[REVISOR ] RR/JC 11/21/07 AR3621 Department of Public Safety 1 Adopted Permanent Rules Relating to Driver's License Agents 2 RECEIVED RECEIVED 7404.0100 DEFINITIONS. 3 [For text of subpart 1, see M.R.] 4 "Agent" means an individual appointer Agent. 5 Subp. 2. under this chapter and Minnesota Statutes, section 171.061 6 [For text of subp 3, see M.R.] 7 Subp. 4. Application. "Application" has the meaning given 8 in Minnesota Statutes, section 171.061, subdivision 1, clause 9 10 (2). 11 An application must be in a paper, electronic, or Α. other format as prescribed by the commissioner. 12 13 в. An application includes the supporting documents provided by the applicant. 14 [For text of subps 5 to 7, see M.R.] 15 16 Subp. 8. Collected or collection. "Collected" or "collection" means: 17 A. the receipt of application and reinstatement fees 18 and other related fees paid by an applicant less the filing fee 19 specified in Minnesota Statutes, section 171.061, subdivision 4, 20 paragraph (c); and 21 the receipt by the agent from the applicant of any 22 в. 23 required application or form. [For text of subps 9 and 10, see M.R.] 24 Subp. 11. Conviction of crime. "Conviction of crime" 25 means conviction of a felony, gross misdemeanor, or misdemeanor 26 reasonably related to the function of an agent. 27

1

[REVISOR ] RR/JC AR3621

2 Subp. 20. Proposed office location. "Proposed office 3 location" means a location that has been submitted to the 4 commissioner for consideration as an approved office location 5 under part 7404.0300, or a move of an existing office location 6 under part 7404.0330.

7

1

[For text of subps 21 and 22, see M.R.]

[For text of subps 12 to 19, see M.R.]

8 7404.0300 LOCATION OF AGENT OFFICE; PROPOSED BY THIRD PARTY.
9 Subpart 1. General. This part applies to the
10 establishment of an agent office not in existence when the
11 location of the office is proposed by a party other than the
12 commissioner.

13 Subp. 2. [See repealer.]

14 Subp. 3. Metropolitan counties. The conditions listed in 15 this subpart must be met before the commissioner considers a 16 proposed office location for an agent in a metropolitan county.

A. The proposed office location must not be within a
ten-mile radius of an existing office or a state-operated
application site.

20 The estimated number of applications a proposed в. 21 office location processes annually must be at least 12,000 22. within two years after the establishment of the office. The commissioner shall estimate the number of applications as 30 23 24 percent of the applications processed within the preceding calendar year by existing offices and state-operated application 25 26 sites located within a radius of the proposed office location of over ten miles and less than 19 miles. 27

2

## [REVISOR ] RR/JC AR3621

C. The commissioner shall not consider the proposed office location if the use of the percentage of applications processed by an existing office or state-operated application site to establish a proposed office would reduce the number of applications to less than:

6 (1) 24,000 for an existing office or
7 state-operated application site located in a metropolitan
8 county;

9 (2) 13,000 for an existing office located in an 10 area under subpart 4; or

11 (3) 2,500 for an existing office located in an 12 area under subpart 5.

D. If a percentage of applications processed by an existing office or state-operated application site was used to establish a new office, that percentage may not be used again in consideration of another proposed office within a two-year period. The two-year period starts from the date the agent was appointed.

E. The commissioner shall not consider a proposed office location if the proposed office location is within a 20-mile radius of an existing office or state-operated application site established within the last two years. The two-year period starts from the date the agent was appointed or the state-operated site was established.

Subp. 4. Municipalities with over 50,000 population. The conditions listed in this subpart must be met before a proposed office location is considered by the commissioner in a

3

11/21/07 [REVISOR ] RR/JC AR3621
1 municipality with a population exceeding 50,000, not including
2 municipalities in a metropolitan county.

A. The proposed office location must not be located within a ten-mile radius of an existing office or state-operated application site.

6 B. A maximum of two licensing agent offices may exist 7 in any municipality with a population exceeding 50,000.

The estimated number of applications a proposed 8 C. 9 office location processes annually must be at least 6,500 within 10 two years after the establishment of the office. The commissioner shall estimate the number of applications as 30 11 12 percent of the applications processed within the preceding 13 calendar year by existing offices and state-operated application 14 sites located within a radius of the proposed office location of over ten miles but less than 19 miles. 15

D. The commissioner shall not consider a proposed office location if the use of a percentage of applications processed by an existing office or state-operated application site to establish a proposed office would reduce the number of applications to less than:

21 (1) 24,000 for an existing office or
22 state-operated application site located in an area under subpart
23 3;

24 (2) 13,000 for an existing office or
25 state-operated application site located in an area under this
26 subpart; or

27

(3) 2,500 for an existing office or

4

11/21/07 [REVISOR ] RR/JC AR3621
1 state-operated application site located in an area under subpart
2 5.

E. If a percentage of applications processed by an existing office or state-operated application site was used to setablish a new office, that percentage may not be used again in consideration of another proposed office within a two-year period. The two-year period starts from the date the agent was appointed or the state-operated site was established.

9 F. The commissioner shall not consider a proposed 10 office location if the proposed office location is within a 11 ten-mile radius of an existing office or state-operated 12 application site established within the last two years. The 13 two-year period starts from the date the agent was appointed or 14 the state-operated site was established.

Subp. 5. Other areas. The conditions listed in this subpart must be met before a proposed office location is considered by the commissioner in all other municipalities not included in subpart 3 or 4.

A. The proposed office location must not be located
within a 25-mile radius of an existing office or state-operated
application site.

B. The proposed office location must not be located in a municipality of less than 25,000 population if there is an existing office or state-operated application site in that municipality.

26 C. The estimated number of applications that a27 proposed office location will process annually must be at least

5

11/21/07 [REVISOR ] RR/JC AR3621 2,500 within two years after the establishment of the office. 1 The number of applications must be estimated as follows: 2 3 (1) 20 percent of the applications processed within the preceding year by existing offices and state-operated 4 application sites located within a 30-mile radius of the 5 proposed office location; or 6 7 (2) if there is no existing office or state-operated application site located within a 30-mile radius 8 of the proposed office location, 25 percent of the population of 9 10 the municipalities that are closer to the proposed office 11 location than to other existing offices and state-operated 12 application sites. 13 The commissioner shall not consider a proposed D. 14 office location if the use of the percentage of applications 15 processed by an existing office or state-operated application 16 site, to establish a proposed office, would reduce the number of 17 transactions to less than: (1) 24,000 for an existing office or 18 19 state-operated application site located in an area under subpart 20 3; 21 (2) 13,000 for an existing office or 22 state-operated application site located in an area under subpart 23 4; or 24 (3) 2,500 for an existing office or 25 state-operated application site located in an area under this 26 subpart. If a percentage of applications processed by an 27 Ε.

6

11/21/07 [REVISOR ] RR/JC AR3621 existing office or state-operated application site was used to establish a new office, that percentage may not be used again in consideration of another proposed office within a two-year period. The two-year period starts from the date the agent was appointed or the state-operated site was established.

6 F. The commissioner shall not consider a proposed office location if the proposed office location is within a 7 30-mile radius of an existing office or state-operated 8 9 application site established within the last two years. The two-year period starts from the date the agent was appointed. 10 11 Subp. 6. Restriction on processing proposed office 12 location. When a request for a proposed office location is 13 submitted to the commissioner, no other requests for a proposed office location shall be considered for any location or a 14 location within a 30-mile radius of the proposed office location 15 16 until:

A. the commissioner either approves the proposed office location or all appeals associated with a disapproval have been resolved; and

B. the appointment of an agent for the approvedoffice location under this chapter is completed.

22 7404.0305 ADDITIONAL OFFICE LOCATION CONSIDERATIONS.

Subpart 1. Factors considered. Before appointing an agent, the commissioner must approve a proposed location for an agent office. In addition to the information and conditions specified in part 7404.0300, the commissioner shall consider the factors described in this part when considering a proposed

7

### [REVISOR ] RR/JC AR3621

1 office location:

2 A. the accessibility of the office location to the 3 public;

B. the cost to the state to audit, monitor, and train
5 the agent and staff at the office; and

6 C. whether the office location will best serve the 7 public convenience.

Subp. 2. Disapproval of proposed office location. If a 8 request for an office location is not approved, the commissioner 9 shall notify the individual proposing the office location in 10 11 writing and provide a statement of the reason for the 12 disapproval. The statement must notify the individual that, 13 within 30 days from the day the notice was mailed, the 14 individual may appeal the disapproval to the Office of Administrative Hearings for a contested case hearing under 15 16 Minnesota Statutes, chapter 14, if a factor in subpart 1 was cited for disapproval and disapproval was not due to a failure 17 to meet the distance or transaction requirements for office 18 19 location.

20 7404.0307 OFFICE LOCATION PROPOSED BY COMMISSIONER.

Subpart 1. Commissioner's initiative; criteria. Part 7404.0300 notwithstanding, the commissioner may propose an office location to be overseen by a licensing agent. The office location may be proposed to:

A. meet an emerging or demonstrated application site26 need;

27

B. address an emerging or demonstrated population

Approved by Revisor \_

8

11/21/07 [REVISOR ] RR/JC AR3621 need; or 1 2 C. improve public access or service delivery. 3 Subp. 2. Notice. When the commissioner proposes an office 4 location, notice of the proposed office location must be made to 5 existing licensing agents. 6 If the proposed office location complies with the Á. distance and projected application numbers in part 7404.0300, 7 the commissioner shall publish notice of the proposed office 8 9 location once in a qualified newspaper in the county where the 10 proposed office is located. The notice must specify the: 11 (1) site of the proposed office; 12 (2) commissioner's intent to appoint an agent at 13 that location and request applications; 14 (3) responsibility of the agent to accept 15 applications; (4) commissioner's authority under statute and 16 17 rule to make the appointment; 18 (5) name, address, telephone and facsimile numbers, and e-mail address of the individual to contact about 19 20 the appointment; and 21 (6) deadline, at least 14 days after the date the 22 notice appears, for submitting the application to the 23 commissioner. 24 The process for appointing an agent at the Β. 25 proposed office location shall follow the applicable procedures 26 in parts 7404.0360 and 7404.0370. 27 If the commissioner's proposed office location is C.

9

11/21/07 [REVISOR ] RR/JC AR3621
1 within the distances specified in part 7404.0300 from an
2 existing licensing agent's office, the commissioner shall:

3 (1) notify each existing licensing agent with an
4 approved office within the distance radius that the commissioner
5 has proposed to accept applications at the proposed office
6 location; and

7 (2) request the existing licensing agent to8 either operate the new office location or move to the site.

9 D. If more than one existing licensing agent is 10 within the distance radius of the commissioner's proposed office 11 location, the commissioner shall consider appointment of a 12 licensing agent in order of the agent office closest to the 13 proposed location.

E. If all agents within the distance radius decline the appointment to operate the new office location, then the commissioner shall proceed to appoint an agent for the office following the procedures in item A.

18 F. Nothing in this part prevents a state-operated 19 application site from opening at a location for public 20 convenience or the efficient and effective delivery of state 21 services.

22 7404.0310 EXCEPTIONS.

Subpart 1. One agent per county bureau. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, sections 373.33 and 373.35, if the county board designates the county license bureau director as a licensing agent, the license bureau director is responsible for all bureau sites where applications are accepted in the county.

10

11/21/07 [REVISOR ] RR/JC AR3621
1 Each bureau site where applications are accepted must meet the
2 criteria for establishment of an office as specified in part
3 7404.0300.

Low-volume existing office; county board 4 Subp. 2. decision. Notwithstanding part 7404.0300, an agent may be 5 appointed at an existing office location upon the death, 6 resignation, discontinuance, or retirement of an existing agent 7 whose office does not comply with the application numbers for 8 the establishment of an office specified in part 7404.0300, plus 9 or minus two percent of the average application numbers in the 10 11 preceding three years, only if:

12 A. the county board notifies the commissioner within 13 one week after the next regularly scheduled county board meeting 14 or within 60 days after the death, resignation, discontinuance, 15 or retirement of the existing agent, that the county board wants 16 to designate an agent for appointment by the commissioner and 17 maintain that existing office location;

B. the county board designates a new agent for appointment by the commissioner and verifies to the commissioner that the individual meets the requirements for an agent specified in part 7404.0360 within 60 days from the time the vacancy occurred;

C. there is not another existing office or
state-operated application site located within the distances
specified in part 7404.0300; and

26 D. the county board or the new agent agrees to 27 procure and maintain:

11

### [REVISOR ] RR/JC AR3621

(1) the photo identification equipment, unless
 the office was in existence on January 1, 2000;
 (2) the vision-testing equipment unless the

4 office was in existence before January 5, 1999; and

5 (3) any other equipment or inventory necessary to 6 process applications.

Subp. 3. Low-volume location; commissioner's appointment.
If the county board declines to designate an agent for
appointment by the commissioner at the existing low-volume
location described in subpart 2, the appointment of the agent
and all state-provided inventory and equipment reverts to the
commissioner.

The commissioner shall decide whether to appoint 13 Α. 14 another agent at the existing low-volume office within six months after notice by the county board that it will not 15 16 designate another agent for appointment by the commissioner. The commissioner shall appoint an agent at the 17 в. existing office with a low application volume and procure and 18 19 maintain the photo identification, vision-testing equipment, and any other equipment or inventory necessary to process 20 applications for the site only if the office is not in a 21 22 metropolitan county and there is not another application site, including state-operated application sites, within 35 miles of 23 the existing low-volume office. 24

25

[For text of subp 4, see M.R.]

26 7404.0330 MOVE OF EXISTING OFFICE LOCATION.

27

Subpart 1. In general. A move of an existing office must

Approved by Revisor

12

11/21/07[REVISOR ] RR/JC AR36211 meet the requirements of part 7404.0300, be within the same2 county, and be approved by the commissioner before the move.3 This part does not apply to the location of state-operated4 application or examination sites.

5

[For text of subps 2 to 4, see M.R.]

6 7404.0340 DEPUTY REGISTRAR AS LIMITED LICENSING AGENT.

Subpart 1. Deputy registrar as limited licensing agent.
Notwithstanding part 7404.0300, as of the effective date of this
part, all deputy registrars appointed by the commissioner under
chapter 7406 and Minnesota Statutes, section 168.33, must also
be appointed by the commissioner to assume the duties of a
limited licensing agent as specified in this part.

Subp. 2. Limited licensing agent. A limited licensing agent shall accept applications only for a duplicate driver's license or duplicate Minnesota identification card.

A. The duties of a limited licensing agent must not require the use of equipment to capture the image or signature or to test the vision of an applicant.

B. A limited licensing agent shall accept an
application for a duplicate driver's license or duplicate state
identification card if:

(1) the state document is lost, stolen,
destroyed, illegible, or mutilated beyond recognition during the
period of validation; or

25 (2) the applicant is required to change the26 residence address on the state-issued document.

27 C. The procedures in part 7410.0450 for issuance of a

13

11/21/07 [REVISOR ] RR/JC AR3621
1 duplicate driver's license or duplicate identification card
2 apply.

D. The applicant's digital image and signature must be on file with the department and the technology to retrieve that information must be available at the application site.

E. No information on file with the department, except
7 the applicant's residence address, may be changed when applying
8 for a duplicate document under this part.

9 Subp. 3. Designation of individual as agent. Only an 10 individual may be appointed as the limited licensing agent. If 11 the deputy registrar is a corporation, the individual must be 12 the corporate officer who executed the certificate of 13 appointment under part 7406.0370, subpart 2.

Subp. 4. Training. The limited licensing agent must complete initial and ongoing training provided by the commissioner pertinent to the limited licensing agent's duties.

Subp. 5. Financial responsibility. A deputy registrar acting as a limited licensing agent shall pay all taxes and fees due and owed the state for applications made under this part.

20 7404.0345 DEPUTY REGISTRAR AS LICENSING AGENT.

Part 7404.0300 notwithstanding, as of the effective date of this part a deputy registrar appointed under chapter 7406 may apply to the commissioner for appointment also as a licensing agent under this chapter.

A. The applicant must be an individual and the office
must meet the requirements specified in this chapter.
B. The appointment must be for licensing agent

14

11/21/07[REVISOR ] RR/JC AR3621application duties that are not limited.

1

2 C. Any deputy registrar who is not a licensing agent 3 as of the effective date of this part and who applies to be a 4 licensing agent must complete initial and ongoing licensing 5 agent training.

D. If the deputy registrar is not currently also an appointed licensing agent with image- and signature-capture and vision-testing equipment, the agent shall obtain the equipment necessary to accept and process applications from vendors approved by the commissioner.

11 7404.0350 AGENT APPOINTMENT PROCEDURE; REFERRAL TO COUNTY BOARD.
12 Subpart 1. In general. When the commissioner approves a
13 proposed office location, the commissioner shall begin the
14 appointment process for the approved office location.

A. The request for appointment must be referred by the commissioner first to the county board in the same county as the approved office location.

B. This part does not apply to the move of anexisting office.

Subp. 2. County board. When the commissioner refers the approved office location to the county board, the county board shall choose one of the options listed in items A to C.

A. If the county board has established a county licensing bureau under Minnesota Statutes, sections 373.33 to 373.38, the county board shall designate the director of the bureau to be appointed by the commissioner as the agent or, if the bureau director is already an agent, make the bureau

15

11/21/07 [REVISOR ] RR/JC AR3621
1 director responsible for the administration of the approved
2 office location.

B. If the approved office location is a
county-administered office but is not a county licensing bureau,
the county board shall designate an employee or equivalent
officer of the county to be appointed by the commissioner.

7 C. The county board shall decline to designate an 8 individual for appointment as an agent.

9 Subp. 3. Notice to commissioner required. The county 10 board shall notify the commissioner, in writing, of the option 11 chosen under subpart 2 within 60 days of referral to the county 12 board.

13 Subp. 4. Failure to notify commissioner; consequences. If 14 the county board declines to appoint an agent or fails to notify 15 the commissioner within 60 days of referral of the request for 16 appointment to the county board, the appointment of the agent 17 must then be considered by the commissioner under part 7404.0360.

18 Subp. 5. [See repealer.]

19 Subp. 6. [See repealer.]

20 Subp. 7. [See repealer.]

21 7404.0360 COMMISSIONER'S APPOINTMENT PROCEDURE.

Subpart 1. In general. An agent appointment cannot be transferred to another individual without following the procedure in part 7404.0350 or this part.

A. The commissioner shall appoint an agent designated by a county board, as specified in part 7404.0350, if the individual meets the criteria of subparts 3 to 6.

16

### [REVISOR ] RR/JC AR3621

B. If the county board does not designate an
 individual for appointment, or fails to provide timely notice to
 the commissioner under part 7404.0350, the commissioner shall
 consider appointment of an agent at the approved office location
 as specified in this part.

6 Subp. la. Municipally-administered Office administered by 7 municipality. If the approved office location is a-municipality 8 administered an office administered by a municipality, the 9 commissioner may refer the request for appointment to the 10 municipality's governing authority.

11 A. If the commissioner refers the designation of a 12 municipal employee or official to the municipality, the 13 municipality's governing authority, within 30 days of the date 14 of the referral, shall either:

15 (1) designate an employee or equivalent officer16 of the municipality to be appointed by the commissioner; or

17 (2) decline to designate an individual for18 appointment.

B. The municipality's governing authority shall
notify the commissioner, in writing, of the option chosen under
item A within 30 days of referral to the municipality.

22 C. If the municipality's governing authority declines 23 to designate an individual for appointment by the commissioner 24 as an agent or fails to notify the commissioner of the 25 municipality's chosen option under this subpart within 30 days 26 of referral to the municipality, the commissioner shall consider 27 the appointment of the agent under this part.

17

11/21/07[REVISOR ] RR/JC AR36211D. When designating an individual for appointment,2the municipality's governing authority shall follow the3procedures in subparts 3 to 6.

E. The commissioner shall appoint the designee when the municipality's governing authority verifies to the commissioner that the individual meets the qualifications for an agent specified in subparts 3 to 6.

8 Subp. 2. Publication of vacancy notice. If a county or 9 municipal employee is not appointed, the commissioner shall 10 publish notice of the agent vacancy for the approved office 11 location.

A. The notice must be published once in a qualified newspaper in the county where the approved office location is located.

B. The notice must be published within 30 days after the county board or the municipality declines to designate an individual for appointment or 30 days after the deadline for the county board or the municipality to respond to the commissioner. C. The notice of agent vacancy must specify the: (1) approved office location;

21 (2) commissioner's intent to appoint an agent at 22 that location;

23 [For text of subitems (3) to (5), see M.R.] 24 (6) deadline for submitting the application to 25 the commissioner, which must be 14 days after the date the 26 notice appears.

27 Subp. 3. Appointment application. The individual seeking

18

11/21/07 [REVISOR ] RR/JC AR3621 1 appointment shall submit an appointment application to the 2 commissioner in a paper, electronic, or other format as prescribed by the commissioner. The application must specify: 3 4 [For text of items A and B, see M.R.] 5 C. whether the individual owns or is a partner, 6 officer, or five-percent shareholder in an entity that: 7 (1) operates a driver training program or driver improvement clinic; or 8 9 (2) sells vehicle insurance; 10 the address of the approved office location; D. 11 [For text of items E to G, see M.R.] 12 H. whether the individual owes any delinquent taxes, 13 penalties, or interest; 14 I. whether the individual is currently the subject of 15 bankruptcy proceedings; 16 J. a certified copy of the individual's criminal 17. history, including a certified copy of a criminal records check of the national criminal records repository criminal justice 18 data communications network; and 19 20 ĸ. the signature of the individual verifying that the 21 information on the application is true. The signature must be 22 notarized. 23 Subp. 4. Age of agent. The agent must be 18 years of age 24 or older. 25 [For text of subp 5, see M.R.] 26 Subp. 6. Change in agent application conditions. An agent 27 shall report to the commissioner changes or anticipated changes

19

[REVISOR ] RR/JC 11/21/07 AR3621 of the information in subpart 3. 1 The changes must be reported ten calendar days 2 Α. before the date the change is to occur or within ten calendar 3 days of the the date the agent learns the changes will occur, 4 whichever occurs first. 5 A change is cause for discontinuance of an 6 в. appointment if the change violates this chapter or Minnesota 7 8 Statutes, section 171.061. Subp. 7. Reasons to deny agent appointment. An agent 9 appointment must be denied for any of the reasons listed in this 10 11 subpart. The appointment application or an item filed with 12 Α. the appointment application does not meet the requirements of 13 14 subpart 3. The individual applying is a partner, officer, or 15 в. five-percent or greater shareholder in an entity that: 16 (1) operates a driver training program, or driver 17 improvement clinic; or 18 19 (2) sells vehicle insurance. The individual has been convicted of a crime in 20 C. Minnesota or in another jurisdiction that, if committed in 21 Minnesota, would be a violation of a Minnesota statute of the 22 23 following type: 24 (1) affects a public officer or employee; (2) is theft or a related crime; 25 (3) is forgery or a related crime; or 26 (4) is reasonably related to the position of an 27

20

1 agent.

[REVISOR ] RR/JC

AR3621

2 D. The office does not meet the requirements under 3 part 7404.0400 and a variance has not been granted by the 4 commissioner.

5 E. The commissioner of revenue notifies the 6 commissioner, or the commissioner has sufficient cause to 7 believe, that the individual owes delinquent taxes, penalties, 8 or interest.

9 F. The individual is in the midst of bankruptcy 10 proceedings.

11 G. The individual's application for appointment is 12 incomplete or contains a statement that is false, misleading, 13 fraudulent, or otherwise constitutes misrepresentation.

14 7404.0370 APPOINTMENT OF AGENT.

Subpart 1. In general. An appointment must be based on information contained in the appointment application, an interview, an inspection of the office or review of a floor plan for compliance with part 7404.0400, and other relevant information or documentation.

20 A. The individual must possess, and ensure that all 21 employees of the agent who have contact with the public possess, 22 communication and customer service skills.

[For text of item B, see M.R.]
C. The individual must indicate a willingness to
successfully complete initial and annual training provided by
the commissioner as specified in part 7404.0500, subpart la.
Subp. 2. Certificate of appointment. The commissioner

21

## [REVISOR ] RR/JC AR3621

shall execute and sign a certificate of appointment that
 specifies the individual appointed as an agent, the approved
 office location, and the responsibility of the agent to accept
 applications.

5 A. The certificate of appointment must be signed by 6 the individual appointed.

When an appointment is made by the commissioner of 7 в. an individual designated by the county board or a municipal 8 authority, the certificate must also be signed by the authorized 9 representative of the county board or municipal authority. 10 The commissioner shall cancel a certificate of 11 с. appointment if the appointed agent fails to provide an 12 operational office that meets the requirements of this chapter 13 14 within 12 months of the date of the initial appointment by the commissioner. 15

16 Subp. 3. Bond. If an agent appointed under this chapter 17 is not an officer or employee of a county or municipality, the 18 agent shall give a surety bond to the state to cover the 19 application receipts accepted on behalf of the commissioner, and 20 equipment and inventory provided and maintained by the 21 commissioner.

A. The bond must be conditioned upon the faithfuldischarge of duties as an agent.

B. If an agent is also a deputy registrar or a registrar for the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources, the bond must be in addition to the bond required to be held to cover the deputy registrar vehicle title and registration or

22

11/21/07 [REVISOR ] RR/JC AR3621
1 Department of Natural Resources transactions.

2 [For text of items C and D, see M.R.]
3 E. For an initial appointment, the bond shall be
4 adjusted after the first 24 months of office operation.

5 F. The continuous bond must be adjusted every five 6 years, starting with the date of initial issuance for an 7 existing office, or starting with the date after the 24-month 8 adjustment for a new office, to reflect the total annual 9 application receipt amount and inventory value of the previous 10 calendar year.

11 Subp. 4. Change in agent designated by county or 12 municipality. An agent designated by a county board shall 13 notify the county board and commissioner, in writing, no less 14 than 30 days before the agent resigns, retires, or discontinues 15 service. If the office is vacated upon the death or 16 discontinuance of the agent, an official authorized by the 17 county board or municipality must notify the commissioner within 18 ten days of the vacancy.

Subp. 5. Transfer of appointment. An agent appointment may not be transferred to another individual or office without the approval of the commissioner.

22 7404.0400 AGENT OFFICE REQUIREMENTS.

Subpart 1. In general. An approved office location must comply with this part.

25 [For text of item A, see M.R.]

26 B. An existing agent must have an office that 27 complies with this part.

23

[REVISOR ] RR/JC 11/21/07 AR3621 Subp. 2. Variance. An existing agent may apply to the 1 commissioner for a variance from compliance with subpart 5, if 2 compliance constitutes a substantial hardship. 3 The agent may apply for a variance to the 4 Α. The commissioner shall consider the following commissioner. 5 factors when reviewing the variance request: 6 (1) why the office does not meet the 7 8 requirements; (2) the options available to the agent to bring 9 the office into compliance; 10 (3) the financial cost for meeting the options, 11 12 estimated with reasonable efforts; and (4) other information requested by the 13 14 commissioner or supplied by the agent. [For text of items B and C, see M.R.] 15 Subp. 3. Area for applications. An agent: 16 must have an office that contains a separate and 17 A. distinct area used exclusively for taking, processing, and 18 19 storing applications; may not use the application area for living space 20 в. or for transacting any other business, except that a deputy 21 registrar authorized by the commissioner may process vehicle 22 23 title and registration transactions, Department of Natural Resources transactions, and additional county transactions as 24 specified under Minnesota Statutes, section 373.33; 25 must install a counter or divider within the 26 С. 27 application area to separate the public from the secure

24

#### [REVISOR ] RR/JC AR3621

1 application review and processing areas of the office; and

D. must position the application equipment so the applicant can review and verify in a private manner that the application information is correct.

5 Subp. 4. Inventory and equipment. Inventory and equipment 6 must be maintained in a secure manner during and after business 7 hours.

The agent shall procure and maintain a secure 8 Α. dedicated telephone line as specified by the commissioner for 9 the transmission of license application data at each office site. 10 11 в. Any agent appointed after January 5, 1999, shall procure or lease and maintain at least one dedicated 12 vision-testing machine per office from a vendor specified by the 13 commissioner. The agent is responsible for the maintenance of 14 the vision-testing equipment in the agent's office. 15

16 C. Any agent establishing an office that did not 17 exist as of January 1, 2000, shall procure or lease, and 18 maintain, photo identification equipment from a vendor specified 19 by the commissioner. This equipment includes a dedicated 20 computer and all software and security features provided by the 21 vendor, and signature-capture equipment.

D. For an agent appointed as of January 1, 2000, who has photo identification and signature-capture equipment provided by the commissioner, the commissioner shall continue to provide and maintain the equipment.

26 E. If equipment or inventory is provided or 27 maintained by the commissioner at an existing office under

25

[REVISOR ] RR/JC 11/21/07 AR3621 Minnesota Statutes, section 171.061, subdivision 4, paragraph 1 (b), and the agent dies, retires, or discontinues service, the 2 equipment and inventory must revert to the commissioner unless 3 an agent is appointed to the existing office by the commissioner 4 under parts 7404.0350 and 7404.0360. All offices operated by a 5 county licensing bureau, county, or municipality, with the 6 commissioner's written permission, may retain the equipment and 7 remain in operation during the appointment process. 8 9 [For text of item F, see M.R.]

10 G. Where photo identification or vision-testing 11 equipment provided by the commissioner reverts back to the 12 commissioner, the equipment must be distributed according to 13 subitems (1) and (2).

14 [For text of subitems (1) and (2), see M.R.] 15 H. The agent must be able to communicate 16 electronically with the department using methods such as e-mail, 17 instant messaging, or text messaging.

18 Subp. 5. Size of office area. The size of the office area 19 includes the application area, the public service area, and the 20 inventory storage area.

A. The size of the office area must contain a minimum of 300 square feet of which no less than 100 square feet shall be dedicated as the public service area.

[For text of item B, see M.R.]

25 C. The agent office must be separate and distinct26 from any other business.

24

27 D. The office of a licensing agent that is also a

26

11/21/07 [REVISOR ] RR/JC AR3621
1 deputy registrar office must contain no less than 500 square
2 feet.
3 [For text of subps 6 and 7, see M.R.]

Subp. 8. Conflicting interests. An agent may not be
employed by, own, or have a financial interest as a partner,
officer, or five percent shareholder in, an entity that sells
vehicle insurance or operates a driver training program or
driver improvement clinic.

9 [For text of items A to C, see M.R.]

10 7404.0450 REPORTING AND DEPOSITING PRACTICES.

11 Subpart 1. Reporting applications; fees. A report of the 12 applications collected and all application and reinstatement 13 fees due and owed the state must be transmitted by the agent to 14 the commissioner each day the agent's office is open to the 15 public, before the end of the next working day, in an electronic 16 format or other means approved by the commissioner.

17

A. The report must:

(1) indicate the applicant's full name and date
of birth, or the applicant's Minnesota driver's license, permit,
or state identification card number;

(2) specify the type of application;
(3) list the application and reinstatement fees
collected; and

(4) include the completed applications.
B. The report must contain a financial statement
listing the total amount of application and reinstatement fees
collected and deposited under subparts 2 and 2a. The financial

27

# [REVISOR ] RR/JC AR3621

statement must provide the office location identification
 number, report number, report date, and total amount of the
 deposit for that report.

The report must be transmitted or delivered to the 4 C. commissioner, before the end of the next working day following 5 the collection of any applications or fees, by electronic 6 transfer or other alternative means approved by the commissioner. 7 D. All applications and fees collected in an agent's 8 office must be included on the report for the day the 9 applications and fees were collected in the office. 10 11 Ε. A minimum of one summary report must be completed for all applications and fees collected during each working day. 12 13 F. More than one report may be submitted for a working day with prior approval from the commissioner. 14 If an agent's office does not collect any 15 G. applications or fees on a working day the office is scheduled to 16 be open, a report must still be filed with the commissioner 17 indicating that no applications or fees were collected that day. 18 Supporting documents for applications listed on 19 н. the report must be delivered electronically or by other means 20 approved by the commissioner such as: 21 [For text of subitems (1) to (5), see M.R.] 22 Depositing application fees. Before the end of 23 Subp. 2.

each working day, each agent shall deposit an amount equal to the total of all application and reinstatement fees collected the previous working day, excluding the filing fees collected under Minnesota Statutes, section 171.061, subdivision 4.

28

## [REVISOR ] RR/JC AR3621

A. The agent shall make all deposits according to the requirements in subpart 2a.

B. The amount listed for the total of all application and reinstatement fees collected must cover any shortages for any applications processed and stamped as paid.

6 Subp. 2a. Reporting deposits to commissioner. On the date 7 the deposit of fees is due, the agent shall ensure that a 8 financial statement of the deposits made is reported to the 9 commissioner according to the procedures and in a format as 10 specified in this part.

11 A. All deposits must be made in a depository that12 meets the requirements in this subpart.

B. The depository must be authorized by the agent to allow the state to electronically withdraw funds from the agent's account in an amount equal to the application and reinstatement fees reported to the state.

17 C. Any depository used for the deposit of fees due18 and owed the state must either:

(1) be a state-designated depository; or
(2) meet the depository and collateral
requirements in Minnesota Statutes, section 9.031.

D. Any funds collected on a working day in excess of the total fees listed on the report, minus filing fees and imprest cash, must be deposited as application or reinstatement fees.

26 Subp. 2b. Reconciling reported excesses. If any agent 27 documents the need for a refund of a reported payment of excess

29

11/21/07 [REVISOR ] RR/JC AR3621
1 funds, the commissioner shall refund or credit the reported
2 excess funds if the submitted documentation substantiates the
3 reported excess.

Subp. 3. Maintaining records. At the agent's office, the agent shall keep complete records for deposits made to approved state depositories and the daily reports prepared under subpart 1.

8 [For text of items A and B, see M.R.] 9 C. The application, any attached documents, and the 10 information contained on the application or documents may not be 11 released by the agent without prior approval from the 12 commissioner, except when authorized by statute for law 13 enforcement personnel and by court order.

Subp. 3a. Destroying private or confidential data. Use, storage, or destruction of any media with private or confidential information must be done in such a way that the information is irretrievable and cannot be revealed to anyone not entitled to see it.

19 Subp. 4. Warning notice. On discovering a violation of 20 subpart 2 or 2a, the commissioner shall send a warning notice, 21 by certified mail, to the agent warning of the violation. The 22 warning notice must identify the violation and tell the agent 23 that if the agent violates subpart 2 or 2a again within 180 days 24 of the date on the notice, a late payment charge will be imposed.

25 Subp. 4a. Late payment charge; calculation. For each 26 subsequent violation of subpart 2 or 2a, the commissioner shall 27 impose a late payment charge of \$30 or an amount computed by the

30

11/21/07 [REVISOR ] RR/JC AR3621 following formula, whichever is greater. 1 2 Α. The number of calendar days for which payment is 3 late begins on the date on the late payment charge notice. The late payment notice must be issued by certified mail and contain 4 5 the information specified in subpart 5. 6 в. Calendar days late x delinquent amount x daily 7 rate = late payment charge, where: (1) calendar days late = actual number of 8 9 calendar days each deposit is delinquent; 10 (2) delinquent amount = actual amount each 11 deposit is delinquent; and 12 (3) daily rate = interest on all state funds 13 without authority to be invested separately, as determined by 14 the Minnesota Department of Finance, for the month the deposit 15 was due, divided by 365 days. 16 In determining the number of calendar days a С. 17. deposit or report is late, weekends and holidays shall be 18 included only if the deposit is determined by the commissioner 19 to be already at least two calendar days late. 20 D. The commissioner shall continue to impose monthly 21 late payment charges until the agent no longer is in violation 22 of this part. 23 Notice of late payment charge. The late payment Subp. 5. 24 charge notice must: 25 Α. identify the violations of subparts 2 and 2a and 26 Minnesota Statutes, section 171.061 for which the late payment 27 charge is imposed; and

31

## [REVISOR ] RR/JC AR3621

B. inform the agent when the late payment charge is due, how the late payment charge must be paid, and how to obtain a review of the late payment charge.

Subp. 6. Unpaid late payment charges. If a late payment charge remains unpaid for 30 days from the date the commissioner mailed the notice of late payment charge and if no review is requested, the commissioner shall make a claim for payment against the agent's bond, or in the case of a public official or employee serving as an agent, the commissioner shall demand payment from the county treasurer or municipality.

11 [For text of subps 7 and 8, see M.R.]

12 7404.0475 AUDIT.

Subpart 1. Biennial audit. At the request of the 13 commissioner, an agent shall make available for audit, for each 14 15 office of an agent, all applications and fees due and owed the commissioner and records for all applications occurring during 16 17 the state's biennial fiscal cycle. If the commissioner has 18 reasonable cause to believe another audit is necessary in addition to the biennial audit, the commissioner may order that 19 20 another audit be conducted at cost to the agent to address areas of the agent's biennial audit in which the commissioner was not 21 22 able to determine compliance.

Subp. 2. Scope of audit. The audit must cover the
application and reinstatement fees collected by the agent for
the previous two years. The audit report must include:
A. the auditor's opinion as described in subpart 3;
B. a report on internal controls as described in

32

### [REVISOR ] RR/JC AR3621

1 subpart 4;

2 C. a verification of imprest cash as required by
3 subpart 5;

D. any material weakness as described in subpart 6;
E. a response to the auditor's report by the agent;
and

7 F. other information as noted by the auditor. Subp. 3. Auditor's opinion; compliance and corrective 8 9 action; administrative sanctions. The auditor's opinion must 10 describe areas of compliance, noncompliance, and corrective 11 action and show a timetable for corrective action. Failure to 12 undertake corrective action or to meet timelines is cause for subsequent administrative action, including suspension or 13 revocation. 14

15 Subp. 4. Internal controls. The internal controls are the 16 internal procedures of the agent designed to ensure compliance 17 with the reporting and depositing requirements of this chapter. 18 The audit of internal controls must assess whether:

A. applications have been properly recorded andaccounted for;

21 B. reliable state reports have been prepared; and 22 C. control measures are in place that assure that 23 accountability over all application and reinstatement fees is 24 maintained by the agent.

25 Subp. 5. Verify imprest cash. The audit must include a 26 verification of the proper use of imprest cash as specified in 27 part 7404.0500, subpart 8, and report any discrepancies.

33

11/21/07 [REVISOR ] RR/JC AR3621 1 Subp. 6. Material weakness. The audit report must state 2 whether any material weaknesses were detected. Material weaknesses include: 3 inadequate safeguarding of state inventory, fees, 4 Α. or other state assets; 5 6 repeated overages or shortages; в. 7 C. delinguent fees or reports due to the state; D. failure to maintain proper reports and records; 8 material underreporting or overreporting of 9 Ε. 10 application or reinstatement fees; 11 failure to report the loss of equipment, F. 12 inventory, or fees due and owed the state; and 13 G. inattention to or lack of correction to previously 14 reported material weaknesses. 7404.0500 GENERAL OPERATING PRACTICES. 15 16 Subpart 1. Management of office. An agent shall manage the agent's office according to this part. 17 18 [For text of items A and B, see M.R.] 19 C. The manager must be an individual who is at least 18 years of age, actively participates in the acceptance of 20 21 applications, and is in the office on a full-time basis. 22 The manager shall act as a liaison between the D. 23 commissioner and the agent's office to discuss and address 24 problems or questions that may arise on a daily basis. 25 The agent shall ensure that only authorized Ε. 26 employees of the agent have access to data on the application, 27 supporting documents, and state records that are not public

34

11/21/07 [REVISOR ] RR/JC AR3621
1 data. The agent shall ensure that a record of the authorized
2 employees is kept in the office records on site.

Subp. la. Training.

3

A. Each agent or the agent's designated representative shall complete annual training when provided by the commissioner and any additional training deemed necessary by the commissioner to accept or process applications.

8 B. Each agent shall ensure that any staff in the 9 agent's office who accept or process applications are 10 subsequently trained by the agent or the agent's designated 11 representative.

12 C. A record of all training to accept and process 13 applications completed by the agent and agent's staff must be 14 maintained for three years by the agent in the agent's office. 15 Subp. lb. Customer service policy. The licensing agent 16 must have a customer service policy approved by the commissioner 17 that is applicable to each office operated by the agent.

A. The policy must ensure that all staff who accept
or process applications are properly trained and competent to
perform their duties.

B. The agent shall ensure that the public is treated
with courtesy, consideration, and respect and that the
customer's property is treated with respect.

C. The agent shall ensure that the public is providedwith complete, current, and accurate information.

26 D. The agent shall ensure that the applicant's 27 personal and private information is protected.

35

## [REVISOR ] RR/JC AR3621

1 If an investigation by the commissioner in Ε. response to a complaint indicates customer service training is 2 necessary, the agent or the agent's designated representative 3 shall complete customer service training provided by or approved 4 by the commissioner. The agent shall ensure that any staff who 5 accept or process applications are subsequently trained by the 6 7 agent or the agent's representative. A record of the subsequent customer service training must be maintained on site and 8 9 indicate the date of training and all individuals who completed 10 the training. 11 F. Each office operated by the agent must have a 12 system to receive, investigate, and resolve customer complaints. 13 (1) The agent must provide for a mechanism for customer comment or feedback about service. 14 15 (2) The office policy must indicate whom to 16 contact within the office with a complaint. 17 (3) When requested, the customer must be provided with the address and telephone number of an individual at the 18 19 Minnesota Department of Public Safety to contact with a 20 complaint. 21 (4) The customer must be assured there will be no retaliation for making a complaint. 22 (5) The customer must be assured there will be a 23 timely written response made by the agent about a written 24 complaint, if a written response is requested by the complainant 25 26 or the state. 27 (6) A record of each written complaint and the

36

11/21/07 [REVISOR ] RR/JC AR3621 1 licensing agent's response to it must be maintained by the agent at the office location for at least three years. 2 3 Subp. 2. Days and hours of operation. An agent's office must be open to the public at least 40 hours each week. 4 5 [For text of item A, see M.R.] 6 Β. At the time of appointment, the agent shall provide the commissioner: 7 with an accurate written schedule of the 8 (1)9 days and hours the office is open to the public; and 10 (2) the time of the daily close of office records. 11 C. A written request for a change in the days and 12 hours the office is open to the public must be made to the 13 commissioner at least ten calendar days before the change is expected to occur. 14 15 The commissioner must approve changes in the days D. 16 and hours the office is open to the public before the change 17 becomes effective. 18 Ε. The time of the daily close of office records may not be changed without prior written notice to the commissioner 19 20 at least 15 calendar days before the effective date of the 21 change. 22 Subp. 3. Closure of office; variance procedure. An office 23 must be open for at least 40 hours each week unless the 24 commissioner grants a variance to allow an office to be closed 25 for a specified period of time. 26 To request a variance for closure of an office for Α. 27 two working days or more, the agent must submit a written

37

	11/21/07 [REVISOR ] RR/JC AR3621
l	request to the commissioner.
2	[For text of items B to F, see M.R.]
3	[For text of subp 4, see M.R.]
4	Subp. 5. Application fees. An agent shall charge and
5	receive the full application fees specified by Minnesota
6	Statutes, chapter 171.
7	A. Rebates are prohibited.
8	B. No application or filing fees may be charged for a
9	document returned for a refund or correction due to an error
10	made by the department or an agent.
11	[For text of subp 6, see M.R.]
12	Subp. 7. [Withdrawn at SR]
13	[For text of subps 8 to 10, see M.R.]
14	Subp. 11. Displays. An agent shall exhibit, as directed
15	by the commissioner, any displays, notices, or other information
16	relating to applications that are provided by the commissioner.
17	7404.0800 ACTIONS FOR FAILURE TO COMPLY WITH LAWS OR RULES.
18	The failure of an agent or employee of an agent to comply
19.	with applicable laws or rules governing the appointment of an
20	agent and the operation of an office is cause for discontinuance
21	of the agent appointment using the grounds specified for a
22	deputy registrar under parts 7406.0900 to 7406.1000 and
23	following the procedures specified in parts 7406.1100 to
24	7406.2600. The commissioner may issue a correction order
25	according to the procedures in part 7406.1000. The grounds for
26	discontinuance of an agent appointment or issuance of a
27	correction order as specified in part 7406.1000 also include:

U,

38

11/21/07 [REVISOR ] RR/JC AR3621 1 [For text of items A and B, see M.R.] 2 с. grounds for denial of an appointment under part 7404.0360, subpart 7; 3 4 D. failure to successfully complete training required 5 by the commissioner; 6 Ε. loss of an appointment as a deputy registrar under 7 chapter 7406 or Minnesota Statutes, section 168.33; 8 F. conviction for a felony; and allowing unauthorized persons access to records, 9 G. 10 files, or data. 11 7404.0900 INDEMNIFICATION. 12 The agent and any agency or employee of the agent shall 13 hold the commissioner harmless from any and all claims or causes 14 of action against the agent or any employee or agency of the 15 agent, including all attorney fees incurred, arising from performance or actions not in accordance with this chapter, 16 17 Minnesota Statutes, or written instruction from the commissioner. 18 Minnesota Rules, parts 7404.0300, subpart 2; and REPEALER. 19 7404.0350, subparts 5, 6, and 7, are repealed.

39