1 Department of Public Safety

2

- 3 Adopted Permanent Rules Relating to Fees for Emergency Response
- 4 Commission

5

- 6 Rules as Adopted
- 7 EMERGENCY AND HAZARDOUS CHEMICAL INVENTORY FEES
- 8 7507.0100 SCOPE.
- 9 This chapter applies to all persons required to submit
- 10 emergency and hazardous chemical inventory reports to the
- 11 Department of Public Safety, Emergency Response Commission,
- 12 under the federal Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know
- 13 Act, United States Code, title 42, sections 11021 and 11022, and
- 14 to facilities added under Minnesota Statutes, section 299K.08,
- 15 subdivision 2.
- 16 7507.0200 DEFINITIONS.
- For the purposes of this chapter the terms used have the
- 18 meanings given in Minnesota Statutes, section 299K.01.
- 19 7507.0300 PAYMENT OF FEES.
- 20 A person submitting a fee must make the fee payable to the
- 21 Minnesota Department of Public Safety and submit it to the
- 22 director of the Emergency Response Commission.
- 23 7507.0400 MATERIAL SAFETY DATA SHEET FEE.
- A person must pay a \$10 fee per material safety data sheet
- 25 when the person submits material safety data sheets in lieu of a
- 26 hazardous chemical report form as provided for under United
- 27 States Code, title 42, section 11021.
- 28 7507.0500 PROCESSING FEE.
- 29 Subpart 1. Persons required to pay fee. A person must pay
- 30 a processing fee based upon the schedule in subpart 2. The fee
- 31 must be paid by March 1, beginning in 1991 and annually
- 32 thereafter, for each facility for which an owner or operator is
- 33 required to submit an emergency and hazardous chemical inventory

- 1 form under United States Code, title 42, section 11022. If a
- 2 person periodically moves the hazardous chemical stored at one
- 3 facility to another facility during the same calendar year as
- 4 part of normal operations, and if the hazardous chemicals stored
- 5 at these facilities are the same, then that person must pay a
- 6 fee for only one facility.
- 7 Subp. 2. Processing fee schedule. The following fees must
- 8 be paid for a facility:
- 9 A. one to nine chemicals reported at the facility,
- 10 \$25;
- 11 B. ten to 49 chemicals reported at the facility,
- 12 \$100; and
- 13 C. 50 or more chemicals reported at the facility,
- 14 \$1,000.
- 15 7507.0600 NOTIFICATION OF ERROR.
- 16 The commission must review the fees paid for a specific
- 17 facility and must provide a written notice of error to the
- 18 person who submits an incorrect fee payment. If the error
- 19 resulted in underpayment, the person must submit correct payment
- 20 within 60 days or late payment fees will be assessed. If the
- 21 error resulted in overpayment, the overpayment must be refunded
- 22 to the payee.
- 23 A person who thinks that the fee paid is in error must
- 24 provide written notice to the director of the commission. If
- 25 the director of the commission finds, upon reviewing the data,
- 26 that the fee was in error, the overpayment must be refunded.
- 27 7507.0700 LATE PAYMENT FEE.
- A person must pay a late payment fee of 100 percent of the
- 29 payment due for failure to make payment within 60 days of a
- 30 payment date. A person must pay an additional 100 percent of
- 31 the original payment due for failure to make payment within 120
- 32 days of a payment date.