H4293-3

238.17	ARTICLE 15
238.18	SALVAGE AND PRIOR SALVAGE TITLE BRANDS
238.19 238.20	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168A.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
238.21 238.22	Subd. 16b. Recovered intact vehicle. "Recovered intact vehicle" means a vehicle that was:
238.23	(1) verified by the vehicle insurer to be stolen and declared a total loss; and
238.24 238.25	(2) subsequently recovered with damage that is not in excess of 80 percent of its value immediately before it was stolen.
238.26	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168A.01, subdivision 17b, is amended to read:
238.27 238.28 238.29 239.1 239.2	Subd. 17b. <b>Salvage vehicle.</b> (a) "Salvage vehicle" means a vehicle that has a salvage eertificate of title (1) for which an insurance company has declared a total loss or paid a total loss claim, or (2) that has been involved in a collision or other event in which the cost of repairs exceeds 80 percent of the value of the vehicle immediately before the damage occurred.
239.3	(b) Salvage vehicle does not include a recovered intact vehicle.
239.4	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168A.04, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
239.5 239.6 239.7 239.8	Subdivision 1. <b>Contents.</b> The application for the first certificate of title of a vehicle or manufactured home in this state, or for reissuance of a certificate of title for a manufactured home under section 168A.142, shall must be made by the owner to the department on the form prescribed by the department and shall must contain:
239.9 239.10	(1) the first, middle, and last names, the dates of birth, and addresses of all owners who are natural persons, the full names and addresses of all other owners;
239.11 239.12 239.13	(2) a description of the vehicle or manufactured home including, so far as the following data exists, its make, model, year, identifying number in the case of a vehicle or serial number in the case of a manufactured home, type of body, and whether new or used;
	(3) the date of purchase by applicant, the name and address of the person from whom the vehicle or manufactured home was acquired, the names and addresses of any secured parties in the order of their priority, and the dates of their respective security agreements;
	(4) with respect to motor vehicles subject to the provisions of section 325E.15, the true cumulative mileage registered on the odometer or that the actual mileage is unknown if the odometer reading is known by the owner to be different from the true mileage;
239.20 239.21 239.22	(5) with respect to vehicles subject to section 325F.6641, whether the vehicle sustained damage by collision or other occurrence which exceeded 70 percent of the actual cash value that meets the disclosure requirements under section 325F.6641, subdivision 1; and

**ARTICLE 9** 146.11 SALVAGE AND PRIOR SALVAGE TITLE BRANDS 146.12 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168A.01, is amended by adding a subdivision 146.13 146.14 to read: Subd. 16b. Recovered intact vehicle. "Recovered intact vehicle" means a vehicle that 146.15 146.16 was: (1) verified by the vehicle insurer to be stolen and declared a total loss; and 146.17 (2) subsequently recovered with damage that is not in excess of 80 percent of its value 146.18 146.19 immediately before it was stolen. Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168A.01, subdivision 17b, is amended to read: 146.20 Subd. 17b. Salvage vehicle. (a) "Salvage vehicle" means a vehicle that has a salvage 146.21 146.22 eertificate of title (1) for which an insurance company has declared a total loss or paid a total loss claim, or (2) that has been involved in a collision or other event in which the cost of repairs exceeds 80 percent of the value of the vehicle immediately before the damage 146.25 occurred. (b) Salvage vehicle does not include a recovered intact vehicle. 146.26 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168A.04, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 147.1 147.2 Subdivision 1. Contents. The application for the first certificate of title of a vehicle or manufactured home in this state, or for reissuance of a certificate of title for a manufactured home under section 168A.142, shall must be made by the owner to the department on the form prescribed by the department and shall must contain: 147.6 (1) the first, middle, and last names, the dates of birth, and addresses of all owners who are natural persons, the full names and addresses of all other owners; (2) a description of the vehicle or manufactured home including, so far as the following 147.8 data exists, its make, model, year, identifying number in the case of a vehicle or serial 147.10 number in the case of a manufactured home, type of body, and whether new or used; (3) the date of purchase by applicant, the name and address of the person from whom 147.12 the vehicle or manufactured home was acquired, the names and addresses of any secured 147.13 parties in the order of their priority, and the dates of their respective security agreements; (4) with respect to motor vehicles subject to the provisions of section 325E.15, the true 147.15 cumulative mileage registered on the odometer or that the actual mileage is unknown if the 147.16 odometer reading is known by the owner to be different from the true mileage; (5) with respect to vehicles subject to section 325F.6641, whether the vehicle sustained 147.18 damage by collision or other occurrence which exceeded 70 percent of the actual eash value 147.19 that meets the disclosure requirements under section 325F.6641, subdivision 1; and

UEH4293-1

PAGE R1 REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE

148.23

148.24 support enforcement against the owner;

239.25	(6) any further information the department reasonably requires to identify the vehicle or manufactured home and to enable it to determine whether the owner is entitled to a certificate of title, and the existence or nonexistence and priority of any security interest in the vehicle or manufactured home.
239.27	Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168A.04, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
	Subd. 4. <b>Vehicle last registered out of state.</b> If the application refers to a vehicle last previously registered in another state or country, the application shall <u>must</u> contain or be accompanied by:
239.31	(1) any certificate of title issued by the other state or country;
240.1 240.2 240.3	(2) any other information and documents the department reasonably requires to establish the ownership of the vehicle and the existence or nonexistence and priority of any security interest in it;
240.4 240.5 240.6 240.7	(3) the certificate of a person authorized by the department that the identifying number of the vehicle has been inspected and found to conform to the description given in the application, or any other proof of the identity of the vehicle the department reasonably requires; and
240.11 240.12	(4) with respect to vehicles subject to section 325F.6641, whether the vehicle sustained damage by collision or other occurrence which exceeded 70 percent of actual eash value that meets the disclosure requirements under section 325F.6641, subdivision 1. Damage, for the purpose of this the calculation under this clause, does not include the actual cost incurred to repair, replace, or reinstall inflatable safety restraints and other vehicle components that must be replaced due to the deployment of the inflatable safety restraints.
240.14	Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168A.05, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
240.15 240.16	Subd. 3. <b>Content of certificate.</b> (a) Each certificate of title issued by the department shall <u>must</u> contain:
240.17	(1) the date issued;
240.18 240.19	(2) the first, middle, and last names and the dates of birth of all owners who are natural persons, and the full names of all other owners;
240.20 240.21	(3) the residence address of the owner listed first if that owner is a natural person or the address if that owner is not a natural person;
240.24	(4) the names of any secured parties, and the address of the first secured party, listed in the order of priority (i) as shown on the application, or (ii) if the application is based on a certificate of title, as shown on the certificate, or (iii) as otherwise determined by the department;
240.26	(5) any liens filed pursuant to a court order or by a public agency responsible for child

240.27 support enforcement against the owner;

(6) any further information the department reasonably requires to identify the vehicle 147.21 or manufactured home and to enable it to determine whether the owner is entitled to a 147.22 certificate of title, and the existence or nonexistence and priority of any security interest in 147.23 the vehicle or manufactured home. Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168A.04, subdivision 4, is amended to read: Subd. 4. Vehicle last registered out of state. If the application refers to a vehicle last 147.26 previously registered in another state or country, the application shall must contain or be 147.27 accompanied by: (1) any certificate of title issued by the other state or country; 147.28 (2) any other information and documents the department reasonably requires to establish 147.30 the ownership of the vehicle and the existence or nonexistence and priority of any security 147.31 interest in it; 148.1 (3) the certificate of a person authorized by the department that the identifying number of the vehicle has been inspected and found to conform to the description given in the application, or any other proof of the identity of the vehicle the department reasonably 148.4 requires; and 148.5 (4) with respect to vehicles subject to section 325F.6641, whether the vehicle sustained damage by collision or other occurrence which exceeded 70 percent of actual eash value that meets the disclosure requirements under section 325F.6641, subdivision 1. Damage, for the purpose of this the calculation under this clause, does not include the actual cost incurred to repair, replace, or reinstall inflatable safety restraints and other vehicle components that must be replaced due to the deployment of the inflatable safety restraints. Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168A.05, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 148.12 Subd. 3. Content of certificate. (a) Each certificate of title issued by the department 148.13 shall must contain: 148.14 (1) the date issued: (2) the first, middle, and last names and the dates of birth of all owners who are natural 148.16 persons, and the full names of all other owners; (3) the residence address of the owner listed first if that owner is a natural person or the 148.18 address if that owner is not a natural person; (4) the names of any secured parties, and the address of the first secured party, listed in 148.19 148.20 the order of priority (i) as shown on the application, or (ii) if the application is based on a 148.21 certificate of title, as shown on the certificate, or (iii) as otherwise determined by the 148.22 department;

PAGE R2 REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE

(5) any liens filed pursuant to a court order or by a public agency responsible for child

240.28	(6) the title number assigned to the vehicle;
240.29 240.30 240.31	(7) a description of the vehicle including, so far as the following data exists, its make, model, year, identifying number, type of body, whether new or used, and if a new vehicle, the date of the first sale of the vehicle for use;
241.1 241.2 241.3	(8) with respect to a motor vehicle subject to section 325E.15, (i) the true cumulative mileage registered on the odometer or (ii) that the actual mileage is unknown if the odometer reading is known by the owner to be different from the true mileage;
241.4	(9) if applicable, one or more of the following:
241.5 241.6 241.7	(i) with respect to a vehicle subject to sections 325F.6641 168A.151 and 325F.6642, the appropriate term brand "flood damaged," "rebuilt," "salvage," "prior salvage," or "reconstructed";
241.8 241.9 241.10	(10) (ii) with respect to a vehicle contaminated by methamphetamine production, if the registrar has received the certificate of title and notice described in section 152.0275, subdivision 2, paragraph (g), the <a href="term">term</a> brand "hazardous waste contaminated vehicle"; and
241.11 241.12	$\frac{\text{(11)}\ \text{(iii)}}{\text{(iii)}}$ with respect to a vehicle subject to section 325F.665, the $\frac{\text{term}\ \text{brand}}{\text{lemon}}$ "lemon law vehicle"; and
241.13	$\frac{(12)}{(10)}$ any other data the department prescribes.
241.14	(b) For a certificate of title on a vehicle that is a restored pioneer vehicle:
241.15 241.16	(1) the identifying number must be the valid identifying number as provided under section 168A.04, subdivision 5;
241.17 241.18	(2) the year of the vehicle must be the year of original vehicle manufacture and not the year of restoration; and
241.19	(3) the title must not bear a "reconstructed vehicle" brand.
241.20	Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168A.151, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
241.21 241.22 241.23	Subdivision 1. <b>Salvage titles and prior salvage brands.</b> (a) When an insurer, licensed to conduct business in Minnesota, acquires ownership of a late-model or high-value vehicle, excluding a recovered intact vehicle, through payment of damages, the insurer shall must:
241.26	(1) for a late-model or high-value vehicle, immediately apply for a salvage certificate of title that bears a "salvage" brand or shall stamp the existing certificate of title with the legend "SALVAGE salvage CERTIFICATE OF TITLE" in a manner prescribed by the department; or
	(2) for a vehicle that is not subject to clause (1), immediately apply for a certificate of title that bears a "prior salvage" brand or stamp the existing certificate of title with "prior salvage" in a manner prescribed by the department.

148.25 (6) the title number assigned to the vehicle; (7) a description of the vehicle including, so far as the following data exists, its make, 148.26 148.27 model, year, identifying number, type of body, whether new or used, and if a new vehicle, 148.28 the date of the first sale of the vehicle for use: 148.29 (8) with respect to a motor vehicle subject to section 325E.15, (i) the true cumulative 148.30 mileage registered on the odometer or (ii) that the actual mileage is unknown if the odometer reading is known by the owner to be different from the true mileage; 148.32 (9) if applicable, one or more of the following: (i) with respect to a vehicle subject to sections 325F.6641 168A.151 and 325F.6642, the 149.1 appropriate term brand "flood damaged," "rebuilt," "salvage," "prior salvage," or "reconstructed"; 149.3 (10) (ii) with respect to a vehicle contaminated by methamphetamine production, if the 149.4 registrar has received the certificate of title and notice described in section 152.0275, subdivision 2, paragraph (g), the term brand "hazardous waste contaminated vehicle"; and 149.7 (11) (iii) with respect to a vehicle subject to section 325F.665, the term brand "lemon 149.8 law vehicle"; and (12) (10) any other data the department prescribes. 149.9 (b) For a certificate of title on a vehicle that is a restored pioneer vehicle: 149.10 (1) the identifying number must be the valid identifying number as provided under 149.11 149.12 section 168A.04, subdivision 5; (2) the year of the vehicle must be the year of original vehicle manufacture and not the 149.13 149.14 year of restoration; and 149.15 (3) the title must not bear a "reconstructed vehicle" brand. Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168A.151, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 149.16 149.17 Subdivision 1. Salvage titles and prior salvage brands. (a) When an insurer, licensed 149.18 to conduct business in Minnesota, acquires ownership of a late-model or high-value vehicle, 149.19 excluding a recovered intact vehicle, through payment of damages, the insurer shall must: (1) for a late-model or high-value vehicle, immediately apply for a salvage certificate 149.20 149.21 of title that bears a "salvage" brand or shall stamp the existing certificate of title with the 149.22 legend "SALVAGE salvage CERTIFICATE OF TITLE" in a manner prescribed by the 149.23 department; or (2) for a vehicle that is not subject to clause (1), immediately apply for a certificate of

PAGE R3 REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE

149.25 title that bears a "prior salvage" brand or stamp the existing certificate of title with "prior

149.26 salvage" in a manner prescribed by the department.

242.1 242.2	(b) Within ten days of obtaining the title of a vehicle through payment of damages, an insurer must notify the department in a manner prescribed by the department.
242.3 242.4 242.5 242.6	(b) (c) Except as provided in section 168A.11, subdivision 1, a person shall must immediately apply for a salvage certificate of title that bears a "salvage" brand if the person acquires a damaged late-model or high-value vehicle with an out-of-state title and the vehicle that:
242.7	(1) is a vehicle that was acquired by an insurer through payment of damages;
242.8 242.9	(2) is a vehicle for which the will incur a cost of repairs that exceeds the value of the damaged vehicle; or
242.10	(3) has an out-of-state salvage certificate of title as proof of ownership-; or
242.11 242.12	(4) bears the brand "damaged," "repairable," "salvage," or any similar term on the certificate of title.
242.13 242.14 242.15	(d) Except as provided in section 168A.11, subdivision 1, a person must immediately apply for a certificate of title that bears a "prior salvage" brand if the person acquires a damaged vehicle and:
242.16	(1) a "salvage" brand is not required under paragraph (c); and
242.17	(2) the vehicle:
242.18 242.19	(i) bears the brand "damaged," "repairable," "salvage," "rebuilt," "reconditioned," or any similar term on the certificate of title; or
242.20 242.21	(ii) had a salvage certificate of title or brand issued at any time in the vehicle's history by any other jurisdiction.
242.22 242.23 242.24	(e) (e) A self-insured owner of a late-model or high-value vehicle that sustains damage by collision or other occurrence which exceeds 80 percent of its actual cash value shall must:
242.25 242.26	(1) for a late-model or high-value vehicle, immediately apply for a salvage certificate of title; that bears a "salvage" brand; or
242.27 242.28	(2) for a vehicle that is not subject to clause (1), immediately apply for a certificate of title that bears a "prior salvage" brand.
242.29	Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168A.152, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
242.30 242.31 243.1 243.2	Subdivision 1. <b>Certificate of inspection.</b> (a) A salvage certificate of title that bears a "salvage" brand or stamp authorizes the holder to possess, transport, and transfer ownership in a vehicle. A salvage certificate of title that bears a "salvage" brand or stamp does not authorize the holder to register a vehicle. A certificate of title must not be issued for a vehicle

for which a salvage certificate of title has been issued unless

149.27 (b) Within ten days of obtaining the title of a vehicle through payment of damages, an 149.28 insurer must notify the department in a manner prescribed by the department. (b) (c) Except as provided in section 168A.11, subdivision 1, a person shall must 149.29 149.30 immediately apply for a salvage certificate of title that bears a "salvage" brand if the person acquires a damaged late-model or high-value vehicle with an out-of-state title and the vehicle 150.2 that: 150.3 (1) is a vehicle that was acquired by an insurer through payment of damages; 150.4 (2) is a vehicle for which the will incur a cost of repairs that exceeds the value of the damaged vehicle; or 150.5 150.6 (3) has an out-of-state salvage certificate of title as proof of ownership.; or (4) bears the brand "damaged," "repairable," "salvage," or any similar term on the 150.7 150.8 certificate of title. (d) Except as provided in section 168A.11, subdivision 1, a person must immediately 150.9 150.10 apply for a certificate of title that bears a "prior salvage" brand if the person acquires a 150.11 damaged vehicle and: (1) a "salvage" brand is not required under paragraph (c); and 150.12 150.13 (2) the vehicle: (i) bears the brand "damaged," "repairable," "salvage," "rebuilt," "reconditioned," or 150.14 150.15 any similar term on the certificate of title; or (ii) had a salvage certificate of title or brand issued at any time in the vehicle's history 150.16 150.17 by any other jurisdiction. (e) (e) A self-insured owner of a late-model or high-value vehicle that sustains damage 150.18 150.19 by collision or other occurrence which exceeds 80 percent of its actual cash value shall 150.20 must: (1) for a late-model or high-value vehicle, immediately apply for a salvage certificate 150.21 150.22 of title: that bears a "salvage" brand; or (2) for a vehicle that is not subject to clause (1), immediately apply for a certificate of 150.23 150.24 title that bears a "prior salvage" brand. Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168A.152, subdivision 1, is amended to read: Subdivision 1. Certificate of inspection. (a) A salvage certificate of title that bears a "salvage" brand or stamp authorizes the holder to possess, transport, and transfer ownership 150.28 in a vehicle. A salvage certificate of title that bears a "salvage" brand or stamp does not

PAGE R4 REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE

150.30 for which a salvage certificate of title has been issued unless

150.29 authorize the holder to register a vehicle. A certificate of title must not be issued for a vehicle

H4293-3

243.5	brand or stamp, the commissioner must not issue a certificate of title that bears a "prior
243.6	salvage" brand unless the application for title is accompanied by a certification of inspection
243.7	in the form and content specified by the department accompanies the application for a
243.8	eertificate of title.
243.9	Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168A.152, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:
243.10	Subd. 1a. Duties of salvage vehicle purchaser. No salvage vehicle purchaser shall
243.11	possess or retain a salvage vehicle which does not have a salvage certificate of title that
	bears a "salvage" or "prior salvage" brand. The salvage vehicle purchaser shall must display
243.13	the salvage certificate of title upon the request of any appropriate public authority.
243.14	Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 325F.662, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
243.15 243.16	Subd. 3. <b>Exclusions.</b> Notwithstanding the provisions of subdivision 2, a dealer is not required to provide an express warranty for a used motor vehicle:
243.17	(1) sold for a total cash sale price of less than \$3,000, including the trade-in value of
	any vehicle traded in by the consumer, but excluding tax, license fees, registration fees, and
243.19	finance charges;
243.20	(2) with an engine designed to use diesel fuel;
243.21	(3) with a gross weight, as defined in section 168.002, subdivision 13, in excess of 9,000
243.22	pounds;
243.23	(4) that has been custom-built or modified for show or for racing;
243.24	(5) that is eight years of age or older, as calculated from the first day in January of the
243.25	designated model year of the vehicle;
243.26	(6) that has been produced by a manufacturer which has never manufactured more than
243.27	10,000 motor vehicles in any one year;
243.27	10,000 motor venicles in any one year,
243.28	(7) that has 75,000 miles or more at time of sale;
243.29	(8) that has not been manufactured in compliance with applicable federal emission
243.30	standards in force at the time of manufacture as provided by the Clean Air Act, United
243.31	States Code, title 42, sections 7401 through 7642, and regulations adopted pursuant thereto,
244.1	and safety standards as provided by the National Traffic and Motor Safety Act, United
244.2	States Code, title 15, sections 1381 through 1431, and regulations adopted pursuant thereto;
244.3	or
244.4 244.5	(9) that has been issued a salvage certificate of title that bears a "salvage" brand or stamp under section 168A.151.

(b) For a late-model or high-value vehicle with a certificate of title that bears a "salvage"

243.4

UEH4293-1

151.1	(b) For a late-model or high-value vehicle with a certificate of title that bears a "salvage"
151.2	brand or stamp, the commissioner must not issue a certificate of title that bears a "prior
151.3	salvage" brand or stamp unless the application for title is accompanied by a certification of
151.4	inspection in the form and content specified by the department accompanies the application
151.5	for a certificate of title.
151.6	Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168A.152, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:
151.7	Subd. 1a. Duties of salvage vehicle purchaser. No salvage vehicle purchaser shall
151.8	possess or retain a salvage vehicle which does not have a salvage certificate of title that
151.9	bears a "salvage" or "prior salvage" brand or stamp. The salvage vehicle purchaser shall
	must display the salvage certificate of title upon the request of any appropriate public
151.11	authority.
151.12	Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 325F.662, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
151.13	Subd. 3. Exclusions. Notwithstanding the provisions of subdivision 2, a dealer is not
151.14	required to provide an express warranty for a used motor vehicle:
151.15	(1) sold for a total cash sale price of less than \$3,000, including the trade-in value of
	any vehicle traded in by the consumer, but excluding tax, license fees, registration fees, and
	finance charges;
151.18	(2) with an engine designed to use diesel fuel;
151.19	(3) with a gross weight, as defined in section 168.002, subdivision 13, in excess of 9,000
151.20	pounds;
151.21	(4) that has been custom-built or modified for show or for racing;
131.21	
151.22	(5) that is eight years of age or older, as calculated from the first day in January of the
151.23	designated model year of the vehicle;
151.24	(6) that has been produced by a manufacturer which has never manufactured more than
151.25	10,000 motor vehicles in any one year;
151.26	(7) that has 75,000 miles or more at time of sale;
151.27	(8) that has not been manufactured in compliance with applicable federal emission
151.27	
151.29	· · · · · ·
151.30	
152.1	States Code, title 15, sections 1381 through 1431, and regulations adopted pursuant thereto;
152.2	or
152.3	(9) that has been issued a salvage certificate of title that bears a "salvage" brand or stamp

PAGE R5 REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE

152.4 under section 168A.151.

153.8

vehicles.

244.7	325F.6641 DISCLOSURE OF VEHICLE DAMAGE.
244.8 244.9	Subdivision 1. <b>Prior damage disclosure.</b> (a) If a late-model vehicle, as defined in section 168A.01, subdivision 8a, has sustained damage by collision or other occurrence
244.10	which exceeds 80 percent of its actual cash value immediately prior to sustaining damage,
244.11	the seller must disclose that fact to the buyer, if the seller has actual knowledge of the
244.12	damage. The amount of damage is determined by the retail cost of repairing the vehicle
244.13	
244.14	(b) The disclosure required under this subdivision must be made in writing on the
244.15	application for title and registration or other transfer document, in a manner prescribed by
244.16	the registrar of motor vehicles. The registrar shall revise must design the certificate of title
244.17	form, including the assignment by seller (transferor) and reassignment by licensed dealer
244.18	sections of the form, the separate application for title forms, and other transfer documents
244.19	to accommodate this disclosure. If the seller is a motor vehicle dealer licensed pursuant to
	section 168.27, the disclosure required by this section must be made orally by the dealer to
244.21	the prospective buyer in the course of the sales presentation.
244.22	(e) Upon transfer and application for title to a vehicle covered by this subdivision, the
244.23	registrar shall record the term "rebuilt" on the first Minnesota certificate of title and all
244.24	subsequent Minnesota certificates of title used for that vehicle.
244.25	Subd. 2. Form of Disclosure requirements. (a) If a motor vehicle dealer licensed under
244.26	section 168.27 offers a vehicle for sale in the course of a sales presentation to any prospective
244.27	buyer the dealer must provide a written disclosure and, except for sales performed online,
244.28	an oral disclosure of:
244.29	(1) prior vehicle damage as required under subdivision 1;
244.30	(2) the existence or requirement of any title brand under sections 168A.05, subdivision
244.31	3, 168A.151, 325F.6642, or 325F.665, subdivision 14, if the dealer has actual knowledge
244.32	of the brand; and
245.1	(3) if a motor vehicle, which is part of a licensed motor vehicle dealer's inventory, has
245.2	been submerged or flooded above the bottom dashboard while parked on the dealer's lot.
245.3	(b) If a person receives a flood disclosure as described in paragraph (a), clause (3),
245.4	whether from a motor vehicle dealer or another seller, and subsequently offers that vehicle
245.5	for sale, the person must provide the same disclosure to any prospective subsequent buyer.
245.6	(c) Written disclosure under this subdivision must be signed by the buyer and maintained
45.7	in the motor vehicle dealer's sales file in the manner prescribed by the registrar of motor
245.8	vehicles.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 325F.6641, is amended to read:

152.5 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 325F.6641, is amended to read: 325F.6641 DISCLOSURE OF VEHICLE DAMAGE. 152.6 Subdivision 1. Prior damage disclosure. (a) If a late-model vehicle, as defined in section 152.7 152.8 168A.01, subdivision 8a, has sustained damage by collision or other occurrence which exceeds 80 percent of its actual cash value immediately prior to sustaining damage, the 152.10 seller must disclose that fact to the buyer, if the seller has actual knowledge of the damage. The amount of damage is determined by the retail cost of repairing the vehicle based on a 152.12 complete written retail repair estimate or invoice. (b) The disclosure required under this subdivision must be made in writing on the 152.14 application for title and registration or other transfer document, in a manner prescribed by 152.15 the registrar of motor vehicles. The registrar shall revise must design the certificate of title 152.16 form, including the assignment by seller (transferor) and reassignment by licensed dealer sections of the form, the separate application for title forms, and other transfer documents 152.18 to accommodate this disclosure. If the seller is a motor vehicle dealer licensed pursuant to section 168.27, the disclosure required by this section must be made orally by the dealer to 152.20 the prospective buyer in the course of the sales presentation. (c) Upon transfer and application for title to a vehicle covered by this subdivision, the 152.21 152.22 registrar shall record the term "rebuilt" on the first Minnesota certificate of title and all 152.23 subsequent Minnesota certificates of title used for that vehicle. Subd. 2. Form of Disclosure requirements. (a) If a motor vehicle dealer licensed under 152.24 section 168.27 offers a vehicle for sale in the course of a sales presentation to any prospective buyer, the dealer must provide a written disclosure and, except for sales performed online, an oral disclosure of: 152.28 (1) prior vehicle damage as required under subdivision 1; 152.29 (2) the existence or requirement of any title brand under sections 168A.05, subdivision 152.30 3, 168A.151, 325F.6642, or 325F.665, subdivision 14, if the dealer has actual knowledge 152.31 of the brand; and (3) if a motor vehicle, which is part of a licensed motor vehicle dealer's inventory, has 153.1 been submerged or flooded above the bottom dashboard while parked on the dealer's lot. (b) If a person receives a flood disclosure as described in paragraph (a), clause (3), 153.3 whether from a motor vehicle dealer or another seller, and subsequently offers that vehicle for sale, the person must provide the same disclosure to any prospective subsequent buyer. 153.5 (c) Written disclosure under this subdivision must be signed by the buyer and maintained in the motor vehicle dealer's sales file in the manner prescribed by the registrar of motor 153.7

PAGE R6 REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE

H4293-3

245.9	(d) The disclosure required in this section subdivision 1 must be made in substantially
245.10	the following form: "To the best of my knowledge, this vehicle has has not sustained damage in excess of 80 percent actual cash value."
243.11	•
245.12	Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 325F.6642, is amended to read:
245.13	325F.6642 TITLE BRANDING.
245.14	Subdivision 1. Flood damage. If the application for title and registration indicates that
245.15	the vehicle has been classified as a total loss vehicle because of water or flood damage, or
	that the vehicle bears a "flood damaged" or similar brand, the registrar of motor vehicles
	shall must record the term brand "flood damaged" on the certificate of title and all subsequent
245.18	certificates of title issued for that vehicle.
245.19	Subd. 2. Total loss Salvage vehicles. (a) Upon transfer and application for title to all
245.20	total loss vehicles for which the "salvage" brand is required under section 168A.151,
245.21	subdivision 1, the registrar of motor vehicles shall must (1) record the term brand "prior
245.22	salvage" on the first Minnesota certificate of title, and (2) subject to section 168A.152,
245.23	record the brand "prior salvage" on all subsequent Minnesota certificates of title used issued
245.24	for that vehicle.
245.25	(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), a "prior salvage" brand is not required for a recovered
245.26	intact vehicle, as defined in section 168A.01, subdivision 16b.
246.10	Subd. 2a. <b>Prior salvage.</b> Upon application for title to all vehicles for which the "prior
246.11	salvage" brand is required under section 168A.151, subdivision 1, the registrar of motor
246.12	vehicles must record the brand "prior salvage" on the certificate of title and all subsequent
246.13	certificates of title issued for that vehicle.
246.14	Subd. 2b. Certain damaged vehicles. Upon transfer and application for title to a vehicle
246.15	that is subject to section 325F.6641, subdivision 1, the registrar of motor vehicles must (1)
246.16	record the brand "salvage" on the first certificate of title, and (2) subject to section 168A.152, record the brand "prior salvage" on all subsequent certificates of title issued for that vehicle.
246.17	record the brand prior sarvage on an subsequent certificates of title issued for that vehicle.
245.27	Subd. 3. Out-of-state vehicles. (a) Upon transfer and application for title of all repaired
	vehicles with out-of-state titles that bear the term "damaged," "salvage," "rebuilt,"
	"reconditioned," or any similar term, the registrar of motor vehicles shall record the term
	"prior salvage" on the first Minnesota certificate of title and all subsequent Minnesota
245.31	certificates of title used for that vehicle.
246.1	(b) The registrar shall mark "prior salvage" on the first Minnesota certificate of title and
246.2	all subsequent certificates of title issued for any vehicle which came into the state unrepaired
2462	
246.3	and for which a salvage certificate of title was issued.
246.3	and for which a salvage certificate of title was issued.

153.9 (d) The disclosure required in this section subdivision 1 must be made in substantially 153.10 the following form: "To the best of my knowledge, this vehicle has ..... has not ..... sustained 153.11 damage in excess of 80 percent actual cash value." Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 325F.6642, is amended to read: 153.13 325F.6642 TITLE BRANDING. Subdivision 1. Flood damage. If the application for title and registration indicates that 153.15 the vehicle has been classified as a total loss vehicle because of water or flood damage, or 153.16 that the vehicle bears a "flood damaged" or similar brand, the registrar of motor vehicles shall must record the term brand "flood damaged" on the certificate of title and all subsequent 153.18 certificates of title issued for that vehicle. 153.19 Subd. 2. Total loss Salvage vehicles. (a) Upon transfer and application for title to all 153.20 total loss vehicles for which the "salvage" brand is required under section 168A.151, 153.21 subdivision 1, the registrar of motor vehicles shall must (1) record the term brand "prior 153.22 salvage" on the first Minnesota certificate of title, and (2) subject to section 168A.152, 153.23 record the brand "prior salvage" on all subsequent Minnesota certificates of title used issued 153.24 for that vehicle. 153.25 (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), a "prior salvage" brand is not required for a recovered 153.26 intact vehicle, as defined in section 168A.01, subdivision 16b. 153.27 Subd. 2a. Prior salvage. Upon application for title to all vehicles for which the "prior 153.28 salvage" brand is required under section 168A.151, subdivision 1, the registrar of motor 153.29 vehicles must record the brand "prior salvage" on the certificate of title and all subsequent 153.30 certificates of title issued for that vehicle. Subd. 2b. Certain damaged vehicles. Upon transfer and application for title to a vehicle 153.32 that is subject to section 325F.6641, subdivision 1, the registrar of motor vehicles must (1) record the brand "salvage" on the first certificate of title, and (2) subject to section 168A.152, record the brand "prior salvage" on all subsequent certificates of title issued for that vehicle. Subd. 3. Out-of-state vehicles. (a) Upon transfer and application for title of all repaired 154.3 vehicles with out-of-state titles that bear the term "damaged," "salvage," "rebuilt," "reconditioned," or any similar term, the registrar of motor vehicles shall record the term "prior salvage" on the first Minnesota certificate of title and all subsequent Minnesota certificates of title used for that vehicle. (b) The registrar shall mark "prior salvage" on the first Minnesota certificate of title and 154.8 all subsequent certificates of title issued for any vehicle which came into the state unrepaired 154.10 and for which a salvage certificate of title was issued. (e) For vehicles with out-of-state titles which bear the term "flood damaged," the registrar 154.11 154.12 of motor vehicles shall record the term "flood damaged" on the first Minnesota certificate

UEH4293-1

PAGE R7 REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE

154.13 of title and all subsequent Minnesota certificates of title issued for that vehicle.

246.7 246.8 246.9	(d) the registrar shall mark "prior salvage" on the first Minnesota certificate of title and all subsequent certificates of title issued for any vehicle that had a salvage certificate of title issued at any time in the vehicle's history by any other jurisdiction.
	Subd. 4. <b>Reconstructed vehicles.</b> For vehicles that are reconstructed within the meaning of section 168A.15, the registrar shall <u>must</u> record the term <u>brand</u> "reconstructed" on the certificate of title and all subsequent certificates of title.
	Subd. 5. <b>Manner of branding.</b> The Each brand designation of "flood damaged," "rebuilt "prior salvage," or "reconstructed" under this section or section 168A.05, subdivision 3, 168A.151, or 325F.665, subdivision 14, required on a certificate of title shall must be made by the registrar of motor vehicles in a clear and conspicuous manner, in a color format different from all other writing on the certificate of title.
246.28 246.29	Subd. 6. Total loss vehicle; definition. For the purposes of this section, "total loss vehicle" means a vehicle damaged by collision or other occurrence, for which a salvage certificate of title has been issued. Total loss vehicle does not include a stolen and recovered vehicle verified by the insurer who declared the vehicle to be a total loss vehicle unless there is more than minimal damage to the vehicle as determined by the registrar.
	Subd. 7. <b>Dealer disclosure.</b> If a licensed motor vehicle dealer offers for sale a vehicle with a branded title, the dealer shall orally disclose the existence of the brand in the course of the sales presentation.
247.1 247.2 247.3 247.4 247.5 247.6	Subd. 8. Flood damage; dealer lots. If a motor vehicle, which is part of a licensed motor vehicle dealer's inventory, has been submerged or flooded above the bottom of the dashboard while parked on the dealer's lot, the dealer must disclose that fact in writing to any buyer and must orally disclose that fact in the course of a sales presentation to any prospective buyer. The buyer must also disclose the existence of the flood damage in writing to any subsequent buyer.
247.7	Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 325F.665, subdivision 14, is amended to read:
247.8 247.9 247.10	Subd. 14. <b>Title branding.</b> (a) Upon transfer and application for title of all vehicles subject to this section, the registrar of motor vehicles shall record the term "lemon law vehicle" on the certificate of title and all subsequent certificates of title for that vehicle.
	(b) For vehicles with out-of-state titles that bear the term "lemon law vehicle," or any similar term, the registrar of motor vehicles shall record the term "lemon law vehicle" on the first Minnesota certificate of title and all subsequent Minnesota certificates of title issued for that vehicle.

(c) The designation of "lemon law vehicle" on a certificate of title must be made by the

247.16 registrar of motor vehicles in a clear and conspicuous manner, in a color different from all

247.15

247.17 other writing on the certificate of title.

	(d) the registrar shall mark "prior salvage" on the first Minnesota certificate of title and all subsequent certificates of title issued for any vehicle that had a salvage certificate of title issued at any time in the vehicle's history by any other jurisdiction.
	Subd. 4. <b>Reconstructed vehicles.</b> For vehicles that are reconstructed within the meaning of section 168A.15, the registrar shall <u>must</u> record the <u>term brand</u> "reconstructed" on the certificate of title and all subsequent certificates of title.
154.22 154.23	Subd. 5. <b>Manner of branding.</b> The Each brand designation of "flood damaged," "rebuilt, "prior salvage," or "reconstructed" under this section or section 168A.05, subdivision 3, 168A.151, or 325F.665, subdivision 14, required on a certificate of title shall must be made by the registrar of motor vehicles in a clear and conspicuous manner, in a eolor format different from all other writing on the certificate of title.
154.27 154.28	Subd. 6. Total loss vehicle; definition. For the purposes of this section, "total loss vehicle" means a vehicle damaged by collision or other occurrence, for which a salvage certificate of title has been issued. Total loss vehicle does not include a stolen and recovered vehicle verified by the insurer who declared the vehicle to be a total loss vehicle unless there is more than minimal damage to the vehicle as determined by the registrar.
	Subd. 7. Dealer disclosure. If a licensed motor vehicle dealer offers for sale a vehicle with a branded title, the dealer shall orally disclose the existence of the brand in the course of the sales presentation.
155.1 155.2 155.3 155.4 155.5 155.6	Subd. 8. Flood damage; dealer lots. If a motor vehicle, which is part of a licensed motor vehicle dealer's inventory, has been submerged or flooded above the bottom of the dashboard while parked on the dealer's lot, the dealer must disclose that fact in writing to any buyer and must orally disclose that fact in the course of a sales presentation to any prospective buyer. The buyer must also disclose the existence of the flood damage in writing to any subsequent buyer.
155.7	Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 325F.665, subdivision 14, is amended to read:
155.8 155.9 155.10	Subd. 14. <b>Title branding.</b> (a) Upon transfer and application for title of all vehicles subject to this section, the registrar of motor vehicles shall record the term "lemon law vehicle" on the certificate of title and all subsequent certificates of title for that vehicle.
155.13	(b) For vehicles with out-of-state titles that bear the term "lemon law vehicle," or any similar term, the registrar of motor vehicles shall record the term "lemon law vehicle" on the first Minnesota certificate of title and all subsequent Minnesota certificates of title issued for that vehicle.
155.15 155.16	(c) The designation of "lemon law vehicle" on a certificate of title must be made by the registrar of motor vehicles in a clear and conspicuous manner, in a color different from all

PAGE R8 REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE

155.17 other writing on the certificate of title.

247.18	Sec. 13. REPEALER.
247.19	Minnesota Statutes 2020, sections 168A.01, subdivision 17a; and 325F.6644, are repealed.
247.20	Sec. 14. EFFECTIVE DATE.
247.21	Unless specified otherwise, this article is effective January 1, 2023.

155.18	Sec. 13. REPEALER.
155.19	Minnesota Statutes 2020, sections 168A.01, subdivision 17a; and 325F.6644, are repealed
155.20	Sec. 14. EFFECTIVE DATE.
155.21	This article is effective January 1, 2023.