House Language UES0970-1

228.21	ARTICLE 14	28.1	ARTICLE 3
228.22	CRIMINAL AND SENTENCING PROVISIONS	28.2 28.3	CRIMINAL AND PUBLIC SAFETY POLICY CHANGES RELATING TO THE BUDGET
228.23	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 244.05, subdivision 1b, is amended to read:		
228.26 228.27 228.28 228.29 228.30 228.31 229.1	Subd. 1b. Supervised release; offenders who commit crimes on or after August 1, 1993. (a) Except as provided in subdivisions 4, 4a, and 5, every inmate sentenced to prison for a felony offense committed on or after August 1, 1993, shall serve a supervised release term upon completion of the inmate's term of imprisonment and any disciplinary confinement period imposed by the commissioner due to the inmate's violation of any disciplinary rule adopted by the commissioner or refusal to participate in a rehabilitative program required under section 244.03. The amount of time the inmate serves on supervised release shall be equal in length to the amount of time remaining in the inmate's executed sentence after the inmate has served the term of imprisonment and any disciplinary confinement period imposed by the commissioner.		
229.5 229.6 229.7 229.8 229.9	(b) No inmate who violates a disciplinary rule or refuses to participate in a rehabilitative program as required under section 244.03 shall be placed on supervised release until the inmate has served the disciplinary confinement period for that disciplinary sanction or until the inmate is discharged or released from punitive segregation confinement, whichever is later. The imposition of a disciplinary confinement period shall be considered to be a disciplinary sanction imposed upon an inmate, and the procedure for imposing the disciplinary confinement period and the rights of the inmate in the procedure shall be those in effect for the imposition of other disciplinary sanctions at each state correctional institution.		
229.11	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 244.05, subdivision 4, is amended to read:		
	Subd. 4. Minimum imprisonment, life sentence. (a) An inmate serving a mandatory life sentence under section 609.106, <u>subdivision 2</u> , or 609.3455, subdivision 2, <u>paragraph</u> (a), must not be given supervised release under this section.		
229.17	(b) Except as provided in paragraph (f), an inmate serving a mandatory life sentence under section 609.185, paragraph (a), clause (3), (5), or (6); or Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.109, subdivision 3, must not be given supervised release under this section without having served a minimum term of 30 years.		
	(c) Except as provided in paragraph (f), an inmate serving a mandatory life sentence under section 609.385 must not be given supervised release under this section without having served a minimum term of imprisonment of 17 years.		
	(d) An inmate serving a mandatory life sentence under section 609.3455, subdivision 3 or 4, must not be given supervised release under this section without having served the minimum term of imprisonment specified by the court in its sentence.		

House Language UES0970-1

229.25 (e) An inmate serving a mandatory life sentence under section 609.106, subdivision 3,

- 229.26 or 609.3455, subdivision 2, paragraph (c), must not be given supervised release under this 229.27 section without having served a minimum term of imprisonment of 15 years.
- 229.28 (f) An inmate serving a mandatory life sentence for a crime described in paragraph (b)
- 229.29 or (c) who was under 18 years of age at the time of the commission of the offense must not
- 229.30 be given supervised release under this section without having served a minimum term of
- 229.31 imprisonment of 15 years.

230.1 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 244.05, is amended by adding a subdivision to 230.2 read:

- 230.3 Subd. 4a. Eligibility for early supervised release; offenders who were under 18 at
- 230.4 **the time of offense.** (a) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, any person who was
- 230.5 under the age of 18 at the time of the commission of an offense is eligible for early supervised
- 230.6 release if the person is serving an executed sentence that includes a term of imprisonment
- 230.7 of more than 15 years or separate, consecutive executed sentences for two or more crimes
- 230.8 that include combined terms of imprisonment that total more than 15 years.

230.9 (b) A person eligible for early supervised release under paragraph (a) must be considered

- 230.10 for early supervised release pursuant to section 244.0515 after serving 15 years of
- 230.11 imprisonment.
- 230.12 (c) Where the person is serving separate, consecutive executed sentences for two or
- 230.13 more crimes, the person may be granted early supervised release on all sentences.

230.14 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 244.05, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

230.15 Subd. 5. Supervised release, life sentence. (a) Except as provided in section 244.0515,

230.16 the commissioner of corrections may, under rules promulgated by the commissioner, give

- 230.17 supervised release to an inmate serving a mandatory life sentence under section 609.185, 230.18 paragraph (a), clause (3), (5), or (6); 609.3455, subdivision 3 or 4; 609.385; or Minnesota
- 230.19 Statutes 2004, section 609.109, subdivision 3, after the inmate has served the minimum
- 230.20 term of imprisonment specified in subdivision 4.

(b) The commissioner shall require the preparation of a community investigation report and shall consider the findings of the report when making a supervised release decision under this subdivision. The report shall reflect the sentiment of the various elements of the community toward the inmate, both at the time of the offense and at the present time. The personnel who may have been involved in the case, and any successors to these individuals who may have information relevant to the supervised release decision. The report shall also include the views of the victim and the victim's family unless the victim or the victim's family chooses not to participate.

230.30 (c) The commissioner shall make reasonable efforts to notify the victim, in advance, of 230.31 the time and place of the inmate's supervised release review hearing. The victim has a right

House Language UES0970-1

- 230.32 to submit an oral or written statement at the review hearing. The statement may summarize
- 230.33 the harm suffered by the victim as a result of the crime and give the victim's recommendation 231.1 on whether the inmate should be given supervised release at this time. The commissioner
- 231.2 must consider the victim's statement when making the supervised release decision.
- 231.3 (d) When considering whether to give supervised release to an inmate serving a life
- 231.4 sentence under section 609.3455, subdivision 3 or 4, the commissioner shall consider, at a
- 231.5 minimum, the following: the risk the inmate poses to the community if released, the inmate's
- 231.6 progress in treatment, the inmate's behavior while incarcerated, psychological or other
- 231.7 diagnostic evaluations of the inmate, the inmate's criminal history, and any other relevant
- 231.8 conduct of the inmate while incarcerated or before incarceration. The commissioner may
- 231.9 not give supervised release to the inmate unless:
- 231.10 (1) while in prison:
- 231.11 (i) the inmate has successfully completed appropriate sex offender treatment;
- (ii) the inmate has been assessed for chemical dependency needs and, if appropriate, hassuccessfully completed chemical dependency treatment; and
- (iii) the inmate has been assessed for mental health needs and, if appropriate, hassuccessfully completed mental health treatment; and
- 231.16 (2) a comprehensive individual release plan is in place for the inmate that ensures that,
- 231.17 after release, the inmate will have suitable housing and receive appropriate aftercare and
- 231.18 community-based treatment. The comprehensive plan also must include a postprison
- 231.19 employment or education plan for the inmate.
- (e) As used in this subdivision, "victim" means the individual who suffered harm as aresult of the inmate's crime or, if the individual is deceased, the deceased's surviving spouseor next of kin.
- 231.23 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2021.
- 231.24 Sec. 5. [244.0515] JUVENILE REVIEW BOARD.
- 231.25Subdivision 1. Board. The Juvenile Review Board is created with the power and duties231.26established by subdivision 4.
- 231.27 Subd. 2. Members. (a) The board consists of seven members as follows:
- 231.28 (1) the commissioner of corrections or the commissioner's designee;
- 231.29 (2) the commissioner of human services or the commissioner's designee;
- 231.30 (3) the commissioner of public safety or the commissioner's designee;
- 231.31 (4) the attorney general or the attorney general's designee; and

232.1 232.2	(5) three at-large members with expertise in the neurodevelopment of youth, appointed by the governor.
232.3	(b) The board shall select one of its members to serve as chair.
232.4 232.5 232.6	Subd. 3. Terms, compensation, and removal. The membership terms, compensation, and removal of members and the filling of membership vacancies is as provided in section 15.0575.
232.7 232.8 232.9 232.10 232.11 232.12	Subd. 4. Powers and duties. (a) Consistent with the requirements of this section, the board has authority to grant supervised release to an inmate who was under 18 years of age at the time of the commission of the offense and is serving a mandatory life sentence; an executed sentence that includes a term of imprisonment of more than 15 years; or separate, consecutive executed sentences for two or more crimes that include combined terms of imprisonment that total more than 15 years.
	(b) The board may give supervised release to an inmate described in paragraph (a) after the inmate has served the minimum term of imprisonment specified by the court or 15 years, whichever is earlier.
232.16 232.17 232.18 232.19	(c) Where an inmate is serving multiple sentences that are concurrent to one another, the board must grant or deny supervised release on all sentences. Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, where an inmate is serving multiple sentences that are consecutive to one another, the court may grant or deny supervised release on one or more sentences.
232.22	(d) The board shall conduct an initial supervised release review hearing as soon as practicable after the inmate has served the applicable minimum term of imprisonment. Hearings for inmates eligible for a review hearing on or before July 1, 2021, shall take place before July 1, 2022.
232.26	(e) If the inmate is not released at the initial supervised release review hearing, the board shall conduct subsequent review hearings until the inmate's release. Review hearings shall not be scheduled to take place within six months of a previous hearing or more than three years after a previous hearing.
232.28 232.29	(f) The board may order that an inmate be placed on intensive supervised release for all or part of the inmate's supervised release pursuant to section 244.05, subdivision 6.
232.30 232.31 232.32 232.33 233.1 233.2 233.3	Subd. 5. Administrative services. The commissioner of corrections shall provide adequate office space and administrative services for the board and the board shall reimburse the commissioner for the space and services provided. The board may also utilize, with their consent, the services, equipment, personnel, information, and resources of other state agencies; and may accept voluntary and uncompensated services, contract with individuals and public and private agencies, and request information, reports, and data from any agency of the state or any of the state's political subdivisions to the extent authorized by law.
233.4 233.5	Subd. 6. Development report. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), the board shall require the preparation of a development report and shall consider the findings of the report

233.6	when making a supervised release decision under this section. The report shall be prepared
233.7	by a mental health professional as defined in section 245.462, subdivision 18, clauses (1)
233.8	to (4) or (6), and shall address the cognitive, emotional, and social maturity of the inmate.
233.9	(b) If a development report was prepared within the 12 months immediately proceeding
233.10	the hearing, the board may rely on that report.
233.11	Subd. 7. Victim statement. The board shall make reasonable efforts to notify the victim,
233.12	in advance, of the time and place of the inmate's supervised release review hearing. The
233.13	victim has a right to submit an oral or written statement at the review hearing. The statement
233.14	may summarize the harm suffered by the victim as a result of the crime and give the victim's
233.15	recommendation on whether the inmate should be given supervised release at this time. The
	board must consider the victim's statement when making the supervised release decision.
	As used in this subdivision, "victim" means the individual who suffered harm as a result of
	the inmate's crime or, if the individual is deceased, the deceased's surviving spouse or next
233.19	<u>of kin.</u>
233.20	Subd. 8. Review hearing; notice. (a) At least 90 days before a supervised release review
233.21	hearing, the commissioner of corrections shall notify the inmate of the time and place of
233.22	the hearing and that the inmate has the right to be present at the hearing, request appointment
233.23	of counsel, access the inmate's prison file prior to the hearing, and submit written arguments
233.24	to the board prior to the hearing.
233.25	(b) The inmate may make oral arguments to the board at the hearing.
233.26	Subd. 9. Considerations. (a) When considering whether to give supervised release to
233.27	an inmate serving a mandatory life sentence the board shall consider, at a minimum, the
233.28	following:
233.29	(1) the development report;
233.30	(2) the victim statement, if any;
233.31	(3) the risk the inmate poses to the community if released;
233.32	(4) the inmate's progress in treatment;
234.1	(5) the inmate's behavior while incarcerated;
234.2	(6) any additional psychological or other diagnostic evaluations of the inmate;
234.3	(7) the inmate's criminal history;
234.4	(8) whether the inmate is serving consecutive sentences; and
234.5	(9) any other relevant conduct of the inmate while incarcerated or before incarceration.

House Language UES0970-1

(b) In making its decision, the board must consider relevant science regarding the 234.6 234.7 neurological development of juveniles and shall prioritize information regarding the inmate's maturity and rehabilitation while incarcerated. 234.8 (c) Except as provided in paragraph (d), the board may not give supervised release to 234.9 234.10 the inmate unless: 234.11 (1) while in prison: (i) if applicable, the inmate has successfully completed appropriate sex offender treatment; 234.12 (ii) the inmate has been assessed for chemical dependency needs and, if appropriate, has 234.13 234.14 successfully completed chemical dependency treatment; and 234.15 (iii) the inmate has been assessed for mental health needs and, if appropriate, has been 234.16 provided mental health treatment; and (2) a comprehensive individual release plan is in place for the inmate that ensures that, 234.17 234.18 after release, the inmate will have suitable housing and receive appropriate aftercare and community-based treatment. The comprehensive plan also must include a postprison 234.19 234.20 employment or education plan for the inmate. (d) The board shall not deny supervised release to an inmate pursuant to paragraph (c) 234.21 234.22 if the appropriate assessments, treatment, or planning were not made available to the inmate. 234.23 Subd. 10. Findings of the board. Within 30 days after a supervised release hearing, the 234.24 board shall issue its decision on granting release, including a statement of reasons for that 234.25 decision. If the board does not grant supervised release, the statement of the reasons for that 234.26 denial must identify specific steps the inmate can take to increase the likelihood that release 234.27 will be granted at a future hearing. 234.28 Subd. 11. Review by court of appeals. When the board has issued its findings, an inmate 234.29 who acts within 30 days from the date the inmate received the findings may have the order 234.30 reviewed by the court of appeals upon either of the following grounds: 234.31 (1) the order does not conform with this section: or (2) the findings of fact and order were unsupported by substantial evidence in view of 235.1 235.2 the entire record as submitted. 235.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021. 235.4 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 244.09, is amended by adding a subdivision to 235.5 read: Subd. 15. Report on sentencing adjustments. The Sentencing Guidelines Commission 235.6 shall include in its annual report to the legislature a summary and analysis of sentence 235.7 adjustments issued under section 609.133. At a minimum, the summary and analysis must 235.8

House Language UES0970-1

Senate Language S0970-3

235.9 include information on the counties where a sentencing adjustment was granted and on the

235.10 race, sex, and age of individuals who received a sentence adjustment.

235.11 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 244.101, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

235.12 Subdivision 1. Executed sentences. Except as provided in section 244.05, subdivision

235.13 <u>4a</u>, when a felony offender is sentenced to a fixed executed sentence for an offense committed

235.14 on or after August 1, 1993, the executed sentence consists of two parts: (1) a specified

235.15 minimum term of imprisonment that is equal to two-thirds of the executed sentence; and

235.16 (2) a specified maximum supervised release term that is equal to one-third of the executed 235.17 sentence. The amount of time the inmate actually serves in prison and on supervised release

235.18 is subject to the provisions of section 244.05, subdivision 1b.

235.19 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 480A.06, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

235.20 Subd. 4. Administrative review. The court of appeals shall have jurisdiction to review

235.21 on the record the validity of administrative rules, as provided in sections 14.44 and 14.45,

235.22 and the decisions of administrative agencies in contested cases, as provided in sections235.23 14.63 to 14.69, and the decisions of the Juvenile Review Board as provided in section

235.24 244.0515.

235.25 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2021.

235.26 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.03, is amended to read:

235.27 609.03 PUNISHMENT WHEN NOT OTHERWISE FIXED.

235.28 If a person is convicted of a crime for which no punishment is otherwise provided the 235.29 person may be sentenced as follows:

236.1 (1) If the crime is a felony, to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment 236.2 of a fine of not more than \$10,000, or both; or

(2) If the crime is a gross misdemeanor, to imprisonment for not more than one year36.4 days or to payment of a fine of not more than \$3,000, or both; or

236.5 (3) If the crime is a misdemeanor, to imprisonment for not more than 90 days or to 236.6 payment of a fine of not more than \$1,000, or both; or

236.7 (4) If the crime is other than a misdemeanor and a fine is imposed but the amount is not

236.8 specified, to payment of a fine of not more than \$1,000, or to imprisonment for a specified 236.9 term of not more than six months if the fine is not paid.

236.10 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment and

236.11 applies to offenders receiving a gross misdemeanor sentence before, on, or after that date.

House Language UES0970-1

236.12 Sec. 10. [609.0342] MAXIMUM PUNISHMENT FOR GROSS MISDEMEANORS. Any law of this state that provides for a maximum sentence of imprisonment of one year 236.13 236.14 or is defined as a gross misdemeanor shall be deemed to provide for a maximum fine of \$3,000 and a maximum sentence of imprisonment of 364 days. 236.15 236.16 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and applies to offenders receiving a gross misdemeanor sentence before, on, or after that date. 236.17 Sec. 11. [609.1056] MILITARY VETERANS; CRIMES COMMITTED BECAUSE 236.18 236.19 OF CONDITIONS RESULTING FROM SERVICE; DISCHARGE AND DISMISSAL. Subdivision 1. Definitions. As used in this section, the following terms have the meanings 236.20 236.21 given: 236.22 (1) "applicable condition" means sexual trauma, traumatic brain injury, posttraumatic stress disorder, substance abuse, or a mental health condition; 236.23 (2) "eligible offense" means any misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor, and any felony 236.24 236.25 that is ranked at severity level 7 or lower or D7 or lower on the Sentencing Guidelines grid; 236.26 (3) "pretrial diversion" means the decision of a prosecutor to refer a defendant to a diversion program on condition that the criminal charges against the defendant shall be 236.27 dismissed after a specified period of time, or the case shall not be charged, if the defendant 236.28 successfully completes the program of treatment recommended by the United States 236.29 Department of Veterans Affairs or a local, state, federal, or private nonprofit treatment 236.30 program; and 236.31 237.1 (4) "veterans treatment court program" means a program that has the following essential 237.2 characteristics: 237.3 (i) the integration of services in the processing of cases in the judicial system; (ii) the use of a nonadversarial approach involving prosecutors and defense attorneys to 237.4 promote public safety and to protect the due process rights of program participants; 237.5 (iii) early identification and prompt placement of eligible participants in the program; 237.6 (iv) access to a continuum of alcohol, controlled substance, mental health, and other 237.7 related treatment and rehabilitative services; 237.8 (v) careful monitoring of treatment and services provided to program participants; 237.9 (vi) a coordinated strategy to govern program responses to participants' compliance; 237.10 237.11 (vii) ongoing judicial interaction with program participants; 237.12 (viii) monitoring and evaluation of program goals and effectiveness;

32.10 Sec. 6. [609.1056] MILITARY VETERAN OFFENDERS RESTORATIVE JUSTICE

32.11 **SENTENCE.**

- 36.21 (b) "Veterans treatment court program" means a program that has the following essential 36.22 characteristics:
- 36.23 (1) the integration of services in the processing of cases in the judicial system;
- 36.24 (2) the use of a nonadversarial approach involving prosecutors and defense attorneys to
- 36.25 promote public safety and to protect the due process rights of program participants;
- 36.26 (3) early identification and prompt placement of eligible participants in the program;
- 36.27 (4) access to a continuum of alcohol, controlled substance, mental health, and other related treatment and rehabilitative services;
- 36.29 (5) careful monitoring of treatment and services provided to program participants;
- 36.30 (6) a coordinated strategy to govern program responses to participants' compliance;
- 36.31 (7) ongoing judicial interaction with program participants;
- 36.32 (8) monitoring and evaluation of program goals and effectiveness;

House Language UES0970-1

237.13 (ix) continuing interdisciplinary education to promote effective program planning,
 237.14 implementation, and operations;

- 237.15 (x) development of partnerships with public agencies and community organizations,
- 237.16 including the United States Department of Veterans Affairs; and
- 237.17 (xi) inclusion of a participant's family members who agree to be involved in the treatment
- 237.18 and services provided to the participant under the program.
- 237.19 Subd. 2. Deferred prosecution. (a) The court shall defer prosecution for an eligible
- 237.20 offense committed by a defendant who was, or currently is, a member of the United States
- 237.21 military as provided in this subdivision. The court shall do this at the request of the defendant
- 237.22 upon a finding of guilty after trial or upon a guilty plea.
- 237.23 (b) A defendant who requests to be sentenced under this subdivision shall release or
- 237.24 authorize access to military service reports and records relating to the alleged applicable
- 237.25 condition. The court must file the records as confidential and designate that they remain
- 237.26 sealed, except as provided in this paragraph. In addition, the court may request, through
- 237.27 existing resources, an assessment of the defendant. The defendant, through existing records
- 237.28 or licensed professional evaluation, shall establish the diagnosis of the condition, that it was
- 237.29 caused by military service, and that the offense was committed as a result of the condition.
- 237.30 The court, on its own motion or the prosecutor's, with notice to defense counsel, may order
- 237.31 the defendant to furnish to the court for in-camera review or to the prosecutor copies of all
- 238.1 medical and military service reports and records previously or subsequently made concerning
- 238.2 the defendant's condition and the condition's connection to service.
- 238.3 (c) Based on the record, the court shall determine whether, by clear and convincing
- 238.4 evidence: (1) the defendant suffered from an applicable condition at the time of the offense;
- 238.5 (2) the applicable condition was caused by service in the United States military; and (3) the
- 238.6 offense was committed as a result of the applicable condition. Within 15 days of the court's
- 238.7 determination, either party may file a challenge to the determination and demand a hearing
- 238.8 on the defendant's eligibility under this subdivision.
- 238.9 (d) If the court makes the determination described in paragraph (c), the court shall,
- 238.10 without entering a judgment of guilty, defer further proceedings and place the defendant
- 238.11 on probation upon such reasonable conditions as it may require and for a period not to
- 238.12 exceed the maximum period provided by law. A court may extend a defendant's term of
- 238.13 probation pursuant to section 609.135, subdivision 2, paragraphs (g) and (h). Conditions
- 238.14 ordered by the court must include treatment, services, rehabilitation, and education sufficient
- 238.15 so that if completed, the defendant would be eligible for discharge and dismissal under
- 238.16 subdivision 3. In addition, the court shall order that the defendant undergo a chemical use
- 238.17 assessment that includes a recommended level of care for the defendant in accordance with
- 238.18 the criteria contained in rules adopted by the commissioner of human services under section
- 238.19 254A.03, subdivision 3.

- 37.1 (9) continuing interdisciplinary education to promote effective program planning,
- 37.2 implementation, and operations;
- 37.3 (10) development of partnerships with public agencies and community organizations,
- 37.4 including the United States Department of Veterans Affairs; and
- 37.5 (11) inclusion of a participant's family members who agree to be involved in the treatment
- 37.6 and services provided to the participant under the program.

32.25 (b) A defendant who requests to be sentenced under this section shall release or authorize

- 32.26 access to military service reports and records relating to the alleged conditions stemming
- 32.27 from service in the United States military. The records shall be filed as confidential and
- 32.28 remain sealed, except as provided for in this paragraph. The defendant, through existing
- 32.29 records or licensed professional evaluation, shall establish the diagnosis of the condition
- 32.30 and its connection to military service. The court, on the prosecutor's motion with notice to
- 32.31 defense counsel, may order the defendant to furnish to the court for in camera review or to
- 32.32 the prosecutor copies of all medical and military service reports and records previously or
- 32.33 subsequently made concerning the defendant's condition and its connection to service. Based
- 32.34 on the record, the court shall make findings on whether, by clear and convincing evidence,
- 33.1 the defendant suffers from a diagnosable condition and whether that condition stems from
- 33.2 service in the United States military. Within 15 days of the court's findings, either party
- 33.3 may file a challenge to the findings and demand a hearing on the defendant's eligibility
- 33.4 under this section.
- 33.11 (c) If the court concludes that a defendant who entered a plea of guilty to a criminal
- 33.12 offense is a person described in this subdivision or the parties stipulate to eligibility, and if
- 33.13 the defendant is otherwise eligible for probation, the court shall, upon the defendant entering
- 33.14 a plea of guilty, without entering a judgment of guilty and with the consent of the defendant,
- 33.15 prosecutor, and victim, defer further proceedings and place the defendant on probation upon
- 33.16 such reasonable conditions as it may require and for a period not to exceed the maximum
- 33.17 sentence provided for the violation unless extended by the court to complete treatment as
- 33.18 per section 609.135, subdivision 2, paragraph (h). If the veteran has previously received a
- 33.19 stay of adjudication for a felony offense under this section, the court may in its discretion
- 33.20 sentence consistent with this section or deny the use of this section on subsequent felony
- 33.21 offenses. If the court denies a stay of adjudication on this basis, the court may sentence

11:33 AM Senate Language S0970-3

238.20 (e) If the court determines that the defendant is eligible for a deferred sentence but the

- 238.21 defendant has previously received one for a felony offense under this subdivision, the court
- 238.22 may, but is not required to, impose a deferred sentence. If the court does not impose a
- 238.23 deferred sentence, the court may sentence the defendant as otherwise provided in law,
- 238.24 including as provided in subdivision 4.

238.25 (f) Upon violation of a condition of probation, the court may enter an adjudication of

238.26 guilt and proceed as otherwise provided in law, including as provided in subdivision 4.

238.27 (g) As a condition of probation, the court may order the defendant to attend a local, state,

- 238.28 federal, or private nonprofit treatment program for a period not to exceed the maximum
- 238.29 period for which the defendant could have been incarcerated.

238.30 (h) The court, when issuing an order under this subdivision that a defendant attend an

- 238.31 established treatment program, shall give preference to a treatment program that has a history
- 238.32 of successfully treating veterans who suffer from applicable conditions caused by military
- 238.33 service, including but not limited to programs operated by the United States Department of
- 238.34 Defense or Veterans Affairs.
- 239.1 (i) The court and any assigned treatment program shall collaborate with, when available,
- 239.2 the county veterans service officer and the United States Department of Veterans Affairs
- 239.3 to maximize benefits and services provided to the defendant.
- 239.4 (j) If available in the county or judicial district having jurisdiction over the case, the
- 239.5 defendant may be supervised by a veterans treatment court program under subdivision 5.
- 239.6 If there is a veterans treatment court that meets the requirements of subdivision 5 in the
- 239.7 county in which the defendant resides or works, supervision of the defendant may be
- 239.8 transferred to that county or judicial district veterans treatment court program. Upon the
- 239.9 defendant's successful or unsuccessful completion of the program, the veterans treatment
- 239.10 court program shall communicate this information to the court of original jurisdiction for
- 239.11 <u>further action.</u>
- 239.12 (k) Sentencing pursuant to this subdivision waives any right to administrative review
- 239.13 pursuant to section 169A.53, subdivision 1, or judicial review pursuant to section 169A.53,
- 239.14 subdivision 2, for a license revocation or cancellation imposed pursuant to section 169A.52,

- 33.22 pursuant to the guidelines, application or waiver of statutory mandatory minimums, or a
- 33.23 departure pursuant to subdivision 2, paragraph (d).
- 33.24 (d) Upon violation of a condition of the probation, the court may enter an adjudication
- 33.25 of guilt and proceed as otherwise provided by law, including sentencing pursuant to the
- 33.26 guidelines, application or waiver of statutory mandatory minimums, or a departure pursuant
- 33.27 to subdivision 2, paragraph (d).
- 33.28 (e) As a condition of probation, the court may order the defendant to attend a local, state,
- 33.29 federal, or private nonprofit treatment program for a period not to exceed that period which
- 33.30 the defendant would have served in state prison or county jail, provided the court determines
- 33.31 that an appropriate treatment program exists. Pursuant to section 609.135, subdivision 2,
- 33.32 paragraph (h), the court may extend an offender's probation if the offender has not completed
- 33.33 <u>court-ordered treatment.</u>
- 34.1 (f) The court, in making an order under this section to order a defendant to attend an
- 34.2 established treatment program, shall give preference to a treatment program that has a history
- 34.3 of successfully treating veterans who suffer from sexual trauma, traumatic brain injury,
- 34.4 post-traumatic stress disorder, substance abuse, or mental health conditions as a result of
- 34.5 that service, including but not limited to programs operated by the United States Department
- 34.6 of Defense or Veterans Affairs. If an appropriate treatment provider is not available in the
- 34.7 offender's county of residence or public funding is not available, the Minnesota Department
- 34.8 of Veterans Affairs shall coordinate with the United States Department of Veterans Affairs
- 34.9 to locate an appropriate treatment program and sources to fund the cost of the offender's
- 34.10 participation in the program.
- 34.11 (g) The court and the assigned treatment program shall, when available, collaborate with
- 34.12 the county veterans service officer and the United States Department of Veterans Affairs
- 34.13 to maximize benefits and services provided to the veteran.
- 34.14 (h) If available in the county or judicial district having jurisdiction over the case, the
- 34.15 defendant may be supervised by the veterans treatment court program under subdivision 3.
- 34.16 If there is a veterans treatment court that meets the requirements of subdivision 3 in the
- 34.17 <u>county in which the defendant resides or works, supervision of the defendant may be</u>
- 34.18 transferred to that county or judicial district veterans treatment court program. If the defendant
- 34.19 successfully completes the veterans treatment court program in the supervising jurisdiction,
- 34.20 that jurisdiction shall sentence the defendant under this section. If the defendant is
- 34.21 <u>unsuccessful in the veterans treatment court program, the defendant's supervision</u> shall be
- 34.22 returned to the jurisdiction that initiated the transfer for standard sentencing.
- 34.23 (i) Sentencing pursuant to this section waives any right to administrative review pursuant
- 34.24 to section 169A.53, subdivision 1, or judicial review pursuant to section 169A.53, subdivision
- 34.25 2, for a license revocation or cancellation imposed pursuant to section 169A.52, and also

- 239.15 and also waives any right to administrative review pursuant to section 171.177, subdivision
- 239.16 10, or judicial review pursuant to section 171.177, subdivision 11, for a license revocation
- 239.17 or cancellation imposed pursuant to section 171.177, if that license revocation or cancellation
- 239.18 is the result of the same incident that is being sentenced.
- Subd. 3. Discharge and dismissal. (a) Upon the expiration of the period of the defendant's 239.19
- 239.20 probation the court shall hold a hearing to discharge the defendant from probation and
- 239.21 determine whether to dismiss the proceedings against a defendant who received a deferred
- sentence under subdivision 2. The hearing shall be scheduled so that the parties have adequate 239.22
- 239.23 time to prepare and present arguments regarding the issue of dismissal. The parties may
- 239.24 submit written arguments to the court prior to the date of the hearing and may make oral
- 239.25 arguments before the court at the hearing. The defendant must be present at the hearing
- 239.26 unless excused under Minnesota Rules of Criminal Procedure, rule 26.03, subdivision 1.
- clause (3). 239.27
- 239.28 (b) The court shall provide notice to any identifiable victim of the offense at least 15
- 239.29 days before the hearing is held. Notice to victims of the offense under this subdivision must
- 239.30 specifically inform the victim of the right to submit an oral or written statement to the court
- 239.31 at the time of the hearing describing the harm suffered by the victim as a result of the crime
- and the victim's recommendation on whether dismissal should be granted or denied. The
- 239.33 judge shall consider the victim's statement when making a decision. If a victim notifies the 239.34 prosecutor of an objection to dismissal and is not present at the hearing, the prosecutor shall
- 239.35 make the objections known to the court.
- 240.1 (c) The court shall dismiss proceedings against a defendant if the court finds by clear
- and convincing evidence that the defendant: 240.2
- (1) is in substantial compliance with the conditions of probation; 240.3
- (2) has successfully participated in court-ordered treatment and services to address the 240.4
- applicable condition caused by military service; 240.5
- (3) does not represent a danger to the health or safety of victims or others; and 240.6
- (4) has demonstrated significant benefit from court-ordered education, treatment, or 240.7
- rehabilitation to clearly show that a discharge and dismissal under this subdivision is in the 240.8 240.9 interests of justice.
- (d) In determining the interests of justice, the court shall consider, among other factors, 240.10 all of the following: 240.11

- 34.26 waives any right to administrative review pursuant to section 171.177, subdivision 10, or
- 34.27 judicial review pursuant to section 171.177, subdivision 11, for a license revocation or
- cancellation imposed pursuant to section 171.177, if that license revocation or cancellation 34.28
- 34.29 is the result of the same incident that is being sentenced.
- 34.30 Subd. 2. Restorative justice for military veterans; dismissal of charges. (a) It is in
- the interest of justice to restore a defendant who acquired a criminal record due to a mental 34.31
- 34.32 health condition stemming from service in the United States military to the community of
- law-abiding citizens. The restorative provisions of this subdivision apply to cases in which 34.33
- a court monitoring the defendant's performance of probation under this section finds by 34.34
- clear and convincing evidence at a public hearing, held after not less than 15 days' notice 34.35
- 35.1 to the prosecution, the defense, and any victim of the offense, that all of the following
- describe the defendant: 35.2

- 35.3 (1) the defendant was granted probation and was a person eligible under subdivision 1
- 35.4 at the time that probation was granted;
- (2) the defendant is in compliance with the conditions of that probation; 35.5
- (3) the defendant has successfully completed court-ordered treatment and services to 35.6
- address the sexual trauma, traumatic brain injury, post-traumatic stress disorder, substance 35.7
- 35.8 abuse, or mental health conditions stemming from military service;
- (4) the defendant does not represent a danger to the health and safety of others including 35.9 35.10 any victims; and
- (5) the defendant has demonstrated significant benefit from court-ordered education, 35.11
- treatment, or rehabilitation to clearly show that granting restorative relief pursuant to this 35.12
- 35.13 subdivision would be in the interest of justice.
- (b) When determining whether granting restorative relief under this subdivision is in 35.14
- the interest of justice, the court may consider, among other factors, all of the following: 35.15

April 30, 2021 11:33 AM

240.12 (1) the defendant's completion and degree of participation in education, treatment, and 240.13 rehabilitation as ordered by the court;

- 240.14 (2) the defendant's progress in formal education;
- 240.15 (3) the defendant's development of career potential;
- 240.16 (4) the defendant's leadership and personal responsibility efforts;
- 240.17 (5) the defendant's contribution of service in support of the community;
- 240.18 (6) the level of harm to the community from the offense; and
- 240.19 (7) the statement of the victim, if any.
- 240.20 (e) If the court finds that the defendant does not qualify for discharge and dismissal
- 240.21 under paragraph (c), the court shall enter an adjudication of guilt and proceed as otherwise
- 240.22 provided in law, including as provided in subdivision 4.
- 240.23 (f) Discharge and dismissal under this subdivision shall be without court adjudication
- 240.24 of guilt, but a not public record of the discharge and dismissal shall be retained by the Bureau
- 240.25 of Criminal Apprehension for the purpose of use by the courts in determining the merits of
- 240.26 subsequent proceedings against the defendant. The not public record may also be opened
- 240.27 only upon court order for purposes of a criminal investigation, prosecution, or sentencing.
- 240.28 Upon request by law enforcement, prosecution, or corrections authorities, the bureau shall 240.29 notify the requesting party of the existence of the not public record and the right to seek a
- 240.29 <u>notify the requesting party of the existence of the not public record and the right to seek a</u> 240.30 court order to open the not public record under this paragraph. The court shall forward a
- 240.31 record of any discharge and dismissal under this subdivision to the bureau, which shall
- 241.1 make and maintain the not public record of the discharge and dismissal. The discharge and
- 241.2 dismissal shall not be deemed a conviction for purposes of disqualifications or disabilities
- 241.3 imposed by law upon conviction of a crime or for any other purpose. For purposes of this
- 241.4 paragraph, "not public" has the meaning given in section 13.02, subdivision 8a.
- 241.5 Subd. 4. Sentencing departure; waiver of mandatory sentence. (a) This subdivision
- 241.6 applies to defendants who plead or are found guilty of any criminal offense except one for
- 241.7 which registration is required under section 243.166, subdivision 1b.
- 241.8 (b) Prior to sentencing, a defendant described in paragraph (a) may present proof to the
- 241.9 court that the defendant has, since the commission of the offense, engaged in rehabilitative
- 241.10 efforts consistent with those described in this section. If the court determines that the

35.16 (1) the defendant's completion and degree of participation in education, treatment, and
35.17 rehabilitation as ordered by the court;
35.18 (2) the defendant's progress in formal education;
35.19 (3) the defendant's development of career potential;
35.20 (4) the defendant's leadership and personal responsibility efforts;
35.21 (5) the defendant's contribution of service in support of the community;
35.22 (6) the level of harm to the community from the offense; and

- 35.23 (7) the level of harm to the victim from the offense with the court's determination of
- 35.24 harm guided by the factors for evaluating injury and loss contained in the applicable victim's
- 35.25 rights provisions of chapter 611A.
- 36.1 (d) If the court finds that a defendant placed on probation under subdivision 1 does not
- 36.2 satisfy each of the requirements described in paragraph (a), the court shall enter an
- 36.3 adjudication of guilt and proceed as otherwise provided by law, including sentencing pursuant
- 36.4 to the guidelines, application or waiver of statutory mandatory minimums, or a departure
- 36.5 pursuant to paragraph (e).

- 241.12 clear and convincing evidence that:
- 241.13 (1) the defendant suffered from an applicable condition at the time of the offense;
- 241.14 (2) the applicable condition was caused by service in the United States military; and
- 241.15 (3) the offense was committed as a result of the applicable condition;
- 241.16 the court may determine that the defendant is particularly amenable to probation and order
- 241.17 a mitigated durational or dispositional sentencing departure or a waiver of any statutory
- 241.18 mandatory minimum sentence applicable to the defendant.

- 241.27 Subd. 7. Exception. This section does not apply to a person charged with an offense for
- 241.28 which registration is required under section 243.166, subdivision 1b.

241.19 Subd. 5. Optional veterans treatment court program; procedures for eligible

- 241.20 defendants. A county or judicial district may supervise probation under this section through
- 241.21 a veterans treatment court, using county veterans service officers appointed under sections
- 241.22 197.60 to 197.606, United States Department of Veterans Affairs veterans justice outreach
- 241.23 specialists, probation agents, and any other rehabilitative resources available to the court.

241.24 Subd. 6. Creation of county and city diversion programs; authorization. Any county

- 241.25 or city may establish and operate a veterans pretrial diversion program for offenders eligible
- 241.26 under subdivision 2 without penalty under section 477A.0175.

- 35.26 (c) If the court finds that a case satisfies each of the requirements described in paragraph
- 35.27 (a), then upon expiration of the period of probation the court shall discharge the defendant
- 35.28 and dismiss the proceedings against that defendant. Discharge and dismissal under this

- 35.29 subdivision shall be without court adjudication of guilt. The court shall maintain a public
- 35.30 record of the discharge and dismissal.
- 36.6 (e) If the charge to which the defendant entered a plea of guilty is listed under subdivision
- 36.7 <u>1</u>, paragraph (a), and is for an offense that is a presumptive commitment to state
- 36.8 imprisonment, the court may use the factors of paragraph (a) to justify a dispositional
- 36.9 departure or any appropriate sentence, including the application or waiver of statutory
- 36.10 mandatory minimums. If the court finds that paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (5), factors, the
- 36.11 defendant is presumed amenable to probation.
- 36.12 (f) This subdivision does not apply to an offense for which registration is required under
- 36.13 section 243.166, subdivision 1b, a crime of violence as defined in section 624.712,
- 36.14 subdivision 5, or a gross misdemeanor or felony-level domestic violence offense.
- 36.15 Subd. 3. Optional veterans treatment court program; procedures for eligible
- 36.16 **defendants.** (a) A county or judicial district may supervise probation under this section
- 36.17 through a veterans treatment court using county veterans service officers appointed under
- 36.18 sections 197.60 to 197.606, United States Department of Veterans Affairs veterans justice
- 36.19 outreach specialists, probation agents, and any other rehabilitative resources available to
- 36.20 <u>the court.</u>
- 37.7 Subd. 4. Creation of county and city diversion programs; authorization. Any county
- 37.8 or city may establish and operate a veterans pretrial diversion program for offenders eligible
- 37.9 under subdivision 1 without penalty under section 477A.0175. "Pretrial diversion" means
- 37.10 the decision of a prosecutor to refer an offender to a diversion program on condition that
- 37.11 the criminal charges against the offender shall be dismissed after a specified period of time,
- 37.12 or the case shall not be charged, if the offender successfully completes the program of
- 37.13 treatment recommended by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs or a local,
- 37.14 state, federal, or private nonprofit treatment program.

- 32.12 Subdivision 1. Offenses as a result of military service; presentence supervision
- 32.13 **procedures.** (a) Except as provided for in subdivision 2, paragraph (f), in the case of a
- 32.14 person charged with a criminal offense that is either Severity Level 7, D7, or lower in the
- 32.15 Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines, including misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor offenses,
- 32.16 who could otherwise be sentenced to county jail or state prison and who alleges that the
- 32.17 offense was committed as a result of sexual trauma, traumatic brain injury, post-traumatic
- 32.18 stress disorder, substance abuse, or mental health conditions stemming from service in the
- 32.19 United States military, the court shall, prior to entering a plea of guilty, make a determination
- 32.20 as to whether the defendant was, or currently is, a member of the United States military and
- 32.21 whether the defendant may be suffering from sexual trauma, traumatic brain injury,
- 32.22 post-traumatic stress disorder, substance abuse, or mental health conditions as a result of
- 32.23 that person's service. The court may request, through existing resources, an assessment to
- 32.24 aid in that determination.
- 33.5 If the court determines that a defendant suffers from a substance abuse disorder, the court
- 33.6 shall order a Rule 25 assessment under Minnesota Rules, part 9530.6615, and follow the
- 33.7 recommendations contained in the assessment. If the court determines that a defendant
- 33.8 suffers from post-traumatic stress disorder, traumatic brain injury, or other mental health
- 33.9 conditions, the court shall order a mental health assessment conducted by a licensed mental
- 33.10 health professional and follow the recommendations contained in the examiner's report.
- 37.15 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2021.

- 241.29 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2021, and applies to crimes 241.30 committed on or after that date.
- 242.1 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.106, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- 242.2 Subd. 2. Life without release. Except as provided in subdivision 3, the court shall
- 242.3 sentence a person to life imprisonment without possibility of release under the following 242.4 circumstances:
- (1) the person is convicted of first-degree murder under section 609.185, paragraph (a),
 clause (1), (2), (4), or (7);
- 242.7 (2) the person is convicted of committing first-degree murder in the course of a 242.8 kidnapping under section 609.185, paragraph (a), clause (3); or
- 242.9 (3) the person is convicted of first-degree murder under section 609.185, paragraph (a), 242.10 clause (3), (5), or (6), and the court determines on the record at the time of sentencing that 242.11 the person has one or more previous convictions for a heinous crime.
- 242.12 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.106, is amended by adding a subdivision 242.13 to read:
- 242.14 Subd. 3. Offender under age 18; life imprisonment. The court shall sentence a person
- 242.15 who was under 18 years of age at the time of the commission of an offense under the
- 242.16 circumstances described in subdivision 2 to imprisonment for life.

242.17 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.1095, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

242.18 Subdivision 1. **Definitions.** (a) As used in this section, the following terms have the 242.19 meanings given.

242.20 (b) "Conviction" means any of the following accepted and recorded by the court: a plea 242.21 of guilty, a verdict of guilty by a jury, or a finding of guilty by the court. The term includes 242.22 a conviction by any court in Minnesota or another jurisdiction.

242.23 (c) "Prior conviction" means a conviction that occurred before the offender committed 242.24 the next felony resulting in a conviction and before the offense for which the offender is 242.25 being sentenced under this section.

242.26 (d) "Violent crime" means a violation of or an attempt or conspiracy to violate any of

242.27 the following laws of this state or any similar laws of the United States or any other state: 242.28 sections 152.137; 609.165; 609.185; 609.19; 609.195; 609.20; 609.205; 609.2112; 609.2113;

242.29 609.2114; 609.221; 609.222; 609.223; 609.228; 609.235; 609.24; 609.245; 609.25; 609.255;

242.30 609.2661; 609.2662; 609.2663; 609.2664; 609.2665; 609.267; 609.2671; 609.268; 609.322;

242.31 609.342; 609.343; 609.344; 609.345; 609.498, subdivision 1; 609.561; 609.562; 609.582,

243.1 subdivision 1; 609.66, subdivision 1e; 609.687; and 609.855, subdivision 5; any provision

243.2 of sections 609.229; 609.377; 609.378; 609.749; and 624.713 that is punishable by a felony

- 243.3 penalty; or any provision of chapter 152 that is punishable by a maximum sentence of 15
- 243.4 years or more; or Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 609.21.
- 243.5EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021, and applies to crimes243.6committed on or after that date.

243.7 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.115, is amended by adding a subdivision 243.8 to read:

243.9 Subd. 11. Disability impact statement. (a) When a defendant appears in court and is

- 243.10 convicted of a crime, the court shall inquire whether the defendant is an individual with a
- 243.11 disability. For the purposes of this subdivision, "disability" has the meaning given in the
- 243.12 Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, as amended by the Americans with Disabilities
- 243.13 Act Amendment Act of 2008, United States Code, Title 42, section 12102.

243.14 (b) If the defendant is an individual with a disability and may be sentenced to a term of 243.15 imprisonment, the court:

- 243.16 (1) may order that the presentence investigator preparing the report under subdivision
- 243.17 1 prepare an impact statement that addresses the impact on a person's disability including
- 243.18 but not limited to health, housing, family, employment effect of benefits, and potential for
- 243.19 abuse if the defendant is sentenced to a term of imprisonment, for the purpose of providing 243.20 the court with information regarding sentencing options other than a term of imprisonment;
- 243.21 (2) must consider the impact statement in imposing a sentence: and

- 37.16 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.1095, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- 37.17 Subdivision 1. **Definitions.** (a) As used in this section, the following terms have the 37.18 meanings given.
- 37.19 (b) "Conviction" means any of the following accepted and recorded by the court: a plea
- 37.20 of guilty, a verdict of guilty by a jury, or a finding of guilty by the court. The term includes
- a conviction by any court in Minnesota or another jurisdiction.
- 37.22 (c) "Prior conviction" means a conviction that occurred before the offender committed
- 37.23 the next felony resulting in a conviction and before the offense for which the offender is
- 37.24 being sentenced under this section.
- 37.25 (d) "Violent crime" means a violation of or an attempt or conspiracy to violate any of
- 37.26 the following laws of this state or any similar laws of the United States or any other state:
- 37.27 sections 152.137; 609.165; 609.185; 609.19; 609.195; 609.20; 609.205; 609.2112; 609.2113;
- 37.28 609.2114; 609.221; 609.222; 609.223; 609.228; 609.235; 609.24; 609.245; 609.25; 609.255;
- 37.29 609.2661; 609.2662; 609.2663; 609.2664; 609.2665; 609.267; 609.2671; 609.268; 609.322;
- 37.30 609.342; 609.343; 609.344; 609.345; 609.498, subdivision 1; 609.561; 609.562; 609.582,
- 37.31 subdivision 1; 609.66, subdivision 1e; 609.687; and 609.855, subdivision 5; any provision
- 37.32 of sections 609.229; 609.377; 609.378; 609.749; and 624.713 that is punishable by a felony
- 38.1 penalty; or any provision of chapter 152 that is punishable by a maximum sentence of 15
- 38.2 years or more; or Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 609.21.
- 38.3 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2021.

House Language UES0970-1

243.22 (3) must consider the least restrictive environment to meet the state's penal objective.

- 243.23 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2021, and applies to individuals
- 243.24 convicted of a crime on or after that date.
- 243.25 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.115, is amended by adding a subdivision 243.26 to read:
- 243.27 <u>Subd. 12.</u> Traumatic brain injury. (a) When a defendant appears in court and is
- 243.28 convicted of a felony, the court shall inquire whether the defendant has a history of stroke,
- 243.29 traumatic brain injury, or fetal alcohol spectrum disorder.
- 243.30 (b) If the defendant has a history of stroke, traumatic brain injury, or fetal alcohol
- 243.31 spectrum disorder and the court believes that the offender may have a mental impairment
- 244.1 that caused the offender to lack substantial capacity for judgment when the offense was
- 244.2 committed, the court shall order that the offender undergo a neuropsychological examination
- 244.3 unless the offender has had a recent examination as described in paragraph (c). The report
- 244.4 prepared under subdivision 1 shall contain the results of the examination ordered by the
- 244.5 court or the recent examination and the officer preparing the report may consult with any 244.6 medical provider, mental health professional, or other agency or person with suitable
- 244.7 knowledge or experience for the purpose of providing the court with information regarding
- 244.8 treatment and case management options available to the defendant.
- 244.9 (c) An updated neuropsychological examination is not required under this subdivision 244.10 if:
- 244.11 (1) the person had a previous examination when the person was at least 25 years of age;
- 244.12 (2) the examination took place at least 18 months after the person's most recent stroke 244.13 or traumatic brain injury; and
- 244.14 (3) the examination took place within the previous three years.
- 244.15 (d) At sentencing, the court may consider any relevant information including but not
- 244.16 limited to the information provided pursuant to paragraph (b) and the recommendations of
- 244.17 any diagnosing or treating medical providers or mental health professionals to determine
- 244.18 whether the offender, because of mental impairment resulting from a stroke, traumatic brain
- 244.19 injury, or fetal alcohol spectrum disorder, lacked substantial capacity for judgment when
- 244.20 the offense was committed.

25.17 Sec. 14. <u>NEUROPSYCHOLOGICAL EXAMINATION FEASIBILITY STUDY.</u>

- 25.18 (a) The state court administrator shall conduct a feasibility study on requiring courts to
- 25.19 order that individuals convicted of felony-level criminal offenses undergo a
- 25.20 neuropsychological examination to determine whether, due to a stroke, traumatic brain
- 25.21 injury, or fetal alcohol spectrum disorder, the individual had a mental impairment that caused
- 25.22 the individual to lack substantial capacity for judgment when the offense was committed.

- 25.23 (b) In conducting the study, the administrator shall consult with interested parties,
- 25.24 including but not limited to prosecutors, public defenders, private criminal defense attorneys,
- 25.25 law enforcement officials, probation officers, judges and employees of the judiciary,
- 25.26 corrections officials, mental health practitioners and treatment providers, individuals with
- 25.27 experience in conducting neuropsychological examinations, and individuals who have

25.28 25.29	experience in the criminal justice system with people who have suffered strokes, traumatic brain injuries, and fetal alcohol spectrum disorder.
25.30 25.31 25.32	(c) The study must make recommendations on whether the law should be changed to require these examinations and, if so, the situations and conditions under which the examinations should be required, including but not limited to:
26.1	(1) the types of offenses the requirement should apply to;
26.2 26.3	(2) how best to screen individuals to determine whether an examination should be required;
26.4 26.5	(3) situations in which an examination would not be required, potentially including where a recent examination had been conducted;
26.6 26.7	$\underline{(4)}$ the costs involved with requiring examinations and how best to pay for these costs; and
26.8 26.9	(5) the effect examination results should have on future proceedings involving the individual, including sentencing and providing treatment.
26.10 26.11 26.12	(d) By February 15, 2022, the state court administrator shall report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over criminal justice policy and funding on the results of the study.
38.4	Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.131, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
38.5 38.6 38.7 38.8 38.9 38.10	Subd. 2. Certain violations excepted. Subdivision 1 does not apply to a misdemeanor violation of section 169A.20; 171.09, subdivision 1, paragraph (g); 171.306, subdivision 6; 609.224; 609.224; 609.226; 609.324 , subdivision 3; 609.52; or 617.23, or an ordinance that conforms in substantial part to any of those sections. A violation described in this subdivision must be treated as a misdemeanor unless the defendant consents to the certification of the violation as a petty misdemeanor.
38.11	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021, and applies to crimes

38.12 committed on or after that date.

244.21 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.131, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

244.22Subd. 2. Certain violations excepted. Subdivision 1 does not apply to a misdemeanor244.23violation of section 169A.20; 171.09, subdivision 1, paragraph (g); 171.306, subdivision244.246; 609.224; 609.2242; 609.226; 609.324, subdivision 3; 609.52; or 617.23, or an ordinance244.25that conforms in substantial part to any of those sections. A violation described in this

- 244.25 subdivision must be treated as a misdemeanor unless the defendant consents to the
- 244.27 certification of the violation as a petty misdemeanor.
- 244.28EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021, and applies to crimes244.29committed on or after that date.
- 245.1 Sec. 18. [609.133] SENTENCE ADJUSTMENT.
- 245.2 Subdivision 1. **Definition.** As used in this section, "prosecutor" means the attorney
- 245.3 general, county attorney, or city attorney responsible for the prosecution of individuals
- 245.4 charged with a crime.
- 245.5 Subd. 2. Prosecutor-initiated sentence adjustment. The prosecutor responsible for
- 245.6 the prosecution of an individual convicted of a crime may commence a proceeding to adjust
- 245.7 the sentence of that individual at any time after the initial sentencing provided the prosecutor
- 245.8 does not seek to increase the period of confinement or, if the individual is serving a stayed
- 245.9 sentence, increase the period of supervision.

245.10 245.11	Subd. 3. Review by prosecutor. (a) Prosecutors may review individual cases at their discretion.
245.12 245.13 245.14	(b) Prior to filing a petition under this section, a prosecutor shall make a reasonable and good faith effort to seek input from any identifiable victim and shall consider the impact an adjusted sentence would have on the victim.
	(c) The commissioner of corrections, a supervising agent, or an offender may request that a prosecutor review an individual case. A prosecutor is not required to respond to a request.
245.18 245.19	Subd. 4. Petition; contents; fee. (a) A petition for sentence adjustment shall include the following:
245.20 245.21 245.22	(1) the full name of the individual on whose behalf the petition is being brought and, to the extent possible, all other legal names or aliases by which the individual has been known at any time;
245.23	(2) the individual's date of birth;
245.24	(3) the individual's address;
245.25 245.26	(4) a brief statement of the reason the prosecutor is seeking a sentence adjustment for the individual;
245.27	(5) the details of the offense for which an adjustment is sought, including:
245.28	(i) the date and jurisdiction of the occurrence;
245.29	(ii) either the names of any victims or that there were no identifiable victims;
245.30 245.31 246.1 246.2	(iii) whether there is a current order for protection, restraining order, or other no contact order prohibiting the individual from contacting the victims or whether there has ever been a prior order for protection or restraining order prohibiting the individual from contacting the victims;
246.3	(iv) the court file number; and
246.4	(v) the date of conviction;
246.5 246.6 246.7	(6) what steps the individual has taken since the time of the offense toward personal rehabilitation, including treatment, work, good conduct within correctional facilities, or other personal history that demonstrates rehabilitation;
246.8 246.9 246.10 246.11	(7) the individual's criminal conviction record indicating all convictions for misdemeanors, gross misdemeanors, or felonies in this state, and for all comparable convictions in any other state, federal court, or foreign country, whether the convictions occurred before or after the conviction for which an adjustment is sought;

- 246.12 (8) the individual's criminal charges record indicating all prior and pending criminal
- 246.13 charges against the individual in this state or another jurisdiction, including all criminal
- 246.14 charges that have been continued for dismissal, stayed for adjudication, or were the subject
- 246.15 of pretrial diversion; and
- 246.16 (9) to the extent known, all prior requests by the individual, whether for the present
- 246.17 offense or for any other offenses in this state or any other state or federal court, for pardon,
- 246.18 return of arrest records, or expungement or sealing of a criminal record, whether granted
- 246.19 or not, and all stays of adjudication or imposition of sentence involving the petitioner.
- 246.20 (b) The filing fee for a petition brought under this section shall be waived.
- 246.21 Subd. 5. Service of petition. (a) The prosecutor shall serve the petition for sentence
- 246.22 adjustment on the individual on whose behalf the petition is being brought.
- 246.23 (b) The prosecutor shall make a good faith and reasonable effort to notify any person
- 246.24 determined to be a victim of the offense for which adjustment is sought of the existence of
- 246.25 a petition. Notification under this paragraph does not constitute a violation of an existing
- 246.26 order for protection, restraining order, or other no contact order.
- 246.27 (c) Notice to victims of the offense under this subdivision must:
- 246.28 (1) specifically inform the victim of the right to object, orally or in writing, to the
- 246.29 proposed adjustment of sentence; and
- 246.30 (2) inform the victims of the right to be present and to submit an oral or written statement
- 246.31 at the hearing described in subdivision 6.
- 247.1 (d) If a victim notifies the prosecutor of an objection to the proposed adjustment of
- 247.2 sentence and is not present when the court considers the sentence adjustment, the prosecutor
- 247.3 shall make these objections known to the court.
- 247.4 Subd. 6. Hearing. (a) The court shall hold a hearing on the petition no sooner than 60
- 247.5 days after service of the petition. The hearing shall be scheduled so that the parties have
- 247.6 adequate time to prepare and present arguments regarding the issue of sentence adjustment.
- 247.7 The parties may submit written arguments to the court prior to the date of the hearing and
- 247.8 may make oral arguments before the court at the hearing. The individual on whose behalf
- 247.9 the petition has been brought must be present at the hearing, unless excused under Minnesota
- 247.10 Rules of Criminal Procedure, rule 26.03, subdivision 1, clause (3).
- 247.11 (b) A victim of the offense for which sentence adjustment is sought has a right to submit
- 247.12 an oral or written statement to the court at the time of the hearing describing the harm
- 247.13 suffered by the victim as a result of the crime and the victim's recommendation on whether
- 247.14 adjustment should be granted or denied. The judge shall consider the victim's statement
- 247.15 when making a decision.

House Language UES0970-1

247.16 247.17	(c) Representatives of the Department of Corrections, supervising agents, community treatment providers, and any other individual with relevant information may submit an oral
247.18	
	Subd. 7. Nature of remedy; standard. (a) The court shall determine whether there are substantial and compelling reasons to adjust the individual's sentence. In making this
247.23	determination, the court shall consider what impact, if any, a sentence adjustment would have on public safety, including whether an adjustment would promote the rehabilitation of the individual, properly reflect the severity of the underlying offense, or reduce sentencing
	disparities. In making this determination, the court may consider factors relating to both the offender and the offense, including but not limited to:
247.26	(1) the individual's performance on probation or supervision;
247.27	(2) the individual's disciplinary record during any period of incarceration;
247.28 247.29	(3) records of any rehabilitation efforts made by the individual since the date of offense and any plan to continue those efforts in the community;
247.30 247.31	(4) evidence that remorse, age, diminished physical condition, or any other factor has significantly reduced the likelihood that the individual will commit a future offense;
247.32	(5) the amount of time the individual has served in custody or under supervision; and
247.33	(6) significant changes in law or sentencing practice since the date of offense.
248.1 248.2 248.3	(b) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, if the court determines that there are substantial and compelling reasons to adjust the individual's sentence, the court may modify the sentence in any way provided the adjustment does not:
248.4 248.5	(1) increase the period of confinement or, if the individual is serving a stayed sentence, increase the period of supervision;
248.6	(2) reduce or eliminate the amount of court-ordered restitution; or
248.7 248.8	(3) reduce or eliminate a term of conditional release required by law when a court commits an offender to the custody of the commissioner of corrections.
248.9	The court may stay imposition or execution of sentence pursuant to section 609.135.
248.10 248.11	(c) A sentence adjustment is not a valid basis to vacate the judgment of conviction, enter a judgment of conviction for a different offense, or impose sentence for any other offense.
248.14	Guidelines Commission. The sentencing worksheet shall clearly indicate that it is for a

- 248.17 Subd. 8. Appeals. An order issued under this section shall not be considered a final
- 248.18 judgment, but shall be treated as an order imposing or staying a sentence.
- 248.19 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2021.
- 248.20 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.2231, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

248.21 Subd. 4. Assaults motivated by bias. (a) Whoever assaults another in whole or in part

- 248.22 because of the victim's or another's actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex,
- 248.23 gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, age, national origin, or
- 248.24 disability as defined in section 363A.03, age, or national origin or because of the victim's
- 248.25 actual or perceived association with another person or group of a certain actual or perceived
- 248.26 race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender
- 248.27 expression, age, national origin, or disability as defined in section 363A.03, may be sentenced
 248.28 to imprisonment for not more than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than \$3,000,
 248.29 or both.
- 248.29 of both.

248.30 (b) Whoever violates the provisions of paragraph (a) within five years of a previous

- 248.31 conviction under paragraph (a) is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment
- for not more than one year and a day or to payment of a fine of not more than \$3,000, orboth.
- 249.3EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021, and applies to crimes249.4committed on or after that date.
- 249.5 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.2233, is amended to read:

249.6 609.2233 FELONY ASSAULT MOTIVATED BY BIAS; INCREASED 249.7 STATUTORY MAXIMUM SENTENCE.

- A person who violates section 609.221, 609.222, or 609.223 because of the victim's or
- 249.9 another person's actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender, sexual
- 249.10 orientation, gender identity, gender expression, age, national origin, or disability as defined
- 249.11 in section 363A.03, age, or national origin or because of the victim's actual or perceived
- 249.12 association with another person or group of a certain actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity,
- 249.13 religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, age, national
- 249.14 origin, or disability as defined in section 363A.03, is subject to a statutory maximum penalty
- 249.15 of 25 percent longer than the maximum penalty otherwise applicable.
- 249.16 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.322, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

249.17 Subdivision 1. Solicitation, inducement, and promotion of prostitution; sex trafficking

- 249.18 in the first degree. (a) Whoever, while acting other than as a prostitute or patron,
- 249.19 intentionally does any of the following may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more
- 249.20 than 2025 years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$50,000, or both:
- 249.21 (1) solicits or induces an individual under the age of 18 years to practice prostitution;

- 38.13 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.322, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- 38.14 Subdivision 1. Solicitation, inducement, and promotion of prostitution; sex trafficking
- 38.15 in the first degree. (a) Whoever, while acting other than as a prostitute or patron,
- 38.16 intentionally does any of the following may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more
- 38.17 than $\frac{20}{25}$ years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$50,000, or both:
- 38.18 (1) solicits or induces an individual under the age of 18 years to practice prostitution;

(2) promotes the prostitution of an individual under the age of 18 years;	38.19	(2) p
 (3) receives profit, knowing or having reason to know that it is derived from the prostitution, or the promotion of the prostitution, of an individual under the age of 18 years; or 	38.20 38.21 38.22	(3) r prostitutio or
(4) engages in the sex trafficking of an individual under the age of 18 years.	38.23	(4) e
(b) Whoever violates paragraph (a) or subdivision 1a may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than $\frac{25}{30}$ years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$60,000, or both, if one or more of the following aggravating factors are present:	38.24 38.25 38.26	(b) V for not m one or mo
(1) the offender has committed a prior qualified human trafficking-related offense;	38.27	(1) t
(2) the offense involved a sex trafficking victim who suffered bodily harm during the commission of the offense;	38.28 38.29	(2) tl commissi
(3) the time period that a sex trafficking victim was held in debt bondage or forced labor or services exceeded 180 days; or	39.1 39.2	(3) t or service
(4) the offense involved more than one sex trafficking victim.	39.3	(4) t
EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.	39.4 39.5	EFF committe
Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.322, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:	39.6	Sec. 10
Subd. 1a. Solicitation, inducement, and promotion of prostitution; sex trafficking in the second degree. Whoever, while acting other than as a prostitute or patron, intentionally does any of the following may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than <u>15</u> <u>20</u> years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$40,000, or both:	39.7 39.8 39.9 39.10	Subo in the sec does any or to payr
(1) solicits or induces an individual to practice prostitution;	39.11	(1) s
(2) promotes the prostitution of an individual;	39.12	(2) p
(3) receives profit, knowing or having reason to know that it is derived from the prostitution, or the promotion of the prostitution, of an individual; or	39.13 39.14	(3) r prostitutio
(4) engages in the sex trafficking of an individual.	39.15	(4) e
EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.	39.16 39.17	EFF committe
Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.324, subdivision 1, is amended to read:		
Subdivision 1. Engaging in, hiring, or agreeing to hire minor to engage inprostitution; penalties. (a) Whoever intentionally does any of the following may besentenced to imprisonment for not more than 20 years or to payment of a fine of not morethan \$40,000, or both:		

38.19	(2) promotes the prostitution of an individual under the age of 18 years;
38.20 38.21 38.22	(3) receives profit, knowing or having reason to know that it is derived from the prostitution, or the promotion of the prostitution, of an individual under the age of 18 years; or
38.23	(4) engages in the sex trafficking of an individual under the age of 18 years.
38.24 38.25 38.26	(b) Whoever violates paragraph (a) or subdivision 1 a may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than $\frac{25}{30}$ years or to payment of a fine of not more than $\frac{56}{0000}$, or both, if one or more of the following aggravating factors are present:
38.27	(1) the offender has committed a prior qualified human trafficking-related offense;
38.28 38.29	(2) the offense involved a sex trafficking victim who suffered bodily harm during the commission of the offense;
39.1 39.2	(3) the time period that a sex trafficking victim was held in debt bondage or forced labor or services exceeded 180 days; or
39.3	(4) the offense involved more than one sex trafficking victim.
39.4 39.5	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.
	committee on of after that date.
39.6	Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.322, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:
39.6 39.7 39.8 39.9 39.10	
39.7 39.8 39.9	Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.322, subdivision 1a, is amended to read: Subd. 1a. Solicitation, inducement, and promotion of prostitution; sex trafficking in the second degree. Whoever, while acting other than as a prostitute or patron, intentionally does any of the following may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 15 20 years
39.7 39.8 39.9 39.10	Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.322, subdivision 1a, is amended to read: Subd. 1a. Solicitation, inducement, and promotion of prostitution; sex trafficking in the second degree. Whoever, while acting other than as a prostitute or patron, intentionally does any of the following may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 15 <u>20</u> years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$40,000, or both:
39.7 39.8 39.9 39.10 39.11	 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.322, subdivision 1a, is amended to read: Subd. 1a. Solicitation, inducement, and promotion of prostitution; sex trafficking in the second degree. Whoever, while acting other than as a prostitute or patron, intentionally does any of the following may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 15 20 years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$40,000, or both: (1) solicits or induces an individual to practice prostitution;

- **FFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2021, and applies to crimes tted on or after that date.

House Language UES0970-1

Senate Language S0970-3

250.25 (1) engages in prostitution with an individual under the age of 13 14 years;

250.26 (2) hires or offers or agrees to hire an individual under the age of <u>13_14</u> years to engage 250.27 in sexual penetration or sexual contact; or

(3) hires or offers or agrees to hire an individual who the actor reasonably believes tobe under the age of 13 14 years to engage in sexual penetration or sexual contact.

(b) Whoever intentionally does any of the following may be sentenced to imprisonmentfor not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$20,000, or both:

(1) engages in prostitution with an individual under the age of 16 years but at least 13
<u>14</u> years;

251.5 (2) hires or offers or agrees to hire an individual under the age of 16 years but at least 251.6 13 14 years to engage in sexual penetration or sexual contact; or

(3) hires or offers or agrees to hire an individual who the actor reasonably believes to
be under the age of 16 years but at least 13 years to engage in sexual penetration or sexual
contact.

251.10 (c) Whoever intentionally does any of the following may be sentenced to imprisonment 251.11 for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$10,000, or both:

251.12 (1) engages in prostitution with an individual under the age of 18 years but at least 16 251.13 years;

251.14 (2) hires or offers or agrees to hire an individual under the age of 18 years but at least 251.15 16 years to engage in sexual penetration or sexual contact; or

(3) hires or offers or agrees to hire an individual who the actor reasonably believes tobe under the age of 18 years but at least 16 years to engage in sexual penetration or sexualcontact.

 251.19
 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021, and applies to crimes

 251.20
 committed on or after that date.

251.21 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.324, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

251.22 Subd. 2. <u>Patrons of prostitution in public place</u>; penalty for patrons. (a) Whoever, 251.23 while acting as a patron, intentionally does any of the following while in a public place is 251.24 guilty of a gross misdemeanor:

251.25 (1) engages in prostitution with an individual 18 years of age or older; or

251.26 (2) hires, offers to hire, or agrees to hire an individual 18 years of age or older to engage 251.27 in sexual penetration or sexual contact.

251.28 Except as otherwise provided in subdivision 4, a person who is convicted of violating this 251.29 subdivision must, at a minimum, be sentenced to pay a fine of at least \$1,500.

- 39.18 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.324, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- 39.19 Subd. 2. Patrons of prostitution in public place; penalty for patrons. (a) Whoever,
- 39.20 while acting as a patron, intentionally does any of the following while in a public place is
- 39.21 guilty of a gross misdemeanor:
- 39.22 (1) engages in prostitution with an individual 18 years of age or older; or
- 39.23 (2) hires, offers to hire, or agrees to hire an individual 18 years of age or older to engage 39.24 in sexual penetration or sexual contact.
- 39.25 Except as otherwise provided in subdivision 4, a person who is convicted of violating this
- 39.26 subdivision must, at a minimum, be sentenced to pay a fine of at least \$1,500.

- 251.30 (b) Whoever violates the provisions of this subdivision within ten years of a previous
- 251.31 conviction for violating this section or section 609.322 is guilty of a felony and may be
- 252.1 sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more
- 252.2 than \$10,000, or both.
- 252.3 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2021, and applies to crimes
- 252.4 committed on or after that date.
- 252.5 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.324, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- 252.6 Subd. 4. Community service in lieu of minimum fine. The court may order a person
- 252.7 convicted of violating subdivision 2 or 3 to perform community work service in lieu of all
- 252.8 or a portion of the minimum fine required under those subdivisions if the court makes
- 252.9 specific, written findings that the convicted person is indigent or that payment of the fine
- 252.10 would create undue hardship for the convicted person or that person's immediate family.
- 252.11 Community work service ordered under this subdivision is in addition to any mandatory
- 252.12 community work service ordered under subdivision 3.
- 252.13
 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021, and applies to crimes

 252.14
 committed on or after that date.
- 252.15 Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.3241, is amended to read:
- 252.16 609.3241 PENALTY ASSESSMENT AUTHORIZED.
- 252.17 (a) When a court sentences an adult convicted of violating section 609.27, 609.282, 252.18 609.283, 609.322, 609.324, 609.33, 609.352, 617.246, 617.247, or 617.293, while acting
- 252.19 other than as a prostitute, the court shall impose an assessment of not less than \$500 and
- 252.20 not more than \$750 for a misdemeanor violation of section 609.27, a violation of section
- 252.21 609.324, subdivision 2, a misdemeanor violation of section 609.324, subdivision 3, a violation
- 252.22 of section 609.33, or a violation of section 617.293; otherwise the court shall impose an
- 252.23 assessment of not less than \$750 and not more than \$1,000. The assessment shall be
- 252.24 distributed as provided in paragraph (c) and is in addition to the surcharge required by 252.25 section 357.021, subdivision 6.
- (b) The court may not waive payment of the minimum assessment required by this section. If the defendant qualifies for the services of a public defender or the court finds on the record that the convicted person is indigent or that immediate payment of the assessment
- 252.28 would create undue hardship for the convicted person or that person's immediate family.
- 252.29 would create undue nardship for the convicted person of that person's infineduate railing, 252.30 the court may reduce the amount of the minimum assessment to not less than \$100. The
- 252.31 court also may authorize payment of the assessment in installments.
- 252.32 (c) The assessment collected under paragraph (a) must be distributed as follows:
- 253.1 (1) 40 percent of the assessment shall be forwarded to the political subdivision that
- 253.2 employs the arresting officer for use in enforcement, training, and education activities related
- 253.3 to combating sexual exploitation of youth, or if the arresting officer is an employee of the

- (b) Whoever violates the provisions of this subdivision within ten years of a previous 39.27 conviction for violating this section or section 609.322 is guilty of a felony and may be 39.28 sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more 39.29 39.30 than \$10,000, or both. EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021, and applies to crimes 40.1 committed on or after that date. 40.2 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.324, subdivision 4, is amended to read: 40.3 40.4 Subd. 4. Community service in lieu of minimum fine. The court may order a person convicted of violating subdivision 2 or 3 to perform community work service in lieu of all 40.5 or a portion of the minimum fine required under those subdivisions if the court makes 40.6 specific, written findings that the convicted person is indigent or that payment of the fine 40.7 would create undue hardship for the convicted person or that person's immediate family. 40.8 Community work service ordered under this subdivision is in addition to any mandatory 40.9 40.10 community work service ordered under subdivision 3. EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021, and applies to crimes 40.11 committed on or after that date. 40.12 40.13 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.3241, is amended to read: 609.3241 PENALTY ASSESSMENT AUTHORIZED. 40.14 (a) When a court sentences an adult convicted of violating section 609.27, 609.282, 40.15 40.16 609.283, 609.322, 609.324, 609.33, 609.352, 617.246, 617.247, or 617.293, while acting other than as a prostitute, the court shall impose an assessment of not less than \$500 and 40.17 not more than \$750 for a misdemeanor violation of section 609.27, a violation of section 40.18 609.324, subdivision 2, a misdemeanor violation of section 609.324, subdivision 3, a violation 40.19 of section 609.33, or a violation of section 617.293; otherwise the court shall impose an 40.20 assessment of not less than \$750 and not more than \$1,000. The assessment shall be 40.21 40.22 distributed as provided in paragraph (c) and is in addition to the surcharge required by section 357.021, subdivision 6. 40.23 40.24 (b) The court may not waive payment of the minimum assessment required by this section. If the defendant qualifies for the services of a public defender or the court finds on 40.25 the record that the convicted person is indigent or that immediate payment of the assessment 40.26 would create undue hardship for the convicted person or that person's immediate family. 40.27 the court may reduce the amount of the minimum assessment to not less than \$100. The 40.28 court also may authorize payment of the assessment in installments. 40.29
- 40.30 (c) The assessment collected under paragraph (a) must be distributed as follows:
- 40.31 (1) 40 percent of the assessment shall be forwarded to the political subdivision that
- 40.32 employs the arresting officer for use in enforcement, training, and education activities related
- 41.1 to combating sexual exploitation of youth, or if the arresting officer is an employee of the

- 253.4 state, this portion shall be forwarded to the commissioner of public safety for those purposes 253.5 identified in clause (3);
- 253.6 (2) 20 percent of the assessment shall be forwarded to the prosecuting agency that handled
- 253.7 the case for use in training and education activities relating to combating sexual exploitation
- 253.8 activities of youth; and
- 253.9 (3) 40 percent of the assessment must be forwarded to the commissioner of health to be
- 253.10 deposited in the safe harbor for youth account in the special revenue fund and are
- 253.11 appropriated to the commissioner for distribution to crime victims services organizations
- 253.12 that provide services to sexually exploited youth, as defined in section 260C.007, subdivision 253.13 31.
- 253.14 (d) A safe harbor for youth account is established as a special account in the state treasury.
- 253.15 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2021, and applies to crimes 253.16 committed on or after that date.
- 253.17 Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.3455, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- 253.18 Subd. 2. Mandatory life sentence without release; egregious first-time and repeat
- 253.19 **offenders.** (a) Except as provided in paragraph (c), notwithstanding the statutory maximum
- 253.20 penalty otherwise applicable to the offense, the court shall sentence a person convicted 253.21 under section 609.342, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), (d), (e), (f), or (h); or 609.343,
- 253.22 subdivision 1, paragraph (c), (d), (e), (f), or (h), to life without the possibility of release if:
- 253.23 (1) the fact finder determines that two or more heinous elements exist; or
- (2) the person has a previous sex offense conviction for a violation of section 609.342,
 609.343, or 609.344, and the fact finder determines that a heinous element exists for the
 present offense.
- (b) A fact finder may not consider a heinous element if it is an element of the underlying
 specified violation of section 609.342 or 609.343. In addition, when determining whether
 two or more heinous elements exist, the fact finder may not use the same underlying facts
 to support a determination that more than one element exists.
- 253.31 (c) The court shall sentence a person who was under 18 years of age at the time of the 253.32 commission of an offense described in paragraph (a) to imprisonment for life.
- 254.1 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.3455, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
- 254.2 Subd. 5. Life sentences; minimum term of imprisonment. At the time of sentencing
- 254.3 under subdivision 3 or 4, the court shall specify a minimum term of imprisonment, based
- 254.4 on the sentencing guidelines or any applicable mandatory minimum sentence, that must be
- 254.5 served before the offender may be considered for supervised release. If the offender was

- 41.2 state, this portion shall be forwarded to the commissioner of public safety for those purposes
- 41.3 identified in clause (3);
- 41.4 (2) 20 percent of the assessment shall be forwarded to the prosecuting agency that handled
- 41.5 the case for use in training and education activities relating to combating sexual exploitation
- 41.6 activities of youth; and
- 41.7 (3) 40 percent of the assessment must be forwarded to the commissioner of health to be
- 41.8 deposited in the safe harbor for youth account in the special revenue fund and are
- 41.9 appropriated to the commissioner for distribution to crime victims services organizations
- 41.10 that provide services to sexually exploited youth, as defined in section 260C.007, subdivision41.11 31.
- 41.12 (d) A safe harbor for youth account is established as a special account in the state treasury.
- 41.13 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2021, and applies to crimes
- 41.14 committed on or after that date.

House Language UES0970-1

- 254.7 imprisonment specified by the court shall not exceed 15 years.
- 254.8 Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.352, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- 254.9 Subd. 4. **Penalty.** A person convicted under subdivision 2 or 2a is guilty of a felony and
- 254.10 may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than three five years, or to payment of a
- 254.11 fine of not more than $\frac{5,000 \pm 10,000}{5,000}$, or both.
- 254.12 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2021, and applies to crimes
- 254.13 committed on or after that date.

- 254.14 Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.527, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- 254.15 Subd. 3. **Penalties.** A person who violates subdivision 2 may be sentenced as follows:

254.16 (1) if the offense involves a single direct victim and the total, combined loss to the direct 254.17 victim and any indirect victims is \$250 or less, the person may be sentenced as provided in 254.18 section 609.52, subdivision 3, clause (5);

254.19 (2) if the offense involves a single direct victim and the total, combined loss to the direct 254.20 victim and any indirect victims is more than \$250 but not more than \$500, the person may 254.21 be sentenced as provided in section 609.52, subdivision 3, clause (4);

(3) if the offense involves two or three direct victims or the total, combined loss to the
direct and indirect victims is more than \$500 but not more than \$2,500, the person may be
sentenced as provided in section 609.52, subdivision 3, clause (3);

42.1 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.352, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

- 42.2 Subd. 4. **Penalty.** A person convicted under subdivision 2 or 2a is guilty of a felony and
- 42.3 may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than three five years, or to payment of a
- 42.4 fine of not more than $\frac{5,000}{10,000}$, or both.
- 42.5 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2021, and applies to crimes
- 42.6 <u>committed on or after that date.</u>
- 42.7 Sec. 16. [609.3775] CHILD TORTURE.
- 42.8 Subdivision 1. **Definition.** As used in this section, "torture" means the intentional
- 42.9 infliction of extreme mental anguish, or extreme psychological or physical abuse, when
- 42.10 committed in an especially depraved manner.
- 42.11 Subd. 2. Crime. A person who tortures a child is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced
- 42.12 to imprisonment for not more than 25 years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$35,000, 42.13 or both.
- 42.14 Subd. 3. **Proof; evidence.** (a) Expert testimony as to the existence or extent of mental
- 42.15 anguish or psychological abuse is not a requirement for a conviction under this section.
- 42.16 (b) A child's special susceptibility to mental anguish or psychological abuse does not
- 42.17 constitute an independent cause of the condition so that a defendant is exonerated from
- 42.18 criminal liability.
- 42.19 (c) Proof that a victim suffered pain is not an element of a violation of this section.
- 42.20 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2021, and applies to crimes
- 42.21 committed on or after that date.

House Language UES0970-1

Senate Language S0970-3

(4) if the offense involves more than three but not more than seven direct victims, or if the total combined loss to the direct and indirect victims is more than \$2,500, the person that the total combined as provided in section 609.52, subdivision 3, clause (2); and

254.28 (5) if the offense involves eight or more direct victims;, or if the total, combined loss to

254.29 the direct and indirect victims is more than \$35,000; or, the person may be sentenced as

254.30 provided in section 609.52, subdivision 3, clause (1); and

255.1 (6) if the offense is related to possession or distribution of pornographic work in violation
255.2 of section 617.246 or 617.247; the person may be sentenced as provided in section 609.52,
255.3 subdivision 3, clause (1).

255.4EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021, and applies to crimes255.5committed on or after that date.

255.6 Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.595, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:

255.7 Subd. 1a. **Criminal damage to property in the second degree.** (a) Whoever intentionally

255.8 causes damage described in subdivision 2, paragraph (a), because of the property owner's

255.9 or another's actual or perceived race, color, religion, sex, sexual orientation, disability as

255.10 defined in section 363A.03, age, or national origin is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced

255.11 to imprisonment for not more than one year and a day or to payment of a fine of not more 255.12 than \$3,000, or both, if the damage:

255.13 (1) was committed in whole or in part because of the property owner's or another's actual

255.14 or perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity,

255.15 gender expression, age, national origin, or disability as defined in section 363A.03;

255.16 (2) was committed in whole or in part because of the victim's actual or perceived

255.17 association with another person or group of a certain actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity,

- 255.18 religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, age, national
- 255.19 origin, or disability as defined in section 363A.03;

255.20 (3) was motivated in whole or in part by an intent to intimidate or harm an individual

255.21 or group of individuals because of actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex,

255.22 gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, age, national origin, or

255.23 disability as defined in section 363A.03; or

255.24 (4) was motivated in whole or in part by an intent to intimidate or harm an individual

255.25 or group of individuals because of the victim's actual or perceived association with another

255.26 person or group of a certain actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender,

255.27 sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, age, national origin, or disability as

255.28 defined in section 363A.03.

255.29 (b) In any prosecution under paragraph (a), the value of property damaged by the

255.30 defendant in violation of that paragraph within any six-month period may be aggregated

255.31 and the defendant charged accordingly in applying this section. When two or more offenses

255.32 are committed by the same person in two or more counties, the accused may be prosecuted

Senate Language S0970-3

- 256.1 in any county in which one of the offenses was committed for all of the offenses aggregated 256.2 under this paragraph.
- 256.3 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2021, and applies to crimes
- 256.4 committed on or after that date.

256.5 Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.595, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

256.6Subd. 2. Criminal damage to property in the third degree. (a) Except as otherwise256.7provided in subdivision 1a, whoever intentionally causes damage to another person's physical256.8property without the other person's consent may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more256.9than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than \$3,000, or both, if: (1) the damage256.10reduces the value of the property by more than \$500 but not more than \$1,000 as measured256.11by the cost of repair and replacement; or (2) the damage was to a public safety motor vehicle256.12and the defendant knew the vehicle was a public safety motor vehicle.

256.13 (b) Whoever intentionally causes damage to another person's physical property without

256.14 the other person's consent because of the property owner's or another's actual or perceived

256.15 race, color, religion, sex, sexual orientation, disability as defined in section 363A.03, age,

256.16 or national origin may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than one year or to

256.17 payment of a fine of not more than \$3,000, or both, if the damage reduces the value of the 256.18 property by not more than \$500- and:

256.19 (1) was committed in whole or in part because of the property owner's or another's actual

- 256.20 or perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity,
- 256.21 gender expression, age, national origin, or disability as defined in section 363A.03;

256.22 (2) was committed in whole or in part because of the victim's actual or perceived

- 256.23 association with another person or group of a certain actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity,
- 256.24 religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, age, national
- 256.25 origin, or disability as defined in section 363A.03;
- 256.26 (3) was motivated in whole or in part by an intent to intimidate or harm an individual
- 256.27 or group of individuals because of actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex,
- 256.28 gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, age, national origin, or
- 256.29 disability as defined in section 363A.03; or
- 256.30 (4) was motivated in whole or in part by an intent to intimidate or harm an individual
- 256.31 or group of individuals because of the victim's actual or perceived association with another
- 256.32 person or group of a certain actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender,
- 257.1 sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, age, national origin, or disability as
- 257.2 defined in section 363A.03.
- 257.3 (c) In any prosecution under paragraph (a), clause (1), the value of property damaged
- 257.4 by the defendant in violation of that paragraph within any six-month period may be
- 257.5 aggregated and the defendant charged accordingly in applying this section. When two or
- 257.6 more offenses are committed by the same person in two or more counties, the accused may

House Language UES0970-1

257.7 be prosecuted in any county in which one of the offenses was committed for all of the

offenses aggregated under this paragraph. 257.8

257.9 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2021, and applies to crimes

257.10 committed on or after that date.

Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.605, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 257.11

Subd. 2. Gross misdemeanor. Whoever trespasses upon the grounds of a facility 257.12

257.13 providing emergency shelter services for battered women, as defined under section 611A.31,

257.14 subdivision 3, or providing comparable services for sex trafficking victims, as defined under

257.15 section 609.321, subdivision 7b, or of a facility providing transitional housing for battered

257.16 women and their children or sex trafficking victims and their children, without claim of

257.17 right or consent of one who has right to give consent, and refuses to depart from the grounds

- 257.18 of the facility on demand of one who has right to give consent, is guilty of a gross
- 257.19 misdemeanor.

257.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021, and applies to crimes 257.21 committed on or after that date.

Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.66, subdivision 1e, is amended to read: 257.22

257.23 Subd. 1e. Felony; drive-by shooting. (a) Whoever, A person is guilty of a felony who, 257.24 while in or having just exited from a motor vehicle, recklessly discharges a firearm at or 257.25 toward another:

(1) an unoccupied motor vehicle or a building is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced 257.26

257.27 to imprisonment for not more than three years or to payment of a fine of not more than 257.28 \$6,000, or both.;

(2) an occupied motor vehicle or building; or 257.29

(3) a person. 257.30

258.1 (b) Any person who violates this subdivision by firing at or toward a person, or an

occupied building or motor vehicle, may be sentenced A person convicted under paragraph 258.2

- (a), clause (1), may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than three years or to payment 258.3
- of a fine of not more than \$6,000, or both. A person convicted under paragraph (a), clause 258.4
- 258.5 (2) or (3), may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than ten years or to payment of
- a fine of not more than \$20,000, or both. 258.6

(c) For purposes of this subdivision, "motor vehicle" has the meaning given in section 258.7

- 258.8 609.52, subdivision 1, and "building" has the meaning given in section 609.581, subdivision 2.
- 258.9

258.10 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 258.11

- 42.22 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.605, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. Gross misdemeanor. Whoever trespasses upon the grounds of a facility 42.23

- providing emergency shelter services for battered women, as defined under section 611A.31, 42.24
- subdivision 3, or providing comparable services for sex trafficking victims, as defined under 42.25
- section 609.321, subdivision 7b, or of a facility providing transitional housing for battered 42.26
- women and their children or sex trafficking victims and their children, without claim of 42.27
- right or consent of one who has right to give consent, and refuses to depart from the grounds 42.28
- 42.29 of the facility on demand of one who has right to give consent, is guilty of a gross
- misdemeanor. 42.30
- 43.1 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2021, and applies to crimes
- committed on or after that date. 43.2

House Language UES0970-1

Senate Language S0970-3

258.12 Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.749, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

258.13 Subd. 3. **Aggravated violations.** (a) A person who commits any of the following acts 258.14 is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years or 258.15 to payment of a fine of not more than \$10,000, or both:

258.16 (1) commits any offense described in subdivision 2 because of the victim's or another's

258.17 actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender

258.18 identity, gender expression, age, national origin, or disability as defined in section 363A.03,

258.19 age, or national origin or because of the victim's actual or perceived association with another

258.20 person or group of a certain actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender, 258.21 sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, age, national origin, or disability as

258.22 defined in section 363A.03;

258.23 (2) commits any offense described in subdivision 2 by falsely impersonating another;

258.24 (3) commits any offense described in subdivision 2 and a dangerous weapon was used 258.25 in any way in the commission of the offense;

(4) commits any offense described in subdivision 2 with intent to influence or otherwise
tamper with a juror or a judicial proceeding or with intent to retaliate against a judicial
officer, as defined in section 609.415, or a prosecutor, defense attorney, or officer of the

258.29 court, because of that person's performance of official duties in connection with a judicial 258.30 proceeding; or

(5) commits any offense described in subdivision 2 against a victim under the age of18, if the actor is more than 36 months older than the victim.

259.1 (b) A person who commits any offense described in subdivision 2 against a victim under

259.2 the age of 18, if the actor is more than 36 months older than the victim, and the act is

259.3 committed with sexual or aggressive intent, is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to

259.4 imprisonment for not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$20,000,259.5 or both.

259.6EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021, and applies to crimes259.7committed on or after that date.

259.8 Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609A.01, is amended to read:

259.9 609A.01 EXPUNGEMENT OF CRIMINAL RECORDS.

259.10 This chapter provides the grounds and procedures for expungement of criminal records

259.11 under section 13.82; 152.18, subdivision 1; 299C.11, where expungement is automatic under

259.12 section 609A.015, or a petition is authorized under section 609A.02, subdivision 3; or other

259.13 applicable law. The remedy available is limited to a court order sealing the records and

259.14 prohibiting the disclosure of their existence or their opening except under court order or

259.15 statutory authority. Nothing in this chapter authorizes the destruction of records or their

259.16 return to the subject of the records.

House Language UES0970-1

259.17

259.18

259.19

259.21

259.22

259.23 259.24

259.25

259.27

259.29

259.30

259.31 260.1

260.2

260.3 260.4

260.5

260.6

260.7

260.8 260.9

260.10

260.11

260.12

260.13

260.14

260.16 260.17

- **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2023. Sec. 37. [609A.015] AUTOMATIC EXPUNGEMENT OF RECORDS. Subdivision 1. Eligibility; dismissal; exoneration. A person who is the subject of a 259.20 criminal record or delinquency record is eligible for a grant of expungement relief without the filing of a petition: (1) upon the dismissal and discharge of proceedings against a person under section 152.18, subdivision 1, for violation of section 152.024, 152.025, or 152.027 for possession of a controlled substance; (2) if the person was arrested and all charges were dismissed prior to a determination 259.26 of probable cause; or (3) if all pending actions or proceedings were resolved in favor of the person. For 259.28 purposes of this chapter, a verdict of not guilty by reason of mental illness is not a resolution in favor of the person. For purposes of this chapter, an action or proceeding is resolved in favor of the person if the petitioner received an order under section 590.11 determining that the person is eligible for compensation based on exoneration. Subd. 2. Eligibility; diversion and stay of adjudication. A person is eligible for a grant of expungement relief if the person has successfully completed the terms of a diversion program or stay of adjudication and has not been petitioned or charged with a new crime for one year immediately following completion of the diversion program or stay of adjudication. Subd. 3. Eligibility; certain criminal and delinquency proceedings. (a) A person is eligible for a grant of expungement relief if the person: (1) was adjudicated delinquent for, convicted of, or received a stayed sentence for a qualifying offense; (2) has not been convicted of a new crime in Minnesota during the applicable waiting period immediately following discharge of the disposition or sentence for the crime; (3) is not incarcerated or charged with an offense in Minnesota at the time the person reaches the end of the applicable waiting period; and (4) has not been convicted of a new crime in any other jurisdiction during the applicable 260.15 waiting period immediately following discharge of the disposition or sentence for the crime, if the qualifying offense was a felony. (b) As used in this subdivision, "qualifying offense" means an adjudication, conviction, 260.18 or stayed sentence for:
- (1) any petty misdemeanor offense other than a violation of a traffic regulation relating 260.19 260.20 to the operation or parking of motor vehicles;

House Language UES0970-1

- 260.21 (2) any misdemeanor offense other than:
- 260.22 (i) section 169A.27 (fourth-degree driving while impaired);
- 260.23 (ii) section 518B.01, subdivision 14 (violation of an order for protection);
- 260.24 (iii) section 609.224 (assault in the fifth degree);
- 260.25 (iv) section 609.2242 (domestic assault);
- 260.26 (v) section 609.748 (violation of a harassment restraining order);
- 260.27 (vi) section 609.78 (interference with emergency call);
- 260.28 (vii) section 609.79 (obscene or harassing phone calls);
- 260.29 (viii) section 617.23 (indecent exposure); or
- 260.30 (ix) section 629.75 (violation of domestic abuse no contact order);
- 261.1 (3) any gross misdemeanor offense other than:
- 261.2 (i) section 169A.25 (second-degree driving while impaired);
- 261.3 (ii) section 169A.26 (third-degree driving while impaired);
- 261.4 (iii) section 518B.01, subdivision 14 (violation of an order for protection);
- 261.5 (iv) section 609.2231 (assault in the fourth degree);
- 261.6 (v) section 609.224 (assault in the fifth degree);
- 261.7 (vi) section 609.2242 (domestic assault);
- 261.8 (vii) section 609.233 (criminal neglect);
- 261.9 (viii) section 609.3451 (criminal sexual conduct in the fifth degree);
- 261.10 (ix) section 609.377 (malicious punishment of child);
- 261.11 (x) section 609.485 (escape from custody);
- 261.12 (xi) section 609.498 (tampering with witness);
- 261.13 (xii) section 609.582, subdivision 4 (burglary in the fourth degree);
- 261.14 (xiii) section 609.746 (interference with privacy);
- 261.15 (xiv) section 609.748 (violation of a harassment restraining order);
- 261.16 (xv) section 609.749 (harassment; stalking);
- 261.17 (xvi) section 609.78 (interference with emergency call);

- 261.18 (xvii) section 617.23 (indecent exposure);
- 261.19 (xviii) section 617.261 (nonconsensual dissemination of private sexual images); or
- 261.20 (xix) section 629.75 (violation of domestic abuse no contact order); and
- 261.21 (4) any of the following felony offenses:
- 261.22 (i) section 152.025 (controlled substance crime in the fifth degree);
- 261.23 (ii) section 152.097 (simulated controlled substances);
- 261.24 (iii) section 256.98 (wrongfully obtaining assistance; theft);
- 261.25 (iv) section 256.984 (false declaration in assistance application);
- 261.26 (v) any offense sentenced under section 609.52, subdivision 3, clause (3)(a) (theft of $2(1.27 \pm 55.000 \text{ ar locs})$
- 261.27 <u>\$5,000 or less);</u>
- 262.1 (vi) any offense sentenced under section 609.528, subdivision 3, clause (3) (possession
- 262.2 or sale of stolen or counterfeit check);
- 262.3 (vii) section 609.529 (mail theft);
- 262.4 (viii) section 609.53 (receiving stolen property);
- 262.5 (ix) any offense sentenced under section 609.535, subdivision 2a, paragraph (a), clause
- 262.6 (1) (dishonored check over \$500);
- 262.7 (x) section 609.59 (possession of burglary tools);
- 262.8 (xi) section 609.595, subdivision 1, clauses (3) to (5) (criminal damage to property);
- 262.9 (xii) section 609.63 (forgery);
- 262.10 (xiii) any offense sentenced under section 609.631, subdivision 4, clause (3)(a) (check 262.11 forgery \$2,500 or less); and
- 262.12 (xiv) any offense sentenced under section 609.821, subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clause
- 262.13 (1), item (iii) (financial transaction card fraud).
- 262.14 (c) As used in this subdivision, "applicable waiting period" means:
- 262.15 (1) if the offense was a petty misdemeanor or a misdemeanor, two years;
- 262.16 (2) if the offense was a gross misdemeanor, four years; and
- 262.17 (3) if the offense was a felony, five years.
- 262.18 (d) Offenses ineligible for a grant of expungement under this section remain ineligible
- 262.19 if deemed to be for a misdemeanor pursuant to section 609.13, subdivision 1, clause (2) or
- 262.20 subdivision 2, clause (2).

House Language UES0970-1

262.21	Subd. 4. Notice. (a) The court shall notify a person who may become eligible for a	an
262.22	utomatic expungement under this section of that eligibility at any hearing where the co	ourt

- 262.23 dismisses and discharges proceedings against a person under section 152.18, subdivision
- 262.24 1, for violation of section 152.024, 152.025, or 152.027 for possession of a controlled
- 262.25 substance; concludes that all pending actions or proceedings were resolved in favor of the
- 262.26 person; grants a person's placement into a diversion program; or sentences a person or
- 262.27 otherwise imposes a consequence for a qualifying offense.
- 262.28 (b) To the extent possible, prosecutors, defense counsel, supervising agents, and
- 262.29 coordinators or supervisors of a diversion program shall notify a person who may become
- 262.30 eligible for an automatic expungement under this section of that eligibility.
- 263.1 (c) If any party gives notification under this subdivision, the notification shall inform 263.2 the person that:
- 263.3 (1) an expunged record of a conviction may be opened for purposes of a background
- 263.4 study by the Department of Human Services under section 245C.08 and for purposes of a
- 263.5 background check by the Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board as required
- 263.6 under section 122A.18, subdivision 8; and
- 263.7 (2) the person can file a petition to expunge the record and request that it be directed to
- 263.8 the commissioner of human services and the Professional Educator Licensing and Standards
 263.9 Board.
- 263.10 Subd. 5. Bureau of Criminal Apprehension to identify eligible persons and grant
- 263.11 expungement relief. (a) The Bureau of Criminal Apprehension shall identify adjudications
- 263.12 and convictions that qualify for a grant of expungement relief pursuant to this subdivision
- 263.13 <u>or subdivision 1, 2, or 3.</u>
- 263.14 (b) The Bureau of Criminal Apprehension shall grant expungement relief to qualifying
- 263.15 persons and seal its own records without requiring an application, petition, or motion.
- 263.16 (c) Nonpublic criminal records maintained by the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension and
- 263.17 <u>subject to a grant of expungement relief shall display a notation stating "expungement relief</u> 263.18 <u>granted pursuant to section 609A.015."</u>
- 263.19 (d) The Bureau of Criminal Apprehension shall inform the judicial branch of all cases
- 263.20 for which expungement relief was granted pursuant to this section. Notification may be
- 263.21 through electronic means and may be made in real time or in the form of a monthly report.
- 263.22 Upon receipt of notice, the judicial branch shall seal all records relating to an arrest,
- 263.23 indictment or information, trial, verdict, or dismissal and discharge for any case in which
- 263.24 expungement relief was granted.
- 263.25 (e) The Bureau of Criminal Apprehension shall inform each agency, other than the
- 263.26 Department of Human Services and Department of Health, and jurisdiction whose records
- 263.27 are affected by the grant of expungement relief. Notification may be through electronic
- 263.28 means and may be made in real time or in the form of a monthly report. Each notified agency

- 263.29 shall seal all records relating to an arrest, indictment or information, trial, verdict, or dismissal
- 263.30 and discharge for any case in which expungement relief was granted.
- 263.31 (f) Data on the person whose offense has been expunged under this subdivision are
- 263.32 private data on individuals as defined in section 13.02.
- 264.1 (g) The prosecuting attorney shall notify the victim that an offense qualifies for automatic
- expungement under this section in the manner provided in section 611A.03, subdivisions 264.2
- 264.3 1 and 2.
- 264.4 (h) In any subsequent prosecution of a person granted expungement relief, the expunged
- criminal record may be pleaded and has the same effect as if the relief had not been granted. 264.5
- 264.6 (i) The Bureau of Criminal Apprehension is directed to develop a system to provide
- criminal justice agencies with uniform statewide access to criminal records sealed by 264.7
- 264.8 expungement.
- 264.9 (j) At sentencing, the prosecuting agency with jurisdiction over the criminal record may
- ask the court to prohibit the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension from granting expungement 264.10
- relief under this section. The court shall grant the request upon a showing of clear and 264.11
- convincing evidence that the interests of the public and public safety outweigh the 264.12
- 264.13 disadvantages to the defendant of not sealing the record.
- EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to individuals 264.14
- 264.15 with dismissals, discharges, or resolutions described in subdivision 1; who successfully
- 264.16 complete diversion as described in subdivision 2; or who are adjudicated delinquent for,
- convicted of, or receive a stayed sentence for a qualifying offense as described in subdivision 264.17
- 3 on or after that date and retroactively to individuals: 264.18
- 264.19 (1) with dismissals, discharges, or resolutions described in subdivision 1 that take place 264.20 on or after August 1, 2021;
- 264.21 (2) who successfully complete diversion as described in subdivision 2 on or after August 264.22 1, 2021; or
- (3) adjudicated delinquent for, convicted of, or who received a stayed sentence for a 264.23
- qualifying offense described in paragraph (b), clause (1), (2), or (3) on or after August 1, 264.24 264.25 2021.
- Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609A.02, is amended by adding a subdivision 264.26 264.27 to read:
- Subd. 2a. Expungement of arrest. A petition may be filed under section 609A.03 to 264.28 seal all records relating to an arrest if: 264.29
- (1) the prosecuting authority declined to file any charges and a grand jury did not return 264.30 264.31 an indictment; and

- 265.1 (2) the applicable limitations period under section 628.26 has expired, and no indictment
- 265.2 or complaint was found or made and filed against the person.
- 265.3 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2021, and applies to individuals
- 265.4 arrested on or after that date.
- 265.5 Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609A.02, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- 265.6 Subd. 3. Certain criminal proceedings. (a) A petition may be filed under section
- 265.7 609A.03 to seal all records relating to an arrest, indictment or information, trial, or verdict
- 265.8 if the records are not subject to section 299C.11, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), and if:
- 265.9 (1) all pending actions or proceedings were resolved in favor of the petitioner. For 265.10 purposes of this chapter, a verdict of not guilty by reason of mental illness is not a resolution 265.11 in favor of the petitioner. For the purposes of this chapter, an action or proceeding is resolved 265.12 in favor of the petitioner, if the petitioner received an order under section 590.11 determining 265.13 that the petitioner is eligible for compensation based on exoneration;
- 265.14 (2) the petitioner has successfully completed the terms of a diversion program or stay 265.15 of adjudication and has not been charged with a new crime for at least one year since 265.16 completion of the diversion program or stay of adjudication;
- 265.17 (3) the petitioner was convicted of or received a stayed sentence for a petty misdemeanor 265.18 or misdemeanor and has not been convicted of a new crime for at least two years since 265.19 discharge of the sentence for the crime;
- (4) the petitioner was convicted of or received a stayed sentence for a gross misdemeanorand has not been convicted of a new crime for at least four years since discharge of thesentence for the crime; or
- 265.23 (5) the petitioner was convicted of or received a stayed sentence for a felony violation 265.24 of an offense listed in paragraph (b), and has not been convicted of a new crime for at least 265.25 five years since discharge of the sentence for the crime.
- 265.26 (b) Paragraph (a), clause (5), applies to the following offenses:
- 265.27 (1) section 35.824 (altering livestock certificate);
- 265.28 (2) section 62A.41 (insurance regulations);
- 265.29 (3) section 86B.865, subdivision 1 (certification for title on watercraft);
- 265.30 (4) section 152.025 (controlled substance in the fifth degree); or 152.097 (sale of 265.31 simulated controlled substance);
- 266.1 (5) section 168A.30, subdivision 1 (certificate of title false information); or 169.09,
- 266.2 subdivision 14, paragraph (a), clause (2) (accident resulting in great bodily harm);
- 266.3 (6) chapter 201; 203B; or 204C (voting violations);

- 266.4 (7) section 228.45; 228.47; 228.49; 228.50; or 228.51 (false bill of lading);
- 266.5 (8) section 256.98 (wrongfully obtaining assistance);
- 266.6 (9) section 256.984 (false declaration in assistance application);
- 266.7 (9) (10) section 296A.23, subdivision 2 (willful evasion of fuel tax);
- (10)(11) section 297D.09, subdivision 1 (failure to affix stamp on scheduled substances);
- (11)(12) section 297G.19 (liquor taxation); or 340A.701 (unlawful acts involving liquor);
- 266.10 (12) (13) section 325F.743 (precious metal dealers); or 325F.755, subdivision 7 (prize
- 266.11 notices and solicitations);
- 266.12 (13) (14) section 346.155, subdivision 10 (failure to control regulated animal);
- 266.13 (14) (15) section 349.2127; or 349.22 (gambling regulations);
- 266.14 (15)(16) section 588.20 (contempt);
- 266.15 (16)(17) section 609.27, subdivision 1, clauses (2) to (5) (coercion);
- 266.16 (17)(18) section 609.31 (leaving state to evade establishment of paternity);
- 266.17 (18) (19) section 609.485, subdivision 4, paragraph (a), clause (2) or (4) (escape from 266.18 civil commitment for mental illness);
- 266.19 (19)(20) section 609.49 (failure to appear in court);
- 266.20(20)(21) section 609.52, subdivision 3, clause (3)(a) (theft of \$5,000 or less), or other266.21theft offense that is sentenced under this provision; 609.52, subdivision 3, clause (2) (theft266.22of \$5,000 to \$35,000); or 609.52, subdivision 3a, clause (1) (theft of \$1,000 or less with266.23risk of bodily harm);
- 266.24 (21)(22) section 609.525 (bringing stolen goods into state);
- 266.25 (22) (23) section 609.526, subdivision 2, clause (2) (metal dealer receiving stolen goods);
- 266.26 (23)(24) section 609.527, subdivision 5b (possession or use of scanning device or
- 266.27 reencoder); 609.528, subdivision 3, clause (3) (possession or sale of stolen or counterfeit 266.28 check); or 609.529 (mail theft);
- 266.29 (24) (25) section 609.53 (receiving stolen goods);
- 267.1 (25) (26) section 609.535, subdivision 2a, paragraph (a), clause (1) (dishonored check over \$500);
- 267.3 (26) (27) section 609.54, clause (1) (embezzlement of public funds \$2,500 or less);
- (27) (28) section 609.551 (rustling and livestock theft);
- (28)(29) section 609.5641, subdivision 1a, paragraph (a) (wildfire arson);

267.6	(29) (30) section 609.576, subdivision 1, clause (3), item (iii) (negligent fires);
267.7	(31) section 609.59 (possession of burglary or theft tools);
267.8 267.9	(30) (32) section 609.595, subdivision 1, clauses (3) to (5), and subdivision 1a, paragraph (a) (criminal damage to property);
267.10	(31) (33) section 609.597, subdivision 3, clause (3) (assaulting or harming police horse);
	(32) (34) section 609.625 (aggravated forgery); 609.63 (forgery); 609.631, subdivision 4, clause (3)(a) (check forgery \$2,500 or less); 609.635 (obtaining signature by false pretense); 609.64 (recording, filing forged instrument); or 609.645 (fraudulent statements);
267.14 267.15	(33) (35) section 609.65, clause (1) (false certification by notary); or 609.651, subdivision 4, paragraph (a) (lottery fraud);
267.16	(34) (36) section 609.652 (fraudulent driver's license and identification card);
267.17 267.18	(35) (37) section 609.66, subdivision 1a, paragraph (a) (discharge of firearm; silencer); or 609.66, subdivision 1b (furnishing firearm to minor);
267.19	(36) (38) section 609.662, subdivision 2, paragraph (b) (duty to render aid);
267.20	(37) (39) section 609.686, subdivision 2 (tampering with fire alarm);
267.21 267.22	(38) (40) section 609.746, subdivision 1, paragraph (e) (interference with privacy; subsequent violation or minor victim);
267.23	(39) (41) section 609.80, subdivision 2 (interference with cable communications system);
267.24	(40) (42) section 609.821, subdivision 2 (financial transaction card fraud);
267.25	(41) (43) section 609.822 (residential mortgage fraud);
267.26	(42) (44) section 609.825, subdivision 2 (bribery of participant or official in contest);
267.27 267.28	(43) (45) section 609.855, subdivision 2, paragraph (c), clause (1) (interference with transit operator);
267.29	(44) (46) section 609.88 (computer damage); or 609.89 (computer theft);
268.1 268.2	(45) (47) section 609.893, subdivision 2 (telecommunications and information services fraud);
268.3	(46) (48) section 609.894, subdivision 3 or 4 (cellular counterfeiting);
268.4 268.5	(47) (49) section 609.895, subdivision 3, paragraph (a) or (b) (counterfeited intellectual property);
268.6	(48) (50) section 609.896 (movie pirating);

House Language UES0970-1

- 268.7 (49) (51) section 624.7132, subdivision 15, paragraph (b) (transfer pistol to minor);
- 268.8 624.714, subdivision 1a (pistol without permit; subsequent violation); or 624.7141,
- 268.9 subdivision 2 (transfer of pistol to ineligible person); or
- 268.10 (50)(52) section 624.7181 (rifle or shotgun in public by minor).
- 268.11 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2021.
- 268.12 Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609A.025, is amended to read:

268.13609A.025 NO PETITION REQUIRED IN CERTAIN CASES WITH268.14PROSECUTOR AGREEMENT AND NOTIFICATION.

268.15 (a) If the prosecutor agrees to the sealing of a criminal record, the court shall seal the

- 268.16 criminal record for a person described in section 609A.02, subdivision 3, without the filing
- 268.17 of a petition unless it determines that the interests of the public and public safety in keeping
- 268.18 the record public outweigh the disadvantages to the subject of the record in not sealing it.
- 268.19 The prosecutor shall inform the court whether the context and circumstances of the underlying
- 268.20 crime indicate a nexus between the criminal record to be expunged and the person's status
- 268.21 as a crime victim and, if so, request that the court make the appropriate findings to support
- 268.22 the relief described in section 609A.03, subdivision 6a.

268.23 (b) <u>At least 90 days</u> before agreeing to the sealing of a record under this section, the

- 268.24 prosecutor shall make a good faith effort to notify any identifiable victims of the offense
- 268.25 of the intended agreement and the opportunity to object to the agreement.

268.26 (c) Subject to paragraph (b), the agreement of the prosecutor to the sealing of records 268.27 for a person described in section 609A.02, subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clause (2), may 268.28 occur before or after the criminal charges are dismissed.

- 268.29 (d) A prosecutor shall agree to the sealing of a criminal record for a person described
- 268.30 in section 609A.02, subdivision 2a, unless substantial and compelling reasons exist to object
 268.31 to the sealing.
- 269.1 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2021, and applies to agreements
- 269.2 to the sealing of a criminal record entered into by a prosecutor on or after that date.
- 269.3 Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609A.03, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
- 269.4 Subd. 5. Nature of remedy; standard. (a) Except as otherwise provided by paragraph
- 269.5 (b), expungement of a criminal record <u>under this section</u> is an extraordinary remedy to be
- 269.6 granted only upon clear and convincing evidence that it would yield a benefit to the petitioner
- 269.7 commensurate with the disadvantages to the public and public safety of:
- 269.8 (1) sealing the record; and
- 269.9 (2) burdening the court and public authorities to issue, enforce, and monitor an 269.10 expungement order.

House Language UES0970-1

Senate Language S0970-3

(b) Except as otherwise provided by this paragraph, if the petitioner is petitioning for the sealing of a criminal record under section 609A.02, subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clause (1) or (2), the court shall grant the petition to seal the record unless the agency or jurisdiction

269.13 (1) or (2), the court shall grant the petition to seal the record unless the agency of jurisdiction 269.14 whose records would be affected establishes by clear and convincing evidence that the

269.15 interests of the public and public safety outweigh the disadvantages to the petitioner of not

269.16 sealing the record.

269.17 (c) In making a determination under this subdivision, the court shall consider:

269.18 (1) the nature and severity of the underlying crime, the record of which would be sealed;

269.19 (2) the risk, if any, the petitioner poses to individuals or society;

269.20 (3) the length of time since the crime occurred;

269.21 (4) the steps taken by the petitioner toward rehabilitation following the crime;

269.22 (5) aggravating or mitigating factors relating to the underlying crime, including the 269.23 petitioner's level of participation and context and circumstances of the underlying crime;

269.24 (6) the reasons for the expungement, including the petitioner's attempts to obtain 269.25 employment, housing, or other necessities;

269.26 (7) the petitioner's criminal record;

269.27 (8) the petitioner's record of employment and community involvement;

269.28 (9) the recommendations of interested law enforcement, prosecutorial, and corrections 269.29 officials;

270.1 (10) the recommendations of victims or whether victims of the underlying crime were minors;

270.3 (11) the amount, if any, of restitution outstanding, past efforts made by the petitioner

toward payment, and the measures in place to help ensure completion of restitution paymentafter expungement of the record if granted; and

270.6 (12) other factors deemed relevant by the court.

270.7 (d) Notwithstanding section 13.82, 13.87, or any other law to the contrary, if the court

270.8 issues an expungement order it may require that the criminal record be sealed, the existence

270.9 of the record not be revealed, and the record not be opened except as required under

270.10 subdivision 7. Records must not be destroyed or returned to the subject of the record.

270.11 (e) Information relating to a criminal history record of an employee, former employee,

270.12 or tenant that has been expunged before the occurrence of the act giving rise to the civil

270.13 action may not be introduced as evidence in a civil action against a private employer or

270.14 landlord or its employees or agents that is based on the conduct of the employee, former 270.15 employee, or tenant.

REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE

House Language UES0970-1

Senate Language S0970-3

270.16 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2021.

270.17 Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609A.03, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

270.18Subd. 7. Limitations of order effective before January 1, 2015. (a) Upon issuance of270.19an expungement order related to a charge supported by probable cause, the DNA samples270.20and DNA records held by the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension and collected under authority270.21other than section 299C.105, shall not be sealed, returned to the subject of the record, or270.22destroyed.

270.23 (b) Notwithstanding the issuance of an expungement order:

270.24 (1) an expunged record may be opened for purposes of a criminal investigation, 270.25 prosecution, or sentencing, upon an ex parte court order;

270.26 (2) an expunged record of a conviction may be opened for purposes of evaluating a 270.27 prospective employee in a criminal justice agency without a court order; and

(3) an expunged record of a conviction may be opened for purposes of a background
 study under section 245C.08 unless the court order for expungement is directed specifically
 to the commissioner of human services; and

270.31 (4) the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension shall include summary entries of expunged 270.32 records in all nonpublic criminal histories it generates for use by criminal justice agencies.

271.1 Upon request by law enforcement, prosecution, or corrections authorities, an agency or

271.2 jurisdiction subject to an expungement order shall inform the requester of the existence of

271.3 a sealed record and of the right to obtain access to it as provided by this paragraph. For

271.4 purposes of this section, a "criminal justice agency" means courts or a government agency

271.5 that performs the administration of criminal justice under statutory authority.

(c) This subdivision applies to expungement orders subject to its limitations and effectivebefore January 1, 2015.

271.8 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2023.

271.9 Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609A.03, subdivision 7a, is amended to read:

271.10Subd. 7a. Limitations of order effective January 1, 2015, and later. (a) Upon issuance271.11of an expungement order related to a charge supported by probable cause, the DNA samples271.12and DNA records held by the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension and collected under authority271.13other than section 299C.105 shall not be sealed, returned to the subject of the record, or271.14destroyed.

271.15 (b) Notwithstanding the issuance of an expungement order:

271.16 (1) except as provided in clause (2), an expunged record may be opened, used, or 271.17 exchanged between criminal justice agencies without a court order for the purposes of

House Language UES0970-1

Senate Language S0970-3

271.18 initiating, furthering, or completing a criminal investigation or prosecution or for sentencing 271.19 purposes or providing probation or other correctional services;

(2) when a criminal justice agency seeks access to a record that was sealed under section
609A.02, subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clause (1), <u>or 609A.015</u>, subdivision 1, clause (3),
after an acquittal or a court order dismissing for lack of probable cause, for purposes of a
criminal investigation, prosecution, or sentencing, the requesting agency must obtain an ex
parte court order after stating a good-faith basis to believe that opening the record may lead
to relevant information;

(3) an expunged record of a conviction may be opened for purposes of evaluating aprospective employee in a criminal justice agency without a court order;

(4) an expunged record of a conviction may be opened for purposes of a background
study under section 245C.08 unless the commissioner had been properly served with notice
of the petition for expungement and the court order for expungement is directed specifically
to the commissioner of human services;

272.1 (5) an expunged record of a conviction may be opened for purposes of a background

272.2 check required under section 122A.18, subdivision 8, unless the court order for expungement

272.3 is directed specifically to the Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board or the

272.4 licensing division of the Department of Education; and

272.5 (6) the court may order an expunged record opened upon request by the victim of the

- 272.6 underlying offense if the court determines that the record is substantially related to a matter
- 272.7 for which the victim is before the court:
- 272.8 (7) a prosecutor may request, and the district court shall provide, certified records of

272.9 conviction for a record expunged pursuant to sections 609A.015, 609A.02, and 609A.025,

- 272.10 and the certified records of conviction may be disclosed and introduced in criminal court
- 272.11 proceedings as provided by the rules of court and applicable law;
- 272.12 (8) the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension shall include summary entries of expunged

272.13 records in all nonpublic criminal histories it generates for use by criminal justice agencies; 272.14 and

272.15 (9) the subject of an expunged record may request, and the court shall provide, certified

272.16 or uncertified records of conviction for a record expunged pursuant to sections 609A.015,

272.17 609A.02, and 609A.025.

272.18 (c) An agency or jurisdiction subject to an expungement order shall maintain the record

272.19 in a manner that provides access to the record by a criminal justice agency under paragraph

272.20 (b), clause (1) or (2), but notifies the recipient that the record has been sealed. The Bureau

- 272.21 of Criminal Apprehension shall notify the commissioner of human services, the Professional
- 272.22 Educator Licensing and Standards Board, or the licensing division of the Department of

272.23 Education of the existence of a sealed record and of the right to obtain access under paragraph

272.24 (b), clause (4) or (5). Upon request, the agency or jurisdiction subject to the expungement

House Language UES0970-1

Senate Language S0970-3

- 272.25 order shall provide access to the record to the commissioner of human services, the
- 272.26 Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board, or the licensing division of the
- 272.27 Department of Education under paragraph (b), clause (4) or (5).

272.28 (d) An expunged record that is opened or exchanged under this subdivision remains 272.29 subject to the expungement order in the hands of the person receiving the record.

272.30 (e) A criminal justice agency that receives an expunged record under paragraph (b),

272.31 clause (1) or (2), must maintain and store the record in a manner that restricts the use of the

272.32 record to the investigation, prosecution, or sentencing for which it was obtained.

(f) For purposes of this section, a "criminal justice agency" means a court or governmentagency that performs the administration of criminal justice under statutory authority.

(g) This subdivision applies to expungement orders subject to its limitations and effectiveon or after January 1, 2015.

273.5 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2021, except that paragraph 273.6 (b), clause (8) is effective August 1, 2023.

273.7 Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609A.03, subdivision 9, is amended to read:

273.8 Subd. 9. Stay of order; appeal. An expungement order <u>issued under this section</u> shall

273.9 be stayed automatically for 60 days after the order is filed and, if the order is appealed,

273.10 during the appeal period. A person or an agency or jurisdiction whose records would be

273.11 affected by the order may appeal the order within 60 days of service of notice of filing of 273.12 the order. An agency or jurisdiction or its officials or employees need not file a cost bond

273.13 or supersedeas bond in order to further stay the proceedings or file an appeal.

273.14 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2021.

273.15 Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 611A.03, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

273.16 Subdivision 1. **Plea agreements; notification of victim.** Prior to the entry of the factual 273.17 basis for a plea pursuant to a plea agreement recommendation, a prosecuting attorney shall

273.18 make a reasonable and good faith effort to inform the victim of:

(1) the contents of the plea agreement recommendation, including the amount of time
recommended for the defendant to serve in jail or prison if the court accepts the agreement;
and

273.22 (2) the right to be present at the sentencing hearing and at the hearing during which the

273.23 plea is presented to the court and to express orally or in writing, at the victim's option, any

273.24 objection to the agreement or to the proposed disposition. If the victim is not present when

273.25 the court considers the recommendation, but has communicated objections to the prosecuting 273.26 attorney, the prosecuting attorney shall make these objections known to the court; and

273.27 (3) the eligibility of the offense for automatic expungement pursuant to section 609A.015,

273.28 and the victim's right to express to the court orally or in writing, at the victim's option, any

- 273.29 objection to a grant of expungement relief. If the victim is not present, but has communicated
- 273.30 objections to the prosecuting attorney, the prosecuting attorney shall make these objections
- 273.31 known to the court.
- 274.1 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to plea
- 274.2 agreements entered into on or after that date.
- 274.3 Sec. 46. TASK FORCE ON THE CONTENTS AND USE OF PRESENTENCE
- 274.4 INVESTIGATION REPORTS AND IMPOSITION OF CONDITIONS OF
- 274.5 **PROBATION.**
- 274.6 Subdivision 1. Establishment. The task force on the contents and use of presentence
- 274.7 investigation reports and imposition of conditions of probation is established to review the
- 274.8 statutory requirements in Minnesota Statutes, section 609.115, for the content of presentence
- 274.9 investigation reports and determine whether that level of information is useful and necessary
- 274.10 in all cases; determine whether presentence investigation reports should be required in all
- 274.11 cases or only a subset of cases; collect and analyze data on the conditions of probation
- 274.12 ordered by courts; assess whether current practices promote public safety and equity in
- 274.13 sentencing; and make recommendations to the legislature.
- 274.14 Subd. 2. Membership. (a) The task force consists of the following members:
- 274.15 (1) two members of the house of representatives, one appointed by the speaker of the
- 274.16 house and one appointed by the minority leader;
- 274.17 (2) two members of the senate, one appointed by the majority leader and one appointed
- 274.18 by the minority leader;
- 274.19 (3) the commissioner of corrections or a designee;
- 274.20 (4) two district court judges of which one shall be a judge in a metropolitan county and
- 274.21 one shall be a judge in a county other than a metropolitan county, appointed by the chief
- 274.22 justice of the supreme court;
- 274.23 (5) the chair of the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission or a designee;
- 274.24 (6) the state public defender or a designee;
- 274.25 (7) one county attorney, appointed by the Minnesota County Attorneys Association; and
- 274.26 (8) three probation officers including one employee of the Department of Corrections,
- 274.27 one employee of a county that takes part in the Community Corrections Act, and one
- 274.28 employee of a county that does not take part in the Community Corrections Act, appointed
- 274.29 by the commissioner of corrections.
- 274.30 (b) As used in this section, "metropolitan county" has the meaning given in Minnesota
- 274.31 Statutes, section 473.121, subdivision 4.

House Language UES0970-1

- 275.1 (c) Appointments must be made no later than July 30, 2021.
- 275.2 (d) Members shall serve without compensation.
- 275.3 (e) Members of the task force serve at the pleasure of the appointing authority or until
- 275.4 the task force expires. Vacancies shall be filled by the appointing authority consistent with
- 275.5 the qualifications of the vacating member required by this subdivision.
- 275.6 Subd. 3. Officers; meetings. (a) The task force shall elect a chair and vice-chair and
- 275.7 may elect other officers as necessary.
- 275.8 (b) The commissioner of corrections shall convene the first meeting of the task force no
- 275.9 later than August 1, 2021, and shall provide meeting space and administrative assistance
- 275.10 as necessary for the task force to conduct its work.
- 275.11 (c) The task force shall meet at least monthly or upon the call of its chair. The task force
- 275.12 shall meet sufficiently enough to accomplish the tasks identified in this section. Meetings
- 275.13 of the task force are subject to Minnesota Statutes, chapter 13D.
- 275.14 (d) To compile and analyze data, the task force may request the cooperation and assistance
- 275.15 of local law enforcement agencies, the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission, the
- 275.16 judicial branch, the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, county attorneys, and Tribal
- 275.17 governments, academics, and others with experience and expertise in researching probation
- 275.18 and criminal sentences.
- 275.19 Subd. 4. Duties. (a) The task force shall, at a minimum:
- 275.20 (1) collect and analyze available data on how often presentence investigation reports
- 275.21 are filed with the court, and in which types of cases;
- 275.22 (2) review and discuss whether presentence investigation reports should be required in
- 275.23 all felony cases, and make recommendations to the legislature;
- (3) review and discuss the required content of presentence investigation reports, determine
- 275.25 whether that level of detail is needed in every case, and consider recommendations for
- 275.26 changing the required content;
- 275.27 (4) collect and analyze available data on conditions of probation imposed by courts;
- 275.28 (5) assess what factors courts consider when imposing conditions of probation;
- 275.29 (6) determine what data is available to show whether particular conditions of probation
- 275.30 are effective in promoting public safety and rehabilitation of an offender;
- 276.1 (7) determine whether conditions of probation are consistent across geographic and
- 276.2 demographic groups and, if not, how they differ;
- 276.3 (8) determine the most effective methods to provide a court with relevant information
- 276.4 to establish appropriate conditions of probation;

House Language UES0970-1

- 276.5 (9) review relevant state statutes and state and federal court decisions; and
- 276.6 (10) make recommendations for legislative action, if any, on laws affecting presentence
- 276.7 investigation reports and appropriate conditions of probation.
- 276.8 (b) At its discretion, the task force may examine, as necessary, other related issues
- 276.9 consistent with this section.
- 276.10 Subd. 5. Report. On or before January 15, 2023, the task force shall submit a report to
- 276.11 the chairs and ranking minority members of the house of representatives and senate
- 276.12 committees and divisions with jurisdiction over criminal sentencing on the findings and
- 276.13 recommendations of the task force.
- 276.14 Subd. 6. Expiration. The task force expires the day after submitting its report under 276.15 subdivision 5.
- 276.16 Sec. 47. TITLE.
- 276.17 Sections 36 to 45 may be referred to as the "Clean Slate Act."
- 276.18 Sec. 48. SENTENCING GUIDELINES MODIFICATION.
- 276.19 The Sentencing Guidelines Commission shall comprehensively review and consider
- 276.20 modifying how the Sentencing Guidelines and the sex offender grid address the crimes
- 276.21 described in Minnesota Statutes, section 609.322.
- 276.22 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2021.

- 276.23 Sec. 49. **REVISOR INSTRUCTION.**
- 276.24 In Minnesota Statutes, the revisor of statutes shall substitute "364 days" for "one year"
- 276.25 consistent with the change in section 10. The revisor shall also make other technical changes
- 276.26 resulting from the change of term to the statutory language if necessary to preserve the
- 276.27 meaning of the text.

- 43.8 Sec. 19. SENTENCING GUIDELINES COMPREHENSIVE REVIEW.
- 43.9 The Sentencing Guidelines Commission shall comprehensively review and consider
- 43.10 modifying how the Sentencing Guidelines and the sex offender grid address the crimes
- 43.11 described in Minnesota Statutes, section 609.322.
- 43.12 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2021.
- 43.13 Sec. 20. SENTENCING GUIDELINES COMMISSION DIRECTED TO INCREASE
- 43.14 THE RANKINGS FOR CERTAIN CHILD PORNOGRAPHY CRIMES.
- 43.15 The Sentencing Guidelines Commission is directed to increase the severity rankings on
- 43.16 the sex offender grid for a violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 617.247, subdivision 3,
- 43.17 paragraph (b), from severity level D to C, and subdivision 4, paragraph (b), from severity
- 43.18 level F to E, consistent with the recommendations contained in the minority report in the
- 43.19 commission's 2021 report to the legislature. The other modifications to the grid relating to
- 43.20 child pornography crimes proposed in the main report are adopted.
- 43.21 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2021, and applies to crimes
- 43.22 committed on or after that date.

276.28 Sec. 50. REPEALER.

276.29	Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.324, subdivision 3, is repealed.
277.1 277.2	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.
277.3	Sec. 51. EFFECTIVE DATE.
277.4 277.5	Sections 1 to 3, 7, 12, 13, 27, and 28 are effective the day following final enactment and apply to offenders sentenced on or after that date, and retroactively to offenders:
277.6 277.7 277.8 277.9	(1) sentenced to life imprisonment without possibility of release following a conviction under Minnesota Statutes, section 609.185, paragraph (a), for an offense committed when the offender was under 18 years of age and when a sentence was imposed pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 609.106, subdivision 2;

- 43.23 Sec. 21. <u>REPEALER.</u>
- 43.24 Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.324, subdivision 3, is repealed.
- 43.25 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2021, and applies to crimes

Senate Language S0970-3

43.26 committed on or after that date.

- 277.10 (2) sentenced to life imprisonment without possibility of release following a conviction
- 277.11 under Minnesota Statutes, section 609.3455, subdivision 2, for an offense committed when
- 277.12 the offender was under 18 years of age;
- 277.13 (3) sentenced to life imprisonment under Minnesota Statutes, section 609.185, paragraph
- 277.14 (a), clause (3), (5), or (6); or Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.109, subdivision 3, for
- 277.15 an offense committed when the offender was under 18 years of age;
- 277.16 (4) sentenced to life imprisonment under Minnesota Statutes, section 609.385, for an 277.17 offense committed when the offender was under 18 years of age;
- 277.17 offense committed when the offender was under 18 years of age;
- 277.18 (5) sentenced to life imprisonment under Minnesota Statutes, section 609.3455,
- 277.19 subdivision 3 or 4, if the minimum term of imprisonment specified by the court in its sentence
- 277.20 exceeds 15 years for an offense committed when the offender was under 18 years of age;
- 277.21 <u>or</u>
- 277.22 (6) sentenced to an executed sentence that includes a term of imprisonment of more than
- 277.23 15 years or separate, consecutive executed sentences for two or more crimes that include
- 277.24 combined terms of imprisonment that total more than 15 years for an offense committed
- 277.25 when the offender was under 18 years of age.