10/31/12	REVISOR	SGS/JC	RD4059

1.1	Minnesota Board of Dentistry
1.2	Proposed Permanent Rules Relating to License to Practice as a Limited General Dentist
1.4	3100.1130 <u>LICENSE TO PRACTICE DENTISTRY AS A LIMITED GENERAL</u> <u>DENTIST.</u>
1.6	Subpart 1. Initial requirements for limited licensure. A person who is a graduate
1.7	of a nonaccredited dental program and desires to obtain a limited license to practice
1.8	general dentistry within Minnesota shall comply with the requirements in items A to E.
.9	A. The applicant must initially submit to a credential review by the board and
.10	pay the nonrefundable fee in Minnesota Statutes, section 150A.091, subdivision 9a. The
.11	applicant shall provide documentation such as:
.12	(1) a completed board-approved evaluation of all international education;
.13	(2) an original or notarized copy of passing board-approved language
.14	testing within the previous two years;
.5	(3) an original affidavit of licensure;
6	(4) a completed dental questionnaire;
7	(5) a personal letter/curriculum vitae/resume;
18	(6) an original or notarized copy of dental diploma and, if necessary,
19	professional translation;
0	(7) proof of clinical practice in dentistry;
1	(8) an original or notarized copy of other credentials in dentistry and, if
2	necessary, professional translation;
3	(9) completed board-approved infection control training; and

1

10/21/12	DEVICOD	OCC/IC	DD 40.50
10/31/12	REVISOR	SGS/JC	RD4059

(10) an original or notarized copy of National Board Dental Examinations

Report - Part I and Part II.

The applicant is allowed to submit to one credential review by the board.

1.24

1.25

2.1

2.2

2.3

2.4

2.5

2.6

2.7

2.8

2.9

2.10

2.11

2.12

2.13

2.14

2.15

2.16

2.17

2.18

2.19

2.20

2.21

2.22

2.23

- B. Once a credential review has been completed by the board, the committee shall officially notify the applicant by letter as to whether permission to take the regional clinical examination has been denied or granted by the board. The board may also request that the applicant schedule an interview with the credential review committee, then notify the applicant by letter as to whether permission to take the regional clinical examination has been denied or granted by the committee. An applicant denied permission to take the regional clinical examination has the option to appeal the decision to the board within 60 days from the notification date.
- C. If the applicant is granted permission by the board to take the regional clinical examination, the applicant must take a board-approved regional clinical examination, successfully pass the regional clinical examination, and submit evidence of the results of the regional clinical examination within 18 months from the receipt date of the board's notification letter granting permission to take the regional clinical examination.
- D. When an applicant fails twice any part of a board-approved regional clinical examination, the applicant may not take it again until the applicant successfully completes additional education provided by an institution accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation. The education must cover all of the subject areas failed by the applicant in each of the two clinical examinations. The applicant may retake the examination only after the institution provides to the board information specifying the areas failed in the previous examinations and the instruction provided to address the areas failed, and certifies that the applicant has successfully completed the instruction. The applicant shall be allowed to retake the clinical examination one time following this additional educational instruction.

	10/31/12	REVISOR	SGS/JC	RD4059
2.24	If the applicant fails the clinical exami	nation for a third time,	the applicant is prol	hibited
2.25	from retaking the clinical examination	<u>-</u>		
3.1	E. An applicant must compl	ete and submit a limite	d license application	n for
3.2	review by an appropriate committee of	the board. The application	ation must include:	
3.3	(1) the initial and annua	al application fees in M	innesota Statutes, se	ection
3.4	150A.091, subdivision 9b;			
3.5	(2) evidence of having	passed a board-approv	ed regional clinical	
3.6	examination within five years preceding	g the limited license ap	oplication;	
3.7	(3) evidence of having p	passed an examination	designed to test kno	wledge
3.8	of Minnesota laws relating to the pract	ice of dentistry and the	rules of the board v	<u>within</u>
3.9	five years preceding the limited license	e application;		
3.10	(4) an acceptable writte	en agreement between	the applicant and a	
3.11	board-approved Minnesota licensed su	pervising dentist. The	written agreement s	<u>hall</u>
3.12	include all information requested by th	e board. The written a	greement shall also	include
3.13	any practice limitations, and an acknow	wledgment that the app	licant agrees to prac	etice
3.14	clinical dentistry at least 1,100 hours at	nnually, for a period of	three consecutive y	ears;
3.15	(5) documentation of cu	urrent CPR certification	<u>1;</u>	
3.16	(6) a statement from a l	icensed physician attes	sting to the applican	<u>t's</u>
3.17	physical and mental condition complet	ed within 12 months pr	receding the limited	license
3.18	application; and			
3.19	(7) a statement from a l	icensed opthalmologist	or optometrist attes	sting to
3.20	the applicant's visual acuity completed	within 12 months pred	eding the limited lie	<u>cense</u>
3.21	application.			
3.22	Subp. 2. Terms of limited licens	ure. Throughout the the	hree consecutive yea	<u>ars</u>

while practicing general dentistry in Minnesota under the general supervision of a

3100.1130 3

10/31/12	REVISOR	SGS/JC	RD4059
Minnesota licensed dentist, the	limited license dentist mu	st maintain and cor	nply with
the requirements in items A to	<u>F:</u>		
A. submit annual pay	yment of the renewal fee in	n Minnesota Statute	es, section
150A.091, subdivision 9b;			
B. maintain a consec	eutive and current CPR cer	tification as require	d to renew a
limited license;			
	rrespondence and agreeme	ent to the hoard rea	uesting
 -			
approval of a subsequent super	vising dentist and written a	igreement, within 1	4 days prior
to employment start date with s	subsequent supervising den	tist. The written ag	reement shall
include all information requeste	ed by the board. The writte	en agreement shall a	also include
any practice limitations, and an	acknowledgment that the	limited license dent	tist agrees to
practice clinical dentistry at lea	ast 1,100 hours annually, fo	or a period of three of	consecutive
years or any remaining portion	thereof;		
D. within seven busi	iness days of an unforesee	n event, submit wri	itten
correspondence for review by a	an appropriate committee	of the board regardi	ing the
unforeseen circumstance that m	nay interrupt the three cons	ecutive years of sup	pervision;
E. maintain with the	board a correct and curren	t mailing address ar	nd electronic
mail address and properly notif	by the board within 30 days	s of any changes as	described in
Minnesota Statutes, section 150	0A.09, subdivision 3; and		
F. maintain a profess	sional development portfol	io containing:	
(1) acceptable d	locumentation of required	hours in profession	<u>ıal</u>
development activities;			
(2) a minimum	of two different core subje	cts as part of the fur	ndamental

(3) one completed self-assessment examination; and

3100.1130 4

3.24

3.25

4.1

4.2

4.3

4.4

4.5

4.6

4.7

4.8

4.9

4.10

4.11

4.12

4.13

4.14

4.15

4.16

4.17

4.18

4.19

4.20

4.21

4.22

4.23

activities;

10/21/12	DEVICOD	OCC/IC	DD 40.50
10/31/12	REVISOR	SGS/JC	RD4059

1.24	(4)	a consecutive and	current CP	R certification

5.1

5.2

5.3

5.4

5.5

5.6

5.7

5.8

5.9

5.10

5.11

5.12

5.13

5.14

5.15

5.16

5.17

5.18

5.19

5.20

5.21

5.22

5.23

5.24

5.25

The total required hours of professional development activities is 75 hours with a minimum of 45 hours in fundamental activities and a maximum of 30 hours in elective activities. Completing at least 25 hours each year towards the total of 75 hours is required for compliance.

- Subp. 3. Terms of supervising dentist. A supervising dentist must be licensed in Minnesota and provide general supervision to a limited license dentist. The supervising dentist is not required to be present in the office or on the premises when supervising the limited license dentist, but does require the supervising dentist to have knowledge and authorize the procedures being performed by the limited license dentist. For the three consecutive years or any portion thereof, the supervising dentist must be eligible to participate and comply with the requirements in items A to I.
- A. A supervising dentist must be a board-approved Minnesota licensed dentist for at least five consecutive years.
- B. A supervising dentist's license shall not be subject to, or pending, corrective or disciplinary action within the previous five years according to Minnesota Statutes, sections 214.10 and 214.103.
- C. A supervising dentist must have an acceptable written agreement between the limited license dentist and the supervising dentist, and the supervising dentist may only supervise one limited license dentist for the duration of the agreement. The written agreement shall include all information requested by the board. The written agreement shall also include any practice limitations, and an acknowledgment that the limited license dentist agrees to practice clinical dentistry at least 1,100 hours annually, for a period of three consecutive years.
- D. No more than two limited license dentists are allowed to practice general dentistry under general supervision in one dental facility.

3100.1130 5

10/31/12	REVISOR	SGS/JC	RD4059
10/31/17	REVISOR	\$(\$\$\/\forall \)	R11/11159
10/-21/14		13(11)/3(2)	11177177

	E. Any subsequent modifications to a written agreement must be submitted
<u>in wri</u>	iting to the board by the supervising dentist within seven business days of the
modif	fication.

- F. A supervising dentist must inform the board in writing about the termination of a written agreement with a limited license dentist within seven business days of the termination.
- G. A supervising dentist must inform the board in writing about any known disciplinary or malpractice proceedings involving the limited license dentist within seven business days of the proceeding.
- H. The supervising dentist must submit to the board a written performance evaluation of the limited license dentist in regards to employment including practicing clinical dentistry at least 1,100 hours annually, patient care, allied dental personnel, professionalism, billing practices, and make a general recommendation within 90 days preceding to seven business days after completing the three consecutive years or any portion thereof.
- I. A supervising dentist who fails to comply with this subpart is subject to disciplinary proceedings on grounds specified in parts 3100.6100 and 3100.6200, and Minnesota Statutes, section 150A.08, subdivision 1.

Subp. 4. Requirements for licensure.

6.1

6.2

6.3

6.4

6.5

6.6

6.7

6.8

6.9

6.10

6.11

6.12

6.13

6.14

6.15

6.16

6.17

6.18

6.19

6.20

6.21

6.22

6.23

6.24

6.25

A. Upon completion of the three consecutive years, a dentist with a limited license to practice general dentistry in Minnesota shall be prohibited from practicing general dentistry in Minnesota due to expiration of the limited license. A dentist who has an expired or nearly expired limited license may apply for a dental license to practice general dentistry in Minnesota by presenting a license application to the board and meeting the following requirements in subitems (1) to (6). An applicant:

10/31/12	REVISOR	SGS/JC	RD4059
10/31/17	REVISOR	\$(\$\$\/\forall \)	R11/11159
10/-21/14		13(11)/3(2)	11177177

7.1

(1) must submit a completed application for a dental license in Minnesota

7.2	no sooner than 90 days preceding the expiration date of the applicant's limited license or
7.3	no later than one year after the expiration date of the applicant's limited license;
7.4	(2) must submit with the application the nonrefundable fees in Minnesota
7.5	Statutes, section 150A.091, subdivisions 2 and 3;
7.6	(3) must submit required documentation of a consecutive and current
7.7	<u>CPR certification;</u>
7.8	(4) shall provide a professional development portfolio for the three
7.9	consecutive years preceding the license application date as described in subpart 2, item F;
7.10	(5) must submit a written performance evaluation from each supervising
7.11	dentist regarding the applicant while practicing as a limited license dentist; and
7.12	(6) must not have been subject to corrective or disciplinary action by the
7.13	board while holding a limited license during the three consecutive years.
7.14	B. An applicant whose license application has been denied may appeal the
7.15	denial by initiating a contested case hearing pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, chapter 14.
7.16	3100.1700 TERMS AND RENEWAL OF LICENSE OR PERMIT; GENERAL.
7.17	[For text of subps 1 to 1b, see M.R.]
7.18	Subp. 2. Biennial renewal applications. A dentist, dental hygienist, licensed dental
7.19	assistant, or dental assistant with a permit under part 3100.8500, subpart 3, shall submit
7.20	an application for biennial renewal of a license or permit together with the necessary fee
7.21	no later than the last day of the licensee's birth month which is the application deadline.
7.22	An application for renewal is deemed timely if received by the board or postmarked no
7.23	later than the last day of the licensee's birth month. The application form must provide
7.24	a place for the renewal applicant's signature certifying compliance with the applicable
7.25	professional development requirements including holding maintaining a consecutive

3100.1700 7

	10/31/12	REVISOR	SGS/JC	RD4059
8.1	and current CPR certification and in	formation including	the applicant's office	address or
8.2	addresses, the license number, wheth	ner the licensee has be	een engaged in the ac	ctive practice
8.3	of dentistry during the two years pre	eceding the period for	r which renewal is so	ought as a
8.4	licensee, and if so, whether within o	r without the state, as	nd any other informa	ation which
8.5	that may be reasonably requested b	y the board.		
8.6	[For text	of subps 3 to 5, see	<u>M.R.]</u>	
8.7 8.8	3100.1750 TERMS AND RENEW AND RESIDENT DENTISTS.	VAL OF LICENSUI	RE; LIMITED FAC	CULTY
8.9	[For text	of subps 1 to 3, see	<u>M.R.]</u>	
8.10	Subp. 4. Application fees. Each	ch applicant for initia	l licensure as a limit	ed faculty or
8.11	resident dentist shall submit with a l	icense application a_t	he fee in the followi	ng amounts:
8.12	in Minnesota Statutes, section 150A	A.091, subdivision 2.		
8.13	A. limited faculty dentist,	\$140; and		
8.14	B. resident dentist, \$55.			
8.15	Subp. 5. Annual license fees.	Each limited faculty	or resident dentist sl	nall submit
8.16	with an annual license renewal appli	ication a the fee estab	lished by the board i	not to exceed
8.17	the following amounts: in Minnesot	a Statutes, section 15	0A.091, subdivision	4.
8.18	A. limited faculty dentist,	, \$168; and		
8.19	B. resident dentist, \$59.			
8.20	[For to	ext of subp 6, see M.	<u>R.]</u>	
8.21	3100.1850 REINSTATEMENT O	F LICENSE.		
8.22	[For text	of subps 1 to 2a, see	M.R.]	

3100.1850 8

10/31/12	REVISOR	SGS/JC	RD4059
111/31/17	PEVISOR	21 22/11	R11/1115U
10/.31/14		000/30	ハリナリシッ

9.1	Subp. 3. Expiration or voluntary termination of 24 months or more. An applicant
9.2	whose license has expired according to part 3100.1700, subpart 3, or who voluntarily
9.3	terminated the license 24 months or more previous to the application for reinstatement must:
9.4	A. comply with subpart 2a; and
9.5	B. submit either:
9.6	[For text of subitem (1), see M.R.]
9.7	(2) evidence of having successfully completed applicable board-approved
9.8	coursework with minimal hour requirements directly relating to the practice of dentistry,
9.9	dental hygiene, or dental assisting as indicated in the reinstatement application. The
9.10	board-approved coursework must have been completed within 24 months prior to the
9.11	board's receipt of the application. The coursework completed under this subpart may
9.12	not be used to fulfill any of the applicable professional development requirements in
9.13	part 3100.5100 . ; and
9.14	C. be available for an interview with the appropriate board committee to
9.15	determine the applicant's knowledge of dental subjects and ability to practice dentistry,
9.16	dental therapy, dental hygiene, or dental assisting under this subpart.
9.17	[For text of subps 4 and 5, see M.R.]
9.18	3100.3600 ADMINISTRATION OF GENERAL ANESTHESIA, DEEP SEDATION,
9.19	MODERATE SEDATION, MINIMAL SEDATION, AND NITROUS OXIDE
9.20	INHALATION ANALGESIA.
9.21	[For text of subps 1 to 7, see M.R.]
9.22	Subp. 8. Reporting of incidents required. A dentist, dental hygienist, or licensed
9.23	dental assistant must report to the board any incident that arises from the administration of
9.24	nitrous oxide inhalation analgesia, general anesthesia, deep sedation, moderate sedation,
9.25	local anesthesia, analgesia, or minimal sedation that results in:

3100.3600 9

10/21/12	DEMICOD	CCC/IC	DD 40.50
10/31/12	REVISOR	SGS/JC	RD4059

A. a serious or unusual outcome that produces a temporary or permanent physiological injury, harm, or other detrimental effect to one or more of a patient's body systems; or

B. minimal sedation unintentionally becoming moderate sedation, deep sedation, or general anesthesia when the licensee does not have a certificate for administering general anesthesia or moderate sedation described in <u>subpart subparts</u> 9 and 9b.

The report must be submitted to the board on forms provided by the board within ten business days of the incident by the dentist, dental hygienist, or licensed dental assistant, even when another licensed health care professional who, under contract or employment with the dentist, was the actual person administering the analgesia or pharmacological or nonpharmacological method. A licensee who fails to comply with reporting of incidents is subject to disciplinary proceedings on grounds specified in parts 3100.6100 and 3100.6200 and Minnesota Statutes, section 150A.08, subdivision 1.

[For text of subps 9 to 11, see M.R.]

3100.5100 PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT.

10.1

10.2

10.3

10.4

10.5

10.6

10.7

10.8

10.9

10.10

10.11

10.12

10.13

10.14

10.15

10.16

10.17

10.18

10.19

10.20

10.21

10.22

10.23

10.24

[For text of subps 1 and 2, see M.R.]

Subp. 3. **Professional development activities.** Professional development activities include, but are not limited to, continuing education, community services, publications, and career accomplishments throughout a professional's life. Professional development activities are categorized as fundamental or elective activities as described in items A and B.

A. Fundamental activities include, but are not limited to, clinical subjects, core subjects, CPR training, and the self-assessment examination. Examples of fundamental activities for an initial or biennial cycle are described in subitems (1) to (5).

[For text of subitems (1) and (2), see M.R.]

10/31/12	REVISOR	SGS/JC	RD4059
111/31/17	PEVISOR	21 22/11	R11/1115U
10/.31/14		000/30	ハリナリシッ

11.1	(3) A CPR certification course is mandatory for each licensee to maintain
11.2	licensure. The CPR course must be equivalent to the American Heart Association
11.3	healthcare provider course or the American Red Cross professional rescuer course. The
11.4	licensee must hold maintain a consecutive and current CPR certificate when renewing a
11.5	license or permit each biennial term.
11.6	[For text of subitems (4) and (5), see M.R.]
11.7	B. Elective activities for an initial or biennial cycle include, but are not limited
11.8	to, the examples described in subitems (1) to $\frac{(6)}{(7)}$:
11.9	[For text of subitems (1) to (4), see M.R.]
11.10	(5) dental practice management courses include, but are not limited to,
11.11	computer, insurance claims or billing, and Health Insurance Portability and Accountability
11.12	Act (HIPAA) training; or
11.13	(6) leadership or committee involvement with the board or a dental
11.14	professional association for a maximum of three credit hours; or
11.15	(6) (7) the board shall approve other additional elective activities if the
11.16	board finds the contents of the activity to be directly related to, or supportive of, the
11.17	practice of dentistry, dental hygiene, or dental assisting.
11.18	[For text of subps 4 and 5, see M.R.]
11.19	3100.5300 AUDIT PROCESS OF PORTFOLIO.
11.20	[For text of subps 1 to 5, see M.R.]
11.21	Subp. 6. Audit fee. The licensee shall submit to the board the nonrefundable fee
11.22	in Minnesota Statutes, section 150A.091, subdivision 16, after failing two consecutive
11.23	professional development portfolio audits and thereafter for each failed professional
11.24	development portfolio audit.

3100.5300 11

10/31/12	REVISOR	SGS/JC	RD4059

12.1	3100.7000 ADVERTISI	NG DENTAL SPEC	IALTY PRACTICE.	

Subpart 1. Specialty areas. The following special areas of dentistry are recognized
as suitable for the announcement of specialty dental practices:

12.4 A. endodontics (endodontist);

12.2

12.3

12.14

12.15

12.16

12.17

12.18

12.19

12.20

12.21

12.22

- B. oral and maxillofacial radiology (oral and maxillofacial radiologist);
- 12.6 B. C. oral and maxillofacial surgery (oral surgeon/oral maxillofacial surgeon);
- 12.7 C. D. oral pathology (oral pathologist);
- 12.8 D. E. orthodontics (orthodontist);
- 12.9 E. F. pediatric dentistry (pediatric dentist);
- 12.10 F. G. periodontics (periodontist);
- 12.11 G. H. prosthodontics (prosthodontist); and
- 12.12 H. I. public health.

12.13 [For text of subps 2 and 3, see M.R.]

3100.8400 ASSISTANTS WITHOUT A LICENSE OR PERMIT.

Subpart 1. **Permissible duties.** Assistants under this subpart may:

[For text of items A to D, see M.R.]

- E. provide any assistance, including the placement of articles and topical medication in a patient's oral cavity, in response to a specific direction by a licensed dentist who is physically engaged in performing a dental operation as defined in the act and who is physically in a position to give personal supervision to the assistant; and
- F. aid dental hygienists and licensed dental assistants in the performance of their duties as defined in parts 3100.8500 and 3100.8700-; and

3100.8400 12

	10/31/12	RE	VISOR	SGS/JC	RD4059
13.1	G. apply flu	oride varnish in a com	munity setting un	der the authorizati	on and
13.2	direction of a licensed	practitioner with presc	ribing authority su	ich as a dentist or j	ohysician,
13.3	as long as the licensed	practitioner authorizing	ng the service or t	he facility at whic	h the
13.4	fluoride varnish is adm	inistered maintains ap	propriate patient i	records of the treat	ment.
13.5		[For text of subps	1a to 3, see M.R.	.]	
13.6	3100.8500 LICENSE	D DENTAL ASSIST	ANTS.		
13.7	Subpart 1. Duties	under general super	vision. A license	ed dental assistant	may
13.8	perform the following	procedures without the	e dentist being pre	esent in the dental	office or
13.9	on the premises if the	procedures being perfo	ormed are with pri	or knowledge and	consent
13.10	of the dentist:				
13.11		[For text of items	A to G, see M.R.	1	
13.12	H. deliver v	acuum-formed orthodo	ontic retainers; an	d	
13.13	I. place and	remove elastic orthodo	ontic separators:		
13.14	J. complete	preliminary charting o	f the oral cavity a	nd surrounding str	ructures
13.15	with the exception of p	periodontal probing and	d assessment of th	ne periodontal stru	cture;
13.16	K. take pho	ographs extraorally or	intraorally; and		
13.17	L. take vital	signs such as pulse rat	te and blood press	sure as directed by	a dentist.
13.18		[For text of subps	1a to 3, see M.R.	1	
13.19	3100.9600 RECORD	KEEPING.			
13.20		[For text of subps	s 1 to 9, see M.R.	l	
13.21	Subp. 10. Progre	ss notes. Dental recor	ds must be legible	e and include a chi	ronology

of the patient's progress throughout the course of all treatment and postoperative visits.

14.1 <u>A.</u> all treatment provided, and;

The chronology must include:

13.22

13.23

3100.9600 13

	10/31/12		REVISOR	SGS/JC	RD4059
14.2	<u>B.</u>	elearly identify the prov	vider by name or ini	tials, all medications	used and
14.3	materials pla	aced;			
14.4	<u>C.</u>	identify all medications	used and materials	placed. the treatment	t provider
14.5	by license n	umber, name, or initials;	and		
14.6	<u>D.</u>	when applicable, the id	entity of the collabo	orating dentist author	izing
14.7	treatment by	license number.			
14.8		[For text of	subps 11 and 12, se	e M.R.]	
14.9	Subp. 1	3. Transfer of records.	A patient's dental i	records must be trans	ferred
14.10	according to	Minnesota Statutes, sect	ions 144.291 to 144	.298, irrespective of	the status of
14.11	the patient's	account. Digital radiogra	aphs shall be transfe	rred by compact or o	ptical disc,
14.12	electronic co	ommunication, or printing	g on high-quality ph	otographic paper. All	l transferred
14.13	film or digita	al radiographs must revea	al images of diagnos	tic quality using prop	er exposure
14.14	settings and	processing procedures.			

[For text of subp 14, see M.R.]

3100.9600 14