Department of Commerce 1 2 Adopted Permanent Rules Relating to Residential Building 3 Contractors; Prohibited Practices; Continuing Education 4 5 Rules as Adopted 6 BUILDING CONTRACTORS; REQUIREMENTS 7 2891.0010 CHANGE OF BUSINESS NAME OR ADDRESS. 8 The licensee must notify the commissioner, in writing, of 9 any change in control, ownership, officers or directors, 10 business name, license name, qualifying person, or location 11 within 15 business days of the change. 12 2891.0020 RECORDS. 13 For the purposes of this license, a licensee shall maintain 14 records showing all plans, contracts, documents, records, 15 receipts, and disbursements by a licensee of all the licensee's 16 transactions as a contractor for a period of not less than three 17 years after completion of any construction project or operation 18 to which the records refer, and shall have the records available 19 for inspection by the commissioner during normal business hours. 20 Records must be kept at the licensee's business address. 21 22 2891.0030 WRITTEN CONTRACT REQUIRED. Contracts between a contractor and a customer for the 23 performance of a licensee's services must be reduced to writing 24 and must contain the following: 25 26 A. a summary of the work to be performed; a description of materials to be used or a list of 27 в. standard features included; and 28 C. the total contract price, or a description of the 29 basis on which the price will be calculated. 30 31 The licensee shall provide at no cost to the customer a copy of all written contracts between the licensee and its 32 customer, including, but not limited to, proposals, quotations, 33 change orders, and purchase orders at the time the document is 34

1 executed. 2891.0040 FRAUDULENT, DECEPTIVE, OR DISHONEST PRACTICES. 2 Subpart 1. Description. For the purposes of Minnesota 3 Statutes, section 326.91, subdivision 1, clause (2), the 4 following acts and practices are considered fraudulent, 5 deceptive, or dishonest practices: 6 misrepresentation of a material fact by the Α. 7 applicant in obtaining a license; 8 engaging in false, fraudulent, or misleading 9 Β. advertising; 10 с. making any material misrepresentation or omission 11 in the procurement of a building contract; 12 any fraud or dishonesty in the execution of, or in D. 13 the material alteration of, any contract, mortgage, promissory 14 note, or other document incident to a building transaction; 15 E. conducting a building or remodeling contracting 16 17 business in any name other than the one in which the contractor is licensed, unless the licensee has filed a certificate of 18 19 assumed name with the secretary of state and provided a copy of the certificate to the commissioner; 20 21 F. contracting or offering to contract while the license is revoked, under suspension, or inactive for any 22 23 reason; knowingly contracting for, or performing, a G. 24 25 service beyond the scope of the license; or performing any construction without obtaining 26 н. applicable local building permits and inspections. 27 Subp. 2. Nonlimitation of authority. Nothing in this part 28 limits the authority of the commissioner to take action against 29 a licensee for fraudulent, deceptive, or dishonest practices not 30 specifically described in this part. 31 2891.0050 INCOMPETENT, UNTRUSTWORTHY, OR FINANCIALLY 32 33 IRRESPONSIBLE PRACTICES. Subpart 1. Description. For the purposes of Minnesota 34 Statutes, section 326.91, subdivision 1, clause (6), the 35

09/20/93

[REVISOR] PMM/CA AR2005

09/20/93 [REVISOR] PMM/CA AR2005 following acts and practices are considered incompetent, 1 2 untrustworthy, or financially irresponsible: failure to maintain any required license bond, or 3 Α. Minnesota workers' compensation, liability, or unemployment 4 insurance as required by applicable law; 5 6 Β. accrual of \$500 or more in delinquent taxes, penalties, or interest, owed to the state, pursuant to Minnesota 7 Statutes, section 270.72; or 8 C. diversion of funds paid to a licensee from the 9 10 purposes for which the funds were intended. Subp. 2. Nonlimitation of authority. Nothing in this part 11 12 limits the authority of the commissioner to take action against a licensee for incompetent, untrustworthy, or financially 13 irresponsible practices not specifically described in this part. 14 15 CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSES 16 2891.0060 DEFINITIONS. Subpart 1. Scope. The terms used in parts 2891.0070 to 17 2891.0280, have the meanings given them in this part. 18 Subp. 2. Coordinator. "Coordinator" means an individual 19 20 who is responsible for monitoring residential contracting or remodeling education offerings. 21 22 Subp. 3. Instructor. "Instructor" means an individual lecturing in a residential contracting or remodeling education 23 24 offering. Sponsor. "Sponsor" means a person offering or 25 Subp. 4. 26 providing residential contracting or remodeling education. 2891.0070 CONTINUING EDUCATION. 27 28 Subpart 1. Content. Continuing education consists of 29 approved courses that impart substantive and procedural 30 knowledge in the residential and remodeling contracting field. 31 Subp. 2. Required courses. 32 Each licensee must, during the licensee's first Α. complete continuing education reporting period, complete and 33 34 report one hour of continuing education relating to lead abatement rules and safe lead abatement procedures. 35

[REVISOR] PMM/CA AR2005

B. Each licensee must, during each continuing
 education reporting period, complete and report one hour of
 continuing education relating to energy codes for buildings and
 other building codes designed to conserve energy.

5 Subp. 3. Examinations. Course examinations will not be 6 required for continuing education courses unless they are 7 required by the sponsor.

8 Subp. 4. Textbooks. Textbooks are not required to be used 9 for continuing education courses. In instances in which 10 textbooks are not used, students are to be provided with a 11 syllabus containing, at a minimum, the course title; the times 12 and dates of the course offering; the names, addresses, and 13 telephone numbers of the course coordinator and instructor; and 14 a detailed outline of the subject materials to be covered.

15 Subp. 5. Credit earned. Upon completion of approved courses, students shall earn one hour of continuing education 16 credit for each hour of approved instruction. Approved 17 instructors shall earn three hours of continuing education 18 19 credit for each hour of approved instruction. Credit may not be earned if, within the preceding five years, the licensee has 20 21 previously obtained credit for the same course as either a 22 student or instructor.

Subp. 6. Nonapproved courses for continuing education.
The following are not approved courses:

A. courses designed to prepare students for a licenseexamination;

B. courses in mechanical office or business skills,
including typing, speed reading, or use of calculators or other
machines or equipment; or

30 C. courses in motivation, sales skills, psychology,31 time management, or communication.

32 Subp. 7. Burden of proof. The burden of demonstrating 33 that courses impart substantive and procedural knowledge in the 34 residential contracting or remodeling field is upon the person 35 seeking approval of credit.

36 Subp. 8. Professional designations. Courses leading to

09/20/93 [REVISOR] PMM/CA AR2005 the following professional designations automatically qualify 1 2 for continuing education credit: Graduate Builders Institute offered by the Α. 3 Builders Association and the National Association of Home 4 Builders; 5 certified graduate remodeler (CGR) program offered 6 в. by the Builders Association and the National Association of Home 7 Builders; 8 construction superintendent series offered by the C. 9 Builders Association and the National Association of Home 10 11 Builders: Graduate Builders Institute master series offered D. 12 by the Builders Association and the National Association of Home 13 Builders; 14 15 E. certified remodeling program of the National Association for Remodeling Industry, the Minnesota chapter; and 16 F. building code update program offered by the 17 Department of Administration. 18 19 CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS 2891.0080 APPLICATION FOR COURSE APPROVAL FOR CONTINUING 20 EDUCATION. 21 The residential contracting or remodeling application for 22 course approval for continuing education must be submitted on 23 forms prescribed by the commissioner. 24 2891.0090 COURSE APPROVAL. 25 Subpart 1. Approval of course offerings. Sponsors must 26 submit their courses to the commissioner for approval at least 27 30 days prior to the date on which the course is to be held. 28 Courses will be approved or disapproved on the basis of their 29 compliance with Minnesota Statutes, section 326.87, and this 30 chapter. Approval will not include time spent on breaks, meals, 31 or other unrelated activities. 32 Continuing education courses not submitted for Subp. 2. 33

34 **advance approval.** Licensees may receive continuing education 35 credit for courses attended which have not been submitted for

[REVISOR] PMM/CA AR2005

09/20/93

1 approval in advance if the licensee demonstrates that the 2 courses were in substantial compliance with Minnesota Statutes, 3 section 326.87, and the rules adopted thereunder. Requests for 4 credit for courses not approved in advance must be submitted on 5 forms prescribed by the commissioner.

6 Subp. 3. Permitted course offerings. Courses complying 7 with Minnesota Statutes, chapter 326, and the rules adopted 8 thereunder may be offered or sponsored by sponsors.

9 Coordinators must immediately notify the commissioner of 10 any material change in an application for approval or in the 11 exhibits attached to it.

12 2891.0100 NOTICE OF SUBSEQUENT OFFERINGS OF CONTINUING EDUCATION
13 COURSES.

Approval may be granted for subsequent offerings of identical continuing education courses without requiring a new application if a notice of subsequent offerings, on the form prescribed by the commissioner, is filed with the commissioner at least 30 days in advance of the date the course is to be held.

19 2891.0110 COURSES OPEN TO ALL.

20 All course offerings must be open to any interested 21 individuals.

22 2891.0120 COURSE COORDINATOR.

Subpart 1. Mandatory. Each course of study shall have one coordinator, approved by the commissioner, who is responsible for supervising the program and assuring compliance with Minnesota Statutes, section 326.87, and this chapter. Sponsors may engage an additional approved coordinator in order to assist the coordinator or to act as a substitute for the coordinator in the event of an emergency or illness.

30 Subp. 2. Qualifications. The commissioner shall approve 31 as a coordinator an individual meeting one or more of the 32 following criteria:

A. a minimum of the previous five years as an active
residential contractor or remodeler;

[REVISOR] PMM/CA AR2005

at least three years of full-time experience in 1 в. 2 the administration of an education program during the five-year period immediately preceding the date of application; or 3 4 С. a degree in education plus two years residential contracting or remodeling experience. 5 6 Subp. 3. Responsibilities. A coordinator is responsible for: 7 assuring compliance with all laws and rules 8 Α. pertaining to residential contracting education; 9 assuring that students are provided with current 10 в. and accurate information relating to the codes, laws, and rules 11 governing the residential contracting or remodeling activities 12 which are the subject of the course; 13 с. supervising and evaluating courses and 14 instructors, including assuring, especially when a course will 15 be taught by more than one instructor, that all areas of the 16 curriculum are addressed without redundancy and that continuity 17 is present throughout the entire course; 18 19 D. furnishing the commissioner, upon request, with copies of evaluations of instructors or courses; 20 Ε. investigating complaints related to course 21 22 offerings and instructors; 23 F. maintaining records relating to course offerings, instructors, and student attendance for a period of three years 24 25 from the date on which the course was completed; these records shall be made available to the commissioner upon request. 26 In 27 the event that a sponsor should cease operation for any reason, the coordinator is responsible for maintaining the records or 28 providing a custodian for the records acceptable to the 29 commissioner. Under no circumstances will the commissioner act 30 as custodian of the records. In order to be acceptable to the 31 commissioner, custodians must agree to make copies of 32 acknowledgments of course attendance available to students at a 33 reasonable fee; 34 assuring that the coordinator is available to 35 G.

7

instructors and students throughout course offerings and

[REVISOR] PMM/CA AR2005 09/20/93 providing the name of the coordinator and a telephone number at 1 which the coordinator can be reached; 2 attending workshops or instructional programs as 3 H. reasonably required by the commissioner; and 4 providing students with course completion 5 I. 6 certificates for continuing education courses. 2891.0130 APPLICATION FOR COORDINATOR APPROVAL. 7 8 The residential contractor or remodeler application for coordinator approval must be submitted on forms prescribed by 9 the commissioner. 10 2891.0140 INSTRUCTORS. 11 Subpart 1. Requirement. Each course of study shall have 12 an instructor who is qualified by education, training, or 13 experience to ensure competent instruction. 14 Subp. 2. Qualifications. The following provisions relate 15 to the approval and qualification of instructors: 16 Requests must be submitted at least 30 days before 17 Α. 18 instruction in an approved course. Continuing education instructors must have: 19 в. 20 (1) five years practical experience in the subject area being taught; 21 22 (2) a college or graduate degree in the subject area being taught; 23 24 (3) a college degree in any area plus three years 25 experience in the subject area being taught; or 26 (4) an associate of applied science degree from a technical college plus three years experience in the subject 27 area being taught. 28 Subp. 3. Responsibilities. Approved instructors are 29 30 responsible for the following: compliance with all laws and rules relating to 31 Α. 32 residential contracting or remodeling education; providing students with current and accurate 33 в. 34 information; maintaining an atmosphere conducive to learning in 35 c.

- 8

1 the classroom;

D. assuring and certifying attendance of students
enrolled in courses;

4 E. providing assistance to students and responding to 5 questions relating to course materials; and

F. attending workshops or instructional programs that7 are required by the commissioner.

8 2891.0150 APPLICATION FOR INSTRUCTOR APPROVAL FOR CONTINUING9 EDUCATION.

10 The residential contracting or remodeling application for 11 instructor approval for continuing education must be submitted 12 on forms prescribed by the commissioner.

13 2891.0160 PROHIBITED PRACTICES FOR SPONSORS, COORDINATORS, AND 14 INSTRUCTORS.

Subpart 1. Prohibitions. In connection with an approved
course, sponsors, coordinators, and instructors shall not:

A. recommend or promote the services or practices of any particular licensee, coordinator, instructor, or sponsor; B. encourage or recruit individuals to engage the services of, or become associated with, any particular licensee; C. use materials, clothing, or other evidences of affiliation with any particular licensee;

D. require students to participate in other programs
 or services offered by the sponsor, coordinator, or instructor;
 E. attempt, either directly or indirectly, to
 discover questions or answers on a licensing examination; or

F. disseminate to any other person specific questions, problems, or information known or believed to be included in licensing examinations.

30 Subp. 2. Notification of misconduct. Coordinators and 31 instructors shall notify the commissioner within ten days of 32 being charged with or convicted of a felony or gross misdemeanor 33 or of disciplinary action taken against any occupational license 34 held by the coordinator or instructor.

Subp. 3. Change in information in application.

35

[REVISOR] PMM/CA AR2005

Coordinators and instructors shall notify the commissioner
 within 15 days of any change in the information set forth in the
 application for approval on file with the commissioner.

4 2891.0170 EXTENSIONS.

Upon appropriate showing of a bona fide medical hardship, 5 the commissioner shall extend the time period during which 6 continuing education instruction must be successfully 7 completed. Requests for extensions must be submitted in writing 8 before the date of license cancellation and must include a 9 physician's statement documenting a medical condition which 10 prevents the licensee from completing continuing education 11 requirements in a timely fashion. An extension granted under 12 this subpart shall not exceed 90 days unless the physician's 13 statement documents that a longer extension is medically 14 15 necessary.

16 2891.0180 CANCELLATION OF LICENSE.

A license that has been canceled for failure of a licensee 17 to complete continuing education requirements must be returned 18 to the commissioner within ten days of receipt of notice of 19 cancellation. The license shall be reinstated without 20 reexamination by completing the required instruction, filing a 21 license application, and paying the fee for a building 22 contractor or remodeler license within two years of the 23 cancellation date. 24

25 2891.0190 WAIVERS.

Required education must not be waived for any licensee or applicant for a license. Extensions shall be granted pursuant to part 2891.0170.

29 2891.0200 FEES.

Fees for approved courses and related materials must be reasonable and clearly identified to students. In the event that a course is canceled for any reason, all fees must be returned promptly. In the event that a course is postponed for any reason, students shall be given the choice of attending the

[REVISOR] PMM/CA AR2005

course at a later date or of having their fees refunded in
 full. If a student is unable to attend a course or cancels
 registration in a course, sponsor policies regarding refunds
 shall govern.

5 2891.0210 FACILITIES.

Each course of study must be conducted in a classroom orother facility that is adequate to implement the offering.

8 2891.0220 SUPPLEMENTARY MATERIALS.

9 An adequate supply of supplementary materials to be used or 10 distributed in connection with an approved course must be 11 available in order to ensure that each student receives all of 12 the necessary materials. Outlines and any other materials that 13 are reproduced must be of readable quality.

14 2891.0230 ADVERTISING OF COURSES.

Subpart 1. True. Advertising must be truthful and not deceptive or misleading.

17 Subp. 2. Approval statement. No advertisement, pamphlet, 18 circular, or other similar materials pertaining to an approved 19 offering may be circulated or distributed in this state unless 20 the following statement is prominently displayed:

21 "This course has been approved by the Minnesota 22 commissioner of commerce for residential contracting 23 or remodeling continuing education."

Subp. 3. Approved course advertisements. Advertising of approved courses must be clearly distinguishable from the advertisement of other nonapproved courses and services.

Subp. 4. Limitation on advertising. Courses may not be advertised before approval, unless the course is described in the advertising as "approval pending" and that is in fact the case.

31 2891.0240 NOTICE TO STUDENTS.

At the beginning of each approved course, the following notice must be handed out in printed form or must be read to students:

[REVISOR] PMM/CA AR2005

"This residential contractor or remodeler course is
recognized by the commissioner of commerce as
satisfying hours of credit toward continuing
education requirements pursuant to Minnesota Statutes,
section 326.87. If you have any comments about this
course, please mail them to the Minnesota Commissioner
of Commerce."

8 2891.0250 AUDITS.

9 The commissioner may audit subject courses with or without 10 notice to the sponsor.

11 2891.0260 DENIAL OR WITHDRAWAL OF APPROVAL.

12 The commissioner may deny or withdraw the approval of a 13 coordinator, instructor, or course if it is determined that they 14 are not in compliance with Minnesota Statutes, chapter 326, or 15 this chapter.

16 2891.0270 REPORTS TO COMMISSIONER.

17 Continuing education credits must be reported by the 18 licensee on the form prescribed by the commissioner.

Forms will not be accepted unless they reflect all the required hours. Incomplete forms will be returned to the licensee.

Forms must be received by the commissioner no later than March 31 of the year due. Forms that are postmarked no later than March 15 shall be considered timely received if addressed to the licensing unit of the Minnesota Department of Commerce.

26 2891.0280 CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSE VERIFICATION.

The continuing education course verification must be in the form prescribed by the commissioner.