- 1 Higher Education Services Office
- 2
- 3 Adopted Permanent Rules Relating to State Grant Program
- 4
- 5 Rules as Adopted
- 6 4830.0300 ELIGIBLE SCHOOLS.
- 7 Subpart 1. Annual list. Annually the director shall
- 8 approve a list of schools at which a state grant may be used.
- 9 Schools may be added to the list by the director anytime during
- 10 the school year.
- 11 Subp. 2. Requirements. To be eligible a school must:
- [For text of items A to C, see M.R.]
- D. sign an institutional agreement with the director.
- 14 4830.0400 APPLICATION DATES AND STUDENT ELIGIBILITY.
- 15 Subpart 1. Date. Annually the office shall adopt by
- 16 resolution a date after February 14, by which all applications
- 17 must be filed to receive an award.
- 18 Subp. 2a. Out-of-state housing. A student's Minnesota
- 19 residence is not lost if the student or parent must live outside
- 20 of Minnesota for purposes of postsecondary education, military
- 21 service, or missionary work, provided the student or parent
- 22 continues to claim Minnesota as the state of legal residence for
- 23 income tax purposes.
- [For text of subp 4, see M.R.]
- 25 Subp. 5. Renewal awards. A grant is renewable for a
- 26 maximum of six semesters, nine quarters, or the equivalent, but
- 27 must not continue after the first of the following occurrences:
- 28 A. the recipient has obtained a baccalaureate degree;
- 29 or
- 30 B. the recipient has been enrolled on a full-time
- 31 basis for eight semesters, 12 quarters, or the equivalent,
- 32 taking into account the exclusions specified in Minnesota
- 33 Statutes, section 136A.121, subdivision 9.
- 34 To be eligible to renew a grant a student must apply each year
- 35 and continue to meet the requirements for an initial grant,

- 1 except for subpart 4, item D. A student must have made
- 2 satisfactory academic progress as defined in Minnesota Statutes,
- 3 section 136A.101, subdivision 10.
- 4 [For text of subp 5a, see M.R.]
- 5 Subp. 7. Minnesota correctional institution. "Minnesota
- 6 correctional institution" means a federal or state penal
- 7 institution located in Minnesota in which students are eligible
- 8 for grants under this rule pursuant to Minnesota Statutes,
- 9 section 136A.121, subdivision 6.
- 10 4830.0600 AWARDS.
- 11 Subpart 1. Monetary awards. The amount of a grant may not
- 12 exceed an applicant's recognized cost of attendance, as defined
- 13 in Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.121, subdivision 6, after
- 14 deducting the following:
- 15 A. The assigned student responsibility of at least 50
- 16 percent of the cost of attending the institution of the
- 17 applicant's choosing.
- B. For an applicant who is a dependent student, a
- 19 contribution by the applicant's parents, as determined by the
- 20 federal need analysis.
- 21 C. For an applicant who is an independent student,
- 22 the student contribution as determined by the federal need
- 23 analysis.
- D. An estimate of the amount of a federal Pell grant
- 25 award for which the applicant is eligible.
- Subp. la. Minimum. The minimum award amount shall be \$300.
- [For text of subp 2, see M.R.]
- 28 4830.0700 METHOD OF PAYMENT.
- 29 Subpart 1. Payments to schools. After a grant award is
- 30 determined, the award amount shall be sent by the director to
- 31 the school chosen by the recipient or the school shall withdraw
- 32 the award amount from its state grant account. The school shall
- 33 apply the award to the recipient's educational costs in the
- 34 following order: tuition, fees, books, supplies, and other
- 35 expenses. The costs must be prorated for each term of the

- 1 academic year. The school shall notify each recipient that the
- 2 award is ready for disbursement.
- 3 Subp. 2. Refunds. A grant is awarded for full-time
- 4 attendance at a specified school for up to four quarters or
- 5 three semesters within the state fiscal year. If a recipient
- 6 fails to enroll or reduces enrollment, the school must refund
- 7 the unused portion of the award. If the director determines
- 8 that a school has fraudulently handled grant money, the refund
- 9 of the unused portion of the award is immediately due, and the
- 10 office may institute a civil action for recovery if necessary.
- 11 Refunds to the office are determined as follows:
- [For text of item A, see M.R.]
- B. calculate the total tuition refund amount using
- 14 the refund calculation required of schools participating in
- 15 federal Title IV programs;
- [For text of items C and D, see M.R.]
- Subp. 3. School accounting requirements. Schools shall
- 18 maintain separate accounts for grant funds. Refunds to the
- 19 state grant program must be accompanied with a list stating the
- 20 social security number, name, award type, amount of refund,
- 21 term, and refund code for each student included in the refund.
- 22 The refund must be made to the program within 30 days from the
- 23 end of the academic term, or 30 days from the date the school is
- 24 notified of a student's withdrawal, whichever is less. Schools
- 25 must provide evidence, prepared according to generally accepted
- 26 accounting principles, that all awards have either been
- 27 distributed or refunded to the program.
- Subp. 4. Recovery of overpayments. An overpayment occurs
- 29 when a grant recipient receives more money than the recipient is
- 30 eligible to receive under the award calculation. A grant
- 31 recipient shall reimburse the state grant program for
- 32 overpayment regardless of the cause. The overpayment amount is
- 33 the difference between the amount received and the calculated
- 34 award eligibility. The reimbursement amount includes any costs
- 35 or expenses incurred by the office in collecting the debt,
- 36 including reasonable attorney fees. The reimbursement is

- 1 recoverable from the recipient or the recipient's estate. The
- 2 office may institute a civil action for recovery if necessary.
- 3 The recipient must not receive additional awards until the
- 4 overpayment is recovered or the recipient is making payments
- 5 under an approved plan. Additional awards for which the
- 6 recipient is eligible may be used to recover an unreimbursed
- 7 overpayment.