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ARTICLE 14
DISABILITY SERVICES AND CONTINUING CARE FOR OLDER ADULTS
Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 144.0724, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Resident assessment schedule. (a) A facility must conduct and electronically
submit to the eommisstoner-ofhealth federal database MDS assessments that conform with
the assessment schedule deﬁned by Ged&ef—Fedefal—Regul-aﬁeﬂs—&ﬂ&%seeﬂe&%%%

Medleaf&aﬂd—Med-teaid—Seiﬂees—m the Long Term Care Fac111tx Re51dent Assessment
Instrument User's Manual, version 3.0,-and-subsequent-updateswhen or its successor issued
by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. The commissioner of health may
substitute successor manuals or question and answer documents published by the United
States Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid
Services, to replace or supplement the current version of the manual or document.

(b) The assessments required under the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1987
(OBRA) used to determine a case mix classification for reimbursement include the following:

(1) a new admission comprehensive assessment, which must have an assessment reference
date (ARD) within 14 calendar days after admission, excluding readmissions;

(2) an annual comprehensive assessment, which must have an assessmentreferenee-date
ARDB) ARD within 92 days of the a previous quarterly review assessment and-the or a
previous comprehensive assessment, which must occur at least once every 366 days;

(3) a significant change in status comprehensive assessment, which must be-eempleted
have an ARD within 14 days eftheidentifieation-of after the facility determines, or should
have determined, that there has been a significant change in the resident's physical or mental
condition, whether an improvement or a decline, and regardless of the amount of time since

the last signifieant-ehange-in-status comprehensive assessment or quarterly review

assessment;

(4) alt a quarterly assessments review assessment must have an assessmentreference
date (ARD) ARD within 92 days of the ARD of the previous quarterly review assessment
or a previous comprehensive assessment;

(5) any significant correction to a prior comprehensive assessment, if the assessment
being corrected is the current one being used for RUG classification; ane

(6) any significant correction to a prior quarterly review assessment, if the assessment
being corrected is the current one being used for RUG classifications;

(7) arequired significant change in status assessment when:
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ARTICLE 14

DISABILITY SERVICES AND CONTINUING CARE FOR OLDER ADULTS
Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 144.0724, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Resident assessment schedule. (a) A facility must conduct and electronically
submit to the commissioner of health MDS assessments that conform with the assessment
schedule defined by Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 483.20, and published
by the United States Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and
Medicaid Services, in the Long Term Care Assessment Instrument User's Manual, version
3.0, and subsequent updates when issued by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services.
The commissioner of health may substitute successor manuals or question and answer
documents published by the United States Department of Health and Human Services,
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, to replace or supplement the current version
of the manual or document.

(b) The assessments used to determine a case mix classification for reimbursement
include the following:

(1) a new admission assessment;

(2) an annual assessment which must have an assessment reference date (ARD) within
92 days of the previous assessment and the previous comprehensive assessment;

(3) a significant change in status assessment must be completed within 14 days of the
identification of a significant change, whether improvement or decline, and regardless of
the amount of time since the last significant change in status assessment;

(4) all quarterly assessments must have an assessment reference date (ARD) within 92
days of the ARD of the previous assessment;

(5) any significant correction to a prior comprehensive assessment, if the assessment
being corrected is the current one being used for RUG classification; and

(6) any significant correction to a prior quarterly assessment, if the assessment being
corrected is the current one being used for RUG classification.

(c) In addition to the assessments listed in paragraph (b), a significant change in status
assessment is required when:
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(i) all speech, occupational, and physical therapies have ended. The ARD of this
assessment must be set on day eight after all therapy services have ended; and

(ii) isolation for an infectious disease has ended. The ARD of this assessment must be
set on day 15 after isolation has ended; and

(8) any modifications to the most recent assessments under clauses (1) to (7).

(c) In addition to the assessments listed in paragraph (b), the assessments used to
determine nursing facility level of care include the following:

(1) preadmission screening completed under section 256.975, subdivisions 7a to 7c, by
the Senior LinkAge Line or other organization under contract with the Minnesota Board on
Aging; and

(2) a nursing facility level of care determination as provided for under section 256B.0911,
subdivision 4e, as part of a face-to-face long-term care consultation assessment completed
under section 256B.0911, by a county, tribe, or managed care organization under contract
with the Department of Human Services.
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(1) all speech, occupational, and physical therapies have ended. The assessment reference
date of this assessment must be set on day eight after all therapy services have ended; and

(2) isolation for an active infectious disease has ended. The assessment reference date
of this assessment must be set on day 15 after isolation has ended.

(d) In addition to the assessments listed in paragraph paragraphs (b) and (c), the
assessments used to determine nursing facility level of care include the following:

(1) preadmission screening completed under section 256.975, subdivisions 7a to 7c, by
the Senior LinkAge Line or other organization under contract with the Minnesota Board on
Aging; and

(2) a nursing facility level of care determination as provided for under section 256B.0911,
subdivision 4e, as part of a face-to-face long-term care consultation assessment completed
under section 256B.0911, by a county, tribe, or managed care organization under contract
with the Department of Human Services.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for all assessments with an assessment
reference date of July 1, 2021, or later.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 144A.073, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Request for proposals. At the authorization by the legislature of additional
medical assistance expenditures for exceptions to the moratorium on nursing homes, the
commissioner shall publish in the State Register a request for proposals for nursing home
and certified boarding care home projects for conversion, relocation, renovation, replacement,
upgrading, or addition. The public notice of this funding and the request for proposals must
specify how the approval criteria will be prioritized by the commissioner. The notice must
describe the information that must accompany a request and state that proposals must be
submitted to the commissioner within 150 days of the date of publication. The notice must
include the amount of the legislative appropriation available for the additional costs to the
medical assistance program of projects approved under this section. If money is appropriated,
the commissioner shall initiate the application and review process described in this section
at least once each biennium. A second application and review process must occur if remaining
funds are either greater than $300,000 or more than 50 percent of the baseline appropriation
for the biennium. Authorized funds may be awarded in full in the first review process of
the biennium. Appropriated funds not encumbered within a biennium shall carry forward

to-the follewing biennium. To be considered for approval, a proposal must include the
following information:

(1) whether the request is for renovation, replacement, upgrading, conversion, addition,
or relocation;

(2) a description of the problems the project is designed to address;
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(3) a description of the proposed project;

(4) an analysis of projected costs of the nursing facility proposed project, including:

(i) initial construction and remodeling costs;

(ii) site preparation costs;

(iii) equipment and technology costs;

(iv) financing costs, the current estimated long-term financing costs of the proposal,
which is to include details of any proposed funding mechanism already arranged or being
considered, including estimates of the amount and sources of money, reserves if required,

annual payments schedule, interest rates, length of term, closing costs and fees, insurance
costs, any completed marketing study or underwriting review; and

(v) estimated operating costs during the first two years after completion of the project;

(5) for proposals involving replacement of all or part of a facility, the proposed location
of the replacement facility and an estimate of the cost of addressing the problem through
renovation;

(6) for proposals involving renovation, an estimate of the cost of addressing the problem
through replacement;

(7) the proposed timetable for commencing construction and completing the project;

(8) a statement of any licensure or certification issues, such as certification survey
deficiencies;

(9) the proposed relocation plan for current residents if beds are to be closed according
to section 144A.161; and

(10) other information required by permanent rule of the commissioner of health in
accordance with subdivisions 4 and 8.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 144A.073, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 17. Moratorium exception funding. (a) During the biennium beginning July 1,
2021, and during each biennium thereafter, the commissioner of health may approve
moratorium exception projects under this section for which the full biennial state share of
medical assistance costs does not exceed $10,000,000, plus any carryover of previous
appropriations for this purpose.

(b) For the purposes of this subdivision, "biennium" has the meaning given in section
16A.011, subdivision 6.
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Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 245A.03, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. Licensing moratorium. (a) The commissioner shall not issue an initial license
for child foster care licensed under Minnesota Rules, parts 2960.3000 to 2960.3340, or adult
foster care licensed under Minnesota Rules, parts 9555.5105 to 9555.6265, under this chapter
for a physical location that will not be the primary residence of the license holder for the
entire period of licensure. If a license is issued during this moratorium, and the license
holder changes the license holder's primary residence away from the physical location of
the foster care license, the commissioner shall revoke the license according to section
245A.07. The commissioner shall not issue an initial license for a community residential
setting licensed under chapter 245D. When approving an exception under this paragraph,
the commissioner shall consider the resource need determination process in paragraph (h),
the availability of foster care licensed beds in the geographic area in which the licensee
seeks to operate, the results of a person's choices during their annual assessment and service
plan review, and the recommendation of the local county board. The determination by the
commissioner is final and not subject to appeal. Exceptions to the moratorium include:

(1) foster care settings that are required to be registered under chapter 144D;

(2) foster care licenses replacing foster care licenses in existence on May 15, 2009, or
community residential setting licenses replacing adult foster care licenses in existence on
December 31, 2013, and determined to be needed by the commissioner under paragraph

(®);

(3) new foster care licenses or community residential setting licenses determined to be
needed by the commissioner under paragraph (b) for the closure of a nursing facility, ICF/DD,
or regional treatment center; restructuring of state-operated services that limits the capacity
of state-operated facilities; or allowing movement to the community for people who no
longer require the level of care provided in state-operated facilities as provided under section
256B.092, subdivision 13, or 256B.49, subdivision 24;

(4) new foster care licenses or community residential setting licenses determined to be
needed by the commissioner under paragraph (b) for persons requiring hospital level care;
or

(5) new foster care licenses or community residential setting licenses for people receiving
services under chapter 245D and residing in an unlicensed setting before May 1, 2017, and
for which a license is required. This exception does not apply to people living in their own
home. For purposes of this clause, there is a presumption that a foster care or community
residential setting license is required for services provided to three or more people in a
dwelling unit when the setting is controlled by the provider. A license holder subject to this
exception may rebut the presumption that a license is required by seeking a reconsideration
of the commissioner's determination. The commissioner's disposition of a request for
reconsideration is final and not subject to appeal under chapter 14. The exception is available
until June 30, 2018. This exception is available when:
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Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 245A.03, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. Licensing moratorium. (a) The commissioner shall not issue an initial license
for child foster care licensed under Minnesota Rules, parts 2960.3000 to 2960.3340, or adult
foster care licensed under Minnesota Rules, parts 9555.5105 to 9555.6265, under this chapter
for a physical location that will not be the primary residence of the license holder for the
entire period of licensure. If a license is issued during this moratorium, and the license
holder changes the license holder's primary residence away from the physical location of
the foster care license, the commissioner shall revoke the license according to section
245A.07. The commissioner shall not issue an initial license for a community residential
setting licensed under chapter 245D. When approving an exception under this paragraph,
the commissioner shall consider the resource need determination process in paragraph (h),
the availability of foster care licensed beds in the geographic area in which the licensee
seeks to operate, the results of a person's choices during their annual assessment and service
plan review, and the recommendation of the local county board. The determination by the
commissioner is final and not subject to appeal. Exceptions to the moratorium include:

(1) foster care settings that are required to be registered under chapter 144D;

(2) foster care licenses replacing foster care licenses in existence on May 15, 2009, or
community residential setting licenses replacing adult foster care licenses in existence on
December 31, 2013, and determined to be needed by the commissioner under paragraph

(®);

(3) new foster care licenses or community residential setting licenses determined to be
needed by the commissioner under paragraph (b) for the closure of a nursing facility, ICF/DD,
or regional treatment center; restructuring of state-operated services that limits the capacity
of state-operated facilities; or allowing movement to the community for people who no
longer require the level of care provided in state-operated facilities as provided under section
256B.092, subdivision 13, or 256B.49, subdivision 24;

(4) new foster care licenses or community residential setting licenses determined to be
needed by the commissioner under paragraph (b) for persons requiring hospital level care;
or

(5) new foster care licenses or community residential setting licenses for people receiving
services under chapter 245D and residing in an unlicensed setting before May 1, 2017, and
for which a license is required. This exception does not apply to people living in their own
home. For purposes of this clause, there is a presumption that a foster care or community
residential setting license is required for services provided to three or more people in a
dwelling unit when the setting is controlled by the provider. A license holder subject to this
exception may rebut the presumption that a license is required by seeking a reconsideration
of the commissioner's determination. The commissioner's disposition of a request for
reconsideration is final and not subject to appeal under chapter 14. The exception is available
until June 30, 2018. This exception is available when:
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(i) the person's case manager provided the person with information about the choice of
service, service provider, and location of service, including in the person's home, to help
the person make an informed choice; and

(i) the person's services provided in the licensed foster care or community residential
setting are less than or equal to the cost of the person's services delivered in the unlicensed
setting as determined by the lead agency-; or

(6) new foster care licenses or community residential setting licenses for people receiving
customized living or 24-hour customized living services under the brain injury or community
access for disability inclusion waiver plans under section 256B.49 and residing in the
customized living setting before July 1, 2022, for which a license is required. A customized
living service provider subject to this exception may rebut the presumption that a license
is required by seeking a reconsideration of the commissioner's determination. The
commissioner's disposition of a request for reconsideration is final and not subject to appeal
under chapter 14. The exception is available until June 30, 2023. This exception is available
when:

(i) the person's customized living services are provided in a customized living service
setting serving four or fewer people under the brain injury or community access for disability
inclusion waiver plans under section 256B.49 in a single-family home operational on or
before June 30, 2021. Operational is defined in section 256B.49, subdivision 28;

(i) the person's case manager provided the person with information about the choice of
service, service provider, and location of service, including in the person's home, to help
the person make an informed choice; and

(iii) the person's services provided in the licensed foster care or community residential
setting are less than or equal to the cost of the person's services delivered in the customized
living setting as determined by the lead agency.

(b) The commissioner shall determine the need for newly licensed foster care homes or
community residential settings as defined under this subdivision. As part of the determination,
the commissioner shall consider the availability of foster care capacity in the area in which
the licensee seeks to operate, and the recommendation of the local county board. The
determination by the commissioner must be final. A determination of need is not required
for a change in ownership at the same address.

(c) When an adult resident served by the program moves out of a foster home that is not
the primary residence of the license holder according to section 256B.49, subdivision 15,
paragraph (f), or the adult community residential setting, the county shall immediately
inform the Department of Human Services Licensing Division. The department may decrease
the statewide licensed capacity for adult foster care settings.

(d) Residential settings that would otherwise be subject to the decreased license capacity
established in paragraph (c) shall be exempt if the license holder's beds are occupied by
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(i) the person's case manager provided the person with information about the choice of
service, service provider, and location of service, including in the person's home, to help
the person make an informed choice; and

(i) the person's services provided in the licensed foster care or community residential
setting are less than or equal to the cost of the person's services delivered in the unlicensed
setting as determined by the lead agency-; or

(6) new foster care licenses or community residential setting licenses for people receiving
customized living or 24-hour customized living services under the brain injury or community
access for disability inclusion waiver plans under section 256B.49 and residing in the
customized living setting before July 1, 2022, for which a license is required. A customized
living service provider subject to this exception may rebut the presumption that a license
is required by seeking a reconsideration of the commissioner's determination. The
commissioner's disposition of a request for reconsideration is final and not subject to appeal
under chapter 14. The exception is available until June 30, 2023. This exception is available
when:

(i) the person's customized living services are provided in a customized living service
setting serving four or fewer people under the brain injury or community access for disability
inclusion waiver plans under section 256B.49 in a single-family home operational on or
before June 30, 2021. Operational is defined in section 256B.49, subdivision 28;

(i) the person's case manager provided the person with information about the choice of
service, service provider, and location of service, including in the person's home, to help
the person make an informed choice; and

(iii) the person's services provided in the licensed foster care or community residential
setting are less than or equal to the cost of the person's services delivered in the customized
living setting as determined by the lead agency.

(b) The commissioner shall determine the need for newly licensed foster care homes or
community residential settings as defined under this subdivision. As part of the determination,
the commissioner shall consider the availability of foster care capacity in the area in which
the licensee seeks to operate, and the recommendation of the local county board. The
determination by the commissioner must be final. A determination of need is not required
for a change in ownership at the same address.

(c) When an adult resident served by the program moves out of a foster home that is not
the primary residence of the license holder according to section 256B.49, subdivision 15,
paragraph (f), or the adult community residential setting, the county shall immediately
inform the Department of Human Services Licensing Division. The department may decrease
the statewide licensed capacity for adult foster care settings.

(d) Residential settings that would otherwise be subject to the decreased license capacity
established in paragraph (c) shall be exempt if the license holder's beds are occupied by
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residents whose primary diagnosis is mental illness and the license holder is certified under
the requirements in subdivision 6a or section 245D.33.

(e) A resource need determination process, managed at the state level, using the available
reports required by section 144A.351, and other data and information shall be used to
determine where the reduced capacity determined under section 256B.493 will be
implemented. The commissioner shall consult with the stakeholders described in section
144A.351, and employ a variety of methods to improve the state's capacity to meet the
informed decisions of those people who want to move out of corporate foster care or
community residential settings, long-term service needs within budgetary limits, including
seeking proposals from service providers or lead agencies to change service type, capacity,
or location to improve services, increase the independence of residents, and better meet
needs identified by the long-term services and supports reports and statewide data and
information.

() At the time of application and reapplication for licensure, the applicant and the license
holder that are subject to the moratorium or an exclusion established in paragraph (a) are
required to inform the commissioner whether the physical location where the foster care
will be provided is or will be the primary residence of the license holder for the entire period
of licensure. If the primary residence of the applicant or license holder changes, the applicant
or license holder must notify the commissioner immediately. The commissioner shall print
on the foster care license certificate whether or not the physical location is the primary
residence of the license holder.

(g) License holders of foster care homes identified under paragraph (f) that are not the
primary residence of the license holder and that also provide services in the foster care home
that are covered by a federally approved home and community-based services waiver, as
authorized under chapter 256S or section 256B.092 or 256B.49, must inform the human
services licensing division that the license holder provides or intends to provide these
waiver-funded services.

(h) The commissioner may adjust capacity to address needs identified in section
144A.351. Under this authority, the commissioner may approve new licensed settings or
delicense existing settings. Delicensing of settings will be accomplished through a process
identified in section 256B.493. Annually, by August 1, the commissioner shall provide
information and data on capacity of licensed long-term services and supports, actions taken
under the subdivision to manage statewide long-term services and supports resources, and
any recommendations for change to the legislative committees with jurisdiction over the
health and human services budget.

(1) The commissioner must notify a license holder when its corporate foster care or
community residential setting licensed beds are reduced under this section. The notice of
reduction of licensed beds must be in writing and delivered to the license holder by certified
mail or personal service. The notice must state why the licensed beds are reduced and must
inform the license holder of its right to request reconsideration by the commissioner. The
license holder's request for reconsideration must be in writing. If mailed, the request for
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residents whose primary diagnosis is mental illness and the license holder is certified under
the requirements in subdivision 6a or section 245D.33.

(e) A resource need determination process, managed at the state level, using the available
reports required by section 144A.351, and other data and information shall be used to
determine where the reduced capacity determined under section 256B.493 will be
implemented. The commissioner shall consult with the stakeholders described in section
144A.351, and employ a variety of methods to improve the state's capacity to meet the
informed decisions of those people who want to move out of corporate foster care or
community residential settings, long-term service needs within budgetary limits, including
seeking proposals from service providers or lead agencies to change service type, capacity,
or location to improve services, increase the independence of residents, and better meet
needs identified by the long-term services and supports reports and statewide data and
information.

(f) At the time of application and reapplication for licensure, the applicant and the license
holder that are subject to the moratorium or an exclusion established in paragraph (a) are
required to inform the commissioner whether the physical location where the foster care
will be provided is or will be the primary residence of the license holder for the entire period
of licensure. If the primary residence of the applicant or license holder changes, the applicant
or license holder must notify the commissioner immediately. The commissioner shall print
on the foster care license certificate whether or not the physical location is the primary
residence of the license holder.

(g) License holders of foster care homes identified under paragraph (f) that are not the
primary residence of the license holder and that also provide services in the foster care home
that are covered by a federally approved home and community-based services waiver, as
authorized under chapter 256S or section 256B.092 or 256B.49, must inform the human
services licensing division that the license holder provides or intends to provide these
waiver-funded services.

(h) The commissioner may adjust capacity to address needs identified in section
144A.351. Under this authority, the commissioner may approve new licensed settings or
delicense existing settings. Delicensing of settings will be accomplished through a process
identified in section 256B.493. Annually, by August 1, the commissioner shall provide
information and data on capacity of licensed long-term services and supports, actions taken
under the subdivision to manage statewide long-term services and supports resources, and
any recommendations for change to the legislative committees with jurisdiction over the
health and human services budget.

(1) The commissioner must notify a license holder when its corporate foster care or
community residential setting licensed beds are reduced under this section. The notice of
reduction of licensed beds must be in writing and delivered to the license holder by certified
mail or personal service. The notice must state why the licensed beds are reduced and must
inform the license holder of its right to request reconsideration by the commissioner. The
license holder's request for reconsideration must be in writing. If mailed, the request for
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reconsideration must be postmarked and sent to the commissioner within 20 calendar days
after the license holder's receipt of the notice of reduction of licensed beds. If a request for
reconsideration is made by personal service, it must be received by the commissioner within
20 calendar days after the license holder's receipt of the notice of reduction of licensed beds.

(j) The commissioner shall not issue an initial license for children's residential treatment
services licensed under Minnesota Rules, parts 2960.0580 to 2960.0700, under this chapter
for a program that Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services would consider an institution
for mental diseases. Facilities that serve only private pay clients are exempt from the
moratorium described in this paragraph. The commissioner has the authority to manage
existing statewide capacity for children's residential treatment services subject to the
moratorium under this paragraph and may issue an initial license for such facilities if the
initial license would not increase the statewide capacity for children's residential treatment
services subject to the moratorium under this paragraph.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2022.
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reconsideration must be postmarked and sent to the commissioner within 20 calendar days
after the license holder's receipt of the notice of reduction of licensed beds. If a request for
reconsideration is made by personal service, it must be received by the commissioner within
20 calendar days after the license holder's receipt of the notice of reduction of licensed beds.

(j) The commissioner shall not issue an initial license for children's residential treatment
services licensed under Minnesota Rules, parts 2960.0580 to 2960.0700, under this chapter
for a program that Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services would consider an institution
for mental diseases. Facilities that serve only private pay clients are exempt from the
moratorium described in this paragraph. The commissioner has the authority to manage
existing statewide capacity for children's residential treatment services subject to the
moratorium under this paragraph and may issue an initial license for such facilities if the
initial license would not increase the statewide capacity for children's residential treatment
services subject to the moratorium under this paragraph.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2022.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256.477, is amended to read:
256.477 SELF-ADVOCACY GRANTS.

Subdivision 1. The Rick Cardenas Statewide Self-Advocacy Network. (a) The
commissioner shall make available a grant for the purposes of establishing and maintaining
& the Rick Cardenas Statewide Self-Advocacy Network for persons with intellectual and
developmental disabilities. The Rick Cardenas Statewide Self-Advocacy Network shall:

(1) ensure that persons with intellectual and developmental disabilities are informed of
their rights in employment, housing, transportation, voting, government policy, and other
issues pertinent to the intellectual and developmental disability community;

(2) provide public education and awareness of the civil and human rights issues persons
with intellectual and developmental disabilities face;

(3) provide funds, technical assistance, and other resources for self-advocacy groups
across the state; and

(4) organize systems of communications to facilitate an exchange of information between
self-advocacy groups;

(5) train and support the activities of a statewide network of peer-to-peer mentors for
persons with developmental disabilities focused on building awareness among people with
developmental disabilities of service options; assisting people with developmental disabilities
choose service options; and developing the advocacy skills of people with developmental
disabilities necessary for them to move toward full inclusion in community life, including
by developing and delivering a curriculum to support the peer-to-peer network;
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439.1 (6) provide outreach activities, including statewide conferences and disability networking
439.2  opportunities, focused on self-advocacy, informed choice, and community engagement
439.3  skills; and

439.4 (7) provide an annual leadership program for persons with intellectual and developmental
439.5  disabilities.

439.6 (b) An organization receiving a grant under paragraph (a) must be an organization
439.7  governed by people with intellectual and developmental disabilities that administers a

439.8  statewide network of disability groups in order to maintain and promote self-advocacy

439.9 services and supports for persons with intellectual and developmental disabilities throughout
439.10 the state.

439.11 (c) An organization receiving a grant under this subdivision may use a portion of grant
439.12 revenue determined by the commissioner for administration and general operating costs.

439.13 Subd. 2. Subgrants for outreach to persons in institutional settings. The commissioner
439.14 shall make available to an organization described under subdivision 1 a grant for subgrants
439.15 to organizations in Minnesota to conduct outreach to persons working and living in

439.16 institutional settings to provide education and information about community options. Subgrant
439.17 funds must be used to deliver peer-led skill training sessions in six regions of the state to
439.18 help persons with intellectual and developmental disabilities understand community service

439.19 options related to:
439.20 (1) housing;
439.21 (2) employment;
439.22 (3) education;
439.23 (4) transportation;

439.24 (5) emerging service reform initiatives contained in the state's Olmstead plan; the
439.25 Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act, Public Law 113-128; and federal home and
439.26 community-based services regulations; and

439.27 (6) connecting with individuals who can help persons with intellectual and developmental
439.28 disabilities make an informed choice and plan for a transition in services.

439.29  Sec. 6. [256.4772] MINNESOTA INCLUSION INITIATIVE GRANT.

439.30 Subdivision 1. Grant program established. The commissioner of human services shall
439.31 establish the Minnesota inclusion initiative grant program to encourage self-advocacy groups
439.32 of persons with intellectual and developmental disabilities to develop and organize projects
440.1 that increase the inclusion of persons with intellectual and developmental disabilities in the
440.2 community, improve community integration outcomes, educate decision-makers and the
440.3  public about persons with intellectual and developmental disabilities, including the systemic
440.4  barriers that prevent them from being included in the community, and to advocate for changes
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440.5 that increase access to formal and informal supports and services necessary for greater
440.6 inclusion of persons with intellectual and developmental disabilities in the community.

440.7 Subd. 2. Administration. The commissioner of human services, as authorized by section
440.8 256.01, subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clause (6), shall issue a request for proposals to contract
440.9 with a public or private entity to (1) serve as a fiscal host for the money appropriated for
440.10 the purposes described in this section, and (2) develop guidelines, criteria, and procedures
440.11 for awarding grants. The fiscal host shall establish an advisory committee consisting of

440.12 self-advocates, nonprofit advocacy organizations, and Department of Human Services staff
440.13 to review applications and award grants under this section.

440.14 Subd. 3. Applications. (a) Entities seeking grants under this section shall apply to the
440.15 advisory committee of the fiscal host under contract with the commissioner. The grant

440.16 applicant must include a description of the project that the applicant is proposing, the amount
440.17 of money that the applicant is seeking, and a proposed budget describing how the applicant
440.18 will spend the grant money.

440.19 (b) The advisory committee may award grants to applicants only for projects that meet
440.20 the requirements of subdivision 4.

440.21 Subd. 4. Use of grant money. Projects funded by grant money must have person-centered
440.22 goals, call attention to issues that limit inclusion of persons with intellectual and

440.23 developmental disabilities, address barriers to inclusion that persons with intellectual and
440.24 developmental disabilities face in their communities, or increase the inclusion of persons
440.25 with intellectual and developmental disabilities in their communities. Applicants may

440.26 propose strategies to increase inclusion of persons with intellectual and developmental

440.27 disabilities in their communities by:

440.28 (1) decreasing barriers to workforce participation experienced by persons with intellectual
440.29 and developmental disabilities;

440.30 (2) overcoming barriers to accessible and reliable transportation options for persons with
440.31 intellectual and developmental disabilities;

440.32 (3) identifying and addressing barriers to voting experienced by persons with intellectual
440.33 and developmental disabilities;

441.1 (4) advocating for increased accessible housing for persons with intellectual and
441.2  developmental disabilities;

4413 (5) working with governmental agencies or businesses on accessibility issues under the
441.4  Americans with Disabilities Act;

441.5 (6) increasing collaboration between self-advocacy groups and other organizations to
441.6  effectively address systemic issues that impact persons with intellectual and developmental
441.7 disabilities;
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441.8 (7) increasing capacity for inclusion in a community; or
4419 (8) providing public education and awareness of the civil and human rights of persons

441.10 with intellectual and developmental disabilities.

441.11 Subd. 5. Reports. (a) Grant recipients shall provide the advisory committee with a report
441.12 about the activities funded by the grant program in a format and at a time specified by the
441.13 advisory committee. The advisory committee shall require grant recipients to include in the
441.14 grant recipient's report at least the information necessary for the advisory committee to meet
441.15 the advisory committee's obligation under paragraph (b).

441.16 (b) The advisory committee shall provide the commissioner with a report that describes
441.17 all of the activities and outcomes of projects funded by the grant program in a format and
441.18 at a time determined by the commissioner.

441.19  Sec. 7. [256.4776] PARENT-TO-PARENT PEER SUPPORT.

441.20 (a) The commissioner shall make a grant to an alliance member of Parent to Parent USA
441.21 to support the alliance member's parent-to-parent peer support program for families of

441.22 children with any type of disability or special health care needs. An eligible alliance member
441.23 must have an established parent-to-parent peer support program that is statewide and

441.24 represents diverse cultures and geographic locations, that conducts outreach and provides
441.25 individualized support to any parent or guardian of a child with a disability or special health
441.26 care need, including newly identified parents of such a child or parents experiencing

441.27 transitions or changes in their child's care, and that implements best practices for peer-to-peer
441.28 support, including providing support from trained parent staff and volunteer support parents
441.29 who have received Parent to Parent USA's specialized parent-to-parent peer support training.

441.30 (b) Grant recipients must use grant money for the purposes specified in paragraph (a).

442.1 (c) For purposes of this section, "special health care needs" means disabilities, chronic
4422 illnesses or conditions, health-related educational or behavioral problems, or the risk of
4423 developing disabilities, conditions, illnesses, or problems.

442 .4 (d) Grant recipients must report to the commissioner of human services annually by

442.5 January 15 about the services and programs funded by this grant. The report must include
442.6 measurable outcomes from the previous year, including the number of families served by
442.7  the organization's parent-to-parent programs and the number of volunteer support parents
442.8 trained by the organization's parent-to-parent programs.

517.26  Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256.9741, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

517.27 Subdivision 1. Long-term care facility. "Long-term care facility" means a nursing home
517.28 licensed under sections 144A.02 to 144A.10; a boarding care home licensed under sections
517.29 144.50 to 144.56; an assisted living facility or an assisted living facility with dementia care
517.30 licensed under chapter 144G; et a licensed or registered residential setting that provides or
517.31 arranges for the provision of home care services; or a setting defined under section 144G.08,
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517.32 subdivision 7, clauses (10) to (13), that provides or arranges for the provision of home care
517.33 services.

517.34 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.

4429 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.0653, is amended by adding a subdivision
442.10 to read:

442.11 Subd. 8. Payment rates for home health agency services. The commissioner shall
442.12 annually adjust payments for home health agency services to reflect the change in the federal
442.13 Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services Home Health Agency Market Basket. The
442.14 commissioner shall use the indices as forecasted for the midpoint of the prior rate year to
442.15 the midpoint of the current rate year.

442.16 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021, or upon federal approval,
442.17 whichever occurs later, for services delivered on or after January 1, 2022. The commissioner
442.18 of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.

442.19  Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.0654, is amended by adding a subdivision
442.20 to read:

442.21 Subd. 5. Payment rates for home care nursing services. The commissioner shall
44222 annually adjust payments for home care nursing services to reflect the change in the federal
442.23 Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services Home Health Agency Market Basket. The
442.24 commissioner shall use the indices as forecasted for the midpoint of the prior rate year to
442.25 the midpoint of the current rate year.

442.26 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021, or upon federal approval,
442.27 whichever occurs later, for services delivered on or after January 1, 2022. The commissioner
44228 of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.

44229  Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.0659, subdivision 11, is amended to read:

442.30 Subd. 11. Personal care assistant; requirements. (a) A personal care assistant must
442.31 meet the following requirements:

443.1 (1) be at least 18 years of age with the exception of persons who are 16 or 17 years of
4432 age with these additional requirements:

4433 (i) supervision by a qualified professional every 60 days; and

443 .4 (ii) employment by only one personal care assistance provider agency responsible for
443.5 compliance with current labor laws;

443.6 (2) be employed by a personal care assistance provider agency;

443.7 (3) enroll with the department as a personal care assistant after clearing a background

443.8  study. Except as provided in subdivision 11a, before a personal care assistant provides
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services, the personal care assistance provider agency must initiate a background study on
the personal care assistant under chapter 245C, and the personal care assistance provider
agency must have received a notice from the commissioner that the personal care assistant
is:

(i) not disqualified under section 245C.14; or

(ii) disqualified, but the personal care assistant has received a set aside of the
disqualification under section 245C.22;

(4) be able to effectively communicate with the recipient and personal care assistance
provider agency;

(5) be able to provide covered personal care assistance services according to the recipient's
personal care assistance care plan, respond appropriately to recipient needs, and report
changes in the recipient's condition to the supervising qualified professional, physician, or
advanced practice registered nurse;

(6) not be a consumer of personal care assistance services;

(7) maintain daily written records including, but not limited to, time sheets under
subdivision 12;

(8) effective January 1, 2010, complete standardized training as determined by the
commissioner before completing enrollment. The training must be available in languages
other than English and to those who need accommodations due to disabilities. Personal care
assistant training must include successful completion of the following training components:
basic first aid, vulnerable adult, child maltreatment, OSHA universal precautions, basic
roles and responsibilities of personal care assistants including information about assistance
with lifting and transfers for recipients, emergency preparedness, orientation to positive
behavioral practices, fraud issues, and completion of time sheets. Upon completion of the
training components, the personal care assistant must demonstrate the competency to provide
assistance to recipients;

(9) complete training and orientation on the needs of the recipient; and

(10) be limited to providing and being paid for up to 310 hours per month of personal
care assistance services regardless of the number of recipients being served or the number
of personal care assistance provider agencies enrolled with. The number of hours worked
per day shall not be disallowed by the department unless in violation of the law.

(b) A legal guardian may be a personal care assistant if the guardian is not being paid
for the guardian services and meets the criteria for personal care assistants in paragraph (a).

(c) Persons who do not qualify as a personal care assistant include parents, stepparents,
and legal guardians of minors; spouses; paid legal guardians of adults; family foster care
providers, except as otherwise allowed in section 256B.0625, subdivision 19a; and staff of
a residential setting.
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Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.0659, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 11b. Personal care assistants; notice of change of employment required. Within
six months of ceasing employment as a personal care assistant with any personal care
assistance provider agency, the personal care assistant must notify the commissioner on a
form prescribed by the commissioner that the personal care assistant is no longer providing
personal care assistance services on behalf of a personal care assistance provider agency
with whom the personal care assistant was previously affiliated.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.0659, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 14a. Documentation of qualified professional services provided. Qualified
professional services for a recipient must be documented in a manner determined by the
commissioner and must include the qualified professional's full name and individual provider
number.
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(d) Personal care assistance services qualify for the enhanced rate described in subdivision
17a if the personal care assistant providing the services:

(1) provides covered services to a recipient who qualifies for +2 ten or more hours per
day of personal care assistance services; and

(2) satisfies the current requirements of Medicare for training and competency or
competency evaluation of home health aides or nursing assistants, as provided in the Code
of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 483.151 or 484.36, or alternative state-approved
training or competency requirements.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021, or upon federal approval,
whichever occurs later. The commissioner shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal
approval is obtained.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.0659, subdivision 17a, is amended to
read:

Subd. 17a. Enhanced rate. An enhanced rate of 107.5 percent of the rate paid for
personal care assistance services shall be paid for services provided to persons who qualify
for 42 ten or more hours of personal care assistance services per day when provided by a
personal care assistant who meets the requirements of subdivision 11, paragraph (d). The
enhanced rate for personal care assistance services includes, and is not in addition to, any
rate adjustments implemented by the commissioner on July 1, 2019, to comply with the
terms of a collective bargaining agreement between the state of Minnesota and an exclusive
representative of individual providers under section 179A.54, that provides for wage increases
for individual providers who serve participants assessed to need 12 or more hours of personal
care assistance services per day.
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Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.0659, subdivision 21, is amended to read:

Subd. 21. Requirements for provider enrollment of personal care assistance provider
agencies. (a) All personal care as51stance prov1der agenc1es must pr0V1de at the time of

a—feﬁﬁat—detefmmed—by—theeemﬁﬁsswﬂef asa personal care as51stance pr0V1der agency,

including at reenrollment or revalidation, information and documentation thatinehudes;.
The information and documentation must be in a format determined by the commissioner
and include but 18 not be limited tos-the-foHowing:

(1) the personal care assistance provider agency's current contact information including
address, telephone number, and e-mail address;

(2) proof of surety bond coverage for each business location providing services. Upon
new enrollment, or if the provider's Medicaid revenue in the previous calendar year is up
to and including $300,000, the provider agency must purchase a surety bond of $50,000. If
the Medicaid revenue in the previous year is over $300,000, the provider agency must
purchase a surety bond of $100,000. The surety bond must be in a form approved by the
commissioner, must be renewed annually, and must allow for recovery of costs and fees in
pursuing a claim on the bond;

(3) proof of fidelity bond coverage in the amount of $20,000 for each business location
providing service;

(4) proof of workers' compensation insurance coverage identifying the business location
where personal care assistance services are provided;

(5) proof of liability insurance coverage identifying the business location where personal
care assistance services are provided and naming the department as a certificate holder;

(6) a copy of the personal care assistance provider agency's written policies and
procedures including: hiring of employees; training requirements; service delivery;
identification, prevention, detection, and reporting of fraud or any billing, record-keeping,
or other administrative noncompliance; and employee and consumer safety including process
for notification and resolution of consumer grievances, identification and prevention of
communicable diseases, and employee misconduct;

(7) copies of all other forms the personal care assistance provider agency uses in the
course of daily business including, but not limited to:

(i) a copy of the personal care assistance provider agency's time sheet if the time sheet
varies from the standard time sheet for personal care assistance services approved by the
commissioner, and a letter requesting approval of the personal care assistance provider
agency's nonstandard time sheet;

PAGE R14

Senate Language UEH2128-1

4455 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021, or upon federal approval,
445.6  whichever occurs later. The commissioner shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal
445.7 approval is obtained.
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(ii) the personal care assistance provider agency's template for the personal care assistance
care plan; and

(iii) the personal care assistance provider agency's template for the written agreement
in subdivision 20 for recipients using the personal care assistance choice option, if applicable;

(8) a list of all training and classes that the personal care assistance provider agency
requires of its staff providing personal care assistance services;

(9) documentation that the personal care assistance provider agency and staff have
successfully completed all the training required by this section, including the requirements
under subdivision 11, paragraph (d), if enhanced personal care assistance services are
provided and submitted for an enhanced rate under subdivision 17a;

(10) documentation of the agency's marketing practices;

(11) disclosure of ownership, leasing, or management of all residential properties that
is used or could be used for providing home care services;

(12) documentation that the agency will use the following percentages of revenue
generated from the medical assistance rate paid for personal care assistance services for
employee personal care assistant wages and benefits: 72.5 percent of revenue in the personal
care assistance choice option and 72.5 percent of revenue from other personal care assistance
providers. The revenue generated by the qualified professional and the reasonable costs
associated with the qualified professional shall not be used in making this calculation; and

(13) effeetive May15;2640; documentation that the agency does not burden recipients'
free exercise of their right to choose service providers by requiring personal care assistants

to sign an agreement not to work with any particular personal care assistance recipient or
for another personal care assistance provider agency after leaving the agency and that the
agency is not taking action on any such agreements or requirements regardless of the date
signeds;

(14) a copy of the personal care assistance provider agency's self-auditing policy and
other materials demonstrating the personal care assistance provider agency's internal program
integrity procedures;

(15) a copy of the personal care assistance provider agency's policy for notifying its
qualified professionals of the qualified professional's obligation to notify the commissioner
within 30 days that a qualified professional is no longer employed by the agency; and

(16) a copy of the personal care assistance provider agency's policy for notifying the
commissioner within six months that a personal care assistant is no longer employed by the

agency.

(b) All personal care assistance provider agencies must provide annually to the
commissioner the information described in paragraph (a), clauses (2) to (5).
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tb) (c) Personal care assistance provider agencies shall provide the information specified
in paragraph (a) to the commissioner at the time the personal care assistance provider agency
enrolls asa Vendor or upon request from the commissioner. CPhe-eeﬁrrmﬁsreﬂe%sh-a-l-l-eel-}eet

te) (d) All personal care assistance provider agencies shall require all employees in
management and supervisory positions and owners of the agency who are active in the
day-to-day management and operations of the agency to complete mandatory training as
determined by the commissioner before submitting an application for enrollment of the
agency as a provider. The mandatory training, or any substantially similar refresher training
developed by the commissioner, must be completed every two years thereafter. All personal
care assistance provider agencies shall also require qualified professionals to complete the
training required by subdivision 13 before submitting an application for enrollment of the
agency as a provider. Employees in management and supervisory positions and owners who
are active in the day-to-day operations of an agency who have completed the required
training as an employee with a personal care assistance provider agency do not need to
repeat the required training if they are hired by another agency, if they have completed the
training within the past three two years. By-September12040; The required training must
be available with meaningful access according to title VI of the Civil Rights Act and federal
regulations adopted under that law or any guidance from the United States Health and
Human Services Department. The required training must be available online or by electronic
remote connection. The required training must provide for competency testing. Personal
care assistance provider agency billing staff shall complete training about personal care

assistance program ﬁnancral management flihis—tr&mmg—rs—eﬁfeetwe—}tﬂy—l—’}(-)OMny

W 609- Any new owners or
employees in management and supervisory positions 1nvolved in the day-to-day operations
are required to complete mandatory training as a requisite of working for the agency. Personal
care assistance provider agencies certified for participation in Medicare as home health
agencies are exempt from the training required in this subdivision. When available,
Medicare-certified home health agency owners, supervisors, or managers must successfully
complete the competency test.

& (e) All surety bonds, fidelity bonds, workers' compensation insurance, and liability
insurance required by this subdivision must be maintained continuously. After initial
enrollment, a provider must submit proof of bonds and required coverages at any time at
the request of the commissioner. Services provided while there are lapses in coverage are
not eligible for payment. Lapses in coverage may result in sanctions, including termination.
The commissioner shall send instructions and a due date to submit the requested information
to the personal care assistance provider agency.

(f) Personal care assistance provider agencies enrolling for the first time must also
provide, at the time of enrollment as a personal care assistance provider agency in a format
determined by the commissioner, information and documentation. The information and
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documentation must include proof of sufficient initial operating capital to support the
infrastructure necessary to allow for ongoing compliance with the requirements of this
section. Sufficient operating capital may be demonstrated as follows:

(1) copies of business bank account statements showing at least $5,000 in cash reserves;

(2) proof of a cash reserve or business line of credit sufficient to equal two payrolls of
the agency's current or projected business; or

(3) any other manner prescribed by the commissioner.

(g) At the time of revalidation as a personal care assistance provider agency, all personal
care assistance provider agencies must provide information and documentation in a format
determined by the commissioner that includes but is not limited to the following:

(1) documentation of the payroll paid for the preceding 12 months or other time period
as prescribed by the commissioner; and

(2) financial statements demonstrating compliance with the use of revenue requirements
of paragraph (a), clause (12).

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.0659, subdivision 24, is amended to read:

Subd. 24. Personal care assistance provider agency; general duties. A personal care
assistance provider agency shall:

(1) enroll as a Medicaid provider meeting all provider standards, including completion
of the required provider training;

(2) comply with general medical assistance coverage requirements;

(3) demonstrate compliance with law and policies of the personal care assistance program
to be determined by the commissioner;

(4) comply with background study requirements;

(5) verify and keep records of hours worked by the personal care assistant and qualified
professional;

(6) not engage in any agency-initiated direct contact or marketing in person, by phone,
or other electronic means to potential recipients, guardians, or family members;

(7) pay the personal care assistant and qualified professional based on actual hours of
services provided;

(8) withhold and pay all applicable federal and state taxes;

(9) document that the agency uses a minimum of 72.5 percent of the revenue generated
by the medical assistance rate for personal care assistance services for employee personal
care assistant wages and benefits. The revenue generated by the qualified professional and
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the reasonable costs associated with the qualified professional shall not be used in making
this calculation;

(10) make the arrangements and pay unemployment insurance, taxes, workers'
compensation, liability insurance, and other benefits, if any;

(11) enter into a written agreement under subdivision 20 before services are provided;

(12) report suspected neglect and abuse to the common entry point according to section
256B.0651;

(13) provide the recipient with a copy of the home care bill of rights at start of service;

(14) request reassessments at least 60 days prior to the end of the current authorization
for personal care assistance services, on forms provided by the commissioner;

(15) comply with the labor market reporting requirements described in section 256B.4912,
subdivision la; and

(16) document that the agency uses the additional revenue due to the enhanced rate under
subdivision 17a for the wages and benefits of the PEAs personal care assistants whose
services meet the requirements under subdivision 11, paragraph (d)-;

(17) notify the commissioner on a form prescribed by the commissioner within 30 days
following the date upon which a qualified professional is no longer employed by or otherwise
affiliated with the personal care assistance provider agency for whom the qualified
professional previously provided qualified professional services; and

(18) notify the commissioner on a form prescribed by the commissioner within six
months following the date upon which a personal care assistant is no longer employed by
or otherwise affiliated with the personal care assistance provider agency for whom the
personal care assistant previously provided personal care assistance services.

PAGE R18

445.8
445.9

445.10
445.11

445.12
445.13

445.14
445.15

445.16
445.17

Senate Language UEH2128-1

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.0911, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:
Subd. la. Definitions. For purposes of this section, the following definitions apply:

(a) Until additional requirements apply under paragraph (b), "long-term care consultation
services" means:

(1) intake for and access to assistance in identifying services needed to maintain an
individual in the most inclusive environment;

(2) providing recommendations for and referrals to cost-effective community services
that are available to the individual;

(3) development of an individual's person-centered community support plan;

(4) providing information regarding eligibility for Minnesota health care programs;
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(5) face-to-face long-term care consultation assessments, which may be completed in a
hospital, nursing facility, intermediate care facility for persons with developmental disabilities
(ICF/DDs), regional treatment centers, or the person's current or planned residence;

(6) determination of home and community-based waiver and other service eligibility as
required under chapter 256S and sections 256B.0913, 256B.092, and 256B.49, including
level of care determination for individuals who need an institutional level of care as
determined under subdivision 4e, based on a long-term care consultation assessment and
community support plan development, appropriate referrals to obtain necessary diagnostic
information, and including an eligibility determination for consumer-directed community
supports;

(7) providing recommendations for institutional placement when there are no
cost-effective community services available;

(8) providing access to assistance to transition people back to community settings after
institutional admission;

(9) providing information about competitive employment, with or without supports, for
school-age youth and working-age adults and referrals to the Disability Hub and Disability
Benefits 101 to ensure that an informed choice about competitive employment can be made.
For the purposes of this subdivision, "competitive employment" means work in the
competitive labor market that is performed on a full-time or part-time basis in an integrated
setting, and for which an individual is compensated at or above the minimum wage, but not
less than the customary wage and level of benefits paid by the employer for the same or
similar work performed by individuals without disabilities;

(10) providing information about independent living to ensure that an informed choice
about independent living can be made; and

(11) providing information about self-directed services and supports, including
self-directed funding options, to ensure that an informed choice about self-directed options
can be made.

(b) Upon statewide implementation of lead agency requirements in subdivisions 2b, 2c,
and 3a, "long-term care consultation services" also means:

(1) service eligibility determination for the following state plan services:

(i) personal care assistance services under section 256B.0625, subdivisions 19a and 19c;
(ii) consumer support grants under section 256.476; or

(iii) community first services and supports under section 256B.85;

(2) notwithstanding provisions in Minnesota Rules, parts 9525.0004 to 9525.0024,
gaining access to:
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(i) relocation targeted case management services available under section 256B.0621,
subdivision 2, clause (4);

(ii) case management services targeted to vulnerable adults or developmental disabilities
under section 256B.0924; and

(iii) case management services targeted to people with developmental disabilities under
Minnesota Rules, part 9525.0016;

(3) determination of eligibility for semi-independent living services under section
252.275; and

(4) obtaining necessary diagnostic information to determine eligibility under clauses (2)
and (3).

(c) "Long-term care options counseling" means the services provided by sections 256.01,
subdivision 24, and 256.975, subdivision 7, and also includes telephone assistance and
follow up once a long-term care consultation assessment has been completed.

(d) "Minnesota health care programs" means the medical assistance program under this
chapter and the alternative care program under section 256B.0913.

(e) "Lead agencies" means counties administering or tribes and health plans under
contract with the commissioner to administer long-term care consultation services.

(f) "Person-centered planning" is a process that includes the active participation of a
person in the planning of the person's services, including in making meaningful and informed
choices about the person's own goals, talents, and objectives, as well as making meaningful
and informed choices about the services the person receives, the settings in which the person
receives the services, and the setting in which the person lives.

(g) "Informed choice"
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(h) "Available service and setting options" or "available options," with respect to the
home and community-based waivers under chapter 256S and sections 256B.092 and 256B.49,
means all services and settings defined under the waiver plan for which a waiver applicant
or waiver participant is eligible.

(i) "Independent living" means living in a setting that is not controlled by a provider.
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Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.0911, subdivision 3a, is amended to read:

Subd. 3a. Assessment and support planning. (a) Persons requesting assessment, services
planning, or other assistance intended to support community-based living, including persons
who need assessment in order to determine waiver or alternative care program eligibility,
must be visited by a long-term care consultation team within 20 calendar days after the date
on which an assessment was requested or recommended. Upon statewide implementation
of subdivisions 2b, 2¢, and 5, this requirement also applies to an assessment of a person
requesting personal care assistance services. The commissioner shall provide at least a
90-day notice to lead agencies prior to the effective date of this requirement. Face-to-face
assessments must be conducted according to paragraphs (b) to (i).

(b) Upon implementation of subdivisions 2b, 2c, and 5, lead agencies shall use certified
assessors to conduct the assessment. For a person with complex health care needs, a public
health or registered nurse from the team must be consulted.

(c) The MnCHOICES assessment provided by the commissioner to lead agencies must
be used to complete a comprehensive, conversation-based, person-centered assessment.
The assessment must include the health, psychological, functional, environmental, and
social needs of the individual necessary to develop a person-centered community support
plan that meets the individual's needs and preferences.

(d) The assessment must be conducted by a certified assessor in a face-to-face
conversational interview with the person being assessed. The person's legal representative
must provide input during the assessment process and may do so remotely if requested. At
the request of the person, other individuals may participate in the assessment to provide
information on the needs, strengths, and preferences of the person necessary to develop a
community support plan that ensures the person's health and safety. Except for legal
representatives or family members invited by the person, persons participating in the
assessment may not be a provider of service or have any financial interest in the provision
of services. For persons who are to be assessed for elderly waiver customized living or adult
day services under chapter 256S, with the permission of the person being assessed or the
person's designated or legal representative, the client's current or proposed provider of
services may submit a copy of the provider's nursing assessment or written report outlining
its recommendations regarding the client's care needs. The person conducting the assessment
must notify the provider of the date by which this information is to be submitted. This
information shall be provided to the person conducting the assessment prior to the assessment.
For a person who is to be assessed for waiver services under section 256B.092 or 256B.49,
with the permission of the person being assessed or the person's designated legal
representative, the person's current provider of services may submit a written report outlining
recommendations regarding the person's care needs the person completed in consultation
with someone who is known to the person and has interaction with the person on a regular
basis. The provider must submit the report at least 60 days before the end of the person's
current service agreement. The certified assessor must consider the content of the submitted
report prior to finalizing the person's assessment or reassessment.
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Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.0911, subdivision 3a, is amended to read:

Subd. 3a. Assessment and support planning. (a) Persons requesting assessment, services
planning, or other assistance intended to support community-based living, including persons
who need assessment in order to determine waiver or alternative care program eligibility,
must be visited by a long-term care consultation team within 20 calendar days after the date
on which an assessment was requested or recommended. Upon statewide implementation
of subdivisions 2b, 2¢, and 5, this requirement also applies to an assessment of a person
requesting personal care assistance services. The commissioner shall provide at least a
90-day notice to lead agencies prior to the effective date of this requirement. Face-to-face
assessments must be conducted according to paragraphs (b) to (i).

(b) Upon implementation of subdivisions 2b, 2c, and 5, lead agencies shall use certified
assessors to conduct the assessment. For a person with complex health care needs, a public
health or registered nurse from the team must be consulted.

(c) The MnCHOICES assessment provided by the commissioner to lead agencies must
be used to complete a comprehensive, conversation-based, person-centered assessment.
The assessment must include the health, psychological, functional, environmental, and
social needs of the individual necessary to develop a person-centered community support
plan that meets the individual's needs and preferences.

(d) The assessment must be conducted by a certified assessor in a face-to-face
conversational interview with the person being assessed. The person's legal representative
must provide input during the assessment process and may do so remotely if requested. At
the request of the person, other individuals may participate in the assessment to provide
information on the needs, strengths, and preferences of the person necessary to develop a
community support plan that ensures the person's health and safety. Except for legal
representatives or family members invited by the person, persons participating in the
assessment may not be a provider of service or have any financial interest in the provision
of services. For persons who are to be assessed for elderly waiver customized living or adult
day services under chapter 256S, with the permission of the person being assessed or the
person's designated or legal representative, the client's current or proposed provider of
services may submit a copy of the provider's nursing assessment or written report outlining
its recommendations regarding the client's care needs. The person conducting the assessment
must notify the provider of the date by which this information is to be submitted. This
information shall be provided to the person conducting the assessment prior to the assessment.
For a person who is to be assessed for waiver services under section 256B.092 or 256B.49,
with the permission of the person being assessed or the person's designated legal
representative, the person's current provider of services may submit a written report outlining
recommendations regarding the person's care needs the person completed in consultation
with someone who is known to the person and has interaction with the person on a regular
basis. The provider must submit the report at least 60 days before the end of the person's
current service agreement. The certified assessor must consider the content of the submitted
report prior to finalizing the person's assessment or reassessment.
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(e) The certified assessor and the individual responsible for developing the coordinated
service and support plan must complete the community support plan and the coordinated
service and support plan no more than 60 calendar days from the assessment visit. The
person or the person's legal representative must be provided with a written community
support plan within the timelines established by the commissioner, regardless of whether
the person is eligible for Minnesota health care programs.

(f) For a person being assessed for elderly waiver services under chapter 256S, a provider
who submitted information under paragraph (d) shall receive the final written community
support plan when available and the Residential Services Workbook.

(g) The written community support plan must include:

(1) a summary of assessed needs as defined in paragraphs (c) and (d);

(2) the individual's options and choices to meet identified needs, including:
(i) all available options for case management services and providers;

(ii) all available options for employment services, settings, and providers;
(iii) all available options for living arrangements;

(iv) all available options for self-directed services and supports, including self-directed
budget options; and

(v) service provided in a non-disability-specific setting;

(3) identification of health and safety risks and how those risks will be addressed,
including personal risk management strategies;

(4) referral information; and
(5) informal caregiver supports, if applicable.

For a person determined eligible for state plan home care under subdivision 1a, paragraph
(b), clause (1), the person or person's representative must also receive a copy of the home
care service plan developed by the certified assessor.

(h) A person may request assistance in identifying community supports without
participating in a complete assessment. Upon a request for assistance identifying community
support, the person must be transferred or referred to long-term care options counseling
services available under sections 256.975, subdivision 7, and 256.01, subdivision 24, for
telephone assistance and follow up.

(i) The person has the right to make the final decision:

(1) between institutional placement and community placement after the recommendations
have been provided, except as provided in section 256.975, subdivision 7a, paragraph (d);
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(e) The certified assessor and the individual responsible for developing the coordinated
service and support plan must complete the community support plan and the coordinated
service and support plan no more than 60 calendar days from the assessment visit. The
person or the person's legal representative must be provided with a written community
support plan within the timelines established by the commissioner, regardless of whether
the person is eligible for Minnesota health care programs.

(f) For a person being assessed for elderly waiver services under chapter 256S, a provider
who submitted information under paragraph (d) shall receive the final written community
support plan when available and the Residential Services Workbook.

(g) The written community support plan must include:

(1) a summary of assessed needs as defined in paragraphs (c) and (d);

(2) the individual's options and choices to meet identified needs, including:
(i) all available options for case management services and providers;

(ii) all available options for employment services, settings, and providers;
(iii) all available options for living arrangements;

(iv) all available options for self-directed services and supports, including self-directed
budget options; and

(v) service provided in a non-disability-specific setting;

(3) identification of health and safety risks and how those risks will be addressed,
including personal risk management strategies;

(4) referral information; and
(5) informal caregiver supports, if applicable.

For a person determined eligible for state plan home care under subdivision 1a, paragraph
(b), clause (1), the person or person's representative must also receive a copy of the home
care service plan developed by the certified assessor.

(h) A person may request assistance in identifying community supports without
participating in a complete assessment. Upon a request for assistance identifying community
support, the person must be transferred or referred to long-term care options counseling
services available under sections 256.975, subdivision 7, and 256.01, subdivision 24, for
telephone assistance and follow up.

(i) The person has the right to make the final decision:

(1) between institutional placement and community placement after the recommendations
have been provided, except as provided in section 256.975, subdivision 7a, paragraph (d);
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(2) between community placement in a setting controlled by a provider and living
independently in a setting not controlled by a provider;

(3) between day services and employment services; and

(4) regarding available options for self-directed services and supports, including
self-directed funding options.

(j) The lead agency must give the person receiving long-term care consultation services
or the person's legal representative, materials, and forms supplied by the commissioner
containing the following information:

(1) written recommendations for community-based services and consumer-directed
options;

(2) documentation that the most cost-effective alternatives available were offered to the
individual. For purposes of this clause, "cost-effective" means community services and
living arrangements that cost the same as or less than institutional care. For an individual
found to meet eligibility criteria for home and community-based service programs under
chapter 2568 or section 256B.49, "cost-effectiveness" has the meaning found in the federally
approved waiver plan for each program;

(3) the need for and purpose of preadmission screening conducted by long-term care
options counselors according to section 256.975, subdivisions 7a to 7c, if the person selects
nursing facility placement. If the individual selects nursing facility placement, the lead
agency shall forward information needed to complete the level of care determinations and
screening for developmental disability and mental illness collected during the assessment
to the long-term care options counselor using forms provided by the commissioner;

(4) the role of long-term care consultation assessment and support planning in eligibility
determination for waiver and alternative care programs, and state plan home care, case
management, and other services as defined in subdivision 1a, paragraphs (a), clause (6),
and (b);

(5) information about Minnesota health care programs;
(6) the person's freedom to accept or reject the recommendations of the team;

(7) the person's right to confidentiality under the Minnesota Government Data Practices
Act, chapter 13;

(8) the certified assessor's decision regarding the person's need for institutional level of
care as determined under criteria established in subdivision 4¢ and the certified assessor's
decision regarding eligibility for all services and programs as defined in subdivision 1a,
paragraphs (a), clause (6), and (b);

(9) the person's right to appeal the certified assessor's decision regarding eligibility for
all services and programs as defined in subdivision 1a, paragraphs (a), clauses (6), (7), and

PAGE R23

450.1
450.2

450.3

450.4
450.5

450.6
450.7
450.8

450.9
450.10

450.11
450.12
450.13
450.14
450.15
450.16

450.17
450.18
450.19
450.20
450.21
450.22

450.23
450.24
450.25
450.26

450.27
450.28

450.29
450.30

450.31
450.32
451.1
451.2

451.3
451.4

Senate Language UEH2128-1

(2) between community placement in a setting controlled by a provider and living
independently in a setting not controlled by a provider;

(3) between day services and employment services; and

(4) regarding available options for self-directed services and supports, including
self-directed funding options.

(j) The lead agency must give the person receiving long-term care consultation services
or the person's legal representative, materials, and forms supplied by the commissioner
containing the following information:

(1) written recommendations for community-based services and consumer-directed
options;

(2) documentation that the most cost-effective alternatives available were offered to the
individual. For purposes of this clause, "cost-effective" means community services and
living arrangements that cost the same as or less than institutional care. For an individual
found to meet eligibility criteria for home and community-based service programs under
chapter 2568 or section 256B.49, "cost-effectiveness" has the meaning found in the federally
approved waiver plan for each program;

(3) the need for and purpose of preadmission screening conducted by long-term care
options counselors according to section 256.975, subdivisions 7a to 7c, if the person selects
nursing facility placement. If the individual selects nursing facility placement, the lead
agency shall forward information needed to complete the level of care determinations and
screening for developmental disability and mental illness collected during the assessment
to the long-term care options counselor using forms provided by the commissioner;

(4) the role of long-term care consultation assessment and support planning in eligibility
determination for waiver and alternative care programs, and state plan home care, case
management, and other services as defined in subdivision 1a, paragraphs (a), clause (6),
and (b);

(5) information about Minnesota health care programs;
(6) the person's freedom to accept or reject the recommendations of the team;

(7) the person's right to confidentiality under the Minnesota Government Data Practices
Act, chapter 13;

(8) the certified assessor's decision regarding the person's need for institutional level of
care as determined under criteria established in subdivision 4¢ and the certified assessor's
decision regarding eligibility for all services and programs as defined in subdivision 1a,
paragraphs (a), clause (6), and (b);

(9) the person's right to appeal the certified assessor's decision regarding eligibility for
all services and programs as defined in subdivision 1a, paragraphs (a), clauses (6), (7), and
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(8), and (b), and incorporating the decision regarding the need for institutional level of care
or the lead agency's final decisions regarding public programs eligibility according to section
256.045, subdivision 3. The certified assessor must verbally communicate this appeal right
to the person and must visually point out where in the document the right to appeal is stated;
and

(10) documentation that available options for employment services, independent living,
and self-directed services and supports were described to the individual.

(k) Face-to-face assessment completed as part of an eligibility determination for multiple
programs for the alternative care, elderly waiver, developmental disabilities, community
access for disability inclusion, community alternative care, and brain injury waiver programs
under chapter 256S and sections 256B.0913, 256B.092, and 256B.49 is valid to establish
service eligibility for no more than 60 calendar days after the date of assessment.

(1) The effective eligibility start date for programs in paragraph (k) can never be prior
to the date of assessment. If an assessment was completed more than 60 days before the
effective waiver or alternative care program eligibility start date, assessment and support
plan information must be updated and documented in the department's Medicaid Management
Information System (MMIS). Notwithstanding retroactive medical assistance coverage of
state plan services, the effective date of eligibility for programs included in paragraph (k)
cannot be prior to the date the most recent updated assessment is completed.

(m) If an eligibility update is completed within 90 days of the previous face-to-face
assessment and documented in the department's Medicaid Management Information System
(MMIS), the effective date of eligibility for programs included in paragraph (k) is the date
of the previous face-to-face assessment when all other eligibility requirements are met.

(n) If a person who receives home- and community-based waiver services under section
256B.0913, 256B.092, or 256B.49, or chapter 256S, temporarily enters for 121 days or less
a hospital, institution of mental disease, nursing facility, intensive residential treatment
services program, transitional care unit, or inpatient substance use disorder treatment setting,
the person may return to the community with home- and community-based waiver services
under the same waiver, without requiring an assessment or reassessment under this section,
unless the person's annual reassessment is otherwise due. Nothing in this section shall change
annual long-term care consultation reassessment requirements, payment for institutional or
treatment services, medical assistance financial eligibility, or any other law.

) (0) At the time of reassessment, the certified assessor shall assess each person
receiving waiver residential supports and services currently residing in a community
residential setting, licensed adult foster care home that is either not the primary residence
of the license holder or in which the license holder is not the primary caregiver, family adult
foster care residence, customized living setting, or supervised living facility to determine
if that person would prefer to be served in a community-living setting as defined in section
256B.49, subdivision 23, in a setting not controlled by a provider, or to receive integrated
community supports as described in section 245D.03, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), clause
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451.5 (8), and (b), and incorporating the decision regarding the need for institutional level of care
451.6  or the lead agency's final decisions regarding public programs eligibility according to section
451.7 256.045, subdivision 3. The certified assessor must verbally communicate this appeal right
451.8 to the person and must visually point out where in the document the right to appeal is stated;
4519 and

451.10 (10) documentation that available options for employment services, independent living,

451.11 and self-directed services and supports were described to the individual.

451.12 (k) Face-to-face assessment completed as part of an eligibility determination for multiple
451.13 programs for the alternative care, elderly waiver, developmental disabilities, community
451.14 access for disability inclusion, community alternative care, and brain injury waiver programs
451.15 under chapter 256S and sections 256B.0913, 256B.092, and 256B.49 is valid to establish
451.16 service eligibility for no more than 60 calendar days after the date of assessment.

451.17 (1) The effective eligibility start date for programs in paragraph (k) can never be prior
451.18 to the date of assessment. If an assessment was completed more than 60 days before the
451.19 effective waiver or alternative care program eligibility start date, assessment and support
451.20 plan information must be updated and documented in the department's Medicaid Management
451.21 Information System (MMIS). Notwithstanding retroactive medical assistance coverage of
451.22 state plan services, the effective date of eligibility for programs included in paragraph (k)
451.23 cannot be prior to the date the most recent updated assessment is completed.

451.24 (m) If an eligibility update is completed within 90 days of the previous face-to-face
451.25 assessment and documented in the department's Medicaid Management Information System
451.26 (MMIS), the effective date of eligibility for programs included in paragraph (k) is the date
451.27 of the previous face-to-face assessment when all other eligibility requirements are met.

451.28 (n) If a person who receives home and community-based waiver services under section
451.29 256B.0913, 256B.092, or 256B.49 or chapter 2568 temporarily enters for 121 days or fewer
451.30 a hospital, institution of mental disease, nursing facility, intensive residential treatment
451.31 services program, transitional care unit, or inpatient substance use disorder treatment setting,
451.32 the person may return to the community with home and community-based waiver services
451.33 under the same waiver, without requiring an assessment or reassessment under this section,
451.34 unless the person's annual reassessment is otherwise due. Nothing in this paragraph shall

452.1 change annual long-term care consultation reassessment requirements, payment for

4522 institutional or treatment services, medical assistance financial eligibility, or any other law.
452.3 ) (0) At the time of reassessment, the certified assessor shall assess each person

452.4  receiving waiver residential supports and services currently residing in a community

452.5 residential setting, licensed adult foster care home that is either not the primary residence
452.6  of the license holder or in which the license holder is not the primary caregiver, family adult
452.7 foster care residence, customized living setting, or supervised living facility to determine
452.8 if that person would prefer to be served in a community-living setting as defined in section
452.9 256B.49, subdivision 23, in a setting not controlled by a provider, or to receive integrated

452.10 community supports as described in section 245D.03, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), clause
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(8). The certified assessor shall offer the person, through a person-centered planning process,
the option to receive alternative housing and service options.

o) (p) At the time of reassessment, the certified assessor shall assess each person
receiving waiver day services to determine if that person would prefer to receive employment
services as described in section 245D.03, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), clauses (5) to (7).

The certified assessor shall describe to the person through a person-centered planning process
the option to receive employment services.

) (q) At the time of reassessment, the certified assessor shall assess each person
receiving non-self-directed waiver services to determine if that person would prefer an
available service and setting option that would permit self-directed services and supports.
The certified assessor shall describe to the person through a person-centered planning process
the option to receive self-directed services and supports.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective upon federal approval. The commissioner
shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.
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(8). The certified assessor shall offer the person, through a person-centered planning process,
the option to receive alternative housing and service options.

o) (p) At the time of reassessment, the certified assessor shall assess each person
receiving waiver day services to determine if that person would prefer to receive employment
services as described in section 245D.03, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), clauses (5) to (7).

The certified assessor shall describe to the person through a person-centered planning process
the option to receive employment services.

tp) (q) At the time of reassessment, the certified assessor shall assess each person
receiving non-self-directed waiver services to determine if that person would prefer an
available service and setting option that would permit self-directed services and supports.
The certified assessor shall describe to the person through a person-centered planning process
the option to receive self-directed services and supports.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective upon federal approval. The commissioner
shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.0911, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
Subd 6. Payment for long-term care consultatlon services. @—Hmﬂ—September—Zv(-},

te) (a) Payments for long-term care consultation services are available to the-eounty-or
counties and Tribal nations that are lead agencies to cover staff salaries and expenses to
provide the services described in subdivision 1a. The county or Tribal nation shall employ,

or contract with other agencies to employ, wrt-hm—the—hmﬁs—ef—aﬂﬂﬁab-}e—&mdmg— sufficient
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personnel to provide long-term care consultation services while meeting the state's long-term
care outcomes and objectives as defined in subdivision 1. The county or Tribal nation shall
be accountable for meeting local objectives as approved by the commissioner in the biennial
home and community-based services quality assurance plan on a form provided by the
commissioner.

453.24 plan
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453.26 eot
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(b) No individual or family member shall be charged for an initial assessment or initial
support plan development provided under subdivision 3a or 3b.

) (c) The commissioner shall develop an alternative payment methodology, effective
on October 1, 2013, for long-term care consultation services that includes the funding
available under this subdivision, and for assessments authorized under sections 256B.092
and 256B.0659. In developing the new payment methodology, the commissioner shall
consider the maximization of other funding sources, including federal administrative
reimbursement through federal financial participation funding, for all long-term care
consultation activity. The alternative payment methodology shall include the use of the
appropriate time studies and the state financing of nonfederal share as part of the state's
medical assistance program. Between July 1, 2017, and June 30, 2019, the state shall pay
84.3 percent of the nonfederal share as reimbursement to the counties. Beginning July 1,
2019, the state shall pay 81.9 percent of the nonfederal share as reimbursement to the
counties.

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.0911, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 6b. Payment for long-term care consultation services; transition to tiered
rates. (a) Notwithstanding subdivision 6, paragraph (c), beginning July 1, 2021, for each
fiscal year through fiscal year 2025, the state shall pay to each county and Tribal nation as
reimbursement for services provided under this section a percentage of the nonfederal share
equal to the value of the county's or the Tribal nation's prorated share of the nonfederal
share paid to counties and Tribal nations as reimbursement for services provided under
subdivision 6, paragraph (c), during fiscal year 2019.

(b) Beginning October 1, 2022, each county or Tribal nation reimbursed under paragraph
(a) must submit to the commissioner by October 1 an annual report documenting the total
number of assessments performed under this section, the number of assessments by type of
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assessment, amount of time spent on each assessment, amount of time spent preparing for
each assessment, amount of time spent finalizing a community support plan following each
assessment, and amount of time an assessor spent on other assessment-related activities for
each assessment. In its annual report, each county and Tribal nation must distinguish between
services provided to people who were eligible for medical assistance at the time the services
were provided and services provided to those who were not.

(c) This subdivision expires July 1, 2025.

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.092, subdivision 1b, is amended to read:

Subd. 1b. Coordinated service and support plan. (a) Each recipient of home and
community-based waivered services shall be provided a copy of the written person-centered
coordinated service and support plan that:

(1) is developed with and signed by the recipient within the timelines established by the
commissioner and section 256B.0911, subdivision 3a, paragraph (e);

(2) includes the person's need for service, including identification of service needs that
will be or that are met by the person's relatives, friends, and others, as well as community
services used by the general public;

(3) reasonably ensures the health and welfare of the recipient;

(4) identifies the person's preferences for services as stated by the person, the person's
legal guardian or conservator, or the parent if the person is a minor, including the person's
choices made on self-directed options, services and supports to achieve employment goals,
and living arrangements;

(5) provides for an informed choice, as defined in section 256B.77, subdivision 2,
paragraph (o), of service and support providers, and identifies all available options for case
management services and providers;

(6) identifies long-range and short-range goals for the person;

(7) identifies specific services and the amount and frequency of the services to be provided
to the person based on assessed needs, preferences, and available resources. The
person-centered coordinated service and support plan shall also specify other services the
person needs that are not available and indicate in a clear and accessible manner the total
monetary resources available to meet the assessed needs and preferences of the individual;

(8) identifies the need for an individual program plan to be developed by the provider
according to the respective state and federal licensing and certification standards, and
additional assessments to be completed or arranged by the provider after service initiation;

(9) identifies provider responsibilities to implement and make recommendations for
modification to the coordinated service and support plan;
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528.25 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.092, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

528.26 Subd. 4. Home and community-based services for developmental disabilities. (a)
528.27 The commissioner shall make payments to approved vendors participating in the medical
528.28 assistance program to pay costs of providing home and community-based services, including
528.29 case management service activities provided as an approved home and community-based
528.30 service, to medical assistance eligible persons with developmental disabilities who have
528.31 been screened under subdivision 7 and according to federal requirements. Federal

528.32 requirements include those services and limitations included in the federally approved

528.33 application for home and community-based services for persons with developmental

528.34 disabilities and subsequent amendments.
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(10) includes notice of the right to request a conciliation conference or a hearing under
section 256.045;

(11) is agreed upon and signed by the person, the person's legal guardian or conservator,
or the parent if the person is a minor, and the authorized county representative;

(12) is reviewed by a health professional if the person has overriding medical needs that
impact the delivery of services; and

(13) includes the authorized annual and monthly amounts for the services.

(b) In developing the person-centered coordinated service and support plan, the case
manager is encouraged to include the use of volunteers, religious organizations, social clubs,
and civic and service organizations to support the individual in the community. The lead
agency must be held harmless for damages or injuries sustained through the use of volunteers
and agencies under this paragraph, including workers' compensation liability.

(c) Approved, written, and signed changes to a consumer's services that meet the criteria
in this subdivision shall be an addendum to that consumer's individual service plan.
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&) (b) The commissioner shall comply with the requirements in the federally approved
transition plan for the home and community-based services waivers for the elderly authorized
under this section.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023, or upon federal approval,
whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes
when federal approval is obtained.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.092, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Federal waivers. (a) The commissioner shall apply for any federal waivers
necessary to secure, to the extent allowed by law, federal financial participation under United
States Code, title 42, sections 1396 et seq., as amended, for the provision of services to
persons who, in the absence of the services, would need the level of care provided in a
regional treatment center or a community intermediate care facility for persons with
developmental disabilities. The commissioner may seek amendments to the waivers or apply
for additional waivers under United States Code, title 42, sections 1396 et seq., as amended,
to contain costs. The commissioner shall ensure that payment for the cost of providing home
and community-based alternative services under the federal waiver plan shall not exceed
the cost of intermediate care services including day training and habilitation services that
would have been provided without the waivered services.

The commissioner shall seek an amendment to the 1915¢ home and community-based
waiver to allow properly licensed adult foster care homes to provide residential services to
up to five individuals with developmental disabilities. If the amendment to the waiver is
approved, adult foster care providers that can accommodate five individuals shall increase
their capacity to five beds, provided the providers continue to meet all applicable licensing
requirements.

(b) The commissioner, in administering home and community-based waivers for persons
with developmental disabilities, shall ensure that day services for eligible persons are not
provided by the person's residential service provider, unless the person or the person's legal
representative is offered a choice of providers and agrees in writing to provision of day
services by the residential service provider. The coordinated service and support plan for
individuals who choose to have their residential service provider provide their day services
must describe how health, safety, protection, and habilitation needs will be met, including
how frequent and regular contact with persons other than the residential service provider
will occur. The coordinated service and support plan must address the provision of services
during the day outside the residence on weekdays.
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(c) When a lead agency is evaluating denials, reductions, or terminations of home and
community-based services under section 256B.0916 for an individual, the lead agency shall
offer to meet with the individual or the individual's guardian in order to discuss the
prioritization of service needs within the coordinated service and support plan. The reduction
in the authorized services for an individual due to changes in funding for waivered services
may not exceed the amount needed to ensure medically necessary services to meet the
individual's health, safety, and welfare.

(d) The commissioner shall seek federal approval to allow for the reconfiguration of the
1915(c) home and community-based waivers in this section, as authorized under section
1915(c) of the federal Social Security Act, to implement a two-waiver program structure.

(e) The transition to two disability home and community-based services waiver programs
must align with the independent living first policy under section 256B.4905. Unless
superseded by any other state or federal law, waiver eligibility criteria shall be the same for
each waiver. The waiver program that a person uses shall be determined by the support
planning process and whether the person chooses to live in a provider-controlled setting or
in the person's own home.

(f) The commissioner shall seek federal approval for the 1915(c) home and
community-based waivers in this section, as authorized under section 1915(c) of the federal
Social Security Act, to implement an individual resource allocation methodology.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023, or 90 days after federal
approval, whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor
of statutes when federal approval is obtained.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.092, subdivision 12, is amended to read:

Subd. 12. Waivered Waiver services statewide priorities. (a) The commissioner shall
establish statewide priorities for individuals on the waiting list for developmental disabilities
(DD) waiver services, as of January 1, 2010. The statewide priorities must include, but are
not limited to, individuals who continue to have a need for waiver services after they have
maximized the use of state plan services and other funding resources, including natural
supports, prior to accessing waiver services, and who meet at least one of the following
criteria:

(1) no longer require the intensity of services provided where they are currently living;
or

(2) make a request to move from an institutional setting.

(b) After the priorities in paragraph (a) are met, priority must also be given to individuals
who meet at least one of the following criteria:

(1) have unstable living situations due to the age, incapacity, or sudden loss of the primary
caregivers;
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(2) are moving from an institution due to bed closures;
(3) experience a sudden closure of their current living arrangement;
(4) require protection from confirmed abuse, neglect, or exploitation;

(5) experience a sudden change in need that can no longer be met through state plan

services or other funding resources alone; or

(6) meet other priorities established by the department.

(c) When allocating new enrollment resources to lead agencies, the commissioner must

take into consideration the number of individuals waiting who meet statewide priorities ane

. Thecommisstoner

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.097, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 7. Regional quality councils and systems improvement. The commissioner of

human services shall maintain the regional quality councils initially established under

Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.097, subdivision 4. The regional quality councils

shall:

(1) support efforts and initiatives that drive overall systems and social change to promote

inclusion of people who have disabilities in the state of Minnesota;

(2) improve person-centered outcomes in disability services; and

(3) identify or enhance quality of life indicators for people who have disabilities.

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.097, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 8. Membership and staff. (a) Regional quality councils shall be comprised of

key stakeholders including, but not limited to:

(1) individuals who have disabilities;

(2) family members of people who have disabilities;

(3) disability service providers;

(4) disability advocacy groups;

(5) lead agency staff; and

(6) staft of state agencies with jurisdiction over special education and disability services.

PAGE R31

456.8
456.9

456.10
456.11
456.12
456.13

456.14
456.15

456.16
456.17

456.18
456.19

456.20
456.21

456.22
456.23
456.24
456.25
456.26

456.27

Senate Language UEH2128-1

Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.097, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 7. Regional quality councils and systems improvement. The commissioner of
human services shall maintain the regional quality councils initially established under
Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.097, subdivision 4. The regional quality councils
shall:

(1) support efforts and initiatives that drive overall systems and social change to promote
inclusion of people who have disabilities in the state of Minnesota;

(2) improve person-centered outcomes in disability services; and

(3) identify or enhance quality of life indicators for people who have disabilities.

Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.097, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 8. Membership and staff. (a) Regional quality councils shall be comprised of
key stakeholders including, but not limited to:

(1) individuals who have disabilities;

(2) family members of people who have disabilities;

(3) disability service providers;

(4) disability advocacy groups;

(5) lead agency staff; and

(6) staft of state agencies with jurisdiction over special education and disability services.
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(b) Membership in a regional quality council must be representative of the communities
in which the council operates, with an emphasis on individuals with lived experience from
diverse racial and cultural backgrounds.

(c) Each regional quality council may hire staff to perform the duties assigned in
subdivision 9.

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.097, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 9. Duties. (a) Each regional quality council shall:

(1) identify issues and barriers that impede Minnesotans who have disabilities from
optimizing choice of home and community-based services;

(2) promote informed decision making, autonomy, and self-direction;

(3) analyze and review quality outcomes and critical incident data, and immediately
report incidents of life safety concerns to the Department of Human Services Licensing
Division;

(4) inform a comprehensive system for effective incident reporting, investigation, analysis,
and follow-up;
(5) collaborate on projects and initiatives to advance priorities shared with state agencies,

lead agencies, educational institutions, advocacy organizations, community partners, and
other entities engaged in disability service improvements;

(6) establish partnerships and working relationships with individuals and groups in the
regions;

(7) identify and implement regional and statewide quality improvement projects;

(8) transform systems and drive social change in alignment with the disability rights and
disability justice movements identified by leaders who have disabilities;

(9) provide information and training programs for persons who have disabilities and
their families and legal representatives on formal and informal support options and quality

expectations;

(10) make recommendations to state agencies and other key decision-makers regarding
disability services and supports;

(11) submit every two years a report to committees with jurisdiction over disability
services on the status, outcomes, improvement priorities, and activities in the region;

(12) support people by advocating to resolve complaints between the counties, providers,
persons receiving services, and their families and legal representatives; and
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(b) Membership in a regional quality council must be representative of the communities
in which the council operates, with an emphasis on individuals with lived experience from
diverse racial and cultural backgrounds.

(c) Each regional quality council may hire staff to perform the duties assigned in
subdivision 9.

Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.097, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 9. Duties. (a) Each regional quality council shall:

(1) identify issues and barriers that impede Minnesotans who have disabilities from
optimizing choice of home and community-based services;

(2) promote informed-decision making, autonomy, and self-direction;

(3) analyze and review quality outcomes and critical incident data, and immediately
report incidents of life safety concerns to the Department of Human Services Licensing
Division;

(4) inform a comprehensive system for effective incident reporting, investigation, analysis,
and follow-up;
(5) collaborate on projects and initiatives to advance priorities shared with state agencies,

lead agencies, educational institutions, advocacy organizations, community partners, and
other entities engaged in disability service improvements;

(6) establish partnerships and working relationships with individuals and groups in the
regions;

(7) identify and implement regional and statewide quality improvement projects;

(8) transform systems and drive social change in alignment with the disability rights and
disability justice movements identified by leaders who have disabilities;

(9) provide information and training programs for persons who have disabilities and
their families and legal representatives on formal and informal support options and quality

expectations;

(10) make recommendations to state agencies and other key decision-makers regarding
disability services and supports;

(11) submit every two years a report to legislative committees with jurisdiction over
disability services on the status, outcomes, improvement priorities, and activities in the
region;

(12) support people by advocating to resolve complaints between the counties, providers,
persons receiving services, and their families and legal representatives; and
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(13) recruit, train, and assign duties to regional quality council teams, including council
members, interns, and volunteers, taking into account the skills necessary for the team
members to be successful in this work.

(b) Each regional quality council may engage in quality improvement initiatives related
to but not limited to:

(1) the home and community-based services waiver programs for persons with
developmental disabilities under section 256B.092, subdivision 4, or section 256B.49,
including brain injuries and services for those persons who qualify for nursing facility level
of care or hospital facility level of care and any other services licensed under chapter 245D;

(2) home care services under section 256B.0651;

(3) family support grants under section 252.32;

(4) consumer support grants under section 256.476;

(5) semi-independent living services under section 252.275; and

(6) services provided through an intermediate care facility for persons with developmental
disabilities.

(c) Each regional quality council's work must be informed and directed by the needs
and desires of persons who have disabilities in the region in which the council operates.

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.097, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 10. Compensation. (a) A member of a regional quality council who does not
receive a salary or wages from an employer may be paid a per diem and reimbursed for
expenses related to the member's participation in efforts and initiatives described in
subdivision 9 in the same manner and in an amount not to exceed the amount authorized
by the commissioner's plan adopted under section 43A.18, subdivision 2.

(b) Regional quality councils may charge fees for their services.
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(13) recruit, train, and assign duties to regional quality council teams, including council
members, interns, and volunteers, taking into account the skills necessary for the team
members to be successful in this work.

(b) Each regional quality council may engage in quality improvement initiatives related
to, but not limited to:

(1) the home and community-based services waiver programs for persons with
developmental disabilities under section 256B.092, subdivision 4, or section 256B.49,
including brain injuries and services for those persons who qualify for nursing facility level
of care or hospital facility level of care and any other services licensed under chapter 245D;

(2) home care services under section 256B.0651;

(3) family support grants under section 252.32;

(4) consumer support grants under section 256.476;

(5) semi-independent living services under section 252.275; and

(6) services provided through an intermediate care facility for persons with developmental
disabilities.

(c) Each regional quality council's work must be informed and directed by the needs
and desires of persons who have disabilities in the region in which the council operates.

Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.097, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 10. Compensation. (a) A member of a regional quality council who does not
receive a salary or wages from an employer may be paid a per diem and reimbursed for
expenses related to the member's participation in efforts and initiatives described in
subdivision 9 in the same manner and in an amount not to exceed the amount authorized
by the commissioner's plan adopted under section 43A.18, subdivision 2.

(b) Regional quality councils may charge fees for their services.

Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.19, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Division of cost. The state and county share of medical assistance costs
not paid by federal funds shall be as follows:

(1) beginning January 1, 1992, 50 percent state funds and 50 percent county funds for
the cost of placement of severely emotionally disturbed children in regional treatment
centers;

(2) beginning January 1, 2003, 80 percent state funds and 20 percent county funds for
the costs of nursing facility placements of persons with disabilities under the age of 65 that
have exceeded 90 days. This clause shall be subject to chapter 256G and shall not apply to
placements in facilities not certified to participate in medical assistance;
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459.8 (3) beginning July 1, 2004, 90 percent state funds and ten percent county funds for the
459.9  costs of placements that have exceeded 90 days in intermediate care facilities for persons
459.10 with developmental disabilities that have seven or more beds. This provision includes
459.11 pass-through payments made under section 256B.5015; and

459.12 (4) beginning July 1, 2004, when state funds are used to pay for a nursing facility
459.13 placement due to the facility's status as an institution for mental diseases (IMD), the county
459.14 shall pay 20 percent of the nonfederal share of costs that have exceeded 90 days. This clause
459.15 1is subject to chapter 256G;

459.16 (5) for any individual who has not been continuously receiving services in an intermediate
459.17 care facility for persons with developmental disabilities since December 31, 2021, 90 percent
459.18 state funds and ten percent county funds for the costs of any placement of an individual 18
459.19 years of age or older and under 27 years of age exceeding 90 days in any intermediate care
459.20 facility for persons with developmental disabilities. This provision includes pass-through
459.21 payments made under section 256B.5015. This provision is not in addition to the division
459.22 of costs under clause (3). This provision continues to apply to an individual after the

459.23 individual reaches the age of 27 and until the individual transitions to a community setting;
459.24 and

459.25 (6) for any individual who has not been continuously receiving residential support
459.26 services since December 31, 2021, 90 percent state funds and ten percent county funds for
459.27 the costs of residential support services when authorized for an individual 18 years of age
459.28 or older and under 27 years of age. This provision continues to apply to an individual after
459.29 the individual reaches the age of 27 and until the individual no longer receives residential
459.30 support services. For the purposes of this clause, "residential support services" means the
459.31 following residential support services reimbursed under section 256B.4914: community
459.32 residential services, customized living services, and 24-hour customized living services.

459.33 For counties that participate in a Medicaid demonstration project under sections 256B.69
459.34 and 256B.71, the division of the nonfederal share of medical assistance expenses for

460.1 payments made to prepaid health plans or for payments made to health maintenance

460.2 organizations in the form of prepaid capitation payments, this division of medical assistance
460.3  expenses shall be 95 percent by the state and five percent by the county of financial

460.4 responsibility.

460.5 In counties where prepaid health plans are under contract to the commissioner to provide
460.6  services to medical assistance recipients, the cost of court ordered treatment ordered without
460.7 consulting the prepaid health plan that does not include diagnostic evaluation,

460.8 recommendation, and referral for treatment by the prepaid health plan is the responsibility
460.9 of the county of financial responsibility.

460.10 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2022, or upon federal approval,
460.11 whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall inform the revisor of statutes
460.12 when federal approval is obtained.

PAGE R34 REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE



534.23
534.24

534.25
534.26
534.27
534.28
534.29

534.30

535.1
5352

5353
5354
5355
535.6
535.7
535.8

5359

535.10
535.11
535.12
535.13
535.14
535.15

535.16
535.17
535.18
535.19

535.20
535.21
535.22
535.23
535.24
535.25

535.26
535.27
535.28

Disability Services and Continuing Care for Older Adults
House Language H2128-4

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.439, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 3c. Contact information for consumer surveys for nursing facilities and home
and community-based services. For purposes of conducting the consumer surveys under
subdivisions 3 and 3a, the commissioner may request contact information of clients and
associated key representatives. Providers must furnish the contact information available to

the provider.
EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.439, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 3d. Resident experience survey and family survey for assisted living
facilities. The commissioner shall develop and administer a resident experience survey for
assisted living facility residents and a family survey for families of assisted living facility
residents. Money appropriated to the commissioner to administer the resident experience
survey and family survey is available in either fiscal year of the biennium in which it is

appropriated.
Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.49, subdivision 11, is amended to read:

Subd. 11. Authority. (a) The commissioner is authorized to apply for home and
community-based service waivers, as authorized under section 1915(c) of the federal Social
Security Act to serve persons under the age of 65 who are determined to require the level
of care provided in a nursing home and persons who require the level of care provided in a
hospital. The commissioner shall apply for the home and community-based waivers in order
to:

(1) promote the support of persons with disabilities in the most integrated settings;

(2) expand the availability of services for persons who are eligible for medical assistance;
(3) promote cost-effective options to institutional care; and

(4) obtain federal financial participation.

(b) The provision of waivered waiver services to medical assistance recipients with
disabilities shall comply with the requirements outlined in the federally approved applications
for home and community-based services and subsequent amendments, including provision
of services according to a service plan designed to meet the needs of the individual. For
purposes of this section, the approved home and community-based application is considered
the necessary federal requirement.

(c) The commissioner shall provide interested persons serving on agency advisory
committees, task forces, the Centers for Independent Living, and others who request to be
on a list to receive, notice of, and an opportunity to comment on, at least 30 days before
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any effective dates, (1) any substantive changes to the state's disability services program
manual, or (2) changes or amendments to the federally approved applications for home and
community-based waivers, prior to their submission to the federal Centers for Medicare
and Medicaid Services.

(d) The commissioner shall seek approval, as authorized under section 1915(c) of the
federal Social Security Act, to allow medical assistance eligibility under this section for
children under age 21 without deeming of parental income or assets.

(e) The commissioner shall seek approval, as authorized under section 1915(c) of the
Social Act, to allow medical assistance eligibility under this section for individuals under
age 65 without deeming the spouse's income or assets.

(f) The commissioner shall comply with the requirements in the federally approved
transition plan for the home and community-based services waivers authorized under this
section.

(g) The commissioner shall seek federal approval to allow for the reconfiguration of the
1915(c) home and community-based waivers in this section, as authorized under section
1915(c) of the federal Social Security Act, to implement a two-waiver program structure.

(h) The commissioner shall seek federal approval for the 1915(c) home and
community-based waivers in this section, as authorized under section 1915(c) of the federal
Social Security Act, to implement an individual resource allocation methodology.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023, or 90 days after federal
approval, whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor
of statutes when federal approval is obtained.

Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.49, subdivision 11a, is amended to read:

Subd. 11a. Waivered Waiver services statewide priorities. (2) The commissioner shall
establish statewide priorities for individuals on the waiting list for community alternative
care, community access for disability inclusion, and brain injury waiver services, as of
January 1, 2010. The statewide priorities must include, but are not limited to, individuals
who continue to have a need for waiver services after they have maximized the use of state
plan services and other funding resources, including natural supports, prior to accessing
waiver services, and who meet at least one of the following criteria:

(1) no longer require the intensity of services provided where they are currently living;
or

(2) make a request to move from an institutional setting.

(b) After the priorities in paragraph (a) are met, priority must also be given to individuals
who meet at least one of the following criteria:
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537.1 (1) have unstable living situations due to the age, incapacity, or sudden loss of the primary
537.2 caregivers;

537.3 (2) are moving from an institution due to bed closures;

537.4 (3) experience a sudden closure of their current living arrangement;

537.5 (4) require protection from confirmed abuse, neglect, or exploitation;

537.6 (5) experience a sudden change in need that can no longer be met through state plan
537.7 services or other funding resources alone; or

537.8 (6) meet other priorities established by the department.

537.9 (c) When allocating new enrollment resources to lead agencies, the commissioner must
537.10 take into consideration the number of individuals waiting who meet statewide priorities and

. Fhecommisstonet

537.15 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023, or upon federal approval,
537.16 whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes
537.17 when federal approval is obtained.

537.18  Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.49, subdivision 17, is amended to read:

537.19 Subd. 17. Cost of services and supports. (a) The commissioner shall ensure that the
537.20 average per capita expenditures estimated in any fiscal year for home and community-based
537.21 waiver recipients does not exceed the average per capita expenditures that would have been
537.22 made to provide institutional services for recipients in the absence of the waiver.

537.29
537.30

537.31

538.1
538.2

538.3 greaterof:
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&) (b) Beginning July 1, 2001, medically necessary home care nursing services will be
authorized under this section as complex and regular care according to sections 256B.0651
to 256B.0654 and 256B.0659. The rate established by the commissioner for registered nurse
or licensed practical nurse services under any home and community-based waiver as of
January 1, 2001, shall not be reduced.

te) (c) Notwithstanding section 252.28, subdivision 3, paragraph (d), if the 2009
legislature adopts a rate reduction that impacts payment to providers of adult foster care
services, the commissioner may issue adult foster care licenses that permit a capacity of
five adults. The application for a five-bed license must meet the requirements of section
245A.11, subdivision 2a. Prior to admission of the fifth recipient of adult foster care services,
the county must negotiate a revised per diem rate for room and board and waiver services
that reflects the legislated rate reduction and results in an overall average per diem reduction
for all foster care recipients in that home. The revised per diem must allow the provider to
maintain, as much as possible, the level of services or enhanced services provided in the
residence, while mitigating the losses of the legislated rate reduction.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023, or upon federal approval,
whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes
when federal approval is obtained.
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Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.49, subdivision 23, is amended to read:

Subd. 23. Community-living settings. (a) For the purposes of this chapter,
"community-living settings" means a single-family home or multifamily dwelling unit where
a service recipient or a service recipient's family owns or rents, and maintains control over
the individual unit as demonstrated by a lease agreement. Community-living settings does
not include a home or dwelling unit that the service provider owns, operates, or leases or
in which the service provider has a direct or indirect financial interest.
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460.20 (b) To ensure a service recipient or the service recipient's family maintains control over
460.21 the home or dwelling unit, community-living settings are subject to the following
460.22 requirements:

460.23 (1) service recipients must not be required to receive services or share services;

460.24 (2) service recipients must not be required to have a disability or specific diagnosis to
460.25 live in the community-living setting;

460.26 (3) service recipients may hire service providers of their choice;

460.27 (4) service recipients may choose whether to share their household and with whom;
460.28 (5) the home or multifamily dwelling unit must include living, sleeping, bathing, and
460.29 cooking areas;

460.30 (6) service recipients must have lockable access and egress;

460.31 (7) service recipients must be free to receive visitors and leave the settings at times and

460.32 for durations of their own choosing;
461.1 (8) leases must comply with chapter 504B;

461.2 (9) landlords must not charge different rents to tenants who are receiving home and
461.3 community-based services; and

461.4 (10) access to the greater community must be easily facilitated based on the service
461.5 recipient's needs and preferences.

461.6 (c) Nothing in this section prohibits a service recipient from having another person or
461.7 entity not affiliated with the service provider cosign a lease. Nothing in this section prohibits
461.8 aservice recipient, during any period in which a service provider has cosigned the service
461.9 recipient's lease, from modifying services with an existing cosigning service provider and,
461.10 subject to the approval of the landlord, maintaining a lease cosigned by the service provider.
461.11 Nothing in this section prohibits a service recipient, during any period in which a service
461.12 provider has cosigned the service recipient's lease, from terminating services with the

461.13 cosigning service provider, receiving services from a new service provider, and, subject to
461.14 the approval of the landlord, maintaining a lease cosigned by the new service provider.

461.15 (d) A lease cosigned by a service provider meets the requirements of paragraph (a) if
461.16 the service recipient and service provider develop and implement a transition plan which
461.17 must provide that, within two years of cosigning the initial lease, the service provider shall
461.18 transfer the lease to the service recipient and other cosigners, if any.

461.19 (e) In the event the landlord has not approved the transfer of the lease within two years
461.20 of the service provider cosigning the initial lease, the service provider must submit a

461.21 time-limited extension request to the commissioner of human services to continue the
461.22 cosigned lease arrangement. The extension request must include:
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Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.49, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 28. Customized living moratorium for brain injury and community access
for disability inclusion waivers. (a) Notwithstanding section 245A.03, subdivision 2,
paragraph (a), clause (23), the commissioner shall not enroll new customized living settings
serving four or fewer people in a single-family home to deliver customized living services
as defined under the brain injury or community access for disability inclusion waiver plans
under section 256B.49 to prevent new developments of customized living settings that
otherwise meet the residential program definition under section 245A.02, subdivision 14.

(b) The commissioner may approve an exception to paragraph (a) when:

(1) a customized living setting with a change in ownership at the same address is in
existence and operational on or before June 30, 2021; and

(2) a customized living setting is serving four or fewer people in a multiple-family
dwelling if each person has a personal self-contained living unit that contains living, sleeping,

eating, cooking, and bathroom areas.

PAGE R40

461.23
461.24

461.25
461.26

461.27
461.28
461.29

461.30
461.31

462.1
462.2

462.3
462.4
462.5
462.6
462.7
462.8
462.9

462.10
462.11

462.12
462.13
462.14
462.15
462.16
462.17
462.18

462.19
462.20

Senate Language UEH2128-1

(1) the reason the landlord denied the transfer;
(2) the plan to overcome the denial to transfer the lease;

(3) the length of time needed to successfully transfer the lease, not to exceed an additional
two years;

(4) a description of how the transition plan was followed, what occurred that led to the
landlord denying the transfer, and what changes in circumstances or condition, if any, the
service recipient experienced; and

(5) arevised transition plan to transfer the cosigned lease between the service provider
and the service recipient to the service recipient.

The commissioner must approve an extension within sufficient time to ensure the continued
occupancy by the service recipient.

(f) In the event that a landlord has not approved a transfer of the lease within the timelines
of any approved time-limited extension request, a service provider must submit another
time-limited extension request to the commissioner of human services to continue a cosigned
lease arrangement. A time-limited extension request submitted under this paragraph must
include the same information required for an initial time-limited extension request under
paragraph (e). The commissioner must approve of an extension within sufficient time to
ensure continued occupancy by the service recipient.

Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.49, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 28. Customized living moratorium for brain injury and community access
for disability inclusion waivers. (a) Notwithstanding section 245A.03, subdivision 2,
paragraph (a), clause (23), to prevent new development of customized living settings that
otherwise meet the residential program definition under section 245A.02, subdivision 14,
the commissioner shall not enroll new customized living settings serving four or fewer
people in a single-family home to deliver customized living services as defined under the
brain injury or community access for disability inclusion waiver plans under section 256B.49.

(b) The commissioner may approve an exception to paragraph (a) when an existing
customized living setting changes ownership at the same address.
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(c) Customized living settings operational on or before June 30, 2021, are considered
existing customized living settings.

(d) For any new customized living settings operational on or after July 1, 2021, serving
four or fewer people in a single-family home to deliver customized living services as defined
in paragraph (a), the authorizing lead agency is financially responsible for all home and
community-based service payments in the setting.

(e) For purposes of this subdivision, "operational" means customized living services are
authorized and delivered to a person on or before June 30, 2021, in the customized living

setting.
EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021. This section applies only

to customized living services as defined under the brain injury or community access for
disability inclusion waiver plans under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.49.
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(c) Customized living settings operational on or before June 30, 2021, are considered
existing customized living settings.

(d) For any new customized living settings serving four or fewer people in a single-family
home to deliver customized living services as defined in paragraph (a) and that was not
operational on or before June 30, 2021, the authorizing lead agency is financially responsible
for all home and community-based service payments in the setting.

(e) For purposes of this subdivision, "operational" means customized living services are
authorized and delivered to a person in the customized living setting.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021. This section applies only
to customized living services as defined under the brain injury or community access for
disability inclusion waiver plans under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.49.

Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.4905, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 1a. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have the
meanings given.

(b) "Informed choice" means a choice that adults who have disabilities and, with support
from their families or legal representatives, that children who have disabilities make regarding
services and supports that best meets the adult's or child's needs and preferences. Before
making an informed choice, an individual who has disabilities must be provided, in an
accessible format and manner that meets the individual's needs, the tools, information, and
opportunities the individual requests or requires to understand all of the individual's options.

(c) "HCBS" means home and community-based services covered under this chapter by
the medical assistance state plan, and the home and community-based waiver services
covered under sections 256B.092 and 256B.49.

Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.4905, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 2a. Informed choice policy. It is the policy of this state that all adults who have
disabilities and, with support from their families or legal representatives, all children who
have disabilities:

(1) can make informed choices to select and utilize disability services and supports; and

(2) will be offered an informed decision-making process sufficient to make informed
choices.
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463.22 Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.4905, is amended by adding a subdivision
463.23 to read:

463.24 Subd. 3a. Informed decision making. (a) The commissioner of human services and
463.25 lead agencies shall ensure that:

463.26 (1) disability services support the presumption that adults who have disabilities and,
463.27 with support from their families or legal representatives, children who have disabilities can
463.28 make informed choices;

463.29 (2) all adults who have disabilities and are accessing HCBS and all families of children
463.30 who have disabilities and are accessing HCBS are provided an informed decision-making
463.31 process satisfying the requirements of paragraph (b);

464.1 (3) all adults who have disabilities and are accessing HCBS and all families of children
464.2  who have disabilities and are accessing HCBS are provided the opportunity to revisit or
464.3 change any decision or choice at any time of the adult's or family's choosing; and

464.4 (4) services or supports necessary to accomplish each step of an informed
464.5 decision-making process or to make an informed choice to utilize disability services are
464.6  authorized and implemented within a reasonable time frame for individuals accessing HCBS.

464.7 (b) The commissioner of human services must develop and ensure compliance with an
464.8 informed decision-making standard that provides accessible, correct, and complete

464.9  information to help an individual accessing HCBS make an informed choice. This information
464.10 must be accessible and understandable to the person so that the person can demonstrate

464.11 understanding of the options. Any written information provided in the process must be

464.12 accessible and the process must be experiential whenever possible. The process must also
464.13 consider and offer to the person, in a person-centered manner, the following:

464.14 (1) reasonable accommodations as needed or requested by the person to fully participate
464.15 in the informed decision-making process and acquire the information necessary to make an
464.16 informed choice;

464.17 (2) discussion of the person's own preferences, abilities, goals, and objectives;

464.18 (3) identification of the person's cultural needs and access to culturally responsive services
464.19 and providers;

464.20 (4) information about the benefits of inclusive and individualized services and supports;
464.21 (5) presentation and discussion of all options with the person;

464.22 (6) documentation, in a manner prescribed by the commissioner, of each option discussed;
464.23 (7) exploration and development of new or other options;
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(8) facilitation of opportunities to visit alternative locations or to engage in experiences
to understand how any service option might work for the person;

(9) opportunities to meet with other individuals with disabilities who live, work, and
receive services different from the person's own services;

(10) development of a transition plan, when needed or requested by the person, to
facilitate the choice to move from one service type or setting to another, and authorization
of the services and supports necessary to effectuate the plan;

(11) identification of any barriers to assisting or implementing the person's informed
choice and authorization of the services and supports necessary to overcome those barriers;
and

(12) ample time and timely opportunity to consider available options before the individual
makes a final choice or changes a choice.

(c) The commissioner shall ensure that individuals accessing HCBS have access to an
informed decision-making process at least annually by:

(1) updating informed choice protocols for HCBS to reflect the informed choice definition
in subdivision la, paragraph (b), and the informed decision-making process outlined in

paragraph (b);

(2) developing a survey designed for individuals accessing HCBS to assess their
experience with informed choice and the informed decision-making process, including how
frequently it is offered and how well it meets the standard in paragraph (b). The survey shall
be administered and results used to determine the quality and frequency of informed choice
and informed decision making consistent with this section. The commissioner shall utilize
survey results to increase the frequency and quality of informed decision making and
informed choice as experienced by individuals accessing HCBS;

(3) creating option for interested persons to file incident reports regarding an access to
and the quality of informed choice and informed decision making experienced by an
individual accessing HCBS, and implementing appropriate processes upon receipt of the

reports;

(4) developing and implementing a curriculum and training plan to ensure all lead agency
assessors and case managers have the knowledge and skills to comply with this section.
Training and competency evaluations must be completed annually by all staff responsible
for case management as described in section 256B.092, subdivision 1a, paragraph (f), and
section 256B.49, subdivision 13, paragraph (e); and

(5) mandating informed choice training for lead agency staff who support individuals
accessing HCBS.
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Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.4905, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 4a. Informed choice in employment policy. It is the policy of this state that
working-age individuals who have disabilities:

(1) can work and achieve competitive integrated employment with appropriate services
and supports, as needed,;

(2) make informed choices about their postsecondary education, work, and career goals;
and

(3) will be offered the opportunity to make an informed choice, at least annually, to
pursue postsecondary education or to work and earn a competitive wage.

Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.4905, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 5a. Informed choice in employment implementation. (a) The commissioner of
human services and lead agencies shall ensure that disability services align with the
employment first policy adopted by the Olmstead subcabinet on September 29, 2014, or

successor policies.

(b) The commissioner and lead agencies shall implement the provisions of subdivision
3a, paragraph (c), and take other appropriate actions to ensure that all working-age individuals
who have disabilities and are accessing HCBS are offered an informed decision-making
process that will help them make an informed choice about postsecondary education offering
meaningful credentials; and about working and earning, with appropriate services and
supports, a competitive wage in work or a career that the individual chooses before being
offered exclusively day services as defined in section 245D.03, subdivision 1, paragraph
(c), clause (4), or successor provisions.

Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.4905, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 7. Informed choice in community living policy. It is the policy of this state that
all adults who have disabilities:

(1) can live in the communities of the individual's choosing with appropriate services
and supports as needed; and

(2) have the right, at least annually, to make an informed decision-making process that
can help them make an informed choice to live outside of a provider-controlled setting.

Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.4905, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 8. Informed choice in community living implementation. (a) The commissioner
of human services and lead agencies shall ensure that disability services support the
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presumption that all adults who have disabilities can and want to live in the communities
of the individual's choosing with services and supports as needed.

(b) The commissioner and lead agencies shall implement the provisions of subdivision
3a, paragraph (c), and take any appropriate action to ensure that all adults who have
disabilities and are accessing HCBS are offered, after an informed decision-making process
and during a person-centered planning process, the services and supports the individual
needs to live as the individual chooses, including in a non-provider-controlled setting.
Provider-controlled settings include customized living services provided in a single-family
home or residential supports and services as defined in section 245D.03, subdivision 1,
paragraph (c), clause (3), or successor provisions, unless the residential services and supports
are provided in a family adult foster care residence under a shared living option as described
in Laws 2013, chapter 108, article 7, section 62.

Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.4905, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 9. Informed choice in self-direction policy. It is the policy of this state that adults
who have disabilities and families of children who have disabilities:

(1) can direct the adult's or child's needed services and supports; and

(2) have the right to make an informed choice to self-direct the adult's or child's services
and supports before being offered options that do not allow the adult or family to self-direct
the adult's or child's services and supports.

Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.4905, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 10. Informed choice in self-direction implementation. (2) The commissioner
of human services and lead agencies shall ensure that disability services support the
presumption that adults who have disabilities and families of children who have disabilities
can direct all of the adult's or child's services and supports, including control over the funding
of the adult's or child's services and supports.

(b) The commissioner and lead agencies shall implement the provisions of subdivision
3a, paragraph (c), and take any other appropriate actions to ensure that at intervals described
in paragraph (c), adults who have disabilities and are accessing HCBS and families of
children who have disabilities and are accessing HCBS are offered, after an informed
decision-making process and during a person-centered planning process, the option to direct
the adult's or child's services and supports, including the option to have control over the
funding of the adult's or child's services and supports.

(c) The commissioner or lead agency shall offer adults who have disabilities and families
of children who have disabilities the options described in paragraph (b) at least annually
during regularly scheduled planning meetings or more frequently when:
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468.11 (1) the adults who have disabilities or families of children who have disabilities requests
468.12 or suggests the options described in paragraph (b) or when the adult or family expresses
468.13 dissatisfaction with services and supports that do not allow for self-direction;

468.14 (2) the family or a legal representative of the individual with disabilities requests or
468.15 suggests the options described in paragraph (b);

468.16 (3) any member of the individual's service planning team or expanded service planning
468.17 team requests or suggests the options described in paragraph (b); or

468.18 (4) self-directed services and supports could enhance the individual's independence or
468.19 gualitz of life.

468.20  Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.4905, is amended by adding a subdivision
468.21 to read:

468.22 Subd. 11. Informed choice in technology policy. It is the policy of this state that all
468.23 adults who have disabilities and children who have disabilities:

468.24 (1) can use assistive technology, remote supports, or a combination of both to enhance
468.25 the adult's or child's independence and quality of life; and

468.26 (2) have the right, at least annually, to make an informed choice about the adult's or
468.27 child's use of assistive technology and remote supports.

468.28  Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.4905, is amended by adding a subdivision
468.29 to read:

468.30 Subd. 12. Informed choice in technology implementation. (a) The commissioner of
468.31 human services and lead agencies shall ensure that disability services support the presumption
469.1  that adults who have disabilities and children who have disabilities can use or benefit from
469.2  assistive technology, remote supports, or both.

469.3 (b) The commissioner and lead agencies shall implement the provisions of subdivision
469.4 3a, paragraph (c), and take any other appropriate actions to ensure that at intervals described
469.5  in paragraph (c), adults who have disabilities and are accessing HCBS and families of

469.6  children who have disabilities and are accessing HCBS are offered, after an informed

469.7  decision-making process and during a person-centered planning process, the opportunity
469.8  to choose assistive technology, remote support, or both, to ensure equitable access.

469.9 (c) The commissioner or lead agency shall offer adults who have disabilities and families
469.10 of children who have disabilities the options described in paragraph (b) at least annually
469.11 during a regularly scheduled planning meeting or more frequently when:

469.12 (1) the adult who has disabilities or the family of a child who has disabilities requests
469.13 or suggests the options described in paragraph (b) or when the adult or family expresses
469.14 dissatisfaction with in-person services and supports;
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469.15 (2) the family or a legal representative of the individual with disabilities requests or
469.16 suggests the options described in paragraph (b);

469.17 (3) any member of the individual's service planning team or expanded service planning
469.18 team requests or suggests the options described in paragraph (b); or

469.19 (4) assistive technology, remote supports, or both could enhance the individual's
469.20 independence or quality of life.

469.21 (d) The availability of assistive technology, remote supports, or both, shall not preclude
469.22 an individual with disabilities from accessing in-person supports and services, nor shall it
469.23 result in a denial of in-person supports and services.

469.24  Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.4914, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

469.25 Subd. 2. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have the
469.26 meanings given them, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.

469.27 (b) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of human services.

469.28 (c) "Comparable occupations" means the occupations, excluding direct care staff, as

469.29 represented by the Bureau of Labor Statistics standard occupational classification codes
469.30 that have the same classification for:

469.31 (1) typical education needed for entry;
470.1 (2) work experience in a related occupation; and
470.2 (3) typical on-the-job training competency as the most predominant classification for

470.3  direct care staff.

470.4 (d) "Component value" means underlying factors that are part of the cost of providing
470.5 services that are built into the waiver rates methodology to calculate service rates.

470.6 (e) "Customized living tool" means a methodology for setting service rates that delineates
470.7 and documents the amount of each component service included in a recipient's customized
470.8 living service plan.

470.9 (f) "Direct care staff" means employees providing direct service to people receiving
470.10 services under this section. Direct care staff excludes executive, managerial, and
470.11 administrative staff.

470.12 (g) "Disability waiver rates system" means a statewide system that establishes rates that
470.13 are based on uniform processes and captures the individualized nature of waiver services
470.14 and recipient needs.

470.15 (h) "Individual staffing" means the time spent as a one-to-one interaction specific to an
470.16 individual recipient by staff to provide direct support and assistance with activities of daily
470.17 living, instrumental activities of daily living, and training to participants, and is based on
470.18 the requirements in each individual's coordinated service and support plan under section
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245D.02, subdivision 4b; any coordinated service and support plan addendum under section
245D.02, subdivision 4c; and an assessment tool. Provider observation of an individual's
needs must also be considered.

(i) "Lead agency" means a county, partnership of counties, or tribal agency charged with
administering waivered services under sections 256B.092 and 256B.49.

(j) "Median" means the amount that divides distribution into two equal groups, one-half
above the median and one-half below the median.

(k) "Payment or rate" means reimbursement to an eligible provider for services provided
to a qualified individual based on an approved service authorization.

(1) "Rates management system" means a web-based software application that uses a
framework and component values, as determined by the commissioner, to establish service
rates.

(m) "Recipient" means a person receiving home and community-based services funded
under any of the disability waivers.

(n) "Shared staffing" means time spent by employees, not defined under paragraph (f),
providing or available to provide more than one individual with direct support and assistance
with activities of daily living as defined under section 256B.0659, subdivision 1, paragraph
(b); instrumental activities of daily living as defined under section 256B.0659, subdivision
1, paragraph (i); ancillary activities needed to support individual services; and training to
participants, and is based on the requirements in each individual's coordinated service and
support plan under section 245D.02, subdivision 4b; any coordinated service and support
plan addendum under section 245D.02, subdivision 4c; an assessment tool; and provider
observation of an individual's service need. Total shared staffing hours are divided
proportionally by the number of individuals who receive the shared service provisions.

(o) "Staffing ratio" means the number of recipients a service provider employee supports
during a unit of service based on a uniform assessment tool, provider observation, case
history, and the recipient's services of choice, and not based on the staffing ratios under
section 245D.31.

(p) "Unit of service" means the following:

(1) for residential support services under subdivision 6, a unit of service is a day. Any
portion of any calendar day, within allowable Medicaid rules, where an individual spends
time in a residential setting is billable as a day;

(2) for day services under subdivision 7:
(i) for day training and habilitation services, a unit of service is either:

(A) a day unit of service is defined as six or more hours of time spent providing direct
services and transportation; or
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Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.4914, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Base wage index and standard component values. (a) The base wage index
is established to determine staffing costs associated with providing services to individuals
receiving home and community-based services. For purposes of developing and calculating
the proposed base wage, Minnesota-specific wages taken from job descriptions and standard
occupational classification (SOC) codes from the Bureau of Labor Statistics as defined in
the most recent edition of the Occupational Handbook must be used. The base wage index
must be calculated as follows:

(1) for residential direct care staff, the sum of:

(i) 15 percent of the subtotal of 50 percent of the median wage for personal and home
health aide (SOC code 39-9021); 30 percent of the median wage for nursing assistant (SOC
code 31-1014); and 20 percent of the median wage for social and human services aide (SOC
code 21-1093); and

PAGE R49

471.23
471.24

471.25
471.26

471.27
471.28

471.29

471.30
471.31

471.32

472.1
472.2
4723

4724
4725

472.6

472.7
472.8

472.9
472.10
472.11

472.12

472.13
472.14
472.15
472.16
472.17
472.18
472.19

472.20

472.21
472.22
472.23
472.24

Senate Language UEH2128-1

(B) a partial day unit of service is defined as fewer than six hours of time spent providing
direct services and transportation; and

(C) for new day service recipients after January 1, 2014, 15 minute units of service must
be used for fewer than six hours of time spent providing direct services and transportation;

(ii) for adult day and structured day services, a unit of service is a day or 15 minutes. A
day unit of service is six or more hours of time spent providing direct services;

(iii) for day support services, a unit of service is 15 minutes; and

(iv) for prevocational services, a unit of service is a day or 15 minutes. A day unit of
service is six or more hours of time spent providing direct service;

(3) for unit-based services with programming under subdivision 8:

(i) for supported living services, a unit of service is a day or 15 minutes. When a day
rate is authorized, any portion of a calendar day where an individual receives services is
billable as a day; and

(ii) for individualized home supports with training, a unit of service is a day or 15 minutes.
A day unit of service is six or more hours of time spent providing direct service; and

(iii) for all other services, a unit of service is 15 minutes; and

(4) for unit-based services without programming under subdivision 9, a unit of service
is 15 minutes.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, or upon federal approval,
whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes
when federal approval is obtained.

Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.4914, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Base wage index and standard component values. (a) The base wage index
is established to determine staffing costs associated with providing services to individuals
receiving home and community-based services. For purposes of developing and calculating
the proposed base wage, Minnesota-specific wages taken from job descriptions and standard
occupational classification (SOC) codes from the Bureau of Labor Statistics as defined in
the most recent edition of the Occupational Handbook must be used. The base wage index
must be calculated as follows:

(1) for residential direct care staff, the sum of:

(i) 15 percent of the subtotal of 50 percent of the median wage for personal and home
health aide (SOC code 39-9021); 30 percent of the median wage for nursing assistant (SOC
code 31-1014); and 20 percent of the median wage for social and human services aide (SOC
code 21-1093); and
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(i) 85 percent of the subtotal of 20 percent of the median wage for home health aide
(SOC code 31-1011); 20 percent of the median wage for personal and home health aide
(SOC code 39-9021); 20 percent of the median wage for nursing assistant (SOC code
31-1014); 20 percent of the median wage for psychiatric technician (SOC code 29-2053);
and 20 percent of the median wage for social and human services aide (SOC code 21-1093);

(2) for adult day services, 70 percent of the median wage for nursing assistant (SOC
code 31-1014); and 30 percent of the median wage for personal care aide (SOC code
39-9021);

(3) for day services, day support services, and prevocational services, 20 percent of the
median wage for nursing assistant (SOC code 31-1014); 20 percent of the median wage for
psychiatric technician (SOC code 29-2053); and 60 percent of the median wage for social
and human services aide (SOC code 21-1093);

(4) for residential asleep-overnight staff, the wage is the minimum wage in Minnesota
for large employers;exeeptin-afamily fosterearesettingthe-wage s 36-pereen e

(5) for positive supports analyst staff, 100 percent of the median wage for mental health
counselors (SOC code 21-1014);

(6) for positive supports professional staff, 100 percent of the median wage for clinical
counseling and school psychologist (SOC code 19-3031);

(7) for positive supports specialist staff, 100 percent of the median wage for psychiatric
technicians (SOC code 29-2053);

(8) for supportive living services staff, 20 percent of the median wage for nursing assistant
(SOC code 31-1014); 20 percent of the median wage for psychiatric technician (SOC code
29-2053); and 60 percent of the median wage for social and human services aide (SOC code
21-1093);

(9) for housing access coordination staff, 100 percent of the median wage for community
and social services specialist (SOC code 21-1099);

(10) for in-home family support and individualized home supports with family training
staff, 20 percent of the median wage for nursing aide (SOC code 31-1012); 30 percent of
the median wage for community social service specialist (SOC code 21-1099); 40 percent
of the median wage for social and human services aide (SOC code 21-1093); and ten percent
of the median wage for psychiatric technician (SOC code 29-2053);

(11) for individualized home supports with training services staff, 40 percent of the
median wage for community social service specialist (SOC code 21-1099); 50 percent of
the median wage for social and human services aide (SOC code 21-1093); and ten percent
of the median wage for psychiatric technician (SOC code 29-2053);
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(i) 85 percent of the subtotal of 20 percent of the median wage for home health aide
(SOC code 31-1011); 20 percent of the median wage for personal and home health aide
(SOC code 39-9021); 20 percent of the median wage for nursing assistant (SOC code
31-1014); 20 percent of the median wage for psychiatric technician (SOC code 29-2053);
and 20 percent of the median wage for social and human services aide (SOC code 21-1093);

(2) for adult day services, 70 percent of the median wage for nursing assistant (SOC
code 31-1014); and 30 percent of the median wage for personal care aide (SOC code
39-9021);

(3) for day services, day support services, and prevocational services, 20 percent of the
median wage for nursing assistant (SOC code 31-1014); 20 percent of the median wage for
psychiatric technician (SOC code 29-2053); and 60 percent of the median wage for social
and human services aide (SOC code 21-1093);

(4) for residential asleep-overnight staff, the wage is the minimum wage in Minnesota
for large employers, except in a family foster care setting, the wage is 36 percent of the
minimum wage in Minnesota for large employers;

(5) for positive supports analyst staff, 100 percent of the median wage for mental health
counselors (SOC code 21-1014);

(6) for positive supports professional staff, 100 percent of the median wage for clinical
counseling and school psychologist (SOC code 19-3031);

(7) for positive supports specialist staff, 100 percent of the median wage for psychiatric
technicians (SOC code 29-2053);

(8) for supportive living services staff, 20 percent of the median wage for nursing assistant
(SOC code 31-1014); 20 percent of the median wage for psychiatric technician (SOC code
29-2053); and 60 percent of the median wage for social and human services aide (SOC code
21-1093);

(9) for housing access coordination staff, 100 percent of the median wage for community
and social services specialist (SOC code 21-1099);

(10) for in-home family support and individualized home supports with family training
staff, 20 percent of the median wage for nursing aide (SOC code 31-1012); 30 percent of
the median wage for community social service specialist (SOC code 21-1099); 40 percent
of the median wage for social and human services aide (SOC code 21-1093); and ten percent
of the median wage for psychiatric technician (SOC code 29-2053);

(11) for individualized home supports with training services staff, 40 percent of the
median wage for community social service specialist (SOC code 21-1099); 50 percent of
the median wage for social and human services aide (SOC code 21-1093); and ten percent
of the median wage for psychiatric technician (SOC code 29-2053);
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(12) for independent living skills staff, 40 percent of the median wage for community
social service specialist (SOC code 21-1099); 50 percent of the median wage for social and
human services aide (SOC code 21-1093); and ten percent of the median wage for psychiatric
technician (SOC code 29-2053);

(13) for employment support services staff, 50 percent of the median wage for
rehabilitation counselor (SOC code 21-1015); and 50 percent of the median wage for
community and social services specialist (SOC code 21-1099);

(14) for employment exploration services staff, 50 percent of the median wage for
rehabilitation counselor (SOC code 21-1015); and 50 percent of the median wage for
community and social services specialist (SOC code 21-1099);

(15) for employment development services staff, 50 percent of the median wage for
education, guidance, school, and vocational counselors (SOC code 21-1012); and 50 percent
of the median wage for community and social services specialist (SOC code 21-1099);

(16) for individualized home support staff, 50 percent of the median wage for personal
and home care aide (SOC code 39-9021); and 50 percent of the median wage for nursing
assistant (SOC code 31-1014);

(17) for adult companion staff, 50 percent of the median wage for personal and home
care aide (SOC code 39-9021); and 50 percent of the median wage for nursing assistant
(SOC code 31-1014);

(18) for night supervision staff, 20 percent of the median wage for home health aide
(SOC code 31-1011); 20 percent of the median wage for personal and home health aide
(SOC code 39-9021); 20 percent of the median wage for nursing assistant (SOC code
31-1014); 20 percent of the median wage for psychiatric technician (SOC code 29-2053);
and 20 percent of the median wage for social and human services aide (SOC code 21-1093);

(19) for respite staff, 50 percent of the median wage for personal and home care aide
(SOC code 39-9021); and 50 percent of the median wage for nursing assistant (SOC code
31-1014);

(20) for personal support staff, 50 percent of the median wage for personal and home
care aide (SOC code 39-9021); and 50 percent of the median wage for nursing assistant
(SOC code 31-1014);

(21) for supervisory staff, 100 percent of the median wage for community and social
services specialist (SOC code 21-1099), with the exception of the supervisor of positive
supports professional, positive supports analyst, and positive supports specialists, which is
100 percent of the median wage for clinical counseling and school psychologist (SOC code
19-3031);

(22) for registered nurse staff, 100 percent of the median wage for registered nurses
(SOC code 29-1141); and
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(12) for independent living skills staff, 40 percent of the median wage for community
social service specialist (SOC code 21-1099); 50 percent of the median wage for social and
human services aide (SOC code 21-1093); and ten percent of the median wage for psychiatric
technician (SOC code 29-2053);

(13) for employment support services staff, 50 percent of the median wage for
rehabilitation counselor (SOC code 21-1015); and 50 percent of the median wage for
community and social services specialist (SOC code 21-1099);

(14) for employment exploration services staff, 50 percent of the median wage for

rehabilitation-eeunseler (SOC-eode 21-10145) education, guidance, school, and vocational

counselors (SOC code 21-1012); and 50 percent of the median wage for community and
social services specialist (SOC code 21-1099);

(15) for employment development services staff, 50 percent of the median wage for
education, guidance, school, and vocational counselors (SOC code 21-1012); and 50 percent
of the median wage for community and social services specialist (SOC code 21-1099);

(16) for individualized home support staff, 50 percent of the median wage for personal
and home care aide (SOC code 39-9021); and 50 percent of the median wage for nursing
assistant (SOC code 31-1014);

(17) for adult companion staff, 50 percent of the median wage for personal and home
care aide (SOC code 39-9021); and 50 percent of the median wage for nursing assistant
(SOC code 31-1014);

(18) for night supervision staff, 20 percent of the median wage for home health aide
(SOC code 31-1011); 20 percent of the median wage for personal and home health aide
(SOC code 39-9021); 20 percent of the median wage for nursing assistant (SOC code
31-1014); 20 percent of the median wage for psychiatric technician (SOC code 29-2053);
and 20 percent of the median wage for social and human services aide (SOC code 21-1093);

(19) for respite staff, 50 percent of the median wage for personal and home care aide
(SOC code 39-9021); and 50 percent of the median wage for nursing assistant (SOC code
31-1014);

(20) for personal support staff, 50 percent of the median wage for personal and home
care aide (SOC code 39-9021); and 50 percent of the median wage for nursing assistant
(SOC code 31-1014);

(21) for supervisory staff, 100 percent of the median wage for community and social
services specialist (SOC code 21-1099), with the exception of the supervisor of positive
supports professional, positive supports analyst, and positive supports specialists, which is
100 percent of the median wage for clinical counseling and school psychologist (SOC code
19-3031);

(22) for registered nurse staff, 100 percent of the median wage for registered nurses
(SOC code 29-1141); and
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(23) for licensed practical nurse staff, 100 percent of the median wage for licensed

practical nurses (SOC code 29-2061).

(b) Component values for corporate foster care services, corporate supportive living

services daily, community residential services, and integrated community support services

(1) competitive workforce factor: 4.7 percent;

(2) supervisory span of control ratio: 11 percent;

(3) employee vacation, sick, and training allowance ratio: 8.71 percent;
(4) employee-related cost ratio: 23.6 percent;

(5) general administrative support ratio: 13.25 percent;

(6) program-related expense ratio: 1.3 percent; and

(7) absence and utilization factor ratio: 3.9 percent.

& (c) Component values for day training and habilitation, day support services, and

prevocational services are:

(1) competitive workforce factor: 4.7 percent;

(2) supervisory span of control ratio: 11 percent;

(3) employee vacation, sick, and training allowance ratio: 8.71 percent;
(4) employee-related cost ratio: 23.6 percent;

(5) program plan support ratio: 5.6 percent;

(6) client programming and support ratio: ten percent;

(7) general administrative support ratio: 13.25 percent;
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(23) for licensed practical nurse staff, 100 percent of the median wage for licensed
practical nurses (SOC code 29-2061).

(b) Component values for corporate foster care services, corporate supportive living
services daily, community residential services, and integrated community support services
are:

(1) competitive workforce factor: 4.7 percent;

(2) supervisory span of control ratio: 11 percent;

(3) employee vacation, sick, and training allowance ratio: 8.71 percent;
(4) employee-related cost ratio: 23.6 percent;

(5) general administrative support ratio: 13.25 percent;

(6) program-related expense ratio: 1.3 percent; and

(7) absence and utilization factor ratio: 3.9 percent.

(c) Component values for family foster care are:

(1) competitive workforce factor: 4.7 percent;

(2) supervisory span of control ratio: 11 percent;

(3) employee vacation, sick, and training allowance ratio: 8.71 percent;
(4) employee-related cost ratio: 23.6 percent;

(5) general administrative support ratio: 3.3 percent;

(6) program-related expense ratio: 1.3 percent; and

(7) absence factor: 1.7 percent.

(d) Component values for day training and habilitation, day support services, and
prevocational services are:

(1) competitive workforce factor: 4.7 percent;

(2) supervisory span of control ratio: 11 percent;

(3) employee vacation, sick, and training allowance ratio: 8.71 percent;
(4) employee-related cost ratio: 23.6 percent;

(5) program plan support ratio: 5.6 percent;

(6) client programming and support ratio: ten percent;

(7) general administrative support ratio: 13.25 percent;
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(8) program-related expense ratio: 1.8 percent; and
(9) absence and utilization factor ratio: 9.4 percent.

(d) Component values for day support services and prevocational services delivered

remotely are:

(1) competitive workforce factor: 4.7 percent;

(2) supervisory span of control ratio: 11 percent;

(3) employee vacation, sick, and training allowance ratio: 8.71 percent;

(4) employee-related cost ratio: 23.6 percent;

(5) program plan support ratio: 5.6 percent;

(6) client programming and support ratio: 7.67 percent;

(7) general administrative support ratio: 13.25 percent;

(8) program-related expense ratio: 1.8 percent; and

(9) absence and utilization factor ratio: 9.4 percent.

(e) Component values for adult day services are:

(1) competitive workforce factor: 4.7 percent;

(2) supervisory span of control ratio: 11 percent;

(3) employee vacation, sick, and training allowance ratio: 8.71 percent;
(4) employee-related cost ratio: 23.6 percent;

(5) program plan support ratio: 5.6 percent;

(6) client programming and support ratio: 7.4 percent;

(7) general administrative support ratio: 13.25 percent;

(8) program-related expense ratio: 1.8 percent; and

(9) absence and utilization factor ratio: 9.4 percent.

(f) Component values for unit-based services with programming are:
(1) competitive workforce factor: 4.7 percent;

(2) supervisory span of control ratio: 11 percent;

(3) employee vacation, sick, and training allowance ratio: 8.71 percent;

(4) employee-related cost ratio: 23.6 percent;
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(8) program-related expense ratio: 1.8 percent; and
(9) absence and utilization factor ratio: 9.4 percent.

(e) Component values for day support services and prevocational services delivered
remotely are:

(1) competitive workforce factor: 4.7 percent;

(2) supervisory span of control ratio: 11 percent;

(3) employee vacation, sick, and training allowance ratio: 8.71 percent;

(4) employee-related cost ratio: 23.6 percent;

(5) program plan support ratio: 5.6 percent;

(6) client programming and support ratio: 10.37 percent;

(7) general administrative support ratio: 13.25 percent;

(8) program-related expense ratio: 1.8 percent; and

(9) absence and utilization factor ratio: 9.4 percent.

(f) Component values for adult day services are:

(1) competitive workforce factor: 4.7 percent;

(2) supervisory span of control ratio: 11 percent;

(3) employee vacation, sick, and training allowance ratio: 8.71 percent;
(4) employee-related cost ratio: 23.6 percent;

(5) program plan support ratio: 5.6 percent;

(6) client programming and support ratio: 7.4 percent;

(7) general administrative support ratio: 13.25 percent;

(8) program-related expense ratio: 1.8 percent; and

(9) absence and utilization factor ratio: 9.4 percent.

D (g) Component values for unit-based services with programming are:
(1) competitive workforce factor: 4.7 percent;

(2) supervisory span of control ratio: 11 percent;

(3) employee vacation, sick, and training allowance ratio: 8.71 percent;

(4) employee-related cost ratio: 23.6 percent;

REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE



544.15
544.16
544.17
544.18
544.19

544.20
54421

544.22
544.23
544.24
544.25
544.26
544.27
545.1
545.2
5453

5454
545.5

545.6
545.7
545.8
545.9
545.10
545.11
545.12
545.13

545.14

arc:

are:

Disability Services and Continuing Care for Older Adults
House Language H2128-4

(5) program plan supports ratio: 15.5 percent;

(6) client programming and supports ratio: 4.7 percent;
(7) general administrative support ratio: 13.25 percent;
(8) program-related expense ratio: 6.1 percent; and

(9) absence and utilization factor ratio: 3.9 percent.

(g) Component values for unit-based services with programming delivered remotely

(1) competitive workforce factor: 4.7 percent;

(2) supervisory span of control ratio: 11 percent;

(3) employee vacation, sick, and training allowance ratio: 8.71 percent;

(4) employee-related cost ratio: 23.6 percent;

(5) program plan supports ratio: 5.6 percent;

(6) client programming and supports ratio: 1.53 percent;

(7) general administrative support ratio: 13.25 percent;

(8) program-related expense ratio: 6.1 percent; and

(9) absence and utilization factor ratio: 3.9 percent.

&) (h) Component values for unit-based services without programming except respite

(1) competitive workforce factor: 4.7 percent;

(2) supervisory span of control ratio: 11 percent;

(3) employee vacation, sick, and training allowance ratio: 8.71 percent;
(4) employee-related cost ratio: 23.6 percent;

(5) program plan support ratio: 7.0 percent;

(6) client programming and support ratio: 2.3 percent;

(7) general administrative support ratio: 13.25 percent;

(8) program-related expense ratio: 2.9 percent; and

(9) absence and utilization factor ratio: 3.9 percent.
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(5) program plan supports ratio: 15.5 percent;

(6) client programming and supports ratio: 4.7 percent;
(7) general administrative support ratio: 13.25 percent;
(8) program-related expense ratio: 6.1 percent; and

(9) absence and utilization factor ratio: 3.9 percent.

€2 (h) Component values for unit-based services with programming delivered remotely

(1) competitive workforce factor: 4.7 percent;

(2) supervisory span of control ratio: 11 percent;

(3) employee vacation, sick, and training allowance ratio: 8.71 percent;

(4) employee-related cost ratio: 23.6 percent;

(5) program plan supports ratio: 15.5 percent;

(6) client programming and supports ratio: 4.7 percent;

(7) general administrative support ratio: 13.25 percent;

(8) program-related expense ratio: 6.1 percent; and

(9) absence and utilization factor ratio: 3.9 percent.

(i) Component values for unit-based services without programming except respite are:

(1) competitive workforce factor: 4.7 percent;

(2) supervisory span of control ratio: 11 percent;

(3) employee vacation, sick, and training allowance ratio: 8.71 percent;
(4) employee-related cost ratio: 23.6 percent;

(5) program plan support ratio: 7.0 percent;

(6) client programming and support ratio: 2.3 percent;

(7) general administrative support ratio: 13.25 percent;

(8) program-related expense ratio: 2.9 percent; and

(9) absence and utilization factor ratio: 3.9 percent.
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(i) Component values for unit-based services without programming delivered remotely,
except respite, are:

(1) competitive workforce factor: 4.7 percent;

(2) supervisory span of control ratio: 11 percent;

(3) employee vacation, sick, and training allowance ratio: 8.71 percent;

(4) employee-related cost ratio: 23.6 percent;

(5) program plan support ratio: 1.3 percent;

(6) client programming and support ratio: 1.14 percent;

(7) general administrative support ratio: 13.25 percent;

(8) program-related expense ratio: 2.9 percent; and

(9) absence and utilization factor ratio: 3.9 percent.

) (j) Component values for unit-based services without programming for respite are:
(1) competitive workforce factor: 4.7 percent;

(2) supervisory span of control ratio: 11 percent;

(3) employee vacation, sick, and training allowance ratio: 8.71 percent;

(4) employee-related cost ratio: 23.6 percent;

(5) general administrative support ratio: 13.25 percent;

(6) program-related expense ratio: 2.9 percent; and

(7) absence and utilization factor ratio: 3.9 percent.

) (k) On July 1, 2022, and every two years thereafter, the commissioner shall update
the base wage index in paragraph (a) based on wage data by SOC from the Bureau of Labor
Statistics available 30 months and one day prior to the scheduled update. The commissioner
shall publish these updated values and load them into the rate management system.

) (1) Beginning February 1, 2021, and every two years thereafter, the commissioner
shall report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees and
divisions with jurisdiction over health and human services policy and finance an analysis
of the competitive workforce factor. The report must include recommendations to update
the competitive workforce factor using:

(1) the most recently available wage data by SOC code for the weighted average wage
for direct care staff for residential services and direct care staff for day services;
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(j) Component values for unit-based services without programming delivered remotely,
except respite, are:

(1) competitive workforce factor: 4.7 percent;

(2) supervisory span of control ratio: 11 percent;

(3) employee vacation, sick, and training allowance ratio: 8.71 percent;

(4) employee-related cost ratio: 23.6 percent;

(5) program plan support ratio: 7.0 percent;

(6) client programming and support ratio: 2.3 percent;

(7) general administrative support ratio: 13.25 percent;

(8) program-related expense ratio: 2.9 percent; and

(9) absence and utilization factor ratio: 3.9 percent.

th) (k) Component values for unit-based services without programming for respite are:
(1) competitive workforce factor: 4.7 percent;

(2) supervisory span of control ratio: 11 percent;

(3) employee vacation, sick, and training allowance ratio: 8.71 percent;

(4) employee-related cost ratio: 23.6 percent;

(5) general administrative support ratio: 13.25 percent;

(6) program-related expense ratio: 2.9 percent; and

(7) absence and utilization factor ratio: 3.9 percent.

) (1) On July 1, 2022, and every two years thereafter, the commissioner shall update
the base wage index in paragraph (a) based on wage data by SOC from the Bureau of Labor
Statistics available 30 months and one day prior to the scheduled update. The commissioner
shall publish these updated values and load them into the rate management system.

) (m) Beginning February 1, 2021, and every two years thereafter, the commissioner
shall report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees and
divisions with jurisdiction over health and human services policy and finance an analysis
of the competitive workforce factor. The report must include recommendations to update
the competitive workforce factor using:

(1) the most recently available wage data by SOC code for the weighted average wage
for direct care staff for residential services and direct care staff for day services;
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(2) the most recently available wage data by SOC code of the weighted average wage
of comparable occupations; and

(3) workforce data as required under subdivision 10a, paragraph (g).

The commissioner shall not recommend an increase or decrease of the competitive workforce
factor from the current value by more than two percentage points. If, after a biennial analysis
for the next report, the competitive workforce factor is less than or equal to zero, the
commissioner shall recommend a competitive workforce factor of zero.

o (m) On July 1, 2022, and every two years thereafter, the commissioner shall update
the framework components in paragraph €& (¢), clause (6); paragraph ¢e) (d), clause (6);
paragraph €£) (e), clause (6); and paragraph ¢g) (f), clause (6); paragraph (g), clause (6);
paragraph (h), clause 6; and paragraph (i), clause (6); subdivision 6, paragraphs (b), clauses
(9) and (10), and (e), clause (10); and subdivision 7, clauses (11), (17), and (18); and
subdivision 18, for changes in the Consumer Price Index. The commissioner shall adjust
these values higher or lower by the percentage change in the CPI-U from the date of the
previous update to the data available 30 months and one day prior to the scheduled update.
The commissioner shall publish these updated values and load them into the rate management
system.

th (n) Upon the implementation of the updates under paragraphs 1 (k) and ¢k (m), rate
adjustments authorized under section 256B.439, subdivision 7; Laws 2013, chapter 108,
article 7, section 60; and Laws 2014, chapter 312, article 27, section 75, shall be removed
from service rates calculated under this section.

{m) (0) Any rate adjustments applied to the service rates calculated under this section
outside of the cost components and rate methodology specified in this section shall be
removed from rate calculations upon implementation of the updates under paragraphs &)

(k) and ¢ (m).

) (p) In this subdivision, if Bureau of Labor Statistics occupational codes or Consumer
Price Index items are unavailable in the future, the commissioner shall recommend to the
legislature codes or items to update and replace missing component values.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, or upon federal approval,
whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes
when federal approval is obtained.

Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.4914, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Payments for residential support services. (a) For purposes of this subdivision,
residential support services includes 24-hour customized living services, community

residential services, customized living services, familyresidential-serviees; fostereare
serviees; and integrated community supports;-and-suppertive ivingservieesdaily.
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(2) the most recently available wage data by SOC code of the weighted average wage
of comparable occupations; and

(3) workforce data as required under subdivision 10a, paragraph (g).

The commissioner shall not recommend an increase or decrease of the competitive workforce
factor from the current value by more than two percentage points. If, after a biennial analysis
for the next report, the competitive workforce factor is less than or equal to zero, the
commissioner shall recommend a competitive workforce factor of zero.

o (n) On July 1, 2022, and every two years thereafter, the commissioner shall update
the framework components in paragraph (d), clause (6); paragraph (e), clause (6); paragraph
(), clause (6); and paragraph (g), clause (6); paragraph (h), clause (6); paragraph (i), clause
(6); paragraph (j), clause (6); subdivision 6, paragraphs (b), clauses (9) and (10), and (e),
clause (10); and subdivision 7, clauses (11), (17), and (18), for changes in the Consumer
Price Index. The commissioner shall adjust these values higher or lower by the percentage
change in the CPI-U from the date of the previous update to the data available 30 months
and one day prior to the scheduled update. The commissioner shall publish these updated
values and load them into the rate management system.

th (o) Upon the implementation of the updates under paragraphs (-and-tk) (1) and (n),
rate adjustments authorized under section 256B.439, subdivision 7; Laws 2013, chapter
108, article 7, section 60; and Laws 2014, chapter 312, article 27, section 75, shall be
removed from service rates calculated under this section.

{m) (p) Any rate adjustments applied to the service rates calculated under this section
outside of the cost components and rate methodology specified in this section shall be
removed from rate calculations upon implementation of the updates under paragraphs &}

and-(k) (1) and (n).

) (q) In this subdivision, if Bureau of Labor Statistics occupational codes or Consumer
Price Index items are unavailable in the future, the commissioner shall recommend to the
legislature codes or items to update and replace missing component values.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, six months after the
end of the federal public health emergency, or upon federal approval, whichever is later.
The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes when the federal
public health emergency ends and when federal approval is obtained.

Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.4914, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Payments for residential support services. (a) For purposes of this subdivision,
residential support services includes 24-hour customized living services, community
residential services, customized living services, family residential services, foster care
services, integrated community supports, and supportive living services daily.
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(b) Payments for community residential services;eerperatefostereare-serviees; corporate

5 5 S O

must be calculatd as follows:

(1) determine the number of shared staffing and individual direct staff hours to meet a
recipient's needs provided on site or through monitoring technology;

(2) personnel hourly wage rate must be based on the 2009 Bureau of Labor Statistics
Minnesota-specific rates or rates derived by the commissioner as provided in subdivision
5;

(3) except for subdivision 5, paragraph (a), clauses (4) and (21) to (23), multiply the
result of clause (2) by the product of one plus the competitive workforce factor in subdivision
S, paragraph (b), clause (1);

(4) for a recipient requiring customization for deaf and hard-of-hearing language
accessibility under subdivision 12, add the customization rate provided in subdivision 12
to the result of clause (3);

(5) multiply the number of shared and individual direct staff hours provided on site or
through monitoring technology and nursing hours by the appropriate staff wages;

(6) multiply the number of shared and individual direct staff hours provided on site or
through monitoring technology and nursing hours by the product of the supervision span
of control ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (b), clause (2), and the appropriate supervision
wage in subdivision 5, paragraph (a), clause (21);

(7) combine the results of clauses (5) and (6), excluding any shared and individual direct
staff hours provided through monitoring technology, and multiply the result by one plus
the employee vacation, sick, and training allowance ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (b),
clause (3). This is defined as the direct staffing cost;

(8) for employee-related expenses, multiply the direct staffing cost, excluding any shared
and individual direct staff hours provided through monitoring technology, by one plus the
employee-related cost ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (b), clause (4);

(9) for client programming and supports, the commissioner shall add $2,179; and

(10) for transportation, if provided, the commissioner shall add $1,680, or $3,000 if
customized for adapted transport, based on the resident with the highest assessed need.

(c) The total rate must be calculated using the following steps:

(1) subtotal paragraph (b), clauses (8) to (10), and the direct staffing cost of any shared
and individual direct staff hours provided through monitoring technology that was excluded
in clause (8);

(2) sum the standard general and administrative rate, the program-related expense ratio,
and the absence and utilization ratio;
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(b) Payments for community residential services, corporate foster care services, corporate
supportive living services daily, family residential services, and family foster care services
must be calculated as follows:

(1) determine the number of shared staffing and individual direct staff hours to meet a
recipient's needs provided on site or through monitoring technology;

(2) personnel hourly wage rate must be based on the 2009 Bureau of Labor Statistics
Minnesota-specific rates or rates derived by the commissioner as provided in subdivision
5;

(3) except for subdivision 5, paragraph (a), clauses (4) and (21) to (23), multiply the
result of clause (2) by the product of one plus the competitive workforce factor in subdivision
5, paragraph (b), clause (1);

(4) for a recipient requiring customization for deaf and hard-of-hearing language
accessibility under subdivision 12, add the customization rate provided in subdivision 12
to the result of clause (3);

(5) multiply the number of shared and individual direct staff hours provided on site or
through monitoring technology and nursing hours by the appropriate staff wages;

(6) multiply the number of shared and individual direct staff hours provided on site or
through monitoring technology and nursing hours by the product of the supervision span
of control ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (b), clause (2), and the appropriate supervision
wage in subdivision 5, paragraph (a), clause (21);

(7) combine the results of clauses (5) and (6), excluding any shared and individual direct
staff hours provided through monitoring technology, and multiply the result by one plus
the employee vacation, sick, and training allowance ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (b),
clause (3). This is defined as the direct staffing cost;

(8) for employee-related expenses, multiply the direct staffing cost, excluding any shared
and individual direct staff hours provided through monitoring technology, by one plus the
employee-related cost ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (b), clause (4);

(9) for client programming and supports, the commissioner shall add $2,179; and

(10) for transportation, if provided, the commissioner shall add $1,680, or $3,000 if
customized for adapted transport, based on the resident with the highest assessed need.

(c) The total rate must be calculated using the following steps:

(1) subtotal paragraph (b), clauses (8) to (10), and the direct staffing cost of any shared
and individual direct staff hours provided through monitoring technology that was excluded
in clause (8);

(2) sum the standard general and administrative rate, the program-related expense ratio,
and the absence and utilization ratio;
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(3) divide the result of clause (1) by one minus the result of clause (2). This is the total
payment amount; and

(4) adjust the result of clause (3) by a factor to be determined by the commissioner to
adjust for regional differences in the cost of providing services.

(d) The payment methodology for customized living, 24-hour customized living, and
residential care services must be the customized living tool. Revisions to the customized
living tool must be made to reflect the services and activities unique to disability-related
recipient needs. Customized living and 24-hour customized living rates determined under
this section shall not include more than 24 hours of support in a daily unit. The commissioner
shall establish acuity-based input limits, based on case mix, for customized living and
24-hour customized living rates determined under this section.

(e) Payments for integrated community support services must be calculated as follows:

(1) the base shared staffing shall be eight hours divided by the number of people receiving
support in the integrated community support setting;

(2) the individual staffing hours shall be the average number of direct support hours
provided directly to the service recipient;

(3) the personnel hourly wage rate must be based on the most recent Bureau of Labor
Statistics Minnesota-specific rates or rates derived by the commissioner as provided in
subdivision 5;

(4) except for subdivision 5, paragraph (a), clauses (4) and (21) to (23), multiply the
result of clause (3) by the product of one plus the competitive workforce factor in subdivision
5, paragraph (b), clause (1);

(5) for a recipient requiring customization for deaf and hard-of-hearing language
accessibility under subdivision 12, add the customization rate provided in subdivision 12
to the result of clause (4);

(6) multiply the number of shared and individual direct staff hours in clauses (1) and
(2) by the appropriate staff wages;

(7) multiply the number of shared and individual direct staff hours in clauses (1) and
(2) by the product of the supervisory span of control ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (b),
clause (2), and the appropriate supervisory wage in subdivision 5, paragraph (a), clause

21);

(8) combine the results of clauses (6) and (7) and multiply the result by one plus the
employee vacation, sick, and training allowance ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (b), clause
(3). This is defined as the direct staffing cost;
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(3) divide the result of clause (1) by one minus the result of clause (2). This is the total
payment amount; and

(4) adjust the result of clause (3) by a factor to be determined by the commissioner to
adjust for regional differences in the cost of providing services.

(d) The payment methodology for customized living and, 24-hour customized living,
and residential-eare services must be the customized 11v1ng tool. Revisions-te The
commissioner shall revise the customized living tool mustbemade to reflect the services
and activities unique to disability-related recipient needs , adjust for regional differences in
the cost of providing services, and the rate adjustments described in section 256S.205.
Customized living and 24-hour customized living rates determined under this section shall
not include more than 24 hours of support in a daily unit. The commissioner shall establish
acuity-based input limits, based on case mix, for customized living and 24-hour customized
living rates determined under this section.

(e) Payments for integrated community support services must be calculated as follows:

(1) the base shared staffing shall must be eight hours divided by the number of people
receiving support in the integrated community support setting;

(2) the individual staffing hours shall must be the average number of direct support hours
provided directly to the service recipient;

(3) the personnel hourly wage rate must be based on the most recent Bureau of Labor
Statistics Minnesota-specific rates or rates derived by the commissioner as provided in
subdivision 5;

(4) except for subdivision 5, paragraph (a), clauses (4) and (21) to (23), multiply the
result of clause (3) by the product of one plus the competitive workforce factor in subdivision
5, paragraph (b), clause (1);

(5) for a recipient requiring customization for deaf and hard-of-hearing language
accessibility under subdivision 12, add the customization rate provided in subdivision 12
to the result of clause (4);

(6) multiply the number of shared and individual direct staff hours in clauses (1) and
(2) by the appropriate staff wages;

(7) multiply the number of shared and individual direct staff hours in clauses (1) and
(2) by the product of the supervisory span of control ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (b),
clause (2), and the appropriate supervisory wage in subdivision 5, paragraph (a), clause

21);

(8) combine the results of clauses (6) and (7) and multiply the result by one plus the
employee vacation, sick, and training allowance ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (b), clause
(3). This is defined as the direct staffing cost;
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(9) for employee-related expenses, multiply the direct staffing cost by one plus the
employee-related cost ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (b), clause (4); and

(10) for client programming and supports, the commissioner shall add $2,260.21 divided
by 365.

() The total rate must be calculated as follows:
(1) add the results of paragraph (e), clauses (9) and (10);

(2) add the standard general and administrative rate, the program-related expense ratio,
and the absence and utilization factor ratio;

(3) divide the result of clause (1) by one minus the result of clause (2). This is the total
payment amount; and

(4) adjust the result of clause (3) by a factor to be determined by the commissioner to
adjust for regional differences in the cost of providing services.

(g) The payment methodology for customized living and 24-hour customized living
services must be the customized living tool. The commissioner shall revise the customized
living tool to reflect the services and activities unique to disability-related recipient needs
and adjust for regional differences in the cost of providing services.

(h) The number of days authorized for all individuals enrolling in residential services
must include every day that services start and end.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, or upon federal approval,
whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes
when federal approval is obtained.

Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.4914, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. Payments for day programs. Payments for services with day programs
including adult day services, day treatment and habilitation, day support services,
prevocational services, and structured day services, provided in person or remotely, must
be calculated as follows:

(1) determine the number of units of service and staffing ratio to meet a recipient's needs:

(i) the staffing ratios for the units of service provided to a recipient in a typical week
must be averaged to determine an individual's staffing ratio; and

(ii) the commissioner, in consultation with service providers, shall develop a uniform
staffing ratio worksheet to be used to determine staffing ratios under this subdivision;

(2) personnel hourly wage rates must be based on the 2009 Bureau of Labor Statistics
Minnesota-specific rates or rates derived by the commissioner as provided in subdivision
5;
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(9) for employee-related expenses, multiply the direct staffing cost by one plus the
employee-related cost ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (b), clause (4); and

(10) for client programming and supports, the commissioner shall add $2,260.21 divided
by 365.

() The total rate must be calculated as follows:
(1) add the results of paragraph (e), clauses (9) and (10);

(2) add the standard general and administrative rate, the program-related expense ratio,
and the absence and utilization factor ratio;

(3) divide the result of clause (1) by one minus the result of clause (2). This is the total
payment amount; and

(4) adjust the result of clause (3) by a factor to be determined by the commissioner to
adjust for regional differences in the cost of providing services.
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th)(g) The number of days authorized for all individuals enrolling in residential services
must include every day that services start and end.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, or upon federal approval,
whichever is later, except the fourth sentence of paragraph (d) is effective January 1, 2022.
The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval
is obtained.

Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.4914, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. Payments for day programs. Payments for services with day programs
including adult day services, day treatment and habilitation, day support services,
prevocational services, and structured day services provided in person or remotely must be
calculated as follows:

(1) determine the number of units of service and staffing ratio to meet a recipient's needs:

(i) the staffing ratios for the units of service provided to a recipient in a typical week
must be averaged to determine an individual's staffing ratio; and

(ii) the commissioner, in consultation with service providers, shall develop a uniform
staffing ratio worksheet to be used to determine staffing ratios under this subdivision;

(2) personnel hourly wage rates must be based on the 2009 Bureau of Labor Statistics
Minnesota-specific rates or rates derived by the commissioner as provided in subdivision
5;
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(3) except for subdivision 5, paragraph (a), clauses (4) and (21) to (23), multiply the
result of clause (2) by the product of one plus the competitive workforce factor in subdivision
5, paragraph &) (c), clause (1);

(4) for a recipient requiring customization for deaf and hard-of-hearing language
accessibility under subdivision 12, add the customization rate provided in subdivision 12
to the result of clause (3);

(5) multiply the number of day program direct staff hours and nursing hours by the
appropriate staff wage;

(6) multiply the number of day direct staff hours by the product of the supervision span
of control ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (&) (), clause (2), for in-person services or
subdivision 5, paragraph (d), clause (2), for remote services, and the appropriate supervision
wage in subdivision 5, paragraph (a), clause (21);

(7) combine the results of clauses (5) and (6), and multiply the result by one plus the
employee vacation, sick, and training allowance ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph &) (c),
clause (3), for in-person services or subdivision 5, paragraph (d), clause (3), for remote
services. This is defined as the direct staffing rate;

(8) for program plan support, multiply the result of clause (7) by one plus the program
plan support ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (&) (c), clause (5), for in-person services or
subdivision 5, paragraph (d), clause (5), for remote services;

(9) for employee-related expenses, multiply the result of clause (8) by one plus the
employee-related cost ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph ¢ (c), clause (4), for in-person
services or subdivision 5, paragraph (d), clause (4), for remote services;

(10) for client programming and supports, multiply the result of clause (9) by one plus
the client programming and support ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph &) (¢), clause (6), for
in-person services or subdivision 5, paragraph (d), clause (6), for remote services;

(11) for program facility costs, add $19.30 per week with consideration of staffing ratios
to meet individual needs for in-person service only;

(12) for adult day bath services, add $7.01 per 15 minute unit;
(13) this is the subtotal rate;

(14) sum the standard general and administrative rate, the program-related expense ratio,
and the absence and utilization factor ratio;

(15) divide the result of clause (13) by one minus the result of clause (14). This is the
total payment amount;

(16) adjust the result of clause (15) by a factor to be determined by the commissioner
to adjust for regional differences in the cost of providing services;
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(3) except for subdivision 5, paragraph (a), clauses (4) and (21) to (23), multiply the
result of clause (2) by the product of one plus the competitive workforce factor in subdivision
S, paragraph (d), clause (1);

(4) for a recipient requiring customization for deaf and hard-of-hearing language
accessibility under subdivision 12, add the customization rate provided in subdivision 12
to the result of clause (3);

(5) multiply the number of day program direct staff hours and nursing hours by the
appropriate staff wage;

(6) multiply the number of day direct staff hours by the product of the supervision span
of control ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (d), clause (2), for in-person services or
subdivision 5, paragraph (e), clause (2), for remote services, and the appropriate supervision
wage in subdivision 5, paragraph (a), clause (21);

(7) combine the results of clauses (5) and (6), and multiply the result by one plus the
employee vacation, sick, and training allowance ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (d), clause
(3), for in-person services or subdivision 5, paragraph (e), clause (3), for remote services.
This is defined as the direct staffing rate;

(8) for program plan support, multiply the result of clause (7) by one plus the program
plan support ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (d), clause (5), for in-person services or
subdivision 5, paragraph (e), clause (5), for remote services;

(9) for employee-related expenses, multiply the result of clause (8) by one plus the
employee-related cost ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (d), clause (4), for in-person services
or subdivision 5, paragraph (e), clause (4), for remote services;

(10) for client programming and supports, multiply the result of clause (9) by one plus
the client programming and support ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (d), clause (6), for
in-person services or subdivision 5, paragraph (e), clause (6), for remote services;

(11) for program facility costs, add $39-38 $20.02 per week with consideration of staffing
ratios to meet individual needs;

(12) for adult day bath services, add $7.01 per 15 minute unit;
(13) this is the subtotal rate;

(14) sum the standard general and administrative rate, the program-related expense ratio,
and the absence and utilization factor ratio;

(15) divide the result of clause (13) by one minus the result of clause (14). This is the
total payment amount;

(16) adjust the result of clause (15) by a factor to be determined by the commissioner
to adjust for regional differences in the cost of providing services;
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(17) for transportation provided as part of day training and habilitation for an individual
who does not require a lift, add:

(i) $10.50 for a trip between zero and ten miles for a nonshared ride in a vehicle without
a lift, $8.83 for a shared ride in a vehicle without a lift, and $9.25 for a shared ride in a
vehicle with a lift;

(ii) $15.75 for a trip between 11 and 20 miles for a nonshared ride in a vehicle without
a lift, $10.58 for a shared ride in a vehicle without a lift, and $11.88 for a shared ride in a
vehicle with a lift;

(iii) $25.75 for a trip between 21 and 50 miles for a nonshared ride in a vehicle without
a lift, $13.92 for a shared ride in a vehicle without a lift, and $16.88 for a shared ride in a
vehicle with a lift; or

(iv) $33.50 for a trip of 51 miles or more for a nonshared ride in a vehicle without a lift,
$16.50 for a shared ride in a vehicle without a lift, and $20.75 for a shared ride in a vehicle
with a lift;

(18) for transportation provided as part of day training and habilitation for an individual
who does require a lift, add:

(i) $19.05 for a trip between zero and ten miles for a nonshared ride in a vehicle with a
lift, and $15.05 for a shared ride in a vehicle with a lift;

(ii) $32.16 for a trip between 11 and 20 miles for a nonshared ride in a vehicle with a
lift, and $28.16 for a shared ride in a vehicle with a lift;

(iii) $58.76 for a trip between 21 and 50 miles for a nonshared ride in a vehicle with a
lift, and $58.76 for a shared ride in a vehicle with a lift; or

(iv) $80.93 for a trip of 51 miles or more for a nonshared ride in a vehicle with a lift,
and $80.93 for a shared ride in a vehicle with a lift.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, or upon federal approval,
whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes
when federal approval is obtained.

Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.4914, subdivision 8, is amended to read:

Subd. 8. Payments for unit-based services with programming. Payments for unit-based
services with programming, including employment exploration services, employment
development services, housing access coordination, individualized home supports with
family training, individualized home supports with training, in-home family support,
independent living skills training, and hourly supported living services provided to an
individual outside of any day or residential service plan, provided in person or remotely,
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(17) for transportation provided as part of day training and habilitation for an individual
who does not require a lift, add:

(i) $10.50 for a trip between zero and ten miles for a nonshared ride in a vehicle without
a lift, $8.83 for a shared ride in a vehicle without a lift, and $9.25 for a shared ride in a
vehicle with a lift;

(ii) $15.75 for a trip between 11 and 20 miles for a nonshared ride in a vehicle without
a lift, $10.58 for a shared ride in a vehicle without a lift, and $11.88 for a shared ride in a
vehicle with a lift;

(iii) $25.75 for a trip between 21 and 50 miles for a nonshared ride in a vehicle without
a lift, $13.92 for a shared ride in a vehicle without a lift, and $16.88 for a shared ride in a
vehicle with a lift; or

(iv) $33.50 for a trip of 51 miles or more for a nonshared ride in a vehicle without a lift,
$16.50 for a shared ride in a vehicle without a lift, and $20.75 for a shared ride in a vehicle
with a lift;

(18) for transportation provided as part of day training and habilitation for an individual
who does require a lift, add:

(i) $19.05 for a trip between zero and ten miles for a nonshared ride in a vehicle with a
lift, and $15.05 for a shared ride in a vehicle with a lift;

(ii) $32.16 for a trip between 11 and 20 miles for a nonshared ride in a vehicle with a
lift, and $28.16 for a shared ride in a vehicle with a lift;

(iii) $58.76 for a trip between 21 and 50 miles for a nonshared ride in a vehicle with a
lift, and $58.76 for a shared ride in a vehicle with a lift; or

(iv) $80.93 for a trip of 51 miles or more for a nonshared ride in a vehicle with a lift,
and $80.93 for a shared ride in a vehicle with a lift.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, six months after the
end of the federal public health emergency, or upon federal approval, whichever is later.
The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes when the federal
public health emergency ends and when federal approval is obtained.

Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.4914, subdivision 8, is amended to read:

Subd. 8. Payments for unit-based services with programming. Payments for unit-based
services with programming, including employment exploration services, employment
development services, housing access coordination, individualized home supports with
family training, individualized home supports with training, in-home family support,
independent living skills training, and hourly supported living services provided to an
individual outside of any day or residential service plan provided in person or remotely
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must be calculated as follows, unless the services are authorized separately under subdivision
6or7:

(1) determine the number of units of service to meet a recipient's needs;

(2) personnel hourly wage rate must be based on the 2009 Bureau of Labor Statistics
Minnesota-specific rates or rates derived by the commissioner as provided in subdivision
5;

(3) except for subdivision 5, paragraph (a), clauses (4) and (21) to (23), multiply the
result of clause (2) by the product of one plus the competitive workforce factor in subdivision
5, paragraph (f), clause (1);

(4) for a recipient requiring customization for deaf and hard-of-hearing language
accessibility under subdivision 12, add the customization rate provided in subdivision 12
to the result of clause (3);

(5) multiply the number of direct staff hours by the appropriate staff wage;

(6) multiply the number of direct staff hours by the product of the supervision span of
control ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (f), clause (2), for in-person services or subdivision
5, paragraph (g), clause (2), for remote services, and the appropriate supervision wage in
subdivision 5, paragraph (a), clause (21);

(7) combine the results of clauses (5) and (6), and multiply the result by one plus the
employee vacation, sick, and training allowance ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (f), clause
(3), for in-person services or subdivision 5, paragraph (g), clause (3), for remote services.
This is defined as the direct staffing rate;

(8) for program plan support, multiply the result of clause (7) by one plus the program
plan supports ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (f), clause (5), for in-person services or
subdivision 5, paragraph (g), clause (5), for remote services;

(9) for employee-related expenses, multiply the result of clause (8) by one plus the
employee-related cost ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (f), clause (4), for in-person services
or subdivision 5, paragraph (g), clause (4), for remote services;

(10) for client programming and supports, multiply the result of clause (9) by one plus
the client programming and supports ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (f), clause (6), for
in-person services or subdivision 5, paragraph (g), clause (6), for remote services;

(11) this is the subtotal rate;

(12) sum the standard general and administrative rate, the program-related expense ratio,
and the absence and utilization factor ratio;

(13) divide the result of clause (11) by one minus the result of clause (12). This is the
total payment amount;
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must be calculated as follows, unless the services are authorized separately under subdivision
6or7:

(1) determine the number of units of service to meet a recipient's needs;

(2) personnel hourly wage rate must be based on the 2009 Bureau of Labor Statistics
Minnesota-specific rates or rates derived by the commissioner as provided in subdivision
5;

(3) except for subdivision 5, paragraph (a), clauses (4) and (21) to (23), multiply the
result of clause (2) by the product of one plus the competitive workforce factor in subdivision
5, paragraph ¢ (g), clause (1);

(4) for a recipient requiring customization for deaf and hard-of-hearing language
accessibility under subdivision 12, add the customization rate provided in subdivision 12
to the result of clause (3);

(5) multiply the number of direct staff hours by the appropriate staff wage;

(6) multiply the number of direct staff hours by the product of the supervision span of
control ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (£} (g), clause (2), for in-person services or
subdivision 5, paragraph (h), clause (2), for remote services, and the appropriate supervision
wage in subdivision 5, paragraph (a), clause (21);

(7) combine the results of clauses (5) and (6), and multiply the result by one plus the
employee vacation, sick, and training allowance ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph ) (g),
clause (3), for in-person services or subdivision 5, paragraph (h), clause (3), for remote
services. This is defined as the direct staffing rate;

(8) for program plan support, multiply the result of clause (7) by one plus the program
plan supports ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph ) (g), clause (5), for in-person services or
subdivision 5, paragraph (h), clause (5), for remote services;

(9) for employee-related expenses, multiply the result of clause (8) by one plus the
employee-related cost ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph ¢ (g), clause (4), for in-person
services or subdivision 5, paragraph (h), clause (4), for remote services;

(10) for client programming and supports, multiply the result of clause (9) by one plus
the client programming and supports ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph £ (g), clause (6),
for in-person services or subdivision 5, paragraph (h), clause (6), for remote services;

(11) this is the subtotal rate;

(12) sum the standard general and administrative rate, the program-related expense ratio,
and the absence and utilization factor ratio;

(13) divide the result of clause (11) by one minus the result of clause (12). This is the
total payment amount;
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(14) for employment exploration services provided in a shared manner, divide the total
payment amount in clause (13) by the number of service recipients, not to exceed five. For
employment support services provided in a shared manner, divide the total payment amount
in clause (13) by the number of service recipients, not to exceed six. For independent living
skills training, individualized home supports with training, and individualized home supports
with family training provided in a shared manner, divide the total payment amount in clause
(13) by the number of service recipients, not to exceed two; and

(15) adjust the result of clause (14) by a factor to be determined by the commissioner
to adjust for regional differences in the cost of providing services.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, or upon federal approval,
whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes
when federal approval is obtained.

Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.4914, subdivision 9, is amended to read:

Subd. 9. Payments for unit-based services without programming. Payments for
unit-based services without programming, including individualized home supports, night
supervision, personal support, respite, and companion care provided to an individual outside
of any day or residential service plan, provided in person or remotely, must be calculated
as follows unless the services are authorized separately under subdivision 6 or 7:

(1) for all services except respite, determine the number of units of service to meet a
recipient's needs;

(2) personnel hourly wage rates must be based on the 2009 Bureau of Labor Statistics
Minnesota-specific rate or rates derived by the commissioner as provided in subdivision 5;

(3) except for subdivision 5, paragraph (a), clauses (4) and (21) to (23), multiply the
result of clause (2) by the product of one plus the competitive workforce factor in subdivision
5, paragraph ¢g) (h), clause (1);

(4) for a recipient requiring customization for deaf and hard-of-hearing language
accessibility under subdivision 12, add the customization rate provided in subdivision 12
to the result of clause (3);

(5) multiply the number of direct staff hours by the appropriate staff wage;
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(14) for employment exploration services provided in a shared manner, divide the total
payment amount in clause (13) by the number of service recipients, not to exceed five. For
employment support services provided in a shared manner, divide the total payment amount
in clause (13) by the number of service recipients, not to exceed six. For independent living
skills trainingsindividualized-homesupports-with-training; and individualized home supports
with family training provided in a shared manner, divide the total payment amount in clause
(13) by the number of service recipients, not to exceed two. For individualized home supports
with training, provided in a shared manner, including for a day unit of individualized home
supports with training provided in a shared manner, divide the total payment amount in
clause (13) by the number of service recipients, not to exceed three; and

(15) adjust the result of clause (14) by a factor to be determined by the commissioner
to adjust for regional differences in the cost of providing services.

EFFECTIVE DATE. (a) Except for the amendment to clause (14), this section is
effective January 1, 2022, six months after the end of the federal public health emergency,
or upon federal approval, whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall
notify the revisor of statutes when the federal public health emergency ends and when
federal approval is obtained.

(b) The amendment to clause (14) is effective January 1, 2022, or upon federal approval,
whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes
when federal approval is obtained.

Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.4914, subdivision 9, is amended to read:

Subd. 9. Payments for unit-based services without programming. Payments for
unit-based services without programming, including individualized home supports, night
supervision, personal support, respite, and companion care provided to an individual outside
of any day or residential service plan provided in person or remotely must be calculated as
follows unless the services are authorized separately under subdivision 6 or 7:

(1) for all services except respite, determine the number of units of service to meet a
recipient's needs;

(2) personnel hourly wage rates must be based on the 2009 Bureau of Labor Statistics
Minnesota-specific rate or rates derived by the commissioner as provided in subdivision 5;

(3) except for subdivision 5, paragraph (a), clauses (4) and (21) to (23), multiply the
result of clause (2) by the product of one plus the competitive workforce factor in subdivision
5, paragraph €g) (i), clause (1);

(4) for a recipient requiring customization for deaf and hard-of-hearing language
accessibility under subdivision 12, add the customization rate provided in subdivision 12
to the result of clause (3);

(5) multiply the number of direct staff hours by the appropriate staff wage;
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(6) multiply the number of direct staff hours by the product of the supervision span of
control ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph gy (h), clause (2), for in-person services or
subdivision 5, paragraph (i), clause (2), for remote services, and the appropriate supervision
wage in subdivision 5, paragraph (a), clause (21);

(7) combine the results of clauses (5) and (6), and multiply the result by one plus the
employee vacation, sick, and training allowance ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph ¢g) (h),
clause (3), for in-person services or subdivision 5, paragraph (i), clause (3), for remote
services. This is defined as the direct staffing rate;

(8) for program plan support, multiply the result of clause (7) by one plus the program
plan support ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph {g) (h), clause (5), for in-person services or
subdivision 5, paragraph (i), clause (5), for remote services;

(9) for employee-related expenses, multiply the result of clause (8) by one plus the
employee-related cost ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph ¢g) (h), clause (4), for in-person
services or subdivision 5, paragraph (i), clause (4), for remote services;

(10) for client programming and supports, multiply the result of clause (9) by one plus
the client programming and support ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (g} (h), clause (6), for
in-person services or subdivision 5, paragraph (i), clause (6), for remote services;

(11) this is the subtotal rate;

(12) sum the standard general and administrative rate, the program-related expense ratio,
and the absence and utilization factor ratio;

(13) divide the result of clause (11) by one minus the result of clause (12). This is the
total payment amount;

(14) for respite services, determine the number of day units of service to meet an
individual's needs;

(15) personnel hourly wage rates must be based on the 2009 Bureau of Labor Statistics
Minnesota-specific rate or rates derived by the commissioner as provided in subdivision 5;

(16) except for subdivision 5, paragraph (a), clauses (4) and (21) to (23), multiply the
result of clause (15) by the product of one plus the competitive workforce factor in
subdivision 5, paragraph k) (j), clause (1);

(17) for a recipient requiring deaf and hard-of-hearing customization under subdivision
12, add the customization rate provided in subdivision 12 to the result of clause (16);

(18) multiply the number of direct staff hours by the appropriate staff wage;

(19) multiply the number of direct staff hours by the product of the supervisory span of
control ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph h) (j), clause (2), and the appropriate supervision
wage in subdivision 5, paragraph (a), clause (21);
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(6) multiply the number of direct staff hours by the product of the supervision span of
control ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph ¢g) (i), clause (2), for in-person services or
subdivision 5, paragraph (j), clause (2), for remote services, and the appropriate supervision
wage in subdivision 5, paragraph (a), clause (21);

(7) combine the results of clauses (5) and (6), and multiply the result by one plus the
employee vacation, sick, and training allowance ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph ¢g) (i),
clause (3), for in-person services or subdivision 5, paragraph (j), clause (3), for remote
services. This is defined as the direct staffing rate;

(8) for program plan support, multiply the result of clause (7) by one plus the program
plan support ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph {g) (i), clause (5), for in-person services or
subdivision 5, paragraph (j), clause (5), for remote services;

(9) for employee-related expenses, multiply the result of clause (8) by one plus the
employee-related cost ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph ¢g) (i), clause (4), for in-person
services or subdivision 5, paragraph (j), clause (4), for remote services;

(10) for client programming and supports, multiply the result of clause (9) by one plus
the client programming and support ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph {g) (i), clause (6), for
in-person services or subdivision 5, paragraph (j), clause (6), for remote services;

(11) this is the subtotal rate;

(12) sum the standard general and administrative rate, the program-related expense ratio,
and the absence and utilization factor ratio;

(13) divide the result of clause (11) by one minus the result of clause (12). This is the
total payment amount;

(14) for respite services, determine the number of day units of service to meet an
individual's needs;

(15) personnel hourly wage rates must be based on the 2009 Bureau of Labor Statistics
Minnesota-specific rate or rates derived by the commissioner as provided in subdivision 5;

(16) except for subdivision 5, paragraph (a), clauses (4) and (21) to (23), multiply the
result of clause (15) by the product of one plus the competitive workforce factor in
subdivision 5, paragraph th) (k), clause (1);

(17) for a recipient requiring deaf and hard-of-hearing customization under subdivision
12, add the customization rate provided in subdivision 12 to the result of clause (16);

(18) multiply the number of direct staff hours by the appropriate staff wage;

(19) multiply the number of direct staff hours by the product of the supervisory span of
control ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph thy (k), clause (2), and the appropriate supervision
wage in subdivision 5, paragraph (a), clause (21);
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(20) combine the results of clauses (18) and (19), and multiply the result by one plus
the employee vacation, sick, and training allowance ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph &)
(j), clause (3). This is defined as the direct staffing rate;

(21) for employee-related expenses, multiply the result of clause (20) by one plus the
employee-related cost ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph ¢ (j), clause (4);

(22) this is the subtotal rate;

(23) sum the standard general and administrative rate, the program-related expense ratio,
and the absence and utilization factor ratio;

(24) divide the result of clause (22) by one minus the result of clause (23). This is the
total payment amount;

(25) for individualized home supports provided in a shared manner, divide the total
payment amount in clause (13) by the number of service recipients, not to exceed two;

(26) for respite care services provided in a shared manner, divide the total payment
amount in clause (24) by the number of service recipients, not to exceed three; and

(27) adjust the result of clauses (13), (25), and (26) by a factor to be determined by the
commissioner to adjust for regional differences in the cost of providing services.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, or upon federal approval,
whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes
when federal approval is obtained.

Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.4914, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 18. Payments for family residential services. The commissioner shall establish
rates for family residential services based on a person's assessed needs as described in the
federally approved waiver plans.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, or upon federal approval,
whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes
when federal approval is obtained.
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(20) combine the results of clauses (18) and (19), and multiply the result by one plus
the employee vacation, sick, and training allowance ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph &)
(k), clause (3). This is defined as the direct staffing rate;

(21) for employee-related expenses, multiply the result of clause (20) by one plus the
employee-related cost ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph thy (k), clause (4);

(22) this is the subtotal rate;

(23) sum the standard general and administrative rate, the program-related expense ratio,
and the absence and utilization factor ratio;

(24) divide the result of clause (22) by one minus the result of clause (23). This is the
total payment amount;

(25) for individualized home supports provided in a shared manner, divide the total
payment amount in clause (13) by the number of service recipients, not to exceed two;

(26) for respite care services provided in a shared manner, divide the total payment
amount in clause (24) by the number of service recipients, not to exceed three; and

(27) adjust the result of clauses (13), (25), and (26) by a factor to be determined by the
commissioner to adjust for regional differences in the cost of providing services.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, six months after the
end of the federal public health emergency, or upon federal approval, whichever is later.
The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes when the federal
public health emergency ends and when federal approval is obtained.

Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.5012, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 18. ICF/DD rate increases effective July 1, 2021. (a) For the rate period beginning
July 1, 2021, the commissioner must increase operating payments for each facility reimbursed
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490.5 under this section equal to five percent of the operating payment rates in effect on June 30,
490.6  2021.

490.7 (b) For each facility, the commissioner must apply the rate increase based on occupied
490.8  beds, using the percentage specified in this subdivision multiplied by the total payment rate,
490.9 including the variable rate but excluding the property-related payment rate in effect on June
490.10 30, 2021. The total rate increase must include the adjustment provided in section 256B.501,
490.11 subdivision 12.

490.12 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021, or upon federal approval,
490.13 whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall inform the revisor of statutes
490.14 when federal approval is obtained.

490.15  Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.5013, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

490.16 Subdivision 1. Variable rate adjustments. (a) Ferrate-years-beginning-on-orafter
490.17 Oetober1,2000; When there is a documented increase in the needs of a current ICF/DD

490.18 recipient, the county of financial responsibility may recommend a variable rate to enable
490.19 the facility to meet the individual's increased needs. Variable rate adjustments made under
490.20 this subdivision replace payments for persons with special needs for crisis intervention
490.21 services under section 256B.501, subdivision 8a. Effeetive July 12003 facilitieswitha
490.22 baserate-a he-S0th-pereentile-of the-statewid rtrate

490.23 A
490.24 a-vari
490.25
490.26
490.27 change in need. A review of needed resources must be done at the time of the individual's
490.28 annual support plan meeting. Any change in need identified must result in submission of a
490.29 request to adjust the resources for the individual. Variable rate adjustments approved solely
490.30 on the basis of changes on a developmental disabilities screening document will end June
49031 30,2002.

bl
e-averageretmby a-Cla

490.32 (b) The county of financial responsibility must act on a variable rate request within 30
490.33 days and notify the initiator of the request of the county's recommendation in writing.

491.1 ) (c) A variable rate may be recommended by the county of financial responsibility
491.2  for increased needs in the following situations:

491.3 (1) a need for resources due to an individual's full or partial retirement from participation
491.4 in a day training and habilitation service when the individual: (i) has reached the age of 65
491.5 or has a change in health condition that makes it difficult for the person to participate in

491.6  day training and habilitation services over an extended period of time because it is medically
491.7  contraindicated; and (ii) has expressed a desire for change through the developmental

491.8  disability screening process under section 256B.092;

491.9 (2) a need for additional resources for intensive short-term programming whieh that is
491.10 necessary prior to an individual's discharge to a less restrictive, more integrated setting;
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(3) a demonstrated medical need that significantly impacts the type or amount of services
needed by the individual; er

(4) a demonstrated behavioral or cognitive need that significantly impacts the type or
amount of services needed by the individual:; or

491.19 ap
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491.24
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492.11

492.12
492.13

(5) a demonstrated increased need for staff assistance, changes in the type of staff

credentials needed, or a need for expert consultation based on assessments conducted prior
to the annual support plan meeting.

(d) Variable rate requests must include the following information:

(1) the service needs change;

(2) the variable rate requested and the difference from the current rate;

(3) a basis for the underlying costs used for the variable rate and any accompanying
documentation; and

(4) documentation of the expected outcomes to be achieved and the frequency of progress
monitoring associated with the rate increase.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021, or upon federal approval,
whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall inform the revisor of statutes
when federal approval is obtained.

Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.5013, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
Subd. 6. Commissioner's responsibilities. The commissioner shall:

(1) make a determination to approve, deny, or modify a request for a variable rate
adjustment within 30 days of the receipt of the completed application;

(2) notify the ICE/DD facility and county case manager of the duration-and-eonditions
of variablerate-adjustment-approvals determination; and

(3) modify MMIS II service agreements to reimburse ICF/DD facilities for approved
variable rates.
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492.14 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021, or upon federal approval,
492.15 whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall inform the revisor of statutes
492.16 when federal approval is obtained.

492.17  Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.5015, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

492.18 Subd. 2. Services during the day. (a) Services during the day, as defined in section
492.19 256B.501, but excluding day training and habilitation services, shall be paid as a pass-through
492.20 payment netaterthanJanuary 15-2004. The commissioner shall establish rates for these

49221 services, other than day training and habilitation services, at levelsthatdenotexeeed 75
49222 100 percent of a recipient's day training and habilitation service costs prior to the service
492.23 change.

492.24 (b) An individual qualifies for services during the day under paragraph (a) if, through
492.25 consultation with the individual and the individual's support team or interdisciplinary team:
492.26 (1) it has been determined that the individual's needs can best be met through partial or
492.27 full retirement from:

492.28 (i) participation in a day training and habilitation service; or

492.29 (ii) the use of services during the day in the individual's home environment; and

492.30 (2) an individualized plan has been developed with designated outcomes that:

493.1 (i) address the support needs and desires contained in the person-centered plan or

493.2  individual support plan; and

4933 (ii) include goals that focus on community integration as appropriate for the individual.

493.4 (c) When establishing a rate for these services, the commissioner shall also consider an
493.5 individual recipient's needs as identified in the individualized-serviee individual support
493.6  plan and the person's need for active treatment as defined under federal regulations. The
493.7 pass-through payments for services during the day shall be paid separately by the

493.8 commissioner and shall not be included in the computation of the ICF/DD facility total
493.9 payment rate.

493.10 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021, or upon federal approval,
493.11 whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall inform the revisor of statutes
493.12 when federal approval is obtained.

557.12 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.69, subdivision 5a, is amended to read:

557.13 Subd. 5a. Managed care contracts. (a) Managed care contracts under this section and
557.14 section 256L.12 shall be entered into or renewed on a calendar year basis. The commissioner
557.15 may issue separate contracts with requirements specific to services to medical assistance
557.16 recipients age 65 and older.
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(b) A prepaid health plan providing covered health services for eligible persons pursuant
to chapters 256B and 256L is responsible for complying with the terms of its contract with
the commissioner. Requirements applicable to managed care programs under chapters 256B
and 256L established after the effective date of a contract with the commissioner take effect
when the contract is next issued or renewed.

(c) The commissioner shall withhold five percent of managed care plan payments under
this section and county-based purchasing plan payments under section 256B.692 for the
prepaid medical assistance program pending completion of performance targets. Each
performance target must be quantifiable, objective, measurable, and reasonably attainable,
except in the case of a performance target based on a federal or state law or rule. Criteria
for assessment of each performance target must be outlined in writing prior to the contract
effective date. Clinical or utilization performance targets and their related criteria must
consider evidence-based research and reasonable interventions when available or applicable
to the populations served, and must be developed with input from external clinical experts
and stakeholders, including managed care plans, county-based purchasing plans, and
providers. The managed care or county-based purchasing plan must demonstrate, to the
commissioner's satisfaction, that the data submitted regarding attainment of the performance
target is accurate. The commissioner shall periodically change the administrative measures
used as performance targets in order to improve plan performance across a broader range
of administrative services. The performance targets must include measurement of plan
efforts to contain spending on health care services and administrative activities. The
commissioner may adopt plan-specific performance targets that take into account factors
affecting only one plan, including characteristics of the plan's enrollee population. The
withheld funds must be returned no sooner than July of the following year if performance
targets in the contract are achieved. The commissioner may exclude special demonstration
projects under subdivision 23.

(d) The commissioner shall require that managed care plans:

(1) use the assessment and authorization processes, forms, timelines, standards,
documentation, and data reporting requirements, protocols, billing processes, and policies
consistent with medical assistance fee-for-service or the Department of Human Services
contract requirements for all personal care assistance services under section 256B.0659-;
and

(2) by January 30 of each year that follows a rate increase for any aspect of services
under section 256B.0659 or 256B.85, inform the commissioner and the chairs and ranking
minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over rates determined
under section 256B.851 of the amount of the rate increase that is paid to each personal care
assistance provider agency with which the plan has a contract.

(e) Effective for services rendered on or after January 1, 2012, the commissioner shall
include as part of the performance targets described in paragraph (c) a reduction in the health
plan's emergency department utilization rate for medical assistance and MinnesotaCare
enrollees, as determined by the commissioner. For 2012, the reduction shall be based on
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the health plan's utilization in 2009. To earn the return of the withhold each subsequent
year, the managed care plan or county-based purchasing plan must achieve a qualifying
reduction of no less than ten percent of the plan's emergency department utilization rate for
medical assistance and MinnesotaCare enrollees, excluding enrollees in programs described
in subdivisions 23 and 28, compared to the previous measurement year until the final
performance target is reached. When measuring performance, the commissioner must
consider the difference in health risk in a managed care or county-based purchasing plan's
membership in the baseline year compared to the measurement year, and work with the
managed care or county-based purchasing plan to account for differences that they agree
are significant.

The withheld funds must be returned no sooner than July 1 and no later than July 31 of
the following calendar year if the managed care plan or county-based purchasing plan
demonstrates to the satisfaction of the commissioner that a reduction in the utilization rate
was achieved. The commissioner shall structure the withhold so that the commissioner
returns a portion of the withheld funds in amounts commensurate with achieved reductions
in utilization less than the targeted amount.

The withhold described in this paragraph shall continue for each consecutive contract
period until the plan's emergency room utilization rate for state health care program enrollees
is reduced by 25 percent of the plan's emergency room utilization rate for medical assistance
and MinnesotaCare enrollees for calendar year 2009. Hospitals shall cooperate with the
health plans in meeting this performance target and shall accept payment withholds that
may be returned to the hospitals if the performance target is achieved.

(f) Effective for services rendered on or after January 1, 2012, the commissioner shall
include as part of the performance targets described in paragraph (c) a reduction in the plan's
hospitalization admission rate for medical assistance and MinnesotaCare enrollees, as
determined by the commissioner. To earn the return of the withhold each year, the managed
care plan or county-based purchasing plan must achieve a qualifying reduction of no less
than five percent of the plan's hospital admission rate for medical assistance and
MinnesotaCare enrollees, excluding enrollees in programs described in subdivisions 23 and
28, compared to the previous calendar year until the final performance target is reached.
When measuring performance, the commissioner must consider the difference in health risk
in a managed care or county-based purchasing plan's membership in the baseline year
compared to the measurement year, and work with the managed care or county-based
purchasing plan to account for differences that they agree are significant.

The withheld funds must be returned no sooner than July 1 and no later than July 31 of
the following calendar year if the managed care plan or county-based purchasing plan
demonstrates to the satisfaction of the commissioner that this reduction in the hospitalization
rate was achieved. The commissioner shall structure the withhold so that the commissioner
returns a portion of the withheld funds in amounts commensurate with achieved reductions
in utilization less than the targeted amount.
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The withhold described in this paragraph shall continue until there is a 25 percent
reduction in the hospital admission rate compared to the hospital admission rates in calendar
year 2011, as determined by the commissioner. The hospital admissions in this performance
target do not include the admissions applicable to the subsequent hospital admission
performance target under paragraph (g). Hospitals shall cooperate with the plans in meeting
this performance target and shall accept payment withholds that may be returned to the
hospitals if the performance target is achieved.

(g) Eftective for services rendered on or after January 1, 2012, the commissioner shall
include as part of the performance targets described in paragraph (c) a reduction in the plan's
hospitalization admission rates for subsequent hospitalizations within 30 days of a previous
hospitalization of a patient regardless of the reason, for medical assistance and MinnesotaCare
enrollees, as determined by the commissioner. To earn the return of the withhold each year,
the managed care plan or county-based purchasing plan must achieve a qualifying reduction
of the subsequent hospitalization rate for medical assistance and MinnesotaCare enrollees,
excluding enrollees in programs described in subdivisions 23 and 28, of no less than five
percent compared to the previous calendar year until the final performance target is reached.

The withheld funds must be returned no sooner than July 1 and no later than July 31 of
the following calendar year if the managed care plan or county-based purchasing plan
demonstrates to the satisfaction of the commissioner that a qualifying reduction in the
subsequent hospitalization rate was achieved. The commissioner shall structure the withhold
so that the commissioner returns a portion of the withheld funds in amounts commensurate
with achieved reductions in utilization less than the targeted amount.

The withhold described in this paragraph must continue for each consecutive contract
period until the plan's subsequent hospitalization rate for medical assistance and
MinnesotaCare enrollees, excluding enrollees in programs described in subdivisions 23 and
28, is reduced by 25 percent of the plan's subsequent hospitalization rate for calendar year
2011. Hospitals shall cooperate with the plans in meeting this performance target and shall
accept payment withholds that must be returned to the hospitals if the performance target
is achieved.

(h) Effective for services rendered on or after January 1, 2013, through December 31,
2013, the commissioner shall withhold 4.5 percent of managed care plan payments under
this section and county-based purchasing plan payments under section 256B.692 for the
prepaid medical assistance program. The withheld funds must be returned no sooner than
July 1 and no later than July 31 of the following year. The commissioner may exclude
special demonstration projects under subdivision 23.

(i) Effective for services rendered on or after January 1, 2014, the commissioner shall
withhold three percent of managed care plan payments under this section and county-based
purchasing plan payments under section 256B.692 for the prepaid medical assistance
program. The withheld funds must be returned no sooner than July 1 and no later than July
31 of the following year. The commissioner may exclude special demonstration projects
under subdivision 23.
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(j) A managed care plan or a county-based purchasing plan under section 256B.692 may
include as admitted assets under section 62D.044 any amount withheld under this section
that is reasonably expected to be returned.

(k) Contracts between the commissioner and a prepaid health plan are exempt from the
set-aside and preference provisions of section 16C.16, subdivisions 6, paragraph (a), and
7]

(1) The return of the withhold under paragraphs (h) and (i) is not subject to the
requirements of paragraph (c).

(m) Managed care plans and county-based purchasing plans shall maintain current and
fully executed agreements for all subcontractors, including bargaining groups, for
administrative services that are expensed to the state's public health care programs.
Subcontractor agreements determined to be material, as defined by the commissioner after
taking into account state contracting and relevant statutory requirements, must be in the
form of a written instrument or electronic document containing the elements of offer,
acceptance, consideration, payment terms, scope, duration of the contract, and how the
subcontractor services relate to state public health care programs. Upon request, the
commissioner shall have access to all subcontractor documentation under this paragraph.
Nothing in this paragraph shall allow release of information that is nonpublic data pursuant
to section 13.02.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.

Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.85, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section and section 256B.851, the terms
defined in this subdivision have the meanings given.

(b) "Activities of daily living" or "ADLs" means eating, toileting, grooming, dressing,
bathing, mobility, positioning, and transferring.

(c) "Agency-provider model" means a method of CFSS under which a qualified agency
provides services and supports through the agency's own employees and policies. The agency
must allow the participant to have a significant role in the selection and dismissal of support
workers of their choice for the delivery of their specific services and supports.

(d) "Behavior" means a description of a need for services and supports used to determine
the home care rating and additional service units. The presence of Level I behavior is used
to determine the home care rating.

(e) "Budget model" means a service delivery method of CFSS that allows the use of a
service budget and assistance from a financial management services (FMS) provider for a
participant to directly employ support workers and purchase supports and goods.

(f) "Complex health-related needs" means an intervention listed in clauses (1) to (8) that
has been ordered by a physician, and is specified in a community support plan, including:
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(1) tube feedings requiring:

(i) a gastrojejunostomy tube; or

(ii) continuous tube feeding lasting longer than 12 hours per day;
(2) wounds described as:

(i) stage III or stage IV;

(ii) multiple wounds;

(iii) requiring sterile or clean dressing changes or a wound vac; or

(iv) open lesions such as burns, fistulas, tube sites, or ostomy sites that require specialized

(3) parenteral therapy described as:

(i) IV therapy more than two times per week lasting longer than four hours for each

treatment; or

(ii) total parenteral nutrition (TPN) daily;

(4) respiratory interventions, including:

(i) oxygen required more than eight hours per day;

(ii) respiratory vest more than one time per day;

(iii) bronchial drainage treatments more than two times per day;
(iv) sterile or clean suctioning more than six times per day;

(v) dependence on another to apply respiratory ventilation augmentation devices such

as BiPAP and CPAP; and

(vi) ventilator dependence under section 256B.0651;
(5) insertion and maintenance of catheter, including:
(i) sterile catheter changes more than one time per month;

(ii) clean intermittent catheterization, and including self-catheterization more than six

times per day; or

(iii) bladder irrigations;

(6) bowel program more than two times per week requiring more than 30 minutes to

perform each time;

(7) neurological intervention, including:
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(i) seizures more than two times per week and requiring significant physical assistance
to maintain safety; or

(ii) swallowing disorders diagnosed by a physician and requiring specialized assistance
from another on a daily basis; and

(8) other congenital or acquired diseases creating a need for significantly increased direct
hands-on assistance and interventions in six to eight activities of daily living.

(g) "Community first services and supports" or "CFSS" means the assistance and supports
program under this section needed for accomplishing activities of daily living, instrumental
activities of daily living, and health-related tasks through hands-on assistance to accomplish
the task or constant supervision and cueing to accomplish the task, or the purchase of goods
as defined in subdivision 7, clause (3), that replace the need for human assistance.

(h) "Community first services and supports service delivery plan" or "CFSS service
delivery plan" means a written document detailing the services and supports chosen by the
participant to meet assessed needs that are within the approved CFSS service authorization,
as determined in subdivision 8. Services and supports are based on the coordinated service
and support plan identified in section 256S.10.

(i) "Consultation services" means a Minnesota health care program enrolled provider
organization that provides assistance to the participant in making informed choices about
CFSS services in general and self-directed tasks in particular, and in developing a
person-centered CFSS service delivery plan to achieve quality service outcomes.

(j) "Critical activities of daily living" means transferring, mobility, eating, and toileting.

(k) "Dependency" in activities of daily living means a person requires hands-on assistance
or constant supervision and cueing to accomplish one or more of the activities of daily living
every day or on the days during the week that the activity is performed; however, a child
may not be found to be dependent in an activity of daily living if, because of the child's age,
an adult would either perform the activity for the child or assist the child with the activity
and the assistance needed is the assistance appropriate for a typical child of the same age.

(1) "Extended CFSS" means CFSS services and supports provided under CFSS that are
included in the CFSS service delivery plan through one of the home and community-based
services waivers and as approved and authorized under chapter 256S and sections 256B.092,
subdivision 5, and 256B.49, which exceed the amount, duration, and frequency of the state
plan CFSS services for participants.

(m) "Financial management services provider" or "FMS provider" means a qualified
organization required for participants using the budget model under subdivision 13 that is
an enrolled provider with the department to provide vendor fiscal/employer agent financial
management services (FMS).
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(n) "Health-related procedures and tasks" means procedures and tasks related to the
specific assessed health needs of a participant that can be taught or assigned by a
state-licensed health care or mental health professional and performed by a support worker.

(o) "Instrumental activities of daily living" means activities related to living independently
in the community, including but not limited to: meal planning, preparation, and cooking;
shopping for food, clothing, or other essential items; laundry; housecleaning; assistance
with medications; managing finances; communicating needs and preferences during activities;
arranging supports; and assistance with traveling around and participating in the community.

(p) "Lead agency" has the meaning given in section 256B.0911, subdivision la, paragraph
(e).

(q) "Legal representative" means parent of a minor, a court-appointed guardian, or
another representative with legal authority to make decisions about services and supports
for the participant. Other representatives with legal authority to make decisions include but
are not limited to a health care agent or an attorney-in-fact authorized through a health care
directive or power of attorney.

(r) "Level I behavior" means physical aggression tewards toward self or others or
destruction of property that requires the immediate response of another person.

(s) "Medication assistance" means providing verbal or visual reminders to take regularly
scheduled medication, and includes any of the following supports listed in clauses (1) to
(3) and other types of assistance, except that a support worker may not determine medication
dose or time for medication or inject medications into veins, muscles, or skin:

(1) under the direction of the participant or the participant's representative, bringing
medications to the participant including medications given through a nebulizer, opening a
container of previously set-up medications, emptying the container into the participant's
hand, opening and giving the medication in the original container to the participant, or
bringing to the participant liquids or food to accompany the medication;

(2) organizing medications as directed by the participant or the participant's representative;
and

(3) providing verbal or visual reminders to perform regularly scheduled medications.
(t) "Participant" means a person who is eligible for CFSS.

(u) "Participant's representative" means a parent, family member, advocate, or other
adult authorized by the participant or participant's legal representative, if any, to serve as a
representative in connection with the provision of CFSS. This authorization must be in
writing or by another method that clearly indicates the participant's free choice and may be
withdrawn at any time. The participant's representative must have no financial interest in
the provision of any services included in the participant's CFSS service delivery plan and
must be capable of providing the support necessary to assist the participant in the use of
CFSS. If through the assessment process described in subdivision 5 a participant is
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determined to be in need of a participant's representative, one must be selected. If the
participant is unable to assist in the selection of a participant's representative, the legal
representative shall appoint one. Two persons may be designated as a participant's
representative for reasons such as divided households and court-ordered custodies. Duties
of a participant's representatives may include:

(1) being available while services are provided in a method agreed upon by the participant
or the participant's legal representative and documented in the participant's CFSS service
delivery plan;

(2) monitoring CFSS services to ensure the participant's CESS service delivery plan is
being followed; and

(3) reviewing and signing CFSS time sheets after services are provided to provide
verification of the CFSS services.

(v) "Person-centered planning process" means a process that is directed by the participant
to plan for CFSS services and supports.

(w) "Service budget" means the authorized dollar amount used for the budget model or
for the purchase of goods.

(x) "Shared services" means the provision of CFSS services by the same CFSS support
worker to two or three participants who voluntarily enter into an agreement to receive
services at the same time and in the same setting by the same employer.

(y) "Support worker" means a qualified and trained employee of the agency-provider
as required by subdivision 11b or of the participant employer under the budget model as
required by subdivision 14 who has direct contact with the participant and provides services
as specified within the participant's CFSS service delivery plan.

(z) "Unit" means the increment of service based on hours or minutes identified in the
service agreement.

(aa) "Vendor fiscal employer agent" means an agency that provides financial management
services.

(bb) "Wages and benefits" means the hourly wages and salaries, the employer's share
of FICA taxes, Medicare taxes, state and federal unemployment taxes, workers' compensation,
mileage reimbursement, health and dental insurance, life insurance, disability insurance,
long-term care insurance, uniform allowance, contributions to employee retirement accounts,
or other forms of employee compensation and benefits.

(cc) "Worker training and development" means services provided according to subdivision
18a for developing workers' skills as required by the participant's individual CFSS service
delivery plan that are arranged for or provided by the agency-provider or purchased by the
participant employer. These services include training, education, direct observation and
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supervision, and evaluation and coaching of job skills and tasks, including supervision of
health-related tasks or behavioral supports.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023, or upon federal approval,
whichever is later. The commissioner of human services must notify the revisor of statutes
when federal approval is obtained.
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Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.85, subdivision 7a, is amended to read:

Subd. 7a. Enhanced rate. An enhanced rate of 107.5 percent of the rate paid for CFSS
must be paid for services provided to persons who qualify for +2 ten or more hours of CFSS
per day when provided by a support worker who meets the requirements of subdivision 16,
paragraph (e). The enhanced rate for CFSS includes, and is not in addition to, any rate
adjustments implemented by the commissioner on July 1, 2019, to comply with the terms
of a collective bargaining agreement between the state of Minnesota and an exclusive
representative of individual providers under section 179A.54 that provides for wage increases
for individual providers who serve participants assessed to need 12 or more hours of CFSS
per day.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021, or upon federal approval,
whichever occurs later. The commissioner shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal
approval is obtained.

Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.85, subdivision 16, is amended to read:
Subd. 16. Support workers requirements. (a) Support workers shall:

(1) enroll with the department as a support worker after a background study under chapter
245C has been completed and the support worker has received a notice from the
commissioner that the support worker:

(i) is not disqualified under section 245C.14; or

(ii) is disqualified, but has received a set-aside of the disqualification under section
245C.22;

(2) have the ability to effectively communicate with the participant or the participant's
representative;

(3) have the skills and ability to provide the services and supports according to the
participant's CFSS service delivery plan and respond appropriately to the participant's needs;

(4) complete the basic standardized CFSS training as determined by the commissioner
before completing enrollment. The training must be available in languages other than English
and to those who need accommodations due to disabilities. CFSS support worker training
must include successful completion of the following training components: basic first aid,
vulnerable adult, child maltreatment, OSHA universal precautions, basic roles and
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494.12 responsibilities of support workers including information about basic body mechanics,
494.13 emergency preparedness, orientation to positive behavioral practices, orientation to
494.14 responding to a mental health crisis, fraud issues, time cards and documentation, and an
494.15 overview of person-centered planning and self-direction. Upon completion of the training
494.16 components, the support worker must pass the certification test to provide assistance to
494.17 participants;

494.18 (5) complete employer-directed training and orientation on the participant's individual
494.19 needs;

494.20 (6) maintain the privacy and confidentiality of the participant; and

494.21 (7) not independently determine the medication dose or time for medications for the

494.22 participant.

494.23 (b) The commissioner may deny or terminate a support worker's provider enrollment
494.24 and provider number if the support worker:

49425 (1) does not meet the requirements in paragraph (a);
494.26 (2) fails to provide the authorized services required by the employer;
494.27 (3) has been intoxicated by alcohol or drugs while providing authorized services to the

494.28 participant or while in the participant's home;

494.29 (4) has manufactured or distributed drugs while providing authorized services to the
494.30 participant or while in the participant's home; or

495.1 (5) has been excluded as a provider by the commissioner of human services, or by the
495.2  United States Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Inspector General, from
495.3  participation in Medicaid, Medicare, or any other federal health care program.

495.4 (c) A support worker may appeal in writing to the commissioner to contest the decision
495.5  to terminate the support worker's provider enrollment and provider number.

495.6 (d) A support worker must not provide or be paid for more than 310 hours of CFSS per
495.7 month, regardless of the number of participants the support worker serves or the number
495.8 of agency-providers or participant employers by which the support worker is employed.
495.9 The department shall not disallow the number of hours per day a support worker works
495.10 unless it violates other law.

495.11 (e) CFSS qualify for an enhanced rate if the support worker providing the services:

495.12 (1) provides services, within the scope of CFSS described in subdivision 7, to a participant
495.13 who qualifies for 42 ten or more hours per day of CFSS; and

495.14 (2) satisfies the current requirements of Medicare for training and competency or
495.15 competency evaluation of home health aides or nursing assistants, as provided in the Code
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of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 483.151 or 484.36, or alternative state-approved
training or competency requirements.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021, or upon federal approval,
whichever occurs later. The commissioner shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal
approval is obtained.

Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.85, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 27. Personal care assistance and community first services and supports
provider agency; required reporting and analysis of cost data. (a) The commissioner
must evaluate on an ongoing basis whether the rates paid for personal care assistance and
community first services and supports appropriately address the costs to provide these
services. The commissioner must make recommendations to adjust the rates paid as indicated
by the evaluation. As determined by the commissioner, in consultation with stakeholders,
agencies enrolled to provide personal care assistance and community first services and
supports with rates determined under this section must submit requested cost data to the
commissioner. Requested cost data may include but is not limited to:

(1) worker wage costs;

(2) benefits paid;

(3) supervisor wage costs;

(4) executive wage costs;

(5) vacation, sick, and training time paid;

(6) taxes, workers' compensation, and unemployment insurance costs paid;

(7) administrative costs paid;

(8) program costs paid;

(9) transportation costs paid;

(10) vacancy rates; and

(11) other data relating to costs necessary to provide services requested by the
commissioner.

(b) At least once in any three-year period, a provider must submit cost data for a fiscal
year that ended not more than 18 months prior to the submission date. The commissioner
shall give each provider notice 90 days prior to the submission due date. If a provider fails
to submit the required reporting data, the commissioner shall provide notice to the provider
30 days after the required submission date, and a second notice to a provider who fails to
submit the required data 60 days after the required submission date. The commissioner shall
temporarily suspend payments to a provider if the provider fails to submit cost data within
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566.26  Sec. 30. [256B.851] COMMUNITY FIRST SERVICES AND SUPPORTS; PAYMENT
566.27 RATES.

566.28 Subdivision 1. Application. (a) The payment methodologies in this section apply to:
566.29 (1) community first services and supports (CFSS), extended CFSS, and enhanced rate

566.30 CFSS under section 256B.85; and

566.31 (2) personal care assistance services under section 256B.0625, subdivisions 19a and
566.32 19c; extended personal care assistance service as defined in section 256B.0659, subdivision
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90 days after the required submission date. The commissioner shall make withheld payments
to the provider once the commissioner receives cost data from the provider.

(c) The commissioner shall conduct a random validation of data submitted under
paragraph (a) to ensure data accuracy.

(d) The commissioner, in consultation with stakeholders, shall develop and implement
a process for providing training and technical assistance necessary to support provider
submission of cost documentation required under paragraph (a). The commissioner shall
provide dedicated support for providers who meet one of the following criteria:

(1) the provider employs fewer than ten staff to provide the services under this section;

(2) the provider's first language is not English; or

(3) the provider serves a population that includes greater than or equal to 50 percent
black people, Indigenous people, or people of color.

Sec. 48. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.85, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 28. Payment rates evaluation. (a) The commissioner shall assess data collected
under subdivision 27 and shall publish evaluation findings in a report to the legislature on
August 1, 2024, and once every two years thereafter. Evaluation findings shall include:

(1) the costs that providers incur while providing services under this section;

(2) comparisons between those costs and the costs incurred by providers of comparable
services and employers in industries competing in the same labor market;

(3) changes in wages, benefits provided, hours worked, and retention over time; and

(4) recommendations for the rate methodologies paid based on the evaluation findings.

(b) The commissioner shall only release cost data in an aggregate form and shall not
release cost data from individual providers except as permitted by current law.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021.
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1; and enhanced rate personal care assistance services under section 256B.0659, subdivision
17a.

(b) This section does not change existing personal care assistance program or community
first services and supports policies and procedures.

Subd. 2. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have the
meanings given in section 256B.85, subdivision 2, and as follows.

(b) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of human services.

(c) "Component value" means an underlying factor that is built into the rate methodology
to calculate service rates and is part of the cost of providing services.

(d) "Payment rate" or "rate" means reimbursement to an eligible provider for services
provided to a qualified individual based on an approved service authorization.

Subd. 3. Payment rates; base wage index. When initially establishing the base wage
component values, the commissioner must use the Minnesota-specific median wage for the
standard occupational classification (SOC) codes published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics
in the edition of the Occupational Handbook available January 1, 2021. The commissioner
must calculate the base wage component values as follows for:

(1) personal care assistance services, CFSS, extended personal care assistance services,
and extended CFSS. The base wage component value equals the median wage for personal
care aide (SOC code 31-1120);

(2) enhanced rate personal care assistance services and enhanced rate CFSS. The base
wage component value equals the product of median wage for personal care aide (SOC
code 31-1120) and the value of the enhanced rate under section 256B.0659, subdivision
17a; and

(3) qualified professional services and CFSS worker training and development. The base
wage component value equals the sum of 70 percent of the median wage for registered nurse
(SOC code 29-1141), 15 percent of the median wage for health care social worker (SOC
code 21-1099), and 15 percent of the median wage for social and human service assistant
(SOC code 21-1093).

Subd. 4. Payment rates; total wage index. (a) The commissioner must multiply the
base wage component values in subdivision 3 by one plus the appropriate competitive
workforce factor. The product is the total wage component value.

(b) For personal care assistance services, CFSS, extended personal care assistance
services, extended CFSS, enhanced rate personal care assistance services, and enhanced
rate CFSS, the initial competitive workforce factor is 4.7 percent.
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(c) For qualified professional services and CFSS worker training and development, the
competitive workforce factor is zero percent.

(d) On August 1, 2024, and every two years thereafter, the commissioner shall report
recommendations to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees
and divisions with jurisdiction over health and human services policy and finance an update
of the competitive workforce factors in this subdivision using the most recently available
data. The commissioner shall make adjustments to the competitive workforce factor toward
the percent difference between: (1) the median wage for personal care aide (SOC code
31-1120); and (2) the weighted average wage for all other SOC codes with the same Bureau
of Labor Statistics classifications for education, experience, and training required for job

competency.

(e) The commissioner shall recommend an increase or decrease of the competitive
workforce factor from its previous value by no more than three percentage points. If, after
a biennial adjustment, the competitive workforce factor is less than or equal to zero, the
competitive workforce factor shall be zero.

Subd. 5. Payment rates; component values. (a) The commissioner must use the
following component values:

(1) employee vacation, sick, and training factor, 8.71 percent;

(2) employer taxes and workers' compensation factor, 11.56 percent;

(3) employee benefits factor, 12.04 percent;

(4) client programming and supports factor, 2.30 percent;

(5) program plan support factor, 7.00 percent;

(6) general business and administrative expenses factor, 13.25 percent;

(7) program administration expenses factor, 2.90 percent; and

(8) absence and utilization factor, 3.90 percent.

(b) For purposes of implementation, the commissioner shall use the following
implementation components:

(1) personal care assistance services and CFSS: 75.45 percent;

(2) enhanced rate personal care assistance services and enhanced rate CFSS: 75.45
percent; and

(3) qualified professional services and CFSS worker training and development: 75.45
percent.

Subd. 6. Payment rates; rate determination. (a) The commissioner must determine
the rate for personal care assistance services, CFSS, extended personal care assistance
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services, extended CFSS, enhanced rate personal care assistance services, enhanced rate
CFSS, qualified professional services, and CFSS worker training and development as
follows:

(1) multiply the appropriate total wage component value calculated in subdivision 4 by
one plus the employee vacation, sick, and training factor in subdivision 5;

(2) for program plan support, multiply the result of clause (1) by one plus the program
plan support factor in subdivision 5;

(3) for employee-related expenses, add the employer taxes and workers' compensation
factor in subdivision 5 and the employee benefits factor in subdivision 5. The sum is
employee-related expenses. Multiply the product of clause (2) by one plus the value for
employee-related expenses;

(4) for client programming and supports, multiply the product of clause (3) by one plus
the client programming and supports factor in subdivision 5;

(5) for administrative expenses, add the general business and administrative expenses
factor in subdivision 5, the program administration expenses factor in subdivision 5, and
the absence and utilization factor in subdivision 5;

(6) divide the result of clause (4) by one minus the result of clause (5). The quotient is
the hourly rate;

(7) multiply the hourly rate by the appropriate implementation component under
subdivision 5. This is the adjusted hourly rate; and

(8) divide the adjusted hourly rate by four. The quotient is the total adjusted payment
rate.

(b) The commissioner must publish the total adjusted payment rates.

Subd. 7. Personal care provider agency; required reporting and analysis of cost
data. (a) The commissioner shall evaluate on an ongoing basis whether the base wage
component values and component values in this section appropriately address the cost to
provide the service. The commissioner shall make recommendations to adjust the rate
methodology as indicated by the evaluation. As determined by the commissioner and in
consultation with stakeholders, agencies enrolled to provide services with rates determined
under this section must submit requested cost data to the commissioner. The commissioner
may request cost data, including but not limited to:

(1) worker wage costs;

(2) benefits paid;

(3) supervisor wage costs;
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(4) executive wage costs;

(5) vacation, sick, and training time paid;

(6) taxes, workers' compensation, and unemployment insurance costs paid;

(7) administrative costs paid;

(8) program costs paid;

(9) transportation costs paid;

(10) staff vacancy rates; and

(11) other data relating to costs required to provide services requested by the
commissioner.

(b) At least once in any three-year period, a provider must submit the required cost data
for a fiscal year that ended not more than 18 months prior to the submission date. The
commissioner must provide each provider a 90-day notice prior to its submission due date.
If a provider fails to submit required cost data, the commissioner must provide notice to a
provider that has not provided required cost data 30 days after the required submission date
and a second notice to a provider that has not provided required cost data 60 days after the
required submission date. The commissioner must temporarily suspend payments to a
provider if the commissioner has not received required cost data 90 days after the required
submission date. The commissioner must make withheld payments when the required cost
data is received by the commissioner.

(c) The commissioner must conduct a random validation of data submitted under this
subdivision to ensure data accuracy. The commissioner shall analyze cost documentation
in paragraph (a) and provide recommendations for adjustments to cost components.

(d) The commissioner shall analyze cost documentation in paragraph (a) and may submit
recommendations on component values, updated base wage component values, and
competitive workforce factors to the chair and ranking minority members of the legislative
committees and divisions with jurisdiction over human services policy and finance every
two years beginning August 1, 2026. The commissioner shall release cost data in an aggregate
form, and cost data from individual providers shall not be released except as provided for
in current law.

(e) The commissioner, in consultation with stakeholders, must develop and implement
a process for providing training and technical assistance necessary to support provider
submission of cost data required under this subdivision.

Subd. 8. Payment rates; reports required. (2) The commissioner must assess the
standard component values and publish evaluation findings and recommended changes to
the rate methodology in a report to the legislature by August 1, 2026.
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(b) The commissioner must assess the long-term impacts of the rate methodology
implementation on staff providing services with rates determined under this section, including
but not limited to measuring changes in wages, benefits provided, hours worked, and
retention. The commissioner must publish evaluation findings in a report to the legislature
by August 1, 2028, and once every two years thereafter.

Subd. 9. Self-directed services workforce. Nothing in this section limits the
commissioner's authority over terms and conditions for individual providers in covered
programs as defined in section 256B.0711. The commissioner's authority over terms and
conditions for individual providers in covered programs remains subject to the state's
obligations to meet and negotiate under chapter 179A, as modified and made applicable to
individual providers under section 179A.54, and to agreements with any exclusive
representative of individual providers, as authorized by chapter 179A, as modified and made
applicable to individual providers under section 179A.54. A change in the rate for services
within the covered programs defined in section 256B.0711 does not constitute a change in
a term or condition for individual providers in covered programs and is not subject to the
state's obligation to meet and negotiate under chapter 179A, except that, notwithstanding
any other law to the contrary, the state shall meet and negotiate with the exclusive
representative of individual providers over wage and benefit increases made possible by
rate increases provided between January 1, 2023 and June 30, 2023. Any resulting tentative
agreement shall be submitted to the legislature to be accepted or rejected in accordance with
sections 3.855 and 179A.22.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023, or upon federal approval,
whichever is later. The commissioner of human services must notify the revisor of statutes
when federal approval is obtained.

Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 2561.04, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Moratorium on development of housing support beds. (a) Agencies shall
not enter into agreements for new housing support beds with total rates in excess of the
MSA equivalent rate except:

(1) for establishments licensed under chapter 245D provided the facility is needed to
meet the census reduction targets for persons with developmental disabilities at regional
treatment centers;

(2) up to 80 beds in a single, specialized facility located in Hennepin County that will
provide housing for chronic inebriates who are repetitive users of detoxification centers and
are refused placement in emergency shelters because of their state of intoxication, and
planning for the specialized facility must have been initiated before July 1, 1991, in
anticipation of receiving a grant from the Housing Finance Agency under section 462A.05,
subdivision 20a, paragraph (b);

(3) notwithstanding the provisions of subdivision 2a, for up to 226 500 supportive
housing units in Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, er Ramsey, Scott, or Washington County

PAGE R85

497.14

497.15
497.16
497.17

497.18
497.19
497.20

497.21
497.22
497.23
497.24
497.25
497.26

497.27
497.28

Senate Language UEH2128-1

Sec. 49. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 2561.04, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Moratorium on development of housing support beds. (a) Agencies shall
not enter into agreements for new housing support beds with total rates in excess of the
MSA equivalent rate except:

(1) for establishments licensed under chapter 245D provided the facility is needed to
meet the census reduction targets for persons with developmental disabilities at regional
treatment centers;

(2) up to 80 beds in a single, specialized facility located in Hennepin County that will
provide housing for chronic inebriates who are repetitive users of detoxification centers and
are refused placement in emergency shelters because of their state of intoxication, and
planning for the specialized facility must have been initiated before July 1, 1991, in
anticipation of receiving a grant from the Housing Finance Agency under section 462A.05,
subdivision 20a, paragraph (b);

(3) notwithstanding the provisions of subdivision 2a, for up to 226 supportive housing
units in Anoka, Dakota, Hennepin, or Ramsey County for homeless adults with a mental
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for homeless adults with a mental illness, a history of substance abuse, or human
immunodeficiency virus or acquired immunodeficiency syndrome. For purposes of this
sect1on "homeless adult" means a person Who is l1V1ng on the street or 1n a shelter or

pfogra-m—ﬁﬂd has no appropr1ate housing ava1lable and lacks the resources and support
necessary to access appropr1ate housrng At—least—?@-pereent—ef—the—suppeﬁwe—heusmg—tmits

S O S5

- If a person meets the requirements of subdivision
1, paragraph (a) or !b) and receives a federal or state housing subsidy, the housing support
rate for that person is limited to the supplementary rate under sectron 2561 05, subdivision

reSIdent ina demonstrat1on project site who no longer part1c1pates in the demonstrat1on
program shall retain eligibility for a housing support payment in an amount determined
under section 2561. 06 subd1v1s10n 8, usmg the MSA equwalent rate—Semee—ﬁiﬂdiﬂg—uﬂdef

(4) for an additional two beds, resulting in a total of 32 beds, for a facility located in
Hennepin County providing services for recovering and chemically dependent men that has
had a housing support contract with the county and has been licensed as a board and lodge
facility with special services since 1980;

(5) for a housing support provider located in the city of St. Cloud, or a county contiguous
to the city of St. Cloud, that operates a 40-bed facility, that received financing through the
Minnesota Housing Finance Agency Ending Long-Term Homelessness Initiative and serves
chemically dependent clientele, providing 24-hour-a-day supervision;

(6) for a new 65-bed facility in Crow Wing County that will serve chemically dependent
persons, operated by a housing support provider that currently operates a 304-bed facility
in Minneapolis, and a 44-bed facility in Duluth;

(7) for a housing support provider that operates two ten-bed facilities, one located in
Hennepin County and one located in Ramsey County, that provide community support and
24-hour-a-day supervision to serve the mental health needs of individuals who have
chronically lived unsheltered; and

(8) for a facility authorized for recipients of housing support in Hennepin County with
a capacity of up to 48 beds that has been licensed since 1978 as a board and lodging facility
and that until August 1, 2007, operated as a licensed chemical dependency treatment program.
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illness, a history of substance abuse, or human immunodeficiency virus or acquired
immunodeficiency syndrome. For purposes of this section, "homeless adult" means a person
who is living on the street or in a shelter or discharged from a regional treatment center,
community hospital, or residential treatment program and has no appropriate housing
available and lacks the resources and support necessary to access appropriate housing. At
least 70 percent of the supportive housing units must serve homeless adults with mental
illness, substance abuse problems, or human immunodeficiency virus or acquired
immunodeficiency syndrome who are about to be or, within the previous six months, have
been discharged from a regional treatment center, or a state-contracted psychiatric bed in

a community hospital, or a residential mental health or chemical dependency treatment
program. If a person meets the requirements of subdivision 1, paragraph (a), and receives

a federal or state housing subsidy, the housing support rate for that person is limited to the
supplementary rate under section 2561.05, subdivision 1a, and is determined by subtracting
the amount of the person's countable income that exceeds the MSA equivalent rate from
the housing support supplementary service rate. A resident in a demonstration project site
who no longer participates in the demonstration program shall retain eligibility for a housing
support payment in an amount determined under section 2561.06, subdivision 8, using the
MSA equivalent rate. Service funding under section 2561.05, subdivision 1a, will end June
30, 1997, if federal matching funds are available and the services can be provided through
a managed care entity. If federal matching funds are not available, then service funding will
continue under section 2561.05, subdivision 1a;

(4) for an additional two beds, resulting in a total of 32 beds, for a facility located in
Hennepin County providing services for recovering and chemically dependent men that has
had a housing support contract with the county and has been licensed as a board and lodge
facility with special services since 1980;

(5) for a housing support provider located in the city of St. Cloud, or a county contiguous
to the city of St. Cloud, that operates a 40-bed facility, that received financing through the
Minnesota Housing Finance Agency Ending Long-Term Homelessness Initiative and serves
chemically dependent clientele, providing 24-hour-a-day supervision;

(6) for a new 65-bed facility in Crow Wing County that will serve chemically dependent
persons, operated by a housing support provider that currently operates a 304-bed facility
in Minneapolis, and a 44-bed facility in Duluth;

(7) for a housing support provider that operates two ten-bed facilities, one located in
Hennepin County and one located in Ramsey County, that provide community support and
24-hour-a-day supervision to serve the mental health needs of individuals who have
chronically lived unsheltered; and

(8) for a facility authorized for recipients of housing support in Hennepin County with
a capacity of up to 48 beds that has been licensed since 1978 as a board and lodging facility
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(b) An agency may enter into a housing support agreement for beds with rates in excess
of the MSA equivalent rate in addition to those currently covered under a housing support
agreement if the additional beds are only a replacement of beds with rates in excess of the
MSA equivalent rate which have been made available due to closure of a setting, a change
of licensure or certification which removes the beds from housing support payment, or as
a result of the downsizing of a setting authorized for recipients of housing support. The
transfer of available beds from one agency to another can only occur by the agreement of
both agencies.

(c) The appropriation for this subdivision must include administrative funding equal to
the cost of two full-time equivalent employees to process eligibility. The commissioner
must disburse administrative funding to the fiscal agent for the counties under this
subdivision.

Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 2561.05, subdivision 1la, is amended to read:

Subd. 1a. Supplementary service rates. (a) Subject to the provisions of section 2561.04,
subdivision 3, the eetnty agency may negotiate a payment not to exceed $426.37 for other
services necessary to provide room and board if the residence is licensed by or registered
by the Department of Health, or licensed by the Department of Human Services to provide
services in addition to room and board, and if the provider of services is not also concurrently
receiving funding for services for a recipient under a home and community-based waiver
under title XIX of the federal Social Security Act; or funding from the medical assistance
program under section 256B.0659, for personal care services for residents in the setting; or
residing in a setting which receives funding under section 245.73. If funding is available
for other necessary services through a home and community-based waiver, or personal care
services under section 256B.0659, then the housing support rate is limited to the rate set in
subdivision 1. Unless otherwise provided in law, in no case may the supplementary service
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and that until August 1, 2007, operated as a licensed chemical dependency treatment
programs;

(9) for an additional 42 beds, resulting in a total of 54 beds, for a recovery community
organization and housing support provider that currently operates a 38-bed facility in Olmsted
County serving individuals diagnosed with substance use disorder, originally licensed and
registered by the Department of Health under section 157.17 in 2019, and will operate a
new 14-bed facility in Olmsted County serving individuals diagnosed with substance use
disorder; and

(10) for 46 beds for a recovery community organization and housing support provider
that as of March 1, 2021, operates three facilities in Blue Earth County licensed and registered
by the Department of Health under section 157.17, serving individuals diagnosed with
substance use disorder.

(b) An agency may enter into a housing support agreement for beds with rates in excess
of the MSA equivalent rate in addition to those currently covered under a housing support
agreement if the additional beds are only a replacement of beds with rates in excess of the
MSA equivalent rate which have been made available due to closure of a setting, a change
of licensure or certification which removes the beds from housing support payment, or as
a result of the downsizing of a setting authorized for recipients of housing support. The
transfer of available beds from one agency to another can only occur by the agreement of
both agencies.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021.

Sec. 50. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 2561.05, subdivision 1la, is amended to read:

Subd. 1a. Supplementary service rates. (a) Subject to the provisions of section 2561.04,
subdivision 3, the eetnty agency may negotiate a payment not to exceed $426.37 for other
services necessary to provide room and board if the residence is licensed by or registered
by the Department of Health, or licensed by the Department of Human Services to provide
services in addition to room and board, and if the provider of services is not also concurrently
receiving funding for services for a recipient under a home and community-based waiver
under title XIX of the federal Social Security Act; or funding from the medical assistance
program under section 256B.0659, for personal care services for residents in the setting; or
residing in a setting which receives funding under section 245.73. If funding is available
for other necessary services through a home and community-based waiver, or personal care
services under section 256B.0659, then the housing support rate is limited to the rate set in
subdivision 1. Unless otherwise provided in law, in no case may the supplementary service
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rate exceed $426.37. The registration and licensure requirement does not apply to
establishments which are exempt from state licensure because they are located on Indian
reservations and for which the tribe has prescribed health and safety requirements. Service
payments under this section may be prohibited under rules to prevent the supplanting of
federal funds with state funds. The commissioner shall pursue the feasibility of obtaining
the approval of the Secretary of Health and Human Services to provide home and
community-based waiver services under title XIX of the federal Social Security Act for
residents who are not eligible for an existing home and community-based waiver due to a
primary diagnosis of mental illness or chemical dependency and shall apply for a waiver if
it is determined to be cost-effective.

(b) The commissioner is authorized to make cost-neutral transfers from the housing
support fund for beds under this section to other funding programs administered by the
department after consultation with the eounty-or-eeunties agency in which the affected beds
are located. The commissioner may also make cost-neutral transfers from the housing support
fund to eeunty-human-serviee agencies for beds permanently removed from the housing
support census under a plan submitted by the esunty agency and approved by the
commissioner. The commissioner shall report the amount of any transfers under this provision
annually to the legislature.

(c) Counties Agencies must not negotiate supplementary service rates with providers of
housing support that are licensed as board and lodging with special services and that do not
encourage a policy of sobriety on their premises and make referrals to available community
services for volunteer and employment opportunities for residents.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 2561.05, subdivision Ic, is amended to read:

Subd. 1c. Rate increases. An agency may not increase the rates negotiated for housing
support above those in effect on June 30, 1993, except as provided in paragraphs (a) to (f).

(a) An agency may increase the rates for room and board to the MSA equivalent rate
for those settings whose current rate is below the MSA equivalent rate.

(b) An agency may increase the rates for residents in adult foster care whose difficulty
of care has increased. The total housing support rate for these residents must not exceed the
maximum rate specified in subdivisions 1 and 1a. Agencies must not include nor increase
difficulty of care rates for adults in foster care whose difficulty of care is eligible for funding
by home and community-based waiver programs under title XIX of the Social Security Act.

(c) The room and board rates will be increased each year when the MSA equivalent rate
is adjusted for SSI cost-of-living increases by the amount of the annual SSI increase, less
the amount of the increase in the medical assistance personal needs allowance under section
256B.35.
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rate exceed $426.37. The registration and licensure requirement does not apply to
establishments which are exempt from state licensure because they are located on Indian
reservations and for which the tribe has prescribed health and safety requirements. Service
payments under this section may be prohibited under rules to prevent the supplanting of
federal funds with state funds. The commissioner shall pursue the feasibility of obtaining
the approval of the Secretary of Health and Human Services to provide home and
community-based waiver services under title XIX of the federal Social Security Act for
residents who are not eligible for an existing home and community-based waiver due to a
primary diagnosis of mental illness or chemical dependency and shall apply for a waiver if
it is determined to be cost-effective.

(b) The commissioner is authorized to make cost-neutral transfers from the housing
support fund for beds under this section to other funding programs administered by the
department after consultation with the eounty-or-eeunties agency in which the affected beds
are located. The commissioner may also make cost-neutral transfers from the housing support
fund to eeunty-human-serviee agencies for beds permanently removed from the housing
support census under a plan submitted by the eeunty agency and approved by the
commissioner. The commissioner shall report the amount of any transfers under this provision
annually to the legislature.

(c) Counties Agencies must not negotiate supplementary service rates with providers of
housing support that are licensed as board and lodging with special services and that do not
encourage a policy of sobriety on their premises and make referrals to available community
services for volunteer and employment opportunities for residents.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 51. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 2561.05, subdivision Ic, is amended to read:

Subd. 1c. Rate increases. An agency may not increase the rates negotiated for housing
support above those in effect on June 30, 1993, except as provided in paragraphs (a) to (f).

(a) An agency may increase the rates for room and board to the MSA equivalent rate
for those settings whose current rate is below the MSA equivalent rate.

(b) An agency may increase the rates for residents in adult foster care whose difficulty
of care has increased. The total housing support rate for these residents must not exceed the
maximum rate specified in subdivisions 1 and 1a. Agencies must not include nor increase
difficulty of care rates for adults in foster care whose difficulty of care is eligible for funding
by home and community-based waiver programs under title XIX of the Social Security Act.

(c) An agency must increase the room and board rates will-be-inereased each year when
the MSA equivalent rate is adjusted for SSI cost-of-living increases by the amount of the
annual SSI increase, less the amount of the increase in the medical assistance personal needs
allowance under section 256B.35.
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(d) When housing support pays for an individual's room and board, or other costs
necessary to provide room and board, the rate payable to the residence must continue for
up to 18 calendar days per incident that the person is temporarily absent from the residence,
not to exceed 60 days in a calendar year, if the absence or absences are reported in advance
to the county agency's social service staff. Advance reporting is not required for emergency
absences due to crisis, illness, or injury. For purposes of maintaining housing while
temporarily absent due to residential behavioral health treatment or health care treatment
that requires admission to an inpatient hospital, nursing facility, or other health care facility,
the room and board rate for an individual is payable beyond an 18-calendar-day absence
period, not to exceed 150 days in a calendar year.

(e) For facilities meeting substantial change criteria within the prior year. Substantial
change criteria exists if the establishment experiences a 25 percent increase or decrease in
the total number of its beds, if the net cost of capital additions or improvements is in excess
of 15 percent of the current market value of the residence, or if the residence physically
moves, or changes its licensure, and incurs a resulting increase in operation and property
costs.

(f) Until June 30, 1994, an agency may increase by up to five percent the total rate paid
for recipients of assistance under sections 256D.01 to 256D.21 or 256D.33 to 256D.54 who
reside in residences that are licensed by the commissioner of health as a boarding care home,
but are not certified for the purposes of the medical assistance program. However, an increase
under this clause must not exceed an amount equivalent to 65 percent of the 1991 medical
assistance reimbursement rate for nursing home resident class A, in the geographic grouping
in which the facility is located, as established under Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0051 to
9549.0058.
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fe)Fer An agency may increase the rates for residents in facilities meeting substantial
change criteria within the prior year. Substantial change criteria exists exist if the
establishment experiences a 25 percent increase or decrease in the total number of its beds,
if the net cost of capital additions or improvements is in excess of 15 percent of the current
market value of the residence, or if the residence physically moves, or changes its licensure,
and incurs a resulting increase in operation and property costs.

5 (e) Until June 30, 1994, an agency may increase by up to five percent the total rate
paid for recipients of assistance under sections 256D.01 to 256D.21 or 256D.33 to 256D.54
who reside in residences that are licensed by the commissioner of health as a boarding care
home, but are not certified for the purposes of the medical assistance program. However,
an increase under this clause must not exceed an amount equivalent to 65 percent of the
1991 medical assistance reimbursement rate for nursing home resident class A, in the
geographic grouping in which the facility is located, as established under Minnesota Rules,
parts 9549.0051 to 9549.0058.

(f) Notwithstanding the provisions of subdivision 1, an agency may increase the monthly
room and board rates by $100 per month for residents in settings under section 2561.04,
subdivision 2a, paragraph (b), clause (2). Participants in the Minnesota supportive housing
demonstration program under section 2561.04, subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clause (3), may
not receive the increase under this paragraph.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2022, except the striking of
paragraph (d) is effective July 1, 2021.

Sec. 52. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 2561.05, subdivision 1q, is amended to read:

Subd. 1q. Supplemental rate; Olmsted County. (a) Notwithstanding the provisions of
subdivisions la and lc, beginning July 1, 2017, a county agency shall negotiate a
supplementary rate in addition to the rate specified in subdivision 1, not to exceed $750 per
month, including any legislatively authorized inflationary adjustments, for a housing support
provider located in Olmsted County that operates long-term residential facilities with a total
of 104 beds that serve chemically dependent men and women and provide 24-hour-a-day
supervision and other support services.
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(b) Notwithstanding the provisions of subdivisions la and 1c, beginning July 1, 2021,
a county agency shall negotiate a supplemental service rate for 54 total beds in addition to
the rate specified in subdivision 1, not to exceed the maximum rate allowed under subdivision
1a, including any legislatively authorized inflationary adjustments, for a recovery community
organization and housing support provider located in Olmsted County serving individuals
diagnosed with substance use disorder, originally licensed and registered by the Department
of Health under section 157.17 in 2019.

Sec. 53. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 2561.05, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 1s. Supplemental rate; Douglas County. Notwithstanding subdivisions 1a and
Ic, beginning July 1, 2021, a county agency shall negotiate a supplemental rate for up to
20 beds in addition to the rate specified in subdivision 1, not to exceed the maximum rate
allowed under subdivision 1a, including any legislatively authorized inflationary adjustments,
for a housing support provider located in Douglas County that operates two facilities and
provides room and board and supplementary services to adult males recovering from
substance use disorder, mental illness, or housing instability.

Sec. 54. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 2561.05, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 1t. Supplementary services rate; Winona County. Notwithstanding the
provisions of subdivisions la and Ilc, beginning July 1, 2021, a county agency shall negotiate
a supplementary services rate in addition to the monthly room and board rate specified in
subdivision 1, not to exceed $750 per month, including any legislatively authorized
inflationary adjustments, for a housing support provider located in Winona County that
operates a permanent supportive housing facility with 20 one-bedroom apartments for adults
with long-term homeless and long-term mental health needs.

Sec. 55. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 2561.05, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 1u. Supplemental rate; Blue Earth County. Notwithstanding the provisions of
subdivisions la and l¢, beginning July 1, 2021, a county agency shall negotiate a
supplemental service rate for 46 beds in addition to the rate specified in subdivision 1, not
to exceed the maximum rate allowed under subdivision 1a, including any legislatively
authorized inflationary adjustments, for a recovery community organization and housing
support provider that as of March 1, 2021, operates three facilities in Blue Earth County
licensed and registered by the Department of Health under section 157.17, serving individuals
diagnosed with substance use disorder.

Sec. 56. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 2561.05, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 1v. Supplementary services rate; Steele County. Notwithstanding the provisions
of subdivisions la and 1c, beginning July 1, 2021, a county agency shall negotiate a
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Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 2561.05, subdivision 11, is amended to read:

Subd. 11. Transfer of emergency shelter funds. (a) The commissioner shall make a
cost-neutral transfer of funding from the housing support fund to eeuntyhruman-serviee
agenetes the agency for emergency shelter beds removed from the housing support census
under a biennial plan submitted by the eetnty agency and approved by the commissioner.
The plan must describe: (1) anticipated and actual outcomes for persons experiencing
homelessness in emergency shelters; (2) improved efficiencies in administration; (3)
requirements for individual eligibility; and (4) plans for quality assurance monitoring and
quality assurance outcomes. The commissioner shall review the eeunty agency plan to
monitor implementation and outcomes at least biennially, and more frequently if the
commissioner deems necessary.

(b) The funding under paragraph (a) may be used for the provision of room and board
or supplemental services according to section 2561.03, subdivisions 2 and 8. Providers must
meet the requirements of section 2561.04, subdivisions 2a to 2f. Funding must be allocated
annually, and the room and board portion of the allocation shall be adjusted according to
the percentage change in the housing support room and board rate. The room and board
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supplementary services rate in addition to the monthly room and board rate specified in
subdivision 1, not to exceed $750 per month, including any legislatively authorized
inflationary adjustments, for a housing support provider located in Steele County that
operates a permanent supportive housing facility with 16 units for adults with long-term
homeless and long-term mental health needs.

Sec. 57. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 2561.05, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 2a. Absent days. (a) When a person receiving housing support is temporarily
absent and the absence is reported in advance to the agency's social service staff, the agency
must continue to pay on behalf of the person the applicable rate for housing support. Advance
reporting is not required for absences due to crisis, illness, or injury. The limit on payments
for absence days under this paragraph is 18 calendar days per incident, not to exceed 60
days in a calendar year.

(b) An agency must continue to pay an additional 74 days per incident, not to exceed a
total of 92 days in a calendar year, for a person who is temporarily absent due to admission
at a residential behavioral health facility, inpatient hospital, or nursing facility.

(c) If a person is temporarily absent due to admission at a residential behavioral health
facility, inpatient hospital, or nursing facility for a period of time exceeding the limits
described in paragraph (b), the agency may request in a format prescribed by the
commissioner an absence day limit exception to continue housing support payments until
the person is discharged.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021.

Sec. 58. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 2561.05, subdivision 11, is amended to read:

Subd. 11. Transfer of emergency shelter funds. (a) The commissioner shall make a
cost-neutral transfer of funding from the housing support fund to eeunty hruman-serviee
agenetes the agency for emergency shelter beds removed from the housing support census
under a biennial plan submitted by the eetnty agency and approved by the commissioner.
The plan must describe: (1) anticipated and actual outcomes for persons experiencing
homelessness in emergency shelters; (2) improved efficiencies in administration; (3)
requirements for individual eligibility; and (4) plans for quality assurance monitoring and
quality assurance outcomes. The commissioner shall review the eeunty agency plan to
monitor implementation and outcomes at least biennially, and more frequently if the
commissioner deems necessary.

(b) The funding under paragraph (a) may be used for the provision of room and board
or supplemental services according to section 2561.03, subdivisions 2 and 8. Providers must
meet the requirements of section 2561.04, subdivisions 2a to 2f. Funding must be allocated
annually, and the room and board portion of the allocation shall be adjusted according to
the percentage change in the housing support room and board rate. The room and board
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576.27 portion of the allocation shall be determined at the time of transfer. The commissioner or
576.28 eeunty agency may return beds to the housing support fund with 180 days' notice, including
576.29 financial reconciliation.

576.30 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
576.31 Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256S.18, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
576.32 Subd. 7. Monthly case mix budget cap exception. The commissioner shall approve an

576.33 exception to the monthly case mix budget cap in paragraph(a) subdivision 3 to account for

577.1 the additional cost of providing enhanced rate personal care assistance services under section
577.2  256B.0659 or enhanced rate community first services and supports under section 256B.85.
577.3 he-exeeptionshalnotexceed 075 pereentof-the budget-otherwisewvathableto-the

5774  individual The commissioner must calculate the difference between the rate for personal
577.5 care assistance services and enhanced rate personal care assistance services. The additional
577.6  budget amount approved under an exception must not exceed this difference. The exception
577.7 must be reapproved on an annual basis at the time of a participant's annual reassessment.
577.8 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021, or upon federal approval,
577.9  whichever is later. The commissioner of human services must notify the revisor of statutes

577.10 when federal approval is obtained.

577.11 Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256S.20, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
577.12 Subdivision 1. Customized living services provider requirements. Only-a-provider
577.13 heensed by-the Departmen © ettthas-aeomprehensive home-eare provider mayprovide
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portion of the allocation shall be determined at the time of transfer. The commissioner or
eounty agency may return beds to the housing support fund with 180 days' notice, including
financial reconciliation.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 59. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 2561.06, subdivision 8, is amended to read:

Subd. 8. Amount of housing support payment. (a) The amount of a room and board
payment to be made on behalf of an eligible individual is determined by subtracting the
individual's countable income under section 2561.04, subdivision 1, for a whole calendar
month from the room and board rate for that same month. The housing support payment is
determined by multiplying the housing support rate times the period of time the individual
was a resident or temporarily absent under section 2561.05, subdivision te;paragraph-(d)
2a.

(b) For an individual with earned income under paragraph (a), prospective budgeting
must be used to determine the amount of the individual's payment for the following six-month
period. An increase in income shall not affect an individual's eligibility or payment amount
until the month following the reporting month. A decrease in income shall be effective the
first day of the month after the month in which the decrease is reported.

(c) For an individual who receives housing support payments under section 2561.04,
subdivision 1, paragraph (c), the amount of the housing support payment is determined by
multiplying the housing support rate times the period of time the individual was a resident.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021.
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(a) To deliver customized living services or 24-hour customized living services:, a provider
must:

(1) be licensed as an assisted living facility under chapter 144G; or

(2) be licensed as a comprehensive home care provider under chapter 144A and be
delivering services: (i) in a setting defined under section 144G.08, subdivision 7, clauses
(11) to (13); or (ii) in an affordable housing setting under section 144G.08, subdivision 7,
clause (10), that is delivering authorized customized living services to a person in the setting
on or before June 30, 2022. A licensed home care provider is subject to section 256B.0651,
subdivision 14.

(b) Settings under paragraph (a), clause (2), must comply with section 256S.2003.
EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.

Sec. 37. [256S.2003] CUSTOMIZED LIVING SERVICES; REQUIREMENTS OF
PROVIDERS IN DESIGNATED SETTINGS.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the following terms have
the meanings given.

(b) "Designated provider" means a home care provider licensed under chapter 144A that
provides customized living services to some or all of the residents of a designated setting
and that is either the setting itself or another entity with which the setting has a contract or
business relationship.

(c) "Designated setting" means a setting defined under section 256S.20, subdivision 1,
paragraph (a), clause (2).

(d) "Resident" means a person receiving customized living services in a designated
setting.

Subd. 2. Attestation of compliance with requirements. Upon enrollment with the
department to provide customized living services, a designated provider of customized
living services must submit an attestation that the provider is in compliance with subdivisions
3to 8.

Subd. 3. Contracts. (a) Every designated provider must execute a written contract with
a resident or the resident's representative and must operate in accordance with the terms of
the contract. The resident or the resident's representative must be given a complete copy of
the contract and all supporting documents and attachments and any changes whenever

changes are made.

(b) The contract must include at least the following elements in itself or through
supporting documents or attachments:

(1) the name, street address, and mailing address of the designated provider;
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(2) the name and mailing address of the owner or owners of the designated provider
and, if the owner or owners are not natural persons, identification of the type of business
entity of the owner or owners;

(3) the name and mailing address of the managing agent, through management agreement
or lease agreement, of the designated provider, if different from the owner or owners;

(4) the name and address of at least one natural person who is authorized to accept service
of process on behalf of the owner or owners and managing agent;

(5) a statement identifying the designated provider's home care license number;

(6) the term of the contract;

(7) an itemization and description of the services to be provided to the resident;

(8) a conspicuous notice informing the resident of the policy concerning the conditions
under which and the process through which the contract may be modified, amended, or
terminated;

(9) a description of the designated provider's complaint resolution process available to
residents including the toll-free complaint line for the Office of Ombudsman for Long-Term
Care;

(10) the resident's designated representative, if any;

(11) the designated provider's referral procedures if the contract is terminated;

(12) a statement regarding the ability of a resident to receive services from service
providers with whom the designated provider does not have an arrangement;

(13) a statement regarding the availability of public funds for payment for residence or
services; and

(14) a statement regarding the availability of and contact information for long-term care
consultation services under section 256B.0911 in the county in which the establishment is
located.

(c) The contract must include a statement regarding:

(1) the ability of a resident to furnish and decorate the resident's unit within the terms
of the lease;

(2) aresident's right to access food at any time;

(3) a resident's right to choose the resident's visitors and times of visits;

(4) a resident's right to choose a roommate if sharing a unit; and

(5) a resident's right to have and use a lockable door to the resident's unit. The designated
setting must provide the locks on the unit. Only a staff member with a specific need to enter
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the unit shall have keys, and advance notice must be given to the resident before entrance,
when possible.

(d) A restriction of a resident's rights under this subdivision is allowed only if determined
necessary for health and safety reasons identified by the home care provider's registered
nurse in an initial assessment or reassessment, as defined under section 144A.4791,
subdivision 8, and documented in the written service plan under section 144A.4791,
subdivision 9. Any restrictions of those rights for people served under this chapter and
section 256B.49 must be documented in the resident's coordinated service and support plan,
as defined under sections 256B.49, subdivision 15, and 256S.10.

(e) The contract and related documents executed by each resident or resident's
representative must be maintained by the designated provider in files from the date of
execution until three years after the contract is terminated.

Subd. 4. Training in dementia. (2) If a designated provider has a special program or
special care unit for residents with Alzheimer's disease or other dementias or advertises,
markets, or otherwise promotes the provision of services for persons with Alzheimer's
disease or other dementias, whether in a segregated or general unit, employees of the provider
must meet the following training requirements:

(1) supervisors of direct-care staff must have at least eight hours of initial training on
topics specified under paragraph (b) within 120 working hours of the employment start
date, and must have at least two hours of training on topics related to dementia care for each
12 months of employment thereafter;

(2) direct-care employees must have completed at least eight hours of initial training on
topics specified under paragraph (b) within 160 working hours of the employment start
date. Until this initial training is complete, an employee must not provide direct care unless
there is another employee on site who has completed the initial eight hours of training on
topics related to dementia care and who can act as a resource and assist if issues arise. A
trainer of the requirements under paragraph (b), or a supervisor meeting the requirements
in clause (1), must be available for consultation with the new employee until the training
requirement is complete. Direct-care employees must have at least two hours of training on
topics related to dementia care for each 12 months of employment thereafter;

(3) staff who do not provide direct care, including maintenance, housekeeping, and food
service staff, must have at least four hours of initial training on topics specified under
paragraph (b) within 160 working hours of the employment start date, and must have at
least two hours of training on topics related to dementia care for each 12 months of
employment thereafter; and

(4) new employees may satisfy the initial training requirements under clauses (1) to (3)
by producing written proof of previously completed required training within the past 18
months.
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(b) Areas of required training include:

(1) an explanation of Alzheimer's disease and related disorders;

(2) assistance with activities of daily living;

(3) problem solving with challenging behaviors; and

(4) communication skills.

(c) The provider must provide to residents and prospective residents in written or
electronic form a description of the training program, the categories of employees trained,
the frequency of training, and the basic topics covered.

Subd. 5. Restraints. Residents must be free from any physical or chemical restraints
imposed for purposes of discipline or convenience.

Subd. 6. Termination of contract. A designated provider must include with notice of
termination of contract information about how to contact the ombudsman for long-term
care, including the address and telephone number, along with a statement of how to request
problem-solving assistance.

Subd. 7. Manager requirements. (a) The person primarily responsible for oversight
and management of the designated provider, as designated by the owner, must obtain at
least 30 hours of continuing education every two years of employment as the manager in
topics relevant to the operations of the facility and the needs of its tenants. Continuing
education earned to maintain a professional license, such as a nursing home administrator
license, nursing license, social worker license, or real estate license, can be used to complete

this requirement.

(b) New managers may satisfy the initial dementia training requirements by producing
written proof of previously completed required training within the past 18 months.

Subd. 8. Emergency planning. (a) Each designated provider must meet the following
requirements:
(1) have a written emergency disaster plan that contains a plan for evacuation, addresses

elements of sheltering in-place, identifies temporary relocation sites, and details staff
assignments in the event of a disaster or an emergency;

(2) prominently post an emergency disaster plan;

(3) provide building emergency exit diagrams to all residents upon signing a contract;

(4) post emergency exit diagrams on each floor; and

(5) have a written policy and procedure regarding missing residents.

(b) Each designated provider must provide emergency and disaster training to all staff
during the initial staff orientation and annually thereafter and must make emergency and
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disaster training available to all residents annually. Staff who have not received emergency
and disaster training are allowed to work only when trained staff are also working on site.

(c) Each designated provider location must conduct and document a fire drill or other
emergency drill at least once every six months. To the extent possible, drills must be
coordinated with local fire departments or other community emergency resources.

Subd. 9. Other laws. Each designated provider must comply with chapter 504B, and
must obtain and maintain all other licenses, permits, registrations, or other required
governmental approvals. A designated provider is not required to obtain a lodging license
under chapter 157 and related rules.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.
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Sec. 60. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256S.203, is amended to read:
256S.203 CUSTOMIZED LIVING SERVICES; MANAGED CARE RATES.

Subdivision 1. Capitation payments. The commissioner shall must adjust the elderly
waiver capitation payment rates for managed care organizations paid to reflect the monthly
service rate limits for customized living services and 24-hour customized living services
established under section 256S.202 and the rate adjustments for disproportionate share
facilities under section 256S.205.

Subd. 2. Reimbursement rates. Medical assistance rates paid to customized living
providers by managed care organizations under this chapter shalt must not exceed the
monthly service rate limits and component rates as determined by the commissioner under
sections 2568S.15 and 256S.20 to 256S.202, plus any rate adjustment under section 256S.205.

Sec. 61. [256S.205] CUSTOMIZED LIVING SERVICES; DISPROPORTIONATE
SHARE RATE ADJUSTMENTS.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the terms in this
subdivision have the meanings given.

(b) "Application year" means a year in which a facility submits an application for
designation as a disproportionate share facility.

(c) "Assisted living facility" or "facility" means an assisted living facility licensed under
chapter 144G.

(d) "Disproportionate share facility" means an assisted living facility designated by the
commissioner under subdivision 4.

Subd. 2. Rate adjustment application. An assisted living facility may apply to the
commissioner for designation as a disproportionate share facility. Applications must be
submitted annually between October 1 and October 31. The applying facility must apply

REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE



Disability Services and Continuing Care for Older Adults
House Language H2128-4 Senate Language UEH2128-1

506.4 in a manner determined by the commissioner. The applying facility must document as a
506.5 percentage the census of elderly waiver participants residing in the facility on October 1 of
506.6  the application year.

506.7 Subd. 3. Rate adjustment eligibility criteria. Only facilities with a census of at least
506.8 80 percent elderly waiver participants on October 1 of the application year are eligible for
506.9 designation as a disproportionate share facility.

506.10 Subd. 4. Designation as a disproportionate share facility. By November 15 of each
506.11 application year, the commissioner must designate as a disproportionate share facility a
506.12 facility that complies with the application requirements of subdivision 2 and meets the
506.13 eligibility criteria of subdivision 3.

506.14 Subd. 5. Rate adjustment; rate floor. (a) Notwithstanding the 24-hour customized
506.15 living monthly service rate limits under section 256S.202, subdivision 2, and the component
506.16 service rates established under section 256S.201, subdivision 4, the commissioner must
506.17 establish a rate floor equal to $119 per resident per day for 24-hour customized living

506.18 services provided in a designated disproportionate share facility for the purpose of ensuring
506.19 the minimal level of staffing required to meet the health and safety need of elderly waiver

506.20 participants.

506.21 (b) The commissioner must adjust the rate floor at least annually in the manner described
506.22 under section 256S.18, subdivisions 5 and 6.

506.23 (c) The commissioner shall not implement the rate floor under this section if the
506.24 customized living rates established under sections 256S.21 to 256S.215 will be implemented
506.25 at 100 percent on January 1 of the year following an application year.

506.26 Subd. 6. Budget cap disregard. The value of the rate adjustment under this section
506.27 must not be included in an elderly waiver client's monthly case mix budget cap.

506.28 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2021, or upon federal approval,
506.29 whichever is later, and applies to services provided on or after January 1, 2022, or on or

506.30 after the date upon which federal approval is obtained, whichever is later. The commissioner
506.31 of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.

507.1 Sec. 62. Laws 2019, First Special Session chapter 9, article 5, section 86, subdivision 1,
507.2 as amended by Laws 2020, First Special Session chapter 2, article 3, section 2, subdivision
507.3 1, is amended to read:

507.4 Subdivision 1. Intent. It is the intent of the legislature to reform the medical assistance
507.5 waiver programs for people with disabilities to simplify administration of the programs.
507.6 Disability waiver reconfiguration must incentivize inclusive, person-centered, individualized
507.7 supports and services; enhance each person's self-determination and personal authority over
507.8 the person's service choice; align benefits across waivers; ensure equity across programs
507.9 and populations; assess and address racial and geographical disparities and institutional bias
507.10 in services and programs; promote long-term sustainability of waiver services; and maintain
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Sec. 38. SELF-DIRECTED WORKER CONTRACT RATIFICATION.

The labor agreement between the state of Minnesota and the Service Employees
International Union Healthcare Minnesota, submitted to the Legislative Coordinating
Commission on March 1, 2021, is ratified.

Sec. 39. DIRECTION TO THE COMMISSIONER; CUSTOMIZED LIVING
REPORT.

(a) By January 15, 2022, the commissioner of human services shall submit a report to
the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction
over human services policy and finance. The report must include the commissioner's:

(1) assessment of the prevalence of customized living services provided under Minnesota
Statutes, section 256B.49, supplanting the provision of residential services and supports
licensed under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 245D, and provided in settings licensed under
Minnesota Statutes, chapter 245A;

(2) recommendations regarding the continuation of the moratorium on home and
community-based services customized living settings under Minnesota Statutes, section
256B.49, subdivision 28;

(3) other policy recommendations to ensure that customized living services are being
provided in a manner consistent with the policy objectives of the foster care licensing
moratorium under Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.03, subdivision 7; and

(4) recommendations for needed statutory changes to implement the transition from
existing four-person or fewer customized living settings to corporate adult foster care or
community residential settings.

(b) The commissioner of health shall provide the commissioner of human services with
the required data to complete the report in paragraph (a) and implement the moratorium on
home and community-based services customized living settings under Minnesota Statutes,
section 256B.49, subdivision 28. The data must include, at a minimum, each registered
housing with services establishment under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 144D, enrolled as
a customized living setting to deliver customized living services as defined under the brain
injury or community access for disability inclusion waiver plans under Minnesota Statutes,
section 256B.49.

Sec. 40. DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER; PROVIDER STANDARDS FOR
CUSTOMIZED LIVING SERVICES IN DESIGNATED SETTINGS.

The commissioner of human services shall review policies and provider standards for
customized living services provided in settings identified in Minnesota Statutes, section
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507.11 service stability and continuity of care while prioritizing, promoting, and creating incentives
507.12 for independent, integrated, and individualized supports and services chosen by each person
507.13 through an informed decision-making process and person-centered planning.

51023 Sec. 67. DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONERS; CUSTOMIZED LIVING REPORT.

510.24 (a) By January 15, 2022, the commissioner of human services shall submit a report to
510.25 the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction
510.26 over human services policy and finance. The report must include the commissioner's:

510.27 (1) assessment of the prevalence of customized living services provided under Minnesota
510.28 Statutes, section 256B.49, supplanting the provision of residential services and supports
510.29 licensed under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 245D, and provided in settings licensed under
510.30 Minnesota Statutes, chapter 245A;

511.1 (2) recommendations regarding the continuation of the moratorium on home and

511.2 community-based services customized living settings under Minnesota Statutes, section
511.3 256B.49, subdivision 28;

511.4 (3) other policy recommendations to ensure that customized living services are being
511.5 provided in a manner consistent with the policy objectives of the foster care licensing

511.6 moratorium under Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.03, subdivision 7; and

511.7 (4) recommendations for needed statutory changes to implement the transition from
511.8 existing four-person or fewer customized living settings to corporate adult foster care or
511.9 community residential settings.

511.10 (b) The commissioner of health shall provide the commissioner of human services with

511.11 the required data to complete the report in paragraph (a) and implement the moratorium on
511.12 home and community-based services customized living settings under Minnesota Statutes,
511.13 section 256B.49, subdivision 28. The data must include, at a minimum, each registered
511.14 housing with services establishment under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 144D, enrolled as
511.15 a customized living setting to deliver customized living services as defined under the brain
511.16 injury or community access for disability inclusion waiver plans under Minnesota Statutes,
511.17 section 256B.49.

REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE



583.8
583.9
583.10
583.11
583.12

583.13

583.14
583.15
583.16
583.17
583.18
583.19

Disability Services and Continuing Care for Older Adults
House Language H2128-4

2568S.20, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (2), in consultation with stakeholders. The
commissioner may provide recommendations to the chairs and ranking minority members
of the legislative committees and divisions with jurisdiction over customized living services
by February 15, 2022, regarding appropriate regulatory oversight and payment policies for
customized living services delivered in these settings.

Sec. 41. GOVERNOR'S COUNCIL ON AN AGE-FRIENDLY MINNESOTA.

The Governor's Council on an Age-Friendly Minnesota, established in Executive Order
19-38, shall: (1) work to advance age-friendly policies; and (2) coordinate state, local, and
private partners' collaborative work on emergency preparedness, with a focus on older
adults, communities, and persons in zip codes most impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic.
The Governor's Council on an Age-Friendly Minnesota is extended and expires October 1,
2022.
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Sec. 63. PARENTING WITH A DISABILITY; PILOT PROJECT.

Subdivision 1. Purpoese. The commissioner of human services shall establish a pilot
project to provide grants to personal care assistance provider agencies to provide assistance
with child rearing tasks to a parent who is eligible for personal care assistance services
under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0659, or for services and supports provided through
community first services and supports under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.85. The
purpose of this pilot project is to study the benefits of supportive parenting while assisting
parents with a disability in child rearing tasks and preventing removal of a child from a
parent because the parent has a disability.

Subd. 2. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, in addition to the definitions
in Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0659, subdivision 1, applying to the personal care
assistance program and the definitions in Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.85, subdivision
2, applying to community first services and supports, the following terms have the meanings
given them in this subdivision.

(b) "Adaptive parenting equipment" means a piece of equipment that increases, extends,
or improves the parenting capabilities of a parent with a disability.

(c) "Child" means a person under 12 years of age.

(d) "Child rearing task" means a task that assists a parent with a disability to care for a
child. Child rearing task includes, but is not limited to: lifting and carrying a child, organizing
supplies for a child, preparing meals for a child, washing clothing and bedding for a child,
bathing a child, childproofing the home that the parent and child live in, and assisting with

transporting a child.

(e) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of human services.
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(f) "Parent" means a child's biological, foster, or adoptive parent or legal guardian who
is legally obligated to care for and support the child.

(g) "Person with a disability" means an individual who has a physical, mental, or
psychological impairment or dysfunction that limits independent functioning in a family,
community, or employment.

(h) "Personal care assistant" or "PCA" also means support worker.

(i) "Personal care assistance services" also means the services and supports provided by
community first services and supports.

(j) "Supportive parenting assistant" or "SPA" means an individual providing supportive
parenting services who is also a personal care assistant.

(k) "Supportive parenting service" means a state-funded service that (1) helps a parent
with a disability compensate for aspects of the parent's disability that affect the parent's
ability to care for the child, and (2) enables the parent to complete parental responsibilities,
including child rearing tasks. Supportive parenting service does not include disciplining the

parent's child.

Subd. 3. Grants. (2) The commissioner shall develop a competitive application process
for up to three two-year state-funded grants to personal care assistance provider agencies
to provide supportive parenting services described in subdivision 4 and to purchase adaptive
parenting equipment described in subdivision 5. A grant applicant must be a personal care
assistance provider agency.

(b) Grant applications must describe how the applicant would recruit families to
participate in the pilot project and how the applicant would select families to receive
supportive parenting services while giving preference to families in which both parents are
receiving personal care assistance services.

(c) Grantees must agree to provide supportive parenting to each selected family for at
least one year.

Subd. 4. Supportive parenting services. (a) If a parent is eligible for and receiving
personal care assistance services, the parent is eligible to receive supportive parenting
services funded by a grant under this section. A parent must use one supportive parenting
assistant at a time, regardless of the parent's number of children. Supportive parenting
services provided under this section are services for the parent and not the child.

(b) An SPA providing supportive parenting services under this section must not perform
personal care assistance services while scheduled to provide supportive parenting services.
A PCA providing personal care assistance services must not perform supportive parenting
services while scheduled to provide personal care assistance services. A PCA providing
personal care assistance services and an SPA providing supportive parenting services may
be scheduled to support the parent at the same time. The same individual may provide
personal care assistance services and supportive parenting assistance to a parent as long as
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the requirements of this paragraph are met. Supportive parenting services under this section
do not count toward a PCA's 310 hours per-month limit on providing personal care assistance
services under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0659, subdivision 11, paragraph (a), clause

(10).

(c) Supportive parenting services under this section must not replace personal care
assistance services.

(d) A parent's supportive parenting services shall be limited to 40 hours per month.

Subd. 5. Adaptive parenting equipment. A grantee may purchase adaptive parenting
equipment at the request of a parent receiving supportive parenting services under subdivision
4. A grantee must not purchase adaptive parenting equipment covered by medical assistance.
A grantee must purchase the least costly item to meet the parent's need.

Sec. 64. DIRECTION TO THE COMMISSIONER; STUDY OF SUPPORTIVE
PARENTING SERVICES.

The commissioner shall study the feasibility of providing supportive parenting services
to parents with disabilities and disabling conditions as a covered medical assistance service
and submit a report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees
with jurisdiction over health and human services by February 15, 2023. The report must
contain at a minimum:

(1) the total number of parents that were provided services through the pilot project;

(2) the total cost of developing and providing the services provided under the pilot
project;

(3) recommendations on expansion or continuation of the pilot project;

(4) recommendations on seeking federal approval of supportive parenting services as a
covered service under medical assistance; and

(5) draft legislative language.

Sec. 65. DIRECTION TO THE COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN SERVICES; PLAN
FOR ADDRESSING EFFECTS ON COMMUNITY OF CERTAIN
STATE-OPERATED SERVICES.

The commissioner of human services, in consultation with stakeholders, shall develop
and submit to the chairs and ranking minority members of the house of representatives and
senate committees with jurisdiction over health and human services by January 31, 2022,

a plan to ameliorate the effects of repeated incidents, as defined in Minnesota Statutes,
section 245D.02, subdivision 11, occurring at Minnesota state-operated community services
programs that affect the community in which the program is located and the neighbors of
the service site of the program.
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Sec. 66. DIRECTION TO THE COMMISSIONER; INITIAL PACE
IMPLEMENTATION FUNDING.

The commissioner of human services must work with stakeholders to develop
recommendations for financing mechanisms to complete the actuarial work and cover the
administrative costs of a program of all-inclusive care for the elderly (PACE). The
commissioner must recommend a financing mechanism that could begin July 1, 2023. The
commissioner shall inform the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative
committees with jurisdiction over health care funding by December 15, 2022, on the
commissioner's progress toward developing a recommended financing mechanism.

Sec. 68. DIRECTION TO THE COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN SERVICES;
DIRECT CARE SERVICES DURING SHORT-TERM ACUTE HOSPITAL VISITS.

The commissioner of human services, in consultation with stakeholders, shall develop
a new covered service under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256B, or develop modifications
to existing covered services, that permits receipt of direct care services in an acute care
hospital in a manner consistent with the requirements of United States Code, title 42, section
1396a(h). By August 31, 2022, the commissioner must provide to the chairs and ranking
minority members of the house of representatives and senate committees and divisions with
jurisdiction over direct care services any draft legislation as may be necessary to implement
the new or modified covered service.

Sec. 69. DIRECTION TO THE COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN SERVICES;
DRIVING AS COVERED SERVICE UNDER COMMUNITY FIRST SERVICES
AND SUPPORTS.

The commissioner of human services, in consultation with stakeholders and within
existing appropriations, shall develop a new covered service under Minnesota Statutes,
section 256B.85, that permits a support worker to bill as community first services and
supports, not merely assisting a participant with traveling around and participating in the
community, or merely accompanying a participant while traveling around or participating
in the community, but driving the participant to activities in the community, including to
medical appointments. In developing the new covered services, the commissioner must
account for any substitution effect that will result from the new covered service supplanting
nonemergency medical transportation. By December 31, 2021, the commissioner must
provide to the chairs and ranking minority members of the house of representatives and
senate committees and divisions with jurisdiction over community first services and supports
any draft legislation as may be necessary to implement the new covered service.

Sec. 70. DIRECTION TO THE COMMISSIONER; LONG-TERM CARE
CONSULTATION SERVICE RATES.

By January 15, 2025, the commissioner of human services shall develop a proposal with
legislative language for capitated rates for each type of assessment or activity provided
under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0911, as determined by the commissioner. The
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Sec. 42. PERSONAL CARE ASSISTANCE COMPENSATION FOR SERVICES
PROVIDED BY A PARENT OR SPOUSE.

(a) Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0659, subdivisions 3, paragraph
(a), clause (1); 11, paragraph (c); and 19, paragraph (b), clause (3), a parent, stepparent, or
legal guardian of a minor who is a personal care assistance recipient or a spouse of a personal
care assistance recipient may provide and be paid for providing personal care assistance
services.

(b) This section expires upon full implementation and phase-in of the community first
services and supports program under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.85.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment or
upon federal approval. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of
statutes when federal approval is obtained.

Sec. 43. RATE INCREASE FOR DIRECT SUPPORT SERVICES WORKFORCE.

(a) Effective October 1, 2021, or upon federal approval, whichever is later, if the labor
agreement between the state of Minnesota and the Service Employees International Union
Healthcare Minnesota under Minnesota Statutes, section 179A.54, is approved pursuant to
Minnesota Statutes, section 3.855, the commissioner of human services shall increase:

(1) reimbursement rates, individual budgets, grants, or allocations by 4.14 percent for
services under paragraph (b) provided on or after October 1, 2021, or upon federal approval,
whichever is later, to implement the minimum hourly wage, holiday, and paid time off
provisions of that agreement;

(2) reimbursement rates, individual budgets, grants, or allocations by 2.95 percent for
services under paragraph (b) provided on or after July 1, 2022, or upon federal approval,
whichever is later, to implement the minimum hourly wage, holiday, and paid time off
provisions of that agreement;

(3) individual budgets, grants, or allocations by 1.58 percent for services under paragraph
¢) provided on or after October 1, , or upon federal approval, whichever is later, to
ided fter October 1, 2021 federal 1, which is 1
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commissioner shall provide the proposal and legislative language to the chairs and ranking
minority members of the legislative committees and divisions with jurisdiction over human
services policy and finance by January 15, 2025.

Sec. 71. HOUSING SUPPORT SUPPLEMENTAL SERVICE RATE REDUCTION
DELAY.

The rate reduction described in Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.051, subdivision 7,
does not apply until October 1, 2021, for individuals who receive supplemental services
from providers that made a good faith effort to become a Medicaid provider by submitting
an application by June 1, 2021.

Sec. 72. PERSONAL CARE ASSISTANCE COMPENSATION FOR SERVICES
PROVIDED BY A PARENT OR SPOUSE.

(a) Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0659, subdivisions 3, paragraph
(a), clause (1); 11, paragraph (c); and 19, paragraph (b), clause (3), a parent, stepparent, or
legal guardian of a minor who is a personal care assistance recipient or a spouse of a personal
care assistance recipient may provide and be paid for providing personal care assistance
services.

(b) This section expires upon full implementation and phase-in of the community first
services and supports program under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.85.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment, or
upon federal approval, whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify
the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.

REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE



584.16
584.17

584.18
584.19
584.20
584.21

584.22
584.23
584.24
584.25
584.26
584.27
584.28
584.29

584.30
584.31
584.32
584.33
585.1
585.2

585.3

585.4
585.5
585.6
585.7
585.8

585.9

585.10
585.11
585.12
585.13

585.14
585.15

585.16
585.17
585.18

Disability Services and Continuing Care for Older Adults
House Language H2128-4

implement the minimum hourly wage, holiday, and paid time off provisions of that
agreement; and

(4) individual budgets, grants, or allocations by .81 percent for services under paragraph
(c) provided on or after July 1, 2022, or upon federal approval, whichever is later, to
implement the minimum hourly wage, holiday, and paid time off provisions of that

agreement.

(b) The rate changes described in paragraph (a), clauses (1) and (2), apply to direct
support services provided through a covered program, as defined in Minnesota Statutes,
section 256B.0711, subdivision 1, with the exception of consumer-directed community
supports available under programs established pursuant to home and community-based
service waivers authorized under section 1915(c) of the federal Social Security Act and
Minnesota Statutes, including but not limited to chapter 256S and sections 256B.092 and
256B.49, and under the alternative care program under Minnesota Statutes, section
256B.0913.

(c) The funding changes described in paragraph (a), clauses (3) and (4), apply to
consumer-directed community supports available under programs established pursuant to
home and community-based service waivers authorized under section 1915(¢c) of the federal
Social Security Act, and Minnesota Statutes, including but not limited to chapter 256S and
sections 256B.092 and 256B.49, and under the alternative care program under Minnesota
Statutes, section 256B.0913.

Sec. 44. WAIVER REIMAGINE PHASE II.

(a) The commissioner of human services must implement a two-home and
community-based services waiver program structure, as authorized under section 1915(c)
of the federal Social Security Act, that serves persons who are determined by a certified
assessor to require the levels of care provided in a nursing home, a hospital, a neurobehavioral
hospital, or an intermediate care facility for persons with developmental disabilities.

(b) The commissioner of human services must implement an individualized budget
methodology, as authorized under section 1915(c) of the federal Social Security Act, that
serves persons who are determined by a certified assessor to require the levels of care
provided in a nursing home, a hospital, a neurobehavioral hospital, or an intermediate care
facility for persons with developmental disabilities.

(c) The commissioner of human services may seek all federal authority necessary to
implement this section.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 1, 2024, or 90 days after
federal approval, whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the
revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.
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Sec. 73. DIRECTIONS TO THE COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN SERVICES;
WAIVER GROWTH LIMITS.

Subdivision 1. Community access for disability inclusion waiver growth
limit. Between July 1, 2021, and June 30, 2025, the commissioner shall allocate to county
and Tribal agencies money for home and community-based waiver programs under Minnesota
Statutes, section 256B.49, to ensure a reduction in forecasted state spending that is equivalent
to limiting the caseload growth of the community access for disability inclusion waiver to
zero allocations per year. Limits do not apply to conversions from nursing facilities. Counties
and Tribal agencies shall manage the annual allocations made by the commissioner to ensure
that persons for whom services are temporarily discontinued for no more than 90 days are
reenrolled. If a county or Tribal agency fails to meet the authorization and spending
requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.49, subdivision 27, the commissioner
may determine a corrective action plan is unnecessary if the failure to meet the requirements
is due to managing the annual allocation for the purposes of allowing people to reenroll
after their services are temporarily discontinued.

Subd. 2. Developmental disabilities waiver growth limit. Between July 1, 2021, and
June 30, 2025, the commissioner shall allocate to county and Tribal agencies money for
home and community-based waiver programs under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.092,
to ensure a reduction in forecasted state spending that is equivalent to limiting the caseload
growth of the developmental disabilities waiver to zero allocations per year. Limits do not
apply to conversions from intermediate care facilities for persons with developmental
disabilities. Counties and Tribal agencies shall manage the annual allocations made by the
commissioner to ensure that persons for whom services are temporarily discontinued for
no more than 90 days are reenrolled.

Sec. 74. RETAINER PAYMENTS FOR HOME AND COMMUNITY-BASED
SERVICE PROVIDERS.

Subdivision 1. Retainer payments. (a) The commissioner of human services shall make
quarterly retainer payments to eligible recipients by July 1, 2021; September 30, 2021;
December 31, 2021; March 31, 2022; and June 30, 2022. The value of the first quarterly
payment to each eligible recipient shall be equal to a percentage to be determined by the
commissioner under subdivision 9 applied to the eligible recipient's total home and
community-based service revenue from medical assistance as of May 31, 2021. The value
of each subsequent quarterly payment shall be equal to a percentage to be determined by
the commissioner under subdivision 9 applied to the eligible recipient's total home and
community-based service revenue from medical assistance based on new data for service
claims paid as of the first day of the month in which the retainer payment will be made.

(b) The commissioner shall implement retainer payments and the process of making
retainer payments under this subdivision without compliance with time-consuming procedures
and formalities prescribed in law, such as the following statutes and related policies:
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514.10 Minnesota Statutes, sections 16A.15, subdivision 3; 16B.97; 16B.98, subdivisions 5 and 7;
514.11 and 16B.98, subdivision 8, the express audit clause requirement.

514.12 (c) The commissioner's determination of the retainer amount determined under this
514.13 subdivision is final and is not subject to appeal. This paragraph does not apply to recoupment
514.14 by the commissioner under subdivision 8.

514.15 Subd. 2. Definitions. For purposes of this section, the following terms have the meanings
514.16 given:
514.17 (1) "direct care professional" means any individual who while providing an eligible

514.18 service has direct contact with the person receiving the eligible service. Direct care
514.19 professional excludes executive, managerial, and administrative staff;

514.20 (2) "eligible recipient" means an enrolled provider of eligible services, including the
514.21 Direct Care and Treatment Division at the Department of Human Services, that meets the
514.22 attestation and agreement requirements in subdivisions 5 and 6;

514.23 (3) "eligible service" means a home and community-based service as defined in section
514.24 9817(a)(2)(B) of the federal American Rescue Plan Act, Public Law 117-2, except:

514.25 (i) community first services and supports;

514.26 (ii) extended community first services and supports;

514.27 (iii) personal care assistance services;

514.28 (iv) extended personal care assistance service;

514.29 (v) consumer-directed community supports;

514.30 (vi) consumer support grants;

514.31 (vii) home health agency services; and

515.1 (viii) home care nursing services;

515.2 (4) "recipient" means an enrolled provider of an eligible service that receives a retainer

515.3 payment under this section; and

515.4 (5) "total home and community-based service revenue from medical assistance" includes
515.5 both fee-for-service revenue and revenue from managed care organizations attributable to
515.6  the provision of eligible services from April 1, 2021, to March 31, 2022. The commissioner
515.7 shall determine each eligible provider's total home and community-based service revenue
515.8 from medical assistance based on data for service claims paid as of the date specified in

515.9 subdivision 9.
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515.10 Subd. 3. Allowable uses of funds. (a) Recipients must use retainer payments to
515.11 implement one or more of the following activities to enhance, expand, or strengthen home
515.12 and community-based services:

515.13 (1) temporarily increase wages, salaries, and benefits for direct care professionals and
515.14 any corresponding increase in the employer's share of FICA taxes, Medicare taxes, state
515.15 and federal unemployment taxes, and workers' compensation premiums;

515.16 (2) provide hazard pay, overtime pay, and shift differential pay for direct care

515.17 professionals;

515.18 (3) pay for paid sick leave, paid family leave, and paid medical leave due to COVID-19
515.19 for direct care professionals;

515.20 (4) pay for training for direct care professionals that is specific to the COVID-19 public
515.21 health emergency;

515.22 (5) recruit new direct care professionals;

515.23 (6) pay for American sign language and other languages interpreters to assist in providing

515.24 eligible services or to inform the general public about COVID-19;

515.25 (7) purchase emergency supplies and equipment to enhance access to eligible services
515.26 and to protect the health and well-being of direct care professionals;

515.27 (8) support family care providers of eligible individuals with needed supplies and
515.28 equipment, which may include items not typically covered under the Medicaid program,
515.29 such as personal protective equipment and pay; and

515.30 (9) pay for assistive technologies, staffing, and other costs incurred during the COVID-19
515.31 public health emergency period to mitigate isolation and ensure an individual's
515.32 person-centered service plan continues to be fully implemented.

516.1 (b) Recipients must:

516.2 (1) use at least 50 percent of the additional revenue received in the form of retainer
516.3 payments for the purposes described in paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (3); and

516.4 (2) use any remainder of the additional revenue received in the form of retainer payments
516.5 for the purposes described in paragraph (a), clauses (4) to (9).

516.6 Subd. 4. Retainer payment requests. Eligible recipients must request retainer payments
516.7 under this section no later than June 1, 2022. The commissioner shall develop an expedited
516.8 request process that includes a form allowing providers to meet the requirements of

516.9 subdivisions 5 and 6 in as timely a manner as possible. The commissioner shall allow the
516.10 use of electronic submission of request forms and accept electronic signatures.
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516.11 Subd. 5. Attestation. (a) As a condition of obtaining funds under this section, an eligible
516.12 recipient must attest to the following on the retainer payment request form:
516.13 (1) the intent to provide eligible services through March 31, 2022; and
516.14 (2) that the recipient will use the retainer payments only for purposes permitted under

516.15 this section.

516.16 (b) By accepting a retainer payment under this section, the recipient attests to the
516.17 conditions specified in this subdivision.

516.18 Subd. 6. Agreement. (a) As a condition of receiving retainer payments under this section,
516.19 an eligible recipient must agree to the following on the retainer payment request form:

516.20 (1) to cooperate with the commissioner of human services to deliver services according
516.21 to the program and service waivers and modifications issued under the commissioner's

516.22 authority;
516.23 (2) to acknowledge that retention grants may be subject to a special recoupment under

516.24 this section if a state audit performed under this section determines that the provider used
516.25 retainer payments for purposes not authorized under this section; and

516.26 (3) to acknowledge that a recipient must comply with the distribution requirements
516.27 described in subdivision 7.

516.28 (b) By accepting a retainer payment under this section, the recipient agrees to the
516.29 conditions specified in this subdivision.

516.30 Subd. 7. Distribution plans. (a) A recipient must prepare and, upon request, submit to
516.31 the commissioner, a distribution plan that specifies the anticipated amount and proposed
516.32 uses of the additional revenue the recipient will receive under this section.

517.1 (b) Within 60 days of receipt of the recipient's first retainer payment, the recipient must
517.2 post the distribution plan and leave it posted for a period of at least six weeks in an area of
517.3 the recipient's operation to which all direct care professionals have access. The provider
517.4 must post with the distribution plan instructions on how to contact the commissioner of
517.5 human services if direct care professionals do not believe they have received the wage

517.6  increase or benefits required under subdivision 3 specified in the distribution plan. The
517.7 instructions must include a mailing address, e-mail address, and telephone number that the
517.8 direct care professional may use to contact the commissioner or the commissioner's

517.9 representative.
517.10 Subd. 8. Recoupment. (a) The commissioner may perform an audit under this section

517.11 up to six years after any retainer payment is made to ensure the funds are utilized solely for
517.12 the purposes authorized under this section.

517.13 (b) If the commissioner determines that a provider used retainer payments for purposes
517.14 not authorized under this section, the commissioner shall treat any amount used for a purpose
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517.15 not authorized under this section as an overpayment. The commissioner shall recover any

517.16 overpayment.
517.17 Subd. 9. Calculation of retainer payments. (a) The commissioner shall determine a

517.18 percentage to apply to each recipient's total home and community-based service revenue
517.19 from medical assistance to calculate the value of each quarterly retainer payment.

517.20 (b) The commissioner shall make an estimate of the total projected expenditures for
517.21 eligible services between April 1, 2021, and March 31, 2022, determine a percentage to be
517.22 applied to the total projected home and community-based service revenue from medical
517.23 assistance for all providers of eligible services sufficient to expend the total appropriation
517.24 for retainer payments, and apply this percentage to each recipient's total home and

517.25 community-based service revenue from medical assistance on the following schedule:

517.26 (1) no earlier than July 1, 2021, make a retainer payment by applying the percentage to
517.27 each recipient's total home and community-based service revenue from medical assistance
517.28 based on service claims paid as of May 31, 2021;

517.29 (2) no later than September 30, 2021, make a retainer payment by applying the percentage
517.30 to each recipient's total home and community-based service revenue from medical assistance
517.31 based on new service claims paid as of September 1, 2021, that were not included in the

517.32 calculation of a prior retainer payment;

517.33 (3) no later than December 31, 2021, make a retainer payment by applying the percentage
517.34 to each recipient's total home and community-based service revenue from medical assistance
518.1 based on new service claims paid as of December 1, 2021, that were not included in the

518.2 calculation of a prior retainer payment; and

518.3 (4) no later than March 31, 2022, make a retainer payment by applying the percentage
518.4 to each recipient's total home and community-based service revenue from medical assistance
518.5 based on new service claims paid as of March 1, 2022, that were not included in the

518.6 calculation of a prior retainer payment.

518.7 (c) The commissioner may redetermine the percentage to be applied to each recipient's
518.8 total home and community-based services revenue from medical assistance.

518.9 (d) By June 30, 2022, the commissioner shall redetermine a percentage to be applied to
518.10 the total home and community-based service revenue from medical assistance based on
518.11 new service claims paid as of June 1, 2021, that were not included in the calculation of a
518.12 prior retainer payment. The redetermined percentage must be sufficient to expend the total
518.13 appropriation for retainer payments. No later than June 30, 2022, the commissioner shall
518.14 make a final retainer payment by applying the redetermined percentage to each recipient's
518.15 total home and community-based service revenue from medical assistance based on new
518.16 service claims paid as of June 1, 2021, that were not included in the calculation of a prior

518.17 retainer payment.
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Sec. 75. DIRECTION TO THE COMMISSIONER; PERSONAL CARE
ASSISTANCE SERVICE RATE INCREASES.

Effective July 1, 2021, The commissioner of human services shall increase the
reimbursement rates, individual budgets, grants, and allocations for community first services
and supports under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.85; personal care assistance services
under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0659; extended personal care assistance service as
defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0605, subdivision 1, paragraph (g); and extended
community first services and supports as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.85,
subdivision 2, paragraph (1); and for budgets of individuals utilizing consumer-directed
community supports or participating in the consumer support grant program. The
commissioner shall determine the amount of the rate increase to ensure that the state share
of the increase does not exceed the amount appropriated in each fiscal year for this purpose
in this act.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021.

Sec. 76. DIRECTION TO THE COMMISSIONER; HOME CARE SERVICE RATE
INCREASE.

Effective July 1, 2021, The commissioner of human services shall increase service rates
for home health agency services under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0653, and for home
care nursing services under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0654. The commissioner shall
determine the amount of the rate increase to ensure that the state share of the increase does
not exceed the amount appropriated in this act in each fiscal year for this purpose.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021.

Sec. 77. DIRECTION TO THE COMMISSIONER; ELDERLY WAIVER RATE
INCREASE.

The commissioner of human services shall modify the ratio of the blended rate described
under Minnesota Statutes, section 256S.2101, to increase statewide service rates and
component service rates. The commissioner shall also adjust service rate limits, monthly
service rate limits, and monthly case mix budget caps to accommodate the increased service
rates and component service rates established under this section. The commissioner shall
modify the blended rates to ensure that the state share of the service rate increase does not
exceed the amount appropriated in each fiscal year for this purpose in this act.

Sec. 78. REVISOR INSTRUCTION.

(a) The revisor of statutes, in consultation with the Office of Senate Counsel, Research
and Fiscal Analysis, the Office of the House Research Department, and the commissioner
of human services, shall prepare legislation for the 2022 legislative session to recodify
Minnesota Statutes, sections 256.975, subdivisions 7 to 7d, and 256B.0911.

(b) The revisor of statutes, in consultation with the Office of Senate Counsel, Research
and Fiscal Analysis, the Office of the House Research Department, and the commissioner

REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE



585.19

585.20
585.21

585.22
585.23
585.24
585.25

585.26
585.27

Disability Services and Continuing Care for Older Adults
House Language H2128-4

Sec. 45. REPEALER.

(a) Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.097, subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6, are
repealed effective July 1, 2021.

(b) Minnesota Statutes 2020, sections 256B.0916, subdivisions 2, 3,4, 5, 8, 11, and 12;
and 256B.49, subdivisions 26 and 27, are repealed effective January 1, 2023, or upon federal
approval, whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor
of statutes when federal approval is obtained.

(c) Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 2568S.20, subdivision 2, is repealed effective August
1, 2021.
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of human services, shall to the greatest extent practicable renumber as subdivisions the
paragraphs of Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.4914, prior to the publication of the 2021
Supplement of Minnesota Statutes, and shall without changing the meaning or effect of
these provisions minimize the use of internal cross-references, including by drafting new
technical definitions as substitutes for necessary cross-references or by other means
acceptable to the commissioner of human services.

(c) The revisor of statutes shall change the headnote for Minnesota Statutes, section
256B.097, to read "REGIONAL AND SYSTEMS IMPROVEMENT FOR MINNESOTANS
WHO HAVE DISABILITIES."

Sec. 79. REPEALER.

(a) Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.4905, subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6, are
repealed.

(b) Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.097, subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6, are
repealed.

(c) Laws 2019, First Special Session chapter 9, article 5, section 90, is repealed.
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