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EXECUTIVE ORDERS 	
Executive Order No. 86-13 
Providing for Assistance to Officials of Aitkin, Minnesota 

I, RUDY PERPICH, GOVERNOR OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA, by virtue of the 
authority vested in me by the Constitution and the applicable statutes, do hereby issue this Executive 
Order: 

WHEREAS, the Sheriff of Aitkin County has requested assistance in the search for and rescue 
of a lost seventeen year old boy; and 

WHEREAS, the size and terrain of the search area are beyond the capabilities of local resources; 

NOW, THEREFORE, I hereby order that: 
1. The Adjutant General of Minnesota order to active duty on or after November 2, 1986, in 

service of the State, such elements and equipment of the military forces of the State as required 
and for such period of time necessary to ensure the safety of our citizens. 
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PROPOSED RULES 
Pursuant to Minn. Stat, of 1982, § 14.22, an agency may propose to adopt, amend, suspend or repeal rules without first holding a public 

hearing, as long as the agency determines that the rules will be noncontroversial in nature. The agency must first publish a notice of intent to 
adopt rules without a public hearing, together with the proposed rules, in the State Register. The notice must advise the public: 

1. that they have 30 days in which to submit comment on the proposed rules; 
2. that no public hearing will be held unless 25 or more persons make a written request for a hearing within the 30-day comment period; 
3. of the manner in which persons shall request a hearing on the proposed rules; and 
4. that the rule may be modified if the modifications are supported by the data and views submitted. 
If, during the 30-day comment period, 25 or more persons submit to the agency a written request for a hearing of the proposed rules, the 

agency must proceed under the provisions of § 14.14-14.20, which state that if an agency decides to hold a public hearing, it must publish a 
notice of intent in the State Register. 

Pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 14.29 and 14.30, agencies may propose emergency rules under certain circumstances. Proposed emergency rules 
are published in the State Register and, for at least 25. days thereafter, interested persons may submit data and views in writing to the 
proposing agency. 

RUDY PERPICH 
Governor 

EXECUTIVE ORDERS 	  

2. Cost of subsistence, transportation, fuel, and pay and allowances of said individuals shall 
be defrayed from the General Fund of the State as provided for by Minnesota Statutes, Section 
192.49, Subdivision 1, Section 192.51, and Section 192.52. 

PURSUANT TO Minnesota Statutes, Section 4.035, this Order shall be effective retroactive 
to November 2, 1986, and shall remain in effect until such date as elements of the military forces 
of the State are no longer required. 

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF I have set my hand this seventh day of November, 1986. 

Department of Health 
Proposed Permanent Rules Relating to Review of Care and Classification of Residents 

in Facilities Participating in the Medical Assistance Program 
Notice of Hearing 

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that a public hearing on the above-entitled matter will be held at the Minnesota Veterans' Home 
Auditorium, Building 15, 5101 Minnehaha Avenue, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55417, on January 7 & 8, 1987, commencing at 
9:00 a.m. and continuing until all interested or affected parties have an opportunity to participate. The proposed rules may be 
modified as a result of the hearing process. Therefore, if you are affected in any manner by the proposed rules, you are urged to 
participate in the rule hearing process. 

The hearing on these rules will be part of a hearing on Minnesota Department of Human Services Proposed Rules parts 9549.0050 
to 9549.0059. The Department of Human Services Rules will implement a case mix reimbursement system for long term care 
facilities. All references to parts 9549.0050 to 9549.0059 found in these rules are to the rules as proposed. 

Following the agency's presentation at the hearing, all interested or affected persons will have an opportunity to participate. 
Such persons may present their views either orally at the hearing or in writing at any time prior to the close of the hearing record. 
All evidence presented should be pertinent to the proposed rules. Written material not submitted at the time of the hearing, which 
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is to be included in the hearing record may be mailed to Jon L. Lunde, Administrative Law Judge, Office of Administrative 
Hearings, 400 Summit Bank Building, 310 South Fourth Avenue, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55415; telephone (612) 341-7645, either 
before the hearing or within five working days after the public hearing ends. 

The Administrative Law Judge may, at the hearing, order the record be kept open for a longer period not to exceed 20 calendar 
days. The comments received during the comment period shall be available for review at the Office of Administrative Hearings. 
Following the close of the comment period, the agency and all interested persons have three business days to respond in writing 
to any new information submitted during the comment period. During the three-day period, the agency may indicate in writing 
whether there are amendments suggested by other persons that the agency is willing to adopt. No additional evidence may be 
submitted during the three-day period. The written responses shall be added to the rulemaking record. 

Upon the close of the hearing record, the Administrative Law Judge will write a report as provided for in Minnesota Statutes, 
section 14.50. The rule hearing is governed by Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.01 to 14.56, and by Minnesota Rules, parts 
1400.0200 to 1400.1200. Questions about procedure may be directed to the Administrative Law Judge. 

These rules, parts 4656.0010 to 4656.0090 require the Department of Health to conduct annual resident assessments in accordance 
with procedures established by 42 Code of Federal Regulations (C.F.R.), sections 456.600 to 456.614. The rules also incorporate 
by reference specific pages of the November 1986 versions of the Facility Manual for Completing Case Mix Requests for Classification 
and the Inspection of Care Instruction Manual: With Procedures for Completing Case Mix Requests for Classifications, as well as 
the Guideline for Isolation Precautions in Hospitals. These documents are available for review at the Ford Law Library at 117 
University Avenue, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155, and through the minitex interlibrary loan system. In addition, the rules establish 
procedures for the classification of residents in nursing homes and boarding care homes participating in the Medical Assistance 
Program, provide a mechanism for reconsidering Department of Health Classifications, establish a process for auditing resident 
assessments referred by nursing homes or boarding care homes, and require facilities to provide death, discharge, change of payment 
source, and transfer information to the Department of Health every 30 days. 

The Department's authority to adopt the proposed rules is contained in Minnesota Statutes, sections 144.072, subdivision 1, and 
256B .502. The Department estimates that the total cost to local public bodies will not exceed $100,000 in either of the two years 
immediately following adoption of these rules. Therefore, no fiscal note is required under subdivision 1 of Minnesota Statutes, 
section 14.11. 

The Department of Health is exempt from Minnesota Statutes, section 14.115, Small Business Considerations in Rulemaking, 
by virtue of subdivision 7(c) of that statute. 

Copies of the proposed rules are now available, and one free copy may be obtained by writing to Gary A. Goetzke, Health 
Resources Division, Minnesota Department of Health, 717 Delaware Street S .E., P.O. Box 9441, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55440. 

Additional copies will be available at the hearing. If you have any questions on the content of the rule, contact Gary A. Goetzke, 
at the address listed above, or at (612) 623-5627. 

NOTICE: Any person may request notification of the date on which the Administrative Law Judge's report will be available, 
after which date the agency may not take any final action on the rules for a period of five working days. If you desire to be notified, 
you may so indicate at the hearing. After the hearing, you may request notification by sending a written request to the Administrative 
Law Judge. Any person may request notification of the date on which the rules were adopted and filed with the secretary of state. 
The notice must be mailed on the same day the rules are filed. If you want to be so notified, you may so indicate at the hearing 
or send a request in writing to the agency at any time prior to the filing of the rules with the secretary of state. 

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that a Statement of Need and Reasonableness is now available for review at the agency and at 
the Office of Administrative Hearings. The Statement of Need and Reasonableness includes a summary of all the evidence and 
argument that the agency anticipates presenting at the hearing to justify both the need for and reasonableness of the proposed rules. 
Copies of the Statement of Need and Reasonableness may be reviewed at the agency or the Office of Administrative Hearings, 
and copies may be obtained from the Office of Administrative Hearings at the cost of reproduction. 

Minnesota Statutes, chapter lOa, requires each lobbyist to register with the State Ethical Practices Board within five days after 
he or she commences lobbying. A lobbyist is defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 1OA.0l, subdivision 11, as any individual: 

a) engaged for pay or other consideration, or authorized by another individual or association to spend money, who spends 
more than five hours in any month or more than $250, not including travel expenses and membership dues, in any year, for the 

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. Strike eH indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike e4s indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 
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PROPOSED RULES 	  
purpose of atttempting to influence legislative or administrative action by communication or urging others to communicate with 
public officials; or 

b) who spends more than $250, not including traveling expenses and membership dues, in any year, for the purpose of 
attempting to influence legislative or administrative action by communicating or urging others to communicate with public officials. 
The statute provides certain exceptions. Questions should be directed to the Ethical Practices Board, 41 State Office Building, 
St. Paul, Minnesota 55155, telephone (612) 296-5615. 
Dated: 17 November 1986 

Sister Mary Madonna Ashton, Commissioner 
Minnesota Department of Health 

Rules as Proposed (all new material) 
4656.0010 SCOPE. 

Parts 4656.0010 to 4656.0090 establish procedures for the assessment of the appropriateness and quality of care and services 
furnished to medical assistance sponsored resdents of facilities certified for participation in the medical assistance program under 
United States Code, title 42, sections 1396-1 396p, as amended through December 31, 1984, under Minnesota Statutes, section 
144.072. Parts 4656.0010 to 4656.0090 also establish procedures for the assessment of private paying residents in certified nursing 
homes and boarding care homes, under Minnesota Statutes, section 144.0721, and for the classification of medicaid sponsored and 
private paying residents in certified nursing homes and boarding care homes, under Minnesota Statutes, section 144.0722. Procedures 
for determining the operating cost payment rates for all certified nursing homes and boarding care homes are found in rules of the 
Department of Human Services, parts 9549.0050 to 9549.0059 as proposed at State Register, volume 11, pages 988 to 1004 and 
as subsequently adopted. 
4656.0020 DEFINITIONS. 

Subpart 1. Applicability. As used in parts 4656.0010 to 4656.0090, the following terms have the meanings given them. 
Subp. 2. Assessment form. "Assessment form" means the form developed by the department's quality assurance and review 

program and used for performing resident assessments. 
Subp. 3. Certified. "Certified" means authorized to participate in the medical assistance program under United States Code, 

title 42, sections l396-1396p as amended through July 18, 1984. Before certification, facilities must be licensed by the state under 
parts 4655.0090 to 4655.9900, and must also meet any additional requirements established by certification standards under the 
Social Security Act. 

Subp. 4. Department. "Department" means the Minnesota Department of Health. 
Subp. 5. Guideline for Isolation Precautions in Hospitals. "Guideline for Isolation Precautions in Hospitals" means the six 

guidelines written by Julia S. Garner, RN, and Bryan P. Simmons, MD, reprinted by the United States Department of Health and 
Human Services, Public Health Service, Center for Disease Control, from Infection Control July/August 1983 (Special Supplement); 
4 (suppl): pp.  245-325. The guidelines are incorporated by reference. They are available at the Ford Law Library, 117 University 
Avenue, Saint Paul, MN 55155. This material is not subject to frequent change. 

Subp. 6. Medical plan of care. "Medical plan of care" means documentation signed by the resident's physician which includes 
the resident's primary diagnoses, secondary diagnoses, orders for treatments and medications, rehabilitation potential, rehabilitation 
procedures if ordered, clinical monitoring procedures, and discharge potential. 

Subp. 7. Quality assurance and review or QA&R. "Quality assurance and review" or "QA&R" means the program established 
under Minnesota Statutes, sections 144.072 and 144.0721. 

Subp. 8. Resident. "Resident" means an individual residing in a facility certified for participation in the medical assistance 
program under United States Code, title 42, sections 1396-1 396p as amended through July 18, 1984, unless otherwise provided 
in parts 4656.0010 to 4656.0090. 

Subp. 9. Resident class. "Resident class" means each of the 11 categories established in part 9549.0058 as proposed at State 
Register, volume 11, pages 999 to 1001 and as subsequently adopted. 

Subp. 10. Resident plan of care. "Resident plan of care" for residents of nursing homes means the patient care plan specified 
in part 4655.6000. Resident plan of care for residents in boarding care homes means the overall plan of care as defined in Code 
of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 442.3 19, as amended through December 31, 1984. 
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Subp. 11. Resident record. "Resident record" means the entire record of a resident compiled by the nursing home or boarding 
care home. The resident record must include the following: 

A. the admission record; 

B. the medical plan of care; 

C. the resident plan of care; 

D. documentation from services providing care to the resident; 

E. reports of any diagnostic testing, consultation, and other services; 

F. a copy of any transfer data provided to another health care facility; and 

G. a discharge summary. 

4656.0030 ANNUAL RESIDENT ASSESSMENT. 

Subpart 1. Inspection of care requirements. The department shall annually assess the appropriateness and quality of care and 
services provided to medical assistance sponsored residents in every certified facility, and to private paying residents in certified 
nursing homes and boarding care homes. Assessments must be conducted in accordance with the inspection of care requirements 
established by Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, sections 456.600 to 456.614, as amended through December 31, 1984. 
However, provisions relating to recommendations for changes in the level of care provided shall not apply to private paying residents. 

Subp. 2. Assessment process. A registered nurse shall complete an assessment form for each resident, in accordance with 
procedures established in the Inspection of Care Instruction Manual, with Procedures for Completing Case Mix Requests for 
Classification published by the Minnesota Department of Health. Pages 8 to 29 of the November 1986 version of the manual are 
incorporated by reference. This manual is available at the Ford Law Library, 117 University Avenue, Saint Paul, Minnesota 55155. 
This material is not subject to frequent change. The completed assessment form must reflect the resident's needs at the time of the 
assessment. The assessment process includes observation of the resident, review of the medical record, and when necessary, staff 
interviews. 

CASE MIX REIMBURSEMENT CLASSIFICATIONS 

4656.0040 CLASSIFICATION OF ASSESSMENTS COMPLETED BY REVIEW TEAMS. 

Within 15 working days of receiving assessment documents submitted under part 4656.0030, the department shall classify each 
resident of a certified nursing home or boarding care home into one of the resident classes prescribed by part 9549.0058, subpart 
1, item 1, as proposed at State Register, volume 11, pages 988 to 1004 and as subsequently adopted, and mail a written notice of the 
classification to the resident and to the facility. The written notice must specify that the resident or the resident's authorized 
representative and the facility have the right to review the department's documents supporting the classification and to request a 
reconsideration of the classification. 

4656.0050 REVIEW AND CLASSIFICATION OF FACILITY AND PREADMISSION SCREENING ASSESSMENTS. 

Subpart 1. Assessment instructions. Assessment forms which are completed in accordance with part 9549.0059, as proposed 
at State Register, volume 11, pages 988 to 1004 and as subsequently adopted must be completed by using the procedures established 
in the Facility Manual for Completing Case Mix Requests for Classification published by the Minnesota Department of Health. 
Pages 10 to 23 of the November 1986 version of the manual are incorporated by reference. This manual is available at the Ford 
Law Library, 117 University Avenue, Saint Paul, Minnesota 55155. This material is not subject to frequent change. 

Subp. 2. Classification or notification of incomplete assessments. Within 15 working days of receiving a request for classi-
fication submitted under part 9459.0059 as proposed at State Register, volume 11, pages 988 to 1004 and as subsequently adopted, the 
department shall classify the resident into one of the resident classes established under part 9549.0058 as proposed at State Register, 
volume 11, pages 988 to 1004 and as subsequently adopted, or notify the individual completing the assessment or the facility furnishing 
the documentation of the need to submit additional information necessary for determining the classification. 

Subp. 3. Requests requiring additional information. When additional information requested under subpart 2 has been submitted 
and the department has determined that the request for classification is complete and accurate, the department shall classify the 

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. Strike eu+s indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a propOsed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike euts indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 

(CITE 11 S.R. 973) 	 STATE REGIS TER, Monday 1 December 1986 	 PAGE 973 



PROPOSED RULES 	  

resident into one of the resident classes established under part 9549.0058 as proposed at State Register, volume 11, page 988 to 1004 
and as subsequently adopted, and mail a written notice of the classification to the resident and to the resident's facility within 15 
working days. 

Subp. 4. Classification notice. Classification notices provided under this part must include the resident's classification, as well 
as a statement which informs the resident, the resident's authorized representative, and the facility of the right to review the 
department's documents supporting the classification and to request a reconsideration of the classification. 
4656.0060 FACILITY RESPONSIBLE FOR DISTRIBUTING CLASSIFICATION NOTICES. 

Within five days of receipt of the notice, the facility must provide the resident or the person responsible for the resident's payment 
with every classification notice mailed to the facility by the department under parts 4656.0040 and 4656.0050. If the resident's 
classification has changed, the facility must include the current rate for the new classification with the classification letter. 
4656.0070 REQUEST FOR RECONSIDERATION OF RESIDENT CLASSIFICATION. 

Subpart 1. Reconsideration permitted. The facility, the resident, or the resident's authorized representative may request that 
the department reconsider the classification. 

Subp. 2. Request for reconsideration. A reconsideration request must be in writing and submitted to the department within 
ten working days of receiving the notice of the resident's classification. Requests must be accompanied by written documentation 
to support the claim that the resident's needs at the time of the assessment were different from those needs identified in the 
assessment, or that the needs identified in the assessment require a different resident classification from the classification assigned 
by the department. The facility shall provide a resident or the resident's authorized representative with a copy of the assessment 
form and any other documentation provided to the department in support of the resident's assessment. This documentation must 
be provided within one working day of receipt of a written or verbal request from the resident or the resident's authorized 
representative. If a facility requests the reconsideration of a resident's classification, the facility must provide written notice to the 
resident or the person responsible for the resident's payment on the date the request is submitted to the department. The notice to 
the resident or the person responsible for the resident's payment must contain the information provided to the department that 
supports the request for reconsideration. 

Subp. 3. Review of requests and notification. The department shall review the requests for reconsideration, affirm or modify 
the resident's classification, and notify the resident and the facility by letter of the classification within 20 working days. 

Subp. 4. Status of initial classification. The resident classification established by the department must be the classification that 
applies to the resident while the request for reconsideration is pending. 

Subp. 5. Additional information. The department reserves the right to request additional documentation regarding a reconsi-
deration necessary to make an accurate reconsideration determination. 
4656.0080 AUDITS OF ASSESSMENTS OF NURSING HOME RESIDENTS. 

Subpart 1. Audit types. The department shall audit the accuracy of resident assessments performed under parts 9549.0050 to 
9549.0059 as proposed at State Register, volume 11, pages 988 to 1004 and as subsequently adopted, through desk audits and on-site 
review of residents and their records. The department shall reclassify a resident it determines to have been incorrectly classified. 

Subp. 2. Unannounced audits. The department is authorized to conduct unannounced on-site audit reviews. 
Subp. 3. Access to records. Facilities shall grant the department access during regular business hours, to examine the medical 

records relating to the resident assessments selected for audit under this part. For the purpose of clarifying or substantiating these 
records, the department may also speak to facility staff and physically observe the resident. Refusal to grant the department access 
to examine and clarify or substantiate the medical records shall be grounds for a correction order. 

Subp. 4. Documentation time frame. The department shall consider the following documentation, as relevant to the audit 
process: 

A. documentation recorded in the resident record up to four days after the date the resident returns from the hospital, but 
only as the documentation relates to the resident's condition at the time the resident is assessed under part 9549.0059, subpart 4 
as proposed at State Register, volume 11, pages 988 to 1004 and as subsequently adopted; 

B. documentation recorded in the resident record up to nine days after the date the resident is admitted to the nursing home, 
but only as the documentation relates to the resident's condition at the time the resident is assessed under part 9549.0059, subpart 
1 as proposed at State Register, volume 11, pages 988 to 1004 and as subsequently adopted; and 

C. documentation recorded in the resident record up to the time the resident is assessed under parts 9549.0059, subpart 2 
as proposed at State Register, volume 11, pages 988 to 1004 and as subsequently adopted, and part 4656.0030. 

Subp. 5. Routine audits procedures. Facilities will be routinely audited at least once per calendar year in accordance with the 
following procedures: 
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A. The department shall select for audit either ten percent or ten, whichever is greater, of the assessments submitted in 
accordance with part 9549.0059, subpart 2, as proposed at State Register, volume 11, pages 988 to 1004 and as subsequently adopted, 
or ten percent or ten, whichever is greater, of the assessments submitted during the previous four months in accordance with part 
9549.0059, subparts 1 and 4 as proposed at State Register, volume 11, pages 988 to 1004 and as subsequently adopted. 

B. If more than 20 percent of the assessments audited under item A contain errors that could result in a change of classification, 
the auditors shall remain on-site and audit a second sample equal in size and selected from the same types of assessments as in 
item A. 

C. If more than 20 percent of the assessments audited under item B contain errors that could result in a change of classification, 
the facility shall be subject to an additional audit of up to 100 percent of the assessments. 

Subp. 6. Special audits. The department may conduct special audits whenever it deems such audits necessary. 

Subp. 7. Notice to facility. No exit interview will be conducted at the facility to discuss the preliminary findings of the department. 
Within 15 working days of completing the audit process, the department shall mail the written results of the audit to the facility, 
along with a written notice to the resident and to the facility which contains the resident's classification and a statement informing 
the resident, the resident's authorized representative, and the facility of their right to review the department's documents supporting 
the classification and to request a reconsideration of the classification. 
4656.0090 DEATH, DISCHARGE, CHANGE OF PAYMENT SOURCE, AND TRANSFER INFORMATION. 

Every month, certified facilities shall provide updated information to the department relating to the deaths, discharges, changes 
in payment source when the resident payment goes from private pay to medicaid sponsored, and transfers that occurred within the 
facility the previous month. This information must be provided on forms developed by the department. 

Department of Human Services 
Proposed Rules Relating to Hospital Medical Assistance Reimbursement 

Notice of Intent to Adopt a Rule without a Public Hearing 
Notice is hereby given that the State Department of Human Services intends to adopt the above-entitled rule without a public 

hearing following the procedures set forth in the Administrative Procedure Act for adopting rules without a public hearing in 
Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.22 to 14.28. The statutory authority to adopt the rule is Minnesota Statutes, section 256.969 and 
Laws of Minnesota, 1986, Chapter 420, section 6. 

All persons have 30 days or until 4:30 p.m. on December 31, 1986 in which to submit comment in support of or in opposition 
to the proposed rule or any part or subpart of the rule. Comment is encouraged. Each comment should identify the portion of the 
proposed rule addressed, the reason for the comment, and any change proposed. 

Any person may make a written request for a public hearing on the rule within the 30-day comment period. If 25 or more persons 
submit a written request for a public hearing within the 30-day comment period, a public hearing will be held unless a sufficient 
number withdraw their request in writing. Any person requesting a public hearing should state his or her name and address, and 
is encouraged to identify the portion of the proposed rule addressed, the reason for the request, and any change proposed. If a 
public hearing is required, the agency will proceed pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.131 to 14.20. 

Comments or written requests for a public hearing must be submitted to: 
Juli Menssen 
Director, Hospital Rates 
444 Lafayette Road, 4th floor 
St. Paul, MN 55101 
Telephone: (612) 296-9939 

The proposed rule may be modified if the modifications are supported by data and views submitted to the agency and do not result 
in a substantial change in the proposed rule as noticed. 

Parts 9500.1090 to 9500.1155 became effective in August, 1985, Implementation of those parts has shown the Department of 
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Human Services that some of those parts need to be amended to compensate hospitals more equitably, to clarify rule language, 
and to correct technical and grammatical errors. 

The proposed amendments to parts 9500.1090 to 9500.1155 apply to hospital administrators and other persons interested in 
inpatient hospital reimbursement rates under Medical Assistance and General Assistance Medical Care. 

The amendments that will have the most impact on hospital rates include the partitioning of rates into rates for the care of persons 
who are eligible for Medical Assistance (MA) because they are also eligible for Aid to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC) 
and for the care of all other MA recipients; the inclusion of cost outliers up to their trim points and day outliers up to their trim 
points plus 40 per cent of costs beond the trim point in the calculation of relative values; settling pass-through costs by using actual 
experience for the budget year; and the inclusion of Medicare crossover claims in the calculation of the disproportionate population 
adjustment and redetermination of the disproportionate population adjustment using actual data. 

The amendments also include definitions of new terms used in the amendments. 

A free copy of the rule is available upon request from Juli Menssen. A copy of the rule may also be viewed at any of the 87 
county welfare or human services agencies in the State of Minnesota. 

A Statement of Need and Reasonableness that describes the need for and reasonableness of each provision of the proposed rule 
and identifies the data and information relied upon to support the proposed rule has been prepared and is available from Juli Menssen 
upon request. 

Adoption of these rules will increase aggregate local public body spending by over $100,000 in either of the first two years 
following adoption under the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, section 14.11. See the fiscal note attached to this notice which 
contains the estimated total cost to all local public bodies and an explanation of how the cost was calculated. An additional copy 
of the fiscal note is available to the public from Julie Menssen upon request. 

If no hearing is required, upon adoption of the rule, the rule and the required supporting documents will be submitted to the 
Attorney General for review as to legality and form to the extent the form relates to legality. Any person may request notification 
of the date of submission to the Attorney General. Persons who wish to be advised of the submission of this material to the Attorney 
General, or who wish to receive a copy of the adopted rule, must submit the written request to Juli Menssen. 

Leonard W. Levine, Commissioner 
Dept. of Human Services 

Fiscal Note for 1986 Amendments to Minnesota Rules, Parts 9500.1090 to 9500.1155 Inpatient Hospital 
Reimbursements 

INTRODUCTION 
The following describes the net change in state and local spending resulting from amendments to Minnesota Rules, parts 9500.1100 

to 9500.1155. Many amendments are housekeeping amendments, such as language changes to improve clarity and grammatical 
changes, and have no effect on state or local spending. In the interest of brevity fiscal impacts for housekeeping amendments are 
not discussed below. If an amendment is not discussed below, therefore, it can be assumed that amendment will have no fiscal 
impact. 
9500. 1090 PURPOSE AND SCOPE 

Description of amendment/s: Amendments to this part partition inpatient hospital reimbursements into reimbursements for 
persons who receive medical assistance because they are eligible for AFDC and all other persons who receive medical assistance. 

Method used to calculate change in state and local spending: Past department reimbursements show that medical assistance 
payments for hospital services to AFDC recipients are much lower than medical assistance payments for hospital services to all 
other recipients of medical assistance. Therefore, when the costs to serve both populations are averaged to determine reimbursements, 
the higher cost of serving non-AFDC medical assistance recipients results in a disproportionately high amount of reimbursements 
for medical assistance/AFDC recipients. A hospital that has served a large percentage of the medical assistance/AFDC recipients 
will receive lower reimbursements per admission as a result of the amendments and a hospital that has served a relatively small 
percentage of medical assistance/AFDC recipients will receive higher reimbursements per admission. 

Projected net change in state or local spending: The department knows that amounts of reimbursements to individual hospitals 
will change. But the exact change in total reimbursement amounts will not be known until the amendments are implemented. 
Because in the past the Department has averaged the two populations and now is partitioning the payments into two separate rates 
the net affect of partitioned rates on State and local expenditures will be negligible. 
9500.1110 DETERMINATION AND PUBLICATION OF RELATIVE VALUES OF DIAGNOSTIC CATEGORIES AND 
9500.1115 DETERMINATION OF ALLOWABLE BASE YEAR COST PER ADMISSION 

Description of amendments: Amendments to parts 9500.1110 and 9500.1115 allow inclusion of cost outliers up to their trim 
points and day outliers up to their trim points plus 40 percent of costs beyond the trim point in the calculation of relative values. 
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These amendments to these parts make up the substantive portion of the amendments from a fiscal perspective. Other amendments 
will have negligible fiscal impacts. 

Method used to calculate change in state and local spending: The revisions to Part 9500.1110 will intensify the revision to 
Part 9500.1115 since these two parts describe components to the reimbursement formula. In general, a hospital payment is calculated 
by multiplying a base rate per admission, by a health care cost index, and by an appropriate statewide relative value. The product 
is summed with a pass-through cost amount. These amendments will cause the hospital-specific base rate to change as well as the 
relative values. A change to one factor may be either magnified or mitigated by a change in another factor. Experience in prospective 
payment reimbursement provides a basis for assessing the fiscal impact of the amendments to parts 9500. 1110 and 9500. 1115. 

Projected net change in state and local spending: The inclusion of outliers into the determination of the base year cost per 
admission will necessarily increase the base year cost per admission because by definition outlier cases are higher cost admissions 
and thus will push up the allowable base year cost per admission. 

Changes to the relative values as a result of including outlier cases will have a varying impact on the hospital reimbursement. 
Since the relative value magnifies the base year cost per admission the effect on a particular hospital will depend on the change 
in the base year cost, the change in the relative values, and the relative distribution of each hospital's claims within the diagnostic 
category. Thus, changes to Parts 9500.1110 and 9500.1115 may increase or decrease individual claim payment amounts such that 
some hospitals may receive additional money while other hospitals may owe the department. Because of the changes to the various 
components, the exact fiscal impact of the amendments would have to be determined through the use of a specially designed 
computer simulation. The resources for such a simulation are unavailable, however projections indicate that the expenditures are 
within the amounts budgeted for fiscal year 1986 and 1987. In effect these amendments are budget neutral against all current 
appropriations for this biennium. The following data shows the increases in expenditures over the current expenditures for state 
fiscal years 1986, 1987, and 1988: 

FY 1986 

MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Inp. Hosp. Costs I Current Level 
	 123,443 

(Actual '86; Projected '87-'88) 

% Increase 	 x 	9.7% 

9Mos./l2in'86 	 x 	0.75 

Projected Increase 	 9,011 

State Share % 	 x 	0.42 10 

	

FY 1987 	 Fy 1988 
(Thousands of Dollars) 

	

130,919 	 138,394 

x 	9.7% 	 x 	9.7% 

	

12,743 	 13,470 

x 	0.4193 	 x 	0.4155 

State Share Increase 	 3,794 
	 5,343 

	 5,597 

FY 1986 

GENERAL ASSISTANCE MEDICAL CARE 

Inp. Hosp. Cost / Current Level 	 34,822 
(Actual '86; Projected '87-'88) 

% Increase 	 x 	7.9% 

	

FY 1987 	 FY 1988 
(Thousands of Dollars) 

	

33,366 	 42,902 

x 	7.9% 	 x 	7.9% 

9 Mos. / 12 in '86 	 x 	0.75 

Projected Increase 

State Share % 

State Share Increase 

2,072 
x 	0.90 

2,647 
x 	0.90 

3,404 

x 	0.90 

 

1,865 

 

2,382 

 

3,063 
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9500.1125 DETERMINATION OF CATEGORIAL RATE PER ADMISSION SUBPART 4 

Description of amendments: Pass through costs consist of the following costs: depreciation, rents and leases, property taxes, 
property insurance, interest, and malpractice insurance. As per the rule, the hospital estimates these costs for the forthcoming rate 
year. These amendments allow the department to more accurately settle pass through costs because they allow the department to 
apply actual utilization rates by ancillary and routine costs centers to total pass through costs. 

Method used to calculate change state and local spending: It is not possible to calculate the fiscal impact of this amendment 
because changes in reimbursement due to pass-through cost settlement depends on the hospital's ability to forecast their pass- 
through costs. It is expected that some hospitals will over budget these costs while other hospitals will under budget these costs. 

Projected net change in state or local spending: The net effect of these amendments on all hospitals in aggregate is expected 
to be a very small decrease to no decrease in reimbursements. In fact, pass through settlements may vary from year to year. 
500.1135 DISPROPORTIONATE POPULATION ADJUSTMENT 

Description of amendment/s: Amendments to this part clarify that Medicare crossover claims are included in the calculation 
of the ratio. Further these amendments will allow the department to redetermine the ratio based on actual data for the rate year. 

Method used to calculate change in state and local spending: Changes in spending due to these amendments will depend on 
whether hospital utilization by MA, GAMC, and Medicare crossover recipients changed significantly as a percent of total hospital 
patient load from the base year, 1981. If there has been a significant change, these amendments will allow the Department to 
reflect these changes in reimbursements. 

Projected net change in state or local spending: The fiscal impact of these amendments is expected to be extremely small as 
a percent of total reimbursement. 
EFFECT ON MEDICAL ASSISTANCE ADMINISTRATIVE EXPENDITURES 

The adoption of these amendments will not increase or decrease the personnel requirements of the Department of Human Services 
or any local government. 
EFFECT ON LOCAL AGENCY EXPENDITURES 

Based on the same methodology used above to calculate the fiscal impact on state expenditures the estimated increase in aggregate 
local agency expenditures will be over $100,000 for each of the two years following the adoption of the amendments. The estimated 
aggregate increased expenditures for local agencies will be $1.5 million for State fiscal year 1986, $2.1 million for state fiscal 
year 1987, and $2.3 million for state fiscal year 1988. 

Rules as Proposed 
9500.1090 PURPOSE AND SCOPE. 

Pasts 9500.1090 to 9500.1155 establish a prospective reimbursement system for 14 the hospitals that participate in and are 
reimbursed by medical assistance. 

All provisions of parts 9500.1090 to 9500.1155, except part 9500.1155, subpart 5, shall apply to general assistance medical 
care substituting the terms and data for general assistance medical care for the terms and data referenced for medical assistance. 

Effective January  L 1987 reimbursements for medical assistance shall be partitioned into reimbursements for persons determined 
eligible for Aid to Families with Dependent Children or Aid to Families with Dependent Children extended medical coverage and 
for persons determined eligible for medical assistance on some other including persons eligible because of receipt of 
Supplemental Security Income and Minnesota Supplemental Aid and persons eligible as medically needy.  
9500.1100 DEFINITIONS. 

Subpart 1. to 3. [Unchanged.] 
Subp. 4. Admission certification. "Admission certification" means the determination pursuant to pasts 9500.0750 to 9500. 1080, 

9505.0500 to 9505.0540, 9505.5000 to 9505.5020 {Emcrgcncy} 9505.5030, 9505.5105, and 9505.1000 to 9505. 1040 that inpatient 
hospitalization is medically necessary. 

Subp. 4a. Aid to Families with Dependent Children or AFDC. .4jd Families with Dependent Children" or "AFDC"  
means program authorized under title IV-A of the Social Security Act to provide financial assistance and social services to 
needy families with dependent children.  

Subp. 5. Allowable base year cost per admission. "Allowable base year cost per admission" means a hospital's base yeas 
reimbursable inpatient hospital cost per admission whieh that is adjusted for case mix nd whieh .  excludes pass-through costs and 
includes the reimbursable inpatient hospital costs of outliers p to their fl!Jfl  points. 

Subp. 6. [Unchanged.] 
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Subp. 7. Appeals board. "Appeals board" means the board which that advises the commissioner on a hospital's request for 
adjustments to a categorical fate per admission, fate admission, or a rate per day reimbursements made under the prospective 
reimbursement system. 

Subp. 8. [Unchanged.] 

ubp. 	Arithmetic mean length of stay. "Arithmetic mean length of stay" means (the number of days spent in a hospital  
for all admissions, including outliers, but excluding days in excess of an outlier's trim point) divided y the number of admissions.  

Subp. 9. to 11. [Unchanged.] 

Subp. 12. Categorical rate per admission. "Categorical rate per admission" means the Jjadjusted base year cost per admission 
multiplied by the budget year hospital cost index and multiplied y the relative value of the appropriate diagnostic category plus 
the budget year pass-through cost per admissionj. 

Subp. 13. to 19. [Unchanged.] 
Subp. 20. Diagnostic categories. "Diagnostic categories" means the classification of inpatient hospital services according to 

the diagnostic related groups (DRG's DRGs) under medicare with adjustments as follows: 

Diagnostic Categories 	 DRG Numbers Within the 
Diagnostic Category 

A. to JJ. [Unchanged.] 

Subp. 21. [Unchanged.] 

Subp. 21a. Foreseeable complication. "Foreseeable complication" means a complication that can be predicted from a recipient's  
medical history and jy a physician using standards of practice accepted y the medical community.  

Subp. 22. to 24. [Unchanged.] 

Subp. 24a. Health care financing administration or HCFA. "Health care financing administration" or "HCFA" means the 
division of the United States Department of Health and Human Services that administers the medicare and medical assistance 
programs according to titles XVIII and XIX of the Social Security Act. 

Subp. 25. to 29. [Unchanged.] 

Subp. 30. Medically necessary. "Medically necessary" means an inpatient hospital service that is consistent with the recipient's 
diagnosis or condition, and under the criteria in parts 9505.0530 {Emcrgcncy} and 9505 .0540 [Emcrgcncy} cannot be provided 
on an outpatient basis. 

Subp. 	Medically needy. "Medically needy" refers to the definition under the Code of Federal Regulations, title 	section  
435.4 	as amended through October j1  1985. 

Subp. 31. to 33. [Unchanged.] 

Subp. 	Minnesota supplemental aid. "Minnesota supplemental aid" means the program established under Minnesota 
Statutes, sections 256D.35 to 256D.43.  

Subp. 34. to 38. [Unchanged.] 

Subp. 39. Prior authorization. "Prior authorization" means prior approval for inpatient hospital services by the department 
established under parts 9505.5000 to 9505.5020 {Emcrgcncy} 9505.5030 and 9505.5105. 

Subp. 40. [Unchanged.] 

Subp. 41. Prospective reimbursement system. "Prospective reimbursement system" means a method of reimbursing hospitals 
for inpatient hospital services on a categorical rate per admission, out-of-area hospital categorical rate admission, categorical  
rate p admission for MSA and non-MSA hospitals statewide that do not have admissions in the base year, transfer reimbursement,  
rate per admission, or rate per day, or some a combination thereof, determined by the department in advance of the delivery of 
inpatient hospital services. 

Subp. 42. Readmission. "Readmission" means an admission which th occurs within seven days of a dischargeT whose 
diagnostic category or a related diagnostic category is the same as that identified for that discharge Qf 	recipient. 
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Subp. 43. [Unchanged.] 
Subp. 	Recipient resources. "Recipient resources" means that amount of money owed to a provider for a ijj 	th spend-down provisions of the medically needy coverages of medical assistance.  
Subp. 44. [Unchanged.] 
Subp. 45. Relative value. "Relative value" means the arithmetic mean of the reimbursable inpatient hospital cost per admission 

for all admissions excluding reimbursable inpatient hospital costs in excess of applicable trim points in each diagnostic category 
in relation to the arithmetic mean of the reimbursable inpatient hospital cost per admission excluding reimbursable inpatient hospital  
costs in excess of applicable trim points of all admissions in all ether diagnostic categories on a statewide basis. 

Subp. 46. [Unchanged.] 
Subp. 47. Second surgical opinion. "Second surgical opinion" means the confirmation or denial of the need for a proposed 

surgery by a recommended second physician as specified in pa4 9505.5030 [Emcrgcncyl parts 9505.5035 to 9505.5105 and 
Minnesota Statutes, section 256B .503. 

Subp.  42 Supplemental security income. "Supplemental security income" means income acquired under title XVI of the 
Social Security Act. 

Subp. 48. [Unchanged.] 
Subp. 49. Total reimbursable costs. "Total reimbursable costs" means the costs identified in a hospital's base year medicare! 

medical assistance cost report, Health Care Financing Administration (HCFA) Form 2552, 1981 revision, Worksheet A, column 
7, line 84. Health Care Financing Administration Form 2552, .1.98-1. revision is incorporated by refcrcncc. The form is published 
by Medicare, Pa4 A Office, 3535 B4ue Cross Rea4 P.O Be* 43560,  Soin Pm4 Minnesota 55164. The form is available through 
the minitcx interlibrary lean system. The J2L and 1985 revisions of the Health Care Financing Administration Form 2552 
are incorporated y reference. The forms are available at the state law library, Ford Building, St. Paul Minnesota and are subject 
to frequent change. They are published y Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Minnesota, Medicare, Part A Office, Jii cr2 P.O. Box 43560, St. 	Minnesota 55164.  

Subp. 50. [Unchanged.] 
Subp. 51. Trim point. "Trim point" means that number of days or that amount of reimbursable inpatient hospital cost beyond 

which an admission is an outlier.  
Subp. 52. Usual and customary. "Usual and customary" means the type of fee charged for a health service regardless of payer.  

9500.1110 DETERMINATION AND PUBLICATION OF RELATIVE VALUES OF DIAGNOSTIC CATEGORIES. 
Subpart 1. Determination of relative values. To determine the relative values of the diagnostic categories the department shall: 

A. to C. [Unchanged.] 
D. determine reimbursable inpatient hospital costs for each hospital's admissions for state fiscal years 1983 and 1984 using 

each hospital's base year data from the HCFA Form 2552 Worksheet, 1981 revision according to subitems (1) to (4): 
(1) determine the cost of routine services by multiplying the routine services charge for each admission identified in 

item B by the appropriate routine service cost-to-charge ratio determined in 	the base year medicare/medical assistance cost 
report, using data from HCFA Form 	L 1981 revision, Worksheet C, 

(2) determine the cost of ancillary services by multiplying the ancillary charges for each admission identified in item 
B by the appropriate cost-to-charge ratio as identified in Worksheet C determined in from the base year medicare/medical assistance 
cost report, using data from HCFA Form 	1981 revision, Worksheet C, 

(3) and (4) [Unchanged.] 
E. assign each admission identified in item B to the appropriate diagnostic related group under medicare using the Transfer 

Tape for ICD-9-CM Diagnosis Related Groups Assignment Software distributed and developed by DRG Support Group Limited, 
a subsidiary of Health Systems International, Incorporated or the system in use y medicare, provided that the system of 
assignment used must be used exclusively and uniformly throughout all computations of rates and adudications under parts 9500.1090 
to 9500.1155; 

F. and G. [Unchanged.] 
H. for each cost outlier, truncate the cost at the value 	cost outlier trim point  
I. for each 	y outlier. truncate that 	y  outlier's reimbursable inpatient hospital cost ]y multiplying (the 	outlier's  

reimbursable inpatient hospital cost y the ratio of the admission's diagnostic category day outlier trim point divided y the 
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outlier's length of stay), and then y multiplying the truncated reimbursable inpatient hospital cost y a factor 'x' determined as 
follows:  

[Length of Stay = (0.6 x outlier days)  
x 	  

Total days through the diagnostic  
category  y  outlier trim point  

When diagnostic category 0 under part 9500.1100, subpart 20 is used in this formula, the department shall substitute 0.6 in the 
formula with 0.8. 

J. determine the statewide arithmetic mean cost per admission for all admissions by dividing jthe total reimbursable inpatient 
hospital cost costs for all admissions excluding outlicrs less the amounts determined in items H and I in excess of the applicable 

point) by the total number of admissions excluding including outliers; 
4- K. determine the statewide arithmetic mean cost per admission for each diagnostic category by dividing Lthe total 

reimbursable inpatient hospital costs in each diagnostic category excluding outliers less the amounts determined in items H and I 
in excess of the outlier trim points) by the total number of admissions in each diagnostic category excluding including outliers; 
and 

J- L. determine the relative value for each diagnostic category by dividing item I K by item 44 J. 

Subp. 2. and 3. [Unchanged.] 
9500.1115 DETERMINATION OF ALLOWABLE BASE YEAR COST PER ADMISSION. 

To determine the allowable base year cost per admission the department shall: 

A. [Unchanged.] 

B. subtract from the amount determined in item A the amounts in subitems (1) and (2): 
(1) reimbursable inpatient hospital costs for outliers as determincd in excess of 	r 	points as determined for outliers  

under part 9500.1110, subpart 1, itefflGitemsHandl, and 
(2) pass-through costs except malpractice insurance costs apportioned to medical assistance based on the ratio of 

reimbursable inpatient hospital costs as adjusted in subitem (1) to total reimbursable costs; 
C. divide the reimbursable inpatient hospital costs as adjusted in item B by the number of base year admissions in each 

hospital excluding including outliers; 
D. adjust item C for case mix as follows: 

(1) [Unchanged.] 
(2) multiply eaeh 	hospital's number of base year admission excluding admissions within each diagnostic category  

including outliers by the relative value of the that diagnostic category assigned te that admission, 

(3) [Unchanged.I 
(4) divide the sum from subitem (3) by the number of base year admissions excluding including outliers, and 

(5) [Unchanged.] 
9500.1125 DETERMINATION OF CATEGORICAL RATE PER ADMISSION FOR A MINNESOTA HOSPITAL. 

Subpart 1. Pass-through cost reports. For each hospital's budget year, eeeh the hospital shall submit to the department a written 
report of pass-through costs, total charges billed to all payers for inpatient hospital services, total admissions for all payers, total 
days of inpatient hospital services for all payers, total Medical Assistance AFDC admissions, and total Medical Assistance non- 
AFDC admissions. Pass-through cost reports must include actual data for the prior year and budgeted data for the current and 
budget years. Pass-through cost reports are due 60 days pfief te before the start of each hospital's budget year and must include 
the following information: 

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. Strike ee{s indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike euts indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 
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Prior 	Current 	Budget 
Items 	 Year 	 Year 	 Year 

(Actual) 	(Budget) 	(Budget) 
A. Pass-through costs 
4? Ifl 	Depreciation 
B-? 	Rents and leases 

Property taxes 
Ø 	Property insurance 

Interest 
FT 	 Malpractice insurance 

fl 	Total Pass-Through Costs (Items A e F Subitems  LU i 
Ifl) 

B. Total charges billed to all payers for inpatient hospital 
services  
Iii admissions for all payers  

D. Total days of inpatient hospital services for all payers  
E. Total MA AFDC admissions  
F 	Total MA non-AFDC admissions  
0 	Total GAMC admissions  

Pass-through costs are limited to itcms A to F item 	as determined by medicare. Pass-through costs do not include costs 
derived from capital projects requiring a certificate of need for which the required certificate of need has not been granted. 

A hospital shall submit to the department a copy of the HCFA Form 2552 and the amended HCFA Form 2552 that the hospital 
submits to medicare. An HCFA Form 2552 or an amended HCFA Form 2552 must be submitted to the department within ten 
working days of the on which the form is submitted to medicare.  

If medicare stops requiring HCFA Form 2552 or if the medicare/medicaid cost report required 	medicare no longer identifies 
capital or malpractice insurance costs in a way that is consistent with the 1985 version of HCFA Form 	the department may 
require a hospital to continue to complete and submit to the department the 1985 version of HCFA Form 	Worksheet D-8,  
iiui L and Worksheet j .. parts I and II. 

Subp. 2. Determination of budget year pass-through cost per admission. The department shall determine the budget year 
pass-through cost per admission from the submitted pass-through cost report as specified in subpart 1 as follows: 

Prior 	Current 	Budget 
Items 	 Year 	 Year 	 Year 

(Actual) 	(Budget) 	(Budget) 
A. Ratio of reimbursable inpatient hospital costs as determined in 

part 9500.1115, item A to total reimbursable costs 
B. Pass-through costs as specified in subpart 1, item G 	subitem 

uIlL multiplied by item A 
C. Number of base yeac Medical Assistance admissions including 

outliers 
D. Pass-through cost per admission (item B divided by item C) 

Subp. 3. Categorical rate per admission. The department shall determine the categorical rate per admission as follows: 
Categorical 	 [(Adjusted base year cost per admission3 multiplied by budget year HCI and 
Rate Per 	 = multiplied by the relative value of the appropriate diagnostic category), plus 
Admission 	 budget year pass-through cost per admissionI 

Subp. 4. Pass-through cost par pdmission adjustment. After the end of each budget year, the commissioner shall redetermine 
the categorical cate pec admission. The commissioner sha14 substitute actual pass through costs as dctcrmincd by medicare for 
budgeted pass through costs a subpart 2 item B for that year. If the adjustment indicates aa overpayment to a hospital, that 
hospital shall pay to the commissioner the ovcrpayment within 60 days of the written notification from the commissioner. If the 
adjustment indicates an underpayment to a hospital, the commissioner shall pay that hospital the underpayment within 60 days of 
written notification frem the commissioner budget year pass-through cost payable y medical assistance for that budget year for a 
Minnesota hospital as follows:  

A. For each routine service, divide the capital costs as determined on HCFA Form 2552 y the total number of days of 
inpatient hospital service for all payers for example, on the 1985 version of Form 	on Worksheet 	Part L divide column  
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I 	column 5 for each routine service type. This computation produces an allowable per-day capital cost f each routine service 
type.  

B. Multiply the allowable per-day capital cost for each routine service type as computed in item A 	the number of 
medical assistance days of inpatient hospital services covered during the year for the corresponding routine service type. This 
computation produces an allowable medical assistance share of the allowable capital costs allocated to each type of routine service.  

C. Compute the ratio of overall allowable capital costs to total charges for each type  of ancillary service; for example, on 
the 1985 version of HCFA Form 	on Worksheet p, Part , divide column I y column 5 for each type of ancillary service.  
Then multiply each ratio y the medical assistance charges billed during the year for the corresponding type of ancillary service.  
This computation produces an allowable medical assistance share of the allowable capital costs allocated to each type of ancillary  
service.  

D. Determine the allowable medical assistance share of malpractice insurance 	using HCFA Form 2552, Worksheet 
D-8; for example, from the 1985 version of HCFA Form 	a. Worksheet  P ii L Column , line I. 

E. Sum the allowable medical assistance shares of capital costs and malpractice costs computed in items B to D to 	the 
total medical assistance share of the hospital's allowable pass-through costs for the year.  

F. Multiply the actual number of medical assistance admissions to the hospital during the year times the budgeted per- 
admission pass-through cost used in paying claims for inpatient hospital services during the year for which the adjustment is being 
calculated. This computation produces the actual value  of the pass-through cost payments made during the year.  

G. Subtract the actual value of the medical assistance pass-through cost payments during the completed year (computed at 
item from the medical assistance share of allowable pass-through costs for the completed year. The remainder is the pass-through  

adjustment payable to the hospital. Negative amounts must be deducted y the department from future payments to the hospital  
or paid to the department the hospital separately within 60 days of final determination  of the amount owed. Positive amounts  
must be payed y the department to a hospital within 60 days of final determination of the amount owed. If a hospital is required  
y the commissioner to make separate payments of adjustment amounts owed to the department, those payments must be made 

within 60 days of the date of notification.  
1-1. Amounts owed y or to the department shall earn interest at the rate charged at that time y the commissioner of the 

Department of Revenue for late payment  of 	beginning for the department on the 61st day following determination  of an 
amount owed to a hospital and for a hospital on the 61st y following the 	of the determination of the amount owed 	the 
hospital, but no interest shall be charged to a hospital unless an explicit request for separate payment has been made 	the 
commissioner. 

Subp. 5. [See Repealer.] 
Subp. 6. Effective date. The categorical rate per admission out-of-area categorical rate p admission; categorical rate p 

admission for MSA or non-MSA hospitals that do not have admissions in the base year; transfer reimbursement; and an outlier  
reimbursement if appropriate, shall be effective for all admissions that occur on or after the effective date of parts 9500.1090 to 
9500.1155. 
9500.1126 RECAPTURE OF DEPRECIATION. 

Subpart 1. Recapture of depreciation. The commissioner shall use medicare to determine the recapture of depreciation due to 
a change in the ownership of a hospital ond that is to be apportioned to medical assistance., using methods and principles consistent  
with those used y medicare to determine and apportion the recapture  of depreciation. 

Subp. 2. Payment of recapture of depreciation to commissioner. A hospital shall pay the commissioner the recapture of 

depreciation within 60 days of written notification from the commissioner. IntereGt chargcG must be assessed according to paft 
9500.1125, subpart- 

Interest charges must be assessed on the recapture of depreciation due the commissioner outstanding after the deadline. The 
annual interest rate charged must be the rate charged by the commissioner of revenue for late payment of taxes in effect on the 
61st day after the written notification. 
9500.1130 REIMBURSEMENT PROCEDURES. 

Subpart I. [Unchanged.] 

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. St4ke outs indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a propOsed rule is totally new, it is designated all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Stt4ke outs indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 
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Subp. 2. Required claims. Hospitals must submit complete medical assistance claims to the department on forms or computer 
tapes approved by the department. These claims must be completed according to department instructions. The charge amounts 
shown must be based on a hospital's usual and customary charges for the inpatient hospital services billed regardless of the hospital's  
anticipated reimbursement  y  the department.  

Subp. 3. Reimbursement in response to submitted claims. The department will reimburse a hospital for inpatient hospital 
services only after processing that hospital's properly submitted claim. Except as provided in parts 9500. 1150 and 9500.1155, the 
department shall reimburse a hospital a categorical rate per admissionT  out-of-area categorical rate per admission Of the categorical 
rate per admission for MSA or non-MSA hospitals or transfer reimbursement, and an outlier reimbursement if appropriate. 

Subp. 4. and 5. [Unchanged.] 
Subp. 6. Medicare crossover claims. Medicare crossover claims shall be reimbursed as follows: 

Medicare 	 ((Medicare deductibles), plus (Medicare coinsurance). pk*s (amountc fef sesv- 
Crossover 	 = iccs covered by medical aistancc but et by medicare)] less recipient resources  
Reimbursement 	 and amounts owed y third parties  

Subp. 7. Reimbursement for transfers. Reimbursement for transfers shall be made as specified in items A and B. 
A. Except as specified in item 	the department shall reimburse hospitals who discharge tramfcrG and who admit tran3fers 

both the hospital that discharges a recipient for purposes of transfer and the hospital that admits the recipient who is transferred. 
Each hospital shall be reimbursed as follows: 

[{(The product of the adjusted base year cost per admission) multiplied y 
budget 	HCI and multiplied by (the relative value of the appropriate di- 

= agnostic category), divided by (the geometric arithmetic mean length of stay 
of the diagnostic category) and multiplied by (the number of days of inpatient 
hospital services)}, plus (budget year pass-through cost per admission)] 

In no case of a transfer may a hospital receive a tramfer reimbursement that exceeds the applicable categorical rate per admission, 
out of area or out-of-area categorical rate per admission, or the categorical rate per admission for MSA or non-MSA hospitals !1 
do not have admissions in the base year, unless the tranfcr that admission is an outlier. Reimbursements for transfers under 
diagnostic category 0, under part 9500.1100, subpart 20, are not limited to the categorical rate per admission, out of a*'ea the out-
of-area categorical rate per admission, or the categorical rate per admission for MSA or non-MSA hospitals statewide that do not 
have admissions in the base year and such admissions are not eligible for outlier reimbursements under subpart 9. 

A hospital that admits a transferred recipient is not eligible for a transfer reimbursement under item A unless the inpatient hospital  
stay continues to be medically necessary.  

B. A discharging hospital is not eligible for a transfer reimbursement under item A for services provided to a discharged  
recipient if one of the following conditions exists: 

fl the failure of the discharging hospital to provide all inpatient hospital services that are medically necessary to treat 
a condition that could or should have been treated during the initial admission or to treat a foreseeable complication of the original  
diagnoses or 

except in the case of an emergency 	defined in il  9505.0500, subpart 11) admission, the discharging hospital  
knew or had reason to know at the time of admission that the inpatient hospital services that were medically necessary for treatment 
of the recipient were outside the scope of the hospital's available services and the readmission to the other hospital resulted because 
of the recipient's need for those services.  

Subp. 8. Reimbursement for readmissions. An admission and readmission to the same hospital f. 	treatment of a condition  
that could or should have been treated during the initial admission, or for the treatment of complications of the original diagnoses,  
shall be reimbursed with one applicable categorical rate per admission and as an outlier if appropriate eligible. The combined stay  
of the admission and readmission shall be used to determine qualification for outlier payment. If the readmission to the same 
hospital is for a condition unrelated to the previous admission, including an episodic illness such as asthma or uncontrolled diabetes  
melljtus, the admission and readmission shall be reimbursed separately with the applicable categorical rate 	admission.  r An 
admission and subsequent readmission to a different hospital shall be reimbursed as a tramfcr as specified to under subpart 7 
the readmission is for the treatment of a condition that could or should have been treated during the initial admission, or for the 
treatment of foreseeable complications of the original diagnoses. If the readmission to a different hospital is due to a condition  
that is unrelated to the condition treated during the previous admission, including an episodic illness, the admission and readmission  
shall be reimbursed separately with the applicable categorical rate 	admission. 

Subp. 9. Reimbursement for outliers. The department shall reimburse a hospital for outliers with a the applicable categorical 
rate per admission, out-of-area categorical rate per admission, or the categorical rate per admission for MSA or non-MSA hoGpitah 

Transfer 
Reimbursement 

PAGE 984 	 STATE REGIS TER, Monday 1 December 1986 	 (CITE 11 S.R. 984) 



PROPOSED RULES 

hospital that does not have admissions in the base 	plus an amount for outliers as follows: 

A. To determine reimbursements for day outliers the department shall: 

(1) multiply a hospital's adjusted base year cost per admission 	the budget year HCI and by the relative value of the 
appropriate diagnostic category; 

(2) divide the product in subitem (1) by the geometric arithmetic mean length of stay for the diagnostic category; 

(3) [Unchanged.] 

(4) subtract the number of days of inpatient hospital scrvicc at two standard e.viatieas y outlier m point for 
appropriate diagnostic categories A to N and P to II andec pact 9500.1100, subpart 20 or the number of days of inpatient hospital 
erviccs at one standard deviation fec diagnostic category O- w,4ec pact 9500.1100, subpart 20 as determined nader pact 9500.1110, 

subpart 4. 4tem G category from the actual number of days a recipient has received inpatient hospital services to determine the 
number of outlier days; and 

(5) [Unchanged.] 

B. To determine reimbursements for cost outliers the department shall: 

(1) determine a statewide base year cost-to-charge ratio according to hospitals' statewide base year medicare/medical 
assistance cost reports for all medical assistance admissions combined; 

(2) [Unchanged.] 

(3) subtract the cost at three standard deviations for diagnostic categories A to N- and P to II category W, under part 
9500.1100, subpart 20 and at one standard deviation for diagnostic category 0, under part 9500.1100, subpart 20 as identified in 
part 9500.1110, subpart 1, item G from the adjusted cost from subitem (2); and 

(4) multiply the amount determined in subitem (3) by 60 percent for diagnostic catcgorie A to N-. and P to II category 
, under part 9500.1100, subpart 20 or by 80 percent for diagnostic category 0, under part 9500.1100, subpart 20. 

C. If an admission is a day and a cost outlier, the a hospital shall receive reimbursement as a day outlier. 

Subp. 10. Reimbursement to an out-ofarea hospital. The department shall reimburse out-of-area hospitals based on the lesser 
of billed charges or either the out-of-area hospital categorical rate per admission or the transfer reimbursement and outlier reim-
bursement if appropriate. The department shall determine the out-of-area categorical rate per admission as follows in items A to 
G: 

A. multiply the adjusted allowable base yeas cost per admission in effect on the first day of a calendar year for each hospital 
statewide by the that hospital's HCI and y the number of admissions in eaeh 	hospital's base year, excluding including outliers; 

B. sum the products in item A; 

C. divide the sum from item B by the sum of all admissions for all hospitals statewide, excluding including outliers, to 
determine the statewide budget year adjusted allowable base year cost per admission; 

D. multiply the pass-through cost per admission in effect on the first day of a calendar year for each hospital statewide by 
the number of admissions in each hospital's base year, excluding including outliers; 

E. sum the products in item D; 

F. divide the sum from item E by the sum of all admissions for all hospitals statewide, excluding including outliers, to 
determine a statewide pass-through cost per admission; 

G. the department shall determine the categorical rate per admission for an out-of-area hospital as follows: 

[(statewide budget year adjusted base year cost per admission multiplied by 
= (the relative value of the appropriate diagnostic category), plus (statewide 

budget year pass-through cost per admission] 

Subp. 11. Reimbursement for MSA and non-MSA hospitals statewide that do not have admissions in the base year. The 

department shall determine reimbursements for MSA hospitals statewide that do not have admissions in the base year according 
to items A to E: 

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. Strike eels indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 

RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike eats indicate deletions from 

proposed rule language. 

Out-of-area Hospital Categorical Rate 
Per Admission 

(CITE 11 S.R. 985) 	 STATE REGISTER, Monday 1 December 1986 	 PAGE 985 



PROPOSED RULES 	  

A. Multiply the adjusted allowable base year cost per admission in effect on the first day of a calendar year for each MSA 
hospital statewide by that hospital's budget year HCI y the number of admissions in each MSA hospital's base year, excluding 
including outliers. 

B. Sum the products in item A. 
C. Divide the sum from item B by the sum of ll the admissions for all MSA hospitals statewide, excluding including 

outliers, to determine the statewide adjusted allowable base year cost per admission for MSA hospitals. 
D. The budget year pass-through cost per admission must be determined according to part 9500.1125, subpart 2. The pass- 

through cost per admission will be adjusted under part 9500.1125, subpart 4, and must be subject to part 9500.1125, subpart 
itemH. 

E. Determine the categorical rate per admission for MSA hospitals statewide as follows: 
Categorical Rate per Admission for 	[(adjusted base year cost per admission for MSA hospitals statewide) multiplied 
MSA Hospitals Statewide Which That 	- y the budget year MCI and multiplied by (the relative value of the appropriate 
Do Not Have Admission Admissions In - diagnostic category) plus (budget year pass-through cost per admission)] 
The Base Year 

F. [Unchanged.] 
Subp. 12. [Unchanged.] 

9500.1135 DISPROPORTIONATE POPULATION ADJUSTMENT. 
Subpart 1. Determination of disproportionate population adjustment. The department shall increase the adjusted base year 

cost per admission for hospitals whose medical assistance and general assistance medical care admissions during the base year,  
including admissions of recipients who are also eligible for medicare and excluding admissions of participants in a prepaid health 
plan t  exceed 15 percent of total hospital admissions according to the following schedule below.  

The department may redetermine disproportionate population adjustments using its own claims payments data data reported y 
hospitals on medicare or medical assistance cost reports or data reported 	hospitals on their pass-through cost reports.  

The department may make this redetermination if the percentage of a hospital's MA or GAMC admissions, excluding admissions 
of participants in a prepaid health plan, changes enough to decrease or increase a hospital's adjusted base year cost p admission 
according to the four percentage categories in the schedule below.  
Percentage of Total Hospital Admissions Which are Medical 
Assistance MA and General Assistance Medical Care 
GAMC and Recipients Who are Also Eligible for Medicare 	Increase in Adjusted Base Year Cost Per Admission 
15-20 percent 	 1/4 percent for each percentage point above IS percent up to 

20 percent 
21-25 percent 	 1/2 percent for each percentage point above 20 percent up to 

25 percent 
26-30 percent 	 3/4 percent for each percentage point above 25 percent up to 

30 percent 
31 percent and above 	 1 percent for each percentage point above 30 percent 

The department shall multiply the disproportionate population adjustment by the adjusted base year cost per admission after the 
application of any statutory limits to the growth in hospital rates or unit costs. 

Subp. 2. [Unchanged.] 

9500.1150 REIMBURSEMENT OF ADMISSIONS FOR HOSPITAL FISCAL YEARS BEGINNING ON OR AFTER JULY 
1, 1983, UNTIL THE EFFECTIVE DATE OF PARTS 9500. 1090 TO 9500.1155. 

Subpart 1. to 4. [Unchanged.] 
Subp. 5. Determination of reimbursements for medicare crossover claims. The department shall determine a reimbursement 

for a medicare crossover claim according to items A to C: 
A. Divide the reimbursable inpatient hospital cost from HCFA Form 2552 line 13 y  the amount on HCFA Form 2552 

line 27 
B. Multiply the ratio determined in item A y the amount on column 9 of the department's medicare crossover exception 

report less the accumulated amount in column 10 of that report.  
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C Medicare deductibles and coinsurance 	y medical assistance on behalf of a recipient are paid 	Uall 
subject to this subpart.  
9500.1155 REIMBURSEMENT OF ADMISSIONS THAT OCCUR ON OR AFTER JANUARY 1, 1982, UNTIL PART 
9500.1150 BECOMES EFFECTIVE. 

Subpart 1. to 5. [Unchanged.] 

Subp. 5a. Determination of reimbursements for medicare crossover claims. The department shall determine a reimbursement 
for a medicare crossover claim according to items A to C: 

A. Divide the reimbursable inpatient hospital cost from HCFA Form 2552 line 13 y the amount on HCFA Form 
line 27 

B. Multiply the ratio determined in item A 	the amount on column 9 of the department's medicare crossover exception 
report less the accumulated amount in column 10 of that report.  

C. Medicare deductibles and coinsurance 	medical assistance on behalf of a recipient are paid  j fifl 
subject to this subpart.  

Subp. 6. [Unchanged.] 

REPEALER. Minnesota Rules 1 	9500.1125, subpart 5 is repealed.  

Department of Human Services 
Proposed Permanent Rules Relating to Inpatient Hospital Reimbursement Under 

Medical Assistance and General Assistance Medical Care 
Notice of Public Comment Period 

Pursuant to Laws of Minnesota, 1986, chapter 420, section 6, subdivision 2, as amended by Laws of Minnesota, 1986, 1st 
Special Session, chapter 3, article 2, section 51, "The commissioner may reconstitute the diagnostic categories to reflect actual 
hospital practices, the specific character of specialty hospitals, or to reduce variances within the diagnostic categories, after notice 
in the State Register and a 30-day comment period". Revision of the Diagnostic Categories is exempt from Minnesota Statutes, 
chapter 14 rulemaking requirements. The State Department of Human Services gives notice that it intends to amend diagnostic 
categories established at Minnesota Rules, part 9500.1100, subpart 20, as follows: 

Rules as Proposed 

9500.1100 DEFINITIONS. 
Subpart 1. to 19. [Unchanged.] 

Subp. 20. Diagnostic categories. "Diagnostic categories" means the classification of inpatient hospital services according to 
the diagnostic related groups (DRG's) under medicare with adjustments as follows: 

Diagnostic Categories 

A. to M. [Unchanged.] 
N. Pregnancy, Childbirth, and the Puerperium 
0. to BB. [Unchanged.] 

CC. Caesarean section without cormorbiditics and complications 
sections  

DD. Vaginal delivery with complicating diagnosis or operating 
room procedures  

EE. Vaginal delivery without complicating diagnosis 	oper- 
ating room procedures and Normal newborns 

FF. to JJ. [Unchanged.] 

Subp 21. to 50. [Unchanged.] 

DRG Numbers Within the 
Diagnostic Category 

(370, -74;  375 	-384) 

(370-372) 

(372, 374-375) 

(373), (391) 

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. Strikc e4Hs indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike e&i4s indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 
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Department of Human Services 
Proposed Permanent Rules Relating to Nursing Home Operating Cost Payment Rate 

Determination 
Notice of Hearing 

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that a public hearing on the above-entitled matter will be held in the Veterans Home, Auditorium! 
Chapel, Building 15, 5101 Minnehaha Avenue South, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55417 on January 7 and 8, 1987 commencing at 
9:00 a.m. and continuing until all interested or affected persons have an opportunity to participate. The proposed rules may be 
modified as a result of the hearing process. Therefore, if you are affected in any manner by the proposed rules, you are urged to 
participate in the rule hearing process. 

These rules will be heard in conjunction with parts 4656.0010 to 4656.0090, which govern procedures for assessment and 
classification of residents by the Department of Health. All references to parts 4646.00 10 to 4656.0090 found in these rule parts 
are references to the rules as proposed. 

Following the agency's presentation at the hearing, all interested or affected persons will have an opportunity to participate. 
Such persons may present their views either orally at the hearing or in writing at any time prior to the close of the hearing record. 
All evidence presented should be pertinent to the matter at hand. Written material not submitted at the time of the hearing which 
is to be included in the hearing record may be mailed to Jon Lunde, Administrative Law Judge, Office of Administrative Hearings, 
400 Summit Bank Building, 310 Fourth Avenue South, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55415; telephone (612) 341-7645, either before 
the hearing or within five working days after the public hearing ends. The Administrative Law Judge, may at the hearing, order 
the record be kept open for a longer period not to exceed 20 calendar days. The comments received during the comment period 
shall be available for review at the Office of Administrative Hearings. Following the close of the comment period the agency and 
all interested persons have three business days to respond in writing to any new information submitted during the comment period. 
During the three-day period, the agency may indicate in writing whether there are amendments suggested by other persons which 
the agency is willing to adopt. No additional evidence may be submitted during the three-day period. The written responses shall 
be added to the rulemaking record. Upon the close of the record the Administrative Judge will write a report as provided for in 
Minnesota Statutes, section 14.50. The rule hearing is governed by Minnesota Statutes, section 14.01 to 14.56 and by Minnesota 
Rules, parts 1400.0200 to 1400.1200. Questions about procedure may be directed to the Administrative Law Judge. 

Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0050 to 9549.0059 affect the operating costs payment rate nursing homes licensed under Minnesota 
statutes, chapter l44A or boarding care facilities licensed under Minnesota Statutes, section 144.50 to 144.58 participating in the 
Medical Assistance Program. 

The purpose of the proposed rule parts is to implement a case mix reimbursement system which establishes operating cost 
payment rates for the nursing homes based on the condition and needs of the residents in each nursing home. Under the proposed 
rule parts a statewide uniform classification system is used to classify residents into 11 resident classes. Payments to nursing homes 
are made based on the resident classes. 

Ongoing assesssment of residents' needs is required to determine to which of the 11 resident classes each resident belongs. These 
assessments are conducted on admission, every six months and after hospitalization. An additional assessment is required 30 to 
35 days after a resident returns to the nursing home after hospitalization. 

A schedule of 11 prospective payment rates is established for each nursing home. For purposes of establishing these prospective 
payment rates, operating costs are divided into two parts: total care related operating costs, which include case mix and other care 
related costs; and other operating costs. 

Separate rate limitations are applied to each part of the operating costs and an efficiency incentive is established for other 
operating costs. In establishing the rate limitations, nursing homes are grouped by geographic location. Additional distinctions are 
made based on type of facility. 

This rule parts contain standard scope and definition sections and specific provisions governing: 
A. establishment of geographic groups; 
B. determination and allocation of fringe benefits and payroll taxes, food costs, and dietician consulting fees; 
C. determination of allowable historical operating cost per diems; 
D. determination of operating cost adjustment factors and limits; 
E. indexing of limits; 
F. determination of operating cost payment rates including: 
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(1) application of limits; 
(2) determination of efficiency incentives; 

(3) eligibility for and determination of a one time adjustment; 

G. determination of interim and settle-up operating cost payment rates; 

H. establishment of resident classes and class weights; 

I. assessment of residents; 

J. resident access to assessments and documents. 
Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0010 to 9549.0080, govern the determination of payment rates for nursing homes licensed under 

Minnesota statutes, chapter 144A or boarding care facilities licensed under Minnesota Statutes, section 144.50 to 144.58 participating 
in the Medical Assistance Program. The proposed amendments to these rule parts affect part 9549.0060, subpart 11, item C, 
subitem (3) which governs the calculation of the single bedroom rate, and part 9549.0060, subpart 13, item B, subitem (2) which 
governs how property-related payment rates will be established during the phase-in of the rental formula when the nursing home's 
number of capacity days changes. 

The agency's authority to adopt the parts 9549.0050 to 9549.0059 is contained in Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.41, subdivision 
I and Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.431, subdivision 6. The agency's authority to adopt the amendment to parts 9549.0010 
to 9549.0080 is contained in Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.41, subdivision I and Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.502. 

The system established under rule parts 9549.0050 to 9549.0059 is approximately budget neutral. The rule parts will not result 
in additional state or county spending beyond the amount appropriated by the legislature. The amendments to rule parts 9549.0010 
to 9549.0080 also will not result in additional state or county spending. 

Copies of the proposed rules are now available and at least one free copy may be obtained by writing to Mary Ann Bredesen, 
Department of Human Services, Space Center, 444 Lafayette Road, 6th Floor, St. Paul, Minnesota 55101. 

A copy of the rule may also be viewed at any of the 87 county welfare agencies in the State of Minnesota. 
Additional copies will be available at the hearing. If you have any questions on the content of the rule parts 9549.0050 to 

9549.0059, contact Pamela Parker at 297-3209. If you have any questions on the content of the amendments to rule parts 9549.0010 
to 9549.0080, contact Charles Osell at 297-3463. 

NOTICE: Any person may request notification of the date on which the Administrative Law Judge's report will be available, 
after which date the agency may not take any final action on the rules for a period of five working days. If you desire to be notified, 
you may so indicate at the hearing. After the hearing, you may request notification by sending a written request to the Administrative 
Law Judge. Any person may request notification of the date on which the rules were adopted and filed with the secretary of state. 
The notice must be mailed on the same day the rules are filed. If you want to be so notified you may so indicate at the hearing 
or send a request in writing to the agency at any time prior to the filing of the rules with the secretary of state. 

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that a Statement of Need and Reasonableness is now available for review at the agency and at 
the Office of Administrative Hearings. The Statement of Need and Reasonableness includes a summary of all the evidence and 
argument which the agency anticipates presenting at the hearing justifying both the need for and reasonableness of the proposed 
rules. Copies of the Statement of Need and Reasonableness may be reviewed at the agency or the Office of Administrative Hearings 
and copies may be obtained from the Office of Administrative Hearings at the cost of reproduction. 

Minnesota Statutes, chapter bA, requires each lobbyist to register with the State Ethical Practices Board within five days after 
he or she commences lobbying. A lobbyist is defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 1OA.Ol, subdivision 11, as any individual: 

(a) engaged for pay or other consideration, or authorized by another individual or association to spend money, who spends 
more than five hours in any month or more than $250, not including travel expenses and membership dues, in any year, for the 
purpose of attempting to influence legislative or administrative action by communication or uring others to communicate with 
public officials; or 

(b) who spends more than $250, not including traveling expenses and membership dues, in any year, for the purpose of 
attempting to influence legislative or administrative action by communicating or urging.others to communicate with public officials. 

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. Strike 	indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike eu4s indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 
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The statute provides certain exceptions. Questions should be directed to the Ethical Practices Board, 625 North Robert Street, 
St. Paul, Minnesota 55101, telephone (612) 296-5148. 
Dated: 14 November 1986 	 Leonard W. Levine, Commissioner 

Dept. of Human Services 

Rules as Proposed (all new material) 

DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES 
NURSING HOME PAYMENT RATE DETERMINATION 

9549.0050 SCOPE. 
Parts 9549.0050 to 9549.0059 establish procedures for determining the operating cost payment rates for all nursing homes 

participating in the medical assistance program. Parts 9549.0050 to 9549.0059 are effective for rate years beginning on or after 
July 1, 1987. Procedures for assessment and classification of residents by the Department of Health in accordance with parts 
9549.0050 to 9549.0059 are found in parts 4656.0010 to 4656.0090 as proposed at State Register, Volume 11, pages 970 to 975 
and as subsequently adopted. 
9549.0051 DEFINITIONS. 

Subpart 1. Applicability. As used in parts 9549.0050 to 9549.0059, the following terms have the meanings given them. 
Subp. 2. Assessment form. "Assessment form" means the form developed by the Department of Health Quality Assurance 

and Review Program under parts 4656.0010 to 4656.0090 as proposed at State Register, Volume 11, pages 970 to 975 and as 
subsequently adopted and used for performing resident assessments. 

Subp. 3. Base year. "Base year" means the reporting year ending September 30, 1984. 
Subp. 4. Case mix index. "Case mix index" means the sum of the results obtained by multiplying the number of residents in 

each resident class in each nursing home by the weights listed in part 9549.0058. 
Subp. 5. Case mix operating costs. "Case mix operating costs" means the operating costs listed in part 9549.0040, subpart 

5, and the portion of fringe benefits and payroll taxes allocated to the nursing services cost category under part 9549.0053. 
Subp. 6. Case mix score. "Case mix score" means the case mix index divided by the total number of residents in the nursing 

home. 
Subp. 7. Discharge. "Discharge" means a termination of placement in the nursing home that is documented in the discharge 

summary signed by the physician. For the purposes of this definition, discharge does not include: 
A. a transfer within the nursing home unless the transfer is to a different licensure level; or 
B. a leave of absence from the nursing home for treatment, therapeutic, or personal purposes when the resident is expected 

to return to the same nursing home. 
Subp. 8. Medical plan of care. "Medical plan of care" means documentation signed by the resident's physician which includes 

the resident's primary diagnoses, secondary diagnoses, orders for treatment and medications, rehabilitation potential, rehabilitation 
procedures if ordered, clinical monitoring procedures, and discharge potential. 

Subp. 9. Other care-related operating costs. "Other care-related operating costs" means the operating costs listed in part 
9549.0040, subpart 6, and the portion of fringe benefits and payroll taxes allocated to the other care-related cost category, the cost 
of food, and the dietician consulting fees calculated under part 9549.0053. 

Subp. 10. Other operating costs. "Other operating costs" means the operating costs listed in part 9549.0040, subparts 1, 2, 
3, 4, and 7, excluding the cost of food and dietician consulting fees, and the portion of fringe benefits and payroll taxes allocated 
to each of these operating costs categories under part 9549.0053. 

Subp. 11. Productive nursing hours. "Productive nursing hours" means all on-duty hours of nurses, aides, orderlies, and 
attendants. This term does not include the on-duty hours of the medical records personnel or the director of nursing for facilities 
with more than 60 licensed beds. Vacation, holidays, sick leave, classroom training, and lunches are not included in productive 
nursing hours. 

Subp. 12. Quality assurance and review or QA&R. "Quality assurance and review" or "QA&R" means the program established 
under Minnesota Statutes, sections 144.072 and 144.0721. 

Subp. 13. Resident class. "Resident class" means each of the 11 categories established in part 9549.0058. 
Subp. 14. Resident plan of care. "Resident plan of care" for residents of nursing homes not licensed as boarding care homes 

means the patient care plan specified in part 4655.6000. "Resident plan of care" for residents of nursing homes licensed as boarding 
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care homes means the overall plan of care as defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 442.319, as amended through 
December31, 1984. 

Subp. 15. Short length of stay facility. "Short length of stay facility" means a nursing home that is certified to provide a 
skilled level of care and has an average length of stay of 180 days or less in its skilled level of care. For the purpose of this 
definition the commissioner shall calculate average length of stay for the nursing home by dividing actual resident days in the 
skilled level of care for which the nursing home can bill, by the total number of discharges from the skilled level of care during 
the reporting year. 

Subp. 16. Standardized resident days. "Standardized resident days" means the sum of the number of resident days in the 
nursing home in each resident class multiplied by the weight for that resident class listed in part 9549.0058. Standardized resident 
days must be determined under part 9549.0054, subpart 2. 

9549.0052 ESTABLISHMENT OF GEOGRAPHIC GROUPS. 

Subpart 1. Classification process. The commissioner shall classify Minnesota nursing homes according to their geographic 
location as indicated in subparts 2 to 4. 

Subp. 2. Group 1. All nursing homes in Beltrami, Big Stone, Cass, Chippewa, Clearwater, Cottonwood, Crow Wing, Hubbard, 
Jackson, Kandiyohi, Lac Qui Parle, Lake of the Woods, Lincoln, Lyon, Mahnomen, Meeker, Morrison, Murray, Nobles, Pipestone, 
Redwood, Renville, Rock, Swift, Todd, Yellow Medicine, and Wadena counties must be placed in geographic group I. 

Subp. 3. Group 2. All nursing homes in counties other than the counties listed under subparts 2 and 4 must be placed in 
geographic group 2. 

Subp. 4. Group 3. All nursing homes in Aitkin, Anoka, Canton, Carver, Cook, Dakota, Hennepin, Itasca, Koochiching, Lake, 
Ramsey, St. Louis, Scott, and Washington counties must be placed in geographic group 3. 

9549.0053 DETERMINATION AND ALLOCATION OF FRINGE BENEFITS AND PAYROLL TAXES, FOOD COSTS, 
AND DIETICIAN CONSULTING FEES. 

Subpart 1. Fringe benefits and payroll taxes. Fringe benefits and payroll taxes must be allocated to case mix, other care-related 
costs, and other operating costs according to items A to D. 

A. Fringe benefits and payroll taxes must be allocated to case mix operating costs in the same proportion to salaries reported 
under part 9549.0040, subpart 5. 

B. Fringe benefits and payroll taxes must be allocated to other care-related costs in the same proportion to salaries reported 
under part 9549.0040, subpart 6. 

C. Fringe benefits and payroll taxes must be allocated to other operating costs in the same proportion to salaries reported 
under part 9549.0040, subparts 1, 2, 3, 4, and 7. 

D. For any nursing home that cannot separately report each salary component of an operating cost category, the commissioner 
shall determine the fringe benefits and payroll taxes to be allocated under this subpart according to subitems (1), (2), and (3). 

(1) The commissioner shall sum the allowable salaries for all nursing homes separately reporting allowable salaries in 
each cost category, by cost category and in total. 

(2) The commissioner shall determine the ratio of the total allowable salaries in each cost category to the total allowable 
salaries in all cost categories, based on the totals in subitem (1). 

(3) The nursing home's total allowable fringe benefits and payroll taxes must be multiplied by each ratio determined in 
subitem (2) to determine the amount of payroll taxes and fringe benefits allocated to each cost category for the nursing home under 
this item. 

Subp. 2. Determination of food costs. The commissioner shall determine the costs of food to be included in other care-related 
costs according to items A and B. 

A. Rr any nursing home separately reporting food costs, food costs shall be the allowable food costs reported under part 
9549.0040, subpart 1. 

B. For any nursing home that cannot separately report the cost of food under part 9549.0040, subpart 1, the commissioner 

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. Strike eu+s indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strikc euts indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 
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shall determine the average ratio of food costs to total dietary costs for all nursing homes that separately reported food costs. The 
nursing home's total allowable dietary costs must be multiplied by the average ratio to determine the food costs for the nursing 
home. 

Subp. 3. Determination of dietician consulting fees. The commissioner shall determine the dietician consulting fees to be 
included in other care-related costs according to items A and B. 

A. For any nursing home separately reporting dietician consulting fees, the dietician consulting fees shall be the allowable 
dietician consulting fees reported under part 9549.0040, subpart 1. 

B. For any nursing home that has not separately reported dietician consulting fees, the commissioner shall determine the 
average cost per licensed bed of allowable dietician consulting fees for all nursing homes that separately reported dietician consulting 
fees. The nursing home's total number of licensed beds must be multiplied by the average cost per bed to determine the dietician 
consulting fees for the nursing home. 
9549.0054 DETERMINATION OF THE ALLOWABLE HISTORICAL OPERATING COSTS PER DIEMS. 

Subpart 1. Review and adjustment of costs. The commissioner shall annually review and adjust the operating costs reported 
by the nursing home during the reporting year preceding the rate year to determine the nursing home's actual allowable historical 
operating costs. The review and adjustment must comply with the provisions of parts 9549.0010 to 9549.0080. 

Subp. 2. Standardized resident days for rate years beginning on or after July 1, 1987. For rate years beginning on or after 
July 1, 1987, each nursing home's standardized resident days must be determined in accordance with items A and B. 

A. The nursing home's resident days for the reporting year in each resident class must be multiplied by the weight for that 
resident class listed in part 9549.0058. 

B. The amounts determined in item A must be summed to determine the nursing home's standardized resident days for the 
reporting year. 

Subp. 3. Allowable historical case mix operating cost standardized per diem. The allowable historical case mix operating 
cost standardized per diem must be computed by dividing the allowable historical case mix operating cost by the standardized 
resident days determined in subpart 2. 

Subp. 4. Allowable historical other care-related operating cost per diem. The allowable historical other care-related operating 
cost per diem must be computed by dividing the allowable historical other care-related operating costs by the number of resident 
days in the nursing home's reporting year. 

Subp. 5. Allowable historical other operating cost per diem. The allowable historical other operating cost per diem must be 
computed by dividing the allowable historical other operating costs by the number of resident days in the nursing home's reporting 
year. 
9549.0055 DETERMINATION OF OPERATING COST ADJUSTMENT FACTORS AND LIMITS. 

Subpart 1. Annual adjustment factors. The annual adjustment factors must be determined according to items A and B. 
A. The annual adjustment factor for the case mix and other care-related operating costs must be established according to 

subitems (1) to (7). 
(1) The components and indices specified in the following table must be used to establish the case mix and other care- 

related operating cost adjustment factor. These indices are incorporated by reference as specified in subpart 4. 
CASE MIX AND CARE-RELATED COMPONENTS AND INDICES 

Component 	 Weight 	Index 
Salaries 	 .7347 	Average hourly earnings of employees in nursing and personal care facilities (SIC 

805). 
Benefits 	 . 1107 	Difference between movements in compensation and wages and salary index 

components of the Employment Cost Index for Service Workers. 
Supplies and Drugs 	.0363 	Consumer Price Index for nonprescription medical equipment and supplies. 
Food 	 . 1183 	Producer Price Index for consumer foods. 
TOTAL 	 1.0000 

(2) The average index value for calendar year 1983 for each component in subitem (1) must be determined by summing 
the quarterly index values for the component and dividing the results by four. 

(3) The average index value for the reporting year for each component in subitem (1) must be determined by summing 
the quarterly index values for the component and dividing the results by four. 

(4) The composite price index for the reporting year must be determined by: 
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(a) dividing the amount in subitem (3) for each component by the corresponding amount in subitem (2) for that 
component; 

(b) multiplying each amount determined in unit (a) by the corresponding weight for that component in subitem (I); 
(c) summing the results of the calculations in unit (b); and 
(d) multiplying the amount calculated in unit (c) by 100. 

(5) The forecasted average index value for the rate year for each component in subitem (1) must be determined by 
summing the forecasted quarterly index values for that component and dividing the result by four. 

(6) The forecasted composite price index for the rate year must be determined by: 

(a) dividing the amount in subitem (5) for each component by the corresponding amount in subitem (2) for that 
component; 

(b) multiplying each amount determined in unit (a) by the corresponding weight for that component in subitem (1); 

(c) summing the results of the calculations in unit (b); and 
(d) multiplying the amount calculated in unit (c) by 100. 

(7) The forecasted adjustment factor is determined by dividing the forecasted composite price index for the rate year 
computed in subitem (6), unit (d) by the composite price index for the reporting year computed in subitem (4), unit (d). 

B. The annual adjustment factor for the other operating costs must be established according to subitems (1) to (7). 
(1) The components and indices specified in the following table must be used to establish the other operating cost 

adjustment factor. These indices are incorporated by reference as specified in subpart 4. 
OTHER OPERATING COSTS COMPONENTS AND INDICES 

Component 	 Weight 	Index 
Utilities 	 .1099 	Producer Price Index for natural gas (80 percent); and Producer Price Index for 

commercial power in west north central states (20 percent). 
Salaries 	 .5864 	Average hourly earnings of employees in nursing and personal care facilities (SIC 

805). 
Benefits 	 .0799 	Difference between movements in compensation and wages and salaries index 

components of the Employment Cost Index for Service Workers. 
Additional Professional 	. 1107 	Employment Cost Index for wages and salaries of professional and technical 
Services 	 workers. 
Additional Miscellaneous 	.0322 	Consumer Price Index for maintenance and repair services. 
Service Purchases 
Miscellaneous Purchases 	.0809 	Consumer Price Index for maintenance and repair commodities. 
(Commodities) 
TOTAL 	 1.0000 

(2) The average index value for calendar year 1983 for each component in subitem (I) must be determined by summing 
the quarterly index values for the component and dividing the results by four. 

(3) The average index value for the reporting year for each component in subitem (I) must be determined by summing 
the quarterly index values for the component and dividing the results by four. 

(4) The composite price index for the reporting year must be determined by: 
(a) dividing the amount in subitem (3) for each component by the corresponding amount in subitem (2) for that 

component, except that the utilities component must be 80 percent of the natural gas component plus 20 percent of the commercial 
power component; 

(b) multiplying each amount determined in unit (a) by the corresponding weight for that component in subitem (1); 

(c) summing the results of the calculations in unit (b); and 

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. Strike ei*s indicate 
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(d) multiplying the amount calculated in unit (c) by 100. 
(5) The forecasted average index value for the rate year for each component in subitem (1) must be determined by 

summing the forecasted quarterly index values for that component and dividing the result by four. 
(6) The forecasted composite price index for the rate year must be determined by: 

(a) dividing the amount in subitem (5) for each component by the corresponding amount in subitem (2) for that 
component, except that the utilities component must be 80 percent of the natural gas component plus 20 percent of the commercial 
power component; 

(b) multiplying each amount determined in unit (a) by the corresponding weight for that component in subitem (1); 

(c) summing the results of the calculations in unit (b); and 

(d) multiplying the amount calculated in unit (c) by 100. 
(7) The forecasted adjustment factor is determined by dividing the forecasted composite price index for the rate year 

computed in subitem (6), unit (d) by the composite price index for the reporting year computed in subitem (4), unit (d). 

Subp. 2. Base year limits. For each geographic group established in part 9549.0052 the base year operating costs limits must 
be determined according to items A to E. No redetermination of the base year operating costs limits shall be made due to audit 
adjustments or appeal settlement. 

A. The commissioner shall compute 115 percent of the median of the array of the allowable historical case mix operating 
cost per diems for the base year. 

B. The commissioner shall compute 115 percent of the median of the array of the allowable historical other care-related 
operating cost per diems for the base year. For the purpose of establishing operating cost limits, the commissioner shall compute 
the allowable historical other care-related per diems for the base year by dividing the allowable historical other care-related operating 
costs by the greater of resident days or 90 percent of the number of licensed beds multiplied by the number of days in the reporting 
period. An exception to this calculation is made for a short length of stay facilty. For a short length of stay facility, the allowable 
historical other care-related operating costs must be divided by the greater of resident days or 80 percent of the number of licensed 
beds multiplied by the number of days in the reporting period. 

C. The total care-related operating cost limit for each resident class must be determined by multiplying the amount determined 
in item A by the weight for each resident class and adding the amount determined in item B. The total care-related operating cost 
limit for a short length of stay facility must be 125 percent of the total care-related operating cost limit. A nursing home licensed 
on June 1, 1983, by the commissioner to provide residential services for the physically handicapped under parts 9570.2000 to 
9570.3600 is exempt from the total care-related operating cost limit. 

D. The commissioner shall disallow any portion of the general and administrative cost category, exclusive of fringe benefits 
and payroll taxes, that exceeds 15 percent of the allowable expenditures in all operating cost categories except fringe benefits, 
payroll taxes, and general and administrative. For the purpose of computing the amount of disallowed general and administrative 
cost, the nursing home's professional liability and property insurance must be excluded from the general and administrative cost 
category. 

E. The other operating costs limits must be determined in accordance with subitems (1) to (5). For the purpose of establishing 
operating costs limits, the commissioner shall compute the allowable historical other operating costs per diems for the base year 
by dividing the allowable historical other operating costs by the greater of resident days or 90 percent of the number of licensed 
beds multiplied by the number of days in the reporting period. An exception to this calculation is made for a short length of stay 
facility. For a short length of stay facility, the allowable historical other operating costs must be divided by the greater of resident 
days or 80 percent of the number of licensed beds multiplied by the number of days in the reporting period. 

(1) For each geographic group in part 9549.0052, the commissioner shall group all hospital attached nursing homes, 
short length of stay facilities, and nursing homes licensed on June 1, 1983, by the commissioner to provide residential services 
for the physically handicapped under parts 9570.2000 to 9570.3600. 

(2) The other operating cost limit for hospital attached nursing homes in each geographic group in part 9549.0052 must 
be 105 percent of the median of the array of the allowable historical other operating cost per diem for each nursing home in the 
group established under subitem (1) in the base year. 

(3) The other operating cost limit for all short length of stay facilities and nursing homes licensed on June 1, 1983, by 
the commissioner to provide residential services for the physically handicapped under parts 9570.2000 to 9570.3600 in each 
geographic group in part 9549.0052 must be 105 percent of the limit established in subitem (2). 

(4) For each geographic group in part 9549.0052, the commissioner shall group all nursing homes not included in 
subitem (1). 
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(5) The other operating cost limit for each group established in subitem (4) must be 105 percent of the median of the 
array of the allowable historical other operating cost per diems for each nursing home in the group for the base year. 

Subp. 3. Indexed limits. For a rate year beginning on or after July 1, 1987, the total care related operating cost limits and the 
other operating cost limits must be determined under items A and B. 

A. The total care related operating cost limits must be determined under subitems (1) and (2). 

(1) The composite price index for case mix and other care related operating costs for the current reporting year as 
determined in subpart 1, item A, subitem (4), must be divided by the corresponding composite price index for the previous reporting 
year. 

(2) The limit for each resident class in subpart 2, item C, must be multiplied by the amount determined in subitem (1) 
to establish the indexed total care related operating cost limits. 

B. The total other operating costs limits must be determined under subitems (1) and (2). 

(1) The composite price index for other operating costs for the current reporting year as determined in subpart 1, item 
B, subitem (4), must be divided by the corresponding composite price index for the previous reporting year. 

(2) Each limit in subpart 2, item E must be multiplied by the amount determined in subitem (1) to establish the indexed 
other operating cost limits. 

Subp. 4. Incorporations by reference. The indices specified in items A to D are incorporated by reference and are available 
through the Minitex interlibrary loan system. They are subject to frequent change. 

A. The index for average hourly earnings of employees in nursing and personal care facilities is published monthly in 
"Employment and Earnings," Bureau of Labor Statistics, United States Department of Labor. Standard Industrial Code 805 (SIC 
805) is the code used for employees in nursing and personal care facilities in this publication. 

B. The Employment Cost Index for Service Workers and the Employment Cost Index for wages and salaries of professional 
and technical workers are published monthly in "Current Wage Developments," Bureau of Labor Statistics, United States Department 
of Labor. 

C. The Consumer Price Index for nonprescription medical equipment and supplies and the Consumer Price Index for 
maintenance and repair commodities are published in the "Monthly Labor Review," Bureau of Labor Statistics, United States 
Department of Labor. 

D. The Producer Price Index for consumer foods, the Producer Price Index for natural gas, and the Producer Price Index 
for commercial power in west north central states are published monthly in "Producer Prices arid Price Indexes," Bureau of Labor 
Statistics, United States Department of Labor. 
9549.0056 DETERMINATION OF OPERATING COST PAYMENT RATE. 

Subpart 1. Nonadjusted case mix and other care-related payment rate. For each nursing home, the nonadjusted case mix 
and other care-related payment rate for each resident class must be determined according to items A to D. 

A. The nursing home's allowable historical case mix operating cost standardized per diem established in part 9549.0054, 
subpart 3, must be multiplied by the weight for each resident class listed in part 9549.0058. 

B. The allowable historical other care-related operating cost per diem established in part 9549.0054, subpart 4, must be 
added to each weighted per diem established in item A. 

C. If the amount determined in item B for each resident class is below the limit for that resident class and group established 
in part 9549.0055, subpart 2, item C, as indexed in part 9549.0055, subpart 3, the nursing home's nonadjusted case mix and other 
care-related payment rate must be the amount determined in item B for each resident class. 

D. If the amount determined in item B for each resident class is at or above the limit for that resident class and group 
established in part 9549.0055, subpart 2, item C, as indexed in part 9549.0055, subpart 3, the nursing home's nonadjusted case 
mix and other care-related payment rate must be set at the limit. 

Subp. 2. Adjusted prospective case mix and other care-related payment rate. For each nursing home, the adjusted prospective 
case mix and other care-related payment rate for each resident class must be the nonadjusted case mix and other care-related 
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payment rate multiplied by the case mix and other care-related adjustment factor determined in part 9549.0055, subpart 1, item 
A. If the nursing home is eligible to receive the phase-in in subpart 7, the phase-in reduced by the amount of the efficiency 
incentive, if any, must be added to the adjusted prospective case mix and other care-related payment rate. 

Subp. 3. Nonadjusted other operating cost payment rate. The nonadjusted other operating cost payment rate must be determined 
according to items A and B. 

A. If the allowable historical other operating cost per diem determined in part 9549.0054, subpart 5, is below the limit for 
that group established in part 9549.0055, subpart 2, item E, as indexed in part 9549.0055, subpart 3, the nursing home's nonadjusted 
other oerating cost payment rate must be the allowable historical other operating cost per diem. 

B. If the allowable historical other operating cost per diem determined in part 9549.0054, subpart 5, is at or above the 
limit for that group established in part 9549.0055, subpart 2, item E, as indexed in part 9549.0055, subpart 3, the nursing home's 
nonadjusted other operating cost payment rate must be set at that limit. 

Subp. 4. Adjusted prospective other operating cost payment rate. The adjusted prospective other operating cost payment rate 
must be determined according to items A to E. 

A. Except as provided in item B, if the nursing home's nonadjusted other operating cost payment rate is below the limit 
for that group established in part 9549.0055, subpart 2, item E, as indexed in part 9549.0055, subpart 3, the nursing home's 
adjusted prospective other operating cost payment rate must be the nonadjusted other operating cost payment rate determined in 
subpart 3, item A, multiplied by the other operating cost adjustment factor determined in part 9549.0055, subpart 1, item B, plus 
an efficiency incentive equal to the difference between the limit in part 9549.0055, subpart 2, item E, as indexed in part 9549.0055, 
subpart 3, and the nonadjusted other operating cost payment rate in subpart 3 up to a maximum of two dollars per resident day. 

B. For any short length of stay facility and any nursing home licensed on June 1, 1983, by the commissioner to provide 
residential services for the physically handicapped under parts 9570.2000 to 9570.3600 that is under the limits established in part 
9549.0055, subpart 2, item E, subitem (3), as indexed in part 9549.0055, subpart 3, the nursing home's adjusted prospective other 
operating cost payment rate must be the nonadjusted other operating cost payment rate determined in subpart 3, item A, multiplied 
by the other operating cost adjustment factor determined in part 9549.0055, subpart 1, item B, plus an efficiency incentive equal 
to the difference between the limit in part 9549.0055, subpart 2, item E, subitem (2), as indexed in part 9549.0055, subpart 3, 
and the nonadjusted other operating cost payment rate in subpart 3, up to a maximum of two dollars per resident day. 

C. If the nursing home's nonadjusted other operating cost payment rate is at or above the limit for that group established 
in part 9549.0055, subpart 2, item E, as indexed in part 9549.0055, subpart 3, the nursing home's adjusted prospective other 
operating cost payment rate must be the nonadjusted other operating cost payment rate determined in subpart 3, item B, multiplied 
by the other operating cost adjustment factor determined in part 9549.0055, subpart 1, item B, except as provided in subpart 7. 

D. If the nursing home is eligible to receive the phase-in in subpart 7, the phase-in must be added to the adjusted prospective 
other operating cost payment rate. 

E. The nursing home's efficiency incentives as determined in item A or B must not be changed as a result of field audit 
adjustment. 

Subp. 5. Total operating cost payment rate. The nursing home's total operating cost payment rate must be the sum of the 
adjusted prospective case mix and other care-related payment rate determined in subpart 2 and the adjusted other operating cost 
payment rate determined in subpart 4. 

Subp. 6. One-time adjustment. Items A to F set forth the procedure to be applied to establish a one-time adjustment to the 
nursing home's case mix operating costs per diem for the period October 1, 1986, to September 30, 1987. 

A. To qualify for a one-time adjustment to the case mix operating costs per diem, the nursing home or portion of the 
nursing home for which the adjustment is requested must be licensed under Minnesota Statutes, chapter l44A and the nursing 
home must not have received an interim or settle-up payment rate during the reporting year ending September 30, 1985. 

B. To apply for the one-time adjustment to case mix operating costs per diem, the nursing home must have submitted a 
written request to the commissioner on or before July 31, 1986. The written request must include the information required in 
subitems (1) to (3). 

(1) Documentation indicating that based on the productive nursing hours and standardized resident days for the reporting 
period, ending September 30, 1985, the nursing home cannot provide a minimum of 0.95 productive nursing hours per standardized 
resident day by reallocating existing staff and costs and that the nursing home cannot use other available resources, including any 
efficiency incentives effective July 1, 1986, to increase productive nursing hours to meet the minimum of 0.95 productive nursing 
hours per standardized resident day. 

(2) A list of the number and type of staff positions including annual hours worked, and related fringe benefits and 
payroll taxes for the reporting years ending September 30, 1984 and September 30, 1985. 
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(3) A written nursing plan describing how the nursing home will meet the minimum of 0.95 productive nursing hours 
per standardized resident day if the nursing home receives a one-time adjustment. The plan must include the number and types of 
staff to be added to the current staff complement and the projected cost of the salary and related fringe benefits and payroll taxes 
for the additional staff. The plan must also specify any other increases in case mix operating costs. 

C. The commissioner of human services and the commissioner of health shall review the documentation submitted by the 
nursing home under item B to determine if the nursing home meets the criteria in subitems (I) to (5). 

(1) The nursing home meets the criteria in item A. 
(2) The nursing home has submitted the documentation required in item B. 

(3) The nursing home provided less than a minimum of 0.95 productive nursing hours per standardized resident day for 
the reporting period ending September 30, 1985. 

(4) The nursing home cannot meet the minimum of 0.95 productive nursing hours per standardized resident day by 
reallocating staff and costs including efficiency incentives. 

(5) The nursing home's allowable historical case mix and other care-related operating cost per diem plus the one-time 
adjustment is less than the case mix and other care-related operating cost limit. 

D. If the request meets the criteria in item C, the commissioner shall make a one-time adjustment to the nursing home's 
payment rate. The one-time adjustment must be determined according to subitems (I) to (9) and must not exceed the amount 
computed in subitem (3). 

(1) The nursing home's productive nursing hours per standardized resident day for the reporting period ending September 
30, 1985, must be subtracted from 0.95 and the result must be multiplied by the nursing home's standardized resident days for the 
period beginning October 1, 1984, and ending September 30, 1985. 

(2) The nursing home's nursing cost per hour must be determined by dividing the nursing home's total allowable historical 
case mix operating costs by the nursing home's total productive nursing hours for the reporting period ending September 30, 1985. 

(3) The amount determined in subitem (1) must be multiplied by the amount determined in subitem (2) to determine 
the total maximum nursing costs required to meet the minimum of 0.95 productive nursing hours per standardized resident day. 

(4) If the amount requested in the nursing hours plan submitted under item B is less than the amount in subitem (3) the 
difference must be subtracted from the amount in subitem (3). 

(5) The amount determined in subitem (4) must be divided by the nursing home's standardized resident days for the 
reporting period ending September 30, 1985, to compute the maximum standardized case mix per diem costs to be allowed under 
this subpart. 

(6) Any efficiency incentive included in the nursing home's total operating costs payment on July 1, 1986, must be 
subtracted from the amounts in subitem (5). 

(7) Any further reduction that the commissioner determines would be possible by reallocating the nursing home's staff 
and costs must be subtracted from the amount computed in subitem (6). 

(8) The amount computed in subitem (7) must be multiplied by the weight for each resident class contained in part 
9549.0058, subpart 2. 

(9) The amount computed in subitem (8) must be added to the adjusted prospective case mix and other care-related 
payment rates for each corresponding resident class. 

E. The one-time adjustment determined in item D, subitem (9) shall be implemented beginning October 1, 1986. No portion 
of the adjustment may be used to provide services that are not case mix operating costs according to part 9549.0051, subpart 5. 
The commissioner shall perform a fiscal review of the nursing home's cost report submitted for the reporting period ending 
September 30, 1987, and of any additional documentation required by the commissioner to determine if the nursing home provided 
0.95 productive nursing hours per standardized resident day and to determine whether the nursing home has implemented the 
provisions of the plan specified in item B. The commissioner shall consult with the commissioner of health to verify compliance 
with any applicable care-related licensing or certification standards. Based on the results of the fiscal review and the information 
provided by the commissioner of health, the commissioner shall implement either subitem (1), (2), or (3). 

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. Strike e*is indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike e4s indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 

(CITE 11 SR. 997) 
	

STATE REGISTER, Monday 1 December 1986 
	 PAGE 997 



PROPOSED RULES 	  

(1) If the nursing home has failed to implement the plan required in item B, the commissioner shall recover the total 
amount paid under this subpart in accordance with part 9549.0070, subpart 4 and shall disallow any increases in costs incurred 
by the nursing home under this subpart in establishing the payment rate for the rate year beginning July 1, 1988. 

(2) If the nursing home has implemented or partially implemented the plan specified in item B and the actual case mix 
operating costs incurred during the reporting year ending September 30, 1987, are below the payment made under this subpart, 
the commissioner shall reduce the adjustment to the nursing home's payment rate and recover any overpayments in accordance 
with part 9549.0070, subpart 4. The reduced adjustment to the nursing home's total payment rate shall continue to be paid to the 
nursing home until June 30, 1988. 

(3) If the actual costs of implementing the plan specified in item B, subitem (3) incurred during the reporting period 
ending September 30, 1987, exceed the payments made under this subpart there shall be no retroactive cost settle-up. The adjustment 
to the nursing home's total payment rate shall continue to be paid to the nursing home at the same level until June 30, 1988. 

F. The nursing home must record the costs associated with this subpart separately from other nursing home costs until the 
commissioner's fiscal and compliance review under item E establishes that the nursing home has implemented the plan required 
in item B and has provided at least 0.95 productive nursing hours per standardized resident day during the reporting period ending 
September 30, 1987. To prevent duplicate payments, the case mix operating costs associated with this subpart are nonallowable 
until after the commissioner has reviewed and approved the costs under item E. If the commissioner approves the costs, the 
additional case mix operating costs incurred under this subpart are allowable costs and must be included in the computation of the 
allowable historical case mix operating cost per diem for the rate year beginning July 1, 1988. 

Subp. 7. Phase-in of rates. Nursing home rate limits shall be phased-in in accordance with Minnesota Statutes, section 256B .431, 
subdivision 2h. 

9549.0057 DETERMINATION OF INTERIM AND SETTLE-UP OPERATING COST PAYMENT RATES. 
Subpart 1. Conditions. To receive an interim payment rate, a nursing home must comply with the requirements and is subject 

to the conditions in part 9549.0060, subpart 14, items A to C. The commissioner shall determine interim and settle-up operating 
cost payment rates for a newly constructed nursing home, or one with an increase in licensed capacity of 50 percent or more 
according to subparts 2 and 3. 

Subp. 2. Interim operating cost payment rate. For the rate year or portion of an interim period beginning on or after July 1, 
1986, the interim total operating cost payment rate must be determined according to parts 9549.0050 to 9549.0059 (Temporary) 
in effect on March 1, 1987. For the rate year or portion of an interim period beginning on or after July 1, 1987, the interim total 
operating cost payment rate must be determined according to parts 9549.0050 to 9549.0059, except that: 

A. The nursing home must project its anticipated resident days for each resident class. The anticipated resident days for 
each resident class must be multiplied by the weight for that resident class as listed in part 9549.0058 to determine the anticipated 
standardized resident days for the reporting period. 

B. The commissioner shall use anticipated standardized resident days in determining the allowable historical case mix 
operating cost standardized per diem. 

C. The commissioner shall use the anticipated resident days in determining both the allowable historical other care-related 
operating cost per diem and the allowable historical other operating cost per diem. 

D. The annual adjustment factors determined in part 9549.0055, subpart 1, must not be applied to the nursing home's 
allowable historical per diems as provided in part 9549.0056, subparts 2 and 4. 

E. The limits established in part 9549.0055, subpart 2, items C and E, as indexed in part 9549.0055, subpart 3 and in 
effect at the beginning of the interim period, must be increased by ten percent. 

F. The efficiency incentive in part 9549.005 6, subpart 4, item A or B, must not apply. 
G. The phase-in provisions in part 9549.0056, subpart 7, must not apply. 

Subp. 3. Settle-up operating cost payment rate. The settle-up total operating cost payment rate must be determined according 
to items A to C. 

A. The. settle-up operating cost payment rate for interim periods before July 1, 1987, is subject to the rule parts that were 
in effect during the interim period. 

B. To determine the settle-up operating cost payment rate for interim periods or the portion of an interim period occurring 
after July 1, 1987, subitems (1) to (7) must be applied. 

(1) The standardized resident days as determined in part 9549.0054, subpart 2, must be used for the interim period. 
(2) The commissioner shall use the standardized resident days in subitem (1) in determining the allowable historical 
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case mix operating cost standardized per diem. 
(3) The commissioner shall use the actual resident days in determining both the allowable historical other care-related 

operating cost per diem and the allowable historical other operating cost per diem. 
(4) The annual adjustment factors determined in part 9549.0055, subpart 1, must not be applied to the nursing home's 

allowable historical per diems as provided in part 9549.0056, subparts 2 and 4. 

(5) The limits established in part 9549.0055, subpart 2, item E, must be the limits for the settle-up reporting periods 
occurring after July 1, 1987. If the interim period includes more than one July 1 date, the commissioner shall use the limit established 
in part 9549.0055, subpart 2, items C and E, as indexed in part 9549.0055, subpart 3, increased by ten percent for the second 
July 1 date. 

(6) The efficiency incentive in part 9549.0056, subpart 4, item A or B, must not apply. 
(7) The phase-in provisions in part 9549.0056, subpart 7 must not apply. 

C. For the nine-month period following the settle-up reporting period, the total operating cost payment rate must be 
determined according to item B except that the efficiency incentive as computed in part 9549.0056, subpart 4, item A or B, applies. 

D. The total operating cost payment rate for the rate year beginning July 1 following the nine-month period in item C must 
be determined under parts 9549.0050 to 9549.0059. 

E. A newly-constructed nursing home or one with an increase in licensed capacity of 50 percent or more must continue to 
receive the interim total operating cost payment rate until the settle-up total operating cost payment rate is determined under this 
subpart. 
9549.0058 RESIDENT CLASSES AND CLASS WEIGHTS. 

Subpart I. Resident classes. Each resident or applicant must be assessed according to items A to E based on the information 
on the assessment form completed in accordance with part 9549.0059. 

A. A resident or applicant must be assessed as dependent in an activity of daily living or ADL according to the following 
table: 

Dependent if Score 
ADL 	 At or Above 

Dressing 	 2 
Grooming 	 2 
Bathing 	 4 
Eating 	 2 
Bed mobility 	 2 
Transferring 	 2 
Walking 	 2 
Toileting 

B. A resident or applicant assessed as dependent in fewer than four of the ADLs in item A must be defined as Low ADL. 
A resident or applicant assessed as dependent in four through six of the ADLs in item A must be defined as Medium ADL. Each 
resident or applicant assessed as dependent in seven or eight of the ADLs in item A must be defined as High ADL. 

C. A resident or applicant must be defined as special nursing if the resident or applicant meets the criteria in subitems (1) 
and (2): 

(1) the resident or applicant is assessed to require tube feeding; or 

(2) the resident or applicant is assessed to require clinical monitoring every day on each shift and the resident is assessed 
to require one or more of the following special treatments: 

(a) oxygen and respiratory therapy; 
(b) ostomy/catheter care; 
(c) wound or decubitus care; 
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(d) skin care; 
(e) intravenous therapy; 

(0 drainage tubes; 
(g) blood transfusions; 
(h) hyperalimentation; 
(i) symptom control for the terminally ill; or 
(j) isolation precautions. 

D. A resident or applicant must be defined as having a neuromuscular condition if the resident or applicant is assessed to 
have one or more of the diagnoses coded to the categories in subitems (1) to (8) according to the International Classification of 
Diseases, 9th Revision, Clinical Modification (ICD-9-CM), as published by the Commission on Professional and Hospital Activities, 
1968 Green Road, Ann Arbor, Michigan (1978). This publication is incorporated by reference. The publication is available through 
the Minitex interlibrary loan system and is not subject to frequent change. 

(1) diseases of nervous system excluding sense organs (320-359 excluding 331.0); 
(2) cerebrovascular disease (430-438 excluding 437); 
(3) fracture of skull (800-804), excluding cases without intracranial injury; 
(4) intercranial injury, excluding those with skull fracture (850-854); 
(5) fracture of vertebral column with spinal cord injury (806); 
(6) spinal cord injury without evidence of spinal bone injury (952); 
(7) injury to nerve roots and spinal plexus (953); or 
(8) neoplasms of the brain and spine (170.2, 170.6, 191, 192, 198.3, 198.4, 213.2, 213.6, 225, 237.5, 237.6, and 

239.6). 
E. A resident or applicant must be defined as having a behavioral condition if the resident's or applicant's assessment score 

is two or more for behavior on the assessment form. 
Subp. 2. Resident classes. The commissioner shall establish resident classes according to items A to K. The resident classes 

must be established based on the definitions in subpart 1. 
A. A resident must be assigned to class A if the resident is assessed as: 

(1) Low ADL; 
(2) not defined behavioral condition; and 
(3) not defined special nursing. 

B. A resident must be assigned to class B if the resident is assessed as: 
(1) Low ADL; 
(2) defined behavioral condition; and 
(3) not defined special nursing. 

C. A resident must be assigned to class C if the resident is assessed as: 
(1) Low ADL; and 
(2) defined special nursing. 

D. A resident must be assigned to class D if the resident is assessed as: 
(1) Medium ADL; 
(2) not defined behavioral condition; and 
(3) not defined special nursing. 

E. A resident must be assigned to class E if the resident is assessed as: 
(1) Medium ADL; 
(2) defined behavioral condition; and 
(3) not defined special nursing. 
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F. A resident must be assigned to class F if the resident is assessed as: 

(1) Medium ADL; and 

(2) defined special nursing. 

G. A resident must be assigned to class G if the resident is assessed as: 

(1) High ADL; 
(2) scoring less than three on the eating ADL; 

(3) not defined special nursing; and 

(4) not defined behavioral condition. 

H. A resident must be assigned to class H if the resident is assessed as: 

(1) High ADL; 
(2) scoring less than three on the eating ADL; 

(3) defined behavioral condition; and 

(4) not defined special nursing. 

I. A resident must be assigned to class I if the resident is assessed as: 

(1) High ADL; 
(2) scoring three or four on the eating ADL; 

(3) not defined special nursing; and 

(4) not defined neuromuscular condition. 

J. A resident must be assigned to class J if the resident is assessed as: 

(1) High ADL; 
(2) scoring three or four on the eating ADL; 

(3) not defined special nursing; and 

(4) defined neuromuscular condition or scoring three or four on behavior. 

K. A resident must be assigned to class K if the resident is assessed as: 

(1) High ADL; and 

(2) defined special nursing. 
Subp. 3. Class weights. The commissioner shall assign weights to each resident class established in subpart 2 according to items 

A to K. 
A. Class A, 1.00; 

B. Class B, 1.30; 

C. Class C, 1.64; 
D. ClassD, 1.95; 

E. Class E, 2.27; 
F. Class F, 2.29; 

G. Class G, 2.56; 
H. Class H, 3.07; 

I. Class I, 3.25; 

J. Class J, 3.53; 

K. Class K, 4.12. 
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9549.0059 RESIDENT ASSESSMENT. 

Subpart 1. Assessment of nursing home applicants and newly admitted residents. Each nursing home applicant or newly 
admitted resident must be assessed for the purpose of determining the applicant's or newly admitted resident's class. The assessment 
must be conducted according to the procedures in items A to I. 

A. The county preadmission screening team or hospital screening team under contract with the county must assess all 
nursing home applicants for whom preadmission screening is required by Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.091, and any applicant 
for whom a preadmission screening is not required but who voluntarily requests such a screening in accordance with Minnesota 
Statutes, section 256B.091, except as provided in subitems (1) and (2). 

(1) The public health nurse of the county preadmission screening team or the registered nurse case manager shall assess 
a nursing home applicant, if the applicant was previously screened by the county preadmission screening team and the applicant 
is receiving services under the Alternative Care Grants program defined in part 9505.2340 or under the medical assistance program. 

(2) An applicant whose admission to the nursing home is for the purpose of receiving respite care services need not be 
reassessed more than once every six months for the purpose of computing resident days under part 9549.0054, subpart 2, if the 
applicant has been classified by the Department of Health within the prior six-month period. In this case, the resident class 
established by the Department of Health within the prior six-month period may be the resident class of the applicant. A resident 
must not receive more than one assessment per respite care stay. 

B. Except as provided in item A, subitem 2, the nursing home must assess each applicant or newly admitted resident for 
whom a preadmission screening is not required by Minnesota Statutes, section 256B .091, or is not requested voluntarily in accordance 
with Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.09l. For the purposes of this item, the term newly admitted resident includes a resident 
who moves to a section of the nursing home that is licensed differently than the section the resident previously was placed in or 
a resident who has been transferred from another nursing home. 

C. Except as provided in item D, the assessment required by this subpart must be performed within ten working days 
before or ten working days after the date the applicant is admitted to the nursing home. 

D. Any resident who is required to be assessed by the preadmission screening team under item A or who has received a 
prior preadmission screening, and for whom the assessment required under this subpart has not been performed by the preadmission 
screening team within ten working days before or ten working days after the date the applicant is admitted to the nursing home 
must be assessed by the nursing home. The nursing home must perform the assessment and submit the forms to the Department 
of Health within 15 working days after admission. 

E. Each assessment that the nursing home is required to perform must be completed by a registered nurse. The registered 
nurse performing the assessment must sign the assessment form. 

F. The assessment of each applicant or newly admitted resident must be based on the QA&R procedures of the Department 
of Health including physical observation of the applicant or newly admitted resident and review of available medical records, and 
must be recorded on the assessment form. 

G. Within five working days following the assessment, the preadmission screening team or hospital screening team under 
contract with the county must send the completed assessment form to the Department of Health, and provide a copy to the nursing 
home. 

H. Except as provided in item D, each assessment completed under items A to G and a completed medical plan of care 
must be submitted to the Department of Health by the nursing home as a request for classification within ten working days after 
admission or after the assessment, whichever is later. 

I. The resident class for applicants or newly admitted residents must be effective on the date of the person's admission to 
the nursing home. 

Subp. 2. Semiannual assessment by nursing homes. Semiannual assessments of residents by the nursing home must be completed 
in accordance with items A to D. 

A. A nursing home must assess each of its residents no earlier than 162 days and no later than 182 days after the date of 
the most recent annual assessment by the Department of Health's QA&R team. 

B. A registered nurse shall assess each resident according to QA&R procedures established by the Department of Health 
including physical observation of the resident, review of the medical plan of care, and review of the resident's plan of care, and 
shall record the assessment on the assessment form. The registered nurse performing the assessment shall sign the assessment form. 

C. Within five working days of the completion of the nursing home's semiannual resident assessments, the nursing home 
must forward to the Department of Health requests for classification for all residents assessed for the semiannual assessment. These 
requests must include the assessment forms, the residents' plans of care, and the nursing home's daily census for the date on which 
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the assessments were completed including an explanation of any discrepancy between the daily census and the number of assessments 
submitted. The nursing home must provide additional information to the Department of Health if the Department of Health requests 
the information in order to determine a resident's classification. 

D. Any change in resident class due to a semiannual assessment must be effective on the first day of the month following 
the date of the completion of the semiannual assessments. 

Subp. 3. Change in classification due to annual assessment by Department of Health. Any change in resident class due to 
an annual assessment by the Department of Health's QA&R team will be effective as of the first day of the month following the 
date of completion of the Department of Health's assessments. 

Subp. 4. Assessment upon return to the nursing home from a hospital. Residents returning to a nursing home after hospi-
talization must be assessed according to items A to D. 

A. A nursing home must assess any resident who has returned to the same nursing home after a hospital admission. The 
assessment must occur no more than five working days after the resident returns to the same nursing home. 

B. In addition to the assessment required in item A, residents who have returned to the same nursing home after hospital 
admission must be reassessed by the nursing home no less than 30 days and no more than 35 days after return from the hospital 
unless the nursing home's annual or semiannual reassessment occurs during the specified time period. 

C. A registered nurse shall perform the assessment on each resident according to QA&R procedures established by the 
Department of Health, including physical observation of the resident, review of the medical plan of care, and review of the resident's 
plan of care, and shall record the assessment on the assessment form. The registered nurse who performs the assessment shall sign 
the assessment form. Within five working days of the completion of the assesssment, the nursing home must forward to the 
Department of Health a request for a classification for any resident assessed upon return to the nursing home after a hospital 
admission. This request must include the assessment form and the resident's medical plan of care. Upon request, the nursing home 
must furnish the Department of Health with additional information needed to determine a resident's classification. 

D. Any change in resident class due to an assessment provided under item A must be effective on the date the resident 
returns to the nursing home from the hospital. Any change in resident class due to a reassessment provided under item B must be 
effective as of the first of the month following the assessment. 

Subp. 5. Change in resident class due to audits of assessments of nursing home residents. Any change in resident class due 
to a reclassification required by part 4656.0050 as proposed at State Register, Volume 11, pages 970 to 975 and as subsequently 
adopted must be retroactive to the effective date of the assessment audited. 

Subp. 6. False information. If the nursing home knowingly supplies inaccurate or false information in an assessment or a request 
for reconsideration, the commissioner shall apply the penalties in part 9549.0041, subpart 15. 

Subp. 7. Reconsideration of resident classification. Any request for reconsideration of a resident classification must be made 
under part 4656.0070 as proposed at State Register, Volume 11, pages 970 to 975 and as subsequently adopted. 

Subp. 8. Change in resident class due to request for reconsideration of resident classification. Any change in a resident 
class due to a request for reconsideration of the classification must be made in accordance with items A and B. 

A. The resident classification established by the Department of Health must be the classification that applies to the resident 
while any request for reconsideration under part 4656.0070 as proposed at State Register, Volume 11, pages 970 to 975 and as 
subsequently adopted is pending. 

B. Any change in a resident class due to a reclassification under part 4656.0070 as proposed at State Register, Volume 
11, pages 970 to 975 and as subsequently adopted must be effective as of the effective date of the classification established by the 
original assessment for which a reconsideration was requested. 

Subp. 9. Resident access to assessments and documentation. The nursing home must provide access to information regarding 
rates, assessments, and other documentation provided to the Department of Health in support of the resident's assessments to each 
nursing home resident or the resident's authorized representative according to items A to D. 

A. The nursing home must post a notice of its current rates for each resident class in a conspicuous place. The rates must 
be posted no later than five days after receipt by the nursing home. The nursing home may include a notice that the nursing home 
has chosen to appeal the rates under part 9549.0080. 

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. Strikc et4s indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike eti4s indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 
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B. The nursing home must provide written notice to each private paying resident or the person responsible for payment of 

any increase in the total payment rate established by the commissioner 30 days before the increase takes effect as required by 
Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.47, subdivision 2. The notice must specify the current classification of the resident. This item 
does not apply to adjustments in rates due to a necessary change in the resident's classification as a result of an assessment required 
in this part. 

C. The nursing home must provide each nursing home resident or the person responsible for payment with each classification 
letter received from the Department of Health within five days of the receipt of the classification letter. If the resident's classification 
has changed, the nursing home must include the current rate for the new classification with the classification letter. 

D. The nursing home must provide each nursing home resident or the resident's authorized representative with a copy of 
the assessment form and any other documentation provided to the Department of Health in support of the assessment within one 
working day of receipt of a written or verbal request from the resident or the resident's authorized representative. 

Department of Human Services 
Proposed Permanent Rules Relating to Nursing Home Payment Rate Determination 
Rules as Proposed 
9549.0060 DETERMINATION OF THE PROPERTY-RELATED PAYMENT RATE. 

Subpart 1 to 10. [Unchanged.] 
Subp. 11. Capacity days. The number of capacity days is determined under items A to C. 

A. and B. [Unchanged.] 
C. The commissioner shall waive the requirements of item B if a nursing home agrees in writing to subitems (1) to (3). 

(1) and (2) [Unchanged.] 
(3) The nursing home shall agree not to charge any private paying resident in a single bedroom a payment rate that 

exceeds the eta4 payment iae established in part 9519.0070,  subpart 4 by mere #an tea percent amount calculated under units 

The nursing home's average case mix score for the reporting year must be determined y dividing the nursing 
home's standardized resident days y the nursing home's resident days.  

The nursing home's average case mix operating cost payment rate must be determined y multiplying the nursing 
home's average score in unit the nursing home's adiusted prospective case mix operating cost payment rate for its 
resident class A. 

The nursing home's average total payment rate must be determined y adding together the nursing home's average 
case mix operating cost payment 	adiusted prospective care related payment 	adiusted prospective other operating cost 
payment 	real estate taxes and special assessment payment rate and property-related payment rate. 

The nursing home's maximum single bedroom adiustment must be determined y multiplying its average total 
payment rate calculated under unit j 	y ten percent.  

The nursing home's single bedroom adiustment which must not exceed the amount computed in unit 
to each 	payment rate established in 	9549.0070, subpart 1 to determine the nursing home's single bedroom rates. 

Subp. 12. [Unchanged.] 
Subp. 13. Determination of the property-related payment rate. The commissioner shall determine the property-related payment 

rate according to items A to H. 
A. [Unchanged.] 
B. The allowable historical property-related per diem shall be established according to subitems (1) and (2). 

(1) [Unchanged.] 
(2) For rate years beginning after June 30, 1986, the historical property-related cost per diem shall be the property- 

related payment rate established for the previous rate year unless 	nursing home's capacity days change. If the nursing home's  
capacity days change from one reporting year to the next for jy reason including a change in the number of licensed nursing 
home beds, a change in the election for computing capacity days as provided in subpart j or a change in the number of days in 
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the reporting year the historical property related p diem must be recalculated using the capacity days for the reporting year in 
which the change occurred. 

C. to H. [Unchanged.] 

Subp. 14. [Unchanged.] 

ADOPTED RULES 
The adoption of a rule becomes effective after the requirements of Minn. Stat. § 14.14-14.28 have been met and five working days after the 

rule is published in State Register, unless a later date is required by statutes or specified in the rule. 

If an adopted rule is identical to its proposed form as previously published, a notice of adoption and a citation to its previous State Register 
publication will be printed. 

If an adopted rule differs from its proposed form, language which has been deleted will be printed with strikeouts and new language will be 
underlined. The rule's previous State Register publication will be cited. 

An emergency rule becomes effective five working days after the approval of the Attorney General as specified in Minn. Stat. § 14.33 and 
upon the approval of the Revisor of Statutes as specified in § 14.36. Notice of approval by the Attorney General will be published as soon as 
practicable, and the adopted emergency rule will be published in the manner provided for adopted rules under § 14. 18. 

Board of Accountancy 

Adopted Permanent Rules Relating to License Nonrenewals 
The rules proposed and published at State Register, Volume 11, Number 8, pages 331-332, August 25, 1986 (11 S.R. 331) are 

adopted as proposed. 

Department of Human Services 
Adopted Permanent Rules Relating to Chemical Dependency Care for Public 

Assistance Recipients 
The rules proposed and published at State Register, Volume 10, Number 52, pages 2546-2556, June 23, 1986 (10 S.R. 2546) 

are adopted with the following modifications: 

Rules as Adopted 
9530.6600 CHEMICAL DEPENDENCY CARE FOR PUBLIC ASSISTANCE RECIPIENTS; GENERAL PROVISIONS. 

Subpart 1. Applicability. Parts 9530.6600 to 9530.6655 establish criteria that counties shall apply to determine the appropriate 
level of chemical dependency care for a client seeking treatment for chemical dependency and abuse problems which requires the 
expenditure of public funds for treatment. Parts 9530.6600 to 9530.6655 do not apply to court commitments under Minnesota 
Statutes, chapter 253B, or section 526.10.  

9530.605 DEFINITIONS. 

Subp. 9. Client. "Client" means an individual who is eligible for chemical dependency treatment funded under Minnesota 
Statutes, chapters 246, 256B, 256D, and 256E, and who has requested chemical dependency assessment services or f whom 
chemical dependency assessment services have been requested from a county. 

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. Strikc ett+s indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike et4s indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 
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Subp. 18. Inappropriate and harmful use. "Inappropriate and harmful use" means use of a chemical which exceeds social 
or legal standards of acceptability, the outcome of which is characterized by three or more of the following: 

A. weekly use to intoxication; 
B. inability to function in a social setting without becoming intoxicated; 
C. driving after consuming sufficient chemicals to be considered legally impaired under Minnesota Statutes, section 169.121, 

whether or not an arrest takes place; 
D. excessive spending on chemicals that results in an inability to meet financial obligations; 
E. loss of friends due to behavior while intoxicated; or 
F. chemical use that prohibits one from meeting work, school, family, or social obligations. 

9530.6610 COMPLIANCE PROVISIONS. 
Subpart 1. Assessment responsibility. The county shall provide a chemical use assessment as provided in part 9530.66 15 for 

all eligible persons clients who seek treatment or for whom treatment is sought for chemical abuse or dependency. Exccpt as 
provided in subpart 4 The assessor shall complete an assessment summary on a form prescribed by the commissioner for each 
eligible person client assessed for chemical dependency treatment services. The form shall be maintained in the client's case record. 

Organizations contracting with the department to provide a prepaid health plan that includes the provision of chemical dependency 
services to enrollees, and that utilizes funds authorized under Minnesota Statutes, chapters 256B and 256D, shall provide a chemical  
use assessment for enrollees who seek treatment or for whom treatment is sought as provided in part  9530.6615, and shall place 
enrollees in accordance with the criteria established in parts 9530.6625 to 9530.6650.  

Subp. 2. County records. The commissioner shall ensure compliance with parts 9530.6600 to 9530.6655 by requiring each 
county to have available for review records that include the following information: 

A. documentation of compliance with parts 9530.6600 to 9530.6655 for all clients seeking treatment for chemical abuse 
or dependency, including copies of placement policies and procedures; 

B. documentation of the qualifications of assessors in accordance with the standards established under part 9530.6615, 
subpart 2; and 

C. documentation of a plan for eight hours of in-service training or continuing education concerning or related to assessment 
skills and., treatment resources, or unique assessment and treatment needs of special populations for all assessors on an annual 
basis. 

.. 	 . . 	. Aftei July -1-;  1987, payment shall net be made for chemical dependency 
treatment scrvicci provided to clients who have net been assessed by the county as being in need of that level of service according 
osAandB 

A.Reimbursement will be made from funds authorized nader Minnesota Statutes, chapters 256B, 256D, and 256E only for 
the level of service found to be appropriate as a result of an assessment performed in compliance with parts 9530.6600 to 9530.6655. 

B-TA client placed in a state hospital to receive care and treatment for chemical abuse or dependency shall be assessed and 
placed according to parts 9530.6600 to 9530.6655. 

Subp. 4 3. County designee. The county may contract with public, nonprofit, or proprietary agencies or individuals identified  
in Minnesota Statutes, section 256E.08, subdivision , for the provision of assessments by a qualified assessor. An assessor under 
contract with the county shall have no direct shared financial interest or referral relationship resulting in shared financial gain with 
a treatment provider identified under part 9530.6600, subpart 2. 

Subp. 4. County designee variance. The county may request a variance from the commissioner to approve a county designee 
that does not meet the criteria under subpart 4 3 if the conditions under item A or B exist. The request for a variance must be 
submitted in writing and must document that the conditions in item A or B exist. 

A. A culturally specific service provider, or a service provider with a program designed to treat individuals of a specific  
age, sex, or sexual preference is available in the county and the service provider employs a qualified assessor. 

B. The county does not employ a sufficient number of qualified assessor assessors and the only qualified assessor assessors  
available in the county has 	a direct shared financial interest or a referral relationship resulting in shared financial gain with 
a treatment provider. 

A county designee providing assessments under a variance granted under subpart 6 5 shall not place clients in treatment. The 
county designee shall gather information required under part 9530.6620 and provide the local agency with the documentation 
required under part 9530.6615, subpart 4, items A to D. The local agency must make all placement decisions for clients assessed 
by a county designee under a variance. 
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Subp. 6 5. Review of variance request; notification. The commissioner shall review a variance request submitted by a county. 
If the county has demonstrated that a condition under subpart 4, item A or B exists, the commissioner shall approve the request. 
A variance requested and granted under subpart 4, item B, shall not extend for more than 12 months from the date of approval. 
If the commissioner denies a requested variance, the commissioner shall notify the county within 30 days of receipt of the variance 
request of the reasons for the denial. 
9530.6615 CHEMICAL USE ASSESSMENTS. 

Subpart 1. Assessment mandate. The county shall provide a chemical use assessment for each client seeking treatment 
whom treatment is sought for chemical dependency or chemical abuse problems before the client is placed in a program identified 
in part 9530.6600, subpart 2. The assessment must be done in a language understandable to the client and must be completed 
within the time limits specified under part 9550.0070. The county shall provide interpreters for the hearing impaired and foreign 
language interpretive services when necessary. 

Subp. 2. Staff performing assessment. Chemical use assessments must be conducted by qualified staff of the county or their 
designee in a manner that complies with parts 9530.6600 to 9530.6655. An individual is qualified to perform chemical use 
assessments if he or she annually completes a minimum of eight hours of in-service training or continuing education, documented 
under part 9530.6610, subpart 2, item C, and meets the criteria in one of the items listed below: 

A. The individual ia certified as a chemical dependency practitioner ec chemical depeadeney counselor by the Imtitute fec 
Chemical Dcpendency Profcsrional of Minncota, Ine has successfully completed 30 hours of classroom instruction on chemical  
dependency assessments has successfully completed one year of work experience in chemical dependency assessments either as 
an intern or as an employee, and has successfully completed two additional years of work experience in chemical dependency  
assessments or treatment before July j 1987. 

C. The individual has 	a baccalaureate degree in social work, nursing, sociology, human services, or psychology, 
has successfully completed 30 hours of classroom instruction on chemical dependency assessments, and has successfully completed 
a one year internship or one year of work experience in chemical dependency assessments. 

Subp. 3. Method of assessment. The method of assessment must include a personal interview with the client in order to make 
a finding about the extent of the problem with chemical use. It must also include collateral contacts and a review of relevant records 
or reports regarding the client consistent with confidentiality and data privacy provisions in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 13; sections 
144.343 and 254A.09; and Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, sections 2.1 to 2.67-1. If an assessor is unable to make collateral  
contacts, the assessor must include in the client's case record an explanation of why collateral contacts were not made. 

9530.6620 PLACEMENT INFORMATION. 
Subpart 1. Level of care determination. The information in items A to I must be considered when determining the level of 

care for a client. If a treatment provider identifies additional information that indicates that a client has not been placed in 
most appropriate level of 	the treatment provider shall in compliance with confidentiality and data privacy provisions in 
Minnesota Statutes, chapter j..j sections 144.343 and 254A.09; and Code of Federal Regulations, title 4 sections 2.1 and 2.67-
L provide the county with the additional information for the county to consider in determining whether the placement was made 
at the appropriate level of care and whether an alternative placement must be made. 
9530.6650 EXCEPTIONS TO PLACEMENT CRITERIA. 

Subpart 1. General exceptions. Clients may be placed in a program even though they do not meet the criteria established under 
parts 9530.6625 to 9530.6650 if one of the following exceptions applies: 

D. the client is placed by juvenile eew't ec probate a committing court commitment as defined in Minnesota Statutes, 
section 253B.02, subdivision 4; or 

EFHaCTIVE DATE. Parts 9530.6600 to 9530.6655 are effective January j 1987 unless otherwise specified.  

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. Strike eets indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike eets indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 
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Pursuant to the provisions of Minn. Stat. § 15.0412, subd. 6, an agency, in preparing proposed rules, may seek information or opinion from 

sources outside the agency. Notices of intent to solicit outside opinion must be published in the State Register and all interested persons afforded the 
opportunity to submit data or views on the subject, either orally or in writing. 

The State Register also publishes other official notices of state agencies, notices of meetings, and matters of public interest. 

Ethical Practices Board 
Notice of 1987 Campaign Expenditure Limits 

In accordance with Minn. Stat. § § 1OA.25 and 1OA.255, the following are nonelection year campaign expenditure limits for 
1987, by office sought or held: Governor and Lt. Governor, $283,643; Attorney General, $47,274; Secretary of State, State 
Treasurer, State Auditor (each), $23,637; State Senator, $7,092; and State Representative, $3,546. 

Minnesota Housing Finance Agency 
Notice of Hearing on Bond Issue 

The Minnesota Housing Finance Agency will hold a public hearing at 1:00 p.m. on Tuesday, December23, 1986, at the Minnesota 
Housing Finance Agency, in St. Paul, Minnesota for the purpose of taking public testimony regarding its proposed issuance of 
single family mortgage revenue bonds in a principal amount not exceeding $55,000,000. 

The proceeds of the Bonds will make available approximately $53,000,000 in lower interest mortgage loans to certain homebuyers 
of single family owner/occupied residences located throughout the State of Minnesota, which homebuyers qualify under the Agency's 
Program and Federal Law. 

Additional information relating to the Agency's Program and the Bonds may be obtained from Minnesota Housing Finance 
Agency, 400 Sibley Street, Suite 300, St. Paul, Minnesota 55101, Attn: John Silvis. 

James Solem 
Executive Director 

Department of Human Services Chemical Dependency Program 
and Mental Health Program Divisions 

Notice of Legislative Hearing on the Federal Alcohol, Drug Abuse and Mental Health 
Block Grant, and the Availability of a Statement Describing the Intended Use of 
Alcohol and Drug Abuse Funds from the Alcohol, Drug Abuse, and Mental Health 
Block Grant-Federal Fiscal 1987 

Notice is hereby given that the Health and Human Services Subcommittee of the Senate Finance Committee and the Human 
Services Division of the House Appropriations Committee will conduct a joint public hearing on the use of the Federal Alcohol, 
Drug Abuse and Mental Health Block Grant. The hearing will be held December 9, 1986 at 10:00 AM in Room 120, State Capitol. 

Notice is also given that the Department of Human Services has available a Description of Intended Use for the alcohol and 
drug abuse funds available to the State of Minnesota from the Federal Fiscal Year 1987 Alcohol, Drug Abuse and Mental Health 
Block Grant. This description is being made available to the public for comment in accord with Part B, Section 1915(d) of Title 
IX, Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1981. 

All interested or affected persons or groups are invited to comment. Copies of the description are available from: 
Sheila Vadnais 
Chemical Dependency Program Division 
Department of Human Services 
444 Lafayette Road 
St. Paul, MN 55155 
(612) 296-4618 

Comments on the proposed plan may be directed to the same address and phone number. Oral requests and comments will be 
received during normal business hours. 
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Department of Labor and Industry 
Prevailing Wage Division 
Notice of Certified Prevailing Wage Rates for Commercial Construction 

On December 1, 1986 the commissioner will certify prevailing wage rates for commercial construction projects in the following 
Minnesota counties: Anoka, Benton, Big Stone, Carver, Chippewa, Chisago, Dakota, Douglas, Grant, Hennepin, Isanti, Kanabec, 
Kandiyohi, McLeod, Meeker, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Pine, Pope, Ramsey, Scott, Sherbume, Stearns, Stevens, Swift, Todd, Traverse, 
Washington and Wright. 

A copy of the determined wage rates for Minnesota counties may be obtained by contacting the State Register and Public 
Documents Division, 117 University Avenue, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155. The charges for the cost of copying and mailing are 
$.50 for the first county and $. 30 for any subsequent copies of the same or other counties. For all 87 counties the charge is $25.00. 
A sales tax of 6% must be added to all orders. 

A check or money order payable to the State of Minnesota must accompany each request. 
Steve Keefe, Commissioner 
Department of Labor and Industry 

Department of Labor and Industry 
Prevailing Wage Division 
Notice of Correction to Prevailing Wage Rates in Fillmore and Olmsted Counties for 

Highway Heavy Construction Projects 
Due to an error of omission, revisions have been made to prevailing wage rates certified October 1, 1986 for highway and heavy 

construction projects in Fillmore and Olmsted counties. 
The revised rates may be obtained by contacting the State Register and Public Documents Division, 117 University Avenue, St. 

Paul, Minnesota 55155. 
Steve Keefe, Commissioner 
Department of Labor and Industry 

Department of Transportation 
Notice to Consulting Engineers - Registered Civil and Structural 

The Minnesota Department of Transportation (MnIDOT) anticipates retaining Bridge Design Consultants to design and prepare 
construction plans for a limited number of bridges of average complexity during 1987. 

Applicants must have an office in Minnesota staffed to handle the work. Recent experience in the production of bridge plans 
for the State Highway System, the County State Aid Highway System, or equivalent, is required. 

Eligible design firms desiring to be considered as design contractors are asked to submit a brochure or resume giving qualifications 
and experience to D. J. Fleming, State Bridge Engineer, 610D Transportation Building, Mn/DOT, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155. 
Identify personnel to conduct the work and detail their training and experience. Brochures and resumes will be received until 4:00 
P.M., December 19, 1986. Applicants may be requested to interview at the Mn/DOT Building in St. Paul. 

Names of selected firms will be retained on file with Mn/DOT for consideration during 1987. 

Department of Transportation 
Petition of the City of Andover for a Variance from State Aid Administrative 

Requirements for the determination of the Maintenance Monies 
Notice is hereby given that the City Council of the City of Andover has made a written request to the Commissioner of 

Transportation pursuant to Minnesota Rules § 8820.3300 for a variance from requirements for establishing their 1986 Maintenance 
Allocation. 
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The request is for a variance from Minnesota Rules for State Aid Operations § 8820.1400, adopted pursuant to Minnesota Statutes 
Chapter 161 and 162, so as to permit the City of Andover to increase their 1986 Maintenance Allotment by $41,431. 

Any person may file a written objection to the variance request with the Commissioner of Transportation, Transportation Building, 
St. Paul, Minnesota 55155. 

If a written objection is received within 20 days from the date of this notice in the State Register, the variance can be granted 
only after a contested case hearing has been held on the request. 
Dated: 21 November 1986 

Richard P. Braun 
Commissioner of Transportation 

Department of Transportation 
Petition of the City of St. Paul for a Variance from State Aid Standards for Design 

Standards 
Notice is hereby given that the City Council of the City of St. Paul has made a written request to the Commissioner of Transportation 

pursuant to Minnesota Rules § 8820.3300 for a variance from minimum standards for a reconstruction project on Lexington Parkway 
from 125' South of Montana Avenue to Larpenteur Avenue. 

The request is for a variance from Minnesota Rules for State Aid Operations § 8820.9912 adopted pursuant to Minnesota Statutes 
Chapter 161 and 162, so as to permit a roadway width of 36' with no parking permitted instead of the required width of 52' with 
no parking permitted. 

Any person may file a written objection to the variance request with the Commissioner of Transportation, Transportation Building, 
St. Paul, Minnesota 55155. 

If a written objection is received within 20 days from the date of this notice in the State Register, the variance can be granted 
only after a contested case hearing has been held on the request. 
Dated: 21 November 1986 

Richard P. Braun 
Commissioner of Transportation 

Department of Transportation 
Petition of the City of St. Paul for a Variance from State Aid Standards for Design 

Standards 
Notice is hereby given that the City Council of the City of St. Paul has made a written request to the Commissioner of Transportation 

pursuant to Minnesota Rules § 8820.3300 for a variance from minimum standards for a reconstruction project on Sixth Street 
between Hope Street and Cypress Street. 

The request is for a variance from Minnesota Rules for State Aid Operations § 8820.99 19 adopted pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, 
Chapter 161 and 162, so as to permit a street width of 42' with no parking allowed and a design speed of 15 miles per hour instead 
of the required street width of 46' with no parking allowed and a design speed of 30 miles per hour. 

Any person may file a written objection to the variance request with the Commissioner of Transportation, Transportation Building, 
St. Paul, Minnesota 55155. 

If a written objection is received within 20 days from the date of this notice in the State Register, the variance can be granted 
only after a contested case hearing has been held on the request. 
Dated: 21 November 1986 

Richard P. Braun 
Commissioner of Transportation 

PAGE 1010 
	

STATE REGISTER, Monday 1 December 1986 	 (CITE 11 S.R. 1010) 



STATE CONTRACTS 	  
Pursuant to the provisions of Minn. Stat. § 15.0412, subd. 6, an agency must make reasonable effort to publicize the availability of any 

services contract or professional and technical services contract which has an estimated cost of over $2,000. 

Department of Administration procedures require that notice of any consultant services contract or professional and technical services contract 
which has an estimated cost of over $10,000 be printed in the Stale Register. These procedures also require that the following information be 
included in the notice: name of contact person, agency name and address, description of project and tasks, cost estimate, and final submission date 
of completed contract proposal. Certain quasi-state agencies are exempted from some of the provisions of this statute. 

Commodities contracts with an estimated value of' $5,000 or more are listed under the Procurement Division, Department of Administration. All 
bids are open for 7-10 days before bidding deadline. For bid specifics, time lines, and other general information, contact the appropriate buyers by 
calling 296-6152. If the appropriate buyer is not available, contact Harvey Leach or Barbara Jolly at 296-3779. 

Department of Administration: Procurement Division 
Contracts and Requisitions Open for Bid 
Call 296-6152 for Referral to Specific Buyers. 

Bid Closing Department or Delivery 
Commodity for Bid Date at 2 pm Division Point Requisition # 

U.P.M. Bituminous Mix Dec. 1, 1986 Transportation Morris 79-450 B 
Spectrophotometer Dec. 1, 1986 State University St. Cloud 26-073-19264 
Fiber Optics Power Meter Dec. 1, 1986 State University St. Cloud 26-073- 19195 
Furnish & Install Automatic Van Dec. 1, 1986 Jobs & Training St. Paul 21-607-41431 
Lift-Rebid 
Methanol Alcohol Dec. 2, 1986 Transportation Various Various 
Ammonia Dec. 2, 1986 Various Various Various 
Dump Trucks Dec. 2, 1986 Transportation Various Sch. 1130 
Dental Lab Work Dec. 2, 1986 Correctional Facility Stillwater & Oak Various 

Park 
Oscilloscope Dec. 2, 1986 Transportation St. Paul 79-000-72465 
Delco Remy Service Parts Dec. 2, 1986 Transportation and Natural Various Price Contract 

Resources 
Repair Aircraft Dec. 2, 1986 Transportation: Aeronautics St. Paul 79-000-72403 
Upgrade of CPT System Dec. 2, 1986 State University St. Cloud 26-073- 19221 
Aggregates Dec. 2, 1986 Transportation Owatonna 79-650 A 
Used Van Dec. 2, 1986 Jobs & Training St. Paul 21-605-49663 
Computer Software Dec. 2, 1986 Community College Bloomington 27-156- 10090 
Computer Cable Dec. 2, 1986 State University Mankato 26-071-17112 
Generators Dec. 2, 1986 Transportation Various 79-382-0128 etc. 
Bending & Forming Machines Dec. 3, 1986 Administration: Plant Mgmt. St. Paul 02-307-51238 
Display System Dec. 3, 1986 Energy & Economic Devel. St. Paul 22-400-01401 
Sand Spreaders Dec. 3, 1986 Transportation St. Paul 79-382-01162 
Adaptive Equip. for Van Dec. 3, 1986 Jobs & Training West St. Paul 21-606-70446 
Genuine Parts for John Deere 
md. Tractors, Wheel Loaders, 

Dec. 3, 1986 Various Various Price Contract 

Motor Graders & Mowers 
Spectrophotometer Dec. 4, 1986 State University Winona 26-074-11192 
Emergency Lights Dec. 4, 1986 Public Safety St. Paul 07-500-39583 
Automation System Dec. 4, 1986 School for the Arts St. Paul 25-000-00165 
Shower Room Units Dec. 4, 1986 MN Academy for the Deaf Faribault 37-001-70376 
Snow Removal Contract Dec. 5, 1986 Iron Range Resources & Re-

habilitation Board 
Eveleth Price-Contract 

Radio Comm. Equip. Dec. 5, 1986 Public Safety St. Paul 07-600-39592 
Stainless Steel Tableware Dec. 5, 1986 Various State Agencies Various Price-Contract 
Galvanized Metalware Dec. 5, 1986 Various State Agencies Various Price-Contract 
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State Designer Selection Board 
Request for Proposal for University of Minnesota—Transportation/Office Building 
TO REGISTERED PROFESSIONALS IN MINNESOTA: 

The State Designer Selection Board has been requested to select designer University of Minnesota/Minneapolis Campus-
Transportation/Office Building Design firms who wish to be considered for this project should submit proposals on or before 4:00 
P.M., December 23, 1986, to George Iwan, Executive Secretary, State Design Selection Board, Room G- 10, Administration 
Building, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155-1495. 

The proposal must conform to the following: 
1. Six copies of the proposal are required. 

2. All data must be on 8½" x 11" sheets, soft bound; the proposal shall not consist of more than 20 faces. 
3. The cover sheet of the proposal must be clearly labeled with the project number, as listed in number 7 below, together with 

the designer's firm name, address, telephone number, and the name of the contact person. 
4. Mandatory Proposal contents in sequence: 

a) Identity of firm and an indication of its legal status, i.e. corporation, partnership, etc. If the response is from a joint 
venture, this information must be provided for firms comprising the joint venture. 

b) Names of the persons who would be directly responsible for the major elements of the work, including consultants, 
together with brief descriptions of their qualifications. If desired, identify roles that such persons played in projects which are 
relevant to the project at hand. 

c) A commitment to enter the work promptly, if selected, by engaging the consultants, and assigning the persons named 
in 4b above along with adequate staff to meet the requirements of work. 

d) A list of State and University of Minnesota current and past commissions under contract or awarded to the prime firm(s) 
submitting this proposal during the three (3) years immediately preceding the date of this request for proposal. The prime firm(s) 
shall list and total all fees associated with these projects whether or not the fees have been received or are anticipated. In addition, 
the prime firm(s) shall indicate the amount of fees listed which were paid directly to engineers or other speciality consultants 
employed on the projects listed pursuant to the above. 

e) A section containing graphic material (photos, plans, drawings, etc.) as evidence of the firm's qualification for the work. 
The graphic material must be identified. It must be work in which the personnel listed in "c" have had significant participation 
and their roles must be clearly described. It must be noted if the personnel named were, at the time of the work, employed by 
other than their present firms. 

The proposal shall consist of no more than twenty (20) faces. Proposals not conforming to the parameters set forth in this request 
will be disqualified and discarded without further examination. 

5. Statutory Proposal Requirements 
In accordance with the provisions of Minnesota Statutes, 1981 Supplement, Section 363.073; for all contracts estimated to be 

in excess of $50,000.00, all responders having more than 20 full-time employees at any time during the previous 12 months must 
have an affirmative action plan approved by the Commissioner of Human Rights before a proposal may be accepted. The proposal 
will not be accepted unless it includes one of the following: 

a) A copy of the finn's current certificate of compliance issued by the Commissioner of Human Rights; or 
b) A statement certifying that firm has a current certificate of compliance issued by the Commissioner of Human Rights; 

or 
c) A statement certifying that the firm has not had more than 20 full-time employees in Minnesota at any time during the 

previous 12 months; or 
d) A statement certifying that the firm has an application pending for a certificate of compliance. 

6. Design firms wishing to have their proposals returned after the Board's review must follow one of the following procedures: 
a) Enclose a self-addressed stamped postal card with the proposals. Design firms will be notified when material is ready 

to be picked up. Design firms will have two (2) weeks to pick up their proposals, after which time the proposals will be discarded; 
or 

b) Enclose a self-addressed stamped mailing envelope with the proposals. When the Board has completed its review, 
proposals will be returned using this envelope. 
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In accordance with existing statute, the Board will retain one copy of each proposal submitted. 

Any questions concerning the Board's procedures or their schedule for the project herein described may be referred to George 
Iwan at (612) 296-4656. 

7) PROJECT-12-86 

Transportation/Office Building 
University of Minnesota 
Minneapolis, Minnesota 

The University of Minnesota is seeking an architect to design a Transportation/Office Building at the Minneapolis Campus. 

The total cost of this is estimated at $4,100,000.00. The funding will come from University funds. Facility Program documents 
are being finalized. 

Below is a brief description of the project: 

The University of Minnesota plans to construct a new transportation/office building located on the East Bank of the Minneapolis 
campus. The new three story facility will consist of approximately 57,000 gsf with an enclosed vehicle storage area of approximately 
10,000 gsf. The estimated construction cost is approximately $3,460,000.00. The major components of the project costs of: 

—First Floor—(19,000 gsf) 

• Transportation Services offices 

• Office Equipment Rental offices 

• Campus Mail facilities/loading dock 

• Parking Services facilities 

—Second and Third Floor—(38,000 gsf) 

• Unassigned office space to be initially designed as "shell" space 

—Parking/Service Yard 

• 25 secured indoor spaces (10,000 gsf) 

• 10 visitor 

• 2 official 

• 2 handicapped 

• staff contract parking 

The site, located north of Williams Arena, is bounded by 4th Street S.E., Oak Street SE., 5th Street S.E. and 19th Street S.E. 
Two existing buildings will remain on the site with an addition removed from one. The proposed new University transit way 
(partially elevated) will cut across the northwest corner of the site. Site utilization will be an important part of the project. Yard 
service and storage areas are required for the new facility and one of the existing buildings. 

Questions regarding this project may be referred to Clinton N. Hewitt at 625-7355. 
Richard F. Whiteman, Chairman 
State Designer Selection Board 

State Designer Selection Board 
Request for Proposal for Coffman Memorial Union—University of Minnesota 
TO REGISTERED PROFESSIONALS IN MINNESOTA: 

The State Designer Selection Board has been requested to select designer for the Coffman Memorial Union—Ground Floor 
Renovation at the University of Minnesota/Minneapolis Campus. Design firms who wish to be considered for this project should 
submit proposals on or before 4:00 P.M., December 23, 1986, to George Iwan, Executive Secretary, State Designer Selection 
Board, Room G-lO, Administration Building, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155-1495. 

The proposal must conform to the following: 

1. Six copies of the proposal will be required. 

2. All data must be on 8½" x 11" sheets, soft bound. 

(CITE 11 S.R. 1013) 
	

STATE REGISTER, Monday 1 December 1986 	 PAGE 1013 



STATE CONTRACTS 	
3. The cover sheet of the proposal must be clearly labeled with the project number, as listed in number 7 below, together with 

the designer's firm name, address, telephone number and the name of the contact person. 
4. Mandatory Proposal contents in sequence: 

a) Identity of firm and an indication of its legel status, i.e. corporation, partnership, etc. If the response is from a joint 
venture, this information must be provided for firms comprising the joint venture. 

b) Names of the persons who would be directly responsible for the major elements of the work, including consultants, 
together with brief descriptions of their qualifications. If desired, identify roles that such persons played in projects which are 
relevant to the project at hand. 

c) A commitment to enter the work promptly, if selected, by engaging the consultants, and assigning the persons named 
4b above along with adequate staff to meet the requirements of work. 

d) A list of State and University of Minnesota current and past commissions under contract or awarded to the prime firm(s) 
submitting this proposal during the three (3) years immediately preceding the date of this request for proposal. The prime firm(s) 
shall list and total all fees associated with these projects whether or not the fees have been received or are anticipated. In addition, 
the prime firm(s) shall indicate the amount of fees listed which were paid directly to engineers or other specialty consultants 
employed on the projects listed pursuant to the above. 

e) A section containing graphic material (photos, plans, drawings, etc.) as evidence of the firm's qualification for the work. 
The graphic material must be identified. It must be work in which the personnel listed in "c" have had significant participation 
and their roles in which the personnel listed in "c" have had significant participation and their roles must be clearly described. It 
must be noted if the personnel named were, at the time of the work, employed by other than their present firms. 

The proposal shall consist of no more than twenty (20) faces. Proposals not conforming to the parameters set forth in this request 
will be qualified and discarded without further examination. 

5. Statutory Proposal Requirements: 
In accordance with the provisions of Minnesota Statutes, 1981 Supplement, Section 363.073; for all contracts estimated to be 

in excess of $50,000.00, all responders having more than 20 full-time employees at any time during the previous 12 months must 
have an affirmative action plan approved by the Commissioner of Human Rights before a proposal may be accepted. The proposal 
will not be accepted unless it includes one of the following: 

a) A copy of your firm's current certificate of compliance issued by the Commissioner of Human Rights; or 
b) A statement certifying that firm has a current certificate of compliance issued by the Commissioner of Human Rights; 

or 
c) A statement certifying that the firm has not had more than 20 full-time employees in Minnesota at any time during the 

previous 12 months; or 
d) A statement certifying that the firm has an application pending for a certificate of compliance. 

6. Design firms wishing to have their proposals returned after the Board's review must follow one of the following procedures: 
a) Enclose a self-addressed stamped postal card with the proposals. Design firms will be notified when material is ready 

to be picked up. Design firms will have two (2) weeks to pick up their proposals, after which time the proposals will be discarded; 
or 

b) Enclose a self-addressed stamped mailing envelope with the proposals. When the Board has completed its review, 
proposals will be returned using this envelope. 

In accordance with existing statute, the Board will retain one copy of each proposal submitted. 
Any questions concerning the Board's procedures or their schedule for the project herein described may be referred to George 

Iwan at (612) 296-4656. 
7) PROJECT-11-86 

Coffman Memorial Union 
Ground Floor Renovation 
University of Minnesota 
Minneapolis, Minnesota 

The University of Minnesota is seeking an architect to design the Coffman Memorial Union—Ground Floor Renovation at the 
University of Minnesota/Minneapolis Campus. 

The total cost of this project is estimated at $850,000.00 which includes fees, furnishings and equipment. 
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Funding for the Project will come from Internal University funds. 

Below is a brief description of the Project: 

The University of Minnesota plans to renovate much of the Ground Floor of Coffman Memorial Union located on the Minneapolis 
campus. The project consists of the remodeling of approximately 43,000 gsf in two phases, summer of 1987 and summer of 1988. 
The estimated construction cost is approximately $640,000.00. The major components of the project consist of: 

• The "Little Brown Jug" (a food service area)—Access, serving and seating areas to he remodeled/upgraded with current 
serving technologies and decor (approximately 10,700 gsf, Phase I, 1987). 

• "The In" (a food service area)—To be remodeled into a submarine sandwich shop (approximately 1,600 gsf, Phase I, 
1987). 

• The "Gopher Court" (a commons type space)—To be renovated to improve circulation and to update decor (approximately 
11,000 gsf, Phase II, 1988). 

• The "Parlor" (containing two specialty food service areas)—To be remodeled/upgraded (approximately 3,700 gsf, Phase 
II, 1988). 

• The "Great Hall" (a ballroom and meeting room)—To be renovated to improve circulation and flexibility (approximately 
15,700 gsf, Phase II, 1988). 

• Plans need to be developed for improving access to the Basement (Phase II, 1988). 

• Interior design ability and experience is important. 

• A food service consultant will be retained by the University to provide detailed equipment bid documents, serving layouts, 
and labor productivity consultation. 

Questions regarding this project may be referred to Clinton N. Hewitt at 625-7355. 
Richard F. Whiteman, Chairman 
State Designer Selection Board 

Department of Health 
Request for Proposals for Producing Four Video Documentaries 

The Center for Nonsmoking and Health of the Minnesota Department of Health is seeking proposals from agencies or individuals 
interested in competing for a contract for producing four high-quality video documentaries. The videos produced would be based 
on existing footage of an interview with a 47-year-old Minnesotan named Elain Knox-Wagner, who had lung cancer and wanted, 
before she died, to share with others the price they may pay for smoking. 

The contractor for this project will produce one broadcase-quality, 28-minute videotape documentary and three shorter (10- to 
15-minute) topical versions. The contractor will be expected to film three or more additional interviews, which may involve some 
out-of-state travel. Applicants must demonstrate the creative, technical, administrative, and fiscal capability to complete this project. 

The anticipated amount of this contract is not more than $23,000.00, not including travel costs. The estimated starting date is 
February 23, 1987 with an estimated end date of May 29, 1987. 

Agencies or individuals interested in bidding for this contract should request a copy of the Request for Proposal from: 

Darlene Zirk 
Center for Nonsmoking and Health 
Minnesota Department of Health 
717 S.E. Delaware St. 
P.O. Box 9441 
Minneapolis, MN 55440 
612/623-5272 

The deadline for submitting proposals is 4:30 p.m., Monday, January 12, 1987. Eligible applicants will be asked to participate 
in an interview with a review committee, and to show two or more examples of their previous video productions, preferably in 
the health or human services area. The selection of a contractor from those who have submitted proposals will be announced on 
January 26, 1987. 

(CITE 11 S.R. 1015) 
	

STATE REGISTER, Monday 1 December 1986 	 PAGE 1015 



NON-STATE PUBLIC CONTRACTS 	
The State Register also serves as a central marketplace for contracts let out on bid by the public sector. The Register meets state and 

federal guidelines for statewide circulation of public notices. Any tax-supported institution or government jurisdiction may advertise 
contracts and requests for proposals from the private sector. 

It is recommended that contracts and RFPs include the following: 1) name of contact person; 2) institution name, address, and 
telephone number; 3) brief description of project and tasks; 4) cost estimate; and 5) final submission date of completed contract 
proposal. Allow at least three weeks from publication date (four weeks from date article is submitted for publication). Surveys show that 
subscribers are interested in hearing about contracts for estimates as low as $1,000. Contact the editor for further details. 

Metropolitan Council of the Twin Cities Area 
Invitation for Sealed Bids to Print the METRO MONITOR 

The Metropolitan Council, 300 Metro Square Bldg., St. Paul 55101, is requesting sealed bids to print the METRO MONITOR. 
Specifications for printing the publication can be obtained by contacting Nadine Farrington, publications unit, at 291 -6478. 
Sealed bids will be accepted by the Metropolitan Council until 4 p.m. Dec. 8, 1986. The Council's purchasing officer will open 

the sealed bids publicly in the Council offices at 10 a.m. Dec. 9. 
All sealed bids shall be marked "Bids to print Metro Monitor—to be opened on Dec. 9, 1986." Bids shall be mailed or delivered 

to Nadine Farrington, Communications Department, Metropolitan Council, 300 Metro Square Bldg., St. Paul 55101. 
The Metropolitan Council reserves the right to reject any or all bids, and to waive any minor irregularity or deviation from the 

specifications. 
Dated: 18 November 1986 

Sandra S. Gardebring, Chair 

Metropolitan Council of the Twin Cities Area 
Request for Proposals for Evaluating the Metropolitan Housing Authority's Internal 

Operations 
The Metropolitan Council is seeking proposals from qualified firms for assistance in evaluating its Metropolitan Housing 

Authority's (HRA) internal operations. The consultant will review the HRA's administrative structure, staffing level, processing 
procedures and work methods and propose cost-effective changes to increase the productivity and efficiency of program operations 
while maintaining or increasing the service delivery level, consistent with federal program requirements. 

Copies of the Request for Proposals may be obtained by requesting same from: Mr. John R. Harrington, Metropolitan Council, 
300 Metro Square Building, St. Paul, MN 55101. 

Proposals are to be submitted to the Metropolitan Council by 3:00 p.m. January 2, 1987. Inquiries regarding this request should 
be directed to Mr. Harrington (612) 291-6324. 
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SUPREME COURT DECISIONS 	
Decisions Filed Friday 21 November 1986 
Compiled by Wayne 0. Tschimperle, Clerk 
C7-85-1357, C7-85-1665, C9-85-1666 In the Matter of the Welfare of: L.Z., C.R.P. and S.L.P. Court of Appeals. 
For the offense of habitual truancy, the child must (1) be absent from school for the requisite number of days, (2) without a lawful 
excuse, and (3) by his or her own choice or neglect. 
School attendance records are admissible as a business records exception, over hearsay and confrontation clause objections, to 
show the child was absent on a particular day, what excuse, if any, was offered by the parent, or if no parental excuse was offered; 
the records are not admissible to show the child was "absenting himself" but this can be shown by other evidence such as the 
child's admission to school authorities. 
The evidence in two of the cases is sufficient to sustain the finding of habitual truancy; in the case of the third juvenile, the evidence 
is insufficient. 
Affirmed in part and reversed in part. Simonett, J. 
C1-85-1645 Vera L. Wagner, et al. v. Thomas J. Obert Enterprises, petitioner, Appellant. Court of Appeals. 
The trial court did not err in submitting primary assumption of risk to the jury in this roller-skating accident case. 
The trial court erred by admitting a doctor's notes on accident causation as an admission of a party, but, because the doctor would 
have and did testify, the error was harmless. 
Plaintiffs waived any objection to admission of an accident report. Admission of photographs of "Skate At Your Own Risk" signs 
was within the trial court's discretion. 
Reversed. Simonett, J. 
C9-84-1253 Knutson Construction Company, petitioner, Appellant v. St. Paul Fire and Marine Insurance Company, et 
al, United States Fire Insurance Company, Northbrook Excess and Surplus Insurance Company, Integrity Insurance 
Company, et al. Court of Appeals. 
Building damage sustained by an owner as a result of a breach of a construction contract due to faulty workmanship or the use of 
defective materials by a general contractor, who had exclusive responsibility for the construction of the building, or its subcontractors, 
is a business risk to be borne by the general contractor and not by a comprehensive general liability insurer which had issued a 
policy containing a completed operations and broad form property damage endorsement. 
Affirmed. Kelley, J. 
C1-85-1967 State of Minnesota v. David Brian Sutherlin, Appellant. Ramsey County. 
Defendant received a fair trial and was properly convicted of two counts of first-degree murder. 
Affirmed. Coyne, J. 

ERRATA 
Office of the Secretary of State 
Annual Compilation of State Agencies: Notices of Vacancies (Application and 

Appointment Procedure) 
ADVISORY COUNCIL ON PLUMBING CODE AND EXAMINATIONS 

Correction to notice published in Volume 11, Number 18, Page 786. 
Membership should read as follows: 

APPOINTMENTS PENDING 
ADVISORY COUNCIL ON PLUMBING CODE AND EXAMINATIONS: 717 Delaware St. S.E., Mpls 55440; (612)623-
5328; (M.S. § 326.41; 6/30/83). 

Examines and licenses plumbers; recommends revisions and amendments to the plumbing code and licensing rules. Seven 
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members, appointed by the Commissioner of Health, include I journeyman plumber, 1 master plumber, and a representative of 
the commissioner. Bi-annual meetings at the Department of Health, 717 Delaware St. S. E., Mpls.; members receive expenses. 
CURRENT MEMBERS: 
*Belljn , Milton; 3828 Kipling Ave S, St Louis Pk 55416; (612)623-5517; Hennepin; (83/1 1-87/01); CDO3; LD44B; M. 
*MaJloI.y, Robert; Walker 56484; (218)547-1684; Cass; (83/01-87/01); CDO7; LDO4; M; W. 
*Schwab, Douglas; 370 Oakcrest Ln, Roseville 55113; (612)298-4786; Ramsey; (83/01-87/01); CDO4; LD63B; M; DFL; W. 
Hendrickson, Sivert; 2005 Sumac Ln, Bumsville 55337; (612)435-5392; Dakota; (84/01-88/01); CDO2; LD53B; M; IR; W. 
Lichliter, Ralph Jr; 4075 Ensign Ave N, Mpls 55427; (612)546-6153; Hennepin; (84/01-88/01); CDO5; LD43; M; DFL; W. 
Mindrum, Joseph; 90 Crocus P1, St Paul 55102; (612)222-7047; Ramsey; (84/01-88/01); CDO4; LD65A; M. 
Nelsen, Charles; 1823 16 1/2 St NW, Rochester 55901; (507)282-8128; Olmsted; (84/01-88/01); CDO1; LD33A; M; W. 
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10% Discount 
through 

December 31, 1986 

DOCUMENTS DIVISION 

Publications, Services, Subscriptions 
Order Form on Back 
For Information, Call 297-3000 
SUBSCRIPTIONS: 
State Register. Minnesota's official weekly publication for agency rules and notices, executive orders of the Governor, state con-
tracts, Supreme Court Calendar, Supreme Court and Tax Court Decisions. Annual subscription $130; Trial Subscription (13 
weeks) $40.00; Single copies $3.50. 

Workers Compensation Decisions. Volume 39. Selected landmark decisions of the Worker's Compensation Court of Appeals. 
Annual subscription, quarterly updates. $95.00. 

SERVICES: 

Mailing Lists. Lists of Minnesota licensed professionals and permit holders. Write or call (612) 297-2552 for a free mailing list 
catalog which contains available lists, selections, formats, pricing and ordering information. 

Minnesota's Seasons. Catalog of lake maps, fishing guides, bikeway maps, cookbooks, travel guides, and more. Free. 

Minnesota State Documents Center 1986 Catalog. List of publications available through Minnesota Documents Center. Free. 

State Register Binder. Durable 3½ inches, forest green binders imprinted with the State Register logo. $6.50 plus 39 tax. 

* These publications require no postage and handling fees 

Favor your clients, family and 
friends with these holiday specials 
North Country Cabin Cooking—More than 300 quick 'n easy sure-to-
please recipes. Soups, salads, main dishes and more. Code No. 19-45. 
$8.95 $8.05. 

Ski Minnesota—A cross country skiers guide to Minneosta, Northern 
Wisconsin, and Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Code No. 19-68. $11.99 
$10.79. 

Wild Rice—Star of the North—One hundred fifty recipes for a gourmet 
grain. Code No. 19-57. $12.95 $11.65. 

The Spirit of Winter Camping—A wilderness guide to cold weather 
camping. How to have fun safely. Code No. 19-67. 	99 $5.39. 

Minnesota Heritage Cookbook Il—Recipes and menu ideas for healthy 
living. 1,000 recipes. Code No. 19-58. $10.00 $9.00. 

TO ORDER: Use the handy order form on the back cover. Please include 6% sales tax and $1.50 postage and handling. Prepayment required. 
Send to Minnesota Documents Division, 117 University Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55155. (612) 297-3000. VISA/MasterCard 
orders accepted over phone. Please include daytime phone. 

Publication editors: As a public service, please reprint this ad in your publication, either as is. reduced, or redesigned to suit your format. 



STATE OS?.UNNOTA 

    

MasterCard. 

        

Metro area (612) 297-3000 
In Minnesota toll-free 1-800-652-9747 

Minnesota Documents Division 
117 University Avenue • St. Paul, Minnesota 55155 

Metro area 612-297-3000 
Department of 
Adlrden In Minnesota, toll free 1-800-652-9747 

Second Class 
U.S. Postage 

Paid 
Pennit No. 

326630 
St. Paul, MN 

Please notify us of any address changes so 
that we can continue to give you our best 
service. Include your old mailing label to 
speed your service. 
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For Your Convenience, photocopy this order blank 
TO ORDER: 

Complete attached order blank. Include either your 
VISA/Mastercard number with the expiration date, or a 
check/money order made out to the State of Minne-
sota. Orders by phone are accepted when purchasing 
with your VISA/Mastercard or if you have a customer 
deposit account. Please include a phone number 
where you can be reached during the day in case we 
have questions about your order. 
Please include 6% sales tax and $1.50 postage and 
handling. 
PREPAYMENT REQUIRED. 

Merchandise may be returned if it is in resalable con-
dition. 

NOTE: 

State Register and other 
subscriptions do not require sales tax 
or postage and handling fees. 

Prices subject to change without notice. 

Please allow about6weeks for delivery. In a hurry? Stop 
by our Bookstore. Bookstore Hours 7:30-4:30 M-F 

Code 
No. Quantity Description 

Item 
Price Total 

Name or Company Subtotal 

Attention 
Plus 6% tax 

MN Residents Only Address 

City State Zip Postage/Handling 
(per order) $1.50 

VISA/Master Card No. or Cust. Deposit No. TOTAL 
Signature Expiration Date Telephone (During Day) 

SR-il 
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