Department of Labor and Industry 1

2

- Adopted Permanent Rules Relating to Reimbursement for Copies of 3
- Workers' Compensation Medical Records 4

5

- Rules as Adopted
- 5219.0100 PURPOSE. 7
- This chapter provides a schedule for reasonable 8
- reimbursement to a health care provider for copies of medical 9
- records. The privacy of medical records or reports under other 10
- 11 law is not affected by this chapter.
- 5219.0200 SCOPE. 12
- 13 This chapter governs reimbursement for copies of existing
- medical records related to a current claim for compensation 14
- under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 176, when requested by any 15
- person or business entity from a health care provider as defined 16
- in Minnesota Statutes, section 176.011, subdivision 24. 17
- 18 5219.0300 REASONABLE REIMBURSEMENT ALLOWANCE.
- 19 Subpart 1. First copy of appropriate record. For the
- first copy of the appropriate record as defined in part 20
- 21 5221.0100, subpart la, (proposed-at-14-S-R--2412,-April-9,-1990)
- when provided by the health care provider to the payer as 22
- defined in part 5221.0100, subpart 11, to substantiate the 23
- 24 service being billed, a charge not to exceed 75 cents per page
- is reasonable. This amount applies whether the record is 25
- 26 provided with the billing, under separate cover, or in response
- to a request by the payer for an appropriate record which has 27
- not been submitted with the bill. 28
- Subp. 2. Other copies. For all other copies of existing 29
- medical records or data that are not specifically addressed in 30
- subpart 1 or in Minnesota Statutes, section 176.155, or any 31
- other Minnesota statute or rule, a charge is reasonable if the 32
- total charge for each submission following a request does not 33
- exceed the sum of \$10 as a retrieval fee and 75 cents per page. 34

1

- 1 Subp. 3. Postage and other charges. In addition to the
- 2 charges in subparts 1 and 2, the health care provider may charge
- 3 actual postage, any applicable Minnesota sales tax, and notary
- 4 fees, if notarization is requested.
- 5 Subp. 4. Time for payment. The requester must reimburse
- 6 the health care provider within 30 days of receipt of the copies
- 7 requested.