```
l Board of Nursing
 2
 3 Adopted Permanent Rules Relating to Licensure and Registration
 4 of Professional and Practical Nurses
 5
 6 Rules as Adopted
 7
    6305.0100 DEFINITIONS.
 8
                   [For text of subpart 1, see M.R.]
 9
         Subp. la. Acceptable nursing practice. "Acceptable
10
    nursing practice" means employment or volunteer nursing in any
    setting, participation in clinical nursing courses, or any
11
    combination of these activities. Employment includes those
12
    positions for which the individual is required to be a nurse.
13
    For professional nursing practice, the practice must have
14
15
    included one or more of the functions defined in Minnesota
16
    Statutes, section 148.171, paragraph (3). For practical nursing
   practice, the practice must have included one or more of the
17
18
    functions defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 148.171,
   paragraph (5).
19
20
                   [For text of subp 2, see M.R.]
21
         Subp. 3. [See repealer.]
22
                   [For text of subps 4 to 7a, see M.R.]
23
         Subp. 8.
                  [See repealer.]
24
         Subp. 9. [See repealer.]
         Subp. 10. [See repealer.]
25
26
                   [For text of subps 11 to 21, see M.R.]
         Subp. 22. Refresher course equivalent or equivalent.
27
    "Refresher course equivalent" or "equivalent," when used to
28
29
    refer to a refresher course, means an educational activity that
30
    includes a clinical component and used in lieu of a refresher
31
    course. Examples of equivalent activities are a preceptorship,
32
   an orientation program, a program of study leading to a degree
33
    in nursing, or a clinical course to enhance nursing skills in a
34
   clinical area.
```

35 6305.0300 AUTHORIZATION TO PRACTICE NURSING.

- [For text of subpart 1, see M.R.]
- 2 Subp. la. Authorized abbreviations. The categories of
- 3 nursing personnel listed below may use abbreviations as follows:
- 4 [For text of items A to D, see M.R.]
- 5 E. Nursing assistants who are on the long-term care
- 6 registry are nursing assistants/registered, abbreviated "NA/R."
- 7 [For text of subps 2 and 3, see M.R.]
- 8 Subp. 4. Eligibility for permit to practice nursing with
- 9 direct supervision. The board shall grant an applicant who is
- 10 not the subject of a pending investigation or disciplinary
- 11 action a permit to practice nursing under the direct supervision
- 12 of a registered nurse if the applicant:
- [For text of items A and B, see M.R.]
- C. has submitted the licensure application, licensure
- 15 fee, permit fee, and affidavit of graduation or transcript. The
- 16 affidavit of graduation or transcript must be received in the
- 17 board office within 60 days following graduation;
- [For text of items D to G, see M.R.]
- 19 H. is eligible to take the examination; and
- I. is taking the examination for the first time in a
- 21 United States jurisdiction.
- [For text of subps 5 and 6, see M.R.]
- Subp. 7. Length of permits. The permit authorizing
- 24 practice under the direct supervision of a registered nurse
- 25 expires 60 days from the date of issue or upon the applicant's
- 26 notification by the board of failure on the examination,
- 27 whichever occurs first. The board may extend this permit if the
- 28 applicant has come under investigation by the board after the
- 29 issuance of the initial permit until the matter is resolved for
- 30 the applicant.
- 31 The permit authorizing practice without direct supervision
- 32 expires six months after the date of issue, but the board shall
- 33 extend this permit if licensure cannot occur because of a
- 34 processing delay by another nurse licensing agency. The board
- 35 may extend the permit if the applicant has come under
- 36 investigation by the board after the issuance of the initial

- l permit until the matter is resolved for the applicant.
- 2 Subp. 8. Revocation of permit. The board shall revoke a
- 3 permit in the following situations.
- 4 A. The board shall revoke a permit if the permit
- 5 holder:
- 6 (1) has been notified of the results of the
- 7 examination;
- 8 (2) is licensed by the board;
- 9 (3) did not write in another jurisdiction an
- 10 examination acceptable to the board;
- 11 (4) did not pass an examination in another
- 12 jurisdiction with a score acceptable to the board;
- 13 (5) is not eligible for licensure; or
- 14 (6) did not graduate.
- [For text of item B, see M.R.]
- [For text of subp 9, see M.R.]
- 17 6305.0400 REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION.
- [For text of subpart 1, see M.R.]
- 19 Subp. 2. [See repealer.]
- 20 [For text of subps 3 to 5, see M.R.]
- 21 Subp. 6. Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing
- 22 Schools Qualifying Examination. The applicant who completed a
- 23 nursing program in another country, except Canada, shall
- 24 successfully complete the Commission on Graduates of Foreign
- 25 Nursing Schools Qualifying Examination. The board must receive
- 26 evidence of successful completion from the Commission on
- 27 Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools (CGFNS).
- Until the Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing
- 29 Schools Qualifying Examination is administered to practical
- 30 nurse applicants, the applicant shall submit an evaluation of
- 31 nursing education by the Credentials Evaluation Service of the
- 32 Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools. The board
- 33 must receive verification from CGFNS that the applicant's
- 34 education is comparable to the education required of individuals
- 35 educated in the United States.

- [For text of subp 7, see M.R.]
- 2 Subp. 8. Affidavit of graduation or transcript. An
- 3 affidavit of graduation or a transcript is required if an
- 4 applicant graduated from an approved nursing program in a United
- 5 States jurisdiction or Canadian province. If an applicant
- 6 submits an affidavit of graduation, the affidavit must be
- 7 completed and signed by an official of the nursing program or
- 8 controlling institution and must bear the seal or stamp of the
- 9 program or controlling institution. If the applicant submits a
- 10 transcript, it must be an official transcript from the
- 11 educational institution or nursing program that verifies that
- 12 the applicant has graduated from the nursing program.
- 13 If the board finds after the examination has been taken
- 14 that the affidavit of graduation was completed in error, the
- 15 examination results shall not be released nor action taken on
- 16 the application until the applicant has graduated. If
- 17 graduation requirements are not met within 12 months after the
- 18 application was submitted, the application will be nullified in
- 19 accordance with part 6305.0600. If there is evidence that the
- 20 applicant was aware of nongraduation status before the
- 21 examination and did not inform the board, the matter may be
- 22 handled through a disciplinary proceeding.
- Subp. 9. [See repealer.]
- Subp. 10. Fees. The board shall charge the following fees.
- A. The licensure fee is \$80. This fee must be paid
- 26 to the board and must be received before evaluation of an
- 27 applicant's qualifications for examination and licensure.
- 28 B. The fee required with the request to retake the
- 29 examination is \$40. The fee must be paid to the board and must
- 30 be received before evaluation of an applicant's qualifications
- 31 to retake the examination.
- 32 C. Personal checks are not accepted. Each remittance
- 33 must be in the form of United States currency, cashier's check,
- 34 or money order.
- 35 D. If for any reason a license is not issued, fees
- 36 are not refundable.

- 1 E. The permit fee is \$50 and must be paid to the
- 2 board.
- 3 Subp. 11. [See repealer.]
- 4 Subp. 12. Licensure examination. The licensure
- 5 examinations are the examinations of the National Council of
- 6 State Boards of Nursing, Inc. An applicant must receive a pass
- 7 on the National Council Licensure Examination.
- 8 A. An applicant is eligible for an examination when
- 9 the following have been received:
- 10 (1) application for licensure;
- 11 (2) fee for licensure;
- 12 (3) affidavit of graduation or transcript;
- 13 (4) when applicable, request to retake the
- 14 examination and fee;
- 15 (5) when applicable, verification of passing
- 16 score on the CGFNS qualifying examination; and
- 17 (6) when applicable, verification of comparable
- 18 education.
- B. The board will notify the applicant by mail when
- 20 the applicant is eligible to take the examination. Placing the
- 21 notice in first class United States mail, postage prepaid and
- 22 addressed to the applicant's last known address constitutes
- 23 official notification.
- C. To take the examination, the applicant must meet
- 25 all requirements of the test service of the National Council of
- 26 State Boards of Nursing, Inc., including the payment of fees,
- 27 and, after receipt of an authorization to test, schedule the
- 28 examination at one of the testing centers.
- D. Official notification of the results of the
- 30 examination shall be by first class United States mail, postage
- 31 prepaid and addressed to the applicant's last known address.
- 32 E. An applicant who fails an examination and wants to
- 33 retake the examination must notify the board on a form provided
- 34 by the board. On the request to retake the examination, an
- 35 applicant shall respond to questions that relate to the grounds
- 36 for disciplinary action listed in Minnesota Statutes, section

- 1 148.261. The board may require further information of the
- 2 applicant in order to determine whether the applicant has
- 3 engaged in conduct warranting disciplinary action. An applicant
- 4 must submit true information. Falsification or omission of
- 5 information provides grounds for denial of a license. The
- 6 request to retake the examination must be notarized. If the
- 7 request is received without a fee, it shall be returned to the
- 8 applicant. An applicant may only retake the examination four
- 9 times per year and not more often than once in every three
- 10 months. The board will notify the applicant by mail when the
- ll applicant is eligible to retake the examination. Placing the
- 12 notice in first class United States mail, postage prepaid and
- 13 addressed to the applicant's last known address, constitutes
- 14 official notification.
- 15 6305.0600 APPLICATION NULLIFICATION.
- Subpart 1. Licensure by examination. The board will
- 17 nullify an application for licensure by examination if the
- 18 applicant:
- A. did not take the examination within one year
- 20 following submission of a licensure application and fee; or
- 21 B. did not retake the examination within 12 months
- 22 after the last examination failed.
- The board will not nullify an application if it agrees on a
- 24 different action during a disciplinary proceeding.
- [For text of subps 2 to 4, see M.R.]
- 26 6310.3600 REGISTRATION FEES.
- 27 Subpart 1. Amount. The amount of fees shall be as follows:
- A. registration renewal, \$40 per registration period;
- B. late application, \$20;
- 30 C. replacement license, \$20;
- 31 D. replacement registration certificate, \$5;
- 32 E. verification of licensure status, \$20;
- F. verification of examination scores, \$20;
- G. a copy of licensure application materials, \$20;
- 35 and

- H. service charge for a dishonored check, \$15.
- 2 Subp. 2. Nonrefundable. All fees are nonrefundable.
- 3 REPEALER. Minnesota Rules, parts 6305.0100, subparts 3, 8, 9,
- 4 and 10; 6305.0400, subparts 2, 9, and 11; and 6305.0700, are
- 5 repealed.