1 Department of Public Safety

2

- 3 Adopted Permanent Rules Relating to Claim Procedures; Payment
- 4 Limits

5

- 6 Rules as Adopted
- 7 7505.3100 LOSS OF SUPPORT.
- 8 [For text of subps 1 to 3, see M.R.]
- 9 Subp. 4. Three-year review. The board shall review a
- 10 claim for loss of support every three years to determine whether
- 11 the claimant is still eligible for benefits. The board shall
- 12 evaluate the claim giving consideration to the claimant's
- 13 financial need and to the availability of funds to the board.
- 14 If the claimant's gross annual income is more than 185 percent
- 15 of the federal poverty level, the claimant is not considered to
- 16 have a continuing financial need.
- 17 7505.3200 LOSS OF INCOME.
- 18 [For text of subps 1 and 2, see M.R.]
- 19 Subp. 2a. Estimated tax. If the tax rate cannot be
- 20 determined from the information received by the board under
- 21 subpart 1 or 2, the board shall estimate the tax at a rate of 15
- 22 percent for victims with a gross annual income less than \$20,000
- 23 and 25 percent for victims with a gross annual income greater
- 24 than \$20,000.
- 25 [For text of subp 3, see M.R.]
- Subp. 4. Paid leave. The board must not pay for lost
- 27 wages covered by a claimant's accumulated sick leave, vacation
- 28 leave, compensatory time, or holiday pay.
- 29 7505.3400 SECONDARY VICTIMS.
- 30 For the purposes of this chapter, the term "victim"
- 31 includes, in addition to those meanings specifically provided in
- 32 Minnesota Statutes, section 611A.52, the following:
- 33 [For text of item A, see M.R.]
- B. a witness to a violent crime who suffered physical

Approved by Revisor

- 1 or emotional injury. Payment for a witness is limited to ten
- 2 counseling sessions;
- [For text of items C and D, see M.R.]
- 4 7505.3500 PARENTS OF CHILD VICTIMS.
- 5 The board shall authorize payment for up to five counseling
- 6 sessions for a parent who is a primary caretaker of a victim of
- 7 domestic child abuse or child sexual assault, if the treatment
- 8 plan filed under and complying with part 7505.2700 indicates
- 9 that the sessions directly benefit the victim.
- When home health care is needed by a victim who is less
- 11 than 21 years old and when a determination is made that a parent
- 12 of the victim is an appropriate person to provide care to the
- 13 victim, the board shall authorize payment to one the parent of a
- 14 child-victim-for-up-to-two-weeks-of-lost-income-incurred-as-a
- 15 result-of-obtaining-care-for-the-victim---The-victim-must-be
- 16 less-than-21-years-old:--Only-the-parent-who-is-the-primary
- 17 caretaker-may-receive-payment-for-lost-income \$10 an hour for up
- 18 to eight hours per day to reimburse the parent for care which is
- 19 provided. Total payment to a parent for-lost-income under this
- 20 provision must not exceed \$2,000.
- 21 7505.3700 COST CEILING ON HOSPITAL AND PHYSICIAN EXPENSES.
- Within 30 days of the beginning of each fiscal year, the
- 23 board shall determine the percentage of hospital and physician
- 24 expenses to be paid on all claims submitted for crimes occurring
- 25 during that fiscal year. The board shall consider the
- 26 availability of funds to the board when setting the percentage
- 27 it will pay. The board must not pay more than this percentage
- 28 of a victim's total hospital and physician expenses after
- 29 payment by collateral sources. Acceptance of payment for
- 30 medical services from the Minnesota Crime Victims Reparations
- 31 Board shall be considered acceptance of payment in full and bars
- 32 any legal action against the victim for collection.
- 33 7505.3800 MENTAL HEALTH TREATMENT RATE LIMITS.
- 34 The board must not pay more than \$75 an hour for individual

- l mental health therapy nor more than \$40 an hour for group mental
- 2 health therapy.
- 3 7505.3900 MAXIMUM PAYMENT FOR SEXUAL ASSAULT EVIDENTIARY
- 4 EXAMINATION.
- 5 The board must not pay more than \$500 for a sexual assault
- 6 evidentiary examination. Any payment by the county for the
- 7 examination shall be deducted from that \$500 and the board must
- 8 not pay more than the remaining amount.
- 9 7505.4000 MAXIMUM PAYMENT FOR CHILD CARE.
- When a claim for substitute child care is submitted, the
- 11 board must not pay more than \$250 per week for substitute child
- 12 care for one child nor more than \$350 per week for two or more
- 13 children.
- 14 REPEALER. Minnesota Rules, part 7505.3000, is repealed.