34

```
Higher Education Coordinating Board
 2
 3
    Adopted Permanent Rules Relating to Postsecondary Financial
   Assistance
 5
 6
    Rules as Adopted
 7
    4800.8100 DEFINITIONS.
 8
                   [For text of subpart 1, see M.R.]
 9
         Subp. 2. [See repealer.]
10
         Subp. 3.
                   Eligible institution. "Eligible institution"
11
    shall be any public or private institution of higher education
    in Minnesota which is eligible for the state grant program as
12
13
    defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.101, subdivision 4
    and part 4830.0300 and that has foreign students enrolled.
14
15
                  [For text of subps 4 to 8, see M.R.]
         Subp. 9.
                  [See repealer.]
16
                   [For text of subps 10 and 11, see M.R.]
17
18
         Subp. 12. Total cost of education. "Total cost of
    education" shall be defined as the institutional budget
19
    established for the state grant program adjusted to include
20
    out-of-state tuition fee.
21
22
                   [For text of subp 13, see M.R.]
23
         Subp. 14. [See repealer.]
24
    4800.8300 EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR.
         The executive director is hereby delegated necessary
25
    authority and responsibility for administration of the program
26
27
    in accordance with these rules, state law, and applicable
28
    federal laws and regulations, including issuing public
    information, and establishing such policies and practices as the
29
    executive director may deem necessary for effective
30
    administration in accordance with the purposes and requirements
31
32
   of the Minnesota foreign student assistance program.
    4800.8400 GRANTING RESIDENT STATUS.
33
                   [For text of subpart 1, see M.R.]
```

- 1 Subp. 2. Scholarship and grant recipients. Eligible
- 2 institutions shall have the authority to grant resident status
- 3 to any foreign student who is a recipient of scholarship or
- 4 grant funds contributed by Minnesota individuals, organizations,
- 5 or corporations in sufficient amounts to cover such resident
- 6 tuition fees provided that the institution documents that the
- 7 scholarship or grant funds did not originate from the student or
- 8 any member of the student's family.
- 9 4830.0400 APPLICATION DATES AND STUDENT ELIGIBILITY.
- [For text of subps 1 and 2a, see M.R.]
- 11 Subp. 4. Eligibility for initial grant. To be eligible
- 12 for an initial grant a student must be an eligible student, as
- 13 defined in part 4830.0100, subpart 5, and:
- A. demonstrate financial need;
- B. if under 17 years old, hold a high school diploma
- 16 or the equivalent;
- 17 C. pursuing a program or course of study that applies
- 18 to a degree, diploma, or certificate;
- D. must not have received a previous Minnesota state
- 20 grant; and
- 21 E. is not more than 30 days in arrears for any child
- 22 support payments owed to a public agency responsible for child
- 23 support enforcement or, if the student is more than 30 days in
- 24 arrears, is complying with a payment plan for arrearages.
- Subp. 5. Renewal awards. A grant is renewable for a
- 26 maximum of six semesters, nine quarters, or the equivalent, but
- 27 must not continue after the first of the following occurrences:
- A. the recipient has obtained a baccalaureate degree;
- 29 or
- 30 B. the recipient has been enrolled on a full-time
- 31 basis for eight semesters, 12 quarters, or the equivalent.
- 32 To be eligible to renew a grant a student must apply each year
- 33 and continue to meet the requirements for an initial grant,
- 34 except for subpart 4, item D. A student must have made
- 35 satisfactory academic progress as defined in Minnesota Statutes,

- 1 section 136A.101, subdivision 10.
- 2 Subp. 5a. Child support arrearages. A grant is not
- 3 renewable if the recipient is more than 30 days in arrears for
- 4 any child support payment owed to a public agency responsible
- 5 for child support enforcement and not subject to a payment plan
- 6 for arrearages or not in compliance with a payment plan for the
- 7 arrearages.
- 8 [For text of subp 6, see M.R.]
- 9 4830.2300 WORK-STUDY GRANTS.
- 10 A school shall determine if a student is eligible for a
- 11 work-study grant. To be eligible a student must meet the
- 12 requirements of part 4830.0100, subpart 5, items B, C, E, and
- 13 F. A student employed during periods of nonenrollment must sign
- 14 a statement of intent to enroll full-time the next term or
- 15 provide proof of registration for the next term.
- 16 4830.2400 EMPLOYMENT TERMS; AMOUNT OF GRANTS.
- [For text of subps 1 and 2, see M.R.]
- 18 Subp. 3. Hourly wages. Not less than 30 percent of the
- 19 amount earned by a student shall be paid by the employer, with
- 20 the actual percentage determined by the school in consultation
- 21 with the employer. A student shall be paid for hours actually
- 22 worked at an hourly rate agreed to by the employer and the
- 23 student, with the approval of the school. However, the student
- 24 must be paid at least the state minimum wage, if the federal
- 25 minimum wage is not applicable. Student earnings must be paid
- 26 according to federal regulations governing payment of student
- 27 earnings under the federal work-study program.
- 28 4830.8550 AWARDS.
- The amount of the grant award is a percentage of the sum of
- 30 the student's Pell grant and state grant for which the student
- 31 is currently eligible. The percentage must be determined
- 32 annually by the executive director based upon the money
- 33 available to the program from state appropriations and the
- 34 estimated financial need of the student. The minimum award

- 1 amount is \$100.
- 2 REPEALER. Minnesota Rules, parts 4800.8100, subparts 2, 9, and
- 3 14; 4800.8500; 4800.8600; 4800.8700; and 4800.8800, are repealed.