1 Department of Revenue

2

3 Adopted Permanent Rules Relating to Annual Withholding Return

4

- 5 Rules as Adopted
- 6 8092.1400 ANNUAL RETURNS.
- 7 Subpart 1. General rule. If an employer deducts and
- 8 withholds an amount required by Minnesota Statutes, chapter 290,
- 9 for a base year and the amount required is \$500 or less, the
- 10 employer, for the qualifying year, may elect to file an annual
- 11 return and make an annual payment of the amount required to be
- 12 deducted and withheld in that calendar year and is thereafter
- 13 relieved from filing quarterly returns and making quarterly
- 14 payments. The annual return and payment are due on or before
- 15 February 28 of the calendar year following the calendar year the
- 16 amounts were deducted and withheld. The annual return will
- 17 serve as the reconciliation required in Minnesota Statutes,
- 18 section 289A.09, subdivision 2, paragraph (d), for those
- 19 employers who have elected to file an annual return. The
- 20 Department of Revenue, applying the criteria of this part, will
- 21 annually determine which employers are eligible to file an
- 22 annual return and notify those employers who qualify. Employers
- 23 who have not filed all withholding tax returns required for the
- 24 base year are not eligible to file an annual return. Only those
- 25 employers so notified by the Department of Revenue are eligible
- 26 to elect to file an annual return. At the time of notification,
- 27 eligible employers may still elect to file returns and make
- 28 deposits quarterly. Employers who make such election are
- 29 required to make all returns and deposits required by Minnesota
- 30 Statutes, chapter 289A, and will be subject to all applicable
- 31 penalties.
- 32 Subp. 2. Base year. "Base year" means the most recent
- 33 period of four consecutive quarters for which the Department of
- 34 Revenue has compiled data on all employers withholding tax for
- 35 that period. The first base year is the four-consecutive

- 1 quarter period beginning January 1990 and ending December 1990.
- 2 Subp. 3. Qualifying year. "Qualifying year" means the
- 3 calendar year for which the Department of Revenue notifies the
- 4 employer that it is eligible to file an annual return. The
- 5 first qualifying year is the 1992 calendar year.
- 6 Subp. 4. Accelerated deposits. If, at the end of any
- 7 calendar month other than the last month of the calendar year,
- 8 the aggregate amount of undeposited withholding tax withheld by
- 9 an employer who has elected to file an annual return exceeds
- 10 \$500, the employer must deposit the aggregate amount with the
- 11 Department of Revenue within 30 days after the close of the
- 12 calendar month.
- Notwithstanding any other provision of this part, employers
- 14 are subject to the eight-monthly period deposit requirements of
- 15 Minnesota Statutes, section 289A.20.
- In the event an employer who has elected to file an annual
- 17 return pursuant to this part permanently ceases to pay wages for
- 18 which withholding of tax is required, the employer must file a
- 19 final return and deposit any undeposited tax on or before the
- 20 last day of the month following the month in which the
- 21 discontinuance of such activity occurred.
- 22 Subp. 5. Maximum withholding amount. The commissioner of
- 23 revenue shall annually recalculate the maximum withholding
- 24 amount for annual filing, using the percentage calculated
- 25 pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 290.06, subdivision 2d,
- 26 paragraph (b). If the maximum withholding amount so calculated
- 27 is more than \$100 above the maximum withholding amount for
- 28 annual filing then in effect, the maximum withholding amount for
- 29 annual filing must be increased by \$100. If the maximum
- 30 withholding amount so calculated is less than \$100 above the
- 31 maximum withholding amount then in effect, there shall be no
- 32 change in the maximum withholding amount then in effect. When
- 33 the maximum withholding amount is adjusted by the commissioner
- 34 under this subpart, the maximum withholding amounts referred to
- 35 in subparts 1 and 4 must be adjusted by the same amount by the
- 36 commissioner.