1 Department of Labor and Industry

2

- 3 Adopted Permanent Rules Relating to Independent Medical
- 4 Examination Fees

5

- 6 Rules as Adopted
- 7 5219.0500 INDEPENDENT MEDICAL EXAMINATION FEES.
- 8 Subpart 1. Authority. This part is adopted under the
- 9 authority of Minnesota Statutes, section 176.136, subdivision lc.
- 10 Subp. 2. Definition. For purposes of this part, the
- 11 language contained in Minnesota Statutes, section 176.136,
- 12 subdivision lc: "for, or in connection with, independent or
- 13 adverse medical examinations requested by any party" means
- 14 charges by a health care provider as defined by Minnesota
- 15 Statutes, section 176.011, subdivision 24, with regard to
- 16 examinations conducted pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section
- 17 176.155, subdivision 1, for:
- 18 A. review of medical records;
- B. obtaining history from and examination of an
- 20 employee;
- 21 C. reading, interpretation, and analysis of X-rays or
- 22 other diagnostic imaging or tests;
- D. diagnosis, analysis, treatment recommendations,
- 24 and preparation of written report;
- 25 E. travel expenses and charges;
- 26 F. preparation of postexamination supplemental
- 27 reports;
- 28 G. reserve time and cancellation fees;
- 29 H. depositions and court appearances;
- 30 I. conferences with attorneys; and
- 31 J. mental health professionals' hourly charges.
- 32 Subp. 3. Charges. Charges by a health care provider as
- 33 defined by Minnesota Statutes, section 176.011, subdivision 24,
- 34 for or in connection with independent medical examinations
- 35 pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 176.155, must not exceed

- 1 the cost specified in items A to J.
- 2 A. The charge for review of medical records is as
- 3 follows:
- 4 (1) for all or part of the first 50 pages, \$175;
- 5 and
- 6 (2) for all or part of each additional 50 pages,
- 7 \$100.
- B. The charge for obtaining a history from and
- 9 examination of an employee is \$275.
- 10 C. The total charge for reading, interpretation, and
- ll analysis of multiple or single X-rays and other diagnostic
- 12 imaging or tests is \$75.
- D. The charge for a diagnosis, analysis, treatment
- 14 recommendations, and a written report is \$250.
- 15 E. The charge for travel expenses is as follows:
- 16 (1) the cost of actual travel expenses incurred.
- 17 If appropriate, mileage at the maximum rate allowed for
- 18 deductions by the Internal Revenue Service may be charged in
- 19 lieu of air, bus, train, or other fare or the actual expenses
- 20 incurred for the use of one's automobile; and
- 21 (2) travel surcharge:
- 22 (a) within the seven-county metropolitan
- 23 area (Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, and
- 24 Washington counties), no charge; and
- 25 (b) outside of the seven-county metropolitan
- 26 area, \$75.
- 27 F. The charge for postexamination supplemental
- 28 reports is as follows:
- 29 (1) for postexamination supplemental reports
- 30 within six months of date of examination, \$150; and
- 31 (2) an additional charge for reviewing additional
- 32 records for postsupplemental reports of more than 25 pages, \$100.
- 33 G. The charge for reserve time charges and
- 34 cancellation fees. In the event a scheduled examination is
- 35 canceled or the employee does not appear for the examination:
- 36 (1) if canceled at least three business days

- l before the examination date, no charge;
- 2 (2) if the employee fails to appear for the
- 3 examination, or the examination is canceled less than three
- 4 business days before the examination date, \$400.
- 5 These charges are in lieu of the amounts specified in items
- 6 A to E.
- 7 H. The charge for depositions and court appearances
- 8 are as follows:
- 9 (1) for the first review of new or additional
- 10 medical records in preparation for a deposition or court
- 11 appearance, the same charge as in item A;
- 12 (2) for the review of previously studied records
- 13 in preparation for a deposition or court appearance, \$75 for a
- 14 review of up to 50 pages, and \$37.50 for each additional 50
- 15 pages or part thereof;
- 16 (3) deposition, including predeposition attorney
- 17 conferences, \$400 per hour for a minimum of two hours;
- 18 (4) court appearance, \$400 per hour for a minimum
- 19 of three hours;
- 20 (5) cancellation fees for depositions and court
- 21 appearances are as follows:
- 22 (a) if canceled six business days before the
- 23 deposition or appearance, no charge;
- 24 (b) if canceled on the fifth, fourth, or
- 25 third business day before the deposition or appearance, \$500;
- 26 (c) if canceled two business days before the
- 27 deposition or appearance, \$700; and
- 28 (d) if canceled one business day before or
- 29 on the same day as the deposition or appearance, \$800.
- 30 I. The charge for attorney conference, other than at
- 31 the time of deposition is \$200 per hour with a one hour minimum.
- J. The charge for psychiatrists or psychologists is
- 33 \$200 per hour for review and analysis of medical data, in lieu
- 34 of the charges in items A to E.
- 35 Subp. 4. Adjustments. On October 1, 1994, and on October
- 36 l of each succeeding year, the fees in this part must be

- 1 adjusted by the percentage determined under Minnesota Statutes,
- 2 section 176.645, in the same manner as the conversion factor of
- 3 the relative value fee schedule is adjusted under Minnesota
- 4 Statutes, section 176.136. This provision does not apply to
- 5 expenses under subpart 3, item E, subitem (1).