1 Minnesota Racing Commission

2

3 Adopted Permanent Rules Relating to Horse Racing

4

- 5 Rules as Adopted
- 6 7870.0800 DEADLINES FOR SUBMISSION OF CLASS D LICENSE
- 7 APPLICATIONS.
- 8 Applications for Class D licenses must be submitted by at
- 9 least 45 days before the date on which the applicant proposes to
- 10 commence horse racing.
- 11 7871.0010 APPLICATION FOR PARI-MUTUEL POOLS.
- 12 Subpart 1. Submission of pari-mutuel requests. A class B
- 13 or-B licensee may apply for approval of pari-mutuel pools
- 14 including rules governing calculation of payoffs, disposition of
- 15 unclaimed tickets, pools offered based on the number of entries,
- 16 prevention and failure to start, and scratches in effect at the
- 17 host racetrack by submitting an original and 15 copies of the
- 18 following:
- [For text of items A to D, see M.R.]
- 20 Subp. 2. Disposition of requests. The commission must act
- 21 on a request for approval of pari-mutuel pools under the
- 22 following procedures:
- 23 A. Upon receipt of an application, the commission
- 24 shall send written notice of the application to all persons
- 25 registered with the commission for the purpose of notification
- 26 of approval of pari-mutuel pools on televised racing days and
- 27 all other Class B or-B licensees. The notice must include a
- 28 brief description of the request, a statement that all persons
- 29 wishing to comment may do so in writing within 20 days after
- 30 issuance of the notice, the time and place of any public hearing
- 31 on the application, and the earliest and latest date on which
- 32 the commission may act.
- [For text of items B to F, see M.R.]
- 34 [For text of subps 3 and 4, see M.R.]

Approved by Revisor

- 1 7871.0020 APPROVAL OF PARI-MUTUEL POOLS ON TELEVISED RACING DAYS.
- 2 Subpart 1. Request. Upon written request of a Class B or
- 3 B licensee, or on its own motion, the commission may approve
- 4 pari-mutuel pools for televised racing days, including types of
- 5 betting, number and placement of multiple pools in racing
- 6 programs offered at the host racetracks, and other issues
- 7 related to pari-mutuel pools which promote the purposes of
- 8 Minnesota Statutes, chapter 240, and the rules of the commission.
- 9 [For text of subps 2 and 3, see M.R.]
- 10 7871.0090 SIMULCAST WAGERING ON A TELEVISED RACING DAY.
- 11 Subpart 1. Request. Upon written request of a Class B or
- 12 B licensee, the commission shall approve wagering on races
- 13 televised to Minnesota from another licensed racing jurisdiction
- 14 during a televised racing day. A signed reciprocal agreement
- 15 among the racetrack originating (hosting) the broadcast, the
- 16 association representing the horsepersons at the host track, the
- 17 Minnesota racetrack receiving the broadcast, and the association
- 18 representing the horsepersons at the Minnesota racetrack
- 19 receiving the broadcast must be filed with the commission prior
- 20 to the broadcast.
- 21 [For text of subps 2 to 4, see M.R.]
- 22 7871.0120 APPOINTMENT OF PRESIDING OFFICIAL.
- [For text of subpart 1, see M.R.]
- Subp. 2. Communication with stewards. A Class B or-B
- 25 licensee conducting approved televised racing days must provide
- 26 the presiding official with telephone communication with the
- 27 stewards at the host racetrack throughout the racing program
- 28 each day.
- 29 7874.0100 GENERAL PROVISIONS.
- [For text of subps 1 and 2, see M.R.]
- 31 Subp. 3. Payment of unredeemed tickets. After reporting
- 32 to the commission, pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section
- 33 240.13, and not later than 100 days after the end of a race
- 34 meeting, a class B licensee must remit to the commission an

- 1 amount equal to the total value of unredeemed tickets from the
- 2 race meeting in the same manner as in subpart 2. Within ten
- 3 days after the end of a race meeting, a class D licensee must
- 4 remit to the commission an amount equal to the value of
- 5 unredeemed tickets from the race meeting.
- [For text of subp 4, see M.R.]
- 7 7875.0100 FACILITIES.
- 8 [For text of subps 1 to 3, see M.R.]
- 9 Subp. 4. Racing surfaces. Within seven days after a race
- 10 meeting commences, the association must submit to the commission
- 11 evidence that the construction, elevation, and composition of
- 12 racing and training surfaces have received engineering and
- 13 veterinarian approval as safe and humane. A class D licensee
- 14 must make the submission seven days before the race meeting.
- [For text of subp 5, see M.R.]
- 16 7875.0200 EQUIPMENT.
- [For text of subps 1 to 3, see M.R.]
- 18 Subp. 4. Starting gates. At least two starting gates must
- 19 be in service on each race day and shall be tested daily prior
- 20 to the first race. Class D licensees are required to have one
- 21 starting gate. Two tractors or teams of draught horses shall be
- 22 positioned to pull any gate from a racecourse. Thoroughbred
- 23 starting gates must be padded to prevent injury to jockeys,
- 24 assistant starters, and horses. The arms of a standardbred
- 25 starting gate shall have a screen or shield in front of each
- 26 horse, and the arms shall be perpendicular to the rail when
- 27 extended.
- Subp. 5. Photo-finish. Except for class D licensees, a
- 29 photo-finish system must simultaneously use a backup camera in
- 30 case of malfunction of the primary system.
- 31 [For text of subp 6, see M.R.]
- 32 Subp. 7. Film patrol. Color film or color videotape
- 33 recordings shall show clearly the position and actions of
- 34 horses, jockeys, and drivers at close range. At least three
- 35 cameras shall be used for every race to provide panoramic and

- 1 head-on views of the race except that class D licensees may use
- 2 one camera for standardbred races and two cameras for quarter
- 3 horse races.
- [For text of subp 8, see M.R.]
- 5 Subp. 9. External communications. An association may have
- 6 telephone or telegraph systems on the premises during a race
- 7 meeting for the benefit of the public, the press, or for
- 8 transacting ordinary business. No information regarding the
- 9 results of any race shall be transmitted out of the racetrack
- 10 until the results are official except for races that are
- ll broadcast or televised live. Under no circumstances shall any
- 12 message be sent over said wires transmitting money, or other
- 13 things of value, or directing the placing of any wager on the
- 14 result of a race.
- No telephone calls, telegrams, or messages of any kind for
- 16 any person attending or participating in the conduct of a race
- 17 meeting shall be accepted, nor shall any notice be given
- 18 pertaining to such message or telephone call during the hours
- 19 indicated unless permission is first given by the stewards or
- 20 the authorized representative of the commission.
- 21 A telephone on a private line shall be provided in the
- 22 offices of the commission. All costs of the telephone service
- 23 shall be borne by the association and the service shall not be
- 24 interrupted at any time.
- One public telephone is allowed per floor at an association
- 26 track. Each phone must be monitored by association security and
- 27 must be part of an "information center" provided by the
- 28 association. All other instruments of communication, other than
- 29 those designated for the sole use of the commission or those
- 30 approved by the commission for use during racing, must be
- 31 rendered inoperable between the hours starting 30 minutes before
- 32 post time for the first race and the flashing of the "official"
- 33 sign following the last race.
- 34 Any portable telephones, transmitters, or any other
- 35 instrument that can be used for transmitting messages off the
- 36 grounds of an association is subject to confiscation by security

- l personnel or by the racing commission and its employees.
- 2 7877.0135 DUAL LICENSING.
- 3 In determining whether to issue more than one Class C
- 4 license to an applicant, the commission shall consider the
- 5 nature of the licenses sought or already held, and whether
- 6 holding multiple licenses would be a conflict of interest.
- 7 [For text of items A to D, see M.R.]
- 8 E. For all county fairs in which the average daily
- 9 handle for the preceding year was less than \$150,000 the
- 10 commission may authorize county fair associations to allow
- 11 officials other than stewards to act in dual capacities.
- 12 Stewards may act as placing judges and timers. The commission
- 13 may require that additional officials be present at a county
- 14 fair meet at the time of application approval or renewal of the
- 15 class D license.
- 16 7877.0170 DUTIES AND RESPONSIBILITIES OF CLASS C LICENSEES.
- [For text of subps 1 to 2a, see M.R.]
- 18 Subp. 3. Jockeys and apprentice jockeys. Jockeys and
- 19 apprentice jockeys shall have the following responsibilities.
- [For text of items A to F, see M.R.]
- 21 G. The jockey's weight shall include his or her
- 22 clothing (excluding helmet and flak jacket), boots, saddle, and
- 23 saddle attachments.
- [For text of items H to W, see M.R.]
- [For text of subps 4 to 10, see M.R.]
- 26 7878.0170 CLASS D SECURITY OFFICERS.
- 27 Subpart 1. Security officers may be provided by sheriff's
- 28 office. Security officers at a class D racetrack may be
- 29 provided by the sheriff's office in the county in which the
- 30 class D license is held.
- 31 Subp. 2. Designee. The sheriff or the sheriff's designee
- 32 will be the director of security for the race meet.
- 33 Subp. 3. Assistance. The sheriff may utilize deputies,
- 34 reserve deputies, police officers, reserve officers, or any

- 1 individual who meets the minimum standards as specified in part
- 2 7878.0110.
- 3 7879.0200 AUTHORITY AND DUTIES OF STEWARDS.
- 4 Subpart 1. General authority of stewards. The stewards
- 5 shall exercise immediate supervision, control, and regulation of
- 6 racing at each licensed race meeting on behalf of the commission
- 7 and shall be responsible only to the commission. The powers of
- 8 the stewards shall include:
- 9 [For text of items A to H, see M.R.]
- I. in the event a jockey, driver, trainer, or racing
- 11 official, other than a steward, is determined to be unable for
- 12 any reason to perform his or her duties, the authority to
- 13 appoint a substitute therefor;
- J. the authority to excuse a horse or any jockey,
- 15 driver, trainer, or racing official other than a steward;
- 16 K. for all county fair meets, in which the average
- 17 daily handle for the preceding year was less than \$150,000, the
- 18 rules of horse racing and pari-mutuel rules shall apply7-except
- 19 as-otherwise-provided-or-except-as-otherwise-directed-by-the
- 20 commission, -at-the-time-of-application-approval-and-thereafter
- 21 upon-conclusion-of-a-special-meeting-or-telephone-poll-of-the
- 22 commission unless waived by the commission after a determination
- 23 by the commission that the integrity of the race meet and safety
- 24 to humans or animals would not be affected. In the event
- 25 circumstances during a race meet require an immediate change so
- 26 as to expedite the completion of the race day, the board of
- 27 stewards, after consultation with the director of security,
- 28 commission veterinarian, or director of pari-mutuels, as
- 29 determined appropriate under the circumstance, shall thereafter
- 30 approve the change. In the event the board of stewards is
- 31 unable to consult with the appropriate commission staff member
- 32 after a reasonable time, the board of stewards shall approve the
- 33 change without such consultation; and
- 34 L. for a period of 90 days after the conclusion of a
- 35 county fair meet, jurisdiction to hold hearings and take action

- l with regard to any aspect of racing at the meet shall continue
- 2 with the board of stewards or, if considered by the commission
- 3 to be more practical or convenient for the parties concerned,
- 4 may be exercised by a single knowledgeable person designated by
- 5 the commission. Any person acting in lieu of the board of
- 6 stewards under this part shall have all of the authority granted
- 7 to the board of stewards under part 7879.0200 or any other
- 8 applicable rule. A person may appeal from any action taken, in
- 9 the same manner as an appeal may be taken from a steward's
- 10 hearing.
- [For text of subps 2 and 3, see M.R.]
- 12 7883.0100 ENTRIES AND SUBSCRIPTIONS.
- [For text of subps 1 to 15a, see M.R.]
- 14 Subp. 16. Workout requirements. In order to be eligible:
- [For text of items A to D, see M.R.]
- 16 E. For all county fairs in which the average daily
- 17 handle for the preceding year was less than \$150,000 all workout
- 18 requirements shall be waived except that in the case of a horse
- 19 that has not started for a period of one year, the owner or
- 20 trainer must contact the commission veterinarian prior to entry
- 21 for an examination and workout as determined by the commission
- 22 veterinarian.
- [For text of subps 17 and 18, see M.R.]
- 24 7883.0160 POST TO FINISH.
- 25 [For text of subps 1 to 5, see M.R.]
- Subp. 6. Interference and willful fouling. The following
- 27 rules shall apply with respect to the running of a race.
- [For text of items A and B, see M.R.]
- 29 C. During a race no jockey shall willfully strike or
- 30 touch another jockey or another jockey's horse or equipment for
- 31 the purpose of interfering with that horse or jockey, nor shall
- 32 a jockey strike his or her horse on or about the head area. A
- 33 jockey shall use a whip in a manner consistent with using his or
- 34 her best efforts to win. This does not mean that a jockey must
- 35 use the whip indiscriminately. Jockeys are prohibited from

- l whipping a horse:
- 2 (1) on the head, flanks, or on any part of its
- 3 body other than the shoulders or hind quarters;
- 4 (2) during the post parade except when necessary
- 5 to control the horse;
- 6 (3) excessively or brutally causing welts or
- 7 breaks in the skin;
- 8 (4) when the horse is clearly out of the race or
- 9 has obtained its maximum placing; or
- 10 (5) persistently even though the horse is showing
- 11 no response under the whip.
- 12 Correct uses of the whip are:
- 13 (a) showing horses the whip before hitting
- 14 them;
- 15 (b) using the whip in rhythm with the
- 16 horse's stride; and
- 17 (c) using the whip as an aid to maintain a
- 18 horse running straight.
- [For text of items D and E, see M.R.]
- [For text of subps 7 to 14, see M.R.]
- 21 7883.0170 RACING EQUIPMENT.
- No bridle shall weigh more than two pounds, and no whip
- 23 shall weigh more than one pound. No whip shall be used unless
- 24 it has affixed to its end a leather popper not less than 1-1/4
- 25 inches in width, and not over three inches in length, and be
- 26 feathered above the popper with not less than three rows of
- 27 leather feathers, each feather not less than one inch in
- 28 length. No whip shall exceed 31 inches in length. All whips
- 29 are subject to inspection and approval by the stewards.
- 30 7892.0100 DETENTION BARN.
- 31 Subpart 1. Barn. Each association shall provide a
- 32 detention barn suitable for taking test samples. The barn shall
- 33 include:
- [For text of items A to F, see M.R.]
- 35 G. a walking ring;

- 1 H. other equipment considered necessary by the
- 2 commission for the bathing and watering of horses; and
- 3 I. except in the situation of a county fair meet in
- 4 which the average daily handle for the preceding year was less
- 5 than \$150,000, items B and C shall be reduced to two wash areas
- 6 and three stalls.
- 7 [For text of subp 2, see M.R.]
- 8 7895.0300 QUARTER HORSE BREEDERS' FUND.
- 9 [For text of subpart 1, see M.R.]
- 10 Subp. 2. Division of money. The money available from the
- ll breeders' fund for the quarter horse category shall be divided
- 12 as follows:
- 13 A. 45 percent shall be set aside and paid as
- 14 breeders' awards to breeders of Minnesota-bred sired and foaled
- 15 horses (Minnesota-bred foaled horses and Minnesota-bred sired
- 16 horses are not eligible for breeders' awards);
- B. 45 percent shall be paid to supplement purses.
- 18 The purse supplements shall be apportioned in accordance with
- 19 the quality of the race as determined by the commission; and
- [For text of item C, see M.R.]
- 21 [For text of subps 3 to 6, see M.R.]
- 22 REPEALER. Minnesota Rules, parts 7871.0100 and 7873.0400, are
- 23 repealed.