88.1 ARTICLE 5

88.2 SEXUAL OFFENDERS

SECTION 243.166, SUBD. 1B IS IN HOUSE ART. 13, SEC. 3

ADTICLE 2

15.8	ARTICLE Z
15.9	PUBLIC SAFETY POLICY CHANGES RELATED TO APPROPRIATIONS
15.10	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 243.166, subdivision 1b, is amended to read:
15.11	Subd. 1b. Registration required. (a) A person shall register under this section if:
15.12	(1) the person was charged with or petitioned for a felony violation of or attempt to
15.13	violate, or aiding, abetting, or conspiracy to commit, any of the following, and convicted
15.14	of or adjudicated delinquent for that offense or another offense arising out of the same set
15.15	of circumstances:
15.16	(i) murder under section 609.185, paragraph (a), clause (2);
15.17	(ii) kidnapping under section 609.25;
15.18	(iii) criminal sexual conduct under section 609.342; 609.343; 609.344; 609.345; 609.3451,
15.19	subdivision 3; or 609.3453; or
15.20	(iv) indecent exposure under section 617.23, subdivision 3; or
15.21	(v) surreptitious intrusion under the circumstances described in section 609.746,
15.22	subdivision 1, paragraph (f);
15.23	(2) the person was charged with or petitioned for a violation of, or attempt to violate, or
15.24	aiding, abetting, or conspiring to commit criminal abuse in violation of section 609.2325,
15.25	subdivision 1, paragraph (b); false imprisonment in violation of section 609.255, subdivision
15.26	2; solicitation, inducement, or promotion of the prostitution of a minor or engaging in the
15.27	sex trafficking of a minor in violation of section 609.322; a prostitution offense in violation
15.28	of section 609.324, subdivision 1, paragraph (a); soliciting a minor to engage in sexual
15.29	conduct in violation of section 609.352, subdivision 2 or 2a, clause (1); using a minor in a
15.30	sexual performance in violation of section 617.246; or possessing pornographic work
15.31	involving a minor in violation of section 617.247, and convicted of or adjudicated delinquent
15.32	for that offense or another offense arising out of the same set of circumstances;
16.1	(3) the person was sentenced as a patterned sex offender under section 609.3455,
16.2	subdivision 3a; or
16.3	(4) the person was charged with or petitioned for, including pursuant to a court martial,
16.4	violating a law of the United States, including the Uniform Code of Military Justice, similar
16.5	to the offenses described in clause (1), (2), or (3), and convicted of or adjudicated delinquent
16.6	for that offense or another offense arising out of the same set of circumstances.
167	(b) A person also shall register under this section if

88.3 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609.341, subdivision 10, is amended to read:

88.4 Subd. 10. <u>Current or recent position of authority.</u> "<u>Current or recent position of authority"</u> includes but is not limited to any person who is a parent or acting in the place of

16.8	(1) the person was charged with or petitioned for an offense in another state that would
16.9	be a violation of a law described in paragraph (a) if committed in this state and convicted
16.10	of or adjudicated delinquent for that offense or another offense arising out of the same set
16.11	of circumstances;
16.12	(2) the person enters this state to reside, work, or attend school, or enters this state and
16.13	remains for 14 days or longer; and
10.13	remains for 14 days of foliger, and
16.14	(3) ten years have not elapsed since the person was released from confinement or, if the
16.15	person was not confined, since the person was convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for
16.16	the offense that triggers registration, unless the person is subject to a longer registration
16.17	period under the laws of another state in which the person has been convicted or adjudicated,
16.18	or is subject to lifetime registration.
16.19	If a person described in this paragraph is subject to a longer registration period in another
16.20	state or is subject to lifetime registration, the person shall register for that time period
16.21	regardless of when the person was released from confinement, convicted, or adjudicated
16.22	delinquent.
10.22	definiquent.
16.23	(c) A person also shall register under this section if the person was committed pursuant
16.24	to a court commitment order under Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 253B.185, chapter
16.25	253D, Minnesota Statutes 1992, section 526.10, or a similar law of another state or the
16.26	United States, regardless of whether the person was convicted of any offense.
16.27	(d) A person also shall register under this section if:
16.28	(1) the person was charged with or petitioned for a felony violation or attempt to violate
16.29	any of the offenses listed in paragraph (a), clause (1), or a similar law of another state or
16.30	the United States, or the person was charged with or petitioned for a violation of any of the
16.31	offenses listed in paragraph (a), clause (2), or a similar law of another state or the United
16.32	States:
	,
17.1	(2) the person was found not guilty by reason of mental illness or mental deficiency
17.2	after a trial for that offense, or found guilty but mentally ill after a trial for that offense, in
17.3	states with a guilty but mentally ill verdict; and
17.4	(3) the person was committed pursuant to a court commitment order under section
17.4	253B.18 or a similar law of another state or the United States.
17.3	233B.18 of a shifffal law of another state of the Office States.
17.6	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to crimes
17.7	committed on or after that date.
17.0	Con 2 Minner to Statute 2019 meeting (00 241 mildining 10 in constitution)
17.8	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609.341, subdivision 10, is amended to read:
17.9	Subd. 10. Current or recent position of authority. "Current or recent position of
17.10	authority" includes but is not limited to any person who is a parent or acting in the place of

88.6 88.7 88.8 88.9 88.10 88.11 88.12 88.13 88.14	a parent and charged with <u>or assumes</u> any of a parent's rights, duties or responsibilities to a child, or a person who is charged with <u>or assumes</u> any duty or responsibility for the health, welfare, or supervision of a child, either independently or through another, no matter how brief, at the time of <u>or within 120 days immediately preceding</u> the act. For the purposes of subdivision 11, "position of authority" includes a psychotherapist. For the purposes of sections 609.344, subdivision 1, paragraph (e), clause (2), and 609.345, subdivision 1, paragraph (e), clause (2), the term extends to a person having the described authority over a student in a secondary school who is at least 16 but less than 21 years of age under the circumstances described in those two clauses.
88.15 88.16	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.
88.17	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609.341, subdivision 11, is amended to read:
88.18 88.19 88.20 88.21 88.22	Subd. 11. <b>Sexual contact.</b> (a) "Sexual contact," for the purposes of sections 609.343, subdivision 1, clauses (a) to (f), and 609.345, subdivision 1, clauses (a) to (e), and (h) to (o), includes any of the following acts committed without the complainant's consent, except in those cases where consent is not a defense, and committed with sexual or aggressive intent:
88.23	(i) the intentional touching by the actor of the complainant's intimate parts, or
88.24 88.25 88.26	(ii) the touching by the complainant of the actor's, the complainant's, or another's intimate parts effected by a person in a <u>current or recent</u> position of authority, or by coercion, or by inducement if the complainant is under 13 years of age or mentally impaired, or
88.27 88.28	(iii) the touching by another of the complainant's intimate parts effected by coercion or by a person in a <u>current or recent</u> position of authority, or
88.29 88.30	(iv) in any of the cases above, the touching of the clothing covering the immediate area of the intimate parts, or
88.31 88.32	(v) the intentional touching with seminal fluid or sperm by the actor of the complainant's body or the clothing covering the complainant's body.
89.1 89.2 89.3	(b) "Sexual contact," for the purposes of sections 609.343, subdivision 1, clauses (g) and (h), and 609.345, subdivision 1, clauses (f) and (g), includes any of the following acts committed with sexual or aggressive intent:
89.4	(i) the intentional touching by the actor of the complainant's intimate parts;
89.5 89.6	(ii) the touching by the complainant of the actor's, the complainant's, or another's intimate parts;
89.7	(iii) the touching by another of the complainant's intimate parts;
89.8 89.9	(iv) in any of the cases listed above, touching of the clothing covering the immediate area of the intimate parts; or

17.11 17.12 17.13 17.14 17.15	a parent and charged with <u>or assumes</u> any of a parent's rights, duties or responsibilities to a child, or a person who is charged with <u>or assumes</u> any duty or responsibility for the health, welfare, or supervision of a child, either independently or through another, no matter how brief, at the time of <u>or within 120 days immediately preceding</u> the act. For the purposes of subdivision 11, "position of authority" includes a psychotherapist.
17.16 17.17	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.
17.18	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609.341, subdivision 11, is amended to read:
17.19 17.20 17.21 17.22 17.23	Subd. 11. <b>Sexual contact.</b> (a) "Sexual contact," for the purposes of sections 609.343, subdivision 1, clauses (a) to (f), and 609.345, subdivision 1, clauses (a) to (e), and (h) to (o) (p), includes any of the following acts committed without the complainant's consent, except in those cases where consent is not a defense, and committed with sexual or aggressive intent:
17.24	(i) the intentional touching by the actor of the complainant's intimate parts, or
17.25 17.26 17.27	(ii) the touching by the complainant of the actor's, the complainant's, or another's intimate parts effected by a person in a position of authority, or by coercion, or by inducement if the complainant is under 13 years of age or mentally impaired, or
17.28 17.29	(iii) the touching by another of the complainant's intimate parts effected by coercion or by a person in a position of authority, or
17.30 17.31	(iv) in any of the cases above, the touching of the clothing covering the immediate area of the intimate parts, or
18.1 18.2	(v) the intentional touching with seminal fluid or sperm by the actor of the complainant's body or the clothing covering the complainant's body.
18.3 18.4 18.5	(b) "Sexual contact," for the purposes of sections 609.343, subdivision 1, clauses (g) and (h), and 609.345, subdivision 1, clauses (f) and (g), includes any of the following acts committed with sexual or aggressive intent:
18.6	(i) the intentional touching by the actor of the complainant's intimate parts;
18.7 18.8	(ii) the touching by the complainant of the actor's, the complainant's, or another's intimate parts;
18.9	(iii) the touching by another of the complainant's intimate parts;
18.10 18.11	(iv) in any of the cases listed above, touching of the clothing covering the immediate area of the intimate parts; or

Senate Language S0802-3

#### Article 5 - Sexual Offenders

House Language UES0802-1

89.10 89.11	$(v) \ the \ intentional \ touching \ with seminal \ fluid \ or \ sperm \ by \ the \ actor \ of \ the \ complainant's \ body \ or \ the \ clothing \ covering \ the \ complainant's \ body.$
89.12 89.13 89.14 89.15	(c) "Sexual contact with a person under 13" means the intentional touching of the complainant's bare genitals or anal opening by the actor's bare genitals or anal opening with sexual or aggressive intent or the touching by the complainant's bare genitals or anal opening of the actor's or another's bare genitals or anal opening with sexual or aggressive intent.
89.16 89.17	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.
89.18	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609.341, subdivision 12, is amended to read:
89.19 89.20 89.21	Subd. 12. <b>Sexual penetration.</b> "Sexual penetration" means any of the following acts committed without the complainant's consent, except in those cases where consent is not a defense, whether or not emission of semen occurs:
89.22	(1) sexual intercourse, cunnilingus, fellatio, or anal intercourse; or
89.23	(2) any intrusion however slight into the genital or anal openings:
89.24 89.25	(i) of the complainant's body by any part of the actor's body or any object used by the actor for this purpose;
89.26 89.27 89.28 89.29 89.30	(ii) of the complainant's body by any part of the body of the complainant, by any part of the body of another person, or by any object used by the complainant or another person for this purpose, when effected by a person in a current or recent position of authority, or by coercion, or by inducement if the child is under 13 years of age or mentally impaired; or
90.1 90.2 90.3 90.4	(iii) of the body of the actor or another person by any part of the body of the complainant or by any object used by the complainant for this purpose, when effected by a person in a current or recent position of authority, or by coercion, or by inducement if the child is under 13 years of age or mentally impaired.
90.5 90.6	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.
90.7 90.8	Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609.341, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
90.9 90.10 90.11 90.12	Subd. 24. <b>Secondary school.</b> For the purposes of sections 609.344 and 609.345, "secondary school" means a public or nonpublic school, church or religious organization, or home school where a student may legally fulfill the compulsory instruction requirements of section 120A.22.
90.13 90.14	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

May 08, 2019 08:52 AM

### Senate Language S0802-3

18.12 18.13	(v) the intentional touching with seminal fluid or sperm by the actor of the complainant's body or the clothing covering the complainant's body.
18.14	(c) "Sexual contact with a person under 13" means the intentional touching of the

complainant's bare genitals or anal opening by the actor's bare genitals or anal opening with sexual or aggressive intent or the touching by the complainant's bare genitals or anal opening of the actor's or another's bare genitals or anal opening with sexual or aggressive intent.

18.18 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

18.20

90.15 90.16	Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609.341, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
90.17 90.18 90.19 90.20	Subd. 25. <b>Independent contractor</b> : For the purposes of sections 609.344 and 609.345, "independent contractor" means any person who contracts with or is a volunteer for a secondary school or any person employed by a business which contracts with a secondary school.
90.21 90.22	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.
90.23	Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609.342, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
90.24 90.25 90.26 90.27	Subdivision 1. <b>Crime defined.</b> A person who engages in sexual penetration with another person, or in sexual contact with a person under 13 years of age as defined in section 609.341, subdivision 11, paragraph (c), is guilty of criminal sexual conduct in the first degree if any of the following circumstances exists:
90.28 90.29 90.30	(a) the complainant is under 13 years of age and the actor is more than 36 months older than the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is a defense;
91.1 91.2 91.3 91.4	(b) the complainant is at least 13 years of age but less than 16 years of age and the actor is more than 48 months older than the complainant and in a <u>current or recent</u> position of authority over the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is a defense;
91.5 91.6	(c) circumstances existing at the time of the act cause the complainant to have a reasonable fear of imminent great bodily harm to the complainant or another;
91.7 91.8 91.9	(d) the actor is armed with a dangerous weapon or any article used or fashioned in a manner to lead the complainant to reasonably believe it to be a dangerous weapon and uses or threatens to use the weapon or article to cause the complainant to submit;
91.10 91.11	(e) the actor causes personal injury to the complainant, and either of the following circumstances exist:
91.12	(i) the actor uses force or coercion to accomplish sexual penetration the act; or
91.13 91.14	(ii) the actor knows or has reason to know that the complainant is mentally impaired, mentally incapacitated, or physically helpless;
91.15 91.16	(f) the actor is aided or abetted by one or more accomplices within the meaning of section 609.05, and either of the following circumstances exists:
91.17	(i) an accomplice uses force or coercion to cause the complainant to submit; or

18.21 18.22 18.23 18.24	Subdivision 1. <b>Crime defined.</b> A person who engages in sexual penetration with another person, or in sexual contact with a person under 13 years of age as defined in section 609.341, subdivision 11, paragraph (c), is guilty of criminal sexual conduct in the first degree if any of the following circumstances exists:
18.25 18.26 18.27	(a) the complainant is under 13 years of age and the actor is more than 36 months older than the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is a defense;
18.28 18.29 18.30 18.31	(b) the complainant is at least 13 years of age but less than 16 years of age and the actor is more than 48 months older than the complainant and in a <u>current or recent</u> position of authority over the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is a defense;
19.1 19.2	(c) circumstances existing at the time of the act cause the complainant to have a reasonable fear of imminent great bodily harm to the complainant or another;
19.3 19.4 19.5	(d) the actor is armed with a dangerous weapon or any article used or fashioned in a manner to lead the complainant to reasonably believe it to be a dangerous weapon and uses or threatens to use the weapon or article to cause the complainant to submit;
19.6 19.7	(e) the actor causes personal injury to the complainant, and either of the following circumstances exist:
19.8	(i) the actor uses force or coercion to accomplish sexual penetration; or
19.9 19.10	(ii) the actor knows or has reason to know that the complainant is mentally impaired, mentally incapacitated, or physically helpless;
19.11 19.12	(f) the actor is aided or abetted by one or more accomplices within the meaning of section 609.05, and either of the following circumstances exists:
19.13	(i) an accomplice uses force or coercion to cause the complainant to submit; or

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609.342, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

### House Language UES0802-1

91.18 91.19 91.20	(ii) an accomplice is armed with a dangerous weapon or any article used or fashioned in a manner to lead the complainant reasonably to believe it to be a dangerous weapon and uses or threatens to use the weapon or article to cause the complainant to submit;
91.21 91.22 91.23	(g) the actor has a significant relationship to the complainant and the complainant was under 16 years of age at the time of the sexual penetration act. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is a defense; or
91.24 91.25	(h) the actor has a significant relationship to the complainant, the complainant was under 16 years of age at the time of the sexual penetration act, and:
91.26	(i) the actor or an accomplice used force or coercion to accomplish the penetration act;
91.27	(ii) the complainant suffered personal injury; or
91.28	(iii) the sexual abuse involved multiple acts committed over an extended period of time.
91.29 91.30	Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is a defense.
92.1 92.2	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.
92.3	Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609.343, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
92.4 92.5 92.6	Subdivision 1. <b>Crime defined.</b> A person who engages in sexual contact with another person is guilty of criminal sexual conduct in the second degree if any of the following circumstances exists:
92.7 92.8 92.9 92.10	(a) the complainant is under 13 years of age and the actor is more than 36 months older than the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is a defense. In a prosecution under this clause, the state is not required to prove that the sexual contact was coerced;
92.11 92.12 92.13 92.14	(b) the complainant is at least 13 but less than 16 years of age and the actor is more than 48 months older than the complainant and in a <u>current or recent</u> position of authority over the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is a defense;
92.15 92.16	(c) circumstances existing at the time of the act cause the complainant to have a reasonable fear of imminent great bodily harm to the complainant or another;
92.17 92.18 92.19	(d) the actor is armed with a dangerous weapon or any article used or fashioned in a manner to lead the complainant to reasonably believe it to be a dangerous weapon and uses or threatens to use the dangerous weapon to cause the complainant to submit;
92.20 92.21	(e) the actor causes personal injury to the complainant, and either of the following circumstances exist:
92.22	(i) the actor uses force or coercion to accomplish the sexual contact; or

92.22

Senate Language	S0802-3
-----------------	---------

19.14 19.15 19.16	(ii) an accomplice is armed with a dangerous weapon or any article used or fashioned in a manner to lead the complainant reasonably to believe it to be a dangerous weapon and uses or threatens to use the weapon or article to cause the complainant to submit;
19.17 19.18 19.19	(g) the actor has a significant relationship to the complainant and the complainant was under 16 years of age at the time of the sexual penetration. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is a defense; or
19.20 19.21	(h) the actor has a significant relationship to the complainant, the complainant was under 16 years of age at the time of the sexual penetration, and:
19.22	(i) the actor or an accomplice used force or coercion to accomplish the penetration;
19.23	(ii) the complainant suffered personal injury; or
19.24	(iii) the sexual abuse involved multiple acts committed over an extended period of time.
19.25 19.26	Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is a defense.
19.27 19.28	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.
20.1	Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609.343, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
20.2 20.3 20.4	Subdivision 1. <b>Crime defined.</b> A person who engages in sexual contact with another person is guilty of criminal sexual conduct in the second degree if any of the following circumstances exists:
20.5 20.6 20.7 20.8	(a) the complainant is under 13 years of age and the actor is more than 36 months older than the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is a defense. In a prosecution under this clause, the state is not required to prove that the sexual contact was coerced;
20.9 20.10 20.11 20.12	(b) the complainant is at least 13 but less than 16 years of age and the actor is more than 48 months older than the complainant and in a <u>current or recent</u> position of authority over the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is a defense;
20.13 20.14	(c) circumstances existing at the time of the act cause the complainant to have a reasonable fear of imminent great bodily harm to the complainant or another;
20.15 20.16 20.17	(d) the actor is armed with a dangerous weapon or any article used or fashioned in a manner to lead the complainant to reasonably believe it to be a dangerous weapon and uses or threatens to use the dangerous weapon to cause the complainant to submit;
20.18 20.19	(e) the actor causes personal injury to the complainant, and either of the following circumstances exist:
20.20	(i) the actor uses force or coercion to accomplish the sexual contact; or

92.23 92.24	(ii) the actor knows or has reason to know that the complainant is mentally impaired, mentally incapacitated, or physically helpless;
92.25 92.26	(f) the actor is aided or abetted by one or more accomplices within the meaning of section 609.05, and either of the following circumstances exists:
92.27	(i) an accomplice uses force or coercion to cause the complainant to submit; or
92.28 92.29 92.30	(ii) an accomplice is armed with a dangerous weapon or any article used or fashioned in a manner to lead the complainant to reasonably believe it to be a dangerous weapon and uses or threatens to use the weapon or article to cause the complainant to submit;
93.1 93.2 93.3	(g) the actor has a significant relationship to the complainant and the complainant was under 16 years of age at the time of the sexual contact. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is a defense; or
93.4 93.5	(h) the actor has a significant relationship to the complainant, the complainant was under 16 years of age at the time of the sexual contact, and:
93.6	(i) the actor or an accomplice used force or coercion to accomplish the contact;
93.7	(ii) the complainant suffered personal injury; or
93.8	(iii) the sexual abuse involved multiple acts committed over an extended period of time.
93.9 93.10	Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is a defense.
93.11 93.12	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.
93.13	Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609.344, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
93.14 93.15 93.16	Subdivision 1. <b>Crime defined.</b> A person who engages in sexual penetration with another person is guilty of criminal sexual conduct in the third degree if any of the following circumstances exists:
93.17 93.18 93.19	(a) the complainant is under 13 years of age and the actor is no more than 36 months older than the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant shall be a defense;
93.20 93.21 93.22 93.23 93.24 93.25	(b) the complainant is at least 13 but less than 16 years of age and the actor is more than 24 months older than the complainant. In any such case if the actor is no more than 120 36 months older than the complainant, it shall be an affirmative defense, which must be proved by a preponderance of the evidence, that the actor reasonably believes the complainant to be 16 years of age or older. In all other cases, mistake as to the complainant's age shall not be a defense. consent by the complainant is not a defense;

(c) the actor uses force or coercion to accomplish the penetration;

93.26

Senate L	anguage	S0802-3
----------	---------	---------

0.21 0.22	(ii) the actor knows or has reason to know that the complainant is mentally impaired, mentally incapacitated, or physically helpless;
0.23 0.24	(f) the actor is aided or abetted by one or more accomplices within the meaning of section 609.05, and either of the following circumstances exists:
0.25	(i) an accomplice uses force or coercion to cause the complainant to submit; or
0.26 0.27 0.28	(ii) an accomplice is armed with a dangerous weapon or any article used or fashioned in a manner to lead the complainant to reasonably believe it to be a dangerous weapon and uses or threatens to use the weapon or article to cause the complainant to submit;
0.29 0.30 0.31	(g) the actor has a significant relationship to the complainant and the complainant was under 16 years of age at the time of the sexual contact. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is a defense; or
1.1 1.2	(h) the actor has a significant relationship to the complainant, the complainant was under 16 years of age at the time of the sexual contact, and:
1.3	(i) the actor or an accomplice used force or coercion to accomplish the contact;
1.4	(ii) the complainant suffered personal injury; or
1.5	(iii) the sexual abuse involved multiple acts committed over an extended period of time.
1.6 1.7	Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is a defense.
1.8 1.9	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.
1.10	Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609.344, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
1.11 1.12 1.13	Subdivision 1. <b>Crime defined.</b> A person who engages in sexual penetration with another person is guilty of criminal sexual conduct in the third degree if any of the following circumstances exists:
1.14 1.15 1.16	(a) the complainant is under 13 years of age and the actor is no more than 36 months older than the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant shall be a defense;
1.17 1.18 1.19 1.20 1.21 1.22	(b) the complainant is at least 13 but less than 16 years of age and the actor is more than 24 months older than the complainant. In any such case if the actor is no more than 120 months older than the complainant, it shall be an affirmative defense, which must be proved by a preponderance of the evidence, that the actor reasonably believes the complainant to be 16 years of age or older. In all other cases, mistake as to the complainant's age shall not be a defense. Consent by the complainant is not a defense;

(c) the actor uses force or coercion to accomplish the penetration;

21.23

### House Language UES0802-1

93.27 93.28	(d) the actor knows or has reason to know that the complainant is mentally impaired, mentally incapacitated, or physically helpless;
93.29 93.30 93.31 94.1 94.2 94.3 94.4	(e)(1) the complainant is at least 16 but less than 18 years of age and the actor is more than 48 months older than the complainant and in a <u>current or recent</u> position of authority over the complainant, or (2) the complainant is at least 16 years of age but less than 21 years of age and a student in a secondary school who has not graduated and received a diploma and the actor is an employee or independent contractor of the secondary school and in a <u>current or recent position of authority over the complainant</u> . Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is a defense;
94.5 94.6 94.7	(f) the actor has a significant relationship to the complainant and the complainant was at least 16 but under 18 years of age at the time of the sexual penetration. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is a defense;
94.8 94.9	(g) the actor has a significant relationship to the complainant, the complainant was at least 16 but under 18 years of age at the time of the sexual penetration, and:
94.10	(i) the actor or an accomplice used force or coercion to accomplish the penetration;
94.11	(ii) the complainant suffered personal injury; or
94.12	(iii) the sexual abuse involved multiple acts committed over an extended period of time.
94.13 94.14	Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is a defense;
94.15 94.16	(h) the actor is a psychotherapist and the complainant is a patient of the psychotherapist and the sexual penetration occurred:
94.17	(i) during the psychotherapy session; or
94.18 94.19	(ii) outside the psychotherapy session if an ongoing psychotherapist-patient relationship exists.
94.20	Consent by the complainant is not a defense;
94.21 94.22	(i) the actor is a psychotherapist and the complainant is a former patient of the psychotherapist and the former patient is emotionally dependent upon the psychotherapist;
94.23 94.24 94.25	(j) the actor is a psychotherapist and the complainant is a patient or former patient and the sexual penetration occurred by means of therapeutic deception. Consent by the complainant is not a defense;
94.26 94.27 94.28	(k) the actor accomplishes the sexual penetration by means of deception or false representation that the penetration is for a bona fide medical purpose. Consent by the complainant is not a defense;
94.29 94.30	(1) the actor is or purports to be a member of the clergy, the complainant is not married to the actor, and:

21.24 21.25	(d) the actor knows or has reason to know that the complainant is mentally impaired, mentally incapacitated, or physically helpless;
21.26 21.27 21.28 21.29	(e) the complainant is at least 16 but less than 18 years of age and the actor is more than 48 months older than the complainant and in a <u>current or recent</u> position of authority over the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is a defense;
22.1 22.2 22.3	(f) the actor has a significant relationship to the complainant and the complainant was at least 16 but under 18 years of age at the time of the sexual penetration. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is a defense;
22.4 22.5	(g) the actor has a significant relationship to the complainant, the complainant was at least 16 but under 18 years of age at the time of the sexual penetration, and:
22.6	(i) the actor or an accomplice used force or coercion to accomplish the penetration;
22.7	(ii) the complainant suffered personal injury; or
22.8	(iii) the sexual abuse involved multiple acts committed over an extended period of time
22.9 22.10	Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is a defense;
22.11 22.12	(h) the actor is a psychotherapist and the complainant is a patient of the psychotherapis and the sexual penetration occurred:
22.13	(i) during the psychotherapy session; or
22.14 22.15	(ii) outside the psychotherapy session if an ongoing psychotherapist-patient relationship exists.
22.16	Consent by the complainant is not a defense;
22.17	(i) the actor is a psychotherapist and the complainant is a former patient of the

Senate Language S0802-3

(1) the actor is or purports to be a member of the clergy, the complainant is not married 22.26 to the actor, and:

22.18 psychotherapist and the former patient is emotionally dependent upon the psychotherapist;

the sexual penetration occurred by means of therapeutic deception. Consent by the

22.23 representation that the penetration is for a bona fide medical purpose. Consent by the

(j) the actor is a psychotherapist and the complainant is a patient or former patient and

(k) the actor accomplishes the sexual penetration by means of deception or false

22.17

22.22

complainant is not a defense;

complainant is not a defense;

(i) the sexual penetration occurred during the course of a meeting in which the

was meeting on an ongoing basis with the actor to seek or receive religious or spiritual

or treatment facility providing services to clients civilly committed as mentally ill and

is a resident of a facility or under supervision of the correctional system. Consent by the

advice, aid, or comfort in private. Consent by the complainant is not a defense;

complainant sought or received religious or spiritual advice, aid, or comfort from the actor

(ii) the sexual penetration occurred during a period of time in which the complainant

(m) the actor is an employee, independent contractor, or volunteer of a state, county,

city, or privately operated adult or juvenile correctional system, or secure treatment facility,

dangerous, sexually dangerous persons, or sexual psychopathic personalities, including, but

not limited to, jails, prisons, detention centers, or work release facilities, and the complainant

(n) the actor provides or is an agent of an entity that provides special transportation

occurred during or immediately before or after the actor transported the complainant. Consent

(o) the actor performs massage or other bodywork for hire, the complainant was a user

immediately before or after the actor performed or was hired to perform one of those services

(p) the actor is a peace officer, as defined in section 626.84, and the peace officer

feel free to leave the peace officer's presence. Consent by the complainant is not a defense.

This paragraph does not apply to any penetration of the mouth, genitals, or anus during a

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609.345, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

person is guilty of criminal sexual conduct in the fourth degree if any of the following

older than the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age or consent to the

act by the complainant is a defense. In a prosecution under this clause, the state is not

required to prove that the sexual contact was coerced:

physically or constructively restrains the complainant or the complainant does not reasonably

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to crimes

Subdivision 1. Crime defined. A person who engages in sexual contact with another

(a) the complainant is under 13 years of age and the actor is no more than 36 months

service, the complainant used the special transportation service, and the sexual penetration

of one of those services, and nonconsensual sexual penetration occurred during or

95.1

95.2

95.3

95.4

95.7

95.14

95.18

95.21

95.22

95.25

95.26

95.27

95.28

95.29 95.30

96.1

96.2

96.3 96.4

96.5

96.6

in private; or

complainant is not a defense;

for the complainant.; or

committed on or after that date.

lawful search.

circumstances exists:

by the complainant is not a defense; or

22.27 22.28 22.29	<ul> <li>(i) the sexual penetration occurred during the course of a meeting in which the complainant sought or received religious or spiritual advice, aid, or comfort from the actor in private; or</li> </ul>
23.1 23.2 23.3	(ii) the sexual penetration occurred during a period of time in which the complainant was meeting on an ongoing basis with the actor to seek or receive religious or spiritual advice, aid, or comfort in private. Consent by the complainant is not a defense;
23.4 23.5 23.6 23.7 23.8 23.9 23.10	(m) the actor is an employee, independent contractor, or volunteer of a state, county, city, or privately operated adult or juvenile correctional system, or secure treatment facility, or treatment facility providing services to clients civilly committed as mentally ill and dangerous, sexually dangerous persons, or sexual psychopathic personalities, including, but not limited to, jails, prisons, detention centers, or work release facilities, and the complainant is a resident of a facility or under supervision of the correctional system. Consent by the complainant is not a defense;
23.11 23.12 23.13 23.14	(n) the actor provides or is an agent of an entity that provides special transportation service, the complainant used the special transportation service, and the sexual penetration occurred during or immediately before or after the actor transported the complainant. Consent by the complainant is not a defense; expectively.
23.15 23.16 23.17 23.18	(o) the actor performs massage or other bodywork for hire, the complainant was a user of one of those services, and nonconsensual sexual penetration occurred during or immediately before or after the actor performed or was hired to perform one of those services for the complainant: or
23.19 23.20 23.21 23.22	(p) the actor is a peace officer, as defined in section 626.84, and the officer physically or constructively restrains the complainant or the complainant does not reasonably feel free to leave the officer's presence. Consent by the complainant is not a defense. This paragraph does not apply to any penetration of the mouth, genitals, or anus during a lawful search.
23.23 23.24 23.25	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.  Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609.345, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
23.26 23.27 23.28	Subdivision 1. <b>Crime defined.</b> A person who engages in sexual contact with another person is guilty of criminal sexual conduct in the fourth degree if any of the following circumstances exists:
23.29 23.30 23.31 23.32	(a) the complainant is under 13 years of age and the actor is no more than 36 months older than the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age or consent to the act by the complainant is a defense. In a prosecution under this clause, the state is not required to prove that the sexual contact was coerced;

(b) the complainant is at least 13 but less than 16 years of age and the actor is more than

48 months older than the complainant or in a current or recent position of authority over

Senate Language S0802-3

(b) the complainant is at least 13 but less than 16 years of age and the actor is more tha	n
8 months older than the complainant or in a <u>current or recent</u> position of authority over	

24.1

96.7 96.8	the complainant. Consent by the complainant to the act is not a defense. In any such ease, if the actor is no more than 120 months older than the complainant, it shall be an affirmative
96.9	defense which must be proved by a preponderance of the evidence that the actor reasonably
96.10	believes the complainant to be 16 years of age or older. In all other cases, Neither mistake
96.11	as to the complainant's age shall not be nor consent to the act by the complainant shall be
96.12	a defense;
96.13	(c) the actor uses force or coercion to accomplish the sexual contact;
96.14 96.15	(d) the actor knows or has reason to know that the complainant is mentally impaired, mentally incapacitated, or physically helpless;
96.16	(e)(1) the complainant is at least 16 but less than 18 years of age and the actor is more
96.17	than 48 months older than the complainant and in a <u>current or recent</u> position of authority
96.18	over the complainant, or (2) the complainant is at least 16 years of age but less than 21 years
96.19	of age and a student in a secondary school who has not graduated and received a diploma
96.20 96.21	and the actor is an employee or independent contractor of the secondary school and in a current or recent position of authority over the complainant. Neither mistake as to the
96.21	complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is a defense;
96.23 96.24	(f) the actor has a significant relationship to the complainant and the complainant was at least 16 but under 18 years of age at the time of the sexual contact. Neither mistake as to
96.24	the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is a defense;
96.26 96.27	(g) the actor has a significant relationship to the complainant, the complainant was at least 16 but under 18 years of age at the time of the sexual contact, and:
96.28	(i) the actor or an accomplice used force or coercion to accomplish the contact;
96.29	(ii) the complainant suffered personal injury; or
96.30	(iii) the sexual abuse involved multiple acts committed over an extended period of time.
96.31 96.32	Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is a defense;
97.1 97.2	(h) the actor is a psychotherapist and the complainant is a patient of the psychotherapist and the sexual contact occurred:
97.3	(i) during the psychotherapy session; or
97.4 97.5	(ii) outside the psychotherapy session if an ongoing psychotherapist-patient relationship exists. Consent by the complainant is not a defense;
97.6	(i) the actor is a psychotherapist and the complainant is a former patient of the

psychotherapist and the former patient is emotionally dependent upon the psychotherapist;

4.3 4.4 4.5 4.6 4.7	the complainant. Consent by the complainant to the act is not a defense. In any such case, if the actor is no more than 120 months older than the complainant, it shall be an affirmative defense which must be proved by a preponderance of the evidence that the actor reasonably believes the complainant to be 16 years of age or older. In all other cases, mistake as to the complainant's age shall not be a defense;
4.8	(c) the actor uses force or coercion to accomplish the sexual contact;
4.9 4.10	(d) the actor knows or has reason to know that the complainant is mentally impaired, mentally incapacitated, or physically helpless;
4.11 4.12 4.13 4.14	(e) the complainant is at least 16 but less than 18 years of age and the actor is more than 48 months older than the complainant and in a <u>current or recent</u> position of authority over the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is a defense;
4.15 4.16 4.17	(f) the actor has a significant relationship to the complainant and the complainant was at least 16 but under 18 years of age at the time of the sexual contact. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is a defense;
4.18 4.19	(g) the actor has a significant relationship to the complainant, the complainant was at least 16 but under 18 years of age at the time of the sexual contact, and:
4.20	(i) the actor or an accomplice used force or coercion to accomplish the contact;
4.21	(ii) the complainant suffered personal injury; or
4.22	(iii) the sexual abuse involved multiple acts committed over an extended period of time.
4.23 4.24	Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is a defense;
4.25 4.26	(h) the actor is a psychotherapist and the complainant is a patient of the psychotherapist and the sexual contact occurred:
4.27	(i) during the psychotherapy session; or
4.28 4.29	(ii) outside the psychotherapy session if an ongoing psychotherapist-patient relationship exists. Consent by the complainant is not a defense;
4.30	(i) the actor is a psychotherapist and the complainant is a former patient of the

24.31 psychotherapist and the former patient is emotionally dependent upon the psychotherapist;

#### Article 5 - Sexual Offenders

# House Language UES0802-1

97.8 97.9 97.10	(j) the actor is a psychotherapist and the complainant is a patient or former patient and the sexual contact occurred by means of therapeutic deception. Consent by the complainant is not a defense;
97.11 97.12 97.13	(k) the actor accomplishes the sexual contact by means of deception or false representation that the contact is for a bona fide medical purpose. Consent by the complainant is not a defense;
97.14 97.15	(1) the actor is or purports to be a member of the clergy, the complainant is not married to the actor, and:
97.16 97.17	(i) the sexual contact occurred during the course of a meeting in which the complainant sought or received religious or spiritual advice, aid, or comfort from the actor in private; or
97.18 97.19 97.20	(ii) the sexual contact occurred during a period of time in which the complainant was meeting on an ongoing basis with the actor to seek or receive religious or spiritual advice, aid, or comfort in private. Consent by the complainant is not a defense;
97.21 97.22 97.23 97.24 97.25 97.26 97.27	(m) the actor is an employee, independent contractor, or volunteer of a state, county, city, or privately operated adult or juvenile correctional system, or secure treatment facility, or treatment facility providing services to clients civilly committed as mentally ill and dangerous, sexually dangerous persons, or sexual psychopathic personalities, including, but not limited to, jails, prisons, detention centers, or work release facilities, and the complainant is a resident of a facility or under supervision of the correctional system. Consent by the complainant is not a defense;
97.28 97.29 97.30 97.31	(n) the actor provides or is an agent of an entity that provides special transportation service, the complainant used the special transportation service, the complainant is not married to the actor, and the sexual contact occurred during or immediately before or after the actor transported the complainant. Consent by the complainant is not a defense; or
98.1 98.2 98.3 98.4	(o) the actor performs massage or other bodywork for hire, the complainant was a user of one of those services, and nonconsensual sexual contact occurred during or immediately before or after the actor performed or was hired to perform one of those services for the complainant: or
98.5 98.6 98.7	(p) the actor is a peace officer, as defined in section 626.84, and the peace officer physically or constructively restrains the complainant or the complainant does not reasonably feel free to leave the peace officer's presence. Consent by the complainant is not a defense.
98.8 98.9	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.
98.10	Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609.3451, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
98 11	Subdivision 1 Crime defined. A person is guilty of criminal sexual conduct in the fifth

98.12 degree:

May 08, 2019 08:52 AM

25.1 25.2 25.3	(j) the actor is a psychotherapist and the complainant is a patient or former patient and the sexual contact occurred by means of therapeutic deception. Consent by the complainant is not a defense;
25.4 25.5 25.6	(k) the actor accomplishes the sexual contact by means of deception or false representation that the contact is for a bona fide medical purpose. Consent by the complainant is not a defense;
25.7 25.8	(1) the actor is or purports to be a member of the clergy, the complainant is not married to the actor, and:
25.9 25.10	(i) the sexual contact occurred during the course of a meeting in which the complainant sought or received religious or spiritual advice, aid, or comfort from the actor in private; or
25.11 25.12 25.13	(ii) the sexual contact occurred during a period of time in which the complainant was meeting on an ongoing basis with the actor to seek or receive religious or spiritual advice, aid, or comfort in private. Consent by the complainant is not a defense;
25.14 25.15 25.16 25.17 25.18 25.19 25.20	(m) the actor is an employee, independent contractor, or volunteer of a state, county, city, or privately operated adult or juvenile correctional system, or secure treatment facility, or treatment facility providing services to clients civilly committed as mentally ill and dangerous, sexually dangerous persons, or sexual psychopathic personalities, including, but not limited to, jails, prisons, detention centers, or work release facilities, and the complainant is a resident of a facility or under supervision of the correctional system. Consent by the complainant is not a defense;
25.21 25.22 25.23 25.24	(n) the actor provides or is an agent of an entity that provides special transportation service, the complainant used the special transportation service, the complainant is not married to the actor, and the sexual contact occurred during or immediately before or after the actor transported the complainant. Consent by the complainant is not a defense; or
25.25 25.26 25.27 25.28	(o) the actor performs massage or other bodywork for hire, the complainant was a user of one of those services, and nonconsensual sexual contact occurred during or immediately before or after the actor performed or was hired to perform one of those services for the complainant: or
25.29 25.30 25.31	(p) the actor is a peace officer, as defined in section 626.84, and the officer physically or constructively restrains the complainant or the complainant does not reasonably feel free to leave the officer's presence. Consent by the complainant is not a defense.
25.32 25.33	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

4 . 1	_		0.00	1
Article	^	- Sexual	l ( )tten	der

House Language I	UES0802	_
------------------	---------	---

98.13	(1) if the person engages in nonconsensual sexual contact; or
98.14	(2) the person engages in masturbation or lewd exhibition of the genitals in the presence
98.15	of a minor under the age of 16, knowing or having reason to know the minor is present.
98.16	For purposes of this section, "sexual contact" has the meaning given in section 609.341,
98.17	subdivision 11, paragraph (a), clauses (i), (iv), and (v), but does not include the intentional
98.18	touching of the clothing covering the immediate area of the buttocks. Sexual contact also
98.19	includes the intentional removal or attempted removal of clothing covering the complainant's
98.20	intimate parts or undergarments, and the nonconsensual touching by the complainant of the
98.21	actor's intimate parts, effected by the actor, if the action is performed with sexual or
98.22	aggressive intent.
98.23	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to crimes
,	
98.24	committed on or after that date.

May 08, 2019 08:52 AM Senate Language S0802-3

26.1	Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609.746, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
26.2 26.3	Subdivision 1. <b>Surreptitious intrusion; observation device.</b> (a) A person is guilty of a gross misdemeanor who:
26.4	(1) enters upon another's property;
26.5 26.6	(2) surreptitiously gazes, stares, or peeps in the window or any other aperture of a house or place of dwelling of another; and
26.7 26.8	(3) does so with intent to intrude upon or interfere with the privacy of a member of the household.
26.9	(b) A person is guilty of a gross misdemeanor who:
26.10	(1) enters upon another's property;
26.11 26.12 26.13	(2) surreptitiously installs or uses any device for observing, photographing, recording, amplifying, or broadcasting sounds or events through the window or any other aperture of a house or place of dwelling of another; and
26.14 26.15	(3) does so with intent to intrude upon or interfere with the privacy of a member of the household.
26.16	(c) A person is guilty of a gross misdemeanor who:
26.17 26.18 26.19 26.20 26.21	(1) surreptitiously gazes, stares, or peeps in the window or other aperture of a sleeping room in a hotel, as defined in section 327.70, subdivision 3, a tanning booth, or other place where a reasonable person would have an expectation of privacy and has exposed or is likely to expose their intimate parts, as defined in section 609.341, subdivision 5, or the clothing covering the immediate area of the intimate parts; and

98.25 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 617.246, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

98.26

98.29

99.1

99.2

Subd. 2. **Use of minor.** It is unlawful for a person to promote, employ, use or permit a minor to engage in or assist others to engage minors in posing or modeling alone or with others in any sexual performance or pornographic work if the person knows or has reason to know that the conduct intended is a sexual performance or a pornographic work.

Any person who violates this subdivision is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than ten 15 years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$20,000 for the first offense and \$40,000 for a second or subsequent offense, or both.

26.22 (2) does so with intent to intrude upon or interfere with the privacy of the occupant. 26.23 (d) A person is guilty of a gross misdemeanor who: (1) surreptitiously installs or uses any device for observing, photographing, recording, 26.24 amplifying, or broadcasting sounds or events through the window or other aperture of a 26.25 sleeping room in a hotel, as defined in section 327.70, subdivision 3, a tanning booth, or other place where a reasonable person would have an expectation of privacy and has exposed or is likely to expose their intimate parts, as defined in section 609.341, subdivision 5, or the clothing covering the immediate area of the intimate parts; and (2) does so with intent to intrude upon or interfere with the privacy of the occupant. 26.30 (e) A person is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more 27.1 than two years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$5,000, or both, if the person: (1) violates this subdivision after a previous conviction under this subdivision or section 27.3 27.4 609.749; or 27.5 (2) violates this subdivision against a minor under the age of 18, knowing or having 27.6 reason to know that the minor is present. (f) A person is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more 27.7 than four years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$5,000, or both, if: (1) the person 27.8 violates paragraph (b) or (d) against a minor victim under the age of 18; (2) the person is more than 36 months older than the minor victim; (3) the person knows or has reason to know that the minor victim is present; and (4) the violation is committed with sexual intent. 27.11 27.12 (g) Paragraphs (b) and (d) do not apply to law enforcement officers or corrections investigators, or to those acting under their direction, while engaged in the performance of their lawful duties. Paragraphs (c) and (d) do not apply to conduct in: (1) a medical facility; or (2) a commercial establishment if the owner of the establishment has posted conspicuous signs warning that the premises are under surveillance by the owner or the owner's employees. 27.17 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 27.19 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 617.246, subdivision 2, is amended to read: Subd. 2. Use of minor. (a) It is unlawful for a person to promote, employ, use or permit 27.20 a minor to engage in or assist others to engage minors in posing or modeling alone or with others in any sexual performance or pornographic work if the person knows or has reason to know that the conduct intended is a sexual performance or a pornographic work. Any person who violates this subdivision paragraph is guilty of a felony and may be 27.24 sentenced to imprisonment for not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$20,000 for the first offense and \$40,000 for a second or subsequent offense, or both.

99.4 99.5	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.
99.6	Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 617.246, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
99.7 99.8 99.9 99.10 99.11 99.12	Subd. 3. <b>Operation or ownership of business.</b> A person who owns or operates a business in which a pornographic work, as defined in this section, is disseminated to an adult or a minor or is reproduced, and who knows the content and character of the pornographic work disseminated or reproduced, is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than ten 15 years, or to payment of a fine of not more than \$20,000 for the first offense and \$40,000 for a second or subsequent offense, or both.
99.13 99.14	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.
99.15	Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 617.246, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
99 16	Subd 4 Dissemination A person who knowing or with reason to know its content and

character, disseminates for profit to an adult or a minor a pornographic work, as defined in this section, is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than years, or to payment of a fine of not more than \$20,000 for the first offense and

99.20 \$40,000 for a second or subsequent offense, or both.

7.27 7.28 7.29	(b) A person who violates paragraph (a) is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 15 years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$40,000, or both, if:
7.30 7.31	(1) the person has a prior conviction or delinquency adjudication for violating this section or section 617.247;
8.1 8.2	(2) the violation occurs when the person is a registered predatory offender under section 243.166; or
8.3	(3) the violation involved a minor under the age of 13 years.
8.4 8.5	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.
8.6	Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 617.246, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
8.7 8.8 8.9 8.10 8.11 8.12	Subd. 3. <b>Operation or ownership of business.</b> (a) A person who owns or operates a business in which a pornographic work, as defined in this section, is disseminated to an adult or a minor or is reproduced, and who knows the content and character of the pornographic work disseminated or reproduced, is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than ten years, or to payment of a fine of not more than \$20,000 for the first offense and \$40,000 for a second or subsequent offense, or both.
8.13 8.14 8.15	(b) A person who violates paragraph (a) is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 15 years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$40,000, or both, if:
8.16 8.17	(1) the person has a prior conviction or delinquency adjudication for violating this section or section 617.247;
8.18 8.19	(2) the violation occurs when the person is a registered predatory offender under section 243.166; or
8.20	(3) the violation involved a minor under the age of 13 years.
8.21 8.22	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.
8.23	Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 617.246, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
8.24 8.25 8.26 8.27	Subd. 4. <b>Dissemination.</b> (a) A person who, knowing or with reason to know its content and character, disseminates for profit to an adult or a minor a pornographic work, as defined in this section, is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than ten years, or to payment of a fine of not more than \$20,000 for the first offense and

28.28 \$40,000 for a second or subsequent offense, or both.

99.23	Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 617.246, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
99.24	Subd. 7. Conditional release term. Notwithstanding the statutory maximum sentence
99.25	otherwise applicable to the offense or any provision of the sentencing guidelines, when a
99.26	court commits a person to the custody of the commissioner of corrections for violating this
99.27	section, the court shall provide that after the person has been released from prison, the
99.28	commissioner shall place the person on conditional release for five ten years. If the person
99.29	has previously been convicted of a violation of this section, section 609.342, 609.343,
99.30	609.344, 609.345, 609.3451, 609.3453, or 617.247, or any similar statute of the United
99.31	States, this state, or any state, the commissioner shall place the person on conditional release
100.1	for ten 15 years. The terms of conditional release are governed by section 609.3455,
100.1	subdivision 8.
100.2	
100.3	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to crimes
100.4	committed on or after that date.
100.5	Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 617.246, is amended by adding a subdivision
	bee. 13. Minimesota Statutes 2010, section 017.210, is amenada o 7 adding a sacarrision
100.6	· · · · · ·
100.6	to read:
100.6 100.7	to read:  Subd. 8. Mandatory minimum sentence. A person convicted under this section must
	to read: <u>Subd. 8.</u> <b>Mandatory minimum sentence.</b> A person convicted under this section must serve a minimum of six months of incarceration. If the person has a prior conviction under
100.7	Subd. 8. Mandatory minimum sentence. A person convicted under this section must serve a minimum of six months of incarceration. If the person has a prior conviction under this section or section 617.247, or is required to register as a predatory offender, the person
100.7 100.8	to read: <u>Subd. 8.</u> <b>Mandatory minimum sentence.</b> A person convicted under this section must serve a minimum of six months of incarceration. If the person has a prior conviction under
100.7 100.8 100.9 100.10	Subd. 8. Mandatory minimum sentence. A person convicted under this section must serve a minimum of six months of incarceration. If the person has a prior conviction under this section or section 617.247, or is required to register as a predatory offender, the person must serve a minimum of 12 months of incarceration.
100.7 100.8 100.9 100.10	Subd. 8. Mandatory minimum sentence. A person convicted under this section must serve a minimum of six months of incarceration. If the person has a prior conviction under this section or section 617.247, or is required to register as a predatory offender, the person must serve a minimum of 12 months of incarceration.  EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to crimes
100.7 100.8 100.9 100.10	Subd. 8. Mandatory minimum sentence. A person convicted under this section must serve a minimum of six months of incarceration. If the person has a prior conviction under this section or section 617.247, or is required to register as a predatory offender, the person must serve a minimum of 12 months of incarceration.
100.7 100.8 100.9 100.10	Subd. 8. Mandatory minimum sentence. A person convicted under this section must serve a minimum of six months of incarceration. If the person has a prior conviction under this section or section 617.247, or is required to register as a predatory offender, the person must serve a minimum of 12 months of incarceration.  EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to crimes
100.7 100.8 100.9 100.10 100.11 100.12	Subd. 8. Mandatory minimum sentence. A person convicted under this section must serve a minimum of six months of incarceration. If the person has a prior conviction under this section or section 617.247, or is required to register as a predatory offender, the person must serve a minimum of 12 months of incarceration.  EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.
100.7 100.8 100.9 100.10 100.11 100.12	Subd. 8. Mandatory minimum sentence. A person convicted under this section must serve a minimum of six months of incarceration. If the person has a prior conviction under this section or section 617.247, or is required to register as a predatory offender, the person must serve a minimum of 12 months of incarceration.  EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.  Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 617.247, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to crimes

99.21

99.22

committed on or after that date.

28.29	(b) A person who violates paragraph (a) is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to
28.30	imprisonment for not more than 15 years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$40,000,
28.31	or both, if:
29.1 29.2	(1) the person has a prior conviction or delinquency adjudication for violating this section or section 617.247;
29.3 29.4	(2) the violation occurs when the person is a registered predatory offender under section 243.166; or
29.5	(3) the violation involved a minor under the age of 13 years.
29.6 29.7	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.
29.8	Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 617.246, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
29.9	Subd. 7. Conditional release term. Notwithstanding the statutory maximum sentence
29.10	otherwise applicable to the offense or any provision of the sentencing guidelines, when a
27.10	otherwise applicable to the offense of any provision of the senteneng guidelines, when a
29.11	court commits a person to the custody of the commissioner of corrections for violating this
	court commits a person to the custody of the commissioner of corrections for violating this section, the court shall provide that after the person has been released from prison, the
29.11 29.12 29.13	court commits a person to the custody of the commissioner of corrections for violating this section, the court shall provide that after the person has been released from prison, the commissioner shall place the person on conditional release for five years. If the person has
29.11 29.12 29.13 29.14	court commits a person to the custody of the commissioner of corrections for violating this section, the court shall provide that after the person has been released from prison, the commissioner shall place the person on conditional release for five years. If the person has previously been convicted of a violation of this section, section 609.342, 609.343, 609.344,
29.11 29.12 29.13 29.14 29.15	court commits a person to the custody of the commissioner of corrections for violating this section, the court shall provide that after the person has been released from prison, the commissioner shall place the person on conditional release for five years. If the person has previously been convicted of a violation of this section, section 609.342, 609.343, 609.344, 609.345, 609.3451, 609.3453, or 617.247, or any similar statute of the United States, this
29.11 29.12 29.13 29.14 29.15 29.16	court commits a person to the custody of the commissioner of corrections for violating this section, the court shall provide that after the person has been released from prison, the commissioner shall place the person on conditional release for five years. If the person has previously been convicted of a violation of this section, section 609.342, 609.343, 609.344, 609.345, 609.3451, 609.3453, or 617.247, or any similar statute of the United States, this state, or any state, the commissioner shall place the person on conditional release for ten
29.11 29.12 29.13 29.14 29.15 29.16 29.17	court commits a person to the custody of the commissioner of corrections for violating this section, the court shall provide that after the person has been released from prison, the commissioner shall place the person on conditional release for five years. If the person has previously been convicted of a violation of this section, section 609.342, 609.343, 609.344, 609.345, 609.3451, 609.3453, or 617.247, or any similar statute of the United States, this state, or any state, the commissioner shall place the person on conditional release for ten 15 years. The terms of conditional release are governed by section 609.3455, subdivision
29.11 29.12 29.13 29.14 29.15 29.16	court commits a person to the custody of the commissioner of corrections for violating this section, the court shall provide that after the person has been released from prison, the commissioner shall place the person on conditional release for five years. If the person has previously been convicted of a violation of this section, section 609.342, 609.343, 609.344, 609.345, 609.3451, 609.3453, or 617.247, or any similar statute of the United States, this state, or any state, the commissioner shall place the person on conditional release for ten
29.11 29.12 29.13 29.14 29.15 29.16 29.17 29.18	court commits a person to the custody of the commissioner of corrections for violating this section, the court shall provide that after the person has been released from prison, the commissioner shall place the person on conditional release for five years. If the person has previously been convicted of a violation of this section, section 609.342, 609.343, 609.344, 609.345, 609.3451, 609.3453, or 617.247, or any similar statute of the United States, this state, or any state, the commissioner shall place the person on conditional release for ten 15 years. The terms of conditional release are governed by section 609.3455, subdivision 8.  EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to crimes
29.11 29.12 29.13 29.14 29.15 29.16 29.17 29.18	court commits a person to the custody of the commissioner of corrections for violating this section, the court shall provide that after the person has been released from prison, the commissioner shall place the person on conditional release for five years. If the person has previously been convicted of a violation of this section, section 609.342, 609.343, 609.344, 609.345, 609.3451, 609.3453, or 617.247, or any similar statute of the United States, this state, or any state, the commissioner shall place the person on conditional release for ten 15 years. The terms of conditional release are governed by section 609.3455, subdivision 8.

Senate Language S0802-3

29.21 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 617.247, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. **Dissemination prohibited.** (a) A person who disseminates pornographic work to an adult or a minor, knowing or with reason to know its content and character, is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than seven years and or to

	fine of not more than \$10,000 for a first offense and for not more than \$20,000 for a second or subsequent offense.
100.19 100.20 100.21	(b) A person who violates paragraph (a) is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than $\frac{45}{20}$ years if the violation occurs when the person is a registered predatory offender under section 243.166.
100.22 100.23	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.
100.24	Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 617.247, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
100.27 100.28	for not more than five seven years and a fine of not more than \$5,000 \$7,500 for a first offense and for not more than ten 15 years and a fine of not more than \$10,000 \$15,000 for
101.1 101.2 101.3	(b) A person who violates paragraph (a) is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than ten 15 years if the violation occurs when the person is a registered predatory offender under section 243.166.
101.4 101.5	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.
101.6	Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 617.247, subdivision 9, is amended to read:
101.7 101.8 101.9 101.10	Subd. 9. <b>Conditional release term.</b> Notwithstanding the statutory maximum sentence otherwise applicable to the offense or any provision of the sentencing guidelines, when a court commits a person to the custody of the commissioner of corrections for violating this section, the court shall provide that after the person has been released from prison, the

29.25 29.26	payment of a fine of not more than \$10,000 for a first offense and for not more than 15 years and a fine of not more than \$20,000 for a second or subsequent offense, or both.
29.27 29.28 29.29	(b) A person who violates paragraph (a) is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 15 years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$20,000, or both, if
29.30 29.31	(1) the person has a prior conviction or delinquency adjudication for violating this section or section 617.246;
30.1 30.2	(2) the violation occurs when the person is a registered predatory offender under section 243.166; or
30.3	(3) the violation involved a minor under the age of 13 years.
30.4 30.5	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.
30.6	Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 617.247, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
30.7 30.8 30.9 30.10 30.11 30.12	Subd. 4. <b>Possession prohibited.</b> (a) A person who possesses a pornographic work or a computer disk or computer or other electronic, magnetic, or optical storage system or a storage system of any other type, containing a pornographic work, knowing or with reason to know its content and character, is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years and or to payment of a fine of not more than \$5,000 for a first offense and for not more than ten years and a fine of not more than \$10,000 for a second
30.13	or subsequent offense, or both.
30.14 30.15 30.16	(b) A person who violates paragraph (a) is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$10,000, or both, if
30.17 30.18	(1) the person has a prior conviction or delinquency adjudication for violating this section or section 617.246;
30.19 30.20	(2) the violation occurs when the person is a registered predatory offender under section 243.166; or
30.21	(3) the violation involved a minor under the age of 13 years.
30.22 30.23	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.
30.24	Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 617.247, subdivision 9, is amended to read:
30.25 30.26 30.27 30.28	Subd. 9. <b>Conditional release term.</b> Notwithstanding the statutory maximum sentence otherwise applicable to the offense or any provision of the sentencing guidelines, when a court commits a person to the custody of the commissioner of corrections for violating this section, the court shall provide that after the person has been released from prison, the

#### Article 5 - Sexual Offenders

House Language UES0802-1

101.12 101.13 101.14 101.15	commissioner shall place the person on conditional release for five ten years. If the person has previously been convicted of a violation of this section, section 609.342, 609.343, 609.344, 609.345, 609.3451, 609.3453, or 617.246, or any similar statute of the United States, this state, or any state, the commissioner shall place the person on conditional release for ten 15 years. The terms of conditional release are governed by section 609.3455, subdivision 8.
101.17 101.18	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.
101.19 101.20	Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 617.247, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
101.21 101.22 101.23 101.24	this section or section 617.246, or is required to register as a predatory offender, the person
101.25 101.26	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.
101.27	Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 626.556, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
101.28 101.29	Subd. 2. <b>Definitions.</b> As used in this section, the following terms have the meanings given them unless the specific content indicates otherwise:
101.30 101.31	(a) "Accidental" means a sudden, not reasonably foreseeable, and unexpected occurrence or event which:
102.1	(1) is not likely to occur and could not have been prevented by exercise of due care; and
102.2 102.3 102.4	(2) if occurring while a child is receiving services from a facility, happens when the facility and the employee or person providing services in the facility are in compliance with the laws and rules relevant to the occurrence or event.
102.5	(b) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of human services.
102.6	(c) "Facility" means:
102.7 102.8 102.9 102.10	(1) a licensed or unlicensed day care facility, certified license-exempt child care center, residential facility, agency, hospital, sanitarium, or other facility or institution required to be licensed under sections 144.50 to 144.58, 241.021, or 245A.01 to 245A.16, or chapter 144H, 245D, or 245H;
102.11 102.12	(2) a school as defined in section 120A.05, subdivisions 9, 11, and 13; and chapter 124E; or
102.13 102.14	(3) a nonlicensed personal care provider organization as defined in section 256B.0625, subdivision 19a.

May 08, 2019 08:52 AM

31.5 committed on or after that date.

# Senate Language S0802-3

30.29	commissioner shall place the person on conditional release for five years. If the person has
30.30	previously been convicted of a violation of this section, section 609.342, 609.343, 609.344,
30.31	609.345, 609.3451, 609.3453, or 617.246, or any similar statute of the United States, this
31.1	state, or any state, the commissioner shall place the person on conditional release for ten
31.2	15 years. The terms of conditional release are governed by section 609.3455, subdivision
31.3	8.
31 /	FFFFCTIVE DATE This section is effective August 1, 2010, and applies to crimes

PAGE R17 REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE

102.	.15	(d) "Family assessment" means a comprehensive assessment of child safety, risk of
102.	.16	subsequent child maltreatment, and family strengths and needs that is applied to a child
102.	.17	maltreatment report that does not allege sexual abuse or substantial child endangerment.
102.	.18	Family assessment does not include a determination as to whether child maltreatment
102.	.19	occurred but does determine the need for services to address the safety of family members
102.	.20	and the risk of subsequent maltreatment.
102.	.21	(e) "Investigation" means fact gathering related to the current safety of a child and the
102.	.22	risk of subsequent maltreatment that determines whether child maltreatment occurred and
102.		whether child protective services are needed. An investigation must be used when reports
102.	.24	involve sexual abuse or substantial child endangerment, and for reports of maltreatment in
102.	.25	facilities required to be licensed or certified under chapter 245A, 245D, or 245H; under
102.	.26	sections 144.50 to 144.58 and 241.021; in a school as defined in section 120A.05,
102.	.27	subdivisions 9, 11, and 13, and chapter 124E; or in a nonlicensed personal care provider
102.	.28	association as defined in section 256B.0625, subdivision 19a.
102.	.29	(f) "Mental injury" means an injury to the psychological capacity or emotional stability
102.	.30	of a child as evidenced by an observable or substantial impairment in the child's ability to
102.	.31	function within a normal range of performance and behavior with due regard to the child's
102.	.32	culture.
103.	.1	(g) "Neglect" means the commission or omission of any of the acts specified under
103.		clauses (1) to (9), other than by accidental means:
103.	3	(1) failure by a person responsible for a child's care to supply a child with necessary
103.		food, clothing, shelter, health, medical, or other care required for the child's physical or
103.		mental health when reasonably able to do so;
103.		(2) failure to protect a child from conditions or actions that seriously endanger the child's
103.		physical or mental health when reasonably able to do so, including a growth delay, which
103.		may be referred to as a failure to thrive, that has been diagnosed by a physician and is due
103.	.9	to parental neglect;
103.	.10	(3) failure to provide for necessary supervision or child care arrangements appropriate
103.	.11	for a child after considering factors as the child's age, mental ability, physical condition,
103.	.12	length of absence, or environment, when the child is unable to care for the child's own basic
103.	.13	needs or safety, or the basic needs or safety of another child in their care;
103.	.14	(4) failure to ensure that the child is educated as defined in sections 120A.22 and
103.	.15	260C.163, subdivision 11, which does not include a parent's refusal to provide the parent's
103.	.16	child with sympathomimetic medications, consistent with section 125A.091, subdivision
103.	.17	5;
103.	.18	(5) nothing in this section shall be construed to mean that a child is neglected solely
103.	.19	because the child's parent, guardian, or other person responsible for the child's care in good
103.		faith selects and depends upon spiritual means or prayer for treatment or care of disease or
103.		remedial care of the child in lieu of medical care; except that a parent, guardian, or caretaker,
100.		

PAGE R18 REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE

103.22 103.23 103.24 103.25	or a person mandated to report pursuant to subdivision 3, has a duty to report if a lack of medical care may cause serious danger to the child's health. This section does not impose upon persons, not otherwise legally responsible for providing a child with necessary food, clothing, shelter, education, or medical care, a duty to provide that care;
103.26 103.27 103.28 103.29 103.30 103.31	(6) prenatal exposure to a controlled substance, as defined in section 253B.02, subdivision 2, used by the mother for a nonmedical purpose, as evidenced by withdrawal symptoms in the child at birth, results of a toxicology test performed on the mother at delivery or the child at birth, medical effects or developmental delays during the child's first year of life that medically indicate prenatal exposure to a controlled substance, or the presence of a fetal alcohol spectrum disorder;
103.32 104.1 104.2 104.3	<ul><li>(7) "medical neglect" as defined in section 260C.007, subdivision 6, clause (5);</li><li>(8) chronic and severe use of alcohol or a controlled substance by a parent or person responsible for the care of the child that adversely affects the child's basic needs and safety; or</li></ul>
104.4 104.5 104.6 104.7	(9) emotional harm from a pattern of behavior which contributes to impaired emotional functioning of the child which may be demonstrated by a substantial and observable effect in the child's behavior, emotional response, or cognition that is not within the normal range for the child's age and stage of development, with due regard to the child's culture.
104.8 104.9	<ul><li>(h) "Nonmaltreatment mistake" means:</li><li>(1) at the time of the incident, the individual was performing duties identified in the</li></ul>
104.10 104.11 104.12	center's child care program plan required under Minnesota Rules, part 9503.0045;  (2) the individual has not been determined responsible for a similar incident that resulted in a finding of maltreatment for at least seven years;
104.13 104.14	(3) the individual has not been determined to have committed a similar nonmaltreatment mistake under this paragraph for at least four years;
104.15 104.16 104.17	(4) any injury to a child resulting from the incident, if treated, is treated only with remedies that are available over the counter, whether ordered by a medical professional or not; and
104.18 104.19 104.20	(5) except for the period when the incident occurred, the facility and the individual providing services were both in compliance with all licensing requirements relevant to the incident.
104.21 104.22 104.23 104.24	This definition only applies to child care centers licensed under Minnesota Rules, chapter 9503. If clauses (1) to (5) apply, rather than making a determination of substantiated maltreatment by the individual, the commissioner of human services shall determine that a nonmaltreatment mistake was made by the individual.
104.25	(i) "Operator" means an operator or agency as defined in section 245A.02.

PAGE R19 REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE

104.26	(j) "Person responsible for the child's care" means (1) an individual functioning within
104.27	the family unit and having responsibilities for the care of the child such as a parent, guardian,
104.28	or other person having similar care responsibilities, or (2) an individual functioning outside
104.29	the family unit and having responsibilities for the care of the child such as a teacher, school
104.30	administrator, other school employees or agents, or other lawful custodian of a child having
104.31	either full-time or short-term care responsibilities including, but not limited to, day care,
104.32	babysitting whether paid or unpaid, counseling, teaching, and coaching.
105.1	(k) "Physical abuse" means any physical injury, mental injury, or threatened injury,
105.2	inflicted by a person responsible for the child's care on a child other than by accidental
105.3	means, or any physical or mental injury that cannot reasonably be explained by the child's
105.4	history of injuries, or any aversive or deprivation procedures, or regulated interventions,
105.5	that have not been authorized under section 125A.0942 or 245.825.
105.6	Abuse does not include reasonable and moderate physical discipline of a child
105.7	administered by a parent or legal guardian which does not result in an injury. Abuse does
105.8	not include the use of reasonable force by a teacher, principal, or school employee as allowed
105.9	by section 121A.582. Actions which are not reasonable and moderate include, but are not
105.10	limited to, any of the following:
105.11	(1) throwing, kicking, burning, biting, or cutting a child;
105.12	(2) striking a child with a closed fist;
105.13	(3) shaking a child under age three;
105.14	(4) striking or other actions which result in any nonaccidental injury to a child under 18
105.15	months of age;
105.16	(5) unreasonable interference with a child's breathing;
105.17	(6) threatening a child with a weapon, as defined in section 609.02, subdivision 6;
105.18	(7) striking a child under age one on the face or head;
105.19	(8) striking a child who is at least age one but under age four on the face or head, which
105.20	results in an injury;
105.21	(9) purposely giving a child poison, alcohol, or dangerous, harmful, or controlled
105.22	substances which were not prescribed for the child by a practitioner, in order to control or
105.23	punish the child; or other substances that substantially affect the child's behavior, motor
105.24	coordination, or judgment or that results in sickness or internal injury, or subjects the child
105.25	to medical procedures that would be unnecessary if the child were not exposed to the
105.26	substances;
105.27	(10) unreasonable physical confinement or restraint not permitted under section 609.379,
105.27	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
103.28	including out not immed to typing, eaging, or chaining, or

105.29 105.30	(11) in a school facility or school zone, an act by a person responsible for the child's care that is a violation under section 121A.58.
103.30	care that is a violation under section 121A.56.
106.1	(1) "Practice of social services," for the purposes of subdivision 3, includes but is not
106.2	limited to employee assistance counseling and the provision of guardian ad litem and
106.3	parenting time expeditor services.
106.4	(m) "Report" means any communication received by the local welfare agency, police
106.5	department, county sheriff, or agency responsible for child protection pursuant to this section
106.6	that describes neglect or physical or sexual abuse of a child and contains sufficient content
106.7	to identify the child and any person believed to be responsible for the neglect or abuse, if
106.8	known.
106.9	(n) "Sexual abuse" means the subjection of a child by a person responsible for the child's
106.10	• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •
106.11	or by a person in a current or recent position of authority, as defined in section 609.341,
106.12	subdivision 10, to any act which constitutes a violation of section 609.342 (criminal sexual
106.13	$\mathcal{E}$
106.14	(
106.15	$\mathcal{E}$
106.16	. , I
106.17	<b>5</b> , , ,
	reports of known or suspected child sex trafficking involving a child who is identified as a
106.19	victim of sex trafficking. Sexual abuse includes child sex trafficking as defined in section 609.321, subdivisions 7a and 7b. Sexual abuse includes threatened sexual abuse which
106.20	·
106.21	Ī
	(b), or required registration under section 243.166, subdivision 1b, paragraph (a) or (b).
106.24	(o) "Substantial child endangerment" means a person responsible for a child's care, by
106.25	F
106.26	
106.27	(1) egregious harm as defined in section 260C.007, subdivision 14;
106.28	(2) abandonment under section 260C.301, subdivision 2;
106.29	(3) neglect as defined in paragraph (g), clause (2), that substantially endangers the child's
106.30	
106.31	thrive, that has been diagnosed by a physician and is due to parental neglect;
106.32	(4) murder in the first, second, or third degree under section 609.185, 609.19, or 609.195;
106.33	(5) manslaughter in the first or second degree under section 609.20 or 609.205;
107.1	(6) assault in the first, second, or third degree under section 609.221, 609.222, or 609.223;
107.2	(7) solicitation, inducement, and promotion of prostitution under section 609.322;
107.2	(7) sometation, inducement, and promotion of prostitution under section 609.522,

107.3	(8) criminal sexual conduct under sections 609.342 to 609.3451;
107.4	(9) solicitation of children to engage in sexual conduct under section 609.352;
107.5 107.6	(10) malicious punishment or neglect or endangerment of a child under section 609.377 or 609.378;
107.7	(11) use of a minor in sexual performance under section 617.246; or
107.8 107.9	(12) parental behavior, status, or condition which mandates that the county attorney file a termination of parental rights petition under section 260C.503, subdivision 2.
107.10 107.11 107.12 107.13	(p) "Threatened injury" means a statement, overt act, condition, or status that represents a substantial risk of physical or sexual abuse or mental injury. Threatened injury includes, but is not limited to, exposing a child to a person responsible for the child's care, as defined in paragraph (j), clause (1), who has:
107.14 107.15 107.16	(1) subjected a child to, or failed to protect a child from, an overt act or condition that constitutes egregious harm, as defined in section 260C.007, subdivision 14, or a similar law of another jurisdiction;
107.17 107.18	(2) been found to be palpably unfit under section 260C.301, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), clause (4), or a similar law of another jurisdiction;
107.19 107.20	(3) committed an act that has resulted in an involuntary termination of parental rights under section 260C.301, or a similar law of another jurisdiction; or
107.21 107.22 107.23 107.24	(4) committed an act that has resulted in the involuntary transfer of permanent legal and physical custody of a child to a relative under Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 260C.201, subdivision 11, paragraph (d), clause (1), section 260C.515, subdivision 4, or a similar law of another jurisdiction.
107.25 107.26 107.27	A child is the subject of a report of threatened injury when the responsible social services agency receives birth match data under paragraph (q) from the Department of Human Services.
107.28 107.29	(q) Upon receiving data under section 144.225, subdivision 2b, contained in a birth record or recognition of parentage identifying a child who is subject to threatened injury
107.30 107.31	under paragraph (p), the Department of Human Services shall send the data to the responsible social services agency. The data is known as "birth match" data. Unless the responsible
107.32	social services agency has already begun an investigation or assessment of the report due
108.1	to the birth of the child or execution of the recognition of parentage and the parent's previous
108.2	history with child protection, the agency shall accept the birth match data as a report under
108.3	this section. The agency may use either a family assessment or investigation to determine
108.4	whether the child is safe. All of the provisions of this section apply. If the child is determined
108.5 108.6	to be safe, the agency shall consult with the county attorney to determine the appropriateness
108.6	of filing a petition alleging the child is in need of protection or services under section 260C.007, subdivision 6, clause (16), in order to deliver needed services. If the child is
100.7	2000.007, Subdivision 0, clause (10), in order to deriver needed services. If the clind is

108.8	determined not to be safe, the agency and the county attorney shall take appropriate action
108.9	as required under section 260C.503, subdivision 2.
108.10	(r) Persons who conduct assessments or investigations under this section shall take into
108.11	account accepted child-rearing practices of the culture in which a child participates and
108.12	accepted teacher discipline practices, which are not injurious to the child's health, welfare,
108.13	and safety.
108.14	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2019.
108.15	Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 628.26, is amended to read:
108.16	628.26 LIMITATIONS.
108.17	(a) Indictments or complaints for any crime resulting in the death of the victim may be
108.18	found or made at any time after the death of the person killed.
108.19	(b) Indictments or complaints for a violation of section 609.25 may be found or made
108.20	at any time after the commission of the offense.
108.21	(c) Indictments or complaints for violation of section 609.282 may be found or made at
108.22	any time after the commission of the offense if the victim was under the age of 18 at the
108.23	time of the offense.
108.24	(d) Indictments or complaints for violation of section 609.282 where the victim was 18
108.25	years of age or older at the time of the offense, or 609.42, subdivision 1, clause (1) or (2),
108.26	shall be found or made and filed in the proper court within six years after the commission
108.27	of the offense.
100.20	
108.28	(e) Indictments or complaints for violation of sections 609.322 and 609.342 to 609.345,
108.29	if the victim was under the age of 18 years at the time the offense was committed, shall may
108.30	be found or made and filed in the proper court within the later of nine years after the
108.31	commission of the offense or three years after the offense was reported to law enforcement
108.32	authorities at any time after the commission of the offense.
109.1	(f) Notwithstanding the limitations in paragraph (e), indictments or complaints for
109.2	violation of sections 609.322 and 609.342 to 609.344 may be found or made and filed in
109.3	the proper court at any time after commission of the offense, if physical evidence is collected
109.4	and preserved that is capable of being tested for its DNA characteristics. If this evidence is
109.5	not collected and preserved and the victim was 18 years old or older at the time of the
109.6	offense, the prosecution must be commenced within nine years after the commission of the
109.7	offense.
109.8	(g) (f) Indictments or complaints for violation of sections 609.466 and 609.52, subdivision
109.9	2, clause (3), item (iii), shall be found or made and filed in the proper court within six years
109.10	after the commission of the offense.

Senate Language S0802-3

109.11	(h) (g) Indictments or complaints for violation of section 609.2335, 609.52, subdivision
109.12	2, clause (3), items (i) and (ii), (4), (15), or (16), 609.631, or 609.821, where the value of
109.13	the property or services stolen is more than \$35,000, or for violation of section 609.527
109.14	where the offense involves eight or more direct victims or the total combined loss to the
109.15	direct and indirect victims is more than \$35,000, shall be found or made and filed in the
109.16	proper court within five years after the commission of the offense.
109.17	(i) (h) Except for violations relating to false material statements, representations or
109.17	omissions, indictments or complaints for violations of section 609.671 shall be found or
109.19	made and filed in the proper court within five years after the commission of the offense.
107.17	made and med in the proper court within five years after the commission of the offense.
109.20	(i) Indictments or complaints for violation of sections 609.561 to 609.563, shall be
109.21	found or made and filed in the proper court within five years after the commission of the
109.22	offense.
109.23	(k) (j) In all other cases, indictments or complaints shall be found or made and filed in
109.24	the proper court within three years after the commission of the offense.
	•
109.25	$\frac{(1)}{(k)}$ The limitations periods contained in this section shall exclude any period of time
109.26	during which the defendant was not an inhabitant of or usually resident within this state.
109.27	(m) (l) The limitations periods contained in this section for an offense shall not include
109.28	any period during which the alleged offender participated under a written agreement in a
109.29	pretrial diversion program relating to that offense.
109.30	(n) (m) The limitations periods contained in this section shall not include any period of
109.31	time during which physical evidence relating to the offense was undergoing DNA analysis,
109.32	as defined in section 299C.155, unless the defendant demonstrates that the prosecuting or
110.1	law enforcement agency purposefully delayed the DNA analysis process in order to gain
110.2	an unfair advantage.
110.3	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to crimes
110.4	committed on or after that date and to crimes committed before that date if the limitations
110.5	period for the crime did not expire before August 1, 2019.
110.6	Sec. 22. SENTENCING GUIDELINES MODIFICATION.
110.7	
110.7	The Sentencing Guidelines Commission shall comprehensively review and consider
110.8	modifying how the Sentencing Guidelines and the sex offender grid address the crimes
110.9	described in Minnesota Statutes, sections 617.246 and 617.247, as compared to similar
110.10	crimes, including other sex offenses and other offenses with similar maximum penalties.
110.11	Sec. 23. CRIMINAL SEXUAL CONDUCT STATUTORY REFORM WORKING
110.12	GROUP; REPORT.
110.13	Subdivision 1. <b>Direction.</b> By September 1, 2019, the commissioner of public safety
110.13	shall convene a working group on criminal sexual conduct statutory reform. The
110.14	shan convene a working group on criminal sexual conduct statutory reform. The

commissioner shall invite representatives from city and county prosecuting agencies,

31.6	Sec. 16. SENTENCING GUIDELINES MODIFICATION.

The Sentencing Guidelines Commission shall comprehensively review and consider modifying how the Sentencing Guidelines and the sex offender grid address the crimes described in Minnesota Statutes, sections 617.246 and 617.247, as compared to similar crimes, including other sex offenses and other offenses with similar maximum penalties.

10.16	statewide crime victim coalitions, the Minnesota judicial branch, the Minnesota Board of
10.17	Public Defense, the Department of Public Safety, the Department of Human Services, the
10.18	Sentencing Guidelines Commission, state and local law enforcement agencies, and other
10.19	28 - F
10.20	the working group is inclusive of marginalized communities as well as victim and survivor
10.21	voices.
10.22	Subd. 2. <b>Duties.</b> The working group must review, assess, and make specific
10.23	recommendations with regard to substantive and technical amendments to Minnesota Statutes,
10.24	sections 609.341 to 609.3451, 609.3453 to 609.3455, 609.349, 628.26, and any other related
10.25	criminal laws.
10.26	Subd. 3. <b>Report to legislature.</b> The commissioner shall file a report detailing the working
10.27	group's findings and recommendations with the chairs and ranking minority members of
10.28	the house of representatives and senate committees and divisions having jurisdiction over
10.29	public safety and judiciary policy and finance by October 15, 2020.
10.30	Sec. 24. REPEALER.
10.31	Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609.349, is repealed.
11.1	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective the day following final enactment.