28.9	ARTICLE 2
28.10	PUBLIC SAFETY
28.11 28.12	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 13.6905, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
28.13 28.14 28.15	Subd. 36. <b>Direct wine shipments.</b> Data obtained and shared by the commissioner of public safety relating to direct shipments of wine are governed by sections 340A.550 and 340A.555.
28.16	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
28.17	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 299A.55, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
28.18 28.19 28.20	Subd. 2. <b>Railroad and pipeline safety account.</b> (a) A railroad and pipeline safety account is created in the special revenue fund. The account consists of funds collected under subdivision 4 and funds donated, allotted, transferred, or otherwise provided to the account.
28.21 28.22 28.23	(b) <u>\$104,000</u> <u>\$250,000</u> is annually appropriated from the railroad and pipeline safety account to the commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency for environmental protection activities related to railroad discharge preparedness under chapter 115E.
28.24 28.25 28.26	(c) \$600,000 in fiscal year 2018 and \$600,000 in fiscal year 2019 are appropriated from the railroad and pipeline safety account to the commissioner of transportation for improving safety at railroad grade crossings.
28.27 28.28 28.29	(d) (c) Following the appropriation in paragraphs paragraph (b) and (c), the remaining money in the account is annually appropriated to the commissioner of public safety for the purposes specified in subdivision 3.
29.1	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 299A.55, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
29.2 29.3 29.4 29.5	Subd. 4. Assessments. (a) The commissioner of public safety shall annually assess \$2,500,000 to railroad and pipeline companies based on the formula specified in paragraph (b). The commissioner shall deposit funds collected under this subdivision in the railroad and pipeline safety account under subdivision 2.
29.6 29.7 29.8 29.9 29.10	(b) The assessment for each railroad is 50 percent of the total annual assessment amount, divided in equal proportion between applicable rail carriers based on route miles operated in Minnesota. The assessment for each pipeline company is 50 percent of the total annual assessment amount, divided in equal proportion between companies based on the yearly aggregate gallons of oil and hazardous substance transported by pipeline in Minnesota.
29.11	(c) The assessments under this subdivision expire July 1, 2017.

- 29.12 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 299A.706, is amended to read:
- 29.13 **299A.706 ALCOHOL ENFORCEMENT ACCOUNT; APPROPRIATION.**
- 29.14 An alcohol enforcement account is created in the special revenue fund, consisting of
- 29.15 money credited to the account by law. Money in the account may be appropriated by law
- 29.16 for (1) costs of the Alcohol and Gambling Division related to administration and enforcement
- 29.17 of sections 340A.403, subdivision 4; 340A.414, subdivision 1a; and 340A.504, subdivision 7 = 12404 + 5
- 29.18 7; and 340A.550, subdivisions 2, 4, 5, and 6; and (2) costs of the State Patrol.
- 29.19 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2019.

## STATUTES SECTION 299A.707, SUBDIVISION 6, IN HOUSE ARTICLE 2, SECTION 5, AND SENATE ARTICLE 1, SECTION 17, ARE IN ARTICLE 1/17

29.25 Sec. 6. [299A.783] STATEWIDE SEX TRAFFICKING INVESTIGATION

## 29.26 COORDINATOR.

- 29.27 Subdivision 1. Sex trafficking investigation coordinator. The commissioner of public
- 29.28 safety must appoint a statewide sex trafficking investigation coordinator who shall work in
- 29.29 the Office of Justice Programs. The coordinator must be a current or former law enforcement
- 29.30 officer or prosecutor with experience investigating or prosecuting trafficking-related offenses.
- 29.31 The coordinator must also have knowledge of services available to victims of sex trafficking
- 30.1 and Minnesota's child protection system. The coordinator serves at the pleasure of the
- 30.2 commissioner in the unclassified service.
- 30.3 Subd. 2. Coordinator's responsibilities. The coordinator shall have the following duties:
- 30.4 (1) develop, coordinate, and facilitate training for law enforcement officers, prosecutors,
- 30.5 courts, child protection workers, social service providers, medical providers, and other
- 30.6 <u>community members;</u>
- 30.7 (2) establish standards for approved training and review compliance with those standards;
- 30.8 (3) coordinate and monitor multijurisdictional sex trafficking task forces;
- 30.9 (4) review, develop, promote, and monitor compliance with investigative protocols to
- 30.10 assure that law enforcement officers and prosecutors engage in best practices;
- 30.11 (5) provide technical assistance and advice related to the investigation and prosecution
- 30.12 of trafficking offenses and the treatment of victims;
- 30.13 (6) promote the efficient use of resources by addressing issues of deconfliction, providing
- 30.14 advice regarding questions of jurisdiction, and promoting the sharing of data between entities
- 30.15 investigating and prosecuting trafficking offenses;
- 30.16 (7) assist in the appropriate distribution of grants; and
- 30.17 (8) perform other duties necessary to ensure effective and efficient investigation and
- 30.18 prosecution of trafficking-related offenses.

- 30.19 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2019.
- 30.20 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 299C.46, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- 30.21 Subd. 3. **Authorized use, fee.** (a) The criminal justice data communications network 30.22 shall be used exclusively by:
- 30.23 (1) criminal justice agencies in connection with the performance of duties required by 30.24 law;

30.25 (2) agencies investigating federal security clearances of individuals for assignment or
 30.26 retention in federal employment with duties related to national security, as required by
 30.27 United States Code, title 5, section 9101:

30.28 (3) other agencies to the extent necessary to provide for protection of the public or 30.29 property in a declared emergency or disaster situation;

31.1 (4) noncriminal justice agencies statutorily mandated, by state or national law, to conduct
 31.2 checks into state databases prior to disbursing licenses or providing benefits;

31.3 (5) the public authority responsible for child support enforcement in connection with 31.4 the performance of its duties;

- 31.5 (6) the public defender, as provided in section 611.272;
- 31.6 (7) a county attorney or the attorney general, as the county attorney's designee, for the
- 31.7 purpose of determining whether a petition for the civil commitment of a proposed patient
- 31.8 as a sexual psychopathic personality or as a sexually dangerous person should be filed, and
- 31.9 during the pendency of the commitment proceedings;
- 31.10 (8) an agency of the state or a political subdivision whose access to systems or services
- 31.11 provided from or through the bureau is specifically authorized by federal law or regulation
- 31.12 or state statute; and

31.13 (9) a court for access to data as authorized by federal law or regulation or state statute31.14 and related to the disposition of a pending case.

31.15 (b) The commissioner of public safety shall establish a monthly network access charge

- 31.16 to be paid by each participating criminal justice agency. The network access charge shall
- 31.17 be a standard fee established for each terminal, computer, or other equipment directly
- 31.18 addressable by the data communications network, as follows: January 1, 1984 to December 31.19 31, 1984, \$40 connect fee per month; January 1, 1985 and thereafter, \$50 connect fee per
- 31.20 month.
- 31.21 (c) The commissioner of public safety is authorized to arrange for the connection of the
- 31.22 data communications network with the criminal justice information system of the federal
- 31.23 government, any state, or country for the secure exchange of information for any of the
- 31.24 purposes authorized in paragraph (a), clauses (1), (2), (3), (8) and (9).

- 31.25 (d) Prior to establishing a secure connection, a criminal justice agency that is not part 31.26 of the Minnesota judicial branch must:
- 31.27 (1) agree to comply with all applicable policies governing access to, submission of or 31.28 use of the data and Minnesota law governing the classification of the data;
- 31.29 (2) meet the bureau's security requirements;
- 31.30 (3) agree to pay any required fees; and
- 31.31 (4) conduct fingerprint-based state and national background checks on its employees31.32 and contractors as required by the Federal Bureau of Investigation.
- 32.1 (e) Prior to establishing a secure connection, a criminal justice agency that is part of the 32.2 Minnesota judicial branch must:
- 32.3 (1) agree to comply with all applicable policies governing access to, submission of or
- 32.4 use of the data and Minnesota law governing the classification of the data to the extent
- 32.5 applicable and with the Rules of Public Access to Records of the Judicial Branch promulgated
- 32.6 by the Minnesota Supreme Court;
- 32.7 (2) meet the bureau's security requirements;
- 32.8 (3) agree to pay any required fees; and
- 32.9 (4) conduct fingerprint-based state and national background checks on its employees
- 32.10 and contractors as required by the Federal Bureau of Investigation.
- 32.11 (f) Prior to establishing a secure connection, a noncriminal justice agency must:
- 32.12 (1) agree to comply with all applicable policies governing access to, submission of or
- 32.13 use of the data and Minnesota law governing the classification of the data;
- 32.14 (2) meet the bureau's security requirements;
- 32.15 (3) agree to pay any required fees; and
- 32.16 (4) conduct fingerprint-based state and national background checks on its employees 32.17 and contractors.
- 32.18 (g) Those noncriminal justice agencies that do not have a secure network connection
- 32.19 yet receive data either retrieved over the secure network by an authorized criminal justice
- 32.20 agency or as a result of a state or federal criminal history records check shall conduct a
- 32.21 background check as provided in paragraph (h) of those individuals who receive and review
- 32.22 the data to determine another individual's eligibility for employment, housing, a license, or
- 32.23 another legal right dependent on a statutorily mandated background check and on any
- 32.24 contractor with access to the results of a federal criminal history records check.

32.25 (h) The background check required by paragraph (f) or (g) is accomplished by submitting

32.26 a request to the superintendent of the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension that includes a

- 32.27 signed, written consent for the Minnesota and national criminal history records check,
- 32.28 fingerprints, and the required fee. The superintendent may exchange the fingerprints with
- 32.29 the Federal Bureau of Investigation for purposes of obtaining the individual's national
- 32.30 criminal history record information.
- 32.31 The superintendent shall return the results of the national criminal history records check to
- 32.32 the noncriminal justice agency to determine if the individual is qualified to have access to
- 33.1 state and federal criminal history record information or the secure network. An individual
- 33.2 is disqualified when the state and federal criminal history record information show any of
- 33.3 the disqualifiers that the individual will apply to the records of others.
- 33.4 When the individual is to have access to the secure network, the noncriminal justice agency
- 33.5 shall review the criminal history of each employee or contractor with the Criminal Justice
- 33.6 Information Services systems officer at the bureau, or the officer's designee, to determine
- 33.7 if the employee or contractor qualifies for access to the secure network. The Criminal Justice
- 33.8 Information Services systems officer or the designee shall make the access determination
- 33.9 based on Federal Bureau of Investigation policy and Bureau of Criminal Apprehension33.10 policy.
- 33.11 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 299F.857, is amended to read:

## 33.12 **299F.857 REDUCED CIGARETTE IGNITION PROPENSITY ACCOUNT.**

- 33.13 The reduced cigarette ignition propensity account is established in the state treasury.
- 33.14 The account consists of all money recovered as penalties under section 299F.854 and fees
- 33.15 collected under section 299F.852, subdivision 5. The money must be deposited to the credit
- 33.16 of the account and, in addition to any other money made available for such purpose, is
- 33.17 appropriated to the state fire marshal for costs associated with the development and
- 33.18 presentation of fire and life safety education programs throughout Minnesota, and all costs
- 33.19 associated with sections 299F.850 to 299F.859.
- 33.20 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 340A.22, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- 33.21 Subd. 4. **Off-sale license.** A microdistillery may be issued a license by the local licensing
- 33.22 authority for off-sale of distilled spirits, with the approval of the commissioner. The license
- 33.23 may allow the sale of one 375 milliliter bottle per customer per day of product manufactured
- 33.24 on site, subject to the following requirements:
- 33.25 (1) off-sale hours of sale must conform to hours of sale for retail off-sale licensees in33.26 the licensing municipality; and
- 33.27 (2) no brand may be sold at the microdistillery unless it is also available for distribution33.28 by wholesalers.

- 34.1 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 340A.304, is amended to read:
- 34.2 340A.304 LICENSE SUSPENSION AND REVOCATION.

34.3 The commissioner shall revoke, or suspend for up to 60 days, a license issued under

- 34.4 section 340A.301 <del>or</del>, 340A.302, or 340A.550, or impose a fine of up to \$2,000 for each
- 34.5 violation, on a finding that the licensee has violated a state law or rule of the commissioner
- 34.6 relating to the possession, sale, transportation, or importation of alcoholic beverages. A
- 34.7 license revocation or suspension under this section is a contested case under sections 14.57
- 34.8 to 14.69 of the Administrative Procedure Act.
- 34.9 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2019.

34.10 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 340A.417, is amended to read:

34.11 **340A.417 SHIPMENTS INTO MINNESOTA.** 

34.12 (a) Notwithstanding section 297G.07, subdivision 2, or any provision of this chapter

34.13 except for section 340A.550, a winery licensed in a state other than Minnesota, or a winery

- 34.14 located in Minnesota, may ship, for personal use and not for resale, not more than two cases
- 34.15 <u>12 cases of wine, containing a maximum of nine liters per case, in any calendar year to any</u>
- 34.16 resident of Minnesota age 21 or over. <del>Delivery of a shipment under this section may not be</del>
- 34.17 deemed a sale in this state.

34.18 (b) The shipping container of any wine sent under this section must be clearly marked34.19 "Alcoholic Beverages: adult signature (over 21 years of age) required."

34.20 (c) It is not the intent of this section to impair the distribution of wine through distributors34.21 or importing distributors, but only to permit shipments of wine for personal use.

- 34.22 (d) Except for a violation of section 295.75 or chapters 297A and 297G, no criminal
- 34.23 penalty may be imposed on a person for a violation of this section <u>or section 340A.550</u>
- 34.24 other than a violation described in paragraph (e) or (f). Whenever it appears to the
- 34.25 commissioner that any person has engaged in any act or practice constituting a violation of
- 34.26 this section; or section 340A.550 and the violation is not within two years of any previous
- 34.27 violation of this section, the commissioner shall issue and cause to be served upon the person
- 34.28 an order requiring the person to cease and desist from violating this section. The order must
- 34.29 give reasonable notice of the rights of the person to request a hearing and must state the
- 34.30 reason for the entry of the order. Unless otherwise agreed between the parties, a hearing
- 34.31 shall be held not later than  $\frac{20}{20}$  days after the request for the hearing is received by the
- 34.32 commissioner after which and within 20 days after the receipt of the administrative law 34.33 judge's report and subsequent exceptions and argument, the commissioner shall issue an
- 34.35 Judge's report and subsequent exceptions and argument, the commissioner shall issue an 35.1 order vacating the cease and desist order, modifying it, or making it permanent as the facts
- 35.1 ofdet vacating the cease and desist ofdet, modifying it, of making it permanent as the it
   35.2 require. If no hearing is requested within 30 days of the service of the order, the order
- becomes final and remains in effect until modified or vacated by the commissioner. All
- becomes mariand remains in effect until modified of vacated by the commissioner. An hearings shall be conducted in accordance with the provisions of chapter 14. If the person
- 35.5 to whom a cease and desist order is issued fails to appear at the hearing after being duly

35.6 35.7 35.8	notified, the person shall be deemed in default, and the proceeding may be determined against the person upon consideration of the cease and desist order, the allegations of which may be deemed to be true.
35.9 35.10 35.11	(e) Any person who violates this section or section 340A.550 within two years of a violation for which a cease and desist order was issued under paragraph (d), is guilty of a misdemeanor.
35.12 35.13	(f) Any person who commits a third or subsequent violation of this section or section <u>340A.550</u> within any subsequent two-year period is guilty of a gross misdemeanor.
35.14	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2019.
35.15 35.16	Sec. 12. [340A.550] DIRECT SHIPMENTS OF WINE; LICENSING, TAXATION, AND RESTRICTIONS.
35.17 35.18 35.19	Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) "Direct ship purchaser" means a person who purchases wine for personal use and not for resale from a winery located in a state other than Minnesota for delivery to a Minnesota address.
35.20 35.21 35.22	(b) "Direct ship winery" means a winery licensed in a state other than Minnesota that manufactures and makes a retail sale of wine and ships the wine to a direct ship purchaser as authorized under section 340A.417.
35.23 35.24 35.25	Subd. 2. License requirements. (a) A direct ship winery must apply to the commissioner for a direct ship license. The commissioner must not issue a license under this section unless the applicant:
35.26 35.27	(1) is a licensed winery in a state other than Minnesota and provides a copy of its current license in any state in which it is licensed to manufacture wine;
35.28 35.29	(2) provides a shipping address list, including all addresses from which it intends to ship wine;
35.30	(3) agrees to comply with the requirements of subdivision 4; and
35.31 35.32 36.1 36.2 36.3	(4) consents to the jurisdiction of the Departments of Public Safety and Revenue, the courts of this state, and any statute, law, or rule in this state related to the administration or enforcement of this section, including any provision authorizing the commissioners of public safety and revenue to audit a direct ship winery for compliance with this and any related section.
36.4 36.5 36.6	(b) A direct ship winery obtaining a license under this section must annually renew its license by January 1 of each year and must inform the commissioner at the time of renewal of any changes to the information previously provided in paragraph (a).

36.7 36.8 36.9	(c) The application fee for a license is \$170. The fee for a license renewal is \$170. The commissioner must deposit all fees received under this subdivision in the alcohol enforcement account in the special revenue fund established under section 299A.706.
36.10 36.11 36.12 36.13	wine from an address provided to the commissioner as required in subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clause (2), or through a third-party provider whose name and address the licensee
36.14 36.15	
36.16	Subd. 4. Taxation. A direct ship winery must:
36.17	(1) collect and remit the liquor gross receipts tax as required in section 295.75;
36.18 36.19	
36.20	(3) remit the tax as required in chapter 297G; and
36.21 36.22 36.23	detailing each shipment of wine made to a resident of this state and any other information
36.24 36.25 36.26 36.27	created, or maintained by the commissioner as required under this section are classified as private data on individuals or nonpublic data, as defined in section 13.02, subdivisions 9
36.28 36.29 36.30	section with the commissioner of revenue for purposes of administering section 295.75 and
36.31 36.32	
37.1	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2019.
37.2 37.3	Sec. 13. [340A.555] COMMON CARRIER REGULATIONS FOR DIRECT SHIPMENTS OF WINE.
37.4 37.5 37.6 37.7	Subdivision 1. Monthly report required. Each common carrier that contracts with a winery under section 340A.417 for delivery of wine into this state must file with the commissioner a monthly report of known wine shipments made by the carrier. The report must be made in a form and manner as prescribed by the commissioner and must contain:
37.8	(1) the name of the common carrier making the report:

- 37.9 (2) the period of time covered by the report;
- 37.10 (3) the name and business address of the consignor;
- 37.11 (4) the name and address of the consignee;
- 37.12 (5) the weight of the package delivered to the consignee;
- 37.13 (6) a unique tracking number; and
- 37.14 (7) the date of delivery.
- 37.15 Subd. 2. Record availability and retention. Upon written request by the commissioner,
- 37.16 any records supporting the report in subdivision 1 must be made available to the
- 37.17 commissioner within 30 days of the request. Any records containing information relating
- 37.18 to a required report must be retained and preserved for a period of two years, unless
- 37.19 destruction of the records prior to the end of the two-year period is authorized in writing
- 37.20 by the commissioner. All retained records must be open and available for inspection by the
- 37.21 commissioner upon written request. The commissioner must make the required reports
- 37.22 available to any law enforcement agency or regulatory body of any local government in
- 37.23 this state in which the common carrier making the report resides or does business.
- 37.24 Subd. 3. Penalty. If a common carrier willfully violates the requirement to report a
- 37.25 delivery as required under this section or violates any rule related to the administration and
- 37.26 enforcement of this section, the commissioner must notify the common carrier in writing
- 37.27 of the violation. The commissioner may impose a fine in an amount not to exceed \$500 for
- 37.28 each subsequent violation.
- 37.29 Subd. 4. Exemptions. This section does not apply to common carriers regulated as
- 37.30 provided by United States Code, title 49, section 10101, et. seq., or to rail
- 37.31 trailer-on-flatcar/container-on-flatcar (TOFC/COFC) service, as provided by Code of Federal
- 37.32 Regulations, title 49, section 1090.1, or highway TOFC/COFC service provided by a rail
- 38.1 carrier, either itself or jointly with a motor carrier, as part of continuous intermodal freight
- 38.2 transportation, including, without limitation, any other TOFC/COFC transportation as
- 38.3 defined under federal law.
- 38.4 Subd. 5. Private or nonpublic data; classification and sharing. (a) Data collected,
- 38.5 created, or maintained by the commissioner as required under subdivision 1, clauses (4) to
- 38.6 (6), are classified as private data on individuals or nonpublic data, as defined in section
- 38.7 <u>13.02</u>, subdivisions 9 and 12.
- 38.8 (b) The commissioner must share data classified as private or nonpublic under this
- 38.9 section with the commissioner of revenue for purposes of administering section 295.75 and
- 38.10 chapters 289A, 297A, and 297G.
- 38.11 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2019.

38.12 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to 38.13 read:

- 38.14 Subd. 17c. 911 telecommunicator. "911 telecommunicator" means a person employed
- 38.15 by a public safety answering point, an emergency medical dispatch service provider, or
- 38.16 both, who is qualified to answer incoming emergency telephone calls or provide for the
- 38.17 appropriate emergency response either directly or through communication with the
- 38.18 appropriate public safety answering point.
- 38.19 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 403.03, is amended to read:
- 38.20 **403.03 911 SERVICES TO BE PROVIDED.**
- 38.21 Subdivision 1. Emergency response services. Services available through a 911 system
- 38.22 must include police, firefighting, and emergency medical and ambulance services. Other
- 38.23 emergency and civil defense services may be incorporated into the 911 system at the
- 38.24 discretion of the public agency operating the public safety answering point. The 911 system
- 38.25 may include a referral to mental health crisis teams, where available.
- 38.26 Subd. 2. Telephone cardiopulmonary resuscitation program. (a) On or before July
- 38.27 <u>1, 2021, every public safety answering point must maintain a telephone cardiopulmonary</u>
- 38.28 resuscitation program by either:
- 38.29 (1) providing each 911 telecommunicator with training in cardiopulmonary resuscitation;
- 38.30 <u>or</u>
- 39.1 (2) transferring callers to another public safety answering point with 911
- 39.2 telecommunicators that have received training in cardiopulmonary resuscitation.
- 39.3 (b) Training in cardiopulmonary resuscitation must, at a minimum, include:
- 39.4 (1) use of an evidence-based protocol or script for providing cardiopulmonary
- 39.5 resuscitation instruction that has been recommended by an academic institution or a nationally
- 39.6 recognized organization specializing in medical dispatch and, if the public safety answering
- 39.7 point has a medical director, approved by that medical director; and
- 39.8 (2) appropriate continuing education, as determined by the evidence-based protocol for
- 39.9 providing cardiopulmonary resuscitation instruction and, if the public safety answering
- 39.10 point has a medical director, approved by that medical director.
- 39.11 (c) A public safety answering point that transfers callers to another public safety
- 39.12 answering point must, at a minimum:
- 39.13 (1) use an evidence-based protocol for the identification of a person in need of
- 39.14 <u>cardiopulmonary resuscitation;</u>

3	39.15 39.16 39.17	(2) provide each 911 telecommunicator with appropriate training and continuing education to identify a person in need of cardiopulmonary resuscitation through the use of an evidence-based protocol; and
	39.18 39.19	(3) ensure that any public safety answering point to which calls are transferred uses 911 telecommunicators who meet the training requirements under paragraph (b).
	39.20 39.21	(d) Each public safety answering point shall conduct ongoing quality assurance of its telephone cardiopulmonary resuscitation program.
3	39.22 39.23 39.24	Subd. 3. Monitoring and enforcing training requirements. The Statewide Emergency Communications Board shall adopt protocols to ensure that operators of every public safety answering point comply with subdivision 2.
	39.25 39.26 39.27 39.28 39.29	Subd. 4. Liability exemption. (a) If a caller refuses or is otherwise unwilling or unable to provide cardiopulmonary resuscitation or receive telephone cardiopulmonary resuscitation instruction, the 911 telecommunicator is not required to provide cardiopulmonary resuscitation instruction and is immune from civil liability for any damages resulting from the fact that such instruction was not provided.
3	39.30 39.31 39.32	(b) Telephone cardiopulmonary resuscitation instruction is a general duty to the public rather than a special duty owed to individuals, and a 911 telecommunicator must exercise judgment and discretion in performing actions including but not limited to:
	40.1 40.2	(1) determining whether a particular situation requires instituting the cardiopulmonary resuscitation program;
	40.3 40.4	(2) determining whether a caller refuses or is otherwise unable or unwilling to provide cardiopulmonary resuscitation or receive telephone cardiopulmonary resuscitation instruction;
4	40.5 40.6 40.7	(3) using and appropriately adapting an evidence-based protocol or script for providing cardiopulmonary resuscitation instruction based on individual callers and emergency situations presented by callers; and
	40.8 40.9	(4) determining when to transfer a caller to another public safety answering point with 911 telecommunicators that have received training in cardiopulmonary resuscitation.
2	40.10	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2019.
2	40.11	Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609.582, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
2 2 2	40.12 40.13 40.14 40.15 40.16	Subd. 3. <b>Burglary in the third degree.</b> (a) Except as otherwise provided in this section, whoever enters a building without consent and with intent to steal or commit any felony or gross misdemeanor while in the building, or enters a building without consent and steals or commits a felony or gross misdemeanor while in the building, either directly or as an accomplice, commits burglary in the third degree and may be sentenced to imprisonment
	10 17	for not more than five years or to normant of a fine of not more than \$10,000, or both

40.18 40.19 40.20 40.21 40.22 40.23	(b) Whoever enters a building while it is open to the public, other than a building identified in subdivision 2, paragraph (b), with intent to steal while in the building, or enters a building while it is open to the public, other than a building identified in subdivision 2, paragraph (b), and steals while in the building, either directly or as an accomplice, commits burglary in the third degree and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$10,000, or both, if:
40.24 40.25	(1) the person enters the building within one year after being served with a valid civil trespass notice instructing the person to leave the building and not return; and
40.26 40.27 40.28 40.29 40.30 40.31	(2) the person has been convicted within the preceding five years for an offense under this section, section 256.98, 268.182, 609.24, 609.245, 609.52, 609.53, 609.625, 609.63, 609.631, or 609.821, or a statute from another state, the United States, or a foreign jurisdiction, in conformity with any of those sections, and the person received a felony sentence for the offense, or a sentence that was stayed under section 609.135 if the offense to which a plea was entered would allow imposition of a felony sentence.
41.1 41.2	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.
41.3	Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609.582, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
41.4 41.5 41.6 41.7 41.8 41.9	Subd. 4. <b>Burglary in the fourth degree.</b> (a) Whoever enters a building without consent and with intent to commit a misdemeanor other than to steal, or enters a building without consent and commits a misdemeanor other than to steal while in the building, either directly or as an accomplice, commits burglary in the fourth degree and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than \$3,000, or both.
41.10 41.11 41.12 41.13 41.14 41.15 41.16 41.17	(b) Whoever enters a building while it is open to the public, other than a building identified in subdivision 2, paragraph (b), with intent to steal while in the building, or enters a building while it is open to the public, other than a building identified in subdivision 2, paragraph (b), and steals while in the building, either directly or as an accomplice, commits burglary in the fourth degree and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than \$3,000, or both if the person enters the building within one year after being served with a valid civil trespass notice instructing the person to leave the building and not return.
41.18 41.19	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.
41.20	Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609.749, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
41.21 41.22 41.23	Subdivision 1. <b>Definition.</b> As used in this section, <u>"stalking" "harass"</u> means to engage in conduct which the actor knows or has reason to know would cause the victim under the circumstances to feel frightened, threatened, oppressed, persecuted, or intimidated, and

- 41.24 causes this reaction on the part of the victim regardless of the relationship between the actor 41.25 and victim.
- 41.26 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609.749, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- 41.27 Subd. 2. **Stalking Harassment crimes.** A person who stalks harasses another by committing any of the following acts is guilty of a gross misdemeanor:
- 41.29 (1) directly or indirectly, or through third parties, manifests a purpose or intent to injure 41.30 the person, property, or rights of another by the commission of an unlawful act;
- 42.1 (2) follows, monitors, or pursues another, whether in person or through any available 42.2 technological or other means;
- 42.3 (3) returns to the property of another if the actor is without claim of right to the property 42.4 or consent of one with authority to consent;
- 42.5 (4) repeatedly makes telephone calls, sends text messages, or induces a victim to make 42.6 telephone calls to the actor, whether or not conversation ensues;
- 42.7 (5) makes or causes the telephone of another repeatedly or continuously to ring;
- 42.8 (6) repeatedly mails or delivers or causes the delivery by any means, including
- 42.9 electronically, of letters, telegrams, messages, packages, through assistive devices for people
- 42.10 with vision impairments or hearing loss, or any communication made through any available
- 42.11 technologies or other objects;
- 42.12 (7) knowingly makes false allegations against a peace officer concerning the officer's
- 42.13 performance of official duties with intent to influence or tamper with the officer's
- 42.14 performance of official duties; or
- 42.15 (8) uses another's personal information, without consent, to invite, encourage, or solicit 42.16 a third party to engage in a sexual act with the person.
- 42.16 a third party to engage in a sexual act with the person.
- 42.17 For purposes of this clause, "personal information" and "sexual act" have the meanings 42.18 given in section 617.261, subdivision 7.
- 42.19 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609.749, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- 42.20 Subd. 3. Aggravated violations. (a) A person who commits any of the following acts
- 42.21 is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years or
- 42.22 to payment of a fine of not more than \$10,000, or both:
- 42.23 (1) commits any offense described in subdivision 2 because of the victim's or another's
- 42.24 actual or perceived race, color, religion, sex, sexual orientation, disability as defined in
- 42.25 section 363A.03, age, or national origin;
- 42.26 (2) commits any offense described in subdivision 2 by falsely impersonating another;

42.27 (3) commits any offense described in subdivision 2 and possesses a dangerous weapon 42.28 at the time of the offense;

42.29 (4) stalks harasses another, as defined in subdivision 1, with intent to influence or

42.30 otherwise tamper with a juror or a judicial proceeding or with intent to retaliate against a

- 42.31 judicial officer, as defined in section 609.415, or a prosecutor, defense attorney, or officer
- 43.1 of the court, because of that person's performance of official duties in connection with a
- 43.2 judicial proceeding; or

43.3 (5) commits any offense described in subdivision 2 against a victim under the age of
43.4 18, if the actor is more than 36 months older than the victim.

43.5 (b) A person who commits any offense described in subdivision 2 against a victim under

43.6 the age of 18, if the actor is more than 36 months older than the victim, and the act is

43.7 committed with sexual or aggressive intent, is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to

- 43.8 imprisonment for not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$20,000,
- 43.9 or both.

43.10 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609.749, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

43.11 Subd. 5. **Pattern of Stalking conduct.** (a) A person who engages in a pattern of stalking

- 43.12 **conduct** with respect to a single victim or one or more members of a single household which
- 43.13 the actor knows or has reason to know would cause the victim under the circumstances to
- 43.14 feel terrorized or to fear bodily harm and which does cause this reaction on the part of the
- 43.15 victim, is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than ten
- 43.16 years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$20,000, or both.

43.17 (b) For purposes of this subdivision, a "pattern of stalking conduct" "stalking" means

43.18 two or more acts within a five-year period that violate or attempt to violate the provisions

- 43.19 of any of the following or a similar law of another state, the United States, the District of
- 43.20 Columbia, tribe, or United States territories:
- 43.21 (1) this section;
- 43.22 (2) sections 609.185 to 609.205 (first- to third-degree murder and first- and second-degree 43.23 manslaughter);
- 43.24 (3) section 609.713 (terroristic threats);
- 43.25 (4) section 609.224 (fifth-degree assault);
- 43.26 (5) section 609.2242 (domestic assault);
- 43.27 (6) section 518B.01, subdivision 14 (violations of domestic abuse orders for protection);
- 43.28 (7) section 609.748, subdivision 6 (violations of harassment restraining orders);
- 43.29 (8) section 609.605, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), clauses (3), (4), and (7) (certain trespass

43.30 offenses);

- 43.31 (9) section 609.78, subdivision 2 (interference with an emergency call);
- 44.1 (10) section 609.79 (obscene or harassing telephone calls);
- 44.2 (11) section 609.795 (letter, telegram, or package; opening; harassment);
- 44.3 (12) section 609.582 (burglary);
- 44.4 (13) section 609.595 (damage to property);
- 44.5 (14) section 609.765 (criminal defamation);
- 44.6 (15) sections 609.342 to 609.3451 (first- to fifth-degree criminal sexual conduct); or
- 44.7 (16) section 629.75, subdivision 2 (violations of domestic abuse no contact orders).
- 44.8 (c) Words set forth in parentheses after references to statutory sections in paragraph (b)
- 44.9 are mere catchwords included solely for convenience in reference. They are not substantive
- 44.10 and may not be used to construe or limit the meaning of the cited statutory provision.
- 44.11 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609.749, subdivision 8, is amended to read:
- 44.12 Subd. 8. Harassment; stalking; firearms. (a) When a person is convicted of a
- 44.13 <u>harassment or stalking erime</u> under this section and the court determines that the person
- 44.14 used a firearm in any way during commission of the crime, the court may order that the 44.15 person is prohibited from possessing any type of firearm for any period longer than three
- 44.16 years or for the remainder of the person's life. A person who violates this paragraph is guilty
- 44.10 years of for the remainder of the person's file. A person who violates this paragraph is guilty 44.17 of a gross misdemeanor. At the time of the conviction, the court shall inform the defendant
- 44.18 for how long the defendant is prohibited from possessing a firearm and that it is a gross
- 44.19 misdemeanor to violate this paragraph. The failure of the court to provide this information
- 44.20 to a defendant does not affect the applicability of the firearm possession prohibition or the
- 44.21 gross misdemeanor penalty to that defendant.
- 44.22 (b) Except as otherwise provided in paragraph (a), when a person is convicted of <del>a</del>
- 44.23 <u>harassment or stalking erime</u> under this section, the court shall inform the defendant that
- 44.24 the defendant is prohibited from possessing a firearm for three years from the date of
- 44.25 conviction and that it is a gross misdemeanor offense to violate this prohibition. The failure
- 44.26 of the court to provide this information to a defendant does not affect the applicability of
- 44.27 the firearm possession prohibition or the gross misdemeanor penalty to that defendant.
- 44.28 (c) Except as otherwise provided in paragraph (a), a person is not entitled to possess a
- 44.29 pistol if the person has been convicted after August 1, 1996, of a harassment or stalking
- 44.30 erime under this section, or to possess a firearm if the person has been convicted on or after
- 44.31 August 1, 2014, of a harassment or stalking erime under this section, unless three years
- 44.32 have elapsed from the date of conviction and, during that time, the person has not been
- 45.1 convicted of any other violation of this section. Property rights may not be abated but access
- 45.2 may be restricted by the courts. A person who possesses a firearm in violation of this
- 45.3 paragraph is guilty of a gross misdemeanor.

45.4 (d) If the court determines that a person convicted of a harassment or stalking erime

45.5 under this section owns or possesses a firearm and used it in any way during the commission

45.6 of the crime, it shall order that the firearm be summarily forfeited under section 609.5316, 45.7 subdivision 3.

(e) Except as otherwise provided in paragraphs (d) and (g), when a person is convicted 45.8 of a harassment or stalking erime under this section, the court shall order the defendant to 45.9 transfer any firearms that the person possesses, within three business days, to a federally 45.10 licensed firearms dealer, a law enforcement agency, or a third party who may lawfully 45.11 receive them. The transfer may be permanent or temporary. A temporary firearm transfer 45.12 only entitles the receiving party to possess the firearm. A temporary transfer does not transfer 45.13 45.14 ownership or title. A defendant may not transfer firearms to a third party who resides with the defendant. If a defendant makes a temporary transfer, a federally licensed firearms dealer 45.15 or law enforcement agency may charge the defendant a reasonable fee to store the person's 45.16 firearms and may establish policies for disposal of abandoned firearms, provided such 45.17 45.18 policies require that the person be notified via certified mail prior to disposal of abandoned firearms. For temporary firearms transfers under this paragraph, a law enforcement agency, 45.19 federally licensed firearms dealer, or third party shall exercise due care to preserve the 45.20 guality and function of the transferred firearms and shall return the transferred firearms to 45.21 45.22 the person upon request after the expiration of the prohibiting time period imposed under this subdivision, provided the person is not otherwise prohibited from possessing firearms 45.23 under state or federal law. The return of temporarily transferred firearms to a defendant 45 24

- 45.25 shall comply with state and federal law. If a defendant permanently transfers the defendant's
- 45.26 firearms to a law enforcement agency, the agency is not required to compensate the defendant
- 45.27 and may charge the defendant a reasonable processing fee. A law enforcement agency is
- 45.28 not required to accept a person's firearm under this paragraph. The court shall order that the
- 45.29 person surrender all permits to carry and purchase firearms to the sheriff.
- 45.30 (f) A defendant who is ordered to transfer firearms under paragraph (e) must file proof
- 45.31 of transfer as provided for in this paragraph. If the transfer is made to a third party, the third
- 45.32 party must sign an affidavit under oath before a notary public either acknowledging that
- 45.33 the defendant permanently transferred the defendant's firearms to the third party or agreeing
- 45.34 to temporarily store the defendant's firearms until such time as the defendant is legally
- 45.35 permitted to possess firearms. The affidavit shall indicate the serial number, make, and
- 46.1 model of all firearms transferred by the defendant to the third party. The third party shall
- 46.2 acknowledge in the affidavit that the third party may be held criminally and civilly
- 46.3 responsible under section 624.7144 if the defendant gains access to a transferred firearm
- 46.4 while the firearm is in the custody of the third party. If the transfer is to a law enforcement 46.5
- 46.5 agency or federally licensed firearms dealer, the law enforcement agency or federally
- 46.6 licensed firearms dealer shall provide proof of transfer to the defendant. The proof of transfer
- 46.7 must specify whether the firearms were permanently or temporarily transferred and include
- 46.8 the name of the defendant, date of transfer, and the serial number, make, and model of all
- 46.9 transferred firearms. The defendant shall provide the court with a signed and notarized
- 46.10 affidavit or proof of transfer as described in this section within two business days of the

46.11 firearms transfer. The court shall seal affidavits and proofs of transfer filed pursuant to this 46.12 paragraph.

46.13 (g) When a person is convicted of  $\frac{1}{2}$  harassment or stalking erime under this section, the court shall determine by a preponderance of the evidence if the person poses an imminent 46.14 risk of causing another person substantial bodily harm. Upon a finding of imminent risk, 46.15 the court shall order that the local law enforcement agency take immediate possession of 46.16 all firearms in the person's possession. The local law enforcement agency shall exercise due 46.17 care to preserve the quality and function of the defendant's firearms and shall return the 46.18 firearms to the person upon request after the expiration of the prohibiting time period, 46.19 provided the person is not otherwise prohibited from possessing firearms under state or 46.20 46.21 federal law. The local law enforcement agency shall, upon written notice from the person, transfer the firearms to a federally licensed firearms dealer or a third party who may lawfully 46.22 receive them. Before a local law enforcement agency transfers a firearm under this paragraph, 46.23 the agency shall require the third party or federally licensed firearms dealer receiving the 46.24 46.25 firearm to submit an affidavit or proof of transfer that complies with the requirements for affidavits or proofs of transfer established in paragraph (f). The agency shall file all affidavits 46.26 or proofs of transfer received with the court within two business days of the transfer. The 46.27 court shall seal all affidavits or proofs of transfer filed pursuant to this paragraph. A federally 46.28 46.29 licensed firearms dealer or third party who accepts a firearm transfer pursuant to this paragraph shall comply with paragraphs (e) and (f) as if accepting transfer from the defendant. 46.30 If the law enforcement agency does not receive written notice from the defendant within 46.31 three business days, the agency may charge a reasonable fee to store the defendant's firearms. 46.32 A law enforcement agency may establish policies for disposal of abandoned firearms, 46.33 provided such policies require that the person be notified via certified mail prior to disposal 46.34 of abandoned firearms. 46.35 47.1 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 624,712, subdivision 5, is amended to read: 47.2 Subd. 5. Crime of violence. "Crime of violence" means: felony convictions of the 47.3 following offenses: sections 609.185 (murder in the first degree); 609.19 (murder in the second degree); 609.195 (murder in the third degree); 609.20 (manslaughter in the first 47.4 degree); 609.205 (manslaughter in the second degree); 609.215 (aiding suicide and aiding 47.5 attempted suicide): 609.221 (assault in the first degree): 609.222 (assault in the second 47.6 degree); 609.223 (assault in the third degree); 609.2231 (assault in the fourth degree); 47.7 609.224 (assault in the fifth degree); 609.2242 (domestic assault); 609.2247 (domestic 47.8 assault by strangulation); 609.229 (crimes committed for the benefit of a gang); 609.235 47.9 (use of drugs to injure or facilitate crime); 609.24 (simple robbery); 609.245 (aggravated 47.10 robbery); 609.25 (kidnapping); 609.255 (false imprisonment); 609.322 (solicitation, 47 11

- 47.12 inducement, and promotion of prostitution; sex trafficking); 609.342 (criminal sexual conduct
- 47.13 in the first degree); 609.343 (criminal sexual conduct in the second degree); 609.344 (criminal
- 47.14 sexual conduct in the third degree); 609.345 (criminal sexual conduct in the fourth degree);
- 47.15 609.377 (malicious punishment of a child); 609.378 (neglect or endangerment of a child);
- 47.16 609.486 (commission of crime while wearing or possessing a bullet-resistant vest); 609.52
- 47.17 (involving theft of a firearm and theft involving the theft of a controlled substance, an

- 47.18 explosive, or an incendiary device); 609.561 (arson in the first degree); 609.562 (arson in
- the second degree); 609.582, subdivision 1 or 2 (burglary in the first and second degrees); 47.19
- 609.66, subdivision 1e (drive-by shooting); 609.67 (unlawfully owning, possessing, operating 47.20 47.21 a machine gun or short-barreled shotgun); 609.71 (riot); 609.713 (terroristic threats); 609.749
- (stalking) (harassment); 609.855, subdivision 5 (shooting at a public transit vehicle or 47.22
- facility); and chapter 152 (drugs, controlled substances); and an attempt to commit any of 47.23
- these offenses. 47.24
- Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 634.20, is amended to read: 47.25
- 47.26 634.20 EVIDENCE OF CONDUCT.
- Evidence of domestic conduct by the accused against the victim of domestic conduct, 47.27
- 47.28 or against other family or household members, is admissible unless the probative value is
- 47.29 substantially outweighed by the danger of unfair prejudice, confusion of the issue, or
- misleading the jury, or by considerations of undue delay, waste of time, or needless 47.30
- presentation of cumulative evidence. "Domestic conduct" includes, but is not limited to, 47.31
- evidence of domestic abuse, violation of an order for protection under section 518B.01; 47.32
- violation of a harassment restraining order under section 609.748; violation of a domestic 47.33 abuse no contact order under section 629.75; or violation of section 609.749 or 609.79,
- 47.34 subdivision 1. "Domestic abuse" and "family or household members" have the meanings 48.1
- given under section 518B.01. subdivision 2.
- 48.2
- 48.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
- 48.4 Sec. 25. TASK FORCE ON MISSING AND MURDERED INDIGENOUS WOMEN.
- 48.5 Subdivision 1. Creation and duties. (a) By September 1, 2019, the commissioner, in
- consultation with the Minnesota Indian Affairs Council, shall appoint members to the Task 48.6
- Force on Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women to advise the commissioner and report 48.7
- to the legislature on recommendations to reduce and end violence against indigenous women 48.8
- and girls in Minnesota, including members of the two spirit community. The task force may 48.9
- also serve as a liaison between the commissioner and agencies and nongovernmental 48.10
- organizations that provide services to victims, victims' families, and victims' communities. 48.11
- 48.12 Task force members may receive expense reimbursement as specified in Minnesota Statutes,
- section 15.059, subdivision 6. 48.13
- (b) The Task Force on Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women must examine and 48.14
- report on the following: 48.15
- 48.16 (1) the systemic causes behind violence that indigenous women and girls experience.
- including patterns and underlying factors that explain why disproportionately high levels 48.17
- of violence occur against indigenous women and girls, including underlying historical, 48.18
- social, economic, institutional, and cultural factors which may contribute to the violence; 48 19

48.20 48.21	(2) appropriate methods for tracking and collecting data on violence against indigenous women and girls, including data on missing and murdered indigenous women and girls;
48.21	women and girls, including data on missing and muldered indigenous women and girls,
48.22	(3) policies and institutions such as policing, child welfare, coroner practices, and other
48.23	governmental practices that impact violence against indigenous women and girls and the
48.24	investigation and prosecution of crimes of gender violence against indigenous people;
48.25	(4) measures necessary to address and reduce violence against indigenous women and
48.26	girls; and
48.27	(5) measures to help victims, victims' families, and victims' communities prevent and
48.28	heal from violence that occurs against indigenous women and girls.
48.29	(c) For the purposes of this section, "commissioner" means the commissioner of public
48.30	safety and "nongovernmental organizations" means nonprofit, nongovernmental organizations
48.31	that provide legal, social, or other community services.
49.1	Subd. 2. Membership. (a) To the extent practicable, the Task Force on Missing and
49.2	Murdered Indigenous Women shall consist of the following individuals, or their designees,
49.3	who are knowledgeable in crime victims' rights or violence protection and, unless otherwise
49.4	specified, members shall be appointed by the commissioner:
49.5	(1) two members of the senate, one appointed by the majority leader and one appointed
49.6	by the minority leader;
49.7	(2) two members of the house of representatives, one appointed by the speaker of the
49.8	house and one appointed by the minority leader;
49.9	(3) two representatives from among the following:
49.10	(i) the Minnesota Chiefs of Police Association;
49.11	(ii) the Minnesota Sheriffs' Association;
49.12	(iii) the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension;
49.13	(iv) the Minnesota Police and Peace Officers Association; or
49.14	(v) a peace officer who works for and resides on a federally recognized American Indian
49.15	reservation in Minnesota;
49.16	(4) one or more representatives from among the following:
49.17	(i) the Minnesota County Attorneys Association;
49.18	(ii) the United States Attorney's Office; or
49.19	(iii) a judge or attorney working in juvenile court;

49.20 49.21	(5) a county coroner or a representative from a statewide coroner's association or a representative of the Department of Health;
49.22 49.23	(6) one representative from each of the 11 federally recognized tribal governments, with a preference for individuals who work with victims of violence or their families; and
49.24	(7) four or more representatives from among the following:
49.25 49.26	(i) a tribal, statewide, or local organization that provides legal services to indigenous women and girls;
49.27 49.28	(ii) a tribal, statewide, or local organization that provides advocacy or counseling for indigenous women and girls who have been victims of violence;
49.29 49.30	(iii) a tribal, statewide, or local organization that provides services to indigenous women and girls;
50.1	(iv) the Minnesota Indian Women's Sexual Assault Coalition;
50.2	(v) Mending the Sacred Hoop;
50.3	(vi) an Indian health organization or agency; or
50.4	(vii) an indigenous woman who is a survivor of gender violence.
50.5 50.6 50.7 50.8	(b) Members of the task force serve at the pleasure of the appointing authority or until the task force expires. Vacancies in commissioner appointed positions shall be filled by the commissioner consistent with the qualifications of the vacating member required by this subdivision.
50.9 50.10 50.11 50.12 50.13 50.14 50.15 50.16 50.17 50.18 50.19 50.20 50.21 50.22 50.23	Subd. 3. Officers; meetings. (a) The task force members shall annually elect a chair and vice-chair from among the task force's members, and may elect other officers as necessary. The task force shall meet at least quarterly, or upon the call of its chair, and may hold meetings throughout the state. The task force shall meet sufficiently enough to accomplish the tasks identified in this section. Meetings of the task force are subject to Minnesota Statutes, chapter 13D. The task force shall seek out and enlist the cooperation and assistance of nongovernmental organizations, community and advocacy organizations working with the American Indian community, and academic researchers and experts, specifically those specializing in violence against indigenous women and girls, representing diverse communities disproportionately affected by violence against indigenous women and girls. (b) The commissioner shall convene the first meeting of the task force no later than October 1, 2019, and shall provide meeting space and administrative assistance as necessary for the task force to conduct its work.
50.24 50.25	Subd. 4. <b>Report.</b> The task force shall report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over public safety, human services, and state

- 50.26 government on the work of the task force, including but not limited to the issues to be
- 50.27 examined in subdivision 1, and shall include in the report institutional policies and practices
- 50.28 or proposed institutional policies and practices that are effective in reducing gender violence
- 50.29 and increasing the safety of indigenous women and girls. The report shall include
- 50.30 recommendations to reduce and end violence against indigenous women and girls and help
- 50.31 victims and communities heal from gender violence and violence against indigenous women
- 50.32 and girls. The report shall be submitted to the legislative committees by December 15, 2020.
- 51.1 Subd. 5. Expiration. Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 15.059, the task force
- 51.2 expires December 31, 2020.
- 51.3 Sec. 26. INTERAGENCY OPIOID ENFORCEMENT COORDINATOR.
- 51.4 The governor is encouraged to appoint an interagency opioid enforcement coordinator
- 51.5 to perform the following duties:
- 51.6 (1) coordinate the statewide response to opioid abuse;
- 51.7 (2) develop, coordinate, and facilitate training for law enforcement officers, prosecutors,
- 51.8 courts, child protection workers, social service providers, medical providers, and other
- 51.9 community members;
- 51.10 (3) promote the efficient use of resources; and
- 51.11 (4) consult with local government officials, representatives from other states, and federal
- 51.12 officials to monitor local and national trends relating to opioid abuse and responses to that
- 51.13 abuse.
- 51.14 Sec. 27. <u>**REVISOR INSTRUCTION.**</u>
- 51.15 The revisor of statutes shall make any cross-reference changes, language changes, or
- 51.16 both to Minnesota Statutes made necessary by section 18.