2

5

8

1 Department of Natural Resources

3 Adopted Permanent Rules Relating to the Leasing of State Lands

4 for Metallic Minerals

6 Rules as Adopted
7

LEASES FOR METALLIC MINERALS, EXCEPT IRON ORES AND TACONITE ORES

9 6125.0100 PURPOSE.

10 The purpose of parts 6125.0100 to 6125.0700 is to promote 11 and regulate exploration for, mining, and removing ores that are 12 primarily valuable for their metallic minerals content, and the 13 rules hereunder shall be construed to carry out that purpose.

14 6125.0400 LEASES.

15 The commissioner, with the approval of the state executive 16 council, may issue leases to explore for, mine, and remove 17 metallic minerals on lands where an interest in the minerals is owned by the state, including trust fund lands, land forfeited 18 19 for nonpayment of taxes and held in trust by the state, lands where severed mineral interests have forfeited under Minnesota 20 21 Statutes, section 93.55, lands where severed mineral interests have been otherwise acquired, lands where severed mineral 22 23 interests may be leased by the commissioner under Minnesota Statutes, section 93.55, subdivisions 1a and 3, the beds of 24 25 public waters, and lands otherwise acquired that have been 26 designated by the commissioner as mining units. Each lease shall cover one mining unit. No lease shall be issued for a 27 term longer than 50 years. 28

6125.0410 QUALIFICATION TO HOLD LEASE AND AUTHORIZATION TO
 30 CONDUCT GEOLOGICAL DATA GATHERING ACTIVITIES.

31 The right to apply for, acquire, and hold a lease to 32 prospect for, mine, and remove metallic minerals owned by the 33 state, and the right to apply for and to hold an authorization 34 to conduct geological data gathering activities, are subject to

[REVISOR ] PER/KS AR2525

1 items A and B.

A. The applicant is qualified to do business in3 Minnesota as shown by:

4 (1) if a corporation organized under the laws of
5 Minnesota, a certificate of incorporation from the secretary of
6 state's office;

7 (2) if a corporation organized under the laws of 8 any state other than Minnesota or another country, a certificate 9 of authority to transact business in Minnesota from the 10 secretary of state's office;

11 (3) if a limited partnership, a certificate of 12 limited partnership from the secretary of state's office; 13 (4) if an individual, proof of United States 14 citizenship and of legal age; or

15 (5) if a general partnership or other business
16 entity, evidence that the general partners or individuals
17 controlling the business entity meet the requirements in this
18 part.

B. The applicant is qualified to conduct exploratory
borings in Minnesota by fulfilling the requirements of Minnesota
Statutes, section 103I.601, subdivision 3.

The commissioner may request additional evidence that the 22 applicant is technically and financially capable of performing 23 under the terms of a state minerals lease or an authorization to 24 2.5 conduct geological data gathering activities and that the 26 applicant has shown the capability to comply with environmental laws and permits. Such evidence may include but is not limited 27 28 to a corporate report, an audited financial statement, resumes of corporate officers, and evidence of past compliance with 29 environmental laws and permits in this or other states or in 30 other countries. If such evidence is requested, the applicant 31 32 must submit the evidence within 45 days of receipt of the 33 request.

34 6125.0420 NOTICES OF PUBLIC LEASE SALES, NEGOTIATED LEASES, AND 35 PREFERENCE RIGHTS LEASES.

# [REVISOR ] PER/KS AR2525

1 The commissioner shall maintain a list of all persons who 2 have registered with the department for the purpose of receiving 3 notices of public lease sales, the filing of applications for 4 negotiated leases, and notices of intent to offer lands 5 available through preference rights leasing. The department may 6 inquire as to whether those persons on the list wish to maintain 7 their names on the list and may remove names for which there is 8 a negative reply or no reply within 60 days.

9 When the commissioner publishes a notice under part 10 6125.0500, subpart 1, or 6125.0610, subpart 2, or receives an 11 application under part 6125.0600, a copy of the notice or 12 application shall be sent to all persons registered with the 13 department to receive the notices.

14 6125.0500 PUBLIC SALE OF LEASES.

15 Subpart 1. Time, place, and notice. Except as otherwise 16 expressly provided by law, or as otherwise provided in parts 17 6125.0600 and 6125.0610, leases to explore for, mine, and remove 18 metallic minerals owned by the state shall be issued only upon 19 public sale authorized by the commissioner.

20 The public sale of leases shall be held at such times and 21 places as may be designated by the commissioner. The commissioner shall give public notice of intent to hold a public 22 23 sale by publication in the State Register and the EQB Monitor 24 and such other publications as the commissioner may direct at 25 least 90 days prior to the proposed date of sale. The commissioner shall give public notice of each sale by 26 publication for three successive weeks in a qualified newspaper 27 that has its known office of issue in the county seat of the 28 29 county in which the mining units to be leased are located. If 30 no qualified newspaper has its known office of issue in the 31 county seat of a particular county, then notice must be 32 published in the qualified newspaper designated as the publisher 33 of the official proceedings of the county board of that county. 34 The first publication shall be at least 30 days before the date of sale. Like notice shall be published in the State Register 35

4

### [REVISOR ] PER/KS AR2525

and the EQB Monitor and may be published in additional
 newspapers and trade magazines as the commissioner may direct.
 Each notice shall contain the following information:

A. time and place of holding the sale;

5 B. the place or places where the list of mining units 6 to be offered for sale will be available for purchase or 7 inspection, and where bid forms may be obtained; and

8 C. such other information as the commissioner may 9 direct.

Subp. 2. Mining unit books. Those interested in obtaining 10 a copy of the mining unit book may obtain one by submitting a 11 request to the commissioner. The request must be accompanied by 12 a check or money order, payable to the Department of Natural 13 14 Resources, in the amount specified by the commissioner, based on copying and mailing costs, as a fee for a mining unit book. 15 16 Unit books will be available for inspection at the Hibbing and Saint Paul offices of the Division of Minerals, Department of 17 Natural Resources. 18

19 Subp. 3. Bids. Bids shall be submitted on a form obtained 20 from the commissioner. The bid form must require identification of which mining units, as designated in the mining unit book, 21 are being bid upon. The bid form will also require 22 identification of the additional bid royalty rate offered for 23 24 each mining unit being bid upon. Each bid form must be accompanied by a certified check, cashier's check, or bank money 25 order, payable to the Department of Natural Resources, in the 26 27 sum of the following amounts:

A. an application fee of \$100 for each mining unit29 being bid upon; and

B. rental for one full calendar year for each mining unit being bid upon. For the purposes of the bid, the rental is calculated at \$1.50 per acre times the gross acreage of the lands offered for lease. The remaining rentals, due at the time the lease is issued, shall be due upon the effective date of the lease.

36

The bid form, together with the certified check, cashier's

# [REVISOR ] PER/KS AR2525

1 check, or bank money order, shall be submitted in a sealed
2 envelope marked CONFIDENTIAL - BIDS FOR STATE MINERAL LEASES.
3 Each sealed bid envelope shall be delivered in person or by mail
4 to the commissioner at Saint Paul, Minnesota. Bids may be
5 submitted at any time before 4:30 p.m., Saint Paul, Minnesota
6 time, on the last business day before the day specified for the
7 opening of the bids, and no bids submitted after that time shall
8 be considered. Upon receipt, the commissioner shall endorse
9 upon each sealed bid envelope the exact time of presentation and
10 preserve the same, unopened in the commissioner's office.

At the time specified, the commissioner shall then publicly open the bids and announce the amount of each bid separately. The commissioner shall request each high bidder to provide evidence the bidder is qualified to hold state mineral leases pursuant to part 6125.0410. The evidence must be provided within 45 days of the request from the commissioner or the bids from that high bidder will be rejected.

Subp. 4. Issuance of leases. Leases shall be awarded by 18 19 the commissioner, with the approval of the state executive council, to the highest bidder for the respective mining units, 20 21 but no bids shall be accepted that do not equal or exceed the base royalty rates in part 6125.0700. The right is reserved to 22 the state, through the executive council, to reject any or all 23 bids. Tie bids will be resolved by the commissioner, with the 24 approval of the state executive council, by the random drawing 25 26 of the name of one tied bidder from a pool comprised of the 27 names of all the tied bidders. Upon the award of a lease, the application fee submitted with the bid shall be deposited with 28 the state treasurer as a fee for the lease. All bids not 29 30 accepted shall become void, and the application fee and rental payment accompanying the bids shall be returned to the 31 32 respective bidders; provided, however, the application fee and 33 rental payment accompanying a bid shall not be returned if the bidder was the high bidder and subsequently withdrew the bid 34 35 prior to the awarding of a lease.

1 6125.0600 NEGOTIATED LEASES.

Subpart 1. Purpose and eligibility for negotiated leases. When the commissioner finds that the best interests of the state will be served and the circumstances in this subpart exist, the commissioner, with the approval of the executive council, may issue a lease to explore for, mine, and remove metallic minerals through negotiations, to an applicant qualified under part 6 125.0410.

9 A lease may be issued through negotiations under any of the 10 following circumstances:

A. the state's mineral ownership interest in the lands to be leased is an undivided fractional interest and the applicant holds under control a majority of the remaining undivided fractional metallic mineral interests in the lands to be leased;

B. the applicant holds a state metallic minerals
Provide the state of the

19 C. the applicant holds, within one-half mile of the 20 requested lands to be leased, a state metallic minerals lease or 21 a private metallic minerals lease and no other party holds a 22 state metallic minerals lease covering land within the same 23 government section of land where the requested lands to be 24 leased are located; or

D. the lands to be leased contain an identified mineral resource, and the applicant holds under its control the majority of the same type of minerals in the remaining lands containing the identified mineral resource.

Subp. 2. After acquired or later identified state mineral 29 30 ownership. The state may acquire additional mineral ownership in a government section where its mineral interests are held 31 32 under a metallic minerals lease or there may be identification 33 of additional state mineral ownership not known at the time the 34 state mineral ownership in that government section of land was 35 leased. When an applicant applies for a negotiated lease under 36 these circumstances and the commissioner determines it is in the

01/31/95

1 best interests of the state to issue a negotiated lease to the 2 applicant, the royalty rate for the newly acquired or identified 3 lands shall be the same as that contained in the state mineral 4 lease held by the applicant if there has been no new drilling or 5 production since the state metallic minerals lease was issued 6 under parts 6125.0100 to 6125.0700.

Subp. 3. Application for negotiated lease. Applications 7 for a negotiated lease shall be submitted on a form obtained 8 from the commissioner and shall contain information as the 9 10 commissioner may prescribe. The applicant shall submit with the application a certified check, cashier's check, or bank money 11 12 order, payable to the Department of Natural Resources in the sum of \$100 as a fee for filing the application. The application 13 fee will not be refunded under any circumstances. 14

15 The right is reserved to the state to reject any or all 16 applications for negotiated leases.

17 Subp. 4. Issuance of lease. The leases so issued shall be 18 in the form set forth in part 6125.0700, with such additional 19 terms and conditions consistent with the lease as may be agreed 20 upon. The rental and royalty rates agreed upon shall be not 21 less than those prescribed in part 6125.0700.

No lease shall be issued under this part for the removal of metallic minerals from any mining unit for which notice of public sale has been published, until the public sale has been held.

26 6125.0610 PREFERENCE RIGHTS LEASES.

Subpart 1. Purpose. When the commissioner determines the best interests of the state will be served, the commissioner may establish a list of mining units available for preference rights leasing through application. Mining units may only be included in the preference rights lease availability list if they do not contain an identified mineral resource and the area is not being explored by multiple parties.

34 Subp. 2. Compilation of preference rights lease
35 availability list. Mining units may be included in a preference

# 01/31/95

rights lease availability list only if they meet all of the
 following criteria:

A. the mining unit has been offered at a public 4 metallic minerals lease sale held under parts 6125.0100 to 5 6125.0700 after December 31, 1994;

B. the mining unit has been offered at a public
7 metallic minerals lease sale held under parts 6125.0100 to
8 6125.0700 within the last four years;

9 C. the mining unit does not contain an identified 10 mineral resource;

D. state metallic minerals leases are not in effect within three miles of the mining unit, unless the state metallic minerals leases are held by only one party;

E. a state metallic minerals lease is not in effect for other lands in the same government section of lands as covered by the mining unit under consideration; and

17 F. the mining unit is not within an area being 18 offered at a public metallic minerals lease sale, as identified 19 through a published notice of intent to hold a public metallic 20 minerals lease sale.

Parties may submit to the commissioner suggestions of mining units to be considered for inclusion on the preference rights lease availability list.

Prior to including selected mining units on the preference 24 25 rights lease availability list, the commissioner shall give public notice of intent to offer mining units available through 26 preference rights leasing. The public notice shall be published 27 in the State Register, the EQB Monitor, and a qualified 28 newspaper that has its known office of issue in the county seat 29 30 of the county in which the mining units to be included on the preference rights lease availability list are located. If no 31 qualified newspaper has its known office of issue in the county 32 seat of a particular county, then notice must be published in 33 the qualified newspaper designated as the publisher of the 34 official proceedings of the county board of that county. Like 35 notice may be published in other publications as the 36

commissioner may direct. The notice shall be published at least
 30 days prior to including the selected mining units on the
 preference rights lease availability list.

The commissioner may add mining units to the preference 4 rights lease availability list only on the first business day of 5 each month. The commissioner may withdraw mining units from the 6 preference rights lease availability list at any time. Mining 7 units shall be deemed withdrawn from the preference rights lease 8 availability list without any further action by the commissioner 9 as soon as the mining units no longer meet the criteria to be 10 11 included on the list.

12 A written record must be maintained of the date and time of 13 all additions and withdrawals from the preference rights lease 14 availability list.

Subp. 3. Preference rights lease availability list. The preference rights lease availability list must be maintained and available for inspection in the office of the Division of Minerals, Department of Natural Resources, 500 Lafayette Road, Saint Paul, Minnesota 55155-4045.

Those interested in obtaining a copy of the preference 20 21 rights lease availability list may obtain one by submitting a request to the commissioner. The commissioner shall charge a 22 23 fee for each copy of the list based on copying and mailing costs. 24 Subp. 4. Application for preference rights lease. Application for a preference rights lease shall be submitted on 25 a form obtained from the commissioner and shall contain 26 information the commissioner may prescribe. The applicant shall 27 submit with the application evidence that the applicant is 28 29 qualified to hold a mineral lease as specified in part 6125.0410. The applicant shall submit with the application a 30 31 certified check, cashier's check, or bank money order, payable 32 to the Department of Natural Resources, in the sum of the following amounts: 33

A. an application fee of \$100 for each mining unit for which a preference rights lease is requested; and B. rental for one full calendar year for each mining

01/31/95

1 unit for which a preference rights lease is requested. For the 2 purposes of this payment, rental is calculated at \$1.50 per acre 3 times the gross acreage of the lands for which a preference 4 rights lease is requested. The remaining rentals, due at the 5 time the lease is issued, shall be due upon the effective date 6 of the lease.

7 If the application for a preference rights lease is
8 rejected, the rental payment accompanying the application shall
9 be returned to the applicant. The application fee will not be
10 refunded under any circumstances.

11 Applications may be submitted in person or by mail to the office of the Division of Minerals, Department of Natural 12 Resources, 500 Lafayette Road, Saint Paul, Minnesota 55155-4045. 13 Applications will only be accepted during the hours of 8:30 a.m. 14 15 to 4:00 p.m. on regularly scheduled business days. Applications 16 received at any other time will not be officially accepted until the next regularly scheduled business day, and the commissioner 17 assumes no responsibility for applications submitted in person 18 19 at any time other than the time specified in this subpart. 20 Applications will not be accepted by facsimile transmission. 21 Subp. 5. Commissioner's review of application. Within ten days after receipt of an application, the commissioner will send 22 written acknowledgment that the application was received. 23 The 24 commissioner must review the application to determine if: Α. 25 the application was completed and signed; 26 the application fee was submitted; and в. 27 с. evidence of qualification to hold a state lease, as specified in part 6125.0410, was submitted. 28 29 The applicant must also be advised if additional evidence 30 is required by the commissioner to determine if the applicant is 31 qualified to hold a state lease as specified in part 6125.0410. Subp. 6. Rejection of application. Applications for 32 preference rights leases will be rejected by the commissioner 33 34 under the following circumstances: 35 the application was not completed or signed; Α. 36 в. the application fee was not submitted;

### [REVISOR ] PER/KS AR2525

C. the applicant failed to submit evidence of
 qualification to hold a state lease as specified in part
 6125.0410, or the applicant failed to submit additional
 evidence, within 45 days of receipt of the commissioner's
 request, as to qualification to hold a state lease as specified
 in part 6125.0410;

D. there was a simultaneous filing of applications for a preference rights lease on the same mining unit and more than one of the applicants meets the requirements of part 6125.0410. For the purpose of parts 6125.0100 to 6125.0700, "simultaneous filings" means filings that arrive in the mail or in person on the same day;

E. an application for a preference rights lease was filed on a prior day for the same mining unit and the commissioner has determined that the prior applicant meets the requirements of part 6125.0410, and the prior application is not rejected pursuant to this part;

F. the mining unit was not on the preference rights 18 19 lease availability list at the time of the application; or G. the mining unit had been deemed withdrawn from the 20 preference rights lease availability list prior to the time of 21 application because the mining unit no longer met the criteria 22 to be included on the preference rights lease availability list. 23 24 Prior to filing an application for a preference rights lease, any party may contact the commissioner for information as 25 26 to whether the circumstances described in this part exist as to 27 the mining units the party is interested in for a lease. Prior to filing an application for a preference rights lease, any 28 29 party may contact the commissioner for a review of the party's qualification to hold a mineral lease as specified in part 30 31 6125.0410.

32 The right is reserved to the state to reject any or all 33 applications for preference rights leases. However, if the 34 commissioner rejects the application based on item D, then no 35 preference rights lease may be issued for the mining unit until 36 after it has first been offered at public lease sale.

#### 01/31/95

1 Subp. 7. Issuance of leases. A lease shall be awarded by 2 the commissioner, with the approval of the state executive 3 council, to the first qualified applicant who files an 4 application that is not rejected pursuant to subpart 6. The 5 preference rights leases so issued shall be in the form set 6 forth in part 6125.0700. The rental and royalty rates shall not 7 be less than those prescribed in part 6125.0700.

8 Subp. 8. Report to state executive council. The 9 commissioner must provide annual reports to the state executive 10 council on the use and results of the preference rights leasing 11 system.

12 6125.0620 AUTHORIZATION TO CONDUCT GEOLOGICAL DATA GATHERING 13 ACTIVITIES.

As an alternative to applying for a state mineral lease, any party may apply to the commissioner for authorization to conduct geological data gathering activities on state-owned land. The applicant must meet the qualifications to hold an authorization to conduct geological data gathering activities as specified in part 6125.0410.

For the purposes of this authorization, geological data 20 gathering activities include geophysical and geochemical 21 activities, sampling of glacial overburden, and the sampling and 22 23 drilling of bedrock, provided that any drilling and sampling of bedrock is limited to a maximum penetration of 20 feet into 24 25 bedrock. Each authorization granted by the commissioner is limited to the size of one township, or portion of the 26 township. The fee for each authorization is \$100. The 27 28 authorization does not grant any rights to a mineral lease and 29 is nonexclusive.

30 6125.0700 FORM OF LEASE.

The form of lease for exploration for, mining, and removing metallic minerals belonging to the state shall consist of the following provisions, with insertions, changes, or additions as may be necessary to incorporate the royalty rates and other particulars applicable to each lease as may be authorized under

	01/31/95 [REVISOR ] PER/KS AR2525
T	parts 6125.0100 to 6125.0700:
	This lease agreement is entered into on the day of
3	, 19 The parties to this lease are the State of
4	Minnesota, called the state, and,
5	called the lessee.
6	1. Term; description of mining unit. The state, in
	consideration of the sum of Dollars, paid by the lessee,
	being the rental provided in this lease for the unexpired
	portion of the current calendar year and for the next succeeding
	two (2) calendar years, the receipt whereof is hereby
	acknowledged, and in further consideration of the covenants and
	conditions of this lease to be performed by the lessee, agrees
	to lease to the lessee for a term of ()
	years beginning the day of, 19_, the
	following-described mining unit, situated in the county of
16	, in the State of Minnesota:
17	2. Definitions. For the purposes of this lease, the
18	following words have the meanings given them:
19	a. "Associated mineral products" means those intermingled
20	or associated materials and substances recovered from each ton
21	of crude ore mined from the mining unit that are excluded from
22	the definition of metallic minerals.
23	b. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of natural
24	resources of the state of Minnesota, or the commissioner's
25	designated representative.
26	c. "Metallic minerals," whether singular or plural, means
27	any mineral substances of a metalliferous nature, except iron
28	ores and taconite ores.
29	d. "Ton" means 2,000 pounds avoirdupois after removal of
3.0	all free moisture from the material weighed, by drying at 212
31	degrees Fahrenheit.
32	e. "Troy ounce" means a unit of mass equal to 480 grains
33	or 31.1035 grams or 1.0971 avoirdupois ounces.
34	3. Use of surface of lands. The mining unit is leased to
35	the lessee for the purpose of exploration for, mining, and
36	removing ores primarily valuable for metallic minerals content
	는 것이 같은 것이 있었다. 전 것이 같은 것이 있는 것이 있다. 같은 것이 같은 것이 있는 것이 같은 것이 있는 것이 있는 것이 있는 것이 있는 것이 있는 것이 있는 것이 없는 것이 없는 것이 없는 것이 없다. 것이 있는 것이 있는 것이 없는 것이 없는 것이 있는
	13 and $13$ and $13$ and $13$ and $13$ and $13$ and $13$

1

that are found on or in the mining unit.

The lessee has the right to construct or make buildings, 2 excavations, openings, ditches, drains, railroads, roads, and 3 other improvements on the mining unit as necessary or suitable 4 for those purposes. All buildings and ditches must be 5 6 constructed according to applicable local ordinances. The locations of railroads, roads, and other improvements are 7 subject to review by the commissioner. The lessee has the right 8 9 to mill and concentrate the ore so mined, either upon the mining unit or elsewhere, but the right to mill and concentrate does 10 11 not include the right to reduce or smelt ore upon the mining unit without an agreement between the lessee and the 12 13 commissioner, authorizing that use of the surface of the land and providing for the necessary protection of life and 14 15 property. The lessee may contract with others for doing any 16 work authorized or required under this lease, or for the use of the mining unit or any part of it for the purposes of the lease, 17 18 but no contract of this type relieves the lessee from any duty, 19 obligation, or liability under the lease. No such contract providing for shipping, handling, or removal of ore bearing 20 material becomes effective for any purpose until three executed 21 duplicates of the contract have been filed with the commissioner. 22 4. State's right to lease iron ores, taconite ores, coal, 23 24 oil, gas, and other liquid or gaseous hydrocarbon substances. 25 The state reserves the right to lease or grant to other persons or corporations the right to explore for, mine, remove, and 26 beneficiate iron ores, taconite ores, coal, oil, gas, and other 27 liquid or gaseous hydrocarbon substances, that are located in 28 the mining unit. The state agrees that any permit or lease 29 30 granted by it to any person or corporation to explore for, develop, mine, or dispose of the iron ores, taconite ores, coal, 31 32 oil, gas, and other liquid or gaseous hydrocarbon substances shall contain a provision that the permittee or lessee shall 33 34 exercise those rights so as not to cause any unnecessary or unreasonable injury or hindrance to the operations of the lessee 35 36 of this lease in the exploration for, or the development,

01/31/95

mining, or removal of metallic minerals other than iron ores, 1 2 taconite ores, coal, oil, gas, and other liquid or gaseous 3 hydrocarbon substances covered by that permit or lease. The lessee of this lease agrees that it will exercise the rights 4 granted to it by this lease in such manner as not to cause any 5 unnecessary or unreasonable injury or hindrance to the 6 operations of any permittee or lessee of the state in the 7 8 exploration for, or the development, mining, or removal of iron ores, taconite ores, coal, oil, gas, and other liquid or gaseous 9 10 hydrocarbon substances.

Written notice shall be provided by the commissioner to the lessee whenever the commissioner is planning to issue a mineral lease according to the rights reserved under this paragraph. The commissioner must meet with the lessee to obtain information for terms and conditions under which multiple mineral development could occur.

5. State's right to lease surface and sell timber. 17 The state reserves the right to sell and dispose of all the timber 18 upon the mining unit without hindrance from the lessee and 19 20 according to the law now or hereafter governing the sale of timber on state lands, and reserves to the state and to the 21 22 purchaser of the timber, and the purchaser's agents, the right 23 at all times to enter the mining unit, and to cut and remove timber from it according to the terms of the purchaser's permit 24 25 from the state. The timber purchaser shall not unduly interfere with the exploration or mining operations. The state further 26 27 reserves the right to grant leases, permits, or licenses to any portion of the surface of the mining unit to any person, 28 29 partnership, corporation, or other association under the authority of Minnesota Statutes, section 92.50, or other 30 applicable laws, after consultation with lessee. The surface 31 32 leases, permits, or licenses shall not unduly interfere with the exploration or mining operations conducted on the mining unit. 33 34 6. Annual rental. The lessee agrees to pay to the state rental for the mining unit at the rate of \$1.50 per acre of land 35 36 and water area included in the mining unit, per calendar year,

## 01/31/95

payable in advance, for the unexpired portion of the current 1 2 calendar year from the effective date of this lease and for the next succeeding two calendar years; and after that time at the 3 rate of \$5 per acre per calendar year, payable quarterly for the 4 5 three succeeding calendar years; and after that time at the rate of \$15 per acre per calendar year, payable quarterly for the 6 five succeeding calendar years; and after that time at the rate 7 of \$30 per acre per calendar year, payable quarterly for the 8 remainder of the term of this lease. 9

The mining unit may include lands where an interest in the 10 minerals is owned by the state, including trust fund lands, land 11 forfeited for nonpayment of taxes and held in trust by the 12 13 state, lands where severed mineral interests have forfeited under Minnesota Statutes, section 93.55, lands where severed 14 mineral interests have been otherwise acquired, lands where 15 severed mineral interests may be leased by the commissioner 16 under Minnesota Statutes, section 93.55, subdivisions la and 3, 17 18 the beds of public waters, and lands otherwise acquired. Any 19 amount paid for rental, at the time of payment, shall be allocated to the proper fund as determined by the mineral 20 ownership. 21

22 Any amount paid and accrued for rental in excess of the 23 rate of \$5 per acre per year for any calendar year shall be 24 credited on any royalty that may become due for ore removed under this lease during the same calendar year in which the 25 rental was due but no further, and only to the extent that the 26 rental was paid or deposited into the particular fund to which 27 28 the royalty for the ore is due. Any amount paid for royalty in excess of rental at the rate of \$5 per acre per year for any 29 30 calendar year must be credited on rental, if any, subsequently 31 accruing for that same calendar year but no further, and only to the extent that the royalty was paid or deposited into the 32 particular fund to which the rental is due. 33

Rental payments must be made on or before May 20, August 35 20, November 20, and February 20 for the previous calendar 36 quarters. The first calendar quarter is the first three

# 01/31/95

calendar months of the year, and so on. Any rental payments not
 received by the date due are subject to interest at the rate of
 six percent per year from the due date.

When the lessee exercises the right under paragraph 30 of this lease to surrender any part or parts of the mining unit, the annual rental payment may be discontinued as to those parts for all subsequent calendar years; however, the rentals paid on the parts surrendered must not be credited on any royalties due for ore removed from that part of the mining unit which remains under lease.

11 Where the state owns only a fractional undivided interest 12 in the minerals in any portion of the mining unit, only that 13 fractional part of the rentals and royalties established in this 14 lease shall be paid for that portion.

If at any time during the term of this lease it is 15 determined in a proper proceeding that the state does not own 16 17 the minerals in a part of the area included in the mining unit, the commissioner shall delete from the description of the mining 18 19 unit the part not owned by the state, and only if that determination is made prior to the fifth anniversary date of 20 this lease is the lessee entitled to a refund, or in the case of 21 tax forfeited minerals to receive credit on future payments due 22 the same fund, for payments made to the state on that part prior 23 24 to the determination. If the commissioner deems it necessary, additional time to make the determination may be granted. 25

7. Tonnage for royalty purposes. Royalty must be computed on the dry weight of the crude ore. The dry weight of the crude ore shall be calculated from natural crude ore weights and moisture percentages from samples taken at the time the crude ore is weighed.

31 8. Royalty.

a. The royalty to be paid to the state by the lessee for the metallic minerals and associated mineral products recovered from each ton of ore mined from the mining unit is the sum of the base rate described in this paragraph and an additional bid rate of \_\_\_\_\_ percent multiplied by the net return value of the

#### [REVISOR ] PER/KS AR2525

metallic minerals and associated mineral products recovered from
 each ton of dried crude ore.

b. The base rate must not be less than 3.95 percent nor
more than 20 percent and varies with the net return value of the
metallic minerals and associated mineral products recovered from
each ton of ore mined from the mining unit. The base rate must
be determined from the Base Royalty Rate Table which is found in
Exhibit A and which is made a part of this lease.

c. If in any month: (1) the net return value of the 9 10 metallic minerals and associated mineral products recovered from each ton of dried crude ore mined from the mining unit exceeds 11 \$75; and (2) the unadjusted Producer Price Index for All 12 Commodities (1982 equals 100), as originally published 13 (unrevised) by the Bureau of Labor Statistics of the United 14 States Department of Labor, or any succeeding federal government 15 agency publishing the Index, in the monthly publication titled 16 17 Producer Price Indexes, for the first month in the calendar 18 quarter for which royalty payment is to be made, exceeds 121.5, which was the originally published (unrevised) level of the 19 index for November 1994 (hereinafter called the "Base Index"), 20 then an adjustment to the base rate must be computed in the 21 manner hereinafter provided. 22

23 The adjustment to the base rate must be computed by 24 multiplying \$75 by a fraction, the denominator of which is the 25 Base Index and the numerator of which is equal to the amount by 26 which the Producer Price Index for All Commodities for the month 27 in question exceeds the Base Index. The resulting products must be carried to four decimal places and then rounded to the 28 29 nearest one-hundredth of a dollar. The difference between this rounded product and the net return value must then be 30 31 determined. The Royalty Base Rate Table must be referred to and the difference resulting from this computation must be used 32 33 instead of the net return value to determine the base rate. 34 For example, the Base Index under this lease is 121.5 and if the Producer Price Index for All Commodities for January 1996 35 was 132.7, the adjustment to the base rate would be computed as 36

[REVISOR ] PER/KS AR2525

1 follows:

7 crude ore equalled \$85, then the difference between the net 8 return value and \$6.91 would be computed as follows:

9

23

4

5

6

85 - 6.91 = 78.09

10 The resulting difference of \$78.09 would then be used instead of the net return value to determine the base rate. 11 12 If some period other than 1982 is used as a base of 100 in 13 determining the Producer Price Index for All Commodities, for the purposes of this lease provision the index must be adjusted 14 so as to be in correct relationship to the 1982 base. In the 15 event the index is not published by any federal agency, the 16 17 index to be used as previously provided must be the index independently published, which, after necessary adjustments, if 18 19 any, provides the most reasonable substitute for the Producer Price Index for All Commodities during any period after November 20 1994, it being intended to substitute an index that most 21 accurately reflects fluctuations in the prices of commodities in 22 the all commodities index in the manner presently reported by 23 24 the Producer Price Index for All Commodities (1982 equals 100), published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics of the United States 25 26 Department of Labor.

The lessee may apply to the commissioner and the 27 d. 28 commissioner may grant the lessee a partial deferral of the 29 lessee's obligation to pay royalties under this lease. Up to 50 30 percent of royalties due and payable less any credits against royalties as provided in paragraph 6, may be deferred by the 31 32 commissioner. Any deferral granted applies only to the 33 royalties due and payable during the first consecutive years, up 34 to a maximum of the first five consecutive years, beginning with 35 the first year that any royalties are due and payable under this lease, or to royalties due and payable during the first one-half 36 37 of the expected operational life of the first mine established 38 under this lease in the mining unit, whichever is less.

01/31/95

1 The amount of royalties deferred for each calendar quarter 2 as provided above, plus interest at the rate of six percent per 3 year, becomes finally due and payable on the future date that is 4 determined by adding the total number of years of deferral 5 granted under this section to the date on which royalties would 6 have been due and payable had there been no deferral.

7 The commissioner in considering the lessee's application for deferral of royalties may consider factors including, but 8 not limited to, the expected operational life of the mine 9 10 producing the royalties, the express purposes for which the 11 money deferred is proposed to be used by the lessee, the cash 12 flow analysis of the mine, the amount of either the capital invested or to be invested, or both, by the lessee in 13 exploration and mining operations under this lease, and the 14 technical and financial capabilities of the lessee. 15

9. Net return value of metallic minerals and associatedmineral products.

a. If the final metal product is recovered in a smelter, 18 19 the net return value of metallic minerals and associated mineral 20 products recovered from each ton of dried crude ore must be determined monthly as follows: Multiply the total pounds 21 22 respectively of each metal and associated mineral product recovered during the month in the mill concentrate from the 23 24 mining unit, by the average market price per pound respectively for that month of each fully refined metal and of each 25 associated mineral product. Subtract from that total, the 26 allowable charges, as later defined in this lease, to obtain the 27 28 net return value of each metallic mineral and each associated 29 mineral product. Add the net return values thus obtained for 30 each metallic mineral and each associated mineral product for 31 the month, and divide the sum by the total number of tons of dried crude ore from the mining unit concentrated in the mill 32 33 during the month, to obtain the net return value of the metallic minerals and associated mineral products recovered from each ton 34 35 of dried crude ore. The net return value must be carried to 36 four decimal places and rounded to the nearest one-hundredth of

l a dollar.

The allowable charges in determining the net return value of metallic minerals and associated mineral products recovered in a smelter from each ton of dried crude ore are limited to the following:

6 (1) the base smelter treatment and refinery charges 7 assessed by the smelter for treating each ton of the mill 8 concentrate; and

9 (2) the smelter losses, refinery losses, and penalties for 10 impurities that are deducted from the assay or market values to 11 arrive at the gross payment to the lessee for each of the 12 metallic minerals and associated mineral products paid for by 13 the smelter.

b. If the final metal product is recovered in a 14 15 hydrometallurgical process, or in a combination hydrometallurgical and pyrometallurgical process, the net return 16 17 value of metallic minerals and associated mineral products recovered from each ton of dried crude ore must be determined 18 19 monthly as follows: Multiply the total pounds respectively of 20 each metal and associated mineral product recovered from the mining unit during the month in the final metal product from a 21 22 hydrometallurgical process or a combination hydrometallurgical and pyrometallurgical process by the average market price per 23 24 pound respectively for that month of each fully refined metal and of each associated mineral product. Subtract from that 25 26 total the allowable charges, as later defined in this lease, to obtain the net return value of each metallic mineral and each 27 28 associated mineral product. Add the net return values thus obtained for each metallic mineral and each associated mineral 29 3.0 product for the month, and divide the sum by the total number of 31 tons of dried crude ore from the mining unit processed by hydrometallurgy or by a combination of hydrometallurgy and 32 33 pyrometallurgy during the month to obtain the net return value 34 of the metallic minerals and associated mineral products recovered from each ton of dried crude ore. The net return 35 value must be carried to four decimal places and rounded to the 36

[REVISOR ] PER/KS AR2525

1 nearest one-hundredth of a dollar.

2 As used in this lease for the purpose of determining the 3 net return value of metallic minerals, "hydrometallurgy" means 4 that phase of metallurgy which involves the extraction and recovery of metals using aqueous or organic solutions, and 5 "pyrometallurgy" means that phase of metallurgy which involves 6 7 the extraction and recovery of metals using heat. The unit processes of hydrometallurgy include the leaching of ores or 8 9 concentrate for recovery of metals, the separation of the 10 leaching solution from the spent ore, and the recovery of the dissolved metal from the leaching solution. 11

12 The allowable charges in determining the net return value 13 of metallic minerals and associated mineral products recovered 14 in a hydrometallurgical process or a combination

hydrometallurgical and pyrometallurgical process are limited to 15 the following: charges attributable to recovery of dissolved 16 17 metal from the leaching solution by chemical purification, 18 pressurization, roasting of concentrate, melting of concentrate, filtration, absorption, solvent extraction, evaporation, 19 distillation, electrolysis, ion exchange, or precipitation. 20 The 21 charges attributable to the direct leaching of ores for recovery of metals, or to the separation of the leaching solution from 22 the spent ore, are nonallowable charges. 23

c. When metallic minerals and associated mineral products 24 25 recovered during the month are sold during the same month, only those metallic minerals and associated mineral products 26 recovered that are actually paid for by the smelter, refiner, or 27 other purchaser must be included as part of the metallic 28 29 minerals and associated mineral products recovered during the 30 month. When metallic minerals and associated mineral products recovered during the month are not sold during the same month, 31 the net return value of the metallic minerals and associated 32 33 mineral products recovered during the month must be adjusted, if 34 necessary, at the time they are sold to reflect the market price at the time of sale, and to reflect any recovered metallic 35 minerals and associated mineral products that are not actually 36

#### [REVISOR ] PER/KS AR2525

1 paid for by a smelter, refiner, or other purchaser. Any prior 2 payment of royalty that becomes an overpayment of royalty as a 3 result of the adjustment of net return value under this 4 paragraph is a credit against future royalty payments due under 5 this lease.

d. Metallic minerals and associated mineral products sold 6 by the lessee to a nonaffiliate shall be deemed sold at the time 7 the metallic minerals and associated mineral products are 8 delivered to the nonaffiliate. Metallic minerals and associated 9 10 mineral products sold or transferred by lessee to an affiliate shall be deemed sold by lessee at the time of delivery to the 11 affiliate and net return value must be calculated on the basis 12 of the market prices at the time of the deemed sale of the 13 metallic minerals and of the associated mineral products sold or 14 transferred to the affiliate. Metallic minerals and associated 15 16 mineral products retained by the lessee for its own internal use and consumption shall be deemed sold when they are removed from 17 18 the mining unit and net return value must be calculated on the basis of the market prices at the time of the removal of the 19 metallic minerals and of the associated mineral products 20 retained for internal use and consumption. For the purpose of 21 this lease "affiliate" means the lessee, or any business entity 22 23 that is effectively owned or controlled directly or indirectly 24 by the lessee or that directly or indirectly effectively owns or controls the lessee, or any business entity operated by or that 25 26 operates the lessee.

e. If material is recovered and sold on a basis other than for the purpose of recovering the fully refined metals and the associated mineral products contained in the material, such as the recovery and sale of titanium dioxide for paint pigment uses, then the net return value of the material recovered and sold, for royalty calculation purposes, is subject to agreement between the commissioner and the lessee.

f. If the metallic minerals and associated mineral products are treated at a smelter or hydrometallurgical processing facility owned by, or directly or indirectly

## [REVISOR ] PER/KS AR2525

1 effectively controlled by, the lessee or its affiliate, or that 2 the lessee or its affiliate operates or manages, then the 3 allowable charges are equal to the allowable charges that the 4 smelter or hydrometallurgical processing facility would assess 5 or charge an unaffiliated third party desiring to have 6 substantially similar metallic minerals and associated mineral products treated at the smelter or hydrometallurgical processing 7 facility. If the smelter or hydrometallurgical processing 8 facility owned by, operated by, or effectively controlled by the 9 lessee or its affiliate does not provide treatment services to 10 unaffiliated third parties, then the allowable charges are equal 11 12 to the mean of the allowable charges assessed and charged for substantially similar metallic minerals and associated mineral 13 products in contracts between unaffiliated parties. 14 The lessee shall provide to the state certified copies of all smelter 15 contracts, settlement sheets, and other agreements, to which the 16 17 lessee is a party, which detail and describe the allowable charges under this lease to arrive at the net return value as 18 19 defined in this lease. For purposes of such net return value determination, the state may disapprove and reject, in whole or 20 21 in part, the lessee's smelter contracts, settlement sheets, and other agreements. Should the state reject the agreements or 22 23 otherwise disagree with the allowable charges, the lessee has 24 the burden of proof of substantiating the allowable charges. 25 The average market price of copper per pound for each **q**.

26 month is that quoted for U.S. producers, cathode, as reported in 27 Metals Week. The average market price of nickel per pound for each month is that quoted for N.Y. merchant, spot, as reported 28 29 in Metals Week. The average market price of gold per troy ounce 30 for each month is that quoted for London, 3:00 p.m., as reported 31 in Metals Week. The average market price of silver per troy 32 ounce for each month is that quoted for Handy & Harman, N.Y., as 33 reported in Metals Week. The average market price of zinc per pound for each month is that quoted for U.S. special High Grade, 34 35 as reported in Metals Week. The average market price of lead 36 per pound for each month is that quoted for U.S. and Canadian

# [REVISOR ] PER/KS AR2525

1 producers, as reported in Metals Week. The average market price 2 of palladium per troy ounce for each month is that quoted for 3 London p.m. fix, as reported in Metals Week. The average market 4 price of platinum per troy ounce for each month is that quoted 5 for London p.m. fix, as reported in Metals Week. The average market price of other metallic minerals and of associated 6 7 mineral products per pound for each month shall be that quoted for the usual and customary shipping quantities, f.o.b. the 8 9 usual and customary place of shipment, United States import duty 10 (if any) included, as reported in Metals Week. If Metals Week does not or ceases to report an average monthly market price for 11 any metallic mineral or associated mineral product, then the 12 13 average monthly market price of that metallic mineral or associated mineral product is the arithmetic average of the 14 daily market prices for the metallic mineral or associated 15 mineral product for that month as reported in Metals Week. 16 If Metals Week or its successors cease to furnish such quotations, 17 18 or its quotations cease to be recognized in the trade, or a particular metallic mineral or associated mineral product is not 19 20 listed, then the quotations of such other source as the parties 21 may agree upon shall govern.

22 10. Commingled ores. The lessee has the right to 23 commingle ore from the mining unit with other ore, either in the 24 mine, in stockpile, in the mill, or in the smelter, but the ores must be kept entirely separate and distinct until their 25 quantities and metal and mineral contents have been separately 26 measured and determined. Ratios of concentration, percent mill 27 recoveries, and any other factors necessary for determining the 28 29 beneficiating amenability of the commingled ores, the allocation 30 of values and the royalties, must be separately measured and 31 determined by methods approved by the commissioner and shall be reported on a monthly basis. "Ratio of concentration" means the 32 dry weight of the crude ore divided by the dry weight of the 33 concentrate derived from the crude ore. "Percent mill recovery" 34 means the dry weight of the metal in the concentrate divided by 35 36 the dry weight of the metal in the crude ore, expressed as a

1 percent.

11. Quarterly payment on ore removed. The lessee agrees 2 to pay to the state, on or before May 20, August 20, November 3 20, and February 20 in each year during the period this lease 4 continues in force, royalty at the rates specified in paragraph 5 8 for all of the ore removed from the mining unit during the 6 previous calendar quarter. The lessee also agrees to pay to the 7 state on or before May 20 of each year all royalty due and 8 payable as a result of the adjustment to value of the metallic 9 minerals and associated mineral products sold during the 10 previous calendar year as provided for in paragraph 9b. 11 The lessee is liable for payment of royalty when due on all 12 ore removed from the mining unit for concentration elsewhere or 13 for any other purpose, from the actual time of removal; and if 14 15 the royalty due on the ore is not determined and accounted for as provided by the next royalty payment date, the commissioner 16 17 may determine the royalty by any method as the commissioner 18 deems appropriate and consistent with the royalty rates set 19 forth in this lease. Any amount paid for royalty must be 20 allocated to the proper fund as determined by the mineral 21 ownership. Any royalty payments not received by the date due 22 are subject to interest at the rate of six percent per year from 23 the due date.

12. Lessee to transmit statement of ore removed and 24 royalty due. The lessee shall transmit to the commissioner with 25 each royalty payment an exact and truthful statement of the 26 27 tonnage and royalty value of the ore mined and removed from the 28 mining unit during each of the three months for which the 29 payment is made, and the amount of royalty due on the ore, 30 separated as to the various state fund ownerships. The lessee shall provide for all the operations required for these 31 32 determinations except as otherwise specified.

33 13. Weighing. The methods of obtaining the weights used 34 to determine tonnage for the calculation of royalty, or to 35 determine other weights required by the state, are subject to 36 the approval of the commissioner.

## [REVISOR ] PER/KS AR2525

1 Sampling. Samples for royalty purposes must be taken 14. of the ores and their products at places and intervals subject 2 3 to the approval of the commissioner. A portion of each sample or composite sample must be delivered to the commissioner 4 5 unless, by mutual agreement, it has been decided that certain of such portions are not needed by the state. Except as otherwise 6 permitted by the commissioner, all ore mined from this mining 7 8 unit must be sampled and its weight determined before being commingled with any other ores. 9

Each royalty sample must be analyzed at the expense of the lessee by competent chemists or assayers approved in writing by the commissioner. The elements in the royalty sample for which analytical determinations will be made are subject to agreement between the commissioner and the lessee.

15 15. Monthly reports. Except as otherwise permitted by the commissioner, the lessee shall transmit within 20 days after the 16 end of each calendar month, statements for that calendar month 17 in the form the commissioner may require, covering the tonnages 18 19 and analyses of the following: all material mined from the 20 mining unit, all material milled from the mining unit, all 21 material stockpiled from the mining unit, all concentrates 22 produced from the mining unit, all material mined from any 23 source and commingled with material from the mining unit, all commingled material concentrated, all commingled material 24 25 stockpiled, all commingled concentrates produced during that calendar month, and such other information as may reasonably be 26 required by the commissioner for the purpose of verifying the 27 28 amount of royalty due.

29 The weight of ore as set forth in the monthly statements 30 shall prima facie be binding as between the parties, but the 31 state has the right to sample the ore, check the analyses, and 32 inspect, review and test the correctness of the methods, books, records and accounts of the lessee in sampling, analyzing, 33 34 recording, and reporting the weights, and to inspect, review, 35 and test the correctness of the weights and scales and other equipment used in measuring the amount of ore, it being 36

understood that any errors in these reports, when ascertained,
 shall be corrected.

16. Additional monthly and annual reports to be furnished
by lessee; exploration; mine samples required. Except as
otherwise permitted by the commissioner, in addition to other
reports or statements required in this lease, the lessee shall
furnish the following:

a. Copies of all exploration data, including, but not 8 limited to, all logs and drill hole records; all maps and 9 10 coordinates showing drill holes, geophysical grids, geochemical 11 and geologic sampling, trenching, and survey data; all mineral analyses and assays; all chemical and analytical data and 12 13 information; all laboratory test data; all geophysical, geochemical, and geologic records; all results of mine and 14 15 metallurgical testings; and all periodic mine maps, analyses maps, cross-sections, and development plans. All material 16 17 required under this subparagraph must be available to the commissioner, or the commissioner's representative, at all 18 19 reasonable times. Copies must be submitted annually to the 20 commissioner when the data is in the form customarily prepared 21 for permanent record of the operations on the mining unit. 22 Material available to and furnished to the commissioner under this subparagraph and subparagraph b. shall be considered 23 24 confidential during the life of this lease or any extension of 25 it.

b. At least a quarter portion of all exploration samples, 26 27 and when requested by the commissioner in writing, a quarter 28 portion of mine or mill samples. In the event that the lessee 29 requires certain exploration samples in their entirety, the 30 commissioner or the commissioner's representative may waive the 31 requirement for a quarter portion of such exploration samples, 32 provided that the lessee grants the state an opportunity to 33 examine and classify such samples before they are crushed or 34 processed.

35 c. A monthly report showing the estimated weights and
36 analyses of all materials stockpiled, including lean ore, waste

#### 01/31/95

and tailings, and divided as to property of origin and
 deposition.

d. Certified copies of smelter statements, schedules,
agreements, and settlement sheets or receipts from sales
involving materials produced from this mining unit showing the
product sold and factors relevant to the calculation of
royalties.

8 e. Not later than March 1 of each year during the term of 9 this lease, a summary statement of the tonnage of all ore mined 10 and all ore milled from the premises and all ore materials 11 placed in or removed from stockpile during the previous calendar 12 year, divided as to the property of origin and the disposition 13 of the ore materials and showing such analyses of them as the 14 commissioner may require.

15 17. How remittances and reports are to be transmitted. 16 All remittances by the lessee under this lease must be made 17 payable to the Department of Natural Resources. All such 18 remittances and all reports, notices and documents required 19 under this lease must be transmitted to the commissioner through 20 the director of the division of minerals at Saint Paul, 21 Minnesota.

22 18. State inspection; inspectors at plants and mines. The 23 commissioner may at all reasonable times enter the mining unit 24 and any other premises used or operated by the lessee in 25 connection with the operation of the mining unit, inspect the 26 operations conducted under this lease, and conduct such 27 engineering and sampling procedures and other investigations as the commissioner may require, not unreasonably hindering or 28 29 interrupting the operations of the lessee.

The lessee shall provide, upon written request of the commissioner, a suitable room in the dry or wash house or in some other suitable place on the mining unit or elsewhere when necessary, with water, light, and heat, all without cost to the state, for the use of state inspectors. The room must be at least equal in size and equipment to that customarily furnished for the use of the mine engineer.

# [REVISOR ] PER/KS AR2525

1 Whenever royalties or rentals due the state are required to 2 be distributed to more than one fund, or when ore from the 3 mining unit is commingled with other ore, or when ore from the 4 mining unit is concentrated at the same plant as other ore, the 5 commissioner may appoint special inspectors as the commissioner 6 considers necessary to insure proper accounting and protect the 7 interests of the state. The lessee shall reimburse the state 8 monthly for the cost of this inspection service upon 9 notification by the commissioner.

10 19. Removal of ore for experimental purposes. 11 Notwithstanding paragraph 11, upon written application of the lessee, the commissioner may authorize the removal of ore from 12 13 the mining unit for experimental purposes without payment of royalty; and it is further understood that the removal of 14 15 samples obtained by drilling, trenching, or testpitting, for the purposes of exploration, is not subject to the payment of 16 royalty. 17

18 20. Stockpiled materials. All materials mined and not 19 shipped from the mining unit remains the property of the state 20 and shall be stockpiled only in such manner and on such sites as 21 may be authorized by the commissioner in writing. When, however, the commissioner agrees that substantially all minerals 22 of value have been extracted from the mill tailings, the 23 24 material may be used for stope filling on the mining unit or 25 elsewhere, and the tailings material used shall be considered 26 abandoned, and title to the material shall revert to the mineral owners of the property in which it is deposited. 27 21. Reversion of title on land conveyed to the state for 28 stockpiling purposes. When the commissioner determines that it 29 30 is necessary and that the interests of the state will be fully protected, the lessee may convey land to the state upon the 31

32 condition that it be used for the storage of ore or other 33 materials having present or potential value belonging to the 34 state. The commissioner may accept a conveyance that provides 35 for the state's interest in the land to terminate and title to 36 revert to the lessee when the land is no longer needed or used

# 01/31/95

for storage of ore or other materials. No consideration shall
 be paid for the conveyance unless authorized by law.

3 22. Cross mining rights. The lessee is hereby granted the right to mine and remove any ores from the mining unit through 4 5 any shafts, openings, or pits that may be made upon adjoining 6 and nearby premises controlled by the lessee; and the lessee may, if it so desires, use the mining unit and any shafts, 7 8 openings, or pits, made on it for the mining or removal of any 9 ores from adjoining or nearby premises, not, however, preventing or interfering with the mining or removal of ore from said 10 mining unit. The ores taken from the mining unit must at all 11 times be kept entirely separate and distinct from any other ores 12 until measured and sampled as provided in this lease so that the 13 14 rights of the lessor are at all times preserved and protected. The lessor recognizes the rights and liens of the owners of any 15 nearby or adjoining premises in any ores mined from them and 16 transported through the mining unit. 17

23. Lessee's obligations under state and federal laws and 18 regulations. The provisions of this lease are subject to all 19 applicable state and federal statutes, orders, rules and 20 21 regulations, and all operations under this lease shall be 22 conducted in conformity with them. All activities shall be 23 conducted in conformity with the applicable mine land reclamation statutes and rules. No interference, diversion, use 24 or appropriation of any waters over which the commissioner or 25 26 any other state agency has jurisdiction, may be undertaken 27 unless authorized in writing by the commissioner or the state 28 agency.

29 24. Operations to be conducted in accordance with good 30 mining, metallurgical, and environmental engineering. The lessee shall open, use, and work the mine or mines on the mining 31 32 unit and conduct metallurgical operations in such manner only as is usual and customary in skillful and proper mining and milling 33 operations in accordance with the requirements, methods, and 34 practices of good mining, metallurgical, and environmental 35 36 engineering, and in such manner as not to cause any unnecessary

# [REVISOR ] PER/KS AR2525

1 loss of minerals, or unusual permanent injury to the mining
2 unit. Surface lands owned by the state in the mining unit are
3 not to be cleared or used for construction or stockpiling
4 purposes until such use has been approved by the commissioner in
5 writing. The surface use of the mining unit must be conducted
6 in such manner as to prevent or reduce scarring and erosion of
7 the land and pollution of air and water.

25. Notice to owner of surface estate. When the leased 8 premises do not include the surface estate, the lessee shall 9 10 give notice, in writing, to the owner or administrator of the surface estate at least 20 days in advance of any activities 11 12 which will require use of the surface estate on the leased premises. The notice shall sufficiently describe the activities 13 to enable the owner or administrator of the surface estate to 14 evaluate the extent of the use of the surface estate. 15

16 26. Review of exploration; exploration site closure and 17 stabilization. "Exploration" means the act of searching for or investigating a mineral deposit. Exploration includes 18 19 examination of an area to determine the quality and quantity of 20 minerals, including obtaining a bulk sample by drilling, excavating, trenching, constructing shafts, ramps, tunnels, 21 pits, and producing refuse and other associated activities. 22 Exploration does not include activities intended, by themselves, 23 24 for commercial exploitation of the ore body.

a. The lessee shall advise the commissioner, in writing,
at least 20 days in advance of any exploration on the leased
premises. The lessee shall specify:

i. the location of proposed activities depicted on a
1:24,000 scale United States Geological Survey 7-1/2 minute
quadrangle map, or other map of the same scale;

31 ii. the exploration activities that will be performed, 32 including but not limited to the type of activity, method of 33 sampling, and types and sizes of vehicles and equipment that 34 will be used;

35 iii. the approximate beginning and ending dates of the 36 proposed activities;

#### [REVISOR ] PER/KS AR2525

iv. for exploration activities at sites with special
 features or uses, methods of mitigation to be used in the
 exploration to minimize to the extent practicable adverse
 impacts on the special features or uses;

v. the location and method of access to the exploration
site, and if new roads or trails are to be constructed, the
location of the proposed roads or tails; and

8 vi. the proposed plan for site closure and stabilization,9 if needed.

The commissioner will identify special features or uses 10 within the leased premises. Conditions identified as special 11 features or uses may include: wildlife management areas and 12 sites; peatland watershed areas of the peatland scientific and 13 natural areas; the Black Bay Management Area; natural heritage 14 sites and features; designated trout streams; state canoe and 15 boating routes; state trails; historic and archaeological sites; 16 17 rights-of-way; fire towers; campgrounds; public access sites; state highway rest areas; and other existing easements, sites, 18 conditions, and encumbrances. The commissioner may require the 19 lessee to adjust exploration plans or plans for construction of 20 21 roads or trails due to special features or uses within the leased premises or due to other natural resource management 22 23 concerns.

Unless notified to the contrary by the commissioner within 25 20 days after receipt of the exploration plans by the 26 commissioner, the lessee may proceed with exploration as 27 described in the submitted exploration plans.

b. Upon completion of the exploration, the lessee must 28 promptly remove all supplies and equipment and must restore the 29 30 leased premises and roads to a condition satisfactory to the commissioner. The lessee must, when needed, implement and 31 32 complete closure and stabilization of the exploration site to 33 the satisfaction of the commissioner. The lessee shall be relieved of obligations imposed by the plan for exploration site 34 35 closure and stabilization only when the lessee notifies the commissioner in writing that site closure and stabilization has 36

### [REVISOR ] PER/KS AR2525

1 been completed and release has been granted by the commissioner. 27. Lessee's obligation for damages. It is understood and 2 agreed that in case any interest in the land or minerals covered 3 4 by this lease is owned by anyone other than the state, this lease shall not be construed as authorizing any invasion of or 5 6 trespass upon such other interest. The lessee hereby agrees and is obligated to indemnify and hold the state harmless from all 7 damages or losses caused directly or indirectly by operations 8 9 under this lease, whether to land, timber, minerals, growing crops, or buildings, or to any person or other property, 10 11 including damages suffered by that other owner of the surface or mineral rights, and the state shall not be liable for them. 12 13 28. Lessee to pay all taxes. The lessee agrees to pay when due all taxes, general and specific, personal and real that 14 15 may be assessed against the mining unit and the improvements 16 made on it, and the ore materials in it or mined from it, and 17 any personal property on the mining unit owned, used, or 18 controlled by the lessee. This covenant does not apply to taxes 19 assessed against any part of the mining unit as a result of any other lease granted by the state to other parties. The 20 cancellation, termination, or expiration of this lease does not 21 relieve the lessee of the obligation to pay taxes assessed 22 during the continuance of the lease, even though such taxes may 23 24 be due or payable after the cancellation, termination, or expiration date. 25

26 29. State lien for unpaid sums due. The state reserves 27 and shall at all times have a lien upon all ore mined from the 28 mining unit, all ore concentrated from it, smelter returns due 29 the lessee for the ore, and all improvements made under this 30 lease for any sums not paid when due.

31 30. Lessee's right to terminate lease. The lessee may at 32 any time deliver to the commissioner written notice of intention 33 to terminate this lease, and this lease shall terminate 60 days 34 after the delivery unless the notice is revoked by the lessee by 35 further written notice delivered to the commissioner before the 36 expiration of 60 days. On December 31 following the tenth

01/31/95

1 anniversary date of this lease, and on any succeeding December 31, the lessee may surrender its rights and privileges granted 2 in this lease on any part or parts of the mining unit, by giving 31.1 4 the lessor written notice of its intention so to do at least 60 5 days before the date of such surrender. For the purposes of 6 this paragraph, "part of the mining unit" means a quarter 7 section of a quarter section or a government lot as described by the public land survey, or a bed of public waters. All sums due 8 9 to the state under this lease up to the effective date of 10 termination must be paid by the lessee. Any sums not received within 20 days after the effective date of termination are 11 12 subject to interest at the rate of six percent per year from the effective date of termination. 13

14 31. Lessor's right to cancel lease upon lessee's failure 15 to meet production requirements. The state may cancel this 16 lease as provided in paragraph 32 if the lessee has not met both 17 of the following conditions by the end of the 20th full calendar 18 year of this lease:

19 (a) The lessee must be actively engaged in mining ore under20 this lease from:

21 i. the mining unit;

29

ii. a metallic mineral mine within the government townshipin which the mining unit is located; or

iii. a metallic mineral mine within a government township
that has at least one point in common along its boundary line
with the government township in which the mining unit is located.
(b) The lessee must have paid to the state at least
\$100,000 in earned royalty under a metallic minerals lease.

This amount must be paid during a single calendar year.

The state may exercise its option to cancel the lease during the 21st calendar year of the lease. If it does not do so, and if the conditions have not been met by the end of the 33 35th full calendar year of this lease, it may exercise its 34 option to cancel during the 36th calendar year of the lease. 35 The commissioner shall take the lessee's financing needs and the 36 state's proportional ownership interest into consideration in

1 determining whether the requirements of this paragraph have been
2 met.

The lessee, at any time, may request a determination and 3 the commissioner, at any time in response to such a request, may 4 determine whether the state will exercise its option to cancel 5 the lease. If the state decides in response to such a request 6 not to exercise its option to cancel the lease, such a decision 7 may require the lessee to meet additional conditions and may 8 include the option to cancel at a time other than the times 9 specified in this paragraph. 10

11 32. Lessor's right to cancel lease upon default. This 12 lease is granted upon the express condition that, if any sum 13 owed under it by the lessee for rental, royalty, or otherwise 14 remains unpaid after the time when it became due, or if the 15 lessee or its agent or servant knowingly or willfully makes any 16 false statement in any report, account, or tabulation submitted 17 to the state or to the commissioner, or any of the

commissioner's agents pertaining to any matter under this lease, 18 or if the lessee fails to perform any of the conditions required 19 20 by this lease, the commissioner may cancel this lease by mailing or delivering to the lessee 60 days' notice of the cancellation 21 22 in writing, specifying such nonpayment or other default as the case may be. This lease shall terminate at the expiration of 23 24 the 60 days, and the lessee and all persons claiming under the lessee shall be wholly excluded from the mining unit except as 25 hereinafter provided in paragraph 31. Termination does not 26 relieve the lessee from any liability for payment or other 27 liability incurred under this lease. If the default consists of 28 29 / a nonperformance of an act required under this lease other than payment of royalty or rental, the lessee may perform within the 30 period of 60 days and the lease continues in effect. 31 If the correction of any such default requires more time than 60 days 32 after the notice has been received by the lessee, the 33 34 commissioner, upon written request of the lessee and for good cause shown, may, at the commissioner's discretion, grant an 35 36 extension of the period of 60 days. If the default consists of

## [REVISOR ] PER/KS AR2525

1 a nonpayment of royalty or rental and the lessee performs within 2 15 days from the mailing or delivery of notice of cancellation, 3 the lease continues in effect; and if the lessee performs at any 4 time thereafter within the period of 60 days, the commissioner, 5 at the commissioner's discretion, may continue the lease in 6 effect.

33. Rights of lessor and lessee during 180 day period 7 8 following termination. Upon termination of this lease, whether by expiration of its term or by act of either party, except as 9 10 necessary to comply with applicable mineland reclamation statutes and rules, the lessee has 180 days after termination in 11 which to remove all equipment, materials, railroad tracks, 12 13 structures and other property placed or erected by the lessee upon said mining unit. Property not removed within that time 14 15 shall, at the discretion of the commissioner, either be removed by the state at the lessee's expense or become the property of 16 17 the state. The lessee shall not remove or impair any supports placed in any mine or mines on the mining unit, or any timber or 18 19 framework necessary to the use or maintenance of shafts or other 20 approaches to such mine or mines or tramways within the mining 21 unit, all of which become the property of the state. During the 22 period of 180 days, the lessee shall, at its own expense, properly and adequately fence all pits, and do all other work 23 24 which the commissioner deems necessary to leave the premises in a safe and orderly condition to protect against injury or damage 25 to persons or property. Subject to the foregoing, upon the 26 termination of this lease, whether by expiration of the term 27 28 hereof or otherwise, the lessee shall quietly and peaceably surrender possession of the mining unit to the state. 29 30 34. Recovery of expenses. If it is necessary for the 31 state to incur expenses by court action or otherwise for the 32 ejectment of the lessee, or removal from the leased premises of 33 the lessee's property, or recovery of rent or royalties, or for any other remedy of the state under this lease, and the state 34 prevails in the court action or otherwise, then the lessee shall 35 36 pay to the state all expenses, including attorney's fees, thus

31

1 incurred by the state.

2 35. Mining of minerals other than metallic minerals. If any ore found on or in the mining unit is primarily valuable for 3 4 other than its metallic minerals content, the terms and 5 conditions upon which the ore may be mined or products recovered from it shall be as may be agreed upon by the lessee and the 6 commissioner and approved by the state executive council. This 7 provision does not apply to iron ores, taconite ores, coal, oil, 8 9 gas, and other liquid or gaseous hydrocarbon substances. 10 36. Agreements, assignments, or contracts. All assignments, agreements, or contracts affecting this lease must 11 be made in writing and signed by all parties thereto, witnessed 12 by two witnesses, properly acknowledged and must contain the 13 post office addresses of all parties thereto, and when so 14 executed must be presented in triplicate to the commissioner for 15 record. No such instrument is valid until approved in writing 16 by the commissioner and approved as to form and execution by the 17 attorney general. No assignment or other agreement relieves the 18 lessee of any obligation or liability imposed by this lease, and 19 all assignees, sublessees, and subcontractors are also liable 20 21 for all obligations or liabilities imposed by this lease. 22 37. Lease binding on assignees and successors. The

23 covenants, terms, and conditions of this lease run with the land 24 and extend to and bind all assignees and other successors in 25 interest of the lessee.

38. Notices. For the purposes of this lease, the addresses of the parties are as follows, unless changed by written notice to all parties: For the state -- Commissioner of Natural Resources, State of Minnesota, 500 Lafayette Road, Saint Paul, Minnesota 55155-4037; for the lessee --

32	۲	xhibit A. Base	Royalty Rate Tabl	e
33 34 35 36	Net return value per ton	Base royalty rate (%)	Net return value per ton	Base royalty rate (%)
37 38 39	\$ 0.01- 75 \$ 76.01- 77	3.9500 3.9650	\$ 75.01- 76 \$ 77.01- 78	3.9574 3.9728

$T \neq 20 \cdot L$ $L \notin 256 \cdot 9$ $1 \notin 88 \cdot 9$ $5 \notin 1 \notin 88 \cdot 9$ $5 \notin 1 \notin 88 \cdot 9$ $5 \notin 1 \# 88 \cdot 9$ $5 \notin 1 \# 88 \cdot 9$ $5 \notin 1 \# 88 \cdot 9$ 5 # 1 # 9 5 # 1 # 1 # 1 # 1 # 1 # 1 # 1 # 1 # 1 #	612-10'812\$ LT2-T0'912\$ ST2-T0'712\$ ST2-T0'712\$ ST2-T0'012\$ 602-T0'802\$ L02-T0'902\$ S02-T0'702\$ S02-T0'702\$ S02-T0'702\$ S02-T0'702\$ S02-T0'701\$ S61-T0'761\$ S61-T0'761\$ S61-T0'761\$ S61-T0'761\$ S61-T0'761\$ S61-T0'761\$ S71-T0'761\$ S71-T0'771\$ S11-T0'071\$ S71-T0'71\$ S71-T0'71\$ S71-T0'771\$ S71-T0'
0902°7	TOT-TO'OOT\$
9181°7	66 -TO'86 \$
0851°7	26 -TO'96 \$
7521°7	56 -TO'76 \$

TL 69 99 99 59 59 59 59 55 55 55 55
02
69
09
89
19
22
99
CO
33
79
CO
63
29
то
09
60
03
85
10
23
99
CC
33
75
CC
29 95 75 75 25 75 75 05
22
TC
20
05
67
07
84
/ 77
V
97
C Ŧ
77
εħ
24
ΤĐ
07
36
00
38
31
98
35
35
VC
33 35 35 35 37 30
33 35 35 35 37 30
33 37 37 37 30 30 50
22 22 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25
24 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25
24522223332 24522222333222
24522223332 24522222333222
24522223332 24522222333222
234522223333 222222233333
2234567890123 222222233333 22222222233333
21222222222222222222222222222222222222
21222222222222222222222222222222222222
12222222222222222222222222222222222222
12022222222222222222222222222222222222
12022222222222222222222222222222222222
1780 1780 1780 1780 1780 1780 1780 1780
11110010000000000000000000000000000000
11110010000000000000000000000000000000
11112222222222233332 111122222222222222
11112222222222233332 111122222222222222
1111112222222222333332 1111112222222222
1111112222222222333332 1111112222222222
234501234501234502225223333357 11111222225555252333335
234501234501234502225223333357 11111222225555252333335
234501234501234502225223333357 11111222225555252333335
1111112222222222333332 1111112222222222
234501234501234502225223333357 11111222225555252333335
0172345707234522222333333 01727171717525252525233333 017777777775555555555555555555555555555
234501234501234502225223333357 11111222225555252333335
0172345707234522222333333 01727171717525252525233333 017777777775555555555555555555555555555

**56/TE/TO** 

$p_{10} \cdot p_{1}$ $p_{888} \cdot e_{1}$ $l_{e_{9l}} \cdot e_{1}$ $s_{6e_{9}} \cdot e_{1}$ $p_{12} \cdot e_{1}$ p	192-10.03         652-10.32         652-10.32         552-10.32         552-10.32         152-10.31         152-10.31         152-10.31         152-10.31         152-10.31         152-10.31         152-10.31         152-10.31         152-10.31         152-10.32      1
--	--

E-T0'09E\$	τL
E-T0'85E\$	0 L
E-T0'95E\$	69
E-T0.42E\$	89
2325°01-3	L9
E-T0'05E\$	99
E-T0'87E\$	59
E-T0'97E\$	₽9
E-T0 * 77E\$	29
E-T0'Z7E\$	29
E-T0.04E\$	τ9
E-T0'8EE\$	09
E-T0'9EE\$	65
E-T0 * 788\$	85
E-T0'ZEE\$	<u>27</u>
E-T0.0EE\$	99
E-10 0225 E-T0 8225 E-T0 9255	SS
\$350°01-3	ħς
\$354°01-3	23
\$322°01-3	25
	TS
	20
L-LU 9125	67
	87
	<i>L</i> ₽
	97
C-10 8025	S₽
-T0 9025	77 73
	27 75
-T0 2025	τ <sub>ν</sub>
2-TO 0023	07
	68
	30
-10 1003	30
Z-T0 0675	98
	35
	3C 7E
	33
-10 7825	22
Z-T0 0825	TE
	02
	50
Z-TO * 7/7\$	82
-T0°7/75	50 27
-T0.0/22	92
-T0.892\$	SZ
-T0.9922	54
-T0 • 797\$	53
2562.01-2	22
2260.01-	SI
2758.01-	50
2720°01-	6T
C-T0'₽SZ\$	8T
2252°01-	ĹΤ
\$220°01-	9T
-T0*872\$	ST
-T0'977\$	ħΤ
-T0.442\$	ΣT
$-10^{+}$ 225 $-10^{+}$ 225 $-10^{+}$ 225 $-10^{+}$ 225 $-10^{+}$ 225 $-10^{+}$ 21 $-10^{+}$ 21 $-10^{+}$ 21 $-10^{+}$ 21 $-10^{+}$ 25 $-10^{+}$ 25 $-10^{-}$ 225 $-10^{-}$ 25 $-10^{-}$ 25	ΖT
-T0.042\$	ττ
-T0.852\$	ΟT
2336.01-Y	6
2334.01-	8
\$534.01- \$232.01-	L
\$530°01- \$558°01-	9
-T0.822\$	S
\$226.01-	7
\$224.01-	5
2222°01-	2
\$220°01-	τ

**56/TE/TO** 

à 410

	01/31/95		[REVISOR ] PER/KS	AR2525
1	\$362.01-363 \$364.01-365	14.1409 14.2682	\$363.01-364 \$365.01-366	14.2045 14.3322
2 3	\$366.01-367	14.3963	\$367.01-368	14.4606
4 5	\$368.01-369 \$370.01-371	14.5252 14.6548	\$369.01-370 \$371.01-372	14.5899 14.7199
6	\$372.01-373	14.7852	\$373.01-374	14.8507
7	\$374.01-375	14.9164	\$375.01-376	14.9823
8	\$376.01-377	15.0484	\$377.01-378	15.1147
9	\$378.01-379	15.1812	\$379.01-380 \$381.01-382	15.2479
10 11	\$380.01-381 \$382.01-383	15.3147 15.4491	\$383.01-384	15.3818
12	\$384.01-385	15.5842	\$385.01-386	15.6520
13	\$386.01-387	15.7201	\$387.01-388	15.7883
14	\$388.01-389	15.8567	\$389.01-390	15.9254
15 16	\$390.01-391 \$392.01-393	15.9924 16.1324	\$391.01-392 \$393.01-394	16.0632 16.2018
17	\$394.01-395	16.2714	\$395.01-394	16.3412
18	\$396.01-397	16.4112	\$397.01-398	16.4814
19	\$398.01-399	16.5518	\$399.01-400	16.6223
20	\$400.01-401	16.6931	\$401.01-402	16.7641
21 22	\$402.01-403 \$404.01-405	16.8352 16.9781	\$403.01-404 \$405.01-406	16.9066 17.0499
22	\$404.01-403	17.1218	\$405.01-408	17.1940
24	\$408.01-409	17.2663	\$409.01-410	17.3388
25	\$410.01-411	17.4115	\$411.01-412	17.4844
26	\$412.01-413	17.5576	\$413.01-414	17.6309
27	\$414.01-415	17.7044	\$415.01-416	17.7781
28 29	\$416.01-417 \$418.01-419	17.8519 18.0003	\$417.01-418 \$419.01-420	17.9260 18.0748
30	\$420.01-421	18.1494	\$421.01-422	18.2243
31	\$422.01-423	18.2994	\$423.01-424	18.3746
32	\$424.01-425	18.4501	\$425.01-426	18.5257
33	\$426.01-427	18.6016	\$427.01-428	18.6776
34 35	\$428.01-429 \$430.01-431	18.7538 18.9069	\$429.01-430 \$431.01-432	18.8302 18.9837
36	\$432.01-433	19.0607	\$433.01-434	19.1379
37	\$434.01-435	19.2153	\$435.01-436	19.2929
38	\$436.01-437	19.3707	\$437.01-438	19.4487
39	\$438.01-439	19.5268	\$439.01-440	19.6052
40	\$440.01-441	19.6838	\$441.01-442	19.7625
41 42	\$442.01-443 \$444.01 and	19.8415	\$443.01-444	19.9207
43	above	20.0000		
44	요즘 이는 이 전자 동안은 이가 가지요 한다. 같은 이 가지 않는 것 같이 가지 않는 것을 하는 것			

REPEALER. Minnesota Rules, parts 6125.0300, 6125.1000, 45 46 6125.1100, 6125.1200, 6125.1300, 6125.1400, 6125.1500, 6125.1600, 6125.1700, 6125.1800, 6125.1900, 6125.2000, 47 48 6125.2100, 6125.2200, 6125.2300, 6125.2400, 6125.2500, 49 6125.2600, 6125.2700, 6125.2800, 6125.2900, 6125.3000, 50 6125.3100, 6125.3200, 6125.3300, 6125.3400, 6125.3500, 51 6125.3600, 6125.3700, 6125.3800, 6125.3900, 6125.4000, and 6125.4100, are repealed. 52