
241.22 ARTICLE 9​

241.23 CONTINUING CARE FOR OLDER ADULTS POLICY​

560.10 ARTICLE 11​

560.11 CONTINUING CARE FOR OLDER ADULTS POLICY​

241.24 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 245A.14, subdivision 14, is amended to read:​560.12 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 245A.14, subdivision 14, is amended to read:​

241.25 Subd. 14. Attendance records for publicly funded services. (a) A child care center​
241.26 licensed under this chapter and according to Minnesota Rules, chapter 9503, must maintain​

560.13 Subd. 14. Attendance records for publicly funded services. (a) A child care center​
560.14 licensed under this chapter and according to Minnesota Rules, chapter 9503, must maintain​

241.27 documentation of actual attendance for each child receiving care for which the license holder​560.15 documentation of actual attendance for each child receiving care for which the license holder​
241.28 is reimbursed by a governmental program. The records must be accessible to the​560.16 is reimbursed by a governmental program. The records must be accessible to the​
241.29 commissioner during the program's hours of operation, they must be completed on the actual​
241.30 day of attendance, and they must include:​

560.17 commissioner during the program's hours of operation, they must be completed on the actual​
560.18 day of attendance, and they must include:​

242.1 (1) the first and last name of the child;​560.19 (1) the first and last name of the child;​

242.2 (2) the time of day that the child was dropped off; and​560.20 (2) the time of day that the child was dropped off; and​

242.3 (3) the time of day that the child was picked up.​560.21 (3) the time of day that the child was picked up.​

242.4 (b) A family child care provider licensed under this chapter and according to Minnesota​
242.5 Rules, chapter 9502, must maintain documentation of actual attendance for each child​

560.22 (b) A family child care provider licensed under this chapter and according to Minnesota​
560.23 Rules, chapter 9502, must maintain documentation of actual attendance for each child​

242.6 receiving care for which the license holder is reimbursed for the care of that child by a​560.24 receiving care for which the license holder is reimbursed for the care of that child by a​
242.7 governmental program. The records must be accessible to the commissioner during the​560.25 governmental program. The records must be accessible to the commissioner during the​
242.8 program's hours of operation, they must be completed on the actual day of attendance, and​
242.9 they must include:​

560.26 program's hours of operation, they must be completed on the actual day of attendance, and​
560.27 they must include:​

242.10 (1) the first and last name of the child;​560.28 (1) the first and last name of the child;​

242.11 (2) the time of day that the child was dropped off; and​560.29 (2) the time of day that the child was dropped off; and​

242.12 (3) the time of day that the child was picked up.​560.30 (3) the time of day that the child was picked up.​

242.13 (c) An adult day services program licensed under this chapter and according to Minnesota​
242.14 Rules, parts 9555.5105 to 9555.6265, must maintain documentation of actual attendance​

561.1 (c) An adult day services program licensed under this chapter and according to Minnesota​
561.2 Rules, parts 9555.5105 to 9555.6265, must maintain documentation of actual attendance​

242.15 for each adult day service recipient for which the license holder is reimbursed by a​561.3 for each adult day service recipient for which the license holder is reimbursed by a​
242.16 governmental program. The records must be accessible to the commissioner during the​561.4 governmental program. The records must be accessible to the commissioner during the​
242.17 program's hours of operation, they must be completed on the actual day of attendance, and​
242.18 they must include:​

561.5 program's hours of operation, they must be completed on the actual day of attendance, and​
561.6 they must include:​

242.19 (1) the first, middle, and last name of the recipient;​561.7 (1) the first, middle, and last name of the recipient;​

242.20 (2) the time of day that the recipient was dropped off; and​561.8 (2) the time of day that the recipient was dropped off; and​

242.21 (3) the time of day that the recipient was picked up.​561.9 (3) the time of day that the recipient was picked up.​

242.22 (d) The commissioner shall not issue a correction for attendance record errors that occur​
242.23 before August 1, 2013. Adult day services programs licensed under this chapter that are​

561.10 (d) The commissioner shall not issue a correction for attendance record errors that occur​
561.11 before August 1, 2013. Adult day services programs licensed under this chapter that are​

242.24 designated for remote adult day services must maintain documentation of actual participation​561.12 designated for remote adult day services must maintain documentation of actual participation​
242.25 for each adult day service recipient for whom the license holder is reimbursed by a​561.13 for each adult day service recipient for whom the license holder is reimbursed by a​
242.26 governmental program. The records must be accessible to the commissioner during the​561.14 governmental program. The records must be accessible to the commissioner during the​
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561.15 program's hours of operation, must be completed on the actual day service is provided, and​
561.16 must include the:​

242.27 program's hours of operation, must be completed on the actual day service is provided, and​
242.28 must include the:​

242.29 (1) first, middle, and last name of the recipient;​561.17 (1) first, middle, and last name of the recipient;​

242.30 (2) time of day the remote services started;​561.18 (2) time of day the remote services started;​

242.31 (3) time of day that the remote services ended; and​561.19 (3) time of day that the remote services ended; and​

243.1 (4) means by which the remote services were provided, through audio remote services​
243.2 or through audio and video remote services.​

561.20 (4) means by which the remote services were provided, through audio remote services​
561.21 or through audio and video remote services.​

243.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.​561.22 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.​

243.4 Sec. 2. [245A.70] REMOTE ADULT DAY SERVICES.​561.23 Sec. 2. [245A.70] REMOTE ADULT DAY SERVICES.​

243.5 (a) For the purposes of sections 245A.70 to 245A.75, the following terms have the​
243.6 meanings given.​

561.24 (a) For the purposes of sections 245A.70 to 245A.75, the following terms have the​
561.25 meanings given.​

243.7 (b) "Adult day care" and "adult day services" have the meanings given in section 245A.02,​
243.8 subdivision 2a.​

561.26 (b) "Adult day care" and "adult day services" have the meanings given in section 245A.02,​
561.27 subdivision 2a.​

243.9 (c) "Remote adult day services" means an individualized and coordinated set of services​
243.10 provided via live two-way communication by an adult day care or adult day services center.​

561.28 (c) "Remote adult day services" means an individualized and coordinated set of services​
561.29 provided via live two-way communication by an adult day care or adult day services center.​

243.11 (d) "Live two-way communication" means real-time audio or audio and video​
243.12 transmission of information between a participant and an actively involved staff member.​

561.30 (d) "Live two-way communication" means real-time audio or audio and video​
561.31 transmission of information between a participant and an actively involved staff member.​

243.13 Sec. 3. [245A.71] APPLICABILITY AND SCOPE.​562.1 Sec. 3. [245A.71] APPLICABILITY AND SCOPE.​

243.14 Subdivision 1. Licensing requirements. Adult day care centers or adult day services​
243.15 centers that provide remote adult day services must be licensed under this chapter and​
243.16 comply with the requirements set forth in this section.​

562.2 Subdivision 1. Licensing requirements. Adult day care centers or adult day services​
562.3 centers that provide remote adult day services must be licensed under this chapter and​
562.4 comply with the requirements set forth in this section.​

243.17 Subd. 2. Standards for licensure. License holders seeking to provide remote adult day​
243.18 services must submit a request in the manner prescribed by the commissioner. Remote adult​

562.5 Subd. 2. Standards for licensure. License holders seeking to provide remote adult day​
562.6 services must submit a request in the manner prescribed by the commissioner. Remote adult​

243.19 day services must not be delivered until approved by the commissioner. The designation to​562.7 day services must not be delivered until approved by the commissioner. The designation to​
243.20 provide remote services is voluntary for license holders. Upon approval, the designation of​562.8 provide remote services is voluntary for license holders. Upon approval, the designation of​
243.21 approval for remote adult day services shall be printed on the center's license, and identified​
243.22 on the commissioner's public website.​

562.9 approval for remote adult day services must be printed on the center's license, and identified​
562.10 on the commissioner's public website.​

243.23 Subd. 3. Federal requirements. Adult day care centers or adult day services centers​
243.24 that provide remote adult day services to participants receiving alternative care under section​

562.11 Subd. 3. Federal requirements. Adult day care centers or adult day services centers​
562.12 that provide remote adult day services to participants receiving alternative care under section​

243.25 256B.0913, essential community supports under section 256B.0922, or home and​562.13 256B.0913, essential community supports under section 256B.0922, or home and​
243.26 community-based services waivers under chapter 256S or section 256B.092 or 256B.49,​
243.27 must comply with federally approved waiver plans.​

562.14 community-based services waivers under chapter 256S or section 256B.092 or 256B.49​
562.15 must comply with federally approved waiver plans.​
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243.28 Subd. 4. Service limitations. Remote adult day services must be provided during the​
243.29 days and hours of in-person services specified on the license of the adult day care center.​

562.16 Subd. 4. Service limitations. Remote adult day services must be provided during the​
562.17 days and hours of in-person services specified on the license of the adult day care center or​
562.18 adult day services center.​

244.1 Sec. 4. [245A.72] RECORD REQUIREMENTS.​562.19 Sec. 4. [245A.72] RECORD REQUIREMENTS.​

244.2 Adult day centers and adult day services centers providing remote adult day services​
244.3 must comply with participant record requirements set forth in Minnesota Rules, part​

562.20 Adult day care centers and adult day services centers providing remote adult day services​
562.21 must comply with participant record requirements set forth in Minnesota Rules, part​

244.4 9555.9660. The center must document how remote services will help a participant reach​
244.5 the short- and long-term objectives in the participant's plan of care.​

562.22 9555.9660. The center must document how remote services will help a participant reach​
562.23 the short- and long-term objectives in the participant's plan of care.​

244.6 Sec. 5. [245A.73] REMOTE ADULT DAY SERVICES STAFF.​562.24 Sec. 5. [245A.73] REMOTE ADULT DAY SERVICES STAFF.​

244.7 Subdivision 1. Staff ratios. (a) A staff person who provides remote adult day services​
244.8 without two-way interactive video must only provide services to one participant at a time.​

562.25 Subdivision 1. Staff ratios. (a) A staff person who provides remote adult day services​
562.26 without two-way interactive video must only provide services to one participant at a time.​

244.9 (b) A staff person who provides remote adult day services through two-way interactive​
244.10 video must not provide services to more than eight participants at one time.​

562.27 (b) A staff person who provides remote adult day services through two-way interactive​
562.28 video must not provide services to more than eight participants at one time.​

244.11 Subd. 2. Staff training. A center licensed under section 245A.71 must document training​
244.12 provided to each staff person regarding the provision of remote services in the staff person's​

562.29 Subd. 2. Staff training. A center licensed under section 245A.71 must document training​
562.30 provided to each staff person regarding the provision of remote services in the staff person's​

244.13 record. The training must be provided prior to a staff person delivering remote adult day​
244.14 services without supervision. The training must include:​

562.31 record. The training must be provided prior to a staff person delivering remote adult day​
562.32 services without supervision. The training must include:​

244.15 (1) how to use the equipment, technology, and devices required to provide remote adult​
244.16 day services via live two-way communication;​

563.1 (1) how to use the equipment, technology, and devices required to provide remote adult​
563.2 day services via live two-way communication;​

244.17 (2) orientation and training on each participant's plan of care as directly related to remote​
244.18 adult day services; and​

563.3 (2) orientation and training on each participant's plan of care as directly related to remote​
563.4 adult day services; and​

244.19 (3) direct observation by a manager or supervisor of the staff person while providing​
244.20 supervised remote service delivery sufficient to assess staff competency.​

563.5 (3) direct observation by a manager or supervisor of the staff person while providing​
563.6 supervised remote service delivery sufficient to assess staff competency.​

244.21 Sec. 6. [245A.74] INDIVIDUAL SERVICE PLANNING.​563.7 Sec. 6. [245A.74] INDIVIDUAL SERVICE PLANNING.​

244.22 Subdivision 1. Eligibility. (a) A person must be eligible for and receiving in-person​
244.23 adult day services to receive remote adult day services from the same provider. The same​

563.8 Subdivision 1. Eligibility. (a) A person must be eligible for and receiving in-person​
563.9 adult day services to receive remote adult day services from the same provider. The same​

244.24 provider must deliver both in-person adult day services and remote adult day services to a​
244.25 participant.​

563.10 provider must deliver both in-person adult day services and remote adult day services to a​
563.11 participant.​

244.26 (b) The license holder must update the participant's plan of care according to Minnesota​
244.27 Rules, part 9555.9700.​

563.12 (b) The license holder must update the participant's plan of care according to Minnesota​
563.13 Rules, part 9555.9700.​

244.28 (c) For a participant who chooses to receive remote adult day services, the license holder​
244.29 must document in the participant's plan of care the participant's proposed schedule and​

563.14 (c) For a participant who chooses to receive remote adult day services, the license holder​
563.15 must document in the participant's plan of care the participant's proposed schedule and​

244.30 frequency for receiving both in-person and remote services. The license holder must also​
244.31 document in the participant's plan of care that remote services:​

563.16 frequency for receiving both in-person and remote services. The license holder must also​
563.17 document in the participant's plan of care that remote services:​
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245.1 (1) are chosen as a service delivery method by the participant or legal representative;​563.18 (1) are chosen as a service delivery method by the participant or the participant's legal​
563.19 representative;​

245.2 (2) will meet the participant's assessed needs;​563.20 (2) will meet the participant's assessed needs;​

245.3 (3) are provided within the scope of adult day services; and​563.21 (3) are provided within the scope of adult day services; and​

245.4 (4) will help the participant achieve identified short- and long-term objectives specific​
245.5 to the provision of remote adult day services.​

563.22 (4) will help the participant achieve identified short and long-term objectives specific​
563.23 to the provision of remote adult day services.​

245.6 Subd. 2. Participant daily service limitations. In a 24-hour period, a participant may​
245.7 receive:​

563.24 Subd. 2. Participant daily service limitations. In a 24-hour period, a participant may​
563.25 receive:​

245.8 (1) a combination of in-person adult day services and remote adult day services on the​
245.9 same day but not at the same time;​

563.26 (1) a combination of in-person adult day services and remote adult day services on the​
563.27 same day but not at the same time;​

245.10 (2) a combination of in-person and remote adult day services that does not exceed 12​
245.11 hours in total; and​

563.28 (2) a combination of in-person and remote adult day services that does not exceed 12​
563.29 hours in total; and​

245.12 (3) up to six hours of remote adult day services.​563.30 (3) up to six hours of remote adult day services.​

245.13 Subd. 3. Minimum in-person requirement. A participant who receives remote services​
245.14 must receive services in person as assigned in the participant's plan of care at least quarterly.​

564.1 Subd. 3. Minimum in-person requirement. A participant who receives remote services​
564.2 must receive services in-person as assigned in the participant's plan of care at least quarterly.​

245.15 Sec. 7. [245A.75] SERVICE AND PROGRAM REQUIREMENTS.​564.3 Sec. 7. [245A.75] SERVICE AND PROGRAM REQUIREMENTS.​

245.16 Remote adult day services must be in the scope of adult day services provided in​
245.17 Minnesota Rules, part 9555.9710, subparts 3 to 7.​

564.4 Remote adult day services must be in the scope of adult day services provided in​
564.5 Minnesota Rules, part 9555.9710, subparts 3 to 7.​

245.18 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.​564.6 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.​

564.7 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256R.02, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

564.8 Subd. 4. Administrative costs. "Administrative costs" means the identifiable costs for​
564.9 administering the overall activities of the nursing home. These costs include salaries and​
564.10 wages of the administrator, assistant administrator, business office employees, security​
564.11 guards, purchasing and inventory employees, and associated fringe benefits and payroll​
564.12 taxes, fees, contracts, or purchases related to business office functions, licenses, permits​
564.13 except as provided in the external fixed costs category, employee recognition, travel including​
564.14 meals and lodging, all training except as specified in subdivision 17, voice and data​
564.15 communication or transmission, office supplies, property and liability insurance and other​
564.16 forms of insurance except insurance that is a fringe benefit under subdivision 22, personnel​
564.17 recruitment, legal services, accounting services, management or business consultants, data​
564.18 processing, information technology, website, central or home office costs, business meetings​
564.19 and seminars, postage, fees for professional organizations, subscriptions, security services,​
564.20 nonpromotional advertising, board of directors fees, working capital interest expense, bad​
564.21 debts, bad debt collection fees, and costs incurred for travel and housing lodging for persons​
564.22 employed by a Minnesota-registered supplemental nursing services agency as defined in​
564.23 section 144A.70, subdivision 6.​
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564.24 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256R.02, subdivision 17, is amended to read:​

564.25 Subd. 17. Direct care costs. "Direct care costs" means costs for the wages of nursing​
564.26 administration, direct care registered nurses, licensed practical nurses, certified nursing​
564.27 assistants, trained medication aides, employees conducting training in resident care topics​
564.28 and associated fringe benefits and payroll taxes; services from a Minnesota-registered​
564.29 supplemental nursing services agency up to the maximum allowable charges under section​
564.30 144A.74, excluding associated lodging and travel costs; supplies that are stocked at nursing​
564.31 stations or on the floor and distributed or used individually, including, but not limited to:​
564.32 rubbing alcohol or alcohol swabs, applicators, cotton balls, incontinence pads, disposable​
565.1 ice bags, dressings, bandages, water pitchers, tongue depressors, disposable gloves, enemas,​
565.2 enema equipment, personal hygiene soap, medication cups, diapers, plastic waste bags,​
565.3 sanitary products, disposable thermometers, hypodermic needles and syringes, clinical​
565.4 reagents or similar diagnostic agents, drugs that are not paid not payable on a separate fee​
565.5 schedule by the medical assistance program or any other payer, and technology related​
565.6 clinical software costs specific to the provision of nursing care to residents, such as electronic​
565.7 charting systems; costs of materials used for resident care training, and training courses​
565.8 outside of the facility attended by direct care staff on resident care topics; and costs for​
565.9 nurse consultants, pharmacy consultants, and medical directors. Salaries and payroll taxes​
565.10 for nurse consultants who work out of a central office must be allocated proportionately by​
565.11 total resident days or by direct identification to the nursing facilities served by those​
565.12 consultants.​

565.13 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256R.02, subdivision 18, is amended to read:​

565.14 Subd. 18. Employer health insurance costs. "Employer health insurance costs" means​
565.15 premium expenses for group coverage; and actual expenses incurred for self-insured plans,​
565.16 including reinsurance; actual claims paid, stop-loss premiums, plan fees, and employer​
565.17 contributions to employee health reimbursement and health savings accounts. Actual costs​
565.18 of self-insurance plans must not include any allowance for future funding unless the plan​
565.19 meets the Medicare requirements for reporting on a premium basis when the Medicare​
565.20 regulations define the actual costs. Premium and expense costs and contributions are​
565.21 allowable for (1) all employees and (2) the spouse and dependents of those employees who​
565.22 are employed on average at least 30 hours per week.​

565.23 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256R.02, subdivision 19, is amended to read:​

565.24 Subd. 19. External fixed costs. "External fixed costs" means costs related to the nursing​
565.25 home surcharge under section 256.9657, subdivision 1; licensure fees under section 144.122;​
565.26 family advisory council fee under section 144A.33; scholarships under section 256R.37;​
565.27 planned closure rate adjustments under section 256R.40; consolidation rate adjustments​
565.28 under section 144A.071, subdivisions 4c, paragraph (a), clauses (5) and (6), and 4d;​
565.29 single-bed room incentives under section 256R.41; property taxes, special assessments, and​
565.30 payments in lieu of taxes; employer health insurance costs; quality improvement incentive​
565.31 payment rate adjustments under section 256R.39; performance-based incentive payments​
565.32 under section 256R.38; special dietary needs under section 256R.51; rate adjustments for​
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565.33 compensation-related costs for minimum wage changes under section 256R.49 provided​
566.1 on or after January 1, 2018; Public Employees Retirement Association employer costs; and​
566.2 border city rate adjustments under section 256R.481.​

566.3 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256R.02, subdivision 22, is amended to read:​

566.4 Subd. 22. Fringe benefit costs. "Fringe benefit costs" means the costs for group life,​
566.5 dental, workers' compensation, short- and long-term disability, long-term care insurance,​
566.6 accident insurance, supplemental insurance, legal assistance insurance, profit sharing, child​
566.7 care costs, health insurance costs not covered under subdivision 18, including costs associated​
566.8 with part-time employee family members or retirees, and pension and retirement plan​
566.9 contributions, except for the Public Employees Retirement Association costs.​

566.10 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256R.02, subdivision 29, is amended to read:​

566.11 Subd. 29. Maintenance and plant operations costs. "Maintenance and plant operations​
566.12 costs" means the costs for the salaries and wages of the maintenance supervisor, engineers,​
566.13 heating-plant employees, and other maintenance employees and associated fringe benefits​
566.14 and payroll taxes. It also includes identifiable costs for maintenance and operation of the​
566.15 building and grounds, including, but not limited to, fuel, electricity, plastic waste bags,​
566.16 medical waste and garbage removal, water, sewer, supplies, tools, and repairs, and minor​
566.17 equipment not requiring capitalization under Medicare guidelines.​

566.18 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256R.02, is amended by adding a subdivision​
566.19 to read:​

566.20 Subd. 32a. Minor equipment. "Minor equipment" means equipment that does not qualify​
566.21 as either fixed equipment or depreciable movable equipment as defined in section 256R.261.​

566.22 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256R.02, subdivision 42a, is amended to read:​

566.23 Subd. 42a. Real estate taxes. "Real estate taxes" means the real estate tax liability shown​
566.24 on the annual property tax statement statements of the nursing facility for the reporting​
566.25 period. The term does not include personnel costs or fees for late payment.​

566.26 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256R.02, subdivision 48a, is amended to read:​

566.27 Subd. 48a. Special assessments. "Special assessments" means the actual special​
566.28 assessments and related interest paid during the reporting period that are not voluntary costs.​
566.29 The term does not include personnel costs or, fees for late payment, or special assessments​
566.30 for projects that are reimbursed in the property rate.​

567.1 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256R.02, is amended by adding a subdivision​
567.2 to read:​

567.3 Subd. 53. Vested. "Vested" means the existence of a legally fixed unconditional right​
567.4 to a present or future benefit.​
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567.5 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256R.07, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

567.6 Subdivision 1. Criteria. A nursing facility shall must keep adequate documentation. In​
567.7 order to be adequate, documentation must:​

567.8 (1) be maintained in orderly, well-organized files;​

567.9 (2) not include documentation of more than one nursing facility in one set of files unless​
567.10 transactions may be traced by the commissioner to the nursing facility's annual cost report;​

567.11 (3) include a paid invoice or copy of a paid invoice with date of purchase, vendor name​
567.12 and address, purchaser name and delivery destination address, listing of items or services​
567.13 purchased, cost of items purchased, account number to which the cost is posted, and a​
567.14 breakdown of any allocation of costs between accounts or nursing facilities. If any of the​
567.15 information is not available, the nursing facility shall must document its good faith attempt​
567.16 to obtain the information;​

567.17 (4) include contracts, agreements, amortization schedules, mortgages, other debt​
567.18 instruments, and all other documents necessary to explain the nursing facility's costs or​
567.19 revenues; and​

567.20 (5) include signed and dated position descriptions; and​

567.21 (6) be retained by the nursing facility to support the five most recent annual cost reports.​
567.22 The commissioner may extend the period of retention if the field audit was postponed​
567.23 because of inadequate record keeping or accounting practices as in section 256R.13,​
567.24 subdivisions 2 and 4, the records are necessary to resolve a pending appeal, or the records​
567.25 are required for the enforcement of sections 256R.04; 256R.05, subdivision 2; 256R.06,​
567.26 subdivisions 2, 6, and 7; 256R.08, subdivisions 1 to and 3; and 256R.09, subdivisions 3 and​
567.27 4.​

567.28 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256R.07, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

567.29 Subd. 2. Documentation of compensation. Compensation for personal services,​
567.30 regardless of whether treated as identifiable costs or costs that are not identifiable, must be​
567.31 documented on payroll records. Payrolls must be supported by time and attendance or​
568.1 equivalent records for individual employees. Salaries and wages of employees which are​
568.2 allocated to more than one cost category must be supported by time distribution records.​
568.3 The method used must produce a proportional distribution of actual time spent, or an accurate​
568.4 estimate of time spent performing assigned duties. The nursing facility that chooses to​
568.5 estimate time spent must use a statistically valid method. The compensation must reflect​
568.6 an amount proportionate to a full-time basis if the services are rendered on less than a​
568.7 full-time basis. Salary allocations are allowable using the Medicare-approved allocation​
568.8 basis and methodology only if the salary costs cannot be directly determined, including​
568.9 when employees provide shared services to noncovered operations.​
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568.10 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256R.07, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

568.11 Subd. 3. Adequate documentation supporting nursing facility payrolls. Payroll​
568.12 records supporting compensation costs claimed by nursing facilities must be supported by​
568.13 affirmative time and attendance records prepared by each individual at intervals of not more​
568.14 than one month. The requirements of this subdivision are met when documentation is​
568.15 provided under either clause (1) or (2) as follows:​

568.16 (1) the affirmative time and attendance record must identify the individual's name; the​
568.17 days worked during each pay period; the number of hours worked each day; and the number​
568.18 of hours taken each day by the individual for vacation, sick, and other leave. The affirmative​
568.19 time and attendance record must include a signed verification by the individual and the​
568.20 individual's supervisor, if any, that the entries reported on the record are correct; or​

568.21 (2) if the affirmative time and attendance records identifying the individual's name, the​
568.22 days worked each pay period, the number of hours worked each day, and the number of​
568.23 hours taken each day by the individual for vacation, sick, and other leave are placed on​
568.24 microfilm stored electronically, equipment must be made available for viewing and printing​
568.25 them, or if the records are stored as automated data, summary data must be available for​
568.26 viewing and printing the records.​

568.27 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256R.08, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

568.28 Subdivision 1. Reporting of financial statements. (a) No later than February 1 of each​
568.29 year, a nursing facility shall must:​

568.30 (1) provide the state agency with a copy of its audited financial statements or its working​
568.31 trial balance;​

568.32 (2) provide the state agency with a statement of ownership for the facility;​

569.1 (3) provide the state agency with separate, audited financial statements or working trial​
569.2 balances for every other facility owned in whole or in part by an individual or entity that​
569.3 has an ownership interest in the facility;​

569.4 (4) upon request, provide the state agency with separate, audited financial statements or​
569.5 working trial balances for every organization with which the facility conducts business and​
569.6 which is owned in whole or in part by an individual or entity which has an ownership interest​
569.7 in the facility;​

569.8 (5) provide the state agency with copies of leases, purchase agreements, and other​
569.9 documents related to the lease or purchase of the nursing facility; and​

569.10 (6) upon request, provide the state agency with copies of leases, purchase agreements,​
569.11 and other documents related to the acquisition of equipment, goods, and services which are​
569.12 claimed as allowable costs.​
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569.13 (b) Audited financial statements submitted under paragraph (a) must include a balance​
569.14 sheet, income statement, statement of the rate or rates charged to private paying residents,​
569.15 statement of retained earnings, statement of cash flows, notes to the financial statements,​
569.16 audited applicable supplemental information, and the public accountant's report. Public​
569.17 accountants must conduct audits in accordance with chapter 326A. The cost of an audit​
569.18 shall must not be an allowable cost unless the nursing facility submits its audited financial​
569.19 statements in the manner otherwise specified in this subdivision. A nursing facility must​
569.20 permit access by the state agency to the public accountant's audit work papers that support​
569.21 the audited financial statements submitted under paragraph (a).​

569.22 (c) Documents or information provided to the state agency pursuant to this subdivision​
569.23 shall must be public unless prohibited by the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability​
569.24 Act or any other federal or state regulation. Data, notes, and preliminary drafts of reports​
569.25 created, collected, and maintained by the audit offices of government entities, or persons​
569.26 performing audits for government entities, and relating to an audit or investigation are​
569.27 confidential data on individuals or protected nonpublic data until the final report has been​
569.28 published or the audit or investigation is no longer being pursued actively, except that the​
569.29 data must be disclosed as required to comply with section 6.67 or 609.456.​

569.30 (d) If the requirements of paragraphs (a) and (b) are not met, the reimbursement rate​
569.31 may be reduced to 80 percent of the rate in effect on the first day of the fourth calendar​
569.32 month after the close of the reporting period and the reduction shall must continue until the​
569.33 requirements are met.​

570.1 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256R.09, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

570.2 Subd. 2. Reporting of statistical and cost information. All nursing facilities shall must​
570.3 provide information annually to the commissioner on a form and in a manner determined​
570.4 by the commissioner. The commissioner may separately require facilities to submit in a​
570.5 manner specified by the commissioner documentation of statistical and cost information​
570.6 included in the report to ensure accuracy in establishing payment rates and to perform audit​
570.7 and appeal review functions under this chapter. The commissioner may also require nursing​
570.8 facilities to provide statistical and cost information for a subset of the items in the annual​
570.9 report on a semiannual basis. Nursing facilities shall must report only costs directly related​
570.10 to the operation of the nursing facility. The facility shall must not include costs which are​
570.11 separately reimbursed or reimbursable by residents, medical assistance, or other payors.​
570.12 Allocations of costs from central, affiliated, or corporate office and related organization​
570.13 transactions shall be reported according to sections 256R.07, subdivision 3, and 256R.12,​
570.14 subdivisions 1 to 7. The commissioner shall not grant facilities extensions to the filing​
570.15 deadline.​

570.16 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256R.09, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

570.17 Subd. 5. Method of accounting. The accrual method of accounting in accordance with​
570.18 generally accepted accounting principles is the only method acceptable for purposes of​
570.19 satisfying the reporting requirements of this chapter. If a governmentally owned nursing​
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570.20 facility demonstrates that the accrual method of accounting is not applicable to its accounts​
570.21 and that a cash or modified accrual method of accounting more accurately reports the nursing​
570.22 facility's financial operations, the commissioner shall permit the governmentally owned​
570.23 nursing facility to use a cash or modified accrual method of accounting. For reimbursement​
570.24 purposes, the accrued expense must be paid by the providers within 180 days following the​
570.25 end of the reporting period. An expense disallowed by the commissioner under this section​
570.26 in any cost report period must not be claimed by a provider on a subsequent cost report.​
570.27 Specific exemptions to the 180-day rule may be granted by the commissioner for documented​
570.28 contractual arrangements such as receivership, property tax installment payments, and​
570.29 pension contributions.​

570.30 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256R.13, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

570.31 Subd. 4. Extended record retention requirements. The commissioner shall extend the​
570.32 period for retention of records under section 256R.09, subdivision 3, for purposes of​
570.33 performing field audits as necessary to enforce sections 256R.04; 256R.05, subdivision 2;​
571.1 256R.06, subdivisions 2, 6, and 7; 256R.08, subdivisions 1 to and 3; and 256R.09,​
571.2 subdivisions 3 and 4, with written notice to the facility postmarked no later than 90 days​
571.3 prior to the expiration of the record retention requirement.​

571.4 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256R.16, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

571.5 Subdivision 1. Calculation of a quality score. (a) The commissioner shall determine​
571.6 a quality score for each nursing facility using quality measures established in section​
571.7 256B.439, according to methods determined by the commissioner in consultation with​
571.8 stakeholders and experts, and using the most recently available data as provided in the​
571.9 Minnesota Nursing Home Report Card. These methods shall must be exempt from the​
571.10 rulemaking requirements under chapter 14.​

571.11 (b) For each quality measure, a score shall must be determined with the number of points​
571.12 assigned as determined by the commissioner using the methodology established according​
571.13 to this subdivision. The determination of the quality measures to be used and the methods​
571.14 of calculating scores may be revised annually by the commissioner.​

571.15 (c) The quality score shall must include up to 50 points related to the Minnesota quality​
571.16 indicators score derived from the minimum data set, up to 40 points related to the resident​
571.17 quality of life score derived from the consumer survey conducted under section 256B.439,​
571.18 subdivision 3, and up to ten points related to the state inspection results score.​

571.19 (d) The commissioner, in cooperation with the commissioner of health, may adjust the​
571.20 formula in paragraph (c), or the methodology for computing the total quality score, effective​
571.21 July 1 of any year, with five months advance public notice. In changing the formula, the​
571.22 commissioner shall consider quality measure priorities registered by report card users, advice​
571.23 of stakeholders, and available research.​
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571.24 Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256R.17, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

571.25 Subd. 3. Resident assessment schedule. (a) Nursing facilities shall must conduct and​
571.26 submit case mix classification assessments according to the schedule established by the​
571.27 commissioner of health under section 144.0724, subdivisions 4 and 5.​

571.28 (b) The case mix classifications established under section 144.0724, subdivision 3a,​
571.29 shall be are effective the day of admission for new admission assessments. The effective​
571.30 date for significant change assessments shall be is the assessment reference date. The​
571.31 effective date for annual and quarterly assessments shall be and significant corrections​
571.32 assessments is the first day of the month following assessment reference date.​

572.1 Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256R.26, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

572.2 Subdivision 1. Determination of limited undepreciated replacement cost. A facility's​
572.3 limited URC is the lesser of:​

572.4 (1) the facility's recognized URC from the appraisal; or​

572.5 (2) the product of (i) the number of the facility's licensed beds three months prior to the​
572.6 beginning of the rate year, (ii) the construction cost per square foot value, and (iii) 1,000​
572.7 square feet.​

572.8 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256R.261, subdivision 13, is amended to read:​

572.9 Subd. 13. Equipment allowance per bed value. The equipment allowance per bed​
572.10 value is $10,000 adjusted annually for rate years beginning on or after January 1, 2021, by​
572.11 the percentage change indicated by the urban consumer price index for Minneapolis-St.​
572.12 Paul, as published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics (series 1967=100 1982-84=100) for​
572.13 the two previous Julys. The computation for this annual adjustment is based on the data that​
572.14 is publicly available on November 1 immediately preceding the start of the rate year.​

572.15 Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256R.37, is amended to read:​

572.16 256R.37 SCHOLARSHIPS.​

572.17 (a) For the 27-month period beginning October 1, 2015, through December 31, 2017,​
572.18 the commissioner shall allow a scholarship per diem of up to 25 cents for each nursing​
572.19 facility with no scholarship per diem that is requesting a scholarship per diem to be added​
572.20 to the external fixed payment rate to be used:​

572.21 (1) for employee scholarships that satisfy the following requirements:​

572.22 (i) scholarships are available to all employees who work an average of at least ten hours​
572.23 per week at the facility except the administrator, and to reimburse student loan expenses​
572.24 for newly hired registered nurses and licensed practical nurses, and training expenses for​
572.25 nursing assistants as specified in section 144A.611, subdivisions 2 and 4, who are newly​
572.26 hired; and​
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572.27 (ii) the course of study is expected to lead to career advancement with the facility or in​
572.28 long-term care, including medical care interpreter services and social work; and​

572.29 (2) to provide job-related training in English as a second language.​

572.30 (b) All facilities may annually request a rate adjustment under this section by submitting​
572.31 information to the commissioner on a schedule and in a form supplied by the commissioner.​
573.1 The commissioner shall allow a scholarship payment rate equal to the reported and allowable​
573.2 costs divided by resident days.​

573.3 (c) In calculating the per diem under paragraph (b), the commissioner shall allow costs​
573.4 related to tuition, direct educational expenses, and reasonable costs as defined by the​
573.5 commissioner for child care costs and transportation expenses related to direct educational​
573.6 expenses.​

573.7 (d) The rate increase under this section is an optional rate add-on that the facility must​
573.8 request from the commissioner in a manner prescribed by the commissioner. The rate​
573.9 increase must be used for scholarships as specified in this section.​

573.10 (e) For instances in which a rate adjustment will be 15 cents or greater, nursing facilities​
573.11 that close beds during a rate year may request to have their scholarship adjustment under​
573.12 paragraph (b) recalculated by the commissioner for the remainder of the rate year to reflect​
573.13 the reduction in resident days compared to the cost report year.​

573.14 (a) The commissioner shall provide a scholarship per diem rate calculated using the​
573.15 criteria in paragraphs (b) to (d). The per diem rate must be based on the allowable costs the​
573.16 facility paid for employee scholarships for any eligible employee, except the facility​
573.17 administrator, who works an average of at least ten hours per week in the licensed nursing​
573.18 facility building when the facility has paid expenses related to:​

573.19 (1) an employee's course of study that is expected to lead to career advancement with​
573.20 the facility or in the field of long-term care;​

573.21 (2) an employee's job-related training in English as a second language;​

573.22 (3) the reimbursement of student loan expenses for newly hired registered nurses and​
573.23 licensed practical nurses; and​

573.24 (4) the reimbursement of training, testing, and associated expenses for newly hired​
573.25 nursing assistants as specified in section 144A.611, subdivisions 2 and 4. The reimbursement​
573.26 of nursing assistant expenses under this clause is not subject to the ten-hour minimum work​
573.27 requirement under this paragraph.​

573.28 (b) Allowable scholarship costs include: tuition, student loan reimbursement, other direct​
573.29 educational expenses, and reasonable costs for child care and transportation expenses directly​
573.30 related to education, as defined by the commissioner.​
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573.31 (c) The commissioner shall provide a scholarship per diem rate equal to the allowable​
573.32 scholarship costs divided by resident days. The commissioner shall compute the scholarship​
574.1 per diem rate annually and include the scholarship per diem rate in the external fixed costs​
574.2 payment rate.​

574.3 (d) When the resulting scholarship per diem rate is 15 cents or more, nursing facilities​
574.4 that close beds during a rate year may request to have the scholarship rate recalculated. This​
574.5 recalculation is effective from the date of the bed closure through the remainder of the rate​
574.6 year and reflects the estimated reduction in resident days compared to the previous cost​
574.7 report year.​

574.8 (e) Facilities seeking to have the facility's scholarship expenses recognized for the​
574.9 payment rate computation in section 256R.25 may apply annually by submitting information​
574.10 to the commissioner on a schedule and in a form supplied by the commissioner.​

574.11 Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256R.39, is amended to read:​

574.12 256R.39 QUALITY IMPROVEMENT INCENTIVE PROGRAM.​

574.13 The commissioner shall develop a quality improvement incentive program in consultation​
574.14 with stakeholders. The annual funding pool available for quality improvement incentive​
574.15 payments shall must be equal to 0.8 percent of all operating payments, not including any​
574.16 rate components resulting from equitable cost-sharing for publicly owned nursing facility​
574.17 program participation under section 256R.48, critical access nursing facility program​
574.18 participation under section 256R.47, or performance-based incentive payment program​
574.19 participation under section 256R.38. For the period from October 1, 2015, to December 31,​
574.20 2016, rate adjustments provided under this section shall be effective for 15 months. Beginning​
574.21 January 1, 2017, An annual rate adjustments adjustment provided under this section shall​
574.22 must be effective for one rate year.​

574.23 Sec. 31. REPEALER.​

574.24 Minnesota Statutes 2020, sections 245A.03, subdivision 5; 256R.08, subdivision 2; and​
574.25 256R.49, and Minnesota Rules, part 9555.6255, are repealed.​
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