House Language UES0970-1

Senate Language

9.11	ARTICLE 7
9.12	CIVIL LAW
9.13	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 357.17, is amended to read:
9.14	357.17 NOTARIES PUBLIC.
9.15	(a) The maximum fees to be charged and collected by a notary public shall be as follows:
59.16 59.17	(1) for protest of nonpayment of note or bill of exchange or of nonacceptance of such bill; where protest is legally necessary, and copy thereof, \$5;
9.18	(2) for every other protest and copy, \$5;
59.19 59.20	(3) for making and serving every notice of nonpayment of note or nonacceptance of bill and copy thereof, \$5;
59.21 59.22	(4) for any affidavit or paper for which provision is not made herein, \$5 per folio, and \$1 per folio for copies;
9.23	(5) for each oath administered, \$5;
59.24 59.25	(6) for acknowledgments of deeds and for other services authorized by law, the legal fees allowed other officers for like services;
9.26 59.27	(7) for recording each instrument required by law to be recorded by the notary, \$5 per folio.
59.28 59.29	(b) A notary public may charge a fee for performing a marriage in excess of the fees in paragraph (a) if the notary is commissioned pursuant to chapter 359.
0.1	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 359.04, is amended to read:
0.2	359.04 POWERS.
70.3 70.4 70.5 70.6 70.7 70.8 70.9	Every notary public so appointed, commissioned, and qualified shall have power throughout this state to administer all oaths required or authorized to be administered in this state; to take and certify all depositions to be used in any of the courts of this state; to take and certify all acknowledgments of deeds, mortgages, liens, powers of attorney, and other instruments in writing or electronic records; to receive, make out, and record notarial protests; to perform civil marriages consistent with this chapter and chapter 517; and to perform online remote notarial acts in compliance with the requirements of sections 358.645 and 358.646.
0.11	Sec. 3. [359.115] CIVIL MARRIAGE OFFICIANT.
70.12 70.13 70.14	A notary public shall have the power to solemnize civil marriages throughout the state if the notary public has filed a copy of the notary public's notary commission with the local registrar of a county in this state. When a local registrar records a commission for a notary

PAGE R1

70.15 70.16	public, the local registrar shall provide a certificate of filing to the notary whose commission is recorded. A notary public shall endorse and record the county where the notary public's
70.17	commission is recorded upon each certificate of civil marriage granted by the notary.
70.18	Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 514.977, is amended to read:
70.19	514.977 DEFAULT <u>ADDITIONAL REMEDIES</u> .
70.20 70.21 70.22 70.23 70.24 70.25	Subdivision 1. Default; breach of rental agreement. If an occupant defaults in the payment of rent for the storage space or otherwise breaches the rental agreement, the owner may commence an eviction action under chapter 504B. to terminate the rental agreement, recover possession of the storage space, remove the occupant, and dispose of the stored personal property. The action shall be conducted in accordance with the Minnesota Rules of Civil Procedure except as provided in this section.
70.26 70.27	Subd. 2. Service of summons. The summons must be served at least seven days before the date of the court appearance as provided in subdivision 3.
70.28 70.29 70.30	Subd. 3. Appearance. Except as provided in subdivision 4, in an action filed under this section, the appearance shall be not less than seven or more than 14 days from the day of issuing the summons.
70.31 70.32 71.1 71.2 71.3 71.4 71.5	Subd. 4. Expedited hearing. If the owner files a motion and affidavit stating specific facts and instances in support of an allegation that the occupant is causing a nuisance or engaging in illegal or other behavior that seriously endangers the safety of others, their property, or the storage facility's property, the appearance shall be not less than three days nor more than seven days from the date the summons is issued. The summons in an expedited hearing shall be served upon the occupant within 24 hours of issuance unless the court orders otherwise for good cause shown.
71.6 71.7 71.8 71.9	Subd. 5. Answer; trial; continuance. At the court appearance specified in the summons, the defendant may answer the complaint, and the court shall hear and decide the action, unless it grants a continuance of the trial, which may be for no longer than six days, unless all parties consent to longer continuance.
71.10 71.11 71.12	Subd. 6. Counterclaims. The occupant is prohibited from bringing counterclaims in the action that are unrelated to the possession of the storage space. Nothing in this section prevents the occupant from bringing the claim in a separate action.
71.13 71.14	Subd. 7. Judgment; writ. Judgment in matters adjudicated under this section shall be in accordance with section 504B.345, subdivision 1, paragraph (a). Execution of a writ

71.15 issued under this section shall be in accordance with section 504B.365.

71.16 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 517.04, is amended to read:

71.17 71.18

71.24

71.27

71.28 71.29

71.31

71.32 72.1

72.2

72.3

72.4

72.5

72.6 72.7

72.8

72.22

72.23

517.04 PERSONS AUTHORIZED TO PERFORM CIVIL MARRIAGES.

Civil marriages may be solemnized throughout the state by an individual who has attained the age of 21 years and is a judge of a court of record, a retired judge of a court of record, a court administrator, a retired court administrator with the approval of the chief judge of the judicial district, a former court commissioner who is employed by the court system or is acting pursuant to an order of the chief judge of the commissioner's judicial district, a notary commissioned pursuant to chapter 359, the residential school superintendent of the Minnesota State Academy for the Deaf and the Minnesota State Academy for the Blind, a licensed or ordained minister of any religious denomination, or by any mode recognized in section 517.18. For purposes of this section, a court of record includes the Office of Administrative Hearings under section 14.48.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 517.08, subdivision 1b, is amended to read:

Subd. 1b. Term of license; fee; premarital education. (a) The local registrar shall examine upon oath the parties applying for a license relative to the legality of the contemplated civil marriage. Examination upon oath of the parties under this section may include contemporaneous video or audio transmission or receipt of a verified statement signed by both parties attesting to the legality of the marriage. The local registrar may accept civil marriage license applications, signed by both parties, by mail, facsimile, or electronic filing. Both parties must present proof of age to the local registrar. If one party is unable to appear in person, the party appearing may complete the absent applicant's information. The local registrar shall provide a copy of the civil marriage application to the party who is unable to appear, who must verify the accuracy of the appearing party's information in a notarized statement. The verification statement must be accompanied by a copy of proof of age of the party. The civil marriage license must not be released until the verification statement and proof of age has been received by the local registrar. If the local registrar is satisfied that there is no legal impediment to it, including the restriction contained in section 259.13, the local registrar shall issue the license, containing the full names of the parties before and after the civil marriage, and county and state of residence, with the county seal attached, and make a record of the date of issuance. The license shall be valid for a period of six months. Except as provided in paragraph (b), the local registrar shall collect from the applicant a fee of \$115 for administering the oath, issuing, recording, and filing all papers required, and preparing and transmitting to the state registrar of vital records the reports of civil marriage required by this section. If the license should not be used within the period of six months due to illness or other extenuating circumstances, it may be surrendered to the local registrar for cancellation, and in that case a new license shall issue upon request of the parties of the original license without fee. A local registrar who knowingly issues or signs a civil marriage license in any manner other than as provided in this section shall pay to the parties aggrieved an amount not to exceed \$1,000.

(b) The civil marriage license fee for parties who have completed at least 12 hours of premarital education is \$40. In order to qualify for the reduced license fee, the parties must Senate Language

House Language UES0970-1

72.25 72.26 72.27 72.28 72.29 72.30 72.31	submit at the time of applying for the civil marriage license a statement that is signed, dated, and notarized or marked with a church seal from the person who provided the premarital education on their letterhead confirming that it was received. The premarital education must be provided by a licensed or ordained minister or the minister's designee, a person authorized to solemnize civil marriages under section 517.18, or a person authorized to practice marriage and family therapy under section 148B.33. The education must include the use of a premarital inventory and the teaching of communication and conflict management skills.
72.32 72.33	(c) The statement from the person who provided the premarital education under paragraph (b) must be in the following form:
72.34 72.35 73.1 73.2 73.3 73.4	"I,
73.5 73.6 73.7 73.8	The names of the parties in the educator's statement must be identical to the legal names of the parties as they appear in the civil marriage license application. Notwithstanding section 138.17, the educator's statement must be retained for seven years, after which time it may be destroyed.
73.9 73.10 73.11 73.12	(d) If section 259.13 applies to the request for a civil marriage license, the local registrar shall grant the civil marriage license without the requested name change. Alternatively, the local registrar may delay the granting of the civil marriage license until the party with the conviction:
73.13 73.14 73.15	(1) certifies under oath that 30 days have passed since service of the notice for a name change upon the prosecuting authority and, if applicable, the attorney general and no objection has been filed under section 259.13; or
73.16 73.17 73.18	(2) provides a certified copy of the court order granting it. The parties seeking the civil marriage license shall have the right to choose to have the license granted without the name change or to delay its granting pending further action on the name change request.
73.19	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively from January 1, 2021.
73.20	Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 524.2-503, is amended to read:
73.21	524.2-503 HARMLESS ERROR.
73.22 73.23 73.24	(a) If a document or writing added upon a document was not executed in compliance with section 524.2-502, the document or writing is treated as if it had been executed in compliance with section 524.2-502 if the proponent of the document or writing establishes

73.25 by clear and convincing evidence that the decedent intended the document or writing to

73.26 constitute:

April 30, 2021 01:11 PM Senate Language

1.5 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 524.2-503, is amended to read:
1.6 **524.2-503 HARMLESS ERROR.**

(a) If a document or writing added upon a document was not executed in compliance with section 524.2-502, the document or writing is treated as if it had been executed in compliance with section 524.2-502 if the proponent of the document or writing establishes by clear and convincing evidence that the decedent intended the document or writing to constitute:

House Language UES0970-1

73.27	(1) the decedent's will;
73.28	(2) a partial or complete revocation of the will;
73.29	(3) an addition to or an alteration of the will; or
73.30 73.31	(4) a partial or complete revival of the decedent's formerly revoked will or of a formerly revoked portion of the will.
74.1 74.2	(b) This section applies to documents and writings executed on or after March 13, 2020, but before February 15, 2021.
74.3 74.4	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively from March 13, 2020, and applies to documents and writings executed on or after March 13, 2020.
74.5	Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 541.073, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
74.6 74.7 74.8 74.9 74.10 74.11 74.12	Subd. 2. Limitations period. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), an action for damages based on sexual abuse: (1) must be commenced within six years of the alleged sexual abuse in the case of alleged sexual abuse of an individual 18 years or older; (2) may be commenced at any time in the case of alleged sexual abuse of an individual under the age of 18, except as provided for in subdivision 4; and (3) must be commenced before the plaintiff is 24 years of age in a claim against a natural person alleged to have sexually abused a minor when that natural person was under 14 years of age.
74.13 74.14 74.15	(b) An action for damages based on sexual abuse may be commenced at any time in the case of alleged sexual abuse by a peace officer, as defined in section 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph (c).
74.16 74.17	(b) (c) The plaintiff need not establish which act in a continuous series of sexual abuse acts by the defendant caused the injury.
74.18 74.19	$\frac{\text{(e)}}{\text{(d)}}$ This section does not affect the suspension of the statute of limitations during a period of disability under section 541.15.
74.20 74.21 74.22	EFFECTIVE DATE. (a) This section is effective the day following final enactment. Except as provided in paragraph (b), this section applies to actions that were not time-barred before the effective date.
74.23 74.24 74.25 74.26 74.27 74.28	(b) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, in the case of alleged sexual abuse of an individual by a peace officer, as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), if the action would otherwise be time-barred under a previous version of Minnesota Statutes, section 541.073, or other time limit, an action for damages against a peace officer may be commenced no later than five years following the effective date of this section.

April 30, 2021 01:11 PM

1.12

(1) the decedent's will;

Senate Language 21-00439

1.13	(2) a partial or complete revocation of the will;
1.14	(3) an addition to or an alteration of the will; or
1.15 1.16	(4) a partial or complete revival of the decedent's formerly revoked will or of a formerly revoked portion of the will.
1.17 1.18	(b) This section applies to documents and writings executed on or after March 13, 2020 but before February 15, 2021.
1.19	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively from March 13, 2020, and
1.20	annlies to documents and writings executed on or after that date

PAGE R5 REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE

74.29	Sec. 9	 Minnesota 	Statutes 2	020. s	section '	573.02.	subdivision	 is 	amended	to read

75.6

75.7

75.8

75.19

76.4

Subdivision 1. **Death action.** (a) When death is caused by the wrongful act or omission 74.30 of any person or corporation, the trustee appointed as provided in subdivision 3 may maintain an action therefor if the decedent might have maintained an action, had the decedent lived, for an injury caused by the wrongful act or omission. An action to recover damages for a death caused by the alleged professional negligence of a physician, surgeon, dentist, hospital or sanitarium, or an employee of a physician, surgeon, dentist, hospital or sanitarium shall be commenced within three years of the date of death, but in no event shall be commenced beyond the time set forth in section 541.076. An action to recover damages for a death caused by an intentional act constituting murder may be commenced at any time after the death of the decedent. An action to recover damages for a death caused by a peace officer, as defined in section 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), may be commenced at any time after the death of the decedent. Any other action under this section may be commenced within three years after the date of death provided that the action must be commenced within six years after the act or omission. The recovery in the action is the amount the jury deems fair and just in reference to the pecuniary loss resulting from the death, and shall be for the exclusive benefit of the surviving spouse and next of kin, proportionate to the pecuniary loss severally suffered by the death. The court then determines the proportionate pecuniary loss of the persons entitled to the recovery and orders distribution accordingly. Funeral expenses and any demand for the support of the decedent allowed by the court having jurisdiction of the action, are first deducted and paid. Punitive damages may be awarded as provided in section 549.20.

(b) If an action for the injury was commenced by the decedent and not finally determined while living, it may be continued by the trustee for recovery of damages for the exclusive benefit of the surviving spouse and next of kin, proportionate to the pecuniary loss severally suffered by the death. The court on motion shall make an order allowing the continuance and directing pleadings to be made and issues framed as in actions begun under this section.

75.24 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** (a) This section is effective the day following final enactment. Except as provided in paragraph (b), this section applies to actions that were not time-barred before the effective date. 75.26

- (b) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, in the case of a death caused by a peace 75.27 officer, as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), if the action would otherwise be time-barred under a previous version of Minnesota Statutes, section 573.02, or other time limit, an action for damages against a peace officer may be 75.30 commenced no later than five years following the effective date of this section. 75.31
- 76.1 Sec. 10. Laws 2020, chapter 118, section 4, is amended to read:
- Sec. 4. FILING OF MORTGAGE OR DEED OF TRUST THROUGH 2020; PUBLIC UTILITY. 76.3
 - Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 507.327, for the public utility subject to Minnesota Statutes, section 116C.7791, the filing of the mortgage or deed of trust executed

.5	Section 1.	. Laws 2020.	chapter 118	section 4.	is amended to read:

Sec. 4. FILING OF MORTGAGE OR DEED OF TRUST THROUGH 2020; PUBLIC 1.7

UTILITY.

Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 507.327, for the public utility subject to 1.8

Minnesota Statutes, section 116C.7791, the filing of the mortgage or deed of trust executed

House Language UES0970-1

76.6	between May 1, 2020, and December 31, 2020 June 30, 2022, filed in the Office of the
76.7	Secretary of State under Minnesota Statutes, section 336.02 336B.02, along with, or as part
76.8	of, the financing statement covering the fixtures, has the same effect, and is notice of the
76.9	rights and interests of the mortgagee or trustee in easements, other less than fee simple
76.10	interests in real estate, and fee simple interests in real estate of the public utility to the same
76.11	extent, as if the mortgage or deed of trust were duly recorded in the office of the county
76.12	recorder or duly registered in the office of the registrar of titles of the counties in which the
76.13	real estate is situated. The effectiveness of the filing terminates at the same time as provided
76.14	in Minnesota Statutes, section 336B.02, subdivision 3, for the termination of the effectiveness
76.15	of fixture filing. Any filing made in accordance with this section shall also be made with
76.16	the office of the county recorder, or duly registered in the office of the registrar of titles, of
76.17	the counties in which the real estate is situated.
76.18	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively from December 30, 2020.

April 30, 2021 01:11 PM

1.21

Senate Language 21-02915

- between May 1, 2020, and December 31, 2020 June 30, 2022, filed in the Office of the
 Secretary of State under Minnesota Statutes, section 336.02 336B.02, along with, or as part
 of, the financing statement covering the fixtures, has the same effect, and is notice of the
 rights and interests of the mortgagee or trustee in easements, other less than fee simple
 interests in real estate, and fee simple interests in real estate of the public utility to the same
 extent, as if the mortgage or deed of trust were duly recorded in the office of the county
 recorder or duly registered in the office of the registrar of titles of the counties in which the
 real estate is situated. The effectiveness of the filing terminates at the same time as provided
 in Minnesota Statutes, section 336B.02, subdivision 3, for the termination of the effectiveness
 of fixture filing. Any filing made in accordance with this section shall also be made with
 the office of the county recorder, or duly registered in the office of the registrar of titles, of
- 1.22 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective retroactively from December 30, 2020.

the counties in which the real estate is situated.