35

```
1 Board of Medical Examiners
 2
 3
   Adopted Permanent Rules Relating to Physical Therapy
 4
    Rules as Adopted
 5
    5600.2500 ANNUAL FEES.
 6
 7
         The fees charged by the board are fixed at the following
    rates:
 8
 9
                  physician examination fee, full exam, $425;
              Α.
10
              В.
                  physician examination fee, Part I only, $250;
11
                  physician examination fee, Part II only, $300;
              C.
                  physician application fee, $200;
12
              D.
13
              E.
                  physician annual registration, $115;
14
                  physician certification to other states, $10;
              F.
                  physician verification to institutions, $5;
15
              G.
16
              н.
                  physician endorsement to other states, $40;
                  physician emeritus license, $50;
17
              I.
                  physician temporary licenses, $60;
18
              J.
19
              Κ.
                  physician late fee, $60;
20
                  physical therapist application fee, $40;
              L.
                  physical therapist examination fee, $110;
21
              Μ.
22
              N.
                  physical therapist annual registration, $20;
23
                  physical therapist late fee, $10;
              0.
24
                  physical therapist certification to other states,
              P.
25
    $10;
26
              Q. physical therapist verification to institutions,
27
   $5; and
                  physical therapist temporary permit, $10.
28
   5601.0100 DEFINITIONS.
29
30
         Subpart 1. to 4. [Unchanged.]
31
         Subp. 5. Licensed health care professional or licensed
   health care provider. "Licensed health care professional" or
32
    "licensed health care provider" means a person licensed in good
33
   standing in Minnesota to practice medicine, osteopathy,
34
```

Approved by Revisor

chiropractic, podiatry, or dentistry.

- 1 Subp. 6. Initiation of treatment. "Initiation of
- 2 treatment" means the initiation by a physical therapist of
- 3 physical measures, therapeutic exercises, and rehabilitation
- 4 procedures, as defined by Minnesota Statutes, section 148.65,
- 5 without the express direction or supervision of a health care
- 6 professional.
- 7 Subp. 7. Previously diagnosed condition. "Previously
- 8 diagnosed condition" means a <u>lifelong</u> and ongoing condition
- 9 diagnosed by a health care professional within-the-24-month
- 10 period-preceding-the-date-the which requires physical therapist
- 11 initiates therapy treatment for-the-condition.
- 12 Subp. 8. Clinical experience. "Clinical experience" means
- 13 practice under a physician's direction or supervision as
- 14 verified by the board's records.
- 15 Subp. 9. Contact hour. "Contact hour" means an
- 16 instructional session of 60 minutes, excluding coffee breaks,
- 17 registration, meals with a speaker or without a speaker, and
- 18 other social activities.
- 19 5601.0300 CONTENTS OF APPLICATION.
- The application must be submitted on forms prepared by the
- 21 board together with the fees described under part 5600.2500,
- 22 items L and M. To be complete, the application must include the
- 23 following information:
- A. [Unchanged.]
- B. a recommendation of the applicant's ethical and
- 26 moral character by two physical therapists duly registered to
- 27 practice physical therapy in the United States or Canada;
- C. a recent full-faced photograph of the applicant
- 29 attached to the application with the affidavit on the form
- 30 completed and notarized;
- D. an accounting of the applicant's high school,
- 32 college, and board-approved physical therapy school education
- 33 listing the names, locations, dates of attendance, and diplomas,
- 34 degrees, or certificates awarded;
- 35 E. an accounting of the applicant's postgraduate work

- l and military service;
- F. a listing of the states or countries in which the
- 3 applicant is currently licensed or registered including the
- 4 applicant's license or registration certificate number, the date
- 5 the license or registration was obtained, and the method by
- 6 which the license or registration was received;
- 7 G. an accounting of the applicant's current and
- 8 previous physical therapy practice experience listing-two
- 9 references-from-each-place-of-service;
- 10 H. an accounting of any disciplinary action taken on
- ll past complaints, refusal of licensure or registration, or denial
- 12 of examination eligibility by another state board or physical
- 13 therapy society against the applicant;
- I. an accounting of the applicant's personal use or
- 15 <u>administration</u> of drugs-that-are-subject-to-abuse any controlled
- 16 <u>substances</u> and treatment for alcohol or drug abuse;
- J. an accounting by the applicant of any current
- 18 disabling-condition disease, illness, or disease injury that
- 19 impairs the applicant's ability to practice physical therapy;
- 20 K. an accounting of any violation-of-federal,-state,
- 21 or-local-regulations-or-statutes-by-the-applicant convictions
- 22 for crimes related to the practice of physical therapy,
- 23 felonies, gross misdemeanors, and crimes involving moral
- 24 turpitude;
- L. a listing of any memberships in a physical therapy
- 26 society;
- M. the applicant's name and address;
- N. the applicant's social security number, if the
- 29 applicant chooses to voluntarily provide the number to the board
- 30 for identification purposes, or the applicant's alien
- 31 registration card number, whichever is applicable, or
- 32 notification to the board if no social security number or alien
- 33 registration card number is assigned to or available from the
- 34 applicant;
- O. completed copies of credentials verification forms
- 36 provided by the board; and

- P. any other information judged necessary by the
- 2 board to evaluate the applicant.
- 3 5601.0400 APPLICATION DEADLINE.
- 4 All applications for examination must be fully completed in
- 5 accordance with part 5601.0300 and forwarded to the secretary of
- 6 the board. An application must be postmarked not later than 45
- 7 days before the date of the examination.
- 8 5601.0700 REGISTRATION WITHOUT EXAMINATION.
- 9 The board may register a person as a physical therapist in
- 10 this state without examination if that person completes or
- ll presents evidence satisfactory to the board of having passed an
- 12 examination in accordance with Minnesota Statutes, section
- 13 148.70 administered by a state licensing agency. An applicant
- 14 for registration without examination shall submit an application
- 15 on forms provided by the board together with the fees described
- 16 in part 5600.2500. The form must include the following
- 17 information:
- A. and B. [Unchanged.]
- 19 C. the information required by part 5601.0300, items
- 20 B to P.
- 21 5601.0800 REQUIREMENTS FOR FOREIGN-TRAINED APPLICANTS.
- Subpart 1. and 2. [Unchanged.]
- Subp. 3. English test. The applicant must achieve a score
- 24 of at least 550 on the TOEFL (Test of English as a Foreign
- 25 Language) examination administered by the Educational Testing
- 26 Service, Inc., Princeton, New Jersey, or a passing score on a
- 27 comparable nationally recognized examination approved by the
- 28 board.
- Subp. 4. and 5. [Unchanged.]
- 30 5601.1200 REPORTS.
- 31 The physical therapist shall submit reports to the
- 32 referring a licensed health care provider at-intervals
- 33 determined-by-the-health-care-provider-concerning-the-condition
- 34 and-progress-of-the-patient-in-therapy for periodic review at

- 1 least every two years. Reports should include, but are not
- 2 limited to, an initial evaluation, progress notes, and a
- 3 discharge note. Reports by the physical therapist must be made
- 4 more frequently than-designated-by-the-health-care-provider if
- 5 the patient's condition warrants. The physical therapist shall
- 6 retain dated records evidencing submission of reports to a
- 7 licensed health care provider for periodic review.
- 8 5601.1700 RENEWAL OF REGISTRATION.
- 9 When they renew their registrations each year in compliance
- 10 with Minnesota Statutes, section 148.73, physical therapists
- ll must submit lists of locations or institutions where they have
- 12 practiced during the past five years. Applicants for
- 13 reregistration who have not practiced the equivalent of eight
- 14 full weeks during the past five years are required to achieve a
- 15 passing score on retaking the registration examination or
- 16 complete no less than eight weeks of council-approved clinical
- 17 experience with a broad base of treatment modalities and patient
- 18 diagnoses. In addition, every two years, the applicant must
- 19 submit verification of compliance with the continuing education
- 20 requirements of parts 5601.2100 to 5601.2500. An application
- 21 submitted after the reregistration deadline date must be
- 22 accompanied by the late fee described in part 5600.2500.
- 23 5601.1800 INITIATION OF TREATMENT FOR A CONDITION NOT PREVIOUSLY
- 24 DIAGNOSED.
- A. A physical therapist who has had more than one
- 26 year of clinical experience may initiate treatment of a patient
- 27 for a condition not previously diagnosed for up to 30 calendar
- 28 days from the date of initial treatment once within a four-month
- 29 period without referring to a licensed health care
- 30 professional. Subsequent treatments for a condition not
- 31 previously diagnosed of up to 30 calendar days within a
- 32 four-month period beginning with the start of the initial
- 33 treatment may only be made if the patient's complaint and
- 34 symptoms are unrelated to the complaint and symptoms of the
- 35 original treatment.

- B. A-physical-therapist-with-less-than-one-year-of
- 2 clinical-experience-may-not-initiate-treatment-of-a-previously
- 3 diagnosed-condition-
- 4 E:--Items Item A and-B-do does not apply to patients
- 5 who have been referred for physical therapy treatment by order
- 6 or referral of a licensed health care professional.
- 7 5601.1900 INITIATION OF TREATMENT FOR A PREVIOUSLY DIAGNOSED
- 8 CONDITION.
- 9 A. A physical therapist who has had more than one
- 10 year of clinical experience may initiate treatment of a patient
- 11 for a <u>lifelong</u> and ongoing previously diagnosed condition for-up
- 12 to-60-days warranting physical therapy treatment.
- B. A-physical-therapist-with-less-than-one-year-of
- 14 clinical-experience-may-not-initiate-treatment-of-a-previously
- 15 diagnosed-condition:
- 16 E.--Documentation Verification of the diagnosis under
- 17 item A or-B must be obtained from the medical records or a
- 18 licensed health care professional by the physical therapist
- 19 within 30 calendar days of the initial admission.
- 20 5601.2000 LIMITATIONS ON PRACTICE.
- 21 If a patient's medical condition is determined by the
- 22 physical therapist to be beyond the scope of practice of that
- 23 physical therapist, the physical therapist must refer the
- 24 patient to a licensed health care professional. A physical
- 25 therapist shall modify or terminate treatment of a patient that
- 26 is not beneficial to the patient or that is not tolerated by the
- 27 patient and shall notify the patient's health care provider of
- 28 the modification or termination of treatment.
- 29 5601.2100 CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT.
- 30 Every two years, each physical therapist registered by the
- 31 board shall obtain 20 contact hours of continuing education
- 32 credit as required by parts 5601.2200 to 5601.2600.
- 33 5601.2200 TWO-YEAR CONTINUING EDUCATION CYCLE.
- 34 Subpart 1. Initial registration on or after January 1,

- 1 1991. For physical therapists initially registered on or after
- 2 January 1, 1991, the first two-year continuing education cycle
- 3 begins on the January 1 following the date of initial licensure
- 4 registration. Future cycles will run consecutively from that
- 5 point. Continuing education courses taken between the date of
- 6 initial registration and January 1 of the following year may be
- 7 credited toward the first cycle.
- 8 Subp. 2. Initial registration before January 1, 1991. For
- 9 physical therapists renewing their registrations on or after
- 10 January 1, 1991, but who were initially registered before that
- 11 date, the first two-year continuing education cycle begins as
- 12 described in item A or B and runs consecutively from that date.
- A. If the physical therapist's month of birth occurs
- 14 in the months of January to June, the cycle begins on January 1,
- 15 1992.
- B. If the physical therapist's month of birth occurs
- 17 in the months of July to December, the cycle begins on January
- 18 1, 1993. In the first cycle, ending December 31, 1994, a
- 19 physical therapist in this group shall submit 30 hours of credit.
- 20 For purposes of this subpart, continuing education courses
- 21 taken between January 1, 1991, and January 1 of the physical
- 22 therapist's first two-year continuing education cycle may be
- 23 credited toward the first cycle.
- 24 5601.2300 CATEGORIES OF CREDITED ACTIVITIES.
- 25 Continuing education credit may be obtained from the
- 26 following activities:
- A. Category 1: No less than ten hours of credit must
- 28 be obtained in a cycle by attendance at educational activities
- 29 recognized by the board under part 5601.2400. Physical
- 30 therapists who must submit 30 hours of credit under part
- 31 5601.2200, subpart 2, item B, must obtain no less than 15 hours
- 32 of credit under this item.
- B. Category 2: No more than ten hours of credit may
- 34 be obtained in a cycle through in-service educational activities
- 35 sponsored by organizations or individuals not designated in

- 1 Category 1. Physical therapists who must submit 30 hours of
- 2 credit under part 5601.2200, subpart 2, item B, must obtain no
- 3 more than 15 hours of credit under this item.
- 4 C. Category 3: No more than four hours of credit may
- 5 be obtained in a cycle through teaching, lecturing, or similar
- 6 presentation programs. Physical therapists who must submit 30
- 7 hours of credit under part 5601.2200, subpart 2, item B, must
- 8 obtain no more than six hours of credit under this item.
- 9 5601.2400 CATEGORY 1 CREDIT.
- 10 Subpart 1. Courses. The board shall grant Category 1
- ll continuing education credit meeting the standards of part
- 12 5601.2500 for the educational activities in items A to B C:
- 13 A. any course planned, sponsored, or cosponsored by
- 14 an accredited university or college, medical school, state or
- 15 national medical or osteopathic association, or a national
- 16 medical specialty society;
- B. any course planned, sponsored, or cosponsored by
- 18 the American Physical Therapy Association or other national or
- 19 state physical therapy association meeting-the-standards-of-part
- 20 5601-2500-and-receiving-board-approva1; and
- 21 C. any course planned, sponsored, or cosponsored by
- 22 the Arthritis Foundation, American Heart Association, or other
- 23 national or state health organization meeting-the-standards-of
- 24 part-5601-2500-and-receiving-board-approval; -and.
- 25 Br Subp. 2. Other educational activity. Any
- 26 educational activity meeting not included under subpart 1 that
- 27 meets the standards of part 5601.2500 submitted-for shall be
- 28 approved for Category 1 continuing education credit by-a
- 29 registered-physical-therapist-in-advance-of-the-presentation-of
- 30 the-activity-and-receiving-approval by the board.
- 31 An individual or organization seeking board approval of an
- 32 educational activity for Category 1 continuing education credit
- 33 as provided under this subpart shall provide to the board
- 34 documents describing the name and address of the organization
- 35 sponsoring the activity, the name and address of the facility at

- l which the activity will be presented, the name and credentials
- 2 of each instructor or person making a presentation, and the
- 3 course content in detail, including a time schedule for the
- 4 activity.
- 5 5601.2500 CREDIT STANDARDS.
- 6 The board shall grant continuing education credit for any
- 7 educational activity that meets the standards in items A to E.
- 8 A. The educational activities must have significant
- 9 intellectual or practical content dealing primarily with matters
- 10 directly related to the practice of physical therapy or to the
- ll professional responsibility or ethical obligations of the
- 12 participants.
- B. Each person making a presentation shall be
- 14 qualified by practical or academic experience to teach the
- 15 subject the person covers.
- 16 C. Participants shall attend educational activities
- 17 in a classroom or other setting suitable for the activity.
- 18 Video, motion picture, or sound presentations may be used.
- D. One hour of credit shall be given for each 60
- 20 minutes actually spent on educational activities.
- 21 E. Credit shall not be given for entertainment or
- 22 recreational activities or programs, employment orientation
- 23 sessions, holding an office or serving as an organizational
- 24 delegate, individual self-directed study programs, management
- 25 seminars not directly concerning physical therapy operations,
- 26 meetings for the purpose of making policy, or noneducational
- 27 association meetings.
- Any course planned, sponsored, or cosponsored as provided
- 29 under part 5601.2400, subpart 1, shall be presumed to meet the
- 30 standards in items A to E. This presumption may be withdrawn by
- 31 the board if it determines that a college, university,
- 32 association, or specialty has sought credit for a course not
- 33 meeting these standards.
- 34 5601.2600 VERIFICATION OF COMPLIANCE.
- 35 At the January license registration renewal immediately

- l following their two-year continuing education cycle, registrants
- 2 shall provide a signed statement to the board on a form provided
- 3 by the board indicating compliance with parts 5601.2100 to
- 4 5601.2500. The-board-may,-in-its-discretion,-require-additional
- 5 evidence-necessary-to-verify-compliance-with-parts-5601.2100-to
- 6 5601-2500. The board may shall also accept certification of
- 7 other state or-national-health-or-medical-organizations
- 8 regulatory agencies whose continuing education requirements are
- 9 equal to or greater than those in parts 5601.2100 to 5601.2500.
- 10 Periodically, the board shall select a sample of the
- 11 registered physical therapists and request evidence of the
- 12 continuing education to which they attested. Documentation may
- 13 come directly from the registrant or from state or national
- 14 organizations that maintain those types of records.
- A registrant failing to submit a statement or who submits a
- 16 statement that, on its face, indicates noncompliance with parts
- 17 5601.2100 to 5601.2500 may be subject to the disciplinary
- 18 provisions in part 5601.2700.
- 19 5601.2700 PENALTIES FOR NONCOMPLIANCE.
- The board shall refuse to renew or grant, or shall suspend,
- 21 condition, limit, or qualify the registration of any person who
- 22 the board determines has failed to comply with parts 5601.2100
- 23 to 5601.2600.
- 24 5601.2800 HEARING UPON REFUSAL TO RENEW.
- A registrant whose registration renewal materials fail to
- 26 comply with the requirements of part 5601.1700 as determined by
- 27 the board shall be notified of this determination and the
- 28 grounds for it and may be granted a hearing under part 5615.0300
- 29 by filing a statement of issues with the board within 20 days
- 30 after receipt of notice from the board. After the hearing, the
- 31 board shall notify the applicant in writing of its decision.
- 32 5601.2900 TEMPORARY PERMIT.
- 33 Subpart 1. Who may apply. Applicants who have complied
- 34 completely with the informational requirements in part

- 1 5601.0300, items A to P, or 5601.0700, items A to C, may apply
- 2 for a temporary permit to practice physical therapy under
- 3 supervision. Foreign-trained applicants must comply completely
- 4 with part 5601.0800 in addition to the information requirements
- 5 of part 5601.0300, items A to P, or 5601.0700, items A to C.
- 6 Subp. 2. Application. The application for a temporary
- 7 permit to practice physical therapy under supervision must be
- 8 submitted on forms prepared by the board together with the fee
- 9 described in part 5600.2500.
- 10 Subp. 3. Contents of application. To be complete, an
- ll application for a temporary permit to practice physical therapy
- 12 under supervision must include the following information:
- A. an original or certified copy of a diploma,
- 14 degree, or certificate; or evidence satisfactory to the board
- 15 indicating that the applicant has satisfactorily completed an
- 16 approved curriculum in physical therapy as provided in Minnesota
- 17 Statutes, section 148.70, and has been graduated from a school
- 18 of physical therapy approved by the board;
- B. if the applicant is providing evidence of
- 20 compliance of the informational requirements of part 5601.0700,
- 21 a notarized or certified copy of a current license or
- 22 certificate to practice physical therapy issued by the duly
- 23 accredited examining agency of the state or foreign country in
- 24 which the applicant has been licensed or certified; and
- C. the information required by part 5601.0300, items
- 26 B to P.

27

- 28 REPEALER. Minnesota Rules, parts 5601.1000 and 5601.1100,
- 29 are repealed.