39.25	ARTICLE 7
39.26	BOARD OF MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPY
39.27	Section 1. [148B.331] GUEST LICENSURE.
39.28 39.29 40.1 40.2	Subdivision 1. Generally. (a) A nonresident of the state of Minnesota who is not seeking licensure in Minnesota and intends to practice in Minnesota must apply to the board for guest licensure. An applicant must apply for guest licensure at least 30 days prior to the expected date of practice in Minnesota and is subject to approval by the board or its designee.
40.3	(b) To be eligible for licensure under this section, the applicant must:
40.4 40.5	(1) have a license, certification, or registration in good standing to practice marriage and family therapy from another jurisdiction;
40.6 40.7 40.8 40.9	(2) have a graduate degree in marriage and family therapy from a regionally accredited institution or a degree in a related field from a regionally accredited institution with completed coursework meeting the educational requirements provided in Minnesota Rules, part 5300.0140, subpart 2;
40.10	(3) be of good moral character;
40.11 40.12	(4) have no pending complaints or active disciplinary or corrective actions in any jurisdiction;
40.13 40.14	(5) submit the required fee and complete the criminal background check according to section 214.075; and
40.15	(6) pay a fee to the board in the amount set forth in section 148B.392.
40.16 40.17 40.18 40.19 40.20	(c) A license issued under this section is valid for one year from the date of issuance and allows practice by the nonresident for a maximum of five months. The months in which the nonresident may practice under the license must be consecutive. A guest license is not renewable, but the nonresident may reapply for guest licensure, subject to continued eligibility under paragraph (b), following expiration of a guest license.
40.21	Subd. 2. Other professional activity. Notwithstanding subdivision 1, a nonresident of
40.22 40.23	the state of Minnesota who is not seeking licensure in Minnesota may serve as an expert witness, organizational consultant, presenter, or educator without obtaining guest licensure,
40.23	provided the nonresident is appropriately trained or educated, or has been issued a license,
40.25	certificate, or registration by another jurisdiction.
40.26	Subd. 3. <b>Prohibitions and sanctions.</b> A person's privilege to practice under this section
40.27	is subject to the prohibitions and sanctions for unprofessional or unethical conduct contained
40.28	in Minnesota laws and rules for marriage and family therapy under this chapter.

40.13	ARTICLE 7
40.14	BOARD OF MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPY
40.15	Section 1. [148B.331] GUEST LICENSURE.
40.16 40.17 40.18 40.19 40.20	Subdivision 1. Generally. (a) A nonresident of the state of Minnesota who is not seeking licensure in Minnesota and intends to practice marriage and family therapy in Minnesota must apply to the board for guest licensure. An applicant must apply for guest licensure at least 30 days prior to the expected date of practice in Minnesota and is subject to approval by the board or its designee.
40.21	(b) To be eligible for licensure under this section, the applicant must:
40.22 40.23	(1) have a license, certification, or registration in good standing to practice marriage and family therapy from another jurisdiction;
40.24 40.25 40.26 40.27	(2) have a graduate degree in marriage and family therapy from a regionally accredited institution or a degree in a related field from a regionally accredited institution with completed coursework meeting the educational requirements provided in Minnesota Rules, part 5300.0140, subpart 2;
40.28	(3) be of good moral character;
40.29 40.30	(4) have no pending complaints or active disciplinary or corrective actions in any jurisdiction;
41.1 41.2	(5) submit the required fee and complete the criminal background check according to section 214.075; and
41.3	(6) pay a fee to the board in the amount set forth in section 148B.392.
41.4 41.5 41.6 41.7 41.8	(c) A license issued under this section is valid for one year from the date of issuance and allows practice by the nonresident for a maximum of five months. The months in which the nonresident may practice under the license must be consecutive. A guest license is not renewable, but the nonresident may reapply for guest licensure, subject to continued eligibility under paragraph (b), following expiration of a guest license.
41.9 41.10 41.11 41.12 41.13	Subd. 2. Other professional activity. Notwithstanding subdivision 1, a nonresident of the state of Minnesota who is not seeking licensure in Minnesota may serve as an expert witness, organizational consultant, presenter, or educator without obtaining guest licensure, provided the nonresident is appropriately trained, educated, or has been issued a license, certificate, or registration by another jurisdiction.
41.14 41.15 41.16	Subd. 3. <b>Prohibitions and sanctions.</b> A person's privilege to practice under this section is subject to the prohibitions and sanctions for unprofessional or unethical conduct contained in Minnesota laws and rules for marriage and family therapy under this chapter.

## Health Occupations Scope -- Art. 7

## House Language H4247-2

40.29	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2024.
41.1 41.2	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 148B.392, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
41.3 41.4	Subd. 2. <b>Licensure and application fees.</b> Licensure and application fees established by the board shall not exceed the following amounts:
41.5	(1) application fee for national examination is \$150;
41.6 41.7	(2) application fee for Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist (LMFT) state examination license is \$150;
41.8	(3) initial LMFT license fee is prorated, but cannot exceed \$225;
41.9	(4) annual renewal fee for LMFT license is \$225;
41.10	(5) late fee for LMFT license renewal is \$100;
41.11	(6) application fee for LMFT licensure by reciprocity is \$300;
41.12 41.13	(7) <u>application</u> fee for <u>initial</u> Licensed Associate Marriage and Family Therapist (LAMFT) license is \$100;
41.14	(8) annual renewal fee for LAMFT license is \$100;
41.15	(9) late fee for LAMFT <u>license</u> renewal is \$50;
41.16	(10) fee for reinstatement of <u>LMFT or LAMFT</u> license is \$150;
41.17	(11) fee for <u>LMFT</u> emeritus <u>license</u> status is \$225; <del>and</del>
41.18	(12) fee for temporary license for members of the military is \$100-; and
41.19	(13) fee for LMFT guest license is \$150.
41.20	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective October 1, 2024.

May 08, 2024 09:26 AM

## Senate Language UEH4247-1

41.17	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2024.
41.18 41.19	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 148B.392, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
41.20 41.21	Subd. 2. <b>Licensure and application fees.</b> Licensure and application fees established by the board shall not exceed the following amounts:
41.22	(1) application fee for national examination is \$150;
41.23 41.24	(2) application fee for Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist (LMFT) state examination <u>license</u> is \$150;
41.25	(3) initial LMFT license fee is prorated, but cannot exceed \$225;
41.26	(4) annual renewal fee for LMFT license is \$225;
41.27	(5) late fee for LMFT license renewal is \$100;
41.28	(6) application fee for LMFT licensure by reciprocity is \$300;
41.29 41.30	(7) <u>application</u> fee for <u>initial</u> Licensed Associate Marriage and Family Therapist (LAMFT) license is \$100;
41.31	(8) annual renewal fee for LAMFT license is \$100;
42.1	(9) late fee for LAMFT <u>license</u> renewal is \$50;
42.2	(10) fee for reinstatement of <u>LMFT or LAMFT</u> license is \$150;
42.3	(11) fee for <u>LMFT</u> emeritus <u>license</u> status is \$225; <del>and</del>
42.4	(12) fee for temporary license for members of the military is \$100-; and
42.5	(13) fee for LMFT guest license is \$150.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective October 1, 2024.

42.6