
132.1 ARTICLE 8​

132.2 VEHICLE OPERATIONS​

132.3 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 168.1294, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

132.4 Subd. 6. Contributions; memorial account; appropriation. Contributions collected​
132.5 under subdivision 1, clause (4), must be deposited in the Minnesota law enforcement​
132.6 memorial account, which is established in the special revenue fund. Money in the account​
132.7 is appropriated to the commissioner of public safety. This appropriation is first for the annual​
132.8 cost of administering the account funds, and the remaining funds are for distribution to the​
132.9 Minnesota Law Enforcement Memorial Association, to be used. By August 1 of each year,​
132.10 the commissioner must distribute all funds remaining to the association. The association​
132.11 must use the funds to further the mission of the association in assisting the families and​
132.12 home agencies of Minnesota law enforcement officers who have died in the line of duty.​
132.13 By August 15 of each year, the association must report to the commissioner of public safety​
132.14 and to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction​
132.15 over transportation policy and finance. The report must include an itemized list of each​
132.16 expenditure the association made with the funds received under this section.​

132.17 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2019.​

132.18 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.92, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

132.19 Subd. 4. Suspension of driver's license. (a) Upon receiving a report from the court, or​
132.20 from the driver licensing authority of a state, district, territory, or possession of the United​
132.21 States or a province of a foreign country which has an agreement in effect with this state​
132.22 pursuant to section 169.91, that a resident of this state or a person licensed as a driver in​
132.23 this state did not appear in court in compliance with the terms of a citation, the commissioner​
132.24 of public safety shall notify the driver that the driver's license will be suspended unless the​
132.25 commissioner receives notice within 30 days that the driver has appeared in the appropriate​
132.26 court or, if the offense is a petty misdemeanor for which a guilty plea was entered under​
132.27 section 609.491, that the person has paid any fine imposed by the court. If the commissioner​
132.28 does not receive notice of the appearance in the appropriate court or payment of the fine​
132.29 within 30 days of the date of the commissioner's notice to the driver, the commissioner may​
132.30 suspend the driver's license, subject to the notice requirements of section 171.18, subdivision​
132.31 2. Notwithstanding the requirements in this section, the commissioner is prohibited from​
132.32 suspending the driver's license of a person based solely on the fact that the person did not​
132.33 appear in court (1) in compliance with the terms of a citation for a petty misdemeanor, or​
132.34 (2) for a violation of section 171.24, subdivision 1.​

133.1 (b) The order of suspension shall indicate the reason for the order and shall notify the​
133.2 driver that the driver's license shall remain remains suspended until the driver has furnished​
133.3 evidence, satisfactory to the commissioner, of compliance with any order entered by the​
133.4 court.​
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133.5 (c) Suspension shall be ordered under this subdivision only when the report clearly​
133.6 identifies the person arrested; describes the violation, specifying the section of the traffic​
133.7 law, ordinance or rule violated; indicates the location and date of the offense; and describes​
133.8 the vehicle involved and its registration number.​

133.9 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 171.16, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

133.10 Subd. 2. Commissioner shall suspend. (a) The court may recommend the suspension​
133.11 of the driver's license of the person so convicted, and the commissioner shall suspend such​
133.12 license as recommended by the court, without a hearing as provided herein.​

133.13 (b) The commissioner is prohibited from suspending a person's driver's license if the​
133.14 person was convicted only under section 171.24, subdivision 1 or 2.​

133.15 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 171.16, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

133.16 Subd. 3. Suspension for Failure to pay fine. When any court reports to The​
133.17 commissioner must not suspend a person's driver's license based solely on the fact that a​
133.18 person: (1) has been convicted of violating a law of this state or an ordinance of a political​
133.19 subdivision which regulates the operation or parking of motor vehicles, (2) has been​
133.20 sentenced to the payment of a fine or had a surcharge levied against that person, or sentenced​
133.21 to a fine upon which a surcharge was levied, and (3) has refused or failed to comply with​
133.22 that sentence or to pay the surcharge, notwithstanding the fact that the court has determined​
133.23 that the person has the ability to pay the fine or surcharge, the commissioner shall suspend​
133.24 the driver's license of such person for 30 days for a refusal or failure to pay or until notified​
133.25 by the court that the fine or surcharge, or both if a fine and surcharge were not paid, has​
133.26 been paid.​

133.27 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 171.18, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

133.28 Subdivision 1. Offenses. (a) The commissioner may suspend the license of a driver​
133.29 without preliminary hearing upon a showing by department records or other sufficient​
133.30 evidence that the licensee:​

133.31 (1) has committed an offense for which mandatory revocation of license is required upon​
133.32 conviction;​

134.1 (2) has been convicted by a court for violating a provision of chapter 169 or an ordinance​
134.2 regulating traffic, other than a conviction for a petty misdemeanor, and department records​
134.3 show that the violation contributed in causing an accident resulting in the death or personal​
134.4 injury of another, or serious property damage;​

134.5 (3) is an habitually reckless or negligent driver of a motor vehicle;​

134.6 (4) is an habitual violator of the traffic laws;​

134.7 (5) is incompetent to drive a motor vehicle as determined in a judicial proceeding;​

134.8 (6) has permitted an unlawful or fraudulent use of the license;​
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134.9 (7) has committed an offense in another state that, if committed in this state, would be​
134.10 grounds for suspension;​

134.11 (8) has committed a violation of section 169.444, subdivision 2, paragraph (a), within​
134.12 five years of a prior conviction under that section;​

134.13 (9) has committed a violation of section 171.22, except that the commissioner may not​
134.14 suspend a person's driver's license based solely on the fact that the person possessed a​
134.15 fictitious or fraudulently altered Minnesota identification card;​

134.16 (10) has failed to appear in court as provided in section 169.92, subdivision 4;​

134.17 (11) has failed to report a medical condition that, if reported, would have resulted in​
134.18 cancellation of driving privileges;​

134.19 (12) has been found to have committed an offense under section 169A.33; or​

134.20 (13) has paid or attempted to pay a fee required under this chapter for a license or permit​
134.21 by means of a dishonored check issued to the state or a driver's license agent, which must​
134.22 be continued until the registrar determines or is informed by the agent that the dishonored​
134.23 check has been paid in full.​

134.24 However, an action taken by the commissioner under clause (2) or (5) must conform to the​
134.25 recommendation of the court when made in connection with the prosecution of the licensee.​

134.26 (b) The commissioner may not suspend is prohibited from suspending the driver's license​
134.27 of an individual under paragraph (a) who was convicted of a violation of section 171.24,​
134.28 subdivision 1, whose license was under suspension at the time solely because of the​
134.29 individual's failure to appear in court or failure to pay a fine or 2.​

135.1 Sec. 6. [171.2405] LICENSE REINSTATEMENT DIVERSION PROGRAM.​

135.2 Subdivision 1. Establishment. (a) A city or county may establish a license reinstatement​
135.3 diversion program for holders of class D drivers' licenses who have been charged with​
135.4 violating section 171.24, subdivision 1 or 2. An individual charged with driving after​
135.5 revocation under section 171.24, subdivision 2, is eligible for diversion only if the revocation​
135.6 was due to a violation of section 169.791; 169.797; 169A.52; 169A.54; 171.17, subdivision​
135.7 1, paragraph (a), clause (6); or 171.177. An individual who is a holder of a commercial​
135.8 driver's license or who has committed an offense in a commercial motor vehicle is not​
135.9 eligible to participate in the diversion program. Nothing in this section authorizes the issuance​
135.10 of a driver's license to a diversion program participant during the underlying suspension or​
135.11 revocation period at issue in the violation of section 171.24, subdivision 1 or 2.​

135.12 (b) Notwithstanding any law or ordinance to the contrary, a city or county may contract​
135.13 with a third party to create and administer the diversion program under this section. Any​
135.14 participating city or county, at its own expense, may request an audit of the administrator.​
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135.15 (c) For purposes of this section, "administrator" means the city, county, or administrator​
135.16 of the program.​

135.17 Subd. 2. Diversion of an individual. (a) A prosecutor for a participating city or county​
135.18 may determine whether to accept an individual for diversion. When making the determination,​
135.19 the prosecutor must consider:​

135.20 (1) whether the individual has a record of driving without a valid license or other criminal​
135.21 record, or has previously participated in a diversion program;​

135.22 (2) the strength of the evidence against the individual, along with any mitigating factors;​
135.23 and​

135.24 (3) the apparent ability and willingness of the individual to participate in the diversion​
135.25 program and comply with program requirements.​

135.26 (b) A city or county attorney may request that an individual be reviewed for a diversion​
135.27 program without a formal city or county diversion program being established. The city or​
135.28 county attorney must follow the requirements of subdivisions 1 and 2 and may submit the​
135.29 individual's application to an administrator for processing in collaboration with DVS to​
135.30 determine if an individual is eligible for approval into the diversion program. The participant​
135.31 must meet the requirements in subdivision 4.​

136.1 (c) A judge may submit a request for an individual to apply for entry into a diversion​
136.2 program under subdivisions 1 and 2. The participant must meet the requirements in​
136.3 subdivision 4.​

136.4 Subd. 3. Diversion driver's license. (a) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, the​
136.5 commissioner may issue a diversion driver's license to a person who is a participant in a​
136.6 diversion program, after receiving an application and payment of:​

136.7 (1) the reinstatement fee under section 171.20, subdivision 4, by a participant whose​
136.8 driver's license has been suspended;​

136.9 (2) the reinstatement fee under section 171.29, subdivision 2, paragraph (a), by a​
136.10 participant whose driver's license has been revoked under section 169.791; 169.797; or​
136.11 171.17, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (6); or​

136.12 (3) the reinstatement fee under section 171.29, subdivision 2, paragraph (a), by a​
136.13 participant whose driver's license has been revoked under section 169A.52, 169A.54, or​
136.14 171.177. The reinstatement fee and surcharge under section 171.29, subdivision 2, paragraph​
136.15 (b), must also be paid during the course of and as a condition of the diversion program.​

136.16 (b) The commissioner may impose restrictions on a diversion driver's license that are​
136.17 suitable to the licensee's driving ability or applicable to the licensee as the commissioner​
136.18 deems appropriate to ensure the safe operation of a motor vehicle by the licensee. The​
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136.19 participant must follow all requirements of this section, the requirements set out by DVS​
136.20 and court restrictions.​

136.21 (c) Payments made by participants in the diversion program of the reinstatement fee and​
136.22 surcharge under section 171.29, subdivision 2, paragraph (b), must be applied first toward​
136.23 payment of the reinstatement fee and, after the reinstatement fee has been fully paid, toward​
136.24 payment of the surcharge. Each payment that is applied toward the reinstatement fee must​
136.25 be credited as provided in section 171.29, subdivision 2, paragraph (b), and each payment​
136.26 that is applied toward the surcharge must be credited as provided in section 171.29,​
136.27 subdivision 2, paragraphs (c) and (d). After the reinstatement fee and surcharge are satisfied,​
136.28 the participant must pay the program participation fee.​

136.29 (d) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, a diversion driver's license issued to a​
136.30 participant in the program must not be revoked or suspended for convictions entered due​
136.31 to payments made under subdivision 4.​

136.32 Subd. 4. Program components. (a) At a minimum, the diversion program must require​
136.33 individuals to:​

137.1 (1) successfully attend and complete, at the individual's expense, educational classes​
137.2 that provide, among other things, information on driver's licensure;​

137.3 (2) pay to the administrator, under a schedule approved by the prosecutor, all required​
137.4 related fees, fines, and charges, including applicable statutory license reinstatement fees​
137.5 and costs of participation in the program;​

137.6 (3) comply with all traffic laws; and​

137.7 (4) demonstrate compliance with motor vehicle insurance requirements.​

137.8 (b) Individuals whose underlying citations cost less than $250 shall receive a 60 percent​
137.9 discount on the diversion program fee. Individuals whose underlying citations cost $250 to​
137.10 $500 shall receive a 40 percent discount on the diversion program fee.​

137.11 Subd. 5. Termination of participation; reinstatement of driver's license. (a) An​
137.12 individual's participation in the diversion program must be terminated if:​

137.13 (1) the individual is found guilty of a moving traffic violation;​

137.14 (2) the individual fails to provide proof of vehicle insurance; or​

137.15 (3) the administrator of the diversion program informs the commissioner that the​
137.16 individual is no longer satisfying the conditions of the diversion program.​

137.17 (b) The commissioner must cancel an individual's diversion driver's license upon receiving​
137.18 notice from the administrator that the individual is not complying with the requirements of​
137.19 the program.​
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137.20 (c) The original charge against the individual of a violation of section 171.24 may be​
137.21 reinstated against an individual whose participation in the diversion program terminates​
137.22 under paragraph (a), clause (1) or (2).​

137.23 (d) If an individual satisfies all requirements of the diversion program, including, at a​
137.24 minimum, satisfactory fulfillment of the components under subdivision 4, the administrator​
137.25 must inform the court, the prosecutor, and the commissioner of the individual's satisfactory​
137.26 completion of the diversion program.​

137.27 (e) Upon receiving notice under paragraph (d), the commissioner must reinstate the​
137.28 individual's driver's license.​

137.29 (f) Upon receiving notice under paragraph (d), the court must dismiss the charge or the​
137.30 prosecutor must decline to prosecute the individual.​

138.1 Subd. 6. Fees held on termination of participant. (a) Upon termination of the participant​
138.2 in the program under subdivision 5, where there are any held funds and only after the​
138.3 administrator has made payouts on citations and fees, the third-party administrator shall​
138.4 hold remaining participant fees for 12 months from the date of termination under subdivision​
138.5 5, paragraph (a), clause (1) or (2).​

138.6 (b) A participant who meets DVS requirements to re-enter the diversion program may​
138.7 use held funds to pay fees to be reinstated into the program.​

138.8 (c) After 12 months, the administrator shall retain the funds for the work performed​
138.9 during the participant's enrollment period, prior to the participant's termination date in the​
138.10 diversion program.​

138.11 Subd. 7. Biennial report. (a) By February 1 of each even-numbered year, the​
138.12 administrator must report on each city and county that participated in the diversion program​
138.13 and provide a report to each participating city and county, the commissioner, and the​
138.14 legislative committees with jurisdiction over transportation and the judiciary concerning​
138.15 the results of the program. The report must be made available electronically and, upon​
138.16 request, in print. The report must include, without limitation, the effect of the program on:​

138.17 (1) recidivism rates for participants in the diversion program;​

138.18 (2) the number of participants who successfully completed the program;​

138.19 (3) the amount charged to individuals for program fees;​

138.20 (4) payment of the fees and fines collected in the diversion program to cities, counties,​
138.21 and the state;​

138.22 (5) the total amount of money collected from participants in the program;​

138.23 (6) the total amount of money, by category, paid or applied to reinstatement;​
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138.24 (7) educational support provided to participants in the diversion program;​

138.25 (8) the total number of participants in the diversion program;​

138.26 (9) the total number of participants terminated from the program under subdivision 5,​
138.27 paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (3);​

138.28 (10) the reimbursement policy for all payments listed under clause (4); and​

138.29 (11) the amount of all payments listed under clause (4) retained from participants who​
138.30 were terminated from the program.​

139.1 (b) The report must include all recommendations made by cities or counties regarding​
139.2 the future of the program and any necessary or suggested legislative changes.​

139.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2019. A city or county participating​
139.4 in the diversion program may accept an individual into the program until June 30, 2019.​
139.5 The third party administering the diversion program may collect and disperse fees collected​
139.6 pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 171.2405, subdivision 6, paragraph (a), clause (2),​
139.7 through June 30, 2019.​

139.8 Sec. 7. [171.325] DRIVER'S LICENSE SUSPENSIONS AND REVOCATIONS;​
139.9 REPORTS.​

139.10 Subdivision 1. Issuance, suspensions, and revocations. (a) Annually by February 15,​
139.11 the commissioner of public safety must report to the chairs and ranking minority members​
139.12 of the house of representatives and senate committees and divisions with jurisdiction over​
139.13 public safety and transportation on the status of driver's licenses issued, suspended, and​
139.14 revoked. The commissioner must make the report available on the department's website.​

139.15 (b) At a minimum, the report must include:​

139.16 (1) the total number of driver's licenses issued, suspended, and revoked as of January 1​
139.17 the year the report is submitted, broken down by county;​

139.18 (2) for each of the previous eight calendar years, the total number of driver's licenses​
139.19 suspended and the number of suspended licenses reinstated; and​

139.20 (3) for each of the previous eight calendar years, the total number of driver's licenses​
139.21 revoked and the number of revoked licenses reinstated.​

139.22 (c) For purposes of paragraph (b), clauses (1), (2), and (3), the report must identify each​
139.23 type of suspension or revocation authorized by statute or rule and include the number of​
139.24 licenses suspended or revoked for each type.​

139.25 Subd. 2. Charges, convictions, and fines. (a) Annually by February 15, the state court​
139.26 administrator must report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the house of​
139.27 representatives and senate committees and divisions with jurisdiction over public safety​
139.28 and transportation on (1) charges and convictions for driving after suspension or revocation,​
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139.29 and (2) payment of fines for violations related to operation of a motor vehicle. The​
139.30 administrator must make the report available on the state court's website.​

139.31 (b) At a minimum, the report must include:​

140.1 (1) for each of the previous eight calendar years, the number of charges under section​
140.2 171.24, subdivisions 1 and 2, broken down by the charges for each subdivision and indicating​
140.3 whether the court appointed the public defender to represent the defendant;​

140.4 (2) for each of the previous eight calendar years, the number of convictions under section​
140.5 171.24, subdivisions 1 and 2, broken down by the convictions for each subdivision and​
140.6 indicating whether the court appointed the public defender to represent the defendant; and​

140.7 (3) for the past calendar year, for all charges on violations related to the operation of a​
140.8 motor vehicle and included on the uniform fine schedule authorized under section 609.101,​
140.9 subdivision 4, the percentage of fines, broken down by whether the court appointed the​
140.10 public defender to represent the defendant, which:​

140.11 (i) were paid in full by the due date on the citation;​

140.12 (ii) were paid in full through a payment plan;​

140.13 (iii) accrued late charges;​

140.14 (iv) were sent to court collections; and​

140.15 (v) were sent to the Department of Revenue for collection.​

140.16 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 299A.12, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

140.17 Subdivision 1. General requirements. Except as provided in subdivision 4, Any vehicle​
140.18 used by an operator to provide transportation service shall must be equipped with wheelchair​
140.19 securement devices which are approved by the commissioner of public safety as meeting​
140.20 that meet the specifications of subdivisions 1 and 2. Only securement devices that meet the​
140.21 requirements of the Americans with Disabilities Act may be used. A wheelchair securement​
140.22 device shall prevent any forward, backward, or lateral movement of an occupied wheelchair​
140.23 when the device is engaged and the vehicle is in motion, accelerating or braking, and shall​
140.24 attach to the frame of the wheelchair without damaging it must be installed and used​
140.25 according to the manufacturer's instructions and Code of Federal Regulations, title 49,​
140.26 section 38.23. Wheelchair securement devices installed in any vehicle shall must be​
140.27 maintained in working order and according to the manufacturer's recommendations.​

140.28 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 299A.12, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

140.29 Subd. 2. Strength Design requirements. The strength design requirements for securing​
140.30 the part of a wheelchair that is forward in the vehicle shall be one-half of those required for​
140.31 the rear. Where the wheelchair securement device and the seat belt are combined in a​
141.1 common system, those parts which provide the combined restraining force shall have a​
141.2 combined strength of both according to the strength requirements of each as adopted by the​
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141.3 commissioner of public safety securement devices must meet the specifications in Code of​
141.4 Federal Regulations, title 49, section 38.23.​

141.5 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 299A.12, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

141.6 Subd. 3. Maximum number of persons transported. A vehicle used to provide​
141.7 transportation service shall must carry only as many persons seated in wheelchairs as the​
141.8 number of securement devices approved by the commissioner of public safety as meeting​
141.9 the specifications of subdivisions 1 and 2 with which the vehicle is equipped, and each​
141.10 occupied wheelchair shall must be secured by such a securement device before the vehicle​
141.11 is set in motion.​

141.12 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 299A.13, is amended to read:​

141.13 299A.13 ADDITIONAL SAFETY REQUIREMENTS.​

141.14 Subdivision 1. Seat belt. Any vehicle used to provide transportation service shall must​
141.15 be equipped with seat belts which that are approved by the commissioner of public safety.​
141.16 The seat belts required by this subdivision shall must be adequate to secure the occupant​
141.17 of a wheelchair who is being transported by the vehicle. These The seat belts shall must be​
141.18 used only to secure the person and shall must not be used to secure the wheelchair unless​
141.19 the wheelchair securement force is not cumulative to the seat belt. The seat belts shall must​
141.20 meet all other applicable state and federal requirements for safety.​

141.21 Subd. 2. Electric wheelchair. When transportation service is provided to an individual​
141.22 in an electrically powered wheelchair, the main power switch of the wheelchair shall must​
141.23 be placed in the "off" position at all times while the vehicle is in motion.​

141.24 Subd. 3. Mobility aid accessibility. (a) Vehicles equipped with wheelchair securement​
141.25 devices must provide a level-change mechanism or boarding device such as a lift or ramp​
141.26 that complies with Code of Federal Regulations, title 49, section 38.23.​

141.27 (b) Wheelchair lifts must comply with the National Highway Traffic Safety​
141.28 Administration's Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards for public use lifts as outlined in​
141.29 Code of Federal Regulations, title 49, sections 571.403 and 571.404.​

141.30 Subd. 4. Driver's responsibility. (a) The driver of a vehicle equipped with a wheelchair​
141.31 securement device has the duties outlined in this subdivision.​

142.1 (b) The driver or a person designated by the driver shall ensure that an occupied​
142.2 wheelchair is properly secured before the driver sets the vehicle in motion.​

142.3 (c) The driver or a person designated by the driver shall ensure that the seat belt assembly​
142.4 is properly adjusted and fastened around the wheelchair user in a manner consistent with​
142.5 the manufacturer's recommendations before the driver sets the vehicle in motion when:​

142.6 (1) requested by the wheelchair user;​
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142.7 (2) the wheelchair user is unable to communicate;​

142.8 (3) seat belt usage is required of all passengers in the vehicle; or​

142.9 (4) the vehicle is a school bus.​

142.10 The seat belt assembly must not be fastened if the wheelchair user or other responsible​
142.11 person advises the driver that to do so would aggravate a physical condition of the wheelchair​
142.12 user. If a restraint device is available that would not aggravate the physical condition of the​
142.13 user, it must be fastened in the required manner.​

142.14 (d) The driver or a person designated by the driver shall ensure that securement devices​
142.15 and seat belt assemblies are retracted, removed, or otherwise stored when not in use to​
142.16 prevent tripping of persons and damage to devices.​

142.17 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 299A.14, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

142.18 Subd. 3. Standards. The inspection shall be made to determine that the vehicle complies​
142.19 with the provisions of sections 299A.12, subdivisions 1 and 4, and 299A.13, subdivision​
142.20 1; and that the securement device is and level-change mechanism or boarding device such​
142.21 as a lift or ramp are in working order; and that the securement device is not in need of​
142.22 obvious repair. The inspection may include testing the use of a securement device while​
142.23 the vehicle is in motion.​

142.24 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 480.15, is amended by adding a subdivision to​
142.25 read:​

142.26 Subd. 8a. Motor vehicle charges and conviction data; report. The court administrator​
142.27 shall collect, compile, and report the data on (1) charges and convictions for driving after​
142.28 suspension or revocation, and (2) payment of fines for violations related to operation of a​
142.29 motor vehicle, as required under section 171.325.​

143.1 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609.2112, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

143.2 Subdivision 1. Criminal vehicular homicide. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b),​
143.3 a person is guilty of criminal vehicular homicide and may be sentenced to imprisonment​
143.4 for not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of not more than $20,000, or both, if the​
143.5 person causes the death of a human being not constituting murder or manslaughter as a​
143.6 result of operating a motor vehicle:​

143.7 (1) in a grossly negligent manner;​

143.8 (2) in a negligent manner while under the influence of:​

143.9 (i) alcohol;​

143.10 (ii) a controlled substance; or​

143.11 (iii) any combination of those elements;​
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143.12 (3) while having an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more;​

143.13 (4) while having an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more, as measured within two hours​
143.14 of the time of driving;​

143.15 (5) in a negligent manner while under the influence of an intoxicating substance and the​
143.16 person knows or has reason to know that the substance has the capacity to cause impairment;​

143.17 (6) in a negligent manner while any amount of a controlled substance listed in Schedule​
143.18 I or II, or its metabolite, other than marijuana or tetrahydrocannabinols, is present in the​
143.19 person's body;​

143.20 (7) where the driver who causes the collision leaves the scene of the collision in violation​
143.21 of section 169.09, subdivision 1 or 6; or​

143.22 (8) where the driver had actual knowledge that a peace officer had previously issued a​
143.23 citation or warning that the motor vehicle was defectively maintained, the driver had actual​
143.24 knowledge that remedial action was not taken, the driver had reason to know that the defect​
143.25 created a present danger to others, and the death was caused by the defective maintenance.;​

143.26 (9) in a negligent manner while the driver is in violation of section 169.475; or​

143.27 (10) in a negligent manner while the person's driver's license or driving privilege has​
143.28 been suspended, revoked, or canceled or the person has been disqualified from holding a​
143.29 commercial driver's license or been denied the privilege to operate a commercial motor​
143.30 vehicle pursuant to:​

144.1 (i) section 169.89, subdivision 5; 169A.52; 169A.54; 171.05, subdivision 2b, paragraph​
144.2 (d); 171.13, subdivision 3 or 4; 171.17, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (1) or (10);​
144.3 171.177; 171.18, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (2), (3), (4), (5), or (11); 171.32; or​
144.4 260B.225, subdivision 9; or a violation of section 169.13; 169.21; 169.444; 609.19,​
144.5 subdivision 1, clause (2); or 609.487, subdivisions 3 to 5; or any violation of chapter 169A;​
144.6 or​

144.7 (ii) a law from another state similar to those described in item (i).​

144.8 (b) If a person is sentenced under paragraph (a) for a violation under paragraph (a),​
144.9 clauses (2) to (6), occurring within ten years of a qualified prior driving offense, the statutory​
144.10 maximum sentence of imprisonment is 15 years.​

144.11 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to crimes​
144.12 committed on or after that date.​

144.13 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609.2113, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

144.14 Subdivision 1. Great bodily harm. A person is guilty of criminal vehicular operation​
144.15 resulting in great bodily harm and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five​
144.16 years or to payment of a fine of not more than $10,000, or both, if the person causes great​
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144.17 bodily harm to another not constituting attempted murder or assault as a result of operating​
144.18 a motor vehicle:​

144.19 (1) in a grossly negligent manner;​

144.20 (2) in a negligent manner while under the influence of:​

144.21 (i) alcohol;​

144.22 (ii) a controlled substance; or​

144.23 (iii) any combination of those elements;​

144.24 (3) while having an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more;​

144.25 (4) while having an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more, as measured within two hours​
144.26 of the time of driving;​

144.27 (5) in a negligent manner while under the influence of an intoxicating substance and the​
144.28 person knows or has reason to know that the substance has the capacity to cause impairment;​

144.29 (6) in a negligent manner while any amount of a controlled substance listed in Schedule​
144.30 I or II, or its metabolite, other than marijuana or tetrahydrocannabinols, is present in the​
144.31 person's body;​

145.1 (7) where the driver who causes the accident leaves the scene of the accident in violation​
145.2 of section 169.09, subdivision 1 or 6; or​

145.3 (8) where the driver had actual knowledge that a peace officer had previously issued a​
145.4 citation or warning that the motor vehicle was defectively maintained, the driver had actual​
145.5 knowledge that remedial action was not taken, the driver had reason to know that the defect​
145.6 created a present danger to others, and the injury was caused by the defective maintenance.;​

145.7 (9) in a negligent manner while the driver is in violation of section 169.475; or​

145.8 (10) in a negligent manner while the person's driver's license or driving privilege has​
145.9 been suspended, revoked, or canceled or the person has been disqualified from holding a​
145.10 commercial driver's license or been denied the privilege to operate a commercial motor​
145.11 vehicle pursuant to:​

145.12 (i) section 169.89, subdivision 5; 169A.52; 169A.54; 171.05, subdivision 2b, paragraph​
145.13 (d); 171.13, subdivision 3 or 4; 171.17, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (1) or (10);​
145.14 171.177; 171.18, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (2), (3), (4), (5), or (11); 171.32; or​
145.15 260B.225, subdivision 9; or a violation of section 169.13; 169.21; 169.444; 609.19,​
145.16 subdivision 1, clause (2); or 609.487, subdivisions 3 to 5; or any violation of chapter 169A;​
145.17 or​

145.18 (ii) a law from another state similar to those described in item (i).​
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145.19 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to crimes​
145.20 committed on or after that date.​

145.21 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609.2113, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

145.22 Subd. 2. Substantial bodily harm. A person is guilty of criminal vehicular operation​
145.23 resulting in substantial bodily harm and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more​
145.24 than three years or to payment of a fine of not more than $10,000, or both, if the person​
145.25 causes substantial bodily harm to another as a result of operating a motor vehicle:​

145.26 (1) in a grossly negligent manner;​

145.27 (2) in a negligent manner while under the influence of:​

145.28 (i) alcohol;​

145.29 (ii) a controlled substance; or​

145.30 (iii) any combination of those elements;​

145.31 (3) while having an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more;​

146.1 (4) while having an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more, as measured within two hours​
146.2 of the time of driving;​

146.3 (5) in a negligent manner while under the influence of an intoxicating substance and the​
146.4 person knows or has reason to know that the substance has the capacity to cause impairment;​

146.5 (6) in a negligent manner while any amount of a controlled substance listed in Schedule​
146.6 I or II, or its metabolite, other than marijuana or tetrahydrocannabinols, is present in the​
146.7 person's body;​

146.8 (7) where the driver who causes the accident leaves the scene of the accident in violation​
146.9 of section 169.09, subdivision 1 or 6; or​

146.10 (8) where the driver had actual knowledge that a peace officer had previously issued a​
146.11 citation or warning that the motor vehicle was defectively maintained, the driver had actual​
146.12 knowledge that remedial action was not taken, the driver had reason to know that the defect​
146.13 created a present danger to others, and the injury was caused by the defective maintenance.;​

146.14 (9) in a negligent manner while the driver is in violation of section 169.475; or​

146.15 (10) in a negligent manner while the person's driver's license or driving privilege has​
146.16 been suspended, revoked, or canceled or the person has been disqualified from holding a​
146.17 commercial driver's license or been denied the privilege to operate a commercial motor​
146.18 vehicle pursuant to:​

146.19 (i) section 169.89, subdivision 5; 169A.52; 169A.54; 171.05, subdivision 2b, paragraph​
146.20 (d); 171.13, subdivision 3 or 4; 171.17, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (1) or (10);​
146.21 171.177; 171.18, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (2), (3), (4), (5), or (11); 171.32; or​
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146.22 260B.225, subdivision 9; or a violation of section 169.13; 169.21; 169.444; 609.19,​
146.23 subdivision 1, clause (2); or 609.487, subdivisions 3 to 5; or any violation of chapter 169A;​
146.24 or​

146.25 (ii) a law from another state similar to those described in item (i).​

146.26 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to crimes​
146.27 committed on or after that date.​

146.28 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609.2113, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

146.29 Subd. 3. Bodily harm. A person is guilty of criminal vehicular operation resulting in​
146.30 bodily harm and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than one year or to payment​
146.31 of a fine of not more than $3,000, or both, if the person causes bodily harm to another as a​
146.32 result of operating a motor vehicle:​

147.1 (1) in a grossly negligent manner;​

147.2 (2) in a negligent manner while under the influence of:​

147.3 (i) alcohol;​

147.4 (ii) a controlled substance; or​

147.5 (iii) any combination of those elements;​

147.6 (3) while having an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more;​

147.7 (4) while having an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more, as measured within two hours​
147.8 of the time of driving;​

147.9 (5) in a negligent manner while under the influence of an intoxicating substance and the​
147.10 person knows or has reason to know that the substance has the capacity to cause impairment;​

147.11 (6) in a negligent manner while any amount of a controlled substance listed in Schedule​
147.12 I or II, or its metabolite, other than marijuana or tetrahydrocannabinols, is present in the​
147.13 person's body;​

147.14 (7) where the driver who causes the accident leaves the scene of the accident in violation​
147.15 of section 169.09, subdivision 1 or 6; or​

147.16 (8) where the driver had actual knowledge that a peace officer had previously issued a​
147.17 citation or warning that the motor vehicle was defectively maintained, the driver had actual​
147.18 knowledge that remedial action was not taken, the driver had reason to know that the defect​
147.19 created a present danger to others, and the injury was caused by the defective maintenance.;​

147.20 (9) in a negligent manner while the driver is in violation of section 169.475; or​

147.21 (10) in a negligent manner while the person's driver's license or driving privilege has​
147.22 been suspended, revoked, or canceled or the person has been disqualified from holding a​
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147.23 commercial driver's license or been denied the privilege to operate a commercial motor​
147.24 vehicle pursuant to:​

147.25 (i) section 169.89, subdivision 5; 169A.52; 169A.54; 171.05, subdivision 2b, paragraph​
147.26 (d); 171.13, subdivision 3 or 4; 171.17, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (1) or (10);​
147.27 171.177; 171.18, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (2), (3), (4), (5), or (11); 171.32; or​
147.28 260B.225, subdivision 9; or a violation of section 169.13; 169.21; 169.444; 609.19,​
147.29 subdivision 1, clause (2); or 609.487, subdivisions 3 to 5; or any violation of chapter 169A;​
147.30 or​

147.31 (ii) a law from another state similar to those described in item (i).​

148.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to crimes​
148.2 committed on or after that date.​

148.3 Sec. 18. Laws 2009, chapter 59, article 3, section 4, subdivision 9, as amended by Laws​
148.4 2010, chapter 197, section 1, Laws 2011, chapter 87, section 1, subdivision 9, Laws 2013,​
148.5 chapter 127, section 60, and Laws 2017, chapter 95, article 3, section 29, is amended to​
148.6 read:​

148.7 Subd. 9. Sunset; transition. A city or county participating in this pilot program may​
148.8 accept an individual for diversion into the pilot program until June 30, 2019. and the third​
148.9 party administering the diversion program may collect and disburse fees collected pursuant​
148.10 to subdivision 6, paragraph (a), clause (2), through December 31, 2020 until the day following​
148.11 the date the permanent diversion program established under Minnesota Statutes, section​
148.12 171.2405, is effective, at which time the pilot program under this section expires. An​
148.13 individual participating in but who has not completed the pilot program on the date the pilot​
148.14 program expires is automatically transferred and enrolled in the permanent diversion program​
148.15 under Minnesota Statutes, section 171.2405, and credited for any fees paid or activities​
148.16 completed under the pilot program.​

148.17 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

148.18 Sec. 19. RETROACTIVE DRIVER'S LICENSE REINSTATEMENT.​

148.19 (a) The commissioner of public safety must make an individual's driver's license eligible​
148.20 for reinstatement if the license is solely suspended pursuant to:​

148.21 (1) Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.92, subdivision 4;​

148.22 (2) Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 171.16, subdivision 2, if the person was convicted​
148.23 only under Minnesota Statutes, section 171.24, subdivision 1 or 2;​

148.24 (3) Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 171.16, subdivision 3; or​

148.25 (4) any combination of clauses (1), (2), and (3).​
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148.26 (b) By December 1, 2019, the commissioner must provide written notice to an individual​
148.27 whose license has been made eligible for reinstatement under paragraph (a), addressed to​
148.28 the licensee at the licensee's last known address.​

148.29 (c) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, before the license is reinstated, an individual​
148.30 whose driver's license is eligible for reinstatement under paragraph (a) must pay a​
148.31 reinstatement fee of $20.​

149.1 (d) The following applies for an individual who is eligible for reinstatement under​
149.2 paragraph (a), and whose license was suspended, revoked, or canceled under any other​
149.3 provision in Minnesota Statutes:​

149.4 (1) the suspension, revocation, or cancellation under any other provision in Minnesota​
149.5 Statutes remains in effect;​

149.6 (2) subject to clause (1), the individual may become eligible for reinstatement under​
149.7 paragraph (a); and​

149.8 (3) the commissioner is not required to send the notice described in paragraph (b).​

149.9 (e) Paragraph (a) applies notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes 2018, sections 169.92,​
149.10 subdivision 4; 171.16, subdivision 2 or 3; or any other law to the contrary.​

149.11 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2019.​

149.12 Sec. 20. TRAFFIC STOP STUDY.​

149.13 Subdivision 1. Study requirements. (a) The commissioner of public safety must identify​
149.14 a qualified research organization which shall conduct a study to determine what impact, if​
149.15 any, changes in traffic laws since 2003 have had on traffic stops in Minnesota including​
149.16 whether changes resulted in a disproportionate impact in any geographic area or on any​
149.17 demographic group.​

149.18 (b) The study shall identify significant changes in traffic law enacted since 2003 including,​
149.19 but not limited to:​

149.20 (1) the adoption of Minnesota Statutes, section 169.475;​

149.21 (2) amendments to Minnesota Statutes, section 169.475, effective August 1, 2019;​

149.22 (3) changes to Minnesota Statutes, section 169.686, enacted pursuant to Laws 2009,​
149.23 chapter 165, section 2; and​

149.24 (4) changes to Minnesota Statutes, section 169A.20, enacted pursuant to Laws 2004,​
149.25 chapter 283, section 3.​

149.26 (c) The grant recipient shall coordinate with local law enforcement agencies and the​
149.27 Minnesota State Patrol to obtain and collect relevant data on traffic stops. Data shall be​

REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE​PAGE R16​

May 03, 2019 02:52 PM​Article 8 Vehicle Operations​
Senate Language S0802-3​House Language UES0802-1​



149.28 collected as provided by law, rule, or policy of the law enforcement agency. Nothing in this​
149.29 section requires any law enforcement agency to collect additional data.​

150.1 (d) The grant recipient shall analyze the data obtained or collected based on factors​
150.2 including, but not limited to, the geographic area in which the stop took place and​
150.3 demographic information of the driver.​

150.4 (e) To the extent possible, the study shall compare data obtained and collected under​
150.5 paragraph (c) with data collected pursuant to Laws 2001, First Special Session chapter 8,​
150.6 article 7, section 6.​

150.7 (f) The grant recipient shall coordinate with the commissioner of public safety and law​
150.8 enforcement agencies to ensure the confidentiality of data obtained or collected.​

150.9 Subd. 2. Report. By February 15, 2021, the grant recipient must provide a report to the​
150.10 commissioner of public safety and the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative​
150.11 committees and divisions with jurisdiction over transportation and criminal justice policy​
150.12 on the results of the study.​

150.13 Sec. 21. REPEALER.​

150.14 Minnesota Statutes 2018, sections 299A.12, subdivision 4; and 299A.18, are repealed.​
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