; .0200; .0300; .0400; .0500; .0600; .0700; .0800; 

.0900; .1000; .1100; .1200; .1300; .1400 (proposed) 	 1330 
4688.0005; .0010; .0020; .0030; .0040; .0050; .0060; .0070; 

.0080; .0090; .0100; .0110; .0120; .0130; .0140; .0150; 

.0 160 (proposed) 	  1142 
4690.4600; .5900; .7200 (proposed) 	  821 

759 	4690.4600; s.4e; .5900, s.4e; .7200, s.4e (proposed repealer) 	821 
1037 	Higher Education Services Office 

4830.9015; .9020; .9030 (proposed) 	  1226 
4830.9015, s.9; .9025 (proposed repealer) 	  1226 
4840.0100; .0400; .0500; .0600; .0700; .0900; .1100 (proposed) 	 1354 
4840.0500, s.3,8; .0800; .1000 (proposed repealer) 	  1354 
4850.0011; .0012; .0014; .0015; .0016; .0017; .0018 (proposed) 	 1229 

897 	4850.0011, s.3,7,16a (proposed repealer) 	  1229 
Housing Finance Agency 
4900.1331; .1345; .1375 (proposed) 	  1234 
4900.1315, s.7,l0; .1345, s.l(proposed repealer) 	  1234 

1245 	Labor and Industry Department 
1245 	5200.1010; .1020; .1030; .1035; .1040; .1050; .1060; .1080; 

.1100 (proposed) 	  1148 
5200.1020,s.3; .1030, s.3; .1050, 3b (proposed repealer) 	 1148 
5205.0010 (adopted) 	  1040 

916 	5205.0010 (proposed) 	  1242 
5210.0005; .0020; .0040; .0050; .0060; .0070; .0080; .0090; .0100; 

916 	.0210; .0300; .0310; .0320; .0330; .0340; .0410; .0420; .0450; .0460; 
.0470; .0480; .0490; .0500; .0510; .0520; .0530; .0533; .0536; .0539; 
.0542; .0548; .0551; .0554; .0557; .0561; .0564; .0567; .0570; .0573; 

1163 	.0576; .0579; .0589; .0595; .0596; .0597; .0650; .0800; .0810; .0820; 
1196 	.0830; .0835; .0850; .0860; .0870 (proposed) 	970 

1012 

1012 

897 
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	 Minnesota Rules: Amendments and Additions 
5210.0010; .0030; .0100, s.4; .0200; .0220; .0230; .0240; .0250; 

.0260; .0270; .0280; .0290; .0310, s.3,4; .0340, si; .0400; .0430; 

.0440; .0470, s.3,4,6; .0540; .0550; .0560; .0820, s.2,3,5,6; .0830, 
s.2,4,5; .0840 (proposed repealer) 	970 

5215.0100; .0200; .0500; .0600; .0700; .0900; .1000; .1100; 
.1400; .1500; .1600; .2100; .5000; .5050; .5200; .5210; .5350; 
.5500; .5600; .5700; .5800; .5900; .6100 (proposed) 	986 

5215.0200, s.3,4,7,14; .0700, s.5,6,7; .0711; .0721; .0730; 
.0800; .1200; .1700; .1800; .1900; .2000; .2011; .2200; 
.2300; .2400; .2500; .2560; .4900; .5000, s.5; .5200, s.3; 
.5250; .5300; .5400; .6000 (proposed repealer)  986 

5221.4040 (adopted) 	  1163 

5221 .4050 (adopted) 	  858 

5229.0100; .0200; .0300; .0350; .0400; .0410; .0420; .0500; .0600; 
.0700 (proposed) 	  1236 

Medical Practices Board 

5600.0605; .0610; .0300; .2500 (proposed) 	  1160 

Natural Resources Department 
6105 .0330 (adopted) 	  1196 

6110.1200 (adopted) 	  759 

6236.0600; .0810; .1060; .0650 (adopted expedited emergency) 	 1303 

6236.0600; .1060 (repealed) 	  1303 

6262.0400 (adopted exempt) 	  1288 

Pharmacy Board 
6800.4210; .4230; .4240 (proposed) 	  1275 

POST Board 
6700.0900; .1600; .1710 (adopted) 	828 

Pollution Control Agency 

7002.0015; .0025; .0035; .0045; .0055; .0065; .0075; .0085; 
7005.0100;7007.0150; .0300; .0500; .1110; .1115; .1120; 
.1125; .1130; .1300; 7019.1000;.3000; .3020; .3030; .3040; 
.3050; .3060; .3070; .3080; .3090; .3100 (proposed)  1358 

7002.0015, s.2,4; .0025, s.2; .0095; 7005.0100, s.lOc,lOd; 
7007.0300, s.2; 7019.3010 (proposed repealer) 	  1358 

7007.1110; .1130; .0900; .0903; .0905; .0911; .0913; .0917; 
.0920; .0922 (proposed repealer) 	  1375 

7009.9000 (adopted) 	  1167 

7011.0915 (proposed repealer) 	  1375 

7011.0925 renumbered to 7011.0909 	  1375 

7025.0200; .0210; .0220; .0230; .0240; .0250; .0260; .0270; 
.0280; .0290; .0300; .0310; .0320; .0330; .0340; .0350; .0360; 
.0370; .0380 (proposed) 	  1384 

7076.0110; .0130; .0215; .0240 (adopted) 	  1245 

Public Safely Department 
7410.2400 (proposed) 	  824 
7410.2400, s.3 (proposed repealer) 	824 

Crime Victims Reparations Board 
7505.3100; .3200; .3500 (proposed) 	  1328 
Revenue Department 
8130.4900 (proposed repealer) 	  1035 

Water and Soil Resources Board 
8400.0050; .0100; .0200; .0300; .0600; .0700; .0900; .1000; 

.1100; .1200; .1250; .1300; .1400; .1405; .1460; .1500; .1600; 

.1650; .1700; .1750; .1800 (proposed) 	906 
8400.0100, s. la,2,5,6,7a,8a,1 1, 12,13,14a, 19,20,20c,21 ,22; 

.0400; .1950; .2000; .2100; .2200; .2300; .2400; .2500; 

.2600; .2700; .2705; .2800 (proposed repealer) 	906 

Transportation Department 
8810.9400; .9700 (proposed) 	  905 
8820.1500; .9920 (adopted) 	  1041 

Veterans Homes Board 
9050.0040; .0050; .0055; .0060; .0070; .0200; .0220; .0230; .0400; 

.0520; .0580; .0600; .0750; .0755; .0770; .0800; .0820; .1030; 

.1070 (proposed) 	  747 

9050.0040, s.25,40a,88,99; .0060,s.4; .1030, s.2-19 
(proposed repealer) 	  747 

Veterans Affairs Department 
9055.0015; .0020; .0080; .0105; .0510; 0520; .0530; .0540; 

.0560; .0580 (proposed) 	  1284 
9055.0105, s.4; .0540, s.4 (proposed repealer) 	  1284 

Veterinary Medicine Board 
9100.0100; .1000 (adopted) 	860 

Human Services Department 
9515.3000; .3010; .3020; .3030; .3040; .3050; .3060; .3070; .3080; 

.3090; .3100; .3110 (adopted) 	935 
9550.0010,s. 10,11,13,16,20,21; .0040, s.7; .0050, s.4,7 

(proposed repealer) 	  1263 

9550.0010; .0020; .0030; .0040; .0050; .0060; .0070; .0080; 
.0090; .0091; .0092; .0093 (proposed) 	  1263 

9565.1200 (proposed) 	  1262 
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Proposed Rules 
Pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 14.22, an agency may propose to adopt, amend, suspend or repeal rules without first holding a public hearing, as long 
as the agency determines that the rules will be noncontroversial in nature. The agency must first publish a notice of intent to adopt rules 
without a public hearing, together with the proposed rules, in the State Register. The notice must advise the public: 

1. that they have 30 days in which to submit comment on the proposed rules; 
2. that no public hearing will be held unless 25 or more persons make a written request for a hearing within the 30-day comment period; 
3. of the manner in which persons shall request a hearing on the proposed rules; and 
4. that the rule may be modified if the modifications are supported by the data and views submitted 
If, during the 30-day comment period, 25 or more persons submit to the agency a written request for a hearing of the proposed rules, the 

agency must proceed under the provisions of §14.14-14.20, which state that if an agency decides to hold a public hearing, it must publish a 
notice of intent in the State Register. 

Pursuant to Minn. Stat. §114.29  and 14.30, agencies may propose emergency rules under certain circumstances. Proposed emergency 
rules are published in the State Register and, for at least 25 days thereafter, interested persons may submit data and views in writing to the 
proposing agency. 

Crime Vidims Reparations Board 
Proposed Permanent Rules Relating to Crime Vidims Reparations Board 
Notice of Intent to Adopt Rules Amendment Without a Public Hearing 

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that The Minnesota Crime Victims Reparations Board intends to adopt an amendment to the 
above captioned permanent rules without a public hearing following the procedures set forth in the Administrative Procedure Act, 
Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.22 to 14.28. You have 30 days to submit written comments on the proposed rules and may also 
submit a written request that a hearing be held on the rules. 

Agency Contact Person. Comments or questions on the rules and written requests for a public hearing on the rules must be sub-
mitted to: Marie Bibus, Executive Director, Crime Victims Reparations Board, 444 Cedar Street, Town Square, Suite lOUD, St. 
Paul, Minnesota 55101, 282-6267. 

Subject Of Rules And Statutory Authority. The proposed rules amendment will clarify existing rules relating to claims proce-
dures and eligibility for reparations. The statutory authority to adopt this rule amendment is Minnesota Statutes, section 61 1A.56, 
subdivision 1, paragraph (b). These amendments are based on the experiences of the Board in implementing Minnesota Statutes, 
sections 611.51 to 61 1A.67. The proposed rules amendment amends Minnesota Rules chapter 7505. A copy of the proposed rules 
amendment is published in the State Register. A free copy of the rules is available upon request from Marie Bibus at the address and 
telephone number listed above. 

Comments. You have until 4:30 p.m., Thursday, Januaiy 12, 1996, to submit written comment in support of or in opposition to 
the proposed rules or any part or subpart of the rules. Your comment must be in writing and received by the agency contact person 
by the due date. Comment is encouraged. Your comment should identify the portion of the proposed rules addressed, the reason for 
the comment, and any change proposed. 

Request For A Hearing. In addition to submitting comments, you may also request that a hearing be held on the rules. Your 
request for a public hearing must be in writing and must be received by the agency contact person by 4:30 p.m. on January 12, 1996. 
Your written request for a public hearing must include your name and address. You are encouraged to identify the portion of the 
proposed rules which caused your request, the reason for the request, and any changes you want made to the proposed rules. If 25 or 
more persons submit a written request for a hearing, a public hearing will be held unless a sufficient number withdraw their requests 
in writing. If a public hearing is required, the Crime Victims Reparations Board will follow the procedures in Minnesota Statutes, 
sections 14.131 to 14.20. 

Modifications. The proposed rules may be modified as a result of public comment. The modifications must be supported by data 
and views submitted to the Crime Victims Reparations Board and may not result in a substantial change in the proposed rules as 
printed in the State Register. If the proposed rules affect you in any way, you are encouraged to participate in the rulemaking 
process. 

Statement Of Need And Reasonableness. A Statement of Need and Reasonableness is now available. This Statement describes 
the need for and reasonableness of each provision of the proposed rules and identifies the data and information relied upon to 
support the proposed rules. A free copy of the Statement may be obtained from Marie Bibus at the address and telephone number 
listed above. 

PAGE 1328 	 State Register, Monday 11 December 1995 	 (CITE 20 S.R. 1328) 



	 Proposed Rules 

Small Business Considerations. In preparing these rules, the Board has considered the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, 
section 14.115, in regard to the impact of the proposed rules on small businesses. The adoption of the rules will not directly affect 
small businesses. 

Expenditure Of Public Money By Local Public Bodies. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 14.11, subdivision 1, the 
Board has determined that the proposed rules amendment will not result in additional spending by local public bodies in excess of 
$100,000 per year for the first two years following adoption of the amendment. 

Impact On Agriculture Lands. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 14.11, subdivision 2, the Board has determined that the 
proposed rule amendment will have no impact on agricultural land. 

Adoption And Review Of Rules. If no hearing is required, after the end of the comment period the Crime Victims Reparations 
Board may adopt the rules. The rules and supporting documents will then be submitted to the Attorney General for review as to 
legality and form to the extent form relates to legality. You may request to be notified of the date the rules are submitted to the 
Attorney General or be notified of the Attorney General's decision on the rules. If you wish to be so notified, or wish to receive a 
copy of the adopted rules, submit your request to Marie Bibus at the address and telephone number listed above. 

Dated: 28 November 1995 
Marie Bibus, Executive Director 
Minnesota Crime Victims Reparations Board 

Rules as Proposed 

7505.3100 LOSS OF SUPPORT. 
[For text of subps ito 3, see M.R.J 

Subp. 4. Three-year review. The board shall review a claim for loss of support every three years to determine whether the 
claimant is still eligible for benefits. The board shall evaluate the claim giving consideration to the claimant's financial need and to 
the availability of funds to the board. If the claimant's gross annual income reported on the claimant's tax return f.Qr th pti y 
is more than 185 percent of the federal poverty level fQI  thai 	the claimant is not considered to have a continuing financial need 
and benefits must be discontinued. After benefits are discontinued, 	cannot be resumed at a later time. 

7505.3200 LOSS OF INCOME. 
[For text of subpart 1, see M.R.] 

Subp. 2. Computation of lost income: victim self-employed or unemployed. If the victim was self-employed or unemployed 
at the time of the crime for which the claim has been filed, loss of income must be calculated at a rate which is based upon the vic-
tim's average net income in the 12 months before the crime for which the claim was filed as evidenced by tax returns, W-2 forms, 
check stubs, signed contracts or receipts, or other government agency records. 

If the victim has net filed tan returns for the year before the crime, the victim's net income is prcsumcd to be no grcatcr than the 
maximum yearly income for which no federal or state income tan filing is required. :ri bQaI Jll deny  an award  f.ci iQ wages  

hn ii i determined  the victim  failed IQ report thQ wages upon which th loss j I^a 	stat 	federal revenue departments  an 
required  Ja.. 	compensation may be provided  £QI  unreported wages.  

anticipated work may be considered  f.Qi  compensation, unless th victirrt had been hired. bi an employer and 	unable i 
begin employment as a result of the crime-related injuries. 

[For text of subps 2a to 4, see M.R.] 

Subp. 5. Maximum number of weeks. Compensation for loss of income usually may not exceed 26 weeks. If 	victim's dis- 
ability continues p 	weeks  th victim may request au extension  f. tip i U additional weeks. This request must include  an 
evaluation 	physician that states continuing disability and explains g extenuating circumstances.  

Subp. 6. Maximum number of hours. Th suar may  1  compensate for hours missed in excess of 40 hours p 

Subp. 7. Parent and spouse of deceased. Payment  Qf  wage loss compensation for a parent or spouse of a victim 
jjct r.sjilt ̂ f ^iin usually  jng jj[ exceed six weeks. If 	emotional disability of the parent or spouse continues  na six 

weeks.  th  parent u: spouse may make  a request fQl an extension pf th lQ wages.  Th  request jnust include an eva1uatjo 	a 

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. lie eats indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike outs indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 
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physician or psychologist stating that there is a continuing emotional disability due to the £ijfl 	 which the claimant is 
expected jetun work.  fl  extension pav  j  exceed  2Q  weeks.  

Subp. 	Students. fl  board 	i çeimburse a claimant f.cir iQg ^f tuition, scholarship, or student JQn funds  r iQss Qf 
income due a delay j completion  f schooling related  th  crime.  
75053500 PARENTS OF CHILD VICTIMS. 

The board shall authorize payment for up to five counseling sessions for a parent who is a primary caretaker of a victim of domes-
tic child abuse or child sexual assault, if the treatment plan filed under and complying with part 7505.2700 indicates that the ses-
sions directly benefit the victim. 

When heme hcalth care is needed by a victim who i& less thea yee*s eld and when a determination is made th  board that a 
parent Q Qii]r guardian of the victim is an appropriate person to provide care to the victim, the board shall authorize payment 
e the pnrcnt ef 4O a, 1euc for up e eight beers per 4ay to reimburse the parent for ears whieb is providcd iQi  wages. Total 
payment to a parent under this provision must not exceed $2,000. Computation  sf  lost wages shall be ih  same as under pii 
7505.3200.  

E}JECTIVE DATE. Minnesota Rules, parts 7505.0100. subpart  2a  7505.3100, subparts land 4j 7505.3200. subparts 2 and 
gj 7505.3500. are effective for claims submitted as a result of crimes committed on or after five working days 	notice of 

adoption  j.  published in the State Register.  

Department of Health 
Proposed Permanent Rules Governing the Registration of Occupational Therapists and 

Occupational Therapy Assistants 
Dual Notice: 

Notice of Intent to Adopt Rules Without a Public Hearing Unless 25 or More Persons Request a Hearing, 

and 

Notice of Hearing if 25 or More Requests for Hearing Are Received 

Introduction. The Minnesota Department of Health intends to adopt permanent rules without a public hearing following the pro-
cedures set forth in the Administrative Procedure Act, Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.22 to 14.28. If, however, 25 or more persons 
submit a written request for a hearing on the rules within 30 days or by 4:30 p.m. on January 10, 1996, a public heaiing will be held 
on January 26, 1996. To find out weather the rules will be adopted without a hearing or if the hearing will be held, you should 
contact the agency contact person after January 10, 1996 and before January 26, 1996. 

Agency Contact Person. Comments or questions on the rule and written requests for a public hearing on the rules must be sub-
mitted to: 

Annette Spencer 
Health Occupations Program 
Minnesota Department of Health 
121 East Seventh Place, Suite 450 
P.O. Box 64975 
St. Paul, MN 55164-0975 
(612)282-5624 
fax (612) 282-3839 

TDD users may call the Minnesota Department of Health at (612) 623-5522. 
Accommodation. If you need reasonable accommodation for a disability in order to participate in the hearing process, such an 

accommodation can be made available upon advance request. Examples of reasonable accommodations include wheelchair acces-
sibility, an interpreter, or Braille or large-print materials. To arrange an accommodation, you may contact Annette Spencer at the 
address or telephone number listed above. TDD users may call the Minnesota Department of Health at (612) 623-5522. 

Subject of Rules and Statutory Authority. The proposed rules are about the registration of occupational therapists and occupa-
tional therapy assistants. The statutory authority to adopt the rules is Minnesota Statutes, section 214.13. A copy of the proposed 
rules is published in the State Register and attached to this Notice as mailed. The rules propose to establish a registration system for 
occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants. The registration system includes requirements and procedures for reg-
istration and registration renewal, continuing education requirements, and grounds for discipline. The rules also address supervi- 
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sion of occupational therapy assistants and delegation of duties. Requirements for communication with licensed health care profes-
sionals and a required client notification are established. Standards for the use of physical agent modalities are also established. 
Finally, the rules establish a fee schedule for the registration system and an advisory council. A free copy of the rules is available 
upon request from Annette Spencer at the address or telephone number listed above. 

Comments. You have until 4:30 p.m., January 10, 1996 to submit written comment in support of or in opposition to the proposed 
rules or any part or subpart of the rules. Your comment must be in writing and received by Annette Spencer at the address listed 
above by the due date. Comment is encouraged. Your comment should identify the portion of the proposed rules addressed, the 
reason for the comment, and any change proposed. 

Request For A Hearing. In addition to submitting comments, you may also request that a hearing be held on the rules. Your 
request for a public hearing must be in writing and must be received by Annette Spencer at the address listed above by 4:30 p.m. on 
January 10, 1996. Your written request for a public hearing must include your name, address, and telephone number. You are 
encouraged to identify the portion of the proposed rules which caused your request, the reason for the request, and any changes you 
want made to the proposed rules. If 25 or more persons submit a written request for a hearing, a public hearing will be held unless 
a sufficient number withdraw their requests in writing. 

Modifications. The proposed rules may be modified, either as a result of public comment or as a result of the rule hearing 
process. Modifications must not result in a substantial change in the proposed rules as attached and printed in the State Register and 
must be supported by data and views submitted to the Department or presented at the hearing. If the proposed rules affect you in 
any way, you are encouraged to participate in the rulemaking process. 

Cancellation Of Hearing. The hearing scheduled for January 26, 1996 will be canceled if the Department does not receive 
requests from 25 or more persons that a hearing be held on the rules. If you request a public hearing, the Department will notify you 
before the scheduled hearing whether or not the hearing will be held. You may also call Annette Spencer at (612) 282-5624 after 
January 10, 1996 to find out whether the hearing will be held. 

Notice Of Hearing. If 25 or more persons submit written requests for a public hearing on the rules, a hearing will be held fol-
lowing the procedures in Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.131 to 14.20. The hearing will be held on Friday, January 26, 1996 in 
Room D, 5th Floor, Veterans Service Building, 20 West 12th Street, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155 beginning at 9:00 a.m. and will con-
tinue until all interested persons have been heard. The hearing will continue, if necessary, at additional times and places as deter-
mined during the hearing by the Administrative Law Judge. The Administrative Law Judge assigned to conduct the hearing is 
Allan W. Klein. Judge Klein can be reached at the Office of Administrative Hearings, 100 Washington Square, Suite 1700, 
Minneapolis, Minnesota 55401-2138, telephone (612) 341-7609. If you need an accommodation to make this hearing accessible, 
please contact Annette Spencer at the address or telephone number listed above. 

Hearing Procedure. If a hearing is held, you and all interested or affected persons including representatives of associations or 
other interested groups, will have an opportunity to participate. You may present your views either orally at the hearing or in 
writing at any time prior to the close of the hearing record. All evidence presented should relate to the proposed rules. You may 
also mail written material to the Administrative Law Judge to be recorded in the hearing record for five working days after the 
public hearing ends. This five-day comment period may be extended for a longer period not to exceed 20 calendar days if ordered 
by the Administrative Law Judge at the hearing. Comments received during this period will be available for review at the Office Of 
Administrative Hearings. You and the Department may respond in writing with rebuttal arguments or material within five business 
days after the submission period ends to. any new information submitted after the hearing. All written materials and responses sub-
mitted to the Administrative Law Judge during the rebuttal period must be received at the Office Of Administrative Hearings no 
later than 4:30 p.m. on the due date. No additional evidence may be submitted during the five-day rebuttal period. This rule 
hearing procedure is governed by Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.0200 to 1400.1200, and Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.13 1 to 
14.20. Questions about procedure may be directed to the Administrative Law Judge. 

Statement Of Need And Reasonableness. A Statement of Need and Reasonableness is now available. This Statement 
describes the need for and reasonableness of each provision of the proposed rules. It also includes a summary of all the evidence 
and argument which the Department anticipates presenting at the hearing, if one is held. A free copy of the Statement may be 
obtained from Annette Spencer at the address or telephone number listed above. The Statement may also be reviewed and copies 
obtained at the cost of reproduction from the Office of Administrative Hearings. 

Small Business Considerations. In preparing these rules, the Department has considered the requirements of Minnesota 
Statutes, section 14.115, in regard to the impact of the proposed rules on small businesses. The adoption of the rules will not 

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. &ike euts indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strikc outs indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 
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directly affect small businesses. The Department's evaluation of the small business requirements and of legislation which reduces 
the impact of registration of occupational therapist and occupational therapy assistants on businesses is addressed further in the 
Statement of Need and Reasonableness. 

Expenditure Of Public Money By Local Public Bodies. Minnesota Statutes, section 14.11, subdivision 1, does not apply 
because adoption of these rules will not result in additional spending by local public bodies in excess of $100,000 per year for the 
first two years following adoption of the rules. 

Impact On Agriculture Lands. Minnesota Statutes, section 14.11, subdivision 2, does not apply because adoption of these rules 
will not have an impact on agricultural land. 

Notice To Department Of Finance. In accordance with Minnesota Statutes, section 1 6A. 1285, subdivision 5, pertaining to 
departmental charges, the Department has notified the Commissioner of Finance of the Department's intent to adopt rules in the 
above-entitled matter. A copy of the Department's notice and the Commissioner of Finance's comments and recommendations are 
included in the Statement of Need and Reasonableness. 

Notice To Chairs Of Certain Legislative Conunittees. In accordance with Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.1285, subdivision 
4, the Department has sent a copy of this notice and a copy of the proposed rules to the Chairs of the House Ways And Means 
Committee and the Senate Finance Committee prior to submitting this notice to the State Register. 

Lobbyist Registration. Minnesota Statutes, chapter 1OA, requires each lobbyist to register with the Ethical Practices Board. 
Questions regarding this requirement should be directed to the Ethical Practices Board at First Floor South, Centennial Building, 
658 Cedar Street, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155, telephone (612) 296-5148 or 1-800-657-3889. 

Adoption Procedure If No Hearing. If no hearing is required, after the end of the comment period the Department may adopt 
the rules. The rules and supporting documents will then be submitted to the Attorney General for review as to legality and form to 
the extent form relates to legality. You may request to be notified of the date the rules are submitted to the Attorney General or be 
notified of the Attorney General's decision on the rules. If you want to be so notified, or wish to receive a copy of the adopted rules, 
submit your request in writing to Annette Spencer at the address listed above. 

Adoption Procedure After A Hearing. If a hearing is held, after the close of the hearing record, the Administrative Law Judge 
will issue a report on the proposed rules. You may request to be notified of the date on which the Administrative Law Judge's 
report will be available, after which date the Department may not take any final action on the rules for a period of five working 
days. If you want to be notified about the report, you may so indicate at the hearing. After the hearing, you may request notification 
by sending a written request to the Administrative Law Judge. You may also request notification of the date on which the rules are 
adopted and filed with the Secretaiy of State. The Department's Notice Of Adoption must be mailed on the same day that the rules 
are filed. If you want to be notified of the adoption, you may so indicate at the hearing or send a request in writing to Annette 
Spencer at the address listed above at any time prior to the filing of the rules with the Secretary of State. 

Dated: 9 November 1995 
Anne M. Barry, Commissioner 
Department of Health 

Rules as Proposed (all new material) 
4666.0010 SCOPE. 

Parts 4666.00 10 to 4666.1400 apply to persons who are applicants for registration, who are registered, who use protected titles, or 
who represent that they are registered as occupational therapists or occupational therapy assistants. 
4666.0020 DEFINITIONS. 

Subpart 1. Scope. For the purpose of parts 4666.0010 to 4666.1400, the following terms have the meaning given them. 
Subp. 2. Advisory council. "Advisory council" means the occupational therapy practitioners advisory council authorized by 

Minnesota Statutes, section 214.13, subdivision 4. 
Subp. 3. Assign. "Assign" means the process of instructing direct service staff how to perform a selected task which, under 

established practice standards, does not require the skills of an occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant, with the 
expectation that the task will be performed in the absence of an occupational therapist. 

Subp. 4. Biennial registration period. "Biennial registration period" means the two-year period for which registration is effec-
tive. 

Subp. 5. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Health or a designee. 
Subp. 6. Contact hour. "Contact hour" means an instructional session of 60 consecutive minutes, excluding coffee breaks, reg-

istration, meals without a speaker, and social activities. 
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Subp. 7. Credential. "Credential" means a license, permit, certification, registration, or other evidence of qualification or autho-

rization to engage in the practice of occupational therapy issued by any authority. 
Subp. 8. Credentialing examination for occupational therapist. "Credentialing examination for occupational therapist" 

means the examination sponsored by the American Occupational Therapy Certification Board for credentialing as an occupational 
therapist, registered, or another credentialing examination for occupational therapists approved by the commissioner. 

Subp. 9. Credentialing examination for occupational therapy assistant. "Credentialing examination for occupational therapy 
assistant" means the examination sponsored by the American Occupational Therapy Certification Board for credentialing as a certi-
fied occupational therapy assistant, or another credentialing examination for occupational therapy assistants approved by the com-
missioner. 

Subp. 10. Delegate. "Delegate" means to transfer to an occupational therapy assistant the authority to perform selected portions 
of an occupational therapy evaluation or treatment plan for a specific patient. 

Subp. 11. Direct supervision. "Direct supervision" of a level one practitioner or an occupational therapy assistant using physi-
cal agent modalities means that the level two practitioner has evaluated the patient and determined a need for use of a particular 
physical agent modality in the occupational therapy treatment plan, has determined the appropriate physical agent modality applica-
tion procedure, and is physically present in the department and available for in person intervention while treatment is provided. 

Subp. 12. Electrical stimulation device. "Electrical stimulation device" is any device which generates pulsed, direct, or alter-
nating electrical current for the purposes of rehabilitation of neuromusculoskeletal dysfunction. 

Subp. 13. Electrotherapy. "Electrotherapy" is the use of electrical stimulation devices for a therapeutic purpose. 
Subp. 14. Level one practitioner. "Level one practitioner" means an occupational therapist who is qualified to use superficial 

physical agent modalities, electrical stimulation devices, or ultrasound devices following completion of the theoretical training 
required in part 4666.1000, subpart 3, 4, or 5, and who uses the modality under the direct supervision of a level two practitioner. 

Subp. 15. Level two practitioner. "Level two practitioner" means an occupational therapist who is qualified to use superficial 
physical agent modalities, electrical stimulation devices, or ultrasound without supervision following completion of the require-
ments in part 4666.1000, subpart 6, 7, or 8. 

Subp. 16. Licensed health care professional. "Licensed health care professional" means a person licensed in good standing in 
Minnesota to practice medicine, osteopathy, chiropractic, podiatry, or dentistry. 

Subp. 17. Limited registration. "Limited registration" means a method of registration described in part 4666.0400, subpart 3, 
item D, subitem (1), for persons who have allowed their registration to lapse four years or more and who choose a supervised prac-
tice as the method of qualifying for registration. 

Subp. 18. Occupational therapist. Except as provided in part 4666.0060, subpart 3, item B, "occupational therapist" means an 
individual who meets the qualifications in parts 4666.0010 to 4666.1400 and registers with the commissioner. For purposes of part 
4666.0060, subpart 3, item B, occupational therapist means the employment title of a natural person before the effective date of 
parts 4666.0010 to 4666.1400. 

Subp. 19. Occupational therapy. "Occupational therapy" means the use of purposeful activity to maximize the independence 
and the maintenance of health of an individual who is limited by a physical injury or illness, a cognitive impairment, a psychosocial 
dysfunction, a mental illness, a developmental or learning disability, or an adverse environmental condition. The practice encom-
passes evaluation, assessment, treatment, and consultation. Occupational therapy services may be provided individually, in groups, 
or through social systems. Occupational therapy includes those services described in part 4666.0040. 

Subp. 20. Occupational therapy assistant. Except as provided in part 4666.0070, subpart 3, item B, "occupational therapy 
assistant" means an individual who meets the qualifications for an occupational therapy assistant in parts 4666.0010 to 4666.1400, 
and registers with the commissioner. For purposes of part 4666.0070, subpart 3, item B, occupational therapy assistant means the 
employment title of a natural person before the effective date of parts 4666.0010 to 4666.1400. 

Subp. 21. Physical agent modalities. "Physical agent modalities" means modalities that use the properties of light, water, tem-
perature, sound, or electricity to produce a response in soft tissue. The physical agent modalities referred to in parts 4666.0040 and 
4666.1000 are superficial physical agent modalities, electrical stimulation devices, and ultrasound. 

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. Strike et*ts indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike outs indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 
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Subp. 22. Provisional registration. "Provisional registration" means a method of registration described in part 4666.0060, 

subpart 3, for occupational therapists and part 4666.0070, subpart 3, for occupational therapy assistants, in effect for a limited time, 
by which an individual who has not completed an accredited or approved education program but who meets the employment 
requirements specified in those subparts may qualify for registration pending successful completion of the credentialing examination. 

Subp. 23. Qualified supervisor. "Qualified supervisor" means the supervisor of an applicant for provisional registration, under 
part 4666.0060, subpart 3, who: 

A. supervises occupational therapists, or before the adoption of parts 4666.00 10 to 4666.1400, supervised persons certified as 
occupational therapists by the American Occupational Therapy Certification Board; or 

B. is licensed by the Board of Medical Practice, the Board of Nursing, or the Board of Teaching and is knowledgeable of 
occupational therapy evaluations, intervention planning, and therapeutic procedures; or 

C. the commissioner determines has sufficient knowledge of occupational therapy evaluations, intervention planning, and 
therapeutic procedures to assess the extent to which the applicant has performed these tasks. 

Subp. 24. Register or registered. "Register" or "registered" means the act or status of a natural person who meets the require-
ments of parts 4666.0010 to 4666.1400 and is authorized by the commissioner to use the titles in part 4666.0030. 

Subp. 25. Registrant. "Registrant" means a person who meets the requirements of parts 4666.0010 to 4666.1400 and is autho-
rized by the commissioner to use the titles in part 4666.0030. 

Subp. 26. Registration. "Registration" means a system in which practitioners, who are the only individuals permitted to use the 
designated titles in part 4666.0030, are listed on an official roster after having met predetermined qualifications. 

Subp. 27. Registration by equivalency. "Registration by equivalency" means a method of registration described in part 
4666.0080 by which an individual who possesses a credential from the American Occupational Therapy Certification Board or 
another national credentialing organization approved by the commissioner may qualify for registration. 

Subp. 28. Registration by reciprocity. "Registration by reciprocity" means a method of registration described in part 
4666.0090 by which an individual who possesses a credential from another jurisdiction may qualify for Minnesota registration. 

Subp. 29. Service competency. "Service competency" of an occupational therapy assistant in performing evaluation tasks 
means the ability of an occupational therapy assistant to obtain the same information as the supervising occupational therapist when 
evaluating a client's function. 

Service competency of an occupational therapy assistant in performing treatment procedures means the ability of an occupa-
tional therapy assistant to perform treatment procedures in a manner such that the outcome, documentation, and follow-up are 
equivalent to that which would have been achieved had the supervising occupational therapist performed the treatment procedure. 

Service competency of an occupational therapist means the ability of an occupational therapist to consistently perform an assess-
ment task or intervention procedure with the level of skill recognized as satisfactory within the appropriate acceptable prevailing 
practice of occupational therapy. 

Subp. 30. Superficial physical agent modality. "Superficial physical agent modality" means a therapeutic medium which pro-
duces temperature changes in skin and underlying subcutaneous tissues within a depth of zero to three centimeters for the purposes 
of rehabilitation of neuromusculoskeletal dysfunction. Superficial physical agent modalities may include, but are not limited to: 
paraffin baths, hot packs, cold packs, fluidotherapy, contrast baths, and whirlpool baths. Superficial physical agent modalities do 
not include the use of electrical stimulation devices, ultrasound, or quick icing. 

Subp. 31. Temporary registration. "Temporary registration"means a method of registration described in part 4666.0100, by 
which an individual who (1) has completed an approved education program but has not met the examination requirement; or (2) 
possesses a credential from another jurisdiction or the American Occupational Therapy Certification Board but who has not submit-
ted the documentation required by part 4666.0200, subparts 3 and 4, may qualify for Minnesota registration for a limited time 
period. 

Subp. 32. Ultrasound device. "Ultrasound device" means a device intended to generate and emit high frequency acoustic vibra-
tional energy for the purposes of rehabilitation of neuromusculoskeletal dysfunction. 
4666.0030 PROTECTED TITLES AND RESTRICTIONS ON USE; EXEMPT PERSONS; SANCTIONS. 

Subpart 1. Protected titles and restrictions on use. Use of the phrase "occupational therapy" or "occupational therapist," or the 
initials "O.T." alone or in combination with any other words or initials to form an occupational title, or to indicate or imply that the 
person is registered by the state as an occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant, is prohibited unless that person is reg-
istered under parts 4666.0010 to 4666.1400. 

Subp. 2. Use of "Minnesota registered." Use of the term "Minnesota registered" in conjunction with titles protected under this 
part by any person is prohibited unless that person is registered under parts 4666.0010 to 4666.1400. 
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Subp. 3. Persons licensed or certified in other states. Persons who are registered in Minnesota and licensed or certified in 

another state may use the designation "licensed" or "certified" with a protected title only if the state of licensure or certification is 
clearly indicated. 

Subp. 4. Exempt persons. Subpart 1 does not apply to: 
A. a person employed as an occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant by the government of the United States or 

any agency of it. However, use of the protected titles under those circumstances is allowed only in connection with performance of 
official duties for the federal government; 

B. a student participating in supervised fieldwork or supervised coursework that is necessary to meet the requirements of part 
4666.0060, subpart 1, or 4666.0070, subpart 1, if the person is designated by a title which clearly indicates the person's status as a 
student trainee. Any use of the protected titles under these circumstances is allowed only while the person is performing the duties 
of the supervised fieldwork or supervised coursework; or 

C. a person performing occupational therapy services in the state, if the services are performed no more than 30 days in a cal-
endar year in association with an occupational therapist registered under parts 4666.00 10 to 4666.1400, and: 

(1) the person is credentialed under the law of another state which has credentialing requirements at least as stringent as 
the requirements of parts 4666.00 10 to 4666.1400; or 

(2) the person meets the requirements for certification as an occupational therapist registered (OTR) or a certified occu-
pational therapy assistant (COTA), established by the American Occupational Therapy Certification Board or another national cre-
dentialing organization approved by the commissioner. 

Subp. 5. Sanctions. Persons who hold themselves Out as occupational therapists or occupational therapy assistants by or through 
the use of any title provided in subpart 1 without prior registration according to parts 4666.0010 to 4666.1400 are subject to sanc-
tions or action against continuing the activity according to Minnesota Statutes, chapter 214, or other statutory authority. 
4666.0040 SCOPE OF PRACTICE. 

The practice of occupational therapy by an occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant includes, but is not limited to, 
intervention directed toward: 

A. assessment and evaluation, including the use of skilled observation or the administration and interpretation of standardized 
or nonstandardized tests and measurements, to identify areas for occupational therapy services; 

B. providing for the development of sensory integrative, neuromuscular, or motor components of performance; 

C. providing for the development of emotional, motivational, cognitive, or psychosocial components of performance; 
D. developing daily living skills; 
E. developing feeding and swallowing skills; 
F. developing play skills and leisure capacities; 
G. enhancing educational performance skills; 
H. enhancing functional performance and work readiness through exercise, range of motion, and use of ergonomic principles; 
1. designing, fabricating, or applying rehabilitative technology, such as selected orthotic and prosthetic devices, and providing 

training in the functional use of these devices; 
J. designing, fabricating, or adapting assistive technology and providing training in the functional use of assistive devices; 
K. adapting environments using assistive technology such as environmental controls, wheelchair modifications, and positioning; 
L. employing physical agent modalities, in preparation for or as an adjunct to purposeful activity, within the same treatment 

session or to meet established functional occupational therapy goals, consistent with the requirements of part 4666.1000; and 
M. promoting health and wellness. 
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4666.0050 REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS; PROCEDURES AND QUALIFICATIONS. 

An applicant for registration must comply with the general registration procedures in part 4666.0200. To qualify for registration, 
an applicant must satisfy one of the requirements in items A to E and not be subject to denial of registration under part 4666.1300. 

A. A person who applies for registration as an occupational therapist and who has not been credentialed by the American 
Occupational Therapy Certification Board or another jurisdiction must meet the requirements in part 4666.0060. 

B. A person who applies for registration as an occupational therapy assistant and who has not been credentialed by the 
American Occupational Therapy Certification Board or another jurisdiction must meet the requirements in part 4666.0070. 

C. A person who is certified by the American Occupational Therapy Certification Board may apply for registration by equiv-
alency and must meet the requirements in part 4666.0080. 

D. A person who is credentialed in another jurisdiction may apply for registration by reciprocity and must meet the require-
ments in part 4666.0090. 

E. A person who applies for temporary registration must meet the requirements in part 4666.0 100. 
4666.0060 QUALIFICATIONS FOR OCCUPATIONAL THERAPIST. 

Subpart 1. Education required. 
A. An applicant who has received professional education in the United States or its possessions or territories must success-

fully complete all academic and fieldwork requirements of an educational program for occupational therapists accredited by the 
Accreditation Council for Occupational Therapy Education or another national accrediting organization approved by the commis-
sioner. 

B. An applicant who has received professional education outside the United States or its possessions or territories must suc-
cessfully complete all academic and fieldwork requirements of an educational program for occupational therapists approved by a 
member association of the World Federation of Occupational Therapists or another organization approved by the commissioner. 

Subp. 2. Qualifying examination score required. 
A. An applicant must achieve a qualifying score on the credentialing examination for occupational therapist. 
B. The commissioner shall determine the qualifying score for the credentialing examination for occupational therapist. In 

determining the qualifying score, the commissioner shall consider the cut score recommended by the American Occupational 
Therapy Certification Board, or other national credentialing organization approved by the commissioner, using the modified Angoff 
method for determining cut score or another method for determining cut score that is recognized as appropriate and acceptable by 
industry standards. 

C. The applicant is responsible for 
(1) making arrangements to take the credentialing examination for occupational therapist; 
(2) bearing all expenses associated with taking the examination; and 
(3) having the examination scores sent directly to the commissioner from the testing service that administers the examination. 

Subp. 3. Waiver of education requirement. 
A. This subpart is effective as long as the American Occupational Therapy Certification Board allows the commissioner to 

authorize persons to take the certification examination for state registration only or for three years after the effective dates of parts 
4666.0010 to 4666.1400, whichever occurs first. 

B. A person who has been employed as an occupational therapist for at least 4,000 hours during the six years immediately 
preceding the effective date of parts 4666.0010 to 4666.1400 may apply to the commissioner. to take the credentialing examination 
for occupational therapist without meeting the education requirements of subpart 1. A person employed as an occupational therapy 
assistant does not qualify for registration under this subpart. The commissioner shall determine whether the applicant was 
employed as an occupational therapist based on the information provided under item C, subitems (1) and (2). A person granted per-
mission to take the credentialing examination for occupational therapist will be issued a provisional registration. Provisional regis-
tration must be renewed annually. All provisional registrations will expire three years after the effective date of parts 4666.0010 to 
4666.1400 or when the commissioner grants or denies registration, whichever occurs first. If the applicant passes the credentialing 
examination for occupational therapist within three years of the effective date of parts 4666.0010 to 4666.1400, the commissioner 
shall waive the education requirement of subpart 1. 

C. To qualify to take the examination, a person must: 
(1) submit the application materials required by part 4666.0200 and the fees required by part 4666.1200; and 
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(2) obtain documentation from a qualified supervisor on forms provided by the commissioner that verifies that the appli-

cant has been employed as an occupational therapist for at least 4,000 hours during the six years immediately preceding the effec-
tive date of parts 4666.0010 to 4666.1400. This documentation must include the applicant's job title, employment setting, diag-
noses of persons seen for occupational therapy, and the type and frequency of evaluations, intervention planning, and therapeutic 
procedures. 

D. When the commissioner has authorized an applicant under this subpart to take the credentialing examination, the applicant 
is responsible for: 

(1) making all arrangements to take the credentialing examination for occupational therapists; 
(2) bearing all expense associated with taking the examination; and 

(3) having the examination scores sent directly to the commissioner from the testing service that administers the examination. 
E. The effective date of parts 4666.0010 to 4666.1400 is the first day of the three-year provisional registration period. 

Applications for registration under this subpart will not be accepted after the expiration of the three-year provisional registration 
period. 
4666.0070 QUALIFICATIONS FOR OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY ASSISTANTS. 

Subpart 1. Education required. An applicant must successfully complete all academic and fieldwork requirements of an occu-
pational therapy assistant program approved or accredited by the Accreditation Council for Occupational Therapy Education or 
another national accrediting organization approved by the commissioner. 

Subp. 2. Qualifying examination score required. 
A. An applicant for registration must achieve a qualifying score on the credentialing examination for occupational therapy 

assistants. 
B. The commissioner shall determine the qualifying score for the credentialing examination for occupational therapy assis-

tants. In determining the qualifying score, the commissioner shall consider the cut score recommended by the American 
Occupational Therapy Certification Board, or other national credentialing organization approved by the commissioner, using the 
modified Angoff method for determining cut score or another method for determining cut score that is recognized as appropriate 
and acceptable by industry standards. 

C. The applicant is responsible for: 
(1) making all arrangements to take the credentialing examination for occupational therapy assistants; 
(2) bearing all expense associated with taking the examination; and 
(3) having the examination scores sent directly to the commissioner from the testing service that administers the examination. 

Subp. 3. Waiver of education requirement. 
A. This subpart is effective as long as the American Occupational Therapy Certification Board allows the commissioner to 

authorize persons to take the certification examination for state registration only or for three years after the effective dates of parts 
4666.0010 to 4666.1400, whichever occurs first. 

B. A person who has been employed as an occupational therapy assistant for at least 4,000 hours during the six years immedi-
ately preceding the effective date of parts 4666.0010 to 4666.1400 may apply to the commissioner to take the credentialing exami-
nation for occupational therapy assistant without meeting the education requirements of subpart 1. The commissioner shall deter-
mine whether the applicant was employed as an occupational therapy assistant based on the information provided under item C, 
subitems (1) and (2). A person granted permission to take the credentialing examination for occupational therapy assistant will be 
issued a provisional registration. Provisional registration must be renewed annually. All provisional registrations will expire three 
years after the effective date of parts 4666.0010 to 4666.1400, or when the commissioner grants or denies registration, whichever 
occurs first. If the applicant passes the credentialing examination for occupational therapy assistant within three years of the effec-
tive date of parts 4666.0010 to 4666.1400, the commissioner shall waive the education requirement of subpart 1. 

C. To qualify to take the examination, a person must: 
(1) submit the application materials required by part 4666.0200 and the fees required by part 4666.1200; and 
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(2) obtain documentation from an occupational therapist on forms provided by the. commissioner that verifies that the 

applicant has been employed as an occupational therapy assistant for at least 4,000 hours during the six years immediately preced-
ing the effective date of parts 4666.0010 to 4666.1400. This documentation must include the applicant's job title, employment 
setting, diagnoses of persons seen for occupational therapy, and the type and frequency of occupational therapy services provided 
by the applicant. 

D. When the commissioner has authorized an applicant under this part to take the credentialing examination, the applicant is 
responsible for: 

(1) making all arrangements to take the credentialing examination for occupational therapy assistants; 
(2) bearing all expense associated with taking the examination; and 
(3) having the examination scores sent directly to the commissioner from the testing service that administers the examination. 

E. The effective date of parts 4666.00 10 to 4666.1400 is the first day of the three-year provisional registration period. 
Applications for registration under this subpart will not be accepted after the expiration of the three-year provisional registration 
period. 
4666.0080 REGISTRATION BY EQUIVALENCY. 

Subpart 1. Persons certified by American Occupational Therapy Certification Board before effective date of parts 
4666.0010 to 4666.1400. Persons certified by the American Occupational Therapy Certification Board as an occupational therapist 
before the effective date of parts 4666.0010 to 4666.1400 may apply for registration by equivalency for occupational therapist. 
Persons certified by the American Occupational Therapy Certification Board as an occupational therapy assistant before the effec-
tive date of parts 4666.0010 to 4666.1400 may apply for registration by equivalency for occupational therapy assistant. 

Subp. 2. Persons certified by American Occupational Therapy Certification Board after effective date of parts 4666.0010 
to 4666.1400. The commissioner may register any person certified by the American Occupational Therapy Certification Board as 
an occupational therapist after the effective dates of parts 4666.00 10 to 4666.1400, if the commissioner determines the requirements 
for certification are equivalent to or exceed the requirements for registration as an occupational therapist under part 4666.0060. The 
commissioner may register any person certified by the American Occupational Therapy Certification Board as an occupational 
therapy assistant after the effective dates of parts 4666.00 10 to 4666.1400, if the commissioner determines the requirements for cer-
tification are equivalent to or exceed the requirements for registration as an occupational therapy assistant under part 4666.0070. 
Nothing in this part limits the commissioner's authority to deny registration based upon the grounds for discipline in parts 
4666.0010 to 4666.1400. 

Subp. 3. Application procedures. Applicants for registration by equivalency must provide: 
A. the application materials as required by part 4666.0200, subparts 1, 3, and 4; and 
B. the fees required by part 4666.1200. 

4666.0090 REGISTRATION BY RECiPROCITY. 
A person who holds a current credential as an occupational therapist in the District of Columbia or a state or territory of the 

United States whose standards for credentialing are determined by the commissioner to be equivalent to or exceed the requirements 
for registration under parts 4666.0060 may be eligible for registration by reciprocity as an occupational therapist. A person who 
holds a current credential as an occupational therapy assistant in the District of Columbia or a state or territory of the United States 
whose standards for credentialing are determined by the commissioner to be equivalent to or exceed the requirements for registra-
tion under part 4666.0070 may be eligible for registration by reciprocity as an occupational therapy assistant. Nothing in this part 
limits the commissioner's authority to deny registration based upon the grounds for discipline in parts 4666.0010 to 4666.1400. An 
applicant must provide: 

A. the application materials as required by part 4666.0200, subparts 1, 3, and 4; 
B. the fees required by part 4666.1200; 
C. a copy of a current and unrestricted credential for the practice of occupational therapy as either an occupational therapist or 

occupational therapy assistant; 
D. a letter from the jurisdiction that issued the credential describing the applicant's qualifications that entitled the applicant to 

receive the credential; and 
E. other information necessary to determine whether the credentialing standards of the jurisdiction that issued the credential 

are equivalent to or exceed the requirements for registration under parts 4666.00 10 to 4666.1400. 
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4666.0100 TEMPORARY REGISTRATION. 

Subpart I. Application. The commissioner may issue temporary registration as an occupational therapist or occupational 
therapy assistant to applicants who have applied for registration under part 4666.0060, subparts 1 and 2, 4666.0070, subparts 1 and 
2, 4666.0080, or 4666.0090 and who are not the subject of a pending investigation or disciplinary action or past disciplinary action, 
nor disqualified for any other reason. 

Subp. 2. Procedures. To be eligible for temporary registration, an applicant must submit the application materials required by 
part 4666.0200, subpart 1, the fees required by part 4666.1200, and: 

A. evidence of successful completion of the requirements in part 4666.0060, subpart 1, or 4666.0070, subpart 1; 
B. a copy of a current and unrestricted credential for the practice of occupational therapy as either an occupational therapist or 

occupational therapy assistant in another jurisdiction; or 
C. a copy of a current and unrestricted certificate from the American Occupational Therapy Certification Board stating that 

the applicant is certified as an occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant. 
Subp. 3. Additional documentation. Persons who are credentialed by the American Occupational Therapy Certification Board 

or another jurisdiction must provide an affidavit with the application for temporary registration stating that they are not the subject 
of a pending investigation or disciplinary action and have not been the subject of a disciplinary action in the past. 

Subp. 4. Supervision required. An applicant who has graduated from an accredited occupational therapy program, as required 
by part 4666.0060, subpart 1, or 4666.0070, subpart 1, and who has not passed the examination required by part 4666.0060, subpart 
2, or 4666.0070, subpart 2, must practice under the supervision of a registered occupational therapist. The supervising therapist 
must, at a minimum, supervise the person working under temporary registration in the performance of the initial evaluation, deter-
mination of the appropriate treatment plan, and periodic review and modification of the treatment plan. The supervising therapist 
must observe the person working under temporary registration in order to assure service competency in carrying out evaluation, 
treatment planning, and treatment implementation. The frequency of face-to-face collaboration between the person working under 
temporary registration and the supervising therapist must be based on the condition of each patient or client, the complexity of treat-
ment and evaluation procedures, and the proficiencies of the person practicing under temporary registration. The occupational ther-
apist or occupational therapy assistant working under temporary registration must provide verification of supervision on the appli-
cation form provided by the commissioner. 

Subp. 5. Expiration of temporary registration. A temporary registration issued to a person pursuant to subpart 2, item A, 
expires ten weeks after the next credentialing examination for occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants or on the 
date the commissioner grants or denies registration, whichever occurs first. A temporary registration issued to a person pursuant to 
subpart 2, item B or C, expires 90 days after it is issued. A temporary registration may be renewed once to persons who have not 
met the examination requirement under part 4666.0060, subpart 2, or 4666.0070, subpart 2, within the initial temporary registration 
period. A temporary registration may be renewed once to persons who are able to demonstrate good cause for failure to meet the 
requirements for registration under part 4666.0080 or 4666.0090 within the initial temporary registration period. 
4666.0200 GENERAL REGISTRATION PROCEDURES. 

Subpart 1. Applications for registration. An applicant for registration must: 
A. submit a completed application for registration on forms provided by the commissioner. The applicant must supply the 

information requested on the application, including: 
(1) the applicant's name, business address and business telephone number, business setting, and daytime telephone number; 
(2) the name and location of the occupational therapy program the applicant completed; 
(3) a description of the applicant's education and training, including a list of degrees received from educational institutions; 
(4) the applicant's work history for the six years preceding the application, including the number of hours worked; 
(5) a list of all credentials currently and previously held in Minnesota and other jurisdictions; 
(6) a description of any jurisdiction's refusal to credential the applicant; 
(7) a description of all professional disciplinary actions initiated against the applicant in any jurisdiction; 
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(8) information on any physical or mental condition or chemical dependency that impairs the person's ability to engage 

in the practice of occupational therapy with reasonable judgment or safety; 
(9) a description of any misdemeanor or felony conviction that relates to honesty or to the practice of occupational therapy; 
(10) a description of any state or federal court order, including a conciliation court judgment or a disciplinary order, 

related to the individual's occupational therapy practice; and 
(11) a statement indicating the physical agent modalities the applicant will use and whether the applicant will use the 

modalities as a level one practitioner, a level two practitioner, or an occupational therapy assistant; 
B. submit with the application all fees required by part 4666.1200; 
C. sign a statement that the information in the application is true and correct to the best of the applicant's knowledge and belief; 
D. sign a waiver authorizing the commissioner to obtain access to the applicant's records in this or any other state in which the 

applicant holds or previously held a credential for the practice of an occupation, has completed an accredited occupational therapy 
education program, or engaged in the practice of occupational therapy; 

B. submit additional information as requested by the commissioner; and 
F. submit the additional information required for provisional registration, registration by equivalency, registration by reci-

procity, and temporary registration as specified in parts 4666.0060 to 4666.0100. 
Subp. 2. Persons applying for registration under part 4666.0060 or 4666.0070. Persons applying for registration under part 

4666.0060, subparts 1 and 2, or 4666.0070, subparts I and 2, must submit: 
A. a certificate of successful completion of the requirements in part 4666.0060, subpart 1, or 4666.0070, subpart 1; and 
B. the applicant's test results from the examining agency, or another source approved by the commissioner, as evidence that 

the applicant received a qualifying score on a credentialing examination meeting the requirements of part 4666.0060, subpart 2, or 
4666.0070, subpart 2. 

Subp. 3. Applicants who are certified by American Occupational Therapy Certification Board. An applicant who is certi-
fied by the American Occupational Therapy Certification Board must provide: 

A. Verified documentation from American Occupational Therapy Certification Board stating that the applicant is certified as 
an occupational therapist, registered or certified occupational therapy assistant, the date certification was granted, and the applican-
t' s certification number. The document must also include a statement regarding disciplinary actions. The applicant is responsible 
for obtaining this documentation by sending a form provided by the commissioner to the American Occupational Therapy 
Certification Board. 

B. A waiver authorizing the commissioner to obtain access to the applicant's records maintained by the American 
Occupational Therapy Certification Board. 

Subp. 4. Applicants credentialed in another jurisdiction. An applicant credentialed in another jurisdiction must request that 
the appropriate government body in each jurisdiction in which the applicant holds or held an occupational therapy credential send a 
letter to the commissioner that verifies the applicant's credentials. Except as provided in part 4666.0100, registration will not be 
issued until the commissioner receives letters verifying each of the applicant's credentials. Each letter must include the applicant's 
name, date of birth, credential number, date of issuance, a statement regarding investigations pending and disciplinary actions taken 
or pending against the applicant, current status of the credential, and the terms under which the credential was issued. 

Subp. 5. Action on applications for registration. The commissioner shall approve, approve with conditions, or deny registra-
tion. The commissioner shall act on an application for registration according to items A to C. 

A. The commissioner shall determine if the applicant meets the requirements for registration. The commissioner, or the advi-
sory council at the commissioner's request, may investigate information provided by an applicant to determine whether the infor-
mation is accurate and complete. 

B. The commissioner shall notify an applicant of action taken on the application and, if registration is denied or approved with 
conditions, the grounds for the commissioner's determination. 

C. An applicant denied registration or granted registration with conditions may make a written request to the commissioner, 
within 30 days of the date of the commissioner's determination, for reconsideration of the commissioner's determination. 
Individuals requesting reconsideration may submit information which the applicant wants considered in the reconsideration. After 
reconsideration of the commissioner's determination to deny registration or grant registration with conditions, the commissioner 
shall determine whether the original determination should be affirmed or modified. An applicant is allowed no more than one 
request in any one biennial registration period for reconsideration of the commissioner's determination to deny registration or 
approve registration with conditions. 
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4666.0300 REGISTRATION RENEWAL. 

Subpart 1. Renewal requirements. To be eligible for registration renewal, a registrant must: 
A. Submit a completed and signed application for registration renewal on forms provided by the commissioner. 
B. Submit the renewal fee required under part 4666.1200. 
C. Submit proof of having met the continuing education requirement of part 4666.1100 on forms provided by the commissioner. 
D. Submit additional information as requested by the commissioner to clarify information presented in the renewal applica-

tion. The information must be submitted within 30 days after the commissioner's request. 
Subp. 2. Renewal deadline. Except as provided in subpart 4, registration must be renewed every two years. Registrants must 

comply with the following procedures: 
A. Each registration certificate must state an expiration date. An application for registration renewal must be received by the 

Department of Health or postmarked at least 30 calendar days before the expiration date. If the postmark is illegible, the application 
will be considered timely if received at least 21 calendar days before the expiration date. 

If the commissioner changes the renewal schedule and the expiration date is less than two years, the fee shall be prorated. 
B. An application for registration renewal not received within the time required under item A, but received on or before the 

expiration date, must be accompanied by a late fee in addition to the renewal fee specified by part 4666.1200. 
C. Registration renewals received after the expiration date will not be accepted and persons seeking registered status must 

comply with the requirements of part 4666.0400. 
Subp. 3. Registration renewal notice. At least 60 calendar days before the expiration date in subpart 2, the commissioner shall 

mail a renewal notice to the registrant's last known address on file with the commissioner. The notice must include an application 
for registration renewal and notice of fees required for renewal. The registrant's failure to receive notice does not relieve the regis-
trant of the obligation to meet the renewal deadline and other requirements for registration renewal. 

Subp. 4. Renewal of provisional registration. Provisional registration must be renewed annually. Provisional registrants must 
comply with all requirements of this part except subpart 1, items B and C. In addition, provisional registrants must submit the fee 
for renewal of provisional registration required by part 4666.1200. A provisional registration will not be renewed for any period of 
time beyond the expiration of the three-year provisional registration period. 
4666.0400 RENEWAL OF REGISTRATION; AFTER EXPIRATION DATE. 

Subpart 1. Removal of name from list. The names of registrants who do not comply with the registration renewal requirements 
of part 4666.0300 on or before the expiration date shall be removed from the list of individuals authorized to use the protected titles 
in part 4666.0030 and the registrants must comply with the requirements of this part in order to regain registered status. 

Subp. 2. Registration renewal after registration expiration date. Except as provided in subpart 4, an individual whose appli-
cation for registration renewal is received after the registration expiration date must submit the following: 

A. a completed and signed application for registration following lapse in registered status on forms provided by the commis-
sioner; 

B. the renewal fee and the late fee required under part 4666.1200; 
C. proof of having met the continuing education requirements since the individual's initial registration or last registration 

renewal; and 
D. additional information as requesied by the commissioner to clarify information in the application, including information to 

determine whether the individual has engaged in conduct warranting disciplinary action as set forth in part 4666.1300. The infor-
mation must be submitted within 30 days after the commissioner's request. 

Subp. 3. Registration renewal four years or more after registration expiration date. Except as provided in subpart 4, an 
individual who submitted a registration renewal four years or more after the registration expiration date must submit the following: 

A. a completed and signed application for registration following lapse in registered status on forms provided by the commis-
sioner; 
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B. the renewal fee and the late fee required under part 4666.1200; 
C. proof of having met the continuing education requirement for the most recently completed two-year continuing education 

cycle. In addition, at the time of the next registration renewal, the registrant must submit proof of having met the continuing educa-
tion requirement, which shall be prorated based on the number of months registered during the biennial registration period; 

D. proof of successful completion of one of the following: 
(1) verified documentation of 160 hours of supervised practice approved by the commissioner. To participate in a super -

vised practice, the applicant shall obtain limited registration. To apply for limited registration, the applicant shall submit the com-
pleted limited registration application, fees, and agreement for supervision of an occupational therapist or occupational therapy 
assistant practicing under limited registration signed by the supervising therapist and the applicant. The supervising occupational 
therapist shall state the proposed level of supervision on the supervision agreement form provided by the commissioner. At a 
minimum, a supervising occupational therapist shall: 

(a) be on the premises at all times that the person practicing under limited registration is working; 
(b) be in the room ten percent of the hours worked each week by the person practicing under provisional registra-

tion; and 
(c) provide daily face-to-face collaboration for the purpose of observing service competency of the occupational 

therapist or occupational therapy assistant, discussing treatment procedures and each client's response to treatment, and reviewing 
and modifying, as necessary, each treatment plan. The commissioner may require additional supervision than the supervision pro-
posed in the supervision agreement. The supervising therapist shall document the supervision provided. The occupational therapist 
participating in a supervised practice is responsible for obtaining the supervision required under this subitem and must comply with 
the commissioner's requirements for supervision during the entire 160 hours of supervised practice. The supervised practice must 
be completed in two months and may be completed at the applicant's place of work; 

(2) submit verified documentation of having achieved a qualifying score on the credentialing examination for occupa-
tional therapists or the credentialing examination for occupational therapy assistants administered within the past year, or 

(3) submit documentation of having completed a combination of occupational therapy courses or an occupational therapy 
refresher program that contains both a theoretical and clinical component approved by the commissioner. Only courses completed 
within one year preceding the date of the application or one year after the date of the application will qualify for approval; and 

E. additional information as requested by the commissioner to clarify information in the application, including information to 
determine whether the applicant has engaged in conduct warranting disciplinary action as set forth in part 4666.1300. The informa-
tion must be submitted within 30 days after the commissioner's request. 

Subp. 4. Registration after lapse of provisional registration. Permission to take the certification examination for an individual 
whose provisional registration has lapsed more than 30 days is revoked. In order to qualify to take the certification examination, an 
individual whose provisional registration has lapsed must comply with part 4666.0060, subpart 3, or 4666.0070, subpart 3. 
4666.0500 CHANGE OF ADDRESS. 

A registrant who changes addresses must inform the commissioner, in writing, of the change of address within 30 days. All 
notices or other correspondence mailed to or served on a registrant by the commissioner at the registrant's address on file with the 
commissioner shall be considered as having been received by the registrant. 
4666.0600 DELEGATION OF DUTIES; ASSIGNMENT OF TASKS. 

The occupational therapist is responsible for all duties delegated to the occupatidnal therapy assistant or tasks assigned to direct 
service personnel. The occupational therapist may delegate to an occupational therapy assistant those portions of a client's evalua-
tion, reevaluation, and treatment that, according to prevailing practice standards of the American Occupational Therapy 
Association, can be performed by an occupational therapy assistant. The occupational therapist may not delegate portions of an 
evaluation or reevaluation of a person whose condition is changing rapidly. Delegation of duties related to use of physical agent 
modalities to occupational therapy assistants is governed by part 4666.1000, subpart 9. 
4666.0700 SUPERVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY ASSISTANTS. 

Subpart 1. Applicability. If the professional standards identified in part 4666.0600 permit an occupational therapist to delegate 
an evaluation, reevaluation, or treatment procedure, the occupational therapist must provide supervision consistent with this part. 
Supervision of occupational therapy assistants using physical agent modalities is governed by part 4666.1000, subpart 9. 
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Subp. 2. Evaluations. The occupational therapist shall determine the frequency of evaluations and reevaluations for each client. 

The occupational therapy assistant shall inform the occupational therapist of the need for more frequent reevaluation if indicated by 
the client's condition or response to treatment. Before delegating a portion of a client's evaluation pursuant to part 4666.0600, the 
occupational therapist shall assure the service competency of the occupational therapy assistant in performing the evaluation proce-
dure and shall provide supervision consistent with the condition of the patient or client and the complexity of the evaluation proce-
dure. 

Subp. 3. Treatment. 
A. General principles. The occupational therapist shall determine the frequency and manner of supervision of an occupational 

therapy assistant performing treatment procedures delegated pursuant to part 4666.0600, based on the condition of the patient or 
client, the complexity of the treatment procedure, and the proficiencies of the occupational therapy assistant. 

B. Minimum requirements. Face-to-face collaboration between the occupational therapist and the occupational therapy assis-
tant shall occur, at a minimum, every two weeks during which time the occupational therapist is responsible for: 

(1) planning and documenting an initial treatment plan and discharge from treatment; 

(2) reviewing treatment goals, therapy programs, and client progress; 
(3) supervising changes in the treatment plan; 
(4) conducting or observing treatment procedures for selected clients and documenting appropriateness of treatment pro-

cedures. Clients will be selected based on the occupational therapy services provided to the client and the role of the occupational 
therapist and the occupational therapy assistant in those services; and 

(5) assuring the service competency of the occupational therapy assistant in performing delegated treatment procedures. 
C. Additional supervision required. Face-to-face collaboration must occur more frequently than every two weeks if necessary 

to meet the requirements of item A or B. 
D. Documentation required. The occupational therapist shall document compliance with this subpart in the client's file or 

chart. 
Subp. 4. Exception. The supervision requirements of this part do not apply to an occupational therapy assistant who: 

A. works in an activities program; and 
B. does not perform occupational therapy services. The occupational therapy assistant must meet all other applicable require-

ments of parts 4666.0010 to 4666.1400. 
4666.0800 COORDINATION OF SERVICES. 

An occupational therapist shall: 
A. collect information necessary to assure that the provision of occupational therapy services are consistent with the client's 

physical and mental health status. The information required to make this determination may include, but is not limited to, contact-
ing the client's licensed health care professional for health history, current health status, current medications, and precautions; 

B. modify or terminate occupational therapy treatment of a client that is not beneficial to the client, not tolerated by the client, 
or refused by the client, and if treatment was terminated for a medical reason, notify the client's licensed health care professional by 
correspondence postmarked or delivered to the licensed health care professional within seven calendar days of the termination of 
treatment; 

C. refer a client to an appropriate health care, social service, or education practitioner if the client's condition requires services 
not within the occupational therapist's service competency or not within the practice of occupational therapy generally; 

D. participate and cooperate in the coordination of occupational therapy services with other related services, as a member of 
the professional community serving the client; and 

E. communicate, in writing, with the appropriate licensed health care professional an occupational therapy plan of care, post-
marked or delivered to the licensed health care professional within 14 calendar days of the initiation of treatment. The occupational 
therapist must provide this written communication even if occupational therapy treatment is concluded in less than 14 consecutive 
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days. The occupational therapist shall document modifications to the plan of care requested by the licensed health care professional 
following consultation with the licensed health care professional. Occupational therapists employed by a school system are exempt 
from the requirements of this item in the performance of their duties within the school system. 
4666.0900 RECIPIENT NOTIFICATION. 

Subpart 1. Required notification. In the absence of a physician referral or prior authorization, and before providing occupa-
tional therapy services for remuneration or expectation of payment from the client, an occupational therapist must provide the fol-
lowing written notification in all capital letters of 12-point or larger bold-face type, to the client, parent, or guardian: 

"Your health care provider, insurer, or plan may require a physician referral or prior authorization and you may be obligated 
for partial or full payment for occupational therapy services rendered." 
Information other than this notification may be included as long as the notification remains conspicuous on the face of the docu-

ment. A nonwritten disclosure format may be used to satisfy the recipient notification requirement when necessary to accommodate 
the physical condition of a client or client's guardian. 

Subp. 2. Evidence of recipient notification. The occupational therapist is responsible for providing evidence of compliance 
with the recipient notification requirement of this part. 
4666.1000 PHYSICAL AGENT MODALITIES. 

Subpart 1. General considerations. 
A. Occupational therapists who use superficial physical agent modalities must comply with the standards in subparts 3 and 6. 

Occupational therapists who use electrotherapy must comply with the standards in subparts 4 and 7. Occupational therapists who 
use ultrasound devices must comply with the standards in subparts 5 and 8. Occupational therapy assistants who use physical agent 
modalities must comply with subpart 9. 

B. Use of superficial physical agent modalities, electrical stimulation devices, and ultrasound devices must be on the order of 
a physician. 

C. The commissioner shall maintain a roster of persons registered under parts 4666.0010 to 4666.1400 who use physical agent 
modalities. Prior to using a physical agent modality, registrants must inform the commissioner of the physical agent modality they 
will use and whether they will use the modality as a level one practitioner, level two practitioner, or occupational therapy assistant. 
Persons who use physical agent modalities must indicate on their initial and renewal applications the physical agent modalities that 
they use and whether they use the modality as a level one practitioner, level two practitioner, or occupational therapy assistant. 

D. Registrants are responsible for informing the commissioner of any changes in the information required in this subpart 
within 30 days of any change. 

Subp. 2. Written documentation required. 
A. Prior to use of physical agent modalities, an occupational therapist who will work as a level one practitioner and an occu-

pational therapy assistant, must possess and maintain the following documentation: 
(1) a signed, notanzed statement from a level two practitioner stating that the level two practitioner will provide direct 

supervision of the level one practitioner or occupational therapy assistant and that the level one practitioner or occupational therapy 
assistant has completed the clinical training requirements in this part for each physical agent modality used by the level one practi-
tioner or occupational therapy assistant; and 

(2) a copy of the course, workshop, or seminar description with a transcript or certificate showing completion of the theo-
retical training required for each physical agent modality used, from one of the institutions or organizations identified in this part; or 

(3) a copy of current certification as a certified hand therapist by the Hand Therapy Certification Commission. 
B. Prior to practice as a level two practitioner using superficial physical agent modalities, an occupational therapist must 

possess and maintain the following documentation: 
(I) a signed statement from the employer verifying completion of the required number of hours of direct service experi-

ence as an occupational therapist; and 
(2) the documentation in item A and a signed, notarized statement from the level two practitioner that the level one prac-

titioner has developed and implemented the treatment plans required in subpart 6, item B, subitem (1), and that the level two practi-
tioner has observed the level one practitioner to be competent in the use of superficial physical agent modalities; or 

(3) the documentation in item A, subitem (2), and a signed, notarized statement from the occupational therapist that the 
therapist has completed the required number of treatment plans required in subpart 6, item B, subitem (2); or 
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(4) a copy of certification as a certified hand therapist from the Hand Therapy Certification Commission that was current 

during the three-year period following the effective date of parts 4666.0010 to 4666.1400. 

C. Prior to practice as a level two practitioner using electrotherapeutic devices, an occupational therapist must possess and 
maintain the following documentation: 

(1) a signed statement from the employer verifying completion of the required number of hours of direct service experi-
ence as an occupational therapist; and 

(2) the documentation in item A and a signed, notarized statement from the level two practitioner that the level one prac-
titioner has developed and implemented the treatment plans required in subpart 7, item B, subitem (1), and that the level two practi-
tioner has observed the level one practitioner to be competent in the use of electrotherapeutic devices; or 

(3) a copy of certification as a certified hand therapist from the Hand Therapy Certification Commission that was current 
during the three-year period following the effective date of parts 4666.00 10 to 4666.1400. 

D. Prior to practice as a level two practitioner using ultrasound devices, an occupational therapist must possess and maintain 
the following documentation: 

(1) a signed statement from the employer verifying completion of the required number of hours of direct service experi-
ence as an occupational therapist; and 

(2) the documentation in item A and a signed, notarized statement from the level two practitioner that the level one prac-
titioner has developed and implemented the treatment plans required in subpart 8, item B, subitem (1), and that the level two practi-
tioner has observed the level one practitioner to be competent in the use of ultrasound devices; or 

(3) a copy of certification as a certified hand therapist from the Hand Therapy Certification Commission that was current 
during the three-year period following the effective date of parts 4666.00 10 to 4666.1400. 

E. Upon request of the commissioner, persons registered under parts 4666.0010 to 4666.1400 who use physical agent modal-
ities must provide the commissioner with the documentation described in this subpart. 

F. Once in each biennial registration period, the commissioner may audit a percentage of persons who are using physical 
agent modalities, based on random selection. The commissioner shall require that audited persons provide the documentation 
required by this subpart. 

Subp. 3. Level one practitioner; standards for use of superficial physical agent modalities. An occupational therapist may 
use superficial physical agent modalities as a level one practitioner if the occupational therapist: 

A. is under the direct supervision of a level two practitioner for superficial physical agent modalities; 

B. has received theoretical training in the use of the modality that enables the occupational therapist to: 

(1) explain the rationale and clinical indications for use of superficial physical agent modalities; 

(2) explain the physical properties and principles of the superficial physical agent modalities; 

(3) describe the types of heat and cold transference; 

(4) explain the factors affecting tissue response to superficial heat and cold; 

(5) describe the biophysical effects of superficial physical agent modalities in normal and abnormal tissue; 

(6) describe the thermal conductivity of tissue, matter, and air; 

(7) explain the advantages and disadvantages of superficial physical agent modalities; and 

(8) explain the precautions and contraindications of superficial physical agent modalities; 

C. has received the theoretical training specified in item B by meeting the requirements of subitem (1) or (2): 

(1) possess written evidence that the occupational therapist received the training required in item B at courses, work-
shops, or seminars offered through: 

(a) a college or university accredited by the Accreditation Council for Occupational Therapy Education for training 
occupational therapists; 
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(b) an educational program sponsored or approved by the American Occupational Therapy Association; 
(c) an educational program sponsored or approved by the American Society of Hand Therapists; 
(d) a college or university accredited by the Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education for train-

ing physical therapists; or 
(e) an educational program sponsored or approved by the American Physical Therapy Association. 

(2) possess current certification as a certified hand therapist by the Hand Therapy Certification Commission; and 
D. has completed clinical training through on-site demonstration to the supervising level two practitioner of theoretical knowl-

edge and technical applications of the modality. This clinical component must include the following clinical experiences for each 
superficial physical agent modality used by the level one practitioner: 

(1) observation of treatments performed by the level two practitioner; 
(2) application of the modality to normal physiological tissue to demonstrate appropriate techniques while the supervis-

ing level two practitioner is physically present and observing the level one practitioner apply the modality; 
(3) application of the modality to persons who would benefit from the treatment while the supervising level two practi-

tioner is physically present and observing the level one practitioner apply the modality; and 
(4) demonstration of ability to work within competency in using the specific modality. 

Subp. 4. Level one practitioner; standards for use of electrotherapy. An occupational therapist may use electrotherapy as a 
level one practitioner if the occupational therapist: 

A. is under the direct supervision of a level two practitioner for electrotherapy; 
B. has received theoretical training in the use of electrotherapy that enables the occupational therapist to: 

(1) explain the rationale and clinical indications of electrotherapy, including pain control, muscle dysfunction, and tissue 
healing; 

(2) demonstrate comprehension and understanding of electrotherapeutic terminology and biophysical principles, includ-
ing current, voltage, amplitude, and resistance (Ohm's law); 

(3) describe the types of current (direct, pulsed, and alternating) used for electrical stimulation, including the description, 
modulations, and clinical relevance; 

(4) describe the time-dependent parameters of pulsed and alternating currents, including pulse and phase durations and 
intervals; 

(5) describe the amplitude-dependent characteristics of pulsed and alternating currents; 
(6) describe neurophysiology and the properties of excitable tissue (nerve and muscle); 
(7) describe nerve and muscle response from externally applied electrical stimulation, including tissue healing; 
(8) describe the electrotherapeutic effects and the response of nerve, denervated and innervated muscle, and other soft 

tissue; and 
(9) explain the precautions and contraindications of electrotherapy, including considerations regarding pathology of 

nerve and muscle tissue; 
C. has received the theoretical training specified in item B by meeting the requirements of subitem (I) or (2): 

(1) possess written evidence that the occupational therapist received the training required in item B at courses, work-
shops, or seminars offered through: 

(a) a college or university accredited by the Accreditation Council for Occupational Therapy Education for training 
occupational therapists; 

(b) an educational program sponsored or approved by the American Occupational Therapy Association; 
(c) an educational program sponsored or approved by the American Society of Hand Therapists; 
(d) a college or university accredited by the Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education for train-

ing physical therapists; or 
(e) an educational program sponsored or approved by the American Physical Therapy Association; or 

(2) possess current certification as a certified hand therapist by the Hand Therapy Certification Commission; and 
D. has completed clinical training through on-site demonstration to the supervising level two practitioner of theoretical 
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knowledge and technical applications of electrical stimulation devices. This clinical component must include the following clinical 
experiences for each electrical stimulation device used by the level one practitioner: 

(1) observation of treatments performed by the level two practitioner; 
(2) application of the electrical stimulation device to normal physiological tissue to demonstrate appropriate techniques 

while the supervising level two practitioner is physically present and observing the level one practitioner apply the electrical stimu-
lation device; 

(3) application of the electrical stimulation device to persons who would benefit from the treatment while the supervising 
level two practitioner is physically present and observing the level one practitioner apply the electrical stimulation device; and 

(4) demonstration of ability to work within competency in using the specific electrical stimulation device. 
Subp. 5. Level one practitioner; standards for use of ultrasound. An occupational therapist may use an ultrasound device as 

a level one practitioner if the occupational therapist: 
A. is under the direct supervision of a level two practitioner for ultrasound devices; 
B. has received theoretical training in the use of ultrasound that enables the occupational therapist to: 

(1) explain the rationale and clinical indications for the use of ultrasound, including anticipated physiological responses 
of the treated area; 

(2) describe the biophysical thermal and nonthermal effects of ultrasound on normal and abnormal tissue; 
(3) explain the physical principles of ultrasound, including wavelength, frequency, attenuation, velocity, and intensity; 
(4) explain the mechanism and generation of ultrasound and energy transmission through physical matter; and 
(5) explain the precautions and contraindications regarding use of ultrasound devices; 

C. has received the theoretical training specified in item B by meeting the requirements of subitem (1) or (2): 
(1) possess written evidence that the occupational therapist received the training required in item A at courses, work-

shops, or seminars offered through: 
(a) a college or university accredited by the Accreditation Council for Occupational Therapy Education for training 

occupational therapists; 
(b) an educational program sponsored or approved by the American Occupational Therapy Association; 
(c) an educational program sponsored or approved by the American Society of Hand Therapists; 
(d) a college or university accredited by the Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education for train-

ing physical therapists; or 
(e) an educational program sponsored or approved by the American Physical Therapy Association; or 

(2) possess current certification as a certified hand therapist by the Hand Therapy Certification Commission; and 
D. has completed clinical training through on-site demonstration to the supervising level two practitioner of theoretical 

knowledge and technical applications of ultrasound devices. This clinical component must include the following clinical experi-
ences in the use of ultrasound devices for the level one practitioner: 

(1) observation of treatments performed by the level two practitioner; 
(2) application of ultrasound to normal physiological tissue to demonstrate appropriate techniques while the supervising 

level two practitioner is physically present and observing the level one practitioner apply ultrasound; 
(3) application of ultrasound to persons who would benefit from the treatment while the supervising level two practi-

tioner is physically present and observing the level one practitioner apply the ultrasound; and 
(4) demonstration of ability to work within competency in using ultrasound. 

Subp. 6. Level two practitioner; standards for unsupervised use of superficial physical agent modalities. To obtain status 
as a level two practitioner, an occupational therapist must: 
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A. complete 1800 hours in a two-year period of employment in a clinical setting providing direct service as an occupational 

therapist; 
B. meet one of the following requirements: 

(1) complete the training required in subpart 3, practice as a level one practitioner using superficial physical agent modal-
ities under the direct supervision of a level two practitioner, and develop and implement a treatment plan for six patients in which 
ice or other cold medium is used and for 14 patients in which heat is used in an appropriate occupational therapy treatment plan; 

(2) complete the training required in subpart 3, items B and C, and have used both ice or other cold medium and heat in a 
treatment plan for at least 20 patients in the one year preceding the effective date of parts 4666.00 10 to 4666.1400; or 

(3) possess certification as a certified hand therapist by the Hand Therapy Certification Commission on the effective date 
of parts 4666.0010 to 4666.1400 or, prior to practice as a level two practitioner, obtain certification as a certified hand therapist by 
the Hand Therapy Certification Commission within three years of the effective date of parts 4666.00 10 to 4666.1400; and 

C. demonstrate competency in: 
(1) appropriate incorporation of superficial physical agent modalities into an occupational therapy treatment plan, as it 

relates to established goals and home program; 
(2) preparing the patient, including positioning and educating the patient about the process and possible risks and benefits 

of treatment; 
(3) safe administration of the superficial physical agent modalities as related to the clinical condition; 
(4) safe and appropriate equipment operation and maintenance; 
(5) identifying possible adverse reactions to treatment and appropriate adjustment or discontinuance, and aftercare; and 
(6) utilizing appropriate methods of documentation. 

Subp. 7. Level two practitioner; standards for unsupervised use of electrotherapy. To obtain status as a level two practi-
tioner, an occupational therapist must: 

A. complete 1800 hours in a two-year period of employment in a clinical setting providing direct service as an occupational 
therapist; 

B. meet one of the following requirements: 
(1) complete the training required in subpart 4, practice as a level one practitioner using electrical stimulation under the 

direct supervision of a level two practitioner, and develop and implement a treatment plan for 12 patients in which electrical stimu-
lation is used in an appropriate occupational therapy treatment plan; or 

(2) possess certification as a certified hand therapist by the Hand Therapy Certification Commission on the effective date 
of parts 4666.00 10 to 4666.1400 or, prior to practice as a level two practitioner, obtain certification as a certified hand therapist by 
the Hand Therapy Certification Commission within three years of the effective date of parts 4666.0010 to 4666.1400; and 

C. demonstrate competency in: 
(1) appropriate incorporation of electrotherapy into an occupational therapy treatment plan as it relates to established 

treatment goals and home program; 
(2) preparing the patient, including positioning, and educating the patient about the process and the possible risks and 

benefits of treatment; 
(3) appropriate use of electrodes, including size, placement, and type, as well as resultant effects on current flow and 

density; 
(4) appropriate selection and safe operation and maintenance of electrotherapeutic equipment, including controls, com-

ponents, and parameters, as related to the clinical condition and therapeutic value; 
(5) identifying possible adverse reactions to treatment and appropriate adjustment in or discontinuance of treatment and 

aftercare; and 
(6) utilizing appropriate methods of documentation which communicate equipment type and parameters used. 

Subp. 8. Level two practitioner; standards for unsupervised use of ultrasound devices. To obtain status as a level two prac-
titioner, an occupational therapist must: 

A. complete 1800 hours in a two-year period of employment in a clinical setting providing direct service as an occupational 
therapist; 
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B. meet one of the following requirements: 

(1) complete the training required in subpart 5, practice as a level one practitioner using ultrasound under the direct 
supervision of a level two practitioner, and develop and implement a treatment plan for 12 patients in which ultrasound devices are 
used in an appropriate occupational therapy treatment plan; or 

(2) possess certification as a certified hand therapist by the Hand Therapy Certification Commission on the effective date 
of parts 4666.0010 to 4666.1400 or, prior to practice as a level two practitioner, obtain certification as a certified hand therapist by 
the Hand Therapy Certification Commission within three years of the effective date of parts 4666.0010 to 4666.1400; and 

C. demonstrate competency in: 
(1) appropriate incorporation of ultrasound into an occupational therapy treatment plan as it relates to established treat-

ment goals and home program, including anticipated physiological response of treated areas and appropriate clinical conditions; 

(2) preparing the patient, including positioning, and educating the patient about the process and possible risks and bene-
fits of treatment; 

(3) safe clinical administration of ultrasound including use of appropriate frequency, intensity, duration, and delivery 
method, as related to the clinical condition; 

(4) appropriate application techniques, including coupling methods and duty cycle, as they relate to tissue condition, 
area, and depth; 

(5) selection and use of ultrasound equipment, including controls, soundhead size, effective radiating area, and beam 
nonuniformity ratio, and maintenance and calibration requirements; 

(6) recognizing adverse reaction to ultrasound treatment and appropriate adjustment of treatment, discontinuance, and 
aftercare; and 

(7) appropriate methods of documentation which communicate specifics of ultrasound application. 

Subp. 9. Occupational therapy assistant use of physical agent modalities. An occupational therapy assistant may set up and 
implement treatment using physical agent modalities if the assistant meets the requirements of this part, has demonstrated service 
competency for the particular modality used, and works under the direct supervision of an occupational therapist who is a level two 
practitioner for the particular modality used. An occupational therapy assistant who uses superficial physical agent modalities must 
meet the requirements of subpart 3, items B and C. An occupational therapy assistant who uses electrotherapy must meet the 
requirements of subpart 4, items B and C. An occupational therapy assistant who uses ultrasound must meet the requirements of 
subpart 5, items B and C. A level two practitioner may not delegate evaluation, reevaluation, treatment planning, and treatment 
goals for physical agent modalities to an occupational therapy assistant. 

4666.1100 CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS. 

Subpart 1. General requirements. An occupational therapist applying for registration renewal must have completed a 
minimum of 24 contact hours of continuing education in the two years preceding registration renewal. An occupational therapy 
assistant applying for registration renewal must have completed a minimum of 18 contact hours of continuing education in the two 
years preceding registration renewal. Registrants who are issued registration for a period of less than two years shall prorate the 
number of contact hours required for registration renewal based on the number of months registered during the biennial registration 
period. Registrants shall receive contact hours for continuing education activities only for the biennial registration period in which 
the continuing education activity was performed. 

To qualify as a continuing education activity, the activity must be a minimum of one contact hour. Contact hours must be earned 
and reported in increments of one contact hour or one-half contact hour for each continuing education activity. One-half contact 
hour means an instructional session of 30 consecutive minutes, excluding coffee breaks, registration, meals without a speaker, and 
social activities. 

Each registrant is responsible for financing the cost of the registrant's continuing education activities. 
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Subp. 2. Standards for approval. Except as provided in subpart 3, item E, in order to qualify as a continuing education activity, 

the activity must: 
A. constitute an organized program of learning; 
B. reasonably be expected to advance the knowledge and skills of the occupational therapy practitioner; 
C. pertain to subjects that directly relate to the practice of occupational therapy; 
D. be conducted by individuals who have education, training, and experience by reason of which said individuals should be 

considered experts concerning the subject matter of the activity; and 
E. be presented by a sponsor who has a mechanism to verify participation and maintains attendance records for three years. 

Subp. 3. Activities qualifying for continuing education contact hours. The following activities qualify for continuing educa-
tion contact hours if they meet all other requirements of this part. 

A. A registrant may obtain an unlimited number of contact hours in any two-year continuing education period through partic-
ipation in the following: 

(1) attendance at educational programs of annual conferences, lectures, panel discussions, workshops, in-service training, 
seminars, and symposiums; 

(2) successful completion of college or university courses. The registrant must obtain a grade of at least a "C" or a pass 
in a pass or fail course in order to receive the following continuing education credits: 

(a) one semester credit equals 14 contact hours; 
(b) one trimester credit equals 12 contact hours; and 
(c) one quarter credit equals ten contact hours; and 

(3) successful completion of home study courses that require the participant to demonstrate the participant's knowledge 
following completion of the course. 

B. A registrant may obtain a maximum of six contact hours in any two-year continuing education period for teaching contin-
uing education courses that meet the requirements of this part. A registrant is entitled to earn a maximum of two contact hours as 
preparation time for each contact hour of presentation time. Contact hours may be claimed only once for teaching the same course 
in any two-year continuing education period. A course schedule or brochure must be maintained for audit. 

C. A registrant may obtain a maximum of two contact hours in any two-year continuing education period for continuing edu-
cation activities in the following areas: 

(1) business-related topics: marketing, time management, administration, risk management, government regulations, 
techniques for training professionals, computer skills, and similar topics; 

(2) personal skill topics: career burnout, communication skills, human relations, and similar topics; and 
(3) training that is obtained in conjunction with a registrant's employment, occurs during a registrant's normal workday, 

and does not include subject matter specific to the fundamentals of occupational therapy. 
D. An occupational therapy practitioner that utilizes leisure activities, recreational activities, or hobbies as part of occupa-

tional therapy services in the practitioner's current work setting may obtain a maximum of six contact hours in any two-year contin-
uing education period for participation in courses teaching these activities. 

E. A registrant may obtain a maximum of six contact hours in any two year continuing education period for supervision of 
occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant students. A registrant may earn one contact hour for every eight hours of 
student supervision. Registrants must maintain a log indicating the name of each student supervised and the hours each student was 
supervised. Contact hours obtained by student supervision must be obtained by supervising students from an occupational therapy 
education program accredited by the Accreditation Council for Occupational Therapy Education. 

Subp. 4. Activities not qualifying for continuing education contact hours. No credit shall be granted for the following activ-
ities: hospital rounds, entertainment or recreational activities, employment orientation sessions, holding an office or serving as an 
organizational delegate, meetings for the purpose of making policy, noneducational association meetings, training related to 
payment systems (including covered services, coding, and billing), training required by part 4666.1000, subparts 3, item B; 4, item 
B; and 5, item B, and any other activities the commissioner determines do not meet the requirements of this part. 

Subp. 5. Reporting continuing education contact hours. At the time of registration renewal, each registrant shall submit veri-
fication that the registrant has met the continuing education requirements of this part on the continuing education report form pro-
vided by the commissioner. The continuing education report form may require the following information: 
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A. title of continuing education activity; 
B. brief description of the continuing education activity; 
C. sponsor, presenter, or author; 
D. location and attendance dates; 
E. number of contact hours; and 
F. registrant's notarized affirmation that the information is true and correct. 

Subp. 6. Auditing continuing education reports. 
A. The commissioner may audit a percentage of the continuing education reports based on random selection. A registrant 

shall maintain all documentation required by this part for two years after the last day of the biennial registration period in which the 
contact hours were earned. 

B. All renewal applications that are received after the expiration date may be subject to a continuing education report audit. 
C. Any registrant against whom a complaint is filed may be subject to a continuing education report audit. 
D. The registrant shall make the following information available to the commissioner for auditing purposes: 

(1) a copy of the completed continuing education report form for the continuing education reporting period that is the 
subject of the audit including all supporting documentation required by subpart 5; 

(2) a description of the continuing education activity prepared by the presenter or sponsor that includes the course title or 
subject matter, date, place, number of program contact hours, presenters, and sponsors. Self-study programs must be documented 
by materials prepared by the presenter or sponsor that include the course title, course description, name of sponsor or author, and the 
number of hours required to complete the program. University, college, or vocational school courses must be documented by a 
course syllabus, listing in a course bulletin, or equivalent documentation that must include the course title, instructor's name, course 
dates, number of contact hours, and course content, objectives, or goals; and 

(3) verification of attendance. Verification must consist of a signature of the presenter or a designee at the continuing 
education activity on the continuing education report form or a certificate of attendance with the course name, course date, and reg-
istrant's name. A registrant may summarize or outline the educational content of an audio or video educational activity to verify the 
registrant's participation in the activity if a designee is not available to sign the continuing education report form. Self-study pro-
grams must be verified by a certificate of completion or other documentation indicating that the individual has demonstrated 
knowledge and has successfully completed the program. Attendance at a university, college, or vocational course must be verified 
by an official transcript. 

Subp. 7. Waiver of continuing education requirements. The commissioner may grant a waiver of the requirements of this part 
in cases where the requirements would impose an extreme hardship on the registrant. The request for a waiver must be in writing, 
state the circumstances that constitute extreme hardship, State the period of time the registrant wishes to have the continuing educa-
tion requirement waived, and state the alternative measures that will be taken if a waiver is granted. The commissioner shall set 
forth, in writing, the reasons for granting or denying the waiver. Waivers granted by the commissioner shall specify, in writing, the 
time limitation and required alternative measures to be taken by the registrant. A request for waiver shall be denied if the commis-
sioner finds that the circumstances stated by the registrant do not support a claim of extreme hardship, the requested time period for 
waiver is unreasonable, the alternative measures proposed by the registrant are not equivalent to the continuing education activity 
being waived, or the request for waiver is not submitted to the commissioner within 60 days after the expiration date. 

Subp. 8. Penalties for noncompliance. The commissioner shall refuse to renew or grant, or shall suspend, condition, limit, or 
qualify the registration of any person who the commissioner determines has failed to comply with the continuing education require-
ments of this part. A registrant may request reconsideration of the commissioner's determination of noncompliance or the penalty 
imposed under this part by making a written request to the commissioner, within 30 days of the date of notification to the applicant. 
Individuals requesting reconsideration may submit information that the registrant wants considered in the reconsideration. 

Subp. 9. Effective date. The reporting requirements of this part begin and continue to be in effect for registration renewals three 
years after the effective date of parts 4666.0010 to 4666.1400 and all subsequent registration renewals. 
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4666.1200 FEES; SURCHARGE. 

Subpart 1. Initial registration fee. The initial registration fee for occupational therapists is $180. The initial registration fee for 
occupational therapy assistants is $100. The commissioner may prorate fees based on the number of quarters remaining in the bien-
nial registration period. 

Subp. 2. Registration renewal fee. The biennial registration renewal fee for occupational therapists is $180. The biennial reg-
istration renewal fee for occupational therapy assistants is $100. 

Subp. 3. Late fee. The fee for late submission of a renewal application is $25. 
Subp. 4. Initial provisional registration fee. The fee for initial provisional registration is $647. 
Subp. 5. Provisional registration renewal fee. The provisional registration renewal fee for occupational therapists is $90. The 

provisional registration renewal fee for occupational therapy assistants is $50. The commissioner may prorate fees based on the 
number of quarters remaining in the annual registration period. 

Subp. 6. Temporary registration fee. The fee for temporary registration is $50. 
Subp. 7. Limited registration fee. The fee for limited registration is $96. 
Subp. 8. Fee for course approval after lapse of registration. The fee for course approval after lapse of registration is $96. 
Subp. 9. Certification to other states. The fee for certification of registration to other states is $25. 
Subp. 10. Verification to institutions. The fee for verification of registration to institutions is $10. 
Subp. 11. Surcharge. For five years following the effective date of parts 4666.00 10 to 4666.1400 all registrants must pay a sur-

charge fee in addition to other applicable fees. Occupational therapists must pay a biennial surcharge fee of $62 upon application 
for registration and registration renewal. Occupational therapy assistants must pay a biennial surcharge fee of $36 upon application 
for registration and registration renewal. 

Subp. 12. Nonrefundable fees. All fees are nonrefundable. 
4666.1300 GROUNDS FOR DENIAL OF REGISTRATION OR DISCIPLINE; INVESTIGATION PROCEDURES; 
DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS. 

Subpart 1. Grounds for denial of registration or discipline. The commissioner may deny an application for registration, may 
approve registration with conditions, or may discipline a registrant using any disciplinary actions listed in subpart 3 on proof that 
the individual has: 

A. intentionally submitted false or misleading information to the commissioner or the advisory council; 
B. failed, within 30 days, to provide information in response to a written request by the commissioner or advisory council; 
C. performed services of an occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant in an incompetent manner or in a manner 

that falls below the community standard of care; 
D. failed to satisfactorily perform occupational therapy services during a period of provisional registration; 
E. violated parts 4666.0010 to 4666.1400; 
F. failed to perform services with reasonable judgment, skill, or safety due to the use of alcohol or drugs, or other physical or 

mental impairment; 
G. been convicted of violating any state or federal law, rule, or regulation which directly relates to the practice of occupational 

therapy; 
H. aided or abetted another person in violating any provision of parts 4666.00 10 to 4666.1400; 
I. been disciplined for conduct in the practice of an occupation by the state of Minnesota, another jurisdiction, or a national 

professional association, if any of the grounds for discipline are the same or substantially equivalent to those in parts 4666.00 10 to 
4666. 1400; 

J. not cooperated with the commissioner or advisory council in an investigation conducted according to subpart 2; 
K. advertised in a manner that is false or misleading; 
L. engaged in dishonest, unethical, or unprofessional conduct in connection with the practice of occupational therapy that is 

likely to deceive, defraud, or harm the public; 
M. demonstrated a willful or careless disregard for the health, welfare, or safety of a client; 
N. performed medical diagnosis or provided treatment, other than occupational therapy, without being licensed to do so under 

the laws of this state; 
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0. paid or promised to pay a commission or part of a fee to any person who contacts the occupational therapist for consulta-

tion or sends patients to the occupational therapist for treatment; 

P. engaged in an incentive payment arrangement, other than that prohibited by item 0, that promotes occupational therapy 
overutilization, whereby the referring person or person who controls the availability of occupational therapy services to a client 
profits unreasonably as a result of client treatment; 

Q. engaged in abusive or fraudulent billing practices, including violations of federal Medicare and Medicaid laws, Food and 
Drug Administration regulations, or state medical assistance laws; 

R. obtained money, property, or services from a consumer through the use of undue influence, high pressure sales tactics, 
harassment, duress, deception, or fraud; 

S. performed services for a client who had no possibility of benefiting from the services; 

T. failed to refer a client for medical evaluation when appropriate or when a client indicated symptoms associated with dis-
eases that could be medically or surgically treated; 

U. engaged in conduct with a client that is sexual or may reasonably be interpreted by the client as sexual, or in any verbal 
behavior that is seductive or sexually demeaning to a patient; 

V. violated a federal or state court order, including a conciliation court judgment, or a disciplinary order issued by the com-
missioner, related to the individual's occupational therapy practice; or 

W. any other just cause related to the practice of occupational therapy. 

Subp. 2. Investigation of complaints. The commissioner, or the advisory council when authorized by the commissioner, may 
initiate an investigation upon receiving a complaint or other oral or written communication that alleges or implies that an individual 
has violated parts 4666.0010 to 4666.1400. In the receipt, investigation, and hearing of a complaint that alleges or implies an indi-
vidual has violated parts 4666.0010 to 4666.1400, the commissioner shall follow the procedures in Minnesota Statutes, section 
214.10. 

Subp. 3. Disciplinary actions. If the commissioner finds that an occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant should 
be disciplined according to subpart 1, the commissioner may take any one or more of the following actions: 

A. refuse to grant or renew registration; 

B. approve registration with conditions; 

C. revoke registration; 
D. suspend registration; 
E. any reasonable lesser action including, but not limited to, reprimand or restriction on registration; or 

F. any action authorized by statute. 
Subp. 4. Effect of specific disciplinary action on use of title. Upon notice from the commissioner denying registration renewal 

or upon notice that disciplinary actions have been imposed and the individual is no longer entitled to use the registered titles, the 
individual shall cease to use titles protected by parts 4666.0010 to 4666.1400 and shall cease to represent to the public that the indi-
vidual is registered by the commissioner. 

Subp. 5. Reinstatement requirements after disciplinary action. An individual who has had registration suspended may 
request and provide justification for reinstatement following the period of suspension specified by the commissioner. The require-
ments of parts 4666.0300 and 4666.0400 for renewing registration and any other conditions imposed with the suspension must be 
met before registration may be reinstated. 
4666.1400 OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY PRACTITIONERS A1)VISORY COUNCIL. 

Subpart 1. Membership. The commissioner shall appoint seven persons to an occupational therapy practitioners advisory 
council consisting of the following: 

A. Two public members, as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 214.02. The public members shall be either persons who 
have received occupational therapy services or family members of or caregivers to such persons. 

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. ike outs indicate 
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B. Two members who are occupational therapists and two occupational therapy assistants registered under parts 4666.0010 to 

4666.1400 each of whom is employed in a different practice area including, but not limited to, long-term care, school therapy, early 
intervention, administration, gerontology, industrial rehabilitation, cardiac rehabilitation, physical disability, pediatrics, mental 
health, home health, and hand therapy. Three of the four occupational therapy practitioners who serve on the advisoiy council must 
be currently, and for the three years preceding the appointment, engaged in the practice of occupational therapy or employed as an 
administrator or an instructor of an occupational therapy program. At least one of the four occupational therapy practitioners who 
serve on the advisory council must be employed in a rural area. 

C. One member who is a licensed or registered health care practitioner, or other credentialed practitioner, who works collabo-
ratively with occupational therapy practitioners. 

Subp. 2. Duties. At the commissioner's request, the advisory council shall: 
A. advise the commissioner regarding the occupational therapy practitioner registration standards; 
B. advise the commissioner on enforcement of parts 4666.0010 to 4666.1400; 
C. provide for distribution of information regarding occupational therapy practitioners registration standards; 
D. review applications and make recommendations to the commissioner on granting or denying registration or registration 

renewal; 
E. review reports of investigations relating to individuals and make recommendations to the commissioner as to whether reg-

istration should be denied or disciplinary action taken against the individual; and 
F. perform other duties authorized for advisory councils by Minnesota Statutes, chapter 214, as directed by the commissioner. 

Higher Education Services Office 
Proposed Permanent Rules Relating to Registration and Name Approval 
Notice of Intent to Adopt a Rule Without a Public Hearing Unless 25 or More Persons Request a Hearing, and 
Notice of Hearing if 25 or More Requests for Hearing Are Received 

Introduction. The Minnesota Higher Education Services Office intends to adopt permanent rules without a public hearing fol-
lowing the procedures set forth in the Administrative Procedure Act, Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.22 to 14.28. If, however, 25 or 
more persons submit a written request for a hearing on the rules within 30 days or by January 12, 1996, a public hearing will be held 
on January 31, 1996. To find out whether the rules will be adopted without a hearing or if the hearing will be held, you should 
contact the agency contact person after January 12, 1996 and before January 31, 1996. 

Agency Contact Person. Comments or questions on the rules and written requests for a public hearing on the rules must be sub-
mitted to: 

Mary Lou Dresbach 
Minnesota Higher Education Services Office 
400 Capitol Square Building 
550 Cedar Street 
St. Paul, MN 55101 
(612) 296-3974 
FAX: (612) 297-8880 

Subject of Rule and Statutory Authority. The proposed rules are about the registration of: 1) all private institutions operating 
in Minnesota which are non-profit, grant degrees, or use the terms "academy," "college," "institute," or "university" in their names; 
2) out-of-state public postsecondary institutions operating in Minnesota; and 3) for-profit institutions that provide continuing educa-
tion in Minnesota which is intended to allow individuals to maintain an occupational license. The proposed rules are amendments 
that change the registration fees and related costs charged to schools for institutional registration under this program; clarify that the 
institution's plan for preservation of student records must be submitted and implemented; specify that institutions must submit 
current materials and advertisements to the Higher Education Services Office; and explain the meaning of "registration" for pur-
poses of this program. The statutory authority to adopt these rules is Laws of Minnesota 1995, Chapter 212, Article 3, Section 9, to 
be codified as Minnesota Statutes Section 1 36A.Ol, Subdivisions 1 and 2 (1995 Supp.); and the authority to establish fees related to 
registration is in Laws of Minnesota 1995, Chapter 212, Article 3, Section 41, to be codified as Minnesota Statutes Section 1 36A.69 
(1995 Supp.). The proposed rule amendments are published below. 
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Comments. You have until 4:30 P.M. on January 12, 1996 to submit written comment in support of or in opposition to the pro-

posed rules or any part or subpart of the rules. Your comment must be in writing and received by the agency contact person by the 
due date. Comment is encouraged. Your comments should identify the portion of the proposed rules addressed, the reason for the 
comment, and any change proposed. 

Request for a Hearing. In addition to submitting comments, you may also request that a hearing be held on the rules. Your 
request for a public hearing must be in writing and must be received by the agency contact person by 4:30 P.M. on January 12, 
1996. Your written request for a public hearing must include your name, address, and telephone number. You are encouraged to 
identify the portion of the proposed rules which caused your request, the reason for the written request, and any changes you want 
made to the proposed rules. If 25 or more persons submit a written request for a hearing, a public hearing will be held unless a suf-
ficient number withdraw their requests in writing. 

Modifications. The proposed rules may be modified, either as a result of public comment or as a result of the rule hearing 
process. Modifications must not result in a substantial change in the proposed rules as attached and printed in the State Register and 
must be supported by data and views submitted to the agency or presented at the hearing. If the proposed rules affect you in any 
way, you are encouraged to participate in the rulemaking process. 

Cancellation of Hearing. The hearing scheduled for January 31, 1996 will be canceled if the agency does not receive requests 
from 25 or more persons that a hearing be held on the rules. If you requested a public hearing, the agency will notify you before the 
scheduled hearing whether or not the hearing will be held. You may also call the agency contact person at (612) 296-3974 after 
January 12, 1996 to find Out whether the hearing will be held. 

Notice of Hearing. If 25 or more persons submit written requests for a public hearing on the rules, a hearing will be held follow -
ing the procedures in Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.14 to 14.20 and Minnesota Rules, Parts 1400.0200 to 1400.1200. The hearing 
will be held on January 31, 1996 at the Veterans Services Building, 20 West 12th Street, 5th Floor Conference Room, St. Paul, MN 
55101 beginning at 9:00 A.M. and will continue until all interested persons have been heard. The hearing will continue, if neces-
sary, at additional times and places as determined during the hearing by the administrative law judge. The administrative law judge 
assigned to conduct the hearing is Richard C. Luis. Judge Luis can be reached at the Office of Administrative Hearings, 100 
Washington Square, Suite 1700, Minneapolis, MN 55401, (612) 349-2542. 

Hearing Procedure. If a hearing is held, you and all interested or affected persons, including representatives of associations or 
other interested groups, will have an opportunity to participate. You may present your views either orally at the hearing or in 
writing at any time prior to the close of the hearing record. All evidence presented should relate to the proposed rule amendments. 
You may also mail written material to the administrative law judge to be recorded in the hearing record for five working days after 
the public hearing ends. This five-day comment period may be extended for a longer period, not to exceed 20 calendar days, if 
ordered by the administrative law judge at the hearing. Comments received during this period will be available for review at the 
Office of Administrative Hearings. All interested and affected persons and the agency may respond in writing within five business 
days after the submission period ends to any new information submitted. All written materials or responses submitted to the admin-
istrative law judge must be RECEIVED at the Office of Administrative Hearings no later than 4:30 P.M. on the respective final 
days of the written comment or response periods. No additional evidence may be submitted during the five-day response period. 
This rule hearing procedure is governed by Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.14 to 14.20 and Minnesota Rules, Parts 1400.0200 to 
1400.1200. Questions about this procedure may be directed to the administrative law judge. 

Statement of Need and Reasonableness. Notice is hereby given that a statement of need and reasonableness is now available 
for review at the agency, through the agency contact person, and at the Office of Administrative Hearings. This statement of need 
and reasonableness includes a summary of all the evidence and argument which the agency anticipates presenting at the hearing, if 
one is held, justifying both the need for and the reasonableness of the proposed rules. Copies of the statement of need and reason-
ableness may be reviewed at the agency, through the agency contact person, or at the Office of Admistrative Hearings. Copies may 
be obtained from the Office of Administrative Hearings at the cost of reproduction. 

Lobbyist Registration. Minnesota Statutes, chapter bA, requires each lobbyist to register with the Ethical Practices Board. 
Questions regarding this requirement may be directed to the Ethical Practices Board at the Centennial Office Building, 1st floor, 
658 Cedar Street, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155, (612) 296-5148. 

Adoption Procedure if No Hearing. If no hearing is required, after the end of the comment period the agency may adopt the 
rules. The rules and supporting documents will then be submitted to the attorney general for review as to the legality and form to 
the extent form relates to legality. You may request to be notified of the date the rules are submitted to the attorney general or be 
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notified of the attorney general's decision on the rules. If you want to be so notified, or wish to receive a copy of the adopted rules, 
submit your request to the agency contact person listed above. 

Adoption Procedure after the Hearing. Notice: If a hearing is held, after the close of the hearing record, the administrative law 
judge will issue a report on the proposed rules. Any person may request to be notified of the date on which the administrative law 
judge's report will be available, after which date the agency may not take any final action on the rules for a period of five working 
days. If you want to be notified about the report, you may so indicate at the hearing. After the hearing, you may request notification 
by sending a written request to the administrative law judge. Any person may also request notification of the date on which the 
rules were adopted and filed with the Secretary of State. The agency's notice of adoption must be mailed on the same day that the 
rules are filed. If you want to be notified of the adoption, you may so indicate at the hearing or send a request in writing to the 
agency contact person at any time prior to the filing of the rules with the Secretary of State. 

Dated: 27 November 1995 
Joseph P. Graba 
Interim Director 

Rules as Proposed 
4840.0100 DEFINITIONS. 

[For text of subps 1 and 2, see M.R.J 
Subp. 3. School. "School" means: 

A. an individual, partnership, company, firm, society, trust, association, corporation, or any combination thereof operating or 
doing business in Minnesota unless otherwise exempt pursuant  Minnesota Statutes. sections 1 36A.653 and I 36A.657.  which: 

[For text of subitems (1) to (4), see M.R.] 
[For text of item B, see M.R.] 

4840.0300 WHO MUST REGISTER. 
All schools shall register annually with the Higher Education Coordinating Board Services Office. Annually the beard The office 

shall adept by rcolution maintain and publish a list of registered schools. A school need net be apprnved te be rcgistcrcd. 
4840.0400 REQUIREMENTS FOR REGISTRATION. 

Subpart 1. Registration  fees g4 related  
A. The fees for initial rcgitration and for annual rcncwal are as authorized by Minnesota Staxutas, cction I 36A.69. The Fees 

are not refundable. 
B. A  $550  f.  shall accompany each initial registration application.  

L A $400  f. thii accompany each annual renewal registration application.  
.. Applications for renewal  f2  g registration received after the deadline date specified in the renewal materials provided  

th office are subject a ] f. equal 	Q  percent  i  annual registration renewal  
.. A school shall reimburse the beard office for reasonable actual costs associated with a site evaluation visit outside 

Minnesota if the visit is necessary under subpart 3 and Minnesota Statutes, section 1 36A.64, subdivision 1. 
Subp. 2. Plan to preserve permanent records. Each school shall maintain permanent records for all students enrolled at any 

time. Records include school transcripts, documents, and files containing student data relating to academic credits earned, courses 
completed, grades awarded, degrees awarded, and periods of attendance. 

A. To preserve permanent records, a school shall submit and imolement a plan which meets all of the following: 
(1) at least one copy of the records held in a secure depository; 
(2) an appropriate official designated to provide a student with official copies of records or official transcripts upon 

request; 
(3) a method, acceptable to the beard Qffi,  of complying with subitems (1) and (2) for at least 50 years from the day the 

school ceases to exist; and 
(4) if the school has no binding agreement for preserving and providing official copies of student records under this item, 

a continuous surety bond in an amount not to exceed $20,000. 
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B. When a school decides to cease postsecondary education operations, it must inform the beard ftj of the following: 

[For text of subitems (1) to (4), see M.R.] 

Subp. 3. Information. Each school shall submit the following information accompanied by an affidavit attesting to its accuracy 
and truthfulness: 

[For text of items A to D, see M.R.] 

E. all current promotional and recruitment materials and advertisements; 

F. the current school catalog and, if not contained in the catalog: 
[For text of subitems (1) to (10), see M.R.] 

(11) the school's policy policies about student admission, evaluation, suspension, and dismissal. 

Subp. 4. Additional information. If the beard office is unable to determine the nature and activities of a school on the basis of 
the information in subpart 3, the beard Qffj  shall notify the school of additional information needed. 

Subp. 5. Verification of information. The beard ffli  may verify the accuracy of submitted information by inspection, visita-
tion, or any other means it considers necessary 

Subp. 6. Public information. All information submitted to the beard iffi  is public information except financial records and 
information. The beard office may disclose financial records or information to defend its decision to approve or disapprove grant-
ing of degrees or the use of a name or its decisions to revoke such approval at a hearing under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 14, or 
other legal proceedings. 

Subp. 7. Unauthorized representations. No school or any of its officials or employees shall advertise or represent in any 
manner that a school is approved or accredited by the beard office or the state of Minnesota. A school may represent that it is reg-
istered with the beard office by using the following language: "(Name of school) is registered with the Minnesota Higher 
Education Coordinating Board Services Office. Registration means  thai th school jjg jjj,  information  with the Higher Education  
Services Offices  jncluding a protect student records. Registration is not an endorsement of the institution. Registration ees 
net mean that Credits earned at the institution can be tramfcrred may  nQi transfer to all other institutions er that the quality ef The 
educational programs would may not meet the tnndard gig  of every swdent educational imtitution, or employer." 

4840.0500 APPROVAL OF NAMES AND DEGREES. 
Subpart 1. In general. A school must be registered if it uses the term "academy," "institute," "college," or "university" in its 

name or if it grants a degree to a student in Minnesota, where the student has not left Minnesota for the major portion of the program 
or course leading to the degree. It also must substantially meet the criteria in subpart 2. In addition, it must meet the requirements 
in subparts 4 and 5, as applicable. The beard QfijQ  shall maintain and publish a list of the schools approved to use regulated terms 
in their names and a list of schools approved to grant degrees with a list of the approved specified degrees. 

[For text of subp 2, see M.R.] 

Subp. 3. [See repealer.] 
[For text of subps 4 to 6, see M.R.] 

Subp. 7. Conditional approval. The beard office may grant conditional approval for a degree or use of a term in its name for a 
period of less than one year if doing so would be in the best interests of currently enrolled students or prospective students. 

Subp. 8. [See repealer.] 
4840.0600 DISAPPROVAL AND APPEAL. 

If a school's degree or use of a term in its name is disapproved by the beard office, the school may request a hearing under 
Minnesota Statutes, chapter 14. The request must be in writing and made to the beard ffj  within 30 days of the date the school is 
notified of the disapproval. 
4840.0700 WITHDRAWAL OF APPROVAL. 

Subpart 1. Notice and hearing. The beard office may refuse to renew, revoke, or suspend approval of a school's degree or use 
of a regulated term in its name by giving written notice and reasons to the school. The school may request a hearing under 
Minnesota Statutes, chapter 14. If a hearing is requested, no disapproval shall take effect until after the hearing. 
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Subp. 2. Reasons for withdrawal. Withdrawal of approval may be for one or more of the following reasons: 

A. violating the provisions of this chaøter  or Minnesota Statutes, sections 1 36A.61 to 136A.71 or this chapter; 
B. providing false, misleading, or incomplete information to the boerd Q; 
C. presenting to prospective students information about the school which is false, fraudulent, misleading, deceptive, or inac-

curate in a material respect; or 
D. refusing to allow reasonable inspection or to supply reasonable information after a written request by the beard office  has 

been received. 
4840.0900 SCHOOLS LICENSED BY ANOTHER AGENCY OR DEPARTMENT. 

The beard Q[j  shall accept as final and not inquire into the substantive basis for a license granted to a school by any agency or 
department of the state or any other state. 
4840.1100 VOLUNTARY COMPLIANCE. 

A school or educational program which is exempt under Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.653 is exempt from parts 4840.0100 
to 4840.1000 4840.0900  but may voluntarily waive its exemption by registering. Upon registration the school or educational 
program is subject to all applicable requirements of parts 4840.0100  IQ  4840.0900  and Minnesota Statutes, sections 136A.6l to 
136A.7l ai,4 parts 4840.0100 to 4840.1000. 
REPEALER. Minnesota Rules,  parts 4840.0500. subparts  3 and & 4840.0800: and 4840.1000. are repealed.  

Pollution Control Agency 
Proposed Permanent Rules Relating to Air Quality 
DUAL NOTICE 
Notice of Intent to Adopt Rules Without a Public Hearing Unless 25 or More Persons Request a Hearing, 
and 
Notice of Hearing if 25 or More Requests for Hearing are Received 

Introduction: The Minnesota Pollution Control Agency (MPCA) intends to adopt a permanent rule without a public hearing fol-
lowing the procedures set forth in the Administrative Procedure Act, Minnesota Statutes § 14.22 to 14.28. If however, 25 or more 
persons submit a written request for a hearing on the proposed rule by January 11, 1996, a public hearing will be held at the date and 
location as follows: 

DATE 	 PLACE 	 TIME 
February 8, 1996 	 Minnesota Pollution Control Agency 	8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. 

Board Room-Lower Level 
520 Lafayette Road North 
St. Paul, Minnesota 55155 

To find Out weather the rule will be adopted without a hearing or if the hearing will be held, you should contact Mike Mondloch 
at the address below after January 11, 1996, and before February 8, 1996. 

Contact Person: Comments or questions on the proposed rule and written requests for a public hearing on the rule must be submitted to: 
Mike Mondloch 
Minnesota Pollution Control Agency 
Air Quality Division 
520 Lafayette Road North 
St. Paul, Minnesota 55155 
Telephone: (612) 297-5847 
Fax: (612) 297-8701 

Subject of Rule and Statutory Authority: The MPCA is proposing to adopt rule revisions governing Air Emission Permit Fees 
and Air Emission Fees for Sources with Registration Permits; Air Quality Division Definitions and Abbreviations; Air Emission 
Permits; Permit Contents; Shutdown and Breakdown Notification Requirements; and Emission Inventory Reporting Requirements. 

The current Air Emission Fees and Emission Inventory rules became effective July 1, 1992. The rules were intended to fund the 
Air Quality Division in accordance with the Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990 and Minnesota Statutes § 116.07, subd. 'Id. In the 
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proposed Interim Approval of Minnesota's Operating Permit Program (Federal Register, September 13, 1994, pages 46948 to 
46951), the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) commented that Minnesota's rules do not collect the minimum $25 per 
ton of "regulated pollutant (for presumptive fee collection)." The proposed revisions incorporated into this rulemaking are 
intended, in part, to address EPA's comments. 

The Air Emission Permit Fees and Emission Inventory rules also need to be amended to accommodate the recently adopted 
(December 26, 1994) amendments to the permitting rules that created a new type of state permit. These permits, called registration 
permits, are intended to simplify permitting and compliance demonstration procedures for qualifying facilities. The target group for 
these permits is small businesses or businesses with low actual emissions. The preparation of an emission inventory can be diffi-
cult, particularly for a facility without an experienced environmental staff. The proposed revisions simplify the emission inventory 
reporting requirements for facilities that obtain a registration permit. 

Additionally, several other minor amendments are needed to clarify and update the air emission permit fees, emission inventory, 
insignificant activities, and shutdown and breakdown notification rules. For a more detailed discussion of these topics, please see 
the Statement of Need and Reasonableness (SONAR). 
• Minnesota Statutes § 116.07, subd. 4 provides general authority to adopt, amend, and rescind rules for the prevention, abatement, 
or control of air pollutants. Minnesota Statutes § 116.07, subd. 4d(a)-(e) provides the authority to collect fees for permitting and air 
emissions fees. The MPCA has authority to require emission inventories under Minnesota Statutes § 116.07, subd. 9(b). The 
changes to the MPCA's permitting requirements fall within the MPCA's general permitting authority located under Minnesota 
Statutes § 116.07, subd. 4a. Under these statutes, the MPCA has the necessary authority to adopt the proposed rule amendments. A 
copy of the proposed rule is published immediately after this notice. 

Comments: You have until 4:30 p.m. on January 11, 1996, to submit written comments in support of or in opposition to the pro-
posed new rules or any part or subpart of the rules. Your comments must be in writing and received by Mike Mondloch by the due 
date. Comment is encouraged. Your comments should identify the portion of the proposed rules addressed, the reason for the 
comment, and any proposed change. 

Request for a Hearing: In addition to submitting comments, you may also request that a hearing be held on the rules. Your 
request for a public hearing must be in writing and must be received by Mike Mondloch by 4:30 p.m. on January 11, 1996. Your 
written request for a public hearing must include your name, address, and telephone number. You are encouraged to identify the 
portion of the proposed rules which caused your request, the reason for the request, and any changes you want made to the proposed 
rules. If 25 or more persons submit a written request for a hearing, a public hearing will be held unless a sufficient number with-
draw their requests in writing. 

Modifications: The proposed rules may be modified, either as a result of public comment or as a result of the rule hearing 
process. Modifications must not result in a substantial change in the proposed rules as printed in the State Register and must be sup-
ported by data and views submitted to the MPCA or presented at the hearing. If the proposed rules affects you in any way, you are 
encouraged to participate in the rulemaking process. 

Cancellation of Hearing: The hearing scheduled for February 8, 1996, will be canceled if the MPCA does not receive requests 
from 25 or more persons that a hearing be held on the rules. To find out whether the hearing will be held, you should contact Mike 
Mondloch after January 11, 1996, and before February 8, 1996. 

Notice of Hearing: If 25 or more persons submit written requests for a public hearing on the rules, a hearing will be held fol-
lowing the procedures in Minnesota Statutes § 14.14 to 14.20. The hearing will be held on the following date in the following 
location: 

DATE 
February 8, 1996 

PLACE 
Minnesota Pollution Control Agency 
Board Room-Lower Level 
520 Lafayette Road North 
St. Paul, Minnesota 55155 

TIME 
8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. 

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. S'ike ei*ts indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material;7' ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strikc eats indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 
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The hearing will continue at the designated location until all interested persons have been heard. The hearing will continue, if 

necessary, at additional times and places as determined during the hearing by the administrative law judge. The administrative law 
judge assigned to conduct the hearing is Judge Steve Mihalchick. Judge Mihalchick can be reached at: 

Minnesota Office of Administrative Hearings 
Suite 1700 
100 Washington Square Building 
Minneapolis, Minnesota 55401-2138 
Phone: (612) 349-2511 

Hearing Procedure: If a hearing is held, you and all interested or affected persons including representatives of associations or 
other interested groups will have an opportunity to participate. You may present your views either orally at the hearing or in writing 
at any time prior to the close of the hearing record. All evidence presented should relate to the proposed rule. You may also mail 
written material to the administrative law judge to be recorded in the hearing record for five working days after the public hearing 
ends. The five-day comment period may be extended for a longer period not to exceed 20 calendar days if ordered by the adminis-
trative law judge at the hearing. Comments received during this period will be available for review at the Office of Administrative 
Hearings. You and the MJCA may respond in writing within five working days after the submission period ends to any new infor -
mation submitted. No additional evidence may be submitted during the five-day period. All written materials and responses sub-
mitted to the administrative law judge must be received at the Office of Administrative Hearings no later than 4:30 p.m. on the due 
date. This rule hearing procedure is governed by Minnesota Statutes §* 14.14 to 14.20 and Minnesota Rules 1400.0200 to 
1400.1200. Questions about procedure may be directed to the administrative law judge. 

Statement of Need and Reasonableness: Notice is hereby given that a SONAR is now available for review at the MPCA and at 
the Office of Administrative Hearings. This SONAR includes a summary of all evidence and arguments which the MPCA antici-
pates presenting at the hearing justifying both the need for and reasonableness of the proposed rules. Copies of the SONAR may be 
reviewed at the MPCA or at the Office of Administrative Hearings and copies may be obtained from the Office of Administrative 
Hearings at the cost of reproduction. 

Small Business Considerations: Minnesota Statutes § 14.115, subd. 2, requires the MPCA when proposing rules which may 
affect small business to consider methods for reducing the impact on small business. The proposed rules may affect small busi-
nesses as defined in Minnesota Statutes § 14.115. 

The proposed revisions to the emission inventory and fee rules are intended to simplify the process of submitting an emission inventory 
for these facilities and to reduce the cost of preparing the emission inventory. Without the proposed revisions, small businesses would be 
subject to the same emission inventory and fee requirements as larger businesses. The current emission inventory requirements can be dif-
ficult to comply with and do not take advantage of some of the record keeping requirements of the air emission permitting rules. 

There are three areas in which the proposed rules reduce the burden on small businesses: (1) the proposed revisions reduce the 
emission inventory requirements for facilities that obtain an option B, C, or D registration permit; (2) facilities that obtain an option 
B registration permit have the option of paying an annual fee based on an emission inventory submitted by the facility or paying a 
stepped fee based on an estimated emissions from a typical facility VOC-containing materials; (3) newly permitted facilities will be 
based on the estimated actual emissions from a facility instead of a flat fee of $770 which will result in the majority of newly per-
mitted facilities paying much less than $770. 

Consideration of Economic Factors: In exercising its powers, the MPCA is required by Minnesota Statutes § 116.07, subd. 6, 
to give due consideration to economic factors. 

The MPCA has identified two areas in which the proposed revisions will or could result in an increase in the air emission fee paid 
by facilities. These areas are: (1) an increase in the total quantity of pollutants included in the calculation of the target fee by eight 
to ten percent which will increase the dollar per ton figure by eight to ten percent; and (2) reducing the assumed capture efficiency 
of hoods from 100 to 80 or 60 percent for hood systems used to capture VOC emissions. 

For fiscal year 1994 (the year on which the financial impact numbers are based) there were approximately 1,000 facilities in the 
emission inventory system. Of this, 100 facilities paid over 90 percent of the target fee. Under the proposed revisions, these facili-
ties would see an average fee increase of approximately $6,000. The remaining 900 facilities would see an average fee increase of 
approximately $55. 

Facilities that have claimed a capture efficiency of 100 percent for their hood system will see an increase in the amount of pollu-
tant(s) reported in their emission inventory because of the reduced capture efficiency of the hood (the pollutants not captured are 
fugitive emissions and must be reported as such). This will increase the facilities' fees by approximately 25 to 67 percent. It is,also 
unknown how many facilities have assumed that their hood systems have a capture efficiency of 100 percent. 
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Impact on Agricultural Land and Farming Operations: Minnesota Statutes § 14.11, subd. 2, requires that if an agency that 

proposes adoption of a rule determines that the rule may have a "direct and substantial adverse impact" on agricultural land in 
Minnesota, the agency shall comply with the requirements of section 17.83 and 17.84. Minnesota Statutes § 116.07, subd. 4, 
requires that if a proposed rule affects farming operations, the MPCA must provide a copy of the proposed rule and a statement of 
the effect of the proposed rule on farming operations to the Commissioner of Agriculture for review and comment. The MPCA 
does not believe that this rule will have an adverse impact on agricultural land or farming operations. 

Expenditure of Public Money by Local Bodies: Minnesota Statues § 14.11, subd. I requires the MPCA to consider the impacts 
of proposed rules on local public bodies if the estimated total cost exceeds $100,000 in either of the two years immediately after 
adoption of the rule. The MPCA estimates that the proposed revisions would increase the annual fees paid by all public bodies 
(combined) by less than $30,000 annually. Therefore, the provisions of Minnesota Statutes § 14.11, subd. 1 do not apply. 

Review by Commissioner of Transportation: Minnesota Statutes § 174.05 requires the MPCA to inform the Commissioner of 
Transportation of all rulemakings that concern transportation, and requires the Commissioner of Transportation to prepare a written 
review of the rules. This requirement does not apply because this rulemaking does not affect transportation. 

Lobbyist Registration: Minnesota Statutes chapter lOA (1994) requires each lobbyist to register with the Ethical Practices 
Board. Questions regarding this requirement may be directed to the Ethical Practices Board at the following address: 

Ethical Practices Board 
First Floor South 
Centennial Office Building 
658 Cedar Street 
St. Paul, Minnesota 55155 
Phone: (612) 296-5148 

Adoption Procedure if No Hearing: If no hearing is required after the end of the comment period, the MPCA may adopt the 
rules. The rules and supporting documents will then be submitted to the attorney general for review as to legality and form to the 
extent form relates to legality. You may request to be notified of the date the rules are submitted to the attorney general or be noti-
fied of the attorney general's decision on the rules. If you want to be so notified, or want to receive a copy of the adopted rules, 
submit your request to Mike Mondloch at the address listed in this notice. 

Adoption Procedure After the Hearing: If a hearing is held, the administrative law judge will issue a report on the proposed 
rules after the closing of the hearing record. 

Notice: Any person may request notification of the date on which the administrative law judge's report will be available, after which 
date the MPCA may not take any final action on the rules for a period of five working days. If you desire to be so notified, you may so 
indicate at the hearing. After the hearing, you may request notification by sending a written request to the administrative law Judge. 
You may request notification of the date on which the rules were adopted and filed with the Secretaiy of State. The notice must be 
mailed on the same day that the rules are filed. If you want to be so notified you may so indicate at the hearing or send a request in 
writing to Mike Mondloch at the address listed in this notice any time prior to the filing of the rule with the Secretaiy of State. 

Charles W. Williams 
Commissioner 

Public Notice and Opportunity to Comment on Proposed Revisions to Minnesota's State Implementation Plan to 
Incorporate Rule Amendments Governing Air Quality Rules, Minnesota Rules Chapters 7002, 7005, 7007 and 7019 

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN, that the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency (MPCA) is proposing to adopt amendments gov-
erning air emission fees and emission inventories. The current rules became effective July 1, 1992. The rules were intended to fund 
the Air Quality Division in accordance with the Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990 and Minnesota Statutes § 116.07, subd. 4d. In 
the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's (EPA) proposed Interim Approval of Minnesota's Operating Permit Program, pub-
lished in the Federal Register on September 13, 1994, EPA commented that Minnesota's Rules do not collect the minimum $25 per 
ton of "regulated pollutant (for presumptive fee collection)." The proposed revisions are intended, in part, to address EPA's com-
ments. Minnesota also recently adopted new permitting rules intended to simplify the permitting process. That rulemaldng intro-
duced registration permits. The proposed revisions to the air emission fees and emission inventory rules accommodate registration 
permits. The proposed revisions also amend other parts of Minnesota Rules governing air quality. 

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. Strike eits indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining  indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike euts indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 

(CITE 20 S.R. 1361) 
	

State Register, Monday 11 December 1995 
	

PAGE 1361 



Proposed Rules 	
A copy of the State Implementation Plan (SIP) revision will be available for inspection at the MPCA offices in St. Paul at 520 

Lafayette Road North, 1st Floor, Air Quality Division, between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday. 
Written comments concerning the SIP will be accepted until 4:30 p.m. January 11, 1996 and should be sent to: 

Susan Mitchell 
Air Quality Division 
Minnesota Pollution Control Agency 
520 Lafayette Road North 
St. Paul, Minnesota 55155 
Telephone (612) 297-3082 

The public is hereby notified that the proposed amendments will be brought before a public hearing if anyone requests a public 
hearing during the public comment period. Persons who wish to request a public hearing concerning the proposed amendments 
should contact Ms. Mitchell at (612) 297-3087 or submit a written request by 4:30 p.m. January 11, 1996. Your written request 
must include your name and address. If no one requests a public hearing, the MPCA Board will make the final decision on this SIP 
submittal. 

Charles W. Williams 
Commissioner 

Rules as Proposed 

7002.0015 DEFINITIONS. 
[For text of subpart 1, see M.R.] 

Subp. 2. [See repealer.] 

	

Subp. 	Chargeable pollutant. "Chargeable pollutant" means  the following:  
. nitrogen oxides (NOfl  or any volatile organic compound  and 

B. PM-b. sulfur  dioxide, lead, 	gj 	thr pollutant  for j.jçj a national ambient  air quality standard  has been promul- 
gated, except carbon monoxide.  

	

Subp. 	Dollar per ton figure or $X. "Dollar 	iij  figure" "$X" means  th dollar amount assessed  f.ir ash a Qf 
chargeable pollutant determined  under pi  7002.0045.  

[For text of subp 3, see M.R.] 

	

Subp. 	Emission reporting facility. "Emission renorting facility" means  gj facility  for which the owner  or operator  of the 
facility  must obtain an gjj emission permit  nr chapter  1Q11 except  gjj facility permitted  under pI 7007.1120, registration  
permit  option 

Subp. 4. [See repealer.] 
7002.0025 ANNUAL EMISSION FEE RATES. 

Subpart 1. Calculation of fee. 
A. Owners  r operators of affcctcd emission reporting  facilities shall pay be assesse4  an annual emission fee for each ton of a 

rcgulatcd chargeable  pollutant emitted to the air by the facility. The fee sball be based en the actual emicion tonnagc as estab-
lished in the meet recent available Emission inventory. The fees reportin,g facilities  shall be assessed  a fee of $X for each ton of any 
rcgulatcd chargeable  pollutant as established  in the most recently, available emission inventory.  che 'e4ee ef is as dctcrmincd 
in part 7002.0015.  

.. Notwithstanding  item 	the owner  or operator  of any emission reporting facility  or 	facility issued  an option  B regis- 
tration permit 	p 7007.1120  that chooses  to be assessed  a fee 	pji 7002.0025. suboart  L 	subitem  flj 
than  one 	çf total  actual emissions shalt assessed  an annual  f. iif $25.  

	

C.. 	described  in subitems 	and  I2) th owner operator  sf facility issued  an option registration permit  iin_r U1i 
7007.1120  shall be assessed  an annual emission  fee ka 	j.ther th reported quantity  of VOC-containing materials purchased  or 
used fwhichever  was stated  in the facility's permit application  or the actual emissions  from the use of VOC-containing materials.  

	

LU If the owner or operator chooses  to be assessed  the fee 	th gflj emissions  from the use of VOC-containing 
materials,  the facility's actual emissions, shall  b determined  in accordance  with pj 7019.3000  to 7019.3090.  Il assessed  fee 
iill be determined  in accordance  with item A. 

	

I2 If th owner  or operator chooses  to be assessed  the fee 	f quantity  of VOC-containing materials purchased  
used (whichever  was stated  in the facility's permit application),  the fee shall be: 
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if the quantity  of VOC-containing materials  is less than or equal  to 1.000 gallons.  or 

$140  if the quantity  of VOC-containing materials  is more than 1.000  and less than 2QQ gallons. 

 Subp. 2. [See repealer.] 
Subp.  ag.. Newly permitted facilities. 

A. Newly permitted emission reporting facilities  that have not submitted  one or more emission inventories under  p 
7019.3000. subpart  L  hall 	assessed  g f. 	tjnis th estimated  nflini  emissions  as stated  in fli facility's permit application.  
The  f assessed 	iii jjn hll 	exceed $ 10.000.  The most recently determined 	alifl 	in determining  the fee. 

fl... Newly permitted facilities  issued an option  B registration permit under  pail  7007.1120  shall be assessed  a fee under 
subpart  .L jp . subitem  2L based on the estimated  normal annual quantity  of VOC-containing materials  to purchased  used 
(whichever was stated  in th facility's permit application.  

A bill 	newly permitted facility  fee nnsii iJm A 	hall  b sent upon issuance  of the permit. Newly permitted  
jacilities  that are issued permits  in 1995  gfl b assessed  a fee according  to the method described  in this subpart.  

Subp. 3. Estimated potential to emit Facilities failing  to submit emissions  inventories.  If an emission reporting  facility fails 
to submit actual g emissions data inventory  as required by part 7019.2000, subpart 4 or 7019.3000, whichever is ia effcct wbeo the 
inventory ta dae the IL shalIk assessed  an annual emission fee for that facility sl*aIl be based e that times 1-1/2 times  the 
estimated potcntial to emit of that facility, as dcfined m pert 7005.0100, rubpart a actual emissions  as stated in th facility's  
permit application. 

ii thn owner j operator  of a facility  i!ai j required  to obtain  a permit  nr chapter  2Q2 	p submitted  a permit application  
which jncludes 	estimate  f tha actual emissions,  it shall 	assessed  an annual f. th 	times 1-1/2 times  tha estimated  
potential  to emit of that facility,  as defined  in paji  7005.0100, subpart  g. 

jf facility issued  an option  B registration permit  fails  submit an emission inventory,  it shall be assessed  an annual fan f $210.  

7002.0035 AiR QUALITY ANNUAL FEE TARGET. 
The annual fee target shall be set as described in items A B and G 

A. Per fiseal year 1993,  the unadjusted fee target sha4 be $5,093,000. 
B Per fiseal year 4.994 and thereafter, The unadjusted fee target shall be the greater of the following: 

[For text of subitem (1), see M.R.] 
(2) the amount calculated by multiplying $25 per ton, adjusted for inflation since 1989, times the number of tons of paj 

ticulate matter  and each regulated chargeable  pollutant listed in the most recent recently  available emission inventory. PM-10  shall 
be double counted  g a chargeable pollutant  and g particulate matter.  A maximum of 4,000 tons per pollutant per facility shall 

be used for this calculation. The adjustment for inflation shall be in accordance with the adjustment described by the United 4ates 
Environmental Protection Agency is rulc& adopted under title of the federal Glean Air Mt Amcndmentu of 4.990 Public Iaw 
Number 101 519,  Statutes at Large, volume 4G4. pages 2399, et seq in Minnesota Statutes. Section 116.07, subdivision  4i1. para 
graph  . 

. The amounts described in items itnin  A end r must be adjusted as follows: 
[For text of subitems (1) and (2), see M.R.] 

(3) for any year, the commissioner may increase the fee target by up to five percent to reflect the anticipated fee nonpay-
ment rate. This increase must not be considered for purposes of calculating a deficit or urpIu under ubitcm3 subitem  (1) and 2). 

7002.0045 COMPUTATION OF THE DOLLAR PER TON FIGURE. 
The dollar per ton figure "X 	used in part 7002.0025 shall be computed as follows: 

xx=(P-i-p3cLE:ll+P+R+($25 N')11/(T - L) 
where: 
X 	= Do1lar Dollar amount  per ton figure.  

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining  indicates additions to existing rule language. Strike eats indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining  indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike eats indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 
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F = Total annual fee target, as determined in this part 7002.0035. 
I = Total amount to be billed as indirect source permit fees fec in the previous calendar year;  jjr part 7002.0055. 
P = Total amount te be billed as new permit newly permitted facility fees fec In the previous calendar year;  ir part 7002.0025, 

subpart 2 2n. 
= Total amount 	billed under p 7002.0025. subpart 1. itrn . subitem 2),I optiofl registration  permit  annual emis- 

sion f.g based g 	quantity of VOC-containing materials purchased or used. 
= isti number of emission reporting facilities and facilities issued option B registration permits that are assessed an annual  

emission fee gggi emissions under 7002.0025, subpart L iirn . subitem ff. less than one ton of total actual 
emissions  Qf chargeable pollutants.  

T = Total number of tons of all regulated chargeable pollutants and particulate matter, not including PM-b. listed in the most 
rcccnt recently available annual emissions inventory emitted  frrn emission reporting facilities and facilities issued option B regis-
tration permits that are assessed an annual emission fee actual emissions under pg 7002.0025. subpart  L subitem  
In. 

Total pumber f tons  cf nil chargeable pollutants and particulate matter, 	including M-l0, listed in th most recently  
available annual emission inventory emitted  frn emission reporting facilities and facilities issued option B registration permits 
Ilini gj assessed an annual emission fee 	g gfli  emissions under 	7002.0025, subpart  1.. 	subitem  LL 
less IIj one 	c^f total actual emissions  f chargeable pollutants and particulate jnatter,  n^ including PM- 10.  
7002.0055 INDIRECT SOURCE PERMIT FEES. 

[For text of subpart 1, see M.R.I 
Subp. 2. Fees nonrefundable. The fees in subpart I shall be determined by the division manager upon application for an indi-

rect source permit, or when it becomes apparent that a surcharge shall apply. A bill for the amount due shall be sent after January 4- 
of the following calendar year upon withdrawal of the permit application or issuance or denial of th permit. Fees paid under this 
part are nonrefundable, regardless of whether a permit is eventually issued. 

Subp. 3. Minor changes. The amendment of a permit application during the application review process shall be considered 
minor for purposes of this part if it would have been considered a minor modification under part 7001.1350 7023.9050 or if an 
agency approved trip analysis shows that the change would not increase vehicle trips in any intersection in any hour by 100 trips or 
more. 
7002.0065 PAYMENT OF FEES. 

A Fees, assessed under parts 7002.0025 and 7002.0055 shall b paid within 60 days of receipt  f gj invoice fin th division  
manager. person submitting the fee shall make it payable to the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency, and shall submit it to the 
division manager. The fee sliol4 be paid within 60 days of receipt of an invoice from the divition manager. 
7002.0075 NOTiFICATION OF ERROR. 

A person 	owner or operator who thinks that the assessed annual emission fee is in error shall provide a written explanation of 
the person's position to the commissioner along with within days  Qf  receipt  Qf3  invoice  j.r inn jpn in yat in 
which the f. was assessed, whichever is later. An owner or operator who, thinks that an error exists in emissions inventory data 
shall submit an explanation the February 1 following the yg in which the inventory is due in accordance with pg 7019.3000, 
subpart 2. The assessed fee shall pgj g required  in pjj 7002.0065. The commissioner shall, within 60 days of the receipt of 
the person's written explanation, either provide a written explanation of why the fee was not in error and shall not be refunded, or, 
if the commissioner finds that the assessed fee was in error, the overpayment shall be refunded to the person or credited to the per-
son's account. 
7002.0085 LATE PAYMENT FEE. 

An owner or operator of an affcctcd facility subject one 	fees  unsl pg 7002.0005 to 7002.0055 shall pay a late 
payment fee of 20 	percent of the payment due for failure to make payment p g assessed fee within 30 Q days of the payment 
due date; and shaM pay receipt of an invoice  frj 	division manager. At 30-day intervals thereafter, the owner or operator jjgjj 
be assessed an additional ten percent of the original payment due fec eaeh additional f^^r failure  j p in assessed fee within thni 
30-day period that the payment is late. Jj j 	g 	upon receipt of an invoice  frrn Ii division manager.  
7005.0100 DEFINITIONS. 

[For text of subps I to 9a, see M.R.] 
Subp. 	Efficiency factor. "Efficiency factor" means:  

A. in control efficiency listed in pg 7011.0070. subpart  LinkA. 
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.. notwithstanding item 	where no control efficiency is listed for a control equipment 	n 	7011.0070. subpart 1.. 

table 	where the commissioner  hp  determined that a more representative control efficiency  j  available under  thj  item, effi- 
ciency factor means a control efficiency developed approved  bk  the commissioner and derived, Yrom th following sources:  

U.) 	, publications including, bi nQI limited  t Locating and Estimating documents, Control Technology Centet doc- 
uments, the preamble and background information documents for New Source Performance Standards or National Emission  
Standards,  f^^i  Hazardous  Au: Follutants  an Compilation f Aui  Pollutant Emission Factors (AP-42. United State nvironmental 
Protection Agency. Office of Air Ouality Planning and Standards, Research Triangle Park, Carolina 27711, 1993, which 
is incorporated reference and is available through the State Law Library.  Jii publication is subject to frequent change; 

12) EA databases and computer programs; 

2) engineering publications; 

14.) performance test data from the same or a similar unit at the same 	similar facility: or 

) manufacturer's performance tests. 
.. The commissioner shall develop or approve an efficiency factor under item B using  b engineering judgment and based 

g Qfl or more f the following considerations:  

LU th precision and accuracy of the data; 

12) th similarity between the control equipment and emission units, tested 	the control equipment gg emission units 
to which 	efficiency factor is to be applied; 

LU 	number of llfljts 	in developing the efficiency factor under consideration; 

14.) th availability of data of eaual or greater quality; 
contro' equipment and emission unit operating conditions under which 	 conducted: and 

f) the data analysis procedures.  
[For text of subps 10 and lOb, see M.R.] 

Subp. lOc. [See repealer.] 
Subp. lOd. [See repealer.] 

[For text of subps 11 to 45, see M.R.] 
7007.0150 PERMIT REQUIRED. 

[For text of subps ito 3, see M.R.1 
Subp. 4. Calculation of potential to emit. 

A. For purposes of parts 7007.0200 and 7007.0250, the owner or operator of a stationary source shall calculate the stationary 
source's potential to emit using the definition in part 7005.0100, subpart 35a, except as provided in subitems (1) and (2). 

(1) Emissions caused by activities described in subpart 2 of the insignificant activities list in part 7007.1300 shall not be 
considered in the calculation of potential emissions. 

(2) Emissions caused by activities described in pj 7007.1300. subpart 3 of the in3ignificant activitiC3 list to peft 
7007.1300 £ shall be considered in the calculation of potential emissions if rcquired by the agency atodes past 7007.0500, cubpart 

*tem € subitem f2 	determine if these emissions, in addition to all 	emissions at the stationary source. 
tionary source subject different applicable requirements under parts 7007.0100 7007.1850. 

Calculations of emissions atodef this subpart ese only intended to dctcrminc if a permit is rcquircd. 
B. To make the determination of whether a permit is required, the owner or operator of a stationary source shall use the poten-

tial to emit calculation method described in item A. To'determine what type of permit is required, if a permit is required, the control 
equipment efficiency determined by part 7011.0070 for listed control equipment at a stationary source may be used in calculating 
controlled emissions if the owner or operator is in compliance with parts 7011.0060 to 7011.0080. 

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. Strike outs indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Stsike outs indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 
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C. When calculating emissions to determine if a permit amendment is required, the calculation method stated in part 

7007.1200 shall be used. 
[For text of subp 5, see M.R.] 

7007.0300 SOURCES NOT REQUIRED TO OBTAIN A PERMIT. 
Subpart 1. No permit required. The following stationary sources are not required to obtain a permit under parts 7007.0100 to 

7007.1850: 
[For text of items A and B, see M.R.] 

C. notwithstanding parts 7007.0200 and 7007.0250, any stationary source that would be required to obtain a permit solely 
because it is subject to Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, part 61, subpart M, National Emission Standard for Hazardous Air 
Pollutants for Asbestos, section 61.145, Standard for Demolition and Renovation (incorporated by reference at part 7011.9920); and 

D. any stationary source with only emissions units listed as insignificant activities in part 7007.1300, subparts 2 and 3, if the 
following requirements are met by the owner or operator: 

(1) the rccord ace maintained that dcmon3trate that a permit ia net rcquircd fQr emissions units described iii pgrL 
7007.1300. subparts 2 and except  pgii  7007.1300, subpart 	j subitem  fl) records are maintained that demonstrate that a 
permit in j required, These records shall, contain  Jii Qf gfl emissions units and th Minnesota Rules  citation thj defines those 
emissions units as an insignificant activity. The records  1gll permanently kept at the stationary source and made available for 
examination and copying the commissioner or a representative of the commissioner; and 

(2) the records ace kept at the tationaiy ourcc and ace made availablc fec examination and copying by the comrninioncr 
or a rcprc3cntat vc of the commitioncr. f.t  emissions units described i pr 7007.1300. subpart item j subitem  LU. ih owner 
or operator  hll: 

record 	month th quantity of VOC-containing materials used and the maximum  YQ content 
maintain a record of 	material data safety 	(MSDS'), or a signed statement from the supplier stating th 

maximum VOC content, for each VOC-containing material used  
recalculate and record each month  th 12-month rolling 	of gj VOCs g 	and the calculation itself and 

a ]j Qf th associated emissions units  in which it 	used  
maintain at th stationary source  th records  g long  gg th emissions unit is located at the stationary source and  
juake 	records available  f. examination  gn  copying 	commissioner a representative  Qf i1i commis- 

sioner: and 
.. notwithstanding 	7007.0200 and 7007.0250.  g stationary source that would be required to obtain a permit solely 

because it is subject to one jj 	source performance standards 	,(Federal Regulation.c,  title 4 prj 	that has 
th potentia' emit zero tons p yg from  th affected units  f each pollutant regulated b the standard. 

Subp. 2. [See repealer.] 
7007.0500 CONTENT OF PERMIT APPLICATION. 

[For text of subpart 1, see M.R.] 
Subp. 2. Information included. Applicants shall submit the following information as required by the standard application form: 

[For text of items A and B, see M.R.] 
C. The following emissions-related information: 

[For text of subitem (1), see M.R.] 
(2) The application need not include the information required by this part for any activity listed on the insignificant activ-

ities list in part 7007.1300, except as provided in this subitem. The application shall include a list identifying any activity Qf 
insignificant activities at the stationary source described in p 7007.1300, subpart 3 of the intignificant activitic3 list 4. If 
rcque3tcd by the agency, The permittee shall provide a calculation of emissions from any activity described in pail  7007.1300, 
subpart 3 of the imignificant activitic3 Iist7 :lhe  agency sliall requct sueb a calculation if it finds that the emiion from these 
activific, or 4 if these emissions, in addition to other emissions from the stationary source, could make the stationary source 
subject to different applicable requirements or different requircmcnt3 under parts 7007.0100 to 7007.1850. The commissioner may  
renuest  hg permittee calculate emissions of g activity described in pa 7007.1300, subpart 3 or 4 verify if source is 
subject to y different applicable requirement.  

[For text of subitems (3) to (10), see M.R.] 
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[For text of items D to N, see M.R.] 
[For text of subps 3 to 5, see M.R.] 

7007.1110 REGISTRATION PERMIT GENERAL REQUIREMENTS. 
[For text of subps I to 7, see M.R.] 

Subp. 8. Emission inventory required for stationary sources issued registration permits. The owner or operator of a sta-
tionary source issued a registration permit under parts 7007.1110 to 7007.1130 must submit an annual emission inventory to the 
commissioner under parts 7019.3000 to 7019.3010 7019.3 100. 

[For text of subps 9 to 22, see M.R.] 

7007.1115 REGISTRATION PERMIT OPTION A. 
Subpart 1. Eligibility. The owner or operator of a stationary source may apply for a registration permit under this part if the sta-

tionary source is required to obtain a permit solely because it is subject to a new source performance standard listed in part 
7007.1110, subpart 2, item B, and the owner or operator does not anticipate making changes in the next year which will cause the 
stationary source to require a permit for other reasons. Insignificant activities at the stationary source listed in part 7007.1 300 k  sub-
parts 2 and I are not considered in the eligibility determination under this subpart. 

Subp. 2. Application content. An application for a registration permit under this part must contain the following: 

[For text of items A and B, see M.R.] 

C. a copy of the applicable new source performance standards (NSPS) listed in part 7007.1110, subpart 2, item B, with the 
applicable portions of the standards highlighted, including applicable parts of Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, part 60, subpart 
A, General Provisions, or an NSPS checklist form provided by the commissioner, for each affected facility as defined in Code of 
Federal Regulations, title 40, section 60.2. 

Insignificant activities at the stationary source listed in part 7007.1 30Q subparts 2 gg4 I  are not required to be included in the 
application. 

[For text of subp 3, see M.R.] 
7007.1120 REGISTRATION PERMIT OPTION B. 

Subpart 1. Eligibility. The owner or operator of a stationary source may apply for a registration permit under this part if: 

A. the stationary source purchases or uses less than 2,000 gallons of VOC-containing materials on a 12-month rolling sum 
basis; 

B. the only emissions from the stationary source are from VOC-containing materials, or are from insignificant activities under 
part 7007.1 300 subparts 2 and 3; and 

C. the owner or operator does not anticipate making changes in the next 12 months which will cause the stationary source to 
purchase or use 2,000 gallons or more of VOC-containing materials on a 12-month rolling sum basis. 

Subp. 2. Application content. An application for a registration permit under this part must contain the following: 

[For text of items A to D, see M.R.] 

E. for stationary sources in operation on the effective date of this part, the gallons of VOC-containing materials purchased or 
used on a 12-month rolling sum basis. If the stationary source has not been operated, the owner or operator shall estimate the 
gallons of VOC-containing materials that will be purchased or used on a 12-month rolling sum basis during normal operation using 
a worksheet provided by the commissioner. If the stationary source has been operated less than 12 months on the date of applica-
tion under this part, the owner or operator shall calculate gallons of VOC-containing materials purchased or used by multiplying 12 
months by the larger of the two following monthly averages: 

(1) the average monthly gallons purchased or used; or 
(2) the estimated average monthly gallons purchased or used for normal operation. 

Insignificant activities at the stationary source listed in part 7007.1 300 k  subparts 2 and are not required to be included in the 
application. 

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. &trike euts indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike euts indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 
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Subp. 3. Compliance requirements. The owner or operator of a stationary source issued a registration permit under this part 

shall: 
[For text of items A to C, see M.R.] 

D. have emissions from the stationary source only from VOC-containing materials; from fugitive emi33ion3 frøm reads er 
parking 1es  or from insignificant activities under part 7007.1300, subparts 2 and 3; 

E. comply with part 7011.1110; and 
F. comply with all applicable requirements, including new source performance standards. 

7007.1125 REGISTRATION PERMIT OPTION C. 
Subpart 1. Eligibility. The owner or operator of a stationary source may apply for a registration permit under this part if the sta-

tionary source consists of only indirect heating units (boilers), reciprocating internal combustion engines, and/or VOC emissions 
from use of VOC-containing materials, and meets the following criteria: 

A. all emissions units at the stationary source are included under calculations 1, 2A, 2B, and 3 in subpart 4, or are insignificant 
activities under part 7007.1300, subparts 2 and 3; 

[For text of items B to E, see M.R.] 
Subp. 2. Application content. An application for a registration permit under this part must contain the following: 

[For text of items A to D, see M.R.] 
E. the calculations required by subpart 4. If the stationary source has not been operated, the owner or operator shall estimate 

the gallons of VOC-containing materials, amount of fuels burned and hours of operation on a 12-month rolling sum basis during 
normal operation in performing the calculations required in subpart 4. If the stationary source has been operated less than 12 
months on the date of application under this part, the owner or operator shall perform the calculation in subpart 4 by calculating 
gallons of VOC-containing materials purchased or used, amount of fuels purchased or used, or hours of operation by multiplying by 
12 the larger of the following: 

(I) the average monthly gallons of VOC-containing materials purchased or used, amount of fuel purchased or used, or 
hours of operation; or 

(2) calculating an estimated monthly average for normal operations. 
Insignificant activities at the stationary source listed in part 7007.1300, subparts 2 and L are not required to be included in the 

application. 
Subp. 3. Compliance requirements. The owner or operator of a stationary source issued a registration permit under this part 

shall comply with all of the requirements in items A to J. 
[For text of items A to F, see M.R.] 

0. The owner or operator must have emissions from the stationary source only from indirect heating units (boilers), from rec-
iprocating internal combustion engines, from fugitive emiation3 from reads or parking 4ets from insignificant activities under part 
7007.1300, subparts 2 and . and/or from use of VOC-containing materials. 

[For text of items H to J, see M.R.] 
[For text of subp 4, see M.R.] 

7007.1130 REGISTRATION PERMIT OPTION D. 
Subpart 1. Eligibility. The owner or operator of a stationary source may apply for a registration permit under this part if the sta-

tionary source meets the following criteria: 
A. all emissions units at the stationary source are either included in calculations in subpart 4, or are insignificant activities 

under part 7007.1300, subparts 2 and 3; 
[For text of items B and C, see M.R.] 

Subp. 2. Application content. An application for a registration permit under this part must contain all of the following require-
ments: 

[For text of items A to E, see M.R.] 
F. if the calculations required by subpart 4 used control equipment efficiencies for listed control equipment determined by 

part 7011.0070, a copy of the portion of the control equipment manufacturer's specifications with the operating parameters required 
to be monitored under part 7011.0080 highlighted, and if the efficiency is based on an alternative control efficiency under part 
7011.0070, subpart 2, a copy of the performance test plan with the operating parameters highlighted. 
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Insignificant activities at the stationary source listed in part 7007.1 300k  subparts 2 gn . are not required to be included in the 

application. 
Subp. 3. Compliance requirements. The owner or operator of a stationary source issued a permit under this part shall comply 

with all of the requirements in items A to J. 
[For text of items A to D, see M.R.] 

E. The owner or operator must recalculate and record each month, pursuant to subpart 4, the 12-month rolling sum of actual 
emissions from the stationary source, the date the calculation was made, and the calculation itself. This calculation must include all 
emissions units at the stationary source, except for insignificant activities under part 7007.1 300 k  subparts  2  and  , and the informa-
tion required by subpart 4, item B, subitem (2), if continuous emissions monitor (CEM) data is used in the calculation. 

[For text of items F to J, see M.R.] 
[For text of subp 4, see M.R.] 

7007.1300 INSIGNIFICANT ACTIVITIES LIST. 
[For text of subps I and 2, see M.R.} 

Subp. 3. Insignificant activities required to be listed. The activities described in this subpart must be listed in a permit appli-
cation, and calculation of emissions from these activities shall be provided if required by the agency, under part 7007.0500, subpart 
2, item C, subitem (2). If emissions units listed in this subpart are subject to additional requirements under section 1 14(a)(3) of the 
act (Enhanced Monitoring) or section 112 of the act (Hazardous Air Pollutants), or if part of a title I modification, or if accounted 
for, make a stationary source subject to a part 70 permit, emissions from the emissions units must be calculated in the permit appli-
cation. 

[For text of items A to J, see M.R.} 

plant upkeep:  

LU spray paint equipment id f plant upkeep activities that  ji Jess thag  2Qf gallons Qf paint  in 	consecutive J..2 
month period:, or 

spray paint equipment used f.cj pi 	upkeep activities that uses 200 gallons of pjt 	fll consecutive 12- 
month period.  

Subp. 4. Insignificant activities required to be listed in a part 70 application. If a facility is applying for a part 70 permit, 
emissions units with potential emissions less than i the following limits but not included in subpart 2 must be listed in a part 70 
permit application: 

[For text of items A and B, see M.R.] 

C. 25 percent ef the hazardou3 air pollutant thretho1d listed in part 7007.1251 combined HAP  si emissions  f one ton 
y unless 	emissions unit emits one or more of the following HAPs: carbon tetrachlotide 1.2-dibromo-3-chloropropane:, eth- 
ylene dibromide:, Jexachlorobenzene; polycyclic organic matter, antimony compounds:, arsenic compounds, including inorganic  
arsine: cadmium compounds:, chromium compounds:, lead compounds:, manganese compounds:, mercury compounds nickel com-, 
pounds selenium compounds:, 2.3.7.8-tetrachlorodibenzo-p-dioxin: or dibenzofuran.  jffl  emissions unit emits one or more fth 
1-lAPs listed in this i1in th emissions unit j n^ nit insignificant activity under this subpart. 

Calculation of emissions from the emissions units listed in this subpart shall be providcd if required by the agency included  in th 
permit application if emissions from the emissions units listed under this subpart, in addition to all 	emissions from k  station- 

source, 	Ld ink ii stationary source a kLAE  major source under part 7007.0500 7007.0200, subpart 2, item C item A. If 
emissions units listed under this subpart are subject to additional requirements under section 11 4(a)(3) of the act (Enhanced 
Monitoring) or section 112 of the act (Hazardous Air Pollutants), or are part of a title I modification, or if accounted for, make a sta-
tionary source subject to a part 70 permit emissions from the emissions units must be calculated in the permit application. If the 
applicant is applying for a state permit or an amendment to a state permit, this subpart does not apply. 

RECORDKEEPING STANDARDS FOR LISTED EMISSIONS UNITS 

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. Snikc outs indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strikc outs indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 
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7019.1000 SHUTDOWNS AND BREAKDOWNS. 

Subpart 1. Shutdown. The owner or operator of an emission facility shall notify the commissioner at least 24 hours in advance 
of shutdown of any control equipment and if the shutdown would eanse an increase in the crnission ef air contaminants, of a shut-
dewn of any process equipment if th shutdown would g increase in the emissions of g regulated air pollutant. At the 
time of notification, the owner or operator shall also notify the commissioner of the cause of the shutdown and the estimated dura-
tion. The owner or operator shall notify the commissioner when the shutdown is over. 

Subp. 2. Breakdown. The owner or operator of an emission facility shall notify the commissioner immediately of a breakdown 
of more than one hour duration of any control equipment and y  if the breakdown causc an incrcasc in the emission of air contami 
oeats of a breakdown of any process equipment if th breakdown would, cause increase in the emissions f gn  regulated  ii 
pollutant. At the time of notification or as soon thereafter as possible, the owner or operator shall also notify the commissioner of 
the cause of the breakdown and the estimated duration. The owner or operator shall notify the commissioner when the breakdown 
is over. 

[For text of subps 3 and 4, see M.R.] 
7019.3000 EMISSION INVENTORY. 

Subpart 1. Owncrs or operators Emission inventory required.  
A. All owners or operators of affected emission reporting facilities, as defined in part 7002.0015, subpart 3. g, and a# owners 

and operators of stationary sourccs with potential emissions of mere than 3. tens per year of a regulated pollutant, as defincd in part 
7002.0015, subpart 4 shall submit an annual emission inventory report to the agency, in a format specified by the commissioner, 
relating to carbon monoxide particulate matter, and all rcgulatcd chargeable pollutants as defined in part 7002.0015, subpart 4 2. 
The report shall be submitted on or before April 1 of the year following the year being reported. A person who signs Ih responsi-
kin official, as defined in pj 7007.0100. subpart  2.1. jg the report shall make the following certification: 

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all attachments were prepared under my direction or supervision by 
qualified personnel. The information submitted is, to the best of my knowledge and belief, true, accurate, and complete. I under-
stand that the data provided in this document will be used by the MPCA to calculate a fee, which the facility will be required to 
pay under Minnesota Rules, part 7002.0025 7002.0065, based on the tons of pollution emitted by the facility." 

.. LU All owners or operators of facilities issued option B registration permits under 	7007.1120 shall submit jiei n 
emission inventory iiing methods described under subitem  j 	parts 7019.3020 to 7019.3100 th certification and VOC-con- 
taming material report  in subitem I2) IJ report shall submitted on j)efore  th April 1 following the yg being reported.  

LU All owners operators that choose k assessed a fee iinr paj 7002.0025, subpart  L  item subitem  1a 
submit a report 	certification to the agency. The responsible official, as defined in p 7007.0100, subpart  im sign  th 
report 	ill make the following certification:  

certify under penalty f ] 	facility described  in registration permit number  .... eligible fQl: th option regis- 
tration permit 	issued and holds g that th facility purchased 	stated in th permit application  .... gallons QI 
VOC-containing materials in the 12-month reporting period. I further certify th 	eligibility of the facility  j4 	quantity of 
material reported herein were determined under my direction Qt supervision by qualified personnel. The information used  
determine eligibility and the quantity f material reported herein f. th registration permit j 	th bt f my knowledge and 
belief. 	gg4 accurate. I understand that the information provided in this certification will be 	by 	MPCA to assess a 
under  Minnesota Rules. pj 7002.0025. subpart  L  item  . which the facility jfl b required i py under  Minnesota Rules, pail 
7002.0065."  

LU All owners and operators that choose b assessed a fee under pa 7002.0025, subpart  L  item, subitem L1.) shall 
submit an emission inventory report to th agency. in a format specified  by  the commissioner, relating to emissions from the use of 
VOC-containing ynaterials using methods described in pa 7019.3030, item .. and the certification in subitem 2).. Il certifica-
tin emission inventory shall be signed  b th responsible official, as defined  in pg 7007.0100. subpart  L 

Subp. 2. Owner or operator error in reporting data. If an owner or operator discovers an error in the data after having sub-
mitted it to the agency, the owner or operator shall submit corrected data, with a written explanation of the mistake and why it 
occurred. If the commissioner agrees that the correction is appropriate, the commissioner shall correct the data in the inventory. 
However, for purposes of assessing the emission fee under part 7002.0025, the commissioner shall not recognize any correction 
submitted by an owner or operator which would result in a reduction of tons emitted if the correction is submitted after November 
30 of th February 1 following the year in which the inventory is due. 
7019.3020  CALCULATION OF ACTUAL EMISSIONS FOR EMISSION INVENTORY. 

A. Emissions from  nil emissions units shall b reported in th annual emissions inventory report in format specified by th 
commissioner. Emissions from insignificant activities Jisted in paji 7007.1300. subpart  2 shall i3^ be reported. Emissions from  
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insignificant activities listed in pg 7007.1300, subparts 3 and 4.. Jiii 	reported if the commissioner or owner operator has 
determined ih emissions from those activities g n^^ insignificant  LQL  purposes Qf permitting under 	7007.0100 7007.1850. 
fl commissioner 	request an inventory f fugitive emissions from roads  n4 parking lots, defined as jnsignificant under gji 
7007.1300. subpart 	jn j.. upon determining that emissions from these sources represent a substantial portion of the facility's  
total emissions.  

All owners. operators f emission reporting facilities, as defined  in 11 7002.0015. subpart  3. 	facilities jssued option 
registration permits jgr pnit  7007.1120 that choose to be assessed a fee llfl 	p 7002.0025, subpart L in subitem  fl) 

hnli calculate emissions based on nfl 7019.3030 to 7019.3100. except  f. g facility which 	obtained an option C or D regis- 
tration permit under  ggI  7007.1125 7007.1130.  

All owners operators  f emission reporting facilities which have obtained 	emission permit under 	7007.1125, 
registration permit option  .. alill report  th quantity  ^if çJi fiai purchased or 	(whichever was stated in the facility's registra- 
iin permit applicationi in the yg 	which emissions are being calculated. The report jjjj apportion the quantit' of fj burned  
with 	çf combustion unit (indirect heating units, internal combustion engines  in which 11 	burned.  Ih owner QI oper- 
ator shall report the quantity of VOC-containing materials purchased or used (whichever is stated in the facility's registration permit  
aplication  in the 	f which emissions are being calculated. The owners or operators reporting VOC-containing ynaterials  
purchases usage shall also report 	weight fQr QE ̂f 	VOC in the materials (weight  f VOC, 	weight  f VOC-con- 
taming materials and the density of the materials. The actual emissions shall be calculated 	the commissioner.  

.. All owners or operators of emission reporting facilities which 	obtained an air emission permit 	pgii 7007.1130, 
registration permit option 	fl report 	gçfli emissions calculated for purposes of compliance demonstration required in p1 
7007.1130, subpart  .. i1in .. f^r th calendar yr f.cit which emissions are king reported.  

E A!! owners  Qj operators Qf emission reporting facility submitting emission inventory based  j  whole,  in part,  Qn 
material balance calculation shall submit a sample material balance calculation with the emission inventory. 	facilities shall 

maintain a record f 	material safety gg sheets or vendor certification of the VOC 	iJ&r content of the material for nh 
material or fuel used and the material balance calculations 	a period Qj.f jj years fti: th date  f submittal  Qf th emission 
inventory.  

The use of control equipment must be required  iinili: conditions of a permit or applicable requirement as defined in 
7007.0100, subpart  2..  if the owner or operator of an emission reporting facility submits an emission inventory based, in whole or in 

effects f 	use f pollution control equipment.  
7019.3030 METHOD OF CALCULATION. 

A The owner operator Qf n emission reporting facility, except one issued an option 	registration permit under 
7007.1125 or 7007.1130, shall calculate the facility's actual emissions using 	highest available method on the following hierar- 

of methods:  

LU pg 7019.3040;,  
p 7019.3050;, 

LU pii 7019.3060,7019.3070,7019.3080. or 7019.3090, as applicable;, or 
Dart 7019.3 100.  

.. Ih owner or operator of a facility issued an option B registration permit 	p 7007.1120 that chooses be assessed  
a fee under p 7002.0025, subpart L item subitem 	shall, calculate th facility's actual emissions using  th  highest available  
method on the following hierarchy of methods:  

jfl gj 7019.3040:. 
7019.3050;, or 

LU ii 7019.3060. 7019.3080, or 7019.3090. as applicable.  
fl owner or operator of a facility issued an option B registration permit 	7007.1120 that chooses to be assessed a fee 

under pg 7002.0025, subpart L n .. subitem jj lill 	consider the effects  of pollution control equipment on emissions 
from the use of VOC-containing materials when calculating  cfl&ai emissions 	an emissions inventory.  

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. i4te euts indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike ets indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 
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j purposes of selecting a calculation method, a method is considered available if the conditions associated with the 

method  in pnI 7019.3040 to 7019.3100 are met.  Ih method described  in ggii 7019.3100 may  b used, provided that  ih proposal, 
in submitted  th division manager  by October  1 QfQ] first  f.QL  which  th emissions are being calculated. The commissioner 
hnii reject  4g  submitted using the methods described in pg 7019.3040 to 7019.3090 if the conditions for the method are not 

fully met.  
7019.3040  CONTINUOUS EMISSION MONITOR (CEM) DATA. 

A If emission reporting facility a facility jssued an option registration permit  iinr pii 7007.1120  thL chooses Q 
assessed a fee under pg 7002.0025, subpart 1. irn subitem 	hn collected emissions data through use of a M in compli- 
ance with the preconditions in subitems  LU and 	the facility shall report that data to the agency in its emission inventory. The 
emission inventory submitted shall bj n nil sf th CEM  data_ The requirements  in subitems  LU nn, 	must met:  

Li) thn CEM  hnn been certified by the commissioner:, and 
£h CEM  inin hni ni bn rejected  by  the commissioner due to failure  by  the owner or operator to comply with 

pgj 7017.1000. 7019.1000,  and 7019.2000: all applicable Permit conditions: and gy Qiit  applicable state or federal Jn pertain-
ing to CEM operation.  

B. Facilities required to use this method 	fl include the following information in their emission inventory:  
LU the total operating time of the applicable emission unit and 	j operating time of the CEM: 

g explanation of how the emissions were calculated based on the CEM data. For periods when the CEM is down and 
emissions unit operating, missing emissions data shall by substituted with CEM  ^iI  recorded during a representative period  

Qf operation of the emissions unit, and,  jf  applicable, of the control equipment operation during 	calendar yg f. which  by 
inventory is byg  submitted. The CEM must have recorded data for at i 	9 percent of the iic th emission unit was operated  
f the calendar y f which,  by  inventory  in byjg submitted. If substitute CEM  jgi  meeting  ihe conditions  in 	available, 
emissions during periods ofM downtime shall be calculated using 	highest available method on the hierarchy  f methods  
ij1ed in ng 7019.3030.  
7019.3050 PERFORMANCE TEST DATA. 

& jf gj emission reporting facility or a facility issued an option B registration permit ir p 7007.1120 that chooses to be 
assessed a f under p 7002.0025, suboart  L item  . subitem  . jg collected representative emission data through  il  use  Qf 
performance tests in compliance with the preconditions in items B and and if CEM data under g 7019.3040 is not available 
the facility  shall calculate its emissions based on performance tests. If the emission data is unrepresentative because fuel or mater-
jg feed used under by conditions is substantially different than  th conditions under which the emissions unit  in normally oper- 

because the emissions unit has been modified, the facility jgjj calculate  its emissions based on the next highest available  
method. Emissions unit operating load variation from test load does not make the data unrepresentative. In the event that the facil-
jy hnn collected emission data through  ii  use  Qf  oerformance tests and determines that th data unrepresentative f.Qi gjy reason, 
the facility byjl, submit an explanation of by the data is unrepresentative with the emissions calculated using the next highest 
available method. The commissioner shall determine if the conditions of the performance test were representative based upon the 
operating data supplied by iby facility  f.ci th of the inventory.  

All th requirements  f parts 7017.2001  i  7017.2060, including the requirement notify  th  agency  RIiQL  conducting 
performance tests as required in pg 70 17.2030, subpart  L all other applicable state and federal laws, and all applicable air emission  
permit conditions relating to performance testing have been complied with. 

. & facilities that are required to conduct annual nerformance testing, the test was performed during the calendar  ygj for 
which  th  emissions are being calculated:,  Icir  facilities that are 	required to conduct annual performance testing, the emission  
factors 	g derived  frrn by pj recently conducted performance test. Performance test data may not be more than five years  
Ji 	th i 	f by emission inventory period and must be representative of operating conditions during the calendar yg 

f.ç which th emission inventory is being submitted.  
7019.3060 VOLATILE ORGANIC COMPOUND (VOC) MATERIAL BALANCE. 

J.f the methods  in pgji 7019.3040 or 701 9.3050 are unavailable an emission reporting facility a facility issued an option  
registration permit under pgj 7007.1120 that chooses to be assessed a fee under ng 7002.0025. subpart  1. item subitem  Li) i 
facility may calculate VOC emissions the material balance method described in this . This method may  by in fl 
junction 	instead of emission factors and enforceable limitations methods described in parts 7019.3080 and 7019.3090, 
where applicable. A person using material balance to calculate VOC emissions shall determine the total VOC emissions  
follows:  

u1: 
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where: 

A iii amount of QC entering the process. The amount of LQ^ 	in this calculation shall be the amount certified 	th 
supplier 	maximum amount stated n th juaterial safety data.  

= th amount  f VOC incorporated into  th product. This jncludes VOCs chemically transformed  in production.  n  explana-
tion  Qf ibin calculation must also be submitted. 

amount of VOC, if any, leaving the orocess as waste, or otherwise not incorporated into the product and not emitted to the 
air. If the actual VOC content of the waste is unknown, then C = 0. 

CE 	overall efficiency, or the product  f canture efficiency and control efficiency, of gng device u4 to capture and/or 
control VOC emissions, expressed as g decimal fraction if 1.00.  IIi, overall efficiency shall 	based g efficiency factors, as 
defined in ngI  7005 .0100, subpart  9b. alill k 	g th overall efficiency verified  b g performance test conducted accord- 
ing Q Jfl 7017.2001 to 7017.2060 and 7019.3050. The overall efficiency of a pollution control system thg 	a hood, as 
defined  in pgj 7011.0060, subpart  . as th emission capture device shall based g g capture efficiency  ffQ percent.  Lfnn alter- 
native capture efficiency has been determined 	g performance test conducted according to pgj  7017.2001 to 7017.2060 and 
7019.3050, that capture efficiency shall be 	in 	calculation of actual emissions.  
7019.3070 SO2  MATERIAL BALANCE. 

jj 	methods  in  p 	7019.3040 and 7019.3050 are unavailable to an emission reporting facility, it may calculate  ifr  dioxide 
emissions using  th 	material balance method described  in thin part.  A nerson using  thin method shall measure  th sulfut 
content of the fj  j4 assume 	gil 	ggifr in g fiii in oxidized to gf dioxide.  flin method may be used in conjunction 
with or instead of emission factors and enforceable limitations methods described in pg 7019.3080 and 7019.3090, where applic- 
bin The sulfur content  f gçJ batch  f fuel received, must certified 	supplier  gj jndependen  Jaboratory,  Ih sulfur 

content  gigil 	determined using American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM  methods. The  infij dioxide emissions 
determined using the following equation:  

%SIlOOxFI2000x2 

where: 
= Sulfur dioxide emissions from a batch of fuel. 

Weight percent iLr in th fui being burned.  

E Amount of fj  burned y weight in pounds.  
= Pounds  

2 64/32  = Jounds  ^f sulfur dioxide g pound of sulfur in one pound-mole.  

Ih 	ti gfgr dioxide emissions for the yg gigji k 	 individual batch totals. 

7019.3080 EMISSION FACTORS. 
if th methods in pg 7019.3040 and 7019.3050 are unavailable to an emission reporting facility or a facility issued an option B 

registration permit under  pg.I  7007.1120 thg chooses be assessed a f.  under  pgji  7002.0025. subpart L item subitem .1L th 
facility may calculate j emissions  iinng  emission factors gg defined  in prl 7005.0100. subpart lOa. gg, g described  in thin piI 
fl method may ii4 in conjunction with or instead of material balance and enforceable limitations methods described in pgg 
7019.3060, 7019.3070, and 7019.3090. where applicable. Calculations  ^^f actual emissions shall  b based  n operating data, multi- 

gg emission factor. Operating data necessary to apply 	emission fgQr g 	in rii calculation of emissions in this 
method  algJ.i  included in the emission inventory. Operating data means th siin necessary to apply emission factor to calcu-
late emissions. E^ example, tons f material jand1ed in th necessary operating data for an emissions factor expressed g "tons f 
pollutantJton of material handled."  

Control equipment efficiency shall be based g efficiency factors as defined in ng 7005.0100, subpart  2 	jjgfl 	211 
th efficiency verified .g performance test conducted according to pgg  7017.2001 to 7017.2060 and 7019.3050. Calculations of 
gggi emissions from gg emission unit through a pollution control system  thai  gg a hood, g defined  in pI 7011.0060, subpart  2 

	

g emission capture device ggfl 	g capture efficiency of 80 percent, except  th 	systems that control  YQ 	nI- 
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inns which shall be based on g capture efficiency of 60 percent. If an alternative capture, efficiency has kn determined  b a formance 	conducted according parts 7017.2001  i  7017.2060  an  7019.3050.  IbM  capture efficiency shall use4  in th cal- 

culation  f actual emissions.  
7019.3090  ENFORCEABLE LIMITATIONS. 

If th methods  in part 7019.3040 7019.3050 are unavailable  gn  emission reporting facility or a facility jssued 	option 
registration permit under p 7007.1120 that chooses to be assessed a fee 	pg 7002.0025. subpart  .L  item  C. subitem 	th 
facility may calculate actual emissions using  gj enforceable permit Jimitation 	applicable requirement limitation. This ynethod  
may  b ii 	in conjunction with or instead of material balance and emission  fai:  methods described in pgj 701 9.3060 to 
7019.3080, where applicable. Calculations of actual emissions shall be based on operating data multiplied 	the limitation.  
Operating data  g a  sample calculation used Jn 	calculation  f emissions in this method shall b included  in 	emission inven- 
tory. Operating data means th 	upon which 	emission limitation is based. E example, dscf (dry standard  bjc feefl  f2i an 
emission limitation expressed as "gr/dscf" (grains 	ir3 standard 	feet).  
7019.3100  FACILITY PROPOSAL. 

& The emission reporting facility may propose an alternative method for calculating actual emissions if the emission report-
ing facility  n demonstrate  i th satisfaction  Qfth commissioner either:  

fl that  th proposed jnethod  j  more, accurate than  th methods in parts 7019.3040 7019.3090:.  r 
2) thai pone  p,fth methods  in 	7019.3040  IQ  7019.3090 is technically economically feasible  an th proposed 

method is accurate.  
.. Ih proposal shall include:  

LU a comparison of the accuracy of the proposed method  ith t alternatives in pa 7019.3040 to 7019.3090:. 
a detailed description of the proposed method: and 
an explanation of why 	alternatives in p 	7019.3040 to 7019.3090 are technically or economically feasi- 

ble if th facility is making the oroposal iifl 	.. subitem  L?.i 
C. Ih proposal shall be submitted to the commissioner October 1 of the y f. which  th emissions are being calculated.  

Il commissioner halk approve the emission reporting facility's proposal  jf  the commissioner flnd that the facility l made  th 
demonstration required under item A. If the commissioner rejects the proposal, the commissioner shall do so February 1 of the 

inventory is due. Approval  f g method 	I expire no more  thaii  fjy years after 	fj which emissions were first 
calculated.  j1  commissioner shall revoke approval of th method  if. after the &aL year's emission inventory submittal,  ib  owner 

operator or the commissioner has determined that the method described under this pail  j longer accurately calculates each unit's 
actual emissions. If the commissioner revokes the approval, the commissioner shall do so 	February 1 of 	y in which 
next inventory  j.  due.  
REPEALER. Minnesota flules.  paita  7002.0015. subparts 2 and 4j 7002.0025. subpart 2i 7002.0095:. 7005.0100. subparts  .li  an 
lOd:. 7007.0300. subpart  2 and 7019.3010, are repealed.  
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• Pollution Control Agency 
Proposed Permanent Rules Relating to Hot Mix Asphalt Plants 
Notice of Intent to Adopt Rule Amendments Without a Public Hearing 

The Minnesota Pollution Control Agency (MPCA) intends to adopt permanent rules without a public hearing following the pro-
cedures set forth in the Administrative Procedure Act, Minnesota Statutes § 14.22 to 14.28. You have 30 days to submit written 
comments on the proposed rule and may also submit a written request for a public hearing to be held on the rule. 

Agency Contact Person. Comments or questions on the rule and written requests for a public hearing on the rule must be sub-
mitted to: 

Mary Jean Fenske 
Air Quality Division 
Minnesota Pollution Control Agency 
520 Lafayette Road North 
St. Paul, Minnesota 55 155-4194 
Telephone: (612) 296-8107 

Subject of Rule and Statutory Authority. The MPCA is proposing to revise the hot mix asphalt plant performance standard to 
allow for more efficient and effective regulation of this industry and better protection of the environment. The MPCA is seeking to 
improve the performance standard for hot mix asphalt plants to ensure the MPCA's goal of environmental protection and at the 
same time streamline the methods asphalt plants use to show compliance with applicable rules, including streamlining the permit 
process. The statutory authority to adopt this rule is contained in Minnesota Statutes § 116.07, subd. 4 (1994). A copy of the pro-
posed rule amendments is published immediately after this notice. 

Comments. You have until 4:30 p.m., January 11, 1996, to submit written comment in support of or in opposition to the pro-
posed rule and any part of subpart or the rule. Your comment must be in writing and received by the MPCA contact person by the 
due date. Comment is encouraged. Your comment should identify the portion of the proposed rule addressed, the reason for the 
comment, and any change proposed. 

Request for a Hearing. In addition to submitting comments, you may also request that a hearing be held on the rule. Your 
request for a public hearing must be in writing and must be received by the MPCA contact person by 4:30 p.m., on January 11, 
1996. Your written request for a public hearing must include your name and address. You are encouraged to identify the portion of 
the proposed rule which caused your request, the reason for the request, and any changes you want made to the proposed rule. If 25 
or more persons submit a written request for a hearing, a public hearing will be held unless a sufficient number withdraw their 
requests in writing. If a public hearing is required, the MPCA will follow the procedures in Minnesota Statutes § 14.131 to 14.20. 

Request to Appear Before MPCA Citizens' Board. The MPCA Citizens' Board has delegated its authority to adopt the pro-
posed amendments using the procedures for rules adopted without a public hearing, and to perform the necessary acts to provide 
that the rule shall have the force and effect of law, to the MPCA or his designee. You may request to appear before the MPCA 
Citizens' Board. Your request to appear before the MPCA Citizens' Board must be in writing and must be received by the MPCA 
contact person by January 11, 1996. Your written request must include your name and address. If no one requests an appearance 
before the MPCA Citizens' Board and a public hearing is not required, then the Commissioner of the MPCA will make the final 
decision on this rule as allowed by a delegation from the MPCA Citizens' Board. 

Modifications. The proposed rule may be modified as a result of public comment. The modifications must be support by data 
and views submitted to the MPCA and may not result in a substantial change in the proposed rule as printed immediately after this 
notice. If the proposed rule affects you in any way, you are encouraged to participate in the rulemaking process. 

Statement of Need and Reasonableness. A statement of need and reasonableness is now available from the MPCA contact 
person. This statement describes the need for and reasonableness of each provision of the proposed rule and identifies the data and 
information relied upon to support the proposed rule. 

Small Business Considerations. Minnesota Statutes § 14.115, subd. 4 (1994) requires that the notice of rulemaking include a 
statement of the impact of this proposed rule on small business. The proposed rule amendments will affect small businesses as 
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defined in Minnesota Statutes § 14.115 (1994). As a result, the MPCA has considered the methods for reducing the impact of the 
rule amendments on small business as defined in Minnesota Statutes § 14.115, subd. 2 (1994). 

The objective of the rule amendments to the hot mix asphalt performance standard is to simplify compliance requirements for 
asphalt plants receiving the registration permit and to streamline compliance requirements for the asphalt industry in general. The 
majority of asphalt plant owners and operators are small businesses. 

There are three areas in which the proposed rule amendments reduce the burden on small businesses. (1) Without the provision in 
the performance test frequency section of the proposed rule, owners and operators of asphalt plants that produce less than 35,000 
tons per year (small businesses) and have a manufacturer's rated capacity for 100 ton/hr or less would be required to test at the same 
frequency as larger plants, as they have in the past. The proposed rule amendments will allow the smallest plants with wet systems 
to test only as requested by the MPCA. (2) Low actual emissions are typically found at the smaller sources. The proposed rule 
amendments will allow all asphalt plant operators regardless of new source performance standards applicability to receive a regis-
tration permit if they meet the eligibility requirement of low actual emissions, these small businesses will qualify for a permit type 
with a simplified application form and more flexibility in operational practices. (3) The proposed rule will consolidate and simplify 
compliance and recordkeeping requirements by creating an operation and maintenance requirements section tailored to asphalt 
plants rather than requiring compliance with the more generic requirements in the control equipment rule that other registration 
permit recipients with control equipment must follow (Minnesota Rules 7011.0075). Some of the requirements in Minnesota Rules 
7011.0075 which are costly and meaningless when applied to the asphalt industry were eliminated. 

Consideration of Economic Factors: In exercising its powers the MPCA is required by Minnesota Statutes § 116.07, subd. 6 
(1994) to give due consideration to economic factors. In proposing these rule amendments, the MPCA has given due consideration 
to available information as to any economic impacts the proposed rule amendments would have. The streamlined requirements and 
eligibility for registration permits are expected to reduce the costs of compliance for the asphalt industry. The goal of this rulemak-
ing is to streamline compliance requirements and to promote the use of the least polluting plants. The economic impact will depend 
on the type of control equipment the asphalt plant owner now employs and the practices it had been utilizing. For a more detailed 
discussion regarding the consideration of economic factors please read the statement of need and reasonableness. 

Expenditure of Public Money by Local Public Bodies. Minnesota Statutes § 14.11, subd. 1, requires the MPCA to include a 
statement of the rule's estimated costs to local public bodies in this notice if the rule would have a total cost of over $100,000 to all 
local public bodies in the state in either of the two years following adoption of the rule. Local public bodies own or partly own 
many facilities that are required to obtain an air emission permit. MPCA records show that only two hot mix asphalt plants in the 
state are owned by cities. Both of these hot mix asphalt plants utilize wet systems to control particulate emissions. The estimated 
cost of the proposed rule revisions on all public bodies is less than $30,000 annually. Therefore, the provisions of Minnesota 
Statutes § 14.11, subd. I do not apply. 

Impacts on Agricultural Land and Farming Operations. Minnesota Statutes § 14.11, subd. 2 (1994) requires that if the 
agency proposing the adoption of a rule determines that the rule may have a direct and substantial adverse impact on agricultural 
land in the state, the agency shall comply with specified additional requirements. Similarly, Minnesota Statutes § 116.07, subd. 4, 
requires that if a proposed rule affects farming operations, the MPCA must provide a copy of the proposed rule and a statement of 
the effect of the proposed rule to the Commissioner of Agriculture for review and comment. The MPCA believes that the proposed 
rule amendments will not have any impact on agricultural lands or farming operations. 

Review by Commissioner of Transportation: Minnesota Statutes § 174.05 (1994) requires the MPCA to inform the 
Commissioner of Transportation of all rulemakings that concern transportation, and requires the Commissioner of Transportation to 
prepare a written review of the rules. This requirement does not apply because this rulemaking does not affect transportation. 

Adoption and Review of the Rule. If no hearing is required, after the end of the comment period the MPCA may adopt the rule. 
The rule and supporting documents will then be submitted to the attorney general for review as to legality and form to the extent 
form relates to legality. You may request to be notified of the date the rule is submitted to the attorney general or be notified of the 
attorney general's decision on the rule. If you wish to be so notified, or wish to receive a copy of the adopted rule, submit your 
request to Mary Jean Fenske. 
Public Notice and Opportunity to Comment on Proposed Revisions to Minnesota's State Implementation Plan to 
Incorporate Rules Governing Standards of Performance for Hot Mix Asphalt Plants 

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN, that the MPCA is proposing to adopt rule amendments governing standards of performance for 
hot mix asphalt plants. This proposed rulemaking will amend the hot mix asphalt plant performance standard to allow for more effi-
cient and effective regulation of this industry and better protection of the environment. In the proposed rulemaking, the MPCA 
seeks to improve the performance standard for hot mix asphalt plants to ensure the MPCA's goal of environmental protection, and 
at the same time streamline the methods plants use to show compliance with applicable rules, including streamlining the permit 
process for hot mix asphalt plants. 
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A copy of the State Implementation Plan (SIP) revision will be available for inspection at the MPCA offices in St. Paul at 520 

Lafayette Road North, 1st Floor, Air Quality Division, between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday. 
Written comments concerning the SIP will be accepted until 4:30 p.m., January 11, 1996, and should be sent to: 

Susan Mitchell 
Air Quality Division 
Minnesota Pollution Control Agency 
520 Lafayette Road North 
St. Paul, Minnesota 55155 
Telephone: (612) 297-3082 

The public is hereby notified that the proposed amendments will be brought before a public hearing if anyone requests a public 
hearing during the public comment period. Persons who wish to request a public hearing concerning the proposed amendments in 
the SIP should contact Ms. Mitchell at (612) 297-3082 or submit a written request by 4:30 p.m., January 11, 1996. Your written 
request must include your name and address. If no one requests a public hearing, the Commissioner of the MPCA will make the 
final decision on this SIP submittal as authorized by the MPCA Citizens' Board on July 24, 1995. 

Charles W. Williams 
Commissioner 

Rules as Proposed 
7007.1110 REGISTRATION PERMIT GENERAL REQUIREMENTS. 

[For text of subpart 1, see M.R.] 
Subp. 2. Stationary sources that may not obtain a registration permit. 

[For text of item A, see M.R.] 
B. A stationary source may not obtain a registration permit if it is subject to a new source performance standard other than the 

following: 
[For text of subitems (1) to (8), see M.R.J 

(9) Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, part 60, subpart 000, Standards of Performance for Nonmetallic Mineral 
Processors (incorporated by reference in part 7011.3350); and 

(10) Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, part 60, subpart TTF, Standards of Performance for Industrial Surface 
Cleaning of Plastic Parts for Business Machines (incorporated by reference in part 7011 .2580) 

(11')  Code ( Federal Regulations,  title 4Q. 	subpart  L Standards  of Performance  for Hot Mix Asphalt Facilities 
(incorporated  b reference  iji piI 7011.0909').  

[For text of subps 3 to 22, see M.R.] 
7007.1130 REGISTRATION PERMIT OPTION D. 

[For text of subpart 1, see M.R.I 
Subp. 2. Application content. An application for a registration permit under this part must contain all of the following require-

ments: 
[For text of items A to E, see M.R.] 

F. if the calculations required by subpart 4 used control equipment efficiencies for listed control equipment determined by 
part 7011.0070, a copy of the portion of the control equipment manufacturer's specifications with the operating parameters required 
to be monitored under part 7011.0080 highlighted, and if the efficiency is based on an alternative control efficiency under part 
7011.0070, subpart 2, a copy of the performance test plan with the operating parameters highlighted. fli owner or operator  of a hot 
mix asphalt plant  sii provide  a copy  of the portion  of the control equipment manufacturer's specifications  with the operating para-
meters required  to monitored under  part 7011.0917, subpart  1 the information support alternative operating range 
requiredp 7011.0917, subpart  1. 

Insignificant activities at the stationary source listed in part 7007.1300 are not required to be included in the application. 
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Subp. 3. Compliance requirements. The owner or operator of a stationary source issued a permit under this part shall comply 

with all of the requirements in items A to J. 
[For text of items A to E, see M.R.] 

F. If the stationary source qualified in the permit application, in whole or in part, by using control equipment efficiencies for 
listed control equipment determined under part 7011.0070, the owner or operator shall comply with parts 7011.0060 to 7011 .0080 k  
except  ih owner or operator  of a hot mix asphalt plant  i1i comply instead  pgjj 7011.0917.  If the calculations required 
by subpart 4 used control equipment efficiencies based on an alternative control efficiency under part 7011.0070, subpart 2, the 
owner or operator shall also comply with the operating parameters of the performance test that established the alternative control 
efficiency. 

[For text of items G to J, see M.R.] 
[For text of subps 4 and 5, see M.R.J 

IIQI ASPHALT CONCRETE PLANTS 
7011.0900 DEFINITION DEFINiTIONS. 

Subpart 1. Scope. I definitions  in this pg apply 	li4 in pgjg 7011.0900 to 7011.0920. The definitions in parts 
7005.0100.7007.0100. and 7011.0060 apply to 	terms 	in ggjt 7011.0900 7011.0920. unless  th terms  g defined in this 

Subp. 2. Asphalt plant control equipment. "Asphalt  21nt  control equipment" means  th control equipment at a hot mix 
asphalt 	]jed in 	7011.0917. subpart 7. 

Subp. 3. Existing hot mix asphalt plant "Existing hot mix asphalt plant" means a i 	jg asphalt  inn th in 	n h^ii 
mix asphalt plant. 

Subp.  4.. Hot mix asphalt plant. "HL  mix  asphalt conorctc plant" means any g facility used to manufacture J mix asphalt ann-
ecee Paving materials by heating and diying aggregate and mixing with asphalt cements. "Ht niiiç. asphalt concrctc plant" includes 
dryers; systems for screening, handling, storing, and weighing hot aggregate; systems for loading, transferring, and storing mineral 
filler; systems for mixing j jj asphalt concrctc; and the loading, transfer, and storage systems associated with emission control 
systems. 

Subp.  5. New hot mix asphalt plant. 	jii ini asphalt plant" means  a hot mix asphalt  jjgg that commences construction, 
modification, or reconstruction after June jj  1973.  and includes  all hot mix asphalt plants, subject  to the new source performance  
standards incorporated 	reference in pg 7011.0909.  
7011.0903 COMPLIANCE WITH AMBIENT AIR QUALITY STANDARDS. 

Subpart  J.. Fuel sulfur content limitation. Notwithstanding gaji 7011.0913,  nn owner  operator  21 a  h^^ mix, asphalt plant  
shall use  in th dryer  burner g fi 	g  gifii: content greater  jgj 21 percent, unless:  

A. authorized  li 	state, general permit,  or 
compliance  with pg 7009.0080  has been demonstrated  under subpart  2 for each dryer  f.i ii a gpJfr content greater  

ttin Q percent.  
Subp.  2. Modeling of emissions from high sulfur content fuels. 	 21 	dryer  fi 	a ffir  content greater  

than LZi percent, 	owner operator  f g  hQi  mix, asphalt  pjgjj gfl perform  gj  dispersion modeling determine  whether 
burning  that fuel would comply  ii  ambient  air quality standard  for gir  dioxides (maximum  one hour concentration  not to 
b exceeded  more than once p yg in pgfl 7009.0080.  The owner or operator  gigll model  jfLr dioxide emissions using  th 
mt recent version  21 EPA's screen, model described  in SCREEN3 Model User's Guide, EPA-4541B-95-004 United States  
Environmental Protection Agency,  Office of Air Ouality  Planning and Standards. September  1995,  which is incorporated 	refer- 

in subject  to frequent change.  Thin publication  and copies  of 	SCREEN3  model are available  from the Pollution  
Control Agency Jibrary through  th Minitex interlibraiy loan system, through the National Technical Information Service (NTIS'i. 
Springfield,  Y& (703)  487-4650, or may  b downloaded  from the Support Center  f.Qr  Regulatory  Air Models (SCRAM) Bulletin  
Board System (BBS).  I SCRAM  BBS may accessed  at (919) 541-5742.  

Subp.  3. Records required. 

A. For any  ,i ig4 in 	dryer burner, except natural  ggg methane, butane, propane, gasoline,  kerosene, diesel fuel,  g 
I and No.  ftg jJ.. th owner  or operator  of a hot mix, asphalt plant  sJiii keep  f. asiJ ftJ delivery  a record  21 a vendor certifica-
211 1iai analysis  which shows 	sulfur content  of the fj_ 

owner or operator  of a hot mix asphalt plant 	 modeling  under subpart  2 gijgj[  keep  g  record  of the model- 
ing results.  I record  ggll  include:  
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LU the sulfur content  of the fuel modeled; 

the Site modeled:. 
model output flies:.  gg 
supporting calculations.  

Ih owner or operator  hgfl  maintain  the records required  k this subpart  for a minimum  of five years  fQ 	 record 
was made.  

Subp.  4..  Hot mix asphalt plants with registration permits. Lf th commissioner finds that  ha!  mix asphalt  jg that  h 
applied  for or han issued a registration permit  needs source-specific permit conditions  to prevent violation  of 	ambient  air 
qualit  standard the commissioner  shall require  the owner or operator  of the hot mix asphalt  pjgn 	apply 	gp obtain a iI 2 
states i:  general permit. The owner operator  of a hat mix asphalt  plsni shall submit  the required permit application within 120  
days  of the commissioner's written request  under this subpart.  

Subp.  5. Compliance with ambient air quality standards.  othing  in this part hll ha construed  to Jj 	violation  f 
national  or jg ambient  air quality standards.  If the commissioner requests  j  the owner or operator  of a hot mix asphalt  pjn iniii 
demonstrate compliance wit!1  th national 	ambient  air quality standards.  

7011.0905 STANDARDS OF PERFORMANCE FOR EXISTING III MIX ASPHALT CONCRETE PLANTS. 
No owner or operator of an existing i  pix  asphalt concrete plant shall cause to be discharged into the atmosphere from the hc^L 

nii asphalt concrete plant any gases which: 
A. contain particulate matter in excess of the limits allowed by parts 7011.0700 to 701 1.0735; or 

B. exhibit greater than 20 percent opacity ;  except that a maximum ef 49 percent opacity shell be permiible fec net mere than 
fear minutc3 at any 30 minute period and a maximum of 60 percent opacity shall be permitible fec net mere than fear minutes in 
any 60 minute period. 
7011.0925 INCORPORATION OF NEW SOURCE PERFORMANCE STANDARD BY REFERENCE 7011.0909  
STANDARDS OF PERFORMANCE FOR NEW HOT MiX ASPHALT PLANTS. 

Code of Federdi Regulations, title 40, part 60, subpart I, as amended, entitled "Standards of Performance for Hot Mix Asphalt 
Facilities," is adopted and incorporated by reference. 
7011.0911  MAINTENANCE OF DRYER BURNER. 

Subpart  1. Annual tuning of dryer burner. j] owner or operator  of a hot mix asphalt plant  rnp 	dryer  burner f.Qt 
maximum combustion efficiency once  c1i calendar 	according  to the specifications provided  b iha ynanufacturer  if  the dryer 
burner.  

Subp.  2. Daily check of dryer burner. fl owner or operator  of a hot mix asphalt plant  rn 	following  each day:  

A. r 	iha fiii pressure gauge  Q!i 	dryer  burner; 

c.hacic. f.c^ 	 dryer  burner jt. 
Subp.  Records kept on dryer burner. The owner operator  Qf  a hot mix, asphalt plant  rnii maintain  a record  fl 

A. 	thi 	annual tuning  of iha  dryer burner:. 

th daily reading  frQffl ha fi pressure gauge 	dryer  burner; 
.. whether 	 dryer burner  jnit gsjj day; 

corrective actions 	a 	it f th daily checks required  ha subpart  2. 

7011.0913 HOT MIX ASPHALT PLANT MATERIALS, FUELS, AND ADDITIVES OPERATING REQUIRE. 
MENTS. 

Subpart  1. Materials, fuels, and additives allowed. Except  as provided  in subpart  the owner  or operator  of a hot mix asphalt 
plant  j  allowed  to use only 	materials, fuels, 	additives designated  in subpart  2. 

Subp.  L  List of authorized materials, fuels, and additives. 

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining  indicates additions to existing rule language. Strike eats indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike outs indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 
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A. Ii designated materials  are clay, 	sand, gravel,  and crushed 	produced  from naturally occurring geologic  forma- 

tions, and without additives:. recycled asphalt  concrete:. portland cement concrete:. recycled sediments  frm asphalt plant scrubber 
operations:. fines from fabric, filter operations:. asphalt cement:.  and hydrated lime.  

The designated fuels  f^r combustion  are patural  g methane, butane, 	propane:. gasoline, kerosene, diesel fuel, fueL,  
and fuel oils (No.  L No. 	 4.. Q. 	petroleum derived 	jj defined  in p 7045.0020. subpart 102b:. 
on-specification used  Qil  as defined  in p 7045.0020, subpart 60a, except  that total  halogens shall  n^ exceed 1.000 parts  p 
jnillion.  

The designated additives  are silicone, organic soaos,  and other substances  of a similar  nature added to the asphalt cement.  
Subp, 3. Procedure for approval of additional materials, fuels, and additives. Ih owner or operator may  use materials. 

fuels,  or additives  not listed in subpart  if: 
A. 	use j specifically allowed  y 	Z state,  or general permit:.  or 

.. f.ctr iiQi mi asphalt plants  ffi registration permit,  the commissioner  has provided written approval  of the use prior  to its 
incorporation into asphalt 	as a fuel. 

Requests under item  flB k received  b the commissioner  at least Q days before  the materials, fuels. additives  are used. 
1k requests 	a frn provided  y 	commissioner.  The owner  or operator  hfl conduct performance testing 

7017.2001  to 7017.2060  to determine  actual emission  rates from the use of the material, fj.. or additive. The actual emission  
rates shall used determine actual emissions under  pii  7007.1130, subpart  f.^r h^^i mi asphalt plants  thnt  fiold,  option fl 
istration permits.  The commissioner  shall deny  these requests  if the commissioner determines  that use of the material  would endan-
g human health  or the environment  or would subject  the hot mix asphalt  pj  to different applicable requirements  or requirements  
under chaptet 7007.  IJj performance testing required 	this subpart jiay  be waived y the commissioner when  th nonlisted  
material  is substantially similar  to a listed material, or 	ti material  has already 	subject of performance tests  at a 
similar hot rni. asphalt plant.  

Subp.  4. Compliance. fl owner or operator  rn comply 	th conditions  on the use of the materials, fuels,  and additives  
established  in th pnn ZQ state, general permit  if t!  use  j  authorized under subpart  iiei]i A. 1k owner operator  iii 
comply  ith fJi conditions  on the use of the materials, fuels, 	additives  set forth in the commissioner's written approval  if the 
j authorized under subpart  

Subp.  5. Records required. 	owner or operator  bll keep records  of the materials, fuels,  ni additives  used and the amount  
a calendar 	basis.  fl owner operator shall maintain  the records, required under  flj subpart 	a minimum  ^^f five  

years  frfl 	record 
7011.0917  ASPHALT PLANT CONTROL EQUIPMENT REQUIREMENTS. 

Subpart  1. Operation of asphalt plant control equipment. The, owner or operator  of a hot mix asphalt plant  shall operate  in 
compliance  with this p 	Jj asphalt plant control equipment  located at the stationary  source whenever operating  the emission  units 
controlled asphalt  pJni control equipment. Unless specifically allowed  pgji 2Q state, general permit, eac1 piece  Q1 
asphalt plant control equipment  shall at all times be operated  in the range established  y the control equipment manufacturer's spec-
ifications, or within  the operating parameters  set the commissioner  as the result of the most recent performance  test conducted  to 
determine control efficiency under parts 7017.2001  to 7017.2060,  if those  are restrictive.  

The owner  li operator applying  LQL  a registration permit may request  n alternative range 	control equipment manufactur- 
er's specifications,  if the proposed range  is based on two previous years  of compliant monitoring  data supplied  with the request.  

licil nii, asphalt plants  in operation  on the effective  date of this pt.. this request  ll application deadline  jjIed 
in gait 7007.0350. subpart  .L item  A. Ih proposed operating range shall deemed acceptable unless notified otherwise  in writing  
within 30 days  pf receipt  the commissioner.  The commissioner  shall deny  a reauest  for an alternative monitoring parameter 
range  if the commissioner  finds that: 

A. an owner or operator  has fjjed to disclose fully  jj 	relevant  to the proposed monitoring parameter range  of the asphalt 
plant, control device  the owner operator 	knowingly submitted false misleading information  t th agency:.  

. operation  Qf th control  device in the monitoring parameter range proposed  h tk owner operator  would endanger 
human  health or the environment, or subject the hot mix asphalt  gjg to different applicable requirements  or requirements  under 
chapter  7007:. 

	

proposed range  is g supported 	supplied  with the request.  
Subp.  2. Maintenance of asphalt plant control equipment. j  owner or operator  of a hot mix asphalt plant  shall maintain  

piece  Qf  asphalt  gj 	control equipment  as designed  to ensure compliance  with applicable requirements, comply with  $ource- 
specific maintenance requirements specified  in a ga 70, state,  or general, permit, 	Jinll perform  the following  on each piece  Qf 
asphalt plant control equipment:  
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& thoroughly inspect all asphalt  pi  control equipment, including structural components, annually:  
B inspect ducts, connections, and housings for leaks monthly:, 
.. check monitoring equipment daily ensure it is operating in the range required 	subpart  L fi^ example: pressure 

gauges, temperature indicators, flow gauges, and recorders:, 
calibrate all monitoring equipment annually:, 

E f.cu fabric, filter control devices: check outside cleaning system equipment and ii  operation daily. 	check inside clean- 
ing equipment and its operation, and the clean air side of bags for leaks at least monthly:, 

E for control devices using 	 spray towers, scrubbers, and wet cyclone separators: check sediment level in ponds  
daily 	exceed one-half the pond depth, 	suspended sediment in the 	entering the control device, g 
jIB f  th water Jeaving th control device weekly:, and check accessible dampers, spray bars, pozzles,  gn demister jnonthl.y fni 

check 	exhaust daily  f.çj visible emissions after condensing plume has dissipated.  

Ii owner operator shall maintain a record  f activities conducted in items  A in 	consisting Qf ik activity completed, the 
the activity 	completed, and gj corrective action taken:,  jji fi owner or operator 	maintain the records reauired  

thin subpart  fnr g minimum çf  five years  frnrn th 	th record 	made.  
Subp. Installation of monitoring equipment. The owner operator  f a  tint mix asphalt plant shall install monitoring equip- 

measure operating hours as specified in p 7011.0922, subpart 	th monitoring parameters for all asphalt pjn 
control, equipment as specified 	subpart 7. For hot njg asphalt plants  j 	operation on the effective date of this part,  th innili- 
toting equipment  mp 	jnstalled  punt  operation of 	tint mix asphalt  pigni equipment controlled  ti the control  equipment.  
For j mix asphalt plants in operation on the effective date of this pgt, th owner or operator 	install monitoring equipment no 
jgr gg 	days 	ji effective date of this i2it 

Subp. 4. Operation of monitoring equipment. 	owner or operator of a hot mix asphalt plant  Jii operate in compliance  
monitoring equipment  f.Q each  pj 	f asphalt plant control equipment at all times  th asphalt  plant control 

equipment is required to operate.  
Subp.  5. Shutdown and breakdown procedures. Ig 	yfl g shutdown or breakdown of asphalt  plant  control eqiipment, 

the owner or operator a hot mix asphalt plant  gll comply 	p 7019.1000.  
Subp. 6. Deviation of asphalt plant control equipment from operating specifications. Unless otherwise specified in a 

ZQ.. state, general permit, the owner Q  operator Qf a stationary source shall report i the commissioner deviations from gn ynon- 
ed operating parameter required 	subpart 7. "Deviation" means gg recorded reading outside of the specification or range Qf 

specifications allowed 	subpart 1. The report  hafl pg g fntni approved  y  the commissioner. The owner or operator shall 
report  th deviation to th commissioner semiannually  in a midyear report  an gg end-of-year report.  Ih midyear report, covering 
deviations which occurred during  th period from. January 1 to 	in 	k July  Q nf acth y. Ilia end-of-year report, 
ering deviations which occurred during  th period  frnin July  1 December  3j., j 	January 30 asth yat 

Subp.  7. Monitoring and recordkeeping for asphalt plant control equipment. Unless otherwise specified  in a 	state, 
nt general permit, the owner p operator pf g lint mix asphalt plant  hall comp y wjth  the. monitoring au recordkeeping required  b 
the table in this subpart for asphalt  plant control equipment. The owner or operator  Jgll maintain the records required  mi thin 
subpart for a minimum of five years from the date the record was made. 

EPA POLLUTION CONTROL MONITORING RECORDKEEPING 
EQUIPMENT TYPE PARAMETERS REOUIREMENT 

NO. 

QJ... "Miscellaneous Wet Pressure drop, Record each 
2.. Scrubber" means a liquid, flQ parameter every 

003 control device in rate, aed calendar thi 
which 	particulates  water pressure  of operation  

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. uike etts indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike euts indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 
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in the incoming  gg 
stream  are entrained 

aliquidani 
control device  is not 
a spray tower, venturi  
scrubber, impingement  
plate, scrubber,  or a 
wet cyclone separator.  

"Fabric  Filter" (Bag 
J-iouse  means a 
control device  in which 
the incoming  g 
stream passes through  
a porous  fgkrj jr 
forming  a dust 

Pressure drop Record every 
calendar  x 
of operation  

Q 	"Siray Tower"  means a 	 Liquid  fl 	 Record 
control device  in 	 rate, pressure 	 parameter every 
which  the incoming 	 drop, 	 calendar day  
g stream passes 	 pressure 	 of operation  
through  a chamber  
j which it contacts  
a liquid spray.  

Q 	"Venturi Scrubber" 	 Pressure drop. 	 Record each 
means a control 	 liquid  fiQ 	 parameter every  
device.in which th 	 rate, 	 calendar 
incoming  g stream 	 pressure 	 of operation  
passes through  a 
venturi  jjflQ which 
low pressure Jiquid  
is introduced.  

05 	"Impingement Plate 	 Pressure drop. 	 Record each  
Scrubber" means  a 	 liquid  f 	 parameter every 
control device  in 	 calendar 
which  the incoming 	 pressure 	 Qj operation 

 g stream passes  
liuuid 	nii i 
then directed  at 
high velocity  iflXQ 
a plate.  

Cyclone Separator" 	 Pressure drop. 	 Record  
"Cyclonic Scrubbers" 	 pressure, 	 parameter every  

means  a cyclonic 	 gg 	 calendar  ^i 
device that sprays 	 of operation  

into a cyclone.  

019 	"Afterburners" (thermal 	 Combustion 	 Continuous  
or catalytic oxidation 	 temperature 	 ii 	copy  
means  a device used 	 inlet 	 readout  f 

reduce VOCs  to 	 jt 	 temperatures  
products  of combustion 	 temperatures 	 or manual  
through thermal (high 	 readings every 
temperaturel oxidation 	 15 minutes  
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catalytic (use  Qf 	 of operation  

a catalyst) oxidation  
jn a combustion  chamber 

7011.0920 PERFORMANCE TEST PROCEDURES TESTS.  
Subpart 1. In gcncral Methods  and procedures.  Performance tests shall be conducted according to the requirements of this 

part and parts 7017.2001 to 7017.2060. 
• Subp. 2. Spccial proccdurca Performance  test frequenc'  for hot mç asphalt plants using fabric  jilters.  Fm' Mcthod the 
sampling time fer eaeh run shall be at least 60 minutes an the sampling rate shall be at least 09 dscm/hr (0.53 dscf/min) except that 
shorter sampling thnes when ncccssitated by process variables ec ether factors, may be approvcd by the agcncy. IL gj owner or 
operator  21 h^ mix  asphalt  pinnt  uses,  a fhijc filter, including,  limited  1 BA Ifl No, 016 Jisted  in pjI 70)1.0917. 
subpart  2..  as the primary  or secondary  control  equipment to remove particulate matter,  th 	owner  or operator  shall conduct  p 
formance testing  for particulate matter  n4  opacity  as required  pgi 7017.2020. subpart  1. 

Subp.  3. Performance test frequency for hot mix asphalt plants with control equipment that uses liquid to remove pollu-
tants. if g owner operator operates  a h^^I mix asphalt  giani that  haa only control, equipment  thai uses liquid remove pollutants  
or has a secondary control  device i1L1 liquid  to remove pollutants, including,  but not limited EPA  
and 085 listed in gj 7011.0917, subpart  2.. jg 	owner or operator shall conduct performance testing for particulate matter and 
opacity described in items A L 

A. Lf th hni mix asphalt  giani  produced m than ;35.000  tQn in a^th f th three previous calendar years  ni ]g man-
ufacturer' s rated capacity of 100 tons g jgij 	fj nercent moisture, then the owner or operator shall conduct performance  
testing as required,pgfl 7017.2020. subpart 1. 

.. Except as provided in item .. if 	ii jgj asphalt  giani produced no more than 100,000,  tons in g 21 	i!ir previous  
calendar years, then  th owner or operator shall conduct performance testing every three calendar years.  

.. f th lint mi,ç asphalt  giant  produced greater than  100.000  iQn kni n more than  00.000 tons  in 	QI th thm previous  
calendar years, then the owner or operator shall conduct performance testing every two calendar years.  

. If thn lint mix asphalt plant produced more than 200,000 tons in the previous calendar yg rh 	owner or operator 
conduct performance testing within 60 days  21 start-up in the following calendar y. 

E. 1k owner or operator of a hot mix asphalt plant shall conduct additional performance testing as required  
7017.2020,  subpart  L 

Subp.  4  Performance test required for all hot mix asphalt plants. IL th owner gj operatot  21 a lint nn2c. asphalt  giant haa nnt 
conducted a performance test for particulate matter and ppacity approved  li the commissioner under 7017.2001 to 7017.2060 
je January L 1991.1k owner or operator  m conduct  ii  performance  

& in 1996,  f lg mix asphalt plants ii 	operated in the state in 1996:,  QL 

B. within 60 days 	jg nuix  asphalt gjgjfl begins operation in the state. 
7011.0922  OPERATIONAL REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITATIONS FROM PERFORMANCE TESTS. 

Subpart 1. Throughput limit. I owner or operator of a hot mia, asphalt gjgfl igjj 	exceed the production throughput at 
which compliance  with g 7011.0905  7011.0909 was demonstrated during  the plant's most recent performance test, unless  
authorized  subpart  2. 

Subp.  2. Certain exceptions to throughput limit. Except  as provided in 	is A an .. if a lint mix asphalt plant  demonstrated 
compliance during  its JQ recent performance  test and its tested emission  rate (gr/dscf  or lb/br)  ax ) 	thafl Q percent  of the 
applicable rule permit emission  Jimii 1kn 1k owner g operator jnay increase production throughput g percent over that 
allowed  iin 	subpart 1. 

If a lint mix asphalt plant 	a 	flir control device i conducted a performance test since January  j..  1991, has 
demonstrated compliance for particulate matter and opacity, and its iatd  emission rate (gr/dscf or lb/br) 	t!a 50 percent 

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining  indicates additions to existing rule language. Suike eats indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike eats indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 
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greater i!xIi eaual 	percent of the applicable rule or permit emission limit, 	owner or operator may increase  

duction throughput .L. percent over that allowed under subpart L 
If hQ mix, asphalt  pini  with fabric filter control device h conducted a performance i since January .L 1991,  h 

demonstrated compliance  f.ci  particulate matter and opacity, and its tested emission rate (gr/dscf ib/hr 	less, than  2 percent 
Qi iii applicable rule permit emission limit, 	owner or operator may increase production throughput 20 percent QYi th1 
allowed b subpart  .L 

Subp. 	Monitoring and recordkeeping required. IQ determine compliance with subpart L th owner operator  Qf 1121 
mix, asphalt plant pj 

. operate an accumulating hour meter on the high fire mode of the dryer burner at all times the dryer burner is in operation:, 
record 	day  th  plant's hours  f operation and production throughput:, and 
determine the average tons produced p jj f.ci 	calendar 	of operation., 

RENUMBERER. Minnesota Rules,  gj 7011.0925, is renumbered as pgi  7011.0909.  
REPEALER. Minnesota Rules,  pg 7011.0915,  j  repealed.  

Pollution Control Agency 
Air Quality Division 

Proposed Permanent Rules Relating to Removal of Lead Paint from Steel Strudures 
Dual Notice 

Notice of Intent to Adopt Rules Without a Public Hearing Unless 25 or More Persons Request a Hearing, 

and 

Notice of Hearing if 25 or More Requests for Hearing are Received 

Introduction: The Minnesota Pollution Control Agency (MPCA) intends to adopt permanent rules without a public hearing fol-
lowing the procedures set forth in the Administrative Procedure Act, Minnesota Statutes § 14.22 to 14.28. If however, 25 or more 
persons submit a written request for a hearing on the proposed rule by January 11, 1996, a public hearing will be held at the date and 
location as follows: 

DATE 	 PLACE 	 TIME 
February 6, 1996 	 County Administration Center 	 9:00 A.M. - 4:30 P.M. 

Conference Room 107 
705 Courthouse Square 
St. Cloud, Minnesota 56301 

To find Out whether the rules will be adopted without a hearing or if the hearing will be held, you should contact Norma Coleman 
at the address below after January 11, 1996, and before February 6, 1996. 

Contact Person: Comments or questions on the proposed rules and written requests for a public hearing on the rules must be 
submitted to: 

Norma Coleman 
Minnesota Pollution Control Agency 
Air Quality Division 
520 Lafayette Road North 
St. Paul, Minnesota 55155 
Telephone: (612) 296-7712 
Fax: (612) 297-8701 

Subject of Rule and Statutory Authority: The MPCA is proposing to adopt new rules governing removal of lead paint from 
steel structures. Steel structures include a variety of industrial and commercial structures and equipment including bridges, storage 
structures, and other steel structures. 
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The proposed rules are directed at preventing contamination with lead paint particles as a result of lead paint removal from exte-

rior surfaces of steel structures. Many of these surfaces have lead paint on them and large steel structures can carry hundreds or 
thousands of pounds of lead. Significant risk to public health and the environment can be caused when these coatings are removed 
if the paint is simply transferred from the surface of the steel structure to the soil and surrounding area. Abrasive blasting is the 
most common method of removing paint from large steel surface areas. However, lead contamination can occur with a number of 
methods of paint removal if containment and preventive measures are not used. 

The rules require the use of minimum containment with abrasive blasting in all circumstances and the use of additional contain-
ment or of alternative methods of removal under circumstances where significant contamination is more likely or in proximity to 
sensitive properties. The rules address different methods of removal, and they provide generally less stringent requirements of con-
tainment for vacuum blasting, power and hand tools, chemical stripping, and wet abrasive blasting because these methods have less 
potential to cause environmental contamination. Some methods of removal on certain structures require only the use of ground 
cover, e.g. hand tool removal on ground storage tanks. 

Parts of the rules address definitions, compliance, identification of lead in paint, notification, conditions for pollution control on 
individual structures, and general restrictions. Provisions of the regulation are apportioned to bridges, storage structures, and other 
steel structures. Storage structures include water tanks of all kinds, fuel storage tanks, grain storage bins, and other storage struc-
tures. The rules include a variety of engineering controls that combine different methods of paint removal with methods of contain-
ment. There are no monitoring requirements in the rules that require media sampling. 

Simple performance standards address visible air emissions and visible deposits as well as cleanup. The combination of paint 
removal methods and containment with performance standards provides specific pollution control requirements. There are a 
number of different methods of removal prescribed for each class of structure, however the owner or contractor can also apply any 
other equivalent method subject to approval. 

The proposed rules apportion steel structures to a number of classes of pollution control. The classes of pollution control require 
more or less containment or alternative methods of paint removal according to the location of the structure. Standards of proximity 
to affected properties are defined by distance. Residential, child care, playground, and school properties are considered to be the 
most sensitive to the effects of lead contamination. Public use property, commercial property, and protected natural areas have an 
intermediate distance standard. Industrial and agricultural properties have the least restrictive requirements for lead paint removal. 
Other variables that determine the necessary class of pollution control for storage tanks are the height of the structure, the total 
surface area, and the concentration of lead in the paint. There are four classes of pollution control for bridges and three classes for 
storage tanks. The requirements for pollution control for steel structures that are neither bridges nor storage tanks refer the owner or 
contractor to the provisions that address either of those two kinds of structures. Removal of lead paint from any steel structure 
requires the use of minimum pollution control. Generally, this consists of curtains to restrict the dispersal of lead paint particles and 
ground cover to collect the deposits of waste materials. 

The rules also contain a notification provision to nearby childcare facilities, schools and residences to close doors, windows, and 
storm windows in order to prevent infiltration of lead particulate where either dry or wet abrasive blasting is done. Finally, the rules 
require cleanup of all visible deposits of waste material and proper removal, transport, and disposal to prevent further contamination. 

The rules provide for the use of alternative methods of paint removal. In order not to discourage the implementation of improve-
ments in current methods and technology, the rules provide that procedures of paint removal and containment that achieve equiva-
lent measures of pollution control are acceptable if approved in advance by the MPCA Commissioner. 

The statutory authority to adopt the rule is found in Minnesota Statute § 116.07, subd. 4 with respect to air pollution, solid waste 
and hazardous waste and Minnesota Statute § 115.03, subd. 1(e) with respect to water pollution. In addition, Minnesota Statute § 
144.9508, subd. 2f (adopted during the 1995 Legislative Session) requires that the MPCA adopt rules to address abrasive blasting of 
steel structures. A copy of the proposed rules is published immediately after this notice. 

Comments: You have until 4:30 p.m. on January 11, 1996, to submit written comments in support of or in opposition to the pro-
posed new rules or any part or subpart of the rules. Your comments must be in writing and received by Norma Coleman by the due 
date. Comment is encouraged. Your comments should identify the portion of the proposed rules addressed, the reason for the 
comment, and any proposed change. - 

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. Sirike eels indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike ee's indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 
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Request for a Hearing: In addition to submitting comments, you may also request that a hearing be held on the rules. Your 

request for a public hearing must be in writing and must be received by Norma Coleman by 4:30 p.m. on January 11, 1996. Your 
written request for a public hearing must include your name, address and telephone number. You are encouraged to identify the 
portion of the proposed rules which caused your request, the reason for the request and any changes you want made to the proposed 
rules. If 25 or more persons submit a written request for a hearing, a public hearing will be held unless a sufficient number with-
draw their requests in writing. 

Modifications: The proposed rules may be modified, either as a result of public comment or as a result of the rule hearing 
process. Modifications must not result in a substantial change in the proposed rules as printed in the State Register and must be sup-
ported by data and views submitted to the MPCA or presented at the hearing. If the proposed rules affects you in any way, you are 
encouraged to participate in the rulemaking process. 

Cancellation of Hearing: The hearing scheduled for February 6, 1996, will be canceled if the MPCA does not receive requests 
from 25 or more persons that a hearing be held on the rules. To find out whether the hearing will be held, you should contact Norma 
Coleman after January 11, 1996, and before February 6, 1996. 

Notice of Hearing: If 25 or more persons submit written requests for a public hearing on the rules, a hearing will be held fol-
lowing the procedures in Minnesota Statutes § 14.14 to 14.20. The hearing will be held on the following date in the following 
location: 

DATE 	 PLACE 	 TIME 
February 6, 1996 	 County Administration Center 	 9:00 A.M. - 4:30 P.M. 

Conference Room 107 
705 Courthouse Square 
St. Cloud, Minnesota 56301 

The hearing will continue at the designated location until all interested persons have been heard. The hearing will continue, if 
necessary, at additional times and places as determined during the hearing by the administrative law judge. The administrative law 
judge assigned to conduct the hearing is Judge Phyllis Reha. Judge Reha can be reached at: 

Minnesota Office of Administrative Hearings 
Suite 1700 
100 Washington Square Building 
Minneapolis, Minnesota 55401-2138 
Phone: (612) 341-7611 

Hearing Procedure: If a hearing is held, you and all interested or affected persons including representatives of associations or 
other interested groups will have an opportunity to participate. You may present your views either orally at the hearing or in writing 
at any time prior to the close of the hearing record. All evidence presented should relate to the proposed rules. You may also mail 
written material to the administrative law judge to be recorded in the hearing record for five working days after the public hearing 
ends. The five-day comment period may be extended for a longer period not to exceed 20 calendar days if ordered by the adminis-
trative law judge at the hearing. Comments received during this period will be available for review at the Office of Administrative 
Hearings. You and the MPCA may respond in writing within five working days after the submission period ends to any new infor-
mation submitted. No additional evidence may be submitted during the five-day period. All written materials and responses sub-
mitted to the administrative law judge must be received at the Office of Administrative Hearings no later than 4:30 p.m. on the due 
date. This rule hearing procedure is governed by Minnesota Statutes § 14.14 to 14.20 and Minnesota Rules 1400.0200 to 
1400.1200. Questions about procedure may be directed to the administrative law judge. 

Statement of Need and Reasonableness: Notice is hereby given that a Statement of Need and Reasonableness (SONAR) is 
now available for review at the MPCA and at the Office of Administrative Hearings. This SONAR includes a summary of evidence 
and arguments which the MPCA anticipates presenting at the hearing justifying both the need for and reasonableness of the pro-
posed rules. Copies of the SONAR may be reviewed at the MPCA or at the Office of Administrative Hearings and copies may be 
obtained from the Office of Administrative Hearings at the cost of reproduction. 

Small Business Considerations: Minnesota Statute § 14.115, subd. 2 requires the MPCA when proposing rules which may 
affect small business to consider methods for reducing the impact on small business. The proposed rules may affect small busi-
nesses as defined in Minnesota Statute § 14.115. Small businesses are among the regulated parties of the proposed rules because 
some of them own structures with exterior steel surfaces coated with lead paint. 

In the context of the proposed rules, small businesses as regulated bodies include both owners of steel structures who remove lead 
paint and contractors who might remove lead paint from steel structures. As discussed in the SONAR, it is the owners who bear the 
additional costs of pollution control that would be imposed by the rules. Some of these owners will meet the definition of small 
businesses. Contractors will be required to comply with standards of procedure for removal of lead paint. The economic effect of 
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the proposed rules on small business contractors will in general be positive, while in general, the economic effect on small business 
owners will be negative. 

In accordance with Minnesota Statute 14.115, subd. 2, the MPCA has considered methods of reducing the impacts of the pro-
posed rules for small businesses. The MPCA has lessened the burden of complying with the proposed rules by establishing some 
exceptions. For a more detailed discussion regarding small business considerations please read the SONAR. 

Consideration of Economic Factors: In exercising its powers, the MPCA is required by Minnesota Statute § 116.07, subd. 6, to 
give due consideration to economic factors. In proposing these rules, the MPCA has given due consideration to available informa-
tion as to any economic impacts the proposed rules would have. These impacts can be treated generally as income and expenditures 
that are due to compliance with the provisions of the proposed rules. Lead paint removal is part of the process of repainting an exte-
rior steel surface. As the steel surface begins to rust, the deteriorated paint must be removed and replaced with new barrier or 
corrosion-inhibiting coatings. Regular maintenance prevents more serious corrosion of the steel structure. The direct costs of lead 
paint removal are borne by the owners of the steel structures. 

The cost of the proposed rules on any one owner will depend on the customary practices of that owner. For those owners who 
currently use or prescribe containment according to the 1990 MPCA staff recommendations, the additional cost of pollution control 
will be reduced compared to an owner who has not used pollution control. For a copy of the March 15, 1990, MPCA staff recom-
mendations to cities for lead paint removal, please contact Norma Coleman. 

The proposed rules allow latitude to the owner and contractor in the use of alternative methods of pollution control. In addition, 
containment procedures, removal methods, or a combination of these that achieve equivalent measures of pollution control can be 
approved by the Commissioner of the MPCA as stated in the rules. This flexibility may reduce the costs of compliance with these 
provisions. For a more detailed discussion regarding the consideration of economic factors, please read the SONAR which specifi-
cally addresses the costs of applying the rules to different kinds of steel structures. 

Impact on Agricultural Land and Farming Operations: Minnesota Statute § 14.11, subd. 2, requires that if an agency that pro-
poses adoption of a rule determines that the rule may have a "direct and substantial adverse impact" on agricultural land in Minnesota, 
the agency shall comply with the requirements of section 17.83 and 17.84. The MPCA does not believe that these rules will have an 
adverse impact on agricultural land. On the contrary, the proposed rules will benefit agricultural land by preventing contamination with 
a toxic substance, which cannot be degraded, and can only be cleaned up at considerable expense. 

Minnesota Statute § 116.07, subd. 4, requires that if the proposed rules affects farming operations, the MPCA must provide a copy of 
the proposed rules and a statement of the effect of the proposed rules on farming operations to the Commissioner of Agriculture for 
review and comment. The MPCA has determined that these rules may affect farming operations and has provided some exemptions in 
the rules due to the relatively small amounts of paint that are removed. A copy of the draft rules was sent to the ,Commissioner of 
Agriculture on September 6, 1994. Additional information regarding the impact on farming operations is discussed in the SONAR. 

Expenditure of Public Money by Local Bodies: The MPCA has determined that the proposed rules will result in the expendi-
ture of public money. These impacts are discussed in the SONAR. A fiscal note is attached to this notice which contains the 
MPCA's estimate of the total costs to all local public bodies in the state to implement the rules. 

Review by Commissioner of Transportation: Minnesota Statute § 174.05, requires the MPCA to inform the Commissioner of 
Transportation of all rulemakings that concern transportation, and requires the Commissioner of Transportation to prepare a written 
review of the rules. There has been both oral and written communication with the Department of Transportation staff of the Office 
of Bridges and Structures and the Office of Environmental Services during this rulemaking. A copy of the draft rules was sent to 
the Commissioner of Transportation on September 6, 1994, and written comments have been received from department staff. 
Copies of the Department of Transportation's written comments are available by contacting Norma Coleman. 

Lobbyist Registration: Minnesota Statutes chapter IOA (1994) requires each lobbyist to register with the Ethical Practices 
Board. Questions regarding this requirement may be directed to the Ethical Practices Board at the following address; 

Ethical Practices Board 
First Floor South 
Centennial Office Building 
658 Cedar Street 
St. Paul, Minnesota 55155 
Phone: (612) 296-5148 

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. Strike ee's indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strikc euts indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 
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Adoption Procedure if No Hearing: If no hearing is required after the end of the comment period, the MPCA may adopt the 

rules. The rules and supporting documents will then be submitted to the attorney general for review as to legality and form to the 
extent form relates to legality. You may request to be notified of the date the rules are submitted to the attorney general or be noti-
fied of the attorney general's decision on the rules. If you want to be so notified, or want to receive a copy of the adopted rules, 
submit your request to Norma Coleman at the address listed in this notice. 

Adoption Procedure After the Hearing: If a hearing is held, the administrative law judge will issue a report on the proposed 
rules after the closing of the hearing record. 

Notice: Any person may request notification of the date on which the administrative law judge's report will be available, after 
which date the MJCA may not take any final action on the rules for a period of five working days. If you desire to be notified of 
when the report will be available, you may so indicate at the hearing. After the hearing, you may request notification by sending a 
written request to the administrative law judge. 

You may also request notification of the date on which the rules were adopted and filed with the Secretary of State. The notice must 
be mailed on the same day that the rules are filed. If you want to be so notified you may so indicate at the hearing or send a request in 
writing to Norma Coleman at the address listed in this notice any time prior to the filing of the rules with the Secretary of State. 

Charles W. Williams 
Commissioner 

Estimate of Cost to Local Public Bodies to Implement Proposed Rules 
I. Background 
Minnesota Statutes § 14.11, subd. 1, requires that the Agency include a statement of the estimated costs of the rules to local 

public bodies in the notice of intent to adopt rules, if the rules would have a total cost of over $100,000 to all local bodies in the state 
in either of the two years immediately following adoption of the rule. Costs incurred in using adequate and effective pollution 
control in maintenance repainting of steel structures will exceed $100,000 for the state per year. 

As noted in the SONAR (part ffl.A. 1 .&2) there are a number of state and federal regulations that bear on existing practices of 
removal of lead paint from steel structures. These include air emissions rules, soil lead standards, and hazardous waste and water 
quality regulations. The provisions of the proposed rules will be effective in preventing violations of existing regulations and in 
protecting the environment and the public health from the effects of lead contamination due to paint removal from steel structures. 

There are several points that relate to the cost of pollution control for lead paint removal for steel structures in the state (including 
bridges, water tanks, and fuel tanks): 1) the proposed rules do not require the removal of lead paint, but establish minimum pollu-
tion control requirements when the paint is removed 2) the cost of pollution control to prevent lead contamination is a one-time cost 
per structure 3) pollution control costs have been paid by many owners in recent years in voluntary compliance with MPCA staff 
recommendations, existing Air Quality and Hazardous Waste rules, and the draft provisions of the proposed rules. This is evident 
by the use of real case histories in the 'Consideration of economic factors' of the SONAR (part VI). 

II. Summary of Costs 
Bridges 
The costs of complying with the proposed rules when lead paint is removed from bridges are addressed in the SONAR (part 

VI.C) by application of different levels of pollution control in actual maintenance projects. The examples cited were three MnDOT 
bridges that conformed to pollution control requirements equivalent to Classes I, II, and IV in the proposed rules. The actual costs 
of pollution control on these bridges were $1 .58/ft2  of steel surface, $3.00/ft2, and $3.291ft2, respectively. 

As stated in the SONAR (part ffl.B.2.c), there are 7,920 steel bridges in Minnesota. The total cost of complying with the pollu-
tion control requirements in the proposed rules for all bridges in Minnesota is estimated at $110,000,000 for MnDOT bridges on 
state and federal highways and $150,000,000 for city, county, and township bridges. These figures are based on estimated values of 
bridge surface area, number of existing bridges with lead paint, and a mean cost of pollution control of $2.50/ft 2. The total state-
wide cost is estimated at $260,000,000. Nearly all bridges in the state that bear lead paint will be replaced or repainted in 15 or 20 
years. The average annual cost for the state for 20 years would be $13,000,000, although the actual cost will vary greatly from year 
to year. Federal money is also used in maintenance repainting of state and federal highway bridges. 

Municipal water tanks 
Among local units of government in Minnesota, water utilities will incur the largest costs due to the adoption of these rules. The 

costs of complying with the proposed rules when lead paint is removed from municipal water tanks are addressed in the SONAR 
(part VI.A) with actual water tower projects. The four examples applied pollution control equivalent to a Class II storage structure. 
The actual costs of pollution control on these tanks ranged from $1 .56/ft 2  of steel surface to $2.80/ft2 . The total cost of containment 
per tank ranged from $27,500 to $34,900. These tanks (500,000 gals and 1,000,000 gals) had relatively large volume compared to 
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the average water tank in the state. According to the proposed rules, most municipal water tanks in Minnesota will require Class II 
pollution control. 

As stated in the SONAR (part ffl.B2.a), there are approximately 1,000 steel municipal water storage tanks in Minnesota. In part 
Vifi of the SONAR, a mean value of $30,000 for pollution control for a water tank and about 50 tank painting projects a year are 
used to give an annual total cost estimate of $1,500,000 for the state. A number of existing tanks are new construction and others 
have been repainted in recent years. Others will be replaced rather than be repainted. In addition, the average volume, surface area, 
and height of water tanks in smaller municipalities is less than that used in the cost analysis of part VLA of the SONAR. These 
factors should reduce somewhat the state-wide cost and the actual total cost to the average city. There will be large variation in real 
costs from one city to another. 

Charles W. Williams 
Commissioner 

Rules as Proposed (all new material) 

REMOVAL OF LEAD PAINT FROM STEEL STRUCTURES 
7025.0200 APPLICABILITY. 

Parts 7025.0200 to 7025.0380 establish the procedures that an owner or a contractor shall follow to remove lead paint from the 
exterior surface of a steel structure that is permanently fixed in an outside location, from a mobile or portable steel structure that is 
located outside at the time that lead paint is removed from its surface, and from exterior metal components of buildings. 
7025.0210 DEFINITIONS. 

Subpart 1. Scope. For the purposes of parts 7025.0200 to 7025.0380, the terms in this part have the meanings given them. 
Subp. 2. Abrasive blasting. "Abrasive blasting" means the use of air pressure and abrasive particles to remove surface coatings 

or to prepare a surface for paint application. 
Subp. 3. Acid digestion. "Acid digestion" means laboratory analysis of lead concentration according to digestion method 3050 

or 3051 and analytical method 6010 or 7420 as described in "Test Methods for Evaluating Solid Waste, Physical/Chemical Methods 
SW-846," volume IA, United States Environmental Protection Agency, Third Edition, November 1986; or laboratory analysis 
according to method 3335 of the American Society for Testing and Materials as described in "Annual Book of AS1'M Standards," 
volume 06.01, June 1984. These documents are incorporated by reference and are available at the state law library through the 
Minitex interlibrary loan system. They are not subject to frequent change. 

Subp. 4. Bridge. "Bridge" means a roadway, railway, or pedestrian bridge with steel trusses or girders that is part of a roadway 
or that traverses a roadway, railway, walkway, or waterway. 

Subp. 5. Child care property. "Child care property" means property that incorporates a child care building where children are 
cared for or supervised at any time of the day or year. 

Subp. 6. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency. 

Subp. 7. Contractor. "Contractor" means a person, an organization, or a corporation who, for financial gain, directly performs 
paint removal from the exterior of a steel structure or, through subcontracting or similar delegation, causes such paint removal to be 
performed. 

Subp. 8. Ground storage tank. "Ground storage tank" means a water, fuel, chemical, fertilizer, or other storage tank that has a 
height above the ground less than 20 feet; a diameter greater than or equal to its height; or a length greater than its height; or a 
portable storage tank. 

Subp. 9. High-efficiency particulate air filter. "High-efficiency particulate air (HEPA) filter" means a filter that removes from 
the air at least 99.97 percent of all particles greater than 0.3 microns in diameter. 

Subp. 10. Lead paint. "Lead paint" means a coating that contains more than one-half of one percent (0.5 percent), or 5,000 parts 
per million (5,000 ppm), total lead by weight in the dried film as determined by acid digestion and analysis. 

Subp. 11. Low-dust nonsilica abrasive. "Low-dust nonsilica abrasive" means an abrasive particle product that is rated by the 
manufacturer as a low-dust abrasive and that contains less than one percent (1.0 percent) free silica by weight. 

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. &tril€e ets indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strikc outs indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 
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Subp. 12. Playground. "Playground" means an area designated for children's play including a school playground, a child care 

building playground, a play area of a public park, or an area that contains permanent play equipment. 
Subp. 13. Power tool. "Power tool" means an electric or pneumatic rotary peening tool, needle gun, or other tool that breaks and 

removes a coating but does not abrade the coating, or an electric or pneumatic tool that does abrade the coating and is equipped with 
a high-efficiency particulate air (FIEPA) filter vacuum. 

Subp. 14. Protected natural area. "Protected natural area"means a designated national park, national wildlife refuge, nature 
center, or environmental learning center, an area designated by the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources as a wildlife man-
agement area, scientific and natural area, state park, research natural area, waterfowl production area, area of special interest; a site 
officially registered with any unit of government through the scientific and natural area program of the Minnesota Department of 
Natural Resources; or a site of occurrence of unique plant or animal life identified by the natural heritage program of the Minnesota 
Department of Natural Resources. 

Subp. 15. Public use property. "Public use property" means property that includes a publicly owned building, a recreational 
area, or a parking lot, but does not mean property that includes only a playground or only a roadway. 

Subp. 16. Residential property. "Residential property" means property that incorporates a single-family or multiunit building 
that is intended for use for human habitation. 

Subp. 17. School property. "School property" means property that contains a public school building as defined in Minnesota 
Statutes, section 120.05, or a nonpublic school, church, or religious organization building in which a child is provided instruction in 
compliance with Minnesota Statutes, sections 120.101 and 120.102. 

Subp. 18. Steel structure. "Steel structure" means a structure that has a steel surface from which lead paint might be removed in 
the ambient air and includes: 

A. steel girders or trusses of a bridge; 
B. water storage tanks; 
C. fuel and chemical storage tanks; 
D. fertilizer tanks; 
E. grain storage bins; 
F. railcars; 
G. buildings; 
H. pipelines; 
I. boats and barges; 
J. transmission towers; 
K. transformers; 
L. light poles; 
M. parking ramps; 
N. handrails; 
0. vehicles that are used for commerce, industry, or construction; 
P. steel structures of utilities, power plants, water and waste treatment facilities, pulp and paper mills, chemical and food pro-

cessing plants, petroleum refining plants, and shipyards; and 

Q. other industrial and commercial equipment. 
Subp. 19. Vacuum blasting. "Vacuum blasting" means thy abrasive blasting with a blast nozzle that is surrounded by a 

chamber under negative air pressure that is held against the coated surface. 
Subp. 20. Water tank. "Water tank" means a ground storage tank, standpipe, or water tower that is used as a reservoir of water. 
Subp. 21. Water tower. "Water tower" means an elevated multileg tank, a pedestal column spherical tank, or a fluted column 

tank or hydropillar used as a reservoir of water. 
Subp. 22. Wet abrasive blasting. "Wet abrasive blasting" means abrasive blasting with the addition of water to the air abrasive 

stream. 
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7025.0220 COMPLIANCE. 

Subpart 1. Lead paint removal requirements. 
A. An owner or contractor who removes lead paint from a steel bridge shall comply with parts 7025.0230 to 7025.0300 and 

7025.0380. 
B. An owner or contractor.who removes lead paint from a steel water tank, ground storage tank, grain storage bin, or other 

storage structure shall comply with parts 7025.0230, 7025.0240, 7025.0310 to 7025.0350, and 7025.0380. 
C. An owner or contractor who removes lead paint from a steel structure not cited in item A or B, shall comply with parts 

7025.0230, 7025.0240, and 7025.0360 to 7025.0380. 
Subp. 2. Use of alternative methods. The owner or contractor may use methods of paint analysis, paint removal, and contain-

ment other than those specified in this part if the commissioner approves the alternative method in writing prior to its use. The com-
missioner shall give conditional approval of the alternative method if the owner or contractor submits a request in writing that: 

A. provides product specifications and either original documentation or manufacturer data that demonstrate that the method 
provides analysis of equivalent accuracy or pollution control of equivalent or greater efficiency than the methods specified in this 
part, and 

B. identifies the specific provisions of the rule for substitution with the alternative method. 
Subp. 3. Compliance with other regulations. Nothing in parts 7025.0200 to 7025.0380 shall be construed to allow testing, 

removal, containment, recovery, or disposal of lead paint or lead paint particles from steel structures in violation of local regulations 
or federal or state rules and statutes, including those relating to occupational safety and health, which include Code of Federal 
Regulations, title 29, section 1926.62, as adopted by reference in part 5205.0010. 
7025.0230 IDENTIFICATION OF LEAD IN PAINT. 

Subpart 1. Testing required. An owner shall test a coating for total lead concentration, using the methods required by this part, 
before the owner or contractor removes the coating from the exterior of a steel structure, except as provided in subpart 2, items A 
and C, unless removal is to be conducted inside a building. 

Subp. 2. Sampling procedure and analysis. The samples collected as required by this subpart shall be representative of the 
coatings to be removed. Each sample shall include equal surface areas and the entire thickness of each coating. If parts of the steel 
structure have been painted at different times or with different paints, a sample of each coating from each of these parts must also be 
collected. 

A. Bridges. Prior to paint removal, the owner of a bridge shall determine the concentration of lead in paint on the bridge 
either by review of painting records or by acid digestion analysis of a minimum of one paint sample from a girder bridge or one 
paint sample from the trusses and one from the girders of a truss bridge. 

B. Storage structures. Prior to paint removal, the owner of a water tank, fuel tank, grain storage bin, or other storage structure 
shall determine the concentration of lead in paint on the structure by acid digestion analysis of each sample of paint. 

(1) Multileg water tank. The owner shall collect, at a minimum, one paint sample from the legs, one sample from the 
center column, and one sample from the reservoir, for a total of three samples. 

(2) Other water tower. The owner shall collect, at a minimum, one paint sample from the base of the column and one 
sample from the top of the column or the reservoir, for a total of two samples. 

(3) Ground storage tank, standpipe, or grain storage bin. The owner shall collect, at a minimum, one paint sample from 
the wall and one sample from the roof of a ground storage tank where the same paint will be removed from one or more identical 
structures and, for standpipes and grain storage bins, one sample from the bottom half and one from the top half of the wall, for a 
total of two samples. 

(4) Small storage tank. The owner shall collect, at a minimum, one paint sample from a fixed storage tank with less than 
1,000 square feet surface area and one paint sample from a portable storage tank where the same paint will be removed from one or 
more identical tanks. 

C. Other steel structures. Prior to paint removal, the owner of a steel structure, other than a bridge or a storage structure, shall 

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. Strikc eu*s indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike outs indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 
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determine the concentration of lead in paint on the structure either by review of painting records or by acid digestion analysis of a 
minimum of one sample of paint. 

Subp. 3. Calculation of lead concentration. Where samples are analyzed from different parts of one structure, the calculation 
of lead concentration for the structure is the sum of the following product for each of the samples: 

surface area of part represented 	 Pb concentration 
by sample as a percent oftotal 	 x 	of sample (%) 
surface area of structure 

such that: 
(areaA  x PbA) + (area 9  x PbB) +. . 
+ (areaN  x PbN) = lead concentration (%) 
where "A," "B," "N" are sample areas; "area" is the surface area of the part of the structure expressed in whole percent of total 

surface area, so that the sum of all surface areas is equal to 100 percent; and "Pb" is the concentration of total lead expressed in 
percent as a decimal. 
7025.0240 NOTIFICATION. 

Subpart 1. Notice required. The owner shall provide notice as described in items A and B at least ten working days before the 
start of removal of lead paint from a total exterior surface area greater than 500 square feet on one steel structure or on more than 
one steel structure at one location during one year. 

A. The owner must give written notice as required in subpart 2 to the adult residents of buildings, and to the owner or admin-
istrator of any child care or school buildings, within a distance to a single steel structure of 50 feet or twice the height of the struc-
ture, whichever is greater, but within 200 feet of a bridge portion. For multiple storage structures at one location, this distance is 
equal to the sum of the heights of individual structures from which lead paint is removed during one year, not to exceed 200 feet. 
The owner must mail or deliver the notice to the owner or administrator of a child care or school building. The owner must mail, 
deliver, or put on or under the door of each residence one notice for each single-family building and one notice for each unit of a 
multiunit building. 

B. The owner must mail or deliver written notice to the commissioner as required in subpart 3. 
If the owner or contractor postpones the beginning of paint removal more than five working days from the date stated in the 

written notices required by this subpart, the owner shall, within those five days, redistribute each of the notices with the revised 
schedule for paint removal. The commissioner must be renotified before the original starting date of paint removal. 

Subp. 2. Contents of notice to residents, administrator, and owner. The notice required in subpart 1, item A, shall state that 
lead paint is present on the structure, shall specify the days and the hours during which paint removal is anticipated, and shall advise 
the owner or administrator and the adult residents of buildings to prevent children under the age of ten years from entering the 
outdoor area within 100 feet of the structure or structures or bridge portion from the start of paint removal each day until the com-
pletion of cleanup after paint removal. 

If dry abrasive blasting or wet abrasive blasting is the method of paint removal, the notice shall further advise the owner or 
administrator and the adult residents of buildings within 100 feet of the structure or structures or bridge portion, or within a distance 
equal to the height of the structure, whichever is greater, to take the following actions each day before paint removal begins: 

A. close all doors, windows, and storm windows on the walls that face the structure to be abrasive blasted and their adjoining 
walls; 

B. turn off all air conditioning units on the walls that face the structure and their adjoining walls, and tightly cover these units 
with impermeable material; and 

C. take inside or remove from the exterior property all pets, pet houses, pet food and water bowls, and all children's toys and 
play equipment, or cover the equipment that cannot be moved. 

Subp. 3. Contents of notice to commissioner. The notice required in subpart 1, item B, shall include: 
A. the type of steel structure from which paint is to be removed and the address or location of the structure or structures; 
B. the scheduled starting and completion days and times; 
C. a copy of the painting records or paint test results required by part 7025.0230; 
D. the name, business address, and telephone number of the contractor, the consultant, and the owner, and the name of one 

contact person for each company and owner; 
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E. if the structure from which lead paint is to be removed is either a bridge or a steel structure in part 7025.0370, item C, a 

description of the bridge or structure that includes: 
(1) the number of total square feet of surface area from which paint will be removed; 

(2) the distance to the property nearest the bridge or structure for each kind of property designated in part 7025.0250; and 

(3) the class of pollution control to be applied to each bridge portion or structure as required in parts 7025.0250 and 
7025.0260 to 7025.0300; or 

F. if the structure from which lead paint is to be removed is either a storage structure or a steel structure in part 7025.0370, 
item A, a description of the structure that includes: 

(1) the number of total square feet of surface area from which paint will be removed; 

(2) the calculation of potential risk factor (RF) from part 7025.0310; 

(3) the distance to the property nearest the structure for each kind of property designated in the table in part 7025.0310; 
and 

(4) the class of pollution control to be applied to the structure from the table in part 7025.0310; 

G. a copy of the notice given to the adult residents and to the owner or administrator in subparts 1 and 2, with a list of 
addresses that received notification; 

H. the paint removal methods and the containment methods the owner or contractor intends to use to comply with parts 
7025.0260 to 7025.0300, 7025.0320 to 7025.0350, and 7025.0360 to 7025.0370; 

I. the name and location of the waste disposal site where the waste collected as required by parts 7025.0260 to 7025.0300, 
7025.0320 to 7025.0350, and 7025.0360 to 7025.0370, and disposed of as required by part 7025.0380 will be deposited, or a 
description of the proposed disposition of waste materials that are not put in a waste disposal site; and 

J. any other information that the commissioner may request to determine compliance with parts 7025.0200 to 7025.0380. 

Any corrections to the information provided in the notice shall be made in writing by a supplemental notice. 

CONDITIONS FOR LEAD PAINT REMOVAL FROM BRIDGES 
7025.0250 CLASSIFICATION OF BRIDGES. 

Subpart 1. Application. The classifications in this part shall be used to determine the requirements in parts 7025.0260 to 
7025.0300 that apply to a bridge or bridge portion from which lead paint will be removed. The owner or contractor shall determine 
the class of each bridge or bridge portion. 

Subp. 2. Class I. A bridge or bridge portion is class I if it is not within 100 feet of, or is not above, a water body and is not 
within: 

A. 300 feet of residential, child care, or school property or a playground; 

B. 200 feet of public use, commercial, or protected natural area property; or 

C. 100 feet of industrial or agricultural property. 
Subp. 3. Class II. A bridge or bridge portion is class II if it is within 100 feet of, or is above, a water body, but otherwise meets 

the qualifications in subpart 2, items A to C, for a class I bridge. 
Subp. 4. Class IlL A bridge or bridge portion is class ifi if it is not within 100 feet of, and is not above, a water body, but is 

within: 
A. 300 feet of residential, child care, or school property or a playground; 

B. 200 feet of public use, commercial, or protected natural area property; or 

C. 100 feet of industrial or agricultural property. 

Subp. 5. Class IV. A bridge or bridge portion is class IV if it is within 100 feet of, or is above, a water body, but otherwise meets 
the qualifications in subpart 4, items A to C, for a class ifi bridge. 

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. Strike euts indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike Outs indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 
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7025.0260 POLLUTION CONTROL REQUIRED. 

An owner or contractor who removes lead paint from a steel bridge shall use the paint removal and containment methods required 
in parts 7025.0260 to 7025.0300, except that paint removal conducted only for the purpose of coatings analysis is exempt. Pollution 
control must be used on a bridge that traverses a state boundary, as if the bridge were entirely in Minnesota, unless the owner or 
contractor complies with requirements of the neighboring state or province that are more restrictive in preventing lead contamina-
tion than those in parts 7025.0260 to 7025.0300. 

The owner or contractor who uses thy abrasive blasting for surface preparation after removing all lead paint with any other 
method shall use the containment methods required in part 7025.0270, subparts 2 and 3, except that the use of curtains is not 
required if: 

A. a low-dust nonsilica abrasive is used; 
B. the total area of surface preparation is less than 1,000 square feet; 
C. the bridge or bridge portion is class I or class II, or it is class ifi or class IV due to proximity of industrial or agricultural 

property only; and 
D. particulate matter does not cross the owner's property line. 

7025.0270 CLASS I BRIDGE. 
Subpart 1. Application. An owner or contractor who removes lead paint from a class I bridge or bridge portion by dry abrasive 

blasting shall use the methods required in this part as minimum pollution control, or the owner or contractor shall use a method of 
removal from part 7025.0290. For those portions of the bridge where curtains and ground cover cannot be used, the owner or con-
tractor shall use the containment methods of part 7025.0280, subpart 2, item A or B. 

Subp. 2. Ground cover. The owner or contractor shall use 100 percent impermeable tarpaulins to prevent deposition on the soil 
and on vegetation. The owner or contractor shall overlap the tarpaulins at least 1-1/2 feet and weight them to prevent separation 
except on woody vegetation. The tarpaulins must cover the surface of all bare soil and vegetated areas inside the curtains required 
by subpart 3 and shall extend a minimum of 30 feet in all directions beyond the vertical extension of the curtains. Hard paved sur-
faces such as asphalt and concrete roadway, sidewalk, and slope paving may be left uncovered if they have an unbroken surface and 
if the owner or contractor thoroughly cleans these surfaces as described in subpart 5. 

Subp. 3. Curtains or barriers. The owner or contractor shall use curtains rated by the manufacturer at not less than 100 percent 
impermeable to contain lead paint particles generated from both trusses and girders. The curtains must overlap at least three feet 
unless the edges are completely joined. 

A. Girders and undertrusses. When lead paint is removed from girders and undertrusses, the owner or contractor shall 
suspend curtains from the bridge deck so that the work area is contained on four sides. The owner or contractor shall seal the spaces 
between the beams above the transverse curtain. The curtains must extend to the ground cover and they must be anchored. 

B. Overtrusses. When lead paint is removed from overtrusses, whether the roadway is closed to traffic or not closed to traffic, 
the owner or contractor shall: 

(1) suspend curtains both inside and outside of each truss from a height greater than the point of paint removal, with a 
width less than the length of ground cover, and with the bottom edges within curtains suspended from the bridge deck in the manner 
required for girders; or if the roadway is closed to traffic, the owner or contractor shall: 

(2) suspend curtains outside of the opposite trusses from a height greater than the point of paint removal, with a width 
less than the length of ground cover, and with the bottom edges resting on the roadway or within curtains suspended from the bridge 
deck in the manner required for girders; or 

(3) suspend a rigid barrier outside the truss with the bottom edge resting on or directly above the roadway and inclined at 
an angle of 45 to 55 degrees with the truss, with a width less than the length of ground cover, a length not less than the height of the 
truss, and with the space between the end of the barrier and the truss closed with impermeable material; and 

(4) suspend curtains across the bridge deck between the opposite trusses at both ends of the area of paint removal from a 
height greater than the point of paint removal. 

Subp. 4. Windspeed limitation. The owner or contractor shall not conduct paint removal whenever windspeeds render the cur-
tains and ground cover ineffective in containing particulate matter from both trusses and girders. If visible emissions of particulate 
matter occur in the air, or visible deposits occur on the ground, at a distance from the bridge greater than the distance of the ground 
cover, then the owner or contractor shall: 

A. add additional ground cover, in the manner required in subpart 2, to a distance greater than the distance of visible particle 
transport or deposition; or 
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B. if paint is removed from overtrusses, enclose the top of the area of paint removal; or 
C. if dry abrasive blasting is being used, use another method of paint removal from part 7025.0290. 

Subp. 5. Cleanup of waste material. The owner or contractor shall clean up all visible deposits of waste material containing 
paint or paint particles at the end of each workday from all areas on the ground and the ground covers outside the curtains and 
remove this material from the site or store it in containers or on top of ground cover and covered with impermeable tarpaulins. The 
owner or contractor shall recover this material by manual means or by vacuum with high-efficiency particulate air (HEPA) filtra-
tion, but may not use an air pressure or water stream which redistributes the waste material. Methods of handling and movement of 
waste material shall prevent fugitive dust and other loss of any material until final disposition of the material. 
7025.0280 CLASS II BRIDGE. 

Subpart 1. Application. An owner or contractor who removes lead paint from a class II bridge or bridge portion by dry abrasive 
blasting shall use the methods required in part 7025.0270 and in this part as minimum pollution control, or the owner or contractor 
shall use a method of removal from part 7025.0290. If the bridge traverses a narrow water body as stated in subpart 3, the owner or 
contractor shall comply with the standards specified under either subpart 2 or 3. 

The owner or contractor shall use a boom on the downstream or the downwind side of the bridge with skimming or vacuuming of 
the water surface to remove paint particles before they sink, except on those parts of the water surface where frequent boat naviga-
tion or water turbulence prevents effective recovery. 

Subp. 2. Protection of any body of water. To prevent lead paint particles from entering any water body, the owner or contrac-
tor shall: 

A. suspend impermeable tarpaulins horizontally beneath the bridge deck or suspend nets lined with impermeable tarpaulins 
horizontally beneath the bridge deck to contain waste materials; 

B. suspend scaffolding that supports a platform beneath the bridge deck lined with impervious materials to contain waste 
deposits; 

C. secure a barge or a raft covered with impervious materials beneath the bridge and use impervious materials to direct waste 
material to the raft or to within the barge; or 

D. collect and remove waste material from a frozen water surface with ground cover as required in part 7025.0270, except that 
the ground cover must extend in a downwind direction on the ice to a distance greater than the highest point of paint removal. 

The curtains used to contain the girders and trusses in part 7025.0270 shall extend from outside the painted surfaces to inside the 
tarpaulins, or to the platform or the raft, or inside impervious material that extends to inside the barge, or to the ice. 

Subp. 3. Protection of narrow bodies of water. The methods in this subpart may be applied as an alternative to subpart 2 by the 
owner or contractor who shall: 

A. suspend an impermeable tarpaulin across the underside of the bridge deck at a point more than halfway across the water 
body with the bottom edge anchored at the farther bank so that it overlaps the ground covers, seal the spaces between the beams 
above the tarpaulin, and then repeat the procedure in the opposite direction; or 

B. cover a platform above the water surface with impermeable tarpaulins that overlap the ground covers. 
The curtains used to contain the girders and trusses in part 7025.0270 shall extend from outside the painted surfaces to inside the 

tarpaulin or inside impervious material that extends to the platform. 
7025.0290 CLASS III BRIDGE. 

Subpart 1. Application. An owner or contractor who removes lead paint from a class ifi bridge or bridge portion shall use the 
methods required in part 7025 .0270 as minimum pollution control, except as provided in subparts 2, 3, and 5, and a method of paint 
removal from this part. 

Subp. 2. Wet abrasive blasting. The owner or contractor who uses wet abrasive blasting shall use curtains rated by the manu-
facturer at not less than 85 percent impermeable and if dry abrasive blasting is used for surface preparation. The owner or contrac-
tor shall use an amount of water such that dispersal of particulate matter is suppressed without loss of waste material from the 
ground cover or impervious materials by runoff. 

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. Sike euts indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strikc eets indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 
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Subp. 3. Power tools and hand tools. The owner or contractor who uses power tools or hand tools shall use ground cover and 

curtains unless the power tools are vacuum-equipped and all parts of the vacuum equipment are in a condition that prevents emis-
sions of particulate matter, then the use of curtains is not required. 

Subp. 4. Dry abrasive blasting in total enclosure with negative pressure. The owner or contractor who conducts dry abrasive 
blasting inside a totally enclosed work space shall: 

A. maintain the enclosure at less-than-atmospheric air pressure during abrasive blasting by use of a dust collector with high- 
efficiency particulate air (HEPA) filtration of exhaust air to eliminate dust emissions; and 

B. use either a recyclable or nonrecyclable abrasive, but a recyclable abrasive must be cleaned to remove nonabrasive mater-
ial before it is reused. 

The volume of air evacuated per minute must be greater than the volume of the enclosure and the combined volume of output per 
minute of'all blast nozzles inside the enclosure. 

Subp. 5. Vacuum blasting. The owner or contractor who uses vacuum blasting shall use ground cover and curtains unless the 
owner or contractor: 

A. removes all paint by holding the workhead of the vacuum blasting unit at all times against the substrate; and 
B. maintains all parts of the vacuum blasting equipment in a condition that prevents emissions of particulate matter, then the 

use of curtains is not required. 
If the owner or contractor cannot maintain complete contact between the workhead and the coated surface at all times, then cur -

tains shall be used with ground cover. 
7025.0300 CLASS IV BRIDGE. 

The owner or contractor who removes lead paint from a class IV bridge or bridge portion shall use the methods required in parts 
7025.0270 and 7025.0280 as minimum pollution control, and a method of paint removal required in part 7025.0290. 

CONDITIONS FOR LEAD PAINT REMOVAL FROM STORAGE STRUCTURES 
7025.0310 CLASSIFICATION OF STORAGE STRUCTURES. 

Subpart 1. Application. The classifications in this part shall be used to determine the requirements in parts 7025.03 20 to 
7025.0350 that apply to a storage structure from which lead paint will be removed. The owner or contractor shall determine the 
class of each storage structure or structures from which more than 200 square feet of lead paint will be removed at one location 
during one year. 

Subp. 2. Class of pollution control. The class of pollution control necessary for lead paint removal from the storage structure is 
provided by the table in subpart 3. The class of pollution control is determined by the designated use of receptor properties, the dis-
tance to receptor properties, and a factor of potential risk for paint removal from the structure, where: 

A. "Receptor properties" are properties designated by use and ranked by sensitivity to lead contamination in groups "A," "B," 
and "C." These groups include residential, child care, playground, and school property (A); protected natural area, public use area, 
and commercial property (B); and industrial and agricultural property (C). Receptor properties for structures on group A and B 
properties include the property on which the structure is located and also neighboring properties. Receptor properties for structures 
on group C property include only neighboring properties. 

B. "Distance (ft)" is the measure of distance in feet from the base of the steel structure to the receptor property line. The 
values in the table in subpart 3 are the standards of distance for the designated properties. If the structure is located on a property 
listed in item A, that property is considered a receptor property and the distance for that property is zero feet, except for group C 
properties. 

C. "Risk factor (RF)" is the calculation of potential risk for the steel structure and the values in the table in subpart 3 are the 
standards of risk factor for the designated properties. 

Risk factor (RF) is the product of three variables: 
(1) concentration of total lead in the exterior coatings of the steel structure, expressed in percent (%) as a decimal; 
(2) height of steel structure divided by ten and raised to the 1.4 power, expressed in feet (ft); 
(3) total exterior surface area from which paint will be removed, expressed in thousands of square feet (ft 2) such that: 

RF = conc. Pb (%) x (height/lO)" (ft) x surface area/l000 (ft2) 
D. "Class" is the class of pollution control required for the steel structure as determined by the standards of risk factor and dis-

tance and by the property use designation. 
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Each structure will have one distance to each of the nearest receptor properties and one risk factor and one class of pollution 

control. The class of pollution control for the structure is the highest class determined by the risk factor and the distance to receptor 
property, with class ifi being the highest class. 

Subp. 3. Table of required class of pollution control. 
Receptor Property 

Residential, Child Care, 
Playground, or School 
Property (A) 

Risk Factor (RF) <100 > 100 > 100 

and or and 

Distance (ft) > 300 <300 <300 

Class I II ifi 

Risk Factor (RF) 

Protected Natural Area, 
or Public Use Area, or 
Commercial Property (B) 

<200 	>200 	>200 

and 	 or 	 and. 

>200 	<200 	<200 Distance (ft) 

Class 

  

I 

Industrial or 
Agricultural Property (C) 

Risk Factor (RF) 	 <300 	> 300 	> 300 

and 	 or 	 and 

Distance (ft) 	 > 100 	<100 	<100 

Class 	 I 	 II 	 ifi 

7025.0320 POLLUTION CONTROL REQUIRED. 
An owner or contractor who removes lead paint from the exterior surface of a steel water tank, fuel tank, grain storage bin, or 

other steel storage structure shall use the paint removal and containment methods required in parts 7025.0320 to 7025.0350, except 

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. Seike ei indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike eets indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 
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that paint removal conducted only for the purpose of coatings analysis is exempt. If lead paint is removed from a total surface area 
less than 200 square feet on one or more structures at one location in one year, the owner or contractor may apply any method in 
parts 7025.0330 to 7025.0350. 

The owner or contractor who uses dry abrasive blasting for surface preparation after removing all lead paint with any other 
method shall use the containment methods required in part 7025.0330, subparts 2 and 4, except that the use of curtains is not 
required if: 

A. a low-dust nonsilica abrasive is used; 
B. the structure is in proximity only to receptor properties B and C in the table in part 7025.0310, subpart 3, and 

height of 
structure (ft) 

x area of surface 
preparation (ft2) 

<10 

   

5,000 

or the structure is in proximity only to receptor properties C; and 
C. particulate matter does not cross the owner's property line. 

7025.0330 CLASS I STORAGE STRUCTURE. 
Subpart 1. Application. An owner or contractor who removes lead paint from a storage structure that requires class I pollution 

control shall use the methods in this part as minimum pollution control for dry abrasive blasting, or the owner or contractor shall use 
a method of removal and containment in part 7025.0340 or 7025.0350. 

Subp. 2. Curtains. The owner or contractor shall suspend a curtain throughout paint removal on the upwind side and the down-
wind side of the structure, except as provided in item B, in a manner that effectively prevents the dispersal of paint particles. The 
curtains shall be rated by the manufacturer at not less than 100 percent impermeable. 

A. If the structure is a water tower, standpipe, or a grain storage bin, the length of each curtain must be greater than two-thirds 
the height of the structure and the width of each curtain must be greater than the largest diameter of the structure. 

The curtains shall be moved so that the point of paint removal shall always be at least ten feet inside a vertical edge of a curtain 
and ten feet below the upper edge of a curtain, except where paint removal is conducted beneath curtains attached along their upper 
edge to the wall of the structure. 

• 	B. If the structure is a ground storage tank, the length of each curtain must be greater than the height of the tank and the width 
of each curtain must be greater than the diameter or the length of the tank. The owner or contractor may suspend a curtain only on 
the downwind side of the tank, but the width of this curtain must be greater than the length of the tank or than half the circumference 
of the tank. 

Subp. 3. Removal above curtains. The owner or contractor shall remove all paint from any surface above the curtains with wet 
abrasive blasting, power tools or hand tools, vacuum blasting, or chemical stripping, except that dry abrasive blasting may be used 
if the surface is enclosed. If dry abrasive blasting is used for surface preparation following paint removal, the use of enclosure is not 
required with the conditions in part 7025.0320, items A to C. 

Subp. 4. Ground cover. The owner or contractor shall completely cover the ground beneath the base of the structure and on the 
downwind side of the structure with 100 percent impermeable tarpaulins to prevent deposition on soil and vegetation. The owner or 
contractor shall overlap the tarpaulins at least 1-1/2 feet and weight them to prevent separation. 

A. Ground cover for a water tower shall extend from the center column a minimum distance equal to two-thirds the height of 
the tower. 

B. Ground cover for a standpipe or grain storage bin shall extend from the base a minimum distance equal to one-half the 
height of the structure. 

C. Ground cover for a ground storage tank shall extend from the base a minimum distance equal to 20 feet, or to the height of 
the tank, whichever is greater. 

The owner or contractor shall increase the width of the ground cover with distance from the base of the structure so that it is 
equal to an area within an angle of 120 degrees from the center of the structure, except that the width of the ground cover shall 
always be greater than the width of the downwind curtain. 

Subp. 5. Windspeed limitation. The owner or contractor shall not conduct paint removal whenever windspeeds render the cur- 
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tains and ground cover ineffective in containing particulate matter. If visible emissions of particulate matter occur in the air, or 
visible deposits occur on the ground, at a distance from the structure greater than the distance of the ground cover, then the owner or 
contractor shall: 

A. add additional ground cover, in the manner required in subpart 4, to a distance greater than the distance of visible particle 
transport or deposition; 

B. use additional curtains to prevent the dispersal of visible particles to a distance beyond the ground cover; or 
C. use a method of removal from part 7025.0340 or 7025.0350, instead of dry abrasive blasting to remove the lead paint. 

Subp. 6. Cleanup of waste material. The owner or contractor shall clean up all visible deposits of waste material containing 
paint or paint particles at the end of each workday and remove this material from the site or store it in containers or on top of ground 
cover and covered with impermeable tarpaulins. The owner or contractor shall recover this material by manual means or by 
vacuum, but may not use an air pressure or water stream which redistributes the waste material. Methods of handling and move-
ment of waste material shall prevent fugitive dust and other loss of any material until final disposition of the material. 
7025.0340 CLASS H STORAGE STRUCTURE. 

Subpart 1. Application. An owner or contractor who removes lead paint from a storage structure that requires class II pollution 
control shall use a method of removal and containment in this part or in part 7025.03 50 as minimum pollution control. 

Subp. 2. Wet abrasive blasting. If wet abrasive blasting is used to remove lead paint, the owner or contractor shall use the 
methods required in part 7025.0330, subparts 2 to 6. The owner or contractor shall use an amount of water such that dispersal of 
particulate matter is suppressed without loss of waste material from the ground cover by runoff. 

Subp. 3. Power tools and hand tools. If power tools or hand tools are used to remove lead paint, the owner or contractor shall: 

A. use the methods required in part 7025.03 30, subparts 2 to 6, except that if hand tools are used on ground storage tanks only, 
then the use of curtains is not required; and 

B. remove all lead paint with power tools or hand tools. 
Subp. 4. Dry abrasive blasting within total enclosure. If dry abrasive blasting within a total enclosure is used to remove lead 

paint, the owner or contractor shall use the methods required in part 7025.0330, subparts 2 to 6, except that the owner or contractor 
shall totally enclose the structure with material rated by the manufacturer at not less than 100 percent impermeable during lead paint 
removal from all parts of the steel structure, including the top surfaces. 
7025.0350 CLASS ifi STORAGE STRUCTURE. 

Subpart 1. Application. An owner or contractor who removes lead paint from a storage structure that requires class Ill pollution 
control shall use a method of removal and containment in this part as minimum pollution control. 

Subp. 2. Vacuum blasting. If vacuum blasting is used to remove lead paint, the owner or contractor shall use the ground cover 
and cleanup methods required in part 7025.0330, subparts 4 and 6. The owner or contractor may use vacuum blasting without the 
use of curtains if: 

A. the owner or contractor holds the workhead of the vacuum blasting unit at all times against the substrate during paint 
removal; and 

B. all parts of the vacuum blasting equipment are in a condition that prevents emissions of particulate matter. 
If the owner or contractor cannot maintain complete contact between the workhead and the coated surface at all times, then the 

curtains and the windspeed limitation required in part 7025.0330, subparts 2 and 5, shall be used. 
Subp. 3. Dry abrasive blasting within modular enclosure with negative air. If dry abrasive blasting inside a modular enclo-

sure is used to remove lead paint, the owner or contractor shall use the cleanup method required in part 7025.0330, subpart 6, and 
shall: 

A. construct an enclosure of impermeable material to totally contain the area of paint removal and to transport waste material 
to the ground; 

B. maintain the enclosure at less-than-atmospheric air pressure during abrasive blasting by use of a dust collector with high- 
efficiency particulate air (HEPA) filtration of exhaust air to eliminate dust emissions; 

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. ike eus indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike eats indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 
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C. use impermeable ground cover beneath the area of paint removal to a minimum distance from the base equal to one-half 

the height of the structure; and 
D. use either a recyclable or nonrecyclable abrasive, but a recyclable abrasive must be cleaned to remove nonabrasive mater-

ial before it is reused. 
The volume of air evacuated per minute must be greater than the volume of the enclosure and the combined volume of output per 

minute of all blast nozzles inside the enclosure. 
Subp. 4. Wet abrasive blasting in total enclosure. If wet abrasive blasting in total enclosure is used to remove lead paint, the 

owner or contractor shall use the ground cover, windspeed limitation, and cleanup methods required in part 7025.0330, subparts 4 
to 6, and shall: 

A. totally enclose the structure with material rated by the manufacturer at not less than 85 percent impermeable during paint 
removal from all parts of the structure, including the top surfaces and if dry abrasive blasting is used for surface preparation; and 

B. use an amount of water such that dispersal of particulate matter is suppressed without loss of waste material from the 
ground cover by runoff. 

Subp. 5. Chemical stripping. If chemical stripping is used to remove lead paint, the owner or contractor shall use the ground 
cover, windspeed limitation, and cleanup methods required in part 7025.0330, subparts 4 to 6, and shall: 

A. extend the ground cover beneath the area of paint removal and raise the outside edges to prevent runoff; 
B. use wide-blade scrapers and low-volume high-pressure water spray applied within a distance of one foot to remove all 

coatings; and 
C. remove all lead paint with chemical stripping. 

Subp. 6. Power tools with vacuum recovery. If power tools that are vacuum-equipped are used to remove lead paint, the owner 
or contractor shall: 

A. use the methods required in part 7025.0330, subparts 2 and 4 to 6, except that if all parts of the vacuum equipment are in a 
condition that prevents emissions of particulate matter, then the use of curtains is not required; and 

B. remove all lead paint with power tools with vacuum recovery. 
CONDITIONS FOR LEAD PAINT REMOVAL FROM OTHER STEEL STRUCTURES 

7025.0360 POLLUTION CONTROL REQUIRED. 
An owner or contractor who removes lead paint from the exterior surface of a steel structure that is not included in parts 

7025.0260 to 7025.0300 and 7025.0320 to 7025.0350 shall use the methods required in part 7025.0370, except that paint removal 
conducted only for the purpose of coatings analysis is exempt. These structures include, but are not limited to, railcars, pipelines, 
boats and barges, transmission towers, transformers, light poles, exterior metal components of buildings, parking ramps, handrails, 
and vehicles that are used for commerce, industry, or construction. Paint removal from any other vehicle by the vehicle owner who 
does not act as a contractor, and who is not a licensed vehicle dealer, is exempt. 
7025.0370 LEAD PAINT REMOVAL REQUIREMENTS. 

If lead paint is removed from a steel structure not included in parts 7025.0260 to 7025.0300 and 7025.0320 to 7025.0350, the 
owner or contractor shall: 

A. apply a method of removal and containment according to parts 7025.0310 to 7025.0350, as if the structure were a storage 
structure; 

B. if the steel structure is mobile, portable, or disassembled, conduct paint removal inside a building or an enclosed structure; 
or 

C. if the steel structure traverses a water body or is in or above a water body, apply a method of removal and containment 
according to parts 7025.0250, 7025.0260, and either 7025.0280 or 7025.0300, as if the structure were a bridge or a bridge portion. 
7025.0380 RESTRICTIONS. 

Subpart 1. Testing and disposal of waste materials. The owner or contractor shall dispose of waste materials that contain lead 
paint or lead paint particles generated by the removal of lead paint from steel structures as required by either chapter 7035, solid 
waste rules, or 7045, hazardous waste rules, whichever applies. 

Subp. 2. Use of lead paint. An owner or contractor shall not apply paint that contains more than one-half of one percent (0.5 
percent) total lead by weight in the dried film to the exterior surface of any new steel structure or of any steel structure that is 
repainted. 
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Subp. 3. Water blasting. An owner or contractor shall not use high pressure water with or without abrasives to remove lead 
paint from a steel structure unless the water and paint particles are contained and recovered. 

Subp. 4. Identification of contractor. The contractor shall post its name and telephone number in letters and numbers at least 
four inches high on a vehicle or on a sign at the property from the beginning of lead paint removal until completion of the contrac-
tor' s work on the structure or structures. 

	 ERRATA 
ERRATA 
Reprint of an Official Notice for 
Board of Teaching 

The official notice that appeared in Vol. 20 Number 23 of the State Register had a typographical error. The word communities 
was incorrectly used in place of committees. The entire notice is being reprinted here with the correction underlined. 

Board of Teaching 
Request for Comments: Planned Rules Governing Teacher Licensure 

Subject of Rules. The Board of Teaching (Board) requests comments on its planned rules governing teacher licensure. The 
Board is considering rules that place emphasis on teachers' knowledge and skills, rather than on courses and credits, as the criteria 
for granting initial teaching licenses. These planned rules will reduce the number of existing licensure fields and permit teachers 
holding these licenses to teach a greater age/grade level of students. 

Persons Affected. The adoption of the rules would likely affect the following: 

(1) future applicants for teacher licensure, and 

(2) colleges and universities approved by the Board of Teaching to offer teacher licensure programs. 

The Board does not contemplate appointing an advisory committee to comment on the planned rules. However, committees  are 
providing input to the Board in formulation of these planned rules. 

Statutory Authority. Minnesota Statutes, section 125.185 requires the Board to adopt rules to license public school teachers. 
Laws of Minnesota 1993, Chapter 224, Article 12, Section 34, as amended by Laws of Minnesota 1994, Chapter 647, Article 8, 
Section 39, repeals Board of Teaching licensure rules and requires that rules adopted by the Board of Teaching regarding licensure 
of teachers "shall, to the extent possible, be outcome-based and clearly related to the results-oriented graduation rule." 

Public Comment. Interested persons or groups may submit comments or information on these planned niles in writing or orally 
until 4:30 p.m. on March 1, 1996. The Board has not yet prepared a draft of the planned rules. Written or oral comments, questions, 
requests to receive a draft of the proposal when it has been prepared, and requests for more information on these planned rules 
should be addressed to: 

Judith A. Wain, Executive Secretary 
Minnesota Board of Teaching 
608 Capitol Square Building 
550 Cedar Street 
St. Paul, MN 55101 
Office (612) 296-2415 
FAX (612) 282-2403 
TDD (612) 297.2094 

Comments submitted in response to this notice will 	be included in the formal rulemaking record when a proceeding to 
adopt a rule is started. 

Dated: 22 November 1995 
Judith A. Wain 
Executive Secretary 

(CITE 20 S.R. 1401) 
	 State Register, Monday 11 December 1995 	 PAGE 1401 



Executive Orders 	
Executive Department 
Executive Order 95-13: Providing for the Establishment of the Governor's Workforce 

Development Council; Rescinding Executive Order 92-3 
I, ARNE H. CARLSON, GOVERNOR OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA, by virtue of the authority vested in me by the 

Constitution and the applicable statutes, do hereby issue this Executive Order: 
WHEREAS, workforce development services need to be integrated with all human services to assist the economically disadvan-

taged, unemployed, and underemployed; and 
WHEREAS, it is vital that state and local units of government closely coordinate their efforts to develop plans that meet locally 

determined needs, recommend meaningful programs to alleviate employment problems, reduce duplication and gaps in employ-
ment and training services, and effectively and economically utilize state and federal employment and training funds; and 

WHEREAS, it is required by Laws of Minnesota 1995, Chapter 131, to establish a Governor's Workforce Development Council 
composed of representatives of business and industry, the state legislature, state agencies and organizations, units of local govern-
ment, organized labor, and community-based organizations to plan, coordinate, and monitor the integration of workforce develop-
ment; 

NOW, THEREFORE, I hereby order that: 
1. The formation of the Governor's Workforce Development Council: 

a. This council, in accordance with Minnesota Statutes, shall be composed of 32 representatives of business and indus-
try, the state legislature, state agencies, local units of government, labor, and community-based organizations. 
Members may be reimbursed for expenses and paid per diems as provided in Minnesota Statutes 1994, Section 
15.059. 

b. The council shall be appointed by the governor, who shall designate one non-governmental member thereof to be its 
chair. In making appointments to the council, the governor shall ensure that council membership reasonably repre-
sents the population of the state. 

c. The council shall not operate programs or provide services directly, but shall exist solely to plan, coordinate, and 
monitor the provision of employment and training services. 

2. The council shall: 
a. Review the provision of services and the use of funds and resources under applicable federal, state, and local work-

force development programs and advise the governor on methods of coordinating the provision of services and the 
use of funds and resources; 

b. Review the federal, state, and local education, post-secondary, job skills training, and youth employment programs, 
and make recommendations to the governor and the legislature for establishing an integrated, seamless system for 
providing education, service-learning, and work skills development services to learners and workers of all ages; 

c. Advise the governor on the development and implementation of statewide and local performance standards and mea-
sures; 

d. Administer grants to local education and employment transition partnerships; 
e. Coordinate the development, implementation, and evaluation of the statewide education and employment transitions 

system; 
f. Advise the governor on methods to evaluate applicable federal workforce development programs; 
g. Sponsor appropriate studies to identify workforce development needs in Minnesota and recommend to the governor 

goals and methods for meeting those needs; 
h. Recommend to the governor goals and methods for the development and coordination of a workforce development 

system in Minnesota; 
i. Examine federal and state laws, rules, and regulations to assess whether they present barriers to achieving the devel-

opment of a coordinated workforce development system; 
J. Recommend to the governor and to the federal government changes in state or federal laws, rules, or regulations con-

cerning workforce development programs that present barriers to achieving the development of an integrated system; 
k. Recommend to the governor and to the federal government waivers of laws and regulations to promote coordinated 

service delivery; and 
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	 Commissioners' Orders 
1. Sponsor appropriate studies and prepare and recommend to the governor a strategic plan that details methods for 

meeting Minnesota's workforce development needs. 
3. The council shall meet at least four (4) times annually and shall operate in accordance with state and federal statutes, 

rules, regulations, and council bylaws. 
4. For the purpose of this Executive Order and to define the scope of the Governor's Workforce Development Council, the 

term "workforce development" shall be interpreted broadly and is intended to include all federal, state, and local pro-
grams that provide employment, training and retraining services, and educational services relating to the knowledge, 
skills, and abilities required for meaningful employment. 

5. All state departments and agencies shall cooperate with the council established in this Executive Order. 
Executive Order 92-3 is rescinded. 
Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes 1994, Section 4.035, subd. 2, this Order shall be effective fifteen (15) days after publication in the 

State Register and filing with the Secretary of State and shall remain in effect until rescinded by proper authority or it expires in 
accordance with Minnesota Statutes 1994, Section 4.035, subd. 3. 

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have set my hand this fourth day of December, 1995. 
Arne H. Carison 
Governor 

Filed According to Law: 
Joan Anderson Growe 
Secretary of State 

	 Commissioners' Orders 

• Department of Transportation 
Order No. 81371: Amended Order and Notice of Street and Highway Routes Designated and 

Permitted to Carry the Gross Weights Allowed under Minnesota Statute § 169.825. 
WHEREAS, the Commissioner of Transportation has made his order No. 80000, dated March 10, 1994, which order has been 

amended by Orders No's. 80212, 80246, 80580, 80861, 80881, 81000, and 81092 designating and permitting certain street and 
highway routes, or segments of those routes, to carry the gross weights allowed under Minnesota Statutes § 169.825, and 

WHEREAS, the Commissioner has determined that the additional following routes, or segment of routes, should be designated 
to carry the gross weights allowed under Minnesota Statutes § 169.825, 

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that Commissioner of Transportation Order No. 80000 is further amended this date by adding the 
following designated streets and highway routes, or segments of routes, as follows: 

County Roads 
Norman County 
C.S.A.H. 19 from T.H. 75 to C.S.A.H. 10 (12 Month). 
C.S.A.H. 39 from T.H. 9 to T.H. 32 (12 Month). 

Hubbard County 
C.S.A.H. 9 from T.H. 71 to C.S.A.H. 45 (12 Month). 
C.S.A.H. 45 from C.S.A.H. 9 to T.H. 2 (12 Month). 

Dated: 4 December 1995 
James N. Denn 
Commissioner 
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Official Notices 	  
Pursuant to the provisions of Minnesota Statutes §14.101, an agency, in preparing proposed rules, may seek information or opinion 

from sources outside the agency. Notices of intent to solicit outside opinion must be published in the State Register and all interested per-
sons afforded the opportunity to submit data or views on the subject, either orally or in writing. 

The State Register also publishes other official notices of state agencies, notices of meetings, and matters of public interest. 

Boards of Dentistry, Marriage and Family Therapy, Medical Pradice, 
Nursing, Pharmacy, and Podiatric Medicine 
Notice of Solicitation of Comments from the Public In the Matter of the Proposed Adoption of 

Rules Relating to the Health Professionals Services Program 
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Boards of Dentistry, Marriage and Family Therapy, Medical Practice, Nursing, 

Pharmacy, and Podiatric Medicine, participants in the Health Professionals Services Program, established in 1994 in Minnesota 
Statutes, Sections 214.31-214.37, intend to adopt rules as required by Section 214.37, and are soliciting comments and opinions 
from the public regarding issues that should be address in rules. 

The Health Professionals Services Program is designed to protect the public from persons regulated by the aforementioned 
boards who are unable to practice with reasonable skill and safety by reason of illness, use of alcohol, drugs, chemicals, or other 
materials, or as a result of any mental, physical, or psychological condition. 

It is the intention of the participating boards to adopt joint rules by July 1, 1996, as required by Section 214.37, that provide clar-
ification to Sections 214.31-214.36 as needed and related to: program management and services; participant eligibility, completion, 
voluntary termination, and discharge; and reporting. 

The persons likely to be affected by the statute and any rules adopted pursuant to the statute are those who are regulated by the 
aforementioned participating boards, and any persons who may be clients of any persons regulated by the participating boards 
whose practice may be impaired for the reasons stated above. 

A Rule Writing Task Force has been appointed by the Health Professionals Services Program Committee, comprised of represen-
tatives of the participating boards and Advisory Committee (appointed members of the professional associations of the individuals 
regulated by the participating boards). No draft rules are presently available. 

Persons may request to be placed on a mailing list to receive notice of meetings of the Rules Task Force and/or the Health 
Professionals Services Program Committee, or obtain a copy of the statute cited above and any drafts of proposed rules as they are 
available, or submit written comments, by contacting 

Frank Fly, Administrative Rulewriter 
Health Licensing Boards, Suite 40 
2700 University Avenue West, St. Paul, MN 55114 
(612) 642-0402 
Speech/Hearing Relay: (612) 297-3353 or 1-800-627-3529 

Written comments will be accepted until February 9, 1996. Persons are requested when submitting comments, to cite the section 
or sections of the statute believed to be in need of clarification, or the rule part of any proposed draft, and to include to the extent 
possible, proposed language to accomplish this purpose. 
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	 Official Notices 

Department of Health 
Notice of Completed Application and Notice of and Order for Hearing In the Matter of the 

License Application of North Ambulance Aitkin, Aitkin, Minnesota 
PLEASE TAKE NOTICE that the Commissioner of Health (hereinafter "Commissioner") has received a completed application 

from North Ambulance Aitkin, Aitkin, Minnesota for a change in type of services from Basic to Advanced Ambulance Services. 
IT IS HEREBY ORDERED AND NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that, pursuant to Minnesota Statutes § 14.57 - 14.69 and 

Minnesota Statute § 144.802 a public hearing will be held on January 16, 1996 at Aitkin City Hall, 109 First Avenue N.W., Aitkin, 
Minnesota, commencing at 7:00 p.m. If you have an interest in this matter you are hereby urged to attend the public hearing. 
Failure to do so may prejudice your rights in this and any subsequent proceedings in this matter. 

1. The purpose of the hearing is to determine whether the application from this ambulance service should be granted based 
upon the criteria set forth in Minnesota Statute § 144.802, subd. 3(g). 

2. This proceeding has been initiated pursuant to and will be controlled in all aspects by Minnesota Statutes § 144.801 - 
144.8093, Minnesota Statute § 14.57 - 14.69, and Rules for Contested Cases of the Office of Administrative Hearings, 
Minnesota Rules 1400.5100-1400.8402. Copies of the rules and statutes may be obtained for a fee from the Department 
of Administration, Public Documents Division, 117 University Avenue, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155, telephone: (612) 
297-3000. 

3. Howard Kaibel, Office of Administrative Hearings, 100 Washington Square, Suite 1700, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55401-
2138, telephone: (612) 341-7608, will preside as Administrative Law Judge at the hearing, and will make a written rec-
ommendation on this application. After the hearing, the record and the Administrative Law Judge's recommendation 
will be forwarded to the Commissioner to make the final determination in the matter. 

4. Any person wishing to intervene as a party must submit a petition to do so under Minnesota Rules 1400.6200 on or 
before January 2, 1996. This petition must be submitted to the Administrative Law Judge and shall be served upon all 
existing parties and the Commissioner. The petition must show how the contested case affects the petitioner's legal 
rights, duties or privileges and shall state the grounds and purposes for which intervention is sought and indicate petition-
er's statutory right to intervene if one exists. 

5. In addition to or in place of participating at the hearing, any person may also submit written recommendations for the dis-
position of the application. These recommendations must be received by the Administrative Law Judge on or before 
January 11, 1996. 

6. Any subpoena needed to compel the attendance of witnesses or the production of documents may be obtained pursuant to 
Minnesota Rules 1400.7000. 

7. At the hearing the applicant will present its evidence showing that a license should be granted and that all persons will be 
given an opportunity to cross-examine witnesses, to be heard orally, to present witnesses, and to submit written data or 
statements. All persons are encouraged to participate in the hearing and are requested to bring to the hearing all docu-
ments, records, and witnesses needed to support their position. It is not necessary to intervene as a party in order to par-
ticipate in the hearing. 

8. Please be advised that if nonpublic data is admitted into evidence, it may become public data unless an objection is made 
and relief is requested under Minnesota Statute § 14.60, subd. 2. 

9. You are hereby informed that you may choose to be represented by an attorney in these proceedings, may represent your -
self, or be represented by a person of your choice if not otherwise prohibited as the unauthorized practice of law. 

10. A Notice of Appearance must be filed with the Administrative Law Judge identified above within 20 days following 
receipt of the Notice by any person intending to appear at the hearing as a party. 

11. In accordance with the provisions of Minnesota Statute § 14.61, the final decision of the Commissioner in this proceed-
ing will not be made until the Report of the Administrative Law Judge has been made available to the parties in this pro-
ceeding for at least 10 days. Any party adversely affected by the Report of the Administrative Law Judge has the right to 
file exceptions and present arguments to the Commissioner. Any exceptions or arguments must be submitted in writing 
and filed with the Commissioner of Health, 717 Delaware Street Southeast, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55440, within 10 
days of the receipt of the Administrative Law Judge's Report. 

Dated: 27 November 1995 
Anne M. Barry 
Commissioner of Health 
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Department of Health 

Division of Environmental Health 

Final Revised Plan for Use of Administrative Penalty and Cease and Desist Orders 
Notice of Revised Plan Finalization 
The Minnesota Department of Health, division of environmental health, on November 21, 1995, adopted a revised final plan for 

the use of administrative penalty orders and cease and desist orders. Authority to develop and finalize a plan for the use of these 
enforcement tools is contained in Minnesota Statutes, section 144.989 to 144.993. 

The revised plan modifies the initial plan adopted on November 8, 1993 in accordance with Minnesota Statutes, section 144.99, 
subdivision 7. 

Plan availability 
A copy of the final revised plan is available from Jane A. Nelson, Environmental Health Division, Minnesota Department 

of Health, 121 E. 7th Place, P.O. Box 64975, St. Paul, Minnesota 55164-0975 FAX (612) 215-0735, Internet:jane.nelson 
@health.state.mn.us. Questions about the content of the plan may be addressed to Ms. Nelson. 

Department of Human Services 
Notice of Disproportionate Population Adjustment 

The purpose of this notice is to provide information concerning the disproportionate population adjustment (DPA) that is paid for 
inpatient hospital services under the Medical Assistance (MA) General Assistance Medical Care (GAMC) and MinnesotaCare pro-
grams. The listed DPA factors are effective for admissions occurring from January 1, 1996 through December 31, 1996. The DPA 
is based on the MA inpatient days utilization rate of a hospital compared to the mean utilization rate of all Minnesota non-state 
owned hospitals and local trade area hospitals. The utilization rate of each hospital is calculated by dividing MA patient days by 
total patient days as derived from Medicare cost report data from the base year that is used for all rate setting. 

Federal law requires hospitals to meet section 1923(d) of the Social Security Act at the time that an admission occurs in order to 
qualify for a DPA payment. Basically, section 1923(d) requires the hospital to meet criteria regarding the provision of obstetric ser-
vices or specific exemptions. However, Minnesota statutes provide for a hospital payment adjustment that is equal to the DPA for 
hospitals that do not meet the federal criteria. Since a hospital may change eligibility status over time, both the DPA and hospital 
payment adjustment are listed. The federal requirements do not affect DPA payments under GAMC. 

The MA and MinnesotaCare DPA is calculated as the difference between a hospital's utilization rate and the mean utilization 
rate. The DPA for a hospital with a utilization rate that is above the mean plus one standard deviation is increased by 10 percent. 
The MA and MinnesotaCare inpatient total rate of each hospital is increased by the indicated percentage. 

The GAMC DPA is calculated as the difference between the hospital's utilization rate and the mean plus one standard deviation 
utilization rate. The inpatient operating rate of each hospital is increased by the indicated percentage. 

In addition to the listed DPA percentage, and intergovernmental transfer of $1,515,000 that is considered to be a DPA is paid 
each month to a hospital that received more than 13 percent of total 1991 MA inpatient payments (Hennepin County Medical 
Center) and $505,000 is paid to a hospital that received more than 8 percent of total 1991 MA inpatient payments and is affiliated 
with the University of Minnesota (University Hospital and Clinic). 

Questions or comments may be directed to: 
Richard Tester 
Primary Care Payment Policy Division 
Department of Human Services 
444 Lafayette Road 
St. Paul, Minnesota 55 155-3853 
(612)296-5596 
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	 Official Notices 
DISPROPORTIONATE POPULATION ADJUSTMENT 
January 1, 1996 
Minnesota + Minnesota Local Trade Area Hospitals 
Mean 0.0858 
Std Dev 0.0646 
Mean+StdDev 0.1504 

MA 
MINNESOTA 
CARE DPA 	GAMC DPA 
PERCENT 	PERCENT 

010478X Apple River Valley, Ameiy, WI 0.09 
0100093 St. Joseph's, Mankato 0.15 
0101202 United Hospital, St. Paul 0.35 
0101155 First Care Med Serv, Fosston 0.36* 

0107204 Kossuth County, Algona IA 0.42 
0100275 Cuyuna Range, Crosby 0.52 
0126974 Heartland Med Cnt, Fargo ND 0.55 
0101009 St. Peter Community 0.69 
0101144. Pipestone 0.78 
0100548 North Mem Med Center, Mpls. 0.80 
010064X Itsaca, Grand Rapids 0.81 
0109609 Vernon Mem, Wiroqua, WI 0.89 
0100810 Divine Providence, Ivanhoe 0.89 
0100978 St. Gabriel's, Little Falls 1.08 
0101020 Worthington Regional 1.09 
0101701 Memorial,ForestLake 1.31* 

0101905 St. Luke's, Fargo ND 1.37 
0101279 St. Joseph's, St. Paul 1.38 
0100071 Ortonville Municipal 1.57 
010216X Ladd Mem, Osceola WI 1.73 
0101836 Superior Mem, Superior WI 1.79* 

0102057 Burnett, Grantsburg 1.81 
0100730 International Falls Memorial 1.82 
0100934 Fairview, Princeton 1.89 
0101552 St. Cloud 2.00 
010144X St. Luke's, Duluth 2.20 
0100708 Rice Memorial, Wilimar 2.24 
0101086 Memorial, Perham 2.43 
0101687 Tn-County, Wadena 2.49 
0101177 Glacial Ridge, Glenwood 2.50 
0102705 Holy Family, Estherville 2.54 
0101122 Northwestern, TRF 2.55 
0100162 Mercy, Moose Lake 2.99 
0101406 Ely Bloomenson, Ely 3.01 
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MA 

MINNESOTA 
CARE DPA 
PERCENT 

GAMC DPA 
PERCENT 

0101450 St. Mary's, Duluth 3.70 
0100650 Northern Itasca, Bigfork 3.71 
0100151 Cloquet Community 3.74 
0101778 Monticello/Big Lake 3.87 
0105320 St. Bernard's, Milbank SD 4.02 
0101166 Riverview, Crookston 4.89 
0100672 Jackson Municipal 4.99 
0100694 Kanabec County, Mora 5.01 
0100468 Riverside Med Center, MpIs 5.38 
0101698 Waseca Memorial 5.52 
0101643 Greater Staples Hospital 5.53 
0100570 University of Minnesota, Mpls. 5.64 
0100526 Metro/Mt Sinai, MPLS 5.64" 
0100297 St. Joseph's, Brainerd 5.71 
0101869 St. Francis, LaCrosse 5.97 
0100785 Trinity, Baudette 6.08 
0102192 St. Croix Valley, St. Croix Falls 6.09 
0100220 Clearwater Memorial, Bagley 6.43 
0100887 Mahnomen County & Village 7.13* 0.02 
0100832 Weiner Mem, Marshall 7.57 0.42 
0100049 St. Mary's, Detroit Lakes 7.79 0.62 
0101439 Miller/Dwan, Duluth 8.25 1.04 
0100989 St. Olaf, Austin 8.80 1.54 
0100639 Community, Deer River 8.87 1.60 
0100264 Windom Area 8.91 1.64 
0101042 Olmsted Community, Rochester 9.17 1.88 
0108274 Forest City, IA 11.91 4.37 
0100027 Mercy Hospital, Coon Rapids 12.47 4.88 
0103119 Coteau Des Prairies, Sisseton 12.52 4.92 
010005X Bemidji Hospital 12.56 4.96 
0100628 Cambridge Memorial Hospital 13.48 5.79 
0101916 United, Grand Forks ND 14.67 6.88 
0100945 Mule Lacs Hospital, Onamia 14.87 7.06 
0100424 Zumbrota Community 14.88 7.07 
0101428 Central Mesabi, Hibbing 18.54 10.39 
0101290 St. Paul Ramsey 18.88 10.70 
0101213 Children's Health Care, St. Paul 20.67 12.33 
0107135 St. Gerard, Hankinson ND 23.00 14.45 
0100490 Henn Co Medical Center, Mpls. 24.26 15.59 
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	 Official Notices 
MA 

MINNESOTA 
CARE DPA OAMC DPA 

	

PERCENT 	PERCENT 
0101825 	Children's Health Care, Mpls. 	 26.22 	17.38 
0102002 	Gillette Children's, St. Paul 	 32.08 	22.70 
*Hospital Payment Adjustment 

Department of Labor and Industry 
Labor Standards Division 

Notice of Prevailing Wage Certifications for Commercial Construction Projects 
Effective December 11, 1995 prevailing wage rates were determined and certified for commercial construction projects in the fol-

lowing counties: 
Anoka: Lino Lakes MCF-Condensate Line Replacement-Lino Lakes. 
Chisago: DNR Division of Parks & Recreation Interstate and Wm O'Brien State Parks Accessibility Improvements. 
Hennepin: A&C Tower Restrooms Hennepin Co Government Center-Minneapolis; County Home School Cottage & Misc 

Buildings-Minnetonka; Alternative Bond Program Holland School-Minneapolis; Physics Upgrade Temperature Control- 
Minneapolis; Wilson Library U of M-Fire & Life Safety Renovation-Minneapolis. 

Lyon: Bellows (BA) Cooling Tower Replacement-Marshall; Southwest University Student Center West-Marshall. 
Pope: Glenwood Library Addition-Glenwood. 
Ramsey: Underground Bookstore Waterproofing Replacement-U of M-St Paul; Replace and Install New Stainless Steel Counter 

System and Dishwasher-Roseville. 
St Louis: Ely School Industrial Building-Fire Protection and Alarm Systems-Ely. 
Stearns: MCF St Cloud-Scullery/Steam Kettle Area/A House and Showers in Gym, E-House/C House-St Cloud. 
Washington: DNR Division of Parks & Recreation Interstate and Wm O'Brien State Parks Accessibility Improvements. 
Winona: Central Chilled Water Plant Winona State University-Winona. 
Yellow Medicine: Fagen Inc Office Building-Granite Falls. 
Copies of the certified wage rate for these projects may be obtained by writing the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry, 

Prevailing Wage Section, 443 Lafayette Road, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155-4306. The charge for the cost of copying and mailing are 
$1.36 per project. Make check or money order payable to the State of Minnesota. 

Gary W. Bastian, Commissioner 

Metropolitan Council 
Public Hearing on Draft 1996 Americans with Disabilities Ad (ADA) Paratransit Plan 

The Metropolitan Council's Transportation Committee will hold a public hearing on its updated draft of the "Americans with 
Disabilities Act (ADA) Paratransit Plan." This hearing will be held at 5 p.m., January 8, 1995, in the Metropolitan Council 
Chambers, Mears Park Centre, 230 East 5th St., downtown St. Paul. 

Interested persons are encouraged to attend the hearing and offer public comment. A sign language interpreter will be provided at 
the hearing. People may register in advance to speak at the hearing by calling 229-2758 (291-0904 TrY). People may also sign up 
at the hearing. Written comments, which must be submitted by 5 p.m., Thursday, January 18, 1996, should be sent to: Barb Quade, 
Metropolitan Council, Mears Park Centre, 230 East 5th St., St. Paul, MN 55101. 

Copies of the plan will be available for review in the Metropolitan Council's Data Center, Third Floor, Mears Park Centre. The 
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Plan will also be available to review on a check-out basis in large print, audiocassette and Braille formats. To schedule a time to 
review a copy of the plan, call 229-2758 (291-0904 T1'Y). 

For more information on the "ADA Paratransit Plan," contact the Metropolitan Council at 229-2758 or 291-0904 (TI'Y). 

Minnesota State Retirement System, 
Teachers Retirement Association, and 
Public Employees Retirement Association 
Joint Board Meeting, Notice of Meeting 

A Joint Meeting of the Boards of the Minnesota State Retirement System, Teachers Retirement Association, and Public 
Employees Retirement Association is scheduled to be held on Thursday, December 14, 1995 at 9:00 a.m. in room 123 of the State 
Capitol, Saint Paul, Minnesota. 

Public Employees Retirement Association 
Board of Trustees, Notice of Meetings 

Immediately following the Joint Board Meeting, a meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Public Employees Retirement 
Association (PERA) will be held on Thursday, December 14, 1995 at 10:30 a.m. in the offices of the association, 514 St. Peter 
Street, Suite 200, Saint Paul, Minnesota. 

Immediately following the Board Meeting, a Legislative Committee of the Board of Trustees will be held on December 14, 1995 
in the offices of the association. 

A meeting of the Disability Task Force of the Board of Trustees will be held on Wednesday, December 13, 1995, at 1:00 p.m. in 
the offices of the association. 

Department of Transportation 
Goal for Disadvantaged Business Enterprises for Federal Fiscal Year 1996 

The Minnesota Department of Transportation (Mn/DOT) has established a goal of 11% for Disadvantage Business Enterprises 
(DBEs) for all modes of transportation for federal fiscal year 1996 (October 1, 1995 through September 30, 1996). 

The Intermodal Surface Transportation and Efficiency Act (ISTEA) continues to require that women business owners be pre-
sumed to be socially and economically disadvantaged and are included in the DBE goal. 

The department's DBE plan is available for public inspection during normal business hours (8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.) at Mn/DOT 
Central Office, Room 207 Transportation Building, 395 John Ireland Blvd., St. Paul, Minnesota 55155, for 30 days following the 
date of this notice. The comments are for information purposes only. 

Please respond to: The Minnesota Department of Transportation 
EEO Contract Management Office 
395 John Ireland Blvd 
Mail Stop 170 Transportation Building 
St. Paul, Minnesota 55155 
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	 Official Notices 
• Department of Transportation 

Petition of the Division of State Aid For Local Transportation for a Variance from State Aid 
Requirements for DESIGN STANDARDS USING ENGLISH UNITS 

NOTICE IS hEREBY GIVEN that the Division of State Aid For Local Transportation has made written request to the 
Commissioner of Transportation pursuant to Minnesota Rules 8820.3300 for a variance from rules as they apply to all State-Aid and 
Federal-Aid plans let prior to October 1, 1996. 

The request is for a variance from Minnesota Rules for State Aid Operations 8820.2500 adopted pursuant to Minnesota Statutes 
Chapter 161 and 162, so as to permit plans which are designed and constructed according to the English unit standards contained in 
the Minnesota Rules Chapter 8820, adopted in 1991 and amended in 1993; in lieu of the Minnesota Rules Chapter 8820, adopted 
November 11, 1995. 

Any person may file a written objection to the variance request with the Commissioner of Transportation, Transportation 
Building, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155. 

If a written objection is received within 20 days from the date of this notice in the State Register, the variance can be granted only 
after a contested case hearing has been held on the request. 

Dated: 1 December 1995 
Patrick B. Murphy 
Division Director 
State Aid for Local Transportation 

Department of Transportation 
Petitions for Variances from State Aid Requirements for: 
Bridge No. 50573 in Windom Township, Mower County 

Trunk Highway No. 19 in the City of Marshall 
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Commissioner of Transportation has appointed a State Aid Variance Committee who 

will conduct a meeting on Wednesday, December 13, 1995 at 9:30 a.m. in Conference Room 194 Water's Edge Building, 1500 
West County Road B-2, Roseville Minnesota 55113. 

This notice is given pursuant to Minnesota Statute 47k.705. 
The purpose of this open meeting is to investigate and determine recommendations for variances from minimum State Aid 

roadway standards and administrative procedures as governed by Minnesota Rules for State Aid Operations 8820.3300 adopted pur-
suant to Minnesota Statutes 161 and 162. 

The agenda will be limited to these questions: 
1. Petition of Mower County for a variance from Minnesota Rules as they apply to a bridge replacement and approach project 

for Bridge No. 50573 in Windom Township, Mower County, Minnesota to allow the eligibility of State Aid funds for a 
construction plan awarded prior to the required approval by the State Aid Engineer. 

2. Petition of the City of Marshall for a variance from Minnesota Rules as they apply to a construction project on Trunk 
Highway No. 19 (East College Drive) from a point approximately 600 feet east of Bruce Street to Trunk Highway No. 23 
in the City of Marshall, to allow the eligibility of State Aid funds for a construction plan awarded prior to the required 
approval by the State Aid Engineer. 

The cities and counties previously listed are requested to follow the following time schedule when appearing before the Variance Committee: 
9:30 a.m. 	Mower County 
9:45 a.m. 	City of Marshall 

Dated: 1 December 1995 
Patrick B. Murphy 
Division Director 
State Aid For Local Transportation 

S 
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Official Notices 	  
Department of Transportation 
Petition of Mower County for a Variance from State Aid Requirements for CONSTRUCTION 

REQU IREMENTS 
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Mower County Board has made written request to the Commissioner of Transportation 

pursuant to Minnesota Rules 8820.3300 for a variance from Rules as they apply to the construction of Bridge No. 50573 and 
approaches in Windom Township, Mower County, Minnesota. 

The request is for a variance from Minnesota Rules for State Aid Operations 8820.2800, adopted pursuant to Minnesota Statutes 
Chapter 161 and 162, so as to permit the eligibility of State Aid funds for the construction of Bridge No. 50573 and approaches on 
Windom Township Road in Mower County, Minnesota, Minnesota, for which a contract was awarded prior to the required approval 
of plan by the State Aid Engineer. 

Any person may file a written objection to the variance request with the Commissioner of Transportation, Transportation 
Building, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155. 

If a written objection is received within 20 days from the date of this notice in the Stare Register, the variance can be granted only 
after a contested case hearing has been held on the request. 

Dated: IDecember 1995 
Patrick B. Murphy 
Division Director 
State Aid for Local Transportation 

Department of Transportation 
Petition of the City of Marshall for a Variance from State Aid Requirements for AFTER-THE-

FACT PLAN APPROVAL 
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the City Council of the City of Marshall has made written request to the Commissioner of 

Transportation pursuant to Minnesota Rules 8820.3300 for a variance from rules as they apply to a construction project on Trunk 
Highway No. 19 (East College Drive) from a point approximately 600 feet east of Bruce Street to Trunk Highway No. 23 in the City 
of Marshall. 

The request is for a variance from Minnesota Rules for State Aid Operations 8820.2800, adopted pursuant to Minnesota Statutes 
Chapter 161 and 162; so as to permit plan approval after award of contract, in lieu of the required State Aid plan approval prior to 
award of contract on the T.H. No. 19 (East College Drive) construction project from a point approximately 600 feet east of Bruce 
Street to Trunk Highway No. 23 in the City of Marshall. 

Any person may file a written objection to the variance request with the Commissioner of Transportation, Transportation 
Building, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155. 

If a written objection is received within 20 days from the date of this notice in the State Register, the variance can be granted only 
after a contested case hearing has been held on the request. 

Dated: 1 December 1995 
Patrick B. Murphy 
Division Director 
State Aid for Local Transportation 
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	 State Grants 
In addition to requests by state agencies for technical/professional services (published in the State Contracts section), the State Regirter 

also publishes notices about grant funds available through any agency or branch of state government. Although some grant programs 
specifically require printing in a statewide publication such as the State Register, there is no requirement for publication in the State 
Register itself. 

Agencies are encouraged to publish grant notices, and to provide financial estimates as well as sufficient time for interested parties to 
respond. 

Department of Human Services 
Chemical Dependency Program Division 

Request for Proposals on Prevention/Education, Information and Referral, Short-Term Counseling 
and Training Programs that Provide Services to American Indian Citizens of Minnesota. 
Proposals are also Being Requested to Host the Fifthteenth Annual Minnesota Indian institute 
on Alcohol and Drug Studies and the Minnesota Inter-Tribal Youth Prevention Camp 

The Chemical Dependency Program Division (CDPD) of the Minnesota Department of Human Services is soliciting proposals 
from American Indian human services providers, non-profit organizations, private organizations, and units of government to 
provide chemical dependency services for American Indian citizens of Minnesota. Proposals must address at least one of the fol-
lowing services: chemical dependency prevention/education; information and referral, short-term counseling services; and profes-
sional training. Proposals are due January 31, 1996. 

The funded programs should begin on or about May 1, 1996 and on July 1, 1996. One year grants will be awarded to qualified 
applicants. Approximately $130,000 is available to fund grantees for this one-year grant period. Grant funds under this RFP cannot 
be used to pay for chemical dependency treatment services. 

The goal of this REP is to reduce the effects of alcohol/drug abuse on American Indian youth and adults. 
Telephone requests for programmatic information concerning this RFP should be directed to Donna Isham, Minnesota 

Department of Human Services, at (612) 296-4043. BudgetJfund use questions should be directed to Mike Zeman, Minnesota 
Department of Human Services, at (612) 297-1863. 

Minnesota Historical Society 
Official Notice of Federal Certified Local Government Matching Grants Program 

The application deadline for the Minnesota Historical Society's F. Y. 1996 federal Certified Local Government matching grants 
program is 4:30 p.m., Wednesday, January 31, 1996. Cities with local historic preservation ordinances, commissions, and programs 
certified by the State Historic Preservation Office are eligible applicants. It is anticipated that at least $60,000 will be awarded. 

Projects that will receive special priority are those that: promote surveys in areas of known development activity in order to 
reduce project delays; promote continuing development of data for planning use; result in local designations; and involve properties 
associated with the history of heretofore under-documented groups or communities (ethnic or racial minorities for example, but also 
other groups defining themselves as communities). Instructions regarding the full range of eligible activities and information on the 
project selection process and selection criteria are found in the F.Y. 1996 CLG Grants Manual. To request a complete application 
package or for further information contact Beverly Gorgos at (612) 296-5451. 

This program receives Federal funds from the National Park Service. Regulations of the U.S. Department of the Interior strictly 
prohibit unlawful discrimination in departmental Federally assisted Programs on the basis of race, color, national origin, age or dis-
ability. Any person who believes he or she has been discriminated against in any program, activity, or facility operated by a recipi-
ent of Federal assistance should write to: Director, Equal Opportunity Program, U.S. Department of the Interior, National Park 
Service, P.O. Box 37127, Washington, D.C. 20013-7127. 
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Professional, Technical & Consulting Contracts 	
Department of Administration procedures require that notice of any consultant services contract or professional and technical services con-

tract which has an estimated cost of over $10,000 be printed in the State Register. These procedures also require that the following information 
be included in the notice: name of contact person, agency name and address, description of project and tasks, cost estimate, and final submission 
date of completed contract proposal. Certain quasi-state agencies are exempted from some of the provisions of this statute. 

In accordance with Minnesota Rules Part 1230.1910, certified Targeted Group Businesses and individuals submitting proposals as prime con-
tractors shall receive the equivalent of a 6% preference in the evaluation of their proposal. For information regarding certification, call the 
Materials Management Helpline (612)296-2600 or [TDD (612)297.5353 and ask for 296-2600]. 

Department of Administration 
Building Codes and Standards Division 

Request for Proposals to Contract for a Series of State Building Code Seminars 
NOTICE IS hEREBY GIVEN that proposals are being solicited to provide program coordination and management services for 

a series of state building code seminars, during a three (3) year period, 11 seminar each series, for a total of 66 seminars, spring 
1996, fall 1996, spring 1997, fall 1997, spring 1998, and fall 1998. The seminars will be presented in the following Minnesota loca-
tions in September through December, and March through June, one (1) eight (8) hour day per week: New Ulm, Rochester, Duluth, 
St. Cloud, Detroit Lakes, Maplewood (two (2)), Minnetonka, Burnsville, Brooklyn Park, South St. Paul. This request for proposal 
does not obligate the state to complete the proposed project, and the state reserves the right to cancel the solicitation if it is consid-
ered to be in its best interest. 

For complete details and application information contact this division at the address listed below. 
Margaret White 
Building Codes and Standards Division 
408 Metro Square Building 
7th and Robert Streets 
St. Paul, MN 55101 
(612) 296-4626 or 297-5353 (TDD-Minnesota Relay Service) 
(800) 657-3529 (TDD-Greater Minnesota Relay Service) 

PLEASE NOTE ONLY MS. WHITE IS AUTHORIZED TO ANSWER QUESTIONS. 
Responses to this request are due in the Building Codes and Standards Division offices by 4:00 p.m. on January 8, 1996. 

Department of Employee Relations 
Employee Insurance Division/Workers' Compensation Program 

Notice of Request for Proposals for Investigative and/or Surveillance Services 
The Minnesota Department of Employee Relations (DOER) is soliciting bids from qualified vendors for investigative and/or sur-

veillance services on claims filed by state employees for workers' compensation benefits. Complete statements of the state's 
requirements and other terms and conditions governing these RFP's may be obtained by contacting: 

Gaiy Westman 
Claims Supervisor 
Minnesota Department of Employee Relations 
Employee Insurance Division/Workers' Compensation Program 
P.O. Box 64081 
St. Paul, Mn 55164-0081 
(612) 296-8190 
or leave a message with Jeanne Hosch Jones at 297-3522. 

All proposals must be received by DOER by 4:00 p.m. on March 1, 1996. 
A vendor conference for interested vendors is scheduled for 9:00 a.m. on Tuesday, Januaiy 23, 1996, in the Ladyslipper Training 

Room, Centennial Office Building, 200 Cedar Street, St. Paul, Minnesota. Interested parties must call Jeanne Hosch Jones for 
reservations. 
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   Professional, Technical & Consulting Contracts 

Department of Employee Relations 
Employee Insurance Division/Worker's Compensation Program 

Notice of Request for Proposals for Independent Medical Examination Services 
The Minnesota Department of Employee Relations (DOER) is soliciting bids from qualified firms and health care providers to 

provide independent medical examination services on claims filed by state employees for workers' compensation benefits. 
Complete statements of the state's requirements and other terms and conditions governing these RFP' s may be obtained by contact-
ing: 

Gary Westman 
Claims Supervisor 
Minnesota Department of Employee Relations 
Employee Insurance Division/Workers' Compensation Program 
P.O. Box 64081 
St. Paul, Mn 55164-0081 
(612) 296-8190 
or leave a message with Jeanne Hosch Jones at 297-3522. 

All proposals must be received by DOER by 4:00 p.m. on March 1, 1996. 
A vendor conference for interested vendors is scheduled for 9:00 a.m. on Thursday, January 25, 1996, in the Ladyslipper Training 

Room, Centennial Office Building, 200 Cedar Street, St. Paul, Minnesota. Interested parties must call Jeanne Hosch Jones for 
reservations. 

Iron Range Resources and Rehabilitation Board 
Notice of Request for Proposals for Real Estate Development Manager 

The Iron Range Resources and Rehabilitation Board (IRRRB) is seeking proposals from qualified consultants and companies to 
manage and coordinate the real estate development of the Giants Ridge Recreation area and the surrounding residential real estate. 

The IRRRB owns approximately 550 acres of land near Biwabik, Minnesota, which is now used principally for downhill and 
cross country skiing. The IRRRB is now in the process of developing this property into a four season destination recreation and 
resort community. The centerpiece of this project will be a "championship" quality golf course surrounded by approximately 1,000 
residential home sites. 

Goal 
It is the goal of this project that the Giants Ridge Recreation Area be developed into a primary resort area which will create jobs, 

enhance land values, and expand the tax base in the area. 
Project Scope and Work Program 
The IRRR.B requests that respondents address sample tasks, explaining in detail their proposed plans to accomplish stated objec-

tives for each task. It is anticipated that this contract will begin on approximately January 15, 1996 and remain in effect until 
January 14, 1997, with options to renew for three additional one year periods. 

This request for proposal does not obligate the state to complete the project, and the state reserves the right to cancel the solicita-
tion if it is considered to be in its best interest. 

Prospective responders who have any questions or would like to request a complete request for proposal may call or write: 
Shirley Robinson, Contract Coordinator 
IRRRB 
P.O. Box 441 
Eveleth, MN 55734 
(218) 749-7721 

by December 18, 1995. 
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Professional, Technical & Consulting Contracts  	
All proposals must be received not later than 3:30 P.M. January 6, 1996, as indicated by a notation made by the receptionist at the 

front desk of the IRRRB administration building located on highway 53 South, Eveleth, MN. Late proposals will not be accepted. 
In Compliance with Minnesota Statutes 16b.167, the availability of this contracting opportunity is being offered to state employ-

ees. We will evaluate the responses of any state employee along with other responses to this Request for Proposal. 

Department of Revenue 
Collection Division 

Proposals Sought for Processing and Colledion of Delinquent Taxes Through Financial 
Transadion Cards (Credit/Debit Cards) to Implement the State of Minnesota Department of 
Revenue's Credit/Debit Card Services Pilot Program 

The Minnesota Department of Revenue is requesting proposals for the purpose of conducting a pilot program on the feasibility of 
the use of credit cards to pay tax debts. The objective of this program is to provide delinquent taxpayers with the option of remitting 
payment through use of a credit card transaction. The pilot program shall be conducted for a period of six months beginning in 
April, 1996 and continuing until September. 

The pilot program will determine: 
1. If collection of delinquent taxes by accepting taxpayer's creditidebit card is economically feasible to the State. 
2. If credit card operating procedures need adjustment for better efficiency and/or productivity prior to expanding the cred-

it/debit card system to payment of current taxes. 
3. Accumulate sufficient information so potential vendors to the State's permanent credit card system can provide a reason-

able and competitive proposal for such services. 
A list of required services are included in the complete "Request for Proposal." 
It is anticipated that the proposal will be accepted in January 96 and remain in force for the period April 96 through September 

96. The terms of the contract may then be re-negotiated for extension. 
To obtain a copy of the complete "Request for Proposal," contact: 

Bruce D. Showel 
Minnesota Department of Revenue 
Collection Division 
10 River Park Plaza 
Mail Station 6550 
St. Paul, MN 55 146-6550 
(612) 296-0545 

Proposals must be received at the above address no later than 4:00 PM, central standard time, December 29, 1995. 
This request does not obligate the State of Minnesota, Department of Revenue to complete the pilot contemplated in this notice 

and the department reserves the right to cancel this solicitation. All expenses incurred responding to this notice shall be borne by 
the responder. 

PAGE 1416 
	 State Register, Monday 11 December 1995 	 (CITE 20 S.R. 1416) 



	 Non-State Public Bids, Contracts & Grants 
The State Register also serves as a central marketplace for contracts let out on bid by the public sector. The Register meets state and 

federal guidelines for statewide circulation of public notices. Any tax-supported institution or government jurisdiction may advertise con-
tracts and requests for proposals from the private sector. 

It is recommended that contracts and RFPs include the following: 1) name of contact person; 2) institution name, address, and tele-
phone number; 3) brief description of project and tasks; 4) cost estimate; and 5) final submission date of completed contract proposal. 
Allow at least three weeks from publication date (four weeks from date article is submitted for publication). Surveys show that sub-
scribers are interested in hearing about contracts for estimates as low as $1,000. Contact the editor for further details. 

Metropolitan Council 
Environmental Services 

Public Notice for Letters of Interest for Professional Services 
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Metropolitan Council Environmental Services is soliciting qualifications for profes-

sional services for the Blue Lake/Seneca Solids Handling Project. Services of a Consultant/Facilitator are required to assist MCES 
staff in the preparation of a proposal for operation and maintenance (O&M) of the Solids Handling Facility. This is viewed as an 
8-month project to be completed by August 1996. The estimated cost for services is in the range of $25,000 to $100,000. 

The scope of the professional services includes the following: 

• Facilitation of an O&M proposal team, comprised of members from 8 union/collective bargaining employee groups. 

• Preparation of a proposal for the operation and maintenance of the Solids Handling Facility. This proposal will be evalu-
ated against similar proposals received from private firms. 

The project requires significant coordination efforts between MCES staff, the O&M proposal team, the project's procurement 
consultant and others to ensure that the O&M proposal meets the need of the project and is competitive. 

The tentative schedule for selecting a consulting firm for the Blue Lake/Seneca Solids Handling Project is as follows: 

Receive Letters of Interest 
Issue Request For Proposals (RFP) 
Receive proposals 
Evaluate and rank proposals 
Metropolitan Council authorization 
Contract negotiated and NiP issued 

December 1995 
December 1995 
December 22, 1995 
December 29, 1995 
January 1996 
Januaty 1996 

All firms interested in being considered for this project are invited to send a Letter of Interest asking for the Request For Proposal 
(RFP) package. 

All inquiries and submittals are to be addressed to: 
Jan Bevins, Contracts and Documents 
Metropolitan Council Environmental Services 
Mear Park Centre 
230 East Fifth Street 
St. Paul, MN 55101 
(612) 229-2132 

Minnesota Historical Society 
Proposals Sought for a Strategic Planning Archives Consultant/Facilitator 

C 
	 The Minnesota Historical Society is seeking a Consultant/Facilitator (Contractor) to assist in the development of a strategic plan 

for the State archives program. The successful Contractor shall guide the staff and the project's advisory committee through the 
process of developing a plan that will refocus the operations and strategies of the State archives program. Earlier phases of the plan-
ning have been conducted concentrating on; information gathering, identification of issues, a self-study, and staff discussions on 
changing Government records from paper to electronic formats. The focus of this contract will be to: 

1. Provide technical advice on how the strategic planning might best be accomplished; 

(CITE 20 S.R. 1417) 
	

State Register, Monday 11 December 1995 	 PAGE 1417 



Non-State Public Bids, Contracts & Grants 	
2. Identify key areas for restructuring of the program based upon prior work of the planning committee, and information 

gathered; 
3. Facilitate meeting of staff and the advisory committee that will address those issues; and 
4. Write the strategic planning document. 

The successful Contractor shall review reports of previous focus groups, town and planning committee meetings; regularly com-
municate with the committee members and chair throughout the process: attend four meetings of the planning committee; facilitate 
at least three meetings of the advisory committee, one of which shall be a review of the draft report to be prepared as a part of this 
contract; draft a report, based upon an outline of issues developed by the staff and results of meetings with the committee, advisory 
committee and consultant; and finalize and produce the planning report. 

Contract Dates: from the Date of Award through April 30, 1996. Contract Amount: Not To Exceed $6,000 (excluding printing 
and publication costs). 

The successful Contractor must have prior experience with program planning, facilitating small group planning efforts, re-engi-
neering business processes, and work in an electronic records environment. Additional preferred experience includes working with 
State or local government agencies, records management experience, and experience with historical research projects. 

Send letter of interest which includes; resume, list of recent clients, business references, and a sample of a report from a related 
project, to; Lila J. Goff, Assistant Director for Library and Archives, Minnesota Historical Society, 345 Kellogg Boulevard West, 
Saint Paul, Minnesota 55102. 

Letters of interest must be submitted, to the above office, no later than December 21, 1995. 
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