1 Board of Electricity

2

3 Adopted Permanent Rules Relating to Continuing Education

4

- 5 Rules as Adopted
- 6 3800.3600 AUTHORITY; PURPOSE.
- 7 Parts 3800.3601 to 3800.3604 establish continuing education
- 8 requirements for renewal of electrician licenses, as authorized
- 9 by Minnesota Statutes, section 214.12.
- 10 3800.3601 DEFINITIONS.
- 11 Subpart 1. Words, terms, and phrases. For the purposes of
- 12 parts 3800.3600 to 3800.3603, the terms defined in this part
- 13 have the meanings given them.
- 14 Subp. 2. Educational program. "Educational program" means
- 15 a course, seminar, workshop, or other educational offering where
- 16 interactive instruction is provided by one or more instructors,
- 17 either directly or by interactive television.
- 18 Subp. 3. Hours of instruction. "Hours of instruction"
- 19 means the time in hours allowed by the board for attending an
- 20 educational program pursuant to part 3800.3602.
- 21 Subp. 4. Electrician license. "Electrician license" means
- 22 a class-A-master-electrician,-class-B-master-electrician,-class
- 23 A-journeyman-electrician,-class-B-journeyman-electrician,-master
- 24 elevator-constructor, -elevator-constructor, -maintenance
- 25 electrician, class-A-installer, or class-B-installer personal
- 26 electrical license issued by the board, or other-type-of
- 27 personal-electrical-license that may-in-the-future-be is
- 28 established required by statute or rule.
- 29 Subp. 5. Provider. "Provider" means a person,
- 30 partnership, corporation, limited liability company,
- 31 professional association, government agency, or other entity
- 32 authorized by law which provides educational programs for credit
- 33 under part 3800.3602.
- 34 3800.3602 REQUIREMENTS FOR RENEWAL OF ELECTRICIAN LICENSE.

- 1 Subpart 1. License renewal. The board shall not renew the
- 2 electrician license of an applicant for renewal who has held the
- 3 license for at least 24 months after the effective date of this
- 4 part unless the applicant has credit for the hours of
- 5 instruction required by this part.
- 6 Subp. 2. Hours of instruction. Within the 24 months
- 7 preceding the expiration of an electrician license, each holder
- 8 of a license shall receive credit for 16 hours of instruction
- 9 through one or more educational programs. Hours-of-instruction
- 10 credit-equivalency-for-continuing-education-units-shall-be-the
- 11 allowable-continuing-education-units-multiplied-by-ten- Credit
- 12 shall be allowed only once for any educational program in any
- 13 24-month period. Where a licensee holds more than one type of
- 14 electrician license, the same credits for hours of instruction
- 15 may be applied to each license.
- 16 Subp. 3. Acceptable subjects. At least 12 hours of
- 17 instruction under subpart 2 shall be on the National Electrical
- 18 Code and the remainder on the statutes and rules governing
- 19 electrical installations, parts 3800.3500 to 3800.3810, and
- 20 Minnesota Statutes, sections 326.241 to 326.248, or technical
- 21 topics related to electrical installations and equipment.
- 22 Subpr-4---False-information:--Any-person-who-certifies-or
- 23 accepts-credit-for-hours-of-instruction-where-the-person
- 24 credited-did-not-attend-the-course-or-seminar-claimed-to-be
- 25 attended-is-guilty-of-a-misdemeanor-under-the-provisions-of
- 26 Minnesota-Statutes,-section-326:246,-clause-(1),-and,-if
- 27 licensed, is subject to the disciplinary provisions of Minnesota
- 28 Statutes, -section-326:242, -subdivision-9:
- 29 3800.3603 CREDIT FOR INSTRUCTION.
- 30 Subpart 1. Approval of educational programs. To qualify
- 31 for credit under part 3800.3602, educational programs shall be
- 32 approved by the board. The provider shall submit an application
- 33 for approval on a form provided by the board, which shall
- 34 include an outline of the educational program; the number of
- 35 hours of instruction provided; and the names, addresses,

- 1 telephone and facsimile numbers, and qualifications of the
- 2 instructors. The provider shall submit a new application for
- 3 approval if the instruction provided deviates substantively from
- 4 the outline previously submitted or the hours of instruction
- 5 provided is changed. Applications for approval shall be
- 6 received by the board at least 30 days prior to the first
- 7 presentation of an educational program.
- 8 Subp. 2. Notification of presentations. Not less than 14
- 9 days prior to a presentation of an educational program, the
- 10 provider shall notify the board in writing of the date, time,
- 11 and location of the presentation.
- 12 Subp. 3. Exception to preapproval. Notwithstanding
- 13 subparts 1 and 2, educational programs that are offered in other
- 14 states and not granted prior approval according to this part
- 15 shall be considered for credit if the board is provided with
- 16 evidence that the educational program meets the requirements of
- 17 part 3800.3602 and is approved for continuing education credit
- 18 by a public authority licensing electricians in the other state.
- 19 Subp. 4. Review of educational programs. The board shall
- 20 have authority to audit or review educational programs and
- 21 presentations of educational programs for compliance with parts
- 22 3800.3600 to 3800.3603 and review the provider's records
- 23 concerning persons who have attended such presentations for
- 24 credit. The board shall withdraw approval of any educational
- 25 program not in compliance with parts 3800.3600 to 3800.3603.
- Subp. 5. Qualifications of instructors. All educational
- 27 programs shall be conducted by instructors who have the
- 28 qualifications described in at least one of the following items:
- 29 A. a-journeyman-or-master an electrician license and
- 30 at least four years' experience in electrical inspection,
- 31 supervising electrical installations, or teaching a-construction
- 32 electrician-course subjects within the scope of electrical work
- 33 permitted by the instructor's license. Not more than four hours
- 34 of instruction credit will be allowed where the scope of the
- 35 electrical work permitted by the instructor's license is less
- 36 than that of the person who attended the educational program;

- B. a registered or licensed electrical engineer with
- 2 at least four years' experience in the design of premises
- 3 electrical power systems; or
- 4 C. a-valid-teacher's-license-issued-under-the
- 5 provisions-of-Minnesota-Statutes,-section-136C-04,-subdivision
- 6 97-or
- 7 D: at least five years' practical experience in the
- 8 subject being taught. Not more than four hours of instruction
- 9 credit will be allowed for an educational program conducted by
- 10 an instructor in this category.
- 11 Subp. 6. Credit for teaching. Instructors of educational
- 12 programs approved under this part shall receive three hours of
- 13 instruction credit for each hour of instruction allowable under
- 14 subpart 1.
- Subp. 7. Report of credits earned. Within 14 days after
- 16 presentation of an educational program for credit under part
- 17 3800.3602, the provider shall provide a certificate of
- 18 completion to each licensee in attendance and shall forward an
- 19 attendance list to the board on a form supplied by the board.
- 20 Each certificate of completion and attendance list shall include
- 21 the name of the provider, date and location of the presentation,
- 22 educational program identification that was provided to the
- 23 board, hours of instruction or continuing education units, and
- 24 the licensee's name and license number or social security number.