
258.9 ARTICLE 9​

258.10 ECONOMIC SUPPORTS​

362.16 ARTICLE 8​

362.17 ECONOMIC SUPPORTS​

362.18 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 119B.011, subdivision 15, is amended to read:​

362.19 Subd. 15. Income. "Income" means earned income as defined under section 256P.01,​
362.20 subdivision 3, unearned income as defined under section 256P.01, subdivision 8, and public​
362.21 assistance cash benefits, including the Minnesota family investment program, diversionary​
362.22 work program, work benefit, Minnesota supplemental aid, general assistance, refugee cash​
362.23 assistance, at-home infant child care subsidy payments, and child support and maintenance​
362.24 distributed to the a family under section 256.741, subdivision 2a, and nonrecurring income​
362.25 over $60 per quarter unless earmarked and used for the purpose for which it was intended.​
362.26 The following are deducted from income: funds used to pay for health insurance premiums​
362.27 for family members, and child or spousal support paid to or on behalf of a person or persons​
362.28 who live outside of the household. Income sources that are not included in this subdivision​
362.29 and section 256P.06, subdivision 3, are not counted as income.​

362.30 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective March 1, 2023.​

363.1 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 119B.025, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

363.2 Subd. 4. Changes in eligibility. (a) The county shall process a change in eligibility​
363.3 factors according to paragraphs (b) to (g).​

363.4 (b) A family is subject to the reporting requirements in section 256P.07, subdivision 6.​

363.5 (c) If a family reports a change or a change is known to the agency before the family's​
363.6 regularly scheduled redetermination, the county must act on the change. The commissioner​
363.7 shall establish standards for verifying a change.​

363.8 (d) A change in income occurs on the day the participant received the first payment​
363.9 reflecting the change in income.​

363.10 (e) During a family's 12-month eligibility period, if the family's income increases and​
363.11 remains at or below 85 percent of the state median income, adjusted for family size, there​
363.12 is no change to the family's eligibility. The county shall not request verification of the​
363.13 change. The co-payment fee shall not increase during the remaining portion of the family's​
363.14 12-month eligibility period.​

363.15 (f) During a family's 12-month eligibility period, if the family's income increases and​
363.16 exceeds 85 percent of the state median income, adjusted for family size, the family is not​
363.17 eligible for child care assistance. The family must be given 15 calendar days to provide​
363.18 verification of the change. If the required verification is not returned or confirms ineligibility,​
363.19 the family's eligibility ends following a subsequent 15-day adverse action notice.​

363.20 (g) Notwithstanding Minnesota Rules, parts 3400.0040, subpart 3, and 3400.0170,​
363.21 subpart 1, if an applicant or participant reports that employment ended, the agency may​
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363.22 accept a signed statement from the applicant or participant as verification that employment​
363.23 ended.​

363.24 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective March 1, 2023.​

258.11 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 119B.09, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​391.8 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 119B.09, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

258.12 Subd. 4. Eligibility; annual income; calculation. (a) Annual income of the applicant​
258.13 family is the current monthly income of the family multiplied by 12 or the income for the​

391.9 Subd. 4. Eligibility; annual income; calculation. (a) Annual income of the applicant​
391.10 family is the current monthly income of the family multiplied by 12 or the income for the​

258.14 12-month period immediately preceding the date of application, or income calculated by​
258.15 the method which provides the most accurate assessment of income available to the family.​

391.11 12-month period immediately preceding the date of application, or income calculated by​
391.12 the method which provides the most accurate assessment of income available to the family.​

258.16 (b) Self-employment income must be calculated based on gross receipts less operating​
258.17 expenses section 256P.05, subdivision 2.​

391.13 (b) Self-employment income must be calculated based on gross receipts less operating​
391.14 expenses.​

258.18 (c) Income changes are processed under section 119B.025, subdivision 4. Included lump​
258.19 sums counted as income under section 256P.06, subdivision 3, must be annualized over 12​

391.15 (c) Income changes are processed under section 119B.025, subdivision 4. Included lump​
391.16 sums counted as income under section 256P.06, subdivision 3 119B.011, subdivision 15,​

258.20 months. Income must be verified with documentary evidence. If the applicant does not have​
258.21 sufficient evidence of income, verification must be obtained from the source of the income.​

391.17 must be annualized over 12 months. Income must be verified with documentary evidence.​
391.18 If the applicant does not have sufficient evidence of income, verification must be obtained​
391.19 from the source of the income.​

258.22 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective May 1, 2022.​391.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective March 1, 2023.​

258.23 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 252.27, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:​

258.24 Subd. 2a. Contribution amount. (a) The natural or adoptive parents of a minor child,​
258.25 not including a child determined eligible for medical assistance without consideration of​
258.26 parental income under the TEFRA option or for the purposes of accessing home and​
258.27 community-based waiver services, must contribute to the cost of services used by making​
258.28 monthly payments on a sliding scale based on income, unless the child is married or has​
258.29 been married, parental rights have been terminated, or the child's adoption is subsidized​
258.30 according to chapter 259A or through title IV-E of the Social Security Act. The parental​
258.31 contribution is a partial or full payment for medical services provided for diagnostic,​
259.1 therapeutic, curing, treating, mitigating, rehabilitation, maintenance, and personal care​
259.2 services as defined in United States Code, title 26, section 213, needed by the child with a​
259.3 chronic illness or disability.​

259.4 (b) For households with adjusted gross income equal to or greater than 275 percent of​
259.5 federal poverty guidelines, the parental contribution shall be computed by applying the​
259.6 following schedule of rates to the adjusted gross income of the natural or adoptive parents:​

259.7 (1) if the adjusted gross income is equal to or greater than 275 percent of federal poverty​
259.8 guidelines and less than or equal to 545 percent of federal poverty guidelines, the parental​
259.9 contribution shall be determined using a sliding fee scale established by the commissioner​
259.10 of human services which begins at 1.65 percent of adjusted gross income at 275 percent of​
259.11 federal poverty guidelines and increases to 4.5 percent of adjusted gross income for those​
259.12 with adjusted gross income up to 545 percent of federal poverty guidelines;​
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259.13 (2) if the adjusted gross income is greater than 545 percent of federal poverty guidelines​
259.14 and less than 675 percent of federal poverty guidelines, the parental contribution shall be​
259.15 4.5 percent of adjusted gross income;​

259.16 (3) if the adjusted gross income is equal to or greater than 675 percent of federal poverty​
259.17 guidelines and less than 975 percent of federal poverty guidelines, the parental contribution​
259.18 shall be determined using a sliding fee scale established by the commissioner of human​
259.19 services which begins at 4.5 percent of adjusted gross income at 675 percent of federal​
259.20 poverty guidelines and increases to 5.99 percent of adjusted gross income for those with​
259.21 adjusted gross income up to 975 percent of federal poverty guidelines; and​

259.22 (4) if the adjusted gross income is equal to or greater than 975 percent of federal poverty​
259.23 guidelines, the parental contribution shall be 7.49 percent of adjusted gross income.​

259.24 If the child lives with the parent, the annual adjusted gross income is reduced by $2,400​
259.25 prior to calculating the parental contribution. If the child resides in an institution specified​
259.26 in section 256B.35, the parent is responsible for the personal needs allowance specified​
259.27 under that section in addition to the parental contribution determined under this section.​
259.28 The parental contribution is reduced by any amount required to be paid directly to the child​
259.29 pursuant to a court order, but only if actually paid.​

259.30 (c) The household size to be used in determining the amount of contribution under​
259.31 paragraph (b) includes natural and adoptive parents and their dependents, including the​
259.32 child receiving services. Adjustments in the contribution amount due to annual changes in​
259.33 the federal poverty guidelines shall be implemented on the first day of July following​
259.34 publication of the changes.​

260.1 (d) For purposes of paragraph (b), "income" means the adjusted gross income of the​
260.2 natural or adoptive parents determined according to the previous year's federal tax form,​
260.3 except, effective retroactive to July 1, 2003, taxable capital gains to the extent the funds​
260.4 have been used to purchase a home shall not be counted as income.​

260.5 (e) The contribution shall be explained in writing to the parents at the time eligibility​
260.6 for services is being determined. The contribution shall be made on a monthly basis effective​
260.7 with the first month in which the child receives services. Annually upon redetermination​
260.8 or at termination of eligibility, if the contribution exceeded the cost of services provided,​
260.9 the local agency or the state shall reimburse that excess amount to the parents, either by​
260.10 direct reimbursement if the parent is no longer required to pay a contribution, or by a​
260.11 reduction in or waiver of parental fees until the excess amount is exhausted. All​
260.12 reimbursements must include a notice that the amount reimbursed may be taxable income​
260.13 if the parent paid for the parent's fees through an employer's health care flexible spending​
260.14 account under the Internal Revenue Code, section 125, and that the parent is responsible​
260.15 for paying the taxes owed on the amount reimbursed.​

260.16 (f) The monthly contribution amount must be reviewed at least every 12 months; when​
260.17 there is a change in household size; and when there is a loss of or gain in income from one​
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260.18 month to another in excess of ten percent. The local agency shall mail a written notice 30​
260.19 days in advance of the effective date of a change in the contribution amount. A decrease in​
260.20 the contribution amount is effective in the month that the parent verifies a reduction in​
260.21 income or change in household size.​

260.22 (g) Parents of a minor child who do not live with each other shall each pay the​
260.23 contribution required under paragraph (a). An amount equal to the annual court-ordered​
260.24 child support payment actually paid on behalf of the child receiving services shall be deducted​
260.25 from the adjusted gross income of the parent making the payment prior to calculating the​
260.26 parental contribution under paragraph (b).​

260.27 (h) The contribution under paragraph (b) shall be increased by an additional five percent​
260.28 if the local agency determines that insurance coverage is available but not obtained for the​
260.29 child. For purposes of this section, "available" means the insurance is a benefit of employment​
260.30 for a family member at an annual cost of no more than five percent of the family's annual​
260.31 income. For purposes of this section, "insurance" means health and accident insurance​
260.32 coverage, enrollment in a nonprofit health service plan, health maintenance organization,​
260.33 self-insured plan, or preferred provider organization.​

261.1 Parents who have more than one child receiving services shall not be required to pay​
261.2 more than the amount for the child with the highest expenditures. There shall be no resource​
261.3 contribution from the parents. The parent shall not be required to pay a contribution in​
261.4 excess of the cost of the services provided to the child, not counting payments made to​
261.5 school districts for education-related services. Notice of an increase in fee payment must​
261.6 be given at least 30 days before the increased fee is due.​

261.7 (i) The contribution under paragraph (b) shall be reduced by $300 per fiscal year if, in​
261.8 the 12 months prior to July 1:​

261.9 (1) the parent applied for insurance for the child;​

261.10 (2) the insurer denied insurance;​

261.11 (3) the parents submitted a complaint or appeal, in writing to the insurer, submitted a​
261.12 complaint or appeal, in writing, to the commissioner of health or the commissioner of​
261.13 commerce, or litigated the complaint or appeal; and​

261.14 (4) as a result of the dispute, the insurer reversed its decision and granted insurance.​

261.15 For purposes of this section, "insurance" has the meaning given in paragraph (h).​

261.16 A parent who has requested a reduction in the contribution amount under this paragraph​
261.17 shall submit proof in the form and manner prescribed by the commissioner or county agency,​
261.18 including, but not limited to, the insurer's denial of insurance, the written letter or complaint​
261.19 of the parents, court documents, and the written response of the insurer approving insurance.​
261.20 The determinations of the commissioner or county agency under this paragraph are not rules​
261.21 subject to chapter 14.​
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261.22 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.14, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

261.23 Subd. 2. Actions to obtain payment. The state agency shall promulgate rules to​
261.24 determine the ability of responsible relatives to contribute partial or complete payment or​
261.25 repayment of medical assistance furnished to recipients for whom they are responsible. All​
261.26 medical assistance exclusions shall be allowed, and a resource limit of $10,000 for​
261.27 nonexcluded resources shall be implemented. Above these limits, a contribution of one-third​
261.28 of the excess resources shall be required. These rules shall not require payment or repayment​
261.29 when payment would cause undue hardship to the responsible relative or that relative's​
261.30 immediate family. These rules shall be consistent with the requirements of section 252.27​
261.31 for not apply to parents of children whose eligibility for medical assistance was determined​
261.32 without deeming of the parents' resources and income under the TEFRA option or for the​
261.33 purposes of accessing home and community-based waiver services. The county agency​
262.1 shall give the responsible relative notice of the amount of the payment or repayment. If the​
262.2 state agency or county agency finds that notice of the payment obligation was given to the​
262.3 responsible relative, but that the relative failed or refused to pay, a cause of action exists​
262.4 against the responsible relative for that portion of medical assistance granted after notice​
262.5 was given to the responsible relative, which the relative was determined to be able to pay.​

262.6 The action may be brought by the state agency or the county agency in the county where​
262.7 assistance was granted, for the assistance, together with the costs of disbursements incurred​
262.8 due to the action.​

262.9 In addition to granting the county or state agency a money judgment, the court may,​
262.10 upon a motion or order to show cause, order continuing contributions by a responsible​
262.11 relative found able to repay the county or state agency. The order shall be effective only​
262.12 for the period of time during which the recipient receives medical assistance from the county​
262.13 or state agency.​

363.25 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256D.03, is amended by adding a subdivision to​
363.26 read:​

363.27 Subd. 2b. Budgeting and reporting. County agencies shall determine eligibility and​
363.28 calculate benefit amounts for general assistance according to the provisions in sections​
363.29 256P.06, 256P.07, 256P.09, and 256P.10.​

363.30 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective March 1, 2023.​

262.14 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256D.051, is amended by adding a subdivision​
262.15 to read:​

364.1 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256D.051, is amended by adding a subdivision​
364.2 to read:​

262.16 Subd. 20. SNAP employment and training. The commissioner shall implement a​
262.17 Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) employment and training program​

364.3 Subd. 20. SNAP employment and training. The commissioner shall implement a​
364.4 Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) employment and training program​

262.18 that meets the SNAP employment and training participation requirements of the United​364.5 that meets the SNAP employment and training participation requirements of the United​
262.19 States Department of Agriculture governed by Code of Federal Regulations, title 7, section​364.6 States Department of Agriculture governed by Code of Federal Regulations, title 7, section​
262.20 273.7. The commissioner shall operate a SNAP employment and training program in which​364.7 273.7. The commissioner shall operate a SNAP employment and training program in which​
262.21 SNAP recipients elect to participate. In order to receive SNAP assistance beyond the time​364.8 SNAP recipients elect to participate. In order to receive SNAP assistance beyond the time​
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364.9 limit, unless residing in an area covered by a time-limit waiver governed by Code of Federal​
364.10 Regulations, title 7, section 273.24, nonexempt SNAP recipients who do not meet federal​

262.22 limit, unless residing in an area covered by a time-limit waiver governed by Code of Federal​
262.23 Regulations, title 7, section 273.24, nonexempt SNAP recipients who do not meet federal​

364.11 SNAP work requirements must participate in an employment and training program. In​ 262.24 SNAP work requirements must participate in an employment and training program. In​
364.12 addition to county and tribal agencies that administer SNAP, the commissioner may contract​
364.13 with third-party providers for SNAP employment and training services.​

262.25 addition to county and Tribal agencies that administer SNAP, the commissioner may contract​
262.26 with third-party providers for SNAP employment and training services.​

262.27 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.​364.14 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.​

262.28 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256D.051, is amended by adding a subdivision​
262.29 to read:​

364.15 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256D.051, is amended by adding a subdivision​
364.16 to read:​

262.30 Subd. 21. County and Tribal agency duties. County or Tribal agencies that administer​
262.31 SNAP shall inform adult SNAP recipients about employment and training services and​

364.17 Subd. 21. County and tribal agency duties. County or tribal agencies that administer​
364.18 SNAP shall inform adult SNAP recipients about employment and training services and​

262.32 providers in the recipient's area. County or Tribal agencies that administer SNAP may elect​364.19 providers in the recipient's area. County or tribal agencies that administer SNAP may elect​
263.1 to subcontract with a public or private entity approved by the commissioner to provide​
263.2 SNAP employment and training services.​

364.20 to subcontract with a public or private entity approved by the commissioner to provide​
364.21 SNAP employment and training services.​

263.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.​364.22 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.​

263.4 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256D.051, is amended by adding a subdivision​
263.5 to read:​

364.23 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256D.051, is amended by adding a subdivision​
364.24 to read:​

263.6 Subd. 22. Duties of commissioner. In addition to any other duties imposed by law, the​
263.7 commissioner shall:​

364.25 Subd. 22. Duties of commissioner. In addition to any other duties imposed by law, the​
364.26 commissioner shall:​

263.8 (1) supervise the administration of SNAP employment and training services to county,​
263.9 Tribal, and contracted agencies under this section and Code of Federal Regulations, title 7,​
263.10 section 273.7;​

364.27 (1) supervise the administration of SNAP employment and training services to county,​
364.28 tribal, and contracted agencies under this section and Code of Federal Regulations, title 7,​
364.29 section 273.7;​

263.11 (2) disburse money allocated and reimbursed for SNAP employment and training services​
263.12 to county, Tribal, and contracted agencies;​

364.30 (2) disburse money allocated and reimbursed for SNAP employment and training services​
364.31 to county, tribal, and contracted agencies;​

263.13 (3) accept and supervise the disbursement of any funds that may be provided by the​
263.14 federal government or other sources for SNAP employment and training services;​

365.1 (3) accept and supervise the disbursement of any funds that may be provided by the​
365.2 federal government or other sources for SNAP employment and training services;​

263.15 (4) cooperate with other agencies, including any federal agency or agency of another​
263.16 state, in all matters concerning the powers and duties of the commissioner under this section;​

365.3 (4) cooperate with other agencies, including any federal agency or agency of another​
365.4 state, in all matters concerning the powers and duties of the commissioner under this section;​

263.17 (5) coordinate with the commissioner of employment and economic development to​
263.18 deliver employment and training services statewide;​

365.5 (5) coordinate with the commissioner of employment and economic development to​
365.6 deliver employment and training services statewide;​

263.19 (6) work in partnership with counties, tribes, and other agencies to enhance the reach​
263.20 and services of a statewide SNAP employment and training program; and​

365.7 (6) work in partnership with counties, tribes, and other agencies to enhance the reach​
365.8 and services of a statewide SNAP employment and training program; and​

263.21 (7) identify eligible nonfederal funds to earn federal reimbursement for SNAP​
263.22 employment and training services.​

365.9 (7) identify eligible nonfederal funds to earn federal reimbursement for SNAP​
365.10 employment and training services.​

263.23 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.​365.11 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.​
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263.24 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256D.051, is amended by adding a subdivision​
263.25 to read:​

365.12 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256D.051, is amended by adding a subdivision​
365.13 to read:​

263.26 Subd. 23. Participant duties. Unless residing in an area covered by a time-limit waiver,​
263.27 nonexempt SNAP recipients must meet federal SNAP work requirements to receive SNAP​
263.28 assistance beyond the time limit.​

365.14 Subd. 23. Recipient duties. Unless residing in an area covered by a time-limit waiver,​
365.15 nonexempt SNAP recipients must meet federal SNAP work requirements to receive SNAP​
365.16 assistance beyond the time limit.​

263.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.​365.17 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.​

264.1 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256D.051, is amended by adding a subdivision​
264.2 to read:​

365.18 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256D.051, is amended by adding a subdivision​
365.19 to read:​

264.3 Subd. 24. Program funding. (a) The United States Department of Agriculture annually​
264.4 allocates SNAP employment and training funds to the commissioner of human services for​
264.5 the operation of the SNAP employment and training program.​

365.20 Subd. 24. Program funding. (a) The United States Department of Agriculture annually​
365.21 allocates SNAP employment and training funds to the commissioner of human services for​
365.22 the operation of the SNAP employment and training program.​

264.6 (b) The United States Department of Agriculture authorizes the disbursement of SNAP​
264.7 employment and training reimbursement funds to the commissioner of human services for​
264.8 the operation of the SNAP employment and training program.​

365.23 (b) The United States Department of Agriculture authorizes the disbursement of SNAP​
365.24 employment and training reimbursement funds to the commissioner of human services for​
365.25 the operation of the SNAP employment and training program.​

264.9 (c) Except for funds allocated for state program development and administrative purposes​
264.10 or designated by the United States Department of Agriculture for a specific project, the​

365.26 (c) Except for funds allocated for state program development and administrative purposes​
365.27 or designated by the United States Department of Agriculture for a specific project, the​

264.11 commissioner of human services shall disburse money allocated for federal SNAP​365.28 commissioner of human services shall disburse money allocated for federal SNAP​
264.12 employment and training to counties and tribes that administer SNAP based on a formula​365.29 employment and training to counties and tribes that administer SNAP based on a formula​
264.13 determined by the commissioner that includes but is not limited to the county's or tribe's​
264.14 proportion of adult SNAP recipients as compared to the statewide total.​

365.30 determined by the commissioner that includes but is not limited to the county's or tribe's​
365.31 proportion of adult SNAP recipients as compared to the statewide total.​

264.15 (d) The commissioner of human services shall disburse federal funds that the​
264.16 commissioner receives as reimbursement for SNAP employment and training costs to the​
264.17 state agency, county, tribe, or contracted agency that incurred the costs being reimbursed.​

366.1 (d) The commissioner of human services shall disburse federal funds that the​
366.2 commissioner receives as reimbursement for SNAP employment and training costs to the​
366.3 state agency, county, tribe, or contracted agency that incurred the costs being reimbursed.​

264.18 (e) The commissioner of human services may reallocate unexpended money disbursed​
264.19 under this section to county, Tribal, or contracted agencies that demonstrate a need for​
264.20 additional funds.​

366.4 (e) The commissioner of human services may reallocate unexpended money disbursed​
366.5 under this section to county, tribal, or contracted agencies that demonstrate a need for​
366.6 additional funds.​

264.21 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.​366.7 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.​

366.8 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256D.0515, is amended to read:​

366.9 256D.0515 ASSET LIMITATIONS FOR SUPPLEMENTAL NUTRITION​
366.10 ASSISTANCE PROGRAM HOUSEHOLDS.​

366.11 All Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) households must be determined​
366.12 eligible for the benefit discussed under section 256.029. SNAP households must demonstrate​
366.13 that their gross income is equal to or less than 165 200 percent of the federal poverty​
366.14 guidelines for the same family size.​
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366.15 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256D.0516, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

366.16 Subd. 2. SNAP reporting requirements. The commissioner of human services shall​
366.17 implement simplified reporting as permitted under the Food and Nutrition Act of 2008, as​
366.18 amended, and the SNAP regulations in Code of Federal Regulations, title 7, part 273. SNAP​
366.19 benefit recipient households required to report periodically shall not be required to report​
366.20 more often than one time every six months. This provision shall not apply to households​
366.21 receiving food benefits under the Minnesota family investment program waiver.​

366.22 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective March 1, 2023.​

264.22 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256E.30, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

264.23 Subd. 2. Allocation of money. (a) State money appropriated and community service​
264.24 block grant money allotted to the state and all money transferred to the community service​
264.25 block grant from other block grants shall be allocated annually to community action agencies​
264.26 and Indian reservation governments under paragraphs (b) and (c), and to migrant and seasonal​
264.27 farmworker organizations under paragraph (d).​

264.28 (b) The available annual money will provide base funding to all community action​
264.29 agencies and the Indian reservations. Base funding amounts per agency are as follows: for​
264.30 agencies with low income populations up to 1,999, $25,000; 2,000 to 23,999, $50,000; and​
264.31 24,000 or more, $100,000.​

265.1 (c) All remaining money of the annual money available after the base funding has been​
265.2 determined must be allocated to each agency and reservation in proportion to the size of​
265.3 the poverty level population in the agency's service area compared to the size of the poverty​
265.4 level population in the state.​

265.5 (d) Allocation of money to migrant and seasonal farmworker organizations must not​
265.6 exceed three percent of the total annual money available. Base funding allocations must be​
265.7 made for all community action agencies and Indian reservations that received money under​
265.8 this subdivision, in fiscal year 1984, and for community action agencies designated under​
265.9 this section with a service area population of 35,000 or greater.​

265.10 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021.​

265.11 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256E.34, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​366.23 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256E.34, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

265.12 Subdivision 1. Distribution of appropriation. The commissioner must distribute funds​
265.13 appropriated to the commissioner by law for that purpose to Hunger Solutions, a statewide​

366.24 Subdivision 1. Distribution of appropriation. The commissioner must distribute funds​
366.25 appropriated to the commissioner by law for that purpose to Hunger Solutions, a statewide​

265.14 association of food shelves organized as a nonprofit corporation as defined under section​366.26 association of food shelves organized as a nonprofit corporation as defined under section​
265.15 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, to distribute to qualifying food shelves. A​
265.16 food shelf qualifies under this section if:​

366.27 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, to distribute to qualifying food shelves. A​
366.28 food shelf qualifies under this section if:​
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265.17 (1) it is a nonprofit corporation, or is affiliated with a nonprofit corporation, as defined​
265.18 in section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 or a federally recognized Tribal​
265.19 nation;​

366.29 (1) it is a nonprofit corporation, or is affiliated with a nonprofit corporation, as defined​
366.30 in section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 or a federally recognized tribal​
366.31 nation;​

265.20 (2) it distributes standard food orders without charge to needy individuals. The standard​
265.21 food order must consist of at least a two-day supply or six pounds per person of nutritionally​
265.22 balanced food items;​

367.1 (2) it distributes standard food orders without charge to needy individuals. The standard​
367.2 food order must consist of at least a two-day supply or six pounds per person of nutritionally​
367.3 balanced food items;​

265.23 (3) it does not limit food distributions to individuals of a particular religious affiliation,​
265.24 race, or other criteria unrelated to need or to requirements necessary to administration of a​
265.25 fair and orderly distribution system;​

367.4 (3) it does not limit food distributions to individuals of a particular religious affiliation,​
367.5 race, or other criteria unrelated to need or to requirements necessary to administration of a​
367.6 fair and orderly distribution system;​

265.26 (4) it does not use the money received or the food distribution program to foster or​
265.27 advance religious or political views; and​

367.7 (4) it does not use the money received or the food distribution program to foster or​
367.8 advance religious or political views; and​

265.28 (5) it has a stable address and directly serves individuals.​367.9 (5) it has a stable address and directly serves individuals.​

265.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021.​

367.10 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256I.03, subdivision 13, is amended to read:​

367.11 Subd. 13. Prospective budgeting. "Prospective budgeting" means estimating the amount​
367.12 of monthly income a person will have in the payment month has the meaning given in​
367.13 section 256P.01, subdivision 9.​

367.14 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective March 1, 2023.​

367.15 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256I.06, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

367.16 Subd. 6. Reports. Recipients must report changes in circumstances according to section​
367.17 256P.07 that affect eligibility or housing support payment amounts, other than changes in​
367.18 earned income, within ten days of the change. Recipients with countable earned income​
367.19 must complete a household report form at least once every six months according to section​
367.20 256P.10. If the report form is not received before the end of the month in which it is due,​
367.21 the county agency must terminate eligibility for housing support payments. The termination​
367.22 shall be effective on the first day of the month following the month in which the report was​
367.23 due. If a complete report is received within the month eligibility was terminated, the​
367.24 individual is considered to have continued an application for housing support payment​
367.25 effective the first day of the month the eligibility was terminated.​

367.26 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective March 1, 2023.​

367.27 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256I.06, subdivision 8, is amended to read:​

367.28 Subd. 8. Amount of housing support payment. (a) The amount of a room and board​
367.29 payment to be made on behalf of an eligible individual is determined by subtracting the​
367.30 individual's countable income under section 256I.04, subdivision 1, for a whole calendar​
367.31 month from the room and board rate for that same month. The housing support payment is​

REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE​PAGE R9​

UEH2128-1​H2128-4​



368.1 determined by multiplying the housing support rate times the period of time the individual​
368.2 was a resident or temporarily absent under section 256I.05, subdivision 1c, paragraph (d).​

368.3 (b) For an individual with earned income under paragraph (a), prospective budgeting​
368.4 must be used to determine the amount of the individual's payment for the following six-month​
368.5 period. An increase in income shall not affect an individual's eligibility or payment amount​
368.6 until the month following the reporting month. A decrease in income shall be effective the​
368.7 first day of the month after the month in which the decrease is reported.​

368.8 (c) (b) For an individual who receives housing support payments under section 256I.04,​
368.9 subdivision 1, paragraph (c), the amount of the housing support payment is determined by​
368.10 multiplying the housing support rate times the period of time the individual was a resident.​

368.11 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective March 1, 2023.​

368.12 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256J.08, subdivision 15, is amended to read:​

368.13 Subd. 15. Countable income. "Countable income" means earned and unearned income​
368.14 that is not excluded under section 256J.21, subdivision 2 described in section 256P.06,​
368.15 subdivision 3, or disregarded under section 256J.21, subdivision 3, or section 256P.03.​

368.16 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.​

368.17 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256J.08, subdivision 71, is amended to read:​

368.18 Subd. 71. Prospective budgeting. "Prospective budgeting" means a method of​
368.19 determining the amount of the assistance payment in which the budget month and payment​
368.20 month are the same has the meaning given in section 256P.01, subdivision 9.​

368.21 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective March 1, 2023.​

368.22 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256J.08, subdivision 79, is amended to read:​

368.23 Subd. 79. Recurring income. "Recurring income" means a form of income which is:​

368.24 (1) received periodically, and may be received irregularly when receipt can be anticipated​
368.25 even though the date of receipt cannot be predicted; and​

368.26 (2) from the same source or of the same type that is received and budgeted in a​
368.27 prospective month and is received in one or both of the first two retrospective months.​

368.28 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective March 1, 2023.​

369.1 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256J.10, is amended to read:​

369.2 256J.10 MFIP ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS.​

369.3 To be eligible for MFIP, applicants must meet the general eligibility requirements in​
369.4 sections 256J.11 to 256J.15, the property limitations in section 256P.02, and the income​
369.5 limitations in section sections 256J.21 and 256P.06.​
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369.6 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.​

369.7 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256J.21, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

369.8 Subd. 3. Initial income test. The agency shall determine initial eligibility by considering​
369.9 all earned and unearned income that is not excluded under subdivision 2 as defined in section​
369.10 256P.06. To be eligible for MFIP, the assistance unit's countable income minus the earned​
369.11 income disregards in paragraph (a) and section 256P.03 must be below the family wage​
369.12 level according to section 256J.24, subdivision 7, for that size assistance unit.​

369.13 (a) The initial eligibility determination must disregard the following items:​

369.14 (1) the earned income disregard as determined in section 256P.03;​

369.15 (2) dependent care costs must be deducted from gross earned income for the actual​
369.16 amount paid for dependent care up to a maximum of $200 per month for each child less​
369.17 than two years of age, and $175 per month for each child two years of age and older;​

369.18 (3) all payments made according to a court order for spousal support or the support of​
369.19 children not living in the assistance unit's household shall be disregarded from the income​
369.20 of the person with the legal obligation to pay support; and​

369.21 (4) an allocation for the unmet need of an ineligible spouse or an ineligible child under​
369.22 the age of 21 for whom the caregiver is financially responsible and who lives with the​
369.23 caregiver according to section 256J.36.​

369.24 (b) After initial eligibility is established, The income test is for a six-month period. The​
369.25 assistance payment calculation is based on the monthly income test prospective budgeting​
369.26 according to section 256P.09.​

369.27 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021, except for the​
369.28 amendments in subdivision 3, paragraph (b), which are effective March 1, 2023.​

370.1 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256J.21, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

370.2 Subd. 4. Monthly Income test and determination of assistance payment. The county​
370.3 agency shall determine ongoing eligibility and the assistance payment amount according​
370.4 to the monthly income test. To be eligible for MFIP, the result of the computations in​
370.5 paragraphs (a) to (e) applied to prospective budgeting must be at least $1.​

370.6 (a) Apply an income disregard as defined in section 256P.03, to gross earnings and​
370.7 subtract this amount from the family wage level. If the difference is equal to or greater than​
370.8 the MFIP transitional standard, the assistance payment is equal to the MFIP transitional​
370.9 standard. If the difference is less than the MFIP transitional standard, the assistance payment​
370.10 is equal to the difference. The earned income disregard in this paragraph must be deducted​
370.11 every month there is earned income.​
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370.12 (b) All payments made according to a court order for spousal support or the support of​
370.13 children not living in the assistance unit's household must be disregarded from the income​
370.14 of the person with the legal obligation to pay support.​

370.15 (c) An allocation for the unmet need of an ineligible spouse or an ineligible child under​
370.16 the age of 21 for whom the caregiver is financially responsible and who lives with the​
370.17 caregiver must be made according to section 256J.36.​

370.18 (d) Subtract unearned income dollar for dollar from the MFIP transitional standard to​
370.19 determine the assistance payment amount.​

370.20 (e) When income is both earned and unearned, the amount of the assistance payment​
370.21 must be determined by first treating gross earned income as specified in paragraph (a). After​
370.22 determining the amount of the assistance payment under paragraph (a), unearned income​
370.23 must be subtracted from that amount dollar for dollar to determine the assistance payment​
370.24 amount.​

370.25 (f) When the monthly income is greater than the MFIP transitional standard after​
370.26 deductions and the income will only exceed the standard for one month, the county agency​
370.27 must suspend the assistance payment for the payment month.​

370.28 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective March 1, 2023.​

370.29 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256J.21, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

370.30 Subd. 5. Distribution of income. (a) The income of all members of the assistance unit​
370.31 must be counted. Income may also be deemed from ineligible persons to the assistance unit.​
371.1 Income must be attributed to the person who earns it or to the assistance unit according to​
371.2 paragraphs (a) to (b) and (c).​

371.3 (a) Funds distributed from a trust, whether from the principal holdings or sale of trust​
371.4 property or from the interest and other earnings of the trust holdings, must be considered​
371.5 income when the income is legally available to an applicant or participant. Trusts are​
371.6 presumed legally available unless an applicant or participant can document that the trust is​
371.7 not legally available.​

371.8 (b) Income from jointly owned property must be divided equally among property owners​
371.9 unless the terms of ownership provide for a different distribution.​

371.10 (c) Deductions are not allowed from the gross income of a financially responsible​
371.11 household member or by the members of an assistance unit to meet a current or prior debt.​

371.12 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.​

371.13 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256J.24, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

371.14 Subd. 5. MFIP transitional standard. (a) The MFIP transitional standard is based on​
371.15 the number of persons in the assistance unit eligible for both food and cash assistance. The​
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371.16 amount of the transitional standard is published annually by the Department of Human​
371.17 Services.​

371.18 (b) The amount of the MFIP cash assistance portion of the transitional standard is​
371.19 increased $100 per month per household. This increase shall be reflected in the MFIP cash​
371.20 assistance portion of the transitional standard published annually by the commissioner.​

371.21 (c) On October 1 of each year, the commissioner of human services shall adjust the cash​
371.22 assistance portion under paragraph (a) for inflation based on the CPI-U for the prior calendar​
371.23 year.​

371.24 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for the fiscal year beginning on July 1,​
371.25 2021.​

267.25 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256J.30, subdivision 8, is amended to read:​371.26 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256J.30, subdivision 8, is amended to read:​

267.26 Subd. 8. Late MFIP household report forms. (a) Paragraphs (b) to (e) apply to the​
267.27 reporting requirements in subdivision 7.​

371.27 Subd. 8. Late MFIP household report forms. (a) Paragraphs (b) to (e) apply to the​
371.28 reporting requirements in subdivision 7.​

267.28 (b) When the county agency receives an incomplete MFIP household report form, the​
267.29 county agency must immediately return the incomplete form and clearly state what the​

371.29 (b) When the county agency receives an incomplete MFIP household report form, the​
371.30 county agency must immediately return the incomplete form and clearly state what the​

267.30 caregiver must do for the form to be complete contact the caregiver by phone or in writing​
267.31 to acquire the necessary information to complete the form.​

372.1 caregiver must do for the form to be complete contact the caregiver by phone or in writing​
372.2 to acquire the necessary information to complete the form.​

267.32 (c) The automated eligibility system must send a notice of proposed termination of​
267.33 assistance to the assistance unit if a complete MFIP household report form is not received​

372.3 (c) The automated eligibility system must send a notice of proposed termination of​
372.4 assistance to the assistance unit if a complete MFIP household report form is not received​

268.1 by a county agency. The automated notice must be mailed to the caregiver by approximately​372.5 by a county agency. The automated notice must be mailed to the caregiver by approximately​
268.2 the 16th of the month. When a caregiver submits an incomplete form on or after the date a​372.6 the 16th of the month. When a caregiver submits an incomplete form on or after the date a​
268.3 notice of proposed termination has been sent, the termination is valid unless the caregiver​
268.4 submits a complete form before the end of the month.​

372.7 notice of proposed termination has been sent, the termination is valid unless the caregiver​
372.8 submits a complete form before the end of the month.​

268.5 (d) An assistance unit required to submit an MFIP household report form is considered​
268.6 to have continued its application for assistance if a complete MFIP household report form​

372.9 (d) An assistance unit required to submit an MFIP household report form is considered​
372.10 to have continued its application for assistance if a complete MFIP household report form​

268.7 is received within a calendar month after the month in which the form was due and assistance​
268.8 shall be paid for the period beginning with the first day of that calendar month.​

372.11 is received within a calendar month after the month in which the form was due and assistance​
372.12 shall be paid for the period beginning with the first day of that calendar month.​

268.9 (e) A county agency must allow good cause exemptions from the reporting requirements​
268.10 under subdivision 5 when any of the following factors cause a caregiver to fail to provide​

372.13 (e) A county agency must allow good cause exemptions from the reporting requirements​
372.14 under subdivision 5 when any of the following factors cause a caregiver to fail to provide​

268.11 the county agency with a completed MFIP household report form before the end of the​
268.12 month in which the form is due:​

372.15 the county agency with a completed MFIP household report form before the end of the​
372.16 month in which the form is due:​

268.13 (1) an employer delays completion of employment verification;​372.17 (1) an employer delays completion of employment verification;​

268.14 (2) a county agency does not help a caregiver complete the MFIP household report form​
268.15 when the caregiver asks for help;​

372.18 (2) a county agency does not help a caregiver complete the MFIP household report form​
372.19 when the caregiver asks for help;​

268.16 (3) a caregiver does not receive an MFIP household report form due to mistake on the​
268.17 part of the department or the county agency or due to a reported change in address;​

372.20 (3) a caregiver does not receive an MFIP household report form due to mistake on the​
372.21 part of the department or the county agency or due to a reported change in address;​
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268.18 (4) a caregiver is ill, or physically or mentally incapacitated; or​372.22 (4) a caregiver is ill, or physically or mentally incapacitated; or​

268.19 (5) some other circumstance occurs that a caregiver could not avoid with reasonable​
268.20 care which prevents the caregiver from providing a completed MFIP household report form​
268.21 before the end of the month in which the form is due.​

372.23 (5) some other circumstance occurs that a caregiver could not avoid with reasonable​
372.24 care which prevents the caregiver from providing a completed MFIP household report form​
372.25 before the end of the month in which the form is due.​

268.22 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 1, 2021.​

372.26 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256J.33, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

372.27 Subdivision 1. Determination of eligibility. (a) A county agency must determine MFIP​
372.28 eligibility prospectively for a payment month based on retrospectively assessing income​
372.29 and the county agency's best estimate of the circumstances that will exist in the payment​
372.30 month.​

372.31 Except as described in section 256J.34, subdivision 1, when prospective eligibility exists,​
372.32 (b) A county agency must calculate the amount of the assistance payment using retrospective​
373.1 prospective budgeting. To determine MFIP eligibility and the assistance payment amount,​
373.2 a county agency must apply countable income, described in section sections 256P.06 and​
373.3 256J.37, subdivisions 3 to 10 9, received by members of an assistance unit or by other​
373.4 persons whose income is counted for the assistance unit, described under sections 256J.21​
373.5 and 256J.37, subdivisions 1 to 2, and 256P.06, subdivision 1.​

373.6 (c) This income must be applied to the MFIP standard of need or family wage level​
373.7 subject to this section and sections 256J.34 to 256J.36. Countable income received in a​
373.8 calendar month and not otherwise excluded under section 256J.21, subdivision 2, must be​
373.9 applied to the needs of an assistance unit.​

373.10 (d) An assistance unit is not eligible when the countable income equals or exceeds the​
373.11 MFIP standard of need or the family wage level for the assistance unit.​

373.12 EFFECTIVE DATE. Paragraph (a) is effective March 1, 2023. Paragraph (b) is effective​
373.13 March 1, 2023, except the amendment striking section 256J.21 and inserting section 256P.06​
373.14 is effective August 1, 2021. Paragraph (c) is effective August 1, 2021, except the amendment​
373.15 striking "in a calendar month" is effective March 1, 2023. Paragraph (d) is effective March​
373.16 1, 2023.​

373.17 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256J.33, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

373.18 Subd. 2. Prospective eligibility. An agency must determine whether the eligibility​
373.19 requirements that pertain to an assistance unit, including those in sections 256J.11 to 256J.15​
373.20 and 256P.02, will be met prospectively for the payment month period. Except for the​
373.21 provisions in section 256J.34, subdivision 1, The income test will be applied retrospectively​
373.22 prospectively.​

373.23 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective March 1, 2023.​
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373.24 Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256J.33, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

373.25 Subd. 4. Monthly income test. A county agency must apply the monthly income test​
373.26 retrospectively for each month of MFIP eligibility. An assistance unit is not eligible when​
373.27 the countable income equals or exceeds the MFIP standard of need or the family wage level​
373.28 for the assistance unit. The income applied against the monthly income test must include:​

373.29 (1) gross earned income from employment as described in chapter 256P, prior to​
373.30 mandatory payroll deductions, voluntary payroll deductions, wage authorizations, and after​
373.31 the disregards in section 256J.21, subdivision 4, and the allocations in section 256J.36,​
374.1 unless the employment income is specifically excluded under section 256J.21, subdivision​
374.2 2;​

374.3 (2) gross earned income from self-employment less deductions for self-employment​
374.4 expenses in section 256J.37, subdivision 5, but prior to any reductions for personal or​
374.5 business state and federal income taxes, personal FICA, personal health and life insurance,​
374.6 and after the disregards in section 256J.21, subdivision 4, and the allocations in section​
374.7 256J.36;​

374.8 (3) unearned income as described in section 256P.06, subdivision 3, after deductions​
374.9 for allowable expenses in section 256J.37, subdivision 9, and allocations in section 256J.36,​
374.10 unless the income has been specifically excluded in section 256J.21, subdivision 2;​

374.11 (4) gross earned income from employment as determined under clause (1) which is​
374.12 received by a member of an assistance unit who is a minor child or minor caregiver and​
374.13 less than a half-time student;​

374.14 (5) child support received by an assistance unit, excluded under section 256J.21,​
374.15 subdivision 2, clause (49), or section 256P.06, subdivision 3, clause (2), item (xvi);​

374.16 (6) spousal support received by an assistance unit;​

374.17 (7) the income of a parent when that parent is not included in the assistance unit;​

374.18 (8) the income of an eligible relative and spouse who seek to be included in the assistance​
374.19 unit; and​

374.20 (9) the unearned income of a minor child included in the assistance unit.​

374.21 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.​

268.23 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256J.35, is amended to read:​

268.24 256J.35 AMOUNT OF ASSISTANCE PAYMENT.​

268.25 Except as provided in paragraphs (a) to (d), the amount of an assistance payment is equal​
268.26 to the difference between the MFIP standard of need or the Minnesota family wage level​
268.27 in section 256J.24 and countable income.​
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268.28 (a) Beginning July 1, 2015, MFIP assistance units are eligible for an MFIP housing​
268.29 assistance grant of $110 $150 per month, unless:​

269.1 (1) the housing assistance unit is currently receiving public and assisted rental subsidies​
269.2 provided through the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) and is subject​
269.3 to section 256J.37, subdivision 3a; or​

269.4 (2) the assistance unit is a child-only case under section 256J.88.​

269.5 (b) When MFIP eligibility exists for the month of application, the amount of the assistance​
269.6 payment for the month of application must be prorated from the date of application or the​
269.7 date all other eligibility factors are met for that applicant, whichever is later. This provision​
269.8 applies when an applicant loses at least one day of MFIP eligibility.​

269.9 (c) MFIP overpayments to an assistance unit must be recouped according to section​
269.10 256P.08, subdivision 6.​

269.11 (d) An initial assistance payment must not be made to an applicant who is not eligible​
269.12 on the date payment is made.​

269.13 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021.​

374.22 Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256J.37, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

374.23 Subdivision 1. Deemed income from ineligible assistance unit members. The income​
374.24 of ineligible assistance unit members, except individuals identified in section 256J.24,​
374.25 subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clause (1), must be deemed after allowing the following​
374.26 disregards:​

374.27 (1) an earned income disregard as determined under section 256P.03;​

374.28 (2) all payments made by the ineligible person according to a court order for spousal​
374.29 support or the support of children not living in the assistance unit's household; and​

374.30 (3) an amount for the unmet needs of the ineligible persons who live in the household​
374.31 who, if eligible, would be assistance unit members under section 256J.24, subdivision 2 or​
375.1 4, paragraph (b). This amount is equal to the difference between the MFIP transitional​
375.2 standard when the ineligible persons are included in the assistance unit and the MFIP​
375.3 transitional standard when the ineligible persons are not included in the assistance unit.​

375.4 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.​

375.5 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256J.37, subdivision 1b, is amended to read:​

375.6 Subd. 1b. Deemed income from parents of minor caregivers. In households where​
375.7 minor caregivers live with a parent or parents or a stepparent who do not receive MFIP for​
375.8 themselves or their minor children, the income of the parents or a stepparent must be deemed​
375.9 after allowing the following disregards:​
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375.10 (1) income of the parents equal to 200 percent of the federal poverty guideline for a​
375.11 family size not including the minor parent and the minor parent's child in the household​
375.12 according to section 256J.21, subdivision 2, clause (43); and​

375.13 (2) all payments made by parents according to a court order for spousal support or the​
375.14 support of children not living in the parent's household.​

375.15 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.​

375.16 Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256J.37, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

375.17 Subd. 3. Earned income of wage, salary, and contractual employees. The agency​
375.18 must include gross earned income less any disregards in the initial and monthly income​
375.19 test. Gross earned income received by persons employed on a contractual basis must be​
375.20 prorated over the period covered by the contract even when payments are received over a​
375.21 lesser period of time.​

375.22 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective March 1, 2023.​

375.23 Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256J.37, subdivision 3a, is amended to read:​

375.24 Subd. 3a. Rental subsidies; unearned income. (a) Effective July 1, 2003, the agency​
375.25 shall count $50 of the value of public and assisted rental subsidies provided through the​
375.26 Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) as unearned income to the cash​
375.27 portion of the MFIP grant. The full amount of the subsidy must be counted as unearned​
375.28 income when the subsidy is less than $50. The income from this subsidy shall be budgeted​
375.29 according to section 256J.34 256P.09.​

375.30 (b) The provisions of this subdivision shall not apply to an MFIP assistance unit which​
375.31 includes a participant who is:​

376.1 (1) age 60 or older;​

376.2 (2) a caregiver who is suffering from an illness, injury, or incapacity that has been​
376.3 certified by a qualified professional when the illness, injury, or incapacity is expected to​
376.4 continue for more than 30 days and severely limits the person's ability to obtain or maintain​
376.5 suitable employment; or​

376.6 (3) a caregiver whose presence in the home is required due to the illness or incapacity​
376.7 of another member in the assistance unit, a relative in the household, or a foster child in the​
376.8 household when the illness or incapacity and the need for the participant's presence in the​
376.9 home has been certified by a qualified professional and is expected to continue for more​
376.10 than 30 days.​

376.11 (c) The provisions of this subdivision shall not apply to an MFIP assistance unit where​
376.12 the parental caregiver is an SSI participant.​

376.13 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective March 1, 2023.​
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269.26 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256J.626, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​376.14 Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256J.626, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

269.27 Subdivision 1. Consolidated fund. The consolidated fund is established to support​
269.28 counties and tribes in meeting their duties under this chapter. Counties and tribes must use​

376.15 Subdivision 1. Consolidated fund. The consolidated fund is established to support​
376.16 counties and tribes in meeting their duties under this chapter. Counties and tribes must use​

269.29 funds from the consolidated fund to develop programs and services that are designed to​376.17 funds from the consolidated fund to develop programs and services that are designed to​
269.30 improve participant outcomes as measured in section 256J.751, subdivision 2. Counties and​376.18 improve participant outcomes as measured in section 256J.751, subdivision 2. Counties and​
269.31 tribes that administer MFIP eligibility may use the funds for any allowable expenditures​376.19 tribes that administer MFIP eligibility may use the funds for any allowable expenditures​
270.1 under subdivision 2, including case management. Tribes that do not administer MFIP​376.20 under subdivision 2, including case management. Tribes that do not administer MFIP​
270.2 eligibility may use the funds for any allowable expenditures under subdivision 2, including​376.21 eligibility may use the funds for any allowable expenditures under subdivision 2, including​
270.3 case management, except those in subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clauses (1) and (6). All​376.22 case management, except those in subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clauses (1) and (6). All​
270.4 payments made through the MFIP consolidated fund to support a caregiver's pursuit of​
270.5 greater economic stability does not count when determining a family's available income.​

376.23 payments made through the MFIP consolidated fund to support a caregiver's pursuit of​
376.24 greater economic stability does not count when determining a family's available income.​

270.6 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021.​

376.25 Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256J.95, subdivision 9, is amended to read:​

376.26 Subd. 9. Property and income limitations. The asset limits and exclusions in section​
376.27 256P.02 apply to applicants and participants of DWP. All payments, unless excluded in​
376.28 section 256J.21 as described in section 256P.06, subdivision 3, must be counted as income​
376.29 to determine eligibility for the diversionary work program. The agency shall treat income​
376.30 as outlined in section 256J.37, except for subdivision 3a. The initial income test and the​
376.31 disregards in section 256J.21, subdivision 3, shall be followed for determining eligibility​
376.32 for the diversionary work program.​

377.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.​

377.2 Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256P.01, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

377.3 Subd. 3. Earned income. "Earned income" means cash or in-kind income earned through​
377.4 the receipt of wages, salary, commissions, bonuses, tips, gratuities, profit from employment​
377.5 activities, net profit from self-employment activities, payments made by an employer for​
377.6 regularly accrued vacation or sick leave, severance pay based on accrued leave time,​
377.7 payments from training programs at a rate at or greater than the state's minimum wage,​
377.8 royalties, honoraria, or other profit from activity that results from the client's work, service,​
377.9 effort, or labor for purposes other than student financial assistance, rehabilitation programs,​
377.10 student training programs, or service programs such as AmeriCorps. The income must be​
377.11 in return for, or as a result of, legal activity.​

377.12 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.​

377.13 Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256P.01, is amended by adding a subdivision​
377.14 to read:​

377.15 Subd. 9. Prospective budgeting. "Prospective budgeting" means estimating the amount​
377.16 of monthly income that an assistance unit will have in the payment month.​
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377.17 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective March 1, 2023.​

281.1 Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256P.02, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:​

281.2 Subd. 1a. Exemption. Participants who qualify for child care assistance programs under​
281.3 chapter 119B are exempt from this section, except that the personal property identified in​
281.4 subdivision 2 is counted toward the asset limit of the child care assistance program under​
281.5 chapter 119B.​

281.6 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective May 1, 2022.​

281.7 Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256P.02, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

281.8 Subd. 2. Personal property limitations. The equity value of an assistance unit's personal​
281.9 property listed in clauses (1) to (4) (5) must not exceed $10,000 for applicants and​
281.10 participants. For purposes of this subdivision, personal property is limited to:​

281.11 (1) cash;​

281.12 (2) bank accounts;​

281.13 (3) liquid stocks and bonds that can be readily accessed without a financial penalty; and​

281.14 (4) vehicles not excluded under subdivision 3.; and​

281.15 (5) the full value of business accounts used to pay expenses not related to the business.​

281.16 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective May 1, 2022.​

281.17 Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256P.04, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​377.18 Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256P.04, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

281.18 Subd. 4. Factors to be verified. (a) The agency shall verify the following at application:​377.19 Subd. 4. Factors to be verified. (a) The agency shall verify the following at application:​

281.19 (1) identity of adults;​377.20 (1) identity of adults;​

281.20 (2) age, if necessary to determine eligibility;​377.21 (2) age, if necessary to determine eligibility;​

281.21 (3) immigration status;​377.22 (3) immigration status;​

281.22 (4) income;​377.23 (4) income;​

281.23 (5) spousal support and child support payments made to persons outside the household;​377.24 (5) spousal support and child support payments made to persons outside the household;​

281.24 (6) vehicles;​377.25 (6) vehicles;​

281.25 (7) checking and savings accounts, including but not limited to any business accounts​
281.26 used to pay expenses not related to the business;​

377.26 (7) checking and savings accounts;​

281.27 (8) inconsistent information, if related to eligibility;​377.27 (8) inconsistent information, if related to eligibility;​
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281.28 (9) residence;​377.28 (9) residence; and​

282.1 (10) Social Security number; and​377.29 (10) Social Security number; and.​

282.2 (11) use of nonrecurring income under section 256P.06, subdivision 3, clause (2), item​
282.3 (ix), for the intended purpose for which it was given and received.​

378.1 (11) use of nonrecurring income under section 256P.06, subdivision 3, clause (2), item​
378.2 (ix), for the intended purpose for which it was given and received.​

282.4 (b) Applicants who are qualified noncitizens and victims of domestic violence as defined​
282.5 under section 256J.08, subdivision 73, clause (7), are not required to verify the information​

378.3 (b) Applicants who are qualified noncitizens and victims of domestic violence as defined​
378.4 under section 256J.08, subdivision 73, clause (7) clauses (8) and (9), are not required to​

282.6 in paragraph (a), clause (10). When a Social Security number is not provided to the agency​378.5 verify the information in paragraph (a), clause (10). When a Social Security number is not​
282.7 for verification, this requirement is satisfied when each member of the assistance unit​378.6 provided to the agency for verification, this requirement is satisfied when each member of​
282.8 cooperates with the procedures for verification of Social Security numbers, issuance of​378.7 the assistance unit cooperates with the procedures for verification of Social Security numbers,​
282.9 duplicate cards, and issuance of new numbers which have been established jointly between​
282.10 the Social Security Administration and the commissioner.​

378.8 issuance of duplicate cards, and issuance of new numbers which have been established​
378.9 jointly between the Social Security Administration and the commissioner.​

282.11 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective May 1, 2022.​378.10 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective March 1, 2023, except for paragraph (b),​
378.11 which is effective July 1, 2021.​

378.12 Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256P.04, subdivision 8, is amended to read:​

378.13 Subd. 8. Recertification. The agency shall recertify eligibility in an annual interview​
378.14 with the participant. The interview may be conducted by telephone, by Internet telepresence,​
378.15 or face-to-face in the county office or in another location mutually agreed upon. A participant​
378.16 must be given the option of a telephone interview or Internet telepresence to recertify​
378.17 eligibility annually. During the interview recertification and reporting under section 256P.10,​
378.18 the agency shall verify the following:​

378.19 (1) income, unless excluded, including self-employment earnings;​

378.20 (2) assets when the value is within $200 of the asset limit; and​

378.21 (3) inconsistent information, if related to eligibility.​

378.22 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

282.12 Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256P.05, is amended to read:​

282.13 256P.05 SELF-EMPLOYMENT EARNINGS.​

282.14 Subdivision 1. Exempted programs. Participants who qualify for child care assistance​
282.15 programs under chapter 119B, Minnesota supplemental aid under chapter 256D, and housing​
282.16 support under chapter 256I on the basis of eligibility for Supplemental Security Income are​
282.17 exempt from this section. Participants who qualify for child care assistance programs under​
282.18 chapter 119B are exempt from subdivision 3.​

282.19 Subd. 2. Self-employment income determinations. Applicants and participants must​
282.20 choose one of the methods described in this subdivision for determining self-employment​
282.21 earned income. An agency must determine self-employment income, which is either:​
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282.22 (1) one-half of gross earnings from self-employment; or​

282.23 (2) taxable income as determined from an Internal Revenue Service tax form that has​
282.24 been filed with the Internal Revenue Service within the last for the most recent year and​
282.25 according to guidance provided for the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program. A​
282.26 12-month average using net taxable income shall be used to budget monthly income.​

282.27 Subd. 3. Self-employment budgeting. (a) The self-employment budget period begins​
282.28 in the month of application or in the first month of self-employment. Applicants and​
282.29 participants must choose one of the methods described in subdivision 2 for determining​
282.30 self-employment earned income.​

282.31 (b) Applicants and participants who elect to use taxable income as described in​
282.32 subdivision 2, clause (2), to determine self-employment income must continue to use this​
283.1 method until recertification, unless there is an unforeseen significant change in gross income​
283.2 equaling a decline in gross income of the amount equal to or greater than the earned income​
283.3 disregard as defined in section 256P.03 from the income used to determine the benefit for​
283.4 the current month.​

283.5 (c) For applicants and participants who elect to use one-half of gross earnings as described​
283.6 in subdivision 2, clause (1), to determine self-employment income, earnings must be counted​
283.7 as income in the month received.​

283.8 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective May 1, 2022.​

378.23 Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256P.06, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

378.24 Subd. 2. Exempted individuals Exemptions. (a) The following members of an assistance​
378.25 unit under chapters 119B and 256J are exempt from having their earned income count​
378.26 towards toward the income of an assistance unit:​

378.27 (1) children under six years old;​

378.28 (2) caregivers under 20 years of age enrolled at least half-time in school; and​

378.29 (3) minors enrolled in school full time.​

379.1 (b) The following members of an assistance unit are exempt from having their earned​
379.2 and unearned income count towards toward the income of an assistance unit for 12​
379.3 consecutive calendar months, beginning the month following the marriage date, for benefits​
379.4 under chapter 256J if the household income does not exceed 275 percent of the federal​
379.5 poverty guideline:​

379.6 (1) a new spouse to a caretaker in an existing assistance unit; and​

379.7 (2) the spouse designated by a newly married couple, both of whom were already​
379.8 members of an assistance unit under chapter 256J.​
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379.9 (c) If members identified in paragraph (b) also receive assistance under section 119B.05,​
379.10 they are exempt from having their earned and unearned income count towards toward the​
379.11 income of the assistance unit if the household income prior to the exemption does not exceed​
379.12 67 percent of the state median income for recipients for 26 consecutive biweekly periods​
379.13 beginning the second biweekly period after the marriage date.​

379.14 (d) For individuals who are members of an assistance unit under chapters 256I and 256J,​
379.15 the assistance standard effective in January 2020 for a household of one under chapter 256J​
379.16 shall be counted as income under chapter 256I, and any subsequent increases to unearned​
379.17 income under chapter 256J shall be exempt.​

283.9 Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256P.06, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​379.18 Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256P.06, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

283.10 Subd. 3. Income inclusions. The following must be included in determining the income​
283.11 of an assistance unit:​

379.19 Subd. 3. Income inclusions. The following must be included in determining the income​
379.20 of an assistance unit:​

283.12 (1) earned income; and​379.21 (1) earned income; and​

283.13 (2) unearned income, which includes:​379.22 (2) unearned income, which includes:​

283.14 (i) interest and dividends from investments and savings;​379.23 (i) interest and dividends from investments and savings;​

283.15 (ii) capital gains as defined by the Internal Revenue Service from any sale of real property;​379.24 (ii) capital gains as defined by the Internal Revenue Service from any sale of real property;​

283.16 (iii) proceeds from rent and contract for deed payments in excess of the principal and​
283.17 interest portion owed on property;​

379.25 (iii) proceeds from rent and contract for deed payments in excess of the principal and​
379.26 interest portion owed on property;​

283.18 (iv) income from trusts, excluding special needs and supplemental needs trusts;​379.27 (iv) income from trusts, excluding special needs and supplemental needs trusts;​

283.19 (v) interest income from loans made by the participant or household;​379.28 (v) interest income from loans made by the participant or household;​

283.20 (vi) cash prizes and winnings;​379.29 (vi) cash prizes and winnings according to guidance provided for the Supplemental​
379.30 Nutrition Assistance Program;​

283.21 (vii) unemployment insurance income that is received by an adult member of the​
283.22 assistance unit unless the individual receiving unemployment insurance income is:​

380.1 (vii) unemployment insurance income that is received by an adult member of the​
380.2 assistance unit unless the individual receiving unemployment insurance income is:​

283.23 (A) 18 years of age and enrolled in a secondary school; or​380.3 (A) 18 years of age and enrolled in a secondary school; or​

283.24 (B) 18 or 19 years of age, a caregiver, and is enrolled in school at least half-time;​380.4 (B) 18 or 19 years of age, a caregiver, and is enrolled in school at least half-time;​

283.25 (viii) retirement, survivors, and disability insurance payments;​380.5 (viii) retirement, survivors, and disability insurance payments;​

283.26 (ix) nonrecurring income over $60 per quarter unless earmarked and used for the purpose​
283.27 for which it is intended. Income and use of this income is subject to verification requirements​
283.28 under section 256P.04;​

380.6 (ix) nonrecurring income over $60 per quarter unless earmarked and used for the purpose​
380.7 for which it is intended. Income and use of this income is subject to verification requirements​
380.8 under section 256P.04;​

283.29 (x) retirement benefits;​380.9 (x) (ix) retirement benefits;​

284.1 (xi) cash assistance benefits, as defined by each program in chapters 119B, 256D, 256I,​
284.2 and 256J;​

380.10 (xi) (x) cash assistance benefits, as defined by each program in chapters 119B, 256D,​
380.11 256I, and 256J;​
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284.3 (xii) tribal per capita payments unless excluded by federal and state law;​380.12 (xii) (xi) tribal per capita payments unless excluded by federal and state law;​

284.4 (xiii) income and payments from service and rehabilitation programs that meet or exceed​
284.5 the state's minimum wage rate;​

380.13 (xiii) (xii) income and payments from service and rehabilitation programs that meet or​
380.14 exceed the state's minimum wage rate;​

284.6 (xiv) income from members of the United States armed forces unless excluded from​
284.7 income taxes according to federal or state law;​

380.15 (xiv) (xiii) income from members of the United States armed forces unless excluded​
380.16 from income taxes according to federal or state law;​

284.8 (xv) all child support payments for programs under chapters 119B, 256D, and 256I;​380.17 (xv) (xiv) all child support payments for programs under chapters 119B, 256D, and 256I;​

284.9 (xvi) the amount of child support received that exceeds $100 for assistance units with​
284.10 one child and $200 for assistance units with two or more children for programs under chapter​
284.11 256J; and​

380.18 (xvi) (xv) the amount of child support received that exceeds $100 for assistance units​
380.19 with one child and $200 for assistance units with two or more children for programs under​
380.20 chapter 256J; and​

284.12 (xvii) spousal support.​380.21 (xvii) (xvi) spousal support.; and​

380.22 (xvii) workers' compensation.​

284.13 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​380.23 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective March 1, 2023, except subdivision 3,​
380.24 clause (2), item (vii), which is effective the day following final enactment and subdivision​
380.25 3, clause (2), item (xvii), which is effective August 1, 2021.​

380.26 Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256P.07, is amended to read:​

380.27 256P.07 REPORTING OF INCOME AND CHANGES.​

380.28 Subdivision 1. Exempted programs. Participants who receive Supplemental Security​
380.29 Income and qualify for Minnesota supplemental aid under chapter 256D and or for housing​
381.1 support under chapter 256I on the basis of eligibility for Supplemental Security Income are​
381.2 exempt from this section reporting income.​

381.3 Subd. 1a. Child care assistance programs. Participants who qualify for child care​
381.4 assistance programs under chapter 119B are exempt from this section except for the reporting​
381.5 requirements in subdivision 6.​

381.6 Subd. 2. Reporting requirements. An applicant or participant must provide information​
381.7 on an application and any subsequent reporting forms about the assistance unit's​
381.8 circumstances that affect eligibility or benefits. An applicant or assistance unit must report​
381.9 changes identified in subdivision subdivisions 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, and 9 during the application​
381.10 period or by the tenth of the month following the month that the change occurred. When​
381.11 information is not accurately reported, both an overpayment and a referral for a fraud​
381.12 investigation may result. When information or documentation is not provided, the receipt​
381.13 of any benefit may be delayed or denied, depending on the type of information required​
381.14 and its effect on eligibility.​

381.15 Subd. 3. Changes that must be reported. An assistance unit must report the changes​
381.16 or anticipated changes specified in clauses (1) to (12) within ten days of the date they occur,​
381.17 at the time of recertification of eligibility under section 256P.04, subdivisions 8 and 9, or​
381.18 within eight calendar days of a reporting period, whichever occurs first. An assistance unit​
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381.19 must report other changes at the time of recertification of eligibility under section 256P.04,​
381.20 subdivisions 8 and 9, or at the end of a reporting period, as applicable. When an agency​
381.21 could have reduced or terminated assistance for one or more payment months if a delay in​
381.22 reporting a change specified under clauses (1) to (12) had not occurred, the agency must​
381.23 determine whether a timely notice could have been issued on the day that the change​
381.24 occurred. When a timely notice could have been issued, each month's overpayment​
381.25 subsequent to that notice must be considered a client error overpayment under section​
381.26 119B.11, subdivision 2a, or 256P.08. Changes in circumstances that must be reported within​
381.27 ten days must also be reported for the reporting period in which those changes occurred.​
381.28 Within ten days, an assistance unit must report:​

381.29 (1) a change in earned income of $100 per month or greater with the exception of a​
381.30 program under chapter 119B;​

381.31 (2) a change in unearned income of $50 per month or greater with the exception of a​
381.32 program under chapter 119B;​

381.33 (3) a change in employment status and hours with the exception of a program under​
381.34 chapter 119B;​

382.1 (4) a change in address or residence;​

382.2 (5) a change in household composition with the exception of programs under chapter​
382.3 256I;​

382.4 (6) a receipt of a lump-sum payment with the exception of a program under chapter​
382.5 119B;​

382.6 (7) an increase in assets if over $9,000 with the exception of programs under chapter​
382.7 119B;​

382.8 (8) a change in citizenship or immigration status;​

382.9 (9) a change in family status with the exception of programs under chapter 256I;​

382.10 (10) a change in disability status of a unit member, with the exception of programs under​
382.11 chapter 119B;​

382.12 (11) a new rent subsidy or a change in rent subsidy with the exception of a program​
382.13 under chapter 119B; and​

382.14 (12) a sale, purchase, or transfer of real property with the exception of a program under​
382.15 chapter 119B. An assistance unit must report changes or anticipated changes as described​
382.16 in this section.​

382.17 (a) An assistance unit must report:​
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382.18 (1) a change in eligibility for Supplemental Security Income, Retirement Survivors​
382.19 Disability Insurance, or another federal income support;​

382.20 (2) a change in address or residence;​

382.21 (3) a change in household composition with the exception of programs under chapter​
382.22 256I;​

382.23 (4) cash prizes and winnings according to guidance provided for the Supplemental​
382.24 Nutrition Assistance Program;​

382.25 (5) a change in citizenship or immigration status;​

382.26 (6) a change in family status with the exception of programs under chapter 256I; and​

382.27 (7) assets when the value is at or above the asset limit.​

382.28 (b) When an agency could have reduced or terminated assistance for one or more payment​
382.29 months if a delay in reporting a change specified in clauses (1) to (7) had not occurred, the​
382.30 agency must determine whether a timely notice could have been issued on the day that the​
383.1 change occurred. When a timely notice could have been issued, each month's overpayment​
383.2 subsequent to the notice must be considered a client error overpayment under section​
383.3 256P.08.​

383.4 Subd. 4. MFIP-specific reporting. In addition to subdivision 3, an assistance unit under​
383.5 chapter 256J, within ten days of the change, must report:​

383.6 (1) a pregnancy not resulting in birth when there are no other minor children; and​

383.7 (2) a change in school attendance of a parent under 20 years of age or of an employed​
383.8 child.; and​

383.9 (3) an individual who is 18 or 19 years of age attending high school who graduates or​
383.10 drops out of school.​

383.11 Subd. 5. DWP-specific reporting. In addition to subdivisions 3 and 4, an assistance​
383.12 unit participating in the diversionary work program under section 256J.95 must report on​
383.13 an application:​

383.14 (1) shelter expenses; and​

383.15 (2) utility expenses.​

383.16 Subd. 6. Child care assistance programs-specific reporting. (a) In addition to​
383.17 subdivision 3, An assistance unit under chapter 119B, within ten days of the change, must​
383.18 report:​

383.19 (1) a change in a parentally responsible individual's custody schedule for any child​
383.20 receiving child care assistance program benefits;​
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383.21 (2) a permanent end in a parentally responsible individual's authorized activity; and​

383.22 (3) if the unit's family's annual included income exceeds 85 percent of the state median​
383.23 income, adjusted for family size.;​

383.24 (4) a change in address or residence;​

383.25 (5) a change in household composition;​

383.26 (6) a change in citizenship or immigration status; and​

383.27 (7) a change in family status.​

383.28 (b) An assistance unit subject to section 119B.095, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), must​
383.29 report a change in the unit's authorized activity status.​

384.1 (c) An assistance unit must notify the county when the unit wants to reduce the number​
384.2 of authorized hours for children in the unit.​

384.3 Subd. 7. Minnesota supplemental aid-specific reporting. (a) In addition to subdivision​
384.4 3 and notwithstanding the exemption in subdivision 1, an assistance unit participating in​
384.5 the Minnesota supplemental aid program under section 256D.44, subdivision 5, paragraph​
384.6 (g), within ten days of the change, chapter 256D must report shelter expenses.:​

384.7 (1) a change in unearned income of $50 per month or greater; and​

384.8 (2) a change in earned income of $100 per month or greater.​

384.9 (b) An assistance unit receiving housing assistance under section 256D.44, subdivision​
384.10 5, paragraph (g), including assistance units who also receive Supplemental Security Income,​
384.11 must report:​

384.12 (1) a change in shelter expenses; and​

384.13 (2) a new rent subsidy or a change in a rent subsidy.​

384.14 Subd. 8. Housing support-specific reporting. (a) In addition to subdivision 3, an​
384.15 assistance unit participating in the housing support program under chapter 256I must report:​

384.16 (1) a change in unearned income of $50 per month or greater; and​

384.17 (2) a change in earned income of $100 per month or greater, with the exception of​
384.18 participants already subject to six-month reporting requirements in section 256P.10.​

384.19 (b) Notwithstanding the exemptions in subdivisions 1 and 3, an assistance unit receiving​
384.20 housing support under chapter 256I, including an assistance unit that receives Supplemental​
384.21 Security Income, must report:​

384.22 (1) a new rent subsidy or a change in a rent subsidy;​
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384.23 (2) a change in the disability status of a unit member; and​

384.24 (3) a change in household composition if the assistance unit is a participant in housing​
384.25 support under section 256I.04, subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clause (3).​

384.26 Subd. 9. General assistance-specific reporting. In addition to subdivision 3, an​
384.27 assistance unit participating in the general assistance program under chapter 256D must​
384.28 report:​

384.29 (1) a change in unearned income of $50 per month or greater;​

385.1 (2) a change in earned income of $100 per month or greater, with the exception of​
385.2 participants who are already subject to six-month reporting requirements in section 256P.10;​
385.3 and​

385.4 (3) changes in any condition that would result in the loss of a basis for eligibility in​
385.5 section 256D.05, subdivision 1, paragraph (a).​

385.6 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective March 1, 2023.​

385.7 Sec. 40. [256P.09] PROSPECTIVE BUDGETING OF BENEFITS.​

385.8 Subdivision 1. Exempted programs. Assistance units who qualify for child care​
385.9 assistance programs under chapter 119B; housing support assistance units under chapter​
385.10 256I who are not subject to reporting under section 256P.10; and assistance units who​
385.11 qualify for Minnesota Supplemental Aid under chapter 256D are exempt from this section.​

385.12 Subd. 2. Prospective budgeting of benefits. An agency must use prospective budgeting​
385.13 to calculate an assistance payment amount.​

385.14 Subd. 3. Income changes. Prospective budgeting must be used to determine the amount​
385.15 of the assistance unit's benefit for the following six-month period. An increase in income​
385.16 shall not affect an assistance unit's eligibility or benefit amount until the next case review​
385.17 unless otherwise required by section 256P.07. A decrease in income shall be effective on​
385.18 the date that the change occurs if the change is reported by the tenth of the month following​
385.19 the month when the change occurred. If the decrease in income is not reported by the tenth​
385.20 of the month following the month when the change occurred, the change in income shall​
385.21 be effective the month following the month when the change is reported.​

385.22 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective March 1, 2023.​

385.23 Sec. 41. [256P.10] SIX-MONTH REPORTING.​

385.24 Subdivision 1. Exempted programs. Assistance units who qualify for child care​
385.25 assistance programs under chapter 119B; assistance units who qualify for Minnesota​
385.26 Supplemental Aid under chapter 256D; and assistance units who qualify for housing support​
385.27 under chapter 256I and also receive Supplemental Security Income are exempt from this​
385.28 section.​

REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE​PAGE R27​

UEH2128-1​H2128-4​



385.29 Subd. 2. Reporting. (a) Every six months, an assistance unit that qualifies for the​
385.30 Minnesota family investment program under chapter 256J; an assistance unit that qualifies​
385.31 for general assistance under chapter 256D with earned income of $100 per month or greater;​
385.32 or an assistance unit that qualifies for housing support under chapter 256I with earned​
386.1 income of $100 per month or greater is subject to six month case reviews. The initial​
386.2 reporting period may be shorter than six months in order to align with other program reporting​
386.3 periods.​

386.4 (b) An assistance unit that qualifies for the Minnesota family investment program and​
386.5 an assistance unit that qualifies for general assistance as described in paragraph (a) must​
386.6 complete household report forms as prescribed by the commissioner for redetermination of​
386.7 benefits.​

386.8 (c) An assistance unit that qualifies for housing support as described in paragraph (a)​
386.9 must complete household report forms as prescribed by the commissioner to provide​
386.10 information about earned income.​

386.11 (d) An assistance unit that qualifies for housing support and also receives assistance​
386.12 through the Minnesota family investment program shall be subject to the requirements of​
386.13 this section for purposes of the Minnesota family investment program but not for housing​
386.14 support.​

386.15 (e) An assistance unit must submit a household report form in compliance with the​
386.16 provisions in section 256P.04, subdivision 11.​

386.17 (f) An assistance unit may choose to report changes under this section at any time.​

386.18 Subd. 3. When to terminate assistance. (a) An agency must terminate benefits when​
386.19 the participant fails to submit the household report form before the end of the six month​
386.20 review period. If the participant submits the household report form within 30 days of the​
386.21 termination of benefits, benefits must be reinstated and made available retroactively for the​
386.22 full benefit month.​

386.23 (b) When an assistance unit is determined to be ineligible for assistance according to​
386.24 this section and chapter 256D, 256I, or 256J, the agency must terminate assistance.​

386.25 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective March 1, 2023.​

386.26 Sec. 42. Laws 2020, First Special Session chapter 7, section 1, as amended by Laws 2020,​
386.27 Third Special Session chapter 1, section 3, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:​

386.28 Subd. 5. Waivers and modifications. When the peacetime emergency declared by the​
386.29 governor in response to the COVID-19 outbreak expires, is terminated, or is rescinded by​
386.30 the proper authority, the following waivers and modifications to human services programs​
386.31 issued by the commissioner of human services pursuant to Executive Orders 20-12 and​
386.32 20-42, including any amendments to the waivers or modifications issued before the peacetime​

REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE​PAGE R28​

UEH2128-1​H2128-4​



387.1 emergency expires, shall remain in effect until December 31, 2021, unless necessary federal​
387.2 approval is not received at any time for a waiver or modification:​

387.3 (1) Executive Order 21-15: when determining eligibility for cash assistance programs,​
387.4 not counting as income any emergency economic relief provided through the American​
387.5 Rescue Plan Act of 2021; and​

387.6 (2) CV.04.A4: waiving interviews for annual eligibility recertifications of households​
387.7 receiving cash assistance in which all necessary information has been submitted and verified.​

387.8 Sec. 43. DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER; LONG-TERM HOMELESS​
387.9 SUPPORTIVE SERVICES REPORT.​

387.10 (a) No later than January 15, 2023, the commissioner of human services shall produce​
387.11 a report which shows the projects funded under Minnesota Statutes, section 256K.26, and​
387.12 provide a copy of the report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative​
387.13 committees with jurisdiction over services for persons experiencing homelessness.​

387.14 (b) This report must be updated annually for two additional years and the commissioner​
387.15 must provide copies of the updated reports to the chairs and ranking minority members of​
387.16 the legislative committees with jurisdiction over services for persons experiencing​
387.17 homelessness by January 15, 2024, and January 15, 2025.​

387.18 Sec. 44. 2022 REPORT TO LEGISLATURE ON RUNAWAY AND HOMELESS​
387.19 YOUTH.​

387.20 Subdivision 1. Report development. The commissioner of human services is exempt​
387.21 from preparing the report required under Minnesota Statutes, section 256K.45, subdivision​
387.22 2, in 2023 and shall instead update the information in the 2007 legislative report on runaway​
387.23 and homeless youth. In developing the updated report, the commissioner must use existing​
387.24 data, studies, and analysis provided by state, county, and other entities including:​

387.25 (1) Minnesota Housing Finance Agency analysis on housing availability;​

387.26 (2) the Minnesota state plan to end homelessness;​

387.27 (3) the continuum of care counts of youth experiencing homelessness and assessments​
387.28 as provided by Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) required coordinated​
387.29 entry systems;​

387.30 (4) the biannual Department of Human Services report on the Homeless Youth Act;​

387.31 (5) the Wilder Research homeless study;​

388.1 (6) the Voices of Youth Count sponsored by Hennepin County; and​

388.2 (7) privately funded analysis, including:​

388.3 (i) nine evidence-based principles to support youth in overcoming homelessness;​
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388.4 (ii) the return on investment analysis conducted for YouthLink by Foldes Consulting;​
388.5 and​

388.6 (iii) the evaluation of Homeless Youth Act resources conducted by Rainbow Research.​

388.7 Subd. 2. Key elements; due date. (a) The report must include three key elements where​
388.8 significant learning has occurred in the state since the 2007 report, including:​

388.9 (1) the unique causes of youth homelessness;​

388.10 (2) targeted responses to youth homelessness, including the significance of positive​
388.11 youth development as fundamental to each targeted response; and​

388.12 (3) recommendations based on existing reports and analysis on how to end youth​
388.13 homelessness.​

388.14 (b) To the extent that data is available, the report must include:​

388.15 (1) a general accounting of the federal and philanthropic funds leveraged to support​
388.16 homeless youth activities;​

388.17 (2) a general accounting of the increase in volunteer responses to support youth​
388.18 experiencing homelessness; and​

388.19 (3) a data-driven accounting of geographic areas or distinct populations that have gaps​
388.20 in service or are not yet served by homeless youth responses.​

388.21 (c) The commissioner of human services shall consult with and incorporate the expertise​
388.22 of community-based providers of homeless youth services and other expert stakeholders to​
388.23 complete the report. The commissioner shall submit the report to the chairs and ranking​
388.24 minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over youth homelessness​
388.25 by December 15, 2022.​

304.24 Sec. 59. GRANT TO MINNESOTA ASSOCIATION FOR VOLUNTEER​
304.25 ADMINISTRATION.​

304.26 The commissioner of human services shall establish a onetime grant to the Minnesota​
304.27 Association for Volunteer Administration to administer needs-based volunteerism subgrants​
304.28 for underresourced nonprofit organizations in greater Minnesota to support the organizations'​
304.29 efforts to address and minimize disparities in access to human services through increased​
304.30 volunteerism. Successful subgrant applicants must demonstrate that the populations served​
304.31 by the subgrantee are underserved or suffer from or are at risk of homelessness, hunger,​
304.32 poverty, lack of access to health care, or deficits in education. The Minnesota Association​
305.1 for Volunteer Administration shall give priority to organizations that are serving the needs​
305.2 of vulnerable populations. By December 15, 2023, the Minnesota Association for Volunteer​
305.3 Administration shall report data on outcomes of the subgrants and make recommendations​
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305.4 for improving and sustaining volunteer efforts statewide to the chairs and ranking minority​
305.5 members of the legislative committees and divisions with jurisdiction over human services.​

305.6 Sec. 60. CHILD CARE AND DEVELOPMENT BLOCK GRANT ALLOCATION;​
305.7 TRANSFER FUNDS FOR EARLY LEARNING SCHOLARSHIPS.​

305.8 The commissioner of human services shall allocate $73,000,000 in fiscal year 2022 and​
305.9 $73,000,000 in fiscal year 2023 from the amount that Minnesota received under the American​
305.10 Rescue Plan Act, Public Law 117-2, section 2201, for the child care and development block​
305.11 grant, to be transferred to the commissioner of education for the early learning scholarship​
305.12 program under Minnesota Statutes, section 124D.165. For purposes of expending federal​
305.13 resources, the commissioner of human services shall consult with the commissioner of​
305.14 education to ensure that the transferred resources are deployed to support prioritized groups​
305.15 of children, including but not limited to the groups identified in Minnesota Statutes, section​
305.16 124D.165, while identifying and implementing any other oversight and reporting necessary​
305.17 to maintain compliance with the federal child care and development block grant​
305.18 accountability and data collection requirements in United States Code, title 42, section​
305.19 9858i.​

305.20 Sec. 61. FEDERAL PANDEMIC EMERGENCY ASSISTANCE ALLOCATION;​
305.21 EMERGENCY ASSISTANCE GRANTS.​

305.22 (a) From the amount that Minnesota received under section 9201 of the federal American​
305.23 Rescue Plan Act, Public Law 117-2, for pandemic emergency assistance, the commissioner​
305.24 of human services shall allocate $10,000,000 in fiscal year 2022 for emergency assistance​
305.25 grants according to paragraph (b).​

305.26 (b) The commissioner shall distribute funds to counties to provide emergency assistance​
305.27 grants to families with children under Minnesota Statutes, section 256J.626. The emergency​
305.28 assistance grants under this section must be available for:​

305.29 (1) rent or mortgage, including arrears;​

305.30 (2) utility bills, including arrears;​

305.31 (3) food;​

305.32 (4) clothing needed for work or school;​

306.1 (5) public transportation and vehicle repairs; and​

306.2 (6) school-related equipment needs.​

306.3 (c) Notwithstanding any county policies to the contrary, applicants are eligible for grants,​
306.4 subject to applicable maximum payments, for a security deposit, or if they are in arrears for​
306.5 rent, mortgage, or contract for deed payments.​

REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE​PAGE R31​

UEH2128-1​H2128-4​



306.6 Sec. 62. FEDERAL PANDEMIC EMERGENCY ASSISTANCE ALLOCATION;​
306.7 MFIP CONSOLIDATED FUND.​

306.8 From the amount that Minnesota received under section 9201 of the federal American​
306.9 Rescue Plan Act, Public Law 117-2, for pandemic emergency assistance, the commissioner​
306.10 of human services shall allocate $4,327,000 in fiscal year 2023 to counties according to​
306.11 Minnesota Statutes, section 256J.626.​

306.12 Sec. 63. REPEALER.​388.26 Sec. 45. REPEALER.​

306.13 Minnesota Statutes 2020, sections 256D.051, subdivisions 1, 1a, 2, 2a, 3, 3a, 3b, 6b, 6c,​
306.14 7, 8, 9, and 18; 256D.052, subdivision 3; and 259A.70 are repealed.​

388.27 (a) Minnesota Statutes 2020, sections 256D.051, subdivisions 1, 1a, 2, 2a, 3, 3a, 3b, 6b,​
388.28 6c, 7, 8, 9, and 18; 256D.052, subdivision 3; and 256J.21, subdivisions 1 and 2, are repealed.​

389.1 (b) Minnesota Statutes 2020, sections 256J.08, subdivisions 10, 53, 61, 62, 81, and 83;​
389.2 256J.30, subdivisions 5, 7, and 8; 256J.33, subdivisions 3, 4, and 5; 256J.34, subdivisions​
389.3 1, 2, 3, and 4; and 256J.37, subdivision 10, are repealed.​

306.15 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021, except that the repeal​
306.16 of Minnesota Statutes, section 259A.70 is effective July 1, 2021.​

389.4 EFFECTIVE DATE. Paragraph (a) is effective August 1, 2021. Paragraph (b) is effective​
389.5 March 1, 2023.​

REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE​PAGE R32​

UEH2128-1​H2128-4​


