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RULES 
• Department of Public 

Welfare 
Rules Governing the Medical 

Assistance Program 

New DPW 47 repeals and supersedes old DPW 47. 

DPW 47 Medical Assistance. 

A. Introduction. 

1. This rule governs administration of the Medical 
Assistance (MA) program in Minnesota. The provisions 
of this rule are to be read in conjunction with Title XIX 
of the federal Social Security Act, Title 45 of the Code of 
Federal Regulations, Minn. Stat. ch. 256B, and other 
rules of the Minnesota Department of Public Welfare 
(hereinafter, DPW or the state agency) which is respon-
sible for the administration of the Title XIX program in 
Minnesota. 

2. The MA program shall be administered to 
provide eligible needy persons whose financial re-
sources are not adequate to meet the cost of medical 
care and services with such care and services, accord-
ing to the provisions of this rule. 

3. The MA program shall not be administered to 
deny applicants and recipients their individual and civil 
rights, nor to disclose information regarding them ex-
cept as provided under applicable state law and/or of-
ficial departmental rules and regulations. 

4. This rule is binding on all county welfare boards 
(hereinafter referred to as local welfare agencies) in the 
State of Minnesota administering the MA program (Ti-
tle XIX), on all providers of service participating in the 
MA program, on all applicants/recipients under the MA 
program, and on the state agency. 

5. The official State Plan is the submitted and ap-
proved federal document which indicates those options 
covered by Minnesota Statutes. 

7. This rule specifically includes by reference any 
federal laws or regulations or state laws pertaining to the 
Minnesota Medical Assistance program, and any provi-
sion of this rule which is inconsistent with those laws and 
regulations is superseded thereby. 

B. Application for medical assistance. 

1. Definitions. 

a. "Applicant". A person who has directly, or 
through his authorized representative (or where incom-
petent or incapacitated, through someone acting respon-
sibly for him), made application for Medical Assistance 
with his local welfare agency. 

b. "Application". The action by which an indi-
vidual indicates in writing to the agency administering 
public assistance his desire to receive Medical As-
sistance. An application is distinguished from an "in-
quiry", which is simply a request for information about 
eligibility requirements for Medical Assistance. 

2. Any person has the right to apply for Medical 
Assistance to the local welfare agency in the county in 
which he resides and has established an abode, regard-
less of whether or not it appears he will be found eligible 
for participation in the MA program. In such cases, the 
local agency shall promptly advise the applicant of the 
MA program's eligibility requirements. 

3. Each application form shall be signed by the ap-
plicant or the applicant's responsible relative, legal 
guardian or authorized representative (or where incom-
petent or incapacitated, by someone acting responsibly 
for him). 

4. As soon as possible, but no later than 45 days 
from the date of application for Medical Assistance in 
the case of families, the aged and the blind, or no later 
than 60 days in the case of the disabled, the local welfare 
agency shall conduct a personal interview with the ap-
plicant and determine his eligibility for Medical As-
sistance. All eligibility conditions shall be met within 
these time limits. Where a delay is necessary because 
necessary information cannot be obtained within the 
time limits, the applicant shall be notified in writing of 
the delay and shall be advised of his right to appeal such 
delay. 

5. Each applicant shall be notified in writing that 
his application has been approved or denied, unless the 
applicant dies or cannot be located. If the application is 
denied, the individual shall be notified in writing of the 
reasons for denial and of his right to appeal. 

6. Any person has the right to re-apply for Medical 
Assistance. New applications must be taken whenever a 

KEY: Existing rules are printed in standard type face. Proposed additions to existing rules are printed in boldface, while proposed 
deletions from existing rules are printed within [single brackets]. Additions to proposed rules are underlined and boldfaced,  while 
deletions from proposed rules are printed within [[double bracketsi]. 
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RULES 	
previous application has been denied or withdrawn, or 
when the county of financial responsibility has been 
changed. An approved application shall be appended by 
an addendum thereto for the purpose of adding addi-
tional eligible persons or when the payee has changed 
his/her name. 

7. Medical Assistance eligibility shall be redeter-
mined in accordance with the provisions of applicable 
federal regulations. In those cases where the local wel-
fare agency receives information about a change in case 
facts, eligibility shall be reviewed within 30 days of re-
ceipt of that information. 

8. The local welfare agency shall verify information 
cited in this section and contained in the application 
received from the applicant or other persons or agencies 
only with the applicant's written permission. If the ap-
plicant refuses to cooperate with the local welfare agency 
in verifying the needed information, his application shall 
be automatically denied. The following information shall 
be verified: 

a. Social Security numbers (as provided under 
(9) below) of all individuals applying for or receiving 
Medical Assistance and the parents of dependent chil-
dren. 

b. The applicant's income and property hold- 
ings. 

c. Any other information affecting eligibility as 
deemed necessary under the circumstances of each par-
ticular case. 

9. For assistance under Title XIX of the Social Se-
curity Act, the local welfare agency shall request each 
applicant to supply the Social Security number (SSN) for 
each individual (including children) for whom assistance 
is requested. Furnishing or applying for a SSN is.not an 
eligibility factor for Medical Assistance and benefits 
cannot be denied because an individual will not furnish 
or apply for a SSN or consent to use of a SSN. 

a. The local, state and federal agencies are pro-
hibited from using an individual's SSN without the writ-
ten consent of the individual, unless required by law to 
use that number. 

b. The local welfare agency shall request in writ-
ing and obtain written consent to use the individual's 
SSN to validate information contained in the applica-
tion. 

10. Local welfare agencies shall give a copy of the 
state agency's informational pamphlet on Medical As-
sistance to every person who inquires about, indicates a  

need for, and/or applies for any of the categorical aid 
programs. Local welfare agencies shall inform all appli-
cants that their medical records may, only with their 
signed consent, be released to the state agency, the local 
welfare agency, the Minnesota Department of Health, 
the U.S. Department of Health, Education and Welfare, 
and the PSRO. No records will be released to any person 
or agency absent the specific consent of the recipient. No 
person shall be eligible for medical assistance unless he 
has authorized in writing the Commissioner of Public 
Welfare to examine all personal medical records de-
veloped while receiving medical assistance for the sole 
purpose of investigating whether or not a vendor has 
submitted a claim for reimbursement, cost report or 
rate application which the vendor knows to be false in 
whole or in part. 

11. Individuals found eligible for Aid to Families 
with Dependent Children (AFDC) shall be eligible for 
Medical Assistance without a separate application. 
Aged, blind or disabled individuals found eligible for 
Minnesota Supplemental Aid (MSA) shall be eligible for 
Medical Assistance without a separate application. 
Aged, blind or disabled Supplemental Security Income 
(SSI) recipients are required to file a separate applica-
tion for Medical Assistance. Cases converted from state 
administered payments under OAA, AB and AD pro-
grams which are terminated by SSI require a separate 
application and determination of eligibility. All other 
individuals not specified herein shall file a separate Med-
ical Assistance application. 

12. Medical Assistance eligibility for a recipient of 
categorical assistance ends when there is no longer eligi-
bility for that assistance. At that point, the individual 
shall file a separate Medical Assistance application and 
the MA program eligibility criteria must be applied. 

13. The county in which the applicant resides at the 
time of application for Medical Assistance is the county 
of financial responsibility. Continuous receipt of as-
sistance will continue financial responsibility in that 
county. 

C. Eligibility factors under the medical assistance 
program. 

1. Age. 

a. Individuals eligible for Medical Assistance by 
reason of receiving a categorical form of public as-
sistance, or who would be eligible under a category ex-
cept for residence or amounts of income or resources, 
must meet the specific age requirements of the appropri-
ate category. 

b. Medical Assistance is available on behalf of 

S 
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RULES 	  

otherwise eligible individuals who were, for any portion 
of the month in which they received medical care or 
services, under 21 years of age (or under 22 years of age 
and receiving inpatient psychiatric hospital services), or 
65 years of age or older. 

c. The unborn are eligible for Medical Assistance 
during the last three months of the mother's pregnancy 
(as medically certified), so long as other factors of AFDC 
eligibility exist. 

2. Residence. 

a. "Residence" or "abode". Where a person 
lives and intends to remain. 

b. Minnesota residence is an eligibility require-
ment for Medical Assistance but no specific length of 
residence is required. A person loses Minnesota resi-
dence when he leaves the state with the intent to estab-
lish a home elsewhere. Evidence of intent under this rule 
is not simply the person's stated intentions but includes 
consideration of objective criteria associated with the 
move (e.g., movement of possessions, rent payments, 
changes in voter or driver's license registrations). 

c. A "resident" of Minnesota is a person who is 
living in the state voluntarily with the intention of mak-
ing Minnesota his permanent home. A child is a resident 
of Minnesota if he is living in the state on other than a 
temporary basis. Residence may not depend upon the 
reason for which the individual entered the state, except 
insofar as it may bear upon whether he is there voluntar-
ily or for a temporary purpose. An agricultural migrant 
who meets all other eligibility requirements and who has 
an abode in another state shall be eligible for Medical 
Assistance. Residence is deemed retained until aban-
doned. Temporary absence from Minnesota, with sub-
sequent return to the state or intent to return when the 
purpose of the absence has been accomplished, does not 
interrupt continuity of residence. 

d. Under the following circumstances, Medical 
Assistance will be furnished to eligible individuals who 
are residents of Minnesota but who are absent from the 
state, to the same extent that such assistance is furnished 
under the MA program to meet the cost of medical care 
and services rendered to eligible individuals within the 
state: 

(1) Where an emergency arises from accident 
or illness; 

(2) Where the health of the individual would 
be endangered if the care and services are postponed 
until he returns to Minnesota; 

(3) Where his health would be endangered if 
he attempted to return to Minnesota in order to receive 
medical care. 

e. Medical care and services will be provided 
outside Minnesota to eligible residents of this state in the 
following situations: 

(1) When it is general practice for residents of 
Minnesota to use medical resources beyond the borders 
of this state; or 

(2) When the availability of necessary medical 
care, services or supplementary resources make it desir-
able for the individual to use medical facilities outside 
the state, for short or long periods of time and in ac-
cordance with plans developed jointly by the local wel-
fare agency and the individual, based upon sound medi-
cal advice. 

f. The state agency shall assist in meeting the 
medical needs of residents of other states who are eligi-
ble for Medical Assistance in that state while they are 
within Minnesota. 

3. Citizenship and alienage. 

a. Medical Assistance payments may be made on 
behalf of any otherwise eligible individual who is a resi-
dent of the United States, but only if he is either: 

(1) A citizen of the United States; or 

(2) An alien lawfully admitted for permanent 
residence or otherwise permanently residing in the 
United States under color of law. 

4. Income and resources. 

a. Income. 

(1) Medical Assistance may be paid for any 
person who anticipates receiving annual net income up 
to the amounts specified under state law. Individuals or 
families within income in excess of these maxima and 
who in the month of application or during the three 
preceding months incur expenses for medical care that 
total more than one-half of the annual excess income, 

KEY: Existing rules are printed in standard type face. Proposed additions to existing rules are printed in boldface, while proposed 

deletions from existing rules are printed within single bracketsi. Additions to proposed rules are underlined and boldfaced,  while 

deletions from proposed rules are printed within [[double bracketsi]. 
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may also be eligible for participation in the MA pro-
gram. 

(2) In the determination of eligibility for MA- 
only (over 65 years of age), and MA-categorically re-
lated, "income" is the total net income the applicant 
and relatives responsible under statutes expect to receive 
from all sources during the year. 

(3) In determining eligibility for Medical As-
sistance for children under 18 years of age, the local 
welfare agency must consider all income of the appli-
cants, and their relatives responsible under Minn. Stat. 
§ 256B.06 and 256B.14. Eligibility of individuals be-
tween 18 and 21 years of age shall be determined sepa-
rately. 

(4) Definitions. 

(a) "Income". Any benefit received by or 
available to a Medical Assistance applicant/recipient as 
earnings or otherwise. Income may be earned or un-
earned. In family groups living together, the income of a 
spouse is considered available to his/her spouse and the 
income of a parent is considered available to his/her 
children under 18 years of age. All income, including 
non-cash items provided free of cost, is considered a 
resource to be evaluated in determining the need of Med-
ical Assistance applicants/recipients. 

(b) "Net income". The amount left after 
deducting allowable expenses and income disregards. 

(c) "Earned income". Income received in 
the form of wages, salary, commissions or profits from 
activities in which the applicant/recipient is engaged as 
an employee or as a self-employed person. 

(d) "Unearned income". Income which is 
not the direct result of labor or services performed by 
the individual as an employee or as a self-employed per-
son. 

(5) The following employment expenses are to 
be deducted in determining net earned income: 

(a) Mandatory retirement fund deductions. 

(b) Transportation costs to and from work 
based on the actual cost of public transportation or car-
pool payments, or 13r per mile for the actual number 
of miles driven, not to exceed 100 miles per day 
of employment (unless the recipient can establish 
actual higher transportation costs). 

(c) Cost of work uniforms.  

(d) FICA and SMI payments. 

(e) Federal and state income taxes withheld. 

(f) Union dues. 

(g) Professional association dues required 
for employment. 

(h) Health insurance premiums. 

(i) Cost of tools and equipment used on the 
job. 

(j) One dollar per day for the cost of meals 
eaten during employment hours (unless the recipient can 
establish actual higher work-related meal expenses that 
are necessary and reasonable). 

(k) Public liability insurance required by 
the employer when an automobile is used in employment 
and the cost is not compensated by the employer. 

(6) Rental income is considered unearned in- 
come. 

(7) Lump sum payments and windfalls (e.g., 
Social Security retroactive benefits, inheritances, in-
come tax refunds, gifts) are considered a resource which 
will necessitate a redetermination of Medical Assistance 
eligibility, except when specifically exempted by federal 
law. 

(8) Income of a Medical Assistance recipient, 
as in any other public assistance program, shall first be 
applied to the maintenance needs of the recipient or his 
legal dependents up to the statutory standards. 

(9) Income that is within the legal maxima of 
the MA program is not to be considered in determining 
the amount of payments made for medical services, ex-
cept in long term care facility, convalescent care unit, 
state veterans' facility and state hospital cases. In such 
cases, if the applicant/recipient has legal dependents 
(spouse andlor minor dependent children), the family's 
total net income, within the Medical Assistance legal 
maxima, is to be applied to the maintenance needs of the 
patient and those legal dependents. In such a situation 
the only income to be considered allocable to the 
maintenance needs of the long term care facility patient 
is the allowance for personal needs and clothing. Re-
tarded or handicapped persons living in skilled nursing 
facilities, intermediate care facilities, or intermediate 
care facilities/mentally retarded who are employed 
under a plan of rehabilitation are eligible for a special 
personal allowance from earned income as specified in 
state statutes. The remainder of the income within the 
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legal maxima for the family is to be attributed to the 
maintenance needs of the legal dependents with any in-
come over the Medical Assistance maxima to be applied 
to the institutional charges. If the patient has no legal 
dependents, any income in excess of the allowance for 
his personal needs and clothing is to be applied to the 
costs of long term care facility services. 

(10) Income from an SSI grant is to be disre-
garded in determining the Medical Assistance eligibility 
of an SSI recipient. However, to be eligible under the 
MA program, other sources of income must comply with 
MA program standards. 

(11) Persons receiving a maintenance grant 
under the AFDC or MSA programs shall be automat-
ically eligible for Medical Assistance. 

(12) Persons who have income in excess of the 
Medical Assistance income maxima and who do not 
qualify for categorical assistance because their income is 
in excess of the limits of those programs, may qualify for 
Medical Assistance through the spend-down provision of 
the MA program: 

(a) "Spend-down" means to reduce avail-
able or anticipated income which exceeds the amount 
protected by state law for maintenance needs. Such re-
duction must be for current medical obligations. 

(i) "Current" means medical obligations 
during the period of time the applicant is requesting 
assistance and which are allowable under state and fed-
eral law, or federal regulations. 

(ii) "Medical obligations" are amounts 
owed any eligible provider for medical care, services or 
supplies which are covered under the MA program. 

(b) Spend-down applies only to income. 

(c) Spend-down is computed by the local 
welfare agency and is a condition of eligibility. 

(i) Spend-down is computed by first de-
termining the current and anticipated annual income of 
the applicant and his responsible relatives under state 
law. 

(ii) The amount protected under state law 
is subtracted to determine the amount of anticipated 
annual income available to meet medical obligations. 

(iii) This amount is reduced by one-half to 
indicate the anticipated income available during the next 
six (6) months. 

(d) The spend-down requirement cannot be 
assumed by any third-party; such third-party resource 
shall be applied against medical obligations prior to de-
termining the applicant/recipient's unmet medical obli-
gation. 

(i) For the purpose of spend-down only, 
"third-party" means anyone other than the applicant! 
recipient or his responsible relatives. 

(e) The amount of spend-down shall be paid 
or incurred prior to establishing eligibility for Medical 
Assistance, except in those instances where a continuing 
spend-down exists. 

(i) "Continuing spend-down" means the 
spend-down requirement is met on a monthly basis 
rather than on a six-month basis. 

(aa) Continuing spend-down is limited 
to institutionalized individuals and those special situa-
tions individually approved by the state agency. 

(f) When Medical Assistance eligibility is es-
tablished through the spend-down provision, eligibility 
shall be limited to a period of six months beginning with 
the first of the month in which medical obligations are 
first incurred. This six month period may include ret-
roactive coverage of up to three months prior to the first 
of the month in which the application was made. 

b. Resources. 

(1) Real property. Medical Assistance may be 
available to any individual who, either alone or together 
with his/her spouse, does not have equity in real prop-
erty exceeding that permitted under state law. "Equity" 
shall be the assessed tax value minus any encumbrance 
against the property. 

(a) In situations where the appropriate local 
welfare board determines that an applicant/recipient's 
excess equity in real estate cannot be converted into cash 
to meet his current maintenance needs, or that liquida-
tion of the property would result in an undue hardship, 
the board may waive the equity limitation. 

(i) It is not intended that this waiver pro- 

KEY: Existing rules are printed in standard type face. Proposed additions to existing rules are printed in boldface, while proposed 
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vision be applied universally to achieve Medical As-
sistance eligibility for applicants or recipients. Instead, 
the following considerations shall act to restrict waiver 
of the real property equity limitation: 

(aa) No maximum limit on the value of 
equity in real property to be waived shall be adopted by 
a local welfare board or local welfare agency as a matter 
of practice or general policy. 

(bb) The circumstances and conditions 
under which the excess equity in real property was 
waived shall be examined periodically (at least annually) 
for changes in current market value, opportunity for 
sale or mortgage, or other pertinent factors. 

(2) Personal property. Medical Assistance 
may be available to any individual whose cash or liquid 
assets do not exceed the limits established by state law. 

(a) Under the MA program, the following 
items are exempted in determining the value of personal 
property owned by the applicant/recipient: 

(i) Household goods and furniture pres-
ently used in the applicant's/recipient's residence. 

(ii) Wearing apparel. 

(iii) Life insurance policies with combined 
cash surrender values not exceeding $1,000 per insured 
person (individual applicant and each legal dependent or 
legally responsible member of his family). 

(iv) Burial plots. 

(v) Prepaid burial contracts not exceeding 
$750 for the applicant/recipient and each legally de-
pendent member of his family, plus $200 in accrued 
interest under each such contract. In order to be covered 
by this exemption, either the funeral director must be 
the "trustee" and the applicant/recipient (or a member 
of his family for whom he is legally responsible) the 
"beneficiary" under the terms of such burial contract, 
or a trust account must be created restricting use of its 
funds to payment of funeral and burial costs. 

(b) Equity in personal property exceeding 
the applicable program maxima may be waived when 
the appropriate local welfare board determines that 
liquidation of the property would result in undue 
hardship. 

(c) If personal property increases in value 
beyond the limits allowed under applicable state law, it 
will not defeat Medical Assistance eligibility if the 
applicant/recipient, within 15 calendar days from the  

date he received notice from the local welfare agency, 
either: 

(i) Transfers the excess to an excluded 
type of property; or 

(ii) Uses the excess to repay the local wel-
fare agency and/or state agency for Medical Assistance 
already received. 

(d) A trust fund is subject to the personal 
property limitations mandated under applicable state 
law unless it can be affirmatively demonstrated that such 
fund cannot be made available to meet the individual's 
medical needs. 

(3) At the time of filing application for Medical 
Assistance, each applicant shall submit a complete and 
accurate list and description of all real and non-exempt 
personal property in which he has an equitable interest. 
Such list of property shall include not only the property 
currently owned, but all property in which he had an 
equitable interest during the three years prior to apply-
ing for Medical Assistance. 

(4) Transfers of property. The establishment 
of initial or continuing eligibility for Medical Assistance 
by disposing of resources which otherwise would be 
available for the applicant/recipient's support is eon-
trary to public policy. In some instances, such disposi-
tions may constitute a criminal offense on the part of the 
donor and/or donee of the property. If a person tenders 
any amount of money as a deposit to a long term care 
facility within three years immediately preceding his ap-
plication for Medical Assistance, or while receiving such 
assistance, all such deposits shall be considered a re-
source in determining such person's eligibility for Medi-
cal Assistance. 

(a) The following provisions shall govern 
property transfers as they affect potential eligibility 
under the MA program: 

(i) Each applicant for and recipient of 
Medical Assistance shall be required to reveal whether 
he has transferred within the preceding three years real 
or personal property with a total fair market value in 
excess of $750 without receiving adequate consideration 
for such property. Any property so transferred shall be 
viewed as an available resource for the medical needs of 
the applicant/recipient. 

(ii) The applicant or recipient who has 
transferred property as described in this section shall be 
required to provide to the local welfare agency a descrip-
tion, including value, of the property transferred; the 
name or names of all persons who received such prop- 
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erty; and the specific circumstances under which the 
property was transferred. 

(iii) The applicant or recipient who has 
transferred property as described herein shall be re-
quired to make a reasonable effort in cooperation with 
the local welfare agency to reacquire the property trans-
ferred. 

(iv) The information required by (ii) and 
the efforts made to reacquire the property mandated by 
(iii), shall be entered in the applicant/recipient's case 
record with the appropriate eligibility determination. 

(v) If return of the property or adequate 
consideration for the property cannot be arranged by 
the local welfare agency, the matter of the property 
transfer shall be reported with full documentation to the 
county attorney for possible criminal prosecution or civil 
action. 

(vi) Transfer of property in violation of 
this rule shall not, in itself, constitute automatic ineligi-
bility for Medical Assistance since such property may be 
deemed, in fact, to be unavailable to meet the 
applicant/recipient's medical needs. 

(5) Types of property ownership. The owner 
of property in joint tenancy shall be considered as own-
ing his pro-rata share of the value of such property, but 
the county or the joint tenant may establish ownership of 
a greater or lesser amount. An owner of property as a 
tenant-in-common owns his pro-rata share of the prop-
erty's value. All other types of ownership shall be 
evaluated according to the law. 

(6) Assignment of benefits. Each applicant or 
recipient shall as a condition of eligibility: 

(a) Notify his county of service of any health 
care coverage available to him or his dependents and 
agree to apply all proceeds received or potentially re-
ceivable by him or his spouse from private health care 
coverage to the costs of medical care for himself, his 
spouse and children; and 

(b) Assign any rights accruing under private 
health care coverage to the state agency, to be applied 
against the cost of medical care paid for by the MA 
program. 

5. Relative responsibility. Within the limitations 

provided by state law and this rule, the spouse of an 
applicant or the parent of an applicant under 18 years of 
age shall be charged with the cost of medical services 
before Medical Assistance shall be available. The local 
welfare agency shall not withhold, delay or deny Medi-
cal Assistance because a responsible relative deemed 
able to contribute fails or refuses to accept financial re-
sponsibility. When the local welfare agency determines 
that a responsible relative is able to contribute without 
undue hardship to himself or his immediate family but 
refuses to contribute, the local welfare agency shall 
exhaust all available administrative procedures to obtain 
that relative's contribution. When such procedures fail, 
the local welfare agency shall consult its county attorney 
regarding possible legal action. 

a. The local welfare agency shall assess the in-
come and resources of an applicant, together with that 
of his/her spouse, in determining eligibility for Medical 
Assistance, subject to the following limitations: 

(1) If spouses are living separately, the local 
welfare agency may determine that the marital relation-
ship has experienced a breakdown likely to make 
spousal support impractical. 

(a) Where there is joint ownership of either 
real or personal property in excess of statutory allow-
ances, the local welfare agency cannot conclude that a 
total breakdown of the marital relationship has taken 
place. 

(2) If the responsible relative fails to contrib-
ute support, after the local welfare agency notifies him of 
his obligation to do so, the local welfare agency shall 
notify the county attorney in an effort to commence legal 
action against that relative. 

(3) The amount of support recoverable from a 
responsible relative (other than an absent parent) shall 
not exceed the amount of assistance paid on behalf of the 
recipient. 

6. Marriage or remarriage of parent. In the event 
that a parent with dependent children under 18 years of 
age marries or remarries and applies for Medical As-
sistance on behalf of those dependent minor children 
residing with him or her, the following provisions shall 
apply in determining available income with relation to 
eligibility for Medical Assistance: 

a. All income and resources of natural or adop- 
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tive parents who reside in the home are to be considered 
available to meet the medical needs of the children. 

b. All income and resources of the children 
themselves must be considered available to meet the 
medical needs of the children so long as such income and 
resources are under the control of the parents. 

c. All other income and resources available to 
the MA applicants/recipients received in the form of 
gifts, income-in-kind, support payments, whether from 
responsible relatives or other family members, must be 
considered as a resource available to the children in de-
termining their eligibility for Medical Assistance. 

d. All income-in-kind received by the natural or 
adoptive parent must also be considered as an income or 
resource in determining Medical Assistance eligibility 
for the children. 

e. Proof of actual contribution by relatives or 
other persons may be obtained by reference to previous 
income tax returns on which these children may have 
been declared as dependent by the parent or adult fam-
ily member. Such proof of support or contribution may 
also be obtained by direct inquiry of the adult family 
members residing in the home. 

7. Institutional status. An individual who is an in-
mate of a public institution, except as a patient in a 
medical institution or as a resident of an intermediate 
care facility, is not eligible for Medical Assistance. Indi-
viduals over age 65 and under age 21 who are patients in 
institutions for mental diseases or tuberculosis are eligi-
ble for Medical Assistance if all conditions of eligibility 
are satisfied. 

a. Definitions. 

(1) "Inmate". A person who is being involun-
tarily retained and who is living in the institution. 

(2) "Public institution". A facility that is the 
responsibility of a governmental unit or over which a 
governmental unit exercises administrative control. 

(3) "Patient". An individual who is in need of 
and receiving professional services directed by a licensed 
practitioner of the healing arts towards the mainte-
nance, improvement or protection of health, or the al-
leviation of illness, disability or pain. 

(4) "Resident". An individual receiving room, 
board and a planned program of care and supervision 
on a continuous 24-hour-a-day basis as determined 
necessary by a licensed physician or, if appropriate, a 
mental retardation team. 

(5) "Institution". An establishment which 
furnishes (in single or multiple facilities) food and shel-
ter to four or more individuals unrelated to the pro-
prietor and, in addition, provides treatment serives 
which meet some needs of the individuals beyond the 
basic provision of food and shelter. 

8. Termination of medical assistance. 

a. Medical Assistance applicants and recipients 
have the right to a fair hearing when aggrieved by action 
or inaction of the local and/or state welfare agencies. 
Such hearings shalt be conducted in accordance with 
contested case and/or appeal procedures established by 
and consistent with applicable state law and federal reg-
ulations. The aggrieved applicant/recipient shall submit 
a written request for a hearing to the state or local wel-
fare agency, whichever is appropriate. A local welfare 
referee shall conduct a hearing on the matter and shall 
issue a ruling affirming, reversing or modifying the ac-
tion or decision of the local agency. The ruling of the 
local welfare referee shall be binding upon the local 
agency and the aggrieved party unless appeal is taken to 
the state agency. If appeal is taken directly to the state 
agency, a state welfare referee shall conduct a hearing 
on the matter and shall recommend an order to the 
Commissioner of Public Welfare. In appeals to the state 
agency from rulings of local welfare referees, the hear-
ing may be limited, upon stipulation of the parties, to a 
review of the record of the local welfare referee. The 
Commissioner of Public Welfare shall issue an order on 
the matter to the local agency and the applicant! 
recipient. Any order so issued shall be conclusive upon 
the parties unless appeal is taken to District Court. 
Termination of Medical Assistance may be effected only 
at the end of the month, except in the case of the death of 
the recipient. 

(1) An applicant/recipient for Medical As-
sistance is entitled to a hearing when the local welfare 
agency fails to act on his application within the time 
limits imposed by applicable federal regulations, or 
when his Medical Assistance coverage is to be denied or 
terminated (See, B.4, supra). 

(2) The local welfare agency board shall give 
the applicant/recipient timely advance notice of its inten-
tion to deny or terminate Medical Assistance. This 
notice shall be in writing and mailed to the applicant! 
recipient at least 10 calendar days prior to the effective 
date of such proposed action and shall clearly state what 
action the local welfare agency intends to take, the rea-
sons for such proposed action and the right to appeal 
such proposed action. 

(3) If the applicant/recipient appeals the pro-
posed action before it is effected, the action shall not be 

Page 360 	 STATE REGISTER, TUESD AY, SEPTEMBER 6, 1977 	 (CITE 2 S.R. 360) 



RULES 	
taken until the appeal is heard and decided in accord-
ance with applicable state law and federal regulations. 

D. General administration. 

1. Free choice of provider. Subject to the following 
limitations, the MA program shall provide eligible re-
cipients with free choice of participating local medical 
providers. The term "local" as used herein means that 
geographic area surrounding the recipient's residence 
which is viewed by the local welfare agency as reason-
able for obtaining any given medical service. 

a. Free choice is limited by the choice available 
to the local population. 

b. Eligible recipients may exercise free choice by 
enrolling in participating Health Maintenance Organi-
zations (HMO). While enrolled in an HMO, the recipi-
ent is limited to free choice within that HMO. 

c. No long term care facility shall be eligible to 
receive medical assistance payments unless it agrees in 
writing that it will refrain from requiring any resident of 
the facility to utilize a vendor of health care services who 
is a licensed physician or pharmacist chosen by the facil-
ity. 

2. County medical assistance plan. Counties shall 
administer the MA program according to the rules, pro-
cedural regulations and policies of the state agency, 
Minnesota Department of Public Welfare (DPW). Each 
local welfare agency shall develop methods and proce-
dures for keeping adequate records to: 

a. Verify current individual eligibility for the 
MA program. 

b. Justify that payment for long term care facil-
ity services was correctly made. 

c. Record individual eligibility for levels of care 
or other federal regulatory requirements as prescribed 
by the state agency. 

3. The county of service (physical residence of eli-
gible recipient) is responsible for submitting necessary 
information to DPW to insure compilation of an accu-
rate recipient eligibility file. The county of service is 
solely and fully responsible for any payments made on 
behalf of ineligible recipients as a result of: 

a. Late or inaccurate redeterminations of eligi-
bility. 

b. Non-compliance with utilization review and 
control requirements (See, D. 10, infra). 

c. Inaccurate or incomplete record-keeping or 
failure to satisfy other written requirements (See, D.4.b, 
infra). 

d. Failure to submit accurate information on re-
cipient eligibility to DPW. 

4. Records. The state and local welfare agencies 
and all medical providers shall maintain separate medi-
cal and/or fiscal records. 

a. The state agency shall: 

(1) Keep records necessary for a centralized 
disbursement system which maximizes federal financial 
participation (FFP); 

(2) Maintain a recipient eligibility file based on 
information supplied by the county of service; 

(3) Maintain records on all eligible providers; 
and 

(4) Maintain an information retrieval system 
for necessary statistical reports and/or audits of pay-
ment. 

b. Local welfare agencies shall: 

(1) Maintain eligibility records to include at a 
minimum the recipient's application and redetermina-
tion forms, as necessary or advisable for efficient admin-
istration of the MA program; and 

(2) Maintain records containing a physician's 
certification of the recipient's need for inpatient care to 
be used by DPW's utilization review and control system. 

c. Medical providers participating in the MA 
program shall: 

(1) Maintain for at least five (5) years, in the 
manner prescribed by DPW in accordance with applica-
ble federal regulations, medical and financial records 
fully disclosing the extent of service provided, the medi- 
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cal necessity for such service and payment claimed 
under the MA program; 

(2) On request, and upon being provided a 
copy of the recipient's written consent, make their 
records available to DPW, the state Legislative Auditor 
and the Department of Health, Education and Welfare 
(or representatives of those agencies) in order to justify 
all payments made to such provider and the propriety of 
all services rendered by such provider under the MA 
program; 

(3) Not be subject to any civil or criminal lia-
bility for providing access to medical records to the 
commissioner of public welfare pursuant to Minn. Stat. 
ch. 256B. 

5. Third-Party liability. The term "third-party" as 
used herein includes, but is not limited to, insurance 
companies, (including HMOs); other governmental pro-
grams such as Medicare; Worker's Compensation; and 
potential defendants in legal actions arising out of any 
type of accident or intentional tort. Insurance companies 
are liable for full payment of policy benefits on behalf of 
beneficiaries and any overage will be forwarded to the 
provider of service. Any recovery through court action 
shall be considered as a resource to the recipient in de-
termining eligibility for Medical Assistance. A trust fund 
is a resource of first recourse. 

a. The local welfare agency shall: 

(1) Determine and identify any third-party 
which has a potential legal liability to pay for medical 
care provided eligible Medical Assistance recipients 
prior to establishing or continuing recipient eligibility; 
and 

(2) As provided under state law, file its verified 
lien statements within one year from the date the last 
item of medical care was furnished. 

b. The state agency shall: 

(1) Seek recovery of all third-party liability 
benefits; 

(2) Distinguish between third-party liability 
which is a current resource and one which is not cur-
rent, based on the following considerations: 

(a) Current liability consists of but is not 
limited to, known amounts of participation or coverage 
payable by liable third parties; the amount of actual 
claims, payments or settlements received. 

(b) Liability which is not current includes  

potential resources such as legal actions or disputable 
claims whose results are speculative and uncertain. In 
such cases, the state agency shall either perfect a lien or 
refer the matter to the county attorney in the county of 
financial responsibility for the purpose of perfecting a 
lien. 

(3) File its verified lien statement within one 
year from the date the last item of medical care was 
furnished; and 

(4) Refrain from withholding payment on be-
half of an otherwise eligible recipient when third party 
liability cannot be readily determined or collected. 

6. Identification card. The state agency or the local 
welfare agency as directed by the state agency shall 
periodically issue Medical Assistance identification (ID) 
cards to eligible recipients, or if the recipient is legally 
incompetent to his guardian. Recipients shall show each 
provider a valid ID card establishing identity and cur-
rent eligibility before obtaining medical care. Nothing in 
this rule shall be construed as requiring a provider to 
provide services to a recipient who fails to present a 
currently valid ID card. A provider may contact the 
local welfare agency for verification of current eligibility 
if the recipient fails to present a currently valid ID card. 
The state agency may restrict the use of ID cards to 
particular providers of specified services when necessary 
to prevent duplication or documented abuse of services, 
to prevent violation of prior-authorization require-
ments, or to assure continuity of care. Such restrictions 
on the use of ID cards shall be subject to the fair hearing 
requirements of applicable state law and federal regula-
tions (See, C.8.a., supra). The state agency will 
periodically issue ID cards until instructed by the county 
of service that Medical Assistance eligibility no longer 
exists. The state agency shall automatically cease to issue 
cards when a spend-down period ends, when eligibility 
redeterminations are more than 90 days overdue, or 
when the special four month AFDC extended medical 
periods terminate in accordance with applicable federal 
regulations. Local welfare agencies shall notify the re-
cipient during the first five days of the last month of 
eligibility prior to the automatic discontinuance to issue 
ID cards. The state agency shall be fully responsible for 
payments made on behalf of ineligible individuals due to 
state processing error. 

7. Agreements with providers. An eligible provider 
is a vendor of medical care, services or supplies which 
meets federal and state standards for participation in the 
MA program, complies with all requirements of this 
rule, and executes a provider agreement. Providers shall 
complete and sign an appropriate provider agreement in 
the form stipulated by DPW. Failure by the provider to 
comply with federal and state statutes, rules and regula- 
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tions pertinent to the MA program shall result in termi-
nation of the provider agreement, ineligibility to receive 
MA program reimbursement and, where appropriate, 
action to recover Medical Assistance funds. In order to 
be eligible for reimbursement under the Minnesota MA 
program, out-of-state providers must complete and sign 
an appropriate provider agreement and comply with all 
licensing and certification requirements of the state or 
Canadian province in which they are located. 

8. Qualification of eligible providers. The state 
agency shalt determine the eligibility of each provider of 
medical care, services and supplies. Any medical vendor 
who, on request, and upon being provided a copy of the 
recipient's written consent, refuses to allow a proper 
survey and/or reimbursement agency access to its 
records, shall become an ineligible provider upon writ-
ten notification from DPW. The Commissioner may 
terminate payments under Chapter 256B to any person 
or facility providing medical assistance which under ap-
plicable federal law or regtlation, has been determined to 
be ineligible for payments under Title XIX of the Social 
Security Act. Any vendor of medical care who submits 
to the state agency a claim for reimbursement, a cost 
report, or a rate application which he knows to be false 
in whole or in part shall be declared ineligible for fur-
ther payments of medical assistance funds by the com-
missioner of public welfare. The commissioner shall de-
termine the time period of ineligibility and any condi-
tions for reinstatement of eligibility. No vendor of medi-
cal care shall be declared ineligible without prior notice 
and an opportunity for a hearing, pursuant to Minn. 
Stat. ch. 15, on the commissioner's proposed action. 

9. Prior authorization. Services and items of care 
which must receive prior authorization are so indicated 
in Sections E.2.a. thru E.2.s, infra. The state agency 
shall provide vendors of medical care with designated 
forms to be used in making prior authorization requests. 
The vendor shall submit the contemplated charge and 
sufficient information to allow a reasonable evaluation of 
the request. The state agency shall send a form to the 
provider indicating whether the requested authorization 
has been approved or denied. The state agency shall use 
the following criteria in evaluating prior authorization 
requests in order to: 

a. Safeguard against the unnecessary or inap-
propriate utilization of care and services; 

b. Safeguard against excess payments; 

c. Assess the quality and timeliness of such serv-
ices; 

d. Determine if less expensive alternative medi-
cal care, services or supplies are usable; 

e. Promote the most effective and appropriate 
use of available services and facilities; and 

f. Attempt to rectify misutilization practices of 
providers, recipients and institutions. 

Emergency services may be covered under the MA 
program even if the required prior authorization was 
not obtained. In order to be covered, the provider shall 
attach to the invoice an explanation of the circumstances 
under which the services were provided and why such 
services should be classified as emergency care. The 
state agency shall reimburse only those services usually 
requiring prior authorization for which emergency 
status is established. 

The state agency may delegate the responsibility for 
prior authorization of specific items and services to the 
local welfare agency which shall be responsible for im-
plementing the methods and procedures prescribed. 

10. Utilization control. 

a. A statewide surveillance and utilization con-
trol program is established subject to applicable federal 
law and regulations. Such program shall include: 

(1) An ongoing evaluation of the necessity for 
and the quality and timeliness of the services provided to 
eligible individuals under the MA program in order to 
promote the most effective and appropriate use of avail-
able services and facilities. 

(2) A post-payment review process which al-
lows for the development and review of recipient utiliza-
tion profiles, provider service profiles, exception 
criteria, and one which identifies exceptions in order to 
rectify misutilization practices of recipients, providers 
and institutions. 

b. Utilization control of inpatient hospital serv-
ices and services provided in skilled and intermediate 
care facilities. Under this surveillance and utilization 
control program, all inpatient facilities shall: 

(1) Have in effect a written utilization review 
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plan which meets the requirements of applicable state 
law and federal regulations; 

(2) Provide that the committee performing the 
utilization review activities will review each eligible indi-
vidual's discharge plan to be developed in accordance 
with applicable state law and federal regulations; 

(3) Obtain physician certification prior to or at 
the time of admission that such inpatient services are 
medically necessary or, in the case of an individual who 
applies for Medical Assistance while in an institution, 
obtain physician certification prior to authorization of 
payment; 

(4) Obtain physician recertification at least 
every 60 days thereafter that such services continue to be 
medically necessary; 

(5) Develop written plans of care in accord-
ance with applicable state law and federal regulations; 
and 

(6) Cooperate in a quality assurance and re-
view program established by the Minnesota Department 
of Health in cooperation with DPW and in accordance 
with the provisions of applicable state law and federal 
regulations. 

c. In accordance with the surveillance and utili-
zation control program, all long term care facilities (i.e., 
skilled nursing facilities, intermediate care facilities, 
mental hospitals) shall provide for: 

(1) A periodic review and evaluation of the 
necessity for admission and continued stay of each eligi-
ble individual receiving inpatient long-term care facility 
services. Such review and evaluation shall be performed 
by medical and other appropriate professional staff who 
are not themselves directly responsible for the care of 
eligible individuals, nor financially interested in any 
such institution nor (except in the case of mental hospi-
tals) employed by such institution. Such reviews and 
evaluations shall be carried out in accordance with the 
requirements specified in applicable federal regulations. 

(2) Review by the state agency (or its designee) 
of the recommendations for admission, in accordance 
with applicable federal regulations. 

d. Under the surveillance and utilization control 
program, the state agency shall: 

(1) Establish and implement a program of 
medical review (including medical evaluation and on-site 
inspection) of the care provided patients in mental hospi-
tals and skilled nursing facilities, and a program of in-  

dependent professional review (including medical evalu-
ation and on-site inspection) of the care provided resi-
dents in intermediate care facilities both of which shall 
satisfy the requirements of applicable federal regula-
tions. 

11. Transportation. The MA program shall pay for 
transportation through the centralized payment system 
only in accordance with section E.2.r.(1), infra. How-
ever, local welfare agencies may approve and pay for 
transportation when furnished by someone other than 
an enrolled medical provider. Such service must receive 
prior authorization and shall be reimbursable from the 
local welfare agency's medical assistance administrative 
account. 

E. Services under the medical assistance program. 

1. The following services are not covered under the 
MA program: 

a. Medical services of supplies paid for directly 
by the recipient. 

b. Medications dispensed by a physician that 
could reasonably be obtained from a licensed pharmacy 
(See, E.2.n., infra). 

c. Medical services or supplies where the requi-
site prior authorization was not submitted or was denied. 

d. Autopsies. 

e. Missed appointments. 

f. Telephone calls or other non face-to-face 
communication between the provider and the recipient. 

g. Routine reports (e.g., Social Security, insur-
ance) unless requested by the state agency. 

h. Investigational surgery or procedures (e.g., 
research efforts not clearly essential to the patient's 
health). 

i. Illegal operations and other procedures pro-
hibited by law. 

j. Artificial insemination. 

k. Transsexual surgery. 

I. Aversion therapy (including cash payments 
from recipients) unless provided in accordance with 
DPW 39. 

m. Cosmetic surgery aimed at beautification 
only. 
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n. Weight reduction programs unless: 

(1) The program treats a medical condition 
causing obesity; or 

(2) Obesity interferes with the health, well-
being or employability of the recipient. 

o. Billing charges. 

p. Mileage charged by eligible providers. 

q. Reversal of voluntary sterilization ptoce- 
dures. 

r. Medical care or services for an individual who 
is an inmate of a public institution, except as a patient in 
a medical institution or as a resident of an intermediate 
care facility (i.e., an individual who is under the care or 
control of a correctional authority). 

s. Duplication of services by more than one pro-
vider without appropriate medical referrals. 

2. The following services are covered under the 
MA program: 

a. Inpatient hospital services. "Inpatient hospi-
tal services" are those items and services ordinarily fur-
nished by a hospital for the care and treatment of inpa-
tients; and which are provided under the direction of a 
physician or dentist in an institution maintained primar-
ily for treatment and care of patients with disorders 
other than tuberculosis or mental diseases; and which is 
licensed or formally approved as a hospital by the Min-
nesota Department of Health; and which is qualified to 
participate under Title XVIII of the Social Security Act 
or is determined currently to meet the requirements for 
such participation; and which has in effect a utilization 
review plan applicable to all patients who receive Medi-
cal Assistance under Title XIX of the Social Security Act 
which meets applicable federal requirements, unless a 
waiver has been granted by the Secretary of the De-
partment of Health, Education and Welfare. All inpa-
tient hospitals certified for participation under Medicare 
(Title XVIII) are eligible to participate in the MA pro-
gram upon completion of a provider agreement. 

(1) The following inpatient hospitalization 
services must receive prior authorization: 

(a) Medical care of marginal medical neces- 
sity. 

(2) The following limitations apply to inpatient 
hospital services: 

(a) Private room - must be certified by a 
licensed physician as medically necessary, unless the 
private room rate does not exceed the semi-private room 
rate in that hospital. 

(b) The hospital must comply with all fed-
eral and state regulations concerning informed consent 
for voluntary sterilization procedures. Failure to comply 
with these requirements will result in denial of payment 
by DPW. 

(3) The following inpatient hospital services 
are not covered under the MA program: 

(a) Leave days, leaves-of-absence and re-
served beds as defined under federal regulations. 

b. Long term care facility services. "Long term 
care facility services" are those services provided in 
facilities (or distinct parts thereof) licensed by the Min-
nesota Department of Health and certified as eligible 
providers of skilled nursing facility services, intermedi-
ate care facility services, tuberculosis or mental hospital 
services, or those facilities similarly licensed in another 
state or a Canadian province. The term "long term care 
facilities" (LTC) as used herein includes skilled nursing 
facilities (SNF), intermediate care facilities (ICF), and 
tuberculosis or mental hospitals. 

(1) "Skilled nursing facility services" (other 
than services in an institution for tuberculosis or mental 
disease) are those services provided in a SNF. A SNF is a 
facility: 

(a) Certified by MDH as meeting the re-
quirements of Title XVIII of the Social Security Act, 
except that the exclusion contained therein with respect 
to institutions which are primarily for the care of tuber-
culosis or mental disease shall not apply and 

(b) Which meets the requirements of appli-
cable federal regulations. 

(2) "Intermediate care facility services" 
(other than services in an institution for tuberculosis or 
mental disease) are those services provided for individu-
als who are determined, in accordance with Title XIX of 
the Social Security Act, to be in need of the care pro-
vided in an ICF. An ICF is an institution which: 
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(a) Is licensed under state law to provide on 

a regular basis health-related care and services to indi-
viduals who do not require the degree of care and treat-
ment which a hospital or skilled nursing facility is de-
signed to provide but who, because of their mental or 
physical condition, require care and services (above the 
level of room and board) which can be made available to 
them only through institutional facilities; 

(b) Satisfies the standards prescribed by the 
Secretary of Health, Education and Welfare as neces-
sary for the proper provision of such care as enumerated 
in applicable federal regulations; and 

(c) Meets such standards of safety and sani-
tation as mandated by federal regulations. 

The term "intermediate care facility" also 
includes any skilled nursing facility or hospital which 
meets the requirements described above. With respect to 
services furnished to individuals under age 65, the term 
intermediate care facility does not include any public 
institution for mental diseases or mental defects except it 
may include services in a public institution (or distinct 
part thereof) for the mentally retarded or persons with 
related conditions. 

"Intermediate care facility services/nursing 
home" means services provided in an ICF-NH. An 
"ICF-NH" is an institution licensed as a nursing home 
and which meet each of the conditions described above. 
"Intermediate care facility services/boarding care 
home" means services provided in an ICF-BCH or 
which could be provided in an ICF-BCH. An "ICF-
BCH" is an institution licensed at least as a boarding- 
care home and which meets each of the conditions de-
scribed above. 

"Intermediate care facility services/mentally 
retarded" means services provided in an ICF/MR. An 
"ICF/MR" is an institution licensed by the Minnesota 
Department of Health, licensed in accordance with DPW 
34 and which meets each of the conditions described 
above. 

"Intermediate care facility services/ 
chemically dependent" means services provided in an 
ICF/CD. An "ICF/CD" is a facility licensed by the Min-
nesota Department of Health, licensed under DPW 35 
and which meets each of the conditions described above. 

(3) "Inpatient psychiatric hospital services for 
individuals under age 21" are those services provided in 
an institution which is accredited as a psychiatric hospi-
tal by the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Hospi-. 
tals. Such services include only inpatient services which, 
in the case of an individual: 

(a) Involve active treatment which meets the 
standards prescribed by the Secretary of Health, Educa-
tion and Welfare; 

(b) Are provided by a team (consisting of 
physicians and other personnel qualified to make deter-
minations with respect to mental health conditions and 
treatment thereof) and determined to be necessary on an 
inpatient basis and which can reasonably be expected to 
improve the condition giving rise to the need for such 
services, to the extent that eventually such services will 
no longer be necessary; and 

(c) Are provided prior to the date such indi-
vidual attains age 21, or if the individual was receiving 
such services during the period immediately preceding 
his twenty-first birthday, such services may be con-
tinued up to the date the individual no longer requires 
such services or the date the individual attains age 22, 
whichever date comes first. 

(4) Inpatient hospital, SNF and ICF services 
for individuals 65 years of age or over in an institution 
for tuberculosis or mental diseases. 

(a) "Inpatient hospital services in an institu-
tion for mental diseases" are those items and services 
which are provided under the direction of a licensed 
physician for the care and treatment of inpatients in a 
psychiatric hospital which meets the requirements of 
Title XVIII of the Social Security Act. 

(b) "Inpatient hospital services in an in-
stitution for tuberculosis" are those items and services 
which are provided under the direction of a licensed 
physician for the care and treatment of inpatients in a 
tuberculosis hospital which meets the requirements of 
Title XVIII of the Social Security Act. 

(c) "Skilled nursing facility services" are 
those items and services furnished by a skilled nursing 
facility as defined by applicable federal regulations. 

(d) "Intermediate care facility services" are 
those items and services furnished by an intermediate 
care facility, as defined by applicable federal regula-
tions, to residents who have been determined in accord-
ance with such federal regulations to be in need of such 
care. 

(e) An "institution for mental diseases" 
means an institution which is primarily engaged in pro-
viding diagnosis, treatment or care of persons with men-
tal diseases including medical attention, nursing care 
and related services. 

(f) An "institution for tuberculosis" means 
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an institution which is primarily engaged in providing 
diagnosis, treatment or care of persons with tuberculosis 
including medical attention, nursing care and related 
services. 

(5) Levels of care. Reserved for future use. 

(6) General limitations. 

(a) Payment will be made only to facilities 
that have in effect an approved utilization review plan 
and which meet all other requirements of the surveil-
lance and utilization control program prescribed by ap-
plicable federal regulations. 

(b) Medical Assistance is not available on 
behalf of any individual who is an inmate of a public 
institution (except where a patient is in a medical institu-
tion (See, Minn. Stat. § 256B) or is a resident of an inter-
mediate care facility) or any individual who has not at-
tained 65 years of age and who is a patient in an institu-
tion for tuberculosis or mental diseases. An individual 
on provisional discharge or convalescent leave from an 
institution for mental diseases is not considered to be a 
patient in such institution. An institution for the men-
tally retarded or an institution for the chemically de-
pendent is not considered an institution for mental dis-
eases. 

(c) Payments to institutions for the mentally 
retarded or persons with related conditions shall not 
include reimbursement for vocational and educational 
activities. 

(d) Payment will be made to facilities only in 
accordance with applicable federal reimbursement for-
mula regulations. 

(7) Health care facility report. Every facility 
required by state law to be licensed by the Minnesota 
Department of Health shall provide such annual reports 
to the Commissioner of Public Welfare as may hereafter 
be required. Each health care facility participating 
under the MA program shall provide the Commissioner 
of Public Welfare with a full and complete financial re-
port of the facility's operations, including: 

(c) The names of all individuals, partner-
ships and corporations (other than mortgage companies) 
owning any interest of ten percent (10%) or more of the 
facility; and 

(d) The names of all owners of interest in the 
facility as defined in (c), or the children, parents or 
spouses of such owners who own an interest in any other 
health care facility or organization doing business with 
the MA program or who are otherwise enrolled as pro-
viders. 

A DPW 49 or DPW 52 cost report shall 
satisfy this requirement. The financial records, reports 
and supporting data of each participating facility shall 
be accessible for inspection and audit by the Commis-
sioner of Public Welfare or designees. 

c. Physician services. Physician services are 
those services provided by or under the personal super-
vision of a licensed physician or osteopath within the 
scope of his profession as defined by state law. All physi-
cians currently licensed to practice medicine under 
Minnesota law are eligible to participate in the MA pro-
gram. Out-of-state physicians who are licensed in the 
state of service are also eligible for participation in Min-
nesota's MA program. The MA program shall pay for 
all emergency and medically-necessary health care. 

(1) The following physician services must re-
ceive prior authorization: 

(a) All medical, surgical or behavioral mod-
ification services aimed specifically at weight reduction. 

(b) Surgery and other procedures of ques-
tionable medical necessity but deemed advisable in order 
to correct conditions that may reasonably be assumed to 
interfere with the individual's personal and social ad-
justment or employability. 

(c) Removal of tattoo. 

(d) Payment for physicians' services exceed-
ing thirty (30) days of inpatient psychiatric treatment 
per calendar year. 

(e) Individual hourly sessions with a 
(a) An annual statement of income and ex- 	psychiatrist licensed to practice medicine in the U.S. or 

penditures; 	 Canada in excess of ten (10) per calendar year. 

(b) A complete statement of fees and 
	 (2) The following are limitations to physicians' 

charges; 	 services: 
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(a) The MA program will pay for up to 10 

hourly sessions with a psychiatrist licensed to practice 
medicine in the U.S. or Canada per calendar year for 
any eligible recipient. 

(b) The MA program will pay for up to 26 
additional hourly sessions with a psychiatrist licensed to 
practice medicine in the U.S. or Canada per calendar 
year when all of the following conditions exist: 

(i) Three or more members of one family 
unit are all seen together at every session; and 

(ii) The 26 hourly sessions extend over a 
period of time greater than six consecutive months; and 

(iii) At least one of the family members is 
under age 18. 

(c) The MA program will pay for ongoing 
chemotherapy management on a once-a-week average 
basis, provided that both of the following conditions ap-
ply: 

(i) The medication required is an anti- 
psychotic or anti-depressant; and 

(ii) No more than 52 sessions take place 
within a twelve month period. 

(d) The MA program will pay for family 
psychotherapy of two family members (conjoint 
psychotherapy with continuing medical diagnostic 
evaluation and drug management) as needed for up to 
two hours per week for a twenty week period. (When 
more than two family members are involved, See, 
E.2.c.(2)(b), supra.) 

(e) The MA program will pay for multiple 
family group-psychotherapy or group-psychotherapy 
for up to two hours per week for a ten week period. 

d. Health maintenance organizations (HMO). 
Health Maintenance Organizations are organizations 
licensed by the state which provide comprehensive 
health care to a voluntarily enrolled population in a 
specified geographic area. The MA program shall reim-
burse participating HMOs through a pre-negotiated and 
fixed per capita payment determined in accordance with 
applicable federal regulations made on behalf of ne-
rolled recipients. HMOs shall provide, either direct-
ly or through arrangements with other medical pro-
viders, for all medical services and supplies covered 
under the official Medical Assistance State Plan. HMO 
services shall be provided in accordance with the HMO 
contract and shall not be subject to service limitations,  

prior authorization requirements and billing and 
recovery procedures under this rule. 

e. Other licensed practitioners. The MA pro-
gram shall pay for medical and remedial care or serv -
ices, other than physicians' services, provided by a prac-
titioner currently licensed under Minnesota law and per-
formed within the scope of his practice as defined by 
state law. Out-of-state practitioners who are licensed in 
the state of service are also eligible to participate in 
Minnesota's MA program. This category is limited to 
services provided by licensed chiropractors, podiatrists, 
vision care providers, psychologists, nurse-midwives, 
osteopaths not licensed to practice medicine and surgery 
and by public health nurses. Limitations on the number 
of treatments pertain to each eligible recipient per 
calendar year. 

(1) Chiropractors. Chiropractors must be 
licensed and conform to the uniform minimum 
standards promulgated by the Secretary of Health, Edu-
cation and Welfare under Title XVIII of the Social Se-
curity Act, as amended. The MA program limits pay-
ment for services provided by chiropractors as follows: 

(a) The request for chiropractic services 
must originate with the recipient, his family or 
caseworker and may proceed only with the recipient's 
full knowledge and consent. 

(b) Payment is limited to manual manipula-
tion of the spine for a diagnosis of subluxation of the 
spine. No other chiropractic service is covered under the 
MA program. 

(c) Payment is limited to 6 treatments per 
month and 24 treatments per calendar year for each 
eligible recipient. Treatment in excess of these maxima 
must receive prior authorization. 

(d) The MA program shall not cover x-rays 
nor any other diagnostic or laboratory procedure pro-
vided by a chiropractor. 

(2) Podiatrists. The MA program limits pay-
ment for podiatry services as follows: 

(a) The request for podiatry services must 
originate with the recipient, his family, his caseworker 
or, where applicable, the staff of the long term care 
facility wherein he resides, and may proceed only with 
the patient's full knowledge and consent. 

(b) A limit of 3 visits per month and 12 visits 
per year Is placed on the following: 

(I) Total office and outpatient visits. S 
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(ii) Total home or long term care facility 

visits. 

(iii) Hospital visits. 

(c) Treatment in excess of these maxima 
must receive prior authorization. 

(d) The following podiatry services are not 
covered under the MA program for long term care facil-
ity patients: 

(i) Ordinary foot hygiene. 

(ii) Use of skin creams to maintain skin 
tone. 

(iii) Normal trimming of nails and other 
services that can reasonably and safely be performed by 
LTC facility personnel. 

(3) Vision care. "Optometric services" are 
those services provided by or under the personal super-
vision of a licensed optometrist within the scope of his 
profession as defined by state law. "Eyeglasses" are 
lenses (including frames when necessary) and other aids 
to vision prescribed by a physician skilled in diseases of 
the eye or an optometrist, whichever the patient may 
select, to aid or improve vision. Eligible providers in-
clude optometrists currently licensed by the State Board 
of Optometry, ophthalmologists currently licensed by 
the state, opticians who are normally associated with the 
fabrication and/or dispensing of materials, and out-of- 
state providers in one of the above classifications 
licensed by the state of service. 

(a) The following vision care services must 
receive prior authorization: 

(i) Contact lenses. 

(aa) Supplemental contact lens evalua- 
tion. 

(bb) Contact lens check-up. 

(cc) Spherical lens fitting (single vi- 
sion). 

(dd) Cylindrical, lenticular, aphakic or 
prism ballast lenses. 

(ee) Keratoconus lenses.  

(ff) Cosmetic lenses (disfigurement 
only). 

(gg) Fitting previous contact lens 
wearer. 

(hh) Soft contact lens fitting. 

(ii) Fitting monocular patient. 

(ii) Custom-fit prosthetic eye. 

(iii) Amblyopia therapy. 

(aa) "Amblyopia" includes all test 
procedures necessary for classification and determina-
tion of expecteds. 

(iv) Strabismus therapy. 

(aa) "Strabismus" includes all test 
procedures necessary for classification, degree of squint 
and determination of expecteds. 

(v) Vision therapy-supplemental evalua-
tion and report. 

(vi) More than one (1) pair of eyeglasses 
in any single 12 month period. 

(vii) Photochromatic lenses: Must be ac-
companied by a statement of medical necessity. 

(viii) Sunglasses: Must be accompanied 
by statement of medical necessity. 

(ix) Lens coating-surface or edge. 

(b) The following vision care services are 
not covered under the MA program: 

(i) Services provided principally for cos-
metic reasons, including: 

(aa) Contact lenses prescribed for rea-
sons other than aphakia, keratoconus, aniseikonia or 
marked acuity improvement over spectacle correction. 

(bb) Replacement of lenses or frames 
due to a recipient's personal preference for a change of 
style or color. 

(ii) Technical services related to the pro-
vision of non-covered services. 
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(4) Psychologists. Eligible providers are indi-

viduals currently licensed by the Minnesota Board of 
Examiners of Psychologists to practice as licensed 
psychologists or licensed consulting psychologists in the 
appropriate service areas. 

(a) The following psychological services 
must receive prior authorization: 

(i) Services in excess of the limitation on 
the number of visits (See, below). 

(b) The MA program limits payment for 
services provided by psychologists as follows: 

(i) The MA program will pay for up to 10 
hourly sessions with a licensed psychologist per calendar 
year for any eligible recipient. 

(ii) The MA program will pay for up to 26 
additional hourly sessions with a licensed psychologist 
per calendar year when all of the following conditions 
exist: 

(aa) Three or more members of one 
family unit are all seen together at every session; and 

(bb) The 26 hourly sessions extend over 
a period of time greater than six consecutive months; 
and 

(cc) At least one of the family members 
is under age 18. 

(iii) The MA program will pay for family 
psychotherapy of two family members as needed for up 
to two hours per week for a twenty week period. (When 
more than two family members are involved, See, 
E.2.e.(4)(b), supra.) 

(iv) The MA program will pay for multi-
ple family group-psychotherapy or group- 
psychotherapy for up to two hours per week for a ten 
week period. 

(c) The following psychological services are 
not covered under the MA program: 

(i) Medical supplies and equipment. 

(5) Public health nurses. A "public health 
nurse" is a registered nurse who is licensed as a profes-
sional nurse and certified by the State Board of Health as 
a public health nurse. The MA program limits payment 
for public health nurses to the following services: 

(a) Health assessment and screening. 

(b) Health promotion and preventive coun-
seling. 

(c) EPSDT screening if approved by the 
Minnesota Department of Health. 

(d) Health care services provided at the 
residence of the patient if the services are performed by 
a public health nurse and the nurse indicates in a state-
ment submitted under oath that the services were actu-
ally provided. 

f. Outpatient hospital services. "Outpatient 
hospital services" are preventive, diagnostic, therapeu-
tic, rehabilitative or palliative items or services fur-
nished by or under the direction of a licensed physician 
or dentist to an outpatient in an outpatient facility which 
is licensed as a hospital by the state and which is qual-
ified to participate under Title XVIII of the Social Secur-
ity Act, or is currently determined to meet the require-
ments for such participation. All outpatient hospitals 
certified to participate under Medicare (Title XVIII) are 
eligible to participate in the MA program upon comple-
tion of a provider agreement. 

(1) The following outpatient hospital services 
must receive prior authorization: 

(a) Kidney dialysis not covered by Medi-
care. 

(b) Oral surgery (except in emergencies). 

(c) Hemodialysis back-up service. 

(d) Supplemental and tube feedings for pa-
tients who have special nutritional needs. 

(e) All physician services which must receive 
prior authorization (See, E.2.c.(1), supra). 

(2) The following are limitations to services 
provided by outpatient hospitals: 

(a) Each hospital shall comply with all fed-
eral and state regulations concerning informed consent 
for voluntary sterilization procedures. Failure to comply 
will result in denial of payment under the MA program. 

(3) The following outpatient hospital services 
are not covered under the MA program: 

(a) Hypoallergenic foods; baby foods. 

(b) Diapers. 

(c) Charges for services of house staff, 
interns, residents, administrative or supervisory staff 

Page 370 
	

STATE REGISTER, TUESDAY, SEPTEMBER 6, 1977 	 (CITE 2 S.R. 370) 



RULES 	

(including physician-owners) who are paid by the hospi-
tal or by other sources. 

g. Clinic services. "Clinic services" are preven-
tive, diagnostic, therapeutic, rehabilitative or palliative 
items or services furnished to an outpatient by or under 
the direction of a licensed physician or dentist in a facil-
ity which is not part of a hospital but which is organized 
and operated to provide medical care to outpatients. 
Family planning agencies or centers are considered 
"clinics" under this definition. 

(1) "Family planning agencies" are agencies 
or clinics which primarily offer family planning related 
services and have executed either a contract or provider 
agreement with the state agency. Family planning agen-
cies provide services concerned with the voluntary plan-
ning of the conception and bearing of children. Such 
services include both fertility and infertility programs. 

(a) The following are limitations to services 
provided by family planning agencies: 

(i) The request for such services must 
originate with the recipient and proceed with his full 
knowledge and consent. 

(ii) The agency or clinic must comply with 
all federal and state regulations concerning informed 
consent for voluntary sterilization procedures. Failure 
to comply with these requirements will result in denial of 
payment under the MA program. 

h. Home health care services. 

(1) "Home health care services" are any of the 
following items and services when they are prescribed by 
a licensed physician to a patient in his place of residence, 
but excluding residence in a hospital, SNF or ICF: 

(a) Intermittent or part-time nursing serv-
ices furnished by a home health agency. 

(b) Intermittent or part-time nursing serv-
ices of a professional registered nurse or licensed practi-
cal nurse under the direction of the patient's physician, 
when no home health agency services are available. 

(c) Medical supplies, equipment and 
appliances prescribed by a physician as necessary for the 
care of the patient and suitable for use in the home. 

(d) Services of a home health aide under the 
supervision of a professional nurse assigned by a home 
health agency. 

(2) A "home health agency" is a public or pri-
vate agency or organization, or a subdivision of such an 
agency or organization, which is qualified to participate 
as a home health agency under Title XVIII of the Social 
Security Act or is determined by the Department of 
Health to currently meet the requirements of applicable 
federal regulations. The following home health care 
services are not covered under the MA program: 

(a) Homemaker services. 

(b) Social services provided by a home 
health agency. 

I. Medical supplies. The term "medical 
supplies" as used herein includes the most cost effective 
non-durable medical supplies, durable medical equip-
ment, prostheses, orthoses and oxygen. Medical supplies 
must be prescribed by a physician or other licensed med-
ical practitioner within the scope of his profession as 
defined by state law. Medical supplies must be necessary 
and reasonable for the treatment or diagnosis of an ill-
ness or injury or to improve the functioning of a mal-
formed body member. 

(1) "Non-durable medical supplies". Those 
items which have a limited life expectancy (e.g., atomiz-
ers, nebulizers, fountain syringes and incontinence 
pads). 

(2) "Durable medical equipment". Equip-
ment which can withstand repeated use, is primarily 
used for medical purposes, is generally not useful to a 
person in the absence of illness or injury, and is appro-
priate for use in the home (e.g., wheel chairs, hospital 
beds and side rails). 

(3) "Prostheses" and "orthoses". Replace-
ment, corrective or supportive devices for the purpose of 
artificially replacing a missing portion of the body or to 
prevent or correct physical deformity or malfunction or 
to support a weak or deformed portion of the body. 

(4) The MA program pays for oxygen and any 
equipment necessary for administration of oxygen (or 
other than nasal catheters and positive pressure breath-
ing apparatus) when prescribed by a licensed physician 
so long as prior authorization is obtained. 
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Payment for equipment repair will be allowed 

only when that equipment is medically necessary. 
Routine periodic servicing such as testing, cleaning, 
regulating and checking of a recipient's equipment will 
not be covered. Extensive, complex maintenance may be 
covered as a necessary repair. Payment on equipment 
will not continue after the recipient's need for that 
equipment ceases to exist. The MA program will pay for 
supplies essential to the effective use of medically neces-
sary durable equipment. 

Eligible providers include those individuals or 
agencies who supply and/or service medical supplies. 
Medical supply and hearing aid dealers must complete a 
"Performance Agreement" to be eligible to participate 
in the MA program. Performance agreement as used 
herein means a written agreement between a provider of 
service and the state agency, as required by federal regu-
lations. 

(5) The following medical supplies must re-
ceive prior authorization: 

(a) Non-durable medical supplies, when: 

(i) The cost exceeds the performance 
agreement limitations; 

(b) Durable medical equipment, when: 

(i) The purchase, projected cumulative 
rental, repair or maintenance cost exceeds the perform-
ance agreement limitation; 

(c) Prostheses and orthoses, when: 

(i) The purchase, projected cumulative 
rental, or repair cost exceeds the performance agree-
ment limitations; 

(ii) The order is for an indwelling catheter 
(which requires a diagnosis of permanent urinary incon-
tinence) or 

(iii) The order is for a hearing aid, repairs 
to hearing aids when the costs of parts and labor exceeds 
the performance agreement limitations, repairs under 
the limitations, if performed by a hearing aid dealer 
more than once a year, or visits by a hearing aid dealer! 
servicer to the recipient's home in excess of one visit per 
year. 

(d) Oxygen and any equipment necessary 
for the administration of oxygen, except in documented 
emergencies. 

(e) Medical supplies for recipients who are 

residents of long term care facilities may be authorized 
under the following conditions: 

(i) The cost of a specific item cannot be 
covered in the per diem rate; and 

(ii) The item is necessary for the continu-
ous care and exclusive use of this recipient to meet an 
unusual medical need; and 

(iii) The need is identified and 
documented in the recipient's plan of care. 

(6) The following items are not covered under 
the MA program: 

(a) Equipment primarily and customarily 
used for non-medical purposes, i.e.: 

(i) Air conditioners. 

(ii) Food blenders. 

(iii) Exercycles. 

(iv) Orthopedic mattresses. 

(v) Dehumidifiers. 

(vi) Humidifiers. 

(vii) Air filters. 

(viii) Auto modifications. 

(ix) Books. 

(x) TV sets. 

(xi) Bicycles. 

(xii) Household items. 

(xiii) Safety bars. 

(xiv) Training equipment. 

(b) Comfort or convenience items (i.e., elec-
tric beds, elevators, waterbeds, cushion lift chairs). 

(c) Stock orthopedic shoes unless attached 
to a leg brace. 

(d) Medical equipment and supplies for re-
cipients who are residents of long term care facilities, 
except as provided in E.2. i (4)(e), supra. 
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(e) The three follow-up visits per year at the 
hearing aid dealer's office or service center specified in 
the Hearing Aid Performance Agreement. 

(f) Reimbursement to long term care 
facilities for any medical equipment or supplies other 
than allowed under DPW 49 and 52. 

j. Private duty nursing services. "Private duty 
nursing services" are nursing services provided by a 
professional registered nurse or a licensed practical 
nurse under the general direction of the patient's physi-
cian to the patient in his own home or in a hospital or 
SNF, when the patient requires individual and continual 
care beyond that available from a visiting nurse or that 
routinely provided by the nursing staff of the hospital or 
SNF. Eligible providers include registered nurses and 
licensed practical nurses in independent practice who 
provide services separate and apart from any employ -
ment or contract with any agency, organization or facil-
ity. 

(1) The MA program pays for private duty 
nursing services only: 

(a) When ordered in writing by the patient's 
primary physician or consulting physician; 

(b) In hospitals having no intensive care unit 
capable of meeting the patient's needs; 

(c) In the family residence when there is no 
available home health care agency to provide the re-
quired level of nursing care which meets the require-
ments for participation under Title XVIII of the Social 
Security Act. 

(d) If the private duty nurse is not a member 
of the patient's family. 

k. Rehabilitative and therapeutic services. "Re-
habilitative and therapeutic services" are provided for 
the purpose of increasing or maintaining the maximum 
level of functional independence of patients. These serv-
ices are defined as follows and include the use of such 
supplies and equipment as necessary, when pursuant to 
physician orders and when purchased by a facility, 
agency or independent practitioner. 

(1) Rehabilitative and therapeutic services in 
long term care facilities. Such services must be provided 
in accordance with applicable federal regulations, state 
law and DPW rules. 

(a) "Physical therapy". Those services pre-
scribed by a physician and provided to a patient by a 
qualified physical therapist. In addition, other qualified 
rehabilitative personnel, including physical therapy as-
sistants, physical therapy aides, and physical therapy 
orderlies may assist the physical therapist in performing 
physical theiapy services and in the performance of 
duties that do not require a qualified physical therapist's 
knowledge and skill. The full responsibility for the pa-
tient's instruction or treatment remains with the qual-
ified physical therapist in consultation with the attending 
physician. When services of support personnel are 
utilized, there must be direct, on-site observation and 
supervision by the qualified physical therapist. A "qual-
ified physical therapist" is a graduate of a school of 
physical therapy approved by the Council on Medical 
Education of the American Medical Association and the 
American Physical Therapy Association, and who has a 
valid Minnesota certificate of registration (as soon as 
such certificate is available from the Minnesota Depart-
ment of Health). 

(b) "Occupational therapy". Those services 
prescribed by a physician and provided to a patient by a 
qualified occupational therapist. In addition, other qual-
ified rehabilitative personnel, including occupational 
therapy assistants, occupational therapy aides, and oc-
cupational therapy orderlies may assist the occupational 
therapist in performing occupational therapy services 
and in the performance of duties that do not require a 
qualified occupational therapist's knowledge and skill. 
The full responsibility for the patient's instruction or 
treatment remains with the qualified occupational 
therapist in consultation with the attending physician. 
When services of support personnel are utilized, there 
must be direct, on-site observation and supervision by 
the qualified occupational therapist. A "qualified occu-
pational therapist" is a graduate of a school of occupa-
tional therapy approved by the Council on Medical Edu-
cation of the American Medical Association and the 
American Occupational Therapy Association, and/or 
who is registered by the American Occupational 
Therapy Association. 

(c) "Services for individuals with speech, 
hearing and language disorders". Those diagnostic, 
screening, preventive or corrective services prescribed 
by a physician and provided by a qualified speech 
pathologist or a qualified audiologist in the practice of 
his profession. A "qualified speech pathologist" or 
"qualified audiologist" shall have a Certificate of Clini-
cal Competence from the American Speech and Hearing 
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Association, or shall have completed the equivalent edu-
cational requirements and work experience necessary 
for obtaining such a certificate, or shall have completed 
the academic program and be in the process of ac-
cumulating the necessary supervised work experience 
required to qualify for such a certificate. 

(d) Specialized rehabilitative service re-
quirements - inpatient and outpatient. 

(i) Restorative therapy. There must be a 
medically appropriate expectation that the patient's 
condition will improve significantly in a reasonably and 
generally predictable period of time. This expectation 
shall be based on an assessment made by the attending 
physician of the patient's restorative potential after con-
sultation with qualified rehabilitative personnel. 

(ii) Specialized maintenance therapy. 
Physician orders must relate the necessity for specialized 
maintenance therapy to the patient's particular dis-
abilities. Such therapy must be necessary for maintain-
ing the patient's current level of functioning or for pre-
venting deterioration of the patient's condition. 
Specialized maintenance therapy shall be provided only 
by qualified rehabilitative personnel and only to those 
patients who cannot be adequately and appropriately 
treated solely within the facility's nursing program. 

(e) Billing and reimbursement. 

(i) The long term care facility in which the 
recipient resides shall bill on behalf of the rehabilitative 
personnel, agency or hospital for services provided. In 
cases where a patient residing in a facility is provided 
specialized rehabilitative services in a setting other than 
his residential facility, the residential facility shall bill 
for services provided pursuant to agreement with the 
agency, hospital or other institution where the service is 
provided. 

(ii) Reimbursement to qualified re-
habilitative personnel (including rehabilitative assistants 
and aides) under contract with a facility: Each facility 
shall bill the MA program on behalf of qualified re-
habilitative personnel providing services under contract 
to it. 

(iii) Reimbursement to qualified re-
habilitative personnel (including supervised rehabilita-
tive assistants and aides) salaried by the facility. Each 
facility shall bill on behalf of salaried, qualified re-
habilitative personnel for the services provided. At the 
end of each fiscal year, the facility shall: 

(aa) Determine the total number of 
treatment sessions provided by each salaried, qualified  

rehabilitative employee during the fiscal year. A "treat-
ment session" is defined as one or more treatment pro-
cedures and/or modalities provided to one patient dur-
ing one session. 

(bb) Determine, for each qualified re-
habilitative employee, the total number of treatment ses-
sions (as defined herein) provided to eligible recipients 
and indicate this number as a percentage of the total 
number of treatment sessions provided by that 
employee. 

(cc) Multiply the resulting percentage 
by the salary of the employee. "Salary" means all direct 
costs related to employment. If Medical Assistance 
reimbursement exceeds the percentage of salary related 
to treatment sessions provided to Medical Assistance re-
cipients, the excess amount shall be applied to and, 
therefore, reduce the "General and Administration" 
expenses on the health facility cost report submitted by 
the respective facility. 

(f) The following rehabilitative and 
therapeutic services are not reimbursable as a separate 
charge under the MA program when furnished in a long 
term care facility: 

(i) Services authorized by a physician but 
not documented in the patient's medical record. 

(ii) Services provided by unsupervised as-
sistants, aides and/or other supportive personnel. Salaries 
and costs related to these personnel are to be included as 
part of the facility's rate determination in accordance 
with the health facility cost report. 

(iii) Rehabilitative services provided by 
nursing personnel. 

(iv) Services for personal comfort. 

(v) Services of qualified rehabilitative 
personnel related to training or consultation of facility 
staff. 

(vi) Activities programs. 

(vii) Services of a rehabilitative nature 
provided by living unit personnel, qualified mental re-
tardation professionals, direct care staff, and training or 
habilitational personnel. 

(viii) Screening procedures not ordered 
by a physician. 

(ix) Services not reasonable and necessary 
to the treatment of the patient's condition. 
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(x) Services provided without written or-

ders of the patient's attending physician. 

(xi) Services provided without physician 
review of the patient's progress and plan of care at least 
once every 30 days, with written certification and re-
certification by the physician. 

(xii) Services of a preventive or mainte-
nance nature when physician orders do not relate such 
services to the patient's disabilities. 

(xiii) Physical therapy services not au-
thorized after the initial 90-day service period by an 
independent medical consultant or the facility's utiliza-
tion review committee, or through the local welfare 
agency's approved review plan only if authorization by 
an independent medical consultant or the utilization 
committee is not possible. 

(xiv) Outpatient services provided by a 
facility not certified as an outpatient provider. 

(xv) Outpatient services provided off the 
facility's premises. 

(xvi) Services billed for by any source 
other than the skilled nursing facility, intermediate care 
facility, or intermediate care facility for the mentally 
retarded. 

(2) Speech pathology, audiology and physical 
therapy provided by independent practitioners. Such 
services are of a diagnostic, screening, preventive or 
corrective nature and provided to individuals with 
speech, hearing and language disorders or physical im-
pairments. Such services must be provided in accord-
ance with applicable federal regulations, state law and 
DPW rules. 

(a) "Speech pathology". Those services 
prescribed by a licensed physician and provided to a 
patient by a qualified speech pathologist in independent 
practice. A "qualified speech pathologist in independent 
practice" shall have received a Certificate of Clinical 
Competence from the American Speech and Hearing 
Association [ASHA] or shall have submitted to the MA 
program an equivalency statement from ASHA indicat-
ing that ASHA certification standards have been met. 

(b) "Audiology": Those services prescribed 
by a licensed physician and provided to a patient by a  

qualified audiologist in independent practice. A "qual-
ified audiologist in independent practice" shall have re-
ceived the Certificate of Clinical Competence from 
ASHA or shall have submitted to the MA program an 
equivalency statement from ASHA indicating that 
ASHA certification standards have been met. 

(c) "Physical therapy". Those services pre-
scribed by a licensed physician and provided to a patient 
ly a qualified physical therapist in independent practice. 
A "qualified physical therapist in independent practice" 
is a graduate of a program of physical therapy approved 
by the Council on Medical Education of the American 
Medical Association in collaboration with the American 
Physical Therapy Association, has a valid Minnesota 
Certificate of Registration (as soon as such certificate is 
available from the Minnesota Department of 
Health), and has been certified as an independent 
practitioner by the Minnesota Department of 
Health. 

(d) The following services are not covered as 
independent practitioner services under the MA pro-
gram: 

(i) Services provided by an independent 
practitioner speech pathologist, audiologist or physical 
therapist not maintaining at his own expense an office or 
office space and the necessary equipment to provide an 
adequate treatment program. 

(ii) Services which are not physician pre- 
scribed. 

(iii) Any service authorized by a physician 
but not documented in the clinical record of the patient. 

(iv) Training or consultation provided by 
a speech pathologist, audiologist or physical therapist to 
an agency, facility or other institution. 

(v) Screening procedures not physician 
authorized. 

(vi) Services provided under a written 
treatment plan which is not reviewed at least once every 
30 days with certification and recertification by the or-
dering physician. 

(e) The following services of independent 
practitioners must be billed through the contracting or 
employing facility, agency, or person and will not be 
reimbursed directly to the practitioner: 
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(i) Services provided in settings other 
than the independent practitioner speech pathologist's, 
audiologist's or physical therapist's own office or the 
recipient's place of residence. "Place of residence" 
excludes skilled nursing facilities, intermediate care 
facilities, hospitals, rehabilitation agencies, home health 
agencies, public health agencies, clinics and day activity 
centers. 

(ii) Services of a speech pathologist, au-
diologist or physical therapist employed and salaried by 
physicians. 

(3) Rehabilitation agencies: An agency which 
provides an integrated multidisciplinary program de-
signed to upgrade the physical function of handicapped, 
disabled individuals by bringing together as a team 
specialized rehabilitation personnel. At a minimum, a 
rehabilitation agency must provide physical therapy or 
speech pathology services, and a rehabilitation program 
which in addition to physical therapy or speech pa-
thology services, includes social or vocational adjust-
ment services. Eligible providers include all rehabilita-
tion agencies participating in the Medicare program (Ti- 
tie XVIII) who have signed and returned to the state 
agency a provider agreement within sixty (60) days after 
receipt thereof. "Rehabilitation agency services" are 
those services provided by certified rehabilitation agen-
cies in accordance with applicable federal regulations, 
state law and DPW rules and defined as follows: 

(a) "Medical services". Those services pro-
vided to a patient within the scope and practice of 
medicine as defined by Minnesota law and performed by 
a currently licensed physician. 

(b) "Psychological services". Those services 
provided to a patient by a psychologist licensed to prac-
tice in the appropriate service areas, when medically 
necessary. 

(c) "Psychosocial services". Those services 
provided to a patient by a social worker for whom a 
licensed physician assumes total professional and ad-
ministrative responsibility as if the services were pro-
vided by the physician himself. To receive reimburse-
ment under the MA program all psychosocial services 
shall be ordered by a licensed physician. 

(d) "Physical therapy". Those services pre-
scribed by a licensed physician and provided to a patient 
by a qualified physical therapist. Other personnel may 
assist physical therapists in performing physical therapy 
services and in the performance of duties that do not 
require professional therapy knowledge and skill. The 
full responsibility for patient instruction or treatment 
remains with the qualified physical therapist in consulta- 

tion with the attending physician. When services of sup-
port personnel are utilized, there must be direct on-site 
observation and supervision by the qualified physical 
therapist. 

(e) "Occupational therapy". Those services 
prescribed by a licensed physician and provided to a 
patient by a qualified occupational therapist. Other per-
sonnel may assist occupational therapists in performing 
occupational therapy services and in the performance of 
duties that do not require professional therapy knowl-
edge and skill. The full responsibility for patient instruc-
tion or treatment remains with the qualified occupa-
tional therapist in consultation with the attending physi-
cian. When services of support personnel are utilized, 
there must be direct on-site observation and supervision 
by the qualified occupational therapist. 

(0 "Speech pathology or audiology services 
for individuals with speech, hearing and language disor-
ders". Those diagnostic, screening, preventive or cor-
rective services provided by a qualified speech 
pathologist or audiologist in the practice of his profes-
sion for which a patient is referred by a licensed physi-
cian. 

(g) "Special services". Physician-ordered 
and monitored evaluations, classes, clinics or programs 
provided to patients generally by a rehabilitation team. 

(h) The MA program will reimburse for 
services provided only by the following qualified person-
nel: 

(i) Physicians. A qualified physician who 
is currently licensed in the State of Minnesota to practice 
medicine or, if an out-of-state physician, who is licensed 
in the state of service. 

(ii) Psychologists. A qualified psychologist 
who is currently licensed by the Minnesota State Board 
of Examiners of Psychologists as a licensed consulting 
psychologist or a licensed psychologist. 

(iii) Social workers. A qualified social 
worker is an individual with a master's degree from a 
school of social work accredited by the Council on Social 
Work Education. 

(iv) Physical therapists. A qualified phys-
ical therapist is a graduate of a program of physical 
therapy approved by the Council on Medical Education 
of the American Medical Association in collaboration 
with the American Physical Therapy Association, and, 
has a valid Minnesota Certificate of Registration. 

(v) Occupational therapists. A qualified 
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occupational therapist is a graduate of a school of occu-
pational therapy approved by the Council on Medical 
Education of the American Medical Association and the 
American Occupational Therapy Association, and/or 
who is registered by the American Occupational Therapy 
Association. 

(vi) Speech pathologists and audiologists. 
A qualified speech pathologist or audiologist is an indi-
vidual with a Certificate of Clinical Competence from 
the American Speech and Hearing Association or an in-
dividual who has completed the equivalent educational 
requirements and work experience necessary for obtain-
ing such a certificate, or, who has completed the 
academic program and is in the process of accumulating 
the necessary supervised work experience required to 
qualify for such a certificate. 

(i) Rehabilitation agencies - non-covered 
services include: 

(i) Services provided without physician 
orders (excluding psychological services). 

(ii) Psychosocial services provided by a 
social worker when a licensed physician does not assume 
professional and administrative responsibility for such 
services. 

(iii) Services authorized by a physician 
but not documented in the patient's clinical record. 

(iv) Services provided in day activity cen-
ters which are subsidiaries of rehabilitation agencies. 

1. Dental services. "Dental services" are diag-
nostic, preventive or corrective procedures administered 
by or under the supervision of a licensed dentist. The MA 
program pays for all emergency care and basic medi-
cally necessary oral health needs. "Dentures" are arti-
ficial structures prescribed by a dentist to replace a full 
or partial set of teeth and made by or according to the 
directions of a licensed dentist. Eligible providers are 
dentists licensed to practice dentistry in Minnesota, 
another state or a Canadian province. 

(1) The following dental services and proce-
dures must receive prior authorization: 

(a) Pedodontics (only when the secondary 
tooth has completed two-thirds of its development). 

(b) Hospitalization for dental treatment.  

(c) Periodontics. 

(d) Root canal therapy (molars only and 
only if more than one needs treatment). 

(e) Gold restorations and/or inlays (includ-
ing cast non-precious and semi-precious metals). 

(f) Fixed prosthodontics. 

(g) Orthodontics. 

(h) Surgical services except emergencies and 
alveolectomies. 

(i) Removal of impacted teeth. 

(2) The following are limitations on the MA 
dental program: 

(a) Oral hygiene instruction - 1 time only. 

(b) Dentures (any type) - 1 per 5 year 
period, except under special circumstances and only 
then if prior authorization is received. Dentures that are 
lost and/or destroyed by recipient negligence will not be 
replaced during such 5 year period. 

(c) Relines or rebase - 1 every 3 years, ex-
cept under special circumstances and only then if prior 
authorization is received. 

(d) Patients in hospitals or long term care 
facilities - 3 visits by the dentist to the hospital or LTC 
facility per diagnosis. (as used here, "diagnosis" means 
evaluation, determination of medical condition and plan 
of treatment. This limitation applies to inpatient hospital 
facilities only if the recipient has been hospitalized in 
order to treat a dental condition. This does not limit the 
number of visits a recipient can make to the dentist's 
office.) 

(3) The following services are not covered 
under the MA dental program: 

(a) Additional clasps for partial dentures. 

(b) Bases. 

(c) Sealants. 

(d) Local anesthetics when billed as a sepa-
rate procedure. 
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(e) Toothbrushes and/or other hygiene aids. 

(f) Services provided to a recipient in his 
home. 

m. Other laboratory and x-ray services. "Other 
laboratory and x-ray services" include professional and 
technical laboratory and radiological service ordered by 
a licensed physician, dentist or other licensed prac-
titioner within the scope of his practice as defined by 
state law and who is not employed by that laboratory. 
The MA program shall pay for such services only when 
provided by or under the direction of a physician or 
licensed practitioner in an office or similar facility other 
than a hospital outpatient department or clinic. Such 
laboratory must be qualified to participate under Title 
XVIII of the Social Security Act, or be currently deter-
mined to meet the requirements for such participation. 
Eligible providers are facilities that render professional 
and technical laboratory services as described herein. 

n. Pharmacy services. A "pharmacy" is a facil-
ity licensed by the State Board of Pharmacy in which 
prescriptions, drugs, medicines, chemical and poisons 
are compounded, dispensed, vended or sold on a retail 
basis. "Prescribed drugs" are any simple or com-
pounded substance or mixture of substances prescribed 
for the care, mitigation or prevention of disease or for 
health maintenance, by a physician, dentist or other 
licensed medical practitioner within the scope of his pro-
fessional practice as defined by state law. The MA pro-
gram covers prescribed drugs obtained from a licensed 
pharmacy or from a hospital in which drug dispensing is 
under the supervision of a licensed pharmacist. All 
licensed pharmacies are eligible to participate in the MA 
program when the pharmacist in charge has enrolled as 
a provider in accordance with state agency require-
ments. The MA program shall pay for pharmaceuticals 
prescribed and dispensed by a physician or dentist in his 
office when there is no licensed pharmacy within the 
recipient's local trade area, as defined in D.1., supra. 

(1) The following are service limitations of the 
MA pharmacy program: 

(a) Pharmaceuticals must be prescribed by 
a licensed physician, dentist or other authorized licensed 
practitioner of the healing arts. The drug dispenser must 
keep the signed prescription on file for 5 years, subject 
to audit at any reasonable time (See, D.4.c., supra). 

(I) The prescriber must indicate, either 
verbally or by specification on the original prescription, 
approval for refilling the prescription. 

(ii) As many as five (5) refills may be au-
thorized by the prescriber, but in such cases the total 
amount authorized must be dispensed within six (6) 
months of the original prescription date, except when 
the patient is in a long term care facility where no such 
limit shall exist. 

(iii) In the absence of specific refill in-
structions, the prescription will be interpreted to be not 
refillable. Refills are covered only when refilled by the 
pharmacy where the original presciption was filled. 

(d) The quantity supplied will depend on the 
usual and customary prescribing practice of the physi-
cian provided that the quantity does not exceed 30 days 
for acute illness and 100 days for maintenance therapy. 

(2) The following services must receive prior 
authorization: 

(a) Supplemental and tube feedings for pa-
tients who have special nutritional needs. The patient's 
dietary requirements must be identified on a physician's 
prescription and the product(s) must be available from 
an eligible supplier. 

(3) The following items are not covered under 
the MA pharmacy program: 

(a) Non-legend drugs, stocked by a long 
term care facility and administered to a patient in such 
facility for short term (up to 36 hours) therapy. 

(b) Cosmetic products (including hypoal-
lergenic cosmetics). 

(c) Toiletries (non-medicated soaps, body 
lotions, powders) used for personal cleaning and groom-
ing. 

(d) Oral antiseptics. 

(e) Dentifrices and other dental hygiene 
equipment and supplies. 

(f) Throat lozenges. 

(g) Contact lens wetting solutions and clean- 
(b) Telephone orders, where legal, must be 

reduced to writing with the name of the prescribing 
physician shown and must be signed by the pharmacist. 

(c) Prescription refills: 
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(h) Investigational drugs. 
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oids) generally considered inappropriate for self- 
administration. 

(j) Amphetamines, amphetamine derivates 
and any other Drug Enforcement Agency Schedule II 
anorexient agents for weight control purposes, except as 
provided in E.1.n., supra. 

(k) Nutritional services: 

(i) Modified diets consisting of conven-
tional foods. 

(ii) Salt and sugar substitutes; salt or 
sugar-free specialty food and beverage products. 

(iii) Baby foods. 

(iv) Hypoallergenic foods (See, E.2.n(2), 
supra). 

(v) Alcoholic beverages. 

(1) Any medication not prescribed by a 
licensed physician, dentist or other licensed practitioner 
authorized by the state to prescribe drugs within the 
scope of his practice 

o. Other diagnostic, screening, preventive and 
rehabilitative services. The MA program provides for 
these services as described herein. 

(1) "Diagnostic services", other than those for 
which provision is made elsewhere in this rule, include 
any medical procedure or supplies recommended for a 
patient by his physician or other licensed medical prac-
titioner within the scope of his practice as defined by 
state law, as necessary to enable him to identify the ex-
istence, nature or extent of illness, injury or other health 
deviation of the patient. 

(2) "Screening services" consist of the use of 
standardized tests performed under medical direction in 
the mass examination of a designated population to de-
tect the existence of one or more particular diseases or 
health deviations, or to identify suspects for more defini-
tive studies. 

(3) "Preventive services" are those services 
provided by a licensed physician or other licensed medi-
cal practitioner within the scope of his practice as de-
fined by state law, to prevent illness, disease, disability  

and other health deviations or their progression, and to 
prolong life and promote physical and mental health 
efficiency. 

(4) "Rehabilitative services" include any med-
ical remedial items or services, except those expressly 
excluded under this rule, which are prescribed by a 
licensed physician or other licensed medical practitioner 
within the scope of his practice as defined by state law, 
for the purpose of reducing physical or mental disability 
and restoring the patient to his best possible functional 
level. Prior authorization must be obtained on any serv-
ices for which payment is claimed under this section. 

p. Early periodic screening, diagnosis and 
treatment (EPSDT). The MA program provides for 
early and periodic screening and diagnosis of individuals 
under the age of 21 to ascertain physical or mental de-
fects and for health care, treatment and other measures 
to correct or ameliorate defects and any chronic condi-
tions discovered thereby. Services rendered by provid-
ers other than licensed physicians are reimbursable only 
if the Minnesota Department of Health has previously 
approved the screening activities. 

(1) In order to comply with federal and state 
EPSDT requirements, local welfare agencies shall: 

(a) Notify in writing on an annual basis all 
recipients eligible for EPSDT services about the exist-
ence of such services; 

(b) Provide or arrange for provision of 
screening services when they are requested; 

(c) Arrange for needed corrective treat- 
ment; and 

(d) Maintain adequate EPSDT records and 
report activities as required by federal and state agen-
cies. 

(2) In order to comply with federal and state 
EPSDT requirements, providers shall: 

(a) Follow required EPSDT billing/ 
reporting procedures; 

(b) Adhere to free choice of provider policy 
when making referrals for recipients. 

q. Health care insurance premiums. The MA 
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program shall pay health insurance premiums deter-
mined by the state agency to be cost-effective, for: 

(1) Eligible recipients not covered under Title 
XVIII of the Social Security Act, when coverage under 
the insurance policy justifies the premium charged and 
the policy provides coverage only for health care. 

(2) Supplemental medical insurance (SMI) on 
a buy-in basis for eligible recipients covered under Title 
XVIII of the Social Security Act. 

(3) Such other insurance programs as the state 
agency may approve for eligible recipients. 

r. Other medical care. The MA program shall 
pay for other necessary medical and/or remedial care as 
follows: 

(1) Transportation only when furnished by an 
enrolled medical provider licensed by the Minnesota 
Department of Health (See, D.7., supra). 

(a) The following services rendered by med-
ical transportation providers are not covered under the 
MA program: 

(i) Any routine service determined by the 
local welfare agency not to be medically necessary. 

(ii) Ambulance service in cases where 
another means of transportation would have sufficed. 

(2) Emergency hospital services which are 
necessary to prevent the death or serious impairment of 
the health of the individual and which, because of the 
threat to the life or health of the individual, necessitate 
the use of the most accessible hospital equipped to fur-
nish such services even though the hospital does not cur-
rently meet the conditions for participation under Title 
XVIII of the Social Security Act or the definitions of 
inpatient or outpatient services. 

(3) Personal care services in a recipient's home 
rendered by an individual, other than a member of the 
patient's family, who is qualified to provide such serv-
ices, when the services are prescribed by a physician and 
supervised by a registered nurse in accordance with a 
plan of treatment. 

(4) Whole blood, including items and services 
required in the collection, storage and administration 
thereof, when it has been ordered by a licensed physi-
cian and is not available to the patient from other 
sources. 

(5) Crippled children services program (CCS). 

Pursuant to a cooperative agreement between the Min-
nesota Department of Public Welfare and the Minnesota 
Department of Health, DPW will reimburse the state's 
CCS program (Title V) for diagnosis, evaluation and 
ongoing medical follow-up services in CCS field clinics 
for Medical Assistance eligible children up to 21 years of 
age. DPW will also reimburse CCS for evaluation, diag-
nosis and/or consultation provided Medical Assistance 
eligible children who are residents of the Minnesota 
School for the Deaf, the Minnesota School for the Blind 
and Visually Handicapped and certain other state in-
stitutions. 

s. Mental health centers. "Mental health cen-
ters" are centers currently receiving grant-in-aid who 
are operating in accordance with DPW 28. Services pro-
vided by mental health centers must be provided under 
the auspices and direction of a psychiatrist licensed to 
practice medicine in the U.S. or Canada or a licensed 
consulting psychologist, currently enrolled as an eligible 
provider under the MA program. The MA program 
will pay for mental health center services provided to 
residents of long term care facilities only if the attending 
physician helped develop the plan of treatment and 
periodically reviews that plan. 

(1) Mental health centers are subject to the 
same service limitations and prior authorization re-
quirements as is the practitioner under whose auspices 
or direction the services are rendered (See, E.2.c.(1)and 
(2) and E.2.e.(4), supra). 

(2) The following mental health center services 
are not covered under the MA program: 

(a) Community planning. 

(b) Community consultation; program con- 
sultation. 

(c) Program and service monitoring and 
evaluation. 

(d) Public information and education. 

(e) Resource development. 

(f) Training and education. 

F. Reimbursement. 

1. Payments to eligible providers. Participation in 
the MA program is limited to those providers of medical 
care, service and supplies who accept as payment in full 
amounts paid in accordance with DPW's maximum al-
lowable charges. Providers are prohibited from request-
ing or receiving additional payment from the recipient, 
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his relatives or guardian, except to meet the spend-down 
provision of state law. Providers will be directly paid for 
providing medical care and services rendered within the 
scope of practice recognized under federal and state law 
and regulations. The state agency or, where appropri-
ate, the local welfare agency, may pay an agency, in-
stitution or group pursuant to a contract with an ap-
proved provider only if required under a written con-
tract between the provider and the agency, institution or 
group. The state agency shall have access to all such 
contracts at its request. 

2. Billing procedures. Providers of medical care 
and services shall bill the state agency up to their usual 
and customary fee and only after the medical care or 
services have been provided. Providers proven to con-
sistently bill in excess of their usual and customary fee 
shall be referred to the SURS program for investigation 
and, if appropriate, shall be determined ineligible to 
participate in the MA program. Medical bills should be 
presented for payment at the conclusion of each month's 
service. Providers shall bill within twelve (12) months of 
the date of service or, in unusual circumstances, in ac-
cordance with applicable federally-imposed time restric-
tions. The state agency shall deny payment until the 
following criteria have been met: 

a. Providers submit all necessary forms and re- j  
ports to the appropriate state or local welfare agency. 

b. All prior authorization requirements are 
fulfilled. 

c. Providers bill for care or services rendered on 
prescribed forms according to state agency instructions. 

(1) The state agency shall require providers to 
submit diagnosis and procedure codes on all billings 
when deemed necessary for proper administration of the 
MA program, to comply with applicable federal regula-
tions and to maximize federal financial participation. 

d. Providers shall bill the state agency directly, 
except as follows: 

(1) Where a written contract or other formal 
arrangement exists between the provider of the service  

and any agency, institution or group, in which case such 
agency, institution or group shall bill the state agency. 

(2) If a provider of service who is eligible to 
accept Medicare assignments wishes to be paid by the 
MA program, such provider shall accept assignments on 
Medicare billings and shall bill Medicare prior to billing 
the MA program. 

3. Authority to recover from medical providers. 
The state agency is authorized to recover any Medical 
Assistance funds paid to providers when it determines 
that such payment was obtained fraudulently or errone-
ously. Such recovery may be accomplished through 
withholding current obligations due the provider or by 
demanding that the provider refund amounts so re-
ceived. Recovery under the MA program is permitted 
for intentional as well as unintentional error on the part 
of the provider or state or local welfare agency; for fail-
ure to comply fully with all utilization control require-
ments, prior authorization procedures or billing proce-
dures; for failure to properly report third-party pay-
ments; and for fraudulent actions on the part of the 
provider. 

G. Miscellaneous. 

1. Former DPW 47 is hereby repealed except sec-
tion S which becomes section F.4. 

Department of Health 
Emergency Rules Governing Public 

Water Supplies 

Notice is given that emergency rules relating to public 
water supplies, MHD 145-149, which were adopted by the 
State Board of Health by resolution on May 12, 1977, and 
published in the State Register on June 6, 1977, are hereby 
re-issued and shall remain in effect as temporary rules until 
December 5, 1977, or until the rules take permanent effect, 
whichever occurs first. 

Warren R. Lawson, M.D. 
Commissioner of Health 

KEY: Existing rules are printed in standard type face. Proposed additions to existing rules are printed in boldface, while proposed 
deletions from existing rules are printed within [single brackets]. Additions to proposed rules are underlined and boldfaced ?  while 
deletions from proposed rules are printed within [[double brackets]]. 
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Office of Hearing Examiners 
Proposed Rules Governing the 

Determination of Transmission 
Line Routes and Sites for 
Electric Generating Plants 

The proposed new rules relating to the siting of large 
electric power generating plants and the routing of high 
voltage transmission lines are identical to the temporary 
rules adopted by the Chief Hearing Examiner on July 1, 
1977, and as were published at State Register, Volume 2, 
No. 2, p.  85, July 18, 1977, (2 S.R. 85) except that the 
following new language is proposed to be added to HE 403: 

The request shall include a statement by the Board 
that the facilities where the hearings are to be conducted 
are free of mobility barriers in accordance with Execu-
tive Order No. 148. 

Proposed Rules Governing 
Rulemaking Procedures, 
Contested Case Hearings, 
Transmission Line Routes and 
Sites for Electric Generating 
Plants 

Notice of Hearing 

Notice is hereby given that public hearings in the 
above-entitled matters will be held pursuant to Minn. Stat. 
§ 15.0412, subd. 4, at the following dates, times and 
places, and continuing until all persons have had an oppor-
tunity to be heard: 

1. October 11, 1977: William Mitchell College of 
Law Auditorium, 875 Summit Avenue, St. Paul, Min-
nesota. At 9:30 am., the hearing will include the full, 
affirmative presentation by the Office of Hearing Examiners 
regarding amendments to the procedures for rulemaking and 
contested case hearings. At 1:30 p.m., the hearing will be 
solely for the presentation of the proposed rules of proce-
dure for the routing of high voltage transmission lines and 
the siting of large electric power generating plants. At 7:00 
p.m., the Office of Hearing Examiners will summarize the 
proposed power line/plant rules and allow persons to com-
ment thereon. 

Note: At all of the following hearings, which will 
begin at 7:00 p.m., a summary of the amendments to the 
existing rules and the newly proposed power line/plant rules 
will be presented by the Office of Hearing Examiners. 

Copies of the Statement of Need and Summary of Evidence 
will be available for review. The primary purpose of the 
hearings is to allow interested persons to comment on the 
proposals. 

2. October 12, 1977: Council Chambers, City Hall, 
Duluth, Minnesota. 

3. October 13, 1977: Hagg-Sauer Auditorium, Be-
midji State University, Bemidji, Minnesota. 

4. October 17, 1977: Vocational-Technical Institute 
Cafeteria, Alexandria, Minnesota. 

5. October 19, 1977: Room P223, Plaza West Build-
ing, Rochester Community College, Rochester, Min-
nesota. 

6. October 20, 1977: Centennial Student Union Con-
ference Auditorium, Mankato State University, Mankato, 
Minnesota. 

All interested or affected persons will have the oppor-
tunity to participate concerning the amendments to the exist-
ing rules and the adoption of the proposed new rules. State-
ments may be made orally and written material may be 
submitted, whether or not an appearance is made at the 
hearings, by mail to Allan W. Klein, Room 300, 1745 
University Avenue, St. Paul, Minnesota 55104, telephone 
(612) 296-8114, either before, during or within 20 calendar 
days after the last hearing date. 

All persons have the right to be notified of the date on 
which the Hearing Examiner's Report will be available, 
after which date the agency may not take any final action on 
the rules for a period of five working days. All persons have 
the right to be informed of the date on which the hearing 
record has been submitted to the Attorney General by the 
agency. If you desire to be so notified, you may do so by so 
indicating at the hearing or by written request sent to the 
Hearing Examiner prior to the close of the record. 

Notice is hereby given that 25 days prior to the first 
hearing date, a Statement of Need and Summary of Evi-
dence will be available for review at the Office of Hearing 
Examiners. Such statement has been prepared as a single 
document but in separate parts. The first part relates solely 
to the proposed amendments to the existing rules relating to 
rulemaking and contested case proceedings. The second 
part relates solely to the new proposed rules relating to 
procedures for hearings for power lines and power plants. 
Copies of these documents will be available for review at 
each hearing. These documents include the verbatim tes-
timony intended to be presented at the hearing on October 
11, 1977,justifying both the need for and reasonableness of 
the proposed rules. Copies of the statements may be ob-
tained from the Office of Hearing Examiners by sending a 
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written request, together with a check, money order or cash 
(no stamps) payable to: State Treasurer, Hearing Examiners 
Account, in the following amounts: 

I. Rulemaking and Contested Case only: $3.55 

2. Power line and power plants only: $2.05 

3. Complete document: $5.60 

Copies of the proposed amendments to the existing 
rules and the new rules are now available, and one free copy 
may be obtained by writing the Office of Hearing Examin-
ers, 1745 University Avenue, St. Paul, Minnesota 55104. 
Persons desiring copies should indicate whether they desire 
all proposals or which portions they desire in order to con-
serve costs. Copies will also be available at all hearings. 

Statutory authority to adopt the proposed amendments 
is contained in Minn. Stat. § 15.052, subd. 4. Statutory 
authority to adopt the newly proposed procedures relating to 
power line/plants is contained in Laws of Minnesota, 1977, 
ch. 439, § 22. 

The proposed amendments to the rulemaking proce-
dures, if adopted, would clarify existing rules which have 
led to confusion; conform the rules to legislative changes; 
provide for better notice to the public of their statutory 
rights; insure that all hearings will be conducted in barrier- 
free facilities; provide for better notice; combine the State-
ment of Need and Summary of Evidence into a single 
document; provide a procedure for advance approval for 
incorporation by reference; delete the requirement of sub-
mitting all of the record to the Chief Hearing Examiner for 
his review for substantial change; and provide an effective 
date. 

The proposed amendments to the contested case proce-
dures, if adopted, would clarify existing rules which have 
led to confusion; conform the rules to legislative changes; 
insure that all hearings will be conducted in barrier-free 
facilities; combine the Order for Hearing, Notice of Hearing 
and Statement of Charges or Issues into a single document; 
provide for better notice of the results occurring from a 
default; provide for alternative notice procedures; clarify the 
procedures relating to the Notice of Appearance; provide for 
consolidation of similar petitions for intervention; broaden 
the extent of public participation; provide for automatic 
reassignment of a Hearing Examiner upon the filing of an 
Affidavit of Prejudice; provide a new rule relating to mo-
tions; change discovery procedures to recognize all 
privileged communications recognized at law and broaden 
discovery in general; provide a new rule protecting proprie- 

tary information; provide a new rule relating to an Offer of 
Proof; changing the rule relating to certification of motions 
to the agency; and provide that a copy of an agency final 
order shall be sent to the Hearing Examiner. 

The proposed rules relating to power lines and power 
plants, if adopted, would be quite similar to the existing 
rules relating to contested cases but reflect the legislative 
mandate to provide for the broadest possible citizen partici-
pation. The rules provide a procedure whereby the direct 
testimony of all parties is to be prefiled at least 14 days 
before the hearing, not only with the Hearing Examiner, the 
Environmental Quality Board and all parties, but at a library 
or other location elected by the Environmental Quality 
Board in each affected county. Under the rules, the hearings 
would be conducted in two stages. The first stage would 
start with the cross-examination of the parties' witnesses by 
other parties. The second stage will be solely for the pur -
pose of allowing interested persons an opportunity to ques-
tion witnesses and present their own testimony and evi-
dence. Interested persons may give testimony orally or in 
writing, with or without benefit of oath, and may submit 
questions for the witnesses in written form to the Hearing 
Examiner. The Notice of Hearing will inform the public of 
the specific dates and places where each witness will be 
available for questioning and where the public participation 
will be started. 

Please be advised that Minn. Stat. ch. 1OA requires 
each lobbyist to register with the Ethical Practices Board 
within 5 days after he commences lobbying. Lobbying in-
cludes attempting to influence rulemaking by communicat-
ing or urging others to communicate with public officials. A 
lobbyist is generally any individual who spends more than 
$250 per year for lobbying or any individual who is engaged 
for pay or authorized to spend money by another individual 
or association and who spends more than $250 per year or 5 
hours per month at lobbying. The statute provides certain 
exceptions. Questions should be directed to the Ethical 
Practices Board, 41 State Office Building, St. Paul, Min-
nesota 55155, phone: (612) 296-5615. 

Duane R. Harves 
Chief Hearing Examiner 

Rules as Proposed 

HE 102-112 Rulemaking procedures. 

HE 102 [(b)] B. [A proposed] The Order for Hearing pro-
posed to be issued. The [proposed] Order for Hearing must 
contain the following: 

KEY: Existing rules are printed in standard type face. Proposed additions to existing rules are printed in boldface, while proposed 
deletions from existing rules are printed within (single bracketsi. Additions to proposed rules are underlined and boldfaced,  while 

deletions from proposed rules are printed within [[double bracketsil. 
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[(1)] 1. A proposed time, date and place for the hear-

ing to be held. 

[(2)] 2. A statement that the Notice of Hearing shall be 
given to all persons who have registered with the Secretary 
of State for that purpose and a statement that the Notice of 
Hearing shall be published in the State Register. 

[(3)] 3. The signature of the person authorized to order 
a hearing. If a board is ordering the hearing, the person 
signing the order must be so authorized and a document of 
authority must be attached to the Order for Hearing. 

HE 102 [(c)] C. [A proposed] The Notice of Hearing pro-
posed to be issued must contain the following: 

[(1)] 1. A proposed time, date and place for the hear-
ing to be held. 

[(2)] 2. A statement that all interested or affected per- 
Sons will have an opportunity to participate. 

[(3)] 3. A statement or a description of the subject and 
issues involved. If the proposed rules themselves are not 
included with the Notice of Hearing, then the Notice must 
clearly indicate the nature and extent of the proposed rules 
and a statement shall be included announcing the 
availability and the means of obtaining upon request at least 
one free copy of the proposed rules. 

[(4)] 4. A citation to the agency's statutory authority 
to promulgate the proposed rules. 

[(5)] 5. A statement describing the manner in which 
interested persons may present their views. 

[(6)] 6. A statement advising interested persons that 
lobbyists must register with the State [Ethics Commission,] 
Ethical Practices Board. [which statement shall be sub-
stantially as follows: 

Under Minn. Stat. § lOA.01, subd. 11 (1974), any 
individual engaged for pay or other consideration for the 
purpose of representing persons or associations attempting 
to influence administrative action, such as the promulgation 
of these rules, must register with the State Ethics Commis-
sion as a lobbyist within five days of the commencement of 
such activity by the individual.] 

[(7)] 7. A statement that written material may be sub-
mitted and recorded in the hearing record for [20] five 
working days after the public hearing ends, or for a longer 
period not to exceed 20 days if ordered by the hearing 
Examiner. 

8. A separate paragraph which shall read as fol-
lows: 

Notice: All persons have the right to be notified of 
the date on which the Hearing Examiner's Report will 
be available, after which date the agency may not take 
any final action on the rules for a period of five working 
days. All persons have the right to be informed of the 
date on which the hearing record has been submitted to 
the Attorney General by the agency. If you desire to be 
so notified, you may do so by so indicating at the hearing 
or by written request sent to the Hearing Examiner 
prior to the close of the record. 

9. A separate paragraph which shall read as fol-
lows: 

Notice is hereby given that 25 days prior to the 
hearing a statement of need and reasonableness will be 
available for review at the agency and at the Office of 
Hearing Examiners. This statement of need and rea-
sonableness will include a summary of all of the evidence 
which will be presented by the agency at the hearing 
justifying both the need for and the reasonableness of 
the proposed rule/rules. Copies of the statement of need 
and reasonableness may be obtained from the Office of 
Hearing Examiners at a minimal charge. 

10. A statement which fulfills the requirements of 
Minn. Stat. § 15.0412, subd. 7, relating to the expendi-
ture of public monies by local public bodies. 

HE 102 [(d)] D. A statement by the agency of the [number 
of persons expected to attend the hearing and the] estimated 
length of time that will be necessary for the agency to 
present its evidence [to conduct] at the hearing, a state-
ment by the agency that the facility where the hearing is 
to be conducted is free of mobility barriers in accord-
ance with Executive Order No. 148, and a statement by 
the agency of what additional notice, if any, has been 
given pursuant to HE 103. 

Within ten days of receipt of the aforementioned 
documents, the Chief Hearing Examiner shall appoint a 
Hearing Examiner to preside at the hearing and the Hearing 
Examiner shall advise the agency as to the location at which 
and time during which a hearing should be held so as to 
allow for participation by all affected interests. Failure of 
the agency to comply with the advice of the Hearing 
Examiner may result in a finding that the agency has 
failed to fulfill all relevant, substantive and procedural 
requirements of law or rule. 

HE 103 Notice. The Notice of Hearing shall be given 
pursuant to the provisions of Minn. Stat. § 15.0412, 
subd. 4, and in addition thereto, the agency should, 
within reason, attempt to give notice to all other persons 
or associations known to it to be persons who will be 
affected by the proposed rule/rules. 
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HE 104 Statement of need and reasonableness. Each 
agency desiring to adopt rules shall prepare a Statement 
of Need and Reasonableness which shall be prefiled pur-
suant to HE 105. The Statement of Need and Rea-
sonableness shall be a document containing, at the 
minimum, a summary of all of the evidence and argu-
ment which will be presented by the agency at the hear-
ing justifying both the need for and the reasonableness 
of the proposed rule/rules, including citations to any 
statutes or case law to be relied upon, citations to any 
economic, scientific or other manuals or treatises to be 
utilized at the hearing, and a list of any expert witnesses 
to be called to testify on behalf of the agency, together 
with a brief summary of the expert opinion to be elicited. 

The statement shall be prepared with sufficient 
specificity so that interested persons will be able to fully 
prepare any testimony or evidence in favor of or in op-
position to the rule/rules as proposed. Presentation of 
evidence or testimony not summarized in the Statement 
of Need and Reasonableness may result in the Hearing 
Examiner, upon proper motion made at the hearing by 
any interested person, recessing the hearing to a future 
date in order to allow all interested persons an opportu-
nity to prepare testimony or evidence in opposition to 
such newly-presented evidence or testimony, which re-
cessing shall be for a period not to exceed 25 calendar 
days, unless the 25th day is a Saturday, Sunday, or legal 
holiday, in which case, the next succeeding working day 
shall be the maximum date for the resumed hearing. 

If the agency so desires, the Statement of Need and 
Reasonableness may contain the verbatim affirmative 
presentation by the agency which may then be either 
read at the hearing or, if all persons appearing at the 
hearing have had an opportunity to review the state-
ment, may be introduced as an exhibit into the record as 
though read. In such instance, agency personnel or 
other persons preparing the statement shall be available 
at the hearing for questioning by the Hearing Examiner 
and other interested persons. 

HE [103] 105 Documents to be filed before hearing. At least 
25 days prior to the date and time of the hearing, the agency 
shall file with the Chief Hearing Examiner or his designee 
copies of the following documents: 

[(a)] A. The Order for Hearing. 

[(b)] B. The Notice of Hearing as mailed. 

[(c)] C. The affidavit of receipt of the Secretary of 
State's list. 

[(d)] D. [The] An Affidavit of Mailing the Notice to all 
persons on the Secretary of State's list. 

[(e)] E. The Statement of Need and Reasonableness. 

[(f)] F. The petition requesting a rule hearing, if one has 
been filed pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 15.0415. 

[(g)] G. All materials received following a notice made 
pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 15.04 12, subd. 5, together with a 
citation to said notice. 

[(h)] H. The names of agency personnel who will repre-
sent the agency at the hearing together with the names of 
any other witnesses who may appear [appearing] on 
behalf of the agency. 

[(i) A statement summarizing the evidence to be 
presented at the hearing in support of the proposed rules, 
including citations to any statutes or case law to be relied 
upon, citations to any economic, scientific or other manuals 
or treatises to be utilized at the hearing and a list of any 
expert witnesses to be called to testify on behalf of the 
agency together with a brief summary of the expert opinion 
to be elicited.] 

HE [104] 106 Conduct of hearings. All hearings held pur-
suant to Minn. Stat. § 15.0412 shall proceed substantially in 
the following manner: 

[(a)] A. All persons intending to present evidence or 
questions, other than agency personnel previously disclosed 
to the Hearing Examiner under HE 103, shall register with 
the Hearing Examiner prior to their presentation of evidence 
or questions by writing their names, addresses, telephone 
numbers and the names of any individuals or associations 
that the persons represent in connection with the hearing, on 
a register to be provided by the [agency] Hearing 
Examiner, which register shall also include a section 
where persons may indicate their desire to be informed 
of the date on which the Hearing Examiner's Report will 
be available and the date on which the agency submits 
the record to the Attorney General. 

[(b)] B. The Hearing Examiner shall convene the hearing 
at the proper time and shall explain to all persons present the 
purpose of the hearing and the procedure to be followed at 
the hearing. The Hearing Examiner shall notify all persons 
present that the record will remain open for [20] five work-
ing days following the hearing, or for a longer period not 
to exceed 20 calendar days if ordered by the Hearing 
Examiner, for the receipt of written statements concerning 
the proposed rule or rules. 

KEY: Existing rules are printed in standard type face. Proposed additions to existing rules are printed in boldface, while proposed 
deletions from existing rules are printed within [single brackets]. Additions to proposed rule are underlined and boldfaced,  while 
deletions from proposed rules are printed within [[double brackets]]. 
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[(c)] C. The Hearing Examiner shall advise the persons 

present of the requirements of [Minn. Stat. § 1OA.01, subd. 
11(1974)] Minn. Stat. ch. 1OA concerning the registration 
of lobbyists. 

[(d)] D. The agency representatives and any others who 
will be presenting the agency position at the hearing shall 
identify themselves for the record. 

[(e)] E. The agency shall make available copies of the 
proposed rule at the hearing. 

[(0] F. The agency shall introduce its exhibits relevant to 
the proposed rule including written material received prior 
to the hearing. 

[(g)] G. The agency shall make its affirmative presenta-
tion of facts showing the need for and the reasonableness of 
the proposed rule and shall present any other evidence it 
deems necessary to fulfill all relevant, substantive and pro-
cedural, statutory or regulatory requirements. 

[(h)] H. Interested persons shall be given an opportunity 
to address questions to the agency representatives or wit-
nesses. 

[(i)] I. Interested persons shall be given an opportunity to 
be heard on the proposed rule and/or to present written 
evidence. All interested persons submitting oral [or written] 
statements are subject to questioning by representatives of 
the agency. Interested persons may also be questioned by 
other non-agency persons present if they so consent. 

HE [105] 107 The record. The record shall be closed upon 
the last date for receipt of written statements. [A court re-
porter from the Office of Hearing Examiners shall keep a 
record at each hearing unless the Chief Hearing Examiner 
determines that the use of an audiomagnetic recording de-
vice is more appropriate. The verbatim record will be tran-
scribed and copies available to persons requesting them at a 
reasonable charge.] The record in each hearing shall in-
clude all of the documents enumerated in HE 105, all 
written comments received prior to, during or sub-
sequent to the hearing, and a tape recording of the hear-
ing itself unless the Chief Hearing Examiner has deter-
mined that the use of a reporter is more appropriate. In 
the event a transcript of the proceedings has been pre-
pared, it shall be part of the record, and copies will be 
available to persons requesting them at a reasonable 
charge. The charge shall be set by the Chief Hearing 
Examiner, and all monies received for transcripts shall be 
payable to the State Treasury and shall be deposited in the 
Office of Hearing Examiners' account in the State Treasury. 
The agency and any other person so requesting shall be 
notified of the date of the completion of the transcript. 

HE 108 Incorporation by reference. When an agency 

desires approval of the Chief Hearing Examiner to in-
corporate certain materials by reference in its rule, such 
approval must be obtained prior to the publication of the 
proposed rules in the State Register. The agency shall 
submit its request in writing and shall include with the 
request, the materials sought to be incorporated and 
shall further indicate to the Chief Hearing Examiner 
where the materials are conveniently available for view-
ing, copying and acquisition by interested persons. The 
Chief Hearing Examiner shall have ten working days to 
approve or disapprove the request. The agency shall 
maintain a copy of the incorporated materials as long as 
the adopted rule is in effect. 

HE [106] 109 Report of the hearing examiner. Subsequent 
to the close of the record and the completion of the tran-
script of the hearing, the Hearing Examiner shall make his 
report pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 15.052, subd. 3, and shall 
file the original of said report together with the complete 
record of the proceedings with the agency [and a copy 
with the Chief Hearing Examiner.] The [agency] Office of 
Hearing Examiners shall make a copy of said report avail-
able to any interested person upon request at a reasonable 
charge. [The Hearing Examiner's report shall state his 
findings of fact and his conclusions and recommendations, 
taking notice of the degree to which the agency (a) 
documented its statutory authority to take the proposed ac-
tion, (b) fulfilled all relevant, substantive and procedural 
requirements of law or rule, and (c) demonstrated the need 
for and reasonableness of its proposed action with an 
affirmative presentation of facts.] 

HE [107] 110 Submission of rule to chief hearing examiner. 
[No earlier than ten days subsequent to the receipt of the 
Hearing Examiner's report,] [t]The  agency shall, if it pro-
poses to adopt the rules as originally proposed or amended, 
submit [the complete hearing record] a copy of the Order 
Adopting Rules, a copy of any additional agency 
findings, a copy of the rules as originally proposed, 
and a copy of the rules as adopted to the Chief 
Hearing Examiner, [including therule as originally 
proposed, and the rule as proposed for adoption in its 
final form, should there be any difference,] for review pur-
suant to Minn. Stat. § 15.052, subd. 4. The submission to 
the Chief Hearing Examiner shall precede review by the 
Attorney General. The Chief Hearing Examiner shall com-
plete his review and submit his report to the agency on the 
issue of substantial changes in the rule within ten calendar 
days. The agency will be responsible for filing the rules with 
the Attorney General. 

HE [108] 111 Reconvened hearings. Should the Chief Hear -
ing Examiner find, after a review of the record, that the 
proposed final rule is substantially different from the rule 
which was proposed at the public hearing, or should the 
Chief Hearing Examiner find that the agency failed to meet 
the requirements of Minn. Stat. ch. 15 or these rules, then 
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the Chief Hearing Examiner shall forthwith notify the 
agency and the Attorney General of said finding. The 
agency shall then either withdraw the proposed final rule or 
reconvene the rule hearing. The reconvening of the rule 
hearing shall comply with all statutory and regulatory re-
quirements as if a new rule hearing were being held. In 
determining whether the proposed final rule is substantially 
different, the Chief Hearing Examiner shall consider the 
degree to which it: 

[(1)] A. Affects classes of persons not represented at the 
previous hearing; or 

[(2)] B. Goes to a new subject matter of significant sub-
stantive effect; or 

[(3)] C. Makes a major substantive change that was not 
raised by the original Notice of Hearing in such a way as to 
invite reaction at the hearing; or 

[(4)] D. Results in a rule fundamentally different from 
that contained in the Notice of Hearing. 

HE [1091 112. Effective date. These rules shall be effective 
for all rule proceedings initiated after December 31, [1975] 
1977. 

HE 113-199 Reserved for future use. 

HE 202-206, 209-214, 216-218, 222 Contested case hear-
ings. 

HE 202 Definitions. 

[(a) Commencement. Commencement means service of 
an order for hearing upon any party.] 

[(b)] A. Hearing examiner. The Hearing Examiner 
means the person or persons [appointed] assigned by the 
Chief Hearing Examiner pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 15.052, 
subd. 3, to hear the contested case. 

[(c)] B. Party. Party means each person named [or admit-
ted] as a party or [properly seeking and entitled as of right to 
be admitted as a party] persons granted permission to 
intervene pursuant to HE 210. The term "party" shall 
include the agency, except when the agency participates in 
the contested case in a neutral or quasi-judicial capacity 
only. 

[(d)] C. Person. Person means any individual, partner-
ship, corporation, joint stock company, unincorporated as-  

sociation or society, municipal corporation, or any govern-
ment or governmental subdivision, unit or agency other than 
a court of law. 

[(e)] D. Service; serve. Service or serve means personal 
service or, unless otherwise provided by law, service by 
First Class United States mail, postage prepaid and ad-
dressed to the party at his last known address. An affidavit 
of service shall be made by the person making such service. 
Service by mail is complete upon the placing of the item to 
be served in the mail. Agencies of the State of Minnesota 
may also serve by depositing the item to be served with 
Central Mailing Section, Publications Division, De-
partment of Administration. 

HE 203 Hearing examiners. 

[(a)] A. Request for [Appointment] Assignment. Any 
agency desiring to order a contested case hearing shall first 
file with the Chief Hearing Examiner a request for [ap-
pointment] assignment of a Hearing Examiner together 
with [a proposed] the notice of and order for hearing pro-
posed to be issued which shall include [including] a pro-
posed time, date and place for the hearing. The request 
shall include a statement by the agency that the facility 
where the hearing is to be conducted is free of mobility 
barriers in accordance with Executive Order No. 148. 

[(b)] B. [Appointment] Assignment. Within ten days of 
receipt of a request pursuant to HE 203 [(a)] A., the Chief 
Hearing Examiner shall [appoint] assign a Hearing 
Examiner to hear the case and the Hearing Examiner shall 
advise the agency as to the location at which and time dur-
ing which a hearing should be held so as to allow for par-
ticipation by all affected persons. 

[(c)] C. Duties. Consistent with law the Hearing 
Examiner shall perform the following duties: 

[(1)] 1. Grant or deny a demand for a more definite 
statement of charges. 

[(2)] 2. Grant or deny requests for discovery or for the 
taking of depositions. 

[(3)] 3. Receive and act upon requests for subpoenas 
[where appropriate]. 

[(4)] 4. Hear and rule on motions. 

[(5)] 5. Preside at the contested case hearing. 

[(6)] 6. Administer oaths and affirmations. 
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[(7)] 7. Grant or deny continuances. 

[(8)1 8. Examine witnesses and call witnesses where 
he deems it necessary to make a complete record. 

[(9)] 9. Prepare findings of fact, conclusions and rec-
ommendations. 

[(10)] 10. Make preliminary, interlocutory or other 
orders as he deems appropriate. 

[(11)1 11. Do all things necessary and proper to the 
performance of the foregoing. 

[(12)] 12. In his discretion, perform such other duties 
as may be delegated to him by the agency ordering the 
hearing. 

HE 204 Commencement of a contested case. A contested 
case is commenced, subsequent to the [appointment] as-
signment of a Hearing Examiner, by the issuance of a[n] 
notice of and order for hearing by the agency. 

[(a)] A. The order. Unless otherwise provided by law, 
a[n] notice of and order for hearing, which shall be a 
single document, shall be served upon all parties and shall 
contain, among other things, the following: 

[(1)] 1. The time, date and place for the hearing. 

[(2)] 2. Name and address and telephone number of 
the Hearing Examiner. 

[(3)] 3. A citation to the agency's statutory authority 
to hold the hearing and to take the action proposed. 

[(4)] 4. A statement of the allegations or issues to be 
determined together with a citation to the relevant statutes or 
rules. 

[(5)] 5. Notification of the right of the parties to be 
represented by legal counsel or by a person other than an 
attorney, if that person possesses special qualifications 
pertinent to the subject matter of the hearing. 

[(6)] 6. A citation to these rules and to any applicable 
procedural rules of the agency. 

[(7)] 7. A statement advising the parties of the name of 
the agency official or member of the Attorney General's 
staff to be contacted to discuss informal disposition pursuant 
to HE 207 or discovery pursuant to HE 214. 

[(8)] 8. In cases wherein the agency is a party, [A] a 
statement advising the parties that a Notice of Appearance 
must be filed with the Hearing Examiner [at least ten days 
prior to the hearing] within 20 days of the date of service  

of the Notice of and Order for Hearing if a party intends 
to appear at the hearing unless the hearing date is less than 
20 days from the commencement of the contested case. 

[(9)] 9. A statement advising the parties that failure to 
appear at the hearing may result in the allegations of the 
notice of and order for hearing being taken as true, or the 
issues set out being deemed proved, and a statement 
which explains the possible results of the allegations 
being taken as true or the issues proved. 

[(b)] B. Service. Unless otherwise provided by law, 
[T]the notice of and order for hearing shall be served not 
less than 30 days prior to the hearing. [unless otherwise 
provided by law, or] A shorter time may be allowed, if 
not contrary to statutory requirements, where it can be 
shown to the Chief Hearing Examiner that a shorter time is 
required in the public interest and that no interested per-
son will be adversely affected [without substantial adverse 
effect to the parties, and a copy shall be served upon the 
Hearing Examiner appointed to hear the case]. 

[(c) Notice. The Notice of Appearance form provided for 
in HE 205 shall be included with each order for hearing 
served by the agency.] 

[(d) Publication. Where the agency participates in the 
hearing in a neutral or quasi-judicial capacity, the order for 
hearing shall be published as required by law or as ordered 
by the agency and copies of the order for hearing may be 
mailed by the agency to persons known to have a direct 
interest.] 

[(3)] C. Amendments. At any time prior to the close of 
the hearing the agency may file and serve an amended 
notice of and order for hearing, provided that, should the 
amended notice and order raise new issues or allegations, 
the parties shall have a reasonable time to prepare to meet 
the new issues or allegations if requested. 

D. Alternatives. With the concurrence of the Chief 
Hearing Examiner, an agency may substitute other 
documents and procedures for the notice of and order 
for hearing provided that the documents and procedures 
inform actual and potential parties of the information 
contained in HE 204 A. 1-9 above. 

HE 205 Notice of appearance. Each party intending to ap-
pear at the contested case hearing shall file with the Hearing 
Examiner a Notice of Appearance which shall advise the 
Hearing Examiner of the party's intent to appear and shall 
indicate the title of the case, the agency ordering the hear-
ing, the party's current address and telephone number and 
the name, office address, and telephone number of the par-
ty's attorpey. The Notice of Appearance shall be filed with 
the Hearing Examiner [at least 10 days prior to the hearing] 
within 20 days of the date of service of the Notice of and 
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Order for Hearing, except that, where the hearing date is 	[(b)] B. Objection. Any party may object to the petition 
less than 20 days from the commencement of the contested 	for intervention by filing a Notice of Objection with the 
case, the Notice of Appearance shall not be necessary. The 	Hearing Examiner within 7 days of service of the petition. 
failure to file a Notice may, in the discretion of the Hearing 	The Notice shall state the party's reasons for objection and 
Examiner, result in a continuance of the hearing if the party 	shall be served upon all parties and the person petitioning to 
failing to file appears at the hearing. The form shall be 	intervene and the agency if the agency is not a party. 
included with the Notice of and Order for Hearing in all 
applicable cases. 	 [(c)] C. Order. The Hearing Examiner shall allow inter- 

vention upon a proper showing pursuant to HE 210 [(a)] A. 
HE 206 Right to counsel. Any party may be represented by 	unless the Hearing Examiner finds that the petitioner's 
legal counsel throughout the proceedings in a contested case 	interest is adequately represented by one or more parties 
before an agency or by a person other than an attorney, if 	participating in the case. In the event the Hearing 
that person possesses special qualifications pertinent to 	Examiner finds that one or more petitions are similar, he 
the subject matter of the hearing. 	 may allow the petitions to be consolidated as one, allow- 

ing all such petitioners to intervene but only as one 
HE 209 Time, 	 party. [The order allowing intervention shall specify the 

extent of participation permitted the intervenor and shall 
[(a)] A. Computation of time. In computing any period 	state the Hearing Examiner's reasons therefor. An inter- 

of time prescribed by these rules or the procedural rules of 	venor may be allowed to: 
any agency, the day of the last act, event, or default from 
which the designated period of time begins to run shall not 	 (1) File a written brief without acquiring the 
be included. The last day of the period so computed shall be 	status of a party; or 
included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday or a legal holiday. 
When the period of time prescribed or allowed is less 	 (2) File a written brief, introduce evidence and 
than 7 days, intermediate Saturdays, Sundays, and legal 	cross-examine witnesses at the hearing, but without acquir - 
holidays shall be excluded in the computation. 	 ing the status of a party; or 

[(b)] B. Additional time after service by mail. Whenever 
a party has the right or is required to do some act or take 
some action within a prescribed period after the service of a 
notice or other paper upon him, or whenever such service is 
required to be made within a prescribed period before a 
specified event, and the notice or paper is served by mail, 
three days shall be added to the prescribed period. 

HE 210 Intervention. 

[(a)] A. Petition. Any person desiring to intervene in a 
contested case as a party shall submit a timely petition to 
intervene to the Hearing Examiner and shall serve the peti-
tion upon all existing parties and the agency if the agency 
is not a party. Timeliness will be determined by the Hear-
ing Examiner in each case based on circumstances at the 
time of filing. The petition shall show how the petitioner's 
legal rights, duties, or privileges may be determined or af-
fected by the contested case, and shall set forth the grounds 
and purposes for which intervention is sought and shall 
indicate petitioner's statutory right to intervene if one 
should exist. The agency may, with the consent of the Chief 
Hearing Examiner, and where good reason appears therefor, 
specify in the Notice of and Order for Hearing the final date 
upon which a petition for intervention may be submitted to 
the Hearing Examiner.  

(3) Intervene as a party with all the rights of a 
party.] 

[(d)] D. Agency in a neutral capacity. Where the agency 
participates in the hearing in a neutral or quasi-judicial 
capacity, [then: 

(1) Any person intending to object to or protest 
an application or petition or other request of a party may 
petition to intervene under this rule and, in addition to the 
requirements of HE 210(a), shall set forth the grounds of the 
objection or protest. 

(2) Any person desiring to claim the same right or 
privilege as that requested by an applicant, petitioner or 
similar party may petition to intervene under this rule, and 
in addition to the requirements of HE 210(a), he shall set 
forth the grounds of his competing claim.] 

[(3)] [T]the agency staff, or a portion of the 
agency staff, may petition to intervene under the rule. 

[(e)] E. Participation by the public. [Regardless of the 
status of the agency,] [t]The  Hearing Examiner, may, in the 
absence of a petition to intervene, nevertheless hear the 
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testimony, with or without benefit of oath, and receive 
exhibits from any person at the hearing, or allow a person to 
note his appearance, or allow a person to question witness-
es, but no person shall become, or be deemed to have 
become, a party by reason of such participation. Persons 
allowed to participate as above may be questioned by 
parties to the proceeding. 

HE 211 Consolidation. 

[(a)] A. Authority. Whenever, before hearing on any 
contested case, the Chief Hearing Examiner, either on his 
own motion or on the motion of the Hearing Examiner 
assigned to the case, or upon petition by any party, deter-
mines (a) that separate contested cases present substantially 
the same issues of fact and law; (b) that a holding in one 
case would affect the rights of parties in another case; and 
(c) the consolidation would not substantially prejudice any 
party, the Hearing Examiner may order such cases consoli-
dated for a single hearing on the merits. Notwithstanding 
the requirements of this rule, the parties may stipulate and 
agree to such consolidation. 

[(b)] B. Notice of order. Following an order for consoli-
dation the Hearing Examiner shall forthwith serve on all par-
ties a copy of the order for consolidation. The order shall 
contain, among other things: 

[(1)] 1. A description of the cases for consolidation. 

[(2)] 2. The reasons for consolidation. 

[(3)] 3. Notification of a consolidated prehearing con-
ference if one has been requested. 

[(c)] C. Objection to consolidation. 

[(1)] 1. Petition for severance. Any party may object 
to consolidation by filing with the Hearing Examiner, and 
serving upon all parties and the agency if it is not a 
party, at least 7 days prior to the hearing in the case a 
petition for severance from consolidation, setting forth 
petitioner's name and address, the title of his case prior to 
consolidation, and the reasons for his petition. 

[(2)] 2. Determination. If the Hearing Examiner finds 
that consolidation would prejudice petitioner, he may order 
such severance or other relief as he deems necessary. 

HE 212 Disqualification. The Hearing Examiner shall with-
draw from participation in a contested case at any time if he 
deems himself disqualified for any reason. Upon the filing 
in good faith by a party of an affidavit of prejudice the Chief 
Hearing Examiner shall, absent objection from another 
party, reassign the case to another Hearing Examiner. 
Any party may object to the affidavit of prejudice. In 
such instance, the Chief Hearing Examiner shall deter- 

mine the matter as a part of the record. All affidavits of 
prejudice and objections thereto shall be served on all 
parties and the agency if the agency is not a party, and 
shall state with specificity the reasons for the affidavit or 
the objections thereto. 

In the event another affidavit of prejudice is filed by 
any party, the Chief Hearing Examiner shall determine 
the matter as a part of the record provided the affidavit shall 
be filed no later than 15 days prior to the date set for hear-
ing. 

HE 213 Prehearing [Conference] procedures. 

A. Prehearing conference. 

[(a)] 1. Purpose. The purpose of the prehearing con-
ference is to simplify the issues to be determined, to con-
sider amendment of the agency's order if necessary, to ob-
tain stipulations in regard to foundation for testimony or 
exhibits, to consider the proposed witnesses for each party, 
to consider such other matters that may be necessary or 
advisable and, if possible, to reach a settlement without the 
necessity for further hearing. 

[(b) 2. Procedure. Upon the request of any party or 
upon his own motion, the Hearing Examiner may, in his 
discretion, hold a prehearing conference prior to each con-
tested case hearing. The Hearing Examiner may require the 
parties to file a prehearing statement prior to the prehearing 
conference which shall contain such items as the Hearing 
Examiner deems necessary to promote a useful prehearing 
conference. A prehearing conference shall be an informal 
proceeding conducted expeditiously by the Hearing 
Examiner. Agreements on the simplification of issues, 
amendments, stipulations, or other matters may be entered 
on the record or may be made the subject of an order by the 
Hearing Examiner. Any final settlement shall be set forth in 
a settlement agreement or consent order and made a part of 
the record. 

B. Motions. Any application to the Hearing 
Examiner for an order shall be by motion which, unless 
made during a hearing, shall be made in writing, shall 
state with particularity the grounds therefor, and shall 
set forth the relief or order sought. Motions provided in 
these rules are motions requiring a written notice to all 
parties and to the agency if the agency is not a party, and 
may require a hearing before the order can be issued. 

HE 214 Discovery. 

[(a)] A. Demand. Each party shall, within 10 days of a 
demand by another party, disclose the following: 

[(1)] 1. The names and addresses of all witnesses that 
the party intends to call at the hearing. All witnesses un- 
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known at the time of said disclosure shall be disclosed as 
soon as they become known. 

[(2)] 2. Any relevant written or recorded statements 
made by a party or by witnesses on behalf of a party. The 
demanding party shall be permitted to inspect and reproduce 
any such statements. Any party unreasonably failing upon 
demand to make the disclosure required by this rule may, in 
the discretion of the Hearing Examiner, be foreclosed from 
presenting any evidence at the hearing through witnesses 
not disclosed or through witnesses whose statements are not 
disclosed. 

[(b)] B. Requests for admissions. A party may serve 
upon any other party a written request for the admission of 
relevant facts or opinions, or of the application of law to 
relevant facts or opinions, including the genuineness of any 
documents. The request must be served at least 15 days 
prior to the hearing and it shall be answered in writing by 
the party to whom the request is directed within 10 days of 
receipt of the request. The written answer shall either 
admit or deny the truth of the matters contained in the re-
quest or shall make a specific objection thereto. Failure to 
make a written answer shall result in the subject matter of 
the request being deemed admitted. 

[(c)] C. Motion to hearing examiner. Upon the motion of 
a party, the Hearing Examiner may order discovery of any 
other relevant material or information, provided that 
privileged work product (e.g. that of attorneys, inves-
tigators, etc.) shall not be discoverable. The Hearing 
Examiner shall also recognize all other privileged infor-
mation or communications which are recognized at law. 
Upon proper motion made to the Hearing Examiner, 
any other means of discovery available pursuant to the 
Rules of Civil Procedure for the District Courts of the 
State of Minnesota may be allowed provided that such 
requests can be shown to be needed for the proper 
presentation of a party's case and not for purposes of 
delay. Upon the failure of a party to reasonably comply 
with an order of the Hearing Examiner made pursuant to this 
rule, the Hearing Examiner may make a further order as 
follows: 

[(1)] 1. An order that the subject matter of the order 
for discovery or any other relevant facts shall be taken as 
established for the purposes of the case in accordance with 
the claim of the party requesting the order. 

[(2)] 2. An order refusing to allow the party failing to 
comply to support or oppose designated claims or defenses, 
or prohibiting him from introducing designated matters in 
evidence. 

D. Proprietary information. Nothing in these rules 
shall require the revealing of proprietary information or 
trade secrets. When a party is asked to reveal such in-
formation, he shall bring the matter to the attention of 
the Hearing Examiner, who shall make such protective 
orders as are reasonable and necessary. 

HE 216 Subpoenas. Following the commencement of a 
contested case pursuant to these rules, only subpoenas 
issued by the Chief Hearing Examiner shall be used dur -
ing the course of the administrative proceeding. Requests 
for subpoenas for the attendance of witnesses or the produc-
tion of documents shall be made in writing to the Hearing 
Examiner, and copies served upon all parties and the 
agency if the agency is not a party, and shall contain a 
brief statement demonstrating the potential relevance of the 
testimony or evidence sought and shall identify any docu-
ments sought with specificity, and shall name all persons 
to be subpoenaed. [Requests for subpoenas may be made 
only in cases wherein the agency involved has statutory 
subpoena power.] 

[(afl A. Service of subpoenas. 

[(1)] 1. A subpoena shall be served in the manner 
provided by the Rules of Civil Procedure for the District 
Courts of the State of Minnesota unless otherwise provided 
by law. 

[(2)] 2. The cost of service, fees, and expenses of any 
witnesses subpoenaed shall be paid by the party at whose 
request the witness appears. 

[(3)] 3. The person serving the subpoena shall make 
proof of service by filing the subpoena with the Hearing 
Examiner, together with his affidavit of service. 

[(b)] b. Motion to quash. Upon the motion made 
promptly, and in any event at or before the time specified in 
the subpoena for compliance therewith, the Hearing 
Examiner may quash or modify the subpoena if he finds that 
it is unreasonable or oppressive. 

HE 217 The hearing. 

[(b)] B. Witnesses. Any party may be a witness or may 
present witnesses on his behalf at the hearing. All oral tes-
timony at the hearing shall be under oath or affirmation 
subject only to the provisions of HE 210 E. Testimony 
offered not subject to oath or affirmation shall be given 
such weight as the Hearing Examiner deems appropri-
ate. At the request of a party or upon his own motion the 
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Hearing Examiner may exclude witnesses from the hearing 
room so that they cannot hear the testimony of other witness-
es. 

[(c)] C. Rules of evidence. 

7. Offer of proof. If an objection to a question pro-
pounded to a witness is sustained, the examining person 
may make a specific offer of what he expects to prove by 
the answer of the witness. Upon request, the Examiner 
shall take the evidence in full, unless it clearly appears 
that the evidence is not admissible on any ground or that 
the witness is privileged. 

[(d)] D. The record. 

[(1)] 1. [Agency prepares record.] The [agency] Hear-
ing Examiner shall prepare and maintain the official record 
in each contested case until the issuance of his final re-
port, at which time the record shall be sent to the 
agency. 

[(2)] 2. What the record shall contain. The record in a 
contested case shall contain: 

[(aa)] a. All pleadings, motions and orders; 

[(bb)] b. Evidence received or considered; 

[(cc)] c. Offers of proof, objections and rulings 
thereon; 

[(dd)j d. The Hearing Examiner's findings of fact, 
conclusions and recommendations; 

[(ee)] e. All memoranda or data submitted by any 
party in connection with the case[.I; 

f. The transcript of the hearing, if one was pre- 
pared. 

[(3)] 3. The transcript. 

[(aa) Reporter. A court reporter from the Office of 
Hearing Examiners shall keep a record at each contested 
case hearing unless the Chief Hearing Examiner determines 
that the use of an audio magnetic recording device is more 
appropriate.] 

[(bb) Transcription.] The verbatim record shall be 
transcribed if requested by [a party] any person or in the 
discretion of the Chief Hearing Examiner. If a transcription 
is made, the Chief Hearing Examiner [may] shall require 
the requesting [party] person and other [parties] persons 
who request copies of the transcript to pay a reasonable 
charge therefor. The charge shall be set by the Chief Hear-
ing Examiner and all monies received for transcripts shall  

be payable to the State Treasurer and shall be deposited in S 
the State Office of Hearing Examiners account in the State 
Treasury. 

[(f)] F. Motions [of] to the agency. No Motions shall be 
made directly to or be decided by the agency subsequent to 
the [appointment] assignment of a Hearing Examiner and 
prior to the completion and filing of the Hearing Examiner's 
report unless the motion is certified to the agency by the 
Hearing Examiner. Uncertified motions shall be made to the 
Hearing Examiner and considered by the agency in its con-
sideration of the record as a whole subsequent to the filing 
of the Hearing Examiner's report. 

Any party may request that a motion decided ad-
versely to that party by the Hearing Examiner during 
the course of the hearing be certified by the Hearing 
Examiner to the agency. Such request must be made at 
the time the Hearing Examiner rules on the motion. In 
deciding what motions should be certified, the Examiner 
shall consider the following: 

1. Whether the motion involves a controlling ques-
tion of law as to which there is substantial ground for a 
difference of opinion; and 

the motion would materially advance the ultimate ter-
mination of the hearing. 

2. Whether a final determination by the agency on 

S 
[(g)] G. Hearing procedure. 

[(2)] 2. Conduct of the hearing. Unless the Hearing 
Examiner determines that the public interest will be 
equally served otherwise, [T]the  hearing shall be con-
ducted substantially in the following manner: 

[(aa)] a. After opening the hearing, the Hearing 
Examiner shall indicate the procedural rules for the hearing 
including the following: 

[(i)] (1) All parties may present evidence and ar-
gument with respect to the issues and cross-examine witness-
es. At the discretion of the Hearing Examiner, a party, 
by its attorney or by any representative of that party, or 
by any combination of such persons, may cross-examine 
each witness, provided that only one person shall cross- 
examine each witness on behalf of a party on any one 
subject matter of testimony. At the request of the party 
being cross-examined, the Hearing Examiner may make 
such rulings as are necessary to prevent repetitive or 
irrelevant questioning and to expedite the cross- 
examination to the extent consistent with disclosure of 
all relevant testimony and information. 

[(hh)] h. The record of the hearing shall be closed 
	S 
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upon receipt of the final written memorandum, transcript, 
if any, or late filed exhibits, whichever occurs latest. 

HE 218 The decision. 

[(a)] A. Basis for determination. 

[(1)] 1. The record. No factual information or evi-
dence, except tax returns and tax reports, which is not a part 
of the record shall be considered by the Hearing Examiner 
or the agency in the determination of a contested case. 

[(2)] 2. Administrative notice. The Hearing Examiner 
and agency may take administrative notice of general, tech-
nical or scientific facts within their specialized knowledge in 
conformance with the requirements of Minn. Stat. 
§ 15.0419, subd. 4. 

[(b)] B. Hearing examiner's report. Following the close 
of the record [and the completion of the transcript,] the 
Hearing Examiner shall make his report pursuant to Minn. 
Stat. § 15.052, subd. 3, and, upon completion, a copy of 
said report shall be served upon all parties by regular mail 
or by depositing it with Central Mailing Section, Publi-
cations Division, Department of Administration. 

[(c)] C. Agency decision. Following receipt of the Hear-
ing Examiners' report, the agency shall proceed to make its 
final decision in accordance with Minn. Stat. § 15.042 1 and 
Minn. Stat. § 15.0422, and shall send a copy of such final 
order to the Office of Hearing Examiners. 

HE 222 Effective date. These rules shall be effective for all 
contested cases commenced after December 31, [1975] 
1977. 

KEY: Existing rules are printed in standard type face. Proposed additions to existing rules are printed in boldface, while proposed 
deletions from existing rules are printed within [single bracketsj. Additions to proposed rules are underlined and boldfaced,  while 
deletions from proposed rules are printed within [double bracketsi]. 
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Department of Health 
Notice of Intent to Solicit Outside Opinion 

on Rules Governing Water Well 
Contractor Licensing and Public Water 
Supply Construction 

Notice is hereby given, pursuant to the provisions of Minn. 
Stat. § 15.0412 subd. 6 (1976) the the Commissioner of 
Health will propose the amendment of existing rules and the 
adoption of new rules. 

All interested parties desiring to submit data or views relat-
ing to the proposed amendment or adoption of the rules 
noted below should address their comments (either written 
or oral) to the Minnesota Department of Health, Division of 
Environmental Health, 717 Delaware Street S.E., Min-
neapolis, Minnesota 55440 by writing or calling the persons 
designated. Evidence submitted for consideration should be 
pertinent to the matter at hand. Any material received by the 
Department of Health wilt become part of the hearing 
record. 

1. Proposed amendments to Minnesota Water Well 
Contractors Code relating to licensing of drillers. 

Contact: Edwin H. Ross 
Phone: 612/296-5339 

2. Proposed adoption of rules relating to Public Water 
Supply Construction. 

Contact: Paul B. Johnson 
Phone: 612/296-5331 

Department of Human 
Rights 

Notice of Settlement Agreements Made 
between August 12, 1977 and August 
29, 1977 

In addition to specific remedies, standard agreements 
reached prior to a hearing contain the following two stipula-
tions: 

1. The agreement does not constitute an admission by 
the respondent of a violation of Minn. Stat. ch. 363. 

2. The respondent agrees to abide by the provisions of 
Minn. Stat. ch. 363. 

Department of Human Rights, Complainant, vs. 
Whirlpool Corporation, Respondent, E1707. 

Charge. 
A person (hereinafter "charging party") filed a charge 

alleging that Whirlpool Corporation (hereinafter "respond-
ent") had discriminated against him because of a disability. 
The charging party alleged that the respondent had refused 
to employ him because of a disability from which he had 
fully recovered. Following an investigation, the Commis-
sioner of Human Rights found that there was reason to 
credit the charging party's allegation. 

Setfiement. 
The charging party and the respondent agreed to volun-

tarily settle the matter in the following manner: 

1. The respondent agreed to pay the charging party the 
sum of $850.00 on the date of the execution of the agree-
ment. 

2. The charging party waived any right or claim to 
employment with Whirlpool Corporation. 

Department of Human Rights, Complainant, vs. 
WCCO-TV, Respondent, E2144. 

Charge. 
A person (hereinafter "charging party") alleged that 

his employer, WCCO-TV (hereinafter "respondent"), had 
discriminated against him by denying him a promotion 
when vacancies occurred because of his race. Following an 
investigation, the Commissioner of Human Rights found 
that there was reason to credit the charging party's allega-
tion. 

Settlement. 
The charging party and the respondent agreed to volun-

tarily settle the matter in the following manner: 

1. The respondent agreed to pay the charging party the 
sum of $1,000.00 in full settlement for the charge filed with 
the Human Rights Department. 

2. The respondent agreed to present for inspection to 
the Minnesota Human Rights Department a copy of the last 
Affirmative Action Policy that it submitted to the Federal 
Communications Commission. 

Department of Human Rights, Complainant, vs. F. W. 
Woolworth Co., Respondent, E3370. 

Charge. 
An organization (hereinafter "charging party") al-

leged that F. W. Woolworth Co. (hereinafter "respond-
ent") was discriminating against applicants for employment 
by requiring applicants to furnish information that pertained 
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to their marital status. Following an investigation, the 
Commissioner of Human Rights found that there was reason 
to credit the allegation of unfair discriminatory practice. 

Settlement. 
The charging party and the respondent agreed to settle 

the matter as follows: 

1. The respondent agreed to discontinue use of its ap-
plication form. 

2. The respondent agreed to implement use of an ap-
plication form which was reviewed and approved by the 
Department of Human Rights. 

Department of Human Rights, Complainant, vs. Min-
nesota Department of Employment Services, Respond-
ent, E3038. 

Charge. 
A person (hereinafter "charging party") filed a charge 

alleging that his employer, the Minnesota Department of 
Employment Services (hereinafter "respondent"), had dis-
criminated against him because of his race by refusing to 
consider him for a merit increase. Following an investiga-
tion, the Commissioner of Human Rights found that there 
was reason to believe that an unfair discriminatory practice 
had occurred. 

Settlement. 
The charging party and the respondent agreed to settle 

the matter in the following manner: 

1. The respondent agreed to pay to the charging party 
the sum of $179.00 plus interest within 14 days of the 
execution of the agreement. 

2. The respondent agreed to file with the Commis-
sioner of Human Rights and with the respondent's Affirma-
tive Action Officer, copies of the procedure and the criteria 
to be used in granting achievement awards. 

3. The Commissioner and the Department may review 
compliance with the agreement and with the procedures and 
criteria used to grant achievement awards. 

4. The Affirmative Action Officer of the respondent 
shall monitor, during the next two (2) fiscal years, com-
pliance with the agreement and shall report to the Commis-
sioner of Human Rights any deviation from the procedures 
and criteria used to grant achievement awards. 

Department of Human Rights, Complainant, vs. De-
partment of Manpower Services, Respondent, E1641. 

Charge. 
A person (hereinafter "charging party") alleged that 

she had been discriminated against because of her race by 
the Minnesota Department of Manpower Services (here-
inafter "respondent"). The charging party alleged that the 
respondent had refused to rehire her when she reapplied for 
a job she had held for two years. The Commissioner of 
Human Rights found probable cause to credit the charging 
party's allegations. 

Settlement. 
The charging party and the respondent agreed to settle 

the matter in the following manner: 

1. The respondent agreed to pay to the charging party 
the sum of $2,000.00. 

Department of Human Rights, Complainant, vs. United 
States Steel, Respondent, E1499. 

Charge. 
A person (hereinafter "charging party") filed a charge 

alleging that United States Steel, Minntac Plant (hereinafter 
"respondent"), had refused to hire her as a general laborer 
because of her sex. Following an investigation, the Corn. 
missioner of Human Rights found that there was probable 
cause to believe the charging party's allegations. 

Settlement. 
The charging party and the respondent agreed to settle 

the matter as follows: 

1. The respondent agreed to pay to the charging party 
the sum of $1,700.00 in settlement of the charge. 

St. Croix Ambulance 
Service 

Notice of Application for License 

On August 16, 1977, St. Croix Emergency Services Ambu-
lance filed application with Warren R. Lawson, MD., 
Commissioner of Health, for a license to operate a (an) 
emergency/nonemergency ambulance service with a base of 
operation in St. Croix Falls, Wisconsin. This notice is made 
pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 144.802 (Supp. .1977). Please be 
advised that Subdivision 2 of that statute states, in part: The 
Commissioner may grant or deny the license 30 days after 
notice of filing has been fully published. If the Commis-
sioner receives a written objection to the application from 
any person within 20 days of the notice having been fully 
published, the license shall be granted or denied only after a 
contested case hearing has been conducted on the applica-
tion. The Commissioner may elect to hold a contested case 
hearing if no objections to the application are received. If a 
timely objection is not recieved, the Commissioner may 
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Notice of Intent to Solicit Outside Opinion 
on the Revision of an Existing Rule 

grant or deny the requested license based upon the informa-
tion contained in the license application. If licensure is de-
nied without hearing, the applicant, within 30 days after 
receiving notice of denial, may request and shall be granted 
a contested case hearing upon the application, at which 
hearing all issues will be heard de novo. Any objections to 
this service, pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 144.802 (Supp. 
1977) may be made in writing to Warren R. Lawson, M.D., 
within the time period outlined by statute. 

Water and Wastewater 
Operator Certification 
Council  

Notice is hereby given, pursuant to the provisions of Minn. 
Stat. § 15.0412 subd. 6 (1976) that the Water and Wastewa-
ter Operator Certification Council will propose the revision 
of its existing rule. 

All interested parties desiring to submit data or views relat-
ing to the proposed revision of WWOB 1 should address 
their comments (either written or oral) to Paul B. Johnson, 
Secretary, Minnesota Department of Health, Division of 
Environmental Health, 717 Delaware Street S.E., Min-
neapolis, Minnesota 55440, phone: (612) 296-5331. Evi-
dence submitted for consideration should be pertinent to the 
matter at hand. Any material received by the council will 
become part of the hearing record. 
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STATE OF MINNESOTA 
OFFICE OF THE STATE REGISTER 

95 Sherburne, Suite 203 
St. Paul, Minnesota 55103 

(612) 296-8239 

ORDER FORM 

State Register. Minnesota's official weekly publication for 
agency rules, notices and executive orders. 
	 Annual subscription $110.00 
	 Additional subscription $85.00 

State Register Binder. Durable 3½ inch, forest green bind-
ers imprinted with the State Register logo. 
	 Single copy $5.00 + $20 (sales tax) = 

$5 .20* 

Guidebook to State Agency Services. The 53rd issue of the 
State Register, a how-to-get-it guide to state services. De-
tailed information about every service available to the pub-
lic, in clear, simple English. 
	 Single copy $5.95 + $.24 (sales tax) = 

$6. 19* 
	 Ten copies or more 

$5.00 + $.20 (sales tax) = $5.20* 

Minnesota Code of Agency Rules (MCAR). The perma-
nent, 15 volume set of state agency rules. An indispensable 
reference work for the practice of administrative law. 
	 15 volume set $325.00, includes the annual 

update service subscription for the year of 
order and a set of MCAR binders. 

MCAR Binders. A set of 15 sturdy, three inch, three-ring 
binders in attractive forest green, imprinted with the MCAR 
logo. 

IS volume set $35.00 + $1.40 (sales tax) = 
$36.40* 

*To avoid Minnesota sales tax, please include below your 
tax exempt number. 

Please enclose full amount of items ordered. Make check or 
money order payable to "Minnesota State Treasurer." 

Name 	  

Attention to 	  

Street 	  

City 	  State 	 Zip 	 

Telephone 	  

Tax Exempt Number 	  
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Legislative Reference Li
brary 

Attn: Stephen Plumb 

Room ill State Capitol 

St.'PauI, Minnesota 551
55 

S 


	Page 1
	Page 1
	Page 1
	Page 1
	Page 1
	Page 1
	Page 1
	Page 1
	Page 1
	Page 1
	Page 1
	Page 1
	Page 1
	Page 1
	Page 1
	Page 1
	Page 1
	Page 1
	Page 1
	Page 1
	Page 1
	Page 1
	Page 1
	Page 1
	Page 1
	Page 1
	Page 1
	Page 1
	Page 1
	Page 1
	Page 1
	Page 1
	Page 1
	Page 1
	Page 1
	Page 1
	Page 1
	Page 1
	Page 1
	Page 1
	Page 1
	Page 1
	Page 1
	Page 1
	Page 1
	Page 1
	Page 1
	Page 1
	Page 1
	Page 1

