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Pollution Control Agency

Adopted Permanent Rules Relating to Municipal Waste Combustors

7007.0501 ADDITIONAL CONTENTS REQUIRED IN A PERMIT APPLICATION
FOR A WASTE COMBUSTOR.

Subpart 1. Additional requirements. In addition to the information required by part
7007.0500, a person who requests an air emission permit for a waste combustor subject
to parts 7011.1201 to 7011.1290 shall submit to the commissioner the information

required by subparts 2 to 7.

[For text of subps 2 to 8, see M.R/]

7007.0801 CONDITIONS FOR AIR EMISSION PERMITS FOR WASTE
COMBUSTORS.

Subpart 1. Additional permit conditions. In addition to the conditions in part
7007.0800, an air emission permit for a waste combustor shall contain conditions as
specified in subpart 2 or 3. In amending, modifying, or reissuing a waste combustor’s air
emissions permit which contains a provision that restricts mercury emissions from the
facility, the commission shall, at a minimum, continue that permit restriction at the same

level unless the applicant demonstrates that no good cause exists to do so.

Subp. 2. Mixed municipal solid waste or refuse-derived fuel waste combustors. An
air emissions permit for a waste combustor combusting mixed municipal solid waste or

refuse-derived fuel shall:
[For text of items A to D, see M.R.]
E. require the implementation of an industrial waste management plan as

described in part 7011.1250;

F. for Class C, D, III, and IV waste combustors, require the implementation of a
plan as described in part 7011.1255 to identify, separate, and collect solid wastes which

contain mercury before the mercury is combusted; and ; Z
7007.0801 1 Approved by Revisor
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G. include operating conditions that ensure that the facility will continue to emit
mercury emissions less than 50 percent of the applicable standard if the waste
combustor elects to conduct annual mercury emissions testing as allowed in part
7011.1270 and Minnesota Statutes, section 116.85. If the permit must be amended in

order to include these conditions, the procedures of part 7007.1400 shall be used.

Subp. 3. Waste combustors of nonmixed municipal solid waste. An air emissions
permit for a waste combustor which does not combust mixed municipal solid waste or

refuse-derived fuel shall;

A. prohibit initiation of operation of the waste combustor unless the permittee has

an ash management plan approved by the commissioner;
B. provide a schedule for testing of waste combustor ash;

C. require the implementation of an industrial waste management plan as

described in part 7011.1250;

D. require the implementation of a plan as described in part 7011.1255 to identify,
separate, and collect solid wastes which contain mercury before the mercury is

combusted;

E. for Class IV waste combustors, require the installation and operation of
equipment necessary to achieve ambient pollutant concentrations that would have been
achieved with the use of the minimum stack height required in part 7011.1235, subpart
1; and

E. include operating conditions that ensure that the facility will continue to emit

mercury emissions less than 50 percent of the applicable standard if the waste

- combustor elects to conduct annual mercury emissions testing as allowed in part

7011.1270 and Minnesota Statutes, section 116.85. If the permit must be amended in
order to include these conditions, the procedures of part 7007.1400 shall be used.

7007.1400 ADMINISTRATIVE PERMIT AMENDMENTS.

7007.1400 5
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Subpart 1. Administrative amendments allowed. The agency may make the permit
amendments described in this subpart through the administrative permit amendment
process described in this part. An owner or operator of a stationary source shall request

an administrative amendment if changes are to be made under item B or E:

[For text of items A to F, see M.R/]
G. an amendment to clarify a permit term;

H. an amendment to extend a deadline in a permit by no more than 120 days,
provided that the agency may only extend a deadline established by an applicable
requirement described in part 7007.0100, subpart 7, items A to K, if the agency has been
delegated authority to make such extensions by the administrator. Notwithstanding the
previous sentence, the agency may do an administrative amendment to extend a testing
deadline in a permit up to 365 days if the agency finds that the extension is needed to
allow the permittee to test at worst case conditions as required by part 7017.2025,

subpart 2; and

I. an amendment to include operating conditions that ensure that waste

combustors emit mercury at less than 50 percent of the applicable standard.

[For text of subps 2 to 7, see M.R\]

7011.0551 RECORDKEEPING AND REPORTING FOR INDIRECT HEATING
UNITS COMBUSTING SOLID WASTE.

Subpart 1. Application. The owner or operator of indirect heating equipment
combusting mixed municipal solid waste; or refuse-derived fuel—or—industrial-solid
waste which makes up 30 percent or less by weight of total fuel input, as determined by
subpart 2, shall comply with the conditions of Minnesota Statutes, section 116.90, and
the conditions of this part. If the unit combusts more than 30 percent of mixed
municipal solid waste; or refuse-derived fuel, or-industrial-solid-waste; parts 7011.1201
to 7011.1290 apply.

7011.0551
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Subp. 2. Calculation. The fuel feed stream composition calculation shall be the ratio
of the weights of mixed municipal solid waste; and refuse-derived fuel,and-industrial
solid-waste to mixed municipal solid waste, refuse-derived fuel, industrial-sotid-waste;
and all other fuels delivered to the combustion chamber. The calculation shall be made

for each 24-hour period that the equipment is operated.

Subp. 3. Log. The owner or operator shall maintain an operating log where the date,
weights of mixed municipal solid waste; and refuse-derived fuel;-and—industrial-sotid
waste combusted, weight of each other fuel combusted, and the result of the calculation

made in subpart 2 is recorded daily.

Subp. 4. Report. The owner or operator shall submit to the commissioner a quarterly
report containing the date, weights of mixed municipal solid waste; and refuse-derived
fuel, and-industrial-solid-waste; and the weight of each other fuel combusted during the
quarter. The reports shall be submitted within 30 days following December 30, March

30, June 30, and September 30 of each year.

7011.0625 RECORDKEEPING AND REPORTING FOR DIRECT HEATING UNITS
COMBUSTING SOLID WASTE.

Subpart 1. Application. The owner or operator of direct heating equipment
combusting mixed municipal solid waste; or refuse-derived fuel,-er—industrial-selid
waste which makes up 30 percent or less by weight of total fuel weight input, as
determined by subpart 2, shall comply with the conditions of Minnesota Statutes,
section 116.90, and subparts 3 and 4. If the unit combusts more than 30 percent of mixed
municipal solid waste; or refuse-derived fuel, or-industrial-sotid-waste; parts 7011.1201
to 7011.1290 apply.

Subp. 2. Calculation. The fuel feed stream composition calculation shall be the ratio
of the weights of mixed municipal solid waste; and refuse-derived fuel;-and-industriat
solid-waste to mixed municipal solid waste, refuse-derived fuel, industrial-selid-waste;

7011.0625
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and all other fuels delivered to the combustion chamber. The calculation shall be made
for each 24-hour period that the equipment is operated.

Subp. 3. Log. The owner or operator shall maintain an operating log where the date,
weight of mixed municipal solid waste; and refuse-derived fuel, and-industrial-soltd
waste-combusted; weight of each other fuel combusted, and the result of the calculation
made in subpart 2 is recorded daily.

Subp. 4. Reports. The owner or operator shall submit to the commissioner a quarterly

report containing the date, weight of mixed municipal solid waste; and refuse-derived

fuel, and-industrial-selid-waste; and weight of each other fuel combusted during the
quarter. The reports shall be submitted within 30 days following December 30, March

30, June 30, and September 30 of each year.
7011.1201 DEFINITIONS.

Subpart 1. Scope. As used in parts 7007.0200, 7007.0250, 7007.0501, 7007.0801, and
7011.1201 to 7011.1290 the following words have the meanings defined in this part.

Subp. la. Statutes and other rules. The definitions in Minnesota Statutes, section
116.06, and in part 7001.0010 and chapters 7005, 7007, 7009, 7011, 7017, and 7019 apply
to terms in parts 7011.1201 to 7011.1290, unless the terms are specifically otherwise

defined in this part.

[For text of subps 5 and 6, see M.R.]

Subp. 7. [See repealer].

[For text of subp 8, see M.R/]

Subp. 9. Class A waste combustor. "Class A waste combustor" means that the tetal-of
the design eapacities capacity for alt a waste combustor units-at-a-stationary-settree unit
is 93.75 x 106 Btu/hr or more, the waste combustor units combust primarily mixed
municipal solid waste or RDF, and construction of the waste combustor was

commenced on or before September 20, 1994.

7011.
011.1201 5
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Subp. 10. [See repealer.]

Subp. 11. Class C waste combustor. "Class C waste combustor” means that the total
of the design cap‘acities for all waste combustor units at a stationary source is 15 x 106
Btu/hr or more and less than 93.75 x 106 Btu/hr, the waste combustor units combust
primarily mixed municipal solid waste or RDF, and construction of the waste combustor

was commenced on or before September 20, 1994.

[For text of subp 12, see M.R/]

Subp. 13. Class I waste combustor. "Class I waste combustor" means that the design
capacity for a waste combustor unit is 93.75 x 106 Btu/hr or more, and that construction
of the unit is commenced after September 20, 1994, or modification or reconstruction is

commenced after June 19, 1996.

Subp. 14. Class II waste combustor. "Class II waste combustor" means that the design
capacity for a waste combustor unit is 15 x 106 Btu/hr or more and less than 93.75 x 106
Btu/hr, and that construction of the unit is commenced after September 20, 1994, or

modification or reconstruction is commenced after June 19, 1996.

[For text of subps 15 and 16, see M.R\]

Subp. 17. Cofired unit. "Cofired unit" means an emissions unit which combusts
mixed municipal solid waste or RDF with a fuel that is not mixed municipal solid waste
or RDF and 30 percent or less by weight of the total fuel input is comprised in aggregate
of mixed municipal solid waste or RDF as measured on a 24-hour basis. The fuel feed
stream composition calculation shall be the ratio of the weights of mixed municipal
solid waste and RDF to mixed municipal solid waste, RDF, and all other fuels delivered

to the combustion chamber.

[For text of subps 18 to 20, see M.R/]

Subp. 21. Energy recovery facility. "Energy recovery facility" means an emissions
unit or emission facility used to capture the heat value of solid waste for conversion to

7011.1201 6
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steam, electricity, or immediate heat value by direct combustion or by burning an
intermediate fuel product derived from solid waste. For the purposes of parts 7011.1201
to 7011.1290, this definition does not include landfill facilities that recover methane
gases, or facilities processing solid waste to convert the solid waste to an intermediate

fuel product.

[For text of subps 22 to 29, see M.R\]

Subp. 30. Initial start-up. "Initial start-up" means the date on which solid waste is

first fired in a new, modified, retrofitted, or reconstructed emissions unit.

[For text of subp 31, see M.R\]

Subp. 32. Maximum demonstrated capacity. For waste combustors with heat
recovery, "maximum demonstrated capacity" means the maximum four-hour integrated
average load for each waste combustor unit achieved during four consecutive hours
during the most recent test during which compliance with the PCDD/PCDF limit in
part 7011.1225 is achieved, as measured by steam flow or alternative method as
approved by the commissioner. For waste combustors without heat recovery,
"maximum demonstrated capacity” means the maximum four-hour arithmetic average
input rate for each waste combustor unit achieved during the most recent test during
which compliance with the PCDD/PCDF limit was achieved. If PCDD/PCDF testing is
not required to be conducted, the maximum demonstrated capacity is the capacity
achieved during the conduct of the most recent test for which compliance with

particulate matter standards and carbon monoxide in part 7011.1225 is demonstrated.
[For text of subps 33 and 34, see M.R]

Subp. 34a. Modification or modified municipal waste combustor unit.

"Modification" or "modified municipal waste combustor unit' means a municipal waste

combustor unit to which changes have been made after June 19, 1996, if the cumulative

cost of the changes, over the life of the unit, exceed 50 percent of the original cost of

7011.1201
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construction and installation of the unit (not including the cost of any land purchased in
connection with such construction or installation) updated to current costs; or any
physical change in the municipal waste combustor unit or change in the method of
operation of the municipal waste combustor which increases the amount of any air
pollutant emitted by the unit for which standards have been established under section
129 or section 111 of the Clean Air Act. Increases in the amount of any air pollutant
emitted by the municipal waste combustor unit are determined at 100 percent physical
load capability and downstream of all air pollution control devices, with no
consideration given for load restrictions based on permits or other nonphysical

operational restrictions.

[For text of subp 35, see M.R]

Subp. 36. Normal start-up. "Normal start-up" means the period of time between the
initial start-up of a new, modified, retrofitted, or reconstructed emissions unit of a waste
combustor, or emissions unit of a waste combustor that is modified, retrofitted, or
reconstructed to meet the requirements of parts 7011.1201 to 7011.1290, and the lesser of
60 days after achieving the maximum production rate at which the emissions unit will
operate or 180 days after initial start-up.

If no modification, retrofit, or reconstruction of a Class D or IV waste combustor is
necessary to meet the requirements of parts 7011.1201 to 7011.1290, then normal start-up
means the period of time between June 20, 1994, and the applicable date in part
7011.1215, subpart 6.

If no modification, retrofit, or reconstruction of a Class A or C waste combustor is
necessary to meet the requirements of parts 7011.1201 to 7011.1290, then normal start-up
means the period of time between the effective date of this part and the date by which
the waste combustor must demonstrate compliance with waste combustor emission

standards of part 7011.1225, as allowed in part 7011.1215, subparts 5 and 5a.

7011.1201
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Subp. 36a. One-hour average. "One-hour average" means the arithmetic mean of all

the individual data points collected by a monitor in an hour. Each hourly average

begins at the top of the hour and ends at the top of the succeeding hour.

[For text of subps 37 to 42, see M.R/]

Subp. 42a. Reconstruction. "Reconstruction” means rebuilding a municipal waste
combustor unit for which the reconstruction commenced after June 19, 1996, and the
cumulative costs of the construction over the life of the unit exceed 50 percent of the
original cost of construction and installation of the unit (not including any cost of land
purchased in connection with the construction or installation) updated to current costs

(current dollars).

[For text of subp 43, see M.R/]

Subp. 43a. Retrofit. "Retrofit’ means the installation of air pollution control,
combustion, or monitoring equipment to a waste combustor for purposes of reducing
air pollution emissions. If installing air pollution control equipment, combustion
equipment, or monitoring equipment would be a modification as defined in subpart

34a, or reconstruction as defined in subpart 42a, then the activity is not a retrofit.
[For text of subps 44 and 45, see M.R.]

Subp. 45a. Tires. "Tires" has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, section

115A.90, subdivision 7.

Subp. 46. Waste combustor. "Waste combustor' means any emissions unit or
emission facility where mixed municipal solid waste, solid waste, or refuse-derived fuel
is combusted, and includes incinerators, energy recovery facilities, or other combustion
devices. A metals recovery incinerator is a waste combustor. A combustion device

combusting primarily wood, or at least 70 percent fossil fuel and wood in combination

with up to 30 percent papermill wastewater treatment plant sludge, is not a waste
combustor. A soil treatment facility, paint burn-off oven, wood heater, or residential

tireplace is not a waste combustor.
7011.1201
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Subp. 47. [See repealer.]

[For text of subps 48 to 50, see M.R.]

7011.1205 INCORPORATIONS BY REFERENCE.

For the purpose of parts 7007.0501, 7007.0801, and 7011.1201 to 7011.1290, the
documents in items A to C are incorporated by reference. These documents are subject
to frequent change.

| [For text of items A te-€ and B, see M.R\]
C. The following material is available from the American Society of Mechanical

Engineers (ASME), 345 East 47th Street, New York, New York 10017 or from the State

Law Library, Judicial Center, 25 Constitution Avenue, Saint Paul, Minnesota 55155.

(1) Standards for the Qualification and Certification of Resource Recovery

Facility Operators, ASME QRO-1-198%-Marech-19961994, May 199%4.

[For text of subitems (2) and (3), see M.R\]

7011.1210 NOTIFICATION REQUIRED OF CLASS IV WASTE COMBUSTORS.

[For text of subpart 1, see M.R.]

Subp. 2. Waste combustors at hospitals. The owner or operator of a Class IV waste
combustor located at a hospital and installed after June 20, 1994, shall notify the
commissioner 90 days prior to the installation of the waste combustor. The notice
submitted by the owner or operator of this Class IV waste combustor shall contain the

information in items A to H.

[For text of items A to G, see M.R.]

H. The signature of the owner or operator with the following certification:

I certify under penalty of law that this document and all attachments were
prepared under my direction or supervision in accordance with a system designed

to assure that qualified personnel properly gather and evaluate the information

011.
7011.1210 10
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submitted. Based on my inquiry of the person or persons who manage the system, or
those persons directly responsible for gathering the information, the information
submitted is, to the best of my knowledge and belief, true, accurate, and complete.
Further, the waste combustor complies with the design, installation, and operating
requirements of Minnesota Rules, parts 7011.1201 to 7011.1290, applicable to a

Class IV waste combustor."

70111215 APPLICABILITY OF STANDARDS OF PERFORMANCE FOR WASTE
COMBUSTORS.

Subpart 1. Waste combustors. A person who constructs, modifies, reconstructs, or
operates a waste combustor shall comply with parts 7011.1201 to 7011.1290, except as
provided in subparts 2, 2a, and 3.

[For text of subp 2, see M.R\]

Subp. 2a. Units combusting tires or fuel derived from tires. A waste combustor
burning a single-item waste stream of tires or fuel derived from tires is not subject to
parts 7011.1201 to 7011.1290 if the owner or operator notifies the commissioner in
writing of its intent to combust only tires, and provides data documenting that the unit

qualifies for this exemption.

Subp. 2b. Units combusting industrial-solid waste contaminated with used oil. A

76116506t 7011-0551+-0r-7011-0600-to- 70110625 An owner of a solid-fuel-fired indirect

or direct heating source burning fossil fuel with only wastes contaminated with used oil

generated by the owner is not subject to parts 7011.1201 to 7011.1290.

Subp. 3. Exemptions from standards of performance. Crematoria, pathological waste
combustors, and waste combustors used solely for the disposal of animal carcasses are
exempt from the requirements of parts 7011.1210 to 7011.1290, and shall meet the

conditions of this subpart.

7011.1215 11
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[For text of items A to C, see M.R.]

| Subp. 4. Standards. The standards of parts 7011.1227, 7011.1228, 7011.1229, 7011.1230,
7011.1231, 7011.1233, 7011.1240, subpart 2, and 7011.1272, subpart 2, apply at all times
when waste is being continuously burned, except during periods of start-up, shutdown,
or malfunction, provided that the duration of start-up, shutdown, or malfunction does
not exceed three hours. Fugitive emissions standards applicable to ash conveying
systems do not apply during maintenance and repair of ash conveying systems.
"Malfunction”" means any sudden and unavoidable failure of air pollution control
equipment or process equipment or of a process to operate in a normal or usual manner.
Failures that are caused entirely or in part by poor maintenance, careless operation, or

any other preventable upset condition or preventable equipment breakdown are not

considered malfunctions.

The start-up period commences when the waste combustor begins the continuous
burning of solid waste and does not include any warm-up period when the waste

combustor is combusting fossil fuel or other solid fuel.

Continuous burning is the continuous, semicontinuous, or batch feeding of solid
waste for purposes of waste disposal, energy production, or providing heat to the
combustion system in preparation for waste disposal or energy production. The use of
solid waste solely to provide thermal protection of the grate or hearth during the
start-up period when municipal solid waste is not being fed to the grate is not

considered to be continuous burning.

Subp. 5. Transition for Class A waste combustors. The application of the waste

combustor standards to Class A waste combustors are described in this subpart.

A. Class A waste combustors shall demonstrate compliance with parts 7011.1201 to
7011.1290 by 60 days after the effective date of this part, except that the conditions of
part 7011.1240, subpart 1, shall be met according to the schedule in part 7011.1240,

subpart 1a.

7011.1215 12
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B. If the Class A waste combustor cannot comply with these waste combustor
standards by 60 days after the effective date of this part, the waste combustor shall cease
operating 60 days after the effective date of this part. If the waste combustor cannot
comply by 60 days after the effective date of this part, and elects to continue operating,
the waste combustor owner or operator shall submit to the commissioner by 30 days

after the effective date of this part a schedule that contains the following items:
(1) a compliance schedule that contains the following milestones:
(a) a final control plan;

(b) the date that the owner or operator will award contracts for emission
control systems or for process modifications, or issue orders for the purchase of
component parts to accomplish emission control or process modifications described in
the final control plan;

(c) the date that the owner or operator will initiate on-site construction or

installation of emissions control or process changes;

(d) the date that the owner or operator will complete on-site construction or

installation of emissions control or process changes; and

(e) the date that the owner or operator will demonstrate compliance with the

emissions limitations and monitoring requirements of parts 7011.1201 to 7011.1290. This

date shall not be any later than December 19, 2000; and

(2) for each waste combustor whose compliance schedule shows that the unit
will not achieve the emission limits of part 7011.1225 by 60 days after the effective date
of this part, the results of a performance test for PCDD/PCDF emissions from each
waste combustor unit. If a facility contains identical waste combustor units, only one of
the identical units needs to be tested. The owner or operator shall provide an
explanation with the submittal of why the units can be assumed to be identical. The
performance test shall have been conducted during or after the year 1990. The

performance test shall be conducted according to the procedures of part 7011.1265.

7011.1215 13
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C. Physical or operational changes made to a Class A waste combustor unit
primarily for the purpose of complying with the emission limits in parts 7011.1201 to
7011.1290 prior to December 19, 2000, are not considered in determining whether the
unit is a modified or reconstructed waste combustor subject to the requirements of Code

of Federal Regulations, title 40, part 60, subpart Ea or Eb.

Subp. 5a. Transition for Class C waste combustors. A Class C waste combustor shall
demonstrate compliance with parts 7011.1201 to 7011.1290 by 60 days from the effective
date of this rule.

[For text of subp 6, see M.R.]

7011.1220 PROHIBITIONS.

[For text of subpart 1, see M.R/]

Subp. 2. Solid wastes requiring special approval. No waste combustor shall combust
yard waste or tires unless specifically allowed to do so in the air emission permit for the

waste combustor.
7011.1225 STANDARDS OF PERFORMANCE FOR WASTE COMBUSTORS.
Subpart 1. Class A or C waste combustor.

A. No owner or operator of a Class A or C waste combustor shall cause to be
emitted into the atmosphere from each waste combustor unit gases in excess of the
applicable standards of performance shown in parts 7011.1227 and 7011.1228.
Emissions, except opacity, shall be calculated under standard conditions corrected to
seven percent oxygen on a dry volume basis. An owner or operator of a mixed
municipal solid waste or RDF waste combustor may determine compliance with the
emission limitations using carbon dioxide measurements corrected to an equivalent of

seven percent oxygen.

B. No owner or operator of a Class A or C waste combustor shall cause to be

emitted into the atmosphere visible emissions of combustion ash from an ash conveying

7011.1225 14
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system, or buildings or enclosures of ash conveying systems, including conveyor
transfer points, in excess of five percent of the observation period (i.e. 9 minutes per
three-hour period), as determined by Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, part 60,
Appendix A, Method 22, as amended. This limit does not apply to visible emissions

discharged inside buildings or enclosures of ash conveying systems.

Subp. 2. Class I or II waste combustors. No owner or operator of a Class I or II waste
combustor shall cause to be emitted into the atmosphere from each waste combustor

unit gases in excess of the standards of performance shown in part 7011.1230.

[For text of subps 3 to 5, see M.R.]

7011.1227 TABLE 1.

The table in this part governs emission limitations for Class A and C waste combustor
units. For acid gas limitations, either the applicable percent reduction or the parts per
million by volume emission limitation, whichever is less stringent, is the emission

limitation for the waste combustor.

Class C Class A
Particulate Matter
Front-half 0.012 gr/dscf
Total 0.020 gr/dscf 0.020 gr/dscf
PCDD/PCDF
Total 500 ng/dscm 30 ng/dscm
Acid Gases:
Hydrogen chloride NA 95% control
or 29 ppm
Sulfur dioxide NA 75% control
or 29 ppm
Carbon Monoxide
Modular starved air 50 ppm 50 ppm
Modular excess air 50 ppm 50 ppm
Mass burn waterwall 100 ppm 100 ppm
7011.1227

15
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Mass burn
refractory

Mass burn rotary
refractory

Mass burn rotary
waterwall

Bubbling fluidized
bed

Circulating
fluidized bed

Pulverized coal/
refuse-derived
fuel mixed fuel-
fired combustor

Spreader stoker
coal /refuse-
derived fuel
mixed fuel-fired
combustor

RDF stoker

Opacity

Mercury (short-term)

Modular with ESP
Mass burn

Modular, mass
burn, or fluidized
bed with wet

or dry scrubber

For all waste
combustors
except those
combusting RDF
in spreader
stokers

Waste combustor
units combusting
RDF in spreader

7011.1227

100 ppm
100 ppm
250 ppm
100 ppm

100 ppm

NA

NA
150 ppm

10%
1,000 pg/dscm
1,000 pg/dscm

100 pg/dscm
or 85%
removal

NA

NA
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100 ppm
100 ppm
250 ppm
100 ppm

100 ppm

150 ppm

200 ppm
200 ppm

10%
NA
NA

NA

80 pug/dscm or

" 85% removal

50 pg/dscm or
85% removal
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stokers (90-day
test interval)

Mercury (long-term)

Modular with ESP 600 ng/dscm NA
Mass burn 600 ug/dscm

Modular, mass 60 ug/dscm NA
burn, or fluidized or 85%

bed with wet removal

or dry scrubber

For all waste NA 60 pg/dscm or
combustors 85% removal

except those
combusting RDF
in spreader
stokers

Waste combustor NA 30 ug/dscm or
units combusting 85% removal
RDF in spreader

stokers (90-day

test interval)

Waste combustor NA 30 ug/dscm or
units combusting 85% removal
RDF in spreader

stokers (12-month

test interval)

Cadmium NA 40 ug/dscm
Lead NA 440 ug/dscm

7011.1228 NITROGEN OXIDES LIMITS FOR CLASS A WASTE COMBUSTORS.

The nitrogen oxides emission limits in Table A apply to each waste combustor unit at
a Class A waste combustor facility. The owner or operator shall use the procedures of
part 7011.1260 for determining compliance with the nitrogen oxides emission limits of

Table A.

7011.1228 17
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Alternatively, an owner or operator may average nitrogen oxide emissions across the
waste combustor facility according to the procedures in Code of Federal Regulations,
title 40, section 60.33b(d)(1), as amended. Waste combustor units for which emissions

averaging is used shall not exceed the nitrogen oxide emission limits in Table B.

TABLE A
Municipal Waste Combustor Nitrogen Oxides Emission Limit
Technology (parts per million by volume)
Mass burn waterwall 205
Mass burn rotary waterwall 205
Refuse-derived fuel combustor 250
Fluidized bed combustor 180

TABLE B
Municipal Waste Combustor Nitrogen Oxides Emission Limit
Technology (parts per million by volume)
Mass burn waterwall 180
Refuse-derived fuel combustor 230
Fluidized bed combustor 220

Before a waste combustor owner or operator may implement emissions averaging,
the owner or operator shall identify units that are included in the nitrogen oxides
emissions averaging plan in either the compliance report required by part 7017.2035 that
contains the results of the units’ initial performance tests required by part 7011.1270,
item A, subitem (1), or in the annual report required in part 7011.1285, as applicable
prior to implementing the averaging plan. The units being included in the averaging
plan may be redesignated every calendar year. Partial year averaging is allowable upon

written commissioner approval.
7011.1229 TABLE 2.

The table in this part governs emission limitations for a Class II waste combustor. For

acid gas limitations, either the applicable percent reduction or the parts per million by

7011.1229 18
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volume emission limitation, whichever is less stringent, is the emission limitation for the

waste combustor.

Size

Particulate Matter
Front-half
Total

PCDD/PCDF
(total)

Acid Gases
HC1
SOy

Carbon monoxide
Modular
Mass burn or
fluidized
bed
RDF stoker

Opacity
NOy

Mercury (short-term)
Modular

Mass Burn
RDF (90-day test

interval)
FBC

Mercury (long-term)
Modular

7011.1229

Class 11

0.015 gr/dscf
0.020 gr/dscf

30 ng/dscm

90% control or 25 ppm
80% control or 30 ppm

50 ppm

100 ppm
150 ppm

10%

NA

100 pug/dscm
or 85% removal
100 pg/dscm
or 85% removal
50 ug/dscm

or 85% removal
100 pg/dscm
or 85% removal

60 ug/dscm
or 85% removal
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Mass burn 60 pg/dscm

or 85% removal
RDF (90-day test 30 pg/dscm
interval) or 85% removal
FBC 60 pg/dscm

or 85% removal
RDEF (12-month 30 pg/dscm
test interval) or 85% removal

7011.1230 STANDARDS OF PERFORMANCE FOR CLASS I MUNICIPAL WASTE
COMBUSTORS.

Subpart 1. Scope. The owner or operator of a Class I waste combustor shall comply
with the emission limits, notification, monitoring, testing, recordkeeping, and reporting
requirements of the new source performance standards incorporated in part 7011.1290,
except as pfovided in subpart 2. In addition, the owner or operator shall comply with

the following limitations:

A. if the owner or operator chooses to comply with the operator certification
requirements of Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, section 60.54b, as amended, by
obtaining certification through the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency, then the owner
or operator shall comply with parts 7011.1240, subpart 1, 7011.1281; 7011.1282;
7011.1283; and 7011.1284;

B. the general waste combustor facility requirements of part 7011.1245;
C. industrial solid waste management plan requirements of part 7011.1250;

D. the reporting and response requirements to exceedance of continuously

monitored emissions in part 7011.1260, subpart 7;

E. the reporting and response requirements in part 7011.1265, subpart 11, if an

exceedance is measured during the conduct of a performance test; and

F. the test or monitoring frequency for a waste composition study of part

7011.1270, item E.

7011.1230 20
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Subp. 2. Mercury emission limitations. Instead of the mercury emission limits
contained in Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, sections 60.52b(a)(5), 60.58b(d)(2)(ix),
and 60.58b(d)(2)(x), as amended, the owner or operator of a Class I waste combustor
shall comply with the mercury emission limits described in this subpart and the testing

and reporting requirements of parts 7011.1265, subpart 2; and 7011.1270, item E.

Class1
Mercury (short-term)
For all waste 80 pug/dscm or
combustors except 85% removal
those combusting RDF
in spreader stokers
Waste combustor 50 ug/dsecm or
units combusting RDF 85% removal
in spreader stokers
(90-day test
interval)
Mercury (long-term)
For all waste 60 png/dscm or
combustors except 85% removal
those combusting RDF
in spreader stokers
Waste combustor 30 pg/dscm or
units combusting RDF 85% removal
in spreader stokers
(90-day test
interval)
Waste combustor 30 pg/dscm or
units combusting RDF 85% removal

in spreader stokers
(12-month test
interval)

7011.1230 21
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7011.1235 REQUIREMENTS OF CLASS IV WASTE COMBUSTORS.
[For text of subps 1 and 2, see M.R/]
‘Subp. 2a. Use of auxiliary fuel. Auxiliary fuel shall be used to maintain the operating
temperatures required in subpart 2 from the time the solid waste feed has been
discontinued until the combustion chamber is clear of combustible material or active

combustion ceases to exist in the combustion chamber.
[For text of subp 3, see M.R\]

7011.1240 OPERATING REQUIREMENTS.

Subpart 1. Presence of certified operator. The person described in this subpart shall
be present at the waste combustor facility at all times when solid waste is being
combusted, except as provided in subpart 1a.

A, For Class A, C, I, or II waste combustors, either a chief facility operator or shift

supervisor who holds a certificate as described in part 7011.1281, subpart 1.

B. For Class D and III waste combustors, either a chief facility operator or shift

supervisor who holds a certificate as described in part 7011.1280.

C. For Class IV waste combustors, the operator supervisor shall hold a certificate

as described in part 7011.1280.
Subp. la. Transition period for certifying operators. Notwithstanding subpart 1,
operators shall be certified within the time frames described in items A to C.
A. For Class A and C waste combustors:

(1) on the effective date of this part or until the conditions of subitems (2) to (4)

are met, chief facility operators; and shift supervisors;and-controlroomoperators shall

hold a certificate as described in part 7011.1280;

(2) within 12 months of the effective date of this part, all chief facility operators

and shift supervisors employed on the effective date of this part shall have obtained full

certification as described in part 7011.1281;
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(3) notwithstanding subitem (2), within six months of the initial start-up of a
waste combustor unit or associated air pollution control equipment, all chief facility
operators and shift supervisors shall have obtained full certification as described in part
7011.1281; and

(4) notwithstanding subitem (2) or (3), individuals, if assuming the duties of

chief facility operator or shift supervisor after the effective date of this part, shall have

obtained full certification as described in part 7011.1281 within six months of assuming

such duties; and

(5) within 12 months of the effective date of this part, control room operators

shall obtain certification as described in part 7011.1280. After 12 months from the

effective date of this part, individuals, if assuming the duties of control room operator

for the first time, shall obtain certification as described in part 7011.1280 within six

months of assuming such duties.

B. For Class I and II waste combustors;:

(1) within six months of the initial start-up of a waste combustor unit, all chief

facility operators and shift supervisors shall have obtained full certification, or have

scheduled the exam appropriate to the certification being sought as described in part

7011.1281; and

(2) notwithstanding subitem (1), individuals, if assuming the duties of chief

facility operator or shift supervisor after six months after the initial start-up of a waste

combustor unit, shall obtain full certification as described in part 7011.1281 within six

months of assuming such duties.

Subp. 2. Particulate matter control device operating temperature. The inlet gas
stream to each particulate matter control device on a waste combustor as measured by
part 7011.1260, subpart 4, item A, shall have a temperature of no greater than 30 degrees

Fahrenheit above the highest four-hour arithmetic mean temperature measured during
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four consecutive hours for this gas stream during the most recent performance test for
polychlorinated  dibenzo-p-dioxins and polychlorinated dibenzofurans that

demonstrated compliance at-al-times-when-—sotid-waste-is-beingeombusted, except as

allowed in items A and B.

A. For Class A, C, and II waste combustors, during the annual PCDD/PCDF
performance test and the two weeks preceding the annual PCDD/PCDF performance

test, no particulate matter control device temperature limitations are applicable.

B. For Class A, C, and II waste combustors, the commissioner shall waive the
particulate matter control device temperature limits for the purpose of evaluating
system performance, testing new technology or control technologies, diagnostic testing,
or related activities for the purpose of improving facility performance or advancing the
state-of-the-art for controlling facility emissions, provided a written notification is
submitted to the commissioner 30 days prior to undertaking any of the activities

identified in this item, with the following information:

(1) a description of the proposed project, and the outcome the project is
designed to evaluate;

(2) how the project conforms with the activities described in this subpart for
which the temperature limit can be waived; and

(3) the length of time the project will take to complete.

The commissioner shall approve the waiving of the particulate matter control device
operating temperature limits provided that the project conforms with the activities
described in this subpart for which the temperature limit can be waived, and the project

can be accomplished within 14 days.

Subp. 3. Start-up on waste prohibited. During start-up from a cold furnace, auxiliary
fuels shall be used to achieve combustion chamber operating temperature. The use of

solid waste solely to provide thermal protection of the grate or hearth during the

7011.1240 24
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start-up period when solid waste is not being fed to the grate is not considered to be

continuous burning.
Subp. 4. [See repealer.]

Subp. 5. Range of operation. No owner or operator of a waste combustor shall
operate the waste combustor while combusting solid waste at a level above 110 percent
of the maximum demonstrated capacity of the combustion system, except as allowed in
items A and B, without conducting a performance test under part 7011.1265, which
demonstrates compliance with the emission limitations of part 7011.1225 at greater than

110 percent of the maximum demonstrated capacity.

A. For Class A, C, and II waste combustors, during the annual PCDD/PCDF
performance test and the two weeks preceding the annual PCDD/PCDEF performance

test, no waste combustor maximum demonstrated capacity is applicable.

B. For Class A, C, and II waste combustors, the commissioner shall waive the
maximum demonstrated capacity limit for the purpose of evaluating system
performance, testing new technology or control technologies, diagnostic testing, or
related activities for the purpose of improving facility performance or advancing the
state-of-the-art for controlling facility emissions, provided a written notification is
submitted to the commissioner 30 days prior to undertaking any of the activities

identified in this item, with the following information:

(1) a description of the proposed project, and the outcome the project is

designed to evaluate;

(2) how the project conforms with the activities described in this subpart for

which the maximum demonstrated capacity limit can be waived; and

(3) the length of time the project will take to complete.

The commissioner shall approve the waiving of the maximum demonstrated capacity
limits provided that the project conforms with the activities described in this subpart for
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which the operating capacity limit can be waived, and the project can be accomplished

within 14 days.

Subp. 6. [See repealer.]

[For text of subps 7 to 9, see M.R/]

7011.1260 CONTINUOUS MONITORING.

Subpart 1. Combustion chamber temperature monitor. The owner or operator of a
Class D, III, or IV waste combustor shall install and operate at all times temperature
monitors that continuously read and record the temperature at the point in the
combustion unit one second downstream of the entrance of the last overfire or
secondary air injection. The owner or operator may elect to place temperature monitors
at another point downstream from the entrance of the last overfire or secondary air
injection, provided that the owner or operator conducts mapping of the operating
combustion chambers to develop temperature isopleths and correlates these
temperatures to the downstream temperature monitors. The averaging period for
combustion chamber temperatures shall be four-hour arithmetic block averages
calculated from four one-hour arithmetic averages. Each one-hour arithmetic average’

shall consist of at least ten data points equally spaced in time.

Subp. 2. Particulate matter control device temperature monitors. The owner or
operator of a waste combustor shall install, calibrate, maintain, and operate at all times
temperature monitors that continuously read and record the temperatures of the flue

gas at the inlet of each particulate matter control device.

Subp. 3. Continuous monitors. The owner or operator of a waste combustor shall

install, calibrate, maintain, and operate a continuous monitoring system when burning

solid waste. Monitoring systems that continuously read and record the following

outputs shall be installed:
A. in Class III, A, C, or D waste combustors:

7011.1260 2%
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[For text of subitems (1) to (3), see M.R\]

(4) for oxygen or carbon dioxide at each location where carbon monoxide, sulfur
dioxide, or nitrogen oxides emissions are monitored, to report corrected concentrations
of regulated pollutants;

[For text of items B and C, see M.R.]

Subp. 4. Averaging periods. Except as provided in this subpart and subpart subparts
4a _and 5, the requirements of part 7017.1000 apply to continuous monitoring data

collection, reduction, and averaging periods.

A. For particulate matter control device inlet temperature monitoring, four-hour
arithmetic block averages calculated from four eontintotts consecutive one-hour

arithmetic averages.

[For text of item B, see M.R.]

C. At waste combustors other than mass burn rotary waterwall combustors or RDF
waste combustors for carbon monoxide, a four-hour block average. For mass burn
rotary waterwall combustors or RDF stokers, the averaging period for carbon monoxide
shall be a daily 24-hour arithmetic average measured between 12 midnight and the
following midnight. The four-hour and 24-hour average shall be calculated from
one-hour arithmetic averages. At least four points equally spaced in time shall be used

to calculate each one-hour average. During periods of calibration, quality assurance

audits, and routine maintenance, only two data points during the hour, at least 15

minutes apart, are required to calculate an hourly average. Each one-hour average shall

be corrected to seven percent oxygen on an hourly basis using the one-hour arithmetic

average of the oxygen or carbon dioxide continuous emissions monitoring system.

D. For sulfur dioxide, the geometric average of the one-hour arithmetic average
emission concentration during each 24-hour daily period measured from midnight to

midnight. At least four data points equally spaced in time shall be used to calculate each
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one-hour arithmetic average. During periods of calibration, quality assurance audits,

and routine maintenance, only two data points during the hour, at least 15 minutes

apart, are required to calculate an hourly average. Each one-hour average shall be

corrected to seven percent oxygen on an hourly basis using the one-hour arithmetic

average of the oxygen or carbon dioxide continuous emissions monitoring system.

E. For nitrogen oxides, the arithmetic average of the one-hour arithmetic average
emission concentration during each 24-hour daily period measured from midnight to
midnight. At least four data points equally spaced in time shall be used to calculate each

one-hour arithmetic average. During periods of calibration, quality assurance audits,

and routine maintenance, only two data points during the hour, at least 15 minutes

apart, are required to calculate an hourly average. Each one-hour average shall be

corrected to seven percent oxygen on an hourly basis using the one-hour arithmetic

average of the oxygen or carbon dioxide continuous emissions monitoring system.
[For text of item F, see M.R.]
G. For oxygen or carbon dioxide, a one-hour average.
Subp. 4a. Calculation of sulfur dioxide and nitrogen oxide emissions.

A. Compliance with the sulfur dioxide emission limit and percent reduction shall

be determined by using a continuous emission monitor to measure sulfur dioxide and

calculating a 24-hour daily geometric mean emission concentration and daily geometric

mean percent reduction using Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, part 60, Appendix

A, Method 19, section 5.4, as amended, to determine the daily geometric average

percent reduction in the potential sulfur dioxide emission concentration. For waste

combustors which do not operate continuously, compliance shall be determined using a

daily geometric mean of all hourly average values for the hours during the day that the

facility is operated.

B. Compliance with the nitrogen oxides emission standards shall be determined by
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using a continuous emission monitor for measuring nitrogen oxides and calculating a

24-hour daily arithmetic average emission concentration using Code of Federal

Regulations, title 40, part 60, Appendix A, Method 19, section 4.1, as amended. For

waste combustors which do not operate continuously, compliance shall be determined

using an arithmetic mean of all hourly average values for the hours during the day that

the facility is operated.

Subp. 5. Installation and operation of continuous monitors. The owner or operator

of a waste combustor with continuous monitors shall comply with the requirements of

part 7017.1000, except as provided in items A to H I.

[For text of item A, see M.R.]

B. Continuous monitors shall be operated so as to measure and record data for at
least 75 percent of the hours per day for 90 percent of the days of the calendar quarter

that the waste combustor is operating and combusting solid waste.

[For text of item C, see M.R.]

D. When continuous emissions data for sulfur dioxide removal efficiency, sulfur
dioxide or nitrogen oxide emission rates, or carbon monoxide are not obtained because
of monitor breakdowns, repairs, calibration checks, and zero and span adjustments,
emission data calculations to determine compliance shall be made using the following

methods:

(1) for sulfur dioxide removal efficiency or sulfur dioxide or nitrogen oxide

emission rates-othe

by-the-commissioner-or concentrations, Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, part 60,

Appendix A, Method 19, as amended, to provide valid emission data in order to meet

the requirements of item B. For waste combustors other than Class A, other monitoring

systems or other data collection methods may be used as approved by the

commissioner; and
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(2) for carbon monoxide,

methods-as-approved-by-the-commissioner-or Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, part

60, Appendix A, Method 10, as amended, to provide valid emission data in order to

meet the requirements of item B. For waste combustors other than Class A, other

monitoring systems or other data collection methods may be used as approved by the

commissionet.

E. Zero drift and span drift checks of emission monitoring systems shall be
conducted in accordance with Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, section 60.13, as

amended.

F. Span values for continuous monitors shall be as described in subitems (1) to (4).

Dual scale monitors may be used to monitor emissions beyond the ranges specified in

subitems (1) to (4).

(1) The span value of the sulfur dioxide continuous monitors at the inlet to the
sulfur dioxide control device is 125 percent of the maximum estimated hourly potential
sulfur dioxide emissions of the waste combustor unit, and the span value of the monitor
at the outlet of the sulfur dioxide control device is 50 percent of the maximum estimated

hourly potential sulfur dioxide emissions of the waste combustor unit.

(2) The span value of the nitrogen oxides continuous monitors shall be 125
percent of the maximum estimated hourly potential nitrogen oxides emissions of the
waste combustor unit.

(3) The span value of the oxygen or carbon dioxide monitor shall be 25 percent
oxygen or carbon dioxide.

(4) The span value of the carbon monoxide monitor shall be 125 percent of the
maximum estimated hourly potential carbon monoxide emissions of the waste
combustor unit.

G. Quarterly accuracy determinations, daily calibration drift tests, and annual
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relative accuracy test audits shall be performed in accordance with procedures in Code
of Federal Regulations, title 40, part 60, Appendix F, as amended, for sulfur dioxide,
nitrogen oxides, carbon monoxide, and oxygen or carbon dioxide, except that section

5.1.1 (relative accuracy test audit) shall not apply to the oxygen monitor.

H. The procedures under Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, section 60.13, as
amended, shall be followed for installation, evaluation, and operation of continuous
emissions monitoring systems for sulfur dioxide, nitrogen oxides, opacity, and oxygen

or carbon dioxide.

I. The oxygen or carbon dioxide monitor shall conform to Performance
Specification 3 in Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, part 60, Appendix B, as

amended, except that section 2.3 shall not apply.

Subp. 6. Recording data from continuous monitoring. The owner or operator of a
waste combustor shall maintain a record of the information contained in this subpatt.
Waste combustors shall maintain a permanent record of continuously measured

parameters. The record of monitoring shall contain:
A. the calendar date;

B. the following measurements recorded in a manner that allows the data to be

immediately accessed upon inspection by the commissioner:
(1) all six-minute opacity readings;
(2) all one-hour average sulfur dioxide emission concentrations at the inlet and

outlet of the acid gas control device if compliance is based on a percent reduction, or at

the outlet only if compliance is based on the outlet emission limit; and

(3) all one-hour average carbon monoxide and nitrogen oxide emission
concentrations, steam flow or alternative unit load measurement parameter as described
in part 7011.1265, subpart 4a, combustion chamber temperature, and particulate matter

control device temperatures; and
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C. the following average concentrations and parameters:

(1) all 24-hour daily geometric average percent reductions in sulfur dioxide
emissions or all 24-hour daily geometric average sulfur dioxide emission concentrations,

as applicable;
(2) all 24-hour daily arithmetic average nitrogen oxides emission concentrations;

(3) all four-hour block or 24-hour daily arithmetic average carbon monoxide

emission concentrations, as applicable; and

(4) all four-hour block arithmetic average unit load levels and particulate matter
control device inlet temperatures.

[For text of subp 7, see M.R/]
7011.1265 REQUIRED PERFORMANCE TESTS, METHODS, AND PROCEDURES.

Subpart 1. Performance test methods and procedures. An owner or operator of a
waste combustor required to conduct performance tests for a waste combustor shall use
the performance test methods and procedures specified in parts 7017.2001 to 7017.2060
except as modified in this part. Not operating a sorbent injection system for the sole
purpose of testing in order to demonstrate compliance with the percent reduction
standards for sulfur dioxide and hydrogen chloride is not a modification under part

7007.0100, subpart 14.

Subp. 2. Performance test methods for criteria pollutants. An owner or operator of a
waste combustor required to conduct performance tests for particulate matter, sulfur

dioxide, or nitrogen oxides shall use test methods as described in items A to ¥ D.

A. Part 7011.0725 shall apply to tests for particulate matter, except that for Class I,
I, A, and C waste combustors, the minimum sample volume shall be 1.7 dscm, and the

probe and filter holder heating systems in the sample train shall be set to provide a gas

temperature no greater than 160 degrees Celsius, plus or minus 14 degrees. For Class III,
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IV, and D waste combustors, the minimum sample volume shall be 0.85 dscm. Smaller
sampling times or sample volumes shall be approved by the commissioner, when the
commissioner determines that they are necessitated by process variables or other
factors. An oxygen or carbon dioxide measurement shall be obtained simultaneously
with each Method 5 test run for particulate matter. Particulate matter emissions,
expressed in gr/dscf, shall be corrected to seven percent oxygen by using the following

formula:

(21-%0»)
where: ¢y is the concentration of particulate matter corrected to seven percent oxygen;

¢ is the concentration of particulate matter as measured by Code of Federal
Regulations, title 40, part 60, Appendix A, Method 5, as amended, or in part 7011.0725;
and

%0, is the percentage of oxygen as measured by Code of Federal Regulations, title 40,

part 60, Appendix A, Method 3, as amended.

[For text of subitems (1) and (2), see M.R.]
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[Reletter items D and E as items B and C.]

F: D. For fugitive ash emissions, Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, part 60,
Appendix A, Method 22, as amended, shall be used. The minimum observation time
shall be a series of three one-hour observations. The observation period shall include
times when the facility is transferring ash from the waste combustor unit to the area
where ash is stored or loaded into containers or trucks. The average duration of visible
emissions per hour shall be calculated from the three one-hour observations. The

average shall be used to determine compliance with the emission limit.

Subp. 3. Performance test methods for other air contaminants. If not specified in this
subpart, the owner or operator shall use test methods in Code of Federal Regulations,
title 40, part 60, Appendix A, or part 61, Appendix B, as amended, or other methods

determined by the commissioner in writing to be equivalent. For Class A waste

combustors, other methods used for performance testing must be approved by the

Environmental Protection Agency.

A. For hydrogen chloride, the percentage reduction in the potential hydrogen

chloride emissions (%Pyc) is computed using the following formula:
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%Puct = (Ej-Eo)
where E; is the potential hydrogen chloride emission rate measured at the control device
inlet, corrected to seven percent O,; and E, is the hydrogen chloride emission rate

measured at the outlet of the acid gas control device, corrected to seven percent O,.

Code of Pederal Regulations, title 40, part 60, Appendix A, Method 26 or 26A, as
amended, shall be used for determining the hydrogen chloride emission rate. The
minimum sampling time shall be one hour. An oxygen or carbon dioxide measurement
shall be obtained simultaneously with each Method 26 test run for hydrogen chloride.
The average of the hydrogen chloride emission concentration or percent reduction is

used to determine compliance.

B. For PCDD/PCDF emissions, Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, part 60,
Appendix A, Method 23, as amended, shall be used for determining compliance with
the PCDD/PCDF emission limits. For Class II and A facilities, the minimum sample
time shall be four hours per test run. For Class III, C, and D facilities, the minimum
sample time shall be three hours per test run. An oxygen or carbon dioxide
measurement shall be obtained simultaneously with each Method 23 test run for
PCDD/PCDF. The average of the PCDD/PCDEF test runs is used to determine

compliance.

C. For mercury, lead, and cadmium emissions, Code of Federal Regulations, title
40, part 60, Appendix A, Method 29, as amended, shall be used for measuring emissions
of lead, cadmium, and mercury. The minimum sample volume shall be 1.7 dscm. An
oxygen or carbon dioxide measurement shall be obtained simultaneously with each
Method 29 test run for lead and cadmium. The average of the lead or cadmium emission
concentrations from three test runs or more shall be used to determine compliance. The
procedures in item D shall be used to determine compliance with the mercury emission
limits.
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D. To determine the mercury concentration, the arithmetic average of three or
more samples at the outlet of the air pollution control device shall be used. The
minimum sample volume shall be 1.7 dscm. The maximum sample run time shall be
two hours. An oxygen or carbon dioxide measurement shall be obtained simultaneously
with each Method 29 test run for mercury.

To determine the percent reduction of mercury, concurrent sampling for mercury at
the inlet and outlet of the air pollution control system shall be performed at each
occurrence of mercury emissions performance testing.

Owners and operators of RDF combustors may choose to conduct mercury emissions
testing either every 90 days or every 12 months. If the owner or operator of an RDF
combustor chooses to conduct testing every 90 days, the requirements of subitems (1)
and (2) apply. If the RDF combustor chooses to test every 12 months, the requirements
of subitem (3) apply.

[For text of subitems (1) and (2), see M.R.]

(3) Owners or operators of waste combustors combusting RDF who choose to
conduct mercury emission testing every +5 12 months shall use the procedures in this
subitem to determine compliance with mercury emission limits.

(a) The waste combustor is in compliance with the 12-month mercury
emission concentration limit if the arithmetic average of three or more samples is less

than the 12-month test interval mercury emission concentration limit.

(b) If the average computed in unit (a) exceeds the 12-month mercury
emission concentration limit, the removal efficiency for each run shall be computed by
the equation in subitem (1), unit (b). The waste combustor is in compliance with the
12-month mercury emission limit if the arithmetic average of the removal efficiencies is

greater than 85 percent.

Subp. 4. Steam flow measurement method. The method contained in ASME Power
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Test Codes: Test Codes for Steam Generating Units, PTC 4.1 (1972), section 4,
incorporated by reference in part 7011.1205, shall be used for calculating the steam flow
required under part 7011.1260, subpart 3, item A, subitem (2). The recommendations of
Instruments and Apparatus: Measurement of Quantity of Materials, Interim
Supplement 19.5 (1971), chapter 4, incorporated by reference in part 7011.1205, shall be
followed for design, construction, installation, calibration, and use of nozzles and
orifices, except that measurement devices such as flow nozzles and orifices are not
required to be recalibrated after they are installed. All signal conversion elements
associated with steam flow measurements must be calibrated according to the
manufacturer’s instructions before each PCDD/PCDF test, and at least once per year.
This annual calibration shall be recorded in the daily operating record as described in

part 7011.1285, subpart 2.

[For text of subp 4a, see M.R\]

Subp. 4b. Procedures for correlating carbon dioxide and oxygen concentrations. If
carbon dioxide is selected for use in diluent corrections, the relationship between
oxygen and carbon dioxide levels shall be established during the initial performance test

according to the procedures and methods specified as described in items A to E.

A.
analysis-procedure-of The fuel factor equation in Code of Federal Regulations, title 40,
part 60, Appendix A, Method 3B, as—amended; shall be used to determine the

relationship between oxygen and carbon dioxide at a sampling location. Method 3, 3A,

or 3B shall be used to determine the oxygen concentration at the same location as the

carbon dioxide monitor.
B. Samples shall be taken for at least 30 minutes in each hour.
C. Each sample shall represent a one-hour average.

D. A minimum of three runs shall be performed.
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E. The relationship between carbon dioxide and oxygen concentrations that is

established shall be submitted as part of the initial performance test report.

Subp. 5. Performance tests required. Performance tests shall be conducted on waste

combustors to determine the emission concentrations of the following air contaminants:
A. lead;
B. cadmium;
C. mercury; and

D. any other air contaminant for which an emission limitation applies to the waste
combustor, except for opacity and those contaminants for which compliance is

demonstrated by the use of a continuous monitor.

[For text of subp 6, see M.R\]

Subp. 7. Maximum demonstrated capacity. For Class I, II, III, A, C, and D waste
combustors, maximum demonstrated capacity of each waste combustor unit shall be
determined during the initial performance test for PCDD/PCDF and each subsequent
performance test during which compliance with the PCDD/PCDF emission limit in part
7011.1225 is achieved. For Class IV waste combustors, maximum demonstrated capacity
shall be determined during the initial performance test and each subsequent

performance test during which compliance with emission limits is demonstrated.

Subp. 8. Particulate matter control device temperature. The owner or operator of a
waste combustor with postcombustion particulate matter control shall determine and
record the four-hour arithmetic average gas stream temperature as measured at the inlet
to each particulate matter control device during the initial and each subsequent
performance test for PCDD/PCDF’s demonstrating compliance with the PCDD/ PCDF

emission limit in part 7011.1225.

Subp. 9. [See repealer.]

11.
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[For text of subps 10 and 11, see M.R]

7011.1270 PERFORMANCE TEST, WASTE COMPOSITION STUDY, AND ASH
SAMPLING FREQUENCY.
The owner or operator of a waste combustor shall conduct the performance tests

required in part 7011.1265, subpart 5, based on the schedules in items A to E.

A. Class A waste combustors shall conduct performance tests as described in

subitems (1) to (6).
(1) Once within the normal start-up.

(2) Once annually after the test in subitem (1), but not more than 12 months
following the initial performance test, except that fugitive emissions from ash handling

need only to be tested once within normal start-up as required in subitem (1).

(3) If all PCDD/PCDF performance tests for all units for a two-year period
indicate that PCDD/PCDF emissions are less than or equal to 15 ng/dscm corrected to
seven percent O, from each unit, then the owner or operator may choose to test one unit
for PCDD/PCDF once annually after the test in subitem (2), but not more than 12
months following the previous performance test. Thereafter, the owner or operator may
continue to test a different unit for PCDD/PCDF each year, in sequence (e.g. unit 1, unit
2, etc.). If any annual performance test demonstrates a PCDD/PCDF concentration
greater than 15 ng/dscm corrected to seven percent O,, performance tests thereafter
shall be conducted annually on all units until all annual performance tests for all units
for a two-year period indicate a PCDD/PCDF emission concentration less than or equal

to 15 ng/dscm.

(4) The owner or operator will specify what the PCDD/PCDF performance
testing schedule is each time a pretest notification is given under the conditions of part

7017.2030.

(5) From Class A waste combustors that are not burning RDF, for mercury

emissions every three months.
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The facility may implement testing for mercury not less than once every 12 months
under the following conditions: the facility has demonstrated that mercury emissions
have been below 50 percent of the facility’s permitted long-term limit for three
consecutive years; and the owner or operator has submitted a request for an

administrative amendment according to the procedures of part 7007.1400.

Waste combustors combusting RDF may choose to conduct performance tests for
mercury every 12 months. If a test shows that an emission limit for mercury from a
waste combustor combusting RDF is exceeded, the commissioner shall require testing

every three months thereafter until compliance with the standard is demonstrated.
(6) A waste composition study every five years.
B. Class Il and C waste combustors shall conduct performance tests as described in
subitems (1) to (4).
(1) Once within the normal start-up, except as provided in subitem (3)(b).

(2) Once annually after the test in subitem (1), but not more than 12 months
following the initial performance test, except as provided in subitem (3). Also, fugitive
emissions from ash handling do not need to be tested more frequently that the initial
test required in subitem (1). If three annual performance tests for a three-year period
show compliance with standards in part 7011.1225, the owner or operator may continue
to conduct annual testing, or may choose to conduct performance tests every 2-1/2
years, except as required by subitem (3). At a minimum, a performance test shall be
conducted every 2-1/2 years, but no more than 30 months following the previous
compliance test. If a performance test indicates noncompliance with applicable
standards, the owner or operator shall resume annual testing for three years for that
pollutant for which noncompliance was demonstrated. If three annual performance tests
for the three-year period show compliance with standards in part 7011.1225, the owner

or operator may again conduct performance testing every 2-1/2 years.
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(3) For mercury emissions, Class C waste combustors shall commence testing
June 20, 1995, and continue testing every 90 days until August 1, 1997. Thereafter, Class
C waste combustors that are not burning RDF shall conduct mercury emissions testing
every three months.

The facility may implement testing for mercury not less than once every three years
or according to federal applicable requirements, whichever is more stringent, under the
following conditions: the facility has dehlonstrated that mercury emissions have been
below 50 percent of the facility’s permitted long-term limit for three consecutive years;
and the owner or operator has submitted a request for an administrative amendment

according to the procedures of part 7007.1400.

If a facility is granted testing for mercury not less than once every three years or
according to federal applicable requirements, whichever is more stringent, and a
mercury performance test shows mercury emissions greater than 50 percent of the
facility’s permitted mercury limit, the facility shall conduct annual mercury stack
sampling until emissions are below 50 percent of the facility’s permitted mercury limit.
Once the facility demonstrates that mercury emissions are again below 50 percent of the
facility’s permitted limit, the facility may resume testing every three years, upon
notifying the commissioner in writing.

Waste combustors combusting RDF may choose to conduct performance tests for
mercury emissions every 12 months. If a test shows that emission limits for mercury
from a waste combustor combusting RDF are exceeded, the commissioner shall require

performance testing every three months until compliance is demonstrated.
(4) A waste composition study every five years.

C. Class IIT and D waste combustors shall conduct performance tests as described
in subitems (1) to (6).

(1) Once within the normal start-up.
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(2) Every 2-1/2 years after the test in subitem (1), but not more than 30 months

following the initial performance test.
(3) For Class III waste combustors, emissions of mercury, every three months.

The facility may implement testing for mercury not less than once every three years
or according to federal applicable requirements, whichever is more stringent, under the
following conditions: the facility has demonstrated that mercury emissions have been
below 50 percent of the facility’é permitted long-term limit for three consecutive years;
and the owner or operator has submitted a request for an administrative amendment
according to the procedures of part 7007.1400.

If a facility is granted testing for mercury not less than once every three years or
according to federal applicable requirements, whichever is more stringent, and mercury
performance test shows mercury emissions greater than 50 percent of the facility’s
permitted mercury limit, the facility shall conduct annual mercury stack sampling until
emissions are below 50 percent of the facility’s permitted mercury limit. Once the
facility demonstrates that mercury emissions are again below 50 percent of the facility’s
permitted limit, the facility may resume testing every three years, upon notifying the
commissioner in writing.

(4) For Class D waste combustors, emissions of mercury every 2-1/2 years.

(5) For ash, in accordance with part 7045.0131 every 30 months for toxicity by
toxic characteristic leach procedure for arsenic, barium, cadmium, chromium, lead,

mercury, selenium, and nickel.
(6) A waste composition study every five years.
[For text of item D, see M.R.]
E. Class I waste combustors shall conduct performance tests for mercury emissions
every three months for waste combustors that are not burning RDF.

The facility may implement testing for mercury not less than once every 12 months
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under the following conditions: the facility has demonstrated that mercury emissions
have been below 50 percent of the facility’s permitted long-term limit for three
consecutive years; and the owner or operator has submitted a request for an

administrative amendment according to the procedures of part 7007.1400.

Waste combustors combusting RDF may choose to conduct performance tests for
mercury every 12 months. If a test shows that an emission limit for mercury from a
waste combusting RDF is exceeded, the commissioner shall require testing every three

months thereafter until compliance with the standard is demonstrated.
Class I waste combustors shall conduct a waste composition study every five years.

7011.1272 MERCURY OR PCDD/PCDF ADDITIVE EQUIPMENT OPERATION,
MONITORING, AND REPORTING.

Subpart 1. Mercury or PCDD/PCDF removal equipment operation. The owner or
operator of a waste combustor using additives for the control of mercury or
PCDD/PCDF shall determine and record the average additive mass feed rate, in
pounds-per-hour, during the initial and at each subsequent performance test for
mercury or PCDD/PCDF. The owner or operator shall correlate this feed rate to an

operating parameter of the additive injection system.

The owner or operator shall submit the calculations supporting the correlation with

the results of the mercury or PCDD/PCDF performance test.

Subp. 2. Mercury or PCDD/PCDF additive feed rate monitor. The owner or operator
of a waste combustor using additives for the control of mercury or PCDD/PCDF shall
install, maintain, and operate at all times a system for monitoring the additive injection
system'’s operating parameter that is the primary indicator of the additive’s mass feed

rate, as determined by the requirements of subpart 1.

The monitored condition must equal or exceed that determined during the most
recent mercury or PCDD/PCDF performance test that demonstrated compliance with

the emission limit.

7011.
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Subp. 3. Recordkeeping and recording of additive use.

A. The owner or operator shall maintain a record of the average additive mass feed
rate for each hour of operation, as measured by the operating parameter required in
subpart 2. If the operating parameter is not a direct measurement of the mass feed rate
of the additive, then the record shall contain the calculations supporting the correlation

between the mass feed rate and the measured operating parameter.

The record shall be maintained on site in a form suitable for immediate inspection.

B. During each calendar quarter, the owner or operator shall estimate the total
additive used at the waste combustor in pounds or kilograms by two independent

means as described in subitems (1) and (2):

(1) the weight of additive delivered to the plant; and

(2) estimate the average additive mass feed rate in pounds per hour, or
kilograms per hour, for each hour of operation for each unit, based on the parameters

measured in subpart 2. Sum the results of the mass feed rates for all waste combustor

units at the plant for the total number of hours of operation during the calendar quarter.

7011.1275 PERSONNEL TRAINING.

Subpart 1. General. Waste combustor facility personnel described in subpart 2 must
complete a program of instruction and on-the-job training based on the operating
manual described in subpart 3. The program must train facility personnel to maintain
compliance with parts 7011.1201 to 7011.1290. Individual training shall be specific to the
position held and shall, at a minimum, address the items in subpart 3.

For personnel described in subpart 2, the training program shall require:

[For text of items A and B, see M.R.]

C. that those without waste combustor or boiler operation experience, initially

review the operating manual and work under the direct supervision of a certified
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operator or a certified operator’s designee before assumption of job-related activities

affecting air emissions for the following duration:
(1) for Class I, II, III, A, C, or D waste combustor personnel, 40 hours; and

(2) for Class IV waste combustor personnel, 12 hours; and
[For text of item D, see M.R.]
[For text of subp 2, see M.R/]

Subp. 3. Operating manual requirements. The owner or operator of a waste
combustor shall develop and update on a yearly basis a site specific operating manual
that shall, at a minimum, address the following elements of waste combustor unit
operation:

[For text of items A to E, see M.R.]
F. procedures for operating the waste combustor within the standards established
in parts 7011.1201 to 7011.1290;
[For text of items G to O, see M.R\]

[For text of subp 4, see M.R]

7011.1280 OPERATOR CERTIFICATION.
Subpart 1. Scope. The commissioner shall certify a person provided the person can

demonstrate the completion of:

A. ASME provisional certification as described in Standard for the Qualification
and Certification of Resource Recovery Facility Operators, American Society of
Mechanical Engineers (ASME) QRO-1-19891994, incorporated by reference in part

7011.1205, for chief facility operators and, shift supervisors, and control room operators

of municipal waste combustors; or
B. the coursework and examination program set forth in subpart 3.

Subp. 2. Personnel who shall be certified. The following personnel shall be certified

through the process established in this part:
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A. for Class I, II, III, A, C, or D waste combustors, the chief facility operator and
shift supervisors; and
B. for Class IV waste combustors, the operator supervisor.
Subp. 3. Requirements for operator certification. To be certified, a person must

demonstrate the skill, knowledge, and experience necessary to operate a waste

combustor, by meeting the criteria of item A or B.
[For text of item A, see M.R/]
B. A certified operator of a Class I, II, III, A, C, or D waste combustor shall comply
with the requirements in subitem (1) or (2).
(1) Persons who possess a Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry boiler

license of at least second class engineer, Grade B, shall:

‘(a) have one year of experience operating a steam generation plant or Class I,
IT, III, A, C, or D waste combustor at the licensure level of at least second class engineer,
Grade B, and complete at least 24 hours of training approved by the commissioner
which are designed to ensure competency to operate a Class I, II, III, A, C, or D waste

combustor;
(b) complete the certification process described in subpart 4; and
(c) pass the examination described in subpart 5.
(2) Persons who do not meet the qualifications of subitem (1), unit (a), shall:

(a) have three years of experience operating a Class I, II, I, A, C, or D waste
combustor or in power generation and complete at least 24 hours of training approved
by the commissioner which are designed to ensure competency to operate a Class I, II,

III, A, C, or D waste combustor;
(b) complete the certification process described in subpart 4; and
(c) pass the examination described in subpart 5.
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[For text of subp 4, see M.R.]

Subp. 5. Examinations.
[For text of item A, see M.R.]
B. For certification of a person to operate a Class I, II, IIl, A, C, or D waste
combustor, the examination shall be in three areas, divided as follows:
[For text of subitems (1) to (3), see M.R.]
[For text of items C to E, see M.R.]

[For text of subp 6, see M.R/]
Subp. 7. Renewal.

A. A certified individual shall apply for certificate renewal 30 days prior to
certificate expiration. Renewal certificates shall be issued by the commissioner when the
commissioner receives the application, along with evidence that the person has, during
the preceding three years, earned credit for attending training courses offered by the
agency or other training courses approved by the commissioner as described in subpart
8, including personnel training described in part 7011.1275, for the number of hours as

identified as follows:
(1) Class I, II, III, A, C, or D, 24 hours; and
[For text of subitem (2), see M.R\]
[For text of items B and C, see M.R ]

[For text of subps 8 and 9, see M.R/]

Subp. 10. Certification deadlines. All individuals employed on June 20, 1994, who
require certification as described in this part shall obtain certification by June 20, 1996,

or on completion of the normal start-up of a waste combustor, whichever is later.

Subp. 11. Recordkeeping. A waste combustor owner or operator shall maintain a

record of personnel who complete either the Environmental Protection Agency
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municipal waste combustor operator training course, or an equivalent course approved

by the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency under subpart 8. The record shall include

documentation of training completion.

7011.1281 FULL OPERATOR CERTIFICATION.
Subpart 1. Fully certified operator defined. A "fully certified operator" means:

A. a person who has obtained "certified municipal waste combustor examiner"

certification as described in part 7011.1282;

B. a person who has obtained both "provisional certification" and "operator
certification” according to ASME QRO-1-19891994, incorporated by reference in part
7011.1205; or

C. a person who is a "fully certified operator" as described in part 7011.1284.

Subp. 2. Changes at a facility. If changes are made in equipment and/or operating
procedures which the initial certification did not address, certificate holders shall
demonstrate detailed knowledge of these changes according to the conditions of the
certificate held. A change in the name or ownership of a facility shall not invalidate the
operator certificate.

7011.1282  CERTIFIED MUNICIPAL WASTE COMBUSTOR EXAMINER
CERTIFICATE.

Subpart 1. Criteria for a certified municipal waste combustor examiner. To be
certified as a certified municipal waste combustor examiner, employment claimed on
the individual’s application for certification must be verified by the individual’s

supervisor or personnel officer and the individual must:
A. hold a current certificate as defined in part 7011.1280, subpart 1;

B. document a total of 60 months satisfactory employment experience in general

industry, of which 36 months were at the level of a chief facility operator or shift
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supervisor, as defined in part 7011.1201, subparts 8 and 44, at a municipal waste

combustor;
C. be currently employed by a municipal waste combustor owner;

D. possess a bachelor degree in engineering or a related field, or a Minnesota

Department of Labor and Industry boiler license of chief engineer, Grade A or B;
E. pass an oral examination as described in subpart 3; and

F. identify the waste combustor facility for which the applicant seeks certification

as a certified municipal waste combustor examiner.
Subp. 2. Certification process for a certified municipal waste combustor examinet.

A. The commissioner shall review the application for certified municipal waste
combustor examiner and determine the adequacy of information included in the
application. If the commissioner determines that additional information or
documentation is necessary to assess the eiigibility of the applicant, the commissioner
shall notify the applicant. The application shall be considered incomplete until the
applicant provides the required information. When the commissioner determines that
the applicant has submitted a complete application, and has determined that the
applicant has demonstrated a satisfactory compliance history as an operator at a
rnurﬁcipal waste combustor, the commissioner shall schedule an oral examination of the

applicant.

B. The commissioner shall issue a certificate to the applicant who successfully
complétes the examination process of subpart 3. The certified municipal waste
combustor examiner’s certificate is site-specific, and is not transportable. The certificate
shall expire five years after its issue date unless renewed. Each certificate shall contain

the following information:

(1) identification as a certified municipal waste combustor examiner certificate;
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(2) the certified individual’s full name; and
(3) the name and location of the facility for which certification is given.
Subp. 3. Examination for certified municipal waste combustor examiner.

A. The commissioner shall convene a board of examiners to conduct an oral

examination of a certified municipal waste combustor examiner applicant.
B. The examination for certified municipal waste combustor examiner shall:

(1) test understanding of the content and procedures described in the waste
combustor’s operating manual that is required to be prepared for the facility by part

7011.1275, subpart 3;

(2) test comprehensive understanding of the duties of a certified examiner
described in part 7011.1283 and how the applicant is prepared to catry out these duties;

and

(3) require the applicant to describe the waste combustor facility’s program for
examining and awarding full certification, and describe how this program incorporates
the requirements of parts 7011.1283 and 7011.1284.

The board of examiners shall evaluate applicants for certified municipal waste
combustor examiner based on the applicant’s technical knowledge and understanding
of integrated plant operations. An applicant’s responses shall be graded as pass or fail.
All members of the board of examiners must pass the applicant if the certification is to

be granted.

C. The board of examiners shall consist of at least three members. The three
members shall be a member of the Pollution Control Agency, a member of the
municipal waste combustor industry, and a member who is or has been employed at a
power operation facility using combustion and/or air pollution control technologies
comparable to the facility where the applicant is employed.
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The commissioner may appoint additional board members if the facility for which the
applicant seeks certification is complex and the commissioner determines that
additional examiners will help the board determine the applicant’s technical knowledge,
problem-solving ability, and understanding of plant operations.

Additional Pollution Control Agency representatives, a representative from the
facility, a representative of an industry trade group, and a member of the public shall be

allowed by the commissioner to observe the examination.

Subp. 4. Renewal. The commissioner shall issue renewal certified examiner
certificates when an individual submits a written request to renew the certificate at least

30 days before the expiration of the certificate.

If changes are made in equipment and/or operating procedures which the initial
certification did not address, the individual shall submit written evidence that the
change has been made, the individual has been trained, and the on-site certification
program has been amended to include the changes. The individual shall also submit
evidence that the individual has, during the life of the certified municipal waste
combustor operator certificate, maintained the individual’s certification as required in
part 7011.1280. If the individual applies for certificate renewal after the certified
munic‘ipal waste combustor examiner certificate has expired, the commissioner shall

schedule an examination according to part 7011.1282, subpart 3.

Subp. 5. Sanctions. The conditions of part 7011.1280, subpart 9, apply to any

sanctions taken by the commissioner.

7011.1283 DUTIES OF A CERTIFIED MUNICIPAL WASTE COMBUSTOR
EXAMINER.

A certified municipal waste combustor examiner shall be responsible for the
development, implementation, monitoring, and updating of an operator certification

program specific to the municipal waste combustor for which the examiner has been
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certified. The operator certification program shall be designed as a system of training
and written and/or oral examination on the duties, knowledge, and responsibilities of
municipal waste combustor unit operations, as described in the operating manual
required in part 7011.1275, subpart 3. The certified examiner shall administer the

examination of full operator candidates.
7011.1284 FULLY CERTIFIED OPERATOR.
Subpart 1. Scope. A certified municipal waste combustor examiner may award the

status of fully certified operator to an individual at a municipal waste combustor

facility, provided the conditions of this part are met.

Subp. 2. Criteria for a fully certified operator. To be eligible as a fully certified
operator, an individual must maintain a provisional certificate from ASME or a
certificate described in part 7011.1280, and pass an examination administered by the
waste combustor’s certified municipal waste combustor examiner.

The examination shall test comprehensive understanding of the content and
procedures described in the waste combustor’s operating manual that is required to be
prepared for the facility by part 7011.1275, subpart 3.

If changes are made in equipment and/or operating procedures which the initial
certification did not address, certificate holders shall demonstrate to the facility’s
certified examiner detailed knowledge of these changes within six months after the
change is made. If the demonstration of knowledge has not been made within six

months, the certificate shall expire.

Subp. 3. Record of certified operators. The waste combustor owner or operator shall
maintain at the waste combustor facility for five years a record of the names of all

personnel that the examiner has certified.

This record shall contain the examination dates, the nature or content of the

examination, the full name of the individual certified, the date of certification, and the

signature of the certified examiner for that facility with the following certification:
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"I certify under penalty of law that, based on my examination of these persons,
these persons have demonstrated the knowledge and skills that qualify these
persons to be fully certified operators at (name of waste combustor facility) in

accordance with the procedures of Minnesota Rules, parts 7011.1280 to 7011.1284."

Subp. 3a. Record of ASME certified operators. The waste combustor owner or

operator shall maintain at the waste combustor facility for five years a record of the

names of all personnel who have obtained provisional and/or full certification by

ASME.

Subp. 4. Inspection of records. The owner or operator shall allow the commissioner
to review all records related to the certification of operators, including the facility’s
program for the examination and certification of operators, the record required in

subpart 3, the content of examinations, and the results of an individual’s examination.

7011.1285 OPERATING RECORDS AND REPORTS.

Subpart 1. Scope. The owner or operator of a waste combustor shall maintain records
and submit reports as required in this part. The owner or operator of a waste combustor
required to obtain a permit under part 7007.0200, subpart 4, or 7007.0250, subpart 5, are
also subject to the recordkeeping and reporting requirements in part 7007.0800, subparts
5 and 6. Class A, C, I, and II waste combustors shall maintain on site all submittals
required by this part as paper copies for five years. All other waste combustors shall

retain records for a minimum of five years.
Subp. 2. Daily operating record. The owner or operator shall maintain a daily record
of the operation of the waste combustor. The record shall contain:
[For text of items A to I, see M.R/]
J. the reasons for exceeding any of the average emission rates, percent reductions,

or operating parameters specified under part 7011.1260, subpart 6, item C, or the opacity

limit and a description of corrective actions taken;
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K. reasons for not obtaining the minimum number of hours of sulfur dioxide or
nitrogen oxides emissions or operational data (carbon monoxide emissions, steam flow
or alternative unit load measurement parameter as described in part 7011.1265, subpart
4a, particulate matter control device temperature) and a description of corrective actions
taken;

L. the date of the calibration of all signal conversion elements associated with

steam flow monitoring as required in part 7011.1265, subpart 4; and

M. for waste combustors using an additive to comply with mercury or
PCDD/PCDF emission limits, reasons for not maintaining the additive system
operating parameter as determined in part 7011.1272, subpart 2, and descriptions of

corrective actions taken; and

N. for waste combustofs using an additive to comply with mercury or

PCDD/PCDF emission limits, reasons for not maintaining the additive mass feed rates

as determined in part 7011.1272, subpart 1, and descriptions of corrective actions taken.

Subp. 3. Quarterly reports. The owner or operator of a Class [, I, I1I, A, C, or D waste
combustor shall submit quarterly reports to the commissioner within 30 days after the
quarter ending December 30, March 30, June 30, and September 30 of each year. The

quarterly report may be submitted as a bound, paper copy or in an alternative format

such as computer disk or CD-ROM. The commissioner shall accept the submittal in the

alternative format provided that the commissioner has given prior approval for the use

of the alternative format in order that compatibility between the software and hardware

configurations of the agency and the owner or operator of the waste combustor can be

assured. The report shall contain the following items:

[For text of item A, see M.R.]

B. sulfur dioxide, nitrogen oxide, and carbon monoxide emissions, the maximum

or-minimum waste combustor unit load level, and pérticulate matter control device
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temperatures as recorded by part 7011.1260, subpart 6, item C, and the daily maximum
opacity readings reading as recorded by part 7011.1260, subpart 6, item B, subitem (1).
The facility may choose to provide this information in tabular or graphic form. The

graphs shall be prepared as follows:
(1) the graph shall represent one operating parameter or pollutant;

(2) the applicable limit of the parameter or pollutant shall be indicated on the
graph; and

(3) data shall be expressed in the same units as the applicable operating
parameter or emissions limit;

[For text of item C, see M.R\]

D. the identification of operating days when any of the average emission
concentrations, percent reductions, operating parameters specified under part
7011.1260, subpart 6, item C, or 7011.1272, subpart 2, or the opacity level exceeded the
applicable limits. The report shall include the emission levels recorded during the
exceedance, reasons for such exceedances as well as a description of corrective actions

taken;

[For text of item E, see M.R.]

E. the identification of operating days for which the minimum number of hours
that emission concentrations, percent reductions, operating parameters specified under
part 7011.1260, subpart 6, item C, or 7011.1272, subpart 2, or the opacity level have not
been obtained, including reasons for not obtaining sufficient data and a description of

corrective actions taken;

[For text of item G, see M.R]

H. the information required in subpart 2, items C, D, and E, summarized to reflect

quarterly totals;
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L. a compliance certification as required in part 7007.0800, subpart 6, item C; and

J. if an additive is used to comply with mercury or PCDD/PCDF emission limits,
the total additive used during the calendar quarter, as specified in part 7011.1272,
subpart 3, item B, with supporting calculations.

[For text of subp 4, see M.R]

Subp. 4a. [See repealer.]

[For text of subp 5, see M.R.]

Subp. 6. Perfo’rmance test reports. The owner or operator shall submit a report
containing the results of performance tests conducted to determine compliance with
waste combustor unit emission limits whenever performance testing is conducted. The
report shall be submitted according to the conditions of part 7017.2035.

7011.1290 INCORPORATION OF NEW SOURCE PERFORMANCE STANDARD BY
REFERENCE.

Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, part 60, subpart Eb, as amended, entitled

"Standards of Performance for Municipal Waste Combustors for Which Construction is

Commenced After September 20, 1994" is adopted and incorporated by reference.

REPEALER. Minnesota Rules, parts 7011.1201, subparts 7, 10, and 47; 7011.1240,
subparts 4 and 6; 7011.1265, subpart 9; and 7011.1285, subpart 4a, are repealed.
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