1 Higher Education Services Office

2

- 3 Adopted Permanent Rules Relating to Private Business, Trade, and
- 4 Correspondence Schools

5

- 6 Rules as Adopted
- 7 4880.1500 SCOPE.
- 8 Parts 4880.1500 to 4880.2400 govern licensing of private
- 9 business, trade, and correspondence schools.
- 10 4880.1600 CONTRACTS BY UNLICENSED SCHOOLS.
- When a contract with a student is deemed unenforceable
- 12 pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 141.25, subdivision 2, a
- 13 school must refund all tuition, fees, and other charges received
- 14 from the student or prospective student within 30 days of
- 15 written notification from the Minnesota Higher Education
- 16 Services Office.
- 17 4880.1700 APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE.
- 18 Subpart 1. Name of school. The title or name of the
- 19 school as it appears on the application for licensure shall be
- 20 used in all advertising, catalogs, brochures, contracts,
- 21 letterheads, and any other written or oral references made in
- 22 Minnesota.
- Subp. 2. Schools at more than one location. Schools
- 24 offering programs at more than one location must provide all
- 25 information required under Minnesota Statutes, section 141.25,
- 26 subdivision 3, for each school location, on forms provided by
- 27 the office. If this information is the same for each location,
- 28 the school shall clearly indicate that on the forms.
- Subp. 3. Instructor and program administrator
- 30 qualifications. The school must provide the office with each
- 31 instructor's name and academic degrees earned or applicable
- 32 education and experience as specified in part 4880.1900, and
- 33 must also indicate which courses each instructor teaches.
- 34 Subp. 4. Program. A program is a course or a grouping of

- l courses that is advertised or listed in the school's catalog,
- 2 brochures, or other publications, or for which the school grants
- 3 a degree, diploma, or certificate. A program is the same as a
- 4 "course of instruction." For each program, the school shall
- 5 provide the following information:
- A. title of program and formal recognition awarded;
- 7 B. geographic location;
- 8 C. proposed implementation date;
- 9 D. length of program in quarter or semester credits,
- 10 lessons, or clock hours;
- F. curriculum required to complete the program,
- 13 including:
- (1) outline of each course and its objectives,
- 15 subjects, and units in the course;
- 16 (2) type of work or skill to be learned; and
- 17 (3) approximate time, hours, or credits to be
- 18 spent on each subject or unit;
- 19 G. employment opportunities for graduates;
- 20 H. physical resources needed, including equipment
- 21 currently available;
- I. information services needed;
- J. academic and administrative mechanisms for
- 24 monitoring the quality of the program; and
- 25 K. documentation of availability, location, and
- 26 supervision of clinical, internship, practicum, or externship
- 27 sites, if applicable.
- Subp. 5. Licensure application fees. The appropriate fee
- 29 must accompany each application. Application fees are not
- 30 refundable. The fees are as described in items A to E.
- A. An initial licensure fee of \$1,500 shall accompany
- 32 each initial licensure application.
- B. A licensure renewal fee of \$750 shall accompany
- 34 each annual licensure application for schools offering one
- 35 program.
- 36 C. A licensure renewal fee of \$1,000 shall accompany

- 1 each annual licensure application for schools offering more than
- 2 one program.
- 3 D. Applications for licensure renewal received after
- 4 the deadline date specified in the renewal materials provided by
- 5 the office are subject to a late fee equal to 20 percent of the
- 6 annual licensure renewal fee.
- 7 E. A solicitor permit fee of \$250 shall accompany
- 8 each solicitor permit application.
- 9 Subp. 6. Changes after issuance of license. If a change
- 10 occurs in any of the information required by Minnesota Statutes,
- 11 section 141.25, subdivision 3, during the licensure year, the
- 12 school shall inform the office within 30 days of the change.
- 13 Subp. 7. Change of ownership. Within 30 days of a change
- 14 in ownership or control, a school must submit a licensure
- 15 renewal application with the appropriate fee to the office.
- 16 Subp. 8. New program. Prior to implementation of a new
- 17 program, a school shall submit the information required under
- 18 subpart 4 to the office. The office shall notify the school no
- 19 later than 60 days after receipt of the required information
- 20 whether the proposed new program meets the standards specified
- 21 in Minnesota Statutes, section 141.25, subdivision 7, clause
- 22 (e), and whether the proposed new program can be added to the
- 23 list of programs offered by the school.
- 24 4880.1800 STANDARDS FOR SCHOOL FACILITIES AND STUDENT HOUSING.
- 25 Subpart 1. Sanitation and safety. The premises and
- 26 conditions under which students work and study and the living
- 27 quarters that are owned or approved for student housing by a
- 28 school shall meet the sanitation and safety requirements of all
- 29 local and state regulating agencies.
- 30 Subp. 2. Inspection reports. Copies of inspection reports
- 31 by the local fire department, state fire marshal, or Minnesota
- 32 Industrial Commission shall, if furnished to the school, be
- 33 filed with the office.
- 34 Subp. 3. Clinical, internship, practicum, or externship
- 35 sites. The school shall obtain sites for students to complete

- 1 clinical, internship, practicum, or externship requirements if
- 2 the educational program requires it.
- 3 Subp. 4. Library and information services. The school
- 4 shall furnish library resources and information services to
- 5 support the educational programs it offers.
- 6 4880.1900 STANDARDS FOR INSTRUCTORS.
- 7 All instructors shall have:
- 8 A. recognized standing as a tradesperson or
- 9 specialist supported by evidence from previous employers, or the
- 10 possession of a baccalaureate degree;
- 11 B. a high school diploma or its equivalent; and
- 12 C. three years of full-time, trade, or professional
- 13 experience in the trade or specialty taught, or successful
- 14 completion of a college curriculum leading to a baccalaureate
- 15 degree in that trade or specialty, or a combination of
- 16 experience and education in the trade or specialty equivalent to
- 17 three years of full-time experience.
- 18 4880.2000 STANDARDS FOR OUT-OF-STATE SCHOOLS.
- 19 All requirements, regulations, or standards approved and
- 20 adopted by the office, including qualifications of instructors,
- 21 are applicable to out-of-state schools required to be licensed
- 22 pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, chapter 141.
- 23 4880.2100 CONTENTS OF CATALOG OR BROCHURE.
- 24 Subpart 1. Refund policy. The catalog or brochures of a
- 25 school must state the refund policy that includes the
- 26 requirements in Minnesota Statutes, section 141.271.
- Subp. 2. Clinical, internship, practicum, or externship
- 28 sites. The school must publish in its catalog or brochures the.
- 29 most current locations of the clinical, internship, practicum,
- 30 or externship sites for programs that require this experience
- 31 for completion of a program.
- 32 Subp. 3. Supplementary pages. If supplementary pages are
- 33 used, they must be included as part of the catalog or brochures.
- 34 The supplementary page or pages shall be clearly identified as

- 1 affecting Minnesota students. If information on supplementary
- 2 pages contradicts the catalog or brochures, it shall clearly
- 3 indicate on these pages that the supplementary information
- 4 supersedes information contained elsewhere in the catalog or
- 5 brochures.
- 6 Subp. 4. Submitting changes. If a school proposes to
- 7 change information required by Minnesota Statutes, section
- 8 141.25, subdivision 9, that is contained in the school catalog
- 9 or brochures during the license year, the school must submit the
- 10 revised catalog or brochures to the office for review and
- 11 approval prior to distribution to students or prospective
- 12 students. No later than 30 days after receipt of the submitted
- 13 materials, the office shall notify the school whether the
- 14 changes are approved.
- 15 4880.2200 PLACEMENT.
- 16 Subpart 1. Standards. For each program, the majority of
- 17 graduates seeking employment must be able to secure at least
- 18 entry level positions in the occupation for which they have been
- 19 prepared, or a related occupation.
- 20 Subp. 2. Report. A certified copy of the school's
- 21 placement record of students who graduated in the year prior to
- 22 the year for which the license is to be issued shall be filed
- 23 with the office with the licensure renewal application. In
- 24 addition to the information specified in Minnesota Statutes,
- 25 section 141.25, subdivision 10, the report must include the
- 26 complete mailing address of each graduate's place of employment.
- 27 4880.2300 SOLICITORS.
- A school shall not authorize a solicitor to engage in sales
- 29 activities until the solicitor provides evidence of a
- 30 solicitor's permit. A person obtaining a solicitor's permit
- 31 shall be referred to orally and in writing as a "solicitor" or
- 32 "representative." A school must not refer to a solicitor as a
- 33 "counselor" or "registrar." A school may file a blanket surety
- 34 bond to cover all of its solicitors instead of the solicitor's
- 35 bond specified in Minnesota Statutes, section 141.26,

- 1 subdivision 3, provided the amount of the blanket bond is not
- 2 less than the amount specified in Minnesota Statutes, section
- 3 141.26, multiplied by the number of solicitors employed by the
- 4 school.
- 5 4880.2400 LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS FOR AVOCATIONAL SCHOOLS.
- A school that promises, makes reference to, or advertises
- 7 preparation for gainful employment upon completion of one of its
- 8 programs shall not be considered as engaged exclusively in the
- 9 teaching of purely avocational or recreational subjects under
- 10 Minnesota Statutes, section 141.35, clause (j), and shall be
- 11 subject to licensure under parts 4880.1500 to 4880.2400.