1 Department of Labor and Industry

2

4 . 4 . 5

- 3 Adopted Permanent Rules Relating to Workers' Compensation; Rules
- 4 of Practice

5

- 6 Rules as Adopted
- 7 5220.0105 INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE.
- 8 The following documents are incorporated by reference only
- 9 to the extent specifically referenced in chapter 5220. The
- 10 documents in items A and B are not subject to frequent change,
- 11 although new editions may occasionally be published. The
- 12 documents in item C are revised annually. All documents are
- 13 available through the Minitex interlibrary loan system.
- 14 A. The Dictionary of Occupational Titles, fourth
- 15 edition, 1991, United States Department of Labor, is available
- 16 for purchase through the Superintendent of Documents, United
- 17 States Government Printing Office, Washington, DC 20402.
- [For text of items B and C, see M.R.]
- 19 5220.2510 SCOPE AND PURPOSE.
- 20 Chapter 5220 governs all workers' compensation matters
- 21 before the commissioner of the Department of Labor and Industry
- 22 and the Office of Administrative Hearings. The Joint Rules of
- 23 Practice of the Workers' Compensation Division and the Office of
- 24 Administrative Hearings in chapter 1415 also govern workers'
- 25 compensation matters.
- 26 5220.2520 DEFINITIONS.
- 27 Subpart 1. Scope. Terms used in parts 5220.2510 to
- 28 5220.2960 have the meanings given them in part 1415.0300 and
- 29 this part and Minnesota Statutes, section 176.011.
- [For text of subps 2 to 8, see M.R.]
- 31 Subp. 9. [See repealer.]
- 32 Subp. 10. [See repealer.]
- 33 5220.2530 FIRST REPORT OF INJURY.
- 34 The first report of injury must be fully completed and

Approved M&

- 1 submitted to the division within the time limits established by
- 2 Minnesota Statutes, section 176.231. It must be on a form
- 3 prescribed by the commissioner, containing substantially the
- 4 following:
- 5 A. information identifying the employee, employer,
- 6 insurer, and any adjusting company, including numbers
- 7 identifying the employer, insurer, adjusting company, and
- 8 insurer class code;
- 9 B. claim numbers and Occupational Safety and Health
- 10 log number;
- 12 D. information regarding employment status and
- 13 occupation, including date of hire;
- 14 E. information regarding the circumstances of the
- 15 injury, including the date, place, time, persons or objects
- 16 involved, and the date notice was received by the employer and
- 17 insurer;
- 18 [For text of item F, see M.R.]
- 19 G. information regarding lost time from work; and
- 20 H. information identifying the treating physician.
- 21 Failure to file the report in a timely manner may result in
- 22 the assessment against the employer or insurer of the penalty
- 23 set out in part 5220.2820 and against the insurer of the penalty
- 24 set out in part 5220.2770.
- 25 5220.2540 PAYMENT OF TEMPORARY TOTAL, TEMPORARY PARTIAL, OR
- 26 PERMANENT TOTAL COMPENSATION.
- 27 Subpart 1. Time of payment. Payment of compensation must
- 28 be commenced within 14 days of:
- [For text of items A and B, see M.R.]
- 30 C. an order by the division, compensation judge, or
- 31 workers' compensation court of appeals requiring payment of
- 32 benefits which is not appealed. A party's consideration of an
- 33 appeal does not excuse payment beyond the 14-day time limit.
- 34 When an appeal is not filed, payments made after the 14th day
- 35 are subject to penalties and interest under parts 5220.2760 and

- 1 5220.2780.
- 2 Once temporary total or permanent total disability benefits
- 3 have been commenced, they must continue to be paid on a regular
- 4 basis at the intervals the employee would have received wages
- 5 from the employer had the employee continued working. Less
- 6 frequent payments may be arranged by written agreement of the
- 7 parties. With the initial payment of temporary total or
- 8 permanent total disability benefits, the insurer must notify the
- 9 employee in writing of the day of the week that further payments
- 10 will be made and the frequency with which payments will be
- 11 made. If the initial payment is a first and final payment, then
- 12 notification need not be sent.
- 13 The same time limits apply to payments of temporary partial
- 14 disability benefits. If the current wage varies so that wage
- 15 documentation for calculation of temporary partial disability
- 16 benefits is necessary, payment is due ten days following the
- 17 date the employee or employer sends wage verification to the
- 18 insurer.
- 19 [For text of subp 2, see M.R.]
- 20 Subp.-2a.--Suitable-employment.--If-a-rehabilitation-plan
- 21 has-been-completed, the employee is ineligible for
- 22 rehabilitation-services,-or-the-employee-has-not-requested
- 23 rehabilitation-services,-a-job-which-pays-at-least-50-percent-of
- 24 the-gross-weekly-wage-on-the-date-of-injury-is-economically
- 25 suitable-under-Minnesota-Statutes, -section-176, 101, -subdivision
- 26 3e7-if-the-job-represents-the-employee-s-current-earning
- 27 capacity-and-that-earning-capacity-cannot-reasonably-be-expected
- 28 to-significantly-change.
- 29 Subp. 3. Notice to division. The insurer must keep the
- 30 division advised of all payments of compensation and amounts
- 31 withheld and amounts paid for attorney fees by the filing of
- 32 interim status reports each year and upon specific request by
- 33 the division.
- 34 The insurer must also file with the division proof of
- 35 payment which must indicate the amount of compensation paid and
- 36 the date when the first payment was made, at each of the

- 1 following times:
- 2 A. when the insurer makes the first payment to the
- 3 employee following the injury;
- B. when payments are reinstated after they have been
- 5 previously discontinued by a notice of intention to discontinue
- 6 benefits or an order of the division under part 5220.2640,
- 7 subpart 7;
- 8 C. when monitoring period compensation is commenced
- 9 under Minnesota Statutes, section 176.101, subdivision 3i; and
- 10 D. when payments are commenced by order of the
- 11 division, a compensation judge, the workers' compensation court
- 12 of appeals, or the Minnesota Supreme Court.
- [For text of subp 4, see M.R.]
- 14 Subp. 5. Removal from the labor market. An employee who
- 15 voluntarily removes himself or herself from the labor market is
- 16 no longer entitled to temporary total, temporary partial, or
- 17 permanent total disability benefits. A removal from the labor
- 18 market has occurred when the employee is released to return to
- 19 work by a health care provider and the employee retires or the
- 20 employee's opportunities for gainful employment or suitable
- 21 employment are significantly diminished due to the employee's
- 22 move to another labor market.
- 23 Subp. 6. Permanent-total-disability:--An-employee-shall
- 24 not-be-found-to-be-permanently-and-totally-disabled-within-the
- 25 meaning-of-Minnesota-Statutes,-section-176:101,-subdivision-5,
- 26 clause-(2),-unless-the-employee-has-not-refused-a-suitable-job
- 27 under-Minnesota-Statutes,-section-176:101,-subdivision-3e,-and
- 28 the-employee:
- 29 A.--has-a-permanent-partial-disability-rating-of-at
- 30 least-20-percent-of-the-whole-body;
- 31 B---has-a-permanent-partial-disability-rating-of-at
- 32 least-17-percent-of-the-whole-body,-and:
- 33 (1)-is-over-45-years-old;
- 34 (2)-has-not-earned-a-high-school-diploma-or-its
- 35 equivalent; or
- 36 (3)-has-been-employed-during-the-three-years

```
immediately-preceding-the-disability-only-in-jobs-classified-by
    the-Dictionary-of-Occupational-Titles,-fourth-edition,-1991,-at
 2
    specific-vocational-preparation-level-three-or-below;
 3
              E.--has-a-permanent-partial-disability-rating-of-at
 4
 5
    least-14-percent-of-the-whole-body-and-has-two-of-the-following
    three-characteristics:
 6
                   (1)-is-over-45-years-old;
 8
                   (2)-has-not-earned-a-high-school-diploma-or-its
 9
    equivalent;
                   (3)-has-been-employed-during-the-three-years
10
11
    immediately-preceding-the-disability-only-in-jobs-classified-by
12
    the-Dictionary-of-Occupational-Titles,-fourth-edition,-1991,-at
    specific-vocational-preparation-level-three-or-below;
13
14
              D.--has-a-permanent-partial-disability-rating-of-at
    least-ten-percent-of-the-whole-body,-and:
15
16
                   (1)-is-over-45-years-old;
17
                   (2)-has-not-earned-a-high-school-diploma-or-its
18
    equivalent; -and
19
                   (3)-has-been-employed-during-the-three-years
20
    immediately-preceding-the-disability-only-in-jobs-classified-by
21
    the-Dictionary-of-Occupational-Titles,-fourth-edition,-1991,-at
    specific-vocational-preparation-level-three-or-below;
22
23
              E:--has-been-evaluated-by-the-vocational
    rehabilitation-unit-of-the-division-and-it-has-been-found-by
24
25
    that-unit-that-the-employee-would-be-unlikely-to-be-able-to
26
    secure-anything-more-than-sporadic-employment-resulting-in-an
    insubstantial-income-even-after-the-employee-had-received-all
27
28
    appropriate-services-under-Minnesota-Statutes,-section-176-102;
29
30
              F:--has-diligently-searched-for-employment-for-a
    period-of-at-least-two-years-and-has-been-unable-to-secure
31
    anything-more-than-sporadic-employment-resulting-in-an
    insubstantial-income: -- To-show-that-a-diligent-search-has-been
33
    made; -the-employee-must-keep-a-detailed-record-of-the-job-search
34
35
    if-the-employee-is-capable-of-doing-so---As-time-progresses,-the
    employee-must-expand-the-area-in-which-a-job-is-sought---If
36
```

- 1 there-are-no-jobs-available-in-the-occupation-in-which-the
- 2 employee-has-training-or-experience,-the-employee-must-expand
- 3 the-job-search-to-include-jobs-outside-of-the-employee's
- 4 training-or-experience-but-which-have-been-identified-by-the
- 5 vocational-rehabilitation-unit-of-the-division-or-the-employee's
- 6 qualified-rehabilitation-consultant-as-jobs-the-employee-is
- 7 physically-able-to-perform-and-which-would-provide-or-be
- 8 consistent-with-a-rehabilitation-plan-to-eventually-provide-an
- 9 economically-suitable-wage-under-part-5220-25407-subpart-2a-
- 10 Subp:-7: Apprentices, temporary partial disability
- 11 benefits. An apprentice, upon return to the same apprenticeship
- 12 program in the same position or a similar position to that held
- 13 on the date of injury, has not suffered a loss of earning
- 14 capacity where the wage upon return to the apprenticeship
- 15 program is the same or greater than the wage on the date of
- 16 injury. Temporary partial disability benefits are not owing
- 17 where there is no loss in earning capacity.
- 18 5220.2550 PAYMENT OF PERMANENT PARTIAL DISABILITY, INCLUDING
- 19 IMPAIRMENT COMPENSATION AND ECONOMIC RECOVERY COMPENSATION.
- 20 Subpart 1. Time of payment. Permanent partial disability
- 21 must be paid at the time specified in Minnesota Statutes,
- 22 sections 176.021 and 176.101. When permanent partial disability
- 23 compensation is being paid periodically following the payment of
- 24 temporary total benefits or following or concurrent with the
- 25 payment of temporary partial benefits, the payments must be
- 26 continued without interruption at the same intervals that the
- 27 temporary benefits were paid. When the employee reaches maximum
- 28 medical improvement, the insurer must request an initial
- 29 assessment of any permanent partial disability from the
- 30 employee's physician.
- 31 A. When the extent of permanent partial disability is
- 32 not disputed, upon receipt of a medical report containing a
- 33 permanency rating or medical information from which the insurer
- 34 may determine a rating, the employer or insurer must, within 30
- 35 days:

```
[For text of subitems (1) and (2), see M.R.]
 1
 2
                  When the extent of permanent partial disability is
    disputed, upon receipt of a medical report containing a
 3
    permanency rating or medical information from which the insurer
 4
    may determine a rating, the employer or insurer must, within 30
 5
    days:
 6
7
                   (1) make a minimum lump sum payment or begin
    periodic payments based on the minimum undisputed permanent
8
9
    partial disability ascertainable; and
                   [For text of subitem (2), see M.R.]
10
11
                  If permanent partial disability benefits are not
    currently payable under Minnesota Statutes, section 176.101,
12
    inform the employee in writing of the disability rating and the
13
14
    time when the permanent partial disability payment will be
    payable by statute.
15
16
         Subp. 2. Notice of benefit payment.
                   [For text of item A, see M.R.]
17
                  For injuries on or after January 1, 1984, when the
18
19
    insurer makes a lump sum payment of permanent partial disability
    benefits or begins periodic payment, the employer or insurer
20
    shall fully complete, serve on the employee, and file with the
21
    division a notice of permanent partial disability benefits which
22
   must be on a form prescribed by the commissioner, containing
23
24
    substantially the following information:
25
                   [For text of subitems (1) to (5), see M.R.]
26
                   (6) instructions to the employee concerning any
27
    disagreement about the payment;
                   [For text of subitems (7) and (8), see M.R.]
28
29
                   (9) copies of medical reports containing
    disability ratings or medical information upon which the insurer
30
    bases the rating;
31
                   [For text of subitems (10) and (11), see M.R.]
32
         Subp--2a---Inability-to-return-to-former-employment---An
33
34
    employee-is-not-"unable-to-return-to-former-employment"-within
    the-meaning-of-Minnesota-Statutes,-section-176.101,-subdivision
35
    3t7-paragraph-(b)7-when-the-employee-returns-to-suitable
36
```

- 1 employment-with-the-employer.
- 2 [For text of subps 3 and 4, see M.R.]
- 3 5220.2555 RETRAINING COMPENSATION.
- 4 An employee who has been approved for retraining under
- 5 Minnesota Statutes, section 176.102, subdivision 11, may
- 6 petition the commissioner or a compensation judge for additional
- 7 compensation, not to exceed 25 percent of the compensation
- 8 otherwise payable, if the employee will incur a special,
- 9 unusual, or unique circumstance during the retraining period
- 10 that would otherwise reduce the likelihood that the retraining
- 11 plan will be successfully completed. Additional compensation is
- 12 not warranted under this subpart if the circumstance on which
- 13 the request is based is compensable as a cost of the
- 14 rehabilitation plan under Minnesota Statutes, section 176.102,
- 15 subdivision 9. The commissioner or a compensation judge may
- 16 order an award of additional compensation and specify the amount
- 17 to be awarded. When the employee is entitled to additional
- 18 compensation for retraining, the compensation shall begin on the
- 19 first day the special, unusual, or unique circumstance of the
- 20 retraining is present but not before the start of the retraining
- 21 program, and shall stop at any time the special, unusual, or
- 22 unique circumstance is no longer present. The commissioner or
- 23 compensation judge may determine the date of commencement and
- 24 the date of discontinuance of the additional compensation.
- 25 5220.2560 ATTACHMENT AND GARNISHMENT OF BENEFITS.
- Workers' compensation benefits are not subject to
- 27 attachment or garnishment, although they may be withheld under
- 28 Minnesota Statutes, sections 518.54, subdivision 6, and 518.611,
- 29 and paid for child support or spousal maintenance if the other
- 30 requirements of those statutes are met. Upon request, the
- 31 insurer shall file with the division a statement of the amount
- 32 being withheld from the employee's benefits and paid to the
- 33 county or obligee, a copy of the order for withholding of
- 34 income, and verification of payments made.

- 1 5220.2570 DENIALS OF LIABILITY.
- [For text of subpart 1, see M.R.]
- 3 Subp. 2. Denial of liability form. A denial of primary
- 4 liability under Minnesota Statutes, section 176.221, subdivision
- 5 1, except a letter denial under subpart 4 or 5, must be fully
- 6 completed and on a form prescribed by the commissioner,
- 7 containing substantially the following:
- 9 E. a specific reason for the denial which must be in
- 10 language easily readable and understandable to a person of
- 11 average intelligence and education and a clear statement of the
- 12 facts forming the basis for the denial. A denial which states
- 13 only that the injury did not arise out of and in the course and
- 14 scope of employment or that the injury was denied for lack of a
- 15 medical report, for example, is not specific within the meaning
- 16 of this item;
- F. a copy of a medical report or summary of any
- 18 health care provider contact which forms a basis for the denial;
- 19 and
- 20 G. instructions to the employee if the employee
- 21 disagrees, including the availability of rehabilitation
- 22 benefits, the statute of limitations for filing a workers'
- 23 compensation claim, and the address and telephone numbers of
- 24 division offices the employee may contact for information.
- 25 Subp. 3. Notice of intention to discontinue benefits. A
- 26 denial of primary liability filed more than 30 days after notice
- 27 to or knowledge by the employer of a work-related injury which
- 28 is required to be reported to the commissioner under Minnesota
- 29 Statutes, section 176.231, subdivision 1, and for which benefits
- 30 are being paid must be made by a notice of intention to
- 31 discontinue benefits under part 5220.2630 and must clearly
- 32 indicate that its purpose is to deny liability for the entire
- 33 claim.
- 34 Subp. 4. Letter denial for new period of temporary total.
- 35 A denial of liability for temporary total disability benefits
- 36 for a new period of lost time due to a previous work-related

- 1 injury must be in writing and include:
- [For text of items A to D, see M.R.]
- 3 E. a specific reason for the denial in language
- 4 easily readable and understandable to a person of average
- 5 intelligence and education and a clear statement of the facts
- 6 forming the basis for the denial.
- 7 Subp. 5. Letter denial for other benefits. A denial of
- 8 liability for a portion of benefits or any other compensation
- 9 where primary liability has been accepted must be in writing and
- 10 include:
- [For text of items A to D, see M.R.]
- 12 E. a specific reason for the denial in language
- 13 easily readable and understandable to a person of average
- 14 intelligence and education and a clear statement of the facts
- 15 forming the basis for the denial.
- 16 Subp. 6. Service. The employer or insurer shall serve on
- 17 the employee the form or letter under subparts 1 to 5 with any
- 18 relevant medical or other reports attached and file a copy with
- 19 the division.
- [For text of subp 7, see M.R.]
- 21 Subp. 8. [See repealer.]
- Subp. 9. Penalty; timeliness. Failure to pay or deny in a
- 23 timely manner may result in the assessment of the penalties in
- 24 parts 5220.2770 and 5220.2790.
- 25 Subp. 10. Penalty; frivolous denial.
- A. A frivolous denial under Minnesota Statutes,
- 27 section 176.225, subdivision 1, clause (a), includes one which:
- 28 (1) does not state facts indicating that an
- 29 investigation has been completed or that a good faith effort to
- 30 investigate has been attempted; or
- 31 (2) states a basis which is a clearly inaccurate
- 32 statement of fact or the applicable law.
- B. In addition to any workers' compensation benefits
- 34 due and a penalty under subpart 9, a penalty may be assessed by
- 35 the division or compensation judge under parts 5220.2760 and
- 36 5220.2770 and Minnesota Statutes, sections 176.221, subdivision

- 1 3a, and 176.225, subdivision 1, for a frivolous denial.
- 2 Subp. 11. Penalty; nonspecific denial. A nonspecific
- 3 denial as defined in subpart 2, item E; 4, item E; or 5, item E,
- 4 may result in the assessment of a penalty in the amount of \$300
- 5 under Minnesota Statutes, section 176.84, subdivision 2. A
- 6 penalty for a nonspecific denial may be assessed without regard
- 7 to the substantive validity of the denial of benefits. A
- 8 penalty under this subpart may be assessed in addition to the
- 9 penalties described in subparts 9 and 10 and is payable to the
- 10 special compensation fund.
- 11 5220.2580 CLAIM FOR REFUND FROM EMPLOYEE OR DEPENDENT;
- 12 OVERPAYMENTS.
- 13 Subpart 1. Request for refund. All requests for refunds
- 14 or reimbursements by an insurer for payments made under a
- 15 mistake of fact or law, which were allegedly not received by an
- 16 employee or dependent in good faith, must be made in writing to
- 17 the employee with a copy immediately mailed to the attorney
- 18 representing the employee or dependent, if any, and upon request
- 19 to the division.
- 20 Subp. 2. Contents of request. All requests must contain
- 21 the following information:
- [For text of items A to C, see M.R.]
- D. the mistake of fact or law which forms the basis
- 24 for the claimed overpayment;
- 25 E. the reason the insurer believes the payments were
- 26 not received in good faith; and
- 27 F. a statement informing the employee that, if the
- 28 employee has any questions regarding the legal obligations to
- 29 repay any claims for overpayment alleged to have not been
- 30 received in good faith, the employee should contact either a
- 31 private attorney or the division.
- 32 Subp. 3. Overpayments. The insurer that overpaid benefits
- 33 that were received by the employee in good faith may take the
- 34 credit allowed under Minnesota Statutes, section 176.179, after
- 35 giving notice to the employee of the information in subpart 2,

- 1 items A to F. Benefits paid pursuant to Minnesota Statutes,
- 2 section 176.239, subdivision 3, are not overpaid benefits unless
- 3 so ordered by a compensation judge under Minnesota Statutes,
- 4 section 176.239, subdivision 9.
- 5 5220.2605 DISPOSITION OF COVERAGE ISSUES.
- 6 Subpart 1. Motion. If an answer filed under Minnesota
- 7 Statutes, section 176.321, raises an issue related to
- 8 independent contractor or employment status, a party may move to
- 9 bifurcate the issue or issues for immediate and expedited
- 10 resolution upon affidavit or, if requested by any party, an oral
- ll hearing.
- 12 Subp. 2. Filing. The motion must be filed with the
- 13 division, or the office if the matter has been certified to the
- 14 office, within ten days after the filing of the answer. The
- 15 motion, which must be served upon the petitioner or petitioner's
- 16 attorney and other parties to the proceedings, must include (1)
- 17 an affidavit of service; (2) evidence relied on in support of
- 18 the motion by verified affidavits; (3) any request and reasons
- 19 for an oral hearing; and (4) if desired, a written brief not
- 20 exceeding 25 pages in support of the motion. Other parties to
- 21 the proceeding may respond to the motion within 20 days after
- 22 the service of the motion under this part by submission of
- 23 affidavits and, in its discretion, a written brief not exceeding
- 24 20 pages. The movant will have ten days from service of a
- 25 response to the motion to file affidavits and, if desired, a
- 26 written brief not exceeding ten pages in rebuttal to any issue
- 27 raised in opposition to the motion.
- Subp. 3. Decision; hearing. The judge may determine the
- 29 motion on the basis of the written matter submitted, or may, on
- 30 the judge's own motion or upon motion of a party, schedule a
- 31 hearing. If a hearing is scheduled, the parties must be served
- 32 with notice of hearing at least 20 days before the hearing. The
- 33 parties may present the issues fully, including the right to
- 34 introduce evidence supplementing that presented by affidavit and
- 35 the right to cross-examine adverse witnesses.

- 1 Subp. 4. Appeal. Whether or not a hearing is held, the
- 2 judge shall issue a decision based on the facts presented. This
- 3 decision may be appealed to the Workers' Compensation Court of
- 4 Appeals.
- 5 Subp. 5. Hearing on the merits. The commissioner or
- 6 compensation judge shall schedule a hearing on other issues not
- 7 decided under this subpart, if needed, following a final
- 8 decision on the motion under this subpart and any related appeal.
- 9 5220.2610 ADMINISTRATIVE CONFERENCES.
- 10 Subpart 1. Scope. This part governs administrative
- 11 conferences conducted under Minnesota Statutes, sections 176.106
- 12 and 176.239.
- 13 Subp. 2. Notice. Unless the issue will be decided on the
- 14 basis of written submissions, or unless the parties agree on a
- 15 shorter notice period, the division must notify the parties and
- 16 intervenors or potential intervenors under Minnesota Statutes,
- 17 section 176.361, of the date, time, and place of the conference
- 18 at least ten working days before the conference date. The
- 19 qualified rehabilitation consultant, if one is assigned, must be
- 20 notified of a rehabilitation conference. The special
- 21 compensation fund must be notified of all administrative
- 22 conferences where the fund is reimbursing benefits to an insurer
- 23 or self-insurer under Minnesota Statutes, section 176.131 or
- 24 176.132, or a claim has been made under the above referenced
- 25 statutes against the fund for benefits by any of the parties, or
- 26 the fund is paying benefits under Minnesota Statutes, section
- 27 176.191. The notice must include the statutory authority to
- 28 hold the conference and indicate whether issues from another
- 29 petition or request form have been joined for consideration at
- 30 the conference. Telephone notice of the conference at least
- 31 three working days before the conference date is sufficient for
- 32 a discontinuance or other expedited conference if timely service
- 33 of notice by mail cannot be made.
- 34 Subp. 3. Appearances. All parties and the qualified
- 35 rehabilitation consultant, if the conference is conducted under

- Minnesota Statutes, section 176.106 concerning rehabilitation
- 2 services, must be given notice and the opportunity to attend
- 3 administrative conferences or, at their option, to present
- 4 documents on their behalf. A person who has an interest in the
- 5 outcome of the conference such that the person may either gain
- 6 or lose by the decision may attend the conference. A party may
- 7 be represented by an attorney. The employee and insurer or
- 8 designated person having authority to act on behalf of the party
- 9 regarding the matter in dispute is required to attend an
- 10 administrative conference under Minnesota Statutes, section
- 11 176.239, unless health reasons, distances, or other good cause
- 12 prevents attendance. If absent because of distance, the
- 13 employee and insurer or authorized designee of the employee and
- 14 insurer must be available by telephone at the scheduled
- 15 conference time.
- 16 Subp. 4. [See repealer.]
- 17 Subp. 5. Information considered. The presiding official
- 18 shall permit the parties to present their positions and reports
- 19 or other documents or exhibits relevant to the issues involved.
- 20 Reasonable opportunity for parties to refute statements or other
- 21 information submitted must be allowed. Copies of documents
- 22 submitted must be simultaneously supplied to the other parties.
- Subp. 6. Concurrent litigation. When the same or a nearly
- 24 identical issue in the same case is pending with the office, the
- 25 workers' compensation court of appeals, or another court, the
- 26 division must decline to issue a decision and defer to the
- 27 office or court to avoid inconsistent determinations.
- 28 Subp. 7. Continuance. Continuances are disfavored and
- 29 will be granted only upon a showing of good cause for the
- 30 inability or failure to appear at a conference. Good cause
- 31 generally means that circumstances beyond the control of the
- 32 party or party's representative prevent attendance at the
- 33 scheduled time. Before a continuance is granted, the division
- 34 must consider receiving written arguments and supporting
- 35 documentation in place of the scheduled conference.
- 36 Subp. 8. Intervenors. If, at the time of the conference,

- 1 the division determines that a potential party has not been
- 2 notified of the conference, the conference must be canceled or
- 3 continued, the parties may enter into an agreement which does
- 4 not compromise the rights of the potential party, or the
- 5 division must issue a decision which does not compromise the
- 6 rights of the potential party. A potential party is a person
- 7 who has an interest in the outcome of the conference under
- 8 Minnesota Statutes, section 176.361, such that the person may
- 9 either gain or lose by the decision to be made following the
- 10 conference.
- 11 Subp. 9. Decision. The decision following an
- 12 administrative conference shall include a determination
- 13 concerning the rights an intervenor or potential intervenor
- 14 under Minnesota Statutes, section 176.361, may have in the
- 15 dispute. The decision must include a statement indicating the
- 16 right to request a formal hearing and explain how to initiate
- 17 the request.
- 18 Subp. 10. Testimony cost. The division shall not order
- 19 reimbursement of costs for testimony at an administrative
- 20 conference.
- 21 5220.2620 MEDICAL DISPUTES.
- 22 Subpart 1. Definition. For purposes of this part, the
- 23 following term has the meaning given.
- "Medical issues" means all health care rendered under
- 25 Minnesota Statutes, sections 176.135 and 176.136, and
- 26 determinations by the division under Minnesota Statutes,
- 27 sections 176.103 and 176.106, and includes:
- 28 A. whether the charge is a reasonable charge as
- 29 described and allowed by chapter 5221 and Minnesota Statutes,
- 30 section 176.136;
- 31 B. the reasonableness and necessity of a medical
- 32 service or treatment as described and allowed by chapter 5221
- 33 and Minnesota Statutes, sections 176.135 and 176.136;
- 34 C. the need for a second opinion prior to surgery;
- 35 D. a request for change of primary health care

- 1 provider;
- E. the employee's cooperation with medical treatment;
- F. the inability to secure a health care provider
- 4 report;
- 5 G. the relationship of the health care to the work
- 6 injury;
- 7 H. the assessment of penalties or interest for
- 8 untimely response to medical billings and failure to provide at
- 9 an administrative conference a specific reason for nonpayment of
- 10 the items in dispute;
- 11 I. the availability of medical services from a
- 12 managed care organization under Minnesota Statutes, section
- 13 176.1351; and
- J. other problems related to medical treatment and
- 15 supplies.
- 16 Subp. 2. Medical claim, request. An employee or insurer
- 17 may initiate a medical claim by filing a medical request form
- 18 with the division. A medical request form may be filed by a
- 19 health care provider as defined by Minnesota Statutes, section
- 20 176.011, subdivision 24, where the insurer has denied payment on
- 21 the basis that a charge is excessive under Minnesota Statutes,
- 22 section 176.136, subdivision 2. A claim is not denied based on
- 23 excessiveness where the insurer asserts that the injury did not
- 24 arise out of and in the course of employment or where the
- 25 disputed treatment is for a condition which the insurer asserts
- 26 is not wholly or partly casually related to the work injury.
- 27 The requesting party shall serve the medical request form and
- 28 attachments on the other parties, including the employee,
- 29 insurer, employer, and any health care provider and other person
- 30 having an interest in the outcome such that the person may
- 31 either gain or lose by the resulting decision. The requesting
- 32 party shall specify the medical issues in dispute and attach
- 33 supporting documents. A health care provider filing a medical
- 34 request form must attach evidence of the insurer's denial of
- 35 payment based on excessiveness, an itemized statement of
- 36 charges, and the appropriate record as defined in part

- 1 5221.0100, subpart la. The requesting party must also specify
- 2 the name and address of any third party who has paid or has been
- 3 ordered to pay to reimburse medical or treatment expense, and
- 4 the claim or policy number, if known. At the time the medical
- 5 request form is filed, the requesting party must mail a copy of
- 6 the medical request form to third parties who have paid
- 7 benefits. A claim petition containing medical issues only may
- 8 be treated in the same manner as a medical request form under
- 9 this subpart if the insurer is not disputing that the injury
- 10 arose out of and in the course of employment.
- 11 Subp. 3. Medical claims response. If the employee or
- 12 health care provider has filed a medical request form, the
- 13 insurer must file a medical response form with the division and
- 14 serve copies on the other parties no later than 20 days after
- 15 service of the medical request form or within the time period
- 16 provided by part 5221.6050, subpart 7. Failure to file a
- 17 required form will be considered in the determination of
- 18 disputed issues, penalties, and interest charges, and may result
- 19 in a determination based solely on the written submissions of
- 20 the requester when an administrative conference is not scheduled.
- 21 Subp. 4. [See repealer.]
- 22 Subp. 5. Medical claim; denial of liability. If a medical
- 23 request form has been mistakenly filed in a case in which
- 24 initial issues of liability exist, the matter may be set for a
- 25 settlement conference before a judge of the division under
- 26 Minnesota Statutes, section 176.305, or the requester will be
- 27 instructed to file a claim petition, intervene in another
- 28 proceeding, or other procedure as the division directs.
- 29 Subp. 6. [See repealer.]
- 30 Subp. 7. [See repealer.]
- 31 Subp. 8. [See repealer.]
- 32 Subp. 9. [See repealer.]
- 33 Subp. 10. [See repealer.]
- 34 Subp. 11. [See repealer.]
- 35 Subp. 12. Penalties. Where payment of medical charges is
- 36 not made in compliance with part 5221.0600 and Minnesota

- 1 Statutes, section 176.135, a penalty may be assessed under part
- 2 5220.2740.
- 3 5220.2630 DISCONTINUANCE OF COMPENSATION.
- 4 Subpart 1. Generally. When an insurer proposes or intends
- 5 to reduce, suspend, or discontinue an employee's benefits, it
- 6 shall file one of the following documents described in this
- 7 part. A form need not be filed when an insurer increases or
- 8 decreases an employee's periodic temporary partial benefit due
- 9 to changes in the employee's earnings while employed, provided
- 10 that a payment continues to be made based on the employee's
- ll actual earnings.
- 12 Subp. 2. Petition. The filing of a petition to
- 13 discontinue compensation with the division under part 1415.1000
- 14 and Minnesota Statutes, section 176.238, subdivision 5,
- 15 commences a formal action to reduce, suspend, or discontinue
- 16 compensation. A petition is required to reduce, suspend, or
- 17 discontinue permanent total benefits if a judicial or
- 18 administrative order finding permanent total status was
- 19 previously issued. The division shall refer the matter to the
- 20 office under Minnesota Statutes, section 176.238.
- 21 Subp. 3. Notice of benefit payment.
- 22 A. The employer or insurer may make a lump sum or
- 23 final payment of the benefit indicated by the filing of a notice
- 24 of benefit payment with the division and service of the notice
- 25 on the other parties at the time that the payment occurs when
- 26 the payment represents:
- 27 (1) a lump sum payment of full permanent partial
- 28 disability compensation;
- (2) a final periodic payment of impairment
- 30 compensation or economic recovery compensation;
- 31 (3) a final payment under an award, order, or
- 32 stipulation;
- 33 (4) for injuries occurring before August 1, 1975,
- 34 where the employee is not permanently totally disabled, a final
- 35 payment of temporary total disability or for injuries occurring

- 1 before May 28, 1977, a final payment of temporary partial
- 2 disability based on a statutory maximum number of weekly
- 3 payments; or
- 4 (5) a final payment of monitoring period
- 5 compensation.
- 6 B. A notice of benefit payment must be fully
- 7 completed and on the form prescribed by the commissioner,
- 8 containing substantially the relevant information described in
- 9 part 5220.2550, subpart 2.
- 10 Subp. 4. Notice of intention to discontinue benefits.
- 11 A. To discontinue temporary total, temporary partial,
- 12 or permanent total benefits in situations not specified in
- 13 subpart 3, the employer or insurer must serve upon the employee
- 14 and file with the division a notice of intention to discontinue
- 15 benefits or a petition under subpart 2. The insurer may serve
- 16 and file a notice of intention to discontinue permanent total
- 17 benefits under this subpart only where no judicial or
- 18 administrative decision finding permanent total status was
- 19 previously issued. The notice of intention to discontinue
- 20 benefits must be accompanied by a form prescribed by the
- 21 commissioner with which to request an administrative conference
- 22 on the proposed discontinuance. The form must contain the
- 23 employer's name, the date of the injury or disease, and the
- 24 name, social security number, and address of the employee and a
- 25 space for the employee to indicate the reason the employee
- 26 objects to the proposed discontinuance.
- 27 B. A notice of intention to discontinue benefits must
- 28 be fully completed and on the form prescribed by the
- 29 commissioner, containing substantially the following:
- 30 [For text of subitems (1) to (3), see M.R.]
- 31 (4) the type of benefits being reduced or
- 32 discontinued;
- 33 (5) the legal reason or reasons for the proposed
- 34 discontinuance or reduction, stated in language which may easily
- 35 be read and understood by a person of average intelligence and
- 36 education, and in sufficient detail to inform the employee of

- 1 the factual basis for the discontinuance or reduction;
- 2 [For text of subitems (6) to (8), see M.R.]
- 3 (9) the date the notice was served on the
- 4 employee and the employee's attorney;
- 5 (10) verification and information identifying the
- 6 person making the proposal to discontinue benefits;
- 7 (11) instructions to the employee, including who
- 8 to contact for more information and how to request a conference
- 9 or hearing;
- 10 (12) copies of relevant medical reports; and
- 11 (13) copies of any other relevant documents.
- 12 Supporting documents must be attached to all copies of the
- 13 discontinuance notice when served.
- 14 C. The liability of the insurer to make compensation
- 15 payments continues at least until the notice of intention to
- 16 discontinue benefits is received by the division and served on
- 17 the employee and the employee's attorney, except that benefits
- 18 may be discontinued on the date the employee returned to work
- 19 and temporary partial benefits may be discontinued as of the
- 20 date the employee ceased employment. Where-benefit-amounts-are
- 21 difficult-to-determine-because-the-employee's-circumstances-have
- 22 changed, -payments-up-to-the-date-of-the-notice-may-be-averaged
- 23 based-on-benefit-payments-in-the-26-weeks-before-the-change-
- 24 Continuation of benefits following service and filing of a
- 25 notice of intention to discontinue benefits is set out in part
- 26 5220.2640, subpart 3.
- 27 Subp. 5. [See repealer.]
- 28 Subp. 6. Penalties. Where compensation is discontinued,
- 29 reduced, or suspended in violation of this part, a penalty may
- 30 be assessed under parts 5220.2720, 5220.2760, and 5220.2790.
- 31 5220.2640 DISCONTINUANCE CONFERENCES.
- 32 Subpart 1. Purpose. The purpose of an administrative
- 33 conference under Minnesota Statutes, section 176.239, is to
- 34 determine whether reasonable grounds exist for a discontinuance
- 35 of weekly benefits. The conference is an informal procedure to

- l encourage discussion and clarify issues. If the parties do not
- 2 reach an agreement on the issues, they will be resolved by a
- 3 decision of the division. If all affected parties consent, or
- 4 if notice of joinder of rehabilitation or medical issues has
- 5 been given under part 5220.2610, subpart 2, rehabilitation and
- 6 medical issues may also be discussed and clarified and decisions
- 7 issued under Minnesota Statutes, sections 176.102, 176.103, and
- 8 176.106.
- 9 Subp. 2. Request. The employee may request that the
- 10 division schedule an administrative conference to discuss a
- 11 proposed discontinuance of benefits. If the proposed
- 12 discontinuance is based on a reason other than a return to work,
- 13 the employee's request for a conference must be personally
- 14 delivered, received by, or telephoned to the department no later
- 15 than 12 calendar days from the date a notice of intention to
- 16 discontinue benefits, which was served on the employee and the
- 17 employee's attorney, was received by the division. If the
- 18 proposed discontinuance is based on a return to work, the
- 19 employee's request must be received by the division within 30
- 20 days of the reported date of the employee's return to work.
- 21 Allowance will be made, if appropriate, for nonreceipt or delay
- 22 under Minnesota Statutes, section 176.285.
- 23 If the insurer discontinues, reduces, or suspends benefits
- 24 without properly serving and filing a notice of intention to
- 25 discontinue benefits and with the required attachments in a
- 26 situation in which a notice of intention to discontinue benefits
- 27 was required under part 5220.2630 and Minnesota Statutes,
- 28 section 176.238, the employee may request an administrative
- 29 conference within 40 days after the employee received the last
- 30 payment but no later than 12 days after a notice of intention to
- 31 discontinue benefits is properly served and filed, or 30 days
- 32 after the employee returned to work if the notice is properly
- 33 served and filed within 14 days after the insurer has notice of
- 34 the employee's return to work.
- 35 The employee's request should be on the form provided by
- 36 the insurer under part 5220.2630, subpart 4, item A.

36

Continuation of benefits. 1 Subp. 3. If an employee requests an administrative 2 conference within the time set out in this part, benefits must 3 be paid through the date of the conference unless: 4 (1) the employee has withdrawn the request for a 5 6 conference; (2) the commissioner determines that no 7 conference is necessary and allows the discontinuance; 8 (3) the employee fails to appear at the 9 10 conference without good cause and-no-continuance-is-allowed; 11 (4) the employee has returned to work in which case benefits are due through the date of the employee's return 12 to work; 13 (5) the employee is receiving temporary partial 14 benefits and the employee is no longer employed; 15 (6) the employee dies; 16 (7) no plausible information is presented by the 17 employee to dispute the proposed discontinuance of the benefits; 18 (8) notice of maximum medical improvement was 19 served more than 90 days before the administrative conference; 20 (9) an approved retraining plan ended more than 21 90 days before the administrative conference; 22 (10) the employee has failed to make a good faith 23 effort to participate in the rehabilitation plan before the 24 administrative conference, but is making a good faith effort at 25 the time of the conference, in which case benefits may be 26 discontinued between the date the notice of intention to 27 discontinue benefits was served and filed and the administrative 28 conference date; 29 (11) the workers' compensation claim was 30 mistakenly accepted by the insurer and primary liability for the 31 entire injury is now denied; 32 (12) the employee has received temporary partial 33 benefits for the maximum period allowed under Minnesota 34 Statutes, section 176.101, subdivision 2; 35

(13) the employee has completely recovered from

- 1 the injury; or
- 2 (14) the employee has voluntarily retired from
- 3 the labor market.
- 4 B. If an employee's request for a continuance under
- 5 part 5220.2610, subpart 7, is granted and the employee is
- 6 awarded ongoing benefits, benefits must be paid through the date
- 7 of the conference and continuing. If the employee's request for
- 8 a continuance is granted and the employee is not awarded
- 9 benefits, benefits need not be paid during the period of
- 10 continuance. If the employer or insurer requested the
- 11 continuance, benefits must be paid during the period of
- 12 continuance. If the employee and insurer's joint request for a
- 13 continuance is granted, benefits must be paid during the period
- 14 of continuance unless the employee agrees in writing to waive
- 15 the interim payment and await a decision regarding payment under
- 16 subpart 7 following the administrative conference.
- 17 Subp. 4. Scheduling. Subject to part 5220.2610, subpart
- 18 7, a discontinuance conference must be set within the time
- 19 limits set by this subpart. Following a notice of intention to
- 20 discontinue benefits, the division shall schedule an
- 21 administrative conference no later than ten calendar days after
- 22 the division's receipt of a timely request for a conference. If
- 23 no notice of intention to discontinue benefits was filed as
- 24 required by part 5220.2630 and the employee requests a
- 25 conference, the division shall schedule a conference no later
- 26 than ten calendar days after the division's receipt of the
- 27 employee's request if the conference request is received within
- 28 40 days from the date the employee's last benefit payment was
- 29 received.
- 30 Subp. 5. [See repealer.]
- 31 [For text of subp 6, see M.R.]
- 32 Subp. 7. The decision. The decision must be based on
- 33 information presented at the conference and information from the
- 34 division file relating to the department's authority to decide
- 35 the issue, and information contained in the notice of intention
- 36 to discontinue benefits and any attachments. The division shall

- l mail a copy of the decision to the parties no later than five
- 2 working days from the date of the conference.
- 3 Subp. 8. [See repealer.]
- 4 Subp. 9. Penalties. Penalties may be imposed for an
- 5 improper discontinuance of compensation under part 5220.2720 and
- 6 Minnesota Statutes, section 176.238, subdivision 10, and for
- 7 unreasonable or inexcusable delay or other grounds under parts
- 8 5220.2760 and 5220.2790 and Minnesota Statutes, section 176.225,
- 9 subdivisions 1 and 5.
- 10 5220.2655 SMALL CLAIMS COURT OPERATIONS.
- 11 Subpart 1. Jurisdiction. Only claims within the
- 12 jurisdictional limits of Minnesota Statutes, section 176.2615,
- 13 as described in items A to D, may be brought in small claims
- 14 court. The claim may be heard in small claims court if all
- 15 parties agree to submit the claim to the jurisdiction of the
- 16 small claims court and:
- 17 A. the claim is for rehabilitation benefits only
- 18 under Minnesota Statutes, section 176.102;
- B. the claim is for medical benefits only under
- 20 Minnesota Statutes, section 176.135;
- 21 C. the claim in its total amount does not equal more
- 22 than \$5,000; or
- D. where the claim is for apportionment or for
- 24 contribution and reimbursement, no counterclaim in excess of
- 25 \$5,000 is asserted.
- Subp. 2. Statement of claim. An employee, employer,
- 27 insurer, self-insured employer, or claims service agent for a
- 28 self-insured employer or insurer may file a statement of claim
- 29 in a format or form prescribed by the commissioner which has
- 30 been signed by all parties or with signed attachments of the
- 31 parties consenting to the jurisdiction of the small claims
- 32 court. The statement of claim must provide:
- 33 A. the name and social security number of the
- 34 employee;
- 35 B. the address and telephone number of the employee;

- 1 C. the name, title, address, and telephone number of
- 2 the insurer's claim representative and claim number;
- D. the name, address, and telephone number of the
- 4 potential intervenor or other payor or provider of benefits
- 5 received by an employee following an alleged work-related
- 6 injury;
- 7 E. a statement of the benefits claimed, including, if
- 8 appropriate, value in dollars;
- 9 F. attached supporting documentation;
- 10 G. defenses to the claim and supporting
- 11 documentation;
- 12 H. the statement that the judge's award or order
- 13 determining the dispute is final and that the matter may not be
- 14 appealed, used as evidence, or further considered in any other
- 15 forum or proceeding; and
- 16 I. a statement providing for mutual waiver of
- 17 representation by attorneys if the parties agree.
- 18 Subp. 3. Notice. The department shall notify all parties
- 19 by mail of the date, time, and place of the small claims court
- 20 hearing.
- 21 Subp. 4. Hearing. All parties must appear at the hearing
- 22 fully prepared with the witnesses, exhibits, and evidence the
- 23 parties choose to present to the presiding judge. Parties may
- 24 agree to appear without representation by attorneys.
- 25 Participation of attorneys is permitted to the extent that the
- 26 judge determines is helpful to the resolution of the case.
- 27 Attorney's fees shall be awarded subject to the limitations of
- 28 Minnesota Statutes, section 176.081, only if the judge
- 29 determines that the attorney's participation was significantly
- 30 instrumental in the disposition of the case.
- 31 Subp. 5. Decision. The judge shall issue findings and an
- 32 order deciding the issues within three working days of the
- 33 completion of the hearing. No appeals can be taken. In the
- 34 event of a settlement, the judge shall issue a settlement order
- 35 within three working days of receipt of a settlement agreement.

- 1 5220.2670 MEDIATION.
- 2 Subpart 1. Evaluation for mediation. The commissioner may
- 3 refer, or any party to a workers' compensation matter or dispute
- 4 may, at any stage of the proceedings, request evaluation of a
- 5 disputed matter by the mediation unit to determine suitability
- 6 of the matter for further action by the unit. If the matter is
- 7 found to be suitable for resolution by the mediation process,
- 8 the mediation unit will contact the parties or their attorneys,
- 9 if they are represented, to attempt conciliation or schedule a
- 10 mediation session.
- 11 Subp. 2. Conciliation. Conciliation is the resolution of
- 12 a matter through informal means without conducting a full
- 13 conference. If the matter is appropriate for conciliation, the
- 14 mediation unit may conciliate an agreement of the parties.
- [For text of subps 3 to 5, see M.R.]
- 16 5220.2680 SECOND INJURY LAW.
- 17 Subpart 1. [See repealer.]
- 18 Subp. 2. [See repealer.]
- 19 Subp. 3. [See repealer.]
- 20 Subp. 4. [See repealer.]
- 21 Subp. 5. Notice of intention to claim reimbursement.
- 22 Notice of intention to claim reimbursement under Minnesota
- 23 Statutes, section 176.131, subdivision 6, must be on forms
- 24 prescribed by the division. In a claim under Minnesota
- 25 Statutes, section 176.131, subdivision 1, forms must be filed
- 26 within one year after the payment of sufficient weekly benefits
- 27 or medical expenses to make claim against the special
- 28 compensation fund. In a claim under Minnesota Statutes, section
- 29 176.131, subdivision 2, forms must be filed within one year from
- 30 the first payment of weekly benefits or medical expense. The
- 31 insurer must file with the division the original and one copy of
- 32 the notice of intention to claim reimbursement.
- 33 Subp. 6. Claim for reimbursement. Reimbursement will be
- 34 made by an order of the division or workers' compensation court
- 35 of appeals from the special compensation fund on a yearly basis

- l upon application for reimbursement on forms prescribed by the
- 2 division. The insurer must file the original and one copy of
- 3 the claim for reimbursement with the division. The application
- 4 must be verified, set out in detail expenditures made and
- 5 expenditures for which reimbursement is claimed, and must be
- 6 supported by medical reports, showing the nature and extent of
- 7 disability and relationship to the injury and physical
- 8 impairment for which reimbursement is claimed.
- 9 5220.2690 SUBROGATION INTEREST IN THIRD-PARTY RECOVERY.
- [For text of subps 1 and 2, see M.R.]
- 11 Subp. 3. Determination of subrogation interest. The
- 12 insurer or employee must comply with the procedures in this part
- 13 in submitting a petition to the workers' compensation division
- 14 for an order determining subrogation interest and credit.
- 15 A. The petition must be on the form prescribed by the
- 16 commissioner and contain substantially the following:
- [For text of subitems (1) to (4), see M.R.]
- 18 (5) the name, address, and telephone number of
- 19 the attorney for each party if any; and
- 20 (6) calculation of the subrogation interest,
- 21 including the future credit amount and the sum payable to the
- 22 employee.
- [For text of items B and C, see M.R.]
- D. If a party disagrees with the petitioner's
- 25 request, the disagreeing party shall serve an answer on all
- 26 parties to the third-party action and parties to the workers'
- 27 compensation proceeding within 20 days of service of the
- 28 petition. If the answering party disagrees with the
- 29 petitioner's calculation of the subrogation interest, future
- 30 credit, or sum payable to the employee, the answering party must
- 31 propose alternative calculations. The answer and a proof of
- 32 service must be filed with the division within 20 days of
- 33 service of the petition.
- 34 E. Upon receipt of the petition and any answer to the
- 35 petition, the division will issue an order containing the

- 1 following:
- 2 [For text of subitems (1) to (4), see M.R.]
- 3 F. If an appeal of the order is not received by the
- 4 division within 30 days, the order will become the final order.
- 5 [For text of subp 4, see M.R.]
- 6 5220.2720 IMPROPER DISCONTINUANCES; PENALTY.
- 7 Subpart 1. Basis. A penalty assessment for improper
- 8 discontinuance will be made by the division, if appropriate
- 9 where:
- 10 A. benefits were discontinued without timely notice
- 11 to the employee and the employee's attorney as required under
- 12 part 5220.2630 and Minnesota Statutes, section 176.238;
- B. the discontinuance occurred despite an
- 14 administrative determination denying a request to discontinue
- 15 under part 5220.2640 and Minnesota Statutes, section 176.239;
- [For text of item C, see M.R.]
- D. an administrative conference was requested and the
- 18 request was not withdrawn, the discontinuance occurred before
- 19 the date of the administrative conference, except where allowed
- 20 by part 5220.2640, subpart 3; or
- 21 E. when a notice of intention to discontinue benefits
- 22 is required to be filed but the discontinuance is retroactive,
- 23 taking effect prior to the date that the notice of intention to
- 24 discontinue benefits is served and filed with the division or
- 25 served on the employee, except as allowed by part 5220.2630.
- Subp. 2. Amount. When the division makes a determination
- 27 under subpart 1, notice will be given and fines assessed as
- 28 follows:
- A. (1) If an insurer has not had a penalty assessed
- 30 in the two-year period before the assessment for violation of a
- 31 particular item in subpart 1, the division will send a warning
- 32 notice to the insurer that the division has determined the
- 33 discontinuance is improper. The warning notice will direct the
- 34 insurer to pay the improperly discontinued benefits and serve
- 35 and file any required notice of discontinuance within ten days

- 1 of service of notice or a penalty will be assessed.
- 2 (2) If the improperly discontinued benefits are
- 3 not paid and any proper discontinuance filed within the
- 4 following time periods after the warning notice is served, the
- 5 division will send notice that a penalty is imposed as follows:
- 6 (a) 11 to 20 days late, \$100;
- 7 (b) 21 to 30 days late, \$300;
- 8 (c) 31 to 60 days late, \$400; and
- 9 (d) over 60 days late, \$500.
- 10 B. If an insurer has had a penalty assessed in the
- 11 two-year period before the assessment for violation of an item
- 12 in subpart 1 and again violates the same item, the following
- 13 penalties apply if the improperly discontinued benefit is not
- 14 paid and a discontinuance notice is not filed when required:
- 15 (1) one to ten days late, \$200;
- 16 (2) 11 to 20 days late, \$300;
- 17 (3) 21 to 30 days late, \$400; and
- 18 (4) over 30 days late, \$500.
- 19 [For text of item C, see M.R.]
- D. Alternatively, a penalty may be assessed under
- 21 Minnesota Statutes, section 176.221, subdivision 3, payable to
- 22 the assigned risk safety account, of up to 100 percent of the
- 23 amount of compensation to which the employee is entitled.
- 24 E. In addition to a penalty payable to the special
- 25 compensation fund or the assigned risk safety account under this
- 26 part, a penalty may be assessed under part 5220.2760.
- [For text of subp 3, see M.R.]
- 28 5220.2740 FAILURE TO PAY OR DENY MEDICAL CHARGES; PENALTY.
- 29 Subpart 1. Basis. Under Minnesota Statutes, section
- 30 176.221, subdivision 6a, a penalty may be assessed where payment
- 31 or denial of medical charges is not made in a timely manner as
- 32 provided in part 5221.0600 and Minnesota Statutes, section
- 33 176.135.
- 34 Subp. 2. Amount. Under Minnesota Statutes, section
- 35 176.221, subdivision 3a, a penalty of up to \$1,000 shall be

- l assessed as follows:
- A. one to 15 days late, \$250;
- B. 16 to 30 days late, \$500;
- 4 C. 31 to 60 days late, \$750; and
- 5 D. over 60 days late, \$1,000.
- 6 Subp. 3. [See repealer.]
- 7 Subp. 4. Payable to. Penalties assessed under this part
- 8 are payable to the assigned risk safety account.
- 9 Subp. 5. Interest. Interest on the sums owed under
- 10 Minnesota Statutes, section 176.221, subdivision 8, is payable
- 11 to the health care provider.
- 12 5220.2750 FAILURE TO MAKE TIMELY PAYMENT OF ECONOMIC RECOVERY
- 13 COMPENSATION OR IMPAIRMENT COMPENSATION; PENALTY.
- [For text of subpart 1, see M.R.]
- 15 Subp. 2. Amount. Under Minnesota Statutes, section
- 16 176.221, subdivisions 3 and 6a, a penalty of up to 100 percent
- 17 of the amount owing may be assessed.
- 18 Subp. 3. Payable to. The penalty is payable to the
- 19 assigned risk safety account.
- 20 5220.2760 ADDITIONAL AWARD AS PENALTY.
- 21 Subpart 1. Basis. Penalties under Minnesota Statutes,
- 22 section 176.225, subdivision 1, in an amount up to 25 percent of
- 23 the total amount of the compensation award may be assessed by
- 24 the division on the grounds listed in that section, including:
- 25 A. underpaying, delaying payment of, or refusing to
- 26 pay within 14 days of the filing of an order by the division or
- 27 a compensation judge the workers' compensation court of appeals
- 28 or the Minnesota Supreme Court unless the order is appealed
- 29 within the time limits for an appeal. If the payor does not
- 30 appeal the order, payments made more than 14 days after the
- 31 order is served and filed are late, however, the division shall
- 32 not issue a penalty under this part unless payment is made after
- 33 the 30th day following a final order. A penalty may be issued,
- 34 however, for a payment after the 14th day and through the 30th
- 35 day following a settlement award under Minnesota Statutes,

- 1 section 176.521. Payments made after the 14th day must include
- 2 interest pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 176.221,
- 3 subdivision 7, or 176.225, subdivision 5, to the payee;
- 4 [For text of item B, see M.R.]
- 5 C. other violations under Minnesota Statutes, section
- 6 176.225, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), (b), (d), or (e).
- 7 This part does not affect the employee's independent right
- 8 to seek penalties by filing a claim petition under Minnesota
- 9 Statutes, section 176.271.
- 10 Subp. 2. Amount. A penalty assessed under this part will
- ll be for at least five percent of the compensation owing and shall
- 12 be assessed as follows:
- A. one to five days late, five percent;
- B. six to 15 days late, ten percent;
- 15 C. 16 to 30 days late, 15 percent;
- D. 31 to 60 days late, 20 percent; and
- 17 E. over 60 days late, 25 percent.
- [For text of subp 3, see M.R.]
- 19 5220.2770 FAILURE TO PAY OR DENY; PENALTY.
- [For text of subpart 1, see M.R.]
- 21 Subp. 2. Amount. The commissioner's designee must use the
- 22 following procedure to determine the amount of the penalty.
- [For text of item A, see M.R.]
- B. Calculation of the amount of the penalty will be
- 25 in the following manner:
- [For text of subitems (1) and (2), see M.R.]
- 27 (3) the penalty due for the number of days late
- 28 is calculated under Minnesota Statutes, section 176.221,
- 29 subdivision 3.
- 30 [For text of item C, see M.R.]
- 31 D. Where no compensation has been paid but the
- 32 insurer has failed to file a denial of liability within the
- 33 statutory 14- or 30-day limit on a claim required to be reported
- 34 to the division, a penalty of up to \$1,000 may be assessed under
- 35 Minnesota Statutes, section 176.221, subdivision 3a, as follows:

- 1 (1) one to 15 days late, \$100;
- 2 (2) 16 to 30 days late, \$150;
- 3 (3) 31 to 60 days late, \$350; and
- 4 (4) over 60 days late, \$500.
- 5 If the insurer has been assessed five or more penalties for
- 6 violation of this item in the two-year period before the
- 7 assessment, a penalty of \$1,000 shall be assessed for a
- 8 subsequent violation.
- 9 E. Where the insurer has filed a frivolous denial
- 10 under part 5220.2570, subpart 10, a penalty may be assessed
- 11 under Minnesota Statutes, section 176.221, subdivision 3a, as
- 12 follows:
- 13 (1) one to five violations in the two-year period
- 14 before the assessment, \$500; and
- 15 (2) six or more violations in the two-year period
- 16 before the assessment, \$1,000.
- 17 Subp. 3. Payable to. This penalty is payable to the
- 18 assigned risk safety account.
- 19 [For text of subp 4, see M.R.]
- 20 5220.2780 FAILURE TO PAY UNDER ORDER; PENALTY.
- 21 Subpart 1. Basis. Where payment of compensation or
- 22 expenses is not made within 14 days following an order as
- 23 required by Minnesota Statutes, section 176.221, subdivisions 6a
- 24 and 8, the division may assess the penalties provided in
- 25 Minnesota Statutes, section 176.221, subdivision 3 or 3a,
- 26 however, the division shall not issue a penalty under this part
- 27 unless payment is made after the 30th day following a final
- 28 order. A penalty may be issued, however, for a payment after
- 29 the 14th day and through the 30th day following a settlement
- 30 award under Minnesota Statutes, section 176.521. Payments made
- 31 after the 14th day must include interest to the payee.
- 32 Subp. 2. Amount. The penalty available under Minnesota
- 33 Statutes, section 176.221, subdivision 3 or 3a, shall be
- 34 assessed where there has been a failure to pay under an order
- 35 which has not been appealed. If the payor chooses not to appeal

- 1 the order, payments made more than 14 days after the order is
- 2 served and filed are late. Each day after the 14th day is
- 3 considered a day late. Penalties under Minnesota Statutes,
- 4 section 176.221, subdivision 3a, shall be assessed as follows:
- 5 A. 17 one to 15 days late, \$250;
- 6 B. 16 to 30 days late, \$500;
- 7 B. C. 31 to 60 days late, \$750; and
- 9 Subp. 3. Payable to. The penalty is payable to the
- 10 assigned risk safety account.
- 11 5220.2790 INEXCUSABLE DELAY IN MAKING PAYMENT, INCREASE IN
- 12 PAYMENT.
- 13 Subpart 1. Basis.
- [For text of item A, see M.R.]
- B. Where other payment of temporary total, temporary
- 16 partial, permanent total, or permanent partial disability
- 17 benefits is not made within three business days of the date
- 18 provided by statute or rule on more than three occasions in any
- 19 12-month period, the failure is deemed inexcusable.
- [For text of subps 2 and 3, see M.R.]
- 21 Subp. 4. Assessment.
- 22 A. The procedure for assessment of a penalty under
- 23 subpart 1, item A, must be made as provided in part 5220.2770
- 24 except that only ten percent of the amount delayed shall be
- 25 assessed as a penalty under this part.
- 26 B. The calculation of a penalty under subpart 1, item
- 27 B, for late payment of temporary total, temporary partial, or
- 28 permanent total disability benefits must be as follows:
- 29 [For text of subitems (1) to (3), see M.R.]
- 30 (4) The penalty is calculated at ten percent of
- 31 the sum paid in an untimely manner.
- 32 C. The calculation of a penalty for late payment of
- 33 permanent partial disability benefits, including economic
- 34 recovery compensation and impairment compensation under subpart
- 35 1, item B, must be as follows:

```
[For text of subitem (1), see M.R.]
```

- 2 (2) if payment of the sum due is not made within
- 3 three business days of the due date on more than three occasions
- 4 in any 12-month period, a penalty of ten percent of the sum paid
- 5 in an untimely manner is assessed.
- 6 5220.2810 FAILURE TO RELEASE MEDICAL DATA; PENALTY.
- 7 [For text of subps 1 and 2, see M.R.]
- 8 Subp. 3. Amount.
- 9 A. If a collector or a possessor of medical data was
- 10 not issued a warning under this part in the preceding year
- 11 12-month period, the division must send a warning letter before
- 12 a monetary penalty is assessed. The warning letter must advise
- 13 the collector or possessor against whom the penalty is sought of
- 14 the obligation to provide medical data under Minnesota Statutes,
- 15 section 176.138, and that a penalty will be assessed if it fails
- 16 to provide the requested data within seven working days after
- 17 the warning letter and to file written verification of the
- 18 release of the data or a copy of the data with the division
- 19 within that time.
- B. If the requested data is not provided and written
- 21 verification filed with the division within seven working days
- 22 after receipt of a required warning letter or the division's
- 23 request where no warning letter is required, a penalty of \$100
- 24 shall be imposed. If that collector or possessor has had more
- 25 than three penalties assessed or warning letters sent for
- 26 violation of this part in the preceding 12 months, the penalty
- 27 will be \$200 as well as further penalties under items C and D.
- 28 C. If the requested data is not provided and written
- 29 verification filed with the division within 30 days after the
- 30 date of a required warning letter or the division's request
- 31 where no warning letter is required, a penalty of \$150 will be
- 32 imposed.
- 33 D. If the requested data is not provided and written
- 34 verification filed with the division within 60 days after the
- 35 date of a required warning letter or the division's request

- 1 where no warning letter is required, a penalty of \$200 will be
- 2 imposed.
- 3 Subp. 4. Payable to. The amount of any penalty assessed
- 4 under this part is payable to the assigned risk safety account.
- 5 5220.2820 FAILURE TO MAKE TIMELY REPORT OF INJURY; PENALTY.
- 6 Subpart 1. Basis. A penalty may be assessed under
- 7 Minnesota Statutes, section 176.231, subdivision 10:
- 8 A. against the employer, if a work-related death or
- 9 serious injury occurs to an employee and the commissioner is not
- 10 notified within 48 hours;
- 11 B. against the employer, if any other injury which
- 12 must be reported to the division occurs and the first report of
- 13 injury is received by the insurer more than ten days after the
- 14 first day of lost time due to the injury or ten days after the
- 15 date when notice of lost time due to the injury was received by
- 16 the employer, whichever is later; or
- 17 C. against the insurer, if:
- 18 (1) an injury which must be reported to the
- 19 division occurs;
- 20 (2) the first report of injury is received by the
- 21 insurer within the ten-day period described in item B; and
- 22 (3) the report is received by the division more
- 23 than 14 days after the first day of lost time due to the injury,
- 24 or 14 days after the date when notice of lost time due to the
- 25 injury was received by the employer, whichever is later.
- 26 Subp. 2. Amount. If the employer or insurer has violated
- 27 subpart 1 and has had no similar violations in the 12-month
- 28 period prior to the assessment, an advisory letter informing the
- 29 employer or insurer of the violation and the statutory
- 30 requirement must be sent. If the employer or insurer has had
- 31 one violation of subpart 1 in the past 12 months, a penalty of
- 32 \$50 must be assessed. If the employer or insurer has had two
- 33 violations in the past 12 months, a penalty of \$100 must be
- 34 assessed. If the employer or insurer has had three violations
- 35 in the past 12 months, a penalty of \$150 must be assessed. If

- 1 the employer or insurer has had four or more violations in the
- 2 past 12 months, a penalty of \$200 must be assessed.
- 3 Subp. 3. Assessment. The penalty must be assessed by
- 4 letter informing the employer or insurer of the number of
- 5 violations in the past 12 months on record and the amount of the
- 6 penalty. The letter must contain instructions for payment.
- 7 Subp. 4. Payable to. The penalty is payable to the
- 8 assigned risk safety account.
- 9 Subp. 5. [See repealer.]
- 10 5220.2830 OTHER FAILURE TO FILE REPORT IN MANNER OR WITHIN TIME
- 11 LIMITS PROVIDED; PENALTY.
- [For text of subpart 1, see M.R.]
- 13 Subp. 2. Amount. If, after a letter request from the
- 14 commissioner or authorized designee, a report under this part is
- 15 not received by the division within 21 days, a penalty of \$50
- 16 must be assessed. A failure to file a report after a second
- 17 request will result in an additional penalty assessment of
- 18 \$150. A subsequent failure will result in penalty assessments
- 19 of \$200.
- 20 Subp. 3. Payable to. The penalty is payable to the
- 21 assigned risk safety account.
- 22 5220.2840 FAILURE TO MAKE PAYMENT OR REPORT TO SPECIAL FUND;
- 23 PENALTY.
- 24 Subpart 1. Due date. For workers' compensation benefits
- 25 paid from January 1 through June 30, the due date of the
- 26 completed assessment form and corresponding assessment amount is
- 27 August 15 of the same calendar year.
- 28 For workers' compensation benefits paid from July 1 through
- 29 December 31, the due date of the corresponding assessment amount
- 30 is March 1 of the following calendar year.
- 31 Notice of the assessment rate and instructions for payment
- 32 will be issued by the fund 45 or more days before the due date.
- Insurers no longer licensed to provide, or no longer
- 34 providing workers' compensation insurance in Minnesota, and
- 35 employers no longer self-insured to provide workers'

- 1 compensation benefits must continue to file the assessment form
- 2 until five years have elapsed since a policy of workers'
- 3 compensation insurance or self-insurance was provided, or three
- 4 years after the last indemnity payment was made, whichever is
- 5 later. Insurers not owing an assessment must report zero
- 6 liability during the required reporting years.
- 7 Subp. 2. Basis. A penalty will be assessed under
- 8 Minnesota Statutes, section 176.129, subdivision 10, where
- 9 either:
- 10 [For text of item A, see M.R.]
- 11 B. written certification that the assessment report
- 12 and assessment payment will not be made by the due date because
- 13 of reasons beyond the control of the insurer or because no
- 14 assessment is owing, is not received by the special compensation
- 15 fund on or before the due date.
- 16 Subp. 3. Amount. Within 30 days of the due date, the
- 17 special compensation fund will give notice of penalty to those
- 18 who have neither filed the completed assessment form and paid
- 19 the assessment amount, nor submitted a certified reason for
- 20 nonpayment by the due date as follows:
- 21 A. Either:
- 22 (1) 2.5 percent of the assessment amount due if
- 23 the assessment payment is received at the fund within five days
- 24 after the due date;
- 25 (2) five percent of the assessment amount due if
- 26 the assessment payment is received at the fund within six to 30
- 27 days after the due date;
- 28 (3) ten percent of the assessment amount due if
- 29 the assessment payment is received at the fund within 31 to 60
- 30 days after the due date; or
- 31 (4) 15 percent of the assessment amount due if
- 32 the assessment payment is received at the fund 61 or more days
- 33 after the due date;
- B. \$500, whichever is greater; or
- 35 C. \$200 for failure to timely report under subpart 2,
- 36 item B, that no assessment is due.

- 1 Subp. 4. Payable to. Both the assessment amount and any
- 2 penalty due under this part are payable to the assigned risk
- 3 safety account.
- 4 [For text of subp 5, see M.R.]
- 5 5220.2850 FAILURE OF UNINSURED OR SELF-INSURED TO PAY; PENALTY.
- 6 The fund director, through an authorized designee or
- 7 representative, will seek reimbursement of benefits paid from
- 8 the special fund and the penalties provided under Minnesota
- 9 Statutes, sections 176.181, subdivision 3, and 176.183,
- 10 subdivision 2, by filing petitions for contribution and
- 11 reimbursement or recovery, and through other collection
- 12 mechanisms or remedies available in the civil courts.
- 13 5220.2860 FAILURE TO INSURE; PENALTY.
- 14 Penalties for failure to insure will be assessed by the
- 15 commissioner as provided by Minnesota Statutes, section 176.181,
- 16 subdivision 3. The employer may object to the penalty as
- 17 provided in part 5220.2870, except that the objection must be
- 18 served and filed within ten working days from the date the
- 19 notice of assessment was served on the employer.
- 20 5220.2870 PENALTY OBJECTION AND HEARING.
- 21 A party to whom notice of assessment has been issued may
- 22 object to the penalty assessment by filing a written objection
- 23 with the division on the form prescribed by the commissioner.
- 24 The objection must be served on the special compensation fund if
- 25 the penalty is payable to the special compensation fund or the
- 26 assigned risk safety account in addition to filing the objection
- 27 with the division, and on the employee if the penalty is payable
- 28 to the employee. The objection must be filed and served within
- 29 30 days after the date the notice of assessment was served on
- 30 that party by the division. The written objection must contain
- 31 a detailed statement explaining the legal or factual basis for
- 32 the objection and including any documentation supporting the
- 33 objection. Upon receipt of a timely objection, unresolved
- 34 issues shall be referred for a hearing to determine the amount

- 1 and conditions of any penalty. Objections which are not served
- 2 and filed within the 30-day objection period must be dismissed
- 3 by a compensation judge.
- 4 5220.2920 ATTORNEY FEES.
- 5 Subpart 1. Applicable principles. Attorney fees shall be
- 6 awarded in accordance with this part and Minnesota Statutes,
- 7 section 176.081, after resolution of a disputed benefit or
- 8 service issue, whether the matter is settled or a decision is
- 9 issued.
- 10 A contingent fee provided by Minnesota Statutes, section
- 11 176.081, must not be based on the time an attorney spends on a
- 12 case. It must be based on the amount awarded to a client which
- 13 was genuinely in dispute. The contingent fee provided by
- 14 Minnesota Statutes, section 176.081, subdivision 1, is presumed
- 15 reasonable. If measured on an hourly basis, a contingent fee
- 16 may seem unreasonably high or unreasonably low. On average,
- 17 however, the attorney is reasonably compensated but not
- 18 excessively compensated, on a contingent basis. It is contrary
- 19 to the legislature's protective policy of administrative
- 20 regulation of attorney fees in workers' compensation cases under
- 21 Minnesota Statutes, section 176.081, to allow a contingent fee
- 22 to stand when it provides a high hourly rate, but to routinely
- 23 grant excess fees under Minnesota Statutes, section 176.081,
- 24 subdivision 2, when the contingent fee provides a low hourly
- 25 rate. The attorney fee in a particular case is not unreasonable
- 26 simply because the hourly rate is below the attorney's usual
- 27 billing rate. An attorney who enters into a retainer agreement
- 28 with an employee or dependent under which the attorney agrees to
- 29 accept a fee that is less than the fee presumed reasonable by
- 30 Minnesota Statutes, section 176.081, subdivision 1, may not
- 31 claim a higher fee unless a new retainer agreement providing a
- 32 higher fee is executed. If, during the course of representation
- 33 involving a pending claim, an attorney requests that the client
- 34 sign a new retainer agreement, the attorney must notify the
- 35 client by conspicuous notice in the new retainer agreement that

- l the client is not required by law to agree to a fee higher than
- 2 a fee already negotiated and agreed upon by the attorney and
- 3 client.
- 4 Subp. 2. Withholding of attorney fees. Upon receipt of
- 5 the notice of representation, the employer and insurer may
- 6 withhold attorney fees on genuinely disputed portions of claims
- 7 under subpart 5 and Minnesota Statutes, section 176.081.
- 8 Attorney fees must be withheld on genuinely disputed portions of
- 9 claims if the employee's attorney so requests.
- 10 Subp. 3. Statement of fees, petition for disputed or
- 11 excess attorney fees. The following procedures must be followed
- 12 in claiming fees.
- 13 A. If the claim for attorney fees does not exceed the
- 14 fees allowed by Minnesota Statutes, section 176.081, subdivision
- 15 1, clause (a), the party claiming fees shall fully complete and
- 16 file a statement of attorney fees on a form prescribed by the
- 17 commissioner, including:
- 18 (1) information identifying the employee,
- 19 employer, insurer, and any adjusting company;
- 20 (2) claim numbers or codes;
- 21 (3) the date of injury or disease;
- 22 (4) in-the-format-provided-in-subpart-5, a list
- 23 of benefits obtained which were genuinely in dispute and which
- 24 would not have been recovered without the attorney's
- 25 involvement, and the total dollar amount of benefits obtained;
- 26 (5) information concerning any retainer received
- 27 from the employee;
- 28 (6) information concerning expense advancement;
- 29 (7) information regarding the withholding of
- 30 attorney fees, and the amount of attorney fees previously paid
- 31 for the same injury;
- 32 (8) the specific dollar amount claimed for
- 33 attorney fees;
- 34 (9) information regarding the attorney's license
- 35 to practice law in the state;
- 36 (10) a statement of the statutory basis or other

36

legal authority for attorney fees; (11) a notice regarding how to object to the 2 requested fees; 3 (12) information identifying the employee's 4 5 attorney; and (13) the number of hours spent in the employee's 6 representation and the attorney's hourly fee. 7 The statement must be accompanied by the retainer 8 agreement, if not previously filed, and proof of service on the 9 10 employer or insurer, and employee. If an attorney claims fees in excess of the amount 11 listed in Minnesota Statutes, section 176.081, subdivision 1, 12 clause (a), or an objection to the statement under item A is 13 filed, or it is requested that fees be assessed against the 14 employer or insurer for refusal to pay rehabilitation or medical 15 benefits or provide rehabilitation or medical services or the 16 requested fees were incurred in connection with an 17 administrative conference under Minnesota Statutes, section 18 176.102, 176.135, 176.136, or 176.239, the attorney shall fully 19 20 complete and file a petition for disputed or excess attorney fees on a form prescribed by the commissioner, including: 21 (1) information identifying the employee, 22 employer, insurer, and any adjusting company; 23 (2) claim numbers or codes; 24 (3) date of the injury or disease; 25 (4) an exhibit showing specific legal services 26 performed, the date performed, and the time spent; 27 (5) the number of hours spent in the employee's 28 29 representation and the attorney's hourly fee; (6) a statement of expertise and experience in 30 workers' compensation matters; 31 (7) a complete description of the factual, 32 medical, and legal issues in dispute; 33 (8) the nature of proof required in the case; 34 35 (9) in-the-format-provided-by-subpart-57 a list

of the benefits obtained which were genuinely in dispute and

- 1 which would not have been recovered without the attorney's
- 2 involvement, and the total dollar amount of benefits obtained;
- 3 (10) information concerning any retainer;
- 4 (11) the amount the employee advanced for
- 5 expenses;
- 6 (12) the specific dollar amount claimed in fees;
- 7 (13) information regarding the withholding of
- 8 attorney fees, and the amount of attorney fees previously paid
- 9 for the same injury;
- 10 (14) a list of the disbursements incurred and if
- 11 the disbursement has been paid, by whom;
- 12 (15) information regarding the attorney's license
- 13 to practice law in the state;
- 14 (16) a statement of the statutory basis or other
- 15 legal authority for attorney fees;
- 16 (17) whether or not a hearing on attorney fees is
- 17 requested;
- 18 (18) information identifying the employee's
- 19 attorney; and
- 20 (19) where all or a portion of the fee may be
- 21 payable by the employee, the prescribed notice to the employee
- 22 requesting that the employee return the attached form within ten
- 23 days of the employees's receipt of the notice, indicating
- 24 whether or not the employee agrees that the requested fee should
- 25 be awarded and notifying the employee of the relevant factors in
- 26 determining the attorney fee.
- 27 The petition must be accompanied by a copy of the retainer
- 28 agreement, if not previously filed, proof of service on the
- 29 employer or insurer, and employee, and a form prescribed by the
- 30 commissioner upon which the employee indicates agreement or
- 31 disagreement with the claim for excess fees.
- 32 Subp. 4. Fees, objection. If a timely objection to the
- 33 statement of attorney fees or petition for excess fees is filed,
- 34 the compensation judge or settlement judge shall use this part
- 35 and Minnesota Statutes, section 176.081, subdivision 5, to
- 36 determine whether the fee is justified.

```
Subp. 5. Genuinely disputed portions of claims.
 1
    following-information-must-be-included-in-the-statement-of
 2
    attorney-fees-or-petition-for-excess-attorney-fees---- Items-A-and
 3
 4
   B-are This subpart provides the applicable principles for the
   commissioner, compensation judge, or workers' compensation court
5
   of appeals to determine whether the benefit paid or payable was
    genuinely disputed for the purpose of calculation of a
7
    contingent fee under Minnesota Statutes, section 176.081,
8
 9
    subdivision 1.
              A. The statement of attorney fees or petition for
10
    excess attorney fees must include, for each benefit paid or
11
    awarded for which an attorney fee is sought:
12
                   (1)-whether-the-rate-or-amount-of-each-benefit
13
    was-disputed-and-if-so,-the-amount-disputed;
14
                   (2)-whether-the-duration-of-each-benefit-was
15
    disputed-and-if-so,-the-period-for-which-the-benefit-was
16
    disputed;
17
18
                   (3)-whether-eligibility-for-each-benefit-was
19
    disputed;
                   (4)-the-rate-or-amount,-duration,-and-period-of
20
    eligibility-for-each-benefit-which-was-admitted-and-paid-by-the
21
22
    insurer-at-or-before-the-date-payment-was-due;
                   (5)-the-nature-of-the-dispute,-containing
23
    sufficient-detail-to-allow-the-parties-to-agree-or-disagree-with
24
25
    the-characterization-of-the-dispute;
                   (6)-whether-the-insurer-denied-primary-liability
26
27
    for-the-claim; -and
                   (7)-in-the-case-of-a-lump-sum-award-pursuant-to
28
29
    an-award-on-stipulation-or-mediated-agreement,-subitems-(1)-to
    (6)-and-if-the-stipulation-for-settlement-or-mediated-agreement
30
    does-not-allocate-the-sums-awarded-to-specific-benefits,-an
31
    allocation-of-the-sums-awarded-to-the-various-types-of
32
    compensation: sufficient information to allow the fee determiner
33
    to apply the principles contained in this subpart.
34
                  The principles applicable to determine whether a
35
36
    benefit was genuinely disputed are as follows:
```

36

1 (1) If primary liability had been denied for the claim, all compensation paid or awarded to the employee or 2 3 dependent other than payment of medical and rehabilitation expenses, is used to compute the attorney's fee. 4 (2) If there was no dispute concerning the rate, 5 6 amount, duration, or eligibility for a benefit and the benefit was timely paid, the benefit may not be used to compute the fee. 7 (3) The fee may not be computed on the entire 8 amount of a benefit where only a portion of the benefit is 9 disputed. Only the disputed portion of the benefit may be used 10 to compute the fee. 11 (4) If eligibility for the benefit is disputed, 12 the entire benefit during the period for which eligibility was 13 14 disputed is used to compute the fee. (5) If the rate of the benefit is disputed, only 15 the amount paid or awarded above the rate admitted and timely 16 paid is used to compute the fee. 17 18 (6) If the duration of the benefit is disputed, only the portion of the benefit not conceded and not timely paid 19 is used to compute the fee. 20 (7) Benefits allegedly admitted but not timely 21 paid may be used to compute the fee. 22 (8) Benefits timely paid may not be used to 23 compute the fee except where primary liability for the entire 24 claim or eligibility for the benefit had been generally denied. 25 (9) The difference between the compensation 26 eventually paid or awarded and the amount admitted and timely 27 paid is used to compute the fee. 28 29 (10) The following benefits may be used to compute the fee: 30 (a) remodeling compensation pursuant to 31 Minnesota Statutes, section 176.137, which was in dispute under 32 33 this subpart; (b) a penalty sum awarded to the employee or 34 dependent for a benefit which was in dispute under this subpart; 35

(c) interest on a benefit which was in

- l dispute under this subpart; and
- 2 (d) a benefit which was in dispute under
- 3 this subpart although reimbursable to an intervenor.
- 4 (11) Generally, each benefit is evaluated
- 5 separately, however, if the rate, duration, or eligibility for
- 6 economic recovery compensation is disputed, the difference
- 7 between the impairment compensation which was conceded and
- 8 timely paid and the amount of disputed economic recovery
- 9 compensation eventually paid or awarded is used to compute the
- 10 fee.
- 11 (12) Following-an-allocation-of-a-lump-sum-award
- 12 under-item-A,-subitem-(7), The principles of this item subpart
- 13 apply to each-portion-of-the settlement sum-to-arrive-at-the
- 14 total-disputed-compensation-awarded-to-compute-the
- 15 fee sums. The A portion of the a lump sum award allocated
- 16 to medical or rehabilitation expenses must not be used to
- 17 compute the fee unless the hourly fee associated with the
- 18 service exceeds the contingent fee available under Minnesota
- 19 Statutes, section 176.081, subdivision 1, for all other disputed
- 20 benefits under this subpart that are resolved pursuant to the
- 21 award. Benefits that have not yet become due and are not in
- 22 dispute under this subpart may not be used to compute the fee.
- Subp. 6. Waiver-of-objection-period: -- The-parties-may-not
- 24 waive-by-stipulation-for-settlement-or-mediation-agreement-the
- 25 right-to-object-within-ten-days-to-the-requested-attorney-fee-
- 26 An-agreement-by-a-party-in-a-stipulation-for-settlement,
- 27 mediation-agreement,-or-similar-document-to-waive-the-ten-day
- 28 period-in-which-to-object-to-an-attorney's-fee-is-not-binding-on
- 29 the-party---The-party-may,-despite-the-agreement,-file-an
- 30 objection-to-the-requested-fee-in-any-manner-provided-by
- 31 Minnesota-Statutes, -section-176.081. -- The-objection-to-attorney
- 32 fees-does-not-render-the-party's-consent-to-other-terms-of-the
- 33 agreement-ineffective-
- 34 Subp.-7. Defense attorney fees. On August 1 of each year,
- 35 every insurer and-self-insured-employer must file with the
- 36 department its annual statement of attorney fees containing the

- 1 information required by this subpart for the previous 12-month
- 2 period from July 1 to June 31. The insurer or-self-insured
- 3 employer must include defense fees and costs incurred by itself
- 4 and its agents and representatives, including but not limited to
- 5 adjusting companies, and third-party administrators, and Costs
- 6 include charges for contract service providers such as
- 7 surveillance companies and transcription service organizations.
- 8 Only defense attorney fees and defense costs which are charged
- 9 by the insurer against an individual claim file and which relate
- 10 to a contested workers' compensation claim must be reported
- 11 under this subpart. Contested workers' compensation claims are
- 12 those claims which are the subject of pending or anticipated
- 13 workers' compensation litigation. Workers' compensation
- 14 litigation includes but is not limited to administrative
- 15 conference proceedings, mediation, small claims court, and
- 16 settlement proceedings. For the purpose of this subpart, "paid"
- 17 includes sums billed or due but not yet paid.
- 18 A. The annual defense attorney fees and defense costs
- 19 statement must include:
- 20 (1) Total attorney fees paid to outside and
- 21 in-house counsel for representation and advice concerning
- 22 workers' compensation cases. This-includes-general-advice-as
- 23 well-as-work-connected-with-specific-cases. If in-house counsel
- 24 spends 100 percent of work time on workers' compensation cases,
- 25 the attorney's full gross wage plus the cost of the employee's
- 26 benefit package is reported as attorney fees paid. If a portion
- 27 of the attorney's time is attributable to the defense of
- 28 workers' compensation cases, the wages and benefits may be
- 29 prorated by the respective percentage of wages and benefits
- 30 attributable to the general-workers -- compensation-duties-and
- 31 defense of workers' compensation cases. The outside counsel
- 32 fees reported must be the total fee paid to all firms for
- 33 representation and advice concerning workers' compensation cases.
- 34 (2) Total paralegal fees paid or cost incurred in
- 35 connection with workers' compensation cases. Wages and benefits
- 36 of in-house paralegals may be prorated as provided in subitem

- 1 (1).
- 2 (3) Deposition costs are reported in this
- 3 subitem. Other deposition costs such as court reporter fees for
- 4 time, preparation of a deposition transcript, and copies of
- 5 depositions, and any costs paid to the deponent must be included
- 6 in this subitem. Expert witness fees are included under subitem
- 7 (4). The attorney's fee for a deposition is reported in subitem
- 8 (1).
- 9 (4) Expert witness fees, including fees paid to
- 10 expert witnesses in connection with hearings, depositions, or
- 11 other workers' compensation proceedings.
- 12 (5) Independent medical evaluation fees,
- 13 including all sums paid for health care provider opinions sought
- 14 by the insurer or self-insured employer under Minnesota
- 15 Statutes, section 176.155, subdivision 1.
- 16 (6) Fees for the generation of a medical report
- 17 not already included in another category of this item.
- 18 (7) Cost of copies of medical and other data such
- 19 as personnel files and medical treatment charts.
- 20 (8) Court filing fees.
- 21 (9) Transcript costs, including fees for
- 22 preparation and copies of hearing transcripts.
- 23 (10) Investigation costs not otherwise reported
- 24 under this item, including surveillance costs and other services
- 25 and fees connected with investigations related to litigated
- 26 claims.
- 27 (11) Travel and mileage costs, including
- 28 reimbursement for travel costs associated with litigated cases
- 29 when these sums are not already reported under another subitem.
- 30 (12) The total number of injuries to which the
- 31 fees and costs included on the report are attributable.
- 32 (13) Other litigation costs not included in
- 33 subitems (1) to (12) are reported in a miscellaneous category.
- 34 B. The insurer must collect and make available for
- 35 review by the department as needed individual case information
- 36 relating to defense attorney fees and defense costs as provided

- 1 in this item. This individual case fee information need not be
- 2 reported annually except as provided by item A. The information
- 3 specified under this item must be made available to the
- 4 department upon request and to parties to the claim. The fees
- 5 listed in item A, subitems (1) and (2), must be collected for
- 6 individual employee claims by date of injury. All other costs
- 7 and fees in item A, subitems (3) to (13), may be collected in
- 8 the aggregate without regard to individual claims. The data
- 9 collected under item A, subitems (1) and (2), must include:
- 10 (1) the employee's social security number;
- 11 (2) the date of injury;
- 12 (3) the Minnesota supreme court registration
- 13 numbers for all attorneys providing services relating to the
- 14 injury;
- 15 (4) the hourly rate, if any, charged by all
- 16 attorneys and paralegals providing services relating to the
- 17 injury;
- 18 (5) the lump sum attorney fees paid for all
- 19 attorneys providing services relating to the injury; and
- 20 (6) a sum representing all in-house attorney and
- 21 paralegal time spent providing services relating to the injury.
- 22 For the purpose of this subitem, the employer of the in-house
- 23 attorney or paralegal may establish an hourly rate for the
- 24 paralegal or attorney's time based on the gross wages and fringe
- 25 benefits which closely represents the actual payment for the
- 26 services rendered.
- 27 C. The attorney fees paid to in-house or outside
- 28 counsel as reported in this subpart must be approved under
- 29 Minnesota Statutes, section 176.081, subdivision 2, if the
- 30 payment exceeds \$13,000 for any injury.
- 31 Subp. 8. 7. Contingent fee limitations. The contingent
- 32 fee presumed reasonable under Minnesota Statutes, section
- 33 176.081, subdivision 1, applies to fees paid to the attorney or
- 34 attorneys for the employee. It does not apply to each attorney
- 35 individually, but begins to run from the first claim concerning
- 36 the injury and continues until the \$13,000 sum is reached

- l without regard to the number of attorneys or claims initiated
- 2 concerning the same injury. The \$13,000 fee which is presumed
- 3 reasonable applies separately to fees payable to the attorney or
- 4 attorneys for the employee, and fees payable to the attorney or
- 5 attorneys for the insurer. The maximum fee presumed reasonable
- 6 per injury is \$26,000, half to the attorney or attorneys for the
- 7 employee and half to the attorney or attorneys for the insurer.
- 8 Where the only issues in dispute are medical or rehabilitation
- 9 benefits or services and it was not reasonable to join the
- 10 rehabilitation or medical issue with other disputed benefit
- 11 issues, the attorney fee payable for recovery of the benefit or
- 12 service is payable by the insurer on an hourly basis. If the
- 13 hourly fee associated with medical or rehabilitation issues
- 14 exceeds the available contingent fee under Minnesota Statutes,
- 15 section 176.081, subdivision 1, the available contingent fee
- 16 shall be awarded as well as a fee payable by the insurer such
- 17 that the two fees combined compensate the attorney at a
- 18 reasonable hourly rate.
- 19 Subp. 9. 8. Determinations without a hearing. If an
- 20 objection to the requested fee has been filed and the interested
- 21 parties waive their right to a hearing, the fees may be
- 22 determined without a hearing. A hearing must be scheduled if an
- 23 objection has been filed and all interested parties have not
- 24 waived their right to a hearing. Where no objection to the
- 25 requested fee has been filed, the commissioner, judge, or court
- 26 before whom the matter is pending shall determine, without a
- 27 hearing, the amount of attorney fees owing under this part and
- 28 Minnesota Statutes, section 176.081.
- 29 5220.2930 DEPENDENT'S BENEFITS.
- 30 Subpart 1. Allocation of compensation by judge.
- A. A party may petition for an allocation of benefits
- 32 under Minnesota Statutes, section 176.111, subdivision 10. The
- 33 petition may contain a proposed allocation. The petition must
- 34 be served on all parties and filed with the division within one
- 35 year after the date of death. If a petition for allocation is

```
not filed in a timely manner and the death occurred after June
1
    30, 1981, the allocation will be as provided in subpart 2.
2
3
                   [For text of items B and C, see M.R.]
                   [For text of subp 2, see M.R.]
 4
5
         Subp. 3.
                   [See repealer.]
                   [For text of subps 4 and 5, see M.R.]
6
    5220.2960 COMMISSIONER INTERIM NOTICES AND ORDERS.
7
         The commissioner may develop and publish commissioner
8
9
    interim notices and orders concerning matters within the
   authority of the department. Interim notices and orders do not
10
   have the force and effect of law, except where specifically
11
    authorized by statute, but may be relied upon by the public
12
13
   until revoked or modified to bind the department. The purpose
   of an interim notice or order is to provide uniform information
14
    and guidance to the public concerning department action.
15
16
    interim notice or order may be relied upon to bind the
    department until a statute, appellate court decision, rule, or
17
18
    subsequent commissioner's notice or order conflicts with the
    notice or order, until the date stated in the notice or order,
19
    or until one year after publication, whichever occurs first. An
20
    interim notice or order under this part binds the department
21
   only if the published notice or order is clearly identified as
22
    an interim notice or order and is given an indexing number.
23
   REPEALER. Minnesota Rules, parts 5220.2520, subparts 9 and 10;
24
    5220.2570, subpart 8; 5220.2590; 5220.2610, subpart 4;
25
    5220.2620, subparts 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, and 11; 5220.2630,
26
    subpart 5; 5220.2640, subparts 5 and 8; 5220.2650; 5220.2660;
27
    5220.2680, subparts 1, 2, 3, and 4; 5220.2730; 5220.2740,
28
29
    subpart 3; 5220.2820, subpart 5; 5220.2880, subpart 2;
30
    5220.2890; 5220.2910; 5220.2930, subpart 3; 5220.2940; and
```

5220.2950, are repealed.

31