08/02/94

[REVISOR] RR/KK AR2407

1 Department of Public Safety

3 Adopted Permanent Rules Relating to Medical Examination

4 Certificates of School Bus Drivers

5

2

6 Rules as Adopted

7 7414.1400 PERIODIC REEXAMINATION.

Each school bus driver is required to take and pass a 8 physical examination every two years in order to retain the 9 school bus driver's endorsement. The two-year reexamination 10 11 period will start from the examination date of the most recent physical examination certificate submitted by a school bus 12 driver. The Department of Public Safety will send physical 13 examination certificates to school bus drivers. A school bus 14 driver shall return the certificate, completed by the examining 15 physician, along with a \$2 processing fee, on or before the 16 expiration of the two-year period, to the Department of Public 17 18 Safety. Failure to pass and return the physical examination will result in cancellation of the school bus driver's 19 endorsement from the Minnesota driver license. 20

21 7414.1600 USE OF FEDERAL MOTOR CARRIER MEDICAL EXAMINATION22 CERTIFICATE.

Subpart 1. Exemption. An applicant for an initial school 23 bus driver's endorsement or for renewal of a school bus driver's 24 25 endorsement is exempt from parts 7414.1100, 7414.1200, 7414.1300, and 7414.1400, upon providing evidence of being 26 medically examined and certified within the preceding 24 months 27 as physically qualified to operate a commercial motor vehicle, 28 pursuant to Code of Federal Regulations, title 49, part 391, 29 30 subpart E, or rules-of-the-commissioner-of-transportation Minnesota Statutes, section 221.0314, incorporating those 31 federal regulations. As evidence of being medically examined 32 and certified, the applicant is required to submit, to the 33 Department of Public Safety, the original or photographic copy 34 35 of the commercial motor carrier physical examination form or the

1

Approved by Revisor m

[REVISOR] RR/KK AR2407

08/02/94

medical examiner's certificate under those federal regulations. 1 Subp. 2. Periodic reexamination. Each school bus driver 2 is required to take and pass a physical examination every two 3 years in order to retain the school bus driver's endorsement. 4 The two-year reexamination period will start from the 5 examination date of the most recent physical examination form or 6 medical examiner's certificate submitted by a school bus driver 7 under subpart 1. A school bus driver must send the original or 8 photographic copy of the completed physical examination form or 9 10 medical examiner's certificate, along with a \$2 processing fee, on or before the expiration of the two-year period, to the 11 Department of Public Safety. Failure to pass the physical 12 examination and submit the physical examination form or medical 13 examiner's certificate will result in cancellation of the school 14 bus driver's endorsement from the Minnesota driver's license. 15

2