
306.17 ARTICLE 10​

306.18 CHILD CARE ASSISTANCE​

389.6 ARTICLE 9​

389.7 CHILD CARE ASSISTANCE​

389.8 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 119B.03, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

389.9 Subd. 4. Funding priority. (a) First priority for child care assistance under the basic​
389.10 sliding fee program must be given to eligible non-MFIP families who do not have a high​
389.11 school diploma or commissioner of education-selected high school equivalency certification​
389.12 or who need remedial and basic skill courses in order to pursue employment or to pursue​
389.13 education leading to employment and who need child care assistance to participate in the​
389.14 education program. This includes student parents as defined under section 119B.011,​
389.15 subdivision 19b. Within this priority, the following subpriorities must be used:​

389.16 (1) child care needs of minor parents;​

389.17 (2) child care needs of parents under 21 years of age; and​

389.18 (3) child care needs of other parents within the priority group described in this paragraph.​

389.19 (b) Second priority must be given to parents who have completed their MFIP or DWP​
389.20 transition year, or parents who are no longer receiving or eligible for diversionary work​
389.21 program supports families in which at least one parent is a veteran, as defined under section​
389.22 197.447.​

389.23 (c) Third priority must be given to eligible families who are eligible for portable basic​
389.24 sliding fee assistance through the portability pool under subdivision 9 do not meet the​
389.25 specifications of paragraph (a), (b), (d), or (e).​

389.26 (d) Fourth priority must be given to families in which at least one parent is a veteran as​
389.27 defined under section 197.447 who are eligible for portable basic sliding fee assistance​
389.28 through the portability pool under subdivision 9.​

389.29 (e) Fifth priority must be given to eligible families receiving services under section​
389.30 119B.011, subdivision 20a, if the parents have completed their MFIP or DWP transition​
389.31 year, or if the parents are no longer receiving or eligible for DWP supports.​

390.1 (e) (f) Families under paragraph (b) (e) must be added to the basic sliding fee waiting​
390.2 list on the date they begin the complete their transition year under section 119B.011,​
390.3 subdivision 20, and must be moved into the basic sliding fee program as soon as possible​
390.4 after they complete their transition year.​

390.5 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021.​

390.6 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 119B.03, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

390.7 Subd. 6. Allocation formula. The allocation component of basic sliding fee state and​
390.8 federal funds shall be allocated on a calendar year basis. Funds shall be allocated first in​
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390.9 amounts equal to each county's guaranteed floor according to subdivision 8, with any​
390.10 remaining available funds allocated according to the following formula:​

390.11 (a) One-fourth of the funds shall be allocated in proportion to each county's total​
390.12 expenditures for the basic sliding fee child care program reported during the most recent​
390.13 fiscal year completed at the time of the notice of allocation.​

390.14 (b) Up to one-fourth of the funds shall be allocated in proportion to the number of families​
390.15 participating in the transition year child care program as reported during and averaged over​
390.16 the most recent six months completed at the time of the notice of allocation. Funds in excess​
390.17 of the amount necessary to serve all families in this category shall be allocated according​
390.18 to paragraph (f) (e).​

390.19 (c) Up to one-fourth of the funds shall be allocated in proportion to the average of each​
390.20 county's most recent six months of reported first, second, and third priority waiting list as​
390.21 defined in subdivision 2 and the reinstatement list of those families whose assistance was​
390.22 terminated with the approval of the commissioner under Minnesota Rules, part 3400.0183,​
390.23 subpart 1. Funds in excess of the amount necessary to serve all families in this category​
390.24 shall be allocated according to paragraph (f).​

390.25 (d) (c) Up to one-fourth one-half of the funds shall be allocated in proportion to the​
390.26 average of each county's most recent six 12 months of reported waiting list as defined in​
390.27 subdivision 2 and the reinstatement list of those families whose assistance was terminated​
390.28 with the approval of the commissioner under Minnesota Rules, part 3400.0183, subpart 1.​
390.29 Funds in excess of the amount necessary to serve all families in this category shall be​
390.30 allocated according to paragraph (f) (e).​

390.31 (e) (d) The amount necessary to serve all families in paragraphs (b), (c), and (d) (c) shall​
390.32 be calculated based on the basic sliding fee average cost of care per family in the county​
390.33 with the highest cost in the most recently completed calendar year.​

391.1 (f) (e) Funds in excess of the amount necessary to serve all families in paragraphs (b),​
391.2 (c), and (d) (c) shall be allocated in proportion to each county's total expenditures for the​
391.3 basic sliding fee child care program reported during the most recent fiscal year completed​
391.4 at the time of the notice of allocation.​

391.5 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022. The 2022 calendar year​
391.6 shall be a phase-in year for the allocation formula in this section using phase-in provisions​
391.7 determined by the commissioner of human services.​

306.19 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 119B.11, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:​391.21 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 119B.11, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:​

306.20 Subd. 2a. Recovery of overpayments. (a) An amount of child care assistance paid to a​
306.21 recipient or provider in excess of the payment due is recoverable by the county agency​

391.22 Subd. 2a. Recovery of overpayments. (a) An amount of child care assistance paid to a​
391.23 recipient or provider in excess of the payment due is recoverable by the county agency or​

306.22 under paragraphs (b) and (c), even when the overpayment was caused by agency error or​391.24 commissioner under paragraphs (b) and (c), even when the overpayment was caused by​
391.25 agency error or circumstances outside the responsibility and control of the family or provider.​ 306.23 circumstances outside the responsibility and control of the family or provider. Overpayments​
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306.24 designated solely as agency error, and not the result of acts or omissions on the part of a​
306.25 provider or recipient, must not be established or collected.​

306.26 (b) An overpayment must be recouped or recovered from the family if the overpayment​
306.27 benefited the family by causing the family to pay less for child care expenses than the family​

391.26 (b) An overpayment must be recouped or recovered from the family if the overpayment​
391.27 benefited the family by causing the family to pay less for child care expenses than the family​

306.28 otherwise would have been required to pay under child care assistance program requirements.​391.28 otherwise would have been required to pay under child care assistance program requirements.​
306.29 If the family remains eligible for child care assistance, the overpayment must be recovered​391.29 If the family remains eligible for child care assistance, the overpayment must be recovered​
306.30 through recoupment as identified in Minnesota Rules, part 3400.0187, except that the​391.30 through recoupment as identified in Minnesota Rules, part 3400.0187, except that the​
306.31 overpayments must be calculated and collected on a service period basis. If the family no​391.31 overpayments must be calculated and collected on a service period basis. If the family no​
307.1 longer remains eligible for child care assistance, the county may choose to initiate efforts​391.32 longer remains eligible for child care assistance, the county or commissioner may choose​
307.2 to recover overpayments from the family for overpayment less than $50. If the overpayment​392.1 to initiate efforts to recover overpayments from the family for overpayment less than $50.​
307.3 is greater than or equal to $50, the county shall seek voluntary repayment of the overpayment​392.2 If the overpayment is greater than or equal to $50, the county or commissioner shall seek​
307.4 from the family. If the county is unable to recoup the overpayment through voluntary​392.3 voluntary repayment of the overpayment from the family. If the county or commissioner is​
307.5 repayment, the county shall initiate civil court proceedings to recover the overpayment​392.4 unable to recoup the overpayment through voluntary repayment, the county or commissioner​
307.6 unless the county's costs to recover the overpayment will exceed the amount of the​392.5 shall initiate civil court proceedings to recover the overpayment unless the county's or​
307.7 overpayment. A family with an outstanding debt under this subdivision is not eligible for​392.6 commissioner's costs to recover the overpayment will exceed the amount of the overpayment.​
307.8 child care assistance until: (1) the debt is paid in full; or (2) satisfactory arrangements are​392.7 A family with an outstanding debt under this subdivision is not eligible for child care​
307.9 made with the county to retire the debt consistent with the requirements of this chapter and​
307.10 Minnesota Rules, chapter 3400, and the family is in compliance with the arrangements.​

392.8 assistance until: (1) the debt is paid in full; or (2) satisfactory arrangements are made with​
392.9 the county or commissioner to retire the debt consistent with the requirements of this chapter​
392.10 and Minnesota Rules, chapter 3400, and the family is in compliance with the arrangements;​
392.11 or (3) the commissioner determines that it is in the best interests of the state to compromise​
392.12 debts owed to the state pursuant to section 16D.15. The commissioner's authority to recoup​
392.13 and recover overpayments from families in this paragraph is limited to investigations​
392.14 conducted under chapter 245E.​

307.11 (c) The county must recover an overpayment from a provider if the overpayment did​
307.12 not benefit the family by causing it to receive more child care assistance or to pay less for​

392.15 (c) The county or commissioner must recover an overpayment from a provider if the​
392.16 overpayment did not benefit the family by causing it to receive more child care assistance​

307.13 child care expenses than the family otherwise would have been eligible to receive or required​392.17 or to pay less for child care expenses than the family otherwise would have been eligible​
307.14 to pay under child care assistance program requirements, and benefited the provider by​392.18 to receive or required to pay under child care assistance program requirements, and benefited​
307.15 causing the provider to receive more child care assistance than otherwise would have been​392.19 the provider by causing the provider to receive more child care assistance than otherwise​
307.16 paid on the family's behalf under child care assistance program requirements. If the provider​392.20 would have been paid on the family's behalf under child care assistance program​
307.17 continues to care for children receiving child care assistance, the overpayment must be​392.21 requirements. If the provider continues to care for children receiving child care assistance,​
307.18 recovered through reductions in child care assistance payments for services as described in​392.22 the overpayment must be recovered through reductions in child care assistance payments​
307.19 an agreement with the county. The provider may not charge families using that provider​392.23 for services as described in an agreement with the county recoupment as identified in​
307.20 more to cover the cost of recouping the overpayment. If the provider no longer cares for​392.24 Minnesota Rules, part 3400.0187. The provider may not charge families using that provider​
307.21 children receiving child care assistance, the county may choose to initiate efforts to recover​392.25 more to cover the cost of recouping the overpayment. If the provider no longer cares for​
307.22 overpayments of less than $50 from the provider. If the overpayment is greater than or equal​392.26 children receiving child care assistance, the county or commissioner may choose to initiate​
307.23 to $50, the county shall seek voluntary repayment of the overpayment from the provider.​392.27 efforts to recover overpayments of less than $50 from the provider. If the overpayment is​
307.24 If the county is unable to recoup the overpayment through voluntary repayment, the county​392.28 greater than or equal to $50, the county or commissioner shall seek voluntary repayment​
307.25 shall initiate civil court proceedings to recover the overpayment unless the county's costs​392.29 of the overpayment from the provider. If the county or commissioner is unable to recoup​
307.26 to recover the overpayment will exceed the amount of the overpayment. A provider with​392.30 the overpayment through voluntary repayment, the county or commissioner shall initiate​
307.27 an outstanding debt under this subdivision is not eligible to care for children receiving child​
307.28 care assistance until:​

392.31 civil court proceedings to recover the overpayment unless the county's or commissioner's​
392.32 costs to recover the overpayment will exceed the amount of the overpayment. A provider​
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392.33 with an outstanding debt under this subdivision is not eligible to care for children receiving​
392.34 child care assistance until:​

307.29 (1) the debt is paid in full; or​392.35 (1) the debt is paid in full; or​

307.30 (2) satisfactory arrangements are made with the county to retire the debt consistent with​
307.31 the requirements of this chapter and Minnesota Rules, chapter 3400, and the provider is in​
307.32 compliance with the arrangements.​

393.1 (2) satisfactory arrangements are made with the county or commissioner to retire the​
393.2 debt consistent with the requirements of this chapter and Minnesota Rules, chapter 3400,​
393.3 and the provider is in compliance with the arrangements.; or​

393.4 (3) the commissioner determines that it is in the best interests of the state to compromise​
393.5 debts owed to the state pursuant to section 16D.15.​

307.33 (d) When both the family and the provider acted together to intentionally cause the​
307.34 overpayment, both the family and the provider are jointly liable for the overpayment​

393.6 (d) When both the family and the provider acted together to intentionally cause the​
393.7 overpayment, both the family and the provider are jointly liable for the overpayment​

307.35 regardless of who benefited from the overpayment. The county must recover the overpayment​393.8 regardless of who benefited from the overpayment. The county or commissioner must​
308.1 as provided in paragraphs (b) and (c). When the family or the provider is in compliance​393.9 recover the overpayment as provided in paragraphs (b) and (c). When the family or the​
308.2 with a repayment agreement, the party in compliance is eligible to receive child care​393.10 provider is in compliance with a repayment agreement, the party in compliance is eligible​
308.3 assistance or to care for children receiving child care assistance despite the other party's​
308.4 noncompliance with repayment arrangements.​

393.11 to receive child care assistance or to care for children receiving child care assistance despite​
393.12 the other party's noncompliance with repayment arrangements.​

308.5 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021.​393.13 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.​

393.14 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 119B.125, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

393.15 Subdivision 1. Authorization. Except as provided in subdivision 5, A county or the​
393.16 commissioner must authorize the provider chosen by an applicant or a participant before​
393.17 the county can authorize payment for care provided by that provider. The commissioner​
393.18 must establish the requirements necessary for authorization of providers. A provider must​
393.19 be reauthorized every two years. A legal, nonlicensed family child care provider also must​
393.20 be reauthorized when another person over the age of 13 joins the household, a current​
393.21 household member turns 13, or there is reason to believe that a household member has a​
393.22 factor that prevents authorization. The provider is required to report all family changes that​
393.23 would require reauthorization. When a provider has been authorized for payment for​
393.24 providing care for families in more than one county, the county responsible for​
393.25 reauthorization of that provider is the county of the family with a current authorization for​
393.26 that provider and who has used the provider for the longest length of time.​

393.27 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.​

308.6 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 119B.13, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​393.28 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 119B.13, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

308.7 Subdivision 1. Subsidy restrictions. (a) The maximum rate paid for child care assistance​
308.8 in any county or county price cluster under the child care fund shall be the greater of the​

393.29 Subdivision 1. Subsidy restrictions. (a) The maximum rate paid for child care assistance​
393.30 in any county or county price cluster under the child care fund shall be the greater of the​

308.9 25th percentile of the 2018 2021 child care provider rate survey or the rates in effect at the​393.31 25th percentile of the 2018 child care provider rate survey or the rates in effect at the time​
308.10 time of the update. For a child care provider located within the boundaries of a city located​393.32 of the update. set in accordance with rates and policies established by the commissioner,​
308.11 in two or more of the counties of Benton, Sherburne, and Stearns, the maximum rate paid​394.1 dependent on federal funds, and consistent with federal law, up to a maximum of the 75th​
308.12 for child care assistance shall be equal to the maximum rate paid in the county with the​394.2 percentile of the most recent child care provider rate survey, but in no event shall the​
308.13 highest maximum reimbursement rates or the provider's charge, whichever is less. The​394.3 maximum rate be less than the greater of the 50th percentile of the most recent child care​
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394.4 provider rate survey or the rates in effect at the time of the update. The rate increase is​
394.5 effective no later than the first full service period on or after January 1 of the year following​

308.14 commissioner may: (1) assign a county with no reported provider prices to a similar price​
308.15 cluster; and (2) consider county level access when determining final price clusters.​

394.6 the provider rate survey. For a child care provider located within the boundaries of a city​
394.7 located in two or more of the counties of Benton, Sherburne, and Stearns, the maximum​
394.8 rate paid for child care assistance shall be equal to the maximum rate paid in the county​
394.9 with the highest maximum reimbursement rates or the provider's charge, whichever is less.​
394.10 The commissioner may: (1) assign a county with no reported provider prices to a similar​
394.11 price cluster; and (2) consider county level access when determining final price clusters.​

308.16 (b) A rate which includes a special needs rate paid under subdivision 3 may be in excess​
308.17 of the maximum rate allowed under this subdivision.​

394.12 (b) A rate which includes a special needs rate paid under subdivision 3 may be in excess​
394.13 of the maximum rate allowed under this subdivision.​

308.18 (c) The department shall monitor the effect of this paragraph on provider rates. The​
308.19 county shall pay the provider's full charges for every child in care up to the maximum​

394.14 (c) The department shall monitor the effect of this paragraph on provider rates. The​
394.15 county shall pay the provider's full charges for every child in care up to the maximum​

308.20 established. The commissioner shall determine the maximum rate for each type of care on​
308.21 an hourly, full-day, and weekly basis, including special needs and disability care.​

394.16 established. The commissioner shall determine the maximum rate for each type of care on​
394.17 an hourly, full-day, and weekly basis, including special needs and disability care.​

308.22 (d) If a child uses one provider, the maximum payment for one day of care must not​
308.23 exceed the daily rate. The maximum payment for one week of care must not exceed the​
308.24 weekly rate.​

394.18 (d) If a child uses one provider, the maximum payment for one day of care must not​
394.19 exceed the daily rate. The maximum payment for one week of care must not exceed the​
394.20 weekly rate.​

308.25 (e) If a child uses two providers under section 119B.097, the maximum payment must​
308.26 not exceed:​

394.21 (e) If a child uses two providers under section 119B.097, the maximum payment must​
394.22 not exceed:​

308.27 (1) the daily rate for one day of care;​394.23 (1) the daily rate for one day of care;​

308.28 (2) the weekly rate for one week of care by the child's primary provider; and​394.24 (2) the weekly rate for one week of care by the child's primary provider; and​

308.29 (3) two daily rates during two weeks of care by a child's secondary provider.​394.25 (3) two daily rates during two weeks of care by a child's secondary provider.​

308.30 (f) Child care providers receiving reimbursement under this chapter must not be paid​
308.31 activity fees or an additional amount above the maximum rates for care provided during​
308.32 nonstandard hours for families receiving assistance.​

394.26 (f) Child care providers receiving reimbursement under this chapter must not be paid​
394.27 activity fees or an additional amount above the maximum rates for care provided during​
394.28 nonstandard hours for families receiving assistance.​

309.1 (g) If the provider charge is greater than the maximum provider rate allowed, the parent​
309.2 is responsible for payment of the difference in the rates in addition to any family co-payment​
309.3 fee.​

394.29 (g) If the provider charge is greater than the maximum provider rate allowed, the parent​
394.30 is responsible for payment of the difference in the rates in addition to any family co-payment​
394.31 fee.​

309.4 (h) All maximum provider rates changes shall be implemented on the Monday following​
309.5 the effective date of the maximum provider rate.​

394.32 (h) All maximum provider rates changes shall be implemented on the Monday following​
394.33 the effective date of the maximum provider rate.​

309.6 (i) Beginning September 21, 2020, The maximum registration fee paid for child care​
309.7 assistance in any county or county price cluster under the child care fund shall be the greater​

395.1 (i) Beginning September 21, 2020, (h) The maximum registration fee paid for child care​
395.2 assistance in any county or county price cluster under the child care fund shall be the greater​

309.8 of the 25th percentile of the 2018 2021 child care provider rate survey or the registration​395.3 of the 25th percentile of the 2018 child care provider rate survey or the registration fee in​
309.9 fee in effect at the time of the update. Maximum registration fees must be set for licensed​395.4 effect at the time of the update. set in accordance with rates and policies established by the​
309.10 family child care and for child care centers. For a child care provider located in the boundaries​395.5 commissioner, dependent on federal funds, and consistent with federal law, up to a maximum​
309.11 of a city located in two or more of the counties of Benton, Sherburne, and Stearns, the​395.6 of the 75th percentile of the most recent child care provider rate survey, but in no event​
309.12 maximum registration fee paid for child care assistance shall be equal to the maximum​395.7 shall the maximum registration fee be less than the greater of the 50th percentile of the most​
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395.8 recent child care provider rate survey or the registration fee in effect at the time of the update.​
395.9 Each maximum registration fee update must be implemented on the same schedule as​

309.13 registration fee paid in the county with the highest maximum registration fee or the provider's​
309.14 charge, whichever is less.​

395.10 maximum child care assistance rate increases under paragraph (a). Maximum registration​
395.11 fees must be set for licensed family child care and for child care centers. For a child care​
395.12 provider located in the boundaries of a city located in two or more of the counties of Benton,​
395.13 Sherburne, and Stearns, the maximum registration fee paid for child care assistance shall​
395.14 be equal to the maximum registration fee paid in the county with the highest maximum​
395.15 registration fee or the provider's charge, whichever is less.​

309.15 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021.​395.16 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

395.17 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 119B.13, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:​

395.18 Subd. 1a. Legal nonlicensed family child care provider rates. (a) Legal nonlicensed​
395.19 family child care providers receiving reimbursement under this chapter must be paid on an​
395.20 hourly basis for care provided to families receiving assistance.​

395.21 (b) The maximum rate paid to legal nonlicensed family child care providers must be 68​
395.22 90 percent of the county maximum hourly rate for licensed family child care providers. The​
395.23 rate increase is effective the first full service period on or after January 1 of the year following​
395.24 the provider rate survey. In counties or county price clusters where the maximum hourly​
395.25 rate for licensed family child care providers is higher than the maximum weekly rate for​
395.26 those providers divided by 50, the maximum hourly rate that may be paid to legal nonlicensed​
395.27 family child care providers is the rate equal to the maximum weekly rate for licensed family​
395.28 child care providers divided by 50 and then multiplied by 0.68 0.90. The maximum payment​
395.29 to a provider for one day of care must not exceed the maximum hourly rate times ten. The​
395.30 maximum payment to a provider for one week of care must not exceed the maximum hourly​
395.31 rate times 50.​

395.32 (c) A rate which includes a special needs rate paid under subdivision 3 may be in excess​
395.33 of the maximum rate allowed under this subdivision.​

396.1 (d) Legal nonlicensed family child care providers receiving reimbursement under this​
396.2 chapter may not be paid registration fees for families receiving assistance.​

396.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

309.16 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 119B.13, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​396.4 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 119B.13, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

309.17 Subd. 6. Provider payments. (a) A provider shall bill only for services documented​
309.18 according to section 119B.125, subdivision 6. The provider shall bill for services provided​

396.5 Subd. 6. Provider payments. (a) A provider shall bill only for services documented​
396.6 according to section 119B.125, subdivision 6. The provider shall bill for services provided​

309.19 within ten days of the end of the service period. Payments under the child care fund shall​396.7 within ten days of the end of the service period. Payments under the child care fund shall​
309.20 be made within 21 days of receiving a complete bill from the provider. Counties or the state​
309.21 may establish policies that make payments on a more frequent basis.​

396.8 be made within 21 days of receiving a complete bill from the provider. Counties or the state​
396.9 may establish policies that make payments on a more frequent basis.​

309.22 (b) If a provider has received an authorization of care and been issued a billing form for​
309.23 an eligible family, the bill must be submitted within 60 days of the last date of service on​

396.10 (b) If a provider has received an authorization of care and been issued a billing form for​
396.11 an eligible family, the bill must be submitted within 60 days of the last date of service on​

309.24 the bill. A bill submitted more than 60 days after the last date of service must be paid if the​396.12 the bill. A bill submitted more than 60 days after the last date of service must be paid if the​
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396.13 county determines that the provider has shown good cause why the bill was not submitted​
396.14 within 60 days. Good cause must be defined in the county's child care fund plan under​

309.25 county determines that the provider has shown good cause why the bill was not submitted​
309.26 within 60 days. Good cause must be defined in the county's child care fund plan under​

396.15 section 119B.08, subdivision 3, and the definition of good cause must include county error.​ 309.27 section 119B.08, subdivision 3, and the definition of good cause must include county error.​
396.16 Any bill submitted more than a year after the last date of service on the bill must not be​
396.17 paid.​

309.28 Any bill submitted more than a year after the last date of service on the bill must not be​
309.29 paid.​

309.30 (c) If a provider provided care for a time period without receiving an authorization of​
309.31 care and a billing form for an eligible family, payment of child care assistance may only be​

396.18 (c) If a provider provided care for a time period without receiving an authorization of​
396.19 care and a billing form for an eligible family, payment of child care assistance may only be​

309.32 made retroactively for a maximum of six three months from the date the provider is issued​396.20 made retroactively for a maximum of six three months from the date the provider is issued​
309.33 an authorization of care and billing form. For a family at application, if a provider provided​396.21 an authorization of care and billing form. For a family at application, if a provider provided​
310.1 child care during a time period without receiving an authorization of care and a billing form,​396.22 child care during a time period without receiving an authorization of care and a billing form,​
310.2 a county may only make child care assistance payments to the provider retroactively from​396.23 a county may only make child care assistance payments to the provider retroactively from​
310.3 the date that child care began, or from the date that the family's eligibility began under​396.24 the date that child care began, or from the date that the family's eligibility began under​
310.4 section 119B.09, subdivision 7, or from the date that the family meets authorization​396.25 section 119B.09, subdivision 7, or from the date that the family meets authorization​
310.5 requirements, not to exceed six months from the date that the provider is issued an​
310.6 authorization of care and billing form, whichever is later.​

396.26 requirements, not to exceed six months from the date the provider is issued an authorization​
396.27 of care and billing form, whichever is later.​

310.7 (d) A county or the commissioner may refuse to issue a child care authorization to a​
310.8 licensed or legal nonlicensed provider, revoke an existing child care authorization to a​

396.28 (d) A county or the commissioner may refuse to issue a child care authorization to a​
396.29 certified, licensed, or legal nonlicensed provider, revoke an existing child care authorization​

310.9 licensed or legal nonlicensed provider, stop payment issued to a licensed or legal nonlicensed​
310.10 provider, or refuse to pay a bill submitted by a licensed or legal nonlicensed provider if:​

396.30 to a certified, licensed, or legal nonlicensed provider, stop payment issued to a certified,​
396.31 licensed, or legal nonlicensed provider, or refuse to pay a bill submitted by a certified,​
396.32 licensed, or legal nonlicensed provider if:​

310.11 (1) the provider admits to intentionally giving the county materially false information​
310.12 on the provider's billing forms;​

397.1 (1) the provider admits to intentionally giving the county materially false information​
397.2 on the provider's billing forms;​

310.13 (2) a county or the commissioner finds by a preponderance of the evidence that the​
310.14 provider intentionally gave the county materially false information on the provider's billing​
310.15 forms, or provided false attendance records to a county or the commissioner;​

397.3 (2) a county or the commissioner finds by a preponderance of the evidence that the​
397.4 provider intentionally gave the county materially false information on the provider's billing​
397.5 forms, or provided false attendance records to a county or the commissioner;​

310.16 (3) the provider is in violation of child care assistance program rules, until the agency​
310.17 determines those violations have been corrected;​

397.6 (3) the provider is in violation of child care assistance program rules, until the agency​
397.7 determines those violations have been corrected;​

310.18 (4) the provider is operating after:​397.8 (4) the provider is operating after:​

310.19 (i) an order of suspension of the provider's license issued by the commissioner;​397.9 (i) an order of suspension of the provider's license issued by the commissioner;​

310.20 (ii) an order of revocation of the provider's license; or​397.10 (ii) an order of revocation of the provider's license issued by the commissioner; or​

310.21 (iii) a final order of conditional license issued by the commissioner for as long as the​
310.22 conditional license is in effect;​

397.11 (iii) a final order of conditional license issued by the commissioner for as long as the​
397.12 conditional license is in effect an order of decertification issued to the provider;​

310.23 (5) the provider submits false attendance reports or refuses to provide documentation​
310.24 of the child's attendance upon request;​

397.13 (5) the provider submits false attendance reports or refuses to provide documentation​
397.14 of the child's attendance upon request;​

310.25 (6) the provider gives false child care price information; or​397.15 (6) the provider gives false child care price information; or​
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310.26 (7) the provider fails to report decreases in a child's attendance as required under section​
310.27 119B.125, subdivision 9.​

397.16 (7) the provider fails to report decreases in a child's attendance as required under section​
397.17 119B.125, subdivision 9.​

310.28 (e) For purposes of paragraph (d), clauses (3), (5), (6), and (7), the county or the​
310.29 commissioner may withhold the provider's authorization or payment for a period of time​
310.30 not to exceed three months beyond the time the condition has been corrected.​

397.18 (e) For purposes of paragraph (d), clauses (3), (5), (6), and (7), the county or the​
397.19 commissioner may withhold the provider's authorization or payment for a period of time​
397.20 not to exceed three months beyond the time the condition has been corrected.​

310.31 (f) A county's payment policies must be included in the county's child care plan under​
310.32 section 119B.08, subdivision 3. If payments are made by the state, in addition to being in​

397.21 (f) A county's payment policies must be included in the county's child care plan under​
397.22 section 119B.08, subdivision 3. If payments are made by the state, in addition to being in​

311.1 compliance with this subdivision, the payments must be made in compliance with section​
311.2 16A.124.​

397.23 compliance with this subdivision, the payments must be made in compliance with section​
397.24 16A.124.​

311.3 (g) The commissioner shall not withhold a provider's authorization or payment under​
311.4 paragraph (d) where the provider's alleged misconduct is the result of the provider relying​
311.5 upon representations from the commissioner, local agency, or licensor that the provider had​
311.6 been in compliance with the rules and regulations necessary to maintain the provider's​
311.7 authorization.​

397.25 (g) If the commissioner or responsible county agency suspends or refuses payment to a​
397.26 provider under paragraph (d), clause (1) or (2), or chapter 245E and the provider has:​

397.27 (1) a disqualification for wrongfully obtaining assistance under section 256.98,​
397.28 subdivision 8, paragraph (c);​

397.29 (2) an administrative disqualification under section 256.046, subdivision 3; or​

397.30 (3) a termination under section 245E.02, subdivision 4, paragraph (c), clause (4), or​
397.31 245E.06;​

398.1 then the provider forfeits the payment to the commissioner or the responsible county agency,​
398.2 regardless of the amount assessed in an overpayment, charged in a criminal complaint, or​
398.3 ordered as criminal restitution.​

311.8 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021, except that the language​
311.9 in paragraph (g) is effective retroactively from July 1, 2020.​

398.4 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.​

398.5 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 119B.13, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

398.6 Subd. 7. Absent days. (a) Licensed child care providers and license-exempt centers​
398.7 must not be reimbursed for more than 25 full-day absent days per child, excluding holidays,​
398.8 in a calendar year, or for more than ten consecutive full-day absent days. "Absent day"​
398.9 means any day that the child is authorized and scheduled to be in care with a licensed​
398.10 provider or license-exempt center, and the child is absent from the care for the entire day.​
398.11 Legal nonlicensed family child care providers must not be reimbursed for absent days. If a​
398.12 child attends for part of the time authorized to be in care in a day, but is absent for part of​
398.13 the time authorized to be in care in that same day, the absent time must be reimbursed but​
398.14 the time must not count toward the absent days limit. Child care providers must only be​
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398.15 reimbursed for absent days if the provider has a written policy for child absences and charges​
398.16 all other families in care for similar absences.​

398.17 (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), children with documented medical conditions that​
398.18 cause more frequent absences may exceed the 25 absent days limit, or ten consecutive​
398.19 full-day absent days limit. Absences due to a documented medical condition of a parent or​
398.20 sibling who lives in the same residence as the child receiving child care assistance do not​
398.21 count against the absent days limit in a calendar year. Documentation of medical conditions​
398.22 must be on the forms and submitted according to the timelines established by the​
398.23 commissioner. A public health nurse or school nurse may verify the illness in lieu of a​
398.24 medical practitioner. If a provider sends a child home early due to a medical reason,​
398.25 including, but not limited to, fever or contagious illness, the child care center director or​
398.26 lead teacher may verify the illness in lieu of a medical practitioner.​

398.27 (c) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), children in families may exceed the absent days limit​
398.28 if at least one parent: (1) is under the age of 21; (2) does not have a high school diploma or​
398.29 commissioner of education-selected high school equivalency certification; and (3) is a​
398.30 student in a school district or another similar program that provides or arranges for child​
398.31 care, parenting support, social services, career and employment supports, and academic​
398.32 support to achieve high school graduation, upon request of the program and approval of the​
398.33 county. If a child attends part of an authorized day, payment to the provider must be for the​
398.34 full amount of care authorized for that day.​

399.1 (d) Child care providers must be reimbursed for up to ten federal or state holidays or​
399.2 designated holidays per year when the provider charges all families for these days and the​
399.3 holiday or designated holiday falls on a day when the child is authorized to be in attendance.​
399.4 Parents may substitute other cultural or religious holidays for the ten recognized state and​
399.5 federal holidays. Holidays do not count toward the absent days limit.​

399.6 (e) A family or child care provider must not be assessed an overpayment for an absent​
399.7 day payment unless (1) there was an error in the amount of care authorized for the family,​
399.8 or (2) all of the allowed full-day absent payments for the child have been paid, or (3) the​
399.9 family or provider did not timely report a change as required under law.​

399.10 (f) The provider and family shall receive notification of the number of absent days used​
399.11 upon initial provider authorization for a family and ongoing notification of the number of​
399.12 absent days used as of the date of the notification.​

399.13 (g) For purposes of this subdivision, "absent days limit" means 25 full-day absent days​
399.14 per child, excluding holidays, in a calendar year; and ten consecutive full-day absent days.​

399.15 (h) For purposes of this subdivision, "holidays limit" means ten full-day holidays per​
399.16 child, excluding absent days, in a calendar year.​

399.17 (i) If a day meets the criteria of an absent day or a holiday under this subdivision, the​
399.18 provider must bill that day as an absent day or holiday. A provider's failure to properly bill​
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399.19 an absent day or a holiday results in an overpayment, regardless of whether the child reached,​
399.20 or is exempt from, the absent days limit or holidays limit for the calendar year.​

399.21 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.​

399.22 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 119B.25, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

399.23 Subd. 3. Financing program. A nonprofit corporation that receives a grant under this​
399.24 section shall use the money to:​

399.25 (1) establish a revolving loan fund to make loans to existing, expanding, and new licensed​
399.26 and legal unlicensed child care and early childhood education sites;​

399.27 (2) establish a fund to guarantee private loans to improve or construct a child care or​
399.28 early childhood education site;​

399.29 (3) establish a fund to provide forgivable loans or grants to match all or part of a loan​
399.30 made under this section;​

399.31 (4) establish a fund as a reserve against bad debt; and​

400.1 (5) establish a fund to provide business planning assistance for child care providers.;​
400.2 and​

400.3 (6) provide training and consultation for child care providers to build and strengthen​
400.4 their businesses and acquire key business skills.​

400.5 The nonprofit corporation shall establish the terms and conditions for loans and loan​
400.6 guarantees including, but not limited to, interest rates, repayment agreements, private match​
400.7 requirements, and conditions for loan forgiveness. The nonprofit corporation shall establish​
400.8 a minimum interest rate for loans to ensure that necessary loan administration costs are​
400.9 covered. The nonprofit corporation may use interest earnings for administrative expenses.​

311.10 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 245E.07, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

311.11 Subdivision 1. Grounds for and methods of monetary recovery. (a) The department​
311.12 may obtain monetary recovery from a provider who has been improperly paid by the child​
311.13 care assistance program, regardless of whether the error was intentional or county error.​
311.14 Overpayments designated solely as agency error, and not the result of acts or omissions on​
311.15 the part of a provider or recipient, must not be established or collected. The department​
311.16 does not need to establish a pattern as a precondition of monetary recovery of erroneous or​
311.17 false billing claims, duplicate billing claims, or billing claims based on false statements or​
311.18 financial misconduct.​

311.19 (b) The department shall obtain monetary recovery from providers by the following​
311.20 means:​
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311.21 (1) permitting voluntary repayment of money, either in lump-sum payment or installment​
311.22 payments;​

311.23 (2) using any legal collection process;​

311.24 (3) deducting or withholding program payments; or​

311.25 (4) utilizing the means set forth in chapter 16D.​

311.26 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021.​

311.27 Sec. 5. CHILD CARE AND DEVELOPMENT BLOCK GRANT ALLOCATION;​
311.28 BASIC SLIDING FEE CHILD CARE ASSISTANCE PROGRAM.​

311.29 The commissioner of human services shall allocate $14,574,000 in fiscal year 2022,​
311.30 $14,574,000 in fiscal year 2023, and $14,574,000 in fiscal year 2024 from the amount​
311.31 Minnesota received under the American Rescue Plan Act, Public Law 117-2, section 2201,​
312.1 for the child care and development block grant, for the basic sliding fee child care assistance​
312.2 program under Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.03. This is a onetime allocation.​

400.10 Sec. 11. REPEALER.​

400.11 Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 119B.125, subdivision 5, is repealed.​

400.12 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.​
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