02/14/91 [REVISOR] KTH/CA AR1703 1 Department of Human Services 2 3 Adopted Permanent Rules Relating to Licensing; Background 4 Studies 5 6 Rules as Adopted 7 9502.0335 LICENSING PROCESS. 8 [For text of subps 1 to 5, see M.R.] 9 Subp. 6. Disqualification factors. An applicant or 10 provider shall not be issued a license or the license shall be revoked, not renewed, or suspended if the applicant, provider, 11 12 or any other person living in the day care residence or present 13 during the hours children are in care, or working with children: 14 [For text of items A and B, see M.R.] 15 c. Refuses to give written consent for the disclosure 16 of criminal history records as specified in Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.04, subdivision 3. 17 18 D. Has a disgualification under part 9543.3070. 19 Ε. Has had a child placed in foster care within the 20 past 12 months and the agency determines the reasons for placement reflect on the ability of the provider to give care. 21 A license may not be denied if the primary reason for the 22 23 placement was due to a physical illness of the parent, mental retardation of the child, a handicap of the child, or for the 24 temporary care of an infant being relinquished for adoption. 25 26 F. Has had a child placed in residential treatment within the past 12 months for emotional disturbance or 27 antisocial behavior and the agency determines that the reasons 28 for the placement reflect on the ability of the provider to give 29 30 care. 31 Subp. 7. [See Repealer.] [For text of subps 8 to 16, see M.R.] 32 9503.0030 QUALIFICATIONS OF APPLICANT AND STAFF. 33 [For text of subps 1 and 2, see M.R.] 34 Subp. 3. Disqualification factors. A license holder must 35

Approved

by Revisor

[REVISOR] KTH/CA AR1703

1 not be an individual or employ an individual who:

A. has mental illness as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 245.462, subdivision 20, and the behavior has or may have a negative effect on the ability of the person to provide child care or is apparent during the hours children are in care; or

B. abuses prescription drugs or uses controlled substances as named in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 152, or alcohol to the extent that the use or abuse impairs or may impair the person's ability to provide child care or is apparent during the hours children are in care.

12 Subp. 4. Reevaluation of disqualification. An applicant 13 or license holder that is disqualified from licensure or an employee, volunteer, or contractor of an applicant or license 14 15 holder who is not permitted to work based on the 16 disqualification factors in subpart 3 may request that the 17 commissioner reevaluate the disqualification decision and remove the disqualification. The request for reevaluation must be made 18 19 in writing and sent to the commissioner by certified mail.

20 The commissioner's disposition is the final administrative 21 agency action.

22

[For text of subp 5, see M.R.]

23 9525.0235 LICENSURE.

[For text of subps 1 to 5, see M.R.] Subp. 6. Disqualification standards. In order to become licensed or to remain licensed under parts 9525.0215 to 9525.0355, an applicant or license holder must not be an individual, employ or contract with an individual, or use as a volunteer an individual who:

A. has mental illness as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 245.462, subdivision 20, and the behavior has a negative effect on the ability of the individual to provide services to persons; or

B. abuses prescription drugs or uses alcohol or
controlled substances as named in Minnesota Statutes, chapter

Approved by Revisor

[REVISOR] KTH/CA AR1703

152, or alcohol to the extent that the use or abuse impairs the 1 2 individual's ability to provide services to persons. 3 Subp. 7. Reevaluation of disqualification. An applicant 4 or license holder who is disqualified from licensure, or an 5 employee, volunteer, or contractor of an applicant or license 6 holder who is not permitted to work based on the 7 disqualification standards in subpart 6 may request that the 8 commissioner reevaluate the disqualification decision and set aside the disqualification. The request for reevaluation must 9 10 be in writing and sent to the commissioner by certified mail. 11 Within 30 days after the commissioner has received Α. 12 all information necessary to reevaluate a disqualification, the 13 commissioner shall inform the applicant or license holder and the individual involved, in writing, whether the 14 disqualification has been set aside or affirmed, and the reasons 15 16 for this decision. 17 Β. The commissioner's disposition of a request for 18 reevaluation of a disqualification under this part is the final 19 administrative agency action. [For text of subps 8 to 15, see M.R.] 20 21 9525.1520 LICENSING PROCESS. 22 [For text of subps 1 to 4, see M.R.] 23 Subp. 5. [See Repealer.] 24 Subp. 6. License denial or suspension. The commissioner shall not issue a license or shall immediately suspend a license 25 26 when: The service sites owned or leased by the applicant 27 Α. do not comply with the building, fire, and health codes under 28 parts 9525.1500 to 9525.1690 and the deficiencies cited threaten 29 the health, safety, or rights of clients. 30 The provider is cited for other deficiencies that 31 Β. immediately threaten the health, safety, or rights of clients. 32 33 [For text of subps 7 to 14, see M.R.] 34 9525.2020 LICENSURE. 35 [For text of subps 1 and 2, see M.R.]

3

Approved

by Revisor

[REVISOR] KTH/CA AR1703

Subp. 3. Disqualification standards. In order to become
 licensed or to remain licensed under parts 9525.2000 to
 9525.2140, an applicant or license holder must not be an
 individual, employ or subcontract with an individual, or use as
 a volunteer an individual who:

A. has mental illness as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 245.462, subdivision 20, and the mental illness has a negative effect on the ability of the individual to provide service to persons receiving services; or

B. abuses prescription drugs or uses alcohol or controlled substances as named in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 12 152, to the extent that the use or abuse impairs the 13 individual's ability to provide services.

Subp. 4. Reevaluation of disqualification. An applicant 14 or a license holder who is disqualified from licensure, or an 15 16 employee, volunteer, or subcontractor of an applicant or license 17 holder, who is not permitted to work based on the disqualification standards in subpart 3 may request that the 18 19 commissioner reevaluate the disqualification decision and set aside the disqualification. The request for reevaluation must 20 21 be made in writing and sent to the commissioner by certified 22 mail.

A. Within 30 days after the commissioner has received all information necessary to reevaluate a disqualification, the commissioner shall inform the applicant or license holder and the individual involved, in writing, whether the disqualification has been set aside or affirmed, and the reasons for this decision.

B. The commissioner's disposition of a request for reevaluation of a disqualification under this part is the final administrative agency action.

32 [For text of subps 5 to 9, see M.R.]

33 9530.4270 STAFF QUALIFICATIONS.

34 Subpart 1. Qualifications applying to all employees 35 working directly with clients. All employees working directly

> Approved by Revisor _

1 with clients must meet the following qualifications:

A. the employee must be 18 years of age or older; and B. program directors, chemical dependency counselor supervisors, and employees who are responsible for the provision of rehabilitative services must document two years of freedom from chemical use problems.

[For text of subps 2 to 7, see M.R.]

8 9543.3000 PURPOSE.

7

9 The purpose of parts 9543.3000 to 9543.3090 is to establish 10 procedures and standards for background studies of individuals 11 affiliated with programs subject to licensure under Minnesota 12 Statutes, chapter 245A, to ensure protect the health, safety, and rights of persons served by those programs. Parts 9543.3000 13 to 9543.3090 are not intended to govern personnel decisions of 14 15 employers except that personnel decisions may be affected if an individual has a disqualification under part 9543.3070. 16

17 9543.3010 APPLICABILITY.

Parts 9543.3000 to 9543.3090 apply to all residential and nonresidential programs subject to licensure under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 245A, except child foster care, adult foster care, and family day care programs. Parts 9543.3070 and 9543.3080 apply to child foster care, adult foster care, and family day care programs.

24 9543.3020 DEFINITIONS.

Subpart 1. Scope. As used in parts 9543.3000 to 9543.3090, the following terms have the meanings given them in this part.

Subp. 2. Background study. "Background study" means the investigation conducted by the commissioner to determine whether a subject is disqualified from direct contact with persons served by a program.

32 Subp. 3. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means-the 33 commissioner-of-the-Minnesota-Department-of-Human-Services,-or 34 the-commissioner's-designated-representative-including-county

Approved by Revisor _

02/14/91 [REVISOR] KTH/CA AR1703 agencies-and-private-agencies has the meaning given in Minnesota 1 2 Statutes, section 245A.02, subdivision 5. 3 Subp. 4. Contractor. "Contractor" means any person, regardless of employer, who is providing program services for 4 hire under the control of the provider. 5 6 Subp. 5. County agency. "County agency" has the meaning 7 given in Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.02, subdivision 6. 8 Subp. 5 6. Direct contact. "Direct contact" means providing-face-to-face-care,-training,-supervision,-counseling, 9 10 consultation-or-medication-assistance-to-persons-served-by-a 11 program --- Direct-contact-includes-direct-access-to-children-in 12 programs-serving-children-and-to-persons-receiving-service-in 13 adult-foster-care-programs-14 Subp:-6---Disqualification-or-disqualified. 15 "Disqualification"-or-"disqualified"-means-an-individual 16 identified-in-part-9543-3030-has-committed-an-act-or-has-a 17 characteristic-identified-in-part-9543-3070 has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.04, subdivision 3, 18 19 paragraph (a). Subp. 7. License. "License" has the meaning given in 20 21 Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.02, subdivision 8. 22 Subp. 8. Perpetrator -- "Perpetrator"-means-a-person 23 responsible-for-the-care-of-a-child,-as-defined-in-Minnesota 24 Statutes7-section-626-5567-subdivision-27-paragraph-(b)7-or-the 25 caretaker-of-a-vulnerable-adult-as-defined-in-Minnesota Statutes7-section-626-5577-subdivision-27-paragraph-(c)7-who-is 26 27 identified-as-having-committed-maltreatment-of-a-minor-or-abuse or-neglect-of-a-vulnerable-adult. 28 29 Subp:-9. Program. "Program" means a residential or 30 nonresidential program as-defined-in licensed under Minnesota Statutes, section-245A-027-subdivision-107-or-a-residential 31 program-as-defined-in-Minnesota-Statutes,-section-245A:027 32 33 subdivision-14 chapter 245A. Subp. 10- 9. Provider. "Provider" means an applicant as 34 35 defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.02, subdivision 3, or license holder as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 36

> Approved by Revisor _

б

[REVISOR] KTH/CA AR1703

1	245A.02, subdivision 9.
2	Subp. 10. Serious injury. "Serious injury" means any harm
3	suffered by a person which reasonably requires the care of a
4	physician whether or not the care of a physician was sought.
5	For the purpose of parts 9543.3000 to 9543.3090, the following
.6	are deemed to be serious injuries:
7	A. bruises, bites, skin laceration, or tissue damage;
8	B. fractures;
9	C. dislocations;
10	D. evidence of internal injuries;
11	E. head injuries with loss of consciousness;
12	F. extensive second-degree or third-degree burns and
13	other burns for which complications are present;
14	G. extensive second-degree or third-degree frostbite,
15	and others for which complications are present;
16	H. irreversible mobility or avulsion of teeth;
17	I. injuries to the eyeball;
18	J. ingestion of foreign substances and objects that
19	are harmful;
20	K. near drowning; and
21	L. heat exhaustion or sunstroke.
22	Subp. 11. Subject. "Subject" means an individual
23	identified in part 9543.3030 who on whom a background study is
24	required to-have-a-background-study.
25	9543.3030 INDIVIDUALS WHO MUST BE STUDIED.
26	A background study must be conducted of the following
27	persons:
28	A. individuals who are applicants-for-licensure-or
29	license-holders providers of programs licensed by the
30	commissioner;
31	B. individuals over age 13 living in the household
32	where a program is operated;
33	C. current employees or contractors of a provider who
34	have direct contact with persons being served by the
35	program; <u>and</u>

Approved by Revisor _

[REVISOR] KTH/CA AR1703

1 D. individuals-who;-even-if-employed-or-under contract-with-an-individual-or-entity-other-than-the-provider, 2 3 under-the-direction-of-the-provider-have-direct-contact-with persons-served-by-the-provider's-program;-and 4 5 E. volunteers who provide program services to persons 6 served if: 7 (1) the volunteer has direct contact with persons 8 served; and 9 (2) the volunteer is not directly supervised. "Directly supervised" means being an individual listed in item 10 11 A or C is within sight or hearing of an a volunteer to the 12 extent that the individual who-has-passed-a-background-study-and 13 who listed in item A or C is capable at all times of intervening 14 to protect the health and safety of the persons being served by the program who have direct contact with the volunteer. 15 9543.3040 RESPONSIBILITIES OF PROVIDER. 16 17 Subpart 1. General. A provider must require every 18 individual identified in part 9543.3030 to complete the background information form prescribed by the commissioner. 19 Subp. 2. Form submission. A provider must submit each 20 completed background study forms form to the commissioner: 21 before initial licensure and with every license 22 Α. 23 renewal application; and before a subject first has direct contact with 24 в. persons served by the provider's program. 25 Subp. 3. Direct contact prohibited. A provider must 26 ensure that a subject who is disqualified by the commissioner 27 28 does not have direct contact with persons receiving services from the program unless the conditions in item A or B are met. 29 30 A. The provider has: 31 (1) received notice from the commissioner that the subject may be in direct contact pending reconsideration; 32 33 (2) obtained documentation that the subject will submit or has submitted a timely request for reconsideration; 34 35 and

[REVISOR] KTH/CA AR1703

1 (3) documented compliance with requirements in 2 the commissioner's notice. 3 The provider has received notice from the в. commissioner that the subject's disqualification has been set 4 5 aside. 6 Subp. 4. Employment termination. Termination of a subject 7 in good faith reliance on a notice of disqualification issued by 8 the commissioner does not subject the provider to civil 9 liability. 10 Subp. 5. Record retention. The subject's personnel file 11 must contain a-current the most recent notice issued by the 12 commissioner under part 9543.3060, subpart 5. A If the current 13 notice demonstrates is more than 12 months old, the subject's personnel file must also include documentation that the provider 14 15 has made a timely application for a background study has-been completed-within-at-least-12-months as required by Minnesota 16 Statutes, section 245A.04. 17 9543.3050 RESPONSIBILITIES OF SUBJECT. 18 19 A subject must provide to the provider the information 20 necessary to ensure an accurate background study, including: the subject's first, middle, and last name and all 21 Α. 22 other names by which the individual has been known; current home address, city, county, and state of 23 Β. residence; 24 25 c. counties of residence for the past five years; date of birth; 26 D. 27 Ε. sex; and driver's license number or state identification 28 F. 29 number;-and 30 G---whether-the-subject-has-prior-convictions-for crimes-listed-in-part-9543-3070-or-substantiated-reports-of 31 abuse-or-neglect-of-vulnerable-adults-or-maltreatment-of 32 children. 33 9543.3060 RESPONSIBILITIES OF COMMISSIONER. 34 Subpart 1. Negative licensing action. In addition to 35

> Approved by Revisor

[REVISOR] KTH/CA AR1703

1 other sanctions available to the commissioner under Minnesota 2 Statutes, chapter 245A, the commissioner has reasonable cause to 3 deny a license or to immediately suspend, suspend, or revoke a 4 license if a provider: 5 Α. fails or refuses to cooperate with the 6 commissioner in conducting background studies as required in parts 9543.3000 to 9543.3090; or 7 8 B. permits a subject who has been disqualified by the 9 commissioner to be in direct contact with persons served by the 10 program. 11 Subp. 2. Review of records. In conducting the background 12 study, the commissioner shall review: conviction records of the Minnesota Bureau of 13 Α. 14 Criminal Apprehension in which the last date of discharge from the criminal justice system is less than 15 years; 15 16 в. records of substantiated abuse or neglect of 17 vulnerable adults and maltreatment of minors in licensed 18 programs that are dated within seven years; 19 juvenile-court-records-on-a-subject-identified-in с. 20 part-9543-30307-item-B7-that-relate-to-delinguency-proceedings 21 within-the-five-years-preceding-application-or-preceding-the 22 subject's-18th-birthday,-whichever-period-is-longer;-and 23 D. any other information, including arrest and 24 investigative information from the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal 25 Apprehension, county attorneys, county sheriffs, courts, county 26 agencies, local police, and the national record repository, and criminal records of other states, if and juvenile court records 27 28 on a subject identified in part 9543.3030, item B, that relate 29 to delinquency proceedings within the five years preceding application or preceding the subject's 18th birthday, whichever 30 period is longer, provided that the commissioner has reasonable 31 cause to believe that the information is pertinent to 32 disqualification of a subject. "Reasonable cause to believe" 33 means that information or circumstances exist which provide the 34 commissioner with articulable suspicion that further pertinent 35 36 information may exist concerning a subject.

> Approved by Revisor

[REVISOR] KTH/CA AR1703

02/14/91

1 Subp. 3. Determination of disqualification. The commissioner shall evaluate the results of the study and any 2 3 other information available to the commissioner and shall determine whether a subject is disqualified under part 9543.3070. 4 5 Subp. 4. Notice by commissioner to subject. Within 15 working days, the commissioner shall notify the subject in 6 writing of the results of the background study or that 7 additional time is needed to complete the study. If the study 8 9 indicates a subject is disqualified, the notice shall state: the reason for disqualification and either: 10 A. 11 (1) have attached a copy of the records relied upon by the commissioner; or 12 13 (2) state how to obtain the records relied upon by the commissioner; 14 the procedures for requesting the commissioner to 15 Β. 16 reconsider the disqualification; and · 17 C. the factors to be considered by the commissioner under part 9543.3080 in the decision whether to set aside the 18 19 disqualification. 20 Subp. 5. Notice by commissioner to provider. Within 15 working days, the commissioner shall notify the provider in 21 writing-of-the-results-of-the-subject's-background-study- that: 22 23 Α. If-a the subject is not disqualified,-the-notice 24 shall-inform-the-provider-that: 25 +±); B. more time is needed to complete the study; or 26 27 C. the study indicates the subject is disqualified; and 28 (2) (1) the subject has 30 days from receipt of 29 the notice to request reconsideration of the disqualification 30 and that the commissioner's decision will be issued within 15 31 32 working days after receipt of a request; and (3) (2) the provider may request-a-variance-to 33 part-9543.3040,-subpart-3.--A-variance-request-must-meet-the 34 requirements-of-Minnesota-Statutes,-section-245A.04,-subdivision 35 97-and-rules-governing-the-program-36

Approved by Revisor _

[REVISOR] KTH/CA AR1703

1	B. continue the subject in direct contact pending
2	reconsideration if:
3	(a) the subject submits a timely request for
4	reconsideration; and
5	(b) the provider takes actions specified by
6	the commissioner to reduce the risk of harm to persons receiving
7	services.
8	If the commissioner determines a subject who is
9	disqualified presents a risk of imminent danger to persons
10	receiving services from the program, the commissioner will
11	notify the provider to immediately ensure the subject does not
12	have direct contact with persons receiving services from the
13	program.
14	Subp. 6. Disclosure of information; conditions. The
15	commissioner shall not disclose the nature of the
16	disqualification to the provider unless:
17	(+) A. the subject consents to disclosure in writing;
18	or
19	(2) B. other law authorizes disclosure to the
20	provider.
21	Subp. 6. 7. Record retention. The commissioner shall
22	maintain records of each study. The commissioner shall make the
23	information in the records available only to the commissioner or
24	the commissioner's designees for background study purposes.
25	When the subject reaches age 23, the commissioner shall destroy
26	juvenile court records obtained pursuant to the study.
27	9543.3070 DISQUALIFICATION STANDARDS.
27	Subpart 1. General-prohibitionsA-subject-who-has-a
28	-
29	disqualification-under-subparts-2-to-5-must-not-have-direct
30	contact-with-persons-served-by-a-program.
31	Subp2- Disqualifications. Except-as-provided-in-subpart
32	47 Items A to D disqualify an individual from programs serving
33	children or adults.
34	A. The subject has been convicted of a crime or
35	<u>anticipatory crime</u> against persons <u>;</u> or a crime <u>or anticipatory</u>

.

02/14/91 [REVISOR] KTH/CA AR1703 crime reasonably related to the provision of services or-an 1 2 anticipatory-crime-as-defined-in-Minnesota-Statutes7-sections 609-17-and-609-1757-including-but-not-limited-to: 3 (1)-homicide7-aiding-suicide7-or-arson-under 4 5 Minnesota-Statutes,-sections-609.185-to-609.215,-and-609.561-to 609-563+ 6 7. (2)-crimes-against-persons-and-unborn-children 8 under-Minnesota-Statutes,-sections-609-221-to-609-2247-609-23-to 609-26917-and-609-228; 9 10 (3)-sex-crimes-under-Minnesota-Statutes,-sections 11 609-2937-609-2947-609-321-to-609-3247-609-337-609-342-to 12 609-34517-and-609-3527 (4)-crimes-against-the-family-under-Minnesota 13 Statutes,-sections-609.355-to-609.365,-and-609.377-to-609.378; 14 (5)-public-misconduct-under-Minnesota-Statutes, 15 sections-609-7467-609-797-and-609-7957 16 (6)-obscenity-involving-children-under-Minnesota 17 Statutes7-sections-617-23-to-617-2477-and-617-293;-and 18 19 (7)-prohibited-drugs-under-Minnesota-Statutes, 20 chapter-152. The following offenses have been deemed to be crimes against persons or reasonably related to the provision of 21 services or both: 22 (1) Minnesota Statutes, section 609.17 23 24 (Attempts); (2) Minnesota Statutes, section 609.175 25 26 (Conspiracy); 27 (3) Minnesota Statutes, section 609.185 (Murder 28 in the first degree); (4) Minnesota Statutes, section 609.19 (Murder in 29 the second degree); 30 (5) Minnesota Statutes, section 609.195 (Murder 31 in the third degree); 32 33 (6) Minnesota Statutes, section 609.20 (Manslaughter in the first degree); 34 (7) Minnesota Statutes, section 609.205 35 36 (Manslaughter in the second degree);

> Approved by Revisor

[REVISOR] KTH/CA AR1703 02/14/91 1 (8) Minnesota Statutes, section 609.21 (Criminal 2 vehicular homicide and injury); 3 (9) Minnesota Statutes, section 609.215 4 (Suicide); (10) Minnesota Statutes, section 609.221 (Assault 5 in the first degree); 6 (11) Minnesota Statutes, section 609.222 (Assault 7 8 in the second degree); 9 (12) Minnesota Statutes, section 609.223 (Assault 10 in the third degree); (13) Minnesota Statutes, section 609.2231 11 (Assault in the fourth degree); 12 (14) Minnesota Statutes, section 609.224 (Assault 13 in the fifth degree); 14 (15) Minnesota Statutes, section 609.228 (Great 15 bodily harm caused by distribution of drugs); 16 (16) Minnesota Statutes, section 609.23 17 (Mistreatment of persons confined); 18 (17) Minnesota Statutes, section 609.231 19 (Mistreatment of residents or patients); 20 (18) Minnesota Statutes, section 609.235 (Use of 21 drugs to injure or facilitate crime); 22 (19) Minnesota Statutes, section 609.24 (Simple 23 24 robbery); (20) Minnesota Statutes, section 609.245 25 (Aggravated robbery); 26 (21) Minnesota Statutes, section 609.25 27 28 (Kidnapping); (22) Minnesota Statutes, section 609.255 (False 29 30 imprisonment); (23) Minnesota Statutes, section 609.265 31 (Abduction); 32 (24) Minnesota Statutes, section 609.2661 (Murder 33 of an unborn child in the first degree); 34 (25) Minnesota Statutes, section 609.2662 (Murder 35 of an unborn child in the second degree); 36

> Approved by Revisor _____

1	(26) Minnesota Statutes, section 609.2663 (Murder
2	of an unborn child in the third degree);
3	(27) Minnesota Statutes, section 609.2664
. 4	(Manslaughter of an unborn child in the first degree);
5	(28) Minnesota Statutes, section 609.2665
6	(Manslaughter of an unborn child in the second degree);
7	(29) Minnesota Statutes, section 609.267 (Assault
8	of an unborn child in the first degree);
9	(30) Minnesota Statutes, section 609.2671
10	(Assault of an unborn child in the second degree);
11	(31) Minnesota Statutes, section 609.2672
12	(Assault of an unborn child in the third degree);
13	(32) Minnesota Statutes, section 609.268 (Injury
14	or death of an unborn child in the commission of a crime);
15	(33) Minnesota Statutes, section 609.322
16	(Solicitation, inducement, and promotion of prostitution);
17	(34) Minnesota Statutes, section 609.323
18	(Receiving profit derived from prostitution);
19	(35) Minnesota Statutes, section 609.3232
20	(Protective order authorized; procedures; penalties);
21	(36) Minnesota Statutes, section 609.324,
22	subdivisions 1 and 1a (Other prohibited acts);
23	(37) Minnesota Statutes, section 609.33
24	(Disorderly house);
25	(38) Minnesota Statutes, section 609.342
26	(Criminal sexual conduct in the first degree);
27	(39) Minnesota Statutes, section 609.343
28	(Criminal sexual conduct in the second degree);
29	(40) Minnesota Statutes, section 609.344
30	(Criminal sexual conduct in the third degree);
31	(41) Minnesota Statutes, section 609.345
32	(Criminal sexual conduct in the fourth degree);
33	(42) Minnesota Statutes, section 609.3451
34	(Criminal sexual conduct in the fifth degree);
35	(43) Minnesota Statutes, section 609.352
36	(Solicitation of children to engage in sexual conduct);

[REVISOR] KTH/CA AR1703

1	(44) Minnesota Statutes, section 609.365
2	(Incest);
3	(45) Minnesota Statutes, section 609.377
4	(Malicious punishment of a child);
5	(46) Minnesota Statutes, section 609.378 (Neglect
6	or endangerment of a child);
7	(47) Minnesota Statutes, section 609.561 (Arson
8	in the first degree);
9	(48) Minnesota Statutes, section 609.562 (Arson
10	in the second degree);
11	(49) Minnesota Statutes, section 609.563 (Arson
12	in the third degree);
13	(50) Minnesota Statutes, section 609.713
14	(Terroristic threats);
15	(51) Minnesota Statutes, section 609.746
16	(Interference with privacy);
17	(52) Minnesota Statutes, section 609.79 (Obscene
18	or harassing phone calls);
19	(53) Minnesota Statutes, section 609.795 (Letter,
20	telegram, or package; opening; harassment);
21	(54) Minnesota Statutes, section 617.23 (Indecent
22	<pre>exposure);</pre>
23	(55) Minnesota Statutes, section 617.241 (Obscene
24	materials and performances);
25	(56) Minnesota Statutes, section 617.243
26	(Indecent literature, distribution);
27	(57) Minnesota Statutes, section 617.246 (Use of
28	minors in sexual performance);
29	(58) Minnesota Statutes, section 617.247
30	(Possession of pictorial representations of minors);
31	(59) Minnesota Statutes, section 617.293 (Harmful
32	materials; dissemination and display to minors); and
33	(60) felony convictions under Minnesota Statutes,
34	chapter 152 (Prohibited drugs).
35	B. The subject has admitted toor-has-been-arrested
36	and-is-awaiting-trial-for, or a preponderance of the evidence
	Approved

16

Approved

by Revisor _

02/14/91 [REVISOR] KTH/CA AR1703 1 indicates the individual has committed an act that meets the 2 definition of a crime listed in item A. 3 C. The subject is identified as the perpetrator in a determination that maltreatment of minors has occurred and a 4 preponderance of evidence indicates: 5 б (1) an act that meets the definition of 7 maltreatment in Minnesota Statutes, section 626.556, subdivision 8 10e, paragraph (a), occurred; 9 (2) the subject committed the maltreatment; and (3) the maltreatment was serious or recurring. 10 11 D. The subject is identified as the perpetrator in a substantiated report of abuse or neglect of vulnerable adults 12 and a preponderance of evidence indicates: 13 14 (1) an act that meets the definition of abuse or neglect in Minnesota Statutes, section 626.557, subdivision 2, 15 16 occurred; 17 (2) the subject committed the abuse or neglect; (3) the abuse or neglect was serious or 18 recurring; and 19 20 (4) the subject is not the victim of the abuse or neglect. 21 For purposes of this item "serious maltreatment, abuse, and 22 23 neglect" is defined as a serious injury as set forth in part 24 9543.3020, subpart 10, whether intended or suffered as the result of neglect; sexual abuse; neglect or abuse which results 25 in illness or harm which reasonably requires the attention of a 26 physician; or death. 27 Subp. 3- 2. Terminated parental rights. A subject who has 28 had parental rights terminated under Minnesota Statutes, section 29 260.221, paragraph (b), is disqualified from programs serving 30 31 children. 32 Subp--4---Disqualification-from-programs-providing-chemical abuse-or-dependency-services-to-adults---Items-A-and-B-apply-to 33 persons-providing-chemical-abuse-or-dependency-services-to 34 adults. 35 A---A-subject-is-disqualified-from-direct-contact-with 36

> Approved by Revisor _

1 persons-served-in-a-Category-1-detoxification-program-if-the
2 subject-has-a-disqualification-under-subpart-27-items-A-to-D7-or
3 subpart-5.

B:--A-subject-affiliated-with-any-other-program
providing-chemical-abuse-or-dependency-services-to-adults-must
not-have-had-a-felony-conviction-or-have-been-incarcerated-as-a
result-of-a-felony-conviction-in-the-last-three-years:

8 Subp. 5. 3. Residential programs. A subject in a 9 residential program must not have a conviction for, must not have admitted to, or have-been-arrested-and-be-awaiting-trial 10 for-theft-and-related-crimes,-including-but-not-limited-to 11 12 crimes-defined-in-Minnesota-Statutes7-sections-609-52-to 13 609-5237-609-5827-and-609-625-to-609-635 a preponderance of the 14 evidence must not indicate that the individual has committed an act of theft or related crimes. The following offenses have 15 16 been deemed to be acts of theft or related crimes:

A. Minnesota Statutes, section 609.52 (Theft);
B. Minnesota Statutes, section 609.521 (Possession of shoplifting gear);

20 C. Minnesota Statutes, section 609.582 (Burglary);

21 D. Minnesota Statutes, section 609.625 (Aggravated 22 forgery);

23 <u>E. Minnesota Statutes, section 609.63 (Forgery);</u>
24 F. Minnesota Statutes, section 609.631 (Check

25 forgery; offering a forged check); and

26 <u>G. Minnesota Statutes, section 609.635 (Obtaining</u>
27 <u>signature by false pretense).</u>

28 9543.3080 RECONSIDERATION OF DISQUALIFICATION.

Subpart 1. Application for reconsideration. Within 30 days after receiving notice of disqualification, a subject may request the commissioner in writing to reconsider the disqualification. The subject must submit information showing: A. the information the commissioner relied upon is incorrect; or B. the subject does not pose a risk of harm to any

> Approved by Revisor

02/14/91 [REVISOR] KTH/CA AR1703 person served by the program. 1 2 Subp. 2. Extension. The subject may request additional 3 time, not to exceed 30 days, to obtain the information in subpart 1 upon showing the information cannot be obtained within 4 5 30 days. 6 Subp. 3. Decision by commissioner. The commissioner shall set aside the disqualification if the commissioner determines 7 8 that: 9 Α. the information relied upon in making the determination of disqualification is incorrect; or 10 11 the subject does not pose a risk of harm to Β. persons served by the program. In making this determination the 12 commissioner shall consider at least: 13 14 (1) the nature and severity of the disqualifying 15 event; 16 (2) the consequences of the disqualifying event; 17 (3) the number of disqualifying factors or 18 events; 19 (4) the relation between the disgualification and the health, safety, and rights of persons served by the program, 20 21 including factors such as: 22 (a) the age and vulnerability of victims at the time of the incident; 23 24 (b) the harm suffered by a victim; and (c) the similarity between a victim and 25 persons served by the program; 26 (5) whether the disqualifying-event-is-isolated 27 time elapsed without a repeat of the same or similar events-have 28 29 occurred event; (6) documentation of successful completion of 30 training or rehabilitation pertinent to the incident; and 31 (7) any other information relevant to the 32 reconsideration decision. 33 Subp. 4. Notice of commissioner's decision. Within 15 34 working days after receipt of a request for reconsideration, the 35 commissioner shall notify the subject and the provider in 36

> Approved by Revisor

02/14/91 [REVISOR] KTH/CA AR1703 1 writing: 2 whether the disqualification has been set aside; Α. 3 or 4 в. if a time extension has been granted under subpart 5 2, that the commissioner's decision will be issued within 15 working days after the extension date. 6 Subp. 5. Finality of decision. Except as provided in 7 8 subpart 6, the commissioner's decision on a reconsideration 9 request is the final administrative agency action and is not 10 subject to review. 11 Subp. 6. Employees of public employers. A subject who is 12 an employee of a public employer as defined by Minnesota 13 Statutes, section 179A.03, subdivision 15, may appeal the commissioner's decision not to set aside a disqualification in a 14 15 contested case proceeding under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 14. 16 9543.3090 APPLICABILITY AND IMPLEMENTATION OF RULES. 17 Parts 9543.3000 to 9543.3090 shall be implemented and shall 18 apply to programs according to items A to C. 19 After the effective date of parts 9543.3000 to Α. 20 9543.3090, applicants for initial licensure of a program must submit all required background study forms at the time of 21 22 application. Providers of programs licensed on the effective 23 Β. 24 date of parts 9543.3000 to 9543.3090 must submit all required 25 background study forms at the time of license renewal except that subjects who first become affiliated with the program after 26 the effective date must have a background study according to 27 part 9543.3040. 28 C. Notwithstanding part 9543.3040, subpart 3, a 29 30 subject affiliated with a program on the effective date who is disqualified as a result of the subject's initial background 31

32 study may continue in direct contact until the commissioner
33 issues a decision on reconsideration of the disqualification.

34 9545.0090 PERSONAL QUALITIES OF FOSTER FAMILY HOME APPLICANTS.
 35 FFH applicants shall be kind, mature, and responsible

Approved by Revisor

[REVISOR] KTH/CA AR1703

people with a genuine liking for children. They shall possess 1 2 consistent and healthy methods of handling the lifestyle unique to their own families. Evaluation of applicants shall consider 3 cultural differences. 4

5 Reason: Children who must live apart from their own homes are uniquely in need of stable, understanding families. 6 Many 7 children needing placement are emotionally, mentally, or 8 physically handicapped. These children need extra understanding and parenting to cope with their problems. 9

10 A. Satisfactory compliance: An FFH license shall not 11 be issued or renewed where any person (except foster children) living in the household has any of the following characteristics: 12

13

(1) a disgualification under part 9543.3070; (2) chemical dependency, unless the individual(s) 14 15 identified as chemically dependent has been chemically free for 16 at least 12 months; or

(3) residence of the family's own children in 17 18 foster care, correctional facility, or residential treatment for emotional disturbance within the previous 12 months if, in the 19 judgment of the agency, the functioning of the family has been 20 21 impaired.

Satisfactory compliance: In order to protect 22 в. 23 children in foster care and assure them the maximum opportunities for growth and development, each family caring for 24 children shall be evaluated on the following essential elements: 25 (1) have established and are comfortable with 26 their own identity to the degree that meeting their own needs 27 does not interfere with their meeting the needs of foster 28 29 children;

(2) have optimism, a sense of humor, resiliency, 30 and ability to enjoy life; 31

(3) be in touch with their own feelings, be able 32 to express these feelings, and have a capacity to look at 33 themselves realistically as to the kinds of children they can 34 accept and work with; 35 36 (4) have health and vigor to meet the needs of

> Approved by Revisor

02/14/91 [REVISOR] KTH/CA AR1703 1 children placed with them; 2 (5) have meaningful extended family, 3 neighborhood, cultural, and community ties; 4 (6) have the ability to deal with anger, sorrow, frustration, conflict, and other emotions in a manner which will 5 build positive interpersonal relationships rather than in a way 6 that could be emotionally or physically destructive to other 7 8 persons; 9 (7) have the ability to give positive guidance, 10 care, and training to a child according to the child's stage of growth, special abilities, and limitations; 11 12 (8) have the ability to use discipline in a 13 constructive rather than destructive way; 14 (9) understand, accept, and seek to nurture 15 cultural, spiritual, racial, and affectional ties of the child; 16 (10) have the ability and flexibility to accept a 17 child in placement who has special needs, treat a foster child as a member of their family, recognizing that a foster child has 18 other family ties; 19 20 (11) have the ability to accept the foster 21 child's own family and maintain an understanding relationship with them; 22 23. (12) have the ability to work with the agency and other community resources; 24 25 (13) have a capacity and willingness to involve themselves in ongoing educational opportunities, as well as 26 27 other learning experiences; (14) be able to constructively resolve problems 28 when difficulties arise; 29 (15) be comfortable in relating to professional 30 treatment personnel of all kinds, including the ability to 31 discuss differences of viewpoint, and to be an advocate for the 32 33 foster child when indicated; and (16) have an ability to openly discuss their 34 attitudes about persons with differing life styles and 35 philosophies and a capacity to accept people who are different 36

> Approved by Revisor

[REVISOR] KTH/CA AR1703

02/14/91

1 from themselves.

2 9555.6125 LICENSING STUDY.

3 [For text of subps 1 to 3, see M.R.]
4 Subp. 4. Qualifications. Operators, caregivers, and
5 household members must meet the qualifications in items A to G.

6

A. Operators and caregivers must be adults.

7 в. Household members and caregivers must be free of 8 reportable communicable disease as named in parts 4605.7000 to 4605.7800. With the exception of caregivers providing less than 9 30 days of care per year, the household member and caregiver 10 11 must provide the commissioner with a physician's statement 12 showing the absence of reportable communicable disease and any physical condition that would prevent the caregiver from being 13 14 able to provide foster care to a resident. The physician's report must be based on an examination of the individual within 15 16 the 12 months before application for licensure. Caregivers shall provide the commissioner with a physician's report at 17 18 least once every five years after initial licensure.

C. Operators, caregivers, and household members must
 agree to disclose the arrest, conviction, and criminal history
 information specified in subpart 3.

D. Operators, caregivers, and household members must not have a disqualification under part 9543.3070.

E. Operators and caregivers must not have a diagnosis of mental retardation or a related condition and be receiving services under parts 9525.0015 to 9525.0145.

F. Caregivers and household members must not have a 27 28 mental illness or condition as diagnosed by a psychiatrist or licensed psychologist that has documented behaviors that the 29 commissioner determines would jeopardize the health, rights, or 30 safety of residents. Past history of a mental illness or 31 condition may be considered. "Mental illness" means an organic 32 disorder of the brain or a clinically significant disorder of 33 thought, mood, perception, orientation, memory, or behavior that 34 is listed in the clinical manual of the International 35

> Approved by Revisor

[REVISOR] KTH/CA AR1703

1 Classification of Diseases (ICD-9-CM), Ninth Revision (1980), 2 code range 290.0 to 302.99 or 306.0 to 316.0 or the corresponding code in the American Psychiatric Association's 3 4 Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-III), 5 Third Edition (1980), Axes I, II, or III, and that seriously limits a person's functional capacities relative to primary 6 7 aspects of daily living such as personal relations, living 8 arrangements, work, and recreation. These publications are incorporated by reference and are not subject to frequent 9 10 change. They are available in the State Law Library, Ford 11 Building, 117 University Avenue, Saint Paul, Minnesota 55155.

G. Caregivers and household members must not abuse prescription drugs or use controlled substances as named in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 152, or alcohol, to the extent that the use or abuse has or may have a negative effect on the health, rights, or safety of residents.

17 Subp. 5. Evaluation for cause. The commissioner may 18 require, before licensure or at any time during the licensed 19 term of the adult foster home, a physical, mental health, chemical dependency, or criminal history evaluation of the 20 operator, caregiver, or household member if the commissioner has 21 reasonable cause to believe that any of the qualifications or 22 23 requirements in subpart 4, items A to G have not been met or 24 that the operator or any caregiver cannot care for a resident. Evaluations must be conducted by a professional qualified by 25 license, certification, education, or training to perform the 26 specific evaluation. 27

28

[For text of subps 6 to 13, see M.R.]

29 30

[For text of subps 1 to 6, see M.R.]

9555.9620 LICENSING PROCESS.

31 Subp. 7. License denial or suspension. The commissioner 32 shall not issue a license or shall suspend a license when the 33 center does not comply with the building, fire, and health codes 34 specified in parts 9555.9600 to 9555.9730 and the deficiencies 35 cited threaten the health, safety, or rights of participants.

> Approved by Revisor

	02/14/91 [REVISOR] KTH/CA AR1703	
1	[For text of subps 8 to 13, see M.R.]	
2	REPEALER. Minnesota Rules, parts 9502.0335, subpart 7; an	d
3	9525.1520, subpart 5, are repealed.	
4		
5	EFFECTIVE DATE. Parts 9543.3000 to 9543.3090 and the	
6	repealer are effective March 29, 1991.	