ARTICLE 10

UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE ADVISORY COUNCIL; POLICY

Subd. 12. Covered employment. (a) "Covered employment" means the following unless

(i) (1) 50 percent or more of the employment during the quarter is performed primarily

(ii) (2) 50 percent or more of the employment during the quarter is not performed

performed in Minnesota and the base of operations or the place from which the employment

primarily in Minnesota or any other state, or Canada, but some of the employment is

184.22 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.035, subdivision 12, is amended to read:

(1) an employee's entire employment during the calendar quarter if:

excluded as "noncovered employment" under subdivision 20:

is directed or controlled is in Minnesota: or

ARTICLE 1 UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE ADVISORY COUNCIL; POLICY Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.035, subdivision 12, is amended to read: 1.12 Subd. 12. Covered employment. (a) "Covered employment" means the following unless 1.13 excluded as "noncovered employment" under subdivision 20: 1.14 (1) an employee's entire employment during the calendar quarter if: 1.15 (i) (1) 50 percent or more of the employment during the quarter is performed primarily 1.16 in Minnesota: 1.17 (ii) (2) 50 percent or more of the employment during the quarter is not performed 1.18 primarily in Minnesota or any other state, or Canada, but some of the employment is 1.19 performed in Minnesota and the base of operations or the place from which the employment 1.20 is directed or controlled is in Minnesota: or 1.21 (iii) the employment during the quarter is not performed primarily in Minnesota or any 1.22 other state and the base of operations or place from which the employment is directed or 1.23 controlled is not in any state where part of the employment is performed, but the employee's 2.1 residence is in Minnesota during 50 percent or more of the calendar quarter; 2.2 (2) an employee's entire employment during the calendar quarter performed within the 2.3 2.4 United States or Canada, if: 2.5 (i) the employment is not covered employment under the unemployment insurance program of any other state, federal law, or the law of Canada; and 2.6 (ii) the place from which the employment is directed or controlled is in Minnesota; 2.7 (3) the employment during the calendar quarter, is performed entirely outside the United 2.8 States and Canada, by an employee who is a United States citizen in the employ of an 2.9 American employer, if the employer's principal place of business in the United States is 2.10 located in Minnesota. For the purposes of this clause, an "American employer," for the 2.11 purposes of this elause, means a corporation organized under the laws of any state, an 2.12 individual who is a resident of the United States, or a partnership if two thirds or more of 2.13 the partners are residents of the United States, or a trust, if all of the trustees are residents 2.14 of the United States is defined under the Federal Unemployment Tax Act, United States 2.15 Code title 26, chapter 23, section 3306, subsection (j)(3); and or 2.16

Senate Language S1547-1

- 2.17 (4) all the employment during the ealendar quarter is performed by an officer or member
- 2.18 of the crew of an American vessel on or in connection with the vessel, if the operating on
- 2.19 navigable waters within, or within and without, the United States, and the office from which
- 2.20 the operations of the vessel operating on navigable waters within, or within and without,
- 2.21 the United States are ordinarily and regularly supervised, managed, directed, and controlled
- 2.22 is in Minnesota.

185.1 (iii) the employment during the quarter is not performed primarily in Minnesota or any other state and the base of operations or place from which the employment is directed or controlled is not in any state where part of the employment is performed, but the employee's residence is in Minnesota during 50 percent or more of the calendar quarter;
185.5 (2) an employee's entire employment during the calendar quarter performed within the United States or Canada, if:
185.7 (i) the employment is not covered employment under the unemployment insurance

185.7 (1) the employment is not covered employment under the unemployment insurance 185.8 program of any other state, federal law, or the law of Canada; and

- 185.9 (ii) the place from which the employment is directed or controlled is in Minnesota;
- 185.10 (3) the employment during the calendar quarter, is performed entirely outside the United
- 185.11 States and Canada, by an employee who is a United States citizen in the employ of an
- 185.12 American employer, if the employer's principal place of business in the United States is
- 185.13 located in Minnesota. For the purposes of this clause, an "American employer," for the
- 185.14 purposes of this elause, means a corporation organized under the laws of any state, an
- 185.15 individual who is a resident of the United States, or a partnership if two-thirds or more of
- 185.16 the partners are residents of the United States, or a trust, if all of the trustees are residents
- 185.17 of the United States is defined under the Federal Unemployment Tax Act, United States
- 185.18 Code title 26, chapter 23, section 3306, subsection (j)(3); and or

184.20 184.21

184.23

184.24

184.25

184.26

184.28

184.29

184.30

184.31

184.27 in Minnesota:

- 185.19 (4) all the employment during the ealendar quarter is performed by an officer or member
- 185.20 of the crew of an American vessel on or in connection with the vessel, if the operating on
- 185.21 navigable waters within, or within and without, the United States, and the office from which
- 185.22 the operations of the vessel operating on navigable waters within, or within and without,
- 185.23 the United States are ordinarily and regularly supervised, managed, directed, and controlled 185.24 is in Minnesota.

185.25 (b) "Covered employment" includes covered agricultural employment under subdivision 185.26 11.

185.27 (c) For the purposes of section 268.095, "covered employment" includes employment 185.28 covered under an unemployment insurance program:

- 185.29 (1) of any other state; or
- 185.30 (2) established by an act of Congress.; or
- 185.31 (3) the law of Canada.
- 186.1(d) The percentage of employment performed under paragraph (a) is determined by the186.2amount of hours worked.
- (e) Covered employment does not include any employment defined as "noncovered
 employment" under subdivision 20.
- 186.5 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.035, subdivision 20, is amended to read:
- 186.6 Subd. 20. Noncovered employment. "Noncovered employment" means:
- 186.7 (1) employment for the United States government or an instrumentality thereof, including186.8 military service;
- 186.9 (2) employment for a state, other than Minnesota, or a political subdivision or 186.10 instrumentality thereof;
- 186.11 (3) employment for a foreign government;
- 186.12 (4) employment covered under the federal Railroad Unemployment Insurance Act;
- 186.13 (5) employment for a church or convention or association of churches, or a nonprofit
- 186.14 organization operated primarily for religious purposes that is operated, supervised, controlled,186.15 or principally supported by a church or convention or association of churches;

186.16 (6) employment for an elementary or secondary school with a curriculum that includes

186.17 religious education that is operated by a church, a convention or association of churches,

186.18 or a nonprofit organization that is operated, supervised, controlled, or principally supported186.19 by a church or convention or association of churches;

(7) employment for Minnesota or a political subdivision, or a nonprofit organization, ofa duly ordained or licensed minister of a church in the exercise of a ministry or by a memberof a religious order in the exercise of duties required by the order;

186.23 (8) employment for Minnesota or a political subdivision, or a nonprofit organization, of

- 186.24 an individual receiving rehabilitation of "sheltered" work in a facility conducted for the
- 186.25 purpose of carrying out a program of rehabilitation for individuals whose earning capacity
- 186.26 is impaired by age or physical or mental deficiency or injury or a program providing
- 186.27 "sheltered" work for individuals who because of an impaired physical or mental capacity

(b) "Covered employment" includes covered agricultural employment under subdivision 2.23 2.24 11. 2.25 (c) For the purposes of section 268.095, "covered employment" includes employment covered under an unemployment insurance program: 2.26 2.27 (1) of any other state; or (2) established by an act of Congress.; or 2.28 (3) the law of Canada. 2.29 (d) The percentage of employment performed under paragraph (a) is determined by the 2.30 amount of hours worked. 2.31 (e) Covered employment does not include any employment defined as "noncovered 3.1 3.2 employment" under subdivision 20. Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.035, subdivision 20, is amended to read: 3.3 Subd. 20. Noncovered employment. "Noncovered employment" means: 3.4 3.5 (1) employment for the United States government or an instrumentality thereof, including military service; 3.6 (2) employment for a state, other than Minnesota, or a political subdivision or 3.7 3.8 instrumentality thereof; (3) employment for a foreign government; 3.9 (4) employment covered under the federal Railroad Unemployment Insurance Act; 3.10 3.11 (5) employment for a church or convention or association of churches, or a nonprofit organization operated primarily for religious purposes that is operated, supervised, controlled, 3.12 or principally supported by a church or convention or association of churches; 3.13 3.14 (6) employment for an elementary or secondary school with a curriculum that includes religious education that is operated by a church, a convention or association of churches, 3.15 or a nonprofit organization that is operated, supervised, controlled, or principally supported 3.16 by a church or convention or association of churches: 3.17 (7) employment for Minnesota or a political subdivision, or a nonprofit organization, of 3.18 a duly ordained or licensed minister of a church in the exercise of a ministry or by a member 3.19 3.20 of a religious order in the exercise of duties required by the order; (8) employment for Minnesota or a political subdivision, or a nonprofit organization, of 3.21 an individual receiving rehabilitation of "sheltered" work in a facility conducted for the 3.22

Senate Language S1547-1

- 3.23 purpose of carrying out a program of rehabilitation for individuals whose earning capacity
- 3.24 is impaired by age or physical or mental deficiency or injury or a program providing
- 3.25 "sheltered" work for individuals who because of an impaired physical or mental capacity

186.28 cannot be readily absorbed in the competitive labor market. This clause applies only to

186.29 services performed in a facility certified by the Rehabilitation Services Branch of the

186.30 department or in a day training or habilitation program licensed by the Department of Human186.31 Services;

187.1 (9) employment for Minnesota or a political subdivision, or a nonprofit organization, of

187.2 an individual receiving work relief or work training as part of an unemployment work relief

187.3 or work training program financed in whole or in part by any federal agency or an agency

187.4 of a state or political subdivision thereof. This clause does not apply to programs that require

187.5 unemployment benefit coverage for the participants;

187.6 (10) employment for Minnesota or a political subdivision, as an elected official, a member187.7 of a legislative body, or a member of the judiciary;

187.8 (11) employment as a member of the Minnesota National Guard or Air National Guard;

187.9 (12) employment for Minnesota or a political subdivision, or instrumentality thereof, of187.10 an individual serving on a temporary basis in case of fire, flood, tornado, or similar187.11 emergency;

187.12 (13) employment as an election official or election worker for Minnesota or a political
187.13 subdivision, if the compensation for that employment was less than \$1,000 in a calendar
187.14 year;

187.15 (14) employment for Minnesota that is a major policy-making or advisory position in 187.16 the unclassified service;

187.17 (15) employment for Minnesota in an unclassified position established under section187.18 43A.08, subdivision 1a;

(16) employment for a political subdivision of Minnesota that is a nontenured majorpolicy making or advisory position;

(17) domestic employment in a private household, local college club, or local chapter
187.22 of a college fraternity or sorority, if the wages paid in any calendar quarter in either the
187.23 current or prior calendar year to all individuals in domestic employment totaled less than
187.24 \$1,000.

187.25 "Domestic employment" includes all service in the operation and maintenance of a
187.26 private household, for a local college club, or local chapter of a college fraternity or sorority
187.27 as distinguished from service as an employee in the pursuit of an employer's trade or business;

187.28 (18) employment of an individual by a son, daughter, or spouse, and employment of a 187.29 child under the age of 18 by the child's father or mother;

187.30 (19) employment of an inmate of a custodial or penal institution;

187.31 (20) employment for a school, college, or university, by a student who is enrolled and 187.32 whose primary relation to the school, college, or university is as a student. This does not 3.26 cannot be readily absorbed in the competitive labor market. This clause applies only to

3.27 services performed in a facility certified by the Rehabilitation Services Branch of the

3.28 department or in a day training or habilitation program licensed by the Department of Human3.29 Services;

3.30 (9) employment for Minnesota or a political subdivision, or a nonprofit organization, of

3.31 an individual receiving work relief or work training as part of an unemployment work relief

3.32 or work training program financed in whole or in part by any federal agency or an agency

4.1 of a state or political subdivision thereof. This clause does not apply to programs that require

4.2 unemployment benefit coverage for the participants;

4.3 (10) employment for Minnesota or a political subdivision, as an elected official, a member4.4 of a legislative body, or a member of the judiciary;

4.5 (11) employment as a member of the Minnesota National Guard or Air National Guard;

4.6 (12) employment for Minnesota or a political subdivision, or instrumentality thereof, of

4.7 an individual serving on a temporary basis in case of fire, flood, tornado, or similar

4.8 emergency;

4.9 (13) employment as an election official or election worker for Minnesota or a political

4.10 subdivision, if the compensation for that employment was less than \$1,000 in a calendar

4.11 year;

4.12 (14) employment for Minnesota that is a major policy-making or advisory position in4.13 the unclassified service;

4.14 (15) employment for Minnesota in an unclassified position established under section
 4.15 43A.08, subdivision 1a;

4.16 (16) employment for a political subdivision of Minnesota that is a nontenured major4.17 policy making or advisory position;

4.18 (17) domestic employment in a private household, local college club, or local chapter

4.19 of a college fraternity or sorority, if the wages paid in any calendar quarter in either the

4.20 current or prior calendar year to all individuals in domestic employment totaled less than

4.21 \$1,000.

4.22 "Domestic employment" includes all service in the operation and maintenance of a

4.23 private household, for a local college club, or local chapter of a college fraternity or sorority

4.24 as distinguished from service as an employee in the pursuit of an employer's trade or business;

4.25 (18) employment of an individual by a son, daughter, or spouse, and employment of a4.26 child under the age of 18 by the child's father or mother;

4.27 (19) employment of an inmate of a custodial or penal institution;

4.28 (20) employment for a school, college, or university, by a student who is enrolled and

4.29 whose primary relation to the school, college, or university is as a student. This does not

House Language H2208-3

188.1 include an individual whose primary relation to the school, college, or university is as an 188.2 employee who also takes courses;

- 188.3 (21) employment of an individual who is enrolled as a student in a full-time program at
- 188.4 a nonprofit or public educational institution that maintains a regular faculty and curriculum
- 188.5 and has a regularly organized body of students in attendance at the place where its educational
- 188.6 activities are carried on, taken for credit at the institution, that combines academic instruction
- 188.7 with work experience, if the employment is an integral part of the program, and the institution
- 188.8 has so certified to the employer, except that this clause does not apply to employment in a
- 188.9 program established for or on behalf of an employer or group of employers;

188.10 (22) employment of a foreign college or university student who works on a seasonal or

- 188.11 temporary basis under the J-1 visa summer work travel program described in Code of Federal
- 188.12 Regulations, title 22, section 62.32;

188.13(22)(23) employment of university, college, or professional school students in an188.14internship or other training program with the city of St. Paul or the city of Minneapolis188.15under Laws 1990, chapter 570, article 6, section 3;

188.16 (23)(24) employment for a hospital by a patient of the hospital. "Hospital" means an 188.17 institution that has been licensed by the Department of Health as a hospital;

188.18(24)(25) employment as a student nurse for a hospital or a nurses' training school by188.19an individual who is enrolled and is regularly attending classes in an accredited nurses'188.20training school;

188.21 (25)(26) employment as an intern for a hospital by an individual who has completed a 188.22 four-year course in an accredited medical school;

188.23 (26) (27) employment as an insurance salesperson, by other than a corporate officer, if 188.24 all the wages from the employment is solely by way of commission. The word "insurance" 188.25 includes an annuity and an optional annuity;

188.26 (27) (28) employment as an officer of a township mutual insurance company or farmer's mutual insurance company under chapter 67A;

188.28 (28) (29) employment of a corporate officer, if the officer directly or indirectly, including 188.29 through a subsidiary or holding company, owns 25 percent or more of the employer 188.30 corporation, and employment of a member of a limited liability company, if the member

188.31 directly or indirectly, including through a subsidiary or holding company, owns 25 percent 188.32 or more of the employer limited liability company;

189.1 (29) (30) employment as a real estate salesperson, other than a corporate officer, if all 189.2 the wages from the employment is solely by way of commission;

189.3 (30) (31) employment as a direct seller as defined in United States Code, title 26, section
 189.4 3508;

include an individual whose primary relation to the school, college, or university is as an 4.30 4.31 employee who also takes courses; (21) employment of an individual who is enrolled as a student in a full-time program at 5.1 a nonprofit or public educational institution that maintains a regular faculty and curriculum 5.2 and has a regularly organized body of students in attendance at the place where its educational 5.3 activities are carried on, taken for credit at the institution, that combines academic instruction 5.4 with work experience, if the employment is an integral part of the program, and the institution 5.5 has so certified to the employer, except that this clause does not apply to employment in a 5.6 program established for or on behalf of an employer or group of employers; 5.7 (22) employment of a foreign college or university student who works on a seasonal or 5.8 temporary basis under the J-1 visa summer work travel program described in Code of Federal 5.9 Regulations, title 22, section 62.32; 5.10 (22) (23) employment of university, college, or professional school students in an 5.11 internship or other training program with the city of St. Paul or the city of Minneapolis 5.12 under Laws 1990, chapter 570, article 6, section 3: 5.13 5.14 (23) (24) employment for a hospital by a patient of the hospital. "Hospital" means an institution that has been licensed by the Department of Health as a hospital; 5.15 (24) (25) employment as a student nurse for a hospital or a nurses' training school by 5.16 an individual who is enrolled and is regularly attending classes in an accredited nurses' 5.17 training school: 5.18 (25) (26) employment as an intern for a hospital by an individual who has completed a 5.19 four-year course in an accredited medical school; 5.20 (26) (27) employment as an insurance salesperson, by other than a corporate officer, if 5.21 all the wages from the employment is solely by way of commission. The word "insurance" 5.22 includes an annuity and an optional annuity: 5.23 (27) (28) employment as an officer of a township mutual insurance company or farmer's 5.24 mutual insurance company under chapter 67A; 5.25 (28) (29) employment of a corporate officer, if the officer directly or indirectly, including 5.26 through a subsidiary or holding company, owns 25 percent or more of the employer 5.27 corporation, and employment of a member of a limited liability company, if the member 5.28 5.29 directly or indirectly, including through a subsidiary or holding company, owns 25 percent or more of the employer limited liability company; 5.30 (29) (30) employment as a real estate salesperson, other than a corporate officer, if all 5.31 the wages from the employment is solely by way of commission; 5.32 (30) (31) employment as a direct seller as defined in United States Code, title 26, section 6.1

189.5 (31)(32) employment of an individual under the age of 18 in the delivery or distribution

- 189.6 of newspapers or shopping news, not including delivery or distribution to any point for
- 189.7 subsequent delivery or distribution;

189.8 (32)(33) casual employment performed for an individual, other than domestic

189.9 employment under clause (17), that does not promote or advance that employer's trade or189.10 business;

189.11 (33)(34) employment in "agricultural employment" unless it is "covered agricultural 189.12 employment" under subdivision 11; or

189.13 (34)(35) if employment during one-half or more of any pay period was covered 189.14 employment, all the employment for the pay period is covered employment; but if during

189.15 more than one-half of any pay period the employment was noncovered employment, then

189.16 all of the employment for the pay period is noncovered employment. "Pay period" means

189.17 a period of not more than a calendar month for which a payment or compensation is ordinarily

189.18 made to the employee by the employer.

189.19 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.051, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:

189.20 Subd. 2a. **Unemployment insurance tax <u>limits</u> <u>reduction</u>. (a) If the balance in the trust**

- 189.21 fund on December 31 of any calendar year is four percent or more above the amount equal
- 189.22 to an average high cost multiple of 1.0, future unemployment taxes payable must be reduced 189.23 by all amounts above 1.0. The amount of tax reduction for any taxpaying employer is the
- 189.23 by all amounts above 1.0. The amount of tax reduction for any taxpaying employer is the
- 189.24 same percentage of the total amount above 1.0 as the percentage of taxes paid by the 189.25 employer during the calendar year is of the total amount of taxes that were paid by all
- 189.26 nonmaximum experience rated employers during the vear except taxes paid by employers

189.27 assigned a tax rate equal to the maximum experience rating plus the applicable base tax
 189.28 rate.

189.29 (b) For purposes of this subdivision, "average high cost multiple" has the meaning given

- 189.30 in Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, section 606.3, as amended through December 31,
- 189.31 2015. An amount equal to an average high cost multiple of 1.0 is a federal measure of
- 189.32 adequate reserves in relation to the state's current economy. The commissioner must calculate
- 189.33 and publish, as soon as possible following December 31 of any calendar year, the trust fund
- 190.1 balance on December 31 along with the amount an average high cost multiple of 1.0 equals.
- 190.2 Actual wages paid must be used in the calculation and estimates may not be used.
- 190.3 (c) <u>The unemployment tax reduction under</u> this subdivision does not apply to employers
- 190.4 that were at assigned a tax rate equal to the maximum experience rating plus the applicable
- 190.5 <u>base tax rate</u> for the year, nor to high experience rating industry employers under subdivision
- 190.6 $\overline{5, \text{ paragraph } (b)}$. Computations under paragraph (a) are not subject to the rounding
- 190.7 requirement of section 268.034. The refund provisions of section 268.057, subdivision 7,

190.8 do not apply.

- 6.3 (31)(32) employment of an individual under the age of 18 in the delivery or distribution
- 6.4 of newspapers or shopping news, not including delivery or distribution to any point for
- 6.5 subsequent delivery or distribution;
- (32) (33) casual employment performed for an individual, other than domestic
- 6.7 employment under clause (17), that does not promote or advance that employer's trade or 6.8 business:
- 8 business;

6.9 (33) (34) employment in "agricultural employment" unless it is "covered agricultural
 6.10 employment" under subdivision 11; or

- 6.11 (34) (35) if employment during one-half or more of any pay period was covered
- 6.12 employment, all the employment for the pay period is covered employment; but if during
- 6.13 more than one-half of any pay period the employment was noncovered employment, then
- 6.14 all of the employment for the pay period is noncovered employment. "Pay period" means
- 6.15 a period of not more than a calendar month for which a payment or compensation is ordinarily
- 6.16 made to the employee by the employer.

6.17 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.051, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:

- 6.18 Subd. 2a. Unemployment insurance tax limits reduction. (a) If the balance in the trust
- 6.19 fund on December 31 of any calendar year is four percent or more above the amount equal
- 6.20 to an average high cost multiple of 1.0, future unemployment taxes payable must be reduced
- 6.21 by all amounts above 1.0. The amount of tax reduction for any taxpaying employer is the
- 6.22 same percentage of the total amount above 1.0 as the percentage of taxes paid by the
- 6.23 employer during the calendar year is of the total amount of taxes that were paid by all
- 6.24 nonmaximum experience rated employers during the year except taxes paid by employers
- 6.25 assigned a tax rate equal to the maximum experience rating plus the applicable base tax

6.26 <u>rate</u>.

- 6.27 (b) For purposes of this subdivision, "average high cost multiple" has the meaning given
- 6.28 in Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, section 606.3, as amended through December 31,
- 6.29 2015. An amount equal to an average high cost multiple of 1.0 is a federal measure of
- 6.30 adequate reserves in relation to the state's current economy. The commissioner must calculate
- 6.31 and publish, as soon as possible following December 31 of any calendar year, the trust fund
- 6.32 balance on December 31 along with the amount an average high cost multiple of 1.0 equals.
- 6.33 Actual wages paid must be used in the calculation and estimates may not be used.
- 7.1 (c) <u>The unemployment tax reduction under</u> this subdivision does not apply to employers
- 7.2 that were at assigned a tax rate equal to the maximum experience rating plus the applicable
- 7.3 base tax rate for the year, nor to high experience rating industry employers under subdivision
- 7.4 5, paragraph (b). Computations under paragraph (a) are not subject to the rounding
- 7.5 requirement of section 268.034. The refund provisions of section 268.057, subdivision 7,
- 7.6 do not apply.

- 190.9 (d) The unemployment tax reduction under this subdivision applies to taxes paid between
- 190.10 March 1 and December 15 of the year following the December 31 computation under
- 190.11 paragraph (a).
- 190.12 (e) The amount equal to the average high cost multiple of 1.0 on December 31, 2012,
- 190.13 must be used for the calculation under paragraph (a) but only for the calculation made on
- 190.14 December 31, 2015. Notwithstanding paragraph (d), the tax reduction resulting from the
- 190.15 application of this paragraph applies to unemployment taxes paid between July 1, 2016,
- 190.16 and June 30, 2017. If there was an experience rating history transfer under subdivision 4
- 190.17 the successor employer must receive that portion of the predecessor employer's tax reduction
- 190.18 equal to that portion of the experience rating history transferred. The predecessor employer
- 190.19 retains that portion of tax reduction not transferred to the successor. This paragraph applies 190.20 to that portion of the tax reduction that remains unused at the time of notice of acquisition
- 190.20 to that portion of the tax reduction that remains unused at the time of 190.21 is provided under subdivision 4, paragraph (e).
- 190.22 Sec. 4. EFFECTIVE DATE.
- 190.23 Unless otherwise specified, this article is effective October 1, 2020.
- 190.24

ARTICLE 11

190.25 UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE ADVISORY COUNCIL; INTEREST

190.26 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.057, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. **Interest on amounts past due.** If any amounts due from an employer under this chapter or section 116L.20, except late fees under section 268.044, are not received on the date due the unpaid balance bears the commissioner must assess interest on any amount that remains unpaid. Interest is assessed at the rate of one percent per month or any part of

190.31 a month. Interest is not assessed on unpaid interest. Interest collected under this subdivision 190.32 is credited to the contingent account.

- 191.1 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective October 1, 2020.
- 191.2 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.18, subdivision 2b, is amended to read:
- 191.3 Subd. 2b. Interest. On any unemployment benefits obtained by misrepresentation, and
- 191.4 any penalty amounts assessed under subdivision 2, the commissioner must assess interest
- 191.5 at the rate of one percent per month on any amount that remains unpaid beginning 30 calendar
- 191.6 days after the date of a determination of overpayment penalty. Interest is assessed at the
- 191.7 rate of one percent per month or any part of a month. A determination of overpayment
- 191.8 penalty must state that interest will be assessed. Interest is <u>not</u> assessed in the same manner
- 191.9 as on employer debt under section 268.057, subdivision 5 on unpaid interest. Interest
- 191.10 payments collected under this subdivision are is credited to the trust fund.
- 191.11 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective October 1, 2020.

7.7	(d) The unemployment tax reduction under this subdivision applies to taxes paid between
7.8	March 1 and December 15 of the year following the December 31 computation under
7.9	paragraph (a).
7.10	(e) The amount equal to the average high cost multiple of 1.0 on December 31, 2012,
7.11	must be used for the calculation under paragraph (a) but only for the calculation made on
7.12	December 31, 2015. Notwithstanding paragraph (d), the tax reduction resulting from the
7.13	application of this paragraph applies to unemployment taxes paid between July 1, 2016,
7.14	and June 30, 2017. If there was an experience rating history transfer under subdivision 4,
7.15	the successor employer must receive that portion of the predecessor employer's tax reduction
7.16	equal to that portion of the experience rating history transferred. The predecessor employer
7.17	retains that portion of tax reduction not transferred to the successor. This paragraph applies
7.18	to that portion of the tax reduction that remains unused at the time of notice of acquisition
7.19	is provided under subdivision 4, paragraph (e).
7.20	Sec. 4. EFFECTIVE DATE.
7.21	Unless otherwise specified, this article is effective October 1, 2020.
7.22	ARTICLE 2
7.23	UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE ADVISORY COUNCIL; INTEREST
7.24	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.057, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
7.25	Subd. 5. Interest on amounts past due. If any amounts due from an employer under
7.26	this chapter or section 116L.20, except late fees under section 268.044, are not received on
7.27	the date due the unpaid balance bears the commissioner must assess interest on any amount
7.28	that remains unpaid. Interest is assessed at the rate of one percent per month or any part of
7.29	a month. Interest is not assessed on unpaid interest. Interest collected under this subdivision
7.30	is credited to the contingent account.
7.31	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2020.
8.1	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.18, subdivision 2b, is amended to read:
8.2	Subd. 2b. Interest. On any unemployment benefits obtained by misrepresentation, and
8.3	any penalty amounts assessed under subdivision 2, the commissioner must assess interest
8.4	at the rate of one percent per month on any amount that remains unpaid beginning 30 calendar
8.5	days after the date of a determination of overpayment penalty. Interest is assessed at the
8.6	rate of one percent per month or any part of a month. A determination of overpayment
8.7	penalty must state that interest will be assessed. Interest is not assessed in the same manner
8.8	as on employer debt under section 268.057, subdivision 5 on unpaid interest. Interest
8.9	payments collected under this subdivision are is credited to the trust fund.

8.10 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective October 1, 2020.

House Language H2208-3

191.12 **ARTICLE 12 UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE ADVISORY COUNCIL; BASE PERIODS** 191.13 191.14 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.035, subdivision 4, is amended to read: Subd. 4. Base period. (a) "Base period," unless otherwise provided in this subdivision, 191.15 191.16 means the most recent four completed calendar quarters before the effective date of an 191.17 applicant's application for unemployment benefits if the application has an effective date 191.18 occurring after the month following the most recent completed calendar quarter. The base 191.19 period under this paragraph is as follows: If the application for unemployment The base period is the prior: 191.20 benefits is effective on or between these 191.21 191.22 dates: February 1 - March 31 January 1 - December 31 191.23 May 1 - June 30 April 1 - March 31 191.24 191.25 August 1 - September 30 July 1 - June 30 191.26 November 1 - December 31 October 1 - September 30 (b) If an application for unemployment benefits has an effective date that is during the 191.27 191.28 month following the most recent completed calendar quarter, then the base period is the 191.29 first four of the most recent five completed calendar quarters before the effective date of 191.30 an applicant's application for unemployment benefits. The base period under this paragraph 191.31 is as follows: If the application for unemployment The base period is the prior: 192.1 192.2 benefits is effective on or between these 192.3 dates: January 1 - January 31 October 1 - September 30 192.4 April 1 - April 30 January 1 - December 31 192.5 192.6 July 1 - July 31 April 1 - March 31 192.7 October 1 - October 31 July 1 - June 30

(c) Regardless of paragraph (a), a base period of the first four of the most recent five 192.8 192.9 completed calendar quarters must be used if the applicant would have more wage credits 192.10 under that base period than under a base period of the four most recent completed calendar 192.11 quarters.

8.11	ARTICLE 3							
8.12	UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE ADVISORY COUNCIL; BASE PERIODS							
8.13	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.035, subdivision 4, is amended to read:							
8.14 8.15 8.16 8.17 8.18	Subd. 4. Base period. (a) "Base period," unless otherwise provided in this subdivision, means the most recent four completed calendar quarters before the effective date of an applicant's application for unemployment benefits if the application has an effective date occurring after the month following the most recent completed calendar quarter. The base period under this paragraph is as follows:							
8.19 8.20 8.21	If the application for unemployment benefits is effective on or between these dates:	The base period is the prior:						
8.22	February 1 - March 31	January 1 - December 31						
8.23	May 1 - June 30	April 1 - March 31						
8.24	August 1 - September 30	July 1 - June 30						
8.25	November 1 - December 31	October 1 - September 30						
8.26 8.27 8.28 8.29 8.30	(b) If an application for unemployment benefits has an effective date that is during the month following the most recent completed calendar quarter, then the base period is the first four of the most recent five completed calendar quarters before the effective date of an application for unemployment benefits. The base period under this paragraph is as follows:							
8.31 8.32 8.33	If the application for unemployment benefits is effective on or between these dates:	The base period is the prior:						
8.34	January 1 - January 31	October 1 - September 30						
8.35	April 1 - April 30	January 1 - December 31						
9.1	July 1 - July 31	April 1 - March 31						
9.2	October 1 - October 31	July 1 - June 30						
9.3 9.4	(c) Regardless of paragraph (a), a base period of the completed calendar quarters must be used if the application							

Senate Language S1547-1

9 9.4 completed calendar quarters must be used if the applicant would have more wage credits under that base period than under a base period of the four most recent completed calendar 9.5 9.6 quarters.

House Language H2208-3

Senate Language S1547-1

192.12 (d) If the applicant under paragraph (b) has insufficient wage credits to establish a benefit

192.13 account, then a base period of the most recent four completed calendar quarters before the

192.14 effective date of the applicant's application for unemployment benefits must be used.

(e) (d) If the applicant has insufficient wage credits to establish a benefit account under192.16a base period of the four most recent completed calendar quarters, or a base period of the192.17first four of the most recent five completed calendar quarters, but during either base period192.18the applicant received workers' compensation for temporary disability under chapter 176

- 192.19 or a similar federal law or similar law of another state, or if the applicant whose own serious
- 192.20 illness caused a loss of work for which the applicant received compensation for loss of
- 192.20 miless caused a loss of work for which the applicant received compensation for loss 192.21 wages from some other source, the applicant may request a base period as follows:
- 192.22 (1) if an applicant was compensated for a loss of work of seven to 13 weeks, during a
- 192.23 base period referred to in paragraph (a) or (b), then the base period is the first four of the
- 192.24 most recent six completed calendar quarters before the effective date of the application for 192.25 unemployment benefits;

192.26 (2) if an applicant was compensated for a loss of work of 14 to 26 weeks, during a base

- 192.27 period referred to in paragraph (a) or (b), then the base period is the first four of the most
- 192.28 recent seven completed calendar quarters before the effective date of the application for 192.29 unemployment benefits;

192.30 (3) if an applicant was compensated for a loss of work of 27 to 39 weeks, during a base

- 192.31 period referred to in paragraph (a) or (b), then the base period is the first four of the most
- 192.32 recent eight completed calendar quarters before the effective date of the application for 192.33 unemployment benefits; and
- 192.34 (4) if an applicant was compensated for a loss of work of 40 to 52 weeks, during a base
- 192.35 period referred to in paragraph (a) or (b), then the base period is the first four of the most
- 193.1 recent nine completed calendar quarters before the effective date of the application for 193.2 unemployment benefits.
- 193.3 (f) (e) No base period under this subdivision may include wage credits upon which a 193.4 prior benefit account was established.
- 193.5 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.07, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- 193.6 Subdivision 1. Application for unemployment benefits; determination of benefit
- 193.7 **account.** (a) An application for unemployment benefits may be filed in person, by mail, or
- 193.8 by electronic transmission as the commissioner may require. The applicant must be
- 193.9 unemployed at the time the application is filed and must provide all requested information
- 193.10 in the manner required. If the applicant is not unemployed at the time of the application or
- 193.11 fails to provide all requested information, the communication is not an application for
- 193.12 unemployment benefits.
- 193.13 (b) The commissioner must examine each application for unemployment benefits to
- 193.14 determine the base period and the benefit year, and based upon all the covered employment

- 9.7 (d) If the applicant under paragraph (b) has insufficient wage credits to establish a benefit 9.8 account, then a base period of the most recent four completed calendar quarters before the effective date of the applicant's application for unemployment benefits must be used. 9.9 (e) (d) If the applicant has insufficient wage credits to establish a benefit account under 9.10 a base period of the four most recent completed calendar quarters, or a base period of the 9.11 first four of the most recent five completed calendar quarters, but during either base period 9.12 the applicant received workers' compensation for temporary disability under chapter 176 9.13 or a similar federal law or similar law of another state, or if the applicant whose own serious 9.14 illness caused a loss of work for which the applicant received compensation for loss of 9.15 wages from some other source, the applicant may request a base period as follows: 9.16 (1) if an applicant was compensated for a loss of work of seven to 13 weeks, during a 9.17 base period referred to in paragraph (a) or (b), then the base period is the first four of the 9.18 most recent six completed calendar quarters before the effective date of the application for 9.19 unemployment benefits; 9.20 (2) if an applicant was compensated for a loss of work of 14 to 26 weeks; during a base 9.21 9.22 period referred to in paragraph (a) or (b), then the base period is the first four of the most recent seven completed calendar quarters before the effective date of the application for 9.23 9.24 unemployment benefits; (3) if an applicant was compensated for a loss of work of 27 to 39 weeks, during a base 9.25 period referred to in paragraph (a) or (b), then the base period is the first four of the most 9.26 recent eight completed calendar quarters before the effective date of the application for 9.27 unemployment benefits; and 9.28 (4) if an applicant was compensated for a loss of work of 40 to 52 weeks- during a base 9.29 period referred to in paragraph (a) or (b), then the base period is the first four of the most 9.30 9.31 recent nine completed calendar quarters before the effective date of the application for 9.32 unemployment benefits. (f) (e) No base period under this subdivision may include wage credits upon which a 10.1 prior benefit account was established. 10.2 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.07, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 10.3 10.4 Subdivision 1. Application for unemployment benefits; determination of benefit account. (a) An application for unemployment benefits may be filed in person, by mail, or 10.5 by electronic transmission as the commissioner may require. The applicant must be 10.6 unemployed at the time the application is filed and must provide all requested information 10.7 in the manner required. If the applicant is not unemployed at the time of the application or 10.8 fails to provide all requested information, the communication is not an application for 10.9 unemployment benefits. 10.10 (b) The commissioner must examine each application for unemployment benefits to 10.11
 - 10.12 determine the base period and the benefit year, and based upon all the covered employment

House Language H2208-3

- 193.15 in the base period the commissioner must determine the weekly unemployment benefit
- 193.16 amount available, if any, and the maximum amount of unemployment benefits available, 193.17 if any. The determination, which is a document separate and distinct from a document titled
- 193.18 a determination of eligibility or determination of ineligibility issued under section 268.101,
- 193.19 must be titled determination of benefit account. A determination of benefit account must
- 193.20 be sent to the applicant and all base period employers, by mail or electronic transmission.
- 193.21 (c) If a base period employer did not provide wage detail information for the applicant 193.22 as required under section 268.044, or provided erroneous information, or wage detail is not
- 193.23 yet due and the applicant is using a base period under section 268.035, subdivision 4,
- 193.24 paragraph (d), the commissioner may accept an applicant certification of wage credits, based 193.25 upon the applicant's records, and issue a determination of benefit account.
- (d) An employer must provide wage detail information on an applicant within five 193.26 calendar days of request by the commissioner, in a manner and format requested, when: 193.27
- (1) the applicant is using a base period under section 268.035, subdivision 4, paragraph 193.28 193.29 (d); and
- (2) wage detail under section 268.044 is not yet required to have been filed by the 193.30 193.31 employer.
- (e) (d) The commissioner may, at any time within 24 months from the establishment of 193.32
- a benefit account, reconsider any determination of benefit account and make an amended 193.33
- determination if the commissioner finds that the wage credits listed in the determination 194.1
- were incorrect for any reason. An amended determination of benefit account must be 194.2
- promptly sent to the applicant and all base period employers, by mail or electronic 194.3
- transmission. This subdivision does not apply to documents titled determinations of eligibility 194.4
- or determinations of ineligibility issued under section 268.101. 194.5
- 194.6 (f) (e) If an amended determination of benefit account reduces the weekly unemployment
- benefit amount or maximum amount of unemployment benefits available, any unemployment 194.7
- benefits that have been paid greater than the applicant was entitled is an overpayment of 194.8
- unemployment benefits. A determination or amended determination issued under this section 194.9
- that results in an overpayment of unemployment benefits must set out the amount of the 194.10 194.11 overpayment and the requirement under section 268.18, subdivision 1, that the overpaid
- 194.12 unemployment benefits must be repaid.

194.13 Sec. 3. EFFECTIVE DATE.

194.15

194.14 Unless otherwise specified, this article is effective January 1, 2020.

ARTICLE 13

194.16 **UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE ADVISORY COUNCIL; HOUSEKEEPING**

194.17 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.035, subdivision 15, is amended to read:

- 10.13 in the base period the commissioner must determine the weekly unemployment benefit
- amount available, if any, and the maximum amount of unemployment benefits available, 10.14 if any. The determination, which is a document separate and distinct from a document titled
- 10.15 a determination of eligibility or determination of ineligibility issued under section 268.101,
- 10.16
- must be titled determination of benefit account. A determination of benefit account must 10.17
- be sent to the applicant and all base period employers, by mail or electronic transmission. 10.18
- 10.19 (c) If a base period employer did not provide wage detail information for the applicant
- as required under section 268.044, or provided erroneous information, or wage detail is not 10.20
- vet due and the applicant is using a base period under section 268.035, subdivision 4, 10.21
- paragraph (d), the commissioner may accept an applicant certification of wage credits, based 10.22
- 10.23 upon the applicant's records, and issue a determination of benefit account.
- (d) An employer must provide wage detail information on an applicant within five 10.24
- 10.25 calendar days of request by the commissioner, in a manner and format requested, when:
- (1) the applicant is using a base period under section 268.035, subdivision 4, paragraph 10.26 10.27 (d); and
- (2) wage detail under section 268.044 is not yet required to have been filed by the 10.28 emplover. 10.29
- (e) (d) The commissioner may, at any time within 24 months from the establishment of 10.30
- a benefit account, reconsider any determination of benefit account and make an amended 10.31
- determination if the commissioner finds that the wage credits listed in the determination 10.32
- were incorrect for any reason. An amended determination of benefit account must be 10.33
- promptly sent to the applicant and all base period employers, by mail or electronic 11.1
- transmission. This subdivision does not apply to documents titled determinations of eligibility 11.2
- or determinations of ineligibility issued under section 268.101. 11.3
- (f) (e) If an amended determination of benefit account reduces the weekly unemployment 11.4
- benefit amount or maximum amount of unemployment benefits available, any unemployment 11.5
- benefits that have been paid greater than the applicant was entitled is an overpayment of 11.6
- unemployment benefits. A determination or amended determination issued under this section 11.7
- that results in an overpayment of unemployment benefits must set out the amount of the 11.8
- overpayment and the requirement under section 268.18, subdivision 1, that the overpaid 11.9
- unemployment benefits must be repaid. 11.10

Sec. 3. EFFECTIVE DATE. 11.11

11.13

11.12 Unless otherwise specified, this article is effective January 1, 2020.

ARTICLE 4

11.14 **UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE ADVISORY COUNCIL; HOUSEKEEPING**

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.035, subdivision 15, is amended to read: 11.15

Senate Language S1547-1

12.20 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.047, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 15. Employment. (a) "Employment" means service performed by: 194.18 11.16 Subd. 15. Employment. (a) "Employment" means service performed by: (1) an individual who is an employee under the common law of employer-employee and (1) an individual who is an employee under the common law of employer-employee and 194.19 11.17 194.20 not an independent contractor; 11.18 not an independent contractor; (2) an officer of a corporation; (2) an officer of a corporation; 194.21 11.19 (3) a member of a limited liability company who is an employee under the common law (3) a member of a limited liability company who is an employee under the common law 194.22 11.20 194.23 of employer-employee; or of employer-employee; or 11.21 (4) an individual who is an employee under the Federal Insurance Contributions Act, (4) an individual who is an employee under the Federal Insurance Contributions Act, 194.24 11.22 194.25 United States Code, title 26, chapter 21, sections 3121 (d)(3)(A) and 3121 (d)(3)(D); or United States Code, title 26, chapter 21, sections 3121 (d)(3)(A) and 3121 (d)(3)(D); or 11.23 (4) (5) product demonstrators in retail stores or other locations to aid in the sale of (4) (5) product demonstrators in retail stores or other locations to aid in the sale of 194.26 11.24 products. The person that pays the wages is the employer. products. The person that pays the wages is the employer. 194.27 11.25 194.28 (b) Employment does not include service as a juror. 11.26 (b) Employment does not include service as a juror. (c) Construction industry employment is defined in subdivision 9a. Trucking and (c) Construction industry employment is defined in subdivision 9a. Trucking and 194.29 11.27 194.30 messenger/courier industry employment is defined in subdivision 25b. Rules on determining messenger/courier industry employment is defined in subdivision 25b. Rules on determining 11.28 worker employment status are described under Minnesota Rules, chapter 3315. worker employment status are described under Minnesota Rules, chapter 3315. 194.31 11.29 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.044, subdivision 2, is amended to read: Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.044, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 195.1 12.1 195.2 Subd. 2. Failure to timely file report; late fees. (a) Any employer that fails to submit 12.2 Subd. 2. Failure to timely file report; late fees. (a) Any employer that fails to submit the quarterly wage detail report when due must pay a late fee of \$10 per employee, computed the quarterly wage detail report when due must pay a late fee of \$10 per employee, computed 195.3 12.3 based upon the highest of: based upon the highest of: 195.4 12.4 (1) the number of employees reported on the last wage detail report submitted; (1) the number of employees reported on the last wage detail report submitted; 195.5 12.5 (2) the number of employees reported in the corresponding quarter of the prior calendar (2) the number of employees reported in the corresponding quarter of the prior calendar 195.6 12.6 195.7 year; or 12.7 year; or 195.8 (3) if no wage detail report has ever been submitted, the number of employees listed at 12.8 (3) if no wage detail report has ever been submitted, the number of employees listed at the time of employer registration. the time of employer registration. 195.9 12.9 195.10 The late fee is canceled if the wage detail report is received within 30 calendar days 12.10 The late fee is canceled if the wage detail report is received within 30 calendar days after a demand for the report is sent to the employer by mail or electronic transmission. A after a demand for the report is sent to the employer by mail or electronic transmission. A 195.11 12.11 195.12 late fee assessed an employer may not be canceled more than twice each 12 months. The late fee assessed an employer may not be canceled more than twice each 12 months. The 12.12 195.13 amount of the late fee assessed may not be less than \$250. amount of the late fee assessed may not be less than \$250. 12.13 (b) If the wage detail report is not received in a manner and format prescribed by the (b) If the wage detail report is not received in a manner and format prescribed by the 195.14 12.14 195.15 commissioner within 30 calendar days after demand is sent under paragraph (a), the late commissioner within 30 calendar days after demand is sent under paragraph (a), the late 12.15 195.16 fee assessed under paragraph (a) doubles and a renewed demand notice and notice of the fee assessed under paragraph (a) doubles and a renewed demand notice and notice of the 12.16 195.17 increased late fee will be sent to the employer by mail or electronic transmission. 12.17 increased late fee will be sent to the employer by mail or electronic transmission. (c) Late fees due under this subdivision may be canceled, in whole or in part, under (c) Late fees due under this subdivision may be canceled, in whole or in part, under 195.18 12.18 195.19 section 268.066 where good cause for late submission is found by the commissioner 268.067. section 268.066 where good cause for late submission is found by the commissioner 268.067. 12.19

195.20 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.047, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

House Language H2208-3

195.21 Subd. 3. Exceptions for taxpaying employers. Unemployment benefits paid will not 12.21 Subd. 3. Exceptions for taxpaying employers. Unemployment benefits paid will not 195.22 be used in computing the future tax rate of a taxpaying base period employer when: 12.22 be used in computing the future tax rate of a taxpaying base period employer when: 195.23 (1) the applicant's wage credits from that employer are less than \$500; (1) the applicant's wage credits from that employer are less than \$500; 12.23 (2) the applicant quit the employment, unless it was determined under section 268.095, (2) the applicant quit the employment, unless it was determined under section 268.095, 195.24 12.24 195.25 to have been because of a good reason caused by the employer or because the employer 12.25 to have been because of a good reason caused by the employer or because the employer notified the applicant of discharge within 30 calendar days. This exception applies only to 195.26 notified the applicant of discharge within 30 calendar days. This exception applies only to 12.26 195.27 unemployment benefits paid for periods after the applicant's quitting the employment and, unemployment benefits paid for periods after the applicant's quitting the employment and, 12.27 if the applicant is rehired by the employer, continues only until the beginning of the week if the applicant is rehired by the employer, continues only until the beginning of the week 195.28 12.28 195.29 the applicant is rehired; or 12.29 the applicant is rehired; or (3) the employer discharged the applicant from employment because of employment (3) the employer discharged the applicant from employment because of employment 195.30 12.30 misconduct as determined under section 268.095. This exception applies only to misconduct as determined under section 268.095. This exception applies only to 195.31 12.31 195.32 unemployment benefits paid for periods after the applicant's discharge from employment 12.32 unemployment benefits paid for periods after the applicant's discharge from employment and, if the applicant is rehired by the employer, continues only until the beginning of the and, if the applicant is rehired by the employer, continues only until the beginning of the 196.1 13.1 196.2 week the applicant is rehired. 13.2 week the applicant is rehired. Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268,085, subdivision 3, is amended to read: Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268,085, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 196.3 13.3 Subd. 3. Vacation and sick payments that delay unemployment benefits. (a) An Subd. 3. Vacation and sick payments that delay unemployment benefits. (a) An 196.4 13.4 196.5 applicant is not eligible to receive unemployment benefits for any week the applicant is applicant is not eligible to receive unemployment benefits for any week the applicant is 13.5 receiving, has received, or will receive vacation pay, sick pay, or personal time off pay, also receiving, has received, or will receive vacation pay, sick pay, or personal time off pay, also 196.6 13.6 196.7 known as "PTO." 13.7 known as "PTO." This paragraph only applies upon temporary, indefinite, or seasonal separation and does This paragraph only applies upon temporary, indefinite, or seasonal separation and does 196.8 13.8 not apply: not apply: 196.9 13.9 196.10 (1) upon a permanent separation from employment; or 13.10 (1) upon a permanent separation from employment; or (2) to payments from a vacation fund administered by a union or a third party not under (2) to payments from a vacation fund administered by a union or a third party not under 196.11 13.11 196.12 the control of the employer. 13.12 the control of the employer. Payments under this paragraph are applied to the period immediately following the Payments under this paragraph are applied to the period immediately following the 196.13 13.13 temporary, indefinite, or seasonal separation. temporary, indefinite, or seasonal separation. 196.14 13.14 (b) An applicant is not eligible to receive unemployment benefits for any week the (b) An applicant is not eligible to receive unemployment benefits for any week the 196.15 13.15 196.16 applicant is receiving, has received, or will receive severance pay, bonus pay, or any other 13.16 applicant is receiving, has received, or will receive severance pay, bonus pay, or any other payments paid by an employer because of, upon, or after separation from employment. 13.17 payments paid by an employer because of, upon, or after separation from employment. 196.17 This paragraph only applies if the payment is: This paragraph only applies if the payment is: 196.18 13.18 (1) considered wages under section 268.035, subdivision 29; or (1) considered wages under section 268.035, subdivision 29; or 196.19 13.19 (2) subject to the Federal Insurance Contributions Act (FICA) tax imposed to fund Social (2) subject to the Federal Insurance Contributions Act (FICA) tax imposed to fund Social 196.20 13.20 196.21 Security and Medicare. 13.21 Security and Medicare. (b) Payments under this paragraph subdivision are applied to the period immediately (b) Payments under this paragraph subdivision are applied to the period immediately 196.22 13.22 196.23 following the later of the date of separation from employment or the date the applicant first 13.23 following the later of the date of separation from employment or the date the applicant first

- 196.24 becomes aware that the employer will be making a payment. The date the payment is actually
- 196.25 made or received, or that an applicant must agree to a release of claims, does not affect the
- 196.26 application of this paragraph subdivision.
- 196.27 This paragraph does not apply to earnings under subdivision 5, back pay under
- 196.28 subdivision 6, or vacation pay, sick pay, or personal time off pay under paragraph (a).
- 196.29 (c) An applicant is not eligible to receive unemployment benefits for any week the
- 196.30 applicant is receiving, has received, will receive, or has applied for pension, retirement, or
- 196.31 annuity payments from any plan contributed to by a base period employer including the
- 197.1 United States government. The base period employer is considered to have contributed to 197.2 the plan if the contribution is excluded from the definition of wages under section 268.035.
- 197.2 the plan if the contribution is excluded from the definition of wages under section 268.035
 197.3 subdivision 29. If the pension, retirement, or annuity payment is paid in a lump sum, an
- 197.5 subdivision 25. If the pension, retrement, or annuty payment is part 197.4 applicant is not considered to have received a payment if:
- 197.5 (1) the applicant immediately deposits that payment in a qualified pension plan or 197.6 account; or
- 197.7 (2) that payment is an early distribution for which the applicant paid an early distribution
- 197.8 penalty under the Internal Revenue Code, United States Code, title 26, section 72(t)(1).
- 197.9 This paragraph does not apply to Social Security benefits under subdivision 4 or 4a.
- 197.10 (d) (c) This subdivision applies to all the weeks of payment. The number of weeks of 197.11 payment is determined as follows:
- 197.12 (1) if the payments are made periodically, the total of the payments to be received is 197.13 divided by the applicant's last level of regular weekly pay from the employer; or
- 197.14 (2) if the payment is made in a lump sum, that sum is divided by the applicant's last level 197.15 of regular weekly pay from the employer.
- 197.16 For purposes of this paragraph, The "last level of regular weekly pay" includes 197.17 commissions, bonuses, and overtime pay if that is part of the applicant's ongoing regular 197.18 compensation.
- 197.19 (e) (d) Under this subdivision, if the payment with respect to a week is equal to or more
- 197.20 than the applicant's weekly unemployment benefit amount, the applicant is ineligible for
- 197.21 benefits for that week. If the payment with respect to a week is less than the applicant's
- 197.22 weekly unemployment benefit amount, unemployment benefits are reduced by the amount197.23 of the payment.
- 197.24 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.085, subdivision 3a, is amended to read:
- 197.25 Subd. 3a. Workers' compensation and disability insurance offset. (a) An applicant
- 197.26 is not eligible to receive unemployment benefits for any week in which the applicant is
- 197.27 receiving or has received compensation for loss of wages equal to or in excess of the
- 197.28 applicant's weekly unemployment benefit amount under:

- 13.24 becomes aware that the employer will be making a payment. The date the payment is actually made or received, or that an applicant must agree to a release of claims, does not affect the 13.25 application of this paragraph subdivision. 13.26 This paragraph does not apply to earnings under subdivision 5, back pay under 13.27 subdivision 6, or vacation pay, sick pay, or personal time off pay under paragraph (a). 13.28 (e) An applicant is not eligible to receive unemployment benefits for any week the 13.29 applicant is receiving, has received, will receive, or has applied for pension, retirement, or 13.30 annuity payments from any plan contributed to by a base period employer including the 13.31 United States government. The base period employer is considered to have contributed to 14.1 the plan if the contribution is excluded from the definition of wages under section 268.035. 14.2 subdivision 29. If the pension, retirement, or annuity payment is paid in a lump sum, an 14.3 applicant is not considered to have received a payment if: 14.4 (1) the applicant immediately deposits that payment in a qualified pension plan or 14.5 14.6 account; or (2) that payment is an early distribution for which the applicant paid an early distribution 14.7 penalty under the Internal Revenue Code. United States Code. title 26. section 72(t)(1). 14.8 This paragraph does not apply to Social Security benefits under subdivision 4 or 4a. 14.9 (d) (c) This subdivision applies to all the weeks of payment. The number of weeks of 14.10 14.11 payment is determined as follows: (1) if the payments are made periodically, the total of the payments to be received is 14.12 divided by the applicant's last level of regular weekly pay from the employer; or 14.13 (2) if the payment is made in a lump sum, that sum is divided by the applicant's last level 14.14 14.15 of regular weekly pay from the employer. For purposes of this paragraph, The "last level of regular weekly pay" includes 14.16 commissions, bonuses, and overtime pay if that is part of the applicant's ongoing regular 14.17 14.18 compensation. (e) (d) Under this subdivision, if the payment with respect to a week is equal to or more 14.19 than the applicant's weekly unemployment benefit amount, the applicant is ineligible for 14.20 benefits for that week. If the payment with respect to a week is less than the applicant's 14.21 weekly unemployment benefit amount, unemployment benefits are reduced by the amount 14.22 14.23 of the payment.
- 14.24 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.085, subdivision 3a, is amended to read:
- 14.25 Subd. 3a. Workers' compensation and disability insurance offset. (a) An applicant
- 14.26 is not eligible to receive unemployment benefits for any week in which the applicant is
- 14.27 receiving or has received compensation for loss of wages equal to or in excess of the
- 14.28 applicant's weekly unemployment benefit amount under:

197.29	(1) the workers' compensation law of this state;	14.29	(1) the workers' compensation law of this state;
197.30	(2) the workers' compensation law of any other state or similar federal law; or	14.30	(2) the workers' compensation law of any other state or similar federal law; or
197.31	(3) any insurance or trust fund paid in whole or in part by an employer.	14.31	(3) any insurance or trust fund paid in whole or in part by an employer.
198.1 198.2 198.3 198.4 198.5 198.6 198.7 198.8	(b) This subdivision does not apply to an applicant who has a claim pending for loss of wages under paragraph (a); however, before unemployment benefits may be paid when a claim is pending, the issue of the applicant being available for suitable employment, as required under subdivision 1, clause (4), is must be determined under section 268.101, subdivision 2. If the applicant later receives compensation as a result of the pending claim, the applicant is subject to the provisions of paragraph (a) and the unemployment benefits paid are subject to recoupment by the commissioner to the extent that the compensation constitutes overpaid unemployment benefits under section 268.18, subdivision 1.	15.1 15.2 15.3 15.4 15.5 15.6 15.7 15.8	(b) This subdivision does not apply to an applicant who has a claim pending for loss of wages under paragraph (a); however, before unemployment benefits may be paid when a claim is pending, the issue of the applicant being available for suitable employment, as required under subdivision 1, clause (4), is must be determined under section 268.101, subdivision 2. If the applicant later receives compensation as a result of the pending claim, the applicant is subject to the provisions of paragraph (a) and the unemployment benefits paid are subject to recoupment by the commissioner to the extent that the compensation constitutes overpaid unemployment benefits under section 268.18, subdivision 1.
	(c) If the amount of compensation described under paragraph (a) for any week is less than the applicant's weekly unemployment benefit amount, unemployment benefits requested for that week are reduced by the amount of that compensation payment.	15.9 15.10 15.11	(c) If the amount of compensation described under paragraph (a) for any week is less than the applicant's weekly unemployment benefit amount, unemployment benefits requested for that week are reduced by the amount of that compensation payment.
	Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.085, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:	15.12 15.13	Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.085, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
198.16 198.17	benefits. (a) An applicant is not eligible to receive unemployment benefits for any week the applicant is receiving, has received, or will receive separation pay, severance pay, bonus	15.14 15.15 15.16 15.17 15.18	Subd. 3b. Separation, severance, or bonus payments that delay unemployment benefits. (a) An applicant is not eligible to receive unemployment benefits for any week the applicant is receiving, has received, or will receive separation pay, severance pay, bonus pay, or any other payments paid by an employer because of, upon, or after separation from employment. This subdivision applies if the payment is:
198.19	(1) considered wages under section 268.035, subdivision 29; or	15.19	(1) considered wages under section 268.035, subdivision 29; or
198.20 198.21	(2) subject to the Federal Insurance Contributions Act (FICA) tax imposed to fund Social Security and Medicare.	15.20 15.21	(2) subject to the Federal Insurance Contributions Act (FICA) tax imposed to fund Social Security and Medicare.
	later of the date of separation from employment or the date the applicant first becomes	15.22 15.23 15.24 15.25 15.26	(b) Payments under this subdivision are applied to the period immediately following the later of the date of separation from employment or the date the applicant first becomes aware that the employer will be making a payment. The date the payment is actually made or received, or that an applicant must agree to a release of claims, does not affect the application of this paragraph.
198.27 198.28	(c) This subdivision does not apply to earnings under subdivision 5, back pay under subdivision 6, or vacation pay, sick pay, or personal time off pay under subdivision 3.	15.27 15.28	(c) This subdivision does not apply to earnings under subdivision 5, back pay under subdivision 6, or vacation pay, sick pay, or personal time off pay under subdivision 3.
198.29 198.30	(d) This subdivision applies to all the weeks of payment. The number of weeks of payment is determined in accordance with subdivision 3, paragraph (c).	15.29 15.30	(d) This subdivision applies to all the weeks of payment. The number of weeks of payment is determined in accordance with subdivision 3, paragraph (c).
	(e) Under this subdivision, if the payment with respect to a week is equal to or more than the applicant's weekly unemployment benefit amount, the applicant is ineligible for benefits for that week. If the payment with respect to a week is less than the applicant's	15.31 15.32 15.33	(e) Under this subdivision, if the payment with respect to a week is equal to or more than the applicant's weekly unemployment benefit amount, the applicant is ineligible for benefits for that week. If the payment with respect to a week is less than the applicant's

199.1 <u>weekly unemplo</u> 199.2 of the payment.	oyment benefit amount, unemployment benefits are reduced by the amount	16.1 16.2	weekly unemployment benefit amount, unemployment benefits are reduced by the amount of the payment.
	ta Statutes 2018, section 268.085, is amended by adding a subdivision to	16.3 16.4	Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.085, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
199.6receive unemplo199.7receive, or has a199.8to by a base peri199.9employer is cons	Pension or retirement payment offset. (a) An applicant is not eligible to oyment benefits for any week the applicant is receiving, has received, will applied for pension, retirement, or annuity payments from any plan contributed iod employer including the United States government. The base period isidered to have contributed to the plan if the contribution is excluded from f wages under section 268.035, subdivision 29.	16.5 16.6 16.7 16.8 16.9 16.10	Subd. 3c. Pension or retirement payment offset. (a) An applicant is not eligible to receive unemployment benefits for any week the applicant is receiving, has received, will receive, or has applied for pension, retirement, or annuity payments from any plan contributed to by a base period employer including the United States government. The base period employer is considered to have contributed to the plan if the contribution is excluded from the definition of wages under section 268.035, subdivision 29.
	ension, retirement, or annuity payment is paid in a lump sum, an applicant is to have received a payment if:	16.11 16.12	(b) If the pension, retirement, or annuity payment is paid in a lump sum, an applicant is not considered to have received a payment if:
199.13 (1) the appl 199.14 account; or	licant immediately deposits that payment in a qualified pension plan or	16.13 16.14	(1) the applicant immediately deposits that payment in a qualified pension plan or account; or
199.15 (2) that pay 199.16 penalty under th	yment is an early distribution for which the applicant paid an early distribution ne Internal Revenue Code, United Stats Code, title 26, section $72(t)(1)$.	16.15 16.16	(2) that payment is an early distribution for which the applicant paid an early distribution penalty under the Internal Revenue Code, United States Code, title 26, section 72(t)(1).
199.17 (c) This sub 199.18 <u>4a.</u>	bdivision does not apply to Social Security benefits under subdivision 4 or	16.17 16.18	(c) This subdivision does not apply to Social Security benefits under subdivision 4 or 4a.
199.19 <u>(d) This sul</u>	bdivision applies to all the weeks of payment.	16.19	(d) This subdivision applies to all the weeks of payment.
	nent is made in a lump sum, that sum is divided by the applicant's last level ly pay from the employer to determine the weeks of payment.	16.20 16.21	If the payment is made in a lump sum, that sum is divided by the applicant's last level of regular weekly pay from the employer to determine the weeks of payment.
	evel of regular weekly pay" includes commissions, bonuses, and overtime rt of the applicant's ongoing regular compensation.	16.22 16.23	The "last level of regular weekly pay" includes commissions, bonuses, and overtime pay if that is part of the applicant's ongoing regular compensation.
199.25than the applican199.26benefits for that	this subdivision, if the payment with respect to a week is equal to or more nt's weekly unemployment benefit amount, the applicant is ineligible for week. If the payment with respect to a week is less than the applicant's byment benefit amount, unemployment benefits are reduced by the amount	16.24 16.25 16.26 16.27 16.28	(e) Under this subdivision, if the payment with respect to a week is equal to or more than the applicant's weekly unemployment benefit amount, the applicant is ineligible for benefits for that week. If the payment with respect to a week is less than the applicant's weekly unemployment benefit amount, unemployment benefits are reduced by the amount of the payment.
200.1 Sec. 8. Minneso	ta Statutes 2018, section 268.085, subdivision 13a, is amended to read:	17.1	Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.085, subdivision 13a, is amended to read:
200.3 ineligible for un	Leave of absence. (a) An applicant on a voluntary leave of absence is nemployment benefits for the duration of the leave of absence. An applicant ry leave of absence is not ineligible under this subdivision.	17.2 17.3 17.4	Subd. 13a. Leave of absence. (a) An applicant on a voluntary leave of absence is ineligible for unemployment benefits for the duration of the leave of absence. An applicant on an involuntary leave of absence is not ineligible under this subdivision.
200.6 with the applican	absence is voluntary when work that the applicant can then perform is available int's employer but the applicant chooses not to work. A medical leave of resumed to be voluntary.	17.5 17.6 17.7	A leave of absence is voluntary when work that the applicant can then perform is available with the applicant's employer but the applicant chooses not to work. A medical leave of absence is not presumed to be voluntary.

REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE

200.8 (b) A period of vacation requested by the applicant, paid or unpaid, is a voluntary leave 200.9 of absence. A vacation period assigned by an employer under: (1) a uniform vacation

200.10 shutdown; (2) a collective bargaining agreement; or (3) an established employer policy, is 200.11 an involuntary leave of absence.

200.12(c) A leave of absence is a temporary stopping of work that has been approved by the200.13employer. A voluntary leave of absence is not a quit and an involuntary leave of absence200.14is not or a discharge from employment for purposes of. Section 268.095 does not apply to200.15a leave of absence.

200.16 (d) An applicant who is on a paid leave of absence, whether the leave of absence is 200.17 voluntary or involuntary, is ineligible for unemployment benefits for the duration of the 200.18 leave.

200.19 (e) This subdivision applies to a leave of absence from a base period employer, an 200.20 employer during the period between the end of the base period and the effective date of the 200.21 benefit account, or an employer during the benefit year.

200.22 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.095, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

200.23 Subd. 6. **Employment misconduct defined.** (a) Employment misconduct means any 200.24 intentional, negligent, or indifferent conduct, on the job or off the job, that displays clearly:

- 200.27 (2) a substantial lack of concern for the employment.
- 200.28 (b) Regardless of paragraph (a), the following is not employment misconduct:
- 200.29 (1) conduct that was a consequence of the applicant's mental illness or impairment;
- 200.30 (2) conduct that was a consequence of the applicant's inefficiency or inadvertence;
- 200.31 (3) simple unsatisfactory conduct;

201.1 (4) conduct an average reasonable employee would have engaged in under the 201.2 circumstances;

- 201.3 (5) conduct that was a consequence of the applicant's inability or incapacity;
- 201.4 (6) good faith errors in judgment if judgment was required;
- 201.5 (7) absence because of illness or injury of the applicant, with proper notice to the 201.6 employer;
- 201.7 (8) absence, with proper notice to the employer, in order to provide necessary care
- 201.8 because of the illness, injury, or disability of an immediate family member of the applicant;

201.9 (9) conduct that was a consequence of the applicant's chemical dependency, unless the 201.10 applicant was previously diagnosed chemically dependent or had treatment for chemical

(b) A period of vacation requested by the applicant, paid or unpaid, is a voluntary leave 17.8 of absence. A vacation period assigned by an employer under: (1) a uniform vacation 17.9 shutdown; (2) a collective bargaining agreement; or (3) an established employer policy, is 17.10 17.11 an involuntary leave of absence. (c) A leave of absence is a temporary stopping of work that has been approved by the 17.12 employer. A voluntary leave of absence is not a quit and an involuntary leave of absence 17.13 17.14 is not or a discharge from employment for purposes of. Section 268.095 does not apply to a leave of absence. 17.15 17.16 (d) An applicant who is on a paid leave of absence, whether the leave of absence is voluntary or involuntary, is ineligible for unemployment benefits for the duration of the 17.17 17.18 leave. 17.19 (e) This subdivision applies to a leave of absence from a base period employer, an employer during the period between the end of the base period and the effective date of the 17.20 17.21 benefit account, or an employer during the benefit year. 17.22 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268,095, subdivision 6, is amended to read: Subd. 6. Employment misconduct defined. (a) Employment misconduct means any 17.23 17.24 intentional, negligent, or indifferent conduct, on the job or off the job, that displays clearly: (1) is a serious violation of the standards of behavior the employer has the right to 17.25 17.26 reasonably expect of the employee; or. (2) a substantial lack of concern for the employment. 17.27 (b) Regardless of paragraph (a), the following is not employment misconduct: 17.28 (1) conduct that was a consequence of the applicant's mental illness or impairment; 17.29 (2) conduct that was a consequence of the applicant's inefficiency or inadvertence; 17.30 (3) simple unsatisfactory conduct; 17.31 (4) conduct an average reasonable employee would have engaged in under the 18.1 circumstances; 18.2 (5) conduct that was a consequence of the applicant's inability or incapacity; 18.3 (6) good faith errors in judgment if judgment was required; 18.4 18.5 (7) absence because of illness or injury of the applicant, with proper notice to the 18.6 employer; (8) absence, with proper notice to the employer, in order to provide necessary care 18.7 18.8 because of the illness, injury, or disability of an immediate family member of the applicant; 18.9 (9) conduct that was a consequence of the applicant's chemical dependency, unless the 18.10 applicant was previously diagnosed chemically dependent or had treatment for chemical

201.11 dependency, and since that diagnosis or treatment has failed to make consistent efforts to 201.12 control the chemical dependency; or

201.13 (10) conduct that was a consequence of the applicant, or an immediate family member 201.14 of the applicant, being a victim of domestic abuse, sexual assault, or stalking. For the 201.15 purposes of this subdivision, "domestic abuse," "sexual assault," and "stalking" have the 201.16 meanings given them in subdivision 1.

(c) Regardless of paragraph (b), clause (9), conduct in violation of sections 169A.20,
169A.31, 169A.50 to 169A.53, or 171.177 that interferes with or adversely affects the
employment is employment misconduct.

201.20(d) If the conduct for which the applicant was discharged involved only a single incident,201.21that is an important fact that must be considered in deciding whether the conduct rises to201.22the level of employment misconduct under paragraph (a). This paragraph does not require

201.23 that a determination under section 268.101 or decision under section 268.105 contain a

201.24 specific acknowledgment or explanation that this paragraph was considered.

201.25 (e) The definition of employment misconduct provided by this subdivision is exclusive 201.26 and no other definition applies.

201.27 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.095, subdivision 6a, is amended to read:

201.28 Subd. 6a. **Aggravated employment misconduct defined.** (a) For the purpose of this 201.29 section, "aggravated employment misconduct" means:

201.30 (1) The commission of any act, on the job or off the job, that would amount to a gross

- 201.31 misdemeanor or felony is aggravated employment misconduct if the act substantially
- 201.32 interfered with the employment or had a significant adverse effect on the employment; or.
- 202.1 A criminal charge or conviction is not necessary to determine aggravated employment
- 202.2 misconduct under this paragraph. If an applicant is convicted of a gross misdemeanor or
- 202.3 felony, the applicant is presumed to have committed the act.

(2) (b) For an employee of a facility as defined in section 626.5572, aggravated

- 202.5 employment misconduct includes an act of patient or resident abuse, financial exploitation, 202.6 or recurring or serious neglect, as defined in section 626.5572 and applicable rules.
- 202.7 (b) If an applicant is convicted of a gross misdemeanor or felony for the same act for
- 202.8 which the applicant was discharged, it is aggravated employment misconduct if the act
- 202.9 substantially interfered with the employment or had a significant adverse effect on the
- 202.10 employment.

202.11 (c) The definition of aggravated employment misconduct provided by this subdivision 202.12 is exclusive and no other definition applies.

202.13 Sec. 11. EFFECTIVE DATE.

18.11	dependency,	and since	that o	diagnosis	or treatment	has	failed to	make	consistent	efforts to
-------	-------------	-----------	--------	-----------	--------------	-----	-----------	------	------------	------------

18.12 control the chemical dependency; or

18.13 (10) conduct that was a consequence of the applicant, or an immediate family member

- 18.14 of the applicant, being a victim of domestic abuse, sexual assault, or stalking. For the
- 18.15 purposes of this subdivision, "domestic abuse," "sexual assault," and "stalking" have the
- 18.16 meanings given them in subdivision 1.
- 18.17 (c) Regardless of paragraph (b), clause (9), conduct in violation of sections 169A.20,
- 18.18 169A.31, 169A.50 to 169A.53, or 171.177 that interferes with or adversely affects the
- 18.19 employment is employment misconduct.
- 18.20 (d) If the conduct for which the applicant was discharged involved only a single incident,
- 18.21 that is an important fact that must be considered in deciding whether the conduct rises to
- 18.22 the level of employment misconduct under paragraph (a). This paragraph does not require
- 18.23 that a determination under section 268.101 or decision under section 268.105 contain a
- 18.24 specific acknowledgment or explanation that this paragraph was considered.
- 18.25 (e) The definition of employment misconduct provided by this subdivision is exclusive18.26 and no other definition applies.
- 18.27 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.095, subdivision 6a, is amended to read:
- 18.28Subd. 6a. Aggravated employment misconduct defined. (a) For the purpose of this18.29section, "aggravated employment misconduct" means:
- 18.30 (1) The commission of any act, on the job or off the job, that would amount to a gross
- 18.31 misdemeanor or felony is aggravated employment misconduct if the act substantially
- 18.32 interfered with the employment or had a significant adverse effect on the employment; or.
- 19.1 A criminal charge or conviction is not necessary to determine aggravated employment
- 19.2 misconduct under this paragraph. If an applicant is convicted of a gross misdemeanor or
- 19.3 felony, the applicant is presumed to have committed the act.
- 19.4 (2) (b) For an employee of a facility as defined in section 626.5572, aggravated
- 19.5 employment misconduct includes an act of patient or resident abuse, financial exploitation,
- 19.6 or recurring or serious neglect, as defined in section 626.5572 and applicable rules.
- 19.7 (b) If an applicant is convicted of a gross misdemeanor or felony for the same act for
- 19.8 which the applicant was discharged, it is aggravated employment misconduct if the act
- 19.9 substantially interfered with the employment or had a significant adverse effect on the
- 19.10 employment.
- (c) The definition of aggravated employment misconduct provided by this subdivisionis exclusive and no other definition applies.
- 19.13 Sec. 11. EFFECTIVE DATE.

202.14	Unless otherwise specified, this article is effective October 1, 2019.	19.14	Unless otherwise specified, this article is effective October 1, 2019.
202.15	ARTICLE 14	19.15	ARTICLE 5
202.16	UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE ADVISORY COUNCIL; TECHNICAL	19.16	UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE ADVISORY COUNCIL; TECHNICAL
202.17	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.044, subdivision 3, is amended to read:	19.17	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.044, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
202.20 i	Subd. 3. Missing or erroneous information. (a) Any employer that submits the wage detail report, but fails to include all <u>required</u> employee information or enters erroneous information, is subject to an administrative service fee of \$25 for each employee for whom the information is partially missing or erroneous.	19.18 19.19 19.20 19.21	Subd. 3. Missing or erroneous information. (a) Any employer that submits the wage detail report, but fails to include all <u>required</u> employee information or enters erroneous information, is subject to an administrative service fee of \$25 for each employee for whom the information is partially missing or erroneous.
	(b) Any employer that submits the wage detail report, but fails to include an employee, is subject to an administrative service fee equal to two percent of the total wages for each employee for whom the information is completely missing.	19.22 19.23 19.24	(b) Any employer that submits the wage detail report, but fails to include an employee, is subject to an administrative service fee equal to two percent of the total wages for each employee for whom the information is completely missing.
	(c) An administrative service fee under this subdivision must be canceled <u>under section</u> <u>268.067</u> if the commissioner determines that the failure or error by the employer occurred because of ignorance or inadvertence.	19.25 19.26 19.27	(c) An administrative service fee under this subdivision must be canceled <u>under section</u> 268.067 if the commissioner determines that the failure or error by the employer occurred because of ignorance or inadvertence.
202.28	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.046, subdivision 1, is amended to read:	19.28	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.046, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
203.1 1 203.2 1 203.3 1 203.4 2 203.5 1 203.6 1 203.7 2 203.8 1 203.9 2 203.10 2 203.11 1 203.12 2 203.13 1	Subdivision 1. Tax accounts assigned. (a) Any person that contracts with a taxpaying employer to have that person obtain the taxpaying employer's workforce and provide workers to the taxpaying employer for a fee is, as of the effective date of the contract, assigned for the duration of the contract the taxpaying employer's account under section 268.045. That tax account must be maintained by the person separate and distinct from every other tax account held by the person and identified in a manner prescribed by the commissioner. The tax account is, for the duration of the contract, considered that person's account for all purposes of this chapter. The workers obtained from the taxpaying employer and any other workers provided by that person to the taxpaying employer, including officers of the taxpaying employer as defined in section 268.035, subdivision 20, clause (28) (29), whose wages paid by the person are considered paid in covered employment under section 268.035, subdivision 24, for the duration of the contract between the taxpaying employer and the person, must, under section 268.044, be reported on the wage detail report under that tax account, and that person must pay any taxes due at the tax rate computed for that account under section 268.051, subdivision 2.	19.29 19.30 20.1 20.2 20.3 20.4 20.5 20.6 20.7 20.8 20.9 20.10 20.11 20.12 20.13	
203.16 0 203.17 a	(b) Any workers of the taxpaying employer who are not covered by the contract under paragraph (a) must be reported by the taxpaying employer as a separate unit on the wage detail report under the tax account assigned under paragraph (a). Taxes and any other amounts due on the wages reported by the taxpaying employer under this paragraph may be paid directly by the taxpaying employer.	20.14 20.15 20.16 20.17 20.18	detail report under the tax account assigned under paragraph (a). Taxes and any other amounts due on the wages reported by the taxpaying employer under this paragraph may
203.19 203.20 1	(c) If the taxpaying employer that contracts with a person under paragraph (a) does not have a tax account at the time of the execution of the contract, an account must be registered	20.19 20.20	(c) If the taxpaying employer that contracts with a person under paragraph (a) does not have a tax account at the time of the execution of the contract, an account must be registered

ied, this article is effective October 1, 2019.

Senate Language S1547-1

REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE

20.21

Senate Language S1547-1

for the taxpaying employer under section 268.042 and the new employer tax rate under

203.21 for the taxpaying employer under section 268.042 and the new employer tax rate under 203.22 section 268.051, subdivision 5, must be assigned. The tax account is then assigned to the 203.23 person as provided for in paragraph (a).

(d) A person that contracts with a taxpaying employer under paragraph (a) must, within 203.24 203.25 30 calendar days of the execution or termination of a contract, notify the commissioner by 203.26 electronic transmission, in a format prescribed by the commissioner, of that execution or 203.27 termination. The taxpaying employer's name, the account number assigned, and any other 203.28 information required by the commissioner must be provided by that person.

203.29 (e) Any contract subject to paragraph (a) must specifically inform the taxpaying employer 203.30 of the assignment of the tax account under this section and the taxpaying employer's obligation under paragraph (b). If there is a termination of the contract, the tax account is, 203.31

- 203.32 as of the date of termination, immediately assigned to the taxpaving employer.
- Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.069, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 204.1

204.2 Subdivision 1. Requirements. The commissioner must pay unemployment benefits

from the trust fund to an applicant who has met each of the following requirements: 204.3

(1) the applicant has filed an application for unemployment benefits and established a 204.4 204.5 benefit account in accordance with section 268.07;

(2) the applicant has not been held ineligible for unemployment benefits under section 204.6 204.7 268.095 because of a quit or discharge;

(3) the applicant has met all of the ongoing eligibility requirements under section 268.085; 204.8

(4) the applicant does not have an outstanding overpayment of unemployment benefits, 204.9 204.10 including any penalties or interest; and

204.11 (5) the applicant has not been held ineligible for unemployment benefits under section 204.12 268.183 because of a false representation or concealment of facts.

204.13 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268,105, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Representation; fees. (a) In any proceeding under subdivision 1 or 2, an 204.14 204.15 applicant or employer may be represented by any authorized representative.

Except for services provided by an attorney-at-law, no person may charge an applicant 204.16 204.17 a fee of any kind for advising, assisting, or representing an applicant in a hearing or, on 204.18 reconsideration, or in a proceeding under subdivision 7.

(b) An applicant may not be charged fees, costs, or disbursements of any kind in a 204.19 204.20 proceeding before an unemployment law judge, the Minnesota Court of Appeals, or the 204.21 Supreme Court of Minnesota.

(c) No attorney fees may be awarded, or costs or disbursements assessed, against the 204.22 204.23 department as a result of any proceedings under this section.

section 268.051, subdivision 5, must be assigned. The tax account is then assigned to the 20.22 person as provided for in paragraph (a). 20.23 (d) A person that contracts with a taxpaying employer under paragraph (a) must, within 20.24 20.25 30 calendar days of the execution or termination of a contract, notify the commissioner by electronic transmission, in a format prescribed by the commissioner, of that execution or 20.26 termination. The taxpaying employer's name, the account number assigned, and any other 20.27 information required by the commissioner must be provided by that person. 20.28 20.29 (e) Any contract subject to paragraph (a) must specifically inform the taxpaying employer of the assignment of the tax account under this section and the taxpaying employer's 20.30 obligation under paragraph (b). If there is a termination of the contract, the tax account is, 20.31 as of the date of termination, immediately assigned to the taxpaying employer. 20.32 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.069, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 21.1 21.2 Subdivision 1. Requirements. The commissioner must pay unemployment benefits from the trust fund to an applicant who has met each of the following requirements: 21.3 (1) the applicant has filed an application for unemployment benefits and established a 21.4 21.5 benefit account in accordance with section 268.07; (2) the applicant has not been held ineligible for unemployment benefits under section 21.6 21.7 268.095 because of a quit or discharge; (3) the applicant has met all of the ongoing eligibility requirements under section 268.085; 21.8 (4) the applicant does not have an outstanding overpayment of unemployment benefits, 21.9 21.10 including any penalties or interest; and (5) the applicant has not been held ineligible for unemployment benefits under section 21.11 268.183 because of a false representation or concealment of facts. 21.12 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268,105, subdivision 6, is amended to read: 21.13 Subd. 6. Representation; fees. (a) In any proceeding under subdivision 1 or 2, an 21.14 applicant or employer may be represented by any authorized representative. 21.15 Except for services provided by an attorney-at-law, no person may charge an applicant 21.16 a fee of any kind for advising, assisting, or representing an applicant in a hearing or, on 21.17 reconsideration, or in a proceeding under subdivision 7. 21.18 (b) An applicant may not be charged fees, costs, or disbursements of any kind in a 21.19 proceeding before an unemployment law judge, the Minnesota Court of Appeals, or the 21.20 21.21 Supreme Court of Minnesota. (c) No attorney fees may be awarded, or costs or disbursements assessed, against the 21.22 21.23 department as a result of any proceedings under this section.

House Language H2208-3

204.25 Subdivision 1. **Notification.** (a) Upon filing an application for unemployment benefits, 204.26 the applicant must be informed that:

- 204.27 (1) unemployment benefits are subject to federal and state income tax;
- 204.28 (2) there are requirements for filing estimated tax payments;

204.29 (3) the applicant may elect to have federal income tax withheld from unemployment 204.30 benefits;

205.1 (4) if the applicant elects to have federal income tax withheld, the applicant may, in 205.2 addition, elect to have Minnesota state income tax withheld; and

- 205.3 (5) at any time during the benefit year the applicant may change a prior election.
- 205.4 (b) If an applicant elects to have federal income tax withheld, the commissioner must
- 205.5 deduct ten percent for federal income tax. If an applicant also elects to have Minnesota state
- 205.6 income tax withheld, the commissioner must make an additional five percent deduction for
- 205.7 state income tax. Any amounts amount deducted or offset under sections 268.155, 268.18,
- 205.8 and 268.184 have section 268.085 has priority over any amounts deducted under this section.
- 205.9 Federal income tax withholding has priority over state income tax withholding.

205.10 (c) An election to have income tax withheld may not be retroactive and only applies to 205.11 unemployment benefits paid after the election.

205.12 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.18, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

205.13 Subd. 5. **Remedies.** (a) Any method undertaken to recover an overpayment of 205.14 unemployment benefits, including any penalties and interest, is not an election of a method 205.15 of recovery.

(b) Intervention or lack thereof, in whole or in part, in a workers' compensation matter under section 176.361 is not an election of a remedy and does not prevent the commissioner from determining an applicant ineligible for unemployment benefits or taking action under section 268.183.

- 205.20 Sec. 7. REVISOR INSTRUCTION.
- 205.21 The revisor of statutes is instructed to make the following changes in Minnesota Statutes:
- 205.22 (1) delete the term "bona fide" wherever it appears in section 268.035;
- 205.23 (2) replace the term "under" with "subject to" in section 268.047, subdivision 2, clause 205.24 (8);
- 205.25 (3) replace the term "displays clearly" with "shows" in chapter 268;
- 205.26 (4) replace the term "entire" with "hearing" in section 268.105; and

- Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268,145, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 21.24 Subdivision 1. Notification. (a) Upon filing an application for unemployment benefits, 21.25 21.26 the applicant must be informed that: (1) unemployment benefits are subject to federal and state income tax; 21.27 21.28 (2) there are requirements for filing estimated tax payments; (3) the applicant may elect to have federal income tax withheld from unemployment 21.29 21.30 benefits; (4) if the applicant elects to have federal income tax withheld, the applicant may, in 22.1 addition, elect to have Minnesota state income tax withheld; and 22.2
 - addition, elect to have Minnesota state income tax withheid, and
 - 22.3 (5) at any time during the benefit year the applicant may change a prior election.
 - 22.4 (b) If an applicant elects to have federal income tax withheld, the commissioner must
 - 22.5 deduct ten percent for federal income tax. If an applicant also elects to have Minnesota state
 - 22.6 income tax withheld, the commissioner must make an additional five percent deduction for
 - 22.7 state income tax. Any amounts amount deducted or offset under sections 268.155, 268.18,
 - 22.8 and 268.184 have section 268.085 has priority over any amounts deducted under this section.
 - 22.9 Federal income tax withholding has priority over state income tax withholding.

22.10 (c) An election to have income tax withheld may not be retroactive and only applies to 22.11 unemployment benefits paid after the election.

- 22.12 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.18, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
- 22.13 Subd. 5. Remedies. (a) Any method undertaken to recover an overpayment of
- 22.14 unemployment benefits, including any penalties and interest, is not an election of a method 22.15 of recovery.
- 22.16 (b) Intervention or lack thereof, in whole or in part, in a workers' compensation matter
- under section 176.361 is not an election of a remedy and does not prevent the commissionerfrom determining an applicant ineligible for unemployment benefits or taking action under
- 22.19 section 268.183.

22.20 Sec. 7. REVISOR INSTRUCTION.

- 22.21 The revisor of statutes is instructed to make the following changes in Minnesota Statutes:
- 22.22 (1) delete the term "bona fide" wherever it appears in section 268.035;
- 22.23 (2) replace the term "under" with "subject to" in section 268.047, subdivision 2, clause 22.24 (8);
- 22.25 (3) replace the term "displays clearly" with "shows" in chapter 268;
- 22.26 (4) replace the term "entire" with "hearing" in section 268.105; and

Senate Language S1547-1

- 205.29 Sec. 8. EFFECTIVE DATE.
- 205.30 Unless otherwise specified, this article is effective October 1, 2019.
- 206.1
- 206.2
- 206.3 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.085, subdivision 8, is amended to read:
- 206.4 Subd. 8. Services for school contractors. (a) Wage credits from an employer are subject 206.5 to subdivision 7; if:

ARTICLE 15

UI POLICY

- 206.6 (1) the employment was provided under a contract between the employer and an 206.7 elementary or secondary school; and
- 206.8 (2) the contract was for services that the elementary or secondary school could have had 206.9 performed by its employees.
- 206.10 (b) Wage credits from an employer are not subject to subdivision 7 if:
- 206.11 (1) those wage credits were earned by an employee of a private employer performing
- 206.12 work under a contract between the employer and an elementary or secondary school; and
- 206.13 (2) the employment was related to <u>bus or food services provided to the school by the</u> 206.14 employer.

22.27 (5) replace "24 calendar months" with "eight calendar quarters" in section 268.052,

Senate Language S1547-1

- 22.28 subdivision 2.
- 22.29 Sec. 8. EFFECTIVE DATE.
- 22.30 Unless otherwise specified, this article is effective October 1, 2019.