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ARTICLE 8

HEALTH CARE
Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 13.69, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Classifications. (a) The following government data of the Department
of Public Safety are private data:

(1) medical data on driving instructors, licensed drivers, and applicants for parking
certificates and special license plates issued to physically disabled persons;

(2) other data on holders of a disability certificate under section 169.345, except that (i)
data that are not medical data may be released to law enforcement agencies, and (ii) data
necessary for enforcement of sections 169.345 and 169.346 may be released to parking
enforcement employees or parking enforcement agents of statutory or home rule charter
cities and towns;

(3) Social Security numbers in driver's license and motor vehicle registration records,
except that Social Security numbers must be provided to the Department of Revenue for
purposes of tax administration, the Department of Labor and Industry for purposes of
workers' compensation administration and enforcement, the judicial branch for purposes of
debt collection, and the Department of Natural Resources for purposes of license application
administration, and except that the last four digits of the Social Security number must be
provided to the Department of Human Services for purposes of recovery of Minnesota health
care program benefits paid; and

(4) data on persons listed as standby or temporary custodians under section 171.07,
subdivision 11, except that the data must be released to:

(i) law enforcement agencies for the purpose of verifying that an individual is a designated
caregiver; or

(ii) law enforcement agencies who state that the license holder is unable to communicate
at that time and that the information is necessary for notifying the designated caregiver of
the need to care for a child of the license holder.

The department may release the Social Security number only as provided in clause (3)
and must not sell or otherwise provide individual Social Security numbers or lists of Social
Security numbers for any other purpose.

(b) The following government data of the Department of Public Safety are confidential
data: data concerning an individual's driving ability when that data is received from a member
of the individual's family.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2019.
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Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 16A.724, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Transfers. (a) Notwithstanding section 295.581, to the extent available resources
in the health care access fund exceed expenditures in that fund, effective for the biennium
beginning July 1, 2007, the commissioner of management and budget shall transfer the
excess funds from the health care access fund to the general fund on June 30 of each year,
provided that the amount transferred in fiscal year 2016 shall not exceed $48,000,000, the
amount in fiscal year 2017 shall not exceed $122,000,000, and the amount in any fiscal
biennium thereafter shall not exceed $244,000,000. The purpose of this transfer is to meet

the rate increase required under Eaws2003;First Speeial-Sesston<chapter H;artiele 13C;
seetion2;-subdivisten6 section 256B.0625, subdivision 67.

(b) For fiscal years 2006 to 2011, MinnesotaCare shall be a forecasted program, and, if
necessary, the commissioner shall reduce these transfers from the health care access fund
to the general fund to meet annual MinnesotaCare expenditures or, if necessary, transfer
sufficient funds from the general fund to the health care access fund to meet annual
MinnesotaCare expenditures.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 62A.671, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Licensed health care provider. "Licensed health care provider" means a health
care provider who is:

(1) licensed under chapter 147, 147A, 148, 148B, 148E, 148F, 150A, or 153; a mental
health professional as defined under section 245.462, subdivision 18, or 245.4871,
subdivision 27; a community health worker meeting the criteria specified in section
256B.0625, subdivision 49, paragraph (a); or vendor of medical care defined in section
256B.02, subdivision 7; and

(2) authorized within their respective scope of practice to provide the particular service
with no supervision or under general supervision.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 62Q.184, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the terms in this
subdivision have the meanings given them.

(b) "Clinical practice guideline" means a systematically developed statement to assist
health care providers and enrollees in making decisions about appropriate health care services
for specific clinical circumstances and conditions developed independently of a health plan
company, pharmaceutical manufacturer, or any entity with a conflict of interest. A clinical
practice guideline also includes a preferred drug list developed in accordance with section
256B.0625.

(c) "Clinical review criteria" means the written screening procedures, decision abstracts,
clinical protocols, and clinical practice guidelines used by a health plan company to determine
the medical necessity and appropriateness of health care services.
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(d) "Health plan company has the mean1ng given in section 62Q.01, subdivision 4, but
; are r-ot also includes a county-based purchasing
plan partrcrpatlng ina publlc program under chapter 256B or 256L;-er and an integrated
health partnership under section 256B.0755.

(e) "Step therapy protocol" means a protocol or program that establishes the specific
sequence in which prescription drugs for a specified medical condition, including
self-administered and physician-administered drugs, are medically appropriate for a particular
enrollee and are covered under a health plan.

(f) "Step therapy override" means that the step therapy protocol is overridden in favor
of coverage of the selected prescription drug of the prescribing health care provider because
at least one of the conditions of subdivision 3, paragraph (a), exists.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 62Q.184, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Step therapy override process; transparency. (a) When coverage of a
prescription drug for the treatment of a medical condition is restricted for use by a health
plan company through the use of a step therapy protocol, enrollees and prescribing health
care providers shall have access to a clear, readily accessible, and convenient process to
request a step therapy override. The process shall be made easily accessible on the health
plan company's website. A health plan company may use its existing medical exceptions
process to satisfy this requirement. A health plan company shall grant an override to the
step therapy protocol if at least one of the following conditions exist:

(1) the prescription drug required under the step therapy protocol is contraindicated
pursuant to the pharmaceutical manufacturer's prescribing information for the drug or, due
to a documented adverse event with a previous use or a documented medical condition,
including a comorbid condition, is likely to do any of the following:

(i) cause an adverse reaction to the enrollee;

(ii) decrease the ability of the enrollee to achieve or maintain reasonable functional
ability in performing daily activities; or

(iii) cause physical or mental harm to the enrollee;

(2) the enrollee has had a trial of the required prescription drug covered by their current
or previous health plan, or another prescription drug in the same pharmacologic class or
with the same mechanism of action, and was adherent during such trial for a period of time
sufficient to allow for a positive treatment outcome, and the prescription drug was
discontinued by the enrollee's health care provider due to lack of effectiveness, or an adverse
event. This clause does not prohibit a health plan company from requiring an enrollee to
try another drug in the same pharmacologic class or with the same mechanism of action if
that therapy sequence is supported by the evidence-based and peer-reviewed clinical practice
guideline, Food and Drug Administration label, or pharmaceutical manufacturer's prescribing
information; or
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(3) the enrollee is currently receiving a positive therapeutic outcome on a prescription
drug for the medical condition under consideration if, while on their current health plan or
the immediately preceding health plan, the enrollee received coverage for the prescription
drug and the enrollee's prescribing health care provider gives documentation to the health
plan company that the change in prescription drug required by the step therapy protocol is
expected to be ineffective or cause harm to the enrollee based on the known characteristics
of the specific enrollee and the known characteristics of the required prescription drug.

(b) Upon granting a step therapy override, a health plan company shall authorize coverage
for the prescription drug if the prescription drug is a covered prescription drug under the
enrollee's health plan.

(c) The enrollee, or the prescribing health care provider if designated by the enrollee,
may appeal the denial of a step therapy override by a health plan company using the
complaint procedure under sections 62Q.68 to 62Q.73 or 256.045.

(d) In a denial of an override request and any subsequent appeal, a health plan company's
decision must specifically state why the step therapy override request did not meet the
condition under paragraph (a) cited by the prescribing health care provider in requesting
the step therapy override and information regarding the procedure to request external review
of the denial pursuant to section 62Q.73. A denial of a request for a step therapy override
that is upheld on appeal is a final adverse determination for purposes of section 62Q.73 and
is eligible for a request for external review by an enrollee pursuant to section 62Q.73.

(e) A health plan company shall respond to a step therapy override request or an appeal
within five days of receipt of a complete request. In cases where exigent circumstances
exist, a health plan company shall respond within 72 hours of receipt of a complete request.
If a health plan company does not send a response to the enrollee or prescribing health care
provider if designated by the enrollee within the time allotted, the override request or appeal
is granted and binding on the health plan company.

(f) Step therapy override requests must be accessible to and submitted by health care
providers, and accepted by group purchasers electronically through secure electronic
transmission, as described under section 62J.497, subdivision 5.

(g) Nothing in this section prohibits a health plan company from:

(1) requesting relevant documentation from an enrollee's medical record in support of
a step therapy override request; or

(2) requiring an enrollee to try a generic equivalent drug pursuant to section 151.21, or
a biosimilar, as defined under United States Code, chapter 42, section 262(i)(2), prior to
providing coverage for the equivalent branded prescription drug.

(h) This section shall not be construed to allow the use of a pharmaceutical sample for
the primary purpose of meeting the requirements for a step therapy override.
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Sec. 6. [214.078] PROTECTION FROM CONVERSION THERAPY.

Subdivision 1. Definition. "Conversion therapy" means any practice by a mental health
practitioner or mental health professional as defined in section 245.462 that seeks to change
an individual's sexual orientation or gender identity, including efforts to change behaviors
or gender expressions or to eliminate or reduce sexual or romantic attractions or feelings
toward individuals of the same gender. Conversion therapy does not include counseling
that provides assistance to an individual undergoing gender transition, or counseling that
provides acceptance, support, and understanding of an individual or facilitates an individual's
coping, social support, and identity exploration and development, including
sexual-orientation-neutral interventions to prevent or address unlawful conduct or unsafe
sexual practices, as long as the counseling does not seek to change an individual's sexual
orientation or gender identity.

Subd. 2. Prohibition. (2) No mental health practitioner or mental health professional
shall engage in conversion therapy with a client younger than 18 years of age or with a
vulnerable adult as defined in section 626.5572, subdivision 21.

(b) Conversion therapy attempted by a mental health practitioner or mental health
professional with a client younger than 18 years of age or with vulnerable adults shall be
considered unprofessional conduct and the mental health practitioner or mental health
professional may be subject to disciplinary action by the licensing board of the mental health
practitioner or mental health professional.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 245A.02, subdivision 5a, is amended to read:

Subd. 5a. Controlling individual. (a) "Controlling individual" means an owner of a
program or service provider licensed under this chapter and the following individuals, if
applicable:

(1) each officer of the organization, including the chief executive officer and chief
financial officer;

(2) the individual designated as the authorized agent under section 245A.04, subdivision
1, paragraph (b);

(3) the individual designated as the compliance officer under section 256B.04, subdivision
21, paragraph (b) (g); and

(4) each managerial official whose responsibilities include the direction of the
management or policies of a program.

(b) Controlling individual does not include:
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(1) a bank, savings bank, trust company, savings association, credit union, industrial
loan and thrift company, investment banking firm, or insurance company unless the entity
operates a program directly or through a subsidiary;

(2) an individual who is a state or federal official, or state or federal employee, or a
member or employee of the governing body of a political subdivision of the state or federal
government that operates one or more programs, unless the individual is also an officer,
owner, or managerial official of the program, receives remuneration from the program, or
owns any of the beneficial interests not excluded in this subdivision;

(3) an individual who owns less than five percent of the outstanding common shares of
a corporation:

(i) whose securities are exempt under section 80A.45, clause (6); or
(ii) whose transactions are exempt under section 80A.46, clause (2);

(4) an individual who is a member of an organization exempt from taxation under section
290.05, unless the individual is also an officer, owner, or managerial official of the program
or owns any of the beneficial interests not excluded in this subdivision. This clause does
not exclude from the definition of controlling individual an organization that is exempt from
taxation; or

(5) an employee stock ownership plan trust, or a participant or board member of an
employee stock ownership plan, unless the participant or board member is a controlling
individual according to paragraph (a).

(c) For purposes of this subdivision, "managerial official" means an individual who has
the decision-making authority related to the operation of the program, and the responsibility
for the ongoing management of or direction of the policies, services, or employees of the
program. A site director who has no ownership interest in the program is not considered to
be a managerial official for purposes of this definition.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2019.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 245D.081, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Program management and oversight. (a) The license holder must designate
a managerial staff person or persons to provide program management and oversight of the
services provided by the license holder. The designated manager is responsible for the
following:

(1) maintaining a current understanding of the licensing requirements sufficient to ensure
compliance throughout the program as identified in section 245A.04, subdivision 1, paragraph
(e), and when applicable, as identified in section 256B.04, subdivision 21, paragraph &)

(2);
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(2) ensuring the duties of the designated coordinator are fulfilled according to the
requirements in subdivision 2;

(3) ensuring the program implements corrective action identified as necessary by the
program following review of incident and emergency reports according to the requirements
in section 245D.11, subdivision 2, clause (7). An internal review of incident reports of
alleged or suspected maltreatment must be conducted according to the requirements in
section 245A.65, subdivision 1, paragraph (b);

(4) evaluation of satisfaction of persons served by the program, the person's legal
representative, if any, and the case manager, with the service delivery and progress tewards
toward accomplishing outcomes identified in sections 245D.07 and 245D.071, and ensuring
and protecting each person's rights as identified in section 245D.04;

(5) ensuring staff competency requirements are met according to the requirements in
section 245D.09, subdivision 3, and ensuring staff orientation and training is provided
according to the requirements in section 245D.09, subdivisions 4, 4a, and 5;

(6) ensuring corrective action is taken when ordered by the commissioner and that the
terms and conditions of the license and any variances are met; and

(7) evaluating the information identified in clauses (1) to (6) to develop, document, and
implement ongoing program improvements.

(b) The designated manager must be competent to perform the duties as required and
must minimally meet the education and training requirements identified in subdivision 2,
paragraph (b), and have a minimum of three years of supervisory level experience in a
program providing direct support services to persons with disabilities or persons age 65 and
older.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2019.
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Sec. 2. [254A.21] FETAL ALCOHOL SPECTRUM DISORDERS PREVENTION
GRANTS.

(a) The commissioner of human services shall award a grant to a statewide organization
that focuses solely on prevention of and intervention with fetal alcohol spectrum disorders.
The grant recipient must make subgrants to eligible regional collaboratives in rural and
urban areas of the state for the purposes specified in paragraph (c).

(b) "Eligible regional collaboratives" means a partnership between at least one local
government and at least one community-based organization and, where available, a family
home visiting program. For purposes of this paragraph, a local government includes a county
or a multicounty organization, a tribal government, a county-based purchasing entity, or a
community health board.
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Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256.962, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Incentive program. Beginning January 1, 2008, the commissioner shall establish
an incentive program for organizations and licensed insurance producers under chapter 60K
that directly identify and assist potential enrollees in filling out and submitting an application.
For each applicant who is successfully enrolled in MinnesotaCare or medical assistance,
the commissioner, within the available appropriation, shall pay the organization or licensed
insurance producer a $25 $70 application assistance bonus. The organization or licensed
insurance producer may provide an applicant a gift certificate or other incentive upon
enrollment.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2019.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256.969, subdivision 2b, is amended to read:

Subd. 2b. Hospital payment rates. (a) For discharges occurring on or after November
1, 2014, hospital inpatient services for hospitals located in Minnesota shall be paid according
to the following:

(1) critical access hospitals as defined by Medicare shall be paid using a cost-based
methodology;

(2) long-term hospitals as defined by Medicare shall be paid on a per diem methodology
under subdivision 25;

(3) rehabilitation hospitals or units of hospitals that are recognized as rehabilitation
distinct parts as defined by Medicare shall be paid according to the methodology under
subdivision 12; and

(4) all other hospitals shall be paid on a diagnosis-related group (DRG) methodology.
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267.1 (c) Eligible regional collaboratives must use subgrant funds to reduce the incidence of
267.2 fetal alcohol spectrum disorders and other prenatal drug-related effects in children in
267.3 Minnesota by identifying and serving pregnant women suspected of or known to use or
267.4  abuse alcohol or other drugs. Eligible regional collaboratives must provide intensive services
267.5 to chemically dependent women to increase positive birth outcomes.
267.6 (d) An eligible regional collaborative that receives a subgrant under this section must
267.7 report to the grant recipient by January 15 of each year on the services and programs funded
267.8 by the subgrant. The report must include measurable outcomes for the previous year,
267.9 including the number of pregnant women served and the number of toxic-free babies born.
267.10 The grant recipient must compile the information in the subgrant reports and submit a
267.11 summary report to the commissioner of human services by February 15 of each year.

FOR SECTION 3, SEE ARTICLE 5 SIDE BY SIDE.
FOR SECTIONS 4 AND 5, SEE ARTICLE 10 SIDE BY SIDE.
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(b) For the period beginning January 1, 2011, through October 31, 2014, rates shall not
be rebased, except that a Minnesota long-term hospital shall be rebased effective January
1, 2011, based on its most recent Medicare cost report ending on or before September 1,
2008, with the provisions under subdivisions 9 and 23, based on the rates in effect on
December 31, 2010. For rate setting periods after November 1, 2014, in which the base
years are updated, a Minnesota long-term hospital's base year shall remain within the same
period as other hospitals.

(c) Eftective for discharges occurring on and after November 1, 2014, payment rates
for hospital inpatient services provided by hospitals located in Minnesota or the local trade
area, except for the hospitals paid under the methodologies described in paragraph (a),
clauses (2) and (3), shall be rebased, incorporating cost and payment methodologies in a
manner similar to Medicare. The base year for the rates effective November 1, 2014, shall
be calendar year 2012. The rebasing under this paragraph shall be budget neutral, ensuring
that the total aggregate payments under the rebased system are equal to the total aggregate
payments that were made for the same number and types of services in the base year. Separate
budget neutrality calculations shall be determined for payments made to critical access
hospitals and payments made to hospitals paid under the DRG system. Only the rate increases
or decreases under subdivision 3a or 3c that applied to the hospitals being rebased during
the entire base period shall be incorporated into the budget neutrality calculation.

(d) For discharges occurring on or after November 1, 2014, through the next rebasing
that occurs, the rebased rates under paragraph (c) that apply to hospitals under paragraph
(a), clause (4), shall include adjustments to the projected rates that result in no greater than
a five percent increase or decrease from the base year payments for any hospital. Any
adjustments to the rates made by the commissioner under this paragraph and paragraph (e)
shall maintain budget neutrality as described in paragraph (c).

(e) For discharges occurring on or after November 1, 2014, threugh-thenexttworebasing

periods the commissioner may make additional adjustments to the rebased rates, and when
evaluating whether additional adjustments should be made, the commissioner shall consider
the impact of the rates on the following:

(1) pediatric services;

(2) behavioral health services;

(3) trauma services as defined by the National Uniform Billing Committee;
(4) transplant services;

(5) obstetric services, newborn services, and behavioral health services provided by
hospitals outside the seven-county metropolitan area;

(6) outlier admissions;

(7) low-volume providers; and
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(8) services provided by small rural hospitals that are not critical access hospitals.
(f) Hospital payment rates established under paragraph (c) must incorporate the following:

(1) for hospitals paid under the DRG methodology, the base year payment rate per
admission is standardized by the applicable Medicare wage index and adjusted by the
hospital's disproportionate population adjustment;

(2) for critical access hospitals, payment rates for discharges between November 1, 2014,
and June 30, 2015, shall be set to the same rate of payment that applied for discharges on
October 31, 2014;

(3) the cost and charge data used to establish hospital payment rates must only reflect
inpatient services covered by medical assistance; and

(4) in determining hospital payment rates for discharges occurring on or after the rate
year beginning January 1, 2011, through December 31, 2012, the hospital payment rate per
discharge shall be based on the cost-finding methods and allowable costs of the Medicare
program in effect during the base year or years. In determining hospital payment rates for
discharges in subsequent base years, the per discharge rates shall be based on the cost-finding
methods and allowable costs of the Medicare program in effect during the base year or
years.

(g) The commissioner shall validate the rates effective November 1, 2014, by applying
the rates established under paragraph (c), and any adjustments made to the rates under
paragraph (d) or (e), to hospital claims paid in calendar year 2013 to determine whether the
total aggregate payments for the same number and types of services under the rebased rates
are equal to the total aggregate payments made during calendar year 2013.

(h) Eftective for discharges occurring on or after July 1, 2017, and every two years
thereafter, payment rates under this section shall be rebased to reflect only those changes
in hospital costs between the existing base year and the next base year. Changes in costs
between base years shall be measured using the lower of the hospital cost index defined in
subdivision 1, paragraph (a), or the percentage change in the case mix adjusted cost per
claim. The commissioner shall establish the base year for each rebasing period considering
the most recent year for which filed Medicare cost reports are available. The estimated
change in the average payment per hospital discharge resulting from a scheduled rebasing
must be calculated and made available to the legislature by January 15 of each year in which
rebasing is scheduled to occur, and must include by hospital the differential in payment
rates compared to the individual hospital's costs.

(i) Effective for discharges occurring on or after July 1, 2015, inpatient payment rates
for critical access hospitals located in Minnesota or the local trade area shall be determined
using a new cost-based methodology. The commissioner shall establish within the
methodology tiers of payment designed to promote efficiency and cost-effectiveness.
Payment rates for hospitals under this paragraph shall be set at a level that does not exceed
the total cost for critical access hospitals as reflected in base year cost reports. Until the
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next rebasing that occurs, the new methodology shall result in no greater than a five percent
decrease from the base year payments for any hospital, except a hospital that had payments
that were greater than 100 percent of the hospital's costs in the base year shall have their
rate set equal to 100 percent of costs in the base year. The rates paid for discharges on and
after July 1, 2016, covered under this paragraph shall be increased by the inflation factor

in subdivision 1, paragraph (a). The new cost-based rate shall be the final rate and shall not
be settled to actual incurred costs. Hospitals shall be assigned a payment tier based on the
following criteria:

(1) hospitals that had payments at or below 80 percent of their costs in the base year
shall have a rate set that equals 85 percent of their base year costs;

(2) hospitals that had payments that were above 80 percent, up to and including 90
percent of their costs in the base year shall have a rate set that equals 95 percent of their
base year costs; and

(3) hospitals that had payments that were above 90 percent of their costs in the base year
shall have a rate set that equals 100 percent of their base year costs.

(j) The commissioner may refine the payment tiers and criteria for critical access hospitals
to coincide with the next rebasing under paragraph (h). The factors used to develop the new
methodology may include, but are not limited to:

(1) the ratio between the hospital's costs for treating medical assistance patients and the
hospital's charges to the medical assistance program;

(2) the ratio between the hospital's costs for treating medical assistance patients and the
hospital's payments received from the medical assistance program for the care of medical
assistance patients;

(3) the ratio between the hospital's charges to the medical assistance program and the
hospital's payments received from the medical assistance program for the care of medical
assistance patients;

(4) the statewide average increases in the ratios identified in clauses (1), (2), and (3);

(5) the proportion of that hospital's costs that are administrative and trends in
administrative costs; and

(6) geographic location.
Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256.969, subdivision 3a, is amended to read:

Subd. 3a. Payments. (a) Acute care hospital billings under the medical assistance program
must not be submitted until the recipient is discharged. However, the commissioner shall
establish monthly interim payments for inpatient hospitals that have individual patient
lengths of stay over 30 days regardless of diagnostic category. Except as provided in section
256.9693, medical assistance reimbursement for treatment of mental illness shall be
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reimbursed based on diagnostic classifications. Individual hospital payments established
under this section and sections 256.9685, 256.9686, and 256.9695, in addition to third-party
and recipient liability, for discharges occurring during the rate year shall not exceed, #
aggregate on a per claim basis, the charges for the medical assistance covered inpatient
services paid for the same period of time to the hospital. Services that have rates established
under subdivision 12, must be limited separately from other services. After consulting with
the affected hospitals, the commissioner may consider related hospitals one entity and may
merge the payment rates while maintaining separate provider numbers. The operating and
property base rates per admission or per day shall be derived from the best Medicare and
claims data available when rates are established. The commissioner shall determine the best
Medicare and claims data, taking into consideration variables of recency of the data, audit
disposition, settlement status, and the ability to set rates in a timely manner. The
commissioner shall notify hospitals of payment rates 30 days prior to implementation. The
rate setting data must reflect the admissions data used to establish relative values. The
commissioner may adjust base year cost, relative value, and case mix index data to exclude
the costs of services that have been discontinued by October 1 of the year preceding the
rate year or that are paid separately from inpatient services. Inpatient stays that encompass
portions of two or more rate years shall have payments established based on payment rates
in effect at the time of admission unless the date of admission preceded the rate year in
effect by six months or more. In this case, operating payment rates for services rendered
during the rate year in effect and established based on the date of admission shall be adjusted
to the rate year in effect by the hospital cost index.

(b) For fee-for-service admissions occurring on or after July 1, 2002, the total payment,
before third-party liability and spenddown, made to hospitals for inpatient services is reduced
by .5 percent from the current statutory rates.

(c) In addition to the reduction in paragraph (b), the total payment for fee-for-service
admissions occurring on or after July 1, 2003, made to hospitals for inpatient services before
third-party liability and spenddown, is reduced five percent from the current statutory rates.
Mental health services within diagnosis related groups 424 to 432 or corresponding
APR-DRGs, and facilities defined under subdivision 16 are excluded from this paragraph.

(d) In addition to the reduction in paragraphs (b) and (c), the total payment for
fee-for-service admissions occurring on or after August 1, 2005, made to hospitals for
inpatient services before third-party liability and spenddown, is reduced 6.0 percent from
the current statutory rates. Mental health services within diagnosis related groups 424 to
432 or corresponding APR-DRGs, and facilities defined under subdivision 16 are excluded
from this paragraph. Payments made to managed care plans shall be reduced for services
provided on or after January 1, 2006, to reflect this reduction.

(e) In addition to the reductions in paragraphs (b), (c), and (d), the total payment for
fee-for-service admissions occurring on or after July 1, 2008, through June 30, 2009, made
to hospitals for inpatient services before third-party liability and spenddown, is reduced
3.46 percent from the current statutory rates. Mental health services with diagnosis related
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groups 424 to 432 or corresponding APR-DRGs, and facilities defined under subdivision

16 are excluded from this paragraph. Payments made to managed care plans shall be reduced
for services provided on or after January 1, 2009, through June 30, 2009, to reflect this
reduction.

() In addition to the reductions in paragraphs (b), (c), and (d), the total payment for
fee-for-service admissions occurring on or after July 1, 2009, through June 30, 2011, made
to hospitals for inpatient services before third-party liability and spenddown, is reduced 1.9
percent from the current statutory rates. Mental health services with diagnosis related groups
424 to 432 or corresponding APR-DRGs, and facilities defined under subdivision 16 are
excluded from this paragraph. Payments made to managed care plans shall be reduced for
services provided on or after July 1, 2009, through June 30, 2011, to reflect this reduction.

(g) In addition to the reductions in paragraphs (b), (c), and (d), the total payment for
fee-for-service admissions occurring on or after July 1, 2011, made to hospitals for inpatient
services before third-party liability and spenddown, is reduced 1.79 percent from the current
statutory rates. Mental health services with diagnosis related groups 424 to 432 or
corresponding APR-DRGs, and facilities defined under subdivision 16 are excluded from
this paragraph. Payments made to managed care plans shall be reduced for services provided
on or after July 1, 2011, to reflect this reduction.

(h) In addition to the reductions in paragraphs (b), (c), (d), (f), and (g), the total payment
for fee-for-service admissions occurring on or after July 1, 2009, made to hospitals for
inpatient services before third-party liability and spenddown, is reduced one percent from
the current statutory rates. Facilities defined under subdivision 16 are excluded from this
paragraph. Payments made to managed care plans shall be reduced for services provided
on or after October 1, 2009, to reflect this reduction.

(i) In addition to the reductions in paragraphs (b), (¢), (d), (g), and (h), the total payment
for fee-for-service admissions occurring on or after July 1, 2011, made to hospitals for
inpatient services before third-party liability and spenddown, is reduced 1.96 percent from
the current statutory rates. Facilities defined under subdivision 16 are excluded from this
paragraph. Payments made to managed care plans shall be reduced for services provided
on or after January 1, 2011, to reflect this reduction.

(j) Effective for discharges on and after November 1, 2014, from hospitals paid under
subdivision 2b, paragraph (a), clauses (1) and (4), the rate adjustments in this subdivision
must be incorporated into the rebased rates established under subdivision 2b, paragraph (c),
and must not be applied to each claim.

(k) Effective for discharges on and after July 1, 2015, from hospitals paid under
subdivision 2b, paragraph (a), clauses (2) and (3), the rate adjustments in this subdivision
must be incorporated into the rates and must not be applied to each claim.
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(1) Effective for discharges on and after July 1, 2017, from hospitals paid under
subdivision 2b, paragraph (a), clause (2), the rate adjustments in this subdivision must be
incorporated into the rates and must not be applied to each claim.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256.969, subdivision 9, is amended to read:

Subd. 9. Disproportionate numbers of low-income patients served. (a) For admissions
occurring on or after July 1, 1993, the medical assistance disproportionate population
adjustment shall comply with federal law and shall be paid to a hospital, excluding regional
treatment centers and facilities of the federal Indian Health Service, with a medical assistance
inpatient utilization rate in excess of the arithmetic mean. The adjustment must be determined
as follows:

(1) for a hospital with a medical assistance inpatient utilization rate above the arithmetic
mean for all hospitals excluding regional treatment centers and facilities of the federal Indian
Health Service but less than or equal to one standard deviation above the mean, the
adjustment must be determined by multiplying the total of the operating and property
payment rates by the difference between the hospital's actual medical assistance inpatient
utilization rate and the arithmetic mean for all hospitals excluding regional treatment centers
and facilities of the federal Indian Health Service; and

(2) for a hospital with a medical assistance inpatient utilization rate above one standard
deviation above the mean, the adjustment must be determined by multiplying the adjustment
that would be determined under clause (1) for that hospital by 1.1. The commissioner shall
report annually on the number of hospitals likely to receive the adjustment authorized by
this paragraph. The commissioner shall specifically report on the adjustments received by
public hospitals and public hospital corporations located in cities of the first class.

(b) Certified public expenditures made by Hennepin County Medical Center shall be
considered Medicaid disproportionate share hospital payments. Hennepin County and
Hennepin County Medical Center shall report by June 15, 2007, on payments made beginning
July 1, 2005, or another date specified by the commissioner, that may qualify for
reimbursement under federal law. Based on these reports, the commissioner shall apply for
federal matching funds.

(c) Upon federal approval of the related state plan amendment, paragraph (b) is effective
retroactively from July 1, 2005, or the earliest effective date approved by the Centers for
Medicare and Medicaid Services.

(d) Effective July 1, 2015, disproportionate share hospital (DSH) payments shall be paid
in accordance with a new methodology using 2012 as the base year. Annual payments made
under this paragraph shall equal the total amount of payments made for 2012. A licensed
children's hospital shall receive only a single DSH factor for children's hospitals. Other
DSH factors may be combined to arrive at a single factor for each hospital that is eligible
for DSH payments. The new methodology shall make payments only to hospitals located
in Minnesota and include the following factors:
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(1) a licensed children's hospital with at least 1,000 fee-for-service discharges in the
base year shall receive a factor of 0.868. A licensed children's hospital with less than 1,000
fee-for-service discharges in the base year shall receive a factor of 0.7880;

(2) a hospital that has in effect for the initial rate year a contract with the commissioner
to provide extended psychiatric inpatient services under section 256.9693 shall receive a
factor of 0.0160;

(3) a hospital that has received payment from the fee-for-service program for at least 20
transplant services in the base year shall receive a factor of 0.0435;

(4) a hospital that has a medical assistance utilization rate in the base year between 20
percent up to one standard deviation above the statewide mean utilization rate shall receive
a factor of 0.0468;

(5) a hospital that has a medical assistance utilization rate in the base year that is at least
one standard deviation above the statewide mean utilization rate but is less than three standard
deviations above the mean shall receive a factor of 0.2300; and

(6) a hospital that has a medical assistance utilization rate in the base year that is at least
three two and one-half standard deviations above the statewide mean utilization rate shall
receive a factor of 0.3711.

(e) Any payments or portion of payments made to a hospital under this subdivision that
are subsequently returned to the commissioner because the payments are found to exceed
the hospital-specific DSH limit for that hospital shall be redistributed, proportionate to the
number of fee-for-service discharges, to other DSH-eligible non-children's hospitals that
have a medical assistance utilization rate that is at least one standard deviation above the
mean.

(f) An additional payment adjustment shall be established by the commissioner under
this subdivision for a hospital that provides high levels of administering high-cost drugs to
enrollees in fee-for-service medical assistance. The commissioner shall consider factors
including fee-for-service medical assistance utilization rates and payments made for drugs
purchased through the 340B drug purchasing program and administered to fee-for-service
enrollees. If any part of this adjustment exceeds a hospital's hospital-specific disproportionate
share hospital limit, the commissioner shall make a payment to the hospital that equals the
nonfederal share of the amount that exceeds the limit. The total nonfederal share of the
amount of the payment adjustment under this paragraph shall not exceed $1,500,000.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2019, except paragraph (f) is
effective for discharges on or after April 1, 2019.

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256.969, subdivision 17, is amended to read:

Subd. 17. Out-of-state hospitals in local trade areas. Out-of-state hospitals that are
located within a Minnesota local trade area and that have mere-than26 admissions in the
base year or years shall have rates established using the same procedures and methods that
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527.18 apply to Minnesota hospitals. For this subdivision and subdivision 18, local trade area means
527.19 a county contiguous to Minnesota and located in a metropolitan statistical area as determined
527.20 by Medicare for October 1 prior to the most current rebased rate year. Hospitals that are
527.21 not required by law to file information in a format necessary to establish rates shall have
527.22 rates established based on the commissioner's estimates of the information. Relative values
527.23 of the diagnostic categories shall not be redetermined under this subdivision until required
527.24 by statute. Hospitals affected by this subdivision shall then be included in determining

527.25 relative values. However, hospitals that have rates established based upon the commissioner's
527.26 estimates of information shall not be included in determining relative values. This subdivision
527.27 is effective for hospital fiscal years beginning on or after July 1, 1988. A hospital shall

527.28 provide the information necessary to establish rates under this subdivision at least 90 days
527.29 before the start of the hospital's fiscal year.

527.30  Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256.969, subdivision 19, is amended to read:

527.31 Subd. 19. Metabolic disorder testing of medical assistance recipients. Medical
527.32 assistance inpatient payment rates must include the cost incurred by hospitals to pay the
527.33 Department of Health for metabolic disorder testing of newborns who are medical assistance
528.1 recipients, if the cost is not recognized by another payment source. This payment increase
528.2 remains in effect until the increase is fully recognized in the base year cost under subdivision
528.3  2b.

528.4 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.04, subdivision 14, is amended to read:

528.5 Subd. 14. Competitive bidding. (a) When determined to be effective, economical, and
528.6 feasible, the commissioner may utilize volume purchase through competitive bidding and
528.7 negotiation under the provisions of chapter 16C, to provide items under the medical assistance
528.8 program including but not limited to the following:

528.9 (1) eyeglasses;
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ARTICLE 1:
19.31 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.02, is amended by adding a subdivision
19.32  to read:
19.33 Subd. 20. Income. Income is calculated using the adjusted gross income methodology
19.34 under the Affordable Care Act. Income includes funds in personal or business accounts
20.1  used to pay personal expenses including rent, mortgage, automobile-related expenses,
20.2 utilities, food, and other personal expenses not directly related to the business, unless the
20.3  funds are directly attributable to an exception to the income requirement specifically
20.4  identified by the applicant.

ARTICLE 8:
270.1 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.04, subdivision 14, is amended to read:
270.2 Subd. 14. Competitive bidding. (a) When determined to be effective, economical, and
270.3 feasible, the commissioner may utilize volume purchase through competitive bidding and
2704 negotiation under the provisions of chapter 16C, to provide items under the medical assistance
270.5 program including but not limited to the following:
270.6 (1) eyeglasses;
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(2) oxygen. The commissioner shall provide for oxygen needed in an emergency situation
on a short-term basis, until the vendor can obtain the necessary supply from the contract
dealer;

(3) hearing aids and supplies; ané

(4) durable medical equipment, including but not limited to:

(1) hospital beds;

(i) commodes;

(iii) glide-about chairs;

(iv) patient lift apparatus;

(v) wheelchairs and accessories;

(vi) oxygen administration equipment;

(vii) respiratory therapy equipment;

(viii) electronic diagnostic, therapeutic and life-support systems; and

(ix) allergen-reducing products as described in section 256B.0625, subdivision 66,

paragraph (c);

(5) nonemergency medical transportation level of need determinations, disbursement of
public transportation passes and tokens, and volunteer and recipient mileage and parking
reimbursements; and

(6) drugs.

(b) Rate changes and recipient cost-sharing under this chapter and chapter 256L do not
affect contract payments under this subdivision unless specifically identified.

(c) The commissioner may not utilize volume purchase through competitive bidding
and negotiation for special transportation services under the provisions of chapter 16C.

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.04, subdivision 21, is amended to read:

Subd. 21. Provider enrollment. (a) The commissioner shall enroll providers and conduct
screening activities as required by Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 455, subpart
E. A provider providing services from multiple locations must enroll each location separately.
The commissioner may deny a provider's incomplete application if a provider fails to respond
to the commissioner's request for additional information within 60 days of the request. The
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270.7 (2) oxygen. The commissioner shall provide for oxygen needed in an emergency situation
270.8 on a short-term basis, until the vendor can obtain the necessary supply from the contract
270.9 dealer;

270.10 (3) hearing aids and supplies; and

270.11 (4) durable medical equipment, including but not limited to:

270.12 (1) hospital beds;

270.13 (i) commodes;

270.14 (iii) glide-about chairs;

270.15 (iv) patient lift apparatus;

270.16 (v) wheelchairs and accessories;

270.17 (vi) oxygen administration equipment;

270.18 (vii) respiratory therapy equipment;

270.19 (viii) electronic diagnostic, therapeutic and life-support systems;

270.20 (5) nonemergency medical transportation level of need determinations, disbursement of

270.21 public transportation passes and tokens, and volunteer and recipient mileage and parking

270.22 reimbursements; and

270.23 (6) drugs.

270.24 (b) Rate changes and recipient cost-sharing under this chapter and chapter 256L do not

270.25 affect contract payments under this subdivision unless specifically identified.

270.26 (c) The commissioner may not utilize volume purchase through competitive bidding

270.27 and negotiation fer-speetal-transportation-serviees under the provisions of chapter 16C for

270.28 special transportation services or incontinence products and related supplies.

270.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
ARTICLE 1:

20.5 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.04, subdivision 21, is amended to read:

20.6 Subd. 21. Provider enrollment. (a) The commissioner shall enroll providers and conduct

20.7  screening activities as required by Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 455, subpart

20.8  E, including database checks, unannounced pre- and post-enrollment site visits, fingerprinting,

20.9  and criminal background studies. A provider providing services from multiple licensed

20.10 locations must enroll each licensed location separately. The commissioner may deny a
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commissioner must conduct a background study under chapter 245C, including a review

of databases in section 245C.08, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (5), for a provider
described in this paragraph. The background study requirement may be satisfied if the
commissioner conducted a fingerprint-based background study on the provider that includes

a review of databases in section 245C.08, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (5).

(b) The commissioner shall revalidate each: (1) provider under this subdivision at least
once every five years; and (2) personal care assistance agency under this subdivision once

every three years.

(c) The commissioner shall conduct revalidation as follows:

(1) provide 30-day notice of the revalidation due date including instructions for
revalidation and a list of materials the provider must submit;

(2) if a provider fails to submit all required materials by the due date, notify the provider
of the deficiency within 30 days after the due date and allow the provider an additional 30
days from the notification date to comply; and

(3) if a provider fails to remedy a deficiency within the 30-day time period, give 60-day
notice of termination and immediately suspend the provider's ability to bill. The provider
does not have the right to appeal suspension of ability to bill.

(d) If a provider fails to comply with any individual provider requirement or condition
of participation, the commissioner may suspend the provider's ability to bill until the provider
comes into compliance. The commissioner's decision to suspend the provider is not subject
to an administrative appeal.

(e) All correspondence and notifications, including notifications of termination and other
actions, must be delivered electronically to a provider's MN-ITS mailbox. For a provider
that does not have a MN-ITS account and mailbox, notice must be sent by first-class mail.
This paragraph does not apply to correspondences and notifications related to background
studies.

(f) If the commissioner or the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services determines
that a provider is designated "high-risk," the commissioner may withhold payment from
providers within that category upon initial enrollment for a 90-day period. The withholding
for each provider must begin on the date of the first submission of a claim.
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20.11 provider's incomplete application for enrollment if a provider fails to respond to the
20.12 commissioner's request for additional information within 60 days of the request.
20.13 (b) The commissioner must revalidate each provider under this subdivision at least once
20.14 every five years. The commissioner may revalidate a personal care assistance agency under
20.15 this subdivision once every three years. The commissioner shall conduct revalidation as
20.16  follows:
20.17 (1) provide 30-day notice of revalidation due date to include instructions for revalidation
20.18 and a list of materials the provider must submit to revalidate;
20.19 (2) notify the provider that fails to completely respond within 30 days of any deficiencies
20.20 and allow an additional 30 days to comply; and
20.21 (3) give 60-day notice of termination and immediately suspend a provider's ability to
20.22  bill for failure to remedy any deficiencies within the 30-day time period. The commissioner's
20.23 decision to suspend the provider's ability to bill is not subject to an administrative appeal.
20.24 (c) The commissioner shall require that an individual rendering care to a recipient for
20.25 the following covered services enroll as an individual provider and be identified on claims:
20.26 (1) consumer directed community supports; and
20.27 (2) qualified professionals supervising personal care assistant services according to
20.28 section 256B.0659.
20.29 (d) The commissioner may suspend a provider's ability to bill for a failure to comply
20.30 with any individual provider requirements or conditions of participation until the provider
20.31 comes into compliance. The commissioner's decision to suspend the provider's ability to
20.32  bill is not subject to an administrative appeal.
21.1 (e) Notwithstanding any other provision to the contrary, all correspondence and
21.2  notifications, including notifications of termination and other actions, shall be delivered
21.3  electronically to a provider's MN-ITS mailbox. For a provider that does not have a MN-ITS
21.4  account and mailbox, notice shall be sent by first class mail.
215 (f) If the commissioner or the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services determines
21.6  that a provider is designated "high-risk," the commissioner may withhold payment from
21.7  providers within that category upon initial enrollment for a 90-day period. The withholding
21.8  for each provider must begin on the date of the first submission of a claim.
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) (g) An enrolled provider that is also licensed by the commissioner under chapter
245A, or is licensed as a home care provider by the Department of Health under chapter
144A and has a home and community-based services designation on the home care license
under section 144A.484, must designate an individual as the entity's compliance officer.
The compliance officer must:

(1) develop policies and procedures to assure adherence to medical assistance laws and
regulations and to prevent inappropriate claims submissions;

(2) train the employees of the provider entity, and any agents or subcontractors of the
provider entity including billers, on the policies and procedures under clause (1);

(3) respond to allegations of improper conduct related to the provision or billing of
medical assistance services, and implement action to remediate any resulting problems;

(4) use evaluation techniques to monitor compliance with medical assistance laws and
regulations;

(5) promptly report to the commissioner any identified violations of medical assistance
laws or regulations; and

(6) within 60 days of discovery by the provider of a medical assistance reimbursement
overpayment, report the overpayment to the commissioner and make arrangements with
the commissioner for the commissioner's recovery of the overpayment.

The commissioner may require, as a condition of enrollment in medical assistance, that a
provider within a particular industry sector or category establish a compliance program that
contains the core elements established by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services.

te) (h) The commissioner may revoke the enrollment of an ordering or rendering provider
for a period of not more than one year, if the provider fails to maintain and, upon request
from the commissioner, provide access to documentation relating to written orders or requests
for payment for durable medical equipment, certifications for home health services, or
referrals for other items or services written or ordered by such provider, when the
commissioner has identified a pattern of a lack of documentation. A pattern means a failure
to maintain documentation or provide access to documentation on more than one occasion.
Nothing in this paragraph limits the authority of the commissioner to sanction a provider
under the provisions of section 256B.064.

&) (i) The commissioner shall terminate or deny the enrollment of any individual or
entity if the individual or entity has been terminated from participation in Medicare or under
the Medicaid program or Children's Health Insurance Program of any other state.

te) (j) As a condition of enrollment in medical assistance, the commissioner shall require
that a provider designated "moderate" or "high-risk" by the Centers for Medicare and
Medicaid Services or the commissioner permit the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid
Services, its agents, or its designated contractors and the state agency, its agents, or its
designated contractors to conduct unannounced on-site inspections of any provider location.
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21.9 ) (g) An enrolled provider that is also licensed by the commissioner under chapter
21.10 245A, or is licensed as a home care provider by the Department of Health under chapter
21.11  144A and has a home and community-based services designation on the home care license
21.12  under section 144A.484, must designate an individual as the entity's compliance officer.
21.13  The compliance officer must:
21.14 (1) develop policies and procedures to assure adherence to medical assistance laws and
21.15 regulations and to prevent inappropriate claims submissions;
21.16 (2) train the employees of the provider entity, and any agents or subcontractors of the
21.17  provider entity including billers, on the policies and procedures under clause (1);
21.18 (3) respond to allegations of improper conduct related to the provision or billing of
21.19 medical assistance services, and implement action to remediate any resulting problems;
21.20 (4) use evaluation techniques to monitor compliance with medical assistance laws and
21.21 regulations;
21.22 (5) promptly report to the commissioner any identified violations of medical assistance
21.23 laws or regulations; and
21.24 (6) within 60 days of discovery by the provider of a medical assistance reimbursement
21.25 overpayment, report the overpayment to the commissioner and make arrangements with
21.26  the commissioner for the commissioner's recovery of the overpayment.
21.27 The commissioner may require, as a condition of enrollment in medical assistance, that a
21.28 provider within a particular industry sector or category establish a compliance program that
21.29 contains the core elements established by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services.
21.30 te) (h) The commissioner may revoke the enrollment of an ordering or rendering provider
21.31 for a period of not more than one year, if the provider fails to maintain and, upon request
2132 from the commissioner, provide access to documentation relating to written orders or requests
21.33  for payment for durable medical equipment, certifications for home health services, or
22.1  referrals for other items or services written or ordered by such provider, when the
222 commissioner has identified a pattern of a lack of documentation. A pattern means a failure
223  to maintain documentation or provide access to documentation on more than one occasion.
224  Nothing in this paragraph limits the authority of the commissioner to sanction a provider
22.5  under the provisions of section 256B.064.
22.6 &) (i) The commissioner shall terminate or deny the enrollment of any individual or
22.7  entity if the individual or entity has been terminated from participation in Medicare or under
22.8  the Medicaid program or Children's Health Insurance Program of any other state.
22.9 te) (j) As a condition of enrollment in medical assistance, the commissioner shall require
22.10 that a provider designated "moderate" or "high-risk" by the Centers for Medicare and
22.11 Medicaid Services or the commissioner permit the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid
22.12  Services, its agents, or its designated contractors and the state agency, its agents, or its
22.13 designated contractors to conduct unannounced on-site inspections of any provider location.
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The commissioner shall publish in the Minnesota Health Care Program Provider Manual a
list of provider types designated "limited," "moderate," or "high-risk," based on the criteria
and standards used to designate Medicare providers in Code of Federal Regulations, title
42, section 424.518. The list and criteria are not subject to the requirements of chapter 14.
The commissioner's designations are not subject to administrative appeal.

D (k) As a condition of enrollment in medical assistance, the commissioner shall require
that a high-risk provider, or a person with a direct or indirect ownership interest in the
provider of five percent or higher, consent to criminal background checks, including
fingerprinting, when required to do so under state law or by a determination by the
commissioner or the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services that a provider is designated
high-risk for fraud, waste, or abuse.

t2) (D(1) Upon initial enrollment, reenrollment, and notification of revalidation, all
durable medical equipment, prosthetics, orthotics, and supplies (DMEPOS) medical suppliers
meeting the durable medical equipment provider and supplier definition in clause (3),
operating in Minnesota and receiving Medicaid funds must purchase a surety bond that is
annually renewed and designates the Minnesota Department of Human Services as the
obligee, and must be submitted in a form approved by the commissioner. For purposes of
this clause, the following medical suppliers are not required to obtain a surety bond: a
federally qualified health center, a home health agency, the Indian Health Service, a
pharmacy, and a rural health clinic.

(2) At the time of initial enrollment or reenrollment, durable medical equipment providers
and suppliers defined in clause (3) must purchase a surety bond of $50,000. If a revalidating
provider's Medicaid revenue in the previous calendar year is up to and including $300,000,
the provider agency must purchase a surety bond of $50,000. If a revalidating provider's
Medicaid revenue in the previous calendar year is over $300,000, the provider agency must
purchase a surety bond of $100,000. The surety bond must allow for recovery of costs and
fees in pursuing a claim on the bond.

(3) "Durable medical equipment provider or supplier" means a medical supplier that can
purchase medical equipment or supplies for sale or rental to the general public and is able
to perform or arrange for necessary repairs to and maintenance of equipment offered for
sale or rental.

th) (m) The Department of Human Services may require a provider to purchase a surety
bond as a condition of initial enrollment, reenrollment, reinstatement, or continued enrollment
if: (1) the provider fails to demonstrate financial viability, (2) the department determines
there is significant evidence of or potential for fraud and abuse by the provider, or (3) the
provider or category of providers is designated high-risk pursuant to paragraph €& (f) and
as per Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 455.450. The surety bond must be in
an amount of $100,000 or ten percent of the provider's payments from Medicaid during the
immediately preceding 12 months, whichever is greater. The surety bond must name the
Department of Human Services as an obligee and must allow for recovery of costs and fees
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22.14 The commissioner shall publish in the Minnesota Health Care Program Provider Manual a
22.15  list of provider types designated "limited," "moderate," or "high-risk," based on the criteria
22.16 and standards used to designate Medicare providers in Code of Federal Regulations, title
22.17 42, section 424.518. The list and criteria are not subject to the requirements of chapter 14.
22.18 The commissioner's designations are not subject to administrative appeal.
22.19 D (k) As a condition of enrollment in medical assistance, the commissioner shall require
2220 that a high-risk provider, or a person with a direct or indirect ownership interest in the
2221 provider of five percent or higher, consent to criminal background checks, including
2222 fingerprinting, when required to do so under state law or by a determination by the
22.23 commissioner or the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services that a provider is designated
22.24  high-risk for fraud, waste, or abuse.
22.25 t2) (D(1) Upon initial enrollment, reenrollment, and notification of revalidation, all
22.26 durable medical equipment, prosthetics, orthotics, and supplies (DMEPOS) medical suppliers
22.27 meeting the durable medical equipment provider and supplier definition in clause (3),
22.28 operating in Minnesota and receiving Medicaid funds must purchase a surety bond that is
2229 annually renewed and designates the Minnesota Department of Human Services as the
22.30 obligee, and must be submitted in a form approved by the commissioner. For purposes of
22.31 this clause, the following medical suppliers are not required to obtain a surety bond: a
22.32  federally qualified health center, a home health agency, the Indian Health Service, a
22.33 pharmacy, and a rural health clinic.
23.1 (2) At the time of initial enrollment or reenrollment, durable medical equipment providers
232 and suppliers defined in clause (3) must purchase a surety bond of $50,000. If a revalidating
233 provider's Medicaid revenue in the previous calendar year is up to and including $300,000,
23.4  the provider agency must purchase a surety bond of $50,000. If a revalidating provider's
23.5  Medicaid revenue in the previous calendar year is over $300,000, the provider agency must
23.6  purchase a surety bond of $100,000. The surety bond must be in a form approved by the
23.7  commissioner, renewed annually, and must allow for recovery of costs and fees in pursuing
23.8  aclaim on the bond.
23.9 (3) "Durable medical equipment provider or supplier" means a medical supplier that can
23.10 purchase medical equipment or supplies for sale or rental to the general public and is able
23.11 to perform or arrange for necessary repairs to and maintenance of equipment offered for
23.12  sale or rental.
23.13 th) (m) The Department of Human Services may require a provider to purchase a surety
23.14 bond as a condition of initial enrollment, reenrollment, reinstatement, or continued enrollment
23.15 if: (1) the provider fails to demonstrate financial viability, (2) the department determines
23.16 there is significant evidence of or potential for fraud and abuse by the provider, or (3) the
23.17 provider or category of providers is designated high-risk pursuant to paragraph €&y (¢) and
23.18 as per Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 455.450. The surety bond must be in
23.19 an amount of $100,000 or ten percent of the provider's payments from Medicaid during the
23.20 immediately preceding 12 months, whichever is greater. The surety bond must name the
23.21 Department of Human Services as an obligee and must allow for recovery of costs and fees
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in pursuing a claim on the bond. This paragraph does not apply if the provider currently
maintains a surety bond under the requirements in section 256B.0659 or 256B.85.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2019.

Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.04, subdivision 22, is amended to read:

Subd. 22. Application fee. (a) The commissioner must collect and retain federally
required nonrefundable application fees to pay for provider screening activities in accordance
with Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 455, subpart E. The enrollment application
must be made under the procedures specified by the commissioner, in the form specified
by the commissioner, and accompanied by an application fee described in paragraph (b),
or a request for a hardship exception as described in the specified procedures. Application
fees must be deposited in the provider screening account in the special revenue fund.
Amounts in the provider screening account are appropriated to the commissioner for costs
associated with the provider screening activities required in Code of Federal Regulations,
title 42, section 455, subpart E. The-eommissionershall conduet sereeningaetivitiesas

(b) The application fee under this subdivision is $532 for the calendar year 2013. For
calendar year 2014 and subsequent years, the fee:

(1) is adjusted by the percentage change to the Consumer Price Index for all urban
consumers, United States city average, for the 12-month period ending with June of the
previous year. The resulting fee must be announced in the Federal Register;

(2) is effective from January 1 to December 31 of a calendar year;

(3) is required on the submission of an initial application, an application to establish a
new practice location, an application for reenrollment when the provider is not enrolled at
the time of application of reenrollment, or at revalidation when required by federal regulation;
and

(4) must be in the amount in effect for the calendar year during which the application
for enrollment, new practice location, or reenrollment is being submitted.

(c) The application fee under this subdivision cannot be charged to:

(1) providers who are enrolled in Medicare or who provide documentation of payment
of the fee to, and enrollment with, another state, unless the commissioner is required to
rescreen the provider;

(2) providers who are enrolled but are required to submit new applications for purposes
of reenrollment;
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23.22 in pursuing a claim on the bond. This paragraph does not apply if the provider currently
23.23 maintains a surety bond under the requirements in section 256B.0659 or 256B.85.
23.24 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2019, with the exception that the
23.25 amendments to paragraph (1), clause (2), are effective January 1, 2020.
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533.21 (3) a provider who enrolls as an individual; and
533.22 (4) group practices and clinics that bill on behalf of individually enrolled providers

533.23 within the practice who have reassigned their billing privileges to the group practice or
533.24 clinic.

533.25 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2019.

533.26  Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.055, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

533.27 Subd. 2. Subsidized foster children. Medical assistance may be paid for a child eligible
533.28 for or receiving foster care maintenance payments under Title IV-E of the Social Security
533.29 Act, United States Code, title 42, sections 670 to 676, and for a child who is not eligible for
533.30 Title IV-E of the Social Security Act but who is determined eligible for foster care or kinship
533.31 assistance under chapter 256N.

534.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2020, or upon federal approval,
534.2  whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes
534.3 when federal approval is obtained.

ARTICLE 8:
271.1 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.056, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
271.2 Subdivision 1. Residency. (a) To be eligible for medical assistance, a person must reside

271.3 in Minnesota, or, if absent from the state, be deemed to be a resident of Minnesota, in
271.4 accordance with Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 435.403.

271.5 (b) The commissioner shall identify individuals who are enrolled in medical assistance
271.6 and who are absent from the state for more than 30 consecutive days, but who continue to
271.7 qualify for medical assistance in accordance with paragraph (a).

271.8 (c) If the individual is absent from the state for more than 30 consecutive days but still
271.9 deemed a resident of Minnesota in accordance with paragraph (a), any covered service
271.10 provided to the individual must be paid through the fee-for-service system and not through
271.11 the managed care capitated rate payment system under section 256B.69 or 256L.12.

ARTICLE 1:
534.4 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.056, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 23.26 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.056, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
534.5 Subd. 3. Asset limitations for certain individuals. (a) To be eligible for medical 23.27 Subd. 3. Asset limitations for certain individuals. (a) To be eligible for medical
534.6 assistance, a person must not individually own more than $3,000 in assets, or if a member 23.28 assistance, a person must not individually own more than $3,000 in assets, or if a member
534.7 of a household with two family members, husband and wife, or parent and child, the 23.29 of a household with two family members, husband and wife, or parent and child, the

534.8  household must not own more than $6,000 in assets, plus $200 for each additional legal 23.30  household must not own more than $6,000 in assets, plus $200 for each additional legal
5349 dependent. In addition to these maximum amounts, an eligible individual or family may 2331 dependent. In addition to these maximum amounts, an eligible individual or family may
534.10 accrue interest on these amounts, but they must be reduced to the maximum at the time of 23.32 accrue interest on these amounts, but they must be reduced to the maximum at the time of
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an eligibility redetermination. The accumulation of the clothing and personal needs allowance
according to section 256B.35 must also be reduced to the maximum at the time of the
eligibility redetermination. The value of assets that are not considered in determining
eligibility for medical assistance is the value of those assets excluded under the Supplemental
Security Income program for aged, blind, and disabled persons, with the following
exceptions:

(1) household goods and personal effects are not considered;

(2) capital and operating assets of a trade or business that the local agency determines
are necessary to the person's ability to earn an income are not considered;
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23.33  an eligibility redetermination. The accumulation of the clothing and personal needs allowance
23.34 according to section 256B.35 must also be reduced to the maximum at the time of the
24.1  eligibility redetermination. The value of assets that are not considered in determining
242 eligibility for medical assistance is the value of those assets excluded under the Supplemental
243  Security Income program for aged, blind, and disabled persons, with the following
244  exceptions:
24.5 (1) household goods and personal effects are not considered;
24.6 (2) capital and operating assets of a trade or business that the local agency determines
247  are necessary to the person's ability to earn an income are not considered. A bank account
24.8  that contains personal income or assets or is used to pay personal expenses is not a capital
249  or operating asset of a trade or business;
24.10 (3) motor vehicles are excluded to the same extent excluded by the Supplemental Security
24.11 Income program;
24.12 (4) assets designated as burial expenses are excluded to the same extent excluded by the
24.13  Supplemental Security Income program. Burial expenses funded by annuity contracts or
24.14  life insurance policies must irrevocably designate the individual's estate as contingent
24.15 beneficiary to the extent proceeds are not used for payment of selected burial expenses;
24.16 (5) for a person who no longer qualifies as an employed person with a disability due to
24.17 loss of earnings, assets allowed while eligible for medical assistance under section 256B.057,
24.18  subdivision 9, are not considered for 12 months, beginning with the first month of ineligibility
24.19 as an employed person with a disability, to the extent that the person's total assets remain
24.20 within the allowed limits of section 256B.057, subdivision 9, paragraph (d);
24.21 (6) when a person enrolled in medical assistance under section 256B.057, subdivision
2422 9, is age 65 or older and has been enrolled during each of the 24 consecutive months before
24.23 the person's 65th birthday, the assets owned by the person and the person's spouse must be
24.24  disregarded, up to the limits of section 256B.057, subdivision 9, paragraph (d), when
24.25  determining eligibility for medical assistance under section 256B.055, subdivision 7. The
24.26  income of a spouse of a person enrolled in medical assistance under section 256B.057,
24.27 subdivision 9, during each of the 24 consecutive months before the person's 65th birthday
24.28 must be disregarded when determining eligibility for medical assistance under section
24.29 256B.055, subdivision 7. Persons eligible under this clause are not subject to the provisions
2430 in section 256B.059; and
2431 (7) effective July 1, 2009, certain assets owned by American Indians are excluded as
24.32  required by section 5006 of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009, Public
2433 Law 111-5. For purposes of this clause, an American Indian is any person who meets the
24.34  definition of Indian according to Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 447.50.
25.1 (b) No asset limit shall apply to persons eligible under section 256B.055, subdivision
25.2 15.
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(3) motor vehicles are excluded to the same extent excluded by the Supplemental Security
Income program;

(4) assets designated as burial expenses are excluded to the same extent excluded by the
Supplemental Security Income program. Burial expenses funded by annuity contracts or
life insurance policies must irrevocably designate the individual's estate as contingent
beneficiary to the extent proceeds are not used for payment of selected burial expenses;

(5) for a person who no longer qualifies as an employed person with a disability due to
loss of earnings, assets allowed while eligible for medical assistance under section 256B.057,
subdivision 9, are not considered for 12 months, beginning with the first month of ineligibility
as an employed person with a disability, to the extent that the person's total assets remain
within the allowed limits of section 256B.057, subdivision 9, paragraph (d);

designated employment incentives asset account is disregarded when determining eligibility
for medical assistance for a person age 65 years or older under section 256B.055, subdivision
7. An employment incentives asset account must only be designated by a person who has
been enrolled in medical assistance under section 256B.057, subdivision 9, for a
24-consecutive-month period. A designated employment incentives asset account contains
qualified assets owned by the person and the person's spouse in the last month of enrollment
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ARTICLE 8:
Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.056, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Asset limitations for certain individuals. (a) To be eligible for medical
assistance, a person must not individually own more than $3,000 in assets, or if a member
of a household with two family members, husband and wife, or parent and child, the
household must not own more than $6,000 in assets, plus $200 for each additional legal
dependent. In addition to these maximum amounts, an eligible individual or family may
accrue interest on these amounts, but they must be reduced to the maximum at the time of
an eligibility redetermination. The accumulation of the clothing and personal needs allowance
according to section 256B.35 must also be reduced to the maximum at the time of the
eligibility redetermination. The value of assets that are not considered in determining
eligibility for medical assistance is the value of those assets excluded under the Supplemental
Security Income program for aged, blind, and disabled persons, with the following
exceptions:

(1) household goods and personal effects are not considered;

(2) capital and operating assets of a trade or business that the local agency determines
are necessary to the person's ability to earn an income are not considered;

(3) motor vehicles are excluded to the same extent excluded by the Supplemental Security
Income program;

(4) assets designated as burial expenses are excluded to the same extent excluded by the
Supplemental Security Income program. Burial expenses funded by annuity contracts or
life insurance policies must irrevocably designate the individual's estate as contingent
beneficiary to the extent proceeds are not used for payment of selected burial expenses;

(5) for a person who no longer qualifies as an employed person with a disability due to
loss of earnings, assets allowed while eligible for medical assistance under section 256B.057,
subdivision 9, are not considered for 12 months, beginning with the first month of ineligibility
as an employed person with a disability, to the extent that the person's total assets remain
within the allowed limits of section 256B.057, subdivision 9, paragraph (d);

designated employment incentives asset account is disregarded when determining eligibility
for medical assistance for a person age 65 years or older under section 256B.055, subdivision
7. An employment incentives asset account must only be designated by a person who has
been enrolled in medical assistance under section 256B.057, subdivision 9, for a
24-consecutive-month period. A designated employment incentives asset account contains
qualified assets owned by the person and the person's spouse in the last month of enrollment
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in medical assistance under section 256B.057, subdivision 9. Qualified assets include
retirement and pension accounts, medical expense accounts, and up to $17,000 of the person's
other nonexcluded assets. An employment incentives asset account is no longer designated
when a person loses medical assistance eligibility for a calendar month or more before
turning age 65. A person who loses medical assistance eligibility before age 65 can establish
a new designated employment incentives asset account by establishing a new
24-consecutive-month period of enrollment under section 256B.057, subdivision 9. The
income of a spouse of a person enrolled in medical assistance under section 256B.057,
subdivision 9, during each of the 24 consecutive months before the person's 65th birthday
must be disregarded when determining eligibility for medical assistance under section
256B.055, subdivision 7. Persons eligible under this clause are not subject to the provisions
in section 256B.059; and

(7) effective July 1, 2009, certain assets owned by American Indians are excluded as
required by section 5006 of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009, Public
Law 111-5. For purposes of this clause, an American Indian is any person who meets the
definition of Indian according to Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 447.50.

(b) No asset limit shall apply to persons eligible under section 256B.055, subdivision
15.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2019.
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in medical assistance under section 256B.057, subdivision 9. Qualified assets include
retirement and pension accounts, medical expense accounts, and up to $17,000 of the person's
other nonexcluded assets. An employment incentives asset account is no longer designated
when a person loses medical assistance eligibility for a calendar month or more before
turning age 65. A person who loses medical assistance eligibility before age 65 can establish
a new designated employment incentives asset account by establishing a new
24-consecutive-month period of enrollment under section 256B.057, subdivision 9. The
income of a spouse of a person enrolled in medical assistance under section 256B.057,
subdivision 9, during each of the 24 consecutive months before the person's 65th birthday
must be disregarded when determining eligibility for medical assistance under section
256B.055, subdivision 7. Persons eligible under this clause are not subject to the provisions
in section 256B.059; and

(7) effective July 1, 2009, certain assets owned by American Indians are excluded as
required by section 5006 of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009, Public
Law 111-5. For purposes of this clause, an American Indian is any person who meets the
definition of Indian according to Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 447.50.

(b) Upon initial enrollment, no asset limit shall apply to persons eligible under section
256B.055, subdivision 15. Upon renewal, a person eligible under section 256B.055,
subdivision 15, must not own either individually or as a member of a household more than
$1,000,000 in assets to continue to be eligible for medical assistance.

EFFECTIVE DATE. Paragraph (a) is effective July 1, 2019. Paragraph (b) is effective
upon federal approval.

ARTICLE 1:
Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.056, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Income. (a) To be eligible for medical assistance, a person eligible under section
256B.055, subdivisions 7, 7a, and 12, may have income up to 100 percent of the federal
poverty guidelines. Effective January 1, 2000, and each successive January, recipients of
Supplemental Security Income may have an income up to the Supplemental Security Income
standard in effect on that date.

(b) Effective January 1, 2014, to be eligible for medical assistance, under section
256B.055, subdivision 3a, a parent or caretaker relative may have an income up to 133
percent of the federal poverty guidelines for the household size.

(c) To be eligible for medical assistance under section 256B.055, subdivision 15, a
person may have an income up to 133 percent of federal poverty guidelines for the household
size.

(d) To be eligible for medical assistance under section 256B.055, subdivision 16, a child
age 19 to 20 may have an income up to 133 percent of the federal poverty guidelines for
the household size.
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535.28 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.056, subdivision 5c, is amended to read:

535.29
535.30
535.31

Subd. 5c. Excess income standard. (2) The excess income standard for parents and
caretaker relatives, pregnant women, infants, and children ages two through 20 is the standard
specified in subdivision 4, paragraph (b).

535.32
53533

(b) The excess income standard for a person whose eligibility is based on blindness,
disability, or age of 65 or more years shall equal:
536.1 (1) 81 percent of the federal poverty guidelines; and

536.2 (2) 83 percent of the federal poverty guidelines, effective July 1, 2021.
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25.18 (e) To be eligible for medical assistance under section 256B.055, subdivision 3a, a child
25.19 under age 19 may have income up to 275 percent of the federal poverty guidelines for the
25.20 household size or an equivalent standard when converted using modified adjusted gross
2521 income methodology as required under the Affordable Care Act. Children who are enrolled
25.22 in medical assistance as of December 31, 2013, and are determined ineligible for medical
25.23 assistance because of the elimination of income disregards under modified adjusted gross
25.24 income methodology as defined in subdivision la remain eligible for medical assistance
25.25 under the Children's Health Insurance Program Reauthorization Act of 2009, Public Law
25.26  111-3, until the date of their next regularly scheduled eligibility redetermination as required
25.27 in subdivision 7a.
25.28 (f) In computing income to determine eligibility of persons under paragraphs (a) to (e)
25.29  who are not residents of long-term care facilities, the commissioner shall: (1) disregard
25.30 increases in income as required by Public Laws 94-566, section 503; 99-272; and 99-509.
2531 For persons eligible under paragraph (a), veteran aid and attendance benefits and Veterans
2532 Administration unusual medical expense payments are considered income to the recipient:;
25.33 and (2) include all assets available to the applicant that are considered income according to
26.1  the Internal Revenue Service. Income includes all deposits into accounts owned or controlled
26.2 by the applicant, including amounts spent on personal expenses, including rent, mortgage,
26.3  automobile-related expenses, utilities, and food and amounts received as salary or draws
26.4  from business accounts and not otherwise excluded by federal or state laws. Income does
26.5 not include a deposit specifically identified by the applicant as a loan or gift, for which the
26.6  applicant provides the source, date, amount, and repayment terms.
ARTICLE 8:
273.5 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.056, subdivision 5c, is amended to read:
273.6 Subd. 5c. Excess income standard. (2) The excess income standard for parents and
273.7 caretaker relatives, pregnant women, infants, and children ages two through 20 is the standard
273.8  specified in subdivision 4, paragraph (b).
273.9 (b) The excess income standard for a person whose eligibility is based on blindness,
273.10 disability, or age of 65 or more years shall equal &+ 82 percent of the federal poverty
273.11 guidelines. Effective July 1, 2021, the excess income standard for a person whose eligibility
273.12 is based on blindness disability, or age of 65 or more years, is the standard specified in
273.13 subdivision 4, paragraph (a).
273.14 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2020.
ARTICLE 1:
26.7 Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.056, subdivision 7a, is amended to read:
26.8 Subd. 7a. Periodic renewal of eligibility. (a) The commissioner shall make an annual
26.9  redetermination of eligibility based-en tornmtoncontatned-inthe-enroteescaseteun
26.10 eotherinformationavailablete i i Hit Hrformationaceessed
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26.11
26.12

26.13 (b) he-commissionereannotrenew-ehgibility in-aceordance-with-parastaph(a
26.14 commissioner must provide the enrollee with a prepopulated renewal form containing
26.15 eligibility information available to the agency and permit the enrollee to must submit the
26.16 form with any corrections or additional information to the agency and sign the renewal form
26.17 via any of the modes of submission specified in section 256B.04, subdivision 18.

26.18 (c) An enrollee who is terminated for failure to complete the renewal process may
26.19  subsequently submit the renewal form and required information within four months after
26.20 the date of termination and have coverage reinstated without a lapse, if otherwise eligible
26.21 under this chapter.

26.22 (d) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), individuals eligible under subdivision 5 shall be
26.23 required to renew eligibility every six months.
ARTICLE 8:

273.15 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.056, subdivision 7a, is amended to read:

273.16 Subd. 7a. Periodic renewal of eligibility. (a) The commissioner shall make an annual
273.17 redetermination of eligibility based on information contained in the enrollee's case file and
273.18 other information available to the agency, including but not limited to information accessed
273.19 through an electronic database, without requiring the enrollee to submit any information
273.20 when sufficient data is available for the agency to renew eligibility.

273.21 (b) If the commissioner cannot renew eligibility in accordance with paragraph (a), the
273.22 commissioner must provide the enrollee with a prepopulated renewal form containing
273.23 eligibility information available to the agency and permit the enrollee to submit the form
273.24 with any corrections or additional information to the agency and sign the renewal form via
273.25 any of the modes of submission specified in section 256B.04, subdivision 18.

273.26 (c) An enrollee who is terminated for failure to complete the renewal process may
273.27 subsequently submit the renewal form and required information within four months after
273.28 the date of termination and have coverage reinstated without a lapse, if otherwise eligible
273.29 under this chapter. The local agency may close the enrollee's case file if the required
273.30 information is not submitted within four months of termination.

273.31 (d) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), individuals eligible under subdivision 5 shall be
273.32 required to renew eligibility every six months.

536.3 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.0625, subdivision 3b, is amended to read:

536.4 Subd. 3b. Telemedicine services. (a) Medical assistance covers medically necessary
536.5 services and consultations delivered by a licensed health care provider via telemedicine in
536.6 the same manner as if the service or consultation was delivered in person. Coverage is
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limited to three telemedicine services per enrollee per calendar week, except as provided
in paragraph (f). Telemedicine services shall be paid at the full allowable rate.

(b) The commissioner shall establish criteria that a health care provider must attest to
in order to demonstrate the safety or efficacy of delivering a particular service via
telemedicine. The attestation may include that the health care provider:

(1) has identified the categories or types of services the health care provider will provide
via telemedicine;

(2) has written policies and procedures specific to telemedicine services that are regularly
reviewed and updated;

(3) has policies and procedures that adequately address patient safety before, during,
and after the telemedicine service is rendered;

(4) has established protocols addressing how and when to discontinue telemedicine
services; and

(5) has an established quality assurance process related to telemedicine services.

(c) As a condition of payment, a licensed health care provider must document each
occurrence of a health service provided by telemedicine to a medical assistance enrollee.
Health care service records for services provided by telemedicine must meet the requirements
set forth in Minnesota Rules, part 9505.2175, subparts 1 and 2, and must document:

(1) the type of service provided by telemedicine;

(2) the time the service began and the time the service ended, including an a.m. and p.m.
designation;

(3) the licensed health care provider's basis for determining that telemedicine is an
appropriate and effective means for delivering the service to the enrollee;

(4) the mode of transmission of the telemedicine service and records evidencing that a
particular mode of transmission was utilized;

(5) the location of the originating site and the distant site;

(6) if the claim for payment is based on a physician's telemedicine consultation with
another physician, the written opinion from the consulting physician providing the
telemedicine consultation; and

(7) compliance with the criteria attested to by the health care provider in accordance
with paragraph (b).

(d) For purposes of this subdivision, unless otherwise covered under this chapter,
"telemedicine" is defined as the delivery of health care services or consultations while the
patient is at an originating site and the licensed health care provider is at a distant site. A
communication between licensed health care providers, or a licensed health care provider
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537.11 and a patient that consists solely of a telephone conversation, e-mail, or facsimile transmission
537.12 does not constitute telemedicine consultations or services. Telemedicine may be provided
537.13 by means of real-time two-way, interactive audio and visual communications, including the
537.14 application of secure video conferencing or store-and-forward technology to provide or

537.15 support health care delivery, which facilitate the assessment, diagnosis, consultation,

537.16 treatment, education, and care management of a patient's health care.

537.17 (e) For purposes of this section, "licensed health care provider" means a licensed health
537.18 care provider under section 62A.671, subdivision 6, and a mental health practitioner defined
537.19 under section 245.462, subdivision 17, or 245.4871, subdivision 26, working under the
537.20 general supervision of a mental health professional; "health care provider" is defined under
537.21 section 62A.671, subdivision 3; and "originating site" is defined under section 62A.671,
537.22 subdivision 7.

537.23 () The limit on coverage of three telemedicine services per enrollee per calendar week
537.24 does not apply if:
537.25 (1) the telemedicine services provided by the licensed health care provider are for the

537.26 treatment and control of tuberculosis; and

537.27 (2) the services are provided in a manner consistent with the recommendations and best
537.28 practices specified by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and the commissioner
537.29 of health.

537.30  Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.0625, is amended by adding a subdivision
537.31 to read:

537.32 Subd. 5m. Conversion therapy. Conversion therapy, as defined in section 214.078, is
537.33 not covered.

538.1 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.0625, subdivision 9, is amended to read:
538.2 Subd. 9. Dental services. (a) Medical assistance covers dental services.

538.3 (b) Medical assistance dental coverage for nonpregnant adults is limited to the following

538.4 services:

538.5 (1) comprehensive exams, limited to once every five years;

538.6 (2) periodic exams, limited to one per year;

538.7 (3) limited exams;

538.8 (4) bitewing x-rays, limited to one per year;

538.9 (5) periapical x-rays;

538.10 (6) panoramic x-rays, limited to one every five years except (1) when medically necessary

538.11 for the diagnosis and follow-up of oral and maxillofacial pathology and trauma or (2) once
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274.1 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.0625, subdivision 9, is amended to read:
274.2 Subd. 9. Dental services. (a) Medical assistance covers dental services in accordance
274.3  with this subdivision.
274.4 (b) Medical assistance dental coverage for renpregnantadults adults who are eligible
274.5 under section 256B.055, subdivision 7, is limited to the following services:
274.6 (1) comprehensive exams, limited to once every five years;
274.7 (2) periodic exams, limited to one per year;
274.8 (3) limited exams;
274.9 (4) bitewing x-rays, limited to one per year;
274.10 (5) periapical x-rays;
274.11 (6) panoramic x-rays, limited to one every five years except (1) when medically necessary

274.12 for the diagnosis and follow-up of oral and maxillofacial pathology and trauma or (2) once
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every two years for patients who cannot cooperate for intraoral film due to a developmental
disability or medical condition that does not allow for intraoral film placement;

(7) prophylaxis, limited to one per year;

(8) application of fluoride varnish, limited to one per year;

(9) posterior fillings, all at the amalgam rate;

(10) anterior fillings;

(11) endodontics, limited to root canals on the anterior and premolars only;

(12) removable prostheses, each dental arch limited to one every six years;

(13) oral surgery, limited to extractions, biopsies, and incision and drainage of abscesses;
(14) palliative treatment and sedative fillings for relief of pain; and

(15) full-mouth debridement, limited to one every five years:; and

(16) nonsurgical treatment for periodontal disease, including scaling and root planing
once every two years for each quadrant, and routine periodontal maintenance procedures.

(c) In addition to the services specified in paragraph (b), medical assistance covers the
following services for adults, if provided in an outpatient hospital setting or freestanding
ambulatory surgical center as part of outpatient dental surgery:

(1) periodontics, limited to periodontal scaling and root planing once every two years;
(2) general anesthesia; and
(3) full-mouth survey once every five years.

(d) Medical assistance covers medically necessary dental services for children and
pregnant women. The following guidelines apply:

(1) posterior fillings are paid at the amalgam rate;

(2) application of sealants are covered once every five years per permanent molar for
children only;

(3) application of fluoride varnish is covered once every six months; and
(4) orthodontia is eligible for coverage for children only.

(e) In addition to the services specified in paragraphs (b) and (c), medical assistance
covers the following services for adults:

(1) house calls or extended care facility calls for on-site delivery of covered services;

(2) behavioral management when additional staff time is required to accommodate
behavioral challenges and sedation is not used;
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every two years for patients who cannot cooperate for intraoral film due to a developmental
disability or medical condition that does not allow for intraoral film placement;

(7) prophylaxis, limited to one per year;

(8) application of fluoride varnish, limited to one per year;

(9) posterior fillings, all at the amalgam rate;

(10) anterior fillings;

(11) endodontics, limited to root canals on the anterior and premolars only;

(12) removable prostheses, each dental arch limited to one every six years;

(13) oral surgery, limited to extractions, biopsies, and incision and drainage of abscesses;
(14) palliative treatment and sedative fillings for relief of pain; and

(15) full-mouth debridement, limited to one every five years.

(c) In addition to the services specified in paragraph (b), medical assistance covers the
following services for adults, if provided in an outpatient hospital setting or freestanding
ambulatory surgical center as part of outpatient dental surgery:

(1) periodontics, limited to periodontal scaling and root planing once every two years;
(2) general anesthesia; and
(3) full-mouth survey once every five years.

& (a) Medical assistance covers medically necessary dental services for children and
pregnant women. The following guidelines apply:

(1) posterior fillings are paid at the amalgam rate;

(2) application of sealants are covered once every five years per permanent molar for
children only;

(3) application of fluoride varnish is covered once every six months; and
(4) orthodontia is eligible for coverage for children only.

te) (b) In addition to the services specified in paragraphs (b) and (c), medical assistance
covers the following services for adults:

(1) house calls or extended care facility calls for on-site delivery of covered services;

(2) behavioral management when additional staff time is required to accommodate
behavioral challenges and sedation is not used;
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(3) oral or IV sedation, if the covered dental service cannot be performed safely without
it or would otherwise require the service to be performed under general anesthesia in a
hospital or surgical center; and

(4) prophylaxis, in accordance with an appropriate individualized treatment plan, but
no more than four times per year.

(f) The commissioner shall not require prior authorization for the services included in
paragraph (e), clauses (1) to (3), and shall prohibit managed care and county-based purchasing
plans from requiring prior authorization for the services included in paragraph (e), clauses
(1) to (3), when provided under sections 256B.69, 256B.692, and 256L.12.

Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.0625, subdivision 13, is amended to read:

Subd. 13. Drugs. (a) Medical assistance covers drugs, except for fertility drugs when
specifically used to enhance fertility, if prescribed by a licensed practitioner and dispensed
by a licensed pharmacist, by a physician enrolled in the medical assistance program as a
dispensing physician, or by a physician, physician assistant, or a nurse practitioner employed
by or under contract with a community health board as defined in section 145A.02,
subdivision 5, for the purposes of communicable disease control.

(b) The dispensed quantity of a prescription drug must not exceed a 34-day supply,
unless authorized by the commissioner.

(c) For the purpose of this subdivision and subdivision 13d, an "active pharmaceutical
ingredient" is defined as a substance that is represented for use in a drug and when used in
the manufacturing, processing, or packaging of a drug becomes an active ingredient of the
drug product. An "excipient" is defined as an inert substance used as a diluent or vehicle
for a drug. The commissioner shall establish a list of active pharmaceutical ingredients and
excipients which are included in the medical assistance formulary. Medical assistance covers
selected active pharmaceutical ingredients and excipients used in compounded prescriptions
when the compounded combination is specifically approved by the commissioner or when
a commercially available product:

(1) is not a therapeutic option for the patient;

(2) does not exist in the same combination of active ingredients in the same strengths
as the compounded prescription; and
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(3) oral or IV sedation, if the covered dental service cannot be performed safely without
it or would otherwise require the service to be performed under general anesthesia in a
hospital or surgical center; and

(4) prophylaxis, in accordance with an appropriate individualized treatment plan, but
no more than four times per year.

D _(c) The commissioner shall not require prior authorization for the services included
in paragraph ¢e) (b), clauses (1) to (3), and shall prohibit managed care and county-based
purchasing plans from requiring prior authorization for the services included in paragraph
te) (b), clauses (1) to (3), when provided under sections 256B.69, 256B.692, and 256L.12.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.0625, subdivision 12, is amended to read:

Subd. 12. Eyeglasses, dentures, and prosthetic devices. (a) Medical assistance covers
eyeglasses;dentures;and prosthetic devices if prescribed by a licensed practitioner.

(b) Medical assistance covers vision services, eyeglasses, and dentures for children,
pregnant women, and adults eligible under section 256B.055, subdivision 7, if prescribed
by a licensed practitioner.

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.0625, subdivision 13, is amended to read:

Subd. 13. Drugs. (a) Medical assistance covers drugs, except for fertility drugs when
specifically used to enhance fertility, if prescribed by a licensed practitioner and dispensed
by a licensed pharmacist, by a physician enrolled in the medical assistance program as a
dispensing physician, or by a physician, physician assistant, or a nurse practitioner employed
by or under contract with a community health board as defined in section 145A.02,
subdivision 5, for the purposes of communicable disease control.

(b) The dispensed quantity of a prescription drug must not exceed a 34-day supply,
unless authorized by the commissioner.

(c) For the purpose of this subdivision and subdivision 13d, an "active pharmaceutical
ingredient" is defined as a substance that is represented for use in a drug and when used in
the manufacturing, processing, or packaging of a drug becomes an active ingredient of the
drug product. An "excipient" is defined as an inert substance used as a diluent or vehicle
for a drug. The commissioner shall establish a list of active pharmaceutical ingredients and
excipients which are included in the medical assistance formulary. Medical assistance covers
selected active pharmaceutical ingredients and excipients used in compounded prescriptions
when the compounded combination is specifically approved by the commissioner or when
a commercially available product:

(1) is not a therapeutic option for the patient;

(2) does not exist in the same combination of active ingredients in the same strengths
as the compounded prescription; and
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(3) cannot be used in place of the active pharmaceutical ingredient in the compounded
prescription.

(d) Medical assistance covers the following over-the-counter drugs when prescribed by
a licensed practitioner or by a licensed pharmacist who meets standards established by the
commissioner, in consultation with the board of pharmacy: antacids, acetaminophen, family
planning products, aspirin, insulin, products for the treatment of lice, vitamins for adults
with documented vitamin deficiencies, vitamins for children under the age of seven and
pregnant or nursing women, and any other over-the-counter drug identified by the
commissioner, in consultation with the Formulary Committee, as necessary, appropriate,
and cost-effective for the treatment of certain specified chronic diseases, conditions, or
disorders, and this determination shall not be subject to the requirements of chapter 14. A
pharmacist may prescribe over-the-counter medications as provided under this paragraph
for purposes of receiving reimbursement under Medicaid. When prescribing over-the-counter
drugs under this paragraph, licensed pharmacists must consult with the recipient to determine
necessity, provide drug counseling, review drug therapy for potential adverse interactions,
and make referrals as needed to other health care profess10nals Ovef-the-eeuﬂter—meeheatteﬂs

(e) Effective January 1, 2006, medical assistance shall not cover drugs that are coverable
under Medicare Part D as defined in the Medicare Prescription Drug, Improvement, and
Modernization Act of 2003, Public Law 108-173, section 1860D-2(e), for individuals eligible
for drug coverage as defined in the Medicare Prescription Drug, Improvement, and
Modernization Act of 2003, Public Law 108-173, section 1860D-1(a)(3)(A). For these
individuals, medical assistance may cover drugs from the drug classes listed in United States
Code, title 42, section 1396r-8(d)(2), subject to this subdivision and subdivisions 13a to
13g, except that drugs listed in United States Code, title 42, section 1396r-8(d)(2)(E), shall
not be covered.

(f) Medical assistance covers drugs acquired through the federal 340B Drug Pricing
Program and dispensed by 340B covered entities and ambulatory pharmacies under common
ownership of the 340B covered entity. Medical assistance does not cover drugs acquired
through the federal 340B Drug Pricing Program and dispensed by 340B contract pharmacies.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective April 1, 2019, or upon federal approval,
whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes
when federal approval is obtained.
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(3) cannot be used in place of the active pharmaceutical ingredient in the compounded
prescription.

(d) Medical assistance covers the following over-the-counter drugs when prescribed by
a licensed practitioner or by a licensed pharmacist who meets standards established by the
commissioner, in consultation with the board of pharmacy: antacids, acetaminophen, family
planning products, aspirin, insulin, products for the treatment of lice, vitamins for adults
with documented vitamin deficiencies, vitamins for children under the age of seven and
pregnant or nursing women, and any other over-the-counter drug identified by the
commissioner, in consultation with the Formulary Committee, as necessary, appropriate,
and cost-effective for the treatment of certain specified chronic diseases, conditions, or
disorders, and this determination shall not be subject to the requirements of chapter 14. A
pharmacist may prescribe over-the-counter medications as provided under this paragraph
for purposes of receiving reimbursement under Medicaid. When prescribing over-the-counter
drugs under this paragraph, licensed pharmacists must consult with the recipient to determine
necessity, provide drug counseling, review drug therapy for potential adverse interactions,
and make referrals as needed to other health care profess10nals Ovef-the-eeuﬂter—meeheatteﬂs

(e) Effective January 1, 2006, medical assistance shall not cover drugs that are coverable
under Medicare Part D as defined in the Medicare Prescription Drug, Improvement, and
Modernization Act of 2003, Public Law 108-173, section 1860D-2(e), for individuals eligible
for drug coverage as defined in the Medicare Prescription Drug, Improvement, and
Modernization Act of 2003, Public Law 108-173, section 1860D-1(a)(3)(A). For these
individuals, medical assistance may cover drugs from the drug classes listed in United States
Code, title 42, section 1396r-8(d)(2), subject to this subdivision and subdivisions 13a to
13g, except that drugs listed in United States Code, title 42, section 1396r-8(d)(2)(E), shall
not be covered.

(f) Medical assistance covers drugs acquired through the federal 340B Drug Pricing
Program and dispensed by 340B covered entities and ambulatory pharmacies under common
ownership of the 340B covered entity. Medical assistance does not cover drugs acquired
through the federal 340B Drug Pricing Program and dispensed by 340B contract pharmacies.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective April 1, 2019, or upon federal approval,
whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes
when federal approval is obtained.
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Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.0625, subdivision 13d, is amended to
read:

Subd. 13d. Drug formulary. (a) The commissioner shall establish a drug formulary. Its
establishment and publication shall not be subject to the requirements of the Administrative
Procedure Act, but the Formulary Committee shall review and comment on the formulary
contents.

(b) The formulary shall not include:

(1) drugs, active pharmaceutical ingredients, or products for which there is no federal
funding;

(2) over-the-counter drugs, except as provided in subdivision 13;

) (3) drugs or active pharmaceutical ingredients when used for the treatment of
impotence or erectile dysfunction;

€5) (4) drugs or active pharmaceutical ingredients for which medical value has not been
established;

6) (5) drugs from manufacturers who have not signed a rebate agreement with the
Department of Health and Human Services pursuant to section 1927 of title XIX of the
Social Security Act; and

H (6) medical cannabis as defined in section 152.22, subdivision 6.

(c) If a single-source drug used by at least two percent of the fee-for-service medical
assistance recipients is removed from the formulary due to the failure of the manufacturer
to sign a rebate agreement with the Department of Health and Human Services, the
commissioner shall notify prescribing practitioners within 30 days of receiving notification
from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) that a rebate agreement was
not signed.

Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.0625, subdivision 13e, is amended to
read:

Subd. 13e. Payment rates. (a) The basis for determining the amount of payment shall
be the lower of the aetual-aequisition ingredient costs of the drugs er-the-maximun-allowable
eostby-the-eommissioner plus the fixed professional dispensing fee; or the usual and
customary price charged to the public. The usual and customary price means the lowest
price charged by the provider to a patient who pays for the prescription by cash, check, or
charge account and includes prices the pharmacy charges to a patient enrolled in a
prescription savings club or prescription discount club administered by the pharmacy or
pharmacy chain. The amount of payment basis must be reduced to reflect all discount
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Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.0625, subdivision 13e, is amended to
read:

Subd. 13e. Payment rates. (a) The basis for determining the amount of payment shall
be the lower of the aetual-aequisition ingredient costs of the drugs er-the-maximun-allowable
eostby-the-eommissioner plus the fixed professional dispensing fee; or the usual and
customary price charged to the public. The usual and customary price means the lowest
price charged by the provider to a patient who pays for the prescription by cash, check, or
charge account and includes prices the pharmacy charges to a patient enrolled in a
prescription savings club or prescription discount club administered by the pharmacy or
pharmacy chain. The amount of payment basis must be reduced to reflect all discount
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amounts applied to the charge by any third-party provider/insurer agreement or contract for
submitted charges to medical assistance programs. The net submitted charge may not be
greater than the patient liability for the service. The pharmaey professional dispensing fee
shall be $3-65 $10.48 for legend-preseription-drugs;exeeptthat prescriptions filled with
legend drugs meeting the definition of "covered outpatient drugs" according to United States
Code, title 42, section 1396r-8(k)(2). The dispensing fee for intravenous solutions whieh
that must be compounded by the pharmac1st shall be $~8 $10 48 per bag4$+4—per—b&g—for

dlﬂpeﬁsed—m—quaﬁﬁﬂes—gre&ter—thaﬁ—eﬁe—hter The professmnal dlspensmg fee for

prescriptions filled with over-the-counter drugs meeting the definition of covered outpatient
drugs shall be $10.48 for dispensed quantities equal to or greater than the number of units
contained in the manufacturer's original package. The professional dispensing fee shall be
prorated based on the percentage of the package dispensed when the pharmacy dispenses

a quantity less than the number of units contained in the manufacturer's original package.

The pharmacy dispensing fee for prescribed over-the-counter drugs not meeting the definition

of covered outpatlent dmgs shall be $3 65—e*eept—that—the—feesha4—l—be$4—34—fer

E—ffeetwe%&nu&ry—l%@ﬂ—ﬂae—ae&r&l—aeqmsﬁeﬂ for quant1t1es equal to or greater than the

number of units contained in the manufacturer's original package and shall be prorated based
on the percentage of the package dispensed when the pharmacy dispenses a quantity less
than the number of units contained in the manufacturer's original package. The National
Average Drug Acquisition Cost (NADAC) shall be used to determine the ingredient cost

of a drug. For drugs for which a NADAC is not reported, the commissioner shall estimate
the ingredient cost at the wholesale acquisition cost minus two percent. The ingredient cost
of a drug aequtred—t—hfeugh for a prov1der part1c1pat1ng in the federal 34OB Drug PI‘ICll‘lg
Program shall be estima h v e

pereent either the 340B Drug Prrcrng Program cerhng prrce estabhshed by the Health
Resources and Services Administration or NADAC, whichever is lower. Wholesale
acquisition cost is defined as the manufacturer's list price for a drug or biological to
wholesalers or direct purchasers in the United States, not including prompt pay or other
discounts, rebates, or reductions in price, for the most recent month for which information
is available, as reported in wholesale price guides or other publications of drug or biological
pricing data. The maximum allowable cost of a multisource drug may be set by the
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submitted charges to medical assistance programs. The net submitted charge may not be
greater than the patient liability for the service. The pharmaey professional dispensing fee
shall be $3-65 $10.48 for legend-preseription-drugs;exeeptthat prescriptions filled with
legend drugs meeting the definition of "covered outpatient drugs" according to United States
Code, title 42, section 1396r-8(k)(2). The dispensing fee for intravenous solutions whieh
that must be compounded by the pharmac1st shall be $~8 $10 48 per bag4$+4—per—b&g—for

dlﬂpeﬁsed—m—quaﬁﬁﬂes—gre&ter—thaﬁ—eﬁe—hter The professmnal dlspensmg fee for

prescriptions filled with over-the-counter drugs meeting the definition of covered outpatient
drugs shall be $10.48 for dispensed quantities equal to or greater than the number of units
contained in the manufacturer's original package. The professional dispensing fee shall be
prorated based on the percentage of the package dispensed when the pharmacy dispenses

a quantity less than the number of units contained in the manufacturer's original package.

The pharmacy dispensing fee for prescribed over-the-counter drugs not meeting the definition

of covered outpatlent dmgs shall be $3 65—e*eept—that—the—feesha4—l—be$4—34—fer
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E—ffeetwe%&nu&ry—l%@ﬂ—ﬂae—ae&r&l—aeqmsﬁeﬂ for quant1t1es equal to or greater than the

number of units contained in the manufacturer's original package and shall be prorated based
on the percentage of the package dispensed when the pharmacy dispenses a quantity less
than the number of units contained in the manufacturer's original package. The National
Average Drug Acquisition Cost (NADAC) shall be used to determine the ingredient cost

of a drug. For drugs for which a NADAC is not reported, the commissioner shall estimate
the ingredient cost at the wholesale acquisition cost minus two percent. The ingredient cost
of a drug aequtred—t—hfeugh for a prov1der part1c1pat1ng in the federal 34OB Drug PI‘ICll‘lg
Program shall be estima h v e

pereent either the 340B Drug Prrcrng Program cerhng prrce estabhshed by the Health
Resources and Services Administration or NADAC, whichever is lower. Wholesale
acquisition cost is defined as the manufacturer's list price for a drug or biological to
wholesalers or direct purchasers in the United States, not including prompt pay or other
discounts, rebates, or reductions in price, for the most recent month for which information
is available, as reported in wholesale price guides or other publications of drug or biological
pricing data. The maximum allowable cost of a multisource drug may be set by the
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commissioner and it shall be comparable to—but the actual acqulsltlon cost of the dmg
product and no hrgher than he-maxim 3 he a-thi

v e-costprograms the NADAC of the generrc product
Estabhshment of the amount of payment for drugs shall not be subject to the requirements
of the Administrative Procedure Act.

(b) Pharmacies dispensing prescriptions to residents of long-term care facilities using
an automated drug distribution system meeting the requirements of section 151.58, or a
packaging system meeting the packaging standards set forth in Minnesota Rules, part
6800.2700, that govern the return of unused drugs to the pharmacy for reuse, may employ
retrospective billing for prescription drugs dispensed to long-term care facility residents. A
retrospectively billing pharmacy must submit a claim only for the quantity of medication
used by the enrolled recipient during the defined billing period. A retrospectively billing
pharmacy must use a billing period not less than one calendar month or 30 days.

e#uﬂused—dﬂtgs—to—the—phaﬂﬂaey—fer—reuse— A pharmacy provrder using packagrng that meets

the standards set forth in Minnesota Rules, part 6800.2700, is required to credit the
department for the actual acquisition cost of all unused drugs that are eligible for reuse,
unless the pharmacy is using retrospective billing. The commissioner may permit the drug
clozapine to be dispensed in a quantity that is less than a 30-day supply.

(d) Whenes
multisource drug, pay re-e 5

the-publie-or the ingredient cost shall be the NADAC of the generrc product or the maximum
allowable cost established by the commissioner unless prior authorization for the brand
name product has been granted according to the criteria established by the Drug Formulary
Committee as required by subdivision 13f, paragraph (a), and the prescriber has indicated
"dispense as written" on the prescription in a manner consistent with section 151.21,
subdivision 2.

(e) The basis for determining the amount of payment for drugs administered in an
outpatient setting shall be the lower of the usual and customary cost submitted by the
provider, 106 percent of the average sales price as determined by the United States
Department of Health and Human Services pursuant to title XVIII, section 1847a of the
federal Social Security Act, the specialty pharmacy rate, or the maximum allowable cost
set by the commissioner. If average sales price is unavailable, the amount of payment must
be lower of the usual and customary cost submitted by the provider, the wholesale acquisition
cost, the specialty pharmacy rate, or the maximum allowable cost set by the commissioner.
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commissioner and it shall be comparable to—but the actual acqulsltlon cost of the dmg
product and no hrgher than he-maxim 3 he a-thi

v e-costprograms the NADAC of the generrc product
Estabhshment of the amount of payment for drugs shall not be subject to the requirements
of the Administrative Procedure Act.

(b) Pharmacies dispensing prescriptions to residents of long-term care facilities using
an automated drug distribution system meeting the requirements of section 151.58, or a
packaging system meeting the packaging standards set forth in Minnesota Rules, part
6800.2700, that govern the return of unused drugs to the pharmacy for reuse, may employ
retrospective billing for prescription drugs dispensed to long-term care facility residents. A
retrospectively billing pharmacy must submit a claim only for the quantity of medication
used by the enrolled recipient during the defined billing period. A retrospectively billing
pharmacy must use a billing period not less than one calendar month or 30 days.

279.19 pharmaet
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e#uﬂused—dﬂtgs—to—the—phaﬂﬂaey—fer—reuse— A pharmacy provrder using packagrng that meets
the standards set forth in Minnesota Rules, part 6800.2700, is required to credit the

department for the actual acquisition cost of all unused drugs that are eligible for reuse,
unless the pharmacy is using retrospective billing. The commissioner may permit the drug
clozapine to be dispensed in a quantity that is less than a 30-day supply.

(d) Whenes
multisource drug, pay re-e 53

the-publie-or the ingredient cost shall be the NADAC of the generrc product or the maximum
allowable cost established by the commissioner unless prior authorization for the brand
name product has been granted according to the criteria established by the Drug Formulary
Committee as required by subdivision 13f, paragraph (a), and the prescriber has indicated
"dispense as written" on the prescription in a manner consistent with section 151.21,
subdivision 2.

(e) The basis for determining the amount of payment for drugs administered in an
outpatient setting shall be the lower of the usual and customary cost submitted by the
provider, 106 percent of the average sales price as determined by the United States
Department of Health and Human Services pursuant to title XVIII, section 1847a of the
federal Social Security Act, the specialty pharmacy rate, or the maximum allowable cost
set by the commissioner. If average sales price is unavailable, the amount of payment must
be lower of the usual and customary cost submitted by the provider, the wholesale acquisition
cost, the specialty pharmacy rate, or the maximum allowable cost set by the commissioner.
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Effeetive January1;2044; The commissioner shall discount the payment rate for drugs
obtained through the federal 340B Drug Pricing Program by 28 28.6 percent. The payment

for drugs administered in an outpatient setting shall be made to the administering facility
or practitioner. A retail or specialty pharmacy dispensing a drug for administration in an
outpatient setting is not eligible for direct reimbursement.

(f) The commissioner may regetiate-lowerreimbursement establish maximum allowable
cost rates for specialty pharmacy products than-therates that are lower than the ingredient

cost formulas specified in paragraph (a). The commissioner may require individuals enrolled
in the health care programs administered by the department to obtain specialty pharmacy
products from providers with whom the commissioner has negotiated lower reimbursement
rates. Specialty pharmacy products are defined as those used by a small number of recipients
or recipients with complex and chronic diseases that require expensive and challenging drug
regimens. Examples of these conditions include, but are not limited to: multiple sclerosis,
HIV/AIDS, transplantation, hepatitis C, growth hormone deficiency, Crohn's Disease,
rheumatoid arthritis, and certain forms of cancer. Specialty pharmaceutical products include
injectable and infusion therapies, biotechnology drugs, antihemophilic factor products,
high-cost therapies, and therapies that require complex care. The commissioner shall consult
with the Formulary Committee to develop a list of specialty pharmacy products subject to
this-paragraph maximum allowable cost reimbursement. In consulting with the Formulary
Committee in developing this list, the commissioner shall take into consideration the
population served by specialty pharmacy products, the current delivery system and standard
of care in the state, and access to care issues. The commissioner shall have the discretion

to adjust the reimbursementrate maximum allowable cost to prevent access to care issues.

(g) Home infusion therapy services provided by home infusion therapy pharmacies must
be paid at rates according to subdivision 8d.

(h) The commissioner shall contract with a vendor to conduct a cost of dispensing survey
for all pharmacies that are physically located in the state of Minnesota that dispense outpatient
drugs under medical assistance. The commissioner shall ensure that the vendor has prior
experience in conducting cost of dispensing surveys. Each pharmacy enrolled with the
department to dispense outpatient prescription drugs to fee-for-service members must
respond to the cost of dispensing survey. The commissioner may sanction a pharmacy under
section 256B.064 for failure to respond. The commissioner shall require the vendor to
measure a single statewide cost of dispensing for all responding pharmacies to measure the
mean, mean weighted by total prescription volume, mean weighted by medical assistance
prescription volume, median, median weighted by total prescription volume, and median
weighted by total medical assistance prescription volume. The commissioner shall post a
copy of the final cost of dispensing survey report on the department's website. The initial
survey must be completed no later than January 1, 2021, and repeated every three years.

The commissioner shall provide a summary of the results of each cost of dispensing survey
and provide recommendations for any changes to the dispensing fee to the chairs and ranking
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Effeetive January1;2044; The commissioner shall discount the payment rate for drugs
obtained through the federal 340B Drug Pricing Program by 28 28.6 percent. The payment

for drugs administered in an outpatient setting shall be made to the administering facility
or practitioner. A retail or specialty pharmacy dispensing a drug for administration in an
outpatient setting is not eligible for direct reimbursement.

(f) The commissioner may regetiate-lowerreimbursement establish maximum allowable
cost rates for specialty pharmacy products than-therates that are lower than the ingredient

cost formulas specified in paragraph (a). The commissioner may require individuals enrolled
in the health care programs administered by the department to obtain specialty pharmacy
products from providers with whom the commissioner has negotiated lower reimbursement
rates. Specialty pharmacy products are defined as those used by a small number of recipients
or recipients with complex and chronic diseases that require expensive and challenging drug
regimens. Examples of these conditions include, but are not limited to: multiple sclerosis,
HIV/AIDS, transplantation, hepatitis C, growth hormone deficiency, Crohn's Disease,
rheumatoid arthritis, and certain forms of cancer. Specialty pharmaceutical products include
injectable and infusion therapies, biotechnology drugs, antihemophilic factor products,
high-cost therapies, and therapies that require complex care. The commissioner shall consult
with the Formulary Committee to develop a list of specialty pharmacy products subject to
this-paragraph maximum allowable cost reimbursement. In consulting with the Formulary
Committee in developing this list, the commissioner shall take into consideration the
population served by specialty pharmacy products, the current delivery system and standard
of care in the state, and access to care issues. The commissioner shall have the discretion

to adjust the reimbursementrate maximum allowable cost to prevent access to care issues.

(g) Home infusion therapy services provided by home infusion therapy pharmacies must
be paid at rates according to subdivision 8d.

(h) The commissioner shall contract with a vendor to conduct a cost of dispensing survey
for all pharmacies that are physically located in the state of Minnesota that dispense outpatient
drugs under medical assistance. The commissioner shall ensure that the vendor has prior
experience in conducting cost of dispensing surveys. Each pharmacy enrolled with the
department to dispense outpatient prescription drugs to fee-for-service members must
respond to the cost of dispensing survey. The commissioner may sanction a pharmacy under
section 256B.064 for failure to respond. The commissioner shall require the vendor to
measure a single statewide cost of dispensing for all responding pharmacies to measure the
mean, mean weighted by total prescription volume, mean weighted by medical assistance
prescription volume, median, median weighted by total prescription volume, and median
weighted by total medical assistance prescription volume. The commissioner shall post a
copy of the final cost of dispensing survey report on the department's website. The initial
survey must be completed no later than January 1, 2021, and repeated every three years.

The commissioner shall provide a summary of the results of each cost of dispensing survey
and provide recommendations for any changes to the dispensing fee to the chairs and ranking
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members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over medical assistance pharmacy
reimbursement.

(i) The commissioner shall increase the ingredient cost reimbursement calculated in
paragraphs (a) and (f) by two percent for prescription and nonprescription drugs subject to
the wholesale drug distributor tax under section 295.52.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective April 1, 2019, or upon federal approval,
whichever is later. Paragraph (i) expires if federal approval is denied. The commissioner
of human services shall inform the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained or
denied.

Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.0625, subdivision 13f, is amended to read:

Subd. 13f. Prior authorization. (a) The Formulary Committee shall review and
recommend drugs which require prior authorization. The Formulary Committee shall
establish general criteria to be used for the prior authorization of brand-name drugs for
which generically equivalent drugs are available, but the committee is not required to review
each brand-name drug for which a generically equivalent drug is available.

(b) Prior authorization may be required by the commissioner before certain formulary
drugs are eligible for payment. The Formulary Committee may recommend drugs for prior
authorization directly to the commissioner. The commissioner may also request that the
Formulary Committee review a drug for prior authorization. Before the commissioner may
require prior authorization for a drug:

(1) the commissioner must provide information to the Formulary Committee on the
impact that placing the drug on prior authorization may have on the quality of patient care
and on program costs, information regarding whether the drug is subject to clinical abuse
or misuse, and relevant data from the state Medicaid program if such data is available;

(2) the Formulary Committee must review the drug, taking into account medical and
clinical data and the information provided by the commissioner; and

(3) the Formulary Committee must hold a public forum and receive public comment for
an additional 15 days.

The commissioner must provide a 15-day notice period before implementing the prior
authorization.

(c) Except as provided in subdivision 13j, prior authorization shall not be required or
utilized for any atypical antipsychotic drug prescribed for the treatment of mental illness
if:

(1) there is no generically equivalent drug available; and
(2) the drug was initially prescribed for the recipient prior to July 1, 2003; or

(3) the drug is part of the recipient's current course of treatment.
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members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over medical assistance pharmacy
reimbursement.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective April 1, 2019, or upon federal approval,
whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall inform the revisor of statutes
when federal approval is obtained or denied.

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.0625, subdivision 13f, is amended to read:

Subd. 13f. Prior authorization. (a) The Formulary Committee shall review and
recommend drugs which require prior authorization. The Formulary Committee shall
establish general criteria to be used for the prior authorization of brand-name drugs for
which generically equivalent drugs are available, but the committee is not required to review
each brand-name drug for which a generically equivalent drug is available.

(b) Prior authorization may be required by the commissioner before certain formulary
drugs are eligible for payment. The Formulary Committee may recommend drugs for prior
authorization directly to the commissioner. The commissioner may also request that the
Formulary Committee review a drug for prior authorization. Before the commissioner may
require prior authorization for a drug:

(1) the commissioner must provide information to the Formulary Committee on the
impact that placing the drug on prior authorization may have on the quality of patient care
and on program costs, information regarding whether the drug is subject to clinical abuse
or misuse, and relevant data from the state Medicaid program if such data is available;

(2) the Formulary Committee must review the drug, taking into account medical and
clinical data and the information provided by the commissioner; and

(3) the Formulary Committee must hold a public forum and receive public comment for
an additional 15 days.

The commissioner must provide a 15-day notice period before implementing the prior
authorization.

(c) Except as provided in subdivision 13, prior authorization shall not be required or
utilized for any atypical antipsychotic drug prescribed for the treatment of mental illness
if:

(1) there is no generically equivalent drug available; and
(2) the drug was initially prescribed for the recipient prior to July 1, 2003; or

(3) the drug is part of the recipient's current course of treatment.
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This paragraph applies to any multistate preferred drug list or supplemental drug rebate
program established or administered by the commissioner. Prior authorization shall
automatically be granted for 60 days for brand name drugs prescribed for treatment of mental
illness within 60 days of when a generically equivalent drug becomes available, provided
that the brand name drug was part of the recipient's course of treatment at the time the
generically equivalent drug became available.

te) (d) The commissioner may require prior authorization for brand name drugs whenever
a generically equivalent product is available, even if the prescriber specifically indicates
"dispense as written-brand necessary" on the prescription as required by section 151.21,
subdivision 2.

D (e) Notwithstanding this subdivision, the commissioner may automatically require
prior authorization, for a period not to exceed 180 days, for any drug that is approved by
the United States Food and Drug Administration on or after July 1, 2005. The 180-day
period begins no later than the first day that a drug is available for shipment to pharmacies
within the state. The Formulary Committee shall recommend to the commissioner general
criteria to be used for the prior authorization of the drugs, but the committee is not required
to review each individual drug. In order to continue prior authorizations for a drug after the
180-day period has expired, the commissioner must follow the provisions of this subdivision.

(f) Prior authorization under this subdivision shall comply with section 62Q.184.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment, except
that paragraph (f) is effective July 1, 2019.

Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.0625, subdivision 17, is amended to read:

Subd. 17. Transportation costs. (a) "Nonemergency medical transportation service"
means motor vehicle transportation provided by a public or private person that serves
Minnesota health care program beneficiaries who do not require emergency ambulance
service, as defined in section 144E.001, subdivision 3, to obtain covered medical services.

(b) Medical assistance covers medical transportation costs incurred solely for obtaining
emergency medical care or transportation costs incurred by eligible persons in obtaining
emergency or nonemergency medical care when paid directly to an ambulance company,
nonemergency medical transportation company, or other recognized providers of
transportation services. Medical transportation must be provided by:
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This paragraph applies to any multistate preferred drug list or supplemental drug rebate
program established or administered by the commissioner. Prior authorization shall
automatically be granted for 60 days for brand name drugs prescribed for treatment of mental
illness within 60 days of when a generically equivalent drug becomes available, provided
that the brand name drug was part of the recipient's course of treatment at the time the
generically equivalent drug became available.

te) (d) The commissioner may require prior authorization for brand name drugs whenever
a generically equivalent product is available, even if the prescriber specifically indicates
"dispense as written-brand necessary" on the prescription as required by section 151.21,
subdivision 2.

D (e) Notwithstanding this subdivision, the commissioner may automatically require
prior authorization, for a period not to exceed 180 days, for any drug that is approved by
the United States Food and Drug Administration on or after July 1, 2005. The 180-day
period begins no later than the first day that a drug is available for shipment to pharmacies
within the state. The Formulary Committee shall recommend to the commissioner general
criteria to be used for the prior authorization of the drugs, but the committee is not required
to review each individual drug. In order to continue prior authorizations for a drug after the
180-day period has expired, the commissioner must follow the provisions of this subdivision.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

ARTICLE 1:
Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.0625, subdivision 17, is amended to read:

Subd. 17. Transportation costs. (a) "Nonemergency medical transportation service"
means motor vehicle transportation provided by a public or private person that serves
Minnesota health care program beneficiaries who do not require emergency ambulance
service, as defined in section 144E.001, subdivision 3, to obtain covered medical services.

(b) Medical assistance covers medical transportation costs incurred solely for obtaining
emergency medical care or transportation costs incurred by eligible persons in obtaining
emergency or nonemergency medical care when paid directly to an ambulance company,
nonemergency medical transportation company, or other recognized providers of
transportation services. Medical transportation must be provided by:
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(1) nonemergency medical transportation providers who meet the requirements of this
subdivision;

(2) ambulances, as defined in section 144E.001, subdivision 2;
(3) taxicabs that meet the requirements of this subdivision;

(4) public transit, as defined in section 174.22, subdivision 7; or
(5) not-for-hire vehicles, including volunteer drivers.

(c) Medical assistance covers nonemergency medical transportation provided by
nonemergency medical transportation providers enrolled in the Minnesota health care
programs. All nonemergency medical transportation providers must comply with the
operating standards for special transportation service as defined in sections 174.29 to 174.30
and Minnesota Rules, chapter 8840, and r-eensultationwith-the Minneseta Departmentof
Franspertatien all drivers must be individually enrolled with the commissioner and reported
on the claim as the individual who provided the service. All nonemergency medical
transportation providers shall bill for nonemergency medical transportation services in
accordance with Minnesota health care programs criteria. Publicly operated transit systems,
volunteers, and not-for-hire vehicles are exempt from the requirements outlined in this
paragraph.

(d) An organization may be terminated, denied, or suspended from enrollment if:

(1) the provider has not initiated background studies on the individuals specified in
section 174.30, subdivision 10, paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (3); or

(2) the provider has initiated background studies on the individuals specified in section
174.30, subdivision 10, paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (3), and:

(i) the commissioner has sent the provider a notice that the individual has been
disqualified under section 245C.14; and

(ii) the individual has not received a disqualification set-aside specific to the special
transportation services provider under sections 245C.22 and 245C.23.

(e) The administrative agency of nonemergency medical transportation must:

(1) adhere to the policies defined by the commissioner in consultation with the
Nonemergency Medical Transportation Advisory Committee;

(2) pay nonemergency medical transportation providers for services provided to
Minnesota health care programs beneficiaries to obtain covered medical services;

(3) provide data monthly to the commissioner on appeals, complaints, no-shows, canceled
trips, and number of trips by mode; and
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27.3 (1) nonemergency medical transportation providers who meet the requirements of this
27.4  subdivision;
27.5 (2) ambulances, as defined in section 144E.001, subdivision 2;
27.6 (3) taxicabs that meet the requirements of this subdivision;
27.7 (4) public transit, as defined in section 174.22, subdivision 7; or
27.8 (5) not-for-hire vehicles, including volunteer drivers.
27.9 (c) Medical assistance covers nonemergency medical transportation provided by
27.10 nonemergency medical transportation providers enrolled in the Minnesota health care
27.11 programs. All nonemergency medical transportation providers must comply with the
27.12  operating standards for special transportatlon serv1ce as deﬁned in sectlons 174 29 to 174.30
27.13 and Minnesota Rules, chapter 884054
27.14 Franspertation. All drivers providing nonemergency medlcal transportatlon must be
27.15 individually enrolled with the commissioner if the driver is a subcontractor for or employed
27.16 by a provider that both has a base of operation located within a metropolitan county listed
27.17 in section 473.121, subdivision 4, and is listed in paragraph (b), clause (1) or (3). All
27.18 nonemergency medical transportation providers shall bill for nonemergency medical
27.19 transportation services in accordance with Minnesota health care programs criteria. Publicly
27.20 operated transit systems, volunteers, and not-for-hire vehicles are exempt from the
2721 requirements outlined in this paragraph.
27.22 (d) An organization may be terminated, denied, or suspended from enrollment if:
27.23 (1) the provider has not initiated background studies on the individuals specified in
27.24 section 174.30, subdivision 10, paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (3); or
27.25 (2) the provider has initiated background studies on the individuals specified in section
27.26  174.30, subdivision 10, paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (3), and:
27.27 (i) the commissioner has sent the provider a notice that the individual has been
27.28  disqualified under section 245C.14; and
27.29 (ii) the individual has not received a disqualification set-aside specific to the special
27.30 transportation services provider under sections 245C.22 and 245C.23.
27.31 (e) The administrative agency of nonemergency medical transportation must:
28.1 (1) adhere to the policies defined by the commissioner in consultation with the
282 Nonemergency Medical Transportation Advisory Committee;
28.3 (2) pay nonemergency medical transportation providers for services provided to
28.4  Minnesota health care programs beneficiaries to obtain covered medical services;
28.5 (3) provide data monthly to the commissioner on appeals, complaints, no-shows, canceled
28.6  trips, and number of trips by mode; and
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(4) by July 1, 2016, in accordance with subdivision 18e, utilize a web-based single
administrative structure assessment tool that meets the technical requirements established
by the commissioner, reconciles trip information with claims being submitted by providers,
and ensures prompt payment for nonemergency medical transportation services.

() Until the commissioner implements the single administrative structure and delivery
system under subdivision 18e, clients shall obtain their level-of-service certificate from the
commissioner or an entity approved by the commissioner that does not dispatch rides for
clients using modes of transportation under paragraph (i), clauses (4), (5), (6), and (7).

(g) The commissioner may use an order by the recipient's attending physician or a medical
or mental health professional to certify that the recipient requires nonemergency medical
transportation services. Nonemergency medical transportation providers shall perform
driver-assisted services for eligible individuals, when appropriate. Driver-assisted service
includes passenger pickup at and return to the individual's residence or place of business,
assistance with admittance of the individual to the medical facility, and assistance in
passenger securement or in securing of wheelchairs, child seats, or stretchers in the vehicle.

Nonemergency medical transportation providers must take clients to the health care
provider using the most direct route, and must not exceed 30 miles for a trip to a primary
care provider or 60 miles for a trip to a specialty care provider, unless the client receives
authorization from the local agency.

Nonemergency medical transportation providers may not bill for separate base rates for
the continuation of a trip beyond the original destination. Nonemergency medical
transportation providers must maintain trip logs, which include pickup and drop-off times,
signed by the medical provider or client, whichever is deemed most appropriate, attesting
to mileage traveled to obtain covered medical services. Clients requesting client mileage
reimbursement must sign the trip log attesting mileage traveled to obtain covered medical
services.

(h) The administrative agency shall use the level of service process established by the
commissioner in consultation with the Nonemergency Medical Transportation Advisory
Committee to determine the client's most appropriate mode of transportation. If public transit
or a certified transportation provider is not available to provide the appropriate service mode
for the client, the client may receive a onetime service upgrade.

(i) The covered modes of transportation are:

(1) client reimbursement, which includes client mileage reimbursement provided to
clients who have their own transportation, or to family or an acquaintance who provides
transportation to the client;

(2) volunteer transport, which includes transportation by volunteers using their own
vehicle;
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28.7 (4) by July 1, 2016, in accordance with subdivision 18e, utilize a web-based single

28.8  administrative structure assessment tool that meets the technical requirements established
28.9 by the commissioner, reconciles trip information with claims being submitted by providers,
28.10 and ensures prompt payment for nonemergency medical transportation services.

28.11 () Until the commissioner implements the single administrative structure and delivery
28.12  system under subdivision 18e, clients shall obtain their level-of-service certificate from the
28.13 commissioner or an entity approved by the commissioner that does not dispatch rides for
28.14 clients using modes of transportation under paragraph (i), clauses (4), (5), (6), and (7).

28.15 (g) The commissioner may use an order by the recipient's attending physician or a medical
28.16 or mental health professional to certify that the recipient requires nonemergency medical
28.17 transportation services. Nonemergency medical transportation providers shall perform

28.18 driver-assisted services for eligible individuals, when appropriate. Driver-assisted service
28.19 includes passenger pickup at and return to the individual's residence or place of business,
28.20 assistance with admittance of the individual to the medical facility, and assistance in

28.21 passenger securement or in securing of wheelchairs, child seats, or stretchers in the vehicle.
28.22 Nonemergency medical transportation providers must take clients to the health care
28.23 provider using the most direct route, and must not exceed 30 miles for a trip to a primary
28.24  care provider or 60 miles for a trip to a specialty care provider, unless the client receives
28.25 authorization from the local agency.

28.26 Nonemergency medical transportation providers may not bill for separate base rates for
28.27 the continuation of a trip beyond the original destination. Nonemergency medical

28.28 transportation providers must maintain trip logs, which include pickup and drop-off times,
28.29 signed by the medical provider or client, whichever is deemed most appropriate, attesting
28.30 to mileage traveled to obtain covered medical services. Clients requesting client mileage
28.31 reimbursement must sign the trip log attesting mileage traveled to obtain covered medical
28.32  services.

29.1 (h) The administrative agency shall use the level of service process established by the
29.2  commissioner in consultation with the Nonemergency Medical Transportation Advisory
29.3  Committee to determine the client's most appropriate mode of transportation. If public transit
29.4  or a certified transportation provider is not available to provide the appropriate service mode
29.5  for the client, the client may receive a onetime service upgrade.

29.6 (i) The covered modes of transportation are:

29.7 (1) client reimbursement, which includes client mileage reimbursement provided to
29.8  clients who have their own transportation, or to family or an acquaintance who provides
29.9  transportation to the client;

29.10 (2) volunteer transport, which includes transportation by volunteers using their own
29.11 vehicle;
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(3) unassisted transport, which includes transportation provided to a client by a taxicab
or public transit. If a taxicab or public transit is not available, the client can receive
transportation from another nonemergency medical transportation provider;

(4) assisted transport, which includes transport provided to clients who require assistance
by a nonemergency medical transportation provider;

(5) lift-equipped/ramp transport, which includes transport provided to a client who is
dependent on a device and requires a nonemergency medical transportation provider with
a vehicle containing a lift or ramp;

(6) protected transport, which includes transport provided to a client who has received
a prescreening that has deemed other forms of transportation inappropriate and who requires
a provider: (i) with a protected vehicle that is not an ambulance or police car and has safety
locks, a video recorder, and a transparent thermoplastic partition between the passenger and
the vehicle driver; and (ii) who is certified as a protected transport provider; and

(7) stretcher transport, which includes transport for a client in a prone or supine position
and requires a nonemergency medical transportation provider with a vehicle that can transport
a client in a prone or supine position.

(j) The local agency shall be the single administrative agency and shall administer and
reimburse for modes defined in paragraph (i) according to paragraphs (m) and (n) when the
commissioner has developed, made available, and funded the web-based single administrative
structure, assessment tool, and level of need assessment under subdivision 18¢. The local
agency's financial obligation is limited to funds provided by the state or federal government.

(k) The commissioner shall:

(1) in consultation with the Nonemergency Medical Transportation Advisory Committee,
verify that the mode and use of nonemergency medical transportation is appropriate;

(2) verify that the client is going to an approved medical appointment; and
(3) investigate all complaints and appeals.

(1) The administrative agency shall pay for the services provided in this subdivision and
seek reimbursement from the commissioner, if appropriate. As vendors of medical care,
local agencies are subject to the provisions in section 256B.041, the sanctions and monetary
recovery actions in section 256B.064, and Minnesota Rules, parts 9505.2160 to 9505.2245.

(m) Payments for nonemergency medical transportation must be paid based on the client's
assessed mode under paragraph (h), not the type of vehicle used to provide the service. The
medical assistance reimbursement rates for nonemergency medical transportation services
that are payable by or on behalf of the commissioner for nonemergency medical
transportation services are:

(1) $0.22 per mile for client reimbursement;
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29.12 (3) unassisted transport, which includes transportation provided to a client by a taxicab
29.13  or public transit. If a taxicab or public transit is not available, the client can receive
29.14  transportation from another nonemergency medical transportation provider;
29.15 (4) assisted transport, which includes transport provided to clients who require assistance
29.16 by a nonemergency medical transportation provider;
29.17 (5) lift-equipped/ramp transport, which includes transport provided to a client who is
29.18 dependent on a device and requires a nonemergency medical transportation provider with
29.19  a vehicle containing a lift or ramp;
29.20 (6) protected transport, which includes transport provided to a client who has received
29.21 a prescreening that has deemed other forms of transportation inappropriate and who requires
29.22  aprovider: (i) with a protected vehicle that is not an ambulance or police car and has safety
29.23 locks, a video recorder, and a transparent thermoplastic partition between the passenger and
29.24 the vehicle driver; and (ii) who is certified as a protected transport provider; and
29.25 (7) stretcher transport, which includes transport for a client in a prone or supine position
29.26 and requires a nonemergency medical transportation provider with a vehicle that can transport
29.27 aclient in a prone or supine position.
29.28 (j) The local agency shall be the single administrative agency and shall administer and
29.29 reimburse for modes defined in paragraph (i) according to paragraphs (m) and (n) when the
29.30 commissioner has developed, made available, and funded the web-based single administrative
29.31 structure, assessment tool, and level of need assessment under subdivision 18e. The local
29.32 agency's financial obligation is limited to funds provided by the state or federal government.
29.33 (k) The commissioner shall:
30.1 (1) in consultation with the Nonemergency Medical Transportation Advisory Committee,
30.2  verify that the mode and use of nonemergency medical transportation is appropriate;
30.3 (2) verify that the client is going to an approved medical appointment; and
30.4 (3) investigate all complaints and appeals.
30.5 (1) The administrative agency shall pay for the services provided in this subdivision and
30.6  seek reimbursement from the commissioner, if appropriate. As vendors of medical care,
30.7  local agencies are subject to the provisions in section 256B.041, the sanctions and monetary
30.8  recovery actions in section 256B.064, and Minnesota Rules, parts 9505.2160 to 9505.2245.
30.9 (m) Payments for nonemergency medical transportation must be paid based on the client's
30.10 assessed mode under paragraph (h), not the type of vehicle used to provide the service. The
30.11 medical assistance reimbursement rates for nonemergency medical transportation services
30.12  that are payable by or on behalf of the commissioner for nonemergency medical
30.13 transportation services are:
30.14 (1) $0.22 per mile for client reimbursement;
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(2) up to 100 percent of the Internal Revenue Service business deduction rate for volunteer
transport;

(3) equivalent to the standard fare for unassisted transport when provided by public
transit, and $11 for the base rate and $1.30 per mile when provided by a nonemergency
medical transportation provider;

(4) $13 for the base rate and $1.30 per mile for assisted transport;
(5) $18 for the base rate and $1.55 per mile for lift-equipped/ramp transport;
(6) $75 for the base rate and $2.40 per mile for protected transport; and

(7) $60 for the base rate and $2.40 per mile for stretcher transport, and $9 per trip for
an additional attendant if deemed medically necessary.

(n) The base rate for nonemergency medical transportation services in areas defined
under RUCA to be super rural is equal to 111.3 percent of the respective base rate in
paragraph (m), clauses (1) to (7). The mileage rate for nonemergency medical transportation
services in areas defined under RUCA to be rural or super rural areas is:

(1) for a trip equal to 17 miles or less, equal to 125 percent of the respective mileage
rate in paragraph (m), clauses (1) to (7); and

(2) for a trip between 18 and 50 miles, equal to 112.5 percent of the respective mileage
rate in paragraph (m), clauses (1) to (7).

(o) For purposes of reimbursement rates for nonemergency medical transportation
services under paragraphs (m) and (n), the zip code of the recipient's place of residence
shall determine whether the urban, rural, or super rural reimbursement rate applies.

(p) For purposes of this subdivision, "rural urban commuting area" or "RUCA" means
a census-tract based classification system under which a geographical area is determined
to be urban, rural, or super rural.

(q) The commissioner, when determining reimbursement rates for nonemergency medical
transportation under paragraphs (m) and (n), shall exempt all modes of transportation listed
under paragraph (i) from Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0445, item R, subitem (2).

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2019.

Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.0625, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 17d. Transportation services oversight. The commissioner shall contract with
a vendor or dedicate staff to oversee providers of nonemergency medical transportation
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30.15 (2) up to 100 percent of the Internal Revenue Service business deduction rate for volunteer
30.16 transport;
30.17 (3) equivalent to the standard fare for unassisted transport when provided by public
30.18 transit, and $11 for the base rate and $1.30 per mile when provided by a nonemergency
30.19 medical transportation provider;
30.20 (4) $13 for the base rate and $1.30 per mile for assisted transport;
30.21 (5) $18 for the base rate and $1.55 per mile for lift-equipped/ramp transport;
30.22 (6) $75 for the base rate and $2.40 per mile for protected transport; and
30.23 (7) $60 for the base rate and $2.40 per mile for stretcher transport, and $9 per trip for
30.24 an additional attendant if deemed medically necessary.
30.25 (n) The base rate for nonemergency medical transportation services in areas defined
30.26 under RUCA to be super rural is equal to 111.3 percent of the respective base rate in
30.27 paragraph (m), clauses (1) to (7). The mileage rate for nonemergency medical transportation
30.28 services in areas defined under RUCA to be rural or super rural areas is:
30.29 (1) for a trip equal to 17 miles or less, equal to 125 percent of the respective mileage
30.30 rate in paragraph (m), clauses (1) to (7); and
31.1 (2) for a trip between 18 and 50 miles, equal to 112.5 percent of the respective mileage
31.2  rate in paragraph (m), clauses (1) to (7).
31.3 (o) For purposes of reimbursement rates for nonemergency medical transportation
31.4  services under paragraphs (m) and (n), the zip code of the recipient's place of residence
31.5  shall determine whether the urban, rural, or super rural reimbursement rate applies.
31.6 (p) For purposes of this subdivision, "rural urban commuting area" or "RUCA" means
31.7  acensus-tract based classification system under which a geographical area is determined
31.8  to be urban, rural, or super rural.
31.9 (q) The commissioner, when determining reimbursement rates for nonemergency medical
31.10 transportation under paragraphs (m) and (n), shall exempt all modes of transportation listed
31.11 under paragraph (i) from Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0445, item R, subitem (2).
31.12 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2020.
ARTICLE 1:
31.13 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.0625, is amended by adding a subdivision
31.14  toread:
31.15 Subd. 17d. Transportation services oversight. The commissioner shall contract with
31.16 avendor or dedicate staff for oversight of providers of nonemergency medical transportation
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services pursuant to the commissioner's authority in section 256B.04 and Minnesota Rules,
parts 9505.2160 to 9505.2245.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2019.

Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.0625, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 17e. Transportation provider termination. (a) A terminated nonemergency
medical transportation provider, including all named individuals on the current enrollment
disclosure form and known or discovered affiliates of the nonemergency medical
transportation provider, is not eligible to enroll as a nonemergency medical transportation
provider for five years following the termination.

(b) After the five-year period in paragraph (a), if a provider seeks to reenroll as a
nonemergency medical transportation provider, the provider must be placed on a one-year
probation period. During a provider's probation period the commissioner shall complete
unannounced site visits and request documentation to review compliance with program

requirements.
EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
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31.17 services pursuant to the commissioner's authority in section 256B.04 and Minnesota Rules,
31.18  parts 9505.2160 to 9505.2245.
31.19 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2020.

ARTICLE 1:
31.20 Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.0625, is amended by adding a subdivision
31.21 toread:
31.22 Subd. 17e. Transportation provider termination. (a) A terminated nonemergency
31.23  medical transportation provider, including all named individuals on the current enrollment
31.24  disclosure form and known or discovered affiliates of the nonemergency medical
31.25 transportation provider, is not eligible to enroll as a nonemergency medical transportation
31.26  provider for five years following the termination.
31.27 (b) After the five-year period in paragraph (a), if a provider seeks to reenroll as a
31.28 nonemergency medical transportation provider, the nonemergency medical transportation
31.29 provider must be placed on a one-year probation period. During a provider's probation
31.30 period, the commissioner shall complete unannounced site visits and request documentation
31.31 to review compliance with program requirements.

ARTICLE 1:
32.1 Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.0625, is amended by adding a subdivision
322 toread:
323 Subd. 17f. Transportation provider training. The commissioner shall make available
324 to providers of nonemergency medical transportation and all drivers training materials and
32.5  online training opportunities regarding documentation requirements, documentation
32.6  procedures, and penalties for failing to meet documentation requirements.

ARTICLE 8:
283.7 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.0625, subdivision 18d, is amended to
283.8 read:
283.9 Subd. 18d. Advisory committee members. (a) The Nonemergency Medical
283.10 Transportation Advisory Committee consists of:
283.11 (1) four voting members who represent counties, utilizing the rural urban commuting
283.12 area classification system. As defined in subdivision 17, these members shall be designated
283.13 as follows:
283.14 (i) two counties within the 11-county metropolitan area;
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283.15 (ii) one county representing the rural area of the state; and
283.16 (iii) one county representing the super rural area of the state.

283.17 The Association of Minnesota Counties shall appoint one county within the 11-county

283.18 metropolitan area and one county representing the super rural area of the state. The Minnesota
283.19 Inter-County Association shall appoint one county within the 11-county metropolitan area
283.20 and one county representing the rural area of the state;

283.21 (2) three voting members who represent medical assistance recipients, including persons
283.22 with physical and developmental disabilities, persons with mental illness, seniors, children,
283.23 and low-income individuals;

283.24 (3) feur five voting members who represent providers that deliver nonemergency medical
283.25 transportation services to medical assistance enrollees, one of whom is a taxicab owner or

283.26 operator;

283.27 (4) two voting members of the house of representatives, one from the majority party and
283.28 one from the minority party, appointed by the speaker of the house, and two voting members
283.29 from the senate, one from the majority party and one from the minority party, appointed by
283.30 the Subcommittee on Committees of the Committee on Rules and Administration;

283.31 (5) one voting member who represents demonstration providers as defined in section
283.32 256B.69, subdivision 2;

284.1 (6) one voting member who represents an organization that contracts with state or local
284.2 governments to coordinate transportation services for medical assistance enrollees;

284.3 (7) one voting member who represents the Minnesota State Council on Disability;

284.4 (8) the commissioner of transportation or the commissioner's designee, who shall serve

284.5 as a voting member;

284.6 (9) one voting member appointed by the Minnesota Ambulance Association; and

284.7 (10) one voting member appointed by the Minnesota Hospital Association.

284.8 (b) Members of the advisory committee shall not be employed by the Department of

284.9 Human Services. Members of the advisory committee shall receive no compensation.
ARTICLE 1:

32.7 Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.0625, subdivision 18h, is amended to

32.8  read:

32.9 Subd. 18h. Managed care. {a) The following subdivisions apply to managed care plans

32.10 and county-based purchasing plans:

32.11 (1) subdivision 17, paragraphs (a), (b), (c), (i), and (n);

32.12 (2) subdivision 18; and
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Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.0625, subdivision 30, is amended to read:

Subd. 30. Other clinic services. (a) Medical assistance covers rural health clinic services,
federally qualified health center services, nonprofit community health clinic services, and
public health clinic services. Rural health clinic services and federally qualified health center
services mean services defined in United States Code, title 42, section 1396d(a)(2)(B) and
(C). Payment for rural health clinic and federally qualified health center services shall be
made according to applicable federal law and regulation.

(b) A federally qualified health center (FQHC) that is beginning initial operation shall
submit an estimate of budgeted costs and visits for the initial reporting period in the form
and detail required by the commissioner. A-federally-qualified-health-eenter An FQHC that
is already in operation shall submit an initial report using actual costs and visits for the
initial reporting period. Within 90 days of the end of its reporting period, afederaly-¢ualificd
heatth-eenter an FQHC shall submit, in the form and detail required by the commissioner,
a report of its operations, including allowable costs actually incurred for the period and the
actual number of visits for services furnished during the period, and other information
required by the commissioner. Federally-qualified-health-eenters FQHCs that file Medicare
cost reports shall provide the commissioner with a copy of the most recent Medicare cost
report filed with the Medicare program intermediary for the reporting year which support
the costs claimed on their cost report to the state.

(c) In order to continue cost-based payment under the medical assistance program
according to paragraphs (a) and (b), a-federally-quatified-health-eenter an FQHC or rural
health clinic must apply for designation as an essential community provider within six
months of final adoption of rules by the Department of Health according to section 62Q.19,
subdivision 7. For those federally-gualified-health-eenters FQHCs and rural health clinics
that have applied for essential community provider status within the six-month time
prescribed, medical assistance payments will continue to be made according to paragraphs
(a) and (b) for the first three years after application. For federallyqualified-healtheenters

FQHCs and rural health clinics that either do not apply within the time specified above or
who have had essential community provider status for three years, medical assistance
payments for health services provided by these entities shall be according to the same rates
and conditions applicable to the same service provided by health care providers that are not

federally-qualified-health-eenters FQHCs or rural health clinics.

(d) Effective July 1, 1999, the provisions of paragraph (c) requiring afederally-qualified
health-eenter an FQHC or a rural health clinic to make application for an essential community
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provider designation in order to have cost-based payments made according to paragraphs
(a) and (b) no longer apply.

(e) Effective January 1, 2000, payments made according to paragraphs (a) and (b) shall
be limited to the cost phase-out schedule of the Balanced Budget Act of 1997.

(f) Effective January 1, 2001, through December 31, 2020, each federally-qualifted
kealth-eenter FQHC and rural health clinic may elect to be paid either under the prospective
payment system established in United States Code, title 42, section 1396a(aa), or under an
alternative payment methodology consistent with the requirements of United States Code,
title 42, section 1396a(aa), and approved by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services.
The alternative payment methodology shall be 100 percent of cost as determined according
to Medicare cost principles.

(g) Effective for services provided on or after January 1, 2021, all claims for payment
of clinic services provided by FQHCs and rural health clinics shall be paid by the
commissioner, according to an annual election by the FQHC or rural health clinic, under
the current prospective payment system described in paragraph (f) or the alternative payment
methodology described in paragraph (1).

(h) For purposes of this section, "nonprofit community clinic" is a clinic that:
(1) has nonprofit status as specified in chapter 317A;
(2) has tax exempt status as provided in Internal Revenue Code, section 501(c)(3);

(3) is established to provide health services to low-income population groups, uninsured,
high-risk and special needs populations, underserved and other special needs populations;

(4) employs professional staff at least one-half of which are familiar with the cultural
background of their clients;

(5) charges for services on a sliding fee scale designed to provide assistance to
low-income clients based on current poverty income guidelines and family size; and

(6) does not restrict access or services because of a client's financial limitations or public
assistance status and provides no-cost care as needed.

h) (i) Effective for services provided on or after January 1, 2015, all claims for payment
of clinic services provided by federally-qualified-health-eenters FQHCs and rural health
clinics shall be paid by the commissioner. the commissioner shall determine the most feasible
method for paying claims from the following options:

(1) federally-qualified-health-eenters FQHCs and rural health clinics submit claims

directly to the commissioner for payment, and the commissioner provides claims information
for recipients enrolled in a managed care or county-based purchasing plan to the plan, on
a regular basis; or
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(2) federally-qualified-heatth-eenters FQHCs and rural health clinics submit claims for

recipients enrolled in a managed care or county-based purchasing plan to the plan, and those
claims are submitted by the plan to the commissioner for payment to the clinic.

) (j) For clinic services provided prior to January 1, 2015, the commissioner shall
calculate and pay monthly the proposed managed care supplemental payments to clinics,
and clinics shall conduct a timely review of the payment calculation data in order to finalize
all supplemental payments in accordance with federal law. Any issues arising from a clinic's
review must be reported to the commissioner by January 1, 2017. Upon final agreement
between the commissioner and a clinic on issues identified under this subdivision, and in
accordance with United States Code, title 42, section 1396a(bb), no supplemental payments
for managed care plan or county-based purchasing plan claims for services provided prior
to January 1, 2015, shall be made after June 30, 2017. If the commissioner and clinics are
unable to resolve issues under this subdivision, the parties shall submit the dispute to the
arbitration process under section 14.57.

(k) The commissioner shall seek a federal waiver, authorized under section 1115 of
the Social Security Act, to obtain federal financial participation at the 100 percent federal
matching percentage available to facilities of the Indian Health Service or tribal organization
in accordance with section 1905(b) of the Social Security Act for expenditures made to
organizations dually certified under Title V of the Indian Health Care Improvement Act,
Public Law 94-437, and as a federally qualified health center under paragraph (a) that
provides services to American Indian and Alaskan Native individuals eligible for services
under this subdivision.

(1) All claims for payment of clinic services provided by FQHCs and rural health clinics,
that have elected to be paid under this paragraph, shall be paid by the commissioner according
to the following requirements:

(1) the commissioner shall establish a single medical and single dental organization rate
for each FQHC and rural health clinic when applicable;

(2) each FQHC and rural health clinic is eligible for same day reimbursement of one
medical and one dental organization rate if eligible medical and dental visits are provided

on the same day;

(3) the commissioner shall reimburse FQHCs and rural health clinics, in accordance
with current applicable Medicare cost principles, their allowable costs, including direct
patient care costs and patient-related support services. Nonallowable costs include, but are
not limited to:

(i) general social service and administrative costs;

(ii) retail pharmacy;

(iii) patient incentives, food, housing assistance, and utility assistance;
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(iv) external lab and x-ray;

(v) navigation services;

(vi) health care taxes;

(vii) advertising, public relations, and marketing;

(viii) office entertainment costs, food, alcohol, and gifts;

(ix) contributions and donations;

(x) bad debts or losses on awards or contracts;

(xi) fines, penalties, damages, or other settlements;

(xii) fund-raising, investment management, and associated administrative costs;

(xiii) research and associated administrative costs;

(xiv) nonpaid workers;

(xv) lobbying;

(xvi) scholarships and student aid; and

(xvii) nonmedical assistance covered services;

(4) the commissioner shall review the list of nonallowable costs in the years between
the rebasing process established in clause (5), in consultation with the Minnesota Association
of Community Health Centers, FQHCs, and rural health clinics. The commissioner shall
publish the list and any updates in the Minnesota health care programs provider manual;

(5) the initial applicable base year organization rates for FQHCs and rural health clinics
shall be computed for services delivered on or after January 1, 2021, and:

(i) must be determined using each FQHC's and rural health clinic's Medicare cost reports
from both 2017 and 2018;

(ii) must be according to current applicable Medicare cost principles as applicable to
FQHCs and rural health clinics without the application of productivity screens and upper
payment limits or the Medicare prospective payment system FQHC aggregate mean upper

payment limit;

(iii) must be subsequently rebased every two years thereafter using the Medicare cost
reports that are three and four years prior to the rebasing year;

(iv) must be inflated to the base year using the inflation factor described in clause (6);

and

(v) the commissioner must provide for a 60-day appeals process under section 14.57;
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(6) the commissioner shall annually inflate the applicable organization rates for FQHCs
and rural health clinics from the base year payment rate to the effective date by using the
CMS FQHC Market Basket inflator established under United States Code, title 42, section
1395m(0), less productivity;

(7) FQHCs and rural health clinics that have elected the alternative payment methodology
under this paragraph shall submit all necessary documentation required by the commissioner
to compute the rebased organization rates no later than six months following the date the
applicable Medicare cost reports are due to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services;

(8) the commissioner shall reimburse FQHCs and rural health clinics an additional
amount relative to their medical and dental organization rates that is attributable to the tax
required to be paid according to section 295.52, if applicable;

(9) FQHCs and rural health clinics may submit change of scope requests to the
commissioner if the change of scope would result in an increase or decrease of 2.5 percent
or higher in the medical or dental organization rate currently received by the FQHC or rural
health clinic;

(10) For FQHCs and rural health clinics seeking a change in scope with the commissioner
under clause (9) that requires the approval of the scope change by the federal Health
Resources Services Administration:

(i) FQHCs and rural health clinics shall submit the change of scope request, including
the start date of services, to the commissioner within seven business days of submission of
the scope change to the federal Health Resources Services Administration;

(ii) the commissioner shall establish the effective date of the payment change as the
federal Health Resources Services Administration date of approval of the FQHC's or rural
health clinic's scope change request, or the effective start date of services, whichever is
later; and

(iii) within 45 days of one year after the effective date established in item (ii), the
commissioner shall conduct a retroactive review to determine if the actual costs established
under clause (3) or encounters result in an increase or decrease of 2.5 percent or higher in
the medical or dental organization rate, and if this is the case, the commissioner shall revise
the rate accordingly and shall adjust payments retrospectively to the effective date established
in item (ii);

(11) for change of scope requests that do not require federal Health Resources Services
Administration approval, the FQHC and rural health clinic shall submit the request to the
commissioner before implementing the change, and the effective date of the change is the
date the commissioner received the FQHC's or rural health clinic's request, or the effective
start date of the service, whichever is later. The commissioner shall provide a response to
the FQHC's or rural health clinic's request within 45 days of submission and provide a final
approval within 120 days of submission. This timeline may be waived at the mutual
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agreement of the commissioner and the FQHC or rural health clinic if more information is
needed to evaluate the request;

(12) the commissioner, when establishing organization rates for new FQHCs and rural
health clinics, shall consider the patient caseload of existing FQHCs and rural health clinics
in a 60-mile radius for organizations established outside of the seven-county metropolitan
area, and in a 30-mile radius for organizations in the seven-county metropolitan area. If this
information is not available, the commissioner may use Medicare cost reports or audited
financial statements to establish base rate;

(13) the commissioner shall establish a quality measures workgroup that includes
representatives from the Minnesota Association of Community Health Centers, FQHCs,
and rural health clinics, to evaluate clinical and nonclinical measures; and

(14) the commissioner shall not disallow or reduce costs that are related to an FQHC's
or rural health clinic's participation in health care educational programs to the extent that
the costs are not accounted for in the alternative payment methodology encounter rate
established in this paragraph.

Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.0625, subdivision 31, is amended to read:

Subd. 31. Medical supplies and equipment. (a) Medical assistance covers medical
supplies and equipment. Separate payment outside of the facility's payment rate shall be
made for wheelchairs and wheelchair accessories for recipients who are residents of
intermediate care facilities for the developmentally disabled. Reimbursement for wheelchairs
and wheelchair accessories for ICF/DD recipients shall be subject to the same conditions
and limitations as coverage for recipients who do not reside in institutions. A wheelchair
purchased outside of the facility's payment rate is the property of the recipient.

(b) Vendors of durable medical equipment, prosthetics, orthotics, or medical supplies
must enroll as a Medicare provider.

(c) When necessary to ensure access to durable medical equipment, prosthetics, orthotics,
or medical supplies, the commissioner may exempt a vendor from the Medicare enrollment
requirement if:

(1) the vendor supplies only one type of durable medical equipment, prosthetic, orthotic,
or medical supply;

(2) the vendor serves ten or fewer medical assistance recipients per year;

(3) the commissioner finds that other vendors are not available to provide same or similar
durable medical equipment, prosthetics, orthotics, or medical supplies; and

(4) the vendor complies with all screening requirements in this chapter and Code of
Federal Regulations, title 42, part 455. The commissioner may also exempt a vendor from
the Medicare enrollment requirement if the vendor is accredited by a Centers for Medicare
and Medicaid Services approved national accreditation organization as complying with the
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Medicare program's supplier and quality standards and the vendor serves primarily pediatric
patients.

(d) Durable medical equipment means a device or equipment that:
(1) can withstand repeated use;
(2) is generally not useful in the absence of an illness, injury, or disability; and

(3) is provided to correct or accommodate a physiological disorder or physical condition
or is generally used primarily for a medical purpose.

(e) Electronic tablets may be considered durable medical equipment if the electronic
tablet will be used as an augmentative and alternative communication system as defined
under subdivision 3 1a, paragraph (a). To be covered by medical assistance, the device must
be locked in order to prevent use not related to communication.

(f) Notwithstanding the requirement in paragraph (e) that an electronic tablet must be
locked to prevent use not as an augmentative communication device, a recipient of waiver
services may use an electronic tablet for a use not related to communication when the
recipient has been authorized under the waiver to receive one or more additional applications
that can be loaded onto the electronic tablet, such that allowing the additional use prevents
the purchase of a separate electronic tablet with waiver funds.

(g) An order or prescription for medical supplies, equipment, or appliances must meet
the requirements in Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, part 440.70.

(h) Allergen-reducing products provided according to subdivision 66, paragraph (c),
shall be considered durable medical equipment.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2020, or upon federal approval,
whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes
when federal approval is obtained.

Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.0625, subdivision 57, is amended to read:

Subd. 57. Payment for Part B Medicare crossover claims. (a) Effective for services
provided on or after January 1, 2012, medical assistance payment for an enrollee's
cost-sharing associated with Medicare Part B is limited to an amount up to the medical
assistance total allowed, when the medical assistance rate exceeds the amount paid by
Medicare.

(b) Excluded from this limitation are payments for mental health services and payments
for dialysis services provided to end-stage renal disease patients. The exclusion for mental
health services does not apply to payments for physician services provided by psychiatrists
and advanced practice nurses with a specialty in mental health.

(c) Excluded from this limitation are payments to federally qualified health centers,
Indian Health Services, and rural health clinics.
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EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.0625, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 66. Enhanced asthma care services. (a) Medical assistance covers enhanced
asthma care services and related products to be provided in the children's homes for children
with poorly controlled asthma. To be eligible for services and products under this subdivision,
a child must:

(1) be under the age of 21;

(2) have poorly controlled asthma defined by having received health care for the child's
asthma from a hospital emergency department at least one time in the past year or have
been hospitalized for the treatment of asthma at least one time in the past year; and

(3) receive a referral for services and products under this subdivision from a treating
health care provider.

(b) Covered services include home visits provided by a registered environmental health
specialist or lead risk assessor currently credentialed by the Department of Health or a
healthy homes specialist credentialed by the Building Performance Institute.

(c) Covered products include the following allergen-reducing products that are identified
as needed, and recommended for the child, by a registered environmental health specialist,
healthy homes specialist, lead risk assessor, certified asthma educator, public health nurse,
or other health care professional providing asthma care for the child, and proven to reduce

asthma triggers:

(1) allergen encasements for mattresses, box springs, and pillows;

(2) an allergen-rated vacuum cleaner, filters, and bags;

(3) a dehumidifier and filters;

(4) HEPA single-room air cleaners and filters;

(5) integrated pest management, including traps and starter packages of food storage
containers;

(6) a damp mopping system;

(7) if the child does not have access to a bed, a waterproof hospital-grade mattress; and

(8) for homeowners only, furnace filters.

The commissioner shall determine additional products that may be covered as new best
practices for asthma care are identified.

(d) A home assessment is a home visit to identify asthma triggers in the home and to
provide education on trigger-reducing products. A child is limited to two home assessments
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562.3 except that a child may receive an additional home assessment if the child moves to a new
562.4 home; if a new asthma trigger, including tobacco smoke, enters the home; or if the child's
562.5 health care provider identifies a new allergy for the child, including an allergy to mold,

562.6  pests, pets, or dust mites. The commissioner shall determine the frequency with which a
562.7 child may receive a product listed in paragraph (c), based on the reasonable expected lifetime

562.8 of the product.
562.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2020, or upon federal approval,

562.10 whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes
562.11 when federal approval is obtained.

ARTICLE 8&:

284.10  Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.0625, is amended by adding a subdivision
284.11 to read:

284.12 Subd. 66. Prescribed pediatric extended care (PPEC) center basic services. Medical
284.13 assistance covers PPEC center basic services as defined under section 144H.01, subdivision
284.14 2. PPEC basic services shall be reimbursed according to section 256B.86.

284.15 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020, or upon federal approval,
284.16 whichever occurs later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the commissioner
284.17 of health and the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.

562.12  Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.0625, is amended by adding a subdivision
562.13 to read:

562.14 Subd. 67. Provider tax rate increase. (a) The commissioner shall increase the total
562.15 payments to managed care plans under section 256B.69 by an amount equal to the cost
562.16 increases to the managed care plans from the elimination of:

562.17 (1) the exemption from the taxes imposed under section 2971.05, subdivision 5, for
562.18 premiums paid by the state for medical assistance and the MinnesotaCare program; and

562.19 (2) the exemption of gross revenues subject to the taxes imposed under sections 295.50
562.20 to 295.57, for payments paid by the state for services provided under medical assistance
562.21 and the MinnesotaCare program. Any increase based on this clause must be reflected in
562.22 provider rates paid by the managed care plan unless the managed care plan is a staff model
562.23 health plan company.

562.24 (b) The commissioner shall increase by two percent the fee-for-service payments under
562.25 medical assistance and the MinnesotaCare program for services subject to the hospital,
562.26 surgical center, or health care provider taxes under sections 295.50 to 295.57.
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Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.064, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:

Subd. 1a. Grounds for sanctions against vendors. (a) The commissioner may impose
sanctions against a vendor of medical care for any of the following: (1) fraud, theft, or abuse
in connection with the provision of medical care to recipients of public assistance; (2) a
pattern of presentment of false or duplicate claims or claims for services not medically
necessary; (3) a pattern of making false statements of material facts for the purpose of
obtaining greater compensation than that to which the vendor is legally entitled; (4)
suspension or termination as a Medicare vendor; (5) refusal to grant the state agency access
during regular business hours to examine all records necessary to disclose the extent of
services provided to program recipients and appropriateness of claims for payment; (6)
failure to repay an overpayment or a fine finally established under this section; (7) failure
to correct errors in the maintenance of health service or financial records for which a fine
was imposed or after issuance of a warning by the commissioner; and (8) any reason for
which a vendor could be excluded from participation in the Medicare program under section
1128, 1128A, or 1866(b)(2) of the Social Security Act.

(b) The commissioner may impose sanctions against a pharmacy provider for failure to
respond to a cost of dispensing survey under section 256B.0625, subdivision 13e, paragraph

(h).

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective April 1, 2019.

Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.0659, subdivision 21, is amended to read:

Subd. 21. Requirements for provider enrollment of personal care assistance provider
agencies. (a) All personal care assistance provider agencies must provide, at the time of
enrollment, reenrollment, and revalidation as a personal care assistance provider agency in
a format determined by the commissioner, information and documentation that includes,
but is not limited to, the following:

(1) the personal care assistance provider agency's current contact information including
address, telephone number, and e-mail address;

(2) proof of surety bond coverage for each business location providing services. Upon
new enrollment, or if the provider's Medicaid revenue in the previous calendar year is up
to and including $300,000, the provider agency must purchase a surety bond of $50,000. If
the Medicaid revenue in the previous year is over $300,000, the provider agency must
purchase a surety bond of $100,000. The surety bond must be in a form approved by the
commissioner, must be renewed annually, and must allow for recovery of costs and fees in
pursuing a claim on the bond;

(3) proof of fidelity bond coverage in the amount of $20,000 for each business location
providing service;

PAGE R54-A8

May 04, 2019
Senate Language UEH2414-1
284.18 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.064, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:
284.19 Subd. 1a. Grounds for sanctions against vendors. (a) The commissioner may impose
284.20 sanctions against a vendor of medical care for any of the following: (1) fraud, theft, or abuse
284.21 in connection with the provision of medical care to recipients of public assistance; (2) a
284.22 pattern of presentment of false or duplicate claims or claims for services not medically
284.23 mnecessary; (3) a pattern of making false statements of material facts for the purpose of
284.24 obtaining greater compensation than that to which the vendor is legally entitled; (4)
284.25 suspension or termination as a Medicare vendor; (5) refusal to grant the state agency access
284.26 during regular business hours to examine all records necessary to disclose the extent of
284.27 services provided to program recipients and appropriateness of claims for payment; (6)
284.28 failure to repay an overpayment or a fine finally established under this section; (7) failure
284.29 to correct errors in the maintenance of health service or financial records for which a fine
284.30 was imposed or after issuance of a warning by the commissioner; and (8) any reason for
284.31 which a vendor could be excluded from participation in the Medicare program under section
284.32 1128, 1128A, or 1866(b)(2) of the Social Security Act.
285.1 (b) The commissioner may impose sanctions against a pharmacy provider for failure to
285.2 respond to a cost of dispensing survey under section 256B.0625, subdivision 13e, paragraph
2853 (h).
2854 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective April 1, 2019.
ARTICLE 1:
45.29 Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.0659, subdivision 21, is amended to read:
45.30 Subd. 21. Requirements for provider enrollment of personal care assistance provider
4531 agencies. (a) All personal care assistance provider agencies must provide, at the time of
46.1  enrollment, reenrollment, and revalidation as a personal care assistance provider agency in
46.2  aformat determined by the commissioner, information and documentation that includes,
46.3  but is not limited to, the following:
46.4 (1) the personal care assistance provider agency's current contact information including
46.5  address, telephone number, and e-mail address;
46.6 (2) proof of surety bond coverage. Upon new enrollment, or if the provider's Medicaid
46.7  revenue in the previous calendar year is up to and including $300,000, the provider agency
46.8  must purchase a surety bond of $50,000. If the Medicaid revenue in the previous year is
46.9  over $300,000, the provider agency must purchase a surety bond of $100,000. The surety
46.10 bond must be in a form approved by the commissioner, must be renewed annually, and must
46.11 allow for recovery of costs and fees in pursuing a claim on the bond;
46.12 (3) proof of fidelity bond coverage in the amount of $20,000;
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(4) proof of workers' compensation insurance coverage identifying the business location
where personal care assistance services are provided;

(5) proof of liability insurance coverage identifying the business location where personal
care assistance services are provided and naming the department as a certificate holder;

D (6) a copy of the personal care assistance provider agency's written policies and
procedures including: hiring of employees; training requirements; service delivery; and
employee and consumer safety including process for notification and resolution of consumer
grievances, identification and prevention of communicable diseases, and employee
misconduct;

£8) (7) copies of all other forms the personal care assistance provider agency uses in the
course of daily business including, but not limited to:

(i) a copy of the personal care assistance provider agency's time sheet if the time sheet
varies from the standard time sheet for personal care assistance services approved by the
commissioner, and a letter requesting approval of the personal care assistance provider
agency's nonstandard time sheet;

(i) the personal care assistance provider agency's template for the personal care assistance
care plan; and

(iii) the personal care assistance provider agency's template for the written agreement
in subdivision 20 for recipients using the personal care assistance choice option, if applicable;

9 (8) alist of all training and classes that the personal care assistance provider agency
requires of its staff providing personal care assistance services;

49) (9) documentation that the personal care assistance provider agency and staff have
successfully completed all the training required by this section;

) (10) documentation of the agency's marketing practices;

2) (11) disclosure of ownership, leasing, or management of all residential properties
that is used or could be used for providing home care services;

43) (12) documentation that the agency will use the following percentages of revenue
generated from the medical assistance rate paid for personal care assistance services for
employee personal care assistant wages and benefits: 72.5 percent of revenue in the personal
care assistance choice option and 72.5 percent of revenue from other personal care assistance
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46.13 (4) proof of workers' compensation insurance coverage;
46.14 (5) proof of liability insurance;
46.15 (6) a description of the personal care assistance provider agency's organization identifying
46.16  the names of all owners, managing employees, staff, board of directors, and the affiliations
46.17  of the directors, owners, or staff to other service providers;
46.18 (7) a copy of the personal care assistance provider agency's written policies and
46.19 procedures including: hiring of employees; training requirements; service delivery;
46.20 identification, prevention, detection, and reporting of fraud or any billing, record-keeping,
46.21 or other administrative noncompliance; and employee and consumer safety including process
46.22 for notification and resolution of consumer grievances, identification and prevention of
46.23 communicable diseases, and employee misconduct;
46.24 (8) copies of all other forms the personal care assistance provider agency uses in the
46.25 course of daily business including, but not limited to:
46.26 (i) a copy of the personal care assistance provider agency's time sheet if the time sheet
46.27 varies from the standard time sheet for personal care assistance services approved by the
46.28 commissioner, and a letter requesting approval of the personal care assistance provider
46.29 agency's nonstandard time sheet;
46.30 (i) the personal care assistance provider agency's template for the personal care assistance
46.31 care plan; and
47.1 (iii) the personal care assistance provider agency's template for the written agreement
47.2  in subdivision 20 for recipients using the personal care assistance choice option, if applicable;
47.3 (9) a list of all training and classes that the personal care assistance provider agency
474  requires of its staff providing personal care assistance services;
475 (10) documentation that the personal care assistance provider agency and staff have
47.6  successfully completed all the training required by this section;
47.7 (11) documentation of the agency's marketing practices;
47.8 (12) disclosure of ownership, leasing, or management of all residential properties that
47.9  isused or could be used for providing home care services;
47.10 (13) documentation that the agency will use the following percentages of revenue
47.11 generated from the medical assistance rate paid for personal care assistance services for
47.12  employee personal care assistant wages and benefits: 72.5 percent of revenue in the personal
47.13  care assistance choice option and 72.5 percent of revenue from other personal care assistance
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providers. The revenue generated by the qualified professional and the reasonable costs
associated with the qualified professional shall not be used in making this calculation; and

&4 (13) effective May 15, 2010, documentation that the agency does not burden
recipients' free exercise of their right to choose service providers by requiring personal care
assistants to sign an agreement not to work with any particular personal care assistance
recipient or for another personal care assistance provider agency after leaving the agency
and that the agency is not taking action on any such agreements or requirements regardless
of the date signed.

(b) Personal care assistance provider agencies shall provide the information specified
in paragraph (a) to the commissioner at the time the personal care assistance provider agency
enrolls as a vendor or upon request from the commissioner. The commissioner shall collect
the information specified in paragraph (a) from all personal care assistance providers
beginning July 1, 2009.

(c) All personal care assistance provider agencies shall require all employees in
management and supervisory positions and owners of the agency who are active in the
day-to-day management and operations of the agency to complete mandatory training as
determined by the commissioner before submitting an application for enrollment of the
agency as a provider. All personal care assistance provider agencies shall also require
qualified professionals to complete the training required by subdivision 13 before submitting
an application for enrollment of the agency as a provider. Employees in management and
supervisory positions and owners who are active in the day-to-day operations of an agency
who have completed the required training as an employee with a personal care assistance
provider agency do not need to repeat the required training if they are hired by another
agency, if they have completed the training within the past three years. By September 1,
2010, the required training must be available with meaningful access according to title VI
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47.14  providers. The revenue generated by the qualified professional and the reasonable costs
47.15 associated with the qualified professional shall not be used in making this calculation; and
47.16 (14) effective May 15, 2010, documentation that the agency does not burden recipients'
47.17 free exercise of their right to choose service providers by requiring personal care assistants
47.18 to sign an agreement not to work with any particular personal care assistance recipient or
47.19  for another personal care assistance provider agency after leaving the agency and that the
47.20 agency is not taking action on any such agreements or requirements regardless of the date
4721 signed; and
47.22 (15) a copy of the personal care assistance provider agency's self-auditing policy and
47.23  other materials demonstrating the personal care assistance provider agency's internal program
47.24  integrity procedures.
47.25 (b) Personal care assistance provider agencies enrolling for the first time must also
47.26 provide, at the time of enrollment as a personal care assistance provider agency in a format
47.27  determined by the commissioner, information and documentation that includes proof of
47.28 sufficient initial operating capital to support the infrastructure necessary to allow for ongoing
47.29 compliance with the requirements of this section. Sufficient operating capital can be
4730 demonstrated as follows:
4731 (1) copies of business bank account statements with at least $5,000 in cash reserves;
47.32 (2) proof of a cash reserve or business line of credit sufficient to equal three payrolls of
4733 the agency's current or projected business; and
48.1 (3) any other manner proscribed by the commissioner.
48.2 (c) Personal care assistance provider agencies shall provide the information specified
48.3  in paragraph (a) to the commissioner at the time the personal care assistance provider agency
48.4  enrolls as a vendor or upon request from the commissioner. The commissioner shall collect
48.5  the information specified in paragraph (a) from all personal care assistance providers
48.6  beginning July 1, 2009.
48.7 ) (d) All personal care assistance provider agencies shall require all employees in
48.8  management and supervisory positions and owners of the agency who are active in the
489  day-to-day management and operations of the agency to complete mandatory training as
48.10  determined by the commissioner before enrollment of the agency as a provider. Employees
48.11 in management and supervisory positions and owners who are active in the day-to-day
48.12 operations of an agency who have completed the required training as an employee with a
48.13  personal care assistance provider agency do not need to repeat the required training if they
48.14  are hired by another agency, if they have completed the training within the past three years.
48.15 By September 1, 2010, the required training must be available with meaningful access
48.16 according to title VI of the Civil Rights Act and federal regulations adopted under that law
48.17 or any guidance from the United States Health and Human Services Department. The
48.18 required training must be available online or by electronic remote connection. The required
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of the Civil Rights Act and federal regulations adopted under that law or any guidance from
the United States Health and Human Services Department. The required training must be
available online or by electronic remote connection. The required training must provide for
competency testing. Personal care assistance provider agency billing staft shall complete
training about personal care assistance program financial management. This training is
effective July 1, 2009. Any personal care assistance provider agency enrolled before that
date shall, if it has not already, complete the provider training within 18 months of July 1,
2009. Any new owners or employees in management and supervisory positions involved

in the day-to-day operations are required to complete mandatory training as a requisite of
working for the agency. Personal care assistance provider agencies certified for participation
in Medicare as home health agencies are exempt from the training required in this
subdivision. When available, Medicare-certified home health agency owners, supervisors,
or managers must successfully complete the competency test.

(d) All surety bonds, fidelity bonds, workers compensation insurance, and liability
insurance required by this subdivision must be maintained continuously. After initial
enrollment, a provider must submit proof of bonds and required coverages at any time at
the request of the commissioner. Services provided while there are lapses in coverage are
not eligible for payment. Lapses in coverage may result in sanctions, including termination.
The commissioner shall send instructions and a due date to submit the requested information
to the personal care assistance provider agency.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
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48.19 training must provide for competency testing. Personal care assistance provider agency
48.20 billing staff shall complete training about personal care assistance program financial
48.21 management. This training is effective July 1, 2009. Any personal care assistance provider
48.22 agency enrolled before that date shall, if it has not already, complete the provider training
48.23  within 18 months of July 1, 2009. Any new owners or employees in management and
48.24  supervisory positions involved in the day-to-day operations are required to complete
48.25 mandatory training as a requisite of working for the agency. Personal care assistance provider
48.26 agencies certified for participation in Medicare as home health agencies are exempt from
48.27 the training required in this subdivision. When available, Medicare-certified home health
48.28 agency owners, supervisors, or managers must successfully complete the competency test.
48.29 (e) All personal care assistance provider agencies must provide, at the time of revalidation
48.30 as a personal care assistance provider agency in a format determined by the commissioner,
48.31 information and documentation that includes, but is not limited to, the following:
48.32 (1) documentation of the payroll paid for the preceding 12 months or other period as
48.33 proscribed by the commissioner; and
48.34 (2) financial statements demonstrating compliance with paragraph (a), clause (13).
ARTICLE 8:
285.5 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.69, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
285.6 Subd. 4. Limitation of choice. (a) The commissioner shall develop criteria to determine
285.7 when limitation of choice may be implemented in the experimental counties. The criteria
285.8  shall ensure that all eligible individuals in the county have continuing access to the full
285.9 range of medical assistance services as specified in subdivision 6.
285.10 (b) The commissioner shall exempt the following persons from participation in the
285.11 project, in addition to those who do not meet the criteria for limitation of choice:
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285.12 (1) persons eligible for medical assistance according to section 256B.055, subdivision
285.13 1;
285.14 (2) persons eligible for medical assistance due to blindness or disability as determined
285.15 by the Social Security Administration or the state medical review team, unless:
285.16 (i) they are 65 years of age or older; or
285.17 (ii) they reside in Itasca County or they reside in a county in which the commissioner

285.18 conducts a pilot project under a waiver granted pursuant to section 1115 of the Social
285.19 Security Act;

285.20 (3) recipients who currently have private coverage through a health maintenance
285.21 organization;

285.22 (4) recipients who are eligible for medical assistance by spending down excess income
285.23 for medical expenses other than the nursing facility per diem expense;

285.24 (5) recipients who receive benefits under the Refugee Assistance Program, established
285.25 under United States Code, title 8, section 1522(e);

285.26 (6) children who are both determined to be severely emotionally disturbed and receiving
285.27 case management services according to section 256B.0625, subdivision 20, except children
285.28 who are eligible for and who decline enrollment in an approved preferred integrated network
285.29 under section 245.4682;

285.30 (7) adults who are both determined to be seriously and persistently mentally ill and
285.31 received case management services according to section 256B.0625, subdivision 20;

286.1 (8) persons eligible for medical assistance according to section 256B.057, subdivision
286.2 10; and

286.3 (9) persons with access to cost-effective employer-sponsored private health insurance
286.4  or persons enrolled in a non-Medicare individual health plan determined to be cost-effective
286.5 according to section 256B.0625, subdivision 15; and

286.6 (10) persons who are absent from the state for more than 30 consecutive days but still
286.7 deemed a resident of Minnesota, identified in accordance with section 256B.056, subdivision

286.8 1, paragraph (b).

286.9  Children under age 21 who are in foster placement may enroll in the project on an elective
286.10 basis. Individuals excluded under clauses (1), (6), and (7) may choose to enroll on an elective
286.11 basis. The commissioner may enroll recipients in the prepaid medical assistance program
286.12 for seniors who are (1) age 65 and over, and (2) eligible for medical assistance by spending
286.13 down excess income.

286.14 (c) The commissioner may allow persons with a one-month spenddown who are otherwise
286.15 eligible to enroll to voluntarily enroll or remain enrolled, if they elect to prepay their monthly
286.16 spenddown to the state.
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(d) The commissioner may require those individuals to enroll in the prepaid medical
assistance program who otherwise would have been excluded under paragraph (b), clauses
(1), (3), and (8), and under Minnesota Rules, part 9500.1452, subpart 2, items H, K, and L.

(e) Before limitation of choice is implemented, eligible individuals shall be notified and
after notification, shall be allowed to choose only among demonstration providers. The
commissioner may assign an individual with private coverage through a health maintenance
organization, to the same health maintenance organization for medical assistance coverage,
if the health maintenance organization is under contract for medical assistance in the
individual's county of residence. After initially choosing a provider, the recipient is allowed
to change that choice only at specified times as allowed by the commissioner. If a
demonstration provider ends participation in the project for any reason, a recipient enrolled
with that provider must select a new provider but may change providers without cause once
more within the first 60 days after enrollment with the second provider.

(f) An infant born to a woman who is eligible for and receiving medical assistance and
who is enrolled in the prepaid medical assistance program shall be retroactively enrolled to
the month of birth in the same managed care plan as the mother once the child is enrolled
in medical assistance unless the child is determined to be excluded from enrollment in a
prepaid plan under this section.

Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.69, subdivision 31, is amended to read:

Subd. 31. Payment reduction. (a) Beginning September 1, 2011, the commissioner
shall reduce payments and limit future rate increases paid to managed care plans and
county-based purchasing plans. The limits in paragraphs (a) to (f) shall be achieved on a
statewide aggregate basis by program. The commissioner may use competitive bidding,
payment reductions, or other reductions to achieve the reductions and limits in this
subdivision.

(b) Beginning September 1, 2011, the commissioner shall reduce payments to managed
care plans and county-based purchasing plans as follows:

(1) 2.0 percent for medical assistance elderly basic care. This shall not apply to Medicare
cost-sharing, nursing facility, personal care assistance, and elderly waiver services;

(2) 2.82 percent for medical assistance families and children;
(3) 10.1 percent for medical assistance adults without children; and
(4) 6.0 percent for MinnesotaCare families and children.

(c) Beginning January 1, 2012, the commissioner shall limit rates paid to managed care
plans and county-based purchasing plans for calendar year 2012 to a percentage of the rates
in effect on August 31, 2011, as follows:

(1) 98 percent for medical assistance elderly basic care. This shall not apply to Medicare
cost-sharing, nursing facility, personal care assistance, and elderly waiver services;
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287.20 (2) 97.18 percent for medical assistance families and children;
287.21 (3) 89.9 percent for medical assistance adults without children; and
287.22 (4) 94 percent for MinnesotaCare families and children.
287.23 (d) Beginning January 1, 2013, to December 31, 2013, the commissioner shall limit the

287.24 maximum annual trend increases to rates paid to managed care plans and county-based
287.25 purchasing plans as follows:

287.26 (1) 7.5 percent for medical assistance elderly basic care. This shall not apply to Medicare
287.27 cost-sharing, nursing facility, personal care assistance, and elderly waiver services;

287.28 (2) 5.0 percent for medical assistance special needs basic care;

287.29 (3) 2.0 percent for medical assistance families and children;

287.30 (4) 3.0 percent for medical assistance adults without children;

288.1 (5) 3.0 percent for MinnesotaCare families and children; and

288.2 (6) 3.0 percent for MinnesotaCare adults without children.

288.3 (e) The commissioner may limit trend increases to less than the maximum. Beginning

288.4 July 1, 2014, the commissioner shall limit the maximum annual trend increases to rates paid
288.5 to managed care plans and county-based purchasing plans as follows for calendar years
288.6 2014 and 2015:

288.7 (1) 7.5 percent for medical assistance elderly basic care. This shall not apply to Medicare
288.8  cost-sharing, nursing facility, personal care assistance, and elderly waiver services;

288.9 (2) 5.0 percent for medical assistance special needs basic care;

288.10 (3) 2.0 percent for medical assistance families and children;

288.11 (4) 3.0 percent for medical assistance adults without children;

288.12 (5) 3.0 percent for MinnesotaCare families and children; and

288.13 (6) 4.0 percent for MinnesotaCare adults without children.

288.14 (f) The commissioner may limit trend increases to less than the maximum. For calendar

288.15 year 2014, the commissioner shall reduce the maximum aggregate trend increases by
288.16 $47,000,000 in state and federal funds to account for the reductions in administrative
288.17 expenses in subdivision 5i.

288.18 (g) Beginning January 1, 2020, to December 31, 2024, the commissioner shall limit the
288.19 maximum annual trend increases to rates paid to managed care plans and county-based
288.20 purchasing plans as follows for calendar years 2020, 2021, 2023, and 2024:
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Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.69, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 38. Payment rate transparency. The commissioner shall compare fee-for-service
medical assistance, Medicare, and medical assistance managed care and county-based
purchasing plan aggregate payment rates for the most frequently used inpatient hospital,
primary care, dental care, physician specialist, obstetrics, mental health, substance use
disorder, and home health services using available data. The commissioner shall publish
this information on the Department of Human Services website and must update the
information annually by October 1. The managed care and county-based purchasing plan
aggregate payment data must be expressed as the percentage above or below the
fee-for-service payment rate for the categories listed in this subdivision.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2020.
Sec. 39. [256B.758] REIMBURSEMENT FOR DOULA SERVICES.

Effective for services provided on or after July 1, 2019, payments for doula services
provided by a certified doula shall be $47 per prenatal or postpartum visit and $488 for
attending and providing doula services at a birth.

Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.766, is amended to read:
256B.766 REIMBURSEMENT FOR BASIC CARE SERVICES.

(a) Effective for services provided on or after July 1, 2009, total payments for basic care
services, shall be reduced by three percent, except that for the period July 1, 2009, through
June 30, 2011, total payments shall be reduced by 4.5 percent for the medical assistance
and general assistance medical care programs, prior to third-party liability and spenddown
calculation. Effective July 1, 2010, the commissioner shall classify physical therapy services,
occupational therapy services, and speech-language pathology and related services as basic
care services. The reduction in this paragraph shall apply to physical therapy services,
occupational therapy services, and speech-language pathology and related services provided
on or after July 1, 2010.

(b) Payments made to managed care plans and county-based purchasing plans shall be
reduced for services provided on or after October 1, 2009, to reflect the reduction effective
July 1, 2009, and payments made to the plans shall be reduced effective October 1, 2010,
to reflect the reduction effective July 1, 2010.
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288.21 (1) 3.4 percent for medical assistance elderly basic care. This shall not apply to Medicare
288.22 cost-sharing, nursing facility, personal care assistance, and elderly waiver services;
288.23 (2) 3.4 percent for medical assistance special needs basic care;
288.24 (3) 2.4 percent for medical assistance families and children; and
288.25 (4) 2.4 percent for medical assistance adults without children.
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(c) Effective for services provided on or after September 1, 2011, through June 30, 2013,
total payments for outpatient hospital facility fees shall be reduced by five percent from the
rates in effect on August 31, 2011.

(d) Effective for services provided on or after September 1, 2011, through June 30, 2013,
total payments for ambulatory surgery centers facility fees, medical supplies and durable
medical equipment not subject to a volume purchase contract, prosthetics and orthotics,
renal dialysis services, laboratory services, public health nursing services, physical therapy
services, occupational therapy services, speech therapy services, eyeglasses not subject to
a volume purchase contract, hearing aids not subject to a volume purchase contract, and
anesthesia services shall be reduced by three percent from the rates in effect on August 31,
2011.

(e) Effective for services provided on or after September 1, 2014, payments for
ambulatory surgery centers facility fees, hospice services, renal dialysis services, laboratory
services, public health nursing services, eyeglasses not subject to a volume purchase contract,
and hearing aids not subject to a volume purchase contract shall be increased by three percent
and payments for outpatient hospital facility fees shall be increased by three percent.
Payments made to managed care plans and county-based purchasing plans shall not be
adjusted to reflect payments under this paragraph.

(f) Payments for medical supplies and durable medical equipment not subject to a volume
purchase contract, and prosthetics and orthotics, provided on or after July 1, 2014, through
June 30, 2015, shall be decreased by .33 percent. Payments for medical supplies and durable
medical equipment not subject to a volume purchase contract, and prosthetics and orthotics,
provided on or after July 1, 2015, shall be increased by three percent from the rates as
determined under paragraphs (i) and (j).

(g) Effective for services provided on or after July 1, 2015, payments for outpatient
hospital facility fees, medical supplies and durable medical equipment not subject to a
volume purchase contract, prosthetics, and orthotics to a hospital meeting the criteria specified
in section 62Q.19, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (4), shall be increased by 90 percent
from the rates in effect on June 30, 2015. Payments made to managed care plans and
county-based purchasing plans shall not be adjusted to reflect payments under this paragraph.

(h) This section does not apply to physician and professional services, inpatient hospital
services, family planning services, mental health services, dental services, prescription
drugs, medical transportation, federally qualified health centers, rural health centers, Indian
health services, and Medicare cost-sharing.

(i) Effective for services provided on or after July 1, 2015, the following categories of
medical supplies and durable medical equipment shall be individually priced items: enteral
nutrition and supplies, customized and other specialized tracheostomy tubes and supplies,
electric patient lifts, and durable medical equipment repair and service. This paragraph does
not apply to medical supplies and durable medical equipment subject to a volume purchase
contract, products subject to the preferred diabetic testing supply program, and items provided
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to dually eligible recipients when Medicare is the primary payer for the item. The
commissioner shall not apply any medical assistance rate reductions to durable medical
equipment as a result of Medicare competitive bidding.

(j) Effective for services provided on or after July 1, 2015, medical assistance payment
rates for durable medical equipment, prosthetics, orthotics, or supplies shall be increased
as follows:

(1) payment rates for durable medical equipment, prosthetics, orthotics, or supplies that
were subject to the Medicare competitive bid that took effect in January of 2009 shall be
increased by 9.5 percent; and

(2) payment rates for durable medical equipment, prosthetics, orthotics, or supplies on
the medical assistance fee schedule, whether or not subject to the Medicare competitive bid
that took effect in January of 2009, shall be increased by 2.94 percent, with this increase
being applied after calculation of any increased payment rate under clause (1).

This paragraph does not apply to medical supplies and durable medical equipment subject
to a volume purchase contract, products subject to the preferred diabetic testing supply
program, items provided to dually eligible recipients when Medicare is the primary payer
for the item, and individually priced items identified in paragraph (i). Payments made to
managed care plans and county-based purchasing plans shall not be adjusted to reflect the
rate increases in this paragraph.

(k) Effective for nonpressure support ventilators provided on or after January 1, 2016,
the rate shall be the lower of the submitted charge or the Medicare fee schedule rate. Effective
for pressure support ventilators provided on or after January 1, 2016, the rate shall be the
lower of the submitted charge or 47 percent above the Medicare fee schedule rate. For
payments made in accordance with this paragraph, if, and to the extent that, the commissioner
identifies that the state has received federal financial participation for ventilators in excess
of the amount allowed effective January 1, 2018, under United States Code, title 42, section
1396b(i)(27), the state shall repay the excess amount to the Centers for Medicare and
Medicaid Services with state funds and maintain the full payment rate under this paragraph.

(1) Payment rates for durable medical equipment, prosthetics, orthotics or supplies, that
are subject to the upper payment limit in accordance with section 1903(i)(27) of the Social
Security Act, shall be paid the Medicare rate. Rate increases provided in this chapter shall
not be applied to the items listed in this paragraph.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2019, subject to federal approval.
The commissioner shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval has been
obtained.

Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.79, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Pilet Grant program established. The commissioner shall implement a pilet
grant program to improve birth outcomes and strengthen early parental resilience for pregnant
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women who are medical assistance enrollees, are at significantly elevated risk for adverse
outcomes of pregnancy, and are in targeted populations. The program must promote the
provision of integrated care and enhanced services to these pregnant women, including
postpartum coordination to ensure ongoing continuity of care, by qualified integrated
perinatal care collaboratives.

Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.79, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Grant awards. The commissioner shall award grants to qualifying applicants
to support interdisciplinary, integrated perinatal care. Grantsmustbe-awarded -beginning
July12016: Grant funds must be distributed through a request for proposals process to a
designated lead agency within an entity that has been determined to be a qualified integrated
perinatal care collaborative or within an entity in the process of meeting the qualifications
to become a qualified integrated perinatal care collaborative, and priority shall be given to
qualified integrated perinatal care collaboratives that received grants under this section prior
to January 1, 2019. Grant awards must be used to support interdisciplinary, team-based
needs assessments, planning, and implementation of integrated care and enhanced services
for targeted populations. In determining grant award amounts, the commissioner shall
consider the identified health and social risks linked to adverse outcomes and attributed to
enrollees within the identified targeted population.

Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.79, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Eligibility for grants. To be eligible for a grant under this section, an entity
must show-that the-entity meets-oris-inthe proeess-of meeting meet qualifications established

by the commissioner to be a qualified integrated perinatal care collaborative. These
qualifications must include evidence that the entity has erisintheprecess-ofdeveloping
policies, services, and partnerships to support interdisciplinary, integrated care. The policies,
services, and partnerships must meet specific criteria and be approved by the commissioner.
The commissioner shall establish-apreeess-te review the collaborative's capacity for
interdisciplinary, integrated care, to be reviewed at the commissioner's discretion. In
determining whether the entity meets the qualifications for a qualified integrated perinatal
care collaborative, the commissioner shall verify and review whether the entity's policies,
services, and partnerships:

(1) optimize early identification of drug and alcohol dependency and abuse during
pregnancy, effectively coordinate referrals and follow-up of identified patients to
evidence-based or evidence-informed treatment, and integrate perinatal care services with
behavioral health and substance abuse services;

(2) enhance access to, and effective use of, needed health care or tribal health care
services, public health or tribal public health services, social services, mental health services,
chemical dependency services, or services provided by community-based providers by
bridging cultural gaps within systems of care and by integrating community-based
paraprofessionals such as doulas and community health workers as routinely available
service components;
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(3) encourage patient education about prenatal care, birthing, and postpartum care, and
document how patient education is provided. Patient education may include information
on nutrition, reproductive life planning, breastfeeding, and parenting;

(4) integrate child welfare case planning with substance abuse treatment planning and
monitoring, as appropriate;

(5) effectively systematize screening, collaborative care planning, referrals, and follow
up for behavioral and social risks known to be associated with adverse outcomes and known
to be prevalent within the targeted populations;

(6) facilitate ongoing continuity of care to include postpartum coordination and referrals
for interconception care, continued treatment for substance abuse, identification and referrals
for maternal depression and other chronic mental health conditions, continued medication
management for chronic diseases, and appropriate referrals to tribal or county-based social
services agencies and tribal or county-based public health nursing services; and

(7) implement ongoing quality improvement activities as determined by the commissioner,
including collection and use of data from qualified providers on metrics of quality such as
health outcomes and processes of care, and the use of other data that has been collected by
the commissioner.

Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.79, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Gaps in communication, support, and care. A collaborative receiving a grant
under this section must develop-means-ofidentifying-andreporting identify and report gaps
in the collaborative's communication, administrative support, and direct care, if any, that
must be remedied for the collaborative to continue to effectively provide integrated care
and enhanced services to targeted populations.

Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.79, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Report. By January 31, 2649 2021, and every two years thereafter, the
commissioner shall report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative
committees with jurisdiction over health and human services policy and finance on the
status and pregress outcomes of the pilet grant program. The report must:

(1) describe the capacity of collaboratives receiving grants under this section;
(2) contain aggregate information about enrollees served within targeted populations;
(3) describe the utilization of enhanced prenatal services;

(4) for enrollees identified with maternal substance use disorders, describe the utilization
of substance use treatment and dispositions of any child protection cases;

(5) contain data on outcomes within targeted populations and compare these outcomes
to outcomes statewide, using standard categories of race and ethnicity; and
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572.1 (6) include recommendations for continuing the program or sustaining improvements

572.2  through other means beyondJune36,2019.

288.26  Sec. 21. [256B.86] PRESCRIBED PEDIATRIC EXTENDED CARE (PPEC) CENTER
288.27 SERVICES.

288.28 Subdivision 1. Reimbursement rates. The daily per-child payment rates for PPEC basic
288.29 services covered by medical assistance and provided at PPEC centers licensed under chapter
288.30 144H are:

289.1 (1) for intense complexity: $550 for four or more hours and $275 for less than four hours;
289.2 (2) for high complexity: $450 for four or more hours and $225 for less than four hours;
289.3 and

289.4 (3) for moderate complexity: $400 for four or more hours and $200 for less than four
289.5 hours.

289.6 Subd. 2. Determination of complexity level. Complexity level shall be determined

289.7 based on the level of nursing intervention required for each child using an assessment tool
289.8  approved by the commissioner.

289.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020, or upon federal approval,
289.10 whichever occurs later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of
289.11 statutes when federal approval is obtained.

ARTICLE 1:
63.1 Sec. 62. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256L.01, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
63.2 Subd. 5. Income. "Income" has the meaning given for modified adjusted gross income,

63.3  as defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title 26, section 1.36B-1, and means a household's
63.4  current income, or if income fluctuates month to month, the income for the 12-month

63.5  eligibility period. Income includes amounts deposited into checking and savings accounts
63.6  for personal expenses including rent, mortgage, automobile-related expenses, utilities, and
63.7  food.

ARTICLE 8:

289.12 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256L.03, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

289.13 Subd. 5. Cost-sharing. (a) Co-payments, coinsurance, and deductibles do not apply to
289.14 children under the age of 21 and to American Indians as defined in Code of Federal
289.15 Regulations, title 42, section 600.5.

289.16 (b) The commissioner shall adjust co-payments, coinsurance, and deductibles for covered
289.17 services in a manner sufficient to maintain the actuarial value of the benefit to 94 percent
289.18 for families or individuals with incomes equal to or below 150 percent of the federal poverty
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Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256L.11, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Payment of certain providers. Services provided by federally qualified health
centers, rural health clinics, and facilities of the Indian health service, and certified
community behavioral health clinics shall be paid for according to the same rates and
conditions applicable to the same service provided by providers that are not federally
qualified health centers, rural health clinics, e facilities of the Indian health service, or
certified community behavioral health clinics. The alternative payment methodology
described under section 256B.0625, subdivision 30, paragraph (1), shall not apply to services
delivered under this chapter by federally qualified health centers, rural health clinics, and
facilities of the Indian Health Services. The prospective payment system for certified
behavioral health clinics under section 256B.0625, subdivision 5m, shall not apply to services
delivered under this chapter.

Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 295.52, subdivision 8, is amended to read:

Subd. 8. Contingent reduction in tax rate. (a) By December 1 of each year, beginning
in 2011, the commissioner of management and budget shall determine the projected balance
in the health care access fund for the biennium.

(b) If the commissioner of management and budget determines that the projected balance
in the health care access fund for the biennium reflects a ratio of revenues to expenditures
and transfers greater than 125 percent, and if the actual cash balance in the fund is adequate,
as determined by the commissioner of management and budget, the commissioner, in
consultation with the commissioner of revenue, shall reduce the tax rates levied under
subdivisions 1, 1a, 2, 3, and 4, for the subsequent calendar year sufficient to reduce the
structural balance in the fund. The rate may be reduced to the extent that the projected
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guidelines; and to 87 percent for families or individuals with incomes that are above 150
percent of the federal poverty guidelines and equal to or less than 200 percent of the federal
poverty guidelines for the applicable family size. The cost-sharing changes described in

this paragraph do not apply to eligible recipients or services exempt from cost-sharing under
state law. The cost-sharing changes described in this paragraph shall not be implemented
prior to January 1, 2016.

(c) The cost-sharing changes authorized under paragraph (b) must satisfy the requirements
for cost-sharing under the Basic Health Program as set forth in Code of Federal Regulations,
title 42, sections 600.510 and 600.520.

Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256L.03, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 7. Minnesota EHB Benchmark Plan. Notwithstanding subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 3a,
and 3b, and section 256L.12, or any other law to the contrary, the services covered for
parents, caretakers, foster parents, or legal guardians and single adults without children
eligible for MinnesotaCare under section 256L.04 shall be the services covered under the
Minnesota EHB Benchmark Plan for plan year 2016 or the actuarial equivalent.
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revenues for the biennium do not exceed 125 percent of expenditures and transfers. The
new rate shall be rounded to the nearest one-tenth of one percent. The rate reduction under
this paragraph expires at the end of each calendar year and is subject to an annual
redetermination by the commissioner of management and budget.

(c) For purposes of the analysis defined in paragraph (b), the commissioner of

management and budget shall include projected revenues;netwithstanding-therepeal-ofthe
. L anderthi . Footived o020,
EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 48. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 325F.69, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 7. Advertisement and sales; misrepresentation of conversion therapy. No
person or entity shall, while conducting any trade or commerce, use or employ any fraud,
false pretense, false promise, false guarantee, misrepresentation, false or misleading
statements, or deceptive practice when advertising or otherwise offering conversion therapy
services. For purposes of this subdivision, "conversion therapy" means services or products
that are intended to change an individual's sexual orientation or gender identity, including
efforts to change behaviors and gender expressions or to eliminate or reduce sexual or
romantic attractions or feelings toward individuals of the same gender.

Sec. 49. Laws 2003, First Special Session chapter 14, article 13C, section 2, subdivision
6, as amended by Laws 2004, chapter 272, article 2, section 4; Laws 2005, First Special
Session chapter 4, article 5, section 18; and Laws 2005, First Special Session chapter 4,
article 9, section 11, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Basic Health Care Grants

Summary by Fund
General 1,290,454,000 1,475,996,000
Health Care Access 254,121,000 282,689,000

UPDATING FEDERAL POVERTY
GUIDELINES. Annual updates to the federal
poverty guidelines are effective each July 1,
following publication by the United States
Department of Health and Human Services
for health care programs under Minnesota
Statutes, chapters 256, 256B, 256D, and 256L.

The amounts that may be spent from this
appropriation for each purpose are as follows:
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(a) MinnesotaCare Grants
Health Care Access 253,371,000 281,939,000

MINNESOTACARE FEDERAL
RECEIPTS. Receipts received as a result of
federal participation pertaining to
administrative costs of the Minnesota health
care reform waiver shall be deposited as
nondedicated revenue in the health care access
fund. Receipts received as a result of federal
participation pertaining to grants shall be
deposited in the federal fund and shall offset
health care access funds for payments to
providers.

MINNESOTACARE FUNDING. The
commissioner may expend money
appropriated from the health care access fund
for MinnesotaCare in either fiscal year of the
biennium.

(b) MA Basic Health Care Grants - Families
and Children

General 427,769,000 489,545,000

SERVICES TO PREGNANT WOMEN.
The commissioner shall use available federal
money for the State-Children's Health
Insurance Program for medical assistance
services provided to pregnant women who are
not otherwise eligible for federal financial
participation beginning in fiscal year 2003.
This federal money shall be deposited in the
federal fund and shall offset general funds for
payments to providers. Notwithstanding
section 14, this paragraph shall not expire.

MANAGED CARE RATE INCREASE. (&)
1 . bt l |

payments-to-managed-eare-plans-under

ameunt-equal-to-the-eostinereasesto-the
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(c) The commissioner of finance shall transfer
from the health care access fund to the general
fund the following amounts in the fiscal years
indicated: 2004, $16,587,000; 2005,
$46,322,000; 2006, $49,413,000; and 2007,
$58,695,000.

(d) Notwithstanding section 14, these
provisions shall not expire.

(c) MA Basic Health Care Grants - Elderly
and Disabled

General 610,518,000 743,858,000

Article 8 - Health Care
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DELAY MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
FEE-FOR-SERVICE - ACUTE CARE. The
following payments in fiscal year 2005 from
the Medicaid Management Information
System that would otherwise have been made
to providers for medical assistance and general
assistance medical care services shall be
delayed and included in the first payment in
fiscal year 2006:

(1) for hospitals, the last two payments; and
(2) for nonhospital providers, the last payment.

This payment delay shall not include payments
to skilled nursing facilities, intermediate care
facilities for mental retardation, prepaid health
plans, home health agencies, personal care
nursing providers, and providers of only
waiver services. The provisions of Minnesota
Statutes, section 16A.124, shall not apply to
these delayed payments. Notwithstanding
section 14, this provision shall not expire.

DEAF AND HARD-OF-HEARING
SERVICES. If, after making reasonable
efforts, the service provider for mental health
services to persons who are deaf or hearing
impaired is not able to earn $227,000 through
participation in medical assistance intensive
rehabilitation services in fiscal year 2005, the
commissioner shall transfer $227,000 minus
medical assistance earnings achieved by the
grantee to deaf and hard-of-hearing grants to
enable the provider to continue providing
services to eligible persons.

(d) General Assistance Medical Care Grants
General 239,861,000 229,960,000

(e) Health Care Grants - Other Assistance

Article 8 - Health Care
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General 3,067,000 3,407,000
Health Care Access 750,000 750,000

MINNESOTA PRESCRIPTION DRUG
DEDICATED FUND. Of the general fund
appropriation, $284,000 in fiscal year 2005 is
appropriated to the commissioner for the
prescription drug dedicated fund established
under the prescription drug discount program.

DENTAL ACCESS GRANTS
CARRYOVER AUTHORITY. Any unspent
portion of the appropriation from the health
care access fund in fiscal years 2002 and 2003
for dental access grants under Minnesota
Statutes, section 256B.53, shall not cancel but
shall be allowed to carry forward to be spent
in the biennium beginning July 1, 2003, for
these purposes.

STOP-LOSS FUND ACCOUNT. The
appropriation to the purchasing alliance
stop-loss fund account established under
Minnesota Statutes, section 256.956,
subdivision 2, for fiscal years 2004 and 2005
shall only be available for claim
reimbursements for qualifying enrollees who
are members of purchasing alliances that meet
the requirements described under Minnesota
Statutes, section 256.956, subdivision 1,
paragraph (f), clauses (1), (2), and (3).

(f) Prescription Drug Program
General 9,239,000 9,226,000

PRESCRIPTION DRUG ASSISTANCE
PROGRAM. Of the general fund
appropriation, $702,000 in fiscal year 2004
and $887,000 in fiscal year 2005 are for the
commissioner to establish and administer the
prescription drug assistance program through
the Minnesota board on aging.

Article 8 - Health Care
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REBATE REVENUE RECAPTURE. Any
funds received by the state from a drug
manufacturer due to errors in the
pharmaceutical pricing used by the
manufacturer in determining the prescription
drug rebate are appropriated to the
commissioner to augment funding of the
prescription drug program established in
Minnesota Statutes, section 256.955.

Sec. 50. STUDY OF CLINIC COSTS.

The commissioner of human services shall conduct a five-year comparative analysis of
the actual change in aggregate federally qualified health center (FQHC) and rural health
clinic costs versus the CMS FQHC Market Basket inflator using 2017 through 2022 finalized
Medicare Cost Reports, CMS 2224-14, and report the findings to the chairs and ranking
minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and human
services policy and finance, by July 1, 2025.
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Sec. 24. CORRECTIVE PLAN TO ELIMINATE DUPLICATE PERSONAL
IDENTIFICATION NUMBERS.

(a) The commissioner of human services shall design and implement a corrective plan
to address the issue of medical assistance enrollees being assigned more than one personal
identification number. Any corrections or fixes that are necessary to address this issue are
required to be completed by June 30, 2021.

(b) By February 15, 2020, the commissioner shall submit a report to the chairs and
ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and
human services policy and finance on the progress of the corrective plan required in paragraph
(a), including an update on meeting the June 30, 2021, deadline. The report must also include
information on:

(1) the number of medical assistance enrollees who have been assigned two or more
personal identification numbers;

(2) any possible financial effect of enrollees having duplicate personal identification
numbers on health care providers and managed care organizations, including the effect on
reimbursement rates, meeting withhold requirements, and capitated payments; and

(3) any effect on federal payments received by the state.
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290.20  Sec. 25. DIRECTION TO THE COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN SERVICES;
290.21 QUALITY MEASURES FOR PRESCRIBED PEDIATRIC EXTENDED CARE
290.22 (PPEC) CENTERS.

290.23 (a) The commissioner of human services, in consultation with community stakeholders
290.24 as defined by the commissioner and PPEC centers licensed prior to June 30, 2024, shall
290.25 develop quality measures for PPEC centers, procedures for PPEC centers to report quality
290.26 measures to the commissioner, and methods for the commissioner to make the results of
290.27 the quality measures available to the public.

290.28 (b) The commissioner of human services shall submit by February 1, 2024, a report on
290.29 the topics described in paragraph (a) to the chairs and ranking minority members of the
290.30 legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and human services.

290.31 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective upon the effective date of section 23.
291.1 Sec. 26. PAIN MANAGEMENT.

291.2 (a) The Health Services Policy Committee established under Minnesota Statutes, section
291.3 256B.0625, subdivision 3c, shall evaluate and make recommendations on the integration
291.4 of nonpharmacologic pain management that are clinically viable and sustainable; reduce or
291.5 eliminate chronic pain conditions; improve functional status; and prevent addiction and

291.6 reduce dependence on opiates or other pain medications. The recommendations must be
291.7 based on best practices for the effective treatment of musculoskeletal pain provided by

291.8 health practitioners identified in paragraph (b), and covered under medical assistance. Each
291.9 health practitioner represented under paragraph (b) shall present the minimum best integrated
291.10 practice recommendations, policies, and scientific evidence for nonpharmacologic treatment
291.11 options for eliminating pain and improving functional status within their full professional
291.12 scope. Recommendations for integration of services may include guidance regarding

291.13 screening for co-occurring behavioral health diagnoses; protocols for communication between
291.14 all providers treating a unique individual, including protocols for follow-up; and universal
291.15 mechanisms to assess improvements in functional status.

291.16 (b) In evaluating and making recommendations, the Health Services Policy Committee
291.17 shall consult and collaborate with the following health practitioners: acupuncture practitioners
291.18 licensed under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 147B; chiropractors licensed under Minnesota
291.19 Statutes, sections 148.01 to 148.10; physical therapists licensed under Minnesota Statutes,
291.20 sections 148.68 to 148.78; occupational therapists licensed under Minnesota Statutes, sections
291.21 148.6401 to 148.6449; medical and osteopathic physicians licensed under Minnesota Statutes,
291.22 chapter 147, and advanced practice registered nurses licensed under Minnesota Statutes,
291.23 sections 148.171 to 148.285, with experience in providing primary care collaboratively

291.24 within a multidisciplinary team of health care practitioners who employ nonpharmacologic
291.25 pain therapies; and psychologists licensed under Minnesota Statutes, section 148.907.

291.26 (c) The commissioner shall submit a progress report to the chairs and ranking minority
291.27 members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and human services
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291.28 policy and finance by January 15, 2020, and shall report final recommendations by August
291.29 1, 2020. The final report may also contain recommendations for developing and implementing
291.30 a pilot program to assess the clinical viability, sustainability, and effectiveness of integrated
291.31 nonpharmacologic, multidisciplinary treatments for managing musculoskeletal pain and
291.32 improving functional status.

ARTICLE 1:

68.7 Sec. 66. DIRECTIONS TO COMMISSIONER; NEMT DRIVER ENROLLMENT
68.8 IMPACT.

68.9 By August 1, 2021, the commissioner of human services shall issue a report to the chairs
68.10 and ranking minority members of the house of representatives and senate committees with
68.11 jurisdiction over health and human services. The commissioner must include in the report
68.12  the commissioner's findings regarding the impact of driver enrollment under Minnesota

68.13  Statutes, section 256B.0625, subdivision 17, paragraph (c), on the program integrity of the
68.14 nonemergency medical transportation program. The commissioner must include a

68.15 recommendation, based on the findings in the report, regarding expanding the driver

68.16  enrollment requirement.

69.1 Sec. 68. DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER; FEDERAL WAIVER FOR MEDICAL
69.2  ASSISTANCE SELF-ATTESTATION REMOVAL.

69.3 The commissioner of human services shall seek all necessary federal waivers to
69.4  implement the removal of the self-attestation when establishing eligibility for medical
69.5  assistance.

578.25  Sec. 51. REPEALER.

578.26 (a) Minnesota Statutes 2018, sections 256B.0625, subdivision 63; 256B.0659, subdivision
578.27 22; and 256L.11, subdivision 2a, are repealed.

578.28 (b) Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.79, subdivision 7, is repealed effective the
578.29 day following final enactment.

578.30 (c) Laws 2011, First Special Session chapter 9, article 6, section 97, subdivision 6, is
578.31 repealed effective the day following final enactment.

ARTICLE 8:
292.1 Sec. 27. REPEALER.
2922 Minnesota Statutes 2018, sections 16A.724, subdivision 2; and 256B.0625, subdivision
2923 3lc, are repealed.
292.4 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

PAGE R75-A8 REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE



