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1 Higher Education Coordinating Board 

2 

3 Adopted Permanent Rules Relating to Public Safety Officer's 

4 Survivor Grant Program; Prenursing Grant Program 

5 

6 Rules as Adopted 

	

7 	 PUBLIC SAFETY OFFICER'S SURVIVOR GRANT PROGRAM 

8 4830.8000 SCOPE. 

	

9 	Parts 4830.8000 to 4830.8040 govern state postsecondary 

10 education grants to spouses and dependent children of public 

11 safety officers killed in the line of duty. 

12 4830.8010 ELIGIBLE INSTITUTIONS. 

	

13 	A student receiving a grant from the Public Safety 

14 Officer's Survivor Grant Program must attend a postsecondary 

15 institution that is an eligible institution as defined in 

16 Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.101, subdivision 4, and part 

17 4830.0300, subparts 1 and 2, as limited by Minnesota Statutes, 

18 section 299A.45, subdivision 1. 

19 4830.8020 ELIGIBLE RECIPIENT. 

	

20 	To be eligible for a grant, the person must: 

	

21 	 A. be enrolled in an eligible institution as 

22 specified in part 4830.8010; 

	

23 	 B. not have received a baccalaureate degree, nor have 

24 been enrolled full time or the equivalent for eight semesters or 

25 12 quarters, whichever occurs first; and 

	

26 	 C. provide a copy of the certification of eligibility 

27 received from the commissioner of public safety to the eligible 

28 institution. 

29 4830.8030 INSTITUTIONAL REQUEST AND DISBURSEMENT OF FUNDS FOR 

30 GRANTS. 

	

31 	Subpart 1. Institutional request. After verifying a 

32 student's eligibility, the institution must submit a written 

33 request to the executive director for payment of grant money for 

34 the student. A separate request must be submitted for each 
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1 academic term the student is enrolled. A copy of the student's 

2 certificate of eligibility from the commissioner of public 

3 safety must accompany the institution's first request for 

4 payment. 

	

5 	Subp. 2. Deadline. The request for grant money for a 

6 student must be received by the executive director no later than 

7 the last day of classes for the academic year for which grant 

8 money is requested. 

	

9 	Subp. 3. Disbursement of funds. An institution must not 

10 disburse grant money for a student unless the student is 

11 enrolled in or has completed the academic term for which payment 

12 is intended. 

	

13 	Subp. 4. Refunds. A grant award is made for a student's 

14 attendance at a specific institution for the nine-month academic 

15 year within the state fiscal year. If a recipient fails to 

16 enroll or reduces enrollment, the institution must refund the 

17 unused portion of the award to the executive director. Refunded 

18 money is available for awards to other eligible students. 

19 4830.8040 PAYMENTS TO INSTITUTIONS. 

	

20 	Subpart 1. Time of payment. The executive director shall 

21 send grant money for an eligible student to the institution 

22 within 30 days of receipt of a request for payment, but not 

23 before July 1 of the academic year for which payment is intended. 

	

24 	Subp. 2. Withholding payment. The executive director 

25 shall withhold payment for a student until the institution's 

26 request for payment is complete and the student's eligibility is 

27 verified. 

	

28 	 PRENURSING GRANT PROGRAM 

29 4830.8510 SCOPE. 

	

30 	Parts 4830.8510 to 4830.8580 apply to the program of state 

31 grants for prenursing students. 

32 4830.8520 STUDENT MUST AGREE TO SERVE IN RURAL AREA. 

	

33 	Before a student receives a grant under the program, the 

34 student must agree to serve in a designated rural area in 
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1 Minnesota. The agreement must be to serve there at least three 

2 of the first five years after receiving the license that the 

3 grant is used to get. 

4 4830.8530 SERVICE CREDIT AFTER DESIGNATION REMOVED. 

	

5 	In satisfying the service requirements under the program, a 

6 grant recipient shall continue to receive credit for serving in 

7 a designated rural area even if the designation is removed after 

8 the recipient begins serving there. 

9 4830.8540 RANKING APPLICANTS. 

	

10 	Subpart 1. Classification of applicants. Each applicant 

11 must be placed in one of the following classifications: 

	

12 	 A. renewal applicant residing in a designated rural 

13 area attending an eligible postsecondary institution outside the 

14 seven-county metropolitan area; 

	

15 	 B. renewal applicant residing in a designated rural 

16 area attending an eligible postsecondary institution within the 

17 seven-county metropolitan area; 

	

18 	 C. renewal applicant not residing in a designated 

19 rural area attending an eligible postsecondary institution 

20 outside the seven-county metropolitan area; 

	

21 	 D. renewal applicant not residing in a designated 

22 rural area attending an eligible postsecondary institution 

23 within the seven-county metropolitan area; 

	

24 	 E. initial applicant residing in a designated rural 

25 area attending an eligible postsecondary institution outside the 

26 seven-county metropolitan area, and has not previously been 

27 enrolled in any nursing program or coursework; 

	

28 	 F. initial applicant residing in a designated rural 

29 area attending an eligible postsecondary institution within the 

30 seven-county metropolitan area, and has not previously been 

31 enrolled in any nursing program or coursework; 

	

32 	 G. initial applicant not residing in a designated 

33 rural area attending an eligible postsecondary institution 

34 outside the seven-county metropolitan area, and has not 

35 previously been enrolled in any nursing program or coursework; 

3 



01/14/91 	 [REVISOR ] RJS/LS AR1817 

1 	 H. initial applicant not residing in a designated 

2 rural area attending an eligible postsecondary institution 

3 within the seven-county metropolitan area, and has not 

4 previously been enrolled in any nursing program or coursework; 

	

5 
	

I. initial applicant residing in a designated rural 

6 area attending an eligible postsecondary institution outside the 

7 seven-county metropolitan area, and has been previously enrolled 

8 in a nursing program or completed some nursing coursework; 

	

9 	 J. initial applicant residing in a designated rural 

10 area attending an eligible postsecondary institution within the 

11 seven-county metropolitan area, and has been previously enrolled 

12 in a nursing program or completed some nursing coursework; 

	

13 	 K. initial applicant not residing in a designated 

14 rural area attending an eligible postsecondary institution 

15 outside the seven-county metropolitan area, and has been 

16 previously enrolled in a nursing program or completed some 

17 nursing coursework; and 

	

18 	 L. initial applicant not residing in a designated 

19 rural area attending an eligible postsecondary institution 

20 within the seven-county metropolitan area, and has been 

21 previously enrolled in a nursing program or completed some 

22 nursing coursework. 

	

23 	Applicants will be awarded in the order of the 

24 classifications listed above. 

	

25 	Subp. 2. Ranking of applicants. Within each of the 

26 classifications specified in subpart 1, grant applicants are 

27 ranked according to parental contribution. Applicants with the 

28 least parental contribution are awarded first. 

	

29 	Subp. 3. Insufficient funds. If insufficient funds are 

30 available to meet the needs of all eligible applicants, the 

31 executive director shall make award to applicants in the order 

32 specified in subparts 1 and 2. 

33 4830.8550 AWARDS. 

	

34 	The amount of the grant award is a percentage of the sum of 

35 the student's Pell grant and state grant for which the student 
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1 is currently eligible. The percentage must be determined 

2 annually by the executive director based upon the money 

3 available to the program from state appropriations and the 

4 estimated financial need of the student. 

5 4830.8560 METHOD OF PAYMENT. 

Subpart 1. Payments to schools. After a grant award is 

7 determined, the award must be sent to the eligible school chosen 

8 by the recipient. A recipient's total prenursing grant award 

9 must be divided by the number of terms in the academic year and 

10 disbursed accordingly. The school shall apply each disbursement 

11 to the recipient's educational costs in the following order: 

12 tuition, fees, books, supplies, and other expenses. The costs 

13 must be prorated for each term of the academic year. The school 

14 shall notify the recipient when each term payment arrives at the 

15 school. 

16 	Subp. 2. Refunds. A grant is awarded for full-time 

17 attendance at a specified school for the academic year of nine 

18 months within a state fiscal year. If a recipient fails to 

19 enroll or reduces enrollment, the school must refund the unused 

20 portion of the award. Refunds to the prenursing grant program 

21 are determined as provided in items A and B: 

22 	 A. calculate the percentage that the prenursing grant 

23 award represents of the student's total financial aid package 

24 for the applicable term; and 

25 	 B. multiply that percentage by the amount determined 

26 to be refunded to the student under the school's refund policy. 

27 	The result yields the amount to be refunded to the 

28 executive director. Refunded money is available for 

29 reassignment to other qualified applicants. 

30 	Subp. 3. School accounting requirements. Schools shall 

31 maintain separate accounts for prenursing grant funds. Refunds 

32 to the prenursing grant program must be sent to the executive 

33 director with a list stating the social security number, name, 

34 award type, amount of refund, term, and refund code for each 

35 student included in the refund. The refund must be made within 
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1 30 days from the end of the academic term, or 30 days from the 

2 date the school is notified of a student's withdrawal, whichever 

3 is less. Schools must provide evidence, prepared according to 

4 generally accepted accounting principles, that all grant 

5 payments have either been disbursed or refunded to the 

6 prenursing grant program. 

7 4830.8570 RECIPIENT RESPONSIBILITIES. 

8 	Subpart i. Change of address. From the time a grant 

9 recipient first receives a grant until five years after the 

10 nursing license is received, the recipient must notify the 

11 executive director in writing of a change of address within 30 

12 days of the change. 

13 	Subp. 2. Service status verification. Each year for up to 

14 five years after the nursing license is received, on request of 

15 the executive director, a grant recipient must complete and 

16 return to the executive director a service status verification 

17 form provided by the executive director. 

18 4830.8580 INFORMATION; FORMS; TERMS. 

19 	Subpart 1. Additional information. The executive director 

20 or an agent may require additional information not inconsistent 

21 with parts 4830.8510 to 4830.8570 to administer the program. 

22 The additional information may be required from grant applicants 

23 or recipients or eligible institutions. 

24 	Subp. 2. Additional requirements. The executive director 

25 may impose on a grant recipient under the program terms in an 

26 agreement required to be signed by the grant recipient in 

27 addition to those set out in parts 4830.8510 to 4830.8570 as a 

28 condition of receiving the grant. 

29 	An additional term must not be inconsistent with the terms 

30 required by parts 4830.8510 to 4830.8570. An additional term 

31 must be helpful, in the judgment of the director, to administer 

32 or enforce the program. 

33 	Subp. 3. Forms. The executive director may provide to 

34 grant applicants and recipients and eligible institutions and 

35 require the use of uniform forms in the administration of the 
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program. 
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