05/06/2019 REVISOR SS/HR RD4582

Board of Accountancy

Proposed Permanent Rules Relating to Accountants Examinations and Repealing Obsolete Rules

1105.1100 CHANGES OF ADDRESS AND OTHER INFORMATION.

Each licensee or registrant shall notify the board in writing within 30 days of any change of address and, in the case of individual licensees or registrants, change of employment. In addition, each licensee and registrant shall notify the board of correct business and home addresses and telephone and facsimile numbers number in connection with the renewal of the certificate, permit, or registration. A post office box address is not sufficient to satisfy this requirement, except for a licensee or registrant participating in the address confidentiality program established under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 5B.

1105.1800 EXAMINATION CONTENT.

[For text of subpart 1, see Minnesota Rules]

Subp. 2. **Ethics.** A Successful completion of the written or computer-based examination on professional ethics, as specified by the board, is required before application for a certificate. A grade of at least 75 90 percent correct is required to pass the ethics examination, and the examination must have been completed within two years preceding initial application for the certificate.

Subp. 3. [Repealed, 40 SR 953]

1105.2000 RETAKE AND GRANTING OF CREDIT REQUIREMENTS.

Subpart 1. [Repealed, 28 SR 1636]

Subp. 2. **Examination requirements.** An applicant may take the required examination sections individually and in any order. Credit for any section passed shall be valid for 18 months from the actual date the applicant took that section, without having to attain a minimum score on any failed section and without regard to whether the applicant has taken

1105.2000

05/06/2019 REVISOR SS/HR RD4582

other sections, regardless of the date the applicant actually receives notice of the passing grade. In addition:

[For text of item A, see Minnesota Rules]

B. an applicant may not retake a failed section or sections of the examination in the same examination window. The examination window shall be determined by the board. the frequency in which an applicant may retake a failed examination section is determined by the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy.

In the event all four sections of the Uniform Certified Public Accountant Examination are not passed within the rolling 18-month period, credit for any section passed outside the 18-month period expires and that section must be retaken.

[For text of subparts 3 to 5, see Minnesota Rules]

1105.3700 EXEMPTION FROM CERTIFICATE RENEWAL REQUIREMENT.

[For text of item A, see Minnesota Rules]

- B. Persons granted exempt status shall inform the board of any address change within 30 days of the date of occurrence.
- C. B. Persons electing to change from exempt status to active status shall report continuing professional education as described in subitems (1) to (3).
- (1) Submit evidence of completion of 50 hours of continuing professional education per year of exemption, up to a maximum of 120 hours, to be taken within 12 months prior to the renewal application in subjects specifically approved in advance by the board and meeting the requirements in part 1105.3100. The 50-hour requirement must be prorated for periods less than a full year.
- (2) If, at the time of application for exempt status, the licensee had not yet reported qualifying continuing professional education of 120 hours with a minimum of 20

1105.3700 2

05/06/2019 REVISOR SS/HR RD4582

hours per year for each of the three years prior to the application for exempt status, the licensee shall be required to report continuing professional education for those years in addition to the hours required in subitem (1).

- (3) Hours reported in subitem (1) may be used to satisfy the requirement in part 1105.3000 to the extent the hours fall within the one- or three-year CPE period.
- D. C. For purposes of this part, the "practice of public accounting in any manner" means issuing a report as described in Minnesota Statutes, section 326A.01, subdivision 15, whether or not a fee is received. In addition, for purposes of this subpart, "hold out" means any oral or written communication conveying that the person holds a CPA certificate, including, without limitation, the displaying of the CPA certificate in any location where business is conducted and the use of titles or legends on letterheads, business cards, resumes, office doors, or advertisements and listings, including published membership listings of professional organizations.

1105.4000 APPLICATION FOR FIRM PERMIT.

[For text of items A to E, see Minnesota Rules]

F. Persons specified in item E shall annually register with the board before December 31 on a form provided by the board and pay the fee specified in Minnesota Statutes, section 326A.04. The form must provide a space to indicate the percentage of voting and financial interest held by the individual in the firm.

[For text of items G to J, see Minnesota Rules]

1105.4000 3